Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bagley v. City of Atlanta

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

~~:

Supreme Court, U.S.

7} FILED

Y 001918 JUN 2 0 2001

Docket No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Petitioner

V.

CITY OF ATLANTA, ET AL.,

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals For the

Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Richard A. Gordon, Esq.

Counsel of Record

Richard A. Gordon, P.C.

Suite 890

400 Interstate North Pkwy.

Atlanta, Georgia 30339

(770) 952-2900

II.

III.

IV.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW.

Whether seven written citizen complaints filed against

defendant police officer Wingo, two of which for

excessive force were sustained prior to the assault

upon Petitioner, constitute notice to the City of Atlanta

and its Chief of Police, of Wingo’s propensity for

violence when making arrests.

Whether seven written citizen complaints filed against

defendant police officer Wingo, two of which for

excessive force were sustained prior to the assault

upon Petitioner, constitute evidence that City of

Atlanta has a custom of inadequately supervising and

disciplining its police officers for, or tolerating the use

of excessive force.

Whether Brooks v. Schieb, 813 F.2d 1191 (1987), relied

upon by the District Court and the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals, directly conflicts with prevailing

precedent in the First, Second, Third, Fifth, and Ninth

Circuits best exemplified by Beck v. City of Pittsburgh,

89 F.3d 966 (1996), such that Petitioner would have

prevailed on Defendants’ Motion for Summary

Judgment in the lower courts of such Circuits, where

the filing of seven citizen complaints, two of which for

excessive force were sustained prior to the assault on

Petitioner, would have constituted evidence of

knowledge, custom or policy on the part of the City,

and precluded summary judgment.

Whether the panel erred in holding (without citation

of controlling precedent) that the prior citizen

complaints against Defendant Wingo were “simply

allegations” and “too speculative” to support

Petitioner’s claim, when at least two such prior

complaints were sustained.

(i)

ERTIFICATE OF

Counsel hereby certifies that the following are persons

having an interest in this matter:

THE HONORABLE CHARLES A. MOYE, JR., Judge,

United States District Court, Northern District of Georgia;

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY, Plaintiff (1:96-CV-151-

CAM)

RICHARD A. GORDON, Attorney for

Plaintiff/ Petitioner Bagley;

J. G. WINGO, Individually and as a police officer of

the City of Atlanta, Georgia, Defendant/ Respondent;

B. S. DAWKINS, Individually and as a police officer

of the City of Atlanta, Georgia, Defendant/ Respondent;

BEVERLY HARVARD, as Chief of Police of the City

of Atlanta, Georgia, Defendant/ Respondent;

CITY OF ATLANTA, GEORGIA;

Defendant/ Respondent;

SUSAN PEASE LANGFORD, CITY ATTORNEY,

Attorney for Defendants/ Respondents;

KIMBERLY L. MILLER, ASSOCIATE CITY

ATTORNEY, Attorney for Defendants/ Respondents.

(ii)

Bw die (0

TABLE OF CONTENTS and

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Questions Presented for Review.............ccssesccssesseesesseseessessees (i)

Certificate of Interested Persoms ..........--cescesesceseeseseoseereenees (ii)

ee Oe CE ao cesssnssicininestisennisescitiiebinsiniintapteniaanieiad (iii)

Te II, ., nn cscresasscsessstciszescsessesseantboenetel (iii-iv)

Cntr OF II cccssesecssceecssercencscesescsncsczessnssnncsnsctsnsensctoed (iv)

ET ON 1

Constitution & Statutory Citations............cscsrersesneereneesees 1.

EE TAT ss Oe eae eC Coe 2.

(I) Proceedings and Disposition...............seeeeseeeenees 2.

(II) Basis for Federal Jurisdiction..................cseseees 2.

FE OE FREON... .cocacesscssesescvcecnscsccsssnneosscnnese 3.

NS TATE 7.

el ES, Ce 17.

a as secs eesnensnconeniee Filed separately.

AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

1. Monell v. Department of Social Services of the City of New York,

436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978);

2. City of Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 109 S.Ct. 1197, 103

L.Ed.2d 412 (1989);

3. Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S.Ct. 1292, 89

L.Ed.2d (1986);

4. Brooks v. Scheib, 813 F.2d 1191 (11 Cir. 1987);

5. Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 966 (3" Cir. 1996),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1151, 117 S.Ct. 1086, 137 L.Ed.2d

219 (1997);

(iii)

6.

7.

8.

9.

Montiel v. City of Los Angeles, 2 F.3d 335 (9® Cir. 1993);

Spell v. McDaniel, 824 F.2d 1380 (4* Cir. 1987), cert. denied, .

484 U.S. 1027, 108 S.Ct. 752, 98 L.Ed.2d 765 (1988);

Owens v. City of Atlanta, 780 F.2d 1564, 1567 (11™ Cir. 1986);

Fundiller v. City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436, 1442 (11" Cir.

1985);

10. Cannon v. Taylor, 782 F.2d 947, 951 (11™ Cir. 1986);

11

12

13.

42

28

. Turpin v. Mailet, 619 F.2d 196 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

449 U.S. 1016, 101 S.Ct. 577, 66 L.Ed.2d 475 (1980);

. Fletcher v. O’Donnell, 867 F.2d 791, 793 (3d. Cir 1989), cert.

denied, 492 U.S. 919, 109 S.Ct. 3244, 106 L.Ed.2d 591

(1989);

Vann c. City of New York, 72 F.3d 1040, at 1049 (2d

Cir.1995);

Henry v. County of Shasta, 132 F.3d 512 (9™ Cir. 1997);

Foley v. City of Lowell, 948 F.2d 10 (1* Cir. 1991);

Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F.2d 630 (9* Cir. 1991);

. Grandstaéf v. City of Borger, 767 F.2d 161 (5™ Cir. 1985).

Statutes & Reports

tise OP ee iocianinaicesohaen (Text set out in the Appendix)

(U1. ' edt 2. . Semen (Text set out in the Appendix)

U.S. Constitution Amendments I, IV, V, XIV

(Text set out in Appendix)

(iv)

" sit ies lhe:

TA F

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10, Petitioner

respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari be granted

because the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit has entered its decision in this case pursuant to Brooks

v. Scheib, 813 F.2d 1191 (11 Cir. 1987) which directly conflicts

with prevailing precedent in the First, Second, Third, Fifth,

and Ninth Circuits, best exemplified by the decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in Beck v.

City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 966 (3 Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 519

U.S. 1151, 117 S.Ct. 1086, 137 L.Ed.2d 219 (1997). These two

cases, and the respective Circuit Courts are in direct conflict in

the interpretation and application of this Court’s decision in

Monell v. New York Dept. of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct.

2018, 56. L.Ed.2d 611 (1978); specifically as to whether

numerous citizen complaints filed with city police officials

regarding an individual officer's repeated use of excessive

force is sufficient to present a question of fact as to knowledge

of such conduct on the part of the municipality, or its having

adopted a policy or custom of tolerating the use of excessive

force, for purposes of liability under 42 U.S.C.A. §1983.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS & STATUTES

BE UG, § BO retectsccesincicn (Text set out in the Appendix)

y Fit Lem § |. Seana (Text set out in the Appendix)

U.S. Constitution Amendments I, IV, V, XIV

The text of the cited Amendments to the United States

Constitution is set out in the Appendix to this Petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

PROCEEDINGS AND DISPOSITION

The action below was one for violations of civil rights

pursuant to 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983 and for deprivation of rights,

secured by the First, Fourth, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States of

America. The District Court had jurisdiction of the case

pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1343. .

The City of Atlanta and other Defendants filed a

Motion forSummary Judgment. Appellants responded, citing

seven written citizen complaints concerning use of excessive

force, abusive and rude behavior by Wingo; two of which for

excessive force were sustained prior to the assault by Wingo

upon Piaintiff-Petitioner Bagley. In an order dated September

14, 1999 [R. 68] the District Court denied summary judgment

as to Wingo and denied summary judgment to Harvard,

Dawkins and the City on claims of “excessive force” and

found that there was sufficient evidence to show that there

were genuine issues of material fact as to the Defendants’

knowledge of Wingo’s propensity to use excessive force. The

City moved for reconsideration. On reconsideration, the

District Court’s Order dated and entered November 2, 1999

[R. 72], reversed certain findings of fact and conclusions of

law set forth in the decision of September 14, and granted

summary judgment to Defendants Dawkins, Harvard and

The City of Atlanta on all counts under Rule 56(c) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

On December 28, 2000, the panel decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

affirmed the District Court’s Order but failed to cite any case

law, statute or other controlling precedent in holding that the

“evidence regarding the citizen complaints was too

speculative to support Bagley’s claim”.

On March 22, 2001, the Petition for Rehearing and

2

Petition for Rehearing En Banc were denied by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, despite the

disparity between the circuits regarding the evidentiary value

of numerous prior citizen complaints.

On June 20, 2001, Petitioner filed the within Petition for

Writ of Certiorari contending that Wingo’s extensive history

of civilian complaints was sufficient to put his supervisors and

the City on notice of his propensity for violence and abuse

toward citizens, or evidence of the failure of Defendants

Dawkins, Harvard and City of Atlanta to adequately train and

supervise Wingo, or dismiss or effectively discipline Wingo;

or evidence of a policy or custom of tolerating such conduct. ~

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

When taken in the light most favorable to Petitioner,

Jimmy Scott Bagley, the relevant facts are as follows: While

John Nesbitt, Mrs. Nesbitt, and Andrew Martin were leaving

the Midtown Music Festival in Atlanta, Georgia on May 15,

1994, Defendant, James Wingo, a City of Atlanta police officer,

approached their party, and without provocation became

verbally abusive, telling them to “go the fuck the other way”

and “go the fuck with the other people.” As the Nesbitt party

was leaving the area, Defendant Wingo attacked Mr. Nesbitt

from behind, and while Mr. Nesbitt held his hands in the air

saying: “I’m not resisting”, Defendant Wingo threw him

around, into the side of a nearby car and onto the ground.

When Andrew Martin complained about the treatment of his

friend, Defendant Wingo directed that Mr. Martin be arrested.

Petitioner Bagley was totally unacquainted with the

Nesbitts or Mr. Martin prior to the incidents forming the basis

of within proceedings; and happened to be also in attendance

at the Midtown Music Festival with a friend and their dates.

After witnessing the treatment of Mr. Nesbitt at the hands of

Defendant, Wingo, Petitioner Bagley offered his name and

3

phone number to Mrs. Nesbitt, and volunteered to be a

witness concerning Defendant Wingo’s use of excessive force.

While Petitioner Bagley was speaking to Mrs. Nesbit some

distance away, and with his back to Defendant Wingo,

another officer came on the scene.

Defendant Wingo left the Nesbitt and Martin arrests,

and without provocation or justification attacked Petitioner

Bagley from behind, grabbed him by the head, threw him into

the side of a truck parked nearby, with such force as to break

the sideview mirror, threw him to the ground, kneeled on his

neck, got right next to his head while it was pinned to the

ground, and challenged him with: “You want a piece of me?”

Defendant Wingo then directed that Petitioner Bagley

be arrested, and charged him with obstruction of an officer

and disorderly conduct. As a result of this unprovoked

assault, Petitioner Bagley suffered serious and permanent

injury to his neck and back.

All of the charges cited by Defendant Wingo against

Mr. Martin were dismissed at committal hearing by the

Municipal Court. All of the charges cited by Defendant

Wingo against Petitioner Bagley were dismissed by the

Solicitor of the State Court. All of the charges cited by

Defendant Wingo against Mr.Nesbitt were dismissed by the

State Court when Wingo failed to appear for trial after being

subpoenaed.

Mr. Nesbitt filed a complaint with the Office of

Professional Standards (O.P.S.; Internal Affairs). The Officer

who took Mr. Nesbitt’s complaint refused the offer of names

and addresses of independent witnesses saying someone

would call for them later. The case was assigned to Sargent

Dawkins, Officer Wingo’s supervisor. Sgt Dawkins had also

approved Defendant Wingo’s work permit for the day in

question, and had approved Wingo’s report given in support

of his arrests of Nesbit, Martin and Bagley.

According to written policy in the Atlanta Police

4

Department disciplinary manual [R. 57, Ex. 3], this complaint

should have been handled by an officer in OPS. Dawkins

never contacted the independent witnesses, never called to

interview Mr. Nesbitt, never called to interview Mrs. Nesbitt,

never called to interview Mr. Bagley, and never called the

physician who had treated and evaluated Mr. Nesbitt’s

injuries. Dawkins never even interviewed Defendant Wingo,

but accepted as true, every statement in Wingo’s report, even

though Wingo’s disciplinary history included at least one

prior SUSTAINED incident of filing a PERJURIOUS report

denying the use of excessive force.[R. 59].

There was more than ample evidence in Defendant

Wingo’s disciplinary file to place Chief Harvard and the City

of Atlanta on notice of a long string of citizen complaints

against Defendant Wingo, several involving complaints of

abusive language and violent behavior, as well as TWO

PRIOR SUSTAINED complaints resulting from excessive use

of force in effecting arrests. Prior to the incident giving rise

to the within proceedings, two lawsuits had been filed against

Defendant Wingo and the City of Atlanta. These suits alleged

excessive force and were settled with payments to the

Plaintiffs by the City of Atlanta. [R. 63].

One of those complainants, OTIS LETT, filed a

complaint in September 1990. The investigative file of that

complaint is contained in Petitioner’s Exhibit #35 [R. 59}". Mr.

Lett complained that Wingo attacked him and struck him in

the head while he had his hands in the air in a posture of

surrender and kicked him while he lay defenseless on the

ground. This complaint was sustained. It was in connection

with this Complaint that Defendant Wingo filed a written

response under oath, claiming that Mr. Lett had injured

1. According to the record in Case No. 96:CV00151, all of the citizen

complaints filed against Officer Wingo are grouped together in Volume

4, Tab 59.

himself while falling to the pavement. The treating physician

observed that Mr. Lett’s injuries could not have occurred as

claimed by Wingo. [Plaintiff's Exhibit #35, R. 59].

Plaintiffs’ Exhibit #36 [R. 59] is the investigative file of

the citizen complaint of Chester Kelly, also of September 1990,

just one week after the Lett incident. Mr. Kelly complained

that Wingo struck him in the head and kicked him without

provocation in the course of an arrest arising out of a domestic

dispute. Of particular note is the fact that the family member

oricinally calling the police for assistance, was compelled to

call the Atlanta Police Department for a supervisor to come to

the scene to halt the violence being visited v~ on the arrestee

by Defendant Wingo. Wingo received a one day suspension

for his actions in connection with the Kelly Complaint.

Plaintiffs’ Exhibit #38 [R. 59] also includes the

investigative file of the complaint of Daphne Delaney in

November of 1993. Ms. Delaney made a sworn complaint

that after nearly trampling her with his horse, Wingo not only

did not apologize but became verbally abusive and frightened

her. This Complaint resulted in Defendant Wingo being

“verbally counselled” for proper courtesy in dealing with

citizens.”

On April 1, 1995, Torrence Tillman, Rasvida Davis,

James Bod:e, and several others reported to the Atlanta Police

Department that Defendant Wingo had attacked and hit

Walter Lee Butler Jr. on the head with a nightstick while on

horseback simply because Butler complained from across the

street about Wingo’s treatment of other persons. [R. 59]. |

According to all witnesses, Defendant Wingo (as in this case,) |

left the scene of one arrest, rode across the street, pinned Mr.

Butler against a stone wall with his horse, beat Mr. Butler

about the head with a baton, and cited and arrested Mr. Butler

for obstruction. Co-defendants Dawkins and Harvard were

involved in the investigation of this Complaint. In spite of the

unequivocal testimony of six independent witnesses,

6

|

including an attorney, Co-defendant Dawkins credited only

the testimony of Defendant Wingo, and ignored the

Statements of all others, in finding the Complaint

“unsubstantiated”.

Defendants have admitted to the authentication of the

OPS investigative files and Defendant Wingo’s disciplinary

file. These documents were available to the Chief of Police,

OPS, and each successive citizen complaint investigator.

ARG AND CITATION OFA ORITY

I. The seven written citizen complaints filed against

defendant police officer Wingo constitute notice to the City of

Atlanta and its Chief of Police, of Officer Wingo’s propensity

for violence when making arrests. The perfunctory treatment

of such complaints, and the failure to reassign Wingo, or

terminate Wingo’s employment constitute evidence that there

was an adopted or defacto policy, or “custom” of tolerating

incidents of abuse, and engaging in perfunctory investigations

of citizen complaints.

In addressing what a plaintiff must prove in alleging

a violation of 42 U.S.C. §1983, this Court held in Monell v. New

York Dept. of Soctal Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56

L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) that a plaintiff must show that the

complained action “implements or executes a policy

statement, ordinance, regulation, or decision officially adopted

and promulgated by that body’s officers” or else is “visited

pursuant to governmental ‘custom’ even though such a

custom has not received formal approval through the body’s

official decision making channels.” Monell, 436 U.S. at 690-

691, 98 S.Ct. at 2035-2036. “Thus, although the municipality

may not be held liable for a constitutional tort under 42 U.S.C.

§1983 on the theory of vicarious liability, it can be held

responsible when the injury inflicted is permitted under its

7

adopted policy or custom”.’

The Court’s reasoning in Monell has created two

separate paths to establish municipal liability under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, depending on whether the allegation is based on

municipal policy or custom.’ In Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475

U.S. 469 at 480-81 (1986), municipal liability was based on a

single act of a municipal policy maker and was fairly easy to

determine. However, municipal liability based on “custom”

is much more difficult to ascertain. . = oh

This Court established the rule for establishing the

liability of a municipality according to custom, in City of

Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 109 S.Ct. 1197, 103 L.Ed.2d 412

(1989). “It is only when the ‘execution of the government's

policy or custom...inflicts the injury’ that the municipality

may be liable under §1983.” Id, 489 U.S. at 385. This Court

specifically held that, “[t]he inadequacy of police training may

serve as a basis for §1983 liability only where the failure to

train amounts to deliberate indifference to the rights of

persons with whom the police come into contact.” Id, 489 U.S.

at 388.

Toestablish liability under Monell, ithas been held that

evidence of prior complaints against officers is effective. See

Montiel v. City of Los Angeles, 2 F.3d 335, 343 (9"

Cir.1993)(reversing summary judgment for the City because

the investigation of plaintiff's complaint- which was “shallow

and deficient’, plus three prior citizen complaints against

defendant officer, plaintiff “might very well have [been]

enough evidence against the City to withstand the motion”);

2. Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d at 971 (1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S.

1151, 117 S.Ct. 1086, 137 L.Ed.2d 219 (1997).

3. See Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 481, 106 S.Ct. 1292,

1299, 89 L.Ed.2d (1986).

Spell v. McDaniel, 824 F.2d 1380, 1388 (4" Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 484 U.S. 1027, 108 S.Ct. 752, 98 L.Ed.2d 765 (1988)

(department complaint records corroborated specific

testimony about prior misconduct).

_ Despite possible evidentiary problems with

admissibility relating to the complaint data, the District Court

tuled in this case that the seven citizen complaints are

admissible. [Order R.68, p. 22]. In the District Court’s Order

[R.68] the Court outlined the seven complaints against Officer

Wingo from 1990 to 1995. Five of the seven involved

complaints of excessive force relating to Officer Wingo’s

beating citizens on and around the head and neck, similar to

the beating Petitioner Bagley suffered in 1994. [R.59]. The

District Court initially held that the number and manner of the

citizen complaints against Officer Wingo created a triable issue

of fact against Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of

Atlanta. However, relying on Brooks, the District Court later

reversed its September 14, 1999 Order denying summary

judgment, and, erroneously concluded that “the complaints

were ‘not sustained’,” and that they were “insufficient to put

Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City on notice of Officer

Wingo’s alleged tendency to use excessive force.” [R. 72].

II. The United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit affirmed the District Court’s decision in this case -

pursuant to Brooks v. Scheib, 813 F.2d 1191 (11 Cir. 1987).

The Eleventh Circuit in Brooks, interpreted this Court's

decision in Monell v. New York Dept. of Social Services, 436 U.S.

658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) as follows:

“Monell holds that a municipality shall be liable under

42 U.S.C. §1983 if a ‘custom’ or ‘policy’ of the city is the

‘moving force’ behind a constitutional violation. Id. at 690-694,

98 S.Ct. at 2035-38. Our circuit has interpreted Monell as

requiring that ‘[t]he municipality itself must be at fault in

some sense for establishing or maintaining the policy which

9

causes the injurious result...’ See Owens v. City of Atlanta, 780

F.2d 1564, 1567 (11™ Cir. 1986)(citing Fundiller v. City of Cooper

City, 777 F.2d 1436, 1442 (11™ Cir. 1985).” Brooks v. Scheib, 813

F.2d at 1193. The Eleventh Circuit has further interpreted

Monell by holding that the municipality’s failure to correct the

constitutionally offensive actions of its police department may

rise to the level of a “custom or policy” if the municipality

tacitly authorizes these actions or displays deliberate

indifference towards police misconduct.*

Despite ten written citizen complaints filed against

Officer Scheib, the Eleventh Circuit determined that “there is

no evidence that city officials were aware of past police

misconduct’...Brooks never demonstrated that past

complaints of police misconduct had any merit. Indeed, the

number of complaints bears no relation to their validity.” Id,

813 F.2d at 1193.

In Brooks, the Eleventh Circuit apparently surmised

that there was a logical explanation beyond a question of fact,

as to why a large number of complaints had been lodged

against Scheib: “Officer Scheib patrolled a high crime area. A

significant percentage of those Scheib arrested were

continually in trouble with the law. These experienced

customers frequently use citizens’ complaints as a means of

harassing officers who arrest them.” Brooks at 1193, emphasis

provided.

In addressing this same question of when an

aggrieved citizen has provided sufficient evidence from which

a jury could infer that a municipality has adopted a custom of

4. Brooks, 813 F.2d 1193 citing Cannon v. Taylor, 782 F.2d 947, 951 (11

Cir. 1986) (citing Turpin v. Mailet, 619 F.2d 196 (2d Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 449 U.S. 1016, 101 S.Ct. 577, 66 L.Ed.2d 475 (1980)).

5. See Cannon v. Taylor, 782 F.2d at 951; compare Depew v. City of St.

Mary’s Georgia,787 F.2d 1496 (11™ Cir 1986).

10

tot Tene eT e. ee FO eP e

permitting its police officers to use excessive force in the

performance of their duties, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit in Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89

F.3d 966 (3 Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1151, 117 S.Ct.

1086, 137 L.Ed.2d 219 (1997) recently interpreted municipal

liability according to Monell v. New York Dept. of Social Services,

436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) differently.

Citing Pembaur, 475 U.S. 469 (1986), the Third Circuit held that

custom may also be established by evidence of knowledge and

acquiescence.°

The Third Circuit in Beck, interpreted City of Canton’ as

allowing courts to adopt the “deliberate indifference”

standard in policy and custom contexts such as the case at

bar.* The Court held that “because the complaints, especially

those during the year 1991, came in a narrow period of time

and were of similar nature, a reasonable jury could have

inferred that the Chief of Police knew, or should have known,

of [Officer] Williams’s propensity for violence when making

arrests.” Beck, 89 F.3d at 973.

Ill. | The case of Brooks v. Scheib (11" Cir. 1987) and the

prevailing precedent in the First, Second, Third, Fifth, and

Ninth Circuits, best exemplified by the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in Beck v. City of

Pittsburgh (3d Cir. 1996) are in direct conflict in interpreting

and applying this Court's decision in Monell v. New York Dept.

of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611

6. Beck, 89 F.3d at 971 citing Fletcher v. O’ Donnell, 867 F.2d 791, 793 (3d.

Cir 1989), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 919, 109 S.Ct. 3244, 106 L.Ed.2d 591 (1989).

7. City of Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 109 S.Ct. 1197, 103 L.Ed.2d 412

(1989).

8. Beck v. City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 972 (1996).

1]

(1978); specifically on the issue of whether numerous prior

citizen complaints filed with city police officials regarding an

individual officer's repeated use of excessive force is sufficient

to establish a question of fact as to knowledge, policy or

custom on the part of the municipality for purposes of liability

under 42 U.S.C.A. §1983.

The prevailing view appears to be that the existence of

a number of complaints of a similar nature, whether they

occurred before or after the incident in the suit at bar,

constitute sufficient evidence to create an issue of fact as to the

notice with which policymakers must be charged. See Beck v.

City of Pittsburgh, 89 F.3d 966 (3 Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 519

U.S. 1151, 117 S.Ct. 1086, 137 L.Ed.2d 219 (1997); Vann c. City

of New York, 72 F.3d 1040, at 1049 (2d Cir.1995)(“An obvious

need may be demonstrated through proof of repeated

complaints of civil rights violations; deliberate indifference

may be inferred if the complaints are followed by no

meaningful attempt on the part of the municipality to

investigate or to forestall further incidents”)(citations :

omitted). It should be of no concern whether the evidence of

other misconduct occurred before or after the incident giving

rise to the case at bar. See Henry v. County of Shasta, 132 F.3d

512 (9 Cir. 1997); Foley v. City of Lowell, 948 F.2d 10 (1 Cir.

1991); Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F.2d 630 (9™ Cir. 1991);

Grandstaff v. City of Borger, 767 F.2d 161 (5" Cir. 1985).

In any of the circuits previously cited, (First, Second,

Third, Fifth, or Ninth) Petitioner would have prevailed, and

Defendants’ Motion forSummary Judgment would have been

denied because the prior, sustained citizen complaints, and

volume of complaints would have constituted evidence of

notice with which the City of Atlanta, Chief Harvard and Set.

Dawkins must be charged. Similarly, the total number of

complaints, and ‘heir perfunctory “investigation” and

dismissal would have constituted evidence of municipal

policy or custom. Since the outcome of Petitioner’s case would

12

—7E eee

have differed drastically as between the Eleventh Circuit and

the First, Second, Third, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits, he seeks a

Writ of Certiorari to resolve this extremely important issue of.

law.

IV. The Court of Appeals and the District Court erred in

holding (without citation of controlling precedent) that the

prior citizen complaints against Defendant Wingo were

“simply allegations” and “too speculative” to support

Petitioner's claim, when at least two such prior complaints

were sustained.

The panel judgment of the Court of Appeals entered

on December 28, 2000 states that “the evidence regarding the

citizen complaints was too speculative to support Bagley’s

claim. The complaints were simply allegations and Bagley

failed to offer any proof of their substance or

merit...” (December 28, 2000 Judgment). The Court of Appeals

erred because several of the complaints against Wingo were

substantiated and sustained by the City of Atlanta Police

Department, such that ample evidence of notice to jo Wingy’ s

superiors and the City of Atlanta existed.

In September 1990, a citizen named Otis Lett filed a

complaint against Wingo for excessive force after he suffered

and was hospitalized for blunt trauma to the head and injuries

to his ribs. [R.59] Officer Wingo stated under oath that he did

not beat Mr. Lett, but the report of the treating physician

revealed that Mr. Lett could not have “fallen” as Officer

Wingo stated. Later, Officer Wingo recanted his story and

said that his flashlight might have hit Mr. Lett. The City of

Atlanta Police Department cited Wingo and he received a two-

day suspension without pay. In addition, Mr. Lett filed a civil

action against the City of Atlanta for excessive force, which

also constitutes notice to the City, of Officer Wingo’s

propensity to use excessive force and violence. Mr. Lett’s civil

case was eventually settled by payment to the Complainant.

[R.63].

13

In a similar incident in September 1990, Officer Wingo

responded to a domestic dispute call, and severely beat

Chester Kelly. Mr. Kelly’s common law wife who had initially

called the police to her home, called the police again to report

Officer Wingo’s beating of her husband. She asked Wingo for

the name of his supervisor, but Wingo refused to provide her

with that information. Officer Wingo was disciplined for

“failure to call a supervisor” and “failure to appear in court”

resulting in a one-day suspension. [R. 59]. _-

In November 1993, a citizen named Daphne Delaney

filed a Complaint against Officer Wingo which resulted in

“verbally counseling the Officer on the steps for proper

courtesy in dealing with citizens” .[R. 59].

Of the several complaints filed against Officer Wingo,

these three resulted in disciplinary action by the Atlanta

Police Department, therefore they can not be considered

“simply allegations” and “too speculative to support Bagley’s

claim”. :

The Eleventh Circuit’s judgment affirmed the District

Court's ruling that the complaints failed to put the City of

Atlanta, Chief Harvard and Sgt. Dawkins on the requisite

“notice” to impose municipal liability according to Brooks v.

Scheib, 813 F.2d 1191 (11 Cir. 1987). However, the case at bar

is clearly distinguishable.

In Brooks, the Plaintiff presented evidence of the

number of complaints against Scheib, but no evidence as to

the merits of those complaints. At trial the only evidence as

to the merits of the complaints was the testimony of Atlanta

Officers that the complaints had been investigated and found

to lack merit. This determination was not challenged by

evidence presented by Plaintiff Brooks. The Court in Brooks

held that the ten complaints against the Defendant did not

constitute rmotice of police misconduct since the police

department showed that the cases were investigated and that

none of them had any merit.

14

In the present case, several of the complaints clearly

had merit, resulted in disciplinary action, thereby

substantiating the complaints, and . placing Wingo’s

supervisors and the City on notice of his propensity to

violence and excessive force. Unlike Brooks, there is more than

ample evidence from which the jury could find that the “City

knew or should have known that the natural consequence of

its policy and practices would be the deprivation of

constitutional rights.” Brooks at 1193 citing Owens v. City of

Atlanta, 780 F.2d 1564, 1567 (11% Cir. 1986).

In addition, a jury would be entitled to compare and

evaluate the evidence with the conclusions of the police

“investigators” and determine whether the conclusions of the

police “investigators” were reasonable or just a “whitewash.”

As held in Brooks, the tacit authorization of unconstitutional

conduct amounts to deliberate indifference toward police

misconduct. “Examining the records of complaints against a

police officer may be helpful,” (Brooks at 1194) in determining

an existing policy of toleration of abuse.

Monell v. Department of Social Services of the City of New

York, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) holds

that a municipality shall be liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 if a

“custom” or “policy” of the city is the “moving force” behind

a constitutional violation. Id. at 690-694. The Eleventh Circuit

has interpreted Monell as requiring that “[t]he municipality

must be at fault in some sense for establishing or maintaining

the policy which causes the injurious result...” Owens v. City

of Atlanta, 780 F.2d 1564, 1567 (11" Cir. 1986) citing Fundiller v.

City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436, 1442 (11™ Cir. 1985).

Evidence of prior substantiated claims provides evidence of a

“custom” or “policy” of the City, and a basis for imposing

liability, such that summary judgment on these issues should

be precluded, and the issues resolved by the trier of fact.

In addition, the Supreme Court of the United States

has held that “[t]he inadequacy of police training may serve

15

as a basis for §1983 liability only where the failure to train

amounts to deliberate indifference to the rights of persons

with whom the police come into contact.” City of Canton v.

Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 388, 109 S.Ct. 1197, 103 L.Ed.2d 412

(1989). The evidence of these prior substantiated complaints,

and the failure to dismiss or reassign Defendant Wingo are

sufficient for a jury to find a deliberate indifference by ti:e City

of Atlanta, Chief Beverly Harvard, and Sgt. Dawkins, to the

rights of the persons who come in contact with the police.

Petitioner has alleged that Wingo’s supervisors,

Sargent Dawkins and Chief Harvard, are liable for the

misconduct of officer Wingo because of their failure to control

or dismiss a subordinate employee with a history of violent

conduct. The evidence of substantiated prior complaints, and

total number of complaints is relevant and sufficient to

demonstrate the history of such misconduct, the supervisor's

and City’s knowledge of that behavior, and their toleration of

such conduct, which in any other employment context would

have warranted immediate dismissal.

Although the mere failure of a supervisor to

investigate or discipline a subordinate after a single instance

of misconduct will not subject the supervisor to liability for

that single act, a supervisory officer may be liable if that

supervisor knew or should have known of actual or potential

problems with his subordinate and failed to take action to

control or eliminate the problem. Appellants’ #35 through #38

[R. 59] are the best evidence of such supervisory knowledge.

These incidents of prior substantiated complaints,

coupled with the testimony of the complainants, are evidence

which was known to Wingo’s supervisors and The City, and

were sufficient to place them on notice of Wingo’s propensity

to abuse citizens, violently attack them, and bring charges but

fail to appear in court. According to the findings of the

District Court, the Defendants have admitted that Wingo’s

supervisors knew Wingo’s history.

—s----

16

Ne

Chief of Police Harvard, and Sgt. Dawkins as Wingo’s

supervisors can be held individually liable for their failure to

discipline and their “ failure to establish procedures to prevent

future occurrences.” Larez v. City of Los Angeles, 946 F2d 630

(9™ Cir.1991). Evidence in the form of prior perjury, sustained

complaints, lawsuits, statements of other victims and

witnesses of Wingo’s misconduct, and official complaint é

disciplinary files against Wingo, authorize a jury to conclude

that the City of Atlanta, Chief Harvard, and Sgt. Dawkins

have maintained a policy, practice, or custom of tolerating

police misconduct in general, and of tolerating Wingo’s

misconduct in particular.

CONCLUSION

Upon the above and foregoing citations of authority,

Petitioner respectfully requests that this Court grant this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

RICHARD A. GORDON, P.C.

Attorneys for Petitioner

ov Ld lon $

RICHARD A. GORDON

Counsel of Record

Suite 890

400 Interstate North Pkwy.

- Atlanta, Ga 30339

770 952-2900

APPENDIX

er

—

eee

=

as

So ae wa Pe

vere

-

eee et

’

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF

APPENDIX

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14 (i), Petitioner hereby files

the following relevant documents in this Appendix:

1. Per Curiam Opinion of United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit dated December 28, 2000, in Case

No. 99-15000, heard before Circuit Judges Carnes and

Barkett, and the Honorable Louis H. Pollak, Senior

US. District Judge for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania.

2. Order dated September 14, 1999, from the United States

District Court, Northern District of Georgia (denying

Defendants’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment).

3. Order dated November 2, 1999, from the United States

District Court, Northern District of Georgia (granting

Defendants’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

following Defendants’ Motion for Reconsideration).

4. Per Curiam Opinion of United States Court of Appeals for

the Eleventh Circuit on Petition for Rehearing and

Petition for Rehearing En Banc dated March 22, 2001,

in Case No. 99-15000, heard before Circuit Judges

Carnes and Barkett, and the Honorable Louis H.

Pollak, Senior U.S. District Judge for the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania.

5. Statutory Text of 42 U.S.C. A. § 1983

6. Statutory Text of 28 U.S.C.A. § 1343

7. Text of United States Constitution, Amendment I.

8. Text of United States Constitution, Amendment IV.

9. Text of United States Constitution, Amendment V.

10. Text of United States Constitution, Amendment XIV.

ERS OPA DA, Tidsen ARTA Rea

pues ceaecs ines cup spc ropes

co iin npc iia chan ilies teehee te ekg Ce a

FILED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

DEC 28 2000

THOMAS K. KAHN

CLERK

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-15000

D.C. Docket No. 96-00151-CV-CAM-1

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

J. G. WINGO,

BEVERLY HARVARD, as Chief of

Police of the City of Atlanta,

Georgia, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees,

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Georgia

(December 28, 2000)

Before CARNES and BARKETT, Circuit Judges, and POLLAK',

Senior District Judge.

PER CURIAM:

Jimmy Scott Bagley appeals a summary judgment in favor

of Chief Beverly Harvard and Sgt. B.S. Dawkins of the Atlanta Police

1. Honorable Louis H. Pollak, Senior U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District

of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

ln

—_.

ame

Department and the City of Atlanta on Bagley's 42 U.S.C. § 1983

claims alleging violations of his civil rights. On appeal, Bagley

contends-that the district court erred both in excluding the testimony

of Allyson Collins from—consideration in deciding the summary

judgment motion and in concluding that-even without her testimony

there was insufficient evidence that Harvard, Dawkins,-and the City

had a custom, policy, or practice of deliberate indifference towards___

police misconduct. We affirm.

Bagley filed this action against Officer J.G. Wingo, Dawkins,

Harvard, and the City of Atlanta, alleging that Wingo, a police officer

employed by the Atlanta Police Department, arrested him without

probable cause and with excessive force, thus depriving him of his

constitutional rights in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983.? Bagley's action

against Harvard, Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta is based on his

claim that the City's procedures for handling citizens' complaints of

police misconduct amounted to a custom, policy, or practice of

deliberate indifference towards police misconduct and led to his

injunes. In support of his contention that the City had a policy,

custom, or practice of deliberate indifference towards and tacit

approval of police misconduct, Bagley offered the following evidence:

(1) the testimony of Allyson Collins, a person who investigates police

abuse and misconduct for Human Rights Watch; (2) the written report

issued by Human Rights Watch concerning these investigations; and

(3) seven citizens' complaints alleging violence, threats of violence, or

verbal abuse filed against Wingo. The trial court ruled that Collins’

testimony and the Human Rights Watch report were inadmissible

hearsay and that absent this testimony, the remaining evidence

consisting of the several alleged citizen complaints against Wingo was

insufficient to establish that Harvard, Dawkins, and the City had a

custom, policy, or practice of deliberate indifference towards police

misconduct. Bagley appeals those determinations.

We review the district court's evidentiary rulings for abuse of

discretion. See Judd v. Rodman, 105 F.3d 1339, 1341 (11th Cir.

1997). We review de novo a district court's grant of summary

judgment, applying the same legal standards as the district court. See

2.Bagley’s claims against Wingo are not part of this appeal.

~~,

ae rd

Whatley v. CNA Ins.Cos., 189 F.3d 1310, 1313 (11th Cir. 1999).

Bagley argues on appeal that the Human Rights Watch

report concerning that organization's investigations of Atlanta's

response to police misconduct complaints is admissible under either

Federal Rule of Evidence 803(8), the public records exception, or

Federal Rule of Evidence 807, the residual exception to the hearsay

rule. Rule 803(8) provides an exception to the hearsay rule for

reports of "public offices or agencies" setting forth "factual findings

resulting from an investigation made pursuant to authority granted by

~~. law, unless the sources of information or other circumstance indicate

~Tackof trustworthiness. "Fed. R. Evid. 803(8). Human Rights Watch

is not a puvlic agency and was not under any legal duty either to

observe matters and-report thereon or to conduct the investigations.

We therefore find that the district court did not err in refusing to admit

the report as a public record. We likewise find no error in the district

court's exclusion of the report under the residual exception rule. See

's of les, Inc. v. TERE. 2d 1356, 1358

(11th Cir. 1986) ("we are particularly hesitant to overtum a tnal

court's admissibility ruling under the residual hearsay exception

absent a "definite and firm conviction that the court made a clear error—_

of judgment in the conclusion it reached based upon a weighing of the

relevant factors") (citing Page v. Barko Hydraulics, 673 F.2d 134,

140 (5th cir. 1982)).

Bagley also argues that Collins's testimony was admissible

as lay witness testimony and that she should have been permitted to

present information she had obtained based on her investigation of

Atlanta's response to complaints of police misconduct and her

conclusion that "there seems to be a practice of deliberately failing to

implement systems to hold officers accountable and to terminate

officers who shouldn't be officers so that they don't go on to commit

more abuses."’ Under the circumstances of this case, we find no abuse

of discretion in the district court's determination that the testimony of

Collins as a lay witness was inadmissible hearsay.

Finally, we examine the question of whether in the absence

of Collins' testimony and the Human Rights Watch report there was

3. Bagley does not contend that Collins is an expert witness.

sufficient evidence that Harvard, Dawkins, and the City had a custom,

policy, or practice of deliberate indifference towards police

misconduct. We agree with the district court's determination that the

evidence regarding the citizen complaints was too speculative to

support Bagley's claim. The complaints were simply allegations and

Bagley failed to offer any proof of their substance or merit. Therefore,

we find that there is insufficient record support for a reasonable jury

to have concluded that Harvard, Dawkins, and the City were acting

in accord with a custom, policy, or practice of deliberate indifference

towards police misconduct. Accordingly, the judgment of the district

court is

AFFIRMED.

FILED IN CLERK’S

OFFICE

U.S.D.C. Atlanta

SEP 14 1999

Luther D. Thomas, Clerk

By: /s/, Deputy Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

JOHN P. NESBITT, JR. and

ANDREW JOSEPH MARTIN,

Plaintiff(s),

: CIVIL ACTION NO.

v. : 1:96-CV-1038-CAM f

J.G.WINGO, et al.,

Defendant(s).

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Plaintiff,

: CIVIL ACTION NO.

v. : 1:96-CV-151-CAM

J.G. WINGO, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

Plaintiffs, John P. Nesbitt, Jr., Andrew Joseph Martin, and

Jimmy Scott Bagley, filed these suits against Defendants, Officer J.G.

Wingo, Sgt. B.S. Dawkins, Chief Beverly Harvard, the City of

Atlanta, and various other defendants, seeking to recover pursuant to

§ 1983 for violations of their civil nights as well as on various state

law claims. After the Court granted motions for summary judgment

as to all defendants except the City of Atlanta defendants, the cases

went to trial on March 10, 1999. A mistrial was declared on March

11, 1999, and the Court granted permission for Defendants to file an

out-of-time motion for summary judgment. The case is before the

Court on Defendants’ motion for partial summary judgment. For the

reasons stated herein, the motion is DENIED in part and GRANTED

in part.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On May 15, 1994, Plaintiffs attended the Midtown Music

Festival. Plaintiffs allege that, as they were leaving the festival, they

were assaulted, falsely arrested, and falsely.charged with several

crimes by Officer Wingo.

The Midtown Music Festival was a three day event at which

City of Atlanta off duty police officers served as security guards. The

security guards worked at the perimeter of the festival to prevent

people from entering without paying, to direct pedestrian traffic, and

to ensure that festival patrons left the festival in an orderly fashion.

At the time of the incident giving rise to this lawsuit, Officer

Wingo was working as a security guard and was stationed at the

intersection of Eleventh Street and Peachtree Walk, near an area used

by the cleaning subcontractor for the collection of trash. The area

behind Officer Wingo was not a designated exit; a fence blocked

access to the street, but the fence was not clearly visible from the

intersection. Officer Wingo was directing people to go to the left or to

the nght to designated exits. A group of port-a-potties were also j

located in the same general area. Bagley and a friend were waiting

near the intersection for their dates to return from the restrooms.

Exactly what happened throughout the incident is in dispute. The

parties agree, however, that, as Nesbitt, Nesbitt's wife, and Martin

approached the intersection, Officer Wingo indicated that they could

not leave the festival by going straight ahead out would have to tum

left or nght to use one of the designated exits. Nesbitt wanted to go

straight ahead, even if it meant climbing the fence, because his car

was nearby. After an initial confrontation, Nesbitt, his wife, and

Martin turned and began moving toward one of the exits. As Nesbitt

walked away from Wingo toward a designated festival exit, Nesbitt

said that Wingo was "a fucking bonehead.”

Nesbitt was arrested by Officer Wingo for disorderly

conduct; Martin was arrested by Officer Patrick Reagan at the

direction of Officer Wingo for obstruction, and Bagley was arrested

by Officer Wingo for obstruction. All three were transported to the

City of Atlanta jail. All charges were later dismissed.

LEGAL STANDARDS AND ANALYSIS

I. Summary Judgment ; :

Courts should grant summary judgment when "there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and .__ . the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The

party seeking summary judgment bears "the initial responsibility of |

informing the . . . court of the basis for its motion, and identifying

those portions of [the record] ‘together with the affidavits, if any,’

which it believes demonstrate the absence of @ genuine issue of

material fact." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986).

Adickes v. S.H. Kress and Co., 398 US. 144, 159-60 (1970); United

941 F.2d 1428, 1437-38

(11th Cir. 1991).

Once the moving party has met this initial burden, the

"burden shift[s] to the non-moving party to demonstrate that there is -

indeed a material issue of fact that precludes summary judgment."

Clark vy. Coats & Clark, 929 F.2d 604, 608 (llth Cir. 1991). Whether

facts are material is determined by the applicable substantive law.

Anderson v. Liberty Lobb , Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986).

The court views the evidence in the light most favorable to

the party opposing the motion. Adickes, 398 U.S. at 158-59.

Moreover, “[rJeasonable doubts as to the facts should be resolved in

favor of the nonmoving party," Borg-Wamer Acceptan¢e bom. v.

Davis, 804 F.2d 1580, 1582 (11th Cir. 1986), "and ail’ justifiable

inferences are to be drawn in his favor," Everett v. Napper, 833 F.2d

1507, 1510 (llth Cir. 1987). "For factual issues to be considered

genuine, they must have a real basis in the record.” Hairston v.

Gainesville Sun Publishing Co., 9 F.3d 913, 919 (11th Cir. 1993).

An issue is not genuine if it is created by evidence that is "merely

colorable" or is "not significantly probative." Anderson, 477 US. at

249-50. The unsupported, self-serving statements of the party

Opposing summary judgment are insufficient to avoid summary

judgment. Midwestern Waffles. Inc. v. Waffle House, Inc., 734 F.2d

705, 714 (llth Cir. 1984).

Il. Liability of Governmental Entity

"Local governing bodies . . . can be sued directly

under § 1983 for monetary, declaratory, or injunctive relief where . .

. the action that is alleged to be unconstitutional implements or

executes a policy statement, ordinance, regulation, or decision

officially adopted and promulgated by that body's officers." Monell

vy. New York City Dept. of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 690

(1978). Local governments may also be “sued for constitutional

deprivations visited pursuant to governmental ‘custom’ even though

such a custom has not received formal approval through the body's

official decisionmaking channels," id. at 690-91, if the custom is “so

pervasive, as to be the functional equivalent of a policy adopted by the

final policymaker,” Church v, City of Huntsville, 30 F. 3d 1332, 1343

(lith Cir. 1994).

"[A local government] can be found liable under §

1983 only where the [local government] itself causes the constitutional

violation at issue.” City of Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, 385

(1989). "Respondeat superior or vicarious liability will not attach

under § 1983." Id. “It is only when the execution of the government's

policy or custom inflicts the injury that the municipality may be held

liable under § 1983.” Id, (internal quotation marks omitted). "Thas,

[the] first inquiry in any case alleging municipal liability under § 1983

is the question whether there is a direct causal link between a

municipal policy or custom and the alleged constitutional

deprivation.” Id.

Il. Liability of Supervisor

"Like municipalities, supervisors cannot be held liable for the

acts of employees solely on the basis of respondeat superior.”

Fundiller v. City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436, 1443 (llth Cir.

1985). Although “[s]upervisory liability is not limited . . . to those

incidents in which the supervisor personally participates in the

deprivation[,] [t]here must be a causal connection between the actions

of the supervisory official and the alleged deprivation." Id. "This

causal connection can be established when a history of widespread

abuse puts the responsible supervisor on notice of the need for

improved training or supervision, and the official fails to take

corrective action." Id.

F.2d 630, 646 (9” Cir. 1991).

IV.

"Qualified immunity protects government officials

performing discretionary functions from civil trials (and the other

burdens of litigation, including discovery) and from liability if their

conduct violates no ‘clearly established statutory or constitutional

shield against claims made against them in their individual

capacitities." Id. (emphasis in original). "Unless a government agent's

law would have done such a thing, the government actor has immunity

from suit.” Id. "Because qualified immunity shields government actors

in all but exceptional cases, courts should think long and hard before

of the challenged actions.” Rich v. Dollar, 841 F.2d 1558, 1564 (11th

Cir. 1988). On the other hand, “if the legal norms allegedly violated

were as a matter of law clearly established at the appropriate time, a

genuine fact issue as to what conduct the defendant engaged in would

preclude a grant of summary judgment based upon qualified

immunity." Id. at 1565.

The Eleventh Circuit has established a two-step framework

for considering a claim of qualified immunity. First, the defendant

must prove that "he was acting within the scope of his discretionary

authority when the allegedly wrongful acts occurred.” Id. at 1563.

Ig. at 1563. Then, "the burden shifts to the plaintiff to show . . . that

the defendant public official’s actions violated clearly established

constitutional law." Ig. at 1564 (internal quotation marks omitted).

"A government official acts within his or her

discretionary authority if objective circumstances compel the

conclusion that challenged actions occurred in the performance of the

official’s duties and within the scope of this authority." Hill v. DeKalb

Regional Youth Detention Center, 40 F.3d 1176, 1185 n.17 (11th Cir.

1994). If the actions at issue were carried out by the government

official in the performance of his normal job duties and were within

the authority delegated to him by the government, they were within the

officials discretionary authority. Rich, 841 F.2d at 1563.

"For qualified immunity to be surrendered, pre-existing

law must dictate, that is, truly compel (not just suggest or allow or

raise a question about), the conclusion for every like-situated,

reasonable government agent that what defendant is doing violates

federal law in the circumstances.” Lassiter, 28 F.3d at 1150

(emphasis in original). "The subjective intent of government actors

plays no part in qualified immunity analysis." Id. "Objective legal

reasonableness is the touchstone." Id.

V. Section 1983 Claims

"{I]n any § 1983 action the initial inquiry must focus on

whether the two essential elements to a § 1983 action are present: (1)

whether the conduct complained of was committed by a person acting

under color of state law; and (2) whether this conduct depnved a

person of nights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution

or laws of the United States." Parratt v. Tavlor, 451 U.S. 527, 535

(1981), overruled in part on other grounds, Daniels v. Williams, 474

U.S. 327 (1986). See, also, Ajbright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266, 271

(1994) (The first step in considering any claim under section 1983 is

"to identify the specific constitutional right allegedly infringed."). If

the defendant in a § 1983 action is a governmental entity, the initial

inquiry must focus on: “(1) whether plaintiff's harm was caused by a

constitutional violation, and (2) if so, whether the [governmental

entity] is responsiole for that violation." Collins v. Harker Hei

503 U.S. 115, 120 (1992).

A. Probable Cause

"A warrantless arrest without probable cause violates the

Constitution and forms the basis for a section 1983 claim.” Marx v.

Gumbinner, 905 F.2d 1503, 1505 (11" Cir. 1990). "Probable cause

exists if ‘the facts and circumstances within the officer's knowledge,

of which he or she has reasonably trustworthy information, would

cause a prudent person to believe, under the circumstances shown,

that the suspect has committed, is committing, or is about to commit

999

an offense. Post v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552, 1557-58

(11" Cir. 1993) (quoting Von Stein v. Brescher, 904 F. 2d 572, 578

(11" Cir. 1990)), modified in unrelated part, 14 F.3d 583 (11" Cir.

1994). "[P]robable cause must be judged not with clinical detachment

but with a common sense view to the realities of normal life." Marx,

905 at 1506 (quotations omitted)(citing Wilson y. Attaway, 757 F.2d

1227, 1235 (11 Cir. 1985)).

"The reasonableness of the officers' conduct must be

judged against an objective standard: 'would the facts available to the

officer at the moment of the seizure or search warrant a man of

reasonable caution in the belief that the action taken was

appropriate. ’” United States v. Blackman, 66 F.3d 1572, 1576 (11th

Cir. 1995) (quoting Courson vy. McMillian, 939 F.2d 1479, 1498

(11th Cir. 1991)), cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1126 (1996) and 519 U.S.

967 (1996). “[I]n making a determination of probable cause the

relevant inquiry is not whether particular conduct is ‘innocent’ or

“guilty,” but the degree of suspicion that attaches to particular types

of noncriminal acts.” Courson, 939 F.2d at 1489 n.16.

"In a case involving a warrantless search and seizure, the

question of whether qualified immunity should be held to exist turns

upon whether there was arguable probable cause, as opposed to

probable cause in fact." Eubanks v. Gerwen, 40 F.3d 1157, 1160

(11th Cir. 1994). "The standard of arguable probable cause is

whether a reasonable officer in the same circumstances and possessing

the same knowledge as the officer in question could have reasonably

believed that probable cause existed in the light of well-established

law." Id. (emphasis in original). "It is inevitable that law enforcement

officials will in some cases reasonably but mistakenly conclude that

probable cause is present, and we have indicated that in such cases

those officials-like other officials who act in ways they reasonably

reasonably believe to be lawful-should not be held personally liable."

Lindsey v. Storey, 936 F.2d 554, 559 (11th Cir. 1991) (quoting

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987).

B. Disorderly Conduct

0.C.G.A. § 16-11-39(a) provides:

A person commits the offense of disorderly conduct

when such person commits any of the following:

(3) Without provocation, uses to or of another

person in such other person's presence, opprobrious

or abusive words which by their very utterance tend

to incite to an immediate breach of the peace, that

is to say, words which as a matter of common

knowledge and under ordinary circumstances will,

when used to or of another person in such other

person's presence, naturally tend to provoke

violent resentment, that is, words commonly called

"fighting words"... .

Section 106-81 of the City of Atlanta Code of Ordinances

provides:

It shall be unlawful for any person within the

corporate limits of the city to engage in any

conduct described in the following subsections;

(7) Direct fighting words toward another, that

is, words which by their very nature tend to

incite an immediate breach of the peace;

(10) stand or remain in or about any street,

sidewalk, overpass or public way so as to impede

the flow of vehicular or pedestrian traffic, and to

fail to clear such street, sidewalk, overpass or

public way after being ordered to do so by a police

officer or other lawful authority. . . .

"[T]he mere use of obscene and vulgar or profane language is

not necessarily a crime . . . unless such language is also ‘opprobrious

or abusive’ and therefore constitutes ‘fighting words.’” Crollev v.

State, 182 Ga. App. 2, 3-4 (1987) [T]he crucial issue is whether [the]

language constituted words, expressions or acts which have a direct

tendency to cause immediate acts of violence by the person to whom

the speech or act is addressed." Anderson v. State, 231 Ga. App. 807,

App. at 3. When the party using the "opprobrious or abusive” words

alleges that he was provoked into using them, whether the provocation

“[A]ll claims that law enforcement officers have used excessive

force-deadly or not-in the course of an arrest, investigatory stop, ar

other 'seizure' of a free citizen should be analyzed under the Fourth

Amendment and its ‘reasonableness' Standard, rather than under a

‘substantive due process’ approach." Graham v. Connor, 490 US.

386, 395 (1989) (emphasis in original). “Determining whether the

force used to effect a particular seizure is 'reasonable' under the

Fourth Amendment requires a careful balancing of ‘the nature and

quality of the intrusion on the individual’s Fourth Amendment

interests’ against the countervailing governmental interests at stake. Id.

at 396. "Our Fourth Amendment jurisprudence has long recognized

that the right to make an arrest or investigatory stop necessarily

carnes with it the right to use some degree of physical coercion or

threat thereof to effect it. Id. "Because the test of reasonableness

under the Fourth Amendment is not capable of precise definition or

mechanical application, however, its proper application requires

careful attention to the facts and circumstances of each particular

case, including the severity of the crime at issue, whether the suspect

the suspect poses an immediate threat to the safety of the officers or

others, and whether he is actively resisting arrest or attempting to

evade arrest by flight.” Id. (internal citations and quotation marks

omitted). See, also, Gold v. City of Miami, 121 F.3d 1442, 1446

(11" Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 165 (1998). "The

reasonableness of a particular use of force must be judged from the

perspective of a reasonable officer on the scene, rather than with the

20/20 vision of hindsight." Graham, 490 U.S. at 396. "[Tyhe

‘reasonableness’ inquiry in an excessive force case is an objective one:

the question is whether the officers' actions are ‘objectively reasonable’

in light of the facts and circumstances confronting them, without

regard to their underlying intent or motivation." Id. at 397. This

inquiry includes consideration of "the subject's ability to harm, his

opportunity to harm, and whether someone was in jeopardy of being

harmed by the subject at the time the officer used force against the

subject.” Samples v. City of Atlanta, 916 F.2d 1548, 1551 (11® Cir.

1990).

"The Fourth Amendment does not require officers to use the least

intrusive or even less intrusive alternatives in search and seizure

cases. The only test is whether what the police officers actually did

was reasonable." Menuel v. City of Atlanta, 25 F.3d 990, 996-97

(11" Cir. 1994) (quoting Plakas v. Drinski, 19 F.3d 1143, 1148-50

(7 Cir.), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 820 (1994). "[P]olice must pursue

crime and constrain violence, even if the undertaking itself causes

violence from time to time." Id. at 997.

"[(U)nless a controlling and factually similar case declares the

officials conduct unconstitutional, an excessive-force plaintiff can

overcome qualified immunity only by showing that the officials

conduct lies so obviously at the very core of what the Fourth

Amendment prohibits that the unlawfulness of the conduct was readily

apparent to the official, notwithstanding the lack of caselaw.” Smith

v. Mattox, 127 F.3d 1416, 1419 (11" Cir. 1997). "The hazy border

between permissible and forbidden force is marked by a multifactored,

case-by-case balancing test." Id. "In this inquiry, the officer's intent,

whether evil or good, is irrelevant." Id. "Because this standard

establishes no bright line, qualified immunity applies unless

application of the standard would inevitably lead every reasonable

officer in [the defendant's} position to conclude the force was

unlawful." Gold, 121 F.3d at 1446.

VI. Analysis

A. Officer Wingo

Officer Wingo contends he is entitled to qualified immunity

as to Plaintiffs’ claims for false arrest because Nesbitt's refusal to go

to the approved exits and shouting that Officer Wingo was "a fucking

bonehead" violated 0.C.G.A. § 16-11-39 (disorderly conduct) and

City Ordinance § 106-81 (fighting words, impeding the flow of traffic)

and because Bagley’s admitted position in a group of people who were

shouting at him for arresting Nesbitt justifies his arrest for

obstruction. He contends he is entitled to qualified immunity as to

Plaintiffs’ claims for use of excessive force because neither Nesbitt nor

Bagley suffered any injuries.

| Plaintiffs contend there are issues of material fact

including: (1) whether Officer Wingo initiated the confrontation by

using obscene and abusive language and provoked the comment from

Nesbitt, (2) whether Nesbitt intended Officer Wingo to hear his

comment, (3) whether Bagley did or said anything that could be

construed as obstructing the arrest of Nesbitt, (4) whether Officer

Wingo attacked Nesbitt and Bagley from behind without warning, (5)

whether Nesbitt resisted arrest, and (6) whether Nesbitt and Bagley

posed a threat to the safety of Officer Wingo or others. :

In his deposition, Wingo testified: (1) after Nesbitt began

walking away, he turned back and shouted, "You are a fucking

bonehead"; (2) he called Nesbitt back to place him under arrest for

disorderly conduct for using loud abusive language; (3) Nesbitt took

a swing at him without provocation: (4) he grabbed Nesbitt and

attempted to take him to the ground and handcuff him; (5) while he

was arresting Nesbitt, Bagley and Martin began yelling and coming

at him; (6) he repeatedly told Bagley and Martin to move away; (7)

while holding Nesbitt, he moved him from left to nght, using him as

a shield between himself and Bagley and Martin; (8) Nesbitt was

resisting the entire time; (9) there was a large crowd of people, many

of whom were yelling, objecting to the treatment of Nesbitt; (10) he

finally got Nesbitt to the ground: (11) he held Nesbitt face down with

his knee in Nesbitt's back while he handcuffed Nesbitt and placed him

under arrest; (12) he went after Bagley who had moved back into the

crowd and arrested him; and (13) Officer Reagan handcuffed Martin,

who was also placed under arrest. Officer Wingo testified that all

three men were obviously intoxicated.

In his deposition, Nesbitt testified: (1) he and his wife

had, at most; two beers each during the approximately five to six

hours they were at the Festival and were not intoxicated; (2) he, his

wife, Martin, and Pete Sobel were leaving the Festival together when

they encountered Officer Wingo; (3) they were trying to walk directly

to their car which was parked about a block away; (4) they came to

an intersection where you could turn left or right or go straight ahead

and they started to walk straight ahead but were still in the middle of

the intersection; (5) Officer Wingo told them to "go the fuck with

everybody else"; (6) he took offense at Officer Wingo's language and

told him he didn't appreciate his talking to them that way; (7) Officer

Wingo said, “I don't give a fuck what you care about" and continued

to be verbally abusive; (8) they then turned and walked off; (9) when

they were about 15 feet away, he tured to his wife, away from

Officer Wingo, and said that Officer Wingo was "a fucking

bonehead"; (10) he never intended Officer Wingo to hear his

comment; (11) one of the men with him turned and saw Officer Wingo

just before Officer Wingo attacked from behind; (12) Officer Wingo

grabbed him in a full nelson and bounced him off a car; (13) he told

Officer Wingo that he was not resisting, but Officer Wingo continued

to throw him around "like a-rag doll," although Officer Wingo never

said anything; (14) at one point Officer Wingo threw him into the side

or front of a car and cracked his two front teeth; (15) Officer Wingo

threw him to the ground so hard he bounced; and (16) Officer Wingo

said, "You hit me in the face" and arrested him. Nesbitt further

testified that after he was arrested, the crowd was visibly upset about

what Officer Wingo had done and several people were stating that

they didn't approve but that no one threatened Officer Wingo and that

Martin never said anything until after Nesbitt was arrested and then

he only asked what Nesbitt was being arrested for. Nesbitt testified

that after being released from jail, he went to the hospital and he had

a wrenched neck and abrasions on his legs and arms in addition to the

two cracked teeth. Finally, Nesbitt testified that when he filed his

complaint with the City of Atlanta Police Department, he offered to

provide names of witnesses but the person taking the information

stated that they would want to know the names later in the

investigation but not at that time; however, no one ever contacted him

for the names of witnesses.

In his deposition, Bagley testified: (1) he and his date each

had two beers during the several hours they were at the Festival but

were not intoxicated; (2) as he was leaving the Festival, he and his

friends stopped for their dates to use the restrooms; (3) while they was

waiting for their dates to return from the restroom. he heard a lot of

people start yelling; (4) he saw a man being jerked arou.xd by a police

Officer; (5) the officer was arresting the man, who kept saying he

wasn't resisting arrest; (6) he and his friends were discu ssing what

was happening, commenting about "how badly the guy was being

treated," when the wife of the man who was arrested asked him if he

saw what happened; (7) when he told her he had, she asked for his

phone number or something and he said, "Sure"; (8) when his date

returned from the restroom, he tured to speak to her; (9) during the

time he was waiting and watching the man being arrested, he never

came within five feet of the police officer and never said anything to

the officer; (10) the police officer hit him from behind at the base of

his skull and neck hard enough to knock him to his knees; (11) the

officer then dragged him by his hair which was long and in a ponytail:

(12) the officer slammed him into a truck or Blazer and flung him to

the ground; (13) immediately before being hit, he heard someone say

something to the effect, "I'm going to get this long haired mother

fucker myself"; (14) the officer put his knee on Bagley's back, pulled

his arms up high behind him, and handcuffed him; (15) the officer

came very close to his face and said "You do want a piece of me, don't

you? You'd love for me to let you out of these cuffs," or something to

that effect and kept poking at him; (16) as more officers arrived at the

scent, the officer who handcuffed him left him without ever explaining

what he was accused of doing; and (17) while waiting, the other two

men who were arrested kept asking why they were being arrested.

Bagley testified that shortly after the incident he began seeing a

chiropractor for headaches, a stiff neck, and shooting pains in his

lower back.

Plaintiffs have presented sufficient evidence to raise

genuine issues of material fact relating to (1) the existence of even

arguable probable cause to arrest them and (2) whether the force used

in making the arrests was excessive. Defendant Wingo is not entitled

to summary judgment based on qualified immunity.

B. Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta

Chief Harvard and Sgt. Dawkins contend they are

entitled to qualified immunity as to Plaintiffs’ claims against then in

their individual capacities because Plaintiffs can produce no evidence

linking them causally to Officer Wingo's use of excessive force or

false arrest because Plaintiffs cannot show that either Chief Harvard

or Sgt. Dawkins knew of Officer Wingo's alleged predilection toward

false arrest or excessive use of force.

The City of Atlanta contends it is entitled to summary

judgment because Plaintiffs cannot show that it was deliberately

indifferent to their constitutionally protected rights because they

cannot show that it knew or should have known that Officer Wingo

would use excessive force or falsely arrest them. The City contends

there is no evidence that it failed to sufficiently investigate citizen

complaints against its police officers.

Plaintiffs contend the evidence of the complaints about

and investigations of Officer Wingo from 1990 to 1995 are sufficient

to show Officer Wingo had a propensity for violence and that Chief

Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City knew or should have known of

Officer Wingo's history of misbehavior including a propensity to

verbally abuse citizens, attack without provocation, and to bring

charges but fail to appear in court. Plaintiffs further contend that the

City's duty to supervise its police officers includes the duty to

adequately investigate complaints against the officers and that the —

evidence shows the City failed to properly investigate citizens’

complaints.

Defendants admit that Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and

the City of Atlanta were aware of Officer Wingo's disciplinary record

which includes the following relevant claims:

(i) in September 1990, Otis Lett filed a complaint

alleging he was hit in the head several times and kicked in the side by

Officer Wingo as he was being arrested. Officer Wingo admitted that

he hit and kicked Lett although his initial report of the incident

indicated that Lett struck his head twice on the pavement when Officer

Wingo knocked him to the ground. The complaint was investigated by

Sgt. W. M. Adams and was sustained. Officer Wingo was suspended

without pay for two days. Lett also filed a lawsuit against Officer

Wingo and the City of Atlanta alleging the City failed to adequately

train its police officers and Officer Wingo used excessive force in

(2) in September 1990, Chester E. Kelly filed a complaint

alleging he was kicked and hit in the head by Officer Wingo who also

threatened bodily harm. Kelly and his common law wife were

involved in a domestic dispute, and Kelly was arrested but the charges

were dismissed when Officer Wingo failed to appear in court. Officer

Wingo denied that he struck, kicked, or threatened Kelly but alleged;

Kelly was violent and threatened the officers. Other officers at the

scene also denied that Kelly was struck or kicked and concurred that

Kelly was irate, violent, and threatening the officers. The complaint

was investigated by Sgt. C. A. Turner and was not sustained although

Officer Wingo received a one day suspension for failing to appear in

court.

(3) in May 1992, Kota Andrews filed a complaint alleging

Officer Wingo struck him about his back, neck and head with a

nightstick and also cursed and spit on him. Officer Wingo denied the

allegations but admitted that he pushed Andrews (along with other

members of the crowd) with his nightstick because Andrews failed to

move on when directed to do so. Although the incident occurred

during a large group demonstration and a photograph of Andrews and

others appeared in a local newspaper, the report indicates that neither

witnesses to nor photographs of the incident could be found. The

complaint was investigated by Sgt. J. J. Dallas and was found not

Sustained. An appeal of that decision was investigated by Lt. S. M.

O'Brien, and the decision was upheld.

(4) in July 1992, Timothy A. Ware filed a lawsuit against

the City of Atlanta and thirteen police officers including Officer

Wingo. The suit alleged Officer D. C. Johnson shot Ware without

Provocation when the vehicle Ware was driving was stopped after an

automobile chase and that other officers beat Ware when he

was again stopped after leaving the scene where he had been shot. He

contended the City failed to adequately train its officers and that the

failure resulted in the use of excessive force against him. The case

was settled.

(5) in November 1993, Daphne Delany filed a

complaint alleging that during the Arts Festival at Piedmont Park, she

and a friend were almost trampled by Officer Wingo and his horse;

that Officer Wingo showed no concern for their safety-other than to

yell at them to get out of the way; that when she spoke to Officer

Wingo later, he was rude and abrasive and told her that if they had

been hurt it would have been their own fault. Officer Wingo denied

that he was rude and abrasive but stated that his horse was startled by

a noise and started turning in circles; that he asked the two women to

move because his horse was heading toward them; that he ordered

them to move when they failed to comply with his request; that he

didn't see them after he got his horse under control; and that when

Delany approached him, she was irate and very loud. The complaint

was investigated by Sgt. Dawkins. Although the complaint was not

sustained, Officer Wingo was "verbally counseled on the steps for

proper courtesy in dealing with citizens."

(6) in March 1994, Warren Pemberton filed a complaint

alleging he was verbally abused by Officer Wingo during a traffic

stop. Pemberton's allegations were supported by the testimony of

Stefan Bullard who was with Pemberton and was arrested at the time.

Officer Wingo denied Pemberton's allegations and testified that

Pemberton was hostile, very agitated, and used abusive language.

Officer T. A. Cunningham testified that she did not hear Officer

Wingo refer to either Bullard or Pemberton in a discourteous manner

during the time she was present at the scene following the initial stop.

The complaint was investigated by Sgt. Dawkins and was not

sustained.

(7) in April 1995, Terronce Tillman filed a complaint

alleging he and Ron Jackson were approached for no apparent reason

by Orficer Wingo who "kept forcins his ive ui our face’; after

arresting Jackson, Officer Wingo crossed the street and began yelling

at a young man, used his horse to force the man back and forth

between two poles, hit the man on the head causing him to fall to the

A classification of

"Not Sustained" means "evidence was

insufficient to prove or disprove the allegations stated in the

complaint.”

Allyson Collins, who is employed by Human Rights

Watch and has spent approximately four years studying police abuse

and brutality in the United States, investigated and researched citizen

complaints of excessive force or police abuse in Atlanta and other

cities. In 1998, Human Rights Watch published Shielded from

Justice, a report about Collins’ research. In 1996, Human Rights

Watch published Modern Capital of Human Rights? Abuses in the

State of Georgia, a report of the results of Collins’ research in

Georgia. Collins testified that her research showed: (1) there is no

functional civilian review in Atlanta; (2) the internal affairs unit often

conducts incomplete investigations or investigations biased in favor

of the officers; (3) the threshold set for the early warning system is

sufficiently low that officers are not being identified before they

commit additional abuses; (4) internal investigations are probably

biased because they are often performed by the officer's supervisor

"wao stands to lose a lot if it looks as though their underling is

committing abuses and that they're tolerating it"; (5) witnesses to

instances of alleged abuse are frequently not interviewed or their

testimony is ignored; and (6) Atlanta seems to have "a practice of

deliberately failing to implement systems to hold officers accountable

and to terminate officers who shouldn't be officers so that they don't

go on to commit more abuses.”

Although the evidence shows that Officer Wingo was

disciplined several times for failing to appear in court, there is no

evidence that he failed to appear because the charges he had filed were

false. Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta are

entitled to summary judgment on the claims against them for false

arrest.

Plaintiffs have presented sufficient evidence to show that

there are genuine issues of material fact as to whether the City had a

policy, practice, or custom of failing to adequately investigate citizen

complaints and, if so, whether that policy, practice, or custom was

part of a policy, practice, or custom to allow the use of excessive

force by police officers. Plaintiffs have also presented sufficient

evidence to show that there are genuine issues of material whether

Chief Harvard and Sgt. Dawkins knew that Officer Wingo had a

propensity to use excessive force in making arrests. Chief Harvard,

Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta are not entitled to summary

judgment on the claims against them for use of excessive force.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, Defendants’ motion for

partial summary judgment is DENIED as to claims against Officer

Wingo for false arrest and for the use of excessive force and against

Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta for the use of

excessive force and is GRANTED as to claims against Chief Harvard,

Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta for false arrest [Civil Action

No. 1:96-CV-1038-CAM, Docket No. 62-1; Civil Action No. 1:96-

CV-151-CAM, Docket No. 57-1]. The amended pre-trial order is due

thirty (30) days from the date of this order.

So ORDERED, this 14th day of September, 1999.

(s/ Charles A. Move, Jr.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHARLES A. MOYE, JR.

CAM:J

FILED IN CLERK’S OFFICE

U.S.D.C.- Atlanta

NOV 02 1999

LUTHER D. THOMAS, Clerk

By: /s/ J.White Deputy Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

JOHN P. NESBITT, JR. and

ANDREW JOSEPH MARTIN, :

Plaintiff(s), : CIVIL ACTION NO.

v. : 1:96-CV-1038-CAM

J.G.WINGO, et al., 7

Defendant(s).

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Plaintiff,

CIVIL ACTION NO.

" 1:96-CV-151-CAM

J.G. WINGO, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

On September 14, 1999, the Court entered an order denying

ts' motion for reconsideration of the 14, 1999

Order

LEGAL STANDARDS AND ANALYSIS

I.

Motions for reconsideration should be filed Only when

Engi ‘

(N.D.Ga. 1995), arg 37 F.2d 1242 (11th Cir 1996).

dants contend the Court failed to rule on their motion

Defendants’ motion to strike and reply brief were filed in

the Clerk's Office on September 3, 1999, They were not entered on

Consequently, the Court 8rants Defendants' motion for reconsideration

as to Plaintiffs' claims of excessive force against Chief Harvard, Sgt.

Dawkins, and the City.

II. Motion to Strike

of a motion for Summary Judgment] is to file a notice of objection to

the challenged testimony." Morgan v. Sears, Roebuck and Co, 700 F.

Supp. 1574, 1576 (N.D. Ga. 1988).

The Court denies Defendants’ motion to strike but will consider

Defendants’ objections in evaluating the applicability of Collins' report

and testimony to Defendants’ motion for summary judgment.

III. Motion tor Summary Judgment

The legal standards for evaluating a motion for summary

judgment were stated in the September 14, 1999 Order and will not

be restated here. |

Defendants contend the report and deposition testimony of

Allyson Collins should be excluded because: (1) Plaintiffs failed to

comply with the requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a)(2)(B) and the

Court granted Defendants’ motion in limine to exclude the testimony

of Collins; (2) the proffered report, Shielded from Justice, is

inadmissible hearsay; (3) Collins is not qualified to testify as an

expert; and (4) Collins' testimony is outside the scope of the reopened

discovery. Defendants further contend that, without the Collins

evidence, there is insufficient evidence to show that Chief Harvard,

Sgt. Dawkins, and the City should be held liable for Wing's alleged

use of excessive force.

Plaintiffs contend Defendants had notice of the identity

of Collins and the nature of the anticipated testimony as early as

December 1998; that Defendants were given notice of Collins’

deposition but filed no objections and, in fact, participated in the

deposition; that Collins, as an outside investigator, is competent to

testify; that the report of an investigation of a police department by an

outside body may be admitted into evidence; and that the evidence is

sufficient to show that Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City

were on notice of Wingo's tendency to use excessive force.

In response to Defendants’ motion in limine objecting to

the expert testimony of Allyson Collins, the Court found that

Plaintiffs had not complied with Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a)(2)(B) and

Sustained tie objection. After declaring a mistrial, the Court granted

Plaintiffs’ motion to reopen discovery for sixty days. Although

Plaintiffs provided several reasons to reopen discovery, the order

granting the motion placed no limits on the discovery which might be

taken. Collins was deposed on July 6, 1999, with counsel for all

parties present.

‘ A municipality’s failure to correct the constitutionally

offensive actions of its police department may rise to the: level of a

“custom or policy’ if the municipality tacitly authorizes these actions

or displays deliberate indifference towards the police misconduct."

Brooks v, Scheib, 813 F.2d 1191, 1193 (11th Cir. 1987). "A single

incident by a lower level employee acting under color of law . . . does

not suffice to establish either an official policy or a custom. However,

if custom can be established by other means, a single application of

the custom suffices to establish that it was done pursuant to official

policy and thus to establish the agency's liability." Fletcher v.

O'Donnell, 867 F.2d 791, 793 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 919

(1989). A large number of complaints alone is insufficient to show

deliberate indifference as "the number of complaints bears no relation

to their validity.” Brooks, 813 F.2d at 1193. Where the complaints in

evidence have been "fully investigated and found to be lacking in

merit," the evidence is insufficient to show that the city "knew or

should have known that the natural consequences of its policy and

practices would be the deprivation of constitutional rights." Id.

One of the exceptions to the hearsay rule in civil actions

are "factual findings resulting from an investigation made pursuant to

authority granted by law, unless the sources of information or other

circumstances indicate lack of trustworthiness.” Fed. R. Evid.

803(8)(C). Thus, the report of a governmental agency authorized by

law to conduct a particular investigation may be admitted as evidence.

See Gentile v. County of Suffolk, 926 F.2d 142, 148 (2nd Cir. 1991).

Plaintiffs have not cited, and the Court could not find, any authority

permitting the admission, without further validation, of a report by a

non-governmental agency conducting its own investigation.

Collins is employed by Human Rights Watch as a

researcher, author, and editor. Human Rights Watch is “an

independent, nongovernmental organization, supported by

contributions from private individuals and foundations worldwide."

Human Rights Watch, Shielded fr m Justice: Police Brutalitv and

Accountability in the United States (1998). Collins was author of

Shielded from Justice. During a year-and-a-half to two-year period

Collins visited the cities reported on in Shielded from Justice and

examined documents from those cities as well as corresponded with

and interviewed police officials, city officials, and justice department

officials. Atlanta was one of the cities investigated by Collins.

Plaintiffs do not contend Collins is an expert witness.

Further, although Collins was identified as a witness pnor to the

beginning of the trial in March 1999, she has not been qualified as an

expert witness pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(a)(2). Plaintiffs have

failed to show that Collins has any first-hand knowledge of any

matters relevant to this case. Collins’ report, Shielded from Justice,

was not produced by a governmental agency and is, therefore, not

admissible without proof of its trustworthiness. Neither Collins’

testimony nor her report are admissible.

In the September 14, 1999 Order, the Court noted that

Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the City were aware of Officer

Wingo's disciplinary record and identified seven relevant claims in

that record. All of the claims were investigated by the police Office

of Professional Standards. Five of the claims alleged physical

violence, one alleged rudeness, and one alleged verbal abuse. Of the

five alleging physical violence, one (from September 1990) was

sustained and the related lawsuit settled, one was settled but alleged

excessive force by several Atlanta police officers in addition to

Officer Wingo, and three were "not sustained". One of those "not

sustained" occurred in April 1995, after the incident at issue here. As

stated in the September 14, 1999 Order, "not sustained" means

“evidence was insufficient to prove or disprove the allegations stated

in the complaint." In none of the seven claims was Officer Wingo

exonerated. Nor were any of the claims "unfounded." Three of the

complaints were investigated by Sgt. Dawkins: the complaint alleging

rudeness, the complaint alleging verbal abuse, and the April 1995

complaint alleging physical violence. Because the complaints were

"not sustained," they are insufficieait cc put Chief Harvard, Sgt.

Dawkins, and the City on notice of Officer Wingo's alleged tendency

to use excessive force.

The mvestigzuve feporis Of severai of the “not

sustained" instances suggest that the police witnesses supported

Officer Wingo's testimony wacreas theno.. . ...ce witnesses supported

the testimony of the complainant or that witnesses on behalf of the

complainant could not be found. Nesbitt *-:-' “ed that when he filed a

complaint with the City, he offered to provice names of witnesses, the

person taking the information declined to take the names telling him

IBEST AVAILABLE COPY

that they would want to know the names later in the investigation, and

that no one ever contacted him for the names of witnesses.

Without the testimony of Collins, there is insufficient

evidence from which a jury could conclude that the City had a policy,

which a jury could conclude that chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, and the

City should have known of Officer Wingo's alleged tendency to use

excessive force. Chief Harvard, Sgt. Dawkins, andthe City.of Atlanta. —_—_

are entitled to judgment on the claims against them for the

use of excessive force.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, Defendants’ motion for

reconsideration is GRANTED [Civil Action No. 1:96-CV-15 1-CAM,

Docket No. 69-1]; Defendants’ motion to strike the report and

deposition testimony of Collins is DENIED [Civil Action No. 1:96-

CV-151-CAM, Docket No. 66-1]; and Defendants' motion for

summary judgment as to the Plaintiffs' claims against Chief Harvard,

Sgt. Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta for the use of excessive force

is GRANTED [Civil Action No. 1:96-CV-1038-CAM, Docket No.

62-1; Civil Action No. 1:96-CV-151-CAM, Docket No. 57-1]. The

amended pre-trial order is due thirty (30) days from the date of this

order.

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b), Clerk of Court is

directed to enter final judgment in favor of Chief Harvard, Sgt.

Dawkins, and the City of Atlanta.

SO ORDERED, this day of November, 1999.

/s/ Charles A. Move. Jr.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

CHARLES A. MOYE, JR. \

CAM:J

FILED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

MAR 22 2001

THOMAS K. KAHN

CLERK

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO. 99-15000-FF

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Piaintiff-Appellant,

versus

J. G. WINGO,

BEVELRY HARVARD, as Chief of

Police of the City of Atlanta,

Georgia, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

wee ee ee ee a ee ee Ke a ea ee

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND PETITION(S) FOR

REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion , ith Cir. 19_,

F.2d )

Before: CARNES and BARKETT, Circuit Judges, and POLLAK',

District Judge.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no member of this

panel nor other Judge in regular active service on the Court having

requested that the Court be polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35,

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5),

the Petition(s) for Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Rosemary Barkett

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

1. Honorable Louis H. Pollack, U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

i!

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

NO. 99-15000-FF

JIMMY SCOTT BAGLEY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

J. G. WINGO,

BEVELRY HARVARD, as Chief of

Police of the City of Atlanta,

Georgia, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia

BEFORE: CARNES, and BARKETT, Circuit Judges, and

POLLAK', District Judge.

PER CURIAM:

The petition(s) for rehearing filed by Appellant is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Rosemary Barkett

1._Honorable Louis H. Pollack, U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania, sitting by designation

42 USCA § 1983

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance, regulation,

custom, Or usage, of any State or Territory or the District of

relief was unavailable. For the purposes of this section, any Act of

Congress applicable exclusively to the District of Columbia shall be

considered to be a statute of the District of Columbia.

28 USCA § 1343

(1) To recover damages for injury to his person or property,

or because of the deprivation of any right or privilege of a citizen of

the United States, by any act done in furtherance of any conspiracy

mentioned in section 1985 of Title 42;

(2) To recover damages from any person who fails to prevent

or to aid in preventing any wrongs mentioned in section 1985 of Title

42 which he had knowledge were about to occur and power to prevent:

(3) To redress the deprivation, under color of any State law,

statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or usage, of any right, privilege

or immunity secured by the Constitution of the United States or by

any Act of Congress providing for equal rights of citizens or of all

Persons within the jurisdiction of the United States:

(4) To recover damages or to secure equitable or other relief

under any Act of Congress providing for the protection of civil nghts,

including the right to vote.

(b) For Purposes of this section--

(1) the District of Columbia shall be considered to be a

State; and

(2) any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to the District

of Columbia shall be considered to be a statute of the District of

Columbia.

nit itution, Am nt I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion,

or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of

speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to

assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

United States Constitution, Amendment IV

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers,

and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be

violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause.

supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the

place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

nited Stat itution. Amen t V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise infamous

crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except

in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in

actual service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person

be subject for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or

limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just

compensation.

United States Constitution. Amendment XTV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and

of the State wherein thev reside. No State saall make or enforce any

law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Section 2. Representatives shall be apportioned among the several

States according to their respective numbers, counting the whcle

number of persons in each State, excluding Indians not taxed. But

when the right to vote at any election for the choice of electors for

President and Vice President of the United States, Representatives in

Congress, the Executive and Judicial officers of a State, or the

members of the Legislature thereof, is denied to any of the male

inhabitants of such State, being twenty-one years of age, and citizens

of the United States, or in any way abridged, except for participation

in rebellion, or other crime, the basis of representation therein shall be

reduced in the proportion which the number of such male citizens

shall bear to the whole number of male citizens twenty-one years of

age in such State.

Section 3. No person shall be a Senator_or Representative. in

Congress, or elector of President and Vice President, or hold any

office, civil or military, under the United States, or under any State,

who, having previously taken an oath, as a member of Congress, or

as an officer of the United States, or as a member of any State

legislature, or as an executive or judicial officer of any State, to

support the Constitution of the United States, shall have engaged in

insurrection or rebellion against the same, or given aid or comfort to

the enemies thereof. But Congress may by a vote of two-thirds of each _

House, remove such disability.

Section 4. The validity of the public debt of the United States,

authorized by law, including debts incurred for payment of pensions

and bounties for services in suppressing insurrection or rebellion,

shall not be questioned. But neither the United States nor any State

shail assume or pay any debt or obligation incurred in aid of

insurrection or rebellion against the United States, or any claim for the

loss or emancipation of any slave: but all such debts, obligations and

claims shall be held illegal and void.

Section 5. The Congress shall have power to enforce, by appropriate

legislation, the provisions of this article.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.