Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sanders v. Exxon Corp.
Supreme Court brief2000
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
a
\') Supreme Court, U.8,
FILED
00 69 JUL 52000
No.
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
JACKIE SANDERS
Petitioner,
v.
EXXON CORPORATION d/b/a
EXXON COMPANY, U.S.A.,
Respondent
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
ERIC SCHNAPPER ELIOT P. TUCKER
University of Washington MANDELL & WRIGHT, P.C.
School of Law 712 Main, Suite 1600
1100 N. E. Campus Parkway Houston, Texas 77002-3297
Seattle, Washington, 98105 (713) 228-1521
(206) 616-3167 Counsel of Record
SCOTT NEWAR
700 Louisiana, Suite 2550
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 220-9155
Attorneys for Petitioner
¢
mX
t
QUESTION PRESENTED
Prior to Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc., 120 S.Ct.
2097, 68 U.S.L.W. 4480 (June 12, 2000), the District Court and the Fifth
Circuit, respectively, granted and affirmed summary judgment for
Respondent on Petitioner’s Title VII and 42 U.S.C. § 1981 retaliation
claims.
Are the lower court opinions consistent with Reeves?
QUESTION PRESENTED
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION
TABLE OF CONTENTS
1
i
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.......... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.
2
4
THE DISTRICT COURT AND THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
IGNORED CRITICAL EVIDENCE INDICATING THAT
EXXON DEMOTED AND CONSTRUCTIVELY
DISCHARGED JACKIE SANDERS IN RETALIATION FOR
HER OPPOSITION TO THE COMPANY’S
DISCRIMINATION
Il. THE DISTRICT COURT IMPERMISSIBLY CREDITED
THE SELF-SERVING, CONTROVERTED TESTIMONY OF
EXXON MANAGEMENT
ll. THE DISTRICT COURT DREW ALL REASONABLE
FACTUAL INFERENCES IN FAVOR OF EXXON AND
AGAINST JACKIE SANDERS
CONCLUSION
APPENDIX A
11
District Court Memorandum and Order on Summary Judgment..................1a
APPENDIX B
Fifth Circuit Panel Opinion.
APPENDIX C
Fifth Circuit En Banc Opinion
li
1b
Ic
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
FEDERAL CASES
Barrow v. New Orleans Steamship Association, 10 F.3d 292 (Sth Cir.
RDA) a aaisccsicsssniessciceinconsoinssinisniasansniniiachieicannmedaciiilasaialtiadcel iaiada eras a cae as ci 6
Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products, Inc., 120 S. Ct. 2097, 68
U.S.L.W. 4480 (June 12, 2000) ...............ccccsscsscsssseseees 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11
Sanders v. Exxon Corp., 210 F.3d 369 (Sth Cir. 2000).............cscsssesssssseeees 1
FEDERAL STATUTES
28 U.S.C; GG ADIGE We BiG isn caine. eckdsssibah alien sesaredbigalieleRornscnes l
42 U.S. & UGB orks Bih Roi ca cceeth ceeacsnsncbsbielatthinniinesSpatinlle 1,2,4
a2 USC. § I i a
42 U.S.C. BOOS CIPI sisiesi cle Ceci cchssesccccialattiicenattcuab pease 1
ili
OPINIONS BELOW
The District Court granted summary judgment and entered Final
Judgment for Exxon on May 10, 1999. The unpublished District Court
Memorandum and Order granting summary judgment appears in Appendix
A. The unpublished opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit affirming the District Court’s judgment appears at Sanders v.
Exxon Corp., 210 F.3d 369 (5™ Cir. 2000) (unpublished) and in Appendix
B. The Fifth Circuit's denial of Ms. Sanders’ Petition for Rehearing En
Banc appears in Appendix C.
JURISDICTION
On May 10. 1999, the District Court entered Final Judgment for
Exxon, from which Jackie Sanders timely appealed. See Appendix C. On
February 18, 2000, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
affirmed the District Court’s Final Judgment. Sanders v. Exxon Corp., 210
F.3d 369 (5" Cir. 2000); Appendix B. On April 5, 2000, the Fifth Circuit
denied Jackie Sanders’ Petition for Rehearing En Banc. See Appendix
A. This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed within ninety days of the Fifth
Circuit's denial of the Petition for Rehearing En Banc. Therefore, the Court
has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1) and 2106.
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Seventh Amendment, United States Constitution
In Suits at common law, where the value in controversy shall
exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no
fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise reexamined in any Court of the
United States, than according to the rules of the common law.
42 U.S.C § 2000e-3 (1994)
It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an employer to
discriminate against any of his employees or applicants for employment,
for an employment agency, or joint labor-management committee
controlling apprenticeship or other training, or retraining, including on-
the-job training programs, to discriminate against any individual, or for a
labor organization to discriminate against any member thereof or applicant
for membership, because he has opposed any practice made an unlawful
employment practice by this subchapter, or because he has made a charge,
testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in an investigation,
proceeding, or hearing under this subchapter.
42 U.S.C. § 1981a (c)(1) (1994)
If a complaining party seeks compensatory or punitive damages
under this section—any party may demand a trial by jury
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Jackie Sanders filed suit against Exxon Corporation on November
26, 1997, alleging that, in violation of Title VII and 42 U.S.C. § 1981, the
company had retaliated against her for opposing its race discrimination
against minority employees. Sanders requested a jury trial.
Although the parties vigorously contested numerous material facts,
the District Court granted Exxon summary judgment on all Sanders’
claims. The Fifth Circuit summarily affirmed. The question before the
Court is whether, in the light of Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products,
Inc., 120 S.Ct. 2097, 68 U.S.L.W. 4480 (June 12, 2000), a jury, not a
judge, should have resolved the substantive factual disputes.
Several facts are undisputed. Jackie Sanders worked for Exxon as
an oil and gas accountant and accounting supervisor from 1977 to 1997.
Prior to 1995, Exxon promoted Sanders five times and considered her one
of its “highest potential” employees.’
From April, 1995 to November, 1995 Ms. Sanders — then a
Senior Revenue Accounting Supervisor in Exxon USA’s Controllers
division — repeatedly opposed her supervisor, Gary Schott’s,
discrimination against minority accountants. Ms. Sanders—a _ white
female—repeatedly confronted Schott about the disproportionately low
performance rankings of the minority accountants under his supervision
and his failure to accord them high-profile assignments and promotional
opportunities. A 1996 Exxon EEO investigation substantiated Sanders’
allegation concerning the minority rankings, finding that the minority
* accountants under Schott’s supervision were ranked, on average, 25 points
below their white counterparts”
3 R 1/978, Exhibit N, at 79.
- R 2/2 (referencing Exxon’s sealed EEO report). At Exxon, an employee’s ranking
2
In November, 1995—shortly after Sanders objected to Schott’s
demand that she write a negative performance evaluation for an Asian-
American accountant under her supervision—Exxon removed Sanders
from her supervisory position and transferred her to an unchallenging, non-
supervisory position in Upstream Financial Services (“UFS”) that had
previously been filled by entry-level employees’ In September, 1996—less
than one month after Sanders protested her demotion and the underlying
race discrimination to Exxon management and filed a Charge of
Discrimination with the EEOC—Exxon declared Sanders psychologically
unfit for work and placed her on medical leave.’
After Sanders returned from medical leave in December, 1996 and,
over Exxon's Controller’s objections, continued to cooperate with the
EEOC,’ Exxon management—acting pursuant to the Controller’s
directive’—repeatedly subjected Sanders to “hard counseling” for alleged
performance problems’; stripped her of a special assignment on which she
was doing a “great job™; and accelerated deadlines for her to complete her
work.’ Then, in July, 1997—less than three weeks after Sanders rejected
Exxon’s offer to settle her EEOC Charge'"—Exxon management, despite
knowing of Sanders’ continuing depression,'' once again subjected her to a
“hard counseling” session that reduced her to tears and caused her to
become ill." Having debilitated Sanders, Exxon once again declared her
psychologically unfit for work and placed her on medical leave.” Suffering
from depression and Post-Traumatic Stress caused by Exxon’s demotion
and long-term harassment, Sanders resigned her employment on October
17, 1997.
After exhausting her administrative remedies, Sanders sued Exxon
under Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 1981, alleging that the company had demoted
and constructively discharged her in retaliation for opposing its race
discrimination internally and filing a Charge of Discrimination with the
EEOC." Although it conceded that Sanders had opposed, in good faith, its
determines her eligibility for salary increases and promotions, as well as lay-offs.
: R 1.915 (and related Exhibit 2); R 2/Exhibit 1; R 2/Exhibit K; R 1/857-858
R 1915.
5 Sanders provided the EEOC with substantial statistical data demonstrating that Exxon had
ranked the minority accountants under Schott’s supervision disproportionately lower than
their white counterparts. R 1/1056-1057.
: R 1/854; R | 978, Exhibit N, at 213, 215 (emphasis added).
R 1 913.
*R L914; R 1.978, Exhibit O, at 121.
* R 2/Exhibit A, at 446-447.
'R 1/1056-1057.
'' R Exhibit {(2).
"RI 912.
°R 1912.
'+ Sanders also alleged that Exxon subjected her to the intentional infliction of emotional ~
3
allegedly discriminatory employment practices, Exxon denied subjecting
Sanders to any unlawful retaliation and claimed that all of its actions
towards Sanders were benign and motivated by its concern for her well-
being.
Despite the parties’ conflicting evidence, the District Court granted
Exxon's Motion for Summary Judgment. The District Court found that
Sanders had opposed, in good faith, Exxon’s alleged employment
discrimination and assumed arguendo that Exxon had subsequently
demoted her. However, the District Court summarily concluded that
Sanders’ opposition to Schott’s discrimination did not “cause” her
demotion, despite an Exxon EEO investigation that found that Schott
“jointly” decided to transfer Sanders from her supervisory position.'* The
District Court likewise concluded that. despite Sanders’ evidence of
demotion, reduced pay increases,'® and persistent harassment by Exxon
management, Sanders had not raised a fact issue that a reasonable person in
her position would have felt compelled to resign.
In a one-line per curiam opinion, the Fifth Circuit summarily
affirmed the District Court’s judgment. The Fifth Circuit similarly denied
Sanders’ petition for rehearing en banc.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
This case presents, in the summary judgment context, the issues
addressed in Reeves v. Sanderson Pluming Products, Inc., 120 S.Ct. 2097,
68 U.S.L.W. 4480 (June 12, 2000). Reeves held that lower courts err by
failing to credit the employee’s prima facie case and evidence challenging
the employer’s “legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons” in determining, as
a matter of law, that the employee failed to prove Title VII discrimination.
Lower courts further err by crediting the employer’s self-serving
testimony, when such testimony is impeached or contradicted, and by
failing to draw all reasonable factual inferences in favor of the employee.
In this case, the District Court and the Fifth Circuit—acting prior to
Reeves—applied the very mistaken standard that the Fifth Circuit earlier
used, and this Court invalidated, in Reeves. Therefore, the Court should
vacate and remand those decisions for reconsideration in the light of
Reeves.
distress, in violation of Texas law.
'S R 1/847 (emphasis added).
'© In the three year period after she opposed Exxon’s discrimination, Sanders’ average
annual raise decreased from $5,500.00 to approximately $600.00, while the average annual
raise for similarly situated Exxon Controllers employees increased from $4,100.00 to
$6,700.00. R 1/911.
4
I. THE DISTRICT COURT AND THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
IGNORED CRITICAL EVIDENCE INDICATING THAT
EXXON DEMOTED AND CONSTRUCTIVELY
DISCHARGED JACKIE SANDERS IN RETALIATION FOR
HER OPPOSITION TO THE COMPANY’S
DISCRIMINATION
Reeves established that, on summary judgment in Title VII cases, lower
courts must credit the employee’s evidence establishing a prima facie case
of discrimination and challenging the employer’s “legitimate, non-
discriminatory reasons” for the alleged adverse employment action.
Reeves, 68 U.S.L.W. at 4484. Here, as in Reeves, the District Court failed
to credit Sanders’ evidence that Exxon demoted and constructively
discharged her for opposing its alleged discrimination and her evidence
establishing that Exxon’s proffered reasons for these adverse actions were
false.
With respect to Sanders’ retaliatory demotion claim, the District Court
failed to credit Sanders’ evidence—derived from an Exxon internal EEO
report—that her supervisor, Gary Schott, “jointly” decided to remove
Sanders from her supervisory position within six months of her first
opposition to his alleged discrimination. The District Court further failed to
credit Sanders’ evidence demonstrating that Exxon’s professed “business
reasons” for transferring her to UFS—that Sanders was having
“interpersonal problems with some of her subordinates” and had long
sought such a transfer—were false and, therefore, pretexts for retaliation.
Such evidence included glowing testimonials from Sanders’ former
subordinates'’; Sanders’ repeated requests not to be transferred to UFS in
1995'*; and Exxon’s failure to transfer a similarly situated Revenue
Accounting supervisor (Darrell Call), whose conduct towards his
subordinates had resulted in negative employment evaluations and a Title
VII lawsuit against the company for sex and race discrimination.”
'’ Sanders’ subordinates testified that she was an “excellent supervisor” who was “smart”
and “professional”; and, further, that Sanders “gave them a chance” and would not stand for
them being mistreated in any way. R 2/101, Exhibit F, Exhibit N, and Exhibit M.
'§ Sanders requested that she not be transferred to UFS in June, 1995 and, again, in
November, 1995 because of her concern that its overtime requirements would have
prevented her from caring for her mother, who was recuperating from a series of strokes. R
1/917; R 4/353, Exhibit |, at 132-133, 209, 212-214. In light of Sanders’ family situation,
Exxon allowed her to remain in Revenue Accounting in June, 1995 but declined to do so in
November, 1995.
'° R 11083 (sealed Exhibit B and Exhibit C). Exxon did not dispute Call’s sordid work
history and offered no explanation for why it transferred Sanders, instead of him.
5
With respect to her retaliatory constructive discharge claim, the District
Court failed to credit Sanders’ prima facie case.” Specifically, the District
Court failed to credit Sanders’ demotion, the related reduction in job
responsibilities, the menial and degrading nature of her new position, and
her decreased pay raises. The District Court’s failure to credit such
evidence allowed it to summarily conclude that “{a]lthough Sanders
appeared to be genuinely distressed and may have been rudely treated on a
few occasions, the incidents she relates would not have caused a reasonable
person to resign.””'
Il. THE DISTRICT COURT IMPERMISSIBLY CREDITED
THE SELF-SERVING, CONTROVERTED TESTIMONY OF
EXXON MANAGEMENT
Reeves also established clear and important limitations on the
extent to which lower courts could rely upon the moving party’s
controverted evidence in adjudicating FRCP 56 motions for summary
judgment. The Court held:
[T]he court must disregard all evidence favorable to the moving
party that the jury is not required to believe. That is, the court
should give credence to the evidence favoring the non-movant as
well as that ‘evidence supporting the moving party that is
uncontradicted and unimpeached, at least to the extent that. that
evidence comes from disinterested witnesses.’ Reeves, 68
U.S.L.W. at 4484 (citations omitted).
In granting Exxon summary judgment, the District Court relied
almost exclusively on controverted affidavits from Exxon management.
In Barrow v. New Orleans Steamship Ass'n, \0 F.3d 292, 297 (5™ Cir, 1994), the Fifth
Circuit held that, in order to establish a prima facie case of constructive discharge under
Title VII, an employee need only “offer evidence that the employer made the employee's
working conditions so intolerable that a reasonable person would feel compelled to resign.”
To determine whether a reasonable person would have felt compelled to resign, the Fifth
Circuit stated that the following factors should be considered, either “singly or in
combination”:
s demotion;
reduction in salary;
reduction in job responsibilities;
reassignment to menial or degrading work;
reassignment to work under a younger supervisor;
badgering, harassment, or humiliation by the employer calculated to
encourage the employee's resignation; and
f offers of early retirement
*' See Appendix A, at 18a.
or er YS YP
6
For example, in support of its conclusion that Exxon did not harass and
constructively discharge Sanders, the District Court noted:
Affidavits or deposition testimony from Templeton [Exxon
USA Controllers, Planning and Controls Manager], Brittan
[Exxon USA Controllers, UFS Manager], Hayes [Exxon
USA Controllers, Human Resources], and Lawhorn
{Exxon Nurse] indicates that they acted out of concern for
Sanders’ emotional health, and — most importantly —
upon the orders of Sanders physicians.”
Indeed, the District Court adopted, almost verbatim, the self-serving
affidavit testimony of Peggy Brittan—Sanders’ supervisor in UFS and her
primary tormentor—regarding a July 31, 1997 “hard counseling” session
that caused Sanders to suffer an emotional breakdown and led Exxon to,
once again, bar her from the workplace.” The District Court credited Ms.
“See Appendix A, at !4a.
> In her affidavit, Ms. Brittan testified:
On July 31, 1997 I counseled with Ms. Sanders regarding a deadline that was
missed when she was out sick during the week of July 14, 1997...My purpose was
to discuss with Ms. Sanders how we might ensure that no other deadlines were
missed like one that occurred while she was out. During this discussion Ms.
Sanders became very emotional and cried. Ms. Sanders continued to bring up the
allegations surrounding her claims of discrimination by Mr. Schott. I reminded
her several times that she was talking about things that I had no knowledge of.
She made comments that being at work was a problem and that no one had tried ©
to heip her. | reminded her that she had been offered a position in another
organization and she had turned the offer down. At the end of the conversation |
offered to get a taxi for Ms. Sanders, but she refused. I asked Ms. Sanders to take
a few minutes to compose herself before driving herself home. Following my
meeting with Ms. Sanders, I prepared detailed notes of my conversation with her.
Attached as Exhibit C are true and correct copies of the notes I prepared from my
conversation with Ms. Sanders on July 31, 1997. See Exxon’s Motion for
Summary Judgment, Affidavit of Peggy L. Brittan.
In its Wlemorandum and Order, the District Court described the July 31, 1997 meeting as
follows:
In July, 1997, Sanders missed a deadline while she was out on sick leave for a few
days. On July 31, 1997, after Sanders returned to work, Brittan initiated a
discussion with her about the missed deadline and tried to discuss ways to avoid
missing deadlines in the future. During the discussion, Sanders became very
emotional and cried. Sanders made statements like “Exxon is killing me,” “I have
to look over my shoulder all the time,” “I’m unable to work; I’m too upset,” I’m
sick, but you say it’s a performance problem,” and “no one will help me.” She
said she had sought help but there was no resolution of her issues, which she said
were “eating her up” and that she was only sleeping two hours a night. Sanders
continued to bring up her allegations regarding Gary Schott. Brittan reminded
Sanders several times that she was talking about things Brittan had no knowledge
j
Brittan’s self-serving testimony, despite the fact that it was not only
controverted by Sanders’ affidavit” but also contradicted by the deposition
testimony of Exxon’s nurse, Elizabeth Lawhorn. For example, Lawhorn
testified that Brittan was “coming down hard” on Sanders for some time
prior to the July, 1997 “hard counseling” session; that Brittan’s inability to
“move on” resulted in her abusive treatment of Sanders during that
counseling session; and that Brittan herself was “part of the problem.”
The District Court’s failure to disregard Exxon’s officials’ self-serving
testimony about their “concern” for Sanders’ well-being, especially in the
face of such countervailing evidence, is inconsistent with Reeves.
Ill. THE DISTRICT COURT DREW ALL REASONABLE
FACTUAL INFERENCES IN FAVOR OF EXXON AND
AGAINST JACKIE SANDERS
Finally, in Reeves, the Court made clear that, in adjudicating
summary judgment motions in Title VII cases, lower courts must draw all
reasonable factual inferences from an employee’s direct evidence of
discrimination in favor of the employee and may not make credibility
determinations or weigh the evidence. Reeves, 68 U.S.L.W. at 4484. Here,
as in Reeves, Jackie Sanders adduced direct evidence of Exxon’s
discrimination, which the District Court either failed to credit or
discounted. Such evidence consisted of the following statements made by
Exxon's Controller, Bobby Alexander, during a September 17, 1996
meeting with Sanders to discuss her discrimination allegations:
Alexander: “Look, we don’t discriminate against anybody for any
reason at all. And when somebody comes along, like yourself or
anyone else, that insists that we do, of course we are not going to
be happy with them.
* * ™
Alexander: If you would trust me, your career would not be
screwed up. Now, I'll be the first to admit, I think you are screwing
your career up. But it’s not too late to stop and turn it around.
of, and tried to direct the conversation back to the deadline issue. Brittan told
Sanders that “other people’s lives are not your business.” Sanders became so
emotional that Brittan tried to convince her to take a cab home, and asked her to at
least wait about 10 minutes to compose herself before attempting to drive. See
Appendix A, at 6a.
*4 In her affidavit, Sanders testified shat Brittan berated her at length on July 31, 1997, over
a deadline allegedly missed two weeks before and that, when she tried to escape Brittan’s
tirade. the latter blocked her from leaving the office. R 1/912.
“R 1.978, Exhibit P, at 91-92, 153-154.
8
* * oe
Sanders: I talked to the lawyer, I know what’s in Title VII. I know
what I’m entitled to.
Alexander: What are you entitled to?
Sanders: I’m entitled to the difference between my salary now and
what I’m going to make out on the outside.
Alexander: Why are you entitled to the difference between your
salary and what you’re going to make on the outside?
Sanders: Because that’s what Title VII says.
Alexander: And what is Title VII?
Sanders: Title VII is the Equal Employment Opportunity Act that
Congress passed.
Alexander: You better—you better get you another lawyer.
“ ot oe
Alexander: We’re trying to work with you. You go down to the
EEOC and talk to some lawyer who you don’t know, who does not
know you...[H]e doesn’t know anything about the situation other
than what you’ve told him. And you believe him when he says,
‘Let me tell you what you’re entitled to, Jackie’?
Sanders: Who am I supposed to believe?
Alexander: I would think you would believe us a heck of a lot
more—you know, we’re part of your family, not him?
Sanders: You’re darn right. You were part of my family. You just
don’t know how much until now.
Alexander: That’s what we’re trying to do. But you keep—you
keep throwing—you keep going against us.
* * *
Alexander: You’re out there talking to a lawyer at EEOC—How
many times do you think we’ve been challenged on
discrimination?...How many times has anyone demonstrated that
we’ve discriminated against them?
* * =
Alexander: You can take it to the EEOC. And you can take it to
court. And we’ll see who wins.
Sanders: That’s not what I want to do.
Alexander: Well, you know you do want to do that.
Sanders: No. No, Bobby. I don’t want to go to court.
Alexander: Well, that’s exactly what you’re doing.°
Although a jury could conclude from these statements that Mr. Alexander
— the highest ranking official in Exxon USA Controllers — was
attempting to intimidate and coerce Ms. Sanders regarding her EEOC
Charge, the District Court summarily concluded:
It is doubtful that the above comments, taken in context
with the entire conversation, could be construed as
‘intimidation’ or a ‘threat’ to force Sanders to drop her
EEOC Charge.””’
Additionally, as the Fifth Circuit did in Reeves, the District Court
discounted Alexander’s remarks because it summarily concluded—
contrary to the clear record—that Alexander “did not make any ‘ultimate
employment decision’ regarding Sanders.””®
Finally, the District Court discounted, as direct evidence of
retaliation, Alexander’s actions and statements regarding Sanders’
December, 1996 request to transfer from UFS to a more challenging
position. In light of Sanders’ qualifications and her emotional state, Exxon
management and Human Resource officials regarded a transfer as essential
to her survival at Exxon and had recommended to Alexander that he
approve her request.” Alexander rejected this recommendation and
instructed his subordinates to notify Sanders that any transfer would leave a
“mark” on her career.’ Simultaneously, Alexander directed his
subordinates to begin subjecting Sanders to “hard counseling,” not to
“bow” to her, and to “make sure she understands facts.”*'
Faced with this Hobson’s Choice, Sanders declined tbe transfer
offer that Alexander’s subordinates presented her in January, 1997. She
argued that, viewed in the context of Alexander’s other coercive and
intimidating remarks, the transfer “offer” constituted further evidence of
Exxon’s retaliation. Contrary to Reeves, the District Court completely
failed to credit Alexander’s directive that Exxon management subject
Sanders to “hard counseling.” Likewise at variance with Reeves, the
District Court resolved all reasonable inferences against Sanders by
holding that Alexander’s contemporaneous directive that any transfer
°R R 1/866-872.
*7 Appendix A, at 16a.
*8 Appendix A, at 16a.
*° R 1/978, Exhibit N, at 212-213.
*R 1/854; R 1/978, Exhibit N, at 213, 215.
*" Id. (emphasis original).
10
would leave a “mark” on her career “does not appear to be a ‘threat’ but a
legitimate opinion about corporate perceptions.”
CONCLUSION
Because the lower courts failed to apply the Reeves standard for
summary judgment motions in Title VII cases, the Court should grant
certiorari, vacate the lower court judgments, and remand this case for
reconsideration in the light of Reeves.
Respectfully submitted,
ERIC SCHNAPPER ELIOT P. TUCKER
University of Washington MANDELL & WRIGHT, P.C.
School of Law 712 Main, Suite 1600
1100 N. E. Campus Parkway Houston, Texas 77002-3297
Seattle, Washington, 98105 (713) 228-1521
(206) 616-3167 Counsel of Record
SCOTT NEWAR
700 Louisiana, Suite 2550
Houston, Texas 77002
(713) 220-9155 ‘
*° Appendix A. at 18a (emphasis added).
APPENDIX A
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION
JACKIE SANDERS,
Plaintiff,
V CIVIL ACTION NO. H-97-3885
EXXON CORPORATION d/b/a
EXXON COMPANY, U:S.A..
GM NN Ln i Gr
Defendant
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
Pending before the Court is Defendant Exxon Corporation's motion
for summary judgment (Dkt. #37) on all the claims asserted by Plaintiff
Jackie Sanders. After reviewing the motion, the parties’ briefing the record
and the applicable law, the Court is of the opinion that Exxon’s motion
should be GRANTED.
I. Factual and Procedural Background
Exxon hired Jackie Sanders in September 1977. Sanders worked
for Exxon for 20 years before resigning her employment on October 16,
1997. In April 1995, Sanders was a supervisor over approximately 10 to
15 accountants in Revenue Accounting East (“RAE’) within the
controller’s department. Sanders, who is white, claims that Exxon demoted
her to a “dead - end staff position” in November 1995 because she
expressed concems to her supervisor, Gary Schott, in April 1995 and June
1995 that the black, Asian and Hispanic accountants under her supervision
were being discriminated against in the company’s annual ranking process.
Sanders further claims that she was transferred because she refused in
October 1995 to lower an Asian employee’s evaluation at Schott’s
direction.
The new position to which Sanders was transferred was the “Crude
and Condensate” (“C&C”) desk in Upstream Financial Services (“UFS").
Sanders confirmed in her deposition testimony that her salary and
la
classification level remained the same after the transfer, she continued to
receive pay raises after the transfer, and her ranking within the company
remained largely the same.' The parties disagree as to who was involved
in the decision to transfer Sanders and as to whether the C&C job was
beneath Sanders’ abilities or constituted a demotion.
During 1996, Sanders began to show signs of stress and
depression. In April 1996, Sanders consulted a nurse in Exxon’s health
department and asked to have her blood pressure checked. Sanders stated
that’she sometimes felt that her “heart was racing” and that she was feeling
“exhausted and pressured” and was not sleeping well due to working long
hours at work and spending every weekend caring for her sick mother in
San Antonio. The Exxon nurse advised Sanders to see a physician
regarding medication to help her sleep, and also suggested that Sanders
make an appointment with Exxon’s employee assistance program for stress
counseling. Sanders testified that during this time she was “depressed” and
tended to keep her office door shut and not talk to anyone. She testified
that she was not handling things well, not sleeping well, and suffering from
stress, anxiety and crying.
In May 1996, Sanders went to see David Middlebrooks, her
manager at UFS. Sanders secretly tape - recorded this conversation. The
transcript, which Sanders confirmed was accurate, shows that Sanders was
very upset and crying. She told Middlebrooks that there was an unspecified
“problem” in her former unit, but refused to be more specific, even though
Middlebrooks expressed concern and asked her repeatedly to explain.
When Sanders told him she was unhappy working in UFS, Middlebrooks
offered to move Sanders out of UFS, but Sanders declined the offer.
During the conversation, in response to Sanders’ comment that she needed
someone she could trust, Middlebrooks agreed and remarked that she
needed a “soul mate” to confide in. Sanders testified that she was very
offended by this comment and interpreted it to mean that he was telling her
to “get a mate” in her life.
During June and July of 1996, Sanders testified that her depression
was affecting her ability to do her job, and that she “wasn’t taking care of
myself or my clothes.” She testified that she was having “anxiety attacks”
and that “everything seemed suspicious” to her - she was afraid her phone
' Sanders had received a relative performance ranking of 60 percent while working in UFS.
Her ranking for the period April 1994 to March 1996 remained at 60 percent, largely
because of positive comments from Schott regarding the period he supervised her before her
transfer. However, Sanders’ ranking for the period April 1996 to March 1997 dropped to 50
percent.
2a
was being bugged and that someone was following her in the park, and she
thought something was in the air making her ill. She testified that her
family was tired of hearing about her problems at Exxon, because that was
all she talked about. Her brother urged her to get therapy.
On August 16, 1996, after she had been working in her new
position in UFS for nine months, Sanders approached Sheila Templeton,
RAE manager, and asked why she had been transferred from RAE to UFS
nine months earlier, and asked whether she had been transferred for
refusing to lower the Asian employee’s evaluation in October 1995 as
instructed by her supervisor, Gary Schott. Sanders was viably upset and
crying. Templeton said she had not known that Sanders was unhappy at
UFS, and she explained the reasons for the November 1995 transfer - that
Sanders had previously expressed an interest in a financial position, that
Templeton thought the position would be a good opportunity for Sanders,
that Sanders’ need to take care of her mother on weekends could be
accommodated in the new position, and that there were some conflicts in
the unit Sanders had been supervising in RAE. Sanders made some vague
allegations involving Gary Schott, but was reluctant to elaborate.
Templeton encouraged Sanders to speak to human resources about the
allegations, and, with Sanders’ consent, set up a meeting for a few days
later, August 20, 1996, between Templeton, Sanders and human resources
advisor Jack Hayes. After Sanders left, Templeton called Sanders’
supervisor, Dan Jones, and asked him to check on Sanders because she was
SO upset.
On August 19, 1996, Sanders’ UFS manager, Peggy Brittan, called
a nurse in Exxon’s health department and expressed concern about
Sanders, stating that Sanders appeared to be overreacting to work issues
and blowing small incidents out of proportion, and that Sanders was not
able to deal with criticism of her work. Brittan told the nurse that Sanders
could be under stress because she “works all week then drives to San
Antonio for the weekend to care for her ill mother.” The nurse suggested
that Brittan talk to Sanders. express concerns about her health and offer for
her to be evaluated by the health services department.
On August 20, 1996, Sanders had the scheduled meeting with
Templeton and human resources advisor Jack Hayes. Sanders, visibly
upset, complained that Exxon had discriminated the minority accountants
formerly under her supervision in RAE, and claimed that she had been
transferred to UFS in December 1995, nine months before, in retaliation for
her previous complaints to her former supervisor, Gary Schott. During the
meeting on August 20, 1996, Sanders was extremely upset and was crying
3a
uncontrollably. She told Templeton and Hayes that she believed that
Schott “systematically worked to drop minorities in the rank list.” She
stated that she had not been able to concentrate and had been making
numerous errors in her work. She said she feared for her life because she
lived alone and knew Schott’s brother was a policeman; she was afraid
Schott would “kill her” if he knew of her allegations against him.
Templeton and Hayes told Sanders that her allegations were very serious
and that they would be investigated. Hayes and Templeton reported
Sanders’ allegations to Bobby Alexander, controller for Exxon Company
U.S.A. On August 28, 1996, Alexander wrote a memo asking Tom
Walters in human resources to conduct an investigation into Sanders’
- allegations.
On August 30, 1996, Sanders filed an EEOC charge alleging that
Exxon had retaliated her for having opposed discrimination against the
minority accountants.
On September i0, 1996, Hayes contacted Liz Lawhorm, a
registered nurse and occupational health coordinator in the health services
department, and expressed his concern that Sanders had been very
emotional and crying during a September 4 interview with HR
representatives, and that she had later been seen “in the corner of the room
shaking.” The next day, Lawhorm visited Sanders privately in Sanders’
office. Lawhorn told Sanders she was concerned about Sanders’ emotions
and ability to work. Sanders appeared sad and distressed and told Lawhorn
that she was “unable to work without crying” and that she believed she had
a problem. Lawhorn testified that Sanders told her that “she really
appreciated me coming to her and offering assistance because she felt she
didn’t have anywhere to turn.” Lawhorn told Sanders to take sick leave
and to call her physician as soon as possible for evaluation. Lawhormn
testified that Exxon policy is that, when the medical department believes
that an employee may be medically unfit for duty, the employee is asked to
be evaluated by a physician for fitness for duty. Sanders was evaluated by
her own physician, Dr. Kevin Comfort, on September 19, 1996. Dr.
Comfort diagnosed Sanders with “Stress Disorder - Acute” and stated that
she was disabled and unable to work until October 7, 1996. Sanders went
on paid medical leave.
On September 17, 1996, Sanders, while on medical leave, came up
to the Exxon office and spoke to Bobby Alexander. Sanders alleges that
Alexander expressed displeasure with her for filing the EEOC charge and
stated that she was going against her Exxon “family.” She admits,
however, that Alexander told her repeatedly that Exxon would investigate
her allegations and would not tolerate discrimination. He wrote down the
names of the alleged discrimination victims and told Sanders he would
personally go and look at the rankings. In addition, when Sanders stated
that she was not happy working her current assignment in UFS, Alexander
offered to transfer Sanders to another section of the company or to an
affiliate if she wished. In this conversation, which Sanders also tape -
recorded, Sanders seems to be upset and crying; Alexander tells her several
times to “calm down.”
The next day, on September 18, 1996, Lawhorn called Sanders and
informed her of Exxon’s procedure that employees on medical leave
should not come back to the office until released back to work by a
physician. Lawhorn also informed Sanders of the Exxon procedure that if
she came back to work without having a medical release that she would be
escorted off the premises. Sanders was offended by these procedures, but
presents no evidence indicating that these procedures were not uniformly
applied to all employees on medical leave.
On October 7, 1996, Lawhorn received a work status evaluation
form from Dr. John Peake, a psychiatrist, who diagnosed Sanders with
“Major Depressive Disorder - Single Episode,” and stated that Sanders
would be unable to work for a few more weeks. On October 27, 1996,
Sanders returned to work, having been cleared by Dr. Peake to do so,
Meanwhile, the human resources investigation into Sanders’
allegations had been proceeding. The investigation team interviewed
several employees, including Sanders, and examined the rankings to see
where minority employees were ranked compared to non-minority
employees. On October 18, 1996, the investigation team reported to
Alexander its conclusion that the allegations that Gary Schott had
intentionally discriminated against minority employees and retaliated
against Sanders were unfounded. The investigation team did note that the
average ranking of minority employees in the controller’s department in
1995 and 1996 was 26 and 31, as compared to the average ranking of non-
minority employees, 52 and 56. The team recommended that the
controller’s department should pay closer attention to the- distribution of
minority employees in its annual ranking list, and identify areas where
training may be needed to address performance problems.
* Sanders confirmed in her deposition testimony that Dr. Comfort and Dr. Peake were not
chosen by Exxon, but were her own physicians, and that she believed they had: her best
interest in mind when making their diagnoses. She also testified that she agreed with her
doctors’ opinions that she was unfit for work during this time.
Sa
TAO py OREN Pre eyes
After Sanders returned to work, Lawhom in the medical
department occasionally spoke to Sanders about her medical situation and
how she was handling her return to work. Sanders’ manager, Peggy
Brittan, consulted Lawhorn in December 1996 about whether it would be
appropriate to have a regular performance discussion with Sanders.
Lawhorn replied that Sanders had no work restrictions and that there was
no reason not to conduct the performance discussion. Also in December
1996, Hayes and Templeton informed Sanders that the investigation team
had completed its review, that recommendations were made and that action
was taken, but they declined to discuss the details with her. When Sanders
stated again that she was unhappy at UFS, Hayes and Templeton again
offered to transfer her to another position, but Sanders refused.
In 1997, Sanders continued to work at the C&C desk. Brittan
periodically counseled Sanders regarding errors in her work, problems with
coworkers and a missed deadline. Sanders complains about several
February 1997 counseling sessions in which Brittan engaged her in pointed
discussion about her performance problems and threatened to call the
medical department again and have her examined because of her emotional
state. Sanders contends Brittan was harassing her in retaliation for her
protected activity, but she admitted in her deposition that she was having
problems in her job at that time and was making mistakes and had gotten
upset and cried in another meeting with Brittan a few days before.
In July 1997, Sanders missed a deadline while she was out on sick
leave for a few days. On July 31, 1997, after Sanders returned to work,
Brittan initiated a discussion with her about the missed deadline and tried
to discuss ways to avoid missing deadlines in the future. During the
discussion, Sanders become very emotional and cried. Sanders made
statements like “Exxon is killing me,” “I have to look over my shoulder all
the time,” “I’m unable to return to work; I’m too upset,” “I’m sick, but you
Say it’s a performance problem,” and “no one will help me.” She said she
had sought help but that there was no resolution of her issues, which she
said were “eating her up” and that she was only sleeping two hours a night.
Sanders continued to bring up her allegations regarding Gary Schott.
Brittan reminded Sanders several times that she was talking about things
Bnittan had no knowledge of, and tried to direct the conversation back to
the deadline issue. Brittan told Sanders that “other people’s lives are not
your business.” Sanders became so emotional that Brittan tried to convince
her to take a cab home, and asked her to at least wait about 10 minutes to
compose herself before attempting to drive. That evening, Sanders
testified, she sought treatment at a hospital emergency room and talked to
6a
the nurses there for about an hour, but left when the nurses said they
wanted to admit her to the hospital.
After the July 31 meeting, Brittan again contacted Lawhorn in the
medical department regarding Sanders’ emotional state, and Lawhom met
with Sanders in the morning on August 5, 1997. During this meeting,
Sanders was very emotional and stated her belief that Exxon was trying to
get rid of her. She was very upset about Brittan’s criticism of her work.
Lawhorn placed Sanders on disability leave until she could be evaluated by
a physician. Sanders went back to her desk and did not want to leave the
office, but Brittan told her that she had been placed on medical leave and
that if she did not leave the office Brittan would call security or the medical
department. The parties disagree about whether Lawhorn insisted that
Sanders be evaluated by a physician “chosen by Exxon.” At any rate,
Sanders remained on medical leave and was evaluated by her own
psychiatrist, Dr. Peake, who diagnosed her with “Major Depressive
Disorder” on August 28, 1997 and opined that she was disabled and unable
to work until October 15, 1997. Sanders testified that she agreed with
Dr. Peake’s conclusion that her emotional state made her unfit for work
during this time.
Sanders remained on medical leave until October 16, 1997, when
she arrived at Exxon’s medical department and declared her intention to
resign. Lawhorn and Hayes tried to convince Sanders not to resign, and
again offered to transfer her away from UFS if she so desired, but Sanders
declined the offer and insisted on submitting her resignation.
Il. Summary Judgment Standard
Summary judgment should be granted “if the pleadings,
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together
with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter
of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); see Little v. Liquid Air Corp., 37 F. 3d
1069, 1075 (Sth Cir. 1994) (en banc) (per curiam). The movant bears the
initial burden of informing the court of the basis for its motion, and of
identifying those portions of the record which demonstrate the absence of a
genuine issue of material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Calrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323
(1986). The movant who is a defendant may discharge its burden by
pointing out an absence of proof on any one of the essential elements of the
plaintiff s claim. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 325. Once the movant has done so,
the burden shifts to the non-movant to designate specific facts showing that
summary judgment should not be granted. Jd. at 321-25; Wallace v. Texas
7a
a en ne Nan . ice 23 ac
Tech. Univ., 80 F. 3d 1042, 1047 (Sth Cir. 1996). When considering a
motion for summary judgment, the Court must view the evidence in the
light most favorable to the non-movant and draw all reasonable inferences
in favor of the non-movant. See Samuel v. Holmes, 138 F.3d 173, 176 (Sth
Cir. 1998); Texas v. Thompson, 70 F.3d 390, 392 (Sth Cir. 1995). The non-
movant does not satisfy her burden with “some metaphysical doubt as to
the material facts,” by “conclusory allegations,” by “unsubstantiated
assertions,” or by only a “scintilla of evidence.” Little, 37 F.3d at 1075.
Only a genuine dispute over a material fact - one capable of affecting the
outcome under existing law - will preclude summary judgment. Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-48 (1986); see also Hanchey v.
Energas Co., 925 F.2d 96, 97 (5th Cir. 1990) (fact issue must be “outcome
determinative”).
IV. Discussion
Sanders alleges Title VII retaliation, retaliation under 42 U.S. C. §
1981, and intentional infliction of emotional distress under Texas law.
1. Title VII Retaliation
Sanders alleges that Exxon retaliated against her in violation of
Title VII because she complained that Exxon was discriminating against
the minority accountants under her supervision, and because she filed an
EEOC charge. Sanders does not allege that Exxon discriminated against
her personally, only that it discriminated against other employees and
retaliated against her when she opposed that discrimination.
Title VII imposes liability for unlawful retaliation where (1) the
employee engaged in activity protected by Title VII; (2) the employer took
adverse employment action against the employee; and (3) a causal
connection exists between that protected activity and the adverse
employment action. See Douglas v. DynMcDermott Petroleum Operations
Co., 144 F. 3d 364, 372 (Sth Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 798
(1999). The ultimate determination in a Title VII retaliation case is
whether, “but for” the protected conduct, the employer would not have
engaged in the adverse employment action. Jd.
Activities protected by Title VII fall into two broad categories -
Opposition and participation. An employee has engaged in protected
activity when she has (1) “opposed any practice made an unlawful
employment practice” by Title VII or (2) “made a charge, testified,
8a
assisted, or participated in any manner in an investigation, proceeding or
hearing” under Title VII.
Id. Sanders claim protection under both the opposition and
participation clauses. She claims that she opposed discrimination by
complaining to Schott in April 1995 that an Asian accountant she
supervised was ranked too low and should be ranked higher. Sanders
claims that Schott disagreed and remarked that the employee was not very
aggressive and was very quiet and “that was the way the Vietnamese are.”
Sanders argued that the employee should not be penalized because of her
“culture.” In June 1995, after the employee rank fist became available,
Sanders complained to Schott that the minority employees in her unit were
not being treated fairly and that they were all “on the bottom of the rank
fist.” She said Schott told her that the lower rankings for the minority
employees were not a problem because the list would be merged with the
ranking list in another unit, and the distribution would “average out.” In
October 1995, Sanders and Schott had a disagreement about the Asian
employee’s evaluation; Schott told Sanders to mark the employee “below
most” and add comments explaining the employee’s low ranking as was
required by Exxon policy, but Sanders refused to follow Schott’s
instructions because she believed the employee’s low ranking was due to
discrimination. Sanders’ opinion was that any negative comments about
the employee’s performance would be “a lie.” The evaluation was
ultimately not changed because Sanders had - again, contrary to Exxon
policy - already discussed the evaluation with the employee before it was
finalized.
Sanders, to prevail on her retaliation claim, does not have to prove
the merits of her allegations that Exxon discriminated against these
employees. Sanders must prove only that she had a reasonable belief that
her opposition to discrimination was valid. See, e.g., Long v. Eastfield
College, 88 F.3d 300, 304 (Sth Cir. 1996) (holding that the opposition
clause of 42 U.S.C. -§ 2000e-3(a) requires the plaintiff employee to
demonstrate that she had at least a reasonable belief that the practices she
opposed were unlawful). The Court has reviewed the briefing and
summary judgment evidence regarding Sanders’ allegations, and concludes
that Sanders has at least raised a genuine issue of material fact on whether
she had a reasonable belief that discrimination was occurring. However,
the issue of whether any minority employee has or had a viable claim of
discrimination against Exxon is not before this Court.
In retaliation for her “opposition,” Sanders alleges, Schott
“repeatedly ‘undermined [her] supervisory authority” and “had her removed
9a
as a supervisor and reassigned to a dead-end staff position in another area
of the company.” This allegation refers to Sanders’ transfer to UFS in
November 1995.
Sanders also alleges that she opposed discrimination by making an
“internal complaint” of discrimination and retaliation to Templeton and
Hayes in August 1996. She claims protection under the “participation”
clause because she filed an EEOC charge in August 1996.
In retaliation for this additional opposition and participation,
Sanders alleges that Exxon “contrived to have [her] removed from her job
and placed on medical leave.” She also alleges that Alexander, controller
of Exxon U.S.A., “attempted to intimidate-and threaten her: “Alexander
admonished [her] that she was ‘screwing [her] career up’ and accused her
of betraying the Exxon ‘family’ by consulting with legal counsel and filing
a Charge of Discrimination with the EEOC,” Sanders alleges.
Sanders finally contends that, from October 1996 to October 1997,
Exxon “systematically badgered, harassed, and humiliated her in a
calculated effort to destabilize her psychologically and make her quit,”
resulting in her constructive discharge on October 16, 1997.
The Fifth Circuit has repeatedly held that “Title VII was deigned to
address ultimate employment decisions, not to address every decision made
by employers that arguably might have some tangential effect upon those
ultimate decisions.” See, e.g., Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d
702, 707 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 118 S. Ct. 336 (1997). “Ultimate
employment decisions” include acts “such as hiring, granting leave,
discharging, promoting, and compensating.” Jd. ‘
Exxon argues that Sanders has not alleged an ultimate employment
decision. The Court agrees that Sanders has alleged many minor incidents
that she characterizes as “retaliation,” which are clearly not “ultimate
employment decisions” but the “interlocutory or mediate decisions” that
Mattern holds non-actionable” However, the Court will assume arguendo
> For example, Sanders claims, inter alia, that Schott “undermined her authority” by not
inviting her to meetings and forcing her to apologize to one of her employees. She also
complaints that Middlebrooks told her she needed a “soul mate,” that an Exxon attorney
(who is black) improperly asked her to sign an interrogatory verification in an unrelated
legal matter before the answers were drafted, that Middlebrooks refused to let her leave
work on day to seek treatment for an infected eye, that she was ordered not to be on Exxon
premises while on medical leave and was escorted out of the office, that she was
“counseled” harshly for minor mistakes in her work, that she was threatened with another
transfer (out of UFS) if she took leave to take care of her ill mother, that the only interesting
10a
that Exxon’s decision to transfer Sanders to UFS* and its decision to place
Sanders on medical leave were “ultimate employment decisions.” The
Court also notes that constructive discharge, if proven, can be an ultimate
employment decision.
A. Transfer to UFS in November 1995
Thus, the Court turns to the question of whether Exxon’s transfer
ot Sanders to the UFS position in November 1995 was retaliatory. Viewing
the facts in the light most favorable to Sanders, the Court will summarize
the evidence regarding the UFS transfer. Sheila Templeton, who became
Sanders’ manager in RAE in April 1995, testified that the RAE accounting
supervisor positions such as the one Sanders held in 1995 were by nature
“rotational” positions and were not permanent assignments. Thus, there
were other employees waiting to rotate into RAE supervisory positions.
Sanders recognized the rotational nature of the RAE supervisor positions in
her deposition. In addition, Sanders testified that she “had always wanted”
to be assigned to UFS and had filled out a form expressing interest in such
a position. Sanders testified that when a fellow RAE supervisor, Diane
Saxon, was transferred to UFS in 1993, Sanders told Schott that she also
wanted to be transferred to UFS because it was considered to be a
prestigious place to work. Templeton testified that she identified Sanders as
a good candidate for a UFS position that was open in June 1995, because
Sanders had good analytical skills and could develop professionally by
duties in her UFS job were taken away from her, that Exxon refused to divulge details of its
investigation into her allegations of discrimination, that UFS employees contracted her at
home during her medical leave, that Exxon medical staff contacted her physician without
her permission, and that Exxon tried to require her to see a physician “chosen by Exxon.”
None of these actions are “ultimate employment decisions,” and therefore they cannot on
their own support a claim of Title VII retaliation. See Mattern, 104 F.3d at 707-09 (noting
that none of the following are ultimate employment decisions: hostility or “staring” from
fellow employees, having tools stolen, a supervisor's visit to the employee's home, a verbal -
threat of termination, a reprimand, being placed on “final warning,” refusing the employee
permission to attend a conference, giving employee false information, criticizing the
employee's work to a vendor, delayed receipt of a reimbursement check, deleting the
employee's data from a form, criticizing an employee’s EEOC complaining); see also
Messer v. Meno, 130 F.3d 130, 139-40 (S" Cir. 1997) (holding that employer's actions -
including failure to resolve employee's internal grievance, monitoring her conversations,
criticism of her work and conduct, ignoring her input, denying permission for her to
represent the company at certain functions and downsizing her department — were not
ultimate decisions), cert. denied, 119 S. Ct. 794 (1999).
* It 1s not clear that the transfer to UPS was a materially adv erse employment action. See,
e.g., Burger v. Central Apt. Mgt., 168 F.3d 875, 879 (S™ Cir. 1999) (noting that “a transfer
involving no reduction in pay and no more than a minor change in working conditions” is
not an ultimate employment action, because “(o}therwise, every trivial personnel action that
an irritable, chip-on-the-shoulder employee did not like would form the basis of a
discrimination suit”).
lla
getting financial experience at UFS. So Templeton recommended Sanders
for the UFS position in June 1995 and instructed Sanders’ supervisor,
Schott, to inform her of the transfer. Sanders testified that Schott insisted
that the transfer was a “done deal” and told her it would hurt her career to
refuse the transfer. Sanders told Templeton that she could not take the
UFS job because it would require weekend work, which would conflict
with Sanders’ obligation to be out of town most weekends to care for her ill
mother. “I talked to Sheila about it and told her that I had always wanted
to go to UFS; but at this point in time in my fife, I couldn’t,” Sanders
testified. Templeton said she understood Sanders’ personal situation and
would not require her to transfer to UFS. Sanders asked if refusing the
transfer would be a “black mark” on her career, and Templeton assured her
that it would not. Jane Beaty, another RAE supervisor, was transferred to
UFS instead in June 1995.
In October 1995, another opening came up in UFS. Templeton
again considered Sanders for the job. She discussed the job requirements
with David Middlebrooks, manager of UFS, and Middlebrooks assured
Templeton that the job would have only limited overtime and weekend
work so as to not conflict with Sanders’ personal responsibilities.
Templeton also considered as a factor that Sanders had some interpersonal
problems with some of her subordinates and tended to do work herself
rather than delegating. In addition, there was another employee returning
from a family leave that Templeton wanted to rotate into a RAE supervisor
position. Templeton also consulted Sanders’ supervisor, Schott, and her
own supervisor, Pat Mulva, who agreed to the transfer. Thus, Templeton
recommended Sanders for the UFS position, and the personnel
- Subcommittee, of which Templeton was a member, approved the transfer.
Templeton told Schott to inform Sanders of the transfer. Sanders testified
that Schott “assured me that it was a good opportunity, and they were
going to work the issue with my mother. Then I felt comfortable with it
because I had always wanted to go to UFS.” Sanders testified that when
she later became aware that the UFS job was the C&C close-out desk, she
was not pleased because she thought the time-sensitive close-out deadlines
would conflict with her obligations to her mother. She also introduced -
evidence to show that the C&C job was not challenging, that it had been
filled in the past by entry-level employees, and that several previous
holders of the C&C job had since quit Exxon. Exxon submits evidence
that the job was important and challenging and had responsibilities that
could expand or contract with the qualifications of the employee holding
the position. It is undisputed that Sanders’ salary and classification
remained the same after the transfer.
12a
At any rate, whether or not the transfer was a “demotion,” the
evidence shows that the people involved in the decision to transfer Sanders
to UFS in November 1995 were Sheila Templeton, David Middlebrooks,
and to a much lesser extent, Pat Mulva and Gary Schott. Exxon introduces
evidence showing that Templeton, Middlebrooks and Mulva did not know
in November 1995 that Sanders had complained to Schott about the
minority rankings or refused to lower the Asian employee’s ranking at
Schott’s direction. Sanders admits, in her deposition testimony that she has
no evidence to show that any of these individuals knew of her opposition
activities in October and November 1995. Because Templeton,
Middlebrooks and Mulva did not know of Sanders’ opposition at the time
they participated in the decision, they could not have had retaliatory intent
in effecting Sanders’ transfer to UFS. See Watts v. Kroger Co., 170 F.3d
505, 1999 WL 147382, at *6 (Sth Cir. March 17, 1999) (holding that
employer “could not retaliate” plaintiff “because it did not know she has
engaged in protected activity”). Schott clearly knew about Sanders’
opposition, but the evidence, even viewed most favorably to Sanders,
indicates that Schott had only a tangential role, if any, in effecting Sanders’
transfer to UFS. Sanders’ burden in a Title VII retaliation case is to prove
that “but for” her opposition, she would not have suffered the adverse
employment action. See Long v Eastfield College, 88 F.3d 300, 305 n.4
(Sth Cir. 1996). Sanders has not produced enough summary judgment
evidence to raise a genuine issue of material fact on the issue of causation.
The undisputed evidence indicates that Sanders would have been
transferred to UFS “even in the absence of the protected conduct.” /d.
Templeton, who had no knowledge of Sanders’ opposition, played the
major role in initiating and effecting the transfer, and articulated numerous
business reasons for the transfer, prominent among them the fact that
Sanders had repeatedly expressed interest in a UFS position. Templeton did
not merely “rubber stamp” a recommendation from Schott to transfer
Sanders. Thus, even assuming arguendo that Schott encouraged the
decision to transfer Sanders with a retaliatory motive to punish her for her
_ Opposition to discrimination, his small role in the decision still would not
establish the required “but-for” causation. See Long, 88 F.3d at 306-07
(decision to terminate employee was recommended by supervisor who had
knowledge of opposition, but final decision to terminate was made by
college president with no knowledge of opposition; court noted that the
plaintiff could not show “but-for” causation if the president conducted “his
own independent investigation” rather than “rubber stamping” supervisor’s
recommendation). Accordingly, the Court will grant Exxon’s motion for
summary judgment regarding Sanders’ claim that her November 1995
transfer to UFS was retaliatory.
13a
ALTE OEM a
eos
B. Medical Leave
Sanders alleges that Exxon “contrived” to have her removed from her job
and placed on medical leave, apparently in retaliation for her complaints to
Templeton and Hayes and her filing of an EEOC charge in August 1996.
However, the undisputed evidence, including Sanders’ own deposition
testimony, indicates that Sanders was suffering from symptoms of
depression, stress and anxiety as far back as April 1996, four months
before she approached Templeton and Hayes or filed an EEOC charge.
Additionally, Sanders confirmed in her deposition testimony that, shortly
before she was placed on leave both in 1996 and 1997, she was extremely
troubled and emotional, often crying uncontrollably whenever anyone
attempted to discuss problems with her work or the state of her health.
Affidavits or deposition testimony from Tempieton, Brittan, Hayes, and
Lawhorn indicates that they acted out of concern for Sanders’ emotional
health, and - most importantly -- upon the orders of Sanders’ physicians.
Sanders testified that she, not Exxon, chose Dr. Comfort and Dr. Peake,
and that she agreed with their conclusions that she was unfit for work from
September 11, 1996 to October 27, 1996, and from August 5, 1997 to
October 15, 1997. Sanders has not produced evidence to raise a genuine
issue of material fact regarding whether these compelling reasons to place
her on medical leave were merely pretexts for retaliation.
Cc. Alleged threats and intimidation by Alexander
Sanders places great emphasis on several comments made by
Bobby Alexander when she met with him shortly after she went on her first
medical leave in 1996. Sanders contends that Alexander told her she was
“screwing [her] career up” because she had filed the EEOC charge and
accused her of betraying her Exxon “family.” She claims these comments
constitute threats and an attempt to intimidate her into dropping her EEOC
charge. Sanders tape-recorded the September 1996 conversation with
Alexander, and she attached a transcript of that tape recording to her
summary judgment response. When the full conversation is reviewed, it
appears that Sanders’ complaint takes several of Alexander’s comments out
of context. The 11-page, single-spaced transcript shows that Alexander
tried to calm Sanders down, listened to her detailed story regarding the
alleged discrimination and retaliation, asked questions to clarify her
allegations, and told her several times that Exxon would not tolerate any
discrimination and that her allegations would be investigated. He took
down the names of the alleged discrimination victims and promised her he
would personally look at the rankings and meet with her again. During this
conversation, Alexander also made the following comments:
l4a
“Look, we don’t discriminate against anybody for any
reason at all. And when somebody comes along, like
yourself or anyone else, that insists that we do, of course
we are not going to be happy with them. I mean, how can
you think we would be -- be reasonable.”
In response to Sanders’ comment that she waited so long to come forward
because she “didn’t want to ruin her career. And its already screwed up,
what little of it I have,” Alexander replied, “If you would trust me and
listen to me, your career would not be screwed up. Now, I'll be the first to
admit I think you’re screwing your career up. But it’s not too late to stop it
and turn it around.
“Now why did you go off and file an EEOC?”
In response to Sanders’ statement that an EEOC lawyer had told her about
all the damages she was entitled to, Alexander said, “you’ve got some
lawyer out there that does not even have the facts . . about this situation...
he doesn’t know what he is talking about.”
“The point is, you’ve got a group here at Exxon that thinks
a lot of you, but - come on now, don’t roll your eyes.
We're trying to work with you. You go down to the
EEOC and talk to some lawyer who you don’t know, who
does not know you. He is now - he doesn’t know anything
about the situation other than what you’ve told him. And
you believe him when he says, ‘Let me tell you what
you’re entitled to, Jackie:
Sanders: “Who am I supposed to believe?”
Alexander: I would think you would believe us a heck of a
lot more -- you know, we’re part of your family, not him.”
Sanders: “You're darn right. You were part of my family.
You just don’t know how much until now.
Alexander: “That’s what we’re trying to do. But you keep
- you keep throwing - you keep going against us.”
15a
>
:
¢
3
=
-
=
e-
FS
3
-
a
: :
$
4
“TI will look into the facts here. But it’s possible we don’t
agree with you.... You can take it to the EEOC. And you
can take it to court. And we will see who wins.”
Alexander also commented that it was unlikely that Schott could
have single-handedly lowered minority employees’ rankings as Sanders
alleges, because the ranking process is designed to be a group effort, with
input from many supervisors and managers. Alexander also tried to
explain the Exxon policy that Sanders violated by refusing to follow
Schott’s direction to mark “Below Most” on the Asian employee’s
evaluation:
“(W]e go into a ranking process using the process that is thought through
thoroughly, as the one we use, and that employee comes out let’s say in the
bottom 20 percent, I guarantee you they are ‘Below Most.’ And it’s wrong
to go back and tell an employee anything other than the honest truth. On a
relative ranking they are in the bottom 15, bottom 20, bottom 10 percent.
They are ‘Below Most.’”
Sanders: “But I’m forced to make up comments to say
why they are ‘below most’?”
Alexander: “No. No. No.”
Sanders: “Yes. Gary told me to do that.”
Alexander: “No.”
Sanders: “He forced me to do it.”
Alexander: “I guarantee you that if someone ranks in the
bottom 10, 15, 20 percent, there are reasons.
It is doubtful that the above comments, taken in context with the
entire conversation, could be construed as “intimidation or a “threat” to
force Sanders to drop her EEOC charge. Even if Alexander’s comments
could be construed as a threat, such a threat would not be an “ultimate
employment decision” that would support a Tide VII retaliation claim. See,
e.g., Mattern, 104 F.3d at 708 (noting that “criticizing [an employee’s]
EEOC charge” or even making “a verbal threat of being fired” does not
constitute retaliation). In addition, Alexander did not make any “ultimate
employment decision” regarding Sanders. He was not involved in the
decisions to transfer her or put her on medical leave. In fact he avers that
l6a
he never spoke to her personally again after the above meeting in
September 1996. Sanders does not allege that Alexander did anything to
“constructively discharge” her during the months leading up to her
resignation in October 1997. In fact, she confirmed that Alexander made
an offer to move her out of UFS, which she declined. In addition,
Alexander avers that he “personally made sure that Ms. Sanders would be
welcomed back to Exxon upon her expected return in October, 1997.”
Accordingly, the Court concludes that Sanders’ claim of retaliation based
on Alexander's comments cannot withstand summary judgment.
D. Constructive Discharge
“Constructive discharge” is not an independent cause of action, but
merely a concept that allows a plaintiff who resigns under certain
conditions to nonetheless satisfy the “discharge” element of the applicable
cause of action. See, e.g., Vaughn v. Pool Offshore Co., 683 F.2d 922, 925
(5th Cir. 1982). In this case, Sanders must prove constructive discharge to
show an “ultimate employment action” to support her claim of Title VII
retaliation. “To show constructive discharge, an employee must offer
evidence that the employer made the employee’s working conditions so
intolerable that a reasonable employee would feel compelled to resign.”
Ward v. Bechtel Corp., 102 F.3d 199, 202 (Sth Cir. 1997). A constructive
discharge claim requires a “greater severity or pervasiveness of harassment
than the minimum required to prove a hostile work environment.”
Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 968 F.2d 427, 430 (Sth Cir. 1992), aff'd,
511 U.S. 244 (1994). The test is objective, the question is not whether
Sanders felt compelled to resign, but whether a reasonable employee would
have felt so compelled. Barrow v. New Orleans Steamship Ass., 10 F.3d
292,297 n.19 (Sth Cir. 1994).
Sanders alleges that, upon her return from leave in October 1996,
“Exxon systematically badgered, harassed, and humiliated her in a
calculated effort to destabilize her psychologically and make her quit.”
However, the summary judgment evidence does not raise a fact issue
regarding constructive discharge. In December 1996, Hayes told Sanders
that “no one wants you to quit” and that “we are glad to have you back.”
Sanders complains that she was unhappy in the UFS job and felt like she
had been demoted. But she admits that at least seven supervisors and
managers offered to help her find a new position at various times during
1996 and 1997, and that each time she received such an offer, she refused
it, saying on least one occasion that her UFS job “wasn’t a problem.” She
points to a statement by Alexander, relayed to her by Templeton, that, in
Alexander’s opinion, her leaving the UFS job would make it appear later
17a
that she had failed in UFS and might leave a “mark” on her career. Because
of this comment -- which does not appear to be a “threat” but a legitimate
opinion about corporate perceptions -- Sanders chose not to accept a
transfer. Sanders claim that in March 1997, her supervisor, Dan Jones, told
her that she would be transferred out of UFS if she took leave to care for
her mother, so Sanders chose not to take the leave, Sanders complains that
the Dataflex duties that she found interesting were taken away from her in
March 1997. Finally, Sanders complains that her manager, Brittan, moved
up several deadlines to make it difficult for Sanders and “seized upon
minor errors in Sanders’ work to reprimand her about ‘performance
issues.” Sanders also complains about Brittan’s criticism of her on July 31,
1997, but Sanders admits that she had missed a deadline, that at the time
she was depressed and “hysterical,” and that she agreed with her
psychiatrist’s opinion a few weeks law that she was suffering from major
depression and was unfit to work. Sanders alleges that she was “forced” to
take medical leave in August 1997, but as discussed above, the evidence
shows, and Sanders herself admitted, that she was in fact unfit to work at
that time as stated by her own psychiatrist. There is no evidence of any
harassment during the two and a half months that Sanders was on medical
leave before she resigned. She received full pay during her medical leave.
Sanders testified that she did not decide to resign until October 16, 1997,
the day she walked into the Exxon medical department and submitted her
resignation to Lawhom and Hayes. She testified that both Lawhorn and
Hayes tried to convince her not to resign and that they again offered to
transfer her to another position if she desired. When an employer tries to
convince the employee not to resign and tries to address the employee’s
concerns, those actions are by definition not constructive discharge. See
Alvey v. Rayovac, 922 F. Supp. 1315, 1333 (W.D. Wisc. 1996) (finding no
constructive discharge when plaintiff had the option to transfer to another
department away from offensive supervisor); Hammon v. DHL Airways,
980 F. Supp. 919, 926 (S.D. Ohio 1997) (finding no constructive discharge
when supervisors tried to convince plaintiff not to resign and offered to
allow him to change supervisors), aff'd, 165 F.3d 441 (6th Cir. 1999);
Coffman v. Tracker Marine, 141 F.3d 1241, 1247 (8th Cir. 1998) (finding
no constructive discharge when supervisor tried to prevent employee’s
resignation and attempted to solve the problem).
The Court concludes based on the summary judgment evidence
that Sanders has not raised a genuine issue of material fact on constructive
discharge. Although Sanders appeared to be genuinely distressed and may
have been rudely treated on a few occasions, the incidents she relates
would not have caused a reasonable pawn to reign. See Coffman, 141 F.3d
at 1247 (holding that dissatisfaction with a work assignment, feelings of
being unfairly criticized, or difficult or unpleasant working conditions,
even an environment “tinged with retaliatory acts,” are not so intolerable as
to compel a reasonable person to resign); Hammon, 980 F. Supp. at 926
(holding that “verbal attack” by supervisor was “likely unpleasant” but did
not rise to the level of constructive discharge); A/vey, 922 F. Supp. at 1333
(holding that difficulty in obtaining information, not being. assigned
challenging assignments, and unfriendly co-workers did not constitute
constructive discharge). Accordingly, because Sanders has not raised a
fact issue on constructive discharge, the Court will grant Exxon’s motion
for summary judgment on Sanders’ Title VII retaliation claim?
2. Intentional infliction of emotional distress claim
Sanders asserts a Texas law claim for intentional infliction of
emotional distress (“ITED”) against Exxon. An ITED plaintiff must prove
(1) that the defendant acted intentionally or recklessly; (2) that the conduct
was extreme and outrageous; (3) that the actions of the defendant caused
the plaintiff emotional distress; and (4) that the emotional distress was
severe. Twyman v. Twyman, 855 S.W.2d 619, 621 (Tex. 1993). Whether
conduct is “extreme and outrageous” is a question of law appropriate for
resolution on summary judgment. See Wornick Co. v. Casas, 856 S.W.2d
732, 734 (Tex. 1993). Conduct is not “extreme and outrageous” unless it is
“so outrageous in character, and so extreme in degree, as to go beyond all
possible bounds of decency, and to be regarded as atrocious, and utterly
intolerable in a civilized community.” Johnson v. Merrell Dow
Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 965 F.2d 31, 33 (5th Cir. 1992). Moreover, an ITED
claim “will not lie when the acts complained of arise in the employment
context, even though the conduct may be deplorable and even though it
may rise to the level of illegality.” Thompson v. City of Arlington, 838 F.
Supp. 1137, 1154 (N.D. Tex. 1993); see also Gearhart v. Eye Care Ctrs. Of
Am., Inc., 888 F. Supp. 814, 823 (S.D. Tex. 1995) (“Only in the most
unusual of cases does the conduct move out of the ‘realm of an ordinary
employment dispute’ into the classification of ‘extreme and
outrageous....”””)
It is clear by an examination of the summary judgment record that
the conduct of the Exxon supervisors and managers at issue in this case,
* Sanders also alleges retaliation under 42 U.S.C. section 1981. As Exxon argues, it is not
clear whether Sanders has a viable retaliation claim under Section 1981, which prohibits
racial discrimination that impairs the right to make and enforce contracts. However, the
Court need not reach this question, because any Section 1981 claim would fail for the same
reasons as her Title VII retaliation claim. See Thomas v. Exxon Co., U.S.A., 943 F. Supp.
751, 758 (S.D. Tex. 1996) (holding that retaliation claims under Section 1981 and title VII
are analyzed under the same framework), aff'd, 122 F.3d 1067 (5™ Cir. 1997).
19a
a EE
——oooooooooOOEOEOoOooeooeooororrremmrmrerereree ee
even when viewed in the light most favorable to Sanders, does not even
remotely approach extreme and outrageous conduct. The Fifth Circuit has
held that conduct more severe than what Sanders alleges is not extreme and
outrageous as a matter of law. See, e.g., Ward v. Bechtel Corp., 102 F.3d
199, 203 (Sth Cir. 1997) (employee subjected to open hostility and physical
threats from co-worker); Atkinson v. Denton Pub. Co., 84 F.3d 144, 151
(Sth Cir. 1996) (employee subjected to termination, defamation, rudeness).
“In order to properly manage its business, an employer must be able to
supervise, review, criticize, demote, transfer and discipline employees. Not
all of these processes are pleasant for the employee.” Merrell Dow, 965
F.2d at 33-34 (granting summary judgment on IED claim against
employee subjected to constant criticism, harassment during psychiatric
care, and termination during disability leave). Because Sanders has not
raised a fact issue on whether Exxon subjected her to “extreme and
outrageous conduct,” summary judgment in favor of Exxon is appropriate
as to Sanders’ ITED claim.
V. Conclusion
Therefore, for the reasons set out in this order, Exxon’s motion for
summary judgment (Dkt. #37) is GRANTED.
Signed this 7th day of May, 1999.
/s John D. Rainey
JOHN D. RAINEY
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
20a
APPENDIX B
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 99-20457
JACKIE SANDERS
Plaintiff — Appellant
¥,
EXXON CORPORATION, doing business as Exxon Company USA
Defendant - Appellee
Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, Houston
(H-97-CV-3885)
February 18, 2000
Before BARKSDALE, BENAVIDES and STEWART, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:*
AFFIRMED. See 5" Cir. R. 47.6
*Pursuant to 5" Cir. R. 47.5, the Court has determined that this
opinion should not be published and is not precedent except under the
limited circumstances set forth in St" Cir. R. 47.5.4.
1b
Fel eX aa say r Wie :
i a aN Co
APPENDIX C
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 99-20457
JACKIE SANDERS
Plaintiff — Appellant
Vv.
EXXON CORPORATION, doing business as Exxon Company USA
Defendant - Appellee
Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, Houston
ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC
(Opinion 02/18/00, 5 Cir., . F.3d )
Before BARKSDALE, BENAVIDES, and STEWART, Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:
(x ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for Panel
Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is DENIED. No member of
the panel nor judge in regular active service of the court having requested
that the court be polled on Rehearing En Banc (Fed. R. App. P. and 5® Cir.
R. 35) , the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.
( ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for Panel
Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is DENIED. The court having
been polled at the request of one of the members of the court and a
majority of the judges who are in regular active service not having voted in
lc
favor (Fed. R. App. and Sth Cir. R. 35) the Petition for Rehearing En Banc
is DENIED.
ENTERED FOR THE COURT:
/s_ Fortunato P. Benavides
United States Circuit Judge
Dated: April 5, 2000
2c
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.