Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

O yicis

99188 0 may 2200

No. ____OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

GRAEME FREEMAN, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

BURLINGTON BROADCASTERS, INC.,

dba WIZN, ei al.,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ OF CERTIORARI

To Tue Unitep STATES CourT OF APPEALS

For THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GERALD R. TARRANT *

TARRANT, MARKS & GILLIES

P.O. Box 1440

MONTPELIER, VERMONT 05601-1440

(802) 223-1112

Counsel for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

BECKER GALLAGHER LEGAL PUBLISHING, INC.,

CINCINNATI, OHIO 800-890-5001

29SeP

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is_ local zoning preempted by the Federal

Communications Act and regulations promulgated by the

Federal Communications Commission when radio or

telecommunications facilities cause interference with local

electrical and electronic devices used by local businesses and

institutional services?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners

Graeme Freeman, Mary Beth Freeman, Frank Ittleman,

Elaine Ittleman, Mike Fournier, Holly Fournier, Ellen Lane,

William Pinney, Jr., Mark W. Bolles, Claudia Mucklow,

Donna A. Wark, Iris Muggenthaler, James H. Squires,

Lawrence Hamilton, Robert Carmody, Mark Musiel, Michael

Yantachka, Lorie Gaboury, Chris McGee, Peter Coleman,

Barbara Sanford Farrell, and William Pinney, Sr. Petitioners

are individuals and have no corporate affiliations.

Respondents

Burlington Broadcasters, Inc. dba WIZN, Charlotte Fire &

Rescue Services, Inc. and NYNEX Mobile Limited

Partnership 1 dba Bell Atlantic NYNEX Mobile

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I 026 a hs Wig gb A Ae ee a i

ene OO I oa ihe ee wees il

Ee a ey oe ili

EI re a ar re ae Vili

ee ee ee ea ee ee ee xii

PR GE PUIG sc ee et ew eae Xil

Constitutional and Statutory

REPT Ce eee ere xii

eee ee ee eee eee l

I. proce@eral Case Titgiofy .. ww... ieee 1

a. We I BE ong cc eee 1

b. Interference and Investigation by

Zoning Administrator ............. y

e. Appeal to Zoning Board of

Is on 0 a oo ee ow 2

d. Appeal to Vermont Environmental

Court and Removal To Federal

II 5a ok ae we ee 3

e. Appeal to Second Circuit Court of

RE bc os aie Ge kw es we ee 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................. 4

iil

II.

The Question Presented is Important to the

FOUL: es ee ee ee

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

Conflicts with Decisions of the Supreme Court

on the Rules of Federal Preemption and States’

eee re se er te eee

A. The Second Circuit’s Decision Was

Inconsistent with the Supreme Court’s

Preemption Standards .............

1. Preemption Is Not Applicable .. .

The Supreme Court Has Held

That There Is A Presumption

Against Preemption ..........

B. The Second Circuit’s Decision is

- Inconsistent With the Tenth ~

SE ec Se eee ee

1. Field Preemption Is _ Not

Applicable Under the Tenth

PO CS Si ee

2: Clear Statement/Plain Meaning

I i ke ec ns cs

3. The Plain Meaning

Demonstrates the FCC is

Without Authority ..........

4. The FCC is Not Authorized t to

Regulate Business Electronic

WE ese 8 rene ee

5. Legislative History Proves No

Pa Ps os ee

6. The 1996 Amendments .......

iV

a A

3 The Neighbors’ Remedies Are

Not Available at the FCC ...... 26

CAR 68s ee fe 28

Appendix

Appendix A

Court of Appeals Opinion, 2/23/00 ......... la

Appendix B

Court of Appeals, Notice of Appeal, 9/8,97 .. 32a

Appendix C

District Court Judgment, 8/11/97 ......... 34a

Appendix D

District Court Opinion and Order, 8/11/97 ... 36a

Appendix E

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript,

RE CAS GENCE es er 50a

Appendix F

District Court Notice of Removal, 9/6/96 .... 82a

Appendix G

Environmental Court Statement of Questions,

POS 6b 6 ew ee er es eee 86a

Appendix H

Zoning Board Notice of Decision, 7/11/96 ... 93a

Appendix I

Notice of Zoning Violation Letter, 4/5/96... 103a

Vv

Appendix J

Zoning Board Minutes, 11/20/86 ........ 108a

Appendix K

Zoning Board Minutes, 12/23/86 ........ 112a

Appendix L

Findings of Fact and Notice of Decision,

SPE 6 6 orn ea Wo eae 115a

Appendix M

Findings of Fact, 10/28/91 ........5000. 117a

Appendix N

es FE Oe kk ee eee 119a

Appendix O

P.L. 104-104, Telecommunications Act of

Pree ee Sera 124a

Appendix P

OG TOGO viawdes td tes Kee ei eee 137a

Appendix Q

BP i wii oneads can eee 148a

Appendix R

BR. 5: SAR, Tae ona ces 154a

Appendix S

OF Cre OS Ps oh ac eee l6la

vil

Appendix T

OF Re I io te VA ee ocaeee 162a

Appendix U

eg 3 go ae roe wee ea ee ee 164a

Appendix V

Sf Ae PORE eee 165a

Appendix W

H.R. 1555, Report No. 104-204, PartI .... 167a

Appendix X

Guidelines for Evaluating Radiofrequency

I ee eee er ee ee er 173a

Appendix Y a

I as i RW eho ea eee 179a

Appendix Z

Engineering Report, WIZN-FM, 5/10/96 ... 185a

Appendix AA

House Conference Report No. 97-765,

EE i hae od oe Ok do 19la

Appendix BB

Affidavit of Mark F. Hutchins, 11/21/96 ... 235a

Appendix CC

Municipal and County Government - T.-24

OS ed ag Ay Why Uo aia « alice ors mse 237a

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

360 Degrees Communications Company of

Charlottesville v. The Board of

Supervisors of Albemarle County,

AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. City Council of

Virginia Beach, 155 F.3d 423 :

Or 6 So a (wee ke wees 18, 24

AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. Winston-Salem

Zoning Board of Adjustment, 172 F. 3d

BT ee Se ie ac oe er es 18

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc..,

ee ey DS ks A eee eke ee 15

Broyde v. Gotham Tower, Inc..,

12 Fe ee ee ee be ee ees 22

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc..,

as oe 8 se eh es passim

Commercial Mortg. Ins. Ine. v. Citizens Nat.

Bank of Dallas, D.C. Tex., 526

PA, SO OME: ok ob a ees 26

Dalton v. Little Rock Family Planning Services,

ee ee Oe 5 ok ee 14

Vill

Soernerecs

English v. General Electric Co.,

SR ok rc eae nS 15

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan

Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528 (1985) ...... 12

Goodstein v. Bombardier Capital, Inc.,

We n, FER OOEE 6 ok ak ek ee ee 13

Great Lakes Wireless Talking Machine Company

d/b/a WZSH 95 FM v. David Hayes, et al.,

No. 91-6140OT, Slip op. at6 ........ 9, 17, 22

Gregory v. Ashcroft,

as CUE a ek ha sds ea 11

Head v. New Mexico Board of Examiners

In Optometry, 374 U.S. 424 .......... 5s ae a ie

John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co. v.

Harris Trust & Savings Bank,

og es ga 0G Sop ak Nee Ss 25

Keene Co. v. United States,

ee Shs EE vs kk es ek ewes 9,17

McCullough v. State of Maryland,

4 Wheat. 406, 4 L.Ed. 579 (1819) ......... 11

New York v. United States,

nk os ae aig A eww 11

Pacific Gas & Electric Company v. State Energy

Resources Conservation and Development

Commission, 461 U.S. 190 (1983 ...... 14, 15

ix

Printz v. United States ,

i Be ee ot. Pere re rr ee re ee 11

Reno v. Condon,

SA) ak. GD hin es 05% OSs See 11

Schad v. Borough of Mount Ephraim,

ee Ce Gk SD ri hao oe Ks 8

Securities Industry Association v. Connolly,

Gos &.am $206 (1 Ce. TR) ww ce ces 9

Tafflin v. Levitt,

ee Wes ee CE 8k 6 ee eek eee 11

U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton,

TOE Ae. TPO kc 8s ee ee 12

United States v. Am. Trucking Ass’n, Inc.,

See Sa SO ce eee ca hee ee 13

United States v. Bass, }

Se Wiss TE cs Bixee a eee ee 13

United States v. Darby,

Pe CED eke ee eee 10

Statutes

ee BOE 5 5 es 8 Xii

SES RE os Swe Seer er xii

ae ee ee a ee Sl os ee 3

bt ee ee ae ere ree ete xili, 19

ak ae SF eer eee error re passim

SD Le

AR LS Sed McA Sie eat 2c

rep Bie 3 | rere ae ee Pena S xili, 19, 21

yah * oe oS | ae Lee ee eee Tee 19

eS ere eee ee ee ee xiii, 19

Oe ee ER 6 be eas ese ds xili, 19

yee is Os a ee Es ae eH xiii, 19

Fs OD hi a a oe oe ks ees aa

gf Foie > eae ara ee a a a ae xiii, 19

Or OE 5 a ee es aD xiii, 19

Federal Communications Act of 1934 .... xiii, 3, 16, 25

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 24 § 4464(a) (Supp. 1996) ....... 2

Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 24 § 4470 (Supp. 1996) ......... 3

Other Authorities

Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law

7. > Setar e a ae ee eee 13

The Tenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution passim

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News,

97" Cong. 2% (1982), 2237, 2276 .......... 23

Rules

— § 2 oe oY. |) re oom erarer erat eenr a eee a ee

a oe 8 Ry | Renner er are See 3

xi

Petitioners respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit is reported at 204 F3d 311 (2d Cir. 2000).

A copy of the Opinion is included as Appendix A. The

Opinion of the District Court for the District of Vermont is

reported at 975 F.Supp. 570 (D. Vt. 1997) and is included as

Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit issued its Opinion on February 23, 2000. This

Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed within ninety-days of

that Opinion. The Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. §§1254(1) and 2106.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Tenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

The Tenth Amendment states:

The powers not delegated to the United States

by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the

States, are reserved to the States respectively,

or to the people.

xii

The Federal Communications Act of 1934, as

amended, 47 U.S.C. § 302a provides in relevant part

(emphasis added):

(a) The Commission may, consistent with

the public interest, convenience, and necessity,

make reasonable regulations

(1) governing the interference potential of

devices which in their operation are capable of

emitting radio frequency energy by radiation,

conduction, or other means in sufficient degree

to cause harmful interference to radic

communications; and,

(2) establishing minimum performance

standards for home electronic equipment and

standards to reduce their susceptibility to

interference from radio frequency energy.

In addition, there are specific federal statutes granting

the FCC precise authority to regulate interference among

licensed radio stations, radio operators, government stations

and ships at sea. See e.g. 47 U.S.C. §§ 301, 303(f),

303(m)(1)(E), 306, 320-1, 323 and 354 (b) and (c). Under

settled precedent of this Court, where Congress has included

explicit authorizing language in one section of a statute, but

omits similar language relative to other aspects of business, it

is presumed Congress acted intentionally and purposely.

Preemption is not favored.

Xili

_ STATEMENT OF THE CASE

{

I. Procedural Case History

a. The Permit in 1987.

This case arises out of various local permitting

decisions first denying and then allowing the construction and

location of a telecommunications tower owned by Charlotte

Volunteer Fire & Rescue Service (CVFRS) and used by

CVFRS and Burlington Broadcasters, Inc. d/b/a WIZN

(WIZN), and more recently by NYNEX MOBILE LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP 1, d/b/a Bell Atlantic NYNEX Mobile

(BANM).

In 1986 the local zoning authority denied the co-

application by WIZN and CVFRS to construct a

telecommunications tower on Pease Mountain in the town of

Charlotte, Vermont on the grounds that it was not located in

the commercial zone. The co-applicants reapplied and

represented that they corrected the earlier problem by re-

locating the tower consistent with zoning requirements.

Concerns were raised whether the tower would cause radio

frequency interference (RFI) where the tower was proposed

to be located. A representative of the co-applicants stated that

there would be no interference and if there were they “would

trap it out.” Appendix K at page 113a. This became a

condition of the zoning permit issued January 7, 1987.

Appendix L at page 116a. By virtue of the failure to appeal

this permit, this became a final, binding condition.

b. Interference and Investigation by Zoning

Administrator.

Interference began almost immediately after WIZN

went on the air in 1987. Complaints were made directly to

WIZN but few of the complaints were adequately addressed.

After the complaints of people in town were not addressed,

several residents filed a complaint with the local zoning

administrator. After investigating the complaint, the

Charlotte Zoning Administrator issued a notice of zoning

violation on April 5, 1996 against CVFRS, the owner of the

tower. The notice of violation cited CVFRS, WIZN and

BANM for operating and/or permitting the operation of a

broadcast facility that “has caused long term and continuous

[radio frequency] interference (“RFI”) with electrical devices

in homes and businesses throughout the town.” Appendix I

at page 104a.

c. Appeal to Zoning Board of Adjustment.

CVRES, WIZN and BANM filed a timely appeal of

the zoning administrator’s decision with the Charlotte Zoning

Board of Adjustment (ZBA). Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 24 § 4464(a)

(Supp. 1996). The Petitioners made their appearance as

parties to support the zoning administrator’s decision. Vt.

Stat. Ann. Tit. 24 § 4464(b) (Supp. 1996).

After a public hearing, the ZBA on July 11, 1996

ruled “that WIZN has caused continuous and widespread

[radio frequency interference] that has impaired the ability of

Charlotte residents to communicate, transact business, and

experience the peaceful enjoyment of their homes and

property.” Appendix H at page 97a. Nevertheless, the ZBA

dismissed the notice of violation because it found that

Congress intended to maintain federal jurisdiction over RFI

2

phenomena and that the ZBA was without authority to

regulate such interference. /d. at page 100a.

d. A 1 to Vermont Envi tal Court

and Removal to Federal District Court.

On August 8, 1996, the Petitioners filed a Notice of

Appeal of the ZBA decision to the Vermont Environmental

Court. Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 24 § 4470 (Supp. 1996). On

September 6, 1996, BANM and WIZN filed a Notice of

Removal with the United States District Court for the District

of Vermont claiming the district courts had original

jurisdiction founded on a claim arising under the Federal

Communications Act of 1934 (as amended), 47 U.S.C. § 151

et seq.

WIZN then filed a motion to dismiss with the U. S.

District Court pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) and BANM

filed a similar motion pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12 (b)(1) and

12(b)(6). Both motions essentially claimed that the Federal

Communications Act preempts the Petitioners’ zoning appeal.

CVFRS joined in both motions. After briefing and oral

argument, the District Court granted BANM’s motion to

dismiss on the grounds of subject matter jurisdiction.

WIZN’s Motion to Dismiss was denied as moot.

e. Appeal to Second Circuit Court of Appeals.

The Petitioners appealed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit. On February 23, 2000, the

Circuit Court modified and affirmed the ruling of the District

Court. The Circuit Court held that federal law preempts

enforcement of local zoning permit conditions requiring

licensees to remedy radio frequency interference. As a

procedural matter, the Circuit Court modified the judgment so

3

that it affirmed the local zoning board’s decision on the

preemption issue.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE QUESTION PRESENTED IS IMPORTANT

TO THE NATION

Under the guise of federal preemption, the Second

Circuit decision deprives local communities of the power to

site telecommunication towers under traditional zoning

principles which have been consistently upheld by the courts

and even the FCC relative to radio frequency radiation.

Appendix A. The Second Circuit’s decision would deprive

local communities of the power to enforce Zoning Ordinances

designed to protect the health and safety of their residents.

The Second Circuit’s decision, if followed throughout the

country, will have a significant adverse impact on local

communities, small businesses and local institutions such as

school districts. The granting of Petitioners’ writ would

resolve an important question of federal law that affects

virtually every community in our country at a time when

telecommunication facilities are being sited at a rapid pace.

Under the Second Circuit’s decision licensees would

be free of any local zoning regulations — even those explicitly

accepted as a condition of accepting local permits —that relate

to the location of telecommunication towers relative to

interference within a community. As a practical matter, this

would deprive local residents of any meaningful forum to

remedy such interference. (The District Court and Second

Circuit directed the Petitioners to the FCC (Appendix D at

4

page 48a and Appendix A at page 30a.) Such a review would

occur in a context in which Congress has explicitly defined

exactly the kinds of interference that are preempted, yet

allowed to stand state regulation over the type of radio

frequency interference at issue in this case.

The issue presented here is one of first impression for

this Court, and of significant national importance.

Il.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THE

SUPREME COURT ON THE RULES OF

FEDERAL PREEMPTION AND STATES RIGHTS

The Second Circuit’s decision inferring federal

preemption cannot be squared with Supreme Court precedent.

The Circuit Court found no express preemption of local

authority over the regulation of business electronic equipment;

it found preemption by inference. Appendix A at page 19a.

The Second Circuit made this decision knowing there were

specific federal statutes granting the FCC precise authority to

regulate radio frequency interference between radio operators

and licensees and between ships and licensees. None of these

authorities specifically preempt the local zoning regulation at

issue in this case. All of these authorities narrowly define

specific subjects of preemption, leaving the broader field

undisturbed.

Ba Aetna

sey

a ee ee

\ ee a ee Lee eee Ty Oe TE

A. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISION

WAS __INCONSISTENT_ WITH THE

SUP E__COURT’S _PREEMPTION

STANDARDS.

The Second Circuit ignored the rule of the Supreme

Court that where Congress enacted provisions in legislation

explicitly defining the preemptive reach of the statute that

“matters beyond that reach are not preempted.” Cipollone v.

Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 517 (1992). The Second

Circuit cited the various statutes that directed the FCC to

regulate interference in certain instances such as between

radio stations and inferred that such authority meant that the

FCC had authority over all “technical” issues.’ Appendix A

' The Circuit Court correctly found that Congress intended to

preserve local zoning authority over the placement of personal

wireless facilities. Without any authority the Circuit Court then

presumed that Congress did not intend to “repeal the FCC’s

exclusive jurisdiction over RF interference complaints.” Appendix

A at page 24a. The preservation of local authority can be found

within the 1996 Telecommunications Act. Appendix N at pages

120a-121a. It should be emphasized that the FCC’s authority over

the “environmental effects of radio frequency emissions” relate to

the biological effects of RF radiation and only extends “to the

extent that such facilities comply with the Commission’s regulations

concerning emissions.” /d at page 121a; Cf Appendix A at pages

28a-29a. In subsequent rulemaking, the FCC explicitly found that

its preemptive reach relative to the effects of radio frequency

radiation did not extend to broadcasting facilities and other facilities

that are not personal wireless facilities. Appendix Y at pages 179a-

182a. These matters have always been considered to be within the

traditional authority of local zoning authorities. Nevertheless, the

Second Circuit found that the FCC’s “pervasive” regulation of

broadcasting technology supported its conclusion to preempt States

and local governments from regulating the siting of antenna and

6

at pages 18a-19a. The Second Circuit confirmed this

inference by deferring to the FCC as the agency which

oversees telecommunications. Appendix A at page 20a.

Congress never stated or intended to preempt local

zoning decisions over the placement of telecommunications

towers except where explicitly stated. See e.g. 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c). Appendix N at pages 120a-121a. This is shown

through the plain meaning of congressional enactments. The

1982 amendments to the Act, for example, demonstrate how

the FCC’s authority is /imited to regulations authorizing it to

establish minimum performance standards for home electronic

equipment, and not business electronic equipment. Should

there be any ambiguity or confusion, the Congressional

Record explicitly describes how Congress has restricted the

FCC’s authority to promulgating minimum performance

standards for home electronic equipment, as distinguished

from any regulation over business electronic equipment.

Be Preemption Is Not Applicable.

The Second Circuit purportedly relied upon the

standards set forth in the Cipollone case to conclude that by

inference federal law preempts the regulatory powers of state

and local governments over interference affecting business

electronic equipment. Cipollone recognizes three ways

federal law can preempt local law: (1) expressly, as when the

federal law says it preempts state or local law on the subject;

tower support structures based on local interference phenomena.

Appendix A at page 24a. While basing its holding on the FCC’s

“pervasive regulation of broadcasting technology,” it found the

preservation of local siting authority on the basis of radio frequency

emissions to have “no relevance to the issue of RF interference.”

Appendix A at page 29a.

(2) if the state or local law actually conflicts with federal law;

or (3) when federal law so preoccupies a legislative field that

no room is left for the states to supplement it. /d., 505 U.S.

at 516. The Second Circuit concluded that the third prong of

Cipollone, “field preemption,” applied despite the fact that

Congress had directed the FCC to specifically regulate

interference in some narrow, precise situations while leaving

other local authority intact. It failed to apply the test

properly.

de The Supreme Court Has Held That There Is

A Presumption Against Preemption.

“The power of local governments to zone and control

land use is undoubtedly broad and its proper exercise is an

essential aspect of achieving a satisfactory quality in both

urban and rural communities.” Schad v. Borough of Mount

Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61, 68 (1981). States may legislate on

subjects relating to health, life and safety though the

legislation may indirectly affect the commerce of the country.’

Head v. New Mexico Board of Examiners In Optometry, 374

U.S. 424, 428. However, the power of local governments to

regulate land use is admittedly not unlimited. Schad, supra.

“Under the Supremacy Clause of the United States

Constitution, where the Congress has enacted a statute which

preempts a state or local law, the state or local government is

2 Radio frequency radiation and interference are considered to be

air pollution under Vermont law. 24 V.S.A. § 4407(7). Appendix

CC at page 243a. Except for the limited restrictions imposed under

the 1996 Telecommunications Act relating to the effects of

environmental emissions from personal wireless facilities “to the

extent that such facilities comply with the Commission’s regulations

concerning such emissions” the local impacts are local issues not

regulated by the FCC. Appendix Y at page 181a.

8

without the authority to act within that area.” See Great

Lakes Wireless Talking Machine Company d/b/a WZSH 95

FM v. David Hayes, et al., No. 91-614OT, Slip op. at 6

(citing Securities Industry Association v. Connolly, 883 F.2d

1114, 1117 (1st Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 2559

(1990). The general rule, however, is that there is a

presumption against federal preemption of state law.

In Cipollone, the Supreme Court reaffirmed the

presumption against federal preemption of state law. The rule

in Cipollone is clear: Congress’ enactment of provisions in

legislation explicitly defining the preemptive reach of the

Statute means that “matters beyond that reach are not

preempted.” Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 517; also Keene Co. v.

United States, 508 U.S. 200, 208 (1993) (“[W]here Congress

includes particular language in one section of a statute but

omits it in another . . . it is generally presumed that Congress

acts intentionally and purposely in the disparate inclusion or

exclusion. (citation omitted)”)

The Second Circuit did not address the presumption

against preemption under the Supreme Court’s rulings. The

Second Circuit failed to address the principles of statutory

construction within this context. One cannot infer preemption

where Congress has explicitly carved out statutory language

that preempts state and local activities in other ways. The

Supreme Court’s decision in Cipollone does not support the

Second Circuit’s decision.

i a a ee ta

B. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THE TENTH

AMENDMENT.

i Field Preemption Is Not Applicable Under

the Tenth Amendment.

The Second Circuit concluded that the federal law in

the present case is governed by field preemption. The Court

of Appeals found legislative intent to provide the FCC with

exclusive jurisdiction over RFI in the 1982 amendments to 47

U.S.C. § 302a. Appendix A at pages 18a-19a. The Court

concluded that the legislative intent of Section 302a was to

restrict state or local regulation over all radio frequency

interference. In reaching its conclusion, the Court ignored

specific language in the legislative history that provides that

the FCC’s authority to promulgate minimum performance

standards applied only to home electronic equipment “as

distinguished from devices intended for office and business

use.” Appendix Q at page 151la.

This is clear error. Federal legislation does not have

to authorize state or local regulation; state or local regulation

is allowed if federal regulation is silent. “All is retained

which has not been surrendered.” United States v. Darby,

312 U.S. 100, 124 (1941). Surrender occurs through the

actions of Congress. The power originally resides with the

states, and needs to be taken away by Congress.

[T]here is no phrase in the [U. S.

Constitution] which, like the articles of

confederation, excludes incidental or implied

powers; and which requires that every thing

granted shall be expressly and minutely

described. Even the 10" amendment, which

10

was framed for the purpose of quieting the

excessive jealousies which had been excited,

omits the word “expressly” and declares only

that the powers “not delegated to the United

States, nor prohibited to the States, are

reserved to the States or to the people;” thus

leaving the question, which the particular

power which may become the subject of

contest, has been delegated to the one

government, or prohibited to the other, to

depend on a fair construction of the whole

instrument.

McCullough v. State of Maryland, 4 Wheat. 406, 4 L.Ed. 579

(1819).

The Tenth Amendment was enacted to allay fears

about the centrality of federal authority and the potential loss

of sovereignty by the states. The founders intentionally

avoided a system in which the federal government would

regulate the states. The founders chose instead to establish a

system that regulates individuals directly, rather than to

attempt to “federalize” the state (or by necessary implication

local governments.) Printz v. United States , 521 U.S. 898,

919-920 (1997); accord, New York v. United States, 505 U.S.

144, 161-166 (1992) (“In providing for a stronger central

government therefore, the framers explicitly choose a

Constitution that confers upon Congress the power to regulate

individuals, not States.”); also Reno v. Condon, 120 S.Ct.

666, 671-2 (2000).

Federalism is a system of dual sovereignty. Gregory

v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 457 (1991); Tafflin v. Levitt, 493

U.S. 455, 458 (1990). As Justice Kennedy wrote,

federalism’s great invention is that “our citizens would have

11

See ete 2

two political capacities, one state and one federal, each

protected from incursion by the other. The resulting

Constitution created a legal system unprecedented in form and

design, establishing two orders of government, each with its

own direct relationship, its own privity, its own set of mutual

rights and obligations to the people who sustain it and are

governed by it.” U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514

U.S. 779, 838 (1995) (Kennedy, J., concurring).

In the present case, a federal agency without express

statutory authority from Congress, is said to enjoy preemptive

powers over the siting of telecommunications facilities by

local government, acting under the direct authority of a

general enabling law of zoning. The FCC asserts this power

even though it has been granted express statutory authority to

regulate interference relative to its regulated licensees and

between such licensees and other entities that create

interference such as ships at sea and government

communication facilities. It can point to no statutory

authority to regulate interference by telecommunications

facilities with local business, institutional and medical

equipment. It relies on inference.

We do not doubt that the commerce power authorizes

Congress to create private rights as against the States. See

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469

U.S. 528 (1985). To do so Congress must act. Here it has

not done so. By failing to affirmatively act, the parties drop

into the safety net of the Tenth Amendment to recognize that

the zoning laws of the small Vermont town of Charlotte are

the authority that rules this application.

The Second Circuit ignored the Tenth Amendment,

although the Constitutional arguments were briefed and

argued to the Court.

12

ae Clear _Statement/Plain Meaning Rule

The clear statement rule applies. The courts read

statutory language narrowly when the Commerce Clause is

involved to determine whether Congress intended to preempt

the states. Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law

(1988), § 58 at pp. 316-317. “[U]nless Congress conveys its

purpose clearly, it will not be deemed to have significantly

changed the federal-state balance.” United States v. Bass,

404 U.S. 336, 349 (1971). As Professor Tribe explains the

clear statement rule, “Congress must be prevented from

resorting to ambiguity as a cloak to accommodate the

competing interests bearing on the federal-state balance.”

American Constitutional Law, supra, at § 5-8, page 317. Yet,

the Second Circuit inferred preemption where none was to be

assumed.

When a statute is clear, there is no need to look

beyond the statutory language to divine Congressional intent.

Goodstein v. Bombardier Capital, Inc., 889 F. Supp. 760,

765 (1995); United States v. Am. Trucking Ass'n, Inc. , 310

U.S. 534, 543 (1940) (“There is, of course, no more

persuasive evidence of the purpose of a statute than the words

by which the legislature undertook to give expression to its

wishes.”) This is especially true when evaluating a

preemption claim since preemption is not presumed.

Cipollone, supra, 505 U.S. 504, 521-522 (1992).

The question of whether a particular regulatory field

has been preempted by Congress turns on the purpose of the

federal regulation or statute. In siting a nuclear waste facility,

for example, the State of California decided to create a

regulatory system to determine whether the location was

economically feasible. The utility challenged the California

13

onal i eae a a Ne line

ea

re eed 6 ms ei bm

act on grounds of preemption, and the United States Suprcme

Court determined that there was authority for the state to act,

principally because its concerns were local (in this case,

economic), while the concerns of the federal nuclear

-regulatory authority were principally related to safety, which

is appropriately preempted. Pacific Gas & Electric Company

v. State Energy Resources Conservation and Development

Commission, 461 U.S. 190 (1983); Dalton v. Little Rock

Family Planning Services, 516 U.S. 474 (1996) (“In a pre-

emption case such as this, state law is displaced only ‘to the

extent that it actually conflicts with federal law,’” citing

Pacific Gas and Electric, 461 U.S. at 204).

Petitioners in Pacific Gas and Electric argued that the

siting of nuclear waste facilities was preempted by federal

law, but the Supreme Court concluded otherwise. It held that

California could say “no” to a developer of a facility without

offending the federal interest in ensuring that the nuclear

waste facility was safe, because the purposes of the two

regulatory approaches (state and federal) did not overlap, in

the same way as the Charlotte Zoning Board of Adjustment

and the FCC each pursue different objectives. The roles are

just reversed in the present case. In our case, the federal law

seeks to ensure economic advantages for broadcasters, by

seeking to prevent interference of signals between stations

competing for the same airspace or through the establishment

of home electronic standards, while the Charlotte ZBA is

responsible for ensuring that all development is safe, and

appropriate with respect to the local character of the area.

The ZBA approves the local siting of the facilities. There is

no overlap here; indeed, there are no regulations purporting

to cover interference to business equipment by the FCC (and,

in fact, limited authority relative to home electronic

equipment.)

14

The FCC recognized in 1996 that its technical

oversight of the health and safety effects from radio frequency

radiation was limited by statute. Appendix Y at pages 179a-

182a. Nevertheless, in the present case, the Second Circuit

“deferred” to the FCC’s position claiming preemptive

authority over “technical” issues dealing with radio frequency

interference. Appendix A at pages 18a and 20a. The Second

Circuit misinterpreted the meaning of the FCC’s 1996

decision that it did not preempt state and local authority of

radio frequency radiation emitted from broadcasting facilities

on the grounds that Congress had only directed it to

promulgate rules relative to RFR with respect to personal

wireless facilities.

In a preemption case such as this, state law is

displaced only “to the extent that it actually conflicts with

federal law.” Pacific Gas & Elec. Co., 461 U.S. at 204. See

English v. General Electric Co., 496 U.S. 72, 84 (1990)

(citing Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. supra, 461 U.S. 190, 212-213

(1983)) (a state tort claim brought by an employee of a

nuclear-fuels production facility against her employer was not

pre-empted by a federal whistle-blower provision because the

state law did not have a “direct and substantial effect” on the

federal scheme). The rule is that a “federal court should not

extend its invalidation of a statute further than necessary to

dispose of the case before it.” Brockett v. Spokane Arcades,

Inc., 472 U.S. 491, 502 (1985). Similarly, it should be

hesitant to infer federal regulatory authority where none

exists.

The Second Circuit failed to address the clear meaning

rule or otherwise attempt to apply statutory construction

principles to the federal law presented to it.

RN ANT SR OTR

a. The Plain Meaning Demonstrates the FCC

is Without Authority.

The plain meaning and legislative history of section

302(a) of the Communications Act of 1934 (the “Act”),

clearly shows that Congress’ intent was only to regulate

interference to “home electronic equipment” and interference

between licensees and other enumerated operators, not

interference to business, office, institutional or medical

equipment. State and local governments can regulate in these

areas by approving the proper siting of telecommunications

antennas and transmitters.

In 1982, Congress amended the Communications Act

of 1934 and established minimum electronic standards for

“home electronic equipment and systems.” Section 302a

(“Devices which interfere with radio reception”) provides in

relevant part:

(a) | The Commission may, consistent with

the public interest, convenience, and necessity,

make reasonable regulations

(1) governing the interference potential of

devices which in their operation are capable of

emitting radio frequency energy by radiation,

conduction, or other means in sufficient degree

to cause harmful interference to radio

communications; and,

(2) establishing minimum performance

standards for home electronic equipment and

standards to reduce their susceptibility to

interference from radio frequency energy.

47 U.S.C. § 302a(a)(1-2) (emphasis added). The plain

language of section 302a (a) clearly limits federal regulation

16

to devices which could emit radiation in their operation that

would potentially “cause harmful interference to radio

communications” and to "home electronic equipment.” /d.

This is entirely consistent with the other statutory authority

directing the FCC to regulate ship and radio station signals so

they do not interfere with other FCC services and signals.

Congress never intended to regulate local siting considerations

to protect the local businesses, churches and schools from

receiving interference from the radio facilities. That is a local

responsibility.

Where Congress intended regulation over interference

from radio frequency energy, it has known how to say so.

Congress selected areas it felt were necessary to be regulated.

Keene Co. v. United States, 508 U.S. 200, 208 (1993)

(“[W]here Congress includes particular language in one

section of a statutes but omits it in another . . . it is generally

presumed that Congress acts intentionally and purposefully in

the disparate inclusion and exclusion.”).

Congress was concerned with all devices that might

interfere with radio communications. Subsection (1) of §302a

(a)(1) is clear in this respect. However, in terms of radio

communications interfering with electronic devices, Congress

limited the FCC’s authority to establishing minimum

performance standards for “home electronic equipment.”*

> Actually, a fair and literal reading of § 302a(a)(2) would limit

the FCC’s authority to establishing the performance standards for

home electronic equipment but the courts, demonstrating confusion

or a lack of understanding of local zoning issues, transferred this

limited authority to the siting of telecommunications facilities

relative to impacts on home electronic equipment. See e.g. Great

Lakes Wireless Talking Machine Co., d/b/a WZSH 95 FM v.

Hayes, et. al., CIV-916140T (W.D.N.Y. June 25, 1991).

17

‘ |

This is clear in subsection (2). It is restrictive in its

delegation. Even if the courts were correct that they could

extend this statutory authority to siting towers thereby

preempting local zoning and state land use oversight relative

to home electronic equipment, they are without any authority

to do so relative to business and institutional equipment.

4. The FCC is Not Authorized to Regulate

Business Electronic Equipment.

Radio frequency interference is a byproduct of radio-

frequency radiation. The presence of RFI reveals the

presence of radiation. The siting of the antennas, i.e. the

source of the radiation, is the key to moderating or

eliminating the intensity of radio-frequency interference and

therefore unreasonable impacts on a community. Who

regulates local placement is the underlying question in this

case. No federal law prevents local regulation of the

placement of these towers based on local impacts. See e.g.

AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. City Council of Virginia Beach,

155 F.3d 423, 430 (4 Cir. 1998) (“. . . the opposition to the

application rested in traditional bases of zoning regulation;

preserving the character of the neighborhood and avoiding

aesthetic blight.”); AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. Winston-

Salem Zoning Board of Adjustment, 172 F. 3d 307, 315 (4"

Cir. 1999) (“The Winston-Salem Zoning Board had

‘substantial evidence’ to deny a special-use permit for the

construction of a 148 foot antenna near a historical house that

was surrounded by low-density, single-home, residential

property with no commercial property nearby.”); 360

Degrees Communications Company of Charlottesville v. The

Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County, 2000 WL 346182

(4" Cir. 2000). (The Court took into consideration objections

to the tower’s visibility, its inconsistency with environmental

preservation goals, and its impact on the character of the

18

area.) In each of these cases, the Fourth Circuit reversed the

district court’s judgment directing the local board to issue a

construction permit.

Ironically, had the Charlotte, Vermont Zoning Board

denied the tower in 1986 on the grounds that the 199 foot

tower abutted the University of Vermont Conservation Area,

the Charlotte Central Historic District or was too near

residences, the Charlotte Congregational Church or Charlotte

Central School, it appears the courts would have upheld the

decision based on aesthetics, character of the area and so-

called “traditional” zoning considerations.

The impacts of interference - a local phenomena - is

a local siting consideration since it impacts the character of

the area. This is very distinct from the authority the FCC

operates under to protect its licensees from interference from

other communication signals. The FCC has distinct statutory

authority to prevent interference in those limited situations.

See e.g. 47 U.S.C. §301 (authority to regulate interference

between radio stations); §303(f) (authority to regulate

interference between FCC licensees); §303m(1)(E) (authority

to suspend license of operator who willfully or maliciously

interferes with other radio signals); §305(a) (United States

radio stations shall not interfere with FCC licensed radio

stations); §306, §§320-1, §323 (interference between

government and commercials stations is regulated); 354(b)

and (c) (ships, including foreign ships within the jurisdiction

of the U.S., shall not interfere with radio stations). Congress

has statutorily directed the FCC to ensure that radio signals

are not interfered with by other communication signals,

including ships, governmental and licensed FCC radio

stations. Congress has nc enacted a statute that directs the

FCC to regulate stations from interfering with electronic

equipment of local business or local government services such

19

as aschool. The first deals with a signal directly interfering

with another signal which deserves protection under federal

law; the second deals with the localized effects from the

signal which is a local consideration.*

The presence of local interference from a radio or

cellular facility is neither a technical nor complicated subject.

Just as the biological effects of radiated power are regulated

for health impacts by States and local governments, so too are

the effects from radio frequency interference. There is some

overlap of jurisdiction relative to the biological effects of

radiation. States and local governments may not establish

more stringent health standards than those established by the

FCC with respect to personal wireless facilities. With respect

to broadcasting facilities States and local governments jointly

regulate health standards, but States and local governments

are not restricted from developing more stringent standards.

Appendix Y at pages 181a-182a. Similarly, radio frequency

interference - a bi-product of RF radiation - is an area which

may be regulated by States and local authorities. The

* A telecommunications provider does not have a right to site a

tower in any particular location. Its federal license authorizes it to

serve a city and area but that can be accomplished from any number

of sites, towns, counties or even states. Once a federal permit is

gained, the licensee then must approach landowners to either

purchase or lease land to site their facilities. Finally, they must

gain local and state approval to site the tower on the purchased or

leased land. The skirmishing which results in cases such as this one

is the attempt by the industry to reduce oversight by local entities

versus the attempts by local residents or boards to retain some

control over their communities. This has become a more heated

battle as the cellular and other personal wireless facilities struggle

to gain multiple sites to serve their constituencies throughout the

country.

20

inference by which the Second Circuit found FCC preemption

was based on the fiction advanced by the industry that such

issues are technical and must be regulated by the FCC.

The science is available to predict the location and

extent of the interference before an antenna and its support

structure are sited and constructed. The people of a

community have a right to plan and regulate local land use

through reasonable zoning regulations and conditions that will

reduce the impact of such facilities on their communities. By

placing the burden on the residents of the Town of Charlotte

rather than the telecommunications industry, the Circuit Court

disregards the Tenth Amendment and infers that Congress

intended to preempt the field despite the fact that Congress

developed precise and explicit language authorizing the FCC

to regulate certain activities relative to interference.

The Second Circuit found that residents, businesses,

schools and churches could lodge complaints with the FCC

and that the FCC would resolve blanketing interference

problems. Appendix A at page 30a. That too is wrong. The

Second Circuit misunderstood 47 U.S.C. §302a. The FCC

rules only cover devices that receive transmissions from FCC

regulated services. The FCC blanketing interference rules are

limited in scope and do not purport to cover non-receiver

electronic equipment found in most businesses and

institutions. |The blanketing interference rules were

promulgated to carry out the FCC’s responsibility to maintain

the integrity of FCC regulated services. See e.g. 47 U.S.C.

303(f) and 303(m)(1)(E). The FCC is expressly authorized to

regulate electronic devices which emit radio frequency energy

and are therefore capable of causing harmful interference to

FCC regulation services. 47 U.S.C. §302a(a)(1). The

Second Circuit failed to appreciate these aspects of FCC

regulation. Appendix A at page 22a-23a.

21

Cases upon which the Second Circuit relied are based

on either a town’s attempt to regulate radio stations or a

town’s attempt to regulate “home electronic equipment or

systems” under 47 U.S.C. § 302a(a)(2). They do not address

interference to business and institutional equipment.

Congress has explicitly made the determination that the FCC

does not have the authority to regulate such matters.

5. Legislative History Proves No FCC

Authority.

The plain meaning appears to answer the question

Clearly and succinctly, but in case the Supreme Court

concludes there is some ambiguity and wishes to look behind

the veil of language into legislative history, there is ample

evidence supporting the Petitioners’ position that no

preemption of business electronic equipment was intended.

The legislative history shows that Congress did not intend the

FCC to have exclusive control over all types of RFI. The

Conferees Report cited in Great Lakes Wireless Talking

Machine Company d/b/a WZSH 95 FM v. David Hayes, et

al., supra, and Broyde v. Gotham Tower, Inc., 13 F.3d 994 —

(6th Cir. 1994) ends debate on the issue. Congress only

authorized the FCC to regulate performance standards of

“home electronic equipment.” | Congress went to great

Jengths to distinguish the FCC’s authority over home

electronic equipment as opposed to business electronic

equipment.*° The Conferees Report states in pertinent part:

The Conferees intend that the Commission’s

authority apply only to “home electronic

° This explains why the FCC has not attempted to promulgate

rules addressing business electronic equipment.

22

equipment and systems” likely to be found in

the private residence and intended for

residential use, as distinguished from devices

intended for office and business use.

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, 97" Cong. 2™ (1982),

2237, 2276. Congress did not intend federal regulation in the

form of performance standards for business or institutional

equipment. This section of legislative history was omitted by

the Second Circuit in its analysis and decision.

The Neighbors do not dispute that the tele-

communications law partially preempts state and local

authority, but that preemption is limited to conflicts among

licensees and possibly to conflicts involving home electronic

equipment, as explained above. Except with respect to

devices which are capable of emitting harmful interference,

business electronic equipment remains untouched by federal

law. 47 U.S.C. §302a. It is reserved to the states by this

Court’s precedent and the Tenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution.

The Court of Appeals attempted to distinguish these

clear authorities by asserting that the type of recipient of

interference was immaterial. Appendix A at page 22a. This

holding violates the distinction explicitly created by Congress.

It was Congress that decided, in plain, unambiguous terms,

that preemption would apply to interference with home

devices, but would not apply to interference with business

devices. It is this distinction that must be upheld.

In a recent case interpreting the authority of the FCC

in relation to municipal regulation where the City Council

denied appellees’ application to erect a telecommunications

23

tower® the District Court ordered the Council to approve the

tower; and the Fourth Circuit reversed, finding no violation

of the Act. AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc., supra. In explaining

its decision, the Court wrote, “the evidence shows that

opposition to the application rested on traditional bases of

zoning regulation: preserving the character of the

neighborhood and avoiding aesthetic blight. If such behavior

is unreasonable, then nearly every denial of an application

such as this will violate the Act, an obviously absurd result.”

Id. at 4. Local regulation would not conflict with the

purposes of the Act, according to the Court; “our reading

simultaneously furthers the Act’s explicit goals of facilitating

competition, by strengthening the hand of new market

entrants who cannot show that they have been unreasonably

discriminated against, and of preserving a large portion of

local authority by maintaining that authority in particular

cases.” Id. at5. The Act was never designed to destroy local

authority to regulate the siting of telecommunications towers,

according to the Court, only to ensure that the review was fair

and compatible with the purposes of the Act.

Just as in AT & T Wireless, the interference concern

is a local neighborhood issue. It is a siting issue. A court’s

traditional discomfort with technical matters is not involved

here, because no FCC technical issues are involved. The

— issue is basic to zoning: where should something offensive

best be placed. The Town of Charlotte thought it had the

answer by first denying the application based on location and

then approving a different location when the applicants

promised to cure any problems that arose relative to

6 The AT&T Wireless case involved a cellular tower or a

“personal wireless facility, as opposed to a broadcast facility like

WIZN.

Jf

interference. The zoning board accepted this concession, but

attached a reasonable condition. Now, when the permittees

are to be held to account for their promises, they claim

preemption as a shield.

The plain meaning and legislative history of section

302a together with the case law show that Congress intended,

and the courts have found, federal preemption only of local

regulation of interference to home electronic equipment and

between licensees and other operators, not of business and

institutional equipment.

6. The 1996 Amendments.

The 1996 amendments to the Federal Communications

Act of 1934 provide compelling evidence of ZBA authority to

regulate siting decisions. Section 107(a)(7) of the House bill,

H. 1555 (1996), included preemption language stating that the

FCC should adopt guidelines regulating the placement,

construction, modification, or operation of facilities of

commercial mobile services. H. 1555 as of May 3, 1995,

Section 704(a)(7). Appendix W at page 17la. These

preemption provisions were removed from the final version

of the Act. As the U.S. Supreme Court has stated when

divining congressional intent, “we are mindful that Congress

had before it but failed to pass, just such a scheme.” John

Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Harris Trust & Savings

Bank, 114 S. Ct. 517, 526 (1983). Therefore, Congress

clearly intended state and local governments to continue to

control in this area as they have always done.

According to section 704 (1996), as long as state and

local controls of “personal wireless service facilities” remain

within the enumerated limitations, there is no federal

25

preemption of state and local authority, except for health

matters.’ Appendix N at page 121a.

State and local government are the governments

directly responsible for the health, safety and welfare of their

residents. Narrowing their authority will significantly impair

these governments’ ability to function in ways essential to

their existence. Commercial Mortg. Ins. Inc. v. Citizens Nat.

Bank of Dallas, D.C. Tex., 526 F.Supp. 510, 523 (1981).

: a The Neighbors’ Remedies Are Not Available

at the FCC.

The Court of Appeals reasons that the Neighbors are

not without a remedy, but merely need to bring their concerns

to the FCC. But the FCC has not adopted regulations

covering this issue. Although the FCC has adopted

regulations to resolve complaints of interference those

regulations do not cover matters such as those being

considered here. The FCC rules address permanently and

correctly installed receivers, within what is called the

“blanketed area” which is where the signal is particularly

strong and interference is likely. These rules are a

manifestation of the FCC’s role in prohibiting interference to

the services its regulates. The FCC is authorized to protect

its regulated services from receiving interference. 47 U.S.C.

§302a. In addressing FM broadcast station blanket

interference the FCC has specifically excluded from its rules

’ Congress has preempted the regulation of “radio frequency

emissions.” This has been interpreted by the FCC to preempt states

from regulating the placement of personal wireless facilities on the

basis of the health effects from radiation. The FCC has concluded

that it has no such oversight over broadcast facilities. Appendix Y

at page 179a-182a.

26

most consumer devices. Section 73.318 provides in relevant

part:

(b) After January 1, 1985, permittees or

licenses who either (1) commence program

tests, or (2) replace their antennas, or (3)

request facilities modifications and are issued

a new construction permit must satisfy all

complaints of blanketing interference which

are received by the station during a one year

period .... Resolution of the complaints

shall be at no cost to the complainant. These

- requirements specifically do not include

interference complaints resulting from

malfunctioning or mistuned receivers,

improperly installed antenna systems, or the

use of high gain antennas or antenna booster

amplifiers. Mobile receivers and non-RF

devices such as tape recorders or hi-fi

amplifiers (phonographs) are also excluded.

The Neighbors’ concerns are properly before the state

and local tribunals. If they cannot find relief there, they

cannot look to the FCC, since it has not promulgated any

rules to deal with these issues. State and local jurisdiction

does not conflict with FCC regulation. Meaningful,

reasonable regulation will enhance, not defeat, this industry.

The law is clear that State and local government may

regulate the type of interference being addressed in this

proceeding. If a telecommunications or broadcasting facility

believes it has been denied its rights it has an explicit avenue

to address any alleged violations. See 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(7)(B)(v).

27

CONCLUSION

The technological age has given people the right to

have a cellular telephone and access to digital television and

other forms of competitive communication services. In doing

so it has significantly affected the way we live in both direct

and more subtle ways. With the introduction of new and

expanded types of telecommunications facilities within our

communities it has also created zones where businesses,

schools and religious establishments cannot operate

computers, telephones, medical equipment, and other types of

electric and electronic business machines. New

telecommunication technologies have strained communities in

Vermont and elsewhere to accommodate new entrants into the

market place. Local communities have been willing to accept

reasonable burdens to allow their communities and adjoining

regions the privilege of these new technologies, however, our

communities must also be accorded the right to approve the

siting of those facilities in a manner that mitigates the impacts

on local businesses and residents. The present case offers the

Court with the opportunity to provide guidance to the

industry, FCC and states and local communities regarding the

siting of telecommunication facilities. There is no scientific

or legal reason why communities cannot have both reliable

forms of diverse communications and reliable functioning

electronic equipment in their businesses, schools and

churches.

The Town of Charlotte is not preempted from

exercising reasonable oversight and control over radio and

cellular services that cause pervasive, harmful interference to

the Town and its citizens. Congress never authorized nor

intended the FCC to regulate the interference of business and

institutional electronic equipment. Congress only authorized

the FCC to establish performance standards for home

28

electronic equipment. Any ambiguity reveals that the

Conferees expressly limited the FCC’s authority to home

electronic equipment.

The Court of Appeals Decision in this case violates

basic principals of preemption law and thereby deprives

municipalities their basic ability to protect their citizens.

Radio frequency interference issues have been addressed by

Congress. Congress has deliberately decided to leave to

municipalities the responsibility for determining whether the

impacts from radio frequency interference on local businesses

are appropriate under local zoning ordinances. The Court

should accept certiorari to resolve this important question of

federal law.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/

Gerald R. Tarrant

Tarrant, Marks & Gillies

P.O. Box 1440

Montpelier, Vermont 05601-1440

Attorneys for Petitioners

29

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

[Filed February 23, 2000]

No. 97-9141

GRAEME FREEMAN, MARY

BETH FREEMAN, FRANK

ITTLEMAN, ELAINE

ITTLEMAN, MIKE FOURNIER,

HOLLY FOURNIER, ELLEN

LANE, WILLIAM PINNEY, JR.,

MARK W. BOLLES, CLAUDIA

MUCKLOW, DONNA A. WARK,

IRIS MUGGENTHALER JAMES

H. SQUIRES LAWRENCE

HAMILTON, ROBERT

CARMODY, MARK MUSIEL,

MICHAEL YANTACHKA,

LORIE GADBOURY, CHRIS

MCGEE, PETER COLEMAN,

BARBARA SANFORD

FARRELL, AND WILLIAM

PINNEY, SR.,

Plaintiffs -Appellants,

ee ee ee ee ae O_O i

la

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

BURLINGTON

BROADCASTERS, INC.,

d/b/a WIZN, CHARLOTTE FIRE

& RESCUE SERVICES INC., and

NYNEX MOBILE LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP 1, d/b/a BELL

ATLANTIC NYNEX MOBILE,

Defendants - Appellees.

August Term 1999

Argued: October 15, 1999

Before: NEWMAN, WALKER and SOTOMAYOR, Circuit

Judges.

Appeal from the August 11, 1997, judgment of the

United States District Court for the District of Vermont

(William K. Sessions, III, Judge), dismissing, for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction, an administrative appeal removed

from the Vermont Environmental Court.

Affirmed as modified.

JON O. NEWMAN, Circuit Judge:

This appeal raises a preemption issue pitting federal

authority in the field of radio communications against local

zoning authority. The precise issue is whether the Federal

Communications Act of 1934, as amended (FCA), and

regulations promulgated by the Federal Communications

Commission (FCC) preempt a local zoning board’s power to

enforce a condition of a permit to construct and use a

2a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

communications tower; the permit condition requires the

permittees to remedy any radio frequency interference (“RF

interference” or “RFI”) from tower signals with appliances

and devices in local homes. Appellees Burlington

Broadcasters (“WIZN”), Charlotte Volunteer Fire & Rescue

Services (“CVFRS”), and NYNEX Mobile Limited

Partnership 1 dba Bell Atlantic NYNEX Mobile (“BANM”)

transmit radio signals from a tower in Charlotte, Vermont.

The Appellants, homeowners living near the tower

(“Homeowners”), appeal from a judgment by the United

States District Court for the District of Vermont (William K.

Sessions, III, District Judge) dismissing after removal from

the Vermont Environmental Court, their appeal from a

decision of the Town of Charlotte’s Zoning Board of

Adjustment (“ZBA”) that held the condition unenforceable

See In re Freeman, 975 F. Supp. 570 (D. Vt. 1997). We

agree with both the local agency and the District Court that

federal law preempts enforcement of the permit condition, but

we conclude that the appropriate disposition is not to dismiss

the removed appeal but to affirm the ZBA’s decision on the

preemption issue.

Background

Facts. The underlying facts are largely undisputed.

Appellee WIZN operates a radio station under an FCC

license, which authorizes WIZN to broadcast from a 199-foot

tower in Charlotte. Appellee BANM transmits cellular

telephone calls from four 13-foot “whip” antennas mounted

on the tower. Appellee CVFRS uses tower transmitters

intermittently in connection with providing fire and ambulance

services to the Town of Charlotte.

3a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

In late 1986, WIZN and CVFRS sought a permit from

the Town of Charlotte to build a tower on Pease Mountain

and to transmit radio signals from it. At a hearing to discuss

the matter, a WIZN representative assured concerned

townspeople that there would not be any RF interference with

their home electronic devices, and that if such interference

occurred, WIZN would “trap it out.” The phenomenon of RF

interference is explained in the legislative history of the 1982

Amendments to the FCA: “Radio frequency interference

arises when a signal radiation by a transmitter is picked up by

an electronic device in such a manner that it prevents the clear

reception of another and desired signal or causes malfunction

of some other electronic device.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 97-

765, at 21 (1982), reprinted in 1982 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2261,

2265.

In January 1987, the Town of Charlotte’s Zoning

Board of Adjustment (“ZBA”) issued WIZN and CVFRS a

permit to construct and use the tower on the express condition

that “any interference with reception in homes in the area

because WIZN began broadcasting will be remedied by

WIZN.” After the tower was built, WIZN conveyed

ownership to CVFRS. In April 1987, WIZN began

broadcasting from space on the tower leased to it by CVFRS.

In 1991, BANM’s predecessor and CVFRS received approval

from the ZBA to mount four whip antennas on the tower for

the purpose of cellular phone signal transmission. Although

a representative of CVFRS orally assured the ZBA that the

antennas would cause no interference, BANM was not

required to agree to any conditions concerning RF

interference. |

4a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

State administrative proceedings. On April 5, 1996,

in response to a considerable number of RF interference

complaints by the Appellants and other Charlotte residents,

the Charlotte Zoning Administrator issued a notice of

violation to WIZN, BANM, CVFRS, and the landowner.

The notice alleged that the facility caused long-term and

continuous RF interference in violation of the condition of

WIZN’s permit.

The cited parties appealed the notice of violation to the

ZBA, which conducted public hearings in May 1996 pursuant

to Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 24, § 4467 (1992 & Supp. 1999). The

Homeowners, the Appellants in the pending appeal, appeared

as “interested persons” under id. § 4464 (b) and identified

various RF interference problems with their household

electrical and electronic devices. On July 11, 1996, the ZBA

issued its Notice of Decision. The ZBA found that

RFI that has impaired the ability of Charlotte

residents to communicate, transact business,

and experience the peaceful enjoyment of their

homes and property. In addition, the Board

finds that these individuals have expended

substantial amounts of money in their attempts

to remedy interference problems.

| WIZN has caused continuous and widespread

Notice of Decision at 5. The ZBA also commented on

WIZN’s sluggishness in responding to complaints. The ZBA

noted that “{w]hile WIZN successfully reduced and/or

eliminated RFI in some cases, other Charlotte residents

continue to experience annoying, costly, and burdensome

interference problems.” Id. However, the ZBA found “no

Sa

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

credible evidence” demonstrating that any of the other cited

parties - CVFRS, BANM, and the landowner - caused RF

interference. Id.

Although the ZBA found that WIZN was in violation

of the condition of its permit, the ZBA also concluded that its

authority to enforce the permit condition was preempted by

the federal government’s occupation of the field of RF

interference regulation. The ZBA also noted that Vermont

law provides that, under some circumstances, co-permittees

and property owners are jointly liable for violations, but

found that any such co-permittee liability was also subject to

preemption.

The Homeowners and the Town of Charlotte appealed

the decision of the ZBA to the Vermont Environmental Court

pursuant to Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 24, § 4471 (1992 & Supp.

1999). In addition to challenging the preemption decision

concerning enforceability of the permit condition, the parties

argued that state or local jurisdiction existed over claims of

fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation against WIZN, BANM,

and CVFRS, and that Charlotte residents had been denied

unspecified consumer rights. The Homeowners also

challenged the ZBA’s factual finding that only WIZN, and not

CVFRS, BANM, and the property owner, caused the RF

interference.

District Court proceedings. Before decision by the

Vermont Environmental Court, the Appellees removed the

6a

a> ee ee ee ee ee

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

case to the District Court.' BANM moved to dismiss,

pursuant to Rule 12(b) (1), for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, and, pursuant to Rule 12 (b)(6), for failure to

State a claim. WIZN also moved to dismiss for failure to state

a claim. CVFRS joined both motions. The thrust of all the

Appellees’ arguments was that pervasive federal regulation

preempted enforcement of the locally imposed condition. The

District Court recognized its obligation to consider subject

matter jurisdiction, but did so primarily by inquiring whether

local regulation of RF interference was federally preempted.

The Court concluded that federal law conferred exclusive

jurisdiction on the FCC to regulate RF interference. Turning

to the Homeowners’ allegation of fraud and deceit, based on

the Appellees’ promise to the ZBA either to avoid RF

interference with home devices or eliminate it, the Court

distinguished between the Homeowners’ possible remedies; to

the extent that they sought the remedy of eliminating RF

interference, the Court ruled that such a remedy was

preempted, and to the extent they were seeking (or even had

standing to seek) any other relief, their claims “were not part

of the proceeding from which they appealed, and are properly

before this Court.” Freeman, 975 F. Supp. at 576. Based on

its preemption ruling and its ruling that any non-preempted

remedy for fraud and deceit was outside the scope of the state

court appeal, the District Court dismissed the removed case

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

' The Town of Charlotte sought and received permission

to withdraw from the case.

Ta

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

Discussion

1.- Subject Matter Jurisdiction

A. Jurisdiction Based on the Preemption Issue

Although neither party has questioned the District

Court’s subject matter jurisdiction, the matter is not self-

evident, and we are obliged to consider it. See Fax

Telecommunicaciones Inc. v. AT&T, 138 F.3d 479, 485 (2d

Cir. 1998). And, although an objection to the propriety of

removal is forfeited by failure to assert it, see id. at 487-88,

subject matter jurisdiction must exist, if not at the time of

removal, then at least at the time the District Court entered

judgment, see Grubbs v General Electric Credit Corp., 405

U.S. 699, 705 (1972); Fax Telecommunicaciones, 138 F.3d |

at 488.

The Appellees removed from the Vermont

Environmental Court a civil action brought to that court by

the appeal of the Homeowners from the administrative ruling

of the ZBA. An appeal of an administrative ruling to a state

court is removable to a federal district court so long as the

complaint to the state court presents a well pleaded claim

arising under federal law. See City of Chicago v.

International College of Surgeons, 522 U.S. 156, 163-64

(1997).

Whether the pending case satisfies the standard of City

of Chicago merits careful consideration. City of Chicago,

although involving review of an agency decision, presented a

traditional federal-question case: the state court plaintiff's

complaint alleged that the action of the defendant (a city

8a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

agency) and the ordinance under which the defendant acted

violated the plaintiff's constitutional rights. As the Supreme

Court explained, even though state law (illinois’s

Administrative Review Law) created the plaintiff’s cause of

action, that cause of action nonetheless arose under federal

law because the plaintiff's “‘right to relief under State law

require[d] resolution of a Substantial question of federal

law.’” Id. at 164 (quoting Franchise Tax Board of California

v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust for Southern

California, 463 U.S. 1, 13 (1983)).

The pending case differs from City of Chicago in three

respects. First, unlike the state court plaintiff in City of

Chicago, who filed a complaint, the Homeowners invoked the

jurisdiction of the Vermont Environmental Court by filing a

notice of appeal. That technical difference is irrelevant for

purposes of determining the district court’s removal

jurisdiction. District courts have original jurisdiction over

federal claims seeking review of an administrative decision,

whether the court case is initiated by a complaint, sce, e.g.,

42 U.S.C. § 405(g) (authorizing action to “review” final

decision of Commissioner of Social Security), or a petition for

review, see, €.g., 28 U.S.C. § 2344 authorizing action to

“review” final order of various federal agencies).

Second, the plaintiff’s initial pleading in the state court

in City of Chicago set forth a cause of action, whereas the

Homeowners presented their issues to the Vermont

Environmental Court by a Statement of Questions, pursuant

to the required local procedure. See Vt. R. Civ. P. 76(e) (4)

(B) (Supp. 1999). Although a “Statement of Questions” does

not present a claim that may be examined to determine if it

arises under federal law in quite the same manner as a

9a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

“complaint” asserting a cause of action, this technical

difference also provides no basis for rejecting federal subject

matter jurisdiction. The well-pleaded complaint rule is

concerned with the existence of a federal question on the face

of the document invoking a state court’s jurisdiction, not

whether that document bears the label “complaint.”

Arguably more significant is a third distinction: the

issue tendered to the Illinois state court in City of Chicago

was whether the local agency’s ordinance or action violated

the Constitution, whereas the issue tendered to the Vermont

Environmental Court was whether federal law preempted

enforcement of the condition of the Appellees’ permit. The

preemption issue was initially tendered in it this case when it

was asserted by the Appellees before the ZBA as a defense to

the Zoning Administrator’s notice of violation. Under the

“well-pleaded complaint” rule see Franchise Tax Board, 463

U.S. at 9; Gully v. First National Bank, 299 U.S. 109, 113

(1936) (“[T]he controversy must be disclosed upon the face

of the complaint, unaided by the answer or by the petition for

removal.’ ), a state law complaint, filed in a state trial court,

that tries to anticipate a defense of federal preemption will not

support federal question removal jurisdiction, see Caterpillar

Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 393 (1987); Gully, 299 U.S.

at 116 (“By unimpeachable authority, a suit brought upon a

state statute does not arise under an act of Congress or the

Constitution of the United States because prohibited

thereby.”), unless the limited doctrine of “complete

preemption” applies, see Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v.

Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 63-64 (1987). Under that doctrine, the

plaintiff's state law claim, recharacterized pursuant to the

“artful pleading” rule, see Travelers Indemnity Co. v.

Sarkisian, 794 F.2d 754, 758 (2d Cir. 1986), is said

10a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

necessarily to arise under federal law, regardless of how the

plaintiff has pled the claim, see Metropolitan Life, 481 U.S.

at 63-64. In the FCA context, we have ruled that the

“complete preemption” doctrine does not apply with respect

to state law billing claims and other business practice claims.

See Fax Telecommunicaciones, 138 F.3d at 486; Marcus vy.

AT&T Corp., 138 F.3d 46, 53 (2d Cir. 1998). It is arguable,

however, that the complete preemption defense applies to state

law claims that concern technical aspects of electronic

transmissions, and we might well Support subject matter

jurisdiction in this case on that basis. We need not do so,

however, because of an alternative basis for satisfying the

well-pleaded complaint rule

Although the preemption issue was initially asserted

defensively by the Appellees at the administrative level, later,

when the Homeowners invoked the jurisdiction of the

Vermont Environmental Court, they did so by tendering the

preemption issue affirmatively as the initial question to be

decided in their effort to reverse the decision of the ZBA.

After explaining that the ZBA had ruled that the condition of

WIZN’s permit was void because of federal preemption, the

Homeowners’ Statement asked as a first question, “Does

federal law preempt state and local jurisdiction over

interference?” Although it is arguable that the defensive

nature of the preemption issue when first injected into the case

at the agency level should govern throughout the litigation at

least for purposes of determining federal question jurisdiction,

we think the better approach is to permit removal when a

litigant’s initial entrance to a state court seeks a decision that

an administrative ruling upholding a federal preemption

lla

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

defense is erroneous.’ Our view rests on the reason why the

well-pleaded complaint rule has been fashioned to bar

anticipation of a federal defense.

The well-pleaded complaint rule is usually justified as

a protection against the undue expansion of federal court

jurisdiction that would occur if a plaintiff with only a state

law claim could invoke federal jurisdiction simply by

speculating that the defendant might assert a federal defense.

See, e.g., Richard H. Fallon et al., Hart and Wechsler’s The

Federal Courts and the Federal System 910-11 (4th ed. 1996)

(“Hart_and Wechsler”) (well-pleaded complaint rule

“designed to avoid making original jurisdiction turn on

speculation as to what issues will be decisive in the

litigation” ) (footnote omitted). However, after a state or local

agency has considered a federal defense, such as preemption,

tendered by a defendant, and ruled that the defense is valid,

the reason for the well-pleaded complaint rule has been

substantially diminished: the federal defense is no longer

> The procedural posture of this case is to be distinguished

from that of a plaintiff entering state court to seek a declaratory

judgment that a defendant's anticipated preemption defense to the

plaintiff's state law claim is unavailing. That would be the classic

anticipation of a federal defense that the well-pleaded complaint

rule bars. In the pending case, a local governmental agency has

ruled that the preemption defense is valid. The state court plaintiffs

want not only a decision on the preemption defense; they want a

court to reverse an adverse administrative ruling that is grounded

on federal law.

l2a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

merely a matter of speculation.’ Thus, when the Homeowners

sought judicial review of the ZBA’s preemption ruling, the

federal defense had been adjudicated and the Homeowners

entered the state court to obtain judicial review of the agency

ruling. They were not merely seeking a declaratory judgment

from the Vermont Environmental Court, which might well not

have been removable,‘ but rather exercising their state law

right to obtain judicial review of agency action, the same

procedural route that justified removal in City of Chicago.

And, as in City of Chicago, the state court suit, though

authorized by state law, arose under federal law because of

the nature of the federal question on which the outcome

depended.

> The Hart and Wechsler treatise pointedly queries,

“[D]id it make sense to apply the rule where, as in [Louisville &

vi v [, 211 U.S. 149 (1908)) itself, the

jurisdictional issue arose for the first time on appeal at a time when

both parties and the court below agreed that the case turned entirely

on federal issues?” Hart and Wechsler at 911 n.5.

* Removal of a declaratory judgment action normally

turns On whether the coercive action as to which a declaration is

sought would have stated a federal claim on the face of the

complaint. See Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S. at 17-22 (rule of

v._Philli m Co., 339 U.S. 667 (1950),

applies to state court declaratory judgment actions). Attempted

removal of a state court declaratory judgment action in the pending

case would have encountered the objection that the coercive

enforcement action to which the declaratory judgment action related

would have been the enforcement suit by the Zoning Enforcement

Officer, a suit that would not have included a federal claim.

l3a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

The logic of permitting removal once a federal defense

has been adjudicated could arguably be invoked to justify

removal of a state court appeal from a state trial court

decision adjudicating a federal defense.” However, removal

of such an appeal would encounter the obstacle of the

Rooker/Feldman doctrine, prohibiting a federal district court

from exercising appellate jurisdiction Over a state court. See

District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S.

462, 474 (1983); Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413,

416 (1923). Since this case involves removal of a case

pending in a state court of first instance, seeking review of an

agency decision adjudicating a federal issue, it could have

been brought originally in a district court, and is therefore

properly removable. See 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) (1994). We

also observe that had the state agency adjudicated the federal

issue adversely to the Appellees, they could have brcught an

action in the District Court to enjoin enforcement of the

condition of the zoning permit. See Shaw v. Delta Air Lines,

Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 96 n.14 (1983).

B. Jurisdiction Based on Other Issues

In addition to tendering the preemption issue to the

Vermont Environmental Court, the Homeowners also raised

other issues: whether BANM and CVFRS have caused RF

interference? 2) Whether BANM and CVERS bear joint

liability with WIZN as co-permittees? (3) Whether WIZN,

> Adjudication of a federal defense in a suit not otherwise

within the jurisdiction of a federal court (where no party challenges

federal jurisdiction) does not create federal question jurisdiction.

See Mottley, 211 U.S. at 152.

l4a

Oe

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

BANM, and CVEFRS are Subject to state or local jurisdiction

for fraud, deceit, and misrepresentation arising from the

promises made when the permit was issued? 4) Whether

WIZN, BANM, and CVER have violated some unspecified

consumer rights?

These issues raise only state law questions.° City of

| Chicago instructs that where a removal petition properly

invokes district court’s subject matter jurisdiction over matters

initially presented to an administrative agency, that court’s

authority to consider other issues turns on traditional

considerations applicable to the exercise of supplemental

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1367(a). See City of Chicago,

522 U.S. at 164-65. Since the federal claim (that the ZBA’s

preemption ruling is erroneous) failed at the Outset in the

District Court, it would be inappropriate to exercise

supplemental jurisdiction with respect to the state law claims,

especially in a removed case like this one, where a federal

In presenting the fourth issue, denial of unspecified

consumer rights, to the Vermont Environmental Court, the

Homeowners made a passing reference to federal law by citing a

Provision of the Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub. L. 104-104

§ 101(a), 110 Stat. 56, 70 (1996) (codified at 47 U.S.C. § 253 (b)

(Supp. 1997)), which provides: “Nothing in this section shall affect

the ability of a State to impose . . . requirements necessary to

. . . Safeguard the rights of consumers.” The “section” to which

Subsection 253 (b) refers concerns access to the provision of

telecommunications service. See 47 U.S.C. § 253(a). It has

nothing to do with radio transmissions. The Appellants wisely do

not pursue on appeal any claim that subsection 253(b) creates

Subject matter jurisdiction. We consider in Part II the effect of

section 253 on the merits of the preemption issue.

1Sa

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

court would be obliged to consider the extent to which such

claims had been sufficiently tendered to the ZBA to make

them available for review in the Vermont Environmental

Court. We consider in Part III the consequence of not

exercising such jurisdiction.

II. Federal Preemption

This Circuit has not yet confronted the issue whether

federal law preempts state and local regulation of RF

interference. Of the various forms of federal preemption, the

most pertinent to the pending inquiry is so-called “field

preemption”: state law is preempted when the “scheme of

federal regulation [is] so pervasive as to make reasonable the

inference that Congress left no room for the States to

supplement it.” Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S.

218, 230 (1947). As is always the case in preemption

analysis, Congressional intent is the “ultimate touchstone.”

Cippolone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 516 (1992)

(internal quotation marks and citations omitted). Consistent

with this view of the importance of congressional intent, the

Supreme Court has explained that “field pre-emption may be

understood as a species of conflict pre-emption: a state law

that falls within a pre-empted field conflicts with Congress’

intent (either express or plainly implied) to exclude state

regulation.” English v. General Electric, 496 U.S. 72, 79 n.5

(1990); see also 1 r —_ Ameri

Constitutional Law § 6-31 (3d ed. 1999).

For the reasons below, we conclude that federal law

has preempted the field of RF interference regulation.

16a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

The_FCC’s Statutory Authority to Requlate Radio

Broadcasting. Several Statutory provisions indicate the extent

of the FCC’s authority and responsibility to regulate radio

broadcasting. 47 U.S.C. § 151 states the purposes of the

FCA, among them to “centraliz[e] authority heretofore

granted by law to several agencies” in the FCC, and to

“grant[] additional authority with respect to interstate and

foreign commerce in wire and radio communication” to the

FCC. Section 301’ provides that “it is the purpose of this

chapter, among other things, to maintain the control of the

United States over all the channels of radio transmission”

under licenses granted by the FCC in accordance with the

FCA. Subsection 307(b) requires the FCC to “make such

distribution of licenses, frequencies, hours of operation, and

of power among the several States and communities as to

provide a fair, efficient, and equitable distribution of radio

service to each.”

Moreover, under subsection 302a(a) (1), the FCC has

power to “make reasonable regulations . . . governing the

interference potential of devices which in their operation are

capable of emitting radio frequency energy by radiation

conduction, or other means in sufficient degree to cause

harmful interference to radio communications.” Section 303

grants extensive powers to the FCC to regulate radio

broadcasting technology and RF interference phenomena.

Among other powers, subsection 303(d) empowers the FCC

to “[d]Jetermine the location of classes of Stations or individual

Stations.” Subsection 303(e) empowers the FCC to

Unless otherwise indicated, all Statutory sections cited

are in Title 47.

17a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

“[rJegulate the kind of apparatus to be used with respect to its

external effects and the purity and sharpness of the emissions

from each station and from the apparatus therein.”

Subsection 303(f) allows the FCC to “[mJake such regulations

not inconsistent with law as it may deem necessary to prevent

interference between stations and to carry out the provisions

of this chapter.” Subsection 303(h) confers “authority to

establish areas or zones to be served by any station.”

These statutory provisions make it clear that Congress

intended the FCC to possess exclusive authority over technical

matters related to radio broadcasting. See Head v. New

Mexico Board of Examiners in Optometry, 374 U.S. 424, 430

n.6 (1963); Broyde v. Gotham Tower, Inc. ,13 F.3d 994, 997

(6th Cir. 1994). This authority is embedded in the FCC’s

broad authority to develop a comprehensive national

regulatory system governing telecommunications. See, e.g.,

National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190,

219-20 (1943); FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S.

134, 137 (1934).

Moreover, the legislative history of the 1982

Amendments to the FCA, Pub. L. No. 97-259, 96 Stat. 1087

(1982), supports the conclusion that Congress’s grant of

authority to the FCC was intended to be exclusive and to

preempt local regulation. The House Conference Report

states with respect to enacting section 302a, which empowers

the FCC to set manufacturing standards for home electronic

equipment to minimize the RF interference effects of signals

from nearby transmitters:

The Conference Substitute is further intended

to clarify the reservation of exclusive

18a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

jurisdiction to the Federal Communications

Commission over matters involving RFI. Such

matters shall not be regulated by local or state

law, nor shall radio transmitting apparatus be

Subject to local or state regulation as part of

any effort to resolve an RFI complaint. The

Conferees believe that radio transmitter

operators should not be subject to fines,

forfeitures or other liability imposed by any

local or state authority as a result of

interference appearing in home electronic

equipment or systems. Rather, the Conferees

intend that regulation of RFI phenomena shall

be imposed only by the Commission.

H.R. Conf. Rep. No 97-765, at 33 ( 1982), reprinted in 1982

U.S.C.C.A.N. 2261, 2277. This statement from the

legislative history is consistent with our inference of complete

preemption from Congress’s comprehensive legislation in the

field and Congress’s explicit delegation of authority to the

FCC to regulate the instrumentalities of radio broadcasting

throughout the United States

The FCC’s Regulation of RF Interference Throu h

Rule-making. Federal regulations have the same preemptive

force as federal statutes. See Fidelity Savings and Loan Ass’n

v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153-54 (1983). The FCC has

exercised its rule-making power to extensively regulate the

technologies involved in FM broadcasting. See, e.g., 47

C.F.R. §§ 73.201-73.333 ( 1998). These rules govern, among

other things, the power and height of antennas, see id.

§ 73.211, the use of common antenna sites, see id. § 73.239,

and FM transmitter locations see id. § 73.315. Most

19a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

significantly, the FCC regulates “FM _blanketing

interference,” which is the sort of interference complained of

by the Homeowners. See id. § 73.318. The FCC first

defines the area assumed to be blanketed by radio emissions

as a function of the effective radiated power of the antenna.

Notably, the FCC imposes a requirement that licensees

remedy the RF interference occurring in that area:

“[P]lermittees or licensees who ... are issued a new

construction permit must satisfy all complaints of blanketing

interference which are received by the station during a one-

year period. ... Resolution of complaints shall be at no cost

to the complainant.” Id. § 73.318(b).° Following the one-

year period, the licensee or permittee must provide technical

information or assistance to complainants concerning remedies

for interference. See id. § 73.318(d). Finally, pursuant to an

explicit grant of authority under subsection 302a(a) (1), the

FCC has promulgated extensive regulations governing devices

that emit either intentional or incidental RF interference. See

47 C.F.R. pt. 15 (1998).

In light of our conclusion that Congress intended that

the FCC enjoy exclusive jurisdiction to regulate RF

interference phenomena, the FCC’s regulations cannot be said

to be anything other than reasonable interpretations of the

scope of FCC authority, and thus are entitled to deference

under Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council Inc., 467 U.S. 837 842-43 (1984).

' The FCC excludes complaints resulting from

malfunctioning or improperly used receivers and antenna systems,

mobile receivers, tape recorders and phonographs, and high gain

antennas or antenna booster amplifiers. See 47 C.F.R.

§ 73.318(b).

20a

eee eee ene

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

The FCC’s Interpretation of the Scope of Preemption.

An agency’s interpretation of an ambiguous statute it is

charged with administering is entitled to Chevron deference

not only when the agency interprets through rule-making, but

also when it interprets through adjudication. See Edward J.

DeBartolo Corp. v. Florida Gulf Coast Building and

Construction Trades Council, 485 U.S. 568, 574 (1988). To

whatever extent any ambiguity exists in the FCA, the FCC

has resolved this ambiguity in favor of federal preemption of

RF interference issues. Cf. City of New York v. FCC, 486

U.S. 57, 64 (1988) (“If the agency’s choice to pre-empt

represents a reasonable accommodation of conflicting policies

that were committed to the agency’s care by the statute, we

should not disturb it unless it appears from the statute or its

legislative history that the accommodation is not one that

Congress would have sanctioned.”) (citation and internal

quotation marks omitted). In In re Mobilecomm of New

York, Inc., 2 F.C.C.R. 5519 (Common Carrier Bureau

1987), the FCC examined two sections of the Code of the

Town of Wilton, Connecticut, that purported to regulate RF

interference. Wilton’s Code required that a paging signal

transmitter notify the Town’s Planning and Zoning

Commission when it changed the power and/or frequency of

its transmission, and provided that “[njo operation shall be

permitted which produces any perceptible electromagnetic

interference with normal radio or television reception in any

area within or without the town.” Id. 3 n.3. The FCC

determined that Wilton’s rule was preempted by federal law,

see id. {4 8-11, and rejected Wilton’s argument that its zoning

regulations were “reasonably tailored police powers

necessarily enacted for the protection of town residents.” Id.

15. See also In re 960 Radio, Inc., FCC 85-578 3, 1985

WL 193883 (1985) (holding that FCC’s exclusive jurisdiction

2la

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

over RF interference between two radio stations preempted

enforcement of use permit conditioned on station’s “not

operat[ing] [its] new facility so as to produce electronic

interference to existing facilities”).

The Homeowners’ Arguments That Federal Law

Authorizes Local Regulation of RF Interference. The

Homeowners make three arguments that federal law expressly

or impliedly exempts from preemption state and local

regulations like the permit condition at issue. We disagree

with these arguments.

First, the Homeowners rely on the 1982 Amendments,

which, among other things, grant the FCC authority to

promulgate performance standards for consumer electronic

equipment. See 47 U.S.C. 302a(a)(2). The Appellants argue

that this limited grant of authority reflects a conscious

decision by Congress to confer on the FCC exclusive power

to set standards for consumer electronic equipment but not

business electronic equipment, leaving RF interference

affecting business electronic equipment available for local

regulation. Because the ZBA found that the WIZN signal

interfered with equipment used for business the argument

continues, the condition on WIZN’s permit is not preempted

by federal law or regulations.

This argument is untenable. Although Congress

limited the FCC’s standard-setting authority to consumer

electronic equipment, this limited grant of authority concerns

devices that receive RF interference, not devices that emit

radio signals. Thus, were we to infer from the statute’s

inclusion of consumer electronic equipment the exclusion of

business electronic equipment, we would conclude at most

22a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

Standards for the manufacture of business electronic devices)

that would minimize malfunctions caused by the receipt of RF

interference.’ This is an altogether different matter from the

regulation of radio transmitters emitting radio signals that are

the source of RF interference in recipient devices. In fact,

Congress explicitly granted the FCC authority to regulate RF

emissions causing interference. See 47 U.S.C. § 302a(a)(1).

Finally, we note that the provision relied upon by the

Homeowners was passed as part of the 1982 Amendments.

The Conference Report for these amendments, quoted above,

explicitly states Congress’s intent to preempt any local or state

attempts to regulate or remedy RF interference.

Second, the Homeowners argue that the 1996

Amendments “preserve” local zoning authority over RF

emissions. They point to two provisions: one provision

concerns wireless telephones (and thus implicates the

Homeowners’ claim against BANM) and the other concerns

common carrier regulations. :

The Homeowners argue that the wireless telephone

provisions in the 1996 Amendments affect the analysis

whether the ZBA has the authority to regulate RF interference

° ‘The legislative history reveals that Congress was

responding to increasing complaints concerning RF interference

with home electronic equipment. However, Congress determined

that business equipment manufacturers were already adequately

safeguarding their electronic equipment from RF interference, and

that FCC standard-setting was not necessary to resolve that

problem. See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 97-765, at 32-33, 1982

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 2275-76.

23a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

attributable to BANM."° They point to subsection 332(c)

(7)(A), entitled “Preservation of local zoning authority,”

which states:

Except as provided in this paragraph, nothing

in this chapter shall limit or affect the authority

of a State or local government or

instrumentality thereof over decisions

regarding the placement, censtruction, and

modification of personal wireless services

facilities.

Thus, Congress did preserve some local zoning authority over

the placement of wireless services transmitters like BANM’s.

However, we conclude that Congress did not intend by this

provision to repeal the FCC’s exclusive jurisdiction over RF

interference complaints The statute’s preservation of local

power extends only to “placement, construction and

modification” of “facilities.” In light of the FCC’s pervasive

regulation of broadcasting technology, this provision is most

reasonably understood as permitting localities to exercise

zoning power based on matters not directly regulated by the

FCC. Cf. AT&T Wireless PCS, Inc. v. City of Virginia

Beach 155 F.3d 423, 427 (4" Cir. 1998) (upholding under this

provision city’s denial of building permit to wireless services

provider, when that denial rested on “traditional bases of

zoning regulation: preserving the character of the

neighborhood and avoiding aesthetic blight”). Moreover, this

interpretation is supported by the express provision in the

1996 Amendments forbidding implied repeal:

10 We note that the ZBA found none.

24a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

(c) Federal, state, and local law. --

(1) No implied effect. -- This Act and the

amendments made by this Act shall not

be construed to modify, impair, or

supersede Federal, State, or local law

unless expressly so provided in such

Act or amendments.

Pub. L. No. 104-104, § 601, 110 Stat. 56, 143 (1996)

(codified in notes to 47 U.S.C. § 152 (1994 & Supp. 1997)).

It would contravene this provision to find that subsection

332(c)(7) impliedly repeals the FCC’s exclusive authority to

regulate RF interference. We note also that the legislative

history indicates that this preservation of authority “relate[s]

to local land use regulations and [is] not intended to limit or

affect the Commission’s general authority over radio

telecommunications, including the authority to regulate the

construction, modification and operation of radio facilities.”

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 104-458, at 209 (1996), reprinted in

1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 124, at 223.

The amicus brief of the Vermont Senators and

Congressman also cites subsection 332(c)(7) in arguing

against the ZBA’s preemption ruling. Their point is that no

provision similar to this subsection, which concerns personal

wireless service, can be found regarding the “siting” of radio

broadcast towers. Brief of Amicus Curiae Leahy et al. at 4.

However, the preexisting pervasive federal regulation of RF

interference suffices to resist any negative implication that

might otherwise be drawn from subsection 332(c)(7).

Moreover, local authority over siting of broadcast towers,

25a

es

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

based on considerations not within the exclusive regulatory

authority of the FCC, remains unimpaired.

The Homeowners also point to the 1996 Amendments’

common carrier regulations, codified in section 253 and

reading in part:

(a) In general. No State or local statute or

regulation, or other State or local legal

requirement, may prohibit or have the effect of

prohibiting the ability of any entity to provide

any interstate or intrastate telecommunications

service.

(b) State regulatory authority. Nothing in this

section shall affect the ability of a State to

impose, On a competitively neutral basis and

consistent with section 254 of this section,

requirements necessary to preserve and

advance universal service, protect the public

safety and welfare, ensure the continued

quality of telecommunications services, and

safeguard the rights of consumers.

The Homeowners argue that these provisions, particularly

subsection (b), “preserve” the right of a state to impose RF

interference conditions because those conditions “protect the

public safety and welfare.” This argument is unavailing. The

section at issue is contained in the statutory subchapter

entitled “Common Carriers” and the part entitled

“Development of Competitive Markets.” The section

concerns the provision of local telephone service and the

impermissibility of state-created barriers to competitive

26a :

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

markets. It has nothing to do with RF interference.

Moreover, the legislative history indicates that “[b]y ‘public

safety and welfare,’ the Committee means, among other

things, making certain that emergency services, such as 911,

are available to the public.” H.R. Rep. No. 104-204, at 75

(1995), reprinted in 1996 U.S.C.C.A.N. 10, at 41.

Third, the Homeowners argue that the FCC has

expressly declined to regulate or to preempt local regulation

of radio frequency matters affecting safety. They point to the

following explanatory portions of an FCC proposed rule, and

argue that it establishes that the FCC intended to preserve

state and local regulations affecting health and safety:

164. In the past, parties have requested

that the Commission preempt State and local

authority over RF exposure matters. To date

the Commission has declined to preempt on

health and safety matters. However, the

Commission has noted that should non-Federal

RF radiation standards be adopted that

adversely affect a licensee’s ability to engage

in Commission-authorized activities, the

Commission would consider reconsidering

whether Federal action is necessary.

166. Decision. In the past the

Commission has hesitated to intrude on the

ability of states and localities to make

regulations affecting health and safety. Many

of the comments indicate that a patchwork of

27a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

divergent local and State regulations could

pose a burden on interstate communications

However, since these comments were filed,

Congress has passed the Telecommunications

Act of 1996 Section 704 of _ the

Telecommunications Act amends _ the

Communications Act by providing for federal

preemption of state and local regulation of

personal wireless service facilities on the basis

of RF environmental effects. The

Telecommunications Act also provides for

resolution of conflicts related to the regulation

of RF emissions by the courts or by petition to

the Commission. Accordingly, we are

amending § 1.1307 of our rules to incorporate

the provisions of Section 704 of the

Telecommunications Act.

Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental Effects of

Radiofrequency Radiation, 58 Fed. Reg. 19,393 (1993)

(codified at 47 C.F.R. pt. 1, 2, 15, 24, 97) (adopted Aug. 5,

1996) (footnotes omitted).

The Homeowners misunderstand the meaning of

“health and safety” in this context. This term is used in

conjunction with the term “environmental effects,” which is

not defined in the statute but most likely refers, to the already-

existing requirement that the FCC prepare an Environmental

Assessment in connection with the grant of a license. See 47

C.F.R. § 1.1307 (1998). The environmental effects specified

by the regulations do not include RF interference, but rather

focus on degradation of the natural environment, effects on

historical landmarks, and the biological effects of RF

28a

i

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

radiation. Consequently, the FCC’s adoption or rejection of

a position with respect to that issue has no relevance to the

issue of RF interference.

We conclude that allowing local zoning authorities to

condition construction and use permits on any requirement to

eliminate or remedy RF interference “stands as an obstacle to

the accomplishment and execution of the full purposes and

objectives of Congress,” Fidelity Savin Loan Ass'n, 458

U.S. at 152 (quoting Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67

(1941)) (internal quotation marks omitted), in delegating

regulatory power to the FCC for uniform regulation of

broadcast technologies. At least one other court has agreed

with this view with respect to local zoning permits. See

Southwestern Bell Wireless Inc. v. Board of County

Commissioners, 199 F.3d 1185, 1193 (10th Cir. 1999),

Other courts have reached the same conclusion when fazed

with the question whether federal law preempts state common

law nuisance actions purporting to regulate RF interference.

See Broyde, 13 F.3d at 998; Still v. Michaels, 791 F. Supp.

248, 252 (D. Ariz. 1992) (alternate holding); Still v.

Michaels, 803 P.2d 124, 125 (Ariz. Ct. App. 1990); Helm v.

Louisville Corp., 667 S.W.2d 691, 693 (Ky. 1984);

Blackburn v. Doubleday Broadcasting Co., 353 N.W.2d 550,

556-57 (Minn. 1984); Smith v. Calvary Educational

Broadcasting Network, 783 S.W.2d 533, 536-37 (Mo. Ct.

App. 1990); Monfort v. Larson, 693 N.Y.S.2d 286, 289

(N.Y. App Div. 1999); Fetterman v. Green, 689 A.2d 289,

294 (Pa. Super. Ct.), appeal denied, 695 A.2d 786 (1997): cf.

Goforth v. Smith, 991 S.W.2d 579, 583-84 (Ark. 1999) (state

law action to remedy environmental effects of RF emissions

preempted).

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

As the ZBA noted, see Notice of Decision at ? n.2,

- preemption of the permit condition does not leave the

Homeowners without a remedy. Federal regulations impose

a continuing duty on WIZN to provide technical assistance to

residents within the blanketing interference area to resolve RF

interference problems. See 47 C.F.R. § 73.318(d) (1998).

In the first year of any new or upgraded transmitter’s

operation, the transmitting station must satisfy all complaints

of blanketing interference with most common devices at no

cost to the complainant. See id. § 73.318(b). In addition, the

Homeowners may file informal requests for action with the

FCC. See id. § 1.41. They may also ask the FCC to deny

renewal of WIZN’s license on the ground that the interference

is SO severe that it violates the public interest. See 47 U.S.C.

§ 307(c)(1); Broyde, 13 F.3d at 998. Judicial review of FCC

decisions and orders is available in the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit. See 47 U.S.C.

§ 402(b).

III. | Consequence of Preemption

The District Court ruled that, because local

enforcement of the condition of WIZN’s permit was

preempted, the Court lacked subject matter jurisdiction.

Though the Court lacked jurisdiction to grant any relief with

respect to the Homeowners, claim to remedy the RF

interference, it did not lack jurisdiction to rule, as it correctly

did, that the permit condition was preempted and that any

attempt to obtain a federal or state law remedy that regulates

RF interference was preempted. Having made that ruling, the

proper disposition in the removed case was to affirm the

ruling of the ZBA, which had also ruled the permit condition

preempted. Although the preemption issue was raised by

30a

Court of Appeals Opinion - 2/23/00

motions to dismiss pursuant to Rules 12(b) (1) and (6), the

resolution of the issue in favor of the Appellees, after full

consideration, left nothing further to be done on the federal

issue, and at that point at least a partial summary judgment for

the Appellees was warranted. We need not consider whether

the state law issues should have been remanded to the

Vermont Environmental Court, because the Homeowners

have not sought that relief on this appeal. The only relief

sought by the Homeowners in this Court is reversal of the

District Court’s preemption ruling.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the ruling of the District

Court on the preemption issue is affirmed, and the judgment

dismissing the removed case is modified to reflect that the

decision of the ZBA the preemption issue is affirmed. The

Appellees may recover their costs.

3la

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

[Filed September 8, 1997]

No. 2:96-CV-295

GRAEME AND MARY BETH

FREEMAN, et at.,

Appellants,

iP

BURLINGTON

BROADCASTERS, Inc., et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Appellees. )

)

NOTICE OF APPEAL

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT Graeme

Freeman, Mary Beth Freeman, Frank Ittleman, Elaine

Ittleman, Mike Fournier, Holly Fournier, Ellen Lane,

William Pinney, Jr., William Pinney, Sr., Rev. Mark W.

Bolles, Claudia Mucklow, Donna A. Wark, Iris

Muggenthaler, James H. Squires, Lawrence Hamiiton, Robert

Carmod, Mark Musiel, Michael I. Yantachka, Lorie Gaboury,

Chris McGee, Peter Coleman, and Barbara Sanford Farrell,

plaintiffs, by and through their attorneys, Tarrant, Marks &

Gillies of Montpelier, Vermont, pursuant to Rules 3 and 4(a)

32a

“ “Pee pe TD

a

(1) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, hereby

appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit from the Opinion and Order, Docket No. 2:96-CV-

295, issued by the Honorable William K. Sessions, III,

granting defendant’s Motion to Dismiss entered in this action

on August 8, 1997, with Judgment and Order dated August

11, 1997,

Dated at Montpelier, Vermont this 5 day of

September, 1997.

APPELLANTS

By: /s/

Gerald R. Tarrant, Esq.

Tarrant, Marks & Gillies

P.O. Box 1440

Montpelier, Vermont 05602

Federal Bar ID #000381706

Their Attorney

33a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF VERMONT

[Filed August 11, 1997]

No. 2:96-CV-295

GRAEME FREEMAN, et al,

Appellants,

V.

BURLINGTON

BROADCASTERS, INC. d/b/a

WIZN, CHARLOTTE FIRE AND

RESCUE SERVICES, INC.,

NYNEX MOBILE LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP 1, d/b/a Bell

Atlantic NYNEX Mobile,

Appellees.

New me ee eee ee”

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Jury Verdict. This action came before the

Court for trial by jury. The issues have been

tried and the jury has rendered its verdict.

34a

X Decision by Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that pursuant to the

Court’s Opinion and Order (Paper No. 34) filed August 11,

1997, appellee NYNEX Mobile Limited Partnership 1’s

motion to dismiss on the ground of lack of subject matter

jurisdiction (Paper No. 14) is granted. JUDGMENT is

hereby entered for appellees Burlington Broadcasters, Inc.,

Charlotte Fire and Rescue Services, Inc. and NYNEX Mobile

Limited Partnership 1, against the appellants.

RICHARD PAUL WASKO

Date: August 11, 1997 Clerk

/s/

(By) Deputy Clerk

JUDGMENT ENTERED ON DOCKET

DATE: 8-1-97

35a

OUI iii i

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF VERMONT

[Filed August 11, 1997]

No. 2:96-CV-295

IN RE: APPEAL OF GRAEME _ )

and MARY BETH FREEMAN, )

ET AL. )

)

OPINION AND ORDER

This action is an appeal from a decision by the Town

of Charlotte Zoning Board of Adjustment (“ZBA”) finding

that it had no jurisdiction to enforce its requirement that the

users of a telecommunications tower remedy any radio

frequency interference (“RFI”) experienced by the residents

of the town. The users of the tower, Burlington Broadcasters,

Inc., d/b/a WIZN-FM (“WIZN”), NYNEX Mobile Limited

Partnership 1 d/b/a Bell Atlantic NYNEX Mobile

(“BANM”), and Charlotte Volunteer Fire and Rescue

Services, Inc. (“CVFRS”), seek dismissal of the action on the

grounds that the Federal Communications Commission

(“FCC”) has exclusive jurisdiction over complaints involving

RFI.

36a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

I. Factual Background

WIZN operates an FM radio station and is licensed by

the FCC to broadcast from an approximately 199 foot radio

transmission tower on Pease Mountain in Charlotte, Vermont.

BANM transmits cellular calls from four thirteen foot “whip”

antennas mounted halfway up the tower. CVFRS makes

intermittent use of the tower in connection with providing fire

and ambulance service for the town.

In 1986 WIZN and CVERS received zoning approval

from the Town of Charlotte to build the Pease Mountain

tower. Ata hearing in connection with the zoning permit to

build the tower, community residents raised concerns about

RFI.' According to the minutes of the meeting, WIZN’s

representative, Michael Calhoun, stated that there would not

be any interference, and if there was, WIZN would “trap it

out.” (paper 19, att. B). WIZN and CVFRS received

approval to construct the tower, on the condition that “[a]ny

interference with reception in homes in the area because

WIZN begins broadcasting will be remedied by WIZN.

WIZN will broadcast 50,000 watts per day.” Id.

After the tower was built, WIZN conveyed ownership

of the tower to CVFRS. In April 1987 WIZN began

broadcasting from the tower. In 1991 BANM (formerly

Contel Cellular) and CVFRS received zoning approval from

‘RFI arises when a signal radiated by a transmitter is

picked up by an electronic device in such a manner that it prevents

the clear reception of another signal or causes malfunction of the

electronic device. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 97-765, at 11 ( 1982),

1982 reprinted in U.S.C.C.A.N. 2261.

37a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

the ZBA to mount the whip antennas. The ZBA placed no

conditions respecting RFI on the approval.

On April 5, 1996, the Charlotte Zoning Administrator

issued a notice of violation to WIZN, BANM, CVERS and

the landowner. According to the notice, the operation of the

broadcast facility had caused “long-term and continuous”

interference with electronic devices and other appliances, in

violation of the terms and conditions of ZBA approvals and

permits, which required that any RFI would be remedied by

the users.

WIZN, BANM, CVERS, and the landowner appealed

the notice of zoning violation to the ZBA. The ZBA

conducted public hearings in May, 1996, pursuant to Vt. Stat.

Ann. tit. 24, 4467 (Supp. 1996). A group of “interested

persons” as defined in Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 24, § 4464(b) (Supp.

1996) (“the Freemans” or “the Neighbors”) appeared and

were heard at these proceedings. At the hearings, Charlotte

residents identified RFI problems with “various electrical and

electronic devices, including but not limited to telephones,

answering machines, radios, stereos and tape machines,

public address systems, televisions and VCRs, baby monitors,

computers and security systems.” Notice of Decision at 4

(paper 1, att. 2).

On July 11, 1996 the ZBA issued its Notice of

Decision. The ZBA found “that WIZN has caused continuous

and widespread RFI that has impaired the ability of Charlotte

residents to communicate, transact business, and experience

the peaceful enjoyment of their homes and proper.” Id. It

found no credible evidence that CVFRS, BANM or the

landowner had caused RFI in Charlotte.

38a

oe oe ee eee

‘ x

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

The ZBA concluded that WIZN had violated the terms

of its conditional use approval and of its zoning permit. It

concluded further, however, that the FCC has exclusive

jurisdiction over RFI phenomena, and that the ZBA had no

authority to enforce a permit condition requiring WIZN to

remedy any interference problems. Accordingly, it dismissed

the Notice of Violation.

The Neighbors appeaied the ZBA decision to the

Vermont Environmental Court pursuant to Vt. Stat. Ann. tit.

24 § 4471 (Supp. 1996). They raised the following issues on

appeal: whether federal law preempts state and local

jurisdiction over RFI; whether BAN M or CVEFRS caused RFI

in Charlotte; whether BANM and CVERS, as co-permittees

of WIZN, bore responsibility for WIZN’s permit violations;

whether there is state of local jurisdiction over an allegation

of fraud, deceit or misrepresentation: and whether Charlotte

residents have been denied their rights as consumers.

WIZN, BANM, CVERS and the landowner removed

the case to this Court, asserting that the case concerned a

claim arising under the Federal Communication Act of 1934

(as amended) (“FCA”), 47 U.S.C. §§ 151-613 (1991 and

Supp. 1997).

Before the Court are WIZN’s motion to dismiss

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6) (paper 13), and

BANM’s motion to dismiss pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1)

and 12(b) (6) (paper 14).? Specifically, WIZN and BANM

contend that the Federal Communications Act preempts the

> CVERS has joined in both motions (paper 16)

39a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

Neighbors’ zoning appeal. The Neighbors oppose the

dismissal, and seek a remand to the ZBA.”

I. Discussion

BANM has challenged this Court’s subject matter

jurisdiction over this zoning appeal. In ruling on a motion to

dismiss under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1), the allegations of the

complaint are to be construed favorably to the pleader. The

issue is not whether claimants will ultimately prevail, but

whether they are entitled to offer evidence to support their

claims. Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 236 (1974). For

the purposes of this motion to dismiss, therefore, the Court

accepts the Neighbors’ factual allegations as true.

Congressional intent is the “ultimate touchstone” of

preemption analysis. Cipollone v. Liggett Group. Inc., 505

U.S. 504, 516 (1992). That intent may be

explicitly stated in the statute’s language or

implicitly contained in its structure and

purpose. In the absence of an express

congressional command, state law is

preempted if that law actually conflicts with

> The Town of Charlotte opposed the dismissal as well,

but has orally sought and received this Court's permission to

withdraw from the case. Consequently its opposition is moot.

40a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

federal law, or if federal law so thoroughly

occupies a legislative field as to make

reasonable the inference that Congress left no

room for the States to supplement it.

Id. (citations omitted).

The Federal Communications Act of 1934 (as

amended) does not contain an express provision preempting

state or local regulation of radio frequency interference.

Therefore, to determine whether preemption is implied, the

Court must analyze whether Charlotte’s zoning permit

condition actually conflicts with federal law, or if federal law

occupies the field of radio frequency interference so

thoroughly that state or local regulation is precluded.

In enacting the Communications Act of 1934,

Congress created a “unified amd comprehensive regulatory

system” for the broadcasting industry. National Broadcasting

Co. v. United States, 319 U.S. 190, 214 (1943). In Section

301 of the Act, Congress stated that the purpose of Act was

“among other things, to maintain the control of the United

States over all the channels of radio transmission.” 47

U.S.C. § 301 (1991) .

In Section 151 of the Act, Congress created the FCC

to “execute and enforce the provisions” of the Act. 47

U.S.C. § 151 (Supp. 1997). Congress endowed the FCC with

“comprehensive powers to promote and realize the vast

potentialities of radio.” National Broadcasting, 319 U.S. at

217. The Supreme Court made clear in National Broadcasting

that the Commission is empowered to deal with “technical and

engineering impediments” to the “effective use of radio in the

4la

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

public interest.” Id. See also FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting

Co., 309 U.S. 134, 138 (1940) (Communications Act

expressed Congress’s desire to maintain, through

administrative control, grip on dynamic aspects of radio

transmission); Head v. New Mexico Bd. of Examiners, 374

U.S. 424, 430, n. 6 (1963) (FCC’s jurisdiction over technical

matters associated with transmission of radio signals is clearly

exclusive).

The FCC has been given statutory authority to regulate

the transmission of radio energy that creates interference in 43

U.S.C. § 301, § 302a(1), and § 303(c), (d), (e) and (f) (1991

and Supp. 1997). The Neighbors argue, however, that their

complaints of RFI have interfered with business and

institutional equipment in the town, and that the ZBA has the

authority under 47 U.S.C. § 302a (1991) to regulate RFI that

affects business and institutional electronic devices as

opposed to home electronic devices.

Section 302a(a) (2) of Title 47 of the United States

Code authorizes the FCC to make reasonable regulations

“establishing minimum performance standards for home

electronic equipment and Systems to reduce _ their

susceptibility to interference” from RFI. Section 302a(a)(1)

authorizes the FCC to regulate any devices which are capable

of transmitting radio frequency energy which could harm

radio communications. The statute does not authorize the

FCC to establish performance standards for commercial and

business electronic equipment. From this statutory silence,

the Neighbors have inferred that the regulation of RFI which

affects commercial and business electronic equipment is

within the purview of state and local authorities. Section 302a

does not purport to regulate radio stations which may produce

42a

of tel Be’ * es oe

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

interference, however, but only to regulate devices which

interfere with radio reception or home electronic devices

which are susceptible to RFI.

Although Congress has not enacted a specific statute

that explicitly authorizes the FCC to regulate radio station

RFI that affects business and commercial electronic devices,

it clearly intends that the FCC have exclusive jurisdiction over

RFI in general. With the enactment of the Communications

Amendments Act of 1982, which amended § 302a to provide

for the establishment of performance standards for home

electronic equipment, Congress clarified that the FCC had the

power to regulate not only the transmitters of RFI, but the

devices in the home that are susceptible to RFI. The House

Conference Report which accompanied the Communications

Amendments Act of 1982 clarified that “exclusive jurisdiction

over RFI incidents (including preemption of state and local

regulation of such phenomena) lies with the FCC.” H.R.

Conf. Rep. No. 97-765, at 16 (1982), reprinted in 1982

U“ ~C.A.N. 2261. It stated further that

[s]uch matters [involving RFI] shall not be

regulated by local or state law, nor shall radio

transmitting apparatus be subject to local or

State regulation as part of any effort to resolve

an RFI complaint. The Conferees believe that

radio transmitter operators should not be

subject to fines, forfeitures or other liability

imposed by any local or state authority as a

result of interference appearing in home

electronic equipment or systems. Rather, the

Conferees intend that regulation of RFI

43a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

phenomena shall be imposed only by the

Commission.

Id. at 40, 1982 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 2277.

Section 302a does not, expressly or by implication,

authorize state or local regulation of the source of radio

frequency interference. And although Congress limited the

FCC to establishing performance standards for home

electronic devices instead of for all electronic devices which

might be susceptible to RFI,* it emphasized that all RFI

complaints were to be handled through the Commission.

The Neighbors also claim that Section 704 of the

Telecommunications Act of 1996, codified at 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c) (7) (Supp. 1997), preserved the ZBA’s authority to

make and enforce conditions regulating RFI with respect to

BANM’s provision of cellular telephone service. Section 332

of Title 47 deals with the provision of commercial mobile

services. In 1996 the section was amended specifically to

prevent FCC preemption of local and state land use decisions

regarding the placement, construction, and modification of

personal wireless service facilities. Telecommunications Act

of 1996 (“TCA”), Section 704, 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7).

The Zoning Administrator’s Notice of Violation and

the ZBA’s subsequent findings are not local land use decisions

* The House Conference Report noted that devices

designed and marketed for use in a commercial environment

normally included protection against RFI, and did not require FCC

regulation. H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 97765, at 38 (1982).

d4a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

regarding the placement, construction, and modification of

wireless facilities. The original approval of the application to

install BANM’s whip antennas was not appealed. No

application or request to modify BANM’s permit has been

made. The Zoning Administrator found BANM in violation

of its permit on the basis of excessive RFI; the ZBA

subsequently found that BANM neither contributed to the RFI

problem in Charlotte, nor was responsible as a cO-permittee

for WIZN’s RFI. Because the decisions by the local zoning

authorities do not concern the placement, construction or

modification of a wireless service facility, § 332(c)(7)’s limit

on FCC preemption is not implicated.

Even if the ZBA proceedings did involve placement,

construction or modification of wireless facilities, 332(c)(7)

does not authorize state or local regulation of radio frequency

interference. Under this subsection, state and local regulation

of personal wireless service facilities with respect to the

environmental effects of radio frequency emissions is

preempted. 47 U.S.C. § 332(c) (7) (B) (iv). The statute is

silent as to the ability of state or local authorities to regulate

with respect to radio frequency interference. Section 601 of

the TCA, however, provides that “[t]his Act and the

amendments made by this Act shall not be construed to

modify, impair, or supersede Federal, State or local law

unless expressly so provided in such Act or amendments.” 47

U.S.C. § 152 (note) (Supp. 1997).

In the absence of an express provision allowing state

and local authorities to regulate with respect to radio

frequency interference, the TCA cannot be construed to

permit such regulation, given the FCC’s pervasive regulaiion

in this area. See e.g. 47 C.F.R. § 21.902 (1997): 47 C.F.R.

45a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

§ 73.318 (1997); 47 C.F.R. § 101.103 (1997). Moreover,

according to the legislative history of the TCA, the limitations

on the FCC’s jurisdiction are intended to relate strictly to

local land use regulations, and are not intended to limit or

affect the FCC’s general authority over radio

telecommunications. S. Rep. No. 104-230, at 462 (1996).

Section 332 thus does not, expressly or by implication,

authorize state or local regulation of radio frequency

interference which may be produced by cellular

telecommunications facilities.

An unreported decision from a district court of this

Circuit has held on similar facts that a zoning board may not

regulate radio interference, either by imposing restrictions or

conditions related to RFI in a zoning permit, or by revoking

the permit because of excessive RFI. The district court

concluded that Congress intended to maintain exclusive

jurisdiction over RFI phenomena, and to assign regulatory

responsibility to the FCC. Great Lakes Wireless Talking

Machine Co. v. Hayes, No. CIV-91-6140T, slip op. at 9

(W.D.N.Y. Jun. 25, 1991).

Case law from other jurisdictions supports the

conclusion that the FCC has exclusive jurisdiction over

complaints involving radio frequency interference. In Broyde

v. Gotham Tower, Inc., 13 F.3d 994 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

511 U.S. 1128 (1994), the Sixth Circuit affirmed the

dismissal of a nuisance suit brought by area residents claiming

that defendants’ radio signals interfered with the operation of

their home electronic equipment. The Court held that radio

signal interference fell within the FCC’s exclusive jurisdiction

over technical matters associated with the transmission of

radio signals. Id., at 997.

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

In Still v. Michaels, 791 F. Supp. 248 (D. Ariz.

1992), neighbors of a ham radio operator brought a nuisance

suit Claiming radio and television reception interference as a

result of the radio transmissions. In dismissing the case for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction, the district court ruled that

nuisance actions involving RFI are preempted by the FCA,

and that RFI matters are exclusively regulated by the FCC.

Id., at 252-53.

In Blackburn v. Doubl Br in i“ ae

N.W.2d 550 (Minn. 1984), the Supreme Court of Minnesota

affirmed the dismissal of a nuisance suit against radio stations

on the ground that their claims were preempted by the FCA’s

delegation to the FCC of exclusive jurisdiction over the

regulation of RFI. Id., at 556. See also Helm v. Louisville

Two-Way Radio Corp., 667 S.W.2d 691 (Ky. 1984)

(affording relief from RFI would involve prohibiting or

controlling radio transmissions, a matter within the exclusive

jurisdiction of the FCC); Fetterman v. Green, 689 A.2d 289

(Pa. Super.), appeal denied, 695 A.2d 786 (Jun. 17, 1997)

(FCA preempts common law claims involving RFI); Still v.

Michaels, 803 P.2d 124 (Ariz. App. 1990) review denied

(1991) (FCC regulation of RFI is exclusive, precluding

Nuisance action); Smith v. Calvary: Educ. Broadcastin

Network, 783 S.W.2d 533 (Mo. App. 1990) (court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction over suit to enjoin radio station

operator from causing RFI to electrical and electronic

appliances in plaintiffs’ homes and businesses).

In cases involving challenges to local zoning

ordinances or permit conditions which would regulate RFI,

the FCC has ruled that it has exclusive jurisdiction over RFI.

See, In re Mobilecomm of New York, Inc., 2 F.C.C.R. 5519

47a

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

(1987) (local zoning ordinance regulating RFI in radio paging

facility conflicts with federal regulatory scheme); In re 960

Radio, Inc., FCC 85-578 (Nov. 4, 1985) 1985 WL 193883

(local zoning board preempted from imposing requirement on

FM radio station that it not cause RFI to existing facilities).

Examination of the Federal Communications Act, the

legislative history and case law compels the conclusion that

the FCC has exclusive jurisdiction over complaints involving

radio frequency interference, whether they are cast as

nuisance actions or zoning violations, and whether the

complaints involve interference with computers in the home

or computers at work. The Neighbors must bring their claims

of radio frequency interference to the FCC.

The Neighbors have argued that their claim has to do

with the proper siting of a broadcasting facility pursuant to the

town’s zoning laws. The issue of whether the tower was sited

in compliance with the town’s zoning regulations (apart from

the ZBA’s condition requiring remediation of RFI) was not

raised in the Notice of Violation, the Notice of Decision or

the Neighbors’ Statement of Questions presented on their

appeal of the ZBA’s decision, and is thus not before this

court.

The Neighbors have further argued that they have

made claims of fraud and deceit which are not preempted.

The sole issue raised by the Zoning Administrator, and

appealed to the ZBA, was whether the permittees were in

violation of the terms and conditions of their permits,

specifically a requirement that they remedy any RFI.

Assuming that the permittees did obtain their permits by

means of fraud and deception, if the remedy sought is

48a

ee

District Court Opinion & Order - 8/11/97

elimination of RFI, state and local jurisdiction is preempted.

Assuming that the Neighbors have standing to seek some

other relief, such as revocation of the zoning permits, under

theories of fraud and deceit, these claims were not part of the

proceeding from which they appealed, and are not properly

before this Court. Such claims, were they made, would not

arise under the Federal Communications Act for purposes of

removal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1441(b). Claims of

fraud or deceit in connection with the zoning permit process

may be brought before the appropriate state or local

jurisdiction.

IT. nclusion

BANM’s Motion to Dismiss (paper 14) is GRANTED

on the ground of lack of subject matter jurisdiction. WIZN’s

Motion to Dismiss (paper 13) is DENIED as moot.

Dated at Burlington, Vermont this 8" day of August,

1997.

/s/

William K. Sessions, [II

United States District Court Judge

49a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF VERMONT

[Dated July 17, 1997]

No. 96-295

GRAEME FREEMAN, et al.

7:

BROADCASTERS, INC., d/b/a/

)

)

)

)

BURLINGTON )

)

WIZN, et al )

)

MOTIONS TO DISMISS

Thursday, July 17, 1997

Burlington, Vermont

BEFORE:

THE HONORABLE WILLIAM K. SESSIONS III

District Judge

THURSDAY, JULY 17, 1997

(The following took place in open court at 2:45 p.m.)

50a

District Court Motion to Dismiss T. ranscript - 7/17/97

COURTROOM DEPUTY: This is civil number 96-

295, Graeme Freeman, et al., versus Burlington Broadcasters

Incorporated, et al. Present in the Courtroom on behalf of the

plaintiffs is attorney Gerald Tarrant. Also present in the

courtroom on behalf of the defendants are attorneys John

Cain, Thomas Heilmann, and Brian Sullivan. The matter

before the Court is a hearing on pending motions to dismiss.

THE COURT: All right. I promise to try not to

confuse this hearing with the one I just finished. Wouldn’t

make you nervous, by the way, coming into the courtroom,

having heard the last hearing, would it?

MR. TARRANT: A little.

THE COURT: Let’s see, first I would like to start

with a statement. In reviewing all of the pleadings here, I

notice that the opinion from the board of zoning adjustment in

Charlotte was signed by a person named Jonathan Fisher. |

quite frankly didn’t recognize -- I didn’t look at this until just

getting into the hearing today, in preparation for the hearing,

and noticed that he was the chair of that committee. I have

known him, I have probably -- I don’t know him well. I don’t

think we have ever socialized, but I have known him over a

number of year’s and probably seen him on six occasions, I

would guess, five or six occasions. Basically I know him but

I don’t know him well. So I thought I should disclose that on

the record. And quite frankly, I don’t think that has any

impact whatsoever on my judgment here.

Second, I also noticed today that the Town of

Charlotte was not noticed of this hearing. And I think we can

still proceed, but they were not noticed and they have not -

Sla

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

obviously did not appear herve. They have rendered -- they

have submitted a pleading, a memorandum, in regard to the

motion to dismiss, and I think we will contact them and afford

them an opportunity to make an argument, if they wish to

make a supplemental argument, but I would like to go forward

with today’s hearing.

HOLLY FORNIER: My name is Holly Fornier and

I am on the Charlotte select board, and we decidéd not to

participate any further in any legal avenues related to this --

to the Burlington Broadcasters issue.

THE COURT: Oh, you have?

HOLLY FORNIER: Yeah, we have decided not to be

involved any longer.

THE COURT: All right.

HOLLY FORNIER: So that’s why -- but the board

was aware, the select board was aware of this meeting, and --

but we’ve advised the town attorney not to participate any

longer.

THE COURT: Okay. The town attorney is actually

supposed to contact the court and notify the court that he is

withdrawing or --

HOLLY FORNIER: Okay.

THE COURT: -- the Town is withdrawing from this

action. I appreciate that. So rather than have him come and

argue to the Court, perhaps he can just withdraw -

52a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

HOLLY FORNIER: Okay.

THE COURT: -- your appearance. All right. Are we

ready to proceed? Mr. Cain has filed a motion to dismiss.

MR. CAIN: Your Honor, on our side, we tried to

arrange things to be in coherent order.

THE COURT: Ina coherent order?

MR. CAIN: Well, we are trying, your Honor, and

Brian Sullivan, if the Court please, would like to lead off.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. CAIN: Thank you.

THE COURT: Does this mean I go right to left?

MR. CAIN: Something like that.

MR. SULLIVAN: Not that coherent yet. Brian

Sullivan, on behalf of Bell Atlantic Nynex Mobile, one-of the

appellees in this action.

This action, as the Court is aware, concerns

complaints raised by the appellants concerning radio

frequency interference, which I will refer to as RFI. RFI is

alleged to be caused by an FCC licensed transmitting source.

That is the only issue that’s before the Court today, the

motion to dismiss concerning who has jurisdiction over RFI

complaints against transmitting sources.

53a

District Court Motioa to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

RFI has two components, and as the Court will see,

distinguishing between the two is crucial to this motion to

dismiss. First of all, RFI requires a transmitter that emits

radio signals that cause interference, which I think is obvious.

Less obviously, though, RFI requires a device that can receive

those signals. And when we get to the 1982 amendments to

the Federal Communications Act, that distinction will become

important. For now, suffice it to say that every court that’s

ever looked at the issue has ruled that only the Federal

Communications Commission has jurisdiction over RFI

complaints against transmitting sources.

The cases that we cite in our briefs are unanimous on

that point. And that follows from other case law where

United States Supreme Court and lower courts have ruled that

Congress intended that the FCC would have sole authority

over the technical aspects of radio communications, RFI from

transmitters being one of those technical aspects.

Therefore, because of that exclusive jurisdiction, any

effort to bring an action in the state or local forum has to be

preempted, and for that reason, this motion should be

dismissed.

THE COURT: What you are suggesting is that if the

action that is filed with the town seeks to regulate in any way

those transmission -- that transmission facility, the

transmission of the radio frequency interruption -- not

interruptions, but -

MR. SULLIVAN: Interference, actually the signals

that cause the -- to be precise.

54a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: Right. If there is an effort to actually

directly prohibit those, or restrict those, then that is

preempted

MR. SULLIVAN: Yes.

THE COURT: My question goes beyond that,

though. Let us say, and actually get to the heart of it, there’s

a fraud claim made by the plaintiffs in this particular case,

that is that the actual tower back in 1987 was constructed as

a result of a permit which was obtained by way of fraudulent

representations. If that were in fact true, if that were actually

at issue, does the town have the power to wipe out the permit

completely?

MR. SULLIVAN: First of all, your Honor. I think

it’s important to say that that is not at issue in this case

because that was never before the zoning board, could not be

before the zoning board.

THE COURT: I was going to ask the other side that

question,-but -

MR. SULLIVAN: Okay.

THE COURT: -- this is just an intellectual question

for you.

MR. SULLIVAN: Hypothetically, I believe that there

is an avenue for state relief for fraud, even though there is

RFI alleged. But the proper avenue would be to file an action

in superior court alleging fraud. I don’t think the zoning

board has jurisdiction for issuer of fraud, not because of

55a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

federal preemption, but because that’s beyond their powers as

a zoning board.

THE COURT: I mean, you had represented -- well,

guess actually Mr. Cain had represented in his pleading, as I

recall, that the plaintiff had the power to go to the FCC to

resolve this particular issue. If in fact there’s a claim, a fraud

claim, you are now suggesting that also the plaintiffs would

have the option to go to superior court to try to basically

remove the permit in the first place, that is remove the tower.

MR. SULLIVAN: I am not sure what exactly the

superior court could order. But I think it’s pretty clear that

they could attempt to bring a claim in superior court for

fraud. It would have to comply with the special pleading

requirements for fraud.

THE COURT: Sure.

MR. SULLIVAN: Again, on the facts of this case I

don’t think they can state a claim, but hypothetically, that

avenue is available.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. SULLIVAN: Just in quick summary fashion, we

have outlined the history of the FCC’s jurisdiction over RFI

in our reply brief. I think that speaks for itself. The courts

were developing this law all the way up until the 1970s.

Watershed occurred in 1982, when Congress amended the

communications act, and again, I think our briefing is pretty

clear, the legislative history of that amendment shows that,

contrary to the appellants’ assertions, the amendment meant

\

56a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

to broaden the FCC’s authority, and in fact every court that’s

looked at that amendment since has upheld that as well.

Before the 1982 amendment, it was clear that the FCC

had sole authority over all transmitting complaints of RFI. In

‘82, Congress also gave them authority over RFI problems

caused by receiving devices, but only consumer-receiving

devices, and the legislative history is very clear that the

reason for that is because the manufacturers of the consumer

devices were not building their equipment to sufficient

standards.

They tried voluntary regulation. It didn’t work.

Congress decided they were going to impose regulations for

consumer devices but not for commercial, and I think the

- perhaps fatal flaw in the appellants’ argument is failing to

recognize, first of all, the distinction between regulating the

transmitter and regulating the receiving device, number one;

and number two, confusion between Congress’s attempt to

broaden the FCC’s jurisdiction versus Congress’s statements

about an area where jurisdiction was already clear.

THE COURT: Is the distinction between the

transmitting and the receiving devices really that significant?

Let me just give you -- let me give you my personal

experience prior to being -- prior to being a judge.

I was a lawyer in Middlebury, and we had a particular

radio frequency interference problem, and that is whenever

we would go to the bathroom, flush the toilet, out came

WFAD - sorry -- vibrated the pipes.

57a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

MR. SULLIVAN: [I heard interference from toasters,

but this is a first.

THE COURT: So who do you complain to?

MR. SULLIVAN: Well, you complain to the FCC

and you can do it in a couple of different ways. One is to file

a complaint and the other is to monitor the station’s licensing

process, because it has to be renewed periodically, and to

intervene in that process, to become a petitioner in that

process.

THE COURT: But then it could very well say then,

if you are really focusing in upon the receiving end then, I

theoretically got a problem with the pipes that seem to be

hooked into WFAD whenever we flush a toilet.

MR. SULLIVAN: I suppose there could be a cause of

action for some kind of product liability claim against the

manufacturer of the pipe. Without being too facetious if there

is a commercial receiving device that is not being built

properly and is not rejecting the unwanted interference, |

believe that the state of the law allows the party receiving the

interference to sue that company.

They couldn’t sue for a commercial -- or a consumer

device because that’s preempted by the FCC. But if you have

business equipment that is just not doing its job, rejecting

these radio signals, I think you could maintain a cause of

action against the manufacturer.

58a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: All right. Ever since I started reading

about this case, I really wanted to find out what the ultimate

solution was to the bathroom pipes.

MR. SULLIVAN: Well, I think it’s interesting that in

-- in the Broyde case, which is the leading case we cite, the

court recites some of the remedies that are available, and it

talks about the FCC process, and it also points out, as did the

Charlotte zoning board, that the culmination of that is an

appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the federal

circuit, I believe, or D.C. Circuit.

THE COURT: D.C. Circuit

MR. SULLIVAN: Yes. So there’s not only

administrative relief, there's judicial review of that relief as

well.

Basically I’d just like to close and let John Cain pick

up with some of the case law by talking briefly about the

further amendments made to the communications act in 1996.

This is what’s called the Telecommunications Act. The

appellants have attempted to argue that that somehow undoes

this body of law, and I think they’d have to concede that

there’s nothing in the Telecommunications Act that says that.

So any argument they are making about repeal has to be an

implied repeal.

The problem they run into there is section 601 of the

act forbids implied repeal, number one. Number two, the

section that they are relying upon, section 704, only preserves

existing local zoning authority. And we have pointed to the

basic definition of preserved, maintaining something that

59a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

already exists. Well, there was no local zoning authority

before 1996 over RFI transmissions. There was nothing to

preserve.

And then finally, we, just as background, attached a

couple letters from the chairman of the FCC, showing how

that agency interprets its authority. And those letters were

written after the '96 act became effective, and show that the

FCC still believes that it has complete authority over RFI.

THE COURT: But there is no case law after 1996

law, indicating that there has been a waiver of the

preemption?

MR. SULLIVAN: Exactly, your Honor. In fact,

there was one case that we sent to the Court, in a

supplemental file -- ;

THE COURT: The New Jersey case?

MR. SULLIVAN: Pennsylvania, I believe.

Fetterman versus Green.

THE COURT: I thought it was New Jersey. But it

was relatively geographically close.

MR. SULLIVAN: And it was decided in early ‘97.

So if there was any change in the law caused by the ‘96 act,

it was not apparent to that court.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. SULLIVAN: Thank you, your Honor.

60a

wii Sa

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: All right, Mr. Cain?

MR. CAIN: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: By the way, I did lose control there

with laughter at the thought of the -- and I didn’t mean to be

facetious.

MR. CAIN: Morning, your Honor. I am John Cain

representing Burlington Broadcasters. And WIZN does

business and we are licensed and regulated by the Federal

Communication Commission, and in this particular motion, I

was looking through the materials last week, and I -- we have

tried, Mr. Tarrant and Mr. Allen and Mr. Sullivan, we really

tried to do as good a job as we can to brief as exhaustively as

we could the entire matter, and I really think that the entire

subject of our motion here has been laid out in the briefs, and

we have tried to give the Court every single case that’s been

decided in this area.

THE COURT: All right. I am curious a little bit

about the facts because there was some representation as to

Calhoun. I think Michael Calhoun was the head of your

company.

MR. CAIN: He was the station manager.

THE COURT: Station manager.

MR. CAIN: Yes.

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: At the time when the 1987 -- when

this was constructed, and apparently made this representation

that no way was there going to be any interference.

MR. CAIN: Right.

THE COURT: Factually is that accurate?

MR. CAIN: Yes. He did make that representation.

After he made the representation, a number of people,

including all of the plaintiffs, moved to the tower, and there

have been what we call RFI, people have experienced RFI, —

and in conjunction with that particular topic, I would invite

the Court to look at Great Lakes, which I sent in, which is

factually identical to this case, including the fact that one of

the representatives of the radio station made representations

about getting rid of the RFI.

And as I said, the issue here is whether the Charlotte

zoning board is preempted from regulating RFI under the

Federal Communications Act. And I would like the Court to

- I would like to emphasize to the Court that every single case

that has been decided here has indicated that there is total

preemption of local or state regulation of RFI.

We have state cases, we have federal cases, we have

one that went up to the circuit court of appeals, cert. denied

by the Supreme Court, and I also sent in two cases from the

Federal Communications Commission, which have the same

result.

As I indicated =

Pe ee ee eS ee, ee ee

District Court Motion to Dismiss T, ranscript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: And I just received one from the

District Four Environmental Commission, as I recall, on this

particular issue.

MR. CAIN: Right, and Mr. Tarrant, on behalf of the

neighbors, had a couple of arguments or defenses to

preemption. His latest one is that business institution -

institutional and medical equipment is not preempted. And he

tried that argument with the district environmental board and

they, in a relatively short opinion, indicated that they rejected

that argument.

THE COURT: He has raised that in this case.

MR. CAIN: He brought it over to this case, yes.

THE COURT: Right.

MR. CAIN: But I would like to point out that even

with the knew argument -

THE COURT: Let’s go back, going beyond the state

cases and the federal cases, to the opinion -- the higher

opinion of fairness, what happens if a -- a person’s going to

construct a device like this, comes to a town, gets the permit

by making false representations; shouldn’t the town have

some sort of way to cure the wrong, because they were

basically defrauded?

MR. CAIN: Well, I don’t know if that’s accurate

because, as I said, about the complaining plaintiffs here, all

moved to the tower. At the time the tower went up, the

representations were made, and we did try to track out

63a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

whatever RFI were there. Now these people moved to the

tower. They were having interference. They do have a

remedy. They can go to the Federal Communication

Commission. They can participate in our licensing

proceeding which is going to take place at the end of the year.

THE COURT: They have responded by suggesting

that if you go to the FCC, there are no standards. The FCC

standards aren’t applicable to these particular devices that are

becoming defective.

- MR. CAIN: Congress indicated that there were going

to be certain rules which radio stations had to adhere to, and

we are going to adhere to them. And if you look at

Fetterman, they talked about, well, what if there is no

remedy, and the court said, even if there is no remedy, there’s

still no jurisdiction.

THE COURT: I guess my question is there no

remedy? I have raised the question a second ago, in the fraud

action, bring it in superior court. If they decide to bring an

action to invalidate, I'm not so sure you would even say the

permit, but you could invalidate the construction of the

antenna, based upon the fact that they were -- the permits

were fraudulently obtained, do they have -- can they do that?

Or is that preempted by the federal government as well?

MR. CAIN: The Town of Charlotte cannot bring the

- some type of fraud action, I don’t believe the way you are

talking. I don’t want to do the creative legal work for the

plaintiffs -

THE COURT: No, right. I -

64a

District Court Motion to. Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

MR. CAIN: -- but I would imagine that there would

be instances in which they could start some kind of fraud

action in superior court.

THE COURT: But the reason I bring this up,

actually, is because you actually raised the question about they

have other alternatives. They can go to FCC. Then they

respond they can’t go to FCC. And then I started to think if

there’s a fraud action here, if in fact this was constructed as

a result of fraudulent -- fraudulent representations made by

WIZN or -- or whomever, could in fact the construction be

negated?

MR. CAIN: Not here. Okay. And they -- we do not

agree that there is no remedy. I want to make sure you

understand that. We don’t agree there was fraud. They have

Started another action in which they have claimed that we

fraudulently put the antenna in the wrong place. So they do

have other remedies and they are taking that action in another

forum.

THE COURT: Which forum is that?

MR. CAIN: We’re in environmental -

THE COURT: I -

MR. CAIN: I beg your pardon?

THE COURT: Environmental court?

MR. CAIN: Yes.

65a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: Vermont District Court?

MR. CAIN: Yes. We went to the zoning board and

we are now up to the environmental court.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. CAIN: And we have not alleged nor are we

going to that there is preemption in that matter. So they are

getting their -- going ahead with their remedy.

THE COURT: So they have avenues to resolve their

claims. I wonder if there’s any efforts made on behalf of your

clients, as well as the other parties here, to try to resolve this

problem.

MR. CAIN: We have tried. We have hired an

engineer to go out to the people’s houses. I mean, you can

talk to some of the plaintiffs here. We have been out to their

houses a number of times and we have tried to resolve the

problems that they have.

As Brian pointed out, one of the problems is when you

buy cheap consumer devices, sometimes they’re not made to

reject RFI the way the commercial products are.

THE COURT: All right.

MR. CAIN: Anyway, as I said, I would invite the

Court’s attention to particularly the Great Lakes case, which

is factually identical to the case that we have here.

Procedurally to the Broyde case -

66a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Ti ranscript - 7/17/97

THE COURT: It’s Western District of New York?

MR. CAIN: Yes. Eastern district, I believe, but yes

THE COURT: I thought it was western district.

MR. CAIN: Well, it’s the district court out there.

THE COURT: Great Lakes actually probably

indicates that it’s toward Buffalo, I would think so. That

would be western district.

MR. CAIN: Anyway, I would like to Close, but I

would like to rest on our briefs, and I would ask the Court to

THE COURT: Briefs are excellent, by the way.

MR. SULLIVAN: Thank you. Your Honor, if I

could just have one second before Tom starts. I think there

is a bit of a misunderstanding on the FCC licensing

procedure. Even though some of these consumer devices are

more or less immune from action because of what the FCC

has done, it doesn’t mean that the operator of the transmitter

is immune.

One of the things that’s looked at when they apply to

renew their license is how responsive they have been to RFI

complaints. And if they just Say, well, the one-year period

where we have to be financially responsible for RFI is up, too

bad, then they're not going to get their license renewed, and

that happened in the case of -- I believe it’s Smith versus

Calvary Broadcasting.

67a

District Court Motion to Dismiss Transcript - 7/17/97

The broadcasting company did prevail on the

preemption argument in court and then got its license pulled

before the FCC because it wasn’t responsive.

THE COURT: Okay. Mr. Heilmann?

MR. HEILMANN: Just want to be very brief, your

Honor. Charlotte Fire and Rescue Services owns the physical

structure that these transmitters are placed upon, so I don’t

think the claim here is that the tower itself is causing the radio

frequency interference. It’s the transmitting devices. There

are three. One is the band of Nynex, the other is the WIZN

transmitter, and the other is the broadcast transmitter that the

fire and rescue service maintains for its purposes. To the

extent that we do transmission, we also have FCC licenses,

and therefore think we come within the same case law that

relates to the arguments --

THE COURT: Have there been any efforts made to

determining what the source of the RFIs, at least in respect to

all three of these transmitting devices?

MR. HEILMANN: I think there have been.

THE COURT: Any solution? There have been

efforts, but any -- any solution? Do you know which one is

causing the problem or -

MR. HEILMANN: As far as we can tell, the -- the

transmitter operated by WIZN, which is a much larger

transmitter of course, is the source of whatever this RFI

phenomenon is. We think it’s quite clear that the very modest

and intermittent broadcasting done by fire and rescue services,

68a

District Court Motion to Dismiss T; ranscript - 7/17/97

to keep their personnel aware of emergency situations, is not

the source of RFI.

We think it’s also clear that the BANM transmissions,

even at their maximum and continuous Outputings, they are

also intermittent transmitters, is not the source of the

difficuity, but to the extent that there is this RFI issue, we

think they’re covered by the case law.

One further point, you mentioned the question of

fraud, and certainly there -- I don’t think the fraud assertions

are directed against the fire and rescue services transmitter.

It’s the other transmitter, the WIZN transmitter that’s

involved. And I don’t want to leave it suggesting that the

fraud case is an open and shut case.

There are decisions decided by our Vermont Supreme

Court under the zoning -- under the planning and zoning

Statutes in Vermont indicating that even if misrepresentations

were used to obtain local permits, there has to be timely

appeals from those permits. And I am not here to argue that

point because you don’t have that claim directly before you.

THE COURT: The reason | bring that up, quite

frankly, is because it was raised by Mr. Tarrant, and I was

not sure, and now I am fairly Certain, as to whether that issue

was ever raised before the zoning administrator because I am

basically dealing with an appeal from the board of zoning

adjustment. If it wasn’t raised, it's not to be resolved. So

that basically the fraud claim is not Significant, i

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Freeman v. Burlington Broadcasters, Inc. · 531 U.S. 917 | Frix