Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chenoweth v. Clinton

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

~ Syorame Cour, U,

\ F H L. & Db

v9 944 DE an19

No. ____O6EIGE Oi THG, LER

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

The Honorable HELEN CHENOWETH, the

Honorable BOB SCHAFFER, the Honorable

DON YOUNG, and the Honorable RICHARD W. POMBO,

all in their official capacities,

Petitioners,

WILLIAM J. CLINTON, President of the United States,

GEORGE T. FRAMPTON, JR., Acting Chair of the

Council on Environmental Quality, individually

and in their official capacities, and the

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The District Of Columbia Circuit

a

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

WILLIAM Perry PENDLEY*

“Counsel of Record

ROGER JACQUES KOTHARY

Mountain States Legal Foundation

707 Seventeenth Street, Suite 3030

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 292-2021

Attorneys for Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

q4@r

oe ene ec RI

ee aaaEeEeEEeeEeEeEEEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEEE———eeEeEeEeEeE——EOEOEOOOOOOee EO EO OO

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Members of Congress have standing to chal-

lenge an unconstitutional action by the President of the

United States that usurps constitutionally prescribed law-

making powers assigned to Congress by Article I of the

U.S. Constitution:

1. When the ability of those Members to exercise

their lawmaking powers was “nullified” in the

manner of Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939)?

2. When, unlike Members of Congress in Raines v.

Byrd, 117 S.Ct. 2312 (1997), those Members were

denied the ability to exercise their lawmaking

powers in the manner prescribed by the Constitu-

tion?

3. When the standing of those Members to chal-

lenge such an unconstitutional action, as repeat-

edly recognized by the U.S. Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit, was not over-

turned by Raines v. Byrd?

**

LIST OF PARTIES

The Honorable Helen Chenoweth, the Honorable Bob

Schaffer, the Honorable Don Young, and the Honorable

Richard W. Pombo are all duly elected Members of the

United States House of Representatives, who, in their

official capacities as Members of Congress, were Plaintiffs

before the United States District Court for the District of

Columbia and Appellants before the United States Court

of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

William J. Clinton, President of the United States, and

Kathleen A. McGinty, Chair of the Council on Environ-

mental Quality, individually and in their official capaci-

ties, were Defendants before the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia and Appellees before

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit. Ms. McGinty has been replaced as

Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality by George

T. Frampton, Jr. The United States of America was also a

party below as both Defendant and Appellee.

SoS ENROL SRA oe El OP lal SN Ba

EPI Ra SE coc wee alps

eine CAS ea

5 AV i SOIL) Ma be ee

Do nik 8 he AAD GOS tice idea arey

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES

There is no other related case.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CUIRSE UGA FOAMS cos ccicciucvsavivdansnasa i

LRG Se PET Sy Ski o5a weeds A ech dee weaerveneel ii

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES ................ iii

SA CP ARR hb ea kad ecs cine HERS vi

CP NNCMT MUERTE vs cork stave abcd Kos seceeseaeus 1

Fs NE ei oie Sate ahW a acee ediubewens 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED...... 1

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED ...... 3

SEALE A QC BEM the ia ssc ck csscaredacsens +

STATEMENT OP TACT ie ES 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 13

I. THIS CASE INVOLVES A MATTER OF EXCEP-

TIONAL CONSTITUTIONAL IMPORTANCE

ON WHICH THIS COURT HAS NEVER

RULED, THAT IS, THE ABILITY OF MEMBERS

OF CONGRESS TO ENSURE THE SEPARATION

OF POWERS SET FORTH IN THE CONSTITU-

EUs sd nak do ohek b CAEN ARATE EE CORMAN OOS 13

A. Because Concentration Of Power In The

Hands Of A Single Branch Is A Threat To

Liberty, It Is A Matter Of Exceptional

Importance That Must Be Addressed By

SOE NES hc avs 5a eae ucn i eaed heweees 13

B. This Exceptionally Important Matter Has

Never Been Addressed By This Court, Con-

trary To The Holding Of The District Of

COMMER CURCUEE SEER. sic ovine cscwen's ea's 15

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee a

OT Ee ee eo, oe eT

Il.

Il.

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. With Regard To This Exceptionally Impor-

tant Matter, The Decision Of The District Of

Columbia Circuit Court Is In True, Direct,

Intolerable, And Irreconcilable Conflict

With The Holdings Of This Court.........

1. Contrary to the holding of the District of

Columbia Circuit, the facts of this case

differ markedly from Raines v. Byrd .....

2. An application of Raines v. Byrd to this

case would have resulted in standing

SOE Gia ROTO S ios 5.5 ea ie wk

A TRUE, DIRECT, INTOLERABLE, AND IRREC-

ONCILABLE CONFLICT EXISTS BETWEEN THE

DECISION OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CIRCUIT AND DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

REGARDING THE ABILITY OF ELECTED REPRE-

SENTATIVES, WHOSE VOTES HAVE BEEN NUL-

LIFIED, TO HAVE STANDING TO CHALLENGE

SUCH VOTE NULLIFICATION .................

A. The District Of Columbia Circuit Misstated

And Misunderstood The Factual Analysis

er ROR GN hii tadiewie asia a

B. The Political Resolution Analysis Applied

By The District Of Columbia Circuit Is In

Conflict With The Analysis Applied By This

RS dk nptn Rebs ts shah ab oki ceeie re.

A TRUE, DIRECT, INTOLERABLE, AND

IRRECONCILABLE CONFLICT EXISTS

BETWEEN THE DECISION OF THE DISTRICT

OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT AND DECISIONS OF

OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS

REGARDING THE ABILITY OF COURTS TO

OVERTURN BINDING CASE LAW BY IMPLI-

CE bit ets SLi nie ASeaed vere aeneen Te Unlene ca

RE hi ERICA, ive eat kes

17

17

18

22

24

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347 (1979) ........... 10

Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714 (1986)...............-. 15

Byrd v. Raines, 956 F.Supp. 25 (D.D.C. 1997)......... 16

Chambers v. Thompson, 150 F.3d 1324 (11th Cir.

| PO Re Oe iamp reper preter yer IRS A ny 26

Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112 (D.C. Cir. 1999)

jhwd ye uve sékeeav dee bie eee 1, 6, 16, 19, 20, 24

Chenoweth v. Clinton, 997 F.Supp. 36 (D.D.C. 1998)

PT POR ere er ee ee eet Ee 1, & 6, 2

Clinton v. City of New York, 524 U.S. 417, 118 S.Ct.

2OF1 120GE 65s ceca eee ka nik hehe 13, 14

Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939) ........... passim

Engineering Contractors Ass'n of S. Fla. Inc. v. Met-

ropolitan Dade County, 122 F.3d 895 (11th Cir.

1GOF diac kad 5 1:0 kt Re a a eee te eas 26

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991).............. 13

Guevera v. Maritime Overseas Corp., 34 F.3d 1279 |

(Stes: Civ. TR ROP COI iin gas ea oe sa cee ens és 26

Hague v. Committee for Indus. Org., 101 F.2d 774

(Sed Cs. FR i eS ee Ges 27

INS ov. Chadion, 462 US. 919 (1963) <.cis bic awetees 15

Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C. Cir. 1974)

2 0 9-4:shmin'ncwysge @ oso baie a pheasant ea ie 19, 21, 23

Kestler v. Board of Trustees of N. Carolina Local Gov't

Employees’ Retirement System, 48 F.3d 800 (4th

Cie. TIPS). on os ccesaccns hecsae tess cee 26

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~ Continued

Page

Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 U.S. 390 (1976)............ 10

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803)............... 13

Metropolitan Wash. Airports Authority v. Citizens for

Abatement of Aircraft Noise, Inc., 501 U.S. 252

be FEES GRIER OE are SP EL Sy Pe IC a Aaa 14

Moore v. United States House of Representatives, 733

F.2d 946 (D.C. Cir. 1984)........ 15, 16, 19, 20, 23, 24

Northern Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line

Ch Pa ie REID Aad aks 8 binvie eke dueceues 6000s 15

Printz v.' US., S21 U.S. G96 (1997)... wc ccccicccces 13, 14

Raines v. Byrd, 521 US. 811, 117 S.Ct. 2312 (1997). . .passim

U.S. v. Midwest Oil Co., 236 U.S. 459 (1915) ......... 11

Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .................. 6

CONSTITUTION

<x Geoiom,: Ast, 6,62. i okie ee ecivas 1, 11

U.S. Constitution, Art. I, § 7 (Separation of Powers

SNUG 0s 50h Pik SV Cra wei Pod we bk os 1

U.S. Constitution, Art. I, § 8, cl. 3 (Commerce

es RIPE fin 59k Shy Bigot Sareea ss rey Pe by ae air 2, 11

U.S. Constitution, Art. I, § 9, cl. 7 (Spending

RNa tase insult nse sekoseus decks ckeecceeccs y ey

Pei SI, FASE, ME, Decca ck ccc cacscniaas | ay 5

U5. Cometitution, Ast. 11, €2 «2.2... .ccc.ccsaaecss et

U.S. Constitution, Art. IV, § 3, cl. 2 (Property

ce ER RS tect age get NS A 2, 11

U.S. Constitution, Tenth Amendment................ 11

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES

a ae Be | rr ere Per er fem 10, 12

RO Rese Ms 65 6a Sn ka tnd caste os acdc werent 3, 10

es Se Eda big 400 044 CEFG 6 oad ch EMES 1, 3

Be oR ET Er rer err oP ert 3, 4, 11

GE es Weds WE ONG ees eee 12

OF aie 63 Fe RATA A 3, 9, 10

eh ee RF POPE CER PTer rer Tete 10, 12

ok Oy | RE erp renr eee 3, 4, 10

ek Toe Sr re ere eer rrr 3, 4, 10

90 Stat. 2744, 2792 (1976), Pub. L. No. 94-579,

DFID cin n hacew saw duarc tas be w cepa sr ikea tee here 11

OrHER AUTHORITIES

a Da RN ere Eee ODS ears ae ae 5

62 Fed. Reg. 27,253 (May 19, 1997).........cceeeees 7,8

62 Fed. Reg. 48,445 (September 15, 1997)............. 9

62 Fed. Reg. 48,860 (September 17, 1997)............. )

OPINIONS BELOW

Review is sought of the opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit,

Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112 (D.C. Cir. 1999) reh’g en

banc denied (September 3, 1999), issued July 2, 1999,

upholding the decision of the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia, which Court of Appeals

opinion appears at pages App. 1 to App. 15 of the Appen-

dix. The opinion and order of the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia, Chenoweth v. Clinton,

997 F.Supp. 36 (D.D.C. 1998), issued March 2, 1998,

appears at pages App. 16 to App. 28 of the Appendix.

- ¢

JURISDICTION

Petitioners seek review of the opinion and judgment

issued by the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit on July 2, 1999. The Supreme

Court has jurisdiction to review this opinion pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The following provisions of the Constitution are

involved in this Petition for Writ of Certiorari: Article I,

Section 1, regarding the “legislative Powers” of Congress;

Article II, Section 1, regarding the “executive Power” of

the President; Article III, Section 2, regarding “cases” and

“controversies;” Article I, Section 7 (Separation of Powers

Doctrine); Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 (Commerce

Clause); Article I, Section 9, Clause 7 (Spending Clause);

Article IV, Section 3, Clause 2 (Property Clause); and the

Tenth Amendment.

Article I e¢ the United States Constitution, which

provides, in pertinent part:

All legislative Powers herein granted shall

be vested in a Congress of the United States,

which shall consist of a Senate and a House of

Representatives.

* * +

Every Bill which shall have passed the

House of Representatives and the Senate, shall,

before it becomes a Law, be presented to the

President of the United States; If he approve he

shall sign it, but if not he shall return it, with his

Objections to that House in which it shall have

originated, who shall enter the Objections at

large on their Journal, and proceed to reconsider

it. If after such Reconsideration two thirds of

that House shall agree to pass the Bill, it shall be

sent, together with the Objections, to the other

House, by which it shall likewise be recon-

sidered, and if approved by two thirds of that

House, it shall become a Law. But in all such

Cases the Votes of both Houses shall be deter-

mined by Yeas and Nays, and the Names of the

Persons voting for and against the Bill shall be

entered on the Journal of each House respec-

tively. If any Bill shall not be returned by the

President within ten Days (Sundays excepted)

after it shall have been presented to him, the

Same shall be a Law, in like Manner as if he had

signed it, unless the Congress by their Adjourn-

ment prevents its Return, in which Case it shall

not be a Law.

Every Order, Resolution, or Vote to which

the Concurrence of the Senate and House of

Representatives may be necessary (except on a

question of Adjournment) shall be presented to

the President of the United States; and before

the Same shall take Effect, shall be approved by

him, or being disapproved by him, shall be

repassed by two thirds of the Senate and House

of Representatives, according to the Rules and

Limitations prescribed in the Case of a Bill.

+

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The following federal statutes are involved in this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari: 16 U.S.C. § 1273 of the Wild

and Scenic Rivers Act (“WSRA”); 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1); 31

U.S.C. § 1301(a) of the Anti-Deficiency Act; 42 U.S.C.

§ 4331(b) of the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 (“NEPA”); and 43 U.S.C. §§ 1701(a) and 1714(a) of

the Federal Land Policy and Management Act of 1976

(“FLPMA”).

16 U.S.C. § 1273 provides, in pertinent part:

The national wild and scenic rivers system shall

comprise rivers (i) that are authorized for inclu-

sion therein by Act of Congress, or (ii) that are

designated as wild, scenic or recreational rivers

by or pursuant to an act of the legislature of the

State or States through which they flow .. .

31 U.S.C. § 1301(a) provides, in pertinent part:

Appropriations shall be applied only to the

objects for which the appropriations were made

except as otherwise provided by law.

43 U.S.C. § 1701(a) provides, in pertinent part:

The Congress declares that it is the policy of the

United States that the Congress exercise its con-

stitutional authority to withdraw or otherwise

designate or dedicate Federal lands for specified

purposes and that Congress delineate the extent

to which the Executive may withdraw lands

without legislative action.

43 U.S.C. § 1714(a) provides, in pertinent part:

On and after the effective date of this Act the

Secretary is authorized to make, modify, extend,

or revoke withdrawals but only in accordance

with provisions and limitations of this section.

The Secretary may delegate this withdrawal

authority only to individuals in the Office of the

Secretary who have been appointed by the Pres-

ident, by and with the advice and consent of the

Senate.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 10, 1997, Members of Congress Chen-

oweth, Schaffer, Young, and Pombo (“the Members”)

filed their complaint in the U.S. District Court for the

District of Columbia, charging that President Clinton had

no authority to issue his September 17, 1997, Executive

Order (E.O. 13061) establishing an American Heritage

a wink.

Rivers Initiative (“AHRI”). App. 30 to App. 38. On

December 10, 1997, pursuant to Executive Order 13061,

President Clinton designated so-called “Heritage Rivers”

throughout the United States.

On January 13, 1998, the Members filed a motion for

a preliminary injunction to enjoin President Clinton and

others from continuing to implement the AHRI. On Janu-

ary 26, 1998, President Clinton filed a Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure 12(b) motion to dismiss the complaint,

asserting that the Members lacked standing.

On March 2, 1998, the U.S. District Court for the

District of Columbia granted President Clinton’s motion

to dismiss, holding that the Members lacked standing

because their injury was “unrelated to passing a specific

piece of legislation” and was otherwise lacking in “con-

creteness or specificity.” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 997 F.Supp.

at 41. In issuing its ruling, the District Court assumed

that President Clinton’s actions regarding the AHRI

“unconstitutionally violated the Separation of Powers

doctrine and the other constitutional provisions and stat-

utes cited by [the Members].” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 997

F.Supp. at 37.

On March 23, 1998, the Members timely filed their

appeal to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia. After briefings, oral arguments were held on

January 29, 1999.

On July 2, 1999, the District of Columbia Circuit

affirmed the District Court's decision, holding “the por-

tions of our legislative standing cases upon which [the

Members] rely are untenable in the light of [the U.S.

Supreme Court's decision in] Raines [v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811,

117 S.Ct. 2312 (1997)}.” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d at

115. Concluded the District of Columbia Circuit: “[The

Members’] claim to standing on the ground that the Presi-

dent’s implementation of the AHRI without congres-

sional consent injured them by diluting their authority as

Members of Congress is indistinguishable from the claim

to standing the Supreme Court rejected in Raines.” Id. at

116.!

On August 16, 1999, the Members filed a petition for

rehearing en banc, which was denied by the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit per curiam on

September 3, 1999. App. 29.

This Petition for Writ of Certiorari follows.

*

STATEMENT OF FACTS

During his State of the Union address before a joint

session of Congress on February 4, 1997, President Clin-

ton announced his intention to create an AHRI whereby

he would designate selected rivers as “Heritage Rivers”

! Like the District Court, the Circuit Court, in considering

President Clinton’s motion to dismiss, had to “assume the

validity of the [Members’] claim and construe the complaint in

favor of the complaining parties.” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 997

F.Supp. at 37 (citing Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 501 (1975)).

Thus, the Circuit Court assumed that President Clinton’s AHRI

Executive Order was unconstitutional and illegal.

in order to “help communities alongside them revitalize

their waterfronts and clean up pollution.”

President Clinton subsequently convened an inter-

agency task force to develop the AHRI> and later formed

the Interagency Committee on American Heritage Rivers

{“Committee”), which was charged with making program

recommendations for the President’s approval within 90

days. The Committee’s first organizational meeting was

held on February 12, 1997.4 In that meeting, the Commit-

tee established a working group responsible for prepar-

ing materials and making recommendations for review by

the Committee.° The Committee held various regional

2 CEQ Memorandum To Distribution from Karen Hobbs

concerning regional meetings.

% American Heritage Rivers Initiative; Proposal With

Request for Comments, 62 Fed. Reg. 27,253 (1997). Participating

agencies include: the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce,

Defense, Energy, Interior, Justice, and Housing and Urban

Development; the Environmental Protection Agency; the

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation; the Army Corps of

Engineers; and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

This task force was charged with integrating the environmental,

historic, and economic programs among several federal

agencies.

4 CEQ Interagency Committee On American Heritage

Rivers Memorandum, dated February 18, 1997, from Wesley

Warren, Ray Clark, and Diane Regas to members of the

Committee.

5 Various lists of the working group have been issued, but

the most inclusive appears in the CEQ Memorandum For

Distribution, dated May 6, 1997, from Karen Hobbs to members

of the working group.

public meetings concerning the proposed initiative. The

regional meetings focused on obtaining feedback for the

overall design of the program and criteria to be used in

designating “Heritage Rivers.””

On May 19, 1997, the Council on Environmental

Quality (“CEQ”) published a notice concerning the pro-

posed initiative in the Federal Register, which notice pro-

vided a 21-day comment period.* In response to the

requests of various individuals, including the Members,

and groups, the comment period, originally scheduled to

end June 9, 1997, was extended until August 20, 1997.9

On September 11, 1997, President Clinton signed

Executive Order 13061 creating the AHRI “to protect and

® American Heritage Rivers Initiative; Proposal With

Request for Comments, 62 Fed. Reg. 27,253 (1997).

7 CEQ Memorandum To Distribution from Karen Hobbs

concerning regional meetings [with attachments]; NPS Fax

Transmission, dated April 25, 1997, from Alan Ragins to Karen

Hobbs; American Heritage Rivers Initiative Program, Asheville

Focus Group, dated May 1, 1997; American Heritage Rivers

Initiative Workshop, Atlanta, Georgia, dated April 28, 1997;

American Heritage Rivers, summary of comments given at

stakeholders meeting in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, dated

April 25, 1997; and American Heritage Rivers Meeting, items

highlighted by Valerie Chambers at San Francisco, California,

dated April 1997.

® American Heritage Rivers Initiative; Proposal With

Request for Comments, 62 Fed. Reg. 27,253 (1997) (proposed

May 19, 1997).

° The Chairs of the House Committees on Resources and

Agriculture and the Chairs of several Subcommittees of the

House Committee on Resources sent a letter to Kathleen

McGinty on June 4, 1997.

ene

restore rivers and their adjacent communities.” 64 Fed.

Reg. 48,445 (1997). App. 30. Executive Order 13061 for-

mally established the Committee with two co-chairs: the

Chair of the CEQ serving as permanent co-chair, the other

co-chair rotating among the heads, or their designees, of

the participating agencies.!° Executive Order 13061 also

designated the CEQ as the “Executive Agent” for the

Committee.

On September 17, 1997, CEQ Chair Kathleen McGinty

published a notice describing the AHRI in 62 Fed. Reg.

48,860 (1997). According to that notice, under the AHRI,

“the President will designate rivers that meet certain

“and “executive

agencies . . . shall coordinate Federal plans, functions, -

programs, and resources to preserve, protect, and restore

rivers and their associated resources important to our

history, culture, and natural heritage.” Id.

criteria as ‘American Heritage Rivers,’

As authority for Executive Order 13061, President

Clinton cited to Section 101(b) of the National Environ-

mental Policy Act. 42 U.S.C. § 4331(b). Section 101 of

NEPA contains a broad statement of the environmental

policies to be achieved by the action-forcing procedures

required by NEPA.!! Section 101(b) provides only that the

10 The heads of the participating agencies include the

Secretaries of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Energy, Interior,

Housing and Urban Development and Transportation; the

Attorney General; the Administrator of the Environmental

Protection Agency; and the Chairs of the National Endowment

of the Arts and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

11 NEPA contains “a set of ‘action-forcing’ procedures” to

ensure that the broad policy goals of Section 101 are “infused

10

action-forcing procedural requirements of NEPA are

intended to ensure that federal agencies “use all practica-

ble means to improve and coordinate Federal plans, func-

tions, programs, and resources . . . “ 42 U.S.C. § 4331(b).

The Members are all duly elected Members of Con-

gress and all serve on the Resources Committee of the

U.S. House of Representatives, which committee has

jurisdiction over the subject matters implicated by the

AHRI. Specifically, the Resources Committee has jurisdic-

tion over the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act,}? 16 U.S.C.

§ 1271 et seq., the Federal Land Policy and Management

Act of 1976,13 43 U.S.C. § 1701 et seq., and other federal

into the ongoing programs and actions of the Federal

Government.” Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347, 350 (1979);

Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 U.S. 390, 409, and n. 18 (1976)

(emphasis added). Neither NEPA nor Section 101 contains

substantive authority for the adoption of new programs by the

Federal Government.

12 Under the WSRA, Congress may designate rivers as

“wild,” “scenic,” “recreational,” or a combination thereof. There

is no authority in the Act for the President or any other officials

to make such a designation or to designate a river as a “heritage

river.” 16 U.S.C. § 1273.

13 In 1976, Congress passed the Federal Larid Policy and

Management Act (“FLPMA”). One of the purposes of FLPMA

was to establish a specific procedure for federal land

withdrawals by the Executive Branch. Congress used FLPMA to

reassert its constitutional control over federal lands by limiting

the delegated authority of the Executive Branch to withdraw

federal lands. “The Congress declares that it is the policy of the

United States that the Congress exercise its constitutional

authority to withdraw or otherwise designate or dedicate

Federal lands for specified purposes and that Congress delineate

the extent to which the Executive may withdraw lands without

legislative action.” 43 U.S.C. § 1701(a) (emphasis added); see also,

Fe SE RRO

11

statutes by which Congress has exercised its Commerce

Clause and Property Clause authority to regulate inter-

state commerce and property belonging to the United

States.

The Members contend that the President may not

adopt a new federal program by means of an Executive

Order because Congress has not delegated the requisite

authority to do so to the President. The Members further

contend that, because Congress has not delegated that

authority to the President, his signing of Executive Order

13061 violates numerous provisions of the Constitution,

including: Article I, Section 1, Article II, Section 1, and

Article III, Section 2; as well as the Separation of Powers

Doctrine (Art. I, § 7), the Commerce Clause (Art. I, § 8, cl.

3), the Spending Clause (Art. I, § 9, cl. 7), the Property

Clause (Art. IV, § 3, cl. 2), and the Tenth Amendment. The

Members also contend that, by his signing of Executive

Order 13061, the President violated numerous federal

statutes, including: the Anti-Deficiency Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 1301, et seq.; the Federal Land Policy And Management

43 U.S.C. § 1714(a). Congress also utilized FLPMA to eliminate

any implied Presidential withdrawal authority or any

Presidential withdrawal authority ostensibly as a result of any

alleged “acquiescence” by Congress. “Effective on and after the

date of approval of this Act, the implied authority of the

President to make withdrawals and reservations resulting from

acquiescence of the Congress (U.S. v. Midwest Oil Co., 236 U.S.

459 [1915]) and the following statutes and parts of statutes are

repealed.” FLPMA, Pub. L. No. 94-579, § 704(a), 90 Stat. 2744,

2792 (1976).

12

Act of 1976, 43 U.S.C. § 1701, et seq.; the National Envi-

ronmental Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. § 4321, et seq.; and

the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1271, et seq.

The Members contend that, because only Congress

has authority to enact an AHRI and because the AHRI

was implemented by the President without congressional

action or approval, the Members were denied the ability

to exercise their lawmaking powers in the manner pre-

scribed in the Constitution. In addition, the Members

contend that their past votes, as to the specific manner in

which federal funds are to be expended and as to other

legislation, including, for example, the Wild and Scenic

Rivers Act, have been nullified. Furthermore, the Mem-

bers contend that their lawmaking powers were nullified

by the President’s implementation of the AHRI without

the adoption of legislation by Congress. Finally, the Mem-

bers contend that their inability to vote prior to the

President’s implementation of the AHRI deprived them

of their constitutionally prescribed lawmaking powers: to

exercise their duties to debate and vote on legislation; to

conduct oversight within the jurisdiction of their Com-

mittee and Subcommittees; and to regulate commerce,

manage and regulate federal lands, and authorize and

appropriate federal expenditures.

a

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS CASE INVOLVES A MATTER OF EXCEP-

TIONAL CONSTITUTIONAL IMPORTANCE ON

WHICH THIS COURT HAS NEVER RULED, THAT

IS, THE ABILITY OF MEMBERS OF CONGRESS

TO ENSURE THE SEPARATION OF POWERS SET

FORTH IN THE CONSTITUTION.

A. Because Concentration Of Power In The Hands

Of A Single Branch Is A Threat To Liberty, It Is

A Matter Of Exceptional Importance That Must

Be Addressed By This Court.

Ever since this Court ruled in Marbury v. Madison, 5

U.S. 137 (1803), federal courts have acted to ensure that

the Constitution remains “the supreme law of the land.”

Id. at 180. Courts have done so, not to protect the privi-

leges of the branches of government, but to “reduce the

risk of tyranny and abuse.” Printz v. U.S., 521 U.S. 898,

921 (1997) (quoting Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 458

(1991)).

As a result, this Court has held “that a law repugnant

to the [C]onstitution is void and that courts, as well as

other departments, are bound by that instrument.” Mar-

bury v. Madison, 5 U.S. at 180. As Justice Kennedy made

clear in his concurrence in Clinton v. City of New York, 524

U.S. 417, 118 S.Ct. 2091 (1998), “[a]bdication of respon-

sibility is not part of the constitutional design.” Id. at

2110. Justice Kennedy further stated:

Separation of powers was designed to imple-

ment a fundamental insight; concentration of

power in the hands of a single branch is a threat

to liberty.

14

+ * a

[The Framers] used the principles of separation

of powers and federalism to secure liberty in the

fundamental political sense of the term. . . The

idea and the promise were that when the people

delegate some degree of control to a remote

central authority, one branch of government

ought not to possess the power to shape their

destiny without a sufficient check from the other

two.

Id. at 2109.

Because “[lJiberty is always at stake when one or

more of the branches [of government] seek to transgress

the separation of powers,” Clinton v. City of New York, 118

S.Ct. at 2109, the District of Columbia Circuit’s opinion

permitting the President to enact a law contrary to the

process set forth in the Constitution jeopardizes those

liberties. As a result, the District of Columbia Circuit's

holding is in true, direct, intolerable, and irreconcilable

conflict with the holdings of this Court in City of New York

and numerous other decisions.

The framework of the Constitution, including the

Separation of Powers Doctrine, exists to protect the liber-

ties guaranteed by the Constitution. Printz v. U.S., 521

U.S. at 921. As a result, this Court has held that the

Constitution’s structure requires a stability that tran-

scends the efficiency, expediency, convenience, and

usefulness of the moment. See Metropolitan Wash. Airports

Authority v. Citizens for Abatement of Aircraft Noise, Inc.,

501 U.S. 252, 276-277 (1991) (the Board of Review com-

posed of congressmen and having veto power over deci-

sions by local authorities impermissibly encroached upon

RPS tee Oe tn Ee Re PR ee tee Oe ee

ge ah Reet Sa ai mc cy

Pe erie ee

Eee pat 3 et) ee

15

executive powers in violation of the Separation of Powers

Doctrine); Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714, 736 (1986) (the

powers vested in the Comptroller General under the Bal-

anced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act vio-

lated the Constitution’s command that Congress play no

direct role in the execution of the laws); INS v. Chadha,

462 U.S. 919, 944-45 (1983) (the section of Immigration

and Nationality Act authorizing one House of Congress,

by resolution, to invalidate an Executive Branch decision

was unconstitutional because action by that House was

essentially legislative and thus subject to the constitu-

tional requirements of passage by a majority of both

Houses and presentment to the President); Northern

Pipeline Constr. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50,

73-74 (1982) (the Bankruptcy Reform Act's broad grant of

jurisdiction to bankruptcy judges regarding certain civil

proceedings violated Article III of the Constitution).

Because this case presents a matter of exceptional

constitutional importance involving, as it does, the man-

ner in which liberty is guaranteed to the citizens of this

country, and because the decision of the District of

Columbia Circuit is in intolerable conflict with the hold-

ings of this Court, this Court should grant the Petition.

B. This Exceptionally Important Matter Has Never

Been Addressed By This Court, Contrary To

The Holding Of The District Of Columbia Cir-

cuit Court.

The District of Columbia Circuit recognized that if it

were to apply the holding of the District of Columbia

Circuit in Moore v. United States House of Representatives,

16

733 F2d 936 (D.C. Cir. 1984), “this court presumably

would have found [the Members’] injury sufficient to

satisfy the standing requirements.” Chenoweth v. Clinton,

181 F.3d at 116. However, held the Circuit Court, “after

Raines, [| ] we cannot.” Id. Thus, the Circuit concluded that

in Raines this Court overturned the District of Columbia

Circuit’s holdings regarding congressional standing.

But this Court expressed no opinion as to the consti-

tutionality of that line of cases, noting only that the

District of Columbia Circuit “has repeatedly recognized

Members’ standing to challenge measures that affect their

constitutionally prescribed lawmaking powers.” Raines v.

Byrd, 117 S.Ct. at 2316 (quoting Byrd v. Raines, 956 F.Supp.

25, 30 (D.D.C. 1997)). Thereafter, this Court was silent as

to that line of cases, turning its attention to its earlier

decisions. “We have never had occasion to rule on the

question of legislative standing presented here.” Raines v.

Byrd, 117 S.Ct. at 2318. Thus, given the opportunity to

address the District of Columbia Circuit’s decisions

regarding congressional standing, this Court did not

address those decisions. Instead, this Court analyzed

“[t]he one case in which we have upheld standing for

legislators [Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939)].”

Clearly, in deciding Raines, this Court did not

address, let alone overturn, the host of decisions by the

District of Columbia Circuit regarding the standing of

Members to challenge measures that affect their constitu-

tionally prescribed lawmaking powers. In fact, it appears

that this Court specifically declined to address those

cases, let alone overturn them.

17

Because this case presents a matter of exceptional

constitutional importance and because this case presents

a matter never addressed by this Court, this Court should

grant the Petition.

C. With Regard To This Exceptionally Important

Matter, The Decision Of The District Of

Columbia Circuit Court Is In True, Direct,

Intolerable, And Irreconcilable Conflict With

The Holdings Of This Court.

1. Contrary to the holding of the District of

Columbia Circuit, the facts of this case dif-

fer markedly from Raines v. Byrd.

As the factual analysis engaged in by this Court in

Raines v. Byrd demonstrates conclusively, the injury in

this case is unlike the injury in Raines. In Raines, this

Court set forth why the Raines plaintiffs were unlike the

Coleman plaintiffs: “In the vote on the Line Item Veto Act,

[the Raines plaintiffs’] votes were given full effect. They

simply lost that vote.” 117 S.Ct. at 2320. As to the possi-

bility that the Line Item Veto Act would result in future

vote nullification, the Court rejected that contention after

finding:

a majority of Senators and Congressman [sic]

can pass or reject appropriations bills; the Act

has no effect on this process. In addition, a

majority of Senators and Congressman [sic] can

vote to repeal the Act, or to exempt a given

Pane

18

appropriations bill . . . from the Act; again, the

Act has no effect on this process.'*

Id.

The facts of this case are unlike those presented in

Raines and like those presented in Coleman. In the instant

case, the Members were not allowed to vote for or against

enactment of the AHRI prior to President Clinton’s uni-

lateral enactment of the AHRI by means of Executive

Order 13061. Furthermore, an attempt to “repeal” the

President's unconstitutional adoption of the AHRI would

not be by a vote of “a majority of Senators and Con-

gressm[e]n,” as the Raines Court noted is enough to “pass

or reject” bills, but by a two-thirds vote due to the antici-

pated presidential veto. Thus, these facts demonstrate

that this case is factually analogous to Coleman and totally

dissimilar from Raines

2. An application of Raines v. Byrd to this case

would have resulted in standing for the

Members.

The District of Columbia Circuit concluded that the

instant case involves the “internal affairs of the legislative

‘4 Mistakenly, the District of Columbia Circuit views the

injury asserted by the members in Raines as like the one asserted

by the Members here. Yet, as the Raines quote in text makes

clear, and as the District of Columbia Circuit admits, the Raines

members asserted that their injury was the impact of the Line

Item Veto Act on the effectiveness of future votes. Dissimilarly,

the injury to the Members here involves, not the effectiveness of

some future vote, but the loss of the effectiveness of their votes

to enact the AHRI and the loss of the effectiveness of their past

votes regarding the WSRA

ee 2

— SS A aT ie aia,

19

branch,” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d at 116 (quoting

Moore v. United States House of Representatives, 733 F.2d at

956), and thus, whether by use of the Circuit's erroneous

application of the standing analysis of Raines or by appli-

cation of the equitable discretion analysis of Moore, the

Members may not be heard.'5 Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181

F.3d at 115-117. As to the latter basis, the District of

Columbia Circuit is in error because, unlike Moore, this

case does not involve the “internal affairs of the legisla-

tive branch.”

Moore involved adoption of legislation that, under

the Origination Clause of the Constitution, should have

originated in the House of Representatives but did not.

Thus Moore involved the “internal affairs” of Congress

because Moore’s colleagues willingly enacted revenue-

raising legislation that did not originate in the House.

Moore v. United States House of Representatives, 733 F.2d at

948-49, 956.

However, this case involves, not the “internal affairs”

of Congress, but the constitutional relationship between

the Executive and Legislative Branches, that is, the very

nature of the Separation of Powers Doctrine. For here,

despite the requirement of the Constitution that only

'S The Circuit's assertion that the Members ask that half of

Moore be ignored iis erroneous. The “equitable discretion”

portion of Moore is inapplicable to the instant case because this

case does not involve “the internal affairs of the legislative

branch,” but instead, like Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C.

Cir. 1974), involves a political dispute between the Executive

and Legislative Bramches over the “process by which a bill

becomes law.” Moore v. United States House of Representatives, 733

F.2d at 951

20

Congress may enact laws, President Clinton enacted the

AHRI unilaterally by Executive Order 13061. By virtue of

this fact alone, this case is not about the “internal affairs”

of Congress.

The District of Columbia Circuit attempts to remedy

this factual dissimilarity with Moore by noting that “Con-

gress could terminate the AHRI were a sufficient number

in each House so inclined.” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d

at 116. Thus, in the Circuit’s view, “[b]ecause the parties’

dispute is therefore fully susceptible to political resolu-

tion,” this case involves the “internal affairs” of Con-

gress. Id. The Circuit’s analysis of the Separation of

Powers Doctrine fails for two reasons.

First, the Constitution sets forth the process by which

a bill becomes law, a process that does not involve presi-

dential adoption of legislation subject to rejection or

repeal by Congress. Thus, the Circuit labels the “political

resolution” it offers the Members as part of the “internal

affairs” of Congress only by ignoring the process set forth

in the Constitution and the Circuit’s duty to protect that

constitutional process.'®

Second, in the face of the expected veto by President

Clinton of a “repeal” by Congress of his enactment of the

16 From a practical standpoint, because President Clinton

ostensibly draws his authority, not from any specific grant of

authority, but from the broad, generic, precatory language of

NEPA, the “political solution” recommended by the Circuit

would involve “repeal” of something that does not exist. As a

result, the repeal proposed by the Circuit might read something

like: “To the extent that Section 101(b) contains any authority for

the adoption of an AHRI, that authority is hereby repealed.”

21

AHRL, the “political resolution” envisioned by the Circuit

would require adoption of that repeal by a two-thirds,

that is, a veto override, margin, as opposed to a simple

majority. Thus, the Circuit’s “political resolution” not

only does grave damage to the Members’ “constitu-

tionally prescribed lawmaking powers,” Raines v. Byrd,

117 S.Ct. at 2316, but also is inconsistent with the Cir-

cuit’s view as to what constitutes “internal affairs of the

legislative branch.” Moreover, the Circuit's analysis con-

flicts with the holding of this Court in Raines, wherein

this Court held that the Raines plaintiffs had suffered no

injury because “a majority of Senators and Congressm[e]n

can [still] pass or reject |] bills... ” Raines v. Byrd, 117

S.Ct. at 2320 (emphasis added). Clearly, “a majority” is

not enough in this case.

The weakness of the Circuit’s “internal affairs” anal-

ysis is demonstrated further by its view that the Circuit's

holding in Kennedy is consistent with Raines. In the Cir-

cuit’s view, Kennedy is consistent with Coleman because a

pocket veto of legislation adopted by Congress nullified

the votes of those favoring the bill. However, this is a

distinction without a difference. Whether a president

unconstitutionally enacts a law without a vote by Con-

gress, as in the instant case, or unconstitutionally vetoes

legislation adopted by Congress, as in Kennedy, that presi-

dent has nullified the votes of Congress contrary to the

Constitution. !7

'7 The “political resolution” that the Circuit concluded is

available here was also available in Kennedy. Congress would

need only to pass the legislation that was the subject of the

pocket veto in sufficient time to prevent another pocket veto

and by sufficient votes to override a veto.

22

Because this case presents a matter of exceptional

importance and because the holding of the Circuit is in

true, direct, intolerable, and irreconcilable conflict with

the holdings of this Court in Coleman and Raines, this

Court should grant the Petition.

ll. A TRUE, DIRECT, INTOLERABLE, AND IRREC-

ONCILABLE CONFLICT EXISTS BETWEEN THE

DECISION OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CIRCUIT AND DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

REGARDING THE ABILITY OF ELECTED REPRE-

SENTATIVES, WHOSE VOTES HAVE BEEN NUL-

LIFIED, TO HAVE STANDING TO CHALLENGE

SUCH VOTE NULLIFICATION.

A. The District Of Columbia Circuit Misstated

And Misunderstood The Factual Analysis By

This Court.

The District of Columbia Circuit overlooked the fac-

tual analysis engaged in by this Court in Coleman. As a

result, the Circuit overlooked the fact that the injury in

this case is much like the injury in Coleman. In Raines, this

Court emphasized that the votes of the legislative plain-

tiffs in Coleman had been “overridden and virtually held for

naught.” 117 S.Ct. at 2319 (emphasis in original). Sim-

ilarly, in this case, because the President enacted the

AHRI contrary to the manner provided for in the Consti-

tution, thus affecting the Members’ “constitutionally pre-

scribed lawmaking powers,” the votes that the Members

would have cast were “overridden and virtually held for

naught.” The fact that Congress was not permitted to

vote on the AHRI before President Clinton signed it into

law by means of an Executive Order does not alter the

ee a

23

analysis required by Coleman. In fact, the District Court

held that this case involves a “greater nullification of [the

Members’] voting power than that suffered by the plain-

tiffs in Coleman, since the [Members] never even had the

opportunity to debate and vote on the AHRI.”!8 Che-

noweth v. Clinton, 997 F.Supp. at 39.

Granted, the Coleman Court noted that the votes of

the legislative plaintiffs “would have been sufficient [to

prevail],” 307 U.S. at 438, and the Raines Court placed

emphasis on that aspect of the Coleman decision. How-

ever, the significance of that fact in the instance case is

uncertain given the conspicuous refusal of the Raines

Court to address the District of Columbia Circuit's

repeated recognition of Members’ standing to challenge

measures that affect their constitutionally prescribed law-

making powers.

Because the Circuit held that this Court had over-

turned the twenty-five years of case law associated with

the Circuit’s holdings in Kennedy through Moore and

because the Circuit’s holding is in conflict with the hold-

ings of this Court in Coleman and Raines, this Court

should grant the Petition.

'® The absence of a vote in this case does not change the

Coleman-type analysis. Why would the Members here have

standing, under Coleman, if President Clinton signed the AHRI

Executive Order after Congress rejected legislation creating the

AHRI, but not if he signed the unconstitutional AHRI Executive

Order before a vote by Congress? In both cases, the Members’

votes would have been nullified.

24

B. The Political Resolution Analysis Applied By

The District Of Columbia Circuit Is In Conflict

With The Analysis Applied By This Court.

The Circuit concluded that the Members here are

unlike the Coleman plaintiffs because the elected officials

in Coleman were deprived of their “plain, direct and

adequate interest in maintaining the effectiveness of their

votes.” Coleman, 307 U.S. at 438. But by its holding that

the Members “cannot claim their votes were effectively

nullified by the machinations of the Executive,” Chen-

oweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d at 117, the Circuit ignored the

fact that the Members would be required to marshal

sufficient votes to override a veto by President Clinton.!?

Thus, strictly from the standpoint of the difference

between a mere majority and a two-thirds majority, the

effectiveness of the four votes represented by the Mem-

bers here has been nullified.2° Of course, the greatest

19 The Circuit demands that the Members here “allege that

the necessary majorities in the Congress voted to block the

AHRI.” Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d at 117. Yet, because

President Clinton enacted a law that Congress must now

“repeal” by a veto override margin, the Members need, not a

simple majority, but a two-thirds majority. Not only does such a

required margin for enacting laws violate the process set forth

in the Constitution, but it also reduces the “effectiveness” of the

votes of the Members.

20 Had the AHRI been proposed as legislation in accordance

with the “process by which a bill becomes law,” Moore v. United

States House of Representatives, 733 F.2d at 951, the Members

would have needed a mere majority (i.e., 218 votes) to defeat that

legislation. Because President Clinton enacted the AHRI by

Executive Order and would likely veto any attempt to “repeal”

the AHRI, the Members will need a two-thirds majority (i.e., 290

votes). Thus, the “effectiveness” of the Members’ votes has been

reduced by the difference between 4/218 and 4/290.

Aenean a ante MR eta A etait ae eaten oe a ih islet Suntan Seat, fe

25

injury to the effectiveness of the Members’ votes was the

enactment of federal law contrary to the manner set forth

in the Constitution.

Because the holding of the Circuit is in conflict with

the holding of this Court in Coleman and Raines, this

Court should grant the Petition.

Ill. A TRUE, DIRECT, INTOLERABLE, AND IRREC-

ONCILABLE CONFLICT EXISTS BETWEEN THE

DECISION OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CIRCUIT AND DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUIT

COURTS OF APPEALS REGARDING THE ABIL-

ITY OF COURTS TO OVERTURN BINDING

CASE LAW BY IMPLICATION.

As set forth above, the District of Columbia Circuit

overturned binding case law of that Circuit in response to

the holding of this Court in Raines, notwithstanding the

fact that this Court did not overturn that case law. Not

only did this Court not overturn the District of Columbia

Circuit’s binding case law, this Court pointedly chose not

to address that case law. Thus, the District of Columbia

Circuit’s decision was founded on its view that this

Court, in ruling in Raines, overturned the Circuit’s bind-

ing case law by implication. As a result, the District of

Columbia Circuit’s decision places that Circuit in true,

direct, intolerable, and irreconcilable conflict with the

holdings of other Circuit Courts of Appeals.

In a decision directly applicable here, the Fifth Cir-

cuit ruled that, although “[a] panel of [the Fifth Circuit]

may overrule the existing law in the circuit if an interven-

ing Supreme Court decision so requires,” the implications

mem emmmmmmmmmmmmmmmccmccc

~~

26

of the Supreme Court holding must be “so direct as to

allow this panel to depart from the [Circuit] Court's

previous decisions.” Guevera v. Maritime Overseas Corp., 34

F.3d 1279, 1284 (5th Cir. 1994) (per curiam). Here, the

District of Columbia Circuit Court should have held that

Raines was too indirect to permit the Circuit to depart

from the Circuit’s previous decisions, especially given

that this Court had the opportunity to express an opinion

as to the constitutionality of the Circuit's repeated recog-

nition of congressional standing, but declined to do so.

Likewise, the Fourth Circuit held that “[a] subse-

quent decision cannot, by mere implication, be held to

overrule a prior case unless the principle is directly

involved and the inference clear and compelling.” Kestler v.

Board of Trustees of N. Carolina Local Gov't Employees’

Retirement System, 48 F.3d 800, 804 (4th Cir. 1995)

(emphasis added). Because Raines does not explicitly

overrule, let alone criticize, the District of Columbia Cir-

cuit’s line of cases, the Fourth Circuit's holding has even

more force in the instant case.

The Eleventh Circuit held that it is “bound to follow

a prior panel or en banc holding, except where that hold-

ing has been overruled or undermined to the point of abroga-

tion by a subsequent en banc or Supreme Court decision.”

Chambers v. Thompson, 150 F.3d 1324, 1326 (11th Cir. 1998).

Further, “[e]lven if [a specific case] portends a major

change in the Supreme Court's approach to [an issue], we

are not at liberty to disregard binding case law that is so

closely on point and has been only weakened, rather than

directly overruled by the Supreme Court.” Engineering

Contractors Ass'n of S. Fla Inc. v. Metropolitan Dade County,

122 F.3d 895, 908 (11th Cir. 1997). As to the instant case,

27

Raines neither overruled nor undermined, to the point of

abrogation, the District of Columbia Circuit’s line of cases

regarding congressional standing. Thus, the District of

Columbia Circuit Court was not at liberty to disregard

the binding case law of that Circuit.

Finally, Circuit Judge Davis in Hague v. Committee for

Indus. Org., 101 F.2d 774, 801 (3rd Cir. 1939) (dissenting),

set forth the Third Circuit’s rule that overruling a deci-

sion by implication is an unpopular doctrine and usually

not allowed.

Because the District of Columbia Circuit’s holding

that this Court overturned the Circuit’s binding case law

by implication is in conflict with other Circuit Courts of

Appeals and because that holding does grievous damage

to the doctrine of stare decisis in the wake of Supreme

Court opinions, this Court should grant the petition to

resolve this conflict.

CONCLUSION

For all the above reasons, this Court must grant the

Petition.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM Perry PENDLEY*

*Counsel of Record

RoGeER JACQuES KOTHARY

Mountain States Legal Foundation

707 Seventeenth Street, Suite 3030

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 292-2021

Attorneys for Petitioner

Dated: December 2, 1999

APPENDIX INDEX

District of Columbia Circuit decision, July 2, 1999;

RG ee Re I 6B he ha Reba ieee a, App. 1

District Court decision, March 2, 1998; 997 F.Supp.

SE re ee te ee App. 16

Order denying Petition for Rehearing En Banc,

Sled September:3, 1999... icc chau csccncees App. 29

Executive Order 13061, 62 Fed. Reg. 48,445

CREE ya wae tech kak ee i eas SS App. 30

App. 1

The Honorable Helen CHENOWETH, the

Honorable Bob Schaffer, the Honorable Don

Young, and the Honorable Richard W. Pombo,

all in their official capacities, Appellants,

Vv.

William J. CLINTON, President of the

United States, Kathleen A. McGinty, Chair

of the Council on Environmental Quality,

individually and in their official capacities,

and the United State of America, Appellees.

No. 98-5095.

United States Court of Appeals,

District of Columbia Circuit.

Argued Jan. 29, 1999.

Decided July 2, 1999.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia (No. 97¢cv02954).

William Perry Pendley argued the cause and filed the

briefs for appellants. Todd S. Welch entered an appear-

ance.

Ethan G. Shenkman, Attorney, U.S. Department of

Justice, argued the cause for appellees. With him on the

brief were Lois J. Schiffer, Assistant Attorney General,

and Martin W. Matzen, Attorney. Jared A. Goldstein,

Attorney, entered an appearance.

Before: EDWARDS, Chief Judge, GINSBURG and

TATEL, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge GINS-

BURG.

App. 2

Opinion concurring in the judgment filed by Circuit

Judge TATEL.

GINSBURG, Circuit Judge:

Appellants Helen Chenoweth, Bob Schaffer, Don

Young, and Richard W. Pombo, all of whom are Members

of the United States House of Representatives, sued to

enjoin implementation of President Clinton’s American

Heritage Rivers Initiative (AHRI). They claimed the Presi-

dent’s creation of the program by executive order

exceeded his statutory and constitutional authority. Char-

acterizing the Representatives’ claim as a “generalized

grievance| | about the conduct of government,” the dis-

trict court held the plaintiffs lacked standing to sue and

dismissed their complaint. The Representatives now

appeal, arguing that the district court failed properly to

apply our decisions in Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430

(1974), and Moore v. U.S. House of Representatives, 733 F.2d

946 (1984). In part based upon the intervening decision in

Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 117 S.Ct. 2312, 138 L.Ed.2d

849 (1997), we affirm the judgment of the district court.

I. Background

The President announced his intention to create the

AHRI in his 1997 State of the Union address. Soon after-

ward, the Council on Environmental Quality published a

notice describing the program. Under the AHRI, it

explained, federal agencies would be called upon to pro-

vide support for local efforts to preserve certain histori-

cally significant rivers and riverside communities. See 62

Fed.Reg. 27,253 (May 19, 1997). In June, 1997 Representa-

tives Chenoweth, Schaffer, and Pombo introduced a bill

App. 3

“[tlo terminate further development and implementa-

tion” of the AHRI. H.R. 1842, 105th Congress. The bill

never came to a vote. The President formally established

the AHRI by executive order in September, 1997. See

Exec. Order 13,061, 62 Fed.Reg. 48,445.

Their legislative efforts having failed, the appellants

brought this lawsuit, claiming the AHRI violates the

Anti-Deficiency Act, 31 U.S.C. § 1301 et seq., the Federal

Land Management and Policy Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1701 et

seq., the National Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 4321 et seq., and the Commerce, Property, and Spending

Clauses of, and the Tenth Amendment to, the Constitu-

tion of the United States. According to the complaint, the

President's issuance of the AHRI by executive order,

without statutory authority therefor, “deprived [the

plaintiffs] of their constitutionally guaranteed respon-

sibility of open debate and vote on issues and legislation”

involving interstate commerce, federal lands, the expen-

diture of federal monies, and implementation of the

NEPA. The Representatives sought a declaration that the

issuance of the AHRI was unlawful and an injunction

against its implementation.

The district court granted the President’s motion to

dismiss, concluding that the injury the Representatives

claim to have suffered - the deprivation of their right as

Members of the Congress to vote on (or, more precisely,

against) the AHRI - is “too abstract and not sufficiently

specific to support a finding of standing.” The Represen-

tatives then took this appeal.

| App. 4

Il. Analysis

The Representatives’ claim of standing is predicated

upon the theory that by issuing Executive Order 13,061,

the President denied them their proper role in the legisla-

tive process and, consequently, diminished their power as

Members of the Congress. They rely primarily upon

Moore, in which we held that the infringement of a legis-

lator’s “right[ ] to participate and vote on legislation in a

manner defined by the Constitution” is an injury suffi-

ciently direct and concrete to support the legislator’s

standing to sue. 733 F.2d at 951. To understand why their

facially plausible argument is unpersuasive, some back-

ground is necessary.

The general principle that governs our standing anal-

ysis is firmly established: A federal court cannot, consis-

tent with Article III, exercise jurisdiction over a lawsuit

unless the plaintiff has suffered a “personal injury fairly

traceable to the defendant's allegedly unlawful conduct

and likely to be redressed by the requested relief.” Allen

v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751, 104 S.Ct. 3315, 82 L.Ed.2d 556

(1984). Application of the general rule to a Member of the

Congress who objects to the actions of other participants

in the legislative process, however, is a subject upon

which this court has not spoken with great clarity.

Historically, political disputes between Members of

the Legislative and the Executive Branches were resolved

without resort to the courts. See Raines, 521 U.S. at 826-28,

117 S.Ct. 2312 (describing conflicts between Congress and

various Presidents decided in the political arena). When

Members of the Congress first began to seek judicial relief

from allegedly illegal executive actions that impaired the

COATES AEE SNe

BN Sar AS SUAS BL GTI

habia DNS

5 Senet

Ls

2

=|

4

App. 5

exercise of their power as legislators, however, we were

initially receptive to the idea that we had jurisdiction to

hear their complaints. In Kennedy, for instance, we found

that a United States Senator had standing to challenge the

President's pocket veto of legislation that both Houses of

the Congress had approved. The allegedly unlawful veto,

we reasoned, injured the Senator in a direct and personal

way because it effected a “diminution of congressional

influence in the legislative process.” 511 F.2d at 435. On

the same theory, we held that a group of Senators had

standing to sue the President for depriving them of a

constitutionally-mandated opportunity to vote on the

abrogation of a treaty. See Goldwater v. Carter, 617 F.2d

697, 702 (en banc), vacated on other grounds, 444 U.S. 996,

100 S.Ct. 533, 62 L.Ed.2d 428 (1979).

After we decided Kennedy, however, the Supreme

Court began to place greater emphasis upon the separa-

tion of powers concerns underlying the Article III stand-

ing requirement. Compare Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 100,

88 S.Ct. 1942, 20 L.Ed.2d 947 (1968) (“The question

whether a particular person is a proper party to maintain

[an] action does not, by its own force, raise separation of

powers problems”), with Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490,

498, 95 S.Ct. 2197, 45 L.Ed.2d 343 (1975) (standing

requirement “founded in concern about the proper - and

properly limited - role of the courts in a democratic

society”), and Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. at 752, 104 S.Ct.

3315 (“[T]he law of Art. III standing is built on a single

basic idea — the idea of separation of powers”). In deci-

sions following Kennedy we noted that those concerns are

present — indeed, are particularly acute - when a legisla-

tor attempts to bring an essentially political dispute into a

App. 6

judicial forum. Accordingly, in Riegle v. Federal Open Mar-

ket Committee, 656 F.2d 873 (1981), we dismissed the com-

plaint of a Senator who challenged the constitutionality

of procedures by which certain members of the FOMC

were appointed; this result, we held, was necessary in

order to avoid an “obvious intrusion by the judiciary into

the legislative arena.” Id. at 881. We did not, however,

disavow the standing analysis of Kennedy and Goldwater.

Instead, creating a doctrine of “circumscribed equitable

discretion,” we held that the court would decline to hear

the complaint of a Congressman who “could obtain sub-

stantial relief from his fellow legislators” regardless

whether he had standing to sue. Id. Keeping distinct our

analysis of standing and our consideration of the separa-

tion of powers issues raised when a legislator brings a

lawsuit concerning a legislative or executive act, we con-

cluded, made consonant two otherwise irreconcilable

principles: first, that congressional and private plaintiffs

should be treated alike for the purpose of determining

their standing, and second, that courts should refrain

from interfering in disputes arising out of the legislative

process when a political remedy is available from within

that process. See id. at 877-82.

But the circle did not long stay squared. Observing

that jurisdictional issues such as standing are not of a sort

usually committed to the discretion of courts, see Moore,

733 F.2d at 962 (Scalia, J., concurring), we questioned

Riegle as frequently as we applied it. See, ¢.g., Humphrey v.

Baker, 848 F.2d 211, 214 (1988) (concerns about the doc-

trine of equitable discretion “continue to trouble us”);

Melcher v. Federal Open Market Comm., 836 F.2d 561, 565 n.

4 (1987) (expressing doubt as to continuing viability of

iN ihe RACER OR.

1 SE GRC aR Ra grat OURS AAS Ls

App. 7

doctrine). The practical significance of Riegle was also

open to question: With one exception, namely, Bliley v.

Kelly, 23 F.3d 507, 510 (1994), every decision in which we

applied the doctrine of equitable discretion was either

reversed upon another jurisdictional ground by the

Supreme Court, see Barnes v. Kline, 759 F.2d 21

(C.A.D.C.1985), vacated sub nom. Burke v. Barnes, 479 U.S.

361, 107 S.Ct. 734, 93 L.Ed.2d 732 (1987), or reached the

same result that would have obtained had we treated

separation of powers concerns as part of our inquiry into

the plaintiff's standing. See, e.g., Moore, 733 F.2d at 956;

Vander Jagt v. O'Neill, 699 F.2d 1166, 1175 (1982). In Moore,

for instance, we held that although congressmen had

standing to object to the purportedly unconstitutional

origination of a revenue-raising bill in the Senate, the

district court properly dismissed their complaint under

Riegle because their “rights [could] be vindicated by con-

gressional repeal of the [offending] statute.” 733 F.2d at

956. Our conclusion that the plaintiffs had standing to

sue, in other words, got them into court just long enough

to have their case dismissed because of the separation of

powers problems it created. Recognizing the limited

impact of the Riegle doctrine, we noted in United Presby-

terian Church v. Reagan, 738 F.2d 1375 (D.C.Cir.1984), that

“i]t seems .. . inconvenient .. . to distinguish between

those legislator claims that lack standing, and those that

should be denied a favorable exercise of remedial discre-

tion for reasons generally indistinguishable from those

that underlie the doctrine of standing.” Id. at 1382.

So matters stood when the Supreme Court recently

decided Raines v. Byrd. The plaintiffs in that case were

congressmen who objected to the Line Item Veto Act,

App. 8

which gave the President the authority to “cancel” spend-

ing provisions in an appropriations bill without vetoing

the bill in its entirety. According to the plaintiffs, the Act

injured them by “alter[ing] the legal and practical effect

of all votes they . . . cast on bills containing . . - separately

vetoable items,” thus “divest[ing them] of their constitu-

tional role” in the legislative process. 521 U.S. at 816, 117

S.Ct. 2312. The district court found that the plaintiffs had

standing, citing Moore for the proposition that an act

interfering with the “constitutionally mandated process

of enacting law” imposes upon legislators an injury cog-

nizable under Article III. Byrd v. Raines, 956 F.Supp. 25, 31

(D.D.C.1997).

On direct appeal, the Supreme Court reversed. The

Court characterized the plaintiffs’ injury as “wholly

abstract and widely dispersed” and hence insufficient to

warrant judicial remediation. 521 U.S. at 829, 117 S.Ct.

2312. The Court was apparently unmoved by the concern

we expressed in Moore that the consideration of separa-

tion of powers issues would “distort[ ]” our standing

analysis, 733 F.2d at 954; to the contrary, it emphasized

that standing requirements are “especially rigorous”

when reaching the merits of a case would raise questions

about the proper scope of judicial authority. 521 U.S. at

819-20, 117 S.Ct. 2312. Having found that the plaintiffs

lacked standing to sue, the Court did not find it necessary

to consider the applicability (or the validity) of the doc-

trine of equitable discretion.

Against the backdrop of Raines and our own deci-

sions after Goldwater, the futility of the present Represen-

tatives’ claim is apparent. As the plaintiffs point out, the

injury they allegedly suffered when the President issued

App. 9

Executive Order 13,061 — a dilution of their authority as

legislators — is precisely the harm we held in Moore and

Kennedy to be cognizable under Article III. It is also,

however, identical to the injury the Court in Raines depre-

cated as “widely dispersed” and “abstract.” If, as the

Court held in Raines, a statute that allegedly “divests

[congressmen] of their constitutional role” in the legisla-

tive process does not give them standing to sue, 521 U.S.

at 816, 117 S.Ct. 2312, then neither does an Executive

Order that allegedly deprives congressmen of their

“right[ ] to participate and vote on legislation in a manner

defined by the Constitution.” 733 F.2d at 951. Conse-

quently, the portions of our legislative standing cases

upon which the current plaintiffs rely are untenable in

the light of Raines.

The Representatives protest that the injury alleged in

Raines was less severe than that suffered by the plaintiffs

in Moore. The votes of those Members of the Congress

who opposed the Line Item Veto Act, they observe, were

given full effect; they were simply too few to carry the

day. The plaintiffs in Moore, on the other hand, claimed to

have been entirely deprived of their constitutional right

to originate a bill intended to raise revenue. Here, sim-

ilarly (per the plaintiffs), the President denied Members

of the Congress any opportunity to vote for or against the

AHRI. Not only does Moore therefore survive Raines, urge

the Representatives, but the present case more closely

resembles the former than the latter.

This reasoning misperceives the theory of standing at

issue in Raines. The plaintiffs in that case did not contend,

as the Representatives imply, that their injury was the

result of a procedural defect in the passage of the Line

App. 10

Item Veto Act. Rather, their view was that once the Act

became law, it “alter[ed] the constitutional balance of

powers between the Legislative and Executive Branches,”

to their detriment. 521 U.S. at 816, 117 S.Ct. 2312. This is

only a minor variation on the injury asserted in Moore,

where the beneficiary of the alleged change in the consti-

tutional order was the Senate rather than the President.

More to the point, it is exactly the position taken by the

Representatives here: Their injury, they say, is the result

of the President’s successful effort “to usurp Congres-

sional authority by implementing a program, for which

[he] has no constitutional authority, in a manner contrary

to the Constitution.” Applying Moore, this court presuma-

bly would have found that injury sufficient to satisfy the

standing requirement; after Raines, however, we cannot.

Raines notwithstanding, Moore and Kennedy may

remain good law, in part, but not in any way that is

helpful to the plaintiff Representatives. Whatever Moore

gives the Representatives under the rubric of standing, it

takes away as a matter of equitable discretion. It is

uncontested that the Congress could terminate the AHRI

were a sufficient number in each House so inclined.

Because the parties’ dispute is therefore fully susceptible

to political resolution, we would, applying Moore, dismiss

the complaint to avoid “meddl[ing] in the internal affairs

of the legislative branch.” 733 F.2d at 956. Applying

Raines, we would reach the same conclusion. Raines,

therefore, may not overrule Moore so much as require us

to merge our separation of powers and standing analyses.

In citing Moore, of course, the Representatives are not

asking us to do that; instead, they would have us simply

ignore half of that opinion.

App. 11

As for Kennedy, it may survive as a peculiar applica-

tion of the narrow rule announced in Coleman v. Miller,

307 U.S. 433, 59 S.Ct. 972, 83 L.Ed. 1385 (1939). The

plaintiffs in Coleman were certain Kansas legislators who

alleged that the Lieutenant Governor of Kansas had acted

unlawfully by casting the tie-breaking vote in the state

senate in favor of a constitutional amendment. According

to the Court, the 20 legislators who had voted against the

amendment had standing to sue because the Lieutenant

Governor's act deprived them of their “plain, direct and

adequate interest in maintaining the effectiveness of their

votes.” Id. at 438, 59 S.Ct. 972.

Although Coleman could be interpreted more broadly,

the Raines Court read the case to stand only for the

proposition that “legislators whose votes would have

been sufficient to defeat (or enact) a specific legislative

Act have standing to sue if that legislative action goes

into effect (or does not go into effect) on the ground that

their votes have been completely nullified.” 521 U.S. at

823, 117 S.Ct. 2312. Even under this narrow interpreta-

tion, one could argue that the plaintiff in Kennedy had

standing. The pocket ‘veto challenged in that case had

made ineffective a bill that both houses of the Congress

had approved. Because it was the President’s veto — not a

lack of legislative support — that prevented the bill from

becoming law (either directly or by the Congress voting

to override the President’s veto), those in the majority

could plausibly describe the President’s action as a com-

plete nullification of their votes.

In this case, however, the Representatives do not

allege that the necessary majorities in the Congress voted

to block the AHRI. Unlike the plaintiffs in Kennedy and

App. 12

Coleman, therefore, they cannot claim their votes were

effectively nullified by the machinations of the Executive.

Consequently, even if Kennedy is still viable after Raines, it

cannot bear the weight the Representatives would place

upon it."

Ill. Conclusion

The district court correctly held the plaintiff Repre-

sentatives lack standing to pursue this lawsuit. Their

claim to standing on the ground that the President's

implementation of the AHRI without congressional con-

sent injured them by diluting their authority as Members

of the Congress is indistinguishable from the claim to

* For two reasons our concurring colleague would have us

decide this case as though the Supreme Court had never

decided Raines. First he says the effect of Raines upon our prior

decisions was not briefed by the parties. However, the parties

plainly joined the issue whether Raines overrules our cases on

the subject of legislative standing. See Appellees’ Br. at 16

(“After the Supreme Court's decision in Raines .. . it is

questionable whether a member of Congress alleging an

institutional injury can ever have Article III standing”);

Appellant’s Rep. Br. at 7 (asserting “[t}here is absolutely no

authority” supporting the President’s assertion “that Raines

overturned Moore”).

Second, he says the Representatives would lack standing

even under the pre-Raines law of this circuit. This point rests

upon the implicit premise that the standing analysis in Moore

and Kennedy might have force after Raines, albeit (as he

acknowledges) in circumstances not presented here. We think it

clear, however, that our analysis in this case must account for

the impact of Raines on the prior precedent of this circuit, and

further, that Raines leaves no room for the broad theory of

legislative standing that we adopted in Moore and Kennedy.

App. 13

standing the Supreme Court rejected in Raines. Nor can

the Representatives claim that their vote was nullified by

the President’s action. The decision of the district court is

therefore

Affirmed.

TATEL, Circuit Judge, concurring in the judgment:

[ agree that appellants lack standing. I think the court

should have reached that result, however, without explor-

ing the extent to which Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 117

S.Ct. 2312, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997), limits our decisions in

Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C.Cir.1974), and

Moore v. United States House of Representatives, 733 F.2d 946

(D.C.Cir.1984). See Maj. Op. at 115-17.

In the course of deciding that Raines essentially over-

rules the theory of legislative standing recognized in

Kennedy and Moore, my colleagues read those decisions

too broadly, stating that the legislator injury we found

cognizable in those cases “is precisely the harm” that

appellants allege here. Maj. Op. at 116. But unlike appel-

lants, the legislators in Kennedy and Moore challenged

alleged constitutional defects in the way specific pieces of

legislation were passed or defeated. See Moore, 733 F.2d at

951-53 (revenue-raising bill allegedly originated in the

Senate, not the House); Kennedy, 511 F.2d at 434-36

(allegedly unconstitutional presidential pocket veto of

legislation passed by Congress). Contrary to appellants’

claim that they have been “denied the ‘right[ ] to partici-

pate and vote on legislation in a manner defined by the

Constitution,’ ” Appellant's Br. at 16 (quoting Moore, 733

F.2d at 951), they can point to no defect in any “discrete

aspect of the process by which a bill becomes law (the

App. 14

actual vote on the legislation) [or] those post-enactment

events denying the bill’s status as law,” Harrington v.

Bush, 553 F.2d 190, 211 (D.C.Cir.1977). This case is there-

fore indistinguishable from and controlled by United Pres-

byterian Church in the U.S.A. v. Reagan, 738 F.2d 1375

(D.C.Cir.1984). There, as here, a Member of Congress

challenged the legality of an executive order, claiming

that it was promulgated without congressional or consti-

tutional authorization. See id. at 1381-82. We held that the

Member lacked standing because he raised only “ ‘a gen-

eralized grievance about the conduct of government, not

a claim founded on injury to the legislator by distortion

of the process by which a bill becomes law.’ ” Id. at 1382

(quoting Moore, 733 F.2d at 952); see also Daughtrey v.

Carter, 584 F.2d 1050, 1057 (D.C.Cir.1978) (rejecting the

argument that legislators have standing to challenge

executive nonenforcement of an act as a usurpation of the

legislative right to enact repealing legislation); Har-

rington, 553 F.2d at 211 (rejecting the argument that a

legislator has standing to challenge allegedly illegal CIA

activities as an impairment of his prospective votes on

related legislation). For precisely the same reason, appel-

lants lack standing to challenge the American Heritage

Rivers Initiative.

Although Raines limits Kennedy and Moore to some

extent, it changes nothing in United Presbyterian or the

other cases where we have rejected legislator standing to

raise similar “generalized grievances.” Because United

Presbyterian still squarely controls, it is unnecessary to

reach the difficult issue of the precise extent to which

Raines limits Kennedy and Moore, an issue not briefed in

this case beyond the conclusory assertions cited by the

App. 15

court. See Texas Rural Legal Aid, Inc. v. Legal Servs. Corp.,

940 F.2d 685, 697-98 (D.C.Cir.1991) (in the “absence of any

substantive briefing on the issue,” where the parties

“content [themselves] with conclusory assertions,” this

court normally will not address the argument). I think the

court should have deferred addressing the implications of

Raines until presented with a case in which legislators

assert injury involving a discrete aspect of the process by

which a specific bill has become (or failed to become) law.

App. 16

The Honorable Helen CHENOWETH, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

William J. CLINTON, et al., Defendants.

No. 97-2954(HHK).

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

March 2, 1998.

William Perry Pendley, Mountain States Legal Foun-

dation, Denver, CO, for Plaintiffs.

Geoffrey Garver, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Environ. &

Natural Resources Div., Washington, DC, for Defendants.

MEMORANDUM

KENNEDY, District Judge.

Before this court is the plaintiffs’ Motion for Prelimi-

nary Injunction and the defendants’ Motion to Dismiss.

Upon consideration of these motions, the responses

thereto, and the entire record of the case, the court con-

cludes that the plaintiffs’ motion should be denied and

that the defendants’ motion should be granted on the

ground that the plaintiffs lack standing to bring this

action.

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs are four members of the U.S. House of

Representatives who have sued William Clinton, Presi-

dent of the United States, for allegedly violating the

re

App. 17

United States Constitution by issuing Executive Order

13061. On September 11, 1997, President Clinton signed

Executive Order 13061, which created the American Heri-

tage Rivers Initiative (AHRI), an initiative designed “to

protect and restore rivers and their adjacent commu-

nities.” Exec. Order No. 13061, 62 Fed.Reg. 48445 (1997).

Under the AHRI, “the President will designate rivers that

meet certain criteria as ‘American Heritage Rivers,’ ” and

“executive agencies ..., to the extent permitted by

law ..., shall coordinate Federal plans, functions, pro-

grams, and resources to preserve, protect, and restore

rivers and their associated resources important to our

history, culture, and natural heritage.” Id. at Section 1(e),

(b).

The plaintiffs contend that the President may not

create legislation in the form of an Executive Order

unless Congress has expressly delegated such authority

to the President. The plaintiffs argue that Congress has

not delegated to the president the authority to create the

AHRI and that the president’s action of signing Executive

Order 13061 therefore violates the doctrine of Separation

of Powers, as well as the Commerce Clause (Art. L, Sec. 8,

Cl. 3), Property Clause (Art. IV, Sec. 3, Cl. 2), Spending

Clause (Art. I, Sec. 9, Cl. 7) and Tenth Amendment of the

U.S. Constitution, and the Anti-Deficiency Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 1301 et seg., the Federal Land Policy and Management

Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1701 et seq., and the National Environ-

mental Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321 et seq. Speci-

fically, the President’s action has deprived plaintiffs “of

their ability to exercise their duties to review, debate, and

vote on pending legislation and to conduct oversight

as .. . included within the jurisdiction of their Committee

OE EE ee

App. 18

and Subcommittees,” and “of their constitutionally guar-

anteed responsibilities as Members of Congress to regu-

late interstate commerce, manage and regulate federal

lands, and authorize and appropriate federal expendi-

tures.” (Pls.’ Mot. for Prelim. Inj. at 7.) These are the

injuries upon which the plaintiffs base their standing to

bring this suit.

The defendants claim that Executive Order 13061

relies entirely on existing federal programs and results in

no new regulatory authority, and therefore is constitu-

tional. The defendants argue, further, that it is not neces-

sary to reach the merits of the plaintiffs’ complaint

because the complaint should be dismissed for lack of

standing. The court agrees that the complaint should be

dismissed for lack of standing.

Il. STANDING

For the purposes of determining the plaintiffs’ stand-

ing, “we must assume the validity of the [plaintiffs’]

claim and construe the complaint in favor of the com-

plaining parties.” Moore v. U.S. House of Representatives,

733 F.2d 946, 950 (1984) (citing Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S.

490, 501, 95 S.Ct. 2197, 45 L.Ed.2d 343 (1975)). Thus, we

assume for this analysis that the President’s signing of

Executive Order 13061 unconstitutionally violated the

Separation of Powers doctrine and the other constitu-

tional provisions and statutes cited by plaintiffs.

The recent Supreme Court case, Raines v. Byrd, __

U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 2312, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997), discusses

the doctrine of standing. The court states,

App. 19

Under Article III, § 2 of the Constitution, the

federal courts have jurisdiction over this dispute

. only if it is a “case” or “controversy.”

- . . One element of the case-or-controversy

requirement is that [plaintiffs], based on their

complaint, must establish that they have stand-

ing to sue. .. . To meet the standing require-

ments of Article III, “[a] plaintiff must allege

personal injury fairly traceable to the defen-

dant’s allegedly unlawful conduct and likely to

be redressed by the requested relief.” .. . [T]o

have standing, the plaintiff must have suffered a

“particularized” injury, which means that “the

injury must affect the plaintiff in a personal and

individual way.”

Raines, __ U.S. at __, 117 S.Ct. at 2317, 138 L.Ed.2d 849

(internal citations omitted).

The Supreme Court further explains, “We have

always insisted on strict compliance with this jurisdic-

tional standing requirement. . . . And our standing

inquiry has been especially rigorous when reaching the

merits of the dispute would force us to decide whether an

action taken by one of the other two branches of the

Federal Government was unconstitutional.” Id. 117 S.Ct.

at 2317-2318 (internal citations omitted). Therefore, the

court concluded, “we must carefully inquire as to

whether appellees have met their burden of establishing

that their claimed injury is personal, particularized, con-

crete, and otherwise judicially cognizable.” Id. at 2318.

Raines is directly relevant to the instant case because

it is the most recent Supreme Court case and one of only

a few addressing the issue of standing for legisiators. In

App. 20

Raines, members of Congress challenged the constitu-

tionality of the Line Item Veto Act, 2 U.S.C.A. § 691 et seq.

(Supp.1997), which gives the President authority to “can-

cel” certain spending and tax benefit measures after he

has signed them into law, thus allegedly diluting the

Congress members’ Article I voting power. While Raines

does not directly address the circumstances of the instant

case, it provides important guide posts for our analysis.

First, Raines distinguishes between a personal injury

(the loss of a private right) and an institutional injury (the

loss of political power) as the basis of a legislator’s stand-

ing. While Raines does not categorically require that

standing be based on a personal/private injury, it does

suggest that a personal injury more strongly supports a

finding of standing than does an institutional injury:

“[A]ppellees’ claim of standing is based on a loss of

political power, not loss of any private right, which

would make the injury more concrete.” Id. 117 S.Ct. at

2318.

That said, however, Raines clearly upholds Coleman v.

Miller, 307 U.S. 433, 59 S.Ct. 972, 83 L.Ed. 1385 (1939),

which found that state legislators claiming an institu-

tional injury had standing. Id. 117 S.Ct. at 2318 (“The one

case in which we have upheld standing for legislators

(albeit state legislators) claiming an institutional injury is

Coleman v. Miller”). In Coleman, 20 Kansas state senators’

“votes against ratification have been overridden and vir-

tually held for naught although if they are right in their

contentions their votes would have been sufficient to

defeat ratification.” Id. at 2319 (quoting Coleman, 307 U.S.

at 438). Therefore, because the legislators “have a plain,

App. 21

direct and adequate interest in maintaining the effective-

ness of their votes,” and their votes were improperly

overridden and effectively nullified, the Supreme Court

upheld the legislators’ standing. Id.

In the instant case, while the plaintiffs argue that

they have suffered personal injuries as members of speci-

fic House Committees and Subcommittees, their injuries

are clearly institutional, rather than personal. The Raines

court identified an institutional injury as follows:

If one of the Members were to retire tomorrow,

he would no longer have a claim; the claim

would be possessed by his successor instead.

The claimed injury thus runs (in a sense) with

the Member’s seat, a seat which the Member

holds (it may quite arguably be said) as trustee

for his constituents, not as a prerogative of per-

sonal power.

Id. 117 S.Ct. at 2318. In contrast, an indication of a

personal injury is when the plaintiffs have been singled

out for specially unfavorable treatment relative to other

Members of their respective bodies. Id. The plaintiffs in

the instant case have not been singled out for unfavorable

treatment relative to their fellow legislators, nor would

their claim continue to exist if they were to retire. Their

alleged injuries, therefore, are institutional rather than

personal.

While Raines upheld the viability of an institutional

injury as a basis for standing, the Court substantially

limited the reach of its determination by stating “that our

holding in Coleman stands (at most, see n. 8, infra) for the

Proposition that legislators whose votes would have been

sufficient to defeat (or enact) a specific legislative act

App. 22

have standing to sue if that legislative action goes into

effect (or does not go into effect), on the ground that their

votes have been completely nullified.” Id. The court con-

cluded, therefore, that the plaintiffs in Raines did not

have standing, under Coleman, because they neither (1)

matched the specific circumstances of Coleman, nor (2)

had their votes nullified to the extent of the legislators in

Coleman, since “[i]n the future, a majority of Senators and

Congressmen can pass or reject appropriations bills

'. can vote to repeal the Act, or to exempt a given

appropriations bill . . . from the Act... .” Id. 117 S.Ct. at

2320. Regarding this second prong, the court explained,

“There is a vast difference between the level of vote

nullification at issue in Coleman and the abstract dilution

of institutional legislative power that is alleged here. To

uphold standing here would require a drastic extension

of Coleman. We are unwilling to take that step.” Id. 117

S.Ct. at 2320-2321. The court concluded, “In sum, appel-

lees have alleged no injury to themselves as individuals

(contra Powell), the institutional injury they alleged is

wholly abstract and widely dispersed (contra Coleman),

and their attempt to mitigate this dispute at this time and

in this form is contrary to historical experience.” Id. 117

S.Ct. at 2322.

As applied to the instant case, Raines directs that,

given the vigorous standing inquiry that applies to suits

alleging unconstitutional action by the legislative or exec-

utive branch, and the relative weakness of institutional

injuries compared to personal injuries, an institutional

injury may support legislative standing only if the injury

occurs under the same circumstances as those in Coleman,

or in some other way matches the level and quality of

App. 23

vote nullification that took place in Coleman. The Raines

plaintiffs failed to establish standing because their injury

was too abstract and dispersed, and did not reach the

required level of vote nullification because legislative

remedies were still available to them. The question we

must answer, therefore, is whether the alleged injury

suffered by Congresswoman Chenoweth and her fellow

plaintiffs matches the vote nullification that took place in

Coleman.

The plaintiffs in the instant case have suffered an

injury (assuming, for the sake of this standing analysis,

that their allegations are true) that is a greater nullifica-

tion of their voting power than that suffered by the

plaintiffs in Coleman, since the instant plaintiffs never

even had the opportunity to debate and vote on the

AHRI. The quality of plaintiffs’ injury, however, is too.

abstract and not sufficiently specific to support a finding

of standing. As defendants assert, the plaintiffs’ claims

that the AHRI violates the U.S. Constitution and other

Federal statutes “are precisely the kind of ‘generalized

grievance[s] about the conduct of government’ that the

D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals, even before [Raines],

has held ‘lacks the specificity to support a claim of stand-

ing.’ ” (Defs.’ Mem. in Opp. to Pls.’ Mot. for Prelim. Inj. at

13) (quoting American Federation of Government Employees,

AFL-CIO v. Pierce, 697 F.2d 303, 305 (1982), Valley Forge

Christian College v. Americans United for Separation of

Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 475, 102 S.Ct. 752, 70

L.Ed.2d 700 (1982)). “[I]n the absence of any relation to a

specific piece of legislation,” the defendants argue, “the

plaintiffs’ assertion of standing is governed - and de-

feated - by the line of cases holding that a plaintiff's

App. 24

status as a member of Congress does not give [him or

her] standing to sue for a declaration that executive activ-

ities are illegal.” Id. at 14 (internal quotes omitted).

Defendants’ analysis of the D.C. Circuit case law is

correct. While the plaintiffs are correct that D.C. Circuit

cases have upheld the principle that a legislator has

standing when the legislator has suffered an injury to his

“interest in the process by which a bill becomes a law,”

Pierce, 697 F.2d at 305; Moore, 733 F.2d 946, other D.C.

Circuit cases have held that an injury like the one claimed

by the instant plaintiffs, perpetrated by the Executive

branch and unrelated to a specific piece of legislation, is

not sufficiently specific to support standing. United Pres-

byterian Church in the USA v. Reagan, 738 F.2d 1375 (1984),

Harrington v. Bush, 553 F.2d 190 (1977), Daughtrey v. Car-

ter, 584 F.2d 1050 (1978). This latter line of cases gains

support from the rationale offered by Justice Souter in his

concurrence in Raines that, “[b]ecause it is fairly debat;

ble whether appellees’ injury is sufficiently personal and

concrete to give them standing, it behooves us to resolve

the question under more general separation-of-powers

principles underlying our standing requirements.” Raines,

___ U.S. at ___, 117 S.Ct. at 2324, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (Souter,

J., concurring).

-In Pierce, the Secretary of Housing and Urban Devel-

opment (HUD) planned to carry out a reduction-in-force

of the agency, which was prohibited by statute without

the prior approval of the Committees on Appropriations.

Because the plaintiff congressman was a member of the

House Appropriations Committee, the Secretary’s pro-

posed action, which had not been approved by the

Appropriations Committees, injured the plaintiff. The

App. 25

plaintiff congressman had standing to challenge the Sec-

retary’s action because it deprived “him of [a] specific

statutory right to participate in the legislative process.”

Id. This injury was sufficiently specific and concrete

because of the specific statutory authority given only to

members of the Committees on Appropriations to pre-

approve any reorganizations of the HUD department.

Moore v. U.S. House of Representatives, upon which

plaintiffs primarily rely, found that the plaintiff Members

of the House of Representatives had standing to chal-

lenge the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982

(TEFRA), allegedly a revenue-raising bill, on the basis

that it contravened the constitutional mandate that reve-

nue-raising bills originate in the House, rather than in the

Senate. “The injury alleged by [plaintiffs] here is to an

interest positively identified by the Constitution, which

mandates the specific procedure by which a revenue-

raising bill shall become law.” Moore, 733 F.2d at 951. The

court found that the plaintiffs’ alleged injury, the depriva-

tion of an opportunity to debate and vote on the origina-

tion of TEFRA in the House, was “specific and concrete.”

Id. at 952. The plaintiffs in Moore, unlike the instant

plaintiffs, were challenging the action of the Senate in

relation to a specific piece of legislation.

In contrast, United Presbyterian, Harrington, and

Daughtrey denied standing to plaintiffs challenging exec-

utive actions unrelated to passing a specific piece of

legislation, as in the instant case, on the basis that their

injuries were not sufficiently specific. United Presbyterian,

in particular, involved facts very similar to the instant

case. The United Presbyterian plaintiffs, which included

one member of Congress, claimed that an Executive

App. 26

Order unconstitutionally violated the principal of separa-

tion of powers because it was promulgated without con-

gressional authorization. United Presbyterian Church, 738

F.2d at 1377. The D.C. Circuit characterized the congress-

man plaintiff’s argument for standing as follows: “[The

congressman] asserts that the Executive Order confers

authority on the intelligence agencies beyond that autho-

rized by Congress, and indeed that the order violates

express limitations imposed by Congress. Therefore,

appellant [congressman] claims that his powers as a legis-

lator has been diminished, constituting sufficient injury

to give him standing.” Id. at 1381. The court found that

the congressman did not have standing because “his com-

plaint is a generalized grievance about the conduct of

government, not a claim founded on injury to the legisla-

tor by distortion of the process by which a bill becomes

law.” Id. at 1382 (quoting Moore, 733 F.2d at 952). The

court further explained, “standing does not exist

. where the legislator’s grievance consists of gener-

alized, amorphous injuries due to... the conduct of the

Executive . . . [or] a generalized complaint that [his]

effectiveness is diminished by allegedly illegal activities

taking place outside the legislative forum.” Id. (quoting

Moore, 733 F.2d at 951). The circumstances of United Pres-

byterian are sufficiently similar to the instant case that its

holding directs us to find that the instant plaintiffs do not

have standing.

In Harrington v. Bush, a Member of the U.S. House of

Representatives sued for a declaration that certain foreign

and domestic activities of the CIA were illegal and for an

injunction prohibiting the CIA from using provisions of

the Central Intelligence Agency Act of 1949 in connection

App. 27

with the allegedly illegal activities. The plaintiff con-

tended that the CIA's activities exceeded its delegated

Statutory authority, and that the use of the CIA Act

provisions in conjunction with these activities was illegal.

To establish standing, the plaintiff alleged that the CIA’s

activities injured his participation in the legislative pro-

cess. The court found, however, that the plaintiff had

“failed to show injury to his effectiveness as a Congress-

man,” and thus had “no right to invoke the power of the

federal judiciary.” Harrington, 553 F.2d at 213.

In Daughtrey v. Carter, the plaintiffs, including two

members of the U.S. House of Representatives, sued for

declaratory relief and an injunction to restrain the opera-

tion of a Presidential Proclamation entitled Granting Par-

don for Violations of the Selective Service Act, and an

Executive Order implementing that Proclamation. The

plaintiffs contended that the president had exceeded the

limits of his constitutional pardon power and usurped the

power of Congress because executing the Order would

purportedly violate a provision of the Immigration and

Nationality Act. The court, characterizing the complaint

as a “challenge to the failure of the Attorney General to

enforce provisions of the Immigration and Nationality

Act,” found that the Congressmen lacked standing

because the executive branch’s failure to enforce legisla-

tion “does not affect the legal status of such legislation,

nor does it invade, usurp, or infringe upon a Congress-

man’s power to make law.” Daughtrey, 584 F.2d at 1057.

App. 28

Ill. CONCLUSION

The defendants are correct that the D.C. Circuit case

law consistently denies standing for legislators challeng-

ing executive actions unrelated to passing a specific piece

of legislation, without some further indication of con-

creteness or specificity. We must conclude in the instant

case, therefore, that the instant plaintiffs, as Members of

the U.S. House of Representatives challenging the consti-

tutionality of an Executive Order for its lack of Congres-

sionally delegated authority, are alleging injuries not

sufficiently specific to support a finding of standing.

An appropriate order accompanies this memoran-

dum.

ORDER

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 58 and for the reasons stated

by the court in its memorandum docketed this same day,

it is this 2nd day of March 1998, hereby

ORDERED, that plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary

injunction (document # 3) is denied; and it is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that defendants’ motion

to dismiss (document # 4) is granted and judgment is

entered in favor of defendants.

App. 29

United States Court of Appeals

For Tue District or Cotumsia Circuit

No. 98-5095 September Term, 1999

97¢v02954

Helen Chenoweth, Honorable, et al.,

Appellants

v.

William J. Clinton, President

of the United States, et al.,

Appellees

BEFORE: Edwards, Chief Judge; Wald, Silberman,

Williams, Ginsburg, Sentelle, Henderson,

Randolph, Rogers, Tatel and Garland, Cir-

cuit Judges

ORDER

(Filed Sept. 3, 1999)

Upon consideration of appellants’ petition for rehear-

ing en banc, and the absence of a request by any member

of the court for a vote, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

BY: /s/ Robert A. Bonner

Robert A. Bonner

Deputy Clerk

Circuit Judge Wald did not participate in this matter.

App. 30

Federal Register

Vol. 62, No. 178

Monday, September 15, 1997

—_—_—_ ——{CnQ@EQrle000n00n0nppq]wE"o0==e=E_e_=q@_—”q=g*q@qamamry—_"=—m00==0—=—=—{—{T"El™__Q0_@_=_—=——T_™>™"__=I==

Presidential Documents

Executive Order 13061 of September 11, 1997

Federal Support of Community Efforts Along American

Heritage Rivers

By the authority vested in me as President by the Consti-

tution and the laws of the United States of America,

including the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969

(Public Law 91-190), and in order to protect and restore

rivers and their adjacent communities, it is hereby

ordered as follows:

Section 1. Policies.

(a) The American Heritage Rivers initiative has

three objectives: natural resource and environmental pro-

tection, economic revitalization, and historic and cultural

preservation.

(b) Executive agencies (“agencies”), to the extent

permitted by law and consistent with their missions and

resources, shall coordinate Federal plans, functions, pro-

grams, and resources to preserve, protect, and restore

rivers and their associated resources important to our

history, culture, and natural heritage.

(c) Agencies shall develop plans to bring increased

efficiencies to existing and authorized programs with

App. 31

goals that are supportive of protection and restoration of

communities along rivers.

(d) In accordance with Executive Order 12630,

agencies shall act with due regard for the protection of

private property provided for by the Fifth Amendment to

the United States Constitution. No new regulatory

authority is created as a result of the American Heritage

Rivers initiative. This initiative will not interfere with

matters of State, local, and tribal government jurisdiction.

(e) In furtherance of these policies, the President

will designate rivers that meet certain criteria as “Ameri-

can Heritage Rivers.”

(f) It is the policy of the Federal Government that

communities shall nominate rivers as American Heritage

Rivers and the Federal role will be solely to support

community-based efforts to preserve, protect, and restore

these rivers and their communities.

(g) Agencies should, to the extent practicable, help

identify resources in the private and nonprofit sectors to

aid revitalization efforts.

(h) Agencies are encouraged, to the extent permit-

ted by law, to develop partnerships with State, local, and

tribal governments and community and nongovernmen-

tal organizations. Agencies will be responsible to the

diverse needs of different kinds of communities from the

core of our cities to remote rural areas and shall seek to

ensure that the role played by the Federal Government is

complementary to the plans and work being carried out

by State, local, and tribal governments. To the extent

possible, Federal resources will be Strategically directed

App. 32

to complement resources being spent by these govern-

ments.

(i) Agencies shall establish a method for field

offices to assess the success of the American Heritage

River initiative and provide a means to recommend

changes that will improve the delivery and accessibility

of Federal services and programs. Agencies are directed,

where appropriate, to reduce and make more flexible

procedural requirements and paperwork related to pro-

viding assistance to communities along designated rivers.

(j) Agencies shall commit to a policy under which

they will seek to ensure that their actions have a positive

effect on the natural, historic, economic, and cultural

resources of American Heritage River communities. The

policy will require agencies to consult with American

Heritage River communities early in the planning states

of Federal actions, take in to account the communities’

goals and objectives and ensure that actions are compati-

ble with the overall character of these communities.

Agencies shall seek to ensure that their help for one-

community does not adversely affect neighboring com-

munities. Additionally, agencies are encouraged to

| develop formal and informal partnerships to assist com-

| munities. Local Federal facilities, to the extent permitted

by law and consistent with the agencies’ missions and

resources, should provide public access, physical space,

technical assistance, and other support for American Her-

itage River communities.

(k) In addition to providing support to designated

rivers, agencies will work together to provide informa-

tion and services to all communities seeking support.

App. 33

Sec. 2. Process for Nominating an American Heritage River.

(a) Nomination. Communities, in coordination with

their State, local, or tribal governments, can nominate

their river, river stretch, or river confluence for designa-

tion as an American Heritage River. When several com-

munities are involved in the nomination of the same

river, nominations will detail the coordination among the

interested communities and the role each will play in the

process. Individuals living outside the community may

not nominate a river.

(b) Selection Criteria. Nominations will be judged

based on the following:

(1) the characteristics of the natural, economic, agri-

cultural, scenic, historic, cultural, or recreational

resources of the river that render it distinctive or unique;

(2) the effectiveness with which the community has

defined its plan of action and the extent to which the plan

addresses, either through planned actions or past accom-

plishments, all three American Heritage Rivers objectives,

which are set forth in section 1(a) of this order;

(3) the strength and diversity of community support

for the nomination as evidence by letters from elected

officials, landowners; private citizens; businesses; and

especially State, local, and tribal governments. Broad

community support is essential to receiving the American

Heritage River designation; and

(4) willingness and capability of the community to

forge partnerships and agreements to implement their

plan to meet their goals and objectives.

(c) Recommendation Process.

App. 34

The Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality

(“CEQ”) shall develop a fair and objective procedure to

obtain the views of a diverse group of experts for the

purpose of making recommendations to the President as

to which rivers shall be designated. These experts shall

reflect a variety of viewpoints, such as those representing

natural, cultural, and historic resources; scenic, environ-

mental, and recreation interests; tourism, transportation,

and economic development interests; and industries such

as agriculture, hydropower, manufacturing, mining, and

forest management. The Chair of the CEQ will ensure

that the rivers recommended represent a variety of

stream sizes, diverse geographical locations, and a wide

range of settings from urban to rural and ensure that

relatively pristine, successful revitalization efforts are

considered as well as degraded rivers in need of restora-

tion.

(d) Designation.

(1) The President will designate certain rivers as

American Heritage Rivers. Based on the receipt of a suffi-

cient number of qualified nominations, ten rivers will be

designated in the first phase of the initiative.

(2) The Interagency Committee provided for in sec-

tion 3 of this order shall develop a process by which any

community that nominates and has its river designated

may have this designation terminated at its request.

(3) Upon a determination by the Chair of the CEQ

that a community has failed to implement its plan, the

Chair may recommend to the President that a designation

be revoked. The chair shall notify the community at least

30 days prior to making such a recommendation to the

App. 35

President. Based on that recommendation, the President

may revoke the designation.

Sec. 3. Establishment of an Interagency Committee. There

is hereby established the American Heritage rivers Inter-

agency Committee (“Committee”). The Committee shall

have two co-chairs. The Chair of the CEQ shall be a

permanent co-chair. The other co-chair will rotate among

the heads of the agencies listed below.

(a) The Committee shall be composed of the follow-

ing members or their designees at the Assistant Secretary

level or equivalent:

(1) The Secretary of Defense;

(2) The Attorney General;

(3) The Secretary of the Interior;

(4) The Secretary of Agriculture;

(5) The Secretary of Commerce;

(6) The Secretary of Housing and Urban Develop-

ment;

(7) The Secretary of Transportation;

(8) The Secretary of Energy;

(9) The Administrator of the Environmental Protec-

tion Agency;

(10) The Chair of the Advisory Council on Historic

Preservation;

(11) The Chair person of the National Endowment

for the Arts; and

App. 36

(12) The Chairperson of the National Endowment

for the Humanities.

The Chair of the CEQ may invite to participate in

meetings of the Committee, representatives of other agen-

cies, as appropriate.

(b) The Committee shall:

(1) establish formal guidelines for designation as an

American Heritage River;

(2) periodically review the actions of agencies in

support of the American Heritage Rivers;

(3) report to the President on the progress, accom-

plishments, and effectiveness of the American Heritage

Rivers initiative; and

(4) perform other duties as directed by the Chair of

the CEQ.

Sec. 4. Responsibilities of the Federal Agencies. Consistent

with Title I of the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969, agencies shall:

(a) identify their existing programs and plans that

give them the authority to offer assistance to commu-

nities involved in river conservation and community

health and revitalization;

(b) to the extent practicable and permitted by law

and regulation, refocus programs, grants, and technical

assistance to provide support for communities adjacent to

American Heritage Rivers;

(c) identify all technical tools, including those

developed for purposes other than river conservation,

App. 37

that can be applied to river protection, restoration, and

community revitalization;

(d) provide access to existing scientific data and

information to the extent permitted by law and consistent

with the agencies mission and resources;

(e) cooperate with State, local, and tribal govern-

ments and communities with respect to their activities

that take place in, or affect the area around, an American

Heritage River;

(f) commit to a policy, as set forth in section 1(j) of

this order, in making decisions affecting the quality of an

American Heritage River;

(g) select from among all the agencies a single indi-

vidual called the “River Navigator,” for each river that is

designated an American Heritage River, with whom the

communities can communicate goals and needs and who

will facilitate community-agency interchange;

(h) allow public access to the river, for agencies

with facilities along American Heritage Rivers, to the

extent practicable and consistent with their mission; and

(i) cooperate, as appropriate, with communities on

projects that protect or preserve stretches of the river that

are on Federal property or adjacent to a Federal facility.

Sec. 5. Responsibilities of the Committee and the Council on

Environmental Quality. The CEQ shall serve as Executive

Agent for the Committee, and the CEQ and the Commit-

tee shall ensure the implementation of the policies and

purposes of this initiative.

App. 38

Sec. 6. Definition. For the purposes of this order, Execu-

tive agency means any agency on the Committee and

such other agency as may be designated by the President.

Sec. 7. Judicial Review. This order does not create any

right or benefit, substantive or procedural, enforceable by

any party against the United States, its agencies or instru-

mentalities, its officers or employees, or any other person.

/s/ William J. Clinton

THE WHITE HOUSE,

September 11, 1997.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.