Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New Valley Corp. v. Corporate Property Associates 2, 120 S. Ct. 983 (2000) (No. 99-904)

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

RIL ED

29 904 Nov 2 6 1999

MRE 05 Tus coPex

No. 99-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

v.

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES 2 and

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES 3,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Haro_p G. LEvISON

Counsel of Record

DavipD M. FRIEDMAN

Rosert M. Novick

KASOWITZ, BENSON, TORRES

& FRIEDMAN LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

1301 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019

(212) 506-1700

156313 @ Counsel Press LLC

FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES

(800) 274-3321 » (800) 359-6859

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does the doctrine of unclean hands bar a creditor from

recovering in a bankruptcy proceeding where that creditor

presented false testimony and manufactured documentary

evidence but abandoned its scheme once discovered?

ul

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioner

New Valley Corporation (“New Valley”). New Valley is a

publicly held corporation. The principal stockholder of New

Valley is Brooke Group Ltd., a publicly held company.

Respondents

Corporate Property Associates 2, and Corporate Property

Associates 3 (together, “CPA”). According to information

filed by Respondents below, Respondents are limited

partnerships whose general partner and owner of more than

99% of limited partner interests is Carey Diversified LLC, a

publicly held company.

en

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SES ee 1

Parties to the Proceeding and Statement Pursuant to

any SE a ea ne il

ee geo k ls ven il

Table of Cited Authorities .................... IV

Ee ee v1

gy et ee eek 6 oo l

Statement of Jurisdiction ..................... l

Statutory Provision Involved .................. l

I ccc k cesccdenedec. 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................. 9

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Severe Restriction

Upon The Circumstances In Which A Court

May Apply The Unclean Hands Doctrine

Conflicts In Principal And Undermines The

Precedential Value Of This Court’s Decisions

In Keystone And Precision Instrument .... 10

Il. A Writ Of Certiorari Should Be Issued

Because The Panel’s Decision, If Left To

Stand, Creates Precedent That A Party May,

With Impunity, Attempt To Defraud Its

Adversary And The Trial Court So Long As

It Abandons That Attempt Once Caught. .. 17

ee 20

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Art Metal Works v. Abraham & Straus, 70 F.2d 641

CPG. SDs ss caw kk ieee GaRee axa 19

Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191 (1992) ........ 18

Gaudiosi v. Mellon, 269 F.2d 873 (3d Cir. 1959) .. 7,19

Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co.,

Se Gs eek wae ehh eee 19

In re Abrams, 521 F.2d 1094 (3d Cir), cert. denied,

CAF Uh, TO MUTED ono Ries hx hd 18

In re Levander, 180 F.3d 1114 (3d Cir. 1999) .... 18

In re Quakertown Glass Co., 73 B.R. 468 (Bankr.

ue: PEED aa clus eevee wneaeeee Meee 18

Keystone Driller Co. v. General Excavator Co.,

290 U.S. 240 (1933) ........ 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, t7, 2

Manhattan Medicine Co. v. Wood, 108 U.S. 218

SE ks wae eh Geek ee oe ee 16

Monsanto v. Rohm & Haas Co., 456 F.2d 592

Ce ee SI os a a ee eee ees 13

Precision Instrument Mfg. Co. v. Automotive

Maintenance Mach. Co., 324 U.S. 806 (1945) ..

ivenG alae ee ReR aan aG 10, 13, 15, 16, 17, 20, 21

Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes:

Chis Sem & 0 eeerrrrrr ry rr ry Tree 4

ele Tage fe er Orr ey Ere Tyre rr. l

Re Soke frre eT Peres yee me 4,6

ae Un 0B PPR ec 8.0 KK Sp du Nome wees 8

BO UB. S SED Saco sb eee tewesheratiaess 8

pgs tee es | err rr eT ye rr ee 8

yp Gk om Be 6) eT eres rire l

c poh tome oe. rer rrr rr ey Ba Fr - 8

yp EER Se E> Sr rr ere 8

Pe ak. © EO 6.05.64 oh. ca een ene ees 8

OUD. CAUGS onc kccacvecad thas senses l

Rule:

fe A, eeereres Tre 8

vi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion And Judgment Of The

United States Court Of Appeals For The Third

Circuit Dated And Filed July 6, 1999 .........

Appendix B — Opinion And Order Of The United

States District Court For The District Of New

Jersey Dated July 135, 1998 .......cccccvesass

Appendix C — Opinion Of The United States

Bankruptcy Court For The District Of New Jersey

Dated And Filed December 23, 1997 .........

Appendix D — Order Of The United States

Bankruptcy Court For The District Of New Jersey

Dated Fanuely 26, FIOO <ovcacedvedseacseten

Appendix E — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Third Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated August 27, 1999

‘*eeen6466082 8866 2 © © @ 88 2 6 4 6-8 2 O'R O. 6 68 8S oe ee Ss Oo ee ee

Page

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit is reported at 181 F.3d 517. A copy of the

opinion and judgment is included in the Appendix at App.

A at la-25a. The opinion of the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey is reported at 222 B.R. 722.

A copy of the District Court’s opinion and judgment is

included in the Appendix at App. B at 26a-55a. The opinion

of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of

New Jersey is unpublished but can be found at 1997 Bankr.

LEXIS 2193, 31 Bankr. Ct. Dec. 1168, and is included in

the Appendix at App. C at 56a-101a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

issued its opinion on July 6, 1999. On July 20, 1999,

Petitioner filed a timely Petition for Rehearing and Petition

for Rehearing En Banc which the United States Court of

Appeals denied on August 27, 1999 (Appendix E). This

Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed within 90 days of the

denial of the Petition for Rehearing. The Court’s jurisdiction

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1) and 2106.

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Code, title 11, section 502 is provided at

App. F.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Since the early 1970s, Western Union Telegraph

Company (“Western Union’), New Valley’s predecessor-in-

interest, had been the tenant pursuant to leases relating to

certain properties located in Reno, Nevada (the “Reno

Lease’), Moorestown, New Jersey (the “Moorestown

Lease”), and Bridgeton, Missouri (the “Bridgeton Lease”).

App. B at 27a-28a, App. C at 57a-58a.

In November 1981, CPA purchased the three properties

and became Western Union’s landlord. App. A at 3a; App.

B at 27a-27b; App. C at 57a-58a. In December 1981, Western

Union changed its name to Western Union Corporation

(“WUC”) and continued to be the tenant under the leases at

the Moorestown, Reno and Bridgeton properties. App. A at

3a; App. C at 58a.

In August 1989, Western Union Financial Services, Inc.

(“FSI”), formerly a division of Western Union, was created

as a wholly-owned subsidiary corporation to hold a

substantial portion of the assets of WUC’s money transfer

business. App. A at 3a; App. B at 28a; App. C at 58a. On

April 18, 1991, WUC changed its name to New Valley

Corporation. App. A at 3a; App. B at 28a; App. C at 58a.

On March 15, 1990, Donald Wasson, New Valley’s

Director of Real Estate Operations, wrote to Barclay Jones,

then vice-president of CPA, to request that CPA consent to

the assignment of the Bridgeton and Reno Leases to FSI.

Wasson enclosed consent to assignment forms (the

“Proposed Consents’) with the letter. App. A at 4a; App. C

at 79a-80a. In April, 1990, Wasson and Jones discussed the

3

Proposed Consents, at which time CPA stated that it would

not sign the Proposed Consent unless the Moorestown Lease

was also assigned to FSI. App. A at 4a-5a; App. B at 28a;

App. C at 80a. New Valley would not assign the Moorestown

Lease. App. A at Sa; App. B at 28a; App. C at 80a.

At trial, Jones testified “unequivocally” that New Valley

and CPA had not reached any deal regarding CPA’s consent

to the assignment. App. C at 80a New Valley understood

this as well; in April 1990, Wasson had sent a memorandum

to his colleague, Jan Wolpert, in which he stated that there

was no business deal with respect to the assignment of the

Bridgeton and Reno Leases since CPA would not consent

without the inclusion of the Moorestown Lease. App. C at

80a. Between April 1990 and May 1993, there were no further

discussions about, or references to, any assignment of the

Leases. App. A at Sa; App. C at 80a.

On November 15, 1991, an involuntary petition pursuant

to Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code was filed against New

Valley. App. A at 6a; App. B at 29a; App. C at 6la.

On March 30, 1993, New Valley consented to the entry of

an order for relief and became a debtor-in-possession. App.

A at 6a; App. B at 29a; App. C at 6la. Approximately one

month later, New Valley sought approval from the

Bankruptcy Court to reject its Moorestown lease. App. A at

6a; App. C at 67a. The Bankruptcy Court entered an order

approving the rejection in May, 1993. App. A at 6a; App. B

at 29a; App. C at 67a.

In April of 1993, New Valley filed an application for an

extension of its time to assume or reject its remaining non-

residential real property leases, including the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases, until confirmation of a plan of

4

reorganization. App. 6a; App. B at 30a; App. C at 80a.

CPA filed an objection to New Valley’s application on or

about May 14, 1993, arguing inter alia that a blanket

extension of time until confirmation would be unfair to CPA

and that such relief would undermine § 365(d)(4) of the

Bankruptcy Code. App. A at 6a; App. C at 80a. On May 18,

1993, however, CPA advised New Valley that it would be

withdrawing its objection on the basis that CPA had

“discovered” that the Bridgeton and Reno Leases had been

assigned by New Valley to FSI in 1990. CPA then executed

copies of the Proposed Consents, backdated them three

years to 1990, and faxed them to New Valley. App. A at 5a;

App. B at 30a; App. C 81a-82a.

After confirming that New Valley had not previously

received executed copies of the Proposed Consents, New

Valley sent a letter to CPA’s counsel setting forth New

Valley’s understanding that no assignments had been

implemented with respect to the Reno or Bridgeton Leases

and that New Valley remained the tenant under those Leases.

App. at 5a; App. B at 30a; App. C at 81a. CPA’s counsel

responded in a letter that it was CPA’s position that an

assignment had indeed occurred and that New Valley was

attempting to construct a “creative bankruptcy solution” in

order to avoid FSI’s liability on the Reno and Bridgeton

Leases.' App. A at 5a; App. B at 30a.

1. CPA’s claims against New Valley, a Chapter 11 debtor, are

capped at one year’s rent pursuant to section 502(b)(6) of the

Bankruptcy Code. By arguing that its tenant was FSI, CPA could

assert a claim for the full remaining multi-year terms of the Leases

without limitation. If successful, CPA could have asserted a breach

of contract claim against FSI that would have been approximately

$7 million greater than the claims it could have lawfully asserted

against New Valley. App. B at 42a.

5

CPA then proceeded to file its initial Proof of Claim

against New Valley in which it stated, under penalty of

perjury, that:

Although the Bridgeton, Missouri and Reno,

Nevada leases were assigned to and assumed by

Western Union Financial Services, Inc. (“FSI”),

a non-debtor subsidiary of the Debtor, because

the Debtor has taken the position in this

bankruptcy case that the two leases were not

assigned, CPA:2 and CPA:3 have included these

amounts in its Proof of Claim as a precautionary

measure. CPA:2 and CPA:3 hereby reserve the

right to argue that the Bridgeton and Reno leases

were in fact assigned to and assumed by FSI.

App. A at 7a; App. B at 31a (emphasis added).

CPA’s motive for proceeding in this fashion was patent

to all. As the Bankruptcy Court explained:

CPA’s course of action becomes more

understandable when considered against the

backdrop of New Valley’s financial difficulties

both pre-bankruptcy and afterwards. As New

Valley points out, its lengthy history of financial

difficulty and involuntary bankruptcy were well

known. When New Valley filed its motion to

extend the time to assume the Moorestown, Reno

and Bridgeton Leases, and CPA had miraculously

uncovered the executed consents, New Valley was

in the early stages of its voluntary case, the

outcome of which was unknown, and FSI was a

solvent non-debtor subsidiary. The attractiveness

6

of FSI as a tenant rather than New Valley ts

readily apparent. Again, as New Valley points out,

Jones knew that while § 365 and 502(b)(6) of the

Bankruptcy Code would limit CPA’s claims in

the New Valley bankruptcy, no such limitation

existed if FSI was the tenant.

App. C at 86a.

At all times, CPA knew that the Leases had not been

assigned to FSI, that New Valley, not FSI, was the party

liable for rejection or breach of the Leases, and that CPA's

ability to obtain damages would therefore be limited by

§ 502(b) of the Bankruptcy Code. App. C. at 79a-86a.

CPA knew the leases had not been assigned to FSI because

no assignment of the Leases could have been effective

without CPA’s consent, which it had never given. Therefore,

after New Valley was in bankruptcy, and despite CPA's

knowledge that there had never been an assignment, CPA

manufactured evidence of its consent by signing and

backdating a “Consent to Assignment” form that was

originally prepared in 1990 in connection with a deal that

was never consummated. Virtually all of New Valley's

accusations against CPA were found by the Bankruptcy Court

to be true, leaving no doubt about CPA’s fraudulent behavior.

App. C at 79a-88a.

After eight days of evidentiary hearings, the Bankruptcy

Court found that, inter alia, CPA intentionally and falsely

maintained that the Leases were assigned (App. C at 79a);

CPA asserted that position as a “negotiating tactic” (id.);

CPA “backdated and then produced [the consents] to avoid

the prospect of being limited to a lease rejection claim in the

New Valley bankruptcy” (App. C at 81a, 86a); “Jones” lack

7

of memory” was not “credible” (App. C at 85a ); CPA’s

“lack of any explanation as to why CPA did not tender the

allegedly executed consents to New Valley” was

“remarkable” (App. C at 86a); neither “Jones or CPA as an

entity were confused as to whether New Valley or FSI was

the tenant” (id.); it is “inconceivable” that CPA did not know

who the tenant was (App. C at 87a); and “expert testimony

convincingly demonstrates that the consents were backdated”

(App. C. at 81la-82a, 97a). CPA did not appeal from the

Bankruptcy Court's underlying factual findings, which were

adopted by the District Court.

Although the Bankruptcy Court declined to punish CPA

for its fraud, the District Court properly concluded on appeal

that, based upon the Third Circuit’s opinion in Gaudiosi v.

Mellon, 269 F.2d 873 (3d Cir. 1959), the Bankruptcy Court

was in error. The District Court observed that although CPA’s

fraudulent claims were directed at FSI, CPA asserted a theory

it knew to be false, manufactured evidence, and proffered

false testimony concerning its conduct in New Valley's

bankruptcy proceeding through proofs of claim and other

pleadings, thus committing its fraud before the Bankruptcy

Court. App. B at 52a-S3a.

There was unrebutted evidence at trial that New Valley

was actually harmed by CPA’s attempted fraud. New Valley

was obligated to indemnify FSI in full for any liability under

the Leases’, and it expended hundreds of thousands of dollars

in defending, investigating and ultimately exposing as

2. New Valley's indemnification obligation arose because FSI

was sold at the conclusion of New Valley's bankruptcy case as part

of its plan of reorganization. At the time CPA first asserted its

fraudulent assignment theory, FSI was still the wholly-owned

subsidiary of New Valley.

|

8

fraudulent CPA’s assignment claims. Of course, New Valley

would necessarily have been severely harmed if CPA had

succeeded in its scheme to nominally defraud FSI, because

FSI was a wholly owned subsidiary of New Valley and the

only significant asset of New Valley’s bankruptcy estate.

The District Court correctly ruled that it is abhorrent to the

principles of bankruptcy jurisprudence that a creditor may

come into a court of equity with unclean hands, and yet share

in the assets of the bankruptcy estate. App. B at 50a-53a.

On appeal, the Panel reversed the District Court

concluding that the facts did not establish a direct relationship

between CPA’s inequitable conduct and its claim in the

Bankruptcy Court against New Valley for the unclean hands

doctrine to apply. App. A at 18a, 21a-23a.

The Bankruptcy Court had jurisdiction over this matter

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334 and the Standing Order of

Reference by the United States District Court of New Jersey,

dated July 23, 1984, and because the matter is a core

proceeding under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B). The United

States District Court had mandatory jurisdiction to hear the

appeal from the final order of the Bankruptcy Court pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1) and Fed. R. Bank. Pro. 8001(a),

and jurisdiction over the subject matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334. Appellate jurisdiction in the Court of the Appeals

for the Third Circuit arose pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 158(d),

28 U.S.C. § 1291 and 28 U.S.C. § 1294.

t

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

By holding that a fraudulent breach of contract claim

asserted against a bankruptcy debtor’s wholly owned

subsidiary is not sufficiently “related” to a subsequent

assertion of that claim against the debtor itself to implicate

the unclean hands doctrine, the Third Circuit committed clear

error. The Third Circuit improperly renounced this Court’s

longstanding precedent, established in Keystone Driller Co.

v. General Excavator Co., 290 U.S. 240, 245 (1933), that

the unclean hands doctrine may apply so long as the

inequitable conduct “in some measure affect the equitable

relations between the parties in respect of something brought

before the court for adjudication” in favor of a wooden rule

that the inequitable conduct must be committed, and not

abandoned, in direct pursuit of the claim.

The need for this Court to grant a writ of certiorari to

correct the Third Circuit’s opinion and ruling is acute,

because it is not only New Valley alone that will suffer from

the Panel’s errors. Rather, the Third Circuit, perhaps

inadvertently, has created a socially destructive rule that a

litigant is free to behave dishonesty before the court without

fear of reprisal or adverse consequences. The dishonest

litigant can give its best efforts to succeed in its fraud, while

maintaining the option to come back into court and recover

by asserting a conflicting set of facts if the fraud should be

discovered before trial. That is precisely what the Third

Circuit permitted CPA to do here.

10

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ SEVERE RESTRICTION

UPON THE CIRCUMSTANCES IN WHICH A COURT

MAY APPLY THE UNCLEAN HANDS DOCTRINE

CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPAL AND UNDERMINES THE

PRECEDENTIAL VALUE OF THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

IN KEYSTONE AND PRECISION INSTRUMENT

chinese ens pet Fro

The July 6, 1999 opinion (the “Opinion”) of the Third ‘

Circuit Panel (the “Panel”) reversing the Order of the United

States District Court for the District of New Jersey (Wolin,

J.) barring CPA’s claim for relief on the basis of unclean

hands was erroneous and contrary to this Court’s decisions

in Keystone Driller Co. v. General Excavator Co., 290 U.S. !

240, 245 (1933) (“Keystone”) and Precision Instrument Mfg. ;

Co. v. Automotive Maintenance Mach. Co., 324 U.S. 806 |

(1945). The basis of the Panel’s decision — that CPA’s fraud

and misconduct did not bear a sufficient relationship to the

claims against New Valley — undermines the Supreme

Court’s prior holdings that the cause of action need not be

the fruit of a party’s misconduct, but such misconduct must

only affect in some measure the equitable relations among

the parties. In the instant case, the equitable relations among

the parties can be summarized as follows:

(1) New Valley was a chapter 11 debtor;

(2) The value of New Valley’s estate consisted almost

entirely of the value of its wholly-owned non-debtor

subsidiary, FSI;

(3) CPA was a creditor of New Valley by virtue of its

status as New Valley’s landlord;

lll

1]

(4) CPA sought to avoid the legal consequences of New

Valley’s bankruptcy by fraudulently asserting that FSI was

liable under the Leases, and manufacturing evidence to

support these assertions;

(5) CPA asserted its fraudulent theory in the Proofs of

Claim filed in New Valley’s bankruptcy proceeding, and in

subsequent testimony and argument before the Bankruptcy

Court.

(6) Had CPA been successful in perpetrating its fraud,

(a) CPA would have been precluded from asserting its present

claims against New Valley, while at the same time (b) the

value of New Valley’s estate would have been diminished

by additional millions of dollars.

(7) CPA returned to court after failing in its fraud to

seek to hold New Valley liable for those Leases.

Clearly, CPA’s conduct affected the equitable relations

of the parties as set forth in Keystone.

In Keystone Driller Co. v. General Excavator Co., 290

U.S. 240, 245 (1933), this Court articulated the unclean hands

doctrine as follows:

It is one of the fundamental principles upon which

equity jurisprudence is founded, that before a

complainant can have standing in court he must

first show that not only has he a good and

meritorious cause of action, but he must come into

court with clean hands ... The governing

principle is that whenever a party who, as actor,

seeks to set the judicial machinery in motion and

12

obtain some remedy, has violated conscience, or

good faith, or other equitable principle, in his prior

conduct, then the doors of the court will be shut

against him in limine; the court will refuse to

interfere on his behalf, to acknowledge his right,

or to award him any remedy ... The equitable

powers of this court can never be exerted on behalf

of one who has acted fraudulently, or who by

deceit or any unfair means has gained an

advantage. To aid the party in such a case would

make this court an abetter of iniquity.

290 U.S. at 244-245 (citations omitted).

In Keystone, the plaintiff had alleged that the defendant

was infringing upon five of its patents. The defendant there

argued that the plaintiffs claims should be barred by unclean

hands because the plaintiff had improperly suppressed

evidence of a prior use of one of the patented devices in a

prior infringement action against a different defendant.

Id. 290 U.S. at 243. The district court, like the Bankruptcy

Court here, concluded that the misconduct was reprehensible,

and was motivated by an improper purpose. Nonetheless,

the lower court did not bar the claim, finding that the

misconduct as to the first patent was not related to the merits

of the dispute as to the five patents at issue in the second

action. On appeal, this Court adopted a broad view of the

requisite relationship between the misconduct and the equity

sought, and nullified all five patents, even though the

improper conduct related to only one of them. /d. at 246.

Indeed, “[a]ny willful act concerning the cause of action

which rightfully can be said to transgress equitable standards

of conduct is sufficient cause for invocation of the maxim.”

NT eT

13

Precision Instrument Mfg. Co. v. Automotive Maintenance

Mach. Co., 324 U.S. 806, 815 (1945); see also Monsanto v.

Rohm & Haas Co., 456 F.2d 592, 598 (3d Cir. 1972). There

is simply no strict formula that limits the court’s power to

invoke the unclean hands doctrine, and one generally

need only show the following for the doctrine to apply:

(i) an unconscionable act; (ii) that in some measure affects

the equitable relations between the Parties; (iii) concerning

something brought before the court for adjudication.

See Keystone, 290 U.S. at 245.

Under the standard set forth in Keystone, the District

Court’s conclusion that “CPA’s improper conduct was

immediately and necessarily related to the equity CPA sought

before the Bankruptcy Court and definitely affected

the equitable relations between the parties” was correct.

The unclean hands doctrine applies to parties who come into

equity with unclean hands. Keystone, 290 U.S. at 244 (party

“must come into court with clean hands”). CPA came to the

Bankruptcy Court with unclean hands by filing a proof of

claim that fraudulently misrepresented that FSI was liable,

and proceeded to “support” the false position for many

months with fabricated evidence and false testimony.

CPA also asserted the assignment “theory” it knew to

be untrue in a manner that constituted a fraud on the

Bankruptcy Court and an attempted fraud upon New Valley

through, among other artifices, two sworn proofs of claim,

discovery, motion, and litigation practice that CPA attempted

' to support with manufactured evidence.*? CPA’s failure to

3. The Panel expressed concern that the District Court had

focused primarily on the Proposed Consents which related only to

the Reno and Bridgeton Leases, but not the Moorestown property.

(Cont’d)

14

succeed in fraudulently obtaining a ruling that FSI was liable

under the Leases does not negate that CPA pressed a

fraudulent theory. Both the Bankruptcy Court and the District

Court held that the theory itself was a sham. See App. B at

52a; App. C at 79a.

The Panel’s acceptance of CPA’s argument that its proof

of claim was a harmless reservation of rights to assert an

alternative theory (App. A at 22a-23a) is a further error,

which mutes the extreme malevolence of CPA’s conduct and

demonstrates a misunderstanding of the facts by the Panel.

CPA’s proof of claim, as well the false evidence proffered

by CPA to support its assignment theory, demonstrates that

the proof of claim itself was the alternative fall-back position

to protect CPA from the possibility New Valley prevailed in

establishing the truth. See App. B at 31a (“Although the

Bridgeton, Missouri and Reno, Nevada leases were assigned

to and assumed by Western Union Financial Services, Inc.

(“FSI”), a non-debtor subsidiary of the Debtor, because the

Debtor has taken the position in this bankruptcy case that

the two leases were not assigned, CPA:2 and CPA:3 have

included these amounts in its Proof of Claim as a

precautionary measure.”). The Panel’s conclusion that CPA

was “merely” reserving its rights to assert a “differing

(Cont'd)

Because New Valley never requested or transmitted a Proposed

Consent to assignment with respect to the Moorestown Lease, CPA

was unable to assert its fraudulent theory with respect to

Moorestown. Nonetheless, New Valley does not believe it is

improper to bar all of CPA’s similar claims when it had behaved so

fraudulently and deceitfully with respect to some of them. However,

the fact that CPA did not manufacture evidence of an assignment of

the Moorestown lease most certainly does not cleanse CPA of its

other wrongdoings but at most may have some bearing upon the

proper extent of the remedy.

———

15

interpretation” demonstrates that the Panel misunderstood

the issue: it is not CPA’s inconsistent reservation of supposed

rights against New Valley that bars its claims, but that CPA

dedicated its efforts to perpetrating a fraud in the first

instance, holding the truth in abeyance as a “precautionary

measure” in case its fraud failed.

CPA’s misconduct clearly was “related to” the relief

CPA sought. The relief CPA sought was a finding that FSI,

New Valley’s subsidiary, was liable to it for damages under

the Leases; CPA asserted that the proofs of claim were filed

against New Valley in the event that CPA was unsuccessful

in establishing FSI’s liability. To get that relief, CPA filed

fraudulent proofs of claim with the Bankruptcy Court that

misrepresented that FSI was the true liable party, and

manufactured evidence — the backdated Proposed Consents

— to support the claim. The essential and direct relationship

is clear if the Court considers the consequences that would

have resulted if CPA had accomplished its fraud: the claims

upon which CPA now seeks to recover could not have been

filed against New Valley because CPA’s fraud would have

produced a determination that New Valley was not the tenant

under the Leases. Because successful accomplishment of the

fraudulent scheme would have been outcome determinative and

preclusive as to the claims CPA asserts against New Valley,

CPA’s fraud was necessarily closely related to and determinative

of the equities and claims between the parties.

In contrast, the resulting precedent established by the

Panel’s decision requires, in actuality, nothing short of a finding

that the existence of the cause of action must be the fruit of the

fraud. This result conflicts directly with the Supreme Court’s

decision in Precision Instrument Mfg. Co. v. Automotive

Maintenance Machinery Co., 324 U.S. 806 (1945), which

16

explicitly held that the cause of action need not have been the

fruit of the misconduct.

In Precision Instrument, the plaintiff sued the defendant

for breach of contract and patent infringement. The contract

and one of the patents resulted from a settlement of a prior

dispute between the parties concerning the defendant’s fraud

and perjury in connection with a patent application. The plaintiff

did not report the defendant’s fraud to the Patent Office or the

District Attorney, choosing instead to settle the dispute and

acquire the rights to the patent. On appeal, the Supreme Court

held that plaintiff's failure to report the defendant’s fraud and

perjury to the authorities required the court to invoke the unclean

hands doctrine to bar the plaintiff's claims, despite the fact that

plaintiff's misconduct was not the substance of its claims

against the defendant. Precision Instrument at 816-819.

See also Manhattan Medicine Co. v. Wood, 108 U.S. 218 (1883)

(unclean hands barred plaintiffs trademark infringement claim

where plaintiff made false statements to the public concerning

the product, even though the misconduct had no bearing on its

claims against the defendant).

In the instant case, the relationship is far more proximate.

As explained above, CPA’s success or failure in carrying

out its fraudulent attempt to portray FSI as the tenant would

have been directly determinative of whether it would have

any ability to subsequently assert that New Valley is the

tenant liable for breach of the Leases. A successful fraud

would have precluded assertion of the same claims directly

against New Valley.

Additionally, the Panel appears to have overlooked that,

as the wholly owned subsidiary and primary asset of New

Valley, any pecuniary injury to FSI causes equal economic

ar mmaacsscmccseasccmmcmmmacmscmmmcss ae

17

injury to New Valley by diminishing the net value of New

Valley’s primary asset, FSI. Thus, CPA’s attempted to assert

uncapped claims against FSI would have caused greater

damage to New Valley than if it had asserted its statutorily

capped claim directly against New Valley. The fraud against

FSI was thus equally a fraud upon New Valley. The Panel

appears to have overlooked this point in concluding that there

was no sufficient relationship between CPA’s claims against

New Valley and its earlier fraudulent conduct. In so erring,

the Third Circuit has effectively overruled Keystone and

Precision.

For these reasons, New Valley urges that a writ of

certiorari is necessary to correct the Panel’s decision to the

extent it is inconsistent with Keystone and Precision

Instrument and/or to the extent the Panel’s decision resulted

from a clearly erroneous apprehension of the proximate

relationship between CPA’s attempted fraud on New Valley

through FSI, and its subsequent direct claims against New

Valley.

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD BE ISSUED

BECAUSE THE PANEL’S DECISION, IF LEFT TO

STAND, CREATES PRECEDENT THAT A PARTY

MAY, WITH IMPUNITY, ATTEMPT TO DEFRAUD ITS

ADVERSARY AND THE TRIAL COURT SO LONG AS

IT ABANDONS THAT ATTEMPT ONCE CAUGHT.

New Valley also urges that a writ of certiorari should

issue because this action will otherwise set a socially

destructive precedent. It is uncontested that the Bankruptcy

Court found, and the District Court observed, that CPA had

18

attempted to perpetrate a fraud on the court by, among other

things, manufacturing and utilizing false evidence, and

propounding a “theory” it knew to be false. See supra. It is

also clear from the record that the fraud was perpetrated for

the purpose of obtaining millions of dollars of damages which

are barred by applicable bankruptcy law. Yet, the Panel’s

decision fully excused CPA’s conduct. In effect, the Panel

has ruled that parties, despite oaths under penalty of perjury,

may try to deceive courts and manufacture evidence to

support the deception provided that the deception is

abandoned after discovery by the Court.* Despite its

egregious behavior, CPA goes unpunished under the Panel’s

decision, whereas the targeted victim, New Valley, was

forced to spend nearly $1 million to uncover and demonstrate

CPA’s fraud upon the Bankruptcy Court, and put at risk of

losing millions more if it had failed to do so.

Generally speaking, the importance of an issue is a

reason for this Court to grant review. See, e.g., Burson v.

Freeman, 504 U.S. 191, 194 (1992) (“Because of the

importance of the issue, we granted certiorari.””). There can

be few questions of more important and or more pervasive

effect than those which threaten to undermine public

confidence in and respect for the legal system. Jn re Abrams,

521 F.2d 1094 (3d Cir), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1038 (1975)

(maintenance of public confidence in our legal system and

the bar is an important policy); Jn re Quakertown Glass Co.,

73 B.R. 468, 470 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1987) (“the courts and

the Bar are responsible for maintaining public confidence in

the legal system’’). See also, In re Levander, 180 F.3d 1114,

1118 (3d Cir. 1999) (courts’ historic power to set aside or

amend fraudulently begotten judgments arises from the

4. CPA continued in its fraud long after it had been discovered

by New Valley.

19

principal that tampering with the administration of justice

in this manner involves far more than an injury to a single

litigation. It is a wrong against the institutions set up to

protect and safeguard the public.”).

The unclean hands doctrine is an important hedge around

the integrity of the legal system, and hence the public

welfare,’ because

[p]ublic policy not only makes it obligatory for

courts to deny a plaintiff relief once his ‘unclean

hands’ are established but to refuse to even hear

a case under such circumstances.

Gaudiosi v. Franklin, 269 F.2d 873, 882 (3d Cir. 1959).

The Panel’s decision unfortunately states in certain terms

that a multi-million dollar fraud effort that entailed, among

other things, fabrication of evidence, is not the sort of

inequitable and deceptive conduct that the courts should

penalize. Public policy, however, required the court to close

its doors to CPA after CPA conducted itself before the court

in a manner so shocking to the sensibilities. See Art Metal

Wor:s v. Abraham & Straus, 70 F.2d 641, 646 (2d Cir. 1934)

(Learned Hand dissent) (“The doctrine [of unclean hands] is

confessedly derived from the unwillingness of a court,

originally and still nominally one of conscience, to give its

peculiar relief to a suitor who in the very controversy has so

conducted himself as to shock the moral sensibilities of the

judge.”’).

5. See, e.g., Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co.,

322 U.S. 238, 246 (1944) (“The public welfare demands that the

agencies of public justice be not so impotent that they must always

be mute and helpless victims of deception and fraud.”)

20

A writ of certiorari is therefore appropriate and necessary

in this case, because allowing the Panel’s decision to stand

would create a rule, at least in the Third Circuit, that a party

seeking money from a bankruptcy debtor need not conduct

itself in accordance with fundamental ethical standards or

black letter law, transfiguring the distinction between truth

and lie into a mere abstraction. Accordingly, New Valley

submits that the Panel’s conclusions should be reviewed by

this Court.

CONCLUSION

CPA’s fraudulent and dishonest conduct — fabricating

false evidence and perpetrating a fraud upon the court in a

failed effort to circumvent unfavorable bankruptcy law by ;

asserting claims for breach of certain leases against debtor |

New Valley’s wholly owned non-debtor subsidiary instead

of New Valley — is sufficient to bar CPA’s claims under

the unclean hands doctrine under the Keystone rule. Instead,

of barring the claims, the Panel employed a novel rule of

law whereby the subject claim must constitute the fraudulent

conduct. This is inconsistent with the Supreme Court’s rule

in Precision Instrument that the fraud must concern the

claim, not constitute the claim. Because New Valley would

have been a derivative victim of CPA’s scheme because it

attempted to injure New Valley by devaluing its wholly

owned subsidiary (and sole asset) with millions of dollars

of false claims, CPA’s conduct concerned its claims for relief

against New Valley.

Additionally, the Panel’s Opinion effectuates an

incorrect public policy decision of exceptional consequence.

CPA propounded a blatantly fraudulent position in order to

injure New Valley by extracting more money than it was

iia

21

legally entitled to from New Valley’s sole asset. After getting

caught and thus having no remaining option but to abandon

the fraud, CPA adopted a directly inconsistent position with

regard to its claims to see what it could salvage by resort to

the truth. The Panel’s decision to permit CPA to remain in

court under these circumstances creates a rule that condones

and rewards dishonest litigants who abandon a fraud upon

the court and upon their adversary for no other reason than

necessity after getting caught undermines the entire moral

paradigm of our judicial system. New Valley’s Petition for

a Writ of Certiorari should be granted to prevent the

constructive reversal of this Court’s precedent in Keystone

and Precision Instrument, and to safeguard the efficacy of

the unclean hands doctrine in discouraging litigants from

defrauding their adversaries and the courts.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD G. LEVISON

Counsel of Record

Davip M. FRIEDMAN

RoBERT M. Novick

KASOwITZ, BENSON, TORRES

& FRIEDMAN LLP

Attorneys for Petitioner

1301 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019

(212) 506-1700

ee

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION AND JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT DATED AND FILED JULY 6, 1999

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 98-6267

IN RE: NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Debtor

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

c/o BROOKE GROUP LTD.

¥.

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES 2 AND 3,

c/o W.P. CAREY & COMPANY, INC.

Corporate Property Associates 2 and 3,

Appellants

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. No. 98-cv-00982)

District Judge: Honorable Alfred M. Wolin

Argued Friday, May 21, 1999

2a

Appendix A

BEFORE: McKEE, RENDELL and GARTH,

Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed July 6, 1999)

* * *

OPINION OF THE COURT

GARTH, Circuit Judge:

This appeal presents us with the question of whether the

doctrine of unclean hands can be applied to deny relief to a

landlord-creditor when the Bankruptcy Court has held the

landlord-creditor’s Proofs of Claim were not related to the

events giving rise to the assertion of unclean hands.

In this case, the Bankruptcy Court held that the alleged

“unclean hands” did not bar the claims for relief sought by

the landlord-creditor, Corporate Property Associates

(“CPA”). The District Court for the District of New Jersey

reversed that determination and denied all relief to CPA.

We agree with the Bankruptcy Court that the challenged

actions taken by CPA did not relate to the matters for which

CPA sought payments under its leases, and that the Proofs

of Claim filed by CPA did no more than reserve CPA’s rights,

which were controverted by the lessee, New Valley

Corporation (“New Valley”). Accordingly, we will reverse

the district court’s Order dated July 13, 1998, denying relief

to CPA, and remand to the district court so that it may resolve

the remaining issues raised by the parties in their respective

appeals to the district court.

ee

3a

Appendix A

I.

The district court had appellate jurisdiction over the final

order of the Bankruptcy Court, dated January 26, 1998 which

followed from its opinion of December 23, 1997, pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 158(a).

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 158(d)

and 28 U.S.C. § 1291 over the final order of the district court,

dated July 13, 1998, which dismissed the claims of CPA

against New Valley. CPA filed a timely Notice of Appeal

on August 11, 1998.

II.

In November, 1981, CPA' purchased properties in Reno,

Nevada; Moorestown, New Jersey and Bridgeton, Missouri,

from the Western Union Realty Corporation. The Western

Union Telegraph Company had been the tenant of the

properties, which had been owned by Western Union Realty

Corporation.

In December 1981, Western Union Telegraph Company

changed its name to Western Union Corporation (“WUC”).

WUC continued to be the tenant of record of the properties.

In August, 1989, Western Union Financial Services, Inc.

(formerly a division of WUC) (“FSI”) was spun off as a

wholly-owned corporate subsidiary. Two years later, in April,

1991, WUC changed its name to New Valley Corporation.

1. There are actually two entities involved as appellees, CPA

2 and CPA 3, which will be referred to collectively as “CPA.”

4a

Appendix A

On March 15, 1990, Donald Wasson, Director of Real

Estate Operations for New Valley,’ faxed proposed “Consent

to Assignment” forms (the “Consents”) to Barclay Jones,

then Vice President of CPA.’ The cover letter to the proposed

consent forms stated that as a result of Western Union’s

corporate restructuring, New Valley wished “to assign its

lease[s]” to FSI for the Bridgeton and Reno properties. The

proposed Consents concerned only the Bridgeton and Reno

properties. No attempt was made by New Valley to assign

the Moorestown, New Jersey lease. New Valley asked that

CPA execute the Consents.

CPA took no immediate action on the two proposed

Consents. About a month later, however, Wasson and Jones

had a telephone conversation in which Jones stated that CPA

would not agree to any assignments unless the Moorestown

lease was also assigned by New Valley to FSI. Wasson

replied that New Valley did not want to assign the

Moorestown lease, as a decision had already been made by

New Valley to abandon Moorestown. FSI had already been

operating out of the Bridgeton and Reno properties, whereas

New Valley had already moved much of its operation out of

Moorestown. Wasson confirmed his impression that CPA

had not agreed to the assignment of the Bridgeton and Reno

2. Although, as indicated, WUC did not change its name until

April 1991, “New Valley” will be used throughout in the interest of

clarity.

3. CPA’s brief identifies Jones as Vice President of CPA’s

“general partner.” Because no further identification of CPA’s general

partner appears in the record, we refer to Jones as CPA’s Vice

President.

a

Sa

Appendix A

leases in an internal April 12, 1990 memorandum. Jones

testified at trial that there had been no meeting of the minds

with regard to the assignments of the leases.

No discussions were held between the parties on the issue

of the assignments until May, 1993. On May 18, 1993, CPA

faxed to New Valley what were purported to be executed

“Consent to Assignment” forms for the Bridgeton and Reno

leases. New Valley was already in bankruptcy by that date.

In a letter from New Valley to CPA’s counsel, dated

September 8, 1993, New Valley stated that it “flatly

dispute{d]” CPA’s execution of the proposed Consents. New

Valley had no record of the fully executed “Consent to

Assignment” forms in its files. CPA responded with a letter

on September 30, 1993, stating that New Valley’s position

reflected only a “creative bankruptcy solution” that was

intended to shield FSI from liability.

On October 4, 1993, John C. Walters, a Senior Vice

President of New Valley, sent a letter to CPA in order to

clarify the situation involving the Bridgeton and Reno leases.

The letter stated that “[w]hile FSI admittedly has operated

out of the Bridgeton and Reno sites since it became

operational in 1990, it has done so pursuant to an agreement

with New Valley . . . which obligates FSI to reimburse New

Valley for its pro rata share of the expenses... .” Walters

noted that New Valley had wanted to assign the leases to

FSI in 1990, but that it believed it could not do so without

CPA’s approval.

The Consents that were forwarded by CPA on May 18,

1993, had been signed on behalf of CPA by Jones, but they

were dated April 15, 1990. Jones was named as “Executive

6a

Appendix A

Vice President,” a title that he in fact did not attain until

approximately a year after the purported execution date. The

date the Consents were executed, April 15, 1990, also

happened to be the date of Easter Sunday. New Valley at

trial presented evidence that the Consents could not have

been executed on April 15, 1990, and the Bankruptcy Court

credited this evidence. At trial, Jones testified that although

he recalled signing the Consents, he could not recall whether

he signed them on Easter Sunday, 1990.

In addition, there was evidence that, even after the

purported date of the assignments (April 15, 1990), CPA

was aware that New Valley in fact remained the tenant of

Bridgeton and Reno. For example, Jones testified that, in

September 1991, CPA sent a letter to New Valley announcing

a rent increase. Further, CPA accountants requested

information from New Valley in December 1991 and again

in December 1994 relating to the tenancy of Bridgeton and

Reno.

Hl.

The instant litigation commenced on November 15,

1991, when an involuntary Chapter 11 petition was filed

against New Valley. New Valley consented to an entry of an

order for relief under Chapter 11 on March 30, 1993.

In April, 1993, New Valley moved before the

Bankruptcy Court to reyect the Moorestown lease. At about

the same time, New Valley moved to extend the deadline to

assess whether to reject the leases for Bridgeton and Reno.

On May 24, 1993, the Bankruptcy Court approved the

rejection of the Moorestown lease. Although initially CPA

i eallalciliaealaladeaiiaiaalallll

Ta

Appendix A

objected to the extension of the deadline sought by New

Valley, it withdrew its objection because, it alleged, these

leases [Bridgeton and Reno] may have been assi gned to FSI.

As earlier mentioned, on May 18, 1993, in support of its

argument that the Bridgeton and Reno leases had been

assigned to FSI, CPA faxed copies of what were purported

to be fully executed “Consent to Assignment” forms for those

leases. On September 8, 1993, New Valley wrote to CPA

and stated that it was New Valley’s understanding that the

leases had not been assigned. In its September 30, 1993 letter,

CPA implied that whether the leases had been assigned

informally or de facto was a question best resolved through

litigation.

Also on September 30, 1993, CPA filed its first Proof

of Claim with the Bankruptcy Court. With respect to the

Bridgeton and Reno leases, CPA contended that

[a]lthough the [Bridgeton and Reno] leases were

assigned and assumed by [FSI], a non-debtor

subsidiary of [New Valley], because [New Valley]

has taken the position in this bankruptcy case that

the two leases were not assigned, [CPA] hafs]

included these amounts in its Proof of Claim as a

precautionary measure. [CPA] hereby reserve[s]

the right to argue that the Bridgeton and Reno

leases were in fact assigned to and assumed by

FSI.

CPA included an almost identical reservation of rights in its

second Proof of Claim, which was filed on January 20, 1995.

8a

Appendix A

This second Proof of Claim was concerned only with Reno,

and was evidently filed to reflect additional information. The

Bankruptcy Court approved New Valley’s rejection of the

Reno lease in December 1994.

After extensive discovery and briefing, the Bankruptcy

Court resolved some rental issues in an order dated October

29, 1996, on the parties’ cross-motions for summary

judgment on New Valley’s objections to the Proofs of Claim.

Those matters not resolved on motions proceeded to trial on

issues relating only to the Reno and Moorestown properties.

CPA’s claims concerning Bridgeton had been settled before

trial, and CPA’s claims regarding Bridgeton were withdrawn

with prejudice in June, 1997.

The trial, which was held in July, 1997, took eight days

to complete. The Bankruptcy Court determined that CPA’s

statements in its Proofs of Claim — and its similar statements

in January 1996 in a response to New Valley’s Request for

Admissions and Interrogatories — did not constitute

admissions by CPA of its belief that the leases had been

assigned. Rather, the Bankruptcy Court held that CPA did

not have sufficient information to determine whether the

leases had been assigned or not.

On December 23, 1997, the Bankruptcy Court issued an

opinion in favor of CPA. The Bankruptcy Court, after

deducting certain amounts from CPA’s claims, awarded CPA

a total of $2,888,469.30 in unpaid rent and other costs.‘

4. CPA had claimed a total due from New Valley of

$3,499 ,084.84.

9a

Appendix A

Approximately $824,000.00 of this amount was attributable

to the Reno lease, and the remainder ($2,056,469.30) was

attributable to the Moorestown lease.°

The Bankruptcy Court explicitly found that CPA’s

conduct regarding the assignments of the Bridgeton and Reno

leases did not merit disallowance of its claims. Although

the Bankruptcy Court was “wholly unconvinced” that CPA

actually believed that the Bridgeton and Reno leases had

been assigned, nevertheless it found “no impact on the proofs

of claim ... since the alleged assignments did not bear on

any element of the proof|s] of claim. Without more, they are

not sufficient circumstantial evidence that CPA concocted

an inflated claim. Rather, it appears to have been a somewhat

misguided effort to preserve a right against FSI in the event

CPA was unlikely to be paid in the New Valley case.”®

Further, the Bankruptcy Court agreed with New Valley that

it was “likely that the Consents were backdated and then

produced to avoid the prospect of being limited to a lease

rejection claim in the New Valley bankruptcy.”

The Bankruptcy Court concluded that CPA’s conduct

with regard to a claim against FSI arising out of the alleged

5. We note that these figures, employed by CPA in its brief,

add up to $2,880,469.30, while the Bankruptcy Court, as noted in

text, awarded CPA a total of $2,888,469.30. This discrepancy is

not explained by the parties. The discrepancy, however, does not

affect our disposition of this appeal.

6. Bankruptcy Court Op. at 41.

7. Id. at 25.

10a

Appendix A

assignments, was not dispositive of its claims against New

Valley. “If the court had before it an objection by FSI to a

CPA claim the issues surrounding execution of the Consents

would be directly pertinent.” However, as the claims at issue

were against New Valley, and not FS/, CPA’s conduct did

not warrant having its claims disallowed.

Both parties appealed to the District Court for the District

of New Jersey. While both raised a number of issues, the

district court ruled only on the issue of unclean hands, raised

by New Valley. The other issues, it decided, were rendered

moot by its decision."

8. In addition to the issue of unclean hands, New Valley

appealed the Bankruptcy Court’s evidentiary ruling regarding CPA’s

alleged admissions, and its ruling that CPA’s claim for rent for the

Moorestown property was not subject to 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(6)’s

mandatory cap.

CPA appealed 1) the ruling of the Bankruptcy Court that its

deferred maintenance costs were capped under section 502(b)(6);

2) the calculation of the section 502(b)(6) cap; 3) the determination

of the reasonable rental rate for Moorestown; 4) the exclusion of

CPA’s claim for the cost of retaining maintenance; and 5) the

Bankruptcy Court’s determination of the effective rejection date for

the Moorestown lease.

Because the district court held that all of CPA’s claims were

barred by CPA’s “unclean hands,” it did not reach or decide the

appeals taken with regard to the other issues decided by the

Bankruptcy Court. We have no occasion to address those issues

either, as the only question before us is whether the district court

erred in holding that CPA’s unclean hands barred it from relief.

lla

Appendix A

The district court reversed the Bankruptcy Court’s

determination on the grounds that the Bankruptcy Court had

“abused its discretion . . . because [it] applied the wrong legal

principle.” The district court did not dispute that the

Bankruptcy Court did in fact have discretion to refuse to

apply the unclean hands doctrine.

Specifically, the district court, relying upon Gaudiosi v.

Mellon, 269 F.2d 873 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 902

(1959), concluded that the Bankruptcy Court, by failing to

apply the unclean hands doctrine, did not follow the law of

this Circuit. Rather, the district court concluded that the

doctrine of unclean hands should be applied to protect the

integrity of the court itself, regardless of whether the unclean

hands of a creditor injured a party and regardless of the

presence of any immediate and necessary relationship

between the claims before the court and the events giving

rise to the assertion of unclean hands. The district court then

held that CPA’s conduct involving the Consents amounted

to unclean hands and therefore it disallowed CPA’s claims.

The district court did not hold that the Bankruptcy

Court’s findings of fact were clearly erroneous. However,

while crediting the Bankruptcy Court’s findings of fact, the

district court concluded that CPA had fabricated evidence

(1.e., the executed Consents) and had advocated before the

Bankruptcy Court a theory of assignment that it knew not to

be true. The district court also questioned the testimony that

Jones gave before the Bankruptcy Court. Predicated on its

own analysis, and drawing upon selected findings made by

the Bankruptcy Court, the district court then concluded,

contrary to the conclusion reached by the Bankruptcy Court,

12a

Appendix A

that CPA’s conduct did have an immediate and necessary

relationship with CPA’s claims against New Valley.

The district court closed its opinion with the observation

that “this Court must hold corporations responsible for their

misconceived and improper conduct. Corporate ethics,

professionalism, and verity are not lost on this Court, and

when corporations denigrate these values through lack of

candor ... this Court will not countenance this type of

conduct ... [and will cause it] to apply the appropriate

punishment.” The district court’s “appropriate punishment”

here consisted of barring all relief to CPA, thereby denying

CPA the $2,888,469.30 which the Bankruptcy Court had

determined was due from New Valley.

This appeal followed.

IV.

In bankruptcy proceedings, we have determined that an

abuse of discretion exists when “the [trial] court’s decisions

rests upon a clearly erroneous finding of fact, an errant

conclusion of law, or an improper application of law to fact.”

In re Marvel Entertainment Group, Inc., 140 F.3d 463, 470

(3d Cir. 1998) (citations omitted). Here, as the district court

did not question the Bankruptcy Court’s findings of fact, it

concluded that the Bankruptcy Court had abused its

discretion in not applying the unclean hands doctrine on the

basis of an incorrect conclusion of law.

This court reviews findings of fact by the Bankruptcy

Court under a clearly erroneous standard, and its conclusions

13a

Appendix A

of law under a plenary standard. Jn re Visual Indus., Inc., 57

F.3d 321 (3d Cir. 1995). Because the district court sits as an

appellate court in bankruptcy cases, our review of the district

court’s decision is plenary. /d. at 324. See also Fellheimer,

Eichen & Braverman, P.C. v. Charter T, echnologies, Inc.,

57 F.3d 1215, 1223 (3d Cir. 1995).

CPA frames the issue as whether the Bankruptcy Court,

“which presided over the lengthy proceedings and trial in

this matter, abused its discretion in declining to apply”

unclean hands. CPA referred us to Castle vy. Cohen, 676

F. Supp. 620 (E.D. Pa. 1987), aff'd in part and remanded on

other grounds, 840 F.2d 173 (3d Cir. 1988),’ which had

declined to apply the unclean hands doctrine to trustees of

an employee stock ownership plan. In doing so, CPA

identified five elements that must be present to warrant

application of unclean hands against a party. CPA argued

that the doctrine is applicable when: 1) a party seeking

equitable relief; 2) is guilty of conduct involving fraud,

deceit, unconscionability, or bad faith; 3) directly related to

the matter in issue; 4) that injures the other party; and 5)

affects the balance of equities between the litigants. CPA

claims that essential elements of the unclean hands doctrine

are lacking in the instant case.

9. This court, affirming the Castle district court on this issue,

held that the district court had not abused its discretion in rejecting

a claim that the trustees had “unclean hands.” We recited that under

our “limited scope of review on this issue [unclean hands], we cannot

conclude after reviewing the record [in Castle v. Cohen] that the

district court’s finding on this point is clearly erroneous.” Castle,

840 F.2d at 178.

l4a

Appendix A

In particular, CPA argued that there was no direct

relationship between its conduct regarding the “Consent to

Assignment” forms and its Proofs of Claim. CPA reinforces

its argument by referring to the Supreme Court’s “clean

hands” analysis in Keystone Driller Co. v. General

Excavating Co., 290 U.S. 240 (1933), which, among other

elements, requires that there be an “immediate and necessary

relationship” between the conduct and the matters in

litigation. The Supreme Court stated:

[C]Jourts of equity do not make the quality of

suitors the test. They apply the maxim requiring

clean hands only where some unconscionable act

of one coming for relief has immediate and

necessary relation to the equity that [the party]

seeks in respect of the matter in litigation. They

do not close their doors because of plaintiff's

misconduct whatever its character, that has no

relation to anything involved in this suit, but only

for such violations of conscience as in some

measure affect the equitable relations between the

parties in respect of something brought before the

court for adjudication. . . . They apply the maxim,

not by way of punishment for extraneous

transgressions, but upon considerations that make

for the advancement of right and justice.

290 U.S. at 245. In Keystone, the plaintiff (Keystone) sued

for patent infringement. In an earlier case, against different

parties, Keystone had prevailed and its patents were declared

valid. Keystone then used this first judgment to bring actions

against other alleged infringers. In the second case, Keystone

SS ee

1Sa

Appendix A

sought preliminary injunctions to protect the patents. The

injunctions were denied, and the case proceeded to trial.

During the course of the trial in Keystone, it was

discovered that Keystone, in its earlier case, had concealed

evidence which questioned and may have tainted the validity

of the patents. Affirming the Court of Appeals, the Supreme

Court held that this conduct by Keystone constituted unclean

hands and barred Keystone from recovery. The Supreme

Court stated that the earlier decree of validity obtained in

Keystone’s first case was used as the basis of Keystone’s

action in its subsequent case. Keystone, 290 U.S. at 246. The

Court inferred that “from the beginning it was plaintiff's

intention through suppression of . . . evidence to obtain [a]

decree in [the first case] for use in subsequent infringement

Suits against these defendants and others.” /d. at 247.

Therefore, Keystone’s misconduct had a direct relation to

the relief sought, so as to bar recovery. /d.

Although here CPA acknowledges that the district court

had determined that the Consents were “immediately and

necessarily related” to the litigation before the Bankruptcy

Court, it argues that the district court erred in reaching that

conclusion. CPA contends that the district court’s conclusion

that CPA lied about the assignment “was never ‘asserted’ in

a manner that would constitute a fraud on the Bankruptcy

Court.”

CPA is persuasive in arguing that the doctrine of unclean

hands should not be used to strip away millions of dollars in

damages for conduct that the Bankruptcy Court had found

was not related to CPA’s claims. Indeed, CPA argues that

16a

Appendix A

unclean hands cannot be applied by way of punishment for

an “extraneous transgression,” see Keystone, 290 U.S. at 245,

particularly where the “transgression” charged in this case

had no relationship to the Moorestown lease.

It must be remembered that no “Consent to Assignment”

form had ever been executed or was claimed by CPA to have

been executed with respect to the Moorestown lease, and

the Moorestown lease was responsible for more than two-

thirds of the damages awarded by the Bankruptcy Court.'®

CPA goes on to argue that to sustain the decision of the

district court would be to grant New Valley “something for

nothing,” i.e. possession of CPA’s property for years without

adequate payment. Such a result, CPA claims, is alien to

principles of equity.

On the other hand, New Valley claims that the district

court was correct in holding that CPA’s conduct barred any

recovery. Referring to our decision in Ciba-Geigy Corp. v.

Bolar Pharmaceutical Company, Inc., 747 F.2d 844 (3d Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1137 (1985), New Valley

charges that for unclean hands to be applied against a party,

10. A fair reading of the Bankruptcy Court’s opinion reveals

that the Bankruptcy Court was concerned only with New Valley’s

challenges to the amount of CPA’s claims, i.e., whether CPA’s

monetary claims arising out of the leases were inflated. As a

consequence, the Bankruptcy Court did not find it necessary to

decide any issue respectii:z the Consents to Assignment but dwelt

only on the rental, maintenance, and other monetary charges that

were the subject of CPA’s Proofs of Claim. Hence, the Bankruptcy

Court concluded, as do we, that the Consents had no relation to the

merits of CPA’s claim.

17a

Appendix A

generally all that needs to be shown are the following: 1) an

unconscionable act; 2) that affects the equitable relations

between the parties; 3) concerning something brought before

the court for adjudication. New Valley claims that we should

focus on whether a party to a controversy has acted in such

a manner as to “shock the moral sensibilities of the judge,”

and, citing to Gaudiosi, 269 F.2d at 882, contends that CPA’s

conduct was directly related to the claims at issue in the

litigation. New Valley contends that merely because CPA

abandoned its “fraudulent” claim before trial does not mean

that its hands became clean after years of having advanced a

theory in motion practice and discovery that both the

Bankruptcy and district courts later discredited as a sham.

New Valley argued that what “CPA sought was a finding

that FSI ... was liable to it for damages under the leases;

the proofs of claim were filed against New Valley in the

event that CPA was unsuccessful in establishing FSI’s

liability.”'' New Valley charged that to obtain that relief,

CPA manufactured evidence and pursued a theory it knew

to be false. “Moreover, CPA’s conduct posed an enormous

monetary risk to New Valley because New Valley was

obligated to indemnify FSI against any liability under the

Reno Lease.””!?

Relying upon Keystone, New Valley argued before us

that there is a broader standard of when conduct is “related”

for purposes of unclean hands. New Valley emphasized that

11. New Valley Br. at 30.

12. /d. at 31.

18a

Appendix A

CPA backdated documents and filed fraudulent proofs of

claim before the Bankruptcy Court, and contended “[iJt

strains credulity to accept CPA’s contention that it backdated

documents and manufactured evidence to support claims that

it did not believe it had placed before the court.”

V.

Although the parties disputed the applicability of

equitable defenses to legal claims in a bankruptcy

proceeding, we are far more concerned with the critical

element of the unclean hands doctrine, i.e., the relationship

between the challenged conduct of CPA pertaining to the

Consents, and the rental and other monies sought by CPA as

a result of the Reno and Moorestown leases. First and

foremost, we are convinced by the Bankruptcy Court’s

findings and its conclusion that the Consents had no

“immediate and necessary” relationship to the Proofs of

Claim. The Proofs of Claims filed by CPA, by their own

terms, reserved for litigation the dispute as to assignment of

the leases. Inasmuch as the Bankruptcy Court’s findings were

not held by the district court to be clearly erroneous, nor can

they be so held by us, those findings could not trigger the

doctrine of unclean hands under our standard of review.

in our view, the primary principle guiding application

of the unclean hands doctrine is that the alleged inequitable

conduct must be connected, i.e., have a relationship, to the

matters before the court for resolution. We will not refuse

relief to a party merely because it has engaged in misconduct

which is unrelated to its claims before the court. Only when

“some unconscionable act of one coming for relief has

19a

Appendix A

immediate and necessary relation to the equity that” the party

seeks, will the doctrine bar recovery. Keystone, 290 U.S. at

245. Here of course those issues involved CPA’s Proofs of

Claim which sought payment for monies due under New

Valley’s leases.

As an equitable doctrine, application of unclean hands

rests within the sound discretion of the trial court. See, e.g.,

Ciba-Geigy, 747 F.2d at 855 (refusing to apply unclean

hands). Moreover, neither we nor the Supreme Court has

required, as argued by New Valley, that application of the

unclean hands doctrine is mandatory. The precedents that

we find controlling make clear that there must be a

relationship between the inequitable conduct and the claims

brought before the court in order for the doctrine to apply;

even then, the court has discretion to limit the reach of the

doctrine to only some of the claims. See, e.g., Keystone, 290

U.S. 240; Ciba-Geigy, 747 F.2d 844.

The Supreme Court in Keystone held that “when

assessing whether to invoke the doctrine of unclean hands,

courts of equity must not be bound by formula or restrained

by any limitation that tends to trammel the free and just

exercise of discretion.” 290 U.S. at 245-46. When applying

the doctrine, the courts in this Circuit have generally been

clear that the connection between the misconduct and the

claim must be close. For example, in Monsanto v. Rohm &

Haas Co., 456 F.2d 592 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 407 U.S.

934 (1972), this Court upheld a judgment declaring a

Monsanto patent invalid and unenforceable. 456 F.2d at 594.

The Court found that Monsanto had misrepresented the

properties of its product (a herbicide) in order to obtain a

20a

Appendix A

patent, although a claim for the same product had been

rejected in an earlier patent application. /d. at 596-97. The

claim of infringement brought by Monsanto therefore directly

depended upon Monsanto’s misrepresentations of

Monsanto’s own patent, thereby providing the essential

relationship for application of the doctrine. Thus, this court,

after citing to Keystone, id. at 598, found that the district

court was correct in concluding Monsanto had come to court

with unclean hands. Monsanto, 456 F.2d at 600.

Where this Court has not applied unclean hands, the

misconduct alleged has not been directly related to the

subject of the plaintiffs suit. In Ciba-Geigy, we upheld the

district court’s grant of a permanent injunction in favor of

Ciba despite allegations that Ciba had unclean hands. The

district court found that evidence that Ciba had mislabelled

drugs, sold adulterated batches of drugs and violated FDA

regulations was insufficient to warrant application of unclean

hands, as it did not involve nor relate to the matter of Ciba’s

claims against Bolar. Ciba-Geigy, 747 F.2d at 855. See also

Northeast Women’s Ctr. v. McMonagle, 868 F.2d 1342, 1354

(3d Cir.) (reversing the district court’s ruling that unclean

hands had precluded Northeast from obtaining an injunction

against the defendants because Northeast’s alleged

misconduct (violation of health regulations) had no

relationship to the defendants’ acts in interfering with

Northeast’s claims), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 901 (1989);

General Dev. Corp. v. Binstein, 743 F. Supp. 1115, 1136

(D.N.J. 1990) (refusing to apply unclean hands despite

evidence that General Development was a general

“malefactor” because that evidence did not relate directly to

the misrepresentations alleged in the complaint).

21a

Appendix A

The two cases relied on most heavily by the parties are

not to the contrary. As we have noted, Keystone, while

holding that unclean hands precluded the plaintiff (Keystone)

from the relief it sought, nevertheless requires an “immediate

and necessary” relationship between the conduct and the

claims at issue. In Keystone, that relationship was found to

be present, and hence, the Supreme Court upheld application

of the doctrine.

In Gaudiosi, this court applied the doctrine of unclean

hands in a proxy contest context. Our court upheld the

determination of the district court that Gaudiosi had tried to

“intimidate” a set of investors by sending a letter to them in

order to influence their votes. In doing so, Gaudiosi had

violated SEC solicitation regulations. Gaudiosi, 269 F.2d at

879. While our court focussed on the integrity of the court

when faced with an assertion of inequitable conduct, and

while we explicitly stated that no injury needed to be shown,

id. at 881-82, it is crystal clear from the facts of the case that

Gaudiosi’s misconduct — the intimidation of shareholders

—— was directly related to the case before the court, which

concerned the validity of a corporate election.

Given these precedents and their uniform requirement

of an “immediate and necessary” relationship between the

challenged conduct and the claims for relief, we cannot

sustain the district court’s decision in this case, where that

relationship is absent. The district court implicitly agreed

with the Bankruptcy Court’s determination that there was

little connection between the Consents and CPA’s Claims.

The district court, while emphasizing the actions of CPA in

backdating the Consents to Assi gnment, at no time suggested

22a

Appendix A

that a direct relationship ever existed between CPA’s conduct

and CPA’s Proofs of Claim.

Rather, in its opinion, the district court stated three

reasons why unclean hands should prevent the recovery of

monies by CPA. First, CPA had alleged a consent to

assignment theory that it knew to be untrue; second, the

testimony of Jones concerning the Consents strongly

indicated a “selective memory;” and third, CPA misleadingly

implied that it was confused as to which entity was CPA’s

tenant. It did so, despite some information in CPA’s

possession that indicated New Valley had remained CPA’s

tenant.

However, none of the issues which the parties disputed

and which pertained to the Moorestown property were

connected with the Consents to Assignment, and it was those

issues that accounted for two-thirds of CPA’s claims. The

Consents, as noted earlier, related only to the Bridgeton and

Reno leases. Moreover, the Consents simply have no

relationship to CPA’s claims for monies against New Valley

arising out of New Valley’s tenancy of Reno. Even more so,

the Consents had no direct relationship to CPA’s claims

concerning Bridgeton. Those claims, as we have uoted, had

been settled earlier. Yet, the district court’s reasons focus

almost exclusively on the issue of the Consents.

Nor do the Proofs of Claim support the district court’s

holding. Indeed, under the district court’s analysis, it is

difficult to imagine what different or alternative language

CPA could have used in its Proofs of Claim to reserve any

of its rights against New Valley. The Proofs of Claim merely

ra a Rt Ag PEI LEIP PD EL PRED diel A ie Ci NP a ie EO ot RS

23a

Appendix A

set forth the fact that CPA and New Valley had differing

interpretations concerning the status of the leases. Had CPA

waited until the assignment issue had been liti gated, it would

have been out of time in presenting its bankruptcy claims

against New Valley.

We hold that the Bankruptcy Court (1) applied the

correct legal standard, drawn from Keystone and Gaudiosi,

which established the principle of direct relationship in the

cases we have cited, and (2) was not clearly erroneous in its

factfinding, when it concluded that there was no immediate

and necessary relationship between New Valley’s assertion

of unclean hands and CPA’s claims.

VI.

We will therefore reverse the Order of the district court

dated July 13, 1998, and remand to the district court for

further proceedings (see, e. g., note 8, supra) consistent with

this opinion.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit

24a

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 98-6267

IN RE: NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Debtor

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

c/o BROOKE GROUP LTD.

Vv.

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES 2 AND 3,

c/o W.P. CAREY & COMPANY, INC.

Corporate Property Associates 2 aud 3,

Appellants

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. No. 98-cv-00982)

District Judge: Honorable Alfred M. Wolin

Argued Friday, May 21, 1999

Present: McKee, Rendell, and Garth, Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

0 OS. en Ee 6 a << «+= we

Aemmpe —S m Sll ei y ll

25a .

Appendix A

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the District of New Jersey

and was argued by counsel on May 21, 1999.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said District

Court dated July 13, 1998 and entered July 17, 1998, be,

and the same is hereby reversed and the cause is remanded

to the District Court for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion. Costs taxed against appellee. All of the above

in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

s/ P. Douglas Sisk

Clerk

Dated: July 6, 1999

26a

APPENDIX B — OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY DATED JULY 13, 1998

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Civil Action No. 98-982

In re

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Reorganized Debtor

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Appellant/Cross-Appellees,

v.

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES,

OPINION

* a *

Appellees/Cross-Appellants.

WOLIN, District Judge

Corporate Property Associates 2 and 3 (“CPA”) filed a

claim in New Valley Corporation’s (“NV”) bankruptcy. After

years of litigation and a trial, the Bankruptcy Court

_ =

27a

Appendix B

determined that CPA should recover $2,888 ,469.30 from

NV’s estate. NV raises three issues on appeal, and CPA

cross-appeals on five of the Bankruptcy Court’s rulings. The

Court has determined that the Bankruptcy Court abused its

discretion by using the wrong legal principle when it decided

that CPA’s improper conduct did not bar its claim. The Court

has also found that the Bankruptcy Court should have denied

CPA any relief because CPA entered a court of equity with

unclean hands. Thus, the Court will reverse the Bankruptcy

Court’s decision, and will deny CPA any relief. The Court

will not address the other issues raised in NV’s appeal and

CPA’s cross-appeal because the Court’s decision on the

doctrine of unclean hands has rendered those issues moot.

Pursuant to Rule 78 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

the Court decided this case without oral arguments.

el nn Ae Ses Aan PSE Oe Map stict ee PIII ns

| BACKGROUND

I. The Leases and Parties

In 1971 and 1972, Western Union Telegraph Company

(“WU”) and Western Union Realty Corporation (“WU

Realty”) entered into three separate leases for three properties

— the Moorestown Property, the Reno Property, and the

Bridgeton Property. The terms of the leases are identical

except for the rent. They are triple net leases, which make

the tenant completely responsible for the repair, maintenance,

and upkeep of the property.

a ee as

In November 1981, CPA purchased the three properties

and an additional property located in Bridgeton from WU

Realty, and became WU’s landlord for the Moorestown,

28a

Appendix B

Reno, and Bridgeton Leases. In December 1981, WU

changed its name to Western Union Corporation (“WUC”),

and thus, WUC became the tenant under the three leases.

During this time, WUC had a wholly-owned subsidiary called

Western Union Financial Services, Inc. (“FSI”). In 1989,

WUC made FSI a separate corporate entity so that FSI could

hold substantial portions of the assets of WUC’s money

transfer business. On April 18, 1991, WUC changed its name

to NV, and thus, NV became the tenant under the three leases.

On March 15, 1990, Donald Wasson, Director of Real

Estate Operations for WUC, sent a letter and signed,

proposed consents to assignment (“Consents”) to Barclay

Jones, then vice president of CPA’s general partner. The

letter requested that CPA consent to the assignment of the

Bridgeton and Reno leases from WUC to FSI. A month later,

Jones told Wasson that CPA would not grant the request

unless WUC also assigned the Moorestown Lease to FSI.

Wasson responded that CPA’s demand was unacceptable

because WUC premised its request on the facts that FSI was

working out of the Bridgeton and Reno Properties and that

the decision had been made to abandon the Moorestown

Property. Wasson then sent his colleague, Jan Wolpert, a

memorandum stating that CPA would not sign the Consents

without the inclusions of the Moorestown Lease. For some

reason, Jones signed the Consents on April 15, 1990.

Although Jones was only a vice president on the date he

allegedly signed the Consents, Executive Vice President

appears below his signature. He did not attain that position

until either June 1990 or April 1991. NV and CPA did not

discuss the Consents again until May 1993.

29a

Appendix B

During NV’s Plan of Reorganization, the Bridgeton

Lease was transferred to FSI. Following that transfer, CPA

signed a formal assumption of lease agreement with FSI

whereby FSI assumed the liabilities under the Bridgeton

Lease and absolved FSI of any liability arising before the

assumption. In November 1994, NV also sold FSI to First

Financial Management Corporation for $1.2 billion as part

of its bankruptcy reorganization. Even though CPA

ultimately withdrew its claim against NV under the Bridgeton

Lease, the Court will include facts regarding the Bridgeton

Lease where they help complete the story.

I]. The Bankruptcy Proceedings

On November 15, 1991, pursuant to Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code, an involuntary petition for bankruptcy was

filed against NV. On March 30, 1993, NV consented to an

entry of an order for relief under Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code.

III. The Leases After the Bankruptcy

A. Moorestown Lease

On May 24, 1993, the Bankruptcy Court approved NV’s

rejection of the Moorestown Lease. The base rent contained

in the Moorestown Lease was $10.85 per square foot. NV

stopped paying rent for the Moorestown Property on July

31, 1991, and stopped paying real property taxes in May

1992.

a i |

30a

Appendix B

B. The Bridgeton and Reno Leases

Near the end of April 1993, NV filed for an application

for an extension of time to assume or reject its remaining

non-residential leases, which included the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases, until its plan of reorganization was

confirmed. CPA filed an objection to NV’s application on

May 14, 1993, but withdrew the objection because it had

discovered that the Bridgeton and Reno leases had been

assigned from NV to FSI in 1990. CPA faxed copies of the

fully executed Consents to NV. After receiving the faxes,

John Walters, NV’s general counsel, told Wasson to search

the files to determine whether NV had ever received the fully

executed Consents. Wasson informed Walters that NV had

never received such Consents.

On September 8, 1993, Walters wrote CPA’s counsel a

letter stating that NV was of the position that the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases had not been assigned, and that NV or its

predecessor had always been the tenant under those Leases.

CPA’s counsel responded with a letter on September 30,

1993, and recounted what had occurred in 1990. First, he

stated that no agreement had been reached on the

Moorestown Lease. Then, he wrote that after CPA told NV

that CPA would not consent to the assignments of the Reno

and Bridgeton Leases unless WUC also assigned the

Moorestown Lease, Wasson told Jones that WUC was

assigning the two leases with or without CPA’s consent.

Thus, CPA’s counsel stated that its record indicated that

WUC assigned the two leases. He added that NV’s position

was a “ ‘creative bankruptcy tactic’ [that] is completely

inconsistent with the operating realities of [FSI].” He

31a

Appendix B

concluded: “[W]hether it can be shown that [FSI] operated

out of Moorestown, Bridgeton, and Reno as a result of an

actual assignment, or by way of a de facto assignment, is the

stuff that lawsuits are made of.”

On September 30, 1993, CPA filed its first of two Proofs

of Claim in NV’s bankruptcy proceeding. Although the first

Proof of Claim dealt mainly with the Moorestown Lease,

CPA included a footnote regarding its position on the Reno

and Bridgeton Leases:

Although the Bridgeton, Missouri, and Reno,

Nevada leases were assigned to and assumed by

[FSI] a non-debtor subsidiary of the Debtor,

because the Debtor has taken the position in this

bankruptcy case that the two leases were not

assigned, CPA[ ]. . . ha[s] included these amounts

in its Proof of Claim as a precautionary measure.

CPA[] ... hereby reserve[s] the right to argue

that the Bridgeton and Reno leases were in fact

assigned to and assumed by FSI.

Thus, in the first Proof of Claim, CPA argued in the

alternative: either it would pursue a claim against NV in the

bankruptcy proceeding, or would seek to recover from FSI.

On October 4, 1993, Walters wrote CPA’s counsel a

letter clarifying FSI’s occupancy of the Reno and Bridgeton

Properties. Walters wrote that FSI and NV had entered into

an agreement whereby FSI could operate out of the Reno

and Bridgeton Properties so long as it reimbursed NV for its

pro rata share of the expenses associated with the property.

32a

Appendix B

Walters added that NV unsuccessfully attempted to assign

the two leases in 1990, and that it could not have assigned

the leases without CPA’s consent.

In late December 1994, NV rejected the Reno Lease.

On January 20, 1995, CPA filed its second Proof of Claim.

Once again, CPA included a footnote in the Proof of Claim

to reserve its right to argue that the Reno Lease had been

assigned to FSI:

Although the lease was assigned to and assumed

by [FSI], a non-debtor subsidiary of the Debtor

which was sold to First Financial Management

Corporation on October 6, 1994, CPA[ ].. . ha[s]

filed this Proof of Claim as a precautionary

measure because the Debtor has taken a position

that the lease was not assigned and, therefore,

rejected the lease. CPA[ ] ... hereby reserve[s]

the right to argue that the Reno Lease was, in fact,

assigned to and assumed by FSI.

C. CPA’s Pursuit of the Assignment Theory

The Court finds it difficult to believe that after arduous

pre-trial discovery and a thorough trial, the parties vigorously

disagree on how long CPA pursued the theory that NV

assigned the Reno and Bridgeton Leases to FSI. NV asserts

that CPA pursued the theory until the time of trial. CPA

argues that it abandoned the theory in June 1996, one year

before the trial. Although CPA pursued the theory during

the early part of the litigation, the facts support CPA’s

argument.

|

———<— Sr rt

33a

Appendix B

In March 1995, CPA filed its Response to Objections of

NV to Proofs of Claim and Motions to Expunge, Disallow

and Reduce Claims (“Response to Objections”). Paragraph

16 provided: “At almost every stage throughout this

bankruptcy case, [CPA] ha[s] asserted that the Bridgeton

Lease and the Reno Lease were previously assigned to FSI

and that such leases were not property of [NV]’s bankruptcy

estate.” Paragraphs 19 and 31 elaborated on CPA’s statement

in Paragraph 16. Paragraph 19 discussed CPA’s lack of

discovery: “Some of the factual allegations contained in this

response are based upon information available to [CPA]. To

the extent that the allegations are based upon information

within the possession of [NV] or FSI, discovery is needed in

order to bring further light to this complicated set of facts.”

In Paragraph 31, CPA asserted that it was not relinquishing

the contention that NV was the lessee of the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases: “To the extent that this Court should find

that the Reno Lease was property of [NV]’s estate, this Court

s.vuld allow the amount asserted, $2,317,497.00, in full as

it is based upon rent due under the Reno Lease with the

502(b)(6) cap applied to such amount.”

When CPA filed its Response to Objection in March

1995, it was not heavily involved in the pursuit of its claims

or in NV’s bankruptcy proceeding. In fact, as of March 1995,

CPA had only responded to NV’s motion to extend time to

decide whether to reject or assume the leases, filed the Proofs

of Claim, and filed its Response to Objections.

On January 12, 1996, CPA filed its Response to NV’s

Request for Admissions and Interrogatories (“Request for

Admissions”). In Paragraph 2, CPA denied that NV had not

34a

Appendix B

assigned the Reno Lease to FSI. However, CPA also

cross-referenced its response to Interrogatory 2, which

provided:

If CPA denies Request No. 2 of the Admissions

Request, state the following:

(a) when the assignment occurred;

RESPONSE: CPA has made reasonable

inquiry and the information known or readily

obtainable by CPA is insufficient to be able

to admit or deny the admission or respond

to this Interrogatory. Response to this

Interrogatory may rely on documents which

cannot be fully identified by CPA because

such documents have not yet been delivered

to CPA in response to their Requests for

Production of Documents.

(b) list all documents that support such denial;

and

RESPONSE: Reno Consent. Additionally,

see response to 2(a) above.

(c) produce copies of all such documents, to the

extent not previously produced to [NV].

RESPONSE: A copy (and the original) of the

Reno Consent has been produced. CPA

cannot produce all documents that support

35a

Appendix B

such denial because responsive documents

may be in the possession of [NV] or FSI and

such documents have not yet been delivered

to CPA in response to their Requests for

Production of Documents. Additionally, see

response to 2(a) above.

After receiving discovery on the assi gnment theory, CPA

contends that it realized that no express assignment had

occurred, and that it would be difficult to prove a de facto

assignment at trial. Thus, CPA claims that it abandoned the

assignment theory, and ultimately released FSI from any

liability on the Reno and Bridgeton Leases in June 1996,

which is more than one year before trial.

IV. Pre-Trial Proceedings Before the Bankruptcy Court

CPA’s claims against NV arose out of NV’s rejection of

the Reno and Moorestown Leases. The claims contained three

general components: (1) a claim for unpaid rent obligations

(“base rent” claims); (2) a claim for unpaid obligations, i.e.,

utilities, maintenance, and service, which the leases obligated

NV to pay, (“additional rent” claims); and (3) a claim for

NV’s breach of covenants in the leases requiring NV to

maintain the properties in good condition (“deferred

maintenance claims”). The total value of CPA’s claims

amounted to $3,499,084.84.

Prior to trial, both NV and CPA moved for summary

judgment. On October 29, 1996, the Bankruptcy Court issued

an interlocutory decision on NV’s motion for partial

summary judgment and CPA’s cross-motion for partial

36a

Appendix B

summary judgment. In denying NV’s motion, the Bankruptcy

Court held that CPA’s Gap Claim is a separate component

of CPA’s claim and not subject to the statutory cap imposed

by § 502(b)(6) of the Bankruptcy Code. The Bankruptcy

Court also held that the rejection damages cap in the

Bankruptcy Code subsumed CPA’s deferred maintenance

claims. Moreover, NV conceded that if the Bankruptcy Court

determined that CPA should recover, then the recovery

should be the full amount allowable under § 502(b)(6) of

the Bankruptcy Code.

Immediately before the trial on CPA’s claims, NV filed

an in limine motion that sought to prohibit CPA from

presenting any evidence regarding its claim under the Reno

Lease. NV argued that CPA should be precluded from

presenting any evidence on this claim because it had admitted

throughout the litigation that the Reno Lease had been

assigned. NV concluded that if it had assigned the lease,

then CPA would have no claim against NV. In denying the

motion, the Bankruptcy Court held that CPA had never made

an unequivocal admission regarding the assignment, and that

NV would not be prejudiced if CPA amended or withdrew

the admission.

V. The Trial

The pre-trial motions, rulings, discovery, and

stipulations reduced CPA’s claims to two components —

base rent claims and additional rent claims on both the

Moorestown and Reno Properties. During the eight-day trial

on NV’s objections to CPA’s claims, NV objected to the

amounts asserted in CPA’s claims and sought to disallow

37a

Appendix B

the claims because of CPA’s alleged misconduct. NV argued

that CPA should not be allowed to recover because it had

deliberately and wrongfully overstated its deferred

maintenance claims for the Reno and Bridgeton Properties

and because it had wrongfully asserted that the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases had been assigned to FSI.

A. Maintenance Men

CPA submitted claims for the maintenance men that it

employed to care for the Reno and Moorestown Properties

after NV vacated them. Samantha Garbus testified that the

maintenance men ensured that the properties complied with

local regulations, and provided CPA with timely notice when

a problem arose. CPA generally employs maintenance men

to oversee vacant properties. In this situation, CPA paid its

maintenance men on a regular basis. Thus, CPA thought that

maintenance men were essential to its effective management

of the properties.

Both leases contained the identical Article III, which

deals with additional rent:

Section 3.1. The Tenant covenants and agrees to

pay, as additional rent, before any interest or

additional charge may be added thereto for the

non-payment thereof, all real estate taxes, special

assessments, water and sewer charges and other

governmental charges, general and specific,

ordinary and extraordinary, unforeseen as well as

foreseen, of any kind and nature whatsoever,

relating to any part of the premises or facilities

38a

Appendix B

described in Section 18.1, which have been or

shall become payable with respect to any portion

of the term of this lease... .

B. Effective Date of Rejection

In April 1989, CPA learned that WUC planned to close

its central telephone bureau at the Moorestown Property.

WUC removed most of its equipment and furniture and

closed its telephone operations by August 1989. WUC did,

however, use a portion of the space for a small sales staff

until October 1992. NV removed the remaining equipment

in January or February 1993 at the direction of Fred Rossi,

an employee of CPA. NV did not formally surrender the

property to CPA until March 11, 1993.

Prior to the formal surrender, Wasson visited the

property on February 23, 1993. While he was on the premises,

he noticed that CPA had removed the carpet tiles, the vinyl

floor tiles, and the ceiling tiles. He testified that it appeared

as if CPA was preparing the property for a new tenant.

Around the same time, NV stopped paying for the upkeep

and maintenance of the property.

CPA began marketing the Moorestown Property before

NV had formally surrendered or formally rejected the

property. In fact, CPA hired Fuller Corporate Real Estate

Partners (“Fuller”) to market the property in 1991, and Fuller

replaced NV’s sign with its own in October 1991. Fuller

actively marketed the property, and even asked CPA to

approve an expansion of the building for a potential tenant

in August 1992. Fuller rendered services for CPA until CPA

hired the Mertz Corporation (“Mertz’’) as its exclusive agent.

ee ee

39a

Appendix B

C. Appropriate Rent for the Moorestown Lease

During the trial, NV and CPA disagreed on what rent

the Bankruptcy Court should apply when determining the

amount of CPA’s claim for post-petition rent under the

Moorestown Lease. The Moorestown Property consists of

65,000 square feet of useable space and 6,300 square feet

for a mechanical penthouse.

NV produced George Powell, JR., MAI to support its

position that the base rent was unreasonable. Powell has been

an appraiser since 1978, received his MAI designation in

1987, teaches appraisal techniques at Rutgers University, and

has testified as an expert on property valuation. After

reviewing the Moorestown Property and commercial and

office leasing activity from November 1991 to May 1993 in

surrounding areas, he found that the office market in southern

New Jersey collapsed during the relevant period. Thus,

Powell declared that the fair market rent was $7.00 per square

foot.

CPA contended that the base rent in the Lease, $10.85

per square foot, was reasonable because it was within the

market range during the post-petition period. In trying to

rebut Powell’s testimony, CPA produced Maryann Franken

who has worked for Mertz since 1988 as a licensed real estate

broker and licensed sales associate. She is familiar with the

Moorestown Property, but has never testified as an expert

before this case and is not an appraiser. She stated that the

market base rent for the Moorestown Property during the

post-petition period was between $7.00 and $12.00 per square

foot, but that the average office transaction was between

40a

Appendix B

$8.00 and $10.00 per square foot. However, during her

testimony, she conceded that the average deal in southern

New Jersey was for 5,000 square feet, and that they “live on

deals under 10,000” square feet. Although she asserted she

reviewed leases for over 50,000 square feet, she was unable

to specify any tenant in such a property. Finally, Franken,

on behalf of CPA, attempted to lease the property for $4.50

per square foot in 1994.

D. Unclean Hands

In refuting NV’s claim that it had unclean hands, CPA

explained its reasons for originally asserting the assignment

theory. Barclay Jones, Samantha Garbus, and Elizabeth

Wagner, all of whom worked for CPA, testified that CPA

was confused as to the business arrangement between FSI

and NV regarding the Bridgeton and Reno Leases. FSI was

the operating entity at both properties, and NV transferred

valuable assets, including a number of leases, to FSI.

Moreover, testimony showed that NV wanted to transfer the

properties to FSI, and a document entitled the “Letter

Agreement for Operating Leases” could be read as an

assignment of the Bridgeton and Reno Leases.

On the other hand, NV introduced evidence to show that

CPA knew that the two leases had not been assigned. For

example, Walters stated that CPA never expressed any

confusion regarding the tenant of the two properties. In

addition, CPA’s files do not contain any documents to show

that FSI was the tenant under the two leases. More notably,

CPA’s files contained documents showing that: (1) its

accountants received confirmation that NV was the tenant

4la

Appendix B

as of December 31, 1991, December 3 1, 1992, and December

31, 1993; (2) NV gave CPA a Tenant Estoppel Certificate

for the Reno Property stating that the property had not been

assigned; (3) CPA sent rent increases to NV; and (4) CPA

communicated to its investors that NV was the tenant of the

two properties. Furthermore, Jones testified that although

CPA asserted the assignment theory in the Proof of Claims,

he did not know whether the statement was true or false when

it was made. He also stated that he told his attorneys that the

Consents “were never finalized.

In addition, Wasson, Walters, and Jones all testified that

NV and CPA never consummated a deal regarding the

assignment of the three leases. More importantly, NV claims

that the evidence establishes that the Consents were back

dated because April 15, 1990, was Easter Sunday, and

because Jones did not hold the title of Executive Vice

President in April 1990. Walters testified that he believed

that CPA believed that it held valid Consents, and that the

Consents were backdated three years because CPA wanted

to avoid a situation where NV rejected the leases. Moreover,

Richard Brunell, NV’s handwriting expert, conducted ink

identification and dryness tests to determine the date of the

signature and writing below the si gnature. He was unable to

reach a conclusion for the signature but he concluded toa

high degree of scientific certainty that “Executive Vice

President” was most possibly written in 1993.

Jones, however, testified that he remembers Signing the

documents, but could not remember the exact date. He stated

that he could have signed them on Easter Sunday. He

conceded that the dates and title were not his handwriting,

42a

Appendix B

and Eve Berman, the former head of the property

management department at W.P. Carey, testified that the title

and dates were in her handwriting, but that she could not

remember writing them. Berman also stated that she doubted

that she wrote on the Consents in 1993, and that no one from

CPA asked her to backdate the documents.

During the trial, Jones conceded that in 1993, he knew

that it was better for CPA to have FSI as a tenant because it

was a solvent subsidiary of NV. He also admitted that unlike

a claim against NV, a claim against FSI would not be subject

to a statutory cap.

NV claimed that CPA’s improper conduct regarding the

inflation of claims and the Consents caused it to incur legal

fees in excess of $850,000. Marc Bell, NV’s Associate

General Counsel, testified that NV would have settled CPA’s

claims if CPA had not asserted the assignment theory.

Despite its assertions about CPA’s improper conduct,

NV did not do anything or refrain from doing anything

because of the Consents. In fact, Walters testified that the

Consents did not alter NV’s position on the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases because they were meaningless to him and

he disregarded them. He also stated that the Consents were

not the reason that NV and CPA were unable to settle CPA’s

claims early in the litigation. Furthermore, Walters testified

that the Consents did not factor into the sale of FSI. Lastly,

NV never spent any money indemnifying FSI because of

the Consents.

43a

Appendix B

_E. Bankruptcy Court’s Rulings

On December 23, 1997, the Bankruptcy Court issued an

Opinion, which made the following rulings. First, the court

decided that it would follow the test established in Jn re

McSheridan, 184 B.R. 91 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 1995), for

determining what items should be included as additional rent

under § 502(b)(6)(a). The court then held that the

maintenance men that CPA employed to care for the property

did not count towards the additional rent claims because they

did not fall within Article III in the leases. Thus, the

Bankruptcy Court reduced CPA’s claims by “$10,912.50 for

the maintenance man component of additional rent on the

Reno Lease, [ ] $6,000.00 for the maintenance man

component of the Gap Claim for additional rent on the

Moorestown Lease, and [ ] $18,582.35 for the maintenance

man component of rejection damages claim for additional

rent on the Moorestown Lease.”

Second, the court agreed with the majority rule that court

approval is a condition precedent for an effective rejection

of a lease under § 365(d)(3). See, e.g., In re Thinking Machs.

Corp., 67 F.3d 1021 (1st Cir. 1995). The court then stated

that it would exercise its equitable powers in making the

rejection retroactive to February 23, 1993, rather than May

24, 1993, the date the court signed the order authorizing

rejection, because it found that CPA exercised complete

control over the property on February 23, 1993. That finding

reduced CPA’s claims by $200,900.

Third, the court held that the rent in the lease, $10.85

per square foot, was unreasonable when compared to the

44a

Appendix B

market, and thus, set the rent for the postpetition period at

$7.00 per square foot. In reaching this holding, the court

found that Franken’s experience did not support her opinion

as to the reasonable rate. Thus, it relied on NV’s expert’s

opinion in declaring that the base rent in the Moorestown

Lease was unreasonable.

In its fourth ruling, the Bankruptcy Court rejected NV’s

request that it use its equitable powers and disallow CPA’s

claims because CPA had unclean hands. The court first

determined that CPA had not inflated its deferred

maintenance claims. As for the Consents, the Bankruptcy

Court found that CPA never believed that NV assigned the

Bridgeton’ and Reno Leases to FSI. “The court suspects that

CPA took that position as a negotiating tactic in order to

minimize any losses it might suffer as a result of the [NV]

bankruptcy.” The Court also agreed with Walters’s belief

that CPA had backdated the Consents: “[I]t is likely that the

[C]onsents were backdated and then produced to avoid the

prospect of being limited to a lease rejection claim in the

[NV] bankruptcy.” In reaching that finding, the Bankruptcy

Court determined that Jones’s lack of memory on when he

signed his name was incredible, and that NV’s expert was

convincing. The Bankruptcy Court also stated that CPA’s

actions are understandable when one considers the dire

financial situation of NV and the solvency of FSI in 1993 —

FSI was a more desirable tenant. The court also did not

1. In its Opinion, the Bankruptcy Court mistakenly stated

Moorestown instead of Bridgeton. This Court has substituted

Bridgeton for Moorestown because NV claims that CPA executed

the Consents for the Reno and Bridgeton Leases, not the Moorestown

Lease.

iii

45a

Appendix B

believe that CPA was confused as to which entity was the

tenant under the two leases because Jones Closely oversaw

the properties and because ample documents existed to show

that NV was the tenant.

After making those findings, the Bankruptcy Court held:

“[T]he court perceives no impact on the proofs of claim...

[because] the alleged assignments did not bear on any

element of the proof of claim. . . . [I]t appears to have been

a somewhat misguided effort to preserve a right against FSI”

if the Bankruptcy Court disallowed its claim against NV.

The court emphasized that NV’s argument would be more

persuasive if CPA’s conduct had been directed at it rather

than at FSI. The court then rejected NV’s argument that

CPA’s alleged misconduct caused NV to spend money

defending CPA’s claim because the proceeding involved

many complicated legal issues and a large claim. Ultimately,

the Bankruptcy Court allowed CPA’s claims in the amount

of $2,888,469.30.

On January 26, 1998, the Bankruptcy Court issued an

Order memorializing its Opinion. NV appeals the Bankruptcy

Court’s decision allowing CPA’s claims. NV raises three

issues in its appeal: (1) the Bankruptcy Court erred in

concluding that CPA’s conduct did not warrant the

disallowance or reduction of CPA’s claims; (2) the

Bankruptcy Court erred in denying NV’s objection that CPA

not be allowed to introduce evidence inconsistent with its

judicial admissions or regarding NV’s obligations to CPA

under the Reno Lease; and (3) the Bankruptcy Court

incorrectly determined that CPA’s claim for rent under the

Moorestown Lease for the Gap Period was not subject to

§ 502(b)(6)’s mandatory cap.

46a

Appendix B

CPA cross-appeals the Bankruptcy Court’s decision. It

raises five issues in its cross-appeal: (1) the Bankruptcy Court

erred in determining that CPA’s claims for deferred

maintenance were capped pursuant to § 502(b)(6); (2) the

Bankruptcy Court should have used the time remaining, and

not the amount of rent remaining, under the Leases to

calculate the cap under § 502(b)(6); (3) the Bankruptcy Court

erred by holding that the reasonable rental rate for the

Moorestown Property was $7.00 per square foot rather than

the rent set forth in the lease; (4) the Bankruptcy Court

mistakenly excluded CPA’s claim for the cost of retaining

maintenance; and (5) the Bankruptcy Court erred by ruling

that the effective rejection date for the Moorestown Lease

was February 25, 1993, and not May 24, 1993.

DISCUSSION

I. Relevant Legal Standards

United States District Courts have mandatory

jurisdiction to hear appeals from final orders of bankruptcy

judges. See 28 U.S.C. § 158(a)(1); Fed. R. Bankr. Pro.

8001(a). On appeal, a district court may set aside a

bankruptcy court’s findings of fact only if clearly erroneous.

See, e.g., In re Sharon Steel Corp., 871 F.2d 1217, 1222 (3d

Cir. 1989); General Elec. Credit Corp. v. Nardulli & Sons,

Inc., 836 F.2d 184, 186 (3d Cir. 1988); Jn re Brennan, 198

B.R. 445, 448 (D.N.J. 1996). “[A] finding is ‘clearly

erroneous’ when although there is evidence to support it,

the reviewing court on the entire evidence is left with the

definite and firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed.” Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470

47a

Appendix B

U.S. 564, 573, 105 S. Ct. 1504, 1511 (1985) (quotation

omitted). The fact that a reviewing court could have decided

the matter differently does not render a finding of fact clearly

erroneous. See Fed. R. Bankr. R. 8013; Anderson, 470 U.S.

573-74, 105 S. Ct. at 1511. In contrast, a district court reviews

a bankruptcy court’s legal conclusions or questions of law

under a plenary or de novo standard. See, e.g., In re Modular

Structs., Inc., 27 F.3d 72, 76 (3d Cir. 1994) (citation omitted);

J.P. Fyfe, Inc. v. Bradco Supply Corp., 891 F.2d 66, 69 (3d

Cir. 1989). If the questions involve both law and fact, courts

should apply the appropriate standard to each component.

See In re Sharon, 871 F.2d at 1222.

Il. Doctrine of Unclean Hands

A. Standard of Review

NV and CPA hotly contest what standard the Court

should use in reviewing the Bankruptcy Court’s decision to

not invoke the doctrine of unclean hands. NV frames the

issue as whether the Bankruptcy Court properly applied the

doctrine of unclean hands in deciding not to reduce or

disallow the claims. NV concludes that the Court should

review this issue de novo because the facts are not in dispute.

CPA counters that the proper standard of review is abuse of

discretion because the application of the doctrine of unclean

hands rests within the discretion of the trial court.

Although the Third Circuit has stated that “{a] mixed

question of law and fact is found whenever a legal precept is

applied to the sum of the facts of a case,” Meridian Bank v.

Alten, 958 F.2d 1226, 1229 (3d Cir. 1992) (citations omitted),

48a

Appendix B

a district court should reverse a bankruptcy court’s

application of the doctrine of unclean hands only if the

district court finds that the bankruptcy court abused its

discretion. See Barry v. Hialeah Miami Springs Med. Fund,

184 B.R. 611, 613 (S.D.Fla. 1995); see also Keystone Driller

Co. v. General Excavator Co., 290 U.S. 240, 245-46, 54

S. Ct. 146, 148 (1933) (discussing standard of review of

application of unclean hands in patent case); Castle v. Cohen,

676 F. Supp. 620, 628 (E.D.Pa. 1987) (discussing standard

of review of application of unclean hands in ERISA case),

aff'd in part and vacated in part, 840 F.2d 173 (3d Cir. 1988).

Abuse of discretion is the correct standard because when

assessing whether to invoke the doctrine of unclean hands,

“[courts of equity] must not be bound by formula or

restrained by any limitation that tends to trammel the free

and just exercise of discretion.” Keystone Driller, 290 U.S.

at 245-46, 54 S. Ct. 146, 148; accord Barry, 184 B.R. at

613; Castle, 676 F.Supp. at 628. Abuse of discretion occurs

when a court fails to apply the correct legal precepts or bases

its decision on clearly erroneous findings of fact. See

Meridian Bank, 958 F.2d at 1230 n.2.

The Court notes that the determination of whether to

invoke the doctrine of unclean hands is an equitable one that

can best be made by the trial court. In this case, NV does not

challenge the Bankruptcy Court’s factual findings or

statement of the law, but rather the determination that the

circumstances of this case did not warrant the invocation of

the doctrine of unclean hands. In essence, NV argues that

the court failed to apply the law properly.

49a

Appendix B

B. Analysis

NV argues that the Bankruptcy Court should have

invoked the doctrine of unclean hands to reduce or disallow

CPA’s claims for five reasons: (1) even though CPA knew

that the Reno and Bridgeton Leases had not been assigned,

CPA asserted that they were assigned in order to avoid the

statutory restrictions imposed by NV’s bankruptcy; (2) CPA

altered documents to support its assertion; (3) the Bankruptcy

Court erred in finding that CPA’s actions did not have an

impact on this case because FSI was a wholly-owned

subsidiary of NV and because NV was obligated to indemnify

FSI of any liability under the Reno Lease; (4) CPA should

not be rewarded for conduct that might be criminal; (5) the

Bankruptcy Court should have granted NV’s motion in limine

because at the trial, CPA contradicted its pre-trial admission

that NV had assigned the Reno Lease to FSI when it stated

that NV was liable for the Reno Lease.

“It is one of the fundamental principles upon which

equity jurisprudence is founded, that before a complainant

can have a standing in court he must first show that not only

has he a good and meritorious cause of action, but he must

come into court with clean hands.” Keystone Driller, 290

U.S. at 244, 54S. Ct. at 147. However, “courts of equity...

apply the maxim requiring clean hands only where some

unconscionable act of one coming for relief has immediate

and necessary relation to the equity that he seeks in respect

of the matter in litigation.” Jd. at 245, 54 S. Ct. at 147-48:

accord CIBA-GEIGY Corp. v. Bolar Pharm. Co., Inc., 747

F.2d 844, 855 (3d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1137,

105 S. Ct. 2678 (1985); General Dev. Corp. v. Binstein, 743

50a

Appendix B

F. Supp. 1115, 1134 (D.N.J. 1990). In essence, the doctrine

applies only to those acts that “in some measure affect the

equitable relations between the parties in respect of

something brought before the court for adjudication.”

Keystone Driller, 290 U.S. at 244, 54S. Ct. at 148.

Although the doctrine of unclean hands can only be

applied if the conduct is related to the equity being sought,

defendants need not show that plaintiffs’ inequitable conduct

injured them. See Gaudiosi v. Mellon, 269 F.2d 873, 882

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 902, 80 S. Ct. 211 (1959).

In fact, injury to the defendant is irrelevant because the

doctrine of unclean hands is invoked to protect the court’s

integrity rather than to defend a litigant. See id. at 881

(citation omitted). When a party has unclean hands, courts

must “den[y him] all relief whatever may have been the

merits of his claim.” Jd. at 881-82 (quotation omitted).

The Court finds that the Bankruptcy Court abused its

discretion in this case because the Bankruptcy Court applied

the wrong legal principle when it based its decision to not

invoke the doctrine of unclean hands on a “no harm, no foul”

rule, i.e., the doctrine of unclean hands did not apply because

the alleged assignments did not bear on the proofs of claim.

As shown supra, the Third Circuit has rejected the “no harm,

no foul” rule and adopted an approach that looks to protect

courts from unscrupulous parties. Thus, this Court must

determine whether CPA’s conduct violated the doctrine of

unclean hands as articulated supra.

The Court will adopt the Bankruptcy Court’s findings

of fact because neither party disputes or contests those

Sla

Appendix B

findings. The relevant findings of fact are that: (1) CPA never

believed that NV assigned the Bridgeton and Reno Leases,

but took that position in an attempt to minimize its losses in

NV’s bankruptcy; (2) Jones testified that he told his attorneys

that the Consents were never finalized; (3) NV’s handwriting

expert was convincing, and Jones’s lack of memory on when

he signed the Consents was incredible; (4) CPA likely

backdated the Consents because it wanted to avoid a limited

recovery in NV’s bankruptcy; (5) CPA was not confused as

to who the tenant was under the two leases because Jones

closely oversaw the properties and because CPA’s internal

documents clearly showed that NV was the tenant.

Legal precedent dictates that this Court invoke the

doctrine of unclean hands because the Bankruptcy Court’s

findings of fact clearly show that CPA’s improper conduct

was “immediately and necessarily” related to the equity CPA

sought before the Bankruptcy Court and definitely affected

“the equitable relations between the parties.” Fabricating or

altering evidence is certainly an affront to the Court that

warrants the application of the doctrine of unclean hands.

See Mas v. Coca-Cola Co., 163 F.2d 505, 508 (4th Cir. 1947)

(“It is sufficient to bar relief that plaintiff has been guilty of

unconscionable conduct directly related to the cause of

action, such as the fabrication of testimony, the subornation

of perjury or other like attempt to perpetuate fraud upon the

court or take an unconscionable advantage of his

adversary.”); Aris-Isotoner Gloves, Inc. vy. Berkshire

Fashions, Inc., 792 F. Supp. 969 (S.D.N.Y.) (finding that

doctrine of unclean hands had to be invoked because

fabricating testimony was unconscionable), aff'd, 983 F.2d

1048 (2d Cir. 1992); Grimes v. Green Point Sav. Bank, 147

52a

Appendix B

B.R. 307, 316 (Bankr. E.D.N.Y. 1992) (denying debtor's

application for preliminary injunction against mortgagee

because, inter alia, debtor “knowingly and willingly

participated in deceitful conduct involving her daughter's

forging the name of her sister ... on documents.”). CPA

also committed a fraud on the Court by asserting a theory

that it knew to be untrue. Furthermore, although the

Bankruptcy Court did not make a finding that Jones

committed perjury, it did find that his testimony was

incredible because his direct oversight of the three properties

and his position with CPA made it unlikely that he would

not remember when he signed the Consents. That finding

supports the application of the doctrine of unclean hands

because it appears as though Jones had “selective memory”

regarding CPA’s fraudulent conduct. Finally, CPA also

defrauded the Court when it alleged that it was confused as

to which entity was the tenant under the leases. The

Bankruptcy Court found that the documents in CPA's

possession showed that CPA knew that NV, and not FSI,

was the tenant during the years in question. Thus, the Court

must invoke the doctrine of unclean hands to protect its

integrity.

The Court's decision to invoke the doctrine of uncleans

against CPA mandates that the Court deny CPA any relief.

The Court recognizes that denying CPA $2,888,469.30 when

the Bankruptcy Court found that CPA’s improper conduct

did not affect the outcome of this case appears to be a harsh

result. However, this Court must hold corporations

responsible for their misconceived and improper conduct.

Corporate ethics, professionalism, and verity are not lost on

this Court, and when corporations denigrate these values

53a

Appendix B

through lack of candor in their pursuit of financial gains,

this Court has not and will not countenance this type of

conduct. Further, the Court has not and will not hesitate to

apply the appropriate punishment to protect other

corporations, individuals, and the integrity of this Court.

Therefore, the Court will reverse the Bankruptcy Court’s

decision, and will deny CPA its claim because it entered a

court of equity with unclean hands.

The Court will not address the other issues raised in NV’s

appeal or in CPA's cross-appeal because the Court’s ruling

on the doctrine of unclean hands renders the other issues

moot.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated supra, the Court will reverse the

Bankruptcy Court's decision on the issue of the doctrine of

unclean hands, and will deny CPA’s claim in its entirety.

An appropriate Order is attached.

Dated: July 13, 1998

s/ Alfred M. Wolin, U.S.D.J.

ALFRED M. WOLIN, U:S.D.J.

S4a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Civil Action No, 98-982

In re

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Reorganized Debtor

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION, 7 :

Appellant/Cross-Appellees,

Ve

CORPORATE PROPERTY ASSOCIATES,

Appellees/Cross-Appellants.

ORDER

In accordance with the Court’s Opinion filed herewith,

It is on this 13th day of July, 1998,

ORDERED that the Bankruptcy Court’s decision dated

December 23, 1997, and Order of January 26, 1998, which

memorializes that Opinion, is reversed; and it is further

55a

Appendix B

ORDERED that Corporate Property Associates’ claim

against New Valley Corporation's bankruptcy estate is

denied.

s/ Alfred M. Wolin, U.S.D.J.

ALFRED M. WOLIN, U.S.D.J.

S6a

APPENDIX C — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

BANKRUPTCY COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW

JERSEY DATED AND FILED DECEMBER 23, 1997

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

Case No. 91-27704 (NLW)

Chapter 11

In re

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Debtor.

Before: Honorable Novalyn L. Winfield

OPINION

The court conducted an evidentiary hearing on the

objections filed by New Valley Corporation to the proofs of

claim submitted by Corporate Property Associates 2 and 3.

The following constitutes the court's findings of fact and

conclusions of law made in accordance with Federal Rule of

Bankruptcy Procedure 7052. The court has jurisdiction over

this matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1334 and the Standing

Order of Reference by the United States District Court of

New Jersey, dated July 23, 1984. Moreover, the matter at

hand is a core proceeding under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(2)(B).

S7a

Appendix C

FINDINGS OF FACT

A. General Factual Background

1. On or about September 16, 1971, Western Union

Telegraph Company, New Valley’s predecessor-in-interest,

entered into an Indenture of Lease with Western Union Realty

Corporation, relating to the real property located at 308 West

Route 38, Moorestown, New Jersey (“the Moorestown

Property”). This Indenture or Lease, together with all

subsequent amendments, shall be known as “the Moorestown

Lease.” (CPA-1).

2. Onor about July 12, 1972, Western Union Telegraph

Company, entered into an indenture of Lease with Western

Union Realty Corporation, CPA’s predecessor-in-interest,

relating to the real property located at 5025 Mill Street, Reno,

Nevada (“the Reno Property”). This Indenture of Lease,

together with all subsequent amendments, shall be known

as “the Reno Lease.” (CPA-4).

3. At some point in or about 1981, Western Union

Realty Corporation put these Properties, as well as two other

properties located in Bridgeton, Missouri, on the market.

(Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 81-13 to 82-24).

4. On or about November 16, 1981, CPA acquired all

four properties from Western Union Realty Corporation.

(CPA-1 and CPA-4).

5. Through this transaction, CPA collectively acquired

(and still owns) 100% of the Moorestown Property and the

58a

Appendix C

Reno Property. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 65-3 to -6; Garbus Tr.

7/10/97 A.M., 42-7 to -19).

6. At the time CPA acquired them, Western Union

Telegraph Company was the tenant at the Moorestown and

Reno Properties. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 78-20 to -22).

7. In or about December 1981, Western Union

Telegraph Company changed its name to Western Union

Corporation (“Western Union”). Western Union continued

to be the tenant on the Leases at the Moorestown and Reno

Properties after the name change. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 75-22

to 76-2).

8. In or about August 1989, Western Union Financial

Services, Inc. (“FSI”) was created as a separate corporate

entity. Prior to that time it had been a division of Western

Union. (Tr. 7/17/97, 56-8 to 14).

9. Western Union changed its name to New Valley

Corporation (“New Valley”) on April 18, 1991.

10. In or about November 1994, New Valley sold FSI

to First Financial Management Corp. for over $1 billion.

B. The terms of the Leases

11. When CPA acquired the Moorestown and Reno

Properties in November 1981, it assumed the Leases already

in place between Western Union Telegraph Company and

Western Union Realty Corporation. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97,

83-25 to 84-15).

59a

Appendix C

12. With the exception of the rental rates, the terms of

the Moorestown Lease and the Reno Lease are identical.

(CPA-1; CPA-4).

13. If they had not be rejected by New Valley, the

Moorestown Lease and the Reno Lease would have expired

on November 30, 2001. (CPA-1 and CPA-4, Second

Amendment to Lease Agreement).

14. Both the Moorestown Lease and the Reno Lease are

triple net leases. (CPA-1 and CPA-4, Sections 6.1, 7.1, 9.1).

Under a triple net lease, the tenant is completely responsible

for the repair, maintenance and upkeep of the property.

15. Under both the Moorestown Lease and the Reno

Lease, New Valley was responsible for paying all expenses

necessary to maintain, upkeep and operate the properties, as

well as all property taxes, insurance, government charges,

water and sewer charges, whether foreseen or unforeseen.

(Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 67-7 to -18; CPA-1, Section 6.1; CPA-4,

Section 6.1).

16. At the time CPA acquired the Moorestown and Reno

Properties, CPA and Western Union Telegraph Company

negotiated, at arms-length, a twenty-year lease with a sliding

scale of rental rates over time (CPA-1 and CPA-4, Second

Amendment to Lease Agreement; (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 86-4 to

88-6).

17. As set forth in the Second Amendment of Lease

Agreement, dated November 16, 1981, the applicable rental

terms of the Moorestown Lease are as follows:

60a

Appendix C

(a) $699,300.00 per annum from November 16, 1981

through November 15, 1986

(b) $702,408.00 per annum from November 16, 1986

through November 15, 1991

(c) $705,516.00 per annum from November 16, 1991

through April 30, 1997

(d) $271,176.00 per annum from May 1, 1997 through

March 31, 1998

(e) $449,130.00 per annum from April 1, 1998 through

November 30, 2001

(CPA-1 Second Amendment of Lease Agreement)

18. As set forth in the Second Amendment of Lease

Agreement, dated November 16, 1981, the applicable rental

terms of the Reno Lease are as follows:

(a) $405,515.00 per annum from November 16, 1981

through November 15, 1986

(b) $452,509.00 per annum from November 16, 1986

through November 15, 1991

(c) $454,503.00 per annum from November 16, 1° 31

through April 30, 1997

(d) $485,178.00 per annum from May 1, 1997 through

March 31, 1998

6la

Appendix C

(e) $391,803.00 per annum from April 1, 1998 through

November 30, 2001

(CPA-4, Second Amendment to Lease Agreement).

19. Neither Western Union nor New Valley ever

complained that the rental rates set in November 1981 were

unfair. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 88-7 to -19); Wasson Tr. 7/16/97,

107-3 to -23; Walters Tr. 7/17/97, 54-22 to 55-3).

C. The New Valley Bankruptcy

20. On November 15, 1991, an involuntary petition for

bankruptcy pursuant to Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code

was filed against New Valley.

21. On March 30, 1993, New Valley consented to entry

of an order for relief under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy

Code.

22. On November 14, 1994, the Court entered an Order .

confirming the First Amended Joint Chapter 11 Plan of

Reorganization of New Valley Corporation.

D. Calculation of the Base Rent and Additional Rent

23. Both New Valley and CPA agree that the base rent

due under the Reno Lease is $654,327.94 and the court

accepts that figure.

24. As to the Moorestown Lease, the court finds that

CPA’s calculation of the rent owed accurately measures the

62a

Appendix C

time period which CPA may include in its Gap Claim. CPA

calculated its Pre-petition Claim by calculating unpaid rent

accrued prior to November 15, 1991, the date the involuntary

petition was filed. It then calculated its Gap Claim as running

from November 16, 1991. Contrary to New Valley’s

assertion, it does not appear that CPA included more than

one-half of November, 1991 in each of its claims.

25. However, the court also finds that the claimed

expenses for a maintenance man at the Reno property

($10,912.50) and at the Moorestown Property ($24,582.35)

are not allowable as additional rent. Firstly, the terms of the

respective leases do not include such an expense as an item

of additional rent. The pertinent provision provides as

follows:

Section 3.1. The Tenant covenants and agrees to

pay, as additional rent, before any interest or

additional charge may be added thereto for the

non-payment thereof, al! real estate taxes, special

assessments, water and sewer charges and other

governmental charges, general and special,

ordinary and extraordinary, unforeseen as well as

foreseen, of any kind and nature whatsoever,

relating to any part of the premises or facilities

described in Section 18.1, which have been or

shall become payable with respect to any portion

of the term of this lease...

(CPA-1; CPA-4).

63a

Appendix C

On the other hand, both leases are triple net leases and

section 6.1 of both leases makes the tenant responsible for

all expenses necessary to maintain, upkeep and operate the

properties.

26. At trial, Samantha Garbus (“Garbus?} testified that

the maintenance men at Reno and Moorestown were essential

as the on site “eyes and ears” of CPA. She stated that they

insured compliance with local regulations regarding

maintenance and their presence insured that timely notice

of problems was received. Garbus noted that it can be

expensive to bear the risk of fines and system failures.

(Garbus Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 31-14 to 34-9).

27. It was also established at trial that CPA made

payments to both maintenance men at fixed, regular intervals,

either weekly or monthly. (Garbus Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 46-3

to -25, 49-7 to -15, 50-2 to -12). It appears to be CPA’s usual

practice to hire a maintenance person to oversee vacant

properties. (Garbus Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 41-11 to 44-2; Wagner

Tr. 182-21 to 183-6). It was also noted that New Valley

similarly utilized a maintenance man at the Moorestown

Property during the time that it was partially vacant. (Wasson

Tr. 7/16/97, 109-24 to 110-15, 111-7 to 112-5).

28. All of the foregoing certainly establishes CPA’s

belief that a maintenance person was essential to their

effective management of the Reno and Moorestown property.

However, it does not follow from that premise that the

expense is related to the value of the property or an obligation

of the tenant in the same manner as alarm/security service,

for example. CPA apparently believed that the maintenance

64a

Appendix C

men served an important function in insuring that various

services were timely and properly performed. It is likely that

other alternatives for monitoring the upkeep of the properties

were available. While such services as utilities, lawn

maintenance, servicing of the building systems are all items

which are readily identifiable as additional rent, it is not

apparent to the court that the monitoring of these items by

CPA is a charge that ought to be treated as additional rent.

29. New ‘Valley also contends that CPA made an

arithmetical error in the computation of the additional rent

due under the Moorestown Lease. The alleged error occurred,

according to New Valley, because CPA applied the agreed

upon rejection damages formula to post-rejection taxes of

$275,317.38, when the post-rejection taxes are actually

$229,334.77. Unfortunately, New Valley did not identify the

basis for its claim of error.

30. In support of its claim for additional rent for the

Moorestown Property CPA provided a schedule of property

taxes as follows:

6Sa

Appendix C

MOORESTOWN PROPERTY TAXES

3d Quarter 1992 $ 48,168.76

4th Quarter 1992 $ 48,168.76 pre-rejection

Ist Quarter 1993 $ 45,982.62

2d Quarter 1993 $ 45,982.61

3d Quarter 1993 $ _ (credit)

4th Quarter 1993 $ oo (credit)

Ist Quarter 1994 $ 19,172.27 (partial credit)

2d Quarter 1994 $ 22,227.50

3d Quarter 1994 $ 23,791.50

4th Quarter 1994 $ 23,791.50

Ist Quarter 1995 $ 23,009.50

2d Quarter 1995 $ 23,009.50

3d Quarter 1995 $ 23,774.50

4th Quarter 1995 $ 23,774.50

Ist Quarter 1996 $ 23,392.00

2d Quarter 1996 $ 23,392.00

TOTALS: $ 275,317.38 (post rejection)

$ 188,302.75 (pre-rejection)

31. The court’s review of the CPA schedule indicates

that second quarter 1993 taxes in the amount of $45,982.61

were included by CPA in the calculation of its pre-rejection

total of $188,302.75, and its post-rejection total of

$275,317.38. It appears that the second quarter 1993 taxes

were due and payable May 1, 1993 (CPA-9). Thus the taxes

came due in the post-rejection period and are properly

included in CPA’s calculation of the rejection damages claim

66a

Appendix C

for additional rent. It does appear, however, that the pre-

rejection claim should be adjusted.

E. Effective Date for Rejection of the Moorestown Lease

32. In April, 1989 CPA learned that Western Union

intended to close its central telephone bureau (“CTB”)

operations at the Moorestown Property. (Wasson Tr. 7/16/

97, 16-10 to 17-21; NV-44; Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 89-20 to 90-

17).

33. By August, 1989 Western Union had removed most

of its equipment and furniture and had closed the CTB

operations, (Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 18-8 to -13).

34. However, Western Union continued to use some of

the space for a small sales staff through October, 1992.

(Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 18-14 to 19-5). The remaining

equipment and furniture was removed in January or February,

1993 at the request of Fred Rossi, acting on behalf of CPA.

(Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 19-6 to 20-16; CPA 17, Tab 1).

35. As reflected in a letter from Donald Wasson

(“Wasson”) of New Valley to Barclay Jones of CPA, the

Moorestown Property was not formally surrendered until

March 11, 1993. (CPA-2; NV-64).

36. Just prior to the formal surrender, on February 25,

1993 Wasson visited the Moorestown Property. At that time

he observed that CPA had removed and stacked carpet tiles,

and removed vinyl floor tiles, as well as ceiling tiles. (Wasson

Tr. 7/16/97, 21-19 to 22-17. Wasson further testified:

67a

Appendix C

It just looked like a — I shouldn’t say — well,

we use the word gutting of the building, gutting

in the respect to preparing the building in order

to do, you know, tenant improvements later on.

That’s what it appeared to be.

(Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 22-8 to -12).

37. New Valley ceased paying base rent for the

Moorestown Property as of July 31, 1991. (Garbus Tr.

7/10/97 A.M., 37-11 to 38-7; NV-87 at { 20). CPA reported

Same to its partners and the Securities and Exchange

Commission in its Form 10-Q statements for the quarters

ending September 30, 1992 and March 31 , 1993, stating that

“New Valley vacated the [Moorestown] facility in August,

1989 and continued to pay its rent ina timely manner through

July, 1991.” (NV-11 at 11673, 11632; 12154, 12013).

38. New Valley stopped paying real property taxes on

the Moorestown Property as of May, 1992. (CPA-9;

NV-61).

39. Further, in or about the end of F ebruary, 1993 New

Valley stopped paying the expenses for the upkeep and

maintenance of the Moorestown Property. (CPA-9).

40. Approximately one month after New Valley

consented to entry of the order for relief under Chapter 11,

it moved for court approval of its rejection of the Moorestown

Lease. An order approving rejection of the lease was entered

on May 24, 1993. (NV-81 thru 83).

68a

Appendix C

41. However, CPA did not wait until formal surrender

or rejection to begin its marketing efforts for the Moorestown

Property. CPA hired Fuller Corporate Real Estate Partners

(“Fuller”) to market the property, and in October, 1991 the

New Valley broker’s sign was removed and replaced by

Fuller’s. (Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 24-14 to 26-13).

42. Fuller advertised the property, responded to offers

and even sought Moorestown Township’s approval in

August, 1992 for expansion of the building for a potential

new tenant. (Garbus Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 95-12 to 96-8;

NV-19 at 2015-17, 79, 59, 39A, 39B). Fuller continued to

render services for CPA until CPA hired Mertz Corporation

as its exclusive agent. (Franken Tr. 7/28/97, 45-14 to 46-3).

E. The Reasonable Rental Rate at the Moorestown Property

43. The record is clear that until the instant objection

to CPA’s claim, New Valley did not contest the

reasonableness of the rental terms embodied in the

Moorestown Lease. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97, 88-7 to -19; Wasson

Tr. 7/16/97, 107-3 to -23; Walters Tr. 7/17/97, 54-22 to

55-3). However, the court does not find that the lack of any

expressed dissatisfaction by New Valley as to the rental terms

resolves the question of whether the base rent for the

Moorestown Property exceeds the market rent for the post-

petition period.

44. Rather, after consideration of the testimony and

report of New Valley’s expert George W. Powell, Jr.

(“Powell”) and the testimony and report of CPA’s expert,

Maryann D. Franken (“Franken”) the court finds that the

69a

Appendix C

conclusions reached by Powell are more reasoned and

supported by a detailed examination of the relevant market

for the Moorestown Property. Thus, the court accepts

Powell’s conclusion that the market base rent for the

Moorestown Property during the post-petition period was

$7.00 per square foot “as is” based on 65,000 rentable Square

feet “absolute net.” Consequently, the base rent of $10.85

per square foot set forth in the Moorestown Lease was

unreasonable for the postpetition period. (NV-71; Powell Tr.

7/18/97 A.M., 138-18 to 139-19).

45. Powell has been an appraiser since 1978 and

received a MAI designation in 1987. Powell teaches appraisal

techniques at Rutgers University, has been a speaker at

various conferences, including a seminar on financial aspects

of Chapter 11 cases, and has testified as an expert on property

valuation in various New Jersey courts. (NV-71 at 28 to 31;

Powell Tr. 7/18/97 A.M., 104-20 to 107-19).

46. Franken has worked for Mertz Corporation

(“Mertz”) since 1988 as a licensed real estate broker and

licensed sales associate. Franken first became familiar with

the property in August, 1992 and is familiar with its location,

layout, condition, and possible uses. (CPA-23; Franken Tr.

7/28/97 P.M., 35-5 to 45-17). However, she is not an

appraiser, and has not previously testified as an expert.

(Franken Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 83-8 to -11; 85-4 to -13).

Moreover, Franken testified that she arrived at her conclusion

of market rent by ascertaining what she believed to be an

average market rental rate for large and small spaces.

(Franken Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 103-11 to 105-22).

70a

Appendix C

47. However, neither Franken’s testimony nor her report

identifies any specific leases or properties which she

examined. Although Franken asserted that she looked at rent

rolls of buildings with tenants occupying 50,000 square feet

she was unable to specify any tenant or lease terms which

she examined. (Franken Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 106-8 to 110-18).

48. Additionally, she testified that “The average

transaction in our marketplace in southern New Jersey in

office is under 5,000 square feet. So any of these large deals

are not normal deals in our marketplace. We are not a New

York City or a Center City. We live on deals that are under

10,000 with the average being under 5.” (Franken Tr.

7/28/97 P.M., 105-19 to 106-7). Thus, it appears to the court

that Franken’s conclusion as to an average market rent is an

unverifiable impression based largely on transactions

substantially smaller in size than the lease at issue.

Accordingly, the court finds that her conclusions are not

adequately supported.

49. Powell’s report identifies the Moorestown Property

as having a gross floor area of 71,300 square feet. Of that

space 65,000 square feet is described as usable, and the

remaining 6,300 square feet is described as a mechanical

penthouse (NV-71 at 2). New Valley contends, and the court

concurs, that calculation of the reasonable post-petition rent

should be premised upon the usable 65,000 square feet.

Indeed, Franken agreed that the mechanical penthouse space

was not usable space, and additionally agreed that Mertz

marketed the property as having 65,000 square feet. (Franken

Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 144-15 to -24).

Tila

Appendix C

50. Powell considered not only the Moorestown

Property, but also reviewed “commercial development and

retail and office leasing activity from November 1991 to May

1993 in Mt. Laurel, Moorestown, and Evesham (Marlton)

Townships, Burlington County, New Jersey and the South

Jersey Regional Mall market in Burlington, Gloucester and

Camden Counties, New Jersey.” (NV-71 at 3).

51. Powell found that for the years 1989 through 1991

the vacancy rate for office space in Burlington County was

in excess of 30% and in excess of 25% for Camden County

(NV-71 at 8). He further testified:

During the period 91 through 93, the office

market in South Jersey had collapsed. The office

market was fueled in the 1980s primarily through

very, very handsome financing by lending

institutions who were, in my opinion, attempting

to place as many loans on the street as possible to

collect points, reporting them in the quarterly

earnings and boost their stock, thereby making

them attractive during a period of bank acquisition

merger frenzy. Most of the buildings were built

On speculation in this 3M corridor, as we call it,

which spans from Moorestown, Marlton and

Mount Laurel. The office buildings were primarily

constructed along Route 38 and were heavily

down Route 73, which does intersect Route 38 to

the west of the Moorestown Mall. During this

period most of these parks, office parks were in

either default and bankruptcy and foreclosure or

some aspect thereof. By 1993, most had been

72a

Appendix C

foreclosed by their lenders, and were in various

stages of disposition. We were active in that

market in appraising many of these office

buildings and parks for lenders, for trustees in

bankruptcy, and it was our and we were

familiar with the activity to know that it was a

flight of tenants out of South Jersey. (Powell Tr.

7/28/97 A.M., 113-13 to 114-14).

52. Powell’s review of the conditions in the office and

retail market in the area of the Moorestown Property, as well

as his assessment of the property configuration and location

led him to conclude that the appropriate market rental was

the retail rate. (NV-71 at 19; Powell Tr. 7/18/97 A.M..,

112-2 to -23; 114-19 to 25).

53. Powell’s report contains several comparables which

he adjusted for differences with the Moorestown Property

to arrive at a rental rate of $7.00 per square foot, on a triple

net basis. (NV-71 at 20-24).

54. Interestingly, CPA’s marketing and leasing of the

Moorestown Property is corroborative of Powell’s

conclusion. Franken testified that in 1994 she was seeking a

rental rate of “$4.50 in as-is condition, and I believe that

was reasonable for the condition of the property.” (Franken

Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 131-4 to -7). In late 1994 she negotiated

with Boundless Enterprises, Inc. for a rental rate of $5.25

per square foot for the first five years. (Franken Tr. 7/28/97

P.M., 134-15 to 136-6; NV-40B and 40C).

73a

Appendix C

55. In April, 1995 Franken represented CPA in the

leasing of the Moorestown Property to Sports & Recreation

for retail use at a rental rate of $4.75 per square foot, triple

net, for the first five years of a fifteen year lease. (Franken

Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 142-7 to 143-21; NV-29).

56. Finally, Powell confirmed the appropriateness of his

conclusion as to the fair market rental rate by deriving a

capitalization rate for the Moorestown Property. Both he and

Franken agreed that a 12 percent capitalization rate was

within the reasonable range of such rates for the property.

(Powell Tr. 7/18/97 A.M., 132-6 to -23; Franken Tr.

7/28/97, 147-16 to 148-5). He assumed a fair market value

of the building of $3,750,000 as reflected in a

counterproposal submitted by Franken in August 1994.

(NV-39E). Powell computed the net operating income to be

$455,000 (65,000 sq. ft. x $7.00) and divided it by $3,750,000

to reach a capitalization rate of 12.1 percent. (Powell Tr.

7/18/97 A.M., 131-15 to -24). When Powell calculated a

capitalization rate using a $3,750,000 fair market value, and

a rental rate of $10.85 for 65,000 square feet he arrived at a

capitalization rate of 18.8 percent. (Powell Tr. 7/18/97 A.M.,

130-7 to -19). He found such a rate to be well out of the

range which he has seen in the market. (Powell Tr. 7/18/97

A.M., 131-8 to -14, 136-18 to 137-13). Franken also testified

that she has not seen a capitalization rate in the 18 to 20

percent range (Franken Tr. 7/28/97 P.M., 148-6 to -12).

F. CPA’s Proofs of Claim

57. New Valley alleges that CPA (i) intentionally

inflated the amounts sought in the Initial and Second Proofs

74a

Appendix C

of Claim, (ii) intentionally and falsely claimed that the Reno

and Moorestown Leases were assigned to FSI in order to

avoid the restrictions on the amount of its claim in

bankruptcy, and (111) manufactured evidence to support its

contention that the Leases were assigned to FSI.

1. Claim Inflation

58. CPA’s first proof of claim was for $5,449,407 for

leases of the Moorestown Property, the Reno Property and

the Bridgeton, Missouri Property. In that proof of claim CPA

sought payment for deferred maintenance as follows:

$612,500 for Moorestown, $1,000,000 for Reno, and

$1,000,000 for Bridgeton (CPA-3).

59. Thereafter, CPA submitted a Second Claim, which

pertained solely to the Reno Property, in the amount of

$2,317,497. In that proof of claim CPA claimed deferred

maintenance and others costs of $1,330,000. (CPA-6).

60. New Valley attempted to demonstrate that CPA’s

deferred maintenance claims were substantially at odds with

information in its possession.

61. New Valley correctly points out that CPA had in its

possession at the time that it prepared the proofs of claim

various reports that stated that the properties were in average

or above average condition:

a) A “Deferred Maintenance Survey” prepared

for CPA by Robert E. Lamb, Inc. for the

Moorestown Property dated February 11, 1993

75a

Appendix C

(six and one-half months prior to the filing of the

Proof of Claim) contains detailed itemized costs

necessary to complete deferred maintenance items

which total $371,200. (NV-20).

b) A report of a site inspection of the Moorestown

Property performed by Gerald Dayley dated

August 26, 1991 (at the time New Valley had

vacated the premises at Moorestown) which

Stated: “[t]he overall condition is good. The

Carpeting is well worn but the structure is in

excellent condition.” (NV-12).

c) A report of a site inspection of the Reno

Property performed by Gerald Dayley dated April

8, 1992 (only 17 months prior to the filing of the

Proof of Claim) which stated: “(t]he overall

condition is excellent and shows a concern for

maintaining the facility in above-average

condition.” (NV-16).

d) A report of a site inspection of the Bridgeton

property performed by Gerald Dayley dated J uly

13, 1992 (only 14 months prior to the filing of

the Proof of Claim) which stated: “(t]he overall

condition is good and shows a concern for

maintaining the facility in good condition.” This

site inspection report was accompanied by a cover

letter from Gerald Dayley to New Valley which

stated: “I hope that you can continue to maintain

the facility in the same excellent condition despite

Western Union’s financial difficulty. (NV-18).

76a

Appendix C

62. Garbus testified that the Property Management

Department at W. B. Carey maintains a property inspection

database which is compiled from inspection reports prepared

by Gerald Dayley or others performing the inspections.

(Garbus Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 77-14 to 78-8). Thus, it appears

that such reports were readily available when the CPA proofs

of claims were prepared.

63. Wasson, the former Director of Real Estate

Operations for New Valley also testified credibly that he

performed a site inspection of the Reno facility in the fall of

1994 and found the property to be in very good shape, with

all systems functioning. (Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 78-7 to

83-11).

64. The court viewed a videotape of the Reno Property

which is a visual survey of various empty rooms at the

Property. (NV-95). While the videotape revealed no obvious

deficiency to the court’s untrained eye, the court does not

find that it dispositively evidences that no deferred

maintenance conditions existed.

65. The data for the Second Claim which reflected the

higher deferred maintenance claim for the Reno Property

was assembled by Elizabeth Wagner (“Wagner”) of W. P.

Carey, CPA’s general partner. (Wagner Tr. 7/10/97 A.M.,

187-24 to 188-11). Wagner obtained the deferred

maintenance numbers from Gerald Dayley who had

performed the site inspection. (Wagner Tr. 7/10/97 A.M..,

195-8 to -10).

77a

Appendix C

66. Wagner prepared a memo setting forth the figures

for the base rent, additional rent, deferred maintenance, and

tenant improvements, which was forwarded to Toby Daluz

at the Reed Smith Shaw & McClay firm. In pertinent part,

the memo described the deferred maintenance and tenant

improvements as follows:

Deferred Maintenance Items: $330,000

includes the following items:

replace ceiling tiles $20,000

paint interior 10,000

replace carpet 100,000

repair & replace wall coverings 20,000

ADA Standards 20,000

(includes drinking fountain, toilets,

sinks, fire strobes and evacuation

system)

paint exterior 10,000

landscaping 5,000

parking lot repairs 30,000

roofs 115,000

Tenant Improvements: $1 ,000,000

(NV-12).

67. When the figures provided by Wagner were

incorporated into the Second Claim for the Reno Property,

her deferred maintenance and tenant improvement numbers

were combined into a single amount of $1,330,000 and

characterized as “Deferred Maintenance, Repairs and Other

Costs Associated with Vacating the Premises.” (CPA-6).

78a

Appendix C

68. Precisely who authorized the amount and description

in the Second Claim is frustratingly unclear. Barclay Jones

testified that he made the judgment call on the amount of

the proof of the claim, yet he concedes that he signed the

claim form in blank, before it was completed. (Jones Tr.

7/9/97 P.M., 133-23 to 134-5); Jones Tr. 7/16/97, 271-25 to

272-25). Jones testified that to compute the Reno deferred

maintenance claim they used an estimate of about $25.00

per square foot to put the Property in what he characterized

as a “vanilla shell” condition. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M.,

132-16 to 133-4). Further he testified that he conferred with

Wagner and Dayley to arrive at the square footage estimate.

(Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 133-25 to 134-5). However, Wagner

stated that she did not discuss the calculation of the claim

with anyone at CPA or W.P. Carey after she prepared the

numbers for inclusion in the memo to Toby Daluz. (Wagner

Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 235-20 to 236-2). Also perplexing is the

fact that nothing in NV-11, NV-12 or CPA-6 references an

estimate of $25.00 per square foot for deferred maintenance.

69. As mentioned above, Jones asserts that the deferred

maintenance item was intended to reflect the cost of bringing

the property to a vanilla shell. He further testified that a

landlord can only estimate those costs because it is not

possible to be certain until work is begun on a property.

(Jones Tr. 7/16/97, 311-3 to 312-5). Moreover, he claims

that the estimate for the Reno property was in part based on

CPA’s experience at Moorestown as well as other properties.

(Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 129-5 to -7, 131-11 to -21; 132-9 to

133-15).

70. After carefully considering the conduct of CPA in

preparation of the proofs of claim, the court concludes that

79a

Appendix C

CPA was remarkably indifferent to precisely calculating a

reasonable estimate of its claim, and also took a somewhat

expansive view of what constitutes deferred maintenance.

However, in light of the testimony that the deferred

maintenance estimates were premised upon putting the

property in a “vanilla shell” condition and that the estimates

were derived in part from actual experience from other

buildings the court cannot find a deliberate intent to misstate

deferred maintenance claims for the Reno and Moorestown

Properties. Thus, the court does not find that CPA

deliberately inflated its proofs if claim.

2. Alleged Assignment of the Leases to CPA

71. New Valley contends that the evidence shows that

CPA intentionally and falsely maintained that the Reno and

Bridgeton Leases were assigned. Further, to bolster its

position CPA manufactured documents which purportedly

demonstrate that CPA consented to the assignments. After

considering the testimony of the witnesses, particularly that

of Barclay Jones, Donald Wasson, and John Walters, and

the exhibits submitted into evidence by the parties, the court

concludes that New Valley’s contention has been proven by

a preponderance of the evidence. That is, as set forth below,

the court finds that CPA never considered the leases to have

been assigned. The court suspects that CPA took that position

as a negotiating tactic in order to minimize any losses it might

suffer as a result of the New Valley bankruptcy.

72. On March 15, 1990 Wasson wrote to Jones to request

that CPA consent to the assignment of the Bridgeton and

Reno leases to FSI. Wasson included the proposed consents

80a

Appendix C

to assignment with his letter. (Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 30-18 to

33-10; NV-46; CPA-7).

73. In April, 1990 Wasson and Jones discussed the

proposed consents. Jones advised Wasson that CPA refused

to execute the consents unless the Moorestown Lease was

also assigned to FSI. (Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 33-11 to 38-9;

Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 154-9 to 13).

74. Jones testified unequivocally that he did not reach

any deal with Wasson regarding CPA’s consent to the

assignments. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 213-2 to 214-11).

Wasson also understood that CPA did not consent to the

assignments. He advised his colleague, Jan Wolpert, by

memo dated April 12, 1990 that CPA wanted all of the

properties to be transferred to FSI. Wasson further asked

Wolpert how he wished to proceed. (NV-47). Wasson further

testified that from that point through May, 1993, there were

no discussions between New Valley and CPA regarding

assignment of the Bridgeton and Reno Leases. (Wasson Tr.

7/16/97, 40-16 to 40-17; Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 155-5 to

-18).

75. In April, 1993, shortly after the entry of the order

for relief in its Chapter 11 case, New Valley moved to extend

the time to assume or reject nonresidential real property

leases (including the Bridgeton and Reno Leases until

confirmation of a plan of reorganization. (NV-96-1).

76. CPA initially objected to the relief sought, but on

May 18, 1993 advised New Valley that its objection would

be withdrawn. CPA’s counsel faxed copies of consents to

8la

Appendix C

assignment, executed by Barclay Jones, and dated April 15,

1990, to the New Valley bankruptcy counsel. (Walters Tr.

7/17/97, 16-16 to 17-12). On May 21, 1993 CPA filed a

Withdrawal of Objection. (NV-96-5).

77. After receiving faxed copies of the consents from

the New Valley bankruptcy counsel, John Walters

(“Walters”) the general counsel to New Valley, directed

Wasson to check the New Valley Files for any fully executed

copies of the consents. Wasson found that the New Valley

files did not contain any such documents. (Walters Tr.

7/17/97, 22-2 to -10; Wasson Tr. 7/16/97, 43-18 to 44-14).

78. Walters concluded that (i) CPA believed that it held

valid consents to assignment, (ii) that the consents had been

backdated by three years and (iii) the executed consents were

“resurfaced” by CPA because with FSI as the assignee, CPA

no longer had to worry whether New Valley would reject

the leases. (Walters Tr. 7/ 17/97, 24-7 to 25-3).

79. The court concurs with Walters’ assessment that it

is likely that the consents were backdated and then produced

to avoid the prospect of being limited to a lease rejection

claim in the New Valley bankruptcy.

80. New Valley presented testimony by Richard

Brunelle (“Brunelle”) as an ink analysis expert. The specific

scope of his engagement was to ascertain whether Jones’

signature, his title, “Executive Vice President,” and the date

“April 15, 1990” on the original consent forms were written

on April 15, 1990 or some other date. (Brunelle Tr. 7/17/97,

53-12 to -25).

82a

Appendix C

81. After conducting tests on the inks used to write the

signature, title and date, Brunelle found no conclusive time

frame for Jones’ signature. (Brunelle Tr. 7/17/97, 44-3 to

-15. However, he was able to identify the ink used to write

the title and date as BIC blue ball-point ink. (Brunelle Tr.

7/17/97, 44-16 to 45-7). After performing ink dryness tests

Brunelle concluded that the title and date were written in

1993. (Brunelle Tr. 7/17/97, 44-16 to 48-5; NV-99).

82. CPA did not introduce an expert to contradict

Brunelle and were not able on cross-examination to

demonstrate that either Brunelle’s methods or conclusions

were unreliable. Brunelle has conducted ink analysis since

1978 and his services and methods have been relied upon by

the Internal Revenue Service, the Secret Service, and other

agencies. (NV-97). The court accepts his conclusions.

83. New Valley also adduced evidence that Jones did

not become Executive Vice President of W.P. Carey until

April 4, 1991, approximately one year after the purported

execution of the consents. (NV-89). At trial, Jones testified

that he became Executive Vice President in June or July,

1990. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 205-5 to -13). Either date is

after the date that appears on the consents.

84. In support of CPA’s position that the consents were

not deliberately backdated, Jones testified that a tremendous

quantity of paper flowed through his offices and he very often

signed documents which were then completed by others as

to date and title. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 163-14 to 164-15;

165-2 to -20). Moreover, Elizabeth Wagner testified that

83a

Appendix C

other officers at CPA followed the same practice. (Wagner

Tr. 7/10/97 A.M., 252-21 to 253-3).

85. Jones did recollect signing the consents despite this

voluminous paper flow. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M., 162-22 to

163-4). However, he could not remember when he signed

them, though he believed it possible that he in fact signed

them on Easter Sunday, April 15, 1990. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97

P.M., 164-16 to 25).

86. Jones also stated that the titles and dates on the

consents were not in his handwriting. (Jones Tr. 7/9/97 P.M.,

163-10 to -13). Eve Berman, the former head of the property

management department at W.P. Carey, testified that the title

and date on the consents are her handwriting. (Berman Tr.

7/17/97 P.M., 14-3 to -24). However, she did not recall filling

out the title and date information. (Berman Tr. 7/17/97 P.M.,

17-19 to -21

87. In fact, except for the identification of her

handwriting on the consents Berman’s testimony was largely

inconclusive and unhelpful as demonstrated by the following:

Q: Is it possible that the specific date that’s on

the consents is not the exact date that you actually

wrote that date out?

A: Yes

Q: Is it possible that the date is — that you wrote

on the consent to assignments three years earlier

than you actually dated the document?

84a

Appendix C

A: No, I highly doubt that.

Q: Well, why do you doubt that?

A: Because I doubt I would ever get a date wrong

by three years.

Q: Were you ever asked by anyone to backdate

any document at CPA?

A: No.

Q: Specifically, were you asked by Mr. Jones to

backdate these consents?

A: No

(Berman Tr. 7/17/97 P.M., 21-18 to 22-10).

Q: Okay. And if (Mr. Brunelle) said that the ink

scientifically shows that it was penned in 1993,

do you have any personal knowledge that

scientific evidence is flawed?

A: When was it — if it was a year different than

the actual document is dated I would have to trust

my date as opposed to what he says.

Q: Why?

A: Because, I mean, I don’t know how accurate

these scientists are but I just know that when I

85a

Appendix C

sign a document I would rarely get the year wrong.

I mean, maybe the date but — unless it was like a

January date where, you know you confuse

January and December. I can’t see why I would

get the year wrong. ! don’t — you know, I don’t

know how accurate he is.

(Berman Tr. 7/17/97 P.M., 31-15 to 32-6)

88. The court is unsurprised

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New Valley Corp. v. Corporate Property Associates 2, 120 S. Ct. 983 (2000) (No. 99-904) | Frix