Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection v. Nigro, 120 S. Ct. 790 (2000) (No. 99-663)

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, U.S.

FILED

No. 99 663101 1819

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

Petitioner,

V.

JOSEPH P. NIGRO, TRUSTEE FOR THE ESTATE OF

TRI-STATE CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondent.

Pctition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL A. TUFANO

General Counsel

GREGORY E. DUNLAP

Deputy General Counsel

(Counsel of Record)

ROGER E. GRIMALDI

Deputy General Counsel

ANTHONY S. POTTER

Assistant General Counsel

STUART M. BLIWAS

Assistant Counsel

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Office of General Counsel

333 Market Street 17th Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17101-2210

Telephone: (717) 783-6563

Counsel for Petitioner

Dated: October 18, 1999

| eRe RR a ERT RN RPC AH PLO AR ARNT EE OER ATTIRE,

PACKARD PRESS® / APPELLATE DIVISION, 1617 JFK BOULEVARD, PHILA., PA. 19103 (215) 563-9000

Lp ee

~~ - . P: SS ET Oe ay ae ve

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where a debtor commits a crime during the pendency of

a Chapter 11 bankruptcy, is the resulting criminal penalty

assessed against the debtor properly classified and prioritized

as an administrative expense under the Bankruptcy Code?

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner is the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Depart-

ment of Environmental Protection (DEP), which is the admin-

istrative agency of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

charged with the administration of Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste

Management Act. At the time of the filing of the Proof of

Claim in this matter, the DEP was known as the Department

of Environmental Resources (DER), but was renamed the

Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to Section

501 of the Pennsylvania Conservation and Natural Resources

Act, Act of June 28, 1995 (No. 18, P.L. 89), 71 PA. STAT.

ANN. § 1340.501. Since the Petitioner was the DER at the

time of the filing of the Proof of Claim, the name DER was

carried throughout the proceedings in the lower courts.

Respondent is Joseph P. Nigro, Trustee for the Estate of

Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc. The lower courts carried

Tri-State Clinical Laboratories and the Trustee as joint appel-

lees in the caption. Inasmuch as this Court is deciding the

validity of the Trustee’s objection to a claim, he is the real

party in interest.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

oe i

a vee Sekbaakhececesccceccesecces ii

prt OF Os oye lay |.) v

RE Ne 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION.................. 1

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED............. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ....... ccc ccc cece ees 1

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........... 3

I. A Criminal Penalty Imposed On A Bankruptcy

Debtor In Possession Is An Administrative

Expense Under The Bankruptcy Code And This

Court Should Review The Third Circuit’s Deci-

Re 3

A. The Third Circuit Departed From This Court's

Decision In Reading Co. v. Brown When It

Decided That Criminal Penalties Assessed For

Conduct Engaged In During A Chapter 11

Proceeding Are Not An Administrative

EE EE a re ao

B. The Court Of Appeals Justified Its Departure

‘From Reading By Misconstruing The Legisla-

tive History Of The Bankruptcy Code.......

C. The Third Circuit’s Decision Renders 28

U.S.C. § 959(b) Inoperable .................

D. The Third Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary To

This Court’s Policy That Federal Bankruptcy

Courts Should Not Invalidate State Criminal

eae eda Gg hk es ube wcsee'ee eas

E. The Third Circuit’s Decision Stands Alone

And Conflicts With The Authoritative Deci-

sions Of All Other United States Courts Of

Appeals That Have Addressed This Issue. ....

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

soc, awsnsn aga EOE Oe TE ey: 16

APPENDIX

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dep’t of Envitl.

Resources v. Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc., No.

98-3332 (3d Cir. June 2, ON arictid aE a Sg la

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dep’t of Envtl.

Resources v. Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc., No.

97-2115 (W.D. Pa. WN tt MOP kk ba ae dba Seckckess 26a

In re Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc., No. 90-22476

(Bankr. W.D. Pa. August 21, of Ry ae 30a

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dep’t of Envtl.

Resources v. Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc., No.

98-3332 (3d Cir. July 21, con, EE TOUT TO PEE Tee: 43a

Text of Statutory Provisions Involved................. 44a

aE Rin WO ache adic vi cy tiwescds ivcntua cnc 44a

11 U.S.C. § 93(j) (repealed) ...........000.000........ 45a

11 U.S.C. § 104(a)(1) (repealed) ...................... 45a

iv

ith A A aa a YW chen moe LN

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Alabama Surface Mining Comm’n v. N. P. Mining Co.,

Inc., (In re N. PR. Mining Co., Inc.), 963 F.2d 1449

LB Re eee rreien an 7, 11, 12

American Surety Co. v. Marotta, 287 U.S. 513 (1933).... 12

Bank of Marin v. England, 385 U.S. 99 (1966).......... 11

Bates v. United States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997) .............. 8

Cumberland Farms, Inc. v. Florida Dep’t of Envtl. Protec-

tion, 116 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1997)............... 7, 12, 13

Fields v. Manns, 516 U.S. 59 (1995) ..............0005. 8

In re Bill’s Coal Co., Inc., 124 B.R. 827 (D.Kan. 1991)... 7

In re Charles Bank Laundry, Inc., 755 F.2d 200 (1st Cir.

Aas Wee Wkas Caw ea wkd evaNddeea ceeds . 13

In re Mammoth Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950 (1st Cir. 1976).. 13

Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 36 (1986) .............000. 11

Midlantic Nat'l Bank v. New Jersey, 474 U.S. 494

IR CERCLA CAGE NS ba hawiGe do MAG AiKa4 60 kb 13

Oregon v. Witcosky, (In re Allen Care Centers, Inc.), 96

ee ee Pe err ee eee 14

Pennsylvania Dep’t of Pub. Welfare v. Davenport, 495

ec ee awae cid ccuks eo ecvekcees 14

Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471 (1968).......... passim

Springer v. Government of Philippine Islands, 277 U.S.

SSS GE a Dr an ee a ee 8

United States v. Barnes, 222 U.S. 513 (1912) ............ 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

Cases, continued Page

United States Dep’t of Interior v. Elliott, 761 F.2d 168 (4th

Ce BOE. oc ccc sc caccccesavctecncssensenseses 7, 14

United States v. Noland (In re First Truck Lines, Inc.),

48 F3d 210 (6th Cir. 1995), rev’d. 517 U.S. 535

(199G). occ vecscccvcccccvccscccccccesccscecvess 8

Federal Statutes

ei lok Sere ee eee reer ree 12

Se: at 2 ner ee rr passim

11 U.S.C. § T2Ga4). oc verccccccccsvccccssccccnces 7

2B USC. §OBDD) . 0. ccc cccvecccecececevccsccccnces 9, 10

, 0) et ly. en rer err tr ence 1

State Statutes

35 PA. STAT. ANN. § 6018.701..........- eee eeeeeeees 3

Pennsylvania Conservation and Natural Resources Act,

Act of June 28, 1995 (No. 18, P.L. 89), 71 PA. STAT.

ANN. © 1340501... cc cccncrsccccccccccevececes il

Legislative Material

House Report No. 95-595, 95th Congress Second Session

(1978), Reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 6311.... 14

vi

at tw rma N

ee ert Ser

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit which held that a

criminal fine imposed on a corporation for engaging in egre-

gious criminal conduct during the pendency of a Chapter 11

petition was not an administrative expense of the Chapter 11

bankruptcy estate.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit is reported at 178 F.3d 685 (3d Cir. 1999). A

copy of the Opinion is reprinted in the Appendix at la. The

Opinion of the United States District Court for the Western

District of Pennsylvania is not reported, but is reprinted in the

Appendix at 26a. The Opinion of the United States Bank-

ruptcy Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania is not

reported, but is reprinted in the Appendix at 30a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

issued its Opinion on June 2, 1999. On June 15, 1999, Peti-

tioner filed a Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc that the United States Court of Appeals

denied on July 21, 1999 (Appendix at 43a). This Petition for

Writ of Certiorari is filed within ninety (90) days of the denial

of the Petition for Rehearing. The Court’s jurisdiction is

invokea pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The relevant statutory provision is Section 503(b) of the

United States Bankruptcy Code of 1978, 11 U.S.C. § 503(b).

This statutory provision is reprinted in the Appendix at 44a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves a fundamental question of whether a

criminal penalty, which is assessed by a state based upon egre-

gious criminal conduct engaged in by a debtor during the pen-

1

2

dency of a Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition, is rightly classified

and prioritized as an administrative expense under the Bank-

ruptcy Code, thereby assuring payment of the criminal pen-

alty. The underlying facts of the case are undisputed and rela-

tively uncomplicated.

Criminal Conduct

On August 14, 1990, Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc.,

filed a voluntary petition under Chapter 11 of the United

States Bankruptcy Code. Shortly after Tri-State Clinical filed

its petition, on October 4, 1990, two municipal workers, Gary

Brasco and Francis Eredintario, were emptying a municipal

waste dumpster located behind Tri-State’s facility into a

municipal waste truck. After emptying the contents of the

dumpster into the truck, Mr. Brasco engaged the truck’s com-

pactor. As the compactor crushed the contents of the dump-

ster, one of Tri-State’s boxes broke open, spraying both work-

ers with blood. The blood that sprayed the workers came from

test tubes illegally dumped by Tri-State.

Criminal Proceedings

On January 21, 1992, Pennsylvania’s Office of Attorney

General filed a criminal complaint charging Tri-State with a

violation of Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste Management Act for

illegally disposing of infectious waste. On July 28, 1994, Tri-

State was convicted of violating Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste

Management Act and a $20,000 fine was assessed against Tri-

State for illegally dumping infectious waste in a municipal

dumpster.

Bankruptcy Proceedings

On September 10, 1992, respondent Joseph P. Nigro, was

appointed Chapter 11 Trustee. Shortly thereafter, on October

6, 1992, Tri-State’s bankruptcy case was converted to Chapter

7, and respondent Nigro was appointed Chapter 7 Trustee.

Sn vee atte Wana ib witha "

bated te hla as PRL Rass Wide ON Ae se We ee

3

The Department of Environmental Protection (“DEP”)

filed a proof of claim! seeking to collect the $20,000 criminal

penalty as a Chapter 11 administrative expense. The trustee,

however, objected to treating the criminal penalty, which was

assessed as a result of Tri-State’s illegal dumping of infectious

waste during the pendency of Chapter 11 proceedings, as an

administrative expense. On April 9, 1997, a hearing was held

before the bankruptcy court. At that hearing, it was concluded

that the facts were undisputed and that the only question was

whether the criminal penalty was properly classified as an

administrative expense.

On August 21, 1998, the bankruptcy court entered an

order sustaining the Trustee’s objection to the proof of claim

filed by the DEP. A timely appeal was taken by the DEP to

the United States District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania; however, on May 5, 1998, that court affirmed

the bankruptcy court’s decision.

An appeal was filed with the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit. On June 2, 1999, the Court of

Appeals held that the criminal penalty was not an administra-

tive expense of the Chapter 11 bankruptcy estate. Petitioner's

request for rehearing en banc was denied on July 21, 1999.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A CRIMINAL PENALTY IMPOSED ON A BANK-

RUPTCY DEBTOR IN POSSESSION IS AN ADMINIS-

TRATIVE EXPENSE UNDER THE BANKRUPTCY

CODE AND THIS COURT SHOULD REVIEW THE

THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION TO THE CONTRARY.

The question presented by this petition is clear cut and

straightforward: Is a criminal fine imposed on a corporation

for engaging in egregious criminal conduct during the pen-

1. Although Pennsylvania's Office of Attorney General prosecuted this

matter, DEP is the agency charged with administering Pennsylvania's Solid

Waste Management Act and is entitled to all criminal fines collected under

the Act. See 35 PA. STAT. ANN. § 6018.701.

eee eee eee ree rere rrr eee

4

dency of a Chapter 11 petition, in order to cut costs, properly

classified as an administrative expense under Section 503 of

the Bankruptcy Code. In this case, Tri-State chose to illegally

dispose of infectious waste by dumping human blood into a

municipal dumpster during the pendency of its Chapter 11

petition solely as a cost-cutting measure. Unfortunately, the

Third Circuit’s decision, by ignoring the text of the Bank-

ruptcy Code and misconstruing legislative history to circum-

vent this Court’s decision in Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S.

471 (1968), encourages other debtors in possession to engage

in similar cost-benefit analysis when deciding if they should

comply with state and federal laws. Moreover, the Third Cir-

cuit’s decision stands alone, in that it conflicts with every other

authoritative decision of a court of appeals that has considered

this issue.

A. The Third Circuit Departed From This Court's Deci-

sion In Reading Co. v. Brown, When It Decided That

Criminal Penalties Assessed For Conduct Engaged In

During A Chapter 11 Proceeding Are Not An

Administrative Expense.

In Reading, this Court held that a tort judgment resulting

from a trustee’s negligence is entitled to a priority as an

administrative expense. Specifically, the question presented in

Reading was “whether the negligence of a receiver administer-

ing an estate under a Chapter XI arrangement gives rise to an

‘actual and necessary’ cost of operating the debtor’s busines.”

Reading Co., 391 U.S. at 476. Answering this question affirma-

tively, and thereby reversing the Third Circuit, this Court rea-

soned that injuries from the operation of a debtors business

must be born by those creditors who benefit from the opera-

tion of the business under Chapter 11. /d. at 483-84. Notwith-

standing this Court's analysis in Reading, however, the Third

Circuit held that granting administrative status to a criminal

penalty would be unfair because it would reduce the amounts

otherwise available to pay innocent creditors. Appendix at

13a.

teh pa

eg nee

5

In its Opinion, the Third Circuit noted that this Court in

Reading decided that the “necessary” cost of operating a busi-

ness would include those “ordinarily incident” to its opera-

tions, and not just those without which rehabilitation would be

impossible. Appendix at 6a. Nevertheless, the circuit court

rejected the Commonwealth’s argument that the cost of com-

plying with the laws, including paying penalties for noncompli-

ance, is a cost of doing business. It stated:

We refuse to adopt an analysis of administrative

expenses that is based upon the assumption that

legitimate businesses engage in a “cost-benefit”

analysis to determine if they will comply with crimi-

nal laws that protect the very public that the owners

and operators of those legitimate business are a part

of. It is neither reasonable nor necessary for a com-

mercial enterprise to violate criminal laws and

endanger the public to preserve the estate or to con-

duct legitimate business operations, and we refuse

the DER’s invitation to hold otherwise. Rather, we

believe Congress intended only for those “actual,

necessary costs and expenses” that arise in the con-

text of ... legitimate activity ... to be ... accorded

priority as an administrative expense.

Appendix at 13a. This Court, in Reading, expressly rejected an

argument almost identical to the one the Third Circuit

accepted. In Reading, the trustee contended that the relevant

Statutory objectives are: “(1) to facilitate rehabilitation of

insolvent businesses and (2) to preserve a maximum of assets

for distribution among the general creditors should the

arrangement fail.” 391 U.S. at 476-77. Rejecting that view, this

Court stated:

In our view the trustee has overlooked one

important, and here decisive, statutory objective:

fairness to all persons having claims against an insol-

vent. Petitioner suffered grave financial injury from

what is here agreed to have been the negligence of

the receiver and a workman. It is conceded that, in

6

principle, petitioner has a right to recover for that

injury from their “employer,” the business under

arrangement, upon the rule of respondeat superior.

Respondents contend however, that petitioner is in

no different position from anyone else injured by a

person with scant assets: it’s right to recover exists in

theory but is not enforceable in practice.

That, however, is not an adequate description

of petitioner's position. At the moment when an

arrangement is sought, the debtor is insolvent. Its

existing creditors hope that by partial or complete

postponement of their claims they will through suc-

cessful rehabilitation, eventually recover from the

debtor either in full or in larger proportion then

they would in immediate bankruptcy. Hence the

present petitioner did not merely suffer injury at the

hands of an insolvent business: it had an insolvent

business thrust upon it by operation of law. ...

Reading, 391 U.S. at 477-78. The Reading decision conse-

quently requires those who will benefit from the debtor con-

tinuing in business to pay for the costs of that continuation in

business.

In the present case, the Third Circuit turned the policy

established by Reading on its head. Certainly the bankruptcy

court would have approved the cost of proper disposal of

infectious waste items; and had the debtor done so, the extra

money spent on that disposal would not have been available

to the creditors. Yet, creditors now stand to gain the money

the debtors saved precisely because the debtor deliberately

violated the law. It is particularly egregious in this case

because the illegal dumping of human blood endangered not

only the two municipal workers who were sprayed by the

blood, but public health and safety generally.

Finally, it is worth noting that since this Court’s decision

in Reading, all other circuit courts have concluded that the

post petition costs of complying with the law in a Chapter 11

7

bankruptcy is an administrative expense. See Alabama Surface

Mining Comm'n v. N. P. Mining Co., Inc., (In re N. P. Mining

Co., Inc.), 963 F.2d 1449 (11th Cir. 1992); Cumberland Farms,

Inc. v. Florida Dep’t of Envtl. Protection, 116 F.3d 16 (1st Cir.

1997); United States Dep't of Interior v. Elliott, 761 F.2d 168

(4th Cir. 1985); In re Bill’s Coal Co., Inc., 124 B.R. 827

(D.Kan. 1991). This Court should review the Third Circuit’s

contrary decision.

B. The Court Of Appeals Justified Its Departure From

Reading By Misconstruing The Legislative History Of

The Bankruptcy Code.

Seeking to justify its departure from Reading, the Third

Circuit looked to legislative history that pertained solely to

prepetition penalties. The present case by contrast involves

criminal conduct undertaken during the course of the Chapter

11 bankruptcy. Thus, legislative history relating to prepetition

penalties is simply inapposite to interpreting the statutory pro-

visions relating to postpetition penalties.

The legislative history invoked by the Third Circuit

relates only to 11 U.S.C. § 726(a)(4), which deals exclusively

with prepetition penalties. Section 726(a)(4) provides:

(a) Except as provided in ..., property of the

estate shall be distributed

(4) Fourth in payment of any allowed claim,

whether secured or unsecured, for any fine, penalty,

or forfeiture ..., arising before the earlier of the

order for relief or the appointment of a trustee, . . .

11 U.S.C. § 726(a)(4) (emphasis added). DEP is not arguing

that prepetition penalties are entitled to Chapter 11 adminis-

trative claim status. Instead, this case only involves criminal

penalties for conduct that occurred during Tri-State’s Chapter

11 reorganization.

Ignoring the distinction between prepetition and postpe-

tition penalties, the Court of Appeals isolated itself from the

8

context of the Bankruptcy Code and magnified the legislative

history relating to prepetition penalties in order to demon-

strate that Congress never intended for postpetition penalties

to be classified as an administrative expense. The Third Cir-

cuit’s misuse of legislative history in this way to bolster its

conclusion and validate its misreading of this Court’s prece-

dent is simply astounding.?

A similar method of analysis was employed by the Sixth

Circuit in United States v. Noland, (In re First Truck Lines,

Inc.), 48 F.3d 210 (6th Cir. 1995), rev’d 517 U.S. 535 (1996),

when the Sixth Circuit concluded that it should equitably sub-

ordinate postpetition tax penalties, simply because the Bank-

ruptcy Code subordinated prepetition penalties. This Court

soundly repudiated that case because Congress clearly had not

seen fit to subordinate postpetition tax penalties and the

courts have no right to reverse that conclusion. See Noland,

517 U.S. at 543. Congress clearly knew how to subordinate

prepetition penalties; when it did not impose the same restric-

tions on postpetition penalties, it intended a different treat-

ment.

2. The Court of Appeals cites Bates v. United States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997),

for support for its conclusion that criminal fines and penalties should not be

treated as “administrative expenses” under the Bankruptcy Code. Appendix

at 7a, n.4. Specifically, Bates stated “where Congress included particular lan-

guage in one section of a statute but omits in another section of the same

Act, it is generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally, and purposely

in desperate inclusion or exclusion.” 522 U.S. at 29-30.

This maxim of expressio unis “expresses a rule of construction and not

of substantive law.” United States v. Barnes, 222 U.S. 513 (1912). As such,

expressio unis, must serve “only as an aid in discovering the legislative intent

when that is not otherwise manifest.” 222 U.S. at 519. Reliance on the

maxim of expressio unis “must yield whenever a contrary intention on the

part of the law maker is apparent.” Springer v. Government of Philippine

Islands, 277 U.S. 189, 206 (1928). In fact, the rule is “weakest when it sug-

gests results strainly at odds with other textual pointers.” Field v. Manns, 516

U.S. 59, 75 (1995). In this case, the text of section 503(b) makes clear that

Congress never intended the list of administrative expenses to be compre-

hensive; instead, the list is merely illustrative.

9

C. The Third Circuit’s Decision Renders 28 U.S.C.

§ 959(b) Inoperable.

The effect of the panel decision is that it totally emascu-

lates the provision of 28 U.S.C. § 959(b), which requires that a

debtor in possession operate a business in accordance with

state laws. Section 959(b), provides as follows:

... @ trustee, receiver or manager appointed in any

cause pending in any court of the United States,

including a debtor in possession, shall manage and

operate the property in his possession as such

trustee, receiver or manager according to the

requirements of the valid laws of the State in which

such property is situated, in the same manner that

the owner or possessor thereof would be bound to

do if in possession thereof.

28 U.S.C. § 959(b) (emphasis added). Thus, Congress

expressly requires every debtor in possession to operate a

business in accordance with state law.

In order to have any deterrent effect, criminal and civil

penalties assessed during the pendency of a Chapter 11 peti-

tion must be treated as a cost and expense of doing business

like any other expense. It is axiomatic that the purpose of a

penalty is to encourage compliance with the law. Any deter-

rent effect, however, is lost if a debtor operating postpetition

is allowed to do so with impunity, knowing that any penalty is

characterized as a general unsecured claim and, therefore, in

all probability will never be paid. Treating the criminal penalty

as an administrative expense insures its payment, thereby rein-

forcing the deterrent effect by not allowing a debtor in posses-

sion and creditors to benefit from engaging in cost-cutting

criminal behavior. Any other result gives a debtor in posses-

sion not only a distinct commercial advantage over those oper-

ating businesses outside bankruptcy, but an incentive to

engage in criminal conduct to cut costs. Certainly this is not

19

what Congress intended when it specifically required a debtor

in possession to comply with valid state laws.

The cost of complying, or the cost of paying a penalty for

not complying with a law, are expenses incident to the opera-

tion of a business whether the business has filed for Chapter

1] reorganization or not. Indeed, any natural reading of Sec-

tion 959(b) mandates that a penalty, whether criminal or civil,

imposed for unlawful conduct by a debtor during the pen-

dency of a Chapter 11 petition be granted priority as an

administrative expense.

D. The Third Circuit’s Decision Is Contrary To This

Court’s Policy That Federal Bankruptcy Courts

Should Not Invalidate State Criminal Proceedings.

Contrary to the well-established policy of this Court, the

Third Circuit’s decision nullifies a criminal penalty imposed by

Pennsylvania for conduct that occurred during the pendency

of Tri-State’s Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition. The Third Cir-

cuit’s decision places great weight upon the fact that in a

Chapter 7 bankruptcy there is only a finite amount of money

available for creditors. Thus, for every dollar that is paid

toward a criminal penalty in a Chapter 7 bankruptcy, there is

one less dollar available to pay creditors. The Third Circuit's

analysis is fundamentally flawed for two reasons.

First, it is much more important to insure that a Chapter

11 debtor has an economic incentive to obey the law than it is

for federal courts to protect the resources available to pay

creditors that had a business relationship with a debtor. Sec-

ond, not every Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding converts to

Chapter 7 and, in those cases that do not convert, the amount

of money to pay creditors is not finite. Consequently, one must

assume that the case will not convert from Chapter 11 to

Chapter 7. Unfortunately, the Third Circuit’s decision

expresses more concern for protecting the resources available

to creditors in Chapter 7 liquidation than with insuring that

corporate debtors comply with state laws.

)

«

11

This Court has clearly set contrary policy through its deci-

sion in Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 36 (1986). In Kelly, this

Court interpreted Section 523(a)(7) as prohibiting the dis-

charge of criminal penalties assessed against individuals, rea-

soning that the basis for the exception to discharge is a deep

conviction that federal bankruptcy courts should not invali-

date state criminal proceedings. Kelly, 479 U.S. at 49. Quoting

Justice William O. Douglas, this Court wrote:

We do not read these statutory words with the ease

of a computer. There is an overriding consideration

that equitable principals govern the exercise of

bankruptcy jurisdiction.

Id. quoting Bank of Marin v. England, 385 U.S. 99 (1966). This

Court has long recognized that the states’ interest in adminis-

tering their criminal justice systems free from federal interfer-

ence is one of the most powerful of the considerations that

should influence a court considering equitable types of relief.

“This reflection of our federalism must also influence our

interpretation of the bankruptcy code.” Jd. Those words are a

strong reminder of just how strictly this Court views the need

to accord respect to a state’s criminal proceedings.

E. The Third Circuit's Decision Stands Alone And Con-

flicts With The Authoritative Decisions Of All Other

United States Courts Of Appeals That Have

Addressed This Issue.

The Third Circuit was not the first court to address this

issue, although its conclusion is unique. In fact, the Third Cir-

cuit recognized that its decision was in tension with other Cir-

cuit Court decisions but expressly chose to deviate from those

opinions. Appendix at 22a.

The most comprehensive analysis of the status of Chapter

11 and Chapter 7 administrative fines and penalties was made

by the Eleventh Circuit in Jn re N. PR. Mining Co., 963 F.2d

1449 (11th Cir. 1992). N. PR Mining involved a situation in

which the debtor in possession violated environmental laws

12

while it was operating during the Chapter 11 administration of

the bankruptcy case. Civil penalties were imposed upon the

debtor as a result of those violations. On the basis of the civil

penalties, the Alabama Surface Mining Commission filed an

administrative claim pursuant to Section 503(b) of the Bank-

ruptcy Code, which provides as follows:

After notice and a hearing, there shall be allowed

administrative expenses, . . . including

(1)(A) the actual, necessary costs and expenses

of preserving the estate, including ...; (emphasis

added)

The N. P Mining court held that “punitive civil penalties

assessed for postpetition mining activities qualify as an admin-

istrative expense under Section 503(b)(1)(A).” N. P Mining,

963 F.2d at 1459. The rational used by the Eleventh Circuit

was that there was a need to force trustees and “debtors in

Possession” to comply with state laws, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 959(b), and the Code’s Rule of Construction contained in 11

U.S.C. § 102(3) relating to the word “including” in Section

503(b).3 The N.P Mining court concluded that “penalties

assessed for mining violations that are sustained during the

operation of a mine by the debtor in possession or the Trustee

shall be given administrative expense status ...” Jd. at 1461.

The First Circuit in the case of Cumberland Farms v.

Florida Dep’t of Envtl. Protection, 116 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1997),

took the same approach as the Eleventh Circuit. In Cumber-

land Farms, a network of combined convenience stores and

gas stations located in Florida were operated by the debtor in

possession. Cumberland Farms operated its underground stor-

age tank sites after filing a Chapter 11 petition for a period of

17 months without complying with Florida’s reporting require-

ments and pertinent regulations. Florida’s DEP fined Cumber-

land Farms $200,000, which the bankruptcy court and district

3. 11 U.S.C. § 102(3) is based upon this Court's decision in American

Surety Company v. Marota, 287 U.S. 513 (1933).

13

court concluded had Chapter 11 administrative expense prior-

ity. The First Circuit, in affirming the district court, held:

It is now abundantly clear that in state regulated

areas such as protection of the environment, a bank-

ruptcy court must comply with the laws of the state

involved. [citation omitted] Debtors in Possession,

such as Cumberland, do not have carte blanche to

ignore state and local laws protecting the environ-

ment against pollution. Midlantic Nat’l Bank v. New

Jersey Dep’t of Envtl. Protection, 474 U.S. 494

(1986).

Cumberland Farms, 116 F.3d at 19-20. The First Circuit then

found that under Reading Co. v. Brown, “the payment of a

fine for failing during bankruptcy to meet the requirements of

a state environmental protection law” is a cost “ordinarily

incident to the operation of business in light of today’s exten-

sive environmental regulations.” Jd. at 20.

_

In coming to its conclusion in Cumberland Farms, the

First Circuit reviewed this Court’s decision in Reading and two

of its prior rulings on similar questions. First, in Jn re Charles

Bank Laundry, Inc., 755 F.2d 200 (1st Cir. 1985), the First Cir-

cuit held that a fine for violation of a temporary injunction

during the pendency of a bankruptcy was properly classified as

an administrative claim. Second, in In re Mammoth Mart, Inc.,

536 F.2d 950 (1st Cir. 1976), the First Circuit found that admin-

istrative status should be given to claims of creditors injured

by the debtor in possession’s operations of the business if their

claims did not arise from the transactions that were necessary

to preserve or rehabilitate the estate. After reviewing Reading

and its own prior precedent, the First Circuit affirmed the

$200,000 Chapter 11 administrative expense priority holding

that “it would be fundamentally unfair to allow Cumberland

Farms to flout Florida’s environmental protection laws and

escape paying a penalty for such behavior.” Cumberland

Farms, 116 F.3d at 21.

14

The Third Circuit's decision is also contrary to and con-

flicts with that of the Fourth Circuit in United States Dep’t of

Interior v. Elliott, 761 F.2d 168 (4th Cir. 1985). Elliott involved

a mining corporation operating as debtor in possession that

was cited for several violations of the federal Surface Mining

Conservation and Reclamation Act. Penalties were assessed

for this postpetition conduct in the amount of $69,750. The

lower courts in Elliott held that only tax penalties incurred by

a Trustee while operating a debtor’s business were allowable

as postpetition administrative expenses. The Fourth Circuit

rejected this holding and ruled that former Section 57 (j) of

the bankruptcy act,‘ allowed “all postpetition penalty claims

regardless of their type and regardless of whether they were

incurred by the Trustee or by the debtor in possession.”

Elliott, 761 F.2d at 171.

Moreover, the fact that N. P Mining, Cumberland Farms,

and Elliott addressed civil penalties rather than criminal fines

makes no difference as to a conflict between the circuits.

Indeed, this Court specifically found in the case of Pennsylva-

nia Dep't of Pub. Welfare v. Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 561-2,

(1990), that there was no difference between the way criminal

and civil sanctions were treated in the Bankruptcy Code.

Finally, the Third Circuit’s decision leaves states in a

quandary. The Ninth Circuit in Oregon v. Witcosky, (In re

Allen Care Centers, Inc.), 96 F.3d 1328 (9th Cir. 1996), held

that the state could not recover costs incurred in providing

care and safe transfer of residents after the closing of a failing

nursing home, which was operated by the debtor, because the

expenses were not a result of the debtors wrongdoing, but

simply from its insolvency. Witcosky, 96 F.3d at 1331. Accord-

ingly, in the Ninth Circuit, a state only receives administrative

4. The fact that Elliou was decided under the former Bankruptcy Act

rather than under the current Bankruptcy Code is of no consequence. Cur-

rent Section 503(b)(1)(A) is virtually identical to former Section 64(a)(1) of

the Bankruptcy Act, on which the claim in that case is based. The Elliott

decision was not legislatively written out of the Bankruptcy Code and

remains valid law today. See House Report No. 95-595, 95th Congress Sec-

ond Session (1978), reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 6311.

15

expense priority if the debtor engages in wrongdoing. By con-

trast, in the Third Circuit, the very fact that there is a criminal

violation bars the expense from being administrative. Cur-

rently, either all the other courts of appeals that have consid-

ered the issue and determined that penalties assessed by a

state for illegal conduct engaged in during the pendency of a

Chapter 11 petition are entitled to administrative expense sta-

tus are wrong, or the Third Circuit is mistaken in its analysis

in this case. Either way it is essential that this Court resolve

this conflict.

16

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully

requests that this Court grant its Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL A. TUFANO

General Counsel

GREGORY E. DUNLAP

Deputy General Counsel

(Counsel of Record)

ROGER E. GRIMALDI

Deputy General Counsel

ANTHONY S. POTTER

Assistant General Counsel

STUART M. BLIWAS

Assistant Counsel

Office of General Counsel

333 Market Street 17th Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17101-2210

Telephone: (717) 783-6563

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

\

la

No. 98-3332

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ghird Circuit

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Appellants,

V.

TRI-STATE CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC.,

JOSEPH NIGRO, Trustee,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 97-cv-02115

District Judge: Hon. Donald J. Lee

Argued: January 26, 1999

Before: SLOVITER, McKEE, RENDELL, Circuit Judges.

(Filed June 2, 1999)

STUART M. BLIWAS, Esq. (Argued)

Pennsylvania Department of

Environmental Resources

Office of Chief Counsel

400 Market Street, PO. Box 8464

Harrisburg, PA 17105

Attorney for Appellant

JAMES M. MALLEY, Esq.

JOSEPH P. NIGRO, Esq.

MATTHEW M. PAVLOVICH, Esq. (Argued)

NIGRO & MALLEY

2 Gateway Center, Suite 1270

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorneys for Appellees

RACHEL J. LEHR, Esq.

Office of Attorney General of N.J.

: 25 Market Street

: Trenton, N.J. 08625

Attorney for Amicus-Appellant

| eee

2a

OPINION OF THE COURT

McKEE, Circuit Judge.

We are asked to decide if a criminal fine is entitled to pri-

ority as an administrative expense under Chapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Code. The fine was imposed upon a debtor in

possession for post-petition conduct that violated Pennsylva-

nia’s Solid Waste Management Act. Pennsylvania’s Depart-

ment of Environmental Resources (“DER”) filed a proof of

claim in which it asserted that it was entitled to have the fine

paid as an administrative expense under § 503(b) of the Bank-

ruptcy Code. The bankruptcy court disagreed, and sustained

the trustee’s objection to the proof of claim. The district court

affirmed. We hold that a post-petition criminal fine is not an

administrative expense under Chapter 7, and therefore we

affirm.

I. Factual Background and Procedural History.

On August 14, 1990, Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc.

filed a voluntary petition under Chapter 11 of the United

States Bankruptcy Code. A few months later, on October 4,

1990, two municipal workers were sprayed with blood while

emptying a dumpster located behind Tri-State’s place of busi-

ness. The blood came from test tubes that Tri-State had ille-

gally placed in the dumpster. The test tubes would have been

collected and deposited in a municipal landfill had they not

been discovered.

On January 21, 1992, the Office of Attorney General filed

a criminal complaint charging Tri-State with violations of

Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste Management Acct for illegally dis-

posing of infectious waste. Count I of the complaint charged

Tri-State with unlawfully storing municipal waste on or about

July 18, 1990 (before Tri-State had filed its Chapter 11 peti-

tion). Count II charged Tri-State with unlawfully disposing of

infectious waste in the dumpster on or about October 4, 1990

(after Tri-State had filed its Chapter 11 petition).

STOOLS LR GR AOR ie SLL BAAN ices is Wek LS its

hh Sia titan BO

3a

On September 10, 1992, Joseph P. Nigro was appointed

Chapter 11 Trustee. Shortly thereafter, on October 6, 1992, the

case was converted to Chapter 7, and Mr. Nigro was appointed

the Chapter 7 Trustee.

On July 28, 1994, while the Chapter 7 proceedings were

still pending, the Court of Common Pleas of Westmoreland

County convicted Tri-State on Counts I and II of the com-

plaint and imposed a fine of $10,000 for the violation charged

in Count I, and a fine of $20,000 for the violation charged in

Count II. It is undisputed that these fines were punitive in

nature, and unrelated to actual costs or expenses incurred by

the DER.

On August 19, 1994, the DER filed a proof of claim

asserting a $10,000 subordinated unsecured claim under 11

U.S.C. § 726(a)(4); and a $20,000 claim for administrative

expenses pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §§ 503(b), 507(a)(1), and

726(a)(1).! The trustee objected to treating the $20,000 fine as

an administrative expense. However, there was no objection to

allowing the $ 10,000 claim for pre-petition conduct under 11

U.S.C. § 726(a)(4), and that fine is not an issue in this appeal.

The bankruptcy court concluded that administrative

expenses must be claimed by filing a “request for payment,”

and not by filing a “proof of claim.” Accordingly, the bank-

ruptcy court held that “[its previous] order granting the DER

leave to file its proof of claim beyond the bar date is, in effect,

a nullity.” In the alternative, the court held that the $20,000

fine for post-petition criminal conduct is not an administrative

expense under § 503(b). Instead, the court allowed the DER

to pursue the fine as an unsecured claim.

The district court subsequently affirmed the bankruptcy

court’s determination that the $20,000 fine was not an

administrative expense. Thus, it was not necessary for the

district court to decide if it agreed with the bankruptcy

1. The bankruptcy court had previously granted the DER's motion to

file a proof of claim beyond the bar date.

4a

court’s conclusion that an administrative expense must be

asserted in a request for payment, rather than a proof of

claim. This appeal followed.?

Il. Discussion

A.

The DER contends that the $20,000 fine imposed upon

the debtor in possession for conduct that occurred after it filed

the petition must be given priority status as an administrative

expense under § 503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code. The

DER bases its argument upon the nonexclusive nature of the

list of expenses in § 503(b), and the fact that other courts have

held that tort damages, post-petition civil penalties, and civil

environmental fines are administrative expenses. The DER

insists that there is no rational basis to distinguish those civil

penalties from these criminal fines. According to the DER,

both must be treated as an “actual necessary expense of pre-

serving the estate” under § 503(b). Appellant's Br. at 10. The

DER seeks to bolster this argument with policy consider-

ations. It insists that if criminal fines are not given priority,

“Chapter 11 debtors in possession [will be encouraged] to dis-

regard criminal statutes and other valid laws that might

impede a debtor in possession’s effort to turn a profit,”

2. The district court's appellate jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C.

§ 15 8(a). We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 158(c) and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291. We exercise plenary review over a district Court's bankruptcy deci-

sion. Universal Minerals. Inc. v. C.A. Hughes & Co., 669 F.2d 98, 100 (3d Cir.

1981). “Because the bankruptcy court, rather than the district Court, was the

trier of fact in this case, we are in as good a position as the district court to

review the findings of the bankruptcy court, so we review the bankruptcy

court's findings by the standards the district court should employ, to deter-

mine whether the district court erred in its review.” In re Fegeley, 118 F.3d

979, 982 (3rd Cir. 1997) (internal quotations omitted). Accordingly, we

review the bankruptcy court's findings of fact for clear error, and exercise

plenary review over legal issues. /d.

Although the parties have briefed the procedural issue of whether an

administrative expense can be asserted in a proof of claim, that issue is not

properly before us because it is not part of the district court's order. More-

over, because we conclude that the fines here are not administrative

expenses, we need not decide whether the administrative expense claim was

properly asserted.

AMEE ae NAL dal Sa AI Ab EAS new 7

Sa

because such a debtor can violate the law “secure in the

knowledge that no economic punishment would follow.”

Appellant's Br. at 23-24. The DER warns that this would “cre-

ate[] an incentive for any marginal corporate business to

attempt to free itself from regulatory restraints by seeking the

safe haven of Chapter 11 protection.” /d. at 24.

The trustee’s rejoinder relies heavily upon our decision in

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Dept. of Environmental

Resources v. Conroy, 24 F.3d 568 (3d Cir. 1994).3 The trustee

argues that we drew a distinction in Conroy between compen-

satory assessments which may enjoy priority status as actual

administrative expenses, and non-compensatory assessments

which do not reimburse creditors for actual expenses. The

trustee argues that because Congress expressly refers to non-

compensatory criminal fines and penalties elsewhere in the

Code, it would have expressly included such fines under

§ 503(b) if it intended to treat them as administrative

expenses. The trustee also adds its own policy “spin” to rebut

the policy considerations that the DER urges upon us. The

trustee argues that non-compensatory criminal fines survive

bankruptcy, and can be assessed against the corporation or

corporate officers individually. Thus, those who are respon-

sible for the operation of the business have no incentive to cut

costs by violating the law as the DER suggests. Appellee’s Br.

at 24-25.

The starting point of any statutory analysis is the lan-

guage of the statute. Pennsylvania Dept. of Public Welfare v.

Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 557-58 (1990); Kelly v. Robinson, 479

U.S. 40, 43 (1986). Thus, we begin at the beginning by exam-

ining the text of the statute. In doing so, “we must not he

guided by a single sentence or member of a sentence, but look

3. Tri-State Clinical Laboratories and the trustee are jointly listed as

“appellee” on the briefs and in the caption. Inasmuch as we are deciding the

validity of the trustee's objection in the bankruptcy court we will refer to the

appellee as the “trustee.”

oa

to the provisions of the whole law, and to its object and

policy.” Kelly, 479 U.S. at 43 (internal quotation marks

omitted).

Section 503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code provides:

(b) [T]here shall be allowed, administrative expenses, . . .

including -

(1)(A) the actual, necessary costs and expenses of pre-

serving the estate, including wages, salaries, or commis-

sions for services rendered after the commencement of

the case...

11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A) (1997). Thus, for a claim to be given

priority as an administrative expense under this provision of

the Code, it must be (1) a “cost™ or “expense” that is (2)

“actual” and “necessary” to (3) “preserving the estate.”

We construe the words of a statute according to their ordinary

meaning, unless the context suggests otherwise. See Moskal v.

United States 498 U.S. 103, 108 (1990); Idahoan Fresh v.

Advantage Produce. Inc., 157 F.3d 197, 202 (3d Cir. 1998). In

Reading Co. v. Brown, the Supreme Court concluded that “the

words ‘preserving the estate’ include the larger objective, com-

mon to arrangements, of operating the debtor's business with

a view to rehabilitating it.” 391 U.S. 471, 476-77 (1968). The

dictionary defines “necessary” as “absolutely required” or

“needed to bring about a certain effect or result.” Webster's I]

New Riverside University Dictionary 787 (1994). However,

the Supreine Court has held that the concept of “necessary

costs” under the Code is somewhat broader than would be

suggested by the dictionary definition. Thus, “ ‘usual and nec-

essary costs’ should include costs ordinarily incident to opera-

tion of a business, and not be limited to costs without which

rehabilitation would be impossible.” Reading, 391 U.S. at 483.

To determine Congress’ intent in enacting § 503(b)(1)(A),

we also must consider the other provisions of § 503. See Neal

v. Clark, 95 U.S. 704, 708-09 (1978) (“a word is known by the

company it keeps”). Section 503(b) specifically lists several

expenditures that are included within the meaning of “admin-

istrative expenses.” These include certain taxes and fines or

penalties that relate to those taxes, id. at § 503(b)(1)(B) &

7a

(C); compensation for services rendered by trustees and

indenture trustees, id. at § 503(b)(2) & § 503(b)(5); the actual,

necessary expenses incurred by certain creditors pressing their

claims, id. at § 503 (b)(3); reasonable compensation for the

professional services of attorneys and accountants who pro-

vide particular services, id. at § 503(b)(4); and other specified

fees and mileage, § 503(b)(6). These specified administrative

expenses all describe compensation for services that are nec-

essarily incident to the operation of a business, see, e.g.,

§ 503(b)(2), (4) & (5), or reimbursement for actual expenses

incurred, see, e.g., § 503(b)(3) & (6).4 Moreover, paragraph

(1)(A) designates “wages, salaries, or commissions for services

rendered after the commencement of the case” as “actual, nec-

essary costs and expenses of preserving the estate.” See

§ 503(1)(A) (emphasis added). Thus, the language of § 503(b),

read as a whole, suggests a quid pro quo pursuant to which the

estate accrues a debt in exchange for some consideration nec-

essary to the operation or rehabilitation of the estate. Priority,

therefore, is afforded such expenses to compensate the provid-

ers of necessary goods, services or labor.

Such a construction is supported by the purposes of the

Bankruptcy Code. Chapter 11 is intended to “rehabilitat[e]

the debtor and avoid[] forfeiture by creditors.” Pioneer Invest-

4. Although taxes incurred by the estate, as well as fines and penalties

relating to those taxes, are expressly included in § 503's definition of admin-

istrative expense, taxes are treated uniquely throughout the Bankruptcy

Code, and the policies underlying the treatment of taxes do not apply to

other debts and expenses. Thus, the inclusion of taxes and tax penalties in

this section is not particularly helpful to our analysis. Indeed, to the extent

that the express reference to tax penalties in § 503 implies anything, it

implies that Congress did not intend to include non-compensatory criminal

fines and penalties within the category of “administrative expenses.” Pursu-

ant to well-established canons of construction, the fact that Congress

expressly included tax fines and penalties in § 503 implies that had Congress

intended to include other types of fines and penalties within the class of

administrative expenses, it would have done so expressly. See Bates v. United

States, 522 U.S. 23 (1997) (“ ‘[W]here Congress includes particular language

in one section of a statute but omits it in another section of the same Act,

it is generally presumed that Congress acts intentionally and purposely in

the disparate inclusion or exclusion.’”) (quoting Russello v. United States,

464 U.S. 16, 23 91983) (other internal quotation marks omitted)).

8a

ment Services, 507 U.S. at 389. The drafters of the Code

recognized that to achieve that purpose, the debtor has to

continue to operate between the filing of the petition and the

adjudication of bankruptcy. This can result in additional

expenses that are necessary to the continued operation of the

business or to successfully winding it down. Congress recog-

nized this need to provide an incentive to creditors who

otherwise would not continue to provide services to a failing

business. Accordingly, “the actual, necessary costs and

expenses of preserving the estate” are given priority under the

Code. See H.R. Rep. No. 95-595, at 186-187 (1977) reprinted in

1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 5963, 6147 (“Those who must wind up the

affairs of a debtor’s estate must be assured of payment, or else

they will not participate in the liquidation or distribution of

the estate.”); id. at 187, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 6147-6148 (“The

purpose of [giving priority to wages earned within three

months before bankruptcy,] as with the administrative expense

priority, is in part to ensure that employees will not abandon a

failing business for fear of not being paid.”); Report of the

Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of the United States,

H.R. Doc. 93-137, pt. 1, at 214 (1973) [hereinafter “Commis-

sion Report to the House” (recommending priority status for

administrative expenses incurred during the reorganization

period because “[s]uch expenses must be paid first to assure

the availability of the services needed to administer a liquida-

tion or reorganization case.”). Absent the priority established

under § 503, a debtor in possession could not keep its employ-

ees, nor obtain services necessary to its operation as it

attempts to reorganize, or wind-down pending ultimate liqui-

dation. We believe the relevance of this consideration extends

to interpreting Congress’ intent in according priority to certain

claims under Chapter 7.

The Supreme Court's holding in Reading illustrates these

principles. In Reading, I. J. Knight Realty Corporation filed a

petition for an arrangement under Chapter 11 of the Bank-

ruptcy Act which was then in effect.5 The district court

appointed a receiver, and authorized him to continue to con-

5. The prior Bankruptcy Act is analogous to the current version.

Sy pcan Midas: iP ele.

9a

duct the debtor’s business of leasing an industrial building.

Thereafter the building was totally destroyed by a fire which

spread to the surrounding property. In a resulting tort action,

one of the adjacent property owners recovered a judgment

against the receiver in an effort to obtain compensation for

the damage the fire inflicted upon its property as a result of

the receiver's negligence. Because the debtor in possession

was in bankruptcy, an issue arose as to the priority that the

judgment should be accorded against the bankrupt estate. The

Supreme Court held that the tort Judgment was entitled to

priority as an administrative expense under § 64a(l) of the

Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 104(a)(1), even though the

expense was not technically a cost of preserving the estate.®

The Court's holding was motivated by the considerations

of fairness and practicality which underlie the purposes of the

bankruptcy laws. The Court believed that those who continue

to transact business with the debtor during the Chapter 11

case, and who suffer financially as a result, are entitled to pri-

ority over other creditors who have not affirmatively assumed

such risk. The Court reasoned that fairness dictates that those

injured by the operation of a bankrupt business by a receiver

acting within the scope of his authority be compensated for

the injury.

6. Section 64a of the prior Bankruptcy Act defined administrative

expenses in relevant part as follows:

The debts to have priority, in advance of the payment of dividends

to creditors and to be paid in full out of bankrupt estates, and the

order of payment, shall be (1) the costs and expenses of administra-

tion, including the actual and necessary costs and expenses of preserv-

ing the estate subsequent to filing the petition. .. .

10a

The Court concluded that it simply is not fair to deny innocent

victims compensation for injuries they would not have

incurred had the law not allowed the debtor to continue oper-

ating its business. Because Reading is so important to our

inquiry we take the liberty of quoting the Court’s opinion at

length. The Court stated:

In our view the trustee has overlooked one impor-

tant, and here decisive, statutory objective: fairness

to all persons having claims against an insolvent.

Petitioner suffered grave financial injury from what

is here agreed to have been the negligence of the

receiver and a workman. It is conceded that, in prin-

ciple, petitioner has a right to recover for that injury

from their ‘employer,’ the business under arrange-

ment, upon the rule of respondeat superior. Respon-

dents contend, however, that petitioner is in no

different position from anyone else injured by a per-

son with scant assets: its right to recover exists in

theory but is not enforceable in practice.

That, however, is not an adequate description

of petitioner's position. At the moment when an

arrangement is sought, the debtor is insolvent. Its

existing creditors hope that by partial or complete

postponement of their claims, they will through suc-

cessful rehabilitation, eventually recover from the

debtor either in full or in larger proportion than

they would in immediate bankruptcy. Hence the

present petitioner did not merely suffer injury at the

hands of an insolvent business: it had an insolvent

business thrust upon it by operation of law. That

business will, in any event, be unable to pay its fire

debts in full. But the question is whether the fire

claimants should be subordinated to, should share

equally with, or collect ahead of those creditors for

whose benefit the continued operation of the busi-

ness (which unfortunately led to the fire instead of

the hoped-for rehabilitation) was allowed.... The

‘master,’ liable for the negligence of the ‘servant’ in

this case was the business operating under Chapter

MERE So 2 RR SR IR Sle At Rat DOE Reet ph ail aide tales LAOS

lla

XI arrangement for the benefit of creditors and with

the hope of rehabilitation. That benefit and that

rehabilitation are worthy objectives. But it would be

inconsistent both with the principle of respondeat

superior and with the rule of fairness in bankruptcy

to seek these objectives at the cost of excluding tort

creditors of the arrangement from its assets, or

totally subordinating the claims of those on whom

the arrangement is imposed to the claims of those

for whose benefit it is instituted.

* * *

In considering whether those injured by the

operation of the business during an arrangement

Should share equally with, or recover ahead of,

those for whose benefit the business is carried on,

the latter seems more natural and just. Existing

creditors are, to be sure, in a dilemma not of their

own making, but there is no obvious reason why

they should be allowed to attempt to escape that

dilemma at the risk of imposing it on others equally

innocent. 3

391 U.S. at 477-83.

The Court also considered the practical consequences of

not allowing the tort claimant to recover ahead of other

creditors.

More directly in point is the possibility of insurance.

An arrangement may provide for suitable coverage,

and the Court below recognized that the cost of

insurance against tort claims arising during an

arrangement is an administrative expense payable in

full under § 64a(I) ... It is ... obvious that proper

insurance premiums must be given priority, else

insurance could not be obtained; and if a receiver or

debtor in possession is to be encouraged to obtain

insurance in adequate amounts, the claims against

which insurance is obtained should be potentially

payable in full.

Id. at 483.

12a

Thirdly, the Court considered the background of tort law.

It has long been the rule of equity receiverships that

torts of the receivership create claims against the

receivership itself; in those cases the statutory limi-

tation to “actual and necessary costs” is not

involved, but the explicit recognition extended to

tort claims in those cases weighs heavily in favor of

considering them within the general category of

costs and expenses.

Id. at 485. The Court concluded that, because the torts of a

receivership create claims against the receiver, it could not

distinguish between claims arising from conduct which is inte-

gral to the operation of the business, and torts arising from

“nonessential” activity.

No principle of tort law of which we are aware

offers guidance for distinguishing, within the class of

torts committed by receivers while acting in further-

ance of the business, between those “integral” to the

business and those that are not.... We hold that

damages resulting from the neligence of a receiver

acting within the scope of his authority as receiver

give rise to “actual and necessary costs” of a Chap-

ter XI arrangement.

Id. Inasmuch as the receiver was acting within the scope of its

authority, the demands of fair compensation required that per-

sons who were injured by the receiver’s negligence be com-

pensated. This, in turn, required giving their claims priority

over the claims of other creditors.’

Here, allowing the DER'’s claim to be treated as an

administrative expense will allow that claim to be paid to the

7. We realize that the debtor in Reading was seeking an arrangement

under Chapter 11, and the Court reached its holding in that context. Here,

of course, the defendant initially filed for the contemporary counterpart of

an arrangement — a reorganization — under Chapter 11, and the case was

thereafter converted to a liquidation (“straight bankruptcy” using the terms

of the prior Bankruptcy Act). However, we think this is a distinction with-

out a difference. In Reading the Court noted: “It is agreed that this section

[64a] applicable by its terms to straight bankruptcies, governs payment of

administration expenses of Chapter XI arrangements”. 391 U.S. at 475.

tenets ve

ncaa sisal ste

l3a

exclusion of, and out of the resources otherwise available for,

claims of other creditors. The practical result would be that

fines for committing crimes would be paid by innocent third

persons — the creditors — rather than Tri-State — the crimi-

nal. That is as unfair as it is impractical. The payment of the

criminal fine would not compensate for any damages resulting

from Tri-State’s conduct. It would merely cause Tri-State to

satisfy its obligations to the state out of the pockets of Tri-

State's creditors.

The DER argues that the cost of complying with the

criminal laws is a necessary cost of doing business (no less

than taxes, wages, or fees), and therefore any criminal penal-

ties in the form of fines resulting from violating the law must

be treated as an administrative expense. Thus, the DER would

have us hold that a violation of a criminal law intended to

protect public safety is necessary or ordinarily incident to

operating a business, and therefore, is incurred as an expense

of “preserving the estate.” However, the DER fails to recog-

nize that, even if the costs associated with operating a business

in accordance with the law are necessary to preserving the

estate, it does not follow that criminal fines and the conduct

they attempt to punish are ordinarily incident to operating a

business. We refuse to adopt an analysis of administrative

expenses that is based upon the assumption that legitimate

businesses engage in a “cost-benefit” analysis to determine if

they will comply with criminal laws that protect the very pub-

lic that the owners and operators of those legitimate busi-

nesses are part of. It is neither reasonable nor necessary for a

commercial enterprise to violate criminal laws and endanger

the public to preserve the estate or to conduct legitimate busi-

ness operations, and we refuse the DER'’s invitation to hold

otherwise. Rather, we believe Congress intended only for

those “actual necessary costs and expenses” that arise in the

context of, or compensate for, legitimate business activity, or

the losses resulting therefrom, to be treated as expenses of

preserving the estate, and accorded priority as an administra-

tive expense.

Although both parties to this appeal rely upon our hold-

ing in Conroy, supra, to suport their arguments, we view Con-

Ida

roy as supporting the distinction we draw between claims for

compensatory expenses and those for criminal fines. In Con-

roy, the DER filed a claim for reimbursement for costs

incurred in cleaning up hazardous chemicals at a site the

Chapter 11 debtors had attempted to abandon. In holding that

those costs were administrative expenses entitled to priority

we said:

[I]f the DER had not itself undertaken to clean up

the [site,] the Conroys could not have escaped their

obligation to do so by abandoning the hazardous

property in question. Furthermore, if Frank Conroy

had arranged for cleanup of the facility after he had

filed a Chapter 11 petition, the costs of this cleanup

would have constituted administrative expenses

under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b)(1)(A), since they are a

portion of ‘the actual, necessary costs and expenses

of preserving the estate.’

Id. at 569. We also held that reimbursement for that portion of

the administrative and legal costs incurred in arranging for

cleanup which the DER had “sufficiently substantiated” as

reasonable compensation also qualified as an administrative

expense. /d. at 570-71. By cleaning up the site, the DER pro-

vided a service to the debtor — a service that the debtor itself

would have had to perform during the course of normal

operations — and therefore, the DER was entitled to compen-

sation for that service.

The situation here is quite different. Tri-State was not

required to endanger the health and welfare of residents of

the community by illegally disposing of test tubes containing

blood, and the sanction that was imposed as punishment for

doing so has nothing to do with compensation or proper busi-

ness operations. Rather the purpose of this criminal fine is

deterrence, retribution, and punishment.

Cc.

Our conclusion is also consistent with the legislative

history relating to the classification of non-compensatory

criminal fines and penalties. Before Congress replaced the

Se fi Re ee te

1Sa

Bankruptcy Act of 1898 with the current Bankruptcy Code, a

creditor had to show that a claim was both “allowable” (under

§ 57 of that Act), and “provable” (under § 63 of that Act)

before the creditor could participate in the distribution of

assets at all. See H.R. Doc. 93-137, pt. 1, at 21 (1973); Kelly v.

Robinson, 479 U.S. 36, 44-45 (1986). Section 57(j) specifically

excluded criminal penalties from the class of allowable debts

insofar as they did not compensate for an actual loss. Section

57(j) of the Act provided:

Debts owing to the United States, a State, a county,

a district, or a municipality as a penalty or forfeiture

Shall not be allowed, except for the amount of the

pecuniary loss sustained by the act, transaction, or

proceeding out of which the penalty or forfeiture

arose.

30 Stat. 561 (emphasis added). Section 63 defined “provable”

debts to include criminal penalties. Thus, by the early 1970s,

when Congress began reexamining the bankruptcy laws, it was

well established that criminal fines were not allowable debts

subject to distribution from the estate under Chapter 7.8

In 1973, the Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of the

United States, which was established to propose changes to

the bankruptcy laws, recommended combining the concepts of

“allowable” and “provable” claims into a single enlarged class

of “allowable” claims. H.R. Doc. No. 93-137, pt.1, at 21. The

Commission also recommended subordinating certain claims

to other unsecured claims within that large class. Among this

class of subordinated claims were claims specified in § 4-406(a)

of the proposed bili, including “any claim, whether secured or

unsecured, to the extent it is for a fine, penalty or forfeiture or

for multiple, punitive or exemplary claims.” Jd. at 22 and pt.

2, at 115. The Commission recommended changing the law to

subordinate such claims, rather than disallowing them, “to

8. Tri-State'’s bankruptcy is an example of the frequency with which

cases begun under Chapter 11 eventually convert to Chapter 7. We do not

think that the conversion from Chapter 11 to Chapter 7 alters our analysis.

See Reading, supra (noting that the provisions for straight bankruptcies gov-

ern priority under an arrangement under the prior Code).

16a

prevent the debtor from obtaining a windfall of a disallowance

intended only to benefit its creditors.” The Bankruptcy

Reform Act: Hearings on S. 235 and S. 236 Before the Sub-

comm. on Improvements in Judicial Machinery of the Senate

Comm. on the Judiciary, 95th Cong. 761 (1975) [hereinafter

“Hearings S. 235”]. In that same Report, the Commission also

recommended establishing three categories of priority claims:

(1) administrative expenses, which the Commission explained

“must necessarily be given first priority in order for estates to

be liquidated and any distributions made to any creditors”; (2)

wages; and (3) taxes accruing within one year prior to bank-

ruptcy. H.R. Doc. 93-137, pt.1, at 21.

Based on the Commission’s recommendations, the House

and the Senate drafted bills which provided for subordinating

and prioritizing certain kinds of claims. The relevant provi-

sion, which was set forth in § 4-406 in both bills, expressly

subordinated any claim for a fine, penalty, or multiple, puni-

tive, or exemplary damages. See H.R. 10792, 93rd Cong.

(1973); S. 236, 94th Cong. (1975). In prepared remarks before

the Senate subcommittee drafting the proposed legislation, the

Commission explained that this subordination “is derived

from sec. 57 of the present Act which disallows fines, penal-

ties, and forfeitures owing the government. This provision sim-

ply subordinates. /t won't change the result in many cases but

prevents any return to a solvent debtor who has incurred a

penalty and extends the principle to exemplary and [sic] dam-

ages.” Hearings S. 235 at 15 (emphasis added).

In drafting the current Bankruptcy Code, Congress con-

sidered the policy ramifications of subordinating criminal pen-

alties to unsecured debts. During congressional hearings the

Assistant Attorney General for the Civil Division of the

Department of Justice argued that criminal judgments should

not be subordinated, stating: “Fine judgments represent a sol-

emn judgment rendered against a debtor for a crime against

society. The fine debtor has not paid his debt to society until

the fine is satisfied. As a matter of public policy such judg-

ments should at least share priority with the Governnient’s

non-tax claims and not be subordinated.” Hearings S. 235 at

478. The American Life Insurance Association argued to the

17a

contrary: “(The Civil Division] overlooks the fact that in a

bankruptcy situation, the other creditors in effect end up pay-

ing the fine if it is not subordinated. For that reason, it should

not be paid out of the estate unless all other claims (subordi-

nated or unsubordinated) are first paid in full.” Bankruptcy

Act Revision: Hearings on H.R. 31 and H.R. 32 Before the

Subcomm. on Civil and Constitutional Rights of the House

Comm. on the Judiciary, 94th Cong. 1590-91 (1976). Similarly,

the Securities and Exchange Commission recommended delet-

ing § 4-406 entirely and substituting in its place § 57(j) of the

original Bankruptcy Act, which disallowed fines and penalties.

Hearings S. 235 at 736. The SEC favored disallowance over

subordination because it feared that subordinated fines and

penalties would still take priority over the interests of stock-

holders. Jd.

The statute as enacted did not include a separate section

covering subordinated claims. Instead, Congress enacted

§ 726, “Distribution of property of the estate,” which “dictates

the order in which [sic] distribution of property of the estate,

which has usually been reduced to money by the trustee under

the requirements of section 704(1).” S. Rep. No. 95-989, at

96-97 (1978). Section 726 provides in relevant part:

(a)... [PJroperty of the estate shall be distributed —

(1) first, in payment of claims of the kind specified

in, and in the order specified in, section 507 of this

title [referring to administrative expenses under

§ 503);

(2) second, in payment of any allowed unsecured

claim ... proof of which is [timely filed under sec-

tions 501(a), (b), or (c), or tardily filed under sec-

tion 501(a));

(3) third, in payment of any allowed unsecured

claim proof of which is tardily filed under section

501(a) ...;

(4) fourth, in payment of any allowed claim,

whether secured or unsecured, for any fine, pen-

alty, or forfeiture, or for multiple, exemplary, or

punitive damages, arising before the earlier of the

18a

order for relief or the appointment of a trustee, to

the extent such fine, penalty, forfeiture, or dam-

ages are not compensation for actual pecuniary

loss suffered by the holder of such claim;

(5) fifth, in payment of interest at the legal rate

from the date of the filing of the petition, on any

claim paid under paragraph (1), (2), (3), or (4) of

this subsection; and

(6) sixth, to the debtor.

11 U.S.C. § 726. The Senate explained paragraph (4) as

follows:

Fourth, distribution is to holders of fine, penalty, for-

feiture, or multiple, punitive, or exemplary damage

claims. More of these claims are disallowed entirely

under present law. They are simply subordinated

here. Paragraph (4) provides that punitive penalties,

including pre-petition tax penalties, are subordi-

nated to the payment of all other classes of claims,

except claims for interest accruing during the case.

In effect, these penalties are payable out of the estate's

assets only if and to the extent that a surplus of assets

would otherwise remain at the close of the case for

distribution back to the debtor.

S. Rep. No. 95-989 at 97 (emphasis added). Thus, prepetition

fines were accorded second class status in the distribution

scheme.

This provision works in tandem with § 523 of the current

version of the Code, which governs the dischargeability of

debts at the conclusion of the bankruptcy proceedings. To

understand § 523, however, it is useful to understand its his-

tory as well. Section 17 of the old Bankruptcy Act provided

that a discharge in bankruptcy released a debtor from all prov-

able debts at the conclusion of the bankruptcy case with four

specified exceptions. Although criminal penalties were not

excepted from discharge under § 17, courts historically had

refused to discharge state criminal penalties under federal

bankruptcy because of considerations of comity. See Kelly, 479

19a

U.S. at 44-46. In 1978, Congress codified this judicial exception

to dischargeability of criminal fines and penalties in § 523.

That section, entitled “Exceptions to Discharge,” provides:

(a) A discharge under section 727, 1141, 1228(a),

1228(b), or 1328(b) of this title does not discharge

an individual debtor from any debt —

..+ (7) to the extent such debt is for a fine, penalty,

or forfeiture payable to and for the benefit of a gov-

ernmental unit, and is not compensation for actual

pecuniary loss, . . .

11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(7); see also FRBP Official Form 18 (9/97),

Explanation of Bankruptcy Discharge in a Chapter 7 Case

(“Some of the common types of debts which are not dis-

charged in a chapter 7 bankruptcy case are . . . [dJebts for most

fines, penalties, forfeitures, or criminal restitution obliga-

tions.”).

The Supreme Court explained the evolution of this excep-

tion to discharge in Kelly v. Robinson, 479 U.S. 40 (1986). In

that case, a defendant was ordered to pay restitution as a con-

dition of probation after pleading guilty to welfare fraud.

After she was sentenced, she filed a voluntary petition in

bankruptcy under Chapter 7 listing the restitution obligation

as a debt. The appropriate state agencies did not file a proof

of claim in the court for the outstanding restitution, but the

bankruptcy court nevertheless ruled that the restitution pay-

ments were not dischargeable under § 523(a)(7) of the Code.

The court held that, even though restitution reimburses the

victim of criminal activity, its purpose is rehabilitation, and not

compensation. Thus, the criminal statute focused “ ‘upon the

offender and not the ... the victim, ... restitution is part of

the criminal penalty rather than compensation for a victim’s

actual loss.’” Kelly, 479 U.S. at 41. The district court agreed,

but the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit reversed. It

held that restitution was a “debt” as that term was defined in

the Bankruptcy Code. It relied upon legislative history to con-

clude that “Congress intended to broaden the definition of

“debt” from the narrower definition of the Bankruptcy Act of

1898.” Id. The Court of Appeals further concluded that the

20a

restitution was discharged under § 523(a)(7), which provides

for automatic discharge of certain debts. The Supreme Court

reversed, relying in part on an opinion the New York Supreme

Court had reached four years before Congress enacted the

current Bankruptcy Code. The Supreme Court stated:

A discharge in bankruptcy has no effect whatsoever

upon a condition of restitution of a criminal sen-

tence. A bankruptcy proceeding is civil in nature

and is intended to relieve an honest and unfortunate

debtor of his debts and to permit him to begin his

financial life anew. A condition of restitution in a

sentence of probation is a part of the judgment of

conviction. It does not create a debt nor a debtor-

creditor relationship between the persons making

and receiving restitution. As with any other condi-

tion of a probationary sentence, it is intended as a

means to insure the defendant will lead a law-

abiding life thereafter.

Thus, Congress enacted the Code in 1978

against the background of an established judicial

exception to discharge for criminal sentences ... an

exception created in the face of a statute drafted

with considerable care and specificity.

479 U.S. at 46 (internal quotation marks and citations

omitted).

Four years later the Supreme Court elaborated upon the

holding in Kelly, and emphasized the extent to which the pur-

pose of the Code was relevant to determining dischargeability.

In Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare v. Davenport,

495 U.S. 552 (1990), the Court held that, even though restitu-

tion payments were not discharged under Chapter 7, such pay-

ments were dischargeable “debts” under Chapter 13. The

Court explained:

[I]n locating Congress’ policy choice regarding the

dischargeability of restitution orders in § 523(a)(7),

Kelly is faithful to the language and structure of the

Code: Congress defined “debt” broadly and took

Aya ChE bse

2la

care to except particular debts from discharge where

policy considerations so warranted. Accordingly,

Congress secured a broader discharge for debtors

under Chapter 13 than Chapter 7 by extending to

Chapter 13 proceedings some, but not all, of

§ 523(a)’s exceptions to discharge. ... Among those

exceptions that Congress chose not to extend to

Chapter 13 proceedings is § 523(a)(7)’s exception for

debts arising from a “fine, penalty, or forfeiture.”

Thus, to construe “debt” narrowly in this context

would be to override the balance Congress struck in

crafting the appropriate discharge exceptions for

Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 debtors.

495 USS. at 562-3.

We conclude that the policy considerations evidenced by

the aforementioned legislative history, as well as the text of

the Code and the cases interpreting it, support our view that

non-compensatory criminal fines imposed on a Chapter 7

debtor or trustee should not be deemed administrative

expenses. This interpretation also is consistent with Congress’

limitation on the dischargeability of criminal fines and penal-

ties. Under Chapter 7, that portion of a fine that is compensa-

tory is discharged. 11 U.S.C. § 523(7). See Davenport, 495 U.S.

at 559 (“The Court in Kelly analyzed the purposes of restitu-

tion in construing the qualifying clauses of § 523(a)(7), which

explicitly tie the application of that provision to the purpose of

the compensation required.”). We do not believe that Con-

gress intended for us to ignore the non-compensatory charac-

ter of a criminal fine in deciding if it is an administrative

expense under § 503, while explicitly requiring that consider-

ation under § 523(7). Rather, for the reasons previously stated,

we conclude that § 503’s restriction to “expenses of preserving

the estate” limits such expenses to those that constitute com-

pensation for expenditures necessary to the operation of the

debtor-in-possession’s business. As we noted above, we will

not stretch our policy analysis to include within this category

the payment of the criminal fines for Tri-State’s conduct here.

22a

We recognize, of course, that Tri-State may not have the

funds to pay this fine after the estate is liquidated. However,

that is often a possibility when criminal fines are imposed, and

we see nothing in the statutes that Tri-State has violated, nor

anything endemic to the process of bankruptcy, that would

justify us in removing the Commonwealth’s hand from the

empty pockets of the criminal, and placing it in the pockets of

creditors merely because those pockets are deeper. Tri-State

was sentenced while in bankruptcy for an act that occurred

after it filed its bankruptcy petition. The sentencing judge

clearly knew that Tri-State’s ability to pay any fine was suspect

at best. Yet, the sanction here was on the corporate entity, not

upon the responsible individuals. It should not now come as

any great surprise that the bankrupt debtor lacks the resources

to pay this criminal fine and meet its obligations to creditors.

Tri-State’s precarious financial condition does not, however,

allow us to stretch the concept of administrative expense to

remedy the DER’s predicament.

D.

Finally, we realize, of course, that there is a certain ten-

sion between our analysis here, and the analysis in N.P Min-

ing Co. v. Alabama Surface Mining Commission, 963 F2d. 1449

(11th Cir. 1992). There, the court held that civil fines imposed

solely as punishment for violation of environmental regula-

tions were entitled to priority as an administrative expense

under Chapter 11. The holding was based upon the require-

ment in § 969(b) that the trustee or debtor in possession man-

age and operate the property in compliance with state law.

The court of appeals reasoned that

[i]f postpetition costs “ordinarily incident to opera-

tion of a business” that do not confer a benefit on

the estate [the tort claims in Reading] can indeed

qualify as “actual, necessary” expenses of preserving

the estate, then a strong case can be made that when

a licensed business operates in the regulated

atmosphere of strip mining in Alabama, incurring

regulatory penalties is a cost ordinarily incident to

23a

operation of a business and should be accorded

administrative-expense priority.

Id at 1454-5.

However, we do not think that rationale applies here,

even if it is appropriate for a civil fine on a business in a

heavily regulated industry. As noted above, doing so would

require us to infer that disposing of infectious human waste in

a manner that not only endangers members of the general

public, but also constitutes criminal activity, is part of the ordi-

nary and necessary operations of a business. Moreover, the

court in N.P. Mining stressed that the violation before it did

not involve safety. See N.P. Mining, 963 F-2d at 1458 (“Here,

there is no threat to public health or safety.”). We are not

convinced the court’s holding would be the same if it were

faced with the kind of reckless conduct in which Tri-State

engaged. Finally, the court in N.P Mining did not consider the

extensive legislative history regarding prepetition penalties to

be as relevant as we do in determining whether punitive crimi-

nal fines should be given preferential treatment. See id. at 1452

(stating “[t]he legislative history of section 503(b) as well as

the legislative history of other relevant sections of the Bank-

ruptcy Code, is silent regarding the treatment of punitive post

petition penalties”). Accordingly, we are not persuaded by

N.P. Mining, the cases upon which it relies, or the cases that

have relied upon N.P. Mining. See, e.g., In re Biii’s Coal Com-

pany, Inc., 124 B.R. 827 (D. Kan. 1991); In re Charlesbank

Laundry, Inc., 755 F-2d 200 (1st Cir. 1985); In re Double B

Distributors, Inc., 176 B.R. 271 (Bky. M.D.Fla. 1994); In re

Motel Investments, Inc., 172 B.R. 105 (Bky. M.D.Fla. 1994).

Ill. Conclusion

In sum, based on the plain language of the Bankruptcy

Code, its purpose and legislative history, and the principles of

fairness upon which the Code is grounded, we hold that puni-

tive criminal fines arising from post-petition behavior are not

administrative expenses under 11 U.S.C. § 503(b), and there-

fore, are not accorded priority status pursuant to § 507(a)(1).

Therefore, the orders of the Bankruptcy Court and the Dis-

trict Court will be affirmed in accordance with this decision.

24a

No. 98-3332

Hnited States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Vv.

TRI-STATE CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC.,

JOSEPH NIGRO, Trustee,

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Appellant

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. No. 97-cv-02115)

District Judge: Honorable Donald J. Lee

ARGUED BY COUNSEL

January 26, 1999

Present: Sloviter, McKee and Rendell, Circuit Judges.

25a

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Western District of Penn-

sylvania and was argued by counsel January 26, 1999.

On consideration whereof, it is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said District

Court entered May 5, 1998, be, and the same is hereby

affirmed. Costs taxed against the appellants. All of the above

in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

/s/ P. Douglas Sisk

Douglas Sisk

Clerk

Dated: June 2, 1999

26a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

COMMONWEALTH OF )

PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT )

OF ENVIRONMENTAL )

RESOURCES, )

) Civil Action No. 97-2115

) Bankruptcy Court

VS. ) No. 990-22476/JLC

TRI-STATE CLINICAL

LABORATORIES, INC.,

Appellant,

)

)

)

Appellee )

MEMORANDUM OPINION

May 5, 1998

Before the Court is the appeal of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection from

the final order of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the

Western District of Pennsylvania dated August 21, 1997, hold-

ing that a $20,000 criminal fine assessed for post-petition con-

duct is not an administrative claim under Section 503(b) of the

United States Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 503(b) and that

the claim shall be allowed as an unsecured claim.

On August 14, 1990, Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc.

(“Debtor”) filed a voluntary petition under Chapter 11 of the

United States Bankruptcy Code. On January 21, 1992, a crimi-

nal complaint was filed against the Debtor for violation of

Pennsylvania Solid Waste Management Act. Count 1 of the

complaint accused the Debtor of unlawfully storing municipal

waste on or about July 18, 1990, and Count 2 charged that on

or about October 4, 1990, the Debtor disposed of infectious

waste in a municipal waste dumpster in violation of the Penn-

sylvania Solid Waste Management Act.

The Chapter 11 trustee, Joseph P. Nigro, was appointed

on September 10, 1992. On October 6, 1992, the case was con-

verted to Chapter 7 and again Joseph P. Nigro was appointed

Chapter 7 trustee on December 1, 1992.

PRM eae MAN aie ic ee eke inet

27a

On July 28, 1994, the Debtor was found guilty on both

counts of the criminal complaint before the Court of Common

Pleas of Westmoreland County. The Debtor ceased to operate

around August of 1991 and apparently the trustee was not

noticed as to the proceeding. However, the Debtor did appear

by counsel and either pled guilty or nolo contendere to both

counts, and the Court of Common Pleas of Westmoreland

County ordered the Debtor, and not the trustee, to pay the

criminal fine of $20,000 on Count 2 which is the claim at issue

here.

On June 1, 1994, the DER filed a motion for leave of

court to file a proof of claim beyond the bar date claiming that

it did not receive notice of the conversion to Chapter 7 and

the bar date, while the Bankruptcy Court found that the DER

had actual knowledge of the Debtor’s bankruptcy prior to the

conversion date, nevertheless, the court granted the motion on

August 9, 1994, because the trustee was not present during the

hearing to determine liability of the claim beyond the bar

date.

On August 19, 1994, the DER filed a proof of claim that

the fine of $20,000 is an administrative claim under Section

726(a)(1) of Section 507(a)(1) of the Code.

On April 1, 1997, the trustee filed an objection to the

proof of claim of the DER, alleging its administrative status.

It is noted that the trustee does not dispute status of the fine

as a subordinated unsecured claim under Section 726(a)(4) of

the Code.

On appeal, in addition to raising the issue of the adminis-

trative expense status of the criminal fine of $20,000, the DER

also appeals the holding of the Bankruptcy Court that its

order granting the DER leave to file its proof of claim beyond

the bar date was a nuility. This Court need not reach that

issue.

28a

Legal Discussion

On appeal from an order of the Bankruptcy Court, the

district court must apply the clearly erroneous test of factual

findings and plenary review to questions of law.

Moreover, mixed questions of law and fact must be

divided into the respective components and the appropriate

test applied. Jn re: Brown, 951 F.2d 564 (3d Cir. 1991).

After review of the record, the arguments and memo-

randa of the parties, the Court finds that the Bankruptcy

Court’s findings of fact are not clearly erroneous and the

Bankruptcy Court did not err with regard to the applicable

questions of law on the issue of the administrative status of

the criminal fine.

The Court finds it is not necessary to reach the issue of

whether the proper procedure for claiming the fine as admin-

istrative expense is to file a proof of claim for it, or to move

for its allowance as an administrative expense pursuant to 11

U.S.C. § 503(a).

Therefore, an appropriate order dismissing the appeal

will be entered.

Donald J. Lee, J.

29a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

COMMONWEALTH OF )

PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT )

OF ENVIRONMENTAL )

RESOURCES, )

) Civil Action No. 97-2115

aan ) Bankruptcy Court

VS. ) No. 990-22476/JLC

TRI-STATE CLINICAL )

LABORATORIES, INC.,

Appellee )

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, this Sth day of May, 1998, after hearing, it is

hereby

ORDERED that the appeal of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Resources is

DISMISSFD.

/s/ Donald J. Lee

Donald J. Lee

United States District Judge

cc Stuart M. Bliwas, Esquire

P.O. Box 8464

Bureau of Legal Services

Harrisburg, PA 17105-8464

Todd H. Crawford, Esquire

233 West Pittsburgh Street

P.O. Box 1142

Greensburg, PA 15601

Matthew M. Pavlovich, Esquire

Nigro and Malley

Two Gateway Center

Suite 1270

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Clerk, U.S. Bankruptcy Court

Western District of PA

30a

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: ) CASE NO. 90-22476 JLC

TRI-STATE CLINICAL ‘

LABORATORIES, INC., ) MOTION NO. N&M-12

Debtor, )

JOSEPH P. NIGRO, TRUSTEE, CHAPTER 7

Movant / Objector, )

y, ) OBJECTION TO CLAIM

) NO. 48

COMMONWEALTH OF )

PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT )

OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES )

Respondent / Claimant. )

MEMORANDUM OPINION

The matter before the court is Trustee Joseph P. Nigro

Movant/Objector’s objection to the proof of claim filed by

Respondent/Claimant the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,

Department of Environmental Resources. The

Respondent/Claimant contends that a criminal fine assessed

postpetition should be given administrative expense status

under Section 503 (b) of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

For the reasons expressed below, the objection to proof of

claim shall be sustained.

FACTS

On August 14, 1990, Tri-State Clinical Laboratories, Inc.

(“Debtor”) filed a voluntary petition under Chapter 11 of the

United States Bankruptcy Code (“Code”). On January 21,

1992, a criminal complaint was filed against the Debtor for

violation of Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste Management Act.

Count I of the complaint accused the Debtor of unlawfully

storing municipal waste on or about July 18, 1990. Count II of

the criminal complaint stated that on or about October 4,

3la

1990, the Debtor disposed of infectious waste in a municipal

waste dumpster in violation of Pennsylvania’s Solid Waste

Management Act.

On September 10, 1992, Joseph P. Nigro was appointed

Chapter 11 trustee. On October 6, 1992, the case was con-

verted to Chapter 7 and again Joseph P. Nigro (“Trustee”) was

appointed the Chapter 7 Trustee on December 1, 1992. It

appears that on July 28, 1994, the Debtor was found guilty on

two counts of said violations before the Court of Common

Pleas of Westmoreland County by default. It is this court’s

understanding that the Debtor ceased to operate around

August of 1991. Nevertheless, the Trustee was not noticed as

to the proceeding. Consequently, the Debtor, not the Trustee,

was ordered by the Court of Common Pleas of Westmoreland

County to pay a criminal fine in the amount of $10,000.00 on

Count I and a criminal fine in the amount of $20,000.00 on

Count II.

On June 1, 1994, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Department of Resources (“DER”) filed a motion for leave of

court to file proof of claim beyond the bar date claiming that

it did not receive the notice of conversion to Chapter 7 and

the bar date. The DER, however, had actual knowledge of the

Debtor’s bankruptcy prior to the conversion date. This is evi-

denced in its letter dated October 5, 1992 to then Chapter 11

Trustee Joseph P. Nigro which is attached as an exhibit to the

Trustee’s Response to the Motion to Allow Late Claim.

On August 9, 1994, this court granted the motion to allow

claim beyond the bar date as the Trustee, despite having filed

a written response, was not present during the hearing to

determine allowability of claim beyond the bar date.

On August 19, 1994, the DER filed a proof of claim which

states that the criminal fine of $ 10,000 assessed on Count I is

a subordinated unsecured claim under Section 726 (a) (4) of

the Code and the criminal fine of $20,000 imposed on Count

II is an administrative claim under Section 726 (a) (1) and

Section 507 (a) (1) of the Code.

On April 1, 1997, the Trustee filed an objection to the

proof of claim filed by the DER. Only the $20,000 portion of

the claim seeking administrative status for the criminal fine

32a

imposed is in dispute. The amount and priority of the $10,000

assessed on Count I are not disputed.

Discussion

DER’s Argument for Administrative Priority

The DER in arguing for administrative expense status of

the criminal fine, cites 11 U.S.C. Section 503 (b) (1) (A) which

provides that “the actual, necessary costs and expenses of pre-

serving the estate,” shall be allowed as an administrative

expense. The DER submits six cases in support of giving

administrative status to postpetition civil judgments, civil fines

and civil penalties. On this basis, it argues that the criminal

fine imposed postpetition for post petition activity of the

debtor should also be accorded administrative status.

The DER states two principles relating to administrative

status of postpetition tort claims which are set forth in Read-

ing Co. v. Brown, 391 US. 471, 88 S.Ct. 1759 (1968). First,

“tort claims arising during an arrangement are actual and nec-

essary expenses of the arrangement.” Jd. at 482, S.Ct. at 1765.

Second, there should be no distinction given in terms of prior-

ity “within the class of torts committed by receivers while act-

ing in furtherance of the business, between those ‘integral’ to

the business and those that are not.” Jd. at 485, S.Ct. at 1767.

The DER provides Jn re Charlesbank Laundry, Inc., 755

F.2d 200 (ist Cir. 1985), which extends the application of the

Reading’s rationale from civil judgment to civil fine. On this

point, the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

held that since “fairness dictates that a tort claim based on

negligence should be paid ahead of pre-reorganization claims,

then, a fortiori, an intentional act which violates the law and

damages others should also be so treated.” Jd. at 203.

Additionally, DER submits In re N.P Mining Co. Inc.,

963 F.2d 1449 (11th Cir. 1992), to show that a civil penalty

assessed due to environmental violations incurred during

Chapter 11, which was later converted to Chapter 7 was

treated as an administrative priority. The United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit held that “the penalties in

question receive first priority, but only to the extent that they

33a

were incurred as a consequence of mining operations after the

bankruptcy petition was filed and while the business was still

operating.” Jd. at 1453. The N.P Mining court sets forth two

statutory reasons for its holding. First, under 28 U.S.C. Section

959 (b), trustees must operate an estate in compliance with

state law. Jd. at 1453. Second, the word “including” in Section

503 (b) indicates that Congress did intend that first priority

claims include claims other than those that serve to preserve

the estate. Jd. at 1456. Thus, the N.P Mining court has held,

that “in the regulated atmosphere of strip mining industry, a

fine for the violation of environmental regulations should be

considered a cost ordinarily incident to operation of a busi-

ness.” Jd. at 1458; See In re Bill’s Coal Co., Inc., 124 B.R. 827,

830 (D.Kan. 1991).!

The DER argues that there should be no distinction made

between civil fines and penalties because they are treated

identically under 11 U.S.C. Section 726 (a) (4).2 Accordingly,

the DER argues that there should be no distinction made

between a criminal fine and penalty. Therefore, the DER con-

tends that the $20,000 criminal fine imposed on the debtor

postpetition should be granted an administrative expenses

status.

Trustee’s Argument for Unsecured Status

The Trustee contends that the $20,000 criminal fine

should be treated as an unsecured claim under 11 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 726 (a) (4). He asserts that Congress has specifically

shown an intent to exclude the actual amount of criminal fines

1. DER offers two additional cases dealing, respectively, with civil pen-

alties and punitive fines in which they were both found to have administra-

tive priority. See In re Motel Investments. Inc., 172 B.R. 105 (Bankr. M.D.Fla.

1994) and In re Double B Distributors. Inc., 176 B.R. 271 (Bankr. M.D.Fia.

1994).

2. 11 U.S.C. Section 726 (a) (4) provides that property of the estate

shall be distributed “fourth, in payment of any allowed claim, whether

secured or unsecured, for any fine, penalty, or forfeiture, or for multiple,

exemplary, or punitive damages, arising before the earlier of the order for

relief or the appointment of a trustee, to the extent that such fine, penalty,

forfeiture, or damages are not compensation for actual pecuniary loss suf-

fered by the holder of such claim;”

: ERE SOE PORE INNO ENB —

34a

as administrative claims. The Trustee presents three primary

arguments in support of his contention. First, Section 503 (b)

(3) (C) limits administrative claims based upon criminal pros-

ecutions to “actual, necessary expenses incurred by a creditor

“in connection with the prosecution of a criminal offense

relating to the case or to the business or property of the

debtor.” Second, the language of the Code in Section 503 (b)

only mentions an exception to Section 503) (b) (3) (C) in the

context of taxes, which is provided for in Section 503 (b) (1)

(C). Third, Section 726 (a) (4) provides that administrative

expenses have priority over fines and penalties.

The Trustee contends that specific language of the Code

is controlling and to allow a criminal fine as an administrative

- expenses is contrary to the Congressional intent. The Trustee

claims that Congress has shown an intent to exclude the actual

amount of criminal fines from the ambit of administrative

expenses. Furthermore, the Trustee suggests that this court

should give consideration to the dissent in Reading who stated

that the theme of bankruptcy should follow “equality in distri-

bution, and if one claimant is to be preferred over others, the

purpose should be clear from the statute.” Reading Co, v.

Brown, 391 U.S. 471, 486, 88 S.Ct. 1759, 1767 (1968). Thus,

without clear language in the Code relating to criminal fines,

the Trustee argues that courts should not infer beyond what is

provided for in the Code.

The Trustee also points out that none of the cases that the

DER relies on have applicability to this case because they are

all decided in the context of a civil fine or civil penalty. Thus,

the Trustee argues that the case law cited by the DER is dis-

tinguishable and this court is not bound by those holdings.

Analysis on allowance of late claim

Prior to examining the merits of this matter, the court has

reviewed the procedural history of the claim.

This court finds that the DER filed an inappropriate

motion for its claim against the estate. Since the DER is claim-

ing administrative expense status for its judgment against the

Debtor, the DER’s motion should have been based on Section

503 which governs allowance of administrative expenses. On

35a

allowance of administrative expenses, Section 503 (a) provides

that “[aJn entity may timely file a request for payment of an

administrative expense or may tardily file such request if per-

mitted by the court for cause.” The DER, however, instead of

filing a motion to allow administrative expenses claim, filed an

improper motion (i.e. motion for leave of court to file proof of

claim beyond the bar date). Thus, this court’s order granting

the DER leave to file its proof of claim beyond the bar date

is, in effect, a nullity.

Additionally, even if the DER filed the proper motion

based on Section 503, this court finds for the reasons below

that the $20,000 criminal fine is not an administrative claim,

but an unsecured claim.

Analysis on administrative priority issue

The standard for allowing an administrative expense is set

forth in 11 U.S.C. Section 503 (b) (1) (A):

(b) After notice and a hearing, there shall be

allowed, administrative expenses, ... including —

(1) (A) the actual, necessary costs and expenses

of preserving the estate, including wages, salaries, or

commissions for services rendered after the com-

mencement of the case....

The United States Supreme Court has held that “actual

and necessary costs should include costs ordinarily incident to

operation of a business, and not be limited to costs without

which rehabilitation would be impossible.” Reading Co. v.

Brown, 391 U.S. 471, 483, 88 S.Ct. 1759, 1766 (1968).

Therefore, pursuant to Section 503 (b) and the Reading

case, the pertinent issue to be decided here is whether a non-

compensatory criminal fine that is assessed postpetition is a

cost ordinarily incident to operation of a business within the

meaning of Section 503 (b).

Within the Third Circuit the issue of a claim under Sec-

tion 503 (b) has been addressed in the cases of Jn re Conroy.

144 B.R. 966 (Bankr. W.D.Pa. 1992), aff’d in part and rev’d in

part, 153 B.R. 686 (W.D.Pa. 1993), aff’d, 24 F.3d 568 (3d Cir.

1994).

36a

The facts of the Conroy case are as follows: The DER

ordered Conroy to remove the hazardous materials and he

failed to comply. Com. of Pa.. Dept. of Env. Resources v. Con-

roy 24 F.3d 568, 569 (3d Cir. 1994). Conroy filed a Chapter 11

petition in October 1990, and a few moonths later, the DER

engaged a private contractor who began to clean up the site.

Id. Two costs regarding this clean up were at issue as to

whether they should be given an administrative priority status:

(1) response costs; and (2) administrative and legal costs con-

cerning the clean up. /d.

In construing Section 503 (b) and administrative priority

status thereof, the United States Bankruptcy Court for the

Western District of Pennsylvania stated that “in order for an

expenditure to qualify as ‘actual’ and ‘necessary,’ it must ben-

efit the estate as a whole, not just the creditor/claimant.” Jn re

Conroy, 144 B.R. 966, 969 (Bankr. W.D.Pa. 1992). Addition-

ally, the court found that “[t]he terms ‘actual’ and ‘necessary’

in this context must be strictly construed.” Jd. Thus, as to

response costs, the court found that “[t]he bankruptcy estate

thereby was benefitted to the extent that action which was

required under the law — i.e. remediation — was performed

on its behalf by another party.” Jd. at 971. As to administra-

tive, and legal costs, however, the court found that such costs

go beyond the actual cost of remediating the problem and

found that such costs were arbitrary surcharges. /d.

The district court affirmed the analysis on response costs

but disagreed with the analysis on administrative and legal

costs. In re Conroy, 153 B.R. 686, 693 (W.D.Pa. 1993). The

district court found that “[t]he Supreme Court has not con-

strued the meaning of administrative expenses narrowly,” and

also determined that the analysis on administrative and legal

costs by the bankruptcy court “ignores that there are other

policies also involved in Section 503 (b).” In re Conroy, 153

B.R. 686, 691 (W.D.Pa. 1993); See also Reading Co. v. Brown,

391 U.S. 471, 484-485, 88 S.Ct. 1759, 1766, In-re N.P. Mining

Co. Inc., 963 F.2d 1449, 1454. As to the other policies, the dis-

trict court in Conroy cites 28 U.S.C. Section 959 (b) which

mandates that a trustee follow the state law including the law

37a

that provides for recovery of administrative and legal costs.3

Id. at 692. Thus, the court found that “the bankruptcy court

applied an incorrect legal standard in denying DER’s request

for a [administrative and legal] costs pursuant to [Pennsylva-

nia statute dealing with recovery of administrative and legal

costs].” Jd.

Additionally, the court held that these additional costs

“represents real and actual administrative and legal costs

incurred by DER.” Jd. The court, however, qualified its hold-

ing by stating that the administrative and legal costs in this

case are “compensatory in nature.” Jd. at 692, n.2. As to hypo-

thetical non-compensatory costs, the court did not offer a

guideline but suggested that awarding a non-compensatory

costs would conflict with the established doctrine of adminis-

trative expense status for environmental clean up costs. Jd. at

692, n.2; See generally In re N.P. Mining Co. Inc., 963 F.2d

1449, 1458 (11th Cir. 1992) (stating that a fine need not be a

compensatory one).

On appeal, the Third Circuit did not address on the non-

compensatory costs issue and affirmed on the grounds that the

administrative and the legal costs along with the response cost

were compensation for actual and necessary expenses for pre-

serving the estate under Section 503 (b). Com. of Pa.. Dept. of

Env. Resources v. Conroy, 24 F.3d 568, 570-571 (3d Cir. 1994)

The Third Circuit court in Conroy had two grounds on which

to affirm the district court, 28 U.S.C. Section 959 (b) and 11

U.S.C. Section 503 (b).4 The decision was affirmed, however,

only on the basis of Section 503 (b).

3. Title 28 U.S.C. Section 959 (b) provides that “...a trustee... appointed

in any cause pending in any court of the United States, including a debtor in

possession, shall manage and operate the property in his possession as such

trustee, ... according to the requirements of the valid laws of the State in

which such property is situated, in the same manner that the owner or pos-

sessor thereof would be bound to do if in possession thereof.”

4. Although the district court in Conroy did not cite Section 503 (b) for

its holding on the associated administrative and legal costs, this court takes

the district court's holding that such costs were “real and actual administra-

tive and legal costs incurred by DER” to be adequate to determine that the

holding was based on Section 503 (b). See In re Conroy, 153 B.R. 686, 692.

38a

The Third Circuit court’s apparent reluctance to base its

holding on Section 959 (b) is evidenced in the following

holding.

[W]e think that the amount of the award in this case

... was sufficiently substantiated ... [T]he Pennsyl-

vania legislature apparently concluded that the

DER’s ‘administrative and legal costs’ will generally

amount to 10% of the amount paid for the response

action or the actual costs, whichever is greater. This

implicit legislative Finding is reasonable, and we

believe that it is sufficient to satisfy the DER’s bur-

den of proving its entitlement to these administra-

tive expenses. While the Conroys and other inter-

ested parties could certainly have attempted to show

that the 10% figure was excessive in this case, the

Conroys have not directed our attention to any such

evidence. Moreover, there is evidence in the record

that tends to substantiate the reasonableness of the

amount awarded.

Id. at 571.

The Third Circuit could have held that Conroy must pay

as an administrative expense pursuant to Section 959 (b)

regardless of whether or not the DER could reasonably sub-

stantiate its administrative and legal costs. The Third Circuit

court, however, suggested that Conroy had an opportunity to

rebut the statutory presumption by showing that the costs

were excessive. In other words, the Third Circuit court seems

to indicate in its holding a willingness to disallow the DER’s

claims to the extent that the claim is non-compensatory.

Therefore, it is inferred from this case that the Third Circuit

based its decision on Section 503 (b) because a compensatory

and non-compensatory distinction comports with the statutory

language of Section 503 (b) that “the actual, necessary costs

and expenses of preserving the estate” shall be allowed as

administrative expenses.

In the instant case, there was no governmental action to

clean up the waste produced by the Debtor even though the

39a

DER fully knew of the location of the waste. Instead, the

DER fined the Debtor an amount that has no connection with

the clean up costs. Had this been a cost directly associated

with the environmental remediation, it would clearly be a

compensatory cost within the context of Conroy. As a crimi-

nal fine which has no association with the actual cleanup costs,

however, It is strictly a non-compensatory expense.

Therefore, this court holds that the criminal fine which is

not associated with the clean up costs is not an administrative

claim under Section 503 (b) based on the Third Circuit’s hold-

ing in Conroy. Id. at 571.

Section 503 (b) gives consideration to the Statutory objec-

tive that was decisive in the Reading court's holding: “fairness

to all persons having claims against the insolvent.” 391 U.S.

471, 477, 88 S.Ct. 1759, 1763 (1968). Pursuant to such objec-

tive, the Reading court analyzes the positions of the victims of

the negligence of the receiver and creditors and concludes that

“the present [claimant] did not merely suffer injury at the

hands of an insolvent business: it had an insolvent business

thrust upon it by operation of law.” Jd. a at 478, 88 S.Ct. 1763.

In furtherance of that the Reading court finds as follows:

The “master,” liable for the negligence of the “ser-

vant” in this case was the business operating under

a Chapter XI arrangement for the benefit of credi-

tors and with the hope of rehabilitation. That ben-

efit and that rehabilitation are worthy objectives.

But it would be inconsistent both with the principle

of respondent superior and with the rule of fairness

in bankruptcy to seek these objectives at the cost of

excluding tort creditors of the arrangement from its

assets, or totally subordinating the claims of those

on whom the arrangement is imposed to the claims

of those for whose benefit is instituted.

Id. at 479, 88 S.Ct. 1764.

Only after this “fairness” analysis, the Reading court

reaches the holding that “actual and necessary cost should

include costs ordinarily incident to operation of a business,

40a

and not be limited to costs without which rehabilitation is

impossible.” Jd. at 484, 88 S.Ct. at 1766.

Debtors in possession and trustees are required to obey

the laws during the administration of the case. When they fail

by ignorance or deliberate willfulness, the consequence

requires careful analysis. 11 U.S.C. Section 503 (b) requires

the administrative expenses to benefit the estate by being nec-

essary and actual. Breaking the law regarding disposal of

waste is not necessary for the administration of the estate and

the criminal fines an not actual expenses related to specific

cleanup. Government environmental agencies such as ASMC

(the Alabama Surface Mining Commission, the appellant in

N.P. Mining) and the DER are not helpless parties who had

insolvent businesses thrust upon them by operation of law.

Rather they are in a better position than the Chapter 11 credi-

tors to monitor and prevent environmental violations because

(1) they have police power to enforce the statutory environ-

mental requirement; and (2) they are in a position to protect

their interest through legislation.

Thus, this court finds that a compensatory and non-

compensatory distinction is appropriate in determining

whether a claim should be accorded an administrative status in

an environmental cleanup case under Section 503 (b). The

criminal fine imposed did not go toward compensating DER

for any administrative, legal or other costs directly associated

with any environmental remediation. Creditors should not be

forced to bear this burden, particularly when the expense is

non-compensatory and does not benefit the estate. The court

must encourage the collection of assets and the maximization

of distribution to all creditors. The use of the criminal law to

discourage the offenses by fines has wide discretion. To clas-

sify these as administrative expenses discourages the collec-

tion of assets and reduces distribution to all creditors.

4la

Conclusion

For the reasons expressed above, this court finds that the

criminal fine assessed postpetition for postpetition conduct is

not an administrative expense under Section 503) (b). Accord-

ingly, the Trustee’s objection to proof of claim is sustained.

An appropriate order shall be entered.

On this 21st day of August, 1997

At Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

/s/ Joseph L. Cosetti

Joseph L. Cosetti

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

cc: MATTHEW M. POVLOVICH, ESQUIRE

Nigro & Malley

Two Gateway Center, Suite 1270

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

STUART M. BLIWAS, ESQUIRE

PA Dept of Environmental Protection

400 Market Street, P.O. Box 8464

Harrisburg, PA 17105-8464

42a

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE: ) CASE NO. 90-22476 JLC

)

TRI-STATE CLINICAL

COMMONWEALTH OF

PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT

OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES )

LABORATORIES, INC., MOTION NO. N&M-12

Debtor, )

JOSEPH P. NIGRO, TRUSTEE, CHAPTER 7

Movant / Objector, _)

¥ ) OBJECTION TO CLAIM

) NO. 48

)

)

Respondent / Claimant.)

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW this 21st day of August, 1997, for the reasons

expressed in the Memorandum Opinion of the same date, it is

ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that the $20,000

criminal fine assessed for postpetition conduct is not an

administrative claim under Section 503 (b) of the the United

States Bankruptcy Code and the claim shall be allowed as an

unsecured claim.

/s/ Joseph L. Cosetti

Joseph L. Cosetti

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

cc: MATTHEW M. POVLOVICH, ESQUIRE

Nigro & Malley

Two Gateway Center, Suite 1270

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

STUART M. BLIWAS, ESQUIRE

PA Dept of Environmental Protection

400 Market Street, P.O. Box 8464

Harrisburg, PA 17105-8464

43a

No. 98-3332

United States Court of Appeals

for the Chird Circuit

sa COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Appellants,

V.

TRI-STATE CLINICAL LABORATORIES, INC.,

JOSEPH NIGRO, Trustee,

Appellees.

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: BECKER, CHIEF JUDGE,

SLOVITER, MANSMANN, GREENBERG, SCIRICA,

NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, McKEE and RENDELL

Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing filed by Appellant's in the

above entitled case having been submitted to the judges who

participated in the decision of this court and to all other avail-

able circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service, and

no judge who concurred in the decision having asked for

rehearing, and a majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in

regular active service not having voted for rehearing by the

court in banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.

BY THE COURT,

/s/ Theodore A. McKee

Circuit Judge

Hon. Theodore A. McKee

July 21, 1999

11 U.S.C. § 503

(b) After notice and a hearing, there shall be allowed admin-

istrative expenses, other than claims allowed under sec-

tion 502(f) of this title, including —

(1)(A) the actual, necessary costs and expenses of pre-

serving the estate, including wages, salaries, or commis-

sions for services rendered after the commencement of

the case;

(B) any tax —

(i) incurred by the estate, except a tax of a kind speci-

fied in section 507(a)(7)(8) of this title; or

(ii) attributable to an excessive allowance of a tenta-

tive carryback adjustment that the estate received,

whether the taxable year to which such adjustment

relates ended before or after the commencement of

the case; and

(C) any fine, penalty, or reduction in credit relating to a

tax of a kind specified in subparagraph (B) of this

paragraph;

(2) compensation and reimbursement awarded under section

330(a) of this title;

(3) the actual, necessary expenses, other than compensation

and reimbursement specified in paragraph (4) of this sub-

section, incurred by

(A) a creditor that files a petition under section 303 of

this title:

(B) a creditor that recovers, after the court’s approval,

for the benefit of the estate any property transferred

or concealed by the debtor:

(C) a creditor in connection with the prosecution of a

criminal offense relating to the case or to the busi-

ness or property of the debtor

(D) a creditor, an indenture trustee, an equity security

holder, or a committee representing creditors or

equity security holders other than a committee

appointed under section 1102 of this title, in making

a substantial contribution in a case under chapter 9

or 11 of this title;

(4)

(5)

(6)

45a

(E) a custodian superseded under section 543 of this title,

and compensation for the services of such custodian;

or

(F) a member of a committee appointed under section

1102 of this title, if such expenses are incurred in the

performance of the duties of such committee:

reasonable compensation for professional services ren-

dered by an attorney or an accountant of an entity whose

expense is allowable under paragraph (3) of this subsec-

tion, based on the time, the nature, the extent, and the

value of such services, and the cost of comparable services

other than in a case under this title, and reimbursement

for actual, necessary expenses incurred by such attorney

or accountant;

reasonable compensation for services rendered by an

indenture trustee in making a substantial contribution in a

case under chapter 9 or 11 of this title, based on the time,

the nature, the extent, and the value of such services, and

the cost of comparable services other than in a case under

this title; and

the fees and mileage payable under chapter 119 of the title

28 [28 U.S.C. §§ 1821 et. seq.].

Former Bankruptcy Act —

§ 57(j), 11 U.S.C. § 93 (j) (repealed 1978):

Debts owing to the United States or to any State or any

subdivision thereof as a penalty or forfeiture shall not be

allowed, except for the amount of the pecuniary loss sus-

tained by the act, transaction, or proceeding out of which

the penalty or forfeiture arose, with reasonable and actual

costs occasioned thereby and such interest as may have

accrued on the amount of such loss according to law.

§ 64a(I), 11 U.S.C. § 104(a)(1) (repealed):

a. The debts to have priority, in advance of the payment

of dividends to creditors, and to be paid in full out of

bankrupt estates, and the order of payment shall be (1)

the costs and expenses of administration, including the

actual and necessary costs and expenses of preserving the

estate subsequent to filing the petition.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.