Petition for Writ of Certiorari — W. W. W. Enterprises, Inc. v. Pidal
Supreme Court brief1997
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
961316 DEC 1 8 19%
DOCKG#HICH OF _THE CLERK
IN THE
\ SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1996
W.W.W. ENTERPRISES, INC.
d/b/a WILLIAMSON OF HOMESTEAD,
Petitioner,
VS.
JESUS PIDAL,
Respondent.
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
ELEVENTH CIRCUIT
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
MURRAY HUDSON, ESQUIRE
COUNSEL OF RECORD
HOGG ALLEN NORTON & BLUE, P.A.
121 MAJORCA AVE
CORAL GABLES FL 33134
| RECEIVED a
ADAMS & QUINTON, P.A.
FEB 1 g 1997 80 S.W. 8 STREET, SUITE 2150
OFFICE OF THE CLERK MIAMI, FLORIDA 33130
SUPREME COURT, U.S. COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER
QUESTION PRESENTED:
Does St. Mary’s Honor Center v. Hicks, ee a ee
S.Ct. 2742, 125 L.Ed.2d 407 (1993), apply to claims under the
Americans with Disabilities Act, and if so is it improper for a finder
of fact to conclude that the Appellee, Pidal (Plaintiff below) met his
ultimate burden of proving discrimination where Appellee was
terminated for drinking on the job in violation of company policy,
the Appellant, “Williamson Pontiac, Cadillac and Mazda”
(Defendant below) was unaware of other employees drinking on the
job, and where Plaintiff was re-hired after medical leave with no
obligation under law or company policy to do so, prior to the time
that Plaintiff was terminated?
LIST OF PARTIES
Rule 29.6 Statement
There are no parties to this proceeding who are not revealed
in the caption of this case.
Petitioner, W.W.W. Enterprises, Inc. is a _ Florida
corporation organized and existing under the Laws of the State of
Florida. It is owned cooperatively by its members, and its shares
are not publically traded.
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS AND CITED AUTHORITIES
PAGE
QUESTION PRESENTED ................... i
ES ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS AND CITED AUTHORITIES ..._ iii
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ............... Vv
STATUTES INVOLVED IN THE CASE |
EO Ee vi
STATEMENT OF THECASE .................. l
es leg og aly! Sed & xo wk ne 18
Se 32
Anderson v. Sheppard, 770 F.2d 165 (6th Cir., ie
Brown v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco, 70 FEP Cases 1211 (N.D.
na ei oe 5 ou kos eb wed 'e eb ee ee 20
DeLuca v. Winer Industries, Inc., 53 F.3d 793, 798 (7th Cir.,
GN AS Se ee 18
Hindman v. GTE Data Services, 3 AD Cases 641 (M.D.
I 18
Se ee 23
ill
Patterson v. Downtown Med. and Diagnostic Center, 866 F. Supp.
Sve Ce FE PD celle yo od Pt oe ee 18
Smith v. Upson Cou.;:y, Ga., 859 F. Supp. 1504 (M.D. Ga.
RPG 685 aS Sele ee Cie iGk eee eae tee 18
St. Mary’s Honor Center v. Hicks, _ U.S. _, 113 S.Ct. 2742,
AZO £,008-ae SOT CIGNS) 6 cen ee Vee eles i, 18, 19
Szymanska v. Abbott Laboratories, 3 AD Cases 748 (N.D. III.
SE Sia 6 6 Se EN ae ee eee 28, 30
CEPORD snc cle Bs ewe ae Oe ee ee eee ee 19
West v. Russell Corp., 868 F. Supp. 313 (M.D. Ala., 1994) 19
iV
2 SD Pate SP aN ES
bab San SORE eb dS Laer She (hein of
DONE A Aaa cA RA EOE BR oa 5 Ak ASA a EES, OPED TEM Me fd Tat et ee
ier
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION
On October 26, 1996, the Appellate Court for the Eleventh
Judicial Circuit entered its mandate affirming in part, and reversing
in part the Decree of the District Court for the Southern District of
Florida and Remanded the cause to the District Court for
recalculation of back pay award. On November 18, 1996,
Petitioner timely filed a Motion to Recall Mandate.
On December 13, 1996, the Appellate Court for the Eleventh
Judicial Circuit denied the Motion to Recall Mandate.
Petitioner invokes this Court’s jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).
STATUTES INVOLVED IN THE CASE
Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990
42 U.S.C. §12102 et seq.
Pertinent text of the Act is set out in the Appendix in accordance
with Rule 14(1)(i) of the Supreme Court Ruie
——- _s “
Ce eee ee ee
Vi
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Defendant is a corporate enterprise which consists of an
automobile dealership in Homestead, Florida doing business as
“Williamson Pontiac, Cadillac and Mazda" /( "Williamson",
"Company"). There are eight (8) Departments within the Company,
inciuding, but not limited to, the "Used Car Department." The
“Used Car Department" employs a manager, salespersons, and two
(2) automobile "porters."
In April 1991, the Defendant employed Mr. Jesus Pidal as
one of its two Used Car porters (TR. Vol. * pe. 34/25 -
pg.36/5).!
On February 8, 1992, Mr. Pidal was taken to a local hospital
for observation after coniplaining of chest pains, which were not
determined to be a heart attack (TR., Vol. 4, pg. 17/2-25; TR. Vol.
—
' Citations to the transcript of the trial appear as "TR." followed
by the corresponding volume number, the corresponding page
number, and a designation of the relevant lines on each page.
2, pg. 38/21- pg. 39/3; pg. 91/4-11). Thereafter, Mr. Pidal did not
seek to return to work again until July 1992.
The Company’s employee medical leave policy in 1992
provided a thirty (30) day period in which the employee would be
maintained on the Company’s self-insured health plan as if he or she
had not left work. After thirty (30) days, the employee was
considered separated from the Company’s employ and he or she
would be provided the appropriate COBRA notification (TR. Vol.
5, pg. 21/3-9). If the employee returned to his or her position
within sixty (60) days, there was no job guarantee, but s/he would
be re-employed in either the former position or an equivalent if
available; and, should the employee not return until after the sixty
(60) day period, there was no employment guarantee but he or she
would be given priority in applying for available employment
positions (TR. Vol. 5 pg. 21/1-24, & pg. 24/1- 25/5).
During his absence from work, Mr. Pidal admitted himself
to hospitals on two other occasions, once after having an argument
at home with his son, and eventually underwent arterial bypass
2
surgery on March 3, 1992 (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 14/ 16-23). The
Defendant extended it’s employee medical leave policy for Mr.
Pidal beyond the usual thirty (30) day period, to include coverage
of his March 3rd surgery under the Defendant’s health insurance
plan (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 8/11-13 & 23-25).?
By all accounts Mr. Pidal’s surgery was successful (TR.
Vol. 2, pg. 94/24-25}. On May 30, 1992 Pidal was examined and
informed that he was in "excellent" cardiac condition (TR. Vol. 4,
pg. 9/13-20; pg. 10/1-10). In fact, Pidal’s physician advised him,
"there would be no [cardiac] reason not to go back to work," or
otherwise resume his normal activities (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 11/1-8; 9-
25, pg. 12/1-6; and, pg. 12/14-19.
Without returning to work, Mr. Pidal again saw his doctor
for testing and examination on June 5, 1992 (TR. Vol. 4, pg.
*Mr. Pidal ieft the work place on February 8, 1992; the
Company, however, extended Mr. Pidal’s coverage under the
Company health plan through the end of March 1992 (TR. Vol. 5,
pg.20/13-25; Plaintiff's Ex. 3, Company correspondence to Pidal
dated 3/19/92, notifying him of COBRA rights effective April 1,
1992).
10/11-14). Pidal again achieved "excellent" test results and the
doctor “felt he was in good cardiovascular condition at that time"
(TR. Vol. 4, pg. 10/15-20). The doctor "gave no reason he [Pidal]
should not go back to work because of his heart" (TR. Vol. 4, pg.
11/1-8). The Plaintiff, however, made no attempt to return to work
until sometime in July 1992 (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 45/8-12).
After Mr. Pidal left the workplace in February 1992, the
Defendant employed another individual to perform the functions of
the second Used Car Porter position. The Defendant’s employee
medical leave policy provided no guarantee of re-employment
beyond thirty (30) days after the initiation of a medical absence, and
there is no dispute that all times, the employee hired in February
satisfactorily performed his job (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 61/21).
Approximately five (5) months after he left the workplace, however,
Mr. Pidal sought to return to work at his former position (TR. Vol.
2, pg. 33/22, pg. 34/200, pg. 37/20, pg. 38/6).
There is no dispute that the Company possessed no
obligation to re-hire Mr. Pidal at the time he sought to return to
4
work, and the individual who had replaced the Plaintiff was
satisfactorily performing his duties. Mr. Gregory Wurl, the
Company’s General Manager, felt no obligation to re-hire the
Plaintiff but had a “big heart" and wanted to help Mr. Pidal with his
employment. Thus, Mr. Wurl requested that Pidal obtain a doctor’s
release to return to work, a request which the Plaintiff himself
admits was reasonable under the circumstances (TR. Vol. 3, pg.
36/20-23).
On July 24, 1992, a doctor Walter L. Bringaze III, provided
Plaintiff with a written release expressly stating that Plaintiff was
“now able to return to work without restrictions" (TR. Vol. 2, pg.
49/9-15). Not only did the Plaintiff obtain a complete release to
return to work “without restrictions", but Mr. Wurl was also
informed by Mr. Jorge Mas, Pidal’s former supervisor, that he had
spoken directly to the office of Pidal’s physician and was informed
that the Plaintiff was "better than ever." (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 49/11-
pg.50/4). Further, Mr. Pidal never requested any accommodation
of any type necessary to perform any employment position with the
Defendant (TR. Vol. 3, pg. 38/5-21).
Thus, the Defendant re-hired Mr. Pidal on August 3, 1992,
in the same position as he previously held, with the same pay,
hours, and working conditions (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 105/20- pg.
106/25). At no time did the Plaintiff inform the Defendant that he
was unable to perform any function, duty, or responsibility of his
employment, with or without any accommodation (Id., see, also,
TR. Vol. 3, pg. 38/25 - pg.39/1).
The Plaintiff's re-employment, however, was possible only
after the Defendant transferred the incumbent Used Car porter to
another position (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 61/18-20).
Thereafter, on the evening of August 4, 1992, three (3) co-
workers saw Mr. Pidal sitting in a company vehicle in a public
parking lot, while on duty, and having a drink. The witnesses
reported they had seen Pida! drinking a beer (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 52/9 -
4
3
q
14; Vol. 5, pg. 81/10 - pg. 83/18: pg. 76/4-20).° There is no
dispute that drinking an alcoholic beverage while in a company
vehicle, in public and on duty, is a violation of company policy.‘
Accordingly, Mr. Wurl, on the morning of August Sth,
informed the Plaintiff that his employment was terminated due to
the beer drinking incident. (TR. Vol 2, pg. 51/21 - pg. 52/1-20).
In spite of the above unequivocal facts, the theory of liability
presented by the Plaintiff concerning his ADA claim consisted of
* At trial, Pidal denied that he drank a beer, contrary to Pidal’s
own sworn affidavit given to the EEOC which admitted such (TR.
Vol. 4, pg. 40/20 - pg. 43/14: see also, TR. Vol. 5, pg. 63 - pg.
68/16). The Plaintiff also attempted to show that other employees
of the Defendant drank alcoholic beverages while at lunch, but was
unable to show that Mr. Wurl was aware of such, or that any such
individual was employed in a porter position as Pidal and was
witnessed drinking an alcoholic beverage in a company vehicle on
a public premises.
* On December 31, 1991, the Defendant disseminated a
memoranda which explained "misuse of company vehicles or
company license plates will be grounds for immediate termination".
The rule was in effect as of August 1992 (Defendant’s Exhibit 1:
TR. Vol. 2, pg. 67/9- pg.68/1). It is undisputed that drinking a
beer in a company vehicle while performing a company duty is
misuse of a company vehicle (TR. Vol. 2 pg. 68/2-5).
7
the accusation that Mr. Pidal was terminated from employment on
August 5, 1992, because the Defendant perceived that he was a
future insurance risk. In an attempt to prove the Defendant was
motivated by such a perception, the Plaintiff relied exclusively upon
unreasonable opinion, speculation, inferences, and misconstruction
of the testimony of Mr. Jorge Mas concerning a couple of
conversations about the Plaintiff which occurred prior to the time of
any decision to re-hire Mr. Pidal. The Defendant respectfully
highlights such testimony below.
TESTIMONY OF JORGE MAS
Each Friday morning, the Company held meetings with its
managerial employees wherein the general operation of the
dealership was discussed (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 40/19 - pg.41/18; pg.
41/23-25; & pg. 42/7-10). At trial, Plaintiff's counsel asked Mr.
Mas to tell the jury what was said concerning Mr. Pidal during the
weekly meetings while he was away from work. Mas responded:
“Basically, on a couple of occasions,
how he was doing. On a couple of
occasions, what were we going to do
8
as far as bringing him back. There
were at the time 2 porters existing"
(TR. Vol. 2, pg. 42/7-10).
Plaintiff's counsel then questioned: "What else was
discussed?", and Mas responded, "That’s all -- you know" (TR.
Vol. 2, pg. 42/19-20).
Plaintiff's counsel further asked Mas whether, during the
staff meetings and prior to the Plaintiff returning to work, the
subject of terminating the Plaiatiff from employment was ever
discussed?" Mas replied, "Not actually terminating him, but well,
what were we going to do with a third porter, and was there a need
for a third porter" (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 43/6-11)°.
5
Mas was subsequently asked “when" the subject of the
Plaintiff’s ultimate termination from the company was first brought
up and he "guessed" that "it" was July (TR. Vol 2, pg. 44/16-24).
Mr. Mas clarified that any such discussion would have occurred
before Mr. Pidal was re-hited (TR. Vol 2, pg. 44/21- pg. 45/1,
emphasis added). Mas also agreed there was "resistance" on the
part of Messrs. Wurl and Victor to bringing back Mr. Pidal (TR.
Vol 2, pg. 46/2-15), and testified that "[a]gain, because of the extra
employees. Also the health insurance problem" (TR. Vol. 2, pg.
46/16-18). And, Mas testified there was concern Mr. Pidal "cost the
company a lot of money, and maybe was not healthy enough to
come back and continue his work, and that he may get sick again"
9
Counsel then asked who brought up the idea of firing the
Plaintiff, and Mas testified that he could not "recall."° Mr. Mas,
however, expressly denied the suggestion that anyone “came up
with an idea as to how to get around the Pidal problem." Mas
testified: "No, I can’t say someone had an idea, but Mr. Wurl
wanted to make sure he could continue to work and he asked for a
doctor’s okay" (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 47/16-20).
On re-direct examination, Mas clarified what he remembered
Mr. Wurl saying about Mr. Pidal: "To the best of my memory,
what I remember him [Wurl] saying, ‘before we even consider
letting him return, let’s make sure that he can get a doctor’s letter
that he is going to be able to work out there. See if he can come
up with that’" (TR. Vol. 2, 77/13-21; see, also, pg. 78/21-79/3).
(TR. Vol. 2, pg. 46/21-25).
° Mas, however, was allowed to speculate, over objection, that
"it would have to be" either Mr. Victor or Mr. Wurl (TR. Vol 2,
pg. 45/7-14).
10
Mr. Mas further testified, however, that the Defendant was
not obligated to re-hire-Mr. Pidal, and Mr. Wurl did not believe he
was so obligated (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 60/17-21). Mas also testified that
Mr. Wurl had "a big heart" and wanted to help Mr. Pidal by re-
employing him (TR. Vol. 2, pg.61/10-17). The Plaintiff himself
admitted that Wurl’s request for a medical release was reasonable
“due to the circumstances" (TR. Vol. 3, pg. 36/20-23).
THE COMPANY HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN
The Company maintains a self-insured, employee health
benefits plan ("Plan"). The Plan was designed by Mr. Gregory
Wurl, the Company’s General Manager, and the Company’s
President and CEO, Mr. Edward Williamson, III’ (TR. Vol. 5, pg.
25/6-11; pg.11/7-20). The individual monthly premium payments
for the Plan are determined by an independent organization which
conducts a census of the Company’s needs and establishes a
"premium equivalent" for each employee (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 28/1-12).
” Mr. Wurl deceased prior to the initiation of this litigation.
(TR. Vol.5, pg.7/22-24).
11
The employees contribute the majority of premium payments with
the Company off-setting a small portion thereof. (TR. Vol. 5, pg.
28/1-12).
The Plan is designed to accumulate a reserve fund (the
employee/employer contributions), which is utilized to purchase an
HMO plan that covers health care claims with costs up to, and
including, $45,000.00 a year, per employee (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 28/1-
12; pg. 30/1- pg. 31/12). The Plan also has independent insurance
policy referred to as a "stop-gap policy" which insures health
expenses for an employee which exceed $45,000.00 in a single year
(TR. Vol. 5, pg. 52/6-11). Thus, the health insurance claims of
employees cannot adversely impact the Defendant’s health care plan
or premium payments (TR. Vol. 5 pg. 62/5-12).
At the end of 1991 and 1992, the Plan’s reserve fund had
an excess of at least $80,000.00 and $50,000.00, respectively (TR.
Vol. 5, pg. 31/19 - pg. 32/3). An employee continues to participate
in the plan whether he is paying his share of the premium while
employed, or the entire premium while on COBRA (TR. Vol. 5,
12
pg. 22/10-17). There is no impact upon the plan as a result of any
employee paying premium costs while on COBRA (TR. Vol. 5, pg.
22/10-17). Effective April 1, 1992, the Plaintiff paid his COBRA
premium for three (3) months (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 96/12-25). Mr
Pidal’s claims in 1992 - prior to his release to return to work
without restriction - did not reach the $45,000.00 level (TR. Vol.
5, pg. 5; pg. 34/14-18).
COMPLETE LACK OF ANIMUS/INTENT TO DI RIMINATE
AGAINST INDIVIDUALS SIMILARLY SITUATED TO THE
PLAINTIFF
The Company has employed and re-employed a number of
individuals similarly situated to Mr. Pidal, i.e., those who have
suffered major medical problems, made insurance Claims, and
remained or returned to the Defendant’s employ.
Mr. Mas testified that during the same Manager Meetings
where Pidal was allegedly mentioned, another employee, Mr. Jorge
Labrada, was discussed "{b]ecause they were incidents that
happened pretty much around the same time" (TR. Vol. 2, pg.
63/1-7). Mr. Jorge Labrada is a fifty-nine (59) year old individual
13
who was originally employed by the Company in 1990, as an
autemobile painter (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 69/6-10). On February 2,
1992, Mr. Labrada was severely burned in @ fire at his farm,
requiring a leave of absence from work and substantial medical
treatment (TR. Vol. 5, pg.69/15 - og. 70/5). At the Company’s
request, Mr. Labrada received a doctor’s release to return "to full
job duty", without any restrictions on June 14, 1992 (TR. Vol. 5,
pg. 71/3-25).
The Plaintiff's health insurance claims in 1992 charged to the
Company Plan totaled $33,000 (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 34/14-18; pg.
41/17-20). Mr. Labrada’s health insurance costs for 1992 totaled
approximately $45,000.00 (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 37/22 - pg.38/2). On
June 14, 1992, Mr. Labrada returned to the Defendant’s employ
and was Offered the opportunity to re-join the company health care
plan, but voluntarily chose to utilize the plan established at his
wife’s place of business (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 72/21-23). Labrada
remains employed to date, without incident (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 72/2-
6).
14
In addition to Mr. Labrada, the Company introduced specific
evidence of four (4) similarly situated individuals:
1) a sixty-five (65) year old New Car salesman who
experienced heart problems approximately ten (10) years
earlier, and had a re-occurrence in 1991-1992 which
required two angioplasty procedures. The individual
remains employed even though his medical expenses
exceeded the Health Plan’s stop-gap policy (TR. Vol. 5, pg.
38/3-25, pg.39/3-4);
2) a sixty-two (62) year old salesman, diagnosed with
cancer in 1991, who remained employed with a reduced
work schedule until his death in 1993 (TR. Vol. 5, pg.
48/21-49/1);
3) a sixty-three (63) year old Service Advisor who suffered
a heart attack in 1991 or 1992 and underwent open heart
Surgery. The individual is currently on COBRA and
continues to work with the Company on a reduced schedule
(TR. Vol. 5, pg. 40/7-22; pg. 50/2-4); and,
4) a sixty (60) year old salesman, diagnosed and treated for
a “glandular problem", who was re-hired after a six (6)
month leave and remains employed (TR. Vol. 5, pg. 40/24-
41/9; pg. 50/16-25).
Within a month after Plaintiff left the employ of the
Defendant in August of 1992, Plaintiff was hired by Tamiami
Chrysler Dodge (hereinafter “Tamiami") in its parts department.
(TR. Vol. 4, pg. 30). Plaintiff was informed by his supervisor at
15
Tamiami, Mr. Mario Fernandez, of his recent heart surgery. (TR.
Vol. 4, pg. 33/11-16). Plaintiff that his job did not require him to
lift anything heavy, and that other employees would perform such
tasks (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 34/17 - pg. 35/13, pg. 35). Plaintiff also
admitted that he could take rest breaks whenever he needed. Id.
Mr. Pidal, however, voluntarily quit that job approximately six
weeks after being hired. (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 30). Mr. Pidal admitted
at trial, however, that he knew he would have been eligible for
health insurance benefits from Tamiami 90 days after his
employment began. (TR. Vol. 4, pg. 31).
At the close of trial, the jury returned a verdict in favor of
the Defendant as to the Plaintinf's claim of age discrimination under
the Age Discrimination in Employment Act ("ADEA"). The
Defendant respectfully contends, however, that because of the
Plaintiff's referral to having a "heart attack" while on the job, (TR.
Vol. 2, pg. 15/19; pg. 91/18-21); the mischaracterization of the
purported statements of Mr. Wurl prior to the Plaintiff's re-
employment (TR. Vol. 6, pg. 53 - pg.57); and, Plaintiff’s claim that
16
he was not being able to afford his COBRA payments to continue
his health insurance and therefore allegedly incurred substantial
medical expenses - even though he testified that he paid his COBRA
premiums through June 1992, and had been medically cleared to
return to work no later than May 30, 1992 (TR. Vol. 6, pg. 60/6-
14; TR. Vol. 2, pg. 96/1-25) - the jury was unduly prejudiced to
find for the Plaintiff with respect to his disability claim under the
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. 42 U.S.C. § 12102 et
seq. Thereafter, the Defendant timely filed this appeal.
17
ARGUMENT
Under St. Mary Honor Center v. Hicks, U.S. at_,
113 S. Ct. at 2747, Federal Courts have held that “The ultimate
burden of persuading the trier of fact that the defendant intentionally
discriminated against the plaintiff remains at all times with the
plaintiff.” DeLuca v. Winer Industries, Inc., 53 F.3d 793, 798 (7th
Cir., 1995) (applies St. Mary Honor Center) to the ADA): see,
also Patterson v. Downtown Med. i stic , 866 F.
Supp. 1379 (M.D. Fla. 1994); Hindman v. GTE Data Services, 3
AD Cases 641 (M.D. Fla. 1994) (plaintiff must show he is suffering
discrimination because of the disability); and, Smith v. Upson
County, Ga., 859 F. Supp. 1504 (M.D. Ga. 1994) (plaintiff must
show a causal connection exists between the adverse employment
action and the disability). The facts presented at trial, however,
clearly reveal that no such motivation was proven and there is no
evidence of a causal re!ationship between Plaintiff's discharge on
August 5, 1992 and a perceived disability and/or record of disability
on the part of the defendant. Plaintiff failed to establish that
18
a Ts
Defendant was motivated by a discriminatory intent when Plaintiff
was discharged. Furthermore, Plaintiff failed to prove that the
legitimate, non-discriminatory reason articulated by the defendant
was amere pretext for discrimination. West v. Russell Corp., 868
F. Supp. 313 (M.D. Ala., 1994) citing Texas Dept. of Community
Affairs v. Burdines, 450 U.S. 248 (1981). See, also, St. Mary’s
Honor Center v. Hicks, U.S. __, _. 113 S. Ct. 2742, 125 L.
Ed. 2d 407 (1993).
The Defendant’s General Manager, Mr. Wurl, and its
General Sales Manager, Mr. Leonard Victor, decided to discharge
the Plaintiff on August 5, 1992, after being informed by three (3)
other employees that they witnessed the Plaintiff during the previous
evening drinking an alcoholic beverage, while sitting in a company
vehicle in public and on duty, and away from the Defendant’s
premises (TR. Vol 2, pg. 52/1 - 53/1).
Whether the reports were correct or not is irrelevant because
the reports alone were legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons to
discharge Plaintiff. The Plaintiff cannot create a genuine issue of
19
fact by disputing the reports that he was in fact drinking on the job.
Brown v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco, 70 FEP Cases 1211 (N.D.
Fla., 1996). The evidence in this case indicates that the
Defendant’s actions were based upon the a legitimate, non-
discriminatory reason and there is no evidence that would have
allowed a reasonable jury to find otherwise.
The only evidence presented by the Plaintiff concerning the
Defendant’s alleged wrongful motivation was the testimony of Mr.
Jorge Mas, a former Manager for the Defendant who supervised the
Plaintiff's work performance (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 33/22; pg. 34/20;
pg. 37/20-38/6). Mr. Mas, however, did not make or participate
in the decision to discharge the Plaintiff in August 1992 (TR. Vol
2, pg. 51/21 - pg. 52/1-20). Accordingly, the motivation of Messrs.
Wurl and Victor concerning the Plaintiff's discharge is
determinative.
The Plaintiff attempted to show that other employees of the
Defendant drank alcoholic beverages while at lunch, but was unable
to show that Mr. Wurl was aware of such, or that any such
20
individual was employed in a porter position as Pidal and was
witnessed drinking an alcoholic beverage in a company vehicle on
a public premises.
Mr. Mas’ testimony is-based upon Conversations participated
in by Mr. Wurl during weekly manager meetings between February
1992 and the time when Mr. Pidal returned to work. At that time,
Williamson was under no obligation to rehire Plaintiff. Plaintiff
fails to show how the conversations held prior to his rehiring by the
Defendant showed a discriminatory motive or scheme to rehire
Plaintiff and Subsequently discharge him. Regardless, the
Defendants would have had no reason to enter into a discrimination
Scheme since there was (1) no actual obligation to rehire the
Plaintiff, and (2) there was no ADA in effect at the time the
Statements were made and, therefore, no necessity to enter into a
scheme to protect the company therefrom. Mr. Mas testified that
during those meetings, Mr. Pidal was a subject of conversation on
a couple of occasions, such as "...how he was doing. On a couple
of occasions, what were we going to do as far as bringing him
21
oo ee |
back. There were at the time 2 porters existing" (TR. Vol. 2, pg.
42/7-10). Asked what else was discussed, Mas testified: “That's all
-- you know" (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 42/19-20). There was no evidence
offered to identify the individual(s) who made such comments.
Mr. Mas was also asked if the subject of terminating the
Plaintiff from employment was ever discussed. Mas replied: “Not
actually terminating him, but well, what were we going to do with
a third porter, and was there a need for a third porter" (TR. Vol.
2, pg. 43/6-11).
The Plaintiff's case is obviously premised upon rank
speculation and unreasonable inference drawn from such
conversations. When Plaintiff's counsel asked Mas what Mr. Wurl
actually said during such meetings concerning Mr. Pidal, the
following testimony was adduced:
"To the best of my memory, what I
remember him [Mr. Wurl] saying,
‘before we even consider letting him
return, let’s make sure that he can get
a doctor’s letter that he is going to be
able to work out there. See if he can
come up with that" (TR. Vol. 2, pg.
22
77/13-21; see, also, Vol. 2, pg.
78/21- pg.79/3).
All of Jorge Mas’ testimony regarding conversations at
manager meetings took place prior to the decision to rehire Jesus
Pidal on August 3, 1992. There is no factual evidence that anyone
at Williamson believed they had to rehire Mr. Pidal and there is no
legal authority requiring Williamson to reemploy Jesus Pidal on
August 3, 1992. Once Plaintiff legally separated from Williamson,
they were under no legal obligation to rehire Plaintiff. Loper v.
American Airlines, Inc., 582 F.2d 956 (Sth Cir., 1978). Mas’
"manager meeting discussions" were all in the context of how Mr.
Pidal’s health was doing and whether or not Williamson was going
to rehire Mr. Pidal. Regardless of the considerations examined by
Williamson during the manager meetings, the decision was made to
rehire Jesus Pidal and he began working at the exact same job at
Williamson on August 3, 1992. The subsequent act of rehiring
Plaintiff negated any inference that the prior conversations
evidenced a discriminatory intent.
23
Jorge Mas’ testimony indicates that there were two
considerations reviewed regarding whether to rehire Jesus Pidal:
(1) | Was there a need for a third porter because Williamson
employs only two porters and both positions were filled, (two
porters/three porters issue); and (2) was Jesus Pidal well enough to
physically return to his porter position (Pidal’s health to return to
work issue). Once again, the evidence shows that the Defendant
was assessing his employment needs. This type of information has
been found to be “classic ‘state of mind’ evidence that tended to
negate any inference of retaliatory intent.” Anderson v. Sheppard,
770 F.2d 165 (6th Cir., 1985).
Attorney Manzini, through his questioning, placed emphasis
on Williamson’s request to Pidal, prior to reemploying Pidal, that
Pidal provide Williamson with a doctor’s letter identifying that Pidal
is physically able to return to his former porter job without
restriction. This request does not provide evidence of
24
discriminatory motive.* Mas’ testimony, again which concerned
only pre-reemployment manager meeting discussion, falls short of
satisfying Plaintiff's ADA burden of proof. Attorney Manzini asked
Mas "Did-somebody come up with an idea as to how to get around
the Pidal problem?" (Attorney Manzini never asked who said
what.) Mas answered:
A: No, I can’t say somebody had .
an idea, but Mr. Wurl wanted to
make sure he could continue to work
and he asked for a doctor’s okay.
(TR. Vol 2; pg. 47)
On redirect, attorney Manzini again inquired about
Williamson’s request for a doctor’s letter and Mas, attempting to
quote Mr. Wurl, stated:
"...Hey, let’s get a letter from his
doctor making sure he can come back
to work, and if he can get that, okay,
and if not, that would be the end of it
right there." (Emphasis provided.)
(TR. Vol 2; pg. 82)
* Mr. Pidal admitted that the request for a doctor’s release to
return to work was reasonable under the circumstances. (TR. Vol.
2; pg. 1).
25
Pidal got the doctor’s letter and therefore according to Mas
it was "okay", and Pidal was reemployed beginning August 3, 1992
(TR. Vol. 2, pg. 82). Significantly, Williamson followed the same
procedure regarding George Labrada who had also suffered a severe
health problem in February 1992 and sought reemployment in July
1992. George Labrada, who was also in his late fifties, and who
had higher health care claims, obtained a doctor’s release and
remains employed by Williamson today.
Therefore, upon obtaining the doctor’s statement allowing
him to return to work, Plaintiff was rehired by Defendant while he
was under no legal obligation to do so. Soon, thereafter, the
Defendant received three reports by the Plaintiff’s fellow employees
that the Plaintiff was drinking in a company vehicle while on duty.
Based upon these reports, the Defendant discharged the Plaintiff for
a legitimate, nan-diacstiebiealcary: baidiane reason.
Assuming, arguendo, that the above statements showed a
discriminatory motivation, the subsequent rehiring would negate any
26
laiaieietiaiiniaiineiaaiiiaiaiiiiili
inference of discrimination. Since it is undisputed’ that the
Defendant’s were under no obligation to rehire Plaintiff and the
statements by Defendant were made prior to the Plaintiff’s rehiring,
any discriminatory motivation would have easily been implemented
by not rehiring Plaintiff. Mr. Mas admitted that at the time the
Defendant re-hired the Plaintiff in August, there were no
discussions concerning finding a reason to let Pidal go or to make
him quit (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 69/21-70/17). In fact, the Plaintiff never
told Mas, or anyone else, that he possessed any disability, and it is
undisputed that Pidal never requested any accommodation or
assistance with the performance of his duties upon his re-hire (TR.
Vol. 2, pg. 68/6-11; Vol. 3, pg. 38/16-pg. 39/2). However, once
he was rehired, that fact alone negates the inference of
° Mas admitted the Defendant had no obligation to re-hire Mr.
Pidal at the time he inquired about returning to work. Mas also
acknowledged that Greg Wurl never indicated that he believed he
was obligated to re-hire the Plaintiff, but that Wurl had a "big
heart" and wanted to help Mr. Pidal by providing him with
employment at the time he sought to return (TR. Vol. 2, pg. 61/10
-17).
27
discrimination by placing Plaintiff in a better position after the
conversations the Plaintiff offers as evidence to show discriminatory
intent. Similarly, in an EEOC decision, the committee reasoned
that an employee who received a pay raise subsequent to a claim
filed with the EEOC would negate an inference that the employer
discriminated against the employee based upon the EEOC claim
prior to the pay raise. (EEOC Decision No. 75-058) Furthermore,
Defendant extending the Plaintiff's medical coverage further
evidences that Defendant had no discriminatory motivation. The
Plaintiff contends that the conversations several months before his
rehiring establish the requisite causal connection. However, it is
well settled that a causal connection is “demonstrated by the
proximity of the adverse action to the protected activity.” The
Plaintiff’s surgery in March 1992 is not within the proximity of the
August 1992 discharge, especially since the Defendant was under no
legal duty to rehire Plaintiff.
In a similar case, Szymanska v. Abbott Laboratories, 3 AD
Cases 748 (N.D. Ill. 1994), two employees brought suit against
28
—-
ee
their former employer alleging, inter alia, claims of disability
discrimination under the ADA. One of the employees (Ms.
Pietraszewski) had a history of hospitalization and surgery for the
treatment of kidney cancer and was subsequently discharged by two
company officials who had knowledge of her health condition. The
employee asserted her employment was terminated because she was
"perceived" to be handicapped. Summary judgement was granted
on behalf of the Defendants, however, because the employee had
returned to work, without restriction or incident, subsequent to her
hospitalization. The court stated, "Her past condition and past
hospitalization does not, without more, indicate any impairment or
history of impairment that substantially limits any of her major life
activities. Significantly, there is no evidence that her activities were
impacted by her cancer prior to her surgery and no evidence that
She requested any accommodation after her surgery and sick leave."
Id. at 761. Like Ms. Pietraszewski, Mr. Pidal presented no
evidence that his health had any impact on his life activities prior to
his leave in February 1992, and there is no evidence that Mr.
29
Pidal’s health affected any major life activity after his return from
surgery (Pidal received a clean bill of health as of May 30, 1992).
Pidal also admits he never sought, nor needed, any accommodation
after his recovery.
As in Pidal, the Defendant in Szymanska was also charged
with having made comments regarding the plaintiff's health
problems and their impact on her work. Specifically, the plaintiff
alleged that a supervisor who visited her in the hospital after her
kidney surgery asserted that the problems the Defendant had with
her work performance “are related to her health problems." Id. at
753. The court, however, held that such stray remarks were
insufficient to indicate the defendant perceived her as handicapped.
Id., 3 AD cases at 760-761.
Similarly, the facts of this case reveal the Plaintiff failed to
establish any causal relationship between his alleged disability and
his ultimate discharge, subsequent to his August 1992 re-hire.
Further, the comments actually attributed to Mr. Wurl, and any
reasonable inference to be drawn therefrom, are insufficient to
30
prove the Defendant was illegally motivated when discharging Mr.
Pidal on August 5. 1992.
The preceding is the extent of factual evidence presented by
the Plaintiff concerning the Defendant’s motivation for discharging
Mr. Pidal on August 5, 1992, allegedly because of his disability,
record, or perception thereof. There is simply no competent
evidence, however, which indicates the Defendant’s motivation for
terminating Mr. Pidal’s second period of employment was based
upon, even in part, a disability, perception/record of such, or any
alleged fear of an adverse effect upon the Defendant’s health
insurance plan.
Therefore, Plaintiff cannot meet its burden of snowing that
Williamson pretextualy terminated Pidal for drinking on the job and
actually terminated Pidal for a discriminatory reason.
31
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, Peetitioner, W.W.W. Enterprises,
Inc., respectfully requests that this Court grant its Petition for a
Writ of Certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,
MURRAY HUDSON, ESQUIRE
COUNSEL OF RECORD
HOGG ALLEN NORTON
& BLUE,P.A.
i121 MAJORCA AVE
CORAL GABLES FL 33134
ADAMS & QUINTON, P.A.
80 S.W. 8 STREET, SUITE 2150
MIAMI, FLORIDA 33130
COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER
32
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.