Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia v. Federal Express Corp.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FiLeéeD

961149 JAN 2 1 1997,

Neo, cnnsennane

26 22 es oe 2 a on

i 2 TTre

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY AND

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and

fiduciary, Petitioners,

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION;

THE FLYING TIGER LINES, INC-::

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENT CPREK

(Counsel of Record)

SAGOT, JENNINGS & SIGMOND

510 Walnut Street—16th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19106-3683

(215) 351-0615

DAVID C. MCBRIDE

BARRY M. WILLOQUGHBY

YOUNG, CONAWAY, STARGATT

& TAYLOR

llth Floor Rodney Square North

P.O. Box 391

Wilmington, DE 19899-0391

(302) 571-6666

Attorne Ys for Pe tatione rs

i

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether a multiemployer pension plan must show

that a donee of a business with substantial withdrawal

liability debt had wilful criminal intent to defraud a pen-

sion plan in accepting a gift in order to impose civil

liabilty on the donor by disregarding the gift as a trans-

action with a principal purpose to evade or avoid with-

drawal liability within the meaning of 29 U.S.C. § 1392

€q}.

2. Whether the “presumption of correctness” in 29

U.S.C. § 1401(a)(3)(A) accorded to a factually detailed

determination of a fraudulent conveyance and a transac-

tion to evade withdrawal liability may be overcome by the

testimony of an interested witness at trial concerning

“plausible and valid” reasons for a sale even though those

reasons have no support in contemporaneous documents

nor the testimony of disinterested witnesses and do not

explain a $15 Million sales discount nor other aspects of

the actual transaction without material impetus from

withdrawal liability.

3. Whether a multiemployer plan reasonably deter-

mined that both groups emerging from a division of a

control group “employer” remain jointly and severally

liable for unpaid pension liability which accrued in annual

pieces during the period of affiliation.

(i)

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Parties to the proceedings below were the Petitioners,

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicin-

ity, its trustees and Charles J. Schaffer, Jr., its adminis-

trator and a fiduciary charged with collection of with-

drawal liability. The Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity is a trust under 29 U.S.C.

§ 186(c)(5) whose trustees sponsor a multiemployer plan

and an employee pension benefit plan under the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1002(2),

(37) (A), 1301(a)(3).

The Respondent before this Court is Federal Express

Corporation (“FedEx”). FedEx is a corporate successor,

by merger, to Tiger International, Inc. whose subsidiaries

included The Flying Tiger Lines, Inc. and Warren Trans-

port, Inc. The status of any other parent company, sub-

sidiary or affiliate of FedEx (within the meaning of Rule

29.1 of this Court) is not currently known to Petitioners.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i i

LIST OF PARTIES ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES V

OPINIONS BELOW l

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

SIONS INVOLVED 8

STATEMENT OF CASE 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 15

.. THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S “GOOD FAITH”

STANDARD REQUIRING PROOF OF CRIM-

INAL FRAUDULENT INTENT BY A

TRANSFEREE TO IMPOSE CIVIL PENSION

LIABILITY ON A TRANSFEROR IS IN CON-

FLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUITS 17

Il. THE ISSUES PRESENTED ARE IMPOR-

TANT TO PREVENT DUMPING OF UN.-

FUNDED PENSION LIABILITY IN THE

BILLIONS ON OTHER EMPLOYERS AND

THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT 23

CONCLUSION 26

APPENDIX

Third Circuit Order, Trustees of Teamsters Pen-

sion Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity v.

Federal Express Corp., 96 F.3d 1482 (8d Cir.

1996) (table) ; la

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity v. Federal Express Corp.,

1995 WL 7913871, 20 E.B.C. 1050 (D.Del. 1995)

Third Circuit Sur Petition for Rehearing Trustees

of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia

and Vicinity v. Federal Express Corp., 96 F.8d

1432 (3d Cir. 1996) (table)

Demand Letter & Determination, Teamsters Pen-

ston Trust Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity (Jan-

uary 20, 1988)

Suppiemental Demand Letter & Determination,

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia &

Vicinity (December 2, 1988)

Review Response & Determination, Teamsters

Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity

(December 2, 1988)

Flying Tiger Line - and - Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity, 19 E.B.C. 2830

(Nagle, Arb. 1993)

24a

27a

48a

T2a

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

American Hospital Association v. NLRB, 499 U.S.

606, 111 S.Ct. 1539, 113 L.Ed.2d 675 (1991) 20

Beacon Auto Radiator Co., Inc. v. Comm’r, 52 T.C.

LOO (19698) ............ sie aicenel 22

Bobsee Corp. v. U.S., 411 F.2d 281 (5th Cir.

1969) _..... iuiaie : 21

Botany Worsted Mills v. U.S., 278 U.S. 282, 49

S.Ct. 129, 73 L.Ed. 379 (1929) .. 17

Central States, S.E. & S.W.A. Pension Fund v.

Robinson Cartage, 55 F.3d 1318 (7th Cir. 1995) 24

Central States, S.W. & S.W.A. Pension Fund v.

Santa Fe Industries, 22 F.8d 725 (7th Cir.

1994) passim

Cheek v. U.S., 498 U.S. 192, 111 S.Ct. 604, 112

L.Ed.2d 617 (1991) 19

Coastal Oil Storage v. Comm’r, 242 F.2d 396 (4th

Cir. 1957) . ’ 21

Combs v. Classic Coal Corporation, 931 F.2d 96

(D.C. Cir. 1991) 17

Comm’r v. Tufts, 461 U.S. 300, 108 S.Ct. 1826,

75 L.Ed.2d 863 (1983) 25

Concrete Pipe and Products of California, Inc. v.

Construction Laborers Pension Trust for South-

ern California, 508 U.S. 602, 113 S.Ct. 2264, 124

L.Ed.2d 539 (19938) .. 16, 17

Cuyamaca Meats, Inc. v. San Diego & I.C. Butchers

Pension Fund, 638 F. Supp. 885 (S.D. Cal.

1986) 18

Dillier v. Comm’r, 41 T.C. 762 (1964) 22

Dorn’s Transportation v. Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity, 787 F.2d 897

(3d Cir. 1986) 18

Douglas Guardian Warehouses v. Jones, 405 F.2d

427 (10th Cir. 1969) 20

Duncan v. First Nat’l Bank of Cartersville, Ga.,

597 F.2d 51 (5th Cir. 1979) 20

Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 7 E.B.C. 2385 (D. Del. 1986) 2

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 659 F. Supp. 18 (D. Del. 1986) 2

Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.B. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 8 E.B.C. 1241, 1986 WL 14904

(D. Del. 1986) 2

Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 704 F. Supp. 1277 (D. Del.

1989) 2

Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 715 F. Supp. 1284 (D. Del.

1989)

Flying Tiger Line v. Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity, 830 F.2d

1241 (3d Cir. 1987) 2, 15, 16, 22, 25

Flying Tiger Line - and - Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity, 19 E.B.C. 2830

~

(Nagle, Arb. 1993) passim

Herculite Protective Fabrics Corp. v. Comm’r, 387

F.2d 475 (3d Cir. 1968) t7, 23

House Beautiful Homes v. Comm’r, 405 F.2d 61

(10th Cir. 1968) 21

In Re: Juvenile Shoe Corp. of America, 99 F.3d

898 (8th Cir. 1996)

25

Orvis v. Higgins, 180 F.2d 537 (2d Cir. 1950) 21, 23

PBGC v. LTV Corp., 496 U.S. 6338, 110 S.Ct. 2668,

110 L.Ed.2d 579 (1990) 24

PBGC v. White Consolidated Industries, 998 F.2d

1192 (8d Cir. 1993) 18

Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 409 U.S. 228, 109

S.Ct. 1775, 104 L.Ed.2d 268 (1989) 19

Scroll, Inc. v. Comm’r, 447 F.2d 612 (5th Cir.

1971) 17, 21

Shannon v. U.S., 512 U.S. 573, 114 S.Ct. 2419, 129

L.Ed.2d 459 (1994) 21

Slappey Drive Industrial Park v. U.S., 561 F.2d

572 (5th Cir. 1977) 21

Southeastern Canteen Co. v. Comm’r, 410 F.2d 615

(6th Cir. 1969) 21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia

and Vicinity v. Brigadier Leasing, 880 F. Supp.

388 (E.D. Pa. 1995) 14

Trustees of Amalgamated Insurance Fund v.

McFarlin’s, 789 F.2d 98 (2d Cir. 1986) 25

Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity v. Federal Express

Corp., 96 F.3d 1432 (8d Cir. 1996) (table) |

Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity v. Federal Express

Corp., 1995 WL 791371, 20 E.B.C. 1050 (D. Del.

1995) ]

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia &

Vicinity v. Fuqua Industries, Inc., 509 U.S. 901,

113 S.Ct. 2989, 125 L.Ed.2d 684 (1993) 16

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia &

Vicinity v. Fuqua Industries, Inc., 981 F.2d 1248

(3d Cir. 1992) (table) 16

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia &

Vicinity v. Fuqua Industries, Inc., 1992 WL

70418, 15 E.B.C. 2271 (E.D. Pa. 1992) 17

U.S. v. Janis, 428 U.S. 438, 96 S.Ct. 3021, 49

L.Ed.2d 1046 (1976) 17

U.S. v. Tabor Court Realty Corp., 803 F.2d 1288

(3d Cir. 1986) 19

U.S. v. Yellow Cab Co., 338 U.S. 338, 70 S.Ct. 177,

94 L.Ed. 150 (1949) 23

Vulcan Materials Co. v. U.S., 446 F.2d 690 (5th

Cir. 1971) 17, 2]

In Re: Woodfield, 978 F.2d 516 (9th Cir. 1992) 20

Statutes

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 547 12

Internal Revenue Code, Title 26 U.S.C.

26 U.S.C. § 269 3,17

26 U.S.C. § 269 (a) 2]

26 U.S.C. § 404 25

26 U.S.C. §§ 1501-1504 25

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Judicial Code, Title 28 U.S.C. Page

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) 3

28 U.S.C. § 2101 (c) 3

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 186

(c) (5) ii

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,

as amended by the Multiemployer Pension Plan

Amendments Act of 1980, 29 U.S.C. § 1001

et seq.

29 U.S.C. § 1002 (2) i

29 U.S.C. § 1002 (37) (A) i]

29 U.S.C. § 1801 (a) (3) il

29 U.S.C. § 1201 (b) 6, 8, 12

29 U.S.C. § 1801 (b) (1) (1976) 1,16

29 U.S.C. § 1862(d) (1976) 5, 25

29 U.S.C. § 1862(d) (38) (1976) 6

29 U.S.C. § 1869 18, 24

29 U.S.C. § 1381 (a) 24

29 U.S.C. § 1892 (c) passim

29 U.S.C. § 1898 (1976) 5, 6, 25

29 U.S.C. § 1401 15

29 U.S.C. § 1401 (a) (3) (A) i, 4, 16

Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1980, Pub. L. 96-364, § 405, 29 U.S.C.A. § 1461

note (uncodified) 2.4

Rules

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Title 28

U.S.C. Appendix

Rule 35 3

Rule 40.. 3

Supreme Court Rule 29.1 1]

Third Circuit Rule 12 (6) 2

Third Circuit, Internal Operating Procedures

9.5.1 3

6.2.2(d) 18

Other

1996 Green Book 24

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation, Press Re-

lease 97-09 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY AND

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and

iduciary, Petitioners,

Vv.

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION;

THE FLYING TIGER LINES, INC.;

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment order of the Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit is reported in table format at 96 F.3d 1432

(table) and is reprinted in the Appendix to this Petition,

p. la, along with the order on the petition for rehear

ing, p. 24a. The memorandum decision of the District

Court is published as Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity v. Federal Express

Corp., 1995 WL 791371, 20 Employee Benefits Cas.

(E.B.C.) 1050 (D. Del. 1995). It is reprinted in the

2

Appendix to this Petition, page 5a. The decision of

Arbitrator Robert E. Nagle is reported at 19 E.B.C. 2830.

It is reprinted in the Appendix to this Petition, p. 72a.

The determinations of the Fund are reprinted in the Ap-

pendix at pp. 27a, 41a, 43a. They are not reported.

This petition arises from a suit by Tiger International,

Inc. and its affiliates against Petition and other multi-

employer plans in Delaware for a declaration that it was

not an “employer” responsible for withdrawal liability.

See, Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 7 E.B.C. 2385 (D. Del. 1986) (case is

not arbitrable); Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E.

& S.W.A. Pension Fund, 659 F. Supp. 13, 7 E.B.C. 2392

(D. Del. 1986) (on reargument, case is subject to arbitra-

tion); Flying Tiger Line v. Central States S.E. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund, 8 E.B.C. 1241, 1986 WL 14904 (D. Del.

1986) (certification of appeal); Flying Tiger Line, Inc.

v. Central States, S.E. & S.W.A. Pension Fund, 659

F. Supp. 13, 7 E.B.C. 2392 (D. Del. 1986) (denying

motion for certification of defendant class); Flying Tiger

Line v. Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia

and Vicinity, 830 F.2d 1241, 8 E.B.C. 2505 (3d Cir.

1987) (claims were subject to statutory arbitration under

29 U.S.C. § 1401). In Flying Tiger Line v. Central

States S.E. & S.W.A. Pension Fund, 704 F. Supp. 1277,

10 E.B.C. 1882 (D. Del. 1989), the United States Dis-

trict Court for the District of Delaware directed the arbi-

tration leading to the present petition. See further, Flying

Tiger Line, Inc. v. Central States, S.E. & S.W.A. Pension

Fund, 715 F. Supp. 1284, 11 E.B.C. 1219 (D. Del.

1989) (attorney fee issues). These decisions and order

are not involved in this Petition and have not been

reproduced.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

A panel of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit entered a judgment order under Rule

12(6) (3d Cir.), on August 20, 1996, p. la. The judg-

3

ment affirmed an order of the United States District

Court for the District of Delaware, p. 5a. A timely

combined petition for rehearing by the panel and sugges-

tion of rehearing in banc pursuant to Fed.R.App.Pro.

40, 35 and Internal Operating Procedure 9.5.1 (3d Cir.)

was filed on September 3, 1996. The petition for rehear-

ing was denied on October 21, 1996, p. 24a. The ju-

risdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1254(1), 2101(c) on a petition for a writ of certiorari

to review a final judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

26 U.S.C. § 269. Acquisitions made to evade or avoid

income tax

(a) In General—If—

(1) any person or persons acquire, or acquired on or

after October 8, 1940, directly or indirectly, control of

a corporation, or

(2) any corporation acquires, or acquired on or after

October 8, 1940, directly or indirectly, property of an-

other corporation, not controlled, directly or indirectly,

immediately before such acquisition, by such acquiring

corporation or its stockholders, the basis of which prop-

erty, in the hands of the acquiring corporation, is deter-

mined by reference to the basis in the hands of the trans-

feror corporation,

and the principal purpose for which such acquisition was

made is evasion or avoidance of federal income tax by

securing the benefit of a deduction, credit, or other

allowance which such person or corporation would not

otherwise enjoy, then the Secretary may disallow such

deduction, credit or other allowance. For purposes of

paragraphs (1) and (2), control means the ownership of

4

stock possessing at least 50 percent of the total combined

voting power of all classes of stock entitled to vote or at

least 50 percent of the total value of shares of all classes

of stock of the corporation.

29 U.S.C. § 1392(c). Obligation to Contribute; Special

Rules

(c) If a principal purpose of any transaction is to evade

or avoid withdrawal liability under this part, this part

shall be applied (and liability shall be determined and

collected) without regard to such transaction.

29 U.S.C. § 1401(a)(3)(A). Arbitration proceedings;

matters subject to arbitration, procedures applicable, etc.

(3)(A) For purposes of any proceeding under this sec-

tion, any determination made by a plan sponsor under

sections 1381 through 1399 of this title and section 1405

of this title is presumed correct unless the party contesting

the determination shows by a preponderance of evidence

that the determination was unreasonable or clearly errone-

ous.

29 U.S.C. § 1301(b)(1)(1976). Definition.

(b)(1) An individual who owns the entire interest in an

unincorporated trade or business is treated as his own

employer, and a partnership is treated as the employer of

each partner who is an employee within the meaning of

section 401(c)(1) of Title 26. For purposes of this sub-

chapter, under regulations prescribed by the corporation,

all employees of trades or businesses (whether or not in-

corporated) which are under common control shall be

treated as employed by a single employer and all such

trades and businesses as a single employer. The regula-

tions prescribed under the preceding sentence shall be

consistent and coextensive with regulations prescribed for

similar purposes by the Secretary of the Treasury under

section 414(c) of Title 26.

Section 405, Pub. L. 96-364.

“(a) Except as otherwise provided in the amendments

made by [the Muiti-employer Pension Plan Amendments

Act, P.L. 96-364] and in subsection (b), if the way in

which any such amendment will apply to a particular

circumstance is to be set forth in regulations, any reason-

able action during the period before such regulations take

effect shall be treated as complying with such regulations

for such period.

“(b) Section (a) shall not apply to any action which

violates any instruction issued, or temporary rule pre-

scribed, by the agency having jurisdiction but only if such

instruction or rule was published, or furnished to the

party taking the action, before such action was taken.”

29 U.S.C. § 1398 (1976) (obsolete). Withdrawal not

to occur merely because of change in business form or

suspension of contributions during labor dispute.

Notwithstanding any other provision of this part, an em-

ployer shall not be considered to have withdrawn from a

plan solely because—

(1) an employer ceases to exist by reason of—

(A) a change in corporate structure described in section

1362(d) of this title, or

(B) a change to an unincorporated form of business

enterprise, if the change causes no interruption in em-

ployer contributions nor obligations to contribute under

the plan, or

For purposes of this part, a successor or parent corpora-

tion or other entity resulting from any such change shall

be considered the original employer.

6

29 U.S.C. § 1362(d) (1976) (obsolete). Liability of em-

ployer

(d) Corporate reorganizations

For purposes of this section the following rules apply in

the case of certain corporate reorganizations:

(1) If an employer ceases to exist by reason of a reorga-

nization which involves a mere change in identity, form,

or place of organization, however effected, a successor

corporation resulting from such reorganization shall be

treated as the employer to whom this section applies.

(2) If an employer ceases to exist by reason of a liquida-

tion into a parent corporation, the parent corporation shall

be treated as the employer to whom this section applies.

(3) If an employer ceases to exist by reason of a merger,

consolidation, or division, the successor corporation or

corporations shall be treated as the employer to whom

this section applies.

STATEMENT OF CASE

This case concerns a decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit which overturned

a determination of the Trustees of the Teamsters Pension

Trust Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity (“Philadelphia

Fund” or “Fund”) that Federal Express Corporation

f/k/a Tiger International Corporation (“FedEx” or

“Tiger”) was liable to the Fund for withdrawal liability

pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §§ 1392(c), 1398, 1301(b) fol-

lowing the shutdown of Tiger’s former subsidiary, Hall’s

Motor Transit Company (“Hall’s”).

Hall’s was solvent and profitable when Tiger Inter-

national Corp. acquired 100% of the stock of Hall’s

Motor Transit for $45,198,000 in January 1980. Hall’s

remained a wholly-owned subsidiary of Tiger International,

Inc. until January 1985 when Tiger “sold” the stock of

Hall’s to Hall’s Acquisition Corporation, a corporation

7

formed by Hall’s chief financial officer, Alvin Bodford,

for $1,000. The entire unamortized withdrawal liability

due to the Fund admittedly accrued during this period of

common control.

Later in 1980, Tiger acquired two other trucking com-

panies, Warren Transport, a profitable truckload carrier,

and Dohrn Transfer, a very troubled Midwestern “less-

than-truckload” carrier. Tiger merged Dohrn’s into Hall’s

in April, 1981 and added another $15 million in with-

drawal liability and additional $12 million in bank debt

to Hall’s balance sheet. Tiger abandoned Hall’s traditional

business and merged Dohrn into Hall’s in a grand shot

at “one-stop” shopping on combined air, rail and trans-

portation services in conjunction with other Tiger affil-

iates. With the new Dohrn’s debt imposed by Tiger and

loss of traditional business, Hall’s went into a downward

spiral from which it never recovered.

Tiger and its creditors were well aware of Tiger’s

responsibility for unpaid pension debt of Hall’s or other

subsidiaries. The potential liability was tracked by Arthur

Andersen, Tiger’s auditors, based on fund confirmations

from 1981 forward and was noted in annual financial

statements. In 1983, Tiger and its affiliates defaulted on

various debt and Flying Tiger, Tiger’s principal operating

company, and Tiger executed the “Override Agreement”

to cure defaults on approximately $588 million of debts in

December 1983. The Override Agreement had a unique

default clause that was triggered by the assessment of

withdrawal liability (or other pension debt) against Tiger

or Flying Tiger in an amount over $5 million.

In December 1983, Tiger also executed a promissory

note (the “Tiger Note”) for $132 million which was

pledged to lenders for advances previously made to Tiger

by North American Car Corporation (“NAC”) or “North

American”), another Tiger subsidiary, as part of NAC’s

restructuring agreements. The Tiger Note was due in

8

1991, but would be accelerated upon a default under

the main NAC restructuring agreement or the Override

Agreement. Tiger also restructured Hall’s inherited

Dohrn’s debt with Prudential Capital and Exchange Na-

tional Bank in 1983 through a new agreement involving

Heller Financial—with a default clause in the absence

of continuing Tiger ownership.

The refinancing did not stop the red ink at Hall’s.

Arthur Andersen gave qualified opinions for Hall’s from

1982 forward based on Hall’s working capital deficits,

declining net equity, a proprietary failure model showing

an 86% likelihood of near-term failure for Hall’s and

other factors. By early March, 1984, Alvin Bodford, the

chief financial officer of Hall’s, was telling Tiger that

Hall’s was going nowhere and that something had to be

done or Hall’s would be out of business. In March, 1984,

Wayne Hoffman, the chief executive officer of Tiger,

dispatched James Cronin, his special assistant “to deter-

mine what was going on at Hall’s to make a recommenda-

tion as to what should be done.”

By May 10, 1984, Robert J. Harter, Tiger’s in-house

counsel and a bankruptcy lawyer, prepared a set of

materials for a Tiger Finance Committee meeting, explain-

ing the problems at Hall’s in light of the liability of a

parent corporation for withdrawal liability under 29 U.S.C.

$ 1301(b).

Hall's Motor Transit Company

1. Potential Net Worth Default. If operating results

do not improve, Hall’s will violate the net worth

covenant in its major loan agreement. Unless a

waiver is obtained, this default could lead Hall’s

lenders to foreclose on the equipment and accounts

receivable which secure this debt.

2. MEPA Liability. Tiger’s exposure results from

Hall’s $35,000,000 multiemployer pension plan

liability.

9

(emphasis supplied). On May 16, 1984, six days after

the Finance Committee meeting, Hoffman announced

Cronin’s appointment as president of Hall’s. Despite

Cronin’s appointment, Hall’s financial performance con-

tinued to decline.

By October 1984, John Lafferty of Arthur Andersen

requested a meeting with Mr. Cronin because the “outlook

for [Hall’s] continuing operations [was] very uncertain”

and “survival [was] . . . the number one issue.” Mr.

Lafferty “documented” a meeting with Cronin on October

6, 1984 in a contemporaneous memo:

Yesterday I met with Jim Cronin, President and

Chief Executive Officer to discuss with him the cur-

rent operating situation at Hall’s and his outlook for

the future. . . . I spent approximately one hour

with Cronin and he very candidly acknowledged that

the outlook for continued operations is very uncertain

and that he and Tiger management are considering

various alternatives at the present time.

* * *k *

As a result of the above two meetings, several things

are noteworthy and I have listed them below simply

to document them—....

4) Cronin mentioned the multi-employer pension lia-

bility (approximately $35 million) several times in

several contexts. It’s clear that he and Tiger have

focused on this as a real obstacle to doing something

with Hall’s.

5) Cronin discussed the recent tender offer by Time-

DC for Transcon and suggested that it might also

he motivated by the multi-emplover pension liability.

This offer was written up in the last issue of Trans-

port Tonics on page 1.

Although Cronin’s memory conveniently lapsed, Mr.

Lafferty’s “documentation” is corroborated by a press

release from William (“Bill”) Legg of Alex Brown &

10

Sons, whom Cronin had previously consulted, on October

5, 1984, about the structuring of the TIME-DC offer to

avoid withdrawal liability.

On November 2, 1984, the collateral agent for certain

bank lenders to Tiger’s North American Car Corporation

subsidiary advised Tiger that a net worth default had

occurred as of September 30, 1984. This claim of default

was not a surprise as it was was part of an ongoing

problem with recalcitrant North American lenders and a

settlement was reached to avoid default through a major

public offering of depository convertible preferred stock

in February 1995.

Tiger (and Alvin Bodford, Hall’s CFO and the eventual

“buyer” of the company) Knew that Hall’s would be out

of cash and collapse by mid-January 1985 so as to trigger

withdrawal liability and the related default clause in the

Override Agreement. Tiger immediately engaged Alex

Brown & Sons to sell Hall’s “now and cheap.” Tiger’s

drive to close, despite better offers, was explained in a

memorandum dated December 29, 1984 by Martin Imm

of Prudential.

Recent problems at Tiger International (Hall’s 100%

owner) have led to its decision to precipitously sell

75% of its interest in Hall’s to its management for

a nominal amount.

Tiger plans to file a registration statement for some

debt it is proposing to issue in the near future. By

selling its control this weekend, prior to filing the

registration statement, Tiger will avoid disclosing

the large potential liability Tiger might face under

Hall’s multi-employer union contract if Hall’s should

ae

(emphasis supplied). The disclosure related to the fact

that an assessment of withdrawal liability of $5 Million

or more was an event of default under Tiger’s Override

Agreement covering some $588 Million in debt.

1]

On December 5, 1996, Whit Lee proposed an acquisi-

tion of Hall’s for the $15-20 Million price (60% of

book equity) sought by Cronin and Alex Brown on an

orderly basis and subject to due diligence.

Alex Brown’s internal notes show a December 6 call

to Lee:

12/6 Questions for Whit:

—Close by year end?

—Is $2.5 [the cash portion of the offer] real avail-

able?

—How real is ability to finance deal and make viable?

(Meppa concern)

—Steps to closing

Lee cut his price to $1,000 in response for reasons docu-

mented by a contemporaneous memorandum of Donald

Goffman from Exchange Bank of a December 19, 1984

meeting of Cronin, Bodford, Hall’s lenders and Lee:

He [Lee] went on to explain that he saw a need for

$5 million in cash for Hall’s to get them through the

first three period (January-March). Given that com-

ment I asked Mr. Lee what we could expect from

him as a capital infusion as its new owner to which

he replied, “None!”

Needless to say, this surprised all attendants, espe-

ciallly Mr. Cronin. It was his understanding that the

new owner would contribute somewhere between $5

million to $10 million. Therefore, it was Mr. Lee’s

plan all along for Tiger to finance the buyout of itself

while the current lenders pumped in another $5 mil-

lion to keep Hall’s going. Wherein, Mr. Lee would

then be around if and when Hall’s became profitable.

It was Mr. Lee’s contention that upon consummation

of the transaction, his risk would be the assumption

of a $38 million unsecured and unfunded liability

arising from the company’s pension plan.

(emphasis supplied). Whit Lee’s December 19, 1984

proposal was literally an offer to Tiger to take Hall’s with-

drawal liability off Tiger’s hands for $1,000. Tiger was

willing to accept immediately.

Lee overplayed his hand with boasts of his use of

bankruptcy proceedings to reject labor contracts at IML

Freight and alienated Hall’s lenders who had to join the

deal. The lenders had no loan agreement nor security

with Terminal Rental, Inc. (“TRI”), Hall’s real estate

holding company and subsidiary. The real estate assets

of TRI, as a trade or business under common control,

would thus fall to pension creditors under 29 U.S.C.

$ 1301(b) in the event that Hall’s shutdown and trig-

gered liability. The lenders wanted additional security

in the real estate of Hall's and its Terminal Rental sub-

sidiary in order to be “S[enio]lr to MEPA [withdrawal

liability claims]” in a Hall’s bankruptcy. They feared that

Lee would put Hall’s in bankruptcy to avoid labor con-

tracts (as he had done with IML Freight) and that the

bankruptcy would invalidate the new security as a pref-

erence under 11 U.S.C. § 547.

Hoffman explained that Tiger gave the company away

to Bodford in desperation for the $1,000 and terms pro-

posed by Lee, even though he was not a ‘credible buyer,”

because Tiger had run out of “reasonable alternatives”

to meet the December 31 disclosure deadline. Bodford

understood “. .. that Tiger expected Hall’s to assume the

[withdrawal] liability but, in essence, knew they couldn’t

get away from the liability.” Bodford jumped in to take

the Company for nothing as he had nothing to lose and

did not want it to be given away to an outsider. Bodford

confirmed this in a 1985 letter to Tiger noting that the

sale was not a bona fide arms-length transaction.

While the lenders’ internal notes indicated that * Bod-

ford not to be CEO,” Hall’s lenders waived a default by

reason of a lack of Tiger ownership and consented to the

13

sale when Tiger and Bodford gave the lenders new se-

curity. The Hall’s lenders got real estate collateral worth

$36 million for a $5 million line of credit (a net advance

of $2.5 million over existing lines) with no future com-

mitment for additional credit to Hall’s or Terminal Rental.

The loans were explicitly done on an “asset-based financ-

ing” protocol rather than on the basis of projected earn-

ings of Hall’s.

The Tiger Board of Directors approved the sale of 75%

of Hall’s for $1,000 in a telephone conference on New

Year’s Eve, December 31, 1984 at 9:00 a.m. Neither

Cronin, Hoffman nor any contemporaneous Tiger docu-

ments provide any rationale for the Bodford giveaway to

the Board. Bodford found the “whole process . . . very

amusing.”

On January 7, 1995, Tiger “sold” 75% of the equity

of Hall’s for one thousand dollars. Tiger paid $1 Million

in closing costs, agreed to continue its guarantees and

bonds related to Hall’s insurance coverage needs for one

year after the sale and reduced its claim against Hall’s by

$1.3 Million. Tiger got a subordinated security interest

for its $10.5 million inter-company debt against a future

Hall’s oankruptcy. By the end of 1985, Tiger had com-

pletely written off the note as worthless. Tiger also re-

tained a nominal 25% equity share in Hall’s but imme-

diately wrote it off in full on December 31, 1984 to show

a complete loss of its investment in Hall’s as a discontinued

operation. Bodford’s quid pro quo was an explicit agree-

ment not “to take any action which might result in any

liability of [Tiger] under MPPAA.” Hall’s (not Bodford)

also agreed to indemnify Tiger for any MPPAA liability

Tiger might incur.

Hall’s had no reasonable chance of survival after the

Bodford giveaway. Its financial condition prevented it

from obtaining insurance or worker compensation cover-

age which was necessary to operate. Tiger agreed to

14

supply this coverage only for one year—the bankruptcy

preference period for an insider under 11 U.S.C. § 547.

At the time of the sale, Arthur Andersen noted that the

wall-to-wall security interest given to Tiger and the lenders

deprived Hall’s of any source of cash to fund anticipated

losses. Hall’s got a temporary reprieve from an agree-

ment with employees for a 15% wage reduction in ex-

change for an employee stock ownership plan (“ESOP”)

which ultimately was to hold 40% of the stock of Hall’s.

By the fall of 1985, however, Hali’s losses had mounted

to $9 million and Hall’s encountered a “severe liquidity

crisis.

With Hall’s going down the tubes, Bodford scheduled

a meeting to redeem all outstanding shares in Hall’s, other

than Tiger’s shares in early December 1985, so as to leave

Tiger once again Hall’s 100% shareholder with exposure

to withdrawal liability. Harter and other responsible Tiger

officials were profoundly “embarrassed” that they had

made such a planning error in the disposition of Hall’s.

Tiger agreed to sacrifice its remaining debt interest and

all of its remaining equity in Hall’s for nothing in order

to avoid the “gun to [Tiger’s] head” of MPPAA liability.

Bodford then canceled the meeting to redeem the stock.’

Hall’s was pushed into bankruptcy within a month after

Tiger and the lenders withdrew support when their new

security was no longer subject to attack as a preference

in bankruptcy. Hall’s filed for reorganization in bank-

ruptcy in March 1986 and shut down operations outside

Pennsylvania so as to trigger a duty to pay withdrawal

liability to the Central States Southeast & Southwest Areas

Pension Fund and other plans at the time. Even though

1 After the bankruptcy, Bodford had the $15 Million Hall’s net

operating loss (NOL) carry forward and acquired Epes Transport

where he is now president, Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity v. Brigadier Leasing, 889 F.Supp. 388

(E.D. Pa. 1995). Like withdrawal liability, use of the multimillion

dollar NOL carry forwards of Hall’s in an acquisition requires 80%

common control.

15

no withdrawal from the Philadelphia Fund had occurred,

Tiger (a Delaware corporation based in Los Angeles)

sued the Philadelphia Fund and other multiemployer plans

in Delaware for a declaration that it was not an “em-

ployer” responsible for withdrawal liability on July 3,

1986 and litigated whether the issues would be tried in

court or arbitration. In Flying Tiger Line v. Teamsters

Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity, 830

F.2d 1241 (3d Cir. 1987), the Third Circuit found that

Tiger’s claims were subject to statutory arbitration under

29 U.S.C. § 1401.

Hall’s subsequently shut down in Pennsylvania in 1987

and withdrew from the Philadelphia Fund. On January

20, 1988, the Fund assessed Tiger for allocable unfunded

vested benefits of $2,100,228 to be paid in 23 quarterly

installments of $109,085 and a final payment of $82,904,

p. 27a, and issued a detailed factual determination to

support its assessment, pp. 43a-7la. Arbitration and

judicial review under 29 U.S.C. § 1401 followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Should UPS (the Petitioner’s major and largest single

contributor) really be required to pay the pension debt

of FedEx?

The Third Circuit held that the Fund cannot recover

from FedEx without unequivocal proof that Bodford had

criminal intent to defraud the Fund in taking a gift of

Hall’s for $1,000 and that FedEx had no “plausible and

valid” reason to dispose of Halls other than evasion of

withdrawal liability. In Central States, SW. & S.W.A.

Pension Fund v. Santa Fe Industries, 22 F.3d 725, 726-

727 (7th Cir. 1994), the Seventh Circuit explicitly re-

jected this restrictive approach as inconsistent with the

plain language of the statute which invalidates any trans-

action with “a principal transaction to evade or avoid

withdrawal liability” even though other motives may be

present.

16

The purpose of withdrawal liability is “. . . to protect

other employers in the multiemployer pian from having

to pay for those [pension] benefits which are properly

the responsibility of other employers,” Santa Fe, 29 F.3d

at 726-727. For this and tax reasons, see p. 25 and n.5,

infra, the liability extends to a contributing business and

trades or businesses under 80% common control, 29

U.S.C. § 1301(b)(1); Flying Tiger Line v. Teamsters

Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity, 830

F.2d 1241, 1244 (3d Cir. 1987). 29 U.S.C. § 1392(c)

correspondingly provides that “[i]f the principal purpose

of any transaction is to evade or avoid withdrawal liability

under this part, this part shall be applied (and liability

shall be determined and collected) without regard to such

transaction.”

The Fund issued a detailed determination explaining

that the gift of Hall’s to Bodford was a fraudulent con-

veyance under common law standards, pp. 49a-58a, which

should be disregarded under 29 U.S.C. § 1392(c) so

that Tiger and its subsidiaries would remain under com-

mon control with Hall’s and be liable for the withdrawal

liability incurred during common control. All of the con-

temporaneous documents and disinterested witnesses con-

firmed these conclusions at trial and showed that the gift

to Bodford was driven by a need to avoid an imminent

assessment of withdrawal liability.

The uncontested evidence of fraud should have ended

the matter as the Fund’s determination was presumptively

correct under 29 U.S.C. § 1401(a)(3)(A) and Tiger

failed to carry its burden of proof to show that with-

drawal liability was not an important factor in the gift

to Bodford, Concrete Pipe and Products of California,

Inc. v. Construction Laborers Pension Trust for Southern

California, 508 U.S. 602, 113 S.Ct. 2264, 124 L.Ed.2d

539 (1993); Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadel-

phia & Vicinity v. Fuqua Industries, Inc., 509 U.S. 901,

113 S.Ct. 2989, 125 L.Ed.2d 684 (1993) reversing 981

IN gt i i SS cr

17

F.2d 1248 (3d Cir. 1992) (table) and 1992 WL 70418,

15 E.B.C. 2271 (E.D. Pa. 1992) (reversing evade or

avoid decision allocating burden of proof on evade or

avoid claim under 29 U.S.C. § 1392(c) to Fund for fur-

ther proceedings under Concrete Pipe).- The Arbitrator

was however a former PBGC official with his own views

of the statute which Congress should have written who—

as in his prior rulings—merely gave lip service to the

presumption while “. . . not in fact afford[ing] the trus-

ees’ determination the benefit of the presumption,” Combs

v. Classic Coal Corporation, 931 F.2d 96, 100 (D.C.

Cir. 1991) (reversing Nagle on this basis). The Third

Circuit effectively reversed Concrete Pipe and Fuqua with

its unqualified endorsement of the arbitrator’s impossible

standard as a correct statement of the law in a per curiam

decision to deflect further review in this Court.

I. THE THIRD CIRCUITS “GOOD FAITH” STAND-

ARD REQUIRING PROOF OF CRIMINAL FRAUD-

ULENT INTENT BY A TRANSFEREE TO IMPOSE

CIVIL PENSION LIABILITY ON A TRANSFEROR

IS IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUITS

If the gift of Halls to Bodford for $1,000 in this case

is not an example of “a transaction with a principal pur-

pose to evade or avoid” pension liability which is disre-

garded under 29 U.S.C. § 1392(c), there is no such case

and the statute is meaningless. The Third Circuit none-

theless rejected the Fund’s determination based on its

conclusion that 29 U.S.C. § 1392(c) is merely a “good

* The rule of Concrete Pipe is consistent with the rule applied

to tax cases under the parallel language of 26 U.S.C. § 269. See,

Herculite Protective Fabrics Corp. v. Comm’r, 387 F.2d 475, 476

(3d Cir. 1968); Scroll, Inc. v. Comm’r, 447 F.2d 612, 616 (5th Cir.

1971); Vulcan Materials Co. v. U.S., 446 F.2d 690, 698-699 (5th

Cir. 1971). It has been the rule on tax cases for decades. Botany

Worsted Milis v. U.S., 278 U.S. 282, 289-290, 49 S.Ct. 129, 73

L.Ed. 379 (1929); U.S. v. Janis, 428 U.S. 4383, 440, 96 S.Ct. 3021,

49 L.Ed.2d 1046 (1976).

18

faith” requirement, Dorn’s Transportation v. Teamsters

Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicinity, 787

F.2d 897, 902 (3d Cir. 1986) which is not implicated

‘“. . when the seller enters a transaction to escape lia-

bility, but the buyer has no intention of taking subsequent

actions that will reduce the payments owing to the plan.”

Dorn’s, 787 F.2d at 902. The Third Circuit has now gone

further to conclude that there is no “error of law,” Internal!

Operating Procedure 6.2.2(d) (3d Cir.), in the arbitra-

tor’s conclusion that a mere “good faith expectation,”

p. 112a, by the donee Bodford that he could continue the

business of Hall’s against all odds is sufficient to prevent

imposition of liability on FedEx—notwithstanding the arbi-

trator’s concession that this interpretation is at odds with

the plain language of the statute, p. 107a, n.6. PBGC v.

White Consolidated Industries, 998 F.2d 1192 (3d Cir.

1993) similarly concluded that the parallel evasion lan-

guage of 29 U.S.C. § 1369 on single-employer pension

plan liability likewise requires proof that the “buyer” of a

business had no reasonable chance of success in order to

impose liability on the “seller.”

In the view of the arbitrator and Third Circuit, Section

1392(c) is limited to “essentially fraudulent maneuvers

lacking in economic substance,” p. 107a, n.6. See also,

Cuyamaca Meats, Inc. v. San Diego & 1.C. Butchers Pen-

sion Fund, 638 F.Supp. 885, 890 (S.D.Cal. 1986) aff'd

827 F.2d 491 (9th Cir. 1987) (same phrase). The trans-

action will have sufficient “economic substance” to avoid

attack as long as the employer articulates “plausible and

valid” reasons for a sale after the fact, p. 12la, even

though those reasons do not explain the form, price and

timing of the actual transaction absent evasion of with-

drawal liability.

The simple proposition that a creditor must show the

fraudulent intent of a donee to recover from the donor

is unprecedented and illogical. The gift to Bodford and

his active participation in the fraud with knowledge of

Tiger’s purpose would negate “good faith’ ’and allow

19

recovery from a transferee in the ordinary law of fraud,

U.S. v. Tabor Court Realty Corp., 803 F.2d 1288, 1299

(3d Cir. 1986) quoting The Uniform Fraudulent Con-

veyance Act in Pennsylvania, 5 U.Pitt.L.Rev. 161, 186

(1939) (“good faith” defense by recipient for fraudulent

conveyance requires proof that the transfer was made for

value and “without knowledge” of the fraudulent purpose

of the transferor). The “good faith expectation” standard

of the Third Circuit goes further to track the standard of

Cheek v. U.S., 498 U.S. 192, 202, 111 S.Ct. 604, 611,

112 L.Ed.2d 617 (1991) on “good faith” as a defense to

negate willfulness in criminal evasion of income tax based

on “a good-faith misunderstanding and belief submission,

whether or not the claimed belief or misunderstanding is

objectively reasonable” in a civil case.

The Third Circuit’s allowance for a post hoc articula-

tion of. “plausible and valid” reasons for any sale as a

defense transforms the statutory language to require proof

that evasion of withdrawal liability was the only economic

reason for a transaction. With the burden of persuasion

on intent clearly placed on Tiger by statute, this contra-

dicts the conclusion of Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 409

U.S. 228, 252, 109 S.Ct. 1775, 1791, 104 L.Ed.2d 268

(1989) that “. . . the employer may not, .. , prevail .. .

by offering a legitimate and sufficient reason for its deci-

sion if that reason did not motivate it at the time of the

decision.”

The Seventh Circuit decision in Santa Fe emphatically

rejected the restrictive approach of the Third Circuit:

The statutory criterion is not whether the transaction

is a sham, having no purpose other than to defeat

the goals of the Multi-employer Pension Plan Amend-

ments Act by leaving the other employers in the

multiemployer pension plan holding the bag. It is

whether the avoidance of withdrawal liability by the

seller (not necessarily by the purchaser as well) is

20

one of the principal purposes of the transaction.”

Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 729-730.*

The imposition of withdrawal liability in a sale of

business situation requires only that a principal pur-

pose of the sale be to escape withdrawal liability.

It needn’t be the only purpose; it need only have

been one of the factors that weighed heavily in the

seller’s thinking .. ., . . . we would be doing violence

to the language and purpose of the statute if we read

“a principal” as “the principal.” Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at

727. See also American Hospital Association v.

NLRB, 499 U.S. 606, 111 S.Ct. 1539, 113 L.Ed. 2d

675 (1991) (plain meaning of “a” means one of

several).

46

The arbitrator’s . Opinion, . . ., is devoted to

irrelevant questions, such as whether Santa Fe had

reasons independent of withdrawal liability to divest

itself of SFTT and whether it knew that the purchaser

of SFTT was likely to flop. The issue is not whether

Santa Fe had compelling reasons independent of

withdrawal liability to divest itself of SFTT; that is

a given. The issue is the form the divestiture took—

the sale of stock rather than of assets. Santa Fe, 22

F.3d at 729 (emphasis in original).

Under the Santa Fe test, Tiger’s willingness to accept

$1,000 for Hall’s as long as Bodford or Lee accepted the

withdrawal liability after rejecting prior offers from Bod-

ford and Lee for $10 to $15 Million (subject to due dili-

gence and without assumption of withdrawal liability) is

sufficient to establish that withdrawal liability was ‘“a”

principal purpose of the transaction.

3 The common law of fraud may look to the identity of the buyer

as an insider or the knowledge of the donee or “buyer” as eviden-

tiary “badges of fraud” but does not make them necessary elements

of a claim against the “seller.” See, e.g. Jn re: Woodfield, 978 F.2d

516, 518 (9th Cir. 1992); Douglas Guardian Warehouses v. Jones,

405 F.2d 427, 429 (10th Cir. 1969); Duncan v. First Nat’l Bank

of Cartersville, Ga., 597 F.2d 51, 56 (5th Cir. 1979) (close relation-

ship between transferor and transferee).

21

The Santa Fe approach is supported by “the general

rule that adoption of wording of a statute from another

legislative jurisdiction carries with it the previous judicial

interpretations of the wording.” Shannon v. U.S., 512

U.S. 573, 114 S.Ct. 2419, 2425, 129 L.Ed.2d 549 (1994)

quoting Carolene Products Company vy. U.S., 323 US.

18, 26, 65 S.Ct. 1, 5, 89 L.Ed. 15 (1944). The parallel

language of 26 U.S.C. § 269(a) on civil liability for

evasion of income taxes has consistently applied the Santa

Fe standard. See, Slappey Drive Industrial Park v. U-.S.,

561 F.2d 572, 586 (Sth Cir. 1977) (decision maker for

company failed to relate vague contentions, many palpably

trivial, to the actual decision and transaction); Scroll,

Inc. v. Comm’r, 447 F.2d 612, 616-617 (Sth Cir. 1971)

(taxpayer with burden of proof in 26 U.S.C. § 269 case

must show that the non-evasive reasons required the form

chosen and not just that they could have justified it as

“afterthoughts” or “window dressing”); Vulcan Materials

Co. v. U.S., 446 F.2d 690, 699 (Sth Cir. 1971) (proof

that the actual reason for the merger was alleged concern

about the steel industry was required); Bobsee Corp. v.

U.S., 411 F.2d 231, 239 (5th Cir. 1969) (uncontradicted

reasons did not explain the existence of seven separate

corporations); Southeastern Canteen Co. v. Comm’r, 410

F.2d 615, 623 (6th Cir. 1969) (transaction invalidated

where no reason shown for particular form of transaction

other than evasion of taxes); House Beautiful Homes v.

Comm’r, 405 F.2d 61, 67 (10th Cir. 1968) (principal

purpose need not be sole motivation; showing of general

non-tax purpose to minimize risk is insufficient defense) ;

Herculite Protective Fabrics v. Comm’r, 387 F.2d 475,

475-476 (3d Cir. 1968) (bargain price shows evasion;

taxpayer failed to overcome presumption and show a non-

evasive purpose under 26 U.S.C. § 269); Coastal Oil

Storage v. Comm’r, 242 F.2d 396, 397 (4th Cir. 1957)

(stated reasons insufficient where separate bookkeeping

would have met all stated goals); Orvis v. Higgins, 180

F.2d 537, 539 (2d Cir. 1950) (no reason other than

22

evasion shown to explain life estate trusts); Beacon Auto

Radiator Co., Inc. v. Comm’r, 52 T.C. 155, 162 (1969)

(no connection between transfer and stated reason);

Dillier v. Comm’r, 41 T.C. 762, 785-788 (1964) aff'd

357 F.2d 647 (9th Cir. 1966) (no stated reasons ex-

plained why one corporation was not adequate; partner-

ship form was used for most profitable investment).

Neither the Third Circuit nor arbitrator advanced any

rationale for a different rule for the same language in

29 U.S.C. § 1392(c).

The factual similarity between Tiger and Santa Fe is

uncanny with claimed differences smacking of semantics

rather than substance. Although “actors in our free enter-

prise system are not primarily guided by their eleemo-

synary impulses,” Flying Tiger, 830 F.2d at 1254, n. 21,

Tiger, like Santa Fe, attributed its desire to take $1,000

and a complete loss of investment on its books to con-

cern that the higher yield for an orderly sale or “

piecemeal liquidation could not be known for sure in

advance .. .,” Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 729. Wayne Hoff-

man, Tiger’s chairman, ultimately could explain the gift

to Bodford only as a direction from even higher authori-

ties who ordained a “godsend” to free Hall’s from Tiger.

Tiger sought to avoid the “gun to its head” of MEPPA

liability while Santa Fe was only “. . . sort of hit with the

two by four about MPAA.” Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 728.

Tiger and Cronin focused on withdrawal liability “.

as a real obstacle to doing something with Hall’s,” while

withdrawal liability was only “. . . a major stumbling

block in implementing the liquidation . . .” of its SFTT

subsidiary to Santa Fe, Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 728. As in

Santa Fe, Tiger had a subsidiary “whose prospects for a

turnaround were not good.” Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 728,

and initially sought a “large, financially strong purchaser”

but then turned to “ ‘desperation moves,’ Santa Fe, 22

F.3d at 729, by selling to Bodford for $1,000 even though

he was not a “credible buyer” because Tiger had run out

23

of “reasonable alternatives” to sell Hall’s before it

collapsed.

The arbitrator’s claims, pp. 128a-135a, that he was

“not able to attribute . . . smoking gun significance” to

the Lafferty memo, p. 130a, and could not find an evasive

purpose in the uncontested lender memoranda, repeated

references to “MPPA” throughout negotiations and the

testimony of every disinterested witness that withdrawal

liability drove the sale of Hall’s are not findings of fact

to which a court should defer. See, Orvis v. Higgins,

180 F.2d at 539 citing U.S. v. Yellow Cab Co., 338 USS.

338, 70 S.Ct. 177, 94 L.Ed. 150 (1949) (court reviews

documentary evidence and uncontested matters for appli-

cation of law in tax evasion case without deference to trial

court). As in Santa Fe, they are simply “an inference

from the testimony (and other evidence) not the testimony

itself’ and furnish no basis to ignore uncontested and

“[{iJnternal documents that cannot be explained away

[which] make clear that . . . management was both

aware of the company’s potential withdrawal liability .. .

and aware that a sale of the company might avoid it.”

Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 728, 729.

Il. THE ISSUES PRESENTED ARE IMPORTANT

TO PREVENT DUMPING OF UNFUNDED PEN-

SION LIABILITY IN THE BILLIONS ON OTHER

EMPLOYERS AND THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

With evisceration of the prohibitions on evasion of pen-

sion liability by the Third Circuit, any Delaware corpora-

tion with the money to write “sale” papers and file suit

can follow Tiger’s declaratory judgment route (from its

base in Los Angeles) into Delaware to obtain judicial

immunity against future actions by PBGC or pension

plans. This places the public at risk on more than $80

Billion of unfunded pension liability insured by PBGC,

PBGC Release 97-09 (Pension Underfunding and Top

50 List) (estimated $64 Billion in unfunded pension

24

liabilities for single employer plans); 1996 Green Book,

§ 15 (Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation) (multi-

employer plan exposure of $20 Billion in 1993). The

multiemployer plan exposure and the $20 Billion in pen-

sion debt of companies with bond ratings below invest-

ment grade, PBGC Release 97-09, is most directly affected.

The Third Circuit is separately home to a dispropor

tionate share of plans with significant unfunded liabilitics

which pose a real risk to the public fisc. The $180,561,694

in unfunded liabilities for the Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity is open game as the

decision below makes it impossible to pursue prior con-

trol group members in the Third Circuit. The Third

Circuit also covers many of the most underfunded single-

employer pension plans in the country including LTV

Corporation ($1.444 Billion), see PBGC v. LTV Corp.,

496 U.S. 633, 110 S.Ct. 2668, 110 L.Ed. 2d 579 (1990)

(restoring $2.1 Billion in pension debt for LTV Steel);

Westinghouse Electric Co. ($2.843 Billion); Bethlehem

Steel ($2.222 Billion); Inland Steel ($612 Million);

Armco, Inc. ($587 Million); Unisys ($505 Million); US

Air ($458 Million); Natural Steel ($458 Million); Crown

Cork & Seal, Inc. ($396 Million) and Mack Trucks ($332

Million. With no teeth in the “evade or avoid” prohibi-

tions of 29 U.S.C. $$ 1369, 1392(c), the business incen-

tive to shed pension debt, in whole or in part, through

sales of failing businesses to weak buyers for nominal

sums and closing costs will be virtually irresistible.

The Third Circuit precluded any claim against prior

control group members in rejecting the Fund’s partner-

ship approach to control group changes which should

have been enforced under § 405 of MPPAA, P.L. 96-364,

29 US.C.A. § 1461 note (uncodified). To paraphrase

Central States, S.E. & S.W.A. Pension Fund v. Robinson

Cartage, 55 F.3d 1318, 1323 (7th Cir. 1995), “[t]he

simple use of the present tense in [29 U.S.C. § 1381(a)]

25

is not enough to indicate which time period should be

used . . . [to] yield a logical fesult” in identifying the

“employer” who is responsible for withdrawal liability.

29 U.S.C. § 1398, 1362(d) (1976) do however treat

both groups emerging from a “division” of the control

group “employer”’—-such as the sale of Hall’s—as the

“original employer.” *

The Fund thus concluded that Tiger, as well as Hall’s,

remained jointly and severally liable for the unamortized

balance of withdrawal liability which accrued during their

affiliation based on analogous rules for annualized income

tax liability® and partnership dissolution concepts. See,

26 C.F.R. §§ 1.1502-6(b), 1.1502-77(b) (1980) (termi-

nation of common control does not relieve an affiliate of

joint and several liability for income tax which arose

during affiliation); Crane & Bromberg, The Law of Part-

nership, pp. 444, 447 (1968) (departure of a partner

“dissolves” the partnership [in MPPAA and tax: causes

the control group “employer” to “cease to exist”] but

the departing partner remains liable for debt incurred

before the dissolution until it is paid in full). The

Third Circuit’s rejection of this view conflicts with the

conclusion of Trustees of Amalgamated Insurance Fund v.

McFarlin’s, 789 F.2d 98, 103 (2d Cir. 1986) that “with-

drawal liability represents an employer’s accelerated con-

* The statute has been amended but its 1976 version is applicable

to this matter, Flying Tiger. 886 F.2d at 1253-1254 & n.20.

* Control group liability for unfunded pension debt balances the

favorable tax treatment of contributions under 26 U.S.C. 8 404

which is available to any member of a controlled group of corpora-

tions under 26 U.S.C. §§ 1501-1504 to assure that the debt under-

lying the deduction actually is paid. C.F., Comm’r vy. Tufts, 461

U.S. 300, 103 S.Ct. 1826, 1830 n.4, 1833-4, 75 L.Ed.2d 863 (1983)

(imputed income on forgiveness of loan justifying prior interest

deduction is logical even if the overall] transaction is “ruinous” as

a result); In Re: Juvenile Shoe Corp. of America, 99 F.3d 898,

901 (8th Cir. 1996) (reversion tax of 26 U.S.C. § 4980 iS a reason-

able counterbalance to correct lost income tax).

26

tribution of funds needed to finance employees’ pension

rights . . . which have not been fully funded . . .” and

does not simply spring out of nowhere at the pinpoint of

withdrawal. The disagreement on this point affects the

national economy on the bankruptcy priority issues of

McFarlin’s and assures the dumping of billions of dollars

in pension liability.

CONCLUSION

The Court should issue a writ of certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

KENT CPREK

(Counsel of Record)

SAGOT, JENNINGS & SIGMOND

510 Walnut Street—16th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19106-3683

(215) 351-0615

DAVID C. MCBRIDE

BARRY M. WILLOUGHBY

YOUNG, CONAWAY, STARGATT

& TAYLOR

11th Floor Rodney Square North

P.O. Box 391

Wilmington, DE 19899-0391

(802) 571-6666

Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-7050

PHE FLYING TIGER Line, INC., a Delaware corporation;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL, INC., a Delaware corporation;

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., an lowa corporation;

V.

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHWEST AND SOUTHRAST ARRAS

PENSION FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; TEam-

STERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY, a multiemployer pension fund; WESTERN

PENNSYLVANIA TEAMSTERS AND EMPLOYERS PENSION

FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; TRAMSTERS

LocaL 641 PENSION FUND, a multiemployer pension

plan; TRUCKING EMPLOYEES OF NorTH JERSEY WEI

FARE FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; CENTRAI

PENNSYLVANIA TEAMSTERS PENSION FUND, a multi

employer pension plan, each sued individually and as

a member of a class of similarly situated multiemployer

pension plans who assert withdrawal liability, against

Hall’s Motor Transit Company, Under the Multi-

employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980

(D.C. No. 86-cv-00304)

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY; THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND _ VICINITY:

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, Jr., its administrator and fidu-

clary

V.

2a

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION:

THE FLYING TIGER LINES, INC.:

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.:

TIGER INTERNATIONAL

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00017 )

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION;

THE FLYING TIGER LINE, INC.;

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL

Ve

TEAMSTERS PENSON TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY; THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FFUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND _ VICINITY;

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR.

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00033 )

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION;

THE FLYING TIGER LINES, INC.;

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA; CHARLES J. SCHAFFER,

JR., its administrator

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00112)

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; CHARLES

J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fiduciary

Vv.

3a

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION;

THE FLYING TIGER LINES, INC.:

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.:

TIGER INTERNATIONAI

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00130)

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; CHARLES

J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fiduciary,

Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Delaware

(D.C. Civil No. 86-00304 )

District Judge: Honorable Sue L. Robinson

ARGUED August 7, 1996

BEFORE: NYGAARD, LEWIS and MCKEE. Cir-

cuit Judges.

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of all contentions raised by the

appellants, it is

ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the judgment of

the district court entered on December 27, 1995. be and

is hereby AFFIRMED, essentially for the reasons set

forth in the district court’s opinion.

4a

Costs taxed against the appellants.

By THE COURT:

s/ [Illegible]

Circuit Judge

Attest:

/s/ [Illegible]

Chief Deputy Clerk

Dated: August 20, 1996

Sa

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action Nos. 86-304; 94-017; 94-033:

94-112; and 94-130-SLR

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY. TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, and

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and

fiduciary, Plaintiffs,

V.

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION, THE FLYING TIGER

LINES, INC., WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., and TIGER

INTERNATIONAL, INC.

° we Defendants,

and

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION, THE FLYING TIGER

LINE, INC... WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., and TIGER

INTERNATIONAL, INC.. a

INC Plaintiffs,

¥.

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, and

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR.. its administrator.

Defendants.

Dated: December 27, 1995

Wilmington, Delaware

6a

MEMORANDUM OPINION

ROBINSON, District Judge

I. INTRODUCTION

This litigation is the latest chapter in a case that has

lingered for nearly ten years. The dispute arose from the

bankruptcy of Hall’s Motor Transit Company, Inc.

(“Hall’s”) in March 1986, and the company’s resulting

withdrawal from the Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of

Philadelphia and Vicinity (“the Philadelphia Fund”).

Between 1980 and 1985, Hall’s was a fully owned sub-

sidiary of Tiger International, Inc. (“Tiger”). In January

1985, Tiger sold 75% of Hall’s shares to a management

buyout group, Hall’s Acquisition Corporation (“HAC”),

and later transferred its remaining 25% interest as well.

After Hall’s declared bankruptcy in 1986, the trustees

of several pension plans to which Hall’s had been con-

tributing assessed withdrawal liability against Tiger. In

response, Tiger filed suit seeking a declaration that it was

not responsible for Hall’s withdrawal liability. Tiger

eventually settled with all of the funds except the Phil-

adelphia Fund, and the remaining dispute was ordered

into arbitration by the Third Circuit. Flying Tiger Line

v. Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia &

Vicinity, 830 F.2d 1241 (3d Cir. 1987).

The Philadelphia Fund now brings this suit pursuant to

29 U.S.C. § 1401(b)(2) to vacate the arbitrator’s deci-

sion finding no withdrawal liability on the part of Tiger.

Tiger has moved to enforce the arbitrator’s award. Be-

cause the court finds no clear error in the arbitrator’s

conclusions of fact and no error of law, Tiger’s motion

to enforce the award will be granted, and the Philadelphia

Fund’s motion to vacate will be denied.

7a

Il. BACKGROUND

The facts as set out in the Arbitrator’s Findings, Opin-

ion and Award (D.I. 254 at 6131 et seq.) are as fol-

lows: *

Tiger was a transportation services holding company

whose subsidiaries included Flying Tiger Lines, Inc.

(“Flying Tiger”), a cargo airline; North American Car

Corpoartion (“North American”), a rail car leasing com-

pany; Tiger Air, Inc. (“Tiger Air”), which sold and

leased aircraft and provided aviation services: and sev-

eral other companies in the fields of computer and equip-

ment leasing, aircraft charter and leasing, and mortgage

insurance. Between 1979 and 1981, Tiger acquired three

trucking companies, including Hall’s. (D.I. 254 at

6140-41)

During the first year of Tiger’s ownership, Hall’s re-

ported net gains and was a substantial cash source for

Tiger. Beginning in 1981, however, Hall’s began to feel

the effects of the recession, deregulation, and other changes

in the trucking industry. (D.I. 254 at 6142) At the same

time, Tiger and its other subsidiaries were also facing a

fiscal crises. In February 1983, Flying Tiger, North

American, anud other Tiger subsidiaries declared a mora-

torium on debt payments and invited their lenders to re-

structure their outstanding loans. (D.I. 254 at 6143)

The resulting agreements led to the gradual disman-

tling of Tiger Air and North American, and strict limita-

tions on the amounts and purposes of cash advances from

the subsidiaries to Tiger. These conditions limited Tiger’s

overall cash flow and prevented Tiger from channeling

funds from a healthy subsidiary to a troubled one, such

as Hall’s. (D.I. 254 at 6144-46) The restructuring also

produced the “Override Agreement,” which set out the

events that would cause immediate default on Flying

Tiger’s loans. One of the events that would trigger de-

1 Although the parties disagree on the inferences to be drawn

from the facts, the basic sequence of events is undisputed.

8a

fault was “Aggregate Plan Liability” in excess of $5 mil-

lion. Aggregate liability was to be determined by adding

a) unpaid liability resulting from the terminaton of any

single employer pension plan by Tiger or any of its sub-

sidaries; b) withdrawal liability assessed by the trustees

of any multiemployer pension plan against a Tiger-

affiliated company; and c) unpaid delinquent pension

contributions owed by any Tiger-affiliated company.

(Override Agreement, D.I. 262 at 68-384, Supplemental

Joint Appendix )

Meanwhile, the financial situation at Hall’s worsened.

The company had reported operating losses for three

years in a row and its net worth was steadily declining.

Hall’s auditors gave qualified opinions in 1982 and 1983,

based substantially on the poor financial health of its

parent company, Tiger. (D.I. 254 at 6146) James

Cronin, who had participated in management and plan-

ning at other Tiger subsidiaries, was asked to evaluate

Hall’s in early 1984. By mid-year he was appointed

Hall’s president. Cronin believed that Hall’s could be

turned around, but only if the company could negotiate

wage concessions in exchange for an Employee Stock

Option Plan (“ESOP”).

By the end of 1984, it was clear that Hall’s would need

an infusion of capital to survive. The company was al-

ready carrying approximately $12 million in debt, secured

by liens on its rolling stock, and the existing lenders ap-

peared unwilling to lend any more. (D.I. 254 at 6143)

Tiger’s own poor financial condition and the restrictions

imposed upon it by the restructuring agreements limited

its ability to contribute the needed capital. Labor costs

were soaring, but Hall’s had not yet been able to secure

a wage cut in return for the implementation of an ESOP.

Cronin and others in the organization believed that

Tiger’s ownership of Hall’s played a significant role in

the union’s refusal to accept wage concessions. Cronin

also discovered that Hall’s competitors were using Tiger’s

well-publicized financial troubles to lure away customers

9a

concerned about having their goods abandoned or tied up

in bankruptcy proceedings. (D.I. 254 at 6149)

In November 1984, Cronin engaged Alex, Brown &

Sons to find a purchaser for Hall’s. (D.I. 254 at 6150)

Several prospective buyers responded to the selling memo-

randum, and on December 12, 1984. Tiger representa-

tives met with one of the respondents, Whit Lee. Lee

offered $10 to $15 million for Hall’s stock, and proposed

that Hall’s $12 million intercompany debt to Tiger be

forgiven, After learning that Tiger wished to close the

transaction before December 31, 1984, Lee revised his

proposal. He offered only $1,000 in cash, but would

leave $10.5 million of the intercompany debt in place.

Alvin Bodford, Hall’s chief financial Officer, then pro-

posed a management buyout of the company on the same

terms that Lee had offered. Hall’s lenders preferred Bod-

ford to Lee as a purchaser, so Tiger discontinued nego-

tiations with the latter. (D.I. 254 at 6150-55)

According to the terms of the resulting agreement,

which Tiger’s board approved on December 31, 1984,

Tiger sold 75% of Hall’s shares to HAC, which Bodford

had formed for the purpose of the sale. Tiger retained

the remaining 25% of Hall’s stock and reserved the right

to name a director to Hall’s board.” Tiger also paid the

closing costs, which amounted to approximately $1 mil-

lion. In return, HAC paid $1,000 in cash and gave

Tiger a note for $10.5 million, secured by Hall’s real

estate but junior to the secured rights of Hall’s outside

lenders. The agreement required HAC to continue con-

tributions to the pension plans at the pre-sale level. Hall’s

lenders also participated in the agreement, promising $5

million in new capital in exchange for first liens on all

unencumbered real estate and rolling stock. (D.I. 254 at

6156-57)

* Tiger never exercised this right.

10a

Under HAC’s ownership, Hall’s downward spiral accel-

erated. Within a few months of the sale, a substantial

part of the management team and the turnaround specialist

hired at the lenders’ urging had departed, citing “differ-

ences in management philosophies.” (D.I. 254 at 6161)

Hall’s operating revenues dropped from $190 million to

$160 million, and its market share declined 25% over

the course of 1985. (D.I. 254 at 6161)

In November 1985, Bodford approached Tiger and

demanded that Tiger relinquish both its remaining 25%

interest in Hall’s and its $10.5 million note. Tiger initially

refused. Bodford then threatened to redeem HAC’s 75%

stake in Hall’s. He pointed out that by doing so he would

force Tiger to resume full ownership of Hall’s, and full

liability for pension fund withdrawal if Hall’s should fail.

(D.I. 254 at 6162) Realizing that Hall’s demise was at

that point likely, Tiger acceded to Bodford’s demands.

(D.1I. 254 at 6162)

Hall’s filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 11 on March

10, 1986. By the end of 1987, it had ceased all con-

tributions to the pension funds to which it had assumed

obligations. (D.I. 254 at 6163)

lI. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

In reviewing the findings of fact of an arbitrator in

the context at bar, “there shall be a presumption, rebut-

table only by a clear preponderance of the evidence, that

the findings of fact made by the arbitrator were correct.”

29 U.S.C. § 1401(c). The “clear preponderance” lan-

guage of the statute has been used interchangeably with

“clear error.” See, e.g., Santa Fe Pacific Corp. v. Central

States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund, 22

F.3d 725 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 483 (1994).

“A finding is clearly erroneous if the reveiwing court, after

lla

duly acknowledging the superior proximity of the factfinder

to the witnesses is firmly convinced that the finding is er-

roneous.” Santa Fe, 22 F.3d at 727, citing Concrete Pipe

& Products, Inc. v. Construction Laborers Pension Trust,

113 S. Ct. 2264, 2279-80 (1993). The arbitrator’s legal

conc.usions are reviewed de novo. Crown Cork & Seal

Co. v. Central States Southeast & Southwest Areas Pen-

sion Fund, 982 F.2d 857, 860 (3d Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 2961 (1993).

B. Evade or Avoid Liability

The arbitrator found that Tiger is not liable for the

unfunded vested pension obligations of Hall’s because

evading such liability was not a principal purpose of

the sale of Hall’s. The Philadelphia Fund raises three

challenges to the arbitrator’s conclusions on this issue.

First, the Fund contends that the arbitrator erred as a

matter of law by not applying the correct presumptions

to the determination of the plan sponsor. Second, the

arbitrator erred as a matter of law by focusing on whether

Tiger had any other plausible reasons for selling Hall’s,

rather than on whether avoiding withdrawal liability was a

principal purpose of the transaction. Finally, the Fund

argues that the arbitrator’s factual conclusions are clearly

erroneous.

1. The Statutory Scheme

Under the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments

Act of 1980 (“MPPAA”). which amended the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”), participating

employers contribute to a common fund for employee

pensions. Each employer contributes in amounts deter-

mined through the collective bargaining process. The

pension plan is administered by trustees, half of whom

are selected by the employers and half selected by the

union. To protect the othe: employers as well as the

pensions themselves, the MPPAA imposes liability for

° n

_ 12a

unfunded benefits on an employer who withdraws from a

plan. The statute defines withdrawal as occurring “when

an employer (1) permanently ceases to have an obliga-

tion to contribute under the plan, or (2) permanently

ceases all covered operations under the plan.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 1381. The MPPAA provides several exceptions to the

imposition of liability upon withdrawal from a plan, in-

cluding § 1398, which provides that liability shall not

be imposed in the case of a mere change in corporate

structure which does not interrupt the employer’s

contributions.

The MPPAA also sets out a crucial exception to the

exceptions, providing that “[i]f a principal purpose of any

transaction is to evade or avoid liability under this part,

this part shall be applied (and liability shall be determined

and collected) without regard to such transaction.” 29

U.S.C. § 1392(c). Therefore, if the sale of Hall’s was

undertaken principally to avoid MPPAA liability, with-

drawal liability would properly be assessed against Tiger

as if it had never sold Hall’s to the Podford management

group.

2. Deference to the Plan Sponsor’s Conclusions

ERISA requires arbitrators to accord deference to the

factual determinations and accounting assumptions of the

plan sponsor. 29 U.S.C. § 1401(a)(3). This section

States that an arbitrator shall presume correct any deter-

mination made by a plan sponsor “unless the party con-

testing the determination shows by a preponderance of

evidence that the determination was unreasonable or

clearly erroneous.” As interpreted by the Supreme Court

in Concrete Pipe, this section “plac[es] the burden of

persuasion as to historical fact on the employer.” Con-

crete Pipe, 113 S. Ct. at 2282. The employer has the

burden of disproving the plan sponsor’s conclusions by a

preponderance of evidence . Id. at 2283.

13a

The Philadelphia Fund contends that the arbitrator

erred as a matter of law in deciding that evading with-

drawal liability was not a primary purpose of the sale

of Hall’s. It is a question of law, the Fund maintains,

because the arbitrator failed to apply the presumption

of correctness required by 29 U.S.C. § 1401(a)(3). To

support this claim, however, the Fund simply argues its

version of the facts. The essence of this argument is that

the arbitrator must have applied the wrong standard be-

cause he reached the “wrong” conclusion. This court

finds that the arbitrator did correctly articulate the pre-

sumption and burden of proof, and there is no indication

that he did not fully understand and apply them in this

case. Therefore, the court concludes that the arbitrator

did not err as a matter of law by failing to apply, or by

incorrectly applying, the presumption of correctness re-

quired by § 1401 (a) (3).

3. The Statutory Standard

The Philadelphia Fund contends that the arbitrator

erred as a matter of law by incorrectly interpreting § 1392

(c). This section provides that where a primary purpose

of a transaction is evasion or avoidance of withdrawal

liability, that transaction shall be disregarded when as-

sessing such liability. According to the Philadelphia

Fund, the arbitrator considered only whether Tiger had

any legitimate reasons to sell Hall’s. This analysis was

erroneous, the Fund maintains, because the statute re-

quires only that evasion be a primary purpose for the

transaction, not the primary purpose.

In deciding this issue, the arbitrator correctly relied on

Dorn’s Transportation, Inc. v. Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity, 787 F.2d 897 (3d Cir.

1986).* The facts of Dorn’s are similar to the present

8 The arbitrator also noted that this provision has not been

widely applied, and has usually been construed narrowly. See, e.g.,

Cuyamaca Meats, Inc. v. San Diego & Imperial Counties Butchers’

14a

case. In Dorn’s, a trucking business was sold to a com-

pany that had identical collective bargaining agreements

with the union pension plan. The buyer company con-

tinued contributions until it went bankrupt. The pension

fund attempted to assess withdrawal liability against the

seller, claiming that the sale was made for the purpose

of avoiding liability. The court held that the seller was

not liable under § 1392, because “when the seller enters

a transaction to escape liability, but the buyer has no

intention of taking subsequent actions that will reduce

the payments owing to the Plan, it does not appear that a

‘principal purpose of the transaction’ as a whole is to

escape liability.” Dorn’s, 787 F.2d at 902.

The court in Dorn’s was able to decide the issue of

evade or avoid liability as a matter of law because there

was no evidence that the buyer even knew oi the seller’s

potential withdrawal] liability. Therefore, in the absence

of a material fact issue, the court could decide the issue

without sending the case to arbitration. Id. at 902-03.*

In this case, in contrast, there were disputed issues of

material fact, and there is evidence to support either

inference on the issue of the buyer’s intent. The arbitrator

found as a factual matter that HAC did not have any

intent to aid Tiger in avoiding withdrawal liability. He

concluded that the evidence, rather than supporting the

inference of collusion, indicated a confrontational rela-

tionship between Bodford and Tiger’s management. Alter-

natively, recognizing that the Philadelphia Fund main-

& Food Employers’ Pension Trust Fund, 827 F.2d 491 (9th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1008 (1988) (an employer’s attempt

to minimize the amount of withdrawal liability did not constitute

an attempt to evade or avoid under § 1392(c)).

The Philadelphia Fund argues that Dorn’s is inapplicable to

this case because the Third Circuit subsequently limited the hold-

ing to the facts of that case. The Third Circuit did limit Dorn’s

to its particular factua! circumstances, but only on the issue of

when an ERISA dispute may avoid arbitration. Flying Tiger Line

v. Teamsters Pension Trust Fund, 830 F.2d 1241 (3d Cir. 1987).

15a

tained that Dorn’s did not apply, the arbitrator made a

Specific factual finding that evading withdrawal liability

was not a primary purpose of the transaction for either

party. The issue of evade or avoid liability, therefore,

was decided as an issue of fact by the arbitrator and

Should be reviewed by this court for clear error.

4. The Arbitrator’s Factual Findings

The Philadelphia Fund argues that the overwhelming

weight of the evidence points to an intent to evade with-

drawal liability. Specifically, the Fund argues that such

intent is reflected by the low purchase price, the large

amount of liability that Tiger was facing, the likelihood

that Hall’s would fail, Tiger’s willingness to give Bodford

its remaining 25% stake in Hall’s, and what the Fund

argues was a collusive relationship between Bodford and

Tiger’s management. In addition, the Fund focuses on

several “smoking guns,” which it contends establish both

awareness of the potential MPPAA liability and an intent

to avoid liability through the sale of Hall’s. (See D.I.

254 at 6171-73)

To support its factual arguments, the Philadelphia

Fund relies heavily on Santa Fe Pacific Corp. v. Central

States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund, 22

F.3d 725 (7th Cir. 1994). In Santa Fe, as in this case,

there were two possible means of disposing of a troubled

trucking subsidiary. One was an asset Sale; the other, a

sale of stock. In both Santa Fe and this case, the evidence

established that an asset sale would have been more

profitable to the parent company but for the potential

withdrawal liability. In Santa Fe, the arbitrator made

® An asset sale does not fal! under the change in corporate struc-

ture exception of § 1398. It is governed instead by 29 U.S.C.

§ 1384, which requires the seller to post a bond or escrow for all

current withdrawal liability plus one year’s contributions. More

significantly, the section imposes secondary withdrawal liability

on the seller if the buyer withdraws from the plan within five

years of the sale.

l6a

no findings on other possible reasons for the sale struc-

ture chosen, and apparently ignored or discounted docu-

ments which left no room for doubt that the company

was aware of the withdrawal liability issue and had even

considered “ ‘desperation moves,’ including ‘selling [the

subsidiary] to someone in trouble.’” Jd. at 729. The

appellate court found the “arbitrator’s treatment of these

issues [to be] entirely inadequate” and concluded, con-

trary to the arbitrator, that a principal purpose for the

sale was to avoid withdrawal liability. Jd.°

In contrast, the arbitrator in this case made explicit

findings on each one of the Fund’s contentions. He con-

cluded that although the asset sale might have turned out

to have netted more for Tiger, there were other plausible

reasons for structuring the transaction as a sale of stock,

most importantly the belief that Hall’s could eventually

be turned around as a going concern under new manage-

ment. This conclusion was bolstered by the fact that

Tiger retained a 25% interest in Hall’s. “[A]s long as

Hall’s was losing money,” the arbitrator reasoned, “Tiger,

as 100% owner, had no prospect either of collecting on

its [$12 million intercompany] debt or receiving profits.

If, however, . . . Hall’s had more favorable prospects for

returning to profitability under other ownership, then the

potential return to Tiger from the sale obviously far

exceeded Bodford’s $1,000.” (D.I. 254 at 6205) The

arbitrator also found specific support for this conclusion

in the apparently widespread belief that a non-Tiger con-

trolled Hall’s had a better chance of negotiating wage

concessions in exchange for an ESOP, and thus returning

Hall’s to profitability.

6 The Fund also urges this court to adopt the Sania Fe court’s

legal ruling that a finding of evade or avoid liability depends en-

tirely on the seller’s motives. Significantly, this ruling is not con-

trolling law in this circuit. Rather, this court must accept the

interpretation set out in Dorn’s, that escaping withdrawal liability

can only be a primary purpose of the transaction as a whole where

both buyer and seller have that intent.

17a

As for the “smoking guns,” the arbitrator found that

although Tiger, HAC, Whit Lee, and others involved in

the deal all seemed to be aware of MPPAA liability, there

was nothing to connect that awareness to an evasive

intent. He could find “nothing sinister about a business

manager being aware that certain actions—such as down-

sizing portions of the operation—might trigger withdrawal

liability, or that potential purchasers might have some

reluctance about acquiring a company which is subject

to such a contingent liability.” (D.I. 254 at 6203 )

The court agrees with this conclusion, and again finds

this case distinguishable from Santa Fe. None of the

documents pointed to by the Fund makes an explicit

Statement of the type found in Santa Fe that the potential

liability might lead to “selling to someone in trouble.”

The Fund also focused on the timing of the sale as

evidence that Tiger’s true reason for selling was avoid-

ance of MPPAA liability. It points out that Tiger was

planning a public offering of preferred stock in early

1985, and that by selling Hall’s before the end of the

year, the subsidiary’s potential withdrawal liability, and

‘ts triggering effect under the Override Agreement, did

not have to appear in the registration statement. In so

arguing, the Fund appears to equate avoidance of report-

ing potential withdrawal liability with avoidance of the

liability itself. Only the latter is Sanctioned by § 1392.

Furthermore, the arbitrator addressed the Fund’s con-

tentions and concluded that the sale was timed so as to

enable Tiger to report that it had disposed of an un-

profitable subsidiary. The arbitrator noted that even

after the sale, Tiger’s registration statement included

Hall’s potential withdrawal liability as if it were still

Tiger’s. The registration statement also contained no

mention of the other default-triggering events covered in

the Override Agreement. The arbitrator concluded that

he was “unable to read this evidence as establishing that

Tiger was attempting to avoid a further disclosure—the

relationship between the Override Agreement and with-

18a

drawal liability—that all of the other evidence indicates

that Tiger was very unlikely to have considered providing

in any event.” (D.I. 254 at 6197-6202) The Fund has

not met its burden of showing that this conclusion is

erroneous.

With respect to Tiger’s transfer of its retained 25%

interest to Bodford a year after the sale, the arbitrator

noted that Bodford specifically threatened Tiger with the

redemption of his 75% interest, which would make Tiger

the sole owner of a company whose fortunes had taken

a dramatic turn for the worse.” He concluded that “[t]he

fact that Tiger so acted ‘because of [MPPAAI]’ . . . does

not, as the Fund suggests, demonstrate that Tiger had

acted for the same reason a year earlier when it made

the original transfer to HAC.” (D.I. 254 at 6209) The

court agrees with this assessment. Bodford’s letter threat-

ening to redeem his interest in Hall’s does not support a

finding that the initial sale was made for the purpose of

evading liability. (Exhibit 326, Joint Appendix at 3425-

26) In addition, the acrimonious tone of the correspond-

ence belies any inference of collusion.

The court, therefore, is not convinced that the arbitrator

erred in his finding that the sale of Hall’s was not under-

taken to evade or avoid MPPAA liability.

C. Accrual Liability

The Philadelphia Fund has set forth an alternative

theory of recovery, that of accrual liability. According to

this theory, even after a subsidiary is sold, the parent

company (or any member of the controlled group as

defined by 29 U.S.C. § 1301(b)) remains liable for the

“debt” to the pension fund accrued up to the year of the

sale, until such debt is fully amortized. The arbitrator,

relying on a number of cases in which the theory had been

7 MPPAA imposes liability, by reference to the Internal Revenue

Code, on owners of at least ©" 4 of the corporation’s stock. 29

U.S.C. § 1801; I.R.C. § 1563,

19a

rejected in similar contexts, refused to impose withdrawal

liability on Tiger based on the accrual theory. (D.I. 254

at 6210-17) Because the accrual theory is an issue of

law, the court will review the arbitrator’s decision de

novo.

ERISA provides that “all employees of trades or busi-

nesses . . . which are under common control shall be

treated as employed by a single employer and all such

trades and businesses as a single employer.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 1301(b). Section 1398 provides that in the case of a

change in corporate structure, “a successor or parent

corporation or any other entity resulting from any such

change shali be considered the Original employer.” The

Philadelphia Fund contends that when a controlled group

splits up, as in the sale of a subsidiary, all of the original

members of the group remain “original employers,” and

each, therefore, retains a contingent liability for the with-

drawal of any of the other members. The original mem-

bers are responsible for the amount of the withdrawal

liability that was “accrued” up to the time the group

split up.

As noted by the arbitrator, several courts have analyzed

and rejected the accrual liability theory. Teamsters Pen-

sion Trust Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity v. Central

Michigan Trucking, Inc., 857 F.2d 1107, 1109-10 (6th

Cir. 1988); Godchaux v. Conveying Techniques, Inc.,

846 F.2d 306 (Sth Cir. 1988); Teamsters Pension Trust

Fund of Philadelphia & Vicinity v. Headley’s Express &

Storage Co., 1993 WL 18933 (E.D. Pa. June 3, 1993).

These cases reveal two flaws in the accrual liability theory.

The first concerns the Fund’s definition of the employer;

the second involves the Fund’s determination of when

withdrawal liability arises.

The Fund bases its interpretation of who is liable for

the withdrawal of a former member of a controlled group

in part on analogy to certain provisions of the Internal

Revenue Code and corresponding regulations concerning

20a

controlled groups. 26 U.S.C. §414(c); 26 C.F.R.

§§ 1.1502-6(b), 1.1502-77(b). However, as the Sixth

Circuit noted in Central Michigan Trucking, 857 F.2d

at 1111 (6th Cir. 1988), the cited Internal Revenue Code

provisions are not among those explicitly incorporated

into the ERISA/MPPAA statute. “Absent such an ex-

press provision, tax precepts governing successorship are

not dispositive of the meaning of MPPAA’s successorship

provision.” Jd. The Fund’s theory also does not fit the

plain meaning of § 1398:

Terming the spun-off company as the “original em-

ployer” clearly shows that under MPPAA the new

employment entity will be deemed the original em-

ployer, consequently only that employer and any

control group to which it belongs at the time of with-

drawal will be responsible for withdrawal liability.

Id. at 1109. The Sixth Circuit noted further that neither

the statutory scheme of MPPAA nor the legislative his-

tory supports the Fund’s definition of “original employer.”

Rather, when a subsidiary is sold, the control group as a

single employer ceases to exist. The spun-off company,

and any new control group of which it becomes a part,

becomes the “original employer” and is solely responsible

for any withdrawal by the spun-off company. /d. at 1109-

10.

The accrual theory is also flawed in its interpretation

of when liability for withdrawal arises. The Fund argues

that liability accrues over time, before actual withdrawal,

whenever the plan to which an employer contributes de-

velops unfunded vested liabilities. The section of MPPAA

that defines withdrawal liability, however, does not sup-

port this reading: “If an employer withdrawals from a

multiemployer plan in a complete withdrawal or a partial

withdrawal, then the employer is liable to the plan in the

amount determined under this part to be the withdrawal

liability.” 29 U.S.C. § 1381(a). See Godchaux, 846 F.2d

at 310. In addition, a plan’s unfunded vested liability can

2la

vary greatly from year to year, depending on factors such

as how well the plan is managed or changes in benefits.

Id. at 311. It is not something that accrues steadily, nor

is it a fixed amount that can be amortized over time.

The court, therefore, adopts the analysis of the Fifth

and Sixth Circuits, and concludes that the accrual liability

theory is invalid under ERISA/MPPAA.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the court concludes that

the arbitrator did not err in his legal or factual determi-

nations. The motion to enforce the arbitrator’s award,

therefore, will be granted, and the motion to vacate will

be denied. An order consistent with this memorandum

Opinion will issue.

22a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

Civil Action Nos. 86-304; 94-017; 94-033;

94-112; and 94-130-SLR

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, —TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, and

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fidu-

Clary, Plaintiffs,

v.

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION, THE FLYING TIGER

LINES, INC., WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., and TIGER

N °

INTERNATIONAL, INC., Defendants,

and

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION, THE FLYING TIGER

LINE, INC., WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., and TIGER

ERNATIONAL, INC., —

INTERNATI . Plaintiffs,

V.

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY, and

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fidu-

clary, Defendants.

ORDER

At Wilmington this 27th day of December, 1995, con-

sistent with the memorandum opinion issued this same

date;

23a

IT IS ORDERED that the motions by Flying Tiger

Line et al. to enforce the arbitrator’s award (D.I. 229,

232) are granted, and the motions by the Teamsters Pen-

sion Trust Fund to vacate or modify the arbitrator’s award

and order, and to stay proceedings pending review (D.I.

225, 226, 234) are denied. The motion by Federal Ex-

press Corp. et al. for leave to file a surreply brief (D.I.

266) is granted.

/s/ Sue L. Robinson

SUE L. ROBINSON

United States District Judge

24a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-7050

THE FLYING TIGER LINE, INC., a Delaware corporation;

TIGER INTERNATIONAL, INC., a Delaware corporation;

WARREN TRANSPORT, INC., an [owa corporation;

VS.

CENTRAL STATES, SOUTHWEST AND SOUTHEAST AREAS

PENSION FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; TEAM-

STERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY, a multiemployer pension fund; WESTERN

PENNSYLVANIA TEAMSTERS AND EMPLOYERS PENSION

FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; TEAMSTERS

LocaL 641 PENSION FUND, a multiemployer pension

plan; TRUCKING EMPLOYEES OF NORTH JERSEY WEL-

FARE FUND, a multiemployer pension plan; CENTRAL

PENNSYLVANIA TEAMSTERS PENSION FUND, a multi-

employer pension plan, each sued individually and as

a member of a class of similarly situated multiemployer

pension plans who assert withdrawal liability, against

Hall’s Motor Transit Company, Under the Miulti-

employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980

(D.C. No. 86-cv-00304)

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY; THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION

25a

TRUST FUND oF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY;

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fidu-

ciary

VS.

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION; THE FLYING TIGER

LINES, INC.; WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.: TIGER IN-

TERNATIONAL

D.C. No. 94-cv-00017)

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION; THE FLYING TIGER

LINE, INC.; WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.: TIGER IN-

TERNATIONAL

VS.

TEAMSTERS PENSON TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND

VICINITY; THE TRUSTEES @F TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND oF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY;

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR.

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00033 )

FEDERAL ExpREss CORPORATION; THE FLYING TIGER

LINES, INC.; WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.: TIGER IN-

TERNATIONAL

VS.

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA; CHARLES J. SCHAFFER,

JR., its administrator

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00112)

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; CHARLES

J. SCHAFFER, JR., its administrator and fiduciary

VS.

26a

FEDERAL EXPRESS CORPORATION; THE FLYING TIGER

LINES, INC.; WARREN TRANSPORT, INC.; TIGER IN-

TERNATIONAL

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00130)

THE TRUSTEES OF TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND OF

PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; —TEAMSTERS PENSION

TRUST FUND OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY; CHARLES

J. SCHAFFER, JR., its Administrator and fiduciary,

Appellants

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

PRESENT: SLOVITER, Chief Judge, BECKER,

STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG,

SCIRICA, COWEN, NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH,

_EWIS, and McKEE, Circuit Judges.

The petition for rehearing filed by the appellants in

the above-entitled case having been submitted to the judges

who participated in the decision of this court and to all

other available circuit judges in regular active service,

and no judge who concurred in the decision having asked

for rehearing, and a majority of the circuit judges in

regular active service not having voted for rehearing by

the court in banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.

BY THE CouRT,

s/ Timothy K. Lewis

TIMOTHY K. LEwIs

Circuit Judge

Date: Oct. 21, 1996

27a

APPENDIX D

[Logo]

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

of Philadelphia and Vicinity

Fourth and Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106

Walnut 3-6300

January 20, 1988

Flying Tiger Line, Inc.

7401 World Way West

Los Angeles, CA 90009

RE: Withdrawal Liability

Contributing Business: Hall’s

Motor Transit Company

Gentlemen:

We have determined that the employer(s) including

Hall’s Motor Transit Company effected a complete with-

drawal from the Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Phila-

delphia and Vicinity (the Fund) during the 1987 Plan

Year by permanently ceasing covered operations. As

required under the provisions of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), as amended by

the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1980 (the Act), we hereby make demand for payment

of withdrawal liability.

The Board of Trustees resolved to apply the “presump-

tive” allocation method described in Section 4211(b)

of the Act. Based on the formula set forth in this Section,

we have computed total withdrawal liability due the Fund

to be in the amount of $2,100,228.40. Under Section

4219(c)(1)(C) (i), the employer(s) owe annual pay-

ments of $424,027.08, with the first payment due as of

January 1, 1988. Attached is a schedule which summar-

28a

izes the determination of the withdrawal liability and the

annual payment amount.

The annual payments must be paid in equal quarterly

installments. (See Section 4219(c)(3).) Thus, liability

payments are due on the first day of each calendar quarter

throughout the amortization period until the liability is

satisfied in full. The employer(s) is required to make a

total of 23 quarterly installments to the Fund, each in

the amount of $109,084.90, and a final partial quarterly

installment equal to $82,903.81.

In lieu of installment payments, an employer may pre-

pay the outstanding amount of withdrawal liability, plus

accrued interest, in whole or in part at any time without

penalty. An employer(s) is required to begin payment of

the quarterly installments described above no later than

sixty (60) days after the date of this demand, notwith-

Standing any request or appeal, which you have the right

to make, as described below. Accordingly, the first pay-

ment is due to the Fund 60 days after the date of this

letter, in the amount of $109,085.90, which includes one

back payment.

If an employer fails to make a payment when due,

interest on the payment shall accrue from the due date

until the date on which the payment is made. In addi-

tion, in the event of default in payments, the Fund is

entitled to require immediate payment of the total out-

Standing amount of withdrawl liability plus interest ac-

crued on the total outstanding liability from the due date

of the first payment which is not timely made. Interest

on the overdue liability payments will be charged at the

prevailing market rates for comparable obligations or at

higher rates in the event of litigation.

We have determined that you were under common

control with Hall’s Motor Transit Company in the period

from September 26, 1980 to at least the date of a claimed

“corporate reorganization” by division under Section 4218

ee

29a

of the Act. Section 4218 of the Act provides that the

successor in a corporate reorganization will be treated as

the original employer. The successor in a division is

defined by reference to Section 4062(d) of ERISA (as in

effect in 1980) to encompass all corporations or employers

resulting from the division. As part of a successor to the

employer resulting from a claimed “division” of the former

group of trades or businesses under common control, you

remain an “employer” liable for unamortized withdrawal

liability incurred during the period of common control.

The entire amount of unamortized withdrawal liability

in this instance was incurred under the statute and “pre-

sumptive method” in the period September 26, 1980 to

1984. Your liability and payment schedule accordingly

follow the schedule set forth above. This moots the issue

of a potential continuation of common control past Janu-

ary, 1985. Based on available information, the Fund would

otherwise determine that common control continued to

the date of withdrawal by reason of either actual or con-

structive ownership of Hall’s Sectior 4212(c) of the Act.

This determination is addressed and applicable to you

and your affiliates under common control in the period

September 26, 1980 to December 31, 1984, including:

Warren Transport, Inc.

Tiger Leasing Group

Tiger Air, Inc.

Tiger International, Inc.

This demand is not applicable to Hall’s and other debtor

entities to the extent prohibited by the Bankruptcy Code.

You have the right to request a review of the deter-

mination described in this letter. In this regard, within

90 days after receipt of this letter, you may, in writing:

(1) Ask the undersigned to review any specific mat-

ter relating to the determination of liability and

the schedule of payments.

30a

(2) Identify any inaccuracy in-the determination of

the amount of unfunded vested benefits allocable

to an employer.

(3) Furnish any additional relevant information to

the undersigned.

After review of such matters submitted in a timely man-

ner, the Board of Trustees will notify you of its decision,

the basis for the decision and the reason for any change

in the determination of withdrawal liability or the payment

scheduled. Failure to request a review in writing within

90 days, as set forth above, shall make the determination

herein final.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Charles J. Schaffer, Jr

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, JR.

Administrator

CJS:djh

Enclosures

cc: Douglas Broadwater, Esq.

James Pack, Esq.

Kent Cprek, Es.

Hall’s Motor Transit Co., Inc.

Other Listed Affiliates

Employers Name

Firm Number

3la

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Address

City/State

ZIP

Withdrawal Date

Halls Motor Transit

18-3774, 18-3775, 81-3776, 81-3777,

1987 Withdrawal

WITHDRAWAL LIABILITY CALCULATION SUMMARY

Part I

Part II

Part ITI

Part IV

Part V

Part VI

Part VII

Part VIII

Part IX

Part X

Part XI

Part XII

Part XIII

Part XIV

Part XV

Total Unfunded Vested Liability

De Minimis (If Applicable)

Net Withdrawal Liability

Prepared By ——_—___) A.B.

$1,103,310.54

$271,969.23

$1,786.27

$303,541.16

$10,772.69

$86,561.04

$9,145.20

$157,079.87

$11,146.03

$317,727.84

$11,197.70

($112,817.69)

$12,631.21

($92,730.98)

$8,908.27

$2,100,228.40

$0.00

$2,100,228.40

Date 10/14/87

32a

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

PartI Share of Unfunded Vested Liability

. Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/79 $619,776.37

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/79 $99,865,122.10

. Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability of Fund

1. As of 12/31/79 $273,509,641.00

2. Unamoritized Amounts as of 12/31/86

(Item C.1. less 35 pct.) $177,781,266.65

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded Vested

Liability (A Divided by B X L.C. 2) $1,103,310.54

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

PartII Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1980

A. Total Contributions Required

for Five Years Ended 12/31/80 $815,214.47

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/80 $118,492,735.88

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/79 to 12/31/80 $56,472,016.00

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

(Item C. 1 Less 30 Pct.) $39,530,411.20

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded ;

Vested Liability-1980 $271,969.23

33a

Part III Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1980

. Total Amounts of “De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1980, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1980 to Be Uncollectable

1. As of 12/31/80 $370,903.45

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item III.A. Less 30 Pct) $259,632.42

. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1980 $1,786.27

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

PartIV Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1981

. Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/81 $1,000,648.19

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/81 $128,460,433.53

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/80 to 12/31/81 $51,953,986.00

2. Unamortized Amounts as of 12 31/86

(Item C.1. Less 25 Pct.) $38,965,489.50

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1981 $303,541.16

D

34a

Part V Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1981

Total Amounts of “De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1981, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1981 to Be Uncollectable

1. Asof 12/31/81 $1,843,849.54

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item V.A. Less 25 Pct.) $1,382,887.16

. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1981 $10,772.69

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Part VI Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1982

Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/82 $1,160,518.72

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/82 $135,567,265.92

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/81 to 12/31/82 $12,640,339.00

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

— (Item C.1. Less 20 Pct.) $10,112,271.20

Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1982 $86,561.04

ae ee bbaisb

Ty mae at chars DiaeT eanlogen Neebad

Tie AW ee mC. ei ae Oooo oes

PO MBSER SALEM BRR E IN ARIE NE tS. LL EN Eg

TC eer eae

B. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

A. Total Contributions Required for

B. Total Contributions for All Participating

C. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

35a

Part VII Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1982

A. Total Amounts of “De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1982, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1982 to Be Uncollectable

l. As of 12/31/82 $1,385,455.52

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item VII.1.Less 20 Pct.) $1,068,364.42

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1982 $9,145.20

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Part VIII Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1988

Five Years Ended 12/31/83 $1,318,980.36

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/83 $145,393,034.90

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/82 to 12/31/83 $20,370,354.00

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

(Item C.1 Less 15 Pct.) $17,314,800.90

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1983 $157,079.87

36a

Part IX Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1983

. Total Amounts of ‘“‘De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1983, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1983 to Be Uncollectable

1. Asof 12/31/83 $1,445,433.52

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item IX.A. Less 15 Pct.) $1,228,618.49

. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1983 $11,146.03

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Part X Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liabilitv for 1984

. Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/84 $1,416,485.37

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/84 $154,581,799.58

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/83 to 12/31/84 $38,527,877.00

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

(Item C.1 Less 10 Pct.) $34,675,089.30

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1984 $317,727.84

37a

Part XI Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1984

A. Total Amounts of “De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1984, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1984 to Be Uncollectable

1. As of 12/31/84 $1,357,839.98

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item X.A. Less 10 Pct.) $1,222,055.98

. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1984 $11,197.70

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Part XII Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1985

Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/85 $1,458,643.20

Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/85 $161,336,529.68

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/84 to 12/31/85 ($13,135,213.00)

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

(Item C.1 Less 5 Pct.) ($12,478,452.35)

Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1985 ($112,817.69)

38a

Part XIII Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1985

. Total Amounts of “De Mininis’’ Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1985, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1985 to Be Uncollectable

1. Asof 12/31/85 $1,470,634.97

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item X.A. Less 5 Pct.) $1,397,103.22

. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1985 $12,631.21

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Part XIV Share of Change in Unfunded

Vested Liability for 1986

. Total Contributions Required for

Five Years Ended 12/31/86 $1,186,143.92

. Total Contributions for All Participating

Employers for Five Years Ended

12/31/86 $171,202,708.27

. Change (+ or —) in Unfunded Vested

Benefit Liability

1. 12/31/85 to 12/31/86 ($13,384,956.00)

2. Unamortized as of 12/31/86

(Item C.1 Less 0 Pct.) ($13,384,956.00)

. Employer’s Share of Unfunded

Vested Liability—1986 ($92,730.98)

i dateeag inl Sian inant

39a

Part XV_ Share of Reallocated Unfunded

Vested Benefit Liability for 1986

A. Total Amounts of “De Mininis” Offsets

Allowed to Employers Who Withdrew in

1986, and Other Amounts Determined

by Trustees in 1986 to Be Uncollectable

1. As of 12/31/86

2. Unamortized Amt as of 12/31/86

(Item X.A. Less 0 Pet.)

B. Employer’s Share of Reallocated

Unfunded Vested Benefit Liability—1986

A. Plan Year Ending 1980 ———_-)

B. Plan Year Ending 1981 )

C. Plan YearEnding 1982 )

D. Total During 3 Highest =

E. Average=

1 Highest Average Annual # of Days

Worked Over Three Consectuive Years. —

2 Highest Contribution Rate to Date PF

Withdrawal, )

3 Amount of Each Annual Payment. =

4 Number of Annual Payment (If) 20 then 20) =

5 Amount of Final Installment. :

6 Amount of Each Quarterly Payments:

7 Number of Full Quarterly Payments =

8 Amount of Fina] Quarterly Installments

$1,285,835.79

$1,285,835.79

$8,908.27

31009

29233

26888

87130

29043.33

29043

$14.60

$424,027.80

5

$399,314.52

$109,085.90

23

$82,903.81

40a

Withdrawal Liability (ML) ) $2,100,228.40

Annual Payment (AP) = $424,027.80

I) Number of Full Year Payments. = 4,9530441164

4.312127

N= 5

V-N= 0.680583

II) Amount of Last Partial Annual Payments (PA)

PA= (WL- (AP+A-))/V-N= $399,314.52

III) Determine the Amount of Each Full

Quarterly Payments. = AP/3.8871= $109,085.90

IV) Determine Number of Full Quarterly

Payments in Last Year (NQ) = 3

V) Amount of Last Partial Quarterly Payment

PQ=:

If NQ=0 Then PQ=PA 0

If NQ=1 Then PQ=PA-—Q) /.9809 0

If NQ=2 Then PQ= (PA -— (1.9809 +Q) ) /9623) 0

If NQ=3 Then PQ= (PA— (2.9482 + Q) /9439) 82903.80536

Coe De coming LA ast dodh didi

dite Vedas balls

4la

[Logo]

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Fourth and Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106

Walnut 3-6300

December 2, 1988

James A. Cronin, III

Tiger International Corporation

The Flying Tiger Line, Inc.

7401 World Way West

Los Angeles, CA. 90009

Re: Withdrawal Liability

Contributing Business: Hall's Motor

Dear Mr. Cronin:

By letter dated January 20, 1988, the trustees of the

Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia and Vicip-

ity (“Fund”) demanded payment of withdrawal liability

from the employer, including the Contributing Business,

Tiger International Corporation, the Flying Tiger Line,

Inc, and various affiliates. Your counsel has since claimed

that the notice is invalid because it does not state a claim

under ERISA § 4212(c) in his interpretation. The Fund

and its trustees disagree both with the interpretation and

the need to set forth a specific theory as well as the

Statutory requirements of demand, an amount and a Pay-

ment schedule but leave those matters to the Court.

As a protective measure, however, the Fund and its

trustees now explicitly demand payment of liability on

alternative grounds under 29 U.S.C. §§ 1301(b), 1392(c)

or 1398, as detailed in the Fund’s briefs, in the event

that your position about the original demand is sustained

in litigation. We enclose a copy of the January 20, 1988

42a

letter to provide notice of the amount, payment schedule

and identified trades or businesses under common control

to whom this protective demand is addressed. If the prior

demand is found inadequate, actual payment must begin

no later than 60 days from the date of this letter. Under

ERISA § 4219(c), your initial payment should be

$ 545,424.50 covering four payments back to January 1,

1988 and one installment accruing on January 1, 1989.

Future installments would be due on the first day of each

subsequent calendar quarter until the schedule is com-

pleted.

To the extent that a new demand is required, you

have the right to seek review as detailed in the January 20

letter.

Sincerely,

/s/ Charles J. Schaffer, Jr.

CHARLES J. SCHAFFER, Jr.

Administrator

For the Trustees

CJS:jp

cc: Peter Gold, Esq.

Kent Cprek, Esq.

William Bowser, Esq.

Barry Willoughby, Esq.

ae es ea ee ee eee eo een

43a

[Logo]

TEAMSTERS PENSION TRUST FUND

OF PHILADELPHIA AND VICINITY

Fourth and Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106

Walnut 3-6300

December 2, 1988

Peter Gold, Esquire

Blank, Rome, Comisky & McCauley

1200 Four Penn Center Plaza

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Re: Withdrawat Liability

Contributing Business: Hall’s Motor

Dear Mr. Gold:

This letter concerns your letters of April 18, 1988 and

May 23, 1988 about an assessment of withdrawal liability

issued by this Fund to the employer including Halls Motor

Transit Company (“Halls”), Tiger International Corpora-

tion, the Flying Tiger Line, Inc., Warren Transport, Inc.

(jointly, “Tiger” and with Halls and any other trades or

businesses under common control. “Employer”). You

wrote for Tiger International Corporation, The Flying

Tiger Line, Inc. and Warren Transport, Inc. Rudolph

Barbee wrote on April 19, 1988 to adopt your claims for

Tiger Air, Inc. and Tiger Leasing Group, Inc. We ask

that you forward a copy of this letter to him. The Trustees

of the Fund have reviewed the letters, sought additional

information, consulted with legal and actuarial counsel

and affirmed the initial assessment.

In September, 1988, the Fund sent a request for in-

formation under ERISA Section 4219(a) concerning your

letters and documentation of your claims. On October 7,

1988, you responded that direct requests about docu-

mentation and research concerning the claim divestiture

44a

of Halls were premature, overly broad, unduly burden-

some and oppressive. Due to the failure to document

claims, the Fund and its trustees have proceeded on the

assumption that the information would be adverse to the

interest of the Employer. The Fund has examined re-

ceived available information from other sources as noted

below.

Summary

The central objection is that Tiger was not under com-

mon control with Halls as of the date of its withdrawal

from the Fund in 1987. Your objection is unfounded,

based on the information available to the Trustees, for

several reasons. The Fund assessed liability on three

alternative bases: the “accrual” or year-by-year principle

(ERISA §§ 4001(b), 4218), continued ownership

(ERISA § 4001(b)) or an evasive transaction (ERISA

§ 4212(c)). Using the year-by-year control group prin-

ciple adopted by the Fund under ERISA §§ 4001(b),

1398, Tiger is responsible for the share of unfunded

vested liabilities of the Fund assessed to employers in

the plan years from September 26, 1980 to, at least,

1984, even if Tiger divested itself of Halls before the

date of withdrawal from the Fund. The total net lia-

bility in this case is based on the unamortized portion

of these tiers. Due to the failure to produce documenta-

tion, we have further assumed that Tiger had or acquired

either actual or constructive ownership of stock providing

control of Halls as of the date of its withdrawal and thus

affirm the alternative ground of assessment on this basis.

The Fund’s January 20, 1988 demand letter also relied

on ERISA § 4212(c) as the other alternative ground of

assessment. The transaction between Halls and Tiger

makes no economic sense absent consideration and at-

tempted avoidance of withdrawal liability. The structure

of the transaction as well as direct testimony confirms

that a principal purpose of the transaction was to evade

or avoid withdrawal liability. In this circumstance, ERISA

§ 4212(c) provides that withdrawal liability shall be as-

45a

sessed and collected without regard to the evasive trans-

action.

Your objections about data and actuarial assumptions

(Items 6, 7, 9, 10, 11 and 16) are standard and do not

have application to the specific circumstances of the Fund.

The suggestions on benefits and fiduciary duty (Items 5

and 8) are irrelevant to withdrawal liability and, in some

cases, illegal. The Trustees have, in all events, conducted

the affairs of the Fund in a prudent fashion consistent

with law and the conduct of a similar organization of

comparable size. The remaining objections about con-

tractual and trust limitations on employer obligations,

withdrawal liability exceptions and quarterly payment

amounts (Items 2, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 17) are contrary

to legal precedent and in at least one case, frivolous.

Discussion

April 18 Letter

Your letter of April 18 characterizes itself as a “Re-

quest for Review.” It states only the following in terms

of objection to the assessment om behalf of Tiger.

As you know, Tiger’s Action also asserts that certain

provisions of MPPAA are unconstitutional on their

face and as applied (Counts II and III of the

Amended Complaint, respectively). This Request

for Review includes only those determinations which

are subject in the first instance to plan determination,

review and arbitration as set out in ERISA Sections

4219 and 4221.

The language of the letter does not ask for “review of

any specific matter,” “identify any inaccuracy” or “furnish

additional relevant information” under MPPAA. Any

claims reflected in the letter are denied.

The Fund is unable to address constitutional objections

without further detail. The only constitutional challenge

46a

sustained in any court to our knowledge is a challenge

to the “presumption” in favor of the Fund under ERISA

§ 4221(a)(3)(B). The Fund has reviewed this decision

and believes that its actuarial assumptions are correct

with or without the presumptions. The “as applied” chal-

lenge, is denied by reason of the failure to furnish sup-

porting documentation.

We are able, from past experience, to explain our

evaluation of constitutional claims in a general sense.

MPPAA was under active consideration in Congress in

1978, with serious consideration in 1979. The statute

was substantially complete and extant in the business

world by 1980. On policy grounds, there may be reason-

able argument that Congress should have continued some

form of five-year reachback matching former ERISA

§ 4064 rather than allocating all existing liability to em-

ployers as of 1980. As a legal matter, however, Congress

chose the 1980 effective date and that decision has been

upheld by the Supreme Court against constitutional

challenges.

Congress designated the plan as a defined benefit

plan—not the collective bargaining representatives. Halls

and Tiger received information on the Fund and its bene-

fits through summary plan descriptions and other docu-

ments distributed to employers by the Fund. They en-

tered collective bargaining and chose contribution rates

with knowledge of the resulting benefits. Congress deter-

mined that circumstances surrounding a _ contribution

agreement like that made by Halls create benefit expecta-

tions in participants which should be satisfied by the

employer.

The benefit obligation incurred towards these partici-

pants is funded like a mortgage. Congress allowed for

deductibility of contributions for any member of a control

group and counterbalanced it with withdrawal liability.

The cessation of contractual contributions leaves an un-

paid debt, regardless of the reason for withdrawal. Con-

47a

gress simply mandated continuing amortization payments,

with continued deductibility. The public generally pays

roughly one-third to one-half of the liability through a tax

subsidy. This is an entirely rational and balanced ap-

proach to the interests of participants, continuing con-

tributing employers and withdrawn employers.

Halls seems to be a reasonably classic example of the

Fund’s situation with the number of “its” retirees likely

exceeding active employees remaining at the time of shut-

down. The unfunded “attributables” liability will likely

approximate or exceed the assessment.

We have reviewed the data and confirmed the mathe-

matical accuracy of the withdrawal liability calculation.

The Plan’s contribution records are fully automated on a

cash basis. They have been Statistically audited over all

for all years since 1975 and are converted to an accrual

basis for financial reporting and withdrawal liability pur-

poses. You should already have the certified statements

of the Fund’s enrolled actuary for relevant years con-

cerning the Fund’s actuarial] assumptions, the value of its

assets and the amount of unfunded vested liabilities.

May 23 Letter

Your letter of May 23, 1988 is more detailed. We

have indented and repeated your objection and followed

it with our response at the regular page margin on each

point.

1. The Fund’s Theory of Liability

The Fund’s basis for asserting withdrawal liability

against Tiger is set out in its Demand (attached as

Exhibit “A” to the Opening Brief in Support of Plain-

tiffs Motion for Partial Summary Judgment in Civil

Action No. 86-304 commenced in the District Court

in Delaware). That Motion and Brief set out, in

48a

substantial part, the basis for challenging the Fund’s

“accrual” theory of withdrawal liability asserted

against Tiger.

In the “Brief of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Phila-

delphia and Vicinity on Flying Tiger Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment” (“Fund Brief”) the Fund states:

The Philadelphia Fund issued its assessment to

Flying Tiger after cessation of operations by Halls

in the Philadelphia Fund in 1987. The assessment

notes three alternative grounds of liability: Liability

as part of a ‘deemed original employer’ under 29

U.S.C. § 1398, liability as part of a continuing con-

trol group under 29 U.S.C. § 1301(b) and, finally,

liability by reasons of a transaction to ‘evade or

avoid’ withdrawal liability under 29 U.S.C.

§ 1392(c).

Tiger challenges and requests review of these

claims only to the extent that they have been as-

serted against Tiger in a proper demand for with-

drawal liability made pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 1399

(b)(1) and only to the extent that each is subject

to a controlling determination that it is subject to

MPPAA’s plan review, arbitration and appeals pro-

cedures. (Footnotes omitted).

The basis of the Fund’s claim has been set forth in the

brief you reference, which is incorporated by reference

for the sake of brevity. The Fund expressly confirms that

the demand letter was issued on three independent

grounds: the year-by-year method under ERISA §§ 4001

(b), 4218, an “evade or avoid” transaction under ERISA

§ 4212(c) and possible continued ownership under ERISA

§ 4001(b). Each ground separately supports the entire

assessment in this case.

49a

2. Tiger Was Not Bound to a Collective Bargaining

Agreement

Subsequent to 1985, neither Tiger nor any of its

controlled group members was a party to a collective

bargaining agreement which contained an obligation

to contribute to the Fund. Thus, Tiger is not respon-

sible for the withdrawal liability triggered by Halls

subsequent withdrawal from the Fund.

Withdrawal liability is a Statutory liability imposed on

all trades or businesses under common control for pur-

poses of ERISA § 4001(b). The courts have rejected

Claims that pension liability is either limited by contract

or an unconstitutional impairment of a contract. In

PBGC v. Quimet Corp., 630 F.2d 4 (1st Cir. 1980), the

Court imposed liability on trades or businesses under

common control which were not party to a pension plan

or the collective bargaining agreement under which it

was maintained. In the legislative history of MPPAA,

Rep. Thompson, speaking as Committee chair, approved

the Quimet decision and indicated that “. . . withdrawal

liability should be applied in a manner with the controlled

group concept,” 126 Cong. Rec. 23038 (August 25,

1980). The courts have followed Quimet and this prin-

ciple as do the Trustees of the Fund in the exercise of

their duties of prudence and collection under ERISA

§§ 4202, 404.

3. Tiger Was Not an “Employer” on the Date of Halls

Withdrawal

Neither Tiger nor any of its controlled group

members were related to Halls within the meaning

of 29 U.S.C. § 1301(b), on the date of Halls alleged

withdrawal from the Fund. Nor did Tiger engage

in any transaction within the meaning of ERISA

Section 4212(c). Therefore, Tiger is not responsible

for Halls withdrawal liability.

i

50a

The date of withdrawal is not the relevant “period” of

time under the “presumptive” method in ERISA § 4211

and 26 C.F.R. § 1.414(c)-1. See answer to Paragraph 2

and above. If it were, Tiger is nonetheless responsible

for the full withdrawal liability under ERISA §§ 4001

(b), 4212(c).

The demand letter from the Fund asserted liability

under ERISA § 4001(b) based on the probability that

Tiger had record ownership of at least 25% of Halls

stock on the date of withdrawal and retained or had an

option on any other “outstanding” stock of Halls for con-

trol group purposes. Tiger has not produced documenta-

tion of its ownership, the “sale” or other related matters

(payment, default, etc.) needed to establish the record

ownership of Halls and convert record ownership to

“ownership” under the control group regulations. The

Fund accordingly assumes that the information would be

adverse to your claims and affirms the assessment on this

basis.

Tiger also has not produced evidence of substantial

and legitimate business reasons (independent of and over-

shadowing withdrawal liability) for the claimed sale of

Halls. We accordingly affirm the assessment under ERISA

§ 4212(c).

ERISA § 4212(c) provides:

If a principal purpose of any transaction is to evade

or avoid [withdrawal] liability . . ., [MPPAA] shall

be applied (and [withdrawal] liability shall be deter-

mined and collected) without regard to such trans-

action.

The language of ERISA § 4212(c) is almost identical

to § 269 of the Internal Revenue Code which deals with

evasion or avoidance of income tax liability. It differs

only in its greater scope. The evasive purpose under

ERISA need only be “a” principal purpose of the trans-

action rather than “the” purpose as required under the

Sla

tax code. ERISA covers transactions which seek either

to “avoid” liability as well as “evasion” while the tax code

prohibits only evasion.

The Third Circuit had the following observation about

Tiger’s claimed sale of Halls stock:

the district court here concluded that “(t]he present

factual submissions and allegations before the Court

indicate that there is a genuine factual dispute sur-

rounding the [bona fides of the] 1985 transaction.” 2

“1 On the record before us, we cannot fault the district

court’s assessment. The record evidence includes, for in-

stance, an affidavit by Thomas C. Nyhan, one of Central

States’ attorneys in the Halls bankruptcy proceeding. Nyhan

states that, at a meeting of Halls creditors on May 14, 1986,

Alvin Bodford, the sole shareholder of HAC, “stated that a

principal purpose of the transfer of 75% of the common stock

of Halls Motor Transit Co. to Halls Acquisition Corp. was to

evade or avoid withdrawal liability.” J.A. at 292. In addi-

tion, we take judicial notice of the fact that actors in our

free enterprise system are not primarily guided by their

eleemosynary impulses: when a large corporation relin-

quishes for no consideration at all its remaining 25% interest

in another corporation, a unique event has occurred. On the

whole, it is easy to understand why a detailed factual inquiry

is needed to ascertain whether Tiger’s “sale” of Halls to

HAC was made to evade or avoid MPPAA withdrawal

liability.

Flying Tiger v. Central States, 830 F.2d 1241, 1254 n. 21

(3d Cir. 1987). The gift may be explained only as an

effort to avoid any possible application of the control

group stock exclusion rules which would transform Tiger’s

25% interest into 100% of outstanding stock for control

group purposes.

Counsel advises that the following types of factors have

teen found to evidence as “evasive purpose” under the

tax code.

52a

1. Top management awareness of the tax impact.

The concern here, of course is knowledge of withdrawal

liability.

7

2. A disproportionate purchase price reflecting con-

sideration of the liability. In the ERISA context, this

would suggest evidence of a transfer “price” that implicitly

reflects a discount for the effect of withdrawal liability.

3. The simple magnitude of the tax treatment in dollar

terms, Or in proportion to other financial aspects of the

transaction. We understand that denial of any consider-

ation Of major dollar item can result in a negative infer-

ence on intent.

4. A lack of need for a particular transaction structure

to achieve stated goals. In other words, if two means

would serve the stated purpose, choice of a vehicle with

an evasive impact can be suspect.

5. A lack of indicia of an arm’s-length transaction

This type of proof tends to adopt insolvency standards.

Elimination of a guaranty is a functional equivalent of

many divestiture transactions involving withdrawal lia-

bility. Our counsel has found the bankruptcy case law

on guaranties to be helpful precedent.

6. Lack of “follow-up” to achieve stated goals. The

courts look to see whether actual behavior after the trans-

action was consistent with and corroborates stated

purposes.

All of these factors support Tiger’s liability in this case.

Management Awareness. The management of both

Tiger and Halls clearly were aware of withdrawal lia-

bility. The buyer was an insider (Halls management)

with actual knowledge of withdrawal liability. With-

drawal liability was reflected on financial statements.

The subject is discussed at length in the sales document,

including an express provision requiring Halls to hold

Tiger harmless from any withdrawal liability. Alvin Bod-

53a

ford, chief executive of Halls, averred that a principal

Purpose of the sale was to evade or avoid withdrawal

liability. Tiger’s own Form 10-K immediately following

the sale included a statement that management of Tiger

believed it would not be responsible for any withdrawal

liability connected to Halls. Form 10-K is directed to

investors and the statement apparently was material in

terms of indicating that Tiger had avoided potential

liability.

Disproportionate Purchase Price. Halls had a book

value for shareholder equity of $14 to $16 Million at the

time of the sale. Tiger also had advanced $11 Million

or more in intracompany advances at the time of the sale

according to its claims. Tiger nonetheless claims to_have

sold 75% of the stock to Halls’ Acquisition Corporation

for $1,000. The intracompany debt was reduced to $10.5

Million in exchange for a secured (as opposed to un-

“secured ) position for the claims.

If withdrawal liability is taken into account, there was

negative shareholder equity at the time of the sale and

the recovery on intracompany debt as an unsecured claims

in a liquidation would be substantially less than face.

The actual sales price is consistent with book value,

after adjustment for withdrawal liability. The sales price

and terms do not make economic sense without con-

sideration of withdrawal liability,

Magnitude of Withdrawal Liability. The withdrawal

liability associated with Halls was estimated at $40 Mil-

lion in Halls financial Statements as of December 29, 1984.

Halls long-term bank debt at December 29, 1984 totaled

$19,320,000 and aggregate liabilities (other than to Tiger

or for withdrawal liability) were $50,742,000. The book

value of all assets was $77,847,000. Estimated with-

drawal liability was equal to 80% of all other debt com-

bined and just over one-half of all assets. It was a major

financial factor.

S4a

Need for a Sale. Tiger has claimed that it wanted to

give Halls management and employees an incentive to

turn the company around, that Halls management was

very optimistic in that respect and that Tiger’s good

faith is shown by the fact that it continued to assist Halls

after the sale. These reasons and conduct do not demon-

strate the need for a sale.

The management and employees of Halls could have

been compensated in any number of ways for success in

a turnaround without a “sale.” The optimism of Hails

management is equally irrelevant as they literally paid

nothing for the company. They would gain substantially

from a turnaround but would lose nothing from the bank-

ruptcy. Halls likely was not otherwise saleable. Halls

management got, at best and however unlikely, a valuable

company in a turnaround and, at worst, executive com-

pensation for an additional number of years. The only

other alternatives likely were continued ownership by

Tiger or liquidation, both of which would leave Tiger

open to withdrawal liability claims under its analysis. The

“sale” was the only means to achieve Tiger’s withdrawal

liability aims and the choice indicates an evasive purpose.

The financial support given to Halls by Flying Tiger

is likewise unimpressive. Such support is common in

efforts to stall a bankruptcy for at least one year in order

to avoid the anti-preference provisions of the Bankruptcy

Code.

Follow-up. Tiger has not disposed of its other subsid-

iaries in financial trouble to our knowledge. It retained

North American Rail Car despite a much more expensive

bankruptcy and drain on its assets. The alleged “follow-

up” in terms of subordinating claims in order to allow

Halls to obtain financing appears to be related to bank-

ruptcy considerations rather than an interest in the future

of Halls. Once the year necessary to avoid the Bankruptcy

Code preference provisions had passed, support was with-

drawn and Halls collapsed.

55a

Arm's-Length Transaction. This issue tends to focus

on bankruptcy-type concerns. We have found it helpful

to discuss it in terms of the common law of fraudulent

conveyances and bankruptcy preferences.

The facts tend to show simple bankruptcy planning

and a fraudulent conveyance or bankruptcy preference.

The scope of the “evade or avoid” prohibition should,

at a minimum, encompass thé@S€ types of transactions. The

elements of common law fraudulent conveyance, whether

under the federal Bankruptcy Code or state law, generally

can be shown either through actual intent or intent in-

ferred from a transfer involving an insolvent or under-

financed debtor.

Alvin Bodford, CEO of Halls, has stated that a princi-

pal purpose of the “sale” was to “evade or avoid” with-

drawal liability. The detail devoted to withdrawal liability

in the sales documents and express announcement in

Tiger’s next 10-K that management believed Tiger had

no responsibility for Halls withdrawal liability corroborate

Bodford. This shows the necessary actual intent.

The other strain of fraudulent conveyance law con-

cerns transfers made for less than reasonably equivalent

value while a debtor was insolvent or which left the

debtor with unreasonably small capital or unable to meet

debts as they matured after the transaction. There is a

fraudulent conveyance under this second standard as well

as in this case.

Tiger’s actions with respect to Halls make economic

sense only in the perspective of bankruptcy rules on

preferential transfers. Under 11 U.S.C. § 547(b), a

transaction with an insider (a term including controlling

shareholders like Tiger) can be set aside under the follow-

ing circumstances:

1. A transfer was made on account of an antece-

dent debt owed before the transaction.

2. Halls was insolvent at the time of the transfer

56a

3. The transfer allowed Tiger to receive more than

it would in a liquidation of Halls under Chap-

ter 7 of the Bankruptcy code.

4. The transfer was made within one year before

the bankruptcy petition.

The one-year limitation is not relevant to withdrawal

liability in light of ERISA’s six-year period of limitation.

The facts are consistent with an effort to avoid the prefer-

ence rules by keeping Halls out of bankruptcy for one

year after the sale.

A Transfer. The creation of a security interest in the

assets of Halls is a transfer as is elimination of liability

by a guarantor on obligations of a debtor. The divesti-

ture of Halls by Tiger had both aspects.

Antecedent Debt. The stock of Halls was sold for

$1,000. The security interest created in favor of Flying

Tiger was expressly made in contemplation of alleged

loans made to Halls by Tiger and its other affiliates from

the past. The elimination of the withdrawal liability

“guaranty” likewise eliminated “antecedent debt” on

withdrawal liability in a bankruptcy sense. The various

decisions denying priority to withdrawal liability rely on

the premise that withdrawal liability reflects antecedent

debt incurred before the actual date of withdrawal.

Liquidation Preference. In a Chapter 7 bankruptcy as

of the date of the sale, Tiger would have shared ratably

with withdrawal liability claims on any unsecured assets

with respect to intracompany loans (assuming they actu-

ally were loans rather than capital contributions). Tiger’s

equity in Halls would have been worthless.

Using Halls 1984 financials as a source,’ Halls assets

and liabilities would have produced the following distri-

bution at a liquidation immediately before the sale.

1 Liabilities to Tiger and affiliates are based on pre-sale amounts

per n.5 to the Hatis 1984 financial statement. Withdrawal liability

is estimated at $40 Million in n.10 of the statements.

57a

Liability Available Percentage

Liability Amount Assets Recovery

Secured Liability

— Banks $19,320,000 $19,320,000 100%

— Tiger 0

Unsecured Liability

— Tiger $11,860,000 69.85%

- Withdrawal

Liability (W/L) $40,000,000 69.35%

— Other $32,529,000 $58,527,000 69.385 %

$84,389,000 = = — oe

Equity 0 0%

$77,847,000

A portion of the unsecured liability would actually have

priority under 11 U.S.C. § 507 and further reduce dis-

tribution on Tiger’s claims. Tiger’s expected recovery

would only be 69.35% of its loans, or $8,224,910 as

equity was negative. An even less attractive possibility

(under Quimet) would make Tiger pay the full $40

Million of withdrawal liability outside the bankruptcy

which, netted against full recovery of the loans and $14

Million in book equity, still produces an absolute loss of

$14,140,000.

The effect of the “sale” and creation of a security

interest in favor of Tiger was to enhance Tiger’s bank-

tuptcy position under Tiger’s analysis of withdrawal lia-

bility. The grant of security gave Tiger preference over

other unsecured creditors of Halls. including priority

claimants such as employees, fringe benefit funds (up to

the $2,000 per employee limit) and tax claims.

Using the same base from the Halls 1984 financials,

the “post sale” allocation changed the distribution to move

Tiger from unsecured to secured Status, and improve its

position:

58a

Liability Available Percentage

Liability Amount Assets Recovery

Secured Liability

—

~ Bank $19,320,000 100%

Tiger $10,500,000 100%

$29,820,000 $29,820,000

Unsecured Liability

- Tiger 0 66.22%

— W/L $40,000,000 66.22 %

— (Other $32,529,000

$72,529,000 $48,027,000 0%

Equity 0

$77,847,000

Tiger’s expected recovery now would be the full face

amount of the note, $10.5 Million with, in Tiger’s view,

no withdrawal liability.

Tiger needed to keep Halls alive for at least one year

after the sale in order to validate its security interest

against a preference attack under 11 U.S.C. § 547. This

accounts for Tiger’s efforts to assist Halls in obtaining

additional financing in 1985. Once the year had passed,

Halls was allowed to collapse.

The new financing obtained by Halls at the time of the

sale and afterwards was apparently based entirely on the

liquidation value of its assets rather than any expectation

that Halls would fund the debt out of future earnings.

The lenders did their work well as Halls assets were

promptly liquidated in full payment of all claims of the

secured lenders with a more than sufficient cushion.

4. Interest on Timely Quarterly Payments.

The Demand adds interest in calculating the

amount of each quarterly payment, rather than di-

viding the annual payment by four. This increases

the amount of each quarterly payment. This addi-

tion of interest to timely quarterly payments is not

59a

authorized under ERISA Section 4219(c)(3). The

Statutory provision which governs the payment of

interest for late payments confirms that interest is

not to be added to timely payments.

ERISA § 4219(c)(1)(A)(i) provides that “. . . an em-

ployer shall pay [withdrawal liability] over the period of

years necessary to amortize the amount in J/evel annual

payments . . . , caiculated as if the first payment were

made on the first day of the plan year following the plan

year in which the withdrawal occurs and as if each sub-

sequent payment were made on the first of each subse-

quent plan year.” ERISA § 4219(c)(1)(A) (ii) provides

that the amortization period will be calculated using the

assumptions used for most recent actuarial funding evalua-

tion for the plan period using standard actuarial meth-

odology.

Each annual payment has been broken into quarterly

installments in accordance with the funding assumptions

required by ERISA § 4219(c)(1)(A) (ii). The law re-

fers to amortization of the annual payment and does not

specify the manner of calculating the quarterly install-

ients other than to say that they shall be done in ac-

cordance with plan funding assumptions. A claim that

the quarterly installments must be simply one-fourth of the

annual payment ignores the requirement that the payment

schedule be amortized under the plan’s funding assump-

tions as if each payment were made on the first day of

the plan year. Deferred payment of one-fourth of an an-

nual payment due on the first day of each year would not

amortize the liability in accordance with the Statutory

rule. If lower quarterly installments were commanded

by statute, the payment schedule would simply be ex-

tended and actually create additional liability on the part

of the employer.

60a

5. Increase in Benefits While the Fund Had Significant

Unfunded Vested Benefit Was Improper

An analysis of the Fund’s demand, worksheets and

other papers indicated that the Fund increased ben-

efits at times when it had significant unfunded vested

benefits. These increases occurred without notice to

contributing employers, without their assent, and 1s

contrary to principals of sound Fund administration

and other principals of law and equity.

See answer to Paragraph 8. As a matter of business, and

hence fiduciary, reality, it is difficult or impossible to

retain the loyalty of employees and remaining employers

and obtain increased contributions without periodic bene-

fit increases. The “presumptive” method is structured to

allow such increases and does not apply all new money

to fund prior debt of withdrawn employers.

6. Interest Rate and Other Assumptions Are Unrea-

sonable.

The interest assumption used by the Fund in de-

termining withdrwal iiability is not reasonable for

this purpose. The assumptions used by the Fund

are, in the aggregate, unreasonable.

The law requires that actuarial assumptions be “in the ag-

gregate, reasonable” and “offer the actuary’s best esti-

mate of the anticipated experience under the plan... .,

ERISA § 4213(a)(1). The Fund has a large enough

group of participants to form a valid separate statistical

population. The Fund has based its actuarial assumptions

and methods used in determining withdrawal liability on

the actual long-term experience of the group. These as-

sumptions together produce a better estimate of the actual

anticipated experience of the Fund in terms of invest-

ment, mortality and other factors than reliance on gen-

eral characteristics of the entire population. The Fund

periodically reviews its actual experience and actuarial

~~

6la

assumptions and methods to assure that they remain rea-

sonable. The Fund has sent or shortly will forward a

standard information package detailing the basis of the

calculation of liability to you. The general information

includes the certified statements of the Fund actuary con-

cerning statutory compliance.

We are unable to respond to any particular concerns

without further specification. The Fund has estimated dif-

ferences in liabiilties under varying methods and assump-

tions and found that the results “in the aggregate” gen-

erally equal or exceed liability determined under the

Fund’s assumptions.

7. Reallocated Unfunded Vested Benefits.

A percentage of Halls withdrawal liability resulted

from reallocated unfunded vested benefits of with-

drawn employers. To meaningfully ascertain and ver-

ify this percentage and these amounts and to deter-

mine whether previous compromise settlements have

been properly attributed, the following information

is requested:

(a) For each employer who is or was con-

tributing to the Fund with respect to which

any reallocated vested benefits were included

in the determination of withdrawal liability

made against Tiger in accordance with the

ERISA Section 4211(b) (4), the identity of the

employer and date of the withdrawal;

(b) Amount of withdrawal liability originally

determined for such employers without respect

to the operation of Section 4209, 4219 ‘c)(1)

(b) and 4225 of ERISA;

(c) The date on which the Fund notified such

employer of the amount of withdrawal liability,

and the amount of withdrawal liability;

62a

(d) The date and amount of each payment re-

ceived by the Fund on or before December 31,

1987, with respect to the withdrawal liability

of such employer;

(e) The amount of reallocated unfunded vested

benefits included in the determination of the

withdrawal liability of Tiger;

(f) The reason any amount included in “(e)”

above was determined to be uncollectible, unas-

sessable, or not assessed by the Fund; and

(g) The date on which the Fund determined

that such amount was to be included in real-

located unfunded vested benefits.

This is a request for information rather than review.

It is not information required to be produced under

ERISA § 4221(e). The Fund will consider production

in connection with arbitration with adequate protection

of the confidentiality and privacy concerns of the Fund

and other employers, including various settlement agree-

ments prohibiting disclosure.

The effect of reallocation of unfunded vested benefits

on the determination of the Employer’s withdrawal lia-

bility is minimal. No change will make the liability, in

the aggregate, unreasonable. Reallocation has, to the date

of concern, been limited essentially to incontestable “write-

offs” such as de minimis claims and elimination of claims

required by the Deficit Reduction Act. The Fund practice

to date produces lower reallocation figures than PBGC

standar:'s reflected in its mass withdrawal liability reg-

ulatioz.s.

8. The Benefits Should Have Been Reduced.

The Fund should have reduced benefits given the

significant amount of unfunded vested liability so as

to be on a financially sound basis consistent with the

Trustees’ fiduciary obligations.

63a

ERISA generaly contemplates the existence of unfunded

liability and allows it to be amortized over periods up

to 40 years. Reduction of most Fund benefits is generally

illegal under ERISA §§ 204(g), 4244A, as the Fund js

not in reorganization or insolvent. Due top overrriding

illegality, it is unlikely that the IRS would approve an

amendment under ERISA § 302(c)(8) seeking to reduce

or eliminate benefits specifically protected in Title IV of

ERISA. The Fund raised its normal retirement age in

recent years as allowed by law and taken other steps,

including withdrawal liability collection, allowed by law

to assure that it will fulfill its purpose to provide retire-

ment income over the long term. The Trustees of the

Plan believe they have properly addressed their fiduciary

responsibilities in dealing with such events as the enact-

ment of ERISA and deregulation of the trucking industry

with their multiple effects on the Fund’s income and

liabilities.

9. Missing Data for Dates of Birth.

It has been reported that there is a significant

missing date of birth date. We have obtained a re-

port indicating that dates of birth were missing for

thousands of active members and terminated vested

members. Our actuaries advise that these are ab-

normally high missing data levels. We understand

that it was assumed that active members were age

29 and higher and that terminated vested members

were currently age 49. To ascertain the reasonable-

ness of these assumptions, we request the following

information:

With respect to all the active members without a

validated date of birth according to Schedule “RE” of

the report setting forth unfunded vested liabilities as

of December 31, 1987, provide information in one

of the following forms:

64a

(a) Listing showing the years of vesting serv-

ice as of December 31, 1987 for each such

active member, or

(b) Tabulation of the number of members

classified by years of vesting service as of De-

cember, 1987, or

(c) Tabulation as described above, but classi-

fied by quinquennial of vesting service (i.e., 0-4

years, 5-9 years, etc.) rather than individual

years.

See answers to Paragraphs 5 and 7. Your sources are in-

accurate. The missing data is not significant. The single

most important item of liability in this Fund is for re-

tirees. There are no missing birthdates in this category.

Any missing data on other participants is assumed to be

consistent with the general Fund population. The aver-

age funding entry age for active participants with dates

of birth has been consistently close to 29. The average

att2zined age for vested terminations with dates of birth

between 49 and 51 has varied during the last seven

years. An age 49 assumption produces lower liability

than a higher age. Exclusion of participants with missing

birth dates is less accurate but has no material impact on

liability:

10. The Fund’s Investment Return.

Our information indicates that the Fund’s invest-

ment return fluctuated widely between plan years

1977 and 1987. Please provide any information you

have on the Fund’s investment return for the last ten

(10) plan years. Further, please provide for each of

the plan years a schedule of the benefits and ex-

penses paid by the Fund and to whom they were

paid.

See answers to Paragraphs 5 and 7. Your information is

wrong. The basic information you seek is included in the

65a

Fund's general data package and other public information.

The investment markets fluctuated wildly in the years

1977 to 1987. The Fund’s investment policy is more con-

Servative than the market due to a large number of re-

tirees and has not exhibited the same variation. With-

drawal liability is determined using the fair market value

of assets.

ll. Mortality Rates. Other Assumptions and Metho-

dologies.

Information in our possession indicates that there

is significant missing data relating to the mortality of

persons eligible to receive, or who are currently re-

ceiving, benefits. In calculating the alleged with-

drawal liability, we believe that the Fund actuaries

may not .iave purged from Fund records deceased

participants whether on active or retirement status.

Kindly advise whether in calculating the withdrawal

liability asserted whether decreased participants were

purged from the Fund’s records. Also advise whether

the list of participants was checked against social

security date and when such check occurred. Fur-

ther, in a reasonable detailed fashion, please advise

us Of all assumptions which were employed with re-

spect to mortality.

We question all the assumptions and methodologies

used by the Fund including past service attribution

and crediting methods, initial employment dates, re-

tirement age, etc.

See answer to Paragraph 6. The assumption and basic

data are in the general Fund package. Fast service and

initial employment dates for new employers are based on

census data questionnaires prepared by the employer on

entry into the plan. Service data for other participants is

based on Fund contribution records. The mortality as-

sumption errs, if at all, in overstating deaths.

The Fund has used the services of an organization to

match Social Security records to determine whether any

66a

persons receiving retirement benefits are deceased for a

number of years. A report in 1983 indicated that no per-

son then receiving a retirement benefit from the Fund was

deceased. This service also has been used to delete re-

tired and terminated vested employees who have died from

Fund records.

12. The Fund is a Defined Contribution, Not a De-

fined Benefit Plan, and It Is Not Subject to

MPPAA.

The Fund’s assessment of withdrawal liabilities is

premised on the view that it is a defined benefit plan

and is subject to MPPAA. It is Tiger’s position that

absent proof to the contrary, the Fund is not a de-

fined benefit plan, is not subject to MPPAA, and

should not assess withdrawal liability.

The courts and PBGC consistently have said otherwise.

As a matter of fiduciary prudence, the Fund has followed

judicial authority.

13. Employer Liability is Limited Under the Declara-

tion of Trust.

The Fund’s Declaration of Trust provides that an

employer’s liability is limited to making contributions

to the Fund as required by the applicable collective

bargaining agreement and applicable law. There is

no requirement to make withdrawal liability payments

nor are the Trustees authorized to demand such pay-

ments without specific authorization under the Dec-

laration of Trust.

See answer to Paragrapn 2.

14. MPPAA Is Preempted by, and Conflicts with, the

National Labor Relations Act, as Amended

An employer’s obligation to contribute to a multi-

employer pension plan is derived from collective bar-

gaining and is memorialized in a collective bargain-

67a

ing agreement. The National Labor Relations Act,

as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 151 et. seg. (“NLRA”),

provides that the collective bargaining process and

agreements on mandatory and permissive subjects of

bargaining are committed exclusively to the parties.

The NLRA specifically provides that the parties are

free not to agree on any subject. 29 U.S.C. § 158(d).

Payments to a pension plan is a mandatory subject

of bargaining. By requiring an employer to make

withdrawal liability to a pension plan MPPAA inter-

feres with what the NLRA mandates should be a

process left exclusively to the parties. Thus, MPPAA

is contrary to, and inconsistent with, the NLRA.

Therefore, it is invalid and unenforceable.

This is a frivolous claim. Congress can repeal its own

work. Under all rules of statutory construction, a later

Statute overrides an earlier one. As a result, the NLRA

is repealed to the extent of any conflict.

15. Trucking Industry Exemption.

Tiger’s position is that absent conclusive proof and

a final determination to the contrary, the Fund is

subject to the Trucking Industry Exemption from

withdrawal liability set out in ERISA Section

4203(d), 29 U.S.C. § 1383(d). Further, to the ex-

tent the Fund has previously determined that this

Exemption is not applicable, Tiger Challenges the

basis for, and methodology employed, in that deter-

mination as well as that determination.

The Fund has examined its records and determined other-

wise. Based solely on activities of contributing businesses,

the Fund has not found 85% or more of its accounts

to involve long or short haul trucking, household goods

moving or public warehousing based on contract codes.

key words or ICC Class I and II carrier data. Approxi-

mately 30% of contributions come from accounts which

Clearly would not be in covered industries under any ap-

proach. Tiger, as a control group employer, is also not

68a

primarily engaged in long or short-haul trucking, house-

hold goods moving or public warehousing and thus would

not be eligible for relief under the special rule. in any

event.

16. Additional Information Requested.

In addition t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Trustees of Teamsters Pension Trust Fund of Philadelphia v. Federal Express Corp. · 520 U.S. 1151 | Frix