Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Oryx Energy Co. v. Bourque

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(OYPILS

9420.1 9 WN 120%;

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 94-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY,

Petitioner,

v.

YVETTE BOURQUE, WIFE OF AND STEVEN BOURQUE,

SAFETY TECHNOLOGY AND OILFIELD PROTECTORS, INC. AND

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Louisiana Court of Appeal, First Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN BLACKWELL

Counsel of Record

GIBBENS, BLACKWELL & STEVENS

P.O. Drawer 13910

New Iberia, LA 70562-3910

(318) 367-8517

Counsel for Petitioner

PRESS OF BYRON 8S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. 1-800-347-8208

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

he Whether the state court of

appeal incorrectly decided that state law

determined whether an employee covered by

the Longshoremen's & Harbor Workers'

Compensation Act could recover from the

non-negligent charterer of a vessel for

personal injuries caused by the

charterer's ultrahazardous activity of

well testing from a vessel on navigable

waters because that activity was not a

traditional maritime activity and

therefore not within admiralty juris-

diction.

zs Whether the state court of

appeal incorrectly decided that state law

made void and unenforceable the defense

and indemmity provisions of a contract

under which the indemmitor leased

equipment to the indemnitee that provided

ii

it to a worker covered under the

Longshoremen's & Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act who was injured on a

vessel on navigable waters while engaged

in a maritime employment.

Oe Aha Link lode Min,

iii

PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Petitioner/Defendant Below

Oryx Energy Company formerly called

Sun Exploration and Production Company was

incorporated in Delaware in 1971 under the

name Sun Oil Company (Delaware) and

succeeded to all of the U. S. exploration

and production assets of Sun Oil Company

which was a New Jersey corporation

pursuant to an agreement and plan of

reorganization effective September, 1993.

Oryx Energy Company's principal place of

business is 13155 Noel Road, Dallas,

Texas. Oryx Energy Company is in the

business of exploring for and producing

oil and gas throughout the United States

including the inland navigable waters of

Louisiana.

iv

Respondents/Plaintiffs, Defendants

and Intervenors Below

The respondents are Steven Bourque an

employee of Pressure Readout Technology,

Inc. and his wife Yvette Bourque both

citizens of Louisiana who were plaintiffs

below; Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

an insurance company that was intervenor

below and that paid workman's compensation

benefits to Steven Bourque under the

United States Longshoremen's & Harbor

Workers' Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. Sec.

901, et seq., and Safety Technology and

Oilfield Protectors, Inc. a Louisiana

corporation with its principal place of |

business in Louisiana.

RULE 29.1 LISTING

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY has no parent

companies.

The following are subsidiaries (except

wholly owned subsidiaries) (but including

all entities in which there is either a

direct or indirect ownership interest) of

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY:

113857 CANADA LTD.

ANTELOPE INSURANCE CO. LTD.

ORYX AUSTRALIA ENERGY COMPANY

PTs. UD.

ORYX U.K. (INDONESIAN HOLDINGS)

LIMITED

ORYX U.K. (KAKAP) LIMITED

ORYX U.K. (MALACCA STRAIT) LIMITED

ORYX U.K. (SOUTHEAST SUMATRA) LIMITED

ORYX (ZOC) ENERGY PTY. LTD.

CANYON REEF CARRIERS, INC.

EAST TEXAS SALT WATER DISPOSAL

COMPANY

MESBIC VENTURES, INC.

ORYX CRUDE TRADING & TRANSPORTATION

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

ORYX DEVELOPMENT LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

ORYX GAS MARKETING LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP

ORYX PIPE LINT LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

SUN ENERGY PARTNERS, L.P.

SUN OFFSHORE GATHERING LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP

SUN OPERATING LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

SUN PENNSYLVANIA LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

vii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED-------------..- i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW--- iii

Petitioner/Defendant Below------ iii

Respondents/Plaintiffs, Defendant

and Intervenor Below------------ iv

RULE 29.1 LISTING------------------ V

TABLE OF CONTENTS------------------ vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES--------------- ix

OPINIONS BELOW--------------------- 1

JURISDICTION----------------------- 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND

STATUTES INVOLVED---------------- 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE-------------- 7

I. Factual Background---------- 7

II. Proceedings Below----------- 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION-- 19

I. The Decision of The State

Court of Appeal Is In

Conflict With The Holdings

Of This Court--------------- 29

viii

II. The Decision Of The

State Court Of Appeal

Is Erroneous---------------- 36

III. The Questions Presented Are

Important ------------------ 42

CONCLUSION-----------------.......- 47

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Executive Jet Aviation,

Inc. v. City of Cleveland,

409 U.S. 249, 93 S.Ct. 493,

34 L.Ed.2d 454 (1972)---------- 22

Foremost Ins. Co.v. Richardson,

457 U.S. 668, 102 S.Ct. 2654,

73 L.Ed.2d 300 (1982) ---------- 28

Green v. Industrial

Helicopters, Inc., 593

50.2d 634, (La. 1992)--------.. 21

Grubart v. Great Lakes

Dredge & Dock Co.,

U.S. =, £85 8.€r. 1043,

L.Ed.2d = (1995). -+-~-...-..- 19

Hess v. Upper Mississippi

Towing Corp., 559 F.2d

1030 (5th Cir. 1977),

rehearing denied 564 F.2d

97, cert. denied 435 U.S.

924, 98 S.Ct. 1489, 55 L.Ed.

Meloy v. Conoco, 504 So.2d

833 (La. 1987)-----------------

Offshore Logistics, Inc.

v. Tallentire, 477 U.S. 207,

106 U.S. 2485------------------

Richendollar v. Diamond M

Drilling Co., Inc., 784 F.2d

580 (5th Cir. 1986), on

rehearing 819 F.2d 124, cert.

denied 484 U.S. 944, 108 S.Ct.

331, 98 L.Ed.2d 358, rehearing

xi

denied 484 U.S. 1021, 108 S.Ct.

736, 98 L.Ed.2d 684------------ 37

Sisson v. Ruby, 497 U.S.

Jou, &ki0 8.60; 2692, 111

L.Ed.2d 292 (1990)------------- 19

Yamaha Motor Corporation

v. Calhoun, U.S. ,

hae: Bie ; L.Ed.2d

(1995) -----------------.--- 19

Constitutional Provisions:

U.S. Const. art. III, Sec, 2-<-<«- 3

Statutes and Regulations:

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1257------------- 2

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1333------------- 3

33 U.S.C. Sec. 901-------------- iv

33 U.S.C. Sec. 902(3)----------- 3

33 U.S.C. Sec. 902(21)---------- 3

xii

33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b)----------- 4

Louisiana Statutes Annotated:

Revised Statutes 9:2780 ------- 5

Other Authorities:

Vol. 1 Schoenbaum, Admiralty and

Maritime Law, 2dEd., Section

3-10, p. 11l------------------- 34

:

:

i

:

{

xiii

NO.

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY,

Petitioner,

V.

YVETTE BOURQUE, WIFE OF AND STEVEN

BOURQUE, SAFETY TECHNOLOGY AND OILFIELD

PROTECTORS, INC. and AETNA CASUALTY

& SURETY COMPANY,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Louisiana Court of Appeal,

First Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

xiv

Oryx Energy Company ("petitioner")

respectfully petitions that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the Louisiana Court of

Appeal, First Circuit, entered on 7

October, 1994 in the matter of "Yvette

Bourque, Wife of and Steven Bourque v. Sun

Gas Company, Inc. and Safety Technology

and Oilfield Protectors, Inc.", Docket

Number: 93/CA/2213.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the

Louisiana Court of Appeal, First Circuit

is an unpublished decision (Appendix,

pages 58 through 139). The reasons for

judgment and judgment of the district

court below are also unpublished

(Appendix, pages 5 through 51). The

denial of Oryx's application for a writ of

certiorari and/or review by the Louisiana

Supreme Court on 13 January, 1995 is

reported at 648 So.2d 1340 (La. 1995)

(Appendix, page 140).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Louisiana Court

of Appeal, First Circuit was entered on /

October, 1994. A timely application for a

writ of certiorari was filed by petitioner

with the Louisiana Supreme Court on the

7th day of November, 1994 and the

application was denied on 13 January,

1995, 648 So.2d 1340 (La. 1995).

Petitioner timely moved for and received

an extension of time from this Court

within which to file a petition for writ

of certiorari up to and including 12 June,

1995. (Application No. A-721), Appendix

page 142). The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sec.

1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

U.S. Const. art. III, Sec. 2:

"The judicial power shall extend

- to all cases of admiralty and

maritime jurisdiction."

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1333:

"The district courts shall have

original jurisdiction, exclusive of the

courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil cases of admiralty or

maritime jurisdiction, saving to suitors

in all cases all other remedies to which

they are otherwise entitled."

33 U.S.C. Sec. 902(3):

"The term 'employee' means any person

engaged in maritime employment .. .."

33 U.S.C. Sec. 902(21):

"Unless the context requires

otherwise, the term 'vessel' means any

vessel upon which or in connection with

which any person entitled to benefits

under this chapter suffers injury or death

arising out of or in the course of his

employment, and said vessel's owner, owner

pro hac vice, agent, operator, charter or

bareboat charterer, master, officer or

crew member."

33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) (in pertinent

part):

"In the event of injury to a person

covered under this chapter caused by the

negligence of a vessel, then such person,

or anyone otherwise entitled to recover

damages by reason thereof, may bring an

action against such vessel as a third

party in accordance with provisions of

Section 933 of this title ... The

liability of the vessel under this

subsection shall not be based upon the

warranty of seaworthiness or a breach

thereof at the time the injury occurred.

The remedy provided in this subsection

shall be exclusive of all other remedies

against the vessel except remedies

available under this chapter."

Louisiana Statutes Annotated: Revised

Statutes 9:2780:

'A. The legislature finds that an

inequity is foisted on certain contractors

and their employees by the defense or

indemnity provisions, either or both,

contained in some agreements pertaining to

wells for oil, gas, or water, or drilling

for minerals which occur in a solid,

liquid, gaseous, or other state, to the

extent those provisions apply to death or

bodily injury to persons. It is the

intent of the legislature by this Section

to declare null and void and against

public policy of the state of Louisiana

any provision in any agreement which

requires defense and/or indemnification,

for death or bodily injury ‘ics. dalton:

where there is negligence or fault (strict

liability) on the part of the indemitee,

or an agent or employee of the indemnitee,

or an independent contractor who is

directly responsible to the indemnitee."

"B. Any provision contained in,

collateral to, or affecting an agreement

pertaining to a well for oil, gas, or

water, or drilling for minerals which

occur in a solid, liquid, gaseous, or

other state, is void and unenforceable to

the extent that it purports to or does

provide for defense or indemnity, or

either, to the indemmnitee against loss or

liability for damages arising out of or

resulting from death or bodily injury to

persons, which is caused by or results

from the sole or concurrent negligence or

fault (strict liability) of the

indemitee, or an agent, employee, or an

independent contractor who is directly

responsible to the indemnitee."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I, Factual Background.

Petitioner owned an oil well on

inland navigable waters near Belle Isle,

Louisiana. The well became non-producing

and petitioner reworked the well in late

1986 or early 1987. Petitioner then hired

Pressure Readout Technology, Inc.

("Protech") to provide well testers and

equipment to determine the rate of

production of the well, i.e., to doa

“well test". The well consisted of a

Christmas tree with cribbing and there was

no place for any of the test equipment on

the well. Therefore, petitioner chartered

two (2) barges from which to conduct the

well test. The barges were towed to the

location, moored next to the well and 4

pipe was installed to connect the well to

a tank on one of the barges.

The well test was conducted in three days

and at the conclusion the pipe was

disconnected and the barges towed off the

location.

Respondent Steven Bourque was a well

tester employed by Protech for this job.

He worked only on the barges and

periodically recorded the rate of flow

from the well by measuring the contents of

the tank.

Because the well had a history of

producing hydrogen sulfide, a deadly

organic gas, petitioner leased from

respondent Safety Technology and Oilfield

Protectors, Inc. ("Stop") self-contained

breathing apparatus ("SCBA") which would

allow workers to work safely even when

exposed to high levels of H2S. Stop also

provided and installed on the barges

safety equipment such as monitors and

OS Senay Oe ah a ee ey Roeee

alarms to detect and warn of the presence

of ambient hydrogen sulfide if it reached

potentially toxic levels. The lease

agreement between petitioner and Stop

contained an indemnity clause in favor of

petitioner,

On 9 February, 1987, Bourque and a

co-employee were on petitioner's barges

conducting the well test and measuring the

contents of the tanks. Bourque was

exposed to H2S during the well test on a

barge. As a result he Sustained a post

traumatic stress disorder.

II. Proceedings Below.

Bourque and his wife commenced a

state court suit against petitioner on the

grounds it was negligent and strictly

liable under Louisiana law because it was

engaged in well testing in the presence of

10

a toxic gas which was an ultrahazardous !

activity. They also claimed Stop was |

negligent for having furnished a defective

SCBA.

Petitioner denied liability and by an

amended answer filed on September > 8

igsat/, it affirmatively pleaded that

Bourque was covered by the Longshoremen's

& Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, that

it (petitioner) was the charterer of the

vessel and under 33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) it

could not be held strictly liable because

Pe ee Re ee we ep eee eae Ta. oe eee ”

905(b) does not permit recovery except

where the vessel's charterer has been

negligent. Petitioner filed a cross-claim

seeking contractual defense and indemity

from Stop. Stop denied liability on the

Se ee ee ee ee en

1/ Appendix, Pages 1 thru 4.

11

cross-claim on the basis the defense and

indemnity provisions were void and

unenforceable under the Louisiana Oilfield

Anti-Indemnity Act (LSA:R.S.9:2780). No

responsive pleading was filed by

petitioner to Stop's defense under state

law that the Louisiana Anti-Indemnity Act

applied, but it has Maintained in all

inferior courts that the anti-indemnity

act did not apply because the contract was

maritime in nature,

Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

("Aetna") intervened to assert subrogation

rights as the workmen's compensation

carrier of Protech for benefits provided

to Bourque under the United States Long-

shoremen's & Harbor Workers' Compensation

Act, 33 U.S.C. Sec. 901, et seq.

12

The state district court after trial

on the merits held in an unpublished

opinion that none of the claims and

defenses were within admiralty juris-

diction which precluded application of 33

U.S.C. Sec. 905(b). Therefore, it applied

Louisiana state law to all claims. The

district court found that neither

petitioner nor Stop were negligent but

that petitioner was strictly liable under

Louisiana law because it was engaged in an

ultrahazardous activity. The district

court held that state law was applicable

and there was no admiralty jurisdiction

because the relevant activity was "well

testing". The fact petitioner was

conducting the well test from barges was

not sufficient to imbue the case with a

maritime flavor and bring it within

the scope of admiralty jurisdiction.

13

Likewise, the district court held

that petitioner was not entitled to

defense and indemnity from Stop because

the contract was subject to the Louisiana

Oilfield Anti-Indemmity Act, LSA:R.S.

9:2780.

The district court rejected

petitioner's claims that the contract was

enforceable under maritime law on the

grounds that there was no maritime

jurisdiction because the relevant activity

was a well test. 2/

The district court found that Bourque

was guilty of substandard conduct in the

amount of 20%. The district court awarded

damages to Bourque and his wife but

reduced the award by the amount of

Bourque's own negligence. The district

2/ Appendix, Page 15.

14

court despite finding that Bourque was

paid benefits under the Longshoremen's &

Harbor Workers' Compensation Act reduced

Aetna's award by the amount of Bourque's

negligence pursuant to Louisiana state

law.

Te et eee wee Peat 5 4

An appeal was taken by petitioner to

the Louisiana Court of Appeal, First

Circuit. In an unpublished opinion, the

court of appeal ruled on the 7th of

October, 1994 that the district court

judgment was correct. The court of appeal

rejected petitioner's argument that

because the activity which resulted in

injury to a worker covered under the

United States Longshoremen's & Harbor

Workers' Compensation Act occurred on a

vessel on navigable waters that petitioner

could not be liable on the basis of strict

or absolute liability because it was ‘the

15

vessel", 3/ Likewise, the court of

appeal rejected petitioner's argument that

because Stop provided safety equipment

used by a worker covered under the United

States Longshoremen's §& Harbor Workers'

Compensation Act on a vessel on navigable

waters, the contract was subject to

maritime law and not the Louisiana

| Oilfield Anti-Indemnity Act. The court

of appeal commented that the plaintiff was

a covered worker under the Longshoremen's

& Harbor Workers' Compensation Act and

intimated that the district court was

wrong to reduce Aetna's recovery by the

amount of Bourque's negligence but that

Aetna could nor assert this error because

it had failed to appeal. 4/

3/ Appendix, Pages 80-81.

4/ Appendix, Pages 138-139.

16

The district court's ruling while

recognizing that the incident occurred on

a vessel on navigable waters held the case

was not within admiralty jurisdiction

because "... the ‘well testing’ process

was not performed in a manner different

from the way such testing would occur of

(sic) a land based well. The only

difference; according to the testimony

presented, would be the fact that the

equipment could be spread over a wider

area. The essential nature of the

activity is unchanged by its maritime

locale. .. .[{T]Jhe relevant activity,

well testing, ..., is an activity

related to the exploration for and

production of oil and gas. It is not

‘traditional maritime

17

activity'".2/ The court of appeal not

only accepted the district court's

rationale but added the gloss that "...

the mere use of barges, which, although

typically used for maritime purposes, were

used as platforms for the well testing

equipment in this case, does not

magically convert the activity of well

testing into one with a substantial

relationship to (a) traditional maritime

activity, "o/

The Louisiana Supreme Court refused

to review the case on petitioner's

application for certiorari. Petitioner

then satisfied the judgment but expressly

reserved the right to seek reimbursement

>/ Appendix, Page 14.

6/ Appendix, Pages 81-82.

18

if certiorari were granted by this Court

and the court of appeal's decision

reversed.

19

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Petitioner seeks a review by this

Court because the decision of the court of

appeal, although predating, is in

conflict with the decision of this Court

in Grubart v. Great Lakes Dredge & Dock

Co., Usd. . 4 LY §.Ce,. 1043, fis 2.

L.Ed.2d ss (1995). The decision of the

court of appeal also conflicts with the

holding in Sisson v. Ruby, 497 U.S. 358,

110 S.Ct. 2892, 111 L.Ed.2d 292 (1990).

Even though the test for admiralty

jurisdiction was very recently considered

by this Court in February of 1995 in

Grubart and certiorari has been granted in

Yamaha Motor Corporation v. Calhoun,

Ue LES 8.66. ‘ L.Ed.2d

(1995) (No. 94-1387) on a closely allied

issue - the application of state law in

cases of maritime jurisdiction - there

20

does exist a need for a clearer and

brighter line to determine admiralty

jurisdiction. One view of the decision of

the lower courts in this case is that they

correctly enunciated the elements of the

test but reached the wrong result. Under

this view, while the decision of the court

of appeal would be wrong, this case might

not represent the type of case in which

certiorari would be granted. However, the

fact that the court of appeal could reach

the result that it did highlights the

highly subjective nature of the present

test Grubart notwithstanding.

The present admiralty jurisdiction

test has produced holdings that a

passenger in a helicopter injured in an

emergency helicopter landing on the high

seas has a claim within maritime

21

jurisdiction’ but a worker covered

under the Longshoremen's & Harbor Workers'

Compensation Act engaged in maritime

employment injured on a vessel on

navigable waters has only a state claim.

Such a test probably should be abandoned

in favor of a test under which all

shipboard accidents on navigable waters

are within admiralty jurisdiction and only

off-vessel accidents must satisfy a

maritime nexus requirement.

Litigants in inferior courts would

benefit from a brighter, clearer test

which will save litigants expense and

conserve valuable judicial resources.

(Grubart, dissent of Justice Thomas

U.S. » 115 S.Ct. at p. 1056). Such a

7/ Green v. Industrial Helicopters,

Inc., 593 So.2d 634, 636-37 (La. 1992).

22

test was in place prior to Executive Jet

Aviation, Inc. v. City of Cleveland, 409

U.S. 249, 93 S.Ct. 493, 34 L.Ed.2d 454

(1972). Under that test if the injury

occurred on navigable waters, admiralty

tort jurisdiction was deemed to exist per

se. The pre Executive Jet jurisprudence

was clear and easy to apply. The present

test, as defined in Grubart, is still

subjective and therefore results will

continue to be difficult to predict.

Maritime contract jurisdiction has

not received the same recent attention in

this Court as admiralty tort jurisdiction.

The courts below applied the decisions of

the United States Court of Appeal for the

Fifth Circuit to hold that petitioner's

claims against Stop for contractual

defense and indemmification were subject

to state law. The court of appeal

"borrowed" from Executive Jet the locality

23

plus nexus" test enunciated for maritime

tort jurisdiction to decide maritime

contract jurisdiction. Again, the court

of appeal defined the relevant activity as

well testing which demonstrates that the

test means different things to different

people. Bourque was engaged in well

testing. However, the equipment furnished

by Stop was safety equipment intended for

the use and protection of a worker covered

by the Longshoremen's & Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act engaged in a maritime

employment on a vessel. Stop did not

furnish the equipment used for the well

Cest. It furnished equipment which was

used on a vessel on navigable waters which

enabled that vessel to perform its

intended function. The well test features

of this case were not relevant to

24

Stop. 2/

8/ The Louisiana Oilfield

Anti-Indemnity Act, LSA:R.S. 9:2780 would

not preclude indemnity if petitioner is

free of fault. This would be the case if

33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) is controlling

because petitioner was found not to be

negligent and ultrahazardous activity

should not be a recognizable cause of

action against a vessel. Hess v. Upper

Mississippi Towing Corp., 559 F.2d 1030

(5th Cir. 1977), rehearing denied 564 F.2d

97, cert. denied 435 U.S. 924, 98 S.Ct.

1489, 55 L.Ed. 518. Therefore, any

holding which in effect relieves

petitioner of fault would probably moot

the admiralty contract jurisdiction

aspects of the case because petitioner

then would be entitled to indemnity from

Stop even if the Louisiana Oilfield

Anti-Indemmity Act applies. See Meloy v.

Conoco, 504 So.2d 833 (La. 1987).

25

The decision of the court of appeal

was erroneous in allowing recovery for

strict liability because if it had held

that admiralty jurisdiction existed, it

would have been required to hold that 33

U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) controlled Bourque's

right of recovery against petitioner. One

of the changes wrought by the 1972

amendments to the Longshoremen's & Harbor

Workers' Compensation Act was 905(b) which

",.. Yestricted his (the injured employee)

recovery from the shipowner to

negligence." Hess vy. Upper Mississippi

Towing Corp., supra, 559 F.2d 1030 at

1032. Thus, the jurisdictional issue was

paramount - if state law applied, Bourque

had a claim for strict liability; if

26

admiralty law applied, he did not .2/

State law was applied because the court of

appeal erroneously concluded there was no

admiralty jurisdiction.

The savings to suitors clause allows

cases within the admiralty jurisdiction to

be brought in state courts. However, "the

‘savings to suitors' clause allows state

courts to entertain in personam maritime

causes of action, but in such cases the

extent to which state law may be used to

9/ Offshore Logistics, Inc. v.

Tallentire, 477 U.S. 207, 106 U.S.2485, 91

L.Ed.2d 207 (1986) holds that state law

cannot "supplement" federal maritime law

where Congress has pre-empted the field

with a statute which is applicable.

905(b) is such a statute and it pre-empts

state theories of strict liability. Hess,

supra.

ao Se

27

remedy maritime injuries is constrained by

a so-called 'reverse-Erie' doctrine which

requires that the substantive remedies

afforded by the States conform to

governing federal maritime standards."

Offshore Logistics, Inv. v. Tallentire,

Supra, 477 U.S. at 222-223, 106 S.Ct.

at 2494,

This case is important because state

courts would benefit from a clear bright

line test for admiralty jurisdiction and

an admonition that the uniformity

requirements of that law May not be

circumvented by jurisdictional means. Or,

stated another way, state courts would

benefit if the jurisdictional test was

easier to apply and the room to stray

eliminated. A clear bright line test like

the locality rule, stripped of the nexus

TR ainda hag eee mee

haere Rpe ones aero —

RIN: let tre or

28

remedy maritime injuries is constrained by

a so-called 'reverse-Erie' doctrine which

requires that the substantive remedies

afforded by the States conform to

governing federal maritime standards."

Offshore Logistics, Inv. v. Tallentire,

supra, 477 U.S. at 222-223, 106 S.Ct.

at 2494.

This case is important because state

courts would benefit from a clear bright

line test for admiralty jurisdiction and

an admonition that the uniformity

requirements of that law may not be

circumvented by jurisdictional means. Or,

stated another way, state courts would

benefit if the jurisdictional test was

easier to apply and the room to stray

eliminated. A clear bright line test like

the locality rule, stripped of the nexus

29

requirment save in non vessel related

incidents, would enable inferior courts to

see clearly the path that leads to the

application of the correct law (federal

maritime law) when a putative tort occurs

on a vessel on navigable waters.

I. THE DECISION OF THE STATE COURT

OF APPEAL IS IN CONFLICT WITH

THE HOLDINGS OF THIS COURT.

This Court recently wrote at length

about admiralty jurisdiction. Grubart

traced its evolution from the time when

locality alone ruled the day, to the

departure from the strict locality rule in

Executive Jet Aviation, Inc. v. City of

Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249, 93 S.Ct. 493, 34

L.Ed.2d 454 (1972) which added a "nexus"

requirement and the cases of Foremost Ins.

Co. v. Richardson, 457 U.S. 668, 102 S.Ct.

30

2654, 73 L.Ed.2d 300 (1982) and Sisson v.

Ruby, 497 U.S. 358, 110 S.Ct. 2892, 111

L.Ed.2d 292 (1990) which explained and

refined the nexus requirements. The nexus

test as applied in Grubart is two pronged,

"whether the incident involved was of the

sort with the potential to disrupt

maritime commerce" _U.S. ___, 115 $.Ct.

at 1050, and “whether the general

character of the activity giving rise to

the incident shows a substantial

relationship to traditional maritime

setivity”, Vee Lis: 3.6e. 2

1051.

There never has been any issue that

the locality aspect of admiralty juris-

diction, tort or contract, is met in this

case. All the activities pertinent to the

case occurred on vessels on navigable

waters. The deciding factor for the

|

31

application of state law by the lower

courts was the nexus requirement, the fact

that the activity in question as defined,

well testing, did not relate to a

traditional maritime activity. The court

of appeal did not differentiate principles

between admiralty tort and contract

jurisdiction when considering juris-

diction. It felt for either the

determining factor was that the relevant

activity was a well test and not that

petitioner was conducting this activity

from vessels on navigable waters. The

state court of appeal determined the

|

“relevant activity" to be the purpose for :

which the activity was conducted and not |

in terms of how the activity was

performed. In so doing, the court of

of this Court in Sisson. It also reached

a result which is contrary to Grubart

|

|

appeal failed to follow the prior holding |

|

|

H

32

although it had not yet been decided when

the state court of appeal ruled. The

error of the court of appeal lay in its

neglect of the consideration of the

“maritime connection enquiries", Grubart,

U.S. ~ $38 B.Ce.. at 1056... te

court of appeal did little more than

engage in a syllogism - well testing is

done on land, when it is done on water it

is done the same way as on land, therefore

well testing on water is a land activity.

Thus, the court of appeal failed to

ne Ee Pa ee

consider the first factor set forth in

Sisson and Grubart and misunderstood the

second.

Te Fe ee an Re ee De SF eee

Pe eee ee

Similar to the City of Chicago's

argument in Grubart that the relevant

activity was the maintaining and operation

of a tunnel, U.S. , SS. SCS, at

1052, the court of appeal in this case

33

looked to the broader purpose and failed

to consider that petitioner chartered the

barges and utilized them on navigable

waters as storage for a petroleum product.

The court of appeal violated (unknowingly

of course) the admonition of Grubart

against "hyper generalization", U.S.

» 114 S.Ct. at 1052.

The.decision of the court of appeal

here is an excellent example of the

possibility of "whimsy" mentioned in

Grubart, U.S. , 115 8.Ct. 1052.

But, to play the devil's advocate, the

whimsy resulted not from capriciousness

but because of the highly subjective

nature of the test - a subjectivity which

although lessened by Grubart, does still

exist. The court of appeal here was able

to find no admiralty jurisdiction because

it ignored the maritime aspects of

34

petitioner's activities. "The test turns

on the comparison of traditional maritime

activity to the arguably maritime

character of the tortfeasor's activity in

a given case; the comparison would merely

be frustrated by eliminating the maritime

aspects of the tortfeasor's activity from

consideration." __ U.S. __, 115 S.Ct.

at 1052.

Petitioner utilized vessels to

perform the well test. The well test was

done on navigable waters. The potential

for the disruption of maritime commerce as

a result of petitioner's activities was

not theoretical, it was palpable and real.

The character of the activity of

petitioner at the appropriate level of

generalization (not too high and not too

low) was the use of a vessel to store and

measure a liquid product which is closely

.

35

akin to the very traditional activity of

using vessels to store and transport

cargo. The court of appeal ignored these

aspects of petitioner's activity and in so

doing, reached a decision which directly

conflicts with Grubart.

The case for admiralty contract

jurisdiction is stronger. Stop was not

involved in the well test. Its contract .

was to furnish and install equipment on

the vessels for the purpose of allowing a

worker covered by the Longshoremen's &

Harbor Workers' Compensation Act to work

safely on navigable waters. "The only

general rule is that to be a maritime

contract, the subject matter of the

contract must be directly and intimately

related to the operation of a vessel and |

navigation ...". Vol. 1 Schoenbaum,

36

Admiralty and Maritime Law, 2dEd., Section

3-10, p. 111.

The same admonition against hyper-

generalization in tort cases a la Grubart

should apply in contract cases.

Petitioner leased the equipment from Stop

for use on a vessel in order to render the

vessel a safe place to work for a maritime

worker. Therefore, the contract was

within maritime jurisdiction.

II. THE DECISION OF THE STATE COURT

OF APPEAL IS ERRONEOUS.

The error of the state court of

appeal was in failing to use the proper

methodology as required by Grubart which

entailed consideration of the putative

tortfeasor's maritime activities. This

Court implied in Grubart that ordinarily a

37

putative tort involving a vessel will fall

within admiralty jurisdiction, W* . BeB

au,» *bh5 8.CO. at 1052. The grounds

enunciated by the state court of appeal

for rejecting admiralty jurisdiction here

fail to show an adequate basis for not

following the general rule.

The court of appeal dismissed

petitioner's vessel related activities on

the basis the vessels were used as

“platforms". (Appendix Page 82). The

Similar situation existed in Grubart

except there the vessel was "fastened to

the river bottom" and here they were

moored. In any event, Grubart established

that even if the vessels were "work

platforms" they retained the status of

"vessels" for admiralty tort purposes.

Grubart, supra, U.s. » £23. 8.Ct.

1049. Thus, the state court of appeal was

38

wrong to conclude that state law applied

on such a basis.

Petitioner was the "vessel" because

it was the charterer. 33 U.S.C. Sec.

902(2). 33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) allows

recovery from a vessel only where it has

been negligent. The term "negligence" is

a term connoting a limitation and by

history, an abnegation of any right of

recovery based on a theory of strict

liability. Hess v. Upper Mississippi

Towing Corp., supra. Had the lower court

held admiralty tort jurisdiction existed,

it should then have held that ultra-

hazardous activity was not a basis for

recovery under 905(b) and that state law

39

was pre-empted by 905(b). 19/ See

Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire,

supra, for discussion of pre-emption.

Therefore, the decision of the state court

of appeal was erroneous and the error was

not harmless.

As previously stated, if Bourque's

judgment against petitioner is reversed,

the contract issues may be moot because

10/ 33 U.S.C. Sec. 905(b) is not

jurisdictional. It only applies if the

underlying claim is within admiralty

jurisdiction. Richendollar v. Diamond M

Drilling Co., Inc., 784 F.2d 580 (5th Cir.

1986), on rehearing 819 F.2d 124, cert.

denied 484 U.S. 944, 108 S.Ct. 331, 98

L.Ed.2d 358, rehearing denied 484 U.S.

1021, 108 S.Ct. 736, 98 L.Ed.2d 684.

40

even under state law, petitioner would

prevail against Stop and recover its cost

of defense. Meloy v. Conoco, Inc., supra.

If not, the admiralty contract issues

remain and so does the question of whether

the fact that petitioner's activity was

well testing is alone enough to defeat

such jurisdiction.

One thing is clear, while Bourque may

have been involved in the well test, Stop

was not. Its equipment was not used to

test the well. Its equipment was used to

make the vessels a safe place to work.

"(T]he basic rationale for federal

admiralty jurisdiction is ‘protection of

maritime commerce through uniform rules of

decision'...", Grubart, U.S. eee 3 8.

S.Ct. 1053. "{T]he maritime law ...

ordinarly treats an ‘appurtenance'

41

attached to a vessel in navigable waters

as part of the vessel itself." Grubart,

— U.S. ___, 115 S.Ct. at 1049. Stop

attached some of its equipment to the

vessels to detect H2S. It leased SCBA's

for personnel use on the vessels. SCBA's

are analytically similar to life

preservers. Why the fact that petitioner

was engaged in a well test is relevant to

its contract with Stop is largely

unexplained. The barges could have been

moored nearby the well engaged in some

purely maritime activity and because of

the H2S hazard, personnel would have been

required to wear SCBA's and the vessels

would have been equipped with H2S

monitors. For contract purposes, Oryx's

activity was not well testing - it was the

equipping of a vessel to allow it to

safely perform its mission. The court of

appeal by "hyper-generalization" defined

42

the different aspects of this case so

broadly as to bring different actors in

different capacities under one rubic -

"well test". It was error to hold the

contract under which the equipment used on

the vessel for non well test purposes was

not a maritime contract.

III. THE QUESTIONS ARE IMPORTANT.

Since the ink is barely dry on

Grubart, the question naturally presents

itself as to why another maritime

jurisdiction case should be considered at

this time. The answer is twofold: (1) an

apparent increasing number of admiralty

cases are being filed in state court under

the savings to suitors clause and these

courts would benefit from a completely

objective tort jurisdictional test, and

43

(2) Grubart did not address admiralty

contract jurisdiction.

A review of the West digest system

shows over the past ten or fifteen years,

state courts are more and more hearing !

cases in which admiralty issues are |

implicated. State district courts, unlike

federal district courts, have general

jurisdiction. The case load of a state

court may number in the thousands. With

more cases and sometimes less resources,

state courts would benefit from a clear

bright line test such as all shipboard

accidents on navigable waters are within

admiralty tort jurisdiction per se and the

hexus requirement ueed only be considered

in off-ship incidents such as aircraft

crashes,

44

The need to select the appropriate

level of generalization with a focus on

the putative tortfeasors' vessel related

activities may be something which

"admiralty lawyers understand vensouedty

well", Grubart, 115 S.Ct. at 1055. This

case shows the difficulty state courts

have with the issue. The district judge

in this case was a Louisiana State

University Law School professor sitting ad

hoc. Yet, his carefully crafted opinion

reflects confusion about admiralty tort

and contract jurisdiction.

Litigants and state courts would

benefit from a test which they can easily

understand and apply. A bright line test

for jurisdiction will enable litigants to

know when to retain admiralty lawyers.

With the present test, non admiralty

lawyers and judges will continue to be

’ ,

45

tempted to apply the law they know - state

law - in close cases or even in cases not

so close. Existing practice in state

court does not necessarily bear out the

observations in Grubart that the

“customary practice in seeing jurisdiction

as the norm when the tort originates with

a vessel in navigable waters, and in

treating departures from the locality

principle as the exception". 115 S.Ct. at

1055. The need will still exist post

Grubart for a test which is wholly

objective at least insofar as shipboard

incidents are concerned.

The case is also important from the

admiralty contract jurisdiction

Standpoint. The courts of appeal here

demonstrated a basic lack of understanding

about when a contract falls within

admiralty jurisdiction. The court of

46

appeal utterly failed to consider that

petitioner contracted with Stop for

equipment that was used on a vessel. The

nexus requirement for contract juris-

diction as defined by the admiralty tort

jurisdiction cases will cause courts to

continue to grapple with the problem of

whether an agreement to equip a vessel

should per se be recognized as within

admiralty contract jurisdiction.

47

5 EATER es DRM RENE SPIELE oe Le

CONCLUSION

Petitioner prays that certiorari

SOAR A Tyg Cr PRE RR EET OEE ONE BETS LRTI!

issue to the Louisiana Court of Appeal,

First Circuit for the foregoing reasons.

em 9

Respectfully submitted

John Blackwell,

Counsel of Record

NE eran ee OR A IES ALS 9

GIBBENS, BLACKWELL & STEVENS

ree ererer ogee

P. O. Drawer 13910

New Iberia, LA 70562-3910

Tel: (318) 367-8517

Counsel for Petitioner

LNT OE FOE RY BRN ONE OMEN EE = + Pree sa

a

By__}lan, :

|

John Blackwell

NO.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATFS

October Term, 1994

ORYX ENERGY COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

YVETTE BOURQUE, WIFE OF AND STEVEN

BOURQUE, SAFETY TECHNOLOGY AND OILFIELD

PROTECTORS, INC. and AETNA CASUALTY

& SURETY COMPANY,

Respondents.

APPENDIX

INDEX FOR APPENDIX

Page

AMENDED ANSWER--------~--...___ l

REASONS FOR JUDGMENT OF STATE

TRIAL COURT-----~...............- 5

JUDGMENT OF STATE TRIAL COURT--- 51

OPINION OF STATE COURT OF

APPEAL----------.2--. 2222-22-88 58

DENIAL OF WRIT OF CERTIORARI BY

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA------ 140

NOTICE OF EXTENSION OF TIME

TO FILE APPLICATION FOR

CERTIORARI << <00cc~s-ensnee cucu e 142

© DS 6 ey eh eee

YVETTE BOURQUE, : NO. 82,516-E

WIFE OF/AND

STEVE BOURQUE : 16TH JUDICIAL

DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. MARY

SUN GAS COMPANY,

INC., ET AL : STATE OF LOUISIANA

AMENDED ANSWER

Defendants, SUN GAS COMPANY, INC.,

SUN EXPLORATION AND PRODUCTION COMPANY and

SUN OPERATING LIMITED PARTNERSHIP,

appearing through undersigned counsel,

amend their answer to the petitions of

plaintiff as follows:

Ly

By adding as an additional paragraph

the following:

"At all times material herein,

plaintiff was working on a barge on

navigable waters in a maritime employment

such that he was a covered worker under

the United States Longshoremen's and

Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, 33

U.S.C. Section 901, et seq., that his

claim and all incidental claims are

governed by the maritime law and in

particular 33 U.S.C. Section 901, et seq,

to the exclusion of all state law claims

including all claims under Civil Code

Articies 2315, 2317, 2322, 2313.3 ane

further to the exclusion of any liability

for engaging in an ultrahazardous activity

and further defendants aver that at all

times material herein, they were the

"vessel".

WHEREFORE, defendants, SUN GAS

COMPANY, INC., SUN EXPLORATION AND

PRODUCTION COMPANY and SUN OPERATING

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, pray that after due

proceedings had, the demands of Steve

Bourque and Yvette Bourque be rejected and

LE — eee

there be judgment in favor of defendants

dismissing plaintiff's petition with

prejudice at petitioner's cost and for all

other relief to which defendants are

entitled in the premises.

GIBBENS & BLACKWELL

P. O. Drawer 13910

New Iberia, Louisiana 70562-3910

Telephone: (318) 367-8517

Attorneys for Sun Gas Company,

Inc., Sun Exploration and

Production Company and Sun

Operating Limited Partnership

By/s/ John Blackwell

John Blackwell

ORDER

Considering the foregoing,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that defendants

be and the same are hereby allowed to file

the foregoing amended answer.

Franklin, Louisiana, this 2lst day of

September, 1988.

/s/ M. J. McNulty, Jr.

JUDGE, 16TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the

foregoing Amended Answer has this date

been forwarded to all counsel of record by

depositing a copy of same in the U.S.

Mail, postage prepaid.

New Iberia, Louisiana, this 20th day

of September, 1988.

/s/ John Blackwell

John Blackwell

YVETTE BOURQUE and DOCKET NO: 82,516,

STEVEN BOURQUE DIVISION G

16TH JUDICIAL

VERSUS DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. MARY

SUN GAS CO., ET AL STATE OF LOUISIANA

This is a tort suit filed by Yvette

Bourque and Steven Gerard Bourque against

Sun Gas (now Oryx Energy) and STOP

(Safety Technology Oilfield Protectors),

both corporate defendants having their

principal place of business in Texas but

operating in Louisiana. Aetna Casualty

and Surety intervened as the worker's

compensation carrier for the company

(Pro Tech) which employed Steven Bourque

at the time of the incident which gave

rise to this suit. Steven Bourque seeks

damages for his injury, his medical

expenses (past and future), and his lost

wages (past and future). Aetna seeks to

recover from the two defendants for

reimbursement for amounts paid to Steven

Bourque in weekly indemnity benefits and

medical expenses. Those amounts reached

a total of $106,515.53 by the time of the

trial of this matter - and Aetna seeks

recovery of additional benefits which may

be paid from the date of trial forward

until the case is ultimately resolved.

Yvette Bourque has claimed damages

for loss of consortium.

sa tae Bt

The incident which gave rise to this

action occurred on February 9, 1987 as the

plaintiff Steven Bourque and another

employee of Pro Tech (a company

specializing in contracting to perform

"well testing" activities) were engaged in

what was hoped to be a routine test of a

well located at Belle Isle #13 in the

navigable waters surrounding the well.

The purpose of the test was to

~~

determine the productive capacity of the

well for the purpose of deciding whether

to bring it back into production. This

process required the "flowing" of the well

and the test of levels of fluids (oil and

other fluids) which would flow through

tanks especially rigged and designed for

that purpose.

When such wells are tested, an ever

present danger from the possible presence

of hydrogen sulfide exists. Hydrogen

sulfide (H2S) is, as was described by the

various experts, a colorless gas which is

not succeptable of olfactory detection

except at very low levels of

concentration. H2S is apparently a common

byproduct of the disintegration of organic

Matter and is not infrequently found in

oil below the surface. As the oil is

released into a tank, the H2S separates

from the liquid solvent and forms a deadly

layer of gas. The gas is referred to by

experts as a “cytachrome oxidase

inhibitor" which interferes with the

ability of human cells to utilize oxygen.

The brain and the central nervous system

are described as "target organs" which are

very susceptible to its effects.

Because the "well testing" techniques

common in the industry in 1987, and today,

required a man to climb atop the test tank

and lift a hatch (called a "thief hatch")

in order to drop a metal strap into the

test tank as a means of measuring

productive capacity, the danger of

encountering H2S arising from the open

hatch is ever present when testing a "sour

well," i.e. one in which H2S is dissolved

in the subsurface oil reserves.

As a result of the danger of H2S

exposure, well testers are trained in the

dangerous properties of H2S and are

trained to use a self contained breathing

apparatus (SCBA) designed to permit a

re ~

worker with reasonable safety to enter an

IDLH atmosphere (immediately dangerous to

life and health) containing toxic levels

of H2S. Companies such as defendant STOP

provide such equipment and, if necessary,

training to employees of companies, such

as Pro Tech (plaintiff's employer) which

specialize in performing such tests for

oil companies such as defendant, Sun Gas.

The well test at Belle Isle #13 in

February of 1987 was being conducted with

an awareness of the presence of H2S.

Tests in 1981 indicated that the well was

"sour" and, although the degree of

concentration is a sharply contested

matter, all of the evidence clearly shows

that H2S was found to be present in

potentially toxic concentrations. The

uncontested evidence shows that sun Gas

contracted with STOP to provide SCBA

equipment and monitors to detect and sound

warning alarms if concentrations of a

10

relatively low amounts of H2S were

detected in the atmosphere.

The contract between STOP and Sun Gas

contains an indemnity agreement by which

STOP agreed to indemnify Sun Gas against

claims arising from the testing of the

well. Whether that contractual agreement

is enforceable as between the parties

(STOP and Sun Gas) in view of the

Louisiana anti-indemmity provisions of La.

R.S. 9:2780 is also an issue in this

litigation.

In order to test the well at Belle

Isle #13, the well testing equipment and

operations were set up on two barges which

were moved adjacent to one another and

adjacent to the well because the well was

located in navigable waters. Thus,

whether this case should be governed by

principles of Louisiana tort law or by

maritime law is also an issue.

The defendants have sharply contested

bic

11

plaintiff's claim that he was exposed to

the H2S. They further raise questions

concerning whether any of plaintiff's

alleged neurological defects were the

product of H2S exposure (if plaintiff was

exposed) or rather were the result of

pre-existing injury, or malingering.

The uncontested facts show that at

about 10:30 a.m., the plaintiff (Steven

Bourque) and Ricky Rochel, a fellow

employee of Pro Tech, donned self

contained breathing gear and walked from

the "safe barge" to the "work barge" on

which the well testing apparatus was

located for the purpose of conducting a

test. Steve Bourque climbed to the top of

the tank, opened the "thief hatch" and

dropped the metal strap into the tank. He

rolled up the strap, closed the hatch, and

descended the ladder to the deck of the

barge, and collapsed. Rochel and others

saw Bourque collapse and ran to this aid.

12

They helped Bourque to his feet and

carried him from the work barge to the

safe barge. Medical assistance was

summoned and Bourque was eventually

transported by boat and then by helicopter

to the Lakewood Hospital Emergency room in

Morgan City, Louisiana. Bourque was

examined and eventually released shortly

thereafter. He was driven home and was

instructed to contact his family

physician.

Thereafter began a series of events

which plaintiffs contend were the result

of H2S exposure. Subsequently, this suit

was filed.

Although the incident in question

occurred aboard a barge moved adjacent to

a well locexed in navigable waters, this

court is convinced that Louisiana tort

law, not general maritime or admiralty

law, applies. The mere proximity of the

incident to navigable waters and the mere

13

fact that the incident occurred on a barge

located in such waters does not give the

activity the "salty flavor" required in

order for federal maritime law to govern.

As Judge Brown said in Domingue v. Ocean

Drilling, 923 F. 2d 393 (5th Cir. 1991),

"A specialty services contract (Wire

Line Services) related to oil and

gas exploration and drilling takes

on a salty flavor when the perform-

ance of the contract is more than

incidently related to the execution

of the vessel's mission." Id. at

396.

In Domingue, the court held that wire

line services are “distinctly non-maritime

in nature." Id. at 396, citing Thurmond

v. Delta Wells Surveyors, 836 F. 2d 952

(Sth Cir. 1988). See also Bergeron v.

Blake Drilling, 599 So. 24 827 (La. App.

Ist Cir. 1992). As Judge Savoie noted in

Bergeron, the Supreme Court of the United

14

States has set forth "two requirements for

admiralty jurisdiction: maritime locality

and maritime flavor." Id. at 835.

Although maritime locality is certainly

present here, the "well testing" process

was not performed in a manner different

from the way such testing would occur of a

land based well. The only difference,

according to the testimony presented,

would be the fact that the equipment could

be spread over a wider area. The

essential nature of the activity is

unchanged by its mere maritime locale.

The mere fact that there were warnings for

watercraft to remain out of the area (due

to the potential danger from possible H2S

discharge from the vents of the well

testing apparatus) does not govern. As

noted in Bergeron, even if there is a

potential hazard to maritime activity,

"the party seeking to invoke admiralty

jurisdiction must show a substantial

15

relationship between the activity giving

rise to the incident and traditional

maritime activity ...." Bergeron at

836. As stated earlier, the relevant

activity, well testing, like wire line

services, is an activity related to the

exploration for and production of oil and

gas. It is not "traditional maritime

activity."

Therefore, from this conclusion, this

court must find that the Louisiana law of

torts governs. Further, this court

reaffirms its earlier determination that

the provisions of the Louisiana Oilfield

Indemnity Act have the effect of rendering

void the indemnity provision of the

contract between Sun Gas and STOP. See

Matte v. Zapafa Offshore, 784 F. 2d 628

("a Cir. 1986); Lirette v. Union Texas

Petroleum, 467 So. 2d 29 (La. App. lst

16

Cir. 1985). The fact that the contract

itself provides that Texas law (which does

not prohibit such indemnity agreements) is

to govern in construing the contract is of

no avail to Sun Gas. Although Louisiana

does permit parties to select the law

which controls their contractual

relationship, this right must yield when

the "choice of law" provision violates the

public policy of the State of Louisiana

(as expressed in La. R.S. 9:2780). See

Matte, above; Lirette, above. As Judge

Politz said in Matte, “we will not

participate in such an obvious end-run of

the Louisiana Legislature's effort to

improve oilfield safety." Matte at 631.

Because the law of Louisiana controls

the determination of the questions of law,

the nature of the activity becomes 4

prominent factor in this litigation.

Plaintiffs urge that “well testing" of

this type, like the wire line services

17

involved in Bergeron, should be deemed

“ultra hazardous". See Kent v. Gulf

States, 418 So.2d 493 (La. 1982); Bergeron

v. Blake Drilling, above. As Justice

Lemmon said in Kent, such activities,

while reasonable and socially beneficial,

create a "high enough" risk of harm that

"the party ought not undertake the

activity without assuming the

consequences." Kent at 498. See also T.

Galligan, Strict Liability in Action: The

Truncated Learned Hand Formula, 52 La. L.

Rev. 323 (1991). Im Kent, the court said:

"For these particular activities,

Louisiana courts have imposed an

absolute (emphasis in original)

liability . . ., which virtually

makes the enterpriser an insurer.

The enterpriser, whether or not

negligent in any respect, causes

the damage, and the injured party

recovers simply by proving damage

18

and causation (emphasis in

original. In these cases of

absolute liability (or liability

without proof of negligence or

other fault), liability is

imposed as a matter of policy when

harm results from the risks inherent

in the nature of the activity ....

Kent, at 498.

See also Bergeron, above, quoting from

Kent.

As Professor Galligan wrote in

describing the Louisiana doctrine of

"absolute Liability”:

"In Kent, . .. , Justice Lemmon

referred to this category of

tort liability as ‘absolute

liability.’ In essence, it is

Louisiana's version of Rylands.

My colleague, Professor Frank

Maraist, like Justice Lemmon,

also calls this type of liability

19

absolute liability. [F. Maraist,

Louisiana Tort Law Cases and

Materials, Ch. 16 (1990).]

kk RK *

Generally, if the activity is one

which exposes the defendant to

Rylands-type liability, he or she

is liable despite the fact that

the social utility of the activity

may outweigh its risk. The

activity presents a reasonable

risk of harm but the defendant is

OCLLi Baeble. 66544 Utility is

greater than risk but the defendant

would nevertheless be found liable

under an absolute liability theory.

kkk *

In any absolute liability case,

balancing is necessarily involved;

however, that balancing usually

takes place at the activity level.

Should one who engages in this

20

reasonable, but dangerous,

activity pay the damages she

causes even though she has acted

reasonably? Courts decide whether

or not, given the policies at stake,

it is appropriate to impose Rylands-

type liability upon the activity in

question. Once a court determines

an activity is within (or without)

the scope of Rylands absolute

liability, it, in effect, creates a

categorical rule. Trial courts do

not subsequently engage in a risk/

utility balance at a case specific

level." 52 La. L. Rev. at 336-337.

Professor Galligan also points out that

whether an activity is "ultra hazardous"

(abnormally dangerous) is a question of

law. 52 La. L. Rev. at 337. However, he

reminds the reader that “whether or not

the risk is within the scope of

defendant's absolute liability is always

21

an issue. ... [P]roximate cause or scope

of duty is still an issue." 52 La. L.

Rev. at 338.

This case thus requires this court to

determine whether the specific type of

activity involved should be deemed "ultra

hazardous." As the court of appeal in

Bergeron said:

"In Triplette v. Exxon Corp.,

554 So. 2d at 1362, the court

stated that the following elements

are used to determine whether an

activity is ultra hazardous; the

activity must relate to land or

some other immovable; the activity

itself must cause the injury, and

the defendant must be engaged

directly in the injury producing

activity; the activity must not

require substandard conduct to

cause injury. This third element

requires that the activity ‘can

22

cause injury to others even when

conducted with the greatest

prudence and care.' Triplette v.

Exxon, 554 So. 2d at 1362. In

Triplette, our court decided

whether the defendant was engaged

in an ultra hazardous activity on

the issue of whether the activity's

risk of harm could be eliminated

through due care to be the salient

issue ...." Bergeron, at 838.

The court must apply the principles

set forth to the activity involved in this

case: sending a man to the top of a tank

known to contain potentially toxic levels

of a deadly gas for the purpose of his

opening a hatch to test fluid levels, a

procedure which will release the gas, if

present, in close proximity to him. The

activity is, as was shown by the testimony

presented in this case, fraught with

danger even if the man is wearing a

23

positive pressure self contained breathing

apparatus which he has been trained to use

in a proper fashion. Although, as noted

by Justice Lemmon in Kent, and by

i »ofessor Galligan in his article,

Siana cases finding activities to be

"u. ca hazardous" normally involve

situations in which the "victim seldom has

the ability to protect himself," this

court is satisfied that this criteria, if

it is a "criteria," has been satisfied

here. See Kent, at 499. See also T.

Galligan, Strict Liability in Action,

above.

The procedures utilized by the

industry to endeavor to protect workers

who are sent into "IDLH" atmosphere

(immediately dangerous to life and health)

are not "fool proof." The positive

pressure respirators used in this well

test process (Litton SCBA units) were

shown to be "state of the art." A strong

24

emphasis was placed on safety training and

on being sure that the well testers were

skilled in the proper use of the

respirators and of the importance of

securing a good "face seal" despite the —

added safety of the “positive pressure"

respirators. In such devices, air flows

out of the mask if the seal is slightly

broken - rather than ambient air leaking

into the "negative pressure". The very

mature of the physical activity (climbing

ladders, opening hatches, dropping lines

into hatches, etc.) gives rise to a very

substantial risk that even a careful

worker may dislodge his mask. If the seal

is broken or is not fixed properly in the

first place, there is a risk that ambient

air may intrude into the mask. This court

accepts the testimony of the witnesses who

said that the "eddy effect" can produce an

intrusion despite the "positive pressure"

insiae the mask.

25

Despite the fact that the precautions

taken in the detonating procedures

employed in wire line testing are designed

to prevent premature explosions (and

resultant injury), the court of appeals in

Bergeron found wire line testing to be

“ultra hazardous." This court sees a

clear analogy between exposing (of

necessity) men to the risks associated

with detonation of explosives and exposing

(again, of necessity) men to highly toxic

gas (such as H2S).

The fact that the common practice in

the industry was not to have "sight

glasses" affixed to tanks for the purpose

of gauging production levels without

opening a hatch does not mean that the

entire industry is or was negligent. For

various sound reasons which were explained

by witnesses, the procedure utilized in

this case was the common practice in

February of 1987 - and remains so today.

26

The utility of the endeavor and the

industry's efforts to preclude injury by

taking reasonable and normally effective

safety measures does not preclude a

finding that the activity was ultra

hazardous. See Galligan, Strict Liability

in Action, above.

Having determined that the activity,

"strapping a well" through the "thief

hatch" in well testing a "sour (H2S) well"

is an ultra hazardous activity, this court

must determine whether the alleged injury

in this case fell within the scope of the

risk. This is a very easy decision. The

danger of H2S exposure is the danger which

makes this procedure "ultra hazardous"

and, obviously, such exposure is the

primary risk involved.

Thus, Sun Gas, not STOP, was engaged

in an ultra hazardous activity. It is

therefore "absolutely liable" if Steven

Bourque was injured and if such activity

27

was the cause of Steven Bourque's injury.

STOP's activity, rental of safety

equipment, is not ultra hazardous and STOP

is liable only if negligent conduct on

STOP's part was a contributing factor in

producing injury.

The evidence presented at trial

revealed no negligence on the part of

either STOP or Sun Gas. There is no

evidence that the equipment furnished by

STOP malfunctioned or that STOP was

negligent in any fashion. Furthermore,

despite the inherently dangerous nature of

the activity involved, Sun Gas did

everything feasible to eliminate risks of

harm. As was made clear, particularly by

the testimony of Mr. Montgomery, a

petroleum engineer with extensive

experience, there were no steps that Sun

Gas could have taken which might have

reduced the chance that an accidental

exposure, as was involved in this case,

would have occurred. The placement of

"bug blowers" was impractical due to the

configuration of the equipment. Burning

("flaring"), as opposed to "venting," the

H2S produced in the tank created risks of

its own. And, as noted, the use of "sight

glasses" to avoid the need to open the

tank (thereby eliminating the greatest

danger of H2S exposure) was not an

industry practice. Therefore, the court

rejects any suggestion that punitive

damages pursuant to La. C.C. art. 2315.3

are appropriate.

STOP would only be liable to judgment

if required to indemnify Sun Gas.

However, due to the unenforcibility of

that provision pursuant to the Louisiana

statute (discussed above), STOP is not

liable for any damages which may have been

occasioned by plaintiffs. This suit is

dismissed as to STOP.

—— OO eS es ee ee ee wee

29

The most difficult issues in this

case remain to be resolved. They

obviously are whether Steven Bourque

suffered an exposure to H2S (by the

invasion of the gas into his face mask)

and whether (and to what extent) he

suffered injury caused by his exposure.

Most of the testimony in this case focused

the court's attention on these issues. As

z this court stated at the end of the

presentation of evidence, counsel for all

t three of the principal parties in this

litigation (the Bourques, STOP, and Sun

4 Gas) did a remarkably excellent job in

presenting direct and circumstantial

evidence in support of their respective

¢ positions. While the highly competent and

Dh ee NN

professional job by counsel clearly

defined the issues of law and fact for the

court, the issues of fact were vigorously

contested and are very difficult to

: decide. Knowing that the court of appeal

30

can review the record in this case (as was

ably developed by counsel) and can correct

manifestly erroneous factual determina-

tions (as well as errors of law) provides

this trial court with some measure of

comfort to offset the difficulty in

deciding these basic factual issues.

Despite the presence of significant

conflicting evidence, this court finds

that the evidence preponderates in favor

of a finding that Steven Bourque was

exposed to hydrogen sulfide while

"strapping the tank” at about 10:30 a.m.

on February 9, 1987.

Several factors lead this court to

this conclusion. The major factor is the

obvious and unquestioned presence of

hydrogen sulfide being given off by the

"sour well" at Belle Isle #13 which was

being tested. Although there was a sharp

conflict over whether the concentration of

H2S was in the approximate range of 14,000

31

as opposed to 1400 ppm in the test tank,

either amount could produce serious injury

or death. At the higher concentration,

the gas is even more lethal and an

intrustion of a very small amount of

ambient air at that concentration could

produce serious consequences for a human

being who inhaled the gas. The evidence,

while conflicting, nevertheless clearly

shows that H2S was present in the tank in

concentrations which could produce the

symptoms displayed by Steven Bourque

immediately after inhaling. The fact that

the alleged damage was as mild as it was

in comparison to the possible harm from

H2S exposure of higher concentration is

not inconsistent with exposure even

accepting the defendants' evidence tending

to prove the lower concentration.

The court, as noted earlier, also

accepts the opinion expressed by

plaintiff's witnesses who testified that a

32

breach of the face seal of a "positive

pressure" respirator mask will sometimes

permit intrusion of ambient air due to an

“eddy effect." This is certainly a

critical finding because the court does

not find that the Litton SCBA unit being

used by Steven Bourque malfunctioned on

the day in question.

The inability of the defendant to

produce the unit used by Steven Bourque

does not lead the court to conclude that

the unit did not function properly.

Testimony established that all units

provided by STOP for the Sun Gas well test

at Belle Isle #13 were tested and found to

be in good working order. After the

incident, the unit worn by Steven Bourque

was tested, among the others, and was

found to be in good operating order.

Further, that unit was used by an employee

later that day. Steven Bourque did not

detect any problem with the unit he was

33

wearing at the time of the incident. He

was experienced and trained in the proper

use of a SCBA.

The failure of Sun Gas and STOP to

isolate effectively the unit Steven

Bourque was wearing is very unfortunate.

Its absence prevented Sun Gas from proving

that no intrustion could have occurred

even if the face seal was broken in such a

fashion as would only produce the alleged

"eddy effect" (rather than a larger breach

- which plaintiff would have noticed - and

which plaintiff testified did not occur).

The court is also impressed with the

fact that the circumstances and the

symptoms presented by Steve Bourque led

the various assembled other workers,

safety technicians, supervisors, etc. to

conclude the Mr. Bourque had suffered a

"hit" with H2S.- What they saw was, in

their minds, consistent with plaintiffs

position at trial: i.e., that he received

ce

Fs Be OES WS

sae

A oT ESS EE MLR ELAM NS ER TBO LPL

34

some degree of exposure. Although able

defense counsel elicited evidence that

Steven Bourque did not present certain

symptoms - and that some symptoms,

especially dizziness, were pre-existing

complaints in his military health records,

or could have been produced by fatigue,

the symptoms were consistent with an

exposure to the level of concentration

suggested by Dr. Alexander, one of the

plaintiff's experts.

If ambient air containing a fatal

concentration of H2S entered the mask due

to a breach in the face seal, the diluting

effect of the "good air" in the mask would

help to protect the SCBA wearer even

though some exposure might occur. The

exposure could not have been extremely

high because otherwise immediate loss of

consciousness or death would have

occurred.

35

In this case, Steven Bourque began to

feel “light headed," rolled up the tape,

closed the "thief hatch" and climbed down

the ladder to a point very close to the

barge deck - and collapsed, causing his

co-workers to come to his rescue.

The court does not believe that the

entire scenario was a "show" enacted for

the purpose of initiating this action.

The evidence convinces the court that

"something" made Steven Bourque feel the

necessity to dismount. He reacted as

responsibly as he could under the

circumstances and got down as promptly as

possible.

His earlier failure to achieve a good

face fit may have some bearing on this

matter. The testimony of the plaintiff

Steven Bourque established that he

initially failed to secure a good "face

fit." He subsequently adjusted his mask

and secured what he believed was a good

36

face fit. He did a "negative pressure"

exercise - breathing in with the mask in

place and lowering his head while shaking

his head to test whether the mask would

stay in place. He thereafter placed the

straps in place to hold the mask firmly

affixed in proper position. He then

proceeded to the work barge. Although he

felt on his second try that he had a good

fit, the court finds that the

circumstances, in light of subsequent

events, show that his "fit" did not hold.

He testified that he was unaware of the

problem and was sure that he did not hit

an object causing the mask to be

displaced. However, all of the evidence

convinces this court that the seal must

have been broken in a sufficient degree to

permit some “eddying intrustion" without

his being aware (until symptoms became

apparent) and without permitting intrusion

37

of a large enough quantity of the ambient

air to cause far more serious harm.

The only logical explanation (given

the finding that the Litton SCBA unit was

not deficient) is that Steven Bourque

failed to detect a face mask leak which,

due to the “eddy effect," allowed an

intrusion of H2S contaminated ambient air.

Because securing and maintaining a face

seal is the responsibility of the wearer

of the SCBA equipment, Steven Bourque was

to some degree at fault for the condition

which led to his H2S exposure.

Whether principles of "comparative

negligence" should apply to a case

involving absolute liability is not clear.

PA eA eT NT CINE Br WN tet NOR EH mR

» While Civil Code Article 2323 refers to

injury (loss) suffered "as a result partly

of his own negligence and partly as a

result of the fault of another," absolute

liability does not require a showing of i:

"fault" in the sense of

38

requiring proof of negligence.

Nevertheless, principles of comparative

fault have been applied in "strict

liability" cases. See Pelt v. City of

DeRidder, 553 So. 2d 1097 (La. App. 3rd

Cir. 1989) and the cases cited therein.

See also, Galligan, Strict Liability in

Action, above. Therefore, the court feels

bound to endeavor to assess a percentage

of "fault" to Steven Bourque.

Recognizing the inherent difficulty

in using mathematics to express a

relationship between the "inattention" of

Steven Bourque (which may easily have been

the product of fatigue), the court finds

that his failure to assure that his face

mask was properly in place must be

enukgeed 202% fault in connection with the

"loss" occasioned to him by the

overexposure.

The question remains regarding the

consequences or "loss" suffered by Steven

39

Bourque as a result of his exposure. That

question raises two complex issues: The

neurological effects (if any) produced by

the exposure (as opposed to effects

produced by other causes) and the economic

value to be assigned to such loss.

The parties presented the court with

a truly impressive array of conflicting

expert opinion presented by witnesses

infinitely better qualified than the court

to draw conclusions regarding "cause" and

"effect." Plaintiffs' experts gave very

convincing explanations of their opinions

that Steven Bourque suffers from

neurological defects which are consistent

with the type of neurological injury found

in persons known to have been exposed to

toxic concentrations of H2S. However, as

this court assesses that testimony, Steven

Bourque's prior head injury and

significant abuse of substances (alcohol

and marijuana) could also have produced

40

the detected anomalies. The defense

experts also gave very convincing

testimony to the effect that the

neurological tests and evaluations failed

to disclose the presence of the sorts of

defects alleged by the plaintiffs.

Considering all of the evidence of

the experts, and the evidence showing

Steven Bourque's- propensity to malinger

and prevaricate, the court does not find

that the evidence preponderates in favor

of finding that Steven Bourque suffered

permanent neurological damage from his

exposure to H2S on February 9, 1987.

The court was impressed with the

testimony of Dr. Thomas Latour, a

psychiatrist who treated Steven Bourque

for an extended period fo time. Dr.

Latour did not simply conduct evaluations

for purposes of rendering expert

testimony. He was trying to help Steven

Bourque, a man shown to have had

41

significant psychological disorders before

the incident in question, to cope with an

- en ae

anxiety disorder. Dr. Latour found

symptoms displayed by Steven Bourque which

Fa Ee FEE ON ee ee ee PO at ee

ae he ee a ee we ye 5 ke

convinced him (as the symptoms had earlier

convinced Dr. Boyer) that Bourque suffered

-a@ post-traumatic stress disorder of a

chronic type. Dr. Latour has treated

others who suffered for similar disorders

resulting from oilfield related accidents.

The court finds that Steven Bourque's

exposure to H2S on February 9, 1987 caused

him to experience such fear and anxiety

that he can no longer work as a well

tester. The court believes his testimony

about his grave anxieties concerning his

return to well testing. He was aware of

the dangers of H2S and when he became

aware that he experienced an exposure the

diagnosed post-traumatic stress disorder

resulted. Whether this condition would

have been produced in someone without

42

Steven Bourque's pre-existing emotional

disorders (as reflected by the various

psychological tests) is not at issue.

The diagnosis of Dr. Latour is

certainly consistent with the bizarre

behavior exhibited by Bourque in the

months following his accident. The court

does not believe that the nightmares and

instances of incontinence did not occur.

Dr. Latour's assessment explains the

plaintiff's behavior and is consistent

with his pre-existing problems, and is

consistent with the absence of H2S caused

neurological damage.

Thus, the court concludes that the

exposure to H2S caused Steven Bourque to

experience post-traumatic stress disorder

which has impaired his ability to seek

employment as a well tester (or in any

other job requiring him to be exposed to

the dangers normally associated with the

43

exploration and production of oil and

gas).

His disorder created a disruption of

his relationship with Yvette Bourque.

Although their relations were good at the

time of trial, she experienced a loss of

consortium during the months Steven

Bourque was endeavoring to reshape his

life following the accident.

Aetna as intervenor is also, through

this action, entitled to recover the

medical expenses and indemnity benefits

stipulated to have been paid.

Steven Bourque is also entitled to an

award which will cover his future expenses

for psychiatric treatment related to his

post-traumatic stress disorder. Steven

Bourque has further established that he

will not be returning to work in well

testing. He must seek, and the court

finds he is capable of seeking, other

compensable employment.

ie eee Se oe ee eee ee ry ~~ > |

a

4h

Fixing a monetary award is also very

difficult - except for the stipulated

medical expenses and indemnity benefits.

Those amounts were stipulated to come to a

total amount of $106,515.53. Those

expenses were occasioned as a result of

Bourque’s exposure and resultant post-

traumatic stress disorder.

Mrs. Yvette Bourque's loss of

consortium is difficult to evaluate. The

evidence portrayed a somewhat "stormy"

relationship wich is apparently better

(now that both have become active

Christians) than the relationship was

prior to the accident. His emotional

condition prior to the accident was less

than ideal. Nevertheless, during the

months following the accident, he was more

violent and difficult to live with than

before. Thus, Mrs. Bourque is entitled to

compensation for the "loss of consortium"

she experienced while Steven was

45

endeavoring to grapple with his stress

disorder. The court, recognizing the

difficulty of assessing value, awards

$3000.00 to Mrs. Bourque.

The award of future medical expenses,

by its very nature, tends to be somewhat

speculative. The plaintiff has, however,

proven that some psychiatric counseling

will likely be necessary in the future.

Dr. Latour felt that counseling will

likely be necessary from time to time

during periods of stress. The cost of

each session may range from $100.00 to

$250.00. Because of the difficulty of

predicting the need for future visits, the

court finds that plaintiff may need to

seek such treatment on numerous occasions

in the future. The court will use the

$250.00 per visit figure and award

$10,000.00 in future medical expenses to

the plaintiff.

46

Quantifying the plaintiff's damages

for the physical, psychiatric, and

emotional disorders occasioned by his H2S

exposure is difficult. The ill feelings,

nightmares, and emotional trauma are

certainly compensable. The "discomfort"

occasioned by the exposure was very real

to Steven Bourque. However, the evidence,

as noted earlier, shows that Steven

Bourque had significant pre-existing

problems. Discovering which were

"symptoms" of the post-traumatic stress

disorder, which were aggravated by the

disorder, and which were merely pre-

existing emotional problems which

continued to manifest themselves, is very

difficult. Understandably, the defendants

emphasized his record of complaints to the

Army medical personnel during his rather

brief and somewhat unsatisfactory military

career.

47

Considering all of the evidence, the

court is satisfied that the sum of

$15,000.00 is a fair amount.

As has been stated frequently by

courts of appeal, a trial court is engaged

in an often speculative inquiry in

endeavoring to determine a plaintiff's

loss of future income. Because the

primary injury here is the post-traumatic

stress disorder, determining the loss of

past income is also difficult. Plaintiff

tried to go back to the oilfield. He did

not try to find other employment. During

a period of time following his accident,

he was undoubtedly "disabled" from

performing any work due to his psychiatric

condition. However, he chose, for

laudable reasons, to pursue a career of

service to the church, a decision which

may ultimately provide him with far

greater rewards than this court could

award. ‘“evertheless, as much as this work

. eee : re aS Se rR A Oe TRE Te ee ee eee 5 Ii Bs

SAS Ee RE GRO ee Mea kat RT Ne ae rT pe BY erin Be 5 ma

48

has provided him (as confirmed by Dr.

Latour) with a sense of emotional and

spiritual growth and helped him to achieve

emotional stability, his choice to pursue

a relatively impecunious (but spiritually

rewarding) position in church work was a

voluntary decision. His injury did not,

from a legal perspective, "cause” him to

chose to follow the teaching of his

church.

The court has studied the economists’

reports and rehabilitation specialists’

reports which are included in the record.

The court is aware from the testimony that

"well testing” provides, like other

oilfield work, an uncertain future.

Whether Steven Bourque would have

voluntarily quit after a few more years is

not at issue. His post-traumatic stress

disorder deprived him of the opportunity

to continue to engage in well testing,

which was clearly shown to be the

49

most lucrative job plaintiff could

perform.

Nevertheless, considering all of the

evidence, some employment could have been

sought and provided plaintiff with income

prior to the trial - other than the low

paying church work which plaintiff chose

to pursue. aps

The court, recognizing the

speculative nature of this award, finds

that the dollar figure should be assigned

to plaintiff's loss past wages to be

$75,000.00, much of which was paid to him

in compensation benefits for which inter-

venor is entitled to be recompensated.

The court finds the amount of $150,000.00

to be a fair amount to compensate him for

his loss of earning capacity. The court,

in an effort to provide plaintiff a fair

opportunity to achieve his maximum earning

potential, will award an additional

50

$2,000.00 to assist plaintiff in securing

rehabilitation counseling.

Wherefore, the plaintiffs, Yvette and

Steven Bourque, and Aetna, as intervenor,

are entitled to judgment against Sun Gas

in the amounts set forth in this opinion,

with legal interest. The case is

dismissed against STOP. Sun Gas is

ordered to pay costs of these proceedings.

A judgment will be signed in

accordance with the cakatna set forth 2

herein.

This 15th day of October, 1992.

/s/ Cheney C. Joseph, Jr.

Chency C. Joseph, Jr.

Judge Pro Tempore

YVETTE BOURQUE,

WIFE OF/AND

STEVEN BOURQUE

VS.

SUN GAS COMPANY,

ET AL

51

NO. 82,516"E"

16TH JUDICIAL

DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. MARY

STATE OF LOUISIANA

RP lade oo itis pe ee he a oe NN EA

eo

JUDGMENT

This matter came on for trial on l

June, 1992 and following days.

a a

Bt Se RO ae.

52

PRESENT: STEPHEN B. MURRAY and

PATRICIA R. MURRAY attorneys for

plaintiffs YVETTE BOURQUE and STEVEN

BOURQUE:

JOHN BLACKWELL sttoukey ter ORYX

ENERGY COMPANY, formerly Sun Gas Company;

TIMOTHY F. BURR and SCOTT A. SOLE

attorneys for SAFETY TECHNOLOGY OILFIELD

PROTECTORS, INC.;

MICHAEL S. O'BRIEN attorney for

intervenor AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY

COMPANY.

The Court having heard the evidence

and considering the law and arguments of

counsel and for written reasons assigned

on 15 October, 1992, finding that G

Louisiana law is applicable to all claims;

that Oryx Energy Company and Safety

Technology Oilfield Protectors, Inc. were

not negligent but that Oryx Energy Company

was liable to plaintiffs because the

activity being performed at the time of

4's lil

errs,

53

the incident was ultrahazardous; that

plaintiff Steven Bourque was comparatively

at fault for 20% of his damages; that

Steven Bourque's damages were as follows:

Past medical expenses - $39,065.15

Future medical expenses - 10,000.00

Lost Wages - 75,000.00

Loss of earning capacity- 150,000.00

Vocational rehabilitation

counseling - 2,000.00

Physical and mental pain

and suffering - 15,000.00

that Yvette Bourgue's damages for loss of

consortium were $3,000.00; and, that Aetna

Casualty & Surety Company as intervenor

had paid in compensation benefits

$106,515.53.

WHEREFORE:

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED

that there be judgment in favor of

54

intervenor AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY

and against ORYX ENERGY COMPANY in the

amount of $85,212.42 with legal interest

from date of judicial demand;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that there be judgment in favor of

STEVEN BOURQUE and against ORYX ENERGY

COMPANY in the amount of $147,639.70 with .

legal interest from date of judicial

demand;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that there be judgment in favor of

YVETTE BOURQUE and against ORYX ENERGY 4

COMPANY in the amount of $2,400.00 with |

legal interest from date of judicial

demand;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that the issue of Moody fees and

expenses is pretermitted and will be

55

decided by way of post-trial motions.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that all claims including the

ES principal demand and the third party

: demand of Oryx Energy Company for

indemnity and contribution against SAFETY

TECHNOLOGY OILFIELD PROTECTORS, INC. be

and the same are hereby DISMISSED with

prejudice.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that ORYX ENERGY COMPANY be cast

forall costs.

THUS DONE AND SIGNED this seventh day

of December, 1992, in :

Louisiana.

/s/ Marcus A. Broussard, Jr.

for CHENEY C. JOSEPH, JR.

JUDGE PRO TEMPORE

56

16TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. MARY

STATE OF LOUISIANA

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

/s/ Stephen B. Murray

STEPHEN B. MURRAY

/s/ Patricia R. Murray

PATRICIA R. MURRAY

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

/s/ John Blackwell

JOHN BLACKWELL

Attorney for Oryx Energy

Company

57

/s/ TIMOTHY F. BURR

TIMOTHY F. BURR

Attorney for Safety

Technology Oilfield

Protectors, Inc.

not approved: M.S.O'B.

MICHAEL S. O'BRIEN |

|

Attorney for Intervenor

58

NOT DESIGNATED FOR PUBLICATION

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL

FIRST CIRCUIT

93 CA 2213

YVETTE BOURQUE, WIFE OF, AND

STEVE BOURQUE

VERSUS

SUN GAS CO., INC. AND SAFETY TECHNOLOGY

AND OILFIELD PROTECTORS, INC., ET AL

(ORYX ENERGY COMPANY, THIRD PARTY

PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT-APPELLANT)

JUDGMENT RENDERED: October 7, 1994

59

ON APPEAL FROM THE SIXTEENTH JUDICIAL

_ DISTRICT COURT (NUMBER 82,516),

PARISH OF ST. MARY, STATE

OF LOUISIANA

HONORABLE MARCUS A. BROUSSARD, JR., JUDGE

AND HONORABLE CHENEY C. JOSEPH,

JUDGE PRO TEMPORE. |

ze aeaeKRkKR

Mr. Stephen B. Murray

Ms. Patricia R. Murray

New Orleans, Louisiana

Mr. John Blackwell

New Iberia, Louisiana

Counsel for

Plaintiffs/

Appellants,

Yvette and Steve

Bourque

Counsel for

Defendant /

Appellant, Sun

Gas Co., Inc.,/

Oryx Energy

Company

4

:

: *

oe

js

#

iH

y.

ie

Ae GROn NR ee ds pees ea RES ay Cem ee Ee aes

re coh

Tape ta thn phe king aah

ah at OS Oi ey tl iets ek Dy Bi

re peel eet

60

Mr. Michael S. O'Brien

Lafayette, Louisiana

Mr. Scott A. Soule

New Orleans, Louisiana

Mr. BP. Bruin Hays, If!

New Orleans, Louisiana

Counsel for

Intervenor, Aetna

Casualty & Surety

Counsel for

Defendant/

Appellee, Safety

Technology and

Oilfield

Protectors, Inc.

2:22: 3 2

BEFORE: GONZALES, FOGG AND PARRO, JJ.

GONZALES, J.

This is a tort suit filed by Steve

and Yvette Bourque for injuries sustained

by Mr. Bourque while engaged in the

testing of a well located near Belle Isle,

Louisiana. On December 7, 1992, the trial

i448

a AS

a

61

court signed a judgment , | finding (1)

that the owner of the well, Sun Gas

Company, Inc. (Sun Gas) (subsequently

referred to as Oryx Energy Company

(Oryx)), was liable to the Bourques based

on its conclusion that the activity at

issue was ultrahazardous; (2) that Mr.

Bourque was comparatively at fault for 202%

of his damages; (3) that Oryx was liable

to Aetna Casualty & Surety Company

(Aetna), the workers’ compensation insurer

of Mr. Bourque's employer, Pressure Read

Out Technology, Inc. (Pro-Tech), for

reimbursement of amounts paid to Mr.

Bourque; (4) that there was no negligence

on the part of Safety Technology and

Oilfield Protectors, Inc. (STOP), a

1 The Honorable Cheney C. Joseph,

Jr., Judge Pro Tempore, presided over the

trial of this case and also rendered the

December 7, 1992 judgment.

‘in hy

Ee a ee Fenn Oe

me A

rere te D ‘

ake

62

company which provided certain safety

equipment to Oryx for use during the well

testing, and that all claims by Oryx

against STOP were to be dismissed with

prejudice; and (5) that the issue of Moody

fees and expenses was to be pretermitted

for decision by way of post-trial motions.

On May 4, 1993, the trial court signed a

judgment , * denying plaintiffs' motion to

tax Moody costs, denying STOP's motion to

tax costs against plaintiffs, and granting

plaintiffs' motion and STOP's motion to

tax costs and expert fees against Oryx.

Following entry of the trial court

judgments, appeals were lodged by Oryx and

by Mr. and Mrs. Bourque.

2 The Honorable Marcus A. Broussard,

Jr. rendered the May 4, 1993 judgment.

63

Oryx raises the following assignments

of error:

Me The trial court erred as a

matter of law in applying state

law instead of maritime law and

finding Oryx was liable for

engaging in an ultrahazardous

activity.

as The trial court erred in holding

that the contract between Oryx

and STOP was not a maritime

contract and thus was voided by

the Louisiana Oilfield Anti-

Indemnity Act, La. R.S. 9:2780.

3. The trial court erred in finding

that a weil test conducted on a

barge in the presence of H2S was

3 an ultrahazardous activity

| because that activity does not

relate to land and if the

testing is done safely with

the proper equipment there can

64

be no injury unless there is

substandard conduct.

The trial court's finding that

the plaintiff was exposed to H2S

through an undetectable leak and

the eddy effect was manifestly

erroneous and against the great

weight of the evidence.

If the plaintiff inhaled H2S

because of an undetectable leak

in the mask produced by the eddy

effect, the trial court was in

error as a matter of law in

finding STOP was not strictly

liable under Civil Code Article

2317 and negligent under Civil

Code Article 2315 because (1) it

was the only party that was

aware of the eddy effect, and

(2) it was the custodian of a

thing which was unreasonably

dangerous in normal use, i.e.,

eaten Ts

See ae

65

a SCBA unit which could allow

the intrusion of H2S into a mask

without the knowledge of the

user.

The trial court was clearly

erroneous when it failed to

assess plaintiff's comparative

fault not only by reference to

his substandard conduct but

also by his "awareness of the

danger."

The trial court was in error in

finding that plaintiff was

entitled to loss of earning

capacity where he retained the

physical capacity to earn the

same wages as before the

accident.

The trial court erred in taxing

as cost expert fees for time

not spent in court, gathering

66

evidence or preparing to

testify.

The Bourques raise the following

assignments of error:

The trial court erred when it

held plaintiff to be 202% at

fault, despite its finding that

he performed as he had been

trained and instructed, and

responded toc the emergency in

which he found himself as

responsibly as he could under

the circumstances.

YB The trial court's awards of

$15,000.00 in general damages

to Steve Bourque and $3,000.00

for loss of consortium to Yvette

Bourque were grossly inadequate.

KS The trial court erred when it

failed to assess Moody costs

against Aetna, the compensation

insurer.

67

The facts of this case were

succinctly set forth by the trial court in

its October 15, 1992 reasons for judgment,

as follows:

The incident which gave rise to

this action occurred on February 9,

1987 as the plaintiff Steven Bourque

and another employee of Pro Tech (a

company specializing in contracting

to perform "well testing" activities)

were engaged in what was hoped to be

a routine test of a well located at

Belle Isle #13 in the navigable

waters surrounding the well.

The purpose of the test was to

determine the productive capacity of

the well for the purpose of deciding

whether to bring it back into

production. This process required

the "flowing" of the well and the

test of levels of fluids (oil and

other fluids) which would flow

68

through tanks especially rigged and

designed for that purpose.

When such wells are tested, an

ever present danger from the possible

presence of hydrogen sulfide exists.

Hydrogen sulfide (H2S) is, as was

described by the various experts, a

colorless gas which is not

succeptable[sic] of olfactory

detection except at very low levels

of concentration. H2S is apparently

a common byproduct of the

disintegration of organic matter and

is not infrequently found in oil

below the surface. As the oil is

released into a tank, the H2S

separates from the liquid solvent

and forms a deadly layer of gas. The

gas is referred to by experts as a

"cytachrome[sic] oxidase inhibitor"

which interferes with the ability of

human cells to utilize oxygen. The

69

brain and the central nervous system

are described as "target organs"

which are very susceptible to its

effects.

Because the "well testing"

techniques common in the industry in

1987, and today, required a man to

climb atop the test tank and lift a

hatch (called a "thief hatch") in

order to drop a metal strap into the

test tank as a means of measuring

productive capacity, the danger of

encountering H2S arising from the

open hatch is ever present when

testing a “sour well," i.e. one in

which H2S is dissolved in the

subsurface oil reserves.

As a result of the danger of

H2S exposure, well testers are

trained in the dangerous properties

of H2S and are trained to use a

self contained breathing apparatus

70

(SCBA) designed to permit a worker

with reasonable safety to enter an

IDLH atmosphere (immediately

dangerous to life and health)

containing toxic levels of H2S.

Companies such as defendant STOP

provide such equipment and, if

necessary, training to employees

of companies, such as Pro Tech

(plaintiff's employer) which

specialize in performing such tests

for oil companies such as

defendant, Sun Gas.

The well test at Belle isle #13

in February of 1987 was being

conducted with an awareness of the

presence of H2S. Tests in 1981

indicated that the well was "sour"

and, although the degree of

concentration is a sharply contested

matter, all of the evidence clearly

shows that H2S was found to be

71

present in potentially toxic

concentration. The uncontested

evidence shows that Sun Gas

contracted with STOP to provide

SCBA equipment and monitors to

detect and sound warning alarms if

concentrations of ... relatively low

amounts of H2S were detected in the

atmosphere. 7

The contract between STOP and

Sun Gas contains an indemmity

agreement by which STOP agreed to

indemify Sun Gas against claims

arising from the testing of the

well. Whether that contractual

agreement is enforceable as between

the parties (STOP and Sun Gas) in

view of the Louisiana anti-indemnity

provisions of La. R.S. 9:2780 is

also an issue in this litigation.

In order to test the well at

Belle Isle #13, the well testing

72

equipment and operations were set

up on two barges which were moved

adjacent to one another and adjacent

to the well because the well was

located in navigable waters. Thus,

whether this case should be governed

by principles of Louisiana tort law

or by maritime law is also an issue.

The defendants have sharply

contested plaintiff's claim that he

was exposed to the H2S. They

further raise questions concerning

whether any of plaintiff's alleged

neurological defects were the

product of H2S exposure (if

plaintiff was exposed) or rather

were the result of pre-existing

injury, or malingering.

The uncontested facts show that

at about 10:30 a.m., the plaintiff

(Steven Bourque) and Ricky Rochel, a

fellow employee of Pro Tech, donned

73

self contained breathing gear and

walked from the "safe barge" to the

“work barge” on which the well

testing apparatus was located for

the purpose of conducting a test.

Steve Bourque climbed to the top of

the tank, opened the "thief hatch"

and dropped the metal strap into the

tank. He rolled up the strap, closed

the hatch, and descended the ladder

to the deck of the barge, and

collapsed. Rochel and others saw

Bourque collapse and ran to this

[sic] aid. They helped Bourque to

his feet and carried him from the

work barge to the safe barge.

Medical assistance was summoned and

Bourque was eventually transported

by boat and then by helicopter to

the Lakewood Hospital Emergency

room in Morgan City, Louisiana.

Bourque was examined and eventually

74

released shortly thereafter. He

was driven home and was instructed

to contact his family physician.

Thereafter began a series of

events which plaintiffs contend were

the result of H2S exposure.

Subsequently, this suit was filed.

APPLICATION OF STATE TORT LAW RATHER THAN

MARITIME LAW AND THE NON-ENFORCEABILITY OF

THE INDEMNITY AGREEMENT

In its assignments of error numbers

one and two, Oryx claims that the trial

court erred in determining that state law

governed this case as opposed to maritime

law. As a result of the trial court's

choice of law, Oryx claims that the trial

court also erred in finding that an

indemnity clause in the contract between

Oryx and STOP, whereby STOP agreed to

indemnify Oryx against claims arising from

the testing of the well, was unenforceable

under La. R.S. 9:2780, the Louisiana

Oilfield Indemmity Act.

With regard to his finding that

Louisiana tort law governed rather than

maritime law, the trial court stated:

Although the incident in

question occurred aboard a barge

moved adjacent to a well located

in navigable waters, this court

is convinced that Louisiana tort

law, not general maritime or

admiralty law, applies. The

mere proximity of the incident to

navigable waters and the mere

fact that the incident occurred

on a barge located in such waters

does not give the activity the

"salty flavor" required in order

for federal maritime law to govern.

As Judge Brown said in Domingue v.

Ocean Drilling [and Exploration

Company], 923 F.2d 393 (5th Cir.

76

1991), (cert. denied, U.S. .,

112 S.Ct. 874, 116 L.Ed.2d 779

(1992)].

"A specialty services contract

[Wire Line Services] related

to oil and gas exploration

and drilling takes on a salty

flavor when the performance

of the contract is more than

incidently [sic] related to

the execution of the vessel's

mission." Id. at 396.

In Domingue, the court held that

wire line services are "distinctly

non-maritime in nature.” Id. at 396,

citing Thurmond v. Delta [Well]

Surveyors, 836 F.2d 952 (5th Cir.

1988). See also Bergeron v. Blake

Drilling [& Workover Company], 599

So.2d 827 (La. App. lst Cir.) [writs

denied, 605 So.2d 1117, 1119 (La.

1992)]. As Judge Savoie noted

77

in Bergeron, the Supreme Court of the

United States has set forth "two ;

requirements for admiralty

jurisdiction: maritime locality and

maritime flavor." Id. at 835.

Although maritime locality is

certainly present here, the “well

testing" process was not performed

in a manner different from the way

such testing would occur of a land

based well. The only difference,

according to the testimony

presented, wculd be the fact that

the equipment could be spread over

a wider area. The essential nature

of the activity is unchanged by its

mere maritime locale. The mere fact

that there were warnings for

watercraft to remain out of the area

(due to the potential danger from

possible H2S discharge from the

vents of the well testing apparatus)

78

does not govern. As noted in

Bergeron, even if there is a

potential hazard to maritime

activity, "the party seeking to

Linvobe: edebveies jurisdiction must

show a substantial relationship

between the activity giving rise

to the incident and traditional

maritime activity ....'' Bergeron

at 836. As stated earlier, the

relevant activity, well testing,

like wire line services is an

activity related to the exploration

for and production of oil and gas.

It is not “traditional maritime

activity."

Therefore, from this conclusion,

this court must find that the

Louisiana law of torts governs.

Further, this court reaffirms its

earlier determination that the

provisions of the Louisiana Oilfield

79

Indemnity Act have the effect of

rendering void the indemnity

provision of the contract between

Sun Gas and STOP. See Matte v.

Zapa(t]a Offshore, 784 F.2d 628

(5th Cir. 1986), [cert. denied,

479 U.S. 872, 107 S.Ct. 247, 93

L.Ed.2d 171 (1986)]; Lirette v.

Union Texas Petroleum, 467 So.2d

29 (La. App. lst Cir. 1985). The

fact that the contract itself

provides that Texas law (which

does not prohibit such indemnity

agreements) is to govern in

construing the contract is of no

avail to Sun Gas. Although Louisiana

does permit parties to select the

law which controls their contractual

relationship, this right must yield

when the "choice of law" provision

violates the public policy of the

State of Louisiana (as expressed

80

in La. R.S. 9:2780). See Matte,

above; Lirette, above. As Judge

Politz said in Matte, “we will not

participate in such an obvious

end-run of the Louisiana

Legislature's effort to improve

oilfield safety." Matte at 631.

We agree with the trial court's

finding that the well testing engaged in

by Oryx did not have sufficient maritime

flavor to qualify for maritime

jurisdiction. The seminal Supreme Court

cases on the reach of federal maritime

tort jurisdiction are Executive Jet

Aviation v. City of Cleveland, 409 U.S.

249, 93 S.Ct. 493, 34 L.Ed.2d 454 (1972),

Foremost Insurance Company v. Richardson,

457 U.S. 668, 102 S.Ct. 2654, 73 L.Ed.2d

300 (1982), and Sisson v. Ruby, 497 U.S.

358, 110 S.Ct. 2892, 111 L.Ed.2d 292

(1990). Executive Jet first established a

two-part "locality-plus-nexus" test for

81

maritime tort jurisdiction, which was

later affirmed and refined in Foremost and

Sisson. The tort must have occurred on or

over navigable waters, and the wrong

alleged must “bear a significant relation-

ship to traditional maritime activity."

Gaspard v. Amerada Hess Corp., 13 F.3d

165, 167 (5th Cir. 1994). The relevant

activity at issue is the testing of a well

located on a water location in an inlet

canal. Oryx, as the party seeking to

invoke maritime jurisdiction, has the

burden of proving a substantial

relationship between the well testing and

traditional maritime activity. See

Sisson, 497 U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at

2897.

In its attempt to meet this burden,

Oryx focuses on the fact that the use of

two barges was required for the well

testing due to the smallness of the well

structure. However, the mere use of

82

barges, which, although typically used for

maritime purposes, were used as platforms

for the well testing equipment in this

case, does not magically convert the

activity of well testing into one with a

substantial relationship to traditional

maritime activity. We agree with the

trial court's observation that the

relevant activity herein, well testing, is

an activity related to the exploration for

and production of oil and gas, not

traditional maritime activity. We find no

error in the trial court's determination

that Louisiana law rather than maritime

law governs this case.

Because we affirm the use of

Louisiana law in this case, we further

affirm the trial court's finding that the

indemnity agreement between Oryx and STOP

is unenforceable under the Louisiana

Oilfield Indemnity Act.

83

This assignment of error is without

merit.

TESTING OF A SOUR WELL AS AN

ULTRAHAZARDOUS ACTIVITY

In its assignment of error number

three, Oryx contends that the trial court

erred in finding that the well testing

activity at issue constitutes an ultra-

hazardous activity, subjecting Oryx to

absolute liability. According to Oryx,

the well testing is not an ultra-

hazardous activity (1) because it does not

relate to land and (2) because if the

testing is done safely with the proper

equipment, there can be no injury unless

there is substandard conduct.

With regard to its finding that the

well testing constitutes an ultra-

hazardous activity, the trial court

stated:

Because the law of Louisiana

controls the determination of the

84

questions of law, the nature of

the activity becomes a prominent

factor in this litigation. Plain-

tiffs urge that "well testing” of

this type, like the wire line

services involved in Bergeron,

should be deemed “ultra hazardous".

See Kent v. Gulf States [Utilities

Company], 418 So.2d 493 (La. 1982);

Bergeron v. Blake Drilling, above.

As Justice Lemmon said in Kent,

such activities, while reasonable

and socially beneficial, create a

"high enough" risk of harm that

"the party ought not undertake

the activity without assuming the

consequences." Kent at 498. See

also T. Galligan, Strict Liability

- in Action: The Truncated Learned

Hand Formula, 52 La. L.Rev. 323

(1991). In Kent, the court said:

85

"For these particular

activities, Louisiana courts

have imposed an absolute

{emphasis in original)

liability ..., which

virtually makes the enter-

priser-an insurer. The

enterpriser, whether or not

negligent in any respect,

causes the damage, and the

injured party recovers simply

by proving damage and

causation (emphasis in

original). In these cases of

absolute liability (or

liability without proof of

negligence or other fault),

liability is imposed as a

matter of policy when harm

results from the risks

inherent in the nature of

the activity. ..." Kent,

86

at 498.

See also Bergeron, above, quoting

from Kent.

As Professor Galligan wrote in

describing the Louisiana doctrine

of “absolute liability":

"In Kent, . .., Justice

Lemmon referred to this

category of tort liability

as ‘absolute liability.' In

essence, it is Louisiana's

versions of Rylands. My

colleague, Professor Frank

Maraist, like Justice Lemmon,

also calls this type of

liability absolute liability.

[F. Maraist, Louisiana Tort

Law Cases and Materials, Ch.

16 (1990).]

>: 2 2

Generally, if activity is one

which exposes the defendant

87

to Rylands-type liability, he

or she is liable despite the

fact that the social utility

of the activity may outweigh

its risk. The activity pre-

sents a reasonable risk of

harm but the defendant is

still liable.

Utility is greater than risk

but the defendant would never-

theless be found liable under

an absolute liability theory.

kkk

In any absolute liability case,

balancing is necessarily

involved; however, that

balancing usually takes place

at the activity level. Should

one who engages in this reason-

able, but dangerous, activity

pay the damages she causes even

though she has acted reasonably?

88

Courts decide whether or not,

given the policies at stake,

it is appropriate to impose

Rylands-type liability upon the

activity in question. Once a

court determines an activity is

within (or without) the scope of

Rylands absolute liability, it,

in effect, creates a categorical

rule. Trial courts do not sub-

sequently engage in a risk/

utility balance at a case

specific level." 52 La.L.Rev.

at 336-337.

Professor Galligan also points out

that whether an activity is "ultra

hazardous" (abnormally dangerous) is

a question of law. 52 La.L.Rev. at

337. However, he reminds the reader

that "whether or not the risk is

within the scope of defendant's

absolute liability is always an

89

issue.... [P]roximate cause scope

of duty is still an issue." 52

La.L.Rev. at 338.

This case thus requires this

court to determine whether the

specific type of activity involved

should be deemed "ultra hazardous."

As the court of appeal in Bergeron

said:

"In Triplette v. Exxon Corp.,

554 So.2d [(1361)], at 1362

{(La. App. lst Cir. 1989)],

the court stated that the

following elements are used

to determine whether an

activity is ultra hazardous;

the activity must relate to

land or some other Meares le;

the activity itself must cause

the injury, and the defendant

must be engaged directly in

the injury producing activity;

90

the activity must not require

substandard conduct to cause

injury. This third element

requires that the activity

"can cause injury to others

even when conducted with the

greatest prudence and care.’

Triplette v. Exxon, 554 So.2d

at 1362. In Triplette, our

court decided whether the

defendant was engaged in an

ultra hazardous activity on

the issue of whether the

activity's risk of harm could

be eliminated through due

care to be the salient issue

Bergeron, at 838.

The court must apply the prin-

ciples set forth to the activity

involved in this case: sending a man

to the top of a tank known to con-

tain potentially toxic levels of a

91

deadly gas for the purpose of his

opening a hatch to test fluid levels,

a procedure which will release the

gas, if present, in close proximity

to him. The activity is, as was

shown by the testimony presented in

this case, fraught with danger even

if the man is wearing a positive

pressure self contained breathing

apparatus which he has been trained

to use in a proper fashion.

Although, as noted by Justice Lemmon

in Kent, and by Professor Galligan

in his article, Louisiana cases

finding activities to be "ultra

hazardous" normally involve

situations in which the “victim

seldom has the ability to protect

himself," this court is satisfied

that this criteria, if it is a

“criteria,” has been satisfied

here. See Kent, at 499. See also

92

T, Galligan, Strict Liability in

Action, above.

The procedures utilized by the

industry to endeavor to protect

workers who are sent into "IDLH"

atmosphere[s] (immediately dangerous

to life and health) are not "fool

proof." The positive pressure

respirators weed in this well test

process (Litton SCBA units) were

shown to be "state of the art."

A strong emphasis was placed on

safety training and on being sure

that the well testers were skilled

in the proper use of the respirators

and of the importance of securing

a good "face seal" despite the

added safety of the "positive

pressure" respirators. In such

devices, air flows out of the mask

if the seal is slightly broken -

rather than ambient air leaking

93

into the "negative pressure." The

very nature of the physical

activity (climbing ladders, opening

hatches, dropping lines into

hatches, etc.) gives rise to a very

substantial risk that even a care-

ful worker may dislodge his mask.

If the seal is broken or is not

fixed properly in the first place,

there is a risk that ambient air

may intrude into the mask. This

court accepts the testimony of the

witnesses who said that the “eddy

effect" can produce an intrusion

despite the "positive pressure"

inside the mask.

Despite the fact that the

precautions taken in the detonating

procedures employed in wire line

testing are designed to prevent

premature explosions (and resultant

injury), the court of appeal[] in

94

Bergeron found wire line testing to

be “ultra hazardous."' This court

sees a clear analogy between

exposing (of necessity) men to the

risks associated with detonation

of explosives and exposing (again,

of necessity) men to highly toxic

gas (such as H2S).

The fact that the common

practice in the industry was not

to have "sight glasses" affixed to

tanks for the purpose of gauging

production levels without opening

a hatch does not mean that the

entire industry is or was negli-

gent. For various sound reasons

which were explained by witnesses,

the procedure utilized in this case

was the common practice in February

of 1987 - and remains so today.

The utility of the endeavor and

the industry's efforts to preclude

95

injury by taking reasonable and

normally effective safety measures

does not preclude a finding that the

activity was ultra hazardous. See

Galligan, Strict Liability in

Action, above.

Having determined that the

activity, "strapping a well" through

the "thief hatch" in well testing a

"sour (H2S) well" is an ultra

hazardous activity, this court must

determine whether the alleged injury

in this case fell within the scope

of the risk. This is a very easy

decision. The danger of H2S exposure

is the danger which makes this

procedure "ultra hazardous" and,

obviously, such exposure is the

primary risk involved.

Thus, Sun Gas, not STOP, was

engaged in an ultra hazardous

activity. It is therefore

yn ng og ae

eee ee Pe ee

Fi ECS Sey TD

96

"absolutely liable" if Steven

Bourque was injured and if such

activity was the cause of Steven

Bourque's injury.

As pointed out by the trial court, an

activity determined to be ultrahazardous

must, among other requirements, relate to

land or some other immovable, and must not

require substandard conduct to cause

injury. The trial court's written reasons

for judgment are silent regarding the

"relate to land" requirement.

Oryx first contends that the well

testing at issue does not relate to land

and therefore cannot constitute an ultra-

hazardous activity. While relation to

land is generally required for a finding

of ultrahazardous liability, such is not

always the case. The ultrahazardous

activity found in Bergeron v. Blake

Drilling & Workover Company, Inc., 599

So.2d 827 (La. App. lst Cir.), writ

97

denied, 605 So.2d 1117, 1119 (La. 1992),

occurred on "a drill barge, a vessel which

was floated to the location in Rice

Bayou." Bergeron, 599 So.2d at 837. The

trial court in Bergeron focused its

ultrahazardous inquiry on the nature of

the activity being conducted, as did this

court on appeal. We find no error in this

analysis.

Oryx further contends that the

testing of a sour well is not an activity

which can cause injury in the absence of

substandard conduct. In other words, it

is Oryx's position that with proper

equipment and proper training, a worker

can safely work in the presence of

hydrogen sulfide and that injury will only

occur when there is substandard conduct or

defective equipment.

Although there is evidence in the

record to support Oryx's position, there

is also evidence which supports the trial

98

court's conclusion that the testing of a

sour well can cause injury even when

conducted with the greatest care. Mr.

Paul Montgomery, an expert in the field of

petroleum engineering, testified at trial

regarding the sufficiency of the safety

equipment being used at the Oryx well. He

also testified that a well test operation

in the presence of hydrogen sulfide with

reported concentrations as high as 5000

ppm is an extremely hazardous operation

which could result in injury even in the

absence of any substandard conduct.

According to Mr. Montgomery, even the

slightest miscalculation or mishap could

result in death. Apparently based on this

testimony, the trial court concluded that

the third element of the ultrahazardous

activity determination had been met. The

determination that the well testing of a

sour well is an activity that can cause

injury even in the absence of substandard

99

conduct constitutes a finding of fact by

the trial court. A court of appeal may

not set aside a trial court's findings of

fact in the absence of "manifest error" or

unless they are “clearly wrong." Stobart

v. State, Department of Transportation and

Development, 617 So.2d 880, 882 (La.

1993). The issue to be resolved by a

reviewing court is not whether the trier

of fact was right or wrong, but whether

the factfinder's conclusion was a reason-

able one. Even though an appellate court

may feel its own evaluations and

inferences are more reasonable than the

factfinder's, reasonably evaluations of

credibility and reasonable inferences of

fact should not be disturbed upon review

where conflict exists in the testimony.

Stobart, 617 So.2d at 882. The rule that

questions of credibility are for the trier

of fact applies to the evaluation of

expert testimony, unless the stated

a

100

reasons of the expert are patently

unsound. Lirette v. State Farm Insurance

Company, 563 So.2d 850, 853 (La. 1990).

In order to reverse a trial court's

factual findings, the documents or

objective evidence in the case must so

contradict the evidence relied upon by the

trial court that a reasonable factfinder

would not credit the itheek Nonethe-

less, the reviewing court must always keep

in mind that if the trial court's findings

are reasonable in light of the record in

its entirety, the appellate court may not

reverse, even if convinced that had it

been sitting as the trier of fact, it

would have weighed the evidence

differently. Stobart, 617 So.2d at

882-883; Frost v. Metropolitan Life

Insurance Company, 93-0753 (La. App. lst

Cir. 4/8/94) 635 So.2d 706, 712, writ

denied, 94-1176 (La. 6/24/94).

101

After reviewing the record, we find a

reasonable basis exists for the trial

court's conclusion that the testing of a

sour well is an activity which can result

in injury even in the absence of

substandard care. Although conflicting

expert testimony was presented to the

trial court, we do not find that the

conflicting evidence so contradicts the

evidence relied upon by the trial court

that a reasonable factfinder would not

credit the evidence.

Because we find that all of the

requirements of an ultrahazardous activity

have been met, we conclude that the trial

court did not manifestly err in finding

that the well testing being conducted in

this case constitutes an ultrahazardous

activity.

This assignment of error is without

merit.

MR. BOURQUE'S EXPOSURE TO HYDROGEN SULFIDE

102

In its assignment of error number

four, Oryx contends that the trial court

committed manifest error in determining

that plaintiff was exposed to hydrogen

sulfide through an undetectable leak in

the face mask caused by the "eddy effect."

With regard to his findings on this

issue, the trial court stated:

The most difficult issues in

this case remain to be resolved.

They obviously are whether Steven

Bourque suffered an exposure to

H2S (by the invasion of the gas

into his face mask) and whether

(and to what extent) he suffered

injury caused by this exposure.

Most of the testimony in this |

case focused the court's attention

on these issues.

Despite the presence of

significant conflicting evidence,

this court finds that the evidence

103

preponderates in favor of a find-

ing that Steven Bourque was

exposed to hydrogen sulfide while

"strapping the tank" at about

10:30 a.m. on February 9, 1987.

Several factors lead this court

to this conclusion. The major

factor is the obvious and un-

questioned presence of hydrogen

sulfide being given off by the

"sour well" at Belle Isle #13

which was being tested. Although

there was a sharp conflict over

whether the concentration of H2S

was in the approximate range of

14,000 as opposed to 1400 ppm

[parts per million] in the test

tank, either amount could produce

serious injury or death. At the

higher concentration, the gas is

even more lethal and an intrusion

of a very small amount of ambient

104

air at that concentration could

produce serious consequences for

a human being who inhaled the gas.

The evidence, while conflicting,

nevertheless clearly shows that

H2S was present in the tank in

concentrations which could produce

the symptoms displayed by Steven

Bourque immediately after inhaling.

The fact that the alleged damage

was as mild as it was in compari-

son to the possible harm from

H2S exposure of higher concentration

is not inconsistent with exposure

even accepting the defendants’

evidence tending to prove the lower

concentration.

The court, as noted earlier,

also accepts the opinion expressed

by plaintiff[s'] witnesses who

testified that a breach of the face

seal of a "positive pressure”

105

respirator mask will sometimes

permit intrusion of ambient air due

to an “eddy effect." This is

certainly a critical finding

because the court does not find

that the Litton SCBA unit being used

by Steven Bourque malfunctioned on

the day in question.

The inability of the defendant

to produce the unit used by Steven

Bourque does not lead the court to

conclude that the unit did not

function properly. Testimony

established that all units provided

by STOP for the Sun Gas well test

at Belle Isle #13 were tested and

found to be in good working order.

After the incident, the unit worn

by Steven Bourque was tested,

among the others, and was found

to be in good operating order.

Further, that unit was used by an

106

employee later that day. Steven

Bourque did not detect any problem

with the unit he was wearing at

the time of the incident. He was

experienced and trained in the

proper use of a SCBA.

The failure of Sun Gas and STOP

to isolate effectively the unit

Steven Bourque was ‘rearing is very

unfortunate. Its absence prevented

Sun Gas from proving that no

intrusion could have occurred even

if the face seal was broken in such

a fashion as would only produce

the alleged "eddy effect" (rather

than a larger breach - which plain-

tiff would have noticed - and which

plaintiff testified did not occur).

The court is also impressed

with the fact that the circumstances

and the symptoms presented by Steve

Bourque led the various assembled

107

other workers, safety technicians,

supervisors, etc. to conclude that

Mr. Bourque had suffered a "hit"

with H2S. What they saw was, in

their minds, consistent with

plaintiffs['] position at trial:

i.e., that he received some degree

of exposure. Although able defense

counsel elicited evidence that

Steven Bourque did not present

certain symptoms - and that some

symptoms, especially dizziness,

were pre-existing complaints in

his military health records, or

could have been produced by

fatigue, the symptoms were

consistent with an exposure to the

level of concentration suggested

by Dr. Alexander, one of the

plaintiff[s'] experts.

If ambient air containing a

fatal concentration of H2S entered

108

the mask due to a breach in the

face seal, the diluting effect of

the "good air" in the mask would

help to protect the SCBA wearer

even though some exposure might

occur. The exposure could not

have been extremely high because

otherwise immediate loss of

consciousness or death would have

occurred.

In this case, Steven Bourque

began to feel "light headed," rolled

up the tape, closed the "thief

hatch" and climbed down the ladder

to a point very close to the barge

deck - and collapsed, causing his

co-workers to come to his rescue.

The court does not believe that

the entire scenario was a "show"

enacted for the purpose of initiating

this action. The evidence convinces

the court that “something” made

109

Steven Bourque feel the necessity

to dismount. He reacted as

responsibly as he could under the

circumstances and got down as

promptly as possible.

His earlier failure to achieve

a good face fit may have some bearing

on this matter. The testimony of the

plaintiff Steven Bourque established

that he initially failed to secure a

good “face fit." He subsequently

adjusted his mask and secured what

he believed was a good face fit.

He did a "negative pressure"

exercise - breathing in with the

mask in place and lowering his

head while shaking his head to

test whether the mask would stay

in place. He thereafter placed

the straps in place to hold the

mask firmly affixed in proper

position. He then proceeded to

ie 7

110

the work barge. Although he felt

on his second try that he had a

good fit, the court finds that the

circumstances, in light of sub-

sequent events, show that his "fit"

did not hold. He testified that

he was unaware of the problem and

was sure that he did not hit an

object causing the mask to be dis-

placed. However, all of the

evidence convinces this court that

the seal must have been broken in

a sufficient degree to permit some

"eddying intrusion" without his

being aware (until symptoms became

apparent) and without permitting

intrusion of a large enough quantity

of the ambient air to cause far more

serious harm.

The determination that Mr. Bourque

was exposed to hydrogen sulfide

constitutes a-finding of fact by the trial

111

court. Again, this factual finding cannot

be set aside on appeal in the absence of

“manifest error" or unless it is "clearly

wrong.'' Stobart, 617 So.2d at 882.

In the instant case, the trial court

was presented with multiple permissible,

although contradictory, views concerning

whether Mr. Bourque was actually exposed

to hydrogen sulfide. Having heard the

contradictory testimony, and reviewing the

objective evidence in the case, the trial

court then evaluated the credibility of

the witnesses and concluded that "the

evidence preponderates in favor of a

finding that Steven Bourque was exposed to

hydrogen sulfide while "strapping the

tank."" The trial court based this finding

on several considerations, including: (1)

the unquestionable presence of hydrogen

sulfide being given off by the sour well,

(2) the expert testimony indicating that a

breach of the face seal of a positive

112

pressure respirator mask, such as the one

worn by Mr. Bourque, will sometimes permit

intrusion of contaminated ambient air due

to the eddy effect, (3) the expert

testimony indicating that the symptoms

exhibited by Mr. Bourque after descending

the tank were consistent with an exposure

to hydrogen sulfide, and (4) the court's

further factual finding that the seal of

Mr. Bourque's mask was broken to a

sufficient degree to allow an intrusion.

After a thorough review of the

record, we find that there are ample,

reasonable bases in the record for the

trial court's finding. We also find no

documents or objective evidence in this

case that so contradict the evidence

relied upon by the trial court that a

reasonable factfinder would not credit the

evidence. Stobart, 617 So.2d at 882. Nor

do we find that the stated reasons for the

expert testimony relied upon by the trial

113

court are patently unsound. As such, the

judgment of the trial court cannot be

reversed on appeal.

This assignment of error is without

merit.

ABSENCE OF LIABILITY ON BEHALF OF STOP

In its assignment of error number

five, Oryx contends that the trial court

erred in finding STOP free from liability.

According to Oryx, if Mr. Bourque was

exposed to hydrogen sulfide because of an

undetectable leak in the mask produced by

the eddy effect, then STOP should be held

liable under La. C.C. arts. 2315 and 2317,

as (1) it was the custodian of a thing

which was unreasonably dangerous in normal

use, i.e., a SCBA unit which could allow

the intrusion of hydrogen sulfide into a

mask without che knowledge of the user,

and (2) it was the only party that was

aware of the eddy effect.

To find a defendant strictly liable

114

under La. C.C. art. 2317, the plaintiff

must prove that (1) the thing which caused

damage was in the defendant's custody and

control (garde); (2) the thing had a vice

or defect which created an unreasonable

risk of harm; and (3) the injuries were

caused by a defect. Socorro v. City of

New Orleans, 579 So.2d 931, 937 (La.

1991). In this case, the trial court

specifically found that the SCBA equipment

provided by STOP was "state of the art"

equipment in the field of well testing and

that the particular unit used by Mr.

Bourque did not malfunction on the day in

question and was in good operating order.

We accept this factual determination which

is supported by the record and is not

manifestly erroneous. Thus, even if STOP

is considered to have maintained the

custody and control of the SCBA equipment

leased to Oryx (which we need not decide),

it is clear that any injuries suffered by

115

Mr. Bourque were not caused by a defect in

the SCBA unit he was wearing because,

according to the factual findings of the

trial court, the unit was not defective.

Absent a finding of a defect which caused

injury, there can be no finding of strict

liability.

Further, the trial court specifically

found that "[t]he evidence presented at

trial revealed no negligence on the part

of either STOP or Sun Gas. There is no

evidence that the equipment furnished by

STOP malfunctioned or that STOP was

negligent in any fashion.” A finding of

negligence, or in this case, the lack

thereof, is a question of fact to be

determined by the trier of fact and will

not be disturbed by a reviewing court in

the absence of manifest error. Berthelot

v. Aetna Casualty and Surety Company, 623

So.2d 14, 21 (La. App. lst Cir. 1993).

Although Oryx claims that the trial

116

court's finding regarding the lack of any

negligence by STOP is manifestly

erroneous, it fails to point to evidence

in the record which indicates negligent

behavior by STOP. A thorough review of

the record by this court reveals that

there is a reasonable factual basis for

the trial court's finding. Thus, it will

not be disturbed on appeal.

This assignment of error is without

merit.

ASSESSMENT OF COMPARATIVE FAULT

TO MR. BOURQUE

Both Oryx and the plaintiffs assign

as error the trial court's assessment of

20% comparative fault to Mr. Bourque. In

its assignment of error number six, Oryx

contends that the 20% comparative fault

assessed to Mr. Bourque was too low in

light of his "awareness of the danger" of

working in an environment wherein there

was a potential for hydrogen sulfide

117

exposure. In contrast, the plaintiffs

contend, in their assignment of error

number one, that Mr. Bourque should have

been found free from comparative fault

since the trial court found that he

performed as he had been trained and that

he responded to the emergency situation as

responsibly.as he could under the

circumstances.

With regard to Mr. Bourque's

comparative fault, the trial court stated:

However, all of the evidence

convinces this court that the

seal must have been broken in

a sufficient degree to permit

some “eddying intrusion" without

his being aware (until symptoms

became apparent) and without

permitting intrusion of a large

enough quantity of the ambient

air to cause far more serious

harm.

118

The only logical explanation

(given the finding that the Litton

SCBA unit was not deficient) is

that Steven Bourque failed to

detect a face mask leak which,

due to the “eddy effect," allowed

an intrusion of H2S contaminated

ambient air. Because securing

and maintaining a face seal is

the responsibility of the wearer

of the SCBA equipment, Steven

Bourque was to some degree at

fault for the condition which led

to his H2S exposure.

Whether principles of

“comparative negligence" should

apply to a case involving

absolute liability is not clear.

While Civil Code Article 2323

refers to injury (loss) suffered

"as the result partly of his own

negligence and partly as a result

119

of the fault of another," absolute

liability does not require a

showing of "fault" in the sense

of requiring proof of negligence.

—Nevertheless, principles of

comparative fault have been

applied in "strict liability"

cases. See Pelt v. City of

DeRidder, 553 So.2d 1097 (La.

App. 3rd Cir. 1989) and the

cases cited therein. See also,

Galligan, Strict Liability in

Action, above. Therefore, the

court feels bound to endeavor to

assess a percentage of "fault["']

to Steven Bourque.

Recognizing the inherent

difficulty in using mathematics

to express a relationship between

the “inattention” of Steven Bourque

(which may easily have been the

product of fatigue), the court

120

finds that his failure to assure

that his mask was properly in place

must be assigned 202% fault in

connection with the "loss"

occasioned to him by the over-

exposure.

Before addressing the percentage of

fault assessed to Mr. Bourque, we find it

necessary to state our views on the

correctness of applying comparative fault

concepts in the context of an

ultrahazardous activity setting. The

Louisiana Supreme Court has already

determined that principles of comparative

fault can be applied in strict products

liability cases. In Bell v. Jet Wheel

Blast, Division of Ervin Industries, 462

So.2d 166, 171 (La. 1985), the court

provided the following policy

justification: "Where the threat of a

reduction in recovery will provide

consumers with an incentive to use a

121

product carefully, without exacting an

inordinate sacrifice of other interests,

comparative principles should be applied

for the sake of accident prevention."

The exa same policy considerations

are at play ein and will cause workers

in the well tescing industry to be careful

for their own safety under a threat of

reduction of recovery. Consequently,

comparative fault principles are

applicable to the wi tvahasiedove activity

at issue in this case.

The allocation of comparative fault

is a factual matter lying within the

discretion of the trial court, and such

determination will not be disturbed on

appeal in the absence of manifest error.

Ly v. State, Department of Public Safety

and Corrections, 633 So.2d 197, 203 (La.

App. lst Cir. 1993), writ denied, 93-3134

(La. 2/25/94) 634 So.2d 835.

122

In Watson v. State Farm Fire and

Casualty Insurance Company, 469 So.2d 967,

974 (La. 1985), the Louisiana Supreme

Court set forth guidelines for

apportioning fault under the doctrine of

comparative fault. The court stated: "In

determining the percentages of fault, the

trier of fact shall consider both the

mature of the conduct of each party at

fault and the extent of the causal

relation between the conduct and the

damages claimed." In assessing the nature

of the conduct of the parties, the court

listed various factors which may influence

the degree of fault assigned, including:

(1) whether the conduct resulted from

inadvertence or involved an awareness of

the danger; (2) the extent of the risk

created by the conduct; (3) the

significance of what was sought by the

conduct; (4) the capacities of the actor,

whether superior or inferior; and (5) any

123

extenuating circumstances which might

require the actor to proceed in haste,

without proper care. Watson, 469 So.2d at

974.

The record establishes that Mr.

Bourque was aware of the dangers involved

in testing a sour well. He had been a

well tester for several years prior to

working on the Oryx well site and had

experience in dealing with potential

exposure to hydrogen sulfide. Considering

his prior safety training background, Mr.

Bourque was also undoubtedly aware of the

necessity of achieving a good face seal

with the SCBA equipment. As noted by the

trial court, the maintenance of a proper

face seal is the responsibility of the

wearer of the SCBA equipment.

On the other hand, it is notable

that, regardless of Mr. Bourque's

awareness, the fact remains that the risk

created by exposure to hydrogen sulfide is

124

great considering the enormous injuries

which can result from a single breath of

the gas. The trial court specifically

found that Mr. Bourque acted responsibly

under the circumstances of the exposure.

After a careful review of the record

and consideration of the Watson factors,

we do not find that the evidence reveals

manifest error in the trial court's

apportionment of 20% fault to Mr. Bourque.

These assignments of error are

without merit.

AWARD FOR LOST EARNING CAPACITY

In its assignment of error number

seven, Oryx contends that the trial court

erred in awarding $150,000.00 to Mr.

Bourque for his loss of earning capacity.

In support of this award, the trial court

concluded "that the exposure to [hydrogen

sulfide] caused Steven Bourque to

experience post-traumatic stress disorder

which has impaired his ability to seek

125

employment as a well tester (or in any

other job requiring him to be exposed to

the dangers normally associated with the

exploration and production of oil and

gas.)"

It is Oryx's position that an award

for lost earning capacity should only be

based on a physical incapacity caused by

activity rather than upon a plaintiff's

"fear" to seek employment in a given

occupation.

An award for loss of earning capacity

is not predicated on the type of injury

suffered by an injured person. Rather,

the award is based on the loss or

reduction of a person's capability to do

that for which he is equipped by nature,

training and experience. Henry v.

National Union Fire Insurance Company, 542

So.2d 102, 106 (La. App. lst Cir. 1989),

writs denied, 544 So.2d 405 (La. 1989).

In the instant case, the trial court

126

determined that Mr. Bourque's post-

traumatic stress disorder impaired his

ability to seek employment in the oil and

gas industry, specifically in positions

which would subject him to the dangers

normally associated with that industry.

The fact that the injury suffered by Mr.

Bourque is primarily of an emotional

character, as opposed to manifesting

itself in a physical manner, does not

negate the fact that his ability to seek

work in his chosen profession is now

hampered. We find no manifest error in

the trial court's award of $150,000.00 for

loss of earning capacity.

This assignment of error is without

merit.

EXPERT WITNESS FEES

In its assignment of error number

eight, Oryx contends that the trial court

erred in assessing $8,000.00 as costs for

the fees of Bruce Held, an expert retained

127

by STOP in the field of respirators and

respiratory protection. Oryx claims that

the award to STOP for Mr. Held's services

should be reduced to $1,500.00,

representing $1,000.00 per day for the one

and one-half days Mr. Held was present at

the trial.

It is well settled that an expert

witness is entitled to reasonable

compensation for his court appearance as

well as for his preparatory work. Gibson

v. Bossier City General Hospital, 594

So.2d 1332, 1345 (La. App. 2d Cir. 1991).

The trial court has the discretion to fix

the amount of the fee; consequently, such

an award will not be altered on appeal

absent a showing of an abuse of dis-

cretion. Autin's Cajun Joint Venture v.

Kroger Company, 93-0320 (La. App. lst Cir.

2/16/94) 637 So.2d 538, 544, writ denied,

94-0674 (La. 4/29/94) 638 So.2d 224;

128

Gibson v. Bossier City General Hospital,

594 So.2d at 1345.

nae.

The record indicates that, in

addition to testifying at the trial, Mr.

Held also conducted testing on SCBA

equipment, reviewed several depositions of

fact witnesses involved in the suit, and

reviewed product literature and operating

manuals regarding SCBA equipment, as well

as some of Pro-Tech's test results, logs,

and documents. He also attended portions

of the trial in order to analyze the

testimony of other witnesses.

Clearly, the trial court found that

STOP was entitled to compensation for more

than simply the time Mr. Held spent

attending the trial. Based on the notable

preparatory work and analysis done by Mr.

Held and his time spent attending and

testifying at the trial, we do not find an

abuse of discretion in the trial court's

assessment of his fee.

129

This assignment of error is without

merit.

GENERAL DAMAGES AND DAMAGES

FOR LOSS OF CONSORTIUM

In their assignment of error number

two, plaintiffs contend that the

$15,000.00 award in general damages to Mr.

Bourque and the $3,000.00 award for loss

of consortium to Mrs. Bourque were grossly

inadequate.

In the assessment of damages, much

discretion is afforded to the trier of

Saee > te. Gib. att:..2324.1, American

Motorist Insurance Company v. American

Rent-All, Inc., 579 So.2d 429, 433 (La.

1991). Recently, in Youn v. Maritime

Overseas Corporation, 623 So.2d 1257, 1261

(La. 1993), cert. denied, Mies =

114 S.Ct. 1059, 127 L.Ed.2d 379 (1994),

the Louisiana Supreme Court noted the

following with regard to the assessment of

general damages:

4

’ aS

130

[T]he discretion vested in the

trier of fact is "great," and

even vast, so that an appellate

court should rarely disturb an

award of general damages.

Reasonable persons frequently

disagree about the measure of

general damages in a particular

case. It is only when the award

is, in either direction, beyond

that which a reasonable trier of

fact could assess for the effects

of the particular injury to the

particular plaintiff under the

particular circumstances that the

appellate court should increase

or reduce the award.

With regard to the general damage

award of $15,000.00 for Mr. Bourque's

physical and mental pain and suffering,

the trial court stated:

131

Quantifying the plaintiff's

damages for the physical,

psychiatric, and emotion disorders

occasioned by his H2S exposure is

difficult. The ill feelings,

nightmares, and emotional trauma

are certainly compensable. The

"discomfort" occasioned by the

exposure was very real to Steven

Bourque. However, the evidence,

as noted earlier, shows that

Steven Bourque had significant

pre-existing problems. Discover-

ing which were "symptoms" of the

post-traumatic stress disorder,

which were aggravated by the dis-

order, and which were merely pre-

existing emotional problems which

continued to manifest themselves,

is very difficult. Understandably,

the defendants emphasized his

record of complaints to the Army

132

medical personnel during his rather

brief and somewhat unsatisfactory

military career.

Considering all of the evidence, the

court is satisfied that the sum of

$15,000.00 is a fair amount.

In the instant case, we cannot say

that the award is below that which a

reasonable trier of fact could assess for

the effects of the particular injury to

this particular plaintiff under the

particular circumstances of this case. As

such, we cannot say that the trial court

abused its discretion in determining that

Mr. Bourque's general damages did not

exceed $15,000.00.

With regard to the $3,000.00 award

made to Mrs. Bourque for loss of

consortium, this court is likewise bound

to uphold the award of the trial court

absent an abuse cf discretion. Mack v.

133

Transport Insurance Company, 577 So.2d

112, 119 (La. App. lst Cir. 1991).

In explaining the award to Mrs.

Bourque, the trial court stated:

{[Mr. Bourque's] disorder

created a disruption of his

relationship with Yvette Bourque.

Although their relations were

good at the time of trial, she

experienced a loss of consortium

during the months Steven Bourque

was endeavoring to reshape his

life following the accident.

kk kK *

Mrs. Yvette Bourque's loss

of consortium is difficult to

evaluate. The evidence portrayed

a somewhat "stormy" relationship

which is apparently better (now

that both have become active

Christians) than the relationship

was prior to the accident. His

134

emotional condition prior to the

accident was less than ideal.

Nevertheless, during the months

following the accident, he was

more violent and difficult to

live with than before. Thus,

Mrs. Bourque is entitled to com-

pensation for the "loss of

consortium" she experienced while

Steven was endeavoring to grapple

with his stress disorder. The

court, recognizing the difficulty

of assessing value, awards

$3,000.00 to Mrs. Bourque.

Mrs. Bourque testified at the trial

that, prior to the accident, she and Mr.

Bourque had a normal marriage wherein both

worked during the week and engaged in

family and recreational activities on the

weekends when Mr. Bourque did not have to

work. However, following the accident,

Mr. Bourque exhibited increased signs of

135

irritability, memory loss, depression, and

impatience which created much difficulty

in the marital relationship. Approximate-

ly six months following the accident, the

Bourques began an active involvement in

church-related activities which has much

improved their marriage.

A thorough reading of the record

indicates that the trial court did not

abuse its discretion in awarding $3,000.00

to Mrs. Bourque for loss of consortium.

This assignment of error is without

merit.

ASSESSMENT OF MOODY COSTS

In their assignment of error number

three, the plaintiffs contend that the

trial court erred when it failed to assess

against Aetna, the workers’ compensation

insurer of Mr. Bourque's employer, its

proportionate share of the costs of

recovery under the rationale of Moody v.

Arabie, 498 So.2d 1081 (La. 1986). The

136

trial court stated in its reasons for

judgment that the motion to tax costs

against Aetna under Moody was denied

because Mr. Bourque elected to draw

benefits under the Longshoremen and Harber

Worker's Compensation Act (LHWCA). We

find that the trial court judgment denying

the motion to tax costs under Moody was

correct.

Plaintiffs argue that federal law

does not apply to Aetna's intervention,

and thus Moody applies under Louisiana law

because: 1) Mr. Bourque is not a covered

employee under the LHWCA; and 2) he filed

suit under Louisiana Workers' Compensation

Law and has chosen since the trial to

receive compensation payments under the

Louisiana Workers' Compensation Law.

In Moody, the plaintiff received

workers’ compensation payments under the

Louisiana Workers' Compensation Law, then

filed suit against third persons for

137

damages and recovered. The employers’

workers' compensation carrier intervened

to recover for the workers' compensation

benefits paid in the Moody case under the

Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Law.

Therein lies the distinguishing factor

between this case and Moody. Im the case

sub judice, Mr. Bourque applied for, and

received, compensation payments under the

LHWCA. He then filed suit under the

Louisiana law. Therefore, although

plaintiffs' suit is governed by Louisiana

law, the employer's recovery in

intervention for payments made to Mr.

Bourque under the LHWCA is governed by

federal law pursuant to the LHWCA.

Federal law is clear that the compensation

intervenor is entitled to full recovery of

monies paid under the LHWCA without a

reduction for its proportionate share of

expenses and attorneys’ fees. Bloomer v.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 445 U.S. 74,

138

100 S.Ct. 925, 63 L.Ed.2d 215 (1980);

Bartholomew v. CNG Producing Co., 862 F.2d

555, 558 (5th Cir. 1989). See also Peters

v. North River Insurance Co., 764 F.2d 306

(5th Cir. 1985).

Bloomer establishes that [under the

LHWCA] the employer is entitled to recoup

from a third-party recovery the entire

amount of the benefits paid without a

reduction for its proportionate share of

the litigation expenses and attorneys'

fees incurred by the worker. The

compensation lien, however, attaches to

the workers’ net recovery. Kerr v.

American Tugs of Venice, 522 So.2d 190,

194 (La. App. 5th Cir.) writ denied, 533

So.2d 372 (La. 1988).

We note that in its reply brief,

Aetna assigned as error the final judgment

which reduced its intervention recovery by

the 202 of fault which was assessed to Mr.

Bourque. However, Aetna neither appealed

139

the trial court judgment nor answered the

appeal. We will not consider complaints

contained in brief as we may not modify

the judgment in Aetna's favor due to its

failure to appeal or answer the appeal.

La. C.C.P. art. 2133. Thomas v. Thomas,

552 So.2d 793, 794 n.1 (La. App. lst Cir.

1989).

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the judgment

of the trial court is affirmed in all

respects. Costs of this appeal are to be

borne equally by the appellants.

AFFIRMED.

140

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF LOUISIANA

YVETTE BOURQUE WIFE OF,

AND STEVE BOURQUE

vs. | NO. 94-C-2738

SUN GAS CO., AND SAFETY

TECHNOLOGY AND OILFIELD

PROTECTORS, INC., ET AL

(ORYX ENERGY COMPANY,

THIRD PARTY PLAINTIFF

AND DEFENDANT-APPELLANT)

IN RE: Oryx Energy Company; -

Defendant(s); Applying for Writ of

Certiorari and/or Review; Parish of St.

Mary 16th Judicial District Court Div. "E"

Number 82,516; to the Court of Appeal,

First Circuit, Number CA93 2213.

January 13, 1995

Denied.

141

HTL

CDK

JPV

JOHNSON, J. not on panel.

Supreme Court of Louisiana

January 13, 1995

/s/ Frans J. LaBranche, Jr.

Clerk of Court

For the Court

142

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Washington, DC 20543

William K. Suter Area Code 202

Clerk of the Court 479-3011

March 30, 1995

Mr. Dennis Stevens

P. O. Drawer 13910

New Iberia, LA 70562-3910

Re: Oryx Energy Company, fna Sun Gas

Company, Inc.

v. Yvette Burque(sic), et vir

Application No. A-721

Dear Mr. Stevens:

The application for an extension of

time within which to file a petition for a

143

writ of certiorari in the above-entitled

case has been presented to Justice Scalia,

who on March 30, 1995, extended the time

to and including June 12, 1995.

This letter has been sent to those

designated on the attached notification

list. le

Sincerely,

WILLIAM K.. SUTER, Clerk

By /s/ Loretta S. Ruffin

Loretta S. Ruffin

Assistant Clerk

NOTIFICATION LIST

Mr. Dennis Stevens

P. O. Drawer 13910

New Iberia, LA 70562-3910

144

Mr. Stephen B. Murray

909 Poydras Street

Suite 2550, LL&E Tower

New Orleans, LA 70112

Stanley P. Lemoine

Court of Appeal of Louisiana

First Circuit

Post Office Box 4408

Baton Rouge, LA 70821

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.