Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Baumgart v. Fairchild Aircraft Corp., 113 S. Ct. 2963 (1993) (No. 92-1700)

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

+ \

ea. a ey Ar :

J y il 7 ¢ —e eee

5, 4 &e BY

No. ay & P Bverorme Court, U8,

IN THE | APR 22 1993

Supreme Court of the United States... |

(ee peer ennserseens or me ae

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

-

GERTRUDE BAUMGART, et al.,

Petitioners,

—V- —_

FAIRCHILD AIRCRAFT CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT Of APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Kreindler & Kreindler

Steven R. Pounian

(Counsel of Record)

Blanca I. Rodriguez

100 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-8181

—and—

Byrd, Davis & Eisenberg

Tom H. Davis

707 West 34th Street

Austin, Texas 78705

Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether in a state wrongful death action removed to

federal court solely as a bankruptcy related matter, the

bankruptcy statutes require the district court to cither retain

jurisdiction or abstain and remand out of comity with the state

court, but preclude forum non conveniens dismissal?

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The following plaintiffs are parties to this proceeding:

Gertrude Baumgart, luge Fiss, Marie-Luise Fricke, Regine

Grigoleit, Erika Haferkorn, Peter Hellmer, Christiane Hennig,

Magret Koeller, Janice Marie Morris, Brigitte Naber, Maric-

Luise Remmers, Elsbeth Roske, Dorothie Schmidt, Roger

Scholz, Fritz-Brown Scholz, Ursula Schubert, Gisela Scll-

mann, Karin Sotonyi, Helga Tennhard, and Kate Winter.

The defendant is Fairchild Aircraft Corporation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PACE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING TF

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES lV

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ARGUMENT

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS

AND THE FEDERAL-STATE CONFLICT CREATED

WHEN THE DISTRICT COURT BELOW DECLINED

JURISDICTION AND GRANTED A DISMISSAL

BARRED IN STATE COURT UNDER A RULING

OF THE HIGHEST TEXAS COURT RATHER THAN

ABSTAIN AND REMAND UNDER THE COMITY

PRINCIPLES EMBODIED IN THE BANKRUPTCY

STATUTES ..

CONCLUSION .

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

A.H. Robins Co. v. Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994 (4th Cir.

PEE kee Milka even EEN ORLA Ke eer 6, 7

Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48 (1979) ...000........ 12

Dow Chemical Co. v. Alfaro, 786 S.W.2d 674 (Tex.

RPO Kev eL cE CKN er oo vs eA RCAe Ee alee reek ere rete 3,10

Foust v. Munson Steamship Lines, 299 U.S. 77 (1936)... 9

In re Arnold Print Works, Inc., 815 F.2d 165 (1st Cir.

In re Brady, Texas Municipal Gas Corp., 936 F.2d 212

CO eC RUE R Cv ceed ivecas thane: Copier. awe 5

In re Pan American Corp., 950 F.2d 839 (2d Cir.

FPR ERLE e RAR Ces Laas cotabe cae eee teehee verre 6,8,9

In re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270 (6th Cir. 1985) .6, 7

Northern Pipeline Construction Co. v. Marathon Pipe

CaN SO Sw ce PED ois kc Se esa scderineuvenes 8

Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, 481 U.S. 1 (1987) ............ 10, 11

United States v. National City Lines, Inc., 334 U.S. 573

RW a bik a hicecdecoukabueueseinsadueryenceemeeesa oes 12

younger v. arriz, GOI U.S. ST CVSTT) «civ casievscccnes 1]

Statutes

Re ee RN os oe Cl ees aa eek tenes 8

Pe as Oe ROPE < hcicnckncedeieshs fesekeenbeavns 2,6,7,8

AA es OO a oar etn er er wpek eeu eee eet ee ]

V

ee a cs eR ks hs vaseees poh veneers

ps ee Ga | ener Peer Sree mares ime mr eRe “han!

cB oe wR py |) er terre ears cere rare eee

\

co BS ae | eer er eer er oe errr rey aor

2 Pie eM eae es | rr ee err ry a

Legislative History

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. SI (1977),

reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

5963

130 Cong. Rec. S6089 (May 21, 1984) (Sen. Hatch). ....

130 Cong. Rec. $7157 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. Dole)....

130 Cong. Rec. S7619 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. Heflin)...

130 Cong. Rec. $7620 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. DeConcini).

130 Cong. Rec. $7623 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. Hatch) ..

130 Cong. Rec. H7492 (June 24, 1984) (Rep. Kasten-

WUEOBER conv ca ons hey 0 95 20 0h tent adcse ben enau eee en

130 Cong. Rec. $8890 (June 29, 1984) (Sen. Dole)......

Y

9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

, No.

Qe

GERTRUDE BAUMGART, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.-

FAIRCHILD AIRCRAFT CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

at

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

(la)! is reported at 981 F.2d 824 (Sth Cir. 1993). It affirmed an

unreported district court opinion. (22a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on Jan-

uary 22, 1993. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

l References herein to “___a”™ are to pages in the appendix of this

petition.

rN

PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 157 Procedures

(b)(S) The district court shall order that personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims shall be tried in the district court in

which the bankruptcy case is pending, or in the district court in

the district in which the claim arose, as determined by the dis-

trict court in which the bankruptcy case is pending.

28 U.S.C. § 1334

Bankruptcy cases and proceedings

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the

district courts shall have original and exclusive jurisdiction of

all cases under title 11.

(b) Notwithstanding any Act of Congress that confers exclu-

Sive jurisdiction On a court or courts other than the district

courts, the district courts shall have original but not exclusive

jurisdiction of all civil proceedings arising under title 11, or

arising in or related to cases under title 11.

(c)(1) Nothing in this section prevents a district court in the

interest of justice, or in the interest of comity with State courts

or respect for State law, from abstaining from hearing a par-

ticular proceeding arising under title 11 or arising in or related

to a case under title 11.

28 U.S.C. § 1452

Removal of claims related to bankruptcy cases

(b) The court to which such claim or cause of action is

removed may remand such claim or cause of action on any

equitable ground.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In January 1990, the plaintiffs filed nineteen wrongful death

actions in the Bexar County, Texas court against the defendant

arising from the 1988 crash of a Fairchild Metroliner aircraft

in Germany. Plaintiffs alleged that the crash was caused by the

plane’s defectively manufactured electrical system. The suits

were brought under a Texas Statute, Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem.

Code § 71, which provided a state cause of action against a

Texas company for the death of a forcign citizen occurring

abroad. The defendant was headquartered in Texas and

designed, manufactured and sold the subject aircraft there.

Three weeks after suit, defendant filed a bankruptcy pro-

ceeding in the federal court below, the Western District of

Texas. One weck later, the defendant answered the plaintiffs’

claims in the Bexar County court, alleging a forum non con-

veniens defense.

In March 1990, the Texas Supreme Court squarely held ina

case precisely on point that in actions brought under Tex. Civ.

Prac. & Rem. Code § 71, forum non conveniens was inappli-

cable as a matter of law. Dow Chemical Co. v. Alfaro, 786

S.W.2d 674 (Tex. 1990).

In April 1990, the defendant removed these actions to the

Western District of Texas as related to its bankruptcy

proceeding.

The plaintiffs promptly moved the federal court to abstain

and remand the cases to Texas court. In their motion, all plain-

tiffs agreed to limit their claims to defendant's insurance

coverage.

The district court, adopting a report and recommendation of

the bankruptcy court judge, denied plaintiffs’ motion and held

that under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5), “the wrongful death claims

shall be tried in the district in which the bankruptcy case is

pending.”

With plaintiffs’ consent, the bankruptcy court promptly con-

firmed defendant’s reorganization plan and limited plaintiffs’

recovery to the liability insurance coverage.

4

The defendant then moved the district court to decline

bankruptcy jurisdiction and grant forum non conveniens dis-

missal. Plaintiffs opposed, claiming the district court had only

two alternatives under the bankruptcy statutes: either exercise

its bankruptcy jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) and try

the cases, or abstain and remand the cases to state court under

28 U.S.C. §§ 1334(c)(1) and 1452(b).? Plaintiffs also renewed

their motion to abstain and remand, arguing that following

adoption of the reorganization plan, bankruptcy jurisdiction

was no longer needed.

On September 30, 1991, a new district court judge was

assigned to the case and granted the defendant's dismissal

motion that day. (22a). The court agreed that there was no

longer any need for bankruptcy jurisdiction over these cases.

(23a-24a). But rather than abstain in deference to the state

court, the court dismissed under the forum non conveniens doc-

trine. The decision did not address plaintiffs’ motion to abstain

and remand to Texas state court, or their arguments that dis-

missal was barred by the bankruptcy law, principles of federal-

State comity and the Alfaro decision of the Texas Supreme

Court.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

affirmed on January 22, 1993 and held that 28 U.S.C.

§ 157(b)(S) did not preclude forum non conveniens dismissal.

Baumgart v. Fairchild Aircraft Corporation, 981 F.2d 824 (Sth

Cir. 1993); (1a). The decision did not address plaintiffs’ claim

that abstention and remand to the Texas state court was the sole

option to trial in the district court. /d. at 834-35; (16a).

Plaintiffs petition this Court for a writ of certiorari.

2 Plaintiffs also claimed that Texas was not an inconvenient forum to

the defendant, because it defectively designed, manufactured and sold the air-

craft in Texas; post-crash testing was conducted by the defendant at its San

Antonio headquarters; numerous witnesses and documents were located in

Texas; the United States F.A.A. Ft. Worth office investigated the disaster and

issued a key Airworthiness Directive to prevent a similar electrical failure;

and the lead German government investigator agreed to appear at trial in

Texas,

5

ARGUMENT

THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS AND

THE FEDERAL-STATE CONFLICT CREATED WHEN

THE DISTRICT COURT BELOW DECLINED JURIS-

DICTION AND GRANTED A DISMISSAL BARRED IN

STATE COURT UNDER A RULING OF THE HIGH-

EST TEXAS COURT RATHER THAN ABSTAIN

AND REMAND UNDER THE COMITY PRINCIPLES

EMBODIED IN THE BANKRUPTCY STATUTES.

Certiorari should be granted because the decision below is

the first to conflict with the abstention and trial venue provi-

sions of the bankruptcy law, and conflicts with the Second,

Fourth and Sixth Circuits. Certiorari is also needed to settle

a federal-state conflict created when the decision below

allowed defendant to use its bankruptcy to remove state court

actions and obtain forum non conveniens dismissal contrary

to a Texas statute and ruling on point of the Texas Supreme

‘Court. The decision below offends principles of federalism and

comity with state courts incorporated in the bankruptcy law.

The decision sanctions the unwarranted intrusion of federal

courts into state court practice under the guise of bankruptcy

jurisdiction.

Bankruptcy law establishes a unique jurisdictional scheme

which reconciles the need for unitary federal authority over

competing claims to a debtor’s limited estate with comity for

the state courts and state causes of action. The federal district

court has exclusive jurisdiction over the debtor’s bankruptcy

petition. 28 U.S.C. 1334(a). The state and federal courts share

concurrent jurisdiction in civil actions brought against the

debtor, including wrongful death and personal injury cases,

which are termed “bankruptcy related cases”. 28 U.S.C.

1334(b); see In re Brady, Texas Municipal Gas Corp., 936 F.2d

212, 218 (Sth Cir. 1991) (“In. . . matters arising in or related

6

to title 11 cases, unless the Code provides otherwise, state

courts have concurrent jurisdiction. . .").

When a debtor removes state court death and injury actions

based on its bankruptcy proceeding, the Code provides that the

district court where the bankruptcy is pending has two choices.

The court may cither: (1) retain federal jurisdiction, in which

case 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) mandates that the district court

where the bankruptcy is pending “shall order” that the claims

“shall be tried” either in its own district or in the federal court

where the action arose; or (2) decline bankruptcy jurisdiction

by statutory abstention under 28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1) “in the

interest Of justice, or in the interest of comity with State courts

or respect for State law. . .” and remand the cases to the state

court under 28 U.S.C. § 1452(b).

The decision below conflicts with the Second, Fourth and

Sixth Circuits which ruled that, absent § 1334(c)(1) abstention

in deference to the state court, § 157(b)(5) mandates trial of

bankruptcy related actions in one of two specified federal dis-

trict courts.

The Second Circuit held that “section 157(b)(5) has con-

sistently been construed to recognize discretion in district

courts to leave personal injury cases where they are pending.

, and . . . ‘where abstention does not occur’. . . the

requirement for adjudication in a district court take|s| effect”.

In re Pan American Corp., 950 F.2d 839, 844 (2d Cir. 1991),

quoting, In re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270, 273 (6th Cir.

1985).

The Fourth Circuit ruled that 157(b)(5) “was drafted to cover

. a special group of cases, to wit, personal injury tort

claims . . . and in that connection the section is supreme.”

A.H. Robins Co. v. Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994, 1011 (4th Cir.

1986). Piccinin held that where abstention is not granted,

§ 157(b)(S) overrides 28 U.S.C. § 1412, the bankruptcy forum

non conveniens Statute, which permits transfer to other district

courts. /d. at 1010-11.

The Sixth Circuit held:

only “where abstention does not occur” will the require-

ment for adjudication in a district court take effect.

[T]he conferees contemplated that in liquidating tort cases

in bankruptcy, the district court would first decide

whether it should leave the cases with respect to which

claims have been filed in the bankruptcy court in the

courts in which they are pending and then, if it decides

against this course, the district court must try the cases

itself or send them to the federal court for the district in

which they arose.

In re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270, 273 (6th Cir. 1985)

(emphasis added), citing 130 Cong. Rec. S8889 (June 29, 1984)

(Sen. Dole).

Section 157(b)(S) was drafted to permit the district court to

consolidate and resolve all state court tort claims against a

debtor's estate in a single federal forum. /n re Arnold Print

Works, Inc., 815 F.2d 165, 167 (1st Cir. 1987) (§ 157(b)(S)

made “it possible to the extent constitutionally permissible to

hear matters relating to a single bankruptcy in a single

forum.”); A.H. Robins v. Piccinin, supra, 788 F.2d at 1011,

quoting 130 Cong. Rec. H7492 (June 24, 1984) (Rep. Kas-

tenmeier) (“[t}he purpose of [157(b)(S)] . . . was, as Con-

gressman Kastenmeiecr declared, to centralize the admin-

istration of the estate and to eliminate the ‘multiplicity of

forums for the adjudication of parts of a bankruptcy case’ "’).

A single federal bankruptcy forum, however, was not needed

for all tort cases and Congress desired to protect the states’

interests in having state courts handle private disputes. Absten-

tion was incorporated to allow state court cases which do not

adversely impact the bankruptcy proceedings to continue with-

out federal court interference. According to the 1977 House of

Representatives report on the original bankruptcy abstention

statute,? abstention was provided “to insure that the jurisdiction

3 § 1334(c)(1) “is substantially the same as former section 1471(d) of

title 28 ... . [and] the legislative history of former section 1471(d)

& ;

of the bankruptcy court is exercised only when appropriate to

the expeditious disposition of bankruptcy cases. . . .” H.R.

Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 51 (1977), reprinted in

1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5963, 6012.

In 1984, Congress redrafted the Code in response to this

Court's decision in Northern Pipeline Construction Co. vy.

Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50 (1982). A provision

requiring mandatory abstention of all state tort claims was con-

sidered because of concerns that bankruptcy jurisdiction over

State tort actions was improvident or unconstitutional. Manda-

tory abstention, however, was rejected as “too broad, in that it

prohibited the bankruptcy courts or district courts from con-

sidering any case that was based upon a State law claim.” 130

Cong. Rec. $8890 (June 29, 1984) (Sen. Dole).* Senator Dole

observed that § 157(b)(S) and 1334(c)(1) represented a “com-

promise” which gave the district court the choice of federal

court trial or permissive abstention in deference to the state

court:

The Senate conferees reached a fair compromise on this

issue. The result of the Conference discussion was a pro-

vision that preserves the integrity of bankruptcy juris-

diction while allowing abstention for personal injury cases

where they can be timely adjudicated in State courts. In

addition, where abstention does not occur, those cases will

be handled by the district court where the bankruptcy has

been filed or, if that court finds it appropriate, where the

claim arose.

Ibid.

The Congressional history of the Code’s abstention provision

is replete with references to the importance of federalism and

remains an important reference when construing its successor.” /n re Pan

American Corp., 950 F.2d 839, 845 (2d Cir. 1991).

4 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(4) provides that “[nJon-core proceedings under

section 157(b)(2)(B) [i.e., personal injury and death claims} . . . shall not

be subject to the mandatory abstention provisions of section 1334(c)(2).”

Y

federal-state comity. That history also demonstrates that

abstention was provided to allow district courts to defer to state

courts to decide state claims when a unitary bankruptcy forum

was not needed; to promote timely adjudication of state claims;

and to avoid burdening the federal courts with state tort claims

only tangentially related to a bankruptcy.°

Abstention and remand were appropriate herein because

plaintiffs’ claims were limited to Fairchild’s insurance cover-

age and thus did not impact other creditors’ claims to debtor's

estate. See Foust v. Munson Steamship Lines, 299 U.S. 77, 79-

80 (1936) (reversed lower courts’ refusal to lift bankruptcy stay

of death claim where “debtor is covered by liability insurance

. the stay is unjust to the surviving father, gives no advan-

tage to the debtor and benefits only the insurer.”). There was no

bankruptcy interest which required that federal jurisdiction

over these state claims be maintained. If a bankruptcy interest

required federal jurisdiction, a district court trial was man-

dated.

The decisions below violate the federal-state comily prin-

ciples embodied in the bankruptcy law. Texas clearly asserted

5 In discussing abstention, Senator Dole stated that “comity between

Federal and State courts depends upon the mutual respect that each of those

divisions of the national judiciary has for the jurisdiction of the other.” 130

Cong. Rec. $7157 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. Dole), quoted in, In re Pan Ameri.

can Corp., 950 F.2d 839, 846 (2d Cir. 1991). Senator Heflin spoke in favor

of abstention, explaining that “I certainly am for continuing our great system

of federalism in this country and not for the creation of an all powerful Fed-

eral bankruptcy system.” 130 Cong. Rec. $7619 (June 19, 1984) (Sen.

Heflin). Senator Hatch urged “respect for State court processes”, observed

that “federalism and respect for State court processes are important values

even if there is some slight cost in terms of efficiency . . .” and that the

“full exercise” of bankruptcy jurisdiction “may congest bankruptcy courts

with state law issues tangentially related to a bankruptcy.” 130 Cong. Rec.

$6089, $7623 (May 21, 1984, June 19, 1984) (Sen. Hatch). Senator

DeConcini observed that “timely State court adjudication . . . will not nor-

mally threaten the administration of the bankruptcy case.” 130 Cong. Rec

$7620 (June 19, 1984) (Sen. DeConcin1).

2

10

its State interest in giving foreign citizens a Texas forum to

bring death and injury claims against Texas defendants. In Dow

Chemical Co. v. Alfaro, 786 S.W.2d 674 (Tex. 1990), the Texas

Supreme Court declared that the forum non conveniens doctrine

was Statutorily abolished in cases governed by Tex. Civ. Prac.

Rem. Code § 71, which provided a cause of action for foreign

citizens injured abroad by Texas defendants.* The Texas

Supreme Court found that the rejection of forum non conve-

niens was a longstanding policy first adopted by the Texas leg-

islature in 1913. Alfaro, supra, 786 S.W.2d at 677-78.

Fairchild used its bankruptcy filing to remove these cases to

federal court three weeks after the Alfaro decision for the

admitted purpose of seeking forum non conveniens dismissal

not available in state court. Rather than curb the effect of

bankruptcy jurisdiction on state actions, as Congress intended,

the decisions below seriously undermine federalism and the

integrity of the Texas state court system by approving the

defendant's use of bankruptcy jurisdiction to circumvent a

Texas statute and a Texas Supreme Court opinion.

In Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, 481 U.S. 1 (1987), this Court

applied non-statutory abstention in a federal civil rights action

brought to enjoin application of Texas judgment execution pro-

cedures in a Texas state court case. Pennzoil observed that

“(t}]his Court repeatedly has recognized that the States have

important interests in administering certain aspects of their

judicial systems.” /d. at 12-13. The Court granted abstention to

uphold the Texas state court procedure based on

the notion of ‘comity,’ that is a proper respect for state

functions, a recognition of the fact that the entire country

6 Section 71.031 of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code pro-

vides in part:

An action for damages for the death or personal injury of a citizen of

this state, of the United States, or of a foreign country may be enforced

in the courts of this state, although the wrongful act, neglect or default

causing the death or injury takes place in a foreign state or country.

1]

is made up of a Union of separate state governments, and

a continuance of the belief that the National Government

will fare best if the States and their institutions are left

free to perform their separate functions in their separate

ways. . . . [T]he concept . . . represent([s] . . . a sys-

tem in which there is sensitivity to the legitimate interests

of both State and National Governments, and in which the

National Government, anxious though it may be to vin-

dicate and protect federal rights and federal interests,

always endeavors to do so in ways that will not unduly

interfere with the legitimate activities of the States.

Id. at 10, quoting Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 44 (1971).

)

Congress expressly intended to protect these same state

interests in bankruptcy-related cases by adopting statutory

abstention and remand. This Court has observed that “[s]ince

the beginning of this country’s history Congress has, subject to

few exceptions, manifested a desire to permit state courts to try

State cases free from interference by federal courts.” Younger

v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 43 (1971).

The decisions below failed to consider the substantial Texas

State interests implicated herein. By dismissing the cases rather

than abstaining after conceding that federal bankruptcy juris-

diction was no longer needed, “[b]Joth the District Court and

the Court of Appeals failed to recognize the significant inter-

ests harmed by their unprecedented intrusion into the Texas

judicial system.” Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, supra, 481 U.S. at 14.

The application of the forum non conveniens doctrine below

was not only unprecedented but illogicai, because federal juris-

diction was based on an action voluntarily filed by the defen-

dant in the Western District of Texas. Equity bars a defendant

who creates federal jurisdiction by filing a bankruptcy petition

from asking the court to decline that jurisdiction to dismiss

plaintiffs’ removed state court actions. Indeed, to petitioners’

knowledge, no court has ever granted forum non conveniens

CCC

12

dismissal to the party that filed the action which established

federal jurisdiction.

Moreover, this Court has ruled that bankruptcy law should be

applied “to discourage forum shopping, and to prevent a party

from receiving ‘a windfall merely by reason of the happen-

stance of bankruptcy.’ ” Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48,

55 (1979).

This Court has also recognized that forum non conveniens “is

not a principle of universal applicability.” United States vy.

National City Lines, Inc., 334 U.S. 573, 596-97 (1948). In

National City Lines, the Court held that the purpose of federal

antitrust statutes would be defeated “by application of the dis-

cretionary power comprehended by forum non conveniens.” Id.

at 586. Likewise, the purpose of exercising bankruptcy juris-

diction Over state tort claims was defeated by the dismissal

below.

The Fifth Circuit overlooked the unique nature of bankruptcy

Jurisdiction over state tort claims. Unlike other forms of gen-

eral federal jurisdiction, bankruptcy jurisdiction is exercised

for a limited purpose based on the status of the defendant-

debtor. A unitary federal bankruptcy forum is available if

needed. But once the district court handling the bankruptcy

concludes that the claim will have no impact on the defendant

as a debtor in bankruptcy, bankruptcy jurisdiction is unwar-

ranted. In such cases, Congress has provided abstention and

remand in deference to the state court. This unique Congres-

sional scheme of broad federal bankruptcy jurisdiction tem-

pered with abstention and remand in cases that will not

Significantly impact the bankruptcy ensures protection of

debtors and creditors while preserving the important principles

of federalism and comity. Those principles were violated here.

13

CONCLUSION

Certiorari should be granted to review the decision below.

Dated: April 22, 1993

Respectfully submitted,

Kreindler & Kreindler

Steven R. Pounian

(Counsel of Record)

Blanca I. Rodriguez

100 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-8181

—and—

Byrd, Davis & Eisenberg

Tom H. Davis

707 West 34th Street

Austin, Texas 78705

Attorneys for Petitioners

y a

APPENDIX

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-5784

Jan. 22, 1993

7

Gertrude BAUMGART, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

—V —

FAIRCHILD AIRCRAFT CORPORATION and

Swearingen Aviation Corporation,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas

7

Before:

REYNALDO G. GARZA, GARWOOD, Circuit Judges, and

WERLEIN*, District Judge.

Ai

WERLEIN, District Judge:

These consolidated cases arise from the crash near Kettwig,

Germany of a Fairchild Metroliner III Aircraft owned and oper-

ated by Nureriburger Flugdienst (““NFD”), a German airline.

Plaintiffs are nineteen German citizens who originally sought

recompense for their injuries in the Texas state courts.

Defendant Fairchild Aircraft Corporation (“Fairchild”), after

filing a Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition in the United States

Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Texas, removed

* District Judge of the Southem Diswict of Texas, sitting by designation

2a

all nineteen cases to federal court. Fairchild then moved the

court to dismiss the cases under the doctrine of forum non con-

veniens, arguing that Germany is the proper forum for the res-

olution of Plaintiffs’ claims. Fairchild’s motion was granted,

and Plaintiffs appealed.

The major issue on appeal is whether the Bankruptcy

Amendments and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984, 28 U.S.C.

§ 157(b)(S), prohibits the district court from dismissing under

the doctrine of forum non conveniens a bankruptcy-related

wrongful death case that arose in a foreign country. We hold

that the Act does not prohibit a forum non conveniens dis-

missal.

I. FACTS

On February 8, 1988, a Fairchild Metroliner III Aircraft,

owned by the German airline NFD and operated as NFD Flight

108, was making a regularly scheduled flight from Hanover

Airport in Hanover, Germany to Lohausen Airport in

Dusseldorf, Germany. Approximately seven nautical miles

away from landing, the aircraft was struck by lightning, lost

electrical power, entered an uncontrolled descent, and flew in

and out of the clouds for several minutes before finally crash-

ing near Kettwig, Germany. The two pilots and all nineteen

passengers perished.

Personal representatives of the deceased passengers, all of

them citizens and residents of Germany, filed nineteen separate

lawsuits against Fairchild! in sixteen different state district

courts of Bexar County, Texas, alleging causes of action based

on strict liability, breach of warranty, and negligence. Plaintiffs

sought damages for wrongful death and survival, pre-judgment

interest, and exemplary damages under Texas state law.

| Appellants also sued Swearingen Aviation Corporation

(“Swearingen”), the predecessor in interest to Fairchild. Although Swearingen

is named as a defendant in this action, the parties have advised the Court that

Swearingen no longer exists as a corporate entity.

3a

Fairchild, for reasons unrelated to the personal injury suits,’

filed a voluntary Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition in the United

States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Texas.

Fairchild subsequently removed all nineteen state court actions

to the bankruptcy court, alleging that the actions related to its

bankruptcy proceeding as contemplated by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(b).

Plaintiffs, in turn, moved for discretionary abstention under

28 U.S.C. § 1334(c)(1) or, alternatively, for remand of the nine-

teen Cases to state court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1452(b). The

Honorable Emilio M. Garza, then United States District Judge,

after conducting a de novo review of the Bankruptcy Judge’s

recommendation that Plaintiffs’ motion be denied, adopted the

recommendation in its entirety. The Court consolidated all

nineteen actions in the district court and issued an Order lift-

ing the automatic stay imposed by 11 U.S.C. § 362.

Fairchild then moved to dismiss the consolidated cases on

the grounds of forum non conveniens, alleging that Plaintiffs’

home country of Germany where the airline crash occurred is

the proper forum for the resolution of Plaintiffs’ claims.

Plaintiffs replied that 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(S) deprived the dis-

trict court of any discretion to dismiss bankruptcy-related

wrongful death action pursuant to the doctrine of forum non

conveniens. The Honorable Edward C. Prado, United States

District Judge, dismissed the consolidated cases and ordered

Plaintiffs to file suit in Germany within 120 days.’ It is from

this ruling granting Fairchild’s Motion to Dismiss that

Plaintiffs now appeal.

2 Fairchild cites “infighting among Fairchild’s competing shareholder

groups [leading] to severe lapses in management, followed by layoffs, and

eventual pressure from the company's principal lender, Sanwa Business

Credit,” as the reason for Fairchild’s Chapter 11 filing.

3 By Order dated September 30, 1991, Judge Prado granted Plaintiffs’

request that the 120-day time limit for filing the acuons in Germany be stayed

pending the outcome of this appeal.

4a

Il. DISCUSSION

A court's authority to effect foreign transfers through the

doctrine of forum non conveniens “derives from the court's

inherent power, under Article III of the Constitution, to control

the administration of the litigation before it and to prevent its

process from becoming an instrument of abuse, injustice, or

oppression.” /n re Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, La.,

821 F.2d 1147, 1155 (Sth Cir.1987), aff'd in part, vacated in

part, 490 U.S. 1032, 109 S.Ct. 1928, 104 L.Ed.2d 400 (1989),

vacated sub nom. Pan Am World Airways, Inc. v. Lopez, 883

F.2d 17 (Sth Cir.1989), citing Koster v. Lumbermens Mut. Cas.

Co., 330 U.S. 518, 530, 67 S.Ct. 828, 835, 91 L.Ed. 1067

(1947). Through this power a federal trial court may decline to

exercise its jurisdiction, even though the court has jurisdiction

and venue, when it appears that the convenience of the parties

and the court and the interests of justice indicate that the action

should be tried in another forum. /d., citing Piper Aircraft Co.

v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 250, 102 S.Ct. 252, 263, 70 L.Ed.2d

419 (1981); Koster, 330 U.S. at 530, 67 S.Ct. at 835; Gulf Ou

Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 507, 67 S.Ct. 839, 842, 91

L.Ed. 1055 (1947).

The court's interest in controlling a crowded docket also pro-

vides a basis for the court’s inherent power to dismiss on

grounds of forum non conveniens: “the ‘chosen forum is inap-

propriate because of considerations affecting the court’s own

administrative and legal problems’ ” /d., citing Reyno, 454 U.S.

at 241, 102 S.Ct. at 258 (quoting Koster, 330 U.S. at 524, 67

S.Ct. at 831). “Administrative difficulties follow for courts

when litigation is piled up in congested centers instead of being

handled at its origin. Jury duty is a burden that ought not to be

imposed upon the people of a community which has no relation

to the litigation.” /d., citing Gulf Oil Corp., 330 U.S. at 590-91,

67 S.Ct. at 921. Although the doctrine “arose in the areas of

admiralty and equity,” this Court has observed that the doctrine

“is now applied in a wide spectrum of cases in both federal and

state courts.” /d., citing Syndicate 420 at Lloyd's London v.

Early American Ins. Co., 796 F.2d 821, 825 (Sth Cir.1986)

Sa

(maritime insurance contracts case); Watson v. Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, 769 F.2d 354, 359-60 (6th Cir.1985) (strict

liability pharmaceuticals case).

After examining the cases spawned by the crash in Germany

of NFD Flight 108, the district court determined that the con-

venience of the parties and the court and the interests of justice

would be better served if the wrongful death actions were tried

in Germany. While Appellants also take issue with the district

court’s findings as a substantive matter, Appellants’ primary

focus is their legal argument that the doctrine of forum non

conveniens is not available to district courts in bankruptcy-

related wrongful death actions. Appellants contend that the

Statutory language and legislative purpose of 28 U.S.C.

§ 157(b)(5) are inconsistent with and thus preclude a forum non

conveniens dismissal. The question appears to be one of first

impression.

A. Effect of § 157(b)(S) on the Doctrine of Forum Non

Conveniens

Title 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(S) provides that

{t]he district court shall order that personal injury tort and

wrongful death claims shall be tried in the district court in

which the bankruptcy case is pending, or in the district

court in the district in which the claim arose, as deter-

mined by the district court in which the bankruptcy is

pending.

28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(S5) (West 1991). Appellants insist that the

plain meaning and legislative history of the words, “|w]rong-

ful death claims shall be tried in the district court. . . .,” ren-

der the doctrine of forum non conveniens inapplicable to

bankruptcy-related wrongful death cases. Thus, argue

Appellants, the district court is required to try these cases even

if the convenience of the parties and the ends of justice would

be better served by hearing the cases in a foreign forum in

which the claims arose.

Although Appellants are correct in stating that the United

States Supreme Court and this Court have held that the doctrine

6a

of forum non conveniens is inapplicable when the language and

legislative purpose of a statute are inconsistent with forum non

conveniens dismissal, the cases cited by Appellants for appli-

cation of this proposition are quite different from the case at

bar. United States v. National City Lines, Inc., 334 U.S. 573,

596, 68 S.Ct. 1169, 1181, 92 L.Ed. 1584 (1948) (“National

City Lines I”), held that a district court could not employ the

doctrine of forum non conveniens to accomplish a domestic

transfer of venue in an antitrust suit. The National City Lines

Cases, as well as the third case cited by Appellants, /ndustrial

Investment Development Corp. v. Mitsui & Co., 671 F.2d 876

(Sth Cir.1982), vacated on other grounds, 460 U.S. 1007, 103

S.Ct. 1244, 75 L.Ed.2d 475 (1983) (a case also involving vio-

lations of the Sherman Act),° apply only in the limited context

of antitrust actions. As explained in Kempe, there is a “crucial

point” of difference between antitrust suits and other types of

cases:

4 National City Lines 1 was decided before Congress enacted 28 U.S.C.

§ 1404(a), which specifically authorized the district court, “[fJor the conve-

nience of parties and witnesses, and in the interest if justice,” to transfer civil

acuions “to any other district or division where it might have been brought.” 28

U.S.C. § 1404(a) (West 1991). As noted by this Court in Kempe v. Ocean

Drilling & Exploration Co., 876 F.2d 1138 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S.

918, 110 S.Ct. 279, 107 L.Ed.2d 259 (1989):

{ijn light of the new congressional mandate regarding transfers

[§ 1404(a)], the Supreme Court allowed the [National City Lines 1|

case to be transferred to another court on later petition. United States

Nat'l City Lines, Inc., 337 U.S. 78 [69 S.Ct. 955, L.Ed. 1226] (1949)

(National City Lines 11). In that later case, the Court did not indicate

what result it would reach in a case where application of the forum

non conveniens doctrine would lead to dismissal of a Sherman Act

case in favor of a foreign forum. Such a situation is not covered by

section 1404, which preserves the action, albeit in a different federal

venue.

Id. at 1144.

5 The statute at issue in both National City Lines and Mitsui is 15

U.S.C. § 22, which provides: “any suit . . . under the antitrust laws against

a corporation may be brought not only in the judicial district whereof it is an

inhabitant, but also in any district wherein it may be found or transacts busi-

ness.”

a

7a

[A }ntitrust cases are unlike litigation involving contracts,

torts, or other matters recognized in some form in every

nation. A plaintiff who seeks relief by means of one of

these types of actions may appropriately be sent to the

courts Of another nation where presumably he will be

granted, at least approximately, what he is due. But the

antitrust laws of the United States embody a specific con-

gressional purpose to encourage the bringing of private

claims in the American courts in order that the national

policy against monopoly may be vindicated. To relegate a

plaintiff to the courts of a nation which does not recognize

these antitrust principles would be to defeat this con-

gressional direction by means of a wholly inappropriate

procedural device.

Kempe, 876 F.2d at 1142-1143, quoting Laker Airways Ltd. v.

Pan American World Airways, 568 F.Supp. 811, 818

(D.D.C.1983) [emphasis added]. These same concerns were

present in Mitsui, in which the court determined that Indonesia,

the country to which transfer was sought, would refuse to

entertain the plaintiffs’ Sherman Act claims. See Mitsui, 671

F.2d at 891 (“A dismissal for forum non conveniens, then,

would be the functional equivalent of a decision that defen-

dants’ acts are beyond the reach of the Sherman Act.”’)®

Unlike the facts in those cases, the district court here found

“that German law recognizes products liability and wrongful

death actions under Section 823 and 844 of the German civil

code.” In addition, the record supports the conclusion that all

parties—plaintiffs, Fairchild, and also the potential third par-

ties—are within the jurisdiction of the German courts. Based

upon these findings, the district court concluded that “an ade-

quate and available foreign forum exists” for the resolution of

Appellants’ claims in Germany. We agree that this case does

not involve issues peculiar to American jurisprudence, and we

conclude that the results reached in National City Lines and

Mitsui are therefore not controlling precedents in this case.

6 The court also noted that the antitrust statutes are penal in nature, and

that principles of international law preclude one country’s courts from exe-

cuting the penal laws of another. Mitsui, 671 F.2d at 891

8a

National City Lines I does lay before us, -however, the

approach required to be taken in judging whether Congress, by

its enactment of a statute vesting jurisdiction in the courts and

prescribing venue, has thereby deprived the courts of discre-

tionary power to defeat the plaintiff's choice of venue and has

thus rendered the doctrine of forum non conveniens to be of no

effect. The Court wrote:

[The question] is one not to be answered by such indeci-

Sive inquiries as whether the venue or jurisdictional

Statute is labeled a “special” or a “general” one. Nor is it

to be determined merely by the court’s view that appli-

cability of the doctrine would serve the ends of justice in

the particular case. /t is rather to be decided, upon con-

sideration of all the relevant materials, by whether the

legislative purpose and the effect of the language used to

achieve it were to vest the power of choice in the plaintiff

or to confer power upon the courts to qualify his selec-

tion.

334 U.S. at 597, 68 S.Ct. at 1182 (emphasis added). We there-

fore examine the legislative purpose of the Act, the language

used, and whether the legislation is intended to vest power of

choice in the plaintiff or, instead, confers power on the courts

to qualify the plaintiff’s choice of forum.

Title 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5) is part of the Bankruptcy

Amendments and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984 (“the Act’),

which statute “[e]stablished a new system of jurisdiction,

necessitated by the Supreme Court’s ruling in Northern

Pipeline Constru. Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co., 458 U.S. 50,

102 S.Ct. 2858, 73 L.Ed.2d 598 (1982). . . .” 130 Cong.Rec.

H 6087-6088 (June 20, 1984) (floor statements) femphasis

added]. In Marathon, the United States Supreme Court had

held that a previous grant to bankruptcy courts of sweeping

jurisdiction was unconstitutional because it vested Article III

power in judges who do not enjoy the protections and safe-

guards specified in that article. /d. at 62, 102 S.Ct. at 2867.

Faced with the possibility that all matters previously delegated

to bankruptcy courts would again be borne by the already over-

<< rr

9a

burdened Article III courts, Congress enacted § 157(b)(5) “to

conform the bankruptcy statute to the dictates of Marathon” by

excluding from bankruptcy court jurisdiction subject matter

that is not specifically derived from the bankruptcy laws.

Matter of Wood, 825 F.2d 90, 95 (Sth Cir.1987).’ This intent is

| manifested throughout the statute’s legislative history. See 130

Cong.Rec. S 8891 (June 29, 1984) (remarks of Sen. Hatch),

reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 590 (“Title I [which

includes § 157(b)(5)] corrects the constitutional flaw discerned

by the Supreme Court in the Marathon case which prohibited

bankruptcy judges, who lack life tenure, from deciding certain

bankruptcy cases grounded in State law.”); 130 Cong.Rec. H

7489 (June 29, 1984) (remarks of Cong. Rodino), reprinted in

1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 576 (“Title I creates a new bankruptcy

court arrangement to replace the provisions enacted in the

Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978—Public Law 95-598—which

were found unconstitutional by the U.S. Supreme Court in

[Marathon].’’) By placing in the district courts jurisdiction over

certain types of cases, specifically personal injury and wrong-

ful death actions, Congress responded directly to the consti-

tutional infirmities identified by the Court in Marathon while

preserving the Article I administrative court system that it had

created to deal with bankruptcy-related matters.

Appellants argue that Congress’s purpose was to consolidate

all bankruptcy related matters and that Section 157(b)(5) was

added as a special venue provision to advance the concept of a

“single forum” for all bankruptcy-related matters. This “single

forum” argument is undercut, however, by the explicit language

of § 157(b)(S), which itself specifies a choice of forums in

which a bankruptcy-related wrongful death action may be

heard: in the district court for the district in which the

bankruptcy is pending or in the district in which the claim

arose. The passages quoted by Appellants in support of their

7 Section 157(b)(5) was drafted to limit the bankruptcy court's author-

ity to so-called “core proceedings,” a term coined in Marathon to refer to “the

restructuring of debtor-creditor relations.” Marathon, 458 U.S. at 71, 102 S.Ct.

at 2871. Personal injury and wrongful death actions are “non-core” proceed-

ings and thus cannot be heard by a bankruptcy court. See 130 Cong.Rec. H

7492 (June 29, 1984) (floor statements of Rep. Kastenmeier).

EES

10a

position actually militate against their “single forum” argu-

ment. The language provides that consolidation of actions in

the forum where the bankruptcy is pending is permissible, but

not mandatory. As Stated by the First Circuit: “The new struc-

ture would make it possible to the extent constitutionally per-

missible to hear matters relating to a single forum.” /n re

Arnold Print Works, Inc., 815 F.2d 165, 167 (1st Cir.1987)

[emphasis added].°

Congress’s express conference of power on the district court

in which the bankruptcy is pending to fix venue in the juris-

diction in which a plaintiff’s cause of action arises, plainly

indicated Congress’s recognition (1) that the jurisdiction, as the

site of the wrongful death, may have an actual interest in liti-

gating the matter, and (2) that the most eyewitnesses to the

incident and at least some evidence may be located there. In

light of such a provision, we cannot fairly impute to Congress

an intention implicitly to remove from the couris their inherent

power also to effect the transfer of an appropriate wrongful

death claim to a foreign forum where the cause of action arose.

The principal cases relied upon by Appellants involve appli-

cation of § 157(b)(5) to domestic litigation, which § 157(b)(5)

specifically addresses. Thus, for example, in A.H. Robbins Co.

v. Piccinin, 788 F.2d 994 (4th Cir.1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

876, 107 S.Ct. 251, 93 L.Ed.2d 177 (1986), the district court in

which was pending the Chapter 11 bankruptcy of the manu-

facturer of the Dalkon Shield, entered a tentative order that all

actions against the debtor based upon \personal injury tort or

wrongful death claims arising from use of the Dalkon Shield

would be tried in that district court. The principal issue was

8 Appellants also argue that the bankruptcy court could maintain some

supervision over the bankruptcy-related claims even while they are being lit-

igated in another federal court, but not if the dismissal were to a foreign coun-

try. The argument is not persuasive. First, there is no sign that Congress

intended for a district court in which the bankruptcy is filed to supervise the

adjudication of a wrongful death action that it permits or directs to be tried in

another district. And second, in this day of instant worldwide communications,

the progress of a wrongful death case pending in Germany can be followed by

the district court where the bankruptcy is pending virtually as easily as fol-

lowing the progress of a case in an adjacent judicial district.

lla

whether transfer of the cases from other districts (SOOO cases

were pending) could be ordered by the receiving district court

in which the bankruptcy was pending, or whether transfers, if

made at all, would need to be ordered by the various district

courts where the cases were pending, pursuant to the general

bankruptcy venue statute allowing transfers in the interest of

justice or for the convenience of the parties. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1412. The Fourth Circuit had “no difficulty” in finding that

the district court in which the bankruptcy was pending had

authority under § 157(b)(5) to fix venue of personal injury tort

actions against the debtor regardless of the district in which the

controversy was pending. In reconciling § 1412 with

§ 157(b)(5) the Court wrote that as to a special group of cases,

“to wit, personal injury tort claims against a debtor in Chapter

11 proceedings wherever pending,” § 157(b)(5) is “supreme”

in the sense of denying to the same district court the power to

dismiss a case under the doctrine of forum non conveniens in

order to effect an international transfer to a forum where the

action arose. This argument is flawed, first, because

§ 157(b)(5) clearly confers enlarged powers upon the

bankruptcy district court to fix venue, with no apparent intent

to diminish venue powers already held by the court; and sec-

ond, because the Fourth Circuit was engaged only in recon-

ciling §§ 1412 and 157(b)(S), and found that between the two

sections the latter was “supreme” in that limited context; the

court never had before it a question of whether enactment of

§ 157(b)(5) served sub silentio to rescind the doctrine of forum

non conveniens.

In Jn re White Motor Credit, 761 F.2d 270 (6th Cir.1985),

also relied on by Appellants, the district court in which the

bankruptcy was pending ordered that 160 separate, unliqui-

dated and contingent products liability cases against the debtor,

pending in various state and federal courts, would be left for

adjudication in those courts. On appeal the debtor, similar to

Appellants here, argued that § 157(b)(5) curtailed the district

court’s discretion over venue. The debtor argued that the new

statute prevented the district court from abstaining as it had

done and instead compelled the court to order trials either

l2a

before it or in the federal district courts where the claims arose.

The Sixth Circuit wrote,

[when read in isolation, section 157(b)(5) seems to Sup-

port the debtor's contention that the tort claims may not

be liquidated in other courts, as the District Court has

ordered; but a reading of the entire law in light of its pur-

pose and history leads to the opposite conclusion.

761 F.2d at 271. The court went on to construe § 157(b)(S) in

harmony with § 1334(c)(1), which allows discretionary absten-

tion, and held that the district court had “authority to leave tort

cases in the courts [including state courts] in which they are

pending for liquidation there.” 761 F.2d at 273. Thus, in White

Motor Credit § 157(b)(5) once again was construed to enlarge

the district court’s power to fix venue over personal injury tort

cases related to the bankruptcy pending in such court.

Other provisions of Title 28 demonstrate Congress's intent

not to require the district courts to entertain all bankruptcy-

related cases over which they have jurisdiction. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334(b) provides that the district court's jurisdiction of such

matters is “original but not exclusive.” Moreover, 28 U.S.C.

§1334(c)(1) provides: “[nJothing in this section prevents a dis-

trict court in the interest of justice, or in the interest of comity

with State courts or respect for State law, from abstaining from

hearing a particular proceeding arising under title 11 or arising

in or relating to a case under title 11." Courts interpreting

§ 1334(c) have held that the provision “summarizes and incor-

porates federal non-bankruptcy abstention doctrines.” /n re Pan

American Corp., 950 F.2d 839 (2d Cir.1991), quoting General

American Communications Corp. v. Landsell, 130 B.R. 136,

146 (S.D.N.Y.1991). Again, it does not follow that Congress

would expressly allow the federal district courts to defer by

abstention to state courts “in the interest of justice,” but would

at the same time implicitly divest them of their inherent power

to abstain when the interest of justice would be served by a

case being heard in a foreign tribunal where the action arose.

An examination of Section 157 in its entirety is also instruc-

tive. The several subsections variously provide for referrals of

13a

cases to the bankruptcy judges; allow bankruptcy judges to

hear and determine all cases under Title 11 and all core pro-

ceedings arising under Title 11; list numerous examples of core

proceedings; require the bankruptcy judge to determine if a

proceeding is a core proceeding; exempt non-core proceedings

from the mandatory abstention provisions of § 1334(c)(2); out-

line conditions under which a bankruptcy judge may hear a

non-core proceeding related to a case under Title 11 and make

recommendations to the District Judge; authorize the district

court to withdraw any case or proceeding referred to the

bankruptcy judge; and similar matters. Embedded in this pro-

cedural section is subsection (b)(5), at issue in this case. Read

in the context of Section 157, where it appears, and in the con-

text of the history giving rise to the Act and its remedial pur-

pose, the language of § 157(b)(5) delineates jurisdiction only

as between the bankruptcy courts and the district courts. In

other words, non-core proceedings such as personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims shall not be adjudicated in

bankruptcy court, but in the Article III district court. Moreover,

the district court in which the bankruptcy is pending shall have

added power to order tried in its Own venue personal injury tort

and wrongful death claims filed elsewhere, or to order such

cases tried in the districts where the claims arose. Once a per-

sonal injury tort or wrongful death claim is lodged in the dis-

trict court where the bankruptcy is pending, however, neither

the Act itself nor the legislative history of the Act evidences

any intent on the part of Congress to abrogate the long-stand-

ing doctrine of forum non conveniens in the context of foreign

transfers. Indeed, there is no reference to the doctrine of forum

non conveniens anywhere in the statute’s legislative history.’

This court was confronted with a similar issue in /n re Air

Crash Disaster. Plaintiff argued that certain language in the

| Warsaw Convention implicitly prevented a district court from

considering and applying the doctrine of forum non conveniens.

The argument was rejected:

9 Likewise, a leading bankruptcy treatise’s discussion of § 157(b)(5)

does not even mention forum non conveniens, much less its “implied” repeal.

See 1 Collier on Bankruptcy § 3.01 pp. 3, 82, 86 (15th Ed.1990).

2

l4a

The party initiating the action enjoys the prerogative of

choosing between [several] possible [national] forums but

that selection is not inviolate. That choice is then subject

to the procedural requirements and devices that are part of

that forum’s internal laws. . . . No evidence can be

found anywhere that the drafters of the [Warsaw]

Convention intended to alter the judicial system of any

country. We simply do not believe that the United States

through adherence io the Convention has meant to forfeit

such a valuable procedural tool as the doctrine of forum

non conveniens.

If we were to adopt the plaintiff's construction... ,

American courts could become the forums for litigation

that has little or no relationship with this country. The

plaintiff’s interpretation. . . cuts against the Conven-

tion’s underlying purpose of ensuring that a dispute aris-

ing Out of an air travel accident is litigated in a forum that

has an actual interest in the matter.

/d. at 1162 [citations omitted]. Similarly, the First Circuit held

that a special venue provision in the United States securities

laws does not prevent a district court from effecting foreign

transfers under the doctrine of forum non conveniens:

[|W Je can find no good policy reason for reading the spe-

cial venue provisions as if someone in Congress really

intended them to remove the courts’ legal power to invoke

the doctrine of forum non conveniens in an otherwise

appropriate case. The growing interdependence of for-

merly separate national economies, the increased extent to

which commerce 1s international, and the greater likeli-

hood that an act performed in one country will affect cit-

izens of another, all argue for expanded efforts to help the

world’s legal system work together, in harmony, rather

than at cross purposes. To insist that American courts hear

cases where the balance of convenience and the interest of

justice require that they be brought elsewhere will simply

encourage an international forum-shopping that would

increase the likelihood that decisions made in one coun-

15a

try will Cause (through lack of awareness or understand-

ing) adverse effects in another, eroding uniformity or

thwarting the aims of law and policy. And, to deprive

American courts of their transfer power when, but only

when, one of more than three hundred special venue

Statutes applies, would create a hodgepodge that would, or

would not, bring about American adjudication of an

essentially foreign controversy, depending upon the pure

happenstance that Congress—at some perhaps distant

period and likely out of a desire to widen plaintiffs’ venue

choices in typical domestic cases—enacted a “special

venue” provision. See Wright, Miller & Cooper, Federal

Practice and Procedure, § 3804 at 28 n. 2 (citing ALI

study listing some 330 venue provisions in section of the

United States Code not in Title 28). Such a result would

seem thoroughly unsound.

Howe v. Goldcore Investments, Inc., 946 F.2d 944, 950 (lst

Cir.1991). See also Cruz v. Maritime Co. of Philippines, 702

F.2d 47, 48 (2d Cir.1983) (upholding forum non conveniens

dismissal of Jones Act claim even though Jones Act provides

that jurisdiction “shall be” in the district court.)

From our review of the relevant materials, the legislative

purpose, and the effect of the language used to achieve that

purpose, we conclude that § 157(b){5) was intended to confer

new power upon the district court in which a bankruptcy is

pending to qualify the choice of venue made by a plaintiff.”

An enactment conferring upon the district court additional

power to control venue cannot properly be construed to deprive

the courts of their established discretionary powers over venue.

Under such circumstances specific legislation would be nec-

essary to abrogate the doctrine of forum non conveniens. There

is no evidence here of a Congressional intent to do so by enact-

ment of 28 U.S.C. § 157(b)(5), and we cannot construe the lan-

guage more broadly than appears to have been intended by

Congress to achieve the purpose of the Act. Especially in view

of Congress’s expressed intent that district courts in which the

bankrupicy is pending may order nationwide transfers of cases

10 United States v. Natl. City Lines, 334 U.S. at 597, 68 S.Ct. at 1182.

16a

to permit, for example, wrongful death claims to be tried in any

district where they may arise, we cannot read into the statute an

implied repeal of the doctrine by which the courts have dis-

cretion to effect identical transfers to foreign tribunals where

wrongful death actions arise. Accordingly, we hold that

§ 157(b)(5) does not abrogate the doctrine of forum non con-

veniens in the context of foreign transfers and that the district

court was not precluded by such statute from dismissing the

instant action on forum non conveniens grounds.

The second issue raised by Appellants, namely, whether

abstention and remand are the district court’s only available

alternatives to retaining jurisdiction over a bankruptcy-related

wrongful death case, is rendered moot by our holding above.

We therefore now consider the third issue raised: whether the

district court committed a clear abuse of discretion in ordering

the forum non conveniens dismissal.

Review of the District Court's Forum

Non Conveniens Dismissal

A district court’s grant or denial of a motion to dismiss on

the grounds of forum non conveniens may be reversed only

where there has been a clear abuse of discretion. Reyno, 454

U.S. 235, 255, 102 S.Ct. 252, 266; /n re Air Crash Disaster,

821 F.2d at 1147. Where the district court “has considered all

relevant public and private interest factors, and where its bal-

ancing of these factors is reasonable, its decision deserves sub-

stantial deference.” Reyno, 454 U.S. at 257, 102 S.Ct. at 266

(upholding district court's dismissal of a products liability suit

for reasons of convenience of trial, and requiring transfer of the

case from Pennsylvania defendants and the likelihood that

Scottish law was less favorable to Plaintiffs).

Appellants first contend that in granting the forum non con-

veniens dismissal the district court abused its discretion by

“fail{ing] to consider that Fairchild was estopped from moving

to dismiss.” (Appellants’ Brief at 22). Specifically, Appellants

argue that Fairchild’s removal of the case from state court in

Bexar County to federal court in the Western District of Texas

17a

precluded Fairchild from later moving to dismiss or transfer the

case to any other forum. In support of this position, Appellants

rely primarily on Jas. Co. of Nerth America v. Ozean Stinnes-

Linien, 367 F.2d 224, 226-227 (Sth Cir.1966), wherein this

Court held that a domestic transfer pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1404(a) precluded a subsequent motion to dismiss on the

grounds of forum non conveniens. We find that Ozean is inap-

plicable to this case, as this case does not involve a § 1404(a)

motion to transfer. Moreover, the United States Supreme Court

has upheld, without any discussion of estoppel, a district

~ court’s dismissal under forum non conveniens even where the

case had previously been removed to federal court and trans-

ferred to a different federal forum under § 1404(a). See Reyno,

454 U.S. at 235, 102 S.Ct at 252; See also Nolan v. Boeing Co.

762 F.Supp. 680 (E.D.La.1989) (forum non conveniens dis-

missal granted after removal to federal court).

Appellant next contends that the district court abused its dis-

cretion in its application of the forum non conveniens analysis.

A forum non conveniens analysis involves a three step inquiry.

First, the court must determine whether there exists another

forum that is available to the litigants and would provide an

adequate remedy to the prevailing party. Reyno, 454 U.S. at

234 n. 22, 102 S.Ct. 265 n. 22; In re Air Crash Disaster, 821

F.2d at 1164. “A foreign forum is available when the entire

case and all parties can come within the jurisdiction of that

forum.” /n re Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1165; Syndicate

420, 796 F.2d at 830; Calavo Growers of California v. Belgium,

632 F.2d 963, 968 (2d Cir.1980). “A foreign forum is adequate

when the parties will not be deprived of all remedies or treated

unfairly, even though they may not enjoy the same benefits as

they might receive in an American court.” /n re Air Crash

Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1165, citing Reyno, 454 U.S. at 253, 102

S.Ct. at 265; Syndicate 420, 796 F.2d at 829.

The district court determined that the courts of Germany

could provide an adequate, available forum for the resolution

of plaintiffs’ actions. The court found: (1) that German law rec-

Ognizes products liability and wrongful death actions under

Section 823 and 844 of the German civil code, and (2) that all

18a

parties in the case are within the jurisdiction of the German

courts. Appellants have not challenged these findings, and we

find no abuse of discretion in the trial court’s holding.

The second step in the analysis requires a balancing of “pri-

vate interest” factors. Such factors include: (1) the relative ease

of access to sources of proof; (2) the availability of compulsory

process for attendance of unwilling, and the costs of obtaining

attendance of willing, witnesses;!! (3) probability of an oppor-

tunity to view the premises, if view would be appropriate to the

action; and (4) other factors affecting the ease, speed, and

expense of trial or the enforceability of a judgment obtained.

Gulf Oil, 330 U.S. at 508, 67 S.Ct. at 843: In re Air Crash

Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1162-1163. While reviewing the private

interest factors, the court should also consider whether the

defendant’s motion to dismiss was filed ina timely manner. /n

re Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1165.

In the case at bar, the district court found that several private

interest factors favored dismissal, including (1) the existence

in Germany of almost all of the physical evidence relating to

the accident, including meteorological data, testimony of other

pilots and eyewitnesses, cockpit voice recorder tapes and infor-

mation from the flight data recorder, photographs of the wreck-

age, air traffic controllers’ reports, and the results of tests

performed by the German Accident Investigation Board

(“GAIB”) on the components and wreckage of NFD Flight 108;

(2) the fact that NFD's headquarters are in Germany, and thus

all evidence about the maintenance of the aircraft, the opera-

tional history of the aircraft, and records concerning the hiring

and training practices of NFD are in Germany; (3) the fact that

all evidence required to calculate damages, such as the dece-

dents’ health, life expectancies, educations, and present and

future earning capacities, is in Germany, as are all of the wit-

1] See De Melo v. Lederle Laboratories Div. of American Cyanamid

Corp., 801 F.2d 1058, 1063 (8th Cir.1986) (“It is of considerable importance

. that liugation in the United States would deprive Lederle of compulsory

process. . . .") See also Schertenleib v. Traum, 589 F.2d 1156, 1165 (2d

Cir.1978) (“inability to bring [witnesses] here for live cross-examination before

a fact-finder™ is “[p]erhaps the most significant problem” making adjudication

in a United States court inappropriate).

19a

nesses with knowledge relating to those matters: (4) the fact

that the witnesses in Germany are beyond the reach of the dis-

trict Court’s compulsory process, thus requiring the parties, if

jurisdiction over the case were retained, to face the cost of

deposing foreign witnesses and the prospect of not having live

witnesses at trial; (5) the inability of Fairchild to implead NFD

and the co-pilot’s estate as third-party defendants if the case

were retained in the United States; and (6) language problems

that would arise if the case were tried in the United States,

including the need to translate into English all documents and

investigation reports created in Germany. On the other hand,

the district court found some factors in favor of retaining juris-

diction, including (1) respect for the plaintiffs’ choice of

forum;"* and (2) potential difficulties regarding enforcement of

any judgment that might be rendered by a German court.?

(District Court Opinion at 8-12).

Appellants contend that the district court failed to give suf-

ficient weight to the fact that certain of their evidence is

located in Texas. Additionally, Appellants stress that GAIB

Chief Inspector Schlegel agreed to testify in Texas and that the

GAIB investigation report, which would contain much of the

meteorological and air traffic data, would be admissable in the

United States courts. We find, however, that the district court

did give attention to such considerations. In fact, after outlin-

ing the many factors favoring transfer of this case to Germany

the trial court wrote:

12 Although there is generally a strong presumption in favor of a plain-

uiff’s choice of forum, the United States Supreme Court has held that “a for-

cign plaintiff's selection of an American forum deserves less deference than

an American citizen's selection of his home forum.” Reyno, 454 U.S. at 256,

102 S.Ct. at 265-266.

13 In the instant case, the enforcement problem was mitigated sub-

stanually by the fact that the district court imposed conditions upon dismissal

of the case, including (1) that Fairchild agree to satisfy any Judgment rendered

by the German courts to the extent allowed by the bankruptcy plan; and (2) that

Fairchild submit to the district court's retention of jurisdiction over the mat-

ter in the event that any judgments were not satisfied. (District Court Opinion

at 15-16). “

20a

To be fair, there is some evidence in the United States as

well. Specifically, plaintiffs point to the fact that (1) there

are nineteen present and former Fairchild employees in

San Antonio who were responsible for the electrical sys-

tem design, its testing and analysis, lightning testing and

analysis, accident investigation, post-crash tests and post-

crash remedial measures; (2) there are three Federal

Aviation Administration (“FAA”) personnel in Texas who

certified the aircraft, investigated the crash, and issued the

post-crash Airworthiness Directive; and (3) there are other

experts on similar prior incidents and post-crash review of

the lightning system of the aircraft who are located in

Massachusetts, Ohio and Oregon. Additionally, some of

the evidence that is in Germany could be made available

in Texas.

(District Court Opinion at 9). In short, the trial court gave

exhaustive and meticulous consideration to the private interest

factors and concluded that, “on the whole, . . . the Court

believes that the bulk of the evidence is in Germany and is

more readily accessible there.” No abuse of discretion has been

demonstrated in the trial court’s holding. Moreover, Fairchild’s

motion to dismiss, filed less than 130 days after the district

court denied Plaintiffs’ motion to abstain or remand, was filed

in a timely manner.

Because we find that the district court did not err in holding

that an appropriate alternate forum exists for Appellants’

claims and that the private interest factors weigh in favor of a

forum non conveniens dismissal, we need not reach the third

step of the analysis, which involves a consideration of certain

“public interest” factors.'* Empresa Lineas Maritimas v.

14 Such “public interest” factors include: (1) the administrative diffi-

culties flowing from court congestion; (2) the local interest in having localized

controversies resolved at home; (3) the interest in having the trial of a diver-

sity case in the forum that is familiar with the law that must govern the action;

(4) the avoidance of unnecessary problems in conflicts of law, or in applica-

tion of foreign law; and (5) the unfairness of burdening citizens in an unrelated

forum with jury duty. /m re Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1162-1163, citing

Gulf Oil, 330 U.S. at 508, 67 S.Ct. at 843.

ae

21a

Schichau-Unterweser, 955 F.2d 368, 376 (Sth Cir.1992), citing

In re Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1165 (mandating con-

sideration of public interest factors only if private interests do

not favor dismissal). Nonetheless we find that the district court

considered the public interest factors,'> that it committed no

abuse of discretion in reaching its conclusions, and that

Appellants’ complaints are without merit.'®

In light of the foregoing, we find no clear abuse of the dis-

trict court’s discretion. The airline crash itself and other prin-

cipal events surrounding the accident took place in Germany,

the vast majority of the expected evidence and anticipated wit-

nesses are located in Germany, and Germany is the residence

of all plaintiffs and of three potential third-party defendants.

While appellants correctly assert that both Germany and the

State of Texas have contacts with the subject matter, we agree

with the district court’s determination that, ‘on balance, .

Germany is the focal point of this case.”

AFFIRMED.

15 The district court considered the following public interest factors: (1)

the heavy caseload of the Western District of Texas; (2) the strong interest

Germany has in ensuring that its citizens are compensated for harms done to

them; (3) the interest of Texas in deterring defective products; and (4) the like-

lihood that German law would govern the case. The court then concluded that

these factors favored dismissal.

16 Specifically, Appellants argue that the district court (1) failed to con-

sider the interests of the Western District of Texas as the locus of Fairchild’s

bankruptcy; (2) failed to recognize the “significant interest” on the part of

Texas with respect to the liability of Texas manufacturers for products man-

ufactured in Texas; and (3) gave undue weight to the Reyno and Nolan cases.

See Nolan v. Boeing Co. 919 F.2d 1058 (Sth Cir.1990). Appellants additionally

contest the district court’s determination that the law of Germany, and not that

of Texas, applies to this case.

22a

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

CivIL ACTION No. SA-90-CA-818

DOCKET III

FILED SEPTEMBER 30, 1991

>

GERTRUDE BAUMGART, ET AL.,

Plaintiffs,

—VvVsS.—

FAIRCHILD AIRCRAFT CORP. and

SWEARINGEN AVIATION CORP.,

Defendants.

ae

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO

DISMISS ON GROUND OF FORUM NON CONVENIENS

Upon review, the Court finds that defendant Fairchild

Aircraft Corporation’s Motion to Dismiss on Ground of Forum

Non Conveniens should be GRANTED.

I. Background

A. Facts

These consolidated wrongful death actions arise out of the

crash of an aircraft built by defendant Fairchild Aircraft

Corporation (‘Fairchild’), and owned and operated by a

German airline, Nurnberger Flugdienst (“NFD”). The crash

occurred on February 8, 1988, near Kettwig, Germany as NFD

Flight 108 was making its approach to Lohausen Airport in

Dusseldorf. About seven miles short of the runway, Flight 108

was struck by lightning. The aircraft lost electrical power and

23a

entered an uncontrolled descent for about two minutes before

it Came apart in the air and crashed. The two crew members

and all nineteen passengers were killed when the aircraft went

down.

On June 26, 1989, after finishing its investigation into the

cause of the accident, the German Accident Investigation

Bureau (“GAIB”) issued a report in which the investigators

concluded that the accident was caused by the airplane losing

its entire electrical supply after the lightning strike. The report

also stated that the crew flew into an area where lightning

strikes could be expected although they could have flown

around it, that they did not agree on a flight route in the vicin-

ity of the thunderstorm, and that they were unprepared for the

strike. Thus, both product design and crew error were listed as

possible causes of the accident.

B. Procedural History

These wrongful death actions were originally filed in sixteen

district courts in Bexar County, Texas. The claimants, all

German nationals and residents, are the surviving relatives of

the passengers killed in the accident. After filing for Chapter

11 protection on February 1, 1990, Fairchild timely removed

the nineteen cases to the Bankruptcy Court for the Western

District of Texas, relying on 28 U.S.C. § 1334(b) and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1452(a). On June 18, 1990, the Bankruptcy Court denied

plaintiffs’ Motion to Remand or Abstain. On July 30, 1990, the

District Court entered an Order Adopting the Bankruptcy

Court's Recommendation and Order Withdrawing Reference to

Bankruptcy Court. These cases were consolidated by an Order

entered on September 21, 1990.

After the Bankruptcy Court lifted the automatic stay imposed

by 11 U.S.C. § 362, defendant filed this Motion to Dismiss on

Ground of Forum Non Conveniens. When this Motion was

filed, the pendency of the bankruptcy proceeding in the

Bankruptcy Court complicated disposition of this matter. Since

that date, however, a bankruptcy plan has been entered which

limits plaintiffs’ possible recovery to available insurance

coverage. In light of the adoption of this plan, plaintiffs have

24a

conceded that there no longer is any need for this Court to

retain jurisdiction because of the pendency of the bankruptcy

proceeding.

Accordingly, the Court will address the merits of defendant's

forum non conveniens argument.

Il. Discussion

The doctrine of forum non conveniens

“[R]ests upon a court’s inherent power to control the par-

ties and cases before it.” /n re Air Crash Disaster Near

New Orleans, La., 821 F.2d 1147, 1153 (Sth Cir. 1987). It

empowers a federal trial court to decline jurisdiction if

it appears that the convenience of the parties and the

court, and the interests of justice, instruct that the action

be tried in another forum. Air Crash, 821 F.2d at 1154:

Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 250, 102 S.Ct.

252, 263, 70 L.Ed.2d 419 (1981). Th defendants bear the

burden of persuasion on all elements of the forum non

conveniens analysis. Air Crash, 821 F.2d at 1164.

Nolan v. Boeing Co., 762 F. Supp. 680, 682 (E.D. La. 1989),

aff'd, 919 F.2d 1058 (Sth Cir. 1990).

A. Availability and Adequacy of Foreign Forum

Prior to evaluating the question of whether a foreign forum

would be more appropriate, the Court “must first determine

that an available and adequate [alternative] forum exists.”

Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 682.

A foreign forum is available when the entire case and all

parties can come within the jurisdiction of that forum.

A foreign forum is adequate when the parties will not be

deprived of ail remedies or treated unfairly, even though

they may not enjoy the same benefits as they might

receive in an American court.

Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1165.

25a

1. Availability of the Foreign Forum

Defendant argues that the German courts are available as an

alternate foreign forum. The Court notes that all of the plain-

tiffs and both crew members were German residents and

nationals, and that NFD is a German corporation with its head-

quarters in Germany. As a result, all of the plaintiffs and the

potential third-party defendants have ready access to and are

within the jurisdiction of the German courts.

Further, a “defendant’s submission to the jurisdiction of an

alternate forum renders that forum available for purposes of

forum conveniens analysis.” Veba-Chemie A.G. v. M/V Getafix,

711 F.2d 1243, 1245 (Sth Cir. 1983) (citing Vaz Borralho v.

Keydrill Co., 696 F.2d 379, 393 (Sth Cir. 1983)). In the case at

bar, while defendant is an American corporation, it has agreed

to ensure that the German courts are an available forum by

waiving any procedural or substantive hurdles that might oth-

erwise prevent plaintiffs from pursuing their claims in the

German courts.

Thus, the German courts are an available forum.

2. Adequacy of the Foreign Forum

Plaintiffs have submitted no argument that they would be

treated unfairly in the German courts, or that they would

receive lesser benefits there than if they were allowed to pro-

ceed in this Court. Further, there has been no suggestion that

plaintiffs will be deprived of any, much less all, remedies if this

Case were to proceed in the German courts. In fact, defendant

asserts, and plaintiffs do not contest, that German law recog-

nizes products liability and wrongful death actions under

Sections 823 and 844 of the German Civil Code. See Ruben-

stein v. Piper Aircraft Corp., 587 F. Supp. 460, 461 (S.D. Fla.

1984).

Accordingly, an adequate and available foreign forum exists.

B. Merits of the Forum Non Conveniens Motion

Having found that an alternative forum exists, the Court next

turns to the heart of the forum non conveniens motion. When

26a

evaluating defendant’s motion, the Court must always bear in

mind that “the ultimate inquiry is where trial will best serve the

convenience of the parties and the ends of justice.” Air Crash

Disaster, F.2d at 1162 (quoting Koster v. American Lumbermens

Mutual Casualty Co., 330 U.S. 518, 527, 67 S.Ct. 828, 833, 91

L.Ed. 1067 (1947)).

To guide trial court discretion, the Supreme Court has put

forth a testing balancing “private interest factors” affecting the

convenience of the litigants, and “public interest factors”

affecting the convenience of the forum. Kempe v. Ocean Drilling

& Exploration Co., 876 F.2d 1138, 1141 (Sth Cir. 1989).

The private interests to be considered are the relative ease of

access to sources of proof; availability of compulsory process

for attendance of unwilling, and the costs of obtaining atten-

dance of willing, witnesses; probability of view of premises,

if view would be appropriate to the action; and all other prac-

tical problems that make trial of a case easy, expeditious and

inexpensive. There may also be questions as to the enforce-

ability of a judgment if one is obtained.

Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1162-63 (quoting Gulf Oil Corp.

v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 508, 67 S.Ct. 839, 843, 91 L.Ed.2d 1055

(1947)).

“(T]he Court must also weigh in the balance the plaintiffs’

choice of forum. Generally, courts should not disturb the plain-

tiff’s choice of forum unless the balance strongly favors the

defendants.” Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 682. “[A] foreign plain-

liff’s selection of an American forum [however] deserves less

deference than an American citizen’s selection of his home

forum.” Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235, 255-56, 102

S.Ct. 252, 265-66, 70 L.Ed.2d 419 (1981). This is so because

deference is afforded only when “the plaintiff has chosen the

home forum. When the home forum has been chosen it is rea-

sonable to assume that this choice is convenient. When the

_plaintiff is foreign, however, this assumption is much less rea-

sonable.” /d.

The public interest factors include the administrative dif-

ficulties flowing from court congestion; the local interest

27a

in having localized controversies resolved at home; the

interest in having the trial of a diversity case in a forum

thai is familiar with the law that must govern the action;

the avoidance of unnecessary problems in conflicts of law,

or in application of foreign law; and the unfairness of bur-

dening citizens in an unrelated forum with jury duty.

Air Crash Disaster, 821 F.2d at 1162-63 (citing Gulf Oil, 330

U.S. at 508-09, 67 S.Ct. at 843).

In the case at bar, the Court must balance the private and

public factors in order to determine whether the convenience of

the parties and the ends of justice will be served by making the

parties resort to the German courts.

1. Private Interest Factors

A review of the evidence and recent case law shows that the

private interest factors weigh in favor of dismissing the case.

a. The Nolan and Piper Aircraft Cases

In Nolan, the case arose from a crash in the United Kingdom

of an aircraft owned and operated by a U.K. corporation,

British Midland Airways. Although the aircraft was designed,

tested and manufactured in the United States, the Nolan district

court found that virtually all of the relevant evidence was in the

U.K.

Statements of witnesses, photographs of the wreckage and

crash site, air traffic control and cockpit voice recorder

tapes, and information from the flight data recorder are

all in the U.K. The report of the [accident investigation

board]. . . and individuals who performed the investi-

gation of the crash are there. All of the evidence regard-

ing the operation and maintenance of the plane. . . is

there. Records and witnesses regarding operational and

maintenance history as well as pilot and technician train-

ing are [in the U.K.]

Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 683.

28a

In affirming the decision of the district court to dismiss the

case, the Fifth Circuit noted that

[T]he evidence regarding the crash itself and the actions

of British Midland Airways—which is essential to the

defendants’ claim that pilot error caused the crash—is in

the United Kingdom. The [district] court also noted that

(1) [because the United Kingdom was the home of most of

the represented plaintiffs] substantially all of the damages

evidence is in the U.K.; (2) many of the witnesses, most

of whom were in the U.K., were beyond the compulsory

process of the federal courts; and (3) the defendants

would be unable to join BMA as a third-party defendant in

the federal forum.

Nolan, 919 F.2d at 1068-69.

The case addressed by the Nolan court are strikingly similar

to those in the case at bar; thus, the Court would be within the

bounds of its discretion were it to follow the lead of the Nolan

court and dismiss this case.

The same is also true of the Piper Aircraft case, as the Nolan

district court recognized.

Piper Aircraft arose out of an air crash in Scotland. The

plaintiff in that case sued the manufacturers of the air-

plane and propellers. Even though records of the design,

manufacture, and testing of the plane and its propellers

were located in the United States, the Supreme Court held

that it was not unreasonable for the district court to con-

clude that the trial should be held in Scotland.

Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 683.

With these two decisions in mind, the Court turns to the facts

in the case at bar.

29a

b. The Case at Bar

(1) Sources of Proof, Witnesses, and Ties to the

Alternative Fora

The case at bar involves the crash in Germany of an aircraft

owned, maintained and operated by a German company. All of

the decedents and their relatives and heirs are German. On the

other hand, the aircraft was designed, built and tested in Texas

by a Texas corporation.

While there may be a substantial connection to Texas, most,

if not all, of the evidence relating to the crash is in Germany.

For instance, all of the physical evidence of the wreckage; the

meteorological data; the testimony of the pilots of aircraft land-

ing before and after the NFD flight, as well as other eyewit-

nesses; the photographs of the wreckage; the cockpit voice

recorder tapes and information from the flight data recorder;

the recorded radar and flight path data; the air traffic con-

trollers’ reports, and tapes and transcripts of their communi-

cations with the crew; and the results of tests performed by the

GAIB on components and wreckage are in Germany.

Additionally, because NFD’s headquarters is in Germany, all

evidence about the maintenance of the aircraft, the operational

history of the aircraft, and records concerning the hiring and

training practices of NFD are in Germany. Moreover, all dam-

ages evidence, such as the decedents’ health, life expectancies,

educations, present and future earning capacities, and all of the

witnesses with knowledge relating to these matters are in

Germany.

To be fair, these [sic] is some evidence in the United States

as well. Specifically, plaintiffs point to the fact that (1) there

are nineteen present and former Fairchild employees in San

Antonio who were responsible for the electrical system design,

its testing and analysis, lightning testing and analysis, accident

investigation, post-crash tests and post-crash remedial mea-

sures; (2) there are three Federal Aviation Administration

(“FAA”) personnel in Texas who certified the aircraft, inves-

tigated the crash, and issued the post-crash Airworthiness

Directive; and (3) there are other experts on similar prior inci-

30a

dents and post-crash review of the lightning system of the air-

craft who are located in Massachusetts, Ohio and Oregon.

Additionally, some of the evidence that is in Germany could be

made available in Texas.

On the whole, however, the Court believes that the bulk of

the evidence is in Germany and is more readily accessible

there. Further, the evidence that is in the United States can be

produced in Germany more readily than the evidence in

Germany can be produced here. Moreover, while defendant dis-

putes the value of many of the witnesses listed by plaintiffs, it

has agreed to make all relevant witnesses and any documen-

tation within its control available in Germany.

Last, but not least, the witnesses that are in Germany are

beyond the reach of this Court’s compulsory process. If the

Court exercises its jurisdiction and retains the case, the parties

will face the cost of deposing foreign witnesses, the possibil-

ity that adequate examination might not be available, and the

prospect of not having live witnesses at trial.

In summary, the Court believes that as far as the connections

to the alternative jurisdictions, and the relative ease of access

to sources of proof and to relevant witnesses are concerned,

Germany would be a more appropriate forum.

(2) Inability of Defendants to Implead Third

Party Defendants

In addition to the factors discussed above, another consid-

eration is the fact that this Court does not have jurisdiction

over all of the relevant parties; specifically, NFD and the estate

of the airplane's co-pilot.

Defendant contends that in light of the GAIB’s report, crew

error was a major contributing factor to the accident. If defen-

dant can establish that the accident was caused by negligence

of the crew or NFD, then there is the possibility that defendant

will be relieved of some or all liability. While the Court has

jurisdiction over the estate of the pilot due to the estate's filing

a cause of action that is now in this Court, the Court does not

and cannot acquire jurisdiction over NFD or the co-pilot’s

estate. Thus, defendant cannot implead either of these parties

3la

in this action and, if plaintiffs gain a judgment, defendant

would be forced to go to Germany to attempt to obtain con-

tribution from them. The problems posed by defendant’s inabil-

ity to implead potential third-party defendant support dismissal

of this case. See Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 684 (citing Piper

Aircraft, 454 U.S. at 259, 102 S.Ct. at 267-68).

(3) Language Problem

The fact that much of the evidence is in the German lan-

guage would present a problem if this case were to be tried

in this Court. On the other hand, if the case is prosecuted in

Germany, evidence in the English language will present a prob-

lem. To help push the Court in its favor, defendant has offered

to produce evidence within its control in German at its own

expense. While this will alleviate the problem to a certain

extent, on balance, this factor does not point strongly in one

direction or the other.

(4) Plaintiffs’ Choice of Forum

While the plaintiffs’ choice of forum usually is to be given

substantial deference, that is not so in this case. Here, the

plaintiffs are all German nationals and residents. Thus, rather

than selecting their home forum, they have selected a forum the

convenience of which, from their perspective, is questionable.

As a result, the Court finds that although it will respect and

give weight to the plaintiffs’ choice of forum, this choice does

not demand the respect it might receive under other circum-

stances.

(S) Enforceability of Judgment

Finally, the Court must be aware of potential difficulties the

plaintiffs might have in enforcing any judgment they might

obtain. “This Court can protect plaintiffs by conditioning dis-

missal on defendant's agreement to satisfy any final judgment

rendered by a court in” Germany. Nolan, 762 F. Supp. at 684.

In fact, defendant has proposed such a conditional dismissal

32a

and the Court believes that such a condition will satisfactorily

address this potential problem.

On the whole, the private interest factors, particularly the

ease of accessibility to sources of proof and relevant witnesses,

and the inability of defendant to implead third-party defen-

dants, weigh in favor of the Court dismissing the case.

2. Public Interest Factors

The Court next turns to the public interest factors and, upon

review, determines that like the private interest factors, these

considerations weigh in favor of dismissing the case.

Without rehashing the facts faced by the court in Nolan, the

district court in that case found that the public interest factors

weighed in favor of the U.K. forum. Specifically, the district

court found that

None of the more than 100 plaintiffs in these sixteen cases

is a U.S. resident or citizen. The accident occurred in

England and English law would most likely govern the

resolution of these cases. Moreover, the district court

noted that a trial could last for months and found that

because the controversy had no connection whatsoever

with the state of Louisiana, such onerous jury duty should

not be imposed on the citizens of Louisiana.

Nolan, 919 F.2d at 1069.

In the case at bar, the accident occurred in German airspace,

all of the decedents and plaintiffs are German, and the poten-

tial third-party defendants are German. While there are several

distinctions between Nolan and the case at bar, the Court finds

that, as they did in Nolan, the public interest factors argue in

favor of dismissing this case.

First, while this case involves only nineteen plaintiffs and,

therefore, would not take as long to try as the Nolan case with

its 100 plaintiffs, this case still will involve a substantial

amount of the Court’s time. The statistics shows that the judges

in the Western District of Texas carry one of the heaviest

caseloads per judge of all U.S. federal judges. Administrative

Office of the United States Courts, Annual Report of the

33a

Director, Fed. Judicial Workload Statistics, App. 1, Tbl. X-1

(1989). While similar statistics are not readily available for

German courts, the situation there could not be worse.

Second, the Court recognizes that Texas has an interest in

this controversy because the aircraft was designed, manufac-

tured, and tested in Texas by a Texas corporation. On the other

hand, the Supreme Court has noted that while “American cit-

izens have an interest in ensuring that American manufactur-

ers are deterred from producing defective products. . . the

incremental deterrence that would be gained if this trial were

held in an American court is likely to be insignificant.” Piper

Aircraft, 454 U.S. at 260, 102 S.Ct. at 268. In contrast, German

citizens have strong interest in ensuring that its citizens are

compensated for harms done to them. If, as alleged, either the

pilot, co-pilot, or NFD contributed to causing this accident, the

German interest in this case is that much stronger.

Finally, it is likely that German law will govern this case. In

determining the law to apply, Texas has adopted the “most sig-

nificant relationship test” set out in the Restatement (Second)

of Conflicts of Laws § 145. Total Oilfield Serv., inc. v. Garcia,

711 S.W.2d 238, 239 (Tex. 1986). Section 145 provides that the

[{C]Jontacts to be taken into account. . . to determine the

law applicable to an issue include: (a) the place where the

injury occurred, (b) the place where the conduct causing

the injury occurred, (c) the domicil, resident, nationality,

place of incorporation and places of business of the par-

ties, and (d) the place where the relationship, if any,

between the parties is centered.

Price v. Litton Sys., Inc., 784 F.2d 600, 604 (Sth Cir. 1986).

In the case at bar, Germany is the place of the injury and is

the residence of all of the plaintiffs and the three potential

third-party defendants. Further, Germany is site where any acts

by the third-party defendants that contributed to the crash

occurred. Texas, on the other hand, is the state in which the air-

craft was designed, tested and manufactured. Although both

jurisdictions have contacts with this case, on balance, the Coun

34a

finds that Germany is the focal point of this case and, therefore,

that the German law will most likely apply.

In summary, the Court believes that like the private interest

factors addressed above, the public interest factors also weigh

in favor of dismissing this case.

Ill. Conclusion

Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons, the Court finds that

defendant’s Motion to Dismiss on Ground of Forum Non

Conveniens should be GRANTED with the following conditions:

(1) Defendant shall submit to service of process and juris-

diction in the appropriate German forum;

(2) Plaintiffs shall file suit within 120 days of the date of

the order of dismissal;

(3) Defendant shall formally waive in the German pro-

ceedings any statute of limitations defense that has

matured since the commencement of these actions in

Texas state court;

(4) If the German statute of limitations on the causes

brought before this Court is shorter than that of the

state of Texas such that the action would be barred by

German law but not by Texas law, defendant shall for-

mally waive any such defense in the German pro-

ceedings;

(S) Defendant shall make available in Germany all rele-

vant witnesses and documents as ordered by the

German courts;

(6) Defendant shall formerly agree to satisfy any final

judgments rendered by the German courts to the

extent allowed by the bankruptcy reorganization pian;

(7) Defendant agrees to allow this Court to resume juris-

diction over this matter if any judgments obtained

against it by plaintiffs are not properly satisfied.

35a

IT Is SO ORDERED.

SIGNED this 30th day of September, 1991.

EDWARD C. PRADO

Edward C. Prado

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.