Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ibarra v. Van Len

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official capacity as the Executive

Director of the Colorado Department of Social Services;

HENRY SOLANO, in his official capacity as the Executive

Director of the Colorado Department of Institutions;

ROBERT BAUSERMAN; ROBBIE L. BEAN; SUSANNE D.

DOSH; DENNIS FISHER; MARY KYER; PEGGY

STOKSTAD; JOHN P. STONE and RICHARD F. WALKER

in their official capacities as members of the Colorado Board of

Social Services,

Petitioners,

vs.

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the class of persons

similarly situated,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

On Certiorari to the Colorado Supreme Court

Case No. 91SC189

GALE A. NORTON* STACY L. WORTHINGTON

Attorney General Assistant Attorney General

RAYMOND T. SLAUGHTER Human Resources Section

Chief Deputy Attorney General Attorneys for Petitioners

TIMOTHY M. TYMKOVICH 1525 Sherman St., 5th FI.

Solicitor General Denver, Colorado 80203

PAUL FARLEY Telephone: (303) 866-5660

Deputy Attorney General *Counsel of Record

WADE LIVINGSTON

First Assistant Attorney General

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

l. Whether a State may provide home and community-

based services to elderly, blind and physically disabled medicaid

recipients and not to mentally ill medicaid recipients without violating

§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Equa! Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

2. Whether the mentally ill are a “suspect class" for the

purpose of analyzing claims under the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

3. Whether the right to receive services to avoid

institutionalization is a "fundamental right" for the purpose of

analyzing claims under the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............. i

CE l

ae kg kg 4 e4 4 a ¥ 00s ode a be be 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES

ee GLa

pamemmenmn Or IMECASE ............. ccc cee +

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............. 8

I. THE COURT BELOW MISCONSTRUED THE

REQUIREMENTS OF § 504 TO MEAN THAT

BENEFITS GIVEN TO ONE GROUP OF

HANDICAPPED INDIVIDUALS MUST ALSO

BE GIVEN TO ALL OTHER HANDICAPPED

INDIVIDUALS, DESPITE UNANIMOUS

PRECEDENT TO THE CONTRARY. ....... 8

II. THE COURT BELOW, CONTRARY TO

EVERY REPORTED DECISION ON THE

ISSUE, HELD THAT THE MENTALLY ILL

WERE A SUSPECT CLASS, SO THAT

LEGISLATIVE ACTIONS REGARDING THE

MENTALLY ILL MUST BE SUBJECTED TO

STRICT SCRUTINY UNDER THE EQUAL

Pumpemamu CLAUSE............... 1]

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Il. THE COURT BELOW CREATED A

SIGNIFICANT NEW CONSTITUTIONAL

RIGHT, BECAUSE IT HELD THAT

INDIVIDUALS ARE ENTITLED TO

SERVICES TO PREVENT

INSTITUTIONALIZATION. ........... ale *

IV. THERE IS A RATIONAL BASIS FOR

COLORADO’S DECISION NOT TO OFFER

HCBS TO THE MENTALLY ILL......... 13

RENEE 65 ew eh de oo ee ee ek aero ee ene 14

NG AR Aika DO ee ae ae A-|

Re AR Sk ok Cee a oe ee ee ee ee B-1

POU Se b-o ce She eee ee eee C-]

eR OP hs 8 eds 6-85 a oe ee ee D-1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Beckwith v. Kizer, 912 F.2d 1139 (9th Cir. 1990) ...... : +

Benham v. Edwards, 678 F.2d 511 (5th Cir. 1982), vacated on

other grounds, 463 U.S. 1222 (1983)............. 11

Bervard B. v. Blue Cross Shield of Greater New York, 528 F.

Supp. 125 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), aff'd, 679 F.2d 7 (2d Cir.

on ee ee Se a eee 8

Brecker v. Queens B’nai B’rith Housing Development Fund, 607

F. Supp. 428 (E.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 798 F.2d 52 (2d

ee ee ee en a ee we 8

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. 432

RR NReIe gr vas remy pe ien deel Se Rok, et 11

Connecticut Department of Income Maintenance v. Heckler, 471

eens ME 5" "eal gaa as Sek ob k we 5

Cospito v. Heckler, 747 F.2d 72 (3d Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

re te ARE CUD oy nos Wow Keo a ee ok oe 1]

Doe v. Colautti, 592 F.2d 704 (3d Cir. 1979) ............. 8

Douglas v. Hugh A. Stallings, M.D. Inc., 870 F.2d 1242 (7th

ewe ee ae ro tei 1]

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Knutzen v. Eben Ezer Lutheran Housing Center, 815 F.2d 1343

Ea eon age ge Od ha ROE cece 8, 11

Schweiker v. Hogan, 457 U.S. 569 (1982) .............. 13

Traynor v. Turnage, 485 U.S. 535 (1988) ................ 8

United States ex rel. Weismuller v. Lane, 815 F.2d 1106 (7th

nage kara a oe ek one ee ae 11

Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307 (1982) .............. 12

CONSTITUTIONS

rr Me ak eee te hk a ke ws i, 2

STATUTES

RE Sg d+ 9

eS (a 2

FAS ie Eh | | i, 4, 6, 8-10

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c) (1988 & 1990 Supp.) ............ ,

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTES PAGE

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7) (1988 & 1990 Supp.) ...........-. 13

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7)(A) (1988 & 1990 Supp.)........ 5, 10

42 U.S.C. §§ 1396a(a)(10)(A) and 1396d(a)(4)(A) (1988 & 1990

re ae er eee ee ee ee 5

42 U.S.C. $8 12131-12213 (I99U) 0 ww ce eee 9

H. Conf. Rep. No. 99-1012, reprinted in 1986 U.S. Code Cong.

I Ae, FOU GS ack eb ee eee eke ks 10

Pub. L. 102-550, 106 Stat. 3813, §622 ...........2205-. 9

Pub. L. No. 93-112, 87 Stat. 355, § 305, reprinted in 1973

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 409, 441 ......... 9

Pub. L. No. 99-506, § 901, 100 Stat. 1807 ............... 9

§§ 26-4-101 to 26-4-661, C.R.S. (1992 Supp.) ........-..-..-. 4

RULES

y Coke BOR Be 5) eer eae a ara 4

fot S OY 8 ofl. re ere re a are ae 3

fet 2 PG FO ee ee 5

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

RULES

pee f SG fi. ee ee re

56 Fed. Reg. 35705 (July 26, 1991) .........

OTHER AUTHORITIES

CCH Medicare & Medicaid Guide, § 14,625 (8/92)

vill

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official capacity as the Executive

Director of the Colorado Department of Social Services;

HENRY SOLANO, in his official capacity as the Executive

Director of the Colorado Department of Institutions;

ROBERT BAUSERMAN; ROBBIE L. BEAN; SUSANNE D.

DOSH; DENNIS FISHER; MARY KYER; PEGGY |

STOKSTAD; JOHN P. STONE and RICHARD F. WALKER

in their official capacities as members of the Colorado Board of

Social Services,

Petitioners,

VS.

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the class of persons

similarly situated,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

On Certiorari to the Colorado Supreme Court

Case No. 91SC189

The petitioners named above respectfully pray that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Supreme Court of the

State of Colorado entered in the above-entitled proceeding on

December 14, 1992.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Supreme Court of the State of Colorado are

not published, and are reprinted in the appendix hereto, pp. B-1 and

C-]

The decision and order of the District Court of the City and

County of Denver has not been published, and it is reprinted in the

appendix hereto, p. A-]

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Colorado Supreme Court was delivered on

December 14, 1992 and a timely petition for rehearing was denied on

January 11, 1993

Petitioners invoke the jurisdiction of this Court pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1257(a) (1988)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES

INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part:

No state shall ... deny to any person

within its jurisdiction equal protection of

the laws.

42 U.S.C. § 1396nic) (1988 & 1990 Supp.) provides in

relevant part:

(1) The Secretary may by waiver

provide that a State plan approved under

this subchapter may include as "medical

assistance" under such plan payment for

part or all of the cost of home or

nN

cenacmensinemneniisinieieanen ——— ee

community-based services....

(2) A waiver shall not be granted under

this subsection unless the State provides

assurances satisfactory to the Secretary

that

(D) under such waiver the average per

capita expenditure estimated by the State

in any fiscal year for medical assistance

provided with respect to such individuals

does not exceed 100 percent of the

average per Capita expenditure that the

State reasonably estimates would have

been made in that fiscal year for

expenditures under the State plan for

such individuals if the waiver had not

been granted

(7)(A) In making estimates under

paragraph (2)(D) in the case of a waiver

that applies only to individuals with a

particular illness or condition ... the

State may determine the average per

Capita expenditure that would have been

made in a fiscal year for those

individuals under the State plan

separately from the expenditures for

other individuals....

42 C.F.R. § 441.301 (1992) provides in relevant part:

(b) If the agency furnishes home and

community-based services ... under a

waiver request granted under this

subpart, the waiver must

(6) Be limited to one of the following

target groups or any subgroup thereof

that the State may define:

(i) Aged or disabled, or both.

(ii) Mentally retarded or

developmentally disabled, or both.

(ili) Mentally ill.

29 U.S.C. § 794 (1988), popularly known as § 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, provides in relevant part:

(a) No otherwise qualified individual

with handicaps in the United States ...

shall, solely by reason of his or her

handicap, be excluded from participation

in, be denied the benefits of, or

subjected to discrimination under any

program or activity receiving Federal

financial assistance ....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are officials of the State of Colorado who administer

the medical assistance program under Title XIX of the Social Security

Act and the Colorado Medical Assistance Act, §§ 26-4-101 to

4

—

26-4-661, C.R.S. (1992 Supp.), popularly known as "medicaid."

Under medicaid, Colorado and the federal government pay for the

medical care provided to poor, disabled and otherwise needy

individuals. In order to qualify for matching federal funds, Colorado

must pay for certain kinds of medical care and cannot pay for other

kinds of care.

Among the services that Colorado must pay for are services

provided by a nursing home. 42 U.S.C. §§ 1396a(a)(10)(A) and

1396d(a)(4)(A). Among the kinds of services that Colorado cannot

pay for are services provided by an institution for mental diseases.

Connecticut Department of Income Maintenance v. Heckler, 471 U.S.

524, 533 n.24 (1985) and accompanying text. This case involves a

third kind of services: services that are neither required nor

prohibited.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c), a State may ask the federal

government to waive certain requirements of the medicaid program

in order to provide home and community-based services ("HCBS").

These services are provided to individuals who would otherwise

require care in an institution, such as a nursing home. The cost of

these services, however, must be less than medicaid would have paid

for institutional services. HCBS can include services such as

assistance with cooking, shopping, house cleaning, bathing and

eating.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7)(A), a State may request

a waiver limited to "individuals with a particular illness or

condition ...". Indeed, federal regulations require that a waiver

request be limited to one of three target groups: the physically

disabled and elderly, the developmentally disabled, and the mentally

ill. 42 C.F.R. § 441.301(b)(6) (1992). In 1982, Colorado obtained

three different waivers to serve the three target groups. The waivers

to serve the physically disabled and elderly and the developmentally

disabled have operated continuously to the present, but Colorado’s

request to renew the waiver to serve the mentally ill was denied in

5

1985 and Colorado has not provided HCBS to mentally ill clients

Since that time.

Colorado is not unique in this regard. Several States have

waivers to provide HCBS to physically disabled clients, but no State

currently has a waiver to provide HCBS to mentally ill adults.’ In

large part, this is due to the difficulty of assuring that the cost of

HCBS is less than the cost of institutional care. Inasmuch as

medicaid does not pay for services provided by an institution for

mental disease, clients who would otherwise receive services in an

institution for mental disease are not appropriate for HCBS.

Colorado provides a number of non-institutional services for its

mentally ill residents. These services include services under medicaid

(such as clinic services and rehabilitation options) and services

provided with only state funds (such as adult foster, home care

allowance and community mental health centers). Respondent,

nevertheless, brought an action alleging that providing HCBS to the

elderly and physically disabled while denying HCBS to the mentally

ill violated federal law.

The trial court entered judgment in favor of respondent.

Specifically the trial court held that respondent and the class he

represented were “otherwise qualified" to receive HCBS and that the

failure to provide them with HCBS violated § 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. § 794 (1988). The trial court

further held that the failure to provide HCBS to the mentally ill

violated the Equal Protection Clause. According to the trial court,

the mentally ill were a “suspect class" and HCBS was a "fundamental

' According to CCH Medicare & Medicaid Guide, | 14,625, pp. 6340-

50 (8/92), there are approximately 148 waivers in effect in 48 states. The

waivers are targeted to the developmentally disabled (68), elderly, blind and

physically disabled (57), AIDS (13) and a number of narrower target groups

defined by illness or condition. None of the waivers are targeted to mentally

ill adults.

right" so that the failure to provide HCBS should be strictly

scrutinized. Moreover, the trial court concluded that Colorado did

not have even a rational basis for providing HCBS to the physically

disabled but providing different non-institutional services to the

mentally ill.

Petitioners appealed this decision to the Colorado Court of

Appeals. Thereafter, the Colorado Supreme Court granted a

pre-judgment writ of certiorari. The Colorado Supreme Court then

reversed the trial court by a vote of five to two.

The Colorado Supreme Court held that the mentally ill were

not a suspect class and that HCBS was not a fundamental right. The

court also held that the slight chance of obtaining a waiver to serve

the mentally ill and the cost of pursuing such a waiver provided a

rational basis for Colorado’s decision to offer different

non-institutional services to the mentally ill.

After this decision, the Colorado Supreme Court granted

respondent's petition for rehearing. On rehearing, one justice recused

himself and the remaining justices divided equally. This equally

divided vote had the effect of affirming the trial court’s decision.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT BELOW MISCONSTRUED

THE REQUIREMENTS OF § 504 TO MEAN

THAT BENEFTTS GIVEN TO ONE GROUP

OF HANDICAPPED INDIVIDUALS MUST

ALSO BE GIVEN TO ALL OTHER

HANDICAPPED INDIVIDUALS, DESPITE

UNANIMOUS PRECEDENT TO THE

CONTRARY.

The court below held that a State may not target benefits to one

group of handicapped individuals and deny them to others without

violating § 504. The courts, Congress and administrative agencies

are unanimous in rejecting this position, and the decision hampers

States in their efforts to provide benefits to handicapped individuals.

In Traynor v. Turnage, 485 U.S. 535, 549 (1988), this Court

said, "There is nothing in the Rehabilitation Act that requires that any

benefits extended to one category of handicapped persons be extended

to all other categories of handicapped persons." This doctrine has

been applied by every other court facing an issue similar to the one

presented in this case. For example, in Knutzen v. Eben Ezer

Lutheran Housing Center, 815 F.2d 1343 (10th Cir. 1987), the court

held that a sponsor did not violate § 504 by offering subsidized

housing to the elderly and mobility impaired but not to the mentally

ill. Accord Brecker v. Queens B’nai B’rith Housing Development

Fund, 607 F. Supp. 428 (E.D.N.Y. 1985), aff'd, 798 F.2d 52 (2d

Cir. 1986). In Bernard B. v. Blue Cross Shield of Greater New York,

528 F. Supp. 125 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), aff'd, 679 F.2d 7 (2d Cir. 1982),

the court held that an insurance company did not violate § 504 by

paying for inpatient care but not for psychiatric inpatient care.

Similarly, the court in Doe v. Colautti, 592 F.2d 704 (3d Cir. 1979)

held that a State did not violate § 504 by providing unlimited general

hospital care but only limited care in a mental institution. In

Duquette v. Dupuis, 582 F. Supp. 1365 (D. N.H. 1984), the court

8

held that a State did not violate § 504 by providing medical benefits

to blind children while denying the benefits to all other handicapped

children.

These decisions are consistent with the actions of Congress to

target certain benefits to particular groups of handicapped individuals.

For example, in the Rehabilitation Act itself, Congress created

programs benefitting certain handicapped individuals while excluding

others. ‘Pub. L. No. 93-112, 87 Stat. 355, § 305, reprinted in 1973

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 409, 441, established a National

Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults. The 1986 amendments to

the Rehabilitation Act renewed this program. Pub. L. No. 99-506.

§ 901, 100 Stat. 1807, 1840 "Reauthorization of Helen Keller

National Center Act." In the recently enacted Housing and

Community Development Act of 1992, Pub. L. 102-550, 106 Stat.

3813, § 622 Congress expressly allowed public housing agencies to

designate projects for the elderly and exclude the disabled. The

Randolph-Sheppard Act, 20 U.S.C. §§ 107-107f (1988), gives blind

individuals a preference in operating businesses within public

buildings even though other handicapped individuals could also

benefit from such a preference.

Administrative regulations implementing § 504 reinforce the

view that benefits can be provided to some handicapped individuals

without providing them to all handicapped individuals. 45 C.F.R.

§ 84.4 (1992) provides that "... the exclusion of a specific class of

handicapped individuals from a program limited by federal statute or

executive order to a different class of handicapped persons is not

prohibited ....". Similarly, regulations implementing the Americans

with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12131-12213 (1990), provide

that, "nothing ... prohibits a public entity from providing benefits ...

to a particular class of individuals with disabilities ....". 28 C.F.R.

§ 35.130(c) (1992). The regulatory comments on this provision

explain that, "... State and local governments may provide special

benefits ... limited to ... a particular class of individuals with

disabilities without thereby incurring additional obligations to ... other

9

classes of individuals with disabilities." 56 Fed. Reg. 35705 (July

26, 1991).

In this case, federal regulations require waivers be limited to

one of three defined target groups, and specifies that the physically

disabled aid the mentally are in different target groups. The statute

authorizing the waivers expressly anticipates that waivers may be

limited to “individuals with a particular illness or condition ...." 42

U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7)(A). The legislative history underlying this

section says without ambiguity that, "States are allowed to target their

waivers to groups of individuals at risk of hospital care, as defined by

illness or diagnosis (e.g., AIDS of {sic} AIDS related condition), or

by condition (e.g., chronic mental illness, ventilator dependency)."

H. Conf. Rep. No. 99-1012, reprinted in 1986 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 4046.

Despite this wealth of authority from the courts, Congress and

administrative agencies permitting States to target benefits to one

group of handicapped individuals while excluding others, the court

below held that Colorado could not limit its HCBS program to the

physically disabled. Petitioners believe that this is a question of first

impression in the state and federal courts. The decision is not only

novel, it casts doubt on the legality of all 148 HCBS waivers

operating in 48 States.

Moreover, the claim in this case is very odd. In the typical

§ 504 case, the plaintiff claims that he should receive some benefit

despite his handicap. In this case, respondent claims he is entitled to

a benefit because of his handicap. In short, he is not using § 504 as

a shield to protect himself from discrimination, but as a sword to

carve out a place for himself in a benefit program intended for

entirely different group of handicapped individuals.

The decision substantially misconstrues the requirements of

§ 504, and effectively guts the usefulness of HCBS waivers. Under

the decision of the court below, States can longer target benefits to

10

particular groups as Congress intended but must choose between

providing HCBS to all needy groups or to none. Accordingly, HCBS

waivers will be inflexible and unwieldy and States will be less likely

to utilize them. In the end, the decision of the court below will only

result in fewer services for the disabled because States will have to

weigh the risk of litigation and coverage of unintended groups any

time it considers a program to serve any portion of the disabled

community.

Il. THE COURT BELOW, CONTRARY TO

EVERY REPORTED DECISION ON THE

ISSUE, HELD THAT THE MENTALLY ILL

WERE A SUSPECT CLASS, SO THAT

LEGISLATIVE ACTIONS REGARDING

THE MENTALLY ILL MUST BE

SUBJECTED TO STRICT SCRUTINY

UNDER THE EQUAL PROTECTION

CLAUSE.

The court departed from well established judicial precedent by

holding that the mentally ill are a suspect class. All other decisions

on the issue have held that the mentally ill are not a suspect class.

Douglas v. Hugh A. Stallings, M.D. Inc., 870 F.2d 1242 (7th Cir.

1989); United States ex rel. Weismuller v. Lane, 815 F.2d 1106, 1110

n.7 (7th Cir. 1987); Knutzen v. Eben Ezer Lutheran Housing Center,

815 F.2d 1343 (10th Cir. 1987); Cospito v. Heckler, 747 F.2d 72, 82

(3d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1311 (1985); Benham vy.

Edwards, 678 F.2d 511, 515 n.9 (Sth Cir. 1982), vacated on other

grounds, 463 U.S. 1222 (1983). On a closely related issue, this

Court has held that mentally retarded individuals are not a suspect

class. City of Cleburne vy. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. 432

(1985).

It is clear that the decision below is without support in any

reported decision and that it imposes a substantial burden on all state

11

and local governments that seeks to extend a benefit to any needy

group without extending the same benefit to the mentally ill.

Il. THE COURT BELOW CREATED A

SIGNIFICANT NEW CONSTITUTIONAL

RIGHT, BECAUSE IT HELD THAT

INDIVIDUALS ARE ENTITLED TO

SERVICES TO PREVENT

INSTITUTIONALIZATION.

The court below held that individuals have a right to be free of

undue bodily restraint and that Colorado infringed on this right by

failing to provide HCBS to mentally ill persons. There is no support

for this decision in the law, and it creates an unlimited liability for the

States to provide services to their citizens.

In Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307, 317 (1982), this Court

said, “As a general matter, a State is under no constitutional duty to

provide substantive services for those within its borders." In this

case, the court below held that the right to receive HCE was a

fundamental right, because it implicated liberty interests in freedom

from bodily restraint. This holding dramatically expands the services

a State must offer under the Constitution. In virtually all cases in

which a person’s liberty is restrained, one could credibly argue that

the restraint would not be necessary if the State had only provided the

appropriate services. Thus, there would be a fundamental right to

marriage counseling to prevent incarceration for domestic violence,

a fundamental right to treatment for substance abuse to avoid

incarceration or hospitalization for drug related problems, and a

fundamental right to family therapy to avoid placing children in foster

care. Carried to its logical conclusion, the holding of the court below

would mean that the States must provide every conceivable service

that might prevent any loss of liberty.

Petitioners believe that the question of whether HCBS is a

12

fundamental right is one of first impression in the state and federal

courts. Inasmuch as 48 States offer HCBS to their citizens, this is an

issue of great public importance that should be addressed by this

Court.

IV. THERE IS A RATIONAL BASIS FOR

COLORADO’S DECISION NOT TO OFFER

HCBS TO THE MENTALLY ILL.

In Schweiker v. Hogan, 457 U.S. 569, 590 (1982), this Court

said:

In establishing public assistance

programs, Congress has _ often

determined that the federal government

cannot finance a program that provides

meaningful benefits in equal measure to

everyone. Both state and federal funds

for such assistance are limited.

The same is true hers. Funds to provide medical assistance are

not limitless, and benefits cannot be given to everyone in equal

measure. This is why HCBS waivers can be limited to '

individuals with a particular illness or condition ....". 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396n(c)(7). In this way, States can control their expenditures for

medical assistance and target benefits to particular groups.

In Beckwith v. Kizer, 912 F.2d 1139 (9th Cir. 1990), the Ninth

Circuit was presented with a challenge to an HCBS waiver that served

persons that had been hospitalized but did not serve persons with

identical physical conditions that had not beer hospitalized. The court

upheld the waiver against an equal protection challenge, and said:

Definition of any waiver class

necessarily involves difficult policy

13

judgments concerning where services

would most efficiently be used. We

lack the qualifications or the authority to

pass upon the fiscal responsibility of

California’s waiver program in the

manner plaintiffs request .... We cannot

say that this decision is irrational. The

Statute is intended to alleviate the

problem of unnecessary

institutionalization, but it does not

purport to solve it altogether.

In this case, Colorado was faced with a situation where its

request for a waiver to serve the mentally ill had been denied by the

federal government, no other State currently has such a waiver, and

there are a number of other non-institutional services that it could

offer to its mentally citizens. In such a case, it cannot be said that

Colorado’s decision to pursue other options than HCBS for the

mentally ill was irrational.

CONCLUSION

Based on the above points and authorities, the petition for a

writ of certiorari should be granted.

GALE A. NORTON*

Attorney General

RAYMOND T. SLAUGHTER

Chief Deputy Attorney General

TIMOTHY M. TYMKOVICH

Solicitor General

PAUL FARLEY

Deputy Attorney General

WADE LIVINGSTON

First Assistant Attorney General

14

STACY L. WORTHINGTON

Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for Petitioners

Colorado Department of Law

1525 Sherman Street, Sth Floor

Denver, Colorado 80203

Telephone: 866-5660

*Counsel of Record

ee

APPENDIX A

DISTRICT COURT, CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER,

COLORADO

Case No. 88 CV 22641. Courtroom 20

DECISION AND ORDER

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the class of persons

Similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

v%

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official capacity as Director of the

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES: HENRY

SOLANO, in his official capacity as Director of the COLORADO

DEPARTMENT OF INSTITUTIONS; ROBERT BAUSERMAN:

ROBBIE L. BEAN, SUZANNE D. DOSH; DENNIS FISHER:

MARY KYER; PEGGY STOKSTAD; JOHN P. STONE: RICHARD

F. WALKER, in their official capacity as members of the

COLORADO BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES.

Defendants.

This is an action brought by plaintiff Duc Van Le individually,

and on behalf of all others similarly situated, against Irene M. Ibarra.

in her official capacity as Director of the Colorado Department of

Social Services; Robert Bauserman, Robbie L. Bean, Suzanne D.

Dosh, Dennis Fisher, Mary Kyer, Peggy Stokstad, John P. Stone, and

Richard F. Walker, in their official capacity as members of the

Colorado Board of Social Services; and Henry Solano, in his official

capacity as Director of the Colorado Department of Institutions.

The Court has previously determined that this action should be

maintained as a class action pursuant to Rule 26, subsections (b)(1)

and (b)(2) of C.R.C.P. The class is defined as follows:

A-1

Low income mentally ill residents of

Colorado who, because of their mental

illness, qualify for skilled or

intermediate care under Title XIX of the

Social Security Act, but who have been

and are being deprived by the State of

Colorado of home and community based

services under Title XIX of the Social

Security Act, solely on the basis of their

mental illness, although such services

are provided to physically disabled

adults, and who claim that this

deprivation violates their rights under

the Social Security Act, the Reha-

bilitation Act of 1973 and the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States

Constitution.

Plaintiff seeks to enjoin defendants, their agents and employees,

from denying members of the class, as defined above, access to home

and community based services (HCBS) under the State’s HCBS

waiver program, solely on the basis of the nature of their disability.

Plaintiff contends that state defendants’ unequal and

discriminatory treatment of the mentally ill in allocating HCBS

benefits is contrary to Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act [42

U.S.C. § 1396n(c)], and constitutes a violation of Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 [29 U.S.C. § 794]. Plaintiff also claims

that the classification of persons whose primary diagnosis is mental

illness, so as to exclude such persons from receiving needed HCBS

benefits, violates equal protection under the Fourteenth Amendment

to the United States Constitution.

The Court, after reviewing all of the evidence in this case, and

in consideration of the testimony of the witnesses called, documentary

evidence submitted, and the briefs and arguments of counsel, does

A-2

enter these findings of fact and conclusions of law.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The parties to this matter have submitted Stipulated Facts.

which this Court accepts as true and incorporated herein.

In addition to the stipulated facts, the Court has heard

testimony from Catherine Pring, the Director of Adult Services for

Denver County Department of Social Services; Rose Kotlar, Director

of Outpatient Services for the Mental Health Corporation of Denver;

Rev. Wade Blank, Director of the Atlantis Community; and Bruce

Berger, the Assistant Director of the Colorado Division of Mental

Health. Based upon the testimony of these witnesses, the Court

makes the following additional findings of fact:

1. Personal care services, homemaker services, medication

monitoring in the home, and non-medical transportation, which are

services currently provided under the HCBS Program for the elderly,

blind and physically disabled, are services which are necessary to

maintain plaintiff and class members in stable condition in the

community, and to avoid institutionalization of such persons in

hospitals and nursing homes.

2. No public or private agency currently has a program to

provide these essential services to plaintiff and class members,

although such services are provided by the Department of Social

Services to elderly, blind and physically disabled adults whose

incomes and medical needs are virtually identical with those of

plaintiff and class members.

3. Without these home and community based services,

plaintiff and class members will continue to experience the revolving

door syndrome of hospitalization, nursing home placement, placement

in the community, de-stabilization and re-hospitalization. Thus, the

availability of HCBS is an essential ingredient of normal living

A-3

patterns for a substantial number of persons who are mentally ill.

The failure to provide such services operates to exclude persons who

are mentally ill from living in the community, and to return them into

more restrictive environments.

4. The mental health services currently provided through the

Mental Health Corporation of Denver (MHCD) and other community

mental health centers are not sufficient by themselves to avoid the

revolving door of re-institutionalization of chronically mentally ill

persons. As an example, there is currently a 200-person waiting list

for case management services in the MHCD alone. Even under

optimal conditions, case managers, with the existing resources, could

only spend, on average, slightly more than one hour per week with

chronically mentally ill clients. Such case management services,

alone, cannot provide the community supports necessary to avoid re-

institutionalization of plaintiff and other mentally ill persons class

members.

5. Although the State claims that the federal government will

not fund a HCBS waiver for mentally ill persons, the evidence of

record shows that the State in the last five years has not applied for

such a waiver, has not requested in writing any assistance from the

federal government to develop a waiver which would be acceptable

under the existing regulations, and has not made any attempts to

correct its rejected 1985 waiver application or to challenge the

rejection of that waiver application in 1985.

6. The cost burden to the State of providing HCBS program

services to the mentally ill is insignificant in light of the benefits to

plaintiff and class members, and the federal government’s

contribution of between 50% and 75% of the cost. The evidence

indicates that provision of such services would prevent unnecessary

hospitalizations at a cost of $400.00 per day, as compared to the

$46.00 per day average cost of HCBS services.

: According to the testimony there are currently

A-4

approximately 300 persons in nursing homes in the Denver

metropolitan area alone who have been designated as mentally ill.

8. Many of these persons could live in the community if

community supports provided through the HCBS program were made

available to them.

9. In addition, there are substantial numbers of class members

who are currently residing in the community, either in substandard

boarding homes or homeless shelters, who would benefit from home

and community based services identical to those that are currently

provided to the elderly, blind and physically disabled.

10. Despite these facts, the State of Colorado, through the

Department of Institutions and the Department of Social Services, has

simply failed to exercise reasonable diligence to seek out federal

financial assistance, which is currently available, to provide these

home and community based services to plaintiff and class members.

11. As plaintiff and class members meet all of the medical and

financial qualifications for the Home and Community Based Services

Program currently operated by the State, other than the fact that they

are mentally ill, they are otherwise qualified handicapped persons

under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

12. The evidence of record establishes that plaintiff and class

members require the very same home and community based services.

which the State currently makes available to the elderly, blind and

physically disabled, and that plaintiff and class members are deprived

of these services solely by reason of the nature of their disability.

13. The State is currently underspending its authorized funding

for home and community based services for the elderly, blind and

physically disabled; therefore, there is sufficient funding within the

HCBS Program to accommodate the provision of home and

community based services to plaintiff and class members.

A-5

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Court, upon consideration of its Findings of Fact, has

determined that the defendants have violated the federal statutory and

constitutional rights of plaintiff and class members.

1. Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, by its clear

language, establishes the HCBS waiver program for:

individuals with respect to whom there

has been a determination that but for the

provision of such services the

individuals would require the level of

care provided in a hospital or skilled

nursing facility or intermediate care

facility...

See 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1).

2. This statute does not limit participation in the HCBS

waiver program to any specific category of persons who would

otherwise be institutionalized. Indeed, there is no provision in the

Statute which authorizes states to offer HCBS programs for the

elderly, blind and physically disabled while discriminating against

eligible mentally ill persons solely on the basis of the nature of their

disability. To the contrary, the statute establishes a single, unified

HCBS waiver program for all otherwise eligible persons who, without

the provision of such services, would require hospitalization, or

skilled or intermediate nursing home care.

3. Plaintiff and the class of persons he represents meet the

above-quoted statutory definition; therefore, they cannot be excluded

from receiving HCBS program services solely by reason of the nature

of their disability.

4. Defendants’ assertion that plaintiff would be ineligible for

HCBS on the basis of the MINS criteria, which became effective July

2, 1989, is erroneous. The MINS criteria were not in effect at the

time that plaintiff was denied services under the HCBS program.

5S. Further, 10 C.C.R. 8.485.41(5)(a) specifically provides

that:

Individuals who are de-institutionalized

from skilled nursing facilities and

intermediate care facilities, and who

continue to meet all other HCBS-EBD

eligibility criteria shall be exempt from

application of the HCBS-EBD admission

criteria for determination of applicants

most in need of services at the time of

admission and upon all subsequent level

of care reviews....

6. According to the stipulated facts, plaintiff was de-

institutionalized from Sunshine Health Care Center, an intermediate

care facility. Hence, the MINS criteria, even in their present form,

would not affect the eligibility of plaintiff and class members who

have been de-institutionalized from hospitals, skilled nursing facilities

and intermediate care facilities.

7. Defendant Solano contends that he does not have the

responsibility for providing community based services to mentally ill

persons. The facts indicate otherwise. Stipulated fact number 23

explicitly states that:

Defendant Henry Solano is the Director

of the Colorado Department of

Institutions (DOI). In his official

Capacity and in conjunction with the

Department of Social Services, he has

A-7

been delegated certain responsibilities

and authority to provide home and

community based services for the

mentally ill under C.R.S. § 26-4.5-204.

8. Further, prior to its repeal in May 1990, § 26-04.5-204,

C.R.S. (1989 Repl. Vol.), stated that:

The department of social services and

the department of institutions shall:

(a) Utilize any available

federal, state, local, or

private funds, including,

but not limited to,

medicaid funds available

under Title XIX of the

federal "Social Security

Act", as amended, to

Carry out the purposes

of this part 2; ...

9. Under part 2 of Title 26, article 4.5,-the Colorado General

Assembly established a program of home and community based

services for the mentally ill. Subsection 26-4.5-209(1) states:

A program to provide home and

community-based services to those

mentally ill persons in need of the level

of care available in a nursing home is

hereby established pursuant to the

federal "Social Security Act", as

amended. This program shall provide

for the mental health, residential, and

other needs of mentally ill persons so

that those persons may avoid

A-8

institutionalization in nursing homes.

10. Under these statutory provisions, defendant Solano, and

his department’s prior directors, along with the current and former

executive directors of the Department of Social Services, from July

1, 1982 to May 1990, were mandated to establish a home and

community based services program for the mentally ill, using any

available state, federal, local or private funds.

11. Defendants attempt to rationalize their failure to seek an

HCBS waiver on behalf of plaintiff and class members, and thus the

unequal treatment of them, on the following alleged grounds:

a. Mentally ill persons do not always need the same

services and cannot be treated the same as physically disabled people;

b. The State should be able to provide services for

which federal financial assistance is available, while not undertaking

similar services in the absence of federal funding; and

c. The State should be able to determine the appropri-

ate allocation of scarce resources for public welfare benefits.

12. The stipulated facts defeat the rationalizations proffered by

State defendants.

13. State defendants have stipulated that the same HCBS

services currently provided to the elderly, blind and physically

disabled are "essential" and "would be of great benefit to Duc Van Le

and the class of mentally ill persons he represents."

14. Exhibit 5 to the stipulated facts, a May 17, 1990 letter

from the director of the Health Care Financing Administration

(HCFA) to Congresswoman Patricia Schroeder, states that federal

financial assistance is available for HCBS program services for the

mentally ill just as it is available for HCBS program services for the

A-9

elderly, blind and physically disabled. This letter from HCFA also

states that the Department of Health and Human Services "applies the

same standards to waivers for the mentaliy ill as it does for all other

requests for waivers." Therefore, federal funds are equally available

for HCBS programs for the mentally ill as for HCBS programs for

the elderly, blind and physically disabled.

15. In addition, state defendant have stipulated that the federal

government would pay between 50% and 75% of the cost of HCBS

program services.

16. There are no facts or evidence before the Court to support

state defendants’ contention that they should be able to provide HCBS

program services to the elderly, blind and physically disabled while

denying such services to mentally ill persons on alleged grounds of

"scare public dollars." Indeed, the State has admitted that HCBS

program services are essential to contain the more expensive costs of

skilled and intermediate care. The evidence also shows that the State

is underspending appropriated funds for the HCBS program.

In addition to the foregoing, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation

Act of 1973 [29 U.S.C. § 794] states that:

(a) No otherwise qualified individual

with handicaps in the United States

shall, solely by reason of her or his

handicap, be excluded from _ the

participation in, be denied the benefits

of, or be subjected to discrimination

under any program or activity receiving

Federal financial assistance....

The federal regulations implementing Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 specifically provide that:

No qualified handicapped person shall,

A-10

on the basis of handicap, be excluded

from participation in, be denied the

benefits of, or otherwise be subjected to

discrimination under any program or

activity which receives or benefits from

Federal financial assistance.

45 C.F.R. 84.4(a).

The Section 504 implementing regulations further outline the

types of discrimination prohibited by the statute. These include:

a. Deny[ing] a qualified handicapped person the

Opportunity to participate in or benefit from the aid, benefit. or

service;

b. Afford[ing] a qualified handicapped person an

Opportunity to participate in or benefit from the aid, benefit, or

service that is not equal to that afforded others:

c. [Providing] a qualified handicapped person with an

aid, benefit, or service that is not as effective as that provided to

others;

d. [Providing] different or separate aid, benefits, or

services to handicapped persons or to any class of handicapped

persons unless action is necessary to provide qualified handicapped

persons with aid, benefits, or services that are as effective as those

provided to others;

e. Otherwise limit[ing] a qualified handicapped person

in the enjoyment of any right, privilege, advantage, or opportunity

enjoyed by others receiving an aid, benefit or service.

45 C.F.R. 84.4(b)(1).

The limited exception to the prohibition against such

discriminatory actions is outlined in 45 C.F.R. 84.4(c):

... [T]he exclusion of a specific class of

handicapped persons from a program

limited by Federal statute or executive

order to a different class of handicapped

persons is not prohibited by this part.

This exception is inapplicable to this case. As Section 1915(c) of the

Social Security Act does not limit participation to any specific class

of handicapped persons, the exclusion under 45 C.F.R. 84.4(c) does

not apply.

Although state defendants point to mental health services

provided under the Colorado Care and Treatment of the Mentally III

Act, these are the same "services" which the Colorado Supreme Court

in Goebel, et al. v. Department of Institutions, et al., 764 P.2d 785

(Colo. 1988) found to be so deficient that plaintiff's and class

members’ rights under the Act were and continue to be violated.

There is no alternative state program

which provides for Duc Van Le and the

class of mentally ill persons he

represents the same HCBS program

services which are currently being

provided to elderly, blind and physically

disabled persons.

Under the State’s administration of the HCBS program and

other State programs, eligible elderly, blind and physically disabled

persons receive homemaker services, personal care services,

medication monitoring, assistance with cleaning and hygiene, and

assistance with similar househo!d tasks while similarly situated

mentally ill persons are denied such services.

A-12

ne

State defendants rely on Knutzen v. Nelson, 617 F. Supp. 977

(D. Colo. 1985), aff'd 815 F.2d 1343 (10th Cir. 1987), to justify

their refusal to provide plaintiff and class members the same home

and community based services the State, with federal financial

assistance, provides to elderly, blind and physically disabled persons.

The Knutzen case, however, dealt with Section 202 housing program

benefits rather than HCBS waiver program benefits.

Further, the Knutzen court found that plaintiffs in that case had

not established a prima facie case under Section 504 because they

were not excluded solely on the basis of their handicap. In this case,

however, state defendants have specifically stipulated that they are

denying HCBS to plaintiff and class members solely on the basis of

the nature of their handicap. Specifically, defendants have stipulated

they [sic]:

Even though Duc Van Le and the

members of the plaintiff class meet all

of the financial and medical screens for

HBS services, they have been and will

be denied these services solely on the

basis that their primary diagnosis is

mental illness.

Further, the Colorado Supreme Court’s analysis of the

applicability of Section 504 to mentally ill persons in Goebel, et al.

v. Colorado Department of Institutions, et al., supra, supports

plaintiff's Section 504 arguments here. In Goebel, the Supreme Court

found that the trial court should not have dismissed the Section 504

claim of the mentally ill plaintiffs alleging that the Department of

[Institutions discriminated against mentally ill persons on the basis of

the severity of their handicap. Goebel, supra, 764 P.2d at 803-807.

The Goebel court cited with approval a number of cases,

including Homeward Bound, Inc. v. Hissom Memorial Center, No.

85-C-437-E (N.D. Oklahoma, July 24, 1987) [available on

A-13

WESTLAW, 1987 WL 27104], a case involving Oklahoma’s refusal

to apply for HCBS program services for the mentally retarded. The

Homeward Bound court ruled that the State of Oklahoma’s failure to

seek HCBS program services under the federal waiver, which would

prevent institutionalization of mentally retarded citizens, violated their

rights under Section 504 as well as their right to equal protection

under the United States Constitution.

The Homeward Bound court found that mentally retarded

persons have a "right to effective and integrated services under

Section 504." Analyzing the intent of Congress in enacting the

Federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as reflected in the extensive

legislative history of the Act, the Homeward Bound court ruled that

"Section 504 prohibits unnecessarily segregated services for regarded

persons."

The Homeward Bound court also found that the State had

violated Section 504 by providing fewer services to severely retarded

persons and retarded persons with other handicaps. Indeed, the court

found that "federally assisted retardation services for severely retarded

people and for retarded people with physical or behavior disabilities

have been provided by [the state] only in segregated settings."

Finally, the Homeward Bound court found = an

“underdevelopment of a community service system" by a state which

constituted "a continuation of the original and _ continuing

discrimination practiced by the state against retarded people" and

ruled that “the affirmative development of community services is

necessary to remedy this effect." The court relied on and upheld the

HHS’ regulatory construction of Section 504, which requires the

taking of “appropriate remedial steps to eliminate the effects of any

discrimination that resulted from adherence to these policies and

practices." See 45 C.F.R. 84.6.

These findings of the Homeward Bound court with respect to

mentally retarded persons are equally applicable here with respect to

A-14

mentally ill persons. The State’s current administration of services

clearly segregate mentally ill persons from other handicapped persons.

By failing to provide HCBS program services to mentally ill persons,

the State has underdeveloped a community based.services system for

those suffering from mental illness. which perpetrates past

discrimination against such persons. Such discrimination clearly

violates plaintiff's and class members’ rights under Section 504.

Finally, in determining whether the requirements of Section 504

are met, the U.S. Supreme Court has mandated that courts must

balance "the statutory rights of the handicapped to be integrated into

society and the legitimate interest of federal grantees in preserving the

integrity of their programs." Alexander v. Choate. 469 U.S. 287,

300 (1985). This balancing test requires:

That an _ otherwise handicapped

individual must be provided with

meaningful access to the benefit that the

grantee offers. The benefit itself, of

course, cannot be defined in a way that

effectively denies other qualified

handicapped individuals the meaningful

access to which they are entitled: to

assure meaningful access, reasonable

accommodation in the grantee’s program

or benefit may have to be made.

Id. at 301

in this case, the State has simply failed to provide mentally ill

persons access to home and community based services. Plaintiff and

class members seek no more than the same access to HCBS program

services as is provided to the elderly, blind and physically

handicapped.

The defendants [sic] further contend that the State’s failure to

A-15

provide HCBS benefits to mentally ill persons solely on the basis of

the nature of their handicap constitutes a violation of equal protection.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United Constitution states

that:

No state shall ... deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

In 1982, the United States Supreme Court in Plyler v. Doe, 457

U.S. 202, 216 (1982), stated unequivocally that "[t]he Equal

Protection Clause directs that all persons similarly circumstanced shall

be treated alike." Three years later in Hooper v. Bernalillo County

Assessor, 472 U.S. 612, 618 (1985), the Court ruled that:

When a. state distributes benefits

unequally, the distinctions it makes are

Subject to scrutiny under the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.

See Zobel v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55, 60 (1982)

When a governmental classification operates to the peculiar

disadvantage of a "suspect" class or interferes with the exercise of a

“fundamental" right or interest, strict scrutiny of the classification is

required. To pass muster under the strict scrutiny test, such a

classification must further a compelling governmental interest which

cannot be served by an alternative means less burdensome to the

suspect class or [sic] fundamental right or interest. Shapiro v.

Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 634 (1969); Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S.

330, 343 (1972).

A suspect class has generally been described as a "discrete and

insular" minority. United States v. Carolene Products Co.. 304 U.S.

144, 152 n. 4 (1938); Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365. 372

(1971). These are classes which have been “saddled with such

disabilities, or subjected to such a history of purposeful unequal

treatment, or relegated to such a position of political powerlessness

as to command extraordinary protection from the majoritarian

political process." San Antonio Indep. School District v. Rodriguez,

411 U.S. 1, 28 (1973); Massachusetts Board of Retirement v. Murgia,

427 U.S. 307 (1976).

Rights are fundamental if their source. explicitly or implicitly,

is the Constitution. Plyler, supra, 457 U.S. at 217 n. 15. See also

Lujan v. Colorado State Board of Education, 649 P.2d 1005, 1015 n.

7 (Colo. 1982) ("fundamental rights are essentially those rights having

a value essential to individual liberty in our society"). Among the

rights which are considered fundamental, "[lJiberty from bodily

restraint always has been recognized as the core of the liberty

protected by the Due Process Clause from arbitrary governmental

action." Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307, 316 (1982). The

Youngberg court indicated that reasonable "habilitation" services,

which are needed to assure freedom from undue restraint of persons

who are mentally disabled, may be found to be fundamental in an

appropriate case.

When there is no suspect class or fundamental right involved,

there still must be some rational basis for the governmental

classification and disparate treatment. United States Department of

Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 533 (1973).

While the United States Supreme Court has generally applied

a rational basis test rather than a strict scrutiny test for equal

protection claims the Court has never been confronted with an equal

protection claim in which mentally ill persons are denied benefits

necessary to avoid institutionalization, i.e., the loss or deprivation of

a liberty interest, on the basis of their mental handicap.

A-17

Indeed, the United States Supreme Court in Schweiker v.

Wilson, 450 U.S. 221, 230-31 n. 15 (1981), reserved decision on the

question of what standard of review applies to legislation classifying

the mentally ill as a distinct group.

The United States Supreme Court in City of Cleburne v.

Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432 (1985), overturned a

discriminatory zoning ordinance affecting mentally retarded persons

by applying a rational basis test.

Physically disabled persons and mentally ill persons are

similarly situated with respect to the purposes of the Section 1915(c)

waiver Statute.

The mentally ill are a suspect class for equal protection

purposes.

Plaintiff's and class members’ interest in living in a community

setting, and being free from undue bodily restraint in institutional

setting such as hospitals and nursing homes, is a fundamental liberty

interest which is infringed by the State’s failure to provide HCBS

benefits to persons who are mentally ill.

On the basis of the stipulated facts and evidence presented, state

defendants have shown no compelling governmental interest to

support the unequal and discriminatory treatment of plaintiff and class

members in this case.

Even assuming that the denial of HCBS benefits to mentally ill

persons does not involve a suspect class or a fundamental right or

interest, state defendants have not shown that such denial of HCBS

benefits is rationally related to any legitimate governmental interest.

Therefore, the State’s failure to provide HCBS benefits to

mentally ill persons solely on the basis of the nature of their

handicap, i.e. mental illness, constitutes a violation of equal

A-18

protection.

ORDER

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that plaintiff Duc Van Le and

members of the class, as previously certified, are entitled to

meaningful access to the same HCBS program services which are

currently provided to elderly, blind and physically disabled persons.

[IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that:

1. State defendants, their agents and employees are

permanently enjoined from denying plaintiff and class members

HCBS benefits solely on the basis that their primary diagnosis is

mental illness.

2. So long as state defendants provide HCBS benefits to

elderly, blind and physically disabled persons, they shall provide the

Same services for plaintiff and class members.

3. The parties shall submit recommendations to the Court

within fifteen (15) days after the date of this Order regarding a

feasible method for notifying class members of their right to apply or

re-apply for HCBS benefits.

DONE AND SIGNED this day of August, 1990, at

Denver, Colorado.

BY THE COURT:

Edward E. Carelli, Judge

APPENDIX B

SUPREME COURT OF COLORADO

Case No. 91SC189 April 20, 1992

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the

class of persons similarly situated, Petitioner,

V.

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official Capacity as the

Executive Director of the COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF

SOCIAL SERVICES; HENRY SOLANO, in his official Capacity

as Executive Director of the COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF

INSTITUTIONS; ROBERT BAUSERMAN, ROBBIE L. BEAN,

SUSANNE D. DOSH, DENNIS FISHER, MARY KYER. PEGGY

STOKSTAD,

JOHN P. STONE, and RICHARD F. WALKER in their official

capacities as members of the COLORADO BOARD OF

SOCIAL SERVICES, Respondents.

Certiorari to the Colorado Court of Appeals

Pursuant to C.A.R. 50

EN BANC JUDGMENT REVERSED

In this class action, the trial court held that respondents,

administrators of state social services programs, violated the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution and section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

U.S.C. § 794 (1988), by failing to provide the petitioner, Duc Van

Le, and the members of the class of low income mentally ill persons

with the same Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS)

program that is provided to elderly, blind, and disabled persons. The

trial court ordered respondents to provide HCBS benefits to the class

members. Respondents appealed the trial court judgment to the court

of appeals. We accepted certiorari before judgment pursuant to

B-]

C.A.R. 50 and now reverse the judgment of the trial court.

Petitioner Duc Van Le is a low income mentally ill resident of

Colorado who requires round-the-clock skilled nursing care. He lived

in a nursing home for several years until it was determined that the

nursing home environment was no longer conducive to his further

improvement. Petitioner was then moved to an independent living

facility, where he continued to receive supervision. In August 1988,

he applied for Medicaid reimbursement for the services he was

receiving at the facility. Respondent Colorado Department of Social

Services determined that petitioner qualified financially for HCBS, but

denied his application because he is mentally ill. Petitioner

commenced this class action in November 1988 to obtain HCBS

benefits for himself and for a class of similarly situated "low income

mentally ill residents of Colorado." The class certified by the trial

court, pursuant to C.R.C.P. 23(b)(1) and (2), was:

Low income mentally ill residents of

Colorado who, because of their mental

illness, qualify for skilled or

intermediate care under Title XIX of the

Social Security Act,’ but who have been

Title XIX of the Social Security Act §§ 1901-1930, 42 U.S.C.A.

§§ 1396-1396u (West 1992), is also known as "Medicaid." Section 1901

states that Title XIX was enacted:

For the purpose of enabling each

State, as far as practicable under the

conditions in such State, to furnish (1)

medical assistance on behalf of families with

dependent children and of aged, blind, or

disabled individuals, whose income and

resources are insufficient to meet the costs

of necessary medical services, and (2)

rehabilitation and other services to help such

families and individuals attain or retain

B-2

and are being deprived by the State of

Colorado of home and community based

services under Title XIX of the Social

Security Act, solely on the basis of their

mental illness, although such services

are provided to physically disabled

capability for independence or self-care,

there is hereby authorized to be appropriated

for each fiscal year a sum sufficient to carry

out the purposes of this subchapter. The

sums made available under this section shall

be used for making payments to States

which have submitted, and had approved by

the Secretary [of Health and Human Servic-

es], State plans for medical assistance.

42 U.S.C. § 1396 (1988). The United States Supreme Court explained:

Medicaid was established by Title

XIX of the Social Security Act of 1965, 79

Stat. 343, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 1396 et

seq. Medicaid is a joint state-federal

funding program for medical assistance in

which the Federal Government approves a

state plan for the funding of medical services

for the needy and then subsidizes a

significant portion of the financial

obligations the State has agreed to assume.

Once a State voluntarily chooses to

participate in Medicaid, the State must

comply with the requirements of Title XIX

and applicable regulations. Harris v.

McRae, 448 U.S. 297, 301 (1980).

Alexander v. Choate, 469 U.S. 287, 289 n.1 (1985); see also Geriatrics,

Inc. v. Colorado Dep’t of Social Servs., 712 P.2d 1035, 1040 (Colo. App.

1985) (goal of Medicaid “is to provide services to program recipients to the

same extent, or as nearly as possible, as those services are available to the

general public").

B-3

adults, and who claim that this

deprivation violates their rights under

the Social Security Act, the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the

Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution.

Duc Van Le v. Ibarra, No. 88CV22641, slip op. at 1-2 (Denver Dist.

Ct. Aug. 23, 1990).

Respondents administer Colorado’s HCBS programs and were

sued in their official capacities as the directors of the Colorado

Department of Social Services and the Colorado Department of

Institutions, and as members of the Colorado Board of Social

Services. From 1982 through 1985, respondents administered

programs that provided HCBS benefits to low income elderly, blind,

physically disabled, developmentally disabled, and mentally ill

persons. The HCBS programs were paid for in part by federal funds

obtained by the state under Medicaid waivers. See Social Security

Act § 1915(c)(1), 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1) (1988). HCBS waivers

initially last three years but, upon proper application, may be

extended for additional five-year periods. 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(3).

In 1985, respondents applied for renewal of Colorado’s 1982 HCBS

waivers. The federal government renewed the HCBS waivers for the

state’s elderly, blind, and disabled HCBS programs, but did not

renew the waiver for the state’s mentally ill program. As a result,

respondents stopped providing HCBS benefits to mentally ill persons,

but continued HCBS benefits for elderly, blind, and disabled persons.”

*Currently, Colorado has HCBS waivers to provide: (1) aged and

disabled persons with case management, personal care, homemaker, adult

day care, respite, transportation, minor home modifications, and electronic

monitoring and communications devices; (2) mentally retarded and

developmentally disabled persons with personal care, respite care,

transportation, residential services, case management, and habilitation

services; (3) inappropriately placed developmentally disabled individuals with

B-4

a

Petitioner claimed that he was deprived of HCBS benefits in

violation of the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution and section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and sought injunctive relief to prevent the

denial of HCBS benefits to himself and the class. In a "decision and

order" dated August 23, 1990, the trial court ruled in favor of the

petitioner on both claims and ordered respondents to provide HCBS

benefits to the class "[s]o long as [respondents] provide HCBS

benefits to elderly, blind and physically disabled persons."

Respondents appealed and we granted certiorari before judgment

pursuant to C.A.R. 50 to determine whether the Equal Protection

Clause or section 504 forbids Colorado from offering HCBS benefits

to elderly, blind, and disabled persons without offering precisely the

same services to mentally ill persons. We also granted certiorari to

determine whether there is a basis for imposing liability on respondent

Henry Solano, Director of the Colorado Department of Institutions

since he did not provide HCBS services to physically disabled

persons. We reverse the judgment of the trial court and hold that

respondents did not violate the Equal Protection Clause or section 504

by refusing to provide HCBS benefits for the members of the class of

low income mentally ill persons. Our resolution of the first issue

eliminates the need to address the potential liability of the respondent

Solano.

case management, residential habilitation, transportation, day habilitation,

and respite; and (4) individuals diagnosed as having AIDS (Acquired

Immunodeficiency Syndrome) or ARC (AIDS-Related Complex) with case

management, personal care/homemaker, adult day care, home health care,

private duty nursing, and intensive supervision of foster care children with

AIDS or ARC. 3 Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) ¢ 14,625, at 6341.

B-5

The Stipulated Facts

Section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act authorizes states to

provide HCBS programs for elderly, blind, and physically disabled

persons; developmentally disabled persons; and mentally ill persons.

The parties stipulated that the provision was meant to prevent the

unnecessary institutionalization of those persons, contain costs of

long-term nursing home care for them, and provide them with more

appropriate community-based services. The HCBS programs are

jointly funded by the federal and state governments. Federal financial

assistance under Medicaid covers between fifty and seventy-five

percent of the cost of the HCBS programs. The federal government

reimburses the state under an HCBS "waiver" obtained under section

1915(c) of the Social Security Act.* To receive an HCBS waiver,

the state must demonstrate that the individual HCBS program is "cost

effective." To be cost effective, an HCBS program must cost less per

eligible individual than would Medicaid reimbursed nursing home

care.°

In 1982, Colorado obtained HCBS waivers for elderly, blind,

physically disabled, developmentally disabled, and mentally ill

persons. In 1985, Colorado applied for an extension of the HCBS

waiver program for mentally ill persons, but the application was

“The federal reimbursement is referred to as a waiver because the federal

government may waive three requirements applicable to other Medicaid

programs: statewideness, comparability, and community income and

resource rules. See 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(3) (1988).

‘The statute states that the estimated average per capita expenditure

under the HCBS program must "not exceed" the estimated average or per

capita expenditure under the state plan for the same year if the waiver had

not been granted. 42 U.S.C. §1396n(c)(2)(D).

B-6

denied by the Health Care Financing Administration of the

Department of Health and Human Services. The Administrator stated

that regional investigators had determined that a majority of Colorad-

o’s mentally ill HCBS recipients were not eligible for Medicaid

because, absent the waiver, they would be patients in mental

institutions. See Social Security Act § 1905(a), 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a)

(Medicaid does not include payments for care or services for an

individual between twenty-one and sixty-five years of age who is a

patient in an institution for mental diseases). The Administrator, in

a letter to the Colorado Department of Social Services, which is

incorporated by reference in the stipulations, stated that Colorado had

attempted to circumvent federal HCBS requirements by holding

patients released from mental institutions for fifteen days before

placing them in the HCBS waiver program for the mentally ill. The

State’s "holding" procedure was insufficient to make the individuals

eligible for Medicaid benefits. The Administrator also noted several

problems with Colorado’s cost effectiveness calculations. The

Colorado Department of Institutions decided not to submit a revised

application and terminated the mentally ill HCBS program. It

continued to operate HCBS programs for elderly, blind, and disabled

persons under renewal waivers it obtained for these programs.

The parties stipulated that HCBS services would greatly benefit

the class.° The Executive Director of the Colorado Department of

Social Services referred to the HCBS services as essential to (1) the

care and treatment of the long-term mentally ill population, and (2)

the cost containment of nursing care for that population. No existing

state program provides the class with the HCBS program services that

are currently provided to elderly, blind, and physically disabled

persons. The stipulation also provided that the class has been and

“The services provided under the existing HCBS programs include:

home health care; personal hygiene; dressing; preparation of meals;

nonmedical transportation; home modification and monitoring; case

management; adult day care; and instruction in self care, independent living,

and nutrition.

B-7

will be denied HCBS services solely because their primary diagnosis

is mental illness. At the time of the stipulation, 635 persons with a

primary diagnosis of mental illness were living in Medicaid-certified

nursing homes in Colorado.

Colorado law previously required respondents to seek HCBS

waivers for the mentally ill and developmentally disabled. See Home

and Community-based Services for Mentally Ill Persons and Persons

with Developmental Disabilities Act, §§ 26-4.5-201 to -212, 11B

C.R.S. (1989) (current version at §§ 26-4-621 to -647 (1991) (Home

and Community-based Services for Persons with Developmental

Lvisabilities Act)).” In 1991, the General Assembly repealed the

‘The legislative purposes of the Home and Community-based Services

for Mentally Ill Persons and Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act

were as follows:

(1) The general assembly hereby finds

and declares that it is the purpose of this

article to provide services for the

developmentally disabled and the mentally ill

which would foster the following goals:

(a) To maintain eligible persons in the

most appropriate settings possible and to

minimize admissions to institutions;

(b) To recognize the unique services

requirements of the mentally ill and the

developmentally disabled;

(c) To provide optimum accessibility to

various important social, habilitative, reme-

dial, residential, and health services that are

available to assist in maintaining eligible

persons in the least restrictive settings;

(d) To provide that eligible persons who

have the capacity to remain outside an insti-

B-8

Statutory language that authorized respondents to seek an HCBS

waiver for mentally ill persons.* See Home and Community-based

Services for Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, ch. 217,

1-8, §$§ 26-4.5-201 to -209, 1990 Colo. Sess. Laws 1380-82

(current version at §§ 26-4-621 to -631, 11B C.R.S. (1991 Supp.)).

Secs.

The new statute states:

It is the intent of the general assembly to

provide cost-effective services in the

least restrictive setting to individuals

who are mentally ill.

It is from that

tutional setting have access to appropriate

social, habilitative, remedial, residential, and

health

services,

without

which

institu-

tionalization would be necessary;

(e) To provide the most efficient and

effective use of funds in the delivery of

these social, habilitative, remedial, residen-

tial, and health services to eligible persons;

(f) To coordinate, integrate, and link

these social, habilitative, remedial, residen-

tial, and

health

services

into existing

community-based service delivery systems

for the developmentally disabled and the

ill, to avoid unnecessary and

expensive duplication of services;

mentally

(g)

To allow

the

state substantial

flexibility in organizing and administering

the delivery of social, habilitative, remedial,

residentia!, and health services to eligible

citizens.

§ 26-4.5-202(1), 11B C.R.S. (1989).

“The respondents in this case drafted the repealing legislation.

B-9

philosophy that the general assembly

authorized and the state implemented a

home and community-based services

program under the auspices of a federal

medicaid waiver. /nasmuch as the

federal government has been unwilling

to continue Colorado’s waiver for

mentally ill persons, the enabling State

statutory provisions for that medicaid

funded program are hereby removed.

However, the general assembly has an

ongoing interest in examining the needs

of those who are in need of long-term

care because of their mental illness and

in the most cost-effective mental health

and supportive services as may be

necessary to allow the greatest degree of

independence. In furtherance of this

intent, the department of institutions is

charged to report to the general

assembly on or before January 1, 1991,

on any additional statutory, budget, or

administrative modifications that will

facilitate the goal of home and

community-based care for the mentally

ill.

§ 26-4-622(1) (emphasis added). The remainder of the new statute

retains the same purposes and provisions as before, but is limited to

developmentally disabled persons. The state is also required by

statute to seek an HCBS waiver for elderly, blind, and disabled

persons. See §§ 26-4-601 to -612.

The parties stipulated that the United States Department of

Health and Human Services’ position on Colorado’s ability to obtain

an HCBS waiver for the mentally ill was set forth in a May 17, 1990,

B-10

letter from the Administrator to United States Representative Patricia

Schroeder. The Administrator stated that the federal statutes did not

prohibit the mentally ill from obtaining HCBS benefits. He

explained, however, that other provisions of the Medicaid statute limit

the availability of HCBS benefits for the mentally ill. Under section

1905(a), Medicaid is not available for individuals between twenty-one

and sixty-five who are inpatients in mental institutions. Most of the

recipients of the benefits under Colorado’s HCBS program for

mentally ill persons were previously inpatients in mental institutions

and, as such, were not receiving Medicaid benefits prior to entry into

the HCBS program. An HCBS program that included these

individuals, therefore, would not be budget neutral. The

Administrator stated that the Health Care Financing Administration

applies the same standards to waivers for the mentally ill that it does

on all other waivers.” He said, "If Colorado wishes to request a[n

HCBS waiver] for the mentally ill, it must show that its proposal

meets the statutory requirements, including a showing of budget

neutrality." The Administrator noted that at that time only Vermont

had an operational HCBS waiver for the mentally ill.

Finally, the parties stipulated that petitioner and the class

members are protected handicapped persons within the meaning of

section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

The Trial Court Order

The trial court heard testimony from three local HCBS

providers and the Assistant Director of the Division of Mental Health

of the Colorado Department of Institutions, who prepared the 1985

HCBS waiver application for the mentally ill. The trial court

incorporated the stipulated facts into its findings and made the

"However, the Medicaid limitation for the twenty-one to sixty-five year

old age group does not apply to individuals institutionalized in other

facilities.

B-11

following additional findings based on the testimony. First, the trial

court found that an HCBS program similar to the one provided for

elderly, blind, and disabled persons was "necessary to maintain

[petitioner] and class members in stable condition in the community,

and to avoid institutionalization of such persons in hospitals and

nursing homes." Second, without HCBS benefits, the class "will

continue to experience the revolving door syndrome of

hospitalization, nursing home placement, placement in the

community, de-stabilization and re-hospitalization." Third, the state

"failed to exercise reasonable diligence to seek out federal financial

assistance, which is currently available" because it made no attempts

to correct and resubmit its rejected 1985 waiver application or to

challenge the rejection. Fourth, the cost burden of providing HCBS

benefits to the mentally ill is insignificant in Jight of the benefits to

the class ($46 per day for HCBS benefits prevents hospitalization at

a rate of $400 per day). Fifth, there are sufficient funds to provide

HCBS benefits to the class because the state is not utilizing all the

funds allotted to the HCBS programs for the elderly, blind, and dis-

abled. Finally, the trial court found that the petitioner and the class

members meet all the medical and financial qualifications for HCBS

benefits and are, therefore, “otherwise qualified handicapped persons"

within the meaning of section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

The trial court determined that section 1915(c) of the Social

Security Act "establishes a single, unified HCBS waiver program for

all otherwise eligible persons who, without the provision of such

services, would require hospitalization, or skilled or intermediate

nursing home care." Section 1915(c) states that it establishes the

waiver program for approved state HCBS plans of

care to individuals with respect to whom

there has been a determination that but

for the provision of such services the

individuals would require the level of

care provided in a hospital or nursing

facility or intermediate care facility for

B-12

the mentally retarded the cost of which

could be reimbursed under the State

plan.

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1). The triai court found that petitioner and

the class were such individuals and, therefore, could not "be excluded

from receiving HCBS program services solely by reason of their

disability." The trial court also rejected respondents’ contention that

mentally ill persons could be denied HCBS services on the basis of

“scarce public dollars" because it found that federal funds were

equally available for the mentally ill HCBS program as for the other

HCBS programs.

Applying strict scrutiny and rational basis review, the trial

court found that respondents failed to show either a compelling or a

legitimate governmental interest for the denial of HCBS benefits to

mentally ill persons. It stated that petitioner and the class “are

entitled to meaningful access to the same HCBS programs which are

currently provided to elderly, blind, and physically disabled persons. "

The trial court concluded that respondents discriminated against

petitioner and the class in violation of the Equal Protection Clause of

the United States Constitution and section 504 of the Rehabilitation

Act of 1973. See 45 C.F.R. § 84.4 (1991). Consequently, the

'°45 C.F.R. § 84.4 provides, in relevant part:

(a) General. No qualified handicapped

person shall, on the basis of handicap, be

excluded from participation in, be denied the

benefits of, or otherwise be subjected to

discrimination under any program or activity

which receives or benefiis from Federal

financial assistance.

(b) Discriminatory actions prohibited.

(1) A recipient, in providing any aid, bene-

fit, or service, may not, directly or through

B-13

contractual, licensing, or other

arrangements, on the basis of handicap:

(i) Deny a qualified handicapped person

the opportunity to participate in or benefit

from the aid, benefit, or service;

(ii) Afford a qualified handicapped

person an cpportunity to participate in or

benefit from the aid, benefit, or service that

is not equal to that afforded others;

(iii) Provide a qualified handicapped

person with an aid, benefit, or service that is

not as effective as that provided to others;

(iv) Provide different or separate aid,

benefits, or services to handicapped persons

or to any class of handicapped persons

unless such action is necessary to provide

qualified handicapped persons with aid,

benefits, or services that are as effective as

those provided to others;

(v) Aid or perpetuate discrimination

against a qualified handicapped person by

providing significant assistance to an agency,

organization, or person that discriminates on

the basis of handicap in providing any aid,

benefit, or service to beneficiaries of the

recipients program;

(vii) Otherwise limit a qualified handi-

capped person in the enjoyment of any right,

privilege, advantage, or opportunity enjoyed

by others receiving an aid, benefit or ser-

vice.

(2) For purposes of this part, aids,

B-14

trial court enjoined respondents from basing any denial of HCBS

benefits to the class on the ground that their primary diagnosis was

mental illness. The trial court ordered that so long as respondents

provide HCBS benefits to elderly, blind, and physically disabled

persons, respondents must provide the same benefits to petitioner and

benefits, and services, to be equally

effective, are not required to produce the

identical result or level of achievement for

handicapped and nonhandicapped persons,

but must afford handicapped persons equal

opportunity to obtain the same result, to gain

the same benefit, or to reach the same level

of achievement, in the most integrated

setting appropriate to the person’s needs.

(3) Despite the existence of separate or

different programs or activities provided in

accordance with this part, a recipient may

not deny a qualified handicapped person the

opportunity to participate in such programs

Or activities that are not separate or

different.

(4) A recipient may not, directly or

through contractual or other arrangements,

utilize criteria or methods of administration

(i) that have the effect of subjecting qualified

handicapped persons to discrimination on the

basis of handicap, (ii) that have the purpose

or effect of defeating or substantially

impairing accomplishment of the objectives

of the recipient’s program with respect to

handicapped persons, or (iii) that perpetuate

the discrimination of another recipient if

both recipients are subject to common

administrative control or are agencies of the

same State.

B-15

the class members."

Il

The Federal HCBS Medicaid Waiver

Before 1981, Medicaid provided little coverage for long-term

noninstitutional care, but offered full or partial coverage for similar

care in an institution. [1981-1982 Transfer Binder] Medicare &

Medicaid Guide (CCH) ¢ 31,532, at 9603-04. Many elderly,

disabled, and chronically ill people lived in institutions, not to receive

medical care, but to receive home health care and social services that

they were unable to pay for without Medicaid coverage. Jd. at 9604.

To remedy the situation, Congress enacted section 1915(c) of the

Social Security Act 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c) (1988) (current version at

42 U.S.C.A. § 1396n(c) (West 1992)), which authorized the

Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to waive

certain Medicaid statutory limitations,’ so that a state could be

reimbursed for providing a broad array of home and community-

based services to individuals who would otherwise require the level

of care provided in a hospital, nursing, or intermediate care facility.

''The trial court rejected respondent Henry Solano’s contention that he

was not responsible for providing HCBS benefits to mentally ill persons.

'2Section 1915(c)(3) of the Social Security Act provides in part:

A waiver granted under this subsection

may include a waiver of the requirements of

section 1396a(a)(1) of this title (relating to

statewideness), section 1396a(a)(10)(B) of

this title (relating to comparability), and

section 1396a(a)(10)(C)(i)(1) of this title

(relating to income and resource rules appli-

cable in the community).

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(3) (emphasis added).

B-16

Social Security Act § 1915(c)(1), 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1).°

The Medicaid statutes and regulations allow states to target

eligible population groups. The Health Care Financing

Administration described the flexibility of state HCBS programs under

a section 1915(c) waiver in the following manner:

Under the waiver, home and

community-based services do not have

to be provided throughout the State.

Also, a State can choose to provide

home and community based services to

a limited group of eligibles, such as the

developmentally disabled. The State is

not required to provide the services to

all eligible individuals who require an

*Section 1915(c)(1) of the Act provided:

The Secretary may by waiver provide

that a State plan approved under this

subchapter may include as "medical

assistance" under such plan payment for part

or all of the cost of home and community-

based services (other than room and board)

approved by the Secretary -which are

provided pursuant to a written plan of care

to individuals with respect to whom there

has been a determination that but for the

provision of such services the individuals

would require the level of care provided in

a hospital or a nursing facility or

intermediate care facility for the mentally

retarded the cost of which could be

reimbursed under the State plan.

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1).

[intermediate care facility] or [skilled

nursing facility] level of care.

[1985 Transfer Binder] Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) 4 34,532,

at 9588. Thus, a state may target patients in a class defined by a

specific illness or disability. 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7)(A);“

Beckwith v. Kizer, 912 F.2d 1139, 1140 (9th Cir. 1990). However,

a request for a waiver must be limited to one of three target groups

or any state-defined subgroup: (1) aged or disabled, or both; (2)

mentally retarded or developmentally disabled, or both; or (3)

mentally ill. 42 C.F.R. § 441.301(6)(6) (1990).

Before the federal government will grant a waiver, the state

must assure and convince the Department of Health and Human

Services that: (1) it will protect the health and welfare of individuals

provided services under the waiver and will be financially accountable

for the funds expended; (2) it will evaluate the need for inpatient

services in hospitals, nursing facilities, and intermediate care facilities

‘Section 1915(c)(7)(A) of the Act provides:

In making estimates under paragraph

(2)(D) [relating to cost effectiveness] in the

case of a waiver that applies only to

individuals with a particular illness or

condition who are inpatients in, or who

would require the level of care provided in,

hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate

care facilities for the mentally retarded, the

State may determine the average per capita

expenditure that would have been made in a

fiscal year for those individuals under the

State plan separately from the expenditures

for other individuals who are inpatients in,

or who would require the level of care

provided in, those respective facilities.

42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(7)(A).

for the mentally retarded; (3) it will inform individuals who are likely

to need the level of care provided in a hospital, skilled nursing

facility, or intermediate care facility of available feasible alternatives

and will allow the individuals to choose the method of care; (4) it will

be able to prove by estimation that the yearly average per capita

expenditure for an HCBS waiver program does not exceed the

average per capita expenditure if the waiver had not been granted;

and (5) it will provide yearly data on the impact of the waiver. 42

U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(2)(A)-(E). Regulations describing the Health Care

Financing Administration waiver requirements relating to the state

assurances are provided at 42 C.F.R. § 441.302 (1990). The federal

government uses a complex formula involving fourteen variables to

assure the federal government that a proposed HCBS program will be

cost effective. See 42 C.F.R. § 441.303. In addition, the Health

Care Financing Administration publishes guidelines for obtaining an

HCBS waiver. See State Medicaid Manual, HCFA-Pub. 45-4,

$§ 4440-4446 (Sept. 1988 & Aug. 1991), reprinted in 3 Medicare &

Medicaid Guide (CCH) 4 14,625, at 6328-40; State Medicaid

Manual, HCFA-Pub. 45-2, § 2110 (Sept. 1989), reprinted in 3

Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) ¢ 14,625, at 6324.

The trial court arrived at two legal conclusions that are not

supportable in light of the federal statutes and their attendant

regulations and guidelines. First, the trial court concluded,

This statute [Social Security Act

§ 1915(c)(1), 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(1)]

does not limit participation in the HCBS

waiver program to any specific category

of persons who would otherwise be

institutionalized. Indeed, there is no

provision in the statute which authorizes

states to offer HCBS programs for the

elderly, blind and physically disabled

while discriminating against eligible

mentally ill persons solely on the basis

B-19

of the nature of their disability. To the

contrary, the statute establishes a single,

unified HCBS waiver program for all

otherwise eligible persons who, without

the provision of such services, would

require hospitalization, or skilled or

intermediate nursing home care.

(Emphasis added.) We disagree.

Section 1915(c)(7)(A) of the Social Security Act contemplates

that cost effectiveness calculations will be made for waivers that apply

to "individuals with a particular illness." 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396n(c)(7)(A). Similarly, the implementing regulations require a

separate waiver application for the mentally ill. See 42 C.F.R.

§ 441.301(b)(6). The Medicaid HCBS waiver plan, when viewed in

its entirety, provides an incentive, by way of financial assistance and

waived general requirements, for states to create flexible HCBS

programs for discrete target groups.

Second, because federal financial assistance is available to

provide HCBS benefits to the mentally ill, and because the Health

Care Financing Administration applies the same standards to mentally

ill HCBS waivers that it applies to all other requests, the trial court

concluded, "federal funds are equally available for HCBS programs

for the mentally ill as for HCBS programs for the elderly, blind and

physically disabled." We do not agree that the existence of funds and

similar application requirements compel such a conclusion. The

application process is complex and requires many calculations specific

to each target group. On the record before us it is impossible to

determine whether respondents would, upon reapplication, be able to

obtain a section 1915(c) waiver for the mentally ill, in general, or for

the specific class in issue. Moreover, although many states have

HCBS waivers for the mentally retarded and developmentally

disabled, no state currently has an HCBS waiver for the mentally ill.

See 3 Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) 4 14,625, at 6340 to 6349-

B-20

3. Consequently, the trial court’s conclusion that federal funds are

equally available for the mentally ill is unsupportable. The record

merely shows that federal funds, regardless of the target group, are

evaluated under the same criteria, and that Colorado’s application for

a waiver was denied in 1985.

il

The Colorado HCBS Statute

The federal HCBS waiver statute and regulations do not require

a State to institute HCBS programs as part of a state Medicaid plan.

However, respondents were required by state statute to provide HCBS

benefits to the mentally ill as well as the developmentally disabled.

See §§ 26-4.5-201 to -212, 11B C.R.S. (1989). In May 1990, three

months before the district court order, the act was amended and the

mentally ill were excluded. See Home Community-based Services for

Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act, ch. 217, 1990 Colo.

Sess. Laws 1380-82 (currently codified at §§ 26-4-621 to -631, 11B

C.R.S. (1991 Supp.)). The current statute does not require

respondents to provide HCBS benefits to the mentally ill and,

therefore, cannot be the basis of injunctive relief requiring the

provision of HCBS benefits to the class.

Under the prior statute, respondents were to use a variety of

funding sources for HCBS mentally ill programs, including federal

financial assistance under Medicaid. § 26-4.5-204(1)(a), 11B C.R.S.

(1989). However, HCBS benefits were to be provided to eligible

mentally ill persons "[sJubject to the availability of federal financial

participation." § 26-4.5-208(1), 11B C.R.S. (1989).

B-21

Iv

Equal Protection

Petitioner and the class contend that their rights to equal

protection under the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution were violated by respondents’ denial of HCBS benefits.

They contend that mentally ill persons are a suspect class and,

therefore, that the state’s unequal treatment must be subjected to strict

scrutiny Petitioner and the class contend that strict scrutiny is also

proper because they have a fundamental liberty interest in being free

from the undue bodily restraint inherent in institutionalization.

Alternatively, petitioner and the class contend that the denial of HCBS

benefits is not rationally related to any legitimate government interest.

We disagree.

The rational basis test is the proper standard for review because

mentally ill persons are neither a suspect nor a quasi-suspect class and

petitioners and the class do not have a fundamental right to receive

HCBS benefits. Furthermore, petitioners have not met their burden

of showing that respondents lacked a rational basis for discontinuing

the HCBS program for the mentatly ill.

In City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S.

432, 446 (1985), the Supreme Court held that mental retardation is

not a suspect or quasi-suspect classification for the purposes of equal

protection review. Consequently, legislative decisions relating to

mentally retarded persons will be upheld so long as the classification

is rationally related to a legitimate state interest. /d.; see State v.

DeFoor, No. 90SA351, slip op. at 10 (Colo. Feb. 3, 1992). The

Court in Cleburne reasoned that, "where individuals in the group

affected by law have distinguishing characteristics relevant to interests

the State has the authority to implement, the courts have been very

reluctant ... to closely scrutinize legislative choices as to whether,

how, and to what extent those interests should be pursued." 473 U.S.

B-22

at 441-42. Mental retardation differs from classifications requiring

enhanced scrutiny because a state has a legitimate interest in treating

mentally retarded persons differently due to their "reduced ability to

cope with and function in the everyday world." Jd. at 442.

Requiring a state to justify its legislation under a heightened scrutiny

Standard may result in less beneficial legislation for the mentally

retarded. /d. at 444.

The Cleburne analysis applies equall y to persons suffering from

mental illness. Mentally ill persons, to varying degrees, also may

have a reduced ability to cope and function in the everyday world.’

Recognizing this, the General Assembly has sought to enact

legislation beneficial to, rather than harmful to. the mentally ill. See

Care and Treatment of the Mentally Ill Act, §§ 27-10-10i to -129.

11B C.R.S. (1989 & 199] Supp.). Indeed, the Court in Cleburne

indicated that the mentally ill are Similarly situated, for equal

protection purposes, to the mentally retarded, who it declined to

qualify as a suspect or quasi-suspect class:

[i]f the large and amorphous class of the

mentally retarded were deemed quasi-

Suspect for the reasons given by the

Court of Appeals, it would be difficult

to find a principled way to distinguish a

variety of other groups who have

perhaps immutable disabilities setting

them off from others, who cannot

themselves mandate the desired

legislative responses, and who can claim

some degree of prejudice from at least

‘°The General Assembly has defined a "mentally ill person" as "a person

with a substantial disorder of the cognitive, volitional, or emotional processes

that grossly impairs judgment or capacity to recognize reality or to control

behavior." § 27-10-102(7), 11B C.R.S. (1989).

B-23

part of the public at large. One need

mention in this respect only the aging,

the disabled, the mentally ill, and the

infirm. We are reluctant to set out on

that course, and we decline to do so.

473 U.S. at 445-46 (emphasis added).

Petitioners claim that the mentally ill are a suspect class as a

result of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Pub. L. No.

101-336, 104 Stat. 328 (codified at 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 12101-12213

(West Supp. 1991)), which states:

The Congress finds that ... individuals

with disabilities are a discrete and

insular minority who have been faced

with restrictions and __ limitations,

subjected to a history of purposeful

unequal treatment, and relegated to a

position of political powerlessness in our

--—society, based on characteristics that are

beyond the control of such individuals

and resulting from _ stereotypic

assumptions not truly indicative of the

individual ability of such individuals to

participate in, and contribute to,

society...

42 U.S.C.A. § 12101(a)(7). The Americans with Disabilities Act is

not applicable here because this case was not brought under that Act

and that Act was not in effect at the time of trial.

To declare the mentally ill to be a suspect or quasi-suspect class

would be contrary to previous decisions of the United States Supreme

Court that have interpreted the Equal Protection Clause of the United

States Constitution. -The Supreme Court has thus far set out only

B-24

three categories which it terms Suspect classes: race, alienage, and

national origin. 473 U.S. at 440. Classifications based on those

factors are subjected to strict Scrutiny because those "factors are so

seldom relevant to the achievement of any legitimate state interest that

laws grounded in such considerations are deemed to reflect prejudice

and antipathy ... and because such discrimination is unlikely to be

soon rectified by legislative means.". Jd. The Court identified

Classifications based on gender and illegitimacy as quasi-suspect and

deserving of an intermediate standard of review. Id. at 440-41. It

distinguished classifications based on age and mental retardation on

the ground that individuals in those groups “have distinguishing

characteristics relevant to interests the State has the authority to

implement." Jd. at 441. The Court stated that "[iJn such cases, the

Equal Protection Clause requires Only a rational means to serve a

legitimate end." Jd. at 442. Thus, the rational basis test is

appropriate here unless petitioner can demonstrate that he is being

deprived of a fundamental right. See Colorado Dept. of Social Servs.

v. Board of County Comm’rs, 697 P.2d 1, 13 (Colo. 1985); see also

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969), overruled in part on

other grounds by Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974).

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 484-85 (1970), stated

that while public welfare assistance "involves the most basic economic

needs of impoverished human beings," it is not a fundamental right.

Respondents do not have a duty to provide services to prevent the

institutionalization of petitioner or the class. The provision of

services requested here is distinguished from the infringement on

liberty involved in the commitment of a person to an institution, see

People v. Stevens, 761 P.2d 768 (Colo. 1988), or the deprivation of

Services to persons so confined, see Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S.

307 (1982). In Youngberg, the Court determined that the state had

a duty to provide certain services to an institutionalized individual,

but stated, "As a general matter, a State is under no constitutional

duty to provide substantive services for those within its borders." Jd.

at 313.

Since mental illness is not a suspect Or quasi-suspect

classification and no fundamental interest is involved, the

classification here is subject to rational basis review. Under rational

basis review, we must uphold a classification if it is rationally related

to a legitimate governmental interest. 473 U.S. at 446. The trial

court determined that respondents did not show that the classification

based on mental illness was rationally related to a legitimate

governmental interest. In so concluding, the trial court erroneously

placed the burden on the respondents. The burden to prove "beyond

a reasonable doubt that the classification is not rationally related to a

legitimate state objective" properly lies with the party challenging the

constitutionality of the classification. See Parrish v. Lamm, 758 P.2d

1356, 1370 (Colo. 1988). We find that petitioner and the class did

not meet their burden.

Petitioner has not shown that respondents lacked a rational basis

for their 1985 decision not to reapply for an HCBS waiver for the

mentally ill. At that time, only Vermont had a waiver for the

mentally ill. According to the testimony of the Assistant Director of

the Division of Mental Health of the Colorado Department of

Institutions, who prepared the 1985 application, the cost of

reapplication was approximately $30,000. The Assistant Director

testified that a federal official said that Colorado had little chance of

receiving an HCBS waiver for the twenty-two to sixty-four-year-old

mentally ill population. See Beckwith v. Kizer, 912 F.2d 1139, 1144

(9th Cir. 1990) ("Definition of any waiver class necessarily involves

difficult policy judgments concerning where the services would most

efficiently be used."). Due to the cost of reapplication and the slight

chance of obtaining a waiver, it was not irrational for respondents to

make a policy judgment to discontinue the HCBS program for the

mentally ill and the petitioner has not proven an equal protection

violation.

B-26

Vv

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. § 794

(1988), provides in relevant part:

No otherwise qualified handicapped

individual in the United States ... shall,

solely by reason of his handicap, be

excluded from the participation in, be

denied the benefits of, or be subjected to

discrimination under any program or

activity receiving Federal financial

assistance ....

The parties here stipulated that petitioner and the class are

“otherwise qualified handicapped individuals" who were denied the

benefits of the HCBS program solely because they are mentally ill.

Thus, we need not address these elements and we deal only with the

last requirement: Section 504 applies only for programs receiving

federal funds. The Supreme Court said:

Congress limited the scope of

§ 504 to those who actually "receive"

federal financial assistance because it

sought to impose § 504 coverage as a

form of contractual cost of the

recipient’s agreement to accept the

federal funds. "Congress apparently

determined that it would require

contractors and grantees to bear the

costs of providing employment for the

handicapped as a quid pro quo for the

receipt of federal funds." ... Under ...

B-27

§ 504, Congress enters into an

arrangement in the nature of a contract

with the recipients of the funds: the

recipient’s acceptance of the funds

triggers coverage under the

nondiscrimination provision.... By

limiting coverage to recipients, Congress

imposes the obligations of § 504 upon

those who are in a position to accept or

reject those obligations as a part of the

decision whether or not to “receive”

federal funds.

United States Dep’t of Transp. v. Paralyzed Veterans of America, 477

U.S. 597, 605-06 (1986)."°

Respondents did not make the decision to receive federal funds

for the HCBS program for the mentally ill and, therefore, were not

in a position to accept or reject the obligations of section 504. Under

section 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, states must apply

individually for HCBS program waivers for each of the following

target groups or subgroups thereof:

(i) Aged or disabled, or both.

(ii) Mentally retarded or

*Paralyzed Veterans held that section 504 “applies only to those

commercial airlines receiving direct federal subsidies." Tallarico v.

TransWorld Airlines, 881 F.2d 566, 570 (8th Cir. 1989). Concerned about

the practical effect on handicapped air travelers, "Congress amended the

Federal Aviation Act of 1958 to specifically prohibit discrimination against

otherwise qualified handicapped individuals." Jd.; Anderson v. US Air, Inc.,

818 F.2d 49, 53 (D.C. Cir. 1987); see Air Carrier Access Act of 1986, Pub.

L. No. 99-435, 100 Stat. 1080 (1986). However, the Supreme Court’s

interpretation of section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act was not affected by the

statutory amendment of the Air Carrier Access Act.

B-28

developmentally disabled, or

both.

(ili) Mentally ill.

42 C.F.R. § 441.301 (1990). The HCBS waiver program is thus

divided into at least three different programs. Although respondents

receive federal funds for other HCBS programs, the HCBS program

for the mentally ill has not received federal funds since 1985. That

year respondents applied for and were denied an HCBS waiver for the

target group of mentally ill persons. Respondents discontinued the

HCBS program for the mentally ill only after the federal government

denied funding for the program. Therefore, under the Supreme

Court’s reasoning in Paralyzed Veterans, since respondents did not

accept funds for an HCBS program for the mentally ill, the

nondiscrimination provision of section 504 was not triggered.

Moreover, the 1990 amendment of Colorado’s home and community-

based services statutes eliminated the enabling statutory provisions for

the Medicaid-funded HCBS program for the mentally ill.

We hold that section 504 is not applicable here because the

HCBS waiver program at issue does not receive federal funds.

Therefore, respondents did not violate section 504 in denying HCBS

benefits to petitioner and the class.

VI

We conclude that the respondents did not violate the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution or section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

U.S.C. § 794 (1988), by denying HCBS benefits to the petitioner and

the class. We, therefore, reverse the trial court judgment requiring

respondents to provide HCBS benefits to the petitioner and the class

menibers. Since we reverse the trial court judgment, it is unnecessary

for us to address whether respondent Solano should be dismissed from

this class action.

B-29

JUSTICE QUINN dissents and JUSTICE LOHR joins in

dissent.

B-30

Duc Van Le v. Ibarra, No. 91SC189

JUSTICE QUINN dissenting:

"’The moral test of government is how it treats those who are

in the dawn of life, the children; those who are in the twilight of life,

the aged; and those who are in the shadows of life, the sick, the

needy, and the handicapped.’" Arnold v. Dep’t of Health Services,

7713 P.2d 521, 537 (Ariz. 1989) (quoting Hubert H. Humphrey). The

mentally ill certainly fall within the latter category.

The majority’s rejection of Duc Van Le’s and the class

members’ challenge to the state’s denial of Home and Community-

based Services (HCBS) to low-income mentally ill persons who

qualify for skilled or intermediate care under the S>cial Security Act,

42 U.S.C. § 1396 et. seq. (1988), fosters the perpetuation of a

substantial underclass of mentally ill citizens whose continued state of

dependency is caused by governmental indifference to or neglect of

basic human needs. Because I cannot square the state’s action in this

case with either the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution or with section 504 of

the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. § 794 (1988), I dissent.

I.

The purpose of the Medicaid Assistance Program, authorized

by Title XIX of the Social Security Act, is to enable each state, as far

as practicable, to furnish medical assistance to families with

dependent children and to the aged, blind, or disabled whose income

or resources are insufficient to meet the costs of necessary medical

services and to help such families and individuals to attain or retain

a Capacity for independence or self care. 42 U.S.C. § 1396 (1988).

The Medicaid program is jointly financed by the federal and state

governments and is administered by the state. "Within broad Federal

rules, each State decides eligible groups, types and range of services,

payment levels for services and administrative and operating

B-31

procedures. Payments for services are made directly by the State to

the individuals or entities that furnish the services." 42 CFR § 430.0

(1991).

As part of the Medicaid program, the federal government

pays a portion of the costs of twenty-one categories of services

including, but not limited to, inpatient hospital services other than

services in an institution for mental diseases,’ outpatient hospital

services, nursing facility services for individuals twenty-one years or

older other than services in an institution for mental diseases, other

medical care recognized by state law, home health care services,

private duty nursing services, services in an intermediate care facility

for the mentally retarded other than in an institution for mental

diseases, and case-management services. 42 U.S.C. § 1396(d)

(1988). Medicaid benefits thus are available for mentally ill persons

who receive some level of health-care services at facilities other than

institutions for mental diseases. See Connecticut Dept. of Income

Maintenance v. Heckler, 471 U.S. 524, 529 (1984) (noting that

Congress chose to exclude institutions for mental diseases from

Medicaid reimbursement because these facilities were already being

funded by the state).

In order to encourage flexibility in Medicaid services, the

federal statutory scheme permits states to apply for waivers of

administrative requirements for federal financing of a state’s Medicaid

program. 42 U.S.C. § 1396n(b) (1988). These waivers are intended

to enable states to try new or different approaches to the efficient and

cost-effective delivery of health care services, to adapt the programs

to the special needs of particular areas or groups of recipients, and to

permit states to implement innovative programs or activities on a

‘An institution for mental diseases means "a hospital, nursing facility, or

other institution of more than 16 beds, that is primarily engaged in providing

diagnosis, treatment, or care of persons with mental diseases, including

medical attention, nursing care, and related services." 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(i)

(1988).

B-32

EE es sess fee sss see a nes

time-limited basis, subject to specific safeguards for the protection of

recipients in the program. 42 CFR § 430.25(b) (1991). Under the

waiver provisions, the federal government funds the cost of all or part

of HCBS benefits to those persons who but for the HCBS benefits

would require more expensive health care ina hospital or other health

care facility. The cost of providing services pursuant to the waiver

thus must be less than the cost of providing the same services absent

the waiver. The HCBS program, therefore, provides an alternative

method of delivering health-care assistance by allowing qualified

persons to receive nursing care in their own homes and thus avoid

hospitalization or institutionalization as long as the cost of the HCBS

benefits is less than the cost of hospitalization or institutionalization

The Colorado General Assembly in 1980 passed the "Home

and Community-Based Services and Home Health Act," § 26-4.5-101

to -116, 11B C.R.S. (1989), in order to allow the Department of

Social Services and the Department of Institutions to administer

HCBS benefits funded by the Medicaid Assistance Program. Part two

of the statute, which is entitled "Home and Community-Based

Services for Mentally Ill Persons and Persons with Developmental

Disabilities Act," §§ 26-4.5-201 to -212, 11IB C_RS. (1989), was

intended to provide services to mentally ill persons and persons with

developmental disabilities in order to accomplish the following goals:

(a) To maintain eligible persons

in the most appropriate settings

possible to minimize admissions to

institutions;

(6) To recognize the unique

service requirements of the mentally

ill and the developmentally disabled:

(c) To provide optimum

accessibility to various important

social, habilitative, remedial.

residential, and health services that

are available to assist and maintain

B-33

the eligible persons in the least

restrictive settings;

(d) To provide that eligible

persons who have the capacity to

remain outside an institutional setting

have access to appropriate social,

habilitative, remedial, residential,

and health services, without which

institutionalization would be

necessary;

(e) To provide the most efficient

and effective use of funds in the

delivery of these social, habilitative,

remedial, residential, and health

services to eligible persons;

(f) To coordinate, integrate, and

link these social, habilitative,

remedial, residential, and health

services into existing community-

based service delivery systems for

the developmentally disabled and the

mentally ill, to avoid unnecessary

and expensive duplication of

services;

(g) To allow the state substantial

flexibility in organizing and

administering the delivery of social,

habilitative, remedial, residential,

and health services to eligible

citizens.’

In 1991 the Home and Community-based Services for Mentally Ill

Persons and Persons with Developmental Disabilities Act was repealed and

replaced by the "Home and Community-based Services for Persons with

Developmental Disabilities Act", § 26-4-622 to -631 11B C.R.S. (1991

Cum. Supp.). The legislative purpose of this new act states in pertinent

B-34

§ 26-4.5-202, 11B C.R.S. (1989).

Colorado has participated in the Medicaid waiver program

since 1982, and HCBS benefits historically have been provided to the

elderly, the blind, the physically disabled, and the developmentally

disabled. Colorado also provided HCBS benefits to the mentally ill

pursuant to the Medicaid waiver program from 1982 to 1985. The

meiitally ill included those persons whose need for long term care was

part:

It is the intent of the general assembly to provide cost-

effective services in the least restrictive setting to

individuals who are mentally ill. It is from that philosophy

that the general assembly authorized and the state

implemented a home and community-based services

program under the auspices of a federal Medicaid waiver.

Inasmuch as the federal government has been unwilling to

continue Colorado’s waiver for mentally ill persons, the

enabling state statutory provisions for that Medicaid funded

program are hereby removed. However, the general

assembly has an ongoing interest in examining the needs of

those who are in need of long-term health care because of

their mental illness and in the most cost-effective mental

health and supportive services as may be necessary to

allow the greatest degree of independence. In furtherance

of this intent, the department of institutions is charged to

report to the general assembly on or before January 1,

1991, on any additional statutory, budget, or administrative

modifications that will facilitate the goal of home and

community-based care for the mentally ill.

§ 26-4-622, 11B C.R.S. (Cum. Supp. 1991). The legislative declaration of

purpose then lists the identical goals provided in the repealed statute and

quoted in the text above, but omits any reference to mentally ill persons,

thereby effectively including only developmentally disabled persons within

the scope of the statutory scheme. Because the events and trial of this case

preceded the enactment of the 1991 act, the 199] legislation is without legal

significance to the issues raised in this case.

B-35

based on the diagnosis of mental disease -- that is, those who are

psychiatrically disabled -- but did not include persons suffering from

chronic alcoholism, chronic dementia, or organic brain syndrome.

HCBS services for the mentally ill included case management, partial

care directed to the restoration of living skills, vocational

rehabilitation, individual and group therapy, and certain residential

services. In 1985, however, the U.S. Department of Health and

Human Services denied Colorado’s request for a renewed HCBS

waiver for the mentally ill for the following reasons, which were set

forth in a letter to the Colorado Department of Social Services:

This is in reference to your request

for a home and community-based

services waiver as authorized by

section 1915(c) of the Social Security

Act for mentally ill Medicaid

recipients who would otherwise

require skilled nursing facility

services Or intermediate care facility

services.

We are sympathetic to and wish to

support your desire to find more

cost-effective methods of providing

and reimbursing for medical

assistance. However, we believe that

the waiver request does not fully

comply with all of the statutory and

regulatory requirements necessary for

approval. Accordingly, we cannot

approve this waiver request under

section 1915(c) of the Social Security

Act. For your information, we have

enclosed a report on those aspects of

the waiver request which present the

B-36

major barriers to approval.

Colorado took no further steps whatever to develop an acceptable

waiver program, and as a result the mentally ill have been deprived

of all HCBS benefits since 1985.

In November 1988 Duc Van Le. who suffers from mental

illness and was eligible for skilled or intermediate care under Title

XIX of the Social Security Act, filed an action on benalf of himself

and other similarly situated mentally ill persons. Duc Van Le. as

relevant here, claimed that Colorado’s failure to provide HCBS

benefits to the mentally ill violated the Equal Protection Clause of the

United States Constitution and section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act

of 1973. The case was tried to the court on stipulated facts and other

testimonial evidence. On August 23, 1990, the trial court ruled that

Colorado’s failure to apply for HCBS benefits for Duc Van Le and

the class of similarly situated mentally ill persons violated the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment and also violated

section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act. In Support of its legal

conclusions, the court made the following critical findings of fact:

1. Personal care services, homemaker

services, medication monitoring in the home, and

non-medical transportation, which are services

currently provided under the HCBS Program for the

elderly, blind and physically disabled, are services

which are necessary to maintain plaintiff and class

members in stable condition in the community, and

to avoid institutionalization of such persons in

hospitals and nursing homes.

2. No public or private agency currently has

a program to provide these essential services to

plaintiff and class members, although such services

are provided by the Department of Social Services to

elderly, blind and physically disabled adults whose

incomes and medical needs are virtually identical

B-37

with those of plaintiff and class members.

3. Without these home and community based

services, plaintiff and class members will continue to

experience the revolving door syndrome of

hospitalization, nursing home placement, placement

in the community, de-stabilization and_ re-

hospitalization. Thus, the availability of HCBS is an

essential ingredient of normal living patterns for a

substantial number of persons who are mentally ill.

The failure to provide such services operates to

exclude persons who are mentally ill from living in

the community, and to return them to more restrictive

environments.

4. The mental health services currently

provided through the Mental Health Corporation of

Denver (MHCD) and other community mental health

centers are not sufficient by themselves to avoid the

revolving door of re-institutionalization of chronically

mentally ill persons. As an example, there is cur-

rently a 200-person waiting list for case management

services in the MHCD alone. Even under optimal

conditions, case managers, with the existing

resources, could only spend, on average, slightly

more than one hour per week with chronically

mentally ill clients. Such case management services,

alone, cannot provide the community supports

necessary to avoid re-institutionalization of plaintiff

and other mentally ill ... class members.

5. Although the State claims that the federal

government will not fund a HCBS waiver for

mentally ill persons, the evidence of record shows

that the State in the last five years has not applied for

such a waiver, has not requested in writing any

assistance from the federal government to develop a

waiver which would be acceptable under the existing

regulations, and has not made any attempts to correct

B-38

its rejected 1985 waiver application or to challenge

the rejection of that waiver application in 1985.

6. The cost burden to the State of providing

HCBS program services to the mentally ill is

insignificant in light of the benefits to plaintiff and

class members, and the federal government’s

contribution of between 50% and 75% of the cost.

The evidence indicates that provision of such services

would prevent unnecessary hospitalizations at a cost

of $400.00 per day, as compared to the $46.00 per

day average cost of HCBS services.

7. According to the testimony there are

currently approximately 300 persons in nursing

homes in the Denver metropolitan area alone who

have been designated as mentally ill.

8. Many of these persons could live in the

community if community supports provided through

the HCBS program were made available to them.

9. In addition, there are substantial numbers

of class members who are currently residing in the

community, either in substandard boarding homes or

homeless shelters, who would benefit from home and

community based services identical to those that are

currently provided to the elderly, blind and physically

disabled.

10. Despite these facts, the State of

Colorado, through the Department of Institutions and

the Department of Social Services, has simply failed

to exercise reasonable diligence to seek out federal

financial assistance, which is currently available, to

provide these home and community based services to

plaintiff and class members.

11. As plaintiff and class members meet all

of the medical and financial qualifications for the

Home and Community Based Services Program

currently operated by the State, other than the fact

B-39

that they are mentally ill, they are otherwise qualified

handicapped person[s] under Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

12. The evidence of record establishes that

plaintiff and class members require the very same

home and community based services, which the State

currently makes available to the elderly, blind and

physically disabled, and that plaintiff and class

members are deprived of these services solely by

reason of the nature of their disability.

13. The State is currently underspending its

authorized funding for home and community based

services for the elderly, blind and physically disabled;

therefore, there is sufficient funding within the HCBS

Program to accommodate the provision of home and

community based services to plaintiff and class

members.

In my view, the trial court’s ruling is in accord with federal

equal protection standards applicable to governmental classifications

having an adverse impact on the mentally ill and is also in accord

with federal statutory law.

Il.

The purpose of the Equal Protection Clause is to ensure

equality and even-handedness in governmental action. In the absence

of a classification burdening a fundamental constitutional right or

creating a suspect class, the United States Supreme Court has applied

a rational basis standard of review in evaluating governmental action.

Under that standard, the Court has often evaluated the constitutional

validity of various forms of economic and social classifications by

considering whether there is any rationally conceivable set of facts to

support the classification. E.g., Lyng v. Castillo, 477 U.S. 635, 642-

43 (1986); Allied Stores of Ohio v. Bowers, 358 U.S. 522, 528

(1959); see L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law § 16-3 (1988).

B-40

In City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, Inc., 473 U.S. 432

(1985), however, the Court employed a more demanding standard of

rationality in evaluating a governmental classification applicable to the

mentally retarded. There is no principled reason not to apply the

Cleburne standard to the mentally ill adversely affected by the

governmental conduct at issue here.

In Cleburne the Supreme Court reviewed the constitutionality

of a zoning ordinance that required a special use permit for group

homes for the mentally retarded but did not require a similar permit

for a variety of other uses including, but not limited to, hospitals,

nursing homes, sanitariums, fraternity and sorority houses, apartment

houses, and multiple dwellings. Although declining to attribute

Suspect-class status to the mentally retarded, the Court stated that a

classification adversely affecting the mentally retarded will withstand

constitutional scrutiny only if the relationship between the classifica-

tion and the asserted governmental goal is not so "attenuated as to

render the distinction arbitrary or irrational." 473 at 446. That

degree of scrutiny, the Court reasoned, "affords government the

latitude necessary both to pursue policies designed to assist the

retarded in realizing their full potential, and to freely and efficiently

engage in activities that burden the retarded in what is essentially an

incidental manner." Jd. (emphasis added). The Court then proceeded

to reject the government’s four asserted reasons for treating group

homes for the mentally retarded differently from other uses -- i.e., the

negative attitude of nearby property owners, the proximity of the

facility to a junior high school, its location in a five hundred year

flood plain, and the size of the facility - and concluded that singling

out the group homes by requiring a special use permit rested on “an

irrational prejudice against the mentally retarded." Jd. at 450.

I read Cleburne to prohibit a state from depriving the

mentally ill of essential services made available to other handicapped

groups in need of similar services, unless the following conditions

exist: first, there must be a demonstrably rational basis in fact --

rather than any “reasonably conceivable" basis in fact -- for the

B-41

governmental action; second, there must be a demonstrably rational

nexus between the classification and a significant governmental

objective; and third, the adverse impact on the mentally ill must be

no more than an incidental burden on, and not a total deprivation of,

essential services. See Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 458 (Marshall, J.,

concurring in part and dissenting in part) (rational-basis test applied

by majority is "most assuredly" not the traditional and minimal

version of the rational-basis standard); see generally M. Minow,

When Difference Has Its Home: Group Homes for the Mentally

Retarded, Equal Protection and Legal Treatment of Difference, 22

Harv._C.R.-C.L. L. Rev. 111. 116 (1987) (Cleburne majority

"actually offered a beefed up version" of the rational-basis test).

Applying Cleburne to this case leads me to conclude that there is no

rational reason for the state to refrain from seeking a waiver in order

to secure HCBS benefits for the mentally ill. The trial court, faced

with the state’s claim that federal funding might be difficuit to obtain,

found as a fact that since 1985 Colorado has not applied for a

Medicaid waiver for the mentally ill, has not requested assistance

from the federal government to develop an acceptable waiver, and has

not attempted in any way to correct its unsuccessful 1985 waiver

application. In light of these findings, the state’s assertion that

federal funding is not available for HCBS benefits for the mentally ill

is disingenuous at best. The letter from the U.S. Department of

Health denying the state’s 1985 renewal application left open the

possibility of approval upon full compliance with statutory and

regulatory requirements, but the state made no effort to resubmit a

curative application.

The majority categorizes the state’s decision to discontinue the

HCBS program for the mentally ill as a policy decision and, on that

account, presumably a matter of governmental discretion entitled to

some deference. Maj. op. at 28; see Beckwith v. Kizer, 912 F.2d

1139, 1144 (9th Cir. 1990). Governmental discretion in the

allocation of benefits to the mentally ill, however, is not the measure

of the equal protection guarantee. To be sure, the Medicaid waiver

provisions authorize a state to apply for HCBS benefits for distinct

B-42

groups -- the aged or disabled, or both; the mentally retarded or

developmentally disabled, or both; or the mentally ill. 42 CFR

§ 441.301 (1991). The fact that the state may apply for an HCBS

program waiver for an individual group or subgroup does not

constitute a warrant for arbitrary and irrational policy decisions that

have the effect of totally depriving an entire class of mentally ill

persons of any meaningful access to benefits which the state has

chosen to make available to the other groups or subgroups with needs

similar to the needs of the deprived class.

The majority also seems to attach constitutional significance

to the fact that no other state has a Medicaid waiver program for the

mentally ill. See maj. op. at 8. The frequency or infrequency of a

practice does not determine its validity, since "[iJt is possible for

many to commit the same mistake." Curtis v. Taylor, 625 F.2d 645,

651 (Sth Cir. 1980). Simply put, the motive or intent underlying

Colorado’s failure to seek a Medicaid waiver for the mentally ill is

more a matter of speculation than anything else and certainly does not

measure up to the demonstrably rational basis in fact for the state’s

decision to treat the mentally ill differently from other similarly

situated groups of handicapped persons.

Moreover, whatever might be the underlying reason for the

state’s failure to seek a Medicaid waiver for the mentally ill, there

does not appear to me to be any demonstrably rational nexus between

the state’s inaction and any significant governmental objective.

Although the majority attaches constitutional significance to the

$30,000 cost of a waiver reapplication, maj. op. at 28, I am at a loss

to see any rational link between the reapplication cost and any

significant governmental objective to be achieved by excluding the

class of the mentally ill from HCBS benefits.

Finally, the state’s inaction on this matter causes far more

than an "incidental burden" on the mentally ill. The effect of the

State’s failure to seek a Medicaid waiver totally deprives Duc Van Le

and the similarly situated class of mentally ill persons of those

B-43

|e _

essential HCBS benefits which the state has made available to other

handicapped groups in need of similar services. The majority’s

approval of the state’s complete termination of HCBS benefits for the

mentally ill regrettably will be viewed by the state as a license to

continue a course of discrimination that the Equal Protection Clause

was intended to prohibit.

Iii.

I also dissent from the majority’s holding that the anti-

discrimination provisions of section 504 of the Federal Rehabilitation

[sic] of 1973, 29 U.S.C. § 794 (1988), do not apply to Duc Van Le

and similarly situated mentally ill persons because the State of

Colorado is not a "recipient" of federal funds for HCBS programs

within the intendment of section 504. Section 504 provides in

pertinent part that "[n]o otherwise qualified handicapped individual in

the United States ... shall, solely by reason of his handicap, be

excluded from the participation in, and be denied the benefits of, or

be subjected to discrimination under any program or activity receiving

Federal financial assistance...."° The federal regulation

implementing section 504 defines a recipient as "any state or its

political subdivision, any instrumentality of a state or its political

subdivision, any public or private agency, institution, organization,

or other entity, or any person to which Federal financial assistance is

extended directly or through another recipient." 45 CFR § 84.3(f)

(1991). The federal regulations prohibit a recipient of federal funds

*The federal regulations implementing this statute define a handicapped

person as “any person who (i) has a physical or mental impairment which

substantially limits one or more major life activities, (ii) has a record of such

an impairment, or (iii) is regarded as having such an impairment." 45

C.F.R. § 84.3(j) (1991). A mental impairment is further defined as "any

mental or psychological disorder, such as mental retardation, organic brain

syndrome, emotional or mental illness, and specific learning disabilities."

45 C.F.R. § 84.3(i)(iv)(B) (1991). The parties stipulated that Duc Van Le

and the class of low income mentally ill persons fall within the definition of

qualified handicapped persons.

B-44

from excluding from participation in, and denying the benefit of, or

otherwise discriminating against any qualified person on the basis of

a handicap. 45 CFR § 84.4(a) (1991). Specifically, a recipient

cannot:

45 CFR § 84.4(b)(1) (1991).

(i) Deny a qualified handicapped person the

Opportunity to participate in or benefit from the aid,

benefit, or service;

(ii) Afford a qualified handicapped person an

Opportunity to participate in or benefit from the aid,

benefit, or service that is not equal to that afforded

others;

(iii) Provide a qualified handicapped person with

an aid, benefit, or service that is not as effective as

that provided to others;

(iv) Provide different or separate aid, benefits, or

services to handicapped persons or to any class of

handicapped persons unless such action is necessary

to provide qualified handicapped persons with aid,

benefits, or services that are as effective as those

provided to others;

(vii) Otherwise limit a qualified handicapped

person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege,

advantage, or opportunity enjoyed by others receiving

an aid, benefit, or service.

B-45

Nothing in the federal regulatory

scheme justifies exempting Colorado from the federal anti-

discrimination requirements solely because the state, although

receiving federal funds for other groups of handicapped persons

protected against governmental discrimination by section 504, was not

federally funded for HCBS programs for the mentally ill. What we

have in this case is state action that has an egregiously adverse impact

on the mentally ill by denying them any meaningful access to HCBS

benefits available to others under a program funded in whole or in

part by the federal government.

In Alexander v. Choate, 469 U.S. 287 (1984), the Supreme

Court considered whether Tennessee’s decision to reduce Medicaid

coverage for hospital stays from fourteen to twelve days was a

violation of section 504 because the reduction had a disparate

discriminatory impact on qualified handicapped persons who spent

more time in hospitals than nonhandicapped persons. Faced on the

one hand with the state’s argument that section 504 reaches only

intentional discrimination against the handicapped and on the other

with the Medicaid recipients’ argument that section 504 proscribes all

disparate impact discrimination, the Court "“assume[d] without

deciding that § 504 reaches at least some conduct that has an

unjustifiable disparate impact upon the handicapped." Jd. at 299.

The Court then concluded that "an otherwise qualified handicapped

person must be provided with meaningful access to the benefit that the

grantee offers," id. at 301, and that the benefit itself "cannot be

defined .n a way that effectively denies otherwise qualified

handicapped individuals the meaningful access to which they are

entitled." Jd. at 301. Because the record in Choate showed that the

reduction in inpatient coverage would leave "both handicapped and

nonhandicapped Medicaid users with identical and effective hospital

services fully available for their use, with both classes of users subject

to the same durational limitation," id. at 302, the Court rejected the

recipients’ claim that Tennessee’s action violated section 504.

In contrast to the state action in Choate, Colorado’s refusal

to apply for HCBS benefits for the mentally ill is violative of section

504 because it deprives that class of handicapped persons of any

"meaningful access" to the same benefits provided to the elderly, the

blind, and the developmentally disabled Medicaid recipients. The

trial court’s finding that no public or private agency has a program to

provide the essential services to Duc Van Le and similarly situated

B-46

class members and the trial court’s further finding that Duc Van Le

and the class members require the very same services as are provided

to other handicapped recipients of HCBS benefits leave no doubt, in

my mind at least, that the State of Colorado, as a recipient of

Medicaid benefits under section 504, has discriminated against the

mentally ill in violation of section 504 by totally denying them any

meaningful access to the very same HCBS benefits available to other

similarly situated classes of handicapped persons.‘

Just as we are not at liberty to construct subtle arguments for

the purpose of avoiding an expansive construction required by the

Statutory text and purpose, so too are we not at liberty to recast a

Statute in a manner that narrows its application to the point of

eliminating its central core of meaning. The majority errs on both

counts by rejecting Duc Van Le’s section 504 challenge to what is

clearly discriminatory state action against the mentally ill.

I dissent because I believe the trial court correctly held that

the state’s denial of HCBS benefits to mentally ill persons violates

both the Equal Protection Clause of the United States Constitution and

section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

‘I acknowledge that, based on the waiver provisions which allow the

state to be out of compliance with the Medicaid requirements of

statewideness, comparability, and community income and resource rules, 42

U.S.C. § 1396n(c)(3) (1988), it can be argued that because the state can

discriminate within a class by providing HCBS benefits to persons in one

geographical area and not in another, the state can also discriminate between

classes by choosing to provide HCBS benefits to the elderly, the blind, the

physically disabled, and the developmentally disabled, but not to the mentally

ill. The state, however, is justified in making intra-class distinctions on the

basis of its authority to provide Medicaid benefits to those most in need.

Martinez v. Ibarra, 759 F. Supp. 664 (D. Colo. 1991). There is no

comparable justification for the state, as a recipient of Medicaid funding, to

totally deny an entire class of any meaningful access to HCBS benefits when,

as here, the state provides HCBS benefits to the elderly, the blind, and the

physically and developmentally disabled.

B-47

JUSTICE LOHR joins in this dissent.

B-48

APPENDIX C

SUPREME COURT OF COLORADO December 14, 1992

NO. 91SC189

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the

class of persons similarly situated, Petitioner,

Vv.

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official capacity as the

Executive Director of the COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF

SOCIAL SERVICES; HENRY SOLANO, in his official capacity

as Executive Director of the COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF

INSTITUTIONS; ROBERT BAUSERMAN, ROBBIE L. BEAN,

SUSANNE D. DOSH, DENNIS FISHER, MARY KYER, PEGGY

STOKSTAD,

JOHN P. STONE, and RICHARD F. WALKER in their official

capacities as members of the COLORADO BOARD OF

SOCIAL SERVICES, Respondents.

Certiorari to the Colorado Court of Appeals

Pursuant to C.A.R. 50

EN BANC JUDGMENT AFFIRMED BY OPERATION OF LAW

PER CURIAM.

JUSTICE VOLLACK does not participate.

This case has been heard and reviewed by the court. Justice

Lohr, Justice Quinn, and Justice Kirshbaum favor affirmance of the

judgment of the Denver District Court. Duc Van Le v. Ibarra, No.

88CV22641 (Aug. 23, 1990). Chief Justice Rovira, Justice Erickson.

and Justice Mullarkey favor reversal. Justice Vollack did not

participate

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is affirmed by

operation of law because of an equally divided court. C.A.R. 35(e)

APPENDIX D

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF COLORADO

CASE NO. 91SC189

Rule 50 Certiorari to the Colorado Court of Appeals 90CA 194]

ORDER OF COURT

DUC VAN LE, on behalf of himself and the class of persons

similarly situated,

Petitioner,

vi

IRENE M. IBARRA, in her official Capacity as the Executive

Director of the COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL

SERVICES; HENRY

SOLANO, in his official capacity as Executive Director of the

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF INSTITUTIONS; ROBERT

BAUSERMAN, ROBBIE L.

BEAN; SUSANNE D. DOSH; DENNIS FISHER: MARY KYER,

PEGGY STOKSTAD:

JOHN P. STONE and RICHARD F. WALKER in their Official

Capacities

as members of the COLORADO BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES,

Respondents.

Upon consideration of the Petitions for Rehearing filed in the

above cause, and now being sufficiently advised in the premises,

IT IS THIS DAY ORDERED that said Petitions for

Rehearing shall be, and the same hereby is, DENIED.

BY THE COURT, EN BANC. JANUARY 11, 1993,

Chief Justice Rovira. Justice Erickson, and Justice

Mullarkey would grant the petitions.

Justice Erickson dissents to the denial of the Petitions

for Rehearing.

Justice Vollack does not participate.

Duc Van Le v. Ibarra, No. 91SC189

JUSTICE ERICKSON dissenting to the denial of the petitions for

rehearing:

In this class action, the trial court held that the respondents,

administrators of state social service programs, violated Section 504

of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C. § 794 (1988) (section

504), and the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution (Fourteenth Amendment) by failing to provide Duc Van

Le and the members of the class of low-income mentally ill persons

(petitioners), with the same Home and Community-Based Services

(HCBS) program that is provided to elderly, biind, and physically

disabled persons. The trial court entered an injunctive order that

required the respondents to provide HCBS benefits to the

petitioners.. The respondents appealed the judgment of the trial

*The trial court’s order provides:

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that

plaintiff Duc Van Le and members of the

class, as previously certified, are entitled

to meaningful access to the same HCBS

program services which are currently

provided to the elderly, blind and

physically disabled persons.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that:

1. State defendants, their agents

and employees are permanently enjoined

from denying plaintiff and class members

HCBS benefits solely on the basis that

their primary diagnosis is mental illness.

D-2

court to the court of appeals and we granted certiorari before

judgment.

We were equally divided on the resolution of the issues in this

case and the judgment of the trial court was affirmed by operation of

law because. See C.A.R. 35; People ex rel. Link v. Tucker. 96 Colo.

273, 42 P.2d 472 (1934). As a result of the affirmance, the August

23, 1990 trial court order has become the controlling document in this

case. The respondents filed petitions for rehearing, which are

directed to the trial court’s order. In my view, the trial court erred

in ordering the respondents to provide HCBS benefits to the

petitioners so long as they provided the same benefits to the elderly,

blind, and physically disabled. The respondents are allowed to target

Medicaid benefits to discrete groups of disabled individuals and

because the targeting of Medicaid benefits under an HCBS waiver

program does not violate the Fourteenth Amendment.* The petition

for rehearing submitted by the respondent Colorado Department of

Social Services demonstrates that there were, and presently are, no

funds appropriated or available for the HCBS services sought by the

2. So long as state defendants

provide HCBS benefits to elderly, blind

and physically disabled persons, they

shall provide the same services for

plaintiff and class members.

“The imposition of liability on respondent Henry Solano, Director of the

Colorado Department of Institutions, based on his failure to provide HCBS

services to mentally disabled persons was also affirmed by operation of law.

Because I would resolve the section 504 and equal protection issues in favor

of the respondents, I perceive no need to address the liability of Solano. |

note, however, that there is nothing in the record of this case which supports

the trial court’s conclusion that Solano or the Department of Institutions ever

provided HCBS services to the elderly, blind, or physically disabled.

Therefore, I perceive no basis in either fact or law for the trial court's

conclusion that Solano is liable to the petitioners or should be enjoined as

ordered by the trial court.

D-3

- =

mentally ill in this case.’ I would therefore grant the respondents’

petitions for rehearing.

In fiscal year 1989, the Generai Assembly appropriated approximately

$450 million for Medicaid expenditures, an amount representing 10% of the

entire state budget. 1988 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 1, Part XXI, pp. 86, 91.

In fiscal year 1991, the amount of funds allocated to Medicaid increased to

over $665 million, or almost 13% of the state budget. 1990 Colo. Sess.

Laws, ch. 1, Part XXI, pp. 83, 88. In the 1992 fiscal year, the amount

appropriated to Medicaid expenditures has increased to over $1.1 billion, or

almost 18% of the entire state budget. 1991 Colo. Sess. Laws, ch. 340, part

XX, pp. 2639, 2648.

D-4

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.