Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bernklau v. Brown, 113 S. Ct. 1847 (1993) (No. 92-1381)

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, U.S |

\ 3a a 2 Be a FILED

=p RR. & Le?” of f

eas .|

FEB 19 1993

No. \

Sr ee CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1993

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, THE

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS and

JESSE BROWN, SECRETARY OF VETERANS

AFFAIRS,

Respondents.

PETTTION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU

Pro Se

c/o Sidney Cooper

44 West 62nd Street

Suite 29 A

New York, New York 10023

(212) 586-2993

Questions Presented

1. Whether the inability of veterans to

obtain and a fair and impartial hearing

Pursuant to disability claims is subject

to constitutional review by Article III

Courts ?

2. Whether the Federal Courts have

jurisdiction to entertain constitutional

challenges to the operation of the VA

claims adjudication system ?

3. Whether the due process protections

afforded welfare recipients, as expressed

in Goldberg v Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970),

apply to needy veterans, recognizing that

approximately 20% of all veterans claims

are based upon need ?

4. Whether this Court will resolve the

acknowledged conflict between the 7th and

the 2nd Circuit over whether the VA’s

unpublished policies, practices and

procedures are subject to judicial review,

as held in Marozsan v U.S. (in banc) 852

F.2d 1489, (1988) and Johnson v Robison

415 U.S. 361 ( 1974 )

5. Whether the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit was correct in its holding

that the Judicial Review Act of 1988

( P.L. 100- 687 ) is constitutional ?

6. Whether the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit has any jurisdiction over

the Court of Veterans Appeal’s judicial

conduct ?

7. Whether the Court of Veterans Appeals

is permitted to conduct ex parte

proceedings to the exclusion of the

petitioner and other pro se veterans ?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented

Table of Authorities

Statutes

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Statement of the Case

Nature of Case

Exposure of the V.A.'s

" Non-adversarial” Myth

Preferential Signature List

Courtesy Decisions

No Uniformity of Decisions

Norman Johnson

BVA, Chairman Kenneth Eaton

No codification of decisions

Too Many Valid Claims Denied

American Legion’s ( Wilkerson )

VFW’s Donald Schwab

Tracy v Gleason

Instant case

Cong. McEwen, HVAC Hearing

TABLE OF CONTENTS ( cont. )

PAGE #

Surreptitious Denial of Hearings 18-20

T.A. Verriil 18,19

BVA Chairman, Eaton 19,20

Intimidation of BVA Ad judicators 20-21

Dr. Alcide Pellerin 20

Norman Johnson 20

AFGE’s Pres. Kenneth Blaylock 20,21

Intimidation of NVSO’s 21,22

Gael Gompf, V.A. Official 21,22

VFW's James Magill 22

Trashing of Treating Physicians

Opinions 22-24

Dr. Alcide Pellerin 22,23

Anomymous VA Employee Letter 23

Norman Johnson 24

Instant Case 24

Lack of Judicial Review Contributes

to a Climate of Claims Abuse 24,25

SSA Abuse Orginated at the V.A. 25-27

Veterans’ Judicial Review Act (VJRA)

or Public Law 100-687 28-35

TABLE OF CONTENTS ( cont.)

Court of Veterans Appeals (CVA)

Reversed Orders of 18 month

standing without explanation

Ignored BVA Chairman’s Letter

CVA never said what development

required or issued instructions

VA's attorney's acknowledged,

they had no case

CVA took no notice of the facts

or circumstances

CVA does not accord equal treatment

to Pro Se Litigants

EX-Parte Communications

CVA never addressed six motions

pursuant to Sanctions re:

Untimely and Bad Faith filings

VA's attorneys moved into same

building as CVA

Judge Donald Ivers’s Recusal

CVA's Ruling re 28 U.S.C. 455

" Tables Graveyard "

PAGE #

35-41

35,36

36,37

37

37

37,38

38-41

38,39

39

39-41

41

42

43-47

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont.) PAGE #

Federal Circuit Court (CAFC) 48-58

Issues Not Reviewable 48-53

Constitutionality of VA

Claims System 48,49

Unable to Raise Issue before CVA 49-51

veree 7 Treatment of

ro Se Veterans 51

CVA's (VA) ex- parte conduct 52

CVA's (VA's) Fiagrant

Flouting of the Rules 52

Unrepresented Veterans 52

No Veteran has Prevailed

at CAFC 32,93

CVA'’s failure to exercise

control over the V.A. 53

" Tables Graveyard " Revisited 53

Summary Judgment Issue 53

Issues Addressed 53-58

Lacks Jurisdiction, even if

Arbitrary and ‘Capricious 53-55

Sustained Constitutionality of

100-687 55

Ruling Questioned 55-57

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Cont.) PAGE #

Issues Addressed ( cont.) 53-58

Recusal Issue 57°

VA's Attorneys Offices 57,58

Is P.L. 100-687 Constitutional ? 59-63

90% of Veterans Excluded 59

CVA Sits Only in Wash.D.C. 59,60

CAFC Sits Only in Wash. D.C. 60

No Attorney Representation

During Initial Stages 60

Not Much Thereafter 60

No Subpoena or cross

Examination Power 60

No Class Action Suits 60,61

Judicial Review (non-existant) 61

Public Denied Knowledge of

VA,CVA and CAFC decisions 61-63

Review Requested of Supreme Court 64,65

Conclusion 65

Signature ----

Proof of Service Res

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page #

Aronson v Brown, 92-561 42, (C-127)

CVA, ( 1/25/93 1

Bowen v City of New York 8,9,25,34

476 U.S. 467 ( 1986 }

City of New York v Heckler 25,34

578 F. Sune. ago (1984)

Goldberg v Kell 63

397 U.S: 254 (1970)

Johnson v Robiso 6,7,15,23

415 U.S. 361 (1974) 25,48,63-65

Marbury v ah ison, 5 U.S. 49

(1 CRANCH H) 137, 2 L.Ed 60

Marozsan v U.S. (In Banc) 24,25,29,48

852 F.2d 1469 (7th Cir. 1988) 63-65

ac v Derwinski

ose 2d Fed. Cir. (1990) 55

rossi v Liggett 42

(3rd Cir. 1993)

Schweiker v Chilick 26,27

487 U.S. 412 ( 198? )

Tracy v Gleason 16,17

379 F. 2d 469 (1967)

ayenaee v Dept. of Air Force 55

F.2d. 820,832 (Fed.Cir 1989)

IV

STATUTES

Veterans Judicial Review Act 1,28,48,

(VJRA) or Public Law 100-687 52,53,59

38 USC, sect 211 (a) [ 511 (a)] 1, 25

28 USC, sect 455 42

38 U.S.C. 3402 (a) (2) 21,22

FRCP rule #56 (Summary Judgment) 47

amma maak i

V

OPINIONS BELOW

1. Order upon a Cocinbined Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing

In Banc was denied by U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Federai Circuit on

11/25/92.

( Appears on pages A-1l,2 )

i)

Decision of the Federal Circuit Panel,

was both dismissed - in - part and

affirmed - in - part on 10/9/92.

( Appears on pages A-3-13 )

3. Appellant's Combined Petition for

Reconsideration and Review (in banc)

was denied by CVA on 3/23/92

“<*

( Appears on pages A-14,15

NOTE: note of the above opionons are

citable as precedent although a public

record. The disposition thereof will

appear in tables published periodically.

Vi

JURISDICTION

Basis for Jurisdiction : Constitution

P.L. 100-687

38 U.S C.

sect.,4092

28 U.S.C.

sect.,1331

28 U.S.C.

sect. 1361

28 U.S.C.

sect. 1254 (1)

Venue: P.L. 100-687

28 U.S.C.

sect. 1391 (e)

I. Statement of the Case

A) Nature of Case

This action arises under the

Constitution challenging the V.A.'s

budgetary driven " quota system " of

Claims adjudication which denys the

appellant and other veterans ( in the tens

of thousands ) of fair and impartial

Claims consideration.

Moreover, redress of implausble VA

decisions ( simple justice ) is expressly

denied under 38 USC 211 (a), [now 511 (a) ]

which precludes judicial review,

notwithstanding enactment of P.L. 100-687,

irrespective of the circumstances.

Accordingly, VA bureaucrats are judge,

jury, Courtiof Appeals, Supreme Court, and

often attorney for both sides, inter alia.

The law of Common sense requires that no

agency ( or man ) be the sole judge of its

Own wrong-doing.

Further, the VA uses numerous

unpublished " sub rosa " policies,

practices and Procedures, the totality of

which, is violative of petitioner's ( and

other veterans') First and Fifth

amendment rights to include the right of

counsel, due process and equal protection.

Petitioner submits that unfair V.A.

practices and procedures are clandestinely

structured to cause the petitioner and

other veterans to abandon valid claims in

utter confusion, frustration and despair

Or failing in that objective, to hold

hearings and render implausible decisions

which make a mockery of impartiality and

the due process protections guaranteed

under the Constitution, relevant statutes

and case law.

Additionally, petitioner submits that

the lack of judicial review and the

meaningful right to retain an attorney

fosters a climate of unconstitutionality

resulting in impermissive V.A. practices

and procedures, evidencing flagrant

bureaucratic abuse, which clearly

demonstrate that the V.A. has run amok

with unbridaled power. !

Some specific vA policies, practices

and procedures complained of by the

petitioner, which in their totality are

unlawful, as clandestinely implemented,

are as follows:

1) Budgetary " not fact driven " quota

decisions employed when adjudicating

Claims (Appendix:C-50, C-84,88,89 )

2) Lack of an independent decisionmaker.

(see Appendix: C- 51 )

3) Questionable medical evaluations

performed by intimidated VA physicians,

some at the rate of one per minute; also

refusal to sanction independent medical

opinions. (Append: C-21;C-56,57; C-83,84)

4) Treating physician or expert medicai

', Lord Acton: "“™ Power corrupts,

absolute power corrupts absolutely."

opinions rendered in behalf of veterans

are routinely trashed by the VA's general

practitioners. ( See Appendix: C-53 )

5) MRI's, cat scans, x-rays and other

diagnostic tools are deliberately misread

in order to obtain results contrary to the

facts in conformance with the VA's hidden

budgetary agenda. (App: C- 119 )

6) Facts are deliberately distorted to

support decisions devoid of reason. See

BVA decision ( C-120 ) re travel to D.c.

via AMTRAK which disqualified petitioner

from obtaining 100% unemployment benefits

despite the unambigious statements of four

Doctors, accompanied by mri's, cat scans,

x-rays, inter alia. Inexplicably, two of

the Doctors were employed by the vA

7) Hearings are often covertly denied

veterans. ( Appendix: C-58,59; C-60-65 )

8) Veterans lack subpoena or cross

examination power needed to compel the vA

to confront the facts or its errors.

9) Different treatment is accorded

Similiarly situated veterans, by the VA,

depending upon but not limited to the

congressional district or state of

residence, who represented them, and

the abject failure of VA to codify its

decisions which contribute to a lack of

uniformity.App:C1-4;5-8;42,43;79-84;94-97

10) BVA decisions are subject to

productivity quotas requiring decision

makers to render between 40-80 decisions

per week. The emphasis is placed upon

denying claims, since it's easier to deny

than approve claims. App: C-13-15;C-106, 107

11) To meet unrealistic productivity

decision quotas of 40-80 per week, the

adjudicators with the full knowledge and

consent of their Superiors, resort to

" courtesy decisions ", or Signing off on

Claims never read, and in the process

thereof, denying veterans the full due

process consideration they are entitled to

under 38 U.S.C. (App: C-9-15;C-104-110)

12) BVA allowance rates,thought for over

20 years to be at 13 %, are considerably

less, perhaps within a 4-6 % range. C-9,10

13) The VA engages in the premature

denial of claims. (See appendix: C-18-20 )

14) Lack of due process as evidenced by:

( Appendix: C-33-35 (par 14,15,17); C-36-

39 (par. 18,19,22-24) ;C-70-75; C-76-84;

C-104-110; C=-111-115; C-116-118 )

15) The VA practices intimidation in order

to obtain the goals demanded by the Office

of Management and Budget. C-40-43:c 44-46;

C51;C68,69;C116-118;B-3,38 U.S.C. 3402(a)2

16) This Court in gohnson v Robison

relied upon the VA's assurance that it had

achieved a degree of uniformity which the

Courts could not duplicate, and conseq-

uently, premised a portion of its ration-

ale when upholding the constitutionality

of 38 USC 211(a), on that false represent-

ation. Appendix: C-5-10;C-79-84; C 111-115

17) This Court in Johnson v Robison

further premised its rationale for

upholding the constitutionality of 211 (a)

on the VA's assurances that it could

adjudicate technical and complex veterans

claims better than the Courts. That too

was false. ( See Appendix C-10-12;C-21;

C-32-39 (par 15,17,18,19,22,23,24);

C-47-55; C-82-84; C-107,108; C-118 ).

In sum, the VA can do whatever it

pleases, whenever it pleases, unhindered

by judicial review, or the procedural

safeguards imposed upon other agencies.

Further, absent meaningful Congress-

ional oversight, absent the interest of

the press, absent the active participation

of the legal profession ( $ 10 fee

limitation and other deficiencies ),

absent the protective umbrella of the

NVSO's, who have betrayed their own

members'interests on the alter of

government largesse - is it any wonder,

that the VA has run amok with unbridaled

power ? ( see Appendix: C- 22-26; 27-31 )

Additionally, judicial cognizance must

be taken of what prompted the SSA

bureaucrats in Bowen v The City of New

York to employ the unlawful practices

this Court so eloquently ruled against in

Bowen. Said unlawful practices originated

from the VA bureaucrats success in depriv-

ing veterans Surreptitiously of their

disability claims by rendering implausible

decisions, contrary to the facts, in

conformance with the requirements of the

Office of Management and Budget.

Likewise, judicial cognizance must be

taken of the several safeguards prevalent

in Bowen ( SSA ) which are missing at the

VA. Importantly, SSA recipients have a

large block of attorneys banded together

in an organization called NOSSCR, whose

members routinely practice before the SSA;

no such organization exists re veterans

representation. The SSA is required to

get their decisions thru ALJ's and State

Agencies; not so at the VA, who hold all

the cards and its adjudicatory personnel

hostage to advancement, demotions, bonuses

and unrealistic productivity goals. Also,

social security recipients have judicial

review, expressly denied veterans.

The foregoing explains why the unlaw-

ful practices of the SSA were discovered

within a relatively short time whereas

those pertaining to veterans remain to be

disclosed 60 years later - and only if,

this Court will allow litigation of the

unconstitutional treatment accorded

veterans' claims.

It also explains why, petitioner has

more evidence before discovery than Bowen

had after discovery. Moreover, there are

literally thousands of conscience stricken

VA employees and National Veterans

Service Officers ( NVSO's ) ready to spill

10

their guts - if only, someone would ask

them a question. So far no one's asked.

B) The VA's " Non-Adversarial "| Myth

Numerous judges in other cases ( including

this Court ) have referred to the VA's non

adversarial system in overly respectful

and reverential tones without any factual

understanding of what it is, and what

damage is being done to the social compact

between the American people and its

citizen-veterans. The facts are that both

the American people and the Courts have

been hoodwinked into believing that the

System is fair to veterans; and that the

nation's pledge to its veterans, their

widows and orphans is being honored.

Unfortunately, nothing could be further

from the truth as the facts will clearly

demonstrate.

What if you were injured in the Army,

but were denied benefits on the pretext

11

that you had a prior service injury; but

none had occurred and no evidence was

forthcomimg that it had - but

nevertheless, the denial persisted for

over thirty years without the possibility

of judicial review - would you think that

was non- adversarial ? ( C-121,122 )

Then, what if, you had finally overcome

that prior service injury hurdle and now

proceeded to document the extent of the

injury via the use of medical experts

( both within and without the VA )

incorporating x-rays, mri's, cat scans,

inter alia - and then, a VA doctor, with

no special orthopedic expertise

deliberately misread the cat scan so as to

obtain a different result and thus

continue the denial ? And then, when

confronted with the intentional misreading

- the VA " doctor " acknowledged the

facts, saying that:

" I can't write down what I told you. It

12

would make the whole orthopedic

department look bad since we refused you

a cat scan for 6 1/2 years and

misdiagnosed you ! " ( C=-119 )

Is that consistent with the actions of a

non- adversarial system ?

Additionally, what if those previously

cited hurdles, some 37 years later were

all removed, but now the BVA reasons that

Since the petitioner was able to come to

Washington, D.C. via Amtrak with the aid

of a tens unit ( in great pain ) that his

injury didn't render him unemployable

despite the professional opinions of four

expert orthopedic doctors (2 from the VA)

that the petitioner could not work.

( C-123,124 ). A cursory visual

examination by the BVA panel was all that

was required to trash the professional

opinions of four treating physicians. Do

those actions comport with the perception

of a non adversarial system ?

Throughout all of the above, Petitioner

was never permitted to confront or

“a

13

question VA assertions or theories or

creative denials. Never once was petit-

ioner allowed to subpoena or cross examine

VA employees pursuant to any of their

deliberate falsehoods. Meanwhile, the VA

carried on a secret war against the

petitioner and other veterans in deference

to the budgetary constraints imposed by

the Office of Management and Budget. Co-

inciding therewith, petitioner was denied

access to the courts, rendering him help-

less to combat what the VA practiced in

secret and dared not expose to public

examination. For example :

1) Preferential Signature Lists

A secret list was developed by BVA

Chairman Eaton composed of 12 influential

Congressman and Senators ( either on

Veterans' Affairs Committees or occupying

significant leadership roles in Congress )

whose constituents were singled out for

preferential treatment to the detriment of

14

other Similarly Situated veterans. (C-1-4)

2) Courtesy Decisions

BVA adjudicators’ Practice of signing off

on decisions without ever reviewing the

facts thereof in order to fulfill BVA

Chairman Eaton's productivity requirements

Of 40-80 cases per week. Failure to meet

such requirements, would render BVA

adjudicators ineligible for bonuses and/or

advancement. ( C-106,107 )? ( C-10,11)

3) No Uniformity of Decisions

a) Norman Johnson, a former pva employee

testified that " case decisions were

haphazard, unfair and probably illegal "

and were " decided on differing grounds,

and for reasons not contemplated by the

laws and regulations. " ( C-80 )

b) BVA Chairman, Kenneth Eaton,

acknowledged before the House Veterans

Affairs Committee : Yes indeed it is

quite true that there is what I might say

is a significant variance

15

between different sections of the Board

and how they see these cases. " C-112,113

Chairman Eaton further acknowledged that

"you can have equal cases, identical,where

one will get more than the others. " C-113

c) No codification of BVA or Regional

office cases which further contribute to a

lack of uniformity.

Based upon all of BVA Chairman Eaton's

testimony he couldn't get uniformity

within the same building, on the same

floor or within the same room, much less

throughout the United States. But that

didn't prevent the VA from hoodwinking

this Court re Johnson v Robison 415 U.S.

361 (1974) into accepting the VA's blanket

assertion that only it could achieve

uniformity of decision making whereas the

courts could not.

4) Too Many Valid Claims Denied

a) Philip R. Wilkerson, Ass't National

Director for Claims ( American Legion )

16

testified before the House Veterans'

Affairs Oversight subcommittee hearing,

99th Cong., lst session, 10-11.( 1985 ),

at page 40 thereo’. that:

are being denied by the regional offices,

and the denials are Subsequently confirmed

by the Board of Veterans Appeals."

b) Donald H. Schwab, national Legisla-

tive Director for tne VFw testified that:

c) Tracy v Gleason, 379 F 24 469 (1967),

a case ( inadvertently ) decided by the

U.S. Circuit court Of Appeals, D.C.,

evidences far better than any

Congressional testimony, how unfairly the

VA treats its veterans. Ina blistering

condemnation of the VA, the Court held:

" In our opinion the complaint tells a

story of arbitrary and Capricious action

on the part of the Officials:™

" a) the Administrator acted arbitrarily

17

So eae

in the circumstances when he terminated

the pension of Tracy because that

unfortunate, totally disabled by insanity,

had failed to return an income

questionaire; "

" b) The Board of Veteran Appeals acted

arbitrarily in affirming the termination

after it had learned the facts;"

"c) The Administrator acted arbitrarily

in failing to make payments for the full

period of discontinuance after he had

been told what he should have known

before: That George Tracy was insane

and was totally and permanently disabled

in 1949 and continuously thereafter. "

Petitioner would make one more point - How

could the " Justice " department have even

defended the action once the facts were

known. Has it no responsibility to the

American people and its veterans !!?

d) And what about this case. Also what

about the thousands of veterans who have

lost arms, legs and eyes in combat who

have received little or no compensation

while the VA can not be brought to

account.

e) Cong. McEwen, Chalring an oversight

Committee hearing on Oct.4, 1990, on page

18

11 thereof, remarked :

" I'm just asking, what do I do ? When I

know this is taking place, and the VA has

its folder here that says the guy can run

in the Olympics, and he's sitting here in

front of me and he's crippled, three times

it says the guy's fine. What do I do

about that ? "

Indeed what can he do ? Absolutely

nothing ! And if a Congressman sitting on

the HVAC can't do anything, what can a

powerless veteran do, no matter the

circumstances or the evidence ?

5) VA Surreptiously Denies Veterans’

Hearings.

a) Mr. T.A. Verrill, Adjudication

Officer, San Francisco, VARO, wrote a

letter on April 20th to his section chiefs

advising his subordinates: " Although VAR

1103 permits a hearing anytime on any

issue, we do not have the resources to

operate in this way." "... We can always

explain why a hearing is not appropriate

at a particular stage in processing. "

19

eccccecnn I know you are aware of these

points but the appellant isn't. " C-58,59

b) BVA Chairman Eaton testified before the

U.S. Senate re traveling board hearings

that " because of the limited number of

such traveling board Section hearings, the

BVA did not routinely tell claimants about

this option."

According to Mr. Eaton :

" the traveling board hearings are

scheduled by giving veterans' service

organizations a certain number of

hearings, and allowing the service

officers to designate who receives

ahearing. " ( C-62,63 )

When asked whether there is a quota, Mr

Eaton replied: " In effect it has to be

that way. " (C-65)

Under the circumstances poor veterans

were denied the opportunity for a hearing

Since they lacked the resources to go to

Washington D.C. and were kept ignorant of

their option to appear at traveling board

hearings conducted in their own home

locales. Moreover, those veterans, not

represented by service officers never knew

20

or had a chance to particpate in that

option either. How fair was that, in view

of the fact that veterans chances for

success were far greater if they were

present at hearings ? ( C-64 )

6) intimidation of BVA Adjudicators

a) Dr Alcide Pellerin ( a former BVA

adjudicator) testified before the U.S.

Senate advising that he was coerced on

numerous occasions into rendering decis-

ions contrary to the facts and his own

professional opinion, inter alia. (C-51)

b) Norman Johnson, another BVA employee

also testified that he was likewise

intimidated and that agency decisions were

unfair. ( C-77; C-83,84 )

c) Kenneth T. Blaylock, then National

President of AFGE, ( 116,000 VA members )

testified bofore the House Veterans

Affairs Committee

"It appears to us that large numbers of

veterans have not received the benefit of

reasonable doubt on any consistent basis."

21

" The informality of the Veterans

Administrations appeal procedure combined

with the absence of precedence in the

disposition of cases, leaves wide

discretion for inconsistent and

uncontrolled decision making by the

regional offices. In the absence of court

review, there is no effective

institutional check on arbitrary or

impermissable action. " ( C-73 )

7) Intimidation of National Veterans’

Organizations ( NVSO’s )

a) When it appeared that judical review

might pass the Congress, the VA's Gael

Gompf wrote her famous blackmail letter

which intimidated the major NVSO's into

abandoning recently held positions in

favor of judicial review. That letter,

contained in part, the following:

" Moreover, many special considerations

currently extended to veterans service

organizations may have to be curtailed.

The providing of VA space and facilities,

informal access to adjudicatory personnel,

etc., could be affected by judicial

oversight and increased representation by

private attorneys. " (C-42)

And there was much to fear in view of the

infamous 38 U.S.C. 3402 (a)(2 ), (1979),

22

which mandated:

" The Administrator may, in his discretion

furnish , if available, space and office

facilities for the use of paid full-time

representatives of national organizations

SO recognized. " ( B-3 )

That space and those office services

equal tens of millions of dollars in

gratuities or donations. Further, that

Space provided in every single VA facility

is essential to obtaining membership and

to promoting the NVSO's prestige.

b) James M. Magill, vrw pirector of

National Services, acknowledged in a

written letter to then, Senator Alan

Cranston, that he was indeed intimidated

by the VA's threat to discontinue provi-

ding free office space and services C45,46

8) Trashing of Medical Experts’ Opinion

Favoring Veterans

a) Dr Alcide Pellerin ( former Bva

Adjudicator ) testified before the U.s.

Senate that implausible medical decisions

contradicting those of world famous

physicians are rather routine.

“ In contrast, should the veteran

submit an opinion from a board certified

specialist, say from some institution

like the Mayo or Lahey clinic, the

Arthritis Foundation or the Georgetown

Medical Center, that only serves to

reopen his case, and is considered as

trash by the VA. " ( C-53 )

b) Deep Throat Letter # 1. An anomymous

VA employee whose information was later

validated by a U.S. District Court located

in San Francisco wrote:

" In order to operate at reduced

staffing, many regional offices no

longer employ full time doctors for the

rating board. Instead a part-time doctor

is borrowed from a local medical center

one to two times a week to sign his name

to the accumulated rating decisions.

may spend one minute or less on each

decision. " ( C=-21 )

Under such circumstances how much

technical medical expertise was employed,

if any ? Yet the VA argued in Johnson v

Robison, that only it could make the

difficult, technical medical decisions

required in veterans' disability claims.

Unfortunately, not a single shred of

evidence can be found in support thereof.

The VA simply lied to this Court.

He

24

c) Norman Johnson (former BVA Adjudicator)

testified before the U.S. Senate re serv-

ice connection for a black Korean veteran:

" The elements of the case were clear -

his induction physical examination report

indicated normal feet. The separation

physical indicated " pes planus " or flat

feet, not an usual development over the

course of Army service and one that can be

painful anbd limiting for all of the jokes

that are made of it. " The facts and the

law were clear, but the decision was

returned to me with instructions to deny

the claim.

" ..--. I asked the section chairman

why the decision was to be a denial. He

explained that it was because the veteran

was black and all black people eventually

get flat feet. It was a " racial

characteristic " ! ( C-83,84 )

d) Petitioner Bernklau’s medically false

cat scan reading ( Supra page 11,12 )

9) How the lack of judicial review

contributes to a climate of veterans

claim abuse.

The lack of judicial review has emboldened

the VA to treat veterans worse and worse.

In Maroszan v U.S (in banc), 852 F.2d.

1469, (7th Cir, 1988) the VA in open

23

Court argued that even if veterans were

denied claims solely on the basis of race,

color and gender, that the Courts lacked

jurisdiction pursuant to 211 (a) to even

review such clearly unconstitutional acts.

Thereafter, asserting that 211 (a)

mandated that it was none of the Court's

business. Moreover, the VA's argument was

demonstrably at variance with the U.S.

Supreme Court's holding in Johnson v

Robison which specifically permitted

attacks on the constitutionality of the VA

claims system.

10) Bureaucrats Abuse of Social Security

Recipients Originated at the VA.

Bureaucrats reasoned that if they could

treat veterans in such shabby fashion, why

not. social security recipients. This

Court should recall that in City of New

York v Heckler, 578 F. Supp. 1109 ( 1984 }

which culminated in the unanimous Supreme

Court decision in Bowen v The City of New

P '

26

York, sustaining the City of New York,

in its allegation of unconstitutional

claim treatment accorded mentally impaired

recipients. These recipients were

callously removed from the Social Security

rolls without rhyme or reason in deference

to the Office of Management and Budget.

Further, this Court should remember what

U.S. Sen Cohen said in Schwieker v

ic 7U 7 :

“ The message received by State Agencies,

swamped with cases was to deny, deny,

deny, and, I might add, to process cases

faster, and faster, and faster. In the

name of efficiency, we have scanned our

computer terminals, rounded up the

disabled workers in the country, pushed

the discharge button, and let them go into

a free fall toward economic chaos. " At

416.

Other legislators reached similar

conclusions. U.S. Senator Moynihan said:

" The Social Security Administration has

tried to reduce program cost by

terminating the benefits of thousands of

those truly disabled. " At 416.

Congressman Rostenkowski alluding to a

" massive number of beneficiaries who have

lost their benefits over the last three

years even though they are truly disabled

and unable to work. " At 416.

27

" The Social Security Administration

itself apparently reported that about

200,000 persons were wrongfully

terminated, and then reinstated, between

March 1981 and April, 1984. " At 416.

" The unnececessary suffering, anxiety,

and turmoil - has been graphically exposed

by dozens of Congressional hearings and in

newspaper articles all over the country. "

At 417.

Petitioner submits that the Social

Security scandal arose out of the

unconstitutional treatment accorded

veterans. Why doesn't this Court know

about the veterans scandal ( VETGATE ) ?

Simply put, Veterans lack the right of

judicial review while the ten dollar

attorney fee limitation still casts a pall

over veterans' claim representation.

Moreover, the leadership in the major

veterans organization have betrayed their

own members in deference to the VA

Secretary's discretionary power to remove

largess aggegating $10 million of free

space and office services.( 38 USC, 3402

(a) (2)) or (B-2), C 40-43, C-44-46.

28

C. Veterans Judicial Review Act of 1988

Or ( VJRA )? was enacted primarily to

provide veterans with judicial review of

VA claims decisions, heretofore denied

them, for over one hundred years. Many

veterans' organizations had alleged that

numerous VA decisions were " implausible "

motivated by budgetary, not fact driven

considerations - and consequently, held

hostage to the fiscal restraints imposed

by the Office of Management and Budget.

Likewise surfacing, were allegations of a

self- serving bureaucracy concerned more

with personal advancement, productivity °

2 Now known as Public Law 100-687,

Since its prior name " Veterans Judicial

Review Act " was clearly inappropriate,

being totally devoid of judicial review.

3. To obtain bonuses, BVA personnel

were required to meet unrealistic goals

requiring them to render 40-80 decisions

per week. In order to reach said goals,

BVA adjudicators resorted to ™" courtesy

decisions " a practice, wherein other BVA

members signed off on decisions never

read, and which were later reciprocated,

on a quid pro quo basis.( C- 10,11 )

29

and administrative bonuses than rendering

professional, fair and impartial decisions.

Additionally, congress was galvanized

into action when it learned that Justice

Department attorney's were arguing in

Marozsan v_ U.S. ( en banc ) 852 F. 2d

1469, ( 7th Cir, 1988) at 1478, that the

Courts lacked jurisdiction to review V.A.

decisions, under 38 U.S.C., section 211

(a) - even when, the V.A. denied claims

solely on the basis of race, color and

gender; and that the V.A., could not be

" CALLED TO ACCOUNT FOR ANY METHOD IT USES

IN ADMINISTERING VETERANS’ BENEFITS LAWS,

NO MATTER HOW EGREGIOUS "

Favoritism, implausible decisions and

evidence that the VA claim system had run

amok’ with unbridaled power were

4. Special consideration accorded

constituents of influentialCongressman.

Preferential signature list ( C-1-4 ).

Implausible decisions (C49-51;C83,84;87,88)

30

demonstrated in numerous Congressional

hearings. Accordingly, Congress could no

longer hide behind that old bromide: ™"™ if

the system ain't broke, don't fix it ? "

Now Congress had to fix it, or become

irrelevant to the Court process which was

moving inexorably toward declaring 211 (a)

unconstitutional re: Marozsan, inter alia.

However, a funny thing happened on the

way to the bill's enactment. Literally,

in the middle of the night, and without

‘public imput - an article I Court was

established, which sits only in

Washington, D.C.; approximately, 90% of

all veterans were statutorily excluded

from the benefits thereof ( assuming there

were any ), if their claims were finalized

prior to November 18, 1988; impossible

conditions were imposed, which continue to

deny veterans access to the courts and

attorneys ( 70 per cent of veterans are

represented pro se - the rest, largely by

31

attorney's they've never met ). Most

however, intimidated by the process,

unable to secure the services of an

attorney, merely abandon their claims.

Moreover, the local public and press for

all intents and purposes, are excluded

from the process considering the distances

and secrecy involved in veterans

adjudications. Not a single veterans’

case or its outcome has been reported to

the local citizenry. Not a single

newspaper has anyone assigned to the VA or

the CVA court; and wouldn't know where to

go, if assigned.

Unfortunately, no one seems to care,

while veterans endure a new tyranny worse

than before. Hope, which was initially

promised has been all but extinguished,

while the pledge of a fair and impartial

hearing remains more elusive than ever,

hopelessly mired in chicanery and

bureaucratic red tape.

32

The new CVA court acts alone or in

concert with the Secretary ( ex parte )

rendering Kafka-like decisions which defy

all logic or reason. Its record is a

dismal one. Of the 6000 claim actions

pursued, it appears that CVA has rendered

favorable decisions in 50, or less than

1%, three years after the laws enactment.

It further appears that none, save one,

involve any real money. In that instance,

the widow was represented by Morrison and

Foerster, the prestigious San Francisco

law firm. ( Neither CVA nor Westlaw will

confirm or deny these numbers )

Although another veterans " lost cause "

Claim matters little, respect for the rule

of law and fairness matter much. Men have

given their lives for this concept - and

none more so than Veterans who perceive

little to respect in either the VA claims

adjudication process or the CVA's’” review

thereof.

33

Claims in the tens of thousands have

been routinely denied by the VA under one

pretext or another for decades. [In all

this time, no article III Court has looked

into the VA's " implausible " decisions

based on " budgetary, not fact driven "

considerations, nor has any court

examined the practices employed which

cause thousands of veterans to abandon

valid claims in utter frustration and

despair.

Under the circumstances, isn't it time

that an article III court examine the

constitutionality of the VA's claim system

and its CVA appendage ? Heretofore the

Courts have traditionally occupied a

" resolution of last resort " role when

all other options failed. That's what the

founding fathers intended. Now is such a

time, when this Court should exercise its

inherent power to review ( or cause to

examine ) a claim adjudication

34

system which is the shame of a nation.

The instant action, while not the most

egregious, does reflect a systemic pattern

of abuse, which if, the court conducts a

detailed review thereof, will come to

understand how a secret war is being waged

against defenseless veterans under the

guise of a " non adversarial" system. That

system's sole purpose is to render

budgetary decisions in deference to the

Office of Management and Budget; just like

the infamous social security cases 5

°. City of New York v Heckier, 578

F. Supp. 1109 (1984); Bowen v City of New

York, 476 U.S. 467 ( 1986); and their

numerous progeny. In Heckler, the Eastern

District Court found at 1115, that "

evidence of a fixed clandestine policy

against those with mental illness is

overwhelming. " Moreover at 1115,

" Evidence at trial revealed that this

covert policy was followed consistently

from 1978 until at least the early months

of 1983. " Further at 1124, the E.D. Court

found that " physicians were pressured to

e S sion fe) to their own

professional beliefs..... " ( Emphasis

added ) Similar Congressional testimony is

available in veterans cases. (C-51,83,84)

Bb

involving similar, if not identical

bureaucratic abuse.

D. Court of Veterans Appeals ( CVA )

( the myth of judicial review or any

semblance thereof )

After being mistreated by the VA since

1955, and a file three feet thick to

evidence that fact, the petitioner decided

to take advantage of the new VJRA law.

Unfortunately, congressional intent to

provide some judicial review was analogous

to being a little bit pregnant. Only no

evidence of pregnancy could be found; not

even a modicum thereof or equal treatment

or fairness anywhere.

What transpired at the CVA during

petitioner's appeal was clearly out of

Ripley ( Believe it or Not ) or Franz

Kafka. For example :

1) The CVA after issuing orders over an

36

eighteen month period (contrary to

numerous VA motions), ruled that

petitioner's case was properly before the

Court. Thereupon it reversed itself,

without explanation and remanded this 37

year old fully documented case for further

development.

2) Curiously, sBva chairman Kenneth Eaton

agreed with the petitioner and wrote on

5/1/90 via first lady Barbara Bush that

"In short, it is my opinion that the

April 4, 1990, appellate ( BVA ) decision

denying you entitlement to a total rating

was based cn sound legal, evidentiary and

medical principles. " ",... fT can assure

you that your claim was carefully analyzed

by the Board Members so as to accord you

every consideration." (Emphasis added) B-125

Inexplicably, the cva completely

disregarded BVA Chairman Eaton's letter to

Mrs. Bush indicating that the VA had done

its job well and had leaned over backwards

to accord the petitioner every considera-

tion employing the terms " sound legal,

evidentiary and medical principles. "

|

37

Nevertheless, cvA remanded said case,

without plausible explanation, back to the

BVA for additional development, and

without further instructions.

3) What further development ? None were

enumerated, nor could any be divined.

other than, the VA simply had no defense.

4) In fact the vA's attorneys admitted as

much in their motion for remand of

(8/28/91 ) when they acknowledged that

the: " BVA did not point to anything in

the record to support its view, ..... 7

Moreover, the remand motion further stated

that it required the BVA to explain " its

reasons or bases for rejecting the

assessment of four private physicians ® to

the effect that the veteran is " totally

disabled " or unable to work, ...... "

5) No notice, was taken of the fact that

6

- Two of the four private physicians

referred to worked for the V.A. Besides

there were many more private physicians

rendering opinions in petitioner's behalf.

38

these four private physicans' statements

were before the BVA and its Regional

offices, on three prior occasions without

being meaningfully addressed. Now the BVA

wanted still another bite at the apple,

which the CVA granted without addressing

petitioner's brief and reply motion

objecting to the remand. It was, as if,

neither the petitioner nor the facts or

the circumstances thereof mattered.

6) But there was more, much more which

this Court should consider regarding

fairness and equal treatment of pro se

litigants at cva.

a) During saia litigation, the VA was

discovered engaging in ex parte

communications apparently with the cCVA's

tacit consent.

b) It seems, pursuant to one the VA's

innumerable requests for an extension of

time, the VA's attorneys unintentionally

( mistakenly ) furnished the petitioner

;

5

z

4

a

k

A

4

3

0 by biltwne «

ae

a

5

‘

a

i

39

with a copy of its motion dated 7/22/91,

which shockingly revealed the following:

"As Appellant is proceeding pro se, he

has not been contacted regarding this

motion " (Emphasis added)

c) The VA was continually late in

Supplying information on a timely basis

( sometimes on any basis ), repeatedly

flouting CVA's rules by failing to file

timely motions, while others were spurious

and frivolous. As a consequence, the

petitioner filed at least six motions

requesting sanctions, none of which the

CVA meaningfully addressed.

d) Petitioner car. only speculate, as to

why sanctions were never imposed upon the

V.A., the CVA could hardly have sanctioned

the VA Secretary while it was secretly com-

municating and/or conspiring to break its

Own rules behind the petitioner's back |!

e) In the truth is stranger than

fiction category, the V.A. not content

with all of its obvious advantages:

40

attorneys v pro se litigants, proximity to

the Court of Veterans Appeals, practicing

in a complicated area of the law’ in which

only they had expertise, inter alia,

decided that those advantages simply

weren't enough, it needed more.

So what did the VA's attorneys do ? Why

they moved into the same building occupied

by the CVA so they could cummunicate ex-

parte on a more secure basis, over lunch,

social occasions, in the bathrooms or over

coffee, inter alia. Besides, that would

remove the post office " middle man ",

thereby cutting down on its own tardy

7. Chief Judge Nebeker, in an

interview published by the DAV, June 1991,

said: ™"™ Bar associations have taken the

position that veterans law is such a

highly technical speciality that lawyer's

aren't competent to handle it. I can

appreciate that. Lord knows, I'm still

getting acquainted with it. "

Also, in response to the question of why

so few veterans are represented by

attorneys, replied: " One reason is that

with the $ 10 limit on lawyer's fees,

there hasn't been any crossing of the

threshold by lawyers.

41

motions or briefs by two or three days.

7) Recusal of CVA Judge Donald Ivers

Ex VA General Counsel, Donald Ivers,

confirmed in a Congressional hearing, more

akin to a coronation - than a confirmation

- was forced to recuse himself from the

panel, in this case, on the grounds that

his own conduct while General Counsel and

his own testimony before the Congress dis-

qualified him to sit in judgment thereof.

VA's General Counsel Ivers had often

testified before Congress that veterans

were not entitled to due process since

their war related injury payments were

nothing more than gifts; that the VA

needn't explain its decisions, or assist

them in the development of their claims.

Moreover, that attorneys weren't necessary

since the entire procedure was ™ non

adversarial ". Further, despite knowledge

of the VA's bag of "dirty tricks" directed

against veterans, did nothing about it.

42

Although Judge Ivers recused himself in

petitioner's case, he has since refused to

do so in other cases despite similar

grounds. In this, Judge Ivers is supported

by Chief Judge Nebeker who unequivocally

states that under 28 USC 455, that the

only one who can cause a judge's recusal,

is the judge himself ! ® ( Aronson v

Brown,92-561 ) (CVA) ( C-126 )

Obviously, that pronouncement sets the

law of recusal back to the days before

Magna Carta. Mind boggling ! But that's

exactly what veterans have to contend with

pursuant to a series of outrages, relating

to what passes for justice at CVA.

Accordingly, isn't it time some article

III court interceded in behalf of the

disabled veterans who have been

8. Recently, the U.S. 3rd Circuit

Court of Appeals, removed District Court

Judge H. Lee Sarokin in the Rossie v

Liggett case because he could not offer

the required appearance of impartiality.

43

victimized by this cruel hoax of a " non

adversarial" adjudication system whether

it's in the guise of the Court of Veterans

Appeals, the VA, or some other

bureaucratic self serving boondoggle !

8) Upon completion of the adjudication

process, CVA consigned the instant matter

to what. is commonly termed the " tables

graveyard ", which means that Westlaw did

not publish what transpired therein,

except for notification in its " Veterans'

Appeals Reporter ". Meaningful

publication therein was not deemed

necessary by CVA because nothing

noteworthy has occurred.

Consequently, the veterans community was

deprived of the knowledge that:

a) Judge Donald !vers had been forced to

recuse himself.

b) CVA was reluctant to impose

sanctions upon the VA, no matter the

circumstances while punishing veterans

at

upon the slightest provocation. Moreover,

that six motions for sanctions involving

contempt, obstruction of justice, untimely

filing, frivolous and in bad faith motions

to include the totality of its failure to

comply with CVA's rules, orders, inter

alia, were never substantively addressed.

c) VA attorneys had covertly moved into

the same office building occupied by CVA,

without any notification thereof to the

veterans community. In fact, retaining

their old address for mailing purposes so

that no one would be the wiser.

d) CVA and the VA's attorneys haa

engaged in ex-parte communications, the

extent of which remains to be determined.

e) CVA had reversed its prior orders of

18 months standing to accommodate the VA's

admission that it had no basis to contest

the case and needed more time to explain

why it hadn't addressed the professional

opinions of four treating physicians ( two

45

from the VA ) on three prior occasions.

f) CVA was unable or unwilling to

explain itself regarding denial of

petitioner's well grounded motion for

summary judgment. Conjecturally, CVA may

believe it has no authority to rule on the

issue of summary judgment when it favors

veterans - only when, it favors the VA.

However, no veteran has had his motion

for Summary Judgment affirmed, while the

VA, has had its motions for throwing

veterans' cases out on the slightest

technical or procedural violation approved

forthwith by the thousands.

Meanwhile chief Judge Nebeker, ( DAV

publication of June, 1991 ) was throwing

the entire blame for veterans continually

losing on their inability to obtain

counsel and the technical complexity of

veteran's law. He said:" the unrepresented

veteran doesn't have a-chance ". (C-126 )

46

True enough, but there is much more

here, which remains hidden from view - and

which, only light, the great disenfectant,

can expose so that disabled veterans may

at iong last obtain their constitutional

right to a fair and impartial hearing.

There was much more that future CVA

litigants needed to know before pursuing

their remedies, but alas, none of it was

deemed important enough to publish. After

all, who's the loser ? Just veterans.

To recapitulate: a) the matter had

been litigated since 1955; and with

substantially greater intensity over the

past five years. b) Four treating

physicians ( two of whom worked for the

V.A. ) had advised that the petitioner was

unable to work " unemployable" due to

injuries sustained while a member of the

armed forces c) These opinions were

Supported by x-rays, cat scans, mri's,

inter alia. d) BVA Chairman, Eaton

Se i Ora Tee ae en re Ce ote eek ee

en

)

i

acknowledged that its review thereof was

" based on sound legal, evidentiary and

medical principles ". e) The VA's own

attorneys before CVA admitted that the:

" BVA did not point out anything in the

record to support its view ".

Under the circumstances, what more was

needed to obtain Summary Judgment, under

FRCP rule # 56 ? If ever, an issue was

ripe for Summary Judgment, it was this

one. Yet petitioner couldn't get it.

Why ?

Simply because, it would cause havoc by

gaining publication thereof, and point the

way ( set unwelcome precedents ) for

veterans to obtain similar judgments.

Moreover, it would expose the V.A. to

public ridicule and scorn, further

damaging the myth of its "non adversarial"

Claims systen.

48

E. ni tates Court of Appeals

For The Federal Circuit

Thereupon petitioner pursued his legal

remedies to the U.S Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit Court which likewise

ignored and/or failed to address the facts

or the issues presented for its review -

and/or in the alternative, acknowledged

that it was lacking in jurisdiction to do

So.

1) Issues Not Reviewable by the Court of

Appeals For the Federal Circuit

a) The Federal Circuit did not

meaningfully address whether the law, P.L.

100-687, creating its new jurisdiction

permitted it to entertain attacks on the

constitutionality of the VA claims system

as held in Johnson v_ Robison and in

Marozsan v the U.S. ( en banc )

49

b) The Federal Circuit apparently

declined on the grounds that this issue

had not been raised heretofore in the CVA.

Petitioner explained that he was

precluded from doing so, in view of the

fact that only Article III courts have

jurisdiction over constitutional matters,

as decided under Marbury v Madison.

Therefore petitioner had no standing to

raise the constitutional issue in CVA, an

Article I court, nor did said court have

jurisdiction over the matter.

Additionally, petitioner made plain that

if the constitutional matter were brought

up in CVA, it couldn't be accepted there

unless it was initially brought before the

VA's Regional Office, then the BVA, and

thereupon to the CVA. Even so, among the

forgoing, who even then, had the

authority to rule on the constitutionality

of the law or the unconstitutional claims

treatment accorded veterans ? No one !

50

Unless this was a bureaucratic make-

work project or an exercise in futility,

the Federal Circuit's ruling that the

matter must be brought before CVA, failed

to address the circumstances under which

such a ruling could be met.

The inescapable answer is that no one of

the adminstrative agencies, or even the

Article I court ( CVA ), has the power to

render statutes unconstitutional when

enacted by Congress. Moreover, where

shall redress of Constitutional wrongs

perpetrated by the agencies or

instrumentalities of the government be

brought ? Shall they be brought before

the same people perpetrating those

wrongs !!? Petitioner thinks not.

Under the circumstances, it's a real

conundrum. No wonder the Federal Circuit

refused to answer, but this Court must, or

this issue will continue to remain in

limbo, in a veritable 3urisprudential

OO

LN A weld eal aa

|

"no man's land " where so much of

veterans law has settled for Parnes a

century without meaningful review - and

unfortunately, upon a seriously flawed

factual basis.

From petitioner's vantage point, it's

time to revisit this issue de novo, at

U.S. District Court level. Congress may

pass laws, but it's clearly up to the

Courts to determine what they mean, and

what is constitutional.

Accordingly, where does petitioner start

his constitutional action, in the District

Courts ? In the VA's Regional Offices ?

Elsewhere,in the BVA, or the CVA ? Where ?

No further response could be obtained

from the Federal Circuit on the question

of constitutional jurisdiction and where

the issue may be initially raised.

c) The Federal Circuit declined to

answer whether pro se veterans are

entitled to equal treatment at CVA.

52

d) The Federal Circuit declined to

answer whether ex-parte communications

between the CVA and VA was permissable

conduct.

e) The Federal Circuit court declined

to answer whether the flagrant and

repeated flouting of CVA's rules by the VA

without sanction or censure is acceptible

judicial conduct.

f) The Federal Circuit declined to

address even Chief Judge Nebeker

published, June, 1991 statement in which

he said that: " the unrepresented veteran

doesn't have a chance " Since 70 % of all

veterans appear pro se, that should have

been a source of serious concern to the

Federal Circuit - but it wasn't - failing

to elicit a single comment.

g) The Federal Circuit declined to

respond, as to why, not a single veteran

had prevailed in its Court, four years

after P.L. 100-687 enactment.

Te ae Sen Pe a

ee ee

—

— RS ar nee a Oi et

53

Is there something wrong with the law,

or the Court or what ? Not a single

comment, from the Federal Circuit,

pursuant to a law which cries out for

interpretation and/or review. Absolutely

nothing to the veterans community begging

for guidance. Just silence.

h) No response as to whether the

Federal Circuit exercises any control over

CVA's judicial conduct ? Just silence.

i) No explanation regarding why the

instant case was consigned to the " tables

graveyard " ? Was the veterans' community

to be kept in ignorance over what had

transpired herein ? More silence.

j) No response to the Summary Judgment

issue, since it was a factual matter,

precluding the Court's intervention.

2) Issues Addressed: Albeit

Superficially by the Federal Circuit

a) The Federal Circuit's interpretation

of P.L. 100-687, 38 U.S.C.A., section 7292

54

(ad) (1),(2) held, that even if, the CVA's

decision was arbitrary and capricious,

( totally without basis ), and if, the

circumstances thereof, involved a factual

matter, that the Circuit Court is wholly

without jurisdiction. With such an

interpretation, it is doubtful whether a

set of circumstances could even be created

under which a veteran could prevail. No

wonder, nobody has. What do you suppose

the " founding fathers " would say about

that ? Can such an interpretation or law

be constitutional ?

Is it possible that the Federal Circuit

views itself as a potted plant with no

power to meaningfully review anything

brought to its attention by the veterans'

community ? If it does, why can't it say

so, in understandable, unambigious

language, so that the issues may be

Clearly drawn. Its job is to illuminate,

Clarify, not pontificate, in legalistic

55

lanquage so obtuse as to render its

judgments devoid of meaning to veterans,

whose only crime, was to be injured while

defending this nation and its liberties.

What is the Circuit Court afraid of ?

b) The Federal Circuit asserts that it

has sustained the constitutionality of

P.L. 100-687 based upon its decisions in

Wallace v Department of Air Force, 879

F.2d. 829, 832, ( Fed. Cir. 1989 ) and

Nagac v Derwinski, 933 F. 2d 990, Fed.

Cir.1990 ), inter alia. However, none of

those cases remotely approached the scope

of issues brought forth herein. Books

could be written pursuant to the matters

distinguishing the aforementioned cases

from the instant action.

For example, did any of said cases

involve the issue of a veteran's inability

to obtain a fair and impartial hearing ?

Did any of said cases involve a constitu-

tional challenge to the operation of the

56

VA's claim system,inter alia,ad infinitum?

Accordingly, petitioner can find no

relevance to the Circuit Court's prior

holdings, as applied to this case.

Regretably petitioner deplores the

Court's failure to address its impotence

pursuant to the VA's arbitrary and

capricious decisions. Based upon the

Circuit Court's holding, a veteran can be

lynched with impunity, while the Court

witnessing the crime, does so with an air

of bemused detachment. That's what the

Circuit Court's ruling means in plain

unvarnished language. That circumstance

is intolerable, requiring this Court to

say, it just ain't so.

Veterans appear pro se and doubtless

ignorant in much of the law, but let no

one believe that they're stupid, to be

treated cavalierly and with so much

disdain. After all, it doesn't take a

rocket scientist to understand when you've

Jammer

57

been " screwed " , and your constitutional

rights voided where prohibited by law.

c) The Federal Circuit finds that

petitioners assertion that Judge Donald

Ivers, is not qualified to sit in judgment

on any veterans case, wholly lacks merit.

That holding, is without basis in view

of the fact that Judge Ivers removed

himself in this case. And if he did so,

in this case - why not, in other veterans

cases. What is the difference between

this veteran and other veterans ? Does

the Circuit Court imply that Judge Ivers

removed himself without cause ? Or what

were the circumstances of his removal, the

Circuit Court does not say, yet it holds

that petitioner's request that Judge Ivers

remove himself in all cases is wholly

without merit. Does CAFC know something

petitioner does not know - otherwise, the

Court's ruling defies reason.

d) The Circuit Court finds that the

58

petitioner's objection, to the VA's

attorneys being housed in the same

building, as CVA, to be wholly without

merit, despite the fact, that evidence

given the Circuit Court clearly

establishes that the VA's attorneys

engaged in ex parte communication with the

CVA. If there is nothing wrong with being

housed in the same building, then why has

it been kept a secret from the veteran's

community, and why have they maintained

their old mailing address ?

The Circuit Court failed to examine the

evidence of prior wrongdoing by the VA,

and consequently, is totally ignorant of

what these VA bureaucrats are capable of

doing. Does that make moving illegal ?

No ! But any examination thereof,

indicates that something is rotten in the

state of Denmark, if not the VA and CVA.

Their close proximity is reason enough to

suspect the worst.

Based upon the forgoing it is clear that

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit ( CAFC ) has no jurisdiction over

anything meaningful or is reluctant to

exercise any power that it may have.

Under the circumstances, the law creating

veterans access to said Court is a cruel

hoax or an exercise in utter futility.

ll Is The Veterans’ Judicial Review Act

or P.L 100- 687 Constitutional 7?

Petitioner submits, that in its totality,

Public Law 100-687 is unconstitutional,

considering the following:

1) Aproximately 90 % of all veterans have

been excluded from the benefits thereof

( assuming there are any ) if their claims

were finalized prior to Nov 18. 1988.

Veterans never receiving due process,

equal protection or access to attorneys in

the first place, are now denied it in the

second place, assuming it exists at all.

2 (a) Despite the law, cvA sits only in

le

60

Washington, D.C. CVA sees and talks only

to VA attorneys. CVA clerks are generally

uncooperative in keeping with the esteem

veterans are held.

(b) CAFC sits only in wash. D.c.

(c) Veterans are not permitted to hire

attorneys during the initial and most

critical ( crucial ) stage of their claim.

(d) 70 per cent of veterans can't find

attorneys, even when permitted, despite

the complexities of the law and procedures

e) Veterans are still not permitted to

subpoena or cross examine bureaucrats

making hostile statements.

Under the circumstances, the right of a

veteran to be meaningfully heard is

substantially compromised, if not lost.

3) Class action suits are not permitted

preventing many similarly situated

veterans from combining their financial

resources and bringing concerted actions

to obtain needed and uniform relief.

61

No way to enforce CVA decisions

uniformly throughout the VA. Currently,

the Regional offices and the VA have been

detected circumventing CVA decisions °.

Besides, cases favoring veterans have no

legally binding precendential value,

4) Scope of judicial review is so

limited, rendering it almost meaningless.

5) Effectively denies the public access

to news of CVA decisions and awards, if

any, pursuant thereto under the excessive

secrecy provisions currently imposed.!°

®, Ronald Abrams Statement of 5/20/92

Director of National Veterans Legal

Services, before SVAC, indicates that the

Regional Offices wilfully ignores or cir-

cumvents CVA decisions, Page 29 thereof.

His insight is particularly instructive.

10, Even in COVA cases, where the

veteran has apparently prevailed, no one

knows how much the veteran received. In

one recent case, which the appellant has

followed closely, the veteran prevailed

and was remanded to the BVA, which awarded

him 10% instead of 40% for the loss of an

eye in 1952. Previously, he was awarded

nothing. That case is now under further

appeal. Would the Secretary dare offer

such compensation, if the public knew ?

62

The public’s right to know is

substantially diminished since cases are

tried only in D.C., considerably dampening

the local press's enthusiasm to report.

6) Lack of an independent decision maker.

The law notwithstanding, even CVA is an

appendage of the VA. Impartial review is

not possible, if judges have any

institutional bias.

The VA’s unconstitutional claims system

has continued largely because of its

ability to keep its adjudication process,

and the results obtained therefrom - a

secret, under one subterfuge or another.

secrecy, the hallmark of the VA's " plague

infested " claim system can never permit

light, to invade the hidden recesses of

its sqalid claims adjudication system.

The American people would be outraged,

if they only knew how veterans were

mistreated and victimized by the process.

Further, if they only knew of the

ane kn eect

63

helpless feeling of betrayal, lawyerless

veterans experience after being denied

valid claims, without a meaningful hearing

addressing their evidence. A process which

denies them the right to subpoena or cross

examine witnesses or to obtain competent

medical experts to resolve differences in

medical opinion, or to seriously challenge

VA decisions as being unconstitutional

under Maroszan, Johnson v Robison and

Goldberg v Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 ( 1970 ).

Never in our history have so many been

abused by bureaucrats, whose victims, have

so little recourse, with the public kept

" barefoot and pregnant" under a such a

malevolent conspiracy of silence.

The U.S. Supreme Court in a famous

pornograpy case ( citation omitted ) said

that while it couldn't describe

pornography in specific legal terms, it

knew it, when it saw it. So too, veterans

who have been routinely abused by the VA

64

know when their Constitutional rights have

been violated, although they may not be

competent to describe the infringement in

strictly legal terms.

ll! Review Requested of the Supreme Court

Petitioner asks only that this Court allow

him to enter the U.S. District Court in

Brooklyn, therein to present the evidence,

pursuant to a class action suit to estab-

lish once for all the unconstitutionality

of the VA claims adjudication system.

At the present time no attorney will

take the case unless that person is

assured it will be meaningfully heard.

Other cases, brought strictly in

conformance with Johnson and Marozsan, and

not seeking adjudication of claims, were

summarily dimissed re: [12: (b)(6)] on the

grounds that such cases were brought in

the guise of a constitutional complaint.

Notwithstanding the 7th Circuit's

65

opinion in Maroszan, the 2nd Circuit holds

a different view, at variance with Johnson

which clearly establishes a conflict

between the two circuits which this Court

should review to maintain uniformity among

the circuits.

IV Conclusion

In summary, petitioner asks only for

permission to litigate a veterans right to

a fair and impartial hearing and the

evidence pertaining thereto. Otherwise,

the petitioner shall have no alternative

but to bring a RICO, CIVIL RIGHTS or

BIVENS action against his own government,

something he is most reluctant to

participate in - even though, a New York

jury would be far more receptive to the

plight of veterans than a judge might be.

Thank you for any consideration extended

to disabled veterans.

Dated: February 19, 1993

New York, N.Y.

Respectfully ss iso atanaan

‘tL Ve Bow (lh.

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU

c/o Sidney Cooper

44 West 62nd Street

Suite 29 A

New York, N.Y. 10023

APPENDICES

Appendix -A

pages

Decisions To Be Reviewed

CAFC order dismissing Appellant's

Combined Petition for Rehearing

In Banc. (11/25/92) A-1,2

CAFC panel decision dismissing

Appellant's Brief A 3-13

CVA denial of combined petition

for reconsideration and review. A14,15

APPENDIX B

Constitution ~

iST & FIFTH Amendments

38 U.S.C. sect 211 (a)

[ 511 (a) ]

38 U.S.C. 3402 (a) (2)

28 U.S.C. 455

FRCP rule 56

Veterans Judicial Review Act

(VJRA) or Public Law 100-687

or 38 U.S.C.

B-5-7

ix -

Witness /

Affiliation

BVA Chairman

Preferential

Signature List

R. O'Dell

VP. VVA

R. O'Dell

VP. VVA

R. O'Dell

VP. VVA

R. O'Dell

VP. VVA

P. Cushman

Pres.VDP

G. Erspamer

Attorney

NARS

Mcallister

Wash. Post

R. Abrams

VA Emp.

(virtually all of the

following originate from

Congresional Hearings)

Subject

Pages

Equal protection

Identical Cases

Decided Differently,

Courtesy Signatures

BVA Allowance

Aberration

Due Process

Courtesy Signature

Better to deny

than allow

Due Process

VA Destruction

of Court Ordered

Documents

Harrassment of

" Deep Throat"

Due Process

White Paper

Cm-i-4

C-5-10

C-9,10

C-10,11

C-12-15

C-16-21

C-22-26

C-27-31

S*32°39

Witness/ Subject Pages

Gompf Letter Blackmail C-40-43

VA Director Due Process

Equal Protection

J.N. Magill Intimidated by C-44-46

Director,VFW Gompf letter

Dr.A.Pellerin Due Process C-47-55

BVA Emp. Implausible dec-

isions, no retro-

active payment,

trash outside medical

opinions, conscience

stricken testimony,

intimidation.

we «Eee

CBO

Blum Veterans would incr-

ease allowances by

33%,if independent

medical expert

opinions were allowed

C-356,57

T.A. Verrill

Adj. Officer

Vets denied hearings

at critical Stages of C58,59

the VARO adjudication

process

K. Eaton BVA hearings covertly

BVA Chmn. denied, subject to

4 Members of

Congress

K. Blaylock

Pres.AFGE

quota. C-60-65

Letter to Wash. Post

Blackmail of C-66-69

NVSO's, inter alia

Due Process, incon-

sistent and uncontrol-

led decionmaking, no

effective check on

impermissable actions

C-70-75

we bt ate

4 WE bapa GR Be CPP ed a ae te

BBs

Witness/

Affiliation

N. Johnson

BVA Employee

D. Schwab

National

Officer, VFW

S. Cooper

VDP

Kenneth Eaton

BVA Chairman

B. McAllister

Wash Post

BVA Members

R.O.Muller

Pres. VVA

Chief Member,

BVA Panel

aie }

Subject Pages

Covert quota system,

shelve notions of due

process, decisions C-76-84

based on race, close

decisions always went

against veterans, dirty

tricks.

Due Process. Many C-85-93

service officers'

increasingly disappointed

over denial of cases which

have considerable merit.

Equal Protection - C-94-97

Miss. receives twice

the national average

in benefits.

Statistics, evidencing

virtually no change in

allowance rates -

suggesting a quota C-98-101

New Court(COVA) gives

preference to VA. C-102,03

Informal Grievance C104-110

Production Quota,

Courtesy signatures

Due Process

No uniformity of C-111-115

decisionmaking

Shopping for Judges

Intimidation of

panel by BVA C-116-118

Chairman

Witness/ Subject Pages

Affiliation

A. Bernklau BVA Statement C-119

BVA Opinion Hearing, 4/4/90 C-120

A.Bernklau CVA Brief C-121,22

A. Bernxlau CVA Brief

Doctor's Statements C-123,24

BVA Chairman, Ltr. to Bernklau C-125

Eaton via Barbara Bush

CVA, Chief D.A.V. Interview C-126

Judge Nebeker

CVA Decision Aronson v Brown C-127

re: Recusal

Order upon Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing in Banc

(United States Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit, November 25,

1992):

“United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

92-7038

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU

Claimant-Appellant,

Ve

EDWARD J. DERWINSKI, Secretary

of Veterans Affairs,

Respondent -Appellee.

ORDER

A combined petition for rehearing and

Suggestion for rehearing in banc having

been filed by che APPELLANT, and che.

petition for rehearing having been

referred to the panel that heard the

appeal, and thereafter the suggestion for

rehearing in banc having been referred to

the circuit judges who are in rugular

active service,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it 1s

ORDERED that the petition for

rehearing be, and the same hereby is,

DENIED, and it is further

ORDERED that the suggestion for

rehearing in banc be, and the same

hereby is, DECLINED.

The mandate of the court will issue on

December 2, 1992.

FOR THE COURT

FRANCIS X. GINDHART, CLERK

Dated: November 25, 1992

By

Diane M. Frye

Chief Deputy Clerk

58 er CATE ate A oe

DECISION UPON APPEAL: (United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit 92-7038, October 9, 1992):

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

92-7038

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU,

Claimant -Appellant

Vs

EDWARD J. DERWIINSKI, Secretary

of Veterans Affairs,

Respondent -Appellee.

DECIDED: October 9, 1992

Before MICHEL, Circuit Judge, SE¢KELTOII,

Senior Circuit Judge, and Clevenger,

Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM.

Arthur N. Bernklau appeals to this court

from a decision of the United States Court

of Veterans Appeals ("CVA") that vacated

and remanded an April 4, 1990 Board of

Veterans Appeals' ("BVA") decision denying

appellant's claim for entitlement to a

total disability rating. Because we lack

jurisdiction on several of the issues, we

dismiss-in-part, and otherwise affirm-in-

bart.

Mr. Bernklau served in the Armed Forces

from July, 1954 to June, 1955. After his

retirement, the Veterans Administration

(“VA") determined that Mr. Bernklau was

entitled to a disability rating due to a

service-connected lower back injury. Mr.

Bernklau's disability rating was initially

set at ten percent in 1956, and through a

series of appeals and remands, the rating

was finally increased to a level of

seventy percent in an August 8, 1989

decision of the BVA, retroactive to

llovember 3, 1983. At that time, the BVA

aman itn a,

re eee eee. eee eee ae OR eT te Tate See ee Toe eee

ONT tetra Ba

le ie nt ee in ne te ee

again remanded the disability rating to

the VA to determine whether Mr. Bernklau

was unemployable by reason of service-

connected disability and, therefore,

entitled to a total disability rating.

On September 5, 1989, the regional office

of the VA denied Mr. Bernklau's claim for

a total disability rating. This issue was

certified for appeal to the BVA. Ina

decision dated April 4, 1990, the Bva

affirmed the VA's decision holding that

“(Mr. Bernklau's] service-connected {lower

back] disability does not render him

unemployable or unable to obtain or retain

[sedentary] employment in a field ot

endeavor for which he is qualified."

Docket No. 87-26 401, at 6. Mr. Bernklau

appealed this denial to the CVA,

On appeal, Mr. Bermnklau variously moved

for sanctions against the Secretary of

Veterans Affairs and censure ot the VA.

The CVA denied these motions on October

24, 1991. The Secretary moved that the

CVA vacate and remand the BVA's decision,

which it did on February 14, 1992, Stating

that “the reasons or bases contained in

the [BVA's] decision are not 'clear enough

to permit effective judicial review.'"

Bernklau v. Derwinski, No. 90-637 (Vet.

App. Feb. 14, 1992) (order vacating and

remanding) (quoting Gilbert v. Derwinski,

1 Vet. App. 49, 57 (1990)). The CVA also

found that it was without jurisdiction to

hear Mr. Bernklau's claim for retroactive

compensation for higher disability ratings

because the issue was not properly before

the BVA at the time of its April 4, 1990

decision. The CVA entered judgment on

March 23, 1992 after denying Mr.

Bernklau's motion for reconsideration, or

in the alternative, for review en banc. 2

Vet. App. 341 (1992).

Mr. Bernklau's appeal of the cCVA‘s

decision to vacate and remand the BVA'S

disability determination raises several

jurisdictional issues. The jurisdiction

of the court is "limited to those subjects

encompassed within a statutory grant of

jurisdiction." Insurance Corp, of

ireland, Ltd. v. Compagnie des Bauxites de

Guinee, 436 U.8; 694, 7O1l - (1982).

Jurisdiction of this court to review

judgments of the United States Court of

Veterans Appeals is governed by 38

U.S.C.A. § 7292 (West 1991), which reads,

in pertinent part:

(dad) (1) The Court of appeals for the

Federal Circuit shall decide all relevant

questions of law, including interpreting

constitutional and Statutory provisions.

The [Federal Circuit] shall hold unlawful

and set aside any regulation or any

interpretation thereof (other than a

determination as to a factual matter) that

was relied upon in the decision of the

[CVA] that the {Federal Circuit] finds to

be--

(A) arbitrary, capricious, and [an]

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not

in accordance with law;

(B) contrary to constitutional right,

power, privilege, or immunity;

(C) in excess of statutory

jurisdiction, authority, or

limitations, or in violation of a

statutory right; or

(D) without observance of procedure

required by law.

(2) Except to the extent that an appeal

under this chapter presents a

constitutional issue, the {Federal

Circuit] may not review (A) a challenge to

a__factual determination, or (B) a

challenge to a Jaw or regulation as

Lied : ) re

(emphasis added). See Livingston v,

Derwinski, 959 F.2d 224, 226 (Fed. Cir.

1992).

Mr. Bernklau contends that the CVA's

remand to the BVA is improper because the

CVA either had no factual basis on which

to support its remand, or altogether

misinterpreted the pertinent facts. We do

not reach the merits of this issue. The

BVA is required to provide a statement of

the “reasons or bases for [its] findings

and conclusions ... ." 38 U.S.C.A. -§

7104 (da) (1) (West 1991). In holding that

the BVA's “reasons and bases“ were not

“clear enough to permit effective judicial

review," the CVA determined that the

BVA's opinion failed to meet the statutory

requirements of section 7104. Thus, Mr.

Bernklau challenges the application of a

law to the specific facts before the CVA.

We therefore lack jurisdiction to consider

this issue. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7292(d) (2) (B).

The same is true for Mr. Bernklau's

contention that the CVA incorrectly found

itself without jurisdiction to hear Mr.

Bernklau's claim for retroactive

compensation because the issue was not

properly before the BVA at the time of its

April 4, 1990 decision. Issues not before

the BVA may not be considered by the CVA.

Branham v,. Derwinski, 1 Vet. App. 93, 94

(1990). Whether or not the issue of

retroactive compensation was before the

BVA on April 4, 1990 is a factual

determination on which the CVA relied in

drawing its conclusion. We are therefore

without jurisdiction to review this issue.

38 U.S.C.A. § 7292 (da) (2) (A).

Mr. Bernklau also argues that the CVA

erred as a matter of law in denying his

motions for the imposition of sanctions

ll

:

upon the Secretary of Veterans Attairs.

The CVA's decision not to impose such a

penalty, however, clearly rests on its

application of law to the factual record.

Thus, we are without jurisdiction to hear

this issue. 38 U.S.C.A. § 7292(d).

Mr. Bernklau further argues that the CVA

erred as a matter of law in denying his

motion for summary judgment in view of the

“well documented facts." Whether a motion

for summary judgment should have been

granted is a question of law. However,

because consideration of Mr. Bernklau's

motion requires an analysis of the factual

background of the motion, we lack

jurisdiction over this issue. 38 U.S.C.A.

§ 7292(d).

We also reject the other grounds upon

which Mr. Bernklau appeals. His

contentions that the Veterans' Judicial

Review Act, Pub. L. No. 100-67, 192 Stat.

c ) < . mere 7. +4 ; . ,

4105 (1988) ’ lS un nstitutional were not

raised betore the } ind therefore need

not be entertained on appeal. Wallace v,

Department Of Alr Force, 879 F.2d 829, 832

(Fed. Cir. 1989). In any event, this

court has sustained the constitutionality

OF that Act. meee, €@.g9., Nagac v.,

Derwinski, 933 F.2d 990, 990 (Fed. Cir.),

cert, denied, hAa @« es a 384 (1991);

elarmino vv, Derwinski, 931 F.2d 1543,

1544 (Fed. Cir. 41991). Mr. Bernklau's

other contentions (among them that the

Honorable Donald Ivers must be

disqualified to sit on any CVA case, and

that it 1S improper for VA attorneys to be

housed in the same building as the Cv

wholly lacks merit.

For the above reasons, we dismiss those

parts of Mr. Bernklau's appeal over which

ack jurisdqaiction, and ornerwise af

masa

ORDER upon motion for reconsideration

or, in the alternative for review en

banc (NO. 90-637, MARCH 23, 1992)

“UNITED STATES COURT OF VETERANS APPEALS"

NO. 90-637

ARTHUR N. BERNKLAU, Appellant,

VA File No. 19 024 516

vs

EDWARD J. DERWINSKI,

Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Appellee.

Before NEBEKER*, Chief Judge, and

KRAMER*, FARLEY, MANKIN*, HOLDAWAY,

IVERS, and STEINBERG, Associate Judges.

ORDER

On February 14, 1992, a three-judge panel

of the Court granted the Secretary of

Veterans Affairs' (Secretary) motion for

remand. Accordingly,

the decision of the

Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board) was

vacated and the case remanded for

proceedings consistent with the

secretary's motion. On February 26, 1992,

appellant filed a motion for

reconsideration or, in the alternative,

for review en banc.

Upon consideration of appellant's

motion for reconsideration by the panel,

it is

ORDERED tnat the motion for

reconsideration is denied.

|r

(1)

—

QO)

ct

jb

_

VY

~

~

Upon consic Of appellant's

alternative motion tor review en banc, by

the full court, it is

ORDERED that, no judge 1laving called

for a vote, appellant's motion for review

en banc is denied.

DATED: MAR 23, 1992 PER CURIAM

CONSTITUTION

Pirst Amendment:

"Congress snall make no Law

‘ respecting the establishment of

religion, or pronibiti ng the free

exercise thereot ; Or abridging the

freedom of speech or of the press;

Or the right of the people peaceably

to assemble and to petition the

government for redress of just

grievances."

Fifth Amendment:

"Ilo person shall be held to answer

for a capital, or other intamous

Crime unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in

cases arising in the land or nava!

forces, or in the Militia, when in

actual service, in time of War or

public danger; nor shall any person

be subject for the same offense to be

twice put in jeopardy of life and

limb; nor shall be compelled in any

Criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of LLfe,

liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor shall privare

Property be taken for public use

without just compensation."

STATUTES

38 U.S.C. §3402(a) (2) (1979):

(NOW: 38 U.S.C § 5902(a) (2)]:

"The Administrator may, in his

discretion, furnish, if available,

Space and office facilities for the

use of paid full-time representatives

of national organizations SO

recognized."

38 U.S.C. §2ll(a) (1979)

(NOW: 38 U.S.C § 5ll(a)]:

"On and after October 17, 1940,

except as provided in sections 775,

784, and as to matters arising under

chapter 37 of this title, the

decisions of the Administrator on any

question of law or fact under any law

administered by the Veterans'

Administration providing benefits for

veterans and their dependents or

Survivors shall be final and

conclusive and no other official or

any court of the United States shall

have power or jurisdiction to review

any such decision by an action in the

nature Of mandamus or otherwise."

28 U.S.C. §455(a), (b), and (e)

“(a) Any justice, judge or magistrate

of the United States shall disqualify

himself in any proceeding in which

impartiality might reasonably be

questioned.

"(b) He shall also disqualify himself

in the following circumstances:

"(1) Where he has personal bias or

prejudice concerning a party, or

personal knowledge of disputed

evidentiary facts concerning the

proceeding;

"(4) He knows that he, individually

***** has a financial interest (legal

Or equitable interest, however smal 1)

in the subject matter in controversy

“e*** or any other interest that

could be substantially affected by

the outcome of the proceeding;

"(5) He Tek KeK

"(iv) is to the judges knowledge

likely to be a material witness in

the proceeding.

“(e) No justice, Judge or magistrate

Shall accept from the parties to the

proceeding a waiver of any ground for

disqualification enumerated in

Subsection (b). Where the ground for

disqualification arises only under

Subsection (a), walver may be

accepted provided it is proceeded by

a full disclosure on the record of

the basis for disqualification."

{emphasis added}

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURES (FRCP)

Rule # 56

The judgment sought shall be rendered

forthwith . .."“ If there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. A summary judgment may be

rendered on the issue of liability alone

although there is a genuine issue on the

amount of damages."

B-5

VJRA (Public Law 100- 687) or 38 U.S.C.

(Applicable Statutes)

38 U.S.C. sec. 4051 ;

The VJRA precludes CVA review of final BVA

decisions unless Claimant has filed a

Notice of Disagreement on or after

November 18, 1988.

38 U.S.C. sec.4055

" The principal office of the Court of

Veterans Appeals sha?l be in the District

of Columbia, but the Court may sit any

Place within the United States."

To date: CVA sits only in Wash. D.c.

38 U.S.C. sec 4061

" The times and places of sessions of the

Court of Veteran Appeals shall be

prescribed by the chief judge. "

38 U.S.C. sec, 4092 (a)

" The VJRA provides the U.s. Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit, an

existing Article III court, that sits in

Washington, D.C. with exclusive

jurisdiction to hear appeals of CVA

decisions."

" The Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit shall decide all relevant

questions of law, including interpreting

constitutional and statutory provisions.

The court shall hold unlawful and set

aside any staute or regulation or any

interpretation thereof( other than a

determination as to a factual matter) that

was relied upon in the decision of the

Court of Veterans Appeals that the Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit finds

to be-

"(A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse

of discretion, or otherwise not in

accordance with law;

"(B) contrary to constitutional

right, power, privilege, or immunity;

" (C) In excess of statutory

jurisdiction, authority, or limitations

or in violation of statutory right; or

“ (D) without observance of

du w."

" (2) Except to the extent that an appeal

under this chapter presents a

constitutional issue, the Court of Appeals

may not review (A) a challenge to a

factual determination or (B) a challenge

to a law or regulation as applied to the

facts of a particular case. "

( emphasis added )

B-7

38 U.S.C. 5404 (c) (1)

( formerly 3404 (c)(1) }

" A fee may not be charged, allowed or

paid for services of agents and attorneys

with respect to services provided before

the date in which the Board of Veterans'

Appeals first makes a final decision in

the case. Such a fee may be charged,

allowed or paid in the case of services

provided after such date only if an agent

or attorney has been retained with respect

to such case before the end of the one

year period beginning on that date. This

limitation ....does not apply

to services provided with respect to

proceedings before a court."

note: BVA final decisions may not take

place for years.

PERSONAL SIGNATURE LIST" OF CHAIRMAN

KENNETH E. BATON, BOARD OF VETERANS

APPEALS :

“Office of the Chairman

Board of Veterans Appeals

Washington, D.C. 20420

March 9, 1987

“MEMORANDUM

No. 01-87-10

Subj: Chairman's Personal Signature

List

1. PROCEDURE

When the following persons have

expressed an interest in a case, and

correspondence is being directed to the

Capitol Hill offices, the case, after

processing through AIRS and prior to

dating and dispatch of correspondence

will be routed through the Chairman's

<7 } :

review and signature. Where a letter

is being sent to the district offices, it

should not be sent to the Executive

Assistant but rather should be signed by

the Chief of the Section preparing the

correspondence, e.g., Chief, Special

Correspondence and Inquiries Section;

Chief, Hearing Section.

2. COMPOSITION

Senators

Alan Cranston, Chairman

Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee

|

Frank H. Murkowski

Alan K. Simpson

Mark O. Hatfield

Thomas A. Daschle

CONGRESSMEN

G.V. Montgomery, Chairman, House

Veterans' Affairs Committee

Gerald B. H. Solomon

John Paul Hammerschmidt

Jim Wright, Speaker of the House

Denny Smith

Douglas Applegate

Don Edwards

WwW

RECISSION

a. Chairman's Memorandum No. O1-85-

24, dated September 27, 1985, subject:

Chairman's Personal Signature List, is

hereby rescinded.

b. This memorandum is automatically

rescinded December 31, 1987.

KENNETH E. EATON

Chairman"

{BOLD PRINT EMPHASIS ADDED}

STATEMENT PRESENTED BY RICHARD gE.

O'DELL, VICE PRESIDENT AND CHAIRMAN

OF COMMITTEE ON ADVOCACY, VIETNAM

VETERANS OF AMERICA, INC. (VVA),

DATED FEBRUARY 18, 1988, ENTITLED:

“VA APPELLATE ADJUDICATIONS AT THE

BOARD OF VETERANS APPEALS", BEFORE

THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, HUMAN

RESOURCES AND INTERGOVERNMENTAL

RELATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS

HEARING CONCERNING "OVERSIGHT OF VA'S

DISABILITY COMPENSATION PROGRAMS".

HEARING BOOK PAGES 95 THROUGH 195.

{***** Statement page 5}

"Significant Variances

Between Different Sections

of the BVA

“Kenneth E. Eaton, Chairman of the

Board of Veterans Appeals, testified at an

oversight hearing on the operation of the

BVA before the Subcommittee on

Compensation, Pension and Insurance of the

House Committee on Veterans Affairs in

1985 and again on October 6, 1987. Mr.

Eaton, responded to a question from

Chairman Applegate in 1985 by saying

The VVA and the American Legion have each,

in the past, pointed out similar problems

(Exhibit C, footnote 3 {***** omitted} )

During the 1985 and 1987 hearings

when Mr. Eaton testified, it would have

been very helpful if production statistics

for each of the 21 sections of the BVA had

been available. These production

Statistics show allowance rates, denial

rates and remand rates for each of the

’

CF

Board's 21 sections. Had they been

available they would likely have shown

Substantial Gifferences in allowance

rates. denial rates and remand yates

between certain sections of the Board that

eailie asaiis

"The VVA has obtained one such

document from sources within the BVA and,

indeed the differences we have suspected

are apparent. Allowances overall for the

last Quarter of Fy 1987 for al] Board

sections ranged between 7.9 percent and

18.6 percent. Denials overall for the

Same Quarter ranged between 55.6 percent

and 82 percent, Remands ranged between

6.9 percent and 31.6 percent (Exhibit D

{***** omitted}). The vva believes the

variations in these production statistics

show that the testimony of the Chairman of

the BVA regarding the “significant

variances between different sections of

-™ ——

the Board is indeed very significant. It

is so significant, in our judgment, that

it has become apparent that a higher

reviewing authority ought to be made

available on this basis alone in order to

protect veterans from those “variances" in

the decisions rendered on veterans

benefits.

Moreover, not only are there

, : } mer z= ‘

} } 4 ae

cases are decided differently (Exhibit C,

pg. 7 {***** omitted}) . Thie face .

; } ie 4

13 nd fod ; lat j

CFR 3,101 (Exhibit E {***** omitted})."

“xxv

{Statement page 11} "An interesting

corralary to the production credit limits

in cases involving multiple issues is the

affect additional credits in individual

cases might have on overall BVA allowance

rates. Over many years the BVA annually

has approved about 13 percent of the

appeals adjudicated. This rate has

remained so constant over the years that

it has come to be termed "the quota" in

some circles. If production credits were

given for each issue decided in each case

by the BVA, it is likely that allowance

rates would decline precipitously as

denials soared.

Indeed the VA's Veterans Appeals

Control and Locator System (VACOLS) which

Provides statistical information on

allowances and denials "is blind to the

reasoning behind any individual decision.

If. in a four issue appeal, three issues

are denied and one issue is allowed. the

YVACOLS record will reaqard the BVA decision

C-20

as an allowance," (Exhibit L, pg 2 -{*****

omitted}).

Moreover, if it is conservatively

ba ) ~~ } }

; } ' 1 if it 3

disallowed, the annual allowance rate

wxkekek

{***** Statement page 15}

"Courtesy Sign-Offs

“Another potential byproduct of

production pressure and bonus incentives

is particularly troubling. This is the

€ ' ;

Ef lai ecie: t)

reviewing the file. The danger for

veterans is one of being denied due

Process as prescribed by the laws

governing the way appeals are Supposed to

be adjudicated.

“The May 11, 1987 Informal Grievance

cited earlier in this Statement (Exhibit

J, pg 2 {***** Omitted}) discusses

courtesy sign-offs as follows: “Another,

and perhaps the most serious manipulative

eae |

by obtaining signatures on decisions by

who sign the decisions despite not having

reviewed the case. This so-called

"courtesy' SYstem not only deprives

Claimants from a review to which they

would otherwise he entitled, but is also

used to artifically increase the

production of decisions. We need pot

identify those sections that regularly

engage in this practice because their

c-12

an_'in house courtesy' signature, thereby

accomplishing the same result as obtaining

a ‘courtesy' Signature outside the

section. All that is required are

n

i)

that the “courtesy” is frequently

. i } t} : shysician member." “xe

——_— eee rn ase

13

2)

{Statement page 21} "The writer goes

on to say "(a]ll promotions, bonuses and

other rewards are based almost exclusively

On productivity, with only lip service

being paid to quality. Sections are in

competition with each other for a yearly

bonus, which is paid to the sections with

the highest productivity over the year,

with the largest share going to the Chief

Member. This encourages the Chief Member

of each section to focus on getting the

cases out, so to speak, regardless of

quality or whether a fair result is

reached in the case or not. (The Chief

Member of the section I was in at the time

of my retirement, although a decent person

Overall, did not view favorably my

dissents in favor of the veteran or other

Claimant, which he felt slowed down the

productivity of the section and impaired

his chances for the yearly bonus ... It

is my belief, based on my 20 years'

experience with the BVA, that the agency

is not discharging its duties and

responsibilities toward the veterans of

this nation and their survivors, in the

Spirit which Congress intended and that

judicial review of BVA decisions, and

lifting of the $10 limitation on

attorneys' fees, would greatly benefit

veterans and other claimants for Veterans

Administration benefits. In my judgment,

the Vice Chairman and most board members,

whether law members or medical members,

have an anti-claimant orientation, and

little sympathy for the veterans’ benefits

program, which they view as a huge give-

away. This view colors the decisions they

reach on the cases before them. (Soon

after I became a board member, I was

called in by the Vice-Chairman, as a

result of a dispute I was having with the

Deputy Vice Chairman, in charge of one-

half of the board to which my section was

assigned, and was told by the Vice

Chairman that I was too allowance-prone,

and that it was preferable to deny a case,

when it doubt. than to allow it. as a

denial always had a chance of being

reversed later, whereas an allowance was

final.) . . . Most board members, in my

judgment, pay only lip service to the and

regulations, disregarding those with which

they are not in sympathy in order to reach

the result they favor in the particular

case... . Some of the most anti-veteran,

year. based on their production

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

ANONYMOUS “DEEP THROAT" “TYPE LETTER

RECEIVED BY MR. GORDON F. ERSPAMER

(LEAD NARS ATTORNEY IN NARS Vv.

WALTERS -- CASE NO. C-83-1861-MHP,

N.D. CALIFORNIA). SAID LETTER WAS

SUBMITTED AS "EXHIBIT E"* (SEE HEARING

BOOK PAGES 310 THROUGH 312) IN THE

PREPARED STATEMENT (SEE HEARING BOOK

PAGES 292 THROUGH 326) OF PHILIP 8.

CUSHMAN, PRESIDENT, VETERANS DUE

PROCESS, INC. (VDP), BEFORE A JUNE

25, 1986, HEARING OF THE COMMITTEE ON

VETERANS' AFFAIRS, HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES, NINETY-NINTH

CONGRESS, SECOND SESSION, HEARING

BOOK VOLUME II, SERIAL NO. 99-54

“May 29, 1986

“Gordon Erspamer, J.D.

NARS Advisory Board

78 El Camino Real

Berkley, CA 94705

Dear Mr. Erspamer:

“Your statement before the House

Veterans Affairs Committee on May 20,

1986, was accurate and true. The Veterans

Administration does not Systematically

provide veterans With adequate due

process, especially for those Claims

disallowed for failure to Submit requested

evidence. Instead, those who manage

adjiudicative actions encourage premature

denial of claims without notice in order

tO statistically enhance the data that

measures the timeliness’ of Claims

processing. Managers of adjudication

receive work credit for the volume of

cases produced. If for example, end

Product controls are prematurely cancelled

Or recorded, the same credit can be

received for working one claim four times

as for working four claims. These

managers are then rewarded by both

additional staffing and monetary bonuses

under merit pay.

Your prepared statement includes a

memorandum (Exhibit A) from T.A. Verrill,

Adjudication Officer at the V.A. Regional

Office, San Francisco. Mr. Verrill has

. "= fj

} hi ef

' Ly Les id }

issues claimed and was forced to appear in

court to defend his policy of discouraging

hearings to claimants. Central Office has

chosen to ignore these repeated offenses

exceptional evaluation and a bonus under

merit pay. This award was fully concurred

in and encouraged by officials at Central

Office.

In many instances, this office, as

well as some other offices, including:

Washington Regional Office, St.

Petersburg, Philadelphia, Baltimore,

Los Angeles, and Winston Salem have been

found to repeatedly “administratively"

deny claims without broper processing. In

Many instances. a copy of the develoomentr

letter requesting evidence is never placed

in file, ver the Claimant is disallowed

for not replving fo the request. Often.

the evidence was NOt actually requested.

This type of failure is considered only

Procedural in nature and is not counted as

a substantive error against the station.

On several occassions this was brought to

the attention of the Compensation and

Pension Director. In addition, there have

rh

been instances when several items o

evidence have been requested. If some,

but not all, of the evidence requested is

received, some stations will disallow the

Claim without notice for failure to submit

requested evidence. Confirmation of these

facts can be found by making a Freedom of

Information (FOIA) request to Central

Office to obtain from the Compensation and

Pension Field Operations Section, a

Summary of the quality review and the

specific claim numbers for cases involving

error codes 15, 33, 52a and 54. These are

maintained in the station quality review

fite as well as the station general

operating file. The information regarding

type of errors is also maintained on a

personal computer by the Systematic

Quality Control (SQC) section of Field

Operations.

} at Lai

; } ali

process more that {sic} two cases per

hour. The number is left up to the

management of each regional office.

In order to operate with reduced

a a ia |

employ full time doctors for the rating

board, Instead a part-time doctor is

borrowed from a local medical center one

CO two times a week to sian his pame to

| | idee

spend one minute or less on each decision.

This information can be confirmed by

requesting the performance standards for

regional office employees to include

Claims Examiners, GS-9-11l and Rating

Specialists GS-12. Information regarding

regional office staffing in the

adjudication division can be obtained from

the Compensation and Pension Service at VA

Central Office."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

C-22

"DEEP THROAT" LETTER #2, RECEIVED BY

MR. GORDON ERSPAMER, LEAD ATTORNEY IN

NARS V. TURNAGE (CASE# C-83-1861-

MHP), CONCERNING INTERROGATORIES SENT

TO THE VETERANS ADMINISTRATION

PURSUANT TO SAID ACTION. {NOTE: THIS

LETTER PROVIDED BASIS FOR COURT

INVESTIGATION RE DESTRUCTION OF DUE

PROCESS DOCUMENTS REQUIRED UNDER

COURT ORDER. SAID INVESTIGATION

RESULTED IN FINES TO THE VA OF

$120,000., REQUIRED COURT APPOINTMENT

OF A SPECIAL MASTER TO ENSURE

COMPLIANCE WITE ‘FUTURE COURT ORDERS}

"July 11, 1986

“Gordon Erspamer, J.D.

NARS Advisory Board

78 El Camino Real

Berkeley, CA 94705

Dear Mr. Erspamer:

“Your interrogatories recently sent

to the Veterans Administration have been

received. You are heading in the right

direction. However, there is a conspiracy

by the supervisors of the Field Qnperations

Staff in the Compensation and Pension

Service to deny vou the information

requested. If you do not Specifically

Mame the correct form or record, they

intend to indicate they have no record.

You should ask for Specific error

exceptions called. These are held for 2

years and are contained on form 20-6567a-

rp A copy of the form along with a

sample is enclosed. You should ask for

any and all exception sheets that contain

errors under the specific error codes your

interrogarory {sic} requested. The soc

history file contains these exception

Sheets for all stations. The sheets

contain the name of the office, the name

of the veteran and the claim number of the

veteran. There is also a series of

letters written to stations which document

specific errors in due process and case

control. You may wish to ask for all

error sheets and letters concerning due

process and case (claims) control for as

far back as these errors have been kept.

the Adjudication Officers. Included in

the purge was information received from

San Francisco Regional Office employees

about T.A. Verrill, Adjudication Officer

of that office. The staff consultants of

the Field Operations Staff purged the

files. However, you may ask for station

visit reports and station history files.

The periodic station analysis are held in

the official station history files for 2

years and held indefinitely in the

unofficial brown history file. You should

request both station visit reports and

staff analyses for 8 Stations since

January 1982 to present. These records

along with SQC records are also maintained

at each regional office.

It should be also noted that a legal

bapers on due process problems found at

field stations that have been given to the

Director of Compensation and Pension

Serivce {sic}, Gerald P. Moore. These

should be requested. In addition, Ronald

Abrams wrote a memorandum to Gerald Moore

and Central Office failure to take the

destroyed by Michael Dunlap, the

Supervisor of the Field Operations Staff

without being forwarded to the Director of

the Service. Mr. Moore did indicate to a

consultant, Mr. John Smith, who is now the

Adjudication officer at the Hartford, CT

Regional Office, that on the staff visit

to Washington Regional Office, no due

You may wish to request the

performance standards for each

Adjudication Officer. You will note that

there is no uniformity in the performance

Standards. This means that each office

has its own quality standard. The

Adjudication Officer is not responsible to

any central authority, but to his own

Station director."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

WASHINGTON POST NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

CONCERNING VA HARASSMENT OF "DEEP

THROAT", WRITTEN BY STAPF WRITER

BILL MCALLISTER, DATED APRIL 24, 1990

“Harassment Claim at VA Supported

“An internal Department of vererans

Affairs- investigation has supported

allegations that a vA Supervisor harassed

a_worker who had warned a federal judge

that department officials were destroying

records in a highly sensitive lawsuit.

The finding by one of the

department's Equal Employment Opportunity

investigators is of the type that VA

officials have Said could trigger

additional sanctions, such as contempt of

court proceedings, for the department from

U.S. District Judge Marilyn Hall Patel of

San Francisco.

28

2)

‘

; } ud } ed

$120,000 fine for the wholesale

; . oa 3

lawsuit over the treatment of veterans

exposed to radiation during atomic bomb

tests. In addition, she warned VA

officials not to harass any workers who

had cooperated with the investigation of

the records destruction. VA officials

have told supervisors that “any adverse

employment action" taken against a

cooperating worker could subject the

supervisor to contempt proceedings.

The fine and warning from Patel

followed testimony by Barry S. Boskovich,

a staff consultant in the VA's central

office, who said that records in the case

29

2)

‘

Boskovich has testified that his

actions made him unpopular at the VA, and

last September he complained to Equal

Employment Opportunity officials there

that his annual evaluation had been

lowered by a supervisor in retaliation for

his actions in the lawsuit.

ee nie Bas

oF | |

sa | |

service that Boskovich “established a

brima facie case of discrimination."

Robinson said it was likely that Ted

Spindle, Boskovich's Supervisor, had

discriminated against Boskovich because of

his testimony in the records case. He

recommended a finding in favor of

Boskovich.

Spindle denied retaliating against

Boskovich, but he did tell the

investigator that he kept a separate file

on Boskovich's work and that he believed

Boskovich “was neglecting his duties as a

result of his obsession" with the San

Francisco case. Spindle declined to

comment.

After receiving Robinson's report,

VA officials ordered a second

investigation. That report was completed

last month, but it was inconclusive and

basically told VA officials they would

have to resolve the dispute.

Veterans Affairs Secretary Edward J.

Derwinski described the Boskovich

allegations as “a sgerious matter" in a

letter to Congress earlier this year and

promised he would investigate. H1s action

came after the chairmen of the House and

Senate veterans affairs committees and the

House panel's ranking Democrat declared

they “would be dismayed" if Boskovich

was being harassed. The members of

Pree i i i i tea

Congress noted that Don L. Ivers, the VA's

general counsel, had assured them rhere

would be no retaliation against workers

who testified about the destruction of

records.

Don Smith, a VA spokesman, said

yesterday it will be up to officials in

Boskovich's section to attempt to resolve

the matter. If Boskovich is unnappy with

their offers, he can appeal the matter

directly to Derwinski or to the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission for a

hearing by an administrative law judge,

smith said.

As far aS VA officials know, the

matter has not been communicated to Judge

Patel, the spokesman said.

The judge has yet to rule in the

long-pending lawsuit involving veterans

who were exposed to radiation during the

tests." {BMPHASIS ADDED}

VETERANS ADMINISTRATION INTERNAL

MEMORANDOM, WRITTEN BY RONALD B.

ABRAMS, VA LEGAL CONSULTANT,

CONCERNING DOCUMENTATION OF "DUE

PROCESS" PROBLEMS, AND THE NARS V.

WALTERS LAWSUIT (CASE # C-83-1861-

MHP,

"VA

Date:

From:

Subj:

To:

PENDING, N.D. CALIFORNIA)

VETERANS

ADMINISTRATION

9/25/86

Ronald B. Abrams, Legal Consultant

Documentation of Due Process/NARS

v.Walters/Analysis/Suggested Actions

Director, Compensation and Pension

Service (21)

THRU: Assistant Director Adjudication

Procedures

THRU: Chief, Project Staff

***** {NUMBERED PARAGRAPHS 1-13 OMITTED}

"14. Mr. Erspamer will try to prove that

Our adjudication process Systematically

denies procedural due process. He will

argue that our system is unfair and

counteractive. He will contend that our

Management evaluation system emphasizes

productivity and timeliness to such an

extent that our managers are encouraged to

violate the due process rights of our

claimants.

15. Mr. Erspamer can show that it is in

their people do. as quickly as they can.

aS_many cases as possible. He can also

Show that adjudication duties dealing with

such as: control of claims, supervisory

review of old claims, thorough

development, recognition of all issues,

providing adequate notice, documenting

that notice was given, and careful quality

review, tend to adversely affect gross

ee . pinot: sai Rint

16. Because centrai office does not

require its regional offices to validate

their local quality review, Mr. Erspamer

will contend that it is in the best

interest of some of our managers to deny

or ignore the due process rights of their

Claimants. He will argue that because due

process procedures increase the time it

takes to adjudicate a claim, thereby

Slowing production, it is not in the best

financial interest of our managers to

follow our regulations and directives

dealing with due process.

17. Mr. Erspamer can Show that a Managers'

| aad — |

bart on the adjudication division's

productivity. He will state that our

System encourages some adjudication

Managers tO report incorrect quality

levels because they know that their

failure to do this part of their job will

not be held against them. if Mr. Erspamer

can show that our System pits the

financial interest of adiudication

ffi . e } f . j b]

Creatment of our claimants. he would be

well on his way to proving the vA does

have an unfair. adversarial claims

eee

18. Mr, Erspamer has obtained reports

so that credit for completed work could be

taken ‘(Baltimore). He has survey trip

reports and white papers documenting that

certain stations: ignored claims

(Phoenix), established and cancelled

controls improperly (Baltimore, Hartford,

San Francisco, WRO), discouraged complete

development (Baltimore), ignored or didn't

,

(many regional offices).

processing system and violated the rights

of our claimants, JI Strongly suggest you,

as Director of our Service. take

appropriate administrative action against

Supervisors who. for whatever reason.

) | | |

Gross violation of the constitutional

***** {NUMBERED PARAGRAPHS 20 AND 2]

OMITTED} 22. We cannot defend the actions

taken by some regional Office and central

office supervisors and win this case. Mr.

Erspamer will present evidence tending to

show the adjudication process is

unreasonable and unfair. If we down play

in Court, violations Of VA rules py VA

Supervisors regarding the fairness of

adjudication claims processing, the

ee

case. (See Plato v. Roudebush 397F.Supp.

1295, (1975).) If the Court finds that

Lai Fai

24. The best approach would be to describe

- . .

aberrations. Explain that we in Central

Office, under your direction, have been

investigating these matters for a period

of time. Although proving these

improprieties was difficult and time

consuming, we now have enough evidence to

re

act. (See paragraph 18 Supra.) Argue that

Our internal actions show the jnherentr

Systemic fairness of the VA adjudication

process.

***** {NUMBERED PARAGRAPH 25 OMITTED} "26.

This memorandum is confidential. Because

of its sensitive Nature, I request that

you not show this to anyone. I

especially request that this memorandum

not be seen by anyone in Section 214."

RONALD B. ABRAMS"

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

LETTER BY GAIL A. GOMPF, DIRECTOR, VA

INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS, TO

NATIONAL VETERANS ORGANIZATIONS,

ETC., DATED JUNE 5, 1986. LETTER

APPEARS IN SENATE COMMITTEE ON

VETERANS' AFFAIRS HEARING BOOK #100-

938 CONCERNING S.1ll: JUDICIAL REVIEW

LEGISLATION, DATED APRIL 28, 1988,

PAGES 477 THROUGH 487. SUBMITTED INTO

SAID HEARING RECORD AS EXHIBIT "G",

BY PHILIP BE. CUSHMAN, NATIONAL

PRESIDENT, VETERANS DUE PROCESS, INC.

“Office of Congressional

and Intergovernmental

Affairs

Washington DC 20420

Veterans

Administration

June 5, 1986

Mr. Jon A. Mangis

Director

Department of Veterans Affairs

General Services Building

700 Summer Street, NE

Suite 150

Salem, Oregon 97310-1270

Dear Mr. Mangis:

“In accordance with our desire to maintain

close cooperation and liaison with state

offices and private agencies serving our

nation's veteran community, I am enclosing

copies of topical discussion papers

recently released pv the Veterans

Administration which I think will be of

immediate interest to you.

“Each of these papers address important

issues concerning the continued delivery

of VA health care, benefits and other

services to veterans in the future. The

immediate items of discussion and interest

are:

ere ee {ITEM #1 OMITTED} "2. Judicial

teeee {remainder of text of letter

omitted}

“Sincerely,

GAIL A. GOMPF

Director

Intergovernmental Affairs"

{EXCERPT FROM PAGE 5 OF:} “OVERVIEW OF

VA'S POSITION ON JUDICIAL REVIEW

Currently extended to veterans service

Organizations may have to be curtailed,

The providing of VA space and facilities

{pursuant to 38 U.S.C. 3402}, informal

access to adjiudicatory personnel,

etc., could be affected by judicial

oversight and increased representation by

brivate attorneys." ***** {BALANCE OF

"OVERVIEW" OMITTED}

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

LETTER DATED MAY 10, 1988, FROM JAMES

N. MAGILL, DIRECTOR, NATIONAL

LEGISLATIVE SERVICE, VETERANS OF

FOREIGN WARS OF THE UNITED STATES, TO

SENATOR ALAN CRANSTON, CHAIRMAN,

COMMITTEE ON VETERANS ' AFFAIRS,

UNITED STATES SENATE, WHEREIN MR.

MAGILL RESPONDED TO WRITTEN COMMITTEE

QUESTIONS. LETTER APPEARS ON PAGE

682-683, OF SENATE HEARING BOOK 100-

938, DATED APRIL 28, 1988, CONCERNING

8.11: JUDICIAL REVIEW LEGISLATION

{VA}

“VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS OF THE UNITED

STATES

OFFICE OF THE DIRECTOR

MAY 10, 1988

The Honorable Alan Cranston

Chairman

Committee on Veterans' Affairs

United States Senate

Washington, DC 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

Please find enclosed the Veterans of

Foreign Wars response to questions

submitted by you with respect to testimony

given during the recent Senate vVeterans'

Affairs Committee hearing on April 28,

1988.

With best wishes and kind regards, I

Sincerely yours,

JAMES N. MAGILL, Director

National Legislative Service

“QUESTION 1. A. De you have any concern

ig enacted, your organization will

C-46

“RESPONSE 1. A. Yeg. AS you know, Title 38

of the United States Code provides that

the Administrator of the Veterans

Administration may, at his descretion

{sic} and, should space be available,

provide office and telephone services to

the major veteran organizations in

conjuction {sic} with the adjudication of

VA claims. We, of course, would prefer

Congress to mandate this space because of

the invaluable service rendered by the

major veterans service organizations.*****

{***** REMAINDER OF QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

OMITTED }

TESTIMONY OF DR. ALCIDE D. PELLERIN,

SALEM, VA., BEFORE THE UNITED STATES

SENATE, COMMITTEE ON VETERANS'

AFFAIRS, NINETY-FIFTH CONGRESS,

CONCERNING SENATE BILL 364: VA

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE AND JUDICIAL

REVIEW ACT, ON SEPTEMBER aa, <d&8977,

PAGE 454. ALSO APPEARING IN’ SAID

HEARING BOOK AT PAGE 468, IS DR.

PELLERIN'S "OUTSTANDING {VA}

PERFORMANCE RATING AND SUSTAINED

SUPERIOR PERFORMANCE AWARD® {OMITTED}

"Tae 5 Pellerin. Mr. Chairman,

honorable members of the committee. Thank

you for giving me the Opportunity to

testify in this worthy cause. Please bear

with me if I appear Stage frightened,

because I am. This is understandable in

view of the fact that I have been walting

31 year for this moment. -

I am Alcide D. Pellerin, doctor of

medicine, Boston University of Medicine,

class of 1939. The pertinent aspect of my

curriculum vitae consists in YA employ as

\ het chee —

' re

reversed in every instance. There must be

more to it than mere coincidence.

Since time does not permit

presenting an expose of all that is wrong

with the VA, which would require several

hours if not several days, I shall limit

myself to presenting one outstanding case

i i a eer

of injustice and abuse of power on the

part of the BVA.

The case is that of Frank X, who in

1948 sustained a crushing injury to his

lower extremities necessitating

amputation. The surgical intern reported

that the amputation was at the junction of

the middle and upper third of the femur.

The VA promptly rated the disability

320 percent, some 20-o0dq years later an x-

ray of the hip showed the amputation to

have been 3 jnches below the hip, which

rated a 60-percent disability.

The VA gave him his due 60-percent

disability from the date of the x-ray.

Frank appealed, claiming 60 percent from

the date of discharge, The Board of

Yeterans' Appeals upheld the denial. He

asked for reconsideration. and a panel of

Frank again was able to get a second

a ! . L of

three sections of which one was nv

section.

During deliberations the BVA

contended that it was not guilty of an

error in the assignment of 30 percent

after discharge, and therefore the veteran

was not entitled to 4 retroactive 60

percent. i_argued that Frank was not

penalized for an error by the va

} es

I further argued that the issue was

not one of guilt and that guilt should not

be a basis for adjudication. i pointed

Out that the statutes do not say that only

when the BVA is guilty of making an

Laci a3 } } z ai

made retroactive, but they state thar any

time a decision is clearlv and

51

2)

unmistakably erroneous. retroactive

cases. Frank. wherever vou are, please

forgive me for having taken part in

robbing you of $40,000 of §50.000 in due

benefits.

Two wrong things stand out like sore

thumbs in this case. One, the arbitrary

and capricious interpretation of the law;

two the abuse of power by the

Chairman of the BVA in dictating and

imposing his will on the board

members.

Since the BVA is the last word, the

veteran has to grin and bear, and regret .

During the next few minutes I would

like to give you examples of some of the

dirty tricks used by some VA personnel to

achieve the VA objective of denying

claims. One 1s a case, a diagnosis of

"athlete's foot" was made during an

official exam. That was not to the liking

of the reviewing chief who, I assume,

wanted to serve his master well and at the

Same time feather his bed.

So} 13 = r

foot not found." The denial of the claim

was sustained by the BVA. This, I can

assure you, would never be allowed to

happen ina court of law.

Two, in getting an independent

medical expert opinion, the BVA typically

utilizes a medical school staff member who

is also on the staff of the VA hospital

associated with the medical school, who is

On some sort of a salary by the VA, and

who according to my research had been a

regular VA employee for several years at

some time or other in the past.

This "setup" inevitably

constitutes conflict of imterest, vet the

medical expert's word is On "38 par” with

the divine word of God. In contrast.

) , <a

a board certified specialist, savy from

some institution like the Mavo Or Lahey

Clinic, the Arthritis Foundation or the

Georgetown Medical Center, that opinion

Only serves to reonen his case, and is

considered trash by the va.

Not only does a court of law

conflict of interest, it encourages

Challenging and questioning of

expertise of an expert, which is

lifeblood of the legal system. One last

case: When the so-called va lodependent

medical expert was confronted with a4

finding, in the service medical record.

Based on that medical expert's

Opinion, the BVA issued a denial; again in

a court of law the BVA decision would

surely be reversed.

: the } : b)

€ lied heckea 3 b]

oe ; tf]

dictatorial power of the BVA. This runs

counter to our great American ideal of

democracy, which abhors and denounces

dictatorship, and to the Constitution,

which guarantees justice in a court of law

for every citizen.

Please, gentlemen, I beg you, make

it possible for the veteran to get

justice, and the only possible way to

accomplish this is not in the YA. kangaroo

courts but in the Federal courts, which

should be open to the veteran, as to the

nonveteran.

It is my understanding that even

aliens now have access to the courts, If

the veteran is not more deserving then he

is at least as deserving as the nonveteran

citizen or the noncitizen.

Senate bill 364 would take the VA

out of its lofty ivory tower and bring it

down into the realm of justice and fair

play for the veteran.

I wish to thank you gentiemen for

your patience and attention and hopefully

for your understanding of the plight of

the veteran.

Chairman Cranston. Thank you very

much, Doctor."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

EXCERPT FROM CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET

OFFICE ‘CBO) "cost ESTIMATES",

PROJECTING THE COSTS FROM ENACTMENT

OF SENATE BILL 349: "VETERANS '

ADMINISTRATION ADJUDICATION PROCEDURE

AND JUDICIAL REVIEW ACT®. SAID

ESTIMATES APPROVED BY JAMES L. BLUM,

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR FOR CBO BUDGET

ANALYSIS DIVISION, APPEAR IN SENATE

REPORT NO. 97-467, DATED JUNE 8,

1982, AT PAGES 56 THROUGH 61.

**x***{DAGE 60} "It was assumed, based on a

BVA estimate, that the rate at which cases

57

N

*****{PAGE 61 OF REPORT} "The VA estimate

of the increase in the workload of the

General Counsel's office assumes a denial

rat® in BVA decisions of 72 percent. BVA

asserts, however, that the current denial

The lower denial rate will result in a

lower number of appeals and, therefore, a

smaller increase in the workload of the

General Counsel's staff."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

HANDWRITTEN LETTER BY T.A. VERRILL,

ADJUDICATION OFFICER, SAN FRANCiSCO

VA REGIONAL OFFICE.

"Section Chiefs

"Although VAR) 1103 permits a

hearing anytime on any issue, we do

not have the resources to operate in

this way. Hearings should follow the

Statement of the case. Hearings are not

to be scheduled betore the SOU in all but

the most unusual cases. We can always

explain why a hearing is mot

appropriate at a particular stage i1n

processing. Ln cases previously

disallowed, the hearing process must Ds

discouraged as a means of presenting New

and material evidence. Personal history

can be presented on VAF 21-4158 Or

affidavits. ecitation of facts already

of record or new facts not tying the 1ssue

ce, e.g. a description of present

'

symptoms, will not heip tne case. I know

YOU Are aware of these points. but

the appellant isn't.

To effect this change in policy,

employees will obtain the initial of a

Section Chief on all requests to 21 to

schedule a hearing.

T.A. Verrill

ADJ. OFF."

{Emphasis added}

60

Qa

PORTION OF "REPORT" NO. 100-418 OF

THE COMMITTEE ON VETERANS’ AFFAIRS,

UNITED STATES SENATE, DATED JULY 7,

1988, CONCERNING S.ii: VETERANS '

ADMINISTRATION ADJUDICATION PROCEDURE

AND JUDICIAL REVIEW ACT. PORTION

QUOTED APPEARS AT PAGE 45 OF REPORT.

"5S. HEARINGS BEFORE TRAVEL BOARD

SECTIONS*

"AS discussed earlier under the

heading "Shady Methods to Speed Claims

Resolution," one of the drawbacks to the

BVA being situated in one location -- in

Washington, D.C.--is the lack of ability

on the part of many veterans to attend

personal hearings before the Board. This

1s particularly the case because of the

Peer me” pk

personal appearances before the Board in

Washington (19.5% in FY 87) and after

appearances before 4 traveling section

{30.6% in FY 87). Ina general effort to

permit an Opportunity for more

personalized appearances to those who are

unable to travel to Washington, D.C., the

BVA utilizes two alternative methods.

Under the first, the BVA authorizes VA

Regional Office adjudication personnel to

act aS agents for the BVA and, in that

Capacity, to conduct appellate hearings at

Regional offices. The transcripts of

these hearings are then sent to the BVA

for a decision by a Board panel. Although

this does not provide an Opportunity fora

hearing, the Committee is concerned that

it is clearly an inadequate substitute for

having the decisionmakers see and hear the

Claimant and other witnesses. In response

CO questions from the Chairman, the BVA

Chairman testified at the June 16 hearing

that there is no method for transmitting

to the BVA any information about the

hearing personnel's assessments of the

credibility of the claimant or other

witnesses.

The second alternative involves a

BVA Section traveling to various Regional

Offices and holding personal hearings for

a certain number of days. Rue to the

er ;

1 ims a ;

available. In FY 1987, 739 such hearings

were held. At the Committee's hearing,

Limi } 3 Li

. , lig

; i. ve ' bj

eptrion. Specifically, Mr. Eaton noted,

In this regard, the Committee notes that

the forn filled out by claimants to

request: an appeal to the BVA (Form 1-39)

presents only two options to the claimant:

One for a field hearing before Regional

office personnel, as discussed above, and

one for a hearing in Washington, D.C.

There is no option presented for selecting

a._=thearing before 4a traveling Board

section, According to Mr. Eaton the

Giving veterans' service Organizations a

certain number of hearings. and allowing

the service officers to designate who

receives a hearing. When asked at the

Committee's hearing why the veterans

service organizations find it desirable to

have hearings before the traveling Board

Sections, Mr. Eaton replied:

"It is always better in any case to

have a personal hearing before the

people who are deciding. There are

exceptions to that; but generally, if

you have a good case and you have a

witness who is at all credible, you are

better off facing those Board members

and telling them all about it. Those

are the facts of life.

Not only are travel board

allowances higher, but personal

hearings in Washington are higher -

- not as high as travel board -- but

there is not as much selection in the

Washington office as in the travel

boards. But they do pick and choose.

They are only allowed a few cases on

the travel board for- each service

organization. They can only have so

many because there is only so much

“time available for the travel board to

65

2)

‘

hear those cases. So, they pick the

best cases."

"When asked if there is a quota,

Mr. Eaton replied, "In effect, It has to

The Committee believes strongly that

7 —_ ett : } bef

traveling Board sections is contrary to

the accepted notions of evenhandness.

fairness, and justice in that every

individual should have an equal

eprportunity to obtain the most

beneficial process. Accordingly, the

Committee bill contains a number of

changes to the current scheme regarding

notice about allocation of traveling Board

hearings.***** {LAST PARAGRAPH OMITTED }

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

"LETTER TO THE EDITOR" OF THE

WASHINGTON POST, DATED JULY 1, 1986,

WRITTEN BY 4 MEMBERS OF CONGRESS,

REVEALING THAT VETERANS ARE DENIED

EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAW, BY NOT

BEING ALLOWED TO SUE THE VA, BUT THE

VA Is SUING LARGE NUMBERS OF

VETERANS. LETTER ALSO REVEALED THE VA

BLACKMAIL OF THE VETERANS

ORGANIZATIONS WHICH PROVIDE PREE

REPRESENTATION TO VETERANS CONCERNING

THEIR CLAIMS AGAINST THE VA, BY

THREATENED SAID ORGANIZATIONS THAT

THEIR "FREE OFFICE SPACE

TELEPHONE SERVICE. . 7 > / wes 4

BENEFITS, PROVIDED TO THEM NATIONALLY

"CONGRESS OF THE UNITED STATES

House of Representatives

Washington, DC 20515

July 1, 1986

Letter to the Editor

The Washington Post

1150 15th Street, NW

Washington, DC 20071

Dear Editor:

“Some opponents have taken issue

with your support of H.R. 585, a bill to

authorize court review of VA decisions and

to allow veterans the right to counsel of

their choice. As sponsors of the bill,

permit us to address just a couple of

points.

It is laudable that "as a matter of

principle, the VA doesn't view itself as a

Prospective litigant with the veteran."

Unfortunately, that statement doesn't

Square with reality. In _ the past four

years alone, the VA has filed suit

against more than 140.000 veterans,

for alleged benefit overpayments that

average $570.

of law, regulation, or fact made by the

VA.

Further, the VA's commitment to an

“informal and cooperative system" must be

called into question when the YA tells

: €

‘udicial lecislat) 61] ;

im the loss of the free office space,

furniture. _and telephone service

presently provided to these groups in VA

regional offices." {*****Balance of

letter omitted}

Sincerely,

DON EDWARDS

Ranking Majority Member

Veterans Affairs Committee

LANE EVANS

Chair, Vietnam-Era Veterans in Congress

THOMAS A. DASCHLE, Chairman

Subcommittee on Education, Training,

and Employment, Veterans Affairs

Committee

BOB EDGAR, Chairman

Subcommittee on Hospitals and Health

Care, Veterans Affairs Committee"

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

STATEMENT OF KENNETH T. BLAYLOCK,

NATIONAL PRESIDENT, AMERICAN

PEDERATION OF GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES,

AT A HEARING BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE

ON SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS OF THE

COMMITTEE ON VETERANS ' AFFAIRS,

UNITED STATES HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES, NINETY-SIXTH

CONGRESS, SECOND SESSION, CONCERNING

JUDICIAL REVIEW OF VETERANS CLAIMS,

NOVEMBER 19, 1979. PAGE 330 OF

HEARING BOOK. -

“The American Federation of

Government Employees, AFL-CIO, is pleased

to have the opportunity to submit its

views concerning legislation (H.R. 6181)

providing, among other things, judicial

review of certain final decisions of the

Administrator of Veterans Affairs. AFGE

represents over 700,000 personnel

throughout the federal government.

personnel, including personnel in the

Board of Veterans Appeals in the VA

central office in Washington, D.C.

Yet we must also observe that among

Qur membership considerable

Gissatisfaction exists concerning the

lack of access to the courts on the part

of veterans who wish to appeal final

determinations concerning benefit and

disability decisions made by the Veterans

Administration. In effect, under current

law, veterans have been relegated to

who are denied the same rights of judicial

review available to most other

72

2)

beneficiaries of federal entitlement

programs.

In this regard, we note that @

demonstrated need exists for the

Veterans Administration to be subject

to judicial accountability. We have

seen figures which clearly indicate that

the veteran making an appeal to the Bureau

of Veterans Affairs (BVA) is wunder a

serious disadvantage. Whereas appeals

to the Social Security Administration

are decided in favor of the claimant in

two out of three cases, actual results

support or favor the veterans claim in the

BVA in only gone out of ten cases.

AFGE recognizes that exact

comparisons between these very different

programs are difficult to make, but it

appears to us as though large numbers

of veterans have not received the

benefit of reasonable doubt on any

consistent basis. The informality of

the Veterans Administrations appeals

procedure, combined with the absence of

precedence in the disposition of cases,

leaves ._-wide discretion for

inconsistent mand uncontrolled

decision making by the regional

offices. In the absence of court review,

there is no effective institutional

check on arbitrary or impermissible

action.

We do not mean to imply, however,

that the dedicated career personnel in the

Veterans Administration who are involved

in the review process are not faithfully

executing their duty to veterans and to

the public. In fact, considering the

budget squeeze on the agency over the past

few years such personnel have done much to

uphold the integrity of the review

Process. The Office of Management and

pressure against government agencies

to control outlaya, and such pressure

can easily translate into tougher

guidelines and policies concerning various

entitlement and spending programs,

particularly when such policies are

not subject to any outaide review.

The Veterans Administration, for example,

has made several contracting-out decisions

in recent years which we believe cannot be

justified on grounds of cost-effectiveness

Or government efficiency and which have

harmed the delivery of services to

patients in the hospital system. In such

instances, considerations of false economy

have been placed above the needs of

federal workers, taxpayers and the public.

Finally, we would also like to point

out that in view of the numerous

outstanding problems faced by today's

veterans, particularly by those who fought

in Southeast Asia, it is imperative they

feel they have received the benefit of

full due process from the federal

government. There has been much recent

public concern about the plight of the

“forgotten veterans." We believe that

passage of legislation providing judicial

review in the claims process will show

Congress still cares."

{Emphasis added}

LETTER FROM NORMAN J. JOHNSON TO HON.

ALAN CRANSTON, CHAIRMAN, COMMITTEE ON

VETERANS' AFFAIRS, UNITED STATES

SENATE, DATED OCTOBER 11, 1977, AS

SAID LETTER APPEARS ON PAGE 786 IN

SENATE HEARING BOOK CONCERNING

SENATE BILL 364: “VA ADMINISTRATIVE

PROCEDURE AND JUDICIAL REVIEW ACT",

NINETY-FIFTH CONGRESS, FIRST SESSION.

“STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT ON AGING

90 WASHINGTON ST.

HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT 06115

Tel. 566-7725

WILLIAM R. RATCHFORD

Commissioner

October 11, 1977

“Honorable Alan Cranston, Chairman

United States Senate

Committee on Veterans' Affairs

Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Cranston:

"I was scheduled to testify on S.

364 last month but I could not make the

personal arrangements necessary to do so.

Similarly, I have not found the time to

prepare elaborate written testimony. I

do, however, have insights into the

workings of the Board of Veterans’ Appeals

which I want to share with you and the

members of the Committee.

I was a “staff legal advisor" to the

Board of Veterans' Appeals for nine months

am i971°72. The “staff legal advisors"

are the attorneys who actually write the

Board's decisions, subject to review and

ultimate approval of an appellate panel of

two lawyers and one physician. r had

previously practiced law for two years and

the first thing I had to learn ar the

B.V.A. was to Shelve my notions of

professional objectivity and Rrocedural

due process.

given week, The fact of this quota system

was always denied by the panel members and

the front office; it was a well known

fact to the staff attorneys. Each week a

tally was circulated to all personnel

showing the number of decisions produced

by each attorney and the total for each of

the dozen or more sections of the Board.

There was clearly a competitiveness

between sections and among the attorneys

in any given section. One was expected to

produce a minimum of six decisions a week

and I was once cautioned by a panel member

not to exceed one dozen per week so as not

to drive up management expectations. I

cannot believe that justice is accorded

its due when the decision process 1S

managed in such a way.

oat Ll] Laci ted

3 Li

section and originating in the isolated

perspective of the panel chairman. (For

example, my section would allow service

connected Status for the ear condition of

tinnitus if it accompanied another ear

disorder for which service connection was

Or could be established. Another

appellate panel usually denied tinnitus

claims when a veteran already had service

connected status for an ear disorder. My

panel's reasoning was that since tinnitus

is a subjective condition, the existence

of other ear disorders was the best

oeidanion of it; otherwise tinnitus could

not be established to exist. The other

panel's reasoning, as explained to me, was

that if a veteran was “service connected"

for one ear condition he was already

getting his due.)

attorneys indicated that our respective

panels interpreted statutes, regulations

and precedent in haphazard patterns and

unwritten formulas ta the cases at hand.

The fact that decisions were written by

lawyers seemed more a function of

bolstering the legitimacy of the process

rather than one of actually conducting

professional inquiries into the facts and

applicable law of the cases.

Because cases were decided on

contemplated by the laws and regulations,

probably illegal. To be specific, in my

section there was a practice of absolutely

denying claims for service connections

where the service departments could not

produce any medical records. This was not

apn infrequent Dbroblem. and surely manv

valid claims were refused on these

grounds. To cover the situation and the

embarrassment of the loss of the records.

| oe 2 |

effect: “Service medical records do not

indicate treatment for the claimed

injury." Such evasion was common in cases

where there were no records.

Another disturbing aspect of the

appeals process and its freedom from

Outside review was the tendency to review

a veteran's service records for

indications of worthiness. A number of

proffered decisions were reversed by the

section because the facts were not

Overwhelming and the veterans'. records

showed infractions of military discipline,

even minor ones. Again, the biases and

lodividual standards of banel members

although the statutes mandate a liberal

interpretation. In one particular case I

took an advocate's position because I was

convinced of the merits of the veteran's

disability claim. I urged consideration

of the fact that the Social Security

Administration had made a determination of

disability. Qne of the section members

the treasury." (My own previous

experiences with Social Security

Gisability claims had led me to the

opposite conclusion. )

These experiences and criticisms may

seem minor but I believe they illustrate

the dangers of the present closed review

scheme of veterans' claims. Yeterans

‘ 1 faj =

ls opened to the review of an lodependent

I want to leave you with one final

example of B.V.A. attitudes: I once

drafted and dictated an appeals decision

granting service connection status for a

black, Korean action veteran. The

el-ments of the case were clear - His

lnduction physical examination report

lndicated normal feet. The separation

physical indicated "pes planus" or flat

feet, not an unusual development over the

course of Army service and one that can be

epee error ie a tae

that are made of it. The facts and the

law were clear, but the decision was

the claim.

characteristic!" I now wonder how many

decisions were written or decided by that

man in his thirty-odd years with the Board

of Veterans' Appeals?"

Sincerely yours,

Norman J. Johnson"

{Emphasis added}

c-ss$

STATEMENT OF DONALD H. SCHWAB,

DIRECTOR, NATIONAL LEGISLATIVE

SERVICE, VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS,

AS A WITNESS AT A HEARING ON NOVEMBER

19, 1980, BEFORE THE SUBCOMMITTEE ON

SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS, OF THE

COMMITTEE ON VETERANS' AFFAIRS, U.S.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, NINETY -

SIXTH CONGRESS, SECOND SESSION,

CONCERNING JUDICIAL REVIEW OF

VETERANS' CLAIMS

"I will summarize a portion of my

statement with the understanding it will

be published in the record in full.

As this committee is aware, for more

than 30 years the VFW has agonized with

the judicial review problem. For a number

of years we opposed judicial review by

resolution, not always with unanimity but

always by majority vote.

At our 80th national convention held

in Dallas, Tex., im August 1979, our

position changed in that the voting

delegates rejected a resolution opposing

judicial review and accepted a resolution

after much debate and rewrite of the

resolution to support judicial review.

In the legislation to provide

judicial review of veterans'

administrative claims decisions pertaining

to matters of law and regulation, insofar

as the merits of the claim are concerned,

and review of the facts that are alleged

to be arbitrary and/or capricious.

Identical language is contained in our now

current Resolution 680 passed by the

voting delegates to our 8lst national

convention held in Chicago this past

August.

You may wonder, Mr. Chairman, and

rightly so after so many years, the

Veterans of Foreign Wars changed its

position with respect to judicial review,

and the following reasons are offered:

1. There are those who believe a

system which permits welfare or

Supplemental security income recipients to

seek court relief but denies the same

forum to veterans is flawed.

2. Many Vietnam veterans are aware

that the Veterans’ Administration, in

concert with the President's Office of

Management and Budget, attempted in 1973

to rewrite the rating schedule to their

advantage, believe the VA has been

insensitive to their needs and are

disenchanted believing that thev have nor

received timely. full. fair. and impartial

a | ci i

Claims of older veterans are often

viewed with a jaundiced eye simply because

they deferred filing. In the absence of

c-88

substantiating service medical records

Led b]

r ~~ :

made from remote memory.

3. One of the most frequentiy heard

complaints by our national officers in

their travels is the complete frustration

of those whose claims have been denied and

due to the finality statute of 38 U.S.C.

2l1l(a) are foreclosed from redress through

court action.

4. Many service officers are

bat tl ; ee

35.000 cases, The average allowances have

been 12.8 bercent of cases considered.

In the last 4 fiscal years, the variance

has been only two-tenths Of 1 percent in

that allowances in 1976, 1977. ang 1979

were p> Pe percent and in 1978. 12.5

percent. in 1980, 124 percent.

Restrictive language first surfaced

some 93 years ago with passage of the

Tucker Act in 1887 now encoded as 28

¥.8.c. 1346(d). Note 536 of the

annotation to this citation Clearly

reflects Congress' intention to prevent

court review of pension claims.

Coupled with the foregoing and

lending credence to administrative

finality has been the historically held

position of Congress and che courts that

veterans' benefits are gratuities and not

a right. President Eisenhower appointed

the Bradley Commission under Executive

Order 10588.

You will recall that the Bradley

Commission declared that military services

is an obligation of citizenship and that

veterans are not entitled to any more

consideration than nonveterans. Thus the

Commission joined the vociferous minority

opposed to special consideration for

veterans and provided a Roman holiday for

an unfriendly press which applauded the

courage of General Bradley and the

Commission and proclaimed that at long

last special consideration for veterans

would be tossed out the window.

Thanks to the wisdom of Congress,

this did not happen. In the Commission's

report, the following language is set

forth:

The gratitude of the Nation to those

who have served it in time of war is

fundamental in the whole concept of

American veterans' benefits.This tends

to place benefits in the category of a

gratuity to which the recipient (the

veteran) has no legal '‘'right', and

which the giver (the government) has a

legal right to withhold.

Mr. Chairman, while Veterans'

Administration claimants' access to the

Federal courts has been foreclosed,

potential recipients of other Federal

benefit programs took advantage of court

decisions to elevate the status of their

benefits from mere gratuities to the level

of statutory entitlements with vested

property interest.

This trend, which commenced in the

1960's. culminated in the landmark case of

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970),

wherein the Supreme Court concluded that

welfare benefits are matters of Statutory

C-92

1] Like)

Mr. Chairman, it is a Strange lesson

in] ' indeed Lf ee

1 tl } '

, , ' al judicial

dependents, and survivors are foreclosed

from this same avenue.

If welfare benefits are not

gratuities, the word has lost its meaning.

Surely veterans' benefits are not

gratuities notwithstanding repeated

rhetoric to the contrary. No veteran has

ever received anything for nothing. At

the very least, those who have served

honorably in uniform during periods of war

and hostility have given years from their

lives, their families, and their personal

endeavors, if not their mental or physical

health or their very lives.

93

Q

This concludes my Summary, and I

will be happy to answer any questions you

may have.

Mr. Leach. Thank you, Mr. Schwab.

That was a very Stimulating presentation."

{Emphasis added}

EXCERPT CONCERNING "EQUAL PROTECTION"

FROM PREPARED STATEMENT OF SIDNEY

COOPER, NATIONAL LEGISLATIVE

DIRECTOR, VETERANS DUE PROCESS, INC.,

BEFORE THE COMMITTEE ON VETERANS'

AFFAIRS, HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,

ONE-HUNDREDTH CONGRESS, SECOND

SESSION, ON SEPTEMBER 8, 1988,

CONCERNING "JUDICIAL REVIEW OF

VETERANS' APPAIRS", HEARING BOOK

SERIAL NO. 100-60, PAGE 412-445,

FOLLOWING EXCERPT AT PAGE 439.

"Is Mississippi, the Promised Land of

Veterans Benefits?

c-95

there are considerably higher too - 30%

greater in Mississippi: 43% greater in

Arkansas.

Non-service connected disabilities

likewise fare extremely well: me ie ae.

national average in Mississippi: 1.9 X in

Arkansas. Incredibly, there are 72% as

many Non-Service connected Claims in

Mississippi as there are Service connected

claims: in Arkansas. 60%. The national

average is only 31% which means that

Mississippians are either Sicker or

smarter than everyone else.

What explanation can there be for

this blatant favoritism? Deference paid

to veterans residing in Mississippi and

Arkansas should come as no Surprise to

Students of the v.A. and the House

Veterans Affairs Committee (HVAC). Cong.

G.V. Montgomery (D.Miss.) is the chairman

of the HVAC while John Hammerschmidt (R.

Ark) was its ranking Republican member.

Seniority and power obviously have an

impact on what veterans receive and from

which state.

Ld hb) ; A

; oo) ; ; ;' et)

> 7 ful hj

' hi ' |

eperations. Not the Congress; not the

Press; not the Courts - not the States -

not the NVSO's - not anyone!

Apparently, based upon the benefits

dispensed in 1985, States such as

California are being short changed $310

million, per year; Illinois, $204

million; Indiana, $70 million, whereas

“gravy train". No Satisfactory

explanation has been offered to explain

such large pension descrepancies.

~

97

2)

‘

Mississippi has provided the armed

forces with the lowest number of service

men (92.1 per thousand) whereas the

national average is 118.2 per thousand of

population. Yet they receive more claims

and higher per capita benefits. No wonder

Cong. G.V. Montgomery says the system

ain't broke! It does all right for

Mississippi and Arkansas.

Accordingly, based upon the 1985 VA

numbers, Mississippi is last in war but

first in the hearts of the VA.

(Note: All numbers and relationships

developed therefrom were

extrapolations derived from the vV.A.

Fiscal Year, 1985 reports furnished

the Congress) ."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

LETTER FROM KENNETH E. EATON, CHAIRMAN,

BOARD OF VETERANS APPEALS (BVA), TO UNITED

STATES SENATOR GARY HART, DATED JUNE 30,

1982, INDICATING AN 11.3% ALLOWANCE RATE

IN_APPEALS THAT REACHED THE BVA DURING THE

30 YEAR PERIOD 1952 THROUGH 1981, AND A

12.9% BVA ALLOWANCE RATE DURING THE 12

YEAR PERIOD, 1970 THROUGH 1981.

“Board of Veterans Appeals

Washington, D.C. 20420

“Veterans

Administration

June 30 1982

Honorable Gary Hart

United States Senate

Washington, DC

Dear Senator Hart:

99

Q

"Your letter of June ll, 1982, was

referred to the Board of Veterans Appeals

(BVA) for an answer to the second question

regarding cases appealed to the Veterans

Administration.

We do not have complete statistics

for 30 years. The best information we

have:

© Appeals that reached the Board of

Veterans Appeals - FY 1952-1981 (30

years):

BVA. QGUCELBLOGR. « cccneses 989,303

Allowed by BVA...... 111,338

Oo Appellate actions - FY 1970-1981 (12

years):

Appeals initiated (Notices of

Disagreement filed) 670,977

Allowed in field

i 111,401

BVA decisions.......... 363,746

Allowed by BVA........ 47,044

Allowed in field

offices following

Remand by BVA......... 11,736

Combined allowances....170,181

I hope this information will be

helpful.

Sincerely yours,

KENNETH E. EATON

Chairman"

{ON THIS PAGE, WOULD HAVE APPEARED A

SINGLE PAGE OF VITAL BOARD OF

VETERANS APPEALS STATISTICS (z.8.

ALLOWANCE RATES, ETC.), SUMMARIZING A

10 (TEN) YEAR PERIOD. UNFORTUNATELY,

SUPREME COURT FORMATTING RULES

NECESSITATED 10 (TEN) PAGES TO SET

PORTH THE IDENTICAL INFORMATION.

CONSEQUENTLY, THE RESULTING

PRESENTATION DEPARTED FROM THE

BREVITY AND CLEARNESS CONTEMPLATED BY

SUPREME COURT RULES, AND,

ACCORDINGLY, Is OMITTED. SAID

STATISTICS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST}

EXCERPTS FROM WASHINGTON POST

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE, BY STAFP WRITER

BILL MCALLISTER, DATED PEBRUARY 8,

1990, ENTITLED "THE FIRST FOOTPRINTS

IN THE SAND --- NEW VETERANS' CLAIMS

APPEAL COURT HOLDS INITIAL SESSION"

***** {PARAGRAPH 2} “It took years of

debate and an act of Congress, but a pew

federal court-the first federal judiciary

body to be created in 30 years-held its

initial meeting yesterday to hear the

claims of the nation's aggrieved

veterans."

***** {PARAGRAPH 15} "The court located its

offices at 1625 K Street NW, two blocks

from the VA's central office and Nebeker

iChief Judge} has made clear that he wants

a sharp line drawn between his court and

the VA. When veterans ask about the

relationship, the judge said he responds.

{Emphasis added}

c-104

“INFORMAL GRIEVANCS", DATED MAY 141,

1987, FILED WITH THE CHAIRMAN OF THE

BOARD OF VETERANS APPEALS (BVA), AND

SIGNED BY SEVERAL INDIVIDUALS AT THE

BVA. SAID GRIEVANCE WAS SUBMITTED AS

AS A PART OF BEBXHIBIT *J" TO THB

PREPARED STATEMENT OF RICHARD E.

O'DELL, VICE PRESIDENT, VIETNAM

VETERANS OF AMERICA, INC. (VVA),

DATED FEBRUARY 18, 1988, AT A HEARING

BEFORE A SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS,

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, ONE

HUNDREDTH CONGRESS, SECOND SESSION.

SAID VVA TESTIMONY APPEARS BETWEEN

PAGES 95 AND 195 OF THE CONGRESSIONAL

HEARING BOOK. EXHIBIT "J" WHICH, IN

PART, APPEARS BELOW, IS ON PAGES 14l

THROUGH 144.

C-105

INFORMAL GRIEVANCE

"The undersigned, Members of the Board of

Veterans Appeals, both individually and

jointly, hereby present an 1oformal

Grievance against the Chairman of the

Board of Veterans Appeals based upon a

policy of awarding bonuses to various

Gecisions produced in their individual

sections,

ee

System of handling the number of appeals,

the Chairman is engaging in acts,

Dbractices, policies and courses of conducr

LO pressure Board Members and Secrions

2nLo increasing the number of cases belong

processed each year without regard co the

amount of time thar Must be devoted fo

C-106

each individual case in order to give it

adequate -legal and evidentiary

consideration and in order to render a

Careful, correct, fair and impartial

***** {PARAGRAPH #5} "The current system

rewards carelessness but penalizes

diligence. Obviously, a section that

produces the quota of 40 decisions per

week spends at least one hour of time for

each case. A number of sections have

found that proper processing of this

amount cannot be done and have fallen

behind the weekly quota. On the other

hand, for example, a section that produces

£0 cases per week spends on the average

only one half an hour on each case. It 1S

C- i107

obvious that a one half hour review cannot

be as complete as a one hour review. It

is also apparent that the high producing

section is rewarded for doing less work on

each case. The record will show that on a

number of occasions in the past, certain

sections have processed more than 80 cases

in a single week. We dispute any

contention that under these circumstances,

fach case was given a thoughtful ang

thorough review by each Board Member.

***** {PARAGRAPH #7} “Another, and perhaps

the most serious Manipulative method of

exploiting the current system is. by

Obtaining signatures on decisions by Board

the decisions despite not having reviewed

the case. This so-called “courtesy"

SYStem not only deprives our Claimants

from a review to which they would

c-108

***** {PARAGRAPH #9} "With regard to the

same system of "courtesies", any section

member can give an “in house courtesy"

Signature, thereby accomplishing the same

result as obtaining a "courtesy" signature

outside the section. Al] _ that is required

are cooperative Board Members who are

C-109

even to increase allowance rates) are

illegal. In the case of Association of

Administrative Law Judges, Inc., v.

Heckler, 594 Fed Supp 1132, decided

September 10, 1984, the Court observed

that the Administrative Procedures Act

contained a number of Provisions to

safeguard the decisional independence of

ALJ's. They are exempted from performance

appraisals to which other Civil Service

employees are subject. ALJ's do not

receive monetary awards or periodic step

increases based on performance. (Emphasis

Supplied). Cases must be assigned,

whenever possible, in rotation. (In that

case, the Social Security Administration

waS pressuring the ALJ's because of

excessive allowances.

***** {PARAGRAPH 16} "In Summary, the

undersigned, both individually and

jointly, are aggrieved by the system used

by the Chairman to either grant or

withhold monetary awards based on the

number of decisions produced during the

counting period. The grievance is based

en the fact that the award system cannot

; sini = fai = ia]

= € ;

bj — ; ;

certain sections. The system penalizes

those individuals who do more work, 1.e.,

spend more time reviewing each case and

rewards those who do less work on each

case and who subvert the established

review process by eliminating at least one

review. With regard to the entire

grievance procedure, the undersigned will

exhaust all of its administrative remedies

prior to taking any other action."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

EXCERPT {PAGES 238 AND 239 OF HEARING

BOOK} FROM THE STATEMENT OF ROBERT O.

MULLER, PRESIDENT, VIETNAM VETERANS

OF AMERICA, INC. (VVA), DATED JUNE 4,

1986, BEFORE THE HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES, COMMITTEE ON

VETERANS AFFAIRS, CONCERNING E.R.

585: "JUDICIAL REVIEW OF VETERANS

CLAIMS", NINETY-NINTH CONGRESS,

SECOND SESSION. HEARING BOOK SERIAL

NUMBER 99-52, VOLUME 1, PAGES 230

THROUGH 279.

were

{Hearing Book page 238} 1. “VA Errors

Although the need for judicial

review does not hinge on VA errors, it is

beyond dispute that the VA sometimes makes

erroneous decisions. Recent oversight

hearings of the BVA makes this clear. For

example, the following exchange took place

C-112

the Board of Veterans Appeals:

Mr. Applegate:

Later on we will be receiving a

comment from a witness about

allowance rates from the various

sections of the [BVA], and that

perhaps some panels have consistently

lower allowance rates than others

Have you observed this and, if

you have, do you have any comments

about it.

Mr. Eaton:

C-113

There are a couple of sections,

Or Board members, I suppose, who are

rather low in their allowances. But,

you know, you can't tell them what

to do.

Mr. Applegate:

YOu can have equal cases, identical,

where one will get more than the

c-114

Also at these BVA oversight

hearings, the American Legion testified

that

C

AS an important part of our

involvement with the issue of

veterans suffering from post-

traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), we

have given special attention to

reviewing the decisions of the Board

of Veterans Appeals involving claims

for service connection or an

increased rating for PTSD. There

have emerged from this on-going

review several problems which have

been brought to the attention of the

Chairman of the Board of Appeals and

ong., lst Sess. 10-11 (1985) (hereinafter

4285 House Hearings").

C-il1§

other VA Officials without

Satisfactory resolution.

In our judgment too many valid

Claims are being denied by the

regional offices, and the denials are

Subsequently confirmed by the Board

of Veterans Appeals .3

VVA has observed this problem as well."

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

3 Iq.

at 40 (Statement of Philip R.

Wilkerson, Assistant Director for Claims,

National Veterans Affairs and

Rehabilitation Commission, The American

Legion).

EXCERPT FROM VA MEMORANDUM DATED JUNE

1, 1987, FROM THE CHIEF MEMBER, BOARD

OF VETERANS APPEALS, TO THE VA DEPUTY

ADMINISTRATOR, SUBJECT: “GRIEVANCE:

INTERFERENCE WITH DECISIONAL

INDEPENDENCE OF BOARD MEMBERS". SAID

EXCERPT APPEARS AT PAGE 10 OF EXHIBIT

"NN", ATTATCHED TO STATEMENT PRESENTED

BY RICHARD E. O'DELL, VICE PRESIDENT

AND CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEE ON

ADVOCACY, VIETNAM VETERANS OF

AMERICA, INC. (VVA), DATED FEBRUARY

18, 1988, BEFORE THE HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES, HUMAN RESOURCES AND

INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS

SUBCOMMITTEE OF THE COMMITTEE ON

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS. HEARING BOOK

PAGE 180.

{eevee VVA Exhibit "N", page 10} “4.

Reversing Majority Decisions: On various

C-ii7

occasions, where the majority of the Board

Members, either on an Original or an

expanded panel have voted to deny a claim,

and there has been a request for an

administrative allowance, the Chairman has

allowed the claims. (See 38 U.S.c. 210 (b)

and 212(a); 38 C.F.R. 19.184) (See also

{a portion of this sentence redacted}.

Heretofore, the Chairman had intervened to

allow only when the majority had requested

an administrative allowance or where there

waS an expanded panel with an even split.

This obviously represents an activist

approach and is in derogation of the

Judicial independence of the Board

Members.

5 4 -

an_impartial manner: On a number of

occasions, including a staff meeting on

November 3, 1986, the Chairman admitted

c-118

that on various occasions, either where

there has been a dissent or a request for

a reconsideration, he has assigned another

Board. {***** Remainder of letter omitted}

{EMPHASIS ADDED}

C-119

Statement of Arthur Bernklau

Before BVA, 3/24/1988

A portion thereof follows from page 4:

2b) " The July 26, 1985 Cat-Scan and

report were brought to the attention of

Dr. Peter Altner ( Northport VA hospital).

Upon examination of the Cat-Scan, Dr

Altner gave me a perfect verbal reading

pointing out the disc herniations,

fracture and spondylolisthesis; and then

proceeded to write in my records

¥ positive for disc degenerative disease

only " When I asked him, " why he didn’t

write down what he told me ? " He replied:

"I can’t write down what I told you. It

would make the wicie orthopedic department

look bad since we refused you a Cat Scan

for 6 1/2 years and misdiagnosed you. ! "

" That brief encounter sums up the

Situation as much as anything could- but

there's more, much more."

C-120

BVA Opinion,

or a portion thereof from

April 4 1990

" Several private physicians have given

the opinion that the veteran's back

disability is, by itself, so severe as to

render him enemployable. We do not

question the sincerity of those opinions.

hidbvee, the Clinical findings show

nothing more than an inability to function

in employment requiring the use of the

back."

note: there were no other clinical

findings other than those presented by

Mr. Bernklau.

C-121

Appellant's Brief

before U.S. Court of Veterans Appeals

On the issue of a prior service injury, a

portion thereof follows:

5) " The VA has argued until recently

that the veteran had a prior service back

injury despite Dr. Joseph G. Levack's,

( the family physician ) unchallenged

notarized statement of 2/26/55:

"My records show no previous injuries

other than a fractured nasal bone. At no

time was there any complaint relating to

his back. "

Moreover, the appellant's induction exam

Of 6/17/54 shows absolutely no evidence of

a prior service injury. Item 38, of said

examination Clearly evidences that his

" spine, other than musculoskeletal] "

portions of his body were normal.

As further evidence of the Army's belief

that appellant was in top physical

C-1i22

( as continued from C-121 )

condition, he was assigned to the Signal

Corps and required to climb poles, which

he successfully negotiated until the

accident of November 19th, 1954.

Appellant was honorably separated from

service June 24, 1955 with a service

connected back injury which stands in

sharp contrast to the physical induction

examination which shows no back injury.

Induction exam, 6/17/54, item # 38, shows

a normal spine whereas the separation exam

Of 4/4/55, item # 38 shows an abnormal

spine.

Consequently, the vA's continued

assertion of a prior service injury until

recently is inexcusable, unsupp

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.