Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sieu Mei Tu v. Southern Pacific Transportation Co.

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

92-1096 [Tre

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES | ODEO BRE 9992

October Term, 1992

NO:

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SIEU MEI TU, JOSEPH Z. TU

PLAINTIFFS, APPELLANTS,

APPLICANTS

VS.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

NINTH CIRCUIT

me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee”

RESPONDENT

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION )

COMPANY; ATCHISON, TOPEKA, SANTA FE )

RAILROAD COMPANY; PACIFIC FRUIT )

EXPRESS COMPANY; T. ELLEN; E.E.CLARK; )

D. W. FEND; T. R. ASHTON; DOE DEFEN- _)

DANTS ONE TO TWO THOUSAND; WHITE )

COMPANY; BLACK CORPORATION; BROTHER- )

HOOD OF RAILWAY AIRLINE AND STEAMSHIP )

CLERKS; R. B. BRACKBILL;J. M. BALOVICH;)

SANTA FE SOUTHERN PACIFIC CORP )

REAL PARTIES IN INTEREST )

APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO REVIEW

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION OF UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEAL, NINTH CIRCUIT, FILED JUNE 1, 1992

( RULE 10 (1) (a) (c))

LEE J. KUBBY, INC.

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

BOX 60485

Sunnyvale, CA 94086-0485

(415) 691-9331

Attorney for Plaintiffs

Appellants Applicants

SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH Z. TU

.

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

October Term, 1992

NO:

SIEU MEI TU, JOSEPH Z. TU

PLAINTIFFS, APPELLANTS,

APPLICANTS

vs.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

NINTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION )

COMPANY; ATCHISON, TOPEKA, SANTA FE )

RAILROAD COMPANY; PACIFIC FRUIT )

EXPRESS COMPANY; T. ELLEN; E.E.CLARK; )

D. W. FEND; T. R. ASHTON; DOE DEFEN- )

DANTS ONE TO TWO THOUSAND; WHITE )

COMPANY; BLACK CORPORATION; BROTHER- )

HOOD OF RAILWAY AIRLINE AND STEAMSHIP )

CLERKS; R. B. BRACKBILL;J. M. BALOVICH;)

SANTA FE SOUTHERN PACIFIC CORP )

REAL PARTIES IN INTEREST )

APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO REVIEW

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION OF UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEAL, NINTH CIRCUIT, FILED JUNE 1, 1992

( RULE 10 (1) (a) (c))

LEE J. KUBBY, INC.

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

BOX 60485

Sunnyvale, CA 94086-0485

(415) 691-9331

Attorney for Plaintiffs

Appellants Applicants

SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH Z. TU

TO THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMER-

ICA:

PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANTS-APPLICANTS SIEU MEI TU and

JOSEPH Z. TU HEREWITH petition pursuant to Title

28, United States Code, section 1254(1); Rule 10

(1) (a) and (c) Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States4Hs FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO REVIEW

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION OF UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEAL, NINTH CIRCUIT, FILED JUNE 1, 1992

(a) QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW >

1. Does the Railway Labor Act prevent a Union

Employee of a wholly owned subsidiary of a Rail-

road, from bringing a civil action under state and

federal anti discrimination statutes for tortious ~

workplace employment discrimination by reason of

the workers origin of birth, sex, and or age.

Does enforcement of a state law claim of racial,

sexual, and or age discrimination constitute such

interference with federal policy concerning rail-

road collective bargaining agreements, so as to

prohibit a person who has been discriminated

against from seeking relief from any forum other

than RLA arbitration procedure. Is discrimination

—), Bers aD

o-

me ~

by an employer a minor dispute?

2. Has a gross miscarriage of justice occurred

here against which the Supreme Court should act?

3. When an employer refuses to arbitrate with an

individual employee concerning the employer's

breach of the collective bargaining agreement, and

the employer and the employee's labor union advise

the employee that the union is arbitrating her

grievances but the union fails to arbitrate that

employees particular grievances, can the employee

bring a civil action for the grievances under the

principles of Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171.

(b) PARTIES TO PROCEEDING

All the parties to the proceeding are listed in

the caption of this pleading.

(c) TABLE OF CONTENTS AND TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions presented for review 2

Parties to the proceeding 3

Table of Contents 3

Table of Authorities 5

Reference to official and unofficial

reports of opinions delivered in the

case by other courts or administrative

agencies 10

-3-

Grounds on which the jurisdiction of

this court is sought to be invoked 11

Date of entry of the judgment or

or decree sought to be invoked a2.

The date of order respecting rehearing 11

The statutory provision believed to

confer on this court jurisdiction to

review the judgment or decree by writ

of certiorari 11

The constitutional provisions, treaties,

statutes, ordinances, and regulations

involved in this case 16

Statement of the case 17

Basis claimed by defendants for federal

jurisdiction to remand from California

Superior Court to United States District

Court Northern District of California 33

Argument amplifying the reasons relied

on for allowance of the writ 33

Appendix 65

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

“CASES ALPHABETICAL

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway

Vv , (1987) 107 Ss.

Ct. 1410, 771 F2d 1320 (CA9th opinion).

44

Bremer v. St. Louis Southwestern R. Co.

(DC Mo 1969) 310 F. Supp 1333

13

Bolker v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue,

760 F. 2d 1039, 1042 (9th Cir. 1987)

astanedo v. Dura-Vent Corp.

648 F. 2d 612 (9th Cir. 1980)

Castelli v. Douglas Aircraft Co.,

752 F. 2d 1480, 1482 (9th Cir. 1985)

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams,

107 S.Ct. 2425 (1987)

59, 61

62, 63

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

106 S. Ct. 2548 (1986)

Dayton Board of Education v. Brinkman

(1977) 433 US 406.

55, 57

Del Cost o v. International

Brotherhood o eamsters

462 U.S. 151, 103 S. Ct. at 2290

Dolphin Tours v. Pacific Creative

Services, 773 F.2d 1506,

(9th Cir.1985).

Dutrisac v. Caterpillar Tractor Co.,

749 F. 2a 1270, 1274 (9th Cir. 1983)

106

-5-

Eichelberger v. NLRB. 765 F. 2d 851

(9th Cir.1985)

Eisenberg v. Insurance Co. of N. Am.

(CA 9th, 1987) 815 F2d 1285

Electronic Race Patrol, Inc.

(D.C.N.Y. 1961) 191 F. Supp. 364.

Evangelista v. Inlandboatmen's Union

of Pacific, 777 F.2d 1390

(9th Cir.1985)

Galindo v. Stoody Co.,

(CA 9th 1986) 793 F.2d 1502.

Gallon v. Levin Metals Corp.,

779 F.2d 1439, 1440 (9th Cir. 1986).

Greater Los Angeles Council on

Deafness, Inc. v. Zolin, 812 F.2D

1103 (9TH Cir. 1987)

Greagq v. Chauffeurs, Teamsters

and Helpers Union Local 150,

699 F. 2d 1015, 1016 (9th Cir 1983)

Gully v. First National Bank,

299 U.S. 109, 112-113, 57 S.Ct.

96, 97-98, 81 L.Ed. 70 (1936)

Heatherton v. Playboy. Inc.

(D.C. Cal 1973) 60 F.R.D. 372.

Javanovich v. United States,

813 F. 2d 1035, 1037 (9th Gir. 2067)

42, 53

58

48,104

34,48

60

58

Johnson v. United States Postal Service,

756 F. 2d 1461 (9th Cir 1985).

-6-

Corp, 878 F2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1989)

Vv. ernit n

Ltd. of California, (CA9th 1949)

173 F2d 559

Lew_v. Kona Hospital, (CA9th, 1985)

754 F2d 1420

cAlester v. United Airlines, Inc.

(10th Cir. 1988) 851 F.2d 1249

McLaughlin v. Liu (9th Cir 1988)

849 F.2d 1205.

Miller v. Fairchild Indus., Inc.,

797 F.2d 727 (9th Cir. 1986)

New York Dock RY-Control-Brooklyn

Eastern Dist, Fin. Dkt. 28250 at

401-403 (April 11, 1978)

Pender v. National RR Passenger Corp.

(DDC) 1985) 625 F. Supp. 252

Peterson v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244,

(9thCir. 1985), cert. denied

475 U.S. 1122 (1986).

Perez v. Curcio, (CA9th 1988)

841 F.2d 255,

Railway Labor Executives Assn v. Icc

(9th Cir. 1991) 958 F2d 252

-7=-

53

53

12

37

34

13

48

35

Reimche v. First Nat. Bank of Nevada

(CA 9 1975) 512 F2d 187.

-

Rio Grande Industries , et al

--Control--SPT Co., et al,

41.C.C. 2d 834 (1988) (Rio Grande),

aff'd sub nom. Kansas City Indus., Inc.

v. United States, 902 F.2d 423

(5th Cir. 1990).

Robesky v. Qantas Empire

Airways Ltd., 573 F. 2d 1082

(9th Cir. 1978)

Rollins v. Techsouth, Inc.

(CA 11th 1987) 833 F.2d 1525 at 1528

37

Russo v. Prudential Ins. Co.,

116 FRD 10, (E.D. Pa., 1986).

Santa Fe Southern Pacific Corp. 5s

--Control--SPT Co., 2 1.%.€- <a

709 (1986) recon. den., 3 I1.2.C. 2d

926 (1987) (SFSP)

Shaw v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc.,

(1974) 37 CA 3D 587, 597; 113 CR 617.

51

Singelton v. Wulff,

428 U.S. 106 (1976)

Strange v. Arkansas-Oklahoma Gas Corp.

(D. C. Ark. 1981) 534 F. Supp. 138

58

Tenorio v. NLRB, 680 F.2d 598

(9th Cir. 1982)

Traylor v. Black, Sivalls & Bryson,

-8-

(CA 8th, 1951) 189 F2d 213, at 216

52

Ww Vv ific

Electric Contractors Assn.

(9th Cir. 1987) 809 F.2d 626, 630-31

38,43

801 F2d 834 (CA 6 1986).

Vaca v. Sipes 386 U.S. 171, 190,

3, 48, 50

Wise v. Southern Pacific Co. (1963)

223 CA2d 50; 35 C.R. 652,

50, 51

W ey v. Eastern Airlines, 250 F2 86

(CA Fla 1957); cert. denied

356 U.S. 931

LAWS AND STATUTES

United States Constitution

Article III Sections 1 and 2

Amendment VII

28 USC 1254 (1) as bese ave

Zz, sa, i6

28 USC 1291 16

28 USC 1445 (a) 7 16, 58

42 USC 1983 i>

45 USC 51 Ags OF

71,80

49 USC 11347 a, 2

15, 54,55

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

tye

Rule 10 (1) (a) and (c) 2,12,16

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule 4 (3) 10, 16

Rule 6 (b) (2) 10, 16

California Government Code 12900 et seq.

10, 17

California Public Utility Code

216 10, 17

453 a8, a?

TEXTS AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

6 Part 2 Moore's Federal Practice 56-304

(d) REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS

OF OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THE CASE BY OTHER

COURTS OR ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCIES

There have been two administrative proceedings

involving the respondents and the failed merger, —

the initial determination by the ICC is reported

in Santa Fe Southern Pacific Corp. recon den., 3

I.C.C. 2d 926 (1987) (SFSP) and Rio Grande Indus-

tries , et al--Control--SPT Co., et al, 4 I.C.C.

2d 834 (1988) (Rio Grande), aff'd sub nom. Kansas

City Indus., Inc. v. United States, 902 F2d 423

(5th Cir. 1990). See also Railway Labor Execu-

-10-

tives Assn v. ICC (9th Cir. 1991) 958 F2d 252

The second was an arbitration proceeding under the

RLA for which there is no known report, but a copy

of the decision in that matter is contained in

the Appendix hereto.

(€) GROUNDS ON WHICH THE JURISDICTION OF THIS

COURT IS SOUGHT TO BE INVOKED

(i) The date of entry of the judgment or decree

sought to be reviewed:

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeal Memorandum Deci-

sion filed June 1, 1992 re the following orders of

the United States District Court for the Northern

District of California:

Order denying motion to remand (October

13, 1987)

Order granting Defendants' motion to dis-

miss(April 8, 1988)

Order re Defendant's motions to dismiss

and for summary judgment (June 29,

1988 and June 30, 1988)

Order granting Defendants' motion for

summary judgment (Feb. 8, 1989)

Order granting defendants' motion for

summary judgment and to dismiss (August

14, 1989) |

Judgment August 21, 1989

(ii) The date of order respecting rehearing:

September 22, 1992

-ll-

(iv) The statutory provision believed to confer on .

this Court jurisdiction to review the judgment or

decree by writ of certiorari:

Jurisdiction of this court is sought to be

invoked under The United States Constitution,

Article III, Sections 1 & 2, Amendment VII,

28 U.S.C. 1254 (1), Rule 10 (1)(a) and (c), Rules

of the Supreme Court of the United States in that

there are special and important reasons therefore

including the following:

(i) The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals in

this matter has rendered a decision in

conflict with the decision of another

United States Court of Appeal, to wit the

Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in the

case of McAlester v. United Air Lines,

Inc. (10th Cir. 1988) 851 F2d 1249. The

conflict substantially affects a rule of

national application for which there is a

need for national uniformity. McAlester

supra, decided that the RLA does not

repeal or preempt employment discrimina-

tion claims sounding in tort based on

-12-

——_

recognition of social right of equality

of opportunity of persons regardless of

race, while the 9th Circuit in the

instant matter, declared that the plain-

tiffs tortious termination-discrimination

claims were subject to mandatory arbitra-

tion under the RUA, (Memorandum page

22); were "minor disputes"; and plain-

tiffs exclusive remedy is under the RLA.

(Memorandum page 7). See also Pender v.

a ssenge Orp.. (DDC, 1985)

625 F. Supp. 252 and Bremer v. St. Louis

thwestern R Oo. (DC Mo 1969) 310 F.

Supp 1333.

(ii) The Ninth Circuit's memorandum of

decision has decided a federal question

in a way in conflict with deep rooted

interests of the State of California, or

sanctioned such a departure by the Dis-

trict Court of the Northern District of

California, as to call for an exercise of

this court's power of supervision.

California has a deep rooted interest in

-13-

having all its citizens free from discri-

mination because of their race, age, and

or sex. In this case, all three preju-

Gices manifested themselves, and these

interests of the State to have the work

place free of discrimination, were

ignored by the Ninth Circuit.

(iii) A gross miscarriage of justice has

occurred in this matter, in that the

employer's attorneys in the civil action

petitioned for remand to the federal

court from the state court on the basis

that Sieu Mei Tu's employer was a "carr-

ier" with exclusive jurisdiction in the

federal courts and argued successfully

that Plaintiff's claim of conspiracy to

subvert her civil rights to be free of

discrimination by reason of sex, age, and

or national origin and to deny her, her

common law contract rights could only be

enforced before the Interstate Commerce

Commission, and then argue before the

Interstate Commerce Commission that the

-14=<

Icc has no jurisdiction over her claims,

because Sieu Mei's employer is not a car-

rier, thus denying a female person who

came to this country, became a citizen,

and worked for the same employer over

twenty two years, being told she would

always have a job until she retired, and

if no work was available to her, she

would receive her salary to full retire-

ment; paying her union dues and believing

that the union would protect her full

rights; less than three years before

becoming eligible for full retirement

benefits, being terminated by her

employer without any termination benefits

and her union failing to enforce her

rights; and being denied a forum in which

to enforce her rights on her own. Further

the court of Appeal in a miscarriage of

justice which attacks the integrity of

the judicial process, refused to consider

all of the arguments applicable to peti-

tioners' appeal. (Memorandum, page 11)

-15-

Petitioner was unconstitutionally denied

her right to trial by jury and discovery.

The full power of giant's of industry,

the railroads and the railroad union have

joined here to attempt to deny a single

individual of the fruits of the American

dream.

(F) THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, TREA-

TIES, STATUTES, RULES, ORDINANCES, AND REGULA-

TIONS INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

The constitutional provisions, treaties, sta-

tutes, ordinances and regulations involved in this

case are:

United States Constitution

Article III Sections 1 and 2

Amendment VII

28 USC 1254 (1)

28 USC 1291

28 USC» 1445 (a)

42 USC 1983

45 usc 51

49 USC 11347

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

Rule 10 (1) (a) and (c)

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Rule 4 (3)

-16-

Rule 6 (b) (2)

California Government Code 12900 et seq.

California Public Utility Code

216

453

(g) STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(A) NATURE OF CASE

Plaintiffs filed an action in The Superior

Court of the City and County of San Francisco (DEN

1, EX 5) on causes of action for tortious wrongful

termination of employment, breach of private (non

collective bargaining agreement) contract of

employment, breach of covenant of good faith and

fair dealing, intentional and negligent infliction

of emotional distress, employment discrimination

under California State Statutes (California Gov-

ernment Code 12900 et seq. and California Public

Utilities Code 453 (a)) , Conspiracy, and Loss of

Consortium.

Defendant PFE appeared by Acknowledgment of

Receipt of Summons (EX 17) and by answer (DEN 3 ).

Defendant Southern Pacific Transportation appeared

-17<

by answer on March 23, 1987 (DEN 8 Ex 18), Defen-

dants Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe and Santa Fe

Southern Pacific Corporation appeared by answer on

December 24, 1987 (DEN 25 EX 260).

Defendants filed a Petition For Removal to The

United States District Court for the Northern Dis-

trict of California (DEN 1), Plaintiffs objected

to the jurisdiction of the Federal Court (DEN 9,

EX 24), and moved to remand to the state court

(DEN 16. Ex 26). Defendants admitted in their

Memorandum in Opposition (DEN 17 page 3, lines 21

& 22) that "All causes of action are pled under

state law." By order filed October 9, 1987 DEN

24, Ex 253) the plaintiffs' motion was denied. On

February 29, Defendants moved to dismiss and for

summary judgment (DEN 28). By order filed April

6, 1988, (DEN 36 EX 284) the court dismissed

Plaintiffs first and second causes of action,

(wrongful termination of employment, breach of

agreement of employment); did not rule on Plain-

tiffs third cause of action for intentional and

negligent infliction of emotional distress, breach

of covenant of good faith and fair dealing;

-18-

refused to exercise pendent jurisdiction over

Plaintiffs fourth and fifth causes of action (dis-

crimination, conspiracy). On April 29, 1988,

Plaintiffs filed their First Amended Complaint

(DEN 38). Defendants moved to dismiss and for sun-

mary judgment (DEN 39 & 42). By order dated June

30, 1988 (DEN 51, EX 304), the court vacated its

April 6, 1988 order as to pendant jurisdiction,

determined to exercise its pendant jurisdiction

over the fourth and sixth causes of action, dis-

missed with prejudice the second (breach of cove-

nant of good faith and fair dealing); third

(intentional infliction of emotional distress) ;

fifth (conspiracy); and seventh (negligent inflic-

tion of emotional distress) causes of action, dis-

missed the railroads from the eighth cause of

action (breach of collective bargaining agreement

and breach of duty of fair representation); and

Sienkenen defendants Santa Fe and Railway from all

causes of action. By order filed February 6, 1989

(DEN 98 EX 890) the trial court granted summary

judgment against Plaintiffs on their discrimina-

tion claim; on their claim for loss of consortium;

-19-

and on their claim for breach of duty of fair

representation. On Motion for Reconsideration

(DEN 104) by order filed May 3, 1989, (DEN 114 EX

915), the District Court denied Plaintiffs motion

as to Southern Pacific, but granted it as to the

Union Defendants, and directed Plaintiffs to file

an amended complaint by June 2, 1989. Plaintiffs

filed their Second Amended Complaint June 2, 1989

(DEN 115 EX 919). Defendants Union moved to strike

various causes of action and for Summary Judgment

(DEN 117 & 118). None of the other defendants

responded in any way to the Second Amended Com-

plaint. By order filed August 14, 1989, the court

granted Defendants Union's motion for summary

judgment as to plaintiffs claim for breach duty of

fair representation, and dismissed with prejudice

plaintiffs' second amended complaint. (DEN 130 EX

1143). Judgement was thereon entered August 21,

1989 (DEN 131 EX 1142). Plaintiffs filed their

Notice of Appeal on September 8, 1989 (DEN 133 EX

1150).

On June 1, 1992, the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeal denied petitioners' appeal. On September

-20-

22, 1992, the Ninth Circuit issued an order that

Petitioners petition for rehearing was without

merit.

(B) STATEMENT OF FACTS

Joseph Z. Tu (JZT) and Sieu Mei Tu (SMT) are

husband and wife. (EX 41). Sieu Mei Tu is a

female, born in China on September 4, 1926. (DEN 1

EX 6) (EX 40). On May 15, 1962, SMT commenced

working for Defendant Railroads at the San Fran-

cisco offices of the Southern Pacific as a key

punch operator (DEN 90 EX 733) (EX 40) (EX 47).

On or about December 18, 1978, her private con-

tract of employment was reduced to a writing of

one page (DEN 1 EX 15 ). That contract provided

among other things, that if no job were available

for her, she would continue to be paid her salary

and benefits to age 65. The provision as it was

expressed in the private contract read as follows:

"Her position with this company is

not only permanent in nature but

she is, under our contract with

the Brotherhood of Railway, Air-

line & Steamship Clerks, "fully

protected" so that in the unlikely

event we were not to have a job

for her, she would continue to be

paid under that contract until she

reaches age 65 and can retire

-21-

under the provisions of Railroad

Retirement Act and receive the

appropriate pension therefron.

Mrs. Tu holds the

position of Payroll Clerk and her

current salary is over $1,300 per

month, and is due for an increase

therein of some ten percent more.

She is, and has always been, a

valued employee and even if her

present position were to be elimi-

nated, we would find some other

position for her to hold as we

would not want to lose her ser-

vices." (EX 15).

The contract with the Brotherhood of Railway,

Airline & Steamship Clerks (BRAC) referred to

therein, provided as follows:

"Section 11- In the event of a

decline in a carrier's business in

excess of 5% in the average per-

centage of both gross operating

revenue and net revenue ton miles

in any 30-day period compared with

the average of the same period for

the years 1968 and 1969, a reduc-

tion .in permanent positions and

employes may be made at any time

during the said 30-day period bey-

ond the operation of attrition as

referred to in Section 12 of this

Article to extent of one percent

for each one [percent the said

decline exceeds 5%...

THE PROVISIONS OF THIS SECTION

WILL NOT APPLY TO PACIFIC LINES

EMPLOYES IN THE SAN FRANCISCO GEN-

ERAL OFFICES WITH SENIORITY DATE

OF MARCH 16, 1963 OR EARLIER.... "

(emphasis added) (EX 971).

-22-

|

SMT's seniority date was MAY 15, 1962 (DEN 90 EX

867) (DEN 225) (EX 648, 672 & 738). Under the

applicable collective bargaining agreement SMT was

attributed to the San Francisco general offices

(DEN 38 and 115 Ex B section 5, DEN 90 Ex A pages

89-95, 740, and 815 Union supplemental extract of

record.) Commencing in the year 1982, there was a

concerted effort by the management of Defendant

Railways to curtail the business of refrigerated

car transportation (DEN 90 EX 737-738) to discou-

rage customer inquiries and to not inventory suf-

ficient freezer cars to service the customers.

(DEN 90 EX 737-738). This was coincidental with

Mr. Tom Ellen becoming the chief officer of PFE.

(DEN 90 Ex 738). At the same -time there was a

shift in the treatment of Plaintiff Sieu Mei Tu,

in that managerial people told her crude sexual

jokes, and made fun of her when she didn't under-

stand. When desk assignments were made, although

she was one of the most senior workers involved,

she would be denied the more favorable desk posi-

tions. She was moved into jobs that would cause

her to have the greatest friction with management

-23-

personnel. Plaintiffs age, race and or sex were

resented in relation to her assertive insistence

that management personnel properly account for

their use of cash funds and expenses, and her

refusal to go along with and overlook their con-

duct. (Ex 159-164). She was advised by her super-

iors to take jobs at lower pay than she was

receiving, and when she did so, she was required

to perform the same work as she had performed at

the higher paying position (EX 72). There was

exhibited by management a perceived attitude that

persons who were not native born were inferior.

Any mistake she made was attributed to her

national origin. Her accent, language and cul-

tural differences were the point of ridicule by

the company. (EX 154-159, 165-167 & 309). Sieu

Mei Tu, an accounting clerk, was assigned janito-

rial jobs and house cleaning jobs when persons

less senior were not required to perform these

duties. Plaintiff was assigned to work in an

unsafe location (EX 74). When her supervisor gave

her a 10 on her performance review, the controller

required the supervisor to drop her level to an 8.

-24-

Management created an atmosphere of fear that if

Plaintiff exercised her rights to seek damages

against the company for personal injuries received

on the job, she would fall from grace and her job

would be in jeopardy. ( EX 309) There was a con-

certed effort to attempt to force her to leave

"voluntarily". (DEN 90 EX 733).

In December, 1983, the Santa Fe Southern

Pacific Corporation acquired the right to all the

stock of Southern Pacific Transportation Company,

subject to ICC approval of the merger (EX 1124)

and formed the intent to merge the Santa Fe and

Southern Pacific railroads and sell and spin off

the valuable assets of Southern Pacific Transpor-

tation Company and Pacific Fruit Express. (DEN 38

page 12, DEN 45, and DEN 115 page 12 and Exhibit F

thereto) (EX 1124). When the ICC refused to

authorize the merger (October 10, 1986), the Rail-

road defendants were ordered by the ICC to

attempted to sell off the business of the SP (EX

1124). The Union that was suppose to represent

Plaintiff in protection of her employment rights

attempted to buy the SP on its own and sought to

-25-

become the bargaining agent for the consolidated

railroads. (DEN 38-page 15) (EX 189-193 & 884).

In 1985 the Railroad defendants closed the offices

of PFE, and moved its work back to the SP head-

quarters building. (DEN 115 page 12). Sieu Mei Tu

was moved into at least four different positions.

Except for one job that she bid for and was pro-

moted to in March, 1984, as General Clerk, all

subsequent jobs were at lesser pay rates(EX 91),

and no other person in her position experienced

this type of treatment. Beginning in March, 1985,

her job as General Clerk was abolished. She was

moved to a different job description at a lower

rate of pay and moved to a different department

downstairs (Car Service Clerk). In two weeks that

job was abolished and she was moved to a third job

at a still lower rate of pay. Then a bulletin was

posted as to the availability of Job 141 (miscel-

laneous clerk) (Job 141 had previously been des-

cribed as General Clerk) and Job 150 (bills pay-

able clerk). Since Sieu Mei Tu had performed both

of these jobs in the past, and was eligible to

select either one, she decided to bid for the

-26-—

bills payable clerk job.

She told her supervisor she was going to bid

for the bills payable clerk job. He asked her not

to do so. That job was given to a Caucasian woman

approximately 11 years younger than Sieu Mei Tu,

who was subsequently transferred to SP, leaving

Sieu Mei Tu in the position of bills payable clerk

(EX 101-110), which job was abolished (EX 77), and

Sieu Mei Tu was terminated (EX 48) without sever-

ance pay, without continuance of salary or bene-

fits, without accrual of further retirement

rights, and without the benefit of retirement.

She was too young to retire but considered by

her employer too old to be transferred. By

October, 1988, Sieu Mei Tu was the only PFE

employee who was not either transferred to SP,

severed with substantial benefits and pay, or

retired with special circumstances. She was the

only one without any golden parachute.(EX 735-

738).

Thereafter she interviewed for a open clerks

position at SP as a new hiree,. She was told by

the interviewer that there would be no recognition

-27-

7

of her seniority or years of service if she were

rehired. One of the attorneys for the employer

witnessed the interview process. After being put

through that interview process no job was offered |

to her.(DEN 64 and 88). It was clear she was

being further discriminated against because she |

filed this law suit, and had filed a charge of

discrimination with the California Fair Housing

Office. (EX 735-738).

Since the business of PFE has been transferred

to SP, it has shown substantial profitability.

Numerous jobs of the categories performed by Sieu

Mei Tu have been created and filled with new

employees. None of these positions were offered

to Sieu Mei Tu. (EX 735-738)

The number of Chinese employed by PFE has

never been reflective of the number of Chinese

living in the Bay Area and available for employ-

ment in jobs performed at PFE. (EX 736) In the pro-

cess of transferring PFE operations to Southern

Pacific Transportation, statistically 1/8th of

those on the PFE Seniority District 1 list on

October 1, 1985 were of Chinese national origin,

-28-

while 7/8ths were Caucasian. 1/2 of those of Chi-

nese national origin were transferred to SP and

1/2 terminated, while 8/13ths of the Caucasian

population were transferred to the SP, and 5/l3ths

"furloughed". 100% of the Caucasian population is

now employed at SP or offered employment at SP,

while 50% of the Chinese population has neither

been transferred nor offered employment at SP.

(Fend Declaration Exhibits A-D; Tu Declaration

par. 5, 6, 7, 10) 1/3 of those over age 55 were

transferred to SP, while 2/3 of those over 55 were

furloughed. 7/17ths of the population at PFE cov-

ered by the Union contract were females, while

9/17ths were male. 4/7ths of the female population

were transferred while 5/8ths of the male popula-

tion were transferred (DEN 87 EX 526)

Defendants then employed young workers who had

not previously worked for Defendants to perform

the duties Plaintiff performed prior to her termi-

nation (DEN 90 EX 733).

The Defendants claimed they were entitled to

discharge Sieu Mei Tu under the collective bar-

gaining provision concerning decline in business

-29°-

(EX 871). Upon her discharge, Sieu Mei Tu,

requested the Union to institute proceedings and

render its aid for her defense against this unwar-

ranted treatment by her employer, and notified the

employer of her desire to engage in administrative

process for resolution of her claims. The

employer refused to engage in administrative reso-

lution with Sieu Mei Tu independently and advised

her that the Union had filed claim under the col-

lective bargaining contract and her claim was

being handled under the Railway Labor Act ("RLA")

procedures. The Union's only response was that

Mrs. Tu's letter had been sent to a wrong address

and to assure her that the Union was "progressing

a claim in accordance with the PFE/B.R.A.C. Agree-

ment in behalf of Mrs. Tu and all other B.R.A.C.

PFE clerical employes affected by PFE Management

decision to close the Brisbane PFE office." (DEN

50 EX 286-290). On at least three occasions, the

attorney for Plaintiff telephoned the Union to

determine the nature and progress of the claim the

Union was supposedly pursuing for Plaintiff Sieu

Mei Tu, and the name and location of the attorney

-30-

handling the matter. He was finally given the

name of an attorney on the East Coast, whom he

called. That attorney advised Plaintiffs attorney

he knew nothing of a claim on behalf of Sieu Mei

Tu, but was acting for the Union in a suit filed

against the Railroads and then pending in the

United States Court in Utah, but that action only

concerned PFE employees who had been transferred

to SP and did not involve any issues concerning

PFE employees that had been "furloughed". Plain-

tiff's attorney requested copies of the pleadings

filed in that matter, but never received the same.

(DEN 89 EX 696) Plaintiff's attorney filed suit

in the state court to protect and pursue Plain-

tiff's California causes of action. After South-

ern Pacific Transportation appeared, its counsel

requested Plaintiffs not to serve the other defen-

dants inorder to facilitate early settlement of

this matter. Pursuit of the objective of settle-

ment rather than trial appeared to Plaintiffs to

be a worthy objective. Plaintiffs believed

reliance on such a representation was good cause

for not serving the other defendants. When it

-3l1l-

became apparent that there would be no good faith

meaningful settlement discussions, Plaintiffs

served the other defendants. (DEN 45) Until the

lower court ruled that the matter was properly

removed to the Federal Court Plaintiff had good

cause to believe that the matter would be remanded

to the State Court, and thus good cause to believe

that Rule 4(j3) would be inapplicable to this

action. (DEN 89 Ex 694-696).

In proceedings before the ICC the Union pres-

ented no evidence of the adverse effect of the

merger on employees of the Railroad (EX 1124 &

1135-1140). On January 25, 1989, the ICC refused

to include determination of the issue of adverse

effect of the merger on employees and provided

that employees that had such a claim should pursue

those claims in a civil action. (Ex 1124-1128).

The ICC was subsequently instructed by the 9th

Circuit that the ICC had exclusive jurisdiction

which precluded aggrieved employees from filing

claims directly with the district court under sec-

tion 11705. Kraus _ v. Santa Fe Southern Pacific

Corp, 878 F2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1989) 27,28

-32-

The Union has never claimed that it made a

judgmental determination not to process all of

plaintiff's claims administratively under the RLA.

The defendants blocked the taking of discovery

by Plaintiff affecting her ability to meet the

motions for summary judgment and or dismissal. (EX

694). Plaintiff was denied the right to seek

further discovery by the District Court.

(i) BASIS CLAIMED BY DEFENDANTS FOR FEDERAL

JURISDICTION TO REMAND FROM THE SUPERIOR COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA TO THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA

Defendants Petition for Removal states:

"Petitioner PFE is...a "carrier"

within the meaning of the Railway

Labor Act, 45 USC % 151 et seg.

This suit is a civil suit of

which this court has original

jurisdiction under 28 USC %%1331

and 1337 and is one petitioner

is entitled to remove to this

court pursuant to 28 USC %1441

because it is founded on a

Claim arising under a law of

the United States, the Railway

Labor Act, 45 USC %151 et seg.,

and the amount in controversy

exceeds the sum of $10,000

exclusive of interest and costs."

(j) ARGUMENT

AMPLIFYING THE REASONS

RELIED ON FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

-33-

The Court of Appeal Ninth Circuit in the instant

matter so overlooked or misapprehended the law and

facts applicable here as to result in a gross mis-

carriage of justice against which the Supreme

Court should act.

THE COURT OF APPEAL WAS REQUIRED TO REVIEW THE

GRANTING OF SUMMARY JUDGMENT DE NOVO

The district court's grant of summary judgment is

reviewed de novo on appeal, Miller v. Fairchild

Indus., Inc., 797 F.2d 727 (9th Cir. 1986)? Gallon

v. Levin Metals Corp., 779 F.2d 1439, 1440 (9th

Cir. 1986).

A TRIABLE ISSUE OF FACT AS TO THE ESTOPPEL OF

THE EMPLOYER TO CLAIM JUSTIFICATION FOR DISCRI-

MINATION BASED ON ECONOMIC DECLINE PROHIBITED

GRANTING OF SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE DISCRIMINA-

TION CLAIMS

Plaintiff presented ample evidence of

discrimination by her employer. Even the lower

court recognized that she had done so. (EX 89)

The lower court stated:

"In the present case, plaintiff

Sieu Mei has stated a prima facie

case of discrimination. She is a

member of three protected groups.

Her job performance prior to her

dismissal was at the very least

satisfactory, and several of her

superiors rated her work as excep-

-34-

tional. She was’ furloughed

instead of being transferred to SP

in 1985. Other employees who were

not over 40, female, or Asian,

were transferred into positions at

SP that Sieu Mei was qualified to

perform. Thus, a prima facie

showing of intentional discrimina-

tion has been made by plaintiffs."

Summary judgment would have been appropriate

only if there had been no genuine issue of mater-

ial fact of discrimination. But there was demon-

strated such a material fact, so that granting of

summary judgment, denied plaintiff the right to

full discovery and trial by jury.

In Perez v. Curcio, (CA9th 1988) 841 F.2d 255,

Perez, an employee of the City of Phoenix, brought

a age discrimination against the city. Summary

judgment for the city was granted by the District

Court. On appeal the 9th Circuit reversed and

remanded stating at 258:

"In this case, Perez must demon-

strate that the City's asserted

reasons for her demotion and ter-

mination were pretextual; i.e.,

either that a discriminatory rea-

son more likely than not motivated

the employer or that the

employer's explanation is unworthy

of credence. In ruling on a sum-

-35-

mary judgment motion "(t)he evid-

ence of the non-movant is to be

believed, and all justifiable

inferences are to be drawn in her

favor." (citing authority) As long

as Perez has introduced some evid-

ence from which a jury could

believe Perez's explanation rather

than the City's explanation and

material questions of fact exist,

the case must go to a jury."

In the instant matter Plaintiff has set forth

a history of discrimination against her beginning

in 1982, where she has been treated differently

than others, finally coming to the present day

where she is in a position of being discriminated

against in retaliation for her having called into

question her employers discriminatory actions.

Here Plaintiff was an exemplary employee, serving

for 22 1/2 years the same employer, getting exem-

plary performance reports, being promoted, and

receiving pay raises. Then when she is only 2 1/2

years away from fully qualifying for full retire-

ment benefits (25 years service) the rug is yanked

out, and jobs she has performed with distinction

are given to younger inexperienced and/or lesser

experienced people. Every other of her co workers

are protected but she is signalled out for example

-36-

and denied her job and dignity.

In Rollins v. Techsouth, Inc. (CA 11th 1987)

833 F.2d 1525 at 1528 the court reviewed the crit-

eria for establishing a prima facie case of age

discrimination. It stated:

"The plaintiff must first estab-

lish a prima facie case of age

discrimination, by showing (1)

that plaintiff was between forty

and seventy, and thus in the pro-

tected age group, (2)that plain-

tiff was qualified to do the work,

(3) that the employer discharged

plaintiff, and (4) that the

employer subsequently replaced

plaintiff or sought a replacement.

If plaintiff can establish a prima

facie case, a presumption arises

that defendant fired plaintiff for

> discriminatory reasons."

In the instant matter Plaintiff has shown that

she was 59 years of age when discharged (EX 526),

that she was qualified to do the work (EX 733)

that she was discharged (EX 608 & 733), the

employer subsequently replaced plaintiff (EX

735-737).

In the instant matter, plaintiff presented

evidence that the employer represented to her that

she was "fully protected" (EX 15). In reliance on

that she continued to perform her employment

-37-

duties above average without complaint, suffered

extreme treatment, stayed with the employer even

though her commute was significantly increased

when the offices were moved within the confines

of the San Francisco General offices but to a less

accessible location Brisbane. (EX 72, 74, 154-167,

309, 733).

Plaintiff, being the party opposing motion for

summary judgement with sworn declarations is

entitled to her sworn statements taken as true for

purposes of deciding the motion; the court can not

resolve credibility issues with respect to direct

evidence. McLaughlin v. Liu (9th Cir 1988) 849

F.2d 1205. That court quoted at 1208 with favor

from T. W. Elec. Serv. v. Pacific Electric Con-

tractors Assn. (9th Cir. 1987) 809 F.2d 626,

630-31 as follows:

"... the judge does not weigh con-

flicting evidence with respect to

a disputed material fact....Nor

does the judge make credibility

determinations with respect to

statements made in affidavits,

answers to interrogatories, admis-

sions, or depositions....These

determinations are within the pro-

vince of the fact-finder at trial.

Therefore, at summary judgment,

the judge must view the evidence;

-38-

in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party; if direct evid-

ence produced by the moving party

conflicts with direct evidence

produced by the nonmoving party ,

the judge must assume the truth of

the evidence set forth by the non-

moving party with respect to that

fact."

The single page representation of the employer (Ex

937), the oral representations of her superiors

that she was "fully protected" (EX 15), and the

collective bargaining agreements (Ex 938) estab-

lish the making of a statement on which it was

intended plaintiff would rely, and the evidence

presented by plaintiff demonstrates that she did

so rely on the representations, so that the tri-

able, material issue of estoppel was presented by

plaintiff making the granting of summary judgment

to the employer inappropriate.

Clearly an issue of the employer being

estopped from claiming the right to discriminate

against her based on a decline in business is a

triable issue of fact so that summary judgement

should not have been granted.

SUMMARY JUDGEMENT SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED WHERE A

TRIABLE ISSUE OF FACT IS PRESENTED BY PLAINTIFF

THAT THE EMPLOYERS RELIANCE ON DECLINE IN BUSI-

NESS IS A PRETEXT TO COVER THE DISCRIMINATION

EXERCISED AGAINST PLAINTIFF. WHERE AS HERE

-39-

PLAINTIFF PRODUCES EVIDENCE THAT THE EMPLOYER IS

CONTRACTUALLY BOUND NOT TO DISCHARGE PLAINTIFF

BECAUSE OF ECONOMIC DECLINE, THE EMPLOYER PURPO-

SEFULLY CAUSED THE ECONOMIC DECLINE, WHEN THE

BUSINESS WAS TRANSFERRED BACK TO THE HEADQUART-

ERS BUILDING OF THE SP, IT PROSPERED, PLAINTIFF

IS THE ONLY EMPLOYEE TREATED IN THIS FASHION,

AND NEW, YOUNGER, NON CHINESE EMPLOYEES, WITH

LESS EXPERIENCE THAN PLAINTIFF ARE HIRED TO PER-

FORM THE DUTIES PREVIOUSLY PERFORMED BY PLAIN-

TIFF.

The issue presented here of an employer purpo-

sefully causing an economic decline in aid of a

pianned merger with another railroad, in order to

circumvent a collective bargaining agreement and

using that decline in business as a pretext for

discriminating against an employee appears to be

an issue of first impression. Under California

contract law of offer and acceptance, it appears

evident, that the collective bargaining agreements

involved in the instant matter, to the extent they

provide for the right of the employer to "fur-

lough" employees during a formulated decline in

business (EX 971) or where business is interrupted

by emergencies (EX 962), were intended to concern

themselves only with conditions beyond the employ-

er's control, but the intent and purpose of the

agreement can not be to allow the invocation of

-40-

those provisions when the employer causes the con-

ditions for the very purpose of negating the con-

tractual terms.

The fact that the employees inorder to protect

themselves when these conditions apply must stand

ready to return to work on two weeks notice

further demonstrates the intent and purpose of

these provisions to deal with temporary conditions

of the market not purposefully created by the

employer.

To allow such conduct would be to make a mock-

ery of the collective bargaining process.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GRANTED

DEFENDANT EMPLOYER ON DISCRIMINATION CAUSE OF

ACTION WHEN THERE IS A MATERIAL TRIABLE ISSUE OF

FACT OF VIOLATION OF STATE STATUE PROHIBITING

DISCRIMINATION AGAINST EMPLOYEES BASED ON THEIR

EXERCISE OF RIGHT TO INSTITUTE PROCEEDINGS

CLAIMING DISCRIMINATION

In the instant matter, there is a triable

issue of fact presented of discrimination ~post

discharge of plaintiff because of her exercise of

her right to institute proceedings concerning her

discriminatory discharge. Post termination, she

interviewed for a clerk's position at SP as a new

hiree, was not hired, while numerous jobs of the

-4l1-

categories previously performed by Sieu Mei Tu

with distinction have been created and filled with

new younger workers (EX 733 & 736-738). All other

employees at PFE, including the Union Local Chair-

man, Mr. Balovich, have all been rehired at SP,

given the opportunity of substantial severance pay

benefits or continue employment, or allowed to

retire with full retirement rights to age 65, or

other golden parachute provisions. Sieu Mei Tu is

the only terminated employee who has not received

such benefits. She is the only terminated

employee the employer was contractually obligated

to give "full protection" , being the only

employee on the roster at termination with a

seniority date prior to March 16, 1963 (EX

736-738).

Where the party opposing summary judgment pre-

sents evidence that tends to support her claim, as

here where plaintiff has presented retaliatory

discrimination evidence, summary judgment should

not have been granted. To have done so was a

gross miscarriage of justice.

In Eisenberg v. Insurance Co. of N. Am. (CA

-42-

9th, 1987) 815 F2d 1285, Plaintiff brought an

action against his former employer, an insurance

company alleging retaliatory discharge and fraud.

Defendant employer moved for summary judgment,

claiming that the fraud claim was unfounded and

that other claims were time-barred. In his

response to the motion, Plaintiff asserted that he

had been fired for refusing to violate California

Law. The district court granted summary judgment

for defendants on all claims, ruling that plain-

tiff's response to the motion was conclusory and

thus inadequate. The court of appeals reversed,

holding that summary judgment was improperly

granted.

The court stated at 1290:

"However, termination in retali-

ation...would not constitute dis-

charge for good cause....ICNA

merely asserts that it had good

cause to terminate the Appellant's

employment--namely, considerations

of economy. The Appellant,

however, has adduced his declara-

tion and the memoranda as direct

evidence to contradict this asser-

tion. Since the evidence must be

taken as true, T. W. Electrical at

630-31, the Appellant's breach of

contract claim is not vulnerable

to summary disposition."

-43-

DEFENDANT RAILROADS WERE NOT ENTITLED TO SUMMARY

JUDGMENT ON PLAINTIFFS TORT CLAIMS ON THE BASIS

THAT THE TORT CLAIMS FRAMED IN THE FIRST AND SEC-

OND AMENDED COMPLAINTS ARE MINOR DISPUTES, SO THAT

THE SOLE REMEDY IS ARBITRATION UNDER THE COLLEC-

TIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT.

PLAINTIFF WAS ENTITLED TO PROCEED ON HER CLAIMS

AND WAS NOT LIMITED TO ARBITRATION UNDER THE

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT. FAILURE TO

ALLOW PLAINTIFF TO DO SO WAS A GROSS MISCARRIAGE

OF JUSTICE, AND IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUITS.

In the lower court the railroad defendants

argued that Plaintiffs exclusive remedy on her

tort claims for infliction of mental distress and

discrimination was arbitration under the collec-

tive bargaining agreement within the confines of

administrative action under the RLA and the lower

court so ruled (EX 306). Under the circumstances

of this case, this was patently incorrect. In

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company v.

im Buell, (1987) 107 S. Ct. 1410, 771 F2d 1320

(CA9th opinion) a railroad employee brought an

action in tort for emotional distress arising from

his employment conditions. The railroad filed an

answer, asserting, among other defenses, that the

employees sole remedy was before the NRAB. The

District Court granted summary judgment to the

railroad on this issue. The Ninth Circuit rev-

-44-

ersed, 771 F2d 1320. The Supreme Court on review

stated at 1413:

"Additionally, although the ques-

tion had neither been raised by

the parties, nor addressed by the

District Court, the Court of

‘Appeals proclaimed that a relevant

"issue, one of first impression in

this circuit, is whether a Rail-

road employee's wholly mental

injury stemming from his railroad

employment is compensable under

the [(FELA)." Id, at 1321. The

Court of Appeals concluded that

the FELA does authorize recovery

for emotional injury."

The Supreme Court affirmed the Court of

Appeals in its determination that the RLA does not

preclude actions brought by railway employees

against their employers for emotional injuries.

Id, at 1418. In arriving at its decision, the

Court stated at 1415:

" The court has, on numerous occa-

sions, declined to hold that indi-

vidual employees are, because of

the availability of arbitration,

barred from bringing claims under

federal statutes (citing author-

ity). Although the analysis of the

question under each statute is

quite distinct, the theory running

through these cases is that not-

withstanding the strong policies

encouraging arbitration, "differ-

ent considerations apply where the

employee's claim is based on

-45-

rights arising out of a statute

designed to provide minimum sub-

stantive guarantees to individual

workers." (citing authority)

The principle is instructive on

the question before us. The FELA

not only provides railroad workers

with substantive protection

against negligent conduct that is

independent of the employer's

obligations under its collective-

bargaining agreement, but also

affords injured workers a remedy

suited to their needs, unlike the

limited relief that seems to be

available through the Adjustment

Board. It is inconceivable that

Congress intended that a worker

who suffered a disabling injury

would be denied recovery under the

FELA simply because he might also

be able to process a narrow labor

grievance under the RLA to a

successful conclusion. As then

District Judge K. Skelly Wright

concluded, " the Railway Labor

Act...has no application to a

Claim for damages to the employee

resulting from the negligence of

an employer railroad."

Afortiori, the same must apply to a claim for

damages resulting from the intentional acts of an

employer railroad in discriminating against an

employee in violation of her civil rights.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GRANTED

WHEN PLAINTIFF-OPPOSING PARTY HAS BEEN DENIED

DISCOVERY BY DEFENDANTS AND NONMOVING PARTY

REQUIRES ADDITIONAL TIME FOR DISCOVERY.

Rule 56 (f) provides:

-46-

"Should it appear from the affida-

vits of a party opposing the

motion that the party cannot for

reasons stated present by affida-

vit facts essential to justify the

party's opposition, the court may

refuse the application for judg-

ment or may order a continuance to

permit affidavits to be obtained

or depositions to be taken or dis-

covery to be had or may make such

other order as is just."

In the instant matter, plaintiff demon-

strated that defendants had prevented plaintiff

from procuring discovery and advised the lower

court of plaintiff's need to conduct discovery to

meet the motions for summary judgment and dismis-

sal (EX 694). It was a gross abuse of discretion,

and a gross miscarriage of justice for the trial-

court to proceed to judgment without plaintiff

being given an order requiring the defendants to

respond to the demands for discovery and for the

Court of Appeal not to return the case to the

trial court for further discovery. 6 Part 2

Moore's Federal Practice 56-304

SUMMARY JUDGMENT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GRANTED TO

UNION DEFENDANTS. WHERE AS HERE THE UNION

FAILED TO PERFORM PROCEDURAL OR MINISTERIAL ACTS

WITHOUT ANY RATIONAL OR PROPER BASIS FOR THE

UNION'S CONDUCT REFLECTING A RECKLESS DISREGARD

FOR THE RIGHTS OF THE INDIVIDUAL EMPLOYEE SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN GRANTED

-47-

The standard for finding a breach of the duty

of fair representation by a union is whether the

union's conduct is arbitrary, discriminatory, or

in bad faith. Vaca v. Sipes 386 U>S> 171, 190,

Peterson v. Kennedy, (CA 9th 1985) 771 F. 2a 1244,

Cert. denied 0.8. , £06 8. Ce. i662

(1986). In the context of a grievance this stan-

dard prohibits a union from ignoring a meritorious

grievance or processing that grievance perfuncto-

rily. Galindo v. Stoody Co., (CA 9th 1986) 793

F.2d 1502.

In the instant matter the record demonstrates

that the Union failed to perform the procedural

act of advising the arbitrator of Sieu Mei Tu's

claim of discrimination in her discharge, nor of

her claim of discrimination in retaliation for her

having exercised her right to claim discrimina-

tion, nor her claim of exemption from the decline

in business exception under the collective bar-

gaining agreement. Since the Union failed to

consult with her attorney, investigate the claim

made by Sieu Mei Tu, or take any action to resolve

her dispute with her employer concerning her

-48-

individual situation, they engaged in a reckless

disregard for the rights of Sieu Mei Tu and the

granting of summary judgement to the union

denying Sieu Mei Tu to her precious rights to

discovery and trial by jury was a gross miscar-

riage of justice.

The Union made no claim it made a judgmental

decision not to present all Sieu Mei Tu's claims.

It's failure to do so was a procedural and/or

ministerial act, not involving an exercise of

judgment, were there was no rational or proper

basis for the union's conduct.

The Union Defendant, undertook to represent

the interests of the Plaintiff Sieu Mei Tu, a menm-

ber of the union, in the administrative resolution

of the matter of her claim for the Railroads

wrongful and tortious breach of the collective

bargaining contract of employment. In breach of

its obligation of fair representation, the union

failed to present any evidence to support plain-

tiffs claims of discrimination in termination,

discrimination in rehiring in retaliation for

bringing discrimination claim, exemption from dec-

-49-

line in business provisions for furloughing under

the collective bargaining agreement.

In the leading case of Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S.

171 (1967), the Supreme Court held that the duty

of fair representation could be enforced in a

damage action by an employee against a union.

That court granted to the union wide discretion in

making the decision whether to take a grievance to

arbitration, but provided that if the union does

process the grievance it may not arbitrarily

ignore a meritorious grievance or process in a

perfunctory fashion. In Vaca supra at 191 the

court stated:

"... we accept the proposition

that a union may not arbitrarily

ignore a meritorious grievance or

process RA in perfunctory

fashion...."

In Wise v. Southern Pacific Co. (1963) 223 CA2d

50; 35 C.R. 652, held that a railroad employee may

bring and maintain a common-law or, where a state

so provides, statutory action for damages for his

wrongful discharge from employment in breach of a

collective bargaining agreement, and is not barred

from doing so by the Railway Labor Act. This view

-50-

was confirmed by the California Supreme Court in

Wise v. Southern Pac. Co., 1 C3d 600; 83 CR 202;

at 603. See also Shaw _v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer,

Inc., (1974) 37 CA 3D 587, 597; 113 CR 617.

In the instant action, Union decided to pro-

cess administratively Plaintiff's claim for wrong-

ful termination. However in processing that claim

Union acted in an arbitrary, prejudicial, perfunc-

tory manner in that Plaintiff's Union failed among

other things to perform the procedural and mini-

sterial duties of presenting evidence at the arbi-

tration hearing held in regard to the claims of

plaintiff, did not confer with the Plaintiff or

her attorney concerning her claims, failed to make

any claim of discrimination on behalf of Plain-

tiff, failed to protect her from retaliation by

reason of the claims she made personally, and pro-

cedurally failed to advise the arbitrator the

application of decline in business to Plaintiff's

"furlough" was inappropriate despite the inapplic-

ability of that provision to her by reason of her

seniority. (EX 602)

Union failed to act from a conflict of inter-

-51-

est, in that at the time it was suppose to be

fairly representing Plaintiff it was acting in its

own self interest seeking to purchase Defendant

SP, and simultaneously seeking to become the bar-

gaining unit for any combined railroad in the

event the pending sale to Santa Fe or some other

railroad was ultimately approved. (EX 189-193, 884)

Rule 56 Rules of Civil Procedure does not per-

mit entry of summary judgment, where there are, as

here, genuine material issues of fact. In Traylor

v. Black, Sivalls & Bryson, (CA 8th, 1951) 189 F2a

213, at 216, the court stated the rule as follows: ~

"A summary judgment upon motion

therefor by a defendant in an

action should never be entered

except where the defendant is

entitled to its allowance beyond

all doubt. To warrant its entry

the facts conceded by the plain-

tiff, or demonstrated beyond rea-

sonable question to exist, should

show the right of the defendant to

a judgment with such clarity as to

leave no room for controversy, and

they should show affirmatively

that the plaintiff would not be

entitled to recover under any dis-

cernible circumstances....A sum-

mary judgment is an extreme

remedy, and under the rule, should

be awarded only when the truth is

quite clear....And all reasonable

doubts touching the existence of a

genuine issue as to a material

-52-

fact must be resolved against the

party moving for summary judg-

ment."

See also Lane Bryant v. Maternity Lane, Ltd. of

California, (CA9th 1949)173 F2d 559;Lew_v. Kona

Hospital, (CA9th, 1985) 754 F2d 1420; Eisenberg v.

Insurance Co. of North America (CA9th, 1987) 815

F2d 1285.

THE RAILROAD DEFENDANTS SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN DIS-

MISSED FROM THE ACTION

In reviewing orders of dismissal, the court of

appeals must view the evidence most favorable to

the plaintiff, and plaintiff was entitled to the

benefit of all inferences that may be reasonably

drawn from the evidence presented. Reimche v.

First Nat. Bank of Nevada, (CA 9 1975) %12 F2d

187. The failure of the Ninth Circuit to grant

Plaintiff the benefit of those inferences resul-

ted in a gross miscarriage of justice.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT WAS NOT GRANTED ON THE FIRST

AMENDED COMPLAINT ON PLAINTIFF'S CAUSES OF

ACTION FOR INTENTIONAL AND/OR NEGLIGENT INFLIC-

TION OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS, CONSPIRACY, BREACH

OF CONTRACT OF EMPLOYMENT, BREACH OF GOOD FAITH

AND FAIR DEALING CONSPIRACY NOR ON ANY CAUSES OF

ACTION AGAINST RAILROAD DEFENDANTS, YET THE

DISTRICT COURT DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE THE

ENTIRE SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT WHICH HAD BEEN

SERVED ON ALL RAILROAD DEFENDANTS AND UNION

=-53<

DEFENDANTS AND THE COURT OF APPEAL SUSTAINED

THAT ACTION, RESULTING IN A GROSS MISCARRIAGE

OF JUSTICE

The District Court by its order of May 3,

1989, (EX 915) directed Plaintiffs to file an

amended complaint by June 2, 1989. Plaintiffs

complied by filing a Second Amended Complaint (EX

919). All railroad and all Union defendants were

served by mail (EX 1129). None of the Railroad

defendants responded in any fashion to the Second

Amended Complaint.

Defendant Union filed a motion to strike

causes of action one through five, seven, and

eight, and moved for summary judgment as to the

sixth cause of action

The District Court incorrectly ruled:

"Since only '‘'Doe' defendants

remain in the action, this Court

DISMISSES plaintiffs' second

amended complaint WITH PREJUDICE."

(EX 1143)

All parties who have appeared in an action

remain in the action until a final judgment is

rendered. In this action, when the Second Amended

Complaint was filed and served, there was no final

judgment. Therefore the District Court's position

-54-

that only doe defendants remained was grossly in

error, and its ruling dismissing the Second

Amended Complaint was a gross abuse of discretion

resulting in a gross miscarriage of justice,

necessitating the Court of Appeal to remand the

state causes of action to the Superior Court of

the State California, in and for the City and

County of San Francisco, and the federal causes of

action to the District Court for jury trial

against all defendants. Dayton Board of Education

v. Brinkman (1977) 433 US 406.

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT ANSWERED COURTS BASIS

THAT FOR VIOLATION OF 49 USC 11347 MUST FIRST GO

TO ICC. SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT ALLEGED THAT

PROCEEDINGS WERE COMMENCED BEFORE ICC AND ICC

AUTHORIZED INDIVIDUAL EMPLOYEES TO PROCEED WITH

CIVIL REMEDIES, THEREFOR DISMISSAL OF SECOND

AMENDED COMPLAINT WAS A GROSS ABUSE OF DISCRETION

By its order dated June 30, 1988 (EX 305), the

District Court dismissed Plaintiff's fifth cause

of action for conspiracy and violation of 49 USC

11347, as follows:

"Insofar as a private cause of

action might exist for termination

due to the aborted merger, this

court concludes that it is not the

proper forum for an initial deter-

mination of this matter. The

Interstate Commerce Commission is

the appropriate agency for an

-55-

initial determination of any

Claimed violation of 49 U.S.C.

$11347, which provides’ for

employee protection in any rail

carrier merger." (EX 305)

Thereafter, by order of court, a Second Amended

Complaint was filed (EX 919). In that verified

Second Amended Complaint, plaintiff set forth the

decision of the ICC (Ex 1124), which provided that -

ICC would not proceed with determination of the

Claims of the individual employees under 49 USC

11347. The District Court then proceeded sua

sponte to dismiss the Second Amended Complaint.

This action was a gross abuse of discretion and

grievous error, causing plaintiff to be denied a

fair hearing on her claim, and a gross miscar-

riage of justice. The failure of the Court of

Appeal to remand and direct the lower court to

proceed to trial again resulted in the denial of

a fair hearing to Sieu Mei Tu, and was a gross

miscarriage of justice.

IT WAS GROSS ABUSE OF DISCRETION AND GRIEVOUS

ERROR, WHICH DENIED PLAINTIFF A FAIR HEARING FOR

THE DISTRICT COURT TO REFUSE PLAINTIFFS MOTION TO

REMAND THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT TO STATE COURT

When the trial court grossly abuses its dis-

-56-

\

cretion and or commits grievous error, so as to

deny plaintiff a fair hearing on her claim, the

reviewing court must remand and direct the lower

court. Dayton Board of Education v. Brinkman

The failure of the Court of Appeal to do so

was in conflict with decisions of other circuits

and a gross miscarriage of justice.

THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT WELL PLED STATE COURT

CAUSES OF ACTION, IT WAS FILED IN THE STATE COURT

AND WRONGFULLY REMOVED TO THE DISTRICT COURT. ON

PLAINTIFFS MOTION TO REMAND BACK TO THE STATE

COURT IT WAS GROSS ERROR NOT TO DO SO.

Plaintiffs' complaint in this matter alleges

various tortious causes of action based on neglig-

ent and or intentional bad faith, unfair, oppres-

sive, fraudulent and malicious termination of

plaintiff Sieu Mei Tu's long standing employment

by Defendant Pacific Fruit Express, in violation

of laws of the State of California. The Complaint

sought special damages; general damages for emo-

tional distress; and punitive damages.

The question of whether the federal district

court had jurisdiction of the subject matter of

the complaint (ie the nature of the action) which

had been removed from the state court, was

=-57=

required to be answered under California law.

Electronic Race Patrol, Inc. (D.C.N.Y. 1961) 191

F. Supp. 364. Removal statutes are strictly con-

structed in favor of state court jurisdiction.

Strange v. Arkansas-Oklahoma Gas Corp. (D. C. Ark.

1981) 534 F. Supp. 138. Removal statutes are to be

strictly construed against removal and in favor of

remand. Heatherton v. Playboy. Inc. (D.C. Cal

1973) 60 F.R.D. 372.

28 USCA 1445 (a) provides:

"A civil action in any State court

against a railroad...arising under

sections 51-60 of Title 45, may

not be removed to any district

court of the United States."

45 USCA 51 provides:

"Every common carrier by railroad

while engaging in commerce between

any of the several states ...shall

be liable in damages to any person

suffering injury while he is

employed by such carrier in such

commerce....

The complaint in this matter was brought by two

plaintiffs. All of the causes of action of the

complaint were actions under state law, involving

issues of grave concern to the State of Cali-

fornia and deeply rooted in its legal system.

-58-

Plaintiffs neither alleged nor relied on the Rail-

way Labor Act. All causes of action were pled

under state law. The complaint was properly filed

in state court and the issues raised should have

been tried in state court. The Railway Labor Act

does not preempt plaintiffs' state court actions.

In Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, (107 S.Ct.

2425 (1987), the United States Supreme Court by

Justice Brennan held that where former employees

brought action against former employer for breach

of individual employment contracts, the action was

removed, and the United States District Court for

the Northern District of California, Charles A.

Legge, J., denied motion to remand , and dis-

missed, the Supreme Court ruled on basis that (1)

complaint asserting breach of individual employ-

ment contracts was not completely preempted by

federal labor law, and (2) fact that employer

raised defense that individual contracts were sup-

erseded by subsequent collective bargaining agree-

ment, and thus preempted by federal labor law, did

not establish that employees claims were remov-

able.

-59-

The court stated at 2429:

"Only state court actions that

originally could have been filed

in federal court may be removed to

federal court by the defendant.

Absent diversity of citizenship,

federal question jurisdiction is

required. The presence or absence

of federal-question jurisdiction

is governed by the “well-pleaded

complaint rule," which provides

that federal jurisdiction exists

only when a federal question is

presented on the face of plain-

tiff's properly pleaded complaint.

See Gully v. First National Bank,

~- 299 U.S. 109, 112°113, S7 S.Ct.

96, 97-98, 81 L.Ed. 70 (1936). The

rule makes the plaintiff the mas-

ter of the claim; he or she may

avoid federal jurisdiction by

exclusive reliance on state law.

In the instant matter the common law agree-

ment is subsequent to the collective bargaining

unit and is magnificently simple in its applica-

tion. (EX 15) It provides that in addition to

her rights under the collective bargaining agree-

ment, “even if her present position were to be

eliminated, we would find some other position for

her to hold...." This does not require interpreta-

tion or application of the collective-bargaining

agreement. It presents a simple contract right

between two contracting parties, easily under-

-60-

stood, and applied. It presents no federal

issues. The tort claims alleged also presented

state court causes of action which should not have

been removed and should have been remanded by the

Ninth District Court of Appeal. Failure to do so

was a departure so far from the accepted and usual

course of justice as to call on this Court's power

of supervision, to prevent a gross miscarriage of

justice, and conflict between the circuits.

In Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, supra, the

court points out, at 2431:

",... %aindividual employment con-

tracts are not inevitably supers-

eded by any subsequent collective

agreement, covering an individual

employee, and claims based upon

them may arise under state law.

Caterpillar's basic error is its

failure to recognize that a plain-

tiff covered by a collective-

bargaining agreement is permitted

to assert legal rights independent

of that agreement, including sta-

te-law contract rights, so long as

the contract relied upon is not a

collective bargaining agreement.

(citing authority) Caterpillar

impermissibly attempts to create

the prerequisites to removal by

ignoring the set of facts (i.e.

the individual employment con-

tracts) presented by respondents,

along with their legal characteri-

zation of those facts, and arguing

that here are different facts

-61-

respondents might have alleged

that would have constituted a fed-

eral claim. In sum, Caterpillar

does not seek to point out that

the contract relied upon by

respondents is in fact a collec- d

tive agreement; rather it attempts ;

to justify removal on the basis of

facts not alleged in the con-

plaint. The “artful pleading"

doctrine cannot be invoked in such

circumstances.

The court specifically states at 2427:

" The presence or absence of fed-

eral-question jurisdiction is gov-

erned by the "well-pleaded com-

plaint rule," which provides that

federal jurisdiction exists only

when a federal question is pres-

ented on the face of the plain-

tiff's properly pleaded complaint.

(citing authority) The rule makes

the plaintiff the master of the

claim; he or she may avoid federal

jurisdiction by exclusive reliance

on state law."

Again the court in Caterpillar at 2430 states:

"Caterpillar assets that respond-

ents' state-law contract claims

are in reality completely

pre-empted Section 301 claims,

which therefore arise under fed-

eral law. We disagree. Section

301 governs claims founded

directly on rights created by col- é

lective-bargaining agreements, and :

also claims "substantially gaining ;

dependent on analysis of a collec- 4

tive bargaining agreement." (Cit-

ing authorities). Respondents :

alleged that Caterpillar had ent- f

ered in and breached individual j

employment contracts with then.

4

-62-

Section 301 says nothing about the

content or validity of individual

employment contracts. It is true

that respondents, bargaining unit

members at the time of the plant

closing, possessed substantial

rights under the collective agree-

ment, and could have brought suit

under Section 301. As masters of

the complaint, however, they chose

not to do so.

The court goes on to hold that the Respondents

Claims do not arise under federal law and there-

fore may not be removed to federal court. The

court also points out that the defendants can not

interject a federal question into an action in

order to raise a federal issue and defeat plain-

tiffs state court actions. (Caterpillar at 2433).

THE DEFENDANTS ALLEGED IN THE DISTRICT COURT

THAT SIEU MEI TU'S EMPLOYER WAS A CARRIER FOR

PURPOSES OF REMAND TO THE FEDERAL COURT FROM THE

STATE COURT, AND ARGUED IN THE DISTRICT COURT

AND NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEAL THAT PLAIN-

TIFFS EXCLUSIVE REMEDY ON HER CONSPIRACY CLAIM

WAS BEFORE THE ICC, BECAUSE HER EMPLOYER WAS A

CARRIER, AND THEN ARGUED BEFORE THE ICC THAT

PLAINTIFF SIEU MEI TU HAD NO RIGHT TO LITIGATE

ANY ASPECT OF HER TERMINATION BEFORE THE ICC

BECAUSE HER EMPLOYER WAS NOT A CARRIER. THIS

RESULTED IN A GROSS MISCARRIAGE OF JUSTICE.

These inconsistent and incorrect arguments of

counsel as set out above are attached as excerpts

in the appendix to this petition. As officers of

the court, the attorneys for the employers have

-63-

misused their privilege and caused a gross miscar-

riage of justice to occur, denying Plaintiff her

right to a jury trial and full discovery. This

conduct attacks the integrity of the judicial pro-

cess and militates the supervision of this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner

respectfully prays that its petition for a writ of

certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

titioners

Mei Tu and Joseph Z. Tu

60485

Sunnyvale, California 94086

(415) 691-9331

Dated: December 21, 1992

-64-

(k) APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Memorandum, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Filed June l, 1992 67

Order Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

Filed September 22, 1992 an4

United States District Court

Northern District of California

Order Denying Motion to Remand

Filed October 9, 1987 112

Order filed April 6, 1988 114

Order filed June 30, 1988 117

Order Granting Defendants' Motions for

Summary Judgment and Denying Defen-

dants' Motion to Disqualify

Filed February 6, 1989 126

Judgment filed February 6, 1989 142

Order filed May 3, 1989 143

Order Granting Defendant's Motion for

Summary Judgment filed August 14, 1989

151

Judgment filed August 14, 1989 165

Interstate Commerce Commission

Decision June 12, 1992 169

Decision December 3. 1992 166

RLA Arbitration 180

Opinion and Award (Transfer of work-

separation allowance) Dated November 30, 1987

180

-65-

Docket United States District Court Northern

District of California Docket 87-1198

1 8 9

Constitutional Provisions, Treaties, Statutes,

Rules and Regulations 209

-66-

FILED

JUN 1 1992

CATHY A CATTERSON, CLERK

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH Z. TU,

Plaintiffs/appellants/

Cross-appellees,

CA Nos. 89-16186, 89-16292

V. DC No. CV-&7-1198-DLJ

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION CO.,) PACIFIC

FRUIT EXPRESS CO., ATCHISON;) TOPEKA, SANTA FE

RAILROAD CO., SANTA FE SOUTHERN PACIFIC CORP.,

and BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY,AIRLINE, AND STEAM-

SHIP CLERKS,

MEMORANDUM

Defendants/appellees/ Cross-appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Northern District of California

-67-

D. Lowell Jensen, District Judge, Presiding ©

Argued and Submitted September 12, 1991

San Francisco, California

BEFORE: CANBY and KOZINSKI, Circuit Judges, and

CARROLL**, District Judge

*This disposition is not appropriate for publica-—

tion and may not be cited to or by the courts of

this circuit except as provided by 9th Cir. R.

36-3. **The Honorable Earl H. Carroll, United

States District Judge for the District of Arizona,

sitting by designation.

OVERVIEW

Plaintiffs Sieu Mei Tu and Joseph Z. Tu, her hus-

band, appeal from the District Court's orders

denying plaintiffs' motion to remand, and granting

defendants' motions to dismiss and motions for

summary judgment. Defendant Brotherhood of Rail-

way, Airline and Steamship Clerks cross appeals.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

In May, 1962, Sieu Mei Tu ("Tu" or "plaintiff"), a

woman of Chinese Ancestry who is now 64 years old,

began working in various clerical positions for

-68-

Pacific Fruit Express Company ("PFE"), a wholly-

owned subsidiary of Southern Pacific Transporta-

tion Company ("SP"). Plaintiff was a member of the

Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship

Clerks ("Union").1 When PFE merged with SP in

1985, the plaintiff was furloughed from her posi-

tion. The Union filed a grievance on August 15,

1985, alleging that the collective bargaining

agreement prohibited the company from laying off

plaintiff and seven other clerical workers without

payment of certain sums. On November 30, 1987, the

arbitrator held against the Union, holding that

the employer had a right under the collective bar-

gaining agreement to lay off the clerks due to the

decline in business experienced by PFE.

Before the case went to arbitration, the plaintiff

filed a charge of discrimination tiff filed a

charge of discrimination with the California

Department of Fair

Effective September 1, 1987, the Union changed its

name to Transportation Communications _Interna-

tional Union.

Employment and Housing ("DFEH"), alleging discri-

-69-

mination on the basis of race, sex or age. Pur-

suant to her right-to-sue letter from DFEH, plain-

tiff filed a lawsuit on September 26, 1986, in the

San Francisco County Superior Court against PFE,

SP, the Atchison, Topeka, Santa Fe Railroad Com-

pany ("ATSF"), Santa Fe Southern Pacific Corp.

("SFSP"), various individuals, and Doe corpora-

tions. The plaintiff's complaint alleged two

counts of wrongful termination, violation of good

faith and fair dealing, violations of 42 U.S.C. SS

1981, 1983, 1985, California Code S 12900, et.

seq., and California Public-Utilities Code Ss

453(a), conspiracy, and loss of consortium. The

action was removed to the United States District

Court for the Northern District of California on

March 20, 1987. The plaintiff moved to remand the

action to state court, which was denied

-70-

denied by the Honorable D. Lowell Jensen on

October 13, 1987. The District Court ruled that

federal jurisdiction existed due to the plain-

tiff's membership in a union whose conditions of

employment were governed by a collective bar-

gaining agreement negotiated pursuant to the

Railway Labor Act ("RLA"). 45 U.S.C. S 151, et.

seq.

Defendants SP and PFE thereafter moved to dis-

miss the complaint. On April 6, 1988, the Dis-

trict Court did so, agreeing with the defendants

that the wrongful termination claims and breach

of good faith and fair dealing claim were "minor

isputes"

2 As only the consortium claim involves plain-

tiff Joseph Tu, the singular "plaintiff", will

be used throughout this disposition.

within the meaning of the RLA and must thus be

referred to the National Railroad Adjustment

Board ("NRAB") for mandatory arbitration. The

Court declined to exercise pendent jurisdiction

over the state discrimination claims and consor-

“al ae eae eS) Pi ee Oe

tium claim.3 The plaintiff was given leave to

amend the complaint within 30 days in order to

-7i-

state a federal claim.

The plaintiff filed her First Amended Complaint on

may 2, 1988, again alleging wrongful termination,

breach of good faith and fair dealing, violations

of 42 U.S.C. SS 1981, 1983, 1985, California Gov-

ernment Code S 12900, et. seq., and California

Public Utilities Code S 453(a), conspiracy, and

loss of consortium. The plaintiff added a claim

against the Union for breach of fair representa-

tion. On July 1, 1988, upon motion by defendants,

the District Court dismissed defendant ATSF and

SFSP pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 4(j), for

plaintiff's failure to timely serve. Further, the

District Court again dismissed Counts 1 - 3

alleging wrongful termination and breach of good

faith and fair dealing, and Count 7 for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress, as "mi-

nor disputes" subject to mandatory arbitration.

The Court further dismissed Count 5, alleging

conspiracy of all defendants to merge SP with

ATSF and cease operations of PFE in order to

avoid their contractual responsibilities to

-72-

plaintiff, holding that the ICC was the proper

forum for the initial determination of viola-

tions

3 The District Court did not address the claims

for violations of 42 U.S.C. SS 1981, 1983 and

1985, or the conspiracy count.

of 49 U.S.C. S 11347. Finally, the Court dismissed

the claim against the Union for failing to file

within the applicable statute of limitations. Two

counts remained: the District Court exercised

pendent jurisdiction over plaintiff's claim for

discrimination and plaintiff Joseph Tu's claim for

loss of consortium against defendants SP and PFE;

the Court construed the claims as state claims for

discrimination.4 On January 5, 1989, defendants

PFE and SP filed a motion for summary judgment

which was granted on February 6, 1989. The Court

held that although the plaintiff had established a

orina-facie case of employment discrimination, the

defendants had introduced substantial proof of a

nondiscriminatory, legitimate reason for her fur-

lough, that is, that PFE had experienced economic

decline and the plaintiff's position was not

needed at SP when PFE'S business was transferred

to the parent company. Further, the plaintiff had

-73-

not introduced sufficient evidence to satisfy her

burden of showing that the defendants, asserted

nondiscriminatory reason was pretextual. Because

Joseph Tu's claim for loss of consortium was

wholly reliant on the success of plaintiff Sieu

Tu's claims, that claim was dismissed. Judgment

was entered on February 8, 1989. The plaintiff

thereafter moved for reconsideration. On May 5,

1989, the Court denied the motion for reconsidera-

tion

4The District Court did not explain why it did

not address the claims under 42 U.S.C. SS 1981,

1983, and 1985, although the plaintiff does not

challenge this decision, presumably because the

plaintiff seeks to remand the action.

regarding summary judgment to defendants SP and

PFE, but granted the motion for reconsideration

as to the Union. The Union appeals this ruling.

The plaintiff filed a Second Amended Complaint

on June 2, 1969, again alleging wrongful termi-

nation, breach of good faith and fair dealing,

violations of 42 U.S.C. SS 1981, 1983, 1985,

California Government Code S 12900, et. seq.,

and California Public Utilities Code S 453(a),

conspiracy, loss of consortium, and breach of

-74-

fair representation by the Union. The Union

responded to the second Amended complaint by

filing a motion for summary judgment. The Dis-

trict Court granted that motion on August 14,

1989, holding that the plaintiff had made no

evidentiary showing that the Union's actions

were discriminatory or taken in bad faith. The

Court also dismissed the individual union offi-

cials, which is not challenged by the plaintiff

o.6€°”nn a p peai@il =.

Plaintiff appeals the denial of her motion to

remand to state court, the dismissal of defen-

dants ATSF and SFSP for plaintiff's failure to

timely serve under Fed.R.Civ.P., Rule 4(j), the

dismissal of plaintiff's claims of conspiracy

and intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress, the denial of her request for more time

for discovery, and the granting of summary

judgment in favor of defendants SP; PFE and the

Union.

The Union appeals the District Court's finding

that the statute of limitations for plaintiff's

breach of fair representation claim had not

-75-

lapsed.

DISCUSSION

(1) Denial Of Plaintiff's motion to remand

The denial of a motion to remand to state court

is reviewed de novo. Chmiel v. Beverly Wilshire

Hotel Co., 873 F.2d 1283, 1285 (9th Cir. 1989).

Under the well-pleaded complaint rule, federal

jurisdiction exists only if a federal question

is presented on the face of a complaint. Cater-

pillar. Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 107

S.Ct. 2425, 2428, 96 L.ed.2d 318 (1987). A case

may not be removed based on a defense unless an

area of state law has been completely preempted,

-75A-

-76=

and the claim is therefore considered as arising

under federal law. Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v.

Construction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S.

1, 24, 103 8.Ct. 2841, 2853, 77 L.ed.2a 420

(1983). Plaintiff first argues that all causes

of action were pled under state law and that the

District Court erred in failing to remand the

suit. In point of fact, Count 4 of the original

complaint alleges violations of 42 U.S.C. SS

1981, 1983 and 1985. The District Court denied

the plaintiff's motion to remand, holding that

the state law claims constituted "minor dis-

putes" under the RLA, 45 U.S.C. S 151, et sea.

If plaintiff's claims are characterized as

"minor disputes" within the meaning of the RLA,

state law is preempted and her exclusive remedy

is under the RLA. Andrews v. Louisville &

N.R.CO., 406 U.S. 320, 92 S.Ct. 1562, 32 L.ed.2d

95 (1972). If the defendants, actions are "“argu-

ably" governed by the collective bargaining

agreement or have a "not obviously insubstan-

tial" relationship to the contract, the dispute

is "minor" and governed by the RLA. Magnuson v.

-76-

Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 P.2d 13671

1369-70 (9th Cir.), cert. denied 439 U.S. 930;

99 §.Ct. 318, 58 L.ed.2d 323 (1978). Alterna-

tively, "minor" disputes involve the "“interpre-

tation or application of collective bargaining

agreements".1 Edelman v. Western Airlines,

Inc., 892 F.2d 8391 843 (9th Cir. 1989). The

plaintiff argues that reference to the collec-

tive bargaining agreement is unnecessary, and

that the action-can therefore be decided under

state law. Plaintiff contends that she and her

employer have a “common law agreement" arising

out of a letter written on December 18, 19781 by

plaintiff's employer in order to assist Mrs. Tu

in her father's immigration to the United

States. The letter states:

Mrs. Tu was employed by this com-

pany on may 31, 1962 and has

worked continuously for us from

that date. Her position with this

company is not only permanent in

nature but she also is, under our

contract with the Brotherhood of

Railway, Airline a Steamship

Clerks, "fully protected" sc that

in the unlikely event we were not

to have a job for her, she would

continue to be paid under that

contract until she reaches age 65

and can retire under the provi-

a ee

sions of Railroad Retirement Act

and receive the appropriate pen-

sion therefrom... She is, and has

always been, a valued employee and

even if her present position were

to be eliminated, we would find

some other position for her to

hold as we would not want to lose

her services.

The letter on which plaintiff bases her claims

refers to the collective bargaining agreement as

the source by which the plaintiff is "fully pro-

tected". Further, plaintiff's complaint-

alleges that certain promises were implied lby

said defendant's contract with plaintiff's bar-

gaining agent., and that plaintiff is la benefi-

ciary of contract of employment entered into

between defendant PFE and defendant [Union]}.,

Reference to the collective bargaining agreement

in the complaint and reliance on the contract

through the grievance process brings the com-

plaint within federal preemption. Newberry v.

Pacific Racing Ass'n, 854 F.2d 1142, 1147 (9th

Cir. 1988).5

While plaintiff cites Caterpillar, Inc., supra,

for the contention that remand is required where

an employee alleges breach of an individual

-78-

employment contract, in Caterpillar the

employees relied on contracts made while they

were salaried employees not covered by a collec-

tive bargaining agreement. Here, the plaintiff

was covered by the collective bargaining agree-

ment at all relevant times. In addition, "any

independent agreement of employment could be

effective only as part of the collective bar-

gaining agreement." Stallcop v. Kaiser Founda-~

tion Hospitals, 820 F.2d 1044; 1048 (9th Cir.

1987). citing Olgguin v. Inspiration Consol. Cop-

per Co., 740 F.2d 1468, 1474 (9th Cir. 1984).

Thus, plaintiff's claims are "arguably", governed

by the collective bargaining agreement and have a

"not obviously insubstantial"

5In Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef,

Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 108 S.Ct. 1877, 1885, 100

L.ed.2d 410 (1988), the Supreme Court held that

state law is preempted by S 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947 “only if such

application requires the interpretation of a

collective-bargaining agreement.1 The Court in

Newberry, 854 F.2d at 1147, determined that

reference to the collective bargaining agreement

in the complaint and reliance on the grievance

process required interpretation of the collec-

tive bargaining agreement.

relationship to the contract. The plaintiff also

argues that under 28 U.S.C. S 1445(a), all civil

-79-

actions against a railroad arising under the

Federal Employer's Liability Act ("FELA"), 45

U.S.C. ss 51-60, are not removable. However, the

plaintiff has not alleged a claim under FELA.

The District Court properly denied the plain-

tiff's motion to remand, and this Court has

jurisdiction pursuant to 45 U.S.C. S 151, et seq

(2) Dismissal of defendants ATSF and SFSP for

Plaintiff's failure to timely serve under

Fed.R.Civ.P., Rule 4(3)

This Court reviews a dismissal of a complaint

pursuant to Rule 4(j) for abuse of discretion.

Wei v. State of Hawaii, 763 F.2d 370 (9th Cir.

1985).

On July 1, 1988; the District Court dismissed

defendants ATSF and SFSP for plaintiff's failure

to serve the defendants within 120 days, finding

that plaintiff had not demonstrated good cause

for her failure to do so.

Plaintiff first argues that the District Court in

fact gave her an extension of time to serve defen-

dants ATSF and SFSP, based on the following collo-

quy during the hearing on the motion to remand:

-80-

THE COURT: I think we also ought to sche-

dule a status conference on this

matter for about 60 days. Could

you give us a date in November?

MR. KUBBY [plaintiff's counsel}:

Your honor, if it's going to be

necessary to serve all of the

other defendants, I wonder if 60

days ...

THE COURT: Maybe we'll give you

some more time than that. There

isn't any real reason to have it

earlier. Let's put it on December

16th. That will be at 9:00 o'clock

and we'll review where we are at

that time. In the meantime you can

discuss this issue among your-

selves.

This language -- ambiguous at best -- does not

clearly indicate that the District Court

extended the time for service. Further, the

plaintiff did not raise this issue before the

District Court, and Rule 46 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure provides that a party Ishould

make{] known to the court the action which the

party desires the court to take or the party's

objection to the action of the court and the

grounds therefor... I The limited exceptions to

the general rule that failure to raise an issue

in the trial court will prevent review include,

-81-

(1) when review is necessary to prevent a mis-

carriage of justice or to preserve the integrity

of the judicial process, (2) when a change in

law raises a new issue while an appeal is pend-

ing, and (3) when the issue is purely one of

law. Javanovich v. United States, 813 F.2d 1035,

1037 (9th Cir. 1987). citing Bolker v. Commis-

sioner of Internal Revenue, 760 P.2d 1039, 1042

(9th Cir. 1985). Plaintiff does not argue the

applicability of these exceptions, and none of

these factors militates in favor of their appli-

cation. Plaintiff cannot therefore argue on

appeal that the District Court extended the time

period for service.

Next, plaintiff argues that she showed good cause

for her failure to serve defendants. Plaintiff has

the burden of showing good cause. Geiger v. Allen,

850 F.2d 330 (7th Cir. 1988); Townsel v. Contra

Costa County, CA, 820 F.2d 319, 320 (9th Cir.

First, plaintiff contends that she purposefully

did not serve ATSF and SFSP due to defendant SP's

request that plaintiff delay service on those

=-82-

defendants in order to facilitate settlement.

However, plaintiff cites nothing in the record to

support this contention.6 Second, plaintiff argues

that she had good cause to believe that the case

would be remanded to the California state court,

where three years is allowed for service. However,

given that plaintiff's complaint alleged viola-

tions of federal statutes, including 42 U.S.C. SS

1981, 1983, and 1985, and explicitly referred to

plaintiff's "bargaining agent" thus implicating

the collective bargaining agreement, plaintiff's

belief that the case would be remanded was unrea-

sonable, and not good cause for failure to serve

the remaining defendants in the case.

The plaintiff also argues that the District

Court's dismissal of defendants ATSF and SFSP only

applied to the original complaint, as the first

amended complaint had been served by the date of

the dismissal. However, this argument was raised

in plaintiff's reply brief, and an appellant "can-

not raise a new issue for the first time in {her}

reply brief." Eberle v. City of Anaheim, 901 F.2d

814, 818 (9th Cir. 1988). Moreover, the

-83-

6Plaintiff cites Kraus v. Santa Fe Southern

Pacific Corp., 878 F.2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1989),

for the contention that SP's request not to

serve ATSF and SFSP was in fact the request of

ATSF and Santa Fe. In Kraus, this Court had

recited evidence introduced at trial that all

non-rail operations between SFSP and SP had been

merged. However, plaintiff cites no authority

for her argument that SP's request not to serve

the other defendants should be attributed to the

other defendants.

District Court's order dismissed the first

amended complaint. Plaintiff also contends that

the District Court erred by dismissing the sec-

ond amended complaint, contending that the fil-

ing of the second amended complaint brought all

defendants who had been previously dismissed

back into the lawsuit. The plaintiff argues,

"All parties who have appeared in an action

remain in the action until a final judgment is.

rendered."

However, a final judgment was rendered on February

6, 1989, before the second amended complaint was

filed on June 2, 1989.

Next, the plaintiff argues that Rule 4(j) is not

applicable in removed cases, and that Rule 81(c)

applies instead.7 Again, this argument was

raised in plaintiff's reply brief, and issues

-84-

raised for the first time in appellant's reply

brief need not be considered. Eberle, 901 F.2d

at 818 (9th Cir. 1988).

Finally, plaintiff argues that the defendants ATSF

and SFSP waived the Rule 4(j) objection by answer-

ing without raising objections to untimely pro-

cess. Here again, plaintiff raised this issue for

the first time in her reply brief. Eberle, 901

F.2d at 818 (9th Cir. 1988).

The District Court's dismissal of ATSF and SFSP

was not an abuse of discretion.

7Rule 81(c) states, in relevant part: In a

removed action in which the defendant has not

answered, the defendant shall answer or present

the other defenses or objections available under

these rules within 20 days after the receipt

through service or otherwise of a copy of the

initial pleading setting forth the claim for

relief upon which the action or proceeding is

based, or within 20 days after the service of

summons upon such initial pleading, then filed,

or within 5 days after the filing of the peti-

tion for removal, whichever period is longest.

-85-

On appeal, defendants ATSF and SFSP have

requested an award of sanctions against plain-

tiffs and their counsel pursuant to Rule 38,

Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 11, and 28 U.S.C. SS 1912 and

1927. This Court declines to do so.

(3) Dismissal of conspiracy claim This Court

reviews de novo the dismissal of a complaint for

failure to state a claim. Gobel v. Maricora

County, 867 P.2d 1201, 1203 (9th Cir. 1989).

Dismissal under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6) is not

appropriate "unless it appears beyond a doubt

that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in

support of his claim which would entitle him to

relief".1 Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46

78 S.Ct. 99, 2 L.ed.2d 80 (1957).

In Count 5 of the original and first amended

complaint, plaintiff alleged that all defendants

conspired to merge defendant SP into defendant

ATSF, cease operations of PFE, and terminate

plaintiff in order to avoid their "contractual

and moral responsibilities" to plaintiff. On

July 1, 1988, the District Court dismissed this

count in the first amended complaint as to all

-86-

defendants. The Court ruled, ta. pert:

Insofar as a private cause of

action might exist for

termination due to the aborted

merger, this Court concludes that

it is not the proper forum for an

initial determination of any

claimed violation of 49

U.S.C. S 11347, which provides for

employee protection in any rail

carrier merger. See, Walsh v.

United States, 723 F.2d 570 (7th

Cir. 1983), Engelhardt v. Consoli-

dated Rail Corp., 594 F.Supp.

1157, 1164 (N.ON.Y¥. 1984).

When plaintiff filed her second amended com-

plaint on June 2, 1989, she alleged a violation

of 49 U.S.C. S 11705, stating that the Inter-

state Commerce Commission (ICC) had terminated

its proceedings and allowed SP employees to pur-

sue civil remedies. Plaintiff challenges the

dismissal of the second amended complaint.

Defendant SFSP is a holding company formed in

contemplation of the proposed merger. The hold-

ing companies of SP and ATSF had merged when

defendant SFSP acquired the stock of SP in

December of 1983 in an independent voting trust.

When the ICC denied the proposed merger on

October 10, 1986, SFSP was required to divest

its interest in either SP or ATSP, and sold the

-87-

stock of SP to Rio Grande Industries. The voting

trust was dissolved on October 13; 1988 when

that acquisition was approved.

On February 9, 1989, the ICC concluded that it

could not provide protection for those employees

harmed by any actions taken in anticipation of

the merger:

[Wje do not have the authority to

impose labor protection as a con-

dition of our action disapproving

a merger proposal. Section 11347

speaks in terms of approved trans-

actions....

kkk

If any actions adverse to

employees are shown to have been

ordered by [SFSP] in anticipation

of consolidation and in violation

of the provision of 49 U.S.C. 5

11343, which prohibits common con-

trol absent Commission approval,

the adversely affected individuals

have a remedy as provided by 49

U.S.C. S 11705. [SP] employees who

believe they were harmed by

actions take in anticipation of

the proposed [SP]-ATSF consolida-

tion would be required to show,, in

addition to causation, that [SFSP]

exercised unlawful control of

[SP], in violation of the Act or

the conditions in our approval of

[SFSP'S] voting trust for [SP]

stock. Persons injured by a carr-

ier violating the Act or an order

of the Commission may file suit,

and the carrier is liable for the

damages sustained as a result of

those violations. 49 U.S.C. §&

-88-

11705. We do not think that the

essentially factual matters that

would be in issue in a civil pro-

ceeding are such that would

require the exercise of adminis-

trative expertise, so as to invoke

the doctrine of primary jurisdic-

tion. [Citations omitted].

However, this Court has held that there is no

private right of action pursuant to 49 U.S.C. S&S

11705 due to the exclusive jurisdiction of the

Icc. In Kraus v. Santa Fe Southern Pacific

Corp., 878 F.2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1989), plaintiffs

had brought suit against SP, SFSP, and ATSP,

stemming from plaintiffs, allegations that ATSF

had induced SP to terminate plaintiffs in order

to avoid post-merger liabilities which may have

been imposed by the Icc. Plaintiffs alleged

state law claims of tortious interference with

economic relations' and a federal claim

pursuant to 49 U.S.C. S 11343 for unauthorized

merger or acquisition of control by ATSF over

SP. This Court held:

Neither 49 U.S.C. S 11343(a),

however, nor any other provision

of the subchapter governing combi-

nations of carriers, provides for

any remedy by way of a private

civil damage action for violation

of its provisions ... The juris-

-89-

dictional provision upon which

plaintiffs attempt to rely is con-

tained in a separate statutory

subchapter relating to the enfor-

cement of interstate commerce laws

and regulations. The precise pro-

vision relied upon is 49 U.S.C. S

11705(b) (2). which states that a

carrier is “liable for damages

sustained by a person as a result

of an act or omission of that car-

rier in violation of [the ICA]8

-»- [T]he subchapter of the ICA

relating to mergers specifically

provides that "the authority of

the Interstate Commerce Commission

under this subchapter is exclu-

sive." 49 U.S.C. S 11341. Under

es

8The plaintiffs, recovery on this

count was upheld.

grant of authority over mergers,

the ICC, and not the courts, has

been given authority to define

what constitutes an unauthorized

merger or acquisition of control

within the meaning of the statute.

* * *

We agree with [ATSF] that the pro-

vision upon which plaintiffs rely,

49 U.S.C. S 11705(b)(2) & (c)(1),

authorizes court enforcement for

violations of the merger provi-

sions only after the ICC has con-

sidered whether the alleged viola-

tions have occurred.

Kraus, 878 F.2d at 1197 - 1198. There has been

no finding of a violation by the Icc in this

case. Further, this Court specifically rejected

the contention that the February 9. 1989

IccC decision, quoted above, conferred a private

-90-

right of action. Kraus, 878 F.2d at 1198, n. 2.

Thus, the District Court here properly dismissed

Count 5 as to all defendants.

The defendants also argue that plaintiff's claim

of conspiracy is preempted by the RLA as a "mi-

nor dispute". Because this Court has clearly

held that there is no private right of action

pursuant to S 11705; it is unnecessary to reach

this issue.

(4) Dismissal of plaintiff's claim for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress

The dismissal of a claim is reviewed de novo.

Gobel, 867 F.2d at 1203.

On July 1. 1988, the District Court dismissed

Count 7 of plaintiff's complaint alleging inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress. The

Court correctly held that claims for emotional

distress arising from termination are subject to

mandatory arbitration under the RLA. a 799

F.2d at 1290 ("We have consistently held that

the RLA preempts state tort claims by employees

against railroads for wrongful discharge or for

intentional infliction of e2motional distress,

-9l1l-

where the alleged tortious activity is “argu-

ably" governed by the collective bargaining

agreement or has a "not obviously insubstantial"

relationship to the labor contract, and where

the "gravamen of the complaint is wrongful dis-

charge"); Stallcop, 820 F.2d at 1049, citing

Carter v. Smith Food King, 765 F.2d 916, 921

(9th Cir. 1985); Olguin, 740 F.2d at 1475-76;

Tellez v. Pacific Gas & Electric, 817 F.2d 536#

539 (9th Cir. 1987) (actions for intentional and

negligent infliction of emotional distress not

preempted since they arose from conduct not cov-

ered by the collective bargaining agreement) ;

Magnuson v. Burlington Northern. Inc., 576 F.2d

at 1367.

(5) Denial of Plaintiff's request for addi-

ticnal discovery time

The plaintiff next claims that the District

Court was in error by failing to allow more time

for discovery. This Court reviews a denial of

discovery for abuse of discretion. Brae Transp.,

Inc. v. Coopers & Lybrand, 790 F.2d 1439; 1442

(9th Cir. 1986), citing Foster v. Arcata Associ-

-92-

‘ates, Inc., 772 F.2d 1453, 1467 (9th Cir. 1985).

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1048, 106 S.Ct. 1267, 89

L.ed.2d 576 (1986).

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 56(f), a court may

refuse an application for summary judgment or

may continue a matter for further discovery if a

party opposing a motion "cannot for reasons

stated present by affidavit facts essential to

justify the party's opposition." Plaintiff's

counsel submitted an affidavit in opposition to

the motions for summary judgment in which he

averred that he had been unable to resolve dis-

covery disputes with the defendants. He stated

that the union cancelled the depositions of two

union officials, and the continuance of the

depositions was granted by a magistrate; the

date then set for the deposition was cancelled

due to plaintiff's counsel's trial schedule, and

the union had not been cooperative in resetting

the date. .

The Union provided the declaration of Kathleen

S. King, counsel for the Union, in reply to the

plaintiff's opposition to summary judgment,

-93-

stating that the Union had cooperated with all

discovery requests; further, the Union had been

willing to produce Union officials for deposi-

tion but plaintiff's counsel did not attempt to

reschedule until the date on which defendants

filed motions for summary judgment. Plain-

tiff's counsel also did not take the deposition

of either Tom Ellen or Rick Fend, PFE officials

whom plaintiff claims were instrumental in the

discriminatory actions.

At the hearing on February 2, 1989, plaintiff's

counsel asked the District Court for more time

to take the depositions of

the Union officials. The Court took the matter

under advisement, and in the February 6, 1989

order, the Court held that the plaintiff had had

ample time for discovery.

Given the plaintiff's dilatory efforts at dis-

covery and because the plaintiff has not indi-

cated what facts this discovery was expected to

show, Volk v. D.A. Lavidson a Co., 816 F.2d

1406, 1416 (9th Cir. 1987), the District Court

did not abuse its discretion in denying the

-94-

request for further discovery.

(6) Defendants SP's and PFE'S motion for summary

judgment

-On February 6, 1989, the District Court granted

defendants SP's and PFE'S motion for summary

judgment on Count 4 and Count 6.

This Court reviews the District Court's grant of

summary judgment de nove. Miller v. Fairchild

Industries, Inc., 797 F.2d 727 (9th Cir. 1986),

appeal after remand, 876 F.2d 718, opinion

amended, 885 F.2d 498 (1989), cert. denied

U.S. 110 S.ct. 1524, 108 L.ed.2d 764

(1990). This Court must determine whether there

are any genuine issues of material fact, viewing

the evidence in the light most favorable to the

moving earty, and whether the District Court

correctly applied the law. Ashton v.Cory, 780 F.

2d 816, 818 (9th Cir. 1986).

To establish a prima facie discrimination clain,

plaintiff must show that she is (1) a member of

a protected group; (2) her job performance was

satisfactory; (3) she was discharged from her

position; and (4) others not in the protected

-95-

class were retained by defendants. McDonald v.

Santa Fe Trail Transportation@o., 427 U.S. 273,

96 S.Ct. 2574, 49 L.ed.2d 493 (1976). The burden

then shifts to the defendants to articulate a

legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for the

action. If that burden is sustained, the burden

then shifts back to the plaintiff to establish.

pretext by showing either that a discriminatory

reason more likely than not motivated the

employer or that the employer's explanation is

unworthy of credence. Perez v. Curcio, 841 F.2d

255, 257 (9th Cir. 1988). citing Texas Dep't of

Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 2481 256,

101 S.Ct. 1089, 1095, 67 L.ed.2d 207 (1981).

The District Court held that the plaintiff had

established a prima facie case of discrimina-

tion, finding that plaintiff is a member of

three protected groups, her job performance was

Satisfactory since several of her superiors

rated her work as exceptional, she was dis-

charged, and other employees who-were not Asian,

or over 40 were transferred to positions at SP

that the plaintiff was qualified to perform.

-96-

Defendants challenge the District Court's find-

ing that the plaintiff was eligible for tran-

sfer, but our disposition makes it unnecessary

for us to rule on that point.

Second, the Court held that the defendants had

rebutted the presumption of discrimination. The

Court found that the defendants had offered

"substantial" proof supporting their contention

that Sieu Mei was furloughed for economic rea-

sons. PFE had experienced a severe decline in

business due to increased competition from the

trucking industry prior to the 1985 merger., The

Court further pointed out that other employees

who were not members of a protected class were

also not transferred to SP.

The District Court then found that the plaintiff

had not presented evidence which raised a

genuine issue of fact challenging defendants'

explanation of plaintiff's termination.

Plaintiff challenges the District Court's find-

ing that the defendants had demonstrated a non-

discriminatory reason for her termination.

First, she argues that the defendants are

-97-

estopped from arguing that her termination was

a result of PFE'S economic decline due _ to

representations contained in the alleged "common

law agreement". The December 18, 1978 letter

stated that plaintiff's position was permanent

and "fully protected" under the union contract

so that if the company did not have a job for

her, she would continue to be paid and gain

retirement benefits. She also argues that the

decline in business clause does not apply to her

due to the date at which she started working.

These arguments essentially restate the plain-

tiff's claim for wrongful termination. In order

to find that defendants were "estopped" from

asserting that plaintiff was fired due to eco-

nomic reasons, this Court would have to inter-

pret the collective bargaining agreement and

resolve the wrongful termination claims on the

merits. The plaintiff has not appealed the dis-

missal of the wrongful termination claims, and

they are in any event subject to mandatory arbi-

tration under the RLA.

Moreover, defendants submitted substantial evid-

-98-

ence to support their contention that PFE was

experiencing economic problems. Tom Ellen,

former General Manager of PFE, submitted a

declaration regarding his knowledge of the eco-

nomic pressures created by deregulation, compe-

tition from the trucking industry, and a large

wage increase awarded to the union. Under Cali-

fornia law, reduction of work force necessitated

by economic circumstances constitutes good cause

for dismissal. Gianaculas v. Trans World Air-

lines, Inc., 761 P.2d 1391 (9th Cir. 1985).

Richard Fend, Assistant Controller of PFE at the

time the company was absorbed by the parent com-

pany, submitted a declaration stating that he

was responsible for deciding which positions

would be transferred to SP, and made that deci-

Sion based on the job duties of a particular

position not the identity of the employee hold-

ing that position. He attached exhibits detail-

ing which of the 16 clerks at PFE were fur-

loughed and/or transferred to SP, which informa-

tion was obtained from the company personnel

files. Fifteen of the PFE clerks were over age

-99-

40; nine of these were transferred. Of the seven

female clerks, four were transferred. of the two

Asian clerks, one was transferred to SP. Fend

avers, ‘Ms. Tu was not transferred because, at

the time, she was performing miscellaneous or

general clerk functions almost all of which

ceased to exist after October 1, 1985.1 The

plaintiff did not depose either Ellen or Fend.

The District Court reasonably found that the

defendants had asserted legitimate, nondiscrimi-

natory reasons for plaintiff's termination.

The plaintiff also challenges the District

Court's finding that she did not present evid-

ence rebutting defendants, explanation. However,

little of plaintiff's evidence is admissible.

Plaintiff asserts in her 'Declaration in Opposi-

tion to Motion for Summary Judgement [sic]}',

that the work conditions were made intolerable

so that she would voluntarily leave and

that she was moved to positions that were

designed to be terminated so that she would not

receive job protection. These assertions have no

foundation and are not within her personal know-

-100=-

ledge. Plaintiff's allegations of sexual jokes

contain no citation to the record.

Plaintiff testified in her deposition regarding

friction with the management over expense

reports; i.e. the plaintiff's manager, Rick

Fend, was angry when she questioned his expense

reports. She also testified that Walsh told her

that she was fired because Rick Fend and Edna

Clark (whose role is unclear) did not like her

and that another supervisor stated that she had

trouble with Fend. This testimony is inadmiss-

ible hearsay and fails to relate to plaintiff's

claims of discrimination basea@ on sex, race, or

age. Defendants also argue that these discovery

materials were not presented to the trial court,

a fact which plaintiff does not contest. Daly-

murphy v. Winston, 837 F.2d 348, 351 (9th Cir.

1988) (the reviewing court will normally not

supplement the record on appeal with material

not considered by the trial court).

In her deposition plaintiff also testified to

derogatory remarks made about Chinese persons:

Mr. Walsh, one of her supervisors, once stated

“101°

that ‘pretty soon the Chinese would own San

Francisco.' Another time when the plaintiff had

trouble working a new phone system, Rick Fend

stated, 'You can't talk English. You can't even

push the button.' The plaintiff testified that

Fend made numerous remarks about Chinese,

although she could not remember other comments.

She also could not remember if any other employees

made racially derogatory remarks to her. In Stall-

cop, supra, the plaintiff cited her supervisor's

statement that she "did not know the English lan-

guage" as proof of discriminatory conduct. The

Court held, "derogatory ethnic statements, unless

excessive and opprobrious, are insufficient to

establish a case of national origin discrimina-

tion." Stallcop 820 F.2d at 1050-51. The dero-

gatory statements cited in this case are also not

excessive and opprobrious. Also, the defendants

assert that this deposition-material was not pres-

ented to the District Court.

Although plaintiff claims that PFE inten-

tionally caused its economic decline, her only

evidence is her declaration that she was told

~iGe°

not to answer the phone because PFE did not want

the business.

The District Court did not err by hold-

ing that plaintiff had failed to demonstrate the

existence of specific facts showing there is a

genuine factual issue that defendants, reason

for her termination was pretextual.

Plaintiff also claims that SP's failure

to rehire her is retaliatory discrimination for

bringing this lawsuit. This claim was not

alleged in either the initial compliant or the

first amended complaint2 the plaintiff does not

address the

9.Plaintiff argues that the retaliatory discri-

mination claim was explicitly alleged in the

second amended complaint; however, this com-

plaint was filed after the District Court

defendants, motion for summary judgment.

“103°

applicability of the exceptions to the general

rule against considering. issues for the first

time on appeal. Javanovich, 813 P.2d at 1037,

citing Bolker, 760 F.2d at 1042. Thus, this

issue will not be considered.

(7) Union's motion for summary judgment

Whether a union has breached its duty

of fair representation is a mixed question of

law and fact which this Court reviews de novo.

Galindo v. Stoody Co., 793 F.2d 1502; 1513 (9th

Cir. 1986). citing United States v. McConney,

728 F.2d 1195, 1204 (9th Cir.) (en banc), cert.

denied, 469 U.S: 824, 105 S.Ct. 101, 83 L.Ed.2d

46 (1984); see also Johnson v. United States

Postal Service, 756 fF .2¢ 731, 1465 (9th Cir.

1985) teivine de novo standard to "ultimate

findings"); but see Robesky v. Oantas Emipire

Airways Ltd. 573 F.2d 1082, 1091 (9th Cir.

1978) (suggesting issue is a question for the

trier of fact).

On August 14,, 1989, the Court granted

the defendant Union's motion for summary judg-

ment, holding that plaintiff had made no eviden-

-104-

tiary showing that the Union's actions were dis-

criminatory or in bad faith and that the Union

had adhered to established procedures for han-

dling grievances.

To establish a breach of fair represen-

tation, the plaintiff must show that the Union's

conduct was “arbitrary, discriminatory, or in

bad faith"1 Galindo, 793 F.2d at 1513, citing

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190, 87 S.Ct. 903,

916, 17 L.ed.2d 842 (1967). Union decisions

regarding the handling of grievances are

afforded wide latitude, and "a union's conduct

may not be deemed arbitrary simply because of an

error in evaluating the merits of a grievance...

or in presenting the grievance at an arbitration

hearing."1 Galindo, 793 P.2d at 1515, citing Pet-

erson v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244 (9th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1122, 106 S.Ct. 1642, 90

L.ed.2d 187 (1986) (emphasis added by Galindo

author).

on

In Galindo, this Court found that the

Union representative's failure to bring up an

issue at arbitration reflected a judgmental

-105-

decision. Similarly here, the Union's failure to

address the plaintiff's individual considera-

tions -- her claims that she was exempt from the

decline in business clause of the collective

bargaining agreement and her claims of discrimi-

nation based on sex., race, and age -- reflect a

judgmental decision. As in Galindo, "this

representation was, at worst, negligent." Gal-

indo, 793 F.2d at 1515. Negligent conduct may

only be the basis of a fair representation claim

when "the individual interest at stake is strong

and the union's failure to perform a ministerial

act completely extinguishes the employee's right

to pursue his claim." Dutrisac v. Caterpillar

Tractor Co, 749 P.2d 1270, 1274 (9th Cir. 1983)

(emphasis added). The Union's conduct in ques-

tion here was not ministerial.

In order to recover for a breach of

fair representation, the plaintiff must also

establish the underlying grievance had merit.

Skillsky v. Lucky Stars, Inc., 893 F.2d 1088

(9th Cir. 1990). As discussed above, the plain-

tiff did not introduce evidence to support her

-106-

claim of discrimination. In addition, plaintiff

has not introduced specific evidence to support

her claim that the decline in business clause

did not apply to her. This Court has only the

language of the decline in business clause to

evaluate: "the provisions of this section will

not apply to Pacific Lines employees in the San

Francisco General Offices with seniority dates

of March 16, 1963 or earlier." On its face, this

applies only to certain [SP] employees of

Pacific Lines working in the San Francisco

office, whereas the plaintiff was an employee of

PFE working in Brisbane, California at the time

of the termination. Moreover, the plaintiff

introduced no evidence that there was a conflict

of interest by the Union which resulted in its

failure to effectively represent plaintiff.10

The District Court did not err in grant-

ing summary judgment to the Union.

(8) The cross-appeal

On February 6. 1989, the District Court

ruled that plaintiff's breach of fair represen-

-107=

tation claim against the defendant Union was

barred by the six month statute of limitations

in section 10(b) of the National Labor Relations

Act. The Court later reconsidered and reversed

its previous ruling that the plaintiff's claim

was barred, concluding that the limitations per-

iod did not begin to run until the plaintiff was

informed of the arbitrator's decision. The Union

cross-appeals this issue. However, since the

District Court properly granted

10. Plaintiff references only counsel's statements

Guring plaintiff's deposition and at hearing.

summary judgment to the Union on plaintiff's

breach of fair representation claim, it is not

necessary for this Court to decide the cross

appeal, and it will be dismissed as protective.

CONCLUSION

In summary, the District Court properly

denied the plaintiff's motion to remand since

her claims were arguably governed by the collec-

tive bargaining agreement and she alleged viola-

tions of 42 U.S.C. SS 1981, 1983, and 1985. Sec-

-108-

tions of 42 U.S.C. SS 1981, 1983, and 1985. Sec-

ond, the District Court properly dismissed

defendants ATSF and SFSP for plaintiff's failure

to timely serve under Fed.R.Civ.P. Rule 4(j).

The District Court also did not err in dismis-

sing Count 5, alleging conspiracy, since there

is no private right of action pursuant to 49

U.S.C. 5 11705. Further, the plaintiff's claim

for intentional infliction of emotional distress

was properly dismissed as a "minor dispute" sub-

ject to mandatory arbitration. The District

Court did not err in not allowing the plaintiff

more time for discovery, and properly granted

summary judgment to defendants SP and PFE.

Plaintiff failed to demonstrate the existence of

specific facto showing a genuine factual issue

that defendants, claims of economic decline were

pretextual.

In addition, this Court need not decide

the cross appeal because the District Court pro-

perly granted summary judgment to the Union on

plaintiff's breach of fair representation clain.

The cross appeal will therefore be dismissed as

-109-

protective.

Finally, this Court declines to award

defendants ATSF and SFSP an award of sanctions

against plaintiffs and their counsel.

APPEAL NO. 8939-16186 AFFIRMED; CROSS-APPEAL NO.

89-16292 DISMISSED. Costs in favor of appellees.

-1i190-

NOT FOR PUBLICATION IN THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

FILED

SEP. 2 2 92

CATHY A. CATTERSON, CLERK

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

SIEU MEI TU AND JOSEPH Z. TU,

PS SA2ASECigetercseeaei ianete,

V. CA No. 89 -16186

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION

COMPANY; ATCHISON, TOPEKA, SANTA

FE RAILROAD COMPANY ET AL., ORDER

Defendants-appellees.

BEFORE: CANBY AND KOZINSKI, CIRCUIT JUDGES and

CARROLL, ViSTRICT JUDGE.

The panel has reviewed the petition for rehear-

ing and suggestion for rehearing en banc, and

has determined that it is without merit.

Further, by his own admission, appellants!

lawyer knew of this court's memorandum disposi-

tion on June 26 and failed to file a motion to

recall the mandate in a timely fashion.

ORDERED motion to recall the mandate denied.

=i2i=

1 ROBERT S. BOGASON

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION

COMPANY Southern Pacific Bldg. , Room 837

3 One Market Plaza

San Francisco, CA 94105

4 Telephone: (415) 541-1786

5 PATRICK W. JORDAN

WAYNE M. BOLIO

6 MCLAUGHLIN AND IRVIN Filed Oct 9 1987

100 Pine Street, Suite 770

7 San Francisco, CA 94111-5109

8 Telephone: (415) 433-6330

9 Attorneys for Defendants

10

11 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

12 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Ao

14 SIEU MEI TU AND JOSEPH TU, No. C87-1198-DLJ

Plaintiffs,

15 ORDER DENYING MOTION TO REMAND

16 v

17 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

18 et al.

19 Defendants.

20

21 The matter, having come for hearing on

Plaintiffs' Motion to Remand, and the Court

having considered Plaintiffs' moving papers,

Defendants Pacific Fruit Express Company and

24 Southern Pacific Transportation Company's

opposing papers,

25 declarations of counsel, pleadings on file,

and oral argument,

26 hereby ORDERS as follows:

27 1. Plaintiffs' Motion to Remand is denied.

2. At all relevant times herein, Plaintiff

“Aie™

waS a member of a union whose terms and condi-

tions of employment were

3 governed by a collective bargaining agree-

ment negotiated

4 pursuant to the Railway Labor Act. Any

claim that an indi-

5 vidual has been wrongly terminated or

transferred implicates

6 the collective bargaining agreement and

thus raises a federal

7 question.

8 Good cause appearing, it is hereby ordered

that the

9 Motion to Remand is denied.

10 D. LOWE11 JENSEN

11 DATED: Oct 9, 1987.

The Hon. D. Lowell Jensen

Judge of the United States District Court

at © © he

1 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SIEU MEI TU AND JOSEPH Z. TU

4 Plaintiffs, FILED

5 APRIL 6, 1988

6. V. C 87 1198 DLJ

7 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION ORDER

COMPANY, et al.,

8 Defendants.

9 Defendants brought this motion on April 6,

1988 to

10

11 dismiss, or in the alternative, for summary

judgment. For the

12 following reasons, this Court grants the

motion to dismiss with

13 leave to amend.

14 Plaintiff originally brought this wrongful

termination

15 lawsuit in state court, alleging that defen-

dants fired her in

16 violation of a promise of full employment or

salary until she

-114-

17 turned 65. Defendants properly removed to

federal court on the

18 grounds of federal preemption. In September

1987, this Court

19 denied plaintiff's motion to remand, finding

that the complaint

20 implicated a collective bargaining agreement

covered by the

21 Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. %151 et seq..

22 The Railway Labor Act establishes that any

"'minor

23 disputes" must be referred to the National

Railroad Adjustment

24 Board for final and binding arbitration. 45

U.S.C. SS 153,

25 v. Southern Pacific Co., 799 F.2d 1282, 1290

(9th Cir-

26 1986). 'Wrongful termination is deemed to be

a "minor dispute".

27 Id

Accordingly, on its face, plaintiffs' first

and second

2 causes of action, for wrongful

“1,127

termination, establish a claim

3 which must be referred to the National Rail-

road Adjustment

4 Board final and binding arbitration.

5 Plaintiffs' fourth and fifth causes of action,

for

6 discrimination and loss of consortium, are

pendent state

7 Claims. This Court declines to exercise its

pendent

8 jurisdiction.

9 Accordingly, this Court GRANTS defendants'!

motion to dismiss. Plaintiffs are granted leave

to amend the complaint to state a federal cause

of action. Such amendment must be

12 filed with the Court within thirty (30) days

cf this Order.

13 IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: April 6.1988.

15 D. Lowell Jensen

16 United States District Judge

~1i16=

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

2 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH Z. TU, FILED

5 Plaintiffs,, JUNE 30, 1988

6

7 V. C 87 1198 DIJ

8

9 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION, ORDER et al.,

10 Defendants.

12

13 Defendants brought this motion to dismiss the

First

14 Amended Complaint. For the following reasons,

this Court

15 grants defendant's motion to dismiss the

first, second, third,

16 fifth, and seventh causes of action. Defen-

dants The Atchison,

17 Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company and Santa

Fe Southern

18 Pacific corporation are dismissed from all

causes of action

19 pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 4(j). Defendant

Southern Pacific Transportation Company is dis-

missed from the eighth cause of

20

21 action. Finally, this Court vacates its April

6, 1988 Order as, to the issue of pendent juris-

diction, and will exercise pendent

22

23 jurisdiction over the fourth and sixth causes

of action.

24 1. The first, second and third causes of

action

25 In its April 6, 1988 Order, this Court held

that

26 plaintiff's causes of action for wrongful

termination state a

27 claim which must be referred to the National

Railroad

28 Adjustment Board for final and binding arbi-

tration, pursuant to

2 the Railway Labor Act. This Court granted

plaintiff leave to

3 amend to state a federal cause of action.

“1i9=-

4 The amended first, second, and third causes

of action

5 still fail to state a cause of action which

cause of action which would give this

6 Court jurisdiction over plaintiff's claim for

wrongful

7 termination. See, 45 U.S.C. SS 153, Lewy Vv.

Southern Pacific

8 Transp. Co, 799 F.2d 1281, 1290 (9th Cit.

1986). Accordingly,

9 these claims are dismissed with prejudice.

10 2.The fifth cause of action

11 In the fifth cause of action, plaintiff

alleges that the

12 defendant railroads conspired to merge, to

cease the operation

13 of Pacific Fruit Express, and therefore to

terminate plaintiff.

14 Absent more, the merger of two companies does

not give rise to

15 a private federal or state action.

16 Insofar as a private state action might

exist for

17 termination due to the aborted merger, this

Court concludes

18 that it is not the proper forum for an

initial determination of this matter. The Inter-

state Commerce Commission is the

20 appropriate agency for an initial determina-

tion of any claimed

21 violation of 49 U.S.C. SS 11347, which pro-

vides for employee

22 protection in any rail carrier merger. See,

Walsh v. United -

23 States, 723 F.2d 570 (7th Cir. 1983),

Engelhardt v.

24 Consolidated Rail cCorp., 594 F.Supp 1157,

1164 (N.D.N.Y. 1984).

25 Accordingly, the fifth cause of action is

dismissed with

26 prejudice.

2 3. The fourth and sixth causes of action

3 Plaintiff's fourth cause of action purports to

state a

4 claim for wrongful discharge in violation of

the fundamental

=420=

5 principles of public policy of the United

States of America and

6 the State of California... in that said -termi-

nation was based on

7 discrimination against plaintiff... First

Amended Complaint, P. 10, p3l.

9 This claim does not state a federal statutory

claim for

10. age or sex discrimination, nor a claim for

employment

11 discrimination under California law. In its

April 6, 1988

12 Order, this Court construed this claim as a

pendent state claim

13 for discrimination. While the pleading is

scarcely the model

14 of clarity, the Court will continue to con-

strue this claim as a

15 state claim for discrimination, and will

exercise its pendent

i6 jurisdiction.

17 The April 6, 1988 order, insofar as it

declined the

-12i-

18 exercise of pendent jurisdiction over the

fourth, and seventh

19 cause of action, is hereby vacated.

20 4. The seventh-cause of action

21 Plaintiff's seventh cause of action states a

Claim for the,

22 infliction of emotional distress. This claim is

preempted by

23 federal labor law, since plaintiff's alleged

emotional distress

24 arises out of conduct covered by the collec-

tive bargaining

25 agreement. Truex v. Garrett, 784 F.2d 1347,

1351 (9th Cir. 26 1985).

The Ninth Circuit has specifically held that

emotional

3 distress claims arising out of termination and

brought by railway workers covered by the Rail-

way Labor Act must be submitted to grievance and

arbitration Lewy v. Southern Pacific Transporta-

tion Company, 799 F.2d 1281, 1291

4 (9th Cir. 1986).

6 Accordingly, the seventh cause of action is

i232"

dismissed.

7 5. The eighth-cause of action

8 The eighth cause of action purports to state a

claim for

9 breach of the duty of fair representation.

Plaintiff cannot

10 state a claim against defendant railroads for

breach of this

11 duty, but only against the Union, the Bro-

therhood of Railway,

12 Airline and Steamship Clerks.

13 Accordingly, this claim is dismissed against

the defendant

14 railroads.

15 6. Defendants Santa Fe and Railway

16 Plaintiff's complaint was filed in state

court on

17 September 26, 1986 and properly removed to

this Court by

18 defendant Southern Pacific Transportation

Company on March 20, 1987. Plaintiffs did not

effectuate service in 1987

20 on defendants Santa Fe and Railway until Decem-

-i23-

ber 8, 1987. Thus, plaintiffs

21 failed to serve these defendants within the

120-day time period, prescribed by Fed. R. Civ.

P. 4(3).

23 Dismissal pursuant to 4(j) is mandatory

absent a showing

24 of good cause. Wei v. State of Hawaii, 763.

F.2d 370, 372 (9th

25 Cir. 1987). Plaintiff has been unable to

demonstrate any good

26, cause for failure to serve these defendants.

Thus, defendants Santa Fe and Railway are

dismissed from

2 all causes of action.

3

4 Accordingly,

5 The first, second, third, fifth, and seventh

causes of action are DISMISSED with prejudice;

6

7 This Court will exercise its pendent jurisdic-

tion over the

8 fourth and sixth claims;

9 The defendant railroads are DISMISSED from the

-124-

eighth cause of action;

11 Defendants Santa Fe and Railway

are DISMISSED from all

12 causes of action.

13 A status conference will be held on

day, 14 September 7, 1988 at 9 a.mMm..

15 IT IS SO ORDERED.

16 Dated: June 30, 1988.

Lowell Jensen

18 United States District Judge

-i123-

Wednes-

FILED

FEB 06 1989

WILLIAM L WITTAKER CLERK.

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

3 SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH TU,

4 Plaintiffs,

5 v C87-1198-DLJ

6, ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS' SOUTHERN PACIFIC

TRANSPORTATION MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY COMPANY, et.

al., JUDGMENT AND DENYING

7 DEFENDANTS' MOTION TO

8 DISQUALIFY

9

10

11 The Court heard defendants' Motions for Sunm-

mary Judgment

12 and for Disqualification on February 2, 1989.

Appearing for

13 plaintiffs Sieu Mei Tu and Joseph Tu was Lee

J. Kubby.

14, Appearing on behalf of defendant Southern

=i26-

Pacific and Pacific

15 Fruit Express was Kevin P. Block. Appearing

for the Union

16 defendants were James M. Darby and Kathleen

S. King.

17 Plaintiff Sieu Mei Tu is a sixty-two year old

asian

18 female. Plaintiff claims that her employment

with defendant

19 Pacific Fruit Express ("PFE") was terminated

because of her

20 age, sex and race in violation of the Cali-

fornia Fair

21 Employment and Housing Act ("“FENA™) .

Cal. Gov.code SSSS 12900-

22 12993 (1980). Plaintiffs also contend that

they have suffered

23 a loss of consortium as a result of defen-

dants' actions. Finally, plaintiffs claim that

the defendant unions breached

24 their duty of fair representation under fed-

eral labor law.

25

-127-

26 After reviewing the briefs submitted by the

parties, the

27 arguments of counsel and the applicable law,

the Court hereby

GRANTS defendants' Motions for Summary Judgment.

2 Also before the Court is defendants' Motion

for

3 Disqualification of plaintiffs' counsel. This

motion is based

4 on defendants' contention that plaintiffs'

counsel engaged in

5 unethical conduct by communicating, ex parte,

with an employee

6 of Southern Pacific regarding this litigation.

Based on the

7 representations made by Mr. Kubby during oral

argument that no

8 such communication occurred, the Court hereby

DENIES

9 defendants' Motion for Disqualification.

10 I.

11 Under Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure,

-126-

12 summary judgment may be granted when "the

pleadings,

13 depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on

14 file, together with the affidavits, if any,

show that there is

15 no genuine issues as to any material fact and

that the party

16 is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law."

17 In a motion for summary judgment, the Supreme

Court has ,

18 held that the moving party has the "burden of

showing the

19 absence of material fact." Adickes v. S.H.

Adickes v. S.H. Kress and Co., 90

20 S.Ct. 1598, 1608 (1970). However, the Court

has also stated |

21 that summary judgment could issue “after

adequate time for

22 discovery and upon motion, against a party

who fails to make a

23 showing sufficient to establish the existence

-i129=

of an element

24 essential to that party's case, and on which

that party will

25 bear the burden of proof at trial." Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 26 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-54

(1986).

The Court finds that there is not a genuine

issue regarding the following material facts in

this action.

a

3 Plaintiff Sieu Mei was furloughed from her

position as an

4 accountant with defendant PFE when it merged

with defendant Southern Pacific ("SP"), its par-

ent corporation, during a

6 reorganization of SP in 1985. This reorganiza-

tion was the

7 result of economic hardships suffered by PFE

due to increased

8 competition in the transportation industry.

9 There were 16 clerical employees at PFE at the

time of

10 the merger. Prior to the reorganization, PFE

-130"

ait i ie et li OT ce i iti Bh ee

and SP

11 management determined that PFE employees in

those positions

12 that would not be required at SP after the

merger would be

13 furloughed and those mestueie in the remain-

ing positions

14 would be transferred to SP. Out of the 16

clerical positions

15 on the "seniority district one" roster at

PFE, 7 were

16 furloughed and 9 were transferred to SP.

Within this group of

17 16 PFE employees, there were 15 clerks over

the age of 40, 7

18 female clerks and 2 asian american—employees.

Following the

19 merger, defendants transferred 9 of the 15

Clerks over the age

20 of 40, 4 of the 7 female clerks, and 1 of the

2 asian american

21 employees to positions at SP. Defendants have

interviewed

af

22 Sieu Mei since furloughing her, but she has

not been rehired. —

23

24 II

25 To state a prima facie case under the FELA

for

26 intentional discrimination, plaintiff must

show that:

(1) she belongs to a protected group;

2 (2) her job performance was satisfactory;

(3) she was discharged from her posi-

tion:

4 (4) others not in the protected class were

retained by

5 defendants.

6 Mixon v. Fair Employment a Housing Employment

& Housing Commission, 192

7 Cal.App.3d 1306, 1318 (1987) (citing McDonald

v. Santa Fe Trail

8 Transportation Co., 427 U.S. 273 (1976)).

9 After the initial prima facie case is pres-

ented by

10 plaintiff, defendants are given an opportun-

«i33~

ity to rebut plaintiff's case by showing that

there was a legitimate reason

12 for dismissal. Id. at 1317. "The defendant

need not persuade

13 the court that it was actually motivated by

the proffered

14 reasons. It is sufficient proffered 14 rea-

sons. It is sufficient if the defendant's evid-

' ence raises

15 a genuine issue of fact as to whether it dis-

criminated against

16 the plaintiff."

Id. at 1318 (quoting Texas Dept. of Community 17

| Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 254 (1981)).

The Ninth Circuit has held that economic hard-

ship is a sufficient reason to terminate an

employee. Gianaculas son to terminate an

employee. Gianaculas v. Trans World Airlines,

20 iInc., 761 F.2d 1319, 1395 (9th Cir. 1985);

Clutterham 1395 (9th Cir. 1985); Clutterham v.

21 Coachmen Industries, Inc., 169 Cal.App.3d

1223, 1227, 215

22 Cal.Rptr. 795 (1985).

“133°

23 If a defendant succeeds in creating a genuine

issue of

24 material fact concerning the reason for dis-

missing an

25 employee, the burden of proof then shifts an

25 employee, the burden of proof then shifts

back to the

26 plaintiff to prove "that the proffered reason

was not the true

reason for the employment decision." Id. A

plaintiff may

2 accomplish this either directly by "persuading

the court that

3 a discriminatory reason more likely motivated

the employer or

4 indirectly by showing that the employer's

proffered

5 explanation is unworthy of credence." Id. at

1318-19. (citing

6 Burdine, 450 U.S. at 256).

7 In the present case, plaintiff Sieu Mei has

stated a

8 prima facie case of discrimination. She is a

-134-

member of three

9 protected groups. Her job performance prior to

her dismissal

10 was at the very least satisfactory, and sev-

eral of her

11 superiors rated her work as exceptionai. She

was furloughed

12 instead of being transferred to SP in 1985.

Other employees |

13 who were not over 40, female, or asian, were

transferred into

14 positions at SP that Sieu Mei was qualified

to perform. Thus,

15 a prima facie a prima facie showing of inten-

tional discrimination has been

16 made by plaintiffs.

17 Defendants have rebutted the presumption of

18 discrimination created by plaintiffs' initial

showing by

19 offering substantial proof supporting their

contention that

20 Sieu Mei was furloughed for economic reasons.

PFE had

-135-

21 experienced a severe decline in business due

to increased

22 competition from the trucking industry prior

to the 1985

23 merger. Defendants assert that Sieu Mei was

not transferred

24 to SP because the position she was in at PFE.

was not needed at

25 SP. Defendants provided the Court with suffi-

cient evidence to

26 create a genuine issue of material

fact as to whether

intentional discrimination motivated the deci-

sion to furlough

2 plaintiff. This position is supported by the

fact that other

3 employees who are not members of a protected

class were also

4 not transferred to SP following the merger.

Accordingly,

5 defendants have satisfied their burden of

rebutting

6 plaintiffs' prima facie case of discrimina-

-136=-

ee ee ep

tion.

7 Plaintiffs have failed to present evidence

which raises a

8 genuine issue related to defendants' factual

showing of

9 economic hardship. Although plaintiffs assert

that PFE

10 intentionally turned away business prior to

the merger to the merger in

11 order to facilitate the combination of SP and

PFE, the

12 evidentiary showing necessary to support this

assertion is

13 clearly insufficient. After ample time for

discovery has

14 passed, plaintiffs have not presented the

Court with evidence

15 sufficient to overcome defendants' justifica-

tion for their actions. Thus, plaintiffs have

not met their overall burden

17 and have not stated a valid claim for inten-

tional

18 discrimination against SP and PFE.

-isI-

19 III

20 Plaintiffs' state tort claim for loss of con-

sortium claim is

21 dependent upon the validity of the underlying

discrimination

22 action. Santigo v. Employees Benefits Ser-

vices, 168

23 Cal.App.3d 898, 906, 241 Cal.Rptr. 679

(1985). Because

24 plaintiffs have failed to state a claim for

discrimination,

25 summary adjudication of this claim is also

appropriate.

26 Accordingly, defendants' Motion for Summary

Judgment is also

GRANTED for plaintiffs' loss of consortium

claim.

2 IV.

3 Plaintiffs claim against the defendant Unions

alleges

4 that Union representatives breached their duty

of fair

5 representation under section 301 of the

=-135-

a

National Labor 6 Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. SSSS

151-188 (1984), by not fully

7 prosecuting plaintiff Sieu Mei's grievance

against PFE.

8 Claims for breach of a union's duty of fair

representation

9 under section 301 are subject to a six month

10 statute of limitations. Delcostello v.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

462 U.S. 151 (1983). This statute

12 of limitations begins to run when "an

employee knows when "an employee knows or should

13 know of the alleged breach of the duty of

fair breach of the duty of fair

14 representation." Galindo v. Stoody Co., 793

F.2d 1502, 1503 (9th Cir. 1986).

16 This cause of action was filed in April of

1988.

17 Plaintiffs and their attorney were aware of

the procedures

18 being followed by the Union defendants to

prosecute plaintiffs' grievance in 1986.

Plaintiffs' counsel admitted

“i397

20 knowledge of the acts alleged to constitute a

breach of

21 defendants' duty in a letter dated January

20, 1986,

22 threatening to sue defendants for breach of

their duty.

23 Therefore, because the six month statute of

limitations had

24 expired prior to the filing of this clain,

defendant Unions'

25 Motion for Summary Judgment of plaintiffs'

Claim under section

26 301 is GRANTED.

2 Therefore, defendants' Motions for Summary

Judgment are

3 hereby GRANTED as to plaintiffs' claims for

discrimination,

4 loss of consortium and breach of the duty of

fair

5 representation and breach of the duty of fair

Defendants Motion for Disqualification is

6 hereby DENIED.

7 IT IS SO ORDERED.

-140-

8 DATED: February 06, 1989.

9 D. Lowell Jensen

10 United States District Judge

=14i°

FILED

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FEB 0 6 1989

2 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

WILLIAM L. WHITTAKER CLERK.

U.S. DISTRICT COUNT

3 SIEU MEI TU AND JOSEPH TU

4

Plaintiffs,

> Ve C87-1198-DLJ

6 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION CO., et al.,

8 Defendants.

For the reasons stated in the order signed on

this date, this court enters JUDGMENT in favor

of defendants.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: February 6, 1989

14 D. Lowell Jensen

16 United States District Judge

-142-

FILED

May 3, 1989 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

3 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

4 SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH TU, C-87-1198 DLJ

5 Plaintiffs, ORDER

6 Vv

7 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, et

al.

8 Defendants.

9

10 On April 12, 1989, this Court heard plain-

tiffs' motion

11 for reconsideration of the order granting

summary judgment to

12 defendants. Lee Kubby appeared for plain-

tiffs. Wayne M.

13 Bolio appeared for defendant Southern

Pacific. James Darby

14 and Kathleen King appeared for defendant

Union. For the

15 following reasons, the Court DENIES plain-

tiffs' motion for

16 reconsideration as to defendant Southern

#14 3-

Pacific, and GRANTS

17 plaintiffs' motion for reconsideration as to

defendant Union.

18

19 RECONSIDERATION OF ORDER GRANTING SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

20 FOR DEFENDANT SOUTHERN PACIFIC

21 In its earlier Order, the Court granted sum-

mary judgment

22 to defendant Southern Pacific on grounds that

while plaintiffs

23 had established a prima facie case of discri-

mination, Southern

24 Pacific had rebutted this showing by evidence

of a legitimate economic reason for the disris-

sal, and that the plaintiffs had

26 not provided evidence which would meet their

overall burden of

27 showing intentional discrimination.

28 In their motion for reconsideration, plain-

tiffs'

2 principal argument is that Mrs. Tu had a con-

tractual right

-144-

3 to continued employment. On this basis, plain-

tiffs' contend

4 that defendant's stated reason for Mrs. Tu's

dismissal,

5 economic hardship, is false. However, this

same argument was

6 raised in plaintiffs' opposition to summary

judgment papers.

7 This argument was considered and rejected by

the Court in

8 reaching its order granting summary judgment

for defendant

9 Southern Pacific.

10 The Ninth Circuit set out the standard of

review for a

11 motion for reconsideration of a summary judg-

ment order in

12 Backlund v. Barnhart, 778 F.2d 1386 (9th Cir.

1985). The

13 court held that a motion for reconsidera-

tion of a summary

(14 judgment motion should be denied if it pre-

sents no arguments

15 that have not already been raised in oppo-

sition to summary

16 judgment. Id. at 1388.

17 Under the rule established in Backlund, this

Court DENIES

18 plaintiffs' motion as to defendant Southern

Pacific because

19 plaintiffs' motion fails to raise any new

arguments, facts,

20 Or allegations, not previously raised in

opposition to

21 summary judgment.

22

24

25 Although plaintiffs cite a number of rules

from the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure in

support of their motion,

26 a motion for reconsideration of summary

judgment is appro-

27 priately brought under Rule 59(e).

1 RECONSIDERATION OF THE ORDER GRANTING SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

2 FOR THE UNION DEFENDANT

-146-

3 In its Order granting summary judgment to

defendant

4 Union, the Court determined that the plaintiff

had knowledge

5 of the Union's alleged lack of fair represen-

tation in January

6 1986. Plaintiffs did not name the Union as a

defendant until

7 April 1988. The Court found plaintiffs' claim

time-barred by

8 the six month statute of limitations estab-

lished by the

9 Supreme Court in Delcostello v. International

Brotherhood of

10 Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151, 172 (1983) for fair

representation actions. on grounds that the sta-

tute of limitations had run

12 on plaintiffs' claim, the Court granted sum-

mary judgment for

13 defendant Union.

14 On January 20, 1986, plaintiffs' counsel sent

a letter |

15 to the Union requesting action on Mrs. Tu's

-147-

behalf. On

16 January 28, 1986, in response, the Union sent

a letter to

17 Mrs. Tu, informing her that it would proceed

with her claim

18 through the grievance process. On November

30, 1987, the

19 arbitration board denied the Union's claim

on behalf of Mrs.

20 Tu. On January 4, 1988, the Union notified

Mrs. Tu of the

21 arbitration.decision. Plaintiffs then filed

an amended

22 complaint in April 1988, naming the Union as

a defendant on

23 the fair representation clain.

24 The Ninth Circuit in Galindo v. Stoody Co.,

793 F.2d 25 1502, 1510 (9th Cir. 1986), held

that a fair representation

26 claim based on how a grievance is presented

to an arbitrator

1 accrues when the employee learns of the arbi-

trator's decision."

-148-

2 The policy behind such a rule is the further-

ance of nonjudicial

3 resolutions.

4 Based on Galindo, this Court GRANTS plain-

tiffs' motion plaintiffs' motion for

5 reconsideration. Since the statute of limita-

tions the statute of limitations did not begin

6 to run until Mrs. Tu was informed of the arbi-

trator's decision

7. in January 1988, her amended complaint was

timely filed in April 8

8. 1988. Accordingly, this Court vacates its

earlier order

9 granting summary judgment to defendant Union.

The Court's

10 ruling is without prejudice to a renewal by

defendant Union of its motion for summary judg-

ment.

11 Plaintiffs are directed to file an amended

complaint by June

13 2, 1989.

the status conference set for May 10, 1989, for

is

-149-

14 vacated.

15 IT IS SO ORDERED.

17 DATED: May 1989.

18 D. Lowell Jensen

20 United States District Judge

~130°

<_< EEO

F I L E D

COURT

AUG 14,989

NORTHERN DISTRICT

U.S. DISTRICT

OF CALIFORNIA

3 SIEU MEI TU and

C-87-1198-DLJ

4 Plaintiffs,

5 Vv.

6 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,

oe

7 Defendants.

8 On July 26,

10 defendants'

motion to

11 strike.

appeared for

12 defendants

and Steamship

13 clerks,

R. B.

Lee J. Kubby

1989,

James M.

Brotherhood

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

OF CALIFORNIA

COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT

JOSEPH TU,

ORDER GRANTING

DEFENDANTS' MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

et

this Court heard the union

motion for summary judgment and

Darby and Kathleen S. King

of Railway, Airline

Brackbill, and J. M. Balovich.

“13i-

14 appeared for plaintiffs.

15 For the following reasons, this Court GRANTS

16 defendants' motion for summary judgment.

Since only "Doe"

17 defendants remain in the action, this Court

DISMISSES

18 plaintiffs' second amended complaint WITH

PREJUDICE. WITH PREJUDICE.

19 Defendants' motion to strike motion is there-

fore MOOT.

20

21 I. BACKGROUND

22 Plaintiff Sieu Mei Tu, a sixty-two year old

Asian

23 female, was laid off from employment by the

Pacific Fruit

24 Express Company (PFE), a subsidiary

of Southern Pacific

25 Transportation Co. (SP). Plaintiffs Sieu Mei

Tu and Joseph >

26 Tu claim that Sieu Mei Tu was terminated by

PFE because of

27

=i52"

28 her age, sex, and race, in violation of the

California Fair 2 Employment and Employment and

Housing Act. Plaintiffs further allege that the

union defendants breached their duty of fair

3 representation under the Railway Labor Act, 45

U.S.C. 151

4 et seq, by failing to adequately prosecute

Sieu Mei Tu's

5 grievance against PFE.

7 II. STANDARD FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

8 Under Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil

9 Procedure (FRCP), summary judgment may be

granted when the

10 pleadings, depositions, answers to interroga-

tories, and

11 admissions on file, together with the affida-

vits, if any,

12 show that there is no genuine issues as to

any material fact

13 and that the party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of

14 law."

15 In a motion for summary judgment,

-i353=-

"(ijf the party

16 moving for summary judgment meets its initial

burden of ~

17 identifying for the court those portions of

the materials on

18 file that it believes demonstrates the

absence of any

20 genuine issues of material fact," the burden

of production then shifts so that "the nonmoving

party must set forth, by

22 affidavit or as otherwise provided in Rule

56, “specific

23 facts showing-that there is a genuine issue

for triai.® T.W. Electrical Service, Inc. v.

Pacific Electrical

24 Contractors Ass'n, 809 F.2d 626, 630 (9th

Cir. 1987) (citing

25 Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 106 S. Ct. 2548,

2553 (1986);

1. Kaiser Cement Corp v. Fischbach & Moore,

Inc., 793 F.2d

1100, 1103-4 (9th Cir.), cert denied, 107 S. Ct.

435 (1986))

~1356¢

2 (emphasis in original). Summary judgment may

issue after

3 adequate time for discovery and upon

motion, against a party

4 who fails to make a showing sufficient. to

establish the

5 existence of an element essential to that

party's case, and

6 on which that party will bear the burden of

proof at trial.

7 Celotex Corp., 106 S. Ct at 2553-54. The stan-

dard for

8 judging either a defendant's or plaintiff's

motion for

9 summary judgment is the same standard used to

judge a motion |

10 for a directed verdict: "whether the evidence

presents a sufficient disagreement to require

submission to a jury or

12 whether it is so one-sided that one party

must prevail as a

13 matter of law." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 106 S. Ct. 14 2505, 2512 (1986).

-i55>

15 Under this standard, the Court finds that no

genuine

16 issue of material fact remains with respect

to plaintiffs'

17 claim for breach of duty of fair representa-

tion. Summary

18 judgment is therefore appropriate.

20 III. BREACH OF DUTY OF DUTY OF FAIR REPRES-

ENTATION

21 Defendants move for summary judgment on

plaintiffs'

22 claim for breach of duty of fair representa-

tion. A union

23 violates its duty of fair representation only

if its conduct

24 toward a member of the collective bargaining

unit is

25 arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith."

Vaca v. Sipes,

1. 386 U.S. 171, 190 (1967); Salinas v. Milne

Truck Lines

Inc., 846 F.2d 568, 569 (Sth Cir. 1988). A

court must

-156-

3 initially determine whether the act in ques-

tion involved the union's judgment or whether it

was procedural or

4 ministerial.1 Moore v. Bechtel Power Corp.,

840 F.2d 634, 5 6 636, (9th Cir. 1988). If a

union's judgment is in question,

7 the plaintiff may prevail only if the union's

conduct was "discriminatory or in bad faith."ID

8 Defendants argue that they are entitled to

summary

9 judgment because they acted in good faith and

without a

10 discriminatory motive in representing Sieu

Mei Tu.

11 Defendants advance five arguments to support

their claim

12 that their conduct was neither discriminatory

or in bad

13 faith.

14 First, defendants point out that, in antici-

pation of

15 the closing of the Brisbane office, they

filed a claim under

-157-

16 the collective bargaining agreement with PFE

on behalf of

17 Sieu Mei and others similarly situated.

In the claim,

18 defendants stated that PFE was wrongfully

transferring work

19 to other companies and locations without pro-

viding employees

20 with "TOPS" protection.1

21 Second, defendants note that after Sieu Mei

Tu and

22 seven others were laid off, they filed

another grievance,

24 insisting that the employees be permitted to

follow their

25 1"TOPS" protection provides job guarantees and

monetary benefits for employees adversely affected

by abolishments

26 and/or transfers

1. work to San Francisco or be provided with

"TOPS" protection. The union eventually appealed

both grievances. appealed both grievances.

2 Third, defendants note that in response

~-

-i 55"

SKE OO

to the

3 inquiries by plaintiffs' counsel, defendants

informed him by

4 letter that the union was pursuing a claim

under the

5 collective bargaining claim under the collec-

tive bargaining agreement on Sieu Mei fTu's

behalf.

6 Fourth, defendants point out that they held

meetings

7 with the Brisbane clerks during this period,

which Sieu Mei

8 Tu attended, to inform the members of the

actions the union

9 was taking against PFE.

10 Fifth, defendants contend that they took the

grievance

11 to arbitration and were ultimately unsucces-

sful. However,

12 defendants maintain that they convinced

the arbitrator that

13 the laid off employees, including Sieu Mei

Tu, should be

14 given priority consideration for new jobs

with SP.

15 Defendants note that they provided Sieu Mei

Tu's name and

16 address to SP for reemployment consideration,

any she was

17 interviewed for a new position as a result of

their efforts.

18 This Court finds defendants' argument persua-

Sive.

19 Defendants' adherence to established proce-

dures for handling

20 grievances suggest that its conduct was

neither

21 discriminatory or in bad faith, and therefore

or in bad faith, and therefore not a breach

22 of duty of fair representation. See Johnson

v. United

23 States Postal Service, 756 F.2d 1461, 1466 (9th

Cir. 1985).

24 Opposing defendants' motion, plaintiffs

allege in their

25 papers and at orai argument that defendants

~260=

breached their

1.duty of fair representation

by acting in an arbitrary, prejudicial, and per-

functory manner by failing: (1) to

2 present any evidence at the arbitration hear-

ing; (2) to

3 confer with Sieu Mei Tu or her attorney con-

cerning her

4 claims; (3) to make a discrimination claim on

her behalf;

5 and (4) to protect her from retaliation. As

support,

6 plaintiffs only refer only refer to the trans-

cripts of the arbitration

7 hearing, the Interstate Commerce Commission's

hearing, and

8 this Court's hearing on the Railroad defen-

dants' motion for

9 summary judgment.

10 This Court finds plaintiffs' argument unper-

suasive. A

ll party responding to a motion for summary

judgment may not

12 rest on mere allegations of pleadings but,

rather, must set

13 forth specific facts showing there is a

genuine issue for

14 trial. Celotex, 106 S. Ct. at 2552. Id at

2552. It is the non-moving

15 party's burden to produce evidence that would

Support a jury

16 verdict in his favor. Anderson, 106 S. Ct at

256.

17 In response to defendants' motion, plaintiffs

refer

18 only to the transcripts noted above and the

prior

19 declarations that plaintiffs filed in opposi-

tion to the

20 Railroad defendants' prior motion for summary

judgment.

21 Even assuming that there that there is evi-

dentiary material properly

22 before the Court before the Court in the

transcripts, there is no showing by

23 this material or by the declarations that the

-162=-

defendants'

24 conduct was either discriminatory or in bad

faith.

25 Plaintiffs have therefore failed to present

any evidence which raises a genuine issue of

material fact. Since plaintiffs offer only the

conclusory allegations that

2 disputed material exists, without offering the

necessary

3 supporting evidence, plaintiffs have failed to

raise a

4 triable issue of material fact with respect to

their claim

5 for breach of duty of fair representation.

6 Accordingly, this Court GRANTS defendants’

motion for

7 summary judgment as to plaintiffs' claim for

breach the duty

8 of fair representation against the’ union

defendants. Since

9 union officers are immune from personal

liability for acts

10 undertaken as union representatives, Peterson

“163°

—

v. Kennedy, 11 771 F.2d 1244, 1256-57 (9th.Cir.

1985), summary judgment is

12 also appropriate in favor of R. B. Brackbill

and J. M.

13 Balovich, named as individual defendants.

14 CONCLUSION

16 Therefore, this Court GRANTS defendants’

motion for

17 summary judgment as to plaintiffs' claim for

breach of duty

18 of fair representation and DISMISSES WITH

PREJUDICE

19 plaintiffs' second amended complaint. Defen-

dants' motion to

20 strike is now MOOT.

21 IT IS SO ORDERED.

22 DATED: August 11, 1989

23 D. Lowell Jensen

24 United States District Judge

-164-

Filed Aug. 14, 1989

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SIEU MEI TU and JOSEPH TU,

4 C-87-1198-DIJ

Plaintiffs,

5 JUDGMENT

6 SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION

7 COMPANY, et al.,

8 Defendants.

10 For the reasons set forth in this reasons set

forth in this Court's order granting defendants'

motion for summary judgment, issued on 12 August

11, 1989, judgment is hereby entered in favor of

13 defendants.

15 IT IS SO ORDERED.

16 Dated: August 11, 1989

18 D. Lowell Jensen

United States District Jucge

SERVICE DATE

SERVICE DATE DEC 4, 1992

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

DECISION

Finance Docket No. 30400 (Sub-no. 21)

SANTA FE SOUTHERN PACIFIC CORPORATION -- CONTROL

SOUTHERN PACIFIC TRANSPORTATION COMPANY

Decided: December 3, 1992

By decision served June 18, 1992, the Commission

reopened this proceeding and establish

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sieu Mei Tu v. Southern Pacific Transportation Co. · 507 U.S. 918 | Frix