Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Le'Mon v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

our US

ae oe

i VU; 0.0:

IN THE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

PETE LE’MON,

Petitioner,

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HUGH L. REILLY* EDWIN VIEIRA, JR.

National Right to Work Legal 13877 Napa Drive

Defense Foundation, Inc. Manassas, Virginia 22111

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600 (703) 791-6780

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

*Counsel of Record

June 22, 1992

-i-

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Is a per se violation of the duty of fair representation

established where employees are terminated from employment

because the labor organization that is their exclusive represen-

tative under § 9(a) of the National Labor Relations Act did not

fulfill its mandatory duty to file the notice of strike required by

§ 8(d) of the Act?

2. Is a violation of the duty of fair representation established

where the labor organization that is the employees’ exclusive

representative under § 9(a) failed to advise them that it had not

fulfilled its mandatory duty to file the notice of strike required by

§ 8(d) both prior to the employees’ vote on whether to ratify

their employer's bargaining proposal or engage in a sirike, and

again after the strike began when that default was

questioned—and, as a result, those employees were terminated

from employment?

3. If the duty of fair respresentation provides employees

with no relief when they are discharged from their employment

solely because the labor organization which is their § 9(a)

exclusive representative fails to file the notice of strike required

by § 8(d) and to advise the employees of that Statutory default,

are the employees deprived of their right to due process of law

under the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States?

-ii-

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties named in the caption in this Court are the

parties to the proceedings below, namely:

Petitioner: Pete Le’Mon.

Respondent: National Labor Relations Board.

-ili-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..........

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW ........

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES VEE y ree eT eEEL EET

INTRODUCTION OLAS Pe eee ee ee ee eee eee ee

OPINIONS BELOW .... 2... ccc ccc cece cen cncnns

DUE Kw vec e essen cere ercvrereseseces

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ........------+eeeeees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........2cccccccccces

EE Pe Pee ee ee ee ee eS

Litigation History ........---- ese ee rere eee

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT ..

I. The substantial-evidence rule does not

permit the Court of Appeals to accept the

NLRB’s view that SMW’s conduct amounted

only to “mere negligence” ..........--+--+--

II. SMW’s conduct constitutes a breach of

the DFR whether labelled “mere negligence”

or “reckless disregard” of the employees’

WE vw i wees secens ae cee cee neesescces

-jv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS - CONTINUED

Page

III. If SMW’s conduct does not constitute a

breach of the DFR, Le’Mon has been

deprived of “liberty” and “property”

withdut due process of law, in violation

of the Fifth Amendment .................. 24

CRAAMMEIES aca ccwssescy eee eer eT Tere ree 28

APPENDICES

A. ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

AND SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING

See re es Oy Dn oe ccc c cows venesies la

B. DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH

CED CEC EG GUOEE 6 Ok 6h ea wkn eee ccscdus 3a

C. JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH

CURCUNT Ole 7, Dw... oo con. 5555..-.>- 9a

D. DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH

CIRCUIT AFFIRMING THE ORDER OF

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD (May 7, 1990) ...........-ee eee eeee lla

E. DECISION AND ORDER OF THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

AND ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE’S

SPE Ee CUO. SU, SUED 5 kn keseseascscccss 21a

-V-

TABLE OF CONTENTS - CONTINUED

Page

F. COMPLAINT AND NOTICE OF HEARING

(Ag. Zi, TRGB) osc sc emace’s Pree Peer Tee 49a

G. RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

yy vptgi? $9. * Breer 55a

H. APPELLANT'S PETITION FOR PANEL ~*

REHEARING WITH SUGGESTION

FOR REHEARING EN BANC FILED

WITH THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH

COGAPEE GOO BO; SOME: So ke eke 6 soy es cerned 59a

-vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Abood v. Detroit Board of Education,

431 U.S. 209 (1977)

Air Line Pilots Association v. O'Neill,

499 U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 1127 (1991) .......

Alicea v. Suffield Poultry, Inc., 902 F.2d

125 (ist Cir. 1990)

Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247 (1978) ........

Carswell v. Bay County, 854 F.2d

454 (11th Cir. 1988)

Chicago Teachers Union, Local

No. I v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986)

City of Canton v. Harmis, 489 U.S. 378 (1989)

Danese v. Asman, 875 F.2d 1239

(6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied,

494 U.S. 1027 (1990)

Davis v. City of Ellensburg,

869 F.2d 1230 (9th Cir. 1989)

Dutnisac v. Caterpillar Tractor Co.,

749 F.2d 1270 (9th Cir. 1983)

Eichelberger v. NLRB, 765 F.2d

851 (9th Cir. 1985)

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976)

“ee ee ee ee eeweeeeeeeeeee

“ee ef ee © @e © ee ew

-vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

Page

Fidelity Leasing Corp. v. Dun & Bradstreet,

54 ©. Supp. 706 (ED. Pa. 1980) 2... 2... ccc eens 19

Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman,

Se NE ses ai cas Se Wah atea enone 27

Foust v. Electrical Workers, 572 F.2d

710 (10th Cir. 1978), rev'd on other

groumams, 442 US. 42 (1979) nw. ccc cee 8, 18

Hitchman Coal & Coke Co. v. Mitchell,

POE PUNE ik nuns bn 4ds <n sabecneesaw nn 25

J.I. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S.

RS ne ee ean oe 26

Kozera v. Westchester-Fairfield

Electrical Contractors Ass’n,

909 F.2d 48 (2d Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, _ US. __,

PRR EES cow na bade as even veeeGadeas 23

Local 860, Teamsters v. NLRB,

See ue ONE Cis GO OED ck ce aces ccnseeocds 23

Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB,

etn su de ebawnswedbiectake 25-26

NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co.,

ee eb i we CRAKS wos vomeaws 20, 25

NLRB v. Catholic Bishop,

ee ME So ccna ot Ansan eet euateds 28

-Vili-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

Page

NLRB v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp.,

— ge SP ere ere Tee eee eee eee eee ee 19, 26

Order of Railroad Telegraphers v.

Railway Express Agency, Inc., 321 U.S.

| RR Srey rere rr ee ee eee ee 26

Peterson v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244

Perr eT Teer Tere rere eee 17, 25

Railway Clerks v. Allen,

I OC OT cas cn oa coe 6s wee ew vom 23

Robesky v. Qantas Empire Airways, Lid.,

og ge errr rr errr rey r rey eS 19

Robinson Insurance & Real Estate, Inc.

v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co.,

306 F. Bae. FGF CWE. AGG. F973) ww cess 19

Spell v. McDaniel, 824 F.2d 1380

(4th Cir. 1987), cert. denied

sub nom. City of Fayetteville

oe ke eae. | rer rrrrrrerr err ere 24 ©

Steele v. Louisville & N.R.R.,

me es ree 23-24, 26-27

Swatts v. United Steelworkers,

ee Bee ey fe | err ere errr 23

United Steelworkers v. Rawson, :

RC reer ee re ray, passim

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

Page

Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB,

i fe | a 16

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 ( ME rp ebeeekus cen passim

Virginian Ry. v. System Federation

No. 40, 300 U.S. 515 (1937) ...................... 26

Wallace Corp. v. NLRB,

FEF Me MOTI) oon ck cence cc cewccce..,. 27

Constitutional, Rule &

Statutory Provisions

i SS ea eee 20

pi ee a, ZS

i passim

Rules of the Supreme Court of

the United States

RG Cxwbe deeds cee kth halcacc re 11

WE Weide e severe sis ce ee 11

aot Pe Seg gep rc a, ADNe Ie a Se eh 2

28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West 1990) ................... 2

National Labor Relations Act

29 US.C.A. § 141(b) (West 1990) .............. 3, 19

29 US.C.A. § 151 (West 1990) ................ 3, 19

29 U.S.C.A. § 157 (West 1990) ................... 3

-X-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - CONTINUED

Page

29 U.S.C.A. § 158(b)(1)(A)

Ee CES on cask 6 es 64.08 WOW ee

29 US.CA. § 158(d) (West 1990) ............. passim

29 U.S.C.A. § 158(d)(3) (West 1990) ........... 4, 13

29 US.CA. § 159(a) (West 1990) ............. passun

y Bib tow SF ith 8 eee 3,8

ee ey Se ak nae 0 bees d cebcicseons 23-24

Miscellaneous

Comment, “The Mechanics of Collective

Bargaining,” 53 Harv. L. Rev. 745

Pn SeccshseeeSat hee sa bekaseaseceekd cweens 26

J.A. Gross, The Making of the National

Labor Relations Board: A Study in

Economics, Politics and the Law,

ED 6c cee ek ee eecnsacekt-eesdetewsons 26

Weyland, “Majority Rule in Collective

Bargaining,” 45 Colum. L. Rev.,

| TTT eT TTT CR PLT TT eee ree Teer ere 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

PETE LE’MON,

Petitioner,

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner Pete Le’Mon respectfully requests that a writ of

certiorari issue to the United States Court of Appeals.

OPINIONS BELOW

This case originated with charges Le’Mon filed with the

National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) through its Regional

Office in Phoenix, Arizona. The NLRB Regional Director

issued a complaint which was heard before an Administrative Law

Judge (ALJ). The ALJ issued a recommended decision and

order. The ALJ’s recommended decision was reviewed by a

panel of the NLRB, which issued a decision. The NLRB’s

decision was reviewed by the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit. This process resulted in the following

decisions:

2.

The ALJ’s recommended decision and order is dated March

4, 1987, is officially reported at 291 N.L.R.B. No. 41, and is

reprinted in the Appendix (App. __) at 30a.

The NLRB’s decision and order is dated September 30, 1988,

is officially reported at 291 N.L.R.B. No. 41, unofficially reported

at 131 L.R.R.M. 1199, and is reprinted at App. 21a.

The initial decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit is officially reported at 902 F.2d 810 (1990),

is unofficially reported at 134 L.R.R.M. 2209, and is reprinted at

App. lla. The judgment thereon is reprinted at App. 9a.

Pete Le’Mon, the petitioner here, filed a timely petition for

certiorari with this Court from the initial decision of the Tenth

Circuit in this case. This Court, on March 25, 1991, remanded

the case for reconsideration in light of United Steelworkers v.

Rawson, 495 U.S. 362 (1990), and Air Line Pilots Association v.

O'Neill, 499 U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 1127 (1991). Le’Mon v. NLRB,

__ US. __, 111 S. Ct. 1383 (1991).

On remand, the Tenth Circuit affirmed its initial decision,

although on different grounds. Le’Mon v. NLRB, 952 F.2d 1203

(December 20, 1991) (Le’Mon II). The decision on remand is

reprinted at App. 3a. Le’Mon filed a timely petition for rehear-

ing and suggestion for rehearing en banc. The Court, by order

entered March 24, 1992, denied both the petition for rehearing

and the suggestion for rehearing en banc. The order is unpub-

lished, and is reprinted at App. la.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Tenth Circuit on remand from this

Court, App. 3a, was entered December 20, 1991. Le’Mon’s

timely petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc, App. 59a, was denied on March 24, 1992. App. la. This

Court therefore has jurisdiction over the instant petition under

28 U.S.C.A. § 1254(1) (West 1990) and Rule 13.4 of its rules.

a eemeraceaaeenaaa mmm

x *

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First and Fifth Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States are relevant to this case. In addi'ion, §§ 7, 8(b)(1)

(A), 8(d), 9(a) and 10(f) of the National Labor Relations Act

(NLRA), respectively 29 U.S.C.A. §§ 157, 158(b)(I)(A), 158(d),

159(a), and 160(f) (West 1990), as well as 29 U.S.C.A. §§ 141(b),

151 (West 1990), are germane to this Court’s consideration of the

case. All relevant constitutional and statutory provisions are

reprinted verbatim and in order, beginning at App. 55a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Material Facts

Le’Mon was employed by Aztech International, Inc.

(Aztech), as a silkscreen paint specialist, until October of 1985.

His employment was within a bargaining unit of employees

represented by Sheet Metal Workers’ International Association

Local No. 49 (SMW). SMW was the exclusive representative of

unit employees, including Le’Mon, under authority of NLRA

§ 9(a) for purposes of collective bargaining, contract administra-

tion, and grievance adjustment with Aztech on the employees’

behalf.

The Aztech/SMW collective bargaining agreement covering

unit employees was due to expire on September 30, 1985. In the

late Summer of 1985, SMW conducted a strike vote among the

Aztech employees it represented. The membership authorized a

strike to be conducted. On September 29, 1985, SMW had

received Aztech’s “final offer,” and held a membership vote to

i.

accept or reject the bargaining agreement proposed by Aztech.

The membership voted to reject Aztech’s offer.’

A strike ensued on October 1, and effectively ended on

October 5, 1985, when employees learned through newspaper

accounts or letters from Aztech that the strike was “illegal.”

Thereafter, Aztech would only take the striking former employees

back to employment as “new hires.”

SMW concedes that the strike was ii/egal, and that it had not

filed with the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

(FMCS) the strike notice mandated by NLRA § 8&(d). The

record before the ALJ explicitly shows SMW’s admission that,

“service of [the required] notice on the F[ederal] M[ediation] and

Cfonciliation] S[ervice] was given by lawyer (inaudible) Septem-

ber 11, 1985, which was received by the FMCS on September 17,

1985.”? It shows SMW’s additional admission that the notice

“did not comply with the thirty-day time period required for

notice of the existence of the dispute as set forth in Section

[8(d)(3)] of the [NLRAJ.”° And the record contains SMW’s

further admission that “its conduct [of the strike] began in less

than thirty days after service of the notice on FMCS.” * As

SMW’s lawyer put it: “Yeah, well, obviously I’m stuck with the

fact that we gave the notice on the 11th, it was received on the

17th by the Service, a strike commenced on October 1. Now, I’m

not going to deny any of those facts * * * that’s obvious.”* Thus,

' ‘There is a factual dispute, irrelevant to this petition, as to the exact date

within this period that the strike was authorized by SMW membership, as well

as to whether the authorization was unanimous or not.

? Transcript (Tr.__) of proceedings before the ALJ, October 21, 1986, at 8.

* Tr. 9 (emphasis added).

* Id.

> De. #7.

eae immatmemmeaeaeamma em caamaaicarata tae eee eanien aetna

xs

the strike was begun a full nineteen days before one was permit-

ted under § 8(d).

Even more fundamentally to this Court’s review of the issues

in this case, the record below shows that SMW never advised the

Aztech employees at the meetings held in September of 1985 that

the notice required by § 8(d) had not been timely filed. Accord-

ing to SMW records, meetings were held on September 18, 26,

and 30.° The September 30, 1985 meeting was crucial, as it was

held “[t]o accept or reject the contract.”’ Thus, in voting on

September 30, the employees were denied the vital piece of

information that SMW had not timely filed the notice which was

a mandatory precondition to a lawful strike. As the ALJ so

sensitively put it, despite his harsh decision described below, “I’m

sorry that it caused such pain for the employees, who found

themselves hooked by the language of Section 8-D, which

deprived them of employment status.”

Litigation History

On October 29, 1985, Le’Mon filed charges with the NLRB’s

Regional Office in Phoenix. He alleged that SMW violated

NLRA § 8(b)(1)(A) because, inter alia, it did not advise the

Aztech employees it represented that SMW had not timely filed

the § 8(d) notice. The Regional Director issued a complaint on

those charges on April 21, 1986.°

The issues raised by the Regional Director’s complaint were

presented to James M. Kennedy, ALJ, on October 21, 1986. ALJ

Kennedy issued his decision on March 4, 1987."° ALJ Kennedy

first identified two separate standards for duty-of-fair-representa-

tion (DFR) violations. First, he concluded that SMW’s duty “was

not a fiduciary one, for the Supreme Court and the Board have

both held that the relationship requires only that the statutory

representative provide equal protection to the employees it

represents.”"’ On the other hand, ALJ Kennedy also concluded

that “[a]s a result of Vaca [v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967)] the duty

of fair representation is now often described as one in which a

union may not act arbitrarily, invidiously, irrelevantly, unfairly or

perfunctorily in carrying out its representational duties.” He

acknowledged that “the duty itself remains somewhat murky

depending on the fact pattern being presented.” After finding

that “if [SMW’s] duty is that of a fiduciary, it failed to meet it[,]”

ALJ Kennedy ultimately found no violation in this case because,

“only those [acts] which have been motivated by hostile, invidious,

irrelevant, or unfair considerations [result in a DFR viola-

tion].”"*

The NLRB affirmed in a decision and order dated Septem-

ber 30, 1988." The NLRB found that SMW’s “deficiencies in

representing the employees amounted to no more than mere

© App. 30a.

" App. 39a.

App. 40a.

"> App. 41a.

'* App. 46a (citing cases) (emphasis added). Also, at App. 46a n.7, the ALJ

noted that, “[t}he Board has imposed a fiduciary obligation on unions in the

enforcement of union security clauses.”

'S App. 21a.

2

x 2

negligence.” The NLRB admonished that “[t]he representa-

tion that [SMW] provided the employees in this case may not

meet the standards of competence and caution that the Board

would like to see observed.”’’ Despite the fact that SMW failed

to meet “the standards of competence and caution” the NLRB

would otherwise have liked, the NLRB found no violation of

§ 8(b)(1)(A) because “[a] breach of duty of fair representation

occurs Only when the representative’s conduct is ‘arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith.’”'* The NLRB did not “consider

the conduct here to have been arbitrary.” As a caveat, the

NLRB “assume[d], arguendo, that a union that takes action in

‘reckless disregard’ of its statutory duties to unit employees

violates its duty of fair representation.”"” But remarkably, the

NLRB suggested that the employees’ only remedy for SMW’s

nonfeasance and misfeasance was to “boot the rascals out,” and

not compensation for the losses resulting from that miscon-

duct.”

6 App. 22a. The NLRB panel agreed on this point. It split 2-1 over

whether SMW’s treatment of employees, on or after October 2, 1985, was a

further violation of the DFR.

” App. 24a.

* Id.

"9 Id.

® Id. at n.5.

' The NLRB said: “[SMW’s] deficiency in representation is a matter for

employees to consider in selecting and supporting their representative, not a

matter correctable under Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act.” App. 24a-25a.

-

Le’Mon filed a petition for review of the NLRB’s decision

with the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.”

The Tenth Circuit affirmed the NLRB in a decision filed May 7,

1990.~ Judgment was entered thereon on that same date.

In its decision, the court noted that, “[bjoth Vaca and Foust I

involved a union’s handling of an individual union member’s

grievance, while in the present case the union’s negligent conduct

affected all its members.”* Distinguishing those cases from

Le’Mon’s, the court said that “the injured party here is not an

individual or group singled out for treatment different from that

accorded the majority, but the entire class of Aztech employees

represented by the Union.”* On that basis, the court “de-

cline[d] to extend the duty to situations in which the injury

suffered is common to the majority of represented employees.””’

Like the NLRB, the court eschewed any relief for employees in

Le’Mon’s situation, saying, with complete disregard for the facts,

“the Aztech employees had a remedy against the Union for the

harm caused by the Union’s negligence and they used that

2 The court had jurisdiction over Le’Mon’s petition for review, as he is a

“person aggrieved by a final order of the Board granting or denying in whole or

in part the relief sought,” under NLRA § 10(f), 29 U.S.CA. § 160(f) (West

1990).

® App. 11a.

* App. 9a.

* App. 15a. Vaca refers to Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967). Foust I

refers to Foust v. Electrical Workers, 572 F.2d 710 (10th Cir. 1978), rev’d on

other grounds, 442 U.S. 42 (1979) (emphasis in original text).

** App. 17a.

7” App. 20a.

-9-

remedy: they petitioned for an election to oust the Union as the

exclusive bargaining representative.”™

Le’Mon filed a timely petition for certiorari with this

Court.” This Court granted Le’Mon’s petition, and remanded

the case for consideration “in light of Air Line Pilots Association,

International v. O'Neill, 499 U.S. __[, 111 S. Ct. 1127] (1991)

and United Steelworkers of America, AFL-CIO-CLC vy. Rawson,

495 U.S. [362] (1990).””

On remand, the Tenth Circuit stated: “We affirm after

reconsideration of the case, albeit on grounds different from

those underlying our decision in Le’Mon I." The court

acknowledged that “[a]rbitrary union conduct breaches the duty

of fair representation and invites sanction by the [National Labor

Relations] Board and the courts.” The court also acknowl-

edged that “[a] finding that [union] conduct amounts to mere

negligence should be reviewed under the same [substantial

evidence] standard.”” Despite recognition of the applicable

legal and review standards, and without examining whether the

“record as a whole” supports (or requires) the conclusion that the

union’s conduct was more than “mere negligence” and even a per

se violation of the duty of fair representation, the court

* App. 18a. Of course, the court did not, and could not, explain how

Ousting SMW restores the employees’ economic losses resulting from its DFR

violation.

*® Le’Mon v. NLRB, 902 F.2d 810 (10th Cir. 1990), petition for cert. filed, 59

U.S.L.W. 3180 (U.S. Sept. 5, 1990) (No. 90-400).

* Le’Mon v. NLRB,__US.__, 111. Ct. 1383 (1991), vacating judgment

and remanding 902 F.2d 810 (10th Cir. 1990).

* Le’Mon v. NLRB, 952 F.2d 1203 (10th Cir. 1991), App. at 4a.

* App. at Sa.

* App. at 6a.

-10-

inexplicably concluded: “Where union behavior is merely

negligent, nothing more need be done, and courts should not

intervene.”™

Le’Mon filed a petition for panel rehearing with suggestion

for rehearing en banc.” He there presented his position that

the court on remand had “overlooked or ignored” issues present-

ed by O’Neill and Rawson.” He also argued that the panel’s

decision on remand raised serious and substantial questions under

the Fifth Amendment, on grounds that if, in these circumstances,

Le’Mon had no relief under the duty of fair representation, then

the statute’s grant of “exclusive representation” to SMW deprived

him of “liberty” and “property” interests in his employment.”

The court denied Le’Mon’s petition and suggestion by clerk's

order dated March 24, 1992, and without an opinion.*

ARGUMENT FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

This Court should grant a writ of certiorari for two reasons:

First, although purporting to rely on a decision of the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit” for the proposition that the

DFR does not apply to a union’s “merely negligent” conduct, the

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit instead has actually ruled

™ App. at 8a.

*§ App. at 62a. .

* App. at 69a-75a. .

*” App. at 75a-76a.

* App. at la.

* Eichelberger v. NLRB, 765 F.2d 851 (9th Cir. 1985), cited in App. at 6a.

|

44.

in conflict with that decision.“ And second, by holding the

DFR inapplicable to “merely negligent” violations of the man-

datory duty to file the mandatory § 8(d) notice, the Court of

Appeals has drawn into serious question the constitutionality of

§ 9(a), thereby implicitly deciding an important issue of federal

labor and constitutional law that has not been, but should be,

explicitly settled by this Court.

The Court of Appeals’ opinion in Le’Mon II explicitly rests

on two propositions:

¢ Substantial evidence supports the NLRB’s finding that

SMW’s conduct amounted only to “mere negligence.”

And,

@ “Mere negligence” cannot constitute a violation of the

DFR.“

The court’s denial of Le’Mon’s petition for rehearing and

rehearing en banc also implicitly rejects the argument that:

¢ Ifthe DFR provides no remedy here, Le’Mon has been

_ deprived of liberty and property without due process

(indeed, without any process) of law.“

On each of these points, the Court of Appeals has ruled in

irreconcilable conflict with the legitimate purposes of and limits

upon exclusive representation under § 9(a), this Court’s decisions

in O’Neill and Rawson, and the requirements of the Due Process

“ Rule of the Supreme Court of the United States 10.1(a) justifies review

on that ground alone.

“ Rule 10.1(c).

© App. at 6a.

© See App. at 75a.

-12-

Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States.

I. The substantial-evidence rule does not permit the

Court of Appeals to accept the NLRB’s view that

SMW’s conduct amounted only to “mere negligence.”

Citing the Ninth Circuit’s earlier opinion in Eichelberger, the

Court of Appeals noted that “[a] finding [by the NLRB] that

[union] conduct amounts to mere negligence should be reviewed

under the [substantial-evidence] standard.“ As Eichelberger

itself demonstrates, however, that the record may contain

substantial evidence of “mere negligence” does not necessarily

preclude it from also containing substantial evidence of “‘some-

thing more’ than mere negligence, i.e., arbitrary conduct violative

of [the DFR]."* Thus, contrary to the Court of Appeals’ view,

the issue here is not whether “the evidence is insufficient to

support the [NLRB’s] characterization of the conduct of the

Union representatives as [mere] negligence,” but instead, whether

the evidence belies the NLRB’s denial that that conduct was

more than “merely negligent.”

Such is this case. The Court of Appeals focussed too

narrowly on whether “the Union representatives’ exhortation to

continue the strike after they learned of its possible illegality goes

beyond mere negligence." The record as a whole paints a

broader picture of culpability:

-

“ App. at 6a, citing Eichelberger v. NLRB, 765 F.2d 851, 856 (9th Cir. 1985).

© Eichelberger, 765 F.2d at 856.

“ App. at 7a (emphasis added).

nnn eneneeeeneemmmmnnmnme amen

i lace emailed

-13-

Before the strike began —

¢ The strike was illegal because one of SMW’s agents (an

attorney) had not timely filed with the FMCS the notice

required by § 8(d)(3).”’

¢ At three meetings—including the crucial one held to

accept or reject the contract—other of SMW’s agents

failed to advise the employees that the union had not

timely filed the notice that was a mandatory precondi-

tion to a lawful strike, and in the absence of which

“[a}]ny employee who engages in a strike * * * shall lose

his status as an employee of the employer engaged in

the * * * labor dispute.”

After the strike began —

¢ The day the strike began, all the employees received a

letter from Aztech stating that the strike was i!legal,

that the employees were not protected by the NLRA

against discharge, and that all of them were terminated

“effective immediately.”

¢ The next day, an article in a local newspaper reported

that Aztech had filed an unfair-labor-practice charge

against SMW, and that the NLRB Resident Officer had

stated that the picketing was illegal.”

¢ Both before and after the newspaper article appeared,

SMW agents Briggs and Gilliland were aware of

” Tr. at 8-9, 17. «

“ 29 U.S.C.A. § 158(d) (West 1990), App. at 58a.

” App. at 35a-36a.

* App. at 36a.

-14-

Aztech’s contention that the strike was illegal, but “did

not believe it,” and told employees that the statements

in the discharge letter were only “a company tactic.”

¢ Briggs’ and Gilliland’s disbelief of Aztech’s assertion was

not based on any knowledge or expertise they had,” or

on advice of SMW’s attorney, who was “out of town”

when Briggs called the attorney’s office to verify the

employer’s contention. Rather, it rested solely on

Briggs’ protracted failure to obtain the necessary

information.”

¢@ Thus, prior to and during the strike, one SMW agent—

its attorney—knew that the strike was illegal because of

his own failure to file a timely § 8(d) notice. During

the strike, two SMW agents—Briggs and Gilliland—had

actual notice that both Aztech and an NLRB represen-

tative considered the strike illegal. And, during the

strike, one SMW agent—Briggs—“was unable to find

out whether the [§ 8(d) notice] had been sent timely”

“because of [the attorney's] absence,” but “decided to

‘tough it out’” anyway,” apparently without contacting

the FMCS for verification of the true facts.

The NLRB opined that, in disregarding the employer’s letter

as “company ‘rhetoric’ or a company ‘ploy,’ and urg{ing] the

Strikers to ‘stick together,’” “without further investigating the

*' As the NLRB noted, “[t)he agents were not lawyers and did not seem to

understand the effect that the failure to give proper [§] 8(d) notice had on the

Strikers’ status as employees.” App. at 23a (footnote omitted). Nevertheless,

although aware of their own ignorance of the facts and controlling legal

principles, the agents blindly plunged ahead to recommend to the employees a

course of action that had catastrophic results.

* App. at 37a.

® Id.

-15-

situation or obtaining the advice of [SMW’s] attorneys,”™ Briggs

and Gilliland

may have a. -' negligently, but their conduct was not so

lacking of a r.- onal or logical basis as to be arbitrary.

In meeting the employees’ questions, the agents as-

sessed events from a practical point of view. As they

saw it, loss of employment is a risk in any strike, and

employees’ best protection is to stick together.”

Exactly the opposite is true: “[Al]ssess[ing] events from a

practical point of view”—in deliberate ignorance of both the facts

and the legal consequences thereof—was nonrational and illogical

where the statutory mandate of § 8(d) controlled. For, by force

of § 8(d), loss of employment was not simply “a risk in [continu-

ing the] strike,” but a certainty; and the employees gained no

“protection” by “stick{ing] together” under the delusion of

SMW’s misrepresentations about Aztech’s “rhetoric” and “ploys,”

but only guaranteed the forfeiture of their status as employees

and the benefits that status conferred on them.”

In sum, the Court of Appeals was doubly wrong to say that

Le’Mon rests his contention that the Union’s conduct

deserves sanction on his imputation of knowledge of

illegality to the Union representatives. The [NLRB]

* NLRB Decision, App. at 22a.

* App. at 23a.

* The NLRB suggested that SMW was not “reckless” because, “even if the

agents had understood that the strikers lost status as employees * * * , there was

little they could do to benefit the employees at that point.” App. at 24a. This

gratuitous supposition leaves aside the Possibility that, if SMW had quickly

admitted the illegality of and called off the strike, Aztech would have changed its

Position with respect to terminating the employees.

-16-

found that they did not know * * * and we have no

reason to upset this factual finding.”

First, one SMW representative (its attorney) did know of the

illegality of the strike. Second, two other SMW representatives

(Briggs and Gilliland) were on notice of the illegality, but in the

face of their own inexpertise in labor law and inability to confirm

matters with SMW’s attorney (both of which they were aware)

chose to disregard the dire consequences § 8(d) imposes, and

irresponsibly urged the employees to initiate and continue an

ultimately disastrous course of conduct—in effect, playing Russian

roulette with the employees’ jobs. To disregard what SMW’s own

attorney knew, because its other two agents did not know as

much; and then to disregard that the other two were on notice

that the attorney had information crucial to the situation (but the

specifics of which were unknown to them) is to ignore or flout,

not to apply, the substantial-evidence rule.*

II. SMW’s conduct constitutes a breach of the DFR

whether labelled “mere negligence” or “reckless dis-

regard” of the employees’ rights.

A. The Court of Appeals’ reliance on Eichelberger to deny

that “mere negligence” can constitute a violation of the DFR is

doubly peculiar, because Ejichelberger recognized that, in

Dutrisac,” the Ninth Circuit had held that “negligence may

violate [the DFR] where both the individual interest at stake is

strong and the union’s failure to perform a ministerial act

completely extinguishes the employee’s right to pursue his

*” App. at 7a.

* “The substantiality of evidence must take into account whatever in the

record fairly detracts from its weight.” Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340

U.S. 474, 488 (1951).

* Dustrisac v. Caterpillar Tractor Co., 749 F.2d 1270 (9th Cir. 1983).

o17-

claim.”® As Dutrisac explained, “more instructive” than attach-

ing labels such as “simple negligence” to union misfeasance or

nonfeasance is to consider “the types of unintentional errors

* * * that usually are held to breach the [DFR].”"

Present in this case are the six elements necessary to make

out a DFR violation under Dustrisac, as applied in Eichelberger

and the later decision in Peterson:

e “[A]n employee’s interest in not being fired * * * is

strong.”

@ SMW “failed to perform a procedural or ministerial

act” under § 8(d).

© ‘“[T]he act in question did not require the exercise of

judgment.”*

e “[T]here was no rational and proper basis for the

union’s conduct”;® and SMW’s “total failure to act

* * * is unexplained and unexcused.”®”

© Dutrisac, 749 F.2d at 1274, quoted in Eichelberger, 765 F.2d at 855.

*' 749 F.2d at 1272-73.

© Peterson v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244, 1254 (9th Cir. 1985).

© Eichelberger, 765 F.2d at 855.

- sneaiain 771 F.2d at 1254.

a '

at}

* Dutrisac, 749 F.2d at 1270.

-18-

@ “[T]he union’s failure to perform [that] ministerial act

completely extinguishe[d] the employee’s right” to

employment.* And,

@ SMW’s failure was “the solitary and indivisible cause of

the complete extinguishment of [the] employee’s * * *

rights.”

Therefore, SMW’s conduct constituted a breach of the DFR

even if that conduct could be labelled by someone as “simple

negligence.”

B. Although eschewing the use of “mere[ } labels,” Dutrisac

did recognize that “a[ union’s] unintentional mistake is arbitrary

if it reflects a ‘reckless disregard’ for the rights of the individual

employee, but not if it reflects only ‘simple negligence violating

® Id. at 1274.

® Eichelberger, 765 F.2d at 855. The NLRB lamely offered that “the

employees were free to accept the Union’s advice or the Employer’s advice [as

to striking]. There is no evidence that [SMW], by threat of fine or other

retaliation, coerced the employees to continue collective action. The employees

could have decided to abandon the strike or to apply individually for employ-

ment.” App. at 24a. This too facile observation forgets that Le’Mon lost his

employment, not simply because he was on strike, but solely because: SMW

failed to file the § 8(d) notice, thus rendering the strike illegal ab initio; SMW

failed to notify Le’Mon of this crucial fact; and, after its lay agents should have

realized that a serious problem existed, SMW failed to correct—and, indeed,

created and exacerbated—the employees’ misunderstanding. As Le’Mon’s § 9(a)

exclusive representative, SMW alone had the authority, and the duty, to give the

§ 8(d) notice. Le’Mon was powerless in the premises. Therefore, “[hjaving

undertaken to act affirmatively on behalf of [Le’Mon], the Union is precluded

from escaping responsibility by asserting that [Le’Mon] could or should have

[taken action] rather than depend on it.” Foust v. Electrical Workers, 572 F.2d

710, 717 (10th Cir. 1978), rev’d on other grounds, 442 U.S. 42 (1979).

-19-

the tort standard of due care.’”” In the totality of the circum-

stances here, SMW’s actions (even if arguably “unintentional”)

manifested “reckless disregard” for Le’Mon’s employment

rights.” Yet, the crucial factual-cum-legal element in this case

is the unqualified notice-requirement of § 8(d) that SMW failed

to satisfy. This element renders SMW’s conduct a violation of

the DFR, even if that conduct arguably amounted only to “mere

negligence,” for three reasons:

First, § 8(d) embodies the vital congressional policy of

fostering collective bargaining, in preference to strikes and other

forms of direct action that disrupt interstate commerce.” To

excuse as an unfair labor practice or a breach of the DFR a

union’s failure to comply with § 8(d), simply because that failure

is “merely negligent,” would subordinate this overarching purpose

of the congressional scheme of labor-management relations to

some “lowest common denominator” of union behavior. Know-

ing that many unions acting as exclusive representatives under

§ 9(a) exercise tremendous power to disrupt the flow of interstate

commerce,” Congress could never have intended that national

labor law should immunize such disruption were its source the

unions’ “merely negligent” behavior. For the deleterious effects

” 749 F.2d at 1272, quoting Robesky v. Qantas Empire Airways, Ltd., 573

F.2d 1082, 1089-90 (9th Cir. 1978). See United Steelworkers v. Rawson, 495 US.

362, __, 110 S. Ct. 1904, 1911 (1990) (“The courts have in general assumed that

mere negligence * * * would not state a claim for breach of the duty of fair

representation, and we endorse that view today.” (Emphasis added.))

" See, e.g., Robinson Insurance & Real Estate, Inc. v. Southwestern Bell

Telephone Co., 366 F. Supp. 307, 311 (W.D. Ark. 1973)(“carelessness or

recklessness * * * that shows utter indifference to the consequences that may

result”); Fidelity Leasing Corp. v. Dun & Bradstreet, 494 F. Supp. 786, 790 (E.D.

Pa. 1980) (“a want of even scant care”).

” See 29 U.S.C.A. §§ 141(b), 151 99 1, 3-5 (West 1990) and NLRB v. Jones

& Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1, 6-10 (1937).

™ See 29 US.C.A. § 151, 14 (West 1990).

-20-

on interstate commerce—and the reach of Congress’ power to

intervene“—are identical, whether a statutorily unauthorized

strike arises from “mere negligence,” from “reckless disregard” of

others’ rights, or from intentionally malicious conduct. Therefore,

the policy undergirding § 8(d) calls for a rule deeming any failure

to give the notice that section prescribes a per se violation of the

DFR.

Second, in line with Congress’ deep concern with limiting the

incidence of strikes that further bargaining or mediation might ~ -

forefend, following the failure of the union acting as a § 9(a)

exclusive representative to file the prescribed notice, § 8(d)

penalizes every employee on strike in the most draconian

manner: loss of “his status as an employee of the employer

engaged in the particular labor dispute.” Yet, perforce of § 9(a),

each employee has no choice but to rely on his exclusive repre-

sentative to fulfill the requirements of § 8(d), because exclusive

representation “extinguishes the individual’s power to order his

own relations with his employer and creates a power vested in the

chosen representative.”” The cruel disjunction between the

disability of each employee to protect his own job through self-

help, and the power of the union to misuse its § 9(a) status to

forfeit the employee’s job through noncompliance with § 8(d),

also argues compellingly for a rule deeming any failure to give

the notice the latter section prescribes a per se violation of the

DFR.

Third, such a per se rule would not offend, but indeed would

follow, the reasoning of this Court’s decision in Air Line Pilots |

Association v. O’Neill”® as to what constitutes “arbitrary” conduct

under the DFR. O’Neill held that “a union’s actions are arbitrary

only if, in light of the factual and legal landscape at the time of

™ US. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3.

> NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175, 180 (1967).

* 499 US. __, 111 S. Ct. 1127 (1991).

Se

2.

the union’s actions, the union’s behavior is so far outside a ‘wide

range of reasonableness[ ]’ * * * as to be irrational.”” That is

always the case with respect to union violations of § 8(d)—for

§ 8(d) allows no “range of reasonableness” for union conduct;

and, therefore, “in light of the * * * legal landscape” the statute

paints, failure to follow its exceptionless prescription is necessarily

unreasonable as a matter of law, and “arbitrary” under the DFR.

A DFR claim arising under § 8(d) differs in kind from DFR

claims arising out of a union’s negotiation of a contract or

processing of a grievance. Where, as in O’Neill, a union is

involved “in negotiating and accepting [a] settlement,””

Congress did not intend judicial review of a union’s

performance to permit the court to substitute its own

view of the proper bargain for that reached by the

union. Rather, Congress envisioned the relationship

between the courts and labor unions as similar to that

between the courts and the legislature. Any substantive

examination of a union’s performance, therefore, must

be highly deferential, recognizing the wide latitude that

negotiators need for the effective performance of their

bargaining responsibilities.”

Here, in contrast, SMW’s failure to follow § 8(d) was not part of

“negotiating and accepting [a] settlement”—but rather integral to

an attempt to win a labor dispute by confrontation, not negotia-

tion. And judicial review of SMW’s actions under the DFR will

not “permit the court to substitute its own view of the proper

bargain for that reached by the union,” thereby arguably interfer-

ing with a power Congress conferred on the union—but rather

will impose liability on SMW precisely because of the latter’s

” Td. at __, 111 S. Ct. at 1130.

™ Id. at __, 111 S. Ct. at 1131 (footnote omitted).

™ Id. at___, 111 S. Ct. at 1135.

-22-

unexcusable violation of a strict congressional mandate. Thus,

application of a per se rule under the DFR for violations of

§ 8(d) will place the courts and labor unions in exactly the

relationship “between the courts and the legislature”: that is,

with the judiciary showing no deference to the legislature when

the latter transgresses constitutional limitations.

Similarly, whereas O’Neill held that a union did not breach

the DFR by agreeing to a “bad settlement,” inasmuch as “[a]

settlement is not irrational simply because it turns out in retro-

spect to have been a bad settlement,”"” here SMW’s failure to

follow § 8(d) was illegal, indefensible, and predictably disastrous

to the employees ex ante, not simply “in retrospect.” On no basis

could such action be considered a “rational” tactic. Moreover,

whereas O’Neill held that a union’s “decision to settle [a dispute]

rather than give up was certainly not illogical," here SMW’s

failure served no “logical” purpose at all. Finally, whereas-

O’Neill held that the settlement there was advantageous to “a

significant number” of employees,” here all the employees were

equally hurt by losing their status as employees through SMW’s

misfeasance.

Therefore, SMW’s conduct should be held a per se breach of

the DFR, whatever label arguably attaches to the facts.

C. A per se rule should also apply here because this case

involves SMW’s nondisclosure of information it alone possessed

that was critical to the employees’ welfare. At the three meetings

before the strike, although SMW (as an institution) knew that the

§ 8(d) notice had not been timely filed, it failed to disclose this

Id. at __, 111 S. Ct. at 1136. ’

"Id.

© Td. at__, 111 S. Ct. at 1137.

lai

fact to the employees.” After the strike began, SMW continued

to fail to disclose not only this fact, but also its other agents’

uncertainty and lack of hard knowledge about whether the notice

had been timely filed and what the effect of an untimely filing

was. SMW took these actions in the course of purporting to

“represent” the employees.

Several courts have recognized that the DFR contains a duty

of disclosure.“ This duty of disclosure reflects the constitutional

underpinnings of the DFR, specifically the component of

procedural due process recognized in Steele.* Procedural-due-

process rights, however, are absolute.” Therefore, SMW’s

failure to disclose critical § 8(d) information should be a per se

breach of the DFR.

D. In any event, this Court should not shrink from afford-

ing Le’Mon a remedy by explicitly adopting a standard under the

DFR that distinguishes between “mere negligence” and the

“reckless disregard” for employees’ rights evidenced here.”” In

litigation under Title 42, United States Code, Section 1983, this

© SMW knew, and had a duty to disclose, because its agent (the attorney)

knew, even if the particular Speakers at the meeting were ignorant of the

problem.

“ E.g., Kozera v. Westchester-Fairfield Elec. Contractors Ass'n, 909 F.2d 48,

49 (2d Cir. 1990), cert. denied, a, VS, 111 S. C 956 (1991); Alicea v.

Suffield Poultry, Inc., 902 F.2d 125, 130 (1st Cir. 1990); Swatts v. United

Steelworkers, 808 F.2d 1221, 1224 (7th Cir. 1986); Local 860, Teamsters v.

NLRB, 652 F.2d 1022, 1025 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

" Steele v. Louisville & N.RR, 323 US. 192, 204 (1944): “Whenever

necessary to [ensure fair representation), the union is required * * * to give

[employees] notice of and Opportunity for hearing upon its proposed action.” Cf.

also Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 ( 1986).

" Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 266 (1978).

wd 2 Railway Clerks v. Allen, 373 U.S. 113, 124 (1963).

-24-

Court and other federal courts have taken a parallel tack,

separating “deliberate indifference” (which is actionable) from

“mere negligence” (which is not). Inasmuch as the DFR

derives from constitutional concerns over the permissible latitude

an exclusive representative may have “arbitrarily” to injure the

employees it represents,” the application in labor law of the

same standard of “deliberate indifference” (“reckless disregard”)

commonplace in constitutionally-based litigation under § 1983

would be logical and consistent.”

Ill. If SMW’s conduct does not constitute a breach of the

DFR, Le’Mon has been deprived of “liberty” and

“property” without due process of law, in violation of

the Fifth Amendment.

Unquestionably, as a result of SMW’s misfeasance under

§ 8(d), Le’Mon, through no fault of his own, has been deprived

of his property in “his status as an employee of the employer

engaged in the particular labor dispute.” This deprivation

ultimately derives from Le’Mon’s subjection to SMW as his § 9(a)

exclusive representative. For exclusive representation “extin-

guishes the individual [employee’s] power to order his own

relations with his employer and creates a power vested in the

™ E.g., City of Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378, __, 109 S. Ct. 1197, 1204

(1989); Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 104 (1976); Davis v. City of Ellensburg,

869 F.2d 1230, 1235 (9th Cir. 1989); Danese v. Asman, 875 F.2d 1239, 1242-43

(6th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1027 (1990); Carswell v. Bay County, 854

F.2d 454, 457 (11th Cir. 1988); Spell v. McDaniel, 824 F.2d 1380, 1390 (4th Cir.

1987), cert. denied sub nom. City of Fayetteville v. Spell, 484 U.S. 1027 (1988).

” Steele, 323 U.S. at 198-99, 203 (opinion of the Court), 208 (separate

opinion of Murphy, J.). See post, pages 23-25.

® In this case, even the NLRB had no trouble in assuming that a “reckless-

disregard” standard could apply. App. at 24a, n.5.

ineaeaaiieeal

2s.

chosen representative,” “strip[s the individual employee] of

traditional forms of redress,”"” and gives unions “a thraldom

over the men who desiginate [them]” by “creat[ing] rights in [the]

unions overriding those of the employees they represent.””

And Le’Mon cannot sue SMW’s attorney for malpractice.™

If Le’Mon has no claim against SMW under the DFR jor

SMW’’s failure to fulfill the prescription of § 8(d), simply because

SMW’s conduct could arguably be characterized as “merely

negligent,” then § 9(a) deprives Le’Mon of both “liberty” and

“property” without due process of law, in violation of the Fifth

Amendment. The right of an employee to make contracts with

an employer, without membership in or other intermediation by

a union, “is a part of the constitutional rights of personal liberty

and private property, not to be taken away even by legislation,

unless through some proper exercise of the paramount police

power.” Whether § 9(a) exclusive representation is “a proper

exercise of the paramount police power” in principle this Court

*" NLRB v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175, 180 (1967).

” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 182 (1967).

® Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 678, 696-97 (1944)

(Rutledge, J., dissenting).

™ Peterson v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244, 1256-59 (9th Cir. 1985). Peterson

justified this result on the theory that, “[i}f an attorney’s conduct falls within the

‘arbitrary, discriminatory or bad faith test’ * * * , the union member may sue the

union for breach of the [DFR].” Jd. at 1259. Thus, Le’Mon has a claim against

SMW under the DFR, or no claim at all against anyone.

* Hitchman Coal & Coke Co. v. Mitchell, 245 U.S. 229, 251 (1917). It also

implicates First-Amendment rights of speech and association. See Abood v.

Detroit Bd. of Educ., 431 U.S. 209 (1977).

-26-

has never determined.” In creating the DFR, however, the

Court has recognized that serious constitutional questions would

arise were an exclusive representive authorized to ignore rights

guaranteed by the Constitution.” No reason exists not to apply

*When the constitutionality of the NLRA was first in issue, the NLRB

selected its test-cases “intentionally [to] avoi[d] presenting the Court with the

‘touchy’ and more doubtful question[ }” of exclusive representation. J.A. Gross,

The Making of the National Labor Relations Board: A Study in Economics,

Politics and the Law, 1933-1937 at 187 (1974). And in NLRB v. Jones &

Laughlin Steel Corp., this Court avoided the problem of exclusive representation

by interpreting the statute to permit individual employees to bargain directly with

their employer over the terms and conditions of their employment. 301 US. 1,

45 (1937). Accord, Virginian Ry. v. System Federation No. 40,300 U.S. 515, 548-

49 (1937)(Railway Labor Act). Only seven years later, in cases raising issues of

statutory construction alone, did this Court purport to re-interpret the labor acts

to preclude individual contracts under some circumstances. J.J.Case Co. v.

NLRB, 321 U.S. 332, 334-39 (1944); Order of Railroad Telegraphers v. Railway

Express Agency, Inc., 321 U.S. 342, 346-47 (1944). Neither of these decisions,

however, reconsidered the constitutional matters discussed in Jones & Laughlin

and Virginian Railway, although the statutory constructions adopted in those

cases predicated their constitutional holdings. See Comment, “The Mechanics of

Coliective Bargaining,” 53 Harv. L. Rev. 745, 789-91 (1940). The later decision

in Steele v. Louisville & N.R.R. also pretermitted the question by creating the

DFR, precisely to avoid grappling with the serious problems of due process and

equal protection that exclusive representation raises. 323 U.S. 192, 198 (1944).

See Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 182 (1967); Weyland, “Majority Rule in

Collective Bargaining,” 45 Colum. L. Rev. 556, 568-69 (1945).

” Steele, 323 U.S. at 198-99, 203 (opinion of the Court), 208 (separate

opinion of Murphy, J.). Although arising under the Railway Labor Act, Steele

referred to “the like provision of” § 9(a), and cited NLRA judicial precedents

and legislative history as authority. 323 U.S. at 200, 202 n.3, citing inter alia J.J.

Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332 (1944), and Medo Photo Supply Corp. v. NLRB,

321 U.S. 678 (1944), along with Order of Railroad Telegraphers v. Railway

Express Agency, Inc., 321 U.S. 342 (1944)(a Railway Labor Act case that relied

on J.J. Case Co. as authority). This equation of the two acts is hardly surprising,

exclusive representation having been held identical under each in the seven years

before. NLRB v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1, 44-45 (1937), citing

Virginian Ry. v. System Federation No. 40, 300 U.S. 515, 548-49 (1937). And the

Court immediately extended the DFR from the Railway Labor Act to the

iia ili aalli

2.

this analysis to a § 9(a) union’s statutory duty under § 8(d), the

failure to observe which results (as here) in the otherwise

uncompensatable loss of an employee’s property rights. And no

reason exists not to apply this analysis to “merely negligent”

failures to observe that duty, either.™

On Le’Mon’s petition for rehearing, the Court of Appeals

refused to address this issue, raising for the first time in any court

(Le’Mon believes) the issue of whether § 9(a) exclusive represen-

tation is unconstitutional where:

@ The § 9a) representative violates an exceptionless

statutory duty, with respect to which the union has no discretion.

@ As a direct and foreseeable consequence of that

violation, represented employees lose valuable property rights in

their employment. And,

@ The NLRB and the Court of Appeals hold that the

union did not breach its DFR simply because they label the

union’s conduct “merely negligent”—thereby denying the

employees any relief, not only against the union but also against

any third party.

As the circumstances of this case make clear, the security of

employees’ most important right under the NURA—employment

NLRA, explaining thereafter that Steele was the common source of the duty in

both statutes. See Wallace Corp. v. NLRB, 323 U.S. 248, 255-56 (1944); Ford

Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 336-38 (1953), origin explained in Vaca v.

Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 177 (1967).

™ Steele, after all, rests on the analogy between a union acting as an excluisve

representative and a legislature. 323 U.S. at 198-99. And judicial review of

legislative acts for (in)consistency with the Constitution turns not on whether the

legislature’s acts are “merely negligent,” “reckless,” or “intentional”—but only on

whether those acts comport with constitutional standards vel non.

-28-

itselfi—demands that this issue be addressed, if Le’Mon has no

claim for relief under the DFR.”

CONCLUSION

The writ of certiorari requested should be granted in order

that this Court can resolve:

1. whether a union exercising authority as “exclusive

representative” under § 9(a) commits per se violations of the

DFR owed all represented employees when it fails to file a timely

notice of strike under § 8(d), and further fails to advise employ-

ees of that critical fact;

2. whether such a series of defaults by a union in such

circumstances is more than “mere negligence” and, therefore, a

breach of the DFR; and

3. whether, if the DFR provides no relief for employees

discharged from their employment solely because of their

exclusive representative’s statutory default and subsequent

repeated failures to advise employees of that default, are the

employees deprived of their right to due process of law under the

Fifth Amendment?

These are serious and substantial questions under the NLRA

and United States Constitution. And the standards to be applied

in determining DFR cases continue to divide the Courts of

Appeals. These questions warrant consideration and answers by

* Of course, if possible, the issue should be avoided by deciding that the

DFR provides Le’Mon full relief. See NLRB v. Catholic Bishop, 440 U.S. 490,

499-500 (opinion of the Court), 508-11 (Brennan, J., dissenting) (1979).

-29-

this Court if the DFR is to be, as promised, a “bulwark” protect-

ing employees from harm at the hands of organizations granted

powers as “exclusive representative” under our labor laws.

June 22, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

HUGH L. REILLY*

National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

EDWIN VIEIRA, JR.

13877 Napa Drive

Manassas, Virginia 22111

(703) 791-6780

*Counsel of Record for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

March 24, 1992

-la-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETE LE’MON,

Petitioner,

¥.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent,

SHEET METAL WORKERS INTER-

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION LOCAL

UNION NO. 49 AFL-CIO,

Intervenor.

ORDER

Entered March 24, 1992

Before McKAY, Chief Judge, HOLLOWAY, LOGAN,

SEYMOUR, MOORE, ANDERSON, TACHA, BALDOCK,

BRORBY, and EBEL, Circuit Judges and SEAY*, District

Judge.

Nee eee ee ee ee ee es

No. 88-2833

a.

Honorable Frank H. Seay, Chief Judge, United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma, sitting by

designation.

This matter comes on for consideration of

petitioner’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc.

Upon consideration whereof, the petition for

rehearing is denied by the panel that rendered the

decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing en

banc was transmitted to all of the judges of the court

who are in regular active service. No member of the

panel and no judge in regular active service on the

court having requested that the court be polled on

rehearing en banc, Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing en banc is

denied.

Entered for the Court

Js/

ROBERT L. HOECKER, CLERK

APPENDIX B

DECISION OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

December 20, 1991

-3a-

[952 F.2d 1203]

Pete LEYMON, Petitioner,

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, Respondent,

SHIEET METAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL

ASSOCIATION LOCAL UNION NO. 49

AFL-CIO, Intervenor.

No. 88-2833.

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

Dec. 20, 1991.

*_* * &

[1204] Before SEYMOUR and BALDOCK, Circuit J udges,

and SEAY,” District Judge.

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge.

On May 7, 1990, we denied Pete Le’Mon’s petition for

review of a National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) order

denying his claim that the Sheet Metal Workers’ International

Association, Local Union No. 49 (Union) had breached its duty

of fair representation. Le’Mon v. NLRB, 902 F.2d 810 (10th

Cir. 1990) (Le’Mon I). Le’Mon claimed that the Union breached

its duty by failing to file timely notice of a labor dispute with the

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS), and

subsequently encouraging a strike rendered illegal by the failure

_ * The Honorable Frank H. Seay, Chief Judge, United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Oklahoma, sitting by designation.

-4a-

to file.’ Jd. at 811. On March 25, 1991, the Supreme Court

vacated the judgment and remanded the case to us for

reconsideration in light of its recent decisions in United

Steelworkers of America v. Rawson, 495 U.S. 362, 110 S.Ct. 1904,

109 L.Ed.2d 362 (1990), and Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int’l v. O’Neill,

_ US. __, 111 S.Ct. 1127, 1130, 113 L.Ed.2d 51 (1991).

Le’Mon v. NLRB, __ U.S. ___, 111 S.Ct. 1383, 113 L.Ed.2d 440

(1991). We affirm after reconsideration of the case, albeit on

grounds different from those underlying our decision in Le’Mon

I.

I.

In our initial review of the NLRB’s decision in this case, we

held that the duty of fair representation did not apply to cases

where a “union’s negligent conduct affected all its members.”

Le’Mon I, 902 F.2d at 813. Consequently, we affirmed the

NLRB’s finding that the Union did not breach its duty of fair

representation for reasons other than those advanced by the

Board. Jd. at 815. As a result of our understanding of the scope

of the duty, we [1205]did not otherwise reach the merits of the

NLRB’s decision. O’Neill holds, however, that the judicially-

created duty of fair representation applies to “all union activity,”

111 S.Ct. at 1130, thereby invalidating our prior analysis.

Consequently, we must again review the NLRB’s refusal to find

a breach of the Union’s duty of fair representation in this case.

II.

The NLRB found that the Union’s failure to file with the

FMCS and its subsequent encouragement of an illegal strike

amounted to mere negligence. Sheet Metal Workers & Pete

Le’Mon, 291 NLRB No. 41 at 2 (October 6, 1988). The NLRB

refused to find the duty violated when the Union’s conduct was

in good faith and not outside the parameters defined by Vaca v.

' We do not restate the facts here. Our earlier opinion fully describes the

circumstances underlying this dispute. See 902 F.2d at 811-12.

ee

-Sa-

Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 87 S.Ct. 903, 17 L.Ed.2d 842 (1967). Id. at

4-5. Under Vaca, a union breaches its duty of fair representation

when its conduct is “arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad faith.”

386 U.S. at 190, 87 S.Ct. at 916. The NLRB found the Union’s

behavior negligent rather than arbitrary, and therefore not in

violation of its duty. Sheet Metal Workers, 292 NLRB No. 41 at

S.

Arbitrary union conduct breaches the duty of fair

representation and invites sanction by the Board and the courts.

Thus, “(t)he doctrine of fair representation is an important check

on the arbitrary exercise of union power, but it is a purposefully

limited check.” Rawson, 110 S.Ct. at 1912. Rawson underscores

the restraint courts must exercise in sanctioning union activity.

Specifically, the Court held that “mere negligence will not state

a claim for violation of [the union’s fair representation] duty.”

Id. at 1913. Instead, union members who claim that their

bargaining representatives have violated the duty must allege that

the union “improperly discriminated among its members or acted

in arbitrary and capricious fashion in failing to exercise its duties

under the collective-bargaining agreement.” Jd. (emphasis

added). The passage illustrates the level to which union conduct

must rise to invoke a court’s sanction. Under Rawson, negligent

behavior is not arbitrary within the meaning of Vaca.

In O'Neill, the Court squarely rejected an argument that “a

union need owe no enforceable duty of adequate representation

because employees are protected from inadequate representation

by the union political process.” 111 S.Ct. at 1134.2 The Court

reasoned that a union’s duty is “akin to the duty owed by other

fiduciaries to their beneficiaries” and that, like a legislature, a

union’s actions are subject to some judicial oversight in addition

? We advanced a similar position in Le’Mon I. 902 F.2d at 814.

-6a-

to the political checks provided by the National Labor Relations

Act (NLRA). Jd.’ As in Rawson, the Court emphasized that

substantive review of union activity “must be highly deferential,”

O'Neill, 111 S. Ct. at 1135, and must be conducted with reference

to “the factual and legal landscape at the time of the union’s

actions.” Jd. at 1130.

The recent Supreme Court decisions, taken together, teach

that a court may review all union activity under the duty of fair

representation, and that a court may inquire into the substantive

merits of a union’s decisions. The cases do not, however, retreat

from Vaca’s limitation of court sanction to union conduct that

transcends negligence. “(M)ere negligence on the part of a

union does not rise to the level of a breach of the duty of fair

representation.” Peters v. Burlington N.R.R., 931 F.2d 534, 538

(9th Cir. 1991) (citing Rawson).

Il.

Both the NLRB and the ALJ found that the Union's

conduct amounted to no more than mere negligence. Sheet Metal

Workers, 291 NLRB No. 41 at 1-2. We must affirm the Board’s

ruling if its [1206] findings “are supported by substantial evidence

on the record and if it correctly interpreted and applied the law.”

Le’Mon I, 902 F.2d at 812 (citing cases). “We are not free to

overturn the Board’s decision because we might have decided the

matter differently. Rather, it is our responsibility to ascertain

that the Board acts within reasonable bounds and that the

supporting evidence is truly substantial.” Presbyterian/St. Luke's

Medical Center v. NLRB, 723 F.2d 1468, 1472 (10th Cir. 1983)

(citations omitted). A finding that conduct amounts to mere

negligence should be reviewed under the same standard. See

Eichelberger v. NLRB, 765 F.2d 851, 856 (9th Cir. 1985); see also

> Before O'Neill, it was by no means settled that a union had a fiduciary

duty toward all of its members. Indeed, in Le’Mon I, we noted that “no justice

has suggested a broader duty with respect to ai/ of the represented class of

employees.” 902 F.2d at 815 n.4.

SP

-Ja-

Highland Superstores, Inc. v. NLRB, 927 F.2d 918, 923 (6th

Cir. 1991) (NLRB decisions on mixed questions of law and fact

reviewed under substantial evidence standard).

The record supports the Board’s findings. Le’Mon adopts

the position of the dissenting member of the NLRB panel, Sheet

Metal Workers, 291 NLRB No. 41 at 6-7 (Chairman Stephens,

dissenting), arguing that the Union representatives’ exhortation

to continue the strike after they learned of its possible illegality

goes beyond mere negligence. Mem. Brief of Pete Le’Mon at

13-14. However, Le’Mon does not argue that the evidence is

insufficient to support the Board’s characterization of the conduct

of the Union representatives as negligence. He would simply

characterize it differently. Even were we to agree with Le’Mon’s

characterization, we are not at liberty to substitute our judgment

for that of the Board, if there is substantial evidence to support

the Board’s position. Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S.

474, 488, 71 S.Ct. 456, 465, 95 L.Ed. 456 (1951).

Le’Mon argues that the Union acted with knowledge of the

strike’s illegality throughout the relevant period. Mem. Brief of

Pete Le’Mon at 13-14. The Administrative Law Judge found that

this was not the case. Rather, the Union representatives were

unable to verify the employer’s claim of illegality and assumed

that it was merely a tactic to break the strike. Jd.; Le’Mon I, 902

F.2d at 812. Le’Mon rests his contention that the Union’s

conduct deserves sanction on his imputation of knowledge of

illegality to the Union representatives. The Board found that

they did not know, however, and we have no reason to upset this

factual finding.

In our earlier opinion, we noted that the availability of

ouster of the Union limited the scope of the duty of fair

representation. Le’Mon I, 902 F.2d at 814. Although the Court

in O’Neill rejected the notion that ouster is sufficient protection

for the majority of union members against all union misbehavior,

111 S.Ct. at 1134, the Court’s analogy to judicial review of

legislative behavior underscores the important function of this

political check. While a democratic check may not suffice to

-8a-

protect union members against all union action, it does suffice to

protect employees against negligent representatives. If the union

does not do its job, it may be fired. Here, the employees took

action to decertify the union under section 9(c) of the NLRA, 29

U.S.C. § 159(c) (1988), and the union quit rather than face an

election. Where union behavior is merely negligent, nothing

more need be done, and courts should not intervene.

The order of the NLRB is affirmed.

APPENDIX C

JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

May 7, 1990

any Seiad. PF | 7 “ .

: i bh Patt Bal Od. ats 3 Ste cs Pe ee a eT ats —

< - ri Bt ‘Pater feta (Oe SK a ye Sse

-9a-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

RELATIONS BOARD,

PETE LE’MON, )

)

Petitioner, )

) No. 88-2833

v. ) (N.L.R.B. No. 28-CB-2479)

)

NATIONAL LABOR )

)

)

)

Respondent.

JUDGMENT

Entered May 7, 1990

Before SEYMOUR and BALDOCK, Circuit Judges, and

SEAY*, District Judge.

* Honorable Frank H. Seay, Chief Judge, United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma, sitting by

designation.

This cause came on to be heard upon petition for review of

an order of the National Labor Relations Board. The matter was

heard on the administrative record of the National Labor

Relations Board and was argued by counsel.

-10a-

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the order of

the National Labor Relations Board is affirmed. Accordingly, the

petition for review is denied.

Entered for the Court

ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

By: /s/

Patrick Fisher

Chief Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX D

DECISION OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

AFFIRMING THE ORDER OF THE NLRB

May 7, 1990

-lla-

[902 F.2d 810]

PETE LE'MON, Petitioner,

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, Respondent.

No. 88-2833.

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

May 7, 1990.

*_*s* *& &

[811] Before SEYMOUR and BALDOCK, Circuit Judges,

and SEAY,” District Judge.

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge.

Pete Le’Mon, one of the employees represented by Sheet

Metal Workers’ International Association, Local Union No. 49

(Union), argues that the Union’s failure to give the Federal

Mediation and Conciliation Service (FMCS) timely notice of a

labor dispute and the Union’s subsequent encouragement of the

illegal strike breached the Union’s duty of fair representation,

thereby constituting an unfair labor practice under section

8(b)(1)(A) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 158(b)(1)(A) (1982) (NLRA). The National Labor Relations

Board (NLRB) held that the Union did not commit an unfair

labor practice. Le’Mon appeals, and we affirm.

* The Honorable Frank H. Seay, Chief Judge, United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Oklahoma, sitting by designation.

-12a-

I.

Aztech International, Ltd., is an Albuquerque company that

manufactures low temperature electric radiant heating panels and

multi-stage indirect/direct evaporative cooling units. All of

Aztech’s thirty-five production employees were covered by a

collective bargaining agreement entered into on October 8, 1981,

and effective until September 30, 1985. For several months prior

to the contract’s termination, the Union engaged in negotiations

with Aztech for a new agreement. At the same time, the Union

conducted monthly meetings with the employees to discuss the

Status of the contract talks.

On July 30, 1985, sixty days prior to the expiration of the

collective bargaining agreement, the employees voted

unanimously (with a few abstentions) to authorize the Union to

call a strike should the contract negotiations fail. On September

30, the Union met with the employees to discuss Aztech’s fina!

contract offer. Gary Briggs, the Union’s business manager,

presented the offer and expressed his displeasure with the failure

to ban or limit subcontracting by Aztech, the random drug-testing

clause, and the lack of wage increases. When asked by an

employee whether he would sign this contract, Briggs responded

that he would not. Briggs told the employees that their other

option was to strike, but that by striking they risked being

replaced. According to Briggs, being replaced was no different

than being fired. The employees voted by secret ballot to reject

Aztech’s offer and the next day, October 1, they went on strike

and began picketing.

The day the strike began, all the employees received a letter

from Aztech’s president, Bennett King, which stated that the

Union’s failure to give timely notice to the FMCS made the strike

illegal, that all striking employees therefore were not protected

by the NLRA from being fired, and that all striking employees

were fired, effective immediately. King then offered to rehire the

strikers as new employees if they filled out an application and

underwent the standard interview and screening process. In

-13a-

addition to the letter, Aztech also filed an unfair labor practice

charge against the Union.

Under section 8(d)(3) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. § 158(d)(3)

(1982), the party desiring termination or modification of the

collective bargaining agreement (here the Union) is required to

give the FMCS notice of an [812]impending labor dispute within

thirty days of notifying the other party of its wish to terminate or

modify.'. The Union concedes that it failed to meet. this

requirement because the letter mailed by the Union’s attorney,

Gerald Bloomfield, was dated September 11 and was received by

the FMCS on September 17, well outside of the thirty-day

deadline. Neither Briggs nor the Union's business representative,

George Gilliland, was aware of this late notice.

Briggs and Gilliland learned of Aztech’s contention that the

strike was illegal, but initially they did not believe the allegation

and were unable to confer with the Union attorney because he

was Out of town. When asked about Aztech’s letter, the Union

officials told the strikers that the company was simply trying to

scare them and that the letter was a ploy to break up the strike.

Briggs encouraged the strikers to stick together; if they

maintained solidarity, he said, chances were good that the

economic pressure would force Aztech to accede to the Union's

demands and the strikers would regain their jobs. Briggs

continued to urge the strikers to “stick together,” even after the

NLRB's Regional Office issued a complaint against the Union

and after a newspaper printed a story on the illegality of the

strike. By October 7, however, the strike was obviously

' The purpose of the notice requirement is to “provide for a waiting period

during which there can be no strike” and to enable the FMCS to try “to bring

about a peaceful settlement.” Procter & Gamble Indep. Union v. Procter &

Gamble Mfg., 312 F.2d 181, 188 (2d Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 374 US. 830, 83

S.Ct. 1872, 10 L.Ed.2d 1053 (1963); see also R. Gorman, Labor Law 425 (1976)

(“it was clearly the intention of Congress to have the mediation agencies notified

and given an opportunity to intervene in the bargaining prior to the use of

economic weapons”).

-14a-

disintegrating, and Briggs told the employees still out on strike

that they should attempt to go back to work.

After the failure of the strike, the employees, upset with the

Union's handling of the labor dispute, filed a decertification

petition under section 9(c) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. § 159(c)

(1982), in which they sought an election to oust the Union as the

exclusive bargaining representative. When the Union received —

the petition, it disclaimed interest in representing Aztech’s

production employees.

II.

Le’Mon’s principal argument is that the Union breached its

duty of fair representation by failing to give notice of a labor

dispute to the FMCS within the prescribed time period and by

encouraging the Aztech workers to continue with the illegal

strike. Before considering Le’Mon’s arguments, we note that the

appropriate standard of review in labor cases requires that we

must affirm the Board’s decision if its findings are supported by

substantial evidence on the record and if it correctly interpreted

and applied the law. Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S.

474, 488 71 S.Ct. 456, 464, 95 L.Ed. 456 (1951); Central Soya Co.

v. NLRB, 867 F.2d 1245, 1247 (10th Cir. 1988); NLRB v.

Carbonex Coal Co., 679 F.2d 200, 203 (10th Cir. 1982).

Le’Mon relies primarily on our decision in Foust v.

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, 572 F.2d 710

(10th Cir. 1978) (“Foust I’), rev'd on other grounds, 442 U.S. 42,

99 S.Ct. 2121, 60 L.Ed.2d 698 (1979) (“Foust IT”), to support his

argument that a breach of the duty of fair representation

occurred. Foust I involved a radioman employed by the Union

Pacific Railroad Company. The Union Pacific dismissed Foust

following an on-the-job injury, and his attorney wrote to the

appropriate officer of the union to get the discharge decision

reversed. We stated that the union failed “to pursue the claim

in question despite the tact that it had full knowledge of the 60-

day limit [for filing the grievance].” Foust J, 572 F.2d at 716

(emphasis added). We noted that the union had delayed

-1Sa-

unnecessarily, sending letters back and forth between various

union officials and insisting that “despite the shortness of time,

. . . Foust personally submit the claim to them.” Jd. Accordingly,

we upheld the court’s jury charge as a proper statement of the

applicable law and affirmed the jury’s determination that the

[813] union had breached its duty of fair representation.

As the Supreme Court has held, “[a] breach of the Statutory

duty of fair representation occurs only when a union’s conduct

toward a member of the collective bargaining unit is arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190,

87 S.Ct. 903, 916, 17 L.Ed.2d 842 (1967); see also Foust II, 442

US. at 47, 99 S.Ct. at 2125; Woods v. North Am. Rockwell Corp.,

480 F.2d 644, 648 (10th Cir. 1973); Reid v. International Union,

United Auto. Workers, 479 F.2d 517, 520 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

414 US. 1076, 94 S.Ct. 592, 38 L.Ed.2d 483 (1973). Such

conduct includes, for example, situations in which a union

“arbitrarily ignore[s] a meritorious grievance or processes] it in

perfunctory fashion.” Vaca, 386 U.S. at 191, 87 S.Ct. at 917. We

held in Foust J that the union's handling of the grievance was

done in a perfunctory manner, and Le’Mon urges us to find that

the failure of the Sheet Metal Workers’ Union to give the FMCS

timely notice was done in a similarly “perfunctory fashion.”

Both Vaca and Foust J involved a union’s handling of an

individual union member’s grievance, while in the present case

the union’s negligent conduct affected ail its members. This

distinction is a significant one, as an analysis of the duty of fair

representation reveals, and is one that precludes recovery in the

instant case.

The duty of fair representation, a duty which predates the

prohibition on union unfair labor practices in the 1947

amendments to the NLRA, is a statutory obligation that “has

‘judicially evolved’ as part of federal labor law.” Breininger v.

Sheet Metal Workers Int'l Ass'n Local Union No. 6, ___ U.S. oa

110 S.Ct. 424, 432, 107 L.Ed.2d 388 (1989) (quoting Motor Coach

Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274, 301, 91 S.Ct. 1909, 1925,

29 L.Ed.2d 473 (1971)). The Supreme Court first recognized the

-16a-

duty in a Railway Labor Act case. See Steele v. Louisville &

N.R.R. Co., 323 U.S. 192, 65 S.Ct. 226, 89 L.Ed. 173 (1944). In

Steele, the Railroad had removed five black firefighters, previously

assigned to a highly desirable “passenger pool,” and replaced

them with white firefighters. The Railroad was acting pursuant

to a new collective bargaining agreement it had negotiated with

its employees’ bargaining representative, the Brotherhood of

Locomotive Firemen and Enginemen. This union, which by its

constitution excluded all blacks from membership, had initiated

the negotiations because it “desire[d] to amend the existing

collective bargaining agreement in such manner as ultimately to

exclude all Negro firemen from the service.” Jd. at 195, 65 S.Ct.

at 228. The resulting racially discriminatory agreement formed

the basis of the suit against the union and the Railroad.

In analyzing the black firefighters’ claim, the Supreme Court

acknowledged the statutory right of the majority of any craft to

choose its representative responsible for collective bargaining

with the employer. But the Court rejected the argument that

Congress therefore “intend[ed] to confer plenary power upon the

union to sacrifice, for the benefit of its members, rights of the

minority of the craft, without imposing on it any duty to protect

the minority.” Jd. at 199, 65 S.Ct. at 230. If the union did not

owe some duty to represent the minority, the Court reasoned,

then minority members “would be left with no means of

protecting their -interests, or indeed, their right to earn a

livelihood by pursing the occupation in which they are employed.”

Id. at 201, 65 S.Ct. at 231. The Court held that “[s]o long as a

labor union assumes to act as the statutory representative of a

craft, it cannot rightly refuse to perform the duty, which is

inseparable from the power of representation conferred upon it,

to represent the entire membership of the craft . . . without

hostile discrimination, fairly, impartially, and in good faith.” Jd.

at 204, 65 S.Ct. at 232.’

? Although Steele was a Railway Labor Act case, the Supreme Court later

held that the duty of fair representation applied equally to National Labor

Relations Act cases. See Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 337, 73 S.Ct.

-17a-

[814] As the duty-of-fair representation doctrine has evolved,

its function as the protector of minority and individual employee

rights, whether in collective bargaining or in the handling of

grievances, has been emphasized consistently. See Vaca, 386 U.S.

at 182, 87 S.Ct. at 912 (“the duty of fair representation has stood

as a bulwark to prevent arbitrary union conduct against

individuals stripped of traditional forms of redress by the

provisions of federal labor law”) (emphasis added); Breininger,

110 S. Ct. at 432 (the duty “is an essential means of enforcing

fully the important principle that ‘no individual union member

may suffer invidious, hostile treatment at the hands of the

majority of his [or her] coworkers’” (quoting Motor Coach

Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274, 301, 91 S.Ct. 1909, 29

L.Ed.2d 473 (1971))) (emphasis added); DelCostello v.

International Bhd. of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151, 164 n.14, 103 S.Ct.

2281, 2290 n.14, 76 L.Ed.2d 476 (1983) (the duty exists to ensure

that “individual employees are not. . . deprived of all effective

means of protecting their own interests”) (emphasis added); Foust

II, 442 US. at 46-47, 99 S.Ct. at 2124-25: Hines v. Anchor Motor

Freight, Inc., 424 U.S. 554, 564, 96 S.Ct. 1048, 1056, 47 L.Ed.2d

231 (1976).

Unlike these Supreme Court cases and unlike Foust I, the

injured party here is not an individual or group singled out for

treatment different from that accorded the majority, but the

entire class of Aztech employees represented by the Union.’

681, 685, 97 L.Ed. 1048 (1953); see also Vaca, 386 U.S. at 177, 87 S.Ct. at 909;

Foust II, 442 U.S. at 46 n.8, 99 S.Ct. at 2124 n.8. Foust J also arose under the

Railway Labor Act.

* Le’Mon observes that the Union and an Fl Paso, Texas, firm with

considerably more Union-represented employees had entered into a collective

bargaining agreement containing a “most-favored-nations” clause which provided

that “there shall not be a more favorable contract offered to any competitor of

the employer in the jurisdiction of Sheet Metal Local No. 49.” Rec., vol. II, C.P.

ex. 1, art. XX. Le’Mon then argues, inconsistently, that this El Paso contract

induced the Union to strike to get wages comparable to those in the El Paso

firm, and to file a late notice in order to make the strike illegal. The ALJ found

-18a-

This, then, is not a situation in which a minority would be

deprived of any remedy were it not for the duty of fair

representation. Here, the Aztech employees had a remedy

against the Union for the harm caused by the Union’s negligence

and they used that remedy: they petitioned for an election to

oust the Union as the exclusive bargaining representative. This

powerful remedy of ouster, available to the employees by virtue

of their majority status, ensures that a union will have the proper

incentives to represent the employees “without hostile

discrimination, fairly, impartially, and in good faith.” Steele, 323

U.S. at 204, 65 S.Ct. at 232.

Despite the availability of the ouster remedy, Le’Mon

nevertheless urges us to view the duty of fair representation as

one which creates a kind of fiduciary obligation owed by the

Union to all those it represents. The Supreme Court, however,

that the El Paso contract was not “a legitimate consideration here’ since

Albuquerque and El Paso are a distant 270 miles apart, too far to be a factor to

the Union. Rec., vol. III, doc. 1, at 12 n.8. The ALJ also noted thai if the

Union’s object was to abandon the Aztech employees to save the El Paso

contract, it did not need the excuse of an untimely notice.

Because we conclude there is sufficient evidence to support the ALJ’s

factual conclusions, we need not address whether the entire group of Aztech

employees constituted a discriminated-against minority vis-a-vis the El Paso

majority.

-19a-

has never conceived of the duty of fair representation in such a

broad way.‘ To the [815]contrary, the courts’ role in assessing

union actions in duty-of-fair-representation cases is generally

analogized to the “special scrutiny” courts must apply when

analyzing legislative actions under the Equal Protection Clause.

As the Supreme Court noted in Steele:

“[T]he Railway Labor Act imposes upon the statutory

representative of a craft at least as exacting a duty to

protect equally the interests of the members of the craft

as the Constitution imposes upon a legislature to give

equal protection to the interests of those for whom it

legislates. Congress has seen fit to clothe the bargaining

representative with powers comparable to those

“In a recent case involving the right to a jury trial in duty-of-fair-

representation cases, Justice Marshall, writing for four members of the Supreme

Court, stated that “[jJust as a trustee must act in the best interest of the

beneficiaries, a union, as the exclusive representative of the ‘workers, must

exercise its power to act on behalf of the employees in good faith.” Chauffers,

Teamsters & Helpers, Local No. 39] v. Terry, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 1339, 1346,

108 L.Ed.2d 519 (1990) (citation omitted). Justice Marshall reasoned that “just

as a beneficiary does not directly control the actions of a trustee, an individual

employee lacks direct control over a union’s actions taken on his [or her] behalf.”

Id. (citation omitted) (emphasis added). Justice Kennedy, writing for two other

justices, also found the trust analogy helpful in assessing the right to a jury trial,

but he was careful to limit the breadth of this analogy and to emphasize that he

did not which to “imply that a union acts as a trustee in all instances or that trust

law, as a general matter, should inform any particular aspects of federal labor

law.” Id. 110 S.Ct. at 1357.

This case of course is factually distinct from the situation which prompted

Justice Marshall to draw the trust analogy. Although an individual employee may

Share many of the same characteristics as a relatively powerless beneficiary, a

majority of represented employees, with the power to decertify a union, has little

in common with the traits Justice Marshall ascribed to a trust beneficiary.

Therefore, while some members of the Supreme Court would impose a kind of

fiduciary duty on a union vis-a-vis individual employees, no justice has suggested

a broader duty with respect to all of the represented class of employees.

-20a-

possessed by a legislative body . . . but it has also

imposed on the representative a corresponding duty.”

Id. at 202, 65 S.Ct. at 232; see also Gorman, Labor Law at 716

(“the democratic process within the union has induced ... courts

to accord special scrutiny to decisions which worsen the job status

of workers whose only common characteristic—while not as

invidious as their color, sex, or national origin—is their minority

status within the union”); Harper & Lupu, Fair Representation as

Equal Protection, 98 Harv. L. Rev. 1211 (1985); ALJ Opinion,

rec., vol. III, doc. 1, at 7 (“the [union-employee] relationship

requires only that the statutory representative provide equal

protection to the employees it represents”).

For these reasons, the Sixth Circuit has declined “to extend

the duty [of fair representation] to cover a situation . . . where a

member or group was not singled out for different treatment.”

NLRB v. Local 299, Int’l Bhd. of Teamsters, 782 F.2d 46, 51 (6th

Cir. 1986). The alleged breach of duty in Local 299 included the

union’s failure to inforrn the employees that the company viewed

them as engaging in an illegal work stoppage in violation of the

contract. The court specifically rejected the argument that a

fiduciary duty between a union and all its represented employees

existed, and it held that “the duty of fair representation is

implicated only when an individual or group is treated differently

... than another individual, group or the collective.” Jd. at 51-

52.

Because the concerns which prompted the Supreme Court

to develop a duty of fair representation are not present in this

case, we decline to extend the duty to situations in which the

injury suffered is common to the majority of represented

employees. Holding as we do that the union’s duty of fair

representation was not implicated in this case, we need not

address the other contentions raised by Le’Mon.

The order of the NLRB is affirmed.

APPENDIX E

DECISION AND ORDER

OF THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

AND ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE’S DECISION

September 30, 1988

ee net Teen ee eee eee tee ee a" ie, i li CE BES LEAD Neg ALORA GEILE ELLs Mig cet ba Ee praia a4e

-21a-

D—9165

291 NLRB No. 41 D—9165

Albuquerque, NM

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

SHEET METAL WORKERS’ INTERNATIONAL

ASSOCIATION, LOCAL UNION NO. 49,

~~ AFL—CIO (Aztech International, Ltd.)

and Case 28—CB—2479

PETE LE’MON, an Individual

DECISION AND ORDER

On March 4, 1987, Administrative Law Judge James M.

Kennedy issued the attached decision. The General Counsel and

the Charging Party filed exceptions and supporting briefs.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its

authority in this proceeding to a three-mémber panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record in

light of the exceptions and briefs and has decided to affirm the

judge’s rulings, findings, and conclusions and to adopt the

recommended Order.

We agree with the judge that the Respondent did not breach

its duty of fair representation to the employees involved by failing

to give timely Section 8(d)(3) notice to the Federal Mediation

and Conciliation Service and any appropriate state agency or by

-22a-

D—9165

encouraging employees to continue striking after October 2,

1985.' Like the judge, we find that the Respondent’s deficiencies

in representing the employees amounted to no more than mere

negligence.’

The difference between the majority and dissenting positions

here is a narrow one. Our dissenting colleague states a willing-

ness to accept as simple negligence the Respondent's failure to

coordinate timing of the notice and commencement of the strike,

but would base a violation of the duty of fair representation on

the Respondent’s conduct after October 2. Our difference, then,

is limited to how we evaluate the Respondent’s conduct after

October’2.

By October 2, the Employer had delivered to the strikers

letters stating that the strike was illegal because proper notice

had not been given to the Federal Mediation and Conciliation

Service and declaring that the strikers’ employment was terminat-

ed and that they could apply for jobs as new employees.’ Some

strikers asked the Respondent’s business agents about the letter,

and the agents replied that it was company “rhetoric” or a

company “ploy,” and urged the strikers to “stick together.” In

making this response, without further investigating the situation

or obtaining the advice of the Respondent’s attorneys, the agents

' Notice was received by the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service on

September 17, 1985. The strike commenced October 1, 1985. All subsequent

dates are in 1985.

? There is no showing that the Respondent was hostile toward the

employees at Aztech or acted in bad faith in representing them. In this regard,

we agree with the judge’s rejection of the Charging Party’s implied bad-faith

argument based on the “most favored nations lause.”

> Among other things the letter stated, “If you wish to be considered for

such employment, please come in and fill out an application. As with all new

employees, you will need to go through our normal pre-employment interview,

physical and drug/alcohol screening.”

|

|

-23a-

D—9165

may have acted negligently, but their conduct was not so lacking

of a rational or logical basis as to be arbitrary.

In meeting the employees’ questions, the agents assessed

events from a practical point of view. As they saw it, loss of

employment is a risk in any strike, and employees’ best protection

is to stick together. They considered the Employer’s statement

that the strikers’ employment was terminated as a tactical

maneuver designed to break the strike. The Board has recog-

nized that employers use the tactical discharge as a method of

dissuading employees from Striking without intending to refuse to

reinstate employees when they request it. Crookston Times

Printing Co., 125 NLRB 304, 317 (1959). See also Woodlawn

Hospital, 233 NLRB 782, 788 (1977).

The agents were not lawyers and did not seem to understand

the effect that the failure to give proper 8(d) notice had on the

Strikers’ status as employees.‘ Nor did they appear to appreciate

the distinction between terminating strikers’ employment and

replacing strikers. Misunderstanding of this critical distinction,

significant in labor law, is not uncommon among employees, their

representatives, or management personnel. See Eagle Comtron-

ics, 263 NLRB 515 (1982); L.A. Water Treatment, 286 NLRB No.

88 (Nov. 12, 1987); Dayton Food Fair Stores v. NLRB, 399 F.2d

153 (6th Cir. 1968).

Confronted with the Employer’s statement that the strikers’

employment was terminated, the agents advised the employees to

continue to act together in an effort to return all employees to

their jobs and to obtain a bargaining agreement. Within the

limits of their competence and experience, the agents judged

economic pressure to be the most effective strategy to deal with

* In part, Sec. 8(d) provides: “Any employee who engages in a strike within

any notice period specified in this subsection . . . shall lose his status as an

employee of the employer engaged in the particular labor dispute, for the

Purposes of sections 8, 9, and 10 of this Act... .”

-24a-

D—9165

the situation. We do not consider that judgment to be in reckless

disregard of the Union’s statutory duties to unit employees.*

Indeed, even if the agents had understood that the strikers lost

status as employees of the Employer by operation of statute or

had in fact been permanently discharged by the Employer, there

was little they could do to benefit the employees at that point.

The employees could only apply for jobs as new employees, hope

to meet the Employer’s interview requirements, and see whether

the Employer would reemploy them. It was not unreasonable for

the agents to assume that collective action in seeking reemploy-

ment would be more effective than individual action.

Moreover, as the judge points out, the employees were free

to accept the Union’s advice or the Employer’s advice. There is

no evidence that the Respondent, by threat of fine or other

retaliation, coerced the employees to continue collective action.

The employees could have decided to abandon the strike or to

apply individually for employment, a decision employees are

customarily faced with during a strike. They could have imple-

mented their decision on their own initiative, unrestricted by

formalities within the Respondent’s control. Indeed, the record

reveals that many employees did abandon the strike. See Office

Employees Local 2 (Janet Eichelberger), 268 NLRB 1353 (1984),

enfd. 765 F.2d 851 (9th Cir. 1985).

The representation that the Respondent provided the

employees in this case may not meet the standards of competence

and caution that the Board would like to see observed. It does

not, however, violate Section 8(b)(1)(A). A breach of duty of

fair representation occurs only when the representative’s conduct

is “arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad faith.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386

U.S. 171 190 (1967). We do not consider the conduct here to

have been arbitrary, and the Respondent's deficiency in represen-

‘ We assume, arguendo, that a union that takes action in “reckless

disregard” of its statutory duties to unit employees violates its duty of fair

representation.

-25a-

D—9165

tation is a matter for employees to consider in selecting and

supporting their representative, not a matter correctable under

Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act.

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the recommend-

ed Order of the administrative law judge and dismisses the

complaint.

Dated, Washington, D.C. September 30, 1988

Wilford W. Johansen, Member

Mary Miller Cracraft, Member

(SEAL) NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

-26a-

D—9165

CHAIRMAN STEPHENS, dissenting.

The duty of fair representation issue posed in this case

involves the arbitrariness prong of the three-part standard

formulated by the Supreme Court in Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171,

190 (1967) (breach occurs “when a union’s conduct toward a

member of the collective bargaining unit is arbitrary, discriminato-

ry, or in bad faith”). There is no claim that the Union’s actions

here were discriminatory, nor do I see this as a case involving bad

faith. “Arbitrariness” has been the most difficult and vexing of

the duty of fair representation inquiries.’ I do not dispute the

judge’s reading of Board law as requiring a showing of more than

mere ‘negligence to warrant a finding that a union has acted

arbitrarily so as to breach its duty of fair representation in

violation cf Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act. That is clearly the

holding of cases that are still good law. Teamsters Local 692

(Great Western Unifreight), 209 NLRB 446, 447—448 (1974).

Accord: Rainey Security Agency, 274 NLRB 269 (1985); Team-

sters Local 282 (Transit-Mix Concrete Corp.), 267 NLRB 1130

(1983), enfd. 740 F.2d 141 (2d Cir. 1984). There is not much

guidance in our cases as to what that “more” necessarily consists

of; but it makes sense to me to hold a union guilty of breaching

the duty when it has erred in failing to perform some ministerial

or procedural act and, with notice of that error and of the

possibility that it may seriously injure rights of bargaining unit

employees, the union has persisted in a course of action or

inaction that compounds injury or makes it impossible to cure.

Such conduct goes beyond negligence to reckless disregard.’ In

' See Robesky v. Qantas Empire Airways, 573 F.2d 1082 (9th Cir. 1978)

(Kennedy, J. concurring) (no adequate guidance in law of torts or Federal

common law of labor relations for construing this term).

? A standard formulated by the Ninth Circuit in connection with cases

involving unions’ handling of grievances reflects similar considerations. In a series

of cases, that circuit seems to have concluded that the negligent failure to

perform a ministerial act amounts to arbitrariness in breach of the duty of fair

-27a-

D—9165

my view, that occurred here by virtue of the union agents’

response to information they had received by at least October 2,

1985, the secdnd day of the unlawful strike.’

I am Willing to accept the proposition that a union’s failure

to coordinate the filing of a Section 8(d)(3) notice with the actual

date on which the strike commences may constitute simple

negligence not giving rise to actionable breach of the duty of fair

representation, even where the error results in employees’ being

made vulnerable to discharge through participation in an unlawful

strike. On the record here, however, I would find that the

Union’s business agents, Gary Briggs and George Gilliland,

behaved in a manner that went beyond mere negligence to

reckless disregard of the harm to the employees through actions

that they took after they were put on notice of the clear possibili-

ty that the strike notice had not been timeiy given and that the

Employer was taking action against the employees because of

this.

It is undisputed that the strike notice was mailed to the

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service on September 17,

1985, and that therefore the strike called by the Union on

September 30 and commenced on October 1 was plainly unlawful

because it occurred less than 30 days after notice was given to the

FMCS. The judge also found—and the finding is not

disputed—that by October 2 Briggs and Gilliland knew that the

Employer had sent letters to the strikers telling them that they

representation when there is no “judgment” factor involved in deciding whether

to perform the act in question and “fo rational and proper basis” for the union’s

conduct and the employee’s right to pursue a claim representing a “strong

individual interest” is completely extinguished by the union’s conduct. Peterson

v. Kennedy, 771 F.2d 1244, 1254 (9th Cir. 1985), citing Dutrisac v. Caterpillar

Tractor Co., 749 F.2d 1270, 1274 (9th Cir. 1983), and Eichelberger v. NLRB, 765

F.2d 851, 855 (9th Cir. 1985).

> All dates are in 1985.

D—9165

were terminated because they were engaging in a strike that was

unlawful because of failure to give timely notice to the FMCS.

The letter also informed the strikers that employment applica-

tions were being accepted for their jobs and they could fill out

applications for positions as new employees.

Briggs then called the law firm that represented the Union;

and, after learning that the attorney responsible for sending out

the notice was out of town, he made no further effort to check

out the timing of the notice. Instead, he encouraged employees

to remain on strike, mistakenly advising them—according to his

own testimony—that there was really no distinction between

replacement and discharge and that they should just hang

together. Union Agent Gilliland admitted that he had been “in

the dark” about the legality of the strike, but nonetheless

admitted telling employees who asked about their termination

letters that this was just “some of the Company’s rhetoric.”

Because I would find a breach of the duty of fair representa-

tion as of October 2, when Briggs and Gilliland affirmatively

misled inquiring employees about the status of their strike, I

=

,

* While I recognize that Briggs and Gilliland are not lawyers and I therefore

would not find a breach of the duty of fair representation simply on the basis of

their inability to give correct legal advice, I find a breach of the duty here

because they falsely gave the impression that they knew there was no difference

between replacement and discharge and that the Empioyer’s claim that the strike

was unlawful was just “rhetoric.” This would be a different case if the employees

had been told that the union agents did not know whether there was any truth

to the Employer’s claims concerning the strike’s legality but mt Gay ebvied

staying Out on strike as a tactical matter.

-29a-

D—9165

would issue a cease-and-desist order and would also hold the

Union liable for any losses suffered from employees’ delay, until

October 7, in offering to return.’

Dated, Washington D.C. September 30, 1988

James M. Stephens, Chairman

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

* It is not clear when strikers were rehired, although the record shows that

at least one of them was not hired back until December 20. In compliance, it

couid be determined on what dates the Employers hired replacements and, thus,

what effect the delay in offering to return likely had on the strikers’ ability to

return to work. j

-30a-

JD(SF)—21—87

Albuquerque, NM

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

DIVISION OF JUDGES

BRANCH OFFICE

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA

SHEET METAL WORKERS’ INTERNATIONAL

ASSOCIATION, LOCAL UNION NO. 49,

AFL-CIO (Aztech International, Ltd.)

and Case 28—CB—2479

PETE LE’MON, an Individual

Lewis S. Harris, Albuquerque, NM, i

for the General Counsel.

Dan A. McKinnon III, of Marron, McKinnon & Ewing,

Albuquerque, NM, for the Charging Party.

Gerald R. Bloomfield of Kool, Kool, Bloomfield

& Hollis, Albuquerque, NM, for Respondent.

DECISION

JAMES M. KENNEDY, Administrative Law Judge: This

case was tried before me in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on

October 21, 1986.' The complaint is based upon a charge filed

' Although no party has filed a motion to correct the transcript, any

reviewer of the transcript should be wary for it contains numerous errors,

Omissions, and misidentifications. By way of illustration, the caption appearing

-3la-

by Pete Le’Mon, an Individual, on October 28, 1985.2 The

complaint alleges that Sheet Metal Workers’ International

Association, Local Union No. 49, AFL-CIO (herein called

Respondent) has engaged in certain violations of Section

8(b)(1)(A) of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended

(herein called the Act).

Issue

The principal issue is whether Respondent breached its duty

of fair representation under Section 8(b)(1)(A) when it failed to

give the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service 30 days

notice of the existence of a labor dispute, thereby subjecting the

employees it represented to loss of employee status as defined by

Section 2(3) of the Act. More specifically, the case presents the

question of whether Respondent is financially liable for wages

lost by those employees when Aztech International, Ltd. dis-

charged them for striking when Respondent failed to meet the

notice filing requirement of Section 8(d)(3) of the Act.

All parties were given full opportunity to participate, to

introduce relevant evidence, to examine and cross-examine

witnesses, to argue orally and to file briefs. All parties have filed

briefs and they have been carefully considered. Based upon the

entire record, as well as my observation of the witnesses and their

demeanor, I make the following:

Findings of Fact

in the transcript volume is incorrect, labeling Charging Party Pete Le’Mon as

Respondent, and Respondent Sheet Metal Workers’ Local 49 as the Charging

Party. It also omits entirely the appearance of Mr. Harris, Counsel for the

General Counsel and misidentifies the Charging Party’s attorney, Mr. McKinnon,

as representing Respondent. Likewise, it lists Respondent’s attorney, Mr.

Bloomfield, as representing the Charging Party.

? All dates are 1985 unless otherwise noted.

-32a-

JD(SF)—21—87

I. Interstate Commerce

Respondent admits the Employer, Aztech International, Ltd.,

is a New Mexico corporation headquartered in Albuquerque

where it manufactures and markets heating panels and evapora-

tive cooler units. It further admits that during the 12-month

period preceding the issuance of the complaint that Aztech, in

the course of its business operations, sold goods valued in excess

of $50,000 which were transported directly to customers located

outside New Mexico. It further admits that Aztech is an

employer engaged in commerce within the meaning of Section

2(2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

II. Labor Organization

Respondent admits it is a labor organization within the

meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

III. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practices

Fortunately, given sometimes inaccurate nature of the

transcript, the facts in this case are not in significant dispute.

Respondeni has represented Aztech’s production employees for

at least 15 years through a series of collective-bargaining con-

tracts. -The micst recent agreement expired on September 30.

Efforts to negotiate a successor, agreement had begun several

months before, but by September 30 a new one had not been

reached.

Earlier on September 11, Respondent’s attorney, Bloomfield,

had sent a notice of the existence of a labor dispute to the

Regional Office of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation

Service in San Francisco. That letter was not received by the

Service until September 17, anly 13 days before the contract was

to expire.

Section 8(d)(3) of the Act requires that such a notification

be within 30 days of the termination or modification of the

ee

-33a-

JD(SF)—21—87

contract in question. Section 8(d) further says in the event that

any employee engages in a strike within any notice period

specified in Section 8(d) he or she shall lose status as an employ-

ee for the purpose of obtaining protection under Sections 8, 9

and 10 of the Act.’ The credible evidence demonstrates that

neither Gary Briggs, Respondent’s business manager, or George

“Jeep” Gilliland, its business representative, were actually aware

of the tardy notice. ;

> In pertinent part Section 8(d) of the Act reads as follows:

For the purposes of this section, to bargain collectively is

the performance of the mutual obligation of the employer

and the representative of the employees to meet at

reasonable times and confer in good faith with respect to

wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employ-

ment, or the negotiation of an agreement or any question

arising thereunder, and the execution of a written contract

incorporating any agreement reached if requested by

either party, but such obligation does not compel either

party to agree to a proposal or require the making of a

concession: Provided, That where there is in effect a

collective-bargaining contract covering employees in an

industry affecting commerce, the duty to bargain collec-

tively shall also mean that no party to such contract shall

terminate or modify such contract, unless the party

desiring such termination or modification—

(3) notifies the Federal Mediation and Con-

ciliation Service within thirty days after such

notice of the existence of a dispute. . .

. ° ~

. . . Any employee who engages in a strike

within any notice period specified in this

subsection . . . shall lose his status as an

employee of the employer engaged in the

particular labor dispute, for the purposes of

sections 8, 9, and 10 of this Act, as amended,

but such loss of status for such employee shall

terminate if and when he is reemployed by

such employer.

-34a-

. JD(SF)}—21—87

As early as April, business representative Gilliland began

holding monthly meetings with the Aztech employees, first to

learn what the employees wanted in the new contract and later

to inform them of the progress of negotiations. On July 30, 60

days before the contract was to expire, Gilliland, both to test the

employees’ resolve and to send a signal of solidarity to the

employer, conducted a vote to give the Union authority to strike

in the event that became necessary. Gilliland recalls that those

employees who voted, voted unanimously to authorize a strike.

There were, he says, two or three abstentions.

An additional meeting was held in August and two in

September as the contract expiration date approached. The first

was on September 26 and the last on September 30. The

September 30 meeting was, in essence, a split meeting designed

to accommodate the employees on the two shifts.

Based upon an amalgamation of the testimony, it appears

that at the September 30 meetings Briggs presented the Com-

pany’s last contract offer. He said he was displeased with it in

several respects. First, it did not contain a ban on subcontracting

and, in his opinion, permitted the Employer to subcontract unit

work even to the extent of getting rid of all unit employees while

still claiming that Company products were union-made. Second,

it contained a random drug-testing clause and, third, the wage

offer was inadequate, containing no increases and only an

opportunity for a bonus at the end of the first year. He told the

employees that for the past 15 years or so he had heard their

complaints about wages and about the manner in which the

Company had treated them. He also told them that they could

accept the offer but if they did he did not want to hear any

further complaints about inadequate contract protection. He also

told them if they rejected the contract their other choice was to

strike. - It does not appear that he offered them the middle

ground of not striking but continuing to negotiate. In his

judgment, such a middle ground would have been impractical,

given the status of the negotiations. Briggs told the employees

: -35a-

JD(SF)—21—87

that if they struck there were some risks involved. These

included being replaced or being fired.

At least one employee asked Briggs if he would sign the

contract as it had been proposed. According to the employee’s

testimony Briggs equivocated, finally saying he could not live with

a contract like the one the Employer was offering. As a result of

Briggs’ answer, some employees testified that Briggs was exhort-

ing them to strike. Indeed, it appears that some picket signs had

already been made. Even so, I am not convinced that Briggs was

making any special effort to exhort them to strike, though it is

clear that he disliked the Company’s proposal.

In any event the employees were asked to vote to accept or

reject the contract proposed by the Employer. At each meeting

the secret ballot showed that the employees voted to reject it. As

a result, in the early morning hours of Tuesday, October 1,

Respondent established a picket line at Aztech’s premises.

The strike lasted until the morning of Monday, October 7.

It fell apart when the Employer discharged all the strikers,

simultaneously filing Section 8(b)(3) charges against Respondent

for having failed to comply with the Section 8(d)(3) notice

requirements set forth in footnote 3, above. On October 1, ‘he

Employer had hand-delivered and/or mailed discharge letters to

each of the striking employees. In the letter Aztech’s president,

Bennet King, stated:

The strike in which you are participating is an illegal

one because the Union failed to give proper notice to

the Federgl Mediation and Conciliation Service of the

existence of a labor dispute so that the FMCS might

have an opportunity to help us find solutions to the

collective bargaining impasse. Because of this failure by

the union, employees engaged in the strike are not

protected by the National Labor Relations Act against

firing. This letter will serve as formal notice of your

-36a-

JD(SF)—21—87

termination of employment by Aztech International,

Lid. effective immediately. . . .

Also on October 1, the Employer filed its Section 8(b)(3)

charge against the Union. On October 4, the Regional Office of

the Board issued a complaint against the Union alleging that the

strike was unlawful.‘ The following day an article in the Albu-

querque Journal newspaper noted the issuance of the complaint,

together with a quotation from the NLRB Albuquerque Resident

Officer asserting that the picketing was illegal.

The Employer’s president, King, took several of the strikers,

including the Charging Party, to his office where he reported the

issuance of the complaint to them and showed them the newspa-

per article.

Before the newspaper article appeared Briggs and Gilliland .

had told those strikers who had asked about the assertions King

had made in the discharge letter that they regarded King’s letter

as a company tactic, saying the Company was “playing with their

heads.” They urged the strikers to remain together if they

intended to win the strike. After the newspaper article appeared

Briggs and Gilliland continued to say the same thing.

It should be observed here, that although by October 2

Briggs and Gilliland were aware of the Company's contention

that the strike was illegal, they did not believe it. Both Briggs

and Gilliland believed that at worst, if the FMCS notice had not

been given, the strike was unprotected. Thus, they surmised that

the worst which could happen was that a court could enjoin the

picketing. If that happened, they reasoned, the court could

probably not make them go back to work. The discharges, which

were by then a fait accompli, did not particularly concern them

because, as Briggs had told the employees before, employers

* See Fort Smith Chair Co., 143 NLRB 514, 518-519 (1963).

-37a-

JD(SF)—21—87

often attempt to win strikes by replacing the strikers. To Briggs

that is exactly what was happening here.

Briggs testified that when he learned of the Company’s

contention that the notices had not been filed, he had attempted

to reach attorney Bloomfield but could not do so as he was out

of town. Briggs spoke to another individual at Mr. Bloomfield’s

law firm but it is not clear whether he learned of the late filing

with the FMCS. He testified he did not know if he had ever

actually seen the letter which had been sent to the FMCS, saying

that was within the province of the Union’s lawyers. Based on

_ Briggs’ testimony I conclude that during the course of the strike,

* because of Mr. Bloomfield’s absence, he was unable to find out

whether the FMCS letter had been sent timely.

Despite his inability to find out from the law firm what had

actually happened, Briggs, thinking as a traditional union official

would, decided to “tough it out.” He believed that whether the

strike was legal or not, as long as the strikers could maintain

solidarity there was a reasonably good chance that they could put

enough economic pressure on the Company to prevail. Although

the testimony is a little vague as to time and place, it appears that

remarks of that nature were made to strikers Le’Mon, Limon,

Padilla and Tucker.

Nonetheless, on the morning of October 7 it became

apparent that most of the strikers were abandoning the strike.

Upon seeing that, Briggs told the remaining strikers that the

strike had been lost and that they should go back to work so as

not to be left alone.

The record is not clear with respect to how many employees

Aztech rehired or what the rate of rehire was. Some, who had

not been replaced, were rehired immediately; others were hired

later. All were rehired as new employees.

Subsequently, the employees, upset over the Union’s

handling of the strike, filed a decertification petition under

-38a-

JD(SF)}—21—87

Section 9(c) of the Act seeking an election to oust the Union as

their representative. Upon receipt of the decertification petition

Respondent disclaimed interest in representing Aztech’s produc-

tion and maintenance employees.

IV. Analysis and Conclusions

The General Counsel asserts that Respondent’s failure to file

timely the 30-day notice of labor dispute with the FMCS as

required by Section 8(d) followed by a strike within the 30-day

period was a breach of a union duty, said to be fiduciary, which

in turn amounts to a breach of the duty of fair representation and

therefore an unfair labor practice within the meaning of Section

8(b)(1)(A). Respondent argues that the evidence shows only that

it committed an error of negligent omission and that under the

fair representation doctrine an act of negligence does not breach

that duty. The threshhold question therefore is what is the

appropriate level of care which Respondent must exercise to

avoid liability under the doctrine? Is Respondent a fiduciary,

thereby raising the level of care which must be taken by Section

9(a) representative or is Respondent something less than a

fiduciary owing no duty other than one of fair play?

In the seminal case of Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co.,

323 U.S. 192, 202 (1944), the Supreme Court in articulating the

fair representation_doctrine described the nature of a union’s

relationship to the individuals it represents as the exclusive

statutory representative:

We think that the Railway Labor Act imposes upon

the statutory representative of a craft at least as exact-

ing a duty to protect equally the interests of the mem-

bers of the craft as the Constitution imposes upon a

legislature to give equal protection * . the interests of

those for whom it legislates. Congress has seen fit to

clothe the bargaining representative with powers

comparable to those possessed by a legislative body both

-39a-

JD(SF)—21—87

to create and restrict the rights of those whom it

represents. . . .

Similarly, the Board has held that a union does not stand in a

fiduciary relationship to the employees it represents. It has said,

instead, that the relationship is analogous to that between the

legislator and constituent. Service Employees, Loca! 579 (Beverly

Manor Convalescent Center), 229 NLRB 692, fn. 2 (1977). It

appears therefore that Respondent’s duty to the Aztech employ-

ees here was not a fiduciary one, for the Supreme Court and the

Board have both held that the relationship requires only that the

statutory representative provide equal protection to the employ-

ees it represents. This is not to say that the statutory representa-

tive cannot make reasonable choices in carrying out its function

even though those choices may have incidental negative effects

on some of its constituents. Steele, supra, at 203; cf. Ford Motor

Corp. v. Hu.*man, 345 U.S. 330 (1953).

In Steele the Court went on to say that although a union’s

duty to the employees it represents is comparable to the duties

of a legislative body, nonetheless the statutory grant of the

exclusive right to represent the employees “impose[s] on the

bargaining representative of a craft or class of employees the duty

to exercise fairly the power conferred upon it in behalf of all

those for whom it acts, without hostile discrimination against

them.” Steele, supra, at 202-203.

The duty of fair representation was not initially considered

by the Board to be an unfair labor practice, but in Miranda Fuel

Co., 140 NLRB 181 (1962), enf. denied 326 F.2d 172 (2nd. Cir.

1963), the Board concluded that the fair representation doctrine

was subsumed under Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act. There it

stated:°

* 140 NLRB 181, 185.

-40a-

JD(SF)—21—87

. .. [Wje are of the opinion that Section 7 [of the Act]

thus gives employees the right to be free from unfair or

irrelevant or invidious treatment by their exclusive

bargaining agent in matters affecting their employment.

This right of employees is a statutory limitation on

Statutory bargaining representatives, and we conclude

that Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act accordingly prohibits

labor organizations, when acting in a statutory represen-

tative capacity, from taking action against any employee

upon considerations or classifications which are irrele-

vant, invidious, or unfair. [Footnote omitted.]

Although the Second Circuit would not enforce the Board’s

theory that a failure to meet the duty of fair representation was

an unfair labor practice within the meaning of Section 8(b)(1)(A),

the Supreme Court disagreed in Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171

(1967). After reaching that conclusion, the Court stated:

A breach of the statutory duty of fair representation

occurs Only when a union’s conduct towards a member

of the collective bargaining unit is arbitrary, discrimina-

tory, or in bad faith. See Humphrey v. Moore, [375 U.S.

335 (1964)]; Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, [supra]. (Vaca

v. Sipes, supra at 190.)

The Court, noting that the Vaca case arose in a context involving

the manner in which a union processed the plaintiff's grievance,

added that it accepted the proposition that a union may not

arbitrarily ignore meritorious grievance or process it in a perfunc-

tory fashion. (Emphasis supplied.)

As a result of Vaca the duty of fair representation is now

often described as one in which a union may not act arbitrarily,

invidiously, irrelevantly, unfairly or perfunctorily in carrying out

its representational duties. The Vaca court even recognized that

those phrases had become cause for debate with respect to the

scope of their meaning. It had hoped to be able to provide

clarity with respect to defining those phrases. Despite that effort,

-4la-

JD(SF)—21—87

the duty itself remains somewhat murky depending on the fact

pattern being presented. The Board has generally held that duty

of fair representation is not breached where the union is

forgetful, commits an inadvertent error, or is negligent. Local 18,

Operating Engineers (Ohio Pipeline Construction Co., 144 NLRB

1364 (1963); Teamsters Local 692 (Great Western Unifreight

System), 209 NLRB 446 (1974).

Yet the courts have had some difficulty in determining the

breach of the duty where errors, omissions and negligence caused

results which severely damaged an employee’s rights, privileges or

status. For example, the Ninth Circuit in Dutrisiac v. Caterpillar

Tractor, 349 F.2d 1270 (1983) was faced with a situaticn where a

union missed a deadline for filing a grievance. The court found

that meeting a deadline for the filing of a grievance wa; simply a

ministerial act and easy to carry out. It appeared to recognize

that the failure to file was simply an act of negligence but

observed that the grievant’s interests which were at stake were

strong and that the union’s omission totally extinguished the

grievant’s right to pursue his case. In that circumstance the court

held that it was a breach of the duty of fair representation to fail

to complete the ministerial act of filing a grievance in a timely

way. Despite some language of the majority claiming that it was

not finding a breach of the duty for simple negligence, Judge

Norris disagreed in his concurring opinion. Given the facts of the

case, it appears to me that Judge Norris is correct in his assess-

ment that the court relied on simple negligence to find a breach

of the duty.° Nonetheless, the Ninth Circuit’s analysis has some

analytical impact here. It is quite true that meeting a filing

deadline is a ministerial act which can be easily met. It is equally

true that a missed deadline can quite often result in great harm

to an individual’s rights or status. Indeed, it can be reasonably

argued that the deadline which Respondent missed here is no

different from the deadline which was missed in Dutnsiac. Yet,

* Judge Norris was relying on comments made by Judge Anthony M.

Kennedy in Robesky v. Quantas Empire Airways, 573 F.2d 1082 (9th Cir. 1978).

-42a-

JD(SF}—21—87

can it be said in either case that the failure to file was arbitrary,

discriminatory, invidious, irrelevant or perfunctory? It is hard to

characterize forgetfulness or mistake as any of those although the

Dutnisiac court appears to have done so.

Earlier, the Ninth Circuit had stated in Robesky v. Qantas

Empire Airways, 573 F.2d 1082, 1092 (1978) in a grievance-

handling context that the union’s failure to disclose fully the

conditions of a settlement proposal, even though unintentional,

had nonetheless been so reckless that the union could not be

shielded from liability under the fair representation doctrine. It

said the omission was “so egregious, so far short of minimum

standards of fairness to the employee and so unrelated to

legitimate union interests as to be arbitrary,” citing Ruzicka v.

General Motors, 523 F.2d 306 (6th Cir. 1975). Ruzicka was

another case in which the union failed timely to file a grievance

and held that the failure amounted to arbitrary and perfunctory

handling of the grievance sufficient to invoke the doctrine.

Despite its language in Ruzicka, the Sixth Circuit has

recently begun to reanalyze the utility of the Vaca/Miranda Fuel

tests finding them to be unclear. See NLRB v. Teamsters Local

299 (McLean Trucking Co.), 782 F.2d 46, 121 LRRM 2478, 2482

(1986). That case has some striking similarities to the case before

me and is one in which the Board found a violation. Indeed, the

General Counsel argues that the underlying Board case, Team-

sters Local 299 (McLean Trucking Co.),.270 NLRB 1250 (1984)

controls here even though the Sixth Circuit denied enforcement.

At the risk of over-distilling the facts, McLean involved a

company whose collective-bargaining contract contained a

modified no-strike clause. When a dispute arose with respect to

the layoff of a small group of employees, the union demanded,

over the protest of the company, to hold a meeting on the

company premises during worktime. The employer asserted to

the union officials that the meeting was a breach of the no-strike

clause, and that the employees could be disciplined. The union

nonetheless conducted the meeting, never telling the employees

that the company regarded it as an illegal work stoppage or that

-43a-

JD(SF}—21—87

the Company could discipline them. The employer, upon

pursuing the matter, determined that the meeting was not an

exception to the no-strike clause, and subsequently disciplined the

employees in accordance with the terms set forth in the contract.

The Board held the union in McLean breached the duty of

fair representation when it encouraged the employees to stop

work in violation of the no-strike clause and when it exposed

them to discipline, a risk it had failed to explain. The Board held

that the union’s claim that the work stoppage was-only a meeting

was not a good faith position and that the union had deliberately

misled the employees with respect to the consequences of their

action. It held that the employees “had a right to expect that the

Union would not encourage them to violate the contract in a way

that would expose them to a loss of income or even employ-

ment.” Specifically, it relied on both Miranda and Vaca in

reaching its conclusion that the Union’s contract was arbitrary.

270 NLRB 1250, 1252.

The Sixth Circuit, however, regarded the Board’s decision as

an assertion that the duty of fair representation “imposes an

affirmative obligation on a union to inform its members of

possible disciplinary consequences for participating in at least

some forms of union activity.” It then said that after careful

review of the case law it believed that there was no support for

interpreting the duty of fair representation to encompass the fact

pattern before it. It noted that both Vaca and Ruzicka involved

the arbitrary handling of an individual's grievance. It observed

that even though the individuals in those cases had not been

discriminated against in the classic sense and even if the Union

had not acted in bad faith, the grievants were alleging treatment

disparate from other members. It stated that the Board’s position

with respect to the application of the Vaca logic was “completely

out of context” and

. . . [wjould require us to extend the duty [of fair

representation] to cover a situation involving a work

stoppage rather than collective bargaining or grievance

-44a-

JD(SF)—21—87

processing, and where a member or group was not

singled out for different treatment. In other words, the

duty would be expanded to include an undefined

fiduciary duty which a union owes to its unit as a whole.

Such a duty could impose on a union an obligation to

authorize a strike, or any number of other affirmative’

actions. We decline to extend the duty so far, since we

believe the duty of fair representation was never

intended to be “catch-all” for undesirable union activity.

* * * We conclude as a matter of law, that the duty of

fair representation is implicated only when an individual

or group is treated differently by a union—either

through discriminatory, bad-faith, or arbitrary conduct—

than another individual, group or the collective. Since

such differential treatment was not alleged in this case,

we find that the Board was incorrect as a matter of law

to find a violation of the duty of fair representation.

We therefore decline to consider the Miranda Fuel

question, and cannot grant enforcement on this basis.

Thus, both the Ninth and the Sixth Circuits have questioned

the utility of the Miranda/Vaca language and have now come

down on different sides of the issue. The Ninth Circuit is willing

to say that negligence in some circumstances is a perfunctory ‘ect;

the Sixth Circuit has said that even a deliberate, apparently

reckless, act resulting in the destruction or impairment of employ-

ee rights or status is not a breach of the duty so long as the

employee is not treated differently than others and even then

only if the union’s conduct is discriminatory, arbitrary or in bad

faith.

The foregoing discussion does not resolve the specific fact

pattern before me. I advert to it, however, with the specific

purpose of observing that fair representation cases of the kind

presented here are not straightforward. Indeed, both courts have

strongly suggested that the Miranda/Vaca language is not of

bright-line assistance in determining this kind of case. The Sixth

Circuit in McLean even goes so far as to say that language arising

-4Sa-

JD(SF}—21—87

from grievance-handling cases with respect to what a union must

do to inform its members of the consequences of their acts in

other fact patterns is inappropriate. The Board, of course, had

held the opposite.

In the instant case the Union did not inform the Aztech

employees that the Section 8(d) notice to the FMCS had not

been timely filed principally because its officials did not know it.

I should observe here that there is a significant factual difference

between Respondent’s omission here and the Teamsters’ omission

in McLean. In McLean the union knew it was risking a breach

of the no-strike clause. Indeed as the meeting began the

employer informed the union that it was breaching that section

of the contract. Aztech’s King did not make a similar warning

and I credit the Union’s evidence that it took several days to find

out what had actually happened with respect to the FMCS filing.

In the meantime, of course, the Employer had already taken the

disciplinary act which Section 8(d) permitted it to take. It can

clearly be said that the Teamsters’ act in McLean was taken

knowingly and with reckless disregard for employee rights. The

same cannot be said of Respondent’s omission. Thus, the Board’s

decision in McLean is factually distinguishable from the case

presented here, even without regard to the Sixth Circuit’s

decision to deny enforcement. I must disagree therefore with the

General Counsel who urges that the Board’s decision in McLean

controls.

Instead, seems to me that the General Counsel has not

shown that the Union’s failure to file the FMCS notice was

anything other than an act of negligence, mistake or inadver-

tence. Under Board law as set forth in Local 18 Operating

Engineers (Ohio Pipeline Construction Co.), supra, and Teamsters

Local 692 (Great Western Unifreight System), supra, no breach of

the duty can be made out. The only two theories which I can see

which would require a finding of a violation is either an adoption

of the General Counsel’s fiduciary duty theory or the Ninth

Circuit’s analysis with respect to a failure to perform a ministerial

act. The fiduciary theory would of course impose a higher duty

-46a-

JD(SF)—21—87

of care upon the union than is normally seen in fair representa-

tion cases. I think it is fair to conclude that if the Union’s duty

is that of a fiduciary, it failed to meet it. However, I have already

noted that the fiduciary duty does not exist here.’ Moreover, the

Board has not accepted the Ninth Circuit’s approach here. In

fact the Board has held “. . . it is not every act of disparate

treatment or negligent conduct which is proscribed by Section

8(b)(1)(A), only those which have been motivated by hostile,

invidious, irrelevant, or unfair considerations. . .” Steelworkers

Local 2869 (Kaiser Steel Corp.), 239 NLRB 982 (1978). Thus,

while we may be offended by Respondent’s failure to file the

FMCS notice and its consequent negative impact upon the

employment status of the individuals Respondent represented, it

appears that under current Board law the Respondent did not

breach the duty of fair representation when it called the strike."

” The Board has imposed a fiduciary obligation on unions in the enforce-

ment of union security clauses. See Conductron Corporation, 183 NLRB 419,

429 (1970); Rocket and Guided Missile Lodge 946, [AM (Aerojet-General Corp.),

186 NLRB 561, 562, (1970) and cases cited in fn. 1; Boilermakers Local 732

(Triple A Machine Shop, Inc., 239 NLRB 504, (1978).

* The Charging Party has observed that Respondent was subject to a “most-

favored-nations” clause in a contract with an El Paso, Texas firm. He argues

that Respendent could not politically accept a lower rate in Albuquerque without

risking wage cuts at the larger El Paso company. He says it follows, therefore,

that Respondent specially exhorted Aztech’s employees to strike to obtain the El

Paso rate. Whether the employees won or lost, he argues, the Respondent was

acting improperly. If the employees succeeded, Aztech, already financially

precarious, would be rendered uncompetitive and forced out of business. If they

failed and the strike was lost, Respondent would not be obligated to sign a new

contract. Either way the El F iso contract would not be jecpardized.

I do not accept the premise. Respondent had a specific purpose in

Albuquerque, to obtain a new contract with Aztech. El Paso is 270 miles distant

and probably not much of a consideration to the Union as it sought a new

contract in Albuquerque. More significant is the observation that even if

Respondent was concerned with the most favored nations clause in E! Paso, it

did not need to file a late notice with the FMCS to create a dispute justifying the

abandonment of the Aztech employees to save the El Paso contract. Any strike

-47a-

JD(SF)—21—87

Moreover, as it breached no duty of fair representation at

the time of the calling of the strike and, as the employees were

discharged almost instantly thereafter, it was faced with a fait

accompli. The employees were free to either accept the Union’s

advice or the Employer's advice and to make their own decisions

thereafter. Briggs’ and Gilliland’s statements to employees after

the strike was under way that to win the strike they had to stick

together was only the ordinary encouragement of a union official

to maintain solidarity during a labor dispute. Such statements do

not amount to any special encougggement to continue to strike

in the face of an unreasonable risk. Therefore, I cannot find a

violation based upon the General Couhsel’s second theory either,

that a breach of the duty occurs when the Union fails to tell its

employees to go back to work.

Indeed, it seems to me that the Aztech employees took the

steps that one would expect them to take against a union which

failed adequately to represent their interests. They fired the

Union as their representative when they filed their decertification

petition and induced the disclaimer of representation. That is

certainly the most appropriate means of punishing a representa-

tive which has made such a horrendous error.

Based on the foregoing findings of fact and the record as a

whole, I hereby issue the following:

would have accomplished that. Therefore, I do not regard the El Paso most

favored nations clause to be a legitimate consideration here. The Charging

Party’s position with respect to it is illogical.

-48a-

JD(SF)—21—87

Conclusions of Law

1. Aztech International, Ltd. is an employer engaged in

commerce and in an industry affecting commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

2. Respondent, Sheet Metal Workers’ Internztional

Association, Local No. 49, AFL-CIO, is a labor orgauization

within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

3. Respondent has engaged in no violations of the Act as

alleged in the complaint.

Based upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of

law, I hereby issue the following recommended:’

ORDER

The complaint is dismissed in its entirety.

Dated: March 4, 1987

/s/

James M. Kennedy

Administrative Law Judge

* If no exceptions are filed as provided by Sec. 102.46 of the Board’s Rules

and Regulations, the findings, conclusions, and recommended Order shall, as

provided in Sec. 102.48 of the Rules, be adopted by the Board and all objections

to them shall be deemed waived for all purposes.

APPENDIX F

COMPLAINT AND NOTICE OF HEARING

April 21, 1986

-49a-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

REGION 28

SHEET METAL WORKERS’ INTERNATIONAL

ASSOCIATION, LOCAL UNION NO. 49,

AFL-CIO (Aztech International, Ltd.)

and Case 28-CB-2479

PETE LE’MON, an Individual

COMPLAINT AND NOTICE OF HEARING

It having been charged by Pete Le’Mon, an individual

(herein called Le’Mon), that Local 49, Sheet Metal Workers

International Association, AFL-CIO (designated in the caption

hereof by its correct name and herein called the Respondent),

has engaged in and is engaging in certain unfair labor practices

affecting commerce as set forth and defined in the National

Labor Relations Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C. Sec. 151, et seq.,

herein called the Act, the Generai Counsel of the National Labor

Relations Board, on behalf of the National Labor Relations

Board (hereinafter called the Board), by the undersigned,

pursuant to Section 10(b) of the Act and Section 102.15 of the

Board’s Rules and Regulations, Series 8, as amended, hereby

issues this Complaint and Notice of Hearing and alleges as

follows:

1. The charge herein was filed by Le’Mon on October 28,

1985, and a copy thereof was served by certified mail upon the

Respondent on the same date.

2. Aztech International, Lid. (herein called Aztech), is

now, and has been at all times material herein, a corporation duly

organized under, and existing by virtue of, the laws of the State

of New Mexico.

-50a-

3. At all times material herein, Aztech has maintained an

office and principal place of business in Albuquerque, New

Mexico, where it is engaged in the manufacture and marketing of

heating panels and evaporative cooling units.

4. During the past 12-month period, which period is

representative of its operations at all times material herein,

Aztech, in the course of its business operations described above

in paragraph 3, sold goods valued in excess of $50,000 which were

transported in interstate commerce and delivered to customers

outside the State of New Mexico.

5. Aztech is now, and has been at all times material herein,

an employer engaged in commerce within the meaning of Section

2(5) of the Act.

6. The Respondent is now, and has been at all times

material herein, a labor organization within the meaning of

Section 2(5) of the Act.

7. (a) At all times material herein, Gary Briggs has

occupied the position of business manager of the Respondent,

and is now, and has been at all times material herein, an agent of

the Respondent, acting on its behalf, within the meaning of

Section 2(13) of the Act.

(b) At all times material herein, George “Jeep”

Gilliland has occupied the position of business representative of

the Respondent, and is now, and has been at all times materiai

herein, an agent of the Respondent, acting on its behalf, within

the meaning of Section 2(13) of the Act.

8. At all times material herein, by virtue of Section 9(a) of

the Act, the Respondent has been, and is now, the exclusive

bargaining representative for the purposes of collective bargaining

with respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment, and

other terms and conditions of employment, of all employees of

Aztech in the following unit:

-S5la-

[AJll production employees of [Aztech], excluding only

supervisors, office clerical help, watchmen and guards as

defined in the National Labor Relations Act of 1947, as

amended.

9. At all times material herein, the Respondent and Aztech

have maintained in effect and have enforced a collective-

bargaining agreement covering wages, hours, and other terms and

conditions of employment of the employees of Aztech in the unit

described above in paragraph 8, which, by its terms, expired on

September 30, 1985.

10. (a) On or about October 1, 1985, the Respondent

engaged in a strike, and continued to engage in a strike, against

Aztech until on or about October 7, 1985.

(b) The object of the strike described above in

subparagraph 10(a) was in furtherance of the Respondent’s

reopening of the collective-bargaining agreement described above

in paragraph 9, and the demand for a successor agreement to it.

(c) Commencing on or about October 1, 1985, and

continuing to October 7, 1985, the Respondent, in the

furtherance and support of its demands as described above in

subparagraph 10(b), picketed at Aztech’s Albuquerque, New

Mexico, facility with picket signs stating “Aztech International,

No Contract, SMWIA, Sheet Metal Workers, Local Union #49.”

11. On or about September 17, 1985, the Respondent

served a written notice on the Federal Mediation and

Conciliation Service of the existence of a dispute between the

Respondent and Aztech, as described above in subparagraphs

10(a) through 10(c).

12. The Respondent commenced the conduct as described

above in paragraph 10, and its subparagraphs, less than 30 days

after service of the notice described above in paragraph 11.

-52a-

13. Since on or about September 30, 1985, the Respondent

by its agents has failed to fairly represent employees of Aztech by

the following acts and conduct:

(a) On or about September 30, 1985, the Respondent,

through Gary Briggs, induced and encouraged employees to vote

in favor of striking Aztech despite its knowledge that it had not

complied with the 30-day time period required for notice of the

existence of a dispute, as set forth in Section 8(d)(3) of the Act.

(b) On or about October 1, 1985, the Respondent,

through George “Jeep” Gilliland, willfully encouraged employees

to continue its strike of Aztech by affirmatively misrepresenting

to employees that proper notice had been made in compliance

with the provisions of Section 8(d)(3) of the Act.

(c) On or about October 2, 1985, and continuing

through October 7, 1985, the Respondent, through Gary Briggs

and George “Jeep” Gilliland, continued to encourage employees

to participate in the strike against Aztech despite its knowledge

that it had not complied with the provision of Section 8(d)(3) of

the Act.

14. As aconsequence of the Respondent’s acts and conduct

described above in paragraph 13, and its subparagraphs, certain

striking employees of Aztech suffered loss of employment, wages,

seniority rights, and other employment benefits.

15. By the acts and conduct described above in paragraph

13, and its subparagraphs, in connection with its representative

Status as described above in paragraphs 8 and 9, the Respondent

has failed to represent the employees of Aztech by engaging in

unfair, arbitrary, and invidious conduct, which conduct constitutes

a breach of the fiduciary duty owed to employees whom it

represents.

16. By the acts and conduct described above in paragraph

13, and its subparagraphs, and paragraph 15, and by each of said

acts and conduct, the Respondent has restrained and coerced,

-53a-

and is continuing to restrain and coerce, employees in the

exercise of the rights guaranteed by Section 7 of the Act, and the

Respondent thereby has engaged in, and is engaging in, unfair

labor practices within the meaning of Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the

Act.

17. The acts and conduct of the Respondent described

above in paragraphs 13, 15, and 16, occurring in connection with

the operations of Aztech, described above in paragraphs 2

through 5, have a close, intimate, and substantial relation to

trade, traffic, and commerce among the several states of the

United States and tend to lead to labor disputes burdening and

obstructing commerce and the free flow of commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

18. The acts and conduct of the Respondent described

above constitute unfair labor practices within the meaning of

Section 8(b)(1)(A) of the Act, which affect commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

WHEREFORE, as part of the remedy for the unfair labor

practices alleged above in paragraphs 13, 15, and 16, the General

Counsel seeks an order providing that Respondent:

Notify the Regional Director for Region 28, in writing,

within 20 days from the date of this Order, what steps

have been taken to comply therewith. For the purpose

of determining or securing compliance with this Order,

the Board, or any of its duly authorized representatives,

may obtain discovery from the Respondent, its officers,

agents, successo1s or assigns, or any other person having

knowledge concerning any compliance matter, in the

manner provided by the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. Such discovery shall be conducted under the

supervision of the United States Court of Appeals

enforcing this Order and may be had upon any matter

reasonably related to compliance with this Order, as

enforced by the Court.

-54a-

The General Counsel further prays for such other relief as may

be just and proper to remedy the unfair labor practices herefa

alleged.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that commencing at 9 a.m.

(MDT), on May 20, 1986, and continuing on consecutive days

thereafter until concluded, a hearing will be conducted in the

Hearing Room, National Labor Relations Board, Patio Plaza

Building, 5000 Marble Avenue NE, Albuquerque, New Mexico,

before a duly designated administrative law judge of the Board on

the allegations set forth in the above complaint, at which time

and place you will have the right to appear in person, or

otherwise, and give testimony.

YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that, pursuant to

Sections 102.20 and 102.21 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations,

Series 8, as amended, the Respondent shall file with the

undersigned, acting in this matter as an agent of the Board, an

original and four copies of an answer to said complaint within 10

days from the service thereof, and that, unless the Respondent

does so, all of the allegations in the complaint shall be deemed

to be true and shall be so found by the Board. You are also

notified that, pursuant to said Rules and Regulations, the

Respondent shall serve a copy of the answer on each of the other

parties.

Form NLRB-4668, Summary of Standard Procedures in

Formal Hearings Held before the National Labor Relations

Board in Unfair Labor Practice Proceedings Pursuant to Section

10 of the National Labor Relations Act, as amended, is attached.

Dated at Phoenix, Arizona, this 21st day of April, 1986.

Ls/

Roy H. Garner, Regional Director

APPENDIX G

RELEVANT

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS

-5Sa-

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AMENDMENT I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the

freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people

peaceably to assemble, and to fetition the Government for a

redress of grievances.

AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a

Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or

in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public

danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offence to

be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in

any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just compensa-

tion.

-56a-

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

§ 7 NLRA, 29 U.S.C, § 157

Employees shall have the right to self-organization, to form,

join, or assist labor organizations, to bargain collectively through

representatives of their own choosing, and to engage in other

concerted activities for the purpose of collective bargaining or

other mutual aid or protection, and shall also have the right to

refrain from any or all of such activities except to the extent that

such right may be affected by an agreement requiring member-

ship in a labor organization as a condition of employment as

authorized in section 158(a)(3) of this title.

§ 8(b)(1)(A) NLRA,

29 U.S.C. § 158(b)(1)(A)

(b) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor organiza-

tion or its agents—

(1) to restrain or coerce (A) employees in the exercise of

the rights guaranteed in section 157 of this title: Provided,

That this paragraph shall not impair the right of a labor

organization to prescribe its own rules with respect to the

acquisition or retention of membership therein; . . . .

§ 8(d) NLRA,

§ 29 U.S.C. § 158(d)

(d) For the purposes of this section, to bargain collectively

is the performance of the mutual obligation of the employer and

the representative of the employees to meet at reasonable times

and confer in good faith with respect to wages, hours, and other

terms and conditions of employment, or the negotiation of an

agreement, or any question arising thereunder, and the execution

-57a-

of a written contract incorporating any agreement reached if

requested by either party, but such obligation does not compel

either party to agree to a proposal or require the making of a

concession: Provided, That where there is in effect a collective-

bargaining contract ~~. :ring employees in an industry affecting

commerce, the duty to t+ -gain collectively shall also mean that no

party to such contract ..all terminate or modify such contract,

unless the party desiring such termination or modification—

(1) serves a written notice upon the other party to the

contract of the proposed termination or modification sixty

days prior to the expiration date thereof, or in the event

such contract contains no expiration date, sixty days to the

time it is proposed to make such termination or modifica-

on;

(2) offers to meet and confer with the other party for

the purpose of negotiating a new contract or a contract

containing the proposed modifications;

(3) notifies the Federal Mediation and Conciliation

Service within thirty days after such notice of the existence

of a dispute, and simultaneously therewith notifies any State

or Territorial agency established to mediate and conciliate

disputes within the State or Territory where the dispute

occurred, provided no agreement has been reached by that

time; and

(4) continues in full force and effect, without resorting

to strike or lock-out, all the terms and conditions of the

existing contract for a period of sixty days after such notice

is given or until the expiration date of such contract, which-

ever occurs later:

The duties imposed upon employers, employees, and labor

organizations by paragraphs (2)-(4) of this subsection shall

become inapplicable upon an intervening certification of the

Board, under which the labor organization or individual, which is

a party to the contract, has been superseded as or ceased to be

-58a-

the representative of the employees subject to the provisions of

section 159(a) of this title, and the duties so imposed shall not be

construed as requiring either party to discuss or agree to, any

modification of the terms and conditions contained in a contract

for a fixed period, if such modification is to become effective

before such terms and conditions can be reopened under the

provisions of the contract. Any employee who engages in a strike

within the sixty-day period specified in this subsection shall lose

his status as an employee of the employer engaged in the

particular labor dispute, for the purposes of sections 158 to 160

of this title, but such loss of status for such employee shall

terminate if and when he is reemployed by such employer.

§ 9(a) NLRA,

29 U.S.C. § 159(a)

(a) Representatives designated or selected for the

purposes of collective bargaining by the majority of the employ-

ees in a unit appropriate for such purposes, shall be the exclusive

representatives of all the employees in such unit for the purposes

of collective bargaining in respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of

employment, or other conditions of employment: Provided, That

any individual employee or a group of employees shall have the

right at any time to present grievances to their employer and to

have such grievances adjusted, without the intervention of the

bargaining representative, as long as the adjustment is not

inconsistent with the terms of a collective-bargaining contract or

agreement then in effect: Provided further, That the bargaining

representative has been given opportunity to be present at such

adjustment.

x

:

*

%

~

:

2

APPENDIX H

APPELLANT’S PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING

WITH SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

FILED WITH THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

January 31, 1992

-59a-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETE LE’MON

Petitioner,

Vv.

No. 88-2833

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent,

SHEET METAL WORKERS INTER-

NATIONAL ASSOCIATION LOCAL

UNION NO. 49 AFL-CIO,

Intervenor.

he ee ee ee ee ee, ee

ON REMAND FROM THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

(S. Ct. NO. 90-400)

ON PETITION FOR REVIEW FROM THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

(NLRB No. 28~CB-2479)

APPELLANT'S PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING

WITH SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Hugh L. Reilly, Esq.

National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Rd., Suite 600

Springfield, VA 22160

(703) 321-8510

-60a-

STATEMENT OF APPELLANT’S COUNSEL

PURSUANT TO TENTH CIRCUIT RULE 35.2.2

Hugh L. Reilly, counsel for the appellant, Pete Le’Mon,

pursuant to his right and obligation under Tenth Circuit Rule

35.2.2 states:

I express a belief (and the conviction) based on a reasoned

and studied professional judgment that the panel decision is

contrary to the following decisions of the United States Supreme

Court,

Universal Camera v. NLRB, 340 U.S. at 494 (1951);

Airline Pilots Association v. O'Neill, __§ US. at __,

111 S.Ct. at 1130, 1133, 1134, 1135, & 1137 (1991); and

United Steelworkers v. Rawson, 495 U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at

1911 (1990).

I also express a belief (and the conviction) based on a

reasoned and studied professional judgment that this appeal

involves the following five questions of exceptional importance.

1. Is there substantial evidence, under Universal Camera,

to support a decision of the NLRB which fails to

address admissions in the record which utterly destroy,

or at least substantially undermine, the “factual”

predicate for the Board’s decision?

2. Is the

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Le'Mon v. National Labor Relations Board · 506 U.S. 830 | Frix