Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rabida v. Van Orden

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, ug,

FILED

\) i

9l-1907 : FEB 20 i992 |

|

OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

a

ee

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

January Term 1992

In re.:

Patricia Rose Rabida,

Petitioner

Vv.

Joseph B. Van Orden, Jay Van Orden,

Stoye Milburn, Charles Mc Gowan III,

Kent Wardell, Alfred O. Knapp, and

Russell J. Knapp et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

CALIFORNIA STATE COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FIFTH DISTRICT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Patricia Rose Rabida

5425 Shoup Ave.

Woodland Hills,

California. 91367

(818) 704-6772

l (VERIFICATION - 446 and 2015.5 C.C.P)

LOS ANGELES

2 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF

Petitioner

3 I, the unaersigned, declare: | am the

4

Writ of Certiorari

5 in the above-entitled action; | have read the foregoing

6

7 and know the contents thereof; and the same is true of my own knowledge, except as to the matters which are therein

8 stated upon my information and belief, and as to those matters, I believe it to be true.

9 I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Dae Signature of Oeclaram

11 Patricia Rose Rabida

Type of Prin Fu Name of Deciarant and Tule, of appicadic

12 (PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL - 1013a, 2015.5 C.C.P.)

13 STATE OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

14 1 am a resident of /employed in the aforesaid county, State of California; | am over the age of eighteen years and not a

1S party to the within action; my business address/residence address is:

6 9650 Sepulveda Blvd. Sepulveda Ca. 91343

17 a May 1 oe 1922 f served the foregoing

18 Writ of certiorari *

(set forth the exact cule of (he document served)

19

interested parties

20 on

1 in this action by placing a true copy thereof, enclosed in a sealed envelope with postage thereon fully prepaid, in the Unitec

2 States mail at Van Nuys Ca. , California, addressed as follows

»% . ,;

: see attached list.

a

5

6 I certify (or declare), under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that the foregoing is true and correc:

May 19, 1992 Pe ae oe

a Y “ —_* — oe : ( et

Date - Signature of Oectaran

8 John H. Sallach

3 lyoe or Prem Full Name of Occtarant

| WOLCOTTS FORM 811P—Rev 682

— TBEST AVAIL!

Writ of Certiorari mailed to:

Hon Brown,Court of Appeal,Fifth District,

P.O.Box 45013, Fresno Ca. 93718.

Hon. John M.Nairn, Superior Court,1415 Truxton Ave.

Bakersfield Ca.93301.

Hon. John M.Stanton, County Counsel's Office,

1415 Truxton Ave. Bakersfield Ca. 93301.

(Please forward)

Stoye Milburn @ Edith’ Milburn, 1000 Pacheco Rd.

Apt. 23, Tehachapi Ca. 93307.

(Please Forward)

Charles Mc Gowan III, 9445 East Ives St.

Bellflower, Ca. 90706.

Joseph B. Van Orden and Jay Van Orden,

20154 Hatteras Street, Woodland Hills Ca. 91367.

Harry M. Reynolds, attorney at law, 1206 L. Street,

Bakersfiled Ca. 93301.

attorney representing the following:

Joseph B. Van Orden,

Jay Van Orden.

Charles Mc Gowan.

Alfred O. Knapp.

Russell P. Knapp/

Kent Wardell.

The above were put in the U.S. Mail with first class

postage affixed. °

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Has the state court taken defendant's

land and given it to six other private

individuals without Due Process ?

Was the judgment obtained by Fraud, Cor-

ruption, Misconduct, Duress and Excess

of Jurisdiction on the part of Hon.

John M. Stanton, Hon. John M. Nairn,

Hon. Brown of the Fifth District,

attorneys Harry M. Reynolds, Virgil

Roberts Jr.,and Howard Manning et al.

Were all neccessary elements satisfied

relating to creation of easements over

the private land of another.

Is there evidence of Evidence Tampering

by the officers of the court and/or by

the court itself i.e. Hon John M. Nairn,

attorney Harry M. Reynolds, et al.?

Did attorney Harry M. Reynolds attempt

to influence Judge John M. Nairn ?

Was Reynolds successfully in influenc-

ing Judge John M. Nairn ?

Fe

8.

10.

ll.Is Joseph B. Van Orden guilty of Fraud,

> #

>»

Was the complaint fraudulant ?

Was there a conflict of interest

between attorney Harry M. Reynolds

who prepared the complaint and

Joseph B. Van Orden who verified

the Complaint and then litigated

the case in the absence of real

parties in interest and/or the

the whens plaintiffs ?

Does the record evidence a conspi-

racy between Robert C. Monroe,

his agent Stoye Milburn and his

agent's friend and former associate

Joseph B. Van Orden; which originated

prior to defendant's acquisition ?

Is Harry M. Reynolds, guilty of

subordination to perjury ?

Deceit and/or Perjury.

Is defendant's testimony uncontrovert-

ed and substantially supported by

direct evidence, credible exhibits,

-il-

*

14.

expert testimony and the preponderance

of evidence ?

Is defendant entitled to judgment on

the complaint ?

Is defendant entitled to judgment on

the Cross-complaint ?

-iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions to be Reviewed.

Table of Contents.

Index of Appendices.

Table of Authorities involved

in the case.

Tabie of Statutory Provisions

Conferring Jurisdiction on

the U.S. Supreme Court.

Petition for Review denied

by State Supreme Court.

Concise Statement of Grounds

of Jurisdiction of the U.S.

Supreme Court.

Dates of Entries of Judgment,

and Opinion sought to be

Reviewed.

Dates of Orders Respecting

Rehearing etc.

Statutory Provisions Believed

to Confer on this Court

Jurisdiction to Review Judgment.

Statutes, Constitutional Provisions,

Codes, Etc. Involved in Case.

Concise Statement of Reasons

Relied on for Writ.

Statement of Case.

Conclusion

-iv-

xxl

14,188

31

ao

65

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

INDEX OF APPENDICES

Nov.5, 1991 OPINION

Mar.29,1985 OPINION

Nov.20,1991 State

Supreme Court Denial

of Petition for Review.

April 24, 1981 Notice

of Intended Decision.

Jun.2, 1983 Judgment.

Dec.20, 1983 Signed

Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law.

Letter to Judge

John M.Stanton

Re.3rd Set of

Findings.

Special Verdict

by Jury Foreman.

Judgment on Special

Verdict by Hon.

John M Nairn.

David Brown's Aug. 4,

1989 “Exhibit ‘A‘'"

filed with Hon.

Nairn's Judgment

Aug. 3,

April 27, 1978 Default

of Stoye Milburn.

1977 Complaint.

163

165

166

168

170

178

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

June 16, 1980 Dismissal

with Prejudice of Robert

C. Monroe.

Diagram of Owners in

SE% of Section li,

based on Complaint.

Bell-Shaped-Curve Road

Depicted on Alan

Whitlock's May 1970

Work Map.

Diagonal Road in SW%

of SE% as Depicted on

David R.Brown's Aug. 4,

1989 Platting.

Diagonal Road Depicted

SW% of SEX prepared by

Don Ward based on des-

cription of easement in

Brown's "Exhibit A"

Overlay of Bell-Shaped

Curve Road and Brown's

Diagonal Road.

Tracing of Roads in W*

of Sw of SEX in 1975

Aerial Photograph.

W-E Road depicted on

Aug. 1970 Whitlock Map

on which Van Orden

illustrated extensions

thereto.

Statutes, Codes,etc.

Involved in Case.

(Per Rule 14,1 (f))

ayi-

180

181

182

183

184

185

186

187

188

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

Objections Made and

Review Sought in

Court of First

Instance.

Objections Made and

Review sought in

Remand Hearing.

Exhibits Presented

by Plaintiffs at

1980-1981 Trial and

at 1989 Hearing.

Exhibits Presented

by Defendant at

1980-1981 Trial.

Exhibits Presented

by Defendant at

1989 Hearing.

-vii-

196

223

273

re ee

276

LIST OF AUTHORITIES INVOLVED IN CASE

Page

Allegre v Maryland Ins. Co. 6 Harr 25

& J. (Md.) 408, 14,Am. dec. 289

Amerco Inc. v Tullar, 182 Cal.App. 15

2d 336, 338, 6 Cal. rptr 6, 9.

A & M Records, Inc. v Heilman 24

(1977)App.142 Cal.Rptr. 390 (11)

Atlantic Coast Line R, Co. v. 20

Temple 285, US 143, 76 L.Ed.670,

Sa Be Ce Bae

Aver v Frank (1964) 227 CA2d 396, 20

406

Beck v State Farm Mut.Auto Ins. 23

Co. (1976) 54 Cal.App.3d 347,

126 Cal.Rptr.602

Bollinger v Bollinger (1908) 18

154 C 695, 99 P 196.

Bradbury v. Cronise (1873) 19

46 C 287

Brautigan v. Brooks (1964) 227, 20

CA2d 547, 38 Cal.Rptr, 784

Brown v Radcliff (1913) 21 Cal. 17,191

App. 282, 131 P 769

Bruggerman v Illnois CR 147 Iowa 25

187, 123, NW 1007, Ann Cas.1912

B 876.

Burke v. Levy 68 C 32,8 P 527 19

Burris v People's Ditch Co.(1894) 17,191

104 Cal. 268, dad, i377 P Zé

-Vvill-

Cassidy v State 18

Citizens State Bank v Bowles

NY 346,73 NE 33, 105 Am.St.Rep

765.

City of Oakland v Partridge (1963)

29 Cal. Rptr. 388, 214 CA2d 196

Clinchfield Coal Corp.v Compton

148 va 437, 139 SE 308, 55 ALR

1976.

County of L.A. v. Bartlett 203

CA2d 523, 21 Cal.Rptr. 776.

Crane v. French (1940) 104 P2d

53, 39 CA2d 642

Crimmins v Gould 149 Cal.App.2d

Curtis v Nye & Nissen (1927)

261 P 747, 86 Ca 507

Cyrus v Haverson (1976) 65 Cal.

App 3d 306, 316,135 Cal.Rptr.

D'Amico v Board of Med. EXaminers

(1974) 112 Cal.Rptr.786.

De Supulveda v Baugh 74 C 468,

16 P 223

Di Genova 57 Cal.2d 179, 18 Cal.

Rptr. 369;367 P2d 865.

Div. of Labor Law Enfor. v.

Standard. Oil Prod. Co.(1955)

288, P2d 637, 136 Ca2d Sup. 919.

Eck v Mc Micheal (1960) 1 Cal.

Rptr. 369, 176,CA2d 368.

-1x-

24

26

29

19

30

21

23

Elkinton v Cal.St. Auto Ass'n

Inter, Ins. Bureau (1959) 343,

P2d 396, 173 CA2d,338.

England v Hospital of Gd. Sam.

14 Cal.2d 791, 795, 97 P2d 813

Epley v Hiller (1954)274 p2d

696, 128 CA2d 100.

Estate of Ramsey 107 Cal.App2d

372,375, 237 P2a 20,822,232. (iS3Sid.

Feldsman v Mc Govern (1941) 112

P2d 645, 44 CA2d 566.

Feldsenthal v Warring 40 Cal.

App.119,131,180 P 67.

First Nat. Bank of Potterville

v De Moulin (1922) 205 P92,

56 Ca 3i3.

Fisher v Cheseman (1968) 260 Cal.

App2d 503, 506, 67 Cal Rptr. 258.

Franklin v Dorland (1865) 28 C.

175, 87 Am. De. Ill.

Fristoe v Drapeau 35, Cal.2d 5,

8,215 P2d 729

Furtado v Taylor (1948) 194 P2d

770, 86 CA2d 346.

Gagnon v Adamson 122 Ca.2d 678,

224,P2d 71.

George v Goshgarian (1983)189 Cal.

Rptr. 94.

Goatman v Fuller 191 216

P 326

C 245,

29

194,29

30

20

22

190,17

21

22

27

189,15

26

189,16

14,16

19

Guerra v Packard 236 CA2d 2/72,

46,Cal.Rptr.25.

Hale v George A. Hamel & Co.(1975)

121 Cal.Rptr. 144, 48 CA3d 73.

Hass v. Central Union H.S. Dist.

27 Cal.App.2d 319, 322, 80 P2d

1044.

Haun v Hyman (1963) 223 Cal.App.

2a 6201 36 Cal.Rptr. 84.

Height v Minor 113 Cal. 385, 391,

45 P 700.

H. Russell Taylor's Fire Preven-

tion Service Inc. v. Coca-Cola

Bottling Corp. (1979) 99 Cal.App.

3€ 7ii.

In Re. Mc Ginn's Estate (1889)

3 Cof.26.

In Re. Blanc's Estate (1892)

3 Cet. 7ks

In Re. Howell 114 Cal. 250,254,

46 P 159.

Jamison v City of Oxnard (1982)

134, Cal.App.3d, 856,858-859

Cal.Rptr, 864.

Johnson v Farmer 41 CA2d 874,

107 P2a 959, 108 P2d 945.

Jose v Pacific Tile & Porcelain

Co. (1967) 58 Cal.Rptr. 881.

Joseph v Ager 108 Cal.517, 520-

521, 41 P 422.

Kane v Cook 8 Cal. 449.

-xi-

17,19,

23

195, 29

192,22

194,29

22

20

20

24

30

19

18

190,16

27

Keck v Wingert (1933) 132 CA 21

475, 23 P2d 99.

Kittner v Shippy (1908) 96 P 192,18

912,8 CA 342.

Kodota Fig. Assn. of Prod. v. 192,18

Case-Swaune Co. (1946) 167 P2d

518, 73 CA2d 796.

Kosich v Braz (1967) 56 Cal.Rptr. 14

54 (4,5)

Kreiger v Pacific Gas (1981) 191,17

119, Cal. App.3d 145, 755-756.

Kuttler Estate (1960) 185 CA2d 20

189, 8 Cal.Rptr.16.

Kytasty v Godwin (1980) 162 Cal. 190,188,

Rptr. 561, (4-5)102 Cal.App.3d 15,16

rir

L.A. fire & Police Protection 27

League v City of L.A. (1972)

23 CA3d 67,74.

L.A. v Howard 244 CA2d 538,53 Cal. 192,17

Rptr.274

Lampman v Milks 21 N.Y.505 at 507. 15

Langazo v San Joaquin Light & 192,17

Power 32 CA2d 678, 9 P2d 825.

.Laverone v Weakly 155, C.395, 19

"101 P 304.

Lawrence v Montgomery,37 Cal. 14

183,188.

Leasman v Beech Aircraft Corp. 23

(1975) 48 Cal.App. 3d 376, 382,

121 Cal.Rptr. 758.

-xii-

Lee v Sm. Cl.Ct. 34 Cal.App.2d

1,5,(92)

Leonard v Haydon (1980) 110,Cal.

App.3d 263; 167 Cal.Rptr.789.

Lillian F. V. Superior Court

(Kretz) (App.1l Dist, 1984)

206 Cal.Rptr. 603, 160 CA3d

314.

Lord v Morris (1861) 18 Cal.

482, 491.

Luellen v City of Aberdeen

20 Wn2d 594, 148 P2d 819,855.

Mc Auley v Broackway Tahoe Vista

Corp. (1930) 293,P 626, 110 CA 88.

Mc Donald v Mc Elroy (1882)

4 Kent's Com. 473 P. 489.

Mesmer v Uharriet (1916) 174 Cal.

110, 162 104.

Montijo v Robert Sherer & Co.

(1907) 92 P 512, 6 CA 558.

Moore v Miller (cc 1890)

43 F 347.

Morrison v Wilholt (1944) 145 P2d

707, 62 CA2d 830.

Navarro v Pulley 66 CA2d 827,

153 P2d 397.

Nestle v. City of Santa Monica

Sup. 101 Cal.Rptr. 568, 6 Cal.3d

929, 573

Newhart v Pierce (1967) 62 Cal.

Rptr. 554.

-xiii-

16

21

18

193,26

14

15

21

27

192,18

189,15

25

20

Ng. v Hudson (1977) 142 Cal.Rptr.

554.

Northern Ry Co. v Jordon 87 C.

Souatoe PF Sess

Ord v. Ord (1893) 99 C. 523,

34 P 83.

Orr v Kirk (1950) 100 Cal.App.

2d 678, 681, 224 P2d 71(4).

People v. Adamson (1946) 165,P2d

3, 27, C2dad 478, affirmed 67 S.Ct.

1672, 332, U.S. 46, 92 L.80. i903,

L71,A.L.R. 1223.

People v Agnew (1947) 176 P2d

724, 77 CA2d 748.

People v Byrd (1948) 198 P2d

561, 88 CA2d 188.

People v Downs (1953) 251 P2d

369, 1214,CA2d 758.

People v Fink 118 Cal App

631,634,5 P2d 641.

People v Godines 17 Cal.App.

2d 721, 724, 62 P2d 787.

People v.Goldstein (1956) 293,

P2d 495, 139 CA2d 146.

People v. Malbrough (1961) 10

Cal.Rptr. 632m 359, P2d 30,

55 C2d 249.

People v.Nelson 36 Cal.App.

2d 515, 97 P2d 1043.

-xiv-

19

18

188,189

14,15,

16

21

r

26

23

24

24

21

21

24

People v Paustau 39 Cal. App.

2d 407,413, 103 P2d 224.

People v.Phillips, 56 Cal.App.

291,296,205 P 40.

People v. Robles 117 Cal.681,

684, 49 P 1042.

People v Shuey 13 Cal/.3d 835,

841, 120 Cal.Rptr. 83,85, 533

P2d 211.

People v Stevens (1959) 345 P2d

582,175 CA2d 123.

Piazza v Schafer 255, CA2d 328,

63 Cal. Rptr. 246

Pollard v Rebman 162 Cal.633,

634,635, 124 P 235.

Richman v Bank of Perris (1930)

282,P 801, 102 CA 7l.

Richmond v Dart Ind. Inc. (1987)

196 Cal.App.3d 869,879, 242 Cal.

Rptr. 184.

Rigby v Sup. Ct. 94 C 354,

29 P 716.

Rivaid v Board of Pension Com.

(1985) 164 Cal.App. 3d 405,414,

210 Cal.Rptr,509.

Rosebrook v Utz 45 CA2d 729 (1941)-

Alameda County.

Roth v Cottrell 112 CA2d 621,

246 P2d 958 (1952).

Samuelson v Ingram (1969) 272,

24

24

24

30

16

189,15

)

18

195,29

22

195,29

CA2d 804,806.

Scholle v Finnell (1914) 167,

c 90, i138 P 746.

So. Pac. Land Co. v Dickerson

(1922) 188 C 113, 116, 204 P 576.

Space Properties Inc v.Tool

Research Co. (1962) 22 Cal.Rptr.

166, 203,CA2d 819.

Stafford v Ballinger (1962) 18

Cal. Rptr.568, 199 Ca2d 289.

Taylor v Brunnell (1926) 77 CA

525,247 P 240.

Tarr v Watkins 4 Cal. Rptr. 203,

Thelander v sup. Ct. (1962) 58,

Cal.2d 811, 813,fn3, 26 Cal.Rptr.

643,376, P2d Sil.

(interpreting CCP 1054)

Thompson v Thompson (1936) 7 C 2d

671,681,62 P2d 358.

Vagel v. Vagel 45 C2d 804;

291 P2d 25.

Valintine v Kaiser Hosp. (1961)

15 Cal.Rptr. 26.

Wallace v Whitmore 47 CA2d 369,

117. Pada 329

Warfield v Basich 161 CA2d 493,

326 P2d 942.

Warren v Mould (1883) 2 C.U.

G3 22 Cac 2626 2k Pili hoe

Weber v Weber 33 C2d 153, 199

-xXvVvi-

18

26

192,18

31

18

191,17

27

26

194,29

28

17

14

19

25

P2d 934.

Weightman v Hadley (1956) 138,

CA2d, 831,292 P2d 909.

Whalen v Ruiz (1953) 40 Cal.2d

294, 300,253,P2d 457.

White v Walsh (1951) 105, Cal.App.

2d 828, 234 P2d 276.

Wicktor v County of L.A. 177,CA2d.

390; 2 Cal.rptr. 352.

Wiggans v Mc Donald(1861) 18 C126.

Wilson v Abrams 1 CA 3d 1030,

82 Cal. Rptr.2/2.

Wolfson v Beatty (1953) 257 Pdd

1017,118 CA2d 3920.

Powell on Real Property, Abridged

Ed. Powell & Ruban 545.

Miller v Starr,Current Law of

Cal. Real Estate.

3 Witkin Summary of Cal.Law

(8th Ed. 1973) Real Property

#355 p. 2052.

Ballentine Law Dictionary 650-652.

Words and Phrases Perm. Ed. 437.

28.Cal.Jur,3d.P 53,3 By

Implication (7)

54;12 Misconduct of Judge (6)

Parties to Civil Actions 4,

Powers and Duties of Court.

-xXV1l1-

194,29

eh?

191,17

194,29

18

189,16

30

14

16

188,14

193,26

193,26

188,14

2

25

Trial by Jury pg 502 #607 (a): 28

Proposed Jury Instructions:

(Added by Stats 1933, c. 744,

p.1874 #101; Stats 1951, c 1737,

p.4115,#89, operative Jan.1,1952;

Stats 1957,c 1698,p. 3073 #1)

Appeal and Error 1122(2) 30

Pretrial Procedure #45 24

Superior Court Rule 5. 22

Superior Court Rule 229(c) 27

Superior Court Rule 230. 28

6 Trial #255(2) 28

9 Trial #220 28

2 Cal. Jur.3d 107. 17

19 Cal. Jur. 917 15

28 C.J.S. 686 #30. 15,188

1 Easements 15 16

Deceit,within Section 1710(1) 23

Section 3294 23

Stats 1965,C 29 #411. 20

Stats 1933, C 744 P 1874 #101. 28

Stats 1951 C 1737 P 4115, #89. 28

(Operative Jan. 1, 1952)

Stats 1957 C 16 98 P 3073 #1 28

-xXVlii-

Best Evidence Rule #1.

6 Evidence 97, 596 (3)

Evidence Code 200, Note 1,3.

Evidence Code #597

West's Ann. Evid. Code #930,

Evidence Code 1500.

Evidence Code 1500(12)

Civil Code Section 1104

CCP 3; Fraudulant Concealment

CcP 133, (enacted 1872)

ccP 318

ccp 320,As amended, eff.

April 1, 1962; July 1, 1988.

ccP 338(2)

CCP 367

CCP 389

ccP 437(c)

West's Ann.CCP 607 (a)

ccp 608, Note 7.

ccP 909

ccp 909 #77

ccp 909 #83

CCP 1856(a)

-x1xX-

193,23

193,26

192,18

25

14

16,28

28

20

30

30

18

CCP 3527 14,27

CCP 3530 14

Penal Code 118, 118(a) 24

Penal Code 1246 22

Penal Code 1467 22

Criminal Law #1180 30

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend, 5. 25

List of Stautory Provisions Conferr-

ing Jurisdiction on U.S.Supreme Court

Alaska-Kenail v Kenai 590 P2d 437

Albelleira V. District Ct. of Appeals

(1941) 17 Cal.2d 280,291, 109 P2d 942.

Auto Equity Sales Inc. Vv Sup. Ct.

(1962),57 Cal.2d 45 454, 456, 620

Cal.Rptr. 321, 369 P2d 937.

Briston v. Cheatham 255 pP2a 173, 79

Ariz,24/ +

Byars v U.S. lowa 47 Sup.Ct. 248.

273,U.S. 28, 71 L.Ed. 520.

Davis v. Wakelee, Sup. Ct. of U.S,

39 L.Ed. pg 585.

Dickoff v Dewell 9 So.2d. 804, 152

Fla. 240.

Eggemeyer v. Eggemeyer 554 S.W.2d.

Equitable Sav. & Loan Ass'n v. Sup.

Ct. L.A. County.

Exparte Mitchell 1 De Gex B.Cas 25/7.

Ex Parte Rhodes 79 So.462,202 Ala.68,

1 Ala. 68, 1 A.L.R. 568.

Goldring vy Schubach Optical 70

P2a 87lm 93 Utah 32.

Gr. West. Power CO. Ve

Pilsbury (19

170 Cal. 180, 185,186, 3

1

191, 149 P 35.

Haggar Co. V.- United States (1955)128

F.Supp 404-406,

5 )

12

ll

12

_————EEEEi,”!_.a.a.—nNISE=-=-

Hawaii v Mankichi (1902) 190 U.S.

197, 213, 23 Sup.Ct. 787,47 L.Ed 1016.

Hayward v Duff 12 C.B.N.S. 364

Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v Hartford-

Empire Co 322 US 238, 88 L.Ed.

1250, 64 S Ct.997

Heydenfeldt v Daney Gold etc.Co.

93 U.S 634, 638, 23 L. Ed. 995.

In Re. Baldinger D.C. Cal. 356 F Supp.

133.

Laverty v Cochran (1937) 271 NW 354,

Lee v State of Fla.1968, 88 S.Ct.

Lovisi v Slayton D.C. Va 363 F.Sup.620

affirmed 539 F2d 349 certiorari denied

97 S Ct. 485,429 US 977, 50 L.Ed.2d 585.

Meeker v Meeker 1967 (243 A2d 801.

Merchant's Nat.Bank v U.S. 214 F.

(1914).

Mitchell v Sup. Ct.(1972) 28 Cal.

3d 759, 762, 104 Cal.Rptr. 921.

Newland v Child 254 P2d 1066

Ohio & M.R.Co.v. Mc Carthy,96 U.S.

258 (24;693).

People v Bagdanoff 171 NE 890, 254

NY 16, 69 A.L.R. 1378.

People v Humphreys 187 NE 446, 353

Tii. 340.

People v Utica Ins. Co. 15 Johns ,

358,381, 8 Am.Dec.243.

-xxili-

12

5,6

2

-

7

12

Petition of Devlas 31 F.D.R. 130 (1962)

Philadelphia, W. & B. R.CO. V »

Howard 54 U.S. 13 How. 307 (14:157)

Root Refining Co. v Universal Oil

Products Co. 169 F.2d 514.

Seaboard Sys.RR Inc v Clemente 467 So.

2a 348 (Fla.App.3 Dist.(1985)

Smith v Keator 206 S.E.2d 203, 285

N.C. 530 appeal dismissed 95 S.ct.613,

419 U.S. 1043, 42 L.Ed.2d 636.

Smith v U.S. CA Tex. 502 F2d 512.

State v Vouse 264 P2d. 800. 805,

199 Or. 676.

Stimson Mill Co. v. Braun, 136 Cal.

122, 68 P.481,57 L.R.A.726, 89 Am.

St.Rep. 116.

Sutter v. Easterly 189 S.W.2d 284.

Universal Oil Products Co. v Root

Ref .Co.;328 US 575-581.

U.S. Citizens-Sep. of Church & State

v. City of Denver D.C. Colo. 481 F.

Supp. 522.

2,Const. Law #67.

1.Const. Law #87.

5S. Const. Law # 86,87.

Const. Law C. Judicial Powers and

Functions #169.

6 Const. Law # 278(1).

-xxili-

2

ll

aera nee Se ae

#446 C.J.S. Const. Law 459,12. 4

#448 Const. Law 16 A C.J,S.462. 5

#450 Const. Law 16A C.J.S.463. 3

505 Const. Law 16 A C.J.S. 9

604-605, 608,609.

Const. Law #506, 16A C.J.S. 10

608-609 & 610-611.

#1429 Const. Law 16D C.J.S. 687. 8

Const. Law Section 1 of art. 3. 8

Const. art.l ## 1, 13; I.C. #56-224a. 9

Const. art 2 #1; art 5 #1. 3

U.8.C.A. AEt.8 Ci.2. 7

1. United States 120. 7

Fed. Rules Civ. Pro. 60(b) 28 USCA 4. 2

American Law Institute, Restatement of 8

the Law, Judgments 2d,#70, Ch.5, P.180.

2 Appeal & Error 170(2). 3

10.Attorney and Client #42. 7

Corpus Juris Secundum 16, 538-542. 4

8. Equity #65(1). 7

3.Judgment #443(2). 10

4.Judgment #444. 10

Rule 60 (b). 13

6 Statutes #188. 5

-xXxX1V-

United States #120.

116A C.J.S.

16A C.J.S.

Cal«i.R. 553-554.

-XxXV-

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

January Term 1992

in £e@.%

Patricia Rose Rabida, Petitioner

Vv.

Joseph B. Van Orden, Jay Van Orden,

Stoye Milburn, Charles Mc Gowan III,

Kent Wardell, Alfred O. Knapp, and

Russell J. Knapp et al].,Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

CALIFORNIA STATE COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FIFTH DISTRICT

l(a) The State Supreme Court denied Peti-

tion for Review on Nov. 20, 1991.

l(e) Jurisdiction of U.S. Supreme Court

is invoked pursuant to Title 28 USC

8 aS7ss

State Court has taken title to real pro-

perty rights from one party and given it

eo

to the six other parties without Due Pro

cess. Judgment obtained by fraud,duress,

and misconduct on part of officers of the

court, and of the court itself.

Petitioner, Patricia Rabida, respect-

fully prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the Sept. 5, 1991 Opinion

of the 5th District Appellate Court appear-

ing in Appendix A herein.

Denial of rehearing was filed Sept 27,1991.

(iv) STATUTORY PROVISIONS BELIEVED TO

CONFER ON THIS COURT JURISDICTION

TO REVIEW JUDGMENT

Fed. Rules Civ. Pro.Rule 60(b) 28 USCA 4.

Rule permitting party to file motion to

be relieved from a final judgment for

fraud, misrepresentation, or other miscon-

duct of adverse party is intended as re-

lief from injustice of allowing a fraudu-

lant party to hide behind the protective

shield of doctrine of res judicata.

(In Petition of Devlas 31 F.D.R.130 (1962)

In Laverty v Cochran (1937) 271 NW 354,

2,Constitutional Law #67: "Judicial Power"

within constitutional provisions for sep-

aration of governmental departments and

vesting judicial power in courts, is au-

thority to hear and determine controver-

sies as to rights and render judgments

binding on disputants on such determina-

tions. (Const. art 2 #1; art 5S #1)

#448 Constitutional Law 16 A C.J,S. pg.

462: “A Court may not engage in any acti-

vity which deprives a party before it of

his constitutional rights. (U.S. in Re.

Baldinger D.C. Cal. 356 F Supp. 153)

"Constitutional Rights cannot be made de-

pendent on favor of the court, but may be

asserted as a matter of right."

(People v Humphreys 187 NE 446, 353 Ill.

340; People v Bagdanoff 171 NE 890, 254

NY 16, 69 A.L.R. 1378; State v Vouse 264

p2d. 800. 805, 199 Or. 676.)

"---and in matter of safeguarding these

constitutional rights the court looks

to substance, rather than to technical

forms of procedure taken to invoke the

protection of the law." (Dickoff v Dewell

9 So.2d. 804, 152 Fla. 240; Smith v U.S.

CA Tex. 502 F2d 512; Kenai v Kenai 590

P2da 437)

2 Appeal & Error 170(2) “Supreme Court

will hear constitutional questions not

raised below where consideration of such

question is central to a correct resolu-

tion of the controversy and justice re-

quires consideration of the question."

(Meeker v Meeker 1967;243 A2d 801)

#450 Constitutional Law 16A C.J.S. Pg. 463:

“The denial or violation of a constitu-

tional right is not justified--because

the degree of such invasion is minor."

(U.S. Citizens-Sep. of Church & State v.

City of Denver D.C. Colo. 481 F.Supp. 522)

Constitutional Law C. Judicial Powers

and Functions #169:"The primary responsi-

bility of an oderly administration of jus-

tice and the protection and enforcement of

-3-

iii

constitutional rights rests ultimatly with

the courts and they cannot disclaim the

power to do what is neccessary to accom-

plish these ends.---The judicial function

of declaring what the law is requires that

constitutional provisions ,including the

Bill of Rights, be given full force and

effect." (Briston v. Cheatham 255 P2d 173,

75 Ariz,227; Corpus Juris Secundum 16,

538-542)

#446 C.J.S. Constitutional Law pg. 459:

"The Bill of Rights guarantees the pre-

servation of our natural rights against

invasion of the government or any branch

thereof."

Ex Parte Rhodes 79 So.462,202 Ala.68,

1 Ala. 68, 1 A.L.R. 568 is informative

on the holdings of the Bill of Rights. J.

Mayfield's Opinion held:“These phrases

(Due Process) are limitations upon the

power of the legislature as well as upon

that of the other departments of govern-

ment, and their officers,"(emphasis add-

ed) J. Manfield quotes the Bill of Rights

as:"Sec. 35. that the sole object and

only ligitimate end of government is to

protect citizen in the enjoyment of life,

liberty,and property, and when the govern-

ment assumes other functions it is usurpa-

tion and oppression."

"The constitutions, state and federal,,

in several provisions or clauses not only

declare but guarantee that no citizen

shall be deprived of his life liberty, or

property except by Due Process of Law."

"It was within the contemplation of

the makers of the Constitution that the

legislature should be the judge of what

is due process of law, and that due pro-

cess of law is secured by the laws, opera-

ting upon all alike, and not subjecting

-4_

individuals to the arbitrary exercise of

the powers of the government."

“The Order of the Court of appeals, based

upon an investigation in which the funda-

mental rules of evidence were, at the

court's direction, wholly disregarded,

deprived the petitioner of its property

without Due Process of law." (Universal

Oil Products Co. v Root Ref.co.;328 US

575-581)

"The inherent power of a federal court to

investigate whether a judgment was obtain-

ed by fraud, is beyond guestion."

(Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. Vv Hartford-Empire

Co 322 US 238, 88L ed 1250, 64 S Ct.997

quoted in Uni. Oil Products Co. v Root

Ref. Co. 328 US 575-581)

In Re. Baldinger 356 F.Supp. 153. (1973)

Opinion held:10."A Court may not engage

in any action which deprives a party of

his constitutional rights. 6. Statutes

#188:

“when a statute uses plain understandable

words, the court cannot legislate but must

interpret words as they read without modi-

fication."

"The Constitution of the United States is

an original, written, Federal, and social

compact, freely and voluntarily entered in-

to by the several states and ratified by

the people, and the Federal Government is

bound by that constitution to every eciti-

zen of the United States."

Chief Justice Brown in an appeal from the

District Court of the U.S. held: "Nothing

is better settled than that statutes

should receive a sensible construction

such as will effectuate the legislative

intention, and, if possible, so as to

avoid an unjust and absurd conclusion"

-5.

EE

(Hawaii v Menkichi 47 L.Ed. 1021 (1902)

In Re. Baldinger 356 F.Supp. 153 (1973

"It has been held on more than one occa-

sion by the Supreme Court that if a lite-

ral interpretation of any part of a sta-

tute would operate unjustly, or lead to

absurd results, or be contrary to evident

meaning of the act taken as a whole. it

should be neglected. Heydenfeldt v Daney

Gold etc.Co. 93 U.S. 634, 638, 23 L.Ed.

995; Hawaii v Mankichi 190 U.S. 197, 213,

23 Sup.Ct. 787, 47 L.Ed 1016. such undoubt-

ly is the rule, and we should unhesitat-

ingly follow it in any case to which it

applied.".(Merchant's Nat.Bank v U.S. 214

F. 204 (1914))

"All laws should receive a sensible con-

struction. General terms should be so li-

mited in their application as not to lead

to injustice, oppression, or an absurd con-

sequence. “"--,- _

"“---the books are full of authorities to

the effect that the intention of the law-

making power will prevail, even against

the letter of the statute;---The intention

of the lawmaker is the law---Mr. Chief

Justice Thompson--in People v Utica Ins.

Co. 15 Johns 358, 381, 8 Am.Dec.243:"A

thing which is within the intention of the

makers of a statute is as much within the

statute as if it were within the letter;

and a thing which is within the letter of

the statute is not within the statute, un-

less it be within the intention of the ma-

kers." (Hawaii v Mankichi (1902) 190 U.S.

197,213,23 Sup. Ct. 787, 47 L.EB4. 1016)

Constitutional Law #169 C.J.S. 16,543:

"The Courts are duty bound to apply not on-

ly what the Constitution expressly states,

but also what by neccessary implication

-6§-

from the values on which it is based, the

Constitution implies; in doing so, the

courts must recognize their duty to apply

the law free of emotion and of predilec-

tion." (Lovisi v Slayton D.C. Va 363 F.

Sup.620 affirmed 539 F2d 349 certiorari

denied 97 S Ct. 485,429 US 977, 50 L.Ed. 2d

585)

Seaboard Sys.RR Inc v Clemente 467 So.2d

348 (Fla.App.3 Dist.(1985) 6 Statutes #190:

"Where language of a statute clearly and

unambiguously conveys legislative intent,

it is unnecessary to resort to statutory

construction, and courts should not depart

from the plain language employed by legis-

lature."

U.S.C.A. Art.6 cl.2:"No court, state or

federal, may serve as an accomplice in the

willfull transgression of federal laws by

which judges of every state are bound,

(Lee v State of Fla.1968, 88 S.Ct. 2096)

1. United States #120: “If a Plaintiff

practices a fraud in prosecution or proof

of his case in court of claims, he forfeits

his claim no matter how meritorious his

claim might otherwise have been, or how

supererogatory may have been his attempted

fraud." (Haggar Co. v. The United States

(1955)128 F.Supp. 404)

8. Equity #65(1); "He who comes into equi-

ty must come with clean hands and keep

them clean throughout the course of Liti-

gation,and if he violates the rule he must

be denied all relief, whatever may have

been the merits of his claim."

10.Attorney and client #42: "An attorney

who attempts by personal influence to con-

trol a judge or jury in their decision in

pending case or who merely nolds himself

-j-

I neeeeieeasenesmmeiell

out as able to do so whether or not he ac-

tually makes the attempt and whether or

not he succeeds or fails in attempt, is

ejected from the courts and ceases to exist

as a lawyer." (Root Refining Co. v Univer-

sal Oil Products Co. 169 F.2d 514)

American Law Institute, Restatement of the

Law, Judgments 2d,#70, Ch.5, pg.180: "---

it is equally inappropriate that all judg-

ments be treated as absolutely invioble.

Particularly is this true when a judgment

has been procured by the fraud of the suc-

cessfull party. To immunize such a judg-

ment from attack is to compound the injus-

tice of its result on the merits with the

injustice of the means by which it was

reached. Equally important, if judgments

were wholly immune it would give powerful

incentive to use of fraudulant tactics in

obtaining a judgment. A litigant would

know that if he could sustain duress or

deception through the moment of finality,

the benefit of the judgment would be his

forever." (emphasis added)

Bribery or duress:"When a judgment is

shown to have been procured by the pre-

vailing party through corruption of the

tribunal, or of the attorney for the party

against whom the judgment was rendered,

no werthwhile interest is served in pro-

tecting the judgment."

Constitutional Law Section 1 of article 3

provides:"The judges, both supreme and in-

ferior courts shall hold their offices dur-

ing good behavior."

#1429 “Constitutional Law 16D C.J.S.687:

The constitutional guaranty providing for

open courts and insuring remedies for in-

juries gives a remedy for arbitrary

and unreasonable exercise of power."

of.

——OC~ —

1.Constitutional Law #87; Protection

of one's right to own property is one of

the most important purposes of the govern-

ment; right has been described as fundamen-

tal, natural, inherent, inalienable, not

derived from legislature and as preexist-

ing even constitutions.(16 A C.J.S. #506

guoted in Eggemeyer Vv. Eggemeyer 554 S.W.

2a 137; 5 Constitutional Law #87)

6 Constitutional Law # 278(1) Court held:

"Constitutional guarantee of Due Course

that protects citizens from deprivation

of their property by state requires not

only procedural but also substantive due

course," (Eggemeyer v Eggemeyer (Id))

The right to private property "is a common

law right, which existed before the adop-

tion of the federal and state constitu-

tions and is not now dependent on them

for it's existence---However, to insure

their continuance, property interests are

guaranteed by the federal and by various

state constitutions." (16A C.J.S. #506)

Newland v Child 254 P2d 1066; “The right

to own and enjoy private property is fun-

damental, and is one of the natural, inhne-

rent and inalienable rights of free men,

which preexisted constitutions,” (Const.

art.l1 ## 1, 13; I.C. #56-224a.)

505 constitutional Law 16 AC.J.S. 604-605:

"The right to the pursuit of happiness is

one of the inherent, natural, inalienable

rights applicable to all citizens and as

one of the purposes for which government

is organized, is protected by it*s incor-

poration into the various constitutions.~~

The pursuit of happiness embraces the idea

of the aquisition and use of private pro-

perty.” (Goldring v Schubach Optical 70

P2d 871m 93 Utah 32)

-9-

EE

_————————————eE

5. Constitutional Law # 86,87: "Constitu-

tional guaranty of right to pursue and ob-

tain happiness and safety and property is

violated when one is not at liberty to con-

tract with others respecting the use to

which he may subject his property, or the

manner in which he may enjoy it" (Const.

art 1,#1)" (Stimson Mill Co. v. Braun, 136

Cal. 122, 68 P.481,57 L.R.A.726, 89 Am.St.

Rep. 116 quoted in Goldring v Schubach

Optical (Id))

Constitutional Law #506, 16A C.J.S. 608-609:

“Under constitutional provisions, no person

can be deprived of his property except by

his own consent, or the law of the land,

or except for very urgent reasons." (Smith

v Keator 206 S.E.2d 203, 285 N.C. 530

appeal dismissed 95 S.Ct.613,419 U.S. 1043,

42 L.Ed.2d 636)

Constitutional Law #506, 16A C.J.S. 610-

6ll:"The guarantee embraces the right to

acquire, possess, use, enjoy, protect, im-

prove, as by the erection and construction

of building, lease, and dispose of, or not

dispose of, property." (Equitable Sav. &

Loan Ass'n v. Sup. Ct. L.A. County.)

3.Judgment #443(2) "Conduct of chief attor-

ney for plaintiff, in action for injuries

Sustained in automobile collision in cons-

piring with ostensibly disinterested wit-

ness who did in fact not see the accident

to give false testimony as to cause of

collision and in using such testimony to

obtain verdict for plaintiff, amounted to

a fraud on the court for which equity

should grant relief by setting aside judg-

ment entered on such verdict,

Sutter v. Easterly 189 S.W.2d 284.

4.Judgment #444 “Where an attorney cons-

pires to commit a fraud upon the court by

-10-

production of fabricated evidence and by

such means obtains judgment, enforcement

of the judgment becomes manifestly uncon-

cionable and equity may set it aside."

Sutter v. Easterly 189 S.W.2d 284.

"---wWhen a party asserts what he knows

to be false, or does not know tc be true,

to another's loss, and to his own gain,

is guilty of a fraud; a fraud in fact,,

if he knows it to be false,a fraud in law,

if he does not know it to be true....We

are clearly of the opinion, that the de-

fendant cannot be heard to say, that what

was asserted at a former trial was false,

even if the assertion was made by mistake,

If it was a mistake, of which there is no

evidence, it was one made by the defendant,

of which he took the benefit, and the pl-

aintiff the loss, and it is too late to

correct it."(Philadelphia, W & B. R.Co. Vv

Howard 54 U.S. 13 How. 307 (14:157) quoted

in Davis v. Wakelee, Supreme Court of U.S.,

39 L.Ed. pg 585)

"Tt may be laid down as a proposition that,

where a party assumes a certain position,

in a legal proceeding, and succeeds in

maintaining that position, he may not

thereafter, simply because his interests

have changed, assume a contrary position,

especially if it be to the prejudice of

the party who has acquiesced in the posi-

tion formerly taken by him." (Davis v.

Wakelee U.S.Supreme Court 39 L. Ed. 584)

"Where a party gives a reason for his con-

duct, and decision touching anything in-

volved in the controversy, he cannot, af-

ter the litigation has begun change his

ground, and put his conduct upon another

and different consideration. He is not per-

mitted thus to mend his hold." (Ohio & M.R.

Co.v. Mc Carthy,96 U.S. 258 (24;693 quoted

-ll-

in Davis v. Wakelee (Id); see also Hayward

v Duff 12 C.B.N.S. 364 & Exparte Mitchell

1 De Gex B.Cas 257)

Constitutional Law #448; 16 A.C.J.S. .461:

"The Courts must ever be watchful to pro-

tect the personal rights guaranteed by

state and Federal Constitutions. (Byars

v U.S. Iowa 47 S.Ct. 248. 273,U.S. 28,

71 L.Ed. 520)

U.S. Byars v. USA (Id). Constitutional

law construction-protection of rights (5);

"Constitutional provisions for security of

persons and property are to be liberally

construed, and it is the duty of courts

to be watchful for the constitutional

rights of the citizen and against any

stealthy encroachment thereon."

Failure to Follow Statutory Procedure:

“When a statute authorizes a prescribed

procedure and a court acts contrary to

this authority, it has exceeded it's

jurisdiction and a Writ of Review will

lie to correct the excess," (Mitchell v

Sup. Ct.(1972) 28 Cal. App.3d 759, 762,

104 Cal.Rptr. 921)

Non-Existence of Jurisdictional Facts:

“When an inferior tribunal has power to

act on certain facts, and there is no evi-

dence whatever to show the existence of

those jurisdictional facts, the Court will

annul the decision or judgment below."

(Great Western Power Co. v. Pilsbury

(1915) 170 Cal.180,185,186,191,149 P 35)

“Any acts that exceed the power of a court,

whether that power be defined by the con-

stitutional provision, express statutory

declaration, or rules developed by the

courts and followed under the doctrine of

Stare Decisis, are in excess of jurisdic-

o} 2=

tion." (Albelleira V. District Court of

Appeals (1941) 17 Cal.2d 280,291,109 P2d

942)

Refusal to Follow Stire Decisis:" The

scope of review for lack or excess of jur-

isdiction was greatly expanded in the lead-

ing case of Auto Equity Sales Inc. v Sup.

ct. (1962),57 Cal.2d 450,454,456,620 Cal.

Rptr. 321,369 P2a 937 in which the court

issuing a Writ of Review, held that appel-

late department of Sup. Ct. exceeded it's

jurisdiction by failure to follow a clear,

binding precedent, laid down by a higher

court. The court stated that the rule of

stare decisis is a rule of jurisdiction

for the purposes of a writ of review,

Fraud by officers of the court, or by the

court itself, has long been recognized as

a ground for relief."Rule 60 (b); 60 Cal.

L.R. 553-594.

~]3-

(f) STATUTES, CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

CODES ETC.INVOLVED IN CASE

"An easement may be created by implica-

tion, in favor of a grantor or a grantee,

and can be made only in connection with

a conveyance." (Orr v Kirk 100 CA2d 678,

224, P2d 71; Warfield v Basisch 161 CA2d

493, 326 P2d 942)

"Original unity of ownership of the domi-

nant and servient parcels must be pleaded

and proved. This prevents a finding of

such easement in the land of a third per-

son, who is a stranger to the claimant's

title." (Powell on Real Property, Abridged

Ed. Powell & Ruban, 545)

As pointed out in (Mc Donald v Mc Elroy

(1882) 4 Kent's Com. 473,p. 489) quoting

(Lawrence v Montgomery, 37 Cal.183, 188)

"The absence of a road is fatal to Plain-

tiff's action for right-of-way."

CCP 3530:"One of the maxims of Jurispru-

dence is; That which does not appear to

exist is to be regarded as if it did not

exist,"

"Triable issues of fact must be resolved

before it can be determined whether appel-

lant(s) had such an easement..."

(Franson ,Acting P.J.; George v Goshgarian

189 Cal. Rptr. 95 (1983)

(See also CCP 437(c))

28 Cal.Jur.3d P 53, 3 By Implication (7)

(See also 3 Witkin Summary of Cal. Law

(8th Ed. 1973)Real Property #355 p. 2052)

Kosich v Braz (1967) 56 Cal.Rptr.54 (4,5)

"It is true that a purchaser of real pro-

perty in fee takes the property subject

only to the servitude which he knows or

«Lge

should know. (Pollard v Rebman 162 Cal.

633, 634-635, 124 P 235; Amerco Inc. V

Tullar, 182 Cal. App.2d 336, 338, 6 Cal.

Rptr.6,9)

"A purchaser of land for value,takes sub-

ject only to interest in the land of which

he has actual notice or which appears on

the record. The rule applies to easements

as to claims of greater interest." (Mesmer

vy Uharriet (1916) 174 Cal. 110, 162 P 104)

(c.c.Sec. 1104 (19 Cor. Jur. 917) in

(Kytasty Vv Godwin (1980) 162 Cal Rptr.561

(4-5);102 Cal.App.3d 727)

Orr v Kirk(1950) 100 Cal. App.2d 678,

681,224 P2d 71 (4): (28 C.J.S. 686 #30)

(Fristoe v Drapeau 35, Cal.2da 5, 8,

215 p2d 729)

(Navarro v Pulley 66 CA 2a 827,153 P2d

397;Piazza v Schafer 255,CA2a 328,63 Cal.

Rptr. 246) (County of L.A. v Bartlett 203,

CA2a 523, 21 Cal.Rptr 776)

"The elements necessary to create a ‘quasi

easement' or grant by implication, upon

severance of unity of ownership in the

estate, are:

(1) a separation of title.(which implies

unity of ownership at some former time as

the foundation of the right....”

(Orr v Kirk (1950) 100 CA2d 678, 681)

Lampman v Milks 21 N.Y. 505 at 507:"...-

but the moment severance occurs, by the

sale of a part. the right of the owner

to redistribute properties of the res~

pective portions ceases; and easements

or servitudes are created corresponding

to the benefits and burdens existing at

the time of sale."(Rosebrook v Utz 45

CA2a 729 (1941) Alameda County)

~15-

(Wilson v Abrams 1 CA3d 1030, 82 Cal.Rptr.

272; Gagnon v Adamson 122 CA2d 678, 224

P2d 71) (See also; (Orr v Kirk(Id.) 71-73)

(Kytasty v Godwin (1980) 102 Cal.App.3d

72;162 Cal. Rptr.561-563)

(Joseph v Ager, 108 Cal.517. 520-521,41 P

422; Crimmins v Gould 149 Cal.App.2d 383,

390-392, 308 P2d 786).(Kytasty v

Godwin (1980)162 Cal.Rptr,562-563)

"The purpose of the doctrine of implied

easements is to give effect to the actual

intent of the parties as shown by all the

facts and circumstances ..Among these cir-

cumstances is the use which is being made

of the dominant tenement at that time."

(Orr v Kirk (1950) 100 CA2d 678, 681;

224 P2d 7)

"Upon the sale or division of title of

realty, an easement arises by implication

because of the owner's prior existing use

of his property was of such a nature that

the parties must have intended or believed

that the use would continue.."(Miller v

Starr, Current Law of Cal. Real Estate,

3 easements, 304-305; Leonard v Haydon

(1980) 110 Cal.App.3d 263; 167 Cal.Rptr.

789)

George v Goshgarian (1983) 189 Cal.Rptr,

94, 1 Easements 15:"Before the law will

recognize easements by implication, utili-

zation of easement must be apparent and

continuous at time dominant owner acquires

his land."(West Ann.Ca. Civ. Code. 1104)

"Specific intent may be proved by circum-

stantial evidence." (People v Stevens

(1959) 345 P2d 582, 175 CA2d 123)

“Where party relies on a pre-existing use

to establish an easement by implication,

-16-

—E.

the easement created is one consistent

with the manner and extent of such use as

of the time of the conveyance." (Laux v

Freed (1960) 53, Cal2da 512, 2 Cal.Rptr,.

265)

Felsenthal v Warring 40 Cal.App.119,

131, 180 P 67;(Tarr v Watkins 4 Cal.Rptr.-

203)

Kreiger v Pacific Gas, (1981)119,Cal.App34

145,755-756;Whalen v Ruiz (1953) 40 Cal.

2d,294,300,253, P2d 457;(Burris v People's

Ditch Co. (1894) 104 Cal. 248, 252,137 P

22; Brown v Radcliff (1913) 21,Cal.App.282,

131 P 769; White v Walsh (1951) 105 Cal.

App. 2d,828,234,P2d 276)

"A finding that a prescriptive easement is

14% wide instead of 14 feet 2 inches, as

alleged, will be modified to conform to

the allegation and to stipulated evidence."

(Wallace v Whitmore 47 CA2da 369, 117 P2d

926)

"When a decree is sought to the effect

that real property is subject to a use or

easement in favor of another, the portion

of property affected must be described in

the Pleadings with such certainty as to

enable the party against whom the claim is

made to know exactly what portion of his

property is claimed." (2 Cal.Jur. 3a 107)

(Guerra & Packard 236,CA2d 272, 46 Cal.

Rptr.25, 99.8: Langazo v San Joaguin Light

and Power Co. 32 CA2d,678, 90 P2d 825; L.A.

vy. Howard 244 CA2d 538, 53 Cal.Rptr. 274)

"When matters of action concern real pro-

perty, the cause of action follows the real

property itself, not the owner at the time

the cause arose, and the successor ia if~

terest inherits whatever cause of action

-l7-

existed at the time he takes title."

(Lord v Morris (1861) 18 Cal. 482, 491)

CCP 1856(a):"Terms set forth in writing

intended by the parties as a final expres-

sion of their agreement with respect to

such terms as are included therein may not

be contradicted by evidence of any prior

agreement or of a contemporaneous oral

agreement."

(Morrison v Wilhoit (1944) 145, P2d 707,

62 CA2d 830)

"One comming into equity has burden to

show his hands are clean."(Richman v Bank

of Perris (1930) 282 P 801, 102 CA 71)

"Action to enforce private rights must be

in name of real party in interest, except

as provided to contrary by statute."

(Wiggans v Mc Donald (1861) 18C 126)

CCP 367: 1(Space Properties Inc. v Tool

Research Co. (1962) 22 Cal. Rptr.166, 203

CA2d 819; Kodota Fig. Assn.of Prod. v

Case-Swaune Co. (1946) 167 P2d 518, 73 CA

2d 796; Kittner v. Shippy (1908) 96,P 912,

8 CA 342)

Jose v Pacific Tile & Porcelain Co. (1967)

58 Cal.Rptr. 881;6 Evidence 97, 596 (3):

"Burden of proof to vary terms of a writ

ten instrument is on party claiming con-

trary thereto and he must establish his

allegations by preponderance of evidence."

"Grantor's declarations after delivery of

deed are inadmissible to disparage it,

(Ord v Ord (1893) 99 C 523, 34 P83; Bol-

linger v Bollinger (1908) 154 C 695, 99 P

196; Scholle v Finnell (1914) 167 C90, 138

P 746; Taylor v Brunnell (1926) 77 CA 525,

247 P 240)

«38~

_ Ee

“Parties are bound by their own Pleadings

and cannot controvert their own averments."

(Bradbury v Cronise (1873) 46 C 287)

"A judgment must be in accord and warrant-

ed by the pleadings." (Northern Ry Co. v

Jordon 87 C 23, 25 P273)

"If there is to be any recovery, it must

be based on the cause of action set forth

in the complaint and not some other which

may be developed by the proofs." (Burke v

Levy 68 C 32, 8 P 527)

"Judgment establishing the validity of a

claim to an easement must be definite and

certain as to the property affected,"

(Laverone v Weakly 155, C.395, 101 P 304;

Guerra v Packard 236 CA2d 272, 46 Cal.

Rptr. 25)

“Property may be sufficiently described in

a judgment by reference to land marks,

material and artificial, whereby it may be

identified as well by U.S. Survey.

(De Supulveda v Baugh 74 C 468, 16 P 223)

"A judgment must be sufficiently clear and

definite that a party may comply with it's

requirements and that it may be enforced

and constitute estopel between the parties."

(Johnson v Farmer 41 CA2d 874,107 P2da 959,

108 P2d 945;Goatman v Fuller 191 C 245,

216 P 35)

"When a substantive fact upon which the

cause of action, as stated in the complaint,

is found against the plaintiff on suffi-

cient evidence, the defendant should have

the judgment." (Warren v Mould (1883)2 C.U.

63, 24 €.0. 163, i] ¥.€.i.3, 392)

"If the existing of an essential fact on

which the party relies is left to doubt and

=-19<

uncertainty, party on whom burden rests to

establish that fact should suffer, not his

adversary." (Kuttler Estate (1960) 185 CA2d

189. 8 Cal. Rptr.16; Brautigan v Brooks

(1964) 227, CA2d 547, 38 Cal.Rptr. 784)

"The defendant is entitled to directed

verdict where evidence upon an essential

element is lacking." (Atlantic Coast Line

R. Co. v Temple 285, US 143, 76 L.Ed. 670,

52 §.Ct 334)

"It is essential that findings are made on

every material issue raised by the Plead-

ings, including the issues raised upon af-

firmative defenses in the answer, A fail-

ure to do so constitutes reversible error."

(Auer v Frank (1964) 227 CA2d 396, 406)

“Findings must be on all material issues."

(Estate of Ramsey 107 Cal.App.2d 372, 375,

237 P2d 20, 22, 23 (1951))

"A finding cannot be based on guesses, sur-

mise or conjecture." (Newhart v Pierce

(1967) 62 Cal.Rptr. 554;Evidence Code #597)

CCP 909:"Findings based on Direct Evidence

are binding on reviewing court."

Direct Evidence proves a litigated fact

in a direct manner without the neccessity

of inferences or presumption."(In re Mc

Ginn's Estate (1889) 3 Cof 26; In re

Blanc's Estate (1892) 3 Cof. 71)

"Direct Evidence means evidence that di-

rectly proves a fact without inference or

presumption and which of itself, if true,

conclusively establishes the fact." Stats

1965 C29 #411.

"Direct Evidence is evidence which if ap-

plied to the fact to be proven, proves that

« Din

iN a i hi

fact immediately and directly, and without

the aid of interveening fact or process."

(People v Goldstein (1956) 293, P2da 495,

139 CA2d 146; People v Malbrough (1961)

10 Cal.Rptr. 632, 359,P2d 30, 55 C2a 249)

Evidence Code 1500(12) Title to land cannot

be established by Parol Evidence. (Montijo

Vv. Robert Sherer & Co. (1907) 92 P 512,6

CA 558)

"A letter is the best evidence of it's

contents"(First Nat. Bank of Potterville

v de Moulin (1922) 205 P 92, 56 CA 313)

"Best evidence of contents of a writing is

the writing itself." (Div. of Labor Law En-

force. v. Stand. Oil Products Co. (1955)

228 P2d 637, 136 CA2d Sup. 919)

Evidence Code 200, Note 1,3 _

"Oral testimony which rests on the memory

of witness is -not as trustworthy as writ-

ten or documentary evidence, and party

seeking to establish fact contrary to writ-

ten evidence must make out his case with

more than usual clearness." (Keck v.

Wingert (1933) 132 CA 475, 23 P2da 99)

"All evidence must be weighed according to

proof which one party had power to produce

and the other party the power to contra-

dict." (People v Adamson (1946) 165 P2d 3,

27, C2d 478, affirmed 67 S.ct.1672, 332,

U.S. 46, 91 L.Ed 1903, 171 A.L.R. 1223)

Evidence Code 200, Note 1,3:"Clear and

convincing evidence requires a finding of

high probability, such test requires that

the evidence be so clear as to leave no

substantial doubt." (Lillian F. v Superior

Court (Kretz) (App 1 Dist. 1984) 206

Cal.Rptr. 603, 160 CA3d 314)

= 2i«

Admissible Evidence:"The declarations must

be on the personal knowledge of the decla-

rant and affirmatively show that the de-

clarant is competent to testify to the mat-

ters stated." (Fisher v Cheseman (1968) 260

Cal.App.2d 503, 506,67 Cal.Rptr.258)

“Substantial evidence means evidence -which

is of ponderable legal significance--evi-

dence that is reasonable in nature. credi-

ble and of solid value." (H. Russell

Taylor's Fire Prevention Service Inc. v

Coca-Cola Bottling Corp. (1979) 99 Cal.

App 3d 711, 726)

Best Evidence Rule #1l:"Except as otherwise

provided by statute, no evidence other than

the original writting is admissible to

prove it's contents." (Evidence C 1500)

"Where the language of the statute confer-

ring the right is so plain and uniquivocal

that it's meaning, intent, and purpose are

in no particular manner rendered obscure

or doubtful. the courts will require sub-

stantial compliance." (Rigby v Sup.cCt.94 c

354, 29 P 716; Pen. Code 1246,;Pen Code

1467)

"The presumption is always against the

pleader and ail doubts are resolved again-

st him since it is presumed that he stated

his case as favorably as possible to him-

self." (Feldsman v Mc Govern (1941) 112

P2d 645, 44 CA2d 566) ce

Rule 5:"All exhibits either admitted in

evidence or rejected are deemed part of

the clerk's transcript."

(Haun v Hyman (1963) 223 Cal.App.2d 620,

36 Cal, Rptr. 84)(Cyrus v Haverson (1976)

65 Cal.App.3d 306, 316, 135 Cal.Rptr.)

(See also Samuelson v Ingram (1969) 272

nt Be

,

CA2d 804-806)

"For purposes of Section 3294, ‘malice’

has been defined as the motive and will-

ingness to vex, harrass, annoy or injure."

(Beck v State Farm Mut.Auto. Ins.Co.(1976)

54 Cal.App.3d 347,126 Cal.Rptr.602;

"The attempt to manufacture or suppress

evidence may always be proved against a

party as showing a conciousness of guilt.

(People v Downs (1953) 251 P2d 369, 1214

CA2d 758)

CCP 133 Enacted 1872.

Credibility of Witness:"Impeachment evi-

dence goes to the credibility of a witness

--" (D'Amico v- Board of Med. Examiners

(1974) 112 Cal.Rptr. 786; Leasman v Beech

Aircraft Corp. (1975) 48 Cal.App.3d 376,

382, 121 Cal.Rptr, 768)

"Deceit, within section 1710(1) The sugges-

tion, as a fact, of that which is not true

by one who does not believe it to be true,

Fraudulent representation reguires 'scien-

ter'. an intentional concious misrepresen-

tation,” (Hale v George A Hamel & Co.

(1975) 121 Cal.Rptr. 144, 48 CA3d 73)

"A positive misstatement of fact by one

in a position to know the truth is a

‘fraudulent misrepresentation'" (Eck v

Mc.Micheal (1960) 1 Cal.Rptr, 369, 176,

CA2d 368)

"A reckless statement in a judicial pro-

ceeding which is not known to be true is

‘perjury' if in truth such averment is

false."(People v Agnew (1947) 176 P2d 724,

77 CA2d 748)

"Where a defendant willfully swears in a

-23-

judicial proceeding to a belief that a

fact exists when at the same time he

knows that it does not exist, he is

guilty of perjury." (Id)

It is perjury for one to make a false

statement in a pleading filed in a judi-

cial proceeding." (Id);People v. Godines,

17 Cal.App.2d.721, 724, 62 P2d 787; People

v Fink 118 Cal.App. 631,634, 5 P2d 641)

Penal Code 118, 118(a):"An unqualified

statement of that which one does not know

to be true is equivalent to a statement of

that which one knows to be false." (People

v Nelson 36 Cal.App.2d 515,97 P2d 1043)

“If a person wilfully swears to a belief

in the existence of a fact which he knows

does not exist he is guilty of perjury as

if he had sworn directly to the existence

of a fact which he knew did not exist."

(People v Phillips, 56 Cal. App. 291,296,

205 P 40; In re Howell 114 Cal 250,254,

46 P 159; ,Cassidy v State 18 Okla. Cr.

568, 197 P 171, 172)

"It is not until the verified false state-

ment of the accused leaves the hands of

it's author that a wrong to another is com-

mitted and crime of perjury is complete."

(People v Robles 117 Cal. 681, 684, 49 P

1042)

"Any allegation is material if the evi-

dence what would establish the truth of

it could have properly influence the court

which tried the issues."

(People v Paustau 39 Cal. App. 2d 407,413,

103 P2d 224)

A&M Records, Inc. v Heilman (1977) App.

142 Cal..Rptr. 390 (11) Pretrial Pro-

cedure #45; “Accomplishment of purpose be-

=2@-

hind discovery Act of 1957, to take the

game element out of trial preparation and

do away with surprise at trial..."

U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 5; West's Ann.

Evid. Code #930)

In Nestle v City of Santa Monica Sup 101,

Cal.Rptr. 568,6,Cal.3d 929, 573:"...but

elimination of trial surprises is likely

to produce a more salutary result."

CCP 389: Parties to Civil Actions 4.

Powers and Duties of Court: “Court must

order bringing in of parties whose pre-

sence is necessary to complete determina-

tion of controversy. (Curtis v Nye &

Nissen (1927) 261 P. 747, 86 CA 507)

"It is a general rule that all neccessary

parties should be represented and that

party or parties whose acts are the sub-

ject of review should be before the court."

(Lee v Small Claims Court 34 Cal App.2d

1,5 (92) by J. Griffin.)

"The wide discretionary powers vested in

him are to be exercised so that abuses of

justice shall not be accomplished under

the forms of law.(Bruggerman v Illnois

CR 147 Iowa 187, 123 NW 1007, Ann.Cas.

1912 B 876)

94;12 Misconduct of Judge (6); "A judge

prejudging of an issue before receiving

any evidence by one party and so violating

the rule that a Judge should keep an open

mind until all the evidence is presented

to him."

(Weber v Weber 33 C2d 153, 199 P2d 934)

"Since judge's duties are of a judicial

nature, he should not act as counsel for

a party by raising objections which the

party should make." (Allegre v Maryland

=25-

a

Ins. Co. 6 Harr & J. (Md.) 408, 14, Am.

Dec. 289)

"Trial judge should be careful not to

throw the weight of his judicial position

into the case either for or against the de-

fendant." (People v Byrd (1948) 198 P2d

561, 88 CA2d 188)

"A directing of a verdict for the Plain-

tiff solely upon the evidence supporting

his theory of the case, while ignoring the

Supporting theory of the Defendant, is

error." (Clinchfield Coal Corp. v Compton

148 Va. 437, 139 SE 308,55, ALR 1976)

"On motion to direct a verdict for the

plaintiff, the inferences most favorable

to the defendant must be drawn."

(Citizens State Bank v Bowles 180, NY 346,

73 NE 33, 105 Am.St.Rep.765)

(Roth v Cottrell 112 CA2d 621, 246 P2d 958.

(1952))sId (1);Id 7(a);1d.(7(b);1d.(8) CCP

338(2)(Luellen v City of Aberdeen 20 Wn

2d 594, 148 P2d 819, 855) citing Words

and Phrases Perm.Ed. 437; Ballentine Law

Dictionary 650-652)

"If plaintiff is out of possession and

seeks to recover possession by quiet suit,

the action is legal." (So.Pac.Land Co. v

Dickerson (1922) 188 C 113, 116, 204 P 576;

Thompson v Thompson (1936) 7 C2d 671,681,

62 P2d 358)

"In order for the statutes to run against

the owner of realty and in favor of ad-

verse claimant, there must be definite and

positive evidence of an adverse holding by

the clearest and most satisfactory evi-

dence. “(Furtado v Taylor (1948) 194 P2d

770, 86 CA2d 346)

o260

CCP 3: Fraudulent concealment:"The sta-

tutes of limitations is not intended to

protect persons who, by fraudulant con-

cealment,has delayed the assertion of a

right. (Kane v Cook 8 Cal. 449)

"The statutes of limitations begins to run

against a suit to quiet title from the

time defendant takes possession of her

land." (Moore v Miller (CC 1890) 43 F 347)

Commencement of Actions:"This section pro-

viding that no entry on real estate is

deemed sufficient or valid as a claim un-

less the action be commenced thereon with-

in one year after making such entry, and

within five years from the time when the

right accrued." (Crane v French (1940)

104 P2d 53, 39 CA2d 642; CCP 320)

“Latches consist of unreasonable delay

with prejudice to defendant," (L.A. Fire

& Police Protective League v City of L.A.

(1972) 23 CA3d 67, 74)

"It is beyond the jurisdiction of a court

to make an order extending time to plead

beyond limits that have been set by

statute." (Thelander v Sup. Ct.(1962) 58

Cal.2d.811, 813 fn 3, 26 Cal.Rptr. 643,

376 P2d 571,(interpreting CCP 1054)

"If a grantor, subsequent to conveyance,

holds continuous adverse possession of the

premises for five years, he can set up sta-

tutes of limitations in defense of an ac-

tion of ejectment by his grantee."

(Franklin v Dorland (1865) 28 C 175, 87

Am. De. 111)

"The law helps the vigilant before those

who sleep on their rights." (CCP 3527)

Superior Court Rule 229(c)(Refusing Pro-

a27—=

posed Instructions):"Proposed Instructions,

except those required by law, which do not

comply --with law may be refused, in which

event the judge shall endorse thereon the

reason for the refusal." As amended, eff.

April 1, 1962; July 1, 1988--.

CCP #608,Note 7, Theory of Case-In General:

“Each party to an action has the right to

have the jury instructed on all his theo-

ries of the case which are supported by

the pleadings and evidence." (Ng. v Hudson

(1977) 142 Cal.Rptr. 69,75,CA3d 250)

Valintine v Kaiser Hosp.(1961) 15 Cal.

Rptr.26; 6 Trial #255 (2): “Defendant has

no duty to propose instructions on plain-

tiff's theory of the case." 9 Trial #220:

"Counsel has right to be told by court be-

fore commencement of oral argument, what

instructions will be given.(West's Ann.

Code Civ. Pro. #607(a).

Trial by Jury pg.502 #607(a):Proposed Jury

Instructions:"In every case which is being

tried before the court with a jury...the

court, on request of counsel, must...(3)

advise counsel of all instructions to be

given,"(Added by Stats 1933,c.744,P 1874

#101; Stats 1951,c 1737, p. 4115,#89,

operative Jan.l, 1952; Stats 1957,c 1698,

p.3073 #1)

Superior Court Rule 230, Requests for Spe-

cial Findings by Jury:"“Whenever a party

desires special findings by jury, he shall,

before argument, unless otherwise ordered,

present the judge in writting the issues

Or questions of fact upon which such find-

ings are requested, in proper form for

submission to the jury, and serve copies

thereof upon all other parties."

Trial by Jury #607 (30) 502:"Instructions

-28-

must be read as a whole,rather than indi-

vidually, and as out of context, and they

are to be given reasonable construction

from the standpoint of their probable ef-

fect on the jury." (City of Oakland v.

Partridge (1963) 29 Cal.Rptr.388,214 CA2d

196)

Trial by Jury # 607(a):(2) “Practice of

instructing jury on isolated portions of

evidence is not commended or encouraged."

(Elkinton v Cal.St. Auto Ass'n Interstate

Ins. Bureau(1959)343 P2d 396, 173 CA2d 338)

Weightman v Hadley (1956) 138, CA2d 831,

292 P2d 909:(2):(Height v Minor 113 Cal.

385, 391, 45 P 700)

Haas v. Central Union H.S.Dist. 27 Cal.App.

2a 319,322, 80 P2d 1044.

Re:Law of the Case "There is however, a

settled limitation upon the doctrine which

must be taken into account. This qualifica-

tion is that when an adjudication is made

upon certain state of facts there must be

substantial identity of facts on a subse-

quent appeal in order that the doctrine

shall be applicable." (Haas v Central

Union H.S. Dist. 27 Cal.App.2d 319, 322,

80 P2dad 1044)

Vagel v. Vagel 45 C2d 804; 291 P2d 25.;

Eng. v. Hosp. of G. S. 14 Cal.2d 791,795,

97 P2d 813;Wicktor v. County of L.A. 177

CA2d 390; 2 Cal.Rptr.352)

Rivaid v Bd. of Pen, Coms.(1985) 164, Cal.

App.3d 405,414, 210 Cal.Rptr. 509.

Richmond v Dart Ind.Inc.(1987) 196 Cal.

App.3d 869,879, 242 Cal.Rptr. 184.

-29-

TR ee ee ee ne

Raising of new theory on Appeal, contem-

plating factual situation consequences of

which are open to controversy are imper-

missible unless facts are undisputed and

party merely raising new question of law.

(Jamison v. City of Oxnard (1982) 134 Cal.

App. 3d,856,858-859 Cal.Rptr.864)

CCP 909 #77:Issues not Pleaded; Appeal and

Error 1122 (2)."Where no estoppel was

pleaded and Trial Court made no findings

thereon, Reviewing Court cannot make a

Finding thereon." (Mc Auley v Broackway

Tahoe Vista Corp. (1930) 293, P626, 110

CA 88)

"Doctrine of the Law of the Case does not

extend to points of law that might have

been but were not presented and determin-

ed on the first Appeal." (People v Shuey

Sup. 120 Cal.Rptr. 85 (10); Criminal Law

#1180)

People v Shuey, 120 Cal.Rptr. 90 ;"“Accord-

ingly, the latter issue is ‘not before'

the court on the first appeal, and the

plaintiff was free to present it on the

second appeal." (Di Genova 57 Cal.2d 179,

18 Cal.Rptr. 369; 367 P2d 865)

CCP 909 #83 Inferences:"“Reviewing court

may not substitute an inference different

from that drawn by the Trial Court."

(Epley v Hiller (1954) 274,P2d 696, 128

CA2d 100)

"An Appellate Court must disregard contra-

ry evidence as well as contrary inferences

and conclusions which were not but which

might have been drawn by the trier of fact, "

(Wolfson v Beatty (1953) 257,P2d 1017,118

CA2da 3920)

=~ 30-

"Plaintiffs sueing to guiet title, has

burden to show that he or his ancestor,

predecessor or grantor was seized or

possessed of the property within five

years before commencement of action."

(Stafford b Ballinger (1962) 18 Cal.

Rptr.568, 199 Ca 2d 289; CCP318.

U.S. Supreme Court has jurisdiction

because the holdings of the State Court of

Civil Appeals, Fifth District conflicts

with the rationale of the rules governing

the creation of easements, i.e CCP 1104;

CCP 806; CCP 1856(a); CCP 437(c) West's

Ann. Civ. Code #19 and/or 1104; Kytasty v

Godwin, 102 Cal.App.3d 762; Orr v. Kirk

100 CA2d 678, 224 P2ds 71; Fristoe v

Drapeau 35. Cal. 2d 5,8, 215 P2d 729;

Navarro v Pulley 66 CA2d 827, 153 P2d 397;

Tarr v Witkins 4 Cal RPtr. 203; Kreiger

v. Pacific Gas (1981) 119 Cal.App.3d 145,

755-756; Lord v Morris (1861) 16 Cal.

482, 491; Rosebrook v Utz 45 CA2d 729

(continued to next page)

ee

(1941) Alameda County; Piazza v Schafer

255, CA2d 328, 63 Cal. Rptr. 246; George

v Gosgarian 189 Cal.Rptr 95, (1983);

Gagnon v Adamson 122 CA2d 678, 224 P2d

71; Lux v. Freed (1960) 53. Cal.2d 512; —

Mc Donald v Mc Elroy (1882) 4 Kent's Com.

473, p. 489; Lawrence v Montgomery 37 Cal.

183, 188; 3 Witkin Summary of Cal. Law

(8th Ed. 1973) Real Property #355 P 2052;

Powell on Real Property Abridged Ed.

Powell Ruban 545. etc.etc.

The truth of the matter is, plaintiffs

have not satisfied a single necces-

sary element but have prevailed based on

self contradicted (perjurous) testimony

and Fraud and by virtue of misconduct

by Court and the officers of the Court.

///////

//////

/////

////

> >

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

On Oct.29, 1969 the Mc Carthys conveyed

440 acres in Section 1l to Robert C.Monroe

(herein “Monroe") and his partner, A.

Fletcher Harris, as undivided interest by

Deed. Testimony varies as to roads exist-

ing in the SE % of Section ll

(herein "SEk"),at this time.

Phyllis Mc Carthy's declaration

(entered

into the record) states that two trails

existed from the southern portion to the

northern portion of her land which she and

her husband used for horseback riding,

ing and ranching.

Bulldozer operator, Floyd Walls,

that he widened and improved two trails,

on the land which were 2 to 3 feet apart,

in the winter of 1969.

Walls testified that the

“brush was real

high" and the trails were not visible in

some spots. He testified,"there were areas

that you couldn't walk",--

a23«

“somtimes we

hik-

testified

would walk and sometimes we would ride on

the bulldozer." Walls did not know where

the road was physically located. He knew

that surveyor Alan Whitlock had prepared

his May 1970 Work Map of Section 1l, after

Walls had completed the road.

Alan Whitlock's May 1970 Work Map "Showing

Co. Rd. and Proposed Roads" depicts the

"Piute Mt. (Co.Rd.)" as running from the

southern portion to the northern portion

of the land.

Whitlock also depicted a Proposed Road as

a Bell-Shaped-Curve (herein "BSC") in the

SE %.

May 25, 1970 Monroe conveyed the S* of

the SEX (herein "S80") to defendant,

Patricia Rose Rabida.

Defendant intended to buy only 40 acres

but decided to buy the S80 to insure her

privacy.

Plaintiff,Stoye Milburn,(herein "Milburn")

was acting as Robert C. Monroe's agent in

-34-

the selling of the property.

Milburn negotiated to acguire the N* of

the SE% (herein"N80") then he acted as

Monroe's agent in selling the S80 to the

defendant, telling her that teachers

were negotiating to acquire the N80.

On May 25, 1970 defendant agreed to pur-

chase the Ss of the SEX. Milburn used the

May 1970 Whitlock Map as defendant's depo-

Site receipt.

According to Aerial Photographs (herein

"AP") interpreted by two expert witnesses,

a W-E road was constructed sometime after

April 25, 1970 and before July 2, 1970,

across defendant's west 40 acres.

July 13, 1970, Monroe conveyed the E* of

the N% with "a road from the north" to a

Jerry D. Smith who is not involved in

this action.

On July 13, 1970 Monroe retained the N*

of the SE% bordered on the south by def-

endant and on the north by Smith.

= 2%

The following month, surveyor Alan Whitlock

prepared a "Survey Map of Access Roads in

the south half of Section 11."

This Aug. 1970 Whitlock Map depicted one

road in the SEX i.e.W-E road travelling

from the Co. Rd.across defendant's west

40 acres. (Appendix T)

On Aug. 18, 1970, Monroe conveyed this Aug.

1970 Whitlock Map to the defendant.

Monroe's transmittal letter stated, inter

alia. “Enclosed is a map prepared by our

Surveyor showing roads as they are locat-

ed on your property."

Sept. 18, 1970 Monroe conveyed his retained

N80 to Milburn. The record is silent

as to defendant's knowledge of Milburn's

acguisition..

Jan. 1971 Guilliamo Moya acquired a 20

acre parcel in the N80. Moya sued Milburn

and Joseph B. Van Orden (herein ""VOrd")

for selling him land without an easement.

June 15, 1971, Milburn purportedly con-

-36-

veyed 40 acres to VOrd.

The June 15, 1971 deed from Milburn to

VOrd presented to the court related to land

in Section 15. No such deed relating to land

in Section il was ever presented.

The record is confusing as to the con-

veyances purportedly made to the others,

and no documentation thereof was presented.

Aug. 1977, six separate purported ten-

ants of the N80 sued defendant for ease-

ment rights over her land. Guiliamo Moya

was not named in the suit. (Appendix N)

Harry M Reynolds (herein "“Reynolds")

of "Manning, Reynolds, & Roberts", who

was exchanging land with VOrd & family,

authored the complaint. VOd verified it.

Milburn, who was unrepresented, defaulted.

Said Complaint alleged that Monroe had

created an easement over defendant's land

by constructing a road which had been used

by plaintiffs and plaintiffs' predecessor

in interest until defendant, the then owner,

Pp

blocked it off. Complaint alleged that an

easement. 10 feet in width existed appur-

tenant to each of the six separate tene-

ments in the N80.

Complaint gave no description of the

land burdened by the easement nor make any

reference to a map whatsoever.

It made no allegation of grantor-grantee

relationship between defendant and any one

of the six plaintiffs, nor any separation

of their titles from that of the defendant.

Defendant cross-complained against Monroe,

Milburn and Plaintiffs.

In answer Monroe alleged no interest in

the defendant's land.

Defendant's own attorney secretly released

Monroe"with prejudice".

Municipal Court Judge, John M. Stanton

from Mojavi, presided over the trial.

When asked if he were a Superior Court

Judge, he answered in the affirmative.

Reynolds' partner, Virgil Roberts, re-

=38-

sented plaintiffs at the trial.

VOrd was the only plaintiff to testify.

Defendant's request that Monroe and/or

Milburn testify was rejected. Plaintiffs

attempted to introduce Monroe and Milburn

depositions in lieu of court testimony.

Plaintiffs declined defendant's request

that the Mc Carthy deed be submitted.

PLAINTIFFS' TRIAL TESTIMONY

In their Opening Statement, Plaintiffs sub-

mitted a zerox copy of Whitlock's May 1970

Work Map which VOrd had prepared by drawing

lines to “identify the properties"

Virgil Roberts stated: "When the land was

sold to (defendant)--there had not been

any roads placed on the liand whatsoever

--Milburn showed (defendant) the proper-

ty---also--- a map indicating the pro-

posed roads on that property."

vVOrd testified: The May 1970

Whitlock Map was a Survey Map which "show-

ed the property accurately," and he had

-39-

traveled over the BSC road on June 19,

1971. He first saw the May 1970 Whitlock

Map in 1971 when he got a copy to assist

him in deciding to buy 40 acres.

He had known Milburn before "from looking

at other land" and had joined him as the

investor in a Joint Venture in the N80.

vOrd “did not visit the property prior to

(his) purchase, it was after Milburn pur-

chased the---upper eighty from Monroe."

In 1973, VOrd realized there was a pro-

blem. He composed a letter for Monroe to

mail back to him so as to help him get the

right of way. Monroe conveyed this letter

directly to VOrd in Dec. 1975, via U.S.

Mail. VOrd gave it to his attorney. The

letter claimed that Monroe had failed to

reserve the easement through oversight.

Repeatedly, plaintiffs referred to “the

160 acres in controversy" In their find-

ings, the “the™ was dropped, saying

Mc Carthy conveyed 160 acres to Monroe

-40-

which was then divided into two 80 acres.

Milburn's deposition, read by plaintiffs

into the record, disclosed that Monroe's

attorney had discussed the May 1970 Work

Map with Milburn "in the library" imme-

diately preceeding his testimony, and had

made markings on the map, claiming it to

be his exhibit.

Milburn's deposition stated that defendant

knew that first a W-E road would be con-

structed to give them access and later a

N-S road would be constructed "spurring

off" the W-E road, to provide access to

the N80 and that there were many discuss-

ions as to the location of roads.

Milburn said:"--I did not know the length

of the road---that it was going to follow

this map exactly~---We-had a sectional map.

----a survey map which later--was created.

At end of plaintiffs' testimony, Judge

Stanton stated:"--right now we haven't

gotten very far on this----- right now

-4)]-

we are getting nowhere fast on either one

of these elements." (use of road prior to

separation of title and necessity)--if we

could keep the evidence down to those mat-

ters---the rest of it is--- irrelevant,”

DEFENDANT'S TRIAL TESTIMONY:

Defendant moved for non-suit based on the

Statutes having run. Court tentatively

granted, then denied it.

John Varin testified: Sept. or Oct. 1970,

he constructed a N-S road spurring off

defendant's W-E road. Defendant tried to

stop him. He was hired by Milburn and

acted under the assumption that he was on

Milburn's land,

Defendant submitted, Whitlock's Aug. 1970

Map of "Access Roads in The Southern Por-

tion of Section 11".

Judge Stanton, rejected it saying:

“But that isn't the map. as I gather from

the evidence, counsel, that anybody bought

the property from--there was a map when she

-42-

bought the property, there was a map show-

ing a road when Mr.VOrd bought the property,"

Defendant presented her grantor's convey-

ing letter to the Aug.1970 Whitlock Map on

the issue of intent, which was also reject-

ed, saying that he didn't care what it said

“but what he may have said in the letter

and what he did are two different things."

Defendant presented 6 Aerial Photographs

(herein “AP")to which expert witness,

James Ricketts,testified as follows:

6-12-40 showed only Piute Mt. Rd..

7-23-62 showed only Piute Mt. Rd.

4-23-70-showed only Piute Mt. Rd.

4-25-70-showed only Piute Mt. Rd.

7-2-70- showed a very distinct road leav-

ing the Piute Mt. Rd. and going general-

ly easterly.

7-19-75-showed a road heading easterly

off the Piute Mt. Rd. and also a road

heading north off the W-E road.

DEEDS SUBMITTED AT TRIAL:

-43-

TEX.O:Monroe to Rose Deed on May 1970.

TEX.M:Monroe to Milburn Deed on Sept.1970.

TEX.N:Milburn to VOrd on July 1971 for

land in Section 15, instead of Section ll.

Virgil Roberts avoided defendant's request

for the Mc Carthy to Monroe deed.

Oct. 6, 1981 HEARING ON FINDINGS OF FACT:

Defendant severely objected to each one of

plaintiffs' findings. (Appendix yv)

In answer to the objections, court repeat-

edly requested new Findings on the Second

Cause of Action, on the Affirmative Defen-

ces and the Cross-Complaint.

March 24. 1983, Plaintiffs submitted 2nd

Findings which stated inter alia:"Said

easement shall be 20 feet wide and shall

follow the center line of the access road

as said road existed on May 25. 1970."

May,28, 1983, Plaintiffs submitted 3rd set

of Findings, stating inter alia:"Said ease-

ment shall be 30 feet wide and shall

follow the centerline----"“(emphasis added )

~4gu

At Oct. 6, 1981 hearing Judge Stanton said,

he was now presiding in the Fifth District

Appellate Court. In 1983,he was still there.

Dec. 1983, Judgment was rendered in favor

of plaintiffs. Again, no legal description

of the land burdened by the easement.

Defendant appealed to the Fifth District

Appellate Court.

The 1985 Opinion affirmed the judgment as

being for easement over a road entering

the S80 from the west, running north in a

BSC, then continuing back south into the

S80; stating that the Access Road as it

existed on May 25,1970 and road shown on

"Whitlock Map" are one and the same."

The Opinion concluded:

"No witness spoke of the road's width, or

the nature of traffic carried by the road

after it was bulldozed. Under these circum-

stances, ---it is neccessary to remand the

matter to the trial court on this issue for

the taking of additional evidence regarding

-45-

the existing road,and the use it was put at

time of implication. The judgement of the

trial court as it found an easement by im-

plication is affirmed. Judgement is revers-

ed as to the finding that the implied ease-

ment was 30 feet in width, and remanded to

trial court for further proceedings consis-

tent with this Opinion."

REMAND HEARING, July 31, 1989: Plaintiffs

requested a stay to have a road surveyed

Saying they had "improved the road".

David Brown testified that he had sur-

veyed the road on Aug.4, 1989 and prepared

a "Platting",at which time this diagonal

road was the only road existing on the

land. The Platting was accompanied by a

Legal Discription of an easement for in-

gress and egress and utility purposes.

Defendant objected saying:"We're talking

about a road that existed on May 25, 1970,

This map and --survey was done last week"

Court:" If in fact it is authenticated that

-46-

he surveyed the road, which according to

vOrd is the only road on the property,that

is what he surveyed and we're going to

take it in, Okay."

vVOrd also testified that this was the only

road existing on the property, then he tes-

tified that other roads did also exist.

vOrd testified that there were many maps

showing the same road in different places.

He testified that “if a boulder blocked

off half of the road you couldn't get by";

that the road was not used by Mc Carthy

from 1929, they just ran cattle;there was

no easement at that time; there was no

need for an easement before the S% was

devided 80 and 80; that no easement

existed when he made his purchase,he knew

of no other easements having been created.

vOrd now said he bought --in 1971, and he

may have gone up there in 1970, but he was

not sure. He had no knowledge the use of

the road in May 1970.

- -47-

Over the years VOrd bought, parceled, and

sold land in the vicinity, about 20 times.

He also "took care of problems like this"

for a living,"“as a hobby".

vOrd also owned land in Section 29,

He said that it was not a Joint Venture,

he was Milburn's friend so he was helping

Milburn improve and sell the property.

He testified: "I own the two 20 acre par-

cel""--I purchased 40 of the 80.--subse-

quently transferred some of that property

to others---someone else purchased the

other 40 acres in the upper 80. People in

Bakersfield bought two 10 acre pieces.

Charles Mc Gowan bought a 10 acre piece,

and Knapp bought a 10 acre piece, Kent

Wardell also bought a 10 acre piece---."

84 pages later VOrd testified: "Yes I sold

to Charles Mc Gowan and Wardell and---."

VOrd testified that he “bought and sold

other parcels in the general area but not

in this particular area."

-48-

rind bin ot Oe Beene

mie ee a Si cn at

On Cross-Examination defendant read from

vOrd's deposition as follows:

"Mr VOrd, 'Do you presently own any land--

-~---in the Ns of the SEX of Section 1l1l--.'

Answer, 'No'.

'Did you own property in that Section ?'

Answer. ‘'Yes'."

vOrd testified that Monroe and Milburn" had

no knowledge of the width of the easement."

Witnesses from Planning and Fire Department

testified that a 1984 Ordinance requires an

off-site easement to be 30 feet,when con-

structing buildings.

EXPERT WITNESS DON WARD'S TESTIMONY:

Expert, Donald E.Ward (herein "Ward") with

20 years experience as an owner and manag-

er of Western Photo Air, in the Photogra-

phic Business, specifically interpretation

of photographs, examined the various maps

and compared them directly to the APs.

Rabida charged that the record had been

altered regarding the testimony given

«49

here and elsewhere. In her "Correction of

The Record" she charged that she was very

aware of the need to give the month as

well as the year when referring to the

Whitlock Maps,which she did do, but the re-

cord was altered. Ward testified at the

hearing for Correcting the Record but the

Court still refused to make the record con-

form to the testimony. The Transcript of the

hearing was entered with Court of Appeal.

Ward compared Plaintiffs' EX. 2 (Brown's

Diagonal Road) to the July 1975 AP stating;

"The access road as shown on the exhibit-

-does not fit any of the roads that are

shown on the AP as of 1975."

Rabida:" I wish to show you another map--

This has to do with the road existing on

May 25, 1970"

Reynolds:"Your honor this is the same map

she has already tried to introduce through

VOrd. It has nothing to do with this case.

This is irrelevant. This is a sketch, it

-50-

Pe

is not a survey road, a sketch."

Ward:"--the road shown here does not

exist, so it doesn't have a width---"

Court: "I can tell you, the appellate

court says it does."

Rabida showed Ward a third Map,saying that

it had been prepared by Alan Whitlock.

Ward:"--There is a configuration on the

photograph that fits generally the config-

uration that this shows, This is not a pre-

cise survey. The AP is."

Reynolds: "Could we save time by asking this

witness if he is familiar with the width of

the road and the prior use : ie

Ward: “Yes, with respect to what you see

there, I certainly can tell you as to the

use, but not the width."

Covrt: “How can you tell the use i

1.Rabida_had tried to get the May 1970

Whitlock Map before this court.

2.At this point, Reynolds jumped up yell-

ing “He's lying."

3.Only the May 1970 Whitlock Work Map had

been put before the Appeals Court.

-5l1-

Ward:" Because it's graded and evident."

Q."That means that somebody used it ?"

Ward: "Yes."

On Voir Dir, Ward testified that he could

"discern a road through the brush unless

there was total brush--which rarely hap-

pens. That is not the case here."

Rabida then presented AP 7-2-70,

Ward:"This is an AP, very much to the same

scale as the one that our company did in

1975.---It has a date at the upper left

hand corner. It also has an identification

number on it---it was flown for photogram-

metry, which they can survey, use the pho-

tographs to survey the land---"

Rabida presented a tracing that she made

of 1975 AP.labeled A to icasdies

"Does this configuration from A to B ----

depict what existed in 1975 as far as a

road goes, that is a graded existing road?"

Ward:"The general alignment does show on

the photograph, yes." (Appendix S)

-52-

Rabida:"In your opinion, was this road con-

structed after the AP July 2,1970 ?"

Ward:"If---your question to me was~-~~- was

this road constructed the period of time

when this Photograph was taken and when

this Photograph was taken, My answer was

yes."

Rabida:"--So between 1970 and 1975 ? Okay.

Was this road constructed after Aug. 1970, -

according to this Map compared to the AP i

Ward:"Yes."

Rabida:" Mr. Ward----- have you made any ex-

aminations of this exhibit ?"

Ward:"Yes, I have.---I've plotted the des-

cription as it is written here, and I have

a map ---that was drawn showing the ease-

ment itself." (Appendix Q)

Rabida:"Now, can you tell me what you found

about the existing road compared to this

description of the easement ?"

awl "With respect to the 1975 Photograph

--It indicates there is a portion that does

-53-

not exist physically ------ -This is the be-

ginning of this road, and these little con-

figurations in here are the road coming

down in this direction, This portion of the

road over here is this portion over here.

As you can see, there is a hiatus someplace

in here, between one of these curves and

this road over here, is the way it is drawn.

----The easement shows that there is a

road across an area that the photograph

does not show. The existing road on the

Photograph is not the same as the easement."

Court:" It describes the existing road as

it exists now."

Rabida:"“But a portion of it does not exist."

Court:"It exists now. It may not have ex-

isted to be photographed in 1975."

Reynolds:"It may have existed and not

seen in the photograph."

Court:"That's correct. It may not have

been photographed."

Correction of the Record Testimony;

-54-

Ward ; "That would have been the one

later on,that showed existing road. The

first one didn't show existing road.--

The map she is referring to here was a

presentation by Whitlock--of existing

roads as of --Aug. 1970."

Court: (to clerk): "Do you have 2A there ?

Let me see it."

Court:"Does this look familiar to you ?"

Ward:"That was not the map, but that is

familiar to me, Yes."

Court: *I — it's not the map, but this

is Brown's survey-~- Of the road---Is that

somewhat like they appeared on the map ?"

Ward:"Not on this map , no."

Court:"What map does this appear on ?"

Ward:"The map that she is referring to.

here was a presentation by surveyor --

Whitlock--of existrng roads as of the

date of the map, which is Aug. 1970.

That survey and that road came much

later."

-55-

Court:"Okay. But you recognize this road ?"

Ward:" I recognize that road, yes, be-

cause I've been there and I've seen it."

Court:"“Referring to 2A, the exhibit which

is attached to 2A entitled Access Roads.”

Ward:"Your Honor, that road did not exist

as of August 1970"

Rabida:"The Brown Road didn't exist in

Aug. 1970, but the Whitlock Map (road) did

exist in Aug. 1970---"

Ward:"Those Photographs bore that out.---"

DEFENDANT'S REMAND TESTIMONY:

She first presented the Mc Carthy-Monroe

deed saying the land depicted on the May

1970 Map was conveyed“to Monroe.

She presented the original May 1970 Whit-

lock Work Map shown to her when she pur-

chased the S80, saying: "The map speaks for

itself,it says proposed roads,so that is

evidence that no road existed on the pro-

perty at that time. I says ‘County Roads

and Proposed Roads'. Very specific."

-56-

Pee eee er a sean g

"But no road existed, and no one was using

the road. Monroe was selling off this pro-

perty. He was using a road from the north.”

Monroe sent her “a letter and map on Aug.18,

1970---the Aug, 1970 Map--and that road was

actually euanteected. But as you can see ,

it only entered my land and did not go to

the land above me."

"Now the conveying letter with this map

says: ‘Enclosed is a map prepared by our

surveyor showing roads as they are located

on your property.*"

Defendant presented a certified deed from

Monroe conveying the E% of the NEX to

Jerry D.Smith, on July 13, 1970.

The deed was slipped back in with her pa-

pers and her testimony was deleated how-

ever she referred to it in her closing

argument, saying:

"Prom (Monroe's) grant deed that I present-

ed,I have shown that Monroe owned 440 acres

---shortly after my conveyance Monroe deed-

=§7=

ed a (80)acre parcel to Jerry D Smith----

with a road ---from north,in (July) 1970."

Reynolds:"I would ask the court to, in mak-—

ing up it's mind, to consider the directiom

we are going, because I think we're just

opening Pandora's Box and we will be back

in the Fifth again----I'm trying to limit

what she can do once she gets there. I

think. we are entitled to restrict her to

what the Appellate Court said this trial

was to be about, When we start talking

about Whitlock Maps and BSC, we can't de-

termine anything from the photographs---"

Court:"We will give it a go."

JURY INSTUCTIONS: After the instructions

were reviewed, Reynolds submitted a Special

Verdict without defendant's knowledge.

No objection was made to defendant's in-

structions. The record showed, Court re-

jected all of them. |

Only Reynolds' Special Verdict was given

to the jurors.

-58-

Court instructed:"You are also to give con-

sideration to what the County of Kern re-

guires as a minimum width for a road ease-

ment as granted in this case."

Bailiff presided over the deliberations.

Judgment consisted of "30" & “yes" inserted

on the Special Verdict.

Two of the jurors ran up to defendant in

the hallway, saying:

"We're so sorry. We wanted to determine if

the road existed or not but they said we

couldn't. We had to decide on the two ques~-

tions (Special Verdict) only."

DEFENDANT's APPEAL held; Plaintiffs' testi-

mony void -did not follow Reviewing Court

instructions; Plaintiffs falsified their

evidence by constructing a new and differ-

ent road by trespass; Judgment must be re-

versed since neither road testified to by

Plaintiffs, existed at implication.etc.etc.

1991 OPINION held

Plaintiff/Respondents are Joint venturers.

-59-

- aiaeaieiniannieeanentaniias

Ward "testified-- access road as shown on

map----Whitlock in May 1970---fit the gen-

eral configuration of a road on the 1975 AP

taken by him as part of a survey in 1975.

(EX.E) Ward could tell--- that the road was

graded and therefore used but he could not

tell its width. Ward compared his 1975 Pho-

tograph (EX E.) with a July 2, 1970---- and

found the Photos were ‘'very similar’. |

"Ward's examination of the Photos disclosed

only one road (the road depicted on EX. 2A)

from the lower to the upper 80 acres, He

testified the road in the 1975 AP did not

appear as a continuous road."

- Access Road as depicted on Ex. 2A is

“consistent with an ascending line of BSC

and with the applicable portion of the Ac-

cess Road that appears on defendant's Ex. F."

"Court did not err in receiving testimony

as to the width of the access road as it

presently existed (1989), or testimony as

to pertinent Ordinances,-- in refusing to

~60-

confine the testimony--to the condition of

road as it existed in 1970, i.e. the time

-<--- implication arose."

“the present uses, intervening uses and rea-

sonably to be expected uses as of 1970, are

relevant to the width of the implied ease-

ment at time--acguired.-- Kytasty v Godwin."

"---the testimony of a senior planner ---

applicable section of the Kern County Par-

cel Map Ordinance established the off-site

‘access road here required a minimum 30

foot easement. This was what was reasonably

required as of 1970,for the ‘future use of

the dominant tenement....' (See Appendix

A;67,2-3; 73,19-75,2; 86,9-87,2; 90,10-14;

105,11-14 & 16-19; 105,20-106,2)

MISSING EXHIBITS:

Twentyone (21) of the twentyfive (25) ex-

hibits submitted by defendant were not

noted in the Reporter's Transcript.

In answer to her request for Correction of

the Record, the Appellate court deemed

«Gi<

eleven (11) to twentyone (21) augumented

into the record. Upon requesting verified

copies of these eleven exhibits for incor-

poration into this Writ, defendant was

informed that they could not be located.

On Dec. 23, 1991, clerk noted that Exhi-

bits one and 2-A had been removed from

the record at the Appeallate court.

The 1991 Opinion holds that the road de-

picted on Ex. One and the road depicted

on Ex. 2h are in fact one and the same.

(See lines 11-12 at page 88 herein)

Defendant's own copy of Exhibit 2A was

also missing from her home so she ob-

tained a certified copy from the Hall of

Records on Feb. 5, 1992.

Remand Testimony Relating to BSC Road and-or

May 1970 Whitlock Map.

Plaintiffs did not mention the BSC road nor

the May 1970 Whitlock Map.

Plaintiffs confined their testimony to the

Brown Diagonal Road and the Aug. 4, 1989

=¢2-

Brown "Platting".

Plaintiffs refused to answer any and all

cross-examination which referred to the

BSC road and/or the May 1970 Whitlock Map,

saying Whitlock was dead and the May 1970

Map was "not a survey" but “just a

sketch".

Plaintiffs insisted that the 1985 Opinion

requested testimony as to the width of the

Aug. 4, 1989 Brown Diagonal Road and that

any testimony relating to the BSC road or

the May 1970 Whitlock Map was irrelevant.

Judge Nairn agreed with the Plaintiffs.

Defendant presented the original May 1970

Whitlock Map saying it was “the exact map"

shown to her. She submitted a certified

true Colored Photograph and a true Zerox

copy of it to the Court as her Exhibit F.

On the face of this photograph, it shows

notations of "S" and "sold" as well as

Mi lbucn’s notations and encircling of the

680 with an arrow pointing from the nota~

-63-

tions to the S80 to have been written in

red directly on the original map.

At the 1980-1981 trial VOrd testified that

the May 1970 Whitlock Map which was given

to him did not have any notations on the

bottom.

The 1991 Opinion held that the 1985 Opinion

asked for evidence regarding the existing

road, that Brown determined the width of

"the existing 20-foot dirt road" and that

the jury relied on this evidence in "deter-

mining the proper and neccessary width --

as of 1970° (See lines 5-20, page 91,

Appendix A herein)

The Jury's verdict did not mention any

date, It said: "The easement shall be---"

(See footnote at page 100 Appendix A)

The jury was not given any of the exhibits

to review during their deliberations.

They were only given the Special Verdict.

Ten days later, Judge John M. Nairn filed

a "judgment on the Special Verdict" con-

~ 7

sisting of Brown's "plat map included in

Exhibit 2-A, and the three page descrip-

tion incorporated therein" with the Jurys'

Verdict. Thus the verdict was made appli-

cable to the Brown Diagonal road and extend-

ed to include an easement for utilities.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, a Writ

of Certiorari should issue to review the

Judgment and Opinion of the Court of Appeal

in this matter.

Where the prevailing party himself ,at

Remand Hearing, contradicts the entire tes~-

mony on which judgment relied, basic decency

calls for such a review.

Private Property Rights are jeolously

guarded-by the sane societies of the world.

A country that condones the taking of pro-

perty by fraud and without Due Process is,

in fact, an oppressive third world country.

Date: , 2 yy, -

Respectfully submitted: /

Patricia Rose Rabida

& Ofentne table

Court of Appeal Fifth Appellate District

Filed November 5, 1991.

by Kevin A Swanson-Clerk, Deputy

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA FIFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

JOSEPH B VAN ORDEN,et al., ) FO012692

)

Plaintiffs and Respondents,) (Super.Ct.

; ) No.148546)

Vv )

)

PATRICIA ROSE RABIDA, ) OPINION

)

Defendant and Appellant )

APPEAL from judgment of the Superior

Court of Kern County, John M. Nairn,Judge.

Patricia Rose Rabida, in pro. per.,for

Defendant and Appellant.

Henry M. Reynolds, attorney for

Plaintiffs and Respondents.

-oo00c-

Defendant and appellant Patricia Rose

Rabida appeals from a judgment establish-

ing the width of an implied easement

across her property. We will affirm.

-66-

APPENDIX A

BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs/Respondents are joint ven-

turers and the owners of six seperate par~

cels totalling the 80 acres that comprise

the northern half of the southeast quarter

of section 11.Township 29 South,Range 33

East, Mount Diablo Meridian, in Kern

County." Defendant/Appellant Patricia

Rose Rabida is the owner of the 80 acres

comprising the southern half of the south-

east quarter of Section ll. A few months

prior to the purchase of the northern 80

acres by Respondents’ Predecessor in Inter-

est in 1970, appellant purchased her south-

ern 80 acres from the same grantor, in May

1970. The remote property is located in

rugged, high country north of Tehachapi

and south of Lake Isabella. The eastern

1/ References hereafter to “Section 11"

are to the southeast quarter of Section ll,

Township 29 southm range 33 East, Mount

Diablo Meridian, in Kern County

-67-

boundary of Section 11 borders the Sequoia

National Forrest; on the west, Section 11

is bordered by land controlled by the

Bureau of Land Management.

Respondents filed an action against

Appellant in 1977 to establish their right

to an easement appurtenant over Appel-

lant's lower 80 acres for ingress and

egress to their parcels in the upper 80

acres. Judgment following a court trial

in 1981 was rendered in Respondents' favor.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

were filed in 1983 and Judgment entered on

June l, 1983. On March 25, 1985,this court

filed an Opinion affirming lower court's

finding that Respondents held an implied

easement over Appellant's property. (Van

Orden v Rose(March 29, 1985) FO02875 (non-

pub. opn.), typed opn. pp, 13-15. (Here-

after Van Orden I) However, the judgment

with respect to the trial court's finding

that the implied easement was 30 feet in

-68&-

width was reversed and remanded to the

trial court for further proceedings after

this Court found the Lower Court's selec

tion of a 30-foot width was not supported

by substantial evidence. (Van Orden ,supra,

typed opn. ppl/-19)

PROCEEDINGS ON REMAND

In a two-day retrial before a jury

(August 7-8, 1989) Appellant appeared in

proper persona. Afte! less than an hour of

deliberations the jury found, by Special

Verdict, that the easement across Appel-

lant's property “shall be 30 feet in width'

and that such width was “reasonably re-

guired considering ali the uses for which

the property 15 adapted and available and

consistent with its prior use.” Juagment

entered and a timely Notice of Appeal fol-

lowed.

EVIDENCE ON REMAND

Respondent Joseph Van Order! recalled

first traveiling the sole road leading

ii

‘from the lower 80 acres into what would

become his upper 40 acres along the lower

Slope of Piute Mountain in early (May)

1971. It was possible that he first tra-

velled onto the property in summer of 1970

when he was contemplating the purchase.

Whether the first time was in 1970 or 1971,

the road appeared to have been there for

some period, was not overgrown with brush

(an indication of heavy use) and had "“defi-

nitely been traversed by cars in the

past, as the soil was compacted. Some ruts

and automobile tire marks were visible.

The road looked like it had been "cleaned

up" with a bulldozer, but not freshly made.

Over the years he traveled the road

nearly 20 times. Initially he traversed

the road in a Mustang; he saw people use

Pickups, Vans and Four-Wheel-Drive. The

road he first traveled in 1970 Or 1971 was

the "Main" Road Appellant later padlocked.

Van Orden testified the Northern 80 Acres

-70-

was approximately one mile from Piute Moun-

tain Road; it was located in very rough

terrain, riddled witn boulders and ravines.

The property was only Suitable to personal,

recreational use. Van Orden hopec to build

a mountain retreat for his family.

Shortly before the instant trial, Van

Orden had the “Main" Road (the same roae

he haa travelled on since 1970 or 1g J/1)

surveyed by a licensed land surveyor, David

Brown. Brown had worked as a surveyor for

approximately 30 years; for the 16 years

prior to trial he had been licensed anda

owned his own surveying business, Brown

saw and surveyed only one road running from

the lower to the upper 60 acres, The ex-

isting dirt road bed averaged 20 feet in

width. Brown explained that 1n orcer to

have a road serving more than one pare el

that would satisfy Kern County Fire Depart-

ment Regulations,, tne roaG wo jld have to

be a minimum width of « feet, as well aS

allow sufficient additional footage for

cuts and fills.

The applicable Kern County Parcel Map

Ordinance required a minimum 30 feet of

width for off-site Access roads. Brown

testified: "(T)o meet the Parcel Map Ord-

inance you need a minimum of 30 feet of

easement, which would also include the cuts

and fills." As it presently existed, the

Access Road satisfied County requirements.

Ross Elliot, a senior Planner in charge

of the Land Division Section of Kern County

2/ Philip Neufield, employed by the Kern

County Fire Department as a fire preven-

tion specialist, testified a minimum 20

foot roadbed was required in order to ob-

tain building approval so as to allow two

way traffic and emergency vehicle access,

The minimum twenty feet of flat roadbed

was defined as "where you can put a tire

on it," not including any soft shoulder.

-72-

Planning and Development Services, affirm-

ed the Kern County Parcel Map Ordinance

(# 18.80.030(B)) required off-site Access

Roads (including attendent cuts and fills)

to have a minimum easement width of 30

feet.°

The map of the Access Road drawn by

Brown on August 4, 1989, and attached to

the survey he prepared was a general G-

torial view gf the road (a general plat)

to go with the accompanying legal descrip-

tion. Due to the number of small, winding

curves on the Access Road _ the Map was only

3/ The Kern County Parcel Map Ordi-

nance defines as "off site Access Road" as

“an easement for vehicular access located

on land not owned by the applicant," (Exs.

4 & 4-A; # 18,80,010 (D).)

To responcents, owners of the upper 80

acres, the road leading into their proper-

ty over Appellant's lower 80 acres was an

Off-Site Access Road.

approximate. However the legal descrip-

tion included within his Survey was exact.

Brown described a 30-foot easement for in-

gress and egress on his survey because

"the Kern County Parcel Map Ordinance

requires a minimum of 30 foot road

easement.

Appellant called Donald Ward, a licens-

ed Land Surveyor, as a witness. He testi-

fied that the Access Road shown on a Map

prepared by Alan Whitlock in May 1970

(“Plaintiff's Exhibit 1 (1980)" and "Defen-

dant's Exhibit A (1980)")4 fit the gener-

al configuration of a road on a 1975 Aerial

4/ “Plaintiff's Exhibit 1" and "Defen-

dant's Exhibit A" bear an official Kern

County Exhibit Sticker from the first

Trial dated September 3, 1980. They were

not entered as exhibits in the instant

Trial (1989) although the Whitlock Map

in some form was referenced by Appellant

and shown to witnesses.

Faq

Photograph taken by him as part of a Survey

in 1975. (Exhibit E) Ward could tell on

the 1975 Photograph that the road had been

graded and therefore used, but he could

not tell it's width. Ward compared his

1975 Photograph (Exhibit E) with a July 2,

1970 Photograph entered as an exhibit in

~~

the first trial (but not the instant trial-

"Defendant's Exhibit J (1981)" and found

the Photos were "very similar". Ward's

examination of the Photos disclosed only

one road (the road depicted on Ex. 2-A)

from the lower 80 acres to the upper 80

acres. He testified the road on the 1975

Aerial Photograph did not appear on the

1975 Aeri. 1 Photograph as a continuous

road.

POST TRIAL PROCEEDINGS

On October 18, 1989, Appellant filed in

the Superior Court a notice of intention

to proceed by settled statement and a no-

tice of designation of the record. The re-

-75-

cord designation included the transcript of

the 1980-1981 trial, numerous "exhibits",

some of which were marked and entered at

the instant trial, some of which were re-

ferenced at trial and marked, or refer-

enced at trial and not marked, or refer-

enced, marked but denied admission as evi-

dence. As is obvious from the factual

Statement Supra, many of the exhibits

were exhibits entered at the prior, but

not the instant trial.

The Kern County clerk issued a rule

10(c) default notice (failure to post fee

for preperation of reporter's transcript) ;

relief was granted by this court on Jan-

uary 31, 1990. A single Clerk's Transcript

and Reporter's Transcript of the proceed-

ings on August 7 and 8, 1989m (instant

trial) were filed on March 30, 19909.

Appellant's April 9, 1990, Motion to

Correct the Record by the addition of cer-

tain exhibits entered only at the prior

-76-

trial, as well as an exhibit from the in-

stant trial, and to correct certain state-

ments in the reporter's transcript was

deemed to be a request to file a belated

motion to prepare a settled statement

and/or to correct the record.(People v.

Gzikowski (1982) 32 Cal.3d 580, 584-585,

fn. 2). The hearing on the belated motion

was held in the trial court on July 19,

1990.

At the hearing, a superior court clerk

testified as to the proper time and proce-

dure for transmission of exhibits entered

into evidence at the instant trial. as to

several documents Appellant wished to have

transmitted as part of the instant record,

the Court advised Appellant to file a Mo-

tion to Augment in the Appellate Court, in-

sofar as said documents were "received"

in the instant trial.

The Lower Court's Settled Statement was

filed on August 7, 1990. The court noted

the Trial Transcript was correct and need-

ed no alterations or additions; the Lower

Court suggested Appellant pursue Augmenta-

tion of the Record where appropriate. Ap-

‘parently following the Lower court's sug~

gestion at the July 19, 1990 hearing, Ap-

pellant had already filed in this court

an Application to Augment the Record with

numerous items allegedly produced or re-

ferenced during the course of the instant

trial, but not admitted into evidence, as

well as certain documents in the Superior

Court file pertaining to the first trial.

On August 17, 1990, this court entered

an — (1) determining the record of

August 7 and 8, 1989 trial to be correct

(2) denying the request as to items 12 to

21 for a variety of reasons, (3) directing

Appellant to have a Supplemental Report-

er's Transcript prepared containing her

Proposed Jury Instructions dated July 31,

1989 (item 22) and (4) deeming the Record

~

augmented to include items 1 through ll

(Photographs, Maps, and Documents not ad-

mitted but referenced, in part, at the

instant trial). As to items 1 through ll,

this court noted "(n)othing in this Order,

however, constitutes a determination of

the relevancy of this material or the pro-

priety of considering the material in con-

nection with this Appeal.” A Kern County

Deputy Clerk filed an affidavit on October

11,.1990, stating she was unable to locate

any Proposed Jury Instructions by Appellant

dated July 31, 1989, despite the copy pro-

vided by Appellant.

Respondents reviewed Appellant's Open-

ing Brief filed August 29, 199°, and, after

13 years of this litigation, decided to

stand on the record and filed no Respon-

dents' Brief. Finnally,Appellant's appli-

cations in this Court for "Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law" on November

14, 1990, and to “ Produce further Evi-

-79-

dence" were denied on January 17, 1991.

DISCUSSION

It appears that the majority of Appei-

lant's transcript references (i.e. "TCT"

(Trial Clerk's Transcript) must be to the

record in Van Orden I because the record

citations do not pertain to or support

what they reference in the 1989 trial re-

Cord. The record from Van Orden I was

not incorporated as part of the instant

record (although appellant asked for it

and references it in her Brief). Appel-

lant has not requested that this court

notice judicially the record in Van Orden

I, nor does it appear that would be nec-

cessary since the instant issue deals only

with establishing the width of the easement.

all relevant evidence pertaining to that

issue is contained in the 1989 transcript.

It should be noted Appellant had diffi-

culty throughout the 1989 Trial accepting

the fact that the Lower Court's Finding

=§0-

in 1983 that an easement by implication

existed had been confirmed by this court

in 1985 and that determination was now

final. not subject to relitigation or im-

peachment with further evidence.Appellant

insisted there was no road to the upper

80 acres through her property at the time

she acquired her interest in May 1970 so

there could be no easement. The Lower

Court repeatedly advised her the Appel-

late Court had determined in 1985 that

the road and easement did exist at the

time she acquired her interest, and sug-

gested she move on, but to little avail.

(E.g., Appellant: "The Appellate Court says

there is (a road) now, but I'm giving my

side of this.") Appellant continues

5 / ...to which Judge Nairn responded:

"Your side doesn't matter. They said

there is an easement there, there is a

road there, When they tell us to do some-

(Fn. continued)

=8l<

to attempt to relitigate the finding of

an easement again in this Avopeal.

The 1983 Judgment affirmed by this Court

in 1985 was rendered on the merits and is

final. "(A) matter adjudicated on a prior

Appeal normally will not be relitigated

on a subsequent Appeal in the same case."

(Davies v Krasner (1975) 14 Cal.3d 502,

507, fn,omitted.) As to those issues that

were raised, expressly or impliedly, and

resolved against Appellant, she is preclud-

ed from raising them here by the Doctrine

of Law of the Case. (Hanry v Lund (1963)

218 Cal. App. 2d 633, 638-639) “Hence

after entry of judgment in conformity with

the directions, the Respondent cannot...on

Appeal, relitigate the same issues. (Cita-

tions.)" (9 Witkin, Cal.Procedure (3d ed.

1985) Appeal, # 636, p.617.)

As to the “Points" that could have been

thing, we do it. When they say jump, we

say how high, that's it.

o22=

raised in the appeal in Van Orden Il,

those issues are outside the scope (and

jurisdiction) of the Trial Court on Remand.

They are not cognizable on this Appeal.

"(An) Appellate Court may adopt a written

Opinion determining the issues on Appeal

and modify or reverse the judgment, speci-

fically directing the Lower Court with re-

spect to particular issues. In (those)

cases the Trial Court has no discretion

to interpret the Opinion of the Appellate

Court, but, on the contrary, it is bound

to specifically carry out the instructions

of the Reviewing Court..... (Kenney v.

Kenney (1954) 128 Cal.App.2d 128, 133-134,

disapproved on another point in See v see

(1966) 64 Cal.2d 778, 785) "The trial

judge must follow the directions of the

Appellate Court and enter the Judgment

accordingly. He cannot...retry the case;

." (9 Witkin, Cal. Procedure, op.cit.

supra, Appeal, # 633,p.613.) Where a

-83-

Reviewing Court is bound by the directions

given and has no authority to retry any

other issue or to make any other Findings.

It's authority is limited wholly and sole-

ly to following the directions of the

Reviewing Court..." (Rice v Schmid)

(1944) 25 Cal.2d 259, 263.)

In Van Orden I, this Court specifically

affirmed the judgment “insofar as it found

an easement by implication"" but remanded

for further proceedings “as to the finding

that the implied easement was 30 feet in

width,...consistent with (the) Opinion,"

(Van Orden I supra, typed Opn. p. 19.)

That is the only issue the Trial Court had

jurisdiction to retry; that is the only

issue within the scope of this Court's re-

view in the instant Appeal.

POINT I

Appellant argues Respondents' testi-

mony pertaining to the 1989 Plat Map of

the Access Road prepared by Brown shortly

-84-

niall,

Se ee ee eee eT ee Oe Pe eee

ne ie celta At, ett bi Pe bs

before Trial (Ex.2-A,p.4) was outside the

scope of this Court's directions on Remand.

As specified in Van Orden I, the Remand

was limited to the issue of the “road's

width,...the nature of the traffic carried

by the road after it was bulldozed (in

early 1970)..."(Van Orden I, Supra,

typed Opn. p. 18.) To this end the Trial

Court was directed to "(take) additional

evidence regarding the existing road, and

the nature of the use to which it was put

at the time the easement by Implication

arose."(Id.,typed Opn. pp. 18-19)

This appears to be appellant's argument*

since the 1989 Map (Ex. 2A.p.4) was not in

existence when Appellant acquired her pro-

perty or at the time of the Trial in Van

Orden I (1980-1931), it could not properly

be considered in determining the road's

width nor the nature of fits use in May

1970, when Appellate acquired the southern

80 acres. Appellate seems to infer the

-85-

“Bell-Shaped-Curve" Road, referenced in

Van Orden iI as the Access Road here in

question (Van Orden I supra, typed Opn.

p. 3), and the Abbriviated Access Road

sketched by Brown at page 4 of Exhibit 2-A,

are not the same road. The evidence sup-

ports the conclusion that they are the same

road and Exhibit 2-A was properly entered

in evidence and considered.

Although the survey Map prepared in

“May 1970" by a surveyor named Whitlock

was not properly tendered as an exhibit

by Appellant or entered into evidence in

the 1989 Trial, it is referenced in Van

Orden I, was shown to witnesses during

the 1989 proceedings and was the subject

of considerable testimony. An enlarged

Copy of the Whitlock Map also appears to

be one of the il items deemed augmented by

this Court on August 17, 1990 (Item 1).°

When considered in the context of perti-

nent testimony, it is apparent the Access

«$6-

Road depicted on Exhibit 2-A and the rough-

ly sketched Road in the form of a Bell-

Shaped-Curve on the Whitlock Map are the

same Road.

The Access Road depicted on Exhibit 2-A

does not depict a complete Bell-Shaped-

Curve. This is because it only shows that

portion of the Access Road as it appears

on the western half of Appellant's South-

ern 80 acres. It does not extend into the

Northern 80 acres, while the Road depicted

on the Whitlock Map does extend into the

Northern Half of the Quarter Section. It

is consistent with the Ascending Line of a

Bell-Shaped-Curve and with the applicable

portion of the Access Road that appears

on "Defendant's Exhibit F". The Access

6/. See two identicle 1l by 13 inch Pho-

tographic Maps denominated "Defendant F"

and "Defendant Exhibit F" by apnellant.

They are included in the Record but were

never officiallly marked as Exhibits.

— yp

Road sketched on "Plaintiff's 1 (1980)" is

obvously roughly drawn and not to scale.

Brown testified the portion of the Access

Road sketched by him on Exhibit 2-A was

“a general pictorial view" of the road;

it was only approximate due to the number

of small winding curves. Van Orden ,

Brown and Appellant's Surveyor Ward all

testified there was only one road from the

Southern 80 entering the Northern 80 acres.

That is the Access Road depicted on "Plain-

tiff's Exhibit 1 (1980)" and Exhibit 2-A.

The judgment in Van Orden I describes

the easement as following"'...the center

line of the Access Road as said road ex-

isted on May 25, 1970.'..." (Van Orden I,

Supra, typed Opn.p.15) there was no Sur-

veyor's Description. In Van Orden Il,

Mr Van Orden testified that he hired Brown,

a licensed surveyor, to make a survey of

the road. About a week before the Second

Trial he took Brown to the premises, point-

-88-

ed out and walked the road that existed in

May 1970. He testified it was the only

road that extended all the way from the

western line of the Southwest Quarter

of the Southeast Quarter of Section ll

into the Northern Half of the Scutheast

Quarter of Section 1l. When questioned,

Van Orden noted:

"O. Whenever you went there the very

first time. what did you see with

respect to a road ?

A. The road was there, and the same

Road that David Brown surveyed, the

road that David Brown surveyed, the

same road that was there at that time.

There are other roads, but the Main

Road going into the property, into my

property~ thet I had to go across was

there the first time I went up to see

abe 6 28 66.6028 BHA ee a8 Se ee 8 SC Se See 2.2 2 Se SS

O.Mr van Orden, you indicated last week

you went up to the property when it was

being surveyed by Mr. Brown.

A. Yes.

QO. And is that the same road that you

saw when you went to the property the

first time in 1970 or 1971 ?

A. the same Main Road entering Pat

Rose's property and entering mine, was

the same last week as it was in 1970."

;

It was therefore appropriate, and with-

in the scope of this Court's 1985 limited

Remand in Van Orden I, for the Lower

Court to receive and consider Exhibit 2-A,

74 Strangely, during trial, Appellate

Rabida herself noted: "they say the Floyd

Walls road, That is the same road that this

gentleman testified that Mc Carthy used

when they owned the land. And so that's

the same Road that the Appellate Court is

saying now there is an easement on my land,

that's the same Road.

-90-

(Hampton v. Superior Court (1952)38 Cal.

2a 652, 655; Hanna v. City of Los Angeles

(1989) 212 Cal.app.3d 363, 376.) It 1S ap-

parent that when Van Orden I is read

in context, the Lower Court was directed

to take additional evidence “regarding

(the width of) the existing Road" as a

step in determining the proper extent of

Respondents’ easement. (Van Orden Il,

Supra typed Opn.p.18.) In preparing

the Plat Map included in Exhibit 2-A, and

the three page Legal Description incorpo~

rated therein, Brown determined that the

Existing 20-foot Dirt Road Bed "averaged

20 feet in width," before allowing for

necessary cuts and fills in the road.

This was pertinent, and a portion of the

relevant evidence the Jury used in deter-

mining the proper and necessary width of

the easement as of 1970. The present uses,

intervening uses, and reasonably to be

expected uses as of 1970 are relevant to

-9l|-

the width of the implied assessment in

1970. (Kytasty v. Godwin (1980) 102 Cal.

App.3d 762, 771-772)

POINT II

Incorporating her argument under "Point

I", Appellate maintains she was Surprised

when Respondents "change(d) their testimo-

ny regarding the Road in issue." It is

alleged the "surprise" prejudiced her in

that it lessened her ability to respond to

the evidence produced on behalf of Respon-

dents.

As noted supra, the portion of the

Access Road depicted on Exhibit 2-A is a

portion of the same Access Road described

in Van Orden I as the Road with the Bell-

Shaped-Curve on the 1970 Whitlock Survey

Map ("Plaintiff's Exhibit 1 (1980)"). Fur-

thermore, Appellant acknowledges she was

aware Respondents were having a Survey

prepared of the road as trial was briefly

delayed while the Survey was completed.

-92-

- —

While Van Orden mentioned he last improved

the Access Road six months prior to the

1989 trial. The improvements consisted of

clearing regrown brush and filling in gul-

lies. There is no evidence to support

Appellant's inference Van Orden changed

the direction,location and/or shape of

the Road.

Appellate now complains the Trial Court

"refused to allow (her) to testify to her

theory of the case, which she had adhered

to since the onset of the litigation i.e.

no Road at all existed as of May 25, 1970

ce In Van Orden I this Court acknow-

ledged the evidence supported the follow-

ing facts: a rough form of the Access Road

had been in existence dating back to 1929;

the modification/improvement of the Access

Road in question had been completed by Feb-

ruary or March of 1970 and when Appellant

purchased her property in May 1970, she

took with Oral and Written Notice of the

-93-

“road as indicated" on the Whitlock Survey

Map. (Van Orden I, supra, typed Opn.

pp. 2-3, 12-14.)

Appellant's challenge to the Lower court's

Finding of an Implied Easement on the

ground of insubstantial evidence failed in

Van Orden I. (Id. typed Op. pp 6-15.)

As we have stated, that 1985 Opinion ,

rendered contrary to Appellant's "theory

of the case," is now final and constitutes

Law of the Case.

“POINT III"

Pressing forward with her idea that Van

Orden altered the shape of the road just

prior to Trial, Appellate argues that the

testimony of her surveyor ,Ward establish-

ed the Access Road on Exhibit 2-A was not

in existence as late as 1975 when he con-

ducted an Aerial Survey. (Exhibit E.)

In support of this argument, Appellate

first submits "quotations" from colloquies

she submitted as part of an apparent appli-

-94-

cation to proceed in part by way of Set-

tled Statement. The application was marked

"received" by the Trial Court on September

22, 1989. The September 22, 1989, Document

purports to set forth by guotation lengthy

“in chambers" exchanges outside the pre-

sence of a Court Reporter shortly before

and during Trial. In these exchanges,

Appellant is portrayed as repeatedly main-

taining the Access Road later depicted in

Exhibit 2-A did not exist in 1970. In part

of the "testimony", Ward states that on

certain (unspecified) Photographs shown to

him, he can see a beginning and end to the

Access Road but not the middle.

Insofar as the September 22, 1989,

Document purported to be an Application for

a Settled Statement pursuant to Rule 7 of

the California Rules of Court, it was un-

timely and did not conform to the cited Rule.

Furthermore, the Record contains nothing

to demonstrate the Trial Court ever set~

-95-

ae eee

tled the Statement and/or Appellate ever en-

grossed, served and filed such a document.

Taking into account the Trial Court's Find-

ings following the July 19, 1990, hearing

on Appellant's Motion for a Settled State-

ment, this Court “determined” in an Order

filed August 7 and 8, 1989, hearing was

“correct and no further proceedings to

Correct the Record (were) warranted." The

cited “testimony" is not part of the re-

cord.

During the 1989 Trial Ward did testify

the Access Road burdened with the Easement

(Ex 2-A)did not appear on his 1975 Photo-

graph (Exhibit E) as a continuous road.

Counsel for Respondent commented the miss-

ing portion of the Access Road may have

existed but did not appear on the Photo-

graph (due to altitude and aspect of the

plane, the angle of the camera, etc.) and

the Trial Court agreed the missing portion

may not have been photographed. Ward ac-

-96-

knowledged there could be some distortion

from the apex of the camera.

Appellant uses this portion of the tes-

timony to support her contention "the mid-

portion was constructed ‘last month' when

VOrd ‘was up there with a bulldozer---re-

grading the roads.'" As previously noted,

the record supports Van Orden merely clear-

ed brush and filled in gullies as part of

necessary and routine maintenance and re-

pairs he was entitled by law to perform.

(Burris v People's Ditch Co (1894) 104

Cal. 248, 252.) There is no showing the re-

pairs six months prior to trial affected

the "substance" of the easement, (Kreiger

Vv Pacific Gas & Electric co (1981) 119 Cal.

App.3d.137, 145-146.)

Van Orden I established the Access

Road, the only feasible Access Road run-

ning from the southern 80 acres into the

Northern 80 acres, was in existence in

rough form dating back to the late 1920's.

-97-

It was bulldozed and improved. and in the

form generally depicted on the Plat Map

drawn by Brown in 1989, prior to Appel-

lant's purchase of the property in May of

1970. (Van Orden I,supra, typed Opn. p.

12.) The record does not support Appel-

lant's contention that Van Orden unlawful-

ly altered the Access Road just prior to

the 1989 Trial.

“POINT IV"

Appellant contends she never saw the

two questions embodied in the "Special

Verdict" form submitted by Respondents and

read to the Jury just prior to delibera-

tions, the questions were submitted by

Respondents and Appellant voiced no objec-

tion (on the record) to them. After the

Jury had begun deliberations Appellant

asked where the questions had come from

and wanted to know why she had not been

able to submit questions, The court

advised her she could have.

-98-

hs leg

It is likely the Special Verdict Form

was approved by the court during the Con-

ference on Instructions, which Appellate

attended earlier in the day the matter was

submitted to the Jury. A Special Verdict

can be submitted to the Jury at the behest

of either party or on the Court's own mo-

tion. The determination whether or not to

submit a Special Verdict to a Jury rests

in the Trial Court's sound discretion and

no abuse of discretion is demonstrated

here. (Code Civ. Proc., #625; Gherman v

Colburn (1977) 72 Cal.App.3dd 544, 590;

Wiencke v Bibby (1910) 15 Cal.App. 50,55)

Appellate maintains the Special Verdict

was really all that the Jury was given to

8

consider.

8/ The special Verdict submitted to the

Jury read as follows: “We the Jury in the

above entitled cause, find the following

Verdict on the questions submitted to us:

Question No.l: How wide shall the easement

(Fn. continued)

-99-

The concluding instruction --BAJI 15.52

(Concluding Instruction --Special Verdict)

was read to the Jury just prior to the

two guestions contained in the Special Ver-

dict Form. BAJI 15.52 instructed the Jury

to "(a)nswer the questions according to

instructions on the (Special Verdict) Form

and all instructions of the 5g I

(emphasis added. )!

The Jury was further instructed to "con-

Sider all of the instructions as a whole"

in reaching their Verdict (BAJI £.Ok),

in light of all the evidence received,

across the Plaintiff's 80 acres be ? Answer:

The easement shall be feet in width,

Question No. 2: Is the extent of the Right

of access, that is, use by vehicular traf-

fic for ingress and egress, reasonably re-

guired considering all the uses for which

the property is adapted and available and

consistent with prior use ? Answer ‘yes '

Or 'no'. Answer: Ms

according to the value the Jury accorded

the evidence (BAJI 1.00 & 1.00.5). The

Jury considered the evidence and the law

set out in the applicable Instructions in

arriving at the answers provided on the

Special Verdict Form. The Jury was not

given the Special Verdict Form to consid-

er in a vacuum.

The Special Instruction submitted by Res-

pondents advising the Jurors of the effect

of Van Orden I, which Appellant main-

tains she was “unaware of." was obviously

approved during the instruction conference,

was factually correct and given, as indi-

cated, by the Trial Judge.

Appellant suffered no conceivable harm

by the fact the court instructed the Jury

pursuant to Respondents' BAJI Instructions

and rejected Appellant's BAJI Instructions

where they were duplicative. The Jury

never asked to look at the written instruc-

tions, so they never saw it was Appel-

-101-

lant's duplicates that were rejected.

The Jury would have no way of knowing

Appellant had submitted duplicate In-

structions because the Jury would not

have been provided duplicates. If Appel-

lant wanted reasons stated why the Court

rejected certain of her other Instruc-

tions she should have asked for the Court

Reporter to be present during the Instruc-

tion Conference so there would be a record

for this Court to review. Anvpellant has

established no prejudice.

“POINT V"

Appellant erroneously refers to

record testimony from Van Orden I in

support of her next contention that the

testimony as to the width of the easement

at the time of Implication does not sup-

port the judgment. All the relevant testi-

mony on the issue on Remand from Van

Orden I is contained in the Clerk's and

Reporter's Transcripts of the August 7 & &,

102-

ee

1989, Retrial, and appropriate Exhibits.

That is the Record considered by this

Court. Many of the Exhibits referenced in

this portion of the Brief (and elsewhere)

were not marked and entered as Exhibits

during the 1989 Trial, despite the fre-

quent urging of Respondents' Counsel and

the Court that Appellant do so. Even Ap-

pellant acknowledged this was creating a

problem. 4 Often Appellant's "Exhibits"

( e.g.,Photographs, Maps etc.) were simply

shown to the witness Appellant was ques-~-

tioning. In many instances they were un-

identified in and unidentifiable from,

the Record, even in context of testimony

in which the “exhibits" were presumably

pertinent.

9/ Ms. Rabida:"The problem (is); your

Honor, we have different Maps, and they

haven't been actually described to the

Court of Appeals. And the Map--I will

save that for my testimony.

-103-

It is not the responsibility of the Appel-

late Court to match unidentified Exhibits

to Record testimony, nor was it the respon-

Sibility of the Trial Court to make a sa-

tisfactory record to facilitate any later

Appellate Review Appellant might seek.

""A layman with resources who insists upon

exercising the privilege of representing

himself must expect and receive the same

treatment as if represented by an attorney

--no different, no better, no worse'..."

(Lambardi v Citizens Nat. Trust etc. Bank

(1955)137 Cal.App. 2d 206, 209; Taylor v

Bell (1971) 21 Cal.App.3d 1002, 1009';

Doran v Dryer (1956) 143 Cal.App.2d 289,

290.) Otherwise ignorance is unjustly re-

warded. (Ibid)

Again, the import of Appellate's argu-

ment on this issue seems to be the Access

Road did not exist at the time she acquired

her property in 1970, therefore it had no

width, That issue was finally decided

-104-

against her in 1985; again we cite Van

Orden I.

"POINT VI"

Appellate next claims that Van Orden

had no knowledge of her property prior to

his traveling on it in 1971, therefore he

had no knowledge of the use to which the

land was put prior to the time she acquired

the property in May 1970. Actually, upon

cross-examination by appellant, Van Orden

recalled he likely travelled across Appel-

Vant's property sometime in the summer of

1970, probably June of 1970, i.e. a month

after Appellant purchased the southern 80

Acres. Van Orden testified on his first

trip the road had been "cleaned up with a

bulldozer, but not freshly made."

In upholding the Lower Court's determi-

nation that respondents held an Easement

by Implication in Van Orden I, the Court,

in effect, affirmed that all the condi-

tions precedent to such a finding were

-105-

Satisfied. The road was used by Van Orden,

and by implication the other Respondents

Similarly situated in the upper 80 acres,

for access to their northern parcels ona

limited, recreational basis. Van Orden -

established the road was subject to Access

for recreational use as far back as 1929,

(Van Orden I, supra typed Op. Pe

On Remand the Trial Court was directed

to establish the width of the Implied Ease-

ment. In so doing it was directed to take

"additional evidence regarding the (width

of) the existing road," taking into account

"the nature of the traffic carried by the

road after it was bulldozed (in 1970)" ana

"the nature of the use to which it was put

at the time the Easement by Implication

arose." (Van Orden I supra, typed, Opn.

ppl8-19) a 30-foot Easement on an "Off-Site

Access Road" was required by the Kern

County Parcel Ordianace; the 30-foot Ease-

ment established by the Jury is Supported

-106-

by substantial evidence. As established,

the Access easement is the minimum width

required to satisfy an applicable Local

Ordinance, and is consistent with it's

prior ae:

"POINT VII"

Appellant argues the Trial court erred

in refusing to confine the testimony at

Trial to the condition of the road as it

existed in 1970, i.e. the time the Easement

by Implication arose. As previously ex-

plained, the Court did not err in receiving

testimony as to the width of the Access

Road as it presently existed, or testimo-

ny as to pertinent Ordinances. As we

stated, the present uses, interveening

uses, and reasonably to be expected uses

of 1970, are relevant to the width of the

Implied Easement at the time it was ac-

quired in 1970.

As this Court stated in Van Orden I:

"'t"(w)henever an easement is implied, re-

-10/7-

—_ aleemaas aati nian

gardless of how the implication arises,

the extent of it's use is not neccessari-

ly limited to the prior use made of the

property by the grantor, the Court in

each case examines all of the facts and

circumstances surrounding the transaction

to give effect to the actual intent of

the parties. The prior use of the ease-

ment, or the nature of the Easement as

evidenced by a Map or by representations,

are persuasive circumstances that usually

lead to the conclusion that the prior or

represented use is the limit of the future

use of the Easement, However, such use is

not always so limited. In some cases the

court measures the future use of the ease-

ment by the future utilization and develop-

ment of the dominant tenement which might

reasonably have been expected by the

parties."(citation.)..."The Implied Ease-

ment is not confined to the precise use

at the time of transfer? i.e., it may have

-108-

a broader scope that the quasi-easement

on which it is based. The test is the

Intent of the Parties as to the use rea-

sonaly contemplated." (Citations. )'

(Horowitz v Noble (1978) 79 Cal.App3d

120, 133-134; see also George v Goshgarian

(1983) 139 Cal.app.3d 856, 861-863.)"

(Van Orden I, supra typed Opn. p. 11)

In Kytasty v Godwin, supra 102 Cal.

App.3d 762, 771772, the appellate Court

explained: “where the easement is acquired

by an Implied Grant, the scope of the ease-

ment is measured by the extent the proper-

ty was obviously and permanently used at

the time when the transfer was completed.

(ccP # 1104)...the extent of an easement

by Implied Grant must be inferred from

all of the circumstances of the case among

which the existing and reasonably to be

expected uses are considered (Citations).

a number of California Cases have dis-

cussed the uses permitted and suggest the

-109-

Intent of the Parties should be controll-

ing.(citation)....The question as to the

amount of property subjected to the Ease-

ment, the width of the existing Road or

Easement, is one of fact for determina-

tion by the Trial Court.(Citation)."

(Ibid., emphasis added)

In Kytasty the Appellate court held the

evidence "(did) not support a finding the

Easement used or reasonably expected for

future use of the dominant tenement was

60 feet wide," reversed the Judgmemt on

that point and remanded for further pro-

ceedings. (Kytasty v Godwin, supra,

102 Cal. App.3d 762, 772, 774, emphasis

added.) Here, in addition to the evidence

recited at length , the testimony of a Se-

nior Planner in the Kern County Planning

and Development Services, and the applica-

ble Section of the Kern County Parcel Map

Ordinance established the Off-Site Access

Road here required a minimum 30-foot Ease-

-110-

rer eee

ment. this is what was reasonably required

as of 1970, for the "future use of the

Dominant Tenement...." (Id, at p. 7/72)

"Points" VIII-XIX

These "Points" cover matter that could

have been raised or were resolved (direct-

ly or impliedly) contrary to Appellant's

position in Van Orden I, or are address-

ed in Points I-III and V-VII of the In-

stant Opinion.

The Judgment is affirmed.

Brown (Sno. A.)

Brown, J.*

WE CONCUR:

Best

Best, P.J.

Buckley

Buckley, J.

* Retired Presiding Judge of the Court of

Appeal sitting under assignment by the

Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

-111-

Court of Appeal Fifth Appellate District

Filed Mar. 29, 1985

by Kevin A. Swanson-Clerk, Deputy

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA FIFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

JOSEPH PB. VAN ORDEN,et al., ) 5 Civil No.

Plaintiffs, Cross- F002875

defendants and bdininaeaes (Super. Ct.

Vv. No. 148546)

PAT ROSE, OPINION

Defendant, Cross-

)

complainant, and Appellant.

APPEAL from judgment of the superior

Court of the County of Kern, John M.

Stanton, Judge. Affirmed in part;

reversed in part.

Sylvia T. Whitmore, Levin, Ballin,

Plotkin & Zimring, Stuart D. Zimring and

Nancy O. Marutani for Defendant, Cross-

complainant and Appellant.

Gerald Goldfarb and Harry M. Reynolds

-ll2- -

APPENDIX B

OS ee

for Plaintiffs, Cross-defendants and

Respondents.

Defendant Pat Rose appeals from a judg-

ment in favor of plaintiffs on the com-

plaint and in favor of plaintiffs and

cross-defendants on the cross-complaint.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

From 1929 until 1969, the southeast

guarter of section 11, Township 29 south,

Range 33 East, Mount Diablo Meridian was

owned by Jeremiah and Phyllis M. Mc Carthy.

During this period, the Mc Carthys utilized

at least two clearly marked and defined

trails to travel from the southern half to

the northern half of the property for

hiking, horseback riding and other ranching

purposes.

In October 1969, the Mc Carthys sold this

property to Robert C. Monroe. Early in 1970,

Floyd Walls Jr., a licensed engineer, was

hired by Monroe to do surveying and road

work on the subject property. Working with

“113°

Allan Whitlock, Walls walked the property,

observing an “undesirable road" or “horse

and buggy trail" which generally followed

the terrain, and was visible in some places

but obscured by growth and washed away in

others. Using a bulldozer, Walls modified

this existing road, following it fr4om the

western border of the southern 80 acres,

north into the northern 80 acres and then

south into the southern 80 acres again.

Walls completed this road work in February

or nasck 1970; the surveyor prepared his

map after the road had been completed.

Responding to an advertisement concern-

ing the sale by Monroe of the property, de-

fendant, in May 1970, visited it for the

purpose of viewing the southern 80 acres,

accompanied by Monroe's agent, Russ 1/

Milburn, among others. Milburn showed de-

fendant a surveyor's map of the quarter

1/ Russ Milburn and Stoye Milburn

appear to be the same person.

-114-

a

section, which depicted a road entering

the southern 80 acres from the west, run-

ning north into the northern 80 acres in

a bell-shaped-curve, then continuing back

south into the southern 80 acres. Thie map

receited, inter alia, “these two parcels 80

acres--22(,)600(.)00 with roads as indicat-

ed." On the day that defendant viewed the

property, and during subsequent conversa-

tions, Milburn discussed with her the fact

that the road depicted on the surveyor's

map would provide access to the northern

80 acres, and defendant never voiced any

objection. In May 1970, defendant pur-

chased the southern 80 acres of the pro-

perty.

On Sept 28, 1970, the Milburns purchased

the northern 80 acres of the subject proper-

ty from the Monroes. Plaintiff Joseph Van

Orden purchased 40 fo the 80 acres from

Milburn in 1971. When Van Orden first vi-

sited the property in 1971, he utilized the

-1i5-

road that passed through defendant's pro-

perty from west to north for access to his

(Van Orden's) property, and there was no

gate preventing use of said road. Van Orden

visited his property about two times a year,

including a visit in late summer 1972, to

show it to a prospective buyer. Although

he noticed a gate in 1972, the gate was not

locked until 1973. The only public road in

the vicinity of the subject property is

Piute Mountain road. Plaintiffs‘ property

does not abut Piute Mountain Road, which is

about one-fourth of a mile distant at the

nearest points, to the north and to the

west. The land to the west of plaintiffs'

land is controlled by the Bureau of Land

Management (BLM), and is very steep and

impassable. The land to the north of plain-

tiffs' property is very steep with large

boulders and numerous ravines. East of

Plaintiffs' property is Sequoia National

Forrest wilderness land.

-116-

)

Three or four years prior to the time of

trial, engineer Walls walked plaintiffs’

property in order to determine the feasibi-

lity of constructing an access road which

did not cross defendant's property. Build-

ing a road from the north would be prohibi-

tively expensive because of the need to

blast through rock. A road constructed from

the west would cost about $50,000 to build.

At the time of trial, new county regula-

tions would increase the cost of a western

access road to $100,000. Plaintiff Van

Orden never investigated obtaining an ease-

ment over BLM land to the west, alleging it

would have been pointless, since no road

could be built there.

Defense Case

When defendant first visited the south-

ern 80 acres in May 1970, with (among

others) Milburn, there were no roads on the

property. When Milburn showed her the map

depicting a bell-shaped road extending from

-117-

the southern 80 acres into the northern 80

acres, she objected, and stated that she

did not want a road crossing her property

into the northern 80 acres. Defendant had

Originally intended to purchase only 40

acres (on the eastern side), but purchased

the western 40 acres to insure her privacy.

Milburn assured her that there would be no

need for any road passing through her pro-

perty, and that some teachers who also want-

ed privacy, were purchasing the northern

80 acres.

An access road to defendant's property

from the west was constructed in May 1970,

In September 1970, John E. Varin was hired

by Milburn to build a road from the south-

ern 80 acres into the northern 80 acres.

When Varin began bulldozing, defendant ap-

peared and ordered him to stop and get off

her property, but Varin thought he was on

Milburn's land, so continued working.

Varin did not follow existing roads or

-115-

trails in constructing the road into the

northern 80 acres, and did not see any

road as supposedly built by Walls. After

his initial confrontation with defendant,

Varin became her friend and did other road

construction work for her, In 1971, when

he went to defendant's property to do some

work, the road was blocked by a locked gate,

and defendant's brother had to come and un-

lock it so Varin could get past

Defendant first put up the locked gate in

September 1970. Her locks were shot off

twice, and the gate was broken once, but

defendant replaced the locks each time.

Defendant's friend Hope Gentry visited

defendant's property in 1971, 1972, 1973,

or 1974 and 1975 or 1976, and each time

the gate was locked with a padlock and

chain.

Donald E. Ward, a land surveyor and

civil engineer, visited defendant's proper-

ty in August 1980. Walking on BLM land west

-119-

of the subject property, Ward concluded

that a road could be constructed across BLM

land from the Piute Mountain Road southeast

to plaintiffs' land for between $2,000 to

$4,000.

Lewis A. Boll, local district manager

for BLM, stated that if all federal re-

gGuirements were met, the BLM office in

Sacramento would grant an easement over

BLM land.

James Rickett, general manager of West-

ern Photo Air, took an aerial photo of the

Subject area on July 19, 1975. Comparing

that photo to other photos of the same

area taken in 1940, 1962, April 1970 and

July 1970, Rickett could not observe any

road crossing defendant's property and

entering plaintiffs' property until the

1975 photo.

DISCUSSION

I. There was substantial Evidence to Support

a Finding of Implied Easement

-120-

"The law with regard to implied easements

is not uncertain and was most amply summa-

rized by (the) court in Orr v Kirk

(1950) 100 Cal.App.2d 678, at page 681...

"'The elements necessary to create a

"“guasi-easement" or grant by implication,

upon serverance of unity of ownership in an

estate, are: (1) a separation of title

(which implies unity of ownership at some

former time as the foundation of the right);

(2) necessity that before separation takes

place the use which gives rise to the ease-

ment shall be so long continued and obvious

as to show it was meant to be permanent;

and (3) the easement must be reasonably nec-

cessary to the beneficial enjoyment of the

land granted. (Citation) The law does not

favor the implication of easements . Such

implication can only be made in connection

with a conveyance, and in view of the rule

that a conveyance is to be construed against

the grantor, the court will imply an ease-

-l12i-

ment in favor of the grantee more easily

than it will imply an easement in favor of

a grantor. Whether an easement arises by

implication on a conveyance of real estate

depends on the intent of the parties, which

must clearly appear in order to sustain an

easement by implication. In order to deter-

mine the intent, the court will take into

consideration the circumstances attending

the transaction, the particular situation

of the parties, and the state of the thing

granted. (Citation.) The purpose of the

doctrine of implied easements is to give

the effect to the actual intent of the par-

ties as shown by all the facts and circum-

Stances....'"(Kytasty v. Godwin (1980)

102 Cal.App.3d 762m 769.)

Defendant attacks the trial court's

finding of implied easement in a number of

particulars, considered below. In connec-

tion with these attacks, and throughout her

briefs on appeal, defendant argues that the

-122-

evidence was insufficient to support the

factual findings of the court, In this re-

gard, it should be noted that where the

trial court's findings are challenged on

sufficiency of evidence, the appellant

bears the heavy burden of showing that

there is no substantial evidence whatsoever

to support those findings, (Division of

Labor Law Enforcement v. Transpacific

Transportation Co. (1979) 88 Cal.App.3d

823, 829.) The reviewing court starts with

the presumption that the record contains

evicence to sustain every finding of fact,

(Foreman & Clark Corp. v. Fallon (1971)

3 Cal.3d 875, 881.) "‘" The power of the

appellate court begins and ends with

the determination as to whether there is

any substantial evidence contradicted or

uncontradicted which will support the find-

ing of fact,'" (Ibid.) If the appellant

contends that some particular issue of fact

is not sustained, she is “'required to set

-123-

forth in (her) brief all the material

evidence on the point and not merely her

own evidence. Unless this is done the

error assigned is deemed waived,'" (Ibid.)

“Substantial evidence means evidence which

is of ponderable legal significance--evi-

dence that is reasonable in nature, credi-

ble and of solid value," H. Russell

Taylor's Fire Prevention Service ,Inc. v.

Coca-Cola Bottling Corp. (1979) 99 Cal.

App.3d 711,726.) “The trier of fact is the

sole arbiter of all conflicts in the evi-

dence, conflicting interpretations thereof,

ani contiictiae inferences which may be

reasonably may be drawn therefrom; is the

sole judge of the credibiliity of witness-

es; may disbelieve them even though they

are uncontradicted if there is any rational

ground for doing so, one such reason for

disbelief being the interests of the wit-

nesses in the case; and , in the exercise

of a sound legal discretion, may draw or

-124-

refuse to draw inferences reasonably dedu-

Ccible from the evidence." (Johnson v.

Pacific Indemnity Co. (1966) 242 Cal.App.

2d 878, 880.) "(T)he appellate court ordi-

narily looks only at the evidence support-—

ing the successful party, and disregards

the contrary showing. (6 Witkin, Cal.

Procedure ((2d ed. 1971)) #249, at p.

4241.)" (Nestle v. City of Santa Monica

(1972) 6 Cal.3d 920, 925.) The testimony

of a single witness, even a party, is suf-

ficient to support a judgment, (In re Mar-

riage of Mix (1975) 14 Cal.3d 604, 614.)

A Separation of Title

The trial court found, inter alia, that

the original owners of the 160 acres in

question herein conveyed them (in Oct.

1969)"...to ROBERT C. MONROE, MARY ALICE

MONROE and A FLETCHER HARRIS (herein

'MONROE'). (sic)" The trail court fur-

ther found that "MONROE (sic) conveyed

the (southern 80 acres) to PAT and RAYMOND

-125-

ROSE(,)" and then "conveyed the (northern

80 acres) to STOYE and ANNA MILBURN. The

court also found that plaintiffs "are the

present owners of various parcels in the

(northern 80 acres)." defendant now con-

tends that these findings do not include

"a finding as to the disposition of A.

Fletcher Harris's (sic) interest."

It must first be pointed out that the

trial court, in its recitation of findings,

specifically referred to Robert C. Monroe,

Mary alice Monroe and a. Fletcher Harris

collectively as "'"MONROE.'" in finding

No. 3, so that the subsequent references in

findings 6 and 8 to "'MONROE'" as a grantor

included the interest of all three of the

1969 grantees. Since the findings thus de-

monstrably did account for the interest of

A. Fletcher Harris, defendant's contention

in this regard is patently specious.

Further, it is apparent that plaintiffs'

counsel prepared the findings of fact for

~126-

the court's signature with uncritical re-

ference to the original complaint, since

there was absolutely no evidence at trial

that Harris was ever involved as a grantor

or grantee in any of the relevant land

transactions. By the time of trial,

plaintiffs had already obtained an order

that the chain of title of the subject

properties was without substantial contro-

versy and did not include A. Fletcher

Harris, but evidently forgot this little

detail when preparing the findings for

Signature after trail.

A similar problem arose in Estate of

Moore (1953) 143 Cal.App.2d 64, wherein

the "draftsman (of the trial court's find-

ings) went through the allegations of the

pleadings paragraph to be true or untrue."

(Id., at pp. 77-78.) This let to “numerous

conflicts and some ertroneous findings as

to evidentiary facts." (Id., at p. 78.)

The Court of Appeal held that the erroneous

-127-

i

findings resulting from the poor draftsman-

ship were not prejudicial. since "' (a) re-

viewing court will liberally construe find-

ings in support of the judgment. Any uncer-

tainties will be construed so as to uphold

rather than defeat the judgment. (Citation. )

In reviewing the sufficiency of findings to

support a judgment, the court will regard the

ultimate facts found.' (Citation.) The find-

ings as to the evidentiary facts may be

ignored. (Citations)" (Ibid.) 7

In the present case, if there are any

uncertainties in the findings bearing upon

separation of title because of the presence

or absence of mention of A. Fletcher Harris,

the findings should be liberally construed

to uphold the judgment and to regard the

fact of separation of title as found by the

trial court. The evidence at trial supports

unity of ownership in the Mc Carthys, fol-

lowed by conveyance to the Monroes, then to

defendant (southern 80 acres) and the

-128-

Milburns (northern 80 acres) and succes-

sively to the other plaintiffs, all with-

out uncertainty or contradiction.

Under these circumstances, it cannot pre-

judice defendant to interpret the findings

in consonance with the record.

B. Long and obvious Use prior to Separation

Defendant appears to have abandoned

the contention, made in her opening brief,

that the findings relating to prior use are

insufficiently definite to support the

judgment, since her reply brief merely as-

serts that the findings are not supported

by the evidence, without any inadequacy as

to the findings themselves. Defendant

argues that the sole evidence of prior use

--the declaration of Phyllis Mc Carthy--

established that the trails which were

ultimately bulldozed into the north/south

"bell-shaped" road were used by the Mc

Carthys for ranching and recreational pur-

poses, and thus will not support an

-129-

implied easement for ingress and egress.

The distinction between travel into the

northern 80 acres for "ranching and recrea-

tional" purposes and travel into the same

land for "ingress and egress" is a subtle

one. There was no evidence produced at

trial to indicate the “purpose" for which

plaintiffs visited their property, although

Joseph Van Orden's testimony that he went

there about twice a year strongly suggests

that his interests were recreational.

In any case,"“' (w)henever an easement is

implied, regardless of how the implication

arises, the extent of its use is not neces-

Sarily limited to the prior use made of

the property by the grantor, the court in

each, examines all of the facts and circum-

stances Surrounding the transaction to give

effect to the actual intnet of the parties.

The prior use of the easement, or the na-

ture of the easement as evidenced by a map

Or by representations, are persuasive cir-

-130-

ee

cumstances that usually lead to the conclu-

sion that the prior or represented use is

the limit of the future use of the easement.

However, such use is not always so limited.

In some cases the court measures the future

use of the easement by the future utiliza-

tion and development of the dominant tene-

ment which might reasonably have been ex-

pected by the parties.' (Citation.)...'The

implied easement is not confined to the

precise use at the time of the transfer;

i.e., it may have a broader scope than the

quasi-easement on which it is based. The

test is the intent of the parties as to the

use reasonably contemplated.' (Citations. )"

(Horowitz v Noble (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d

120,133-134; see also George v Goshgarian

(1983) 139 Cal. App3d 856, 861-863.)

Ignoring the dposition testimony of

“i lburn,* the trial court had the fol-

2/ Treating Milburn as an adverse party

pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure section

(Fn. continued. )

-13i-

lowing evidence regarding the intent of

the parties as to the scope of the easement

crossing defendant's property: Defendant

admitted that Milburn had shown her the

“Whitlock map" which depicted the subject

road and receited "with roads as indicat-

ed," and that Milburn told her that her

property would be subject to those roads.

Defendant was aware that the property to

the north of hers was being purchased by

others. Engineer Walls testified that he

constructed the subject road in early 1970.

prior to defendant's first visit to the

property, and that he had been hired by

2016, subdivision (d)(now subd,(e)) (2),

which permits the use of deposition testi-

mony Of a party “for any purpose" if offer-

ed by “an adverse party", appears to have

been error by the trial court, Milburn was

named plaintiff and an owner of property

in the northern 80 acres, and as such shar-

ed the interests of the other plaintiffs

-132-

cd

Monroe to do the road work. The “Whitiock

map" which was shown to defendnt was pre-

pared after Walls had buldozed the access

road. Finally, the access road was built

following a previous “undesirable road" or

trail which Phyllis Mc Carthy established

had been used for access to the northern

80 acres for many years, and that this

road was the only feasible means of travel

from the southern to the northern property.

in establishing the easement in dispute.

The fact that the other plaintiffs might

have sought redress in the future (i.e.,

had the sought after easement been reject-

ed by the court, other purchasers of land

in the northern 80 acres might have sued

Milburn, their grantor, for misrepresenta-

tion) did not render their positions ad-

verse in the litigation against defendant,

Mahoney v. Founders' Ins. Co. (1961)

190 Cal.App.2d 430, cited by plaintiffs,

is of no help on this issue, since the depo-

(Fn. continued)

«i133-

Under these circumstances, it was en-

tirely reasonable for the trial court to

conclude that the parties (Monroe and de-

fendant) intended the easement crossing

defendant's land to provide access to pro-

spective purchasers of the northern 80

acres. Assuming that the court believed

Wall's testimony that the subject road had

been constructed prior to May 1970, and

that defendant had in fact examined her

property prior to purchase, the court may

have simply have disbelieved defendant's

story of protestations to Milburn, and her

claimed failure to observe any roads going

into the northern 80 acres. The fact that

Monroe caused the road to be constructed

prior to the sale of the southern 80 acres

Sition testimony admitted wareonnt to Code

of Civil Procedure section 2016, subdivi-

sion (d) (2) in that case was of the prin-

Cipal obligor ina suit by the obligee

against the surety. (Id.,at pp 434-435.)

(Fn. continued)

-134-

to defendant is alone persuasive evidence

that he intended the easement for the in-

gress and egress of the owners of the nor-

thern land, and defendant's intent can be

inferred from her purchase after seeing the

"Whitlock map," after she physically examin-

ed the property and after she was told by

Milburn that the access road existed. Con-

trary evidence of defendant's intent mere-

ly raises a conflict which the court, as

the trier of fact, resolved in plaintiffs’

favor.

Defendant contends that the Milburn dep-

osition contained the only evidence support-

ing the trial court's implied finding that

the parties to the conveyance of the south-

The interests of creditor and debtor are

nitestie makin and adverse, and the

surety stands in the position of the debt-

or as to a default by the latter. (Ibid)

In the present matter, at the point at

which Milburn's testimony was offered by

(Fn. continued)

-135-

ern 80 acres intended that the "bell-shaped"

road provide access to the northern 80 acres,

and because Milburn's deposition was inad-

missible (see fn. 3), the requisite finding

of intent to support the implied easement

is contrary to the evidence.

As noted above, the Milburn deposition

was not the only evidence of the parties'

intent--the circumstances surrounding the

transaction , including prior construction

of the road, defendant's own description of

her interaction with Milburn, and the prior

use of the “wagon trail" by the Mc Carthys,

all indicate that the Monroes and defendant

plaintiffs, he was unambiguously alined in

interest with them, and could not be con-

sidered adverse except in the most specu-

lative sense. As noted in the main discus-

sion, the absense of Milburn's testimony

does not rob the trial court's findings of

evidentiary support, and the error in ad-

mitting it was therefore nonprejudicial.

-136-

mast have intended that the access ease-

ment be reserved with regard to the north--

ern 80 acres. Defendant's evidence to the

contrary simply has no significance ina

sufficiency ana

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rabida v. Van Orden · 506 U.S. 822 | Frix