Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shubert Organization, Inc. v. Landmarks Preservation Commission

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Couft, -U.S

Q kor93 3 82 FILED

--

IN THE FEB 26 892

Supreme Court of the United PGi The |

OCTOBER TERM, 1991 <page

_>

THE SHUBERT ORGANIZATION, INC., ef ai.,

Petitioners,

—V —

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF THE

CITY OF NEW YORK, et ai.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION

FIRST JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALVIN M. STEIN*

PARKER CHAPIN FLATTAU & KLIMPI

Attorneys for Petitioner The Shubert

Organization, Inc. Jujamcyn Theatres

Corporation, The League of American

Theatres and Producers, Inc., and

239-247 West 45th Street Corp.

1211 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

(212) 704-6000

Of Counsel:

AMOS ALTER

SHARON H. STERN

* Counsel Of Record

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ & MENDELSOHN

Attorneys for Petitioners Nederlander

Organization Inc., Nederlander Amuse-

ment Corp. of Maryland, Nederlander

Theatrical Corp., All State Amusement

Co. of Illinois, Inc., Hellinger/Neder-

lander 46th Street Corp., Lunt Theatre

Co. (A New York General Partnership),

Rose Nederlander Associates, Inc., and

Alvin Nederlander Associates, Inc.

1585 Broadway

Of Counsel:

GREGG M. MASHBERG

New York, New York 10036

(212) 969-3000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does this Court’s Penn Central decision (438 U.S. 104

[1978]) preclude an as-applied Takings Clause challenge to a

landmark designation?

2. In determining whether the interior and exterior land-

marking of certain theatres constitutes a compensable taking,

should a court apply solely a bright-line test as to whether all

value has been destroyed, or must there be a review of all rel-

evant factors, including, where necessary, fact-finding (or

remand for fact-finding) on disputed issues of material fact?

3. Are the police-power and equal protection limitations

upon governmental real property regulation, which inhere in

the requirement of a comprehensive plan, satisfied in land-

marking in general, or in New York City’s landmarking ordi-

nance in particular?

4. Does a Special Demolition Permit requirement, applica-

ble only to a handful of specified properties, effectively pro-

hibiting any change in their use while neighboring properties

remain unrestricted, constitute unconstitutional reverse spot-

zoning?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceeding below appear in the first

footnote.* Petitioners are all the original plaintiffs. Respon-

dents other than Save The Theatres, Inc., are all the original

defendants. Respondent Save The Theatres, Inc., was origi-

nally not a party, but was granted leave by the trial court,

first to appear as amicus, and then to intervene.

None of the corporate parties has publicly traded stock.

The information required by this Court’s Rule 29.1 is set

forth in the second footnote.**

Petitioners are The Shubert Organization, Inc., Nederlander Organi-

zation, Inc., Jujamcyn Theaters Corporation, The League of Ameri-

can Theaters and Producers, Inc., Nederlander Amusement Corp. of

Maryland, Nederlander Theatrical Corp., All State Amusement Co. of

Illinois, Inc., Hellinger/Nederlander 46th Street Corp., Lunt Theatre

Co. (a New York general partnership), Rose Nederlander Associates,

Inc., Alvin Nederlander Associates, Inc., and 239-247 West 45th Street

Corp.

Respondents are Landmarks Preservation Commission of the City

of New York, City Planning Commission of the City of New York,

Board of Estimate of the City of New York, The City of New York,

and Save The Theatres, Inc.

Petitioner The Shubert Organization, Inc., is a wholly-owned sub-

sidiary of The Shubert Foundation, Inc., a not-for-profit corporation

fostering the theatre arts. Petitioner The Shubert Organization, Inc.,

owns a one-half interest in petitioner 239-247 West 45th Street, Inc.,

together with a one-half interest owned by the Estate o! Irving Berlin.

Petitioners Nederlander Amusement Corp. of Maryland, Nederlander

Theatrical Corp., All State Amusement Co. of Illinois, Inc.,

Hellinger/Nederlander 46th Street Corp., Rose Nederiander Associ-

ates, Inc. and Alvin Nederlander Associates, Inc., are all wholly-

owned subsidiaries of petitioner Nederlander Organization, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented For Review.................05. i

Er ee re ee li

sa eek n acu cusncae ee enausade ses iv

ee ee ee cad ed babs eke ewe kA wh eb wae l

SE EE OUNEMOORIONE conc cece cacantscssctscsces 2

Constitutional Provisions And Statutes Involved...... 2

De cick ews Seen eenseunvana 3

Reasons For Granting The Writ ................... 7

This Case Raises The Question Of The Proper

Application Of Penn Central And Its Progeny

To As-applied Takings Clause Challenges .... 7

This Case Invites This Court, If The Court

Deems It Appropriate, To Review Landmarks

Law’s Place Within Takings Clause Jurispru-

sleeve rice h heehee haa GAS ea 10

The Special Demolition Permit Requirement

Constitutes Unconstitutional Reverse Spot-

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 (1967))

Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 CIFGO) «ww. se aceccas

PAGE

Sn

Sn

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40 (1960) ....11, lln

Asian Americans for Equality v. Koch, 72 N.Y.2d 121,

527 N.E.2d 265, 531 N.Y.S.2d 782 (1988) ....13, 13n, 14

Baltimore & Ohio R. Co. v. Aberdeen & Rockfish R.

oe Oe | eee pee ree

Bell v. City of Elkhorn, 122 Wis.2d 558, 364 N.W.2d

| SP Pre ree ere re rrr eee

Bowen v. Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587 (1987)..............

Brendale v. Confederated Tribes, 492 U.S. 408 at 458

i. Aree error errr eer Tre rer errs

Cassel v. City of Baltimore, 195 Md. 348, 73 A.2d 486

SPER kick cele ccece eer kaedewa eiacurekeneeets hese

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.

ee CEN it aer ces eere ieee bckeedr ieee

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S.

BE SI. 65 45605404006 0okas be bands ses eee eas

City of Pharr v. Tippitt, 616 S.W.2d 173 (Tex. 1981)

Clark v. City of Boulder, 146 Colo. 526, 362 P.2d 160

tt ere re rrr eee res ere ry Ter errr eT eT ty eee

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926) ...11

Florida Power & Light Co. v. Lorion, 470 U.S. 729

FE io 8s hae CKD EEA TERS ROeCESEE NSS CEU EOeuees

13

15

14

10

PAGE

Fred F. French Investing Co. v. City of New York, 39

N.Y.2d 587 (1976), 385 N.Y.S.2d 5, 350 N.E.2d 381,

app. dism. and cert den., 429 U.S. 990 (1976)..... 15

Freeman v. City of Yonkers, 205 Misc. 947, 129

N.Y.S.2d 703 (Sup. Ct. Westchester Co. 1954)..... 13

Higginbotham v. City of The Village, 361 P.2d 191

(Oia, PGGD ook vac cece cuwedaasinehactasees cones 13

Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704 (1987). .........5-005- 8, ll

Jackson v. Wilson, 195 So.2d 470 (Miss. 1966) ...... 15

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979).8, 9, 10

Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass’n. v. DeBenedictis, 480

U.S. BIO CIDR) concn cudcacsvsbeetevaccseeeuces 8, 11

Kozesnik v. Township of Montgomery, 24 N.J. 154,

ci © 2 al.) ewer rey rere eres 13, 14

Little v. Board of County Commrs., 631 P.2d 1282

(het. WB. os occ ine n cuss tenpekineevrcesesuners 13

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458

E13. GID CIGD sdk cciccetus wiccsecstsdessueevenes 1]

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, No. 91-453,

i A , ... POPPRTTTET TET Eee eit lin

MacDonald Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County, 477

U.S. 340 CIGOG) oc onic ven cance seenvncsieduesnannen 8, 8n

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977) 14

Munger v. Town of Exeter, 128 N.H. 196, 512 A.2d

iy i, \ oa rrrrrrrreerrrcr rc Terre rt yer 15

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928)....... ae 14

Nollan v. California Coastal Comm’n., 483 U.S. 825

C10GF) x ode knw ud cdnnsecdtanauawanetsceeneeveress Sn

vl

PAGE

Odabesh v. Mayor and Council of the Borough of

Dumont, 65 N.J. 115, 319 A.2d 712 (1974)........ 15

Palazzi v. State, 113 R.1. 218, 319 A.2d 658 (1974) .. 13

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 42

N.Y.2d 324, 336 N.E.2d 1271, 397 N.Y.S.2d 914

(1977), GG. S56 UTR CRGTS) onc accvesscacas 11, 13n

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438

U.S. SR Cree i ia pena Sn, 6n, 7, 7n, 8, 8n, 9, 10,

10n, 11, 12, 13, 13n, 14, 15, 17

Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U.S. 1 (1988) ...... 8, 9n

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922) 1]

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. LTV Corp., ____

U.S. » SEO Bikes Se Co acs aduewescxs les 9

Salvetti v. Zoning Board of Adjustment, 429 Pa. 330,

SAO DAG FOR Ce nk ek ck ae eee 15

Shelton v. City of Bellevue, 73 Wash.2d 28, 435 P.2d

Dae CUPONE < n0kn 6 edie bcaéeaeheeee heen te 14

Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449,

415 N.E.2d 922, 434 N.Y.S.2d 932 (1980) ......... 13n

Tollius v. City of Miami, 96 So.2d 122 (Fla. 1957)... 15

Vernon Park Realty v. City of Mount Vernon, 307

N.Y. 493, ESE MIG Sit Cities nc nst cn ecnanees 15

Williamson County Regional Planning Comm’n. v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985).............. 8n

Vil

PAGE

Statutes:

, Sie come BPs, | arene Pere ee ees 2

Landmarks Law of the City of New York (N.Y.C.

Admin. Code, Title 25, C.3)........... a Re ee

New York City Zoning Resolution § 84-742 [1982] .3, 15, 16

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 199]

No. 91-_

>_>

THE SHUBERT ORGANIZATION, INC., ef al.,

Petitioners,

—_V.—_

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF THE

CITY OF NEW YORK, ef al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION,

FIRST JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

eS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the May 16, 1991, decision and order of the New

York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Judicial

Department, which affirmed the judgment of the nisi prius

court dismissing petitioners’ complaint.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and order (one paper) of the New York

Appellate Division, dated May 16, 1991, is reported at 166

A.D.2d 115 and at 570 N.Y.S.2d 504, and is reproduced in

the appendix hereto at App. la.

2

The opinion of the court of original instance, dated

December 5, 1989 (New York Supreme Court, New York

County, Hon. Irma Vidal Santaella, J.), is not reported. It is

reproduced in the appendix hereto at App. 9a.

The refusals of the New York Court of Appeals to enter-

tain an appeal from the order of the Appellate Division,

dated September 19, 1991 (dismissing appeal purportedly

taken as of right) and December 18, 1991 (denying discretion-

ary leave to appeal) are respectively reported at 78 N.Y.2d

1006, S580 N.E.2d 1059, 575 N.Y.S.2d 456 and at ___

N.Y.2d ; N.E.2d ; Je > Fn

They are both reproduced at App. 43a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners seek review from the opinion and order of the

New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Judicial

Department, dated May 16, 1991, which affirmed dismissal

of their complaint. The New York Court of Appeals, on Sep-

tember 19, 1991, dismissed an appeal purportedly taken as of

right from the said order of the Appellate Division, and on

December 18, 1991, denied discretionary review.

This Court has jurisdiction to review by writ of certiorari a

final judgment or decree rendered by the highest court of a

State in which a decision could be had, where a title, right,

privilege or immunity is specially set up or claimed under the

Constitution of the United States (28 U.S.C. § 1257[a]).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part that ‘‘private property [shall not] be

taken for public use without just compensation.’’ The Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution provides

in pertinent part that ‘‘No State shall deprive any person of

. . property without due process of law, or deny any per-

son within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”’

The Landmarks Law of the City of New York (N.Y.C.

Admin. Code, Title 25, C.3), is set forth in relevant part at

App. 44a.' Relevant parts of New York City’s Zoning Reso-

lution are reproduced at App. 81a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In May 1982, the New York City Board of Estimate

promulgated regulations affecting solely forty-four named

theatres in the Broadway theatre district (the ‘*Listed The-

atres’’), prohibiting their demolition unless a Special Demoli-

tion Permit issued upon a showing either that the theatre was

unsafe, or that demolition would not hurt the entertainment

sector of the City’s economy (Zoning Resolution 81-742

[1982], App. 8la, infra). At the same time, the Board of

Estimate also mandated that the City Planning Commission

develop a comprehensive plan to strengthen the theatre indus-

try, including ‘‘actions’’ of the Landmarks Preservation

Commission (Zoning Resolution 81-74 [1982]). Simultane-

ously, the Landmarks Preservation Commission announced a

public hearing on the proposed landmarking of the Broadway

theatres. After three days of hearings in 1982, the Commis-

sion in November 1987-January 1988 issued forty-seven land-

mark designations affecting twenty-eight theatres (nineteen as

to both exterior and interior, two as to exterior only, and

seven as to interior only).2 Of these twenty-eight theatres,

1 Among the declared purposes of the Landmarks Law are to “‘protect

and enhance the city’s attractions to tourists and visitors and the sup-

port and stimulus to business and industry thereby provided”’ (§ 25-

301[b], infra at App. 45a).

nN

No transcript had been made of the 1982 hearings, and none would

be made until after this action was commenced in May 1989, although

seven of the eleven commissioners had changed before the landmark

designations here in issue were made.

4

twenty-two (involving thirty-nine designations) are owned and

operated by petitioners, and are the subject of this action.’

The Board of Estimate approved em masse these forty-

seven designations without change on March 10, 1988. The

three theatre-owner organizations (Shubert, Nederlander,

Juyamcyn) were first given five minutes each (i.e., an average

of nineteen seconds per designation) to be heard.

Petitioners timely sought judicial review of the designa-

tions, as provided under New York procedure, in the trial-

court (New York Supreme Court, New York County) on

constitutional and other grounds, and sought damages. Since

the Landmarks Preservation Commission had expressly

refused to consider economic evidence,* petitioners presented

to the trial court evidence that, in particular, interior land-

marking (twenty-one of the twenty-two theatres landmarked

had their interiors designated) interfered with and cost bur-

dened continued use of these buildings as theatres.° The trial

3 Two of the Listed Theatres had been landmarked before 1982. Two

more were landmarked in 1982, three in 1985, and one in 1987 before

the ones here in issue. The balance of the Listed Theatres were either

not considered for designation, or not designated.

4 See remarks of Landmarks Commission Chairman Norman at Com-

mission Meeting of December 9, 1986 (App. 84a):

**TA]s you know, the Commission does not look to cost in terms of

how these things are replaced or changes made on a building.

. . . . So the argument that cost should be considered by the com-

mission, I have rejected.”’

5 An interior landmark designation interferes with the owner’s ability

to adapt the theatre to changing productions. The full adverse impact

of these interior designations has been averted (so far) by the willing-

ness of the Landmarks Commission, although unauthorized by law to

do so, to overlook production-related changes, provided, however,

that the owner pledges to restore it to its ‘‘original’’ (i.e., moment of

designation) condition at the end of the show’s run, regardless of (i)

cost, (ii) the necessity of the inevitable new production-related changes

when the next show moves in, and (iii) the fact that the public will have

no ‘‘benefit’’ from the ‘‘restored’’ interior in the interim while the the-

atre is dark. While this informal relaxation of the rules is still confis-

5

court declined to hold an evidentiary hearing® or otherwise

make findings on this point, because, it erroneously held, the

agency below (where the evidence was not presented and

which had expressly refused to consider economic evidence)

had already ruled on the question (see trial court opinion at

App. 27a, infra).’

The trial court also dismissed, without an evidentiary hear-

ing, petitioners’ damage claims, and did not even discuss,

much less rule upon, the petitioners’ claim that the transfer-

able air rights—accorded petitioners by virtue of the land-

mark designations—were without value, because of a lack of

buildable sites within the receiving zone which could utilize

such rights.

On appeal, the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court

affirmed (App. la). The Takings Clause challenge was dis-

posed of summarily (App. Ta):

“Since the [United States] Supreme Court in Penn

Central, supra [438 U.S.] at 138, clearly ruled that the

application of the Landmarks Law does not affect a tak-

catory in the long run, the toleration by the Commission of

production-related changes is legally irrelevant. An attack upon the

validity of formally promulgated rules may not be avoided merely

because the agency announces it will not enforce the rules to their full

extent (Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136 [1967]).

6 Indeed, it even held, erroneously, that it was not empowered to hold

an evidentiary hearing on any of the issues.

7 The trial court’s refusal even to consider this question, of course,

precluded evaluation by it of whether there was the substantial

advancement of legitimate state interests as required by this Court’s

decisions (see Nollan v. California Coastal Comm’n., 483 U.S. 825,

834 [1987]; Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 [1980]; Penn Central

Transportation Co. Vv. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 127 [1978}).

Neither preservation of theatre buildings (the Landmark Commission’s

professed goal) nor preservation of the theatre industry (what petition-

ers contended, and amply demonstrated below, was the Commission’s

true goal, an admittedly illegal one for the Commission under New

York law) is substantially advanced by designations which may prevent

the continued use of the theatre buildings as theatres.

6

ing of the property, the constitutional challenge thereby

is resolved. Furthermore, under the standards set forth

in [certain New York cases], the petitioners have not

carried their burden of demonstrating that the Land-

marks Law as applied to these particular theatres denies

them essential use of their property.’’

The Appellate Division (contrary to the trial court) also

held that, in the absence of final agency action on applica-

tions by petitioners for renovations or alterations, the claim

of impairment of economic use was not ripe for review.* As

to air rights, the Appellate Division merely observed that

such rights inured to petitioners by virtue of the designations,

and that, ‘‘absent a successful challenge, [the rights] must be

presumed to have economic benefit’’ (App. 7a). It made no

mention of petitioners’ contention, never passed upon at any

level, that such rights had no value whatsoever because of the

lack of receiving sites which could use them. The Appellate

Division (and the court below) also failed to address petition-

ers’ claim of discrimination, in that other similarly situated

theatres were not landmarked.

The New York Court of Appeals dismissed an appeal pur-

portedly taken as of right (App. 43a), and denied leave for a

discretionary appeal (App. 43a).

8 This conclusion ignored the fact that Penn Central (at 132) had

questioned the right of appellants there to challenge the consequences

of designation, as they had not challenged the act of designation when

it was made.

-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THIS CASE RAISES THE QUESTION OF THE PROPER

APPLICATION OF PENN CENTRAL AND ITS

PROGENY TO AS-APPLIED TAKINGS

CLAUSE CHALLENGES

Perhaps influenced by the fact that the landmarks law in

issue here (New York City’s) is the same one as was involved

in Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,

438 U.S. 104 (1978), and that the Takings Clause challenge

there was rejected, the New York Appellate Division, in the

case at bar, in a one-sentence discussion, ruled that ‘‘the con-

stitutional challenge thereby is resolved’’ (App. at 7a). Of

course, Penn Central never purported to settle for all time

the constitutionality of every designation under New York

City’s local law; indeed, it expressly did not even purport to

settle for all time the constitutionality of the very designation

there in issue, that of New York’s Grand Central Terminal.

As the Court there noted, “‘We emphasize that our holding

today is on the present record, which in turn is based on

Penn Central’s present ability to use the Terminal for its

intended purposes and in a gainful fashion’’ (Footnote 36 at

p. 138).

While the Penn Central Court considered, and rejected, a

challenge to New York City’s landmarks law on its face, it

expressly noted that “his was ‘‘not. .. the end of our

inquiry’? (at 135), and acknowledged its duty to consider

‘““the question of the severity of the impact of the law on

appellant’s parcel, and its resolution in turn requires a careful

assessment of the impact of the regulation on the Terminal

site’ (at 136). Plainly, the Penn Central Court did not rule

that landmarking could be challenged only upon a showing

that a designation totally destroyed the value or use of the

property.”

9 In its earlier discussion of the questions presented, the Penn Central

Court had identified two, namely (1) whether there had been a taking,

ee

In identifying the factors it considered relevant to its par-

ticular inquiry, the Penn Central Court certainly did not

intend to create a bright-line test as to when a regulatory

‘‘taking’’ has occurred. Indeed, Penn Central itself noted the

inability to develop any set formula for such cases (at 124).

This is completely in keeping with the takings jurisprudence

of this Court, as developed both before and subsequent to

Penn Central. See Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U.S. 1

(1988); Bowen v. Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587 (1987); Hodel v. Ir-

ing, 481 U.S. 704 (1987); Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass’n.

v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470 (1987); MacDonald Sommer &

Frates v. Yolo County, 477 U.S. 340 (1986); Kaiser Aetna v.

United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979).

As this Court (per O’Connor, J.) noted relatively recently

(Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704, 713-4 [1987]):

‘*The framework for examining the question whether

a regulation of property amounts to a taking requiring p

just compensation is firmly established and has been reg-

ularly and recently reaffirmed. [Citations omitted]. As

THE CHIEF JUSTICE has written:

‘{[T]his Court has generally ‘‘been unable to

develop any ‘set formula’ for determining when

‘justice and fairness’ require that economic injuries

caused by public action be compensated by the gov-

and ‘‘(2) if so, whether the transferable development rights afforded

appellants constitute ‘just compensation’ within the meaning of the

Fifth Amendment,’’ and added that it needed to discuss only the first

question. Nonetheless, the Court did (at 137) address the air rights,

which had been stipulated to be valuable. Subsequent decisions of this

Court, applying the two-component test of a regulatory taking claim

enunciated in MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County, 477 U.S.

340, 348 (1986) (an owner must establish that [i] the regulation has

‘‘taken’’ his property, and [ii] any proffered compensation is not

‘Sust’’), have treated Penn Central as containing an alternative hold-

ing that the value of the air rights prevented a showing of lack of just

compensation. See the treatment of Penn Central in MacDonald, supra

at 350, and in Williamson County Regional Planning Comm’n. v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 187 (1985).

9

ernment, rather than remain disproportionately

concentrated on a few persons.’’ [Penn Central

Transportation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S.]} at

124. Rather, it has examined the ‘‘taking’’ question

by engaging in essentially ad hoc, factual inquiries

that have identified several factors—such as the

economic impact of the regulation, its interference

with reasonable investment backed expectations,

and the character of the governmental action—that

have particular significance. Jbid.’ Kaiser Aetna v.

United States, supra, [444 U.S. 164] at 175

[1979].’""°

Insofar as a particular factor is a subject of factual dispute

not yet resolved, the facts would have to be found, even if no

formal fact-finding below was required (Citizens to Preserve

Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402 [1971]), for effective

judicial review of administrative actions requires reasoned

findings (Baltimore & Ohio R. Co. v. Aberdeen & Rockfish

R. Co., 393 U.S. 87 [1968]). Depending on the circumstances

and the jurisdiction of the courts and agencies involved,

“there may be independent judicial factfinding when issues

that were not before the agency are raised’’ (Overton, supra

at 415), or, if the reviewing court itself cannot make findings,

it may remand to a trial court (as was done in Overton) or to

the administrative agency (Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v.

10 Yet another factor which must be here weighed is whether the ppliti-

cal unaccountability of the landmark designations, because they are

without cost to the public, has here caused a toleration of unworthy

designations, thus vitiating the police-power basis of allowing such

restrictions to begin with. ‘‘The politically attractive feature of regula-

tion is not that it permits [results] to be achieved that could not be

achieved otherwise; but rather that it permits them to be achieved ‘off

budget,’ with relative invisibility and thus relative immunity from nor-

mal democratic processes’’ (Scalia, J., concurring in part and dissent-

ing in part in Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U.S. 1 at 22 [1988)}).

There can be no question that New York City’s Landmarks Commis-

sion would not have here proceeded with such a heavy hand if it had

had to cost-justify forty-seven designations. Indeed, an architect mem-

ber of the Commission admitted that many of the theatres here desig-

nated were architecturally ‘‘no great shakes’’ (App. 85a).

10

LTV Corp., U.S. , 110 S.Ct. 2668 [1990]; Florida

Power & Light Co. v. Lorion, 470 U.S. 729 [1985]), as

appropriate.

The New York courts have thus clearly misread Penn Cen-

tral and other controlling authorities of this Court, when they

refuse to engage in the ‘‘ad hoc, factual inquiries’’ (Kaiser

Aetna, supra at 175) mandated by this Court, and instead

apply a simplistic bright-line test, to determine whether a

compensable taking has incurred. This Court ought therefore

grant a writ of certiorari to make manifest the method of

application of Takings Clause case principles in the land-

marking context.

THIS CASE INVITES THIS COURT, IF THE COURT

DEEMS IT APPROPRIATE, TO REVIEW LANDMARKS

LAW’S PLACE WITHIN TAKINGS CLAUSE

JURISPRUDENCE

While, as noted above, petitioners contend that no aspect

of Penn Central need be called into question either for this

case to merit review by certiorari, or for petitioners to prevail

upon such review, nonetheless this case does afford this

Court the opportunity, if the Court deems it appropriate, to

reconsider the constitutional and logical pinnings of land-

mark designations ff general, or of Penn Central in particu-

lar.

The affirmative power of governments to designate proper-

ties as landmarks, and thereby restrict or limit the rights of

ownership, is not here disputed.'’ ‘‘It is a separate question,

however, whether an otherwise valid regulation so frustrates

11 Petitioners do dispute (unlike the appellants in Penn Central)

whether the designations here are appropriate to the public purposes

supposed to be served; whether the properties are capable of earning a

reasonable return; whether they can continue to be used for their his-

toric purpose; whether the transferable air rights conferred are valu-

able; and the ‘‘specific factual premises’’ below (or, more precisely,

the failure to find facts). Compare Penn Central at 129, where it is

stated that none of these points was there in dispute.

1]

property rights that compensation must be paid’’ (Loretto v.

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 425

[1982]). As Justice (now Chief Justice) Rehnquist noted in his

dissenting opinion in Penn Central (n. 14 at 152), ‘‘[M]Jany

States and cities in the Nation have chosen to preserve land-

marks by purchasing or condemning restrictive easements

over the facades of the landmarks and are apparently quite

Satisfied with the results.”

“The general rule at least is that while property may be

regulated to a certain extent, if regulation goes too far it will

be recognized as a taking’’ (Pennsylvania Coal Co. v.

Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 415 [1922]). The Fifth Amendment’s

Just Compensation Clause was ‘‘designed to bar Government

from forcing some people alone to bear public burdens

which, in all fairness and justice, should be borne by the

public as a whole’’ (Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40,

49 [1960]).'? The principle is generally satisfied when there is

‘“‘an average reciprocity of advantage’’ (Pennsylvania Coal,

supra at 415), when ‘“‘[a]ll property owners in a designated

area are placed under the same restrictions, not only for the

benefit of the municipality but also for the common benefit

of one another’ (Rehnquist, J., dissenting in Penn Central,

at 140; see also Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704 [1987]; Key-

stone Bituminous Coal Ass’n. v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470

[1987]). This ‘‘average reciprocity of advantage’’ is usually

accomplished by a comprehensive plan, as in a community-

wide zoning ordinance (Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272

U.S. 365 [1926]). This, however, is absent in landmarking in

general, and in New York City’s landmarking ordinance in

particular. As the New York Court of Appeals observed in

considering this ordinance in Penn Central, 42 N.Y.2d 324,

12 ~_—In terms of the case at bar, the Armstrong question is whether it is

petitioners or the public as a whole who should, in all fairness and jus-

tice, bear the cost of regulations which (i) are designed in part at least

to foster public interests by attracting tourists and visitors and thereby

stimulate the City’s business and industry (see Footnote 1, supra), and

(ii) by no stretch of the imagination regulate anything which could be

called a nuisance (cf Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, No.

91-453, cert. granted).

12

329-330, 366 N.E.2d 1271, 397 N.Y.S.2d 914 (1977), aff’d.,

438 U.S. 104 (1978):

‘Restrictions on alteration of individual landmarks

are not designed to further a general community plan.

Landmark restrictions are designed to prevent alteration

or demolition of a single piece of property. To this

extent, such restrictions resemble ‘discriminatory’ zoning

restrictions, properly condemned’’.

The New York Court of Appeals’ analysis discloses the

fatal flaw in New York’s scheme of landmarking—the

absence of the requisite ‘‘average reciprocity of advantage.”’

Upon appeal, however, the majority in this Court distin-

guished the New York City Landmarks Law from discrimina-

tory zoning by concluding that ‘‘the New York City law

embodies a comprehensive plan to preserve structures of his-

toric or aesthetic interest wherever they might be found in the

city’? (at 132), and adding in a footnote that ‘‘[W]Je do not

understand the New York Court of Appeals to disagree with

our characterization of the law’’ (id., n. 28)."

It is respectfully submitted that the Penn Central majori-

ty’s distinction of landmarking from discriminatory zoning is

untenable and should be abandoned. First: The New York

Court of Appeals has shown, subsequent to Penn Central,

that it indeed meant what it said in its Penn Central decision,

namely that in landmarking there is no comprehensive plan

or average reciprocity of advantage,'’* which the New York

13 In dissent, Justice (now Chief Justice) Rehnquist also recognized the

requirement for the ‘‘average reciprocity of advantage’’ (at 139-40),

but, unlike the majority, he did not find there to be a comprehensive

plan (id.).

14. **To be sure individual landmark designation involves greater prob-

lems than general zoning or historical district regulation, because

unlike those types of restrictions the individual landmark designations

do not involve corresponding restrictions of the surrounding parcels

which operates [sic] to the benefit of the landmark owner (Penn Cen-

‘

- sceiteeseaataamal aaa aaa aaa

13

court continues to believe is unnecessary. The strained read-

ing this Court’s Penn Central majority put on what the New

York court had written, in order to save its result, was simply

wrong.

Second: In any event, the ‘‘comprehensive plan’’ which

this Court’s Penn Central majority (at 132) read into the New

York ordinance (which was in fact never there) would not

have withstood analysis had it indeed been in the ordinance.

To analogize to zoning, a ‘‘plan’’ to zone a parcel here, a

parcel there, and other parcels, if any, when one gets around

to them, is nothing but piecemeal zoning.'* Universally

understood, along with ‘‘spot zoning’’ (see infra), to be the

antithesis, not an example, of a comprehensive plan, piece-

meal zoning is universally condemned. Specifically, it is as

prohibited in New York (Asian Americans for Equality v.

Koch, 72 N.Y.2d 121, 517 N.E.2d 265, 531 N.Y.S.2d 782

[1988]; Freeman v. City of Yonkers, 205 Misc. 947, 129

N.Y.S.2d 703 [Sup. Ct. Westchester Co. 1954]),'° as it is else-

where (Cassel v. City of Baltimore, 195 Md. 348, 73 A.2d

486 [1950]; Little v. Board of County Commrs., 631 P.2d

1282 [Mont. 1981]; Kozesnik v. Township of Montgomery,

24 N.J. 154, 131 A.2d 1 [1957]; Higginbotham v. City of The

Village, 361 P.2d 191 [Okla. 1961]; Palazzi v. State, 113 R.1.

tral Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 42 N.Y.2d 324, 330, aff’d 438

U.S. 104).’’ (Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 454,

415 N.E.2d 922, 434 N.Y.S.2d 932 [1980]). Significantly, the page cita-

tion to the New York Court of Appeals’ Penn Central decision is to the

very language upon whose meaning Justices Brennan and Rehnquist

disagreed when that case reached this Court.

15 While sometimes used (also in a pejorative sense) as synonymous

with ‘‘spot zoning’’, ‘‘piecemeal zoning’’ is usually more precisely

defined as ‘‘when only part of the land within a municipality is regu-

lated by the zoning law’’ (Asian Americans for Equality v. Koch, 72

N.Y.2d 121, 130, 527 N.E.2d 265, 531 N.Y.S.2d 782 [1988]).

16 ‘*{I}t is clear that, as a general proposition, a local legislative body

does not have the power to re-zone property along a main artery of tra-

vel, lot by lot at a time. Such would be piecemeal zoning, which is gen-

erally prohibited’’ (at 956).

14

218, 319 A.2d 658 [1974]; City of Pharr v. Tippitt, 616

S.W.2d 173 [Tex. 1981]; Shelton v. City of Bellevue, 73

Wash.2d 28, 435 P.2d 949 [1968]; Bell v. City of Elkhorn,

122 Wis.2d 558, 364 N.W.2d 144 [1985]).

While this Court has never had occasion expressly to hold

that a comprehensive plan is a constitutional requirement

(indeed, this Court has rarely considered zoning cases, thus

leaving the development of jurisprudence in this field largely

to the State courts), decisions of this Court have assumed the

necessity of a plan. Thus, in Penn Central, Justice Brennan

noted for the majority (at 133 n. 29) that

‘*When a property owner challenges the application of

a zoning ordinance to his property, the judicial inquiry

focuses upon whether the challenged restriction can

reasonably be deemed to promote the objectives of the

community land-use plan, and will include consideration

of the treatment of similar parcels. See generally Nectow

v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928).”’

See also Justice (now Chief Justice) Rehnquist in dissent in

Penn Central at 139-40; Justice Blackmun, concurring and

dissenting in Brendale v. Confederated Tribes, 492 U.S. 408

at 458 (1989) (‘‘the systematic and coordinated utilization of

land that is the very essence of zoning authority’’); and the

discussion of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365

(1926), in the concurrence by Justice Stevens in Moore v.

City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 at 514-15 (1977).

State court decisions have made it indisputably clear that

the rationale of the prohibition upon piecemeal zoning, and

of the corresponding requirement of a comprehensive plan, is

the necessity of keeping the restrictions of zoning within the

police power, and of protecting against arbitrary and capri-

cious discrimination by the zoning authorities. The require-

ment of a plan is thus grounded in the Constitutional

protections of Due Process and Equal Protection (see, e.g.,

Asian Americans, supra, 72 N.Y.2d at 131; Kozesnik, supra,

24 N.J. at 166).

15

It is therefore submitted that the constitutional underpin-

nings of landmarking, only briefly considered by this Court

in Penn Central (and never before or since), bear further con-

sideration. Certiorari ought therefore issue herein.

THE SPECIAL DEMOLITION PERMIT REQUIREMENT

CONSTITUTES UNCONSTITUTIONAL REVERSE

SPOT-ZONING

It is clear that the police power to enact or enforce zoning

restrictions is not unlimited (City of Cleburne v. Cleburne

Living Center, 473 U.S. 432 [1985]). In particular, courts

have routinely intervened and struck down zoning restrictions

as not being a proper use of the police power in a class of

cases, often referred to as ‘‘spot zoning’’ cases.

‘‘Spot zoning’’ is commonly defined as the process of

singling out a parcel of land for a use classification totally

different from that of the surrounding area, for the benefit

of the owner of such property and to the detriment of the

surrounding landowners (Munger v. Town of Exeter, 128

N.H. 196, 512 A.2d 418 [1986]; Clark v. City of Boulder,

146 Colo. 526, 362 P.2d 160 [1961]; Salvetti v. Zoning Board

of Adjustment, 429 Pa. 330, 240 A.2d 534 [1968]). ‘‘Reverse

spot zoning’’ occurs where a governing authority rezones a

particular property in a certain deleterious manner, although

the property in the adjoining area is zoned or rezoned in a

different and more beneficial manner. See Tollius v. City of

Miami, 96 So.2d 122 (Fla. 1957); Jackson v. Wilson, 195

So.2d 470 (Miss. 1966); Odabesh v. Mayor and Council of

the Borough of Dumont, 65 N.J. 115, 319 A.2d 712 (1974);

Fred F. French Investing Co. v. City of New York, 39

N.Y.2d 587 (1976), 385 N.Y.S.2d 5, 350 N.E.2d 381, app.

dism. and cert den., 429 U.S. 990 (1976); Vernon Park

Realty v. City of Mount Vernon, 307 N.Y. 493, 121 N.E.2d

517 (1954).

In the case at bar, the City, by virtue of the enactment of

the Special Demolition Permit, has discriminatorily segre-

16

gated forty-four parcels and subjected them to special detri-

mental criteria that are not applicable to other parcels

similarly situated, which, in contrast, were upzoned. A condi-

tion of the Special Demolition Permit ([81-742[c][2], App.

82a) means that a new structure replacing a Listed Theatre

may be required to have substantially more floor space

devoted to entertainment-related uses than a new structure on

a neighboring non-Listed Theatre site, when the only distinc-

tion between the two sites is that they have had a different

history of use. This is exactly what the controlling authorities

condemn as unlawful reverse spot zoning.

Reverse spot zoning, as exemplified by the Special Demoli-

tion Permit requirement, is plainly and simply the unjustified

and uncompensated frustration of private property rights for

the ostensible benefit of the public. No matter how laudable

the public goal may be, this discriminatory zoning mechanism

is impermissible. This Court ought therefore grant a writ of

certiorari to review the constitutionality of the Special Demo-

lition Permit requirement.

17

CONCLUSION

This case presents substantial questions as to the proper

application by State courts of Penn Central and other Tak-

ings Clause precedents to landmark designations, and invites

explications by this Court of the Constitutional relation of

the comprehensive plan, and its conceptual opposite, piece-

meal or spot zoning, to land use regulation. The petition for

a writ of certiorari ought therefore to be granted, and peti-

tioners allowed to file their brief articulating at greater length

and in greater depth why fundamental principles of constitu-

tional law mandate a reversal herein.

Respectfully submitted,

PARKER CHAPIN FLATTAU & KLIMPL

Attorneys for Petitioners

The Shubert Organization, Inc.

Jujamcyn Theatres Corporation,

The League of American Theatres

and Producers, Inc., and

239-247 West 45th Street Corp.

1211 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

(212) 704-6000

Of Counsel:

ALVIN M. STEIN”

AMOS ALTER

SHARON H. STERN

17 Counsel of Record

18

PROSKAUER ROSE GOETZ & MENDELSOHN

Attorneys for Petitioners

Nederlander Organization Inc.,

Nederlander Amusement Corp. of Mary-

land, Nederlander Theatrical Corp.,

All State Amusement Co. of Illinois, Inc.,

Hellinger/Nederlander 46th Street Corp.,

Lunt Theatre Co. (A New York General

Partnership), Rose Nederlander Associ-

ates, Inc., and Alvin Nederlander Associ-

ates, Inc.

1585 Broadway

New York, New York 10036

(212) 969-3000

Of Counsel:

GREGG M. MASHBERG

February 25, 1992

APPENDIX

la

Opinion of New York Supreme Court, Appellate

Division, First Judicial Department, dated May 16, 1991

(Reported at 166 A.D.2d 115, 570 N.Y.S.2d 504)

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST DEPARTMENT

§ E. Leo Milonas, J.P.

f Richard W. Wallach,

’ Sidney H. Asch,

Bentley Kassal,

George Bundy Smith, JJ.

a=

THE SHUBERT ORGANIZATION, ef al.,

Petitioners-Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

For a Judgment Pursuant to CPLR Article 78 and

a Declaration Pursuant to CPLR 2001,

—against—

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, ef ai.,

Respondents-Defendants-Respondents,

SAVE THE THEATRES, INC.,

Intervenor-Respondent-Defendant-Respondent.

os

ASCH, J

Petitioners, several theater owners as well as trade organi-

zations, had sought, inter alia, in this declaratory relief and

Article 78 proceeding, to annul the designation of twenty-two

Broadway theatres as landmarks, and to declare null and

void the underlying Landmarks Legislation and the anti-

2a

demolition provision of the New York City Zoning Resolu-

tion.

Petitioners claim that the designation process in this case

manifested an improper exercise in spot zoning, rather than a

detailed analysis leading to the designation of a specific

building or buildings as historic landmarks. The municipal

respondents counter that the different, respective, decisions

of the Landmarks Preservation Commission and the Board

of Estimate, were based on exhaustive studies and reports, as

well as public discussion on notice, and that the final vote of

the Board of Estimate, although accomplished expeditiously,

was not simply expediently arrived at and was supported by a

rational basis.

The present challenge is both for a declaratory judgment,

invoking the constitutional challenge, and on Article 78

grounds (see generally) Morris, New York Practice Guide:

Land Use Regulation (Matthew Bender, 1988), Vol. 2, Sec.

17.05(3)(b)(vi)(A). The Landmarks Law seeks to protect those

buildings, structures and landscape features which have a spe-

cial character or have special historic or esthetic interest or

value. The statutory vehicle for protection is either a designa-

tion as landmarks or their inclusion within historic districts.

There is a distinction between the criteria for designation of

an individual landmark or an interior landmark, on the one

hand, and the criteria for designation of an historic district,

on the other hand. (/d., et Sec. 17.05(3)(b)(vii)(B), (C)).

In December of 1967, the Board of Estimate approved the

City Planning Commission’s proposal to create a special the-

atre district, to protect the district from the expansion of

midtown construction. The Special District roughly approxi-

mated the Times Square area. The City Planning Commission

sought to encourage the construction of new theatre space in

newly constructed building by giving a bonus with respect to

the utilization of space. The city as well as the State Office of

Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, entered a mem-

orandum of agreement with the federal government which

required the city to begin consideration of landmark status

for theatre buildings within the Broadway theatre district.

The Landmarks Preservation Commission selected 35 theatres

3a

for potential designation, which included the 22 theatres rele-

vant to this appeal. The municipal authorities took heed of

the public outcry following the demolition of the Helen

Hayes and Morosco Theatres in 1982 and subsequently, the

midtown zoning amendments to the Zoning Resolution tar-

geted Broadway theatres to enhance their preservation. The

zoning amendment continued the space use bonuses for con-

struction of new theatres, and gave bonuses for the rehabili-

tation of specified theatres. Special permits for demolition

were required as to 44 listed theatres.

The Landmarks Preservation Commission calendared pub-

lic hearings to consider the designation of 45 Broadway the-

atres. These were scheduled in June of 1982, to allow

preparation of reports on the historical, cultural, and archi-

tectural significance of the individual theatres. Respondents

contend that the petitioners received individual notice and

offered testimony. While not required as part of the process,

Community Board 5 eventually voted in favor of landmark

designation for all of the listed theatres. The record was kept

open for additional comments and petitioners’ architect sub-

mitted a report, analyzing the listed theatres. From April 21,

1984 through January 5, 1988, the Landmarks Preservation

Commission held 29 public executive sessions for consider-

ation of the subject designations. On August 6, 1985, the

Commission designated exteriors and/or interiors of three

theatres as landmarks.

In December of 1985, and March of 1987, respectively, the

Landmarks Preservation Commission compiled two reports

on preservation of the Broadway theatres and guide lines

therefor. The record shows that the Landmarks Preservation

Commission consistently received copious materials from

numerous sources emphasizing the unique qualities, as set

forth by the statutory criteria, relevant to each theatre. There

is also evidence that at many of the executive sessions, a staff

member would present the cultural, historical, architectural,

and/or aesthetic value of each of the listed theatres. Further,

a 35-to-40-page designation report was prepared for each

building. Each theatre was then addressed, in alphabetical

order, at public executive sessions commencing November 4,

4a

1987. Respondents note that again petitioners were given

notice and attended the meetings. Between November 4, 1987

and January 5, 1988, the Landmarks Commission designated

the interior and exterior of nineteen of the listed theatres, the

interior of 7 theatres, and the exterior of 2 more theatres.

Thirteen theatres were not designated during this process. Of

the 28 designated theatres, petitioners own 22; of the 13 non-

designated theatres, petitioners own 10. Within five business

days of each designation, the Landmarks Preservation Com-

mission filed the designation reports with the Board of Esti-

mate. After a public hearing, the Board of Estimate ratified

the designations of all of the listed theatres in a single vote.

Respondents note that this practice of a single vote on related

matters has been the usual procedure of the Board of Esti-

mate since 1950, and is the norm for approving or disapprov-

ing landmark designations.

After the Board of Estimate approved these matters, in

October of 1987, the Landmarks Preservation Commission

issued 47 landmark designations for 28 theatres, in alphabeti-

cal order, which gave rise to the present action. (Some the-

atres are landmarked as to interior as well as exterior).

Petitioners assert that the landmark designations, both

interior and exterior, have had detrimental effects on the

owners’ ability to adapt theatres to changing productions and

changing times. They also submit there is a cost factor borne

by the owners, in keeping up the theatres, and by producers

who use the landmarked theatres.

Further, petitioners attack the voting procedure of the

Board of Estimate when, in approving these designations, it

exercised a single roll-call vote. Petitioners argue that these

are separate structures with no common architectural style

and thus the single roll-call vote underscores their contention

that the purpose was to preserve the theatre industry by

means of sham designations. Petitioners note the boilerplate

introduction to the description and analysis in each report for

each theatre, as bearing untoward uniformity. Petitioners

also emphasize their contention that this was protection of an

industry, rather than of individual buildings, by noting that

those theatres within the theatre subdistrict which were not

a

Sa

landmarked were not currently in use as legitimate theatres,

or otherwise were protected from demolition. Further, peti-

tioners argue that the aesthetic, cultural, and architectural

attributes of the landmarked, and the nonlandmarked the-

atres are essentially indistinguishable.

Petitioners then challenge the procedure in Supreme Court

where the court refused to hold an evidentiary hearing. The

hearing, characterized as evidentiary, would have inquired

into whether the Board of Estimate followed routine proce-

dure in having a single roll-call vote. However, on appeal,

petitioners argue that an evidentiary hearing would have

inquired into whether evidence existed that the City was seek-

ing to regulate the theatre industry as a whole, in violation of

the mandates of the various agencies.

This court is circumscribed by the scope of judicial review

of administrative determinations. It is well established that

the court may not substitute its judgment for that of the

administrative body (see generally, with respect to landmarks,

Matter of Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 68 A.D.2d 112

(Ist Dept. 1979), aff’d, 51 N.Y.2d 449). This Court has

already noted the particular expertise of the members of the

Landmarks Preservation Commission supra, at 117; accord,

Matter of Committee to Save the Beacon Theatre v. City of

New York, 146 A.D.2d 397, 405 [lst Dept. 1989]). Consider-

ing the wealth of analyses and reports, as well as anecdotal

testimony, provided to the Landmarks Preservation Commis-

sion prior to the subject designations, it appears to be beyond

serious challenge that a reasonable basis existed for the desig-

nations as to each theatre, upon a consideration of the statu-

tory criteria.

There is no basis to argue that the proposals were ‘‘rail-

roaded’’ through the Landmarks Preservation Commission;

the preliminary analyses and reports were exhaustive, the

decision making occurred over the course of several years.

Three days of public hearings simply concluded the input into

the decision making, and the fina] decisions do not appear to

have been arrived at with any great dispatch. While petition-

ers complain of the limited time allowed to them for com-

ments before the Board of Estimate, there is no indication

6a

that they were deprived of a meaningful opportunity to sub-

mit their own reports or comments prior to the Board of

Estimate hearing, particularly at the Landmarks Preservation

Commission phase of proceedings.

Further, there is criticism by petitioners of the single roll

call vote by the Board of Estimate. But, the Board had

received individual reports, as well as the Planning Commis-

sion reports, prior to the Board of Estimate hearing. Finally,

in this regard, we note, as mentioned above, that since the

1950’s the Board had routinely entertained a single vote on

similar matters, particularly those involving zoning and land-

mark designations.

Manipulation of the Landmarks Law by the Landmarks

Commission only for the purpose of preserving the Broadway

theatre industry, rather than individual theatres, would have

been improper (see Landmarks Law [Admin. Code] § 25-304

subd. a). Such a practice would misconstrue zoning matters

for landmark matters. However, notwithstanding the district

within which the theatres stand, the designation proceedings

addressed the exteriors and/or interiors of the specific build-

ings in terms of the criteria of the Landmarks Law. (See gen-

erally Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,

438 U.S. 104, 133; affg. 42 N.Y.2d 324, 329-330). Municipal

respondents point out that the Landmarks Preservation Com-

mission has designated theatres which are located outside of

the Broadway District, such as the Apollo, the Beacon, City

Center, Carnegie Hall, and Town Hall, on the basis of the

same statutory criteria. This is further evidence that the

Landmarks Commission was not seeking to protect the

Broadway theatre industry by sham designations.

Accordingly, we agree with the nisi prius court that the

administrative determination was based on substantive evi-

dence, was not arbitrary and capricious and did not violate

the law.

With respect to the constitutional challenge, the Penn Cen-

tral case, supra, established the constitutionality of the Land-

marks Law. Petitioner’s challenge, that Penn Central is not

controlling since it did not address the method of designation

is without merit. Penn Central involved the alteration of a

Ta

landmark, a restriction which arises out of the designation.

Since the Supreme Court in Penn Central (supra, 438 U.S. at

138) clearly ruled that the application of the Landmarks Law

does not affect a taking of the property, the constitutional

challenge thereby is resolved. Further, under the standards set

forth in Spears v. Berle (48 N.Y.2d 254, 263) and Honore de

St. Aubin v. Flacke (68 N.Y.2d 66, 76), the petitioners have

not carried their burden of demonstrating that the Land-

marks Law as applied to these particular theatres denies them

essential use of their property.

Finally, with respect to the constitutional argument, the

scheme of law embodied in the Landmarks Act serves a legit-

imate purpose of saving historical landmarks (see Seawall

Associates v. City of New York, 74 N.Y.2d 92, 112, cert.

den. U.S. , 110 S. Ct. 500 [1989]). With respect to

any claim that petitioners are deprived of any economic use

of their property, in the absence of final agency action on

applications by petitioners for renovations or alterations, the

matter is not ripe for review (Church of St. Paul and St.

Andrew v. Barwick, 67 N.Y.2d 510 at 520; see permit provi-

sions for alternations or demolitions in Landmarks Law

[Admin. Code] §§ 25-306, 25-307). In the meantime, there is

no prohibition against petitioners receiving economic benefit

from continuing the use of the buildings as theatres (accord,

Penn Central, supra, at 136). In any event, transferable

development rights inure to the owners of these buildings,

which, absent a successful challenge, must be presumed to

have economic benefit. We note that some of petitioners, in

fact, have made use of these transferable developmental

rights.

Petitioners also challenge the provision of the Zoning Res-

olution (Zoning Resolution § 81-742) which requires listed

theatres to obtain a special permit from the City Planning

Commission for demolition. This, of course, is a zoning mat-

ter, rather than a landmark matter. Petitione: bears the

heavy burden of demonstrating the unconstitutionality of the

zoning ordinance (Robert E. Kurzius, Inc. vy. Incorporated

Vil. of Upper Brookville, 51 N.Y.2d 338, 344) and discrimi-

natory effects of a statute will not render the statute invalid

8a

if there exists a reasonable basis (Lighthouse Shores v. Town

of Islip, 41 N.Y.2d 7, 12). There is no evidence that this pro-

vision is not based on a comprehensive plan and, as munici-

pal defendants point out, similar demolition permits are

required by the Zoning Resolution in several other special

districts.

Finally, considering the narrow scope of review available to

the court below, it cannot be said that with the volumes of

documentary evidence in the record and supporting affida-

vits, that there was a need to conduct an evidentiary hearing

to examine whether the Board of Estimate’s voting mecha-

nism was arbitrary and capricious, or in violation of law.

Since the court was not empowered to substitute its own

judgment for that of the administrative body, the only

inquiry was whether the record, as submitted, supported the

voting procedure and the determination. We agree that it did.

Accordingly, the order and judgment (one paper) oi the

Supreme Court, New York County (Irma Vidal Santaella,

J.), entered February 6, 1990, which denied petitioners’

motion for summary judgment, granted summary judgment

to municipal respondents, and dismissed the petition and

complaint, should be affirmed, without costs or disburse-

ments.

All concur.

a

9a

Opinion of New York Supreme Court, New York County

dated December 5, 1989

(Unreported)

SUPREME COURT: NEW YORK COUNTY

INDIVIDUAL ASSIGNMENT PART 35

Index No. 12587/88

>

IN RE: SHUBERT ORGANIZATION, INC., ef ai.,

Petitioners,

—against—

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK, ef ai.,

Respondents.

-

HON. IRMA VIDAL SANTAELLA

Petitioners bring this combined action and proceeding, pur-

suant to Articles 30 and 78 of the CPLR, for a judgment 1)

declaring void and vacating each landmark designation of

twenty-two individual theatre buildings, 2) declaring invalid

the Special Demolition Permit requirement, 3) declaring the

Landmarks Preservation Law (‘‘Landmarks Law’’) void and

4) remanding the matter of theatre preservation to respon-

dents for further consideration.

Petitioners, other than The League of American Theatres

and Producers, Inc. (a trade association representing the

interests of theatre owners and producers), own one or more

of the theatres in issue:

Theatre Address

Barrymore 243-251 W. 47th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Martin Beck 302-314 W. 4Sth Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Belasco 111 W. 44th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Booth 222-232 W. 45th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

|| ee

10a

Theatre Address (Cont.)

Brook Atkinson 256-262 W. 47th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Broadhurst 235-243 W. 44th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Cort 138-146 W. 48th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Forty Sixth Street 226-236 W. 46th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Golden 252-256 W. 4Sth Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Mark Hellinger 217-239 W. Sist Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Imperial 249 W. 45th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Longacre 220 W. 48th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Lunt-Fontanne 203-217 W. 46th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Lyceum 149-157 W. 4Sth Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Majestic 245-257 W. 44th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Music Box 239-247 W. 57th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Eugene O'Neill 230-238 W. 49th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Plymouth 236 W. 4Sth Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Royale 242-250 W. 4Sth Street, N.Y., N.Y.

St. James 246-256 W. 44th Street, N.Y., N.Y.

Shubert 221-233 W. 44th Street, N.Y., N.Y

Winter Garden 1634-1646 Broadway, N.Y., N.Y.

Respondents are the Landmarks Preservation Commission

(‘“‘LPC’’), the City Planning Commission (‘‘CPC’’), the

Board of Estimate (‘‘BOE’’) and the City of New York.

Save the Theatres, Inc., Actors’ Equity Association, Soci-

ety of Stage Directors and Choreographers, United Scenic

Artists Local 829, Dramatist Guild, National Trust for His-

toric Preservation in the United States, New York Landmarks

Conservancy, Inc., Municipal Arts Society and the National

Center for Preservation Law have intervened as amici curiae

urging dismissal.

The petition and complaint, as amended (the ‘‘petition’’)

sets forth eleven causes of action. The first cause alleges the

BOE and LPC exceeded their powers under the Landmarks

Law (New York City Administrative Code Title 25 Chapter

3) and the landmark designations were arbitrary, capricious,

an abuse of discretion and illegal as unauthorized under the

New York City Charter, the Landmarks Law and its enabling

legislation, General Municipal Law (‘‘GML’’) Article 5 Sec-

tion 96-A.

lla

The second cause alleges BOE violated the Landmarks

Law, GML 96-A, general principles of due process and

administrative law and its own practices regarding designa-

tions of landmarks and were arbitrary, capricious, an abuse

of discretion and illegal in that BOE failed to consider each

individual building on its own merits and in voting by means

of a single roll call vote to approve LPC’s designation of

twenty-eight individual theatre buildings on March 10, 1988.

The third cause alleges the LPC and/or the BOE violated

the Landmarks Law, GML 96-A, general principles of due

process and administrative law by failing to have a transcript

of the public hearings held in 1982 at the time when LPC

designated the buildings as landmarks and/or when the BOE

voted to approve the designations.

As a fourth cause, petitioners allege the designations inso-

far as they included theatre interiors constituted unreasonable

governmental interference with the essential need for prompt

and cost-efficient accommodation of interior facilities to the

varying and distinct needs of changing theatre productions

and were arbitrary, capricious and an abuse of discretion.

As a fifth cause, petitioners allege respondents’ failure to

determine the environmental significance of the designations

was arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion and illegal

rendering the designations void since under the State Envi-

ronmental Quality Review Act (‘‘SEQRA’’) (Environmental

Conservation Law Article 8 [‘‘ECL’’]), the designations are

‘factions’? which may have a significant effect on the envi-

ronment in New York City.

The sixth cause alleges the landmarks law is unconstitu-

tional on its face insofar as its exemption for properties not

making a reasonable return is insufficient and unreasonable

because its hardship provision [25-309) is inadequate.

The seventh, eighth and ninth causes allege the listed the-

atres which have not been landmarked are subject to the Spe-

cial Demolition Permit requirement which is ultra vires and

void as New York City Zoning Resolution 81-742 (‘‘ZR’’) is

beyond the powers vested in the CPC; is illegal and unconsti-

tutional on its face as it places a disproportionate burden of

preserving the theatre industry solely upon the owners of

| ee ee

l2a

property with theatres rather than upon all property owners

in Midtown Theatre Subdistricts and fails to provide a hard-

ship exemption.

The tenth cause alleges the designations constitute a ‘‘tak-

ing’’ of property without just compensation in violation of

petitioners’ substantive and procedural due process and equal

protection rights under the state and federal constitutions.

The eleventh cause alleges damages, to be proved at trial,

of not less than $200,000,000.

Respondents have served their amended answers and have

interposed a combined total of fifteen affirmative defenses

requesting dismissal of the petition and complaint.

In their first defense, respondents LPC, BOE and the City

of New York allege the LPC’s determination to designate

each of the subject theatres was reasonable, is not arbitrary

and capricious as it is fully supported by the record submit-

ted herein; the second, the LPC’s determination to designate

each of the subject theatres was made on an individual basis,

not in a wholesale fashion as each theatre was designated on

its own individual merit and not as an industry; the third, the

landmark designations were effectuated by LPC and

approved by the BOE in accordance with applicable Due Pro-

cess standards and that petitioners were given notice and

opportunity to be heard at every stage of the designation pro-

cess; the fourth, LPC’s adoption of Guidelines for the Treat-

ment of Designated Broadway Theatre Exteriors and Interiors

is a valid exercise of LPC’s regulatory power to assist in the

preservation of landmarks; the fifth, the subject landmark

designations are not subject to the State Environmental Qual-

ity Review Act (SEQRA) and City Environmental Quality

Review (CEQR) and that the designation process is exempt

from these environmental provisions because the designation

of a building as a landmark is not an ‘‘action’’ within

SEQRA and CEQR; the sixth, petitioners have no standing

to raise environmental claims because they only raise claims

of economic damage in the petition.

In the seventh, respondents contend that the hardship pro-

vision of the Landmarks Law (Section 25-309) is constitu-

tional and valid, and in the eighth and ninth, respondents

13a

allege that petitioners’ challenge to the constitutionality of

the hardship provision and landmark designations is prema-

ture as no hardship application has been filed. Neither has

any application for any permit of demolition or certificate of

alteration been made by petitioners.

In the tenth, respondents allege petitioners’ claim of an

unconstitutional taking of their properties without just com-

pensation by virtue of landmark designations is premature as

they have not yet suffered a specific hardship or availed

themselves of statutory methods to be relieved of any such

alleged hardship. In the eleventh, LPC, BOE and the City

allege petitioners have not been hindered in the continued use

of their properties as theatres and therefore, the designations

of the subject theatres as landmarks does not constitute an

unconstitutional taking.

Respondent CPC interposes four affirmative defenses in its

amended answer:

In the first, CPC alleges the Special Demolition Permit

(““SDP’’) (ZR Section 81-742) is not ultra vires; the second,

that SDP is constitutional and lawful in all respects; the

third, that review of the SDP is premature; and the fourth,

that all respondents have worked in accordance with a com-

prehensive zoning plan to preserve the character of the The-

atre District.

By notice of motion, dated December 5, 1988, petitioners

have moved for summary judgment (CPLR 3212) granting

the relief sought in their petition. By notice of cross-motion,

dated December 6, 1988, respondents have moved to dismiss

the petition (CPLR 7804(f)) and the complaint (CPLR 3211)

or for summary judgment (CPLR 3212).

It is noted that while these motions were noticed prior to

service of the amended pleadings, the essential allegations

and defenses remain substantially the same. The need for the

amendment was recognized by the parties and the Court

when respondents first learned that the stenographer’s notes

of the public hearing held in 1982 before the LPC had not

been déstroyed (as originally thought) but were located and

made available for transcription. The transcript is now made

part of this record. The pleadings, as amended, include two

ig

ee

l4a

new claims and related defenses. The first claim, relates to

the absence of the transcript before the LPC and the BOE.

The second relates to the BOE’s method of voting on the

landmark designations.

Now, the motion and cross-motion are considered together

with oral arguments by all parties made before the Court

prior to and at the time of final submission on June 15,

1989. Additional submissions were received as late as August

2, 1989.

In their amended petition and complaint, verified May

1989, petitioners allege:

‘*The City of New York engaged in an ill-conceived and

shortsighted effort to preserve the Broadway theatre

industry, has taken drastic and illegal action to prevent

the demolition or alteration of buildings currently hous-

ing legitimate theatre. The Landmarks Preservation

Commission, proceeding in alphabetical order by theatre

name, has designated as a landmark virtually every

building located in the Broadway Theatre District cur-

rently in use as a legitimate theatre. In parallel fashion,

the City Planning Commission has created a list of legit-

imate theatres and prohibited their demolition by enact-

ing discriminatory demolition requirements should

landmark restrictions not apply.

The City’s actions threaten to stultify rather than revi-

talize legitimate theatre in the Broadway Theatre Dis-

trict. The restrictions were imposed without a proper

plan in utter disregard of the economic realities of the

Broadway theatre industry. The theatre owners and

producers—whose continued economic vitality is central

to the health of Broadway theatre—have been precluded

from sharing in the economic growth of the west side of

Midtown, and have had the greater part of the value of

their theatre properties taken from them. Additionally,

the landmarks restrictions prevent the owners and pro-

ducers from incorporating state-of-the art technologies

in their theatres, and adapting their theatres to the sce-

nic and structural demands of various productions,

15a

unless the interiors are restored to their previous condi-

tion at enormous costs.

The restrictions the City had adopted to achieve its

goals are plainly unauthorized by the state legislation

establishing the City’s powers to enact landmark and

zoning restrictions. The wholesale landmark designations

were made as part of a pre-conceived plan to landmark

the theatre industry, without a good faith individual

assessment of the aesthetic, historic and cultural merit of

each structure. By imposing discriminatory and onerous

burdens on the theatre owners, the City has violated

fundamental notions of fairness, Due Process, and

Equal Protection under the Federal and State Constitu-

tions. Further, the City’s actions were taken in complete

derogation of the provisions of state law requiring gov-

ernmental officials to determine whether their actions

may have a significant impact on the physical environ-

ment, which includes existing patterns of neighborhood

growth and development and community character.

While petitioners, who own and operate the theatre

properties in issue, have not sought to demolish a the-

atre in twenty years and have no present intent to do so,

the City’s illegal actions should nonetheless be annulled,

and the City should be required to re-think and re-

examine its approach to preserving the Broadway theatre

industry consistent with government principles of law.”’

Respondents’ position is petitioners’ claims are not ripe for

review, the landmark designations and zoning resolution are

proper, the environmental laws do not apply, there have been

no due process or equal protection violations and there has

been no unconstitutional ‘‘taking’’ of property.

The voluminous record herein includes the following

excerpt which compromises a comprehensive history of

Broadway theatre:

“‘The theatre industry is crucial to the cultural and

financial life of the city. Tourism is New York’s number

one nonmanufacturing industry. In 1986, seventeen mil-

CO

l6a

lion visitors brought $2.5 billion dollars into the city and

tax revenues of $265 million. Of these visitors, nearly

half came to the city primarily for cultural purposes.

And it is the Broadway theatre that holds first place on

the list of cultural attractions. Seeing a Broadway show

is the single most important reason why tourists visit

New York City. The Broadway theatre outdraws all

other cultural and sporting events. Over seven million

Broadway theatre tickets were sold in 1986-87 season.

Thirty-seven thousand persons are employed as actors,

stage hands, technicians, writers, etc. The area around

Times Square provides support services to the theatre

industry—shops, restaurants, hotels, customers,

rehearsal halls, music and taxis.

The Broadway Theatre District is the largest and most

famous concentration of legitimate stage theatres in the

world. The Broadway theatre shares an important role

in the development of theatre within the City of New

York and dramatic arts in America. The Broadway The-

atres were constructed during the first thirty years of

this century, a time when the Theatre industry within

New York City was undergoing a fertile period of

rebirth. At the turn of the century, the Theatre business

moved into what was then known as ‘‘Long Acre

Square’’, now known as Times Square. Having moved

gradually northward ail during the 19th century, New

York’s theatre district finally came to rest at Time

Square, where it has remained for almost ninety years.

All of the subject theatres were built between 1901

and 1927, years when the City experienced its single

most fertile period of theatre construction. This bur-

geoning growth of the theatre Industry in the Times

Square area coincided with a number of developments

which coalesced to heighten the importance of that area

as a major hub of the City. That steady evolution of the

City’s transportation system, ever focused on the Times

Square area, made that a prime location of Theatre

entertainment.

7

17a

In addition, at the turn of the century, the method of

presenting a play was undergoing a fundamental change.

The ‘‘stock system’’ whereby actors worked in one the-

atre for a season in a variety of plays was replaced by

the ‘‘combination system’’ under which a company of

actors appearing in a single show would tour from city

to city. Important to the viability of the combination

- System was a single location to cast, rehearse and

develop a show for a cross-country tour. New York

became the headquarters for the combination system.

The construction of the Broadway Theatres, was an

important development in the City’s cultural history as a

center for theatre entertainment. In addition, this ongo-

ing period of theatre building witnesses an evolution of

theatre design and architecture. The increase of theatre

construction after the turn of the century gave rise to a

new attitude in design from the 19th century style to the

20th century style of fan-shaped seating, fewer balconies

and a lower and wider proscenium. Seventy-two theatres

were constructed in New York City shortly before and

shortly after World War I. From the time of the depres-

sion until the 1960’s no new playhouses were con-

structed.

Because the subject theatres were built at a time when

New York was the springboard for theatre performance

and architecture, these theatres set the tone for theatre

construction throughout the country, because produc-

tions launched in New York required similar accommo-

dation in other cities. Thus, the subject theatres

participated in and by their very existence demonstrate

the rich cultural and historical heritage of the City of

New York and of the nation.

The playhouses still standing in the Broadway Theatre

District share among them over eighty years of Ameri-

can theatrical history. It was in the Broadway Theatres

that the beginning of a distinctly American drama could

be seen. On Broadway in the 1920's the work of a new

generation of playwrights was seen—Eugene O’Néeill,

18a

Maxwell Anderson, George S. Kaufman, and others. In

the 1930’s the Broadway theatre produced work of polit-

ical and social concern written by Lillian Hellman,

Robert Sherwood, and Thornton Wilder. In the 1940’s

and 50’s Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller and William

Inge wrote for the Broadway stage. Meanwhile, musical

comedy had blossomed into a uniquely American art

form, producing the works of Rogers and Hammerstein,

Cole Porter, Irving Berlin, Jerome Kern and many

others.

A factual background is as follows:

In 1967, the BOE approved CPC’s proposal to establish

the Special Theatre District in response to a threat to the the-

atre industry posed by the expansion westward of Midtown

office construction. This was the first of many Special Dis-

tricts in the City. Developers were induced to include legiti-

mate theatres in new office buildings by granting the Highest

Floor Area Ratio (‘‘FAR’’) allowed. Since 1967, five new

theatres have been building in the Special Theatre District.

In the mid 1970’s a proposal by the City to revitalize Time

Square included building a major hotel at Broadway and 45th

Street. The project then known as the Portman Hotel (now

the Marriott-Marquis Hotel) was subject to the National His-

toric Preservation Act of 1966 (16 U.S.C. 470(f)), as

amended 90 Stat. 320 (the ‘‘Act’’) because financing was to

be supplied, in part, by the federal government. The Helen

Hayes and Morosco theatres occupied the Portman Hotel

site. Under the Act, the City had to determine if these the-

atres were eligible for inclusion in the National Register of

Historic Places. The Helen Hayes Theatre was found eligible

and the City was required to find ways to mitigate adverse

effects of the proposed demolition.

In 1978, the LPC began a preliminary study of the west

side of Midtown Manhattan, including the Broadway Theatre

District, to identify buildings potentially worthy of landmark

status. Initially, LPC listed thirty-five theatres (‘‘listed the-

atres’’) for further consideration.

19a

In 1979, an agreement was entered between the Federal

Advisory Council on Historic Preservation and the City in

conjunction with the New York State Office of Parks, Recre-

ation and Historic Preservation to take ‘‘reasonable and

appropriate measures to locate, identify and preserve signifi-

cant buildings”? in New York City. The agreement provided

“‘where appropriate, the process of landmarking . . . will be

initiated.’’ Also in 1979, CPC considered rezoning in mid-

town Manhattan to encourage more real estate development

on the west side by increasing the allowable bulk of new

buildings.

In March 1982, the Helen Hayes and Morosco Theatres

were razed in the midst of public demonstrations which led to

an outpouring of public concern by the citizenry at large for

the safety of other theatres. On May 13, 1982, Midtown zon-

ing amendments to the Zoning Resolution were passed. The

amendments included special provisions relating to Broadway

theatres—the Special Regulations for Theatre Subdistrict.

(ZR 81-70). The purpose of the regulations was ‘“‘to preserve

and protect the character of the theatre subdistrict as a cul-

tural and theatrical showcase.’ (ZR 81-71). Floor Area Ratio

(‘‘FAR’’) bonuses were also given for rehabilitation of cer-

tain listed theatres. (ZR 81-745). Other provisions were uti-

lized to help preserve the character of the area as an

entertainment center. (ZR 81-721, 722 and 723). LPC added

nine more theatres to the original list of thirty-five for a total

of 44 listed theatres. To demolish a listed theatre, the owner

was required to meet certain criteria and obtain a Special

Demolition Permit from CPC. (ZR 81-742). Transfer of

unused Development Rights (air rights above existing build-

ings) is regulated by the Zoning Resolution. The 1982 Zoning

Resolution amendments included a provision which benefited

listed theatres only. If certain conditions are met, transferable

development rights (‘“‘TDR’’ ’s) may be used in a manner not

otherwise permitted. To qualify for this benefit, the theatre

Owner must agree to the continued use of the building as a

legitimate theatre. (ZR 81-743). Four theatres have already

benefited from the transfer of their TDR’s under ZR 81-743.

The four theatres, The Belasco, The Lyceum, The Palace and

ee

20a

The Ritz, are all owned by petitioners. Owners of landmark

buildings are given benefits not available to owners of non-

landmark buildings. (See ZR 74-79, 711 and 712). Certain

additional benefits are given to owners of theatre buildings

designated as landmarks. (See ZR 81-747, 747(a), 747(b)).

With respect to the issues at hand, the record shows that

on April 12, 1982, LPC voted to calendar the listed theatres

for a public hearing to consider landmark designations. The

owners of all listed theatres received notice. The hearings

were held on June 14 and 15, 1982. At the request of peti-

tioners and Community Board No. 5, the public hearing was

continued on October 19, 1982 so petitioners could submit

their reports on the historical, cultural and architectural sig-

nificance of each building under consideration. (Petitioners

subsequently commissioned a second report which was sub-

mitted to LPC.) Prior to and during the course of hearings

LPC received numerous letters from members of the theatre

industry, local and national figures, politicians and the gen-

eral public in support cf designation. Approximately 80 peo-

ple testified on behalf of themselves or membership

Organizations. Reports on the architectural, historical, cul-

tural and aesthetic importance of the theatres were submitted

to LPC by a number of groups. Petitioners received advance

notice of the hearings to be held and appeared and partici-

pated fully. Petitioners commissioned and submitted reports

for consideration by LPC.

The ZR required the Mayor of the City of New York to

appoint a Theatre Advisory Council (‘‘TAC’’) including a

chairperson, and representatives of the performing arts, the

theatrical industry and related professions to advise the CPC

concerning applications for special permits or certifications

pursuant to ZR 81-74. TAC was appointed and met 40 times

from July 1982 to May 1984. TAC had 15 members including

theatre owners, representatives of the community and of the-

atre unions, a theatre historian, a real estate developer, archi-

tects and lawyers. In June 1984, the Theatre Advisory

Council issued its report titled ‘‘To Preserve The Broadway

Theatre.’’ The report unabashedly stated its goal was the

preservation of all 44 (now 45) lisied theatres for legitimate

2la

theatre use. The report made a number of recommendations

regarding interior landmark designations, permanency of the

prohibition against demolition of any listed theatre, zoning

changes, encouragement of theatre-related uses and covenants

for preservation of theatres, and the use of bonuses. CPC

adopted these recommendations in a three phase comprehen-

sive plan. Other recommendations regarding certain real

estate tax relief and creation of a theatre trust have not been

adopted by CPC but implementation has been proposed by

the Mayor’s Office. The proposed Theatre Trust would be a

not-for-profit organization with a board of professional}

people and experts in the theatre industry. The Trust would

lease and operate a number of theatres including those owned

by petitioners. The owners would be relieved of the cost of

maintaining these theatres. A production company would be

established to develop and produce new dramatic plays, to

assist playwrights and reduce the costs of tickets for the pub-

lic. The proposed tax relief would apply to listed theatres not

used one-third or more of the year and would reduce prop-

erty tax within a range from about $160,000 to $525,000.

After the public hearings were concluded the LPC held 29

public executive sessions for further consideration and review

of each theatre for possible designation. These sessions began

on April 12, 1984 and concluded on January 5, 1988.

In August 1985 LPC voted to designate three theatres as

landmarks. These designations were submitted to the BOE

for final consideration. The BOE asked that LPC make its

decisions on all listed theatres and present them to BOE at

the same time rather than individually.

On March 10, 1988, the BOE heid a public hearing on

LPC’s designations. After the public hearing in which peti-

tioners participated, the BOE approved LPC’s designations.

The Landmarks Law (New York City Administrative Code

25-301 et. seq.) was enacted to protect historic buildings and

neighborhoods from precipitous decisions to destroy or

change their character.

22a

**§ 25-301 PURPOSE AND DECLARATION OF PUB-

LIC POLICY

A. The Council finds that many improvements, as

herein defined, and landscape features, as herein

defined, having a special character or a special historical

or aesthetic interest or value and many improvements

representing the finest architectural products of distinct

periods in the history of the city, have been uprooted,

notwithstanding the feasibility of preserving and contin-

uing the use of such improvements and landscape fea-

tures, and without adequate consideration of the

irreplacable loss to the people of the city of the aes-

thetic, cultural and historic values represented by such

improvements and landscape features. In addition, dis-

tinct areas may be similarly uprooted or may have their

distinctiveness destroyed, although the preservation

thereof may be both feasible and desirable. It is the

sense of the council that the standing of this city as a

world wide tounst center and world capital of business,

culture and government cannot be maintained or

enhanced by disregarding the historical and architectural

heritage of the city and by countenancing the destruction

of such cultural assets.

B. It is hereby declared as a matter of public policy

that the protection, enhancement, perpetuation and use

of improvements and landscape features of special char-

acter or special historical or aesthetic interest of value is

a public necessity and is required in the interests of the

health, prosperity, safety and welfare of the people. The

purpose of this chapter is to (a) effect and accomplish

the protection, enhancement and perpetuation of such

improvements and landscape features and of districts

which represent or reflect elements of the city’s cultural,

social, economic, political and architectural history; (b)

safeguard the city’s historic, aesthetic and cultural heri-

tage, as embodied and reflected in such improvements,

landscape features and districts; (c) stabilize and

improve property values in such districts; (d) foster civic

23a

pride in the beauty and noble accomplishments of the

past; (e) protect and enhance the city’s attractions to

tourists and visitors and the support and stimulus to

business and industry thereby provided; (f) strengthen

the economy of the city; and (g) promote the use of his-

toric districts, landmarks, interior landmarks and scenic

landmarks for the education, pleasure and welfare of the

people of the city.

A landmark is defined as:

‘“‘Any improvement, any part of which is thirty years

old or older, which has a special character or special

historical or aesthetic interest or value as part of the

development heritage or cultural characteristics of

the City, State or Nation, and which has been desig-

nated as a landmark pursuant to the provisions of

this chapter.’’ [25-302(n)].

The New York City Charter Section 534 established the

LPC to include eleven members with at least three architects,

one qualified histonan, one city planner or landscape archi-

tect and one realtor. The LPC is responsible for carrying out

the provisions of the Landmarks Law. The LPC has the

power, after a public hearing, to designate a landmark, land-

mark sites, interior landmarks, scenic landmarks and historic

districts. (Landmarks Law 25-303). Notice of public hearings

are to be given as provided in Landmarks Law Section 25-

313. After any such designation the LPC must file a copy of

its designating report with the BPE, CPC and other city

agencies. (Landmarks Law 25303(4)(f)). The BPE may notify

or disapprove such designation. (Landmarks Law 25-

303(4)(g)(2)).

After the BOE acts, the owner may seek judicial review of

any final designation decision. Owners of landmarks must

keep them ‘‘in good repair’? (Landmarks Law 25-311) and

seek approval from the LPC for proposed alterations or

improvements (Landmarks Law 25-305).

The issues presented on judicial review are whether respon-

dents proceeded in excess of jurisdiction, whether respon-

24a

dents’ determinations were made in violation of lawful

procedure, were affected by an error of law or were arbitrary

and capricious or an abuse of discretion and whether any of

petitioners’ constitutional rights have been violated. Upon

careful examination of the entire record, the Court finds the

amended petition and complaint lacking in merit and grants

respondents’ cross-motion in its entirety. Thus, petitioners’

motion must be denied as moot. Petitioners’ rather conclu-

sory assertions that respondents’ actions were, inter alia, ‘‘ill

conceived’’, “‘siiortsighted’’, ‘‘drastic and illegal’’, ‘‘plainly

unauthorized”’ and ‘‘onerous’’ are in sharp contrast with the

contents of the record.

As a threshold matter, the petitioners’ claims are mpe for

review because the petitioners’ papers present facial attacks

on various provisions of the Landmarks Preservation Law

and the amendments to the New York City Zoning Resolu-

tion.

Addressing the eleven causes of action seriatim: Petitioners

have not met their burden of proof on the first cause of

action by showing the landmark designations were arbitrary

or capricious or had no rational basis. Judicial review is lim-

ited to whether there is a rational basis for the determination

in issue. (Matter of Pell v. Board of Education, 34 N.Y.2d

222; Society for Ethical Culture in the City of New York v.

Spatt, 68 A.D.2d 112, aff’d, 51 N.Y.2d 449). The Court’s

function is complete once a reasonable basis in fact is found

in the entire record. (300 Gramatan Avenue Assoc. v. Div. of

Human Righis, 45 N.Y.2d 176). A reviewing Court may

annul a discretionary determination of an administrative

body only if the determination is illegal, arbitrary or capri-

cious. (Corliss v. Solomon, 75 A.D.2d 837). The court may

not substitute its own findings or judgment for that of the

agency. (See Newbrand v. City of Yonkers, 285 N.Y. 164;

Zeidler v. Board of Supervisors of Suffolk Co., 35 A.D.2d

54). The court need not agree with the agency as long as

there is factual support in the record for the agency’s deter-

mination. Matter of Phinn v. Kross, 8 A.D.2d 132).

Here, the record (over 7,000 pages) is replete with testimo-

nial, photographic and documentary evidence attesting to the

25a

special architectural, aesthetic, historical and cultural value in

the designated aspects of each landmarked theatre. Petition-

ers allege ‘‘The landmark designations were made pursuant to

a predetermined policy to landmark each and every legitimate

theatre in Midtown which had any potential for development,

without regard to the applicable standards under the Land-

marks Law.’’ While it is true the Theatre Advisory Council

desired to preserve all listed theatres, there is no probative

evidence that was the goal of amy agency named as a respon-

dent herein. To the contrary, the record shows each theatre

building was given individual consideration of its unique

features and history thought to merit protection. Not all the-

atres were found to permit protection and on some, only

interior or exterior features were found to be of such special

character or special historical or aesthetic interest or value as

to warrant protection. The rest were rejected. Notwithstand-

ing, the goals and recommendations of the Theatre Advisory

Counsel, petitioners’ blanket claims are unsupported.

Moreover, there is no support for petitioners’ claim that

respondents have exceeded their Statutory authority. The rec-

ord provides support for finding each building was desig-

nated on its own merits not em masse as claimed. If there

were evidence that respondents sought to control the theatre

industry as a whole, Clearly the agencies would have violated

their mandates.

In the second cause of action, petitioners allege various

violations by the BOE. Again, however, the record does not

Support the claims. As noted, the record again supports a

finding each building was considered separately on its own

interior and exterior features. Petitioners complain the build-

ings were simply listed alphabetically and considered as a

group. Obviously, the theatres were listed alphabetically to

avoid confusion and as an aid to a more efficient and logical

review.

The single roll call vote procedure by the BOE appears to

have been a matter of administrative discretion and conven-

ience. The BOE was entitled to vote on the designations as a

group providing there is no prejudice to petitioners. Petition-

ers have not shown any prejudice or violation of any law or

26a

rule concerning the voting methods at BOE. There is no

requirement that individual votes be taken on each matter

before the BOE. Petitioners have not produced any support

for the allegation that their rights were violated. Respondents

show by example how a single vote is a simple expedient in

the face of busy calendars.

The third cause of action relating to the absence of the

transcript is without merit. While the public hearings before

the LPC were mandated by law, there is no statutory require-

ment that testimony at the hearings be transcribed. The

stenographer’s notes were made in case a private party or

reviewing party or court required a transcript of the hearings.

Members of each commission or the BOE could have

requested transcripts but instead chose to consider and rely

on other evidence and reports made available and provided to

them. There is no statutory provision specifying exactly what

evidence must be considered by each agency except Land-

marks Law 25-303(4)(f} which provides only that the LPC

shall file a copy of its designating report with each agency

involved.

Petitioners’ interests and concerns were presented at every

stage of the proceedings by their chosen representatives. Peti-

tioners should not be heard to complain that the process took

as long as it did or that members of the commissions have

changed over time. Petitioners themselves were, in great part,

responsible for the length of the proceedings. The record

shows petitioners requested continuations and adjournments

so that they might have additional time to prepare reports or

present evidence. Further, there is nothing in any statute that

requires members of LPC, CPC, or BOE to remain the same

throughout the course of proceedings. If such were the same,

no agency could act effectively as membership tends to

change for personal and professional reasons. It is, however,

each individuals’ responsibility as a member of a commission

to educate and inform himself or herself on the details of the

business before them so they make informed decisions. Mem-

bers of each commission had numerous reports and other evi-

dence before them before they voted. Just because certain

members did not attend the public hearing is not enough to

EE

27a

invalidate the work of the commission provided there was a

quorum.

Petitioners challenge the interior designations in their

fourth cause of action as arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of

discretion and illegal. The Landmarks Law specifically autho-

rizes the LPC to designate interior architectural features as

landmarks. Petitioners argue the interior designations are

counterproductive to preservation and constitute an unrea-

sonable interference with theatre productions. Petitioners’

experts with eminent credentials in the field of theatre and

Stage design, express their opinions that the interior designa-

tions and regulations are incompatible with the requirements

of good and efficient theatre and Stage design. Respondents’

experts, equally well-qualified in their field, express their view

that interior landmarks and regulations are compatible with

good theatre and stage design. Respondents cite the theatre

production of ‘‘Cats’’, ‘‘Starlight Express’’ and ‘‘Phantom

of the Opera’’ as examples of how old theatres may be modi-

fied under the interior guidelines to accommodate the latest

advances in theatre/stage design requirements. Even if this

Court were to agree with petitioners’ experts, this Court may

not substitute its judgment for that of the reviewing agency

absent a finding of arbitrariness or Capriciousness or the

agency’s action was in violation of lawful procedures or

made in excess of jurisdiction. (Carroll v. Ortiz, 122 Misc. 2d

164 and Minerva v. Ward, 101 A.D.2d 754, aff'd, 63 N.Y.2d

739). Here, review of the record reveals a rational basis for

the respondents’ determination to landmark certain theatre

interiors. As with the exterior designations, the record reveals

each interior designation was considered individually on its

own merits.

Ihe Guidelines for the Treatment of Designated Broadway

Theatres Exteriors and Interiors adopted by LPC after a

number of public executive sessions was a valid exercise of its

regulatory power to assist in the preservation of landmarks.

The Guidelines were the result of years of study and discus-

sion involving various experts familiar with theatrical require-

ments. Theatre owners were involved. The Theatre Advisory

Council which also included theatre owners, recommended

a

28a

the Guidelines and that the designations not be approved

until the Guidelines were in place. Certain petitioners testified

for the Guidelines which provide a simplified procedure and

time limits for processing applications to do certain kinds of

work. There is nothing arbitrary, abusive or illegal in the

Guidelines.

The the fifth cause of action regarding SEQRA is without

merit. The Environmental Conservation Law 8-0109(2)

(‘‘ECL’’) provides, in relevant part, ‘‘all agencies . . . shall

prepare ... an environmental impact statement on any

action they propose or approve which may have a significant

effect on the environment.’’

To argue as petitioners do, the designation of one or more

buildings as landmarks constitutes an ‘‘action’’ which may

have a significant effect on the environment, overlooks the

fact that landmark designations effectively act to stabilize the

environment in and about a building and its neighborhood.

By maintaining the existing structure, no change is effected.

The environment is unaffected.

Landmark designations are not ‘‘actions’’ within the pur-

view of ECL but enjoy exemption from the ECL definition

of ‘‘action’’. ECL 8-0105(5) provides ‘‘actions’’ do not

include: (III) maintenance or repair involving no substantial

changes in existing structure of facility.’’ Insofar as the

Landmarks Law seeks only to maintain the status quo of a

designated building through routine maintenance and repairs,

SEQRA has no application to the subject designations.

The sixth cause of action alleging the Landmarks Law is

unconstitutional for failure to exempt properties not making

a reasonable return is without merit. Petitioners challenge the

so-called hardship provision (Landmarks Law 25-309) which

permits demolition, alteration or reconstruction on the

ground of insufficient return. Petitioners argue the hardship

provision is inadequate to prevent a confiscation of a land-

mark owner’s property. Petitioners’ argument erroneously

presupposes a landmark designation is equivalent to a confis-

cation or ‘‘taking’’. Petitioners cite cases for the proposition

that land use regulations which prevent a reasonable return

or investment are confiscatory. Petitioners rely primarily

i laaaamauaaaaaenamamaeeanemaa aac

29a

upon Seawall Associates v. City of New York (138 Misc. 2d

96) wherein the trial court held enactment of Local Law 9 of

1987 was unconstitutional as a “‘taking’’ of property.

Although reversed on appeal to the Appellate Division (142

A.D.2d 72) the trial court was subsequently reinstated by the

Court of Appeals (74 N.Y.2d 92 (cert. denied)) in a decision

dated July 6, 1989. Local Law 9 involved a broad affirmative

social action program designed to ‘‘freeze’’ existing single

room occupancy rental units (‘‘SRO’’) to help remedy the

growing problem of homelessness. The law prohibited con-

version, alteration or demolition of SRO units. Owners were

required to rehabilitate units in their buildings and lease each

such unit at a controlled rent. Substantial penalties were pro-

vided for violations. An exemption provision allowed owners,

at a cost of $45,000 per unit, to convert or eliminate a unit.

The cost to ‘‘buy’’ an exemption could be decreased upon a

finding of hardship if ‘‘there is no reasonable possibility that

such owners can make a reasonable rate of return’’ which

was defined as a net annual return of 8-!/2% of the assessed

value of the property as an SRO. The Court of Appeals

found Local Law 9 unconstitutional as a per se physical

“‘taking’’ without compensation ‘because it interfere[s] so

drastically with the SRO property owners’ fundamental rights

to possess and to exclude. The law requires nothing less of

the owners than ‘to suffer the physical occupation of [their]

building[s] by third parties’ [citations omitted]”’ [74 N.Y.2d

92, 106]. The court also found even if there was no physical

“‘taking’’, Local Law 9 ‘‘would still be facially invalid as a

regulatory taking.’’ Citing Penn Central Transportation Co.

v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, the Court of Appeals

Stated:

‘There is no ‘set formula’ for determining in all cases

when an adjustment of rights has reached the point

when ‘justice and fairness’ require that compensation be

paid. It is basic, however, that such a burdenshifting

regulation of the use of private property will, without

more, constitute a taking: (1) if it denies an owner eco-

30a

nomically viable use of his property, or (2) if it does not

substantially advance legitimate state interests.’’

Also relevant here, the Court of Appeals stated:

‘*The effect of Local Law No. 9 is unlike that of the

Landmarks Law in Penn Central, which denied the

owner of Grand Central neither the continued full use of

its property nor a reasonable return on its investment.”’

As a footnote the Court of Appeals stated:

‘‘Moreover, the [Supreme] Court in Penn Central

pointed out that, while the Landmarks Commission had

denied an application to build more than 50 stories

above the terminal, there was no showing that permis-

sion to build fewer would be denied. Additionally, the

Court noted that Penn Central had not been deprived of

all pre-existing air rights, since under the law these rights

were transferable (438 U.S. 104, 136-137).’’

The point here is, Seawall and Penn Central do not sup-

port petitioners’ argument that the Landmarks Law and the

hardship provision in particular are confiscatory in denying a

reasonable return to the owner. The Court of Appeals

expressly differentiated the effect of a use regulation such as

Local Law 9 versus a landmark designation. Whereas a regu-

lation affecting use of the property may result in an unlawful

‘‘taking’’, a landmark designation denies the owner ‘‘neither

the continued full use of its property nor a reasonable

return.’’

It was not the hardship provision or the rate that rendered

Local Law 9 invalid. In Seawall, the trial court found, inter

alia, Local Law 9

‘‘so onerous a burden on the property regulated and in

effect deprives the owner of a reasonable income or

other private use of his property thereby destroying its

economic value, a regulation of this type amounts to a

deprivation or frustration of property rights without due

process of law and is therefore invalid.’”’

a

3la

Therefore, to argue as petitioners do that because the

8-'/2% hardship provision under Local Law 9 was unconsti-

tutional, the 6% hardship provision under the Landmarks

Law must also be unconstitutional, overlooks the legal

import of Seawall.

The seventh, eighth and ninth causes of action challenging

the Special Demolition Permit Requirement (‘‘SDP’’) in ZR

81-742 are without merit. The Zoning Resolution provides:

**81-742 Restrictions on Demolition of Theatres.

No demolition permit shall be issued by the Depart-

ment of Buildings for any theatre listed in this section as

a “‘listed theatre,’’ unless:

(a) It is an unsafe building and demolition is required

pursuant to the provisions of Section 26-235 to 26-243

(Title 26, Chapter 1, Article 8. Unsafe Buildings and

Property); or

(b) It has been designated a landmark by the Land-

mark Preservation Commission and a notice to proceed

has been issued to the owner pursuant to Section 25-309

of the Administrative Code permitting demolition that

contemplates removal of the theatre from theatre use; or

(c) The City Planning Commission, by special permit

after public notice and hearing and subject to Board of

Estimate action permits its demolition upon making the

following findings:

(1) That demolition of the theatre Structure will not

unduly diminish the character of the Theatre District as

a cultural, entertainment and theatrica] showcase, taking

into consideration any or all of the following factors:

(i) Current physical characteristics of the theatre

that affect its suitability as a legitimate the-

atre, including but not limited to seating

capacity, configuration and location,

(ii) History of its use as a legitimate theatre pre-

senting legitimate attractions to the general

public,

_

32a

(iii) Likelihood of its future use for legitimate

theatre production under reasonable terms

and conditions generally prevailing in the the-

atre industry, and

(iv) Applicant’s pians, if any, for replacement of

the theatre structure with a development con-

taining replacement uses supportive of the

character of the theatre subdistrict, and

(2) That there exists a legal commitment binding upon

all parties in interest of the zoning lot containing the

theatre that any development or enlargement on a zon-

ing lot containing a portion or all of the former site of

the listed theatre shall reserve floor space at least equiva-

lent in amvuunt to the total floor area of the theatre

devoted exclusively to uses described in Section 81725

(entertainment related uses) and meeting the require-

ments of Section 81-724 (requirements for entertain-

ment-related uses) for the lift of such development or

enlargement. If the area of the zoning lot containing the

theatre is less than 20,000 square feet and the Commis-

sion finds that the allocation of floor space at least

equivalent in amount to the total floor area of the the-

atre to uses described in Section 81-725 (entertainment-

related uses) is impractical or unreasonable, the

Commission may authorize a reduction in the amount of

area allocated to such uses. Any development or enlarge-

ment on a zoning lot containing a portion or all of the

former site of a listed theatre musts, however, meet the

requirements of Section 81724 (requirements for

entertainment-related uses), whether or not the zoning

lot is located within the area described in that Section.

The theatre to which the provisions of this section

apply are predominantly free standing theatres with full

stage and wings and are identified as listed theatres in

Table 1 below. (See Exhibit A).

In the case of an existing legitimate theatre for whose

construction bonus floor area was granted pursuant to

M

33a

| regulations in effect prior to the effective date of this

amendment; no provision of this amendment shall be

construed as changing any previously existing responsi-

bility of the owner or lessee of such theatre for continu-

ance of its use as a legitimate theatre.”

Petitioners assert that SPD is an unauthorized use of police

power and not permitted under city and state law, and should

be invalidated because it is discriminatory in nature and fails

to exempt properties not yielding a fair return. Petitioners

argue that General City Law 20(25), the source from which

the city derives its zoning powers, does not authorize the

CPC to enact the SDP because it is a ‘‘site specific’’ zoning

regulation, ‘‘isolating specific buildings in a district for dif-

ferent treatment from other similarly situated buildings.’

Petitioners state there ir no authority to single out 44 parcels

by name and subject them to special zoning requirements.

Petitioners concede the preservation of Broadway theatres in

midtown ‘‘constitutes a viable public goal’’ but suggest ‘‘such

goal cannot be achieved by fiat’’ but by other means such as

by equal restrictions on all Owners of property in the Theatre

Subdistrict promoting theatre use on their property, by enact-

ing voluntary incentive programs or by purchase from the

Owners at fair market value. Petitioners conclude ‘‘whether

characterized as reverse spot zoning, discriminatory zoning or

frustration of property rights, the City’s SDP js impermissi-

ble and should be annulled.’’

In support of these arguments petitioners rely primarily

upon three cases—Vernon Park Realty, Inc. v. City of

Mount Vernon, 307 N.Y. 493; Westwood Forest Estates v.

Village of South Nyack, 23 N.Y.2d 424 and Fred F. French

Investing Co. v. City of New York, 39 N.Y.2d 587, cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 990. Upon review of these cases, however,

the Court finds they are inapposite and thus not controlling

on any of the three arguments against the SDP.

Vernon Park involved a parcel of land adjacent to a rail-

road station in the middle of a heavily developed business

district. The property had always been used for parking even

though the property itself was residentially zoned. Both the

ee

34a

business and residertial districts were pursuant to 1927 zon-

ing ordinances. Parking was permitted as a valid non-

conforming use. In 1932 a variance was granted permitting

installation of a gasoline station. In 1951, plaintiff took title

and was denied a variance for a retail shopping center under

the 1927 zoning ordinance (residential). While an action to

annul the 1927 zoning ordinance was pending, the City of

Mount Vernon amended the zoning ordinance to prohibit the

use of plaintiff’s property for any purpose other than for a

service station and parking. Plaintiff proved the property had

no value for residential use and that the amendment effec-

tively destroyed the greater part of the value of the property

for which it was most readily adapted—a business use. In

Vernon Park, the Court of Appeals found the zoning ordi-

nance invalid because it was ‘‘so unreasonable and arbitrary

as to constitute an invasion of property rights contrary to

constitutional due process. .. .’’

Westwood involved a zoning ordinance amendment barring

new construction of multiple dwellings throughout the Village

of South Nyack in order to alleviate an existing burden on

the Village’s sewage disposal plant. The Court of Appeals

found the amendment invalid because it was not properly

related to zoning purposes and restricted the owner’s prop-

erty to a use fo which it was not adaptable. The Court also

found the amendment was not adopted in furtherance of a

comprehensive plan.

Fred F. French Investing involved an amendment to the

New York City Zoning Resolution purporting to create a

‘*special park district’’, reasoned two private parks in a mid-

town residential complex then zoned for residential and office

building use, exclusively for use as parks open to the public

and granted the owner certain development rights which

could be transferred to some other unspecified parcel. The

Court of Appeals found the amendment unconstitutional] as

an unreasonable exercise of the police power to regulate pri-

vate property use without due process of law because it

deprived the owner of all property rights except bare title and

certain other dubious rights.

35a

In each of these three cases, the invalidated zoning mea-

sures were found to have denied the owners the full or value

of their properties, that the Proposed measures were not

properly related to zoning purposes or not adopted in fur-

therance of a comprehensive zoning plan. Another case cited

by petitioners is De Sena v. Gulde, 24 A.D.2d 165, wherein

an amendment to a village zoning ordinance placed plaintiff’s

and an adjoining property into a light manufacturing district

pursuant to a preexisting master plan. Because of boycotting,

picketing and threats of economic damage by certain mem-

bers of the community who sought to make race an issue out

of the zoning amendment, the Board of Trustees adopted

another amendment placing the same area into a residential

district. The subsequent amendment was declared illegal

because the Board failed to follow its own master plan or its

conviction as to the most appropriate use of the land.

Here, the CPC has in place a comprehensive plan for the

theatre district first created in 1967. The plan was enacted in

three phases and adopted by the BOE on February 5, 1987,

October 29, 1987 and April 28, 1988. Phase | applied to cer-

tain zoning lots and regulates lighting, signs and lowscale

street walls with building set backs. (ZR 88-723, 732 and 8]-

75). These provisions were designed to preserve the scale and

low density in the core area of Broadway consistent with pre-

serving the character of the area as an entertainment related

area. (See ZR 81-00(h)). In order to encourage preservation

of existing theatres, Phase I] discontinued the bonuses pro-

vided earlier to attract construction of new theatres. To

ensure continuity in the character of the area, new develop-

ments were required to reserve a certain floor area for enter-

tainment related use. A new development might not have to

reserve floor area for entertainment uses if the new develop-

ment was in a merged zoning lot with a theatre. (See ZR 8]-

722, 721 and 725).

The SDP (ZR 81-742) was included in ZR 81-74, which had

been enacted in 1982 then extended and modified and later

made permanent. An environmental review by the City was

conducted as part of the adoption of these provisions. The

review resulted in the issuance of a Certificate of No Effect

36a

or negative declaration, dated April 20, 1987, as revised Sep-

tember 2, 1987. A public hearing (July 8, 1987) before the

CPC was held after Community Board No. 5 approved the

provision on June 11, 1986. A CPC report (September 2,

1987) recommended these provisions be made permanent. On

October 29, 1987 the BOE adopted them.

All of the provisions in ZR 81-72 to 81-74 were made per-

manent under Phase II. These provisions, originally adopted

in 1982, include those which are beneficial to theatre owners

such as a bonus for rehabilitation of listed theatres (ZR

81745), the allowance for relocation of bulk across zoning

district lines (ZR 81-746), the transfer of interior-only land-

mark TDRs (ZR 81-747(a)) and the transfer of TDRs through

a common chain of ownership (ZR 81-747(b)). Some theatre

owners have already benefited from some of these provisions.

They only challenge the restriction on demolition.

The SDP applies only to listed theatres not designated a

landmark. Respondents point out as a practical matter, there

are only three theatres, the Broadway, the Nederlander and

the Ritz, that are subject to the special demolition permit

procedure and because the Broadway and the Ritz have

already sold their TDRs, the SDP is not much of a restriction

on them. The Nederlander remains as the only theatre

restricted by the SDP. Petitioners do not deny respondents’

analysis narrowing the application of the SDP to three the-

atres and ultimately to the Nederlander. Since its enactment

in 1982, no theatre owner has ever applied for a special dem-

olition permit and no applications are pending consistent with

petitioners’ representation they have no present intent to

demolish any of their theatres.

The record also shows special permits for demolition are

required in other special districts and each requires satisfac-

tion of particular criteria.

Respondents cite Asian Americans for Equality v. Koch,

(72 N.Y.2d 121) where, in upholding the Special Manhattan

Bridge District, the Court of Appeals stated, among other

things, special district zoning ‘‘can be used as an incentive to

further growth and development of the community rather

than as a restraint’’ and ‘‘is one of several imaginative legis-

37a

lative schemes intended to encourage, or even coerce, private

development into making the city a more pleasant and effi-

cient place to live and work.’’ The Court noted that by use

of special district incentive plans, the city has ‘‘encouraged

the preservation and development of the Broadway Theatre

District,’’ among others.

Where legislation is challenged the Court must decide

“‘only whether the means chosen are constitutional and

related to the <vil sought to be abolished’’ and not ‘‘whether

the legislature has chosen the best remedy. . . .”’ (Staten

Island Loaders v. Waterfront Commission, 117 F.Supp. 308,

aff'd 347 U.S. 439). If legislation enacted pursuant to a

State’s police power bears a rational relationship to a legiti-

mate government interest, it will be upheld. (United States v.

Carolen Products Co., 304 U.S. 144: Grossman v.

Baumgartner, 17 N.Y.2d 345).

In Kravetz v. Plenge, 84 A.D.2d 422, the Appellate Divi-

sion, Fourth Department, stated:

‘Spot zoning is the singling out of a small parcel of

land for a use classification totally different from that

of the surrounding area, for the benefit of the owner of

the property and to the detriment of the other owners

[citations omitted]. Where the enacting authority acts in

accordance with a comprehensive plan it will not be con-

demned as spot zoning, even though it singles out and

affects but one lot or creates a small area in the center

of a larger zone devoted to a different use [citations

Omitted].’’ (At 428).

In Penn Central, supra, the U.S. Supreme Court stated:

“It is time, as appellants emphasize, that both historic

district legislation and zoning laws regulate all properties

within given physical communities whereas landmark

laws apply only to selected parcels. But, contrary to

appellant's suggestions, landmark laws are not like dis-

criminatory, or ‘reverse spot’ zoning: that is, a land-use

decision which arbitrarily singles out a particular parcel

for different, less favorable treatment other than the

38a

neighboring ones. [citation omitted]. In contrast to dis-

criminatory zoning, which is the anithesis of land use

control as part of some comprehensive plan, the New

York City law embodies a comprehensive plan to pre-

serve structures of historic or aesthetic interest wherever

they might be found in the City. . . .’’ (At 132)

There is no spot zoning, reverse spot zoning or discrimina-

tory zoning here. There is no ‘‘arbitrary singling out of a

particular parcel for different less favorable treatment than

the neighboring ones.’’ GCL 20(24) provides ‘‘such regula-

tions shall be uniform for each class of buildings throughout

any district, but the regulations in one or more districts may

differ from those in other districts.’’

Petitioners’ reply memorandum correctly recognizes that

the cases cited by respondents involved and upheld zoning

restrictions imposed on classes of structures treating similarly

situated parcels in a uniform fashion. The record here shows

the listed theatres share a sufficiently common heritage,

architecturally, historically, culturally and aesthetically as to

be fairly viewed as a class of buildings in the Special Theatre

District.

There is a limited scope of review applicable to municipal

zoning ordinances (See Kurzius, Inc. v. Upper Brookville, 51

N.Y.2d 338; Town of Huntington v. Park Shore Country

Day Camp, 47 N.Y.2d 61) which are given a strong presump-

tion of constitutionality. Moreover, there is a heavy burden

on the challenger to rebut the presumption by demonstrating

unconstitutionality beyond a reasonable doubt. (Asian Ameri-

can v. Koch, supra).

There can be no question but that the City has a compre-

hensive plan and that preservation of the character of the

Special Theatre District is an appropriate planning objective.

Economic considerations and goals are within the bounds of

legitimate government interests. (See Matter of Wolfsohn v.

Burden, 211 N.Y. 288 and Walkbroadway Realty Inc. v. New

York Board of Standards and Appeals, Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co.,

Index #25071/82, July 3, 1985). The City is legislatively

endowed with the power ‘‘to regulate and limit the height,

re

39a

bulk and location of buildings hereafter erected”? (GCL

20(24)) and ‘‘to regulate and restrict the location of trades

and industries and the location of buildings, designed for

specified uses, and for said purpose to divide the City into

districts and to prescribe for each such district the trades and

industries that shall be excluded or subjected to special regu-

lation and the uses for which buildings may not be erected or

altered’’ (GCL 20(25)).

Commendably, petitioners have no present intent to demol-

ish any of their theatres and they agree preservation is a via-

ble public goal. The record reveals, however, that petitioners

concerns are all related to the economics of their investments.

Indeed, petitioners suggest other means by which they think

the City might achieve its goals with less of a burden on

them. While property owners cannot be faulted for wanting

less regulation it is not this Court’s prerogative to fulfill

those wishes absent a demonstration of a violation of rights.

No such violation has been found on this record. The SDP is

only one element of the zoning resolution amendments appli-

cable to the Special Theatre District. The Court finds, as it

must, the SDP promotes and conserves the most desirable use

for land in the Special Theatre District in accordance with

City’s well-considered, comprehensive, master plan. There-

fore, the SDP is not an unauthorized use of the police power

and is permitted under City and State law and is not discrimi-

natory zoning.

The argument the SDP fails to include a hardship provi-

sion to exempt property not yielding a fair return is of no

avail. Pursuant to ZR 72-01(B), the Board of Standards and

Appeals (‘“‘BSA”’) has the power to “*hear, decide and deter-

mine in a specific case of practical difficulties or unnecessary

hardship, whether to vary the application of the provisions of

this resolution’. A hardship provision need not be spelled

out in each chapter of the zoning resolution as the BSA has

the authority to grant a variance from the Special Demolition

Permit requirements under ZR 72-2]. In addition, there is

evidence in the record that petitioners requested there be only

one hardship hearing at LPC. Therefore, petitioners may

apply for hardship relief from the SDP at either the LPC or

40a

the BSA notwithstanding the absence of such right in ZR 81-

742.

The tenth cause of action is without merit. On the issue of

a ‘‘taking’’ without just compensation, Penn Central and

Seawall are controlling authority. In Penn Central, Justice

Brennan stated:

‘‘The question presented is whether a city may, as part

of a comprehensive program to preserve historic land-

marks and historic districts, place restrictions on the

development of individual landmarks—in addition to

those imposed by applicable zoning ordinances—without

effecting a ‘taking’ requiring the payment of ‘just com-

» @O

pensation.’.

The question was answered in the affirmative. The grant of

landmark status does not effect a ‘‘taking.’’ The designations

of petitioners’ theatre contemplate a continuity of use as the-

atres. Petitioners are nevertheless free to change the uses to

which their buildings may be put. The Landmarks Law does

not concern itself with use so long as the use will not

adversely affect the protected architectural features.

Petitioners have not distinguished the relevant facts in this

case from those in Penn Central. Instead, petitioners argue

respondents’ citation to Penn Central is unnecessary because

petitioners do not question the City’s police power to pre-

serve buildings through landmarking procedures. Further,

petitioners state the Landmarks Law should not be invali-

dated simply because it inhibits development or improvement

of private property nor that it strips all value from petition-

ers’ property. What petitioners contend is that there must be

a ‘‘causal relationship’’ between the Landmark Law and the

police power goal. Petitioners maintain this ‘‘causal relation-

ship’’ requirement is mandated by GML 96-A and Nollan v.

California Coastal Commission, 197 S. Ct. 3141. Petitioners

conclude their argument by alleging ‘‘respondents cannot sat-

isfy the strict causal relationship test required in

Nollan. . .”’.

GMI 96-A requires that measures in ‘‘the exercise of

police power, shall be reasonable and appropriate to the pur-

4la

pose, or if constituting a “‘taking’’ of private property shall

provide for due compensation, which may include the limita-

tion or remission of taxes’. In Nollan, the U.S. Supreme

Court stated:

‘““We have long recognized that land use regulation

does not effect a taking if it ‘substantially advance{s]

legitimate state interests’ and does not ‘den[y] an owner

economically viable use of his land,’ Agins v. Tiburon,

447 U.S. 255, 260, 100 S. Ct. 2138, 2141, 65 L. Ed. 2d

106 (1980). See also Penn Central Transportation Co. v.

New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 127, 98 S. Ct. 2646,

2660, 57 L. Ed. 2d 63] (1978) (‘‘A use restriction may

constitute a ‘taking’ if not reasonably necessary to the

effectuation of a substantial government purpose. Our

cases have not elaborated on the standards for determin-

ing what type of connection between the regulation and

the state interest satisfies the requirement that the

former ‘substantially advance’ the latter.’’ (/d. at 3147)

Continuing, the Nollan court Stated that ‘‘a broad range of

governmental purposes and regulations satisfies these require-

ments.’ One such example was Penn Central wherein the

Court did a thorough analysis of the Landmarks Law in New

York and rejected a claim of “‘taking’’. The Court found the

regulation substantially advanced a legitimate state interest of

preserving Grand Central Terminal. Therefore, however the

‘test’ in Nollan may be defined, Penn Central held that the

New York Landmarks Law met the test. A fortiori, the ‘‘rea-

sonable and appropriate’ test in GML 96-A is also met.

This Court finds that preservation of certain theatres and

the industry of theatre production in the Special Theatre Dis-

trict in New York City is a legitimate government interest

which is substantially advanced by the Landmarks Law. The

theatre industry in New York is an integral part of the Amer-

ican cultural fabric and the economy of New York City and

State. Reference is here made to the declaration of public

policy set forth in Landmarks Law 25-301(b). It clearly states

that the protection and perpetuation of improvements of spe-

cial character or special historical Or aesthetic interest or

ae

42a

value is a public necessity required in the interest of the

health, prosperity, safety and welfare of the people. The pur-

pose of the policy is expressly set forth and includes fostering

civic pride in the beauty and noble accomplishments of the

past, the protection and enhancement of the City’s attrac-

tions to tourists and visitors and the support and simulus to

business and industry thereby provided, to strengthen the

economy of the City and to promote the use of historic dis-

trict landmarks and interior landmarks for the education,

pleasure and welfare of the people.

The eleventh cause of action alleges damages of not less

than $200,000,000. Alleging it does not make it so. No evi-

dentiary proof is offered to show a genuine issue of fact. No

factual allegations are found in the pleadings to support this

cause of action. It is not clear to the Court whether this

claim of damage is asserted in relation to the ‘‘taking’’ argu-

ment or as a separate claim for diminished value of air

rights. No probative evidence is offered to show diminution

of such rights or the value thereof. Conclusory arguments

have no merit and are insufficient to defeat respondents’

cross-motion for summary judgment.

Contrary to petitioners’ arguments respondents have pre-

sented an affidavit directly refuting petitioners’ allegations

with a factual analysis of air rights in connection with peti-

tioners’ properties. The analysis lists the permitted FAR, the

allowable bulk, approximate existing bulk and unused resid-

ual bulk for each of twenty theatres owned by petitioners.

The factual statements in the affidavit belie petitioners’ con-

clusions. No issue of fact is found to defeat the cross-motion

relative to the eleventh cause of action.

Accordingly, respondents’ cross-motion for dismissal is

granted.

Settle Order and Judgment in accordance with the fore-

going decision.

Dated: December 5, 1989

/s/ 1.V. Santaella

35.4..

43a

New York Court of Appeals

Dismissal of Appeal

Sept. 10, 199]

(Reported at 78 N.Y.2d 1006, 580 N.E.2d 1059, 575

N.Y.S.2d 456)

APPEALS ON CONSTITUTIONAL GROUNDS

Decided September 10, 199]

——>-—_—

Shubert Org., Inc., Matter of,

We

Landmarks Preservation Commn. of City of N.Y.

- . « (Ist Dept.: 166 A.D.2d 115) . . . appeal dismissed

—_

New York Court of Appeals

Denial of Leave to Appeal

December 18, 199]

(Reported at ___—s N.Y.2d ; i >)

N.Y.3.2d _ _)

oe

MOTIONS

Decided December 18, 199]

1200. MATTER OF THE SHUBERT ORGANIZATION, INC.,

ap. (Landmarks Preservation Commission of the City of New

York, res)\—Motion for leave to appea! denied with one hun-

dred dollars costs and necessary reproduction expenses. Judge

Kaye took no part.

44a

NEW YORK CITY LANDMARKS LAW

New York City Administrative Code, Title 25, Chapter 3

Chapter 3

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION AND HISTORIC DIS-

TRICTS

§ 25-301 Purpose and declaration of public policy.

§ 25-302 Definitions.

§ 25-303 Establishment of landmarks, landmark sites,

interior landmarks, scenic landmarks and his-

toric districts.

§ 25-304 Scope of commission’s powers.

§ 25-305 Regulation of construction, reconstruction, alter-

nations and demolition.

§ 25-306 Determination of request for certificate of no

effect on protected architectural features.

§ 25-307 Factors governing issuance of certificate of

appropriateness.

§ 25-308 Procedure for determination of request for cer-

tificate of appropriateness.

§ 25-309 Request for certificate of appropriateness autho-

rizing demolition, alterations or reconstruction

on ground of insufficient return.

§ 25-310 Regulation of minor work.

§ 25-311 Maintenance and repair of improvements.

§ 25-312 Remedying of dangerous conditions.

§ 25-313 Public hearings; conferences.

§ 25-314 Extension of time for action by commission.

§ 25-315 Determinations of the commission; notice

thereof.

§ 25-316 Transmission of certificates and applications to

proper city agency.

§ 25-317 Penalties for violations; enforcement.

§ 25-318 Reports by commission on plans for proposed

projects.

§ 25-319 Regulations.

§ 25-320 Investigations and reports.

§ 25-321 Applicability.

45a

§ 25-301 Purpose and declaration of public

policy. a. The council finds that many improvements, as

herein defined, and landscape features, as herein defined,

having a special character or a special historical or aesthetic

interest or value and many improvements representing the

finest architectural products of distinct periods in the history

of the city, have been uprooted, notwithstanding the feasibil-

ity of preserving and continuing the use of such improve-

ments and landscape features, and without adequate

consideration of the irreplaceable loss to the people of the

city of the aesthetic, cultural and historic values represented

by such improvements and landscape features. In addition,

distinct areas may be Similarly uprooted or may have their

distinctiveness destroyed, although the preservation thereof

may be both feasible and desirable. It is the sense of the

council that the Standing of this city as a world wide tourist

center and world capital of business, culture and government

cannot be maintained or enhanced by disregarding the histor-

ical and architectural heritage of the city and by countenanc-

ing the destruction of such Cultural assets.

b. It is hereby declared as a matter of public policy that

the protection, enhancement, perpetuation and use of

improvements and landscape features of special character or

special historical or aesthetic interest or value is a public

necessity and is required in the interest of health, prosperity,

safety and welfare of the people. The purpose of this chapter

is to (a) effect and accomplish the protection, enhancement

and perpetuation of such improvements and landscape fea-

tures and of districts which represent or reflect elements of

the city’s cultural, social, economic, political and architec-

tural history; (b) safeguard the city’s historic, aesthetic and

cultural heritage, as embodied and reflected in such improve-

ments, landscape features and districts; (c) stabilize and

improve property values in such districts; (d) foster civic

pride in the beauty and noble accomplishments of the past;

(e) protect and enhance the City’s attractions and industry

thereby provided; (f) Strengthen the economy of the city; and

(g) promote the use of historic districts, landmarks, interior

46a

landmarks and scenic landmarks for the education, pleasure

and welfare of the people of the city.

§ 25-302 Definitions. As used in this chapter, the fol-

lowing terms shall mean and include:

a. ‘‘Alteration.’’ Any of the acts defined as an altera-

tion by the building code of the city.

b. ‘‘Appropriate protective interest.’’ Any right or inter-

est in or title to an improvement parcel or any part thereof,

including, but not limited to, fee title and scenic or other

easements, the acquisition of which by the city is determined

by the commission to be necessary and appropriate for the

effectuation of the purpose of this chapter.

c. ‘‘Capable of earning a reasonable return.’’ Having

the capacity, under reasonably efficient and prudent manage-

ment, of earning a reasonable return. For the purposes of

this chapter, the net annua! return, as defined in subpara-

graph (a) of paragraph three of subdivision v of this section,

yielded by an improvement parcel during the test year, as

defined in subparagraph (b) of such paragraph, shall be pre-

sumed to be the earning capacity of such improvement par-

cel, in the absence of substantial grounds for a contrary

determination by the commission.

d. ‘‘City-aided project.’’ Any physical betterment of

real property, which:

(1) may not be constructed or effected without the

approval of one or more officers or agencies of the city; and

(2) upon completion, will be owned in whole or in part

by any person other than the city; and

(3) is planned to be constructed or effected, in whole or

in part, with any form of aid furnished by the city (other

than under this chapter), including, but not limited to, any

loan, grant, subsidy or the mode of financial assistance, exer-

cise of the city’s powers of eminent domain, contribution of

47a

city property, or the granting of tax exemption or tax abate-

ment; and

(4) will involve the construction, reconstruction, altera-

tion or demolition of any improvement in a historic district

or of a landmark.

e. ‘“‘Commission.’”’ The landmarks preservation commis-

sion.

“Bay.” Any day other than a Saturday, Sunday or

legal holiday; provided, however, that for the purposes of

Subdivision d of section 25-317 of this chapter, the term

“‘day’’ shall mean every day in the week.

g. “Exterior architectural feature.’’ The architectural

Style, design, genera] arrangement and components of all of

the outer surfaces of an improvement, as distinguished from

the interior surfaces enclosed by said exterior surfaces,

including, but not limited to, the kind, color and texture of

the building material and the type and style of all windows,

doors, lights, signs and other fixtures appurtenant to such

improvement.

h. ‘‘Historic district.’’ Any area which:

(1) contains improvements which:

(a) have a special character Or special historical or aes-

thetic interest or value; and

(b) represent one or more periods or styles of architecture

typical of one or more eras in the history of the city; and

(c) cause such area, by reason of such factors, to consti-

tute a distinct section of the city; and

(2) has been designated as a historic district pursuant to

the provisions of this chapter.

i. ‘Improvement.’ Any building, structure, place, work

of art or other object constituting a physical betterment of

real property, or any part of such betterment.

48a

j. ‘‘Improvement parcel.’’ The unit of real property

which (1) includes a physical betterment constituting an

improvement and the land embracing the site thereof, and (2)

is treated as a single entity for the purpose of levying real

estate taxes, provided however, that the term ‘‘improvement

parcel’’ shall also include any unimproved area of land which

is treated as a single entity for such tax purposes.

k. ‘‘Interior.’’ The visible surfaces of the interior of an

improvement.

]. ‘‘Interior architectural feature.’’ The architectural

style, design, general arrangement and components of an

interior, including, but not limited to, the kind, color and

texture of the building material and the type and style of all

windows, doors, lights, signs and other fixtures appurtenant

to such interior.

m. ‘‘Interior landmark.’’ An interior, or part thereof,

any part of which is thirty years old or older, and which is

customarily open or accessible to the public, or to which the

public is customarily invited, and which has a special histori-

cal or aesthetic interest or value as part of the development,

heritage or cultural characteristics of the city, state or nation,

and which has been designated as an interior landmark pur-

suant to the provisions of this chapter.

n. ‘‘Landmark.’’ Any improvement, any part of which

is thirty years old or older, which has a special character or

special historical or aesthetic interest or value as part of the

development, heritage or cultural characteristics of the city,

state or nation, and which has been designated as a landmark

pursuant to the provisions of this chapter.

o. ‘‘Landmark site.’’ An improvement parcel or part

thereof on which is situated a landmark and any abutting

improvement parcel or part thereof used as and constituting

part of the premises on which the landmark is situated, and

which has been designated as a landmark site pursuant to the

provisions of this chapter.

49a

Pp. ‘“‘Landscape feature.’’ Any grade, body of water,

stream, rock, plant, shrub, tree, path, walkway, road, plaza,

fountain, sculpture or other form of natural or artificial]

landscaping.

q. ‘‘Minor work.” Any change in, addition to or

removal from the parts, elements or materials compromising

an improvement, including, but not limited to, the exterior

architectural features or interior architectural features thereof

and, subject to and as prescribed by regulations of the com-

mission if and when promulgated pursuant to section 25-319

of this chapter, the surfacing, resurfacing, painting, renovat-

ing, restoring or rehabilitating of the exterior architectural

features or interior architectural features or the treating of

the same in any manner that materially alters their appear-

ance, where such change, addition or removal does not con-

stitute ordinary repairs and maintenance and is of such

nature that it may be lawfully effected without a permit from

the department of buildings.

tr. “‘Ordinary repairs and maintenance.’’ Any:

(1) work done on any improvement; or

(2) replacement of any part of an improvement;

for which a permit issued by the department of buildings is

not required by law, where the Purpose and effect of such

work or replacement is to correct any deterioration or decay

of or damage to such improvement or any part thereof and

to restore same, as nearly as may be practicable, to its condi-

tion prior to the occurrence of such deterioration, decay or

damage.

Ss. “‘Owner.’’ Any person or persons having such right

to, title to or interest in any improvement so as to be legally

entitled, upon obtaining the required permits and approvals

from the city agencies having jurisdiction over building con-

Struction, to perform with respect to such property any dem-

olition, construction, reconstruction, alteration or other work

as to which such person seeks the authorization or approval

of the commission pursuant to section 25-309 of this chapter.

$0a

t. ‘‘Person in charge.’’ The person or persons possessed

of the freehold of an improvement or improvement parcel or

a lesser estate therein, a mortgagee or vendee in possession,

assignee of rents, receiver, executor, trustee, lessee, agent or

any other person directly or indirectly in control of an

improvement or improvement parcel.

u. ‘‘*Protected architectural feature.’’ Any exterior archi-

tectural feature of a landmark or any interior architectural

feature of an interior landmark.

v. ‘*Reasonable return.’’ (1) A net annual return of six

per centum of the valuation of an improvement parcel.

(2) Such valuation shall be the current assessed valuation

established by the city, which is in effect at the time of the

filing of the requests for a certificate of appropriateness; pro-

vided that:

(a) The commission may make a determination ihat the

valuation of the improvement parcel is an amount from such

assessed valuation where there has been a reduction in the

assessed valuation for the year next preceding the effective

date of the current assessed valuation in effect at the time of

the filing of such request; and

(b) The commission may make a determination that the

value of the improvement parcel is an amount different from

the assessed valuation where there has been a bona fide sale

of such parcel within the period between March fifteenth,

nineteen hundred fifty-eight, and the time of the filing of

such request, as a result of a transaction at arm’s length, on

normal financing terms, at a readily ascertainable price, and

unaffected by special circumstances such as, but not limited

to, a forced sale, exchange of property, package deal, wash

sale or sale to a cooperative. In determining whether a sale

was on normal financing terms, the commission shall give

due consideration to the following factors:

Sla

(1) The ratio of the cash payment received by the seller to

(a) the sales price of the improved parcel and (b) the annual

gross income from such parcel;

(2) The total amount of the Outstanding mortgages which

are liens against the improvement parcel (including purchase

money mortgages) as compared with the assessed valuation of

such parcel;

(3) The ratio of the sales price to the annual gross income

of the improvement parcel, with consideration given, where

the improvement is subject to residential rent control, to the

total amount of rent adjustments previously granted, exclu-

Sive of rent adjustments because of changes in dwelling

space, services, furniture, furnishings, or equipment, major

capital improvements, or substantial rehabilitation;

(4) The presence of deferred amortization in purchase

money mortgages, or the assignment of such mortgages at a

discount;

(5) Any other facts and circumstances Surrounding such

sale which, in the judgment of the commission, may have a

bearing upon the question of financing.

(3) For the Purposes of this subdivision v:

(a) Net annual return shall be the amount by which the

earned income yielded by the improvement parcel during a

test year exceeds the operating expenses of such parcel during

such year, excluding mortgage interest and amortization, and

excluding allowances for Obsolescence and reserves, but

including an allowance for depreciation of two per centum of

the assessed value of the improvement, exclusive of the land,

or the amount shown for depreciation of the improvement in

the latest required federal income tax return, whichever js

lower; provided, however, that no allowance for depreciation

of the improvement shall be included where the ‘mprovement

has been fully depreciated for federal income tax purposes or

on the books of the Owner; and

52a

(b) Test year shall be (1) the most recent full calendar

year, or (2) the owner’s most recent fiscal year, or (3) any

twelve consecutive months ending not more than ninety days

prior to the filing (a) of the request for a certificate, or (b) of

an application for a renewal of tax benefits pursuant to the

provisions of section 25-309 of this chapter, as the case may

be.

w. ‘‘Scenic landmark.’’ Any landscape feature or aggre-

gate of landscape features, any part of which is thirty years

old or older, which has or have a special character or special

historical or aesthetic interest or value as part of the develop-

ment, heritage or cultural characteristics of the city, state or

nation and which has been designated a scenic landmark pur-

suant to the provisions of this chapter.

§ 25-203 Establishment of landmarks, landmark sites,

interior landmarks, scenic landmarks and _ historic

districts. a. For the purpose of effecting and furthering the

protection, preservation, enhancement, perpetuation and use

of landmarks, interior landmarks, scenic landmarks and his-

toric districts, the commission shall have power, after a pub-

lic hearing:

(1) to designate and, as herein provided in subdivision j,

in order to effectuate the purposes of this chapter, to make

supplemental designations as additions to, a list of landmarks

which are identified by a description setting forth the general

characteristics and location thereof;

(2) to designate and, in order to effectuate the purposes

of this chapter, to make supplemental designations as addi-

tions to, a list of interior landmarks, not including interiors

utilized as places of religious worship, which are identified by

a description setting forth the general characteristics and

location thereof;

(3) to designate and, in order to effectuate the purposes

of this chapter, to make supplemental designations as addi-

tions to, a list of scenic landmarks, located on property

owned by the city, which are identified by a description set-

S$3a

ting forth the general characteristics and location thereof:

and

(4) to designate historic districts and the location and

boundaries thereof, and, in order to effectuate the purposes

of this chapter, to designate changes in such locations and

boundaries and designate additional] historic districts and the

location and boundaries thereof.

b. It shall be the duty of the commission, after a public

hearing, to designate a landmark site for each landmark and

to designate the location and boundaries of such Site.

¢. The commission shall have power, after a public hear-

ing, to amend any designation made pursuant to the provi-

sions of subdivisions a and b of this section.

d. The commission may, after a public hearing, whether

at the time it designates a scenic landmark or at any time

thereafter, specify the nature of any construction, reconstruc-

tion, alteration or demolition of any landscape feature which

may be performed on Such scenic landmark without prior

issuance of a report pursuant to subdivision c of section 25-

318. The commission shall have the power, after a public

hearing, to amend any specification made pursuant to the

provisions of this subdivision. ;

e. Subject to the provisions of subdivision g and h of this

section, any designation or amendment of a designation made

by the commission pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions

a, b and c of this section Shall be in full force and effect

from and after the date of the adoption thereof by the com-

mission.

f. Within five days after making any such designation or

amendment thereof, the commission shall file a copy of same

with the secretary of the board of estimate and with the

department of buildings, the city planning commission, the

board of standards and appeals, the fire department and the

department of health.

54a

g. (1) The secretary of the board of estimate, within five

days after the filing of such copy with such secretary, shall

refer such designation or amendment thereof to the city plan-

ning commission, which, within thirty days after such refer-

ral, shall submit to the board of estimate a report with

respect to the relation of such designation or amendment

thereof to the zoning resolution, projected public improve-

ments and any plans for the development, growth, improve-

ment or renewal of the area involved.

(2) The board of estimate may modify or disapprove such

designation or amendment thereof within ninety days after a

copy thereof is filed with the secretary of the board provided

that the planning commission has submitted the report

required by this subdivision or that thirty days have elapsed

since the referral of the designation or amendment to the

commission by the secretary of the board. If the board shall

disapprove such designaticn or amendment thereof, it shall

cease to be in effect on the date of such action by the board.

If the board shall modify such designation or amendment

thereof, such modification shall be in effect on and after the

date of the adoption thereof by the board.

h. (1) The commission shall have power, after a public

hearing, to adopt a resolution proposing rescission, in whole

or in part, of any designation or amendment or modification

thereof mentioned in the preceding subdivisions of this sec-

tion. Within five days after adopting any such resolution, the

commission shall file a copy thereof with the secretary of the

board of estimate, who shall, within five days after such fil-

ing, refer such resolution to the city planning commission.

(2) Within thirty days after such referral, the city plan-

ning commission shall submit to the board of estimate a

report with respect to the relation of such proposed rescission

to the zoning resolution, projected public improvements and

any plans for the development, growth, improvement, or

renewal of the area involved.

(3) Such board may approve, disapprove or modify such

proposed rescission within ninety days after a copy of the res-

SSa

Olution proposing same is filed with the secretary of the

board. If such Proposed rescission is approved or modified

by the board, such rescission or modification thereof shal]

take effect on the date Of such action by the board. If such

Proposed rescission is disapproved by the board, or is not

acted on by the board within such period of ninety days, it

Shall not take effect.

i. The commission may at any time make recommenda-

tions to the city planning commission with respect to amend-

ments of the provisions of the zoning resolution applicable to

improvements in historic districts.

j. All designations and supplemental designations of land-

marks, landmark Sites, interior landmarks, scenic landmarks

and historic districts made pursuant to subdivision a shall be

made pursuant to notices of public hearings given, as pro-

vided in section 25-313.

k. Upon its designation of any improvement parcel as a

landmark and of any landmark site, interior landmark, scenic

landmark or historic landmark or any amendment or any

- Such designation or rescission thereof, the commission shal]

Cause to be recorded in the office of the register of the city of

New York in the county of which such landmark, interior

landmark, scenic landmark or district lies, or in the case of

landmarks, interior landmarks, scenic landmarks and districts

in the county of Richmond in the office of the clerk of said

county of Richmond, a notiee of such designation, amend-

ment or rescission describing the party affected by, in the

case of the county of Richmond, its land map block number

or numbers, and its tax map, block and lot number Or num-

bers, and in the case of all other counties, by its land map

and lot number or numbers.

§ 25-304 Scope of commission’s powers. a. Nothing

contained in this chapter shall be construed as authorizing the

commission, in acting with respect to any historic district or

improvement therein, or in adopting regulations in relation

thereto, to regulate or limit the height and bulk of buildings,

to regulate and determine the area of yards, courts and other

56a

open spaces, to regulate density of population or to regulate

and restrict the locations of trades and industries or location

of buildings designed for specific uses or to create districts

for any such purpose.

b. Except as provided in subdivision a of this section, the

commission may, in exercising or performing its powers,

duties or functions under this chapter with respect to any

improvement in a historic district or on a landmark site or

containing an interior landmark, or any landscape feature of

a scenic landmark, apply or impose, with respect to the con-

struction, reconstruction, alteration, demolition or use of

such improvement or landscape feature or the performance

of minor work thereon, regulations, limitations, determina-

tions or conditions which are more restrictive than those pre-

scribed or made by or pursuant to other provisions of law

applicable to such activities, work or use.

§ 25-305 Regulation of construction, reconstruction, alter-

ations and demolition. a. (1) Except as otherwise provided

in paragraph two of this subdivision a, it shall be unlawful

for any person in charge of a landmark site or an improve-

ment parcel or portion thereof located in an historic district

or any part of an improvement containing an interior land-

mark to alter, reconstruct or demolish any improvement con-

stituting a part of such site or constituting a part of such

parcel and located within such district or containing an inte-

rior landmark, or to construct any improvement upon land

embraced within such site or such parcel and located within

such district, or to cause to permit any such work to be per-

formed on such improvement or land, unless the commission

has previously issued a certificate of no effect on protected

architectural features, a certificate of appropriateness or a

notice to proceed authorizing such work, and it shall be

unlawful for any other person to perform such work or cause

same to be performed, unless such certificate or notice has

been previously issued.

(2) The provisions of paragraph one of this subdivision a

shall not apply to any improvement mentioned in subdivision

S$7a

a of section 25-318 of this chapter, or to any City-aided pro-

ject, or in cases Subject to the provisions of section 25-312 of

this chapter.

(3) It shall be unlawful for the person in charge of any

improvement or land mentioned in Paragraph one of this

subdivision a to maintain same Or Cause or permit same to be

maintained in the condition created by any work in violation

of the provisions of such Paragraph one.

b. (1) Except in the case of any improvement mentioned

in subdivision a of section 25-318 of this chapter and except

in the case of a City-aided project, no application shall be

approved and no permit or amended permit for the construc-

tion, reconstruction, alteration or demolition of any improve-

ment located or to be located On a landmark site or in an

historic district or containing an interior landmark shall be

issued by the department of buildings, and no application

Shall be approved and nO special permit or amended special]

permit for such construction, reconstruction or alteration,

where required by article seven of the zoning resolution, shal]

be granted by the city planning commission or the board of

standards and appeals, until the commission shall have issued

either a certificate of no effect on protected architectural fea-

tures, a certificate of appropriateness or a notice to proceed

pursuant to the provisions of this chapter as an authorization

for such work.

c. (1) A copy of every application or amended applica-

tion for a permit to construct, reconstruct, alter or demolish

any improvement located or to be located on a landmark site

Or in an historic district or containing an interior landmark

Shall, at the time of the submission of the Original thereof to

the department of buildings, be filed by the applicant with

the commission. A copy of every application, under article

seven of the zoning resolution, for a special permit for any

work which includes the construction, reconstruction or alter-

ation of any such improvement shall, at the time of the sub-

mission of such application or amended application of the

58a

city planning commission or the board of standards and

appeals, as the case may be, be filed with the commission.

(2) Every such copy of an application or amended appli-

cation filed with the commission shall include plans and spec-

ifications for the work involved, or such other statement of

the proposed work as would be acceptable by the department

of buildings pursuant to the building code. The applicant

shall furnish the commission with such other information

relating to such application as the commission may from time

to time require.

(3) Together with the copies of such application or

amended application, every such applicant shall file with the

commission a request for a certificate of no effect on pro-

tected architectural features or a certificate of appropriate-

ness in relation to the proposed work specified in such

application.

§ 25-306 Determination of request for certificate of no

effect on protected architectural features. a. (1) In any case

where an applicant for a permit from the department of

buildings to construct, reconstruct, alter or demolish any

improvement on a landmark site or in an historic district or

containing an interior landmark, or an applicant for a special

permit from the city planning commission or the board cof

standards and appeals authorizing any such work pursuant to

article seven of the z

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.