Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lilly v. United States

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, U.S.

) FILED s

011404 mar 202002

No.

UFFICE OF tric CLERK

Gn dyhe

Supreme Court of the Cited States

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

*

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

«

Robert A. Taylor

Counsel of Record

MASTERS & TAYLOR, L.C.

181 Summers Street

Charleston, West Virginia 25301

(304) 342-3106

Counsel for Petitioner

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1108 East Main Street ¢ Suite 1400 ¢ Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 644-4419 @ (800) 856-4419 ¢ Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢www.thelexgroup.com

\"1e 8

I]

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVEIW

DID RESPONDENT OWE PETITIONER, A 17

YEAR OLD FEMALE UNDERAGE POTENTIAL

ARMY RECRUIT, AN AFFIRMATIVE DUTY TO

PROTECT HER FROM HARM WHILE SHE

WAS IN RESPONDENT'S CARE, AND DID

RESPONDENT OTHERWISE “TAKE CHARGE”

OF PLAINTIFF, BECAUSE SHE WAS A MINOR,

SUCH AS TO CREATE A _ SPECIAL

RELATIONSHIP WHICH ALSO PLACED A

DUTY UPON RESPONDENT TO PROTECT

PETITIONER FROM HARM WHILE SHE WAS

IN RESPONDENTS CARE AND CUSTODY?

UNDER SHERIDAN V UNITED STATES, 487

U.S. 392 (1988), WERE RESPONDENT'S

EMPLOYEES NEGLIGENT IN ALLOWING

ANOTHER GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE TO

COMMIT A FORESEEABLE ASSAULT AND

BATTERY AGAINST PETITIONER, AND WAS

THIS ENTIRELY INDEPENDENT OF THE

ASSAILANT’S EMPLOYMENT STATUS WITH

RESPONDENT, OR ARE THE CLAIMS OF

PETITIONER, BARRED BY 28 U.S.C. § 2680(H)?

LIST OF ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

1 Sara Elizabeth Lilly, Petitioner.

2

3 The United States of America, Respondent.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Neither Petitioner or Respondent are Incorporated

entities.

li

FON RITE Kr Ne mercesnm

Aare terry Ma

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CFE LID FPR Biss ncnensscnainininssiniinnonsrinitnnisshisiai i

PARTIES TO TREE PROC IIIINGG vessessnsnisnssnisncnasadsnnssinnss li

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ...........000... li

TABLE CR CORNER i iccssinnanteiissrssctsnnnssccisniislaasnennnnaianss iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES seeeeeeeeeeeneeenssnsnnanannnnsssssssssscscee Vv

OPTI IY secnnensiessasssetpatenssiisnisdnnssinmibiiaeiannmamied 1

FURR IG essen aneiasssrninssencenonnasniannssaandtensiiataaneed 1

STATUTES TVG ER? enrnsstntiessceseisnstisssaictiamsseasmnensenaie 1

STATEMENT OF THE CA csscnscsiesiccctsisesinsnsansansnncsnsnaens 2

PRAT SG, cisscssansccniininnnsincsshsantasteiansinimadaaamiin tna 7

I. DID RESPONDENT OWE PETITIONER,

A 17 YEAR OLD FEMALE UNDERAGE

POTENTIAL ARMY RECRUIT, AN

AFFIRMATIVE DUTY TO PROTECT HER

FROM HARM WHILE SHE WAS IN

RESPONDENT'S CARE, AND _ DID

RESPONDENT OTHERWISE “TAKE

CHARGE” OF PLAINTIFF, BECAUSE

SHE WAS A MINOR, SUCH AS TO

CREATE A SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP

WHICH ALSO PLACED A _ DUTY

UPON RESPONDENT TO PROTECT

PETITIONER FROM HARM WHILE SHE

WAS IN RESPONDENT'S CARE AND

CFE CIRI NS sccncesusescsssnenannemnennesasiunttisnianelimaesiniimetaamies 7

:

|

|

:

:

Il. UNDER SHERIDAN V UNITED STATES,

487 US. 392 (1988), | WERE

RESPONDENT'S EMPLOYEES

NEGLIGENT IN ALLOWING ANOTHER

GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE TO

COMMIT A FORESEEABLE ASSAULT

AND BATTERY AGAINST PETITIONER,

AND WAS~ THIS _ ENTIRELY

INDEPENDENT OF THE ASSAILANT’S

EMPLOYMENT STATUS WITH

RESPONDENT, OR ARE THE CLAIMS

OF PETITIONER, BARRED BY 28 US.C.

FE TRESS EIT 12

CORSET AIOE sasincsiscosicsssreeenecnsae 19

PEIN E ee nceessenesenunerientasaniinnemninastastamnandalanaineniena App. i

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases

Allen v. United States,

988 F. Supp. 247 (D.Utah 1984),

Rev'd on other grounds,

816 F.2d 1417 (10% Cir. 1987), cert. denied.

484 U.S. 1004 (1988) ooo ccccccccccecesececececece. 10

Bennett v. United States,

803 F.2d 1502 (9% Cir. _. EC ea 13

Dailey v. Los Angeles Unified School Dist.,

2 Cal.3d 741, 470 P.2d 360 (1970) ooo. ecocccccccccceseeses 9

Doe v. United States,

838 F.2d 220 (7% Cir. ee iiiienciciites 10, 14, 15, 16

Fisk v. Lemons,

201 W.Va. 362, 497 S.E.2d 339 y Ronee 11

Garcia v. United States,

776 F.2d 116 (5 Cir. 1985) ooo cccccccccceseeeee. 15, 16

Hoot v. United States,

790 F.2d 836 (10 Cir. NOE 15

Johnson v. United States,

788 F.2d 845 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

cg | Ry Eee 15

Kearney v. United States,

815 F.2d 535 (9% Cir. MRR Ree Ee 13, 14

Lonitts v. United States,

489 F. Supp. 1030 (D.Mass. 1980)...

Miele v. United States,

800 F.2d 50 (2d Cir. 1986)................

Mulloy v. United States,

884 F. Supp. 622 (D.Mass. 1995).....

Panella v. United States,

216 F.2d 622 (2d Cir. 1954)...

Perkins v. United States,

55 F. 3d 910 (4 Cir. 1995) oo...

Reid v. Young Men’s Christian Association,

107 Ill. App. 2d 170,

246 N.E.2d 20 (1969) cscccscssccseseenee

Satterfield v. United States,

788 F.2d 395 (6 Cir. 1986)..............

Sheridan v. United States,

487 U.S. 391, 108 S.Ct. 2449 (1988)

Sheridan v. United States,

969 F.2d 72 (4 Cir. 1995) ecceeccssseee

Sheridan v. United States,

823 F.2d 820 (4th Cir. 1987)...

Thigpen v. United States,

800 F.2d 393 (4 Cir. 1986)..............

Underwood v. United States,

356 F.2d 92 (5t Cir. 1966) ....cccceseseen

vi

United States v. Shearer,

I a, Se IEE eeisiisiaanandinnabeekdaseilneiatbasiidaianin 15

Voelker v. Frederick Business Properties Co.,

195 W.Va. 246, 465 S.E.2d 246, 256 (1995)............ 9

Walker v. Meadow,

206 W.Va. 78, 521 S.E.2d 801 (1999)... 11

Waugh v. Duke Corp.,

248 F. Supp. 626 (M.D.N.C. 1966)... ee 10

Wolfe v. City of Wheeling,

182 W.Va. 253, 387 S.E.2d 307 (1989)... 11

Statutes

Br ee Oe et Gaceiosdstiansasssissehisnestsansnceuntirnsnaadiansions I, 84

ee ED iseirniiralancaidecatadiuianssiasaniadscuastininosdnsansiaones 1

en Be aie isastidasseiniatitebinidchsaninaapiaiiasiiinas 1

Fe Rick ae IE sas teseisciasaeidinsatnldies lackinsididinsivanioie passim

Other Authorities

Federal Torts Claim Act...................ssssccsccceeeees 1, 12, 13, 14

Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965)

Sa CO a eieniiectaanieoaniaie 7

ee 8,9

ESR ene a aN em I eae et a Re 19

Vii Z

OPINIONS BELOW

The orders at issue in this appeal are as follow:

(1) The “OPINION AND ORDER” and “JUDGMENT

ORDER” of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of West Virginia dated May 11, 2001,

which granted the United States Motion to Dismiss

[Appendix 3-12]; and (2) The Order of the 4" Circuit

Court of Appeals dated December 20, 2001, which

affirmed the ruling of the United States District Court -

[Appendix 1 and 2].

- JURISDICTION

1. Jurisdiction is asserted against the United

States of America (USA) pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1346,

more commonly known as the Federal Tort Claim

Act. In addition, 28 U.S.C. § 2671-2680 confers subject

matter jurisdiction “of civil actions of claims against the

US.A. ... for money damages .. . or personal injury

counsel by the negligent or wrongful act or omission of

any employment of the Government while acting

within the scope of his office or employment. .. .”

2. This Court has jurisdiction of this matter

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

As stated above, 28 U.S.C. § 2671-2680 confers

subject matter jurisdiction “of civil actions of claims

against the U.S.A... . for money damages . . . or

personal injury counsel by the negligent or wrongful

act or omission of any employment of the Government

while acting within the scope of his office or

employment... .”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The United States District Court entered an

order which stayed any discovery from taking place in

this case when the Respondent filed its motion to

dismiss [App. 15 and 16]. Therefore, all factual

evidence which was submitted to the District Court to

decide this case was submitted via the affidavits of the

Petitioner [App. 27-30]; her mother, Pamela Lilly [App.

31-21] and Randy West, the Kanawha County Deputy

Sheriff who investigated Petitioner’s sexual assault

[App. 34-94].

For years, Respondent, The United States Army,

has encouraged its youth to join the United States

Army so that they can “be all that you can be” and

receive money for a college education. This

encouragement comes to our youth in the formof TV,

radio and magazines ads, and through Army

Recruiters stationed throughout the United States. The

recruiting efforts appeal to high school drop outs and

high school graduates who otherwise could not

afford to continue their education, and who may or

may not have reached the age of majority. Such was

the case for Petitioner, Sara Elizabeth Lilly, who a

potential Army Recruit, and was a 17 year old high

school dropout, when an Army Recruiter, Sergeant

Mark A. Clifford [hereafter Clifford], tried to recruit

her and took her to a bar, and in the presence of fellow

Army recruiters: 1) bought alcoholic beverages for

Petitioner; 2) allowed Petitioner to drink to the point of

unconsciousness; and 3) then put her in a government

vehicle and left the bar when he himself had been

drinking alcoholic beverages, and took her to a motel,

where, while Petitioner was unconscious and helpless,

he raped her.

Petitioner, turned to Respondent to put her on

the right track for the future. In early 1997, Petitioner

dropped out of high school and soon realized the error

of what she had done and contacted the Army

Recruiting Office in South Charleston, West Virginia,

since she believed the best way for her to obtain her

education was to join the Army. The Army recruiter

whom Petitioner spoke with was Clifford and she told

him that she was seventeen (17), a high school drop out

and she wanted to join the Army [See App. 27-30 and

31-33].

Throughout the entire time of events set forth

herein, Clifford was a married man [App. 42, 50 and

117].

In Clifford’s efforts to recruit Petitioner he called

her at home, and came to Petitioner’s mother’s home on

at least one occasion. Sergeant Clifford also made

arrangements for Petitioner to take her GED, since this

was a requirement for entering the Army, and he even

offered to take her to the GED test he said was

scheduled for December 30, 1997 [App. 27-30 and 31-33].

During the early afternoon hours of December

30, 1997, Petitioner’s mother dropped her daughter off

at a local Public Library at 1:00 p.m., where Clifford

met them, ostensibly to take her to her GED test [App.

43 and 89]. Clifford used a Government vehicle to pick

Petitioner up and was wearing clothing that had

“ARMY” written on it [App. 27-30]. Upon arriving at

the GED testing center, Petitioner discovered it was

closed [App. 43 and 89], and it was then Clifford took

Petitioner to lunch and to a movie [App. 89-90].

After the movie, Clifford suggested he take

Petitioner for a drink [App. 92], and he drove her in the

same government vehicle in Army attire to Griff’s, a

restaurant/bar located in South Charleston, West

3

Virginia. Upon arriving at the restaurant/bar, Clifford

saw several fellow Army recruiters, some of whom

were in uniform [App. 28]. Even Clifford’s boss,

Sergeant First Class Raymond D. Adkins, admits to

seeing Petitioner with Clifford that night [App. 136].

While at Griff’s, Clifford purchased numerous

alcoholic drinks for Petitioner, which she drank and

caused her to get so drunk that she laid her head on the

bar, vomited on herself, and passed out [App. 29 and

96]. Clifford also drank numerous alcoholic drinks that

night [App. 94].

Sergeant First Class Charles L. Blevins, who

worked with Clifford, was also at Griff’s that night and

observed Clifford with Petitioner and observed the state

of intoxication Petitioner was in [App. 63-64]. Sergeant

Blevins witnessed Clifford and a waitress carrying

Petitioner out of the bar. Once outside, Blevins saw

Petitioner be put in a white government jeep with

Clifford and he actually chased Clifford down to inquire

about whether Petitioner was okay [App. 51 and 65].

Thereafter, Sergeant Blevins thought the incident

warranted being reported to Sergeant Adkins, and he

did so when he arrived home [App. 65]. Blevins took no

action to prevent Clifford from leaving the bar with an

obviously much younger, intoxicated, unconscious

female in a government vehicle at 10:00 p.m. at night

when Sergeant Clifford had also been drinking.

Upon leaving Griff’s, Clifford took Petitioner to

a motel room, showered her off, and raped her [App.

41, 97-99 and 145]. The next morning, Clifford took

Petitioner to the home of a friend and left her there at

approximately 9:00 a.m. [App. 109]. That same day,

Petitioner went to the hospital, where low levels of

spermatozoa where found on the sweat pants she had

on [App. 146].

OR eee te

sale cada ee, ain ,

Records indicate Clifford had attempted in

October of 1997, just two months before Petitioner was

sexual assaulted, to get another potential female Army

recruit, 18 year old, Kim Cooper, to have drinks with

him and then he made sexual advances toward her by

attempting to touch her breasts and buttocks, and

twisted her arm and pulled her hair [App. 52-53 and

122-133].

In addition, records indicate that Clifford’s

superior officer had had previous behavioral problems

with Sergeant Clifford and described him as being

“very quirky” [App. 42 and 44-45]. Nevertheless,

despite this, no action was taken against Sergeant

Clifford prior to his raping Petitioner.

In paragraph 14 of Petitioner’s Complaint [App.

21-23], she pled the United States of America owed six

(6) separate duties to her because she was a 17 year old

underage potential feriale Army recruit, all of which

duties would have arisen out of duties other

government employees owed to her, and would have

been independent of any duties which Clifford owed to

Petitioner. Those duties alleged in the complaint were

as follows:

a. Screen persons who would have this

responsibility, including Sergeant

Mark Clifford, before they were ever

allowed to assume this responsibly to

make certain such person do not, by

their actions or inactions, place

potential recruit’s health and safety at

risk; ~

b. Continue to monitor such persons

who had this responsibility and make

certain they were carrying out these

duties, including Sergeant Mark

Clifford;

c. To determine if such persons were

engaging in conduct which could

jeopardize a potential recruit’s health,

welfare and safety, including plaintiff;

d. To have’ guidelines in effect

concerning what recruiters could do in

regard to dealing with potential Army

recruits, including underage recruits,

underage female recruits and which

otherwise placed clear restrictions,

limitations and guidelines on what an

Army Recruiter can and cannot do to

aid and encourage a potential recruit

to join the United States Army;

e. Continue to monitor such persons to

see that they are following and

complying with the aforesaid

guidelines and taking appropriate

action against those persons if they do

not comply with these guidelines; and

f. To determine if such persons were

otherwise committing other negligent,

careless and unlawful acts which may

jeopardize the health, welfare and safe

of potential underage female recruits.

— ‘nent Apleaes se

ARGUMENT

I. DID RESPONDENT OWE PETITIONER, A

17 YEAR OLD FEMALE UNDERAGE

POTENTIAL ARMY RECRUIT, AN

AFFIRMATIVE DUTY TO PROTECT HER

FROM HARM WHILE SHE WAS _sIN

RESPONDENT'S CARE, AND DID

RESPONDENT OTHERWISE “TAKE

CHARGE” OF PLAINTIFF, BECAUSE SHE

WAS A MINOR, SUCH AS TO CREATE A

SPECIAL RELATIONSHIP WHICH ALSO

PLACED A DUTY UPON RESPONDENT TO

PROTECT PETITIONER FROM HARM

WHILE SHE WAS IN RESPONDENT'S CARE

AND CUSTODY?

By Respondent allowing Clifford to assume

responsibility for Petitioner, a 17 year old underage

female on December 31, 1997, Respondent created a

special relationship with her and therefore the

immunity it claims under 28 U.S.C.A. §2680 (h) should

not apply.

Although there is no general duty under West

Virginia law to protect others from harm, a duty arises

when a special relationship with the victim has

previously been established. Section 314A(4) of the

Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965), entitled “Special

Relations Giving Rise to Duty to Aid or Protect,”

provides that “One . . . who voluntarily takes the

custody of another under circumstances such as to

deprive the other of his normal opportunities for

protection is under a similar duty to the other.”

Comment b to §314A explains that:

The duties stated in this Section arise out

of special relations between the parties,

which create a special responsibility, and

take the case out of the general rule. The

relations listed are not intended to be

exclusive, and are not necessarily the ones

in which a duty of affirmative action for

the ... protection of another may be

found.

Id. at 119.

The Restatement (Second) of Torts also finds in

certain relations, a duty to protect others from third

persons, Section 320 states that:

One . . . who voluntarily takes the

custody of another under circumstances

such as to deprive the other of his normal

power of self-protection or to subject him

to association with persons likely to harm

him, is under a duty to exercise

reasonable care so to control the conduct

of third persons as to prevent them from

intentionally harming the other or so

conducting themselves as to create an

unreasonable risk of harm to him, if the

actor, (a) knows or has reason to know

that he has the ability to control the

conduct of the third persons, and

(b) knows or should know the

necessity and opportunity for exercising

such control.

Id. at 130.

Comment b of § 320, explains that, “[A] child

while in school is deprived of the protection of his

parents or guardian. Therefore, the actor who takes

custody of a prisoner or of a child is properly required to

give him the protection which the custody of the manner

in which it is taken has deprived him.” Id. at 131.

Additionally, Restatement (Second) of Torts §

324 (a)(1965), provides that:

One who, being under no duty to do so,

takes charge of another who is helpless

adequately to aid or protect himself is

, subject to liability to the other for any

bodily harm caused to him by,

(a) the failure of the actor to

exercise reasonable care to secure

the safety of the other while within

| the actor’s charge.

Id. at 139. Comment b explains that one can be

rendered helpless by virtue of his youth.

The emphasis of these sections is the fact that

plaintiff is in a position of trust or helplessness with the

person taking custody. Although there are no cases on

point in West Virginia where these sections have been

specifically applied, the legal principle embodied in

these sections are consistent with West Virginia tort

principles.

Further, West Virginia recognizes that

imposes a higher degree of care around children.

Voelker v. Frederick Business Properties Co., 195 W.Va.

246, 465 S.E.2d 246, 256 (1995). Accord Dailey v. Los

Angeles Unified School Dist., 2 Cal.3d 741, 470 P.2d 360,

364 (1970) (“Adolescent high school students are not

adults and should not be expected to exhibit that

“sr

the law

LaLA

9

degree of discretion, judgment, and concern for the

safety of themselves and others which we associate

with full maturity.”); Reid v. Young Men's Christian

Association, 107 Ill. App. 2d 170, 246 N.E.2d 20, 22

(1969) (“"The known characteristics of children should,

however, be taken into consideration in determining

whether or not sufficient care for the safety of a child

has been exercised in a particular case. Accordingly,

the fact that children cannot and do not ordinarily

exercise the same degree of prudence and care for their

own safety as adults, imposes on those by whose acts

Or omissions a child may be injured, the obligation of

exercising more vigilance and caution than might be

sufficient with respect to an adult’”); Waugh v. Duke

Corp., 248 F. Supp. 626, 630 (M.D.N.C. 1966) (“’. .. What

is reasonable care to one class of invitees might fall

short as to another. Those who invite children, who

have not arrived at the age of discretion, to go upon

their premises are required to exercise a relatively

higher degree of care for their safety than to adults.

That degree of care is commensurate with the

attending facts and circumstances of each case.’”); Allen

v. United States, 588 F. Supp. 247, 355 (D.Utah 1984),

rev'd on other grounds, 816 F.2d 1417 (10% Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 484 U.S. 1004 (1988). (“In dealing with conduct

of potential danger to children, there is a duty to

observe extra caution for their safety. . . .”).

In recent cases, such as Doe v. United States, 838

F.2d 220m (7 Cir. 1988, where the courts have found

that the government had a duty to protect an

individual from harm, the duty was found to be based

upon the nature of the service the government

provided to the victim. West Virginia State cases that

have examined a special relationship exception to local

governmental immunity have held that:

10

To establish that a special relationship

exists between a local governmental entity

and an individual, which is the basis for a

special duty of care owed to such

individual, the following elements must be

shown: (1) an assumption by the local

governmental entity, through promises or

actions, of an affirmative duty to act on

behalf of the party who was injured; (2)

knowledge on the part of the local

governmental entity’s agents that inaction

could lead to harm; (3) some form of direct

contact between the local governmental

entity’s agent and the injured party; and

(4) that party’s justifiable reliance on the

local governmental entity's affirmative

undertaking.

Wolfe v. City of Wheeling, 182 W.Va. 253, 387 S.E.2d 307,

syl. pt. 2 (1989); cited with approval, Fisk v. Lemons, 201

W.Va. 362, 497 S.E.2d 339 (1997); Walker v. Meadows, 206

W.Va. 78, 521 S.E.2d 801 (1999).

The United States government assumed the

responsibility for Petitioner by virtue of her being an

underage female, minor child and a special relationship

was specifically created when Clifford picked up Sara,

a minor, took her to the GED exam, a requirement she

had to meet to be recruited, and promised to deliver

her back to her mother once the test was completed.

Petitioner was particularly vulnerable by virtue of her

minor status, and the government created in her a

sense of trust by the fact that the United States military

was assisting her with her career endeavors. Once

Respondent assumed responsibility for Petitioner, it

had a duty to protect her until she was delivered to a

11

reasonably safe place after her exam. The government

breached that duty by failing to properly screen,

monitor and supervise Clifford, which resulted in

Petitioner becoming intoxicated, passing out and her

being and sexually molested.

Il. | UNDER SHERIDAN V UNITED STATES, 487

U.S. 392 (1988), WERE RESPONDENT'S

EMPLOYEES NEGLIGENT IN ALLOWING

- ANOTHER GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE TO

COMMIT A FORESEEABLE ASSAULT AND

BATTERY AGAINST PETITIONER, AND

WAS THIS ENTIRELY INDEPENDENT OF

THE ASSAILANT’S EMPLOYMENT STATUS

WITH RESPONDENT, OR ARE THE CLAIMS

OF PETITIONER, BARRED BY 28U.S.C.

§ 2680(H)?

Simply because Petitioner was assaulted and

battered, does not mean her claims against Respondent

are automatically barred under 28 USCA § 2680(h).

The Federal Torts Claim Act allows liability against the

United States “for money damages . . . for personal

injury .. . caused by the negligent or wrongful act or

omission of any employee of the Government while

acting within the scope of his office or employment . .

“ 28 US.C.A § 1346(b). There is, however, an

exception to that waiver of immunity for claims that

necessarily arise out of assault and battery. 28 U.S.C.A

§ 2680 (h). The “arising out of” language is the issue

before this Court.

In Sheridan v. United States, 487 U.S. 392, 108

S.Ct. 2449 (1988), this Court set forth that although the

words “any claim arising out of” an assault or battery

are broad enough to bar all claims based entirely on an

12

assault or battery, in at least some situations, the fact

that injury was directly caused by an assault or battery

will not preclude liability against the Government for

negligently allowing the assault to occur. Id. 487 US.

at 392, 108 S.Ct. at 2451. The intentional torts exception

is inapplicable to torts that fall outside of the Federal

Tort Claim Act’s general waiver of the Government's

immunity from liability, 487 U.S. at 392-93, 108 S.Ct. at

2451. Accordingly, the negligence of other government

employees who allow a foreseeable assault and battery

to occur may furnish a basis for Government liability

that is entirely independent of the _batterer’s

employment status. Id. Such is the case with

Petitioner.

Since this Court made its pronouncement in

Sheridan, Petitioner is not aware of this Court having

had before it a case to specifically address what facts

may allow a claim for a foreseeable assault and battery

to proceed against the government. Petitioner believes,

because of the peculiar facts of this case, this is such a

case.

Even before Sheridan, Courts were holding that

not all actions arising out of assault and battery are

barred by § 2680(h). In Bennett v. United States, 803 F.2d

1502 (9th Cir. 1986), the Ninth Circuit held that

plaintiff's claims for negligent hiring and supervision

against the United States were not barred by § 2680(h)

where students were molested by a teacher employed

at a Bureau of Indian Affairs boarding school who had

a criminal history of molesting children.

Then again in 1987, the Ninth Circuit held in

Kearney v. United States, 815 F.2d 535 (9! Cir. 1987), a

case where a private in the Army was a prisoner in

custody for an undisclosed military violation and for

rape of an enlisted woman, left the base, brought a

13

-

woman back to the base and killed her, that the

immunity under the assault and battery clause of 28

U.S.C. § 2680(h) is not for the purpose of avoiding

claims on the basis of respondent superior. The court

found that in situations such as one where the

negligence was that of the government in not properly

supervising a dangerous employee, the exception to the

waiver of immunity did not apply. The court in Kearney

also cited cases from other circuits that refused to apply

§ 2680(h) to bar plaintiffs’ claims when plaintiffs have

been assaulted and battered. See e.g. Underwood v. United

States, 356 F.2d 92 (5 Cir. 1966); and Loritts v. United

States, 489 F. Supp. 1030 (D. Mass. 1980).

A case that lends guidance to the facts at issue in

Petitioner’s case is the case of Doe v. United States, 838

F.2d 220 (7 Cir. 1988). An unidentified attacker on an

Air Force military base daycare center sexually

molested children while in the care and custody of the

daycare center. The parents of the children brought a

cause of action against the United States under the

Federal Torts Claim Act. The District Court granted

the government’s motion for summary judgment on

the grounds that plaintiff’s cause of action was barred

by 28 USC. § 2680 (h), the assault and battery

exception. The question on appeal was whether the

“arising out of” language concerning assault and

battery applied to plaintiff's claim.

The court in Doe found that the holding of

Panella v. United States, 216 F.2d 622 (24 Cir. 1954), that

claims against the government based solely on its

negligence are not barred by § 2680(h), has been

uniformly followed. The court then had to ask whether

the claim is barred where it is questionable whether the

assailant is the government employee.

14

es ee ee

The United States argued that if a government

employee was involved in the assault then the claim is

barred under § 2680(h). In disagreeing with the

government's position the court states that, “We respect

the government's proffered approach. Its ease of

application is obvious; nonetheless, it cuts too rough a

path and unnecessarily thwarts apparent congressional

intent. Hence, we join every court to have decided the

narrow question presented here in creating a less

extreme, yet unambiguous, rule.” Doe, 838 F.2d at 222.

The court focused instead on the existence of an

affirmative duty owed to the victim expressly assumed

by the government. The court found that, “Where the

government affirmatively assumes a duty to the victim

prior to the assault, and the government breaches that

duty causing injury to the victim, we cannot say that

her claim arises out of the assault. Rather, it arises out

of the breach of that affirmative duty.” Id. at 223.

The issue becomes whether if you remove the

assault from the equation, will the government's

liability still exist. Responded in previous briefs field

before the District Court or the Court of Appeals. The

defendant in Doe cited numerous cases as to why

plaintiffs claim should be barred. See Sheridan v.

United States, 823 F.2d 820 (4 Cir. 1987); United States

v. Shearer, 473 U.S. 52 (1985); Thigpen v. United States,

800 F.2d 393, 394 (4th Cir. 1986); Johnson v. United States,

788 F.2d 845 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 914 (1986);

Miele v. United States, 800 F.2d 50 (24 Cir. 1986);

Satterfield v. United States, 788 F.2d 395 (6% Cir. 1986);

Hoot v. United States, 790 F.2d 836 (10% Cir. 1986); Garcia

v. United States, 776 F.2d 116 (5 Cir. 1985). The court.

in Doe v. United States, distinguished all those cases by

finding that either no affirmative duty was pled by the

plaintiff or simply that no affirmative duty existed on

15

the part of the government to protect the plaintiff prior

to the assault.! Doe, 838 F.2d at 224. In those cases, the

assault itself was the only relationship the government

shared with the victim. Such is not the case with

Petitioner - she pled an affirmative duty on the part of

Respondent, and she had a separate relationship

(underage potential Army recruit) with the

Government apart from the assault.

In 1995, the United States District Court for the

District of Massachusetts applied the affirmative duty

test in a case involving the wife of an army officer who

was raped and murdered by an enlisted man while

living in a military base. In Mulloy v. United States, 884

F. Supp. 622 (D.Mass. 1995), the court found that the

United States was in a special relationship with the

victim because she was both an invitee and tenant on

an Army base. Because of this special relationship, the

government owed the victim a duty of reasonable care.

The government breached this duty of care and as

such, the court found that the immunity under

§ 2680(h) did not apply. As stated in the opinion, the

question is “whether the [government], through a

breach of duty, permitted a person, employee or

otherwise, to commit an intentional tort against the

plaintiff.” Id. at 632.2 |

i Although the facts in Garcia are similar to those in the case

at bar, plaintiff in Garcia failed to plead that the Government

owed a duty to protect the plaintiff prior to the assault. Whether a

special relationship between the plaintiff and the Government was

created was never addressed by the court.

2 Based upon its reasoning the court found that it did not

matter whether the government's negligence led to an assault by a

third party, or by an assault be a government employee acting

outside the scope of his employment, the government could still be

held liable. Mulloy at 629-630.

16

However, as the above cases have allowed cases

of this type to proceed, rulings by numerous other

Untied States Courts of Appeals Courts have held

otherwise, by way of example such as in Perkins v.

United States, 55 F. 3d 910 (4% Cir. 1995) and Sheridan v.

United States, 969 F.2d 72 (4 Cir. 1995).

In this case Respondent was aware of previous

“behavioral problems” with Clifford, who it knew was

married, and knew he was “very quirky.” Further, not

two months before plaintiff was sexually assaulted

Clifford had made sexual advances to another 18 year

old female potential Army recruit.

On the very night Clifford got Petitioner drunk

he did so in the presence in of his fellow recruiters,

who knew that Petitioner was so drunk she had passed

out amd had to be physically carried out to a

government vehicle to be driven by Clifford in Army

attire from the bar. During this period of time, no one

attempted to intervene on Petitioner’s behalf, or even

question the situation, except to ask if she “okay.”

Clifford’s fellow recruiters knew he was married

and saw he was in a bar with an obviously much

younger female, both of whom were drinking alcoholic

beverages while Clifford was in Army attire, and

Adkins admits it is not acceptable for a recruiter to

purchase alcoholic beverages for a potential recruit.

Nevertheless, upon entering a bar and finding Clifford,

in Army attire with a much younger female, Adkins

made no attempt to make inquiry about the situation or

to prevent Clifford from purchasing alcoholic beverages

for an underage potential recruit. It is implausible to

think that Petitioner’s age and status as a potential

recruit would not have come up in a conversation

between Clifford’s fellow Army recruiters who were at

Griff’s that night, since people do not simply sit at a

17

table in a bar and stare at each other silently, especially

when their buddy is a married Army recruiter.

Further, Clifford’s other fellow recruiters, who

knew Clifford was married, made no effort to intervene

when it was obvious Clifford was with a much younger

female, drinking alcoholic beverages while Clifford was

in Army attire, when they could see the state of

Petitioner’s inebriation and that she had to be carried,

unconscious, out of the bar by others and put into a

Government vehicle, which was going to be driven by

Clifford who also had been drinking, even though

Blevins obviously thought that something was amiss

because he later reported the incident to First Sergeant

Adkins. ;

The Government owed Petitioner an affirmative

duty to ensure her safety in the presence of its recruiter.

Because Petitioner was a potential recruit, the assault

itself is not the only relationship she had with the

government, thus, an affirmative duty existed on the

part of the Government to protect her, and Respondent

breached this duty. Further, because Petitioner was a

minor, there was a special relationship created the

moment Sergeant Clifford took Petitioner into his care

and custody, and Respondent had a duty to protect

Petitioner since she had been deprived of the protection

of her mother, and Respondent breached this duty.

Had Petitioner not become inebriated to the

point of unconsciousness, she could have refused to

leave the bar with Sergeant Clifford; refused to go into

the motel room with Sergeant Clifford; refused to

undress and shower with Sergeant Clifford; and

refused to have sex with Sergeant Clifford. As a direct

result of the negligence of Respondent’s employees

other than Clifford, Petitioner was raped, injured and

has sustained damages.

18

CONCLUSION

This case presents a unique opportunity for this

Court to decide for itself whether the peculiar facts of

this case where Respondent assumed the responsibility

for a 17 year old underage female potential Army

recruit, fall within the exception which this Court has

set forth in Sheridan.

It is the position of the Petitioner that the duties

which Petitioner alleged were owed to her in this case

and as were alleged in her complaint, are duties which

other government employees owed to her, which were

independent of the duties/which Clifford owed to her.

If this is the case, then Petitioner’s claim would not

arise out of an assault and battery and would not be

barred by 28 U.S.C.A. § 2680(h).

Respectfully Submitted,

Robert A. Taylor

Counsel of Record

181 Summers St.

Charleston, West Virginia 25301

(304) 342-3106

Counsel for Petitioner

Sara Elizabeth Lilly

19

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix to Petition

Page

Opinion

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

entered December 20, 2001............ccceseseseees App. 1

Opinion and Order of is

The Honorable Joseph R. Goodwin

Re: Granting Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss

entered May 11, 2001 sasensensasascasensesacessecssenees App. 3

Excerpts of Joint Appendix

Lilly v. United States of America

Fourth Circuit Record No. 01-1760

filed August 28, 2001:

Docket Entries

CREE App. 13

Complaint

dated October 27, 2000.............+ App. 19

Defendant's Motion to Dismiss for

Lack of Subject Matter Jurisdiction,

or in the Alternative, Failure to

State a Claim

dated December 12, 2000............... App. 25

Excerpts of Joint Appendix

Lilly v. United States of America

Fourth Circuit Record No. 01-1760

filed August 28, 2001, (continued)::

Affidavit of

Sara Elizabeth Lilly

dated January 15, 2001 .................. App. 27

Affidavit of Pamela Lilly

dated January 15, 2001 ................... App. 31

Affidavit of Randy West,

with Attachments,

dated January 19, 2001 ................ App. 34

App. il

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-1760

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

versus

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant - Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

- Southern District of West Virginia, at Charleston.

Joseph Robert Goodwin, District Judge. (CA-00-1006-2)

Submitted: December 14, 2001

Decided: December 20, 2001

[Entered: December 20, 2001]

Before WIDENER, WILLIAMS, and GREGORY,

Circuit Judges.

App. 1

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

Robert A. Taylor, MASTERS & TAYLOR, LC.,

Charleston, West Virginia, for Appellant. Robert D.

McCallum, Jr., Assistant Attorney General, Charles T.

Miller, United States Attorney, Anthony J. Steinmeyer,

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,

Washington, D.C., for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this

circuit. See Local Rule 36(c).

PER CURIAM:

Sara Elizabeth Lilly appeals from the district

court's order granting the United States' motion to

dismiss, under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), her complaint

filed under the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.A.S

1346(b) (West Supp. 2001), 28 U.S.C.A. SS 2671-2680

(West 1994 & Supp. 2001). We have reviewed the

parties' briefs, the joint appendix, and the district

court's opinion and find no_ reversible error.

Accordingly, we affirm on the reasoning of the district

court. Lilly v. United States, No. CA-00-1006-2 (S.D.W.

Va. May 11, 2001). We dispense with oral argument

because the facts and legal contentions are adequately

presented in the materials before the court and

argument would not aid the decisional process.

AFFIRMED

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

CHARLESTON DIVISION

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Plaintiff,

V. CIVIL ACTION NO. 2:00-1006

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER

[Entered: May 11, 2001]

Pending before the court is the Motion to

Dismiss for lack of Subject Matter Jurisdiction or, in the

Alternative, Failure to State a Claim, filed by the

United States of America (United States). For the

reasons discussed below, the motion is GRANTED.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Because the court now decides a motion to

dismiss filed by the United States, it accepts as true the

facts as alleged by the plaintiff. In 1997, the plaintiff, a

seventeen year-old girl who had dropped out of high

school, contacted the Army recruiting office in

Charleston, West Virginia. She spoke with Sergeant

Mark Clifford (Clifford), an Army recruiter. Clifford

contacted the plaintiff at least twice and arranged for

her to take the G.E.D. exam, an exam she was required

to pass to enlist in the Army. Clifford also offered to

take the plaintiff to the test location.

App. 3

esas nara ne.

On December 30, 1997, the plaintiff's mother took

her to the St. Albans Library to meet Clifford, so that he

could take the plaintiff to the exam center. When the

plaintiff and Clifford reached the exam center, it was

closed. The two then went to lunch, saw a movie, and, at

Clifford’s suggestion, went to a bar, where Clifford

purchased several alcoholic drinks for the plaintiff. The

plaintiff became so intoxicated that she vomited on her-

self and passed out on the bar. Clifford and some other

individuals carried the plaintiff from the establishment

and placed her in Clifford’s car. While the plaintiff was

unconscious, Clifford took her to a motel, where he took

a shower with her and had sexual relations with her. In

the complaint, the plaintiff alleges that:

the USA, in allowing Sergeant Mark

Clifford to do those things as may be

necessary to encourage potential Army

recruits to join the United States Army,

including encouraging underage persons

to join, assumed the responsibility for the

welfare and safety of underage potential

army recruits, including plaintiff, when it

allowed Sergeant Mark Clifford to assist

plaintiff, pick her up and take her to take

the GED test, all of which actions were in

furtherance of plaintiff's desire to join the

United States Army and in furtherance of

the United States Army and USA

attempts and plans to encourage persons

to join the United States Army.

Comp., at § 13. The plaintiff further argued that, “in

assuming the responsibility for the welfare and safety

of underage potential Army recruits,” the United States

App. 4

had a duty to screen and monitor recruiters; to

determine whether recruiters were engaging in

potentially dangerous conduct with recruits; and to

have guidelines in effect which governed “what

recruiters could do in regard to dealing with potential

Army recruits, including underage recruits, [and]

underage female recruits” ad which otherwise placed

clear restrictions, limitations and guidelines on what a

recruiter could and could not do to aid and encourage

a potential recruit to join the Army. Id. at § 14. The

plaintiff seeks $1,000,000 in damages for a variety of

injuries, including medical care and counseling,

emotional distress, and loss of enjoyment of life.

STANDARD

A court deciding a motion to dismiss accepts as

true the factual allegations presented in the complaint.

Flood v. New Hanover County, 125 F.3d 249, 251 (4th Cir.

1997). Unless it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff

can prove no set of facts in support of [her] claim

which would entitle [her] to relief, the court will not

grant a motion to dismiss. Id. Therefore, the plaintiff's

allegations are accepted as true.

DISCUSSION

Pursuant to the doctrine of sovereign immunity,

the United States cannot be sued unless it has

consented to be sued. Congress has waived sovereign

immunity, thus granting this consent, for some actions

against the United States. The Federal Tort Claims Act

(FTCA) provides that the United States can be sued

“for money damages ... for personal injury . . . caused

|

by the negligent or wrongful act or omission of any

employee of the Government while acting within the

scope of his office or employment, under circumstances

where the United States, if a private person, would be

liable to the claimant in accordance with the law of the

place where the act or omission occurred.” 28 U.S.C. §

1346(b). However, Congress has not waived such

immunity for claims that necessarily arise from assault

and battery. 28 U.S.C. § 2680(h).

Exceptions to the waiver of sovereign immunity

by the United States are construed broadly and any

ambiguities are resolved against the party seeking

recovery from the United States. Thigpen v. United 3

States, 800 F.2d 393, 394 (4th Cir. 1986), overruled on - ?

other grounds by Sheridan v. United States, 487 U.S. 392

(1988) (“Only when Congress has clearly and

unequivocally expressed its consent to suits against the

United States may courts entertain such actions.”). In

Sheridan v. United States, however, the Supreme Court

noted that, “in at least some situations the fact that an

injury was directly caused by an assault or battery will

not preclude liability against the Government for

negligently allowing the assault to occur.” Sheridan, 487

US. at 398.

The United States argues that the plaintiff's

injuries arise from an assault and battery committed by

Clifford and that the claims are thus barred by 28

U.S.C. § 2680(h). The plaintiff asserts that the claims

arise from the government's negligence, not from the

assault and battery, and are not barred by § 2680(h).

Specifically, the plaintiff asserts claims that the United

States 1) negligently hired, trained, and supervised its

recruiters, including Sergeant, Clifford, and 2) took

charge of the plaintiff, creating a special relationship

App. 6

that placed a duty on the United States to protect the

plaintiff from harm. The court FINDS that the

plaintiff's claims against the United States are barred

by § 2680(h). Therefore, the motion to dismiss is

GRANTED.

:* Plaintiff's Negligent Hiring, Training,

and Supervision Claim

The legislative history and the wording of the

exclusions in § 2680 make it clear that Congress

intended to ensure that the United States would not be

held liable for the intentional actions of its employees.

The Fourth Circuit's treatment of negligent hiring and

supervision claims reflects this reading of § 2680 and

its legislative history. Allowing an action to proceed

based on the government's negligent hiring or

supervision of employees who commit intentional torts

would enable plaintiffs to make an end-run around the

exclusions embodied in § 2680 and could effectively

eclipse the exclusions.

The Fourth Circuit has been clear in its refusal to

allow claims to proceed based on a theory that the

United States negligently hired or supervised an

employee who committed an intentional tort. In

Thigpen v. United States, 800 F.2d 393 (4th Cir. 1986),

overruled on other grounds by Sheridan v. United States,

487 U.S. 392 (1988), the Fourth Circuit affirmed the

dismissal of an FTCA claim brought on behalf of

minors who were sexually molested by a naval hospital

employee. Id. at 398. The court rejected the plaintiff's

argument that the hospital was negligent in its

supervision of the attacker, finding that the claim was

barred by § 2680(h):

App. 7

Section 2680 thus bars FTCA claims that

allege the negligence of supervisors but

depend on the existence of an assault or

battery by a government employee. Many

assaults can be attributed easily enough

to someone’s negligence in permitting the

attack to take place. To hold such

allegations actionable under the FTCA

would undermine Congress’ clear intent

to limit its waiver of immunity in §

2680(h).

Id. at 395.

In Sheridan, decided after the Fourth Circuit's

decision in Thigpen, the Supreme Court addressed the §

2680(h) exception, but refused to address the plaintiff's

claim that the United States had negligently hired and

supervised the employee who committed the

intentional tort in that case. Sheridan v. United States,

487 U.S. 392, 403 n.8 (1988) (“[I]t is not appropriate in

this case to consider whether negligent hiring,

negligent supervision, or negligent training may ever

provide the basis for liability under the FTCA for a

foreseeable assault or battery by a Government

employee.”). The Fourth Circuit has not reconsidered

its reading of § 2680(h) in the time since Sheridan was

decided. Therefore, this court’s treatment of the

negligent hiring, training, and supervision claims is

governed by the Fourth Circuit decisions preceding

Sheridan. .

To the extent the plaintiff argues that the United

States negligently hired, trained, and retained Clifford,

her claims are barred by § 2680(h).

App. 8

_ Plaintiff’s Claim That the United States

Assumed an Affirmative Duty of Care

The plaintiff's claim that the United States

assumed and breached an affirmative duty of care

toward her presents a more difficult question. In

Sheridan, the Supreme Court unequivocally found that

plaintiffs may proceed against the United States in

some cases in which the plaintiff's injuries occur from

an assault or battery. Several courts have allowed such

cases to proceed when a special relationship existed

between the plaintiff and the United States such that

the United States had assumed an affirmative duty of

care in relation to the plaintiff. In each of those cases,

however, the government allegedly had breached its

duty to the plaintiff through an act of negligence by a

federal employee other than the intentional tortfeasor

and such act was independent of the intentional tort.

See, e.g., Sheridan v. United States, 487 U.S. 392 (1988)

(failure of navel corpsmen to report drunken

serviceman brandishing gun was negligent); Bembenista

v. United States, 866 F.2d 493 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (army

hospital negligently mismedicated patient, rendering

her helpless against sexual molestation by medical

technician); Doe v. United States, 838 F.2d 220 (7th Cir. ©

1988) (government day care workers negligently left

children unsupervised at Air Force base day care

center, enabling children to be molested by unknown

assailant); Loritts v. United States, 489 F. Supp. 1030 (D.

Mass. 1980) (after volunteering to provide escorts to

members of visiting choral group, West Point failed to

provide escort to plaintiff, who was member of group

and who was raped while walking unescorted around

campus).

App. 9

In her Memorandum in Opposition to

Defendant's Motion to Dismiss, the plaintiff claims that

the government would be liable if Clifford had taken

the plaintiff to the exam location, then had driven her

to a remote and dangerous area and left her there,

where she was raped or killed. Therefore, the plaintiff

argues, it would be anomalous to find that the United

States is shielded from liability because Clifford was

the assailant. Pl’s. Mem. at 12. This court disagrees. The

distinction between the two situations is illustrated, in

part, by the plaintiff's own argument: She argues that

her cause of action against the United States “arose

from a duty that existed before the commission of the

tort.” Id.. Perhaps the United States owed the plaintiff a

duty that existed prior to the intentional tort; however,

the only alleged breach of that duty occurred when

Clifford committed the intentional tort.

Sergeant Clifford met the plaintiff at the library

to take her to the exam; Sergeant Clifford took her to

lunch, the movies, and the bar; Sergeant Clifford

bought her drinks until she passed out; Sergeant

Clifford then took the plaintiff to a motel, where he

raped her. It is impossible to separate Clifford's

intentional acts from any negligent acts of the United

States. The United States can only be held liable for the

acts of its employees. See 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b). Therefore,

the plaintiff cannot allege that the United States

breached a duty to her unless she can show that a

specific United States employee, other than the

intentional tortfeasor, negligently breached a duty to

her. This case, which involves only one government

actor, is distinguishable from Sheridan, Doe, and the

other cases in which plaintiffs have avoided dismissals

because of § 2680(h). Even if the United States did

App. 10

assume an affirmative duty of care toward the plaintiff,

the plaintiff cannot show that the United States

breached that duty independent of Sergeant Clifford’s

intentional acts, and the United States is not liable for

the intentional torts of its employees.

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Court has not resolved the issue of

whether § 2680(h) bars claims that the United States

negligently hired, trained, and supervised employees

who later committed assault and battery. Therefore,

this court’s decision is constrained by the Fourth

Circuit caselaw on the issue. Because the Fourth circuit

has found that such claims are barred by § 2680(h), the

plaintiff cannot proceed on her claims that the United

States negligently hired, trained, and supervised

Clifford.

The Supreme Court has found that some claims

by plaintiffs who were assaulted by a governmental

employee are not barred by § 2680(h). However, each

of those cases involved negligence by the government

that was independent of the intentional assault or

battery. To the extent the United States assumed an

affirmative duty of care toward the plaintiff in this

case, the only alleged breach of that duty is the

intentional conduct of Clifford.

Congress specifically excluded intentional torts

from the government's waiver of sovereign immunity.

Because the plaintiff does not present claims for

government negligence that occurred independent of

Clifford’s actions, the plaintiffs’ claims are barred by §

2680h).

App. 11

/ Consequently, the plaintiff has not alleged a

claim for which relief can be granted, Aeeordingly, the

defendant's motion to dismiss jy (HAN TED

The court DIRECTS thy ( jayk ty 1) aeriel a eupy

of this Order to counse) «f papi ane any

unrepresented party and 2) jijlijal Hie pile a

www.wvsd.uscourts.gov.

ENTER: May 11, 2001

JOSEPH R. GOODWIN

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Robert A. Taylor

Masters and Taylor, L.C.

181 Summers Street

Charleston, WV 25301

For Plaintiff Sarah Elizabeth Lilly

Stephen M. Horn

Kelly R. Curry

United States Attorney’s Offip®

300 Virginia Street, East

Charleston, WV 25301

For Defendant United States })} Aj)\p) ipa

APE 42

Doeket as of Jute 5, 2001 3:18 pin Page 2

Proceedings include all events APPEAL CLOSED

Dovey Lilly Vo Uitted States

Ae ALL CUMPLAINT, Fill Pee @tSt in)

Heewipt PAR (ake) TRAHY ate

i/ 41/00

bis aes bUMMUINGRS jesued, arleiial

ps / capies, far United States

eturnable days: 60. (skh) [Entry

date 10/31/00)

10/27/00 2 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE by

Sara Elizabeth Lilly for first set of

interrogatories and first request for

production of documents to deft.

(skh) [Entry date 10/31/00]

10/27/00 -- CASE assigned to Judge Joseph R.

Goodwin (ras) [Entry date

11/01/00)

1/2/00 j SUMMONS Returned Executed by

personal service aa ta Uiied Slalea

ni Oo Aeriga «6A Fame

Write Ah Paha ab We be

Al AA TAL SHU AR RP Hie

WH AAS SU Pe Dee Gabe aE

AWeHed LHRW)

Hyiaynb SUMMONS Baeeuted By bert Hall

48 th US, Dept of Atty, US.

Claith Service, ot behalf of the

United States on 11/2/2000,

w/cert. mail return receipt card

executed by an agent of same

App. 13

11/17/00

12/12/00

12/12/00

14/14/10)

13/15/00

attached, (answer deadline

previously set for 1/1/2001) (skh)

SUMMONS Bxeetited by cert Hail

de 6) Whited Slates Abbariey

Hieneralle office, ah Behalf af

Wied Slalee en LI HAY s00

w/eerh Hall PeRHA Feeelpt Kare

beneHled by " ABO HE Hie aaiie

abae Hee (ater Healiive

fevinualy eet ce 1/4/4001)

ikw) een heel (0)

States to

Dismiss er my n subject matter

jurisdiction or, in the alternative, to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim.

(skh) [Entry date 12/15/00]

MEMORANDUM OF LAW by

United States in support of [6-1]

— to- Dismiss for lack of

subject matter j iction or, in the

alternative, [6-2] mation ta Dismiss

for falluye f@ alate a claim, (abh)

Prviey ate Vay ay Hi)

AN@WEB la Pamplaint by UBS

ar HI ‘eee i i Hiiny nay

) (RAY dale

a)

19/18 ie

OKO ND NOTER: Rule 19H)

HHBHBHs «= W/ aU PUFHAB = BHefs

1/16/2001; fr Matagettent

Cotiferetice 1/23/2001 1:30; Last

day for Rule 26(f) meeting

2/9/2001; Last day to file Rule 26(f)

meeting report 2/16/2001;

App. 14

14/48/00)

bay aay (MN)

19/97/00

il)

1

\)

Scheduling/ status Conference with

the Court 1:30 3/2/2001; Batey of

irate Order dive BY

4/19/2001; Laat day te Hake Rule

J6 (a) (1) dimelowuree 4/18/2001,

(aigied by Jelge fadeph Pt

HivdelWiK) (eeLaELYa) HARE BRRRB Hed

parney uh) [Raley cate 14/ 1A/ 0)

HPULATION ORDER Wpan

agreement af the partes, Mis

Respense due by 1/19/2001 far

govi's [6-1] mation ta Dismiss far

lack of subject matter jurisdiction

or, in the alternative, [6-2] motion

to Dismiss for failure to state a

claim; Deft’'s Reply to Pltf's

Response to said Motion due by

2/1/2001; directing that the same

be the finding of his court and that

the parties have until such times to

file theiy yespansive brief, (signed

hy Judge Joseph RB, Gaadwin) (pe:

atiya) (pall) | |

MHTIEIN hy Liviiiel Bala ba Blay

(Wet) Cray ale Naten WAH He

neviht eleeelaie Hie aria fed | aval TR

| HHH be Hee, It

ORDER BAHHNe derls ge

HUHBH tH Slay Hv Orde AH

Notice HH the cotitt decides the

def’s [6-1] atid [6-2] motion to

distniss; all proceedings are stayed

pending the resolution of the

Motion to Dismiss previously filed

App. 15

1/16/01

1/16/01

1/17/01

3/28/01

13

14

15

16

by the deft. (signed by Judge

Joseph K. Goodwin) (cc: attys, and

any unrepresented party) (mkw)

[Edit date 12/28/00]

NOTICE and MOTION by Sara

Elizabeth Lilly to Stay and/or

Extend all deadlines and to Extend

Time and otherwise Stay pltf

having to respond to the United

States’ motion todismiss. (skh)

ORDER staying all proceedings in

this matter pending further notice;

extending the time for pltf to

respond to deft’s [6-1] motion to

Dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction and [6-2] motion to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim

until 5/1/01. (signed by Judge

Joseph R. Goodwin) (cc: attys;

any unrepresented party) (skh)

RESPONSE by United States of

America to pltf’s [13-1] motion to

Stay. (mkw)

MEMORANDUM by Sara

Elizabeth Lilly in opposition to

deft’s [6-1] motion to Dismiss for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction

and [6-2] motion to Dismiss for

failure to state a claim, with

affidavits of Sara Elizabeth Lilly,

Pamela Lilly, and Randy West

attached. (pdb) [Edit date 03/28/01]

App. 16

4/4/01

5/11/01

5/11/01

5/11/01

17

18

19

REPLY BRIEF by United States to

pit!’s [1612] memorandum in

opposition to deft’s [6-1] motion to

Dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction and [6-2] motion to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim.

(skh) [Entry date /4/05/01]

OPINION AND ORDER granting

deft's [6-1) motion to Dismiss for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction;

granting deft's [6-2) motion to

Dismiss for failure to state a

claim, finding the pltf's claims

against the United States are

barred by 28 U.S.C. 2680 (h) and

that pltf has not alleged a claim for

which relief can be _ granted.

(signed by Judge Joseph R.

Goodwin) (cc: attys; any

unrepresented party) (published

on the court's website at

www.wvsd.uscourts.gov) (skh)

JUDGMENT ORDER in

accordance with the accompanying

opinion and order, _ entering

judgment in favor of the deft;

dismissing and striking this case

form the docket of this court.

(signed by Judge Joseph R.

Goodwin) (cc: attys; any

unrepresented parties) (skh)

Case closed. (skh)

App. 17

5/29/01 20 NOTICE OF APPEAL by Sara

Elizabeth Lilly of the [18-1) opinion

and order and [19-1) judgment

order entered 5/11/01. (skh)

5/30/01 21 Notice of Appellate Action with

certified copy of docket, opinion

and order, judgment order and

notice of appeal to 4CCA: [20-1]

appeal by Sara Elizabeth Lilly. (cc:

attys) (skh) [Edit date 06/04/01]

5/30/01 - Appeals packet mailed to

pltf/ appellant's counsel, Robert A.

Taylor. (skh)

5/31/01 -- Filing Fee Paid for pitf’s [20-1]

notice of appeal; FILING FEE

$105.00; RECEIPT #8711. (skh)

App. 18

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY

Plaintiff,

v. Civil Action No. 2:00-1006

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

COMPLAINT

Comes now plaintiff, Sara Elizabeth Lilly, for her

complaint against the defendant, The United States of

America, and alleges and avers as follows:

1. Sara Elizabeth Lilly is a resident of

Kanawha County, West Virginia.

2. Jurisdiction is asserted against the United

States of America [USA] pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1346,

more commonly known as the Federal Tort Claim Act.

3. Plaintiff has complied with the provisions of 28

U.S.C. 2675 and has provided proper notice of the claim

to the United States Department of the Army, as will

more fully appear from the Notice and Response

appended hereto and incorporated herein by reference

as Exhibit A.

4. The plaintiff, Sara Elizabeth Lilly, filed her

Federal Torts Claim with the appropriate Government

Agency within two years from the date she knew or

should have known that the negligent acts, as hereafter

alleged, had been committed against her, and further,

more than six months have elapsed since the filing of the

claim without the United States Department of the Army

taking any action on the claim, and because of the

Army’s failure to respond in the time provided by law,

App. 19

your plaintiff can now file her lawsuit with the United

States Federal District Court.

4 Plaintiff's claim against the defendant,

USA, arises out of actions directed toward her by a

United States Army Recruiter, Sergeant Mark Clifford,

who was, at all times mentioned herein, located and

stationed at the United States Army Recruiting office

located in South Charleston, West Virginia, at River

Walk Mall, and all of his actions as hereafter alleged took

place in Kanawha County, West Virginia.

6. That at the time Sergeant Mark Clifford

engaged in the conduct complained of as hereafter

alleged, plaintiff was seventeen years of age.

r That prior to December 30, 1997, your

plaintiff had dropped out of high school and realized she

needed to get an education and decided one of the best

ways to do so was by joining the Army so she could get

her GED and a college degree. Further, plaintiff

contacted the Army Recruiting Office in South

Charleston, West Virginia, and spoke with Sergeant

Mark Clifford at this office on several occasion during

the month before December 30, 1997.

8. That when plaintiff dealt with Sergeant

Mark Clifford, she advised him she was 17 years of age,

and she was a high school drop out, and the reason she

wanted to join the Army.

9. That Sergeant Mark Clifford came to

plaintiff's mother’s home to administer a test to plaintiff

and to also make arrangements for plaintiff to take a

GED test on December 30, 1997. Clifford did thereafter

pick plaintiff up and take her to Garnet Education Center

where plaintiff was told the test would be given.

However, when plaintiff arrived at Garnet Education

Center, she learned that Garnet was closed. Sergeant

App. 20

Mark Clifford thereafter took plaintiff to lunch, a movie,

and the Kanawha Mall. Following the movie, Sergeant

Clifford took plaintiff to a restaurant known as Griff’s in

South Charleston, West Virginia, which is in the same

shopping mall where the Army Recruiter office is

located at which Sergeant Mark Clifford worked.

10. That Sergeant Mark Clifford, while at

Griff’s, purchased numerous alcoholic drinks for

plaintiff, which she consumed and caused her to get

drunk, vomit on herself, and pass out.

11. That while plaintiff was passed out and

otherwise incapacitated by her alcoholic intoxication,

_ Sergeant Mark Clifford, had sex with her.

12. That all actions taken by the Sergeant

Mark Clifford toward plaintiff as herein before described

were taken under the guise of, in his Capacity as, and

under the apparent authority in his role as a United

States Army Recruiter, for USA.

13. That the USA, in allowing Sergeant Mark

Clifford to do those things as may be necessary to

encourage potential Army recruits to join the Untied

States Army, including encouraging underage persons to

join, assumed the responsibility for the welfare and

safety of underage potential Army recruits, including

plaintiff, when it allowed Sergeant Mark Clifford to

assist plaintiff, pick-her up and take her to take the GED

test, all of which actions were in furtherance of plaintiff's

desire to join the United States Army and in furtherance

of the United States Army and USA-attempts and plans

to encourage persons to join the United States Army.

14. That USA and the United States Army in

assuming the responsibility for the welfare and safety of

underage potential Army recruits as aforesaid,

App. 21

including plaintiff, had a duty to, including a duty as to

Sergeant Mark Clifford to:

a. Screen persons who would have

this responsibility, including Sergeant Mark

Clifford, before they were ever allowed to

assume this responsibly to make certain such

person do not, by their actions or inactions,

place potential recruit’s health and safety at risk;

b. Continue to monitor such persons

who had this responsibility and make certain

they were carrying out these duties, including

Sergeant Mark Clifford;

C. To determine if such persons were

engaging in conduct which could jeopardize a

potential recruit’s health, welfare and safety,

including plaintiff;

d. To have guidelines in effect

concerning what recruiters could do in regard to

dealing with potential Army recruits, including

underage recruits, underage female recruits and

which otherwise placed clear restrictions,

limitations and guidelines on what an Army

Recruiter can and cannot do to aid and encourage

a potential recruit to join the United States Army; ~

e. Continue to monitor such persons

to see that they are following and complying

with the aforesaid guidelines and _ taking

appropriate action against those persons if they

do not comply with these guidelines; and

f.° ._To determine if such persons were

otherwise committing other negligent, careless

and unlawful acts which may jeopardize the

health, welfare and safe of potential underage

female recruits.

App. 22

15. That USA negligent, careless and

unlawfully breached its duties as aforesaid, that it owed

to the plaintiff and as a direct and proximate result of

the negligence of the defendant as aforesaid, plaintiff

has suffered the following injuries and damages:

a. She was_ subject to an

unauthorized touching of her body;

b. Required her to seek medical care

and counseling, and it may require her to seek

the same in the future;

¢. Caused her to suffer and she will

continue to suffer in the future great emotional,

mental pain and distress, embarrassment, loss of

self esteem and self confidence and damage to

her psyche;

d. It negatively effected her ability to

interact with and get along with family and

friends and caused her to move away from them ;

e. It has caused her to suffer and she

will continue to suffer in the future a loss of

enjoyment of life;

f. She has suffered financial losses in

the form of costs related to medical care and

counseling and it is unknown at this time if she

may need to incur future medical care. and

expenses for the treatment of the aforesaid

injuries; and

g. She has otherwise been injured

and damaged in ways and in an amount to be

determined by the Court.

App. 23

WHEREFORE, the plaintiff, Sara Elizabeth Lilly,

requests an advisory trial by jury, and judgment of and

from the defendant, USA, in the sum of $1,000,000.00,

together with interest and costs as allowable by law.

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

By Counsel

/S/ Robert A. Taylor

Robert A. Taylor (WV Bar No. 3710)

Paula L. Wilson (WV Bar No. 6101)

Masters & Taylor, L.C.

181 Summers Street

Charleston, West Virginia 25301

(304) 342-3106

App. 24

. IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

CHARLESTON

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Plaintiff,

V. Civil Action No. 2:00-1006

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

UNITED STATES MOTION TO DISMISS FOR LACK

OF SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION OR,

IN THE ALTERNATIVE, FAILURE

TO STATE A CLAIM

Comes now the United States of America

(“United States”) pursuant to Rule 12 (b) (1) and 12 (b)

| (6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and does

hereby move the court to enter an order dismissing this

action for lack of subject matter jurisdiction or, in the

alternative, for failure to state a claim on which relief

can be granted.

In support of its motion, the United States

Says:

App. 25

5 Accepting the plaintiff's allegations as

true, the United States has not waived its sovereign

immunity for’an assault and battery committed by a

federal employee acting within the scope of his or her

employment. 28 U.S.C. § 2680 (h).

2 Alternatively, accepting the plaintiff's

allegations as true, plaintiff's complaint fails to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted,

In further support of its motion, the United

States attaches hereto and INCKP PA OA herein by

reference its Memorandum of Law

WHEREFORE, the United Sijqiea prays (hia court

enter an order dismissing plainti//', eamplaint or the

grounds set forth herein.

Respectfully submitted,

REBECCA A. BETTS

United States Attorney

By: /S/ Stephen M. Ho,

STEPHEN M. HOR}

Assistant United Sta tog Attorney

: /S/ Kelly R. Curry

KELLY CURRY a

Assistant United Styima AtiuPiey

300 Virginia Street, haat

Charleston, West V \yjiiiid #94011

(304) 345-2200

App. 26

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

AT CHARLESTON

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Plaintiff,

v, Civil Action No, 2:00-1006

Honorable Joseph Robert Goodwin

hth UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Delencdarnt

AFFIDAVIT OF SARA ELIZABETH LILLY

Sara Elizabeth Lilly, after being duly swort,

deposes and says as follows,

1, That I am the plaintiff in the above styled

lawsuit.

2. That prior to December 30, 1997, I had

dropped out of high school. I realized that I needed to

get an education and decided one of the best ways for

me to do this was by joining the Army to get my GED

and a college degree. In this regard, I contacted the

United States Army Recruiting Office located in South

Charleston, West Virginia, at River Walk Mall and

Spoke with Sergeant Mark Clifford at this offiee BA

seVeral Geedsioh HAH Hie HOHE before Beearber WW,

juu?

4 That when | dealt With Sergeant Mark

Cliffeard, | adviaed hin | waa 1? yeare at Aue, WAR A

High seheal dvap aut and the peasan | wanted te jain

He Army Santen HAH ehAuE the entive time | dealt

with Sgt, Cliffard, | was 1? years af age,

App. 27

4, That before December 30, 1997, Sergeant

Mark Clifford came to my home where I lived with my

mother, Pamela Lilly, to administer a test and to also

make arrangements for me to take the GED test on

December 30, 1997,

S, That on December 30, 1997, Sgt, Clifford

drove a United States Government vehicle to pick me

up and take me to the Garnet Career Center where he

tald me the teat would be given, Further, throughout

the vemaincder of the time | waa with Sgt, Clifford on

(hia day he crave (hia same government vehicle and to

iy knowledge and belief he continued to Uae (hie same

veliele while | waa with hin on Deeenber 41, 1997,

6 That when Sgt, Clifford pieked me up te

take me to the Garnet Career Center he was wearing

elothing whieh had “ARMY” written on it,

7, That when Sgt. Clifford drove me to the

Garnet Career Center, I learned that the Garnet Career

Center was closed. Sergeant Mark Clifford thereafter

took me to lunch, a movie, and the Kanawha Mall, and

following the movie, Sergeant Clifford took me to a

restaurant known as Griff’s in South Charleston, West

Virginia, which is in the same shopping mall where the

United States Army Recruiting office is located where

Sergeant Mark Clifford worked.

8, That whe we artived at Griff’s, there

were several other persons preset and were dressed

ii AMHY UAIORe Whe apparently knew Sergeant

Clifford and | Believe Hay have even Wwerked ih the

adie POCFHIHA BFfiee WIE Hi Purther, While we

were al Gllfe ta Ay Rewled@e, HiheriaHan, aid

ny Heel Hf fab all @f Hiese persand renalied

eve.

App. 28

9, That while we were at Griff's, Set.

Clifford purchased numerous alcoholic drinks for

himself and for me, which drinks I consumed, and

caused me to get drunk, vomit on myself, and pass out.

10, That to my knowledge, information, and

belief, after | passed out, Sgt, Clifford took me to the

United States vehicle he was driving and drove to a

motel, while | was passed out and otherwise

incapacitated by my aleoholie intoxication, and where

Ne had sex with me,

11, That 1 believe the United States of

America and the Untied States Army, by allowing

Sergeant Mark Clifford to de those things as Way be

Necessary f08 eneourage Underage potential Aviny

recruits feed under 18 years of age) te join the Untied

States Army, including encouraging me to join the

Army, assumed the responsibility for our eare, welfare,

safety, and protection throughout the entire time we

were with any government or Army personnel,

including the time I was with Sgt. Clifford, from the

time he picked me up on December 30, 1997,

Further, your Affiant saieth not.

Dated this 15 day of January, 2001,

£S/Sara Elizabeth Lilly

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY

App, 29

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA,

COUNTY OF KANAWHA, To-Wit:

This day _ personally appeared SARA

ELIZABETH LILLY, who after being first duly sworn

according to law, says that she is the person named in

the foregoing “AFFIDAVIT” and that the facts and

allegations are true, except insofar as they are therein

stated to be upon information, and insofar as they are

therein stated to be upon information, she believes

them to be true.

/S/Sara Elizabeth Lilly

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY

Taken, subscribed, and sworn to before me this

15 day of January, 2001.

- My commission expires: September 16, 2008

[SEAL] [S/ Tiffany L. Slack

' NOTARY PUBLIC

App. 30

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

AT CHARLESTON

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY,

Plaintiff,

Vv. Civil Action No. 2:00-1006

Honorable Joseph Robert Goodwin

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT OF PAMELA LILLY

Pamela Lilly, after being duly sworn, deposes

and says as follows:

1. I am the mother of Sara Elizabeth Lilly,

plaintiff in the above styled case.

2. That before December 30, 1997, Sara, had

dropped out of high school and realized she needed to

get an education. She decided the best way for her to

do this was by joining the Army. In this regard, before

December 30, 1997, she had contacted The United

States Army Recruiting Office in South Charleston,

West Virginia, located at River Walk, and spoke with a

person at this office on several occasion about joining

the Army.

3. That at all times my daughter, Sara, dealt

with the United States Army Recruiter, she was 17

years of age.

4. That before December 31, 1997, Sergeant

Mark Clifford had come to my home where Sara lived

with me to administer a test to her. Further, he also

App. 31

made arrangements for Sara to take her GED test at the

Garnet Career Center on December 30, 1997. He also

made arrangements to pick Sara up and take her to the

Garnet Center to take the test.

5. That on December 30, 1997, Sgt. Clifford

picked Sara up and took her to the Garnet Career

Center. Further, when Sgt. Clifford picked Sara up, he

was driving a vehicle that had been issued to him by

the United States Government.

6. That the United States of America, by

allowing Sergeant Mark Clifford to do those things as

may be necessary to encourage and assist my daughter,

Sara, who was under the age of 18, to join the Untied

States Army, and in particular by allowing Sgt. Clifford

to pick Sara up and take her to the Garnet Career

Center to take her GED, the United States of America

and Sgt. Clifford assumed the responsibility for Sara’s

welfare and safety while she was in Sgt. Clifford’s care

and custody, since she was under the age of 18 when

he did this.

Further, your Affiant saieth not.

Dated this 15 day of January, 2001.

/S/ Pamela Lill

PAMELA LILLY

App. 32

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA,

COUNTY OF KANAWHA, To-Wit: -

This day personally appeared PAMELA LILLY,

who after being first duly sworn according to law, says

that she is the person named in the foregoing

“AFFIDAVIT” and that the facts and allegations are

true, except insofar as they are therein stated to be

upon information, and insofar as they are therein

stated to be upon information she believes them to be

true.

/S/ Pamela Lilly

PAMELA LILLY

Taken, subscribed, and sworn to before me this

15 day of January, 2001.

My commission expires: September 16, 2008

[SEAL] /S/ Tiffany L. Slack

NOTARY PUBLIC

App. 33

Ee

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

AT CHARLESTON

SARA ELIZABETH LILLY

Plaintiff,

Vv. Civil Action No. 2:00106

Honorable Joseph Robert Goodwin

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT OF RANDY WEST

RANDY WEST, after being duly sworn, deposes

and says as follows:

a I am a retired deputy from the Kanawha

County Sheriff's Department, and when I was last

employed by the Sheriff's Department, I was a

Detachment Commander and Shift Supervisor.

2. That during the course of my

employment with the Sheriff's Department, I was

assigned to investigate an alleged sexual assault of a

female, Sara Elizabeth Lilly, by SFC. Mark Clifford, a

United States Army Recruiter, which occurred in

Kanawha County in late December, 1997. That during

the course of my investigation, I took numerous

statements and completed a report concerning this

alleged assault, which resulted in the indictment of

SFC. Mark Clifford by the Kanawha County

Prosecuting Attorney’s office for sexual assault of Sara

Elizabeth Lilly.

App. 34

3. That attached hereto as Exhibit A, are

true and accurate copies of portions of the official

Kanawha County Sheriff’s Department Investigative

Report done by me regarding the alleged sexual assault

of Sara Elizabeth Lilly by SFC. Mark Clifford, including

statements taken by me of prospective witnesses who

may have had some knowledge concerning events

leading up to, or after the alleged assault of Sara

Elizabeth Lilly, which are a part of the official records

and investigative file of the Kanawha County Sheriff's

Department regarding this alleged assault, which

would have been supplied to the Kanawha County

Prosecuting Attorney’s office to aid its attorneys in the

prosecution of SFC. Mark Clifford.

Further, your Affiant saith not.

Dated this 19 day of January, 2001.

/S/ Randy West

RANDY WEST

App. 35

ae eee

STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA,

COUNTY OF Kanawha, To-Wit:

This day personally appeared RANDY WEST,

who after being first duly sworn according to law, says

that he is the person named in the foregoing

“AFFIDAVIT” and that the facts and allegations are

true, except insofar as they are therein stated to be

upon information, and insofar as they are therein

stated to be upon information he believe them to be

true.

/S/_ Randy West

RANDY WEST

Taken, subscribed, and sworn to before me this

19 day of January, 2001.

My commission expires: September 16, 2008

[SEAL] /S/ Tiffany L. Slack

NOTARY PUBLIC

App. 36

Kanawha County Sheriff’s Department

Law Enforcement Division

Report of Investigation

Headquarters File Number: CI-8391

Date of Report: March 3, 1998

Complaint Received by: Cpl. D.A. Brick

Investigation Assigned by: Lt.J. W. Johnson (Initialed)

Report Made by: Cpl. R.L. West

Status of Investigation: Complete

Initial or Supplement: Initial

Subject of Investigation: Second Degree Sexual

Assault In Violation of:

Chapter 61, Article 8b,

Section 4 of the W. Va.

State Code

ACCUSED:

Clifford, Mark Allen, 35 YOA

White American Male

Address: 2380 Savory Drive

Charleston, West Virginia 25312

Telephone Number: (304) 744-0548

Date of Birth: 03/23/62

Social Security Number: 150-68-2125

Criminal! History: No criminal record.

SUSPECTS:

None other than the accused.

App. 37

EEE EEE

DATE OF CRIME:

Tuesday, December 30, 1997, in the evening hours.

PLACE OF CRIME:

Kanawha County. 48 States Motel, Room #3, 6206

MacCorkle Avenue, St Albans, West Virginia 25177.

DISCOVERED BY:

The victim, Sara E. Lilly.

WEATHER CONDITION:

N/A

VICTIM :

Lilly, Sara E., 17 YOA

White American Female

Address: Rte. 4 Box 227

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 727-3419

Criminal History: No criminal record.

App. 38

f

b>

A

1s

(

a

Be

a

ia

s¥

Ro

a

bee

aes”

r

MOTIVE:

Sexual gratification.

MODE OF OPERATION:

The accused took the victim to Griff’s Pub located in

Riverwalk Mall in South Charleston and supplied her

with various forms of alcoholic beverages. When she

became extremely intoxicated he transported her to the

place of the crime. He undressed her and took a

shower with her. He then took her to bed and engaged

in sexual intercourse with her.

PROPERTY STOLEN: _

N/A.

PROPERTY RECOVERED:

N/A.

LIST OF EXHIBITS:

1) Sexual assault kit from Women's &

Children's Hospital

2) Victim's clothing

3) Clothing provided to victim by the

accused after the assault

4) Registration card from 48 States Motel in

the accuser's name an driver's License number

App. 39

ACTION TAKEN: :

On Wednesday, December 31, | 997 at approximately

1346 hours, Corporal D.A. Brick was dispatched to

Women & Children's Hospital to respond in reference

to a sexual assault complaint. He arrived at

approximately 1410 hours, and met with the victim,

Sara E. Liily, age 17. She indicated to Corporal Brick

that approximately two weeks ago, she met an Army

Sergeant, Sergeant First Class, Mark Clifford, and that

she was anticipating enlisting in the United States

Army. She stated that on Tuesday, December 30, her

mother took her to the St. Albans library, where she

met with Sergeant Clifford and he was to take her for

her GED, she advised Corporal Brick that he took her

to a location in the Charleston area and determined

that this location was closed and was not giving the

GED’s on this day and that he subsequently took her to

lunch at an Oriental] restaurant in the Cross Lanes area.

She stated that Sergeant Clifford then suggested that

they go see a movie, and they went to the Kanawha

Cinemas and saw Scream 2. She stated that she had

been upset about a friend of hers having to move out of

her house, and that Sergeant Clifford knew this and

that Sergeant Clifford told her she looked like she

needed a drink and he took her to Griff’s, which is a

restaurant pub in the Riverwalk Plaza in South

Charleston. Where he bought her a screwdriver,

another screwdriver, which is a mixed drink, a shot of

whiskey and various other drinks. She stated that she

became extremely intoxicated, became ill and threw

up. She stated that Sergeant Clifford then took her to

the 48 States Motel In St. Albans. She barely

remembers what happened. She remembers bits and

App. 40

pieces. She took a shower, Sergeant Clifford gave her

the shower, and washed her off and then took her to

bed. She states they had sexual relations but she

refused to go into detail with Corporal Brick. She

stated that the following morning at approximately

between 0630 and 0730, she remembers taking another

shower, that Sergeant Clifford took her to her

residence, but that they discovered that her mother’s

car was there and that he then took her to a friend’s

house and in Corporal Brick’s report, she is identified

only as Angie, and that Sergeant Clifford

recommended, and suggested that she tell her mother

that she spent the night at Angie's. Corporal Brick

obtained a sexual assault investigation kit at the

hospital and submitted it to the evidence section of the

Kanawha County Sheriff's Department, Headquarters.

On January 2, 1998 at 0840 hours, I recei\ ed the

sexual assault examination kit from the lockers placed

it in the evidence room, and attempted to call the Army

Commander for the local area to advise them there was

a criminal investigation going on with military

personnel, unable to locate anyone.

On January 5, 1998, I called the victim’s mother

Pamela Lilly at home and advised her that we were

initiating an investigation, and that I had been assigned

to the case. I made arrangements with Mrs. Lilly to

bring her daughter in at 0900 hours, on January 6, 1998.

On this same date, January 5, I received a phone

call from Captain Beth Botti, Company Commander of

the St. Albans Army Reserve Recruiting area. She

stated that she had received information that one of her

recruiters, Sergeant Mark Clifford was the subject of

investigation. She advised that he was a 32 year old,

white male, holds the rank of E-7 Sergeant First Class in

App. 41

cea aeaareras-eamraeearremaeaea teenie |

the Army. She stated that he is a special forces soldier,

married, and a bit quirky. She stated that she was told

by two other Army recruiters that they saw him

drinking with the female in Griff’s on the evening of the

crime, and she stated that he was missing for some time.

When I asked Captain Botti what she meant by missing,

she stated that on that evening of the crime, the victim’s

mother started calling the Army wanting to know

where her daughter was, and the recruiter’s wife started

calling the Army advising she wanted to know where

her husband was. She stated that the First Sergeant in

charge of the recruiters subsequently brought Sergeant

First Class Clifford in and talked with him, and he

indicated that he took the girl to a friend’ house and that

he had spent the night at a friend’s house by the name of

Mark March. At that time however, the First Sergeant

was unaware of the sexual assault allegations. Captain

Botti has agreed to give copies of statements from the

Sergeants that she took, and agreed to allow me to

interview the First Sergeant upon his return back to the

West Virginia area. He is currently on assignment in

Kentucky, temporarily.

On the morning of Tuesday, January 6, 1998 at

approximately 0820 hours, Captain Botti called me

back at Headquarters indicated that she had talked to

the JAG, Military affairs office, indicated that she was

instructed to cooperate 100% with the local police in

this matter, and that she was standing by to assist us in

any way. I requested at that time copies of the

statements and agreed to pick them up at a later time

on this date.

At approximately 0900 hours on January 6, the

victim and her mother, Pam Lilly came to the office.

After talking with them briefly, I separated the two. I

App. 42

obtained a statement from Sara Lilly. She indicated

that she has known the Recruiting Sergeant for

approximately 2- 2 ¥2 weeks. She said that she called

the recruiting office to initially enlist in the United

States Army Reserve and asked for a female recruiter

that a friend of hers had used, and was told that she

was out of town, but Sergeant Clifford, the person she

was speaking to, volunteered to come down and talk

with her. She indicated that Sergeant Clifford arrived

and convinced her to join the regular Army. She states

that on the afternoon of the crime, at approximately

1300 hours, she met him at the St. Albans library, and

as stated earlier in this portion of the report went to the

Garnet School to get her GED test, and determined

they were closed, then went to lunch, and went to the

movie, Scream 2, in Kanawha City, and then went to

Griff’s, where he purchased several drinks. She

became intoxicated. She stated she remembers two

other Army Recruiting Sergeants being present at

Griff’s and talking with Sergeant Clifford and then

leaving. She stated that she got intoxicated and threw

up in the restaurant. He took her to the white Jeep

Cherokee Army vehicle. She threw up again in that

vehicle, and he subsequently took her to the 48 States

Motel, where he had sexual relations with her. She

stated that the sexual relations included him placing

his fingers in her vagina, and getting on top of her, in

the missionary position and having intercourse with

her for what she described as a lengthy period of time.

She states that she awoke the next morning, took

another shower and he took her to her mother’s house.

Upon arrival, they discovered the mother’s car there.

He took her then to her friend Angie Vanatter’s house

and told her to tell her mother that she spent the night

App. 43

there. She further states that she advised Angie

Vanatter, and her boyfriend Casey Jones what had

happened the night before. After taking a statement

from her, I took two photographs of her for the

purpose of identification at Griff’s and then took a

statement from her mother, Pamela Lilly.

Pam Lilly states that she also remembers taking

her daughter to the St. Albans library on the day of the

crime. She became concerned that evening when she

did not come home and called Sergeant Clifford the

following morning. Sergeant Clifford told her that she

had met with her friend Angie at the movies in

Kanawha City, and had went home and spent the night

with her. She states that a few days after this incident,

Sergeant Clifford called her and she confronted him

about sexually assaulting her daughter and he denied

the allegations. As Lilly was advised to go to Women &

Children’s Hospital, and Dr. Hayes’ office in South

Charleston, where they advised that they took her to

initially, and get copies of the medical records to turn

over to me. Also during this interview the victim

brought me the clothes that she was wearing at the time

of the assault. The clothes were placed in evidence and

will be transferred at a later date to the C.I.B. lab.

At approximately 1100 hours on this same date,

I went to the U. S. Army’s Company Commander's

office, at 142 MacCorkle Avenue, St. Albans, second

floor. Spoke with Captain Beth Botti. She provided me

with copies of written statements from two of the

Army sergeants that saw Sergeant Clifford in Griff’s

lounge with an unidentified female the night of the

crime. She also indicated that she would set up

interviews with me for statements to be obtained from

the Sergeant at a later date. She stated that Sergeant

App. 44

Clifford had been in the military for several years,

approximately 13, and that she has had behavioral

problems with him in the past and she described him

again as being very quirky. She indicated that the

Army wanted to cooperate fully in the investigation,

and that if I would call her, she would make the

arrangements for interviews with any one that we

wished to interview, specifically Sergeant Clifford

himself. She also advised me that the Military may be

eventually launching their own criminal investigation

into this matter, but at this time they were not.

Approximately 1315 hours this same date, I

went to the 48 States Motel, talked to the clerk, and

obtained a copy of the registration card indicating that

Mark Clifford checked in the hotel room on the date in

question, December 30, 1997, paid $23.00 for a room,

and checked in at approximately 11:00PM. Talked to

the clerk that checked him in named Faith Schaeffer.

She does not recall or remember any details about him.

She did indicate however, that the records indicate that

he spent the entire night there, leaving sometime the

next morning, which would be consistent with the

statement given by the victim.

At the instruction of the motel clerk, I went to

9620 MacCorkle Avenue in South Charleston, met with

Mike Shaeffer who is the manager of the motel. He was

at this address working on a house. He indicated that

he recalls the suspect coming to the motel. He can not

describe what he looks like, but does remember that

they parked out in front of room #3, was a white Jeep

Cherokee, as described by the victim. Further advised

that he remembers the vehicle was there all night and

that they left sometime the next morning. Which is

also consistent with the victim’s statement.

App. 45

After leaving the 48 States Motel, I went to

Griff’s, which is a pub in the Riverwalk Plaza at South

Charleston. Upon arrival there, I met the owner's

boyfriend, who’s name is Kevin Farrell. Kevin was

present on the night of the crime at Griff’s. He knows

the suspect, Sergeant First Class Clifford, and he also

remembers him being in there with a younger looking

girl. When showed a photograph of the victim, he was

able to identify her as being the girl that was in the bar.

He stated that what he remembers best, and he showed

me the table they were sitting at, which was close to the

bar, and says that she apparently became so intoxicated

that she laid her head on the table and could not walk.

He said that at this time they instructed Mr. Clifford to

get the girl out of the bar, and that they had to pick her

up and carry her outside, but before leaving the bar she

vomited on the table. He stated that she could not

stand on her own, and they took her to the outside

area, and did not see what vehicle that they got into.

He stated that also, they instructed him not to come

back into the bar. That they did not appreciate him

bringing a young woman in there, and Kevin said that

he told Sergeant Clifford that she doesn’t even look old

enough to drink, and that Sergeant Clifford told him

that she was 21 years old. Kevin Farrell agreed to meet

me on Wednesday, January 7, to give a statement at

Headquarters regarding what he observed.

Later this date, I met with Aaron Lilly, brother

of the victim, at the St. Albans Police Department

Detective Bureau. I obtained a statement from him.

He states that on Saturday, January 3, 1998 at

approximately 1130 hours, the suspect called his

residence, where he resides with his mother and the

victim, and wanted to know what was going on.

App. 46

SANT RIES EY YIP TI I KT

ia aE mh FEST PI LO le

aes oh rae eee

Stated that he hadn’t heard from his sister, and Aaron

Lilly, the brother, advised the suspect that it was his

understanding that he had got his sister drunk and

took advantage of her sexually. He stated that Clifford

then started cussing saying this was not true. That he

had two good friends that could account for where he

was that night. The brother did not mention to him

what particular night was in question.

Same date, at approximately 2130 hours, I went

to Griff’s pub in South Charleston, and spoke with Jim

Alderson the bartender. Showed him a picture of the

victim, he states that he remembers the victim being in

the bar that night with the Army recruiter. Due to the

fact that he was extremely busy that night we made an

appointment to go back at 1400 hours the following

day to take a statement from him.

At 10:00 AM on Thursday, January 8, 1998, the

suspect, Mark Clifford, came to the Kanawha County

Sheriff's Department Headquarters. He was

accompanied by Mark March. The suspect was

advised of his Constitutional rights, and he signed the

rights form and agreed to talk orally with: this officer,

but he said he would not give a statement at this time

on the tape recorder. The allegations were outlined as

made in the initial complaint report to the suspect. The

suspect denied these allegations. The suspect said that

he did in fact meet the victim at approximately 1:00PM

on December the 30, 1997, at the St. Albans library.

That he did subsequently take her to Garnet School,

but discovered that the school was closed. He stated

that he did take her to an Oriental Restaurant for lunch

in Cross Lanes, and that he subsequently, at her

recommendation and request, tock her to Kanawha

Cinemas to watch the movie Scream 2. He stated that

App. 47

while at the Kanawha Cinemas watching the movie

Scream 2, she ran in to some friends of hers that he was

unable to identify, and stated that she told him she that

she would just go home with them. He states that’s the

last time he saw her. He stated that later that day, he

met with Mark March, who is a U S Army potential

candidate, and a friend of his, and that they went to

Griff’s in South Charleston, and stood around for about

an hour, had a beer, and then went to Mark’s house

where they spent the rest of the night. I thanked the

suspect for that statement and asked him to step out of

the room while I interviewed Mark March, who he had

brought as an alibi witness.

I then brought Mark March in to the conference

room of the Sheriff's Department Headquarters, and

told him what the case was all about. Explained that it

was a sexual assault inyestigation, and that I knew for

a fact that he had been at the 48 States Motel on this

particular night in question, and had not been at his

residence. Mark March immediately stated that he was

not going to cover for him. He stated that the suspect

told him that he may be in a little of trouble because he

had took a 17 year old candidate for the Army, a

female, into a bar so that he could have a drink, not

her, and that while he was there, she took_a pill, and

became in an incapacitated state. When Mark March

realized that this was a sexual assault investigation, he

said the he was not going to offer an alibi for Sergeant

Clifford. He stated that Sergeant Mark Clifford of the

Army, who he met in a recruiting capacity, had asked

him to come to the Sheriff’s Department headquarters

and essentially lie for him as to an alibi as to where he

was that night. Mark March advised that he did not

know that this was a sexual assault investigation, and

App. 48

‘

a

a

9

i

Pe

y

by

ig

Be

be

bs

ie

ie

4

that he did not see Sergeant Clifford on December the

30%, 1997, but he only talked to him once that day on

the phone, and that he didn’t see him again until the

following day, December the 31st, New Year’s Eve. A

recorded statement was taken from Mark March, and

he requested that he be given a ride home, because he

had rode to Headquarters with Sergeant Clifford.

Detective Greg Young of the Sheriff's Department

transported him back to his residence in Pratt.

The suspect, Mark Clifford, was brought back in

the Sheriff's Department Headquarters conference

room, and confronted with the story that was given us

by Mark March. He was also was confronted with the

evidence that two of the Army Sergeants had seen him

in Griff’s Pub with the female, the victim, and that he

had also checked in to the 48 States Motel, at 11:00 PM,

on December the 30, and I showed him a card, the

original registration card, and at this time he requested

that he speak with an attorney and he declined to

answer any further questions. He was arrested, taken

before Magistrate Kathy Demarco, arraigned and

released on $2500.00 property bond. The bond was

posted by Maxwell Crook, a local Charleston bail

bondsman.

I advised Mr. Clifford after fingerprinting and

photographing him, that I had been on the telephone

within the last hour, with Captain Beth Botti, his

Company Commander, and as a direct order, he was to

report to her immediately, he indicated that he would

and as of 1557 hours on this date, he had not reported

in or shown up. At this time, I was advised by the US

Army that they were attempting to locate him to place

him in confinement.

App. 49

On Friday, January the 9, 1998, Sergeant First

Class Adkins and Sergeant First Class Blevins came to

the Kanawha County’ Sheriff's | Department

Headquarters. Sergeant Adkins, full name is Raymond

G. Adkins, whose date of birth is 3/27/62, SSN

384-82-2400. Sergeant Blevins, full name is Charles L.

Blevins, whose date of birth is 5/2/66, SSN 406-11-6366.

Sergeant First Class Adkins is the Station Commander at

the South Charleston Recruiting Station, and Sergeant

First Class Blevins is a tellow Army Recruiter at that

station. Sergeant First Class Adkins said he was at

Griff’s Pub on the evening of December the 30%, 1997

arriving at approximately 8:00 PM and departing at

approximately 8:30 PM. He said that he saw Sergeant

Clifford in there with a young female setting at the table.

He said that he departed and went home, and that he

received a phone call from Sergeant Blevins late that

night, indicating that the young female that was with

Sergeant Clifford had apparently passed out at the table

and had to be carried out of the bar by Sergeant Clifford

and employees of the bar. He also stated that Sergeant

Blevins called him back at approximately 4:00 AM and

that Sergeant Clifford’s wife had called him looking for

Sergeant Clifford. He states further that at

approximately 5:00 AM, Sergeant Clifford’s wife called

him looking for Sergeant Clifford. He states that when

he went to work at approximately 8:15 AM the

following morning that Sergeant Clifford’s wife was in

there and stated that he had not returned home all night

and was looking for him. He stated that Sergeant

Clifford, upon his arrival, was interviewed by himself,

the First Sergeant, and Captain Beth Botti, and he stated

that the woman that he was in the bar with, at Griff’s

drinking, was the wife of a friend of his. They informed

App. 50

Olt PS Ott ads °

Sergeant Clifford that Pam Lilly, mother of Sara Lilly,

had been calling Sergeant Adkins trying to find her

daughter. He stated that he took her home the

preceding day to a friends house, Angie Vanatter, in the

St. Albans area.

Sergeant Blevins states that he was also in the

pub at Griff’s. Arriving about 8:30 PM with Sergeant

Adkins, but he stayed for approximately 2 hours, where

as Sergeant Adkins left. He stated that the owner of the

pub came to his table and asked him if he knew who the

girl was that was with Sergeant Clifford. He stated that

he did not know the girl, and he wanted to know why

she was asking, and the owner advised him that the

young female did not look old enough to be drinking -

and that the young female had apparently passed out

at the table. Sergeant Blevins states that he observed

the owner of the bar, the owner’s boyfriend, and

Sergeant Clifford carrying the girl out of the bar, and

she became ill and started vomiting all over the area of

the bar. Sergeant Blevins said he followed them out on

the parking lot, and he observed Sergeant Clifford

place the girl in a white Jeep Cherokee which is the

United States Army vehicle assigned to Sergeant

Clifford, and attempt to drive away with her. He states

that he stopped Sergeant Clifford and asked him if

everything was okay, and Sergeant Clifford replied,

“yes”, and drove off. He states that he called Sergeant

Adkins, the Station Commander, and told him what

had happened, and that at 4:00 AM. Sergeant

Clifford’s wife started calling him wanting to know

where her husband was. He states that he also called

Sergeant Adkins and advised him of this. He states

that when he came into work at approximately 8:15

AM, the next morning, Sergeant Clifford's wife was

App. 51

there, very angry and agitated, and that he started

receiving phone calls from Pam Lilly, mother of Sara

Lilly, saying that Sergeant Clifford had picked her

daughter up at 1:00 PM, the preceding day, to get her

GED, and had not brought her back. Sergeant Blevins

stated that’s when he started putting it together and

realized that Sergeant Clifford had been in Griff’s Pub

with a 17 year old, underage girl drinking. Sergeant

Blevins was also ordered by Captain Beth Botti,

Company Commander, to supply her with a written

statement, and I have a copy of that also. Sergeant

Blevins indicated to this officer that he realized the

following morning the extent of this problem, and

decided that he would cooperate in the Military and

Police investigation, if it came to that point.

Also on Friday, January the 9%, I received a

phone call from Kenneth Cooper (595-5177). He states

that he has a daughter, Kim Cooper, 18 years of age, that

approximately two months ago was thinking about

enlisting in the United-States Army Reserve. Her

recruiter was Sergeant Mark Clifford. He states that his

daughter was taken to the Cross Lanes area to take the

ASVAB test, and that Sergeant Clifford offered to take

her to a bar to have drinks, and that she declined to do

so. Then tried to get her to allow him to buy beer, so

they could drink beer in the car, she declined to do so.

He states that according to his daughter that Sergeant

Clifford made sexual _advances to her, and that she

pushed him away and that he pulled her hair and

assaulted her physically, but not sexually. I advised Mr.

Cooper that we would like to talk with his daughter for

an interview and a statement. He stated that he would

bring her in on this particular day at approximately 1300

hours.

App. 52

Ms. Cooper arrived at headquarters at

approximately 1250 hours. She was identified as

Kimberly Ann Cooper, age 18, date of birth 3/14/79,

SSN 233-27-0449; P O Box 287, Dawes WV 25054; PS#

995-5177. Ms. Cooper gave a statement but stated that

she wasn’t sure she wanted to press charges. She

stated that she met the recruiter through East

Bank High School. In October of 1997, he took her for

an ASVAB test. She stated that they met at the

Kanawha City Mall, at Burger King. There were

supposed to be some other members of the school that

wanted to join the Army present, but there was not.

She states that he took her to Taco Bell in South

Charleston, offered her something to eat, she declined.

Bought himself a soft drink, sat on the parking lot in

the Army recruiting Jeep, and was going to fill out

some paperwork, asked her if she wanted to go to a

bar later, she said, “no”. Grabbed her by the hair of

the head, jerked her head back, and said “I bet you

like it rough, baby”. She stated “no”, said “take me

home”. He said, “no, are you going to go take the

test”? He then took her to take the test, she completed

the test, and on the way home he started attempting to

touch her breasts, patted her on the buttocks, and

twisted her arm on two different occasions and pulled

her hair again three more times. She states that she

was in tears and very upset, and decided that after she

got home she told her parents part of what had

happened, and decided not to have any more contact.

She states that the Sergeant was very angry with

her after she pushed him away and told her to “get

the fuck out of the Jeep” and drove off squalling his

tires. Ms. Cooper stated that she would think about

this over the weekend and call me back to let me

=~

App. 53

know if she was going to press charges. She did

advise that she would cooperate in the Army

investigation.

On Monday, January 12, 1998 at approximately

1115 hours, I took evidence to the State Police Crime

Serology Lab. This evidence included the sexual

assault examination kit, obtained by Corporal Brick at

Women and Children’s Hospital from the victim, Sara

Lilly. As well as the clothing that Sara Lilly wore prior

to the sexual assault, and the clothing that she wore

subsequent to the sexual assault. This was submitted

to Trooper H. B. Myers, a personal delivery from me.

On Wednesday, January 14%, 1998 at

approximately 1400 hours, I met with First Sergeant

Dean. Who is the First Sergeant of the St. Albans

Recruiting Command Company. First Sergeant Dean

states that on the morning of December 31, 1997 he

questioned Sergeant First Class Clifford as to where he

had been the night before, why his wife had called all

night looking for him, and why the victim’s mother

had been calling all night looking for her. He states

that Sergeant First Class Clifford told him that he took

the applicant home on the evening of the 30% to a

friends house named Angie. That he didn’t know why

his wife had been calling all night looking for him,

because he had told her he was going to be late.

Sergeant First Class Clifford insisted that he did

nothing inappropriate. This statement was obtained

from First Sergeant Dean.

On Friday, January 16%, 1998 I met with Angela

Marie Vanatter, she goes by the name of Angie, at the

St. Albans Police Department. I obtained a statement

from Angie Vanatter. In her statement she states that

~ she did not see or hear from the victim on December

App. 54

the 30%, 1997 as indicated by the accused. She did not

attend the movies at the Kanawha Cinemas, and Sara

Lilly did not come to her house and spend the night.

She says that the next time that she saw Sara Lilly was

approximately 9:00 AM on the morning of the 31st of

December. She stated that Sara Lilly came to her

house, was wearing sweat pants and a sweat shirt,

which was very unusual for her to wear because she

doesn’t dress that way, and that she was clearly upset.

She set in the floor and started holding her head, and

set and told her something terrible had happened.

When Angie Vanatter had questioned her further, Sara

Lilly indicated that she had went to the movies the

night before with her Army Recruiter, and afterwards

he had taken her to a bar in South Charleston, and got

her drunk, provided her with alcohol and she became

intoxicated. She told Angie Vanatter that at some point

in time, Sergeant Clifford, the accused, went to the

restroom and she laid her head on the table and

apparently passed out. The next thing she

remembered, was that she was in the shower, naked,

and was with Sergeant Clifford, who was also naked.

Angie Vanatter states that she talked her into

contacting her mother, her mother came and got her.

She also states that two to three days later, an

unknown man came to her residence and stated that he

was looking for Sara Lilly. Angie asked him who he

was, he declined to answer at that time, and stated that

Sara and her Mom were fighting. Again, Angie

Vanatter asked him who he was, he again he declined

to answer the question, and said, “you know that Sara

Lilly can get in a whole lot of trouble, I need to find

her”. Again, Angie-Vanatter asked him who he was.

He stated Mark Clifford. She said, “Mark Clifford,

fal App. 55

who are you”? Sergeant Clifford stated, ” a friend of

Sara’s”. At that time Angie Vanatter realized that he

must be the Army Recruiter, and she slammed the door

in his face, and he went away.

On Tuesday, January the 20%, 1998 at

approximately 1515 hours, I met with Kevin Farrell and

Jim Alderson. Kevin and Jim are employees at Griff’s

Pub where the accused took the victim to get her

intoxicated. Kevin Farrell, whose girlfriend is the

owner of the pub, stated that he knows Sergeant

Clifford, the accused, from his many visits in the pub,

usually at lunch time. He states that he observed him

in there with the young female. When shown a

photograph of the victim, he indicated that he was able

to recognize her. He stated that he first really noticed

her when she was lying face down on the table

vomiting. He stated that he determined immediately

that she was extremely intoxicated and he approached

the accused and told him to get her out of the pub. He

stated that the accused argued with him briefly and

told him that she was okay, but Mr. Farrell insisted that

they get her out. The accused, according to Mr. Farrell,

suggested that he assist him in carrying her, the victim,

out of the establishment. Mr. Farrell stated that the

victim was so intoxicated at that time that she couldn’t

stand up, didn’t even appear to be conscious. Stated

that she was carried and placed in a white Army Jeep.

Mr. Alderson, who is the bartender, indicated that

Mr. Clifford, the accused, bought the drinks, and

supplied the victim with these drinks. Stated that he also

noticed the victim for the first time when she appeared

to be very intoxicated and stated that he did talk with

her when she first came into the bar, briefly, when he

checked her ID. There is no indication, however, that this

App. 56

:

2

ES

¢

eg

ID was checked, and I believe that he may have

fabricated this story just to cover himself, afraid that they

might be in trouble with the ABC Commission for

serving an underage drinker. Mr. Alderson was shown a

picture of the victim and he identified her as the young

lady that was in the club with the accused. He stated

that when he noticed her again, she was severely

intoxicated and passed out at the table and had to be

carried out by Mr. Farrell and Mr. Clifford.

WITNESSES:

| Lilly, Sara

Address: Rte. 4 Box 227

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 727-3419

Date of Birth:3/4/80

Social Security Number: 234-35-2518

Can testify to being the victim of a sexual assault

and can identify the accused and will offer details into

the events of the crime.

Lilly, Pam

Address: Rte. 4 Box 227, St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

om Number: (304) 727-3419 (Home)

(304) 348-4341 (Work)

Date of Birth: 3/4/54

Social Security Number: 234-35-2518

Can testify to taking the victim to meet the

accused and her not coming home until the next day.

She will also testify to the victim reporting the crime to

her.

App. 57

First Sergeant Jeffrey L. Dean, United States Army

Address: 142 MacCorkle Avenue South West

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 727-5673

Date of Birth: 12/19/59

Social Security Number: 525-21-4721

Can testify to interviewing the accused on the

morning after the crime as to his whereabouts and where

he took the victim. He will testify to the fact that the

accused lied about where he was the night of the crime.

Cooper, Kim

Address: P. O. Box 287, Dawes, West Virginia 25054

Telephone Number: (304) 595-5177

Date of Birth: 3/14/79

Social Security Number: 233-27-0449

Can testify to having a previous experience with

the accused. She was a candidate for the Army and the

accused attempted to seduce her into drinking. When

she rejected his advances, he assaulted her by means of

battery.

Sergeant First Class Raymond G. Adkins,

United States Army

Address: 142 MacCorkle Avenue South West,

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 744-6491

Date of Birth: 3/27/62

Social Security Number: 384-82-2400

Can testify to seeing the accused in Griff’s Pub

on 12/30/97 with the victim and to the intoxicated

condition of the victim.

App. 58

Sergeant First Class Charles L. Blevins,

United States Army

Address: 142 MacCorkle Avenue South West

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 744-6491

Date of Birth: 5/2/66

Social Security Number: 406-11-6366

Can testify to seeing the accused in Griff’s Pub

on 12-30-97 with the victim and to the intoxicated

condition of the victim.

James L. Alderson

Address: 1414 West Virginia Avenue

Dunbar, West Virginia 25604

Telephone Number: (304) 768-0129

Date of Birth: 9/29/67

Social Security Number: 232-21-4191

Can testify to observing the victim in the bar

whit the accused and to how incapacitated she was

when they departed from the bar.

Kevin J. Farrell

Address: 204 Powderhorn Road

Charleston, West Virginia 25314

Telephone Number: (304) 435-0744 (Pager)

Date of Birth: 5/25/59 is

Social Security Number: 172-46-5197 |

Can testify to how intoxicated the victim was and

arguing with the accused about having the victim in the

bar. He will also testify to assisting the accused in

carrying her out of the bar and that she was unconscious.

~

App. 59

Angela Marie Vanatter

Address: 500 B Holley Street

St. Albans, West Virginia 25177

Telephone Number: (304) 490-7520 (Boyfriend’s Pager)

Date of Birth: 4/16/80

Social Security Number: 233-21-5486 ~

Can testify to the victim coming to her residence

on 12/31/97 and telling her about the crime and as to

her emotional condition. She can also testify to the

accused coming to her residence approximately three

days later looking for the victim.

Corporal D. A. Brick

Address: Kanawha County Sheriff's Department

St. Albans Detachment

P.O. Box 75087

Charleston, West Virginia 25375

Telephone Number: (304) 357-0175

Can testify to the initial report and conducting

the initial investigation.

Detective, Corporal R. L. West

Address: Kanawha County Sheriff's Department

Criminal Investigative Section

P. O. Box 75087

Charleston, West Virginia 25375

Telephone Number: (304) 357-0175

Can testify to all facts contained and set forth in

~ this report.

App. 60

CONFESSIONS AND STATEMENTS OF THE

ACCUSED:

The accused declined to give a recorded

statement. However, he did offer an oral statement

that directly conflicts with the evidence and other

statements obtained

MILES TRAVELED:

120 Miles traveled.

MAN HOURS SPENT:

60 Man hours spent.

[S/_R.L. West

Detective R. L. West

Criminal Investigative Section

Kanawha County Sheriff’s Department

Copies to: The Sheriff

Prosecuting Attorney

LED Files

blh

03/03/98

App. 61

/ss«779-,, ,, —

DATE: FRIDAY, JANUARY 9, 1998

TIME: 10:47 HOURS

STATEMENT OF

SGT. FIRST CLASS CHARLES L. BLEVINS

THIS IS A STATEMENT OF SGT. FIRST CLASS

CHARLES L. BLEVINS OF THE UNITED STATES

ARMY RECRUITING. DATE OF BIRTH IS 5-2-66.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER IS _ 406-11-6366.

ADDRESS IS #9 RIVERWALK PLAZA, SOUTH

CHARLESTON, KANAWHA COUNTY, WV. PUBLIC

SERVICE 304-744-6491. THIS STATEMENT IS BEING

OBTAINED BY DETECTIVE CORPORAL R. L. WEST

OF THE KANAWHA COUNTY — SHERIFF'S

DEPARTMENT, CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION

SECTION.

Q: Could you state your full name please?

A: Charles Lee Blevins, Jr.

Q: Howold are you Sgt. Blevins?

A: 31 years old.

Q: You're a recruiter and on active duty of the

United States Army is that correct?

A: Yes sir. I’m active reserve recruiter at the time.

Q: How long have you been in the Army?

A: 13 12 years.

Q: You're currently stationed in South Charleston?

A: Yes sir.

App. 62

O -?O FO >

Do you have a fellow recruiter there named

Mark Clifford?

Yes sir.

As you are aware there is a both a criminal and

military investigation being conducted into

activities of Sgt. Clifford?

Yes sir.

On December 30, 1997 in the evening hours it’s

reported by the victim that Sgt. Clifford took her

to Griff’s Pub which is located just a few doors

down from the Army Recruiting office there at

Riverwalk Plaza in South Charleston. He

supplied her with alcohol and she became very

intoxicated and had passed out. It’s my

understanding when talking to Sgt. Adkins that

you and Sgt. Adkins were also in that pub that

night is that correct?

Yes sir.

About what time did you arrive there?

Approximately 8:30.

Approximately what time did you leave?

Approximately 10:30.

If you would just tell me in your own words

what you saw from the time that you got there

and the time you left?

When I walked in I noticed Sgt. Clifford sitting to

the right of the bar of a small table. There was a

female with them. I didn’t stop at the table he

motioned at Sgt. Adkins and Sgt. White were in

the back and I kept walking and went on back

App. 63

there. I asked them who that was with him and

they didn’t know. We thought it was just

somebody that came up to talk to him or

whatever and didn’t think to much more about it.

Sgt. Adkins left and I was still standing at the

back of the bar neat the restroom watching the

karoke, that’s why we was there that night and

wasn’t paying to much to Sgt. Clifford and didn’t

even know if they were still there for sure, it was

hard to see because it was pretty crowded. Then

one of the owners of the bar came to my table and

asked if I was with the young lady at the table

over there because she was really drunk and I

stood up to see who it was and I noticed that

that’s where I had seen Sgt. Clifford and the

young lady that was sitting with him sitting. But

Set. Clifford was not there at the time. I said, “I’m

not sure” because I couldn’t see her you know for

sure, if it was the same person that I had seen or

what she looked like or anything because Sgt.

Clifford wasn’t there. About that time Sgt.

Clifford walked passed me, I guess he had went

to the restroom and went on up to the table and I

hadn't seen him go in there or anything. Then he

went over to and started helping the girl up from

the table and everything and by that time Kevin

the owner of the bar had already went over there

too and was helping him get her to the door. So

then I knew that that was the same people or the

same one that he was with when he came in. By

the time I got to the door to see what was going

on one of the waitresses was helping him carry

her out to the parking lot or walk her out. |

wasn’t paying much attention cause I was going

App. 64

to go over to the recruiting station and I hollered

at him as he was walking out to see if he wanted

to bring her over to the station to sit down on the

couch and see if she’s okay. About that same time

Myrna the owner of the bar came outside and she

was very upset and she was trying to ask me

what was going on so I walked back to her and I

said, “I don’t know I don’t know who the girl is, I

don’t know what happened or anything like

that”. She was concerned about the girl and

asked me if I would go out and see if she was

okay. So I started walking out to the parking lot

and Sgt. Clifford was pulling out and what I

assumed was probably a government Jeep, it was

a white Jeep I didn’t take a look at the tags or

anything so I’m not 100% sure that it was. That's

what I pretty much figured I guess. He was

pulling out so I had to run out there to catch up

the vehicle and I said, “Hey is everything alright,

what's going on”? and he said something like,

“Yeah everything is okay” or whatever and took

off out of the parking lot and I went back into the

bar and pretty much didn’t know what had

happened and the people in the bar was asking

me what was going on and I didn’t know so |

stayed there for just a little bit longer and went on

home and called Sgt. Adkins and told him what

had happened and went on to sleep. About 4:00

in the morning Set. Clifford’s wife, Bea called me.

She was kind of upset and wandering where Sgt.

Clifford was. I didn’t tell her that I had seen him

but I also just told her that I didn’t know where

he was at because I didn’t know what to say.

App. 65

> O

You didn’t lie to her you just didn’t tell

everything you knew about it?

Right. Yes sir. At that time I knew that

something wasn’t right because here she’s

wandering where he is at and it’s 4:00 in the

morning. So I knew then that he apparently

wasn’t with a friend of the family that night or

you know...so kind of wandered the rest of the

night that was going on. Got a little early and

went on into work. Go there and around 8:00 I

think Mrs. Pam Lilly called me, called the office

looking for Sgt. Clifford and I told her that he

wasn’t there and that could I take a message.

She told me, “Well he came to pick my

daughter yesterday afternoon to take her to the

library to get her GED”. She hasn't seen or

heard from her since. At that point I start

thinking, you know hopefully this is not the

same gir! that was in there last night.

Did you start to think that it probably was?

Yeah well it’s definitely occurred to me because

his wife is calling me wandering where he is at

and he was with a girl last night that at that bar

and then this applicant’s mother is calling in.

But at the same time it seemed to hard to

believe that that would be the case. So anyway

his wife calls again pretty much right after that

and she still hadn’t heard from him. Which I

was hoping by that time he had shown up at

home or something. She said, asked me again

if | had seen him or if I knew where he was at

or if he had been in the office and I said, “No”.

I said, “He’s not home yet”? and she said,

App. 66

water meee nmermenn meee ener

4

ae

tS

4

;

es

a

=

i

sm

“

x

+

>

Pr OP 0

“No” and she got very upset and you know

saying that she was coming down there or

whatever and she did come down to the office

and made a couple of calls while she was there,

I’m not sure who she talked to but she had

calmed down by that time and apologized to

me for going off on the phone which I told her

that was alright. We was still looking for him

and hadn't heard from him. The government

Jeep, Sgt. Adkins had Sgt. White go check to see

if it was in the area and it was gone also.

This would have been the same govern-ment

Jeep that you seen him leaving with the girl?

That same, well it turned out to be yes sir.

How many of those Jeeps do you have assigned

there?

One. Just the one.

Sgt. Clifford usually drive it or do you all drive

it?

Yes he’s the primary operator of the vehicle.

Still hadn’t heard from him. I informed Sgt.

Adkins when he got in around 9:00 that the

lady called looking for her daughter. So he

called her and was asking her what was going

on and he would try to find out what was

happening. He had made some phone calls at

that time since we had an applicant’s mother

looking for her daughter, he had to inform the

chain of command what was going on. So he

called the Commander and the First Sergeant I

believe and informed them what was going on

and [| think they informed Battalion

App. 67

ae

Headquarters that there was an incident and

don’t know really what was going on right now

but we're trying to find out. Eventually I think

that’s all that happened up until Sgt. Clifford

called in from somewhere and I didn’t talk to

him. He apparently acted like you know,

what's wrong, what's going on? But we hadn't

seen him all day and he hadn't called and

talked to nobody and his wife hadn’t heard

from him and he was asking him where he was

and all of that, Sgt. Adkins was. Told him that

he needed to get into the office. When he got

into the office the Commander and First

Sergeant had already came down there and was

waiting and he went, they took him to the back

room and was asking him where he had been,

what went on, made him write a statement |

think or the First Sergeant wrote down what his

story was or whatever. He was claiming that,

from what I understand that they was isolated

incidents that he had dropped off the young

lady at the, after they had found out that the

test wasn’t happening or something that he

dropped her off at a girlfriends house and after

that he went to Griff’s and he was there with a

personally friend of his, I believe a male friend

and a female friend. But I don’t know exactly

what....

Did you ever see a male friend in there?

No sir.

App. 68

Q: Was there a male friend in the Jeep when he left

with the female?

A: Not that I saw sir. Anyway they took his story

his down and Sgt. Adkins continued to call and

find out if the mother had located the daughter

because at that time we didn’t know really what

was going on and the grandmother told him that

she had went to look for her. At a friend’s house.

Well we never heard back from the mother or

anybody. Then it was the, I think the four day

weekend came and I guess all of us was hoping

that this was just coincidental and that

everything was just fine. But when we got back

into work Monday we started hearing everything

and found out that that actually was the girl and

that’s about it I guess. a

Q: Is everything you've told me been the truth Sgt.

Blevins?

A: Yes sir.

Q: Would you testify to that in court if asked to do

so?

A: Yes sir.

STATEMENT OF CHARLES BLEVINS

STATEMENT CONCLUDED AT 10:57 HOURS.

/s/

SGT. FIRST CLASS CHARLES BLEVINS

WITNESS:

Imw

1-13-98

App. 69

DATE: THURSDAY, JANUARY 9, 1998

TIME: APPROXIMATELY 10:27-HOURS

STATEMENT OF MARK MARCH

THE FOLLOWING IS A RECORDED STATEMENT OF

MARK A. MARCH. AGE 30, DATE OF BIRTH IS 9-7-

67. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER IS 235-21-6367.

ADDRESS IS P.O. BOX 216, PRATT, WV 25162.

PUBLIC SERVICE IS 304-442-4950. THIS STATEMENT

IS BEING OBTAINED BY DETECTIVE CPL. R. L.

WEST OF THE KANAWHA COUNTY SHERIFF'S

DEPARTMENT, CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION

SECTION. :

Q: Could you state your full name please?

A: Mark Anthony March.

Q: How old are you Mark? :

A: 30

Sgt. 1st Class Army Recruiter?

Q: Mark, do you know a guy named Mark Clifford,

A Yes sir.

Q: How is that you know him by your desire to go

into the Army?

A: Yes sir.

Q: How long have you known him?

A: A couple of months, several months | guess.

Somewhere along that lines.

App. 70

QO > 0

You don’t know a female named Sarah Lilly do

you?

No.

She and talking- a few minutes prior to this

statement she is a young lady. 17 years old from

St. Albans and was planning on joining the Army

and she’s made allegations that on December 30,

1997 Sgt. Clifford picker her up about 1:00 p.m.

and took her to get a GED test, the school was

closed and then took her to lunch and then took

her to the movies, then took her to a bar and got

her intoxicated and then took her to the 48 States

Motel and the evidence would indicate that they

arrived there at approximately 11:00 p.m. and

that he had sex with her during the night and

then took her home or took her to a friends house

the following morning. Now when talking with

Sgt. Clifford yesterday he indicated to me that his

alibi for that night was that he had spent the

night with you arriving there sometime in the

evening hours, is that true?

No.

Had he ever contacted you and asked you to be

an alibi witness for him?

Yes.

Just tell me in your own words you're an ex-

police officer, you know what I’m trying to get

at here. So just tell me in your own words here

what this is all about?

Basically Sgt. Clifford contacted me I believe it

was on the 31%t or maybe it was, yeah I believe it

App. 71

ee

a eee

was the 31*, roughly that he had a problem that

he had a female recruit that got drunk and

aa passed out on him and he didn’t know what to

do with her. Puked all over him and he

panicked, he didn’t know what to do. He took

her and dumped her off in a motel and left her

there and tried to clean her up and clean the

velucle up and you know basically that was it,

trying to....

He said that he took her to a motel?

Yes. To a motel. Just put her there that night so

she could sober up and so forth and clean her up

before he took her home because he knew that

they was supposedly having some family

problems. That was basically it, | was supposed

to say, if anybody asked where was he, he was

with me. Then it snowballed, it got bigger. ..the

mother calls and says that there’s a problem that

he got her drunk and took advantage of her and

he told me that that never happened, you know

that it just didn’t happen, I don’t know why

she’s after me. I really don’t understand this

and so forth. I said, “Well you know...”, I took

him for his word. You know situations happen

and you know, he told me that if anybody asked

just to say that “I was with you that night”.

> O

Q: When did he call and ask you to come in here

with him this morning?

A: It was yesterday. Yesterday morning.

App. 72

ee

>

20

> 0

2 O

an,

Now you haven't lied to me in anyway

obviously...was your purpose to come here this

morning then just to assess the situation and get

a feel for it yourself?

Exactly. Exactly.

You're getting his version of what happened

and you've asked me several questions prior to

this so obviously your pretty curious about what

really happened?

Yeah. You know I only got one side of the

version I don’t know the little girl, | don’t

know...

He didn’t go into a lot of detail though then he

asked you to account for his time on that night?

Yeah just basically that.

How long have you been a police officer Mark?

Oh I guess going on about 11 years.

You're not working as a policernan actively right

now?

No sir.

You're preparing to go into the Army?

Processed to go into the Army any day

So that’s the only way that you know him is

through the Military?

Through the Military. We're casual friends.

We're friends outside the Military environment.

App. 73

20

2 O

2 O

> O

But you met him through the Military?

Through the Military. That's the first time I've

met him. |

Did you feel intimidated at any time or at least

did you feel that your opportunity to go into the

Military might be somewhat stopped if you did

not assist him in someway?

Somewhat but not a whole lot.

Not anything he said?

No he didn’t say, “You know if you don’t help

me out your not going to be able to go into the

Military” nor nothing like that. I just took him

at his word that you know that the girl was a

problem child and she went out and got drunk

and he didn’t know what to do. Just to try to

help him out. Like you said I didn’t really get

the whole...the whole jest was not coming

around. There’s a piece of the pie missing.

Did you see him at all on December 30?

No I talked to him on December 30. I talked to

him on the phone sometime that day. He was at

the office.

About what, about your career goals?

Yeah, just, actually we was supposed to go

hunting me and him and he couldn't give me a

date of when he could go and that was it. That's

the last time that I talked to him until I think the

next day. I believe it was the next day.

App. 74

Q: Now that we've talked about this case and I’ve

shown you some of the evidence that’s

developed do you believe his story at this time?

A: No. It would be kind of hard to believe.

Q: Is there anything that you need to add to this

statement that perhaps I neglected to ask you

Mark?

A: No not really.

: Q: Anything that you would like to delete or take

: away from the statement?

No. That's about the best I can say. You know

that’s what basically happened, my part of it

anyway.

‘diesen, Pear tigate AONE a bth des at aN Mallee Die + vs

Has everything you’ ve told me been the truth?

Yes.

you to do so?

Q

A

~ Q: Would you testify to this in court if we asked

A Yes.

STATEMENT OF MARK MARCH

| STATEMENT CONCLUDED AT 10:32 HOURS.

MARK MARCH

App. 75

DATE: TUESDAY, JANUARY 6, 1998

TIME: APPROXIMATELY 15:37 HOURS

STATEMENT OF AARON R. LILLY

THE FOLLOWING IS A RECORDED STATEMENT OF

AARON R. LILLY, AGE 19. DATE OF BIRTH IS 4-30-

78. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER IS 234-35-1799.

RESIDE AT RT. 4 BOX 227 ST. ALBANS, KANAWHA

COUNTY, WV 25177. PUBLIC SERVICE IS 304-727-

3419. THIS STATEMENT IS BEING OBTAINED BY

DETECTIVE CORPORAL R. L. WEST OF THE

KANAWHA COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT,

CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION SECTION.

Q: Would you state your full name please?

A Aaron Ray Lilly.

Q: How old are you Aaron?

A: 19

Q: You are the brother of Sara Lilly?

A: _ That's right.

Q: You're aware that there is an investigation being

conducted against Sgt. 1st Class Mark Clifford of

the U.S. Army Recruiting Center?

Yes.

Q: And that the allegations are that he sexually

abused or sexually assaulted your sister?

A: Yes.

App. 76 7

POT een, fe LE er ey

This would have occurred on the evening of

December 30, 1997 which was last week?

That's right.

She came home on the morning of December 31,

1997 which would have been on a Wednesday.

The reason that we’re taking this statement from

you because I understand that you had a phone

conversation with Set. Clifford is that correct?

That's correct.

When was this phone conversation?

Saturday.

This past Saturday?

Just this past Saturday.

That would have been Saturday, January 3,

1998?

Yeah.

Did you calli him or did he call you?

He called me.

Was he specifically wanting to talk to you or did

you just answer the phone?

No I just answered the phone. He wanted to

talk to my mother.

He called your house at 727-3419?

That's right.

App. 77

20

2 O

> O

> 0

About what time of the day was that?

I think it was around noon or so. No it was exactly

around 11:30 I think because he woke me up.

Because you work nights right?

That's right.

Just tell me basically what the conversation was?

He called and wanted to know if my mom was

here and I told him no that they had gone out

and he had asked me if I knew when they would

be back and I was like, “No” and then he asked

me what was going on. I told him pretty much

that I can’t say anything at first and he just kept

pushing and pushing and I told him I said,

“Well from what I heard you took Sara out and

got her drunk and took advantage of her’.

From then on it was nothing but, “Well this is a

crock of shit” and cussing and carrying on and

just, you know just going on about that how it

wasn’t true and he had two buddies that could

prove that he was somewhere else. I was just

like, “Well whatever”, I told him that if he didn’t

do it you don’t have anything to worry about

but he still was kind of jumpy and just talking

on I just kind of let him talk.

He indicated that he had two friends that would

alibi him?

Yeah he said that he had a couple of buddies

that could say that he was somewhere else.

Did he indicate to you who these people were?

No he didn’t say.

App. 78

>O FPO > 0 FO > 0

> O

Pr Oo > O FF AO

Did he indicate whether they were military

people or not?

No he just said a couple of buddies.

Okay. Is that about it?

That's pretty much it.

You haven't talked to him any other time than

that?

No.

You don’t know this guy then?

No.

Would you know him if you saw him?

Oh yeah.

Where have you seen him before?

He came to the house when Sara asked for some

information with the Army, he was interviewing

her or whatever they do.

I'm sure you know your sister pretty well

you ve lived with her most of her life right?

No verbal response.

Do you believe your sister in the allegations that

she’s made?

Yeah.

Is anything that I’ve neglected to ask you that

might be important that you want to tell me?

No.

App. 79

Q: _ Iseverything you've told me been the truth?

A: Yeah.

Q: Would you testify to that in court if asked to do

so?

A: Yes.

STATEMENT OF AARON LILLY

STATEMENT CONCLUDED AT 15:41 HOURS.

AARON LILLY

WITNESS:

Imw

1-12-98

App. 80

aScite Ta8l wie lage: hece Sc RRO GN ee

lace taler tebe Ake ahd RAE id as A

DATE: TUESDAY, JANUARY 6, 1998

TIME: APPROXIMATELY 9:57 HOURS

STATEMENT OF PAMELA R. LILLY

THIS STATEMENT IS OF PAMELA R. LILLY. DATE

OF BIRTH IS 5-4-54. AGE. 43. SOCIAL SECURITY

NUMBER IS 236-88-5627. ADDRESS IS RT. 4 BOX 227

FERREL RD., ST. ALBANS, KANAWHA COUNTY,

WV 25177. PUBLIC SERVICE IS 727-3419 (H), 348-4341

(W). EMPLOYED BY CAMC MEMORIAL DIVISION.

THIS STATEMENT IS BEING OBTAINED BY CPL. R.

L. WEST OF THE KANAWHA COUNTY SHERIFF'S

DEPARTMENT, CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION

SECTION.

Would you state your full name please?

Pamela R. Lilly.

How old are you Pam?

43

You're the mother of Sara Lilly?

Yes sir.

She is 17 years old?

17.

Did there come a time that your daughter was

interested in joining the Army?

Yes.

How long ago was that?

Approximately 2 to 3 weeks.

FO F O FO FO FON PO

App. 81

Did there come a time that you met Sgt. Mark

Clifford her Army recruiter?

Yes sir.

I understand from talking with her and reading

the report prepared by Cpl. Brick that on the

morning of December 30, 1997, last Tuesday?

Yes.

A week ago today, I guess you took her to the St.

Albans Library to meet with Set. Clifford for the

_ purpose of some testing?

Yes sir.

Do you remember approximately what time that

was?

It was 1:00.

It was 1:00 in the afternoon then not morning?

Yes sir 1:00 in the afternoon.

She didn’t come home for awhile?

She didn’t come home all night.

When did you start becoming concerned?

Late in the evening.

Did you start calling around and trying to find

her?

There was no place to call that I thought,

because I knew she was with him and I didn’t

know that she would go any place else. She had

called me around 4:00.

App. 82

QO > QD FO

What did she say?

She said that they were going to see a movie.

Were you concerned at that time, did you

think that was inappropriate in anyway?

No Sara called and checked in that was okay.

Well I guess the Army Recruiters kind of razzle

and dazzle these kids anyway they can to get

them into the military?

I think so.

When you were concerned she was missing, did

you start calling any of her friends to see if they

around?

No sir. I didn't.

When did you first find her after that?

In the morning of the 31% at approximately I

went to Angie’s house.

Did you call before you went or just went there?

She has no phone I went there.

She was there?

Yes.

What did she tell you where she had been and

what had happened?

In the car she had told me that they had, her and

Sgt. Clifford had gone to the movies and he had

taken her to eat in Cross Lanes and then they

went to Griff’s and she got drunk and then he

took her to a motel.

App. 83

> QO 2

PO

> DO FF A

Did she say what motel?

I don’t think she did at that time.

How did you later find out that it was the 48

State Motel?

At the emergency room at Women and

Children’s.

She remembered that?

Yes.

So she told you this, I’m sure you were

upset...did you call, on the tollowing day on the

31st did you talk to Sgt. Clifford at any time?

Yes sir 1 did. It was before I went to get her

that’s how I knew...

He told you that she was at Angie’s?

He told me that she had met Angie at the

movies that evening and had stayed with Angie

at the movie theater.

Did she tell you that was Set. Clifford told her to

tell you?

Yes sir she did.

When, after you talked to her and found out

what had happened where did you go then?

I went straight home then but I called my family

physician and...

Is that Dr. Hays?

Dr. Hays.

App. 84

BLA BAST AN PRIA

PO PO

PO

> 0

0

PO POS ND PP

What is his first name?

Richard.

Where is he located in South Charleston?

South Charleston beside the One Valley Bank I

think near Dee St.

Okay. What occurred then?

I took her right in and they saw her and he told

me that I needed to take her to the Women and

Children’s Emergency Room because they had

that type of set up where they could do all the

proper tests.

So then you took her to Women and Children’s?

Yes.

That's when you met Cpl. Brick from our

department and he came and took the initial

complaint report?

Yes.

Has Sgt. Clifford, have you talked to him since

that day?

Yes sir.

When did you talk to him? -

Saturday.

What was the nature of the conversation then?

He called and he wanted to know what was

going on and I told him that he got my daughter

drunk and took advantage of her and her started

telling me how untrue that was and that was not

right. He was just being a friend to her and

App. 85

PO PO

> O

PO F DM -

listening to her problems. He was concerned

about her and he should have brought her home

he said, but he didn’t.

He denied spending the night at the motel with

her?

Yes sir he did.

Did he offer any explanations to why he thought

she was lying?

No he had no idea.

Is that the last time that you talked to him?

Well that was around 4:00 or 4:30 and he wanted

to get together and settle this and not go

anywhere else with it. So I told him that would

be up to Sara and that I will talk with her, she

wasn’t there at that time and he could call back

at 6:00. He did. He called back at 6:00 that same

day.

Did you talk to him then?

Uh-huh.

What was said then?

Sara just wanted to, she didn’t want to speak

with him then and she just would...whenever

she did feel like she wanted to talk with him she

would call him. I told him not to get in touch

with her at all.

Did you son talk to him at some point and time?

Yes sir that same day early I was not there it was

early in the morning. Sometime before noon.

App. 86

20

QO:

A:

But you left it with the fact that your daughter

might be calling him back?

Yes.

Is there anything that you would like to add to

this statement, something that maybe I perhaps

neglected to ask you about?

I know that he did tell me on the phone on

Saturday that he had spoken with Angie her

friend and that he was trying to find out how

Sara was by speaking with Angie.

Is everything you've told me been the truth?

Yes sir.

Would you testify to that in court?

Yes sir.

STATEMENT OF PAMELA LILLY

STATEMENT CONCLUDED AT 10:03 HOURS.

PAM LILLY

WITNESS:

lImw

1-12-98

App. 87

DATE: TUESDAY, JANUARY 6, 1998

TIME: 09:32 HOURS

STATEMENT OF SARA E. LILLY

THE FOLLOWING IS A RECORDED STATEMENT OF

SARA E. LILLY. DATE OF BIRTH IS 3-4-80, AGE 17.

ADDRESS IS RT. 4 BOX 227, ST. ALBANS,

KANAWHA COUNTY, WV. 25177. SOCIAL

SECURITY NUMBER IS 234-35-2518. PUBLIC

SERVICE IS 727-3419. THIS STATEMENT IS BEING

OBTAINED BY DETECTIVE CORPORAL R. L. WEST

OF THE KANAWHA COUNTY SHERIFF'S

DEPARTMENT CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION

SECTION.

Q: Could you state your full name please?

A: Sara Elizabeth Lilly.

How old are you?

17.

Do you know an United States Army Recruiting

Sergeant 1st Class named Mark Clifford?

Yes.

How did you come to know him?

He was my recruiting officer.

PO FF DO FO

You say you're recruiting officer, you were

anticipating enlisting in the Army?

Yeah.

2

App. 88

> O

2 O

PFO PO FO FO FO FO PO

On Tuesday, December 30, 1997 did you meet

with him in anticipation of taking your GED

test?

Yes.

How did you meet up with him that day?

My mom drove me to the St. Albans library and

he met us there.

Where did you go from there?

We went up to Garnet because he said we were

going to get my GED.

Garnet that’s a school?

Yeah I think so.

What happened when you arrived at Garnet?

Nothing. Well not the ride there.

When you arrived there what happened?

Oh when we got there?

Yes?

They were closed.

What did he suggest that you do then?

Go get something to eat.

Did you go to lunch with him?

Yes.

Where did you go?

That Chinese place in Cross Lanes.

App. 89

0

?

> O

> O FO PF A

PFO FP DO FO FO PO

Did anything occur there that was

inappropriate?

No.

Had anything inappropriately up until that

time?

No.

When you had lunch what did you do then?

We went to the movies.

How did you end up at the movies, who

suggested that?

He did.

Where did you go to the movies?

Kanawha City.

At the Kanawha Cinemas?

No verbal response.

Do you remember what movie you saw?

Scream 2.

Do you remember what time the movie started?

4:15.

Do you remember approximately how long the

movie was?

Around a couple of hours I guess.

After the movie where did you go?

We started to go back to my house.

App. 90

> O

0

Pr O > 0

PO PO >

PO PO

Did he pay for everything so far up to this

point?

Yeah.

So you headed back towards your house, how

close to your house did you get?

We got like in St. Albans and then he suggested

that we go to a bar and we turned around.

Was the bar called Griff’s?

Yeah.

Why did he suggest the bar, were you having, in

reviewing Cpl. Bricks report you were upset

about a friend that you had to ask to move out

of your house?

Yeah.

Tell me about that briefly?

About Heather?

Yes.

She lives at my house and she’s like 17 and

pregnant. I felt like-I was her mother almost.

She stole from us and we couldn't let her stay

anymore.

So you had to ask her to move?

yes.

Were you upset about this?

~ Yeah that happened the same morning.

App. 91

Q: - Did you tell Sgt. Clifford about this?

A: Yeah.

Q: _ Did he know that you were upset?

A: Yeah.

Q: In reviewing how did he approach you about

you needed a drink:

A: He said that I looked like I needed a drink.

Q: What did you say?

A: Isaid, “Yeah I guess”.

Q: Then you went to the Griff’s Bar in Riverwalk

Plaza?

A: | Well we kind of like joked around about it

because I really didn’t think he was serious but

he was. Then we went there.

Q: Do you know approximately what time you

arrived there?

A: _ I guess around like 7:00 or so.

Q: Was there a lot of people in the bar. I know it’s

a small bar but was it busy and crowded?

A: It was crowded.

Q: Where did you sit in the bar?

A: In a little table beside the bar.

Q: — What did you have to drink:

A: I had two Screwdrivers, two shots of Tequila

and a shot of Jack Daniels.

App. 92

Ee a ee

QO F DO FO PO

PO F&F QD FO

How did you get these drinks?

He bought them for me.

Did he know that you were 17 years old?

Yeah.

I mean I’m guessing he would he’s done

paperwork on you?

Yeah. He knew I was 17.

Did he say anything to you about you being 17

or did you question him about the fact, how you

were getting drinks at 17?

Actually I told him I was like, “Well I’m only

17” and he was like “Well when’s your

birthday”? and I was like, “March 4” and he was

like, “Well you just might as well be 18 now”.

Because I was so close to being 18.

What was the first drink he bought you?

A Screwdriver.

A Screwdriver is like orange juice with Gin or

Vodka or something?

Vodka.

Vodka? Did you drink that one pretty quickly

or did you just sort of nurse that along?

At first it was a conversational drink but then

we started to have a contest to see who could

drink the fastest.

App. 93

0

PO PO

> ODO PO

What did you talk about while you were in the

bar in the beginning?

He told me about stuff like that he’s done in his

life like going to Kenya and Somalia.

Talked about his military career?

Yeah.

He’s Special Forces, Green Beret?

I think he was in Special Forces once I’m not to

sure about that. He just basically told me about

his trips and about this friend of his named

Larry and all this kind of stuff.

You say that you got into a drinking contest

how did that come about?

He wanted to see if I could drink as much as

him. He said that we should have a contest to

see who could drink it the fastest.

Did he use the word chug?

Yeah.

Do you remember approximately what you

drank there and how many?

Yeah I drank two Screwdrivers, two shots of

Tequila and a shot of jack Daniels.

When you drank the Tequila did you chase it

with anything?

We had that salt that you lick and the lemon that

you like squeeze in your mouth.

App. 94

> O

0 FO F

>

> ODO PO FO

Were you starting to become pretty intoxicated?

Yeah.

Do you remember two other military personnel,

two other recruiter Sergeants that came in and

was talking to him?

Yeah.

Was there anyone else with you and him other

than those two Sergeants?

I don’t think so.

Do you remember a woman being there?

No I don’t remember a woman being there.

Did you ever hear him tell these recruiting

Sergeants that you were the wife of a friend of

him?

No because I couldn’t hear what they were

saying.

How long were they there?

Just like a few minutes not really that long.

Then they left?

Yeah.

How long do you think they were there at

Griff’s?

I felt like I was there real fast. I felt like

everything went by real fast so I’m not to sure

about the exact time.

App. 95

>

> 0

> 0

QO FS 0

Did you become ill at the bar?

Yeah passed out and threw up all over it.

At the bar. Do you remember anybody paying

close attention to you or coming over to clean it

up or anything like that?

No I was passed out.

Did he help you out of the bar when you got

ready to leave?

That's what he told me. I don’t remember.

You don’t remember that in detail?

I don’t remember none of that. I don’t

remember anything about that.

Do you remember getting in a white jeep.

No.

Do you remember being in the white jeep that

evening?

No.

But you do you remember earlier that evening

thought right?

Oh I remember. . .

Well I guess what I’m asking you what vehicle

were you guys driving around in when you

went to lunch and the movies and that sort of

thing?

The Jeep. _

App. 96

ae

FO F O FO FO

PO FO

20 PO FF A

»

The white Army Jeep?

Yeah.

That's like a Jeep Cherokee Station Wagon?

Yeah.

Do you remember being in any other vehicle

during the night?

No.

Now the next thing you remember is what?

I remember waking up in a shower stall with

him. That’s what I remember.

You later determined this to be where?

In the 48 States Motel room.

That’s on MacCorkle Ave in St. Albans?

Yeah.

You say you remember being in a shower stall

with him where you dress or un-dressed?

I was naked.

You were naked. Was he naked?

Yes.

What were you thinking of that time?

I really wasn’t thinking because | still felt really

nasty.

Still intoxicated?

Yeah.

App. 97

Q: Was there any type of sexual contact that took

place in the shower?

A: I really I don’t know. At the time I remember

like looking around and my head like twisting

and turning. I don’t know if anything happened

there or not, I don’t think so.

Then the initial report indicates that he led you

to bed after that is that what you remember?

Yeah.

Did he get into bed with you?

Yeah.

Were you both still nude?

Yes.

QO FO PO Y&

What type of sex acts, now I know this is

difficult for you to talk about and we'll just talk

about it once but it’s very important, what type

of sex acts took place in bed with him.

He liked messed with me like he fingered me.

He placed his fingers in your vagina?

Yeah. =

What else?

He just, he liked messed around and then he got

on top of me and had sex with me.

PO 2£O

He had intercourse with you?

Yes.

Was there any oral sex that you recall?

No. I don’t think so.

PO PO

App. 98

ee |

0 > 0 ro

PO PF OD FF © & DO PO

Did he perform oral sex on you at any time?

I'm not sure. I don’t think so.

Do you remember having oral sex with him,

performing oral sex on him?

No. I did not do that.

When you say that he got on top of you and had

intercourse about how long did that last do you

recall?

A while. I know it lasteda while because I kept

like trying to close my eyes and stuff and I

opened my eyes and he’s till be there.

Were you laying on your back?

Yeah.

So did the intercourse take place in the

missionary position the whole time?

Yeah.

A very important question for evidentiary

purposes, do you remember if he ejaculated?

I don’t know. I’m sorry I really don’t remember.

Do you remember if he used a condom or

anything like that?

I don’t really think he did, but I’m not positive.

What sort of things did he say to you about this?

He liked whispered stuff in my ear like he said

that he wanted to fuck me in my ass and he said

that he wanted to cum in my mouth. Just nasty

stuff like that.

App. 99

2 O

> 0

QO > QD FO

Q

>

> QO FO

Did he try to do anything like that to you?

I don’t remember him trying no.

Are you protected sexually, are you on the pill

or any type of birth control?

No. I’m not really the type of person to go out

and have sex a lot.

Were you a virgin prior to this?

No I wasn’t a virgin.

We're you currently with another sexual partner

like a boyfriend or anything like that, actively?

No I was not active.

How long would it have been, approximately

how long would it have been since you had sex

before this night?

Probably about 3 or 4 months maybe.

Have you been tested for any type of

transferable disease or anything like that?

I think they did that when I was at the hospital.

Did you go to sleep after you had sex with him?

Yeah.

Pass out. Do you remember if you said yes or

no or did you consent to have sex with him?

I did not say yes, but I did not say no. But I

wanted to say no.

App. 100

2 O

>

QOF>O PFO

>

You still consider yourself, to, were you still

pretty intoxicated?

I was so messed up that I didn’t know what was

going on until after it happened.

Did you trust this man completely until this

happened?

Well yeah he’s an adult. He’s an Army

Recruiter. I trusted him.

What's the next thing you remember?

I remember waking up the next morning and he

told me I should take a shower and I did. Then

he gave me some sweats to wear because my

clothes had throw up all over them and I put

them on.

What did those sweats look like were they.

military?

They, he said that he got them at the military

office. They were grey sweat pants and then

some like a faded black sweatshirt with

something on it. I don’t know what. . .

So it wasn’t new?

No it wasn’t new. It was like used.

Do you still have those clothes?

Yeah they’re at my house.

You brought some other clothes in today that

are sitting here, are those your clothes that you

wore that night?

Yeah.

App. 101

&O

>

2 O

FPO F&F DO FO

PFO 2

Are those the clothes that you put back on?

No verbal response.

No you put the sweats back on?

I put the sweats back on.

You just took these with you?

Yeah.

After you had the shower where did you go

then?

I laid there for a little bit. . .

Did you stay there in the motel for a little while

after that?

Yeah for a little bit yeah because I laid down and

he had to go out to the Jeep and clean it up

because I threw up in his Jeep too.

What happened then?

Then we got in the Jeep.

Is it day light by this time?

Yeah.

The next day?

The next morning. He said that I should go toa

friends house and he asked me what friend I

should go to and I said, “Angie”. Because I’ve

been friends with Angie forever. He said that I

should say that I met her at the movies and

stayed the night with her.

App. 102

a2

20

PO 0

aS,

PFOPQO FO FH

Did you agree to do that?

Well yeah. I was scared to death of him I didn’t

want to make him mad.

Did you first go to your house that morning?

We first drove to my house and my mom’s car

was in the driveway and I knew that if I drove

in there with him that my mom would come out

and she would kill him. She would. So I told

him to bring me to Angie’s because I didn’t

want mom to go to jail or something like that.

Now Angie that’s Angie?

Angie Vannetter.

She lives in downtown St. Albans?

Yeah.

When you arrived at Angie’s house, he took you

to Angie’s house didn’t he?

Yeah.

Who was there?

Angie, Casey and Angie’s dad.

Whose Casey?

Angie’s boyfriend.

Did you tell Angie what had happened to you?

Yeah.

Did you tell anyone else?

Well Casey was there when I told her.

App. 103

PO PO

PFO F DO F A

What's Casey last name?

Jones.

Does he live in St. Albans too?

No I think he lives in Charleston, in between

Charleston and Sissonville. But he’s with Angie

all the time.

What did you tell Angie, basically just what you

told me?

Yeah.

Where you upset or crying or anything at that

time?

I was in shock?

When did you go to your moms house?

Actually mom came there because she was _

calling around looking for me.

Did Angie try to get you to tell your mom what

happened, did Angie say anything to encourage

you to tell the police or your mom?

She told me that I should tell my mom and

prosecute the bastard. That’s her words.

When did you hook up with your mom that

morning, later, just a little later or. . . ?

Mom actually came there because she got ahold

of him and he told her that I stayed the night at

Angie’s and that’s where I was. She came there

and found out that I was there.

App. 104

PO

rO PO

4

Where did your mom get ahold of him at?

She told me later that she called up there and he

called her back after like he got there or

something.

Then you told your mom what had happened?

Uh-huh.

Did she take you to the hospital?

Well first she took me to Dr. Hays, that’s my

regular doctor and then he said that I should go

to the hospital because they didn’t have the kit

there.

Where is Dr. Hay’s office?

In South Charleston.

Okay then you went to Women and Children’s

Hospital?

Uh-huh.

That’s when the Deputy Sheriff came and talked

to you Cpl. Brick?

Yeah.

Is there anything else that you can think to add

to this statement that you think is important

perhaps I neglected to ask you about?

No verbal response.

Has everyt

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.