Petition for Writ of Certiorari — USA Polymer Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ipreme Coun, U.S,

-

011392 mar | 82002

No. _ OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

U.S.A. PoLyMER Corp.,

Petitioner,

V.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

On PetiT:0Nn For Writ OF CERTIORARI

To Tue Unitep States Court OF APPEALS

For Tue Firta Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

V. Scott KNEESE

Counsel of Record

BRACEWELL & PATTERSON, L.L.P.

SOUTH TOWER PENNZOIL PLACE

711 LouIsIANA STREET

SurTE 2900

Houston, TX 77002-2781

TELEPHONE: (713) 223-2900

FAcsiMu.E: (713) 221-1212

Counsel for Petitioner

BECKER GALLAGHER LEGAL PUBLISHING, INC.,

CINCINNATI, OHIO 800-890-5001 - 2p?

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the significant passage of time and

other evidence of changed circumstances, such

as employee turnover and a change in

workplace conditions, are sufficient grounds

for the National Labor Relations Board or a

court to decline the issuance of or deny the

enforcement of a Gissel bargaining order and

direct an election be held.

Whether evidence of the passage of time and

changed conditions should be presented after

the National Labor Relations Board's decision

or order and if not, when such evidence should

be presented for the National Labor Relations

Board or a court's review.

Whether the National Labor Relations Board

may issue a Gisse/ bargaining order in favor of

a new union, separate and distinct from the

union selected by company employees,

potentially defeating the contemporary

interests of affected employees.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner

1. The Petitioner in this case is U.S.A. Polymer

Corporation. Petitioner is net related to any other publicly

held or publicly-traded companies.

Respondent

y Respondent is the National Labor Relations Board.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ......... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............ il

- )) ) iil

oy Fhe Nip) 8 94). rere Vil

CE CEEDU, ..,ccrccctecssvescvsenes l

EI og 6 ape gh 666 0660 ec eae keeads l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........:-2.-: l

A. STATEMENT OF FACTS ......... 3

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW .......... 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......... 8

I. THE PASSAGE OF TIME AND CURRENT

CONDITIONS ARE FACTORS THAT

SHOULD BE CONSIDERED WHEN

DETERMINING WHETHER TO ISSUE A

GISSEL BARGAINING ORDER ___.......... . . . 10

A. Many Circuit Courts Consider the

Passage of Time Sufficient to Deny

Enforcement of a Gissel Bargaining

re ee re ee a 10

iil

B. The National Labor Relations Board

Occasionally Considers the Passage of Time

Sufficient to Deny the Issuance of a Gissel

ae ree ee eee 12

i. Other Circuit Courts Have Required

the Board to Consider the Effects of

the Passage of Time and Changed

Circumstances on the Appropriateness

of a Gissel Bargaining Order ........ 14

II. THERE IS NO CLEAR STANDARD .

REGARDING HOW EVIDENCE OF

PASSAGE OF TIME AND CURRENT

CONDITIONS SHOULD BE PRESENTED

TO THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

DE os wo wk aoe Wee aes eee 16

A. The Board and Fifth Circuit's

Interpretation of the National Labor

Relations Board's Rules’ and

Regulations Is Flawed ............. 16

= B. The National Labor Relations Board

and Circuit Courts' Treatment of

Motions to Reopen Is Inconsistent ..... 19

i The National Labor Relations Board's

Decision to Deny Polymer's Motion to

Reopen Was Erroneous ............ 21

Ill. A GISSEL BARGAINING ORDER SHOULD

NOT BE ENFORCED IN FAVOR OF A

NEW AND DIFFERENT UNION. ......... 24

1V

IV. THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE

IMSPORTANT 6. ccc cctesaesawtansanns 26

COA ic ke ee tan eens Sewanee 27

APPENDIX

Appendix A

Petition for Review of an Order of the

National Labor Relations Board, 1/8/2002 .... la

- Appendix B

Petition for Enforcement of the Order of the

National Labor Relations Board,

SSS =. 5 kha ee ee 3a

Appendix C

National Labor Relations Board Decision and

Order

ORITEIIOED wg ks cs 6h eee eee 17a

Appendix D

USA Polymer Corporation's Motion for

Reconsideration, for Reopening the Record

and for Rehearing,

WIUISF ei 6 Ree 159a

Appendix E

Fifth Circuit Docket

CIEE ok sk 5 ee ee eee 178a

Appendix F :

Letter from Richard D. Hardick to V. Scott

Kneese, W.M. Head, Liane Janovsky

SITES gn 6 6a eh eee ee ees 189a

Appendix G

Letter from V. Scott Kneese to Richard D.

Hardick

10/8/1999 192a

8 & 8. @:2 O66. 6 O.8 84 ee Se Se. |e

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Audubon Reg'l Med. Ctr.,

331 NLRB No. 42(2000) jw... ee ee eee 9, 12, 13

Avecor, Inc. v. NLRB,

931 F.2d 924 (D.C. Cir. 1991) .........5505-- 25

Camvac Int'l, Inc. v. NLRB,

877 F.2d 62 (6th Cir. 1989)............. 14, 19, 20

Charlotte Amphitheater Corp. v. NLRB,

82 F.3d 1074 (D.C. Cir. 1996) ............. 14, 19

Comcast Cablevision of Philadelphia, L.P.,

328 NLRB 487 (1999) .........---22eeeeee: 12, 13

Cooper Hand Tools, A Div. of Cooper Indus., Inc..,

328 NLRB No. 21 (1999) .........-.+5:: 9, 12, 13

Flamingo Hilton-Laughlin v. NLRB,

148 F.3d 1166 (D.C. Cir. 1998) ...........-. 10, 19

Impact Indus., Inc. v. NLRB,

847 F.2d 379 (7th Cir. 1988) .... 2... - 20 eee reese 15

International Longshoreman's Assoc. and Coastal Cargo

Co., Inc.,

323 NLRB 570 (1997) ........22 eee eee ences 23

J.L.M., Inc. v. NLRB,

31 F.3d 79 (2d Cir. 1994) .........22 cece eee: 14

Kessler Inst. for Rehab. v. NLRB,

er ae BGs WUD 6c ci cic ew ne ecasaws 22

Montgomery Ward & Co., Inc. v. NLRB,

904 F.2d 1156 (7th Cir. 1990) ......... 10, 19, 20, 25

NLRB v. American Cable,

roee fo Fu Le Oe | ar 9, 14

NLRB v. Cell Agric. Mfg. Co.,

be Ff le errr er ere ee 14, 15

NLRB v. Dadco Fashions, Inc..,

— € Ff, to A eer areen )

NLRB v. Gissel,

en, on a ahaa ew oo ee kw passim

NLRB v. Jamaica Towing Co.,

b&b fe le || re rr 11

NLRB v. Knogo Corp..,

vii & & Tr Lé& AB, |) re 10, 19, 20

NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile, Inc..,

739 F.2d 108 (2d Cir. 1984) ............... 19, 20

Overnite Transp. Co. v. NLRB,

2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 2214, No. 99-2494 and

No. 00-1065, (4th Cir. Feb. 11, 2002) ..... 14, 15, 26

Regal Recycling, Inc.,

SaD Wea WOO: SO CISSID ow cc eees 12, 13

Vill

SIA OMEN Con eat eh a SE ORI

Texas Petrochemicals Corp. v. NLRB,

923 F.2d 398 (Sth Cir. 1991) ........ 9, 10, 11, 20, 23

Wallace Int'l de Puerto Rico, Inc.,

28 NLRB No. 3 (1999) ........-- eee eens 12, 13

STATUTES

, Tie Vo G+. |) ere ee ea 1

, 2k Tae 2” rarer eee eee l

eek S&S errr were rrr ee ee aa

\ , et oe Serer 6, 17, 20, 21, 22

29 C.F.R. § 102.48(d)(1) 2. ee eee 17, 18

POC.PR. 6 IGRI) 2c ce wnes 17, 18

, toe @ 2 Sh). rrr ere er ee 22

MISCELLANEOUS

General Counsel Guideline Memorandum 99-8

(November 10, 1999) ........-. 0s eee ee eee: 20

1X

Defendant-Appellant U.S.A. Polymer Corp.

("Polymer") respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit in this case.

DECISIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 272

F.3d 289 (Sth Cir. 2001), and is reproduced in Appendix B.

The decision and order of the National Labor Relations Board

(the "Board") is reported at 328 NLRB 1242 (1999), and 1S

reproduced in Appendix C. The Court of Appeals’ order

denying the petition for panel rehearing is unreported and is

reproduced in Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit was invoked under 29 U.S.C. § 160(e)

and the judgment was entered on November 6, 2001. The

Court of Appeals denied Petitioner’s timely petition for panel

rehearing on January 8, 2002. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Board's issuance and the Fifth Circuit's

enforcement of a Gissel bargaining order in this case is wholly

inappropriate.’ A Gissel bargaining order is an extreme

remedy that should only be used when traditional remedies,

such as an election, are insufficient. The propriety of issuing

| The Polymer decision issued a Gissel bargaining order,

as described in NLRB v. Gissel, 395 U.S. 575 (1969).

l

a Gissel bargaining order must be evaluated by the Board in

light of the circumstances that exist at the time the bargaining

order is issued. In the present case, the Board improperly

issued a Gissel bargaining order based on a stale set of facts

that reflected Polymer's workplace in 1995, more than four

years prior to the Board's entry of a bargaining order.

Subsequent to the Board's entry of the Gissel bargaining

order, Polymer filed a Motion for Reconsideration and to

Reopen the Record or for Rehearing with the Board (the

"Motion to Reopen"). App. at 161a-177a.” Polymer filed the

Motion in order to demonstrate that because of the significant

time that passed while the case was before the Board, and the

change in conditions that took place during that time, any

remaining affects of the alleged unfair labor practices had

dissipated, and a fair election could be held. The Board

refused to consider this evidence, and denied the Motion to

Reopen as untimely. App. at 6a. Upon the Board's

application for enforcement of the bargaining order, Polymer

submitted the evidence of passage of time and changed

circumstances to the Fifth Circuit. However, the Fifth Circuit

also refused to consider such evidence, and enforced the

bargaining order against Polymer. The Fifth Circuit also

declined to accept Polymer's argument that the bargaining

order should not be enforced on behalf of a new and different

union, distinct from the union selected by Polymer's

employees.’ App. at 3a-17a.

> Appendix citations appear in the form "App. at X" with

"X" referring to the page number of the Appendix.

> ~ After the Polymer employees signed the authorization

cards, International Ladies' Garment Workers Union ("ILGWU")

began the process of merging with the Amalgamated Clothing and

Textile Workers ("ACTWU") to form the Union of Needle Trades,

Industrial and Textile Employees ("UNITE"). UNITE was created

2

A. Statement of Facts

Polymer began operation in November 1992, as a

small, one-facility recycling business in Houston, Texas.

App. at 4a, 41a. The Company engaged in the business of

recycling used plastic containers into plastic pellets that could,

in turn, be used to produce new consumer products. App. at

4a. At its inception, Polymer employed 64 people, reaching

a peak workforce of 92 in February 1994. App. at 4a-Sa,

41a. When the union filed unfair labor practice charges in

1995, the Company employed approximately 68 non-

supervisory employees. App. at 5a.

Since opening its doors Polymer has been unprofitable.

App. at 44a. From January 1994 through June 1995, Polymer

lost $646, 677. App. at 82a. Numerous problems in the

marketplace plagued Polymer's efforts, as well as those of its

competitors, in the post-consumer recycling industry. App. at

89a-92a. Changes in the regulations governing the post-

consumer recycling industry resulted in increased prices and

a shortage of raw materials needed to produce the recycled

product. App. at 90a-9 1a.

By mid-January 1995, the continued high price and

limited availability of raw materials prevented Polymer from

operating profitably. App. at 83a-88a. Because of these

economic pressures, Polymer carried out a reduction in force.

on July 1, 1995. In the initial action, Case No. 16-CA-17189,

ILGWU was the Charging Party. On August 28, 1995, the

Regional Director issued a second complaint, Case No. 16-CA-

17455, which listed UNITE as the Charging Party. The Board

consolidated the two cases on September 15, 1995. App. at 4a,

40a.

Id. In the initial reduction in force, 29 employees were

released. App. at 5a, 44a. In July 1995, Polymer's

mounting losses required that an additional 10 employees be

released. App. at 5a, 125a. In response to the layoffs in

January 1995, the ILGWU brought charges against Polymer

with the Board, a complaint was issued, and the current

dispute ensued. App. at 5a, 45a. Although the

Administrative Law Judge found that Polymer's reduction in

force in January 1995 was unlawful as motivated by union

animus, the Administrative Law Judge held that the July 1995

layoff was driven by legitimate business needs and not by

union animus. App. at 108a, 131a.

During the more than four and one-half year delay

between the actions leading to the unfair labor practices

allegations in 1995 and the August 24, 1999 bargaining order,

the actors and the workplace at Polymer dramatically

changed. App. at 163a-65a, 172a, 175a-76a. For example,

Polymer increased the level of automation in its production

process, which caused a reduction of its workforce by 30

people. App. at 175a. Positions such as "material handlers"

were no longer necessary because the new automated systems

transferred materials between the grinding and washing phases

of production on its own. App. at 175a-76a. In addition,

Polymer decided to largely discontinue its unprofitable plastic

recycling business, and began manufacturing an entirely new

and distinct product, plastic slip sheets. App. at 176a.

Polymer also experienced a change in ownership and a

corporate reorganization and experienced more than 650%

employee turnover since the organizing campaign of late 1994

and early 1995. App. at 172a, 175a-76a.

Despite the many changes at Polymer and the

extensive passage of time during the case's pendency before

the Board, the Board issued the Gisse/ bargaining order. The

4

Board's decision forces the current Polymer employees to be

represented by a union not in existence at the time the former

Polymer employees signed their authorization cards, a union

that likely does not reflect the desires of Polymer's present

workforce. Indeed, even if the passage of time and changed

circumstances evidence had been properly considered by the

Board, the Board's 1999 bargaining order remains improper

because the union listed on the authorization cards signed by

the employees in 1999 (the ILGWU) no longer exists. The

Board issued the Gissel bargaining order despite the almost

uniform holdings of the Circuit courts (including an earlier

Fifth Circuit decision), which state that the passage of time

and changed circumstances are directly relevant when

determining whether a bargaining order is the appropriate

remedy.

B. Proceedings Below

The Board's General Counsel, acting on charges filed

by the Texas-Oklahoma-Arkansas District Counsel of the

ILGWU, issued a complaint against Polymer on March 21,

1995. App. at 5a. Administrative Law Judge Wallace Nations

in Houston, Texas heard the complaint from June 5, 1995

through June 21, 1995. Id. A second hearing was held

October 17 through October 18, 1995. Jd.

On March 25, 1996, Administrative Law Judge

Nations issued a decision finding that Polymer had violated

Sections 8(a)(1), (3) and (4) of the National Labor Relations

Act ("NLRA"). App. at 5a, 18a. Polymer timely filed

exceptions to that decision on May 10, 1996. App. at Sa. On

August 24, 1999, more than four years after the initial hearing

in this case, and three years after the Administrative Law

Judge's decision, the Board issued a Decision and Order. Id.

Among the holdings of the Board, Polymer was ordered to

5

bargain with UNITE as the duly designated representative of

the employees pursuant to NLRB v. Gissel, 395 U.S. 575

(1969).* App. at 6a.

Following the Board order, on September 24, 1999,

Polymer filed its Motion to Reopen. App. at 161la.° In that

motion, Polymer provided the Board with new evidence of

events occurring during the four years this case languished at

the Board. App. at 161la-77a. Such evidence establishes that

a bargaining order is an improper remedy.

On October 5, 1999, Polymer received a letter from

Richard D. Hardick, Associate Executive Secretary to the

Board, informing Polymer that the Motion to Reopen was

being considered untimely and would not be "forwarded to the

Board for consideration."° App. at 190a-9la. On October 8,

1999, Polymer sent a letter to Associate Secretary Hardick

and simultaneously filed a Supplemental Motion to Reopen,

contesting the validity of Associate Secretary Hardick's

decision not to forward the original Motion to Reopen to the

* In Gissel, the Supreme Court recognized that an

employer may, under limited circumstances, be ordered to bargain

with a union if unfair labor practices preclude the holding of a fair

election, where the union has shown convincing support by

possession of cards signed by a majority of the employees

authorizing the union to represent them. See Gissel, 395 U.S. at

597.

. In accordance with the language of 29 C.F.R.

§ 102.48 (2000), Polymer moved to reopen the record “after the

Board decision or order."

° As discussed below, Polymer contends that the Motion

to Reopen was properly before the Board.

6

Board for proper consideration. App. at 192a-98a. On

November 23, 1999, after both parties submitted their

arguments in support of their positions, a divided Board, with

Member (now Chairman) Hurtgen dissenting, ordered that

Polymer's Motion to Reopen would not be considered. App.

at 6a.

On March 6, 2000, the Board filed an application for

enforcement with the Fifth Circuit seeking enforcement of its

August 24, 1999 Order. App. at 6a-17a. In the opinion

issued on November 6, 2001, the Fifth Circuit granted the

Board's application for enforcement. App. at 3a-17a. On

December 20, 2001, Polymer filed its Petition for Panel

Rehearing. App. at 186a. Polymer urged the following

arguments: (1) the Fifth Circuit failed to adequately consider

the long and unjustified delay of the Polymer case before the

Board; (2) a bargaining order should not be enforced on

behalf of a separate and distinct union; and (3) there is no

clear standard regarding how evidence of passage of time and

changed circumstances should be presented to the Board. On

January 8, 2002, the Fifth Circuit denied Polymer's Petition

for Panel Rehearing, and issued its mandate on January 16,

2002. App. at 186a-87a. On February 14, 2002, Polymer

filed a Motion for Partial Recall and Stay of Mandate. App.

at 187a. Polymer seeks review from this Court on the

appropriateness of the issuance of the Gissel bargaining order.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As the Fifth Circuit acknowledged in its Polymer

decision, "[t]he Federal Circuit courts are almost unanimous

in holding that the Board must take current conditions into

account when it determines whether to issue a bargaining

order under NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co. 395 U.S. 575

(1969)." App. at 7a. The Fifth Circuit went on to note that

all Circuits except the Ninth take current conditions into

account when deciding whether to enforce Gissel bargaining

orders. App. at 7a. Before the Polymer decision, there was

a split between the Ninth Circuit and all other Circuit courts

that have addressed the issue regarding whether current

conditions should be considered. The District of Columbia,

Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh and Eighth Circuits

have all held that the passage of time and changed

circumstances are directly relevant when determining whether

to issue a bargaining order. By refusing to consider the effect

of the passage of time and changed circumstances in this case,

the Fifth Circuit appeared to now align itself with the Ninth

Circuit. At the very least, the Fifth Circuit refused to

consider the fact that the significant passage of time may

defeat all contemporary interests. Moreover, the passage of

time is a fact that the Board or the Court may take notice -of

on their own--the party arguing for denial of a bargaining

order need not argue it because the fact that a significant

amount of time has passed speaks for itself.

In issuing its enforcement of the Gissel bargaining

order, the Fifth Circuit also acknowledged that "despite the

weight of the law in other Circuits, the law on this point in

the Fifth Circuit is somewhat confused." App. at 9a. Over

the past few decades, the Fifth Circuit has been inconsistent

in its treatment of bargaining orders issued after a significant

passage of time and changed circumstances. In 1970, the

8

Fifth Circuit held that the Board must consider current

circumstances when determining whether to issue a bargaining

order. See NLRB v. American Cable, 427 F.2d 446 (Sth Cir.

1970). In 1980, the Fifth Circuit stated that the Court should

evaluate the appropriateness of a bargaining order as of the

date of the unfair labor practice proceedings. See NLRB v.

Dadco Fashions, Inc., 632 F.2d 493, 497 n.7 (Sth Cir. 1980).

In 1991, the Fifth Circuit reversed direction and remanded a

case to the Board where it failed to consider the passage of

time. See Texas Petrochemicals Corp. v. NLRB, 923 F.2d

398, 401 (Sth Cir. 1991). With Polymer, the Fifth Circuit

reversed itself again by declining to consider the effects of the

passage of time. App. at 3a-17a.

In recent years, the Board has also repeatedly issued

conflicting decisions. In some cases, the Board has declined

to issue bargaining orders after a significant passage of time.

See, e.g., Audubon Reg'l Med. Ctr., 331 NLRB No. 42

(2000); Cooper Hand Tools, A Div. of Cooper Indus., Inc.,

328 NLRB No. 21 (1999). However, in Polymer, the Board

issued a bargaining order, despite the four years that passed

while the case was before the Board. App. at 18a-19a.

Because of the uncertainty regarding these issues at the Board

and Circuit court level and the split among the Circuits, the

need for guidance from the Court is crucial. This case is a

rare and timely opportunity to provide this guidance, or the

Board and Circuit courts will continue to confuse an already

complicated issue. Moreover, the Court's opinion is needed

to explain when companies should present evidence of the

passage of time and changed conditions to the Board. In

addition, the Court should grant this Petition because clarity

is needed as to whether the Board may issue a bargaining

order on behalf of a new union, a union different from the one

selected by employees.

I. The Passage of Time and Current

Conditions are Factors that Should be

Considered when Determining Whether to

Issue a Gissel Bargaining Order

A. Many Circuit Courts Consider the

Passage of Time Sufficient to Deny

Enforcement of a Gissel Bargaining

Order

During the course of the Polymer proceedings, the

Board and the Fifth Circuit failed to give adequate

consideration to the significant amount of time that passed

between the allegations of unfair labor practices against

Polymer in 1995 and the Board's decision in 1999. There

have been a number of recent cases before the Board and

Circuit courts where bargaining orders were either not issued

or not enforced because of the passage of a significant amount

of time between the unfair labor practices and the issuance of

a bargaining order.

A number of Circuit courts have held that the Board

must consider the effects of the passage of time when deciding

whether to issue a bargaining order. The Second, Fifth,

Seventh, and District of Columbia Circuit courts have all

denied enforcement of bargaining orders and remanded cases

to the Board so that the effects of the passage of time could be

considered. See Flamingo Hilton-Laughlin v. NLRB, 148 F.3d

1166(D.C. Cir. 1998); Texas Petrochemicals Corp. v. NLRB,

923 F.2d 398 (Sth Cir. 1991); Montgomery Ward & Co., Inc.

v. NLRB, 904 F.2d 1156 (7th Cir. 1990); NLRB v. Knogo

Corp., 127 F.2d 55 (2d Cir. 1984). These courts hold that

the passage of time is directly relevant to the adequacy of

traditional remedies, such as an election, and therefore should

be considered when determining the appropriate remedy for

10

—————o-—-—-—--—=237272373:~]C]})si<iSe

allegations of unfair labor practices. See id. Passage of time

is relevant because the negative effect of unfair labor practices

may have dissipated during the considerable lapse of time

between the occurrence of alleged unfair labor practices and

the issuance of a bargaining order. NLRB v. Jamaica Towing

Co., 632 F.2d 208 (2d Cir. 1980). Moreover, a union may

no longer retain majority status if a significant amount of time

has passed. See id. The Fifth Circuit also remanded a case

where the Board refused to ascertain the employees’ current

desires after fours years passed between the Administrative

Law Judge's decision and the Board's decision. Texas

Petrochemicals Corp., 923 F.2d at 401. In Texas

Petrochemicals Corp., the Court remanded the case to the

Board because of the Board's “unprovoked and inordinate

delay in deciding the case..." Id.

More than four and a half years passed between the

time the unfair labor practices allegations were brought

against Polymer and the time of the Board's decision. This

unexplained delay was not due to any delay on Polymer's

part; the Board was entirely responsible for the lapse of time.

Any remaining effects of the alleged unfair labor practices

dissipated in the period of time that the decision languished

before the Board. The Fifth Circuit ignored the delay in the

Polymer decision, the different climate presently at Polymer

compared with the climate in 1995, and the weight of other

Circuit courts, (including its own precedent) by enforcing the

Gissel bargaining order against Polymer. The Fifth Circuit's

inconsistent opinions, coupled with the decisions of other

Circuits, make this issue ripe for consideration by this Court.

11

B. The National Labor Relations Board

Occasionally Considers the Passage of

Time Sufficient to Deny the Issuance

of a Gissel Bargaining Order

Some recent Board decisions have also held that the

passage of time is sufficient to deny a Gissel bargaining order.

Five Board decisions were issued in 1999 and 2000, all of

which addressed allegations of unfair labor practices similar

to those at Polymer. The Board issued all five of these

decisions shortly before or shortly after its decision in

Polymer. In all five cases, the Board declined to issue a

bargaining order, stating that it was unlikely a court would

enforce the orders because of the long delay at the Board. In

Audubon Reg'l Med. Ctr., 331 NLRB No. 42 (2000), more

than four years had passed since the union initially petitioned

the company for recognition. The Board declined to issue a

bargaining order because such an order would likely be

unenforceable in the courts due to the long delay at the Board.

In Cooper Hand Tools, A Div. of Cooper Indus., Inc., 328

NLRB No. 2! (1999), the Board again declined to issue a

bargaining order, holding that such an order would likely be

unenforceable because of the more than three year delay at the

Board. In Comcast Cablevision of Philadelphia, L.P., 328

NLRB 487 (1999), the Board held that the bargaining order

was unenforceable because of a three and a half year Board

delay. In Regal Recycling, Inc., 329 NLRB No. 38 (1999),

the Board again recognized that courts will not enforce a

bargaining order where there has been a significant passage of

time (four and one half years) between the alleged unfair labor

practices and the issuance of the bargaining order. The Board

found that the employees’ interests were best served by an

election. In Wallace Int'l de Puerto Rico, Inc., 328 NLRB

No. 3 (1999), the Board again declined to issue a bargaining

12

order because of the long and unjustified delay before the

Board.’

The Board decisions in Comcast, Cooper Hand Tools,

and Wallace International were issued in 1999, shortly before

the Board's decision in Polymer. Like the Polymer decision,

these decisions all involved three to four year delays at the

Board. In all three decisions, the Board declined to issue a

bargaining order because of the Board's "long and unjustified

delay in processing the case," which would likely render a

bargaining order unenforceable. See id. The Board stated

that "rather than engender further litigation and delay over the

propriety of a bargaining order, we believe that employee

rights would be better served by proceeding directly to a

second election." See id.

In September 1999, the Board issued its decision in

Regal Recycling, approximately five years after the

Administrative Law Judge's decision. In 2000, the Board

issued its Audubon Reg'l Med. Ctr. decision, approximately

three years after the Administrative Law Judge's decision.

Both of these decisions, issued shortly after the Polymer

decision, involved allegations of unfair labor practices similar

to Polymer. However, despite the finding of hallmark unfair

labor practices, the Board declined to issue a bargaining order

because of the lengthy and unexplained delay at the Board,

and stated that an election would better serve the employees.

7 Perhaps most importantly, there is no mention of a

Motion to Reopen in the Regal Recycling and Wallace International

decisions. At least on occasion, the Board in recent years has

considered the passage of time on its own, without the company

filing a Motion to Reopen.

13

Despite the temporal proximity of these Board

decisions, the Board has never explained why it reached a

different result in Polymer. Nor did the Fifth Circuit seek an

explanation as to why similar facts produced schizophrenic

outcomes. The Fifth Circuit also ignored other Circuits, that

have held that the passage of time must be considered when

deciding whether to enforce a bargaining order, to ensure that

employees’ contemporary interests are protected. This Court

should grant Polymer's petition to resolve these conflicts at

the Board and Circuit court levels, and correct the Fifth

Circuit's error.

c. Other Circuit Courts Have Required

the Board to Consider the Effects of

the Passage of Time and Changed

Circumstances on the Appropriateness

of a Gissel Bargaining Order

When a significant passage of time between the unfair

labor practices and the Board's issuance of a Gisse/ bargaining

order is coupled with a change in circumstances at the

workplace, there is significant case law in favor of elections

instead of a Gissel bargaining order. Many Circuit courts

have refused to enforce Gissel bargaining orders where

extensive changes have taken place at the workplace while the

cases were stalled at the Board. See Overnite Transp. Co. v.

NLRB, No. 99-2494 and No. 00-1065, 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS

2214 (4th Cir. Feb. 11, 2002); Charlotte Amphitheater Corp.

v. NLRB, 82 F.3d 1074, 1078 (D.C. Cir. 1996); J.L.M., Inc.

v. NLRB, 31 F.3d 79 (2d Cir. 1994); NLRB v. Cell Agric.

Mfg. Co., 41 F.3d 389 (8th Cir. 1994); Camvac Int’l, Inc. v.

NLRB, 877 F.2d 62 (6th Cir. 1989). As stated earlier, the

Board is to determine the appropriateness of a Gissel

bargaining order in light of circumstances at the workplace at

the time the bargaining order is issued. See American Cable

14

Sys., 427 F.2d at 448-49 (holding that "no bargaining order

should be issued unless at the time the Board issues such

- order it finds the electoral atmosphere unlikely to produce a

fair election"). In deciding whether to issue a Gissel

bargaining order, the Board therefore must consider

circumstances that may have changed during the pendency of

the matter before the Board. See Cell Agric. Mfg. Co., 41

F.3d at 398. The Board should consider such critical factors

as turnover in the workforce and change if management, as

well as the passage of time. See Impact Indus., Inc. v. NLRB,

847 F.2d 379 (7th Cir. 1988) (enforcement denied after more

than seven year delay and 87 percent workforce turnover and

change in management).

Recently, in Overnite Transportation Co., the Fourth

Circuit overturned the Board's issuance of a Gissel bargaining

order, and ordered new elections at four Overnite service

centers. See Overnite Transp. Co., 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS

2214. Although the Court agreed with the Board that there

were numerous unfair labor practices, the Court held that the

requirements for a Gissel bargaining order were not met

because the passage of time (and employee turnover) were

"improperly ignored by the Board as irrelevant." See id. at

*51. The majority further stated:

by so limiting its consideration of the events

following the unfair labor practices, the Board

cannot make the necessary and detailed

findings about the possibility of conducting a

fair election years after the unfair labor

practices occurred...Moreover, and perhaps

more importantly, in taking this position, the

Board refuses to follow the clear and

established precedent of this Circuit that both

the passage of time and employee turnover are

15

highly relevant matters to be considered.

See id. at *51-52.

During the four years the Board delayed in issuing its

case in Polymer, Polymer experienced a tremendous amount

of employee turnover, a complete change in management, and

also introduced a new product which utilized different

machinery and processes altogether. The current conditions

at Polymer are drastically different now than they were seven

years ago at the time of the unfair labor charges. However,

the Fifth Circuit failed to consider these changed current

circumstances. Thus, this Court should grant Polymer's

petition to resolve the split in the Circuits and to emphasizé

the importance of considering a change in workplace

conditions over the passage of time to ensure that the

extraordinary remedy of a Gissel bargaining order is issued

only in those circumstances where a fair election remains

impossible.

II. There is No Clear Standard Regarding How

Evidence of Passage of Time and Current

Conditions should be Presented to the |

National Labor Relations Board

A. The Board and Fifth Circuit's

Interpretation of the National Labor

Relations Board's Rules and

Regulations is Flawed

In its opinion, the Fifth Circuit upheld the Board's

decision to deny Polymer's Motion to Reopen as untimely.

The Fifth Circuit further stated that it was “not the Board's

responsibility to continually update the factual picture that the

parties have provided," and that "the party that seeks to

16

benefit from demonstrating a change of circumstances bears

the burden of timely providing the Board with evidence of

those changes." App. at 14a. The Fifth Circuit went on to

assert that "the Board is entitled to assume, in the face of the

parties’ silence, that the facts as initially presented continue to

adequately describe the employer's workforce." See id.

These statements by the Fifth Circuit, as well as the Board's

actions, suggest that an employer is under a continuous

obligation to supplement the factual record while a case is

pending before the Board. This suggestion is unsupported by

authority and directly contradicts the plain language of

Section 102.48(d)(1)-(2) of the Board's Rules and

Regulations. 29 C.F.R. § 102.48 (2000).

Section 102.48(d)(1) states that "[a] party to a

proceeding before the Board may, because of extraordinary

circumstances, move for reconsideration, rehearing, or

reopening of the record after the Board decision or order."

Section 102.48(d)(1) also requires that "[a] motion to reopen

the record shall state...why [the evidence sought to be

introduced] would require a different result." The Board

asserted that Polymer should have filed its Motion to Reopen

sometime between the time the charge was brought in 1995

and the time the Board issued its decision in August 1999.

App. at 14a-15a. In its opinion, the Fifth Circuit affirmed

this assertion. Jd. However, the Board's assertion and the

Fifth Circuit's affirmation contradict what the Board's own

Rules and Regulations require.

iii Ai ili tian i etic A AMIGA PG anh nt 0 “

In upholding the Board's refusal to reopen the record,

the Fifth Circuit stated that Section 102.48(d)(2) obligated

Polymer to continually update the factual record during the

pendency of the case before the Board. App. at 14a. In

relevant part, the regulation states that "[a]ny motion pursuant

to [Section 102.48] shall be filed within 28 days, or such

17

further period as the Board may allow, after the service of the

Board's decision or order, except that a motion for leave to

adduce additional evidence shall be filed promptly on

discovery of such evidence." However, the Board's

interpretation of Section 102.48(d)(2) is flawed. Namely, the

Board's reading completely eviscerates the language of

Section 102.48(d)(1) which states that a motion to reopen the

record should not be filed until "after the Board decision or —

order." 29C.F.R. § 102.48(d)(1). The Board's interpretation

of Section 102.48(d)(2), which the Fifth Circuit upheld,

would only serve to encourage delay, because each party

would be forced to continually update the factual record

during the long years the case was before the Board. In

addition, although the Fifth Circuit stated that the Board

should take "current" conditions into account when

determining whether to issue a bargaining order, the Fifth

Circuit does not explain the term "current." App. at 16a.

The Fifth Circuit does not connect "current" to any particular

point in time--does "current" refer to conditions after the

Administrative Law Judge's decision, sometime during the

Board's proceedings, or the present? Logically, it seems that

"current" would mean the "present." Indeed, under the

Board's reading of Section 102.48, an employer will always

be unsuccessful in its attempt to introduce new evidence to the

Board: if the employer abides by Section 102.48(d)(1), and

waits until after the Board's decision or order to file its

motion to reopen, the evidence contained in the motion would

likely be precluded by the Board's interpretation of Section

102.48(d)(2), which is that the motion should have been filed

at some earlier time. At the very least, the Board and Fifth

Circuit's reasons for refusing to consider the evidence in

Polymer's Motion to Reopen ignore the passage of time, a

fact that stands on its own and need not be asserted in a

Motion to Reopen. Moreover, the reasoning overlooks the

injustice that could result by enforcing a bargaining order

18

Panes. cliyy

where an election would produce a fair result and would

provide greater protection to contemporary interests.

B. The National Labor Relations Board

and Circuit Courts' Treatment of

Motions to Reopen is Inconsistent

In addition to the confusion resulting from the Board's

interpretation of its own Rules and Regulations in the Polymer

case, additional Board and other Circuit court decisions only

further cloud the issue. A review of other Board and Circuit

court decisions indicates that there is no clear identifiable time

when evidence of the passage of time and changed

circumstances should be presented to the Board. In some

situations, evidence was presented before the Board issued its

decision. See Flamingo Hilton-Laughlin, 148 F.3d 1166;

Charlotte Amphitheater Corp., 82 F.3d 1074. However, even

where the company presented evidence of passage of time and

changed circumstances during the Board proceedings, this

evidence was disregarded by the Board. In the two cases

above, the D.C. Circuit remanded to the Board so that the

passage of time and evidence of changed circumstances could

be more thoroughly evaluated. See id. Upon remand, the

Board withdrew the bargaining orders, holding that because

of the passage of time and changed circumstances, a

bargaining order would likely be unenforceable.

In other similar Board proceedings, companies

requested a motion to reopen the record after the Board issued

its decision (in accordance with the Board's Rules and

Regulations), in order to introduce evidence of the passage of

time and changed circumstances. As in Polymer, the Board

denied all these motions and ignored the relevant evidence.

See Montgomery Ward & Co., 904 F.2d 1156; Camvac Int'l,

Inc., 877 F.2d 62; Knogo Corp., 127 F.2d 55; NLRB v. Pace

19

Oldsmobile, Inc., 739 F.2d 108 (2d Cir. 1984). The Courts

in Montgomery Ward, Camvac, Knogo and Pace Oldsmobile

all remanded the cases to the Board, stating that evidence of

passage of time and changed circumstances should have been

considered. These cases were remanded even where the

motions to reopen were filed beyond the 28 days provided in

29 C.F.R. 102.48. In Knogo, the Board issued the bargaining

order on July 27, 1982 and Knogo did not file its Motion to

Reopen until November 10, 1982 (three and a half months

later). Although the Board denied the Motion, the Court

ultimately remanded to the Board so that evidence regarding

the passage of time and changed circumstances could be

considered. See Knogo Corp., 127 F.2d 55. In Pace

Oldsmobile, the Board issued its decision on December 16,

1982. Pace Oldsmobile filed a Motion to Reopen nine months

later, on August 18, 1983, which was denied. Upon the

Board's application for enforcement, however, the Court

declined to enforce the bargaining order because the Board

failed to consider evidence of changed circumstances and

passage of time. See Pace Oldsmobile, Inc., 739 F.2d 108.

Most importantly, in the Texas Petrochemicals decision, the

Fifth Circuit, despite the untimeliness of the Motion to

Reopen, remanded to the Board with instructions to consider

the current conditions at the company in order to determine if

a bargaining order was appropriate. See Texas Petrochemicals

Corp., 923 F.2d 398.

In addition, the General Counsel of the Board outlined

criteria in a recent Memorandum that the Board considers

relevant when "determining whether to impose a Gissel

bargaining order remedy." General Couns. Mem. 99-8, at 2

(November 10, 1999). The General Counsel listed the

"change in circumstances after the violations" as a relevant

factor. See id. The General Counsel conceded that "the

courts are almost unanimous in requiring that the Board

~

20

consider the relevance of changed circumstances. The Ninth

Circuit is the only circuit which does not require the Board to

consider post-hearing changed circumstances." See id. at

n.48. However, the General Counsel also acknowledged that

"the Board generally denies respondent's motions to reopen

the record to consider such evidence." See id.

By refusing to consider the evidence of the passage of

time and changed circumstances at the Polymer facility, the

Board disregarded its own precedent, as well as its General

Counsel's guidelines. Recently, the Board has recognized (in

decisions issued around the same time as Polymer) _ that

bargaining orders issued after a long delay at the Board level

will not be enforced by a reviewing court, especially in cases

where the passage of time is coupled with a change in current

conditions. The same reasoning should apply here. A fair

election is now possible at Polymer because any negative

effects of the alleged unfair labor practices have long since

dissipated. Therefore, the Court should grant certiorari to

provide guidance to the Board and Courts on motions to

reopen, and to determine the appropriate situations for courts

to remand cases to the Board so that evidence of passage of

time and changed circumstances may be considered.

c. The National Labor Relations Board's

Decision to Deny Polymer's Motion to

Reopen was Erroneous

The Board denied Polymer's Motion to Reopen as

untimely. Polymer filed its Motion to Reopen a month after

the Board issued its decision, three days beyond the 28 day

guideline specified in 29 C.F.R. § 102.48 (2000). Polymer's

delay in filing the Motion to Reopen was partially caused by

the fact that Polymer did not receive a copy of the Board's

decision and order until August 30, 1999, although the Board

21

rendered its decision and order on August 24, 1999. App. at

193a. Although the Motion to Reopen was timely filed

according to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (as well at

the Board's former rules), the Board's current rules calculate

the 28 day guideline from the date the Board issues its

decision.* See FED. R. Civ. P. 6(e); Kessler Inst. for Rehab.

v. NLRB, 669 F.2d 138, 139-40 (3d Cir. 1982) (illustrating

the Board's earlier adherence to the "three day" rule, which

adds three days to a filing period when items are served by

mail).

In addition, according to the language clearly stated in

Section 102.48, the Board has the discretion to consider

motions filed beyond the 28 days. Specifically, Section

102.48 states that the motion to reopen should be filed within

28 days, "or such further period as the Board may allow." 29

C.F.R. § 102.48. Despite this discretionary language, and

the Board's own delays in issuing the decision in this case, the

Board strictly enforced Section 102.48 against Polymer, and

declined to grant the Motion. The Board denied the Motion

as untimely, despite the fact that the Board deliberated for

four years. In addition, Section 102.111(c) of the Board's

Rules and Regulations permits late-filed documents in unfair

labor practices cases. 29 C.F.R. § 102.111(c) (2000). The

8 Specifically, Rule 6(e) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure explicitly requires that an additional three days be added

to a filing period when items are served on a party by mail. The

wisdom and equity of this "three day" rule is clearly exhibited by

the facts of this case. Even as calculated from the date of the

Board's decision, rather than the date Polymer received notice of

that decision, the "three day" rule would establish that the Motion

to Reopen was timely filed within the 28-day period. The “three

day" rule prevents precisely this kind of unfair prejudice from

occurring.

22

Board decides whether to accept cases under this section by

determining whether any prejudice would result and whether

the neglectful conduct was excusable. See, e.g., International

Longshoreman's Assoc. and Coastal Cargo Co., Inc., 323

NLRB 570, 573 n.1 (1997) (granting motion under

Section 102.111(c) based on employer's showing "that its

noncompliance was inadvertent" and no prejudice would

result from one day delay in filing). The Board's denial

seems especially harsh considering the Board was aware, as

Member (now Chairman) Hurtgen observed, that Polymer

was in the process of transferring the case from the retiring

attorney who previously handled the matter to Polymer's

present attorney. App. at 14a-15a. For a new attorney to

become acquainted with the facts of the case in the middle of

a proceeding is challenging, and the Board's refusal to

consider the Motion because of a three day delay is

particularly unfair. However, even after denying the Motion

because it was three days late, the Board waited five months

before applying to the Fifth Circuit for enforcement of the

bargaining order. In light of the Board's delay, it is unseemly

for the Board to have denied Polymer's Motion to Reopen

because of the Board's interpretation of barely missed time

limits. It was within the Board's discretion to consider the

new evidence to ensure that it provided Polymer employees

with the appropriate remedy. The Fifth Circuit also had the

authority to remand the case to the Board for consideration of

new evidence, as it has in the past. Texas Petrochemicals

Corp., 923 F.2d at 401. Therefore, this Court should grant

certiorari to provide guidance regarding when the Board

‘should grant Motions to Reopen, even when those motions are

untimely, so that the evidence and effects of the passage of

time may be considered.

23

Ill. A Gissel Bargaining Order Should Not be

Enforced in Favor of a New and Different

Union

A Gissel bargaining order should not be issued for a

union that is separate and distinct from the union selected by

the employees; a point not adequately considered by the Board

and totally ignored by the Fifth Circuit. In Gissel, the

Supreme Court recognized that an employer may, under

limited circumstances, be ordered to bargain with a union

where the union proves majority status through possession of

cards signed by a majority of the employees, authorizing the

union to represent them. See Gissel, 395 U.S. at 597.

However, the Polymer employees did not sign cards

authorizing UNITE to bargain on their behalf. The Polymer

employees signed cards indicating they wished the ILGWU to

be their bargaining representative. Some six months after the

Polymer employees signed the ILGWU authorization cards,

the ILGWU ceased to exist because it was replaced by

UNITE. The Polymer employees only knew about the

ILGWU, and it was the only union listed on the Polymer

employees’ authorization cards. Once the ILGWU

disappeared, the Polymer employees that were ILGWU

Signatories were to be moved to the newly formed UNITE,

without being provided any notice or having the opportunity

to vote. In fact, there is no evidence or findings to indicate

that the Polymer employees were even aware that they were

being moved to UNITE. Moreover, there is no evidence to

support any assertion that the Polymer employees would want

to be part of UNITE. Research has not revealed any case

where a Gissel bargaining order was granted on behalf of a

totally different union from the one named on the

authorization cards bearing the employee signatures. By

enforcing a bargaining order on behalf of a new and different

24

—

union, the Fifth Circuit has exceeded the scope of the Gissel

decision.

Moreover, enforcing a bargaining order on behalf of

a union that was not selected by the employees risks thwarting

the preferences of current Polymer employees. See

Montgomery Ward & Co., 904 F.2d at 1161. This risk is

increased by the fact that approximately seven years have

passed since the Polymer employees first signed the ILGWU

authorization cards. The Montgomery Ward decision stated:

the people who work at the Pharr store in 1990

might want Local 455 of the Food Workers

Union to represent them, we don’t know this.

They might want some other union, or no

union. Local 455 might not want them (a

possibility suggested by its failure to intervene

in support of the Board's order or file an

amicus brief). A bargaining order today based

on events a decade ago may defeat all

contemporary interests.

See id.’ To protect these contemporary interests, the Board

should issue bargaining orders only in extraordinary

circumstances: "a bargaining order is not a snake-oil cure for

whatever ails the workplace; it is an ‘extreme remedy,’ that

must be applied with commensurate care." Avecor, Inc. Vv.

NLRB, 931 F.2d 924, 938-39 (D.C. Cir. 1991). Therefore,

the Fifth Circuit erred in enforcing the bargaining order in

* During the course of the Polymer proceedings, UNITE

has not intervened in support of the Board's order or filed an

amicus brief with the Fifth Circuit seeking enforcement of the

order.

25

favor of UNITE, because such enforcement fails to consider

the preferences of the current Polymer employees. This

Court should grant certiorari to correct this error and to

establish clear precedent on this issue.

IV. The Questions Presented are Important

_ In the recent Overnite decision, Judge Paul V.

Niemeyer wrote for the majority: "by declining to follow our

long-standing precedents for the application of Gissel, the

Board improperly bypassed the employees' will on the

question of representation, frustrating the fundamental policy

of employee democracy established by Congress in the labor

laws." See Overnite Transp. Co., 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 2214

at *5. The Fifth Circuit's decision in Polymer disregards this

fundamental policy of employee democracy, overlooking a

lengthy passage of time at the Board and a significant change

in circumstances. In doing so, the Fifth Circuit has defeated

the contemporary interests at Polymer. Charges of unfair

labor practices continue to languish before the Board, and the

Board lacks a clear standard regarding whether the passage of

time and the changes that occur at the workplace during this

amount of time are a sufficient grounds to decline the issuance

of a bargaining order. The Circuit courts also lack a clear

standard for these issues. The majority of Circuit courts have

held that the passage of time and a change in current

workplace conditions are significant grounds for denying

enforcement of or overturning a bargaining order, and should

be considered regardless of when evidence of these factors is

presented. These courts, including the Fifth Circuit, have

held that current conditions are directly relevant and must be

taken into account when deciding whether to issue a

bargaining order. The Fifth Circuit's decision in Polymer

contradicts the majority of Circuit courts and further confuses

the issue by failing to consider the passage of time and

26

NET ee ee

changed circumstances. So long as this standard remains

confused, the Board will continue to issue Gissel bargaining

orders inconsistently, which after further delay, will be denied

by most Circuit courts. A decision by this Court would

relieve the burden on the Board and the Circuit courts that

continue to grapple with this issue. Most importantly, issuing

a bargaining order years after the employees select the union

risks trampling on the employees' rights to select an

appropriate bargaining representative. This risk is only

exacerbated by the fact that, as in Polymer, employees at a

company may be represented by a union new and different

from the one they actually selected as their bargaining

representative. Elections are the preferred method for

determining a bargaining representative. After seven years,

a fair election could be held at Polymer. The extraordinary

remedy of a Gissel bargaining order should be reserved for

cases where an election is not possible.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted

because: (1) the Board and Fifth Circuit's refusal to consider

the passage of time and other evidence of changed

circumstances raises important issues in the context of Gissel

bargaining orders, and the Circuit courts are divided on this

issue; (2) evidence of passage of time and changed conditions

is important, and the Board needs guidance regarding the

appropriate time to consider such evidence; and (3) the

Board's issuance of a Gissel bargaining order in favor of a

new and distinct union other than the one selected by

employees raises an important issue regarding the scope and

purpose of the Board's remedial authority.

27

Respectfully submitted,

V. Scott Kneese

TBA 11591000

Bracewell & Patterson, L.L.P.

South Tower Pennzoil Place

711 Louisiana St., Suite 2900

Houston, Texas 77002-2781

Telephone: (713) 223-29000

Facsimile: (713) 221-1212

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER

U.S.A. POLYMER CORP.

28

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-60173

[Dated January 8, 2002]

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Petitioner

V.

USA POLYMER CORP

Respondent

Nee eee eae eel

Petition for Review of an Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

BEFORE GARWOOD, PARKER, and DENNIS,

Circuit Judges.

AR Ae a capes AMIS RAMEN Saale eae RR RRL BE

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing is

DENIED.

la

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/

United States Circuit Judge

2a

hte Ue reney Oy Sete, Cer one

oP a ale o a he Perce v

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-60173

[Filed November 6, 2001]

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Petitioner,

USA POLYMER CORP,

)

)

)

V. )

)

)

Respondent. )

)

On Appeal From

National Labor Relations Board

Cases 16-CA-17189 and 16-CA-17455

August 24, 1999

JUDGES:

Before GARWOOD, PARKER, and DENNIS,

Circuit Judges.

3a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

Petition for Enforcement of the Order of the National

Labor Relations Board

GARWOOD, Circuit Judge:

Acting on charges filed by the International Ladies

Garment Workers' Union (ILGWU), the General Counsel of

the National Labor Relations Board (the NLRB or the Board)

issued a complaint against U.S.A. Polymer Corp. (Polymer)

on March 21, 1995. The complaint alleged violations of 29

U.S.C. §158(a)(1) and (3), and eventually was consolidated

with a subsequent complaint alleging violations of section

158(a)(4), (3), and (1). An administrative law judge (ALJ)

issued a decision on March 25, 1996, finding merit in most of

the allegations. Polymer filed timely exceptions. The NLRB

issued a decision affirming the ALJ's conclusions on August

24, 1999. Polymer filed a motion for reconsideration, to

reopen the record, and for rehearing dated September 24,

1999, which was received by NLRB on September 29. On

October 5, the Associate Executive Secretary of the NLRB

denied the motion as untimely. On October 8, Polymer filed

a supplemental motion for reconsideration, reopening, and

rehearing, which the Board denied on November 23. In

March 2000 the Board filed with this court its application for

enforcement of its August 24, 1999 order. 29 U.S.C.

§160(e). ”

Facts and Proceedings Below

Polymer operates a plastics recycling facility in

Houston, Texas. Its business is to recycle used plastic

containers into plastic pellets that are then sold as raw

material to manufacturers. Polymer employed sixty-four

4a

Paice 8 WRN)

AEG PEAR AR AGRON MRE OB RED GATAT TL te ich yah

Ni biatch:

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

people at its inception, and reached a peak workforce of

ninety-two in February 1994. At the time of the events that

were the subject of the instant complaint, Polymer employed

sixty-eight non-supervisory employees, but since then the

work force has dwindled to thirty-six.

In the fall of 1994, some of Polymer's employees

contacted the ILGWU. In early October, the ILGWU began

a campaign to unionize Polymer's workers. In January 1995,

Polymer laid off twenty-nine employees, and then another ten

in July. Since 1995, the workforce of Polymer has remained

at around thirty-five employees.

The ILGWU filed a charge with the NLRB, alleging

various unfair labor practices, including charges that the

layoffs were motivated by a desire to quash the unionization

campaign. The General Counsel of the NLRB issued a

complaint against Polymer on March 21, 1995. The complaint

was heard before an ALJ from June 5, 1995 through June 21,

1995, followed by a second two-day hearing in October. The

ALJ issued his decision on March 25, 1996, and found that

Polymer had committed numerous violations of the NRLA.

The ALJ recommended the imposition of a bargaining order

under NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575, 89 S. Ct.

1918, 23 L. Ed. 2d 547 (1969). Polymer timely appealed the

ALJ's decision to the Board.

For some unexplained reason, the NLRB did not issue

its decision and order until August 24, 1999, more than three

years after the ALJ's decision. The Board affirmed the ALJ's

findings that, inter alia, [Polymer] unlawfully threatened

employees with more onerous working conditions, physical

harm, layoff, discharge and other unspecified reprisals for

Sa

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

engaging in union and protected concerted activity." The

Board also affirmed the ALJ's findings that Polymer made

good on its threats by means of the January and July 1995

layoffs. Jd. The ALJ found, and the Board affirmed, that

Polymer had violated several sections of the National Labor

Relations Act (NLRA). See 29 U.S.C. §158(a)(1), (3), and

(4). The Board agreed with the ALJ that the severity of

Polymer's conduct required the imposition of a bargaining

order under Gissel. Under the bargaining order, Polymer was

directed to bargain with ILGWU's successor union, the

United Needle Trades, Industrial and Textile Employees

(UNITE).

When the Board's order issued, Polymer's original

counsel on this matter had retired, and Polymer was

apparently in the process of finding replacement counsel.

Polymer's new counsel filed a Motion for Reconsideration

and to Reopen the Record with the Board. The motion is

dated September 24, 1999, and was received by the Board on

September 29, 1999. In that motion, Polymer argued that

circumstances had changed since the ALJ's decision,

including the restructuring of its business, a high turnover rate

(only five employees who were working at the time of the

complaint still worked for Polymer), and the passage of four

and one half years. Polymer asked for reconsideration of the

bargaining order in light of these changed conditions. On

October 5, 1999, Polymer received a letter from the NLRB

informing Polymer that the motion for rehearing was

untimely. That same day, Polymer filed a motion contesting

the untimeliness of its original motion. On November 23,

1999, the Board ordered that Polymer's motion for

reconsideration would not be considered, and that the order

would stand. The Board filed its application for enforcement

eS ee ee ee ee

6a

——————c ttt

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

of its August 24, 1999 order with this court in March 2000.

Polymer now contests the enforcement of the order.

Discussion

The Federal Circuit Courts are almost unanimous in

holding that the NLRB must take current conditions into

account when it determines whether to issue a bargaining

order under NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575, 89

S. Ct. 1918, 23 L. Ed. 2d 547 (1969).' See, e.g., Charlotte

Amphitheater Corp. v. NLRB, 317 U.S. App. D.C. 270, 82

F.3d 1074, 1078 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (noting that all Circuits

except the Ninth require the NLRB to consider changed

circumstances when issuing Gissel bargaining orders); NLRB

v. Cell Agriculture Manuf. Co., 41 F.3d 389, 398-99 (8th

Cir. 1994). Relevant changed circumstances include passage

' Of course, the order may still be appropriate despite the

changed conditions, as illustrated by Chromalloy v. NLRB, 620

F.2d 1120 (Sth Cir. 1980). See also Bandag, Inc. v. NLRB, 583

F.2d 765 (Sth Cir. 1978). The NLRB relies on Chromalloy for the

proposition that a Gissel case should never be remanded to the

Board for reconsideration in light of changed circumstances. This

is an incorrect oversimplification. We held in Chromalloy that while

the existence of subsequent events is relevant, the Board may still

decide that a bargaining order is required, and that the Board need

not determine that the actual sentiment of the majority of the work

force favors the union before issuing a bargaining order.

Chromalloy, 620 F.2d at 1131-32. In Chromalloy, we held that the

Board was not required in all cases to reopen the record for

consideration of events occurring between the ALJ's decision and

the Board's order. However, the Board's decision in Chromalloy

was issued five months after the ALJ's decision; there was no issue

of lengthy delay as in the instant case. /d. at 1123, 1132.

7a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

of time and turnover in the workforce. Charlotte, 82 F.3d at

1078. The Board should at least consider significant turnover

and passage of time when determining whether a bargaining

order was appropriate.’

2 Apparently this lesson has been a difficult one to learn

for the NLRB. The D.C. Circuit recently expressed some

frustration with the Board's repeated refusals to consider current

circumstances when issuing bargaining orders:

We have repeatedly called the Board to task for its

intransigent refusal to accept and act upon our

instructions that the appropriateness of a bargaining

order must be assessed as of the time it is issued.

Nor have we been alone.

Given the changes in its own membership, it may

well be that the Board is devoid of an institutional

mémory; but this court is not. Perhaps it believes

it can wear us down; after more than twenty years,

it should have learned that it cannot. As a

consequence of its stubborn refusal to accept the

holdings of virtually every circuit that has

considered the matter, it has squandered a vast

amount of our time as well as its own and has

caused delays in the ultimate resolution of cases

that cannot be laid at the feet of recalcitrant

employers. If the Board continues to disagree with

us, it is of course free to seek Supreme Court

review.

Charlotte, 82 F.3d at 1079 (citations omitted).

8a

Ea TT

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

However, despite the weight of the law in other

Circuits, the law on this point in the Fifth Circuit is somewhat

confused. In NLRB v. American Cable, 427 F.2d 446 (5" Cir.

1970), this court held that the Board must consider the current

circumstances when determining whether to issue a bargaining

order. Jd. at 448-49. While American Cable was never

overruled, in a subsequent opinion we stated that "in a case

not involving a remand to the Board," the Court should

evaluate the appropriateness of the bargaining order "as of the

date of the unfair labor practice proceedings, not as of the

date when the matter comes before the court." See NLRB v.

Dadco Fashions, Inc. , 632 F.2d 493, 497 n.7 (Sth Cir. 1980).

This line of cases is based on J.P. Stevens & Co. v. NLRB,

441 F.2d 514, 525 n.16 (Sth Cir. 1971), which did not, in

fact, hold that the time for consideration of current conditions

was the time of the unfair labor practice proceedings. Instead,

in J.P. Stevens we held that the proper time for evaluation of

"current circumstances" was the time at which the Board

issued its bargaining order. /d. This holding was read in

NLRB vy. Gibson Prod. Co., 494 F.2d 762, 766 n.4 (Sth Cir.

1974) to mean that this Court should not remand to update the

record to take into account events subsequent to the Board's

(not the ALJ's) action. Jd. We went one step further in

Dadco, and held that in a case not involving a remand to the

Board, the Court should evaluate the appropriateness of the

bargaining order as of the date of the unfair labor practice

proceedings, not as of the date when the matter came before

the Court. Dadco, 632 F.2d at 497 n. 7. Despite our

admittedly confusing line of cases, American Cable has never

been overruled, and, in fact, now represents the

overwhelming majority position among the Circuits on this

issue.

9a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

Under American Cable the Board must consider

evidence of changed circumstances when it evaluates the

appropriateness of a Gissel bargaining order. If the Board had

before it evidence that circumstances at Polymer's plant were

in relevant respects significantly different from those at the

time of the ALJ's decision recommending a bargaining order

the Board erred when it refused to take the changes into

account in determining whether a bargaining order should

issue. We should not, however, take into account changes in

circumstance that have occurred since the time of the Board's

decision.

The Board's procedural rules permit an employer to

submit a motion to reopen the record after the ALJ's decision

but before the Board has ruled. After the filing of timely

exceptions and briefs, the Board “may decide the matter

forthwith upon the record, or after oral argument, or may

reopen the record and receive further evidence before a

member of the Board or other Board agent or agency, or may

make other disposition of the case." 29 C.F.R. §102.48(b).

Section 102.48(b) grants the NLRB wide discretion in the

manner in which it deals with appeals from decisions of the

ALJ and permits the Board to entertain motions to reopen the

record in order to receive evidence of changed circumstances.

At oral argument, both Polymer and the NLRB agreed that

the Board's procedural rules would have permitted Polymer

to file a motion to reopen or update the record prior to the

Board's decision.’ Although there is no clear procedural

> Employers in other cases have moved to reopen the

record in the time between the ALJ's order and the decision of the

Board. See, e.g., Texas Petrochemicals Corp. v. NLRB, 923 F.2d

10a

eC

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

vehicle for such a motion, we agree with the parties’

interpretation of the Board's regulations. Polymer could have

submitted a motion to update the record at any time before the

Board's decision, but made no such motion until a month after

that decision.

The NLRB denied Polymer's motion for

reconsideration and reopening because, according to its order,

it had no discretion to allow filings after the twenty-eight day

time limit imposed by 29 C.F.R. §102.48. Polymer argues

that the NLRB had discretion under 29 C.F.R. §102.48(d)(2)

to consider the late motion.‘ The Board now takes the

398, 401 (Sth Cir. 1991).

* §102.48(d) reads in pertinent part:

(1) A party to a proceeding before the Board may,

because of extraordinary circumstances, move for

reconsideration, rehearing, or reopening of the

record after the Board decision or order. A motion

for reconsideration shall state with particularity the

material error claimed and with respect to any

finding of material fact shall specify the page of the

record relied on. A motion for rehearing shall

specify the error alleged to require a hearing de

novo and the prejudice to the movant alleged to

result from such error. A motion to reopen the

record shall state briefly the additional evidence

sought to be adduced, why it was not presented

previously, and that, if adduced and credited, it

would require a different result. Only newly

discovered evidence, evidence which has become

available only since the close of the hearing, or

evidence which the Board believes should have

lla

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

position, as it stated in its order, that the provision allowing

late filings refers only to the Board's ability to allow for

extensions of time when requests for such extensions are

timely filed.

In Camvac v. NLRB, 877 F.2d 62 (6th Cir. 1989)

(unpublished), the Sixth Circuit faced a case with an almost

identical procedural history. As in the present case, in

Camvac there was a long delay between the ALJ's original

order and the Board's decision, and Camvac filed its motion

for reconsideration three weeks after the twenty-eight day

period allowed by section 102.48. The Sixth Circuit held that

section 102.48 specifically allowed the Board to accept

motions beyond the twenty-eight day period, and that the

Board's failure to accept the "untimely" motion was an abuse

of discretion.

been taken at the hearing will be taken at any

further hearing.

(2) Any motion pursuant to this section shall be

filed within 28 days, or such further period as the

Board may allow, after the service of the Board's

decision or order, except that a motion for leave to

adduce additional evidence shall be filed promptly

on discovery of such evidence. Copies of any

request for an extension of time shall be served

promptly on the other parties.

29 C.F.R. §102.48(d).

12a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

Although Camvac was an unpublished opinion, we

agree with the Sixth Circuit that section 102.48 grants the

NLRB discretion to entertain motions for rehearing after the

twenty-eight day period has expired. The NLRB argues that

section 102.48 simply allows the Board to extend the time for

filing motions upon receipt of a timely motion for an

extension. However, this argument is undercut by the fact that

section 102.48 it hes provides that evidence that has

become available "since the close of the hearing" can be

accepted if it is filed promptly upon discovery. 29 C.F.R.

§102.48(d)(1). Still, section 102.48 certainly does not

command the Board to accept late filings-the treatment of

those filings is within the discretion of the Board.

Polymer also argues that the Board had discretion to

accept its filing under 29 C.F.R. §102.111(c). After initially

stating that it had no discretion, the Board (in its order

denying the motions for reconsideration) thereafter goes on to

hold that section 102.111(c) governs acceptance of late

filings, and that section 102.111(c) allows the Board to

consider late filings "upon good cause shown based on

excusable neglect and when no undue prejudice would result"

and makes specific provision for acceptance of late filings.

29 C.F.R. §102.111(c). The Board found that Polymer's

having to hire a new lawyer in the time between the order and

the due date did not constitute excusable neglect and that

therefore the requests for rehearing and reopening were

denied. Although the amount of discretion that the Board has

to accept late filings is somewhat unclear, it is clear that the

Board does possess at least some discretion under both section

13a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

102.48(d)° and section 102.111(c). The Board's action in

finding lack of good cause based on excusable neglect is

reviewed for abuse of discretion. See, e.g., Hospital Del

Maestro v. N.L.R.B., 263 F.3d 173, 175 (1st Cir. 2001).

Under either provision we cannot say that the Board's

decision to deny Polymer's untimely motion for

reconsideration was an abuse of discretion, even thought the

Board had taken an extraordinary amount of time to issue its

merits decision in this case. It is not the Board's responsibility

to continually update the factual picture that the parties have

provided. While the Board must consider properly presented

or tendered evidence of materially changed relevant

circumstances in bargaining order cases, we can see no reason

why the Board itself should be required to gather evidence.

The party that seeks to benefit from. demonstrating a change

of circumstances bears the burden of timely providing the

Board with evidence of those changes. The Board is entitled

to assume, in the face of the parties’ silence, that the facts as

initially presented continue to adequately describe the

employer's workforce.

The Board's delay does not excuse Polymer's failure

to timely provide the evidence it seeks to introduce. Even

though Polymer was in the process of hiring a new lawyer at

the time of the Board's decision, this does not require the

Board to excuse Polymer's failure to file even a request for an

extension of time within the twenty-eight day period. And,

> We see no reason that a party that files an untimely

motion under §102.48(d) would not also have to demonstrate

excusable neglect.

14a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

Polymer's acquisition of an attorney after the decision does

not require the Board to excuse its failure to move to reopen

the record prior to the Board's decision. There is no

indication that any of the changes in circumstance that

Polymer claims invalidate the bargaining order occurred

immediately prior to the Board's decision. Instead, those

changes are alleged to have occurred gradually, over a period

of years. A party must be given a reasonable amount of time

to file a motion to reopen the record after the events that

change the party's circumstances. Had a sudden change in

Polymer's business or workforce occurred only a few months

before the Board's decision, perhaps their failure to update

the Board before the decision would be excusable. However,

there is no indication that this is the case. Polymer appears to

have made a conscious decision to wait until after the Board's

decision to inform the Board of the significant changes that

had taken place in its workforce. The Board's refusal to

accept Polymer's untimely motion was not an abuse of

discretion.

Polymer also challenges the substance of the Board's

decision approving the Gissel bargaining order. Polymer

claims that the Board's decision is unsupported by the record.

The Board should have evaluated the propriety of the Gissel

order using the most current set of facts properly before it.

Since Polymer's evidence of changed circumstances was not

properly before the Board, the most current set of facts was

the evidence presented to the ALJ. The NLRB's findings of

fact, if not influenced by an erroneous view of the law, are

conclusive if supported by substantial evidence on the record

considered in its entirety. Texas Petrochemicals v. NLRB,

923 F.2d 398 (Sth Cir. 1991). A reviewing court should not

re-evaluate the credibility of witnesses, re-weigh the evidence,

: 15a

Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

or reject reasonable Board inferences simply because other

inferences might also have reasonably been drawn. NLRB v.

Adco Electric, Inc., 6 F.3d 1110, 1115 (Sth Cir. 1993).

The imposition of a bargaining order is an

extraordinary remedy, which should be issued upon a

determination "that the possibility of erasing the effects of

past practices and of ensuring a fair election ... by the use of

traditional remedies, though present, is slight and that

employee sentiment ... would, on balance, be better protected

by a bargaining order ...." Gissel, 89 S. Ct..at 1940. Upon

review of the record in this case, we find that substantial

evidence on the record as a whole supports the Board's

conclusion that Polymer threatened and laid off a sizeable

number of its workers due to union activity at its Houston

plant. On the basis of the record properly before it, the Board

did not abuse its discretion when it issued the bargaining

order proposed by the ALJ.

Conclusion

The NLRB must consider current circumstances when

issuing a Gissel bargaining order. But, the NLRB is entitled

to treat the facts as of the ALJ's decision as static until the

parties provide the NLRB with evidence that the relevant

circumstances have materially changed, and Polymer has not

timely presented or sought to present any such evidence.

Because the NLRB did not abuse its discretion in refusing to

accept Polymer's untimely motion, the NLRB's bargaining

order should be evaluated on the basis of the facts in evidence

before the ALJ. Since under those -facts the Board did not

abuse its discretion when it imposed the bargaining order, the

order must be enforced.

l6a

ee

~- Fifth Circuit Petition for Enforcement - 11/06/01

The Board's application for enforcement is

GRANTED. “3

17a

el

APPENDIX C

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Cases 16-CA-17189 and 16-CA-17455

[Filed August 24, 1999]

U.S.A. Polymer Corp. and Texas-Oklahoma-Arkansas

District Council--UNITE

DECISION AND ORDER

By John C. Truesdale, Chairman; Sarah M. Fox, Member;

Peter J. Hurtgen, Member.

On March 25, 1996, Administrative Law Judge

Wallace H. Nations issued the attached decision. The

Respondent and the General Counsel filed exceptions and

supporting briefs, and the Charging Party filed a brief in

support of the General Counsel's exceptions and a response

in Opposition to the Respondent's exceptions.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its

authority in this proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record

in light of the exceptions and briefs and has decided to affirm

_

18a

;

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

the judge's rulings, findings,’ and conclusions to the extent

discussed below, and to adopt the recommended Order, as

modified and set forth in full below.’

We agree with the judge's findings that the

Respondent committed numerous, egregious Violations of

Section 8(a)(1), (3), and (4) of the Act and that a bargaining

order should issue under the principles enunciated in NLRB v.

Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969).

' The Respondent has excepted to some of the judge's

credibility findings. The Board's established policy is not to

overrule an administrative law judge's credibility resolutions unless

the clear preponderance of all the relevant evidence convinces us

that they are incorrect. Standard Dry Wall Products, 91 NLRB 544

(1950), enfd. 188 F.2d 362 (3d Cir. 1951). We have carefully

examined the record and find no basis for reversing the findings.

2 We shall modify the judge's recommended Order in

accordance with our decisions in /ndian Hills Care Center, 321

NLRB 144 (1996), and Excel Container, Inc., 325 NLRB No. 14

(1997).

> In its brief in support of exceptions, the Respondent

contends that there has been no determination of the appropriate

bargaining unit. The judge did, in fact, make such findings in his

decision at fn. 59, and in his conclusions of law, Item 3. The

Respondent has neither filed exceptions to these findings nor

disputed the judge's description of positions within the production

and maintenance unit. Accordingly, we adopt the judge's finding

concerning the unit appropriate for collective-bargaining within the

meaning of Sec. 9(b) of the Act as set forth in item 3 of his

conclusions of law.

19a

|

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

The Board will issue a bargaining order, absent an

election, in two categories of cases. NLRB v. Gissel Packing

Co., supra. The first category is "exceptional" cases, those

marked by unfair labor practices so "outrageous" and

"pervasive" that traditional remedies cannot erase their

coercive effects, thus rendering a fair election impossible.

The second category involves "less extraordinary cases

marked by less pervasive unfair labor practices which

nonetheless have a tendency to undermine majority strength

and impede election processes." In the latter category of

cases, the "possibility of erasing the effects of past practices

and of ensuring a fair election . . . by the use of traditional

remedies, though present, is slight and employee sentiments

once expressed by authorization cards would, on balance, be

better protected by a bargaining order." NLRB Vv. Gissel

Packing Co., supra at 613, 614-615; and Cassis Management

- Corp., 323 NLRB 456, 459 (1997).

We find that the violations at issue in the instant case

constitute category I conduct within the meaning of Gissel.

The Respondent embarked on a series of pervasive and

increasingly coercive unfair labor practices within weeks of

Similarly, the Respondent has not filed exceptions to the

judge's findings that the Union attained majority status in January

1995 or to his findings concerning the authentication of 47

authorization cards in the unit of 64 employees. The record shows

that 41 cards were signed on or before January 21, 1995, and that

the remaining 6 cards were signed on or before January 27, 1995.

Accordingly, we adopt the judge's findings concerning majority

Status.

20a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

the advent of the employees’ union activity. The first union

contact with employees occurred in the latter part of

September 1994, and the Union began its formal organizing

campaign in the early part of October 1994. By January 27,

1995, the Union had attained majority status in the bargaining

unit.

As more fully described in the judge's decision, the

Respondent unlawfully interrogated employees about their

union activity and the union activity of their fellow

employees. The Respondent also unlawfully threatened

employees with more onerous working conditions, physical

harm, layoff, discharge and other unspecified reprisals for

engaging in union and protected concerted activity.

Employees were unlawfully subjected to surveillance and

unlawfully promised a bonus or other rewards for not

supporting the Union. The interrogations and threats were

widespread, involving 7 different supervisors and at least 20

different employees.‘

* The Respondent's defense to these allegations rested

primarily on its contention that it had no knowledge of the union

activity. Although the Respondent filed exceptions to these

violations of Sec. 8(a)(1) found by the judge, it did not address the

individual incidents in its supporting brief. We adopt the judge's

findings.

The Respondent also excepts to the finding that Carlos

Hallatt is an agent of the Respondent. We note that Hallatt's

conduct is at issue only in connection with his alleged interrogation

of Lucio Aviles in January 1995. In view of the numerous instances

of unlawful interrogations by other respondent officials, a finding

21a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Furthermore, the Respondent made good on its threat

of layoff or discharge by laying off 29 unit employees

between January 27 and 30, 1995. These 29 employees

represented 45 percent of the employees in the proposed

bargaining unit and included 9 of 10 members of the

employees’ organizing committee.° To compound the impact

of this unlawful conduct, the Respondent further violated the

Act by issuing employees being laid off in January 1995 a

letter requiring them to call on a daily basis, with failure to do

so on 2 consecutive days "(causing) us to consider you

unavailable for work or having resigned your position with

our company." In addition, the Respondent's supervisors told

remaining employees that those selected had been chosen

because of their support for the Union in accord with the

policy of John Bazbaz, the Respondent's president.

After the General Counsel issued a complaint

concerning the conduct summarized above, the Respondent

continued to violate the Act by penalizing employees who

testified as witnesses for the General Counsel at the ensuing

unfair labor practice hearing. Specifically, the judge found,

and we agree, that the Respondent violated Section 8(a)(4)

and (1) of the Act by interrogating witnesses for the General

on this allegation would be cumulative and would not affect the

remedy.

> In adopting the judge's finding that the layoff of these 29

employees violated Sec. 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act, we find it

unnecessary to rely on the statistical analyses presented by the

Charging Party and apparently relied on by the judge.

22a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Counsel after they had testified, asking other employees if

they had received subpoenas to testify, and advising them that

they could ignore the subpoenas. In addition, the Respondent

suddenly disciplined employees who had been witnesses for

talking among themselves, although there was no rule

prohibiting that behavior. In-this regard, one employee

received an oral warning and two received written warnings.

When one of the latter refused to sign the written warning

because he believed he had done nothing wrong, Javier

Guerrero, assistant to Bazbaz, fired him.® The Respondent

also reduced employees’ regular working hours and overtime

after they had testified, while other employees who had not

testified were allowed to keep their normal hours and

overtime. Supervisor Israel Zepeda told another employee that

he had been instructed by Bazbaz and Guerrero to make

things hard on him for testifying against the Company.

In view of the foregoing, we find that the

Respondent's intimidating course of conduct places it among

those exceptional cases warranting a bargaining order under

category I of the Gissel standard, because traditional remedies

cannot erase the coercive effects of the conduct, making the

holding of a fair election impossible. See Cassis Management

Corp., supra at 459. It cannot be gainsaid that the

Respondent's discriminatory layoff of nearly one-half of the

bargaining unit, coupled with contemporaneous statements

that the reason for the layoffs was the employees’ support for

the Union and the extensive conduct violative of Section

8(a)(1) and (4) of the Act following the issuance of the first

° Bazbaz subsequently rescinded the dismissal.

23a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

complaint, constitute unfair labor practices that are both

outrageous and pervasive. The restorative effect that Board-

ordered reinstatement may have on unit employees is severely

diminished by this pattern of conduct. Accordingly, we find

that a bargaining order is warranted under category I

standards.’

Even if we were to find, however, that the violations

were less than "outrageous." a bargaining order is warranted

under category II standards. The Board has long held that

threats of job loss are particularly coercive and likely to

undermine the possibility of holding a fair election for an

extended period. Garney Morris, Inc., 313 NLRB 101, 103

(1993), enfd. 47 F.3d 1141 (3d Cir. 1995). When such threats

are made, employees receive an unforgettable message that

any efforts they make to improve their working conditions

could instead result in the loss of their livelihood. Electro-

Voice, Inc., 320 NLRB 1094, 1095 (1996). Here, where the

employer proceeded to carry out its threats against so

substantial a number of bargaining unit members, the message

is not likely to be soon forgotten. As the Board commented in

7 Member Hurtgen finds it unnecessary to pass on whether

a bargaining order is warranted under category I standards. He

agrees with his colleagues that a bargaining order is warranted

under category II standards. Member Hurtgen finds it unnecessary

to pass on the impled (a)(1) violations found by the judge. In his

view, these alleged violations are cumulative. Member Hurtgen

finds it unnecessary to pass on the question whether employee

Montes de Oca was a guard.

24a

|

a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

America's Best Quality Coatings Corp.,* discharge of

employees because of union activity "goes to the very heart

of the Act." The Respondent's outrageous conduct did not end

with its massive unlawful layoff of union supporters, "the

ultimate retaliation" for supporting a union.’ Those employees

who remained received a continuing message that those who

were laid off had been "rewarded" for their union support.

They also received the message that retribution for supporting

the Union or testifying as witnesses for the General Counsel

was the policy of the Respondent's highest official, John

Bazbaz. In these circumstances, the possibility that employees

would thereafter express their uncoerced desires through the

mechanism of an election is slight, if it exists at all.

Accordingly, under the circumstances here, it is clear that a

bargaining order is not merely appropriate, but necessary .'°

® 313 NLRB 470, 472 (1993), enfd. 44 F.3d 516 (7th Cir.

1995), cert. denied 515 U.S. 1158 (1995).

* Cassis Management Corp., 323 NLRB 456, 457 (1997).

10 Chairman Truesdale and Member Fox reach this

conclusion despite the passage of time of 4 years since the unfair

labor practices occurred and 3 years since the judge's decision

issued. As in Garvey Marine, Inc., 328 NLRB No. 147, slip. op.

pp. 6-7 (1999), they conclude that the passage of time does not

diminish the need for and appropriateness of a bargaining order in

this case.

Member Hurtgen does not agree with the Board's decision

in Garvey Marine, Inc., supra, slip op. at p. 9. However he notes

that, in the instant case, the Respondent does not contend that the

passage of time militates against the appropriateness of a bargaining

order.

25a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

The Respondent has excepted to the judge's finding that it

violated Sec. 8(a)(5) by refusing to recognize and bargain with the

Union on the ground that there is no such allegation in the

complaint as amended. In the particular circumstances of this case,

we will delete the judge's finding since the General Counsel did not

request this finding, and finding this violation will not affect the

remedy here. As the Board explained in Peaker Run Coal Co. , 228

NLRB 93, 93-94 (1977), nothing in the Supreme Court's Gissel

opinion makes a finding of Sec. 8(a)(5) a prerequisite for issuing a

bargaining order if the Board has found that a union has attained

majority status and that the respondent employer has committed

violations of the Act, failing within either category I or category II

as described in Gissel, which have undermined the union's majority

status and "fatally impeded the holding of a fair election." As

further explained in Peaker Run, in the absence of an 8(a)(5)

allegation, the employer's obligation to recognize and bargain with

the union commences on "the date on which the employer embarked

on its unlawful antiunion campaign.” Id. at 93. Accord: Ellis

Electric, 315 NLRB 1187, 1188 (1994). In this case, the

Respondent's obligation commenced on January 27, 1995, when the

Union had attained majority status and the Respondent began its

unlawful antiunion campaign with the discriminatory layoffs of unit

employees.

In its exceptions, the Respondent contends that the merger

of the Charging Party in Case 16-CA-17189, Texas-Oklahoma-

Arkansas District Council. ILGWU, a/w International Ladies

Garment Workers' Union, with the Amalgamated Clothing and

Textile Workers to form the Union of Needle Trades, Industrial and

Textile Employees (UNITE) precludes the issuance of a bargaining

order because it raises a question of continuity of representation. As

described more fully in the judge's decision, there was considerable

26a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

AMENDED CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Delete Conclusion of Law 9 and renumber the

following conciusion of law accordingly.

AMENDED REMEDY

Because of the serious nature of the Respondent's

numerous violations of the Act and their impact on the entire

unit, we require the Respondent to bargain with the Charging

Party as the duly designated representative of the employees

in the appropriate unit.

testimony and documentation by the Charging Party to support its

position that the post-merger entity, UNITE, provides for

substantial continuity of representation under the four-part test set

forth in Western Commercial Transport, 288 NLRB 214 (1988).

The burden of proof is on the party seeking to prove discontinuity.

Insulfab Plastics, 274 NLRB 817, 821 (1985), enf. 739 F.2d 961

(1st Cir. 1986). Here, the Respondent has not met that burden. Its

reliance on Pye v. Sullivan Brothers Printers, Inc., 38 F.3d 58 (Ast

Cir. 1994), is misplaced, because here, unlike there, the new entity

will utilize the same leaders for contract administration and

negotiation. Moreover, the same rules, dues and infrastructure are

in place under UNITE as were present under the ILGWU. The

Respondent relies primarily on the fact that the merger will result

in an entity with a membership that is more than double the size of

the ILGWU. That, however, is a natural result of a merger that

may result in increased clout, but does not diminish the identity of

the organization. /nsulfab, supra at 823.

27a

SERS conte Pena a Oe Re

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Because of its discriminatory discharge of the

employees named in paragraph 5(a) of the judge's conclusions

of law, the Respondent must offer those employees

reinstatement to the bargaining unit positions they held and

make them whole for any loss of earnings and other benefits,

computed on a quarterly basis from date of discharge to date

of proper offer of reinstatement, less any net interim earnings, :

as prescribed in F. W. Woolworth Co. , 90 NLRB 289 (1950),

plus interest as computed in New Horizons for the Retarded,

283 NLRB 1173 (1987)."

'! As noted by the judge, the Respondent discriminatorily

discharged Marco Posadas, but avoided any backpay liability by

reinstating him before he suffered any backpay liability.

With regard to the alleged discriminatory layoff of 29

employees on January 27, the judge found that the layoffs of all

those employees violated Sec. 8(a)(3) and (1). He also found,

however, that "a layoff of some level would have occurred at some

point well after January 1995 but before June 1995" (emphasis

added). He recommended leaving to compliance the question of

which employees would have been affected by such a subsequent

layoff or layoffs. We agree and note that precedent dictates that in

order to cut off the backpay of any given discriminatee or

discriminatees, the Respondent must show that he or she would

have been laid off in any event-for a nondiscriminatory reason on

the date for which a backpay cutoff is urged. See, e.g., EDP

Medical Computer Systems, 302 NLRB 54, 55 (1991), enfd. mem.

959 F.2d 1101 (D.C. Cir. 1992) (respondent must show, as an

affirmative defense, that discriminatee's job was eliminated for

nondiscriminatory reasons after his unlawful discharge, in order to

cut off backpay liability); Pacemaker Driver Service, 290 NLRB

405 (1988), affd. sub nom. Bales v. NLRB, 914 F.2d 92 (6th Cir.

1990) (employer which caused employee terminations when it

closed a terminal in violation of Sec. 8(a)(3) carried its burden of

showing that it would have closed the terminal for

nondiscriminatory reasons on a particular date nearly 3 years later

and that it would not have relocated the employees elsewhere;

28a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

The Respondent unlawfully retaliated against

employees William Rosales, Camillo Ramirez, Jose

Melendez, and Jesus Martines by denying them scheduled

working and overtime hours. It must make them whole for

their lost earnings in the manner set out above.

The Respondent must reinstate the position of

electrician at its facility and offer Luis Aviles reinstatement to

this position in addition to the backpay set forth above.

The Respondent must rescind the written warnings it

gave William Rosales and Marco Posadas, remove any record

of those warning from their personnel files, and inform them

in writing that this has been done and that those warnings will

not be used against them in any way.

Because of the serious nature of the Respondent's

violations and because of the Respondent's egregious,

widespread misconduct that demonstrates a general disregard

for its employees' fundamental rights, we shall issue a broad

order that requires the Respondent to cease and desist from

infringing in any other manner on rights guaranteed

employees by Section 7 of the Act. Hickmott Foods, 242

NLRB 1357 (1979).

backpay ends at that point).

29a

ee

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99 _

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the

recommended Order of the administrative law judge as

modified and set forth in full below and orders that the

Respondent, U.S.A. Polymer Corp., Houston, Texas, its

officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall take the action

set forth in the Order as modified.

1. Cease and desist from

(a) Coercively interrogating employees about their

union sympathies and activities and the sympathies and

activities of fellow employees, and demeaning the Union in

cuvercive conversation with employees.

(b) Threatening employees with more onerous working

conditions, physical harm, layoff, discharge, and other

unspecified reprisals for engaging in union or other protected

concerted activities.

(c) Creating the impression of surveillance or

subjecting employees to surveillance because of their union or

other protected concerted activities.

(d) Promising employees a bonus or other reward for

not supporting the Union or engaging in other union or

protected concerted activities.

(e) Permanently laying off employees because they

engaged in union or other protected concerted activities and

to discourage them and other employees from supporting the

Union or engaging in other protected concerted activity.

30a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

(f) Selecting employees for permanent layoff because

they supported the Union or engaged in other protected

concerted activity.

(g) Eliminating the job classification of electrician to

avoid rehiring its discharged electrician because he supported

the Union and engaged in union or other protected concerted

activity.

(h) Verbally warning employees not to talk with other

employees or threatening employees with unspecified reprisals

because they gave testimony contrary to the interests of the

Respondent in a Board hearing.

(i) Interrogating employees about their testimony given

in a Board proceeding and advising employees to ignore

Board issued subpoenas.

(j) Reducing the working hours of employees and

withholding overtime work to employees because they gave

testimony in a Board hearing and because they supported the

Union or otherwise engaged in protected conceried activity.

(k) Imposing more onerous working conditions on

employees in order to induce them to quit their employment

because they gave testimony in a Board proceeding, supported

the Union, and engaged in other protected concerted activity.

(1) Issuing written warnings to employees and

discharging employees because they gave testimony in a

Board proceeding and supported the Union or engaged in

other protected concerted activity.

3la

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

(m) In any other manner interfering with, restraining,

or coercing employees in the exercise of rights guaranteed

them by Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action necessary to

effectuate the policies of the Act.

(a) On request, bargain with the Union as the

exclusive representative of the employees in the following

appropriate unit concerning terms and conditions of

employment and, if an understanding is reached, embody the

understanding in a signed agreement:

All production and maintenance employees,

including operators, helpers, forklift operators,

packers, mechanics and electricians, and

excluding all other employees, supervisors,

and guards as defined in the Act.

(b) Within 14 days, offer the employees named below

immediate and full reinstatement to their former bargaining

unit jobs or, if those jobs no longer exist, to substantially

equivalent positions, without prejudice to their seniority or

any other rights or privileges previously enjoyed, and make

them whole for any loss of earnings and other benefits

suffered as a result of the discrimination against them, in the

manner set forth in the amended remedy section of this

decision.

Miguel Alanis Mario Aparicio

Lucio Aviles Julio Hector Garcia

Hugo Benavides Jose Giron

Alejandro Blasic Oscar Godines

32a

ee ee en

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Rudolfo Bocanegro German Joya

Edgar Gerardo Carrera Luis Martines

Luis Castro Nery Mendoza

Nicholas Chajon Pedro Molgar

Elias Escobar Miguel Molina

Miguel Angel Molina Mauro Moran

Bethuel Montes De Oca Walter Jose Orellana

Felix Jovel Palacios Noe Ramirez

Manuel Perez Nelson Rodriguez

Mario Perez Jose Rosales

Lionel Campoverde Verde

(c) Make whole William Rosales, Camillo Ramirez,

Jose Melendez, and Jesus Martines for the unlawful denial of

their scheduled working hours and overtime hours in the

manner specified in the amended remedy section of this

decision.

(d) Within 14 days rescind the written warnings given

to William Rosales and Marco Posadas and remove any

record of such warnings from their personnel files. Within 3

days thereafter inform them in writing that this has been done

and that such warnings will not be used against them in any

way.

(e) Preserve and, within 14 days of request, make

available to the Board or its agents for examination and

copying, all payroll records, timecards, personnel records and

reports, and all other records necessary to analyze the amount

of backpay under the terms of the Order.

(f) Within 14 days after service by the Region, post at

its facility in Houston, Texas copies of the attached notice in

33a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

both English and Spanish, marked "Appendix."'* Copies of

the notice, on forms provided by the Regional Director for

Region 16, after being signed by the Respondent's authorized

representative, shall be posted by the Respondent and

maintained for 60 consecutive days in conspicuous places,

including all places where notices to employees are

customarily posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken by the

Respondent to ensure that the notices are not altered, defaced,

or covered by any other material. In the event that during the

pendency of these proceedings, the Respondent has gone out

of business or closed the facility involved in these

proceedings, the Respondent shall duplicate and mail, at its

own expense, a copy of the notice to all current and former

employees employed by the Respondent at any time since

November 1, 1994. -

(g) Within 21 days after service by the Region, file

with the Regional Director a sworn certification of a

responsible official on a form provided by the Region

attesting to the steps that the Respondent has taken to comply.

Dated Washington, D.C. August 24, 1999

John C. Truesdale, Chairman

Sarah M. Fox, Member

Peter J. Hurtgen, Member

'2 If this Order is enforced by a judgment of a United

States court of appeals, the words in the notice reading "Posted by

Order of the National Labor Relations Board" shall read "Posted

Pursuant to a Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

Enforcing an Order of the National Labor Relations Board."

34a

a aaa

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

POSTED BY ORDER OF

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

An Agency of the United States Government

The National Labor Relations Board has found that we

violated the National Labor Relations Act and has ordered us

to post and abide by this notice.

Section 7 of the Act gives employees these mghts.

To organize

To form, join, or assist any union

To bargain collectively through representatives of their

own choice

To act together for other mutual aid or protection

To choose not to engage in any of these protected

concerted activities.

WE WILL NOT coercively interrogate employees

about their union sympathies and activities and the union

sympathies and activities of fellow employees, and demean

the Union in coercive conversations with employees.

WE WILL NOT threaten employees with more

onerous working conditions, physical harm, layoff, discharge,

and other unspecified reprisals for engaging in union or other

protected concerted activities.

WE WILL NOT create the impression of surveillance

or subject employees to surveillance because of their union or

other protected concerted activities.

35a

SS

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

WE WILL NOT promise employees a bonus or other

reward for not supporting the Union or engaging in other

union or protected concerted activities.

WE WILL NOT permanently lay off employees

because they engaged in union or other protected concerted

activities and to discourage them and other employees from

supporting the Union or engaging in other concerted protected

activity.

WE WILL NOT select employees for permanent

layoff because they supported the Union or engaged in other

protected concerted activity.

WE WILL NOT eliminate the job classification of

electrician to avoid rehiring our discharged electrician

because he supported the Union and engaged in union or other

protected concerted activities.

WE WILL NOT verbally warn employees not to talk

with other empioyees or threaten employees with unspecified

reprisals because they gave testimony in a National Labor

Relations Board hearing.

WE WILL NOT interrogate employees about their

testimony given in a National Labor Relations Board

proceeding and advise employees to ignore Board issued

subpoenas.

WE WILL NOT reduce the working hours of

employees and withhold overtime work to employees because

they gave testimony in a National Labor Relations Board

36a

jimmtatmimmmaadatiammaiaaaaiaacsamaasa aaa ae

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

hearing and because they supported the Union or otherwise

engaged in protected concerted activity.

WE WILL NOT impose more onerous working

conditions on employees in an attempt to induce them to quit

their employment because they gave testimony in a National

Labor Relations Board proceeding, supported the Union, and

engaged in other protected concerted activity.

WE WILL NOT issue written warnings to employees

and discharge employees because they gave testimony in a

National Labor Relations Board proceeding and supported the

Union or engaged in other protected concerted activity.

WE WILL NOT in any other manner interfere with,

restrain, or coerce employees in the exercise of the rights

guaranteed them by Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL, on request, bargain with the Union as the

exclusive representative of the employees in the following

appropriate unit concerning terms and conditions of

employment and, if an understanding is reached, embody the

understanding in a signed agreement:

All production and maintenance employees,

including operators, helpers, forklift operators,

packers, mechanics and electricians, and

excluding all other employees, supervisors,

and guards as defined in the Act.

WE WILL, within 14 days of the date of the Board's

Order, offer the employees named below immediate and full

reinstatement to their former bargaining unit jobs or, if those

37a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

jobs no longer exist, to substantially equivalent positions,

without prejudice to their seniority or any other rights or

privileges previously enjoyed, and make them whole for any

loss of earnings and other benefits suffered as a result of the

discrimination against them, plus interest.

Miguel Alanis

Lucio Aviles

Hugo Benavides

Alejandro Blasic

Rudolfo Bocanegro

Edgar Gerardo Carrera

Luis Castro

Nicholas Chajon

Elias Escobar

Miguel Angel Molina

Bethuel Montes De Oca

Felix Jovel Palacios

Manuel Perez

Mario Perez

Lionel Campoverde Verde

Mario Aparicio

Julio Hector Garcia

Jose Giron

Oscar Godines

German Joya

Luis Martines

Nery Mendoza

Pedro Molgar

Miguel Molina

Mauro Moran

Walter Jose Orellana

Noe Ramirez

Nelson Rodrequez

Jose Rosales

WE WILL make whole William Rosales, Camilio

Ramirez, Jose Melendez, and Jesus Martines for the unlawful

denial of their scheduled working hours and/or overtime

hours, with interest.

WE WILL, within 14 days from the date of the

Board's Order, rescind the written warnings given to William

Rosales and Marco Posadas, remove such warnings from their

personnel files and WE WILL, within 3 days thereafter,

inform them in writing that this has been done and that such

warnings will not be used against them in any way.

38a

ee

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

U.S.A. POLYMER CORP.

ALJ: WALLACE H. NATIONS

ALJ-DECISION

Statement of the Case

WALLACE H. NATIONS, Administrative Law Judge.

This case’ was tried in Houston Texas on June 5 - 21,

1995 and October 17 and 18, 1995.7 Based upon charges

filed by the predecessor of Texas-Oklahoma-Arkansas District

Council - UNITE (hereinafter Union), Complaint and Notice

of Hearing issued on March 21, 1995 and an Amended

Complaint issued on May 5, 1995. The Complaints allege that

USA Polymer Corp. (hereinafter Respondent or Company)

engaged in conduct in violation of Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of

the National Labor Relations Act (hereinafter Act).

Subsequent to the closing of the record in Case 16-CA-17189

on June 21, 1995, additional charges were filed by the Union

' The Charging Party in Case 16-CA-17189 was Texas-

Oklahoma-Arkansas District Council, ILGWU, a/w International

Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union. On July 1, 1995, this Union

merged with the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union

to form a new union known an Union of Needle Trades, Industrial

and Textile Employees (UNITE).

2 All dates in the months of September,—October,

November and December are in 1994 unless otherwise noted. All

dates in the months of January, February, March, April, May,

June, July, and August are in 1995 unless otherwise noted.

39a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

against Respondent and a Complaint issued in Case 16-CA-

17455 alleging that Respondent has engaged in further

conduct in violation of Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act and

additionally, has violated Section 8(a)(4) of the Act. General

Counsel in these proceedings filed a Motion to Reopen the

Record in Case 16-CA-17189 and Consolidate it with Case

16-CA-17455, alleging that the matters involved in the new

case are intimately related to matters already litigated. There

was no Opposition to this Motion and it was granted. Hearing »

on the Consolidated Complaint was held October 17 and 18,

1995.

Based upon the entire record, including my

observation of the demeanor of the witnesses, and after

consideration of the briefs filed by the parties, I make the

following

Findings of Fact

I. Jurisdiction

Respondent, a corporation, engages in the recycling of

plastic material for commercial sale at its office and place of

business in Houston, Texas. It admits in its Answer to the

Complaints and I find, that at all material times it has been an

employer engaged in commerce within the meaning of Section

2(2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

II. The Involved Labor Organization

It is admitted and I find that the Union is a labor

organization within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the Act.

40a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

III. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practices

A. Background and Issues for Determination

Respondent is a wholly owned subsidiary of Z. L.

Star, a holding company which owns a number of other

enterprises including a company called Polytex Fibers. In

1992, Respondent was created from a division of Polytex

Fibers and became an independent company. The officers and

supervisors of Respondent are: Isaac Bazbaz, President of Z.

L. Star, John Bazbaz, President of Respondent, Javier

Guerrero, Assistant to John Bazbaz, Luis Mendoza, Plant

Manager, and Fernando Molina, Sergio Palacios, German

Robles, Cesar Portillo, Israel Zepeda and Augustine Garcia,

plant supervisors.’ During most of the time frame, January

1994 through January 1995, it employed about 60-65 non-

supervisory employees engaged in various aspects of

recycling plastic materials. The Company recycles high-

density polyethylene and polypropylene. In its polyethylene

production, it recycles post-consumer polyethylene resin,

which is derived from, inter alia, milk jugs and detergent

bottles. The raw material for recycling is purchased in bales

then washed, blended, ground and extruded or pelletized to

make a finished product. The pelletized recycled plastic is

then sold to other companies which use the product in the

> The names of various persons involved in this proceeding

are spelled differently in various parts of the transcript and in the

pleadings and briefs. I have adopted one spelling for each person

and have stuck with the spelling throughout this decision. If the

spelling I have adopted is not the correct one, I apologize the

person whose name is misspelled.

4la

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

manufacture of new containers and other products. In its

process the Respondent uses a number of machines, including

washers, grinders and extruder/pelletizers. Its polypropylene

process utilizes raw materials obtained from commercial

sources and is not dependent upon consumer recycling.

Employees who work on the washers, blenders, grinders and

the extruder are called operators and helpers. The Company

also employs forklift operators, and a lab technician. Prior to

a layoff which occurred in late January it employed

electricians and mechanics who performed most electrical and

mechanical maintenance duties at the plant. Subsequent to the

layoff these duties have been subcontracted. In the event a

representation election were to be held, the unit would likely

include the operators, helpers, forklift drivers electricians,

and mechanics.

The Union's involvement with Respondent began in

the last part of September, when a Houston man with

connections with a number of unions, Andres Reyes Garza,

received a call from an employee of Respondent, Luis Castro,

who expressed interest among the employees of Respondent

in having union representation. Garza passed the message on

to the Union and was employed as an assistant organizer and

was given clearance to continue talking to the employees. The

Union embarked on a formal organizing campaign in the early

part of October. The Union also assigned one of its full-time

organizers, Ricardo Medrano, to work on organizing

Respondent's employees. With the help of some interested

employees, the organizers secured the names, addresses and

phone numbers of the other employees. They began a study

of Respondent's business, looking at its ownership,

management, competition and customers. They also looked

into the wage and benefit structure and at plant working

42a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

conditions. House calls on employees were conducted and

meetings with employees held in October, November and

December. Interest in representation was high and in January

the Union established an employee organizing committee The

ten members of this committee were Lucio Aviles, Alejandro

Blasio, Rodolfo Bocanegra, Edgar Carrera, Luis Castro,

Javier Garcia, Jose Giron, Guadalupe Leal, Luis Martines,

Pedro Molgar, Nery Mendoza, Miguel Molina, Manuel

Perez, Felix Palacios, Mario Perez, Miguel Lancan Perez,

Marco Posadas, Jose A. Rosales and William Rosales.

On January 7, the Union sent to Respondent a letter by

certified mail in which it noted the names of employees on the

organizing committee. Copies of the letter were given to

everyone on the committee and perhaps other employees.

John Bazbaz testified that the Respondent did not receive this

letter, testifying that it did not get the signature card which

accompanies certified mail. I do not credit this testimony.

Instead I find that it refused to accept the letter. The envelope

in which the letter was sent shows that the Post Office made

at least two attempts to deliver it. Company mail is received

by Polytex Fibers, which sends it to USA Polymer. Bazbaz

testified that Respondent was advised by counsel on or about

February 3, 1995 not to accept certified mail from the Union

to avoid a recognition request based on a card majority. I

believe and find that assuming such counsel was given, it was

given at the time of the first certified letter from the Union,

whose name prominently is shown on the envelope. As will

be discussed in connection with various of the alleged

violations of the Act, Respondent had knowledge of the

organizing campaign prior to January.

43a 2

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

During the first three weeks of January, the Union

secured signed authorization cards from about 58 or 59 of the

64 employees of Respondent who would be in the bargaining

unit. Then, beginning January 27, the Respondent laid off

about 29 of its employees. The General Counsel contends that

the layoff was aimed at stifling the Union organizing effort

and was the culmination of a number of threats and

intimidating conversations the Respondent's supervisors had

directed at employees during the campaign. Accordingly

General Counsel argues alternatively that the layoff itself was

unlawful, or if economic justification existed for the layoff,

the selection of employees to be laid off was discriminatory

and unlawful.* Respondent contends otherwise. It asserts that

it had no knowledge of any organizing activity until after the

layoff. Several witnesses characterized the campaign as a

quiet one, but would not agree that it was a secret campaign.

The employees did not wear union buttons or other union

insignia during the campaign, having been told by organizer

Garza that they would be fired by the Employer if they wore

them. Respondent contends that the layoff was economically

motivated. John Bazbaz testified that with the exception of

two months in 1994, the Company has not been profitable

during its existence. According to Bazbaz, Respondent had to

undertake some action to cure the economic problem, and that

* All of the employees laid off were employees who had

signed Union authorization cards prior to the layoff. Only five non-

supervisory employees did not sign authorization cards. These

employees were Hugo Barrera, Manuel Medrano, Antonio Suarez,

Abraham Tobar and Jose El Cid. All of these employees with the

exception of El Cid are still employed by Respondent. These five

employees were also unaffected in the July, 1995, layoff.

44a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

resulted in a layoff. According to the brothers Bazbaz, the

decision to make the layoff was made in the first couple of

weeks of January, 1995. Though the evidence regarding how

the number of employees to be laid off was derived is

somewhat conflicting, at least one formula suggested was that

they decided to reduce the Company's operating time by 30

percent. At the time of the layoff, the Company had about 64

non supervisory employees It laid off 29 or about 45 percent

of such employees.

After the layoff, some of the employees came to the

Union office and informed the Union that they had been laid

off. The Union then investigated to determine the reasons for

the layoff and found that the remaining employees were

fearful and would not talk to its representatives or return their

phone calls. At least three Union meetings were held after the

layoff and with the exception of a handful of current

employees of Respondent, were primarily attended by laid off

employees. The involved Union organizers were told by

present employees that the layoff had instilled fear in their

fellow workers. Since the layoff the Union has been unable to

get any additional employees to sign cards. The organizers

each testified that they had never before encountered a

campaign where almost half of the workforce was laid off

during an organizing campaign. Following the layoff, the

Union filed charges with the Board which resulted in the

issuance of the first Complaint.

The first Complaint alleges that at various times during

the campaign, certain of Respondent's supervisors committed

violations of Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act, primarily in

conversations with employees. Additionally, it alleges that the

layoff of about half of the employees in January 1995 was

45a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

discriminatorily motivated and violated Section 8(a)(3) of the

Act. Following the first hearing in this matter, held in June,

1995, a second Complaint was issued, the two Complaints

were consolidated and the new allegations were litigated at a

hearing held in October, 1995. The second Complaint alleges

that following the first hearing herein, the Respondent

committed certain Acts in violation of Section 8(a)(1), (3) and

(4) of the Act, including threatening employees, reducing

overtime to certain employees and laying off ten additional

employees in July, 1995. Respondent denies all allegations

that it committed the unfair labor practices alleged and asserts

that the second layoff was the result of a decision to cease its

polyethylene production for economic reasons. Respondent

admitted the supervisory status of Issac Bazbaz, President of

Z. L. Star, John Bazbaz, President of Respondent, Javier

Guerrero, Assistant to John Bazbaz, Luis Mendoza, Plant

Manager, and Fernando Molina, Sergio Palacios, German

Robles, Israel Zepeda, Cesar Portillo and Augustine Garcia,

plant supervisors. However it denies supervisory or agency

status of a consultant named Carlos Hallatt and asserts that

one of the alleged discriminatees, Lucio Aviles was a

supervisor and not a rank and file employee. Respondent

further contends that one employee, Montes De Oca, was a

guard and not a production employee. These issues with

respect to the status of Hallatt, Aviles and De Oca will be

resolved below before making- findings with respect to the

alleged unfair labor practices.

46a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

B. The Supervisory Status of Lucio Aviles and Carlos

Hallatt and that of Montes De Oca as a Guard.

1. Was Lucio Aviles a Supervisor?

Lucio Aviles was one of the first employees of

Respondent, having been employed by it at its inception.

Aviles had previously been employed by Polytex Fibers and

transferred to Respondent when it was formed. He performed

electrical maintenance and electrical installation work for

Respondent and also performed similar work on occasion for

his previous employer Polytex Fibers and other of the Z.L.

Star companies. He was active in the campaign and was one

of the employee organizing committee members. He was one

of the employees laid off on January 27 and is alleged to be

a discriminatee. Respondent takes the position that he was a

supervisor with the Company because, according to John

Bazbaz, Aviles directed other electrical employees' activities.

Bazbaz also testified that Aviles also planned installations,

including deciding what materials were needed and then

having the people under him perform the work. Bazbaz was

able however to remember only one employee by name that

Aviles ever supervised, a Miguel Perez, and could remember

no specific jobs that Aviles had purportedly supervised.

Bazbaz also admitted that no one can order materials without

either his approval or that of his brother Isaac Bazbaz.

Aviles testified that he was an employee and was

supervised by Carlos Hallatt. Hallatt is employed, according

to Bazbaz, as an independent consultant to help solve critical

maintenance problems and also to build and modify

equipment. Bazbaz also admitted that Hallatt advised Aviles

on a daily basis about what needed to be done as it related to

47a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

electrical matters. Bazbaz testified that he advised Aviles of

his supervisory status at the time he began working for

Respondent, adding that he told Aviles that he was to

supervise the people hired to work under him, to train these

workers and direct them. He contends he gave Aviles the

power to suggest that employees be fired and the authority to

request that employees be hired and approve the hiring

According to Bazbaz, Aviles could request of him that

overtime be approved and could recommend wage increases

for employees working under him. The record contains no

concrete examples of any exercise of any of these alleged

powers by Aviles.

Aviles considers Hallatt to be his supervisor because

he instructed him on a daily basis concerning what was to be

done that day. Additionally, John Bazbaz told him when

Hallatt was hired that he was his supervisor. Bazbaz did not

tell him that Hallatt was a consultant and not an employee of

Respondent. Aviles denied that any one ever told him he was

a supervisor. In this regard he related a conversation he had

with John Bazbaz and Hallatt in November. Aviles had a

meeting with the two and complained to them about a

deduction from his pay. Bazbaz told him it was a punishment

for failing to answer his beeper. Bazbaz agreed that the

deduction would cease after the pay period. Aviles salary had

been increased because he performed work for other Z. L.

Star companies. Super Bag and Polytex Fibers. Hallatt then

said that they wanted him to be a supervisor. Aviles said he

did not want that position and refused to accept it. Hallatt then

asked if he would be a lead man. Aviles said he did not want

that either, he just wanted to continue doing his job. Bazbaz

and Hallatt agreed to honor Aviles' wishes. Aviles denied he

48a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

had any of the indicia of a statutory supervisor. Support for

this position can be found in the testimony of Luis Martines.

Luis Napoleon Martines was employed as an

electrician by Respondent in August 1994 and worked with

Aviles. He testified that his supervisor was Carlos Hailatt. He

was not told that Aviles was a supervisor. Hallatt told him

when he was hired that he would be an electrician and work

for him. Not only did Aviles not supervise his work, he

occasionally told Aviles how to perform some electrician's

duties, telling Aviles what to do and how to do it.

Further support for finding Aviles not to be a

supervisor can be found from two other sources. First,

Respondent uses accounting codes for its various departments,

assigning the 900 code series to supervisors Aviles was

assigned a 700 code, the one for the maintenance department.

Second, both Bazbaz and his assistant Javier Guerrero gave

some rather unbelievable testimony regarding Aviles.

Although Aviles was a long time employee and had been

given two raises in the Fall of 1994, both Bazbaz and

Guerrero called Aviles slow, undependable and incapable of

performing electrical tasks that needed doing. This testimony

came in defense of the decision to layoff Aviles and thereafter

permanently eliminate the position of electrician at the

Company. Respondent now contracts for electrical work that

Guerrero cannot perform himself. This wholly unnecessary

and unbelievable attack on Aviles competency belies much of

their testimony about him and his position with the Company.

Guerrero also testified in another context that no supervisor

was laid off in the January layoff. This testimony also belies

Respondent's position that Aviles was a supervisor.

49a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Based on the credible evidence adduced and

specifically crediting the testimony of Aviles over that of

Guerrero and Bazbaz, I find that Aviles was simply an

electrician and not a supervisor. As noted above, there is no

evidence to support supervisory status except for the

testimony of Bazbaz and Guerrero to the effect that Aviles

was a supervisor and there is clear evidence that he was not.

I do not credit the testimony that he possessed supervisory

powers as no example of the exercise of such power was

given and the evidence supplied by Luis Martines refutes such

a contention. I also credit Aviles testimony about his

conversation in November with Bazbaz and Hallatt that

clearly shows that he was not a supervisor.

2. Was Carlos Hallatt a Supervisor or Agent?

Carlos Hallatt has been employed for eightcen years

as a consultant by Instalaciones Anahuac, of Mexico City and

is assigned by that company to provide service to Respondent

pursuant to a consulting agreement. This assignment began

about January 1994 and continues to date. Respondent pays

$ 2000 per week, plus about $ 2000 a month in expenses for

Hallatt's services. Hallatt calls himself an industrial technician

and gives advice and direction for layouts and maintenance of

the entire recycling system operated by Respondent. He has

known the Bazbaz family for about 20 years and has

previously done consulting work for them at companies they

have owned in Mexico.

Hallatt did not deny the assertions made by Aviles and

Martines that they were told that he was their supervisor and

that he supervised their activity. Thus he does possess one of

the criteria for determining supervisory status, that of

50a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

independently directing the work of other employees. The

only reason that this matter is an issue is whether a

conversation Hallatt had with Aviles on January 27 can be

attributed to the Respondent. Because Hallatt was introduced

to Aviles as his supervisor, I believe that Respondent cloaked

him with authority to speak on behalf of management and

thus, I find that Hallatt is at least an agent of Respondent

within the meaning of the Act.

3. Was Montes de Oca a Guard?

Bethuel Montes de Oca Mendoza worked for three

years for Respondent until he was laid off in January. He

testified that in the last part of 1994 and the first part of 1995,

he worked on conveyors, feeding raw material into the

grinders. An affidavit given to the Board by the witness

states: "I would say as of September 1994, I worked guarding

the door and checking on the parking lot and taking care of

the dogs only." When asked repeatedly what he did after

September 1994, Montes de Oca could not remember. He did

not carry the employee code carried by most of the other

employees who worked in the recycling process. The only

other employee I could find who had the same code as Montes

de Oca and who testified was a packer. In support of

Respondent's position on this matter is the fact that after

Montes de Oca was laid off, it employed a independent

security agency to provide a guard.

I find that the evidence adduced with respect to the

Status of Montes de Oca is inconclusive on the issue of

whether he is a guard. Clearly he was a production employee

for several years. Thus for the purposes of this decision, I

find that he was a production employee who apparently

Sla

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

performed some functions that might be classified as those of

a guard. I find that he should be treated the same as the other

production employees laid off by Respondent.

C. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practices Committed by

Supervisors Prior to the January 27 Layoff.

As noted earlier, the Complaint alleges that a number

of Respondent's admitted supervisors engaged in

conversations with employees prior to the January 27 layoff

in which the employees were interrogated about their union

activity, the union activity of fellow employees and were

threatened with a variety of reprisals for engaging in such

protected activity. The allegations, if established, also

demonstrate Respondent's knowledge of the organizing

campaign almost from its inception. Specifically the

Complaint alleges that Respondent violated the Act by:

7. Supervisor Augustine Garcia:°

(a) In mid-December, interrogating

employees concerning their union activities.

(b) About January 25, interrogating

employees concerning their union activities.

(c) About January 27, telling

employees that they had been laid off because

of their union activities.

> The paragraph numbers used in this section relate to the

paragraph numbers in the Complaint.

52a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

(d) About January 27, telling

employees that fellow employees were laid off

because of their union activities.

(e) In early January: interrogating

employees concerning the union activities of

fellow employees

(f) In early December: interrogating

employees concerning the union activity of

fellow employees

(g) In early December, threatening

employees with discharge if they supported the

Union.

8. Supervisor Javier Guerrero.

(a) In late November, questioning

employees as to whether they were going to

continue to pass out union material.

(b) About January 27, told employees

that the time they were on layoff status would

give them the opportunity to consider their

involvement with the Union.

-_(c) About February 2, told employees

that their layoffs were because they were

involved with the Union

(d) Supervisor Javier Guerrero, about

July 7, telling employees that they had been

selected for layoff because of their — for

the Union.

53a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

9. Supervisor Fernando Molina:

(a) About December 15, and at various —

times thereafter, interrogating employees

concerning their involvement with the Union.

(b) About December 15, threatening

employees with discharge for engaging in

activities on behalf of the Union.

10. Supervisor Sergio Palacios:

(a) About January 5, interrogated

employees concerning the involvement of

fellow employees in the Union.

(b) About January 27 advising

employees that had they identified the Union

supporters to him, they would not have been

laid off.

(c) About January 24, denying an

employee assistance because he was believed

to be a union supporter.

11. Supervisor Herman Robles:

(a) In November, interrogating

employees concerning their union activities.

(b) In November, _ threatening

employees by stating that if they were involved

with the Union, they would be fired.

54a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

12. Supervisor Caesar Portillo:

(a) About mid-December, threatening

employees with more onerous working

conditions if they would not tell Respondent

who was active on behalf of the Union.

(b) In mid December, threatening

employees with discharge if Respondent

discovered who was supporting the Union.

(c) In mid-December; threatening

employees with physical harm if Respondent

discovered that they were distributing Union

literature.

(d) About January 7, threatening

“employees with discharge if Respondent

discovered that they were involved with the

Union.

(e) About January 7, telling employees

that if they did not like the way things were at

Respondent they should look for another job.

(f) About January 7, interrogating

employees as to their union activities.

(g) About January 13, interrogating

employees concerning their union activities.

(h) About January 13, threatening

employees that if they did not like how things

were going at Respondent, they should quit.

(i) About January 20, threatening

employees with discharge because their names

had been sent in a Union letter to the

Company.

Gj) About January 20, threatening

employees that if Respondent discovered that

55a

aeeiiiiniiaaieimes =

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

they were active on behalf of the Union, they

would be fired.

(k) About January 20 offering

employees a bonus if they would disclose the

identity of union adherents.

(1) About January 24, threatening

employees with discharge if they continued

their involvement with the Union.

(m) About January 24, creating the

impression of surveillance by _ telling

employees that Respondent knew that they had

attended Union meetings. .

(n) About January 23, interrogating

employees concerning the union activity of

fellow employees.

(o) About January 25, threatening

employees with discharge if they supported the

Union.

Hereinafter, the evidence adduced with respect to the

alleged pre-layoff violations by supervisors will be discussed

under subheadings for each involved supervisor. A number of

conversations with or interrogations and threats by

supervisors that are not specified in the Complaint were

testified about by the employee witnesses. Those

conversations or interrogations which occurred before the

January 27 layoff will be considered on their merits as

Respondent's defense to these is simply that no conversations |

about the Union between management and employees could |

have occurred before the layoff as Respondent denies any |

knowledge of the Union campaign until after the layoff.

Under these circumstances, Respondent would not be denied

due process as no investigation of these conversations is

OP eect ee Ce ee Pe ee Pee eee

56a .

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

necessary. On the other hand, with one exception,

conversations which are not alleged to be unlawful in the

Complaint occurring after January described by the employee

witnesses will not be considered on the merits as Respondent

Was not given the opportunity to investigate the circumstances

of these alleged conversations.

Supervisor Augustine Garcia

Supervisor Augustine Garcia, asked employee

Guadalupe Leal if he was in the union movement while he

was working in December. Lea said that he was. Garcia said

that he was not interested in the union.°

Hugo Benavides, began working for Respondent in

September 1994 as a grinding machine operator. About the

middle of December 1994, supervisor Augustine Garcia spoke

to him while he was working. Garcia asked him if he was in

the Union. Benavides replied that he was in the process of

getting in the Union.’

In the latter part of January, supervisor Garcia

approached employee Nelson Chajon white he and Lucio

Aviles were discussing the Union. Aviles left and Garcia-

asked him what they were saying about the Union. Chajon did

° This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 7(a),

above.

” This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 7(a),

above.

57a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

not answer and Garcia asked why he did not want to tell him.

Garcia left at this point.’

On January 25, supervisor Garcia asked forklift

operator Manuel Perez at work, if he was attending Union

meetings and Perez answered that he was not. Perez had

attended such meetings, but feared he would be fired if he

admitted it.’

On January 27, electrical employee Luis Martines had

a conversation with supervisor Garcia. Garcia told him, "Do

you realize what happens to the suckers -- al! the stupid guys

that are involved with the union? We kicked out the first

sucker and you wait and see what is going to happen to the

others." The witness responded, "We were going to get fired

because we were fighting against injustice?" According to the

witness, Garcia said, "We kicked out -- we fired that shit,

Jose Rosales, and we are going to continue with all the

others." Garcia told him to wait, that they were going to see

what was going to happen to them.'°

Martines also testified that in about November, he

spoke with supervisor Garcia while working at his job. Garcia

approached him and said, "Aww, you know, quit this cock-

8 This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 7(b),

9 This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 7(b),

above.

0 This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 7(c) and

(d), above.

58a

PDN Sense Aha AB ite tisk SACI tA a3 Mail ia a RS eC aR

Wass Aa eat 2 MRS Dante

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

sucking maneuver or act. Quit this nonsense - stupid things.

John Bazbaz, Javier Guerrero already know that you are the

leader of this movement." The witness added that Garcia also

told him to stop his involvement with the Union, because

Bazbaz fired employees who tried to get the Union in. Garcia

added that he knew that Martines was the leader of the

movement and that Lucio Aviles was the second in command.

Garcia then asked who were the other Union supporters and

when they were going on strike. The witness did not answer.

Garcia then told him that the boss was not going to rest until

he saw they were out of a job and that the employees were

going to be sorry for organizing the Union. !!

Employee Pedro Molgar testified that around January

30, he asked supervisor Garcia why the employees had been

laid off. Garcia told him they were laid off because of the

problem they were causing the Company, identifying the

Union as the problem.”

Supervisor Javier Guerrero

On January 27, Guerrero told Castro and another

employee, Hugo Benavides they were being laid off because

‘| This testimony relates to Complaint allegations 7(a),

and or 7(f) and (g), above.

'? I believe the correct date for this conversation was

January 27, the date of the layoff. Molgar was not laid off until

January 30. It was pointed out that in his affidavit to the Board,

Molgar did not say that Garcia identified the Union as the problem

causing the layoff. This testimony relates to Complaint allegation

7(d) above.

59a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

of a lack of material. Castro told him that the real reason for

the layoffs was the Union. Guerrero responded by saying it is

the policy or politics of John Bazbaz. Guerrero suggested that

it he wanted to talk further to call his lawyer. Castro asked

why and Guerrero told him "Because you are going to need

it." Guerrero then laughed at him. Castro said this was not a

joke and Guerrero said, "Take it as you wish."

Later that day, Castro encountered Supervisor Portillo,

who said, "It has happened." Castro asked, "What are you

talking about?" Portillo answered, "You got fired." Castro

said, "You already knew." Portillo responded, "Yes." Castro

said, "Thank you for your good help."

At a later point on the 27th, Guerrero went to Castro

at the densifier where Castro was speaking with some other

employees. He was accompanied by a security guard.

Guerrero threatened the employees, saying, "Quit talking

about that union. See what happened to (Castro). This could

happen to you, too. If you don't leave, I am going to kick you

out." Castro left.’

Employee Montes de Oca related a conversation he

had in early 1995 with supervisor Javier Guerrero. He was

waiting to give another employee some authorization cards to

distribute. Guerrero asked him. "What the fuck are you doing

' This threat is not alleged in the Complaint, but is

credited in any event for the reasons set forth later in this section.

60a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

with those cards?" Guerrero then told him that if he continued

to distribute the cards, he would fire him."

Lucio Aviles testified that around the beginning of

January, 1995, while repairing an electrical problem with a

fellow employee, Luis Martines, supervisor Javier Guerrero

approached them angrily and put his hands on the panel that

Aviles and Martines were working on Aviles told him to calm

down. Guerrero raised his hands in an agitated way and told

Aviles to "quit the cocksucking attitude, because that is what

you are. And that is what you are doing with the union."

Electrical employee Martines also remembered this

occasion. He testified that Guerrero approached them in an

angry manner and asked, "What the fuck we were doing

there?" They were performing electrical work on a panel.

Guerrero tried to close and open the doors of the panel and

Aviles told him to be careful because they had not finished

repairing the panel. They had cut the electricity to the panel

while they were repairing it. Guerrero said to "Quit all this

shit. You (referring to Aviles) and those of the union will

suck my prick. These are just cocksucking things." According

to Martines, Guerrero was furious and he began to roll up the

Sleeves of his shirt and gestured at Aviles. The witness saw

that Guerrero was angry and told Aviles to leave. He testified

that Hallatt was observing this incident but did nothing.'°

14

This testimony is related to Complaint allegation 8(a),

above.

> This testimony was not alleged to be a violation of the

Act in the Complaint. However, for the reasons set forth later in

this section, I credit the testimony and find that Guerrero did

6la

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

Luis Martines testified that on January 27, he was told

to report to Guerrero.

Guerrero told him to sign a paper, but hid what the

paper said. The witness said he could not sign without

knowing what he was signing. According to Martines,

Guerrero said, "I want to tell you the truth. This is a policy

of John Bazbaz to fire all those from the union. This is why

we are going to give lay-off to all of them."The witness asked

why all the employees were being laid off when there was so

much work to be done. Guerrero replied, "That is the boss'

policy.'°

te i en

Alejandro Blasio learned he was being laid off on

January 27 when he arrived for work about 3:00 pm. A

supervisor, Fernando Molina told him to punch his timecard

and report to Javier Guerrero. When he did so he met with

Guerrero in the company of almost all of the employees on

his shift, including Edgar Carrera, Jose Giron, and Nery

Mendoza. In all about eight to ten employees were at this

meeting. The witness described the meeting thusly: "Javier

Guerrero was behind his desk. Everybody else was around

him. I arrived; I was one of the last ones. I went in. He gave

me an envelope, and he told me, 'We are giving you layoff

because of a lack of work.' Guerrero gave him a letter. I

opened the envelope. And Javier Guerrero told me, ‘Sign the

copy, give it to me, and keep the original.' And I said, Why

is this? He said, ‘Because there is no work, and so we are

de heli Cad: Ata Nltslag Blatt Jerteip

POOR A er OAD 66 Mi er thar, ae

threaten Aviles and Martinez in violation of the Act.

'© This testimony relates to Complaint allegation 8(c),

above.

62a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

going to have a temporary personnel reduction.’ And then at

that time my workmate, Jose Giron, asked Javier Guerrero,

Javier, why are they laying off or letting go everyone whose

name appears on the letter of the organizing committee that

the union sent to the company?’ Javier Guerrero told him,

‘That is not true, because Nery Mendoza's name does not

appear.’ And he pointed to another person whose name I

don't recall, and he said that that person's name did not

appear, either." "I told Javier Guerrero, ‘Listen, what are we

going to do?' He said, ‘How is it possible that you are

complaining to me if you are going to get pay for not

working? Besides, you are going to have time to think about

what you are doing.' And later on he said, 'This is nothing

personal. | just take orders. But I want to give you an advice:

Look well who is guiding you.""”

On January 27, 1995, Nery Mendoza was laid off by

Guerrero in the same meeting as was Jose Giron and Luis

Martines. According to Mendoza, in this meeting Guerrero

Said they were being temporarily laid off at the direction of

those above him. Jose Giron, who was also being laid off

asked him why he was firing those employees who were on

the list of Union supporters. Javier Guerrero said, "I don't

remember what list are you talking about.” Jose Giron said,

"The list that the union sent to you." Guerrero responded, "I

don't remember. Perhaps it didn't get here; wasn't delivered

” Luis Martinez went back to the plant to pick up his final

paycheck on January 30 or 31. He got the check and went to the

parking lot with some other laid off employees. According to

Martinez, Bazbaz came out and told a security guard to get the men

out of the lot, he did not want to see them on his property.

63a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

by the mail. I haven't seen it. Besides, Nery and Mauro are

not on the list.""*

Mario Perez was laid off on January 27 in a meeting

held by Guerrero with the witness and fellow employees

Edgar Carrera, Nery Mendoza, Mauro Moran, and Jose

Giron. Guerrero told them that they were being temporarily

laid off because of economic reasons and would be recalled if

the situation resolved itself. Giron asked if they were being

laid off because of the list of Union [supporters], and

Guerrero answered that he did not know anything about the

Union. He then commented that Nery and Mauro were not on

the list.

Jose Giron was laid off in a meeting with Guerrero

and fellow employees Mario Perez, Nery Mendoza, Edgar

Carrera, Alejandro Blasio, and Mauro Moran. Guerrero told

the employees they were being laid off because of lack of raw

materials. The witness asked Guerrero why they were letting

go only those who appeared on the list of the organizing

committee of the union. Guerrero named two employees

being laid off and noted they were not on the list. These two

employees were Nery Mendoza and Mauro Moran. Guerrero

added that he knew nothing about the Union.

Lucio Aviles went back to the plant two days after the

layoff and asked Guerrero for work. Guerrero told him that

he did not know, but that a lot of high density material had

arrived. He added that he would have to wait until Bazbaz

'8 The testimony in the preceding three paragraphs relates

to Complaint allegation 8(b) above.

64a

Che AR ate P< a an Sam set

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

arrived to see what he had planned. Aviles then started to

leave and Guerrero said, "You see what you got for being

involved with the union?"!?

Supervisor Fernando Molina

Felix Jovel Palacios was employed by Respondent

until he was laid off and was supervised by Sergio Palacios.

In the last part of 1994 and the first part of 1995, he was

asked by supervisors what was going on about the Union and

he would tell them he did not know. One of these supervisors,

Fernando Molina, around the beginning of December 1994,

asked him what was going on and the witness said he did not

know.”

Employee Leonel Campoverde worked for Respondent

for three years, until he was laid off in January 1995. His

Supervisor was Fernando Molina. Campoverde testified about

a conversation he had in the Company dining room with

Molina together with fellow employee Marco Posadas and

two others. According to Campoverde, Molina said: "if we

were going to think about the union -- belong to the union, for

us to do it well because otherwise they were -- we were going

9 This testimony related to Complaint allegation 8(c)

above.

20

above.

This testimony related to Complaint allegation 9(a),

65a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

to fuck up.” Molina indicated in this conversation that he

knew the four employees were Union supporters.”

Supervisor Sergio Palacios

Lucio Aviles testified that on January 27, he and

fellow employee Luis Martines were approached by

supervisor Palacios who told them that he had seen a list

possessed by Javier Guerrero that contained the names of

employees who were going to be fired because of their

support for the Union.”

Supervisor German Robles

Employee Nelson Rodriquez testified that the day

before he was laid off, Robles asked him if he had signed a

paper for the Union, adding that if he had he would be fired.”

About a month after the layoffs occurred, Juan Torres,

a current employee, had a conversation with supervisor

Herman Robles. Robles told him that "[the] union was for

lazy people and that I was going to be sorry being there -- that

2! This testimony related to Complaint allegation 9(a) and

(b), above.

22 ‘There was no testimony elicited in the hearing

supporting the Complaint allegations regarding Palacios prior other

than those relating to events in June, 1995. | however credit and

rely on the testimony of Aviles set out above to establish a violation

of Section 8(a)(1).

3 This testimony related to Complaint allegations 11(a)

and (b) above, though the dates are not the same.

66a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

I was going to regret being there, that the union was going to

take away half of my check." The witness testified that Robles

asked him if he were in the Union.”

Rudolfo Bocanegra began working for Respondent in

November 1994, and was employed in packing. His

supervisor, Herman Robles, spoke to him about the Union on

or about January 25, 1995. Robles told him that he knew that

the witness and another worker, Camilio Ramirez, were in the

union and that they were going to fire them.~

In November, Nicolas Chajon, a densifier operator,

was working at his machine when supervisor Herman Robles

came to him. Robles asked him if he belonged to a union.

Before Chajon answered, Robles said that he knew Chajon

belonged to the union. Robles continued by telling Chajon

that the Union was a waste of time and what Chajon was

going to get was fired. Chajon countered that the Union was

** There is no Complaint allegation to support this alleged

interrogation and as it allegedly occurred after Robles admittedly

gained knowiedge of the Union campaign is in a different posture

from those interrogations taking place before January 27. For this

reason and because it is cumulative of other similar interrogations,

I will not base a finding of a violation on the testimony.

*S This alleged threat is not contained in the Complaint,

but is relied upon to find a violation of Section 8(a)(1) because it

occurred prior to the January layoffs and is closely related to other

similar threats made by supervisors.

67a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

the benefit of all employees. Robles said, "Then you belong

to the Union."”

Supervisor Cesar Portillo

Mario Perez began working for Respondent in

December of 1993 and was employed as an extruder operator.

His supervisor was Cesar Portillo. The witness was a member

of the organizing committee. In the last part of November,

1994, Perez was approached in the Company dining room by

supervisor Portillo. The witness and some fellow employees

asked Portillo why the Company had discharged another

employee. Portillo said that the employee had been absent

without calling one day and was discharged for that. The

witness then asked why the Company did not call the

employees on days they have no work for them rather than

having the employees come to work and then be sent home.

Portillo responded that he was not interested, even less

interested as he knew the employees were associated with the

Union.”’

Forklift operator Nery Mendoza testified that in mid

December, he was checking the oil in the forklift, when Cesar

Portillo arrived. Portillo told him to tell him who were the

leaders of the union. Portillo continued, "Because if you don't

26

This testimony related to Complaint Allegations 11(a) and (b)

above.

27 This threat is not alleged in the Complaint, but is

credited and a violation found based upon this testimony for reasons

set forth later in this section.

68a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

tell me who are the leaders or the bosses, I am going to get

you down from this shitty forklift and I am going to send you

back to the densifier so you can screw yourself like before. So

you think well about it, because it is going to affect your job."

Another employee, Alejandro Blasio was in the vicinity when

this conversation took place.”

Alejandro Blasio began working for Respondent on

November 7, 1994, having been hired by Javier Guerrero. He

was a densifier machine operator and was supervised by

Cesar Portillo. He described a conversation about the Union

he had with supervisor Portilla in January. He was working

at his machine and another employee Nery Mendoza was

nearby. He described the conversation: "On that occasion, I

was outside my machine. The supervisor, Cesar Portillo,

came by, and he told me that he already knew that I was

mixed with this thing of the union. And the worst thing was

that my name was on the list of the organizing committee.

And he was not a stupid guy, that everyone whose name

would be on the list that the organizing committee sent to the

union, we would be the first ones to be kicked out or let go to

the street. After that, he told me, ‘but if you want to

cooperate with us, it could be a bonus for you.’ He told me,

"Think about it.'"??

Mendoza also noted another instance of a threat by

Portillo. About the middle of December, supervisor Portillo

28

above.

This testimony related to Complaint allegation 12(a)

9 This testimony related to Complaint allegations 12(1),

(j), (k), (I) (m) and (n), above.

69a

NLRB Decision and Order - 8/24/99

approached Mendoza and fellow worker Edward Carrera.

Portillo asked Mendoza if he "knew who in the hell was

distributing papers of the union in that company." The witness

said he did not know. Portillo then threatened both men with

discharge if he learned they were distributing papers for the

Union inside the company.*”

Jose Americo Rosales began working for Respondent

in April, 1991 and worked as a washing machine operator

until he was laid off in January 1995. During the first week

of January, he had a conversation with supervisor Cesar

Portillo at the plant at 6:45 in the morning. Another worker,

Oscar Godines was present during the conversation. Rosales

testified that Portillo asked him if he were the head or the

boss of the union movement. Rosales told him that he did not

know why he was asking him that. Portillo responded "Don't

play the fool with me. That he already knew why he was

asking me that." Rosales then said t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.