Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brown v. Minnesota

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ouoOreme Corr ul Ss.

001339 FEB 202008

OFFICE OF

No. :

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 2000

JESSE LEE BROWN AND RONALD J. BERGERON

ON BEHALF OF THEMSELVES AND ALL OTHERS

SIMILARLY SITUATED,

Petitioners,

Vv.

STATE OF MINNESOTA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Anthony J. Nemo Hugh V. Plunkett II]

Counsel of Record Robert K. Shelquist

Ronald I. Meshbesher LOCKRIDGE GRINDAL

MESHBESHER & NAUN P.L.L.P.

SPENCE, LTD. 100 Washington Ave. South

1616 Park Avenue South Suite 2200

Minneapolis, MN 55404 Minneapolis, MN 55401-2179

(612) 339-9121 (612) 339-6900

John A. Cochrane

COCHRANE &

BRESNAHAN

24 East Fourth Street

St. Paul, MN 55101

(651) 298-1950

Attorneys for Petitioners

2001 — Bachman Legal Printing @ (612) 339-9518 @ 1-800-715-3532 @ Fax (612) 337-8053

IT.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER AN IMPERMISSIBLE TAKING OF

PROPERTY WITHOUT JUST COMPENSATION

OCCURS, IN VIOLATION OF THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION, WHEN A STATE UNILATERALLY

SETTLES FUTURE DAMAGES CLAIMS

BELONGING TO MEDICAID RECIPIENTS

WITHOUT NOTICE OR OPPORTUNITY. TO BE

HEARD AND WHERE THE STATE RETAINS THE

SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN DEROGATION OF

FEDERAL AND STATE STATUTES.

WHETHER DUE PROCESS IS VIOLATED WHEN A

STATE UNILATERALLY SETTLES FUTURE

DAMAGES CLAIMS BELONGING TO MEDICAID

RECIPIENTS WITHOUT NOTICE OR

OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD AND WHEN IT

RETAINS THE SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN

DEROGATION OF FEDERAL AND STATE

STATUTES.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW .

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND ORDINANCE

PROVISIONS

I.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THERE HAS BEEN AN IMPERMISSIBLE

TAKING OF PROPERTY WITHOUT JUST

COMPENSATION WHEN THE STATE OF

MINNESOTA UNILATERALLY SETTLED

FUTURE DAMAGES CLAIMS BELONGING

TO MEDICAID RECIPIENTS WITHOUT

NOTICE OR OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD

AND WHEN IT RETAINED THE

SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN

DEROGATION OF FEDERAL AND STATE

S A PUTTES «cisicccccessecuie cane aieecaiean inane

A. Petitioners Had A Property Interest In Their

Causes Of Action, In the Contract of

Assignment With The State, And In the

Administration Of Medicaid Benefits As

Set Fortis Bey SRW ss<caiscscorccsasannecmesbeteetasons

il

POORER EEE EEE HEE EEE EEE HEE ETH EEE HEHEHE HEHEHE EH E®

OORT EHH HEHEHE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EE EEE HEHEHE EEE HEHEHE He

PROPER EERE HEHEHE TEETH EEE EEE HEHEHE EEE EEE EEE SETHE HEHEHE HEHEHE HEHE Ee

SOOO H EEE EHH E®

eee eee eee eee eee

IT.

CONCLUSION

B. Petitioners’ Property Was Taken For Public

Use Without Compensation...............00000.......

DUE PROCESS IS VIOLATED WHEN A

STATE UNILATERALLY SETTLES

FUTURE DAMAGES CLAIMS BELONGING

TO MEDICAID RECIPIENTS WITHOUT

NOTICE OR OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD

AND WHEN IT RETAINS’ THE

SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN

DEROGATION OF FEDERAL AND STATE

oo ec gh SETS nO Oe

lil

25

Ys

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ............ 20, 25

Brown v. State, 617 N.W.2d 421 (Minn. Ct. App. 2000),

RE SE CIEE Bs sacsaisnanctantosastusenesehoants 13-15, 23, 24

Castano v. American Tobacco Co., Cir. No. 94-10445

(E.D. i UE Fg. Rs caniicna veces neninddadaalnaptaenthucnnnddldigiidd 8

Engle v. R.J. Revnolds Tobacco Co., Civ. No. 94-08273

CE Re FR ap cccscensrsrne icc neriencsoenmiameneaae 8

Federal Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Mallen, 486 U.S. 230

ET ssiccricichesicksodieinnconpashacneineniadaendiommenaianieauasbanaiaandstaien 25

Floyd v. Thompson, 227 F.3d 1029 ti Cir. 2000)........ 17, 24

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970)............... sews 17, 21

Great West Life & Annuity Ins. Co.. et al. v. Janette

eee IR SRS HID « jnicinintadencsiaccadsadiosblnsdnnininnsdbassivesates 16

Harrie vy McRae 448 U.S. 297 (1960) ....sccsesccsesassssnsanssonessace 3

Logan v. Zimmerman Brush Co., 455 U.S. 422 (1982) . 16, 20

Martin v. City of Rochester, 615 N.W.2d 867 (Minn.

App. 2000), review granted (Minn. Oct. 17, 2000)........... 6

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.

BE PIO acsosedecioncicosanaceigicincin te maciateasunintiasbal =z... 20

Olim v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238 (1983) ........c ee eeeeee 26

iv

Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 CRORE sien andehabvtseiiniagas 17, 21

Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U.S. 124 RUN inscchtetncntieuss 16, 20

Pumpelly v. Green Bay Co., 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 166

GEO FE J sncsinonsoninsdiataamaenales a ede 20

Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, 453 U.S. 34 ti | rete 4

State by Humphrey v. Philip Morris. Inc., 551 N.W.2d

TN RN, TI scisienccsinsic ce ee 9

State of California v. Superior Court, 83 Cal. App. 4"

597, 99 Cal. Rptr. 2d 735 (2000) .oeeceecccccecececscsosecececeeceen. 18

United States v. James Daniel Good Real Prop., 510 U.S.

RF CROP venisnceiscpsinsastaaonesin aaa ee 25

Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies. Inc. v. Beckwith, 449 U.S.

Be COPED scinsiecnaodencaunenaes Lal 20

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES:

42 U.S.C. § 1396-1396 Looeccecccccssessssesssscstecsecsseeeeeeseecccccce. 3

42 U.S.C. § 1396, et SeQ.....cesccecssesssssssesosesccsscsescoeseosccceccccc. 3

42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(25)(A), Ot S€Q. coececsececcesccsseceseeeeeecccccce. 4

42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(25)(B), Ct $€Q. coeeececceccceccseeceeeeeeseccc. 23

42 U.S.C. § 1396b(d) ...cseccesceescessssecssessssssssosseeseeceieceeccccccc. 9

42 U.S.C. § 1396k(a)(1)(A). cecececscccssecssesssesseeeeeeeceeccccc. 6,15

Vv

42 U.S.C. § 139GReLa 1 NC), Ot B00, ..ccccccrscssscssesecssscesccscscosess 4

42 U.S.C. § TSSGRED). ccicessscesccssscsensasssscencovsonesesetenestans 2, 4, 21

42 U.S.C. § 1FDSRLE AMO) .ncrrcccscrccesoccessreccecccssscasoosesonsssess 24

42 CBR. § SSS. TSG) ccccscsssccraccesssssshssnsstescumsvenvenssnmniaans 4

42 CER. § 453. TSOEG) ccccccssecececvsssconssscssntacensessnecssansennes 4,23

42 CBR. © 433 AGA vccescccssininceicessesansonsioasssicconennamaan 43

42 CBR. § 433. 1S0G6) ccrcescerecsssccocesecssisestvorststetetsstavanuenseanl 21

42 CBR. § 435.10 vccccscescsrssevinscesinntsnenemaaiamaneaias 4

Mian. Stat. § 25608 $. ...110c0sciescessssicsinsstaqnntensecsenbeemeananmaaanan 6

Mian. Stat. § ZSGB.B1 , GE BOG, wrcceseesccesvineegnvssinentsoccmsannns i

Diem. Stat. & SSG.OF1, GAG, F ccinerecececsssrcsiccsncssssssensiomnenn 7

Mian. Stat. § 25GE.O42, GGT ..csisssciicsserreenessecnsinnsneinessomnens 6

Min. Stat. § 25GB.G42, GUE. 2 vssccccsscoseccossenssrsecososepssausssbenes 7

Mian. Stat. § 25GB.042, Std, $ ..ccccsrcccccssessecsvessesssesonssesees re

Mian. Stat. § 256. BSG, SIDE, © scccccocsatisssioicemmacasebnnionn 15

Mian. Stat. § Z5GBR.3S7, SUE. 1D sececsssstesnnccersninisemenanal 6

Milan. Stat. § 25GS.37, GUNG, 2 cvccsntinisictcccanan 7

Minm. Seat. § 2SGB.S7, GUIG, S osscesserscnrscsoscrenernsssctesnmianin ye

vi

Minn. Stat. § 256D.01, et seq. o..eccccccccccccccscesececececeeeeen.. 3, 5,8

Pts COME, NN Yea cactcicdaccchnosecncercersssee as os a

U.S. Const. ammend. XIV ...........c:c:cscscecesesocececesesecoseeeeee......... ]

Vil

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Minnesota Court of Appeals is

reported at 617 N.W.2d 421 and reproduced in the Appendix

to this Petition at App. A-2 to A-14.' The Order denying a

petition for further review filed by the Minnesota Supreme

Court is reproduced at App. A-1. The Judgement of the

Hennepin County District Court, State of Minnesota- is

reproduced at App. A-15 to A-37.

JURISDICTION

The Minnesota Court of Appeals issued its opinion on

September 19, 2000. A Petition for Further Review of that

opinion was denied by the Minnesota Supreme Court on

November 21, 2000. This petition was timely filed within

ninety (90) days of the denial of the petition for further

review by the Minnesota Supreme Court. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (a).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND ORDINANCE

PROVISIONS

1. The due process clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, §

1, U.S. Constitution provides, in part:

Nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law...

2. The takings clause of the Fifth Amendment, U.S.

Constitution provides:

' All further references to the materials set-forth in the Appendix to

this Petition will be made by “App. A-[page no.].”

]

Nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.

3. The United States Code, 42 U.S.C. § 1396k(b) provides

in relevant part:

[After the State obtains full recovery] the remainder

of such amount collected shall be paid to such

individual [injured recipient).

4. Code of Federal Regulations, 42 C.F.R. § 433.154,

provides in relevant part:

[The State] must distribute collections as follows—(a)

To itself, an amount equal to State Medicaid

expenditures for the individual on whose right the

collection was based. (b) To the Federal

Government, the Federal share of the State Medicaid

expenditures.... (c) To the recipient, any remaining

amount.

5. The Minnesota Statutes, Minn. Stat. § 256B.37, subd. 4,

provides in relevant part:

Upon any judgment, award, or settlement of a cause

of action, or any part of it, upon which the State

Agency has a subrogation right...reasonable cost of

collection...must be deducted first. The full amount

of medical assistance paid to or on behalf of the

person as a result of the injury must be deducted next

and paid to the State Agency. The rest must be paid

to the medical assistance recipient or other plaintiff.

6. The Minnesota Statutes, Minn. Stat. § 256B.042, subd. 5,

provides in relevant part:

Upon any judgment, award, or settlement of a cause

of action, or any part of it, upon which the State

Agency has filed its lien...reasonable costs of

collection...must be deducted first, the full amount of

medical assistance paid to or on behalf of the person

as a result of their injury must be deducted next, and

paid to the State Agency. The rest must be paid to

the medical assistance recipient or other plaintiff.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case calls into question a state’s right to unilaterally

settle 70,000 Medicaid recipients’ medical damages claims

against the tobacco industry without following federal

statutory mandates to keep no more than the amount paid in

past medical expenses. Petitioners Jesse Lee Brown and

Ronald Bergeron are smokers who suffer from smoking-

related disease. At various times between January 1, 1978

and December 1, 1996, Petitioners received medical treatment

for their smoking-related disease which was paid, in whole or

in part, by the State of Minnesota (the “State’’) pursuant to

programs partially funded through the Federal Medicaid

Program (“Medicaid Program”) established under Title XIX

of the Social Security Act. See 42 U.S.C. § 1396, et_seq.;

Minn. Stat. § 256B.01, et seg.; Minn. Stat. § 256D.01, et seq.

The Medicaid Program allows states to receive federal funds

of up to 60 percent of the money necessary to support the

state programs that pay for medical services provided to low

income and disabled persons. See 42 U.S.C. § 1396-1396v.

A state’s participation in the Medicaid Program is

entirely optional. However, once a state elects to participate

in the Program, it must comply with the requirements of Title

XIX. Harris v. McRae, 448 U.S. 297, 301 (1980). The

participating state is required to submit a plan, backed by a

state statutory scheme, that complies with the program act

itself and all regulations passed by the Secretary of Health

3

and Human Services. See Schweiker v. Gray Panthers, 453

U.S. 34, 36 (1981). The state must take “al] reasonable

measures to ascertain the legal liability of third parties . . . to

pay for care and services available under [Medicaid].” 42

U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(25)(A); see also 42 C.F.R. § 433.138(a). If

the state determines that a third party is legally responsible for

the condition which necessitated the expenditure of Medicaid

Program funds, the state is required to “seek reimbursement

for such assistance to the extent of such legal liability.” 42

U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(25)(B); see also 42 C.F.R. § 433.138(d).

As a condition of eligibility to receive medical assistance

under a state plan, a recipient of medical benefits also has

certain obligations under the Medicaid Program. The

recipient is required to assign to the state any rights to

payment a recipient may have against a third party for the

cost of medical care. The recipient must also cooperate with

and assist the state in identifying and pursuing any third party

who may be liable to pay for the care and services provided

under the Medicaid Program. See 42 U.S.C. §

1396k(a)(1)(C); see also 42 C.F.R. § 435.610.

In the event that a State obtains full recovery from a

liable third party for the amounts paid pursuant to its

Medicaid Program (i.e. an amount which includes the federal

matching funds), Title XIX demands that “the remainder of

such amount collected shall be paid to such individual

[injured Medicaid recipient].” 42 U.S.C. § 1396k(b)

(emphasis added). This equitable distribution formula,

entitling the Medicaid recipient to the difference between the

amount collected from the liable third party and the amount

necessary for the State to achieve full recovery, is

underscored in the regulations passed by the Secretary of

Health and Human Services:

[The State] must distribute collections as follows—(a)

To itself, an amount equal to State Medicaid

expenditures for the individual on whose right the

4

collection was based; (b) To the Federal

Government, the Federal share of the State Medicaid

expenditures....(c) To the recipient, any remaining

amount.

42 C.F.R. § 433.154 (emphasis added).

Minnesota’s state-run Medicaid Programs comply with

federal law and require each recipient, as a condition

precedent to receiving state-paid health care through one of

two state-run Medicaid programs, to assign the State his or

her right to payment from a liable third-party for the cost of

the medical care provided. Depending upon the recipient’s

personal financial circumstances, medical care is provided

and funded through either the State’s general assistance

(“GA”) program or its medical assistance (“MA”) program.

Both programs have been approved by the United States

Department of Health and Human Services, Health Care

Financing Administration (“HCFA”). Both the GA and MA

statutory schemes contain dual provisions which guaranty the

State’s right to receive at least partial reimbursement from

liable third parties for the cost of treating GA and MA

recipients. See Minn. Stat. § 256B.01, et seq. and 256D.01, et

seq.

The first of these two statutory provisions, which

guarantees the State’s right to obtain payment for previously

expended medical costs, automatically subrogates the State to

all causes of action possessed by the recipient regardless of

how the claim is prosecuted or how the allocation of recovery

is characterized by a judgment or settlement:

Upon furnishing medical assistance to any person

who ... has a cause of action arising out of an

occurrence that necessitated the payment of medical

assistance, the state agency or the state agency’s

agent shall be subrogated, to the extent of the cost of

medical care furnished, to any rights the person may

have .. . under the cause of action.

The right of subrogation in this section includes all

portions of the cause of action, notwithstanding any

settlement allocation or a portion that purports to

dispose of portions of the cause of action not subject

to subrogation.

Minn. Stat. § 256B.37, subd. 1 (emphasis added). The State’s

subrogation interests arise automatically as a matter of law.

See Martin v. City of Rochester, 615 N.W.2d 867, 869 (Minn.

Ct. App. 2000), review granted (Minn. Oct. 17, 2000) (citing

42 U.S.C. § 1396k(a)(1)(A) and Minn. Stat. § 256.015).

The second statute automatically creates a lien, running

in favor of the State, on all of the causes of action arising in

favor of the injured recipient, regardless of how the claim is

styled or the manner in which the settlement is apportioned:

When the State agency provides, pays for, or

becomes liable for medical care, it shall have a lien

for the costs of care upon any and all causes of

action or recovery rights . . . which accrue to the

person to whom the care was furnished, or to the

person’s legal representatives as a result of the

illness or injuries which necessitated the medical

care.

Minn. Stat. § 256B.042, subd. 1 (emphasis added). Although

the lien arises as a matter of law, the Minnesota statutes

provide a mechanism by which the State can perfect its lien

* For ease of reference, Petitioners have only cited the GA provisions

creating, respectively, a subrogation and lien interest running in favor of

the State. The same statutory provisions with identical language are found

in the MA provisions, Chapter 256D.

6

interest when a cause of action is prosecuted by an injured

recipient against a liable third party. See Minn. Stat. §

256B.042, subd. 2.

Both the MA and GA statutes specifically contemplate

that either the injured party or the State may prosecute a claim

against a liable third party. No matter who ultimately

commences the lawsuit, however, the State is subrogated and

liened by statute in order to secure its right to payment for

past medical costs incurred on behalf of MA and GA

recipients. See Minn. Stat. § 256B.37, subd. 2 and 256B.041,

subd. 3. According to the State’s Attorney General, the legal

authority allowing either the State or the recipient to

prosecute a claim against liable third parties is the State’s MA

and GA statutes which, he explained, create a “shared right”

to prosecute a claim:

Under the statute, the assignment by MA recipients

to the State of the right to payment for medical care

from liable third parties creates a “shared right” to

bring a cause of action against those third parties.

App. A-38 to A-39.

Most importantly, the MA and GA statutory schemes

provide a formula mandating how settlement or judgment

proceeds are to be shared between the injured recipient and

the State once a determination has been made as to the

liability of a third party. See Minn. Stat. § 256B.37, subd. 4

and 256B.042, subd. 5. The Minnesota distribution formula

first provides for the deduction of reasonable litigation costs

> Minnesota’s MA and GA statutes are distinct from the statutory

schemes utilized in several other states in two important respects. First,

there is not an outright assignment of a claim by the injured recipient to

the State at the time medical care is provided. Second, the State’s lien and

subrogation interests run to the entire cause of action, not just to any

allocation by a judge, jury, or other person of the amount attributable to

past medical care costs.

7

and attorney’s fees from the settlement or judgment. Id.

Following this deduction, the Minnesota formula provides

two alternative methods for allocating the remaining funds.

First, consistent with federal law, the State will retain the full

amount of MA or GA benefits paid (including the federal

matching fund portion), and then the State must pay the

remainder to the injured party. Id. Second, in recognition

that the lien and subrogation interests run to the entire cause

of action, the injured party is guaranteed 33 1/3 percent of the

net recovery remaining after attorney’s fees and costs are

deducted. Id.

Against this statutory backdrop, the State of Minnesota

filed a lawsuit in August 1994 against members of the

tobacco industry captioned The State of Minnesota, et all. v.

Philip Morris Incorporated, et al. which was venued in

Ramsey County District Court, Minnesota (the “Tobacco

Litigation”). In the Tobacco Litigation, the State sought to

recover money it had spent to treat approximately 70,000 MA

and GA recipients for smoking related disease.* In its

Amended Complaint, the State specifically pled the state

statutes (Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.01, et seg. and 256D.01, et seq.)

through which the State had received Medicaid matching

funds from the federal government that had been used to help

pay the medical costs of treating the recipients’ smoking-

* Prior to commencement of the Tobacco Litigation, Petitioners were

putative class members prosecuting claims against the tobacco defendants

in two, separate cases. The first case was being prosecuted in Louisiana

under the caption Castano v. American Tobacco Co., Civ. No. 94-1044S

(E.D. La., Feb. 17, 1995). The District Court’s certification of a national

class, however, was ultimately reversed. The second class action was

being prosecuted in Florida under the caption, Engle v. R.J. Reynolds

Tobacco Co., Civ. No. 94-08273 (11" Cir. Fla.). An element of damages

that was sought in at least one of the class actions was specifically

directed to the costs of treating persons suffering from smoking-related

illnesses. Despite the State’s automatic subrogation and lien interests

against any recovery made by injured MA and GA smokers in the Castano

or Engle class actions, the State chose to file an action of its own.

8

related illnesses. Although its Amended Complaint was

styled as a “direct” action,” it is clear to Petitioners (and the

trial judge so instructed the jury) that the State was seeking a

“sum of money that will fairly compensate the State of

Minnesota .. . for their [sic] payment-of healthcare costs

caused by smoking.” App. A-40 to A-41.

In calculating its damages in the Tobacco Litigation, the

State utilized an econometric model which identified public

assistance recipients who suffered from smoking-related

illnesses, and then used statistical modeling to extrapolate and

calculate the precise sum of its damage claim. App. A-43 to

A-51. An expert for the State testified at trial that the amount

of money spent by the State to treat MA and GA recipients

for smoking-related illnesses during the years 1978 through

1996 totaled $1.31 billion. App. A-50. This $1.31 billion

figure included approximately $746 million (57%) of federal

matching funds.°

During the course of discovery, the State was forced to

disclose the names of 100 persons who had been diagnosed

with smoking-related illnesses, whose treatment for such

illnesses had been paid for by either the State’s MA or GA

program, and who were included in the State’s damages

calculation for past medical costs. Petitioner Jesse Lee

Brown was identified by the State and, over the State's

* Throughout the underlying litigation, the tobacco defendants

challenged the State’s standing to bring an action separate and apart from

the statutes at issue in this action. The Minnesota Supreme Court

elliptically affirmed the State’s standing to prosecute a “direct” action in

State by Humphrey v. Philip Morris, Inc., 551 N.W.2d 490, 496-97 (Minn.

1996).

° After the Tobacco Litigation was resolved through settlement, the

federal government clarified that it would not seek reimbursement from

the states for any federal matching funds that had been recovered by virtue

of a state action against the tobacco defendants. See 42 U.S.C. §

1396b(d).

9

objection, deposed by the tobacco defendants as part of the

State’s Tobacco Litigation. App. A-52 to A-54.’

On May 8, 1998, at the close of evidence, but prior to the

State’s closing arguments, a comprehensive settlement

agreement was entered into between the State and the tobacco

defendants. App. A-55 to A-87. The settlement agreement

expressly released the tobacco defendants from all liability for

any claim seeking to recover MA or GA medical costs,

regardless of whether the claim is prosecuted by the State or

by the recipients:

B. State of Minnesota’s Release and Discharge.

Upon Final Approval, the State of Minnesota

shall release and forever discharge all

Defendants...from any and all manner of civil

claims, demands, actions, suits, and causes of

action, damages whenever incurred, liabilities of

any nature whatsoever, including civil penalties,

as well as costs, expenses, and attorneys’ fees,

known or unknown, suspected or unsuspected,

accrued or unaccrued, whether legal, equitable

or statutory (“Claims”) that the State of

Minnesota . . . whether directly, indirectly,

representatively, derivatively, or in any other

capacity, ever had, now has, or hereafter can,

shall, or may have, as follows:

a. For past conduct, as to any claims

relating to the subject matter of this

action which have been asserted or

’ The prime motivation driving this lawsuit was Petitioner Jesse Lee

Brown's simple question to counsel: “How can the State say that the

tobacco lawsuit had nothing to do with me when I gave a deposition and

the State recovered money because of my injuries?” The Minnesota

Appeals Court never acknowledged the fact that Petitioner Brown was

identified by the State or deposed in the State’s action.

10

could be asserted now or in the future

in this action or a comparable federal

action by the State; and

b. For future conduct, only as to monetary

claims directly or indirectly based on,

arising out of or in any way related to,

in whole or in part, the use of or

exposure to Tobacco Products

manufactured in the ordinary course of

business including without limitation

any future claims for reimbursement

for health care costs allegedly

associated with use of or exposure to

Tobacco Products. . ..

-——

te

[T]he State of Minnesota agrees that this covenant

and agreement shall be a complete defense to any

such civil action or proceeding.

Le T° eer

a tate ti tae bs

App. A-66 to A-68 (emphasis added). The settlement

agreement describes the character of the settlement proceeds

as compensatory in nature, and the State explicitly agreed

“that no part of any payment .. . is made in settlement of an

actual or potential liability for a fine, penalty (civil or

criminal) or enhanced damages.” App. A-61.

Following settlement of the Tobacco Litigation, the State

immediately began touting the windfall that it had received. ;

Press releases compared the money sought ($1.31 billion) |

with the money paid ($6.17 billion) and bragged that the |

“settlement is more than 4 1/2 times the amount sought in

damages.” App. A-88 to A-94.° To date, no payments of

CPE we Neale ats ARE:

Tet ee ee

o> pe —

Dis ft Saat OCS th: Nae eis Aon oer Sema tae iscta C Pacire Lara

* The money the State is to receive is divided into two streams of

payments. The first stream of payments is paid over five years. The total

of this first stream of payments is $1.31 billion-the exact amount of

11 q

Lee Pg ee eee

settlement proceed money have been made to either the

Petitioners or any other Minnesota citizen whose medical

treatment for smoking-related illnesses was paid for, in whole

or in part, through the State’s MA and GA programs.

Moreover, despite the State’s full recovery of all past

smoking-related MA and GA medical costs, the State has yet

to take any steps to ‘vaive, satisfy, or discharge its lien or

subrogation interests that arose automatically as a matter of

law pursuant to Minnesota Statutes § 256B and 256D.

On July 17, 1998, Petitioners filed a declaratory

judgment action against the State of Minnesota seeking a

clarification of Petitioners’ rights under the MA and GA

Statutes, including their entitlement to a portion of the

settlement proceeds that had been, and would be in

perpetuity, collected by the State of Minnesota pursuant to the

Tobacco Litigation settlement agreement. App. A-95 to A-

106. In their Amended Complaint, with general references to

federal law and specific references to state law, Petitioners

argued that the State’s settlement of Petitioners’ medical

expense claims against the tobacco defendants necessarily

implicated the federal and state Statutory schemes entitling

Petitioners and all others similarly situated to a portion of the

settlement proceeds as mandated by the federal and state

Medicaid statutes. App. A-96, A-101 to A-104. In their

prayer for relief, Petitioners specifically requested: (1) at

least one-third of the net recovery if the State’s portion was

more than 66 2/3 percent of the amount collected; (2) if the

State’s full recovery is less than 66 2/3 percent of the net

settlement recovery, then the difference between the full

recovery and the total amount of the settlement mandated by

state and federal law; and (3) a declaration, that the State’s

subrogation and lien interests in Petitioners and the putative

money the State’s expert testified to at trial as the amount the State had

paid in past medical costs.

12

class members’ claims against the tobacco defendants are

waived, satisfied, or discharged. App. A-103 to A-105.

The State condemned Petitioner’s complaint for

declaratory judgment as lacking merit, and argued that it had

settled nothing which belonged to Petitioners and all other

similarly situated MA or GA recipients. App. A-107 to A-

110. In lieu of answering the complaint, the State moved the

trial court to dismiss Petitioners’ complaint on the ground that

it failed to state a claim upon which relief could be granted.

App. A-113 to A-143. The Petitioners filed a cross motion

for partial summary judgment.’ In its briefs to the trial court

in support of its motion to dismiss, the State repeatedly

referenced what it had brought (i.e., a “direct action” against

the tobacco defendants), but the State refrained from drawing

the court’s attention to what it settled (i.e. Petitioners’ past

and future medical expense claims which Petitioners could

have brought against the tobacco defendants on their own

behalf prior to the Tobacco Litigation settlement). App. A-

125.

In its Memorandum and Opinion dismissing Petitioners’

complaint for failing to state a claim, the Hennepin County

District Court trial judge devoted the first nine pages to a

* Petitioners explicitly did not bring a motion on the prayer for

injunctive relief seeking a declaration that the State's lien and subrogation

interests are forever satisfied, waived, or discharged. As of today, no

court has ruled upon this aspect of the claim for relief despite the State's

admissions that it has settled all past and future medical cost claims. See

Note 10, infra.

'° As will be discussed more fully, infra, the State’s position as to

what it settled changed at each level of review. During oral argument

before the Hennepin County District Court trial judge, the State admitted

for the first time that it settled all past medical care cost damages. App.

A-112. A year later, in both briefs and argument to the Minnesota Court

of Appeals, the State admitted that it also had settled all future medical

care cost claims and the Court so found. Brown vy. State, 617 N.W.2d 421,

426 (Minn. Ct. App. 2000) petition for rev. denied (2001)

13

ee

recitation of the various counts contained within the State’s

complaint in the Tobacco Litigation, and to the various

motions brought in that Litigation. App. A-17 to A-25.

Despite the importance of determining whether the past and

future medical expense damage claims owned by Petitioners’

and 70,000 other Minnesota MA and GA recipients were

settled and forever discharged by the State in the Tobacco

Litigation settlement, without notice and without any

compensation whatsoever to the individual recipients

themselves, the trial judge only devoted two paragraphs of his

Memorandum to an analysis of the Tobacco Litigation

settlement agreement — the document pursuant to which all

payments are made and releases are granted between the State

and the tobacco defendants. App. A-26 to A-27. Notably

absent from the Hennepin County District Court trial judge’s

opinion is any citation to the part of the settlement agreement

which describes in clear terms the released and forever

discharged claims, or any mention to the State’s outright

admission to the trial court that it had settled Petitioners’ past

and future medical damage claims.'!

Upon Petitioners’ appeal of the trial court’s dismissal of

their complaint for declaratory judgment, the Minnesota

Court of Appeals made explicit findings based upon the

State’s admission of what it had settled:

[T]he state’s settlement precludes individual

medical- and general-assistance recipients from

pursuing claims for past or future health care costs

covered by the state’s medical- or general-assistance

programs.

'' Moreover, contrary to the very purpose of the Declaratory

Judgement Act, the trial court failed to provide the parties with an express

declaration of their rights, duties, or obligations. This omission was

recognized by the Minnesota Court of Appeals. See Brown vy. State, 617

N.W.2d at 427. (App. A-12.)

14

Brown, 617 N.W.2d at 426. App. A-9. Nevertheless, the

court below confused the assignment mandated by both

federal and state law. The Minnesota Appeal’s Court

explicitly found that the federal and state statutes “require all

recipients of medical assistance to assign to the State any

claim they may have against third parties for the medical

expenses paid by the State.” Id. (emphasis added) (citing 42

U.S.C. § 1396k(a)(1)(A) and Minn. Stat. § 256B.056, subd.

6).'" However, nowhere in the statutes cited by the

Minnesota Appeals Court does it state that the “claim” is

assigned. Rather, the statutory language at both the federal

and state level states that it is only the “right to payment” that

is assigned.

Despite recognizing the State’s admission that both past

and future medical cost claims had been settled, the

Minnesota Court of Appeals never explains who, under either

the state or federal statutory framework, is entitled to those

future medical payments. Both the federal and state statutory

schemes explicitly state that once full recovery for past

medical costs has been obtained, all money remaining

belongs to the injured recipient.’

Petitioners timely filed a petition for further review in the

Minnesota Supreme Court. On November 21, 2000,

'? The Appeal’s Court repeated this error when it stated: “In other

words, subsequent to the assignment, the legal right to recover the medical

expenses paid by the State from third parties belong solely to the State.”

Brown, 617 N.W.2d at 426 (emphasis added) (App. A-10).

'’ Accordingly, the Minnesota Court of Appeals ruling still leaves

unanswered the following questions: (1) what represents full recovery to

the State for past medical expenses to treat smoking-related illnesses? (2)

what amount has been or will be recovered by the State pursuant to its

settlement agreement with the tobacco defendants? and (3) if the State

recovered more by way of settlement than its past medical costs, what

portion of the excess is attributable to the Petitioners’ and putative class

members’ future medical costs?

15

eT, Se

ae eT ee ee

RPA AON ED hy hing BS 0 sh thidi tetra eK ee bs

Petitioners’ request before the Minnesota Supreme Court was

denied. The federal statutory scheme which, at a minimum,

provides the limits to the powers of the State in administering

its Medicaid programs, was referenced and argued in

Petitioners’ Amended Complaint, briefing before the

Hennepin County District trial court, and the Minnesota Court

of Appeals. Until the State’s admission related to future

damages, and the Minnesota Court of Appeals’ adoption of

that admission, the constitutional issues were neither framed

nor argued.

In their appeal to the Minnesota Court of Appeals, the

Petitioners were arguing that their declaratory judgment

complaint stated a claim upon which relief could be granted, '*

The Minnesota Court of Appeals for the first time in its

opinion, as is its right, made the declaration of the rights,

duties and obligations of the parties in a way that implicates

constitutional issues. Petitioners now seek review of this

Court to address the constitutional issues that are raised by the

Appeals Court’s declaration.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

At the time Petitioners were first injured by the tobacco

companies, a property interest owned solely by the Petitioners

arose in the cause of action. See Logan v. Zimmerman Brush

Co., 455 U.S. 422, 428 (1982); Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U.S.

124, 132 (1882). Unable to pay for the medical costs to treat

their medical-related illnesses, Petitioners entered into a

* The Minnesota court’s holding that plaintiffs’ Complaint failed to

state a claim parallels a case which will be heard by this Court. See Great

West Life & Annuity Ins. Co., et al. v. Janette Knudson, No. 99-1786. In

Knudson, it is the employer in a private contract that is arguing that it has

a claim to funds recovered by an injured party against a liable third party.

This Petition is the mirror image-in the public context it is the injured

party arguing that it has a claim to funds recovered by the State against a

liable third party.

16

contract of assignment with the State thereby creating the

right of the State to a lien and subrogation interest in the right

to payment for past medical costs only. Petitioners have a

property interest in both their contract of assignment with the

State and the applicable limits to the State’s powers as set

forth in the state and federal Medicaid statutes. See Perry v.

Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 601 (1972) (a contract with the

State can create a constitutionally protected property interest);

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 262 (1970) (the receipt of

public assistance benefits can create a constitutionally-

protected property interest). If, as the Minnesota Court of

Appeals has found, the State has settled Petitioners’ and

putative class members’ future damages claims, then the

limits set by the federal Medicaid Act have been exceeded

and compensation is due these individuals. If the Minnesota

Court of Appeals ruling is allowed to stand, states would be

permitted to bring a claim against third-party tortfeasors by

defining it as a “direct” action. This “direct” action could

then be unilaterally settled without notice to or participation

by the medical assistance recipient whose injury prompted the

lawsuit, and without regard to the mandate set forth in the

Federal Medicaid Act that once full recovery has been

received, the remainder shall be paid to the injured recipient.

Moreover, the Minnesota Court of Appeals opinion is in

conflict with opinions rendered in other courts across the

country. The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit, in an action prosecuted by a Medicaid recipient

against the State seeking tobacco settlement proceeds, found

that the setthement agreement between the State and the

tobacco defendants could only be interpreted with regard to

what was assigned by the Medicaid recipient to the State —

not by what was brought. Floyd v. Thompson, 227 F.3d

1029, 1037 (7™ Cir. 2000).

A California Appellate Court, on the other hand, has

ruled that the settlement agreement is only interpreted in light

of the type of claim prosecuted by the State. See State of

17

California v. Superior Court, 83 Cal. App. 4” 597, 602, 99

Cal. Rptr. 2d 735, 738 (2000). The varied and conflicting

reasoning employed by the Seventh Circuit, the Minnesota

courts and the California court, will have an impact on the

approximately 20 lawsuits similar in nature to the instant

action that have been or are being prosecuted in the United

States. Substantial and important constitutional issues are

raised in these cases, including: (1) whether the settlement

payments received by a State from the tobacco companies are

to be analyzed with respect to the action prosecuted or by the

terms of the settlement agreement pursuant to which the

payments are made; (2) whether the Federal Medicaid Statute

effectuates an assignment of a “claim” or the “right to

payment”; (3) where a State’s settlement against a liable third

party results in full recovery for past medical costs and

recovery for future medical costs, whether the federal

Medicaid statutes, without regard to what is assigned, require

that the future medical care costs be returned to the injured

Medicaid recipient; and (4) when the State settles a Claim

jointly owned with a Medicaid recipient, is it required to

waive, release, or satisfy its lien and subrogation interests.

The opinions below, and in other courts throughout the

country, have created conflicting standards and, in some

instances, abrogate the constitutional rights of the most needy

citizens in this country. Having a constitutionally-recognized

property right in their claims, the Medicaid recipients traded

the right to payment in all of their claims in exchange for the

payment of their health care costs. At least in the State of

Minnesota, the State’s settlement with the tobacco companies

completely paid for this bargain (i.e., the State was fully

reimbursed for the past medical care cost to treat the

smoking-related illnesses). The State, by virtue of settling

future medical care cost claims and not sharing any of the

proceeds with the injured recipients, has now trampled upon

the rights of the Medicaid recipients by taking future medical

care costs--something that was not contemplated by the

18

contract of assignment or the State or federal statutory

schemes, and is violative of Petitioners’ Fourteenth

Amendment due process rights and Petitioners’ Fifth

Amendment taking rights.

I. THERE HAS BEEN AN IMPERMISSIBLE

TAKING OF PROPERTY WITHOUT JUST

COMPENSATION WHEN THE STATE OF

MINNESOTA UNILATERALLY SETTLED

FUTURE DAMAGES CLAIMS BELONGING TO

MEDICAID RECIPIENTS WITHOUT NOTICE OR

OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD AND WHEN IT

RETAINED THE SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN

DEROGATION OF FEDERAL AND STATE

STATUTES.

The Taking Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the

Constitution provides that private property may not be taken

for public use without just compensation. Central to the

inquiry here is: (1) did Petitioners have a property interest?

and (2) if so, did a taking occur? Petitioners had a property |

interest in their causes of action as well as in the contract of

assignment mandated by the Medicaid statutes pursuant to

which benefits were granted. A taking did occur in this case

since, contrary to the Medicaid statutes, future medical

damages claims were settled by the State and the money is

now being collected by the State without any compensation to

the Petitioners and others similarly situated.

A. Petitioners Had A Property Interest In Their

Causes Of Action, In the Contract of Assignment

With The State, And In the Administration Of

Medicaid Benefits As Set Forth By Statute

In the early years of this Court’s jurisprudence, property

interests were usually viewed in terms of land and chattels.

19

a eee ee) 7) eS

See, e.g., Pumpelly v. Green Bay Co., 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 166,

179-80 (1871). In the 20" Century, this Court broadened the

definition of “property” to include intangible property

interests “created and their dimensions...defined by existing

rules or understandings that stem from an independent source

such as state law.” Webb’s Fab. Pharmacies, Inc. v.

Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 161 (1980) (quoting Board of

Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972)). Petitioners’

property interests at issue here are created by common law,

contract, and statute.

At the time of injury, Petitioners had a property interest

in their cause of action against the tobacco defendants. This

Court has held that a “vested right of action is property in the

same sense in which tangible things are property...”

Pritchard, 106 U.S. at 132. Over the course of the past fifty

years, the property interest in a cause of action has been

reaffirmed by this Court. See Logan at 428 (1982); Mullane

vy. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 313

(1950).

The nature of Petitioners’ property interest was altered at

the time that medical services to treat smoking-related

illnesses became necessary and Petitioners lacked the

financial means to pay for such medical treatment. At that

point in time, pursuant to both federal and state statute,

Petitioners assigned their right to payment for money

collected by way of settlement or judgment in their entire

cause of action, or any part of it, in exchange for receiving

medical assistance paid for by the State’s MA and GA

programs. Contrary to the finding of the Minnesota Court of

Appeals, this assignment did not divest Petitioners of their

cause of action or of their interests in any damages obtained

by the State’s prosecution of an action against the tobacco

companies. Instead, in addition to maintaining a property

interest in the cause of action, two new property interests

were created.

The first new property interest arose when the contract of

assignment was entered into between the Petitioners and the

State. A contract with the State can create a constitutionally

protected property interest. See Perry, 408 U.S. at 601. The

contract of assignment here was limited to the State’s

recoupment of past medical expenses paid up to the point of

judgment or settlement.

The second new property interest owned by Petitioners

arose as a result of Petitioners’ acceptance into the MA or GA

programs. This Court has repeatedly recognized a

constitutionally-protected property interest in welfare

benefits. See Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 262 (1970).

The Petitioners’ rights and expectations were shaped and

defined by both federal and state Medicaid statutes.

As set forth in the state and federal Medicaid statutes,

Petitioners’ property interests in their causes of action, their

contracts with the State, and their Medicaid benefits

coalesced around a single principle defined over and over

again in the state and federal Medicaid statutes—once the State

had obtained full recovery for past medical costs, the balance

of any recovery must be paid to the injured recipient. Each

and every statute states this principle in mandatory terms.

See 42 U.S.C. § 1396k(b) and 42 C.F.R. § 433.154(c). State

officials administering the program or attorneys prosecuting

claims on behalf of injured recipients or the State have no

discretion. The formula provides a bright line that is

applicable in each and every situation regardless of what is

assigned or who prosecutes the action.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals recognized the

Petitioners’ right in their cause of action prior to the

assignment. However, the Minnesota Court of Appeals

confused the nature of the property rights following the

assignment and determination of eligibility for the MA and

GA programs. The Minnesota Court of Appeals, interpreting

Minnesota law, incorrectly stated that the assignment was of

the entire cause of action, not just the right to payment to

21

secure the lien and subrogation interests the state enjoyed in

the injured recipients’ causes of action for recovery of money

damages.

The truth of this statement is proven by the Minnesota

Court of Appeals’ opinion. First, it would be impossible for

the State to settle future medical damage claims if it did not

jointly own the entire cause of action with the injured

recipient since, according to both federal and state Medicaid

law, the right to payment for future damages claims is owned

by the injured recipient. Second, when the Court below

interpreted the Minnesota state statutory guaranty of not less

than one-third of the net recovery to be afforded to the injured

recipient as being limited to instances where the injured

recipient is acting as a plaintiff, the Minnesota Court of

Appeals never explained how an injured recipient could ever

prosecute a claim if, as a condition of receiving MA and GA

benefits, an assignment of the entire cause of action took

place.

As set forth in this Court’s prior precedent, Petitioners

enjoy property interests in their causes of action, in their

contract of assignment with the State, and in their Medicaid

benefits. This property interest has not been acknowledged

by the State, the trial court, or the Minnesota Court of

Appeals.

B. Petitioners’ Property Was Taken For Public Use

Without Compensation

Both Petitioners and the State agree on two key points:

(1) prior to the receipt of MA and GA benefits, the Petitioners

had a cause of action against the tobacco companies; and (2)

by virtue of payment of all or part of Petitioners’ medical cost

to treat smoking-related illnesses, the State of Minnesota

obtained a property interest in Petitioners’ right to payment

from the tobacco companies. Beyond these two points,

however, there is no agreement.

22

The State argued, and the Minnesota Court of Appeals

found, that nothing was taken from Petitioners because the

State prosecuted a “direct” action.'° Regardless of the

nomenclature, the State settled the Petitioners’ right to

prosecute and keep for themselves an amount money equal to

the future costs of treating their smoking-related illnesses.

Counsel is unaware of any case from this Court or any other

court across the country that construes a settlement agreement

purporting to settle all claims “known or unknown, brought or

unbrought, accrued or unaccrued, whether direct, indirect, or

derivative” to be limited to what was actually prosecuted.

The Minnesota Court of Appeals’ finding to the contrary

undermines the finality of all settlement agreements that

contractually settle more than what was formally brought in

the underlying claim or action.

The State also argued, and the Minnesota Court of

Appeals alternatively found, that as a result of the Medicaid

assignment, Petitioners never had a right to their past or

future medical cost claims and, accordingly, there was no

“taking.” See Brown, 617 N.W.2d at 426-27. (App. A-9 to

A-12.) Such reasoning is contrary to the federal Medicaid

statues, the State MA and GA statutes, and the common sense

reasoning utilized by the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals.

Each and every statute speaks only to the recovery of past

Medicaid costs. Whether the case is prosecuted by the

individual or the State, this maxim still applies. To rule

otherwise would render both the federal and state statutory

limits and distribution formulae meaningless. Moreover, such

a holding would wipe the books clean of the federal statutes

that provide for future medical trusts funded by settlements

'S The Minnesota court’s opinion never addresses the fact that the

State, having identified a liable third-party, had an absolute duty under

federal law to collect the Medicaid benefits paid. See 42 U.S.C. §

1396a(a)(25)(B) and 42 C.F.R. § 433.138(d).

23

and judgments against liable third parties. See 42 U.S.C. §

1396p(d)(4)(a).'°

As a matter of logic, the Seventh Circuit Court of

Appeals has analyzed the problem in terms of state power.

See Floyd, 227 F.3d at 1036-38. In Floyd, the State of

Wisconsin only was assigned the right to receive past medical

costs. Id. at 1037. By the terms of the settlement agreement

between the State of Wisconsin and the tobacco defendants,

similar in all relevant respects to the settlement agreement

between Minnesota and the tobacco defendants, the State of

Wisconsin only settled what it could have brought leaving the

rest of the recipients’ claims intact. Id. The Seventh Circuit

found that since Wisconsin did not have any right or

entitlement by the contract of assignment or state statute to

future medical costs, it, as a matter of logic, could not settle

future medical cost claims even when it purported to settle

everything it could have brought. Id. Accordingly, all money

in excess of past medical damages secured by the State must

have been paid as compensation for release of the State’s

direct action claims. Id.'

In stark contrast to the Wisconsin statute, the State of

Minnesota is liened to and subrogated in all causes of action

Or any part thereto. As the State admits, and the Minnesota

Court of Appeals found, the State of Minnesota actually did

settle future damages claims. See Brown, 617 N.W.2d at 426

(App. A-9). Utilizing the logic and precedent of the Seventh

Circuit, it necessarily follows that something of value was

‘© In 1993, Congress amended 42 U.S.C. § 1396p as part of the

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993. The amendments allow for

the creation of a special needs trust, the assets in which will not disqualify

the disabled individual from receiving Medicaid benefits so long as the

trust contains a pay-back provision after the recipient’s death.

" The Seventh Circuit went so far as to suggest that the tobacco

companies may not have settled the Medicaid recipients’ future damages

claims in Wisconsin. See Floyd, 227 F.3d at 1037.

24

taken by the State of Minnesota and not paid to Petitioners

and other injured medical assistance recipients. In short,

there has been a taking for public use without just

compensation.

II. DUE PROCESS IS VIOLATED WHEN A STATE

UNILATERALLY SETTLES FUTURE DAMAGES

CLAIMS BELONGING TO MEDICAID

RECIPIENTS WITHOUT NOTICE OR

OPPORTUNITY TO BE HEARD AND WHEN IT

RETAINS THE SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS IN

DEROGATION OF FEDERAL AND STATE

STATUTES.

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution is made

applicable to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment to

the U.S. Constitution. The Minnesota Court of Appeals’

finding as to the scope ofthe Tobacco Litigation settlement

demonstrates that due process was not afforded Petitioners

and others similarly situated.

As is set forth in Section I, supra, Petitioners owned a ©

constitutionally-protected property interest. The question

then becomes what process was due before the government

settled and took for itself the right to payment for the

Petitioners’ future medical costs, not yet incurred much less

paid for by the State.

As a general rule, the due process clause requires that

individuals receive notice and a meaningful opportunity to be

heard before the government deprives them of property. See

United States v. James Daniel Good Real Prop., 510 U.S. 43,

48 (1993). Even in an extraordinary situations, the notice and

meaningful opportunity to be heard must take place

immediately after the initial deprivation. See Federal Deposit

Ins. Corp. v. Mallen, 486 U.S. 230, 240 (1988); Board of

Regents, 408 U.S. at 570, n. 7. Here, according to the State’s

own arguments, for years it publicized that it was prosecuting

25

a “direct” action that would be of no consequence to

Petitioners or other MA and GA program participants who

suffer from smoking-related illnesses. At the point of

settlement, however, the State decided to settle more than

what it actually brought. Without notice or opportunity to be

heard, Petitioners and others similarly situated suddenly lost

their right to prosecute and keep for themselves future

medical expenses. Given the size of the potential claims and

- dependent upon the method by which the money was secured,

if this money found its way into Petitioners’ and others’

hands, the asset could be large enough so that they would no

longer be on public assistance (and there would be no future

damages paid by the State) or a medical spending trust could

be established (and the State would be reimbursed for any

expenses actually incurred).

Post-settlement, and through the initial filing of the

Complaint in this action, the State never provided any

opportunity for the injured recipients to be heard and

affirmatively stated that nothing had been settled. It is only

through the course of this litigation that the State has been

forced to admit that it settled both past and future medical

cost claims.

The Petitioners and others similarly situated have

suffered a defined and valuable loss. Petitioners and other

similarly situated are prejudiced in that they may never

prosecute a claim against the tobacco defendants and keep for

themselves amounts equal to the future medical costs to treat

smoking-related disease.

Specific and substantive limits have been placed on the

‘State’s official discretion by virtue of both the federal

Medicaid scheme and the State’s own MA and GA statutes.

See Olim vy. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238, 249 (1983). If these

limits are going to be surpassed, then the recipient should be

given notice and a meaningful opportunity to be heard. The

Minnesota Court of Appeals, confused by the State’s

arguments and the nature of the assignment effectuated here,

26

has once again deprived Petitioners and others similarly

situated of such a hearing.

CONCLUSION

The State of Minnesota, along with the 49 other states,

have rightfully labeled their actions against the tobacco

industry as historic. The ramifications of the State’s

settlement with the tobacco defendants is equally historic.

Counsel representing Medicaid recipients across the country

are questioning the scope of a Medicaid assistance recipient’s

assignment, the terms of what was settled between the states

and the tobacco defendants, and what, if anything, the

Medicaid recipients are entitled to by virtue of the settlement.

Specific to the case at bar, neither the State, the trial

court, nor the Minnesota Court of Appeals has answered basic

questions, equally historic in their significance: (1) what

represents full recovery to the State for past medical costs to

treat smoking-related illnesses? (2) what, if anything, over

and above that amount was collected by the State? and (3)

what, if anything, of the excess must be returned to the

Medicaid recipients pursuant to federal and state statute?

Guidance from this Court is necessary to confirm that

even the neediest of our country’s citizens have property

interests in their causes of action, their contracts of

assignment with the states and the Medicaid benefits as

defined by federal and state statutes. The value of these rights

have been graphically illustrated by the historic and

unprecedented value of the settlement the State secured from

the tobacco defendants. The core of the State of Minnesota’s

claim, along with the claims of many other states, was that the

injured smokers were deceived, manipulated, and, ultimately,

addicted necessitating payments from the State to treat

smoking-related illnesses. Without intervention of this Court,

these same individuals whom the State proved were

hopelessly addicted to tobacco must now continue by virtue

27

of their addiction to pay state taxes on each pack of cigarettes

purchased (ostensibly to pay for medical costs) and now pay

for the tobacco companies settlement with the States (none of

which inures to the benefit of Petitioners or others similarly

situated). Similarly, without any declaration that the State’s

lien and subrogation interests are waived, satisfied, or

discharged, Petitioners may have to pay a third time from any

proceeds they may recover from prosecution of their

remaining claims against the tobacco defendants.

Intervention by this Court will clarify the conflicts that

have arisen between the various jurisdictions considering the

scope of the State’s settlement agreements in the tobacco

litigation, will clarify the federal Medicaid scheme and its

limits, and provide Petitioners and others similarly situated

with a declaration of the integrity of their cause of action

when the injuries result in permanent and on-going injury, the

treatment for which has been paid by the State in the past.

Dated: February 20, 2001

Respectfully submitted,

Anthony J. Nemo

Counsel of Record

Ronald I. Meshbesher

MESHBESHER & SPENCE, LTD.

1616 Park Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN 55404

(612) 339-9121

Hugh V. Plunkett III

Robert K. Shelquist)

LOCKRIDGE GRINDAL NAUN

Pkded'.

100 Washington Avenue South,

Suite 2200

Minneapolis, MN 55401-2179

(612) 339-6900

28

John A. Cochrane

COCHRANE & BRESNAHAN

24 East Fourth Street

St. Paul, MN 55101

(612) 298-1950

Attorneys for Petitioners

29

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C6-00-587

Jesse Lee Brown and Ronald J. Bergeron

on behalf of themselves and all others

similarly situated, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

State of Minnesota,

Respondent.

ORDER

Based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition of Jesse Lee

Brown and Ronald J. Bergeron for further review be, and the

same is, denied.

Dated: November 21, 2000

BY THE COURT:

s/

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice

PAGE, GILBERT, J.J., took no part in the consideration or

decision of this case.

A-]

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN COURT OF APPEALS

C6-00-587

Jesse Lee Brown and Ronald J. Bergeron

on behalf of themselves and all others

similarly situated, et al.,

Appellants,

VS.

The State of Minnesota,

Respondent.

Filed September 19, 2000

Affirmed in part and reversed in part

Halbrooks, Judge

Hennepin County District Court

File No. 98-11152

John A. Cochrane, Cochrane & Bresnahan, 24 East 4th Street,

St. Paul, MN 55101; and

Hugh V. Plunkett, III, Robert K. Shelquist, Plunkett,

Schwartz, Peterson, P.A., 102nd Street NE, Suite 114,

Minneapolis, MN 55413; and

Ronald I. Meshbesher, Anthony J. Nemo, Meshbesher &

Spence, Ltd., 1616 Park Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN

55404 (for appellants)

Mike Hatch, Attorney General, Patricia A. Sonnenberg,

Assistant Attorney General, 900 NCL Tower, 445 Minnesota

Street, St. Paul, MN 55101; and

A-2

Michael V. Ciresi, Roberta B. Walburn, Gary L. Wilson,

Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, L.L.P., 2800 LaSalle Plaza,

800 LaSalle Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2015 (for

respondent)

Considered and decided by Randall, Presiding Judge,

Harten, Judge, and Halbrooks, Judge. ~

SYLLABUS

1. It is not reversible error if the district court fails to

make an express declaration of the parties’ rights in a

declaratory judgment action so long as the order or judgment

adjudicating the dispute has the effect of declaring the parties’

respective rights.

2. The recovery-allocation formulae in Minn. Stat. §§

256B.042, subd. 5; 256B.37, subd. 4; and 256D.03, subd. 8(f)

(1998), do not provide appellants a basis for obtaining a

portion of the State of Minnesota’s multi-billion dollar

settlement with various entities involved in the manufacture

and marketing of cigarettes.

3. The district court abuses its discretion when it

imposes sanctions against attorneys who bring good faith

claims that are arguably legitimate.

OPINION

HALBROOKS, Judge

Appellants challenge the district court's granting of

respondent’s motion to dismiss their declaratory judgment

class action for failure to state a claim. They also challenge

the district court’s imposition of sanctions in this case.

Because the district court did not err in dismissing the action

A-3

but did abuse its discretion in imposing sanctions, we affirm

the dismissal and reverse the imposition of sanctions.

FACTS

This litigation arises in the aftermath of the State of

Minnesota’s (“state”) multibillion-dollar settlement of its

claims against multiple entities involved in the manufacturing

and marketing of cigarettes (“tobacco defendants”). The state

asserted several causes of action against the tobacco

defendants including various antitrust and consumer fraud

claims. The state and the tobacco defendants settled the case

on May 18, 1998, after all of the evidence had been

introduced at trial but before the case went to the jury. As a

result of the settlement, the tobacco defendants agreed to pay

the state approximately $6.17 billion. The tobacco defendants

agreed to pay $1.31 billion in periodic payments between

September 1998 and January 2003, as well as an estimated

$4.8 billion in future payments.

On July 17, 1998, appellants filed a class-action lawsuit

in Hennepin County District Court seeking a declaratory

judgment and a portion of the settlement proceeds. The

putative class representatives represent approximately 70,000

Minnesota residents who allege to have suffered smoking-

related illnesses for which the state paid medical expenses

under the state’s medical-assistance and general-assistance

programs. Appellants contend that, although they did not pay

for the medical expenses they incurred, the medical-assistance

and general-assistance statutes provide that any third-party

liability claim is “shared” or jointly owned by appellants and

the state. Both parties agree that the settlement precludes

individual medical-assistance and — general-assistance

recipients from asserting claims against the tobacco

defendants for state-paid medical expenses. Appellants

contend, however, that they are entitled to a share of the

settlement proceeds obtained by the state. This claim is based

A-4

on the faci that the medical-assistance and general-assistance

Statutes contain formulae to be used to allocate recoveries

from third parties between the state and individual recipients

for claims brought pursuant to those statutes.

The state filed a motion to dismiss appellants’ complaint

for failure to state a claim upon which relief could be granted

and a motion for sanctions. Appellants opposed these motions

and filed a motion for partial summary judgment. The district

court heard arguments on all of the motions and filed an order

granting the state’s motion to dismiss appellants’ complaint,

granting the state’s motion for sanctions, and denying

appellants’ motion for partial summary judgment. But the

district court requested that the parties provide additional

submissions on the issue of sanctions and held a second

hearing on that issue. On August 17, 1999, the district court

reaffirmed its decision to impose sanctions and ordered each

of the three law firms involved in the litigation to pay $5,000

to the state. This appeal follows.

ISSUES

1. Does appellants’ complaint set forth a legally sufficient

claim for relief?

2. Did the district court abuse its discretion when it imposed

sanctions against appellants’ attorneys?

ANALYSIS

1. Motion to dismiss

When reviewing a dismissal for failure to state a claim on

which relief can be granted, an appellate court must only

determine whether the complaint sets forth a legally sufficient

claim for relief. Geldert v. American Nat’l Bank, 506 N.W.2d

22, 25 (Minn. App. 1993), review denied (Minn. Nov. 16,

A-5

1993). It is immaterial whether the plaintiff can prove the

facts alleged in the complaint. Juster Steel v. Carlson Cos.,

366 N.W.2d 616, 619 (Minn. App. 1985). A complaint

should only be dismissed for failure to state a claim if it

appears to a certainty that no facts consistent with the

pleading exist that support granting the relief demanded.

Brakke v. Hilgers, 374 N.W.2d 553, 555 (Minn. App. 1985).

Although the district court typically may not consider

documents other than the complaint without converting the

motion into one for summary judgment, an exception to this

rule exists if the complaint refers to a document and the

document is central to the claims alleged. Jn re Hennepin

County 1986 Recycling Bond —- 540 N.W.2d 494, 497

(Minn. 1995).

In this case, the district court did rely on one or more

documents that were filed in connection with the tobacco

litigation. The documents, prepared by respondent in the

tobacco litigation, were referenced in appellants’ complaint.

The district court appropriately relied on the documents in

addition to the complaint and appellants do not challenge the

court's consideration of these documents.

A. Express declaration of rights

Appellants contend that the district court’s decision to

analyze this case through the lens of a motion to dismiss

created a procedural defect requiring reversal. Appellants’

complaint seeks a declaratory judgment pursuant to

Minnesota’s version of the Uniform Declaratory Judgments

Act. Minn. Stat. §§ 555.01-.16 (1998). Appellants contend

that they are entitled to an actual declaration of the respective

rights of the putative class members and the state and that any

right to actually receive a portion of the settlement proceeds is

collateral to the declaratory judgment. See Minn. Stat. §

555.01 (providing that the court’s declaration may be either

affirmative or negative in form and effect). The question,

A-6

therefore, is whether the district court’s dismissal of

appellants’ complaint based on the ultimate relief sought, i.e.,

a portion of the tobacco settlement, operates as a declaration

of their rights.

This alleged procedural defect is similar to one of the

issues addressed in Ketterer v. Independent Sch. Dist. No. 1,

248 Minn. 212, 79 N.W.2d 428 (1956). In Ketterer, the

appellant argued “that the court abused its discretion in

dismissing the action instead of making a declaration in his

favor or any declaration at all.” Jd. at 227, 79 N.W.2d at 439.

The supreme court, however, held that:

The judgment dismissed the _ plaintiff’s

complaint. Plainuff argues that the judgment is

defective in that it did not declare the rights of the

parties. The judgment in better form should have

declared the rights of the parties in conformity with

findings and conclusions of law. The declaration

may be either affirmative or negative in form and

effect. However, since the court’s findings of fact,

conclusions of law, and order for judgment resulting

in a dismissal herein operates as an adjudication

upon the merits, the failure to declare the rights of

the parties on the state of the record in this case is,

we think, here without prejudice and not reversible

error.

Id. at 228-29, 79 N.W.2d at 440 (citations omitted).

Like Ketterer, the district court in this case did not

expressly declare the respective rights of the parties, but its

findings, conclusions, and order do operate as an adjudication

of the merits. While an express declaration of the parties’

rights may have been preferable, the district court effectively

declared that the appellants have no right to any portion of the

tobacco settlement by operation of the medical- and general-

assistance statutes discussed below.

A-7

B. Allocation formulae

“(S]ome recovery theory must underlie a declaratory

judgment demand.” Vrieze v. New Century Homes, Inc., 542

N.W.2d 62, 67 (Minn. App. 1996). In this case, appellants’

two-count complaint asserts statutory claims under the

Minnesota medical-assistance and general-assistance

programs as the basis for recovery. See Minn. Stat. §§

256B.042, subd. 5; 256B.37, subd. 4; 256D.03, subd. 8(f)

(1998). Contrary to the appellants’ repeated assertions,

however, the state did not proceed in the tobacco litigation in

a representative capacity or assert claims that were derivative

to those of the medical- and general-assistance recipients.

Rather, the state brought a direct action against the tobacco

defendants for the damages sustained by the state. Those

claims did not implicate the medical- and general-assistance

statutes. In other words, the state’s lawsuit was outside the

scope of these statutes. For this reason alone, we could affirm

the district court dismissal.

Nonetheless, a fair reading of the settlement agreement

does give some weight to the appellants’ arguments. The

settlement agreement releases the tobacco defendants from

liability for state-paid medical expenses, i.e., expenses paid

by the medical- and general-assistance programs. Therefore,

although the state’s complaint in the tobacco litigation did not

seek damages pursuant to these statutes, any claim the state

may have had for these damages was settled at the conclusion

of the litigation. See Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.042, subd. 3

(authorizing the state to take actions to enforce its medical-

assistance lien or pursue an independent action against a third

party “that may be liable” to the recipient); 256B.37, subd. 2

(authorizing the state to join or institute a civil action to

enforce its medical-assistance subrogation rights); 256D.03,

subd. 8(d) (authorizing state to institute or join a civil action

to enforce its general-assistance subrogation rights). But even

A-8

if the pleadings in the tobacco litigation and the instant case

did not support the district court’s dismissal, the medical- and

general-assistance statutes do not provide an avenue for the

appellants to obtain a portion of the state’s settlement.

This court interprets statutes de novo, and we need not

defer to the district court’s interpretation. Sorenson v. St.

Paul Ramsey Med. Ctr., 457 N.W.2d 188, 190 (Minn. 1990).

The three statutes at issue in this case contain nearly identical

language and provide formulae for allocating recoveries

obtained from third parties who are liable for medical- and

general-assistance expenses paid by the state. Under each of

these statutes, attorney fees and costs incurred by the party

who obtained the recovery are paid first. Minn. Stat. §§

256B.042, subd. 5; 256B.37, subd. 4; 256D.03,-subd. 8(f).

Next, the state is reimbursed to the extent of its expenditures

on behalf of the medical- or general-assistance recipient out

of the remaining proceeds. Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.042, subd. 5:

256B.37, subd. 4; 256D.03, subd. 8(f). Finally, the recipient

is entitled to retain any recovery in excess of the state’s

expenditures or, at a minimum, one-third of the recovery.

Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.042, subd. 5; 256B.37, subd. 4; 256D.03,

subd. 8(f).

Both parties agree on several important facts. First, the

State's settlement precludes individual medical- and general-

assistance recipients from pursuing claims for past or future

health care costs covered by the state’s medical- or general-

assistance programs. Second, the state’s settlement does not

preclude individual medical- or general-assistance recipients

from pursuing claims against the tobacco defendants for other

damages, e.g., pain and suffering or lost wages. Finally, had

the state not brought its suit and had the putative class

members made recoveries from the tobacco defendants on

their own, the class members would have been entitled to at

least one-third of the recovery after attorney fees and costs

were paid.

A-9

The central issue in this case is whether any portion of

the state’s recovery “is subject to distribution to individual

smokers pursuant to the allocation formulae contained in the

medical- and general-assistance statutes. The district court

concluded that the statutes do not provide a basis for the

putative class to proceed with its claim. We agree.

Minnesota, as mandated by the federal Medicare act,

requires all recipients of medical assistance to assign to the

state any claim they may have against third parties for the

medical expenses paid by the state. 42 U.S.C. §1396k(a)(1)

(A); Minn. Stat. § 256B.056, subd. 6. General-assistance

recipients are required to make a similar assignment. Minn.

Stat. § 256D.03, subd. 3a. In other words, subsequent to the

assignment, the legal right to recover the medical expenses

paid by the state from third parties belonged solely to the

state.

Appellants contend that as a result of the tobacco

settlement the state divested them of a nght to pursue the

tobacco defendants for past and future medical expense. But

they currently have the same rights they had prior to the

tobacco settlement. They have a right to bring a claim for

damages against the tobacco defendants, but they do not have

a right to retain the damages representing the state-paid

medical expenses. They relinquished their interest in those

expenses when they made the assignment to the state. As a

result of the assignment, it is clear that the recovery-allocation

statutes do not provide appellants with a basis for obtaining a

portion of the state’s tobacco settlement.

The three statutes at issue 1n this case all provide that the

State is to be fully reimbursed for the payments it made on

behalf of the individual recipients. The medical-assistance

statutes provide that “[t]he full amount of medical assistance

paid to or on behalf of the person as a result of the injury must

be * * * paid to the state” before the individual retains any of

the recovery. Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.042, subd. 5; 256B.37,

A-10

" ls inary aah aaa a ata Le aaiad i bade ode ih

sie

subd. 4. The general-assistance statute contains nearly

identical language. Minn. Stat. § 256D.03, subd. 8(f).

Nonetheless, there are instances when the state will not

be fully reimbursed. For example, if the net recovery, i.e., the

recovery less attorney fees and costs, is less than the

payments made by the state, the state will not recoup all of its

payments. Also, if reimbursing the state in full would result

in the individual recipient receiving less than one-third of the

net recovery, the state’s reimbursement is limited.

The provision in each of these three statutes allowing a

minimum of one-third recovery by the individual recipient

who pursues a liable third party serves two purposes. First, it

provides that individual recipient with an incentive to pursue

a claim. If the individual recipient pursues the liable third

party, the state need not expend its limited resources in an

effort to recoup its payments. Second, allowing the

individual recipient to retain a portion of any recovery made

by that individual is recognition that the individual will

typically have claims against the third party for more than just

medical expenses. For example, the individual will likely

have a claim for pain and suffering and possibly one for lost

wages Or earning capacity. The state is entitled to the first

dollar of any recovery regardless of how that recovery is

classified by the parties. See State, Dept of Human Servs. v.

Bengston, 506 N.W.2d 38, 39-40 (Minn. App. 1993)

(providing that state may satisfy its interest out of recipient's

settlement regardless of how that settlement is characterized

by the recipient), review denied (Minn. Nov. 16, 1993). But

the legislature has made a policy decision that the individual

recipient should be permitted to retain a portion of any

recovery that he or she successfully pursues. In this case,

appellants did not pursue the tobacco defendants and have not

lost their causes of action for their own alleged injuries.

Based on our interpretation of the recovery-allocation

Statutes, we agree with the district court’s dismissal of

appellants’ complaint. These statutes do not provide a basis

A-1]

for appellants to obtain a portion of the state’s tobacco

settlement. Although the district court should have provided

the parties with an express deciaration of their rights, its

findings, conclusions and order have this effect. The

recovery-allocation statutes relied on by appellants do not

confer on them any rights that would allow them to obtain a

portion of the state’s tobacco settlement. Appellants’

complaint does not set forth a legally sufficient claim for

relief and it was not error for the district court to order the

dismissal:

2. Sanctions

Appellate courts will not disturb a district court's

decision to impose sanctions under Minn. R. Civ. P. 11 unless

the district court abused its discretion. Uselman v. Uselman,

464 N.W.2d 130, 145 (Minn. 1990). “But courts should

construe rule 11 somewhat narrowly to avoid deterring

legitimate or arguably legitimate claims.” Conant v. Robins,

Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi, L.L.P., 603 N.W.2d 143, 150 (Minn.

App. 1999) (citing Uselman, 464 N.W.2d at 142), review

denied (Minn. Mar. 14, 2000).

In this case,, the district court imposed $5,000 in

sanctions against each of the three law firms representing the

putative class. The district court identified as its bases for

imposing the sanctions that the premise of appellants’ lawsuit

was “monumentally” wrong and there was not a “shred of

evidence to support bringing it.” It also indicated at the

hearing that it hoped to deter additional attempts by others to

obtain a portion of the settlement. Contrary to the district

court’s position, we do not conclude that appellants’ lawsuit

was completely frivolous. The recovery-allocation statutes are

not absolutely clear and there are no Minnesota cases

establishing that these statutes bar medical- and general-

A-12

assistance recipients from pursuing a portion of the state’s

recovery.’

Appellants’ lawsuit did not lack all objective

reasonableness. Although the district court correctly

determined that appellants did not state a claim upon which

relief could be granted, we conclude that appellants’ novel

claims were brought in good faith. See Minn. R. Civ. P. 11

(providing that parties are permitted to submit pleadings that

contain good faith arguments for the extension or

modification of existing law). The state would not have

incurred the medical- and general-assistance expenses for

smoking illnesses without the members of the putative class.

Further, the medical- and general-assistance statutes do

provide for an allocation between the recipient and the state in

at least some situations where a recovery is made from a third

party. In light of this, we hold that the district court abused

its discretion in sanctioning appellants’ attorneys.

DECISION

The state’s settlement in the tobacco litigation is not

subject to the recovery-allocation formulae contained in

Minn. Stat. §§ 256B.042, subd. 5 (1998): 256B.37, subd. 4

(1998); and 256D.03, subd. 8(f) (1998). The district court's

dismissal of appellants’ class-action lawsuit was appropriate,

but the district court’s imposition of sanctions against

appellants in this case was an abuse of discretion. Appellants

did not ultimately prevail on their claim, but it cannot be said

: Subsequent to oral argument on this matter, respondent's counsel

provided the court and appellants’ counsel with a copy-of State of

California v. Superior Court, 2000 WL 1231390, an August 31, 2000

decision from the California Court of Appeals. While the California

court’s Opinion comments specifically on the Minnesota district court’s

order in this case and reaches the same result we do, the California court's

decision is not dispositive and does not serve as a basis for our decision.

A-13

del hie ai

that they failed to assert claims that were, at a minimum,

arguably legitimate at the time they were made.

:

Affirmed in part and reversed in part.

s/ Jill Flaskamp Halbrooks

o September 13, 2000

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Jesse Lee Brown

and Ronald J. Bergeron, ORDER:

on behalf of themselves and GRANTING DEFENDANT’S

all others similarly situated, MOTION TO DISMISS:

GRANTING DEFENDANT’S

Plaintiffs, MOTION FOR SANCTIONS:

DENYING PLAINTIFFS’

V. MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT:

The State of Minnesota, DENYING PLAINTIFFS’

MOTION FOR

Defendant. DECLARATORY

JUDGMENT.

File No. 98-11152

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before the

undersigned judge of district court on the 16" day of

September 1998, pursuant to defendant’s motion to dismiss,

defendant’s motion for sanctions, plaintiffs’ motion for partial

summary judgment and plaintiffs’ motion for declaratory

judgment.

Ronald I. Meshbesher, Esq., Anthony J. Nemo, Esq.,

Hugh V. Plunkett, Esq., John A. Cochrane, Esq., and Robert

K. Shelquist, Esq., appeared on behalf of plaintiffs; Thomas

F. Pursell, Senior Counsel, and Patricia A. Sonnenberg,

Assistant Attorney General, appeared on behalf of defendant.

Also appearing were Michael V. Ciresi, Esq., and Roberta B.

Walburn, Esq.

A-15

Upon all the files, memoranda, the argument of counsel

and the court being fully advised in the premises,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. That defendant’s motion to dismiss is Granted.

2. That defendant's motion for sanctions is Granted.

a. Within 10 days of the date of this Order,

defendant’s counsel shall submit to the court, and to

plainuffs’ counsel, an affidavit setting forth their costs

relating to defending this action.

b. Plaintiffs’ counsel shall have 10 days from

receipt of defendant’s affidavit to submit, in writing, any

memoranda or other documents in opposition to

defendant’s calculation of costs and/or in mitigation of

sanctions.

3. That plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment

is Denied.

4. That plaintiffs’ motion for declaratory judgment is

Denied.

5. That the attached Memorandum be made a part

hereof.

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY.

Dated this 15th day of December 1998

BY THE COURT

/s/

Peter Albrecht

District Court Judge

A-16

|

|

4

MEMORANDUM

Statement of Facts

Plaintiffs claim entitlement to a portion of the proceeds

of the monetary settlement of the case entitled State of

Minnesota_and Blue Cross — Blue Shield of Minnesota v.

Philip Morris Incorporated, et al. (hereinafter ‘Tobacco

Litigation”) which was filed in August 1994,

I. The Tobacco Complaint

Minnesota Attorney General, Hubert H. Humphrey, III,

brought the action “on behalf of the State of Minnesota

pursuant to his authority under common law, as well as Minn.

Stat. § § 8.01, 8.31, 325D.09-15, 325D.43-45, 325D.49-66

and 325F.67-70.” Tobacco Complaint at J 7. In addition to

seeking declaratory and equitable relief and civil penalties,

the Attorney General sought to vindicate the “State’s

proprietary interest in enforcing the State’s rights to damages

for economic injuries to the State which were caused by the

unlawful actions of the cigarette industry.” Id. (Emphasis

added). Those damages include increased expenditures

for:

a. Minnesota’s Medicaid plan, Medical Assistance, see

Minn. Stat. § 256B.01 er seg. and 42 U.S.C. 1396 et Seq.

“Under the Medical Assistance Program, the State of

Minnesota pays for medical services provided to program

recipients.” ... . In fulfilling its statutory duties, the State of

' Because defendant submitted as Appendix | the Second Amended

Complaint dated January 6, 1998, and all material allegations are

contained therein, all citations by this court to the “Tobacco Complaint”

correspond to the Second Amended Complaint.

*In the instant action, plaintiff Jesse Lee Brown, a smoker, claims

that he received treatment for smoking-related illness from January 1,

A-17

Minnesota has expended and will expend substantial sums of

money due to the increased cost of providing health care

services for treatment of smoking-related diseases.” Id. at J

7a. (Emphasis added).

b. General Assistance Medical Care, see Minn. Stat. §

256D.03, subd. 3.

General Assistance Medical Care is available to

qualifying persons who are not eligible for

Medical Assistance.’ The State of Minnesota

pays for the entire cost of this care. In fulfilling

its statutory duties, the State of Minnesota has

expended and will expend substantial sums of

money due to the increased cost of providing

health care services for treatment of smoking-

related diseases.

Id. at {| 7b. (Emphasis added).

c. MinnesotaCare, see Minn. Stat. § 256.9351 et seq.,

as amended by 1994 Minn. Laws, Ch. 625.

MinnesotaCare provides subsidized health

coverage for qualifying Minnesotans not

otherwise covered by Medical Assistance. In

fulfilling its statutory duties, the State of

Minnesota has expended and will expend

substantial sums of money due to the increased

cost of providing health care services for

treatment of smoking-caused diseases.

1978, to December 31, 1996. His “treatment was paid for in whole or in

part” by this program. Plaintiffs’ Complaint at J 2.

*In the instant action, plaintiff Ronald J. Bergeron, a smoker,

received treatment paid for in its enurety by this program. Plaintiffs’

Complaint at J 3.

A-18

Id. at { 7c. (Emphasis added).

d. The State Employee Group Insurance Program.

The State of Minnesota, as an employer which

makes available health coverage for _ its

approximately 60,000 employees pursuant to

Statutory and contractual obligations, _ is

mandated by law to offer comprehensive and

major medical health coverage and benefits that

include coverage for smoking-related diseases.

The State of Minnesota has entered into

contractual agreements with certain health care

service providers and plans in order to make

available to its employees health coverage that

includes those mandated benefits. Blue Cross

and Blue Shield of Minnesota Operates and

administers the largest and most widely-used

State employee health care service plan. The

State of Minnesota has paid and will pay

substantial sums of money pursuant to these

Statutory obligations due to the increased cost of

providing health care services for treatment of

smoking-caused diseases.

Id. at { 7d. (Emphasis added).

e. Funding and promoting “wellness and healthy

lifestyle programs in order to reduce health care costs,

including smoking cessation.” Id at 7e.

An additional allegation contained in the Tobacco

Complaint was: “The unlawful actions of the Cigarette

industry threaten and interfere with the Statutory and

contractual duties of the State of Minnesota, as described

A-19

above, and with the public health of the citizens of the State

of Minnesota.” Id. at] 7f.

In the Tobacco Complaint the State of Minnesota sought

to recover for economic injuries enumerated above. The nine

causes of action included a tort count based on _ the

undertaking of a special duty to the public health;* two

antitrust counts; four statutory consumer protection

violations,” and two equitable counts based on the state’s out-

of-pocket losses.’

* Tobacco Complaint at JJ 85-88, Count I (for State of Minnesota

only), alleged “Undertaking of a Special Duty.”

*Tobacco Complaint at 9 90-94, Count II, alleged Minnesota

Anutrust Law: “Conspiracy to Unreasonably Restrain Trade and

Commerce.”

° Tobacco Complaint at JJ 96-100, Count III, alleged Minnesota

Antitrust Law “Monopolization of the Cigarette Market in Minnesota.”

Tobacco Complaint at JJ 102-105, Count IV, alleged “Consumer

Fraud” pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 325F.69, subd. 1, which provides:

The act, use, or employment of any person of any

fraud, false pretense, false promise,

misrepresentation, misleading statement or deceptive

practice, with the intent that others rely thereon in

connection with the sale of any merchandise,

whether or not any person has in fact been misled,

deceived, or damages thereby, [is an unlawful

practice}.

Id.

Tobacco Complaint at 9§ 107-110, Count V, alleged “Unlawful

Trade Practices” pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 325D.13, which provides: “No

person shall, in connection with the sale of merchandise, misrepresent,

directly or indirectly, the true quality, ingredients or origin of such

merchandise.” Id.

Tobacco Complaint at JJ] 112-115, Count VI, alleged “Deceptive

Trade Practices” pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 325D.44, subd. 1, which

provides, in part:

A-20

irmaitemacesnaieiitiiiiinnaiaaiaiii

Id.

Id.

A person engages in a deceptive trade practice when,

in the course of business, vocation, or occupation,

the person:

(5S) represents that goods or services have

characteristics, ingredients, uses, benefits . . . that

they do not have... .

(7) Represents that goods or services are of a

particular standard, quality, or grade, . . . if they are

of another.

(13) Engages in any other conduct which similarly

creates a _ likelihood of confusion or of

misunderstanding.

Tobacco Complaint at §{{ 117-120, Count VII, alleges “False

Advertising” pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 325F.67, which provides, in part:

Any person, form, corporation, or association who,

with intent to sell or in any way dispose of

merchandise . . . directly or indirectly, to the public,

for sale or distribution, or with intent to increase the

consumption thereof, . . . makes, publishes,

disseminates, circulates, or places before the public,

or causes, directly or indirectly, to be made,

published, disseminated, circulated, or placed before

the public, in this state, in a newspaper or other

publication, or in the form of a book, notice,

handbill, poster, bill, label, price tag, circular,

pamphlet, program, or letter, or over any radio or

television station, or in any other way, an

advertisement of any sort regarding merchandise . . .

or anything so offered to the public for use,

consumption, purchase, or sale, which advertising

contains any material assertion, representation, or

Statement of fact which is untrue, deceptive, or

misleading, shall, whether or not pecuniary or other

specific damage to any person occurs as a direct

result thereof . . . be guilty {of an unlawful practice].

” Tobacco Complaint at Jj] 122-124, Count VIII, alleged Restitution:

“Performance of Another's Duty to the Public,” based in part upon the

following:

A-2]

Il. The Nature of the State’s Action Against the

Tobacco Companies

The State brought a direct action against the tobacco

companies. In its Ninth Affirmative Defense in its Answer

dated September 16, 1994, defendant Philip Morris asserted,

among other things, “Plaintiff State of Minnesota lacks

authority and/or standing to bring any claim for medical

expenses paid on behalf of Minnesota residents except to the

extent it sues as the subrogee of those Minnesota residents.”

Id. at { 145.

The State of Minnesota and Blue Cross-Blue Shield

repeatedly stated that they had not brought an action in

subrogation. For example, in the Memorandum in Support of

Plainuffs’ Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings, dated

Plainuffs have been and will be required by

statutory and contractual obligations to expend

large sums of money to pay for the harm caused by

the wrongful conduct of defendants. Plaintiffs have

the intent to charge, and recoup from defendants

these sums of money. Plainuffs’ expenditures are

immediately necessary to protect the public health

and safety.

Tobacco Complaint at J 123. (Emphasis added).

Tobacco Complaint at J 126-129, Count IX, alleged Restitution: “Unyust

Enrichment: Defendants, through their wrongful conduct as described

above, have reaped substantial and unconscionable profits from the sale of

cigarettes in Minnesota. These cigarette sales, in tum, have resulted in

increased health care costs directly attributable to cigarette smoking.

Without justification, defendants have failed to pay for the consequences

of their unlawful conduct.

As a result, plaintiffs have been required to pay for the medical costs

stemming from defendants’ unlawful acts. Plaintiffs have borne a duty

that - in law, equity and fairness — ought to have been borne by

defendants.

Tobacco Complaint at J] 126-128. (Emphasis added).

A-22

January 26, 1995, the State and Blue Cross objected to

defendants’ propensity to transform their action into one of

subrogation by asserting defenses that are applicable solely to ~

subrogation actions:

The State and Blue Cross have not brought this

action as subrogated parties to any underlying tort

claims that individual smokers may have against the

cigarette industry. In a subrogation claim, one party

steps into the shoes of another and asserts the rights

of the other. By contrast, in the present case, the

State and Blue Cross sue in their own right - in a

direct action — to recover the enormous sums of

money each spends to pay for health care for

smoking-attributable diseases and to obtain equitable

relief . . . . This direct action is based upon a breach

of the duties that defendants owe directly to the State

and Blue Cross. This direct action is further based

upon the commitment of the State and Blue Cross to

protect the public health and upon their status as two

of the largest purchasers of health care services in

the state.

Id. at 2-3, Appendix 3.

The distinction was a point of contention throughout the

. 28

trial.

* See, e.g., Plaintiffs Memorandum in Opposition to Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss, dated February 2!, 1995: “[The tobacco case] 1s an

action brought by two of the largest purchasers of health care services in

this state who have been injured in their ‘business or property’ by the

wrongful acts of defendants.” Id. at 3, Appendix 4; Reply Memorandum

in Support of Plaintiffs’ Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings:

The damages incurred by the State and Blue Cross,

in the form of increased expenditures for medical

costs, are distinct and separate from any personal

injury damages individual smokers have suffered,

such as Bodily and mental harm and_loss_ of

A-23

By Order dated May 18, 1995, Judge Kenneth

Fitzpatrick, Ramsey County District Court, denied

defendants’ motions to dismiss and denied as premature the

State’s motion to dismiss certain affirmative defenses.

While the Defendants’ affirmative defenses related

to subrogation may on their face not directly respond

to Plaintiffs’ allegations of independent and direct

harm, such defenses cannot be determined at this

time to be irrelevant. Further discovery is required.

If discovery reveals, for example, that Plaintiffs have

no direct cause of action, the case could be

converted to one involving issues of subrogation.

Id. at 3-4 (Emphasis added).

The court warned that its denial of plaintiffs’ motion

“shall not be construed to sanction conversion of this case

into one of subrogation.” Id. at 4. ;

The tobacco defendants appealed the trial court’s finding

that Blue Cross had standing to the Minnesota Court of

Appeals, which refused to grant discretionary review.

Because it believed that the case presented an important legal

issue, the Minnesota Supreme Court granted review. It

upheld Blue Cross’ standing on all counts, with the exception

of the tort/special undertaking count. State of Minnesota and

Blue Cross-Blue Shield of Minnesota_v. Philip Morris

Incorporated. et al, 551 N. W.2d 490 (Minn. 1996).

By Order dated January 27, 1998, the trial court took up

the issue upon which it had previously deferred ruling; that is

earings. Even defendants admit the distinctiveness

of these two sets of claims. Thus, defendants note

“the possibility of a later suit by smokers for

additional damages such as pain and suffering” — but

not medical costs.

Id. at 28-29 (Emphasis supplied).

A-24

whether defendants could assert as affirmative defenses the

conduct of individual smokers. Plaintiffs’ motion, for partial

summary judgment dismissing defendants’ affirmative

defenses based upon the conduct of individual smokers was

granted, in part, and denied, in part. The court found:

That the conduct of individual smokers [was]

irrelevant to the majority, but not all of the issues in

this case;

That defenses that a party may have against third

parties are not imputed against others; likewise

defenses available against individual smokers cannot

be imputed against Plaintiffs’ equitable claims;

That there [was] no basis for the submission of the

purported fault of individual smokers.

Id. at 2. Appendix 8.

On May 6, 1998, after the close of evidence, the trial

court instructed the jury:

You are instructed that this case is a direct action

brought by the state of Minnesota and Blue Cross

and Blue Shield of Minnesota. No individual smoker

is a party to this action. The actions of individual

smokers do not insulate defendants from liability,

since the actions of individual smokers; for example,

the fact that they smoke, are both foreseeable by

defendants and in accord with defendants’ intention

for use of their product. Any knowledge by smokers

of any health risks of cigarettes or any conduct of the

~ smokers is not a defense as to whether a defendant or

defendants have violated the law in this case.

Trial Transcript at 15643-44, Appendix 9.

A-25

III. The Tobacco Settlement

On May 8, 1998, the case was settled. Two documents

memorialize the terms. The first document is entitled,

“Settlement Agreement and Stipulation for Entry of Consent

Judgment.”

The lawsuit is described as follows:

[T]he State of Minnesota, through its Attorney

General Hubert H. Humphrey III, and Blue Cross

and Blue Shield of Minnesota, commenced this

action on August 17, 1994, asserting various claims

for monetary, equitable and injunctive relief on

behalf of the State of Minnesota and Blue Cross and

Blue Shield of Minnesota against certain tobacco

manufacturers and others as Defendants|.]

Id. at 2, Appendix 10.

Part II A, “Settlement Payments” provides:

A. Settlement Receipts. The payments to be

made by the Settling Defendants under this

Settlement Agreement are in satisfaction of all of the

State of Minnesota's claims for damages incurred by

the State in the year of such payment or earlier years

related to the subject matter of this action, including,

without limitation, claims for equitable and

injunctive relief, claims for health care expenditures

and claims for punitive damages, except that no part

of any payment under this Settlkement Agreement is

made in settlement of an actual or potential liability

for a fine, penalty (civil or cnminal) or enhanced

damages.

A-26

Id. at 7 (Emphasis added).° :

In September 1996 a class action suit, entitled Thompson

vy. American Tobacco, Incorporated, et al., (File No. 3-96-

CV888 (D. Minn.)) on behalf of all addicted smokers (a group

which presumably includes Brown and Bergeron) was filed in

Ramsey County District Court. It was removed to federal

district court and is scheduled for trial in March 2000.

IV. Minnesota’s Medicaid and General Assistance

Medical Care Programs

The program under which plaintiff Jesse Lee Brown

seeks to recover is Medicaid, a federal-state partnership,

under 42 U.S.C. § 1396, et seg. and Minn. Stat. § 256B. The

program under which Ronald J. Bergeron seeks to recover is

the General Assistance Medical Care program, established

pursuant to state law, Minn. Stat. § 256D.03 (1996). Under

these programs, the state pays certain health care costs of

eligible individuals, referred to as “recipients.” Pursuant to

these statutes, the Department has a right to recover its

program costs when one of its recipients has been injured by a

third party. Minn. Stat. § 256B.042 (Medicaid) provides, in

part:

* Defendant's brief explains the face value of the settlement as

follows:

The figure of $6.17 billion commonly assigned as the

settlement’s value is derived by adding the face value of the

payments, without adjustment or discounting, over a period of

25 years. The 25-year period is essentially arbitrary, but

became a convention for valuing tobacco settlements - since

used in all settled state cases - during early discussions over a

potential national settlement.

Defendant's Brief in Support of Motion to Dismiss at 9, fn5.

A-27 7

Third Party Liability.

Subdivision 1. When the state agency provides,

pays for or becomes liable for medical care, it shall

have a lien for the cost of the care, upon any and all

causes of action which accrue to the person to whom

the care was furnished, or to the person’s legal

representatives, as a result of the injuries which

necessitated the medical care.

Subd.3. The attorney general, or _ the

appropriate county attorney acting at the direction

of the attorney general, shall represent the state

agency to enforce the lien created under this section

or, if no action has been brought, may initiate and

prosecute an independent action on behalf of the

State agency against a person, firm, or corporation

that may be liable to the person to whom the care

was furnished.

Subd. 5. Costs deducted. Upon any judgment,

award, or settlement of a cause of action, or any part

of it, upon which the state agency has filed its lien,

including compensation for liquidated, unliquidated,

or other damages, reasonable costs of collection,

including attorney fees, must be deducted first. The

full amount of medical assistance paid to or on

behalf of the person as a result of the injury must be

deducted next, and paid to the state agency. The rest

must be paid to the medical assistance recipient or

other plaintiff. The plaintiff, however, must receive

at least one-third of the net recovery after attorney

fees and other collection costs.

A-28 -

a

Id. (Emphasis added).

Minn. Stat. § 256D.03, subd. 8 (Medical Assistance)

provides, in part:

(c) Upon furnishing general assistance medical

care or general assistance to any person having

private accident or health care coverage, or having a

cause of action arising out of an occurrence that

necessitated the payment of assistance, the state

agency shall be subrogated, to the extent of the cost

of medical care, subsistence, or other payments

furnished, to any rights the person may have under

the terms of the coverage or under the cause of

action.

This right of subrogation includes all portions of

the cause of action, notwithstanding any settlement

allocation or apportionment that purports to dispose

of portions of the cause of action not subject to

subrogation.

(d) To recover under this section, the attorney

general or the appropriate county attorney, acting

upon direction from the attorney general, may

institute or join a civil action to enforce the

subrogation rights established under this section.

Id.

As of this date, the State of Minnesota has not filed any

liens against plaintiffs consistent with the statutory provisions

outlined above.

A-29

Discussion

I. Applicable Standard for a Rule 12 Motion to

Dismiss

Defendant has moved this court to dismiss the

Complaints pursuant to Minn. R. Civ. P. 12.02, which

provides, in part:

Every defense, in law or fact, to a claim for relief in

any pleading, whether a claim, counterclaim, cross-

claim, or third-party claim, shall be asserted in the

responsive pleading thereto if one is required, except

that the following defenses may at the option of the

pleader be made by motion:

(e) failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted[.]

Id.

Although the court may ordinarily not go outside of the

pleadings to decide the motion, and must examine only the

claim as stated by the party asserting it, Royal Realty Co. v.

Levin, 243 Minn. 30, 66 N.W.2d 5 (1954), the court may

consider authenticated documents and matters of public

record without converting the motion to dismiss to a motion

for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56. Henson v. CSC

Credit Services, 29 F.3d 280, 284 (7 Cir. 1994).

The court must determine only that the complaint sets

forth a legally sufficient claim for relief, which is the standard

of review applicable to a dismissal for failure to state a claim

upon which relief may be granted. Geldert v. American Nat’]

Bank, 506 N.W.2d 22, 25 (Minn. Ct. App. 1993), pet. for rev.

denied (Minn. Nov. 16, 1993). In addition, all factual

inferences must be drawn in favor of the party asserting the

claim in the Complaint. Northern States Power Co. v.

A-30

Franklin, 265 Minn. 391, 122 N.W.2d 26 (1963). Only if all

theories of recovery are unavailable to the claimant on the

claim as stated may a court grant a motion to dismiss. It is

immaterial whether or not the court believes that plaintiff can

_prove any of the facts alleged.

II. The Law Mandates This Court To Grant

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss.

Minnesota statutes and the law of the tobacco case lead

this court to conclude that plaintiffs’ claims are wholly

without support. Tne State of Minnesota and Blue Cross

brought a direct action against the tobacco companies, a

distinction that alone dictates the outcome. It is only through

a tortured and bewildering transformation of the statutes, and

of the pleadings, that plaintiffs can argue entitlement to a

portion of the settlement proceeds. The State brought the

tobacco litigation to recover its own costs for treating

smoking-related disease. Contrary to the only procedural

posture that would validate plaintiffs’ contentions, the State

did not bring the action “in a representative capacity pursuant

to Minn. Stat. § 256B.01, et seg. and Minn. Stat. § 256D.03,

subd. 3.” Complaint at J 6. Fusing the artful and the clumsy,

plaintiffs attempt to recast the Tobacco Complaint into one of

subrogation, effectively transforming a provision that entitles

the state to recover its costs when a recipient recovers from a

third party to a provision that forces the state to disgorge one-

third of the settlement to recipients. The tobacco companies

tried, for naught, to exploit this same turn of phrase

throughout the trial. It is no more compelling when it is

asserted on behalf of those who have been treated by the state,

at little or no cost to themselves.

At the oral argument on these motions, one of plaintiffs’

attorneys argued that the state would be “nowhere” without

70,000 victims of smoking. That is correct in the rudimentary

sense in that if there were no addicted smokers, requiring

~ A-31

treatment and hospitalization paid for by the state, defendant

would not have initiated the suit against the tobacco

companies. Conceding that fact, defendant did not receive

anything that rightfully belongs to plaintiffs as part of the

tobacco settlement.

Minn. Stat. § § 256B.042 (Medicaid) and 256D.03

(General Assistance Medical Care) authorize the Department

to recover costs when a recipient who has been injured by the

conduct of a third party initiates a cause of action to recover

from that party. Neither of the named plaintiffs has initiated

an action to recover from the cigarette companies.

The formula set out in the Medicaid and General

Assistance Medical Care statutes does not apply to this case.

The Medicaid lien statute ensures that when a recipient, who

has received treatment from the state, recovers from a third

party responsible for the injuries, the state also recovers a

portion of those funds. Lundberg v. Jeep Corp., 582 N.W.2d

268 (Minn. Ct. App. 1998). The rationale behind the formula

provision that insures that the injured recipient receive no less

than one-third of the proceeds is to encourage recipients to

bring individual actions against third parties responsible for

their injuries. A recipient would not be encouraged to do so if

all of the lawsuit proceeds were directed to the state, which as

far as the recipient was concerned, was treating him or her

free of charge in the first place. The law protects the interests

of the State - care provider. State Dept. of Human Services

v. Bengston, 506 N.W.2d 38 (Minn. CT. App. 1993).

Even if the statutes cited by plaintiffs in support of

propositions for which they do not stand were not clear on

their face, (which this court believes they are) plaintiffs’

interpretation is ludicrous, and its implementation would lead

to a preposterous result. Minn. Stat. § 645.17 “Presumptions

in Ascertaining Legislative Intent’’’® provides:

' This court did not rely upon this provision, however, as it was

convinced by the statutes, and by the law of the tobacco case, that it was

required to dismiss plaintiffs’ suit in its entirety.

A-32

In ascertaining the intention of the legislature the

courts may be guided by the following presumptions:

(1) The legislature does not intend a result that is

absurd, impossible of execution, or unreasonable;

(2) The legislature intends the entire statute to be

effective and certain[.]

Id.

Plaintiffs’ interpretation flies in the face of anything the

legislature could have intended. Were plaintiffs able to

recover under the statutes that this court believes are clearly

inapplicable, they would be entitled to receive between $2.06

billion and $4.86 billion dollars, as compensation for medical

expenses that they, for the most part, never incurred, an

amount in addition to whatever amount any of the individual

plaintiffs might receive for his or her compensable damages,

such as pain and suffering. Their individual claims are not

foreclosed by the settlement. Certainly that is an absurd

result.

Plaintiffs’ Conduct Does Not Comport With Obligations

Under Rule 11.

This court considered the following additional facts to

decide the merits of defendant’s motion to sanction plaintiffs’

counsel pursuant to Minn. R. Civ. P. 11, which provides that

the pleadings must be signed by at least one attorney, and

[t]he signature of an attorney or party constitutes a

certification that the pleading . . . has been read; that

to the best of the signer’s knowledge, information

and belief formed after reasonable inquiry it is well

groundec« in fact and is warranted by existing law or

A-33

a good faith argument for the extension,

modification, or reversal of existing law, and that it

is not interposed for any improper purpose, such as

to harass or cause unnecessary delay or needless

increase in the cost of litigation... .. If a pleading,

motion or other paper is signed in violation of this

rule, the court, upon motion or upon its own

initiative, shall impose upon the person who signed

it, a represented party, or both, an appropriate

sanction, which may include an order to pay to the

other party or parties the amount of the reasonable

expenses because of the filing . . . including

reasonable attorney fees.

Id. (Emphasis added).

By letter dated July 22, 1998, addressed to plaintiffs’

counsel, Lee E. Sheehy, Chief Deputy Attorney General

wrote, in part:

We have reviewed the class action complaint which 14

you have signed in the above-captioned action. It is

clear that whoever drafted the complaint-took no

reasonable steps to investigate and did _ not

understand the State of Minnesota’s action in the

underlying cigarette litigation, The State of

Minnesota_and Blue Cross and Blue Shield of

Minnesota _v. Philip Morris, Inc. et al., Ramsey

County District Court, C1-94-8565. The basic

factual and legal predicate upon which your :

complaint is based is false and/or erroneous, as even

a cursory review of the public file in this action

would reveal. The state's complaint and prosecution

of the case was always as a direct action by the State |

of Minnesota. The State did not file a subrogation :

action, and the State did not sue to recover damages

_ sustained by smokers.

A-34

The State of Minnesota did not sue, seek or receive

damages on behalf of any individual smokers for any

damages or injuries sustained by smokers or any

element of damages which your clients would be -

entitled to. To the extent that any of your clients or

any putative class members have suffered personal

injury losses, they would certainly be entitled to sue

the tobacco companies since those causes of action

were not litigated in our case.

[YJou have a duty to assure that your claim is

grounded in the law. The class action complaint

which you signed is frivolous. It is clear that no

reasonable inquiry was undertaken prior to the

signing of your complaint. We expect that you will

voluntarily dismiss before the expenditure of

unnecessary attorney time and costs by the State.

lease advise this Office by the close of business on

Monday, July 27, 1998, whether you will discharge

your responsibilities as officers of the court under

applicable statutes and rules of civil procedure and

dismiss your action.

Exhibit | at Tab 12.

The response of plaintiffs’ counsel to Mr. Sheehy was

swift and unequivocal. By letter dated July 27, 1998, John A.

Cochrane wrote:

Your letter of July 22, 1998 has been reviewed by

the addressees. Counsel for Plaintiffs after careful

A-35

review of all the legal aspects underlying the case

see it as a matter to be reso!ved by the Court under

the Declaratory Judgment Act, M.S.A. 555 et seq.

All Plaintiffs’ counsel concur.

Exhibit 2 at Tab 13.

On July 29 and 30, 1998, shortly after the exchange of

the above-quoted correspondence, defendant answered an

inquiry put to it by Dave Taylor on behalf of plaintiffs’

counsel, reaffirming that defendant had not filed any liens

against plaintiffs Brown and Bergeron. Janice Taylor,

supervisor of the Minnesota Department of Human Services’

Benefit Recovery Section, explained the procedure followed

by the department. Ms. Taylor informed Mr. Taylor that

parties to a lawsuit and their attorneys are notified when the

Department files a lien. Ms. Taylor corrected Mr. Taylor’s

perception that the Department had a lien whenever it paid a

recipient's medical expenses. “[T]he Department is required

to file a lien in order for it to be effective and the filing occurs

only when it learns of a recipient’s legal action.” Aff. of

Janice Taylor at JJ 10-11, Appendix 14.

It is neither the contents of Mr. Sheehy’s letter to

plaintiffs’ counsel nor the fact that it was written at all that

causes this court to find that sanctions are appropriate.

Indeed, if all an attorney were required to do to guarantee that

his or her opponent were sanctioned, is to write a tough-

talking letter, case files would be more packed with them than

they already are. It is because the letter was so

straightforward in reporting the state of the law, and so

consistent in the manner in-which it articulated defendant’s

theories of recovery with regard to the tobacco suit that the

court believes plaintiffs were put on notice to reassess the

wisdom of bringing this action.

For purposes of assessing sanctions pursuant to Rule 11,

this court posed two questions. First, it was not sufficient that

it found that plaintiffs’ bringing the action was wrong; it

A-36

required a quantification of how wrong it was, a question this

court believes should be answered with “monumentally.”

The second question was whether there existed any shred of

evidence to support bringing it, a question this court believes

should be answered in the negative. Even the most cursory

examination of the case would have plainly revealed its flaws;

they are inescapable. Relying upon the conclusions above,

this court believes that sanctions are appropriate.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons outlined above, this court grants

defendant’s motion to dismiss and defendant’s motion for

sanctions. Although this court considered plaintiffs’ motion

for partial summary judgment and plaintiffs’ motion for

declaratory judgment, because the court’s ruling on

defendant’s motion to dismiss is dispositive of all issues, it

did not include the analysis in this Order.

H.P.A.

A-37

Excerpt from the State’s Appellate Reply Brief in Lundberg.

medical care and the state receiving the right to sue only for

the cost of the medical care. Under this argument, the

recipient and the state would each have to bring their own

separate actions in order to recover on those portions of the

cause of action they each possessed. Such a course of events

is clearly at odds with the statute’s provision that the state

will bring its own action only when the recipient has brought

no action. Under the statute, the assignment by MA recipients

to the state of the right to payment for medical care from

liable third parties creates a “shared right” to bring a cause of

action against those third parties.

Moreover, this shared ownership of the cause of action

makes practical sense given the primary method the

Legislature has chosen to seek reimbursement when third

party tortfeasor may be liable for the costs of care provided.

From the language of the statute it is clear that the Legislature

intended to obtain recovery of MA by relying primarily on

individual recipients seeking recovery from potentially liable

tortfeasors. This makes sense because individual recipients

and their attorneys are in the best position to identify and

assess the potential liability of third parties and to effectively

advocate for recovery. Furthermore, the injured recipient has

a natural incentive to seek recovery and will generally do so

despite the fact that some portion of the recovery, maybe even

the majority, must go toward satisfying the state’s lien.

Finally, to provide an incentive to the recipient bringing a tort

suit even in a case where the state’s lien would otherwise

eliminate or nearly eliminate the recipient's own recovery, the

A-38

MA lien statute provides that the recipient will be allowed to

retain at least a third of the net recovery.”

’ Mr. Lundberg’s brief inaccurately states that the MA lien Statute

“limits the compensation of the Medical Assistance recipient to a

maximum of 22% of the gross recovery where significant -medical

expenses are involved.” (Resp’t’s Br. at 5 (emphasis added).) In a

situation like Mr. Lundberg’s, where attorney's fees are one-third of the

recovery, the MA lien statute does not limit the recipient's recovery to a

maximum of 22%, but rather assures that the recipient will receive a

minimum of 22%. Indeed, in this case, as noted in DHS’s main brief at

page 19, after satisfying the MA lien, the actual proceeds to Mr. Lundberg

are $325,866.69, or nearly half of the gross recovery. Moreover, Mr.

Lundberg’s comparison of the amount received by the recipient with the

gross recovery is somewhat misleading; comparison is more aptly made

with the net recovery after reasonable costs and attorney fees. In any

personal injury case taken on a contingency, where there is no MA lien the

plaintiff will receive the net recovery. The MA lien

(Footnote Continued On Next Page.)

A-39

Excerpt from the Tobacco Trial Judge's Charge to Jury.

In The Matter Of:

State of Minnesota, et al v.

Philip Morris, et al

Trial Volume Number 77

May 6, 1998

Stirewalt & Associates

P. O. Box 18188

Minneapolis, MN USA 55418

(800) 553-1953

Original File 77.v1, 109 Pages

Min-U-Script® File ID: 0791261082

Word Index included with this Min-U-Script®

A-40

Page 15659

questions regardless of your answers to the other questions in

the special verdict form. You are not to consider the possible

effects of your answers to the other questions when you

determine damages. Your verdict is not complete until these

questions are answered.

The term “damages” means a sum of money that will

fairly compensate the state of Minnesota and Blue Cross and

Blue Shield of Minnesota for their payment of health-care

costs caused by smoking. Now a party seeking damages must

prove the nature, extent, duration, and consequences of its

injury. On the other hand, determination of damages must not

be based on speculation or guess. On the other hand,

difficulty in determining the amount of damages is no reason

for denying damages so long as there is a reasonable basis

upon which to approximate the amount.

There was certain evidence that has been admitted

regarding the taxation of cigarettes. This court has ruled,

however, that defendants mdy not offset any damages they

may owe by reason of the amount of excise taxes on

cigarettes. Accordingly, I instruct you you should — that

should you find that the plaintiffs are entitled to damages, you

may not

A-4]

Excerpt from Petitioners’ Trial Memorandum Below.

* - * * *

Compensation on the foregoing contingency is to be

paid by the State to the special attorneys on the

following basis: twenty-five percent (25%) of the

total recovery to the State, including but not limited

to compensatory or punitive damages, restitution,

civil penalties, interest, and any amounts which may

later be payable to the federal government under the

Medicaid program.

Id. at p. 3, J 3 (emphasis added).

C. The Second Amended Complaint Upon Which

oe eae

The State Went To Trial References The Medical

Assistance And General Assistance Statutes.

In the weeks preceding the trial of the matter against the

tobacco industry, the State served and filed a Second

Amended Complaint (hereinafter “Amended Complaint’).

Shelquist Aff., Exh. 2. One paragraph in the Amended

Complaint specifically references the Federal Medicaid Act

and the Minnesota Medical Assistance Program,

incorporating by reference two of the three statutes at issue in

this litigation. Id. at p. 3, J 7.a (“Such damages include but

are not limited to increased expenditures for...Minnesota’s

Medicaid plan, medical assistance, see Minn. Stat. § 256B.01

et seg. and 42 U.S.C. § 1396 et seqg.”). A second paragraph in

the Amended Complaint specifically references the

Minnesota General Assistance Statute, incorporating by

reference the third of the three statutes at issue in this

litigation. Id. at pp. 2-3, J 7.b. (“Such damages include but

are not limited to increased expenditures for...General

A-42

Assistance Medical Care, see Minn. Stat. § 256D.03, subd.

cs

D. The _ State Specifically Identified The 70,000

People Before This Court As Being Afflicted With

Smoking Attributable Illnesses Which Resulted

In State-Funded Treatment.

It is indisputable that injuries of these class members

provided the basis for the State’s claims. The State has argued

itself that the tobacco action sought to recover health care

costs for treating a group of persons afflicted with smoking-

related illnesses.

Toward that end, the State went to considerable trouble

to develop its model of damages for trial, a process which was

described in great detail over the course of several day’s

testimony by Dr. Timothy S. Wyant:

Q. Are you prepared today to offer an opinion about the

health-care costs paid by the State of Minnesota and Blue

Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota to treat diseases and

conditions caused by smoking, made worse by smoking,

or made more expensive to treat by smoking?

A. Yes.

Q. And is the time period covered by your opinions

from 1978 through 1996?

A. Yes.

Shelquist aff., Exh. 3 at p. 5313,1. 19-p. 5314,1. 3. In order

to collect the information about the plaintiffs now before this

Court, Dr. Wyant, with the help of others, reviewed

confidential patient billing information to identify smoking-

attributable disease:

A-43

Q. Now as part of your responsibilities, did you collect

claims records from the State and Blue Cross Blue Shield

of Minnesota?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. Could you first tell us what you mean by a “claims

records”?

A. Well, a claims record is essentially a -- it’s a

computerized doctor bill. When a doctor or a hospital in

Minnesota sends a bill into Blue Cross or--or to

Medicaid, it gets entered on a computer, or sometimes

these days its already computerized before it gets there,

and that’s the way it gets into the system for review and

for payment of the bill, is getting into that computerized

~ system. So when -- when I say a claims record, that

means going back to that computer system and looking at

whatever was entered into the computer for that doctor or

hospital bill at sometime over this period.

Q. From what programs did you obtain the State claims

records?

A. Well, the State claims records came from two

programs, Minnesota Medicaid and Minnesota General

Assistance Medical Care, GAMC.

Id. at p. 5315,1. 19-p. 5316,1. 16. This task was monumental,

requiring Dr. Wyant and others to search hundreds of millions

of records:

Q. Dr. Wyant, could you first of all tell us that title of

that exhibit?

A. This exhibit is called “Billing Records Analyzed in

the Statistical Model.” ;

Q. And could you tell us what is on that exhibit?

A. This is just a count of the number of records in the

computer files that we assembled to work with in

building our statistical model. Again, these are basically

computerized doctors’ bills over this time period of

A-44

1978-1996. And for the State of Minnesota we assembled

~ 224 million records, and for Blue Cross Blue Shield of

Minnesota we looked through 60 million records, and in

these records we found more than 90,000 people who

were being treated for one of the major smoking-

attributable diseases.

Q. And how did you determine the 90,000 Minnesotans

who were treated for major smoking-attributable diseases

in these records?

A. We used ICD-9 codes and some rules that were

developed by Dr. Samet.

Id. at p. 5322,1. 10-p: 5323,1. 7.

The damages sought by the State were built on the

aggregated records of the class members’ medical treatment--

claims in which the same class members have a “joint

interest” and for which they would seek compensation from

the tobacco companies--if the State had not settled those

claims. During trial, Dr. Wyant testified as to how the

aggregation or grouping of the individual claims worked.

Q. If we could have on the Elmo Trial Exhibit 30153,

which has been previously admitted. Is that the list

provided to you by Dr. Samet--

A. Yes, it is.

Q. --of the diseases caused by smoking and their ICD-9

code numbers?

A. Yes.

Q. And can you identify those for the record, please.

A. These are the major smoking-attributable diseases,

and after each disease or set of diseases are ICD-9 codes.

So it starts with atherosclerosis, the ICD-9 codes 440 or

441, and 444; bladder cancer is code 188:

cerebrovascular disease or stroke, 342 and 430 to 438:

chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or COPD is 491 to

492 and 496; coronary heart disease, 410 to 414, 425.

A-45

hi bbeline hs

427 to 428; esophageal cancer, 150; kidney cancer, 189;

laryngeal cancer, 161; lung cancer, 162; oral cancer, 140

to 141 and 143 to 14°. pancreatic cancer, 157; peptic

ulcer disease, 531 to 533; and diminished health

Status/respiratory morbidity and mortality, including

respiratory infections, 460, 464 to 466 and 480 to 486.

Q. Now are those code numbers found in the manual

that you just identified?

A. Yes.

Q. And in fact that’s where those numbers were taken

from, is that right?

A. That’s correct.

Q. Dr. Wyant, could you give us an example of what a

claims record looks like for an individual on GAMC.

And with the court’s permission, come down and use the

flip chart.

A. Well, this is just an example of the--the kind of

information you see in a claims record and the kinds of

things we look at when we do printouts to check and

make sure we have a good understanding of this

information.

I'll give an example from the GAMC program, a man 51

years old. Against, this is the kind of information we get

off the system.

We've taken out any I.D. information, but we do know

what their gender is and how old they are, although we

did take off the actual birth date.

The date in these claims records, they do come in the

form of these ICD-9 codes, and one you may see in these

claims is like a 786.5.

The codes you see up on the Elmo are all to three digits.

The classification system can really go finer than that,

and so when you see the actual codes on the computer,

they'll actually have another digit attached to them. And

this is a code for chest pain. And this is not a real person

I'm writing up here, but these are generally the kinds of

A-46

dollars and diseases that--that we would typically see in

our work.

You know that is chest pain by either looking it up in that

manual, if you’re doing it by hand, or you use versions--

what we did was use versions of that manual that are on

the computer, so when we saw 786.5, that was translated

into chest pain for us so we could see what was

happening. 2

Then the next things you might see is 162.9 in the kinds

of claims we’re looking at, which is a lung cancer.

Again, this is one of the 162 codes that you see up in the

Elmo. Lung cancer is 162, and point one, point two,

point three they use for different sites of lung cancer in

the lung. And this cost, we see substantial dollars

associated with that code.

And another thing we see in these records is what’s

happening. In this case the person went to the hospital.

And to give you--as I go through these with Dr. Samet, |

try to get, and any biostatistician tries to get, kind of a

general, common-sense understanding of what's going on

here, and the kind of understanding that I developed,

what typically goes on in these records is that here’s a

person that comes in with chest pain, and then it turns out

the diagnosis, what was causing that chest pain, is lung

cancer. As the person gets out of the hospital, you're

likely to see a different kind of code, one Starting with a

V, a V72.5, and that would be a code for a routine X-ray

exam. Might only cost fifty doilars. Then something

you see not uncommonly is these records might be 998.5,

Post operative complication, which against might cause

the person to have to go back into the hospital for

treatment. Could easily cost a couple thousand dollars.

And another thing you see a lot in the records is

prescription drugs, and particularly you see a lot of

prescription drugs where there’s serious illnesses like

this, and that might be five hundred dollars. Not be

A-47

unusual for several months for person like this. Now

there is no ICD-9 code for prescription drugs. The

reason for that is generally people go to their pharmacist

to get prescription drugs and the pharmacist doesn’t fill

in ICD-9 codes for diagnoses, so you don’t typically see

any codes for prescription drugs in the system.

And then another code you might typically see in a

sequence like this for a person is something like a V58.0,

that’s for radiation therapy, or a V58.1, which is

chemotherapy. Generally those sessions are a little more

expensive. And you might see a V70.8, which is a

general medical exam for a hundred dollars. All of these

things, again, just speaking of my general understanding

from--from talking with Dr. Samet and getting a

common-sense picture of what goes on in these records

and how to deal with them in a statistical model.

Of course this is very common-sensical. You have an

operation, may have complications, you got prescription

drugs, couple of other problems, and of course the cancer

radiation and chemotherapy are standard courses of

treatment. And then as time goes on, might see

something like this, 844.9, this is just a leg and knee

sprain, maybe a doctor’s visit for a hundred bucks, and

then you might see something like this,-724.5 for a

backache, and then you might see 198.5, secondary bond

cancer. See a lot of these with the lung cancer claims just

going through the data. It costs a lot to treat. And again

this could be just as when_a person comes in, they have

chest pain and then it’s diagnosed as lung cancer--some

of these orthopedic problems like backache could be the

first signs of the secondary bone cancer. And then after

this you can sometimes see a code like this 733.1. That’s

a code for pathological fracture, and that’s where the

cancer invades the bone, the bones become weak and the

bones start breaking. And then you see another thing

that’s contained in claims data: person typically dies, for

A-48

a patient like this. And there are a couple aspects of this

that are important for understanding the statistical

analysis. This one is oversimplified, because there are

dates on these and--and usually you wouldn’t see just this

many services. You can kind of think that every time I

wrote a line here, you're going to see several illness in

the computer record with different dates. For example,

you wouldn't typically have just one chemotherapy

session. You see in these records a person like this

would be going in for visits and hospital stays just over

and over and over against over many weeks. But I’ve

just given one line a piece here.

Another aspect of this that’s -- that’s important for

Statistical modeling is that only one of these codes

appears on the chart up there, just that one.

Q. Which one is that, doctor?

A. That is 162.9, lung cancer. Now as you look through

all the things that are happening to this person, and if you

sit down as I did with Dr. Samet, it’s pretty clear that if

you walked into this just as a statistician and say, well, I

know how to get all the lung cancers out of the

Minnesota claims data, I'll just look for codes 162, and if

you did that in this person, for example, well you’d miss

the chest pain, which may be the first sign of the lung

cancer, you'd miss the follow-up x-ray exam because that

doesn’t have a 162, you’d miss the post-op complications

and you'd miss any of the prescription drugs that are

related to the lung cancer and what's going on, because

over in this ICD-9 code you're not seeing a 162 code.

And then you'd miss the radio-therapy, which is the V58,

you'd miss the chemotherapy, and you'd miss the general

follow-up medical exam.

Now the knee and leg sprain we'll talk about a little later

when we talk about the third reduction. Maybe that one’s

Okay in this. Backache, well no. It could be related to

the secondary bone cancer, but we missed that. We

A-49

certainly missed the secondary bone cancer, that’s a

198.5 and that’s not a 162. And we’d miss the

pathological fracture. So part of doing the statistical

modeling and using this data in a in a common-sensical

way is to make sure that we don’t go into it and miss all

these things when we’re trying to look, for example, at

smoking-attributable expenditures due to lung cancer.

The other aspect of this that’s fairly typical for a GAMC

claim is that we’re basically not seeing the person until |

they have lung cancer, and the majority of the GAMC

claims for lung cancer are like that. , And again, my

understanding talking from administrators in the program

as -- as well as looking at the claims data, that a typical

situation is there will be someone who doesn’t have

much financial resources but is getting along okay, and

then all of a sudden they’re hit with all this stuff. And if

they didn’t--if their resources were low enough to begin

with, once they start having these bills, it’s likely that

they can qualify for General Assistance Medicare--

Medical Care in order to pay for this sequence of

treatments.

Id. at p. 5340,1. 2-p. 5348,1. 1.

Based upon the sworn testimony identifying and

analyzing the treatment of the plaintiffs now before this Court

the State of Minnesota demanded damages of $1.3 billion:

Q. [What is the estimate for the smoking-attributable

expenditure for the State of Minnesota during the period

1978-1996?

A. That estimate is $1.31 billion, or as is stated here,

$1,310 million dollars.

Id. at p. 5428,1. 13-17.

During discovery, the tobacco litigation trial court

ordered the State to identify, by name, a list of persons the

State claimed were current or former smokers, who had

A-50

smoking attributable illnesses requiring medical care paid for

by the State and produce some of them for depositions.

* * * * *

A-51

Excerpt from Petitioner Brown’s Tobacco Trial Deposition

Transcript.

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

COUNTY OF RAMSEY SECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT

THE STATE OF MINNESOTA,

BY HUBERT H. HUMPHREY, III

ITS ATTORNEY GENERAL,

PLAINTIFFS,

VS. FILE NO. C1-94-8565

PHILIP MORRIS INCORPORATED, R.J. REYNOLDS

TOBACCO COMPANY, BROWN & WILLIAMSON

TOBACCO CORPORATION, B.A.T. INDUSTRIES P.L.C.,

LORILLARD TOBACCO COMPANY, THE AMERICAN

TOBACCO COMPANY, LIGGETT GROUP, INC., THE

COUNCIL FOR TOBACCO RESEARCH-U.S.A., INC.,

AND THE TOBACCO INSTITUTE, INC.,

DEFENDANTS.

DEPOSITION OF

JESSE BROWN

March 11, 1997

9:43 a.m.

REPORTED BY:

JENNIFER S. SATI, RPR, CRR

RAY J. LERSCHEN & ASSOCIATES

620 PLYMOUTH BUILDING

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA 55402

A-52

DEPOSITION OF JESSE BROWN, taken at the Law

Offices of Dorsey & Whitney, Pillsbury Center South, 220

South Sixth Street, Minneapolis, Minnesota, on the 11" day

of March, 1997, commencing at 9:43 a.m., before Jennifer S.

Sati, Notary Public, Registered Professional Reporter and

Certified Realtime Reporter.

* * * *

APPEARANCES

On Behalf of the Plaintiffs:

Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

2800 LaSalle Plaza

800 LaSalle Avenue

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

BY: Kathleen Flynn Peterson

On Behalf of Lorillard Tobacco Company:

Shook, Hardy & Bacoa

One Kansas City Place

1200 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105-2118

BY: Jeffrey S. Nelson

Doherty, Rumble & Butler

2800 Minnesota World Trade Center

30 East Seventh Street

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-4999

BY: Howard Roston

A-53

INDEX

EXAMINATION BY: PAGES

MR. NELSON 4

MS. FLYNN PETERSON 112

FURTHER EXAMINATION BY: 130

* * * * *

EXHIBIT INDEX

EXHIBIT NUMBER PAGE MARKED

1 A Frank Statement to Cigarette Smokers 73

~ * * * *

A-54

— a

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

COUNTY OF RAMSEYSECOND JUDICIAL DISTRICT

THE STATE OF MINNESOTA, Case Type: Other Civil

BY HUBERT H. HUMPHREY III, Court File No.

ITS ATTORNEY GENERAL, C1-94-8565

and

BLUE CROSS AND BLUE SHIELD

OF MINNESOTA,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

PHILIP MORRIS INCORPORATED,

R.J. REYNOLDS TOBACCO COMPANY,

BROWN & WILLIAMSON TOBACCO

CORPORATION, B.A.T. INDUSTRIES

P.L.C., BRITISH-AMERICAN TOBACCO

COMPANY LIMITED, BAT (U.K. &

EXPORT) LIMITED, LORILLARD

TOBACCO COMPANY, THE AMERICAN

TOBACCO COMPANY, LIGGETT GROUP.

INC., THE COUNCIL FOR TOBACCO

RESEARCH-U.S.A., INC., and THE

TOBACCO INSTITUTE, INC.,

_

Defendants.

A-55

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AND STIPULATION

FOR ENTRY OF CONSENT JUDGMENT

THIS SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT AND RELEASE

(“Setthement Agreement’) is made as of the date hereof by

and among the parties hereto, as indicated by their signatures

below, to settle and resolve with finality all claims of the

State of Minnesota relating to the subject matter of this action

which have been or could have been asserted by the State of

Minnesota.

WHEREAS, the State of Minnesota, through its Attorney

General Hubert H. Humphrey III, and Blue Cross and Blue

Shield of Minnesota, commenced this action on August 17,

1994, asserting various claims for monetary, equitable and

injunctive relief on behalf of the State of Minnesota and Blue

Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota against certain tobacco

manufacturers and others as Defendants;

WHEREAS, the Defendants have denied each and every

one of Plaintiffs’ allegations of unlawful conduct or

wrongdoing and have asserted a number of defenses to

Plaintiffs’ claims, which defenses have been contested by

Plaintiffs;

WHEREAS, the parties hereto wish to avoid the further

expense, delay, inconvenience, burden and uncertainty of

continued litigation of this matter (including appeals from any

verdict), the State of Minnesota and the Settling Defendants

have agreed to settle this litigation pursuant to terms which

will-achieve for the State of Minnesota (and thus for the

people of the State of Minnesota) significant funding for the

advancement of public health, the implementation § of

important tobacco-related public health measures in

Minnesota, as well as funding for national research dedicated

to studying and significantly reducing the use of Tobacco

Products by youth;

WHEREAS, the State of Minnesota and Settling

Defendants have agreed to settle this lawsuit on terms set

A-56

forth in this Settlement Agreement and Stipulation for Entry

of Consent Judgment and the attached Consent Judgment;

WHEREAS, the parties have further agreed to jointly

petition the Court for approval of the Consent Judgment, on

the grounds that settlement would be in the public interest;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT KNOWN THAT, in

consideration of the payments to be made by the Settling

Defendants, the dismissal and release of claims by the State

of Minnesota and such other consideration as described

herein, the sufficiency of which is hereby acknowledged, the

parties hereto, acting by and through their authorized agents,

memorialize and agree as follows:

I. GENERAL PROVISIONS

A. Jurisdiction. The State and the Settling Defendants

acknowledge that this Court has jurisdiction over the subject

matter of this action and over each of the parties to this

Settlement Agreement, and that this Court shall retain

jurisdiction for the purposes of implementing and enforcing

this Settlement Agreement. The parties hereto agree to

present any disputes under this Settlement Agreement,

including without limitation any claims for breach or

enforcement of this Settlement Agreement, exclusively to this

Court. The Court may, upon the State's application, enter a

Consent Judgment in the form attached hereto as Exhibit A.

The cumulative terms of this Settkement Agreement and

Supulation for Entry of Consent Judgment, and the attached

Consent Judgment, may be referred to for convenience as this

“Agreement” or “Settlement Agreement.”

B. Voluntary Agreement of the Parties. The State and

the Settling Defendants acknowledge and agree that this

Settlement Agreement is voluntarily entered into by all parties

hereto as the result of arm’s-length negotiations during which

all such parties were represented by counsel. The State and

Settling Defendants understand that Congress may enact

A-S7

legislation dealing with some of the issues addressed in this

Agreement. Settling Defendants and their assigns, affiliates,

“agents, and successors hereby waive any right to challenge

this Agreement or the Consent Judgment, directly or through

third parties, on the ground that any term hereof is

unconstitutional, outside the power or jurisdiction of the

Court, preempted by or in conflict with any current or future

federal legislation (except where non-economic terms of

future federal legislation arc irreconcilable).

C. Definitions.

For the purposes of this Settlement Agreement and

attached Consent Judgment, the following terms shall have

the meanings set forth below:

1. “State” or “State of Minnesota” means the

State of Minnesota acting by and through its Attorney

General;

2. “Blue Cross” means BCBSM, Inc., d/b/a Blue

Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota, and all of its

administrators, representatives, employees, directors,

officers, agents, attorneys, parents and divisions;

3. “Settling Defendants” means those Defendants

in this action that are signatories hereto;

4. “Defendants” means Philip Mortis

Incorporated, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, Brown

& Williamson Tobacco Corporation, B.A.T Industries

P.L.C., British-American Tobacco Company Limited,

BAT (UK and Export) Limited, Lorillard Tobacco

Company, The American Tobacco Company, The

Council for Tobacco Research-U.S.A, Inc., and the

Tobacco Institute, Inc. and their successors and assigns;

5. “Consumer Price Index” shall mean _ the

Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, for the

most recent twelve-month period for which such

A-58

percentage information is available as published by the

Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of

Labor.

6. “Court” means the District Court of the State of

Minnesota, County of Ramsey, Second Judicial District;

7. “Market Share” means a Settling Defendant's

respective share of sales of cigarettes by unit for

consumption in the United States during (i) with respect

to payments made pursuant to Paragraph IID. of this

Settlement Agreement, the calendar year ending on the

date on which the payment at issue is due, regardless of

when such payment is made, and (ii) with respect to all

ether payments made pursuant to this Settlement

Agreement, the calendar year immediately preceding the

year in which the payment at issue is due, regardless of

when such payment is made;

8. “Cigarettes” means any product which contains

nicotine, is intended to be burned or heated under

ordinary conditions of use, and consists of or contains (i)

any roll of tobacco wrapped in paper or in any substance

not containing tobacco; or (ii) tobacco, in any form, that

is functional in the product, which, because of its

appearance, the type of tobacco used in the filler, or its

packaging and labeling, is likely to be offered to, or

purchased by, consumers as a cigarette; or (iii) any roll of

tobacco wrapped in any substance containing tobacco

which, because of its appearance, the type of tobacco

used in the filler, or its packaging and labeling, is likely

to be offered to, or purchased by, consumers as a

cigarette described in subparagraph (i) of this paragraph;

9. “Smokeless Tobacco” means any powder that

consists of cut, ground, powdered, or leaf tobacco that

contains nicotine and that is intended to be placed in the

oral cavity;

10. “Tobacco Products” means Cigarettes and

Smokeless Tobacco;

A-59

11. “Billboards” includes billboards, as well as all

signs and placards in arenas and stadiums, whether open-

air or enclosed. “Billboards” does not include (1) any

advertisements placed on or outside the premises of retail

establishments which sell tobacco products, or any retail

point-of-sale; and (2) billboards or advertisements in

connection with the sponsorship by the Defendants of

any entertainment, sporting or similar event, such as

NASCAR, that appears in the State of Minnesota as part

of a national or multi-state tour;

12. “Children” or “youth” means persons under the

age of 18;

13. “Depository,” unless otherwise _ specified,

means the Minnesota document depository established by

the Court’s Order dated June 16, 1995. “Depositories”

includes both the Minnesota depository and _ the

Guildford, U.K. document depository established by the

Court’s Order dated September 6, 1995;

14. “Transit Advertisements” means advertising on

private or public vehicles and all advertisements placed

at, on or within any bus stop, taxi stand, waiting area,

train station, airport or any similar location. “Transit

Advertisements” does not include any advertisements

placed on or outside the premises of retail establishments

licensed to sell Tobacco Products or any retail point-of-

sale;

15. “Special State Counsel” means Robins, Kaplan,

Miller & Ciresi L.L.P. or a successor, if any; and

16. “Final Approval” means the date on which this

Settlement Agreement and the form of State Escrow

Agreement are approved by the Court. At the time of

such approval, the settlement between the parties is final.

A-60

Il. SETTLEMENT PAYMENTS

A. Settlement Receipts. The payments to be made by

the Settling Defendants under this Settlement Agreement are

in satisfaction of all of the State of Minnesota’s claims for

damages incurred by the State in the year of such payment or

earlier years related to the subject matter of this action,

including, without limitation, claims for equitable and

injunctive relief, claims for health care expenditures and

claims for punitive damages, except that no part of any

payment under this Settlement Agreement is made in

settlement of an actual or potential liability for a fine, penalty

(civil or criminal) or enhanced damages.

B. Settlement Payments to the State of Minnesota. Each

Settling Defendant severally shall cause to be paid to an

account designated in writing by the State of Minnesota in

accordance with and subject to paragraph II.E. of this

Settlement Agreement, the following amounts: the amount

listed for it in Schedule A hereto, such amount representing

its share of $240,000,000, to be paid on or before September

5, 1998; pro rata in proportion to its Market Share, its share of

$220,800,000, to be paid on or before January 4, 1999; pro

rata in proportion to its Market Share, its share of

$242,550,000, to be paid on or before January 3, 2000; pro

rata in proportion to its Market Share, its share of

$242,550,000, to be paid on or before January 2, 2001; pro

fata in proportion to its Market Share, its share of

$242,550,000, to be paid on or before January 2, 2002; and

pro rata in proportion to its Market Share, its share of

$121,550,000, to be paid on or before January 2, 2003. The

payments made by the Settling Defendants pursuant to this

Paragraph shall be adjusted upward by the greater of 3% or

the Consumer Price Index applied each year on the previous

year, beginning with the payment due to be made on or before

January 3, 2000. The payments due to be made by the

Settling Defendants pursuant to this Paragraph on or before

A-61

January 3, 2000, on or before January 2, 2001, on or before

January 2, 2002, and on or before January 2, 2003, will also

be decreased or increased, as the case may be, in accordance

with the formula for adjustments of payments as set forth in

Appendix A. The payments due to be made by the Settling

Defendants pursuant to this Paragraph on or before September

5, 1998, and on or before January 4, 1999, shall not be subject

to inflation escalation and volume adjustments described in

the preceding sentences.

In the event that any of the Settling Defendants fails to

make any payment required of it pursuant to this Paragraph (a

“Defaulting Defendant”) by the applicable date set forth in

this paragraph II.B. (a “Missed Payment’), the State of

Minnesota shall provide notice to each of the Settling

Defendants of such non-payment. The Defaulting Defendant

shall have 15 days after receipt of such notice to pay the

Missed Payment, together with interest accrued from the

original applicable due date at the prime rate as published in

the Wall Street Journal on the latest publication date on or

before the date of default plus 3%. If the Defaulting

Defendant does not make such payment within such 15-day

period, the State of Minnesota shall provide notice to each of

the Settling Defendants of such continued non-payment. Any

or all of the Settling Defendants (other than the Defaulting

Defendant) shall thereafter have 15 days after receipt of such

notice to elect (in such Settling Defendant's or such Settling

Defendants’ sole and absolute discretion) to pay the Missed

Payment, together with interest accrued from the original

applicable due date at the prime rate as published in the Wall

Street Journal on the latest publication date on or before the

date of default plus 3%. In the event that the State of

Minnesota does not receive the Missed Payment, together

with such accrued interest, within such additional 15-day

period, all payments required to be made by each of the

respective Settling Defendants pursuant to this Paragraph

shall at the end of such additional 15-day period be

A-62

accelerated and shall immediately become due and owing to

the State of Minnesota from each Settling Defendant pro rata

in proportion to its Market Share; provided, however, that any

such accelerated payments (a) shall all be adjusted upward by

the greater of (i) the rate of 3% per annum or (11) the actual

total percent change in the CPI, in either instance for the

period between January 1 of the year in which the

acceleration of payments pursuant to this Paragraph occurs

and the date on which such accelerated payments are due

pursuant to this subsection, and (b) shall all immediately be

- adjusted in accordance with the formula for adjustments of

payments set forth in Appendix A.

Nothing in this Paragraph shall be deemed under any

circumstance to create any obligation on the part of any

Settling Defendant to pay any amount owed or payable to the

State of Minnesota by any other Settling Defendant. All

obligations of the Settling Defendants pursuant to this

Paragraph are intended to be and shall remain several, and not

joint.

C. Public Health Foundation. The Attorney General will

propose, and the Settling Defendants have agreed not to

oppose, that the Legislature appropriate to a foundation one-

half the payments due in September 1998, and in January of

the years 1999 through 2003, to be used for such activities as

the directors of the foundation may determine will diminish

the human and economic consequences of tobacco use. It is

contemplated that the directors of the foundation will include

public representatives, and representatives of such groups as

the American Lung Association, Minnesota Chapter, the

University of Minnesota School of Public Health; the

Minnesota SmokeFree 2000 Coalition; the American Cancer

Society, Minnesota Division; the American Heart

Association, Minnesota Chapter, the Association for Non-

Smokers’ Rights--Minnesota; and the Mayo Clinic Nicotine

Dependence Center.

A-63

D. Annual Payments. Each of the Settling Defendants

agrees that, beginning on December 31, 1998, and annually

thereafter on December 31st of each year after 1998 (subject

to final adjustment within 30 days), it shall severally cause to

be paid to an account designated in writing by the State of

Minnesota in accordance with and subject to paragraph 17.E.

of this Setthement Agreement, pro rata in proportion to its

respective Market Share, its share of 2.55% of the following

amounts (in billions):

there-

Year 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 ter

a ee

Amount $4B $4.5B $5B $6.5B $6.5B $8B $8B

The payments made by Settling Defendants pursuant to this

Paragraph shall be adjusted upward by the greater of 3% or

the Consumer Price Index applied each year on the previous

year, beginning with the annual payment due on December

31, 1999. Such payments will also be decreased or increased,

as the case may be, beginning with the annual payment due

on December 31, 1999, in accordance with the formula for

adjustments of payments set forth in Appendix A.

E. Payment of Settlement Proceeds. Any payment made

pursuant to this Settlement Agreement shall be made to an

account designated in writing by the State of Minnesota or the

Court, as applicable; provided that after Final Approval, if the

Court’s approval is challenged by any third party, payments

due to be made shall be paid into a special escrow account

(the “State Escrow Account’), and held in escrow pursuant to

this Section V.B. and the State Escrow Agreement.

F. Adjustments in Event of Federal Legislation. The

enactment of federal tobacco-related legislation shall not

affect the payments required by this Agreement except as

follows:

A-64

1. If federal tobacco-related legislation providing

for the resolution or other disposition of State Attorney

General actions brought against tobacco companies is

enacted on or before November 30, 2000. and if such

legislation provides for payments) by tobacco companies

(whether by settlement payment, tax or any other means),

all or part of which is made available to States, the State

of Minnesota shall elect to receive any funds that are (i)

unrestricted as to their use, or (ii) are restricted to any

form of health care or to any use related to tobacco

(collectively “Federal Settlement Funds”), and Settling

Defendants shall receive a dollar-for-dollar offset up to

the full amount of payments required under Section II.D

of this Agreement for any and all Settlement Funds

received by the State of Minnesota, until all Federal

Settlement Funds provided however:

a. There shall be no offset to payments

required by this Agreement on account of any

federal program, subsidies, payments, credits or

other aid to the State which are not conditioned or

tied to the settlement of a state tobacco-related suit

or the relinquishment of state tobacco-related claims;

b. The State relinquishes no rights or benefits

under this Agreement except for payments subject to

the offset;

c. There are no_ federally imposed

preconditions to the receipt of Federal Settlement

Funds other than (i) the settlement of any state

tobacco-related lawsuit or the relinquishment of state

tobacco-related claims, (ii) actions or expenditures

related to tobac

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.