Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wegelin v. Schmehl (No. 07-322)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(0) Supreme Cop U.S.

No. 07-32 2 SEP 04 2007

piers OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Sn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

ANN WEGELIN,

Petitioner,

JEAN SCHMEHL and DAVID SCHMEHL,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Pennsylvania

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GREGORY D. HENRY, ESQUIRE

Counsel of Record

KAUFFMAN, HENRY, MARK & DEBON, LLC

635 Walnut Street

Reading, PA 19601

(610) 376-7411

Attorney for Petitioner

ae

———

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312 violates the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution?

ii

LIST OF ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

WHOSE JUDGMENT IS SOUGHT TO BE REVIEWED

The Respondents in this Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania are Jean Schmeh! and

David Schmehl. Perry Schmehl (father) did not participate

in this matter before the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.

LIST OF PARENT COMPANIES

AND SUBSIDIARIES

None.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

i IE ic: ancinincinsiniicnitnenecenicditinlidnldeesininaiivnsesi i

List Of All Parties To The Proceedings Whose Judg-

ment Is Sought To Be Reviewed .................:0eeseeeeeeeeee ii

List Of Parent Companies And Subsidiaries................. ii

ee cveittitnievisssnstnnininccinnatcioubceninniphicesiaiananenteon iv

CE BN Secinretitestsiinntirdnicanctcestenstnceniveeiseanniieii 1

SEONG CIE POITIER ccecesccnecesecovenevssceccmasinenioveetonie 1

IS BI iiactieicciticicasaiicegnninttpcettensciastentstaiianpisinn 2

eee CAT TG vevncccccnsivievevisesceniesssenscinevscammnenets 2

Reasons For Granting The Writ ...............:ccsseeeseseeeesenees 4

I caciciisiccieesciigurpiianinleseisasiiniisicbaaiaieicarecieiuliieliapinsiiatinedgiabilians 9

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES CITED:

City of Richmond v. Croson, 488 U.S. 469, 109 S.Ct.

FOO, RD Es OOS (AGB) cevescccsicsccosnsstevssensvecssvecrenvsenes 9

Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 108 S.Ct. 1910, 100

i I II a cniterisdilacien cin sntesnsnbaihianiidlotntie anenassenceneees 1

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 92 S.Ct. 995, 31

Ri I UTI issidcleticsnstaniediuisdsoabitbaceinelcdsieaatennbnbdsteavesies 6

Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 125 S.Ct. 1141,

Fe ID bicescicecanicndcnsdtdabutdctinsibinncrunrestonsnssesres 9

Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1, 87 S.Ct. 1817, 18

a I NE cists kcettovntvadsnsiabeniecemendeniicicrenbetcenomianvie 1

Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S.

250, 94 S.Ct. 1076, 39 L.Ed.2d 306 (1974)..................000 5

Meyers v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 43 S.Ct. 625, 67

ee EE TET dindnbtiesceciidineensiisnlpiisiasanbachienatapannouiceoiee 4

Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292, 113 S.Ct. 1439, 123

RR Oe SI isk ciciidbintiasnssdasuscssdncstenndeaabiieeiboumenedaienbees 4

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 89 S.Ct. 1322,

Be ie CIID iikstiiss tubciecbachintindbidsiastodendgdiatebcennnienins 6

Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 120 S.Ct. 2054,

SF Fe icin ctdentckinicnicdninianitviuineiivconndiins 347

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 117 S.Ct.

pL yy £65: | Fn CD 4

Zablocki v. Redhail, 434 U.S. 374, 98 S.Ct. 673, 54

A NR EET TI socio ctcirtariacieleuhsssiathdinenidiedhcledibiinnatdeminiensinbabae 9

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

STATUTES CITED:

BE Fes BOCRIO BOG isc csseccenisiesccevccsssescsazeceserevees passim

Se rs ND BT iveiiicocictnsricasatarsniatesernintsinveanqenncnnan 1

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The Judgment and Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania appears in Appendix A hereto. Said opinion

reversed and remanded for further proceedings the Order

and Opinion of the Court of Common Pleas, Berks County,

Pennsylvania, dismissing Respondents’ Complaint for

Child Custody pursuant to the Pennsylvania Grandpar-

ents Visitation and Custody Act, The Opinion of the Court

of Common Pleas appears in Appendix B hereto.

oe

vv

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari arises from a

custody action filed by Respondents Jean and David

Schmehl. The Order of the Court of Common Pleas of

Berks County, Pennsylvania was filed on July 14, 2005.

On August 3, 2005, Respondents filed their Notice of

Appeal to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court entered on

August 30, 2005. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court

entered an Order noting possible jurisdiction. On June 12,

2007, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court entered its Opin-

ion.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

the provisions of Title 28, United States Code Section

1257.

Cases that sustain the jurisdiction of this Court

include Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 120 S.Ct. 2054,

147 L.Ed.2d 49 (2000); Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 108

S.Ct. 1910, 100 L.Ed.2d 465 (1988); and Loving v. Virginia,

388 U.S. 1, 87 S.Ct. 1817, 18 L.Ed.2d 1010 (1967).

¢

STATUTE INVOLVED

23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312

7

¥

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts of the case underlying this Petition for Writ

of Certiorari are as follows:

Ann Wegelin (“Petitioner”) and Perry Schmehl (“Fa-

ther”) have two (2) minor children. Petitioner and Father

were married on January 4, 1992 in Berks County, Penn-

sylvania. The parties were divorced by Decree in Berks

County, Pennsylvania on April 11, 2003, The parties are

operating pursuant to a Custody Order dated November

11, 2002 at No. 02-2891 in the Court of Common Pleas,

Berks County, Pennsylvania.

Petitioner has primary physical custody of the minor

children and Father has certain rights to partial custody.

Paternal grandparents Jean and David Schmehl (“Re-

spondents”) are divorced and have been seeing their

grandchildren during Father’s periods of partial] custody.

On April 29, 2005, Respondents filed a complaint

for custody/visitation against Petitioner pursuant to the

Grandparents’ Visitation Act at 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312.

On May 5, 2005, Petitioner filed preliminary objec-

tions to Respondents’ claims for failure to include a

necessary party, namely, Father. On May 11, 2005,

Petitioner filed a praecipe for argument court, brief in

support of her argument that 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312

was unconstitutional and Notice- to the Pennsylvania

Attorney General pursuant to Pa.R.C.P. Rule 235.

On June 27, 2005, Respondents filed their Brief in

Support of the Ce ‘tutionality of 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section

5312.

Oral argument was heard before the Honorable Scott

D. Keller on July 11, 2005. On July 14, 2005, Judge Keller

dismissed Respondents’ complaint and held that 23

Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312 violates the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.

On July 29, 2005, Judge Keller filed the Opinion

finding 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312 violates the Fourteenth

Amendment.

On August 3, 2005, Respondents filed their Notice of

Appeal. On August 30, 2005, the Supreme Court entered

an Order noting probable jurisdiction. On June 12, 2007,

the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania in a 4-3 decision

reversed the trial court and remanded the case for further

proceedings.

All federal questions to be reviewed were raised by

briefs, appropriate motions and argument in the Court of

Common Pleas of Berks County and the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania.

4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. PARENTS HAVE A FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO

THE CARE AND CONTROL OF THEIR CHIL-

DREN AND WITH WHOM THEY ASSOCIATE

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution states “nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law...” U.S. Const. Amend. XIV.

In Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 120 S.Ct. 2054, 147

L.Ed.2d 49 (2000), Justice O’Connor writes:

The Fourteenth Amendment provides that no

State shall “deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property without due process of law,” “We have

long recognized that the Amendment’s Due Proc-

ess Clause like its Fifth Amendment counter-

part,” “guarantees more than fair process.”

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 719, 138

L.Ed.2d 772, 117 S. Ct. 2258 (1997). The clause

also includes a substantive component that “pro-

vided heightened protection against government

interference with certain fundamental rights and

liberty interests.” Id. at 720, 138 L.Ed.2d 117

S. Ct. 2258; see also Reno v. Flores, 507 U.S. 292,

301-302, 123 L.Ed.2d 1, 113 S.Ct. 1439 (1993),

The liberty interest at issue in this case — the in-

terest of parents in the care, custody and control

of their children — is perhaps the oldest of the

fundamental liberty interests recognized by this

Court. More than 75 years ago, in Meyers v. Ne-

braska, 262 U.S. 390, 399, 401, 67 L.Ed.2d 1042,

43 S.Ct. 625 (1923) we held that the “liberty pro-

tected by the Due Process Clause includes the

right of parents to establish a home and bring up

children” and “to control the education of their

own.” Id. at 56.

From the aforementioned, it is clear in the Due

Process Clause that a parents’ constitutional right to

custody and control of their children and to choose

whether to expose their children to certain individuals or

ideas is superior to that of any other person.

Where there is an intact family, grandparents cannot

petition the courts for visitation and/or custody because of

the fundamentally protected right. If intact parents decide

they do not want their parents involved with their chil-

dren, the State has no interest in stating the children are

better off with the grandparents being involved. Addition-

ally, grandparents, siblings, aunts and uncles and any

other third party do not have a fundamental right to have

a relationship with children.

Il, NO COMPELLING STATE INTEREST EXISTS

TO TREAT FIT SEPARATED PARENTS DIF-

FERENTLY FROM FIT PARENTS RESIDING

TOGETHER REGARDING FUNDAMENTALLY

PROTECTED RIGHTS

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution guarantees “No State shall make or enforce

any law which shall deny to any person within its jurisdic-

tion the equal protection of the laws.”

Pursuant to the Equal Protection Clause, one must

“first determine what burden of jurisdiction the classifica-

tion created thereby must meet, by looking to the nature of

the classification and the individual] interests affected.”

Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250, 253,

94 S.Ct. 1076, 39 L.Ed.2d 306 (1974).

When a fundamental right is at issue, the “strict

scrutiny” formula for reviewing the constitutionality of the

6

State’s burden upon that right must be addressed. Dunn v.

Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 92 S.Ct. 995, 31 L.Ed.2d 274

(1972).

When a compelling State interest is at stake, the

classification must be narrowly tailored to serve the State

interest. Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 89 S.Ct.

1322, 22 L.Ed.2d 600 (1969).

There can be no doubt that the State has a compelling

interest in protecting the well-being of children regardless

if the parents are living together or not. The fundamental

right of parents to the care and control of their children is

not limitless.

The State has the right to intervene on behalf of the

children in anything that will jeopardize their health or

safety.

States have enacted the following laws to protect

children:

Child Labor Laws;

Court Ordered Transfusion;

y P

Compulsory Vaccinations;

a P

Compulsory Education;

e. Seatbelt Laws;

f. Alcohol to Minors;

g. Corruption of Minors;

h. Abortion Laws;

i. Mental Issues;

j. Harm Arising from Activities on the Street;

k. Abuse or Neglect;

l. Stabilization of Home Environments;

m. Juvenile Acts; and

n. Sexual Materials and Sexual Contents.

The State’s legitimate and compelling interest in

protecting children also has its limits. When a fit parent

makes a decision concerning their child’s life and said

decision does not jeopardize the health or safety of said

child, the State cannot interfere with that constitutionally

protected right.

“The Due Process Clause does not permit a State to

infringe on the fundamental right of parents to make child

rearing decisions simply because a state judge believes a

better decision could be made.” Troxel, 120 S.Ct. 2054

23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312, when parents’ marriage is

dissolved or parents are separated states as follows:

In all proceedings for dissolution, subsequent to

the commencement of the proceedings and con-

tinuing thereafter or when parents have been

separated for six (6) months or more, the court

may, upon application of the parent or grandpar-

ent of a party, grant reasonable partial custody

or visitation rights, or both, to the unmarried

child if it finds that visitation rights or partial

custody, or both, would be in the best interest of

the child and would not interfere with the par-

ent-child relationship. The court shall consider

the amount of personal contact between the par-

ents or grandparents of the party and the child

prior to the application.

23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312 discriminates in the right to

engage in a constitutional activity by parents who are

unmarried and not residing together, separated, and/or

divorced. This classification significantly burdens the right

to exercise a constitutionally protected activity.

By classifying parents who are married and reside

with their spouse and/or are unmarried and live together

differently than unmarried and not residing together,

separated and/or divorced parents, the latter lose their

fundamental right to the care, custody, control and with

whom their children can associate.

In a “suspect classification analysis” the burden is

upon the State to prove the classification must be neces-

sary to a compelling government interest.

If the State has a compelling interest in protecting

children from harm, the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

must believe that a child deprived from seeing his/her

grandparent is a substantial harm to the child over the

objection of a fit parent. Nowhere in the constitution does

it state that grandparents are a necessity to a child. If this

were true, parents residing together would also be tar-

geted in grandparent visitation statutes. Clearly, depriv-

ing a child from his/her grandparents is not the same as

depriving a child of shelter, food, care and meeting their

basic needs. Therefore, without a showing of a substantial

harm to a child as a result of the denial of grandparent

visitation, the State intrusion is unwarranted.

23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312 attacks the parenting

capabilities of any parent who does not live in a home

which includes both mother and father, and their children.

The statute grants grandparents automatic standing to

pursue custody rights and permits the trial court to

determine the best interest of the child over the objections

of a fit parent.

9

If any parents who were separated, divorced, or for

any reason were not living together and then decided to

cohabitate, the grandparents would not have standing to

proceed under Section 5312. Therefore, the only ingredient

necessary to invoke Section 5312 is that the parents do not

reside together.

The second prong of the “strict scrutiny test” is that

the classification must be narrowly tailored to serve the

compelling statute interest. Zablocki v. Redhail, 434 U.S.

374, 98 S.Ct. 673, 54 L.Ed.2d 618 (1978).

If the State is trying to prevent a substantial harm to

children due to the denial of the visitation with their

grandparents, the State must identify those children who

will suffer a greater harm from the denial of grandparent

visitation. There may be a list of qualities that could be

created in a narrowly tailored way to identify the afore-

mentioned children at risk; however, Section 5312 merely

addresses those parents who do not reside together. When

parents do not reside together this does not address the

issue of at risk children with any degree of accuracy to

comport with a classification that must be narrowly

tailored to serve the State’s compelling interest.

The classifications set forth in Section 5312 are

substantially overinclusive and underinclusive to the

State’s objectives. City of Richmond v. Croson, 488 U.S.

469, 109 S.Ct. 706, 102 L.Ed.2d 854 (1989); Johnson v.

California, 543 U.S. 499, 125 S.Ct. 1141, 160 L.Ed.2d 949

(2005); and Zablocki, supra.

The classifications are overinclusive because countless

children covered by this statute are not at risk due to the

denial of seeing their grandparents versus those children

who are at risk because of said denial.

10

The classifications are also underinclusive because

there are numerous family issues and factors not deline-

ated in the statute which may cause an increased substan-

tial risk to children due to the ability to have an ongoing

relationship and visitation with their grandparents.

The justifications set forth by the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court in holding 23 Pa.C.S.A. Section 5312

constitutional are inconsistent with the equal protection

clause of the United States Constitution and United States

Supreme Court decisions.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, Petitioner respectfully

prays this Honorable Court to grant the Petitioner’s

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania and submits that this Petition brings before

the Court substantial and important federal questions

which require plenary consideration, with briefs on the

merits and oral argument for their resolution.

Respectfully submitted by,

GREGORY D. HENRY, ESQUIRE

KAUFFMAN, HENRY, MARK & DEBON, LLC

635 Walnut Street

Reading, PA 19601

- (610) 376-7411

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Judgment and Opinion of the Su-

preme Court of Pennsylvania ..............cssseeseeseeeeercenseeees la

Appendix B — Decision of the Honorable Scott D.

Keller of the Court of Common Pleas of Berks

Courhy,, POR I et crciniessetndeeecesersecsosescccssceseesees 30a

la

APPENDIX A

[J-142-2006)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

MIDDLE DISTRICT

CAPPY, C.J., CASTILLE, SAYLOR, EAKIN,

BAER, BALDWIN, FITZGERALD, JJ.

JEAN SCHMEHLAND ~ : No. 87 MAP 2005

DAVID SCHMEHL, —: appeal from the Order of the

Appellants ‘ Court of Common Pleas of

' Berks County, entered on July

“ ‘14, 2005 at Dkt. No. 05-5526.

ANNWEGELINAND °

PERRY SCHMEHL, ° SUBMITTED Nov. 29, 2005

Appellees.

OPINION

MR. JUSTICE SAYLOR DECIDED: June 12, 2007

The question presented is whether Section 5312 of the

Domestic Relations Code violates the Equal Protection

Clause of the United States Constitution in providing for

grandparent visitation of a child when the child’s parents

are divorced, engaged in divorce proceedings, or separated

for six months or more.

On November 12, 2002, during Mother and Father’s

separation, a custody order was entered between them

regarding their two children. Five months later they were

divorced. On April 29, 2005, after Mother refused to

permit the children’s paternal grandparents (“Grandpar-

ents”) to pick up the children from school during her

period of custody, Grandparents filed an action in the

Court of Common Pleas of Berks County under Section

2a

5312 seeking partial custody.’ Although Father supports

his parents’ claim, Grandparents joined him as a defen-

dant as a necessary party. See Pa.R.C.P. No.1915.6.

Mother moved to dismiss the action, asserting that Section

5312 violated her Due Process and Equal Protection rights

under the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.’

The challenged statute enables grandparents to seek

partial custody or visitation of their grandchild when the

child’s parents are divorced, engaged in divorce proceed-

ings, or have been separated for six months or more. See

23 Pa.C.S. § 5312. In particular, the statute provides:

In all proceedings for dissolution, subsequent to

the commencement of the proceeding and con-

tinuing thereafter or when parents have been

separated for six months or more, the court may,

upon application of the parent or grandparent of

a party, grant reasonable partial custody or visi-

tation rights, or both, to the unmarried child if it

finds that visitation rights or partial custody, or

both, would be in the best interest of the child

and would not interfere with the parent-child re-

lationship. The court shall consider the amount

of personal contact between the parents or

grandparents of the party and the child prior to

the application.

' Grandparents are divorced, but have cooperated to seek partial

custody.

* The Equal Protection Clause, in pertinent part provides that no

State shall “deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.” U.S. CONST. amend. XIV § 1. The Due Process

Clause provides that no State shall “deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; .. . ” Jd.

3a

Id. In contrast, standing to obtain partial custody or

visitation is not afforded to grandparents of children

whose parents are married and living together.’ This

disparate treatment between intact families - married

parents living together — and divorced or separated par-

ents, Mother argued, violates equal protection principles.

The trial court agreed, finding that Section 5312

violates the Equal Protection Clause because it impermis-

sibly treats intact families differently from parents who

are divorced or separated, and dismissed Grandparent’s

complaint without addressing the merits of their claim.

The trial court noted that the “prohibition against treating

people differently under the law does not preclude the

Commonwealth from resorting to legislative classifica-

tions... .” Schmehl v. Wegelin, No. 05-5526, slip op. at 3

(C.P. Berks July 29, 2005) (quoting Curtis v. Kline, 542 Pa.

249, 256, 666 A.2d 265, 268 (1995)). But when that classi-

fication burdens a fundamental right, the court explained,

strict scrutiny is applied, which requires the classification

to be necessary for a compelling government interest. See

id. Because the classification under Section 5312 burdened

a parent’s fundamental right to make decisions regarding

the upbringing of his or her children, the trial court held

that, to uphold the legislative classification created by the

statute between parents who are married and living

together versus those who are divorced or separated, such

classification must be necessary to vindicate a compelling

government interest. See id. at 6.

* Under Section 5311, when a child’s parents are deceased, the

parent of the deceased parent may seek partial custody or visitation.

See 23 Pa.C.S. § 5311.

4a

The trial court found that no compelling government

interest existed for the classification, noting that, although

the parents are no longer together, it does not logically

follow that state intervention is necessary. In particular,

the court observed:

Both parents remain and, during periods of their

partial custody with the children, either parent

can provide access to their parents. There is no

compelling reason that this Court can see for the

state to require that Mother give up more of her

time with the children, so that Father’s parents

can have their own periods of visitation separate

from visitations while Father has custody....

There is no compelling reason, in fact it would

create the potential] for greater harm, if a child of

separated/divorced parents would be subject to,

in this case, [two] more potential periods of Court

ordered partial custody/visitation. A child of an

intact family has freedom to live their life as a

child, absent court ordered scheduling of their

time. There is no reason to burden a child of

separated/divorced parents with more court or-

dered interference in their already restricted

childhood. Their parents can make sure there is

contact with the grandparents.

Schmehl, No. 05-5526, slip op. at 8.

In its subsequent opinion under Rule of Appellate

Procedure 1925(a), the trial court reiterated its earlier

ruling, explaining:

Although the parents no longer live together,

each must continue to enjoy the fundamental

right, free from court interference, to make deci-

sions about the upbringing of their children, in-

cluding the decision about with whom the

5a

children associate. It is important to note that

this court’s decision does not preclude [Grand-

parents] from ever seeing the children, which

they may do during periods of the father’s partial

custody. It merely asserts that there is no com-

pelling reason to justify subjecting the children of

divorced or separated parents to additional peri-

ods of Court ordered ... custody and visitation,

nor requiring Mother to relinquish periods of her

custody so that Father’s parents may have their

own periods, when such court intervention would

not be permissible if the parents were married or

living together.

Schmehl v. Wegelin, No. 05-5526, slip op. at 3 (C.P. Berks

September 19, 2005). Grandparents appealed to this

Court, which has exclusive appellate jurisdiction of deci-

sions of a court of common pleas that determine a statute

to be unconstitutional. See 42 Pa.C.S. § 722(7).

As the constitutionality of statute presents a question

of law, our review is plenary. See Theodore v. Delaware

Valley School Dist., 575 Pa. 321, 333-334, 836 A.2d 76, 83

(2003) (citing Purple Orchid v. Pennsylvania State Police,

572 Pa. 171, 813 A.2d 801 (2002)). A statute duly enacted

by the General Assembly is presumed valid and wil! not be

declared unconstitutional unless it “clearly, palpably and

plainly violates the Constitution.” Purple Orchid, 572 Pa.

at 171, 178, 813 A.2d at 805. The party seeking to over-

come the presumption of validity bears a heavy burden of

persuasion. See Commonwealth, Dep't of Transp. v. McCaf-

ferty, 563 Pa. 146, 155, 758 A.2d 1155, 1160 (2000).

Grandparents challenge the trial court’s determina-

tion that Section 5312 violates non-intact families’ equal

protection rights. Although Grandparents concede that

Mother’s interest in the care, direction, and control of her

6a

children is a fundamental right, Grandparents assert that

the need to protect children of non-intact families is a

compelling government interest, and the standards set

forth in the statute are narrowly tailored to such interest.

In particular, Grandparents note that, under the statute,

the grant of partial custody or visitation is not automatic;

rather, it depends on several factors that they must

establish.

In contrast, Mother argues that a state should not

interject its own beliefs regarding parenting decisions or

thwart a parent’s ability to raise her children as she sees

fit. She maintains that no compelling interest exists to

treat married parents differently from separated parents

who are still alive and still fit to make decisions regarding

their children. Although she and Father are divorced,

Mother contends, it does not logically follow that state

intervention is necessary.

In Hiller v. Fausey, 588 Pa. 342, 904 A.2d 875 (2006),

cert. denied, __ U.S. ___, ___ S.Ct. ___, 2007 WL 879630

(Mar. 26, 2007), this Court recently considered the consti-

tutionality under the Due Process Clause of another

grandparent visitation statute, Section 5311 of the Domes-

tic Relations Code, which delimits the circumstances in

which a grandparent may seek partial custody or visita-

tion of his or her grandchild when a parent has died.‘

* Section 5311 provides:

If a parent of an unmarried child is deceased, the parents or

grandparents of the deceased parent may be granted rea-

sonable partial custody or visitation rights, or both, to the

unmarried child by the court upon a finding that partial

custody or visitation rights, or both, would be in the best in-

terest of the child and would not interfere with the parent-

child relationship. The court shall consider the amount of

(Continued on following page)

7a

Observing that the right to make decisions concerning the

care, custody, and control of one’s own children “is one of

the oldest fundamental rights protected by the Due Proc-

ess Clause [of the Fourteenth Amendment],” id. at 358,

904 A.2d at 885 (citing Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 65,

120 S.Ct. 2054, 2060 (2000)), this Court determined that

any infringement of such right requires strict scrutiny

review to determine whether the infringement is sup-

ported by a compelling state interest and if the infringe-

ment is narrowly tailored to effectuate that interest. See

Hiller, 588 Pa. at 359, 904 A.2d at 885-86. In applying

strict scrutiny to Section 5311 and finding it constitu-

tional, the Court identified the compelling state interest

for grandparent partial custody or visitation under Section

5311 as the state’s “longstanding interest in protecting the

health and emotional welfare of children,” under the

state’s parens patriae interest. See id. at 359, 904 A.2d at

886. Section 5311 was narrowly tailored to serve that

interest, the Court held, because it extends standing to

seek partial custody or visitation “not merely to grandpar-

ents, but to grandparents whose child has died.” /d.

Additionally, the Court noted that:

This limitation ... furthers our General Assem-

bly’s express public policy to assure the “continu-

ing contact of the child or children with

grandparents when the parent is deceased, di-

vorced or separated.” 23 Pa.C.S. § 5301. More-

over, the rational behind the stated policy is

clear: in the recent past, grandparents have as-

sumed increased roles in their grandchildren’s

personal contact between the parents or grandparents of the

deceased parent and the child prior to the application.

23 Pa.C.S. § 5311.

8a

lives and our cumulative experience demon-

strates the many potential benefits of strong in-

ter-generational ties.

Id. at 360, 904 A.2d at 886 (citing Troxel, 530 U.S. at 64,

120 S.Ct. at 2059). In view of such interest, the Court

found the statute to be narrowly tailored in that it re-

quired the court to ensure that the partial custody and

visitation granted would not interfere with the parent-

child relationship, consider the pre-petition relationship

and prior willingness of the parent to provide access to the

child without a court order, and determine that such grant

would serve the best interests of the child. See id. at 361,

904 A.2d at 887. Additionally, under relevant case law, the

courts must afford a presumption in favor of the parent’s

determination of custody that meaningfully tips the

balance in her favor. See id. at 362-63, 904 A.2d at 887-88.

The present case was addressed in the trial court on

equal protection grounds as opposed to substantive due

process principles and involved Section 5312 of the Domes-

tic Relations Code, as opposed to Section 5311, which was

the subject of Hiller. In this context, however, the substan-

tive due process and equal protection inquiries are essen-

tially identical. In this regard, both inquiries employ a

threshold assessment concerning the weight to be ascribed

to the parental interest to determine the appropriate level

of scrutiny, and both employ a balancing formulation in

the application of such scrutiny in which the government’s

interest is tested, on the one hand, to determine whether it

represents an acceptable infringement on the parental

interest (for purposes of substantive due process), and on

the other hand, whether it is sufficient to support a particu-

lar classification (for equal protection purposes). Addition-

ally, Sections 5311 and 5312, addressing grandparent

9a

visitation and partial custody in circumstances involving

the death of a parent and divorce, respectively, are both

concerned with protecting the health and emotional

welfare of children under the state’s parens patriae inter-

est in circumstances where the child’s family continuity is

disrupted. Finally, in Hiller, Section 5311 was able to

withstand the due process challenge only because the

statute employs a classification scheme restricting its

reach to a limited class of grandparents (those whose

children have died) — in other words, the classification was

at the heart of the determination that the statute was

narrowly tailored to serve the compelling state interest in

protecting the health and emotional welfare of children.

See Hiller, 588 Pa. at 359-60, 904 A.2d at 886. Thus, we

find the Hiller decision to be highly relevant in the present

context.”

* In response to Mr. Chief Justice Cappy’s assertion that we have

improperly intermixed equal protection and due process principles, we

are not alone in recognizing the substantial overlap in the application of

these respective constitutional precepts relative to statutes that rely

upon classifications, such as Sections 5311 and 5312 of the Domestic

Relations Code. See, e.g., Bearden v. Georgia, 461 U.S. 660, 666-67, 103

S.Ct. 2064, 2069 (1983) (highlighting the substantial similarity between

determining whether a particular classification may be used in taking

governmental action consistent with equal protection and assessing

whether it is fundamentally unfair to take such action under substan-

tive due process, as arising in the context of parole revocation decisions

based upon the failure to pay fines by indigents). See generally Goulart

v. Meadows, 220 F.Supp.2d 494, 500 (D.Md.2002) (“Modern substantive

due process analysis is generally understood to overlap considerably

with equal protection analysis.” (citing JOHN E. NOWAK AND RONALD D.

ROTUNDA, CONSTITUTIONAL LAW § 11.4 (5th ed. 1995)); Lofty v. Richard-

son, 440 F.2d 1144, 1147 (6th Cir. 1971) (“As to an assertion of an

arbitrary classification argument, there is a wide area of overlap

between the effect of the Fifth Amendment’s due process clause and the

(Continued on following page)

10a

Here, Mother challenges as a violation of her equal

protection rights the classification between intact and non-

intact families under Section 5312. Given the role allo-

cated to such classification in authorizing an infringement

on a parent’s fundamental right to make child-rearing

decisions, for the reasons elaborated more fully in Hiller, it

is clear that the trial court correctly applied strict scrutiny.

See generally Smith v. Coyne, 555 Pa. 21, 29, 722 A.2d

1022, 1025 (1999) (“Strict scrutiny is applied to classifica-

tions affecting a suspect class or fundamental right.”); see

also Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 461, 108 S.Ct. 1910, 1914

(1988). Thus, initially the court appropriately centered the

focus upon whether the classification is necessary to serve

the Commonwealth’s parens patriae interest and whether

the means used are narrowly tailored to effectuate the

state purpose. Khan v. State Bd. of Auctioneer Examiners,

577 Pa. 166, 184, 842 A.2d 936, 947 (2004).° Consistent

Fourteenth Amendment’s equal! protection clause.” (citing Bolling v.

Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497, 74 S.Ct. 693 (1954)).

* In both the equal protection and substantive due process settings,

strict scrutiny has been framed by the courts in various ways, but its

most common formulation centers squarely on the main conception of

“narrowly tailored measures that further compelling government

interests.” Johnson v. California, 543 U.S. 499, 505, 125 S.Ct. 1141,

1146 (2005). The Chief Justice effectively appears to elevate the phrase

“necessary to a compelling state interest” that has sometimes been used

in describing strict scrutiny into an “only means” test for equal protec-

tion that differs from the application of strict scrutiny in due process

analysis. See Dissenting Opinion, slip op. at 4 (Cappy, C.J.). Such an

asserted distinction is faulty, however, in the first instance, because the

courts have employed the same phraseology in both the equal protec-

tion and substantive due process contexts. Compare Khan, 577 Pa. at

184, 842 A.2d at 947 (describing the test for strict scrutiny for purposes

of substantive due process as whether legislation “is necessary to

promote a compelling state interest and is narrowly tailored to effectu-

ate that state purpose.” (emphasis added)), with Commonwealth v. Bell,

512 Pa. 334, 344, 516 A.2d 1172, 1178 (1986) (explaining, in the equal

(Continued on following page)

lla

with Hiller, however, we believe that in applying this test

the trial court ascribed insufficient weight to the govern-

ment’s interest in the children’s well-being, in the context

of this narrowly-tailored statute addressing grandparent

involvement in non-intact families.

In this regard, the classification under Section 5312 is

not based on antagonism against non-intact families, but,

like Section 5311, reflects circumstances where the child’s

family environment has been disturbed. Accord Seagrave

v. Price, 79 S.W.3d 339, 344 (Ark. 2002) (“Because the

differences in the circumstances between married and

divorced parents established the necessity to discriminate

between the classes, the [grandparent visitation] statute

at issue would not be found unconstitutional.”);’ Blixt v.

Blixt, 774 N.E.2d 1052, 1064 (Mass. 2002) (holding that,

under strict scrutiny, a grandparent visitation statute did

not violate equal protection principles, given legislative

protection setting, that strict scrutiny entails consideration of whether

a classification is “necessary to the achievement of a compelling state

interest” (emphasis added)). Moreover, in neither context do we believe

that the essential inquiry amounts to an only means test.

* In Seagrave, on consideration of a grandparent visitation statute

analogous to Section 5312, the Supreme Court of Arkansas found that

the classification between a married parent and unmarried parent was

not based on a suspect classification, and therefore, was subject to

rational basis review to determine whether the classification has a

rational basis that was reasonably related to a legitimate government

purpose. Seagrave, 79 S.W.3d at 343. The court did not specifically

address whether the classification burdened a fundamental nght,

noting that it could apply to situations where the child was in the

custody of someone other than the child’s natural or adoptive parents.

See id. Ultimately, however, the court determined that the Arkansas

statute had been unconstitutionally applied because the trial court had

failed to apply any presumption in favor of the custodial parent’s

decision regarding visitation. See id. at 345.

12a

recognition that children of unmarried or separated

parents may be at heightened risk for certain kinds of

harm when compared with children of intact families); see

also Curtis, 542 Pa. at 261-68, 666 A.2d at 271-74 (Mon-

temuro, J., dissenting) (discussing the impact of divorce

upon children).’ Recognizing the parens patriae interest in

the child’s wellbeing and heightened risk of harm arising

from the breakdown of a marriage, the classification under

Section 5312 is directly and narrowly tailored to such

breakdown, and only provides for visitation or partial

custody to a grandparent in limited circumstances, similar

to the limitations under section 5311 and discussed in

Hiller.

Notably, Section 5312 requires the court to consider

the pre-petition contact between the grandparent and child,

and thereby respects the existence or absence of any rela-

tionship between them, and the prior willingness of the

parent to foster such a relationship without a court order.

See 23 Pa.C.S. §§ 5311-5312; Hiller, 588 Pa. at 361, 904 A.2d

at 887; accord Blixt, 774 N.E.2d at 1064 (noting that grand-

parent visitation “has everything to do with protecting the

* In Curtis, this Court found unconstitutional a statute that

authorized the court to order a separated, divorced, or unmarried

parent to provide for post-secondary, i.e. college, education of his or her

child. See Curtis, 542 Pa. at 258, 666 A.2d at 269. Determining that

there was no entitlement to participate in such education, see id. at 268,

the Court found no rational basis to provide only adult children of

divorced parents such a benefit. See id. at 258-59, 666 A.2d at 269-70.

Here, of course, the statute is directed to the custodial arrangement of a

minor, of which the state has a parens patriae interest, and the harm to

be protected against, disruption of a child’s family environment, directly

and necessarily flows from the circumstances covered by the classifica-

tion at issue. Consequently, the focus is on whether the means used are

narrowly tailored to promote such interest. See Khan, 577 Pa. at 184,

842 A.2d at 947.

13a

child, insofar as possible, by preserving the fruits of signifi-

cant developmental attachment whose seeds were planted

by a parent”).” Additionally, prior to granting a grandparent

access to the child, the trial court must ensure that such

grant will not interfere with the parent-child relationship,

determine that such grant serves the best interests of the

* Madame Justice Baldwin draws a distinction between the

situation involving the death of a parent under Section 5311 and

divorce under Section 5312 in terms of the balancing of the respective

interests involved. See Dissenting Opinion, slip op. at 4 (Baldwin, J.).

Her conclusion appears to be that, although the Court declined in Hiller

to condition grandparent visitation upon a constitutional threshold of

parental unfitness or harm, see Hiller, 588 Pa. at 365-66 & n.24, 904

A.2d at 890 & n.24, such a requirement is appropriate to the divorce

scenario. See Dissenting Opinion, slip op. at 4-8.

This Court recognized in Hiller that the trauma accompanying the

death of a parent is substantial, and we recognize here that the effects

of divorce, including the potential for ongoing disharmony between

parents, may also be highly traumatic. See, eg., Jack Arbuthnet,

Courts’ Perceived Obstacles to Establishing Divorce Education Pro-

grams, 40 Fam. CT. REV. 371, 371 (2002) (discussing a “growing

awareness by academics, mental health professionals, community

service providers, and court personnel alike that divorce can have

devastating effects on those family members least empowered to protect

themselves — the children”). There is no record that would enable us to

gauge a qualitative or quantitative distinction between the impact of

de2th and divorce of parents upon affected children, and we believe that

it exceeds the realm of our judicial expertise to attempt to draw one.

Finally, Justice Baldwin’s appears to conflate merits review concerning

Grandparents’ ultimate entitlement to relief, which is not before us, with

the threshold issue of whether Section 5312 is facially unconstitutional,

with which we are now presented. In doing so, Justice Baldwin incor-

rectly suggests that we have ignored the presumption in favor of a fit

parent (when we have specifically indicated that such presumption must

be given full effect in a merits assessment), and concludes that Grand-

parents have failed to overcome the presumption (although they have not

had the opportunity to do so, because their petition was dismissed by the

trial court based on its determination that Section 5312 was facially

unconstitutional). See Dissenting Opinion, slip op. at 7-8.

l4a

child, see 23 Pa.C.S. §§ 5311-5312, and afford special weight

and deference to a parent’s decision regarding such access.

See Hiller, 588 Pa. at 361, 904 A.2d at 887. Moreover, any

grant of partial custody and visitation must be reasonable.

See 23 Pa.C.S. § 5312.”

Given the statute’s focus on the protecting the child

upon the breakdown of a marriage, and the limited cir-

cumstances in which it applies, that are directed toward

promoting the welfare of the child and limiting the intru-

sion upon the parent, we find that the classification under

Section 5312 is valid, upon the application of strict scru-

tiny. As such, Mother has not satisfied the heavy burden of

establishing that the statute clearly, palpably, and plainly

violates the Constitution. Accordingly, the order of the

common pleas court is reversed, and the case is remanded

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.”

Messrs. Justice Eakin, Baer and Fitzgerald join the

opinion.

Mr. Chief Justice Cappy files a dissenting opinion.

” In its opinion, the trial court highlighted that Grandparents

could be afforded access to the children during Father’s periods of

custody. This factor may bear upon the merits of a court’s ultimate best

interests and reasonableness determinations. It should be noted,

however, that in other cases access through a parent may not be

possible, such as when a parent has relocated, is incarcerated, or has

been denied partial custody due to circumstances beyond the grandpar-

ents’ control.

“ Although the trial court did not address Mother’s claim that the

statute violated her constitutional due process rights, for the reasons

stated herein, the trial court must ohviously consider Hiller and our

present rationale in finally resolving such claim.

15a

Madame Justice Baldwin files a dissenting opinion in

which Mr. Justice Castille joins.

JUDGMENT ENTERED:

June 12, 2007

/s/ Nonna Blynn

Nonna Blynn, Chief Clerk

DISSENTING OPINION

MR. CHIEF JUSTICE CAPPY DECIDED: June 12, 2007

I join Justice Baldwin’s dissenting opinion to the

extent that it concludes that the state has no compelling

interest to classify parents by marital status under 23

Pa.C.S. § 3512. Because this is a facial constitutional

challe.ige, I do not join any analysis which delves into the

underlying facts of this case but, rather, consider the

statute on its face to determine if it creates a permissible

classification that survives constitutional scrutiny. I write

separately because I believe the majority fails to establish

the state’s compelling interest in classifying parents

according to marital status within the framework of equal

protection.

The essence of the constitutional principle of equal

protection under the law is that like persons in like cir-

cumstances will be treated similarly. Commonwealth v.

Albert, 758 A.2d 1149, 1151 (Pa. 2000). The prohibition

against treating people differently under the law does not

preclude the Commonwealth from resorting to legislative

classifications, provided that those classifications are

reasonable rather than arbitrary and bear a reasonable

relationship to the object of the legislation. Jd. There are

16a

different levels of classifications and standards by which

classifications are weighed, with the highest level of

scrutiny reserved for classifications that burden a suspect

class or a fundamental right. Jd. at 1152. If the classifica-

tion impinges a fundamental right protected by the Con-

stitution, then it is subject to strict scrutiny. Jd. (citing

Smith v. City of Philadelphia, 516 A.2d 306, 311

(Pa. 1986)). A statute containing a classification of this

kind will not be entitled to the usual presumption of

validity, as the majority asserts. See Danson v. Casey, 399

A.2d 360, 372 (Pa. 1979). Rather, the Commonwealth must

establish that its interference with a fundamental right is

compelled by some legitimate state interest, and that the

interference is narrowly tailored to be the least drastic

means of accomplishing that objective. Danson, 399 A.2d

at 372. Strict scrutiny requires that the classification be

necessary to effectuate the state’s compelling interest.

Commonwealth v. Bell, 516 A.2d 1172, 1178 (Pa. 1986)

(emphasis added).

The majority does recognize that parents have the

right to make decisions concerning the care, custody and

control of their children, and that this is a fundamental

right protected by the Due Process Clause. It also properly

asserts the state’s legitimate interest in the welfare of

children. However, the focus of the inquiry under equal

protection is the legitimacy of the classification created by

the statute. The majority correctly states the law in this

area on one hand, but then asserts that the equal protec-

tion inquiry is “essentially identical” to an inquiry of

substantive due process. See Majority Opinion p. 7 supra.

In fact, the caselaw cited by the majority does not refer to the

inquiries as “essentially identical” but rather as “substan-

tially similar” and while it is true that due process and equal

17a

protection involve a substantially similar inquiry in that

the concepts are very much alike, the analyses do differ in

what I believe to be a critical aspect. Both consider

whether the government action is necessary to promote a

compelling state interest and is narrowly tailored to

effectuate that interest, but substantive due process

applies this test to the legislation, whereas under equal

protection we apply that test to the classification created

by the legislation. Compare Khan, 842 A.2d at 947 with

Commonwealth v. Bell, 516 A.2d at 1178. In other words,

strict scrutiny under due process tests the government’s

interest to determine if the statute represents an accept-

able infringement, whereas equal protection, the concept

at issue here, considers whether the government’s interest

is sufficient to support a particular classification. I may

seem to quibble over the precise language that the major-

ity chooses to use, however, I believe that there is a real

risk that the two inquiries will be conflated. This is prob-

lematic because distinct analyses may lead to divergent

results. This concern is borne out by a careful reading of

Blixt v. Blixt, 774 N.E. 1052 (Mass. 2002), a case cited by

the majority to support it’s contention that the governmen-

tal interest here is compelling. In Blixt, the Supreme

Judicial Court of Massachusetts considered a facial chal-

lenge to a grandparent visitation statute similar to our

own on both due process and equal protection grounds. Jd.

at 1056. Under due process, the court found that the

statute satisfied strict scrutiny because “our construction

narrowly tailors it to further the compelling [s]tate inter-

est in protecting the welfare of a child who has experi-

enced a disruption in the family unit from harm.” Jd. at

660. But, although the court recognized the standard of

evaluating the classification within the statute when it

turned to the equal protection analysis, it did not engage

18a

in any analysis as to how the classification itself served

the compelling interest. Jd. at 1064-65. Instead, the Blixt

court merely repeated its due process analysis. Jd. The fact

that the two concepts are so substantially similar makes it

easy to conflate the two distinct tests. Therefore, in the

interests of protecting our constitution and our caselaw, I

think it is important that we highlight the small, but

important way in which the tests are dissimilar.

As stated above, to come to the conclusion that Section

3512 is constitutional after an equal protection challenge,

the majority must show that creating a classification that

holds out different groups of parents for disparate treat-

ment according to their marital status is necessary to

protect the welfare and safety of children. At this point, I

am not persuaded that the majority opinion answers this

question. The majority does correctly state the law with

respect to a strict scrutiny analysis under equal protec-

tion, but then it cites to three cases which are inapt; two

from other jurisdictions. In Seagrave v. Price, 79 S.W.3d

339 (Ark. 2002), the Supreme Court of Arkansas considers

a grandparent visitation statute under rational basis. The

majority makes note of this, but does not elaborate on why

it is relevant that another state’s high court decided that

such a statute could survive a far lower and more deferen-

tial level of scrutiny than we consider in this case. The

same is true of Curtis v. Kline, 666 A.2d 265 (Pa. 1995)

(Montemuro dissenting), which discusses the impact of

divorce on children in the context of rational] basis review.

The only case which appears to be on point is Blixt, which

as I detail above, includes an equal protection inquiry

which collapses into a due process resolution.

Having listed these cases, the majority simply con-

cludes that “Section 5312 is directly and narrowly tailored

19a

to such breakdown” without proffering any independent

analysis as to how classifying parents by marital status is

necessary to protect the compelling interest of the state.

Under an equal protection analysis, it is incumbent upon

this Court to first find the classification to be necessary to

a compelling state interest. The majority does not meet

this burden.

I assert that it is not necessary to group parents into

categories based on their marital status in order to protect

the best interests of children because the fact of divorce or

separation alone is not a proxy for determining which

parents might cause their children harm. In other words,

classifying parents by marital status does not necessarily

divide the children at risk from their parent’s decisions

from the children who are not at risk. This classification

suggests that divorced or separated parents are inherently

less fit to parent, as compared to parents who have married,

or to parents who have never married, but who conjugate.”

No matter what strife might actually ensue within the

family unit, the decisions of fit married or cohabiting

parents as to custody and care of their children will enjoy

special status under Section 3512, but not the parenting

decisions of the divorced or separated. This distinction

between parents based on marital or quasi-marital status is

* In Bishop v. Pillar, 637 A.2d 976 (Pa. 1994) (Opinion Announcing

the Judgment of the Court), a plurality of this Court affirmed the

Superior Court’s construction of Section 3512 to include separated, but

never-married parents within the category of “separated” parents

subject to the additional] state oversight provided by Section 3512. It

seems reasonable to conclude then that never-married but cohabiting

parents who have not separated remain outside the ambit of Section

3512 alongside married parents due to the fact that their living

arrangements create a quasi-marital relationship.

20a

arbitrary. Marital status alone can never serve as an

indication of parental fitness. Without making any distinc-

tion as to marital status, we have held that there is a

presumption that parents will act in a child’s best interest.

Hiller v. Fausey, 904 A.2d 875, 890 (Pa. 2006). The classifi-

cation in Section 3512 would seem to directly contradict

this presumption and suggest that divorced or separated

parents are necessarily in need of heightened state supervi-

sion when they make their parenting decisions.

Furthermore, this case is distinguishable from this

Court’s decision in Hiller, 904 A.2d at 875. There, this

Court considered an as applied challenge to a different

section of the Domestic Relations Code which allows

grandparents to petition for custody when one parent is

deceased. 23 Pa.C.S. § 5311. That statute classified par-

ents into two groups. One group where both parents were

alive, and the other, where one parent had died. This

Court found that these two groups of parents were not

similarly situated and that the classification was neces-

sary to the compelling state interest of the welfare of

children. This Court found that where one parent is

deceased, the child might be at risk of loosing his or her

connection to the grandparents from the deceased parent’s

side of the family. In that case, the classification did serve

as a proxy for determining what children stood at risk of

that particular type of harm and survived strict scrutiny,

as applied to those particular facts, because the classifica-

tion itself was necessary to effectuate a compelling gov-

ernment interest.

But unlike the situation in Hiller, separating the

married or cohabiting from the divorced or separated is

not a substitute for determining which parents might

cause their children harm. Section 3512, which creates a

2la

classification that distinguishes between married or

cohabiting and divorced or separated parents, does not

necessarily serve the state’s compelling interest in the

welfare of children and, therefore, I believe that it cannot

withstand strict scrutiny.

Accordingly, I would affirm the order of the Court of

Common Pleas.

DISSENTING OPINION

MADAME JUSTICE BALDWIN DECIDED: June 12, 2007

The Majority concludes that the trial court failed to

accord proper weight to the interest of the State in the

underlying action and that Section 5312” of the Domestic

Relations Code regarding grandparent custody and visita-

tion survives a constitutional challenge on equal protec-

tion grounds. I respectfully dissent. Section 5312 of title 23

violates the Equal Protection provisions of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the U.S. Constitution and Article 1, §§ 1 &

26 of the Pennsylvania Constitution. Therefore, I would

® Section 5312 provides:

In all proceedings for dissolution, subsequent to the com-

mencement of the proceeding and continuing thereafter or

when parents have been separated for six months or more,

the court may, upon application of the parent or grandpar-

ent of a party, grant reasonable partial custody or visitation

rights, or both, to the unmarried child if it finds that visita-

tion rights or partial custody, or both, would be in the best

interest of the child and would not interfere with the par-

ent-child relationship. The court shall consider the amount

of personal contact between the parents or grandparents of

the party and the child prior to the application.

23 Pa.C.S. § 5312.

22a

affirm the decision of the Court of Common Pleas of Berks

County.

In Commonwealth v. Albert, 563 Pa. 133, 139, 758

A.2d 1149, 1152 (2000) (internal citations omitted) we set

forth the following with respect to equal protection:

The essence of the constitutional principle of

equal protection under the law is that like persons

in like circumstances will be treated similarly.

However, it does not require that all persons un-

der all circumstances enjoy identical protection

under the law. The right to equal protection under

the law does not absolutely prohibit the Com-

monwealth from classifying individuals for the

purpose of receiving different treatment, and does

not require equal treatment of people having dif-

ferent needs. The prohibition against treating

people differently under the law does not preclude

the Commonwealth from resorting to legislative

classifications, provided that those classifications

are reasonable rather than arbitrary and bear a

reasonable relationship to the object of the legisla-

tion. In other words, a classification must rest

upon some ground of difference which justifies the

classification and have a fair and substantial rela-

tionship to the object of the legislation. Judicial

review must determine whether any classification

is founded on a real and genuine distinction

rather than an artificial one. A classification,

though discriminatory, is not arbitrary or in viola-

tion of the equal protection clause if any state of

facts reasonably can be conceived to sustain that

classification.

In the instant case, section 5312 discriminates be-

tween married parents and divorced parents, permitting a

heightened level of state intervention with respect to

23a

parents who are divorced. The majority relies on our

recent decision in Hiller v. Fausey, 588 Pa. 342, 904 A.2d

875 (2006) in support of its conclusion that the classifica-

tion created by section 5312 passes constitutional muster.

In Hiller, this Court was called upon to determine whether

Section 5311 of the Domestic Relations Code could survive

a due process challenge where the parent of the child’s

deceased mother sought visitation rights and partial

custody. Section 5311 was determined to interfere with the

fundamental right of a parent to control the upbringing of

his or her child, and consequently, we recognized that a

strict scrutiny analysis must be applied. The appropriate

test therefore required a determination that the constitu-

tional infringement was supported by a compelling state

interest and that the infringement was narrowly tailored

to effectuate that interest. We concluded in Hiller that the

state possessed a compelling interest in the health and

welfare of children, and that section 5311 narrowly limits

those who can seek visitation or partial custody not merely

to grandparents, but specifically to grandparents whose

child has died. Hiller, 904 A.2d at 885-90. We further

reasoned that section 5311 protected the father’s right to

raise his son as he saw fit by, among other things, provid-

ing a presumption in favor of the father’s decisions and

requiring that visitation rights not interfere with the

parent-child relationship. Jd.

Relying on Hiller, the majority in the instant case

finds that the State has a compelling interest in distin-

guishing between married and divorced parents because of

the disruption of the intact family by divorce. I respect-

fully disagree. Hiller’s result required both the procedural

protections afforded by Section 5311 and its application to

24a

a situation when a parent has died.“ As we explained in

Hiller:

We cannot conclude that ... a benefit always ac-

crues in cases where grandparents force their

way into grandchildren’s lives through the

courts, contrary to the decision of a fit parent. In

contrast, however, we refuse to close our minds to

the possibility that in some instances a court

may overturn even the decision of a fit parent to

exclude a grandparent from a grandchild’s life,

especially where the grandparent’s child is de-

ceased and the grandparent relationship is long-

standing and significant to the grandchild.

Id. at 886-87. Thus, the analysis in Hiller does not neces-

sarily apply beyond the exceedingly narrow circumstance

where a parent has died and the grandparent had a

significant relationship with the child.

The instant appeal involves an examination of a

different subsection of the grandparent custody and

visitation statute in the context of a different set of facts.

Specifically, unlike Hiller, we are dealing with a divorced

family with living parents who have different opinions as

to the children’s visitation with their grandparents. I

believe this alters the landscape considerably, for I cannot

accept that divorce alone diminishes the fundamental

interest of parents who are making caretaking decisions.

In particular, I do not believe that the statute can survive

the scrutiny involved in comparing two otherwise fit

* We found section 5311 clearly distinguishable from the statute at

issue in Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 120 S.Ct. 2054 (2000). The

statute in Troxel gave standing to any person at any time. However,

section 5311 is limited to grandparents whose child has died.

25a

parents who happen to be divorced to two similarly situ-

ated parents who are not divorced. In the instant case, the

section 5312 classification of parents as married or di-

vorced does not provide a real and genuine distinction

upon which to permit state interference with the funda-

mental right of parents to direct the upbringing of their

children. If Father lived with Mother, the present contro-

versy would not be before this Court. While divorce, by

necessity, permits the State to intervene to resolve imme-

diate and direct disputes that arise between parents over

custody and visitation, divorce is not the sine qua non of a

compelling state interest when non-parents seek to chal-

lenge parental decision-making.

The majority has failed to identify a compelling reason

to discriminate between married and divorced parents.

Although the state has a longstanding interest in protect-

ing the health and emotional welfare of children, that

interest is not implicated merely as a result of divorce

proceedings. While divorce opens the door for courts to

resolve disputes between parents, it does not make par-

ents unfit to make decisions that are in the best interests

of their children. Divorce proceedings alone do not

threaten the health, safety, morals or welfare of children

to constitute a compelling reason for state interference. I

believe that permitting the state to inject itself into a

dispute between two fit parents involving grandparent

visitation violates the grounding premise of Hiller and

Troxel, that fit parents are accorded a presumption in

favor of their decisions regarding their children. The

heightened protection of this valued fundamental interest,

recognized in both Hiller and Troxel, should not be altered

by the marital status of otherwise fit parents, and the

Commonwealth should be held to no lesser standard for

26a

intervention. In Hiller we found Section 5311 narrowly

tailored to serve the state’s compelling interest in chil-

dren’s health and welfare when one parent is deceased. We

did not find that the desire of the State to foster close

relationships between grandparents and grandchildren

alone was sufficient to justify court-ordered visitation and

custody over the objection of a fit parent.

While the Commonwealth has a compelling interest in

protecting the well-being of its children, particularly in

matters of health and safety, this legitimate and compel-

ling interest does not extend to all things that might be

beneficial to children nor confer upon the Commonwealth

the power to intrude upon the decisions of a fit parent. The

Commonwealth may intervene when preventing injury,

abuse, trauma, exploitation, severe deprivation, or other

comparable forms of significant harm. The United State

Supreme Court has indicated that in certain limited

arenas, such as compulsory education and compulsory

vaccination, the State may contravene the decisions of a fit

parent. Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 402, 43 S.Ct. 625,

627 (1923) (commenting that “the power of the state to

compel attendance at some school ... is not questioned”);

Jacobson v. Commonwealth of Mass., 197 U.S. 11, 25 S.Ct.

358 (1905) (upholding state compulsory vaccination);

accord In re Walker, 179 Pa. 24, 36 A. 148 (1897); Rhoades

v. Sch. Dist. of Abington Twp., 226 A.2d 53, 60, 424 Pa.

202, 212 (1967). Further, some states have found it neces-

sary to oppose the decisions of a parent involving medical

treatment for life-threatening situations. See, e.g., Matter

of McCauley, 409 Mass. 134, 565 N.E.2d 411 (1991);

Walker v. Superior Court, 47 Cal.3d 112, 763 P.2d 852

(1988); People in Interest of D.L.E., 645 P.2d 271

(Colo. 1982). However, the State does not gain a compelling

27a

interest in supervising the upbringing of a child when both

parents are living, albeit divorced. “[MJere improvement in

quality of life is not a compelling state interest and is

insufficient to justify invasion of constitutional rights. So

long as a family satisfies certain minimum standards with

respect to the care of its children, the state has no interest

in attempting to ‘make things better.’” King v. King, 828

S.W.2d 630, 634 (Ky.1992) (Lambert, J. dissenting).

Section 5312, at issue in the instant case, requires

consideration of the best interests of the child, the impact

on the parent/child relationship, and an established

relationship between grandparent and grandchild. 23

Pa.C.S. § 5312. Healthy relationships with grandparents

unquestionably benefit children. However, the fact that

such relationships are desirable does not permit the State

to force them upon children contrary to the wishes of a fit

custodial parent merely because that parent happens to be

divorced. The Majority Opinion is jurisprudentially irrec-

oncilable with both Troxel and Hiller. The Majority finds

that the statute survives strict scrutiny because (1) the

government has a compelling interest in children’s well-

being and preventing the “heightened risk of harm” caused

by the dissolution of a marriage; and (2) the statute is

narrowly tailored to further that interest, requiring, inter

alia, that the court consider the best interest of the child

and not interfere with the parent-child relationship.

(Majority Opinion, slip op. at 9-10). I fail to see how

grandparent visitation is narrowly tailored to further the

compelling interest of protecting the children of divorced

parents from the perceived detriment caused by the

dissolution of the core family unit. Court-ordered grand-

parent visitation does not significantly further the Com-

monwealth’s interest in helping the children affected by

28a

divorce here because, unlike in Hiller, the paternal grand-

parents can visit their grandchildren during their child’s

custody time. See Hiller, 904 A.2d at 887 (“Unlike the

statute in Troxel, which extended standing to any person

at any time, Section 5311 narrowly limits those who can

seek visitation or partial custody not merely to grandpar-

ents, but specifically to grandparents whose child has

died.”)” Moreover, there is no allegation that children of

divorced or separated parents are so traumatized by

divorce or separation that they require the special and

exceptional intervention of the Commonwealth. Even if

divorce traumatizes children enough for the Common-

wealth to acquire a compelling interest to intrude on the

family, something more than court-ordered time with

grandparents is required to further significantly the

Commonwealth’s purpose of safeguarding children’s

welfare.

Section 5312 permits a trial court to interfere too

easily in parental decision-making. Hiller involved the

death of a parent who could no longer ensure that her

child was exposed to her family and heritage. That ele-

ment, which was essential to overcoming the fundamental

right of a parent to decide with whom the child associates,

is missing here.

* Even Troxel emphasized the fact that the grandparents still had

access to the children. See Troxel, 530 U.S. at 71, 120 S.Ct. at 2063

(“Finally, we note that there is no allegation that Granville ever sought

to cut off visitation entirely.”)

29a

Conclusion

Troxel made it clear that when a forum has been

created for a court to consider grandparent visitation, the

judge must presume that a fit parent acts in the best

interests of his or her children.” So long as a parent

adequately cares for his or her children (i.e., is fit), there

will normally be no reason for the state to inject itself into

the private realm of the family to further question the

ability of that parent to make the best decisions concern-

ing the rearing of that parent’s children.” Troxel, 530 U.S.

at 68-69, 120 S.Ct. at 2061. This presumption is not simply

applicable to joint decisions of fit married parents but

applies to the decisions of all fit parents. See Stanley v.

Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 92 S.Ct. 1208 (1972) (holding that

the state may not interfere with an unwed father’s custody

rights absent proof of unfitness). It is parental fitness, not

mere marital status that gives rise to the presumption.

Divorce does not diminish the fundamental interest of a

parent in parenting and does not make a father or mother

less capable.

The Commonwealth has the power, cloaked in the

doctrine of parens patriae, to determine in divorce proceed-

ings how, in the best interests of the child, custody should

be allocated. However, once this determination is made,

Troxel indicates that decisions by a fit custodial parent

must be accorded the presumption that those decisions are

in the best interests of the child. With both parents living,

and no showing of parental unfitness or harm to the child,

Grandparents have failed to demonstrate that divorce

alone overcomes that presumption.

Mr. Justice Castille joins this dissenting opinion.

30a

APPENDIX B

JEAN SCHMEHL and : IN THE COURT OF

DAVID SCHMEHL : COMMON PLEAS

Plaintiffs - BERKS COUNTY,

- : PENNSYLVANIA _

ANN WEGELIN and; CIVIL ACTION LAW

PERRY SCHMEHL __ . NO, 05-5526

Defendants ‘ Assigned to: Scott D. Keller

ORDER

AND NOW, this 14th day of July 2005, it is hereby

ORDERED AND DECREED that the Complaint filed by

Plaintiffs pursuant to 23 Pa. C.S.A. § 5312 is hereby

DISMISSED. The Court finds that the above provision of

the Grandparents Visitation Statute is a violation of the

Equal Protection Clause of The Fourteenth Amendment of

the United States Constitution and as such is unconstitu-

tional. An opinion in support of this order will follow in

due course.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Scott D. Keller

SCOTT D. KELLER,

JUDGE

Distribution:

“Prothonotary

“Computer

“Attorney for Plaintiff [Sharon Gray, Esq.]

¥ Plaintiff

“Attorney for Defendant (Gregory D. Henry, Esq.]

“Defendant

¥ Judge Keller

3la

¥{Other — Atty General of PA

Hon. Jerry Poppert

16th Floor Strawberry Sq.

Harrisburg, PA 17120

“Pam Miller Custody Office]

32a

JEAN SCHMEHL and : IN THE COURT OF

DAVID SCHMEHL : COMMON PLEAS

Plaintiffs : BERKS COUNTY,

a : PENNSYLVANIA

ANN WEGELIN and; ©!VIL ACTION LAW

PERRY SCHMEHL . NO, 05-5526

Defendants : CUSTODY

’ Assigned to: Scott D. Keller

Sharon Gray, Esquire

Attorney for the Plaintiffs

Gregory Henry, Esquire

Attorney for Ann Wegelin

OPINION IN SUPPORT OF THIS COURT'S

FINDING THE GRANDPARENTS VISITATION

ACT, 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312, VIOLATES THE FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENT TO THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION S.D. KELLER

[/s/ SDK], J., July 29, 2005

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Mother (Ann Wegelin) and Father (Perry Schmehl) were

married on January 4, 1992 in Berks County, Pennsylvania.

Two children, Sara A. Schmehl (born 11/6/98) and Samuel C.

Schmehl (born 3/17/95), were born of the marriage. By decree

dated April 11, 2003, the parties were divorced. On Novem-

ber 13, 2002, the court entered a custody order by which the

parties are operating under to this date.

On April 29, 2005, the plaintiffs, paternal grandpar-

ents, filed a custody action against Mother, as Mother

would not allow the children to visit with paternal grand-

parents. On May 5, 2005, Mother filed preliminary objec-

tions to grandparents’ custody action. On May 11, 2005,

33a

Paternal Grandparents filed an amended custody action

naming father as a defendant and the parties agreed he

was a necessary party to the suit.

On May 25, 2005, Mother filed a praecipe for argu-

ment court, alleging that 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312 is unconstitu-

tional and on the same date filed the required notice to the

Attorney General per PaRCP rule 235. On June 27, 2005,

the plaintiffs field their answer and brief in response to

Mother’s action alleging unconstitutionality of 23 Pa.

C.S.A. §5312. This Court set a hearing date for July 11,

2005 on the constitutional challenge as well as the date for

the defendant’s petition for special relief, which was

unrelated to the constitutional challenge. The Plaintiffs

are divorced grandparents and the Defendant, Perry

Schmehl, their son, is in agreement with visitation with

the grandparents.

After argument heard, and upon review of both

plaintiffs’ and defendant’s briefs, this Court entered an

Order on July 14, 2005 finding that 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312

violates the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution and dis-

missed the plaintiffs’ complaint for custody.

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF 23 Pa.C.S.A, §5312

This Court finds that 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312 violates the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution. The Fourteenth Amend-

ment to the United States Constitution guarantees that

“no State shall make or enforce any law which shall deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.” However, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has

stated “the prohibition against treating people differently

34a

under the law does not preclude the Commonwealth from

resorting to legislative classifications, provided that those

classifications are reasonable rather than arbitrary and

bear a reasonable relationship to the object of the legisla-

tion.” Curtis v. Kline, 542 Pa. 249, 666 A.2d 265, 267-68

(1995). When the classification burdens a fundamental

right, the strict scrutiny test must be applied: the classifi-

cation must be necessary to a compelling governmental

interest.

The statute at issue, deemed the Grandparent’s

Visitation Act, provides three provisions for grandparents’

custody and visitation rights:

a. 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5311: when a parent is de-

ceased;

b. 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312: when parent’s marriage

is dissolved or parents are separated;

and

c. 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5313: when grandparents may

petition.

The section of the act specifically at issue in this case is

section 5312, which provides:

In the proceedings for dissolution, subsequent to

the commencement of the proceedings and con-

tinuing thereafter or when parents have been

separated for six months or more, the court may,

upon application of the parent or grandparent of

a party, grant reasonable partial custody or visi-

tation rights, or both, to the unmarried child if it

finds that visitation rights or partial custody, or

both, would be in the best interest of the child

and would not interfere with the parent-child re-

lationship. The Court shall consider the amount

35a

of personal contact between the parents or

grandparents of the party and the child prior to

the application.

It is clear that §5312 of the Grandparent’s Visitation

Act has created a classification: namely a parent who is

married and resides with her spouse or is unmarried and

lives with their child’s parent has unfettered discretion in

who their children are permitted to associate, however,

parents that are separated and/or divorced, do not have

this unfettered right and the court system may intervene.

It is also clear that the right to be protected in this

case is a fundamental right: “The United States Supreme

Court has stated that the right of parents to make deci-

sions about the upbringing of their children is a funda-

mental right.” Fausey v. Hiller, 851 A.2d 193, (Pa.Super.

2004). “[I]t cannot now be doubted that the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment protects the funda-

mental right of parents to make decisions concerning the

care, custody, and control of their children.” Jd., citing

Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 67, 120 S.Ct. 2054, 147

L.Ed.2d 49 (2000). In relation to the Grandparents Visita-

tion Statute at issue, the Superior Court discussed this

fundamental right and has found that when parents are

married or are not married, but are living together,

Grandparents do not have standing to file for partial

custody or visitation rights. See Herron v. Seizak, 321

Pa.Super. 466, 468 A.2d 803 (1983) and Welsh v. Welsh, 21

D&C 4th (1993).

From the foregoing, then, it becomes clear that the

Grandparent’s Visitation Act creates a classification, and

interferes with a parent’s fundamental right to determine

with whom their children associate. The pertinent ques-

tion then becomes is there a compelling governmental

36a

interest that justifies this intervention and classification.

This Court finds that there is not.

The Superior Court has not yet determined whether

23 Pa.C.S.A. §5312 is constitutional under Equal Protec-

tion Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, however, the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court and Superior Court have

discussed Equal Protection issues of relative importance to

the issue at hand.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has discussed an

Equal Protection issue in terms of whether the legislature

had a legitimate interest in treating the children of sepa-

rated, divorced or unmarried parents differently than

children of married parents for purposes of funding their

children’s college education. See Curtis v. Kline, supra. In

that case, the statute was struck down as the legislature

did not have a legitimate interest in classifying the chil-

dren as it did.

Unlike our case, where the right to be protected is a

fundamental right, the right protected in the Curtis case,

the right to a college education, is not a fundamental right.

In the Curtis case, the statute would be upheld “if there is

any rational basis for the classification” and in the present

matter the statue can be upheld if the “statute us strictly

construed in light of a compelling g governmental pur-

pose.” This is significant, in that, although the subject

matter is different, the classification in the two cases is

similar: intact families are treated differently than sepa-

rated or divorced parents and their children. The statute

creating a classification by permitting the court to order

separated or divorced parents to provide equitably for

educational costs, where parents of in-tact families did not

have to provide for secondary education, did not withstand

37a

a rational basis test, therefore, the similar statute classifi-

cation here, permitting the court to order a divorced or

separated parent to permit their child(ren) to visit with

their grandparents, while in-tact families can make the

decision without court interference, certainly cannot be

said to withstand the strict scrutiny test.

The Superior Court has reviewed an Equal Protection

issue under the Grandparent’s visitation Statute in terms

of 23 Pa.C.S.A. §5311. The Superior Court addressed

whether 23 Pa.C.S.A. section 5311 violated the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment in

Faussey v. Hiller, supra. In that case, the Superior Court

found that section 5311 did not violate the Due Process or

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment. In Faussey, the Superior Court determined that to

the extent section 5311 treats children differently who

have lost a parent to death than those children who have

not, it is for the “justified and reasonable purpose of

protecting a child’s emotional well-being and accounting

for the potentially different needs of a child whose parent

has died.” Faussey, supra. “The compelling purpose behind

§[5311] is to foster the emotional welfare of children. The

statute treats children from intact families differently

from children who have experienced the death of a parent.

That classification makes perfect sense because it is

precisely in those cases where the danger of alienation

from a grandparent is greatest.” Faussey, supra, citing

Trial Court Opinion at 17.

Our case is significantly different from one in which a

parent dies. This Court agrees that, in that situation,

there is a compelling governmental interest for the child to

continue a relationship with both sets of grandparents,

because without the deceased parent able to provide a

38a

connection for their child with their parent, the surviving

parent could easily keep the child away from the deceased

partner’s parent(s). A child in that situation needs as

much emotional support as possible from their remaining

parent, but also from their grandparents. In our case, both

parents are living, and therefore they have the fundamen-

tal right to make the determination of with whom their

children will associate with. This Court does not see that a

compelling governmental interest exists to treat separated

parents who are still both alive and still fit to make

decisions regarding their children, any differently than

two parents that are still together. Although the parents

are not together, it does not logically follow that state

intervention is necessary. Both parents remain and,

during periods of their partial custody with the children,

either parent can provide access to their parents. There is

no compelling reason that this court can see for the state

to require that Mother give up more of her time with the

children, so that Father’s parents can have their own

periods of visitation separate from visitations while Father

has custody. Additionally, this Court is mindful of the

stress of court ordered partial custody/ visitation schedules

upon children. There is no compelling reason, in fact it

would create the potential for greater harm, if a child of

separated/divorced parents would be subject to, in this

case, 2 more potential periods of Court ordered partial

custody/visitation. A child of an intact family has freedom

to live their life as a child, absent court ordered scheduling

of their time. There is no reason to burden a child of

separated/divorced parents with more court ordered

interference in their already restricted childhood. Their

parents can make sure there is contact with the grandpar-

ents.

39a

As a result of the foregoing, this Court finds that 23

Pa.C.S.A. §5312 violates the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment. It has not been established

that there is a compelling governmental interest for

classifying married parents or parents residing together

differently than separated or divorced parents, or children

of the respective classes differently, when the government

is clearly interfering with the parents’ fundamental right

to care, custody and control of their children and the

children’s right to have minimal court ordered restrictions

on their time.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.