Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eastern Minerals International, Inc. v. United States

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No.

EASTERN MINERALS INTERNATIONAL, INC., MARTIN P.

DUFFY, Administrator of the Estates of Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.,

and Anne D. Wyatt, WILSON W. WYATT, JR., MARY ANNE

WYATT, NANCY WYATT ZORN, VAN BUREN MINERALS

CORP., AND MILTON J. BERNOS, JR.,

THE UNITED STATES,

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WALTER H. FLEISCHER

1320 Old Chain Bridge Rd.

Suite 440

McLean, Virginia 22101

(703) 821-0613

MICHAEL BOOS -

4101 Chain Bridge Rd.

Suite 313

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

(703) 691-7717

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

“rene Coun, ue

‘ en

011100 Jaw 25 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Petitioners,

Respondent.

RAYMOND D. BATTOCCHI

Counsel of Record

JOHN R. POWELL

VICKI A. PAISLEY

Gabeler, Battocchi & Griggs,

PLLC

1320 Old Chain Bridge Rd.

Suite 260

McLean, Virginia 22101

(703) 847-8888

Counsel for Petitioners

(1)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In a case seeking just compensation for categorical

regulatory takings of real property interests:

1. When the holder of a renewable lease proves that

seeking a permit became futile before the right to renew the lease

expired, can the holder recover for a taking of the remaining lease

term and the right to renew?

2. Can the holders ofa royalty interest in minerals, which

is of unlimited duration, recover for a taking of that interest when

it is'shown that seeking a permit became futile, and also that a

final decision denying a permit later was issued?

3. When a federal agency uses unfair and protracted

procedures to prevent the use of property, including failing to

issue in writing a decision it has reached to deny a permit, can

affected property owners recover for a taking?

4. What standards should a federal appellate court follow

when reviewing a trial court’s factual findings on extraordinary

delay and other issues in a regulatory takings case?

ee ee

(11)

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

All parties to this proceeding in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit are listed in the caption. |

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Eastern Minerals International, Inc., and Van Buren

Minerals Corp. have no parent corporations, and no publicly held

corporation owns 10% or more of either’s stock.

(i11)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............ (1)

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ..........--2esee: (i1)

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ...... ree

eee (iil)

cy Fhe Swe oP yy) 8 oe 5. (v)

EY PEIN cv rcvcwerccvccovesessees (vi)

ee li vwe cd een see ceeaweacees |

CO EE er ee re ee ee |

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY :

CE EW ED vce vee essveccsvenny |

RIT UT BOONE GRUIES oc cece cece rt eewencneees 2

A. Introduction and Summary. ..............-.. 2

a adie os Wea 0d +e ka eee oes 2

et es re 8

Dy, Ampeliate DOCIIOM. ... .. cece cece ec eeees 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............. 10

I. THE DECISION THAT THE OWNERS OF

NEITHER A LEASE NOR OF A ROYALTY

INTEREST CAN RECOVER FOR A TAKING,

DESPITE PROVING FUTILITY, WARRANTS

es ccc anes e eke s seas e vee theses 12

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO

FOLLOW OR APPLY THIS COURT'S

DECISIONS PROHIBITING UNFAIR OR

REPETITIVE LAND-USE PROCEDURES

ALSO WARRANTS REVIEW. ...........-.--- 15

:

(iv)

IIT. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO

FOLLOW THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

REQUIRING APPELLATE COURTS TO GIVE

DEFERENCE TO FACTUAL FINDINGS IN

TAKINGS CASES ALSO WARRANTS

RIG Bary ite T he Ande Ls Ac ae 17

lV. IF ALLOWED TO STAND, THE DECISION

BELOW WILL HAVE FAR REACHING

CAIN OG ES sven tenn ca teesesysBieves: 20

Re PPP CPP CP Err Terre ry Titer ree.

(v"

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Bernos Coal Co. v. Lujan, 739 F.Supp. 1133

(E.D. Tenn. 1990)... cc cecccccccnreurececvescecesss 4

Howe Realty Co. v. City of Nashville,

176 Tenn. 405, 141 S.W.2d 904 (1940) ...........45. 21

Lucas vy. South Carolina Coastal Council,

GOS US, 10S CFG) ccs ccc euccresceioncs 17, 20, 21

MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo,

ATT US, SOBCIE) n doc ccccercssceserevesesierss 15

Monterey v. Del Monte Dunes at Monterey, Ltd.,

S96 US, GBT CIGSO) coc ccctnccnvsevetawensess Passim

Moore v. Memphis Stone & Gravel Co.,

47 Tenn. App. 461, 339 S.W.2d 29 (1959) ..........-- 21

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606 (2001) .... Passim

Palm Beach Isles Ass’s. v. United States,

231 F.3d 1365 (CA Fed. 2000) .........-- eee ee ener 21

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York City,

BOR US. TOR CIGI onc oc ctu cek gers eneeiasioness 17

Psidium v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency,

PEO Bee bh, 7) rn ie rer ye 12

Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe

Regional Planning Agency, 216 F.3d 764 (CA9 2000),

cert. granted, —- U.S.__, 121 S.Ct. 2589 (2001) ...... 10

United States v. General Motors Corp.,

peegle eye ll, | rrr er rere rer. 12

United States v. Petty Motor Co.,

cee ys fi. || eer rrr rrr rr. Passim

Williamson County Reg’'l. Planning Comm. v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985) ........-4-5- 10, 19

(vi)

Statutes: P

te ey ON os os n'a s Galas ok oainate sane a wareeres |

es CIEE 5.6.4 va Vos be a Ree eTEa ea eee 12

LS eee BEE nen ae ate eae re emigre 8,12

ee GET LEDs 66.544 va Nn dws hue eeetaeeuee 3

ies Sa OED 4 6500.5 + kod. eae hed ek Cee 3

ae is EE 4 5 60056 b¥es Fe ande eerie cea 3

as © REN EEMOIE, 6 v6 05.045 4e5adolaene eneuees 3

Oe Wes © LSP EPCUDMOD ccckescccnesweccesss 16, 17

es Or COD 6b bios pec eek bias ceescerss 5

Pe © LEFT COMED 5 65 wenn bindeancevess 3,17

Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act,

30 U.S.C. §§ 1201 et seq. (1988) (“SMCRA”) ..... Passim

Regulation:

el 8 et ey Perr ree er rr rr 19

(vil)

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — — Notice of Entry of Judgment and

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit Dated and Entered

November 19, 2001] ..... ccc cccccvcesecsveveveees la

Appendix B - ~ Opinion and Order of the United States

Court of Federal Claims Dated and Filed October 2,

i oo aes ee ee her mere l6a

Appendix C - - Opinion and Order of the United States

Court of Federal Claims Dated and Filed November

ye. ep ernrrrerer yr Tre rrr ti rr ae 32a

Appendix D — — Judgment of the United States Court of

Federal Claims Dated and Filed December 22, 1998 ... 5la

Appendix E - — Surface Mining Control and Reclamation

Act of 1977, 91 Stat. 445:

tRE AAO... 0s. 0s das eedaess 52a

30 U.S.C. 1256(d) (1988) ......ce eee eee eee 52a

30 U.S.C. 12SHe) (IGE)... eee ess ccc rece ees 54a

30 U.S.C. 1272(e)(3) (1988) 2.2... eee ee eee 54a

Appendix F - — Docket Entries, United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit .........+.-+++++- 55a

Appendix G - - Order, United States Court of Appeals |

for the Federal Circuit, Dated July 2,2001.............. 56a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Eastern Minerals International, Inc. (“Eastern”); Martin

P. Duffy, Administrator of the Estates of Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.,

and Anne D. Wyatt; Wilson W. Wyatt, Jr.; Mary Anne Wyatt;

Nancy Wyatt Zorn; “’an Buren Minerals Corp. (“Van Buren’) ;

and Milton J. Bernos, Jr., respectfully petition for a writ of

certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit (App. la-15a)' is reported at 271 F.3d 1090 (CA

Fed. 2001). The two opinions of the United States Court of

Federal Claims (App. 16a-50a) which were appealed are reported

at 36 Fed.Cl. 541 (1996), and 39 Fed.Cl. 621 (1997).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Federal Circuit was entered on November 19, 2001 (App. 1a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment provides: “nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just compensation.”

The provisions of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation

Act of 1977, 30 U.S.C. § 1201, et seq., relevant to this petition

are reprinted in the Appendix at 52a-54a.

' "App." references are to Appendices A to G, infra, pp. la-56a.

"JA" references are to the Joint Appendix filed in the Court of

Appeals. “Tr.” references, when used, are to trial transcript

references on certain pages of the Joint Appendix. Petitioners have

requested that the Clerk of the Court of Appeals send one copy of the

Joint Appendix to this Court for lodging.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction and Summary. Eastern had a twelve-

year renewable coal mining lease, and the Wyatts had a 3.5% coal

royalty interest. Eastern received two permits, under which it

spent large sums to prepare the property for mining, and applied

for a renewal permit in 1982. Although there were no changes in

applicable law, there was a change in governmental policy, and

no renewal permit ever was granted (JA 1475). As a result of

respondent's failure to issue a permit, both Eastern’s lease and the

Wyatts’ royalty interest were rendered worthless.

The trial court found that Eastern’s permit application

became futile because the Interior Department never would have

granted a permit, and also that there was intentional and

extraordinary delay. It found that there was a taking by August

1990, before Eastern’s right to renew its lease expired, and eight

years after Eastern first applied for a renewal permit. The Trial

Court awarded both Eastern and the Wyatts compensation for

categorical takings. The Federal Circuit reversed both judgments.

It sua sponte held that Eastern could not recover for the

renewable portion of its lease even if it showed that seeking a

permit was futile before the right to renew expired. That Court

failed to follow or apply the rule that an agency cannot use unfair

or repetitive procedures to avoid a final decision. The Court of

Appeals did not follow or cite several applicable decisions of this

Court; engaged in an unrestricted review of the facts instead of

deferring to the Trial Court’s findings; and summarily reversed

the judgment for the Wyatts without discussing it.

B. Facts. In 1953 Anne D. Wyatt and Wilson W. Wyatt,

Sr. (“Wyatts”) bought about 10,000 acres of land in Tennessee for

investment purposes. Some of it adjoins Falls Creek Falls State

Park (“Park”). In 1975 Milton J. Bernos, Jr., contracted to buy

the property from the Wyatts on an installment basis (App. 16a,

4a; JA 1018, 1479). In 1979, after Bernos confirmed that the

property contained valuable coal reserves, a three-way sale-

leaseback transaction was completed. Cane Tennessee, Inc.

("Cane") purchased the property from the Wyatts for about $5.1

3

million, subject to the retention by the Wyatts of a 3.5% royalty

interest in any future mined coal. Cane simultaneously leased

the property to Eastern, a corporation which Bernos formed.

The lease was for a 12-year term, and Eastern had the option to

renew the lease for additional 10 year terms (App. 33a, JA 76-

77 (Tr. 452-53)). To renew the lease, Eastern had to exercise its

option by about August 31, 1990, '80 days before lease

termination, and incur a several million dollar obligation (App.

Sa: JA 84 (Tr. 495-96); JA 959-60, 954, 953). A consulting

firm retained by Cane estimated that Bernos would make

between $55 and $69 million mining the property (JA 1030-31,

151 (Tr. 888)).’

In 1977 Congress enacted the Surface Mining Control and

Reclamation Act, 30 U.S.C. §§ 1201 et seq. (1988) ("SMCRA"),

which requires a permit to mine coal. Jd. § 1256(a). SMCRA

could be enforced by either the Interior Department’s Office of

Surface Mining (“OSM”) or a State agency. /d. §§ 1253-54,

1211. SMCRA provides that if the enforcing agency finds that a

mine would “adversely affect” a state Park, a State agency could

veto a permit by objecting. /d. § 1272(e)(3).

In 1979 Eastern applied to an agency of the State of

Tennessee, which then was administering SMCRA, for a permit

to disturb 33 surface acres to deep mine coal. The State issued

a one-year permit in 1980, and another one-year permit in 1981.

Both times the State determined that the proposed mine would

comply with all SMCRA requirements, including the “adversely

affect” a park provision (App. 5a, JA 21-22 (Tr. 125-30)).

Under these permits, Eastern spent large sums to dig a box cut

2 In 1979 there was another sale-leaseback transaction in which

petitioner Van Buren acquired a separate coal lease (App. 17a). The

Trial Court dismissed Van Buren’s claims as unripe, and the Federal

Circuit declined to review that ruling, holding that the issue was

moot in light of its other rulings (App. 23a, 2a-3a). Van Buren

petitions for certiorari to keep its claims alive in the event certiorari

is granted and the judgment below is reversed. The Van Buren lease

is not further addressed in this petition.

4

(a large excavation enabling vehicular access to the deep coal

seam), and develop other infrastructure for mining (App. 17a,

JA 85-86 (Tr. 504-08)).

In 1982 Eastern was ready to begin mining coal, and

applied for a renewal permit (JA 1425, 1431). There were no

changes in the “adversely affect” provisions of SMCRA or

implementing regulations (JA 254 (Tr. 1489)). The State

denied the application, and ordered Eastern to reclaim the

property, which would require filling in the box cut, at its

expense (JA 1183-84). Thereafter the State, acting as OSM’s

agent, agreed that Eastern could submit another application to

OSM, which was about to take over the enforcement of

SMCRA, and that reclamation would be stayed until the final

outcome of the permit application (JA 1186-87).

In October 1984 Eastern submitted its application to

OSM, which then began a technical review of it (JA 1432; App.

6a). The sole issue OSM considered from 1984 on was whether

Eastern’s mine would “adversely affect” the Park (JA 605-06,

609, 626-27, 718, 747-48). In June 1985 Eastern submitted

added information in response to a Technical Deficiency Letter

(“TDL”) issued by OSM (JA 577-80, 589-99). After reviewing

this submission, an OSM official acknowledged that he had no

"strong defense" to Eastern's response, and that OSM officials

might have to "hang our hats" elsewhere (App. 35a and n.3; JA

602).

In August 1985, OSM completed its technical review, and

tentatively decided to grant a permit (JA 1194, 28 (Tr. 166), 25

(Tr.145)).* Before Eastern could be informed of that decision,

> See Bernos Coal Co. v. Lujan, 739 F.Supp. 1133, 1135-37

(E.D.Tenn. 1990).

* An August 9, 1985 OSM memorandum stated that Eastern's

application was anticipated to "be in order for permit issuance by

November 1, 1985," and requested section 510(c) findings (JA 1194).

Section 510(c) findings, which address (fn. continued next page)

nian

5

a high ranking State official wrote a letter opposing a permit

(JA 1195-98). Then, instead of granting a permit, OSM wrote

Eastern that its application would involve "great expense," (JA

605). In December 1985 OSM issued a second TDL, which

requested voluminous hydrologic information (JA 609-15). At

all relevant times State agencies opposed allowing Eastern to

mine anywhere on its property (App. 34a-35a and n. 2; JA 19-20

(Tr. 108-10, 114-17); JA 58-59 (Tr. 347-353); JA 1195-98).°

This meant that, if OSM made an “adversely affect” finding, it

would deny a permit.

Eastern learned that it would cost about $250,000.00 to

obtain the information OSM requested (JA 138 (Tr. 808)), and

Bernos was running out of money. In January, 1986, Eastern

applied to OSM’s Small Operator Assistance Program

(“SOAP”) so it would pay for the studies necessary to answer

the TDL (JA 616, 46-48 (Tr. 277, 281, 287)). OSM’s SOAP

office granted the application (JA 54 (Tr. 323)) and was

required to collect the information at government expense (30

U.S.C. §1257(c); JA 273 (Tr. 1600); JA 51 (Tr. 309)).

However, after the SOAP application was approved, OSM’s

SOAP office paid for no studies because OSM’s permitting

office decided to deny a permit without receiving further

information (JA 48 (Tr. 288)). In July 1986, OSM’s permitting

office denied the application based on "noise" (JA 626), a

ground OSM never mentioned as a deficiency in its TDL, and

not addressed in OSM’s permitting regulations (JA 609-15,

268, 161 (Tr. 1571, 938-39)). The denial letter also noted the

(fn. continued) legal matters such as bonds, are made after the

technical review is completed, and OSM concludes that a permit

should issue (JA 25, 28, 35 (Tr. 144-45, 166, 206-07); see App. 6a).

Section 510(c) findings are not sought when the technical review

leads to a decision to deny a permit, since there is nothing to bond.

> The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency wanted to insure that

all of Eastern’s property would be available for wild turkey hunting

by the public (JA 58, 59 (Tr. 349, 357)).

6

“strong potential” for adverse hydrologic consequences, but did

not make a definite finding on this point (JA 626).

In June 1987, on Eastern’s appeal to an Administrative

Law Judge (“ALJ”), OSM agreed to render a complete decision

on adverse impact, and the ALJ told OSM to inform Eastern

"immediately" of any additional information it needed to supply

so OSM could make the decision (JA 661-662). The ALJ also

stated that OSM would be acting in “bad faith” if it sought

reclamation while the permit application was pending (JA 676).

In February 1988 OSM reissued to Eastern essentially the same

TDL it had sent out in December 1985 ( JA 1291, 42 (Tr. 251-

52)). Eastern reapplied to OSM’s SOAP office, and its SOAP

application was again approved (JA 48 (Tr. 289-90)).

In 1988 and 1989 OSM put the SOAP effort on "hold"

three times. An internal OSM memorandum stated that the

agency wanted to "tak[e] the pressure off" of it caused by

Eastern's "aggressive pursuit of SOAP monies" (JA 725). First,

in May 1988, OSM put SOAP on hold for failure to reclaim the

box-cut (JA 725, 49 (Tr. 293)). This was inconsistent with the

1984 agreed order staying reclamation, and after the ALJ stated

that seeking reclamation would constitute “bad faith” (JA 1187,

676). In September 1988 OSM put SOAP on hold again

because OSM’s permitting office, which earlier had issued

TDLs alleging there were “numerous deficiencies” in Eastern’s

hydrologic data, now was "unsure" whether a SOAP study

would be "worth the expense" (JA 49 (Tr. 293)). OSM put the

SOAP effort on hold a third time in May 1989, based again, in

part, on Eastern's failure to reclaim (JA 1333-35, 49-50 (Tr.

294-298)). In July 1989, after Eastern overcame that objection

(JA 1337), OSM’s SOAP office commissioned a report by

Challenge consultants to provide the information to satisfy the

TDL (JA 50 (Tr. 298-300)). Challenge did everything OSM

requested (JA 50 (Tr. 301)), and its report found no problems

with the projected mine (JA 83 (Tr. 492-93)). However, OSM

did not grant a permit (JA 298 (Tr. 1736-37); App. 7a-8a).

7

Instead, in the summer of 1990, an OSM official

prepared a "confidential" plan proposing numerous information

gathering steps, which would take an extended time to complete

(JA 1391-96; JA 50 (Tr. 301-02)). On August 3, 1990 OSM

abandoned the existing SOAP plan and created a new plan

involving several phases (JA 1398-1400; JA 50-51 (Tr. 300-

04)). At each stage of these plans, if the result was favorable to

Eastern OSM would not grant a permit. Instead, it would go on

to the next step of the plan (JA 1392-95, 1399, 50 (Tr. 302-03)).

Before August, 1990, Bernos informed OSM several

times of the looming lease expiration and the need for action

(JA 46 (Tr. 278)), but OSM issued no decision. Eastern did not

exercise its renewal option at the end of August 1990, and the

lease thus technically expired at the end of February 1991.

Thereafter, Eastern remained in possession as a holdover tenant,

with Cane’s acquiescence, until about May 1993, when Eastern

and Cane executed an agreement formally terminating the lease

(JA 84 (Tr. 496-98)). Eastern continued to pursue a permit after

the lease expired because it believed that it could persuade Cane

to re-lease the property if a permit was obtained (id; see App.

18a).

In January 1992, OSM decided that it did not need any

more SOAP studies after all, and to deny a permit on the merits

(JA 42-43, 51 (Tr. 255-56, 307)). After Bernos complained to the

ALJ about that prospective decision (JA 1415-16), OSM reversed

course again and did not deny the permit. Instead it waited 18

| more months and then sent out essentially the same TDL it had

| issued twice earlier (JA 747-61, 42 (Tr. 251-52)). OSM’s

permitting office sent the TDL to Eastern, instead of to OSM’s

SOAP office which was responsible for obtaining the data, so the

permitting office could deny Eastern's application for failing to

respond to the TDL, instead of on its merits (JA 304 (Tr. 1777)).

In 1994, with SOAP not having conducted any additional studies,

OSM denied a permit. The denial was not based on an “adversely

affect” finding, but because Eastern failed to respond to the TDL

which was SOAP’s responsibility (JA 764).

-

8

In 1991 the Wyatts conveyed their 3.5% royalty interest

to their children, who retain it today (App. 22a; JA 767). From

start to finish, Bernos and Eastern lost $3.8 million on this

venture (JA 1475, 85-86 (Tr. 504, 509)).

C. Trial Court Decision. In December 1994, petitioners

brought a regulatory takings suit against respondent in the United

States Court of Federal Claims (“Trial Court”) (JA 765). That

Court had jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a)(1).

After a 12 day trial (JA 924-25), the Trial Court (per

Judge Hodges) made findings that by early August 1990 Eastern’s

attempt to obtain a permit became futile, and that OSM’s delay

was intentional and extraordinary. The Trial Court made these

findings relevant to futility: that OSM “had no intention of ever

granting the permit,” (App. 28a) and “never would have granted

the permit” (App. 34a); that “it was clear that OSM ... had no

intention of allowing mining next to the park” (App. 37a); and

that “OSM’s policy was to stop Eastern’s development without

taking a final action that plaintiff could appeal” (App. 36a). The

Trial Court also found that proposals to mine on other portions of

Eastern’s property “would have been denied by OSM,” and that

“Eastern’s claim is ripe for adjudication” (App. 22a-23a).

On the question of delay, the Trial Court found that OSM

“waged a war of attrition against Eastern” (App. 36a); that OSM

delayed consideration of the application for “an extraordinary

length of time” (App. 28a); that “the delay became unreasonable”

by early August 1990 (App. 37a, 36a; JA 1397-1400); and that

the government “destroyed the fruits of [plaintiffs’] investments

by purposely delaying action on plaintiffs’ [permit] application

until after their lease expired” (App. 32a).

The Trial Court also found that Eastern did not extend its

lease at the end of August 1990 because it correctly believed

“OSM never would have granted the permit” (App. 34a); that

Eastern “could not afford to retain an expensive leasehold when

it knew that state and federal authorities would never renew its

permit” (App. 36a); and that OSM “prevented Eastern both from

9

obtaining the benefit of its leasehold interest and from renewing

its lease” (App. 38a).

The Trial Court further found that OSM’s extraordinary

delay made both Eastern’s lease and the Wyatts’ royalty interest

“valueless” (App. 31a), and determined that the takings were

permanent (App. 37a-38a). Relying upon United States v. Petty

Motor Co., 327 U.S. 372 (1946), the Trial Court determined that

Eastern was entitled to recover for the value of both its remaining

lease term (which extended to February 1991) and its right to

renew for additional ten-year terms (App. 38a-39a). It ultimately

entered a judgment for Eastern for $9,961 ,393.00, and the Wyatts

for $3,743,766.00, both with compound interest (App. 51a).

D. Appellate Decision. Ina decision issued more that

20 months after oral argument (App. 1a, 55a), the Federal Circuit

reversed. Judge Gajarsa wrote for himself and Judges Newman

and Bryson. The Federal Circuit sua sponte ruled that Eastern

could not recover for a permanent taking because it did not have

a property interest. It found as a “fact” that Eastern “voluntarily”

relinquished its leasehold interest by not renewing its lease by the

end of August, 1990 (App. 10a). It rejected the Trial Court’s

findings that OSM made Eastern’s permit application futile by

August 1990 as “speculatory (sic) reasoning” (id.), and ruled that

the “futility exception can never excuse the prerequisite that there

exist a valid property interest for all takings cases” (id.).° The

Federal Circuit did not cite or acknowledge the holdings in Petty

Motor and several other decisions by this Court upon which

petitioners relied. Nor did it address or apply the rule expressed

in Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606 (2001), and other

decisions of this Court, that an agency cannot use unfair

® In the Court of Appeals the government argued, inter alia, that

extraordinary delay could cause only a temporary but never a permanent

taking. However, even the government did not dispute that Eastern could

recover for a taking if its permit application was futile by early August

1990 because OSM reached a final decision by then. See U.S. Opening

Br., pp. 25-33; Rep. Br. pp. 7-11.

10

procedures to prevent the use of property.

The Court of Appeals analyzed Eastern’s property interest

in the remaining term of its lease, which extended from August

1990 to February 1991, from the perspective that Eastern could

only assert a “temporary” taking of that interest for that time

(App. 10a-11la, 15a). In that respect, on the question whether

extraordinary delay made the government liable for a temporary

taking of Eastern’s remaining lease term, the Federal Circuit ruled

that there was no extraordinary delay sufficient to cause a taking

(App. Ila-15a). Citing Williamson County Reg’l. Planning

Comm. v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985), it stated that this

Court has condoned delays of up to approximately eight years

(App. 12a). Without addressing any of the evidence supporting

the Trial Court’s findings, the Federal Circuit ruled that the

findings of extraordinary or bad faith delay were clearly

erroneous, arid that Eastern could not recover for a temporary

taking of its leasehold interest (App. 15a).

In addition, the Federal Circuit summarily reversed the

judgment for the Wyatts, without discussing it (App. 3a, 15a).

That Court did not address in any respect the nature of the

Wyatts’ property interest, which is of timeless duration and never

has expired, or explain why the Wyatts could not recover for a

permanent or temporary taking.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Federal Circuit’s decision is at odds with United

States v. Petty Motor Co., 327 U.S. 372 (1946), Palazzolo v.

Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606 (2001), Monterey v. Del Monte

Dunes at Monterey, Ltd., 526 U.S. 687 (1999), and other

decisions of the Court. The ruling below violates several

fundamental precepts of this Court’s takings jurisprudence and,

if allowed to stand, would have far reaching effects. The Court

of Appeals did not even cite Petty Motor, Palazzolo, or

Monterey. On the other hand, it cited (App. 12a, 1 1a, n.6) with

approval Tahoe-Sierra Preservation Council, Inc. v. Tahoe

Regional Planning Agency, 216 F.3d 764 (CA9 2000), cert.

1]

granted, _ U'S. __,, 121 S.Ct. 2589 (2001), a decision

obviously under review which in any event does not justify the

Federal Circuit’s rulings.

First, Petty Motor holds that when the government takes

a renewable lease, it is liable for the value of both the remaining

lease term, and any right to renew which exists at the time of

the taking. Palazzolo confirmed that, once the uses of property

permitted by an agency are known, a takings claim is ripe. The

Federal Circuit disregarded Petty Motor and Palazzolo, and

held that, even after proving that a permit application is futile,

a leaseholder cannot recover for a permanent taking of the

leasehold rights which exist when the application became futile.

The effect of this unprecedented holding is to severely diminish

the value of leasehold interests which are, by their nature,

property interests of temporal duration. The Federal Circuit’s

decision is even more far reaching when applied to the Wyatts,

who had a royalty interest of endless duration which never

expired.

Second, the Trial Court made various specific findings

that OSM had used unfair procedures, including effectively

reaching a decision adverse to petitioners which it did not

disclose. The Court of Appeals did not even apply the

“repetitive or unfair” procedures standard reaffirmed in

Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 609. Indeed, it did not even address the

Trial Court’s crucial findings on the point, instead treating the

issue as one involving solely the extent of delay. By so doing

the Federal Circuit allowed OSM, contrary to Palazzolo and

other decisions, to use unfair procedures to bar the use of

property.

Third, in Monterey the Court held that several takings

issues are. in substantial part fact based, and therefore

presumptively entitled to deference by a reviewing court. The

Federal Circuit’s treatment of those findings of the Trial Court

which it did address -- those going to the issue of extraordinary

delay -- conflicts with Monterey. The Federal Circuit followed

erroneous standards in freely reversing the Trial Court’s

12

findings, without giving them any deference. The Court of

Appeals’ conclusion that eight years clearly was not enough

time for the agency to decide whether Eastern’s mine would

“adversely affect” the Park will place even more unreasonable

burdens on property owners. This Court should review the

decision below to explicate and enforce the proper standards for

appellate review of trial court findings in takings cases.

This extreme decision is from the Circuit in which all

takings claims for more than $10,000 against the United States

must be brought. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1346(a)(2); 1491(a)(1). If

allowed to stand, it will make it unreasonably difficult for even

the most deserving takings plaintiffs to recover from the United

States.

I. THE DECISION THAT THE OWNERS OF

NEITHER A LEASE NOR OF A ROYALTY

INTEREST CAN RECOVER FOR A TAKING,

DESPITE PROVING FUTILITY, WARRANTS

REVIEW,

A. As of early August 1990, Eastern’s property consisted

of its remaining lease term, and the right to renew. In Petty

Motor, the United States formally condemned a renewable lease

before the option to extend expired. The Court held that the

tenant was entitled to compensation for the option period, and

was not required to exercise the option. 327 U.S. at 380-81.

Accord, United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373,

376 n. 3 (1945). It follows that if there was a taking of Eastern’s

Leasehold interest by August 31, 1990, Eastern was entitled to

compensation for its remaining lease term and the right to renew.

B. A regulatory takings claim is ripe for review once a

court knows an agency’s position on the scope of permitted

development. E.g., Suitum v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency,

520 U.S. 725, 733, 738-44 (1997) (claim ripe because permission

to build denied, although extent of compensation uncertain). In

Palazzolo the Court held that a takings claim was ripe because

the extent of allowable development on the property was known.

The Court explained that once “the permissible uses of the

13

property are known to a reasonable degree of certainty, a takings

claim is likely to have ripened,” 533 U.S. at 609, and that a

permit need be pursued “only if there is uncertainty as to the

land’s permitted use.” /d. at 610.

The Trial Court made explicit findings that Eastern’s

permit application became futile (e.g., OSM “never would have

granted the permit”(App. 34a)) before the right to renew expired

(App. 34a-38a: JA 1397-1400). Under these findings, there was

a taking of Eastern’s leasehold interests in early August 1990

because that is when the permit application became futile and the

takings claim ripened.

Although the Trial Court relied on Petty Motor in

awarding Eastern compensation for the taking of its right to

renew (App. 38a), and although the Federal Circuit ordered

supplemental briefing on the import of Palazzolo (App. 56a), the

Federal Circuit’s opinion disregards both decisions. The Federal

Circuit did not disturb the Trial Court’s futility findings. Instead,

it held, in essence, that (1) because Eastern “voluntarily” did not

renew its lease at the end of August 1990, it no longer had a

property interest in renewal terms, and (2) even if Eastern proved

that seeking a permit was futile before August 31, 1990, it does

not matter because “‘the futility exception can never excuse the

prerequisite that there exist a valid property interest for all

takings cases” (App. 10a).

This sua sponte conclusion, which is unsupported by the

citation of any authority, is circular and places the cart before the

horse. If Eastern’s permit application became futile before

August 31, 1990, that makes all the difference, because Eastern’s

takings claim became ripe while it owned a right to renew, and it

was entitled to compensation for that property interest. Once a

permit application has become futile, the final decision

requirement is met, and compensation is due.

The Federal Circuit’s contrary conclusion is both

inconsistent with this Court’s decisions, and otherwise

unsupportable. If in August 1990 OSM had issued a short letter

14

denying Eastern a permit on the ground that its mine would

“adversely affect” the Park, there unquestionably would have

been a final decision and Eastern’s claim for a permanent taking

of its lease, including the night to renew, would have been npe.

No different result should follow when the government makes a

final decision but declines to put it in writing. The purpose of the

ripeness doctrine is to enable agencies to arrive at considered

decisions, not to allow them to place unreasonable hurdles in the

path of owners which effectively destroy their property rights.

This ruling gives agencies an incentive not only to delay,

but to avoid formalizing their decisions, especially when temporal

property interests, such as renewable leases, are at stake. In this

way, the decision below allows agencies to avoid paying just

compensation by outlasting the owners of property interests of

finite duration. Tlie owner often cannot renew the (non-

performing) lease without incurring a large financial obligation;

and once the lease expires, the owner will no longer have a

property interest to assert.

C. Unlike Eastern’s lease, the Wyatts’ royalty interest is

of timeless duration. It never has expired. In 1991, the Wyatts

transferred their royalty interest to their children, who own it

today (App. 22a; JA 767). The Wyatt children joined the suit as

plaintiffs precisely so that they, instead of their parents, could

recover if the Trial Court found a taking after 1991, and they

cross-appealed from the Trial Court’s judgment (App. la). The

Court of Appeals stated that “OSM denied the permit in a final

action” in 1994 (App. 10a).’ Under this reasoning, the Wyatt

children had a ripe categorical takings claim as of 1994.

The Federal Circuit’s summary reversal of the judgment

for the Wyatts seems inexplicable, and certainly was not

explained. Also unexplained is the Federal Circuit’s failure to

remand the claims by the Wyatt children so the Trial Court could

” In fact, OSM denied the permit because Eastern allegedly failed

to submit necessary information in response to OSM’s third TDL

(App. 18a; JA 764).

15

determine whether they could recover for a taking in 1994, under

the terms of the Federal Circuit’s own decision. The Court of

Appeals’ ultimate holding is that neither the Wyatts nor their

children, who held property interests of timeless duration, could

recover for a taking, despite proving futility, and despite the

existence ofa final decision. That ruling is quite far reaching and

difficult to defend, and it warrants review.

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO

FOLLOW OR APPLY THIS COURT’S

DECISIONS PROHIBITING UNFAIR OR

REPETITIVE LAND-USE PROCEDURES ALSO

WARRANTS REVIEW.

In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo, 477

U.S. 340, 350, n. 7 (1986), the Court explained that “[a] property

owner is of course not required to resort to piecemeal litigation or

otherwise unfair procedures in order to obtain” a decision on

what uses can be made of its property. In Palazzolo, the Court,

citing Monterey, reaffirmed that:

“Government authorities, of course, may not

burden property by imposition of repetitive or

unfair land-use procedures in order to avoid a

final decision.” [533 U.S. at 609].

The Trial Court made several findings that OSM used

repetitive and unfair procedures to avoid issuing a final decision

in writing. It specifically found, inter alia, that “OSM’s policy

was to stop Eastern’s development without taking a final action

that plaintiff could appeal” (App. 36a); that OSM “waged a war

of attrition against Eastern” (App. 36a); and that OSM “purposely

delay[ed] action on plaintiffs’ [permit] application until after their

lease expired” (App. 32a). The Trial Court also found that

Eastern’s leasehold had lost all value by early August 1990 for

straightforward reasons. It was in early August 1990, after the

outside consultants had done all the studies OSM requested, that

OSM, with knowledge that Eastern’s lease was about to expire,

concocted an ad hoc, “confidential” and unpublished new plan,

16

not called for by statute, regulation or prior practice, under which

the application would go through numerous further steps, none of

which could result in the granting of a permit. See App. 34a-38a;

JA 1397-1400.

Although the Federal Circuit addressed and reversed the

Trial Court’s findings on extraordinary delay, see App. | la-15a,

it completely ignored the issue of unfair agency procedures. The

Court of Appeals neither applied the “repetitive and unfair land

use procedure” standard, nor dealt with the Trial’s Court findings

on repetitive and unfair procedures. By so doing, the Court of

Appeals circumvented Palazzolo, Monterey, and other decisions

of the Court which make clear that takings claims are ripe when

agencies resort to unfair procedures.

In Palazzolo, the Court stated that agencies could not

use unfair procedures “to avoid a final decision.” 526 U.S. at

609. In this case the Trial Court made findings that OSM had, in

effect, made a decision to deny a permit but declined to put that

decision in writing,® and the Court of Appeals did not reverse

those findings. If an agency cannot unfairly avoid reaching a

final decision, a fortiori it cannot act to outlast the owner of a

lease until after it expires by withholding the issuance of a final

decision it has in fact reached.

The unfairness of OSM’s actions is further shown by the

fact that under SMCRA Eastern should have been granted a

permit shortly after it applied for one in 1982. 30 U.S.C. §

1256(d)(1) provides that, subject to certain exceptions, “[a]ny

valid permit issued pursuant to this Act shall carry with it the

right of successive renewal upon expiration.” In 1982 Eastern

applied for a renewal permit, not a new one, as both the State

®* Such is the import of the findings thatOSM “had no intention

of ever granting the permit” (App. 28a) and “never would have

granted the permit,” (App. 34a); and that “OSM’s policy was to stop

Eastern’s development without taking a final action that plaintiff

could appeal” (App. 36a).

17

and OSM have acknowledged.’ Section 1256(d)(1) does not

allow an agency to deny a renewal permit on that ground that a

mine would “adversely affect” a Park within the meaning of §

1272(e)(3). Under § 1256(d)(1), Eastern was entitled to a

renewal permit, and OSM should not have been inquiring into the

“adversely affect” issue at all. This makes the unfairness of

OSM’s actions even more stark, and the Court of Appeals’

willingness to tolerate them even more far reaching.

Ill. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ FAILURE TO

FOLLOW THIS COURT’S DECISIONS

REQUIRING APPELLATE COURTS TO GIVE

DEFERENCE TO FACTUAL FINDINGS IN

TAKINGS CASES ALSO WARRANTS REVIEW.

A. In Monterey, a jury returned a verdict finding the City

liable for a taking. The Court noted that “we have described

determinations of liability in regulatory takings cases as

‘essentially ad hoc, factual inquires,’” 526 U.S. at 720, citing

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1015

(1992), quoting Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York

City, 438 U.S. 104, 124 (1978). The Court held in Monterey that

the “issue whether a landowner has been deprived of all

economically viable use of his property is a predominately factual

question,” and the question whether the regulation substantially

advances legitimate state interests is “a mixed question of fact

and law,” and affirmed the verdict. 526 U.S. at 720-21.

Separate from its findings of futility and extraordinary

delay, the Trial Court made several other findings which are

relevant to whether there was a taking. For example, the Trial

Court found that plaintiffs “reasonably relied on the two permits

they received . .. when they invested in the property” (App. 29a);

that OSM “prevented Eastern . . . from renewing its lease” (App.

*» The State stipulated in a 1984 Order that Eastern’s 1982

application was for a renewal permit (or a re-permit), and the United

States so acknowledged in its interrogatory responses in the Trial

Court (JA 1183, 1425, 1434; see JA 1475).

18

38a); that the government “destroyed the fruits of [plaintiffs’]

investments” by purposeful delay (App. 32a); and that “Eastern’s

claim is ripe for adjudication” (App. 23a). The Trial Court’s

ultimate conclusion that there was a taking is in substantial part

fact based. The Court of Appeals did not reverse any of these

findings, but failed to give them any effect. By so doing the

Court of Appeals failed to follow Monterey.

Although the Court of Appeals stated that it reviews

findings of fact for clear error, it also stated that “whether a taking

has occurred is a question of law based on factual underpinnings”

(App. 9a). To the extent the Court of Appeals believed that it was

free under this standard to disregard any of the Trial Court’s

relevant findings in arriving at the legal conclusion that there was

no taking, the Court of Appeals applied an erroneous standard of

review and failed to follow Monterey.

B. The Court of Appeals did address and reverse as

clearly erroneous the Trial Court’s findings of extraordinary

delay. It ruled that Eastern could not recover for a taking of its

remaining lease term, which extended from August 1990 to

February 1991, because there was no extraordinary delay as a

matter of law (App. 1la-15a). However, the Court of Appeals

did not address any of the evidence which supported the Trial

Court’s delay findings or give any explanation as to why they

were erroneous. By so doing, the Court of Appeals further

circumvented Monterey.

The Federal Circuit not only overlooked the evidence

supporting the Trial Court’s delay findings. It also made several

statements which directly conflict with the evidence. To take just

some examples: the Court of Appeals asserted that “much of the

delay through 1991 was caused by” Eastern’s failure to submit

information (App. 15a). But Terry Small, who headed OSM’s

SOAP office, testified that no delay which may have occurred

after January 1986 was attributable to Eastern (JA 52 (Tr. 310)).

The Court of Appeals stated that OSM determined in 1990 that it

needed additional information to assess hydrologic impact (App.

14a-15a). But OSM’s Richard Mann, who was in charge of the

19

hydrology issues, testified that OSM had adequate information to

make an “adversely affect” finding on the hydrology issues at all

times since 1986 (JA 41 (Tr. 246-48)).

Although the Federal Circuit stated that “OSM did not

cause any extraordinary delay” (App. 13a), it failed to mention

the testimony of an OSM official that, except for Eastern’s case

(and abandoned applications) OSM has decided even the most

complex cases in about 2 years, and others in less time (JA 319

(Tr. 1866-67)). It also overlooked the fact that OSM had

completed its technical review in 1985, when it decided to grant

a permit, but then demanded voluminous additional information

after the State objected. It also overlooked the fact that it was the

Interior Department’s own ALJ, not the Trial Court, who stated

that OSM attempts io seek reclamation while the permit

application was pending would constitute “bad faith.” See supra, —

p. 6. The Federal Circuit stated that Eastern “never informed

OSM that it had relinquished its” lease (App. 11a). But the head

of OSM’s SOAP office testified that Bernos informed him

“several times” of the looming lease expiration and the need for

action (JA 46 (Tr. 277-78)). The Federal Circuit stated that in

February 1991 Eastern’s lease was terminated and it lost its “right

of access to mine the property”(App. 1 1a). It overlooked the fact

that Eastern remained in possession as a holdover tenant, with

Cane’s consent, until 1993 (JA 84 (Tr. 496-98)).

Williamson County, upon which the Court of Appeals

relied (App. 12a), did not condone delays of approximately eight

years. Instead, the Court held that a takings claim was not ripe

because the owner failed to follow available procedures for

obtaining a variance from zoning decisions. 473 U.S. at 190-95.

No such procedures were available here.!°

'° OSM had available a procedure under which Eastern could seek an

exemption from SMCRA’s permitting requirement by establishing that it

had Valid Existing Rights (“VER”) before SMCRA was passed. See 30

C.F.R. § 761.5 (1988). Eastern exhausted this potential remedy by filing

a VER application, which OSM denied (JA 1404-12; App.7a).

20

C. Eight years elapsed between 1982 and 1990, when

Eastern’s right to extend its lease expired. Four years elapsed

between 1986, when OSM issued an “unripe” denial, and 1990.

OSM had from 1984 on simply to determine whether Eastern’s

mine would “adversely affect” the Park, and it had no need to

continue a technical review which it completed in 1985. By

reversing the Trial Court’s findings of extraordinary delay as

clearly erroneous, and impliedly concluding that OSM clearly did

not have enough time to consider the renewal permit application,

the Federal Circuit has legitimized dilatory tactics. It has reached

an extreme result which undermines property nghts, and is

fundamentally inconsistent with several decisions of the Court.

IV. IF ALLOWED TO STAND, THE DECISION

BELOW WILL HAVE FAR REACHING

CONSEQUENCES.

This is an unusually strong regulatory takings case. The

Wyatts initially bought their property in 1953. All persons who

owned interests in the property when SMCRA was passed in

1977, i.e., the Wyatts and Bernos, joined this suit as plaintiffs.

And the takings claimed here were categorical. The Trial Court

entered judgments for categorical takings after it found that

Eastern’s and the Wyatts’ property interests were rendered

“valueless” (App. 31a). That finding is correct —-— neither a coal

lease nor a royalty has any value if the property cannot be mined

—— and the Federal Circuit did not disturb it.

Generally speaking, the right to compensation is strongest

where, as here, the regulatory taking is categorical.'’ That right

'' The government’s defenses in a categorical case are limited,

and eight Justices have confirmed that investment backed

expectations is not a factor in a categorical case. Citing Lucas, 505

U.S. at 1015 (1992), Justice Kennedy’s majority opinion in

Palazzolo states:

“First, we have observed, with certain qualifications, see

infra at 614-15, that a regulation which ‘denies all

economically beneficial or (fn. continued next page)

naaeisecanncirwiiaiinieiiiatiiaiaaiiaiiiaaiaa sai

21

is even stronger if the categorical case is one in which a plaintiff

detrimentally relied upon validly issued permits before suffering

a total prohibition on use.'* The right is stronger still if the

categorical case is one in which a trial court is presented with

extensive evidence, including internal documents, of unfair and

bad faith agency action, and in which the trial court makes

explicit and detailed findings of futility and intentional delay.

If these petitioners cannot recover from the United States for a

regulatory taking, it is difficult to understand who could.

This decision is from the Circuit in which all takings

cases for more than $10,000.00 against the United States must be

brought. It reflects an egregious failure to follow legal principles

clearly set forth in this Court’s decisions. If allowed to stand, this

decision will make it extremely difficult for even the most

deserving property owners to recover from the United States. It

(fn. continued) productive use of land’ will require

compensation under the Takings Clause.” [533 U.S. at

607].

Justice Ginsburg’s dissenting opinion in Palazzolo (joined by

Justices Souter and Breyer) states that, subject to the nuisance

defense, “denial of ‘all economically beneficial or productive use of

land’ constitutes a taking.” [Ginsburg, J., dissenting on other

grounds, 533 U.S. at 627, quoting Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1013].

Compare Palm Beach Isles Ass’s. v. United States, 231 F.3d

1365, 1367-70 (CAFed. 2000) (Gajarsa, J., dissenting from the denial of

rehearing en banc).

'2 Tennessee, like most states, recognizes the doctrine of “vested

rights,” under which a plaintiff who obtains a valid permit and spends

funds in reliance thereon obtains a kind of property interest in renewal

permits. See Howe Realty Co. v. City of Nashville, 176 Tenn. 405, 141

S.W.2d 904, 906 (1940); and Moore v. Memphis Stone & Gravel Co.,

47 Tenn. App. 461, 470-72, 339 S.W.2d 29 (1959). By the time Eastern

applied for a renewal permit in 1982, it already had received two valid

permits under which it spent large sums preparing the property for

mining. Under Tennessee law, Eastern had not only a property interest in

its leasehold, but a separate property interest in a renewal permit.

22

will give the government a blueprint showing how to deliberately

delay action on permit applications, and exhaust the applicant’s

resources. It will deter potential plaintiffs from bringing viable

takings claims. And it will deter judges in the Court of Federal

Claims from awarding compensation for takings even in

compelling cases.

CONCLUSION

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

WALTER H. FLEISCHER RAYMOND D. BATTOCCHI

1320 Old Chain Bridge Rd. Counsel of Record

Suite 440 . JOHN R. POWELL

McLean, Virginia 22101 VICKI A. PAISLEY

(703) 821-0613 Gabeler, Battocchi & Griggs,

PLLC

MICHAEL Boos 1320 Old Chain Bridge Rd.

4101 Chain Bridge Rd. Suite 260

Suite 31300 McLean, Virginia 22101

Fairfax, Virginia 22030 (703) 847-8888

(703) 691-7717

January 25, 2002

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A — — Notice of Entry of Judgment and Opinion

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit Dated and Entered November 19, 2001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF

JUDGMENT ACCOMPANIED BY OPINION

OPINION FILED AND JUDGMENT ENTERED: 11/19/01

The attached opinion announcing the judgment of the court

in your case was filed and judgment was entered on the date

indicated above. The mandate will be issued in due course.

ia x *

JAN HORBALY

Clerk

cc: JEFFREY C. DOBBINS

RAYMOND D. BATTOCCHI

CHARLES F. LETTOW

EATERN MINERALS V. US, 99-5054, -5059 CFC-94-CV-

1098

* * * * *

ANNE D. WYATT, EASTERN MINERALS

INTERNATIONAL, INC., VAN BUREN MINERALS

CORPORATION, MILTON J. BERNOS, JR., NANCY

WYATT ZORN, WILSON W. WYATT, JR. and MARTIN P.

DUFFY, Executor of the Estates of Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.,and

Anne D. Wyatt, Plaintiffs-Cross Appellants, v. UNITED

STATES, Defendant-Appellant. 99-5054, 99-5059

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT, November 19, 2001, Decided

PRIOR HISTORY: Appealed from: United States Court of

Federal Claims. Judge Robert H. Hodges, Jr.

2a

Eastern Minerals Int'l v. United States, 36 Fed. Cl. 541, 1996

U.S. Claims LEXTS 173 (1996)

Eastern Minerals Int'l v. United States, 39 Fed. Cl. 621, 1997

U.S. Claims LEXTS 271 (1997)

DISPOSITION: REVERSED.

COUNSEL: Raymond D. Battocchi, Gabeler, Battocchi &

Griggs LLC, of McLean, Virginia, argued for plaintiffs-cross

appellants. With him on the brief were John R. Powell, and

Vicky Ann Paisley. Of counsel on the brief was Walter H.

Fleischer, of Washington, DC.

Jeffrey C. Dobbins, Attorney, Environment and Natural

Resources Division, Department of Justice, of Washington, DC,

argued for defendant-appellant. With him on the brief were Lois

J. Schiffer, Assistant Attorney General; Marc A. Smith, and

Andrew C. Mergen, Attorneys. Of counsel on the brief was

Daniel W. Kilduff, Attorney, Office of the Solicitor,

Department of the Interior, of Washington, DC.

Charles F. Lettow, Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton, of

Washington, DC, for amicus curiae Cane Tennessee, Inc. Of

counsel on the brief were Michael A. Mazzuchi, and Timothy

A. Vogel. |

JUDGES: Before NEWMAN, BRYSON, and GAJARSA,

Circuit Judges.

OPINION: GAJARSA, Circuit Judge.

In this regulatory takings case, the United States appeals the

October 6, 1996 and November 25, 1997 judgments of the

United States Court of Federal Claims on the issue of liability.

Plaintiff Van Buren Mineral Corporation ("Van Buren") cross-

appeals the trial court's judgment that its claims are unripe.

Plaintiffs Eastern Mineral International, Inc. ("EMI"), Wilson

Wyatt, Sr., and Anne D. Wyatt ("the Wyatts") further cross-

3a

appeal the trial court's award of damages. |

After dismissing a variety of the plaintiffs’ claims as unripe,

the trial court held that the federal government had effected a

permanent regulatory taking of the property interests of EMI

and the Wyatts. E. Minerals Int'l, Inc. v. United States, 36 Fed.

Cl. 541, 552 (1996). The court further held the government

liable for the takings, and awarded EMI $15,866,311 and the

Wyatts $3,743,766, plus compound interest. E. Minerals Int'l,

Inc. v. United States, 39 Fed. Cl. 621, 631 (1997). For the

reasons discussed below, we reverse the judgment of the trial

court on the issue of liability, and dismiss the cross-appeals as

moot.

I. BACKGROUND

This case concerns the administration of the Surface Mining

Control and Reclamation Act of 1977 ("SMCRA" or the "Act"),

30 U.S.C. § 120] et seq.. Concerned that "many surface mining

operations result in disturbances of surface areas and adversely

affect commerce and the public welfare," 30 U.S.C. § 1201(b),

Congress passed the Act to "establish a nationwide program to

protect society and the environment from the adverse effects of

surface coal mining operations." 30 U.S.C. § 1202(a) (1994).

The Act created the Office of Surface Mining Regulation and

Enforcement ("OSM") within the Department of the Interior

and authorized the Secretary of the Interior ("Secretary") to

administer the Act by promulgating regulations and enforcing

its provisions. 30 U.S.C. §§ 1211(a), 1211(c) (1994); see also

Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass'n, 452

U.S. 264, 268-69, 69 L. Ed. 2d 1, 101 S. Ct. 2352 (1981).

The Act regulates surface coal mining through a two-phase

program designed to balance both federal and state interests.

See Hodel, 452 U.S. at 289 (describing the Act as establishing

"a program of cooperative federalism"). During the initial

regulatory phase the federal government promulgates and

' A brief urging affirmance as to liability and partial reversal and

remand as to damages was filed by Cane Tennessee, Inc. as amicus

Curiae.

4a

enforces basic environmental protection standards. These

standards include requirements for restoration of land,

preservation of topsoil, and protection of the hydrological

balance. 30 U.S.C. §§ 1252(c), 1265(b) (1994). The federal

standards are complemented by continuing state regulations.

States can issue permits for surface mining, but only if the

applicant complied with federal interim standards concerning

the environmental impact of the proposed mine. Id. § 1252(b).

The initial phase is followed by a permanent phase, during

which each state adopts its own regulatory program to provide

for compliance with the various federal performance standards.

Id. § 1253(a). The goal of the program is to allow states to tailor

their permitting schemes to meet their own needs, within a

general framework of federal oversight. If a state's program

does not meet basic federal standards, the Secretary is required

to step in with his own program for assuring compliance. Id. §

1254(b). Under no circumstances may a person engage in

surface coal mining without a permit from an appropriate

regulatory agency. Id. § 1256(a).

The property at issue in this case is located in Bledsoe and

Van Buren Counties in southeastern Tennessee, adjacent to the

Fall Creek Falls State Park. On December 12, 1975, Wilson

Wyatt, Sr. and Anne D. Wyatt sold the property to-Milton J.

Bernos, Jr. Under the conditions of the sale, as amended, the

Wyatts were to receive $4.3 million in installments and retain

a 3.5% royalty interest in all coal extracted from the property.

In December 1978, Bernos canceled his contract with the

Wyatts. By this time, Bernos had acquired a portion of the

property, but the majority remained in the Wyatts' hands. In

1979, the Wyatts sold their remaining interest in the property to

Cane Co., Ltd. (later Cane Tennessee, Inc.) ("Cane"). Once

again, the Wyatts retained a 3.5% royalty interest in the

minerals. Meanwhile, Bernos sold his interest in the property to

Colten, Inc. ("Colten"). Colten then immediately entered into a

lease with Van Buren, a company wholly owned by Bernos.

Thereafter, Cane granted an exclusive lease to mine the

property to EMI, another company wholly owned by Bernos.

Sa

Although the term of this lease was set to expire on February

28, 1991, EMI had the right to extend the lease term for four

ten-year terms upon 180 days notice to Cane. EMI could not,

however, exercise the right to extend the lease term after

August 1990.

After signing the lease, EMI set out to secure the necessary

permits to begin mining the property. On February 4, 1980, the

Division of Surface Mining and Reclamation of the Tennessee

Department of Conservation ("DSM") issued EMI a one-year

permit under DSM's interim regulatory program. As required

under the Act, DSM found that the proposed mine would not

“adversely affect" the adjacent park. See id. § 1272(e)(3). The

permit granted EMI permission to disturb thirty-three acres on

the property. With the permits in hand, EMI executed a box cut

on the property to extract coal from the Sewannee coal seam,

and also constructed various "improvements" to the land,

including a sediment pond, a backfill area, and various roads.

Adhering to the requirements of 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e)(5), EMI

located the box cut just over 300 feet from the property's

boundary with the Fall Creek Falls State Park.

Four months after the permit expired, on June 18, 1981 , EMI

again applied for a permit from the DSM. On September 14,

1981, DSM granted EMI another one-year permit. After this

permit expired, EMI filed another application with DSM for

still another permit.’ The DSM rejected this permit application

on May 8 1984. It found that EMI had not adequately addressed

the issues of noise, water quality and subsidence.’ On August 15,

1984, the Tennessee Surface Mining Board of Reclamation

affirmed the rejection.

? By this time, DSM was reassigned to the Tennessee Department

of Health and Environment.

> DSM also noted that Mr. Bernos, the sole shareholder of Cane,

had violated various coal mining regulations in the past. See 30

U.S.C. § 1260(c) (1994) (barring any applicant with outstanding

environmental violations from receiving permit until agency receives

assurances that violations have been resolved).

6a

Later that year, OSM determined that Tennessee had not

effectively implemented its SMCRA program. Pursuant to its

authority under the Act, OSM revoked the state's authority, and

assumed control of the Tennessee surface mining regulatory

program. At the same time, under the regulations promulgated by

the agency, the state retained joint reviewing authority.

OSM reviews permit applications in three stages. First, the

agency reviews an application to determine if it is

administratively complete. After the agency is satisfied that it has

all the necessary information, it conducts a technical review to

determine if the proposed mining operation meets all substantive

legal requirements. Finally, OSM closes out the application,

whereupon it addresses any final legal matters, such as the

securing of any bonds.

In October of 1984, EMI applied for a new permit from OSM.

In its application, EMI sought to disturb 26.3 acres of the Cane

property and mine approximately 4,600 acres of coal. On

December 31, 1984, OSM notified EMI that its application was

administratively incomplete. After EMI acknowledged and

corrected the deficiencies, OSM informed EMI that it would need

the approval of the Tennessee DOC if OSM determined that the

proposed mine would adversely affect the Fall Creek Falls Park,

pursuant to 30 U.S.C. § 1272(e)(3).

OSM then commenced its review of EMI's application. On May

30, 1985, OSM issued EMI a technical deficiency letter ("TDL")

outlining various concerns about the proposed mine. Among

these concerns were the effect of the mine on Cane Creek and the

impact of the mine on the "scenic and solitude values of Falls

Creek Falls State Park." On June 25, 1985, EMI responded to the

TDL with a letter that included little of the information requested

by OSM.

In August of 1985, the State of Tennessee exercised its joint-

review authority, and objected to the permit application. The state

believed that the mine would have adverse environmental impacts

on the surrounding area. On December 12, 1985, OSM issued

another TDL requiring specific information to satisfy the

hydrologic and environmental impact requirements of the Act

7a

pursuant to 30 U.S.C. § 1257. This TDL contained five pages of

specific information necessary for OSM to approve the

application. On January 15, 1986, in response to the deficiency

letters, EMI sought financial assistance in complying with the

request for additional information from OSM's Small Operator

Assistance Program ("SOAP").4 On July 2, 1986, OSM denied

the permit application before it acted on the SOAP application.

The agency had concluded that the proposed mine would

adversely impact the park by Causing excessive noise and

possibly adverse hydrological consequences.’ On July 30, 1986,

EMI appealed the denial to an administrative law judge ("ALJ").

This began a lengthy period of further review. Because OSM

had not conclusively established a hydrological impact from the

proposed mine, the ALJ asked the parties to work with one

another to provide OSM the information it needed for its

hydrological assessment. OSM also agreed to review EMI's claim

that it enjoyed valid existing rights ("VER") in the property that

relieved it from any ban on mining near the park. At EMI's

request, OSM was ordered to decide the VER claim before EMI

spent any additional funds on complying with OSM's request for

more information. On January 20, 1988, OSM denied the claim

for VER. On February 1, 1988, OSM submitted a revised TDL to

EMI outlining the information it still required.

EMI did not respond to the February 1, 1988 TDL. Instead, it

elected to apply again for SOAP funds. The August 1990

deadline for extending the Cane lease came and went without

* SOAP's purpose "is to provide for eligible operators a

determination of probable hydrologic consequences and a

statement of results of test borings or core samplings which are

required components of the permit application." 30 C.F.R. §

795.1; 30 C.F.R. § 795.6 (listing eligibility requirements for

SOAP).

* Having denied EMI's permit application, OSM then denied

EMI's SOAP application based on 30 CF.R. § 795.6(a)(3) (2001)

(limiting SOAP eligibility to applicants not restricted from obtaining

permit).

| a a

8a

EMI exercising its option. As provided under its terms, the lease

expired on February 28, 1991. Meanwhile, OSM had determined

that any mining on the Cane and Colten lands would "adversely

affect" the park. OSM was concerned about both surface water

and groundwater discharges, and had decided that EMI could not

assuage these concerns.

On August 25, 1993, OSM issued another TDL. Once again,

OSM requested specific information from EMI necessary to

complete its assessment. Although SOAP had funded drilling, a

lineament study, and a fracture analysis, OSM found a number of

deficiencies in the information supplied to the agency. On

February 18, 1994, OSM again informed EMI that a response to

the TDL was essential to the permit review. Finally, on April 13,

1994, OSM denied EMI's permit request.

The plaintiffs then filed suit in the United States Court of

Federal Claims. The plaintiffs contended that the government's

"extraordinary delay" in reviewing the permit application resulted

in Bernos losing both long-term leases. After a trial, the court

issued an opinicn and order dated October 2, 1996 dismissing the

claims of various piaintiffs for jurisdictional reasons. E.

Minerals, 36 Fed. Cl. at 547-48. However, the court rejected the

government's argument that EMI's claim was ripe only as to the

Cane property, the only property for which it sought a permit. Jd.

at 547. The court agreed with the plaintiffs that any effort at

securing a permit for the Colten property would have been futile.

Id.

Addressing the merits of EMI and the Wyatts' claim, the court

held that "extraordinary government delay may result in a

constructive permit denial," and thus a permanent taking. Jd. at

548. The court further held that the delay suffered by EMI and the

Wyatts established a compensable economic impact and that EMI

and the Wyatts had sufficient investment-backed expectations

based on the two permits EMI had received earlier from DSM.

Id. at 550-5].

In an order dated April 21, 1997, the court expounded on its

earlier holding on the issue of liability. The government then

moved for reconsideration. On November 25, 1997, the court

es

9a

granted the motion, but increased the compensation awarded to

EMI and the Wyatts. Ultimately, on December 22, 1998, the court

entered a final judgment awarding damages to both EMI and the

Wyatts. The United States now appeals the judgment of the trial

court, and the plaintiffs cross-appeal.

I]. STANDARD OF REVIEW

In reviewing the judgments of the Court of Federal Claims, this

court examines findings of fact for clear error and reviews legal

conclusions completely and independently. Bass Enterprises

Prod. Co. v. United States, 133 F 3d 893, 895 (Fed. Cir. 1998);

Columbia Gas Sys., Inc. v. United States, 70 F.3d | 244, 1246

(Fed. Cir. 1995). Whether or not a taking has occurred is a

question of law based on factual underpinnings. Alves v. United

States, 133 F.3d 1454, 1456 (Fed. Cir. 1998); Bass Enters.

Prod. Co. v. United States, 133 F.3d 893, 895 (Fed. Cir. 1998);

Whitney Benefits, Inc. v. United States, 926 F.2d 11] 69, 1172-73

(Fed. Cir. 1991). We have jurisdiction over the appeal pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1295¢a)(3).

III. DISCUSSION

A. Scope of the Asserted Taking

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides that private property shall not "be taken for public use

without just compensation." U.S. Const. amend. V. The Supreme

Court has recognized that the government may "take" private

property by either physical invasion or regulation. Lucas v. S. C.

Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1014-15, 120 L. Ed. 2d 798,

112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992); Good v. United States, 189 F.3d ] 355,

1360 (Fed. Cir. 1999).

As discussed above, the plaintiffs in this case allege regulatory

takings by the federal government. It is axiomatic that only

persons with a valid property interest at the time of the taking are

entitled to compensation. Almota Farmers Elevator &

Warehouse Co. v. United States, 409 U.S. 470, 473-74, 35 L.

Ed. 2d 1, 93 S. Ct. 791 (1973); Pro-Eco, Inc. v. Bd. of Comm'rs

of Jay County, Indiana, 57 F.3d 505, 509 (7th Cir. 1995);

Cavin v. United States, 956 F.2d 1 131, 1134 (Fed. Cir. 1992).

10a

In this case, OSM denied the permit in a final action on April 13,

1994. However, EMI voluntarily chose not to renew its leasehold

interest in August of 1990. Thus, as of February 28, 1991, EMI

possessed no valid property interest from which it could assert a

takings claim.

EMI attempts to sidestep this critical requirement by arguing

that the government action constituting the taking occurred in

1990, before the April 13, 1994 final action. In other words, EMI

argues that government delay prior to February 28, 1991

amounted to a permanent taking of its leasehold interest to mine

the Cane property. Indeed, the trial court reasoned that "if a

permit had been granted before August 1990, [EMI] would have

extended the lease for as long as necessary to mine all the

merchantable coal in the ground." E. Minerals, 39 Fed. Cl. at

626. The trial court excused EMI's decision to relinquish its

leasehold interest because it determined that the permit

application, and thus the lease renewal, would have been futile.

However, such speculatory reasoning belies the bedrock

requirement that the existence of a valid property interest is

necessary in all takings claims. See U.S. Const. amend. V. It is

true that the futility exception may sometimes excuse a property

owner from submitting "multiple applications when the manner

in which the first application was rejected makes it clear that no

project will be approved.” Heck v. United States, 134 F.3d 1468,

1472 (Fed. Cir. 1998). However, the futility exception can never

excuse the prerequisite that there exist a valid property ihterest

for all takings cases.

The fact remains that EMI chose to relinquish its leasehold

interest well before OSM's final decision. If EMI had renewed its

lease, it may have been able to assert a permanent taking of its

leasehold interest to mine the Cane property. However, we cannot

allow the voluntary relinquishment of a property interest jo

transform a temporary taking into a permanent. taking.°

° Temporary takings are not different in kind from permanent

takings. First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. L.A. County

Calif., 482 U.S. 304, 321, 96 L. Ed. 2d 250, 107 S. Ct. 2378 1987)

(continued...)

lla

Moreover, although EMI continued to pursue the permit

application, it never informed OSM that it had relinquished its

leasehold interest. Had OSM been aware of this fact, it would

have been required to deny immediately the permit application

because EMI no longer had a right of access to mine the

property. See 30 C.F.R. § 778.15 (2001). For this reason, EMI

cannot legally assert a permanent takings claim subsequent to

February 28, 1991, and moreover, for the reasons discussed

below, we find that there has been no compensable taking prior

to February 28, 1991.

B. Extraordinary Delay

EMI argues that as of 1990, extraordinary government delay

in processing its permit application constituted a taking.

However, we hold that any delay in processing the permit

application was not sufficiently "extraordinary" to constitute a

taking.

We note that the existence and initiation of permit

proceedings does not itself constitute a taking. Indeed,

government "could hardly go on if to some extent values

incident to property could not be diminished without paying for

every such change in the general law." Pa. Coal Co. v. Mahon,

(...continued)

A temporary taking occurs when what would otherwise be a

permanent taking is temporally cut short. For example, a temporary

taking may occur when a court invalidates a regulation after the

taking has already occurred. See, e.g., Tabb Lakes, Ltd. v. United

States, 10 F.3d 796, 800 (Fed. Cir. 1993). A temporary taking may

also occur when the government elects to discontinue regulations

after a taking has occurred. Tahoe-Sierra Pres. Council, Inc. v.

Tahoe Reg'l. Planning Agency, 216 F.3d 764, 778 (9th Cir. 2000),

cert. granted, /50 L. Ed. 2d 749, 121 S. Ct. 2589 (June 29, 2001).

The essential element of a temporary taking is a finite start and end

to the taking. In this case, as discussed above, the taking ended by act

of law when EMI voluntarily relinquished its valid property interest.

Thus, EMI is only entitled to assert a temporary taking from 1990

(when EMI asserts that OSM began its campaign of "extraordinary

delay") through February 28, 1991 (when EMI gave up its leasehold

interest).

12a

260 U.S. 393, 413, 67 L. Ed. 322, 43 S. Ct. 158 (1922). The

mere requirement that "a person obtain a permit before

engaging in a certain use of his or her property does not itself

‘take’ the property in any sense: after all, the very existence of

a permit system implies that permission may be granted."

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S. 121,

126-27, 88 L. Ed. 2d 419, 106 S. Ct. 455 (1985). Moreover,

mere "fluctuations in value during the process of governmental

decisionmaking, absent extraordinary delay, are incidents of

ownership." First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. L.A.

County, Calif., 482 U.S. 304, 320, 96 L. Ed. 2d 250, 107 S. Ct.

2378 (1987).

However, it is true that a taking may occur by reason of

"extraordinary delay in governmental decisionmaking." Tabb

Lakes, 10 F.3d at 803. Other courts have recognized that

extraordinary delay must be "substantial" and that the Supreme

Court has condoned delays up to "approximately eight years."

Kawaoka v. City of Arroyo Grande, 17 F.3d 1227, 1233 (9th

Cir. 1994) (citing Williamson County Reg'l Planning Comm'n

v. Hamilton Bank of Johnson City, 473 U.S. 172, 87 L. Ed. 2d

126, 105 S. Ct. 3108 (1985)); see also Tahoe-Sierra, 216 F.3d

at 781-82 (holding that a temporary development moratorium -

of up to forty months did not constitute a temporary taking);

Dufau v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 156, 163 (Cl. Ct. 1990)

(holding that permit delay of sixteen months did not constitute

a temporary taking). The length of the delay is not necessarily

the primary factor to be considered when determining whether

there is extraordinary government delay. Because delay is

inherent in complex regulatory permitting schemes, we must

examine the nature of the permitting process as well as the

reasons for any delay. Moreover, it is the rare circumstance that

we will find a taking based on extraordinary delay without a

showing of bad faith. Cf. Tabb Lakes, 10 F.3d at 799.

Complex regulatory schemes often require detailed

information before the issuance of a permit. The nature of the

regulatory scheme is especially critical when the permitting

process requires detailed technical information necessary to

determine environmental impacts. Governmental agencies that

|

q

i

TT _ ee

ae ae san

l3a

implement complex permitting schemes should be afforded

significant deference in determining what additional

information is required to satisfy statutorily imposed

obligations. Finally, we must recognize that delay in the

permitting process may be attributable to the applicant as well

as the government.

A brief synopsis of the application process demonstrates that

OSM did not cause any extraordinary delay in this case. EMI

applied for the permit at issue in October of 1984. In December

of 1984, OSM informed EMI that the application was missing

at least twenty-eight items of required administrative

information. In March of 1985, after EMI provided the required

information, OSM informed EMI that the application was

administratively complete. Subsequently, OSM began its

technical review of the application. In May of 1985, OSM

informed EMI that its application did not contain all of the

information necessary to complete the technical review. OSM

requested at least eighteen specific items of information

necessary to complete its technical review. Among other things,

OSM requested that EMI provide documentation demonstrating

that the mining operations (1) would not physically alter the

flow of the nearby Cane Creek, (2) would not chemically alter

the waters, (3) would not adversely impact the biological

ecosystem of Cane Creek, and (4) would not adversely affect

the aesthetic and environmental integrity of the nearby Fall

Creek Falls State Park ("State Park"). One month later, EMI

provided a letter response to the OSM request.

In September of 1985, OSM informed EMI that its letter

failed to include much of the information requested, and that

additional "considerable information" would be necessary. In

December of 1985, OSM informed EMI of at least twenty-nine

specific pieces of information necessary to establish the

environmental impact of mining on Cane Creek and the State

Park. EMI did not respond to the request, and instead, in

January of 1986, applied for SOAP funding. In July of 1986,

OSM denied the permit application based on its conclusion that

the mining operations would cause adverse impacts to the area

due to excessive noise and adverse hydrologic consequences.

~ 14a

EMI then appealed this decision to an ALJ. Throughout 1987,

the appeal progressed before the ALJ. In January of 1988, the

ALJ ordered OSM to provide another detailed TDL explaining

exactly what information was required. OSM issued the

additional TDL in February of 1988.

Again EMI did not respond to the request, and instead applied

for SOAP funding. During the next year, EMI failed to respond

to the February 1988 TDL. In May of-1988, OSM noted that

EMI had not yet responded to the TDL, and informed EMI that

its SOAP application was placed on hold due to the existence

of administrative violations attributable to Bernos. In July of ~

1989, Bernos paid the civil penalties owed on the administrative

violations. Over the next few months, SOAP funds were used

to hire an engineering firm to investigate the hydrology of the

area and prepare a geological report. In April of 1990, EMI

submitted the report to OMS. In July of 1990, OMS informed

EMI that the SOAP report was inadequate and did not address

all of the deficiencies in the application. Specifically, OSM

noted that "little useful data was collected from the phase 1

SOAP study" and informed EMI that additional testing would

be necessary to judge the full hydrological impact of mining

operations. In August of 1990, EMI chose not to extend its

leasehold interest in the Cane property. On February 28, 1991,

EMI's leasehold interest in the Cane property was terminated.

Prior to this date, the record does not support a finding that

there was "extraordinary" government delay. Indeed, the trial

court determined that the delay did not become extraordinary

until late 1990. E. Minerals, 36 Fed. Cl. at 548. The trial court

reasoned that after 1990, "OSM's policy was to stop [EMI's]

development without taking a final action." E. Minerals, 39

Fed. Cl. at 625. However, OSM's decision in July of 1990 to

require additional information does not constitute extraordinary

delay. As discussed above, we recognize that OSM has

considerable technical expertise in determining the level of

information necessary to provide an adequate hydrological

study. OSM determined that the phase 1 SOAP study provided

"very little useful hydrogeologic data" and that additional wells

and pumping tests would be required. As noted, we must afford

lSa

OSM significant deference in determining the extent of

information necessary for a complete hydrogeologic report.

Moreover, we also note that much of the delay through 199]

was caused by the failure of EMI to respond to OSM's requests

for information, and the appellate process before the ALJ.’

Finally, we observe that the trial court's finding of bad faith

delay on the part of OSM throughout the entire permitting

process is inadequately supported. For these reasons, we hold

F that the plaintiff failed to establish the requisite showing of

extraordinary government delay to constitute a temporary taking

prior to February 28, 1991. Any finding by the trial court to the

: contrary is clearly erroneous.

IV. CONCLUSION

Because EMI voluntarily relinquished its leasehold interest on

February 28, 1991, it may only assert a takings claim prior to

that date. There was no extraordinary government delay

sufficient to constitute a taking. Accordingly, we reverse the

judgment of the Court of Federal Claims, and dismiss the cross-

appeals as moot. In view of this conclusion, we need not

consider any of the other arguments submitted by the parties.

REVERSED. COSTS. Nocosts.

el elie ee fod

” We also note that some of the delay was due to EMI's pursuit

of SOAP funding. It is important to point out that SOAP funding is

not a guaranteed right in the permitting process. See 30 U.S.C. §

1257(c) (1994); 30 C.F.R. § 795 (2001). Applying for SOAP funding

is an elective process and does not guarantee that the permit --———

applicant will receive funding.

l6a

Appendix B —-—- Opinion and Order of the United States

Court of Federal Claims Dated and Filed October 2,

1996

EASTERN MINERALS INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs, v. UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Defendant.

No. 94-1098 L

UNITED STATES COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS

36 Fed. Cl. 541; 1996 U.S. Claims LEXIS 173; 43 ERC

(BNA)1655

October 2, 1996, Filed

COUNSEL: Raymond D. Battocchi and John R. Powell,

McLean, Virginia, for plaintiffs.

Marc A. Smith, United States Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C., for defendant.

JUDGES: Robert H. Hodges, Jr., Judge

OPINION: OPINION & ORDER, HODGES, Judge.

This case is before the court after trial on the merits. Plaintiffs

allege a taking of their property interests, and they seek just

compensation.

Facts

The Wyatts purchased property in eastern Tennessee in 1953.

In 1975, the Wyatts entered an installment contract to sell some

of the land to Milton Bernos, and they retained a royalty

interest. The parties later amended the contract to extend the

closing date and increase the Wyatt's royalty interest to 3.5% of

the gross sales price on all coal mined from the property. The

1975 contract was canceled in 1978.'

' The cancellation agreement provided that in exchange for the

principal payment of $175,000, the Wyatts conveyed 175,000 tons of

coal to Bernos.

17a

Congress enacted the Surface Mining Control and

Reclamation Act in 1977. SMCRA required states to develop

regulatory programs for mining or submit to a federal program.

It also established permitting requirements and prohibited

surface mining without a permit. Until 1982, Tennessee

administered the Act under federal provisions. In August 1982,

Tennessee received conditional approval of a permanent

regulatory program. In 1984, the Interior Department's Office of

Surface Mining assumed direct federal enforcement of

Tennessee's program.

Cane Company bought property from the Wyatts in 1979. The

Wyatts retained a 3.5% royalty interest. Cane leased the

property to Eastern Minerals International, a company that

Bernos formed in 1979. Eastern had the exclusive right to mine

coal on the property. The lease was to expire in February 1991,

but Eastern could extend the lease for four additional ten-year

terms. Colten Company and Van Buren Minerals had a similar

agreement. Van Buren is another company formed by Bernos in

1979,

; The Tennessee Department of Conservation, Division of

Surface Mining granted Eastern two one-year permits to disturb

33 acres of the Cane property to mine underground coal.

Eastern excavated a box cut on the property to mine in the

i Sewanee Seam, and it constructed a sediment pond, a backfill

area, and roads to and from the box cut. The last permit expired

in 1982.

SMCRA prohibits surface coal mining operations that will

adversely affect any publicly owned park, unless it is approved

by regulatory authorities. The Tennessee DSM made no explicit

finding of adverse effect. Defendant contends that the first two

Eastern permit applications were not subject to the adverse

effects provision. According to the Government, the provision

CAA Eat lth Maat ate Sal in saa tea ant ie WAC ves i it

* According to plaintiff, all of the properties purchased by Cane

and Colten were part of the property initially purchased by the Wyatts

and included in the property Bernos contracted to purchase in 1975.

Defendant contends that this fact is irrelevant.

18a

was included in Tennessee's 1982 conditionally approved plan.

Eastern applied to DSM for a third permit in 1982. DSM

denied the permit in 1984, and Eastern appealed to the

Tennessee Board of Reclamation Review. The Tennessee

Commissioner required Eastern to withdraw its application and

submit an administratively complete application. In 1984, the

Office of Surface Mining assumed federal enforcement of

Tennessee's program and set forth the standards applicable in

Tennessee. After that, Eastern submitted its permit application

to OSM rather than to DSM.

OSM denied Eastern's permit on July 2, 1986. Its reasons for

denial were excessive noise and probable hydrologic

consequences. Eastern appealed the permit denial. An

administrative law judge heard the appeal in June 1987. He

asked OSM to make findings concerning hydrologic and noise

impacts. OSM agreed to render a complete decision on adverse

effects including hydrological effect and noise.

Eastern's right to extend its lease expired on August 31, 1990.

Plaintiff did not extend the lease because it did not want to

incur additional rent liability. Eastern believed that OSM would

never grant the permit. Bernos and Eastern continued to pursue

the permit application because they hoped to negotiate a lease

extension with Cane. OSM denied Eastern's permit in April

1994 because Eastern had not provided certain information

requested in a technical deficiency letter.

Plaintiffs' Arguments

Plaintiffs argue that:

(1) They have suffered a categorical taking, relying on the

three-pronged test set forth in Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United

States, 28 F.3d 1171, 1179 (Fed. Cir. 1994). According to

plaintiffs, (a) the Government has denied them economically

viable use of their property; (b) they had distinct investment-

backed expectations; and (c) the character of the governmental

action rises to the level of a taking.

(2) Eastern and Van Buren lost their leases as a result of

OSM's refusal to grant Eastern Minerals a permit to mine, and

e Ret pes PACT REN As

:

Ra bali tec edn BAG ae sti

sida mene 28a

ve $e Lege

x

%

>

r

*

ra

os

:

;

3

19a

the Wyatts' 3.5% royalty interest was rendered worthless. A

taking occurred on or about August 31, 1990, when Eastern lost

its right to extend its lease, because of the Government's

extraordinary delay in rendering a decision on the permit

application.

(3) Bernos entered into a contract to buy property from the

Wyatts to profit from mining coal. Likewise, Eastern and Van

Buren entered into leases with Cane and Colten solely to make

a profit.

(4) The Wyatts purchased the subject property to arrange for

coal mining, and reserved a royalty interest when they

contracted with Bernos and Cane so that they could profit from

the coal mining operations.

(5) Plaintiffs’ expectations were reasonable at all times.

Before SMCRA, no federal permit requirements existed. After

SMCRA, expectations were reasonable because mining had

occurred on the property for many years and permits had been

granted. Plaintiffs’ investment of funds in reliance on the

permits was reasonable.

(6) Coal mining cannot be prohibited on the subject property

by Tennessee's common law nuisance doctrine because mining

occurred regularly from 1953 to 1981. Possible noise and

lowered water quality do not qualify as nuisances.

Defendant's Arguments

Defendant argues that:

(1) Plaintiff Bernos does not have standing because none of

the property interests allegedly taken was owned by Bernos on

the date of taking. Additionally, the permit application that

forms the basis for plaintiffs' claims was filed by Eastern

Minerals and not by Bernos. Even a sole shareholder does not

have standing to assert a claim in his own name for a wrong to

a corporation.

(2) Plaintiffs Mary Anne Wyatt, Nancy Wyatt Zorn, and

Wilson W. Wyatt, Jr. also have no standing to sue because they

did not acquire their interests in the subject property until after

20a

the alleged date of taking.

(3) Plaintiff Van Buren's claims are not ripe because it never

sought a mining permit from OSM.

(4) Plaintiff Eastern Mineral's claims are only partially ripe

because it applied for a permit to mine on only one of its five

tracts. Eastern's failure to apply for permits to mine the other

tracts renders takings claims regarding those tracts premature

and that only claims relating to the lands subsumed in the 1984

permit application are ripe. -

(5) Plaintiffs identify no final agency action on the alleged

date of taking that could trigger a right to just compensation.

Plaintiffs must base regulatory takings claims on final agency

action because a claim cannot be evaluated until the agency has

arrived at a definitive position regarding how to apply the

regulation at issue.

(6) Two final agency actions could form the basis of a takings

claim, but a claim based on either date must fail. Plaintiffs’

mining application was denied in July 1986 and in April 1994.

The 1986 claim is barred by the statute of limitations, and the

1994 claim deprives plaintiffs of standing because they no

longer owned the lease in 1994. Plaintiffs chose ne’*’_r date as

the basis of their claim, but argue that the takir sccurred in

1990.

(7) Delay cannot form the basis of a permanent takings claim.

(8) Plaintiffs have not shown economic impact, investment-

backed expectations, or that the character of governmental

action rises to the level of a taking. Because plaintiffs base their

economic impact argument on extraordinary delay, plaintiffs

can claim only a temporary taking. No case holds that delay can

result in a permanent taking.

(9) Alternatively, plaintiffs or factors beyond government

control caused any extraordinary delay.

(10) Plaintiffs’ interests had no value before the governmental

action; they have not suffered economic impact. The Cane

property had a negative value after applying the discount rate,

_

Ba aa eee MER Ee ee oe

2la

and the Colten property was worth only $270,000. The Wyatt's

royalty interest was worthless,

(11) Plaintiffs do not hold reasonable investment-backed

expectations because the Sewanee coal seam is highly variable

and unpredictable such that no one would have an expectation

of profitably mining the coal on the property. Plaintiffs should

have known that their mining would have adverse effects on the

neighboring state park, and that plaintiffs’ expectations should

have been informed by SMCRA, which was enacted two years

before plaintiffs obtained their interests.

(12) The character of governmental action weighs against

finding a taking because OSM sought to prevent a nuisance.

Plaintiffs’ activities threatened to cause substantial harm in the

community.

Discussion

I. Failure to State a Claim Upon Which Relief Can Be

Granted

A. Standing

Only the owner of property at the time of a taking is entitled

to compensation. Dow v. United States, 357 U.S. 17, 20, 2 L.

Ed. 2d 1109, 78S. Ct. 1039 (1958) (citation omitted). Plaintiff

Bernos is the sole shareholder of plaintiff corporations, but he

did not hold any personal interest in the leases at the time of the

taking. The lease agreements were entered into between Cane

Company and Eastern Minerals, and between Colten Company

and Van Buren Minerals.

Bernos does not have standing via his position as president

and sole shareholder of the companies. A shareholder does not

have standing to assert a claim in his own name for a wrong to

a corporation. Smith Setzer & Sons, Inc. v. South Carolina

Procurement Review Panel, 20 F.3d 1311, 1317 (4th Cir. ] 994)

(citation omitted). As this court recently noted:

“Individuals undertake to establish separate legal entities for

doing business to garner favorable consequences under

federal and state tax and corporatelaw. The voluntary legal

arrangements cannot be invoked for one purpose and

22a

disregarded for another. At least, no party has advocated a

principled reason for doing so. Nor can the property

transfers be deemed ministerial, matters of form, or

otherwise irrelevant to a takings analysis.”

Preseault v. United States, 27 Fed. Cl. 69, 88 n. 11 (1992).

Plaintiff Bernos does not have standing.

The Wyatt children acquired an interest in the subject

property in 1991, over a year after the alleged date of taking. As

they did not own an interest on the date of taking, the Wyatt

children do not have standing to sue here.

B. Ripeness

1. Eastern Minerals

Eastern's claim is based on five separate tracts of land, but it

submitted a permit application for only one tract. According to

defendant, this renders Eastern's claims as to the other four

tracts unripe.

In cases involving a legislatively-established application

process, the takings claim normally does not arise "until after

a permit has been sought and denied and the effect of the denial

results in economic detriment." Conant v. United States, 12 Cl.

Ct. 689, 691-92 (1987). Plaintiffs are not required toexhaust

such procedures if it would be futile to do so. Jd. at 693.

The futility exception serves "to protect property owners from

being required to submit multiple applications when the manner

in which the first application was rejected makes it clear that no

project will be approved." Southern Pacific v. Los Angeles, 922

F.2d 498, 504 (9th Cir. 1990), cert denied, 502 U.S. 943, 116 L.

Ed. 2d 333, 112 S. Ct. 382 (1991). Additional filings in this

case would have been wasteful until plaintiffs knew the

Government's position on the first application. Plaintiffs were

not required to file additional permit applications before the

Government had decided the merits of the first application.

Other proposals would have been denied by OSM. Various

federal and state offices were opposed to any mining on the

subject properties, and OSM's broad reading of the "adverse

23a

—

effects" provision made it unlikely that Eastern would obtain a

permit to mine any of the tracts.

Moreover, Eastern did not need permits for the other tracts.

Most of the Sewanee coal on the property could have been

reached from the single 33-acre surface mining operation

covered by the one permit application. Eastern's claim is ripe

for adjudication.

2. Van Buren

The Government asserts that Van Buren's claim is not ripe for

adjudication because it did not submit a separate permit

application. Plaintiffs argue that submitting a separate

application would have been futile because Van Buren would

have faced the same problems that Eastern encountered.

According to plaintiff, mining the Van Buren coal after the

Eastern tracts was the most profitable use of the land.

A!though Van Buren may have faced the same delay Eastern

endured, this is the sort of speculation that the ripeness doctrine

seeks to avoid. See Southern Pacific, 922 F.2d at 504. Each

plaintiff must satisfy the threshold requirement of a single

meaningful application to maintain the futility exception. Id.

We do not wish to read the meaningful proposal requirement so

narrowly as to allow legal technicalities to undermine common-

sense justice, but the Government was entitled to have

meaningful notice of Van Buren's potential interest. Van

Buren's claim is not ripe.

II. Necessity of Final Agency Action

The Government argues that a takings claim cannot be

evaluated until an agency has arrived at a final position

regarding how the regulation at issue will apply. See

Williamson County Regional Planning Com'n v. Hamilton Bank

of Johnson City, 473 U.S. 172, 190-91, 87 L. Ed. 2d 126, 105S.

Ct. 3108 (1985). Because plaintiffs identify two final agency

actions but base their claim on neither, the Government argues

that plaintiffs fail to state a claim. According to defendant, if

plaintiffs did base their claim on either final agency action, the

claim would be barred by the statute of limitations or by the

24a

principle that a plaintiff must own an interest in the property on

the date of the taking.

Plaintiffs base their takings claim on a theory of

extraordinary government delay that rendered their lease

interests valueless. The Government recognizes that courts have

found delay to be a basis for temporary takings, but never for a

7 - permanent taking. That no court has found a fact situation that

supports such a theory does not necessarily mean that the

concept does not exist. Were defendant's theory to prevail, the

Government could withhold action on a permit indefinitely and

avoid liability for a taking. The Government would have no

incentive to consider a permit application in a timely manner.

Plaintiffs’ 1984 permit application was not denied until 1994.

According to plaintiffs, government delay became extraordinary

in 1990. Extraordinary delay in the permit review process can

result in a permanent taking without the necessity of final

agency action. The delay becomes extraordinary at some point

and results in a constructive permit denial that supplants final

agency action. Plaintiffs have stated a claim upon which relief

can be granted.’

III. Regulatory Takings Merits-Analysis

The Federal Circuit has adopted a two-tiered approach to

analyzing takings claims. See M & J Coal Co. v. United States,

47 F.3d 1148, 1153-54, cert. denied, 133 L. Ed. 2d 18, 116 S.

Ct. 53 (1995). First, we must determine whether the proscribed

activity is a "stick" in plaintiffs’ bundle of property rights. /d. at

1154 (citing Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003, 1027, 120 L. Ed. 2d 798, 112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992)). If so,

we consider whether the Government has interfered with the

right such that it must pay compensation. Id. Considerations

relevant to the second tier include the economic impact of the

regulation, whether the regulation interfered with distinct

> Plaintiffs base their claim on extraordinary delay beginning in

1990 rather than the 1986 permit denial, so we need not address the

Government's statute of limitations argument. If the taking occurred

in 1990, the claim is not barred by the statute of limitations.

25a

investment-backed expectations, and the character of the

governmental action. Id. (citing Penn Central Transportation

Co. v. New York, 438 U.S. 104, 124, 57 L. Ed. 2d 631, 98S. Ct

2646 (1978)).

A. Property Rights

Property rights are determined by state and common law.

Store Safe Redlands Associates v. United States, 35 Fed. Cl

726, 1996 WL 325922 * 7 (Fed. Cl. 1996) (citing Lucas, 505

U.S. at 1030).

The Cane and Colten leases executed in 1979 gave Eastern

the right to remove "all coal and other minerals included in the

Landlord's Estates, whether or not now known to exist..."

According to Tennessee law, a lease conveying mineral rights

provides the lessee with a real property interest in the minerals.

See Bates v. Georgia Fertilizer Co., 144 Tenn. 32, 229 S.W.

153, 157 (Tenn. 1921); Stanton v. Herbert & Sons, 141 Tenn.

440, 211 SW. 353 (Tenn. 1919).

Tennessee recognizes that a royalty interest is "classified as

realty." J.M. Huber Corp. v. Square Enterprises Inc., 645

S.W.2d 410, 413 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1982). The right to receive a

royalty constitutes a real property interest in the mineral estate.

Id. Under Tennessee law, both Eastern Minerals and the Wyatts

owned property interests.

Citing Lucas, the Government argues that plaintiffs must first

establish that they had a compensable expectancy to be free of

the regulatory requirements imposed on mining in order to

establish a regulatory taking. According to defendant, SMCRA

and longstanding Federal and State regulations preclude the

possibility that the property interests could have entailed the

right to be free of regulatory control. This theory was rejected

in Store Safe.

Plaintiffs argue that neither SMCRA nor the pre-existing

State/Federal regulatory atmosphere had any impact on their

property interests. We agree. Mere awareness that Eastern's

permits could be affected by future regulations does not destroy

plaintiffs’ property interests. Plaintiffs who choose to do

Dian i ele a ce

26a

business in a heavily regulated industry do not forfeit all

property interests.

The reasonableness of plaintiffs’ investment backed

expectations relates to whether government regulation effected

a taking of their property interest rather than whether plaintiffs

owned acompensable property interest. Store Safe Redlands, 35

Fed. Cl. 726, 1996 WL 325922 *8.

B. Government Interference

1. Economic Impact

Plaintiffs argue that as a result of the Government's

extraordinary delay, their lease interests were rendered

valueless. Defendant contends that it is not responsible for

plaintiffs' voluntary relinquishment of their leases. Plaintiffs

could not be expected to have renewed the leases if they were

reasonably certain that necessary permits would not be granted.

Extraordinary government delay may result in a constructive

permit denial. Otherwise, the Government could delay action on

a permit indefinitely and the property owner would have no

recourse. Plaintiffs satisfy the economic impact prong where a

delay is truly extraordinary.

Eastern resubmitted its permit application to OSM in October

1984. In December, OSM informed Bernos that Eastern's permit

application was deficient. In March 1985, OSM told Eastern

that its application was administratively complete, but that a

permit would not be issued if the mining operation would

adversely affect the park.

OSM sent Eastern a technical deficiency letter in May 1985.

Eastern responded on June 25. An OSM official anticipated that

a permit would be issuéd by November 1, and he requested a

compliance review.

In December 1985, OSM asked for additional technical

information. Rather than responding formally, Eastern applied

to OSM for funds under the Small Operator Assistance

27a

Program.* Under that program, OSM conducts necessary

drilling and testing for small operators.

Several Tennessee agencies and one Federal agency expressed

concems regarding plaintiffs' proposed operations. An

employee's note to the file referenced state Opposition and lack

of additional technical information necessary to grant the

permit. OSM denied Eastern's permit on July 2, 1986. Eastern

appealed on July 30. An administrative law judge heard the

appeal in June 1987, and directed OSM to inform Eastern of

any additional information it needed to decide the permit

application. In February 1988, OSM issued a technical

deficiency letter. Plaintiffs reapplied for SOAP funds.

In 1988 and 1989, OSM suspended plaintiffs’ application for

SOAP funds several times. By late 1989, OSM lifted the

Suspension and began developing the SOAP project. SOAP

engaged a consulting group to conduct tests and prepare a report

for OSM.

The consulting group issued a preliminary report in December

1989. OSM rejected the report because it believed that the

report was flawed. OSM spent the next several years attempting

to develop specifications for a project that would produce the

hydrologic and geologic information needed for Eastern's

permit application.

- In October 1990, two months after plaintiffs’ right to extend

the leases expired, OSM determined that it was necessary to

conduct a fracture analysis on plaintiffs' property, and it

received a bid for the work. A final report on the fracture

analysis was submitted to OSM in February 1992, but OSM did

not accept the results of this test. A year and a half later, OSM

sent Eastern a third technical deficiency letter.

In 1991, the parties filed a joint request with the

* The Government argued that plaintiffs were not eligible for SOAP

funds because they planned to mine more than the maximum allowed.

If plaintiffs had mined more than the maximum amount, the only

sanction would have been reimbursement of the SOAP funds.

28a

Administrative Law Judge for a consent decision. The motion

noted that "the permit denial of July 2, 1986 has been

effectively withdrawn . . . all that remains is OSM's review of

EMC Permit Application. . . ." The administrative law judge

issued a consent decision incorporating the motion. At the time,

OSM was still reviewing the Eastern application that it received

in 1984.

Plaintiffs’ right to extend the leases expired on August 31,

1990. Plaintiffs did not extend the lease because they did not

want to incur rent liability; it seemed to them that OSM would

never grant the permit. After their nght to extend the lease

expired, Bernos and Eastern continued to pursue-the permit

application in hope that they could negotiate a new lease with

Cane. In April 1994, OSM denied Eastern's permit because it

had not provided the information requested in the third

technical deficiency letter.

The Government delayed consideration of plaintiffs’ permit

application for an extraordinary length of time. Plaintiffs

relinquished their lease interests because they believed the

permits would never be granted and could not afford to incur

rent liability in the mere hope that the Government would act.

We determined at trial that the Government had no intention of

ever granting the permit. The fact that the leases were

relinquished voluntarily may affect our calculation of just

compensation, but it does not deprive plaintiffs of the necessary

showing of economic impact.

2. Investment-Backed Expectations

Plaintiffs must show that they took an interest in the property

"in reliance on a state of affairs that did not include the

challenged regulatory regime." Loveladies, 28 F.3d at 1177.

One who obtains an interest in property with knowledge of a

restraint does not have a reliance interest and has assumed the

risk of economic loss. Jd.

Plaintiffs obtained the leases in 1979, two years after SMCRA

was enacted. They obtained two permits during the interim

29a

phase of SMCRA in 1980 and 1981.5 The Government argues

that the provision that prohibits any adverse effects on public

parks did not apply when those permits were issued, but that

plaintiffs should have known that the provision eventually

would be enforced. Thus, they are deprived of investment-

backed expectations.

The adverse effects provision was enforced during the interim

phase of SMCRA. See Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining &

Reclamation Ass'n Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 69 L. Ed. 2d 1, 1018. Ct.

2352 (1981). In Hodel, the Court noted that provisions of

SMCRA, including the adverse effects provision, are effective

during the interim period on their own terms. Jd. at 269 & n.2.

Tennessee's 1982 conditionally approved permanent

regulatory program expanded the definition of adverse effect.

Plaintiffs' permit was denied in 1986 after the Office of Surface

Mining assumed direct federal enforcement of Tennessee's

program. Plaintiffs leased the property in reliance on a state of

affairs that did not include the definition of adverse effect that

formed the basis of the permit denial. Plaintiffs reasonably

relied on the two permits they received under SMCRA when

they invested in the property.

Defendant argues that the Sewanee coal seam is so highly

variable and unpredictable that plaintiffs’ expectation of profit

was unreasonable. At the same time, it emphasizes that Wyatt

sold the Cane property for more than $5 million and that Bernos

sold his mineral interest in the Colten property for $ 2.5 million.

We assume that these market prices accurately reflect value.

Evidence at trial showed that plaintiffs were not unreasonable

in expecting that the subject land contained coal and that coal

exploration would be profitable. Plaintiffs' investment in the

box cut and other activities with the expectation of gaining

* SMCRA was implemented in an interim and a permanent phase.

The interim program mandated enforcement of only some of the Act's

provisions whereas during the permanent phase, a regulatory program

mandating compliance with all of the federal standards was adopted for

each state.

30a

profit was reasonable.

3. Character of Governmental Action

This prong of the regulatory takings analysis addresses the

degree and result of a regulation. Plaintiffs must show that "the

government action went beyond the type of government land-

use regulation that is a cost all citizens must pay for living in

organized society." Bowles v. United States, 23 Cl. Ct. 443,

446-47 (1991) (citing Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260

U.S. 393, 413, 415-16, 67 L. Ed. 322, 43 S. Ct. 158 (1922)).

This inquiry:

“examines the challenged restraint under the lens of state

nuisance law. If the regulation prevents what would or

legally could have been a nuisance, then no taking occurred.

The state merely acted to protect the public under its

inherent police powers.”

Creppel v. United States, 41 F.3d 627, 631 (Fed. Cir. 1994).

To show that plaintiffs’ planned activities are prohibited under

the state's common law nuisance doctrine, the Government

must "identify background principles of nuisance and property

law that prohibit the uses [the landowner] now intends in the

circumstances in which the property is presently found." Lucas,

505 U.S. at 1031.

A per se nuisance is one in which the injury is certain rather

than speculative. State v. Feezell, 218 Tenn. 17, 400 S.W.2d

716, 719 (1966). "Where injury from a nuisance is not real and

immediate and certain to occur, but only uncertain or

contingent, the nuisance will not be enjoined anticipatory to its

going into operation.” Id. Coal mining is not a per se nuisance,

and the Government did not show that injury to property from

plaintiffs’ activities was certain.

Coal has been mined on the Wyatt's property since at least

1954. "The fact that a particular use has long been engaged in

by similarly situated owners ordinarily imports a lack of any

common-law prohibition." Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1031.

- Coal mining may constitute a nuisance in certain

3la

circumstances, but the Government presented no convincing

evidence that plaintiffs’ proposed activities would constitute a

nuisance. Defendant argues that OSM prevented the proposed

mining operation from causing "nuisance-like" impacts upon a

nearby state park from water pollution and noise. According to

defendant, plaintiffs’ mining operation threatened to cause

substantial harm in the community and to endanger public

health and safety. It cites various statutes that identify pollution

and noise as nuisances under Tennessee law. In fact, neither the

noise nor the hydrology concerns that OSM raised constituted ‘

a nuisance.

Tennessee granted permits to mine in 1980 and 1981. The

State was not concerned with potential nuisance problems.

Plaintiffs' 1984 permit was denied on the basis of "adverse

effects." These adverse effects never were proven and cannot

form the basis for a nuisance exception to takings law.

Conclusion

The claims of plaintiffs Bernos, Van Buren Minerals, Mary

Anne Wyatt, Nancy Wyatt Zorn, and Wilson W. Wyatt, Jr., are

dismissed for the reasons stated. The property interests of

plaintiffs Eastern Minerals International, Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.,

and Anne D. Wyatt were rendered valueless through

extraordinary delay by the United States in acting on their

permit requests. The parties will agree on an appropriate

valuation for the property taken and notify the court no later

than November 1. We are available at any time to assist counsel

in determining damages if necessary.

Robert H. Hodges, Jr. Judge

32a

Appendix C ~—— Opinion and Order of the United States

Court of Federal Claims Dated and Filed November

25, 1997

EASTERN MINERALS INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs, v UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Defendant.

No. 94-1098 L

UNITED STATES COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS

39 Fed. Cl. 621; 1997 U.S. Claims LEXIS 271; 140 Oil &

GasRep. 59

November 25, 1997, Filed

COUNSEL: Raymond D. Battocchi, John R. Powell, McLean,

Virginia, for plaintiffs.

Marc A. Smith, United States Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C., for defendant.

OPINIONBY: Robert H. Hodges, Jr.

OPINION: OPINION & ORDER, HODGES, Judge.

This case involves a taking by the United States of plaintiffs’

right to mine coal in Tennessee. After plaintiffs made

substantial investments in a mineral lease and in preparing the

land, the Government destroyed the fruits of those investments

by purposely delaying action on plaintiffs' application until after

their lease expired. The United States took plaintiffs’ right to

mine coal and their night to renew the mining lease.

We dismissed the claims of plaintiffs Milton Bernos Sr., Van

Buren Minerals, Mary Ann Wyatt, Nancy Wyatt Zorn, and

Wilson W. Wyatt, Jr. See Eastern Minerals International, Inc.

v. United States, 36 Fed. Cl. 54] (1996). Van Buren's claim is

not ripe for adjudication, so the value of the coal seams on the

Colten property is not included in our damages valuation. Jd.

at 548. We enter judgment for plaintiffs Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.,

Anne D. Wyatt, and Eastern Minerals International, Inc.

33a

Facts

Cane Tennessee, Inc. bought the property at issue from

Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr., and Anne D. Wyatt in 1979. The Wyatts

retained a 3.5% mineral royalty interest. Cane leased the

property in 1979 to Eastern Minerals International, Inc., a

company formed by Milton Bernos, Jr. Eastern had the

exclusive right to mine coal on the property. The lease was to

expire in February 1991, but Eastern had the right to extend the

lease for four additional ten-year terms. The right to extend the

lease expired in August 1990.

The Tennessee Department of Conservation, Division of

Surface Mining, granted Eastern two one-year permits in 1980

and 1981 to disturb 33 acres of the Cane property to mine the

Sewanee seam. Eastern excavated a box cut on the property and -

constructed a sediment pond, a backfill area, and roads to and

from the box cut.

Eastern applied for a third permit in 1982, and Tennessee

denied the permit in May 1984. Pursuant to a consent order

before the Tennessee Board of Reclamation Review, Eastern

withdrew its application. The United States Office of Surface

Mining (OSM) assumed federal enforcement of Tennessee's

program in late 1984. Eastern then submitted its permit

application to OSM rather than to the state agency.

OSM's standard practice was to respond promptly when it

received a permit application. The first step in the application

review process was to determine whether the applications were

administratively complete. Most applications contained errors,

so OSM dealt with deficiencies on a regular basis. Despite this

practice, OSM required six months to determine that Eastern's

application was administratively complete.

OSM sent two technical deficiency letters to Eastern in 1985.

In response, Eastern applied to OSM for monetary assistance in

obtaining the required information. The application for

assistance was placed on hold because OSM was planning to

deny the permit.

OSM denied Eastern's permit in July 1986, ostensibly because

34a

the noise of the mine could have an adverse impact on a nearby

state park. This was Tennessee's concern, not OSM's. Eastern

appealed the permit denial. The administrative law judge who

heard the appeal in June 1987 was not impressed by OSM's

noise allegations. OSM raised hydrological concerns in the

permit denial letter, but lacked data to support them. Because

the judge did not want to resolve the case "piecemeal," he asked

OSM to make findings concerning the alleged hydrological

impacts. He directed OSM to inform plaintiffs promptly what

hydrological information it needed. OSM consumed four years

pursuing that information.

Eastern's right to extend its lease expired on August 31, 1990.

It did not extend the lease because it believed that OSM would

never grant the permit. In fact, OSM never would have granted

the permit. The Government would not have approved the coal

mine because Tennessee did not want it near a state park.

Unreasonable Delay in Denial

The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency expressed

opposition to the Eastern Minerals permit in 1984.' The State

felt that the mine would have adverse impacts on Fall Creek

Falls State Park and on the recreation, hunting, and fishing

experiences of visitors to the park. Because the State had joint

reviewing authority for the permit under the applicable

regulations, Eastern's permit would not be granted if the State

objected.’

' "Because the [Department of Conservation] is concerned with

maintaining the aesthetic and environmental integrity of the Park . .

. we would recommend that mining regulatory authorities (DSM or

OSM) deny any request to mine this site."; See also Defendant's

Exhibit 194 ("Our [Tennessee's] position remains that the permit be

denied.")

2 The State's opposition continued throughout the permit

application process. The Commissioner of the Tennessee Department

of Conservation wrote Mr. Bernos in 1989, pointing out that the

department had opposed Eastern's permit in writing five separate

(continued...)

35a

Eastern sought aid from OSM in obtaining the information

that the agency was requiring. The Small Operator Assistance

Program (SOAP) was available to provide such assistance.

Before the SOAP program could begin studies to provide the

necessary hydrological information, the SOAP application was

placed on hold and then denied when OSM denied Eastern's

permit in 1986. The permit was denied before SOAP studies

could be commissioned to provide information. OSM's standard

practice was to make a technical decision only after it had

received all the information it needed.

An internal OSM memorandum dated July 1985 states that

because OSM did not have a strong defense to points raised by

Eastern in its response to a technical deficiency letter, OSM

“would have to hang [its'] hat[] elsewhere."? OSM denied

Eastern's application in 1986, for adverse noise impact on Fall

Creek Falls State Park. An administrative law judge ruled that

the 1986 denial of the permit was premature because OSM did

not have all the information necessary regarding the

hydrological impact question. OSM requested additional

information from Eastern to supplement the hydrological

impact information.

After appeal of the permit denial, the SOAP process began

again. In May 1988, an OSM attomey placed the SOAP

application on hold because of an outstanding reclamation order

on the Eastern box cut. This reclamation order and an

accompanying cessation order had been issued in 1986 when

the permit was denied by OSM. Despite the appeal before the

Office of Hearings and Appeals, OSM used the reclamation

order as a reason for delaying the SOAP application. In

September 1988, the SOAP study was placed on hold, this time

_+..continued)

times. Despite the studies being conducted, the Commissioner

concluded by stating that "the department must continue its stated

Opposition to any proposed Mining in this area.”

* In other words, in order to stop this project, OSM would have

to find another basis for denying the permit.

36a

to determine if the study would be worth the expense. The

SOAP study was placed on hold yet again in May 1989 due to

another outstanding reclamation order. The issues were resolved

and the SOAP process resumed.

SOAP personnel and OSM permitting personnel collaborated

to determine what studies were necessary to satisfy the

hydrological impact question. Despite close coordination

between the two, the Permitting Division said that it was not

satisfied with SOAP's report. In late summer 1990, OSM

rejected the SOAP report and laid out a new multi-phase

approach to the collection of SOAP data.

OSM concluded that further studies should be undertaken

because the first SOAP study had not been conclusive as to

hydrological impact. An internal memorandum outlined plans

for further testing: "If, after collection of Phase II and Phase III

data, no impact to the hydrologic balance can be documented,

additional [testing] wells should be installed . . . ." OSM's

policy was to stop Eastern's development without taking a final

action that plaintiff could appeal. OSM abandoned the original

approach in favor of an eight-step approach outlined in the

internal memorandum cited above. Before any steps could be

taken to implement the new approach, still another approach

was developed requiring a lineament study. OSM requested

further studies and created further delays. These requests

continwed until the permit was finally denied in 1994. By then,

Eastern had lost its lease.

Wav of Attrition

The Government waged a war of attrition against Eastern.

Eastern could not afford to retain an expensive leasehold when

it knew that state and federal authorities would never renew its

permit. The Fifth Amendment does not permit the Government

to avoid liability for a taking merely because it has the resources

* The lineament study was designed to produce a map and report

detailing linear surface features on the Colten property in order to

estimate underground formations and groundwater conduits. The

study was completed in 1991.

37a

to outlast a property owner. Equity is the compelling force

driving just compensation under the Fifth Amendment. As

defendant noted in its brief, the search for fairness and justice

guides regulatory takings.

The Constitution is "intended to preserve practical and

substantial rights, not to maintain theories." U.S. v. Dickinson,

331 U.S. 745, 748, 91 L. Ed. 1789, 678. Ct. 1382 (1947) (citing

Davis v. Mills, 194 U.S. 451, 457, 48 L. Ed. 1067, 24S. Ct. 692

(1904)). The Fifth Amendment "expresses a principle of

fairness and not a technical rule of procedure .. . ." Pleasant

Country Ltd. v. United States, 37 Fed. Cl. 321, 328 (Fed. Cl.

1997) (citing United States v. Dickinson, 331 U.S. 745, 748, 91

L. Ed. 1789, 67 S. Ct. 1382 (1947)). "The constitutional

requirement of just compensation derives as much content from

the basic equitable principles of fairness * * * as * * * [it] does

from technical concepts of property law." Georgia-Pacific

Corporation v. United States, 226 Ct. Cl. 95, 640 F.2d 328, 336

(Ct. Cl. 1980) (citing United States v. Fuller, 409 U.S. 488, 490,

35 L. Ed. 2d 16, 93 S. Ct. 801 (1973)). "The word ‘just’ in the

Fifth Amendment evokes ideas of 'fairness' and ‘equity,’...."

United States v. Commodities Trading Corp. 339 U.S. 121, 124,

94 L. Ed. 707, 70 S. Ct. 547 (1950).

At trial it was clear that OSM, based in large part on

Tennessee's opposition, had no intention of allowing mining

next to the park. The testing conducted after the administrative

law judge's decision was not going to satisfy the Tennessee

Wildlife Resources Agency that the mine was not a danger to

the scenic and ecological resources of the park. When the

Permitting Division requested even more testing and proposed

a new multi-phased approach, the delay became unreasonable.

The Permitting Division knew that Tennessee opposed the

mine, and further delay in making the decision was unnecessary

and unjustifiable.

The Government requisitioned Eastern's right to mine the

Cane property and its right to renew the lease. Both are property

interests for which Eastern is entitled to just compensation.

SE

38a

Just Compensation

The Government denied Eastern's permit because of the

State's concerns that the proposed activities would have adverse

effects on a public park. Plaintiffs are not required to bear the

burden of this public benefit.

The standard measure of just compensation in a permanent

taking situation is the value of the property on the date of the

taking. First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. Los

Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 320, 96 L. Ed. 2d 250, 107 S. Ct. 2378

(1987). Courts should not "reduce the concept of ‘just

compensation’ to a formula," or "make a fetish even of market

value, since it may not be the best measure of value in some

cases." United States v. Cors, 337 U.S. 325, 332, 93 L. Ed.

1392, 69S. Ct. 1086 (1949). "Both fairness and equity must be

considered in awarding compensation .. . ." Yaist v. United

States, 17 Cl. Ct. 246, 257 (1989).

The loss of a contractual right to renew a lease is considered

to be a taking of property for Fifth Amendment purposes.

United States v. Petty Motor Co., 327 U.S. 372, 90 L. Ed. 729,

66 S. Ct. 596 (1946). In a World War II condemnation action,

the Supreme Court stated that the value of a tenant's leasehold

interest included a contractual right to renew the lease. /d. at

381. The Government condemned the building in 1942 for a

three year period, with the option to terminate possession in

June 1943 and June 1945. Jd. at 374. Plaintiff Petty Motors

Company's lease expired in October 1943, with an option to

extend for an additional year. Jd. at 375. The Court did not

require the plaintiff to exercise the option in the hopes that the

Government would terminate possession before 1945. Instead,

it stated that Petty Motors' damages would be the term of the

original lease plus the one year renewal term. /d. at 381.

The Government prevented Eastern both from obtaining the

benefit of its leasehold interest and from renewing its lease. If

a permit had been granted before August 1990, Eastern would

have extended the lease for as long as necessary to mine all the

merchantable coal in the ground.

a

The traditional method of determining just compensation is to

39a

use comparable sales to arrive at fair market value. Whitney

Benefits v. United States, 18 Cl. Ct. 394, 408 (1989). When

comparable sales data are unavailable, a cash flow analysis is an

acceptable alternative. Id. The Claims Court in Whitney noted

that the value of coal reserves "can only be measured by their

ability to produce income." /d. at 409. Both parties’ experts

agree that a discounted cash flow analysis is the best

approximation of the value of the property. This method

produces a value for property based on the income stream the

property will produce. A discount rate is applied to the income

stream in order to produce a present value for the property as of

the date of the taking. The discount rate represents the rate of

return an investor would require in order to risk Capital on the

project. The rate is a combination of the time value of money

and the risk involved in the transaction..°

Expert Reports

Experts for plaintiffs and defendant presented their

evaluations of the value of the Cane leasehold held by Eastern,

and the royalty interest retained by the Wyatts. Plaintiffs’

experts produced a fair market value for the Eastern-Cane lease

in 1990 of $31,359,822. The fair market value of the Wyatts'

3.5% royalty interest was $5,887,611.Discount rates normally

include a factor for inflation. Both experts used constant dollars

in their analysis, so no inflation factor is included in our

discount rate.’ The Government's experts concluded that the

underground minable coal on the Cane property was worth

negative $9.7 million, and the surface minable coal as negative

$945,000. They valued the Wyatt's royalty interest at $0.

* Discount rates normally include a factor for inflation. Both

experts used constant dollars in their analysis, so no inflation factor

is included in our discount rate.

* Plaintiffs’ valuation has been reduced because of a stipulated

interpretation of the Cane- Eastern lease. Eastern Minerals is

responsible for paying the Wyatt's royalty interest under the

stipulation, reducing the fair market value of the lease to

$26,346,299. The Wyatt's interest remains at $5,887,611.

i

ET eee On

40a

The Government's experts were not persuasive for the most

part. The testimony and conclusions of one expert clearly were

designed to mesh with the Government's legal theories. His

refusal to acknowledge input from counsel in reaching his

conclusions was not credible.’ An expert should not be an

advocate. The Government's other expert estimated capital costs

based on a purchase of real estate at three times the current fair

market value. Plaintiffs' expert testimony generally was more

credible.®

Coal Reserves

Plaintiffs’ experts estimated the minable coal reserves in the

Sewanee seam on the Cane property to be 16,673,629 tons. The

Government's experts estimated 20,693,000 tons. Although the

two approaches differed a great deal in methodology, the results

were fairly consistent. The isopach method used by plaintiffs’

experts traces and recognizes trends in the coal seam by

providing a weighted average of thickness. This method is

accepted in the field for coal reserve evaluations.

The Government's experts also analyzed the reserves

according to the isopach method. They prepared an isopach map

of the Sewanee seam, but it was destroyed before trial. That

map would have been favorable to plaintiffs’ case.

The government expert switched to the unweighted average

method for use at trial. This method estimated greater resources

than the isopach method, but it assumed a greater variability in

? The Government moved to reconsider these conclusions

because (it argued) they are not supported by the record. A trial court

has broad discretion to assess credibility because testimony may be

judged on demeanor and bearing of witnesses during trial; such

determinations and inferences often are not conveyed by words in a

transcript.

* Defendant notes in its motion for reconsideration that the court

accepted the Government's expert testimony concerning discount rate

and other factors. It asserts that we must believe all of a government

expert's testimony if we accept any of it. We are not aware of any

principle that requires such a result.

~

4la

the thickness of the coal seam. This led defendant to the

conclusion that huge quantities of rock would have had to be

mined to recover an adequate amount of coal. This would have

meant higher production costs and loss of efficiency by the

mining teams. The plaintiffs’ estimation of coal reserves and the

variability in the Sewanee seam was more credible, especially

in light of defendant's actions regarding the destroyed map.

Extraction Rate

The Cane-Eastern Minerals lease requires that, "in connection

with any mining activity of Tenant [Eastern], other than strip-

mining, Tenant shall take all action necessary to support the

surface of the land." Eastern therefore had a duty to prevent

subsidence of the Cane property through its operations. Both

parties’ experts agree that a 50% removal rate would prevent

subsidence. For all areas except those under Cane Creek, we

employed a 50% removal rate. The experts do not agree that

Eastern could have mined under Cane Creek. Defendant's

expert projected no mining at all under and within 100 feet of

the creek because he expected to encounter poor roof conditions

and water problems. Plaintiffs assumed a 45% recovery rate for

the reserves located under Cane Creek. The 45% recovery rate

is consistent with both experts’ opinions of surface integrity. We

used the 45% rate for areas under and within 100 feet of Cane

Creek.

The 50% recovery rate is applied to a total available reserve

of 15,916,461, producing 7,958,230 recoverable tons. The 45%

recovery rate applies to a total reserve of 757,168, producing

340,724 tons of raw coal. This results in 8,298,954 recoverable

tons from the Cane property. We did not include the Sewanee

seam coal located near Brock Ridge because plaintiffs indicated

that such reserves were inferred. Inferred reserves means that

the geologist has a low level of confidence in finding the

reserves as marked on the isopach map. This low level of

confidence, combined with the lack of a mine plan for that area

led us to exclude those reserves from plaintiffs’ estimate.

The profitability of the operation and the life of the mine

depend on the price set for coal, the discount rate to be applied,

42a

the productivity of the miners, and the capital costs. These

factors are addressed below.

Coal Price

The experts presented an approximation of the price for coal

over the life of the mine. Plaintiffs used the average spot price

of coal at the Widow's Creek power plant for the years 1989 and

1990 to reach an estimate over the life of the mine. Their expert

testified that the spot price was more susceptible to changes in

supply and demand than were long-term contract prices.

However, he felt that the spot prices for 1990 were a better

indicator of coal price than the long-term contract prices. The

average long-term contract price would contain prices from

contracts entered long before 1990 and therefore would not be

as indicative of coal value in 1990.

A government expert performed a historical and geographic

analysis of coal prices in the United States as well as in

Tennessee. He compared prices of the various available

consumers of Eastern's coal. Based on the quality of the coal, he

assumed that 90% of Eastern's production would be lower-price

utility coal and 10% would be higher price stoker coal. His -

long-term sales contract estimate for utility coal was $31.00 per

ton free on board (FOB) shipping point. Long-term contracts for

higher-quality stoker coal would bring $34.00 per ton FOB

shipping point, according to defendant.

Plaintiffs’ experts were more persuasive on this point. The

best estimate of the value of the coal in 1990 is the average spot

price in 1990. Plaintiffs utilized that price across the life of the

mine, in essence transforming it into a long-term price for the

coal. Plaintiffs' converted long-term contract price for 1990 was

$35.19 per ton FOB shipping point. This price provides a better

estimate of coal prices in 1990.

Discount Rate

In preparing a cash flow analysis, a discount rate is employed

to take account of risk and to convert the future income stream -

to present value. Plaintiffs used a 10% discount rate based in

part on a Bureau of Land Management (BLM) circular

43a

published in 1986 for the appraisal of federal coal property. The

BLM publication advises that the 10% discount rate assumes a

normal debt-equity mix in the capital required for the project.

The publication advises against adjusting the discount rate to

account for risk because the selection of a risk premium for this

purpose is highly subjective. Instead, it provides four

alternatives to account for the uncertainty: (1) probability

weighted scenarios; (2) Sensitivity analysis of input; (3)

discount value based on subjective criteria linked to likelihood

of property development; (4) timing development variation.

Plaintiffs’ expert did not utilize any of these methods to

account for uncertainties in property development. He testified

that a basis for his ten percent figure was a report in another

case before this court, Whitney Benefits v. United States, 18 Cl.

Ct. 394 (1989). That report incorporated a sensitivity analysis

that imposed an additional risk factor on the cash flow. He did

not perform such a risk analysis for this case. The risk analysis

in Whitney Benefits was used to account for the risk inherent in

that project because the project required the plaintiff to change

the course of a river.

Plaintiffs’ ten percent rate is consistent with the BLM

standard. There are two problems with this figure, however.

While they claimed to have taken account of risk in applying

the ten percent rate, neither the expert's report nor his testimony

give any indication of the manner in which the ten percent

discount rate approximates the risk of an undeveloped property.

He stated that he uses the ten percent rate in 89% of his cases,

but did not explain the circumstances under which he normally

applies that rate.

Defendant's expert chose a fifteen percent discount rate for his

cash flow analysis. He stated that applying a fifteen to twenty

percent rate to undeveloped properties is standard in the field.

He also stated that ten percent would be appropriate for a

developed property. Because the Cane property was essentially

undeveloped, the higher discount rate would apply. His rate

took into account extensive exploration of the property, nearby

productive mines in the same seam, and quality of the Sewanee

coal. This figure is supported by adequate explanation and will

44a

be used in discounting the income stream of the Cane property.

We could not determine how the Government arrived at the

discount factors listed at the bottom of Table III of its expert

report. We applied the formula for present value:

PV = Cash Flow/(1 + discount rate)<time>

This formula did not reproduce the Government's figures. A

standard annuity table using a 15% rate of return matched the

figures reached with the above formula.” We substituted the

annuity table figures for the discount factors in defendant's

report.

Production

The productivity of the mine and the amount of clean coal

produced affect the income stream. Both experts presented rates

of productivity of clean, marketable coal. Plaintiffs\expert had

experience in assessing coal properties along the Appalachian

corridor. Defendant's expert also had experience in Appalachian

coal. We accepted plaintiffs’ estimation of the productivity of

the coal mining sections and the estimation of the capital

resources (shuttle cars, continuous miners, roof bolters, and belt

feeders) necessary to achieve that level of production because

his explanation for the estimates was more credible.

The Government's plan called for building a washing facility

prior to the start of production. This plan created a two-year

delay in the start of mining and required huge capital

expenditures prior to revenue production. The Government's

expert included in this portion of the plan the purchase of

property for the washing plant at three times the fair market

* CHARLES H. GUSHEE, ed., FINANCIAL COMPOUND

INTEREST AND ANNUITY TABLES 734 (Sth ed. 1972). The

discount figures for the nine year life of the mine are as follows:

Year | - .869 Year 6 - .432

Year 2 - .756 Year 7 - .375

Year 3 - .657 Year 8 - .326

Year 4 - .571 Year 9 - .284

Year 5 - .497 .

45a

value.

Plaintiffs' expert assumed that Eastern would wash its coal at

the nearby Tennessee Consolidated coal-washing plant. We

determined that Tennessee Consolidated had excess Capawity at

its washing plant, and that plaintiffs’ assumptions were entirely

reasonable. The Government's experts created delay and

unnecessary capital expenditures by planning for the

construction of a new coal-washing plant. Even if coal-washing

at Tennessee Consolidated were to become impractical at some

point during the life of the mine, the delay and capital required

would be spread over a period when the mine was already in

production. Plaintiffs' estimates of clean coal production from

the washing facility was more reasonable and credible.

The construction of a coal-washing plant would cause a two-

year delay in coal production. In a discounted cash flow

analysis, the income stream in the first few years is worth more

than in later years. This is because-money earned in the future

is worth less than money earned in the present or immediate

future. The discount rate accounts for risk but also for the time

value of money, so that a dollar earned in the first year of the

mine has a higher present value than a dollar earned in the

eighth year of the mine. In defendant's plan, the most profitable

years in the analysis are consumed by large capital outlays and

no revenue income. Plaintiffs proposed to usean existing,

nearby coal-washing facility. This was a reasonable assumption

that allowed them to move into production in the first year of

the mine.

Capital Costs

The parties' experts did not agree on how to treat the capital

required to mine the Sewanee seam. Plaintiffs amortized the

capital over the life of the mine. The Government expensed

capital costs in the year incurred, greatly reducing the cash flow

in the initial years when 1990 dollars were worth the most.

The Department of the Interior circular that plaintiffs relied

upon, expensed capital costs in the year they are incurred. The

Claims Court in the Whitney Benetits case, relying on the same

circular, also expensed capita} swste in the year they were

46a

incurred. Whitney Benefits, 18 Cl. Ct. at 417. Plaintiffs relied

on both the circular and Whitney Benefits in its cash flow

analysis. Because plaintiffs provided no rational explanation for

its departure from the method used in these two sources, we

expensed capital costs in the year incurred.

Plaintiffs' expert provided an annual breakdown of capital

costs, but did not use the breakdown because it had amortized

the capital expenses over the life of the mine. The Government

expert did expense capital costs in the year incurred, so we will

utilize that breakdown in estimating capital costs and in

expensing capital costs in the year incurred. The figures in

defendant's tables are adjusted to avoid the need for a coal-

washing plant and related equipment.'®

'° We found at trial that plaintiffs were reasonable in assuming

that coal could be washed at the Tennessee Consolidated facility.

Plaintiffs' estimates of necessary equipment were more reasonable

than the Government's. Defendant and plaintiffs included the

excavation and use of a second box cut to reach the mine face later

in the life of the mine. Plaintiffs' cost estimate for the second project _

was not reasonable. We included defendant's estimated capital costs

for the second box cut. We removed from defendant's breakdown of

capital costs (Appendix 3, Micon Report) the following capital

required for the preparation plant and for the belt feeders that we

found not to be necessary:

1989: 1) land acquisition ($50,000)

1990: 1) land acquisition ($150,000)

2) coarse refuse site ($181,000)

3) fine refuse slurry dam ($475,000)

4) prep plant site grading ($72,000)

5) prep plant construction ($2,400,000)

6) plant sub station ($75,000)

7) plant office ($35,000)

8) refuse conveyor ($125,000)

9) belt feeder ($150,000)

1991: 1) plant feed dozer ($265,000)

2) D7H for refuse ($260,000)

3) belt feeder ($150,000)

1997: 1) belt feeder ($150,00)

(continued...)

47a

Wyatts' Royalty Interest

The Wyatts' royalty interest is described in the Cane lease as

three and one-half percent of gross sales price. The lease defines

gross sales price as "an amount equal to the total gross proceeds

payable to Grantee. . . from the sale of coal mined and removed

... FOB railroad car . . . and FOB truck." As noted above, we

accept plaintiffs’ long term price for the Sewanee coal as of

1990. We also accept plaintiffs' price per ton of $31.91 in their

revised Table 3 for calculation of the Wyatts' interest.

Defendant argued both at trial and for reconsideration that the

Wyatt's royalty income in this analysis should be reduced by the

applicable tax rate. The lump sum payment to the Wyatts is in

(...continued)

1998: 1) belt feeder ($150,000)

We also made adjustments to Appendix 3 to defendant's expert

report to reflect the investment required for continuous miners and

roof bolters under plaintiffs' mine plan. The following amounts were

substituted in the years indicated as the Capital requirements for

underground equipment:

1990: Continuous miners (2) - $1,850,000

Shuttle cars (4) - $651,000

Roof bolters (4) - $651,000

1991: Continuous miners, roof bolters, and shuttle cars should be $0

because all initial equipment was purchased in 1990.

1997: Continuous miners (2) - $1,850,000

Shuttle cars (4) - $651,000

Roof bolters (4) - $651,000

We adjusted defendant's capital layout in Appendix 3 to account

for the reduced life of the mine. With the available resources, the

mine will operate for only nine years. Defendant's mine plan did not

begin production until 1991 and the reduced life of the mine would

end at 1999 under defendant's schedule. Therefore, the capital

expenses included in defendant's report after 1999 are disregarded.

We also adjusted the layout to account for plaintiffs' assumption that

mining wiil begin in the first year of the mine. All 1989 and 1990

capital expenditures in defendant's tables are moved to 1991.

48a

lieu of the income stream the mine would have generated. This

lump sum will be taxed as a capital gain.

The Government makes the new argument from a new expert

on reconsideration that the Wyatts can roll these proceeds into

similar investment property within two, years and avoid the

capital gains tax. We noted two problems with the new expert's

declaration. First, a rollover merely postpones the Wyatts tax

liability; it does not relieve them of the obligation to pay the

tax. Deferral of this tax may provide a benefit to the Wyatts, but

that is not a sufficient reason essentially to tax them twice on

the same award. Second, the fact that Mr. Hufendick located a

method by which the Wyatts could avoid this tax liability does

not mean that the Wyatts would choose such an option.

Conclusion

We accept plaintiffs’ estimations of coal reserves,

productivity, and projected capital expenditures. We find that

expensing the capital required for the project in the year

incurred is the appropriate method. We adopt defendant's

suggested discount rate. Discount factors for a 15% rate are

taken from the annuity tables. The rate of recovery of coal

reserves is adjusted to 50% for most of the reserves and 45%

for the reserves under or within 100 feet of Cane Creek. The

reduction in the recovery rate reduces the life of the mine to

nine years. We concluded that plaintiffs’ mine plan provided for

production in Year One of 387,507 clean tons. The mine

produced 778,216 clean tons per year in Years Two through

Eight. In Year Nine, 714,292 clean tons of coal would be

recovered prior to the depletion of the estimated reserves.

y The present discounted value of Eastern Minerals’ leasehold

and renewal right is $15,866,311.'' The present discounted

'' For each of the nine years of the mine, we reduced the gross

profit by the capital expenditures incurred in that year. We also

reduced the profit by the appropriate depletion allowance of 10% of

gross income (exclusive of rents and royalties) not to exceed 50% of

taxable income pursuant to 26 U.S.C.A. § 6/3 (1997 Supp.). We

(continued...)

49a

value of the Wyatts' royalty interest is $3,743,766.

The Clerk will enter judgment for Eastern Minerals

International, Inc. for the sum of $15,866,311 and for Wilson

W. Wyatt, Sr., and Anne D. Wyatt in the amount of $3,743,766

plus compound interest at the tax overpayment rate.'?> We

noted in the April 21, 1997 opinion that no costs should be

awarded. We referred to costs as taxed by the Clerk of Court

pursuant to RCFC 77.4. We did not intend to limit plaintiffs’

(...continued)

applied an effective corporate tax rate of 38% to arrive at net profit.

We added the depletion allowance to the net profit to arrive at a cash

flow that was discounted by the appropriate discount factor. We added

all the discounted cash flow figures to arrive at the net present value of

Eastern Minerals leasehold and renewal interest.

'2 We used the clean tons produced each year and the $31.91 per

ton figure discussed supra to arrive at the gross revenue figure for the

Wyatts' royalty interest. We then calculated 3.5% of each year's gross

revenues. We discounted the royalty figure by the appropriate discount

factor for a 15% discount rate. The Wyatts' royalty interest is subject

to the same risk and time value of money concerns to which Eastern's

interest is subject. Therefore, we chose the same discount rate as that

applied to the Eastern cash flow.

Plaintiffs requested on reconsideration that we award interest

on the judgment. We agree that plaintiffs are entitled to compound

interest at the tax overpayment rate. Defendant argues that plaintiffs

are entitled only to simple interest at the rate specified in the -

Declaration of Takings Act. 40 U.S.C.A. § 258A, et seq. The

Declaration of Takings Act on which defendant relies for application

of the 52-week T-bill rate calls for compound interest. Compound

interest is appropriate because (1) the case involves commercial

property for which plaintiffs expected a good return on their

investment; and (2) plaintiffs have suffered a long period of delay

between the taking and judgment. See Whitney Benefits, Inc. v. U.S.,

30 Fed. Cl. 411 (1994).

Interest at the tax overpayment rate is appropriate. This rate has

been approved by the Federal Circuit. Hughes Aircraft v. U.S., 86

F.3d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1996), vacated and remanded on other grounds,

U.S. , 1178S. Ct. 1466 (1997).

50a

rights to obtain costs pursuant to other statutory authority. See

42 U.S.C.A. § 4254(c).

Robert H. Hodges, Jr., Judge

S5la

Appendix D —— Judgment of the United States Court of

Federal Claims Dated and Filed December 22, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS

No. 94-1098 L FILED

DEC 22 1998

EASTERN MINERALS US COURT OF

INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al., FEDERAL CLAIMS

v. JUDGMENT

THE UNITED STATES

Pursuant to the court’s Order, filed December 22, 1998,

directing the clerk to-vacate the judgment of December 10,

1997,

ITIS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this date, pursuant

to Rule 58, that the Claims of plaintiffs Milton Bernos, Van

Buren Minerals, Mary Anne Wyatt, Nancy Wyatt Zorn, and

Wilson W. Wyatt, Jr. are dismissed. :

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that

Eastern Minerals, shall recover of and from the United States

the sum of $9,961,393.00, and Martin P. Duffy, Executor of

Wilson W. Wyatt, Sr.’s Estate, and Anne D. Wyatt, shall

recover of and from the United States the sum of

$3,743,766.00, plus compound interest at the tax overpayment

rate.

Margaret M. Earnest

Clerk of Court

December 22, 1998 By: /s/

Deputy Clerk

ied

52a

Appendix E —— Surface Mining Control and Reclamation

Act of 1977, 91 Stat. 445:

30 U.S.C. § 1256. Permits

(a) Requirement; exceptions. No later than eight months from

the date on which a State program is approved by the Secretary,

pursuant to section 503 of this Act [30 USCS § 1253], or no

later than eight months from the date on which the Secretary

has promulgated a Federal program for a State not having a

State program pursuant to section 504 of this Act [30 USCS §

1254], no person shall engage in or carry out on lands within a

State any surface coal mining operations unless such person has

first obtained a permit issued by such State pursuant to an

approved State program or by the Secretary pursuant to a

Federal program; except a person conducting surface coal

mining operations under a permit from the State regulatory

authority, issued in accordance with the provisions of section

502 of this Act [30 USCS § 1252], may conduct such

operations beyond such period if an application for a permit has

been filed in accordance with the provisions of this Act [30

USCS §§ 120] et seq.], but the initial administrative decision

has not been rendered.

‘ladies

(d) Renewal. (1) Any valid permit issued pursuant to this Act

shall carry with it the right of successive renewal upon

expiration with respect to areas within the. boundaries of the

existing permit. The holders of the permit may apply for

renewal and such renewal shall be issued (provided that on

application for renewal the burden shall be on the opponents of

renewal), subsequent to fulfillment of the public notice

requirements of sections 513 and 514 [30 USCS §$ 1263 and

1264] unless it is established that and written findings by the

regulatory authority are made that--

(A) the terms and conditions of the existing permit are not

being satisfactorily met;

(B) the present surface coal mining and reclamation

operation is not in compliance with the environmental

protection standards of this Act and the approved State plan or

53a

Federal program pursuant to this Act; or

(C) the renewal requested substantially jeopardizes the

operator's continuing responsibility on existing permit areas;

(D) the operator has not provided evidence that the

performance bond in effect for said operation will continue in

full force and effect for any renewal requested in such

application as well as any additional bond the regulatory

authority might require pursuant to section 509 [30 USCS §

1259]; or

(E) any additional revised or updated information required

by the regulatory authority has not been provided. Prior to the

approval of any renewal of permit the regulatory authority shall

provide notice to the appropriate public authorities.

(2) If an application for renewal of a valid permit includes a

proposal to extend the mining operation beyond the boundaries

authorized in the existing permit, the portion of the application

for renewal of a valid permit which addresses any new land

areas shall be subject to the full standards applicable to new

applications under this Act: Provided, however, That if the

surface coal mining operations authorized by a permit issued

pursuant to this Act were not subject to the standards contained

in section 510(b)(5)(A) and (B) [30 USCS § J 260(b)(5)(A) and

(B)] by reason of complying with the proviso of section

510(b)(5) [30 USCS § 1260(b)(5)], then the portion of the

application for renewal of the permit which addresses any new

land areas previously identified in the reclamation plan

submitted pursuant to section 508 [30 USCS § 1258] shall not

be subject to the standards contained in section 510(b)(5)(A)

and (B) [30 USCS § 1260(b)(5)(A) and (B)).

(3) Any permit renewal shall be for a term not to exceed the

period of the original permit established by this Act.

Application for permit renewal shall be made at least one

hundred and twenty days prior to the expiration of the valid

permit.

54a

30 U.S.C. § 1257. Application requirements

‘tes

(c) Requirements of subsec. (b)(11) and (15) for small

operators; costs assumed by regulatory authority. If the

regulatory authority finds that the probable total annual

production at all locations of a coal surface mining operator will

not exceed 100,000 tons, the determination of probably

hydrologic consequences required by subsection (b)(11) and the

statement of the result of test borings and core samplings

required by subsection (b)(15) of this section shall, upon the

written request of the operator be performed by a qualified

public or private laboratory designated by the regulatory

authority and the cost of the preparation of such determination

and statement shall be assumed by the regulatory authority.

30 U.S.C. § 1272. Designating areas unsuitable for surface

coal mining

roe

(e) Certain Federal, public, and private mining prohibited;

notice and hearing. After the enactment of this Act [enacted

Aug. 3, 1977] and subject to valid existing rights no surface

coal mining operations except those which exist on the date of

enactment of this Act [enacted Aug. 3, 1977] shall be

permitted—

‘idee

(3) which will adversely affect any publicly owned park or

places included in the National Register of Historic Sites unless

approved jointly by the regulatory authority and the Federal,

State, or local agency with jurisdiction over the park or the

historic site;

55a

Appendix F —— Docket Entries, United States Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

EASTERN MINERALS V US 99-5054

: CONSOLIDATED W/CROSS APPEAL(S) 99-5059

wy * a

February 1, 2000 NOTICE OF CALENDARING issued

Panel 0003C on March 6, 2000

‘ued

March 6, 2000 Submitted after ORAL ARGUMENT by

Jeffrey C. Dobbins and

Raymond D. Battocchi-

99-5050 (KSH) (NEWMAN, BRYSON and GAJARSA)

‘je

56a

Appendix G — — Order, United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit, Dated July 2, 2001

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

99-5054, 5059

[CAPTION OMITTED]

ON MOTION

Before NEWMAN, BRYSON, and GAJARSA, Circuit Judges

ORDER

The Unites States moves that the court permit the parties

to file a supplemental memoranda regarding the relevance, if any,

of the decisions in Palm Beach Isles Associates v. United States,

208 F.3d 1374, on rehearing, 231 F.3d 1354, denying rehearing

en banc, 231 F.3d. 1365, and the anticipated decision in

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, S. Ct. No. 99-2047, to the issues

presented in this case. Eastern Minerals, et al., files an

opposition.

Upon consideration thereof,

IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1) The motion is granted.

(2) The parties are directed to file simultaneously

supplemental memoranda of no more than 15 pages on or

before July 20, 2001.

FOR THE COURT

JUL —2 2001 /s/

Date Jan Horbaly

Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.