Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schroder v. Bush

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| ) Supreme Coust, U.S,

FILED

O1 744 Nov 21 2007

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

EUGENE SCHRODER; EDWIN PETROWSKY;

R. RUSSELL GRIDER; and WESLEY MYERS,

Petitioners,

GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States;

ANN M. VENEMAN, United States Secretary of

Agriculture; PAUL H. O’NEILL, United States

Secretary of the Treasury; and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Wa ker F. Topp

Counsel of Record

Attorney at Law

1164 Sheerbrook Drive

Chagrin Falls, Ohio 44022

(440) 338-1169

Attorney for Petitioners

——

oe

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

(2400

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Petitioners, a group of four farmers residing in Colo-

rado, New Mexico, and Kansas, brought an action against

the United States for an injunction against farm fore-

closures until parity pricing principles, declared to be the

underlying law of U.S. agriculture in 1933 and never

repealed or suspended, were enforced in the United

States. They also sought a declaratory judgment regard-

ing the continuing validity and effect of farm parity,

which they argued was the principal component of a

four-part compensatory scheme for market conditions in

agriculture enacted in the mid-1930s to validate the regu-

latory taking of U.S. farmers’ production rights under the

Agricultural Adjustment Act of 1933. 7 U.S.C. Section 601.

They argue that the taking continues, that neither parity

nor other components of the four-part scheme are

enforced for the benefit of U.S. agriculture even though

the powers at issue were delegated for the principal

benefit of agriculture, together with other key economic

sectors, and that these powers were delegated perma-

nently and unconstitutionally, without intelligible princi-

ples by which they may be reviewed, and in some

instances without submission to political review through

the congressional appropriations process. The Tenth Cir-

cuit nevertheless held that the district court ruled prop-

erly in dismissing the action below for (a) raising

nonjusticiable political questions and (b) failing to state a

cause of action on which relief could be granted, the relief

requested raising matters of (principally) executive

branch discretion.

ii

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

The questions presented are:

I. Whether the enforcement of laws already

on the statute books, the factual basis of

the relief requested here, raises nonjusticia-

ble political questions, as distinguished

from the typical political question in which

one party or another seeks adoption of a

novel policy;

Il. Whether the subject matter of the amended

complaint below raises issues that are so

involved with executive branch discretion,

especially in foreign policy matters and

their application to U.S. domestic agricul-

ture, that the federal courts should not and

cannot grant forms of relief that invade

such discretionary areas; and

III]. Whether it is constitutional, on its face or

as applied, for Congress to delegate perma-

nently to the executive branch, without

statutory articulation of intelligible princi-

ples for the delegation or statutory subjec-

tion of the delegation to political review

through the appropriations process, subject

matters that the U.S. Constitution textually

confides to Congress alone (or in one

instance, a shared power of the executive

and legislative branches that effectively is

exercised by the executive branch alone).

iii

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioners Eugene Schroder, Edwin Petrowsky, R.

Russell Grider, and Wesley Myers each and all state that

they are suing the United States in the present action in

their individual capacities and that none of them and

none of their farming interests is or has been since the

commencement of the present action a subsidiary or an

affiliate of any publicly owned corporation. None of them

is the owner of more than a ten percent interest in any

corporation. No publicly owned corporation has a finan-

cial interest in the outcome of this petition for certiorari.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ce FU ais i icbcecceeccodbes chenndiae i

Statement Pursuant to Rule 29.6..............e000: iii

eee OE GI oo ook bis cbcocdccaxissvnseesuceres iv

TE A FI i 5 kon ws ioc Sasa inn hhechnetaces vi

CO BI 5 ka cececticesckasuieeeds beeen eeees 1

eI AE Fo 0 0.05.4 Aan had os ac anaseees 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved... 1

ath ae Cl Ce i ens vce aaah akwiens 2

1. Positive Statement of the Petitioners’ Case... 2

2. Statement of the Appellate Case: Petitioners’

ES 8 rrr noe me 13

3. Note on Federal Jurisdiction ................. 16

Reasons for Granting the Writ..............-..066. 18

I. The Decision Below Grants the Executive

Branch Unfettered Discretion to Regulate

Domestic Economic Activity in the Name of

WSU FAIIIUUD, 6 oe iets Sede conve cevesdvses< 21

A. Conduct of Foreign Affairs Impinges on

Domestic Agricultural Economy......... 21

B. The Nondelegation Principle Is Violated... 23

II. Prudential Abstention Principles Said to Be

Embedded Within the Nonjusticiable Political

Question Doctrine Prove on Closer Inspection

to Be Inapplicable to Petitioners’ Case, but

Tenth Circuit Will Buttress Other Misled Cir-

fk Per rrrreer errr TTT rery s 26

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Convu © 2d

Page

Ill. This Court Can and Should Grant the Forms of

Relief Requested ..........-eeeeeeeeeereeeees 27

IV. The Tenth Circuit Has Misconstrued Peti-

tioners’ Takings Claim, Which Is a Statutory or

Regulatory Takings Claim Analogous to the

EMCEE ROOD. ci iccncictvccensdacseeurvessucwrss 28

ES ie kacwekeraaeiekieaeues 30

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) ............ 14, 19, 26

Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970).............6.. 20

Butler v. United States, 297 U.S. 1 (1936)......... ea eae

Chicago & S. Air Lines v. Waterman S.S. Corp., 333

EEE 04 5.6 whine wheneks nee ehdaunwien cereus 26

Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981)........ 27

Glickman v. Wileman Bros. & Elliott, Inc., 521 U.S.

EES i ca bawikkcesnbane tenceeeunds piseedees: 20

Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 996 (1979).............. 24

].W. Hampton, Jr., & Co. v. United States, 276 U.S.

Es + ao ha shed ie ce getusnGws ceuenaeee 8, 14, 25

Home Building & Loan Ass’n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S.

I orig a a0 52 oa bene AVE RNS BORE RC ORA 20, 28

INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983) ........... 14, 19, 26

Japan Whaling Ass'n v. American Cetacean Society,

ee Be a ES o's nub cd decane eeevakeebexsaes 25

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

re RR err Tre erry pe 21, 28, 29

McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316

Oh ce recess vane dss kane peeks cekeee ein ca es 30

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137

Ge is acne cache ekbas oe Coscennd esneaern 14, 19, 26

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Nixon v. United States, 418 U.S. 683 (1974)........... 17

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943)..........+.-. 20, 28

Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169 (10th Cir. 2001) .. passim

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299

US. SOS CITGO) onc icccevescusessvcess 9, 18, 19, 21, 24

West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186

STORED oi cdavccntcdesvccnedesnccbesesesasetentaeuss 20

Whitman v. Amer. Trucking Ass’n, Inc., 531 U.S. 437,

120 S.Ct. 903 (2001) .......eeeeeeeeecess 8, 14, 19, 25

Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S. 111 (1942)............ 20, 29

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer (Steel Sei-

zures), 343 U.S. 579 (1952) ....... eee cece ween 17, 27

U.S. CONSTITUTION

py Ree ere Teer eS he rey eed 1

sic c ue adenedaweewssaeeetebebe tstevdsewes 1

I CS © ok is peccccv noes roe 000s p00es0nuns 1

I lekeuevebansenvaves Ate 1, 23

NE Oe iin od ave ex de bwds Jo baee eae tees L& 23

I Tn sn sc auss ayeude Casans,eaebenen 1, 8

Article II, Section 1, Clause 1.................. 2. 2

eS a eee eer eee Te eee eee a 3

Pthets TV, Geet 4 onc cc cc ccc cet eat cteeeveucedsocses 1

ee ing sick awards se eck cervevves 1, 13, 16, 28

Amendment XIV, Section 1.............+6. 1, 13, 16, 28

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES

PGs, FINE Ais oe ekednd ov seveveear 2, 16, 17

7 U.S.C. Section 291 (Capper-Volstead Act).......... 10

F es I FE ea a be ASRS TER on hn db dag Kendetees 10

7 U.S.C. Section 601 (Agricultural Adjustment Act

IN ic bn GOW HON CHE ee EES dec ods 080 4 Oe 2, 3, 29

Pe EE ee icone cate delenit ee ESAS eee 3

Pe I OE. ccnes bb dn oun Chere cusnemey oases. 3

PU Gee I oii ik erie 9, 12

7 Ree SE I oid. 6 kik vee Wai vane bol tes exebieee es 4

7 U.S.C. Section 7301 (Freedom to Farm Act of

RS kin casas ba vac bad been kkesees x 4 7, 12

12 U.S.C. Section 225a..... ein gin kek pas NA ceeded 22

Be See SOE 6 bic Sinbncad coed beds seri iteiaee 22

i EE PE hit bei cde diccneevcuxeuc eb anneei 22

15 U.S.C. Section 1 (Sherman Anti-Trust Act of

a 56 ch eb Fen eee bo ARR ehh AR ELE 9

WUE TE isi is 9

SD ae ek Pe HE bike bo oes 2kcbs vp ckerneckcseses 4

19 U.S.C. Section 1351 (Trade Agreements Act of

iia bike t een cae cc Vaile es te eae 2, 8, 9

en SG Be CS os vb ob. 0'o ove op Devine a coh deers 1

a IE RG hk o's Phe pk bis cane hcecbaereune 2, 16

28 U.S.C. Section 1491 (Tucker Act)................. 15

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

28 U.S.C. Section 2401 .....-.. eee eeereeeeees 15, 16, 30

28 U.S.C. Section 2409a.......seeee reer e cere 15, 16, 30

31 U.S.C. Section 5301 (Thomas Amendment of

AID isc Cae S Sin 80 ee Chie 08 a8 088 Cee ORTEND He 4,5, 6

31 U.S.C. Section 5302 (Gold Reserve Act of

| re rr rer rr Terr tr a 434.7, 3

31 U.S.C. Section 5304 ......c cece cece cree ener neces 5, 6

50 U.S.C. Section 1701 (IEEPA)......----eeee essere 2

50 U.S.C. Sections 1701-1706 (IEEPA).....-.-+++++++> 27

Former Mexican Debt Disclosure Act of 1995

(expired 1997) .....ceeceeeeceecererereeeeteceseees 5

TREATISES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

Published

Elizabeth Becker, $88 Billion Farm Bill Wins

Approval of Senate Panel, N.Y. Times, Nov. 16,

POOL, at A-18......ccccccccevccccccecrsccercereer® 12

Alexander M. Bickel, The Least Dangerous Branch

(2d @d. 1986)... crceccccccccccnvecccccsvascesers 18

Richard H. Fallon, Jr., Daniel J. Meltzer, & David

L. Shapiro, Hart & Wechsler’s The Federal Courts

and the Federal System (4th ed. 1996) ......---+-+>> 24

Harold Hongju Koh, The National Security Consti-

tution: Sharing Power After the Iran-Contra Affair

OO gc ivnecerecchsxetparsso feces hese tee 24, 25, 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Letter, Secretary of the Treasury Robert Rubin to

House of Representatives Speaker Robert Liv-

ingston (R.-Lou.), June 23, 1998, in CMRE

Monograph No. 54, at 16 (see, Schwartz refer-

ence below for Monograph No. 54).............4.. 6

Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr., The Coming of the New

ee EN bes ores oendetesdbeedonswecsbweubecks 16

Anna J. Schwartz, Time to Terminate the ESF and

IMF and Declaration of Anna J]. Schwartz, in

Walker F. Todd, ed., Time to Abolish the Interna-

tional Monetary Fund and the Treasury's Exchange

Stabilization Fund: Documents on Their Origins,

Consequences, and Failures, With a Roadmap to

Abolition 4-27, 28-34, Monograph No. 54 (Dec.

1998), Comm. for Monetary Research & Educ.

Gee s Ov ewccvecccevtveveseueevei¥ennndecweusscees 7

Unpublished

Randy Cook, History of Parity, Sept. 29, 2000........ 3

Ed Petrowsky, On Flour Mills in Kansas, Oct. 19,

BOGE civ ect elcesiudesdecés evades seuveceaveedenhione 10

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court’s opinion (per Kane, J.) dismissing

petitioners’ complaint (Appendix [“Pet. App.”] 17a-18a)

is unpublished at this writing. The ruling by the court of

appeals (per Ebel, J., joined by McWilliams and Brimmer,

JJ.) affirming (Pet. App. l1a-16a) is published at 263 F.3d

1169. There are no subsequent hearings or opinions.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its opinion on August

24, 2001. Petitioners invoke this Court’s jurisdiction.

under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254 (1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions relevant to this petition

are as follows: In Article I (congressional powers), section

1 (legislative power); section 7 (origin of revenue bills);

section 8, clauses 2 (borrowing money), 3 (regulation of

interstate and foreign commerce), and 5 (coining and

regulating value of money and of foreign coin); and sec-

tion 9, clause 7 (appropriations). In Article II (executive

powers), section 1, clause 1 (executive power) and section

2, clause 2 (treaty power). In Article IV (general powers),

section 4 (guarantee or republican form of government).

Among the Amendments, number 5 (due process and

taking clauses) and number 14 (civil rights), section 1

(privileges and immunities, due process, and equal pro-

tection clauses). The pertinent constitutional texts are

reprinted in the Appendix at 19a-21a.

The principal set of statutes relevant to this petition

is the Agricultural Adjustment Act of May 12, 1933, as

2

amended (7 U.S.C. Section 601, et seq.), together with

associated agricultural statutes, of which pertinent por-

tions are reprinted in the Appendix at 22a-51a. Jurisdic-

tional statutes cited either in the court of appeals opinion

or petitioners’ briefs below and referred to here include

the Administrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C. Section 702),

general federal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. Section 1331,

and various portions of Title 28, of which pertinent por-

tions are printed in the Appendix at 22a, 62a-67a. Money

and banking statutes relevant to this petition are various

provisions of the Federal Reserve Act from Title 12 (Pet.

App. at 51a-53a) and the Gold Reserve Act of 1934 from

Title 31 (Pet. App. at 67a-71la). Antitrust and national

policy goals statutes relevant to this petition are from

Title 15 (Pet. App. at 54a-58a). Provisions of the Trade

Agreements Act of 1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. Section

1351), that are relevant to this petition are reprinted in the

Appendix at 58a-62a. Provisions of the International

Emergency Economic Powers Act (50 U.S.C. Section 1701,

et seq.) that are relevant to this petition are reprinted in

the Appendix at 71a-78a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Positive Statement of the Petitioners’ Case

Petitioners, since the inception of their actions lead-

ing to the filing of the complaint and amended complaint

in the district court, consistently have made the entirety

of the following argument, which is the positive state-

ment of their case:

During the perceived national economic emergency

in early 1933, executive branch authority to promulgate

extraordinary orders for the regulation of the domestic

U.S. economy in peacetime was founded on a World War

I wartime statute, the Trading With the Enemy Act of

1917. Doubts about the president’s peacetime authority to

issue the bank holiday order on March 6, 1933, and

related orders were to be resolved by congressional pas-

sage of resolutions supporting those orders on March 9,

3

1933. The national economic emergency was extended to

U.S. agriculture by the Agricultural Adjustment Act of

May 12, 1933, as amended (AAA). 7 U.S.C. Section 601, ef

seq. (Pet. App. at 22a-51a). This emergency, as applied to

domestic U.S. agriculture, never has been allowed to

expire. Compare 7 U.S.C. Section 613 (AAA ends when-

ever the president or secretary of agriculture says that it

ends, Pet. App. at 28a) with 7 U.S.C. Section 7301 (list of

statutes suspended or repealed by the “Freedom to Farm

Act” of 1996, including none of the statutes cited in this

petition, Pet. App. at 48a-51a). The continued regulation

of U.S. farmers’ production rights constituted and still

constitutes a statutory and regulatory taking of a private

property right for which just compensation has to be paid

if the taking is to be constitutional, either on its face or as

applied.

In lieu of direct monetary compensation for the 1933.

taking of farmers’ production rights, ample authority

documents that Congress authorized the executive

branch to offer farmers a four-part compensatory scheme

intended to create market conditions in agriculture con-

ducive to the establishment of pricing parity. 7 U.S.C.

Section 602 (a)(1) (Pet. App. at 26a). The first of the four

parts of that scheme, parity, was to be calculated accord-

ing to formulas set forth in 7 U.S.C. Section 1301 (a) (Pet.

App. at 29a-32a), essentially based on a comparison of the

index of farm prices received vs. costs of farmers’ inputs

for the base period 1910-1914. Id. at Section 1301 (a)(1)(B).

The parity provisions of the AAA have been amended

many times, including a 1949- restatement that is the

underlying law of parity today. See, e.g., 7 U.S.C. Section

1301 (a)(1)(G) (Pet. App. at 31a). Subsequent farm bills

enacted every four or five years essentially have been

mere suspensions of parity or, as one authority on parity

explained it, “alternative means of reaching parity”: In

the absence of enactment of a new farm bill, the underly-

ing parity provisions of the AAA (in this case, 1949

parity) automatically become the operative law of the

land in agriculture. See, Randy Cook, History of Parity,

>

Sept. 29, 2000 (unpublished), in Appendix for Piaintiffs’

(Petitioners’) Appellate Brief (this case), at 17-24, filed in

10th Cir., Oct. 29, 2000. Parity is still referred to as a

national goal for agriculture. 15 U.S.C. Section 1022c

(C)(ii) (Pet. App. at 57a). Parity still is the basis for the

compensatory formula for U.S. farmers adversely affected

by trade embargoes implemented by the executive branch

in pursuit of foreign policy goals. 7 U.S.C. Section 5671

(b)(1)(C), (b)(2) (Pet. App. at 47a-48a). This statute was

enacted in 1979, and 15 U.S.C. Section 1022c was

amended as recently as 1990. If parity is no longer the law

of the land, having expired with either the 1938 revision

of the AAA or the post-1955 train of intermediate-term

farm bills that culminated in the Freedom to Farm Act of

1996 (7 U.S.C. Section 7301, Pet. App. at 48a-51a), as

critics of the Petitioners’ lawsuit contend, then how does

one explain these statutes? Moreover, a series of U.S.

Supreme Court decisions from the 1930s to the present

moment (cited in connection with this argument in Rea-

sons for Granting the Writ below) also has confirmed the

currency of parity as the underlying agricultural law of

the land by reference to it.

The second part of the four-part compensatory

scheme for agriculture from the mid-1930s is foreign

exchange regulation. Under 31 U.S.C. Section 5301 (Pet.

App. at 67a-68a), originally part of the Thomas Amend-

ment of AAA (May 27, 1933), the President is authorized

to require the Secretary of the Treasury to enter agree-

ments with the Federal Reserve Banks and the Board of

Governors to conduct open-market operations in support

of Treasury objectives if U.S. foreign commerce is

adversely affected by instability in the value of foreign

coins and currency. Later, on January 30, 1934, Congress

enacted the Gold Reserve Act, now codified at 31 U.S.C.

Section 5302 (Pet. App. at 69a-70a), to authorize the Secre-

tary of the Treasury, subject to the President’s approval,

to operate the present Exchange Stabilization Fund (ESF)

with respect to foreign exchange market interventions.

a a a SE a a

5

It appears that originally loans to foreign countries

by the ESF were not contemplated. Indeed, other federal

departments, such as Commerce or State, or agencies,

such as the former Reconstruction Finance Corporation or

the Agency for International Development, made such

loans, but practices evolved between the Treasury and the

Federal Reserve since about 1960 (including Federal

Reserve funding of the ESF’s loans outside the congres-

sional appropriations process) that eventually (1977-1978)

gave rise to congressional restrictions on ESF loans. See,

e.g., id. at Section 5302 (b) and (c) (Pet. App. at 69a-70a);

former Mexican Debt Disclosure Act of 1995, codified

following this section, expired in 1997 (Pet. App. at 70a).

Section 5304 (Pet. App. at 71a) authorizes the Secretary of

the Treasury to issue any necessary regulations under

both Sections 5301 and 5302.

The sticking point in this set of statutes, originally.

enacted in the full flowering of the President’s near-

dictatorial powers under the First New Deal, is the provi-

sion that, subject to the President’s approval, the ESF

is under the exclusive control of the Secretary

[of the Treasury], and may not be used in a way

that direct control and custody pass from the

President and the Secretary. Decisions of the

Secretary are final and may not be reviewed by

another officer or employee of the Government.

Id. at Section 5302 (a)(2) (Pet. App. at 69a) (part of original

statutory language, never amended). The Federal Govern-

ment argues that this language means that no court

may review actions of the ESF and that Congress also

receives reports about ESF activity only by grace of the

executive branch, not by any statutory or constitutional

right.1 A more appropriate interpretation of this set of

1 Originally established under two-year emergency

statutes, the ESF was made permanent in 1945. In June 1998,

after the original Mexican Debt Disclosure Act of 1995 had

expired and following press reports of new ESF loan

6

statutes is that (1) they should be construed together, 31

U.S.C. Sections 5301-5304 (Pet. App. at 67a-71a); (2) the

Treasury cannot evade review of agency action (in this

case, for an agency that existed before the first Adminis-

trative Procedure Act was enacted in 1940) merely by

failing to issue appropriate regulations; (3) the “sole and

unreviewable control of the President and Treasury” lan-

guage for the ESF is unconstitutional on its face and

reasonably should be interpreted to save its constitu-

tionality by allowing the federal courts to review the

agency’s actions; and (4) in exercising appropriate

authority over the ESF under the relevant statutes, the

President and Secretary of the Treasury should take note

of market conditions in U.S. agriculture rationally and

demonstrably caused by the depreciation of particular

foreign currencies and coins from their normal standards

of value.

This much rationally appears to be comprehended

within the existing ESF statutes: It cannot be argued

credibly in a constitutional republic that the President

and the Secretary of the Treasury may use the ESF as

personal piggy banks of foreign exchange in the nature of

commitments to various East Asian countries that had been

encountering foreign payments difficulties since the summer of

1997, members of Congress attempted to enact an amendment

of 31 U.S.C. Section 5302 limiting the authority of the ESF to ;

make loans to foreign countries without the prior, explicit

approval of Congress to a maximum term of six months and a

maximum amount of $1 billion. Secretary of the Treasury Robert

Rubin sent a letter for the executive branch to House of

Representatives Speaker Robert Livingston (R.-Lou.) on June 23,

1998, threatening to ask the President to veto the appropriation

for the Treasury and the U.S. Postal System if this amendment

passed. The amendment failed in the House, 221-195. Thus, the

Treasury continues to assert unreviewable, unilateral,

unappropriated authority for the ESF that renders its structure

unconstitutional on its face and its operations unconstitutional

as applied.

|

7

executive branch slush funds. See, Anna J. Schwartz, Time

to Terminate the ESF and IMF and Declaration of Anna J.

Schwartz, in Walker F. Todd, ed., Time to Abolish the Inter-

national Monetary Fund and the Treasury's Exchange Stabiliz-

ation Fund: Documents on Their Origins, Consequences, and

Failures, With a Roadmap to Abolition, 4-27, 28-34, Mono-

graph No. 54 (Dec. 1998), Comm. for Monetary Research

& Educ. The basic argument of Petitioners with respect to

the ESF is that U.S. foreign exchange policy since 1995

has been conducted without regard to the interests of U.S.

agriculture. However, the nature of the extraordinary

authority over foreign exchange delegated to the Presi-

dent and the Secretary of the Treasury, 31 U.S.C. Section

5302 (a)(2) (Pet. App. at 69a), and the general deregula-

tion of the production controls side of U.S. agriculture

under the Freedom to Farm Act of 1996, 7 U.S.C. Section

7301 (Pet. App. at 48a-51a), objectively require the Presi-.

dent and the Secretary of the Treasury to take the inter-

ests of U.S. farmers into account in managing foreign

exchange and in structuring post-currency-devaluation

International Monetary Fund (IMF) bailouts of major for-

eign competitors of U.S. agricultural producers, like those

for Brazil (1999-2000), Argentina (2000-2001), and Turkey

(2001).

Petitioners contend that the ESF, both as created and

as administered, is unconstitutional, both on its face and

as applied. The statute originally creating the ESF as an

emergency measure, subsequently renewed at two-year

intervals, might have strengthened some of the modern

jurisdictional objections to any case challenging the ESF’s

creation by providing for expiration of the authority dele-

gated to the President and the Secretary of the Treasury

before the next succeeding session of Congress. Such an

agency clearly could be reformed within the political

operations of the executive and legislative branches and,

moreover, by the time any court challenge to the ESF

reached the U.S. Supreme Court, the matter probably

would have been moot if the authorizing statute were

8

allowed to expire without renewal. However, the perma-

nent creation and existence of the ESF as it stands, not

subject to annual appropriations except for its incidental

operating expenses (see, U.S. Constitution, Art. I, Sec. 9,

cl. 7, in Appendix at 19a), an entity that lacks articulated

intelligible principles for its operation, and exercising

exclusively a power (the regulation of foreign exchange)

that in the text of the Constitution is reserved to Congress

alone (Art. I, Sec. 8, cl. 5, in Appendix at 19a) and is

nowhere given to the executive branch unless it be within

the general executive powers (Art. II, Sec. 1, cl. 1, in

Appendix at 19a), raises all the issues of the non-delega-

tion doctrine discussed in Justice Thomas’s concurring

opinion in Whitman v. American Trucking Ass'n, Inc., 531

U.S. 437, 121 S.Ct. 903, 919-920 (2001) (Pet. App. at

79a-80a), citing J.W. Hampton, Jr., & Co. v. United States,

276 U.S. 394, 408 (1928) (on the “intelligible principle”

doctrine for congressional delegations of power).?

The third component of the 1930s four-part compen-

satory scheme for U.S. agriculture that is at issue in

Petitioners’ case is the Trade Agreements Act of June 12,

1934, as amended (19 U.S.C. Section 1351, Pet. App. at

58a-62a). This Act, also passed by the First New Deal

Congress, created the executive branch Office of the U.S.

Trade Representative (OTR). Previously, trade agreements

with foreign countries were viewed as treaty matters and

typically were negotiated by representatives of both the

executive branch and the U.S. Senate, reflecting the

shared treaty-making power. U.S. Constitution, Art. Il,

Sec. 2, cl. 2. (Pet. App. at 20a). One of the possibly

unforeseen consequences of the Act creating the OTR was

that the operations of that office became swept into the

general rubric of the unilateral executive branch conduct

of foreign affairs, a doctrine that acquired great currency

2 The Petitioners’ case in both the district court and the

court of appeals was commenced, and oral argument in the

court of appeals was held, before the Whitman case was decided.

9

for the first time in the mid-1936s, albeit without founda-

tion in previous constitutional jurisprudence or actual

practice. After all, what precedents does Justice Suther-

land cite for his famous dictum in Curtiss-Wright? See, e.g,

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304,

320 (1936). In granting the President and the OTR extraor-

dinary authority to make executive trade agreements

with the practical legal effect of treaties in derogation of

the constitutionally shared treaty-making power, Con-

gress stated explicitly that the President, “in the course of

negotiating any foreign trade agreement under this sec-

tion [19 U.S.C. Section 1351], should seek advice from

representatives of industry, agriculture, and labor.”

(Emphasis added.) Id. at Section 1351 (f) (Pet. App. at

62a). Petitioners contend that, especially in post-1993

trade agreements (supremely exemplified in the North

American Free Trade Agreement with Mexico in 1993),

the interests of U.S. farmers were not consulted, or were:

ignored if they were. The issue of statutory interpretation

raised is whether the statute just cited, expressing the

“sense of the Congress,” is a binding condition on the

President’s exercise of the OTR authority delegated by

this statute. If it is, then like parity and foreign exchange

regulation before it, this third element of the 1930s four-

part compensatory scheme for the statutory and regula-

tory taking of U.S. agricultural production rights has

been abandoned.

The fourth element of the four-part compensatory

scheme is regulation of market concentrations in agricul-

ture. The Sherman Anti-Trust Act of 1890 was amended in

1937 specifically to increase the authority of the US.

Department of Justice to initiate anti-trust enforcement

actions against persons whose activities tended to

increase market concentrations in agriculture. 15 U.S.C.

Sections 1, 18 (Pet. App. at 54a-56a). Section 18 of this

title in particular prohibited acquisitions of shares of

stock or assets of other persons where the effect of the

acquisitions would be “substantially to lessen competi-

tion, or to tend to create a monopoly.” At the same time, 7

10

U.S.C. Sections 291 and 292 (Pet. App. at 22a-25a) essen-

tially prohibited farmers from combining to raise prices.

In the thinking of the creators of anti-trust policy in

the 1930s, it would have made little sense to promise

farmers parity, on the one hand, and then to allow sellers

of farmers’ inputs, or buyers of their outputs, to concen-

trate their resources through mergers and acquisitions

and thereby regain pricing power over farmers that the

promise of parity was intended to prevent. Still, through

governmental inaction, at both the federal and the state

levels in recent decades, sellers of farmers’ inputs have

been allowed to concentrate their resources SO that

farmers have far fewer choices about brands of equip-

ment, seeds, fertilizers, etc., to purchase and of places to

purchase them than only a few decades ago. Similarly,

farmer producers selling the main commodity crops that

have been the subjects of extensive U.S. Department of

Agriculture regulation and subsidies since the 1930s

increasingly confront a paucity of buyers. In Kansas, for

example, a major wheat-producing state, only 18 flour

mills bid for grain today, and only two of them could be

regarded as truly independent of the four large, multina-

tional grain companies that control the U.S. grain trade.

See, Ed Petrowsky, On Flour Mills in Kansas

(unpublished), Oct. 19, 2000, in Appendix for Plaintiffs’

Appellate Brief (this case) at 25, filed October 29, 2000.

Worst of all, concentrations in production techniques

due to the spread of contract farming and direct competi-

tion (some of it subsidized by U.S. government programs)

with U.S. farmers from offshore production facilities

owned or controlled by the four largest multinational

grain companies have presented U.S. farmers with

unforeseen difficulties that arise from the failure of offi-

cial anti-trust policy enforcement. Thus, the fourth and

final element of the compensatory scheme for the taking

of U.S. farmers’ production rights also has failed as an

outgrowth of official U.S. governmental policy.

What is the upshot of the positive statement of the

Petitioners’ case? It is fundamentally a takings case, but a

11

takings case of a sort that the federal courts do not

usually encounter. It involves a statutory or regulatory

taking of a production right, not of legal title to the land

that the Petitioners own (other than through fore-

closures). They seek no monetary damages or relief.

The Petitioners seek only (a) a moratorium on farm

foreclosures, originally requested to be enforced by an

injunction, and (b) a declaratory judgment stating that

parity remains the overriding federal law of the land

regarding U.S. agriculture until Congress amends or

repeals the relevant statutes. They seek no new appro-

priations of funds for agricultural relief or support pro-

grams. In the courts, they seek no reallocation of

appropriated funds.

The moratorium on farm foreclosures, pending full

implementation of parity pricing principles or other pol-

icy actions amounting to renewed co-ordination aimed at

implementing the four-part scheme to restore orderly

marketing conditions in agriculture, is a form of relief

that the federal courts could grant. If there were ques-

tions regarding the authority of the federal courts to

order a moratorium affecting defendants who were not

represented in the case, then the relief could be confined

to only foreclosures arising from federally funded farm

mortgages (e.g., those issued by the Farm Credit System

or the Farmers Home Administration). The next broader

area of relief via moratorium, arguably still within the

circle of the federal courts’ jurisdiction, would affect all

farm mortgages that are federally insured or guaranteed

or issued by federally chartered institutions. This would

involve national banks and holders of federally insured

or guaranteed farm mortgages, for example.

The court of appeals expressed concern at oral argu-

ment about issuing an injunction that would affect

adversely persons not represented by attorneys from the

U.S. Department of Justice, and it is conceded that the

court’s concern might be well-taken. However, all feder-

ally funded farm mortgages ultimately flow through

either the Treasury or the Department of Agriculture or

12

both, and issuers and holders of federally insured or

guaranteed farm mortgages have been exposed to similar

debt restructurings since the 1986 rescue of the Farm

Credit Administration. The next outward ring of defen-

dants-respondents affected by a moratorium ordered by

the federal courts might be federally insured financial

institutions, regardless of chartering authority. Federally

insured banks, savings and loans, and credit unions are

used to filing reserve requirement reports with the Fed-

eral Reserve by virtue of their eligibility for federal

deposit insurance. A safe dividing line within this cate-

gory might be requiring all federally insured depository

and lending institutions to be subject to the moratorium

but exempting uninsured but eligible institutions.

Regarding a declaratory judgment on parity, the stat-

utory basis for such a declaration by the federal courts is

clear. Any new farm bill enacted by Congress next year

(the current farm bill, Freedom to Farm_Act of 1996,

expires in September 2002) must either put in place some

compensatory scheme in place of parity pricing princi-

ples, or the 1949 parity legislation will revert to being the

law of the land in agriculture. Compare 7 U.S.C. Section

1301 (a)(1)(E)-(G) (Pet. App. 30a-31a) with 7 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 7301 (Pet. App. 48a-51a). Current press reports (mid-

November 2001) indicate that both the House of Repre-

sentatives and the Senate will reject the reforms proposed

by the White House and the ranking minority member of

the Agriculture Committee, Senator Richard Lugar (R.-

Ind.), and will adopt instead a five-year farm bill (Senate

version) or a ten-year farm bill (House version) that

“places no limits on subsidies to America’s wealthiest

farmers and increases spending for conservation and

food stamps.” Elizabeth Becker, $88 Billion Farm Bill Wins

Approval of Senate Panel, N.Y. Times, Nov. 16, 2001, at

A-18. The federal courts are competent to grant the forms

of relief requested in the courts below.

13

2. Statement of the Appellate Case: Petitioners’ Case

for Review

The U.S. District Court for the District of Colorado

dismissed Petitioners’ complaint_as raising nonjusticiable

political questions and for requesting forms of relief, that

could not be granted (implicitly, as purportedly requiring

judicial invasions of areas of executive branch discretion

where the courts have given the executive broad leeway,

as in the conduct of foreign affairs). Following oral argu-

ment before a three-judge panel in Denver, Colorado, on

March 12, 2001, the Tenth Circuit affirmed, noting that

the Petitioners must seek relief for the issues raised in the

complaint (generally, the current plight of the small fam-

ily farmer) in the elected branches of government. Schro-

der v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169, 1171-1172 (10th Cir. 2001) (Pet.

App. at 1a, 2a-5a). In addition, the Tenth Circuit found

that the Petitioners’ takings claim (U.S. Constitution,

Amends. 5 and 14, cl. 1, in Appendix at 20a-21a) failed,

having been presented inadequately on appeal, and also

that it was time-barred. 263 F.3d 1169, 1176-1177 (Pet.

App. at la, 14a-16a).

The court of appeals’ holdings merit this Court's

immediate review because each and every one of the

grievances cited in the Petitioners’ amended complaint

continues unabated and unrelieved to the present

moment (mid-November 2001). Left undisturbed, the

Tenth Circuit’s opinion will become a precedent for uni-

lateral, unreviewed, and unreviewable executive branch

conduct of foreign commercial or banking operations

(through the Treasury’s ESF), a power that the Constitu-

tion explicitly delegates to Congress alone (regulating the

value of foreign exchange). At risk is the principle that

the executive can do almost anything, almost anywhere,

no matter how thoroughly commercial, escaping both

judicial review and the checks and balances intended to

be provided through the annual or biennial appropria-

tions process, usurping the powers of Congress in the

process, as long as the executive plausibly can characterize

14

its activity as having anything at all to do with the conduct

of foreign affairs. Nondelegation principle issues of the type

discussed in Hampton and Whitman, supra, are raised

squarely in this case regarding both the foreign trade agree-

ments (OTR) and foreign exchange regulation (ESF) powers

and were briefed in both the district court and the Tenth

Circuit, but the Tenth Circuit did not reach these issues in its

opinion. See, e.g., Plaintiffs’ (Petitioners’) Appellate Brief

(10th Cir.) at 26-28, filed October 29, 2000.

The court of appeals’ holdings further merit this

Court’s immediate review because the Tenth Circuit’s

opinion will be added to the federal government's litany

of inapposite case citations on the proper interpretation

of the doctrine of nonjusticiability of political questions

and on the proper classification of cases falling within the

parameters of that doctrine. Most of the cases cited in the

government's briefs and in the Tenth Circuit’s opinion on

this point did not, in their holdings, reflect prudential

judicial abstention from affairs constitutionally confided

to the elective branches of government; in fact, in most of

those cases, including the granddaddies of them all, the

U.S. Supreme Court actually reached decisions on the

merits. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803).

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962). INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S.

919 (1983). The government’s argument, inferentially sus-

tained by the Tenth Circuit, is that if, within the decision

of a political question case, any rule of decision is cited

whatsoever that points toward “prudential abstention,”

then that reference overrides any contrary or stronger

reasoning process or rule by which this Court ultimately

found that it was required to reach a decision on the

merits and in fact did so. But that is exactly what hap-

pened in the leading cases just cited. The merits were

reached in each instance.

The court of appeals’ holdings merit. this Court’s

immediate review because the Tenth Circuit misconstrued

the nature of the relief sought, which never was for an

injunction of broader scope than the relevant court’s

jurisdiction would support (e.g., a moratorium on all farm

15

foreclosures within the territory of the Tenth Circuit). If

the Petitioners’ case succeeded, other plaintiffs in other

districts or circuits could file analogous petitions of their

own, if they wished, but the Petitioners did not ask any

federal court to overreach its own jurisdiction. Similarly,

the precise targets of such an injunction (i.e., all federally

funded farm mortgages vs. all federally insured or guar-

anteed farm mortgages vs. all farm mortgages from any

source) clearly were intended from the pleadings to be

whatever set of institutions would comport with the

court’s jurisdiction and the identity of the entities plausi-

bly said to have their interests in this litigation repre-

sented by the U.S. Department of Justice (a category that

clearly would include all federally funded farm mort-

gages and, probably, all federally insured or guaranteed

farm mortgages).

The court of appeals’ holding also merits this Court's

immediate review because it misconstrues Petitioners’

takings claim. Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169, 1176-1177

(Pet. App. at la, 14a-16a). Ordinarily, a takings claim

involving a property rights interest receives heightened

scrutiny because of the fundamental nature of the life,

liberty, or, in this instance, property interest involved.

The Tenth Circuit apparently reasoned that property

rights claims nearly always state a claim for money dam-

ages or their equivalent, which emphatically was not the

case here. Monetary claims arising from property, the

Tenth Circuit apparently reasoned, must be filed under a

different set of federal jurisdictional statutes related to

the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. Section 1491 (Pet. App. at

63a-64a). Also, the Tenth Circuit found Petitioners’ tak-

ings claim time-barred under 28 U.S.C. Section 2401 (Pet.

App. at 65a). Finally, the Tenth Circuit might have been

led astray into the morass of Tucker Act cases by inap-

posite analogy to 28 U.S.C. Section 2409a (Pet. App. at

65a-67a), which deals with quiet title actions against the

United States and jurisdiction of other types of real prop-

erty claims where the matter at issue is actual legal title to

real estate. Instead, Petitioners’ case involves statutory or

16

regulatory actions precluding unfettered use and enjoy-

ment of real property interests, which is what AAA actu-

ally accomplished, instead of the actual nationalization of

all U.S. farm land, which some New Dealers allegedly

advocated. Upon inspection, the Tucker Act generally

applies to claims for monetary damages arising from tort

and contract claims against the United States. It is far

from clear that jurisdiction in the U.S. Court of Claims

under the Tucker Act would have been appropriate for

statutory and regulatory takings raising constitutional

issues (e.g., the nondelegation principle) and seeking no

monetary relief in this instance. Similarly, the statutes of

limitations prescribed in 28 U.S.C. Sections 2401 and

2409a (Pet. App. at 65a-67a) simply are inapplicable to

claims of the Petitioners’ types, which do not involve

federal tort or contract claims, or federal takings of actual

legal title to land (other than via mortgage foreclosures).

3. Note on Federal Jurisdiction

The bases cited for federal jurisdiction in the court of

first instance, here the U.S. District Court for the District

of Colorado, were 28 U.S.C. Section 1331 (Pet. App. at

63a) and 5 U.S.C. Section 702 (Pet. App. at 22a). The first

statute covers general federal questions. The factual basis

asserted for the Petitioners’ case is the failure of the four-

part compensatory scheme for the federal statutory and

regulatory taking of U.S. farmers’ production rights in

the AAA. The four-part scheme was intended to be the

“just compensation” that would save the constitutionality

of the taking. See, e.g., Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr., The

Coming of the New Deal 35-36 (1959). See also, U.S. Consti-

tution, Amend. V (due process and takings clauses) (Pet.

App. at 20a) and Amend. XIV, Sec. 1 (privileges and

immunities and due process clauses) (Pet. App. at

20a-21a).

The second statute, 5 U.S.C. Section 702, confers

jurisdiction on the federal courts for claims requesting

17

declaratory or injunctive relief and not monetary dam-

ages (the precise forms of relief requested here) and

waives the federal government’s claim of sovereign

immunity in appropriate cases. At issue in the district

court (although not addressed in the Tenth Circuit’s opin-

ion) was the federal government's contention that the

first proviso of this statute denies jurisdiction if another

statute (i.., 31 U.S.C. Section 5302 (a)(2) [Pet. App. at

69a]) expressly precludes judicial review. Essentially, the

government’s argument was that the ESF’s governing

statute precludes judicial review by language stating that

decisions of the President and Secretary of the Treasury

in this area “may not be reviewed by any other officer or

employee of the Government.” Petitioners’ reply essen-

tially is to the effect that federal judges ordinarily are not

considered “officers or employees of the Government,”

which is language evoking the executive, not the judicial,

| branch of the federal government, and that preclusion of

judicial review is so extraordinary a constitutional step

that statutes of that nature should express judicial preclu-

“sion explicitly and not merely by implication.

The other principal jurisdictional argument in the

district court involved the propriety of Petitioners’ invo-

cation of 5 U.S.C. Section 702 (Pet. App. at 22a) regarding

either the President, who generally is held not to be the

head of an agency subject to judicial review under this

statute, or the heads of cabinet’departments (also claimed

not to be agencies subject to judicial review). Petitioners

conceded that jurisdiction over the President is difficult

and usually is reserved only for grand cases like Nixon v.

United States, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) (the presidential tapes

case), but Petitioners argued that, as Nixon shows, such

jurisdiction is not completely unknown. Also, Petitioners

contended that, with respect to cabinet departments

(Treasury and Agriculture) and agencies like the ESF and

OTR that predated the Administrative Procedure Act,

their official actions may be reviewed by the federal

courts and in fact are reviewed by the courts. In Youngs-

town Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer (Steel Seizures case), 343

18

U.S. 579 (1952), for example, the named party defendant

in an injunctive action not unlike the present one was the

Secretary of Commerce, who was charged with imple-

menting the contested seizures of the struck steel com-

panies.

In any event, the Tenth Circuit decided the Peti-

tioners’ case on other grounds (especially the political

question doctrine) and did not reach a decision on the

narrow jurisdictional points. Inferentially, however, both

the district court and the Tenth Circuit might be viewed

as having found a sufficient statutory basis for jurisdic-

tion in this case because, unless Petitioners are pro-

foundly mistaken in this regard, a federal court ordinarily

would find that it has no statutory jurisdiction first,

before moving on to decide jurisdictional issues on

grounds like the political question doctrine. Indeed, Peti-

tioners have the impression that the political question

doctrine normally is couched in terms of refraining from

the exercise of jurisdiction that otherwise might attach

due to prudential concerns about impinging on decisions

properly conferred on the elected branches of govern-

ment. See, e.g., Alexander M. Bickel, The Least Dangerous

Branch 125-126, 184 (2d ed. 1986).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Petition for Certiorari should be granted for four

reasons initially suggested in the second numbered sub-

division of the Statement of the Case above. First, the

Tenth Circuit’s holding in the Petitioners’ case below

tends to confirm the executive branch in the unfortunate

and unconstitutional trend originally set in motion by

Justice Sutherland’s dictum in Curtiss-Wright that any

action arising from domestic economic activity, no matter

how purely and inherently domestic, may be regulated

and its product seized by the executive in pursuit of

allegedly foreign affairs goals, in which the executive

allegedly is supreme and unchallengeable. Under the

Curtiss-Wright doctrine, the President allegedly exercises

19

a “very delicate, plenary and exclusive power .. . as the

sole organ of the federal government in the field of interna-

tional relations.” (Emphasis added.) 299 U.S. 304, 320. A

second reason for granting the writ that is comprehended

within the first reason is the violation of the nondelegation

principle that is raised by the delegation of sole authority

over the operations of the ESF and the OTR to the execu-

tive branch, permanently in both cases, without an articu-

lated intelligible principle (ESF) or with an arguably

intelligible principle that is violated constantly without

consequences (OTR), and without congressional review

through the appropriations process (ESF), while the Con-

stitution explicitly delegates these operations to the legis-

lative branch alone (regulation of foreign exchange and

foreign commerce). See, Justice Thomas’s concurrence in

Whitman, 531 U.S. 457, 121 S.Ct. 903, 919-920 (Pet. App.

79a-80a).

The second overall reason for granting the writ is the

district court’s and Tenth Circuit’s misapplication of the

“prudential abstention” rules of the political question

doctrine to a case of the Petitioners’ type: Most of the

standard political question cases involve advocacy of

enactment of a particular policy approach where an

opposing or no policy apparatus already exists. But in

this case, Petitioners neither advocate that a new policy

be adopted nor ask the federal courts to legislate; rather,

they advocate that policies already declared be pursued

and that statutes already enacted be enforced. The four-

part compensatory scheme described in the first num-

bered subdivision of the Statement of the Case above is

not a mere legislative or policy proposal: It is emphat-

ically already the law of the land for U.S. agriculture, and

it is not being enforced. Thus, the standard form of politi-

cal question analysis is inapplicable to Petitioners’ case,

even ignoring the misinterpretations of what this Court

actually said and did in the standard litany of political

question cases: Marbury, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137; Baker, 369

U.S. 186; Chadha, 462 U.S. 919; and progeny.

20

The third overall reason for granting the writ is the

district court’s and Tenth Circuit’s misinterpretation of

their capacities to grant the forms of relief requested, an

injunction against farm mortgage foreclosures and a

declaratory judgment to the effect that parity pricing

principles continue to be the underlying agricultural law

of the land. This Court’s upholding of farm mortgage

foreclosure moratoria is precedented. See, e.g., Home

Building & Loan Ass‘n v. Blaisdell, 290 U.S. 398 (1934)

(validation of a Minnesota state mortgage foreclosure

moratorium statute). Regarding the requested declaratory

judgment, this Court has issued rulings on the constitu-

tionality of AAA many times, generally sustaining it. See,

Butler v. United States, 297 U.S. 1 (1936) (processing tax

under AAA was invalid, but parity pricing principle itself

was not so far invalidated that Congress could not re-

enact AAA). But see, later cases in which the AAA

(including, parity itself) has been vindicated. Wickard v.

Filburn, 317 U.S. 111 (1942) (validity of AAA in intrastate

commerce). Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943) (uphold-

ing validity of the so-called single plan for parity). Barlow

v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970) (Secretary of Agriculture’s

regulations affecting assignability of parity payments to

tenant farmers could be reviewed in the federal courts).

West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 512 U.S. 186, 188-189

(1994) (various Massachusetts restrictions on out-of-state

milk were unconstitutional burdens on interstate com-

merce). Glickman v. Wileman Bros. & Elliott, Inc., 521 U.S.

457, 461-462 (1997) (marketing ordrs for fruits and nuts

are still valid exercises of regulatory. authority under

AAA). Thus, there are ample precedents for both of the

requested forms of relief.

The fourth and final overall reason for granting the

writ is that the Tenth Circuit’s opinion misconstrues Peti-

tioners’ takings claim as a claim for money damages

(which it emphatically is not) and applies statutory anal-

ysis to the claim that would be appropriate only for tort

or contract claims under the Tucker Act and also applies

21

statutes of limitation to the claim that would be appropri-

ate only for actual governmental takings of legal title to

property. The taking in Petitioners’ case is a statutory or

regulatory taking of a subset of property rights regarding

use (production rights on the property) instead of an

actual taking of legal title. An apposite analogy is the line

of reasoning of this Court in Lucas v. South Carolina

Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1019 (1992) (when the

owner of real property has been called upon to sacrifice

all economically beneficial uses in the name of the com-

mon good, he has suffered a taking). Brief explanation of

these four reasons for granting the writ follows.

I. The Decision Below Grants the Executive Branch

Unfettered Discretion to Regulate Domestic Eco-

nomic Activity in the Name of Foreign Affairs

A. Conduct of Foreign Affairs Impinges on Domes- |

tic Agricultural Economy

Justice Sutherland’s famous dictum in Curtiss-Wright,

299 U.S. 304, 320, regarding the President’s “very deli-

cate, plenary and exclusive power” in foreign affairs

should have been challenged more vigorously from the

outset in light of the prior tradition of shared respon-

sibility with Congress, at least regarding the making of

treaties. U.S. Constitution, Art. II, Sec. 2, cl. 2 (Pet. App.

at 20a) (treaties require the concurrence of two-thirds of

the Senate). To the extent that modern cases have built on

this dictum, they have created a situation in which the

executive branch increasingly and solely makes economic

policy decisions affecting domestic economic activity,

which normally would be outside the scope of foreign

affairs. In this instance, decisions of the executive affect-

ing both prices paid and prices received by U.S. farmers,

principally implemented through the Treasury and the

Department of Agriculture, but to a significant extent

through the OTR also, have been raised by the federal

government'’s briefs to the unquestionable status of holy

writ: Unfortunately, the Tenth Circuit, while apparently

ve tl

22

sympathetic to the plight of small family farmers, has

elected not to question the nexus between the executive’s

conduct of foreign affairs and the prices paid and

received by farmers. This issue was briefed fully for the

courts below: The United States has pursued a bifurcated

policy since about 1995 in which the interests of domestic

farmers are deliberately sacrificed for larger foreign pol-

icy goals, sometimes disguised as the liberalization of

international trade, which this bifurcated policy is not.

On one hand, open-market operations of the Federal

Reserve Banks, conducted through the Federal Open

Market Committee, have led to an increase of the U.S.

dollar index quoted on the New York Board of Trade and

daily in the financial sections of major newspapers, a

rough proxy for the foreign exchange value of the dollar,

from about 95 in 1995, roughly the beginning of the

current phase of U.S. farmers’ economic difficulties, to

about 116 in mid-November 2001. That index was already

above 100 (1973 is the base year) in 1999, when the

Petitioners sent a notice of the causes of their complaint

to the relevant federal departments and agencies, includ-

ing the Executive Office of the President. By March 2001,

the time of oral argument in this case in the Tenth Circuit,

the index stood at 112. On the Federal Reserve’s role, see

12 U.S.C. Sections 225a, 241, and 355 (Pet. App. at

51a-54a). In briefs below, the government has contended

that the President is the federal official ultimately respon-

sible for the nation’s monetary policy, which is not

entirely correct respecting the Federal Reserve’s role in

domestic monetary policy but might be correct (stat-

utorily, even if not constitutionally) respecting the foreign

exchange value of the dollar, at least since 1934.

On the other hand, since 1995, the Treasury, operat-

ing through the ESF (which it totally controls) and the

IMF (in which it holds an 18 percent blocking veto, or de

facto control), has extended tens of billions of dollars of

bailout funds to foreign countries devaluing their curren-

cies as a condition of obtaining the IMF's assistance.

Several of those countries are direct competitors of U.S.

23

farmers, including Mexico (fruits, vegetables, and cattle),

Argentina (corn, wheat, sheep, and cattle), Brazil (soy-

beans and cattle), and Turkey (wheat). Other countries

have had major currency devaluations but without ESF or

IMF assistance, including Canada (wheat) and Australia

(sheep, wheat, corn, and cattle). The use of the Treasury’s

funds to assist these countries amounts to forcing U.S.

farmers to subsidize their biggest foreign competitors.

Also, the OTR has negotiated major trade agreements

since 1993 with several countries with similar competitive

profiles: Chile (fruits and vegetables), Colombia (fruits

and cut flowers), and Mexico (see above). In these

instances, tariff barriers against foreign food and fiber

imports into the United States are reduced, but the dollar

appreciation offsets any advantage that U.S. producers

might expect to obtain from being able to export to the

other country. Thus, foreign affairs intrude into the.

domestic U.S. agricultural economy.

B. The Nondelegation Principle Is Violated

The statutory delegations of sole conduct of the oper-

ations of the ESF and the OTR to the executive branch

violate the general principles of separation of powers and

specific constitutional provisions. The Constitution, Art.

I, Sec. 8, cl. 5 (Pet. App. at 19a), delegates the regulation

of foreign exchange, implicitly treating it as a commercial

activity, to Congress, not the executive. The regulation of

foreign trade (Art. I, Sec. 8, cl. 3, in Appendix at 19a) also

is delegated to Congress in the same clause that delegates

the regulation of domestic trade. It is an overreaching of

executive branch power to treat these matters as exclu-

sively executive and somehow falling under the rubric of

the general executive power, as the government con-

tended in the courts below. See, U.S. Constitution, Art. II,

See. 3, 4.1.

Both instances, foreign exchange and foreign trade,

involve matters that are inherently legislative and that

24

become executive only by legislative acquiescence. Unfor-

tunately, that acquiescence frequently occurs. To be tradi-

tionally constitutional, these delegations should require

an initial reporting line of responsibility to Congress, not

to the executive, periodic appropriations (this is done for

the OTR but not for the ESF), and either a predetermined

cessation date or a procedure by which Congress could

reclaim these powers. However, these functions are dele-

gated permanently to the ESF and OTR, with inadequate

standards of accountability and review to Congress, and

outside the appropriations process for the ESF. The for-

eign affairs power should not include commercial powers

that constitutionally belong to Congress instead. See gen-

erally, Harold Hongju Koh, The National Security Constitu-

tion: Sharing Power After the Iran-Contra Affair (1990),

especially at 38-100, 134-149. See also, Richard H. Fallon,

Jr., Daniel J. Meltzer, and David L. Shapiro, Hart &

Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and the Federal System 289-293

(4th ed. 1996) (hereinafter Hart & Wechsler). Both Koh and

Hart & Wechsler are properly critical of the general judi-

cial acquiescence in the executive’s power grab for con-

trol of foreign commercial matters under the rubric of

foreign affairs, an expansion of the Curtiss-Wright doc-

trine.2 The gist of these citations from Koh and Hart &

Wechsler, and the cases discussed there is clearly antithe-

tical to the citations relied upon in the Tenth Circuit’s

opinion on these points, Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169,

1174-1176. See, e.g., Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 996 (1979)

(Justice Rehnquist ruled on the merits that the president

—

3 Koh writes, supra, at 94:

Among government attorneys, Justice Sutherland’s

lavish description of the president’s powers is so

often quoted that it has come to be known as the

“ ‘Curtiss-Wright, so I'm right,’ cite” — a statement of

deference to the president so sweeping as to be

worthy of frequent citation in any government

foreign affairs brief.

25

could not terminate a treaty already approved by Con-

gress); Japan Whaling Ass'n v. American Cetacean Society,

478 U.S. 221 (1986) (Supreme Court reviewed on the

merits Secretary of Commerce’s decision in a Japanese

whaling case allegedly having a delicate posture for

Japan-U.S. foreign relations).

Koh, supra, at 148, summarizes the argument for

granting the writ of certiorari on this first point as fol-

lows:

[T]he trend toward executive insulation from

judicial review in foreign affairs is a relatively

recent development, which finds little support

in our constitutional traditions. Since the found-

ing of the National Security Constitution [1947],

the courts have played a pivotal role in main-

taining the constitutional equilibrium of the

national security system: That role has required

judges to police the boundaries of the branches’

authority in foreign affairs to maintain the con-

stitutional principle of balanced institutional

participation. Particularly when Congress legis-

lates a framework statute governing executive

decisions, those decisions should remain fully

subject to judicial review. Thus, the recent for-

eign-affairs cases in which courts have abs-

tained from such review ultimately betray not

doctrinal fidelity, but reflexive timidity.

Finally, on this first reason for granting the writ, the

permanent delegation to the executive of legislative

branch powers textually committed to Congress, com-

bined with inadequate or no articulated standards of

review of executive branch action (ESF) or minimally

articulated standards that apparently are consistently

ignored (OTR) raises all the issues that Justice Thomas

mentioned in Whitman, citing Hampton, 531 U.S. 457, 121

S.Ct. 903, 919-920 (Pet. App. at 79a-80a); 276 U.S. 394, 409.

If this Court ever wished to deal with the clearest exam-

ple of breach of the nondelegation doctrine, the Peti-

tioners’ case presents such an example.

26

II. Prudential Abstention Principles Said to Be

Embedded Within the Nonjusticiable Political

Question Doctrine Prove on Closer Inspection to Be

Inapplicable to Petitioners’ Case, but Tenth Circuit

Will Buttress Other Misled Circuits on This Issue

The lower courts have misapplied the principle of

prudential abstention and the doctrine of nonjusticiable

political questions in Petitioners’ case. See, Schroder v.

Bush, 263 F.3d 1163, 1173-1176. First, the standard politi-

cal question doctrine as articulated in the government's

briefs and in the Tenth Circuit’s opinion implies that

contestants are merely seeking relief in a judicial forum

that, because of conflicting interests with other members

of society, contestants should seek in a political forum

instead, through one or more of the elected branches of

government. In fact, Petitioners have sought and continue

to seek political relief for the plight of U.S. farmers,

including themselves, but they also seek enforcement of

policies already decided upon and statutes already

enacted. Parity and the four-part compensatory scheme

already have been enacted .— Petitioners have nothing to

advocate in the legislative branch except commissions of

inquiry to find out why the standing policy has not been

implemented. Thus, the interests ordinarily served by a

policy of prudential judicial abstention are absent here.

Regarding the misinterpretation and misapplication

of the political question doctrine generally, critics of the

doctrine observe that, in fact, this Court usually has

actually reached the merits of the cases most often cited

in favor of abstention. In Marbury, Baker, and Chadha, the

Court decided the cases on the merits. 5 U.S. (1 Cranch)

137; 369 U.S. 186; 462 U.S. 919. Koh observes, supra, at

135, that throughout the early development of modern

national security practices, this Court almost always

reached the merits of the cases. This aspect began to

change only with the issuance of dicta in Chicago & S. Air

Lines v. Waterman S.S. Corp., 333 U.S. 103, 111 (1948),

asserting the nonreviewability of executive branch foreign

27

affairs matters, one year into the Cold War. But the contrary

principle (presumption in favor of reviewability) persisted

through Youngstown, 343 U.S. 579 (1952), suffering a severe

setback only when Dames & Moore v. Regan was decided. 453

U.S. 654 (1981). Despite the obvious foreign affairs connec-

tion in Dames & Moore (regarding U.S. claims on Iran during

the hostage seizures), this Court reached the merits and

found that Congress had acquiesced so fully as to be deemed

to have approved the President’s actions there under the

International Emergency Economic Powers Act (IEEPA). 50

U.S.C. Sections 1701-1706 (Pet. App. at 71a-78a). By the time

Chadha was reached, supra, this Court still decided the case

on the merits but basically prohibited Congress from exercis-

ing legislative control over various aspects of the President's

control of foreign affairs. The important principle to be

observed here is that the federal courts should entertain the

Petitioners’ case on the merits and should not decline to hear .

it on some mistaken notion that the merits never are reached

in foreign affairs cases. On the contrary: Such cases fre-

quently (perhaps usually) reach the merits, and this Court

needs to say so to prevent the Ninth, Tenth, Eleventh, and

D.C. Circuits from persisting in ruling that such cases should

not reach the merits. See, Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169,

1173-1176.

III. This Court Can and Should Grant the Forms of Relief

Requested

This Court clearly has the capacity to issue an injunction

prohibiting farm foreclosures, at least in the territory of the

Tenth Circuit where all Petitioners reside, until the executive

and legislative branches certify to the Court that they have

reached a common position on farm foreclosures in light of

other policies that Congress has approved and that the Exec-

utive Branch has implemented. Basically if in 1996 the pro-

duction controls of AAA were lifted from U.S. agriculture

under the Freedom to Farm Act, which largely was a con-

gressional decision, it then made little or no sense for the

Treasury (ESF) to undo the market competitiveness of U.S.

28

farmers by subsidizing imports of grains and other covered

commodities and crops. Even if the ESF effected no such

subsidy directly itself, the net effect of the Treasury's foreign

exchange policies since 1995 has been to cheapen the price of

imported goods and services and to drive up the dollar’s

value.

The unreconciled division of agricultural policy between

Congress (running fast to fill the hole in domestic agri-

cultural payments that executive branch policies have cre-

ated) and the executive means that the ills of which

Petitioners initially complained formally in 1999 will con-

tinue for the indefinite future. Under precedents such as

Blaisdell, supra, 290 U.S. 398, this Court may validate mort-

gage foreclosure moratoria. Under precedents like Parker, 317

U.S. 341, this Court also may issue a declaratory judgment to

the effect that parity is the law of the land, as well. The forms

of relief requested below are within the capacity of this

Court to grant.

IV. The Tenth Circuit Has Misconstrued Petitioners’ Tak-

‘ ings Claim, Which Is a Statutory or Regulatory Tak-

ings Claim Analogous to the Lucas Case

Perhaps led to this conclusion by the government's

briefs, the Tenth Circuit’s opinion misconstrues Petitioners’

takings claims (5th and 14th Amendments) as claims for

money damages, when they are in fact claims for injunctive

and declaratory relief only. The statutes and cases cited

apparently reflected a desire on the part of the Tenth Circuit

for a more elaborate development of a takings argument in

the case below. See, Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169, 1176-1177.

But, as was noted at oral argument in the Tenth Circuit, there

never was a hearing in the district court, and, thus, only

issues raised by the government were briefed responsively

by Petitioners.

The Tenth Circuit noted that Petitioners’ amended com-

plaint contained references to the nature of the case as a

takings claim at 6, 25-26. On appeal, Petitioners concentrated

their energies in overcoming the district court’s dismissal on

29

political question grounds and for failure to state a claim on

which relief could be granted, there being no comment on

the takings claim in the district court’s opinion.

From the inception of the case, as the first numbered

subdivision of the statement of the case above makes plain,

Petitioners never argued that legal title to their property has

been taken by the government. Rather, it was argued,

throughout most of the AAA era, farmers’ production rights

(a distinctive form of property right) have been taken.

Regardless of how the taking occurred, it was supposed to

be compensated, and there was a failure of compensation.

The compensation was an elaborate, four-part scheme

designed to restore orderly marketing conditions in agricul-

ture, no part of which currently is being implemented as

originally intended.

Because of the complexity of the compensation plan,

Petitioners have always found in their public appearances .

that it was more important to explain the four-part compen-

sation scheme under AAA than to explain the taking of

farmers’ property rights (emphasis on the compensation

rather than on the taking). After all, it was argued, AAA, 7

U.S.C. Section 601 (Pet. App. at 25a), constituted the taking:

The executive and legislative proclamation of a national

emergency in agriculture and the impressment of agriculture

with the national interest. What was taken then was farmers’

production rights, thenceforth to be regulated closely by the

federal government.

This Court has held that the taking of the right to use

real property as one sees fit, especially for productive use, is

nevertheless a taking even if legal title does not pass to the

government. Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003, 1019 (1992). The sacrifice of economically beneficial

uses to the common good constitutes a taking. That is exactly

what befell U.S. agriculture on May 12, 1933: Nearly all

economically beneficial use according to one’s predilections

in agriculture ground rapidly to a halt.

This Court’s decision in Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S.

111 (1942), signaled that there was nearly no end to the

30

level of federal interference in minutely local agricultural

practices.

On its face, it appears that it would be impossible to

fit the taking in Petitioners’ case into the classic rubric of

a tort or contract claim under the Tucker Act or a quiet

title or other title action under 28 U.S.C. Sections 2401

and 2409a (Pet. App. at 65a-67a). The statutes of limita-

tions for such claims are irrelevant to Petitioners’ case.

Instead, Petitioners are stating an equitable claim for

equitable relief. Where the wrong alleged is a constitu-

tional violation (a taking in which there has been failure

of agreed compensation - there is no parity, even though

it is the law of the land) the request for equitable relief

may be stated even decades after the onset of the taking if

the lesson in McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.)

316 (1819), were taken literally: “It will not be denied,

that a bold and daring usurpation might be resisted, after

an acquiescence still longer and more complete than

this.” The constitutionality of the Bank of the United

States had been in issue since its founding in 1791. Yet, 28

years after the fact, Chief Justice Marshall was willing to

deal with the Bank’s constitutionality as though it were

freshly brought to his attention.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WALKER F. Topp

Counsel of Record

Attorney at Law

1164 Sheerbrook Drive

Chagrin Falls, Ohio 44022

(440) 338-1169

Attorney for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF APPENDIX

PAGE(S)

Copy of Order Appealed From: Opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit Decided and Filed August 24, 2001, Pub-

lished as Schroder v. Bush, 263 F.3d 1169 (10th

CO BOGE) have etac eben viees Cicdeesetcccedencetees la

Copy of Order Appealed to Tenth Circuit: Order

of the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Colorado Dated and Filed July 6, 2000,

Unpublished .........cccccccescrevccccccvsvccces 17a

PROVISIONS OF U.S. CONSTITUTION CITED

OO errr rr rer rere Seevesenneuss 19a .

Se es Fe is, Bec Sa und a pdaeucidenensadenenteeees 19a

Pe EO. Bs A ccicccswesiecscenkeceseveceunsees 19a

ee We tee kuewy bee obeeokeeseean 19a

nS OE OM hs is ise seen bene vie weesseseceeevete 19a

es ee ods ced ce VEGU MU awe tebe bceeseeens 19a

Ce ee, OD ob xs hawbe 00s «00 60 en ccevevéavvs 19a

Art. II, sec. 2, Cl. 2... .++eeeeeeeeereee beeviewiwseed 20a

ee aap haw are wet needesbesssere 20a

AMENDMENTS TO U.S. CONSTITUTION CITED

Amend. V (due process and takings clauses)....... 20a

er ec eee cence s eeee es 20a

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF APPENDIX - Continued

PAGE(S)

U.S. STATUTES CITED

5 UBC. Gertie TOs oo ccccccciccesectovecnccescvces 22a

FT UBL. Gecthath Zl c ccccccccvevsccssscovsvaveacenvs 22a

7 USE. Geetha Fae o ccccccccvcsoscscesescsseccecess 23a

7 PEGE. Geethees GE o ccccccccsccceccsossvvnevsssees 25a

7 U.S.C. Section 602 ...........- pacdcadbabacdwelens 26a

7 USE. Gartiam GIB occ cccccecevcsesevecvesessceses 28a

7 USC. Saction 1901 ..cvccrcvccscesvecvecccesevess 29a

7 USGL. Gertie 1GGD «co cvcccccvesscvcevcescrvcseses 45a

7 USGL. Section SO71 .cccccccsccsvccsccscccceveeses 46a

7 USK. Geetha TOE occvccccsvscccdenssvecaveveses 48a

12 USC. Sectiom ZAG oc ceccsccvceccccccescceceses 5la

12 USC. Sectiom BE .. evcccvevercccceveccscvecseses 52a

12 US.C. Section BSS .occccccccsccesccsescevesesees 52a

15 UBC. Sortie Fo. ccccccsccdvcvcevesecesvcsececs 54a

15 UBC. Sarthe 1B. occcccccccecsvcavcccsscetuenss 54a

15 USG.C. Sectlom 1OZZc .. .ccccccvcvcccesccccccvcves 57a

19 USC. Gectiom 1501 ..cccccccescccsccncvcccvceses 58a

2B USC. Soatiem Tbe cccoccecccccccvessveserseves 62a

2B USL. Gectiom 15GB cc ccc cccceTeccccesseccssnees 63a

25 USGL. Be BEE ccc cccscvvcccvccecsvvsccsvese 63a

28 UGC. Gestion BOGE occcivccccncccccceviseceesess 65a

28 U.S.C. Section BAGIR . .cccccccvescsiccsccescesess 65a

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF APPENDIX - Continued

PAGE(S)

31 US.C. Section S301 .......cccccccccccevccsecvess 67a

31 U.S.C. Section 5302 ..........cceeecceeeeceeenees 69a

31 U.S.C. Section 5304 ....cccccccccccscccesesecvess 7la

50 U.S.C. Section 1701 ......... cee ceece reece cceens 71la

50 U.S.C. Section 1702 ..........cecceccceeccseceees 72a

50 U.S.C. Section 1703 .......... eee eee e ec eeeeees 75a

50 U-S.C. Section 1704 .........cceccccccceecccvcees 76a

50 U.S.C. Section 1706 ......... cece cece cece eeceees 77a

Concurring Opinion of Justice Thomas in Whitman

o. Amer. Trucking Ass'n, Inc., 531 U.S. 457, 121

SOs GED COG)... cccccccccccsssvcsevevcesscovees 79a

la

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

Eugene SCHRODER; Edwin Petrowsky;

R. Russell Grider; and Wesley Myers,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

George W. BUSH, President of the United States;

Ann M. Veneman, United States Secretary of Agriculture;

Paul H. O'Neill, United States Secretary of the Treasury;*

and United States of America, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 00-1357.

Aug. 24, 2001.

Walker Fowler Todd, Chagrin Falls, OH, for Plaintiffs-

Appellants.

Peter J. Krumholz, Assistant United States Attorney

(Thomas L. Strickland, United States Attorney, with him on

the brief), Denver, CO, for Defendants-Appellees.

Before EBEL, Circuit Judge, McWILLIAMS, Senior

Circuit Judge, and BRIMMER,”** District Judge.

EBEL, Circuit Judge.

* Pursuant to Fed. R.App. P. 43(c)(2), George W. Bush is

substituted for William J. Clinton, President of the United

States; Ann M. Veneman is substituted for Daniel R. Glickman,

United States Secretary of Agriculture; and Paul H. O’Neill is

substituted for Lawrence Summers, United States Secretary of

the Treasury, as Defendants Appellees in this action.

** The Honorable Clarence A. Brimmer, Jr., United States

District Judge for the District of Wyoming, sitting by

designation.

2a

Appellants are farmers or ranchers who live and

work within the territorial boundaries of the Tenth Cir-

cuit and who seek declaratory and injunctive relief

against the President of the United States, the United

States Secretary of Agriculture, the United States Secre-

tary of the Treasury, and the United States of America

(collectively, “Appellees”). Appellants seek, in essence,

an order requiring Appellees and their agents to maintain

market conditions favorable to small farmers. The district

court dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction,

writing, “The Complaint seeks to have this court deter-

mine political questions which are properly addressed

[by] the elected branches of the government. This Court

has no jurisdiction over the discretionary acts of either.

Plaintiffs’ remedies are at the polling place, not the

courts.” Schroder v. Clinton, No. 00-CV-154 K (D.Colo. July

6, 2000) (hereinafter “D.Ct. Order”). We agree that Appel-

lants ask us to consider nonjusticiable political questions

and that Appellants must seek relief from the elected

branches of government. We therefore AFFIRM the dis-

trict court’s dismissal.}

1 Deeply rooted ambiguity in the nature and justification of

the political question doctrine has prevented clear classification

of the appropriate type of dismissal in political question cases.

See Wright, Miller & Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure:

Jurisdiction 2d § 3534.3, at 517-525 (2d ed. 1984) We agree with

Wright & Miller’s conclusion that, in the end, clear classification

is immaterial: “[TJhere is probably more room for confusion

than benefit in attempting to analogize [political question

dismissal] to dismissal for failure to state a claim, or to dismissal

for lack of jurisdiction. Some cases will be appropriate for

dismissal on the pleadings, others will require further

development... .” Id. at 525; cf. Daniel O. Bernstine, The Political

3a

BACKGROUND

A. Plight of the Small Farmer in America

Every branch of the federal government has recog-

nized how difficult it is for small farmers to make a living

by farming.? See William J. Clinton, State of the Union

Address of January 27, 2000, reprinted in 2000

U.S.C.C.A.N. D7, 2000 WL 85684, *11 (“[D]roughts,

floods, and historically low prices have made these times

very bad for the [family] farmers.”); S.J. Res. 171, 103rd

Cong. (1994) (1994) (joint proclamation of “Small Family

Farm Week”) (stating “the plight of the small family

farmer has been in jeopardy in recent times [and] many

small family farms continue to operate in the face of

financial and credit difficulties”); Mulroy v. Block, 574

F.Supp. 194, 195-96 (N.D.N.Y.1983) (“[I]n a time when this

nation is experiencing the decline and threatened extinc-

tion of the individual farmer, it is particularly disturbing

to see legislation such as this which will undoubtedly

have a devastating effect on the small scale dairy farmers

of this nation.”); In re Moeller, No. 90-35017, 1990 WL

208617, at *1 (9th Cir. Dec.14, 1990) (“Appellants made

Question Doctrine: A Perspective on its Procedural Ramifications, 31

U. Kan. L.Rev. 115, 129-30 (1982) (concluding that dismissal for

subject matter jurisdiction is appropriate if the claims fall within

an established category of political questions or are frivolous,

but that, otherwise, dismissal for failure to state a claim is

appropriate).

2 Indeed, three of the four Appellants have other jobs

besides farming: Schroder is also a veterinarian; Petrowsky is

also a nuclear engineer and aerial photographer; and Myers has

also been a county sheriff.

4a

spirited arguments before this court regarding the plight

of family farmers who have successfully farmed the same

land for generations. We sympathize with their con-

cerns.”). In a similar case from 1988, we acknowledged

our awareness of “the serious plight of the family farmer

in America. We sympathize with farmers struggling to

secure their livelihoods and, more fundamentally per-

haps, maintain their way of life.” Schroder v. Volcker, 864

F.2d 97, 99 (10th Cir.1988).° A 1998 report from the United

States Department of Agriculture demonstrates that,

more than a decade after Schroder, times are still hard for

small farmers in America: “Today, we have 300,000 fewer

farmers than in 1979, and farmers are receiving 13 per-

cent less for every consumer dollar. Four firms now con-

trol over 80 percent of the beef market. About 94 percent

of the Nation’s farms are small farms, but they receive

only 41 percent of all farm receipts.” Nat. Comm’n on

Small Farms, U.S. Dep’t of Agric., A Time to Act: A Report

of the USDA National Commission on Small Farms, at 8

(Jan.1998).

We remain sympathetic to the plight of the small

farmer, but we also remain in agreement with the judg-

ment of both the district court in this case and the Schro-

der court thirteen years ago: “[W]e believe the issues

3 Despite the superficial similarities in Schroder v. Volcker

and Schroder v. Volcker of name and kind of case, see 864 F.2d at

98 (“Plaintiffs’ claims constitute a broad scale attack against the

agricultural credit system in particular, and the American

banking and economic systems in general.”), the two cases do

not seem related. Appellants’ first names in Schroder v. Volcker

were Derral and Gladys, while the Schroder in this case is

named Eugene.

.

5a

raised by plaintiffs in this suit are basically political ques-

tions which must be resolved in the legislative arena.”

Schroder, 864 F.2d at 99.4

B. Relief Sought by Appellants

Appellants - Eugere Schroder from Campo, Colo-

rado; Edwin Petrowsky from Pratt, Kansas; R. Russell

Grider from Clovis, New Mexico; and Wesley Myers from

Clovis, New Mexico - sought “a moratorium on farm

foreclosures® and an order requiring the President, Secre-

tary of the Treasury, Secretary of Agriculture, and their

agents to control United States currency and to maintain

market conditions so as to be favorable to American

farmers.” They admitted that controlling currency and

maintaining favorable market conditions “would require

4 Appellants acknowledge that they have sought relief via

political channels. Despite their initial lack of success, we

believe our constitutional system requires that they stay that

course.

5 In their Complaint, Appellants sought a moratorium on

“all agricultural foreclosures and forced sales caused by lack of

purchasing power parity.” On appeal, however, they refined

this prayer for relief to “a moratorium on federally funded farm

foreclosures.” We find the addition of no import, but even if we

did, generally we will not consider new theories on appeal. See

Okland Oil Co. v. Conoco Inc., 144 F.3d 1308, 1314 n. 4 (10th

Cir.1998). This observation - that we generally refuse to

consider new theories on appeal - applies with equal force to

the other minor changes Appellants made to their request for

relief on appeal. Because their requested relief, regardless of

whether they requested it in their Complaint or Opening Brief,

fits squarely within the political question doctrine, we do not

labor over the discrepancies.

6a

congressional or judicial review of agricultural product

and marketing controls, bilateral trade agreements that

affect U.S. agriculture, the activities of the Exchange Sta-

bilization Fund, and enforcement of the anti-trust laws by

the U.S. Department of Justice with respect to corporate

competitors of family farmers. ... ” They sought a

permanent injunction “requiring the Secretary of the

Treasury and the U.S. Trade Representative . . . of the

President to work together and cooperate in negotiating

and implementing foreign trade agreements” that would

benefit small farmers.

Appellants alleged that a national emergency in Agri-

culture was declared “on May 12, 1933, and has yet to be

terminated 66 years later,” and requested a declaratory

judgment that “the state of National Emergency declared

by Congressional Statute in 1933 still exists.” They also

demanded declaratory judgments that “sub-par agri-

cultural commodity prices shall be allowed as an affirma-

tive defense in any action for debt” and that “the event of

the commonly quoted U.S. dollar index . . . rising above

95 shall be allowed as an affirmative defense or as a basis

for a stay of proceedings for foreclosure [against any

individual, non-corporate U.S. farmer].”°

6 In addition, Appellants sought “a declaratory judgment

that parity pricing principles are the law of the land.” To

support this claim, they rely on the Agricultural Adjustment Act

(“AAA”) of 1933. The Senate Report from the Food, Agriculture,

Conservation, and Trade Act of 1990, however, explains that the

Supreme Court invalidated the production control provisions of

the 1933 Act, [so] Congress passed a second Agricultural

Adjustment Act in 1938. . . . The Agricultural Act of 1949

amended the 1938 Act to establish a permanent authority for

7a

S. Rep. No. 101-357, at 43-45 (1990). Thus, Appellants’

reliance on the 1933 AAA is misplaced. Furthermore, as

the Senate Report explained, over the years Congress has

enacted successive suspensions of the alleged parity pric-

ing requirement. Indeed, Appellants seem to acknowl-

edge that the AAA of 1933 affords them no legal relief. At

various points in their briefs Appellants complain about

how Congress has enacted “conflicting” legislation that

has permitted the Executive Branch to “pursue[ ] other

policies antithetical to parity pricing principles.”

Last, they contended the federal government has

effected a taking without paying just compensation in

violation of the Fifth Amendment.

DISCUSSION

A. The Political Question Doctrine

After reviewing Appellants’ prayer for relief, we are

convinced that the district court was correct to dismiss

Appellants’ claims as nonjusticiable political questions.

Since it is a legal question, we review de novo the appli-

cation of the political question doctrine. See Stuart v.

United States, 813 F.2d 243, 246 (9th Cir.1987), overruled on

other grounds by United States v. Stuart, 489 U.S. 353, 109

S.Ct. 1183, 103 L.Ed.2d 388 (1989).

parity-based price supports. However, since 1973, Congress has

amended the 1949 Act regularly with legislation that expires

after 4 or 5 years. Farm programs under these expiring

authorities have become quite different from the parity-based

programs of the 1930's and 1940's.

8a

Prudence, as well as separation-of-powers concerns,

counsels courts to decline to hear “political questions.”

See Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 210, 82 S.Ct. 691, 7 L.Ed.2d

663 (1962); Nixon v. United States, 506 U.S. 224, 252-53, 113

S.Ct. 732, 122 L.Ed.2d 1 (1993) (Souter, J., concurring in

the judgment); Alexander M. Bickel, The Least Dangerous

Branch 125-26, 184 (2d ed.1986).7 When deciding whether

issues present political questions, courts must make a

“discriminating inquiry into the precise facts and posture

of the particular case,” for it resists “resolution by any

semantic cataloguing.” Baker, 369 U.S. at 217, 82 S.Ct. 691.

As “there is no blanket rule,” id. at 215, 82 S.Ct. 691,

application of the doctrine must be made on a “case-by-

case” basis, id. at 211, 82 S.Ct. 691.

The tangled roots of the political question doctrine

stretch back ‘to Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137,

2 L.Ed. 60 (1803). See id. at 170 (“Questions, in their

nature political, or which are, by the constitution and

laws, submitted to the executive, can never be made in

this court.”); see also generally id. at 164-66. The most

thorough explication of the doctrine was provided in

Baker v. Carr, in which the Supreme Court gathered the

doctrine’s “analytical threads.” 369 U.S. at 211, 82 S.Ct.

691. It wrote, in this well-known passage,

7 To resolve this case we need not explore the

underpinnings of the doctrine. We merely note that “it is

uncertain whether the political question doctrine is

constitutional, prudential, or both.” Erwin Chemerinsky, Federal

Jurisdiction § 2.6, at 149 (3d ed.1999).

9a

Prominent on the surface of any case held to

involve a political question is found [1] a tex-

tually demonstrable constitutional commitment

of the issue to a coordinate political department;

or [2] a lack of judicially discoverable and man-

ageable standards for resolving it; or [3] the

impossibility of deciding without an initial pol-

icy determination of a kind clearly for nonjudi-

cial discretion; or [4] the impossibility of a

court’s undertaking independent resolution

without expressing lack of the respect due coor-

dinate branches of government; or [5] an

unusual need for unquestioning adherence to a

political decision already made; or [6] the poten-

tiality of embarrassment from multifarious pro-

nouncements by various departments on one

question.

Id. at 217, 82 S.Ct. 691.

We have no doubt that this case presents textbook

examples of political questions and thus that it was prop-

erly dismissed by the district court. The Constitution

commits to Congress the regulation of domestic and for-

eign commerce, see U.S. Const. art. L, § 8, cl.3, the estab-

lishment of bankruptcy law, see id. cl.4, and the regulation

of currency, see id. cl.5. To the President, the Constitution

commits the “Power, by and with the Advice and Consent

of the Senate, to make Treaties.” U.S. Const. art. II, § 2,

cl.2. “The Constitution confers a vast amount of power

upon the political branches of the federal government in

the area of foreign policy - particularly foreign com-

merce.” Made in the USA Foundation v. United States, 242

F.3d 1300, 1313 (11th Cir.2001) (gathering constitutional

provisions and Supreme Court cases). The Supreme Court

has recognized that “the President alone has the power to

10a

speak or listen as a representative of- the nation. He

makes treaties with the advice and consent of the Senate;

but he alone negotiates.” United States v. Curtiss-Wright

Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304, 319, 57 S.Ct. 216, 81 L.Ed. 255

(1936). “While the treaty power of the Executive

expressly involves the participation of the Legislature,

nowhere does the Constitution contemplate the participa-

tion by the third, non-political branch, that is the Judici-

ary, in any fashion in the making of international

agreements... . “ Antolok v. United States, 873 F.2d 369,

381 (D.C.Cir.1989) (opinion of Sentelle, J.). Besides this

evidence of a textual commitment to the political

branches of the regulation of domestic and foreign mar-

kets and currency, as well as the enactment of treaties and

trade agreements, it is clear to us that Appellants’ request

that courts maintain market conditions, oversee trade

agreements, and control currency - all to the advantage

of small farmers - would require courts to make “initial

policy determinations” in an area devoid of “judicially

discoverable and manageable standards” and where

“multifarious pronouncements by various departments”

would lead to confusion and disarray. As the Baker Court

explained, “The political question doctrine [is] a tool for

maintenance of governmental order,” 369 U.S. at 215, 82

S.Ct. 691, and this case exemplifies when that tool should

be employed. Courts are ill-equipped to make highly

technical, complex, and on-going decisions regarding

how to maintain market conditions, negotiate trade

agreements, and control currency. The political branches,

in contrast, retain just this sort of institutional compe-

tence. See Chicago & S. Air Lines v. Waterman S.S. Corp.,

333 U.S. 103, 111, 68 S.Ct. 431, 92 L.Ed. 568 (1948)

lla

(explaining that foreign policy decisions “are delicate,

complex, and involve large elements of prophecy... .

They are decisions of a kind for which the Judiciary has

neither aptitude, facilities nor responsibility and have

long been held to belong in the domain of political power

not subject to judicial intrusion or inquiry.”); see also

Curtis A. Bradley, Chevron Deference and Foreign Affairs, 86

Va. L.Rev. 649, 659-60 (2000) (describing the political

question doctrine in terms of the deference courts have

chosen to afford to the Executive Branch).

When we turn to other aspects of Appellants’ prayer

for relief, e.g., a moratorium on farm foreclosures® and

oversight of the Justice Department's enforcement of anti-

trust laws against agribusinesses,? we similarly find our-

selves enmeshed in the Baker threads. Again, the

Constitution commits to Congress the power to regulate

domestic commerce and bankruptcies. See U.S. Const. art.

I, § 8, cl.3 & cl.4. When and how banks may foreclose

upon farms unquestionably falls within those powers,

and nothing in existing bankruptcy law empowers us to

act here. The Constitution requires the President to “take

Care that the Laws be faithfully executed,” U.S. Const.

art. Il, § 3, and vests in the President the general “execu-

tive Power,” id. § 1, cl.1. Thus, there is a textual commit-

ment to the Executive Branch to enforce banking laws

8 Presumably, this request for relief would have to be

directed not against Appellees but against lending institutions

holding mortgages on small farms. That group has not been

named as a party.

9 Similarly, Appellants did not name the Attorney General

as a party.

12a

and to exercise prosecutorial discretion in bringing anti-

trust suits against agribusinesses. See United States v.

Renfro, 620 F.2d 569, 574 (6th Cir.1980) (“The decision of

whether or not to prosecute .. . is a decision firmly

committed by the constitution to the executive branch of

the government. . . . [I]ntervention by the court in the

internal affairs of the Justice Department would clearly

constitute a violation of the Separation of Powers Doc-

trine.”); United States v. Am. Tel. & Tel. Co., 714 F.2d 178,

182 (D.C.Cir.1983) (recognizing prosecutorial discretion).

Furthermore, Article III limits courts to adjudicating

cases and controversies, thereby precluding the sort of

judicial oversight of the political branches in which

Appellants invite us to engage. As the Supreme Court has

observed,

The political question doctrine excludes from

judicial review those controversies which

revolve around policy choices and value deter-

minations constitutionally committed for resolu-

tion to the halls of Congress or the confines of

the Executive Branch. The Judiciary is partic-

ularly ill suited to make such decision, as courts

are fundamentally underequipped to formulate

national policies or develop standards for mat-

ters not legal in nature.

Japan Whaling Ass'n v. Am. Cetacean Soc’y, 478 U.S.

221, 230, 106 S.Ct. 2860, 92 L.Ed.2d 166 (1986) (quotation

marks omitted).

Likewise, turning to Appellants’ request for a declar-

atory judgment that a 1933 national emergency still exists

and that low farm prices or a strong dollar are affirmative

defenses to actions to collect debt or to foreclose on farm

13a

property, Appellants in essence ask this court to re-for-

mulate national policies because Appellants disagree

with the policies instituted by the political branches.

Indisputably, that is not the role of the Judiciary in our

constitutional system.

Regarding the existence of another national emer-

gency, in that case war, the Supreme Court has refused

“to review the political departments’ determination

of when or whether a war has ended. Dominant is the

need for finality in the political determination, for emer-

gency’s nature demands ‘A prompt and unhesitating obe-

dience.’” Baker, 369 U.S. at 213, 82 S.Ct. 691 (quoting

Martin v. Mott, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat) 19, 30, 6 L.Ed. 537

(1827) (calling up of militia)). As with war, the need for

finality and certainty is critically important to determin-

ing whether a Depression-era national emergency has

ended, for many social programs hinged, directly or indi-

rectly, on that determination. Indeed, Appellants contend

that they have legal rights because the 1933 national

emergency remains on-going. Again, lack of legal stan-

dards and the necessity for the federal government to

speak with one voice militate in favor of leaving such

declarations to the political branches.

Appellants’ request that we declare the existence of

affirmative defenses to actions for debt or foreclosure is

nothing but a plea for the courts to legislate. Clearly, the

Constitution commits this power to Congress and the

President. See INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 945, 103 S.Ct.

2764, 77 L.Ed.2d 317 (1983) (“Explicit and unambiguous

provisions of the Constitution prescribe and define the

respective functions of the Congress and of the Executive

in the legislative process.”). Appellants present us with

l4a

no legal arguments as to why these affirmative defenses

allegedly exist; they merely assert that the defenses

should exist. Respect for the legislative process and sep-

aration of powers foreclose us from entertaining Appel-

lants’ suggestion. Deciding whether sound public policy

recommends such affirmative defenses is “an initial pol-

icy determination of a kind clearly for nonjudicial discre-

tion.” Baker, 369 U.S. at 217, 82 S.Ct. 691.

Appellants admit that “Executive Branch discretion

would be invaded” if this court granted the relief they

seek, but assert that it would be invaded “no further than

appropriate[ ].” For the foregoing reasons, we disagree.

Appellants ask us to invade inappropriately the prov-

inces of both the Legislative and Executive Branches. This

we decline to do.

B. Takings Claim

Appellants’ takings claim fails. First, despite coun-

sel’s initial statement at oral argument that “this is a

takings case,” it is unclear whether Appellants properly

presented this issue to this court on appeal. Appellants

mentioned takings language in their Complaint, see

Amended Complaint at 6, 25-26, but they discussed it

only tangentially on appeal, failing either to cite takings

cases or to develop any sort of argument. This is not

sufficient to preserve the issue for appeal. See Okland Oil

Co. v. Conoco Inc., 144 F.3d 1308, 1314 n. 4 (10th Cir.1998)

(“[D]iscussing a theory only in a vague and ambiguous

way below is not adequate to preserve issues for

appeal.”).

15a

Buttressing our conclusion that Appellants failed to

present a takings claim to the district court are Appel-

lants’ repeated assertions that “[they] seek no monetary

damages . . . but, rather, seek only declaratory and injunc-

tive relief.” Opening Brief at 1; see also Amended Com-

plaint at 4 (“[T]he relief requested is purely declaratory

or injunctive.”). Generally, the remedy for a govern-

mental taking is just compensation. See U.S. Const.

amend. V. Moreover, the district court’s order makes no

reference to such a claim. This court “should not be

considered ‘a second-shot’ forum . . . where secondary,

back-up theories may be mounted for the first time.” Tele-

Communications, Inc. v. Comm’r, 104 F.3d 1229, 1233 (10th

Cir.1997).

Even if Appellants properly preserved a takings

claim, that claim fails as premature. “(Tjaking claims

against the Federal Government are premature until the

property owner has availed itself of the process provided

by the Tucker Act.” Williamson County Reg’l Planning

Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 175, 105 S.Ct. 3108,

87 L.Ed.2d 126 (1985). Furthermore, Appellants brought

their takings claim in the wrong court: “The Tucker Act

provides jurisdiction in the United States Claims Court

for any claim against the Federal Government to recover

damages founded on the Constitution, a statute, a regula-

tion, or an express or implied-in-fact contract.” Preseault

v. LC.C., 494 U.S. 1, 11-12, 110 S.Ct. 914, 108 L.Ed.2d 1

(1990) (citing 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a)(1)). Appellants do not

allege that they sought and were denied just compensa-

tion after bringing a Tucker Act claim in the United States

Court of Claims. These facts support our conclusion that

Appellants did not initially intend to make a takings

16a

claim, but later decided to elevate that claim to a more

central position on appeal.

Finally, were we to address Appellants’ takings

claim, we would find it time-barred. Appellants argue, “It

is undisputed that agricultural property rights were sub-

jected to a taking for public use on May 12, 1933.” The

general statute of limitations period for actions against

the United States is six years. See 28 U.S.C. § 2401.

Consequently, we find that Appellants’ takings claim

fails.

CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the dismissal of Appellants’ complaint.

RELY PO

17a

[Order of the District Court Appealed

to the Tenth Circuit]

ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Judge John L. Kane, Jr.

Filed July 6, 2000

Civil Action No. 00-AP-154

EUGENE SCHRODER, EDWIN PETROWSKY, R.

RUSSELL GRIDER, and WESLEY MYERS,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

WILLIAM JEFFERSON CLINTON, President of the

United States; DAN GLICKMAN, United States

Secretary of Agriculture; LAWRENCE SUMMERS,

United States Secretary of the Treasury;

and THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendants.

ORDER

Kane, J.

On May 31, 2000, Defendants filed a Motion to Dis-

miss this civil action pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 12(b)(1),(6). The matter has been fully briefed

and oral argument would not materially assist in deter-

mining the issues presented.

Plaintiffs seek a moratorium on farm foreclosures

and an order requiring the President, Secretary of the

Treasury, Secretary of Agriculture, and their agents to

18a

control United States currency and to maintain market

conditions so as to be favorable to American farmers.

The Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED because this

court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter and can

grant no relief. The Complaint seeks to have this court

determine political questions which are properly

addressed to the elected branches of the government.

This Court has no jurisdiction over the discretionary acts

of either. Plaintiffs’ remedies are at the polling place, not

the courts.

Case DISMISSED.

Dated at Denver, Colorado, this 6th day of July, 2000.

BY THE COURT:

[Signature]

JOHN L. KANE, JR.

SENIOR U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

19a

U.S. Constitution

Article I. Section 1.

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a

Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a

Senate and House of Representatives.

Section 7.

All Bills for raising Revenue shall originate in the House

of Representatives * * *

Section 8.

The Congress shall have Power * * *

[cl. 2] To borrow Money on the credit of the United States;

[cl. 3] To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and

among the several States, and with the Indian Tribes;

[cl. 5] To coin Money, regulate the Value thereof, and of

foreign Coin, and fix the Standard of Weights and

Measures * * *

Section 9.

[cl. 7] No Money shall be drawn from the Treasury, but in

Consequence of Appropriations made by Law; and a

regular Statement and Account of the Receipts and

Expenditures of all public Money shall be published from

time to time.

Article II. Section 1.

[cl. 1] The executive Power shall be vested in a President

of the United States of America * * *

20a

Section 2.

[cl. 2] He [the President] shall have Power, by and with

the Advice and Consent of the Senate, to make Treaties,

provided two thirds of the Senators present concur * * .

Article IV. Section 4.

The United States shall guarantee to every State in this

Union a Republican Form of Government * * *

Amendments to the U.S. Constitution

Amendment V (1791) |

No person shall * * * be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just compensa-

tion.

Amendment XIV. Section 1. (1868)

All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge _

re arene

2la

the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws.

22a

5 U.S.C.A. Section 702

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 702. Right of review

A person suffering legal wrong because of agency action,

or adversely affected or aggrieved by agency action

within the meaning of a relevant statute, is entitled to

judicial review thereof. An action in a court of the United

States seeking relief other than money damages and stat-

ing a claim that an agency or an officer or employee

thereof acted or failed to act in an official capacity or

under color of legal authority shall not be dismissed nor

relief therein be denied on the ground that it is against

the United States or that the United States is an indispen-

sable party. The United States may be named as a defen-

dant in any such action, and a judgment or decree may be

entered against the United States: Provided, That any

mandatory or injunctive decree shail specify the Federal

officer or officers (by name or by title), and their suc-

cessors in office, personally responsible for compliance.

Nothing herein (1) affects other limitations on judicial

review or the power or duty of the court to dismiss any

action or deny relief on any other appropriate legal or

equitable ground; or (2) confers authority to grant relief if

any other statute that grants consent to suit expressly or

impliedly forbids the relief which is sought.

7 U.S.C.A. Section 291

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 291. Authorization of associations; powers [Capper-Vol-

stead Act]

23a

Persons engaged in the production of agricultural prod-

ucts as farmers, planters, ranchmen, dairymen, nut or

fruit growers may act together in associations, corporate

or otherwise, with or without capital stock, in collectively

processing, preparing for market, handling, and market-

ing in interstate and foreign commerce, such products of

persons so engaged. Such associations may have market-

ing agencies in common; and such associations and their

members may make the necessary contracts and agree-

ments to effect such purposes: Provided, however, That

such associations are operated for the mutual benefit of

the members thereof, as such producers, and conform to

one or both of the following requirements:

First. That no member of the association is allowed

more than one vote because of the amount of stock or

membership capital he may own therein, or,

Second. That the association does not pay dividends

on stock or membership capital in excess of 8 per centum

per annum.

And in any case to the following:

Third. That the association shall not deal in the prod-

ucts of nonmembers to an amount greater in value than

such as are handled by it for members.

7 U.S.C.A. Section 292

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 292. Monopolizing or restraining trade and unduly

enhancing prices prohibited; remedy and procedure

24a

If the Secretary of Agriculture shall have reason to

believe that any such association monopolizes or

restrains trade in interstate or foreign commerce to such

an extent that the price of any agricultural product is

unduly enhanced by reason thereof, he shall serve upon

such association a complaint stating his charge in that

respect, to which complaint shall be attached, or con-

tained therein, a notice of hearing, specifying a day and

place not less than thirty days after the service thereof,

requiring the association to show cause why an order

should not be made directing it to cease and desist from

monopolization or restraint of trade. An association so

complained of may at the time and place so fixed show

cause why such order should not be entered. The evi-

dence given on such a hearing shall be taken under such

rules and regulations as the Secretary of Agriculture may

prescribe, reduced to writing, and made a part of the

record therein. If upon such hearing the Secretary of

Agriculture shall be of the opinion that such association

monopolizes or restrains trade in interstate or foreign

commerce to such an extent that the price of any agri-

cultural product is unduly enhanced thereby, he shall

issue and cause to be served upon the association an

order reciting the facts found by him, directing such

association to cease and desist from monopolization or

restraint of trade. On the request of such association or if

such association fails or neglects for thirty days to obey

such order, the Secretary of Agriculture shall file in the

district court in the judicial district in which such associa-

tion has its principal place of business a certified copy of

the order and of all the records in the proceeding,

together with a petition asking that the order be enforced,

25a

and shall give notice to the Attorney General and to said

association of such filing. Such district court shall there-

upon have jurisdiction to enter a decree affirming, mod-

ifying, or setting aside said order, or enter such other

decree as the court may deem equitable, and may make

rules as to pleadings and proceedings to be had in con-

sidering such order. The place of trial may, for cause or

by consent of parties, be changed as in other causes.

The facts found by the Secretary of Agriculture and

recited or set forth in said order shall be prima facie

evidence of such facts, but either party may adduce addi-

tional evidence. The Department of Justice shall have

charge of the enforcement of such order. After the order

is so filed in such district court and while pending for

review therein the court may issue a temporary writ of

injunction forbidding such association from violating

such order or any part thereof. The court may, upon

conclusion of its hearing, enforce its decree by a perma-

nent injunction or other appropriate remedy. Service of

such complaint and of all notices may be made upon such

association by service upon any officer or agent thereof

engaged in carrying on its business, or on any attorney

authorized to appear in such proceeding for such associa-

tion, and such service shall be binding upon such associa-

tion, the officers, and members thereof.

7 U.S.C.A. Section 601

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 601. Declaration of conditions [AAA - Agricultural

Adjustment Act of May 12, 1933, as amended]

26a

It is declared that the disruption of the orderly exchange

of commodities in interstate commerce impairs the pur-

chasing power of farmers and destroys the value of agri-

cultural assets which support the national credit structure

and that these conditions affect transactions in agri-

cultural commodities with a national public interest, and

burden and obstruct the normal channels of interstate

commerce.

7 U.S.C.A. Section 602

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 602. Declaration of policy; establishment of price basing

period; marketing standards; orderly supply flow; circum-

stances for continued regulation

It is declared to be the policy of Congress -

(1) Through the exercise of the powers conferred

upon the Secretary of Agriculture under this chapter, to

establish and maintain such orderly marketing conditions

for agricultural commodities in interstate commerce as

will establish, as the prices to farmers, parity prices as

defined by section 1301(a)(1) of this title.

(2) To protect the interest of the consumer by (a)

approaching the level of prices which it is declared to be

the policy of Congress to establish in subsection (1) of

this section by gradual correction of the current level at

as rapid a rate as the Secretary of Agriculture deems to be

in the public interest and feasible in view of the current

consumptive demand in domestic and foreign markets,

and (b) authorizing no action under this chapter which

27a

has for its purpose the maintenance of prices to farmers

above the level which it is declared to be the policy of

Congress to establish in subsection (1) of this section.

(3) Through the exercise of the powers conferred

upon the Secretary of Agriculture under this chapter, to

establish and maintain such production research, market-

ing research, and development projects provided in sec-

tion 608c(6)(I) of this title, such container and pack

requirements provided in section 608c(6)(H) of this title?

such minimum standards of quality and maturity and

such grading and inspection requirements for agri-

cultural commodities enumerated in section 608c(2) of

this title, other than milk and its products, in interstate

commerce as will effectuate such orderly marketing of

such agricultural commodities as will be in the public

interest.

(4) Through the exercise of the powers conferred

upon the Secretary of Agriculture under this chapter, to

establish and maintain such orderly marketing conditions

for any agricultural commodity enumerated in section

608c(2) of this title as will provide, in the interests of

producers and consumers, an orderly flow of the supply

thereof to market throughout its normal marketing sea-

son to avoid unreasonable fluctuations in supplies and

prices.

(5) Through the exercise of the power conferred

upon the Secretary of Agriculture under this chapter, to

continue for the remainder of any marketing season or

marketing year, such regulation pursuant to any order as

1 So in original. Probably should be followed by a comma.

sav aan te nn iia abel ntat

28a

will tend to avoid a disruption of the orderly marketing

of any commodity and be in the public interest, if the

regulation of such commodity under such order has been

initiated during such marketing season or marketing year

on the basis of its need to effectuate the policy of this

chapter.

7 U.S.C. Section 613 (1999)

Section 613. Termination date; investigations and reports

This chapter shall cease to be in effect

whenever the President finds and proclaims that

the national economic emergency in relation to

agriculture has been ended; and pending such

time the President shall by proclamation termi-

nate with respect to any basic agricultural com-

modity such provisions of this chapter as he

finds are not requisite to carrying out the

declared policy with respect to such commodity.

In the case of sugar beets and sugarcane, the

taxes provided by this chapter shall cease to be

in effect, and the powers vested in the President

or in the Secretary of Agriculture shall terminate

on December 31, 1937 unless this chapter ceases

to be in effect at an earlier date, as hereinabove

provided. The Secretary of Agriculture shall

make such investigations and reports thereon to

the President as may be necessary to aid him in

executing this section.

29a

7 U.S.C.A. Section 1301

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 1301. Definitions

(a) General definitions

For the purposes of this subchapter and the declaration of

policy -

(1)(A) The “parity price” for any agricultural com-

modity, as of any date, shall be determined by multiply-

ing the adjusted base price of such commodity as of such

date by the parity index as of such date.

(B) The “adjusted base price” of any agricultural

commodity, as of any date, shall be (i) the average of the

prices received by farmers for such commodity, at such

times as the Secretary may select during each year of the

ten-year period ending on the 31st of December last

before such date, or during each marketing season begin-

ning in such period if the Secretary determines use of a

calendar year basis to be impracticable, divided by (ii) the

ratio of the general level of prices received by farmers for

agricultural commodities during such period to the gen-

eral level of prices received by farmers for agricultural

commodities during the period January 1910 to December

1914, inclusive. As used in this subparagraph, the term

“prices” shall include wartime subsidy payments made to

producers under programs designed to maintain maxi-

mum prices established under the Emergency Price Con-

trol Act of 1942.

(C) The “parity index”, as of any date, shall be the

ratio of (i) the general level of prices for articles and

services that farmers buy, wages paid hired farm labor,

30a

interest on farm indebtedness secured by farm real estate,

and taxes on farm real estate, for the calendar month

ending last before such date to (ii) the general level of

such prices, wages, rates, and taxes during the period

January 1910 to December 1914, inclusive.

(D) The prices and indices provided for herein, and

the data used in computing them, shall be determined by

the Secretary, whose determination shall be final.

(E) Notwithstanding the provisions of subpara-

graph (A) of this paragraph, the transitional parity price

for any agricultural commodity, computed as provided in

this subparagraph, shall be used as the parity price for

such commodity until such date after January 1, 1950, as

such transitional parity price may be lower than the

parity price, computed as provided in subparagraph (A)

of this paragraph, for such commodity. The transitional

parity price for any agricultural commodity as of any

date shall be -

(i) its parity price determined in the manner used

prior to the effective date of the Agricultural Act of 1948,

less

(ii) 5 per centum of the parity price so determined

multiplied by the number of full calendar years (not

counting 1956 in the case of basic agricultural commodi-

ties) which, as of such date, have elapsed after January 1,

1949, in the case of non-basic agricultural commodities,

and after January 1, 1955, in the case of the basic agri-

cultural commodities.

(F) Notwithstanding the provisions of subpara-

graphs (A) and (E) of this paragraph, if the parity price

-~

3la

for any agricultural commodity, computed as provided in

subparagraphs (A) and (E) of this paragraph, appears to

be seriously out of line with the parity prices of other

agricultural commodities, the Secretary may, and upon

the request of a substantial number of interested pro-

ducers shall, hold public hearings to determine the

proper relationship between the parity price of such com-

modity and the parity prices of other agricultural com-

modities. Within sixty days after commencing such

hearing the Secretary shall complete such hearing, pro-

claim his findings as to whether the facts require a revi-

sion of the method of computing the parity price of such

commodity, and put into effect any revision so found to

be required.

(G) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of

this section, the parity price for any basic agricultural

commodity, as of any date during the six-year period

beginning January 1, 1950, shall not be less than its parity

price computed in the manner used prior to October 31,

1949.

(2) “Parity”, as applied to income, shall be that

gross income from agriculture which will provide the

farm operator and his family with a standard of living

equivalent to those afforded persons dependent upon

other gainful occupation. “Parity” as applied to income

from any agricultural commodity for any year, shall be

that gross income which bears the same relationship to

parity income from agriculture for such year as the aver-

age gross income from such commodity for the preceding

ten calendar years bears to the average gross income from

agriculture for such ten calendar years.

32a

(3) The term “interstate and foreign commerce”

means sale, marketing, trade, and traffic between any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia or Puerto

Rico, and any place outside thereof; or between points

within the same State or Territory or within the District of

Columbia or Puerto Rico, through any place outside

thereof; or within any Territory or within the District of

Columbia or Puerto Rico.

(4) The term “affect interstate and foreign com-

merce” means, among other things, in such commerce, or

to burden or obstruct such commerce or the free and

orderly flow thereof; or to create or tend to create a

surplus of any agricultural commodity which burdens or

obstructs such commerce or the free and orderly flow

thereof.

(5) The term “United States” means the several

States and Territories and the District of Columbia and

Puerto Rico.

(6) The term “State” includes a Territory and the

District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

(7) The term “Secretary” means the Secretary of

Agriculture, and the term “Department” means the

Department of Agriculture.

(8) The term “person” means an individual, part-

nership, firm, joint-stock company, corporation, associa-

tion, trust, estate, or any agency of a State.

(9) The term “corn” means field corn.

(b) Definitions applicable to one or more commodities

[Definitions applicable to tobacco only are omitted.]

33a

For the purposes of this subchapter -

(1)(A) “Actual production” as applied to any acre-

age of corn means the number of bushels of corn which

the local committee determines would be harvested as

grain from such acreage if all the corn on such acreage

were so harvested. In case of a disagreement between the

farmer and the local committee as to the actual produc-

tion of the acreage of corn on the farm, or in case the local

committee determines that such actual production is sub-

stantially below normal, the local committee, in accor-

dance with regulations of the Secretary, shall weigh

representative samples of ear corn taken from the acreage

involved, make proper deductions for moisture content,

and determine the actual production of such acreage on

the basis of such samples.

(B) “Actual production” of any number of acres of

cotton, rice or peanuts on a farm means the actual aver-

age yield for the farm times such number of acres.

(2) “Bushel” means in the case of ear corn that

amount of ear corn, including not to exceed 15 1/2 per

centum of moisture content, which weighs seventy

pounds, and in the case of shelled corn, means that

amount of shelled corn including not to exceed 15 1/2 per

centum of moisture content, which weighs fifty-six

pounds.

(3)(A) “Carry-over”, in the case of corn, rice, and

peanuts for any marketing year shall be the quantity of

the commodity on hand in the United States at the begin-

ning of such marketing year, not including any quantity

which was produced in the United States during the

calendar year then current.

34a

(B) “Carry-over” of cotton for any marketing year

shall be the quantity of cotton on hand in the United

States at the beginning of such marketing year, not

including any part of the crop which was produced in the

United States during the calendar year then current. * * *

(D) “Carry-over” of wheat, for any marketing year

shall be the quantity of wheat on hand in the United

States at the beginning of such marketing year, not

including any wheat which was produced in the United

States during the calendar year then current, and not

including any wheat held by the Federal Crop Insurance

Corporation under the Federal Crop Insurance Act [7

U.S.C.A. § 1501 et seq.].

(4)(A) “Commercial corn-producing area” shall

include all counties in which the average production of

corn (excluding corn used as silage) during the ten calen-

dar years immediately preceding the calendar year for

which such area is determined, after adjustment for

‘abnormal weather conditions, is four hundred and fifty

bushels or more per farm and four bushels or more for

each acre of farm land in the county.

(B) Whenever prior to February 1 of any calendar

year the Secretary has reason to believe that any county

which is not included in the commercial corn-producing

area determined pursuant to the provisions of subpara-

graph (A) of this subsection, but which borders upon one

of the counties in such area, or that any minor civil

division in a county bordering on such area, is producing

(excluding corn used for silage) an average of at least

four hundred and fifty bushels of corn per farm and an

average of at least four bushels for each acre of farm land

ss

35a

in the county or in the minor civil division, as the case

may be, he shall cause immediate investigation to be

made to determine such fact. If, upon the basis of such

investigation, the Secretary finds that such county or

minor civil division is likely to produce corn in such

average amounts during such calendar year, he shall

proclaim such determination, and, commencing with

such calendar year, such county shall be included in the

commercial corn-producing area. In the case of a county

included in the commercial corn-producing area pursuant

to this subparagraph, whenever prior to February 1 of

any calendar year the Secretary has reason to believe that

facts justifying the inclusion of such county are not likely

to exist in such calendar year, he shall cause an immedi-

ate investigation to be made with respect thereto. If, upon

the basis of such investigation, the Secretary finds that

such facts are not likely to exist in such calendar year, he

shall proclaim such determination, and commencing with

such calendar year, such county shall be excluded from

the commercial corn-producing area.

(5) “Farm consumption” of corn means consump-

tion by the farmer’s family, employees, or household, or

by his work stock; or consumption by poultry or livestock

on his farm if such poultry or livestock, or the products

thereof, are consumed or to be consumed by the farmer's

family, employees, or household.

(6)(A) “Market”, in the case of corn, cotton, rice,

tobacco, and wheat, means to dispose of, in raw or

processed form, by voluntary or involuntary sale, barter,

or exchange, or by gift inter vivos, and, in the case of

corn and wheat, by feeding (im amy form) to poultry or

36a

livestock which, or the products of which, are sold, bar-

tered, or exchanged, or to be so disposed of, but does not

include disposing of any such commodities as premium

to the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation under the

Federal Crop Insurance Act [7 U.S.C.A. § 1501 et seq.].

(B) “Marketed”, “marketing”, and “for market”

shall have corresponding meanings to the term “market”

in the connection in which they are used.

(C) “Market”, in the case of peanuts, means to dis-

pose of peanuts, including farmers’ stock peanuts, shel-

led peanuts, cleaned peanuts, or peanuts in processed

form, by voluntary or involuntary sale, barter, or

exchange, or by gift inter vivos.

(7) “Marketing year” means, in the case of the fol-

lowing commodities, the period beginning on the first

and ending with the second date specified below:

Corn, September 1-August 31;

Cotton, August 1-July 31;

Rice, August 1-July 31;

Tobacco (flue-cured), July 1-June 30;

Tobacco (other than flue-cured), October 1-Sep-

tember 30;

Wheat, June 1-May 31.

(8)(A) “National average yield” as applied to cotton

or wheat shall be the national average yield per acre of

the commodity during the ten calendar years in the case

of wheat, and during the five calendar years in the case of

cotton, preceding the year in which such national average

37a

yield is used in any computation authorized in this sub-

chapter, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions and,

in the case of wheat, but not in the case of cotton, for

trends in yields.

(B) “Projected national yield” as applied to any

crop of wheat shall be determined on the basis of the

national yield per harvested acre of the commodity dur-

ing each of the five calendar years immediately preceding

the year in which such projected national yield is deter-

mined, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions affect-

ing such yield, for trends in yields and for any significant

changes in production practices.

(9) “Normal production” as applied to any number

of acres of corn or rice means the normal yield for the

farm times such number of acres. “Normal production”

as applied to any number of acres of cotton or wheat

means the projected farm yield times such number of

acres.

(10)(A) “Normal supply” in the case of corn, rice,

wheat, and peanuts for any marketing year shall be (i) the

estimated domestic consumption of the commodity for

the marketing year ending immediately prior to the mar-

keting year for which normal supply is being determined,

plus (ii) the estimated exports of the commodity for the

marketing year for which normal supply is being deter-

mined, plus (iii) an allowance for carry-over. The

allowance for carry-over shall be the following percent-

age of the sum of the consumption and exports used in

computing normal supply: 15 per centum in the case of

corn; 10 per centum in the case of rice; 20 per centum in

the case of wheat; and 15 per centum in the case of

38a

peanuts. In determining normal supply the Secretary

shall make such adjustments for current trends in con-

sumption and for unusual conditions as he may deem

necessary. * * *

(C) The “normal supply” of cotton for any market-

ing year shall be the estimated domestic consumption of

cotton for the marketing-year for which such normal

supply is being determined, plus the estimated exports of

cotton for such marketing year, plus, 30 per centum of the

sum of such consumption and exports as an allowance for

carry-over.

(11)(A) “Normal year’s domestic consumption”, in

the case of corn and wheat, shall be the yearly average

quantity of the commodity, wherever produced, that was

cosumed! in the United States during the ten marketing

years immediately preceding the marketing year in which

such consumption is determined, adjusted for current

trends in such consumption.

(B) “Normal year’s domestic consumption”, in the

case of cotton and tobacco, shall be the yearly average

quantity of the commodity produced in the United States

that was consumed in the United States during the ten

marketing years immediately preceding the marketing

year in which such consumption is determined, adjusted

for current trends in such consumption.

(C) “Normal year’s domestic consumption”, in the

case of rice, shall be the yearly average quantity of rice

produced in the United States that was consumed in the

1 So in original. Probably should be “consumed”.

Tate heer

ae

Sed Cypti Gry

Sirs ahem “etches Vane para eM MARA

39a

United States during the five marketing years imme-

diately preceding the marketing year in which such con-

sumption is determined, adjusted for current trends in

such consumption.

(12) “Normal year’s exports” in the case of corn,

cotton, rice, tobacco, and wheat shall be the yearly aver-

age quantity of the commodity produced in the United

States that-was exported from the United States during

the ten marketing years (or, in the case of rice, the five

marketing years) immediately preceding the marketing

year in which such exports are determined, adjusted for

current trends in such exports.

(13)(A) Repealed. Pub. L. 87-703, Title III, § 320(1),

Sept. 27, 1962, 76 Stat. 625

(B) “Normal yield” for any county, in the case of

peanuts, shall be the average yield per acre of peanuts for

the county, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions,

during the five calendar years immediately preceding the

year in which such normal yield is determined. For 1942,

the normal yield for any county, in the case of peanuts,

shall be the average yield per acre for peanuts for the

county, adjusted for abnormal conditions, during the

years 1936-1940, inclusive, except that for any county in

which the years 1935-1939, inclusive, are equally as repre-

sentative, such period may be used in determining the

normal yields for counties in the State.

(C) In applying subparagraph (A) or (B) of this

paragraph, if for any such year the data are not available,

or there is no actual yield, an appraised yield for such

year, determined in accordance with regulations issued

by the Secretary, shall be used as the actual yield for such

40a

year. In applying such subparagraphs, if, on account of

drought, flood, insect pests, plant disease, or other

uncontrollable natural cause, the yield in any year of such

ten-year period or five-year period, as the case may be, is

less than 75 per centum of the average (computed with-

out regard to such year) such year shall be eliminated in

calculating the normal yield per acre.

(D) “Normal yield” for any county, in the case of

rice and wheat, shall be the average yield per acre of rice

or wheat, as the case may be, for the county during the

five calendar years immediately preceding the year for

which such normal yield is determined in the case of rice,

or during the five years immediately preceding the year

in which such normal yield is determined in the case of

wheat, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions and for

trends in yields. If for any such year data are not avail-

able, or there is no actual yield, an appraised yield for

such year, determined in accordance with regulations

issued by the Secretary, taking into consideration the

yields obtained in surrounding counties during such year

and the yield in years for which data are available, shall

be used as the actual yield for such year.

(E) “Normal yield” for any farm, in the case of rice

and wheat, shall be the average yield per acre of rice or

wheat, as the case may be, for the farm during the five

calendar years immediately preceding the year for which

such normal yield is determined in the case of rice, or

during the five years immediately preceding the year in

which such normal yield is determined in the case of

wheat, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions and for

trends in yields. If for any such year the data are not

available or there is no actual yield, then the normal yield

4la

for the farm shall be appraised in accordance with regula-

tions issued by the Secretary, taking into consideration

abnormal weather conditions, trends in yields, the nor-

mal yield for the county, the yields obtained on adjacent

farms during such year and the yield in years for which

data are available.

(F) In applying subparagraphs (D) and (E) of this

paragraph, if on account of drought, flood, insect pests,

plant disease, or other uncontrollable natural cause, the

yield for any year of such five-year period is less than 75

per centum of the average, 75 per centum of such average

shall be substituted therefor in calculating the normal

yield per acre. If, on account of abnormally favorable

weather conditions, the yield for any year of such five-

year period is in excess of 125 per centum of the average,

125 per centum of such average shall be substituted

therefor in calculating the normal yield per acre.

(G) “Normal yield” for any farm, in the case of corn

or peanuts, shall be the average yield per acre of corn or

peanuts, as the case may be, for the farm, adjusted for

abnormal weather conditions, during the five calendar

years immediately preceding the year in which such nor-

mal yield is determined. For 1942, the normal yield for

any farm, in the case of peanuts, shall be the average

yield per acre of peanuts for the farm, adjusted for abnor-

mal conditions, during the years 1936-1940, inclusive,

except that for any county in which the years 1935-1939,

inclusive, are equally as representative, such period may

be used in determining normal yields for farms in the

county. If for any such year the data are not available or

there is no actual yield, then the normal yield for the farm

shall be appraised in accordance with regulations of the

42a

Secretary, taking into consideration abnormal weather

conditions, the normal yield for the county, and the yield

in years for which data are available.

(H) “Normal yield” for any county, for any crop of

cotton, shall be the average yield per acre of cotton for

the county, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions and

any significant changes in production practices during

the five calendar years immediately preceding the year in

which the national marketing quota for such crop is pro-

claimed. If for any such year the data are not available, or

there is no actual yield, an appraised yield for such year,

determined in accordance with regulations issued by the

Secretary, shall be used as the actual yield for such year.

(I) “Normal yield” for any farm, for any crop of

cotton, shall be the average yield per acre of cotton for

the farm, adjusted for abnormal weather conditions and

any significant changes in production practices during

the three calendar years immediately preceding the year

in which such normal yield is determined. If for any such

year the data are not available, or there is no actual yield,

then the normal yield for the farm shall be appraised in

accordance with regulations of the Secretary, taking into

consideration abnormal weather conditions, the normal

yield for the county, changes in production practices, and

the yield in years for which data are available.

(J) “Projected county yield” for any crop of wheat

shall be determined on the basis of the yield per har-

vested acre of such commodity in the county during each

of the five calendar years immediately preceding the year

in which such projected county yield is determined,

adjusted for abnormal weather conditions affecting such

43a

yield, for trends in yields and for any significant changes

in production practices.

(K) “Projected farm yield” for any crop of wheat

shall be determined on the basis of the yield per har-

vested acre of such commodity on the farm during each

of the three calendar years immediately preceding the

year in which such projected farm yield is determined,

adjusted for abnormal weather conditions affecting such

yield, for trends in yields and for any significant changes

in production practices, but in no event shall such pro-

jected farm yield be less than the normal yield for such

farm as provided in subparagraph (E) of this paragraph.

(L) “Projected national, State, and county yields”

for any crop of cotton shall be determined on the basis of

the yield per harvested acre of such crop in the United

States, the State and the county, respectively, during each

of the five calendar years immediately preceding the year

in which such projected yield for the United States, the

State, and the county, respectively, is determined,

adjusted for abnormal weather conditions affecting such

yield, for trends in yields, and for any significant changes

in production practices.

(M) “Projected farm yield” for any crop of cotton

shall be determined on the basis of the yield per har-

vested acre of such crop on the farm during each of the

three calendar years immediately preceding the year in

which such projected farm yield is determined, adjusted

for abnormal weather conditions affecting such yield, for

trends in yields, and for any significant changes in pro-

duction practices, but in no event shall such projected

44a

farm yield be less than the normal yield for such farm as

provided in subparagraph (I) of this paragraph.

(14)(A) “Reserve supply level”, in the case of corn,

shall be a normal year’s domestic consumption and

exports of corn plus 10 per centum of a normal year’s

domestic consumption and exports, to insure a supply

adequate to meet domestic consumption and export

needs in years of drought, flood, or other adverse condi-

tions, as well as in years of plenty. * * *

(16)(A) “Total supply” of wheat, corn, rice, and pea-

nuts for any marketing year shall be the carry-over of the

commodity for such marketing year, plus the estimated

production of the commodity in the United States during

the calendar year in which such marketing year begins

and the estimated imports of the commodity into the

United States during such marketing year. * * *

io eet BEd

(C) “Total supply” of cotton for any marketing year

shall be the carry-over at the beginning of such marketing

year, plus the estimated production of cotton in the

United States during the calendar year in which such

marketing year begins and the estimated imports of cot-

ton into the United States during such marketing

* * *

year.

Tee Ope rp=

(c) Use of Federal statistics

The latest available statistics of the Federal Government

shall be used by the Secretary in making the determina-

tions required to be made by the Secretary under this

chapter.

SD este PEED RE ONT re

(d) Exclusion of stocks of certain commodities

45a

In making any determination under this chapter or

under the Agricultural Act of 1949 [7 U.S.C.A. § 1421 et

seq.] with respect to the carryover of any agricultural

commodity, the Secretary shall exclude from such deter-

mination the stocks of any commodity acquired pursuant

to, or under the authority of, the Strategic and Critical

Materials Stock Piling Act (60 Stat. 596) [50 U.S.C.A. § 98

et seq.].

7 U.S.C.A. Section 1303

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 1303. Parity payments

If and when appropriations are made therefor, the Secre-

tary is authorized and directed to make payments to

producers of corn, wheat, cotton, rice, or tobacco, on their

normal production of such commodities in amounts

which, together with the proceeds thereof, will provide-a

return to such producers which is as nearly equal to

parity price as the funds so made available will permit.

All funds available for such payments with respect to

these commodities shall, unless otherwise provided by

law, be apportioned to these commodities in proportion

to the amount by which each fails to reach the parity

income. Such payments shall be in addition to and not in

substitution for any other payments authorized by law.

46a

7 U.S.C.A. Section 5671

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 5671. Agricultural embargo protection

(a) Prerequisites; scope of compensation

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if -

(1) the President or other member of the executive

branch of the Federal Government causes the export of

any agricultural commodity to any country or area of the

world to be suspended or restricted for reasons of

national security or foreign policy under the Export

Administration Act of 1979 (50 U.S.C. App. 2401 et seq.)

or under any provision of law;

(2) such suspension or restriction of the export of

such agricultural commodity is imposed other than in

connection with a suspension or restriction of all exports

from the United States to such country or area of the

world; and

(3) sales of such agricultural commodity for export

from the United States to such country or area of the

world during the year preceding the year in which the

suspension or restriction is imposed exceeds 3 percent of

the total sales of such commodity for export from the

United States to all foreign countries during the year

preceding the year in which the suspension or restriction

is in effect;

the Secretary shall compensate producers of the commod-

ity involved by making payments available to such pro-

ducers, as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

47a

(b) Amount of payments

If the Secretary makes payments available to producers

under subsection (a) of this section, the amount of such

payment shall be determined -

(1) in the case of an agricultural commodity for

which payments are authorized to be made to producers

under Title I of the Agricultural Act of 1949 (7 U.S.C. 1441

et seq.), by multiplying -

(A) the farm program payment yield for the pro-

ducer or the yield established for the farm for the com-

modity involved; by

(B) the crop acreage base established for the com-

modity; by

(C) the amount by which the average market price

per unit of such commodity received by producers during

the 60-day period immediately following the date of the

imposition of the suspension or restriction is less than 100

percent of the parity price for such commodity, as deter-

mined by the Secretary on the date of the imposition of

the suspension or restriction; or

(2) in the case of other agricultural commodities for

which price support is authorized for producers under

the Agricultural Act of 1949 (7 U.S.C. 1421 et seq.), by

multiplying the amount by which the average market

price per unit of such commodity received by the pro-

ducers during the 60-day period immediately following

the date of the imposition of the suspension or restriction

is less than 100 percent of the parity price for such

commodity, as determined by the Secretary on the date of

the imposition of the suspension or restriction, by the

48a

quantity of such commodity sold by the producer during

the period that the suspension or restriction is in effect.

(c) Time for payments

Payments under paragraph (1) of subsection (b) of this

section shall be made for each marketing year or part

thereof during which the suspension or restriction is in

effect’and shall be made in equal amounts at 90-day

intervals, beginning 90 days after the date of the imposi-

tion of the suspension or restriction. —

(d) Commodity Credit Corporation

The Secretary shall use the Commodity Credit Corpora-

tion in carrying out the provisions of this section.

(e) Regulations

The Secretary may issue such regulations as are deter-

mined necessary to carry out this section.

7 U.S.C.A. Section 7301

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 7301. Suspension and repeal of permanent price support

authority (“Freedom to Farm” Act of 1996]

(a) Agricultural Adjustment Act of 1938

(1) Suspensions

The following provisions of the Agricultural Adjustment

Act of 1938 [7 U.S.C.A. § 1281 et seq.] shall not be

applicable to the 1996 through 2002 crops of loan com-

~___ modities, peanuts, and sugar and shall not be applicable

49a

to milk during the period beginning on April 4, 1996, and

ending on December 31, 2002:

(A) Parts II through V of subtitle B of title II (7

U.S.C. 1326- 1351).

(B) Subsections (a) through (j) of section 358 (7

U.S.C. 1358).

(C) Subsections (a) through (h) of section 358a (7

U.S.C. 1358a).

(D) Subsections (a), (b), (d), and (e) of section 358d

(7 U.S.C. 1359).

(E) Part VII of subtitle B of title III (7 U.S.C.

1359aa-1359}}).

(F) In the case of peanuts, part I of subtitle C of title

Ill (7 U.S.C. 1361-1368).

(G) In the case of upland cotton, section 377 (7

U.S.C. 1377).

(H) Subtitle D of title III (7 U.S.C. 1379a-1379)).

(I) Title IV (7 U.S.C. 1401-1407).

(2) Omitted

(b) Agricultural Act of 1949

(1) Suspensions

The following provisions of the Agricultural Act of 1949

[7 U.S.C.A § 1421 et seq.] shall not be applicable to the

1996 through 2002 crops of loan commodities, peanuts,

and sugar and shall not be applicable to milk during the

period beginning on April 4, 1996, and ending on Decem-

ber 31, 2002:

Age - ~

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

(H)

50a

Section 101 (7 U.S.C. 1441).

Section 103(a) (7 U.S.C. 1444(a)).

Section 105 (7 U.S.C. 1444b).

Section 107 (7 U.S.C. 1445a).

Section 110 (7 U.S.C. 1445e).

Section 112 (7 U.S.C. 1445g).

Section 115 (7 U.S.C. 1445k).

Section 201 (7 U.S.C. 1446).

(I) Title III (7 U.S.C. 1447-1449).

(J) Title IV (7 U.S.C. 1421-1433d), other than sec-

tions 404, 412, and 416 (7 U.S.C. 1424, 1429, and 1431).

(K)

(L)

Title V (7 U.S.C. 1461-1469).

Title VI (7 U.S.C, 1471-1471)).

(2) Repeals

The following provisions of the Agricultural Act of 1949

[7 U.S.C.A. § 1421 et seq.] are repealed:

(A)

(B)

(C)

(D)

(E)

(F)

Section 101B (7 U.S.C. 1441-2).

Section 103B (7 U.S.C. 1444-2).

Section 105B (7 U.S.C. 1444f).

Section 107B [7 U.S.C.A. § 1445b-3a].

Section 108B (7 U.S.C. 1445c-3).

Section 113 (7 U.S.C. 1445h).

(G) Subsections (b) and (c) of section 114 (7 U.S.C.

1445)).

5la

(H) Sections 205, 206, and 207 (7 U.S.C. 1446f,

1446g, and 1446h).

(I) Sections 406 and 427 (7 U.S.C. 1426 and 1433f).

(3) Omitted

(c) Suspension of certain quota provisions

The joint resolution entitled “A joint resolution relating to

corn and wheat marketing quotas under the Agricultural

Adjustment Act of 1938, as amended”, approved May 26,

1941 (7 U.S.C. 1330 and 1340), shall not be applicable to

the crops of wheat planted for harvest in the calendar

years 1996 through 2002.

12 U.S.C.A. Section 225a

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 225a. Maintenance of long run growth of monetary and

credit aggregates

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

and the Federal Open Market Committee shall maintain

long run growth of the monetary and credit aggregates

commensurate with the economy’s long run potential to

increase production, so as to promote effectively the goals

of maximum employment, stable prices, and moderate

long-term interest rates.

52a

12 U.S.C.A. Section 241

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 241. Creation; membership; compensation and expenses

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve Sys-

tem (hereinafter referred to as the “Board”) shall be com-

posed of seven members, to be appointed by the

President, by and with the advice and consent of the

Senate, after August 23, 1935, for terms of fourteen years

except as hereinafter provided * * * In selecting the mem-

bers of the Board, not more than one of whom shall be

selected from any one Federal Reserve district, the Presi-

dent shall have due regard to a fair representation of the

financial, agricultural, industrial, and commercial inter-

ests, and geographical divisions of the country. The mem-

bers of the Board shall devote their entire time to the

business of the Board * * *

12 U.S.C.A. Section 355

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 355. Purchase and sale of obligations of National, State, and

municipal governments; open market operations; purchases

and sales from or to United States; maximum aggregate

amount of obligations acquired directly from or loaned directly

to United States

Every Federal Reserve bank shall have power:

(1) To buy and sell, at home or abroad, bonds and

notes of the United States, bonds issued under the provi-

sions of subsection (c) of section 1463 of this title and

53a

having maturities from date of purchase of not exceeding

six months, and bills, notes, revenue bonds, and warrants

with a maturity from date of purchase of not exceeding

six months, issued in anticipation of the collection of

taxes or in anticipation of the receipt of assured revenues

by any State, county, district, political subdivision, or

municipality in the continental United States, including

irrigation, drainage and reclamation districts, and obliga-

tions of, or fully guaranteed as to principal and interest

by, a foreign government or agency thereof, such pur-

chases to be made in accordance with rules and regula-

tions prescribed by the Board of Governors of the Federal

Reserve System. Notwithstanding any other provision of

this chapter, any bonds, notes, or other obligations which

are direct obligations of the United States or which are

fully guaranteed by the United States as to principal and

interest may be bought and sold without regard to matu-

rities but only in the open market.

(2) To buy and sell in the open market, under the

direction and regulations of the Federal Open Market

Committee, any obligation which is a direct obligation of,

or fully guaranteed as to principal and interest by, any

agency of the United States.

54a

15 U.S.C. Section 1

(1999)

Section 1. Trusts, etc., in restraint of trade illegal; penalty

[Sherman Anti-Trust Act of 1890, as amended]

Every contract, combination in the form of trust or

otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or com-

merce among the several States, or with foreign nations,

is declared to be illegal. Every person who shall make

any contract or engage in any combination or conspiracy

hereby declared to be illegal-shall be deemed guilty of a

felony, and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by

fine not exceeding $10,000,000 if a corporation, or, if any

other person, $350,000, or by imprisonment not exceeding

three years, or by both said punishments, in the discre-

tion of the court. :

15 U.S.C.A. Section 18

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 18. Acquisition by one corporation of stock of another

No person engaged in commerce or in any activity

affecting commerce shall acquire, directly or indirectly,

the whole or any part of the stock or other share capital

and no person subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal

Trade Commission shall acquire the whole or any part of

the assets of another person engaged also in commerce or

in any activity affecting commerce, where in any line of

commerce or in any activity affecting commerce in any

section of the country, the effect of such acquisition may

aa i

55a

be substantially to lessen competition, or to tend to create

“a monopoly.

No person shall acquire, directly or indirectly, the

whole or any part of the stock or other share capital and

no person subject to the jurisdiction of the Federal Trade

Commission shall acquire the whole or any part of the

assets of one or more persons engaged in commerce or in

any activity affecting commerce, where in any line of

commerce or in any activity affecting commerce in any

section of the country, the effect of such acquisition, of

such stocks or assets, or of the use of such stock by the

voting or granting of proxies or otherwise, may be sub-

stantially to lessen competition, or to tend to create a

monopoly.

This section shall not apply to persons purchasing

such stock solely for investment and not using the same

by voting or otherwise to bring about, or in attempting to

bring about, the substantial lessening of competition. Nor

shall anything contained in this section prevent a corpo-

ration engaged in commerce or in any activity affecting

commerce from causing the formation of subsidiary cor-

porations for the actual carrying on of their immediate

lawful business, or the natural and legitimate branches or

extensions thereof, or from owning and holding all or a

part of the stock of such subsidiary corporations, when

the effect of such formation is not to substantially lessen

competition.

Nor shall anything herein contained be construed to

prohibit any common carrier subject to the laws to regu-

late commerce from aiding in the construction of

branches or short lines so located as to become feeders to

56a

the main line of the company so aiding in such construc-

tion or from acquiring or owning all or any part of the

stock of such branch lines, nor to prevent any such com-

mon carrier from acquiring and owning all or any part of

the stock of a branch or short line constructed by an

independent company where there is no substantial com-

petition between the company owning the branch line so

constructed and the company owning the main line

acquiring the property or an interest therein, nor to pre-

vent such common carrier from extending any of its lines

through the medium of the acquisition of stock or other-

wise of any other common carrier where there is no

substantial competition between the company extending

its lines and the company whose stock, property, or an

interest therein is so acquired.

Nothing contained in this section shall be held to

affect or impair any right heretofore legally acquired:

Provided, That nothing in this section shall be held or

construed to authorize or make lawful anything here-

tofore prohibited or made illegal by the antitrust laws,

nor to exempt any person from the penal provisions

thereof or the civil remedies therein provided.

Nothing contained in this section shall apply to

transactions duly consummated pursuant to authority

given by the Secretary of Transportation, Federal Power

Commission, Surface Transportation Board, the Securities

and Exchange Commission in the exercise of its jurisdic-

tion under section 79j of this title, the United States

Maritime Commission, or the Secretary of Agriculture

57a

under any statutory provision vesting such power in such

Commission, Board, or Secretary.

15 U.S.C.A. Section 1022c

(West Pub. Co. 2001)

§ 1022c. Inclusion of priority policies and programs in Presi-

dent's Budget

To contribute to the achievement of the goals under

the Full Employment and Balanced Growth Act of 1978

[15 U.S.C.A. § 3101 et seq.], the President’s Budget for

each fiscal year beginning after October 27, 1978, shall

include priority policies and programs, which shall

include, to the extent deemed appropriate by the Presi-

dent, consideration of the following - * * *

(C) development of a comprehensive nat

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schroder v. Bush · 534 U.S. 1083 | Frix