Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fleming v. Borden, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

— Court, U.S

I3 - 641. ILED

~ 1 OCT 21 1993

am 1 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

Kathy Fleming, Petitioner,

Vv.

Borden, Inc., Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

C. Richard Kelly

Post Office Box 11648

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 252-6707

Counsel of Record

October 21, 1993

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does ~z9 U.S.C. §1140 require a

showing of intent or scienter as regards

its prohibition against discriminating

“against a participant or beneificiary

for exercising any right to which he is

entitled under" an ERISA plan or only as

regards discriminating against a plan

participant "for the purpose of

interfering with the attainment of any

right to which such participant may

become entitled", which is the language

of the second clause of the statute?

2. Does the language prohibiting

@iscrimination against an ERISA plan

participant "for the purpose of

interfering with the attainment" of

rights to which a participant may become

entitled require proof of an actual

subsequent entitlement of the rights

sought to be interfered with or can a

participant sue for damages or injuntive

relief caused by another’s discrimination

based on ae preception or possibility

which failed to materialize?

3. Does an employer’s policy of

terminating employees who exceed the

plant average of absences of two percent

a month and which makes no reasonable

exception for absences caused by health

problems or disabling conditions

inherently discriminate against

participants in the employer’s health and

disability ERISA plan?

4. Does 29 U.S.C. §1132 provide a

cause of action for injuntive relief for

violations of 29 U.S.C. §1140 even after

the plan participant was later terminated

as a result of the prior violations?

5. Was an inability to do her regular

job duties sufficient to cause the

waiting period for petitioner’s long term

ii

disability to run even if respondent gave

her light duty work to do and kept her on

the payroll?

iii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings

below were the petitioner Kathy Fleming

and the respondent Borden, Inc.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..--+++++eeeeeee> ie

LIST OF PARTIES ..- ceeeeeeeeeceeces iv.

OPINIONS BELOW ...---eeeeeeereeecerces 1

JURISDICTION ...-ee eee ccsccercererecrces 2

STAUTES INVOLVED ...-+--eeeeeeeerreeees 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..--e++eeeeeeeees 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ....«--- 40

I. The Fourth Circuit’s

decision required petitioer to

prove scienter in her actions

under 29 U.S.C. §1132 and the

first clause of 29 U.S.C.

§1140 when the statutory

lanuage does not support such

a requirement .......-++-+--+ 40

II../The Fourth Circuit’s

decision required petitioner

to show an interference with

the attainment of an actual

ERISA plan right when the

second clause of 29 U.S.C.

§1140 only requires that she

show discrimination for the

purpose of interfering with a

possible attainment ...... 43

Baas The Fourth Circuit’s

opinion does not address the

inherently discriminatory

effect of respondent’s policy

of terminating plan

participants who exceed the

plant average of absences

while making no meaningful

exception for absences related

to the use of health or

disability plan benefits ..47

Iv. The Fourth Circuit’s

decision failed to address

petitioner’s action for

damages and injunctive relief

under 29 U.S.C. §1132 based on

an intentional interference

with her short term disability

benefits for her migraines and

on her entitlement to long

term disability benefits ..51

Vv. The Fourth Circuit’s

decision does not address

respondent’s ERISA plan’s

definition of what constitutes

"total disability" for

purposes of meeting the six

month waiting period required

to qualify for long term

disability benefits .----- 53

COMOETIETION cccccccosvevoseorerrsorers 58

APPENDIX (Opinion and Judgment of Court

of Appeals, and Memorandum Decision of

District Court) -----+srrrsesrrerre®

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Conkwright v.Westinghouse Elec.

_Corp., .

933 F2d 231 (4th Cir 1991) ............ 53

Gavalik v. Coninental Can Co.

_Inc., .

812 F.2d 834 (3rd. Cir. 1987)...... 44, 48

McDonnell Douglas Corp.v. Green,

411 US 792, 93 S.Ct. 1817,

2° © fF Bei eed errr rrrrerrrrrer 48

Miscellaneous:

Vogal, Joan,"Containing Medical

and Disability Costs by Cutting

Unhealthy Employees: Does Section

510 of ERISA Provide a Remedy?",

Notre Dame Law Review, Vol. 62,

ie Se SR Wee oad so eo bec aes 49

Statutes:

29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B)...... 40, 42, 52

29 U.S.C. $1140 wccccccsccecves 40, 43, 46

IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

Kathy Fleming, Petitioner,

Vv.

Borden, Inc.-, Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner Kathy Fleming

respectfully prays that 4a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, entered

in the above-entitled proceeding on June

28, 1993 with petition for rehearing

denied on July 23, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Ciruit was unpublished and

is reprinted in the appendix hereto at

page l.

The memorandum decision of the

United States District Court for the

District of South Carolina (Anderson,

D.J) has not been reported. It is printed

in the appendix hereto at page 5.

JURISDICTION

This case was before the District

Court for South Carolina pursuant to 29

U.S.C. §1132 and 1140, the Employment

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(ERISA). On July 9, 1992 the District

Court granted respondent’s motion for

summary judgment. On August 4, 1993 the

District Court denied petition’s request

for reconsideration. i at

On petitioner’s appeal, the Fourth

Circuit on June 28, 1993, entered a

judgment and opinion affirming the

Jistrict Court’s order.

<<<

The jurisdiction of this Court to

review the judgment of the Fourth Circuit

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1)-

STATUTE INVOLVED

29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B), in

relevant part, gives ERISA plan

participants a civil action to recover

benefits due under an ERISA plan, to

enforce their rights under a plan, or to

clarify their rights to future benefits

under a plan. 29 U.S.C. §1140 makes it

unlawful for any person to discharge,

discipline, or discriminate against 4

participant for exercising any right to

which he is entitled under the provisions

of a plan, or for the purpose of

jnterferring with the attainment of any

right to which such participant may

become entitled under a plan. 29 U.S.C.

§1140 provides for enforcement of its

provisions through 29 U.S.C. §1132.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was employed by

respondent as a santation worker on the

third shift from January 22, 1981 until

respondent terminated her for excessive

absences on June 25, 1986. Petitioner

contends that she was’ constructively

terminated on or around April 17, 1986

when, after her health had continued to

become progressively worse over the last

four years, respondent both refused to

put her on disabled status and gave her

work to do which was’ intolerable

considering her physical condition. She

brought suit under various state law

causes of action and, after the

respondent removed the case to federal

court, petitioner added the ERISA cause

of action which is at issue herein.

Petitioner alleged that respondent

(1) wrongfully cut off her short tern

disability payments in October 1985 and

forced her back to work while she was

still disabled which constituted

discrimination against her based on her

exercising her ERISA plan rights and

thereby interfered with her attainment of

her plan rights (2) used her absences

caused by her disabling condition to

discipline and ultimately discharge her

for exercising her rights under the plan

and thereby interferred with her

attainment of rights under the plan (3)

refused to give her light duty work, as

its policies called for after a job

related injury, but instead required her

to continue her regular job duties

contrary to its own plant physicians’

orders (4) terminated her as she was

about to qualify for long term total

disability benefits when she refused to

return to her regular job duties against

the physicians’ instructions (5) used

unannounced and undocumented policies as

its justification for terminating

petitioner.

The decision of the Fourth Circuit

gave two reasons for the dismissal of

petitioner’s case on summary judgment,

holding that petitioner (1) failed to

establish her disability through medical

opinions during the relevant time period

and (2) failed to provide any evidence of

a causal link between her discharge and

her membership in respondent’s benefits

plan. There were a number of factual and

legal issues which the courts below had

to decide in order to arrive at these

ultimate conclusions. Taking these in

their logical order, petitioner will

attempt to show why the courts below must

have erred in their analysis of these

issues SO aS to nave arrived at the wrong

result.

1. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Respondent alleges that petitioner

was firea for excessive absenteeism,

stating in the affidavit of its plant

personnel manager , Bob Owens, which was

signed june 1, 1992 and submitted in

support of Borden’sS motion for summary

judgment heard June 12, 1992:

dealing with Kathy Fleming’sS

attendance problems, the plant

average was between 1.5 and

percent... --She was on two

medical leaves of absence in

1985, one for an operation on

ner thumb, ana the other for

migraine headaches - These were

not counted against her

attendance record. We will nold

an employee’sS 1ob for up to

ix months of medical leave.

(App- 340-41, emphasis added )

IBEST AVAILABLE COPY

When specifically deposed on the

issue on March 27, 1990, and asked the

question, "The employee can’t say ‘I was

on medical leave of absence’ can they? I

mean that has to be approved, doesn’t

it?", Mr. Owens answered, "What we’ve

said is medical leave of absence is a

doctor saying that they should not work

And we would grant, based on the

doctor’s statement, medical leave of

absence" (App 547 L.2; also see, 500

L.14-17, 495 L.7-23, 512 Leiw-3).

(a) MIGRAINE RELATED DISABILITIES

Any and all of petitioner’s absences

in 1985 were covered by the two warnings

which she received that year and were

related to the medical leaves of absence

to which Mr. Owens refers. The warning,

dated June 29, 1985 states:

Since 1 January 1985 Kathy has

been absent a total of 68 days

due to personal medical

problems. Fifty of these days

were medical leave of absence.

Eighteen days have been without

medical leave although a

349, emphasis added).

It is clear that respondent did not

grant petitioner medical leave for the

eighteen absences, but instead counted

the absences against her despite the fact

that petitioner provided respondent with

doctor’s statements in accordance with

respondent’s announanced policies.

Furthermore, it is clear that respondent

knew that these eighteen absences were

not caused by petitioner’s neglect of her

responsibilities or even the occasional

sick day, but were part of petitioner’s

disability with migraines, dizziness,

blurred vision, etc. for which respondent

paid petitioner disability payments from

July 9, 1985 through November 15, 1985.

The proof of respondent’s knowledge is

found in the warning given petitioner in

9

December 1985, which states "On June 29,

1985 Kathy was given a warning [the first

of those at issue in this case] on

excessive absences. At this [sic] time

she was given a medical leave to get her

health problems corrected" (App. 350,

351). Thus, respondent admits that at the

same time that it gave petitioner the

warning in June about her absences it

advised her to apply for disability,

(App.773 L.9-776 L.10) thereby counting

absences, which its personnel manager

knew were caused by petitioner’s

disability, toward petitioner’s

discipline and eventual termination.

Respondent’s short-term disability

plan pays benefits "from the eighth day

of disability or the first day you are

under a physician’s care if this is

later." (App. 380). Eight absences out of

a 250 day work year gives an average

10

absentee rate of 3.2 percent, well in

excess of the percentage rate respondent

used to terminate employees. While the

small amount of money for disability

benefits for the absences covered by the

June warning is not significant, the fact

that these absences were counted against

petitioner is significant, especially as

it becomes clear that respondent repeats

this pattern repeats up through April

1986 when it constructively terminated

petitioner as discussed below.

Petitioner’s neurologist’s notes for

August 14 and September 17, 1985

described petitioner’s disability as

follows:

Her headaches were,

essentially, stereotyped ....

When the headache is severe,

she will have blurring of her

vision and on occasion has had

her vision dimmed to the point

where it was difficult for her

to see. She will have nausea,

but does not actually vomit

with the headache. The headache

11

occurs 3 or 4 times a week and

may last 1 - 2 days (App 157-

58).

ee = @&

4 days ago she began to have,

daily, more severe headaches

with nausea and blurred vision.

IMPRESSION: migraine,

inadequately controlled

(App.160)

Respondent’s Benefits Claims

Department’s notes reveal that it later

unilaterally cut off petitioner’s

disability payments (1) after it received

an unsubstantiated rumor, with which

petitioner was never confronted, that

"10-18 per Bob [Owens] people said they

have seen Ms. Fleming showing houses (her

father is a realtor)" and (2) after it

was unable to find another neurologist to

do an independant medical examination on

petitioner (App.162-5). The denouement

came on October gas 1985 when

respondent’s notes reveal, "10-31 Ee

[employee] called about a check .... She

12

SS |

said she may have to take legal action. I

told her to do what she had to do, but I

wouldn’t pay benefits until we review

report of IME doctor" (App 165). The

impasse was resolved by Mr. Owens

telephoning petitioner and convincing her

to come back to work by telling her that

her job status would be threatened if she

did not, apparently referring to

respondent’s policy of only holding a job

for someone on disability for six months

(App.931 L.14).

Respondent and petitioner knew that

at the time of petitioner’s return that

her neurologist had noted that the

migraines were still “inadequately

controlled" (App.160) and that

respondent’s ERISA Plan provided that,

"If the same or related disability

reoccurs within 90 days after you have

returned to work, Short-term Disability

13

benefits will be paid as if the

disability had been continuous" (App.

381). Nevertheless, when petitioner

missed two days and had to leave early

two days right before the Christmas

holidays due to the same migraine related

symptoms, rather than give petitioner

disability pay, respondent gave her the

warning quoted above, sent by certified

letter dated December 27, 1985 (App.35l1).

On December 30, 1985, within one or two

days of receiving this letter, petitioner

was seen by the opthomologist who had

treated her for an eye injury incurred at

work in July 1984, a few months before

the time appellant reported that her

problems with migraines had _ begun

(App.145-9, 157). The opthomologist

described petitioner’s symptoms as "LE

[left eye] vision is blurry, swells and

is red" and he scheduled her for a CT

14

scan. After getting the CT scan back and

seeing petitioner on January 17, 1986,

the opthomologist gave a dignosis of

"pain, decreased vision, double vision

left eye" and referred petitioner back to

the neurologist who was treating her

migraines (App 173-5).

The consultations between the

opthomologist, Dr. Nicholson, and the

neurologist, Dr. Nichols, as well as the

Similarity of the symptoms they describe,

indicate that petitioner’s absences in

December 1985 should have been considered

under the provision of respondent’s

benefits plan which provided that when,

"the same or a related disability

reoccurs within ninety days after you

returned to work, Short-term Disability

will be paid as if the disability had

been continuous" (App. 381). Again

respondent knew that it was disciplining

15

appellant for absences caused by her

disabling condition. This is shown by the

fact that Mr. Owens, upon having the

opthomologist’s bill submitted as a

workers’ compensation claim, wrote

respondent’s carrier:

This employee states that Dr.

Nicholson [the opthomologist]

sent her for this CT scan for

the alleged injury that

happened 19 months ago. This

employee has had extensive

medical history recently

concerning headaches which has

been covered under her group

health (App 199).

Petitioner provided doctor’s

excuses from her neurologist for four

more abences caused by migraines on

February 26, March 16, and April 29 and

30, 1986 (App.215, 256). Petitioner’s

supervisor’s notes for the period March 8

to April 30, 1986 show respondent

calculating "7.9% [abences due to]

headaches" for that time (App. 258).

16

aeesinieiniaeiiiieeal

Counting the eighteen days petitioner was

out with this disability in the Spring of

1985, the one hundred and thirty-two days

petitioner was out on short-term

disability during the Summer and Fall of

1985, the four days she missed in

December 1985, and the four days

petitioner was out due to her migraines

in 1986, the total comes to one hundred

and fifty-eight (158) days of cumulative

disability for the same problem within a

twelve month period, with recurrances

always being within ninety days of one

another.

Respondent’s benefits plans provide

for short term benefits to end after one

nhnundred and eighty-nine days of

disability in a one year period, stating:

If a disability lasts longer

than 27 weeks, LTD [Long-term

Benefit] Plan benefits can

provide monthly income

beginning the 28th week and

continuing for as long as you

17

remain totally and continuously

disabled. Both occupational and

non-occupational disablities

are covered by the LTD plan."

(App 389, emphasis added).

(b) ARM RELATED DISABILITIES

On January 30, 1986, petitioner was

climbing on a packaging machine in order

to clean it and fell. She caught her full

weight with her right hand, the same hand

on which she had had the ligament

replacement surgery which had caused her

to take the medical leave of absence in

early 1985 to which Mr. Owens’ affidavit

quoted above refers. Petitioner worked on

the sanitation crew from eleven at night

until seven in the morning. After trying

to continue to work, she eventually went

to a hospital emergency room_at around

4:00 A.M. January 31, 1986, where the

plant doctor put her arm in a splint and

Sling and directed that petitioner be

given light duty work and not use her

18

right arm (App.184-90). Other than a

couple of limited attempts by petitioner

to use her injured arm while at work,

which only caused her injury to get

worse, the plant doctors never changed

their instructions that peticioner was

not to use her right arm.

Petitioner’s condition, however,

got continually worse. Petitioner had

returned to work the day after the

injury, but on February 9, 1986 she had

to leave work to go to the emergency room

due to continuing problems with her arn.

The plant physician took her out of work

until February 12, 1985 (App.190, 194).

On February 17, 1986, the plant

physician’s notes indicate ."fiberglass

cast placed" (App.190). On February 19,

1986, the same day that Mr. Owens wrote

respondent’s workers’ compensation

carrier asking it to disallow the claim

19

for petitioner’s opthomologist’s bill,

Mr. Owens wrote petitioner’s supervisor

John Rogers:

2-19-86 - John Rogers: I talked

to Dr. Tesseneer [one of the

plant’s designated workers

compensation physician] today

and he is the one who put the

cast on Kathy. He is treating

her for Tendinitis and expects

at this point to keep the cast

on for a couple of weeks ....

Based on 3 days absent for flu-

-one on Sunday to see doctor

about the arm, one day after

being scheduled to see doctor

for arm, this leaves 1 day and

a partial plus 1 late to work

with. Let’s hold off on the

write-up at this point. But

let’s review each absence.

To which absence Mr. Owens refers as

being left unexplained, it is hard to

decipher. Based on the warning which

respondent gave petitioner on March 12,

1986, the third warning which respondent

relies on as justification for

terminating petitioner, and by looking at

petitioner’s attendance chart (App. 354,

347), one can infer that the one absence

20

to which Mr. Owens apparently refers is

January 17, 1986, when petitioner saw her

opthomologist for her migraine related

symptoms and for which she provided a

doctor’s excuse (App.174, 176). The one

day late, January 23, 1986, is admittedly

the only day petitioner had been late in

her five years at Borden (App.544 L.12-

549 L.7, 1129 L.15-1130 L.16). Her only

partial workdays were when she left work

to go to the emergency room.

Petitioner provided a doctor’s

excuse for being out from February 13 to

is, 1986, the flu days Mr. Owens’

memorandum mentions, and Mr. Owens

concedes in deposition that someone in a

food processing plant should not work if

she has an infectious disease (App.198,

526 L.11-529 L.17, 540 L.14). Petitioner

was absent the night of February 21-22,

1986 and the plant physician’s notes show

21

that, when he saw her the morning of

February 22, 1986, she was’ suffering

"hypothenar muscle cramping" in her

injured hand (App. 190). This was also

the time respondent began to keep notes

on petitioner, the first of which simply

noted "2-21 swollen thumb" (App 203),

showing that respondent knew that this

absence was related to petitioner’s

injured arm. The next supervisor’s note

says, "3-5 Dr. had removed half of [the

fiberglass] cast [which had extended to

her biceps]. The other half was loose on

her arm. Was to see Dr. on 3-6 at 8:45 to

have new case put on." (App 203). The

physician’s notes confirm this as the

reason for petitioner’s absence on March

5, 1986 (App. 202). Respondent’s next

note reads "i-6/7 at i:30 <Aa..

[petitioner] said she had stomach ache

and was throwing up and had to go home"

22

(App. 203). Petitioner provided a

doctor’s excuse for being out March 6-8,

1986 with, what was then believed to be,

another infectious disease (App 208). A

later note from a "clin. pharmacist",

however, states petitioner’s medications

for her arm injury could cause drowziness

and “stomach distress" (App.221).

2. RESPONDENT’S POLICIES

Except for one day late and three

days out with flu and three days out with

stomach problems, every absence which

respondent counts against petitioner from

January 1,1985 up to the third warning

for absences which respondent gave

petitioner on March 12, 1986 was

connected to petitioner’s migraines or

arm injury as shown either by a

physician’s excuse or ae physician’s

office notes, such that respondent could

easily have obtained a more detailed

23

explanation of the absence from a

physician had it desired or requested

such. Despite this, on March 12, 1986

respondent sent petitioner a certified

letter which listed some of the absences

discussed above and told her "When

queried about the reasons for your

consistant [sic] lateness’ and

absenteeism, you were unable to offer any

reasonable excuse which would be

accepted" (App. 209). This obviously

contradictes the medical leave policy

which Mr. Owens described in his

deposition as set out herein above. This

also contradictes the handbook given

petitioner at the time she was hired. The

handbook sets out respondent’s specific

policies regarding attendance as follows:

ATTENDANCE - An UNEXCUSED

ABSENCE occurs when an employee

fails to notify their

supervisor of absence prior to

scheduled shift starting time

and/or permission is not

24

————————eee_eKeaQvVte

granted by the supervisor.

Disciplinary procedures for

unexcused absences are a5

follows: One occurrance is

considered equal to one day of

absence and will require 4a

written reprimand. Four

reprimands for unexcused

absence within a 12 month

period will be cause for

termination (App.138)

Absences which were unexcused under

the handbook policy were marked on

petitioner’s attendance chart as an "L"

(App.348). She had none prior to April

17, 1986. Petitioner’s supervisor’s

admitted that she always came to them and

obtained permission to leave early, as

the handbook required, when she would

leave because her arm was hurting her.

Petitioner nevertheless received a

reprimand, dated June 12, 1986, for

unexcused absences. AS discussed below,

however, this was after respondent had

constructively terminated petitioner.

Respondent contends, however, that it did

25

not terminate petitioner pursuant to the

handbook policy, but that it terminated

petitioner pursuant to a sentence found

in a Plant Rules Book which it admits it

casually handed to employees a year and a

half after petitioner was hired and

received the handbook which she stated

she had read and studied at the time. The

sentence relied upon by respondent reads,

"Excessive absences for any reason are

subject to termination" (App.359), which

makes no grammatical sense as it

literally means that “absences will be

terminated". Respondent admits that it

made no effort to bring this significant

change in policy to its _ employee’s

attention, despite having contracted with

them in its handbook that "your

supervisor will regularly keep you up to

date on important matters" and "As your

representative, he or she has the

26

responsibility to keep you informed of

company matters that are of interest to

you" (App.135, 126). There is no evidence

that the Plant Rules Book policies on

attendance were brought to petitioner’s

attention or were ever cited as the

authority for the warnings that

respondent was giving petitioner. The

alleged details of the policy, such as

the alleged "plant average absences" rule

to which Mr. Owens refers in his

affidavit, petitioner’s supervisors admit

were never announced to employees or

documented in any way. Also, as

respondent must admit, this was never

revealed in discovery in the case despite

petitioner’s having asked questions

directly on the point (App.556 L.1-10,

63-72). The plant manager deposed that he

and the personnel manager would just look

at each individual absence and decide how

27

to treat it, but the two also deposed to

a number of supposed unannounced and

undocumented exceptions whereby absences

for such things as military duty or jury

duty were not counted towards excessive

absences (App. 919 L.1-922 L17, 1066

L.10-17).

3. CONSTRUCTIVE TERMINATION

In April, respondent’s notes show it

insisting that petitioner (1) clean the

conveyors high above the plant floor,

(App 831 L 24 -833 L 8,227-9,566 L 1-569

L 17,579 L 8-581 L 10,800-801 L 17, 1039

L 5,1113 L 20-1119 L 10,1178 L 10,1255 L

25) (2) scrape the goo-like, cooked-on

oil off the oil-holding tanks, (App 593 L

8- 594 L 17,1110 L 20-1113 L 22,1163 L

12-1170 L 12-1184 L 19) and (3) clean the

trash-can-sized waste-food buckets using

high- pressure water which was so hot one

of petitioner’s supervisors admitted

28

being scalded by it (App 581 L 11-582 L

23,1154 L 13-1163,1123 L 5=-1127,1120 L

11). This was dangerous, (App 1029 L 21-

1031 L 4) painful, and not in line with

what the doctors had instructed. At one

point in April 1986 respondent tried to

tell petitioner that the doctors had

released her for regular duty (App

251,1289 L 20-1290 L 4), which was

completely unverified, (App 251,595 L 13-

24) not that it much mattered as the

conveyors, Oil-holding tanks, and buckets

were regular duty jobs anyway (App 1177 L

19,1253 L 9 = 1254 L 16,1259 L 2-1269 L

6). Petitioner continued to try to work

as requested, but she refused to allow

respondent to further endanger her life

or torture her.

The week ending March 22, 1986,

petitioner-—worked 51.4 hours in six days.

Her evaluation for April 3, 1986 told her

29

that, "She is not liked by most members

[of the sanitation crew] as they feel

they have to do extra work because she

does not carry her part of the work"

(App.223, 698 L.20-706 L.2, 771 L.21-772

L.13). In the extensive notes kept by her

supervisors in their efforts to terminate

her, there are no allegations that

petitioner did not do the work assigned

her. The resentment of petitioner’s

fellow workers was caused by her light

duty assignments. Petitioner’s supervisor

testified that when petitioner’s absences

began causing him problems with his own

responsibilties such that he asked for a

extra temporary employee, he was told by

the personnel manager, Bob Owens, that,

as long as petitioner was on the payroll,

petitioner’s supervisor could not have

more help and that the supervisor should

"build a case and get rid of her" (App.

30

1261 L.7-1263 L.13, 533 L.2-536 L.4, 553

L.19-555 L.25, 936 L19-939 L.5, 1027

L.23-1029 L.2, 1272 L.27-1274 L.8).

Respondent’s plant manager, who set the

tone for the plant he was over,

testified, "Do I want impaired people

working in that plant? No, I don’t"

_ (App.927 L.24).

One of petitioner’s physicians

approved her use of her injured arm to

lift up to twenty-five pounds. Shortly

thereafter, on March 31, 1986, petitioner

reinjured her arm trying to lift a

kerosene can and went to the hospital

where she was given medication which made

her feel too light headed tc work

(App.214, 217-9). When the plant

physician saw her, he prescribed a series

of TENS units and instructed that she not

try any climbing or lifting (App.224-6,

231). Petitioner’s physicians diagnosed

31

her as having bursitis and they began

giving her injections which made her

foggy. At this same time, petitioner’s

supervisiors were trying to make her work

on overhead conveyors which could only be

reached by a twelve-foot vertical ladder

which had smooth, rounded metal rungs and

lead to a catwalk high above the plant

floor as shown by photographs in the

record (App.227-31, 260). The plant

manager considered this too dangerous to

allow petitioner’s photographer and

lawyer, who had no disabilities, to

attempt during discovery.

Petitioner was out April 10, 1986

due to the injection she received for the

bursitis which she had developed. She was

out April 11, 1986 because respondent was

trying to make her work at the dangerous

heights of the conveyors. She provided a

doctor’s excuse which her supervisor

32

described as saying "she was ‘out of work

‘due to arm’(note attached). I asked her

how long she would be out since the note

did not say" (App.229). Petitioner

returned to work with a note from the

plant physician instructing that she be

given lighter duties. Respondent’s

reaction was to make her scrape the

cooked-on oil, which petitioner’s

supervisor described as a "gue", off the

oil-holding tanks in the plant’s

basement, a job which her supervisior

admitted was usually done with caustic

chemicals “using no manhours" (App.236,

248-9). Petitioner went to the emergency

room on April 19, 1986 and brought a

disability certificate from the plant

physician, but respondent nevertheless

counted the absence as unexcused. Her

supervisiors told petitioner that it

would do her no good to bring a

33

physician’s statement after she was out

because by then the paperwork counting

her absences against her was already in.

(App.237-42, 346, 221, 586 L.16-591 L.13,

1272 L.4-12, 1306 L.19-22). On April 22,

1986, petitioner saw the doctor who had

operated on her wrist, but he “explained

to her that an independant evaluation

would no way [sic] relate to her present

work status, as this is under the care of

Dr. Tesseneer [the plant physcian]."

(App. 244, 260). On April 26, 1986

respondent tried to tell petitioner that

her doctors had released her for regular

duty which was untrue. For petitioner to

have tried to do the lifting and climbing

which regular duty required would have

been dangerous for her in her condition

(App.251).

It was obviously of no use for

petitioner to try to provide doctors’

34

excuses any more as respondent had told

her such were not "excuses which would be

accepted" and her private physician had

told her that his opinion, for which she

paid $168.00 would "no way relate to her

situation at work" as that was under the

control of the plant physicians, and, as

of April 19, 1986, it was of no use for

petitioner to bring a physician’s

statement from the plant physicians.

Also, petitioner’s supervisor’s notes

state that both respondent and petitioner

"Knew that she would to be evaluated by

another Dr. [Dr. Royals]" who was in a

different town and she had to be

scheduled and test results obtained

before her condition could be further

diagnoised (App. 251,264,267-74).

Petitioner could only wait and try to do

her best in the face of an impossible

Situation (App.251). Respondent had, in

Jo

effect, cut petitioner off from obtaining

any more physician’s statements which

might further restrict her work

assignments or document the assignment’s

effects on her, while at the same time it

was giving her work which was intolerable

in her condition.

On June 23, 1986, after receiving a

copy of Dr. Royals’ report in which he

saw one line which seemed to say what he

wanted to hear, Mr. Owens, the personnel

manager, called petitioner and told her,

again falsely, that she had been released

for regular duty work. When petitioner

refused this dangerous directive, Mr.

Owens did not call Dr. Royals or Dr.

Tesseneer, both of whose later statements

deny such an interpretation (App. 283,

286, 294-6), but called respondent’s

corporate headquarters and, after

explaining the situation, recieved

36

' permission to terminate petitioner. The

personnel manager denied making such a

call to corporate headquarters, but the

plant manager revealed it in a later

deposition (App.597 L.4-598 L.5,1004

L.18).

From January 30, 1986, the time

when petitioner slipped and fell at work,

until June 25, 1986, when she was fired,

respondent’s plant physicians instructed

that petitioner’s arm be keep in slings,

casts, braces, and TENS units and, except

for short trial-periods, they instructed

that she was not to use the arm at all.

During this time petitioner was never

able to the essential duties of her

regular job, which consisted of climbing

on and around equipment and machinary,

some of which was ten to twenty feet

above the hard concrete floor of the

plant and all of which was slippery from

37

the cooking oil which prevaded the snack

food plant. Anyone doing the regular

duties of the sanitation crew needed the

use of both arms. The diagnosis which the

physicians made available to respondent

included "(1) chronic ligamentous sprain,

right wrist (possible torn triangular

fibro-cartilage) (2) carpal tunnel

syndrome, right hand" (App.267-9) and (3)

"acute bursitis" in her arm and shoulder

(App.231, 260-1). The physician entrusted

with her primary care, Dr. Tesseneer,

noted "discussed poss. of chronicity of

pain" and "said probably have prob. rest

of life" (App 280). While the opinions

below hold that in June one of

petitioner’s doctors opined that. she

could return to her regular duties at the

plant, the physician, Dr. Royals, gave an

affidavit for this case which states

that:

38

a

He cannot say that Ms. Fleming

did not have an injury to her

wrist and he did not attempt

to make any determination as

to whether she could resume

her normal duties at work as

he did not know what her

duties were nor had he been

asked to make such a

determination" (App. 296).

Dr. Tesseneer’s letter to

respondent dated June 26, 1986 clearly

shows that after seeing Dr. Royal’s

report, Dr. Tesseneer still instructed

that petitioner not use her arm (App. 283)

and respondent took the position in

petitioner’s Employment Security

Commission hearing that petitioner did

not qualify for unemployment because her

arm prevented her from doing the regular

duties of her job.

39

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

The Fourth Circuit’s decision required

petitioer to prove scienter in her

actions under 29 U.S.C. §1132 and the

first clause of 29 U.S.C. §1140 when the

statutory lanuage does not support such a

requirement.

The decisions below overlook the

legal standard set out by 29 U.S.C. 1140

which reads in pertinant part:

It shall be unlawful for any

person to discharge, fine,

suspend, expel, discipline, or

discriminate against a

participant...for exercising

any right to which he is

entitled under the provisions

of an employee benefit

plan...or for the purpose of

attainment of any right to

which such participant may

become entitled..

While the statute itself uses language

requiring scienter or intent only in the

language prohibiting interference with

40

the attainment of benefits, the opinion

- below and the opinions of other circuits

have applied such a requirement to actual

interference with plan benefits so as to

eliminate, through ERISA’s broad pre-

emptive language, any possible cause of

action for negligently or even recklessly

depriving a person of his or her plan

benefits. In this case, the opinions

below adopted a scienter standard and,

therefore, did not address facts which

showed that petitioner’s supervisors

negligently and recklessly interfered

with her ERISA plan benefits.

The statute at issue is a

discrimination statute which is enforced

in much the same way as_ statutes

prohibiting discrimination based on race,

religion, gender, age, et cetera. There

are, however, few reported cases

interpreting the substantive application

41

of this statute. Because of the

importance of ERISA benefits to most

working Americans and their families and

because of the ‘unparalleled pre-emption

of State remedies for interference with

ERISA benefits, this Court’ should

consider granting a writ of certiorari in

this case.

29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(B), in

relevant part, gives ERISA plan

participants a civil action (1) to

recover benefits due under an ERISA plan,

(2) te enforce their rights under a plan,

or (3) to clarify their rights to future

benefits under a plan. This cause of

action is in the nature of one sounding

in contract and the intent to breach the

agreement should have no bearing on the

remedy for such a breach.

42

ienieeemememeneieenieaeial

II

The Fourth cCurcuit’s decision required

petitioner to show an interference with

the attainment of an actual ERISA plan

right when the second clause of 29 U.S.C.

§1140 only requires that she _ show

discrimination for the purpose of

interfering with a possible attainment.

Contrary to the holding of the

decisons below, petitioner did establish

her disability during the relevant time

period through medical opinions. The

legal standard, however, does not

consider whether petitioner could, in

fact, have used her benefits had there

been no discrimination, discipline, or

discharge for the purpose of interfering

with her rights. The legal standard which

should apply in this case is whether

petitioner was damaged, or even in

jeopardy of being damaged so as_ to

43

justify injunctive relief, due to

respondent’s attempts to interfere with a

right to which she "may" become entitled.

If an employer fired an employee because

he believed she has cancer and because he

wants to avoid costs to his self-insured

health, disability, and life insurance

benefits, he has violated the statute

quoted above and the employee is entitled

to reinstatement, injunctive relief and

damages, even if it turns out that the

diagnosis of cancer was a mistake. The

issue as to petitioner’s discrimination

case, therefore, is not what her health

was, but what respondent believed it was

or was likely to become.

In Gavalik v. Coninental Can Co.

Inc., 812 F.2d 834,842(3rd. Cir. 1987)

the trial court hed found that

Continental had developed a program "to

avoid future vesting of break-in-service

44

i

pension benefits" by not re-calling or

re-hiring those persons with a break-in-

service who had not vested, and that

Continental’s actions regarding certain

plants and lines "were motivated in part

by the desire to prevent employees from

etteining eligibility [for vested

pensions]...and in part by the declining

business conditions...", but the district

court concluded "that Continental’s

actions did not violate §510 of ERISA."

The circuit court reversed this decision

citing authority, at page 851, that a

plaintiff does not have to show that

discrimination was the sole reason for

the adverse action. The Gavalik court

goes on, at page 852, to point out that

it does not matter whether the

ijiscrimination actually succeeds or even

if the employee "would actually have

received the benefits," if the defendant

45

intended to discriminate, 1% -3e

responsible for the harm done.

In Gavalik at page 856, the court

cites the "board, remedial objectives of

§510," for the proposition that an

employer’s act "need not achieve the

employer’s illicit goals [as required in

most discrimination cases]" (emphasis

added), and held:

Because the district court

construed §510 (29 U,8s.C.

§1140]) as requiring actual

deprivation of rights, it

$ @ktis@A «4 S °@

consider...deliberate steps

undertaken for the purpose of

interfering with...pension

eligibility. When so

understood, it is clear that

the district court’s own

findings are evidence of

appellants’ satisfaction of

their burden to establish by a

preponderance of the evidence

that the plan was infested

with discriminatory intent

sufficient to constitute a

violation of ERISA."

The court, therefore, held that _

regardless of any resulting harm, the

46

plaintiffs were entitled to the

injunctive relief requested. Petitioner

would argue the same applies to her

request for injunctive relief.

III

The Fourth Ciruit’s opinion does not

address the inherently discriminatory

effect of respondent’s policy of

terminating plan participants who exceed

the plant average of absences and makes

no meaningful exception for absences

related to the use of health or

disability plan benefits.

The decision overlooks’ the

inherently discriminatory effect of

respondent’s policy of termimating

employees who exceed the plant average of

absences without considering the

connection between the absences and the

employee’s potential disability. See,

47

=

Gavalik v.Continental Can Co., 812 F2d

834 (3rd Cir. 1987).

The court in Gavalik analyzes the

McDonnel]_ Douglas Corp.v. Green, 411 US

792, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 36 [Ed 2d 668 (1973)

"shifting burdens" mechanism and, at

page 853, the Gavalik court holds it

inapplicable where the plaintiff’s case

consists of “direct ‘smoking-gun’

evidence that the employer acted with

discriminatory motivation" stating that

where "direct evidence is available,

problems of proof are no different than

in other civil cases." Petitioner

contends that respondent’s policy of

terminating employees who exceed the

plant average for absences is an inherent

and direct pattern and practice of

discrimination against employees who have

rights under respondent’s health and

disability benefits plans and who begin

48

gg

to use those rights. In Gavalik,

Continental Can had a computer system

called the Bell System which was designed

to (1) identify employees whose pensions

had not vested, (2) lay them off, (3)

alert management if one of these

employees was to be recalled, and (4)

adjust production so as to avoid the need

for such recalls. Continental used the

system for "liability avoidance." While

the system used by respondent is not as

refined and exact as the one used by

Continental, it has the same predictable

and impermissible effect.

In her article, "Containing Medical

and Disability Costs by Cutting Unhealthy

Employees: Does Section 510 of ERISA

Provide a Remedy?", Notre Dame Law

Review, Vol. 62, No. 5 (1987), Joan Vogel

has a section beginning on page 1029

49

entitled "Targeting Medical Risks" which

reads:

This section will explore four

general ways that the employer

might seek to lower its

insurance costs. (1) by

dismissing sick and injured

employees;...and (4) by

establishing rules _ on

absenteeism which result in

discharging employees before

they qualify for benefits.

keke

If employees can lose their

jobs just because they need

their insurance or if they can

be fired because they pose

risks of insurance claims in

the future, few could afford

the care they need, and the

many safeguards in ERISA would

be vitiated.

In a sub-section entitled

"Absenteeism and Leave Policies" at page

1040, Professor Vogel writes:

Absentee policies can take a

number of forms.First, some

employers only excuse absences

if the employee’s illness

falls under an approved list.

kekex

50

address petitione

Other employers limit even the

number of excused absences so

that a victim of heart disease

or cancer could be terminated

before becoming eligible for

disability benefits or leave.

kek

The employer might also

severely limit the number of

days off and, perhaps, provide

no sickness and accident

insurance policy to cover the

employee before he or she

would be eligible for long

term disability benefits.

kekk

Here the employer would argue

that the intention is not

deprivation of benefits but

deterrence of excess

absenteeism, 4a legitimate

concern. Yet there are ways

of promoting that interest-

such as Dy requiring 4a

doctor’s certificate or 4

physical exam to show that the

medical condition is genuine-

that do not deprive employees

of benefits when they need

then.

iv

The Fourth Circuit’s decision fail

ed to

r’s action for damages

and injunctive relief under 29 U.S.C.

51

§1132 based on an intentional

interference with her short term

disability benefits for her migraines and

on her entitlement to long term

disability benefits.

Petitioner plead respondent’s

promises regarding benefits and that she

"is entitled to all the remedies allowed

under 29 U.S.C. 1132 [the codification of

§502] including...recovery of benefits

due her under these plans"(App 21-4,30).

She requested as relief an order

determining "her rights under defendant’s

plan" (App 34-5). As the Court noted in

Conkwright v.Westinghouse Elec. Corp.,

933 F2d 231, at 237 (4th Cir 1991) "§§502

and 510 together protect the panoply of

rights at risk in the...[benefits]

context". Petitioner was fired before she

met respondent’s qualifications to file a

Claim. All of respondent’s materials told

52

|

petitioner that her rights to benefits

terminated when she was terminated (App

395,385,386,987 L 22). In its order

signed July 3, 1990, the District Court

held that petitioner’s suit was notice

enough of her claim (SuppApp). Despite

its fiduciary duties (App 1367 L 14,1411

L 2), respondent has made no attempt to

evaluate the merits of petitioner’s claim.

Vv

The Fourth Circuit’s decision does not

address respondent’s ERISA plan’s

definition of what constitutes "total

disability" for purposes of meeting the

six month waiting period required to

qualify for long term disability benefits.

The decisions below found no

evidence of petitioner’s being disabled or

qualifying for disability, but this

overlooks the legal standard for

53

disability set out in respondent’s ERISA

documents, which read in pertinent part:

The Term Totally Disabled or

Total Disability means,

(a) during the Waiting Period

plus the first twenty-four

months of absence from work due

to disability thereafter, (i)

(b) after the Waiting Period

plus the first twenty-four

months of absence from work due

to disability thereafter,(i)

the complete inability of a

Covered Employee to engage in

any and every duty for which

the Covered Employee is or

becomes reasonably qualified by

training, education or

experience.

As can be seen, the definition of

the "total disability" required to

qualify for long term disability is the

same for the six-month waiting period

required before long-term disability

begins and for the first twenty-four

months that the employee receives

54

disability benefits. If one looks at the

documents which respondent gave petitioner

to rely upon, the standard was stated as

"Once LTD Plan benefits start, they will

continue for the next two years if you

are not able to perform the essential

duties of your job" (App.391). The

decisions below held that petitioner

was not disabled as no doctor diagnosed

her as disabled or recommended that she

stop working due to her arm injury. The

first of these holdings is contrary to the

evidence and the second overlooks the

evidence that short-term disability

benefits were not available for job-

related injuries (App.380).

Respondent’s management testified

that with job-related injuries they would

make the employee continue to come in to

work and would give her light duty work

which was as easy as necessary (App.925

55

~~

L.17-8, 926, 1119 L.11-7, 927 L.24).

Thus, the fact that petitioner continued

to try to work has no relationship to

whether she was disabled from doing the

essential duties of her job. A _ better

indicator is respondent’s actions when

petitioner’s hand was previously operated

on for a non-job-related injury. Then

respondent continued her short-term

disability payments based on her doctor’s

statement that "she still had some

limitation of motion of the thumb and

still had some tenderness [and therefore]

she is not yet able to return to her

regular work" (App.151,501,124,502 L.4).

Long-term disability applies to work

related injuries after the employee has

been given light duty work for a six-

month waiting period (App.389). When the

injury is not work related, Mr. Owens

explained "If the doctors are saying she

56

is unable to do her regular job, then...I

file a [disability] claim" (App.498 L.19-

24). Just as respondent will hold a job

for six months while an employee is on

short-term disability if the disability

is not job-related, respondent will make

light duty work available for the six-

month waiting period before long-term

disability benefits begin if the injury

is work related. The failure of the

courts below to recognize the criteria

applied to the waiting period when an

employee is on light-duty work has

resulted in the improper result which has

been reached in this case.

As to the decisions’ other point,

petitioner obviously had medical evidence

of her disability with migraines and

related symptoms and obviously was within

weeks of qualifying for long term

disability because of the migraines as of

57

April 17, 1986. The decisions below

overlook this and overlook evidence that

petitioner was in fact disabled by her

arm from January 30, 1986 to June 25,

1986, when she was officially terminated,

and that she continued to be disabled

thereafter.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s short term disability

benefits for her disability caused by

migraines, etc. were illegally terminated

by respondent in 1985. Respondent

disciplined and discriminated against

petitioner with warnings that were later

used to terminate her because she was

absent due to migraines covered by

respondent’s ERISA plans. The opinions

below fail to address this at all.

Respondent’s own plant doctors’ opinions

can only be read as an opinion that

petitioner could not do the _ essenial

58

’

duties of her job as she was never able

to use her right hand at work after

January 30, 1986. By the time she was

fired on June 25, 1986, petitioner was

approaching the sixth month of the

waiting period required before long-term

disability would begin. That petitioner

would have qualified for long-term

disability is Clear; that respondent had

doctors’ reports and its management could

see for themselves that petitioner was

likely to use her benefits, is beyond

dispute.

The decision of the Fourth Circuit

required petitioner to meet a scienter

Standard which the Statutory lanuage does

not require. tft did not consider

petitioner’s Claims for the loss of her

benefits or for injuntive relief. It

required petitioner to Prove that

respondent’s purposeful discrimination

59

interferred with the actual attainment of

a benefit, rather than merely proving

damages as a result of an intent to

discriminate. These are substantial

errors of law which have deprived

petitioner of her rights under the

applicable statutes.

For these reasons as_ discussed

above, this petition for certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

C. Richard Kelly

Post Office Box 11648

Columbia, S. C. 29211

(803) 252-6707

Counsel of Record

60

APPENDIX

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

_,

KATHY FLEMING,

Plaintiff-Appelilant,

v. > No. 92-2009

BorDEN, INCORPORATED,

Defendant-Appellee.

4

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of South Carolina, at Spartanburg.

G. Ross Anderson, Jr., District Judge.

(CA-89-2839-7)

Argued: June 8, 1993

Decided: June 28, 1993

Before PHILLIPS, LUTTIG, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Charles Richard Kelly, Columbia, South Carolina,

Appellant. Melegia Lee Daniels, Jr.. DANIELS & BRA

Greenville, South Carolina, for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.

LO.P. 36.5 and 36.6.

00001

Se |

2 FLEMING v. Borpben, Inc.

OPINION

granuing summary Judgment to Borden. Incorporated, on Fleming’s

Claim under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

fi

Fleming began work on the Sanitation crew at Borden’s snack food

factory in Spartanburg, South Carolina in 1981. Various non-

occupational health problems forced her to take S¢veral extended

doctors opined that she Could return to her regular duties at the plant,

Fleming received a final waming. She failed to work a full shift the

NeXt two nights. On June 25, having missed at least sixty days of

work in 1986, Fleming was terminated by Borden due to excessive

absences.

FLEMING V. BORDEN, INC. iE

hen allowed Fleming to amend her complaint to add an ERISA

-laim, namely that Borden had discharged her in order to prevent her

om qualifying for long-term disability benefits under appellee’s ben-

‘fits plan, in violation of ERISA section 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140.* The

jistrict court remanded the state law claims to state court. Upon their

jisposition, Borden moved for summary judgment on Fleming's

SRISA claim.

The district court granted the motion. Applying the framework set

forth in Conkwright v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 933 F.2d 231 (4th

Cir. 1991), the court held that Fleming had failed to establish a prima

facie case of discriminatory discharge under section 510. While Flem-

ing claimed to have been nearing the twenty-seven week disability

threshold required for elibility for long-term benefits at the time she

was terminated, the district court noted that she never actually estab-

lished, through medical opinion or otherwise, that she was in fact dis-

abled at any time between her injury on January 30, 1986, and her

dismissal five months later. Thus, far from approaching eligibility for

long-term benefits, Fleming had not even satisfied the prerequisite

necessary to start the disability clock running. Moreover, the district

~ourt concluded that there was no evidence that the supervisors who

fired Fleming had ever even considered the possibility that she might

be proceeding toward eligibility for long-term disability benefits at

the time they discharged her. Since Fleming was unable to produce

any evidence of a causal connection between her membership in the

nenefits plan and her discharge, an essential element of her ERISA

-laim, the district court held that Borden was entitled to judgment

We have read the briefs, heard oral argument, and given full con-

sideration to Fleming’s contentions. Finding no error in the thorough

spinion of the court below, Fleming v. Borden, Inc., No. 89-2839-7

(D.S.C. July 9, 1992), and agreeing that appellant failed to establish

her disability through medical opinion during the relevant time

period, or to provide any evidence of a causal link between her dis-

*"It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge . . . a participant . ..

for the purpose of interfering with the attainment of any right to which

such participant may become entitled under the [employer's benefits|

plan." 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

000035

4 FLEMING Vv. Borpen, INc.

charge and her membership in the Borden benefits plan, we affirm on

the reasoning of the district court.

AFFIRMED

00004

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA

SPARTANBURG DIVISION

KATHY FLEMING,

Plaintiff,

vs. C. A. No. 7:89-2839-3

BORDEN, INC.,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on

defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.

Plaintiff’s Complaint, as amended, alleged

numerous violations of state law, based on

both contract and tort theories, as well

as a federal claim alleging discriminatory

discharge, in violation of Section 510 of

the Employee Retirement Income Security

Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. Section 1140.

Plaintiff’s state law claims were remanded

000095

to state court and resolved there. This

Court will not consider them further. For

the reasons stated below, the Court grants

summary judgment °§ to defendant on

plaintiff’s ERISA claim.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff was employed at defendant’s

snack food plant in 1981. In 1985, she

took extended leaves of absence, one for

an operation on her thumb and one for

migraine headaches. She drew short-term

disability benefits each time. She was

also absent from work on several other

days in 1985 for various reasons. She was

given two warnings in 1985 for excessive

absences. Her leaves of absence were not

counted toward her absence record. On

January 30, 1986, plaintiff suffered an

injury to her wrist at work. She returned

to work the next day on light duty and,

despite her injury, was able to work her

regular hours until the middle of April,

00006

1986. She saw several doctors concerning

her injury. None expressed an opinion

that she should not be working, although

she was restricted to duties which did not

involve use of her right arm. During

March, she was given a third warning for

excessive absenteeism for absences

unrelated to her injury.

After the middle of April, plaintiff

never worked a full shift. She would come

in, work for a short while, and leave,

complaining of her arm hurting. She was

informed by her superiors that her leaving

would be considered an unexcused absence

unless she brought a note from the doctor

saying she couldn’t or shouldn’t be

working. Plaintiff contends that she was

not able to stay at work during this time

because she was given jobs which required

her to use her right arm and/or made her

right arm hurt. While plaintiff did see

several doctors between the middle of

60007

April and her discharge, none of them ever

expressed an opinion that she should not

be working. Plaintiff eel given another

written warning, specifically about her

problems with unexcused absences, on June

12, 1986.

In late June, defendant received a

notice from an orthopedic specialist to

whom plaintiff had been referred to the

effect that he felt she could return to

her normal duties. Plaintiff was informed

of this. When she did not work a full

shift the next two nights, she was

terminated for excessive absenteeism on

June 25, 1986.

ERISA CLAIM

Under Section 510 of ERISA, it is

unlawful to discharge an employee for the

purpose of interfering with the attainment

of any right to which they may become

entitled under an employer’s benefit plan.

Plaintiff contends that the true reason

00006

for her discharge was to get rid of her

before she qualified for long-term

disability under the defendant’s plan.

The Fourth Circuit has determined

that a plaintiff must show specific intent

by a defendant to violate Section 510 in

order to recover. Conkwright v.

Westinghouse Electric Corp., 933 F.2d 231

(4th Cir. 1991). This may be accomplished

through direct evidence of discrimination

or the use of the prima facie case

analysis used in race and age

discrimination cases. Plaintiff has no

direct evidence of discrimination. For a

Section 510 action, the prima facie case

consists of four elements:

e Membership in a benefit plan;

2. Job performance at a level that

meets the employer’s legitimate

expectations;

P An adverse employment decision;

and

4. Some evidence which establishes

a causal connection between the

00009

a

employment decision and

membership in the benefit plan.

Viewing the evidence and any

reasonable inferences from the evidence in

the light most favorable to plaintiff, as

the court must do on a summary judgment

motion, plaintiff has produced no evidence

which is sufficient to supply a causal

connection between her discharge and the

long-term disability plan.

Plaintiff argues that she was well on

her way to qualifying for long-term

disability when she was discharged, and

this supplies the necessary causal

connection. Under defendant’s plan, an

employee must be disabled for six months

in order to qualify for long-term

disability. There is a dispute between

the parties concerning the standard used

by the plan to determine eligibility for

long-term disability. Plaintiff alleges

that the following language should be used

00010

to determine eligibility:

Once Long Term Disability

Plan benefits start, they

will continue:

* for the next two years

if you are not able to

perform the essential

duties of your job, and...

Plaintiff argues that she could not

perform the essential elements of her job

from the date of her injury in January

until her discharge in June, a period of

five months. The language cited by

plaintiff, however, applies only after an

employee has qualified for long-term

benefits. This language is the standard

used to determine continuation of benefits

for up to a two-year period following the

six-month waiting period. Defendant

points to language in the plan which

requires total and continuous disability

for the six-month waiting period in order

O00Li

to qualify for long-term disability

benefits.

It is not necessary, however, for the

Court to resolve this question, since it

is clear that a medical Opinion is

required under the plan to qualify for

disability. Plaintiff has presented no

expert medical opinion which would satisfy

either the requirement that she was unable

to perform her essential job duties during

this period or that she was totally and

continuously disabled. In fact, the

uncontroverted evidence is that she worked

her regular schedule for two and on-half

months of the five-month period she

claims. For the other half of this

period, even though she left work on a

regular basis, the opinion of the medical

experts who treated her was that she was

able to work. Clearly, plaintiff’s claims

of pain caused by her job duties would not

have been sufficient, by themselves, to

00012

qualify her for disability benefits.

Moreover, even had she presented medical

evidence of disability, in order to supply

the required causal connection, she would

have to show that defendant was aware of

and concerned about her growing

eligibility for long-term disability. She

has provided no evidence from which this

Court could coriclude defendant even

considered the question of whether she was

proceeding toward eligibility. The agents

of defendant who discharged her denied any

knowledge of her eligibility. There is no

evidence of any communications between

them and the administrator of the long-

term benefits plan in Columbus, Ohio,

relative to her eligibility.

Plaintiff contends that defendant

would save money by discharging her prior

to her becoming eligible for benefits.

While the only evidence in the record

seems to indicate the long-term benefits

00013

were funded by employee contributions, the

fact that defendant might save money by

discharging plaintiff, even if true, by

itself, is not sufficient to Supply a

Causal connection. Conkwright , Supra at

239. See Dister vy. Continental Group.

inc., 859 F.2d 1108, 1113 (2d Cir. 1988).

If that were true, any actions by an

employer that resulted in cost savings

would be evidence of discrimination.

Finally, plaintiff argues that

defendant’s attendance policy inherently

discriminates against persons who seek to

qualify for disability. This Court need

not determine if an attendance policy

which is inherently discriminatory

Supplies the requisite specific intent

required under Section 510, for in no way

can the instant Policy be considered

inherently discriminatory towards

employees who may be eligible for

disability payments. The attendance

00014

policy at issue allows for necessary

absences. If an employee exceeds the

plant’s average absenteeism rate, they are

given several opportunities to improve

before discharge occurs. The policy gives

due regard for those people who may suffer

from disabling medical conditions by

providing for leaves of absence, which are

not counted against an employee’s

attendance record. Plaintiff contends she

was fired for her attendance before she

could qualify for long-term disability.

Yet, her absence record for one and one-

half years, not just six months, was

considered in discharging her. The reason

her absences were counted against her was

because she never secured a medical

opinion which would have qualified her for

a leave of absence, not because of an

inherently discriminatory policy. This

case is not at all like Gavalik v.

Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3d Cir.

000109

1987), as plaintiff suggests.

Since plaintiff has no €vidence which

would tend to prove a causal connection

between her discharge and her membership

in the disability plan, summary judgment

is proper. Even if plaintiff could

present a prima facie case, her excessive

absenteeism under defendant’s policy

provides a legitimate, non-discriminatory

reason for her dismissal. Plaintiff has

presented no evidence from which the Court

could reasonably conclude that this reason

was a pretext for benefits discrimination.

In response to a well-supported motion for

summary judgment, "a plaintiff must adduce

facts, which if taken as true, could

enable a jury to identify unlawful intent

from the various other reasons why an

employer might have terminated plaintiff

-" Conkwright, supra at 239. This the

plaintiff has not done. Her failure

mandates entry of summary judgment in

' 00016

favor of defendant.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that

defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment be

granted, and plaintiff’s Complaint be

dismissed with prejudice in its entirety.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

(s) G. Ross Anderson, Jr.

United States District Judge

Anderson, South Carolina

July, 1992

00017

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FILED July 23, 1993

No. 92-2009

CA-89-2839-7

KATHY FLEMING

Plaintiff-Appellant

Vv.

BORDEN, INCORPORATED

Defendant-Appellant

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion

for Rehearing In Banc

The applicant’s petition for rehearing

and suggestion for rehearing in banc were

00018

submitted to this Court. As no member of

this Court or the panel requested a poll

on the suggestion for rehearing in banc,

and

As the panel considered the petition

for rehearing and is of the opinion that

it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in

banc are denied.

For the Court,

/s/_ Bert M. Montague

CLERK

~ 00012

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.