Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Motion Motion Systems Systems Corp. v. Bush (No. 05-1443)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supe Cau, US.

Q Eres

No.0s- 05144 3MAY 10 209

iad OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

MOTION SYSTEMS CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

v.

GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States,

ROBERT B. ZOELLICK, United States Trade Representative,

and CCL INDUSTRIAL MOTOR, LTD.,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

Unirep STATES CourRT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

————— me ee

oe a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

enn

aa eee

JOHN J. WITMEYER III

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL E. Sims

FoRD MARRIN Esposito

WITMEYER & GLESER, L.L.P.

Wall Street Plaza

New York, New York 10005

(212) 269-4900

Attorneys for Petitioner

201048 ce

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

i

- QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Judicial review of executive decision-making, to assure

that it conforms to the standards imposed by Congressional

grants of the authority to act, comprises a fundamental tenet

of American law. Every decision of the Federal Government

— including executive decisions — must be authorized either

by a statute enacted pursuant to the Constitution or by the

Constitution itself and must be executed in conformity

therewith. The Federal judiciary has the responsibility to

determine whether executive decisions comport with the

authorizing statute.

Recent events have witnessed a growing number of

occasions in which the executive branch asserts that it

possesses sole and unreviewable discretion to act or not act.

This case concerns whether an executive decision, taken

pursuant to a statutory delegation of authority made by a

statute that sets standards by which the Executive must abide,

becomes unreviewable because the executive decision is

made by the President instead of a subordinate agent.

This issue arises in the context of federal trade

legislation, a subject area reviewable only through appeal to

the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Traditionally,

courts hold executive decisions, including those on trade

matters, to be subject to judicial review so as to determine

whether the decision comports with the standards that

Congress specified in the trade legislation. Here, the President

rejected the determination of the United States International

Trade Commission (“ITC”) made in favor of petitioner.

Because the President is not an “agency” within the meaning

of the Administrative Procedure Act, review of Presidential

compliance with statutory standards that govern delegated

— ————— —— ed — —- — _ ~~ + eee en

li

authority takes place through nonstatutory judicial review.

Breaking with its own precedent and comparable decisions

of other Courts of Appeal, the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit, in a rare en banc decision, held sua sponte

that the judiciary lacks power to review whether or not the

executive branch made its decision within statutory standards

when exercising authority granted to the President under

section 421 of the Trade Act of 1974 (“section 421”), codified

at 19 U.S.C. § 2451, when the President rejected the ITC’s

recommendation.

The questions presented for review are:

Whether the provision to the President of limited

discretionary authority, as part of a statutory delegation of

power, forecloses all judicial review of the President’s actions

even though such review would have existed had the action

been delegated by Congress to an agency under the same

statutory standards?

Does Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462 (1994), preclude

judicial review of Executive decision-making even though

the authorizing statute establishes standards that govern the

making of the decision sought to be reviewed?

iii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Petitioner Motion Systems Corporation certifies that

petitioner has no parent corporation and that no publicly held

corporation owns 10% or more of the stock of it.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

AGIOS PRORBOING ook oh Sie cake bes

Corporate Disclosure Statement ................

ree OF OO oe oon ee a ek

Mes OE PA i 5 CR SR een

ene Pare rere rte

Stewaent. OF JUTIsGIGtION: 6s kw Cock kek Keres

eS SUI oe oe ee Ce ees

Ree ir TO Oe oo i ook oa ee

Reasons for Granting the Petition ..............

I.

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve

Conflicting Interpretations of Dalton v.

Specter Regarding the Availability of

Nonstatutory Judicial Review of Executive

ct | aM Shr rarer tee ware arts ies gel tr

The Federal Circuit’s Decision Raises the

Important Question of Whether Dalton

Repudiated All Judicial Review of Allegedly

Ultra Vires Presidential Action ...........

Contents

Page

A. The Federal Circuit’s Interpretation of

Dalton Eviscerates the Right to Bring a

Statutory Claim Challenging Ultra Vires

EMOCUIVE: AICIOR 6c cc seek ee be ine 10

B. The Federal Circuit’s Refusal to Review

Petitioner’s Claims Against the President

Warrants Amplification of the Distinction,

Relied Upon Here by the Federal Circuit,

Between Ultra Vires and Unconstitutional

Ota FIO Sk Sok os Seas 13

RN a oe ae ie cube a a iy bia es RE 17

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner,

SE Me A CT is EA he a ew ee 12

American School of Magnetic Healing v. McAnnulty,

BGs 15.58 Cad fakes oa hes Oe cies 11

Bowen v. Michigan Academy of Family Sciences,

FG Le LES oie es bo Sowa hase owen 12

Chamber of Commerce v. Reich,

Pe Poe tee COE, Gah FO sk ERS 8,9

Dakota Central Telephone Co.

v. State of South Dakota,

Bt he RE OENE ck rica oat eh ie eecieanee 7

Dalton v. Specter,

ie Bie | RED oo Sod hws ee eta Cees passim

Dames & Moore v. Regan,

oS Ake OED ace eo sb a eke eRe OS 9

Franklin v. Massachusetts,

Woo US. Tee IIe in tbe aisice 13

Gutierrez de Martinez v. Lamagno,

PES Ua GFE ceed Soe eR CRRA SE OSE ARS 12

Vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Harmon v. Brucker,

Soe at A bk ba hes (aee aeons 11

INS v. Chadha,

GUS Sis PIP ADOSER 86 6c eae Renee pee 11

Larson v. Domestic & Foreign Commerce Corp.,

Soe A CEN 6.v 5c eecsnoa eka cones 14

Maple Leaf Fish Co. v. United States,

FOS B26 BO eG Gar, 1996S) sss oii ee 5

Marbury v. Madison,

Esc See COO) A 5 can Caw bees 6 ewes 10

Motion Systems Corp. v. Bush,

437 30 1356 (Ped, Cir: 2006) 0 ee ee 7,14

Mountain States Legal Found. v. Bush,

306 F.3d 1132 (DK. Cir, 2002) eicciccenias is 8

National Treasury Employees Union v. Nixon,

492 F.2d 387 (0.0. Cir. 1976) oi ie a 8

Stark v. Wickard,

TEA Ns SO LAOS) oe kos ae eee 12

United States v. Bush,

SIOUD.. 37 (TUS) i a's nce che tine bauee es 7,8

Vili

Cited Authorities

Page

United States v. Nourse,

ii hay gcb's 4.0 84k 4 oe een as 10

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

yy ik ws Vs 6s Awe ea ak S410

Statutes:

Se Se a pk VRS Gah dee eee kt baca's l

2 Eo Si Sere Sie Ve a eee s ii, 1

ix

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Decision Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit, Dated

POUR TE re ek a is PE he Sh ee ens la

Appendix B — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of International Trade, Dated June 3, 2004 ..... 45a

|

OPINIONS BELOW

The case arises through a ruling on a motion for summary

judgment. The opinion of the Court of International Trade

(per Stanceu, J.) reviewing respondents’ action and finding

that it met the statutory requirements (Appendix B) is

reported at 342 F. Supp. 2d 1247 (Ct. Int’l] Trade 2004).

The Federal Circuit’s opinion (en banc) affirming the

judgment on other grounds, those being that the decision of

the President is unreviewable, (Appendix A) is reported at

437 F.3d 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2006).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit entered its judgment on February 10, 2006. This

petition is filed within ninety days of that date. No rehearing

was requested. The petitioner invokes this Court’s

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The pertinent section of the Trade Act of 1974, as

amended, 19 U.S.C. § 2451, states as follows:

(a) Presidential action. If a product of the People’s

Republic of China is being imported into the

United States in such increased quantities or under

such conditions as to cause or threatei to cause

market disruption to the domestic producers of a

like or directly competitive product, the President

shall, in accordance with the provisions of this

section, proclaim increased duties or other import

restrictions with respect to such product, to the

2

extent and for such period as the President

considers necessary to prevent or remedy the

Take Vsraperon.

(k) Standard for presidential action.

(1) Within 15 days after receipt of a

recommendation from the Trade

Representative under subsection (h) on

the appropriate action, if any, to take to

prevent or remedy the market

disruption, the President shall provide

import relief for such industry pursuant

to subsection (a), unless the President

determines that provision of such relief

is not in the national economic interest

of the United States or, in extraordinary

cases, that the taking of action pursuant

to subsection (a) would cause serious

harm to the national security of the

United States.

(2) The President may determine under

paragraph (1) that providing import

relief is not in the national economic

interest of the United States only if the

President finds that the taking of such

action would have an adverse impact on

the United States economy clearly

greater than the benefits of such action.

19 U.S.C. §§ 245 1(a) & (k).

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Section 421 mandates that the President provide import

relief in the form of “increased duties or other import

restrictions” for domestic industries threatened by “market

disruption” caused by increased importation of products from

China. Import relief may only be denied when the President

appropriately finds that such action would have an adverse

impact on the United States economy clearly greater than

the benefits of such action or, in extraordinary cases, that

the taking of such action would cause serious harm to the

national security of the United States. 19 U.S.C. §§ 2451(a)

& (k).

Section 421(k)(2) carefully limits the President’s

authority to that of a fact finder of economic facts, requires

that he make certain findings of fact and affords him no

discretion in this regard or to make a decision on any other

grounds. The limited authority allowed to the President, who

may only act as a fact finder who culls the relevant economic

facts necessary to make a lawful determination, is not a grant

of unfettered discretion.

Petitioner Motion Systems Corporation (“Motion

Systems”) is a U.S. producer of pedestal actuators,

electromechanical devices that adjust the seat heights of

mobility scooters and motorized wheelchairs. In 2002,

Motion Systems filed a petition with the ITC seeking relief

from the increased imports of pedestal actuators from China.

The ITC conducted an investigation and determined that

Chinese pedestal actuators were being imported into the

United States in such increased quantities or under such

conditions as to cause or threaten to cause market disruption

to American producers of pedestal actuators. So as to remedy

4

actual or potential market disruption, the ITC recommended

that the President impose a quantitative restriction on imports

of pedestal actuators from China for a three year period, and

suggested a specific quota for each of the three years.

\\ The United States Trade Representative (“Trade

Representative”) solicited written comments and conducted

a public hearing on the matter, and then submitted to the

President its recommendation regarding the ITC’s

determination. On January 17, 2003, the President denied

the import relief recommended by the ITC and sought by the

petitioner. The Pre-ident’s decision recited in conclusory

fashion the presence of the only circumstance in which

section 421(k)(2) allowed him not to act — i.e., that

“providing the requested import relief for the U.S. pedestal

actuator industry is not in the national economic interest of

the United States” because “the import relief would have an

adverse impact on the United States economy clearly greater

than the benefits of such action,” but the conclusion was not

supported by the necessary factual findings.

On April 9, 2003, petitioner filed suit against the

President and the Trade Representative in the Court of

International Trade. Petitioner challenged the President’s

denial of import relief because section 421(k)(2) explicitly

forbade the President to act so as to deny relief as

recommended by the ITC unless he made economic findings

of fact that found that the taking of such action would have

an adverse impact on the United States economy clearly

greater than the benefits of such action. The record provided

no economic basis for the finding of an adverse impact on

the United States economy clearly greater than the benefits

of such action, the President’s decision was merely

conclusory and neither court below examined the record to

determine whether it supported the President’s decision.

5

In the Court of International Trade, all three respondents,

the President, the Trade Representative and CCL Industrial

Motor Ltd., acknowledged that the President’s determination

was subject io judicial review and invoked the standard

articulated by the Federal Circuit in Maple Leaf Fish Co. v.

United States,' even though the authorizing statute allows

for limited discretion in decision-making. Petitioner proposed

that, although the President’s decision should not withstand

Maple Leaf review, section 421 entailed an even stricter

standard of review because section 421 granted him far less

discretion than is provided by the statute ai issue in Maple

Leaf. The Court of International Trade decided to examine

the President’s actions under the Maple Leaf standard of

review, which called for the court to determine whether the

President had (i) misconstrued section 421, (ii) exceeded his

statutory authority thereunder or (iii) violated the statute’s

procedural requirements. The trial court decided not to review

whether the record supported the decision to deny the relief

recommended by the ITC and ruled that the President’s action

met the requirements of Maple Leaf.

On appeal, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

declined to review the case. It held instead, sua sponte, that

judicial review could not be had of Presidential action under

section 421, based upon Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462

(1994), even though none of the respondents had argued that

Dalton rendered the President’s determination immune from

review.

1. 762 F.2d 86, 89 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (holding that “[fJor a court

to interpose, there has to be a clear misconstruction of the governing

Statute, a significant procedural violation, or action outside delegated

authority.)

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

CONFLICTING INTERPRETATIONS OF DALTON v.

SPECTER REGARDING THE AVAILABILITY OF

NONSTATUTORY JUDICIAL REVIEW OF

EXECUTIVE ACTION

The Federal Circuit’s decision conflicts with multiple

decisions of the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit regarding the reviewability of Presidential action

where, as here, the delegating statute sets standards limiting

the discretionary authority of the President. In Dalton, this

Court held that Presidential actions pursuant to a legislative

grant of authority are not subject to judicial review where

the authorizing statute “does not at all limit the President’s

discretion. ...” 511 U.S. at 476. In foreclosing judicial

review, the Court noted that nothing in the statute in question,

the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Act of 1990 (the

“1990 Act”), “prevents the President from approving or

disapproving the [base closure] recommendations for

whatever reason he sees fit.” Id. (emphasis added).

Significantly, Dalton did not decide the broader question

of whether nonstatutory judicial review exists of Presidential

decision-making made under authority delegated by statute

irrespective of the degree of discretion afforded the President.

The Court assumed “for the sake of argument” that such

review was available but would nonetheless be precluded

because the President had unfettered discretion under the

1990 Act. Id. at 474 (1994). Thus the narrow holding of

Dalton is that judicial review relief is withheld “where

7

Congress has permissibly foreclosed it... .” Id. at 477.

Justice Blackmun’s concurring opinion underscored the

“limited reach” of this Court’s holding in Dalton. See id.

His opinion stated that “neither a challenge to ultra vires

exercise of the President’s statutory authority nor a timely

procedural challenge is precluded . . .” from judicial review.

Id. at 478 (Blackmun, J., concurring in part and concurring

in the judgment). The Dalton decision clearly did not address

the availability or degree of judicial review where an

authorizing statute, such as section 421, greatly constrains

the President’s discretionary authority.

The Federal Circuit’s opinion construed Dalton

expansively, not narrowly. Section 421, unlike the 1990 Act,

imposes substantial restrictions on the President’s discretion,

yet the Federal Circuit nonetheless held that the President’s

determination was “sufficiently discretionary to preclude

judicial review.” Motion Systems Corp. v. Bush, 437 F.3d

1356, 1362 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In so doing, the Federal Circuit

erroneously found that section 421 “accords the President

the same discretion found to remove Presidential action from

judicial review in other Supreme Court cases.” /d. at 1360.

The Federal Circuit cited United States v. Bush, 310 U.S.

371 (1940), and Dakota Central Telephone Co. v. State of

South Dakota, 250 U.S. 163 (1919), for the proposition that

the President acts in his unreviewable discretion, even where

such discretion is limited by statute. Jd. at 1360-61.

In sharp contrast to the Federal Circuit’s expansive

interpretation of Dalton, the D.C. Circuit has recognized that

“Dalton’s holding merely stands for the proposition that when

a Statute entrusts a discrete specific decision to the President

and contains no limitations on the President’s exercise of

that authority, judicial review of an abuse of discretion claim

8

is not available.” Chamber of Commerce v. Reich, 74 F.3d

1322, 1331 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (emphasis added). Unlike the

Federal Circuit, the D.C. Circuit found that Dalton’s citations

to United States v. Bush and Dakota Central actually

demonstrated the limited holding of Dalton, as in both of

those cases “special reasons existed for concluding that

judicial review was precluded.” /d. at 1332 n.5. The D.C.

Circuit noted, in particular, that the Presidential order in

Dakota Central involved considerations of national security

outside the province of the judiciary, and that the basis for

the President’s determination in Bush was unreviewable

because the President adhered to the procedures prescribed

by Congress. /d.

The D.C. Circuit reiterated, in Mountain States Legal

Found. v. Bush, that Dalton is inapposite “where the

authorizing statute ... places discernible limits on the

President’s discretion.” 306 F.3d 1132, 1136 (D.C. Cir. 2002).

In such cases, judicial review does not implicate the same

separation of powers concerns and “[c]ourts remain obligated

to determine whether statutory restrictions have been

violated.” Jd. Accordingly, judicial review is available to

ensure that Presidential actions “are consistent with

constitutional principles and that the President has not

exceeded his statutory authority.” Jd. See also National

Treasury Employees Union v. Nixon, 492 F.2d 587, 604 (D.C.

Cir. 1974) (holding that “the judicial branch of the Federal

Government has the constitutional duty of requiring the

executive branch to remain within the limits stated by the

legislative branch.”)

Because Presidential decisions on trade-related matters

can be judicially reviewed only under the aegis of the Federal

Circuit, if the issue is not reviewed now, it will become

9

unreviewable in future customs and trade cases. This petition

for certiorari should be granted in order to resolve the foregoing

split between the D.C. Circuit and the Federal Circuit and to

answer the fundamental question of whether executive decision-

making ceases to be reviewable when it includes an element of

discretion to be exercised by the President.

Il.

THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT’S DECISION RAISES

THE IMPORTANT QUESTION OF WHETHER

DALTON REPUDIATED ALL JUDICIAL REVIEW OF

ALLEGEDLY ULTRA VIRES PRESIDENTIAL ACTION

As noted above, Dalton declined to decide whether judicial

review of allegedly ultra vires Presidential action exists when

the statute in question does not provide for such review. The

Court in Dalton stated only that “[w]e may assume for the sake

of argument that some claims that the President has violated a

statutory mandate are judicially reviewable outside the

framework of the APA.” 511 U.S. at 474. At least one Court of

Appeals has interpreted this statement as casting doubt on the

availability of nonstatutory review of Presidential action. See

Reich, 74 F.3d at 1331 n.4. Dalton cast further doubt on the

possibility of judicial review by also holding that ultra vires

Presidential actions may not be challenged on constitutional

grounds. The Federal Circuit’s recent expansion of Dalton, a

product of the uncertain implications of that decision, has the

troubling effect of eliminating judicial review of executive action

pursuant to statutes.

2. See Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654, 667 (1981)

(reviewing whether executive orders issued by President were authorized

by grant of authority under the Trading with the Enemy Act.)

10

A. The Federal Circuit’s Interpretation of Dalton

Eviscerates the Right to Bring a Statutory Claim

Challenging Ultra Vires Executive Action

When the law gives the President unfettered discretion to

act or not on a political basis, his decisions become

unreviewable, but it has always been the law that “where a

specific duty is assigned by law, and individual rights depend

upon the performance of that duty, it seems equally clear that

the individual who considers himself injured, has a right to resort

to the laws of his country for a remedy.” Marbury v. Madison, 5

U.S. 137, 166 (1803) (emphasis added). The proposition that

executive action will be judicially reviewed except where the

decision has been relegated to the purely political realm thus

dates to the infancy of American jurisprudence.

The presumption in favor of judicial review of executive

action grew stronger with Justice Marshall’s opinion in United

States v. Nourse:

It would excite some surprise if, in a government of

laws and of principle, furnished with a department

whose appropriate duty it is to decide questions of

right, not only between individuals, but between the

government and individuals; a ministerial officer

might, at his discretion, issue this powerful process,

and levy on the person, lands, and chattels of the

debtor, any sum he might believe to be due, leaving

to that debtor no remedy, no appeal to the laws of

his country, if he should believe the claim to be

unjust. But this anomaly does not exist; this

imputation cannot be cast on the legislature of the

United States.

34 U.S. 8, 28-29 (1835).

1]

The principle of nonstatutory judicial review of executive

action emerged more fully over time. For example, in

American School of Magnetic Healing v. McAnnulty, 187 U.S.

95 (1902), the plaintiff sought an injunction preventing a

Post Office official from executing a certain order of the

Postmaster General. The Court granted plaintiff injunctive

relief and explained that:

{t]he acts of all [a department’s] officers must be

justified by some law, and in case an Official

violates the law to the injury of an individual the

courts generally have jurisdiction to grant relief

... Otherwise the individual is left to the

absolutely uncontrolled and arbitrary action of a

public and administrative officer, whose action is

unauthorized by any law, and is in violation of

the rights of the individual.

Id. at 108, 110.

In Harmon v. Brucker, this Court, relying on McAnnulty,

held that acts in excess of express or implied statutory powers

are not discretionary, and therefore are not shielded from

judicial scrutiny. 355 U.S. 579, 581-82 (1958). The Court

stated that “[g]enerally, judicial relief is available to one who

has been injured by an act of a government official which is

in excess of his express or implied powers.” Jd. More recently,

this Court affirmed that executive action under legislatively

delegated authority “is always subject to check by the terms

of the legislation that authorized it; and if that authority is

exceeded it is open to judicial review. . . .” INS v. Chadha,

462 U.S. 919, 954 n.16 (1983).

12

As stated by the Court in Bowen v. Michigan Academy

of Family Sciences: “We ordinarily presume that Congress

intends the executive to obey its statutory commands and,

accordingly, that it expects the courts to grant relief when an

executive agency violates such a command.” 476 U.S. 667,

681 (1986). Furthermore, this Court has “stated time and

time again that judicial review of executive action ‘will not

be cut off unless there is persuasive reason to believe that

such was the purpose of Congress.’” Gutierrez de Martinez

v. Lamagno, 515 U.S. 417, 424 (1995) quoting Abbott

Laboratories v. Gardner, 387 U.S. 136, 140 (1967). Thus,

“the silence of Congress as to judicial review is. . . not to be

construed as a denial of authority to the aggrieved person to

seek appropriate relief in the federal courts in the exercise

of their general jurisdiction.” Stark v. Wickard, 321 U.S. 288,

309 (1944).

The plaintiffs in Stark sought injunctive relief against

the Secretary of Agriculture for allegedly exceeding his

statutory authority. Jd. at 289. Although the statute in question

did not provide for judicial review, the Court held that the

“responsibility of determining the limits of statutory grants

of authority . . . is a judicial function entrusted to the courts

by Congress by the statutes establishing courts and marking

their jurisdiction.” /d. at 310. The Court reversed the

dismissal of the petitioners’ action, finding that they were

entitled to judicial examination of their claims that certain

provisions of the Secretary’s order exceeded his statutory

powers. Id. at 311.

The Federal Circuit ignored the historical availability of

nonstatutory review of executive action when it refused to

review the petitioner’s claims against the President. The

Federal Circuit’s decision also constitutes an unwarranted

13

expansion of Dalton, such that judicial review is precluded

despite the existence of a clear legal standard (the explicit

limits on Presidential discretion in section 421) by which

the court could review the President’s exercise of discretion.

Unlike the 1990 Act at issue in Dalton, section 421 is not an

instance “where Congress has permissibly foreclosed”

judicial review by affording unlimited discretion to the

executive. Dalton, 511 U.S. at 477. The Federal Circuit’s

unrestrained interpretation of Dalton has produced a circuit

split and, unfortunately, heightened the uncertainty first raised

by Dalton regarding judicial limits on executive action.

The petitioner therefore asks that the Court clarify the

availability of nonstatutory review of Presidential action, in

the wake of Dalton, so that the effect of that decision, keenly

felt by the petitioner, is not to remove all executive action

from judicial review.

B. The Federal Circuit’s Refusal to Review Petitioner’s

Claims Against the President Warrants Amplification

of the Distinction, Relied Upon Here by the Federal

Circuit, Between Ultra Vires and Unconstitutional

Executive Action

Presidential power must stem either from authority

delegated to him by Congress or from the Constitution itself.

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579

(1952). Therefore, the judiciary must review the actions of

the President to ensure that he does not act beyond his

constitutional authority. See id. Further, in Franklin v.

Massachusetts, this Court, citing Youngstown, reaffirmed that

the President’s actions may always be reviewed for

constitutionality. 505 U.S. 788, 801 (1992) (finding that

although they are not subject to review under the

14

Administrative Procedure Act, “the President’s actions may

still be reviewed for constitutionality.”’)

Dalton, however, created uncertainty because it

suggested that a difference may exist between ultra vires and

constitutional review. Citing Dalton, the Federal Circuit here

rejected the notion that the petitioner could review the

President’s decision under section 421 as ultra vires. Motion

Systems, 457 F.3d at 1359-60. The Dalton Court concluded

that claims that an official exceeded his statutory authority

are statutory in nature, and thus the “exception identified in

Franklin for review of constitutional claims ...” did not

apply. Dalton, 511 U.S. at 474. In so holding, the Court noted

that it has often “distinguished between claims of

constitutional violations and claims that an official has acted

in excess of his statutory authority.” Jd. at 472.

Dalton seemed to distinguish actions in excess of

Statutory authority from unconstitutional actions on the

ground that its precedents made such a distinction. /d.

Specifically, the Court pointed to Larson v. Domestic &

Foreign Commerce Corp., aS an instance in which it had

distinguished between ultra vires and unconstitutional acts.

Id.* The Dalton Court reasoned that “[i]f all executive

actions in excess of statutory authority were ipso facto

unconstitutional, . . . there would be little need in Larson for

our specifying unconstitutional and ultra vires conduct as

separate categories.” /d.

3. In Larson, the Court found that “a suit may fail, as one against

the sovereign, even if it claimed that the officer being sued has acted

unconstitutionally or beyond his statutory powers. . . .” 337 U.S. 682,

691 n.11 (1949).

15

By drawing a distinction between ultra vires and

unconstitutional acts, the Court in Dalton was compelled to

distinguish Youngstown.* In contrast to the claim raised in

Dalton, the Court found that Youngstown “involved the

conceded absence of any statutory authority, not a claim that

the President acted in excess of such authority.” /d. at 473.

The Court thus concluded that Youngstown “cannot be read

for the proposition that an action taken by the President in

excess of his statutory authority necessarily violates the

Constitution.” Jd.

This, however, is merely a formalistic distinction, and

Dalton did not explicate the reasoning underlying its

distinction between acts in excess of statutory authority

and those performed in the absence of such authority.

The confusion that resulted from the Dalton Court’s reliance

on Larson and the manner in which it distinguished

Youngstown is that Dalton neither explains the constitutional

predicate for making such a distinction nor addresses the

implications of doing so. As a result, this dichotomy between

ultra vires action (i.e., action not consonant with the

authorizing statute) and unconstitutional action provides

insufficient guidance to establish whether and under what

circumstances nonstatutory review exists of executive

decisions challenged as contrary to a statutory limitation on

authority.

Upon closer examination, the Constitution’s explicit

limitations on federal power? and the principle of separation

4. Petitioner submits that the Court felt it necessary to

distinguish Youngstown because thai decision militates in favor of

the reviewability of the plaintiffs’ claims in Dalton.

5. For example, U.S. Const., amend. X.

16

of powers render incorrect the notion that Presidential action

outside the parameters set by statute cannot be reviewed

unless it is also unconstitutional. When the President does

not act within the parameters set by the authorizing statute,

he acts unconstitutionally because he has no authority under

the Constitution to act except to the limited extent as the

statute authorizes him to act. Whether classified as ultra vires

or as unconstitutional because the decision being reviewed

failed to comport with the authorizing statute, a decision by

the President acting pursuant to statutorily delegated authority

by a statute containing standards should perforce be subject

to judicial review.

In sum, the unclear distinction made between executive

action that does not conform to statutory authority and

unconstitutional action threatens the ability of the judiciary

to assert any meaningful check on executive action pursuant

to statutory authority. The Federal Circuit, however, invoked

this distinction to reject the petitioner’s constitutional claims.

Accordingly, there is a significant constitutional aspect to

the Federal Circuit’s denial of judicial review here and

certiorari should be granted so that the Court may address it.

In particular, certiorari should be granted so that the Court

may articulate the distinction, if any, between nonstatutory

review of unconstitutional and ultra vires executive action.

17

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

JouHN J. WitMEYER III

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL E. Sims

ForD Marrin Esposito

WITMEYER & GLESER, L.L.P.

Wall Street Plaza

New York, New York 10005

(212) 269-4900

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT,

DATED FEBRUARY 10, 2006

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

04-1428

MOTIONS SYSTEMS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States, and

ROBERT B. ZOELLICK, United States

Trade Representative,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

CCL INDUSTRIAL MOTOR LTD.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Decided: February 10, 2006

Before MICHEL, Chief Judge, NEWMAN, MAYER,

LOURIE, Circuit Judges, CLEVENGER, Senior Circuit

Judge, RADER, SCHALL, BRYSON, GAJARSA, LINN,

DYK, and PROST, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the court filed PER CURIAM. Opinion

concurring in part and concurring in the judgment filed by

Circuit Judge GAJARSA, in which Circuit Judge NEWMAN

joins.

PER CURIAM.

2a

Appendix A

Motion Systems Corp. (“Motion Systems”) brought suit

against George W. Bush, President of the United States, and

Robert B. Zoellick, United States Trade Representative

(“Trade Representative”), in the United States Court of

International Trade, challenging the President’s determination

not to grant import relief to the domestic pedestal actuator

industry under section 421 of the U.S.-China Relations Act

of 2000, Pub.L. No. 106-286, 114 Stat. 880 (codified at 19

U.S.C. § 2451) (“section 421”). The Court of International

Trade granted judgment in favor of the defendants. Motion

Systems Corp. v. Bush, 342 FSupp.2d 1247 (Ct. Int’] Trade

2004). Motion Systems appealed and for the reasons set forth

below, we affirm.

I

Section 421, added to the Trade Act of 1974 by the U.S.-

China Relations Act of 2000, establishes procedures under

which the President may provide import relief in the form of

“increased duties or other such import restrictions” for

domestic industries threatened by “market disruption” caused

by increased importation of products from China 19 U.S.C.

§ 2451(a) (2000).

In accordance with section 421(b)(1), Motion Systems

filed a petition with the United States International Trade

Commission (“ITC”), alleging that importation of Chinese

pedestal actuators had increased rapidly from 2000-2002,

resulting in market disruption within the meaning of section

42’. At the time, Motions Systems was one of three domestic

producers of pedestal actuators, electromechanical devices

used principally to raise and lower the seats of mobility

3a

Appendix A

scooters and motorized wheelchairs. See Pedestal Actuators

from China: Investigation No. TA-421-1, Pub. 3557 (U.S.

Int’] Trade Comm’n, Nov. 2002), at 3, 11-16.

Upon receipt of the petition, the ITC promptly

investigated “whether products of the People’s Republic of

China are being imported into the United States in such

increased quantities or under such conditions as to cause or

threaten to cause market disruption to the domestic producers

of like or directly competitive products.” 19 U.S.C. §

2451(b)(1). On October 18, 2002, the ITC issued an

affirmative finding of market disruption and transmitted its

report and remedial recommendations to the President and

the Trade Representative. See 19 U.S.C. § 2451(f)-(g). The

ITC recommended that “the President impose a quantitative

restriction for a three-year period on imports of the subject

pedestal actuators from China,” and suggested specific

amounts for each year. In accordance with section 421(h)(1),

a summary of the ITC’s determination and an invitation for

public comment was published in the Federal Register. See

Notice of Proposed Measure and Opportunity for Public

Comment Pursuant to Section 421 of the Trade Act of 1974:

Pedestal Actuators from the People’s Republic of China, 67

Fed.Reg. 71007-03 (Nov. 27, 2002).

On January 2, 2003, after attempts to negotiate a remedial

agreement with China proved unsuccessful, the Trade

Representative submitted to the President his

recommendations regarding the ITC’s determination.

However, the President did not provide the requested import

relief. Rather, the President concluded that “providing import

relief for the U.S. pedestal actuator industry is not in the

4a

Appendix A

national economic interest of the United States” because “the

import relief would have an adverse impact on the United

States economy clearly greater than the benefits of such

action.” Presidential Determination on Pedestal Actuator

Imports from the People’s Republic of China, 68 Fed.Reg.

3157 (Jan. 17, 2003). The President found that the ITC’s

recommended import quota would not likely benefit the

domestic pedestal actuator industry, but instead would cause

imports to shift to other offshore sources. Moreover, the

President found that even if the import quota would provide

some benefit to domestic producers of pedestal actuators,

this benefit would be substantially outweighed by the

increased cost to the downstream purchasers and the ultimate

consumers of pedestal actuators. Motion Systems requested

reconsideration of the President’s determination, which the

President denied.

On April 9, 2003, Motion Systems filed suit against the

President and the Trade Representative in the Court of

International Trade, challenging the President’s denial of

import relief and seeking declaratory and injunctive relief.

The complaint alleged that the President’s denial of relief

was beyond his statutory authority under section 421, arguing

that the President misconstrued the provisions of section 421

specifying the circumstances in which he may deny import

relief and that the relevant facts did not support the

conclusion that the import relief would have an adverse

impact clearly greater than its benefits. The complaint also

alleged that the Trade Representative’s actions were in error,

arguing that he too misconstrued section 421 and that he did

not follow proper procedures in conducting the public hearing

on the ITC’s findings.

5a

Appendix A

The Court of International Trade granted judgment in

favor of the defendants, concluding that the President did

not exceed his statutory authority and that the President’s

action was not invalid because of any defect in the procedures

followed by the Trade Representative. Motion Systems, 342

F.Supp.2d at 1262, 1265.

Il

Section 421 defines the role of the President and the

Trade Representative in determining whether to provide

import relief for market disruption due to importation of

products from China. An ITC investigation into market

disruption may be initiated upon the request of the President

or the Trade Representative, upon resolution of the House

Committee on Ways and Means or the Senate Finance

Committee, upon petition by a private entity “which is

representative of an industry” in accordance with 19 U.S.C.

§ 2252(a), or by the ITC’s own motion. 19 U.S.C. §

2451(b)(1). If, after an investigation, the ITC makes an

affirmative determination of market disruption, it must

propose import relief in the form of an “increase in, or

imposition of, any duty or other import restrictions necessary

to prevent or remedy the market disruption.” 19 U.S.C. §

2451(f). The ITC must submit to the President and the Trade

Representative a report containing its determination and

recommendations, along with an explanation thereof, and

must make that report available to the public. 19 U.S.C. §

245 1(g).

6a

Appendix A

After receiving this report, and following a period of

public notice and comment, the Trade Representative must

make a recommendation to the President concerning what

action, if any, to take. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(h). However, the

President has discretion to determine whether import relief

should be awarded. Under section 421(k)(1), the President

must, within fifteen days of receiving the Trade

Representative’s final recommendation, “provide import

relief . . . unless the President determines that provision of

such relief is not in the national economic interest of the

United States... .” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(1). Further, the

statute provides that “[t]he President may Cetermine . . . that

providing import relief is not in the national economic interest

of the United States only if the President finds that the taking

of such action would have an adverse impact on the United

States economy clearly greater than the benefits of such

action.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(2).

iil

No right of judicial review exists to challenge the acts

of either the President or the Trade Representative in this

case. There is no explicit statutory cause of action granting a

petitioner who is denied import relief under section 421 the

right to sue the President and the Trade Representative in

the Court of International Trade. Thus, Motion Systems has

only two potential sources for relief: (1) the Administrative

Procedure Act (“APA”), 5 U.S.C. § 701; or (2) some form of

nonstatutory review. Motion Systems acknowledges that it

cannot challenge the President’s actions under the APA

because the President is not an “agency.” See Franklin v.

Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788, 800-01, 112 S.Ct. 2767, 120

<z

Ta

Appendix A

L.Ed.2d 636 (1992). Thus, Motion Systems must resort to

some form of nonstatutory review as its only potential source

for relief.

As regards Motion Systems’ challenge to the President’s

actions, this case reduces down to a rather simple issue: Can

Motion Systems challenge the President’s discretionary

actions under 19 U.S.C. § 2451 as outside the scope of

authority delegated to him by Congress? Dalton v. Specter,

511 U.S. 462, 114 S.Ct. 1719, 128 L.Ed.2d 497 (1994),

rejected this alternative and thus leaves Motion Systems with

no right to judicial review here. Hence, under Dalton, no

complaint can lie against the President on the facts of this

case.

In Dalton, the plaintiffs challenged the President’s

decision to close the Philadelphia Naval Shipyard as a

violation of the Defense Base Closure and Realignment Act

of 1990. 511 U.S. at 464, 114S.Ct. 1719. In Part I, the Court

held that a straightforward application of Franklin removes

the APA as a statutory alternative for standing because the

President is not an “agency.” /d. at 468-70, 114 S.Ct. 1719.

In Part II, the Court took up the alternative ground relied on

by the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit:

“[T]hat whenever the President acts in excess of his statutory

authority, he also violates the constitutional separation-of-

powers doctrine.” Jd. at 471, 114 S.Ct. 1719. In other words,

the Third Circuit had held that if the President’s actions are

outside the scope of authority delegated to him by the 1990

Act, they can be challenged under a nonstatutory

“constitutional” cause of action analogous to Motion

Systems’ claim in the present case. In Dalton, however, the

Court rejected this theory as inconsistent with its precedents.

8a

Appendix A

The Court commented that its precedents “distinguished

between claims of constitutional violations and claims that

an Official has acted in excess of his statutory authority.” /d.

at 472, 114 S.Ct. 1719. The Court pointed to Youngstown

Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 72 S.Ct. 863, 96

L.Ed. 1153 (1952), as an example of a case properly

characterized as involving a “constitutional” challenge. /d.

at 473, 114 S.Ct. 1719. In that case, the Government

disclaimed any statutory authority for the President’s seizure

of steel mills and invoked the Constitution itself as authority

for the Presidential action. Jd. (“Because no statutory

authority was claimed, the case necessarily turned on whether

the Constitution authorized the President’s actions.”). The

Court then explained that, in contrast to Youngstown, Dalton

involved a statutory claim: “The President is said to have

violated the terms of the 1990 Act by accepting procedurally

flawed recommendations.” /d. at 474, 114 S.Ct. 1719. In other

words, the President purportedly acted outside the scope of

authority delegated to him by the 1990 Act. The Court did

not address the extent-of-available review of Presidential

action for violation of a “statutory mandate,” assuming that

some such review was available. Jd. However, because the

Court concluded that the challenged Presidential action was

discretionary under the 1990 Act, see id. at 476, 114 S.Ct.

1719, the Court held that review was in any event precluded

by the longstanding rule that: “[Judicial] review [of

Presidential action] is not available when the statute in

question commits the decision to the discretion of ine

President.” /d. at 474, 114 S.Ct. 1719.

9a

Appendix A

Here, there is no colorable claim that the President

exceeded his statutory authority. Instead, this case presents

nearly the same situation as in Dalton: Motion Systems

alleges the President violated the terms of section 421 by

opting to protect national interests over domestic industry

without evidentiary support. Motion Systems thus accuses

the President of acting beyond the scope of authority

delegated to him under the statute. Motion Systems attempts

to distinguish Dalton because, in its view, section 421 gives

the President only purely ministerial duties. See Mississippi

v. Johnson, 4 Wall. 475, 71 U.S. 475, 498, 18 L.Ed. 437

(1866) (leaving open the question of whether the President

can be sued to perform a purely ministerial act under a

positive law). To the contrary, section 421 unquestionably

grants the President broad discretion to determine “that

provision of [import] relief is not in the national economic

interest of the United States or . . . that the taking of action .

. . would cause serious harm to the national security of the

United States.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(1) (2004).

Section 421 thus accords the President the same

discretion found to remove Presidential action from judicial

review in other Supreme Court cases. In United States v.

George S. Bush & Co., Inc., 310 U.S. 371, 60 S.Ct. 944, 84

L.Ed. 1259 (1940), upon which Dalton expressly relies, 511

U.S. at 476, 114 S.Ct. 1719, the Court dealt with subject

matter quite similar to that of this case. The statute at stake

in Bush gave the President discretion to increase tariffs, and

he had done so. An importer challenged the President’s

action. This court’s predecessor, the Court of Customs and

Patent Appeals, invalidated the increased tariff. Notably, the

relevant statute in Bush

10a

Appendix A

provided ... that the President “shall by

proclamation approve the rates of duty and

changes in classification and in basis of value

specified in any report of the commission under

this section, if in his judgment such rates of duty

and changes are shown by such investigation of

the commission to be necessary to equalize such

differences in costs of production.”

Bush, 310 U.S. at 376-77, 60 S.Ct. 944 (emphasis added).

Like section 421, the statute in Bush limited to some degree

the President’s discretion. Specifically, the statute in Bush

required the President to find that the rates of duty and

changes are “necessary to equalize such differences in costs

of production” before taking action. Despite this limit on

the President’s discretion, the Court held that the Presidential

decision was not subject to judicial review:

The President’s method of solving the problem

was open to scrutiny neither by the Court of

Customs and Patent Appeals nor by us. Whatever

may be the scope of appellate jurisdiction

conferred by § 501 of the Tariff Act of 1930, it

certainly does not permit judicial examination of

the judgment of the President that the rates of duty

recommended by the Commission are necessary

to equalize the differences in the domestic and

foreign costs of production.

Id. at 379, 60 S.Ct. 944 (emphasis added).

lla

Appendix A 7

In Dakota Central Telephone Co. v. State of South

Dakota, 250 U.S. 163, 181, 39 S.Ct. 507, 63 L.Ed. 910

(1919), another case upon which Dalton expressly relies, 511

U.S. at 476, 114 S.Ct. 1719, the Court dealt with the

President’s ability to seize control of various communication

systems for national security or defense reasons. Notably,

the relevant statute in Dakota provided:

That the President during the continuance of the

present war is authorized and empowered,

whenever he shall deem it necessary for the

national security or defense, to supervise or to

take possession and assume control of any

telegraph, telephone, marine cable, or radio

system or systems, or any part thereof, and to

operate the same in such manner as may be needful

Gi... desirable for the duration of the war....

Dakota, 250 U.S. at 181, 39 S.Ct. 507 (quoting 40 Stat.

904 (1918)) (emphasis added). As in Bush, the statute in

Dakota also limited to some degree the President’s discretion.

Specifically, the statute required the President to determine

that seizure was “necessary for the national security or

defense.” Despite this restriction, the Court again concluded

the Presidential action at issue was “beyond the reach of

judicial power.” Id. at 184, 39 S.Ct. 507. The Court made

this determination despite a challenge to the President’s

action as being unjustifiable at the time the power was

exercised. /d. (commenting that the plaintiffs alleged that

“there was nothing in the conditions at the time the power

was exercised which justified the calling into play of the

authority; indeed, the contention goes further and assails the

12a

Appendix A

motives which it is asserted induced the exercise of the

power’). Thus both Dakota and Bush involved situations

where the Court insulated Presidential action from judicial

review for abuse of discretion despite the presence of some

statutory restrictions on the President’s discretion. Similarly,

section 421 places some restriction on the President’s

discretion to grant or deny import relief. But here, there is

no colorable claim that the President has violated an explicit

statutory mandate. Rather, the issue is whether the President

abused his discretion under section 421(k). The President

must determine “that provision of [import] relief is not in

the national economic interest of the United States or...

that the taking of action . .. would cause serious harm to the

national security of the United States.” 19 U.S.C. §

2451(k)(1). However, under Dalton, Bush, and Dakota, the

President’s actions under section 421 are still sufficiently

discretionary to preclude judicial review. ;

Finally, because the acts of the Trade Representative were

not final actions, the Court of International Trade also lacked

jurisdiction to review those acts. Instead, the Trade

Representative’s actions were analogous to those of the

Secretary in Franklin, a case in which the Secretary’s report

was “like a tentative recommendation” or “the ruling of a

subordinate official” because it was the President who carried

the responsibility of transmitting the final report to Congress.

Franklin, 505 U.S. at 798, 112 S.Ct. 2767 (internal quotation

omitted). A subordinate officer’s actions become reviewable

as final only when they carry a direct and immediate

consequence. See Japan Whaling Ass'n v. Am. Cetacean Soc.,

478 U.S. 221, 106 S.Ct. 2860, 92 L.Ed.2d 166 (1986)

(concluding that the Secretary’s certification to the President

13a

Appendix A

automatically triggered sanctions and thus was a final action).

In this case, the Trade Representative’s actions were not final,

but only recommendations for Presidential action, and are

thus not reviewable.

IV

On the facts of this case, no complaint can lie against

either the President or the Trade Representative. The

President’s actions cannot be challenged because judicial

review is unavailable when a statute allegedly violated itself

commits a decision to the discretion of the President. The

Trade Representative’s actions cannot be challenged because

they were not final. We therefore affirm the judgment of the

Court of International Trade in favor of both defendants.

AFFIRMED

l4a

Appendix A

GAJARSA, Circuit Judge, with whom Circuit Judge

PAULINE NEWMAN joins, concurring in part and

concurring in the judgment.

The court concludes that the decision not to assess

antidumping duties against CCL Industrial Motor Ltd. will

stand. I too would sustain that conclusion, but on its merits,

not by default. On its merits, this action by the President is

within the statutory authority and discretion that Congress

assigned to the President; I conclude, therefore, that the action

of the President is in accordance with law.

I write separately to express the view that the court is

not barred from review of the range of statutory discretion

assigned to the President by Congress. On conducting such

review, as fully briefed and argued on this appeal, I conclude

that the President’s decision is within the parameters of the

Act of Congress that assigned to the President the

responsibility for the balancing of the economic impact of

each instance of dumping.’ It is not the judiciary’s role to

grade how the President conducts such an economic study,

for the statute established only the broad parameter that the

President must balance the economic effect on the aggrieved

domestic industry against the economic benefit of the cheaper

foreign import. However, it is the judiciary’s role, and its

1. In accordance with 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(1), the President is

charged to “provide import relief for such industry pursuant to

subsection (a) of this section, unless the President determines that

provision of such relief is not in the national economic interest of

the United States or, in extraordinary cases, that the taking of action

pursuant to subsection (a) of this section would cause scrious harm

to the national security of the United States.”

15a

Appendix A

duty, to. review whether the President acted within the

statutory parameters. The court’s holding that the President’s

actions cannot be reviewed on any basis is contrary to the

statutory assignment and contrary to the structure of our

government.

I.

The majority correctly notes that because no right of

judicial review is available under the APA, “Motion Systems

must resort to some form of nonstatutory review as its only

potential source of relief.” It then interprets the Supreme

Court’s decision in Dalton v. Specter to have “rejected” the

notion that a litigant could “challenge the President’s actions

. . . aS Outside the scope of authority delegated to him by

Congress.” But Dalton says no such thing, and the majority’s

interpretation of it represents an unwarranted expansion of

the narrow holding of that case.

The general principle underlying the Supreme Court’s

opinion in Dalton-that discretionary Presidential actions

without constitutional implications are not subject to judicial

review is unexceptionable. No one has argued that the

President’s discretionary actions under § 2451 raise

constitutional questions. The question dividing us is, rather,

whether a statute delegating to the President qualified

discretion is sufficient to render unreviewable whether the

Presidential action is pursuant to the statute, and is within

the assigned discretionary authority, such that the President

must be dismissed as a defendant without further inquiry.

Dalton does not mandate that result.

l6a

Appendix A

I note, first, that the majority opinion in Dalton expressly

declined to rule on the very proposition for which the majority

relies on it: whether nonstatutory review of allegedly ultra

vires Presidential action is ever available. The opinion

assumed that “some claims that the President has violated a

statutory mandate are judicially reviewable outside the

framework of the APA.” Dalton, 511 U.S. at 474, 114 S.Ct.

1719. Justice Blackmun’s concurring opinion states strongly,

without contravention, that, under the Court’s holding,

“neither a challenge to ultra vires exercise of the President’s

statutory authority nor a timely procedural challenge is

precluded” from judicial review. Jd. at 478, 114 S.Ct. 1719

(Blackmun, J., concurring in part and concurring in the

judgment).

Second, both the majority and concurring opinions in

Dalton rely heavily upon features peculiar to the statute there

at issue-notably, the unfettered discreticn granted to the

President by the statute, which “[did] not at all limit the

President’s discretion in approving or disapproving the

Commission’s recommendations.” /d. at 476, 114 S.Ct. 1719.

Section 2451, by contrast, does not grant the President

“unqualified” discretion. As the majority concedes, the

limitations on the President’s discretion in § 2451 make this

case less like Dalton and more like United States v. George

S. Bush & Co., in which the Supreme Court stated that the

President’s actions were subject to review for “conformity

with the statute.” George S. Bush & Co., 310 U.S. at 380, 60

S.Ct. 944. It is significant that two of the cases on which

Dalton relies most heavily—George S. Bush & Co. and

Chicago & Southern Air Lines v. Waterman §.S. Corp.—both

contemplate the availability of judicial review of Presidential

17a

Appendix A

actions for “conformity with the statute” or “regularity.” /d. ;

see also Chicago & Southern Air Lines v. Waterman S.S.

Corp., 333 U.S. 103, 105, 68 S.Ct. 431, 92 L.Ed. 568 (1948).

The D.C. Circuit has repeatedly confirmed the

availability of such review. In Chamber of Commerce v.

Reich, 74 F.3d 1322, 1331 (D.C.Cir.1996), it explained that

“Dalton’s holding merely stands for the proposition that when

a Statute entrusts a discrete specific decision to the President

and contains no limitations on the President’s exercise of

that authority, judicial review of an abuse of discretion claim

is not available.” It has since reiterated that principle on

several occasions in cases involving suits directly against

the President acting in his official capacity under a statute

granting him discretion. See, e.g., Mountain States Legal

Found. v. Bush, 306 F.3d 1132, 1136 (D.C.Cir.2002) (stating

that “Courts remain obligated to determine whether statutory

restrictions have been violated. In reviewing challenges under

the Antiquities Act, the Supreme Court has indicated

generally that review is available to ensure that [the

President’s actions] are consistent with constitutional

principles and that the President has not exceeded his

statutory authority.”); Tulare County v. Bush, 306 F.3d 1138,

1141 (D.C.Cir.2002) (reviewing whether Presidential

proclamation made pursuant to his discretion under the

Antiquities Act was within the “statutory standard”).

In addition, this court’s own precedent offers ample

authority for the proposition that trade-related actions of the

President taken pursuant to authority delegated by Congress

are subject to review to determine whether that action “falls

within his delegated authority, whether the statutory language

18a

Appendix A

has been properly construed, and whether the President’s

action conforms with the relevant procedural requirements.”

Florsheim Shoe Co. v. United States, 744 F.2d 787, 795

(Fed.Cir.1984); see also Maple Leaf Fish Co. v. United States,

762 F.2d 86, 89 (Fed.Cir. 1985) (concluding that “[flor a court

to interpose” in Presidential decisionmaking, “there has to

be a clear misconstruction of the governing statute, a

significant procedural violation, or action outside delegated

authority”); Humane Soc’y v. Clinton, 236 F.3d 1320, 1330

(Fed.Cir.2001) (concluding that judicial review of

discretionary Presidential decision under 16 U.S.C. §

1826a(b)(3)(A) was not available, but considering whether

the President “acted in other than good faith” or “otherwise

was in violation of his duties” under the statute). See also

Sneaker Circus, Inc. v. Carter, 566 F.2d 396, 402 (2d

Cir.1977) (concluding that although judicial review of

Presidential trade negotiations was unavailable, the courts

had authority to review “the procedures employed by the

Executive in concluding these [trade] agreements, procedures

which are mandated by statute”); No Oilport! v. Carter, 520

F.Supp. 334, 347 (W.D.Wash.1981) (stating that “[i]t is clear

that this court may review . . . the President’s actions to

determine whether they complied with the procedural

requirements imposed by” the Public Utilities Regulatory Act

of 1978).

The majority’s assertion that Motion Systems fails to

state a colorable claim of ultra vires action is dubious. A

“colorable claim” is merely one which is not “frivolous.”

See, e.g., S. Illinois Carpenters Welfare Fund v. Carpenters,

326 F.3d 919, 923 (7th Cir.2003) (holding that “a colorable

claim is merely one that is not frivolous”); Davis v.

19a

Appendix A

Featherstone, 97 F.3d 734, 737-38 (4th Cir.1996) (holding

that “A claim is colorable if it is arguable and nonfrivolous,

whether or not it would succeed on the merits.”); Harline v.

Drug Enforcement Agency, 148 F.3d 1199, 1203 (10th

Cir.1998) (holding that a federal claim is not colorable only

“if it is immaterial, and made solely for the purpose of

establishing [federal] jurisdiction or .. . is wholly

insubstantial or frivolous”); Boettcher v. Sec’y of Health &

Human Servs., 759 F.2d 719, 722 (9th Cir.1985) (holding _

that a federal claim is non-colorable only if it is “wholly

insubstantial, immaterial, or frivolous”). Here, Motion

Systems’ complaint was brought against Presidential action

taken pursuant to a statute that dictates the scope of the

President’s authority and the manner of its exercise. The

complaint repeatedly describes the Presi. ent’s actions as

“ultra vires.” It identifies portions of the statute that Motion

Systems believes have been violated. To conclude that

Motion Systems’ claim is non-colorable simply re-defines

the notion of colorability to be synonymous with

“meritorious.” I disagree with the majority’s attempt to

dispose of the merits without addressing the more difficult -

jurisdictional question that is necessarily a predicate to such

a disposition.

Where, as here, the plaintiff has alleged that the

President’s actions are “ultra vires,” in the sense that the

standards for action “imposed by Congress [have] not been

met,” I read the applicable authorities to permit and indeed

to require judicial review of whether or not he acted within

the discretionary range of the statutory mandate. I believe

Motion Systems has standing to challenge the President’s

actions for this purpose.

20a

Appendix A

Il.

Having determined that standing exists, it is necessary

to assess jurisdiction under § 1581(i), which provides that

the Court of International Trade shall have exclusive

jurisdiction over “any civil action commenced against the

United States, its agencies, or its officers” arising out of

certain trade and tariff laws. The question is whether the

category of “officer” identified in the statute includes the

President, for if it does, review authority is assigned by

statute, and is not subject to repulse by the court to which it

is assigned.

The phrase “the United States . . . or its officers” naturally

calls to mind the constitutional class of “officers of the

United States,” as that term is used in the Appointments

Clause, U.S. Const. art. II, § 2, cl. 2, and the Commission

Clause, art. IT, $ 3. Indeed, in cases involving the applicability

of statutory references to “officers” of the United States, the

courts have generally held that such references are limited

to officials who are subject to the provisions of the

Appointments Clause. See, e.g., Steele v. United States, 267

U.S. 505, 507, 45 S.Ct. 417, 69 L.Ed. 761 (1925) (stating

that “the words ‘officer of the United States,’ when employed

in the statutes of the United States, [are] to be taken usually

to have the limited constitutional meaning’ of a person

appointed under Appointments-clause procedures.”); United

States v. Mouat, 124 U.S. 303, 23 Ct,Cl. 490, 8 S.Ct. 505, 31

L.Ed. 463 (1888).

2la

Appendix A

The question before us here, however, is very different.

This case deals not with a Bureau of Prisons doctor (United

States v. Germaine, 99 U.S. 508, 25 L.Ed. 482 (1878)), a

navy paymaster clerk (Mowat ), a customs clerk (United States

v. Smith, 124 U.S. 525, 8 S.Ct. 595, 31 L.Ed. 534 (1888)), or

a Naval Academy cadet (United States v. Perkins, 116 U.S.

483, 21 Ct.Cl. 499, 6 S.Ct. 449, 29 L.Ed. 700 (1886)), but

with the President of the United States-a constitutional

official who is plainly not an “officer of the United States”

for Appointments Clause purposes but whose office is created

by the Constitution itself. The question before us is whether

a person holding a constitutionally recognized position, such

as the President or a member of Congress, which is not by

its terms subject to the provisions of the Appointments

Clause, is nevertheless an officer of the United States for

Statutory purposes.

The Supreme Court has addressed this question directly,

and answered it “yes.” In Lamar v. United States, 241 U.S.

103, 36 S.Ct. 535, 60 L.Ed. 912 (1916), the Court considered

whether a man impersonating a member of Congress could

be charged under a statute making it a crime to “ ‘falsely

assume or pretend to be an officer or employee acting under

the authority of the United States, or any Department, or any

officer of the government thereof.’” Lamar v. United States,

241 U.S. at 111, 36 S.Ct. 535 (quoting statute). The defendant

argued that the indictment stated no offense against him,

“because a member of the House of Representatives . . . is

not an officer acting under authority of the United States”

within the meaning of the statute and unspecified “provisions

of the Constitution.” /d. at 112, 36 S.Ct. 535.

22a

Appendix A

The Supreme Court disagreed, concluding that “the issue

here is not a constitutional one, but who is an officer acting

under the authority of the United States within the provisions”

of the statute at issue. Jd. That question, the Court ruled,

“must be solved by the text of the provision, not shutting

out as an instrument of interpretation proper light which may

be afforded by the Constitution.” /d.

Lamar stands for the proposition that where the alleged

officer is a constitutionally recognized person, rather than

merely a minor government official, the simple presumption

of Germaine and its progeny—that statutory references to

“officers of the United States” include only such officials as

fall within the terms of the Appointments Clause—does not

apply. The President, as holder of the constitutional office

of the Presidency,’ is more closely analogous to a member

of Congress than to a minor functionary like the prison doctor

in Germaine. The analysis used by the Supreme Court in

Lamar is, therefore, the applicable analysis here. That

analysis requires simple statutory construction undertaken

in light of possible constitutional questions.

The first question before the Court, then, is whether

Congress, in enacting 28 U.S.C. § 1581(1), intended the words

“the United States ... or its officers” to include the President.

In considering that question the court should consider the

issues addressed by the Supreme Court in Lamar: the

ordinary meaning of the word “officer”; the existence of other

2. See, e.g., U.S. Const. art. Il, § 1, cl.1 (vesting the executive

power in the President, who “shall hold his Office during the Term

of four Years”); art. II, § 1, cl.5 (referring to the “Office of

President”).

23a

Appendix A

Statutory provisions that consider the President to be an

officer; and the consistency of such officer status with

Supreme Court and other analogous precedent. See Lamar,

241 U.S. at 113, 36 S.Ct. 535. See also Operation Rescue

Nat’l v. United States, 975 F.Supp. 92, 103-04

(D.Mass.1997), aff’d, 147 F.3d 68 (1st Cir.1998) (applying

Lamar analysis to determine whether members of Congress

are “employees” of the government for purposes of the

immunity provisions of the Federal Tort Claims Act and

concluding that they are both “employees” and “officers’”).

Second, the court must consider whether the inclusion of

the President within the class of officers in § 1581(i) runs

afoul of constitutional principles.

A. Statutory Construction

In interpreting a statute, “our inquiry begins with the

statutory text, and ends there as well if the text is

unambiguous.” BedRoc Ltd. v. United States, 541 U.S. 176,

183, 124 S.Ct. 1587, 158 L.Ed.2d 338 (2004) (Rehnquist,

C.J., plurality opinion). In construing statutory language, we

begin with the “assumption that the ordinary meaning of

[Congress’] language accurately expresses the legislative

purpose.” Engine Mfrs. Ass’n v. S. Coast Air Quality Mgmt.

Dist., 541 U.S. 246, 252, 124 S.Ct. 1756, 158 L.Ed.2d 529

(2004). The Supreme Court frequently repairs to dictionary

definitions to ascertain the “ordinary meaning” of statutory

text that does not arise in a technical context. See id. at 252-

53, 124 S.Ct. 1756 (using dictionary definition to construe

Congress’ intent in using the word “standard”); see also

Lamar, 241 U.S. at 113, 36 S.Ct. 535 (using dictionary

definitions to construe Congress’ intent in using the word

24a

Appendix A

“officer” and concluding that “officer” included members of

Congress). Here, the statute applies to “the United States

... Or its officers.” 28 U.S.C. § 1581 (i).

With regard to the “common understanding” of the word

“officer,” as “expressed in the ordinary, as well as legal,

dictionaries,” Lamar, 241 U.S. at 113, 36 S.Ct. 535, one finds

that, “in public affairs,” the term “officer” refers to a person

“holding office of trust, command, or authority in

corporation, government . . . or other institution.” Black’s

Law Dictionary 977 (Sth ed.1979).° The magisterial Oxford

English Dictionary defines “officer” as, among other things,

“a person authoritatively appointed or elected to exercise

some function pertaining to public life, or to take part in...

the management or direction of a public corporation,

institution, etc.” and “[a] person holding office and taking

part in the management or direction of a society or institution,

esp. one holding the office of president, treasurer, or

secretary; an office-bearer.”* 10 Oxford English Dictionary

732 (2d. ed. 1989), Ordinary usage confirms these definitions:

the officers of a corporation, for example, typically include

its president.

3. The same dictionary’s definitions of “United States officer”

and “officer of the United States,” are unhelpful here: they apply to

situations as in Germaine, Mouat, and Steele, which, as discussed,

are irrelevant to the ques.ion of whether a constitutional officer (as

opposed to a minor executive branch official) is an “officer of the

United States.”

4. See also Webster's New International Dictionary 1567 (1961)

( “One who holds an office: one who is appointed or elected to serve

in a position of trust, authority, or command esp. as specif. provided

(Cont'd)

25a

Appendix A

The second factor considered by the Supreme Court in

Lamar was the existence of other statutes in which the term

“officer” was found to include members of Congress. See

Lamar, 241 U.S. at 113, 36 S.Ct. 535. The President of the

United States may be an “officer” for some statutory

purposes, but not for others. Some statutes by their terms

include the President in the class of statutory officers. In the

Impoundment Control Act, for example, § 686(a) refers to

“the President, the Director of the Office of Management

and Budget, the head of any department or agency of the

United States, or any other officer or employee of the United

States.” 2 U.S.C. § 686(a) (emphasis added). The succeeding

section empowers the Comptroller General to bring a civil

action in district court to force the government to make

available necessary budget authority and empowers the

district courts to enter an order against “any department,

agency, officer or employee of the United States”—

a grouping which, read in conjunction with the “or other

officer” language of § 686(a), clearly includes the President.

See 2 U.S.C. § 687; see also 3 U.S.C. § 303 (defining

“function” to include “any duty, power, responsibility,

authority, or discretion vested in the President or other officer

concerned”) (emphasis added).

(Cont'd)

by law”); American Heritage Dictionary 1220 (2000) (“One who

holds an office of authority or trust in an organization, such as a

corporation or government”); The New Oxford American Dictionary

1188 (2001) (“a holder of a public, civil, or ecclesiastical office”;

“a holder of a post in a society, company, or other organization, esp.

one who is involved at a senior level of its management”).

26a

Appendix A

Other statutes appear to recognize that the President is

included in the class of officers by negative implication: the

federal law proscribing bribery, for example, applies to

persons who are “officer[s] or employee[s] . . . of the United

States,” but expressly carves out the President from that

classification, suggesting that in the absence of the exception

the class would include the President. See 18 U.S.C.

§ 203(a)(1)(B), § 202(c).

In addition, the courts have ruled on several occasions

that the federal mandamus law, which by its terms applies to

“officer({s] and employee[s} of the United States,” applies to

the President. See, e.g., Nat’l Treasury Employees Union v.

Nixon, 492 F.2d 587, 602, 616 (D.C.Cir.1974) (concluding

that the President is subject to mandamus proceedings under

28 U.S.C. § 1361 but refraining from issuing the writ); Nat’!

Wildlife Fed. v. United States, 626 F.2d 917, 923

(D.C.Cir. 1980) (holding that “[m]andamus is not precluded

because the federal official at issue is the President of the

United States”); Swan v. Clinton, 100 F.3d 973, 976 n. 1

(D.C.Cir.1996) (finding that the “prerequisites for stating a

cause of action under the mandamus statute are met” in an

action against President Clinton).

The executive branch’s own lawyers have concluded on

many occasions that the President is a statutory officer of

the United States. In fact, they have done so in this case:

government counsel, in the first oral argument conducted in

this matter, stated that “the President is an officer of the

United States.” Executive branch counsel have also

concluded, in a reasoned opinion, that a general statutory

reference to “officers” included the President. Section 603

27a

Appendix A

of Title 18 of the United States Code prohibits any “officer

or employee of the United States” from making certain

political contributions. The Office of Legal Counsel, relying

in part on legislative history,° concluded in a published

opinion that “the better view, in our judgment, is that the

President does, indeed, fall within the terms of” the statute’s

class of “officers.” See 3 U.S. Op. Off. Legal Counsel 31, 39

(1979). The Office of Legal Counsel and other executive

branch lawyers have considered the President to be an officer

for a variety of statutory and other purposes. See 38 U.S.

Op. Atty. Gen. 445 (April 9, 1936) (construing statute

applying to “the Secretary of the Treasury or any other officer

of the Government” to include the President as such an

officer); 20 U.S. Op. Off. Legal Counsel No. 124 (May 7,

1976) (referring to “an officer who is subject to control and

removal by an officer other than the President”); 19 U.S.

Op. Off. Legal Counsel 93 (June 3, 1986) (referring to

“executive officers other than the President”); 6 U.S. Op.

Off. Legal Counsel 751 (December 14, 1982) (referring to

“Executive officers other than the President”); 21 U.S. Op.

Atty. Gen. 494 (February 11, 1897) (referring to the Secretary

of the Treasury ox “any other officers save the President”);

13 U.S. Op. Atty. Gen. 479 (referring to the inability of “any

officer but the President” to remit a criminal sentence); |

U.S. Op. Atty. Gen. 566 (September 27, 1822) (referring to

the President as “the executive officer of the laws of the

country”).

5. The legislative history of § 1581(i) is silent on the question

of who constitutes an “officer” for statutory purposes.

28a

Appendix A

Similarly, the President has, on many occasions, referred

to himself as an officer. See, e.g., Executive Order No. 11827

(Jan. 4, 1975) (referring to advisory committees “created by

the President or any other officer of the Executive Branch”

under the Federal Advisory Commission Act); Executive

Order No. 11609 (July 26, 1976) (“Delegating Certain

Functions Vested in the President to Other Officers of the

Government”); Executive Order No. 11480 (September 9,

1969) (referring to actions taken “by the President or by any

other officer of the Executive Branch”); Executive Order No.

11435 (January 21, 1968) (referring to actions “of the

President or of any other officer of the United States”);

Executive Order No. 10994 (February 14, 1962) (referring

to prior orders of “the President or . . . any other officer of

the Executive Branch”); Executive Order No. 10640 (October

10, 1955) (same); Executive Order No. 10167 (October 11,

1950) (referring to “the President or such other officer as he

may designate”).

In addition, the Supreme Court has frequently identified

the President as an officer, and specifically as “the chief

constitutional officer of the United States.” Nixon v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731, 750, 102 S.Ct. 2690, 73 L.Ed.2d

349 (1982); see also Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. 681, 699 n.

29, 117 S.Ct. 1636, 137 L.Ed.2d 945 (1997) (quoting

Fitzgerald ); Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788, 799,

112 S.Ct. 2767, 120 L.Ed.2d 636 (1992) (referring to the

President as a “constitutional officer”); Cheney v. U.S.

District Court for the District of Columbia, 541 U.S. 913,

916, 124 S.Ct. 1391, 158 L.Ed.2d 225 (2004) (Justice Scalia,

writing as a single justice, referring to “the President and

other officers of the Executive”); Menard’s Heirs v. Massey,

29a

Appendix A

49 U.S. 293, 309, 8 How. 293, 12 L.Ed. 1085 (1850)

(referring to “the President or some other officer”); U.S. Ex.

Rel. Goodrich v. Guthrie, 58 U.S. 284, 310, 17 How. 284, 15

L.Ed. 102 (1854) (McLean, J., dissenting) (stating that “the

President, like all the other officers of the government, is

subject to the law”); Embry v. United States, 100 U.S. 680,

685, 25 L.Ed. 772 (1879) (referring to “[n]o officer except

the President”); United States vy. McDonald, 128 U.S. 471,

473, 24 Ct.Cl. 524, 9 S.Ct. 117, 32 L.Ed. 506 (1888) (quoting

Embry ); United States vy. Am. Bell Tel., 128 U.S. 315, 363, 9

S.Ct. 90, 32 L.Ed. 450 (1888) (referring to “the president

... or any other officer of the government”); In Re Sealed

Case, 121 F.3d 729, 748 (D.C.Cir.1997) (the President is

“the chief constitutional officer” of the United States).

Congress has spoken of the President as an “officer” in

other contexts: the Senate report addressing the amendment

of the apportionment statute at issue in Franklin v.

Massachusetts stated explicitly that the amended statute

required participation by the President, rather than by the

Secretary of Commerce, “so that this function may be served

by a constitutional officer.” S.Rep. No. 2, 71st Cong., Ist

Sess., at 5 (1929) (quoted in Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505

U.S. at 800, 112 S.Ct. 2767).

Considered together with the Constitution’s express

identification of the Presidency as an “office”; the consistency

of Supreme Court identification of the President as an officer

of the United States; and the plain and commonplace

understanding of the term “officer” to include public officials

like the President, these examples leave no doubt that the

President is an officer of the United States. The next question

30a

Anpendix A

is whether Congress included the President in the class of

“officers” defined by 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i). I conclude that it

did.

Section 1581(i) creates jurisdiction over civil actions

against “the United States, its agencies, or its officers,”

arising out of any law of the United States providing for—

(1) revenue from imports or tonnage;

(2) tariffs, duties, fees, or other taxes on the

importation of merchandise for reasons other

than the raising of revenue;

(3) embargoes or other quantitative restrictions

on the importation of merchandise for

reasons other than the protection of the public

health or safety; or

(4) administration and enforcement with respect

to the matters referred to in paragraphs (1)-

(3) of this subsection and subsections (a)-(h)

of this section.

28 U.S.C. § 1581(i). Section 1581(1) is a “broad jurisdictional

grant,” enacted by Congress as a “residual” source of

jurisdiction to supplement the more specific provisions of

§ 1581(a)-(h) and “eliminate the confusion which currently

exists between the jurisdiction of the district courts and the

Court of International Trade,” and clarify that “all of the suits

of the type specified [in § 1581(i) ] are properly commenced

only in the Court of International Trade.” H.R.Rep. No. 1235,

96th Cong., 2d. Sess. 47 (1980). The “type specified” in

§ 1581(i) is lawsuits arising out of a broad array of trade

laws in which the President, acting on authority delegated

by Congress, plays an unusually significant role.

3la

Appendix A

Section 1581(i)(3), for example, applies to actions arising

out of “embargoes or other quantitative restrictions on the

importation of merchandise for reasons other than the

protection of the public health or safety.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1581(i)(3). Embargoes ar> an element of international

affairs in which the President plays a signature, and even

dominant, role. See, e.g., 22 U.S.C. § 6032(c) (ordering the

President to “instruct the Secretary of the Treasury and the

Attorney General to enforce fully the Cuban Assets Control

Regulations”); 50 U.S.C. § 1707(b) (requiring the President,

within 20 days after the start of hostilities with a foreign

nation, to “submit to Congress a report setting forth. . . the

specific steps the United States has taken. . . to establish a

multinational economic embargo”); 22 U.S.C. § 408

(authorizing the President to “employ such part of the land

or naval forces of the United States as he may deem necessary

to carry out the purposes of” provisions regulating trade with

hostile nations); 22 U.S.C. § 2370 (authorizing the President

to “establish and maintain a total embargo upon all trade

between the United States and Cuba”). More important,

perhaps, is the statute’s exclusion from its jurisdictional grant

of precisely the kinds of embargoes in which the President

plays no role. By excluding from jurisdiction suits arising

out of embargoes imposed “for the protection of the public

health and safety,” the statute excludes most existing

embargoes, including, for example, those relating to

adulterated foods and unapproved drugs (see 21 U.S.C.

§ 381), nonconforming products (see 15 U.S.C. § 1192), and

toxic substances (see 15 U.S.C. § 2612). The provisions of

§ 1581(1)(3), in short, are heavily focused on precisely those

areas of trade law in which the President is assigned a role.

The same is true for § 1581(i)(2), which applies to actions

32a

Appendix A

arising out of “tariffs, duties, fees, or other taxes on the

importation of merchandise for reasons other than the raising

of revenue.” 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i)(2). The President plays

little, if any, role in the revenue-raising portions of the tariff

laws, but is assigned a substantial role in the use of tariffs

for other purposes. See, e.g., 19 U.S.C. § 2461 (authorizing

the President to provide duty-free treatment from certain

developing countries, taking “due regard for” considerations

such as “the effect such action will have on furthering the

economic development of developing countries”).

The legislative history of § 1581(i), although not

dispositive of this issue, suggests that Congress did not

exclude this aspect of the trade laws from the general compass

of the Court of International Trade. In the Senate hearings

regarding S. 2857-a predecessor to the bill that became the

Customs Courts Act of 1980-Assistant Attorney General

Babcock, discussing the jurisdictional confusion that S. 2857,

and later § 1581, were designed to remedy, cited Sneaker

Circus, Inc. v. Carter, 566 F.2d 396 (2d Cir.1977) as an

example of the kind of case that should be heard by the then-

named Customs Court. Asked whether the proposed

legislation would grant the Customs Court jurisdiction to

hear Sneaker Circus’ suit against the President, Babcock

replied that “that is the object, the real object of the bill. The

real object is that that case would very clearly be headed for

the Customs Court.” Senate Hearings on S. 2857, June 23

and 27, 1978, 95th Cong., 2d. Sess., at 65-66. The House

Report on the Customs Courts Act also referred specifically

to Sneaker Circus-which was heard by the Second Circuit—

as an example of the jurisdictional “confusion” that § 1581(i)

was intended to remedy. The legislative history suggests that

33a

Appendix A

Congress was aware of, and approved of, the possibility that

what is now the Court of International Trade could exercise

jurisdiction over suits under the trade laws, not excluding

those actions performed by the President and other officers

of the United States.

I conclude, therefore, that Congress intended § 1581(i)’s

reference to “officers” to include the President of the United

States, subject to constitutional implications, to which I now

turn. See Lamar, 241 US. at 112, 36 S.Ct. 535 (concluding

that although “the issue here is not a constitutional one,” it

must be considered in the “proper light . . . afforded by the

Constitution”).

B. Constitutional Considerations

To address the issues presented by this appeal, the court

need not reach the overall implications of whether the

President is or is not an “officer of the United States” for

constitutional purposes.° It need only consider whether the

designation of the President of the United States as an officer

of the United States in administration of the trade statute

raises intractable constitutional difficulties. I conclude that

it does not.

6. There has been lively academic debate on that issue, mostly

as an offshoot of discussions of legislative succession. Akhil Amar

and Vikram Amar conclude that the President is an “Officer of the

United States” for constitutional purposes. See Akhil Reed Amar

and Vikram David Amar, /s the Presidential Succession Law

Constitutional ?, 48 Stan. L.Rev. 113, 136 n. 143 (1995) (“If an acting

President, wielding the full and awesome executive power of the

United States, is not an ‘Officer of the United States,’ what is he?’’)

(Cont'd)

34a

Appendix A

The Constituttion repeatedly designates the Presidency

as an “Office,” which surely suggests that its occupant is, by

definition, an “officer.” See, e.g., U.S. Const. art. I, § 3, cl.

5; art. I, $1, cl. 1; art. I], § 1, cl. 5; art. II, § 1, cl. 6; art. II,

§ 1, cl. 8; amend. XXII, § 1; amend. XXV, § § 1, 3, 4. An

interpretation of the Constitution in which the holder of an

“office” is not an “officer” seems, at best, strained. It is true,

however, that our understanding of the category of “officers

of the United States” comes primarily from the Appointments

Clause and the jurisprudence associated with it.’ The

Appointments Clause and the Commissions Clause, by their

(Cont’d)

Steven Calabresi agrees. See Steven G. Calabresi, The Political

Question of Presidential Succession, 48 Stan. L.Rev. 155, 158 n. 24

(1995) (“The best reading . . . is that the President and the Vice

President are the “O'fficers of the United States’ contemplated by the

language in the Appointments Clause referring to ‘all other Officers

of the United States, whose Appointments are not herein otherwise

provided for.’ ”) John Manning disagrees. See John F. Manning, Not

Proved: Some Lingering Questions About Legislative Succession to

the Presidency, 48 Stan. L.Rev. 141, 146 (1995) (questioning whether

one who “holds” the office of the Presidency is therefore an “officer

of the United States.”).

7. If this is not sufficiently obvious on its face, see, e.g., 10

Oxford English Dictionary 732 (2d. ed.1989), defining “officer” as

“one who holds an office.”

8. The full text of the Appointments Clause reads:

[The President] shall nominate, and by and with the

Advice and Consent of the Senate, shall appoint

Ambassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls,

(Cont'd)

35a

Appendix A

terms, apply to all “officers of the United States” and all

“civil officers of the United States,” respectively. See id. at

art. II, § 2, cl. 2; art. II, § 3; art. II, § 4. Those clauses, and

other constitutional provisions,’ contemplate a class of

“officers” inferior in status to the President, who nominates

and commissions them. The key features of that class are

nomination by the President, appointment with the advice

and consent of the Senate, commission by the President, and

removal by impeachment. It is plain that the President is not

an “officer of the United States” for Appointments Clause,

Commission Clause, or Oath of Office Clause purposes."°

(Cont'd)

Judges of the supreme Court, and all other Officers of

the United States, whose Appointments are not herein

otherwise provided for, and which shall be established

by Law: but the Congress may by Law vest the

Appointment of such inferior Officers, as they think

proper, in the President alone, in the Courts of Law, or

in the Heads of Departments.

Art. II, § 2, cl.2.

9. See, e.g., the Oath of Office Clause, art. VI, cl.3 (requiring

an oath of office for, inter alia, “all executive and judicial officers’).

The President’s oath of office is separately required by Article II,

Section 2, clause 8, suggesting that he is not among the “executive

officers” governed by Article VI, clause 3.

10. The Impeachment Clause presents a slightly different case.

That clause provides for impeachment of “The President, Vice-

President and all civil officers of the United States.” U.S. Const. art.

ll, § 4. This is ambiguous on its face: depending on which canon of

construction one prefers, it might mean that impeachment applies to

all civil officers of the United States and also to the President and

(Cont’d)

36a

Appendix A

The question then remains whether the inapplicability

of those clauses to the President creates a constitutional

barrier to his inclusion as an “officer” for purposes of §

1581(i). I conclude that it does not, for two reasons. First,

although the Appointments Clause and its relations do

contemplate a class of “Officers of the United States” that is

inferior to and does not include the President, there is reason

to believe that the inferior class of appointed officials

denominated as “Officers of the United States” is

nonexclusive. That is, the Constitution suggests that high

elected officials-including the President and members of

Congress-are officers for constitutional or statutory purposes

despite their separate status from persons governed by the

Appointments Clause. Second, the constitutional principles

(Cont’d)

Vice-President, who are not such officers; or it might mean that that

the President and Vice-President are examples of the category of

civil officers of the United States. It could be read, in other words,

to support two contradictory interpretations of the President’s status

as officer. No less a constitutional authority than Justice Story appears

to have held contradictory views about whether .«e President and

Vice-President are “civil officers”. In one passage of his

Commentaries, for example, he argued that the Impeachment Clause

“does not even consider [the President and Vice President] officers

of the United States,” because “[i]t says, ‘the president, vice-

president, and all civil officers (not all other civil officers) shall be

removed .... The language of the clause, therefore, would rather lead

to the conclusion that they were enumerated as contradistinguished from,

rather than as included in, the description of civil officers of the United

States.’ ” Joseph Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the United

States 2, § 791 (1833). Only a few pages before, however, Story

described the remedy of impeachment as being “strictly confined to

civil officers of the United States, including the President and Vice-

President.” Id. at § 787 (emphasis added).

37a

Appendix A

and values that underlie the Appointments Clause and the

limitations it places upon the officials to whom it applies

are not threatened by the identification of the President as

an “officer” for purposes of section 1581(i).

The Incompatibility Clause, Art. I, § 6, cl. 2, for example,

makes clear that members of Congress cannot hold appointed

office under the United States, but the courts have

consistently concluded that members of Congress are

“officers of the United States” for purposes of various federal

Statutes. See, e.g., Lamar, 241 U.S. 103, 36 S.Ct. 535, 60

L.Ed. 912; Operation Rescue Nat’l v. United States, 975

F.Supp. at 103-04 (holding that a member of Congress is an

officer of the United States for purposes of 28 U.S.C. § 2671);

Maddox v. Williams, 855 F.Supp. 406 (D.D.C.1994), aff’d,

62 F.3d 408 (D.C.Cir.1995) (holding that a member of

Congress is an officer of the United States for purposes of

28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)); Williams v. Brooks, 945 F.2d 1322,

1324 n. 2 (Sth Cir.1991) (same); Richards v. Harper, 864

F.2d 85, 86 (9th Cir.1988) (same); Hill Parents Ass’n v.

Giaimo, 287 F.Supp. 98, 99 (D.Conn.1968) (same); Preston

v. Edmondson, 263 F.Supp. 370, 372 (N.D.Okla.1967)

(same).

38a

Appendix A

The Senate itself has concluded that Senators are not

“officers of the United States”'' for purposes of the

Impeachment Clause,'? but do hold a “civil office” in the

government of the United States for purposes of an oath-of-

office statute."

11. Note also that the statute at issue in the oath-of-office debate

applied to persons holding “offices” under the United States

government, but specifically excepted the President of the United

States-suggesting the understanding that without such an exception

the President would have been subject to the statute.

12. This principle has been accepted since 1799, when the

Senate, presented with articles of impeachment against Senator

William Blount, concluded after four days of debate that a Senator

was not a “civil officer of the United States” for purposes of the

Impeachment Clause. See Senate J., 5th Cong., 3d Sess., 17

December 1798-10 January 1799.

13. See Cong. Globe, 28th Cong., Ist Sess., 26 January 1864

(floor debate regarding whether legislation requiring an oath of office

for “every person elected or appointed to any office of honor or

profit under the Government of the United States, either in the civil,

military, or naval departments of the public service” applied to

Senators). Despite bitter opposition, proponents of the view that a

Senate seat is a civil office of the United States prevailed by a vote

of 28-11. The arguments made by the prevailing Senators anticipated,

with remarkable precision, the Supreme Court’s analysis in Lamar

fifty years later: Senator Sumner of Massachusetts, for example,

arguing successfully for the position that Senators did hold “offices”

for purposes of the statute, noted that the constitutional definition

of “officers of the United States” was not controlling, and pointed

to the common understanding of the word “officer,” dictionary

definitions of same, and other constitutions and statutes that assumed

the officer status of legislators. Cf. Lamar, 241 U.S. at 112-13, 36

S.Ct. 535.

39a

Appendix A

In addition, consideration of the constitutional principles

embodied in the Appointments Clause and the limitations it

places on “Officers of the United States” leads us to conclude

that those principles are unthreatened by the identification

of the President as an officer for statutory purposes. The

constitutional clauses governing “officers” serve to ensure

that the responsible agents of government are subject to

defined constitutional controls-primarily nomination,

appointment, consent, and impeachment. These requirements

exist to effect two core constitutional principles: political

accountability and separation of powers. See, e.g., Edmond

v. United States, 520 U.S. 651, 660, 117 S.Ct. 1573, 137

L.Ed.2d 917 (1997) (stating that “the Appointments Clause

was designed to ensure public accountability”); see also Weiss

v. United States, 510 U.S. 163, 186, 114 S.Ct. 752, 127

L.Ed.2d 1 (1994) (Souter, J., concurring in the judgment)

(stating that “the Appointments Clause separates the

Government’s power but also provides for a degree of

intermingling, all to ensure accountability”); Freytag v.

Comm’r, 501 U.S. 868, 878-80, 111 S.Ct. 2631, 115 L.Ed.2d

764 (1991) (emphasizing the separation-of-powers principles

“embedded in the Appointments Clause,” which are

“structural and political” and articulate “a limiting principle”

for both the executive and Congress).

To the extent that the qualifications demanded of

“Officers of the United States” are rooted in the need to

provide political accountability to officials exercising

significant government authority, there is clearly no harm in

identifying the President-the most politically accountable of

all national figures-as such an officer. To the extent that those

qualifications are based upon separation of powers principles,

40a

Appendix A

those considerations arise not in the identification of the

President as an officer of the United States, but in the

substance of what Congress is attempting to achieve by that

identification. It is difficult to understand, in the context of

section 1581, how the mere exercise of jurisdiction over the

President threatens the separation of powers. In this regard

it is sufficient to note that the President’s duties under the

Trade Act were delegated by Congress. There is no doubt

that, to the extent Congress chose to grant the President

discretion in exercising those duties, the exercise of his

discretion within the statutory assignment is not subject to

judicial review. Whether the courts may exercise jurisdiction

over the President—in order, for example, to review whether

the President acted “in full conformity with the statute,” as

permitted in the trade context by the Supreme Court’s

decision in George S. Bush & Co.—is a wholly different

question, and one that does not significantly implicate the

separation of powers.

There remains one issue that merits discussion. The

Supreme Court, in Franklin v. Massachusetts, has held that

the President is not an “agency” subject to suit under the

Administrative Procedure Act. In Franklin, the Court

declared, “[oJut of respect for the separation of powers and

the unique constitutional status of the President,” that it

would not subject the President to a statutory provision

without an “express statement by Congress” that the

provision was meant to include the President. Franklin v.

Massachusetts, 505 U.S. at 800-01, 112 S.Ct. 2767.

4la

Appendix A

Franklin is readily distinguishable from the present case.

First, as a matter of plain meaning, the President is an unlikely

candidate for “agency” status. The common-sense answer to

the question, “Is the President an ‘agency’?” seems to be

“clearly not.” The common-sense answer to the question, “Is

the President an ‘officer of the United States’ ”? is clearly

“yes.” Indeed, the government’s own counsel, at oral

argument, answered that question affirmatively. Second, by

its own terms, Franklin applies only to a statutory provision

that would make the President’s “performance of his statutory

duties” reviewable for “abuse of discretion.” Jd. at 801, 112

S.Ct. 2767. It says nothing about the less troubling

circumstance in which the President’s actions are reviewed

only for conformity with the statutory grant.

In addition, there is no suggestion in Franklin that there

is any significant historical support for the notion that the

term “agency” includes the President. There is, however,

massive historical support-in the Constitution itself, in two

centuries of Supreme Court jurisprudence, in significant

opinions of the lower courts, in federal statutes, and in myriad

other sources-for the proposition that the President is an

“officer” of his country. The use of the word “officer” in §

1581(i)—a statute that creates jurisdiction over matters of

international trade in which the President exercises

Significant delegated authority—is an “express statement”

that the President is subject to jurisdiction under that statute.

In this connection, I note that Franklin itself expressly refers

to the President as a “constitutional officer.” Jd. at 799, 112

S.Ct. 2767.

42a

Appendix A

Finally, I note that whereas the identification of the

President as an “agency” for APA purposes would potentially

expose the President to litigation on innumerable causes of

action, the identification of the President as an officer for

purposes of § 1581(i) would subject him to jurisdiction only

in the limited context of actions arising out of specified areas

of trade law-an area in which the President has traditionally

been subject to jurisdiction. See, e.g., George S. Bush & Co.;

Florsheim Shoe Co. v. United States, 744 F.2d at 795; Maple

Leaf Fish Co., 762 F.2d at 89. In short, the case at bar presents

very different issues than those faced by the Supreme Court

in Franklin.

I conclude, therefore, that the phrase “the United States

... or its officers” in the statute encompasses the President

of the United States. Motion Systems therefore has a right to

judicial review of the President’s actions, and the Court of

International Trade properly exercised jurisdiction over that

action.

Il.

Having concluded that this action was properly before

the Court of International Trade, it is necessary to consider

the merits of that court’s decision. The President is charged

by statute to balance the economic impact on the American

manufacturer who ts injured by competition with “dumped”

foreign goods, against the benefit to the importer and

potentially to the consumer of lower foreign prices. Such an

economic analysis involves the responsibilities and interests

of government, industry, labor, and the consumer, and the

balancing thereof was quite reasonably assigned by Congress

43a

Appendix A

to the topmost official of the executive branch. However,

this assignment did not remove trade law from its

constitutional design: the assignment was made by the

legislative arm, which is responsible for trade and customs

law; it is administered by the executive arm, as for most laws;

and challenge to the law or its administration, when raised

by “case or controversy,” is the responsibility and authority

of the judicial arm. I agree with the conclusion of the Court

of International Trade that there is “no basis to conclude that

the President’s decision is based on a ‘clear misunderstanding

of the governing statute’ or that it constituted ‘action outside

his delegated authority.’ ” I would affirm its decision on the

merits.

CONCLUSION

We granted this rehearing en banc to consider several

significant questions of law. The majority has avoided most

of these issues in favor of the dubious proposition, never

advanced by any party to this action, that Motion Systems

has no right to any judicial review of Presidential action taken

pursuant to the statute. In order to avoid the very issues we

took this case en banc to resolve, the majority misreads and

misapplies applicable Supreme Court authority and, in so

doing, adopts an indefensibly cramped view of the judiciary’s

constitutional role as a check and balance to its coordinate

and co-equal branches of government.

When Congress has delegated its constitutional authority

to the President, and the statute contemplates presidential

action within statutory parameters, the courts must determine

whether these parameters were respected. The judicial role

44a

Appendix A

is to review whether the presidential action is in performance

of the statutory assignment, and the extent of executive

discretion in that performance. No court, until today, has held

that all inquiry is foreclosed as to whether the action

complained of is within the statutory assignment and the

discretionary authority assigned by Congress. I respectfully

object to the majority’s unwarranted disruption of the

constitutional balance under which we all serve.

45a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE,

DATED JUNE 3, 2004

UNITED STATES COURT OF

INTERNATIONAL TRADE

Slip Op. 04-58

Court No. 03-00146

MOTION SYSTEMS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

V.

GEORGE W. BUSH, President of the United States, and

ROBERT B. ZOELLICK, United States

Trade Representative,

Defendants,

and

CCL INDUSTRIAL MOTOR LTD.,

Defendant-Intervenor.

Decided: June 3, 2004

Before Timothy C. Stanceu

[Summary judgment granted for defendants]

46a

Appendix B

OPINION

STANCEU, Judge.

Plaintiff Motion Systems Corporation challenges a

decision by the President of the United States to deny import

relief to the U.S. industry manufacturing “pedestal actuators,”

which are components of electrically-powered vehicles used

by persons whose mobility is impaired. Plaintiff's principal

argument is that the President exceeded his statutory authority

in declining to impose import quotas on pedestal actuators

from the People’s Republic of China (“China”) following a

recommendation by the United States International Trade

Commission that import quotas are needed to remedy “market

disruption” adversely affecting the U.S. pedestal actuator

industry. Plaintiff contends in particular that the President

acted contrary to the relevant statute in denying relief without

quantifying the adverse impact of providing relief and

demonstrating that this adverse impact was “clearly greater”

than the benefits that such relief would provide to the

domestic industry.

Motion Systems has named as defendants the President

and the United States Trade Representative, who issued a

recommendation to the President addressing the issue of

import relief after publishing a notice soliciting comment

and conducting a public hearing. In addition to its primary

argument, plaintiff raises objections to the U.S. Trade

Representative’s conduct of the public hearing, to the

President’s considering certain political factors that Motion

Systems considers improper, and to the apparent denial of

Motion Systems’ request to the U.S. Trade Representative

that the President reconsider the final decision.

EN Ee EE ENTE CEES

47a

Appendix B

This matter is before the court on two motions by

defendants. Defendants moved to dismiss for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction pursuant to USCIT Rule 12(b)(1) and,

previous to that motion, sought dismissal of this action

through judgment upon an agency record pursuant to USCIT

Rule 56.1.

This court concludes that it has subject matter

jurisdiction of this case under 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i). This court

further concludes that the President’s decision declining to

impose restraints on imports of pedestal actuators must be

upheld because it is within the authority delegated to the

President by the relevant statute. The court finds no basis to

conclude that the presidential decision misconstrued statutory

provisions or must be overturned for noncompliance with

procedural requirements. Additionally, the court finds no

basis to order a reopening of proceedings for reconsideration

of the final presidential decision. Accordingly, for the reasons

discussed below, defendants are entitled to judgment as a

matter of law.

I. BACKGROUND

The pedestal actuators imported from China, and the

pedestal actuators manufactured in the United States by

Motion Systems Corporation, are motor-driven mechanical

devices chiefly used as components in mobility scooters and

electric wheelchairs. As typically installed in a mobility

scooter or electric wheelchair, a pedestal actuator converts

rotary motion, created by the electric motor, to the linear

motion required to raise and lower the seat.

48a

Appendix B

Motion Systems Corporation sought import relief

through the administrative proceedings summarized below.

Electric Mobility Corporation, a manufacturer of mobility

scooters and purchaser of Chinese-origin pedestal actuators,

opposed the imposition of import relief in those

administrative proceedings, as did defendant-intervenor CCL

Industrial Motor Ltd., a Chinese manufacturer of pedestal

actuators.

A. Procedures Leading to the President’s Decision

to Deny Relief

Motion Systems, on August 19, 2002, petitioned the U.S.

International Trade Commission (the “USITC’”) for relief

from imports of pedestal actuators from China, under

procedures established by section 421 of the Trade Act of

1974, as amended (19 U.S.C. § 2451) (“Section 421”).

Section 421, added to the Trade Act of 1974 by the U:S.-

China Relations Act of 2000, establishes procedures under

which the President, following an affirmative “market

disruption” determination by the USITC, is empowered to

proclaim “increased duties or other import restrictions” on a

product of China that “is being imported into the United

States in such increased quantities or under such conditions

as to cause or threaten to cause market disruption to the

domestic producers of a like or directly competitive product.”

19 U.S.C. § 2451(a). “Market disruption” is found to exist

“whenever imports of an article like or directly competitive

with an article produced by a domestic industry are increasing

rapidly, either absolutely or relatively, so as to be a significant

cause of material injury, or threat of material injury, to the

domestic industry.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(c).

49a

Appendix B

The Section 421 procedures involve separate

determinations by the USITC and potentially by the President,

who is to make the actual decision whether or not to grant

import relief after receiving a recommendation of the U.S.

Trade Representative. To initiate the process, a domestic

producer may petition the USITC to investigate whether a

product of China is being imported into the United States in

such increased quantities or under such conditions as to cause

or threaten to cause market disruption to domestic producers

of like or directly competitive products. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(b).

The statute directs the USITC, upon making an

affirmative determination of market disruption, to propose

actions in the form of increased duties or other import

restrictions necessary to prevent or remedy the market

disruption. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(f). The statute further directs

the U.S. Trade Representative, after receiving the report of

the USITC, to publish in the Federal Register notice of any

import relief measure the U.S. Trade Representative proposes

to be taken and to invite public comment, with the

opportunity to request a public hearing on the appropriateness

of the proposed measure. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(h)(1). Further,

the statute authorizes the U.S. Trade Representative to enter

into agreements with the People’s Republic of China under

which China would take action to prevent or remedy market

disruption and provides that the Trade Representative “should

seek to conclude such agreements” within a 60-day period

commencing five days after receiving an affirmative

determination of the USITC. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(j)(1).

50a

Appendix B

Section 421 vests in the President the discretion whether

to provide import relief. Within 15 days of receiving the Trade

Representative’s final recommendation, the President is

directed to provide import relief for the domestic industry

“unless the President determines that provision of such relief

is not in the national economic interest of the United States”

or, in extraordinary cases, that it would cause serious harm

to the national security. 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(1). The import

relief may take the form of increased duties or other import

restrictions and is to remain in effect “for such period as the

President considers necessary to prevent or remedy the

market disruption.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(a).

The President’s discretion to deny import relief following

an affirmative USITC finding of market disruption is subject

to specific limitations. The statute provides that “[t]he

President may determine . . . that providing import relief is

not in the national economic interest of the United States

only if the President finds that the taking of such action would

have an adverse impact on the United States economy clearly

greater than the benefits of such action.” 19 U.S.C.

§ 2451(k)(2).-

In the proceedings leading up to this litigation, the

USITC issued its report on the petition of Motion Systems

on November 7, 2002, following the submission of briefs

and a public hearing. See Pedestal Actuators from China:

Investigation No. TA-421-1, USITC Pub. 3557. The USITC

concluded in its report that pedestal actuators from China

are being imported in such increased quantities or under such

conditions as to cause market disruption to the domestic

producers of like or directly competitive products. The

Sla

Appendix B

USITC proposed, as a remedy to the market disruption it

had found to exist, a three-year period of quantitative

restrictions on Chinese pedestal actuator imports, to consist

of 5,626 units in the first year, 6,470 units in the second

year, and 7,440 units in the third year.' See International

Trade Commission: Pedestal Actuators, 67 Fed. Reg. 69,557,

69,558 (Nov. 18, 2002).

After sceking, unsuccessfully, an agreement with the

People’s Republic of China to prevent or remedy market

disruption from pedestal actuator imports, and after inviting

written comments? and conducting a public hearing, the U.S.

Trade Representative submitted its recommendation to the

President on January 2, 2003. On January 17, 2003, the

President issued a determination not to impose restrictive

measures on imports of pedestal actuators from China.

1. These quantitative limits were proposed by Vice Chairman

Hillman and Commissioner Miller. As authorized by 19 U.S.C.

§ 2451(g)(2)(C), Commissioner Koplan separately proposed a three-

year period of quantitative restrictions consisting of 4,425, 4,514,

and 4,604 units per year, respectively. Chairman Okun and

Commissioner Bragg made negative determinations concerning

market disruption.

2. Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, Notice of Proposed

Measure and Opportunity for Public Comment Pursuant to Section

421 of the Trade Act of 1974: Pedestal Actuators from the People’s

Republic of China, 67 Fed. Reg. 71,007 (Nov. 27, 2002) (“USTR

Notice”).

3. The U.S. Trade Representative did not make public, and was

not required by Section 421 to make public, its recommendation to

the President.

52a

Appendix B

B. The President’s Decision to Deny Relief to the

Domestic Pedestal Actuator Industry

The President’s decision was released in the form of a

Federal Register notice setting forth a memorandum to the

U.S. Trade Representative (“USTR” or “Trade

Representative”).* The decision included the following

findings: (1) providing import relief for the U.S. pedestal

actuator industry is not in the national economic interest;

and (2) import relief would have an adverse impact on the

United States economy clearly greater than the benefits of

such action.

The presidential decision went on to state four reasons

for the decision, as follows: (1) the facts indicate that the

USITC’s recommended quota would not likely benefit the

domestic industry and instead would cause imports to shift

to other offshore sources; (2) even if the quota were to benefit

the primary domestic producer (i.e., Motion Systems), the

cost of the quota to consumers, downstream purchasers of

pedestal actuators, and users of the downstream products

would substantially outweigh any benefit to producers’

income; (3) the cost of the quota would increase pressure on

domestic producers of the downstream products (i.e.,

mobility scooters and electric wheelchairs) to move offshore,

causing more economic harm than good due to the larger

number of workers in the downstream industry; and (4) the

quota would negatively affect the many elderly and disabled

4. The President, Presidential Determination on Pedestal

Actuator Imports from the People’s Republic of China, 68 Fed. Reg.

3,157 (Jan. 22, 2003).

53a

Appendix B

purchasers of the downstream products. The portion of the

presidential decision setting forth the two findings and the

four aforementioned reasons reads as follows.

After considering all relevant aspects of the

investigation, I have determined that providing

import relief for the U.S. pedestal actuator

industry is not in the national economic interest

of the United States. In particular, I find that the

import relief would have an adverse impact on

the United States economy clearly greater than the

benefits of such action.

In determining not to provide import relief, I

considered its overall costs to the U.S. economy.

The facts of this case indicate that imposing the

USITC’s recommended quota would not likely

benefit the domestic producing industry and

instead would cause imports to shift from China

to other offshore sources.

Even if the quota were to benefit the primary

domestic producer, the cost of the quota to

consumers, both the downstream purchasing

industry and users of the downstream products,

would substantially outweigh any benefit to

producers’ income. The USITC’s analysis

confirms this conclusion.

54a

Appendix B

In addition, downstream industries are already

under pressure to migrate production offshore to

compete with lower-cost imports of finished

products. Higher component costs resulting from

import relief would add to this pressure. Given

the significantly larger number of workers in the

downstream purchasing industry when compared

with the domestic pedestal actuator industry, I find

that imposing import restrictions would do more

economic harm than good.

Finally, a quota would negatively affect the many

disabled and elderly purchasers of mobility

scooters and electric wheelchairs, the primary

ultimate consumers of pedestal actuators.

C. Motion Systems’ Request for Reconsideration of

the President’s Decision

Following issuance of the President’s decision to deny

import relief on Chinese-origin pedestal actuators, Motion

Systems filed with the U.S. Trade Representative a

submission, dated February 12, 2003, requesting

“reconsideration” of that decision and citing “new evidence

which has come to light since January 17, the date of the

President’s determination.” The “new evidence” consisted

of documents that Motion Systems presented in support of

claims that Electric Mobility did not reduce the prices of

mobility scooters it sold to the Department of Veterans Affairs

and did not make an elecirically-powered seat lift (which

incorporates a pedestal actuator) standard equipment on 70

percent of its models. Motion Systems contended that this

55a

Appendix B

president of Electric Mobility Crrporation (“EMC”), Michael

Flowers, before the USTR hearing and raised credibility

concerns. The post-decision submission stated as follows:

If EMC did not, in fact, include the seat lift as

standard equipment on 70 percent of its scooters,

then that calls into serious question Mr. Flowers’

claim that EMC reduced the prices for those

scooters as a result of switching to the lower-

priced Chinese unit, particularly since Mr. Flowers

acknowledged that EMC did not reduce the price

of the seat lift as an option. And if it is the case

that EMC did not, in fact, reduce the prices when

it switched to the Chinese unit, then it calls into

question the credibility of Mr. Flowers’ claim that

EMC would be forced to increase its prices $200

if relief were granted. Once Mr. Flowers’

testimony is put aside, there is no evidence to

indicate the extent to which the costs of relief

would outweigh the benefits.

“new evidence” contradicted statements made by the

Stewart and Stewart letter to USTR, February i2, 2003 at

16-17, in Pl.’s Ex. 2.

In a letter to counsel for plaintiff dated March 7, 2003,

the Assistant U.S. Trade Representative for North Asian

Affairs, in an apparent reference to the February 12, 2003

submission, acknowledged with appreciation the

“supplemental information you have provided” but did not

indicate that the President would reconsider the decision to

deny import relief. The March 7, 2003 letter stated, inter

56a

Appendix B

alia, that “[y]our letter points to evidence that, in your view,

shows the sole U.S. purchaser of Chinese pedestal actuators,

Electric Mobility, did not reduce prices for its mobility

scooters and electric wheelchairs after it began sourcing

pedestal actuators from China and thus did not pass along to

consumers any cost savings.” That letter went on to state

that the issue whether Electric Mobility reduced its prices

after purchasing Chinese pedestal actuators was clearly

reflected “as disputed between the parties” in the materials

before the President at the time of the President’s decision,

adding that “this issue relates only indirectly to the

considerations identified by the President as dispositive in

his decision.” This action followed.

Iii. DISCUSSION

A. Subject Matter Jurisdiction

The court concludes that it is granted jurisdiction over

the instant action by 28 U.S.C. § 1581(4). Under paragraphs

(2)-(4) of subsection (i) of § 1581, this Court has exclusive

jurisdiction of civil actions commenced against the United

States, its agencies, or its officers that arise out of any law of

the United States providing for “tariffs, duties, fees, or other

taxes on the importation of merchandise for reasons other

than the raising of revenue” [paragraph (2) J, “embargoes or

other quantitative restrictions on the importation of

merchandise for reasons other than the protection of the

public health or safety” [paragraph (3) ], or “administration

and enforcement with respect to the matters referred to in

paragraphs (1)-(3) of this subsection....” [Paragraph (4) ].

57a

Appendix B

Section 421 provides for increased tariffs for reasons

other than raising revenue, specifically, for preventing or

remedying market disruption adversely affecting a domestic

industry. It also authorizes quantitative import restrictions

to serve these same purposes, which are reasons “other than

the protection of the public health or safety.” Plaintiff has

commenced an action against the President of the United

States and the U.S. Trade Representative, both of whom are

officers of the United States. With respect to the President,

status as an officer of the United States stems from the

Constitution itself, for the President is the essential

constitutional officer under Article II of the Constitution.

“The executive Power shall be vested in a President of the

United States of America. He shall hold his Office during

the Term of four Years. . . .” U.S. CONST., Art. I, § 1. “This

grant of authority establishes the President as the chief

constitutional officer of the Executive Branch, entrusted with

supervisory and policy responsibilities of utmost discretion

and sensitivity.” Nixon v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 731, 750, 102

S.Ct. 2690, 73 L.Ed.2d 349 (1982). The court concludes,

therefore, that this action falls squarely within the express

terms of the jurisdictional provisions in § 1581(i)(2) and

(i)(3).

Defendants move to dismiss this action for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction, advancing an argument based on two

contentions. Defendants contend, first, that the President

must be dismissed from this action, relying on the recent

decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit in Corus Group PLC v. Int’l Trade Comm’n. 352 F.3d

1351 (Fed.Cir.2003). Specifically, defendants interpret Corus

Group to require that a challenge such as this to a presidential

58a

Appendix B

decision be dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

because of the Federal Circuit’s statement in Corus Group

that “section 1581(i) does not authorize proceedings directly

against the President.” Jd., 352 F.3d at 1359. The second

contention by defendants is that this case may not proceed

as a challenge to an action of the U.S. Trade Representative,

who in the statutory Section 421 procedure performs the role

of advising the President regarding import relief. Defendants

argue that this Court, lacking “jurisdiction to entertain

plaintiff’s claims against the President, likewise lacks

jurisdiction to entertain challenges to the President’s

advisors.” Defs.’ Mot. to Dismiss at 3. According to their

argument, the U.S. Trade Representative’s recommendation

to the President addressing the issue of import relief is purely

advisory, rather than determinative of legal rights, and hence

it is unreviewable under principles announced by the

Supreme Court in Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 177-78,

117 S.Ct. 1154, 137 L.Ed.2d 281 (1997), and cited by the

Federal Circuit in Corus Group. Having contended that this

action may be brought neither against the President nor

against the U.S. Trade Representative, defendants conclude

that this court must dismiss this case for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction.

The court disagrees with defendants’ jurisdictional

analysis for two reasons. First, if this court were to construe

the Federal Circuit’s decision in Corus Group to require

dismissal of this action, it would be acting contrary to the

jurisdictional principles applied by the Federal Circuit in a

line of cases in which presidential action was challenged

directly, including Humane Society of the United States v.

Clinton, 236 F.3d 1320 (Fed.Cir.2001), a decision not

59a

Appendix B

overturned by Corus Group. See Corus Group, 352 F.3d at

1359-1360. Second, were the court to accept defendants’

reasoning, it would be holding, in the particular posture of

this case, that decisions by the President to deny import relief

pursuant to authority delegated by Congress in Section 421

are entirely outside the scope of judicial review under 28

U.S.C § 1581(i). Such a holding, which would go beyond

the holding in Corus Group, cannot be reconciled with the

express language of § 1581(i). These two points are discussed

below.

In Corus Group, the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit concluded that the Court of International Trade should

have dismissed the President from an action brought under

28 U.S.C. § 1581(i4) challenging certain decisions made

during an “escape clause” proceeding affecting steel imports

that was conducted under section 201 of the Trade Act of

1974. The Court of Appeals reasoned that § 1581(i) does not

authorize proceedings directly against the President,

observing that it “refers only to actions ‘against the United

States, its agencies, or its cfficers’ and does not specifically

include the President.” 352 F.3d at 1359. The Court of

Appeals in Corus Group held that the Court of International

Trade nevertheless had jurisdiction over the subject matter

of the dispute under 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i) and concluded that

relief still could have been sought against the Commissioner

of Customs, who along with the President and the U.S.

International Trade Commission was named as a defendant.

The Court of Appeals observed that had plaintiffs prevailed,

the Customs Commissioner could have been enjoined from

collecting duties, as proclaimed by the President under the

escape clause, on the imported tin mill steel products that

were at issue in the case. Id.

60a

Appendix B

In Humane Society of the United States v. Clinton, as in

Corus Group, plaintiffs sought relief against, and named as

defendants, the President of the United States and other

government officials (in that case, the Secretaries of State

and Commerce). The plaintiffs in Humane Society sued the

government officials for their alleged failure to comply with

the Driftnet Fishing Act, 16 U.S.C. § § 1826-1826g. See

Humane Society, 236 F.3d at 1323. Specifically, plaintiffs

appealed from a decision of this Court refusing to issue a

writ of mandamus ordering the President to impose sanctions

on Italy for large-scale driftnet fishing and refusing to find

arbitrary and capricious a certification by the Secretary of

Commerce that large-scale driftnet fishing during a specified

time period had been terminated by Italy. See id. Plaintiffs

had brought their case in this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i).

The defendants in Humane Society sought dismissal on

the ground that “there has been no waiver of sovereign

immunity by the United States.” 236 F.3d at 1325. The Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, observing that

“[{s]overeign immunity and subject matter jurisdiction are

related but different juridical concepts,” id. at 1326, further

observed that “[u]nless the grant of jurisdiction carries with

it a coextensive waiver of sovereign immunity, the

Congressional grant would be a hollow act, with no

significant consequences to the sovereign, and no significant

benefits to the sovereign’s subjects.” /d. at 1328. Analogizing

to the Supreme Court’s analysis of jurisdiction and waiver

of sovereign immunity under the Tucker Act in United States

v. Mitchell, 463 U.S. 206, 103 S.Ct. 2961, 77 1..Ed.2d 580

(1983), the Federal Circuit concluded in Humane Society that

28 U.S.C. § 1581 “not only states the jurisdictional grant to

6la

Appendix B

the Court of International Trade, but also provides a waiver

of sovereign immunity over the specified class of cases.”

236 F.3d at 1328. The Court of Appeals further concluded in

Humane Society that “[t]he Court of International Trade

properly exercised jurisdiction over this case.” Id.

With respect to the scope of the jurisdictional grant in

28 U.S.C. § 1581(i), the decision of the Court of Appeals in

Humane Society was consistent with a line of previous

decisions in which challenges to presidential action pursuant

to tariff statutes were brought thereunder. In its opinion in

Humane Society, the Court of Appeals noted with approval

the plaintiffs’ citation of “numerous cases in which the Court

of International Trade has since considered challenges to the

actions of the President pursuant to the grant of jurisdiction

in § 1581(i). See, e.g., Florsheim Shoe Co. v. United States,

744 F.2d 787 (Fed.Cir.1984); United States Cane Sugar

Refiners’ Ass'n v. Block, 69 C.C.P.A. 172, 683 F.2d 399

(1982); Kemet Electronics Corp. v. Barshefsky, 976 F.Supp.

1012 (CIT 1997); Luggage & Leather Goods Mfrs. of

America, Inc. v. United States, 588 F.Supp. 1413 (CIT 1984).”

236 F.3d at 1327. This court cannot adopt the interpretation

of Corus Group advanced by defendants and, at the same

time, adhere to the jurisdictional principles set forth in

Humane Society and the predecessor cases in which

presidential actions were challenged pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1581(1). Nor is this court able to reconcile the construction

of § 1581(i) advanced by defendants with the plain meaning

of that statutory provision.

62a

Appendix B

As noted above, Corus Group did not overturn Humane

Society. See Corus Group, 352 F.3d at 1359-1360.

Furthermore, it did not overturn the previous cases identified

in Humane Society as “numerous cases in which the Court

of International Trade has since considered challenges to the

actions of the President pursuant to the grant of jurisdiction

in § 1581(i).” Humane Society, 236 F.3d at 1327. Moreover,

under precedent of the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit, these earlier decisions may be overturned only en

banc. See Sacco v. Dep’t of Justice, 317 F.3d 1384, 1386

(Fed.Cir.2003) (citing Newell Companies, Inc. v. Kenney Mfg.

Co., 864 F.2d 757, 765 (Fed.Cir.1988) (“A panel of this court

is bound by prior precedential decisions unless and until

overturned en banc.”)). To the extent of any conflict between

the decision in Corus Group and the decision in Humane

Society, this court concludes that it should follow the earlier

decision, because a decision of one panel of the Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit should not be read to overturn

the decision of a previous panel. “Where there is a direct

conflict, the precedential decision is the first.” Newell

Companies, Inc., 864 F.2d at 765 (Fed.Cir.1988).

The second part of defendants’ argument on jurisdiction

is that the recommendation of the U.S. Trade Representative

in the administrative proceeding was purely advisory, rather

than determinative of legal rights, and hence is unreviewable

under principles announced by the Supreme Court in Benneit

v. Spear, 520 U.S. at 177-78, 117 S.Ct. 1154, and cited by

the Federal Circuit in Corus Group. Having contended that

this court lacks subject matter jurisdiction over an action

brought directly against the President and that the Trade

Representative’s action cannot be challenged, defendants

63a

Appendix B

present what is in effect an argument that this Court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction because there is no officer of the

United States against whom relief may be sought. The court

finds this argument unpersuasive.

As confirmed by the jurisdictional analyses in Humane

Society and in prior decisions involving challenges to

presidential action under trade statutes, 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i)

provides subject matter jurisdiction in this Court over a

challenge such as this to final presidential action taken under

Section 421. Accordingly, the court need not reach the issue

whether the Trade Representative’s recommendation to the

President, standing by itself, would have been appealable in

this forum as a final decision, or, alternatively, “purely

advisory” under principles advanced in Bennett v. Spear. See

Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. at 178, 117 S.Ct. 1154. The

procedural actions taken by the Office of the U.S. Trade

Representative are challenged in this proceeding. They are

reviewable pursuant to the subject matter jurisdiction of this

Court as procedural predicates to the final presidential action.

See Dalton v. Specter, 511 U.S. 462, 478, 114 S.Ct. 1719,

128 L.Ed.2d 497 (1994) (Blackmun, J., concurring in part

and concurring in the judgment); see also Fed. Trade Comm’n

v. Standard Oil of Calif., 449 U.S. 232, 244-245, 101 S.Ct.

488, 66 L.Ed.2d 416 (1980) (Preliminary decision to issue

complaint by Federal Trade Commission is not insulated by

finality requirement, and “a court of appeals reviewing a

[final] cease-and-desist order has the power to review alleged

unlawfulness in the [preliminary] issuance of the

complaint.”).

64a

Appendix B

Furthermore, were this court to accept the two premises

of defendants’ jurisdictional argument, subject matter

jurisdiction would be found to exist in this Court where a

challenge is brought to a presidential decision granting import

relief under Section 421 but not where the challenge is

brought against a presidential decision denying such relief.

Where the action challenged is one in which the President

granted import relief, the Commissioner of Customs could

be enjoined from collecting duties or from excluding

merchandise from entry. Where, as here, the President denied

such relief, defendants’ construction of § 1581(i) would leave

no officer of the United States who could be sued. Support

for such an anomalous distinction can be found neither in

the language of 28 U.S.C. § 1581(;) nor in the congressional

purpose underlying this jurisdictional provision. The

jurisdictional bifurcation that would be created by defendants’

interpretation of § 1581(i1) would appear to blur the

distinctions between subject matter jurisdiction and personal

jurisdiction. It also would lead to confusion of the type

Congress intended to prevent when it included 28 U.S.C.

8 1581(i) as part of the Customs Courts Act of 1980, Pub. L.

96-417. As the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

observed in American Association of Exporters and

Importers-Textile and Apparel Group v. United States, 751

F.2d 1239, 1245-46 (Fed.Cir.1985), that intent was “to

establish clear rules and to center international trade litigation

in the CIT.”

For the foregoing reasons, this court rejects the

interpretations of § 1581(i) and of Corus Group that are

advanced by defendants. Defendants’ motion to dismiss for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction is denied.

65a

Appendix B

B. Summary Judgment and Judgment on an Agency

Record

In seeking dismissal of this action, defendants have

moved for judgment on an agency record pursuant to USCIT

Rule 56.1, “Judgment Upon an Agency Record for an Action

Other Than That Described in 28 U.S.C. § 1581(c).”

Subsection (a) of that Rule provides, in pertinent part, that

“where a party believes that the determination of the court is

to be made solely upon the basis of the record made before

an agency, that party may move for judgment in its favor

upon all or any part of the agency determination.” In this

action, however, the determination of the court cannct be

made solely on the basis of the record made before an agency,

because the decision under review is that of the President,

not that of an administrative agency. For the same reason,

this case cannot be decided on the basis of judgment “upon

all or any part of the agency determination.” Therefore, the

subject matter of Rule 56.1 does not precisely describe the

issue pending before the court.

This case presents no genuine issue as to any material

fact. Both plaintiff and defendants are seeking judgment as

a matter of law. Specifically, plaintiff Motion Systems seeks

an order granting it judgment on the record setting aside the

President’s determination not to grant relief from imports.

Defendants and defendant-intervenor CCL Industrial Motor

Ltd. seek judgment as a matter of law dismissing this action.

These circumstances are within the ambit of Rule 56,

Summary Judgment.’ Accordingly, the court will consider

defendants’ motion as a motion for summary judgment under

5. USCIT R. 56(c) states, in the relevant part:

(Cont’d)

66a

Appendix B

USCIT Rule 56 and, similarly, treat the submission of

plaintiff opposing defendants’ motion as a cross motion for

summary judgment.®

C. Standard of Review for Presidential Actions

under Trade Statutes

In reviewing final actions of the President, courts have

applied a standard of review considerably narrower and more

deferential than the standards most often accorded to final

actions by administrative agencies, which Congress has

(Cont'd)

The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of law.

6. At oral argument held October 22, 2003, the parties indicated

that they do not oppose the court’s consideration of the relief sought

by defendants and plaintiff as a motion and cross motion,

respectively, for summary judgment under Rule 56. Oral Arg. Tr. at

64—66. Subsequent to oral argument, plaintiff filed with the court a

letter, dated November 18, 2003, stating that plaintiff now considered

summary judgment to be inappropriate and seeking to “withdraw

any concession that consideration under Rule 56 is in order.” In its

opposition to defendants’ motion under Rule 56.1, plaintiff had

acknowledged that “[t}here are no material issues of fact in issue in

this action” and sought judgment on the record in its favor. Plaintiff

has not sought to amend its pleadings. Most significantly, plaintiff's

letter-of November 18, 2003 does not establish that this case presents

a genuine issuc as to any material fact. Under these circumstances,

Rule 56 is the applicable rule under which this case is to be decided.

67a

Appendix B

subjected generally to standards of review prescribed by the

Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”), 5 U.S.C. § 706. The

APA provisions include the standard of review commonly

referred to as the “arbitrary and capricious” or “abuse of

discretion” standard, under which a court will “hold unlawful

and set aside agency action, findings, and conclusions found

to be . . . arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or

otherwise not in accordance with law.” 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A).

For cases brought under 28 U.S.C. § 1581(i), 28 U.S.C.

§ 2640 refers this court to the APA, providing that the court

“shall review the matter as provided in section 706 of title

5.” However, 5 U.S.C. § 706 is expressly confined to the

review of an “agency action.” As the Supreme Court

recognized in Franklin v. Massachusetts, 505 U.S. 788, 112

S.Ct. 2767, 120 L.Ed.2d 636 (1992), “the President is not an

agency within the meaning of the Act,” concluding in that

instance that “there is no final agency action that may be

reviewed under the APA standards.” /d. at 796, 112 S.Ct.

2767. The Franklin Court reasoned as follows:

The President is not explicitly excluded from the

APA’s purview, but he is not explicitly included,

either. Out of respect for the separation of powers

and the unique constitutional position of the

President, we find that textual silence is not

enough to subject the President to the provisions

of the APA. We would require an express

statement by Congress before assuming it

intended the President’s performance of his

statutory duties to be reviewed for abuse of

discretion.

68a

Appendix B

505 U.S. at 800-801, 112 S.Ct. 2767. “Although the

President’s actions may still be reviewed for constitutionality,

we hold that they are not reviewable for abuse of discretion

under the APA... .” Jd. at 801, 112 S.Ct. 2767 (citations

Omitted).

Franklin v. Massachusetts involved a judicial challenge

to presidential action under the statutory congressional

reapportionment provisions. When reviewing presidential

actions taken under the authority of tariff statutes, courts also

have limited the scope of their reviews, noting in particular

the relationship between actions taken under tariff statutes

and the President’s unique role in foreign affairs. In Maple

Leaf Fish Co. v. United States, 762 F.2d 86 (Fed.Cir.1985),

the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit stated as follows:

In international trade controversies of this highly

discretionary kind-involving the President and

foreign affairs-this court and its predecessors have

often reiterated the very limited role of reviewing

courts. See, e.g., American Association of

Exporters and Importers v. United States, 751 F.2d

1239, 1248-49 (Fed.Cir.1985); Florsheim Shoe

Co. v. United States, 744 F.2d 787, 793 795-97

(Fed.Cir. 1984). For a court to interpose, there has"

to be a clear misconstruction of the governing

statute, a significant procedural violation, or

action outside delegated authority.

762 F.2d at 89. Maple Leaf Fish Co. involved the review of

presidential action under the “escape clause” established by |

section 201 of the Trade Act of 1974, 19 U.S.C. § § 2251-

69a

Appendix B

53. In Florsheim Shoe Co., the Federal Circuit applied

essentially the same standard of review in considering a

challenge to the President’s exercise of authority under the

Generalized System of Preferences (“GSP”) program

(specifically, Section 504 of Title V of the Trade Act of 1974,

. 19 U.S.C. § 2464) to limit duty-free tariff treatment for a

certain class of imported goods. The Federal Circuit in

Florsheim Shoe Co. concluded that “[b]Joth the Supreme

Court and Court of Customs and Patent Appeals precedent

have established that the Executive’s decisions in the sphere

of international trade are reviewable only to determine

whether the President’s action falls within his delegated

authority, whether the statutory language has been properly

construed, and whether the President’s action conforms with

the relevant procedural requirements.” Florsheim Shoe Co.

v. United States, 744 F.2d 787, 795 (1984). The court further

concluded that “[{t]he President’s findings of fact and the

motivations for his action are not subject to review.” Jd.

(citing United States v. George S. Bush & Co., 310 U.S. 371,

379-80, 60 S.Ct. 944, 84 L.Ed. 1259 (1940); United States

Cane Sugar Refiners’ Association v. Block, 683 F.2d at 404;

Aimcee Wholesale Corp. v. United States, 60 C.C.P.A. 1, 468

F.2d 202, 206 (1972)).

As do the trade enactments at issue in Maple Leaf Fish

Co., supra, and Florsheim Shoe Co., supra, Section 421

grants the President considerable discretion. The President

may decide to provide import relief to the domestic industry,

or, after making certain findings, may decide not to do so. If

he decides to provide such relief, he may do so by means of

“increased duties or other import restrictions.” Section

421(a), 19 U.S.C. § 2451(a). The time period for the relief is

\

70a

Appendix B

also left to the President’s discretion; the relief is to remain

in effect “for such period as the President considers necessary

to prevent or remedy the market disruption.” /d.

Section 421 does not indicate congressional intent to

subject the President’s determinations thereunder to an APA

“abuse of discretion” or similar standard. Therefore, in

reviewing the President’s determination of January 17, 2003

not to proclaim restrictive measures on imports of pedestal

actuators from China, this court will uphold the President’s

action absent “a clear misconstruction of the governing

statute, a significant procedural violation, or action outside

delegated authority.” Maple Leaf Fish Co., 762 F.2d at 89.

D. Analysis of the President’s Decision under the

Applicable Standard of Review

1. Construction of the Governing Statute and

Action Within Delegated Authority

This court finds no basis to conclude that the January

17, 2003 decision not to grant import relief to the U.S.

pedestal actuator industry is based on a misconstruction of

Section 421. The decision is consistent with the statute with

respect to the types of factual determinations that-are required

to support a denial of import relief to a domestic industry

and with respect to the requirement that the published

decision include the “reasons therefor.” Moreover, because

it contains a specific determination and a specific finding

responsive to the statutory criteria for denying relief and

presents reasons that are sufficient under the applicable

standard for judicial review, the President’s decision did not

exceed the authority delegated by Congress in Section 421.

Tila

Appendix B

The aforementioned statutory criteria are set forth in

Section 421(k). Section 421(k)(1) requires that a decision

denying import relief be based on a presidential determination

that provision of relief is “not in the national economic

interest of the United States, or, in extraordinary cases, that

the taking of action pursuant to subsection (a) of this section

would cause serious harm to the national security of the

United States.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(1). If the President

decides to deny relief under the “economic interest” criterion

as opposed to the “national security” criterion, the President

may do so only upon a presidential finding under Section

421(k)(2) that “the taking of such action would have an

adverse impact on the United States economy clearly greater

than the benefits of such action.” 19 U.S.C. § 2451(k)(2).

The President’s January 17, 2003 decision contains a

presidential determination under the economic interest

criterion: “After considering all relevant aspects of the

investigation, I have determined that providing import relief

for the U.S. pedestal actuator industry is not in the national

economic interest of the United States.” The decision also

contains a presidential finding that “the import relief would

have an adverse impact on the United States economy clearly

greater than the benefits of such action.” Finally, with respect

to the President’s decision to deny relief, the notice states

“reasons therefor.”

This court’s consideration of the reasons stated in the

presidential decision must be informed by the degree of

deference to be accorded to the President under the applicable

standard of review. As discussed previously, “[t]he

President’s findings of fact and the motivations for his action

72a

Appendix B

are not subject to review.” Florsheim Shoe Co. v. United

States, 744 F.2d at 795. Although the President must state

reasons for his decision, those reasons are not to be reviewed

in this court under the “abuse of discretion” standard of 5

U.S.C. § 706(2)(A), nor are the underlying findings of fact

to be subjected to a standard such as the “substantial

evidence” standard described in 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(E).

The reasons set forth in the President’s notice refer to

factual matters that were before the President as a result of

the investigation conducted by the USITC. They relate

specifically to the statutory “economic interest” criterion and

the statutory requiremeni that denial of relief under that

criterion be based on a presidential finding that “the taking

of such action would have an adverse impact on the United

States economy clearly greater than the benefits of such

action.” As a result, they are directed to the specific

determination and finding which, under the plain meaning

of Section 421(k), must guide the exercise of presidential

discretion to deny relief. Having made both the “economic

interest” determination required by subsection (k)(1) and the

finding under subsection (k)(2) that imposing import relief

would have an adverse impact on the United States economy

clearly greater than the benefits of such action, and having

presented reasons for his decision in the published notice

that are sufficient under the applicable standard for judicial

review, the President was acting within the boundaries of

the discretion Congress delegated to him in deciding not to

impose import relief for the domestic pedestal actuator

industry.

73a

Appendix B

Motion Systems contends that the President, in denying

import relief following the affirmative determination of

market disruption by the USITC, both misconstrued Section

421 and exceeded his authority thereunder. Once the USITC

has made such a determination, plaintiff argues, the President

“is acting under a mandate to provide relief,” unless the

President invokes what plaintiff views “is meant to be a rare

exception to that relief.” Pl. ’s Br. in Supp. of its Opp. to Defs.’

Mot. for Summ. J. upon an Agency R. (“Pl.’s Br.”) at 28. In

plaintiff’s view, the statute creates a presumption of relief in

the use of the words “shall . . . proclaim” in subsection (a) of

Section 421, under which the President, following an

affirmative USITC determination, “shall, in accordance with

the provisions of this section, proclaim increased duties or

other import restrictions.” Pl.’s Br. at 24. Motion Systems

finds further support for its interpretation in the language of

subsection (j)(2) of Section 421, which provides that the

President, in the absence of an agreement with the People’s

Republic of China, “shall provide import relief in accordance

with subsection (a) of this section.” /d.

In asserting that the provision in subsection (k)(2) of

Section 421 “is meant to be a rare exception” to relief, Motion

Systems places emphasis on the words “clearly greater” as

used therein (“The President may determine under paragraph

(1) that providing import relief is not in the national economic

interest of the United States only if the President finds that

the taking of such action would have an adverse impact on

the United States economy clearly greater than the benefits

of such acticn’’). Based on the words “clearly greater” as

used in subsection (k)(2), plaintiff construes the statute to

require that “[i]n order to support a denial of relief... the

74a

Appendix B

evidence supporting the denial must be ‘clear,’ or beyond a

reasonable doubt” and that “the burden was on the President

to make such a negative determination only where such more-

than-substantial evidence was produced.” Pl.’s Br. at 3.

Plaintiff further contends that “[t]he record must contain

evidence quantifying the adverse economic impact on the

United States economy of providing such relief, not mere

conjecture that there might be some adverse impact.” /d.

Regarding benefits of relief, plaintiff argues that “[t]he

President has simply not examined or quantified the benefits

of relief, and thus the Court cannot sustain his determination

that the adverse impact on the United States economy of

providing the recommended import relief would be greater

than those benefits.” Pl.’s Br. at 46.

The court does not agree with plaintiff's construction of

Section 421. Subsection (k)(2) describes the nature of the

presidential finding that must precede a presidential

determination that providing import relief is not in the

national economic interest. It does not impose on the

President a burden to establish or support that finding with

“evidence quantifying the adverse economic impact,”

“evidence beyond a reasonable doubt,” “clear and convincing

evidence,” or “more-than-substantial evidence.” The

provision itself makes no reference to evidence or burden of

proof. Nor does it indicate congressional intent to impose a

standard of review different from that which the courts

consistently have applied in the judicial review of presidential

action under tariff statutes.

75a

Appendix B

The use of the words “shall . . . proclaim” and “shall

provide” in subsections (a) and (j)(2) of Section 421,

respectively, when read together with subsection (k)(2), do

not impose on the President the evidentiary requirements that

plaintiff ascribes to these statutory provisions. The words

“shall... . proclaim increased import duties or other

restrictions,” as used in subsection (a), are expressly qualified —

with the phrase “in accordance with the provisions of this

section,” which includes the exceptions provided for in

subsections (k)(1) and (k)(2). Similarly, the “shall provide”

language of subsection (j)(2) incorporates the same

exceptions through the use of the phrase “in accordance with

subsection (a) of this section.”

A judicial inquiry commensurate with plaintiff’s

construction of the statute would require this court to-evaluate

the sufficiency of the evidence underlying the President’s

findings. That is not within the court’s power. Again, “[t]he

President’s findings of fact and the motivations for his action

are not subject to review.” Florsheim Shoe Co., 744 F.2d at

795.

Plaintiff relies on a number of cases for its contention

that the President’s findings should be subjected upon judicial

review to a “clear and convincing” evidentiary standard. The

cited cases include Finnigan Corp. v. Int’l Trade Comm'n.,

180 F.3d 1354, 1366 n. 8 (1999) (The applicable standard

for determining existence of invalidating activities in a patent

case is “clear, satisfactory and beyond a reasonable doubt,”

which is “indistinguishable from the more modern parlance

of ‘clear and convincing’ evidence.”); United States v. United

States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395, 68 S.Ct. 525, 92 L.

76a

Appendix B

Ed. 746 (1948) (Appellate review of a trial court’s findings

of fact will be affirmed unless “clearly erroneous.”); Connor

v. United States, 24 CIT 195, 198 (2000) (To establish

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1581(h) plaintiff must show

by clear and convincing evidence that the immediate threat

of a harm occurring exists.). The cases cited by plaintiff are

unavailing. None establishes a rule of law under which this

court, based on the effect of statutory words such as “clearly

greater” or any words to similar effect, is to subject

presidential findings to a substantial evidence test or a more

stringent test requiring “clear and convincing” evidence or

evidence “beyond a reasonable doubt.”

In summary, the President’s decision of January 17, 2003

contains the determination and the finding required by

Section 421 to support a denial of import relief and presents

“reasons therefor” that are sufficient to support that decision

under the applicable standard for judicial review. The court

finds no basis to conclude that the President’s decision is

based on “a clear misconstruction of the governing statute”

or that it constituted “action outside delegated authority.”

Maple Leaf Fish Co., 762 F.2d at 89.

2. Compliance with Procedures

The President’s decision not t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.