Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Davis v. United States

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

_s

| ) Supreme Court, us.

LY FILED

O4 817 CEC 17 2008

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

SECOND LIEUTENANT RYAN W. DAVIS,

Petitioner

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CARLOS L. MCDADE

COLONEL, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel for Petitioner

December 2004

L. MARTIN POWELL

CAPTAIN, U. S. AIR FORCE

Counsel of Record

TERRY L. MCELYEA

MAJor, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel for Petitioner

APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION

AIR FORCE LEGAL SERVICES AGENCY

112 LUKE AVENUE, SUITE 343

BOLLING AFB, DC 20332-8000

(202) 767-1562

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether petitioner’s conviction for violating Article 125,

UCMJ, for engaging in consensual sodomy must be set aside

in light of this Court’s holding in Lawrence v. Texas, 539

U.S. 558 (2003).

Il. Whether an airman’s admission during a plea inquiry that

his conduct was prejudicial to good order and discipline and

of a nature to bring discredit upon the armed forces was

“voluntary” and “intelligent” when, at the time he made it,

he had just been misinformed that his conduct violated

federal law.

Il. Whether Article 134 of the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 934, is overly broad and void for

vagueness as applied?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Pe Oe URE BI TIED cacticcnicsncensnesssnccicsnsnenenesienssesseneei v

NT IIIT sninicseisoniepcinccsinsecenntctnanncntsntscasenstesenstiasssnagss 1

ITT TTTTITITT steiistshiapbdeiesernitinsaieniieninpscitincenscntenensininoeiauatmensinaee |

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

Pe EIT BS WRIe Te EPA cectsinasnccsencsesesetscesesnseincccssensesues ]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...........ssssscssssessessesseeneeneenesesens 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................:.cccceeeees 8

FFE PILIITN osecscnocnccnsencnsncecnsion sueitcinsteensibingestbiiiniiicncineniinainetiia 29

APPENDIX A

(Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces in United States v. Davis, dated 20

I caibictinsshticindchiinaicenhinnbaetinsenibeninnccecouneannaitjane la

APPENDIX B

(Opinion of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals in United States v. Davis, dated 28

iv

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Constitutional Provisions

GMINA LT LER ETN ERED OG 1,8

a FN isis dig aia 1]

Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States

Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition,

FF AI Ee CED ieitisnanasissisioneieninscnintanininaenie passim

Blakely v. Washington, 124 S. Ct. 2531 (2004) ........eesesesseee 14

Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614 (1998) .......cccscsseseee: 18

Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ........ccccccccseseseeees 10

Cole v. Arkansas, 333 GS OP CO ciicssistismanaiteaseneiilianhenie 15

Henderson v. Morgan, 426 U.S. 637 (1976)........cscsssssesesese: 17

Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (1974) ....ccccccsseseseeee. passim

Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973)........ccccecscsseseseseseees 17

Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733 (1974) ...cccccccsssssssssssesececes 28, 29

Military Cases

United States v. Brown, 18 M.J. 360 (C.M.A. 1984)........... 15

United States v. Marcum, 60 M.J. 198

AE ESE NTA SE REM FT passim

vi

United States v. Mason, 60 M.J. 15 (C.A.A.F. 2004) ...passim

United States v. O’'Connnor, 58 M.J. 450

eT Tee: passim

United States v. Riley, 50 M.J. 410 (C.A.A-F. 1999).......... 14

United States v. Scoby, 5 M.J. 160 (C.M.A. 1977) ..........9, 10

Federal Statutes

UDC. § SORDID. .cccinsnintcieneamaee 1

SO TREC, 6 FOE insesisienonsicrisictnineac passim

SO TER. 6 OG i ccisesinencoseenssialcmmeaaaeaaeee passim

UBL. 6 SUDA. ...sccitmusccemmummemaeen passim

EO UE 6 GINN,,..sscncccnennetnnee 2, 4, 18, 24

MUSL. 6 TEND.......nicncsinaielaaneee 1

The petitioner, Second Lieutenant Ryan W. Davis,

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces entered in his case on September 20, 2004.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces, United States v. Davis,

USCA Dkt. No. 02-0065/AF, is located at Appendix A. The

unpublished opinion of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals (No. ACM 33877, August 28, 2001) is

located at Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces was entered on September 20, 2004.' The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1259(3) and 10 U.S.C. § 867(a)(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides that "Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the ~

freedom of speech.”

The Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the

United States Constitution states that "No person shall . . . be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law."

' Appendix A, p. la.

2

Article 125, Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCM)J),

Section 925 of Title 10, United States Code [hereinafter

Article 125], provides:

Any person subject to this chapter who engages in

unnatural carnal copulation with another person of the

same or opposite sex or with an animal is guilty of

sodomy. Penetration, however slight, is sufficient to

complete the offense.

Section 2256(8) of Title 18, United States Code,

contained the following definition that applied to a violation

of Section 2252A of the same title:

"child pornography" means any visual depiction,

including any photograph, film, video, picture, or

computer or computer-generated image or picture,

whether made or produced by electronic, mechanical,

or other means, of sexually explicit conduct, where—

(A) the production of such visual depiction

involves the use of a minor engaging in sexually

explicit conduct;

(B) such visual depiction is, or appears to be, ofa _

minor engaging in sexually explicit conduct;

(C) such visual depiction has been created,

adapted, or modified to appear that an identifiable

minor is engaging in sexually explicit conduct; or

(D) such visual depiction is advertised, promoted,

presented, described, or distributed in such a manner

that conveys the impression that the material is or

contains a visual depiction of a minor engaging in

sexually explicit conduct.

Article 134, UCMJ, Section 934 of Title 10, United

States Code [hereinafter Article 134], provides:

3

Though not specifically mentioned in this chapter, all

disorders and neglects to the prejudice of good order

and discipline in the armed forces, all conduct of a

nature to bring discredit upon the armed forces, and

crimes and offenses not capital, of which persons

subject to this chapter may be guilty, shall be taken

cognizance of by a general, special, or summary

court-martial, according to the nature and degree of

the offense, and shall be punished at the discretion of

that court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 22, 1999, petitioner was tried by a general

court-martial composed of a military judge sitting alone at

Tyndall Air Force Base, Florida. The petitioner pled guilty

to one specification alleging that he engaged in consensual

sodomy in violation of Article 125, UCMJ, one specification

alleging that he wrongfully possessed child pornography,

and one specification alleging that he wrongfully distributed

child pornography.’ Both child pornography specifications

were charged as violations of Title 18, United States Code,

Section 2252A, assimilated under clause 3 of Article 134,

UCM3J.

Following the entry of petitioner’s guilty pleas, the

military judge conducted an inquiry with petitioner to

determine whether his pleas were provident. With respect to

the specification alleging consensual sodomy between

petitioner and B.E.P., the military judge instructed petitioner

as follows:

? Petitioner was also charged with and pled guilty to conduct unbecoming

an officer in violation of Article 133, UCMJ, for persuading or enticing

B.E.P., a person under the age of 18 years, through a means of interstate

commerce, to engage in sodomy. Additionally, petitioner pled guilty to

obstruction of justice in violation of Article 134, UCMJ.

4

Sodomy is unnatural carnal copulation. Unnatural

carnal copulation occurs when a person takes into his

mouth the reproductive sexual organ of another

person, or places his penis into the mouth of another.

Penetration of the mouth, however slight, is required

to establish this offense, and ejaculation is not

required. Neither force nor lack of consent are

required for this offense. Stated conversely, neither

lack of force nor consent are defenses. (R. 30).

Petitioner then admitted that he met B.E.P., a 16-year-old

male, sometime after April 1997 and engaged in consensual

mutual oral sodomy with B.E.P. in a park in Gulf Breeze,

Florida.’ (R. 30-31; Pros. Ex. 1).

As to specifications 1 and 2 of Charge III, during the

providence inquiry with petitioner the military judge advised

petitioner of the relevant definitions relating to the offenses

of possession and distribution of child pornography. In

doing so, the military judge recited the same definitions of

"child pornography" contained in Title 18, Sections

2256(8)(B) and 2256(8)(D) that this Court struck down as

unconstitutionally overbroad in Ashcroft v. Free Speech

Coalition, 535 U.S. 234 (2002). (R. 39-40).

Specifically, the military judge advised the petitioner

during the providence inquiry that the term “child

pornography” means, among other things, any visual

depiction of sexually explicit conduct where such visual

depiction is, or appears to be, of a minor engaging in

sexually explicit conduct. Jd.

> Under the Uniform Code of Military Justice, the age of lawful consent

for sexual activity is 16 years of age. ,

5

While setting forth for petitioner the elements of the two

child pornography specifications, the military judge added

the following element to the offenses:

That, under the circumstances, [the petitioner’s]

conduct was to the prejudice of good order and

discipline in the armed forces or was of a nature to

bring discredit upon the armed forces.

When adding this third element to the child pornography

specifications the military judge acknowledged that the third

element was not actually an element of the offenses charged.

(R. 37, 38). However, the military judge reasoned that, by

adding the third element, the government could “rely upon

the lesser included offense of an act or disorder prejudicial to

good order and discipline as a lesser included offense” should

petitioner’s conviction later be overturned cn appeal.

In pleading guilty, petitioner agreed that the elements and

definitions taken together correctly described his actions.

(R. 40). Specifically, in discussing his plea to specification 1

of Charge III, petitioner agreed that he had “possessed three

or more images of chiid pornography.” The military judge

also asked if petitioner knew “that the individuals depicted in

at least three or more of those images were under the age of

18” and whether the individuals depicted were “engaged in

sexually explicit conduct or child pornography images, as I

have defined that term for you.” To each question, petitioner

responded “Yes, Your Honor.” (R. 47).

With respect to specification 2 of Charge III, petitioner

agreed that he distributed one image of “child pornography”

by sending a picture depicting two minors engaged in

“mutual oral sodomy” to B.E.P. via electronic mail.

Additionally, petitioner agreed with the military judge’s

assertion that, by attaching a file that petitioner knew was

“an image or a depiction of individuals under the age of 18

6

engaging in mutual oral sodomy,” petitioner distributed

“child pornography. (R. 46). However, throughout the

course of the providence inquiry, petitioner never admitted

that he knew or believed the images he possessed and the

image he distributed were produced through the use of actual

minors engaging in sexually explicit conduct.

In addressing the third element that was added by the

military judge, the military judge asked petitioner if he

agreed that “if individuals in the civilian community knew

that we had military members who were storing child

pornography on their computers, that they might think a little

less of the military generally.” Petitioner responded, “Yes,

Your Honor.” Petitioner also agreed with the military

judge’s assertion that “having images of child pornography

is also the kind of behavior that could get some people upset

and cause them to, perhaps, be turbulent or to be upset about

it.” (R. 48). Finally, when the military judge asked if

petitioner agreed “that that conduct is conduct which would

be prejudicial to good order and discipline, or which would

be service discrediting,” petitioner replied, “Yes, Your

Honor.” (R. 49).

After accepting the petitioner’s guilty pleas, the military

judge sentenced the petitioner to be dismissed from the Air

Force, to be confined for 24 months and to forfeit all pay and

allowances. (R. 113).

On appeal of his conviction to the Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals, petitioner specifically challenged the

constitutionality of Article 125, UCMJ, and of 18 U.S.C. §

2252A. On 28 August 2001, the Air Force Court affirmed

the findings and sentence. United States v. Davis, ACM

33877 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 28 August 2001) (App. B, p.

16a). On September 20, 2004, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces granted review of the

following two issues:

—

WHETHER PROSECUTION UNDER ARTICLE

125 VIOLATES SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS

BY UNFAIRLY INFRINGING ON

SERVICEMEMBERS’ FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT

TO PRIVACY. ALSO WHETHER PROSECUTION

UNDER ARTICLE 125 FOR _ PRIVATE

CONSENSUAL NON-COMMERCIAL SODOMY

VIOLATES A STATUTORILY ESTABLISHED

ZONE OF PRIVACY WITHOUT A COMPELLING

GOVERNMENT INTEREST.

WHETHER APPELLANT’S PLEA OF GUILTY TO

POSSESSING AND TRANSPORTING CHILD

PORNOGRAPHY UNDER 18 U.S.C. § 2252A IS

IMPROVIDENT BECAUSE CONVICTION

UNDER SAID STATUTE VIOLATES THE FIRST

AMENDMENT’S GUARANTEE OF _ FREE

SPEECH AND BECAUSE THE PHRASES

“APPEARS TO BE” AND “CONVEYS THE

IMPRESSION” IN THE STATUTE MAKE IT

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND

OVERBROAD.

In its order granting review of the issues, the Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces, citing its previous decisions

in United States v. Marcum, 60 M.J. 198 (C.A.A.F. 2004),

United States v. Mason, 60 M.J. 15 (C.A.A.F. 2004), and

United States v. O’Connor, 58 M.J. 450 (C.A.A.F. 2003),

amended specifications 1 and 2 of Charge III by striking

from each specification all language that made reference to

or implied a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A (App. A., pg

2a). The court summarily affirmed the petitioner’s

* This amendment of the specifications had the effect of affirming

convictions under specifications 1 and 2 of Charge III only as to the

lesser-included offenses of violations of clause 1 or 2 of Article 134,

8

conviction under Charge [II and its specifications, as

amended, and affirmed the remaining charges, specifications,

and the sentence.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents three questions of fundamental

importance to the administration of justice in the United

States armed forces. First, in light of this Court’s recent

decision in Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003), can the

United States continue to prosecute and punish military

members for engaging in private, consensual sexual conduc:

with other adults even though this Court recognized such

conduct as being the sort of liberty interest protected by the

Due Process Clause? This is an important federal question

that should be settled by this Court.

The second question concerns whether petitioner’s

admission at trial that his possession and distribution of

images depicting minors engaged in sexually explicit

conduct was service discrediting is improvident where that

admission was based upon a fundamental misunderstanding

about what constitutes child pornography held as a result of

the use of definitions of child pornography during his trial

that this Court struck down as unconstitutionally overbroad

in Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234 (2002).

Finally, the third question concerns the extent to which

servicemen and women enjoy First Amendment protections

enjoyed by other citizens. Because these questions are of

fundamental importance to the millions who serve in the

armed forces, these issues should be reviewed by this Court.

UCMSJ, rather than a conviction for violating 18 U.S.C. 2252A,

assimilated under clause 3 of Article 134, UCMJ, as charged.

9

I. Petitioner’s conviction for violating Article 125, UCMJ,

for engaging in consensual sodomy must be set aside in

light of this Court’s holding in Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S.

558 (2003).

The specification of Charge I in petitioner’s case alleged

the following violation of Article 125, UCMJ:

In that SECOND LIEUTENANT RYAN W. DAVIS,

United States Air Force, Detachment 1, 325" Fighter

Wing, Pensacola Naval Air Station, Pensacola,

Florida, at or near Gulf Breeze, Florida, did between

on or about 16 October 1996 and 31 August 1997,

commit sodomy with [B.E.P.], by placing his penis in

[B.E.P.’s] mouth and placing [B.E.P.’s] penis into his

mouth.

A conviction under Article 125 requires proof of only

one element: that the accused engaged in unnatural carnal

copulation. See Manual for Courts-Martial, United States

(MCM), Part IV, § 51(b)(1). The Manual for Courts-Martial

offers the following definition of unnatural carnal

copulation:

It is unnatural carnal copulation for a person to take

into that person’s mouth or anus the sexual organ of

another person ... or to place that person’s sexual

organ in the mouth or anus of another person ...

MCM, Part IV, ¥ 51(c) (2002 ed.).

Under Article 125, a military member who is convicted

of private, consensual oral sodomy with another person of

consenting age faces a potential maximum punishment that

includes up to five years imprisonment and a dishonorable

discharge. MCM, Part IV, J 51(e)(4).

10

By its express terms, Article 125 prohibits all oral and

anal sex, heterosexual or homosexual, even between husband

and wife, whether accomplished by force or with consent.

. See United States v. Scoby, 5 M.J. 160 (C.M.A. 1977).

Additionally, Article 125 “does not distinguish between an

act committed in the privacy of one’s home, with no person

present other than the sexual partner, and the same act

committed in a public place in front of a group of strangers,

who fully apprehend the nature of the act.” Jd. at 163.

In Lawrence v. Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003), this Court

struck down a Texas statue that made criminal the act of

sodomy between members of the same sex. This Court,

overruling its previous decision in Bowers v. Hardwick, 478

U.S. 186 (1986), held that the petitioners’ right to liberty

under the Due Process Clause gives them the full right to

engage in private sexual conduct, to include sodomy, without

intervention of the government. Lawrence, 539 U.S. at 578.

This Court recognized “an emerging awareness that liberty

gives substantial protection to adult persons in deciding how

to conduct their private lives in matters pertaining to sex.”

Ultimately, this Court concluded that the State cannot

demean the existence of individual. or “control their destiny

by making their private sexual conduct a crime.” /d.

While the Texas statute made sodomy criminal only

among members of the same sex, Article 125 strikes even

more broadly at the liberty interests of military members by

proscribing private and consensual sexual acts among all

adults, even among married couples. By its terms, Article

125 is not directed at any particular impact on the military, as

it is not limited in application to sexual acts that somehow

affect the operation of the armed forces. Because Article

125, on its face, makes criminal the type of consensual sexual

conduct that this Court has now held is part of the liberty

interest of citizens protected under the Due Process Clause,

the statute is constitutionally invalid.

11

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces recently

addressed the application of Lawrence in the military context

in United States v. Marcum, 60 M.J. 198 (C.A.A.F. 2004). In

beginning its analysis, the Court first acknowledged that the

“men and women in the Armed Forces do not leave

constitutional safeguards and judicial protection behind when

they enter military service.” Jd. at 205 (citing United States

v. Mitchell, 39 M.J. 131, 135 (C.M.A. 1994) (quoting Weiss

v. United States, 510 U.S. 163 (1994)). However, the Court

also noted that constitutional rights may sometimes apply

differently to members of the armed forces than they do to

civilians. Marcum, 60 M.J. at 205 (citing Parker v. Levy, 417

U.S. 733, 758 (1974)). Ultimately though, the Court of

Appeals recognized that this Court, in Lawrence, did not

define the liberty interest at stake “in a manner that on its

face would preclude its application to military members.” Jd.

at 206.

In Marcum, the Court of Appeals noted that this Court

did not specifically identify the liberty interest at stake in

Lawrence as a fundamental right. Jd. at 205. The Court of

Appeals decided it would “not presume the existence of such

a fundamental right in the military environment when the

Supreme Court declined in the civilian context to expressly

identify such a fundamental right.” Jd. The lower court was

also uncertain as to whether this Court would apply a rational

basis test or strict scrutiny in analyzing the constitutional

concerns arising from Article 125. Jd.

In resolving the question of how Lawrence impacts

Article 125, the Court of Appeals determined that a

“contextual, as applied analysis,” rather than a facial

challenge to Article 125, was required. Jd. at 206. The court

thereafter settled on an analysis that consists of the following

three questions:

12

First, was the conduct that the accused was found

guilty of committing of a nature to bring it within the

liberty interest identified by the Supreme Court?

Second, did the conduct encompass any behavior or

factors identified by the Supreme Court as outside the

analysis in Lawrence? Third, are there additional

factors relevant solely in the military environment

that affect the nature and reach of the Lawrence

liberty interest?

Marcum, 60 M.J. at 206-07 (internal citations omitted).

The Court of Appeals further elaborated on the second

question of the analysis, addressing factors identified by this

Court as not involved in Lawrence. Specifically, the Court of

Appeals indicated that the second question was concerned

with conduct that involved minors, public conduct or

prostitution, or persons who might be injured or coerced or

who are situated in relationships where consert might not

easily be refused. Jd. at 207.

In Marcum, the accused was convicted, contrary to his

pleas, of engaging in consensual oral sodomy with another

military member. The Court of Appeals, in conducting its

contextual analysis, focused on the fact that Marcum’s sexual

partner was another airman who was subordinate-to Marcum

within the military chain of command. Noting the

prohibition of sexual conduct between superiors and

subordinates spelled out in Air Force regulations, the court

reasoned that the subordinate airman was “a person ‘who

might be coerced’ or who was ‘situated in [a] relationship[]

where consent might not easily be refused.’”” Jd. at 208

(citing Lawrence, 539 U.S. at 578). Based on the

superior/subordinate relationship, the court concluded that

Marcum’s conduct fell outside the liberty interest identified

in Lawrence and that Article 125 was, therefore,

constitutional as applied to Marcum.

13

In reaching its conclusion the Court noted that “[wJhile

servicemembers clearly retain a liberty interest to engage in

certain intimate sexual conduct, ‘this right must be tempered

in a military setting based on the mission of the military, the

need for obedience of orders, and civilian supremacy. Id.

(citing United States v. Brown, 45 M.J. 389, 397 (C.A.A.F.

1996)). So, even though the only element required to be

proven at trial to convict Marcum of violating Article 125

was the act of sodomy itself, the Court of Appeals affirmed

his conviction because it found support in the record that

there was an uncharged official relationship between the two

men which removed their private, consensual sodomy from

the liberty interest identified in Lawrence.

Unfortunately, the analysis of the Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces is fundamentally flawed for several

reasons. First, by sifting through the record of trial for

uncharged factors to support the conviction under Article

125, the court took upon itself the role of the fact finder at

trial. The court in Marcum basically identified, for the first

time on appeal, the superior/subordinate relationship as the

essential factor that justified Marcum’s conviction. While

the superior/subordinate relationship -may have been

established at trial, under Article 125 it would not have been

necessary for the court-martial to find that such a relationship

existed in order to convict Marcum.

Under the Marcum analysis, the finder of fact at trial is

relegated to the task of simply finding the predicate fact that

an accused engaged in sodomy. Based on that finding alone,

the accused will be convicted of a violation of Article 125.

The essential holding of the Marcum Court is that the

offending circumstances that supposedly remove the act of

sodomy from the protected liberty interest identified in

Lawrence need not actually be alleged in the charged offense

or found beyond a reasonable doubt by the finder of fact at

trial. Instead, any such uncharged aggravating factor can

14

later become the means by which an appellate court can hold

that Article 125 is not unconstitutional as applied to that

accused.

The result in Marcum amounts to little more than judicial

fact-finding on appeal. Such a post-hoc search for uncharged

factors that will support a conviction violates an accused’s

right to a trial of the facts by a court-martial. See United

States v. Riley, 50 M.J. 410 (C.A.A.F. 1999) (an appellate

court cannot affirm a conviction on a theory that was not

presented to the fact-finder). As this Court has stated, the

right of an accused to have the truth of an allegation

determined by the finder of fact at trial is no mere procedural

formality, “but a fundamental reservation of power in our

constitutional structure. Blakely v. Washington, 124 S. Ct.

2531, 2538 (2004).

In settling on a case-by-case, as-applied, analysis the

Court of Appeals has apparently concluded that should an

accused be convicted under Article 125, on appeal, if there

are no other aggravating factors that remove the sexual

conduct from the liberty interest recognized in Lawrence, the

conviction could be overturned. Under such circumstances,

the fact that an accused will have already run the gauntlet of

the criminal justice system, been convicted of a crime, and

served a portion or all of the adjudged sentence will

apparently have to be chalked up as a form of judicially-

countenanced tough luck.

Another substantial flaw in the Marcum decision is that

military members stationed throughout the world will have

little guidance as to what personal, private sexual conduct

with other consenting adults will actually still constitute a

criminal offense. This is particularly problematic given the

likelihood that a significant percentage of military members

engage in conduct criminalized by Article 125. See RAND,

Sexual Orientation and U.S. Military Personnel Policy:

es

15

Options and Assessment 58 (1993) (citing surveys and

population estimates for the proposition that a majority of

both married and unmarried military personnel engage in oral

sexual activity, at least occasionally).

While other citizens of the United States can rest assured,

in light of Lawrence, that their private, consensual sexual

conduct with other adults cannot be criminally punished by

any governmental entity, military members have no similar

assurance. Because Article 125 requires nothing more on its

face for conviction than the act of sodomy itself, the holding

in Marcum does little to illuminate the terrain of the liberty

Clause. If the Marcum decision stands, for all practical

purposes, the liberty interest recognized in Lawrence will be

nothing more than a mirage for the military members who

volunteer to protect the constitutional rights of every citizen

of this country.

The flawed reasoning in Marcum is further demonstrated

by a review of petitioner’s case. This Court has stated:

No principle of procedural due process is more

clearly established than that notice of the specific

charge, and a chance to be heard in a trial of the

issues raised by that charge, if desired, are among the

constitutional rights of every accused in a criminal

proceeding in all courts, state or federal.

Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196 (1948). The Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces has also recognized that “to

uphold a conviction on a charge that was neither alleged in

the indictment nor presented to a jury at trial offends the most

basic notions of due process.” United States v. Brown, 18

M.J. 360 (C.M.A. 1984).

16

In this case, petitioner was charged with consensual

sodomy with B.E.P. The specification did not allege that he

engaged in sodomy with a minor,° forcible sodomy, sodomy

with a subordinate, public sodomy, sodomy in exchange for

money, or any other variation of sodomy. Unfortunately, the

decision of the Court of Appeals in this case sheds no light

on the ultimate basis for the Court’s decision to affirm

petitioner’s conviction. Because the Court did not explain its

decision beyond a mere citation to Marcum, petitioner has no

way of knowing what conduct of his has resulted in an

affirmed conviction under Article 125.

‘One could speculate that the Court of Appeals based its

decision on the notion that petitioner’s conduct was public in

nature. But, obviously the specification of Charge I did not

allege any public conduct. In fact, the specification did not

allege any other factor that the Court of Appeals has now said

it will look for in deciding whether to affirm a conviction on

appeal under Article 125. Because no such additional factor

was alleged, petitioner was not on notice prior to or at trial

that there were potentially additional unstated elements that

he needed to defend against at trial.

Because no additional element was alleged, the military

judge was not required to list or describe any additional

element. Had petitioner been aware that there was an

additional, unstated, element to the offense he was charged

with, petitioner may have chosen to litigate the allegation.

Based on the specification and petitioner’s admission that he

engaged in sodomy with B.E.P., nothing more than the act of

sodomy was required for the military judge to accept his plea

and enter a guilty finding. Although petitioner mentioned

during his plea inquiry that the sodomy occurred in a park in

> As stated previously, B.E.P. was 16 years old at the time of the alleged

offense (see Pros. Ex. 1). Therefore, under the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, he was not considered a minor for the purposes of legally

consenting to sexual conduct.

ee

17

Florida, he was not pleading guilty to that fact because it was

not an element of the offense. That fact was nothing more

than a collateral matter to the charge as alleged and petitioner

had no reason to know at the time that such a collateral

matter could later form the primary justification for tne Court

of Appeals to affirm his conviction.

Under this Court’s decision in Lawrence, the

specification of Charge I in this case failed to state a

legitimate criminal offense. Appellant was not placed on

notice by the specification that there was some aggravating

factor present that would remove his conduct from the liberty

interest he enjoys as a citizen of the United States. For the

appellate court to now find that petitioner is guilty of a

violation of Article 125 based on some unstated factor that

was not alleged in the specification and to which petitioner

did not specifically plead guilty is a substantial violation of

his due process right to be informed of the nature of the

charge against him.

Because the decision of the Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces in this case conflicts with this Court’s holding

in Lawrence and because this case addresses the important

federal question of what liberty interests are protected for

military members, this Court should grant review of this

issue.

II, _Petitioner’s admission that his possession and

distribution of “child pornography” was service

discrediting was not knowing and voluntary in light of the

fact that he was provided an unconstitutionally overbroad

definition of “child pornography.”

This Court has long held that a guilty plea is not

voluntary if an accused "has such an _ incomplete

understanding of the charge that his plea cannot stand as an

intelligent admission of guilt." Henderson v. Morgan, 426

18

US. 637, 645 n.13 (1976). “[A] plea does not qualify as

intelligent unless a criminal defendant first receives ‘real

notice of the true nature of the charge against him, the first

and most universally recognized requirement of due

process.”” Bousely v. United States, 523 U.S. 614, 618

(quoting Smith v. O’Grady, 312 U.S. 329, 334 (1941)). Such

notice is all the more critical when a decision of this Court

places conduct “beyond the power of the criminal law-

making authority to proscribe” and there is “a significant risk

that a defendant stands convicted of an ‘act that the law does

not make criminal.” Jd. at 620 (citations omitted).

In Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234

(2002), this Court placed certain speech—that is, speech of a

pornographic nature that is neither obscene nor the product

of child sexual abuse—beyond the power of Congress to

proscribe. This Court held that portions of the Child

Pornography Prevention Act (CPPA) of 1996° were

overbroad and therefore unconstitutional. Specifically, this

Court struck down the language “appears to be a minor” in

Section 2256(8)(B) and the language “conveys the

impression” in Section 2256(8)(D).

In holding that the challenged definitions were

unconstitutionally overbroad, this Court recognized that by

using the language in question, Congress attempted to extend

the ban on child pornography to virtual child pornography.

Therefore, the CPPA had the effect of criminalizing

substantial amounts of protected expression such as materials

that are not legally obscene, as measured by the standard set

forth by this Court in Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15

(1973), and that do not involve the actual abuse of children

in its creation. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. at 241.

° The Child Pornography Prevention Act of 1996 amended Title 18 of the

United States Code by revising Sections 2251, 2252, and 2256, and by

adding Section 2252A.

19

In Free Speech Coalition, this Court cited examples of

the type of virtual child pornography that the

unconstitutional language of the CPPA impermissibly

criminalized. This Court noted that the unconstitutional

definitions under the CPPA would make illegal works such

as computer generated images and images created through

more traditional means such as Renaissance paintings and

pictures that only appear to be of a minors engaging in

sexually explicit conduct. /d.

This Court realized that the overbroad language of the

CPPA would conceivably make criminal the possession of

mainstream Hollywood movies such as Traffic and

American Beauty, which contain relatively explicit scenes of

sexual conduct involving underage characters, even though

the actors playing the characters are actually adults who only

appear to be minors. /d. at 241, 247-48. Ultimately, this

Court made clear its concern with the proscription of speech

that recorded no crimes and created no victims by its

production. Jd. at 250. Virtual child pornography is such a

form of speech. —

In United States v. O’Connor, the Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces held that O’Connor’s guilty plea to

receiving and possessing child pornography in violation of

Section 2252A, as assimilated under clause 3 of Article 134,

was improvident because the military judge had used the

same overbroad definitions of child pornography that this

Court struck down in Free Speech Coalition. The court

recognized that, in light of this Court’s decision in Free

Speech Coalition, it is no longer enough to knowingly

possess visual depictions that appear to be minors engaging

in sexually explicit conduct. Instead, the court

acknowledged that, “the ‘actual’ character of the visual

depictions is now a factual predicate to any plea of guilty

under the CPPA.” O’Connor, 58 M.J. at 453.

20

The court held that it was unclear from the plea inquiry

and the record whether O’Connor was pleading guilty to

possession of virtual or actual child pornography. In the

absence of any discussion or focus in the record regarding

the “actual” character of the images, the Court of Appeals

stated that it could not conclude that O’Connor’s guilty pleas

to violations of Section 2252A, as assimilated under clause 3

of Article 134, were provident. Jd. at 453-54.

The Court of Appeals then considered whether

O’Connor’s guilty plea could be affirmed as a lesser-

included offense under clause 1 or clause 2 of Article 134,

UCMJ. The court explained that conduct “is punishable

under Article 134 if it prejudices ‘good order and discipline

in the armed forces’ [clause 1], if it is ‘of a nature to bring

discredit upon the armed forces’ [clause 2], or if it is a crime

or offense not capital [clause 3].” Jd. at 452. In discussing

the interplay between the three clauses under Article 134, the

court stated, “The three clauses do not create separate

offenses, but rather provide alternative ways of proving the

criminal nature of the charged misconduct.” /d. (citing

United States v. Sapp, 53 M.J. 90, 92 (C.A.A.F. 2000).

The court ultimately concluded that O’Connor’s guilty

plea could not be used to affirm a conviction as to a lesser-

included offense under clause 1 or 2 of Article 134.

Although O’Connor had actually stipulated at trial that his

conduct was service discrediting, the court held that the

absence of any discussion of that element during the plea

inquiry by either O’Connor or the military judge gave it

pause. Id. at 454. The court noted that, in the wake of Free

Speech Coalition, “the ‘virtual’ or ‘actual’ status of the

images at issue has constitutional significance. That

constitutional significance may, in turn, bear on ‘the nature

of the prohibited conduct’, i.e., its service-discrediting

character. Id. at 454-55.

21

The Court of Appeals reasoned that O’Connor, in

pleading guilty, was focused on the question of whether or

not his conduct violated Section 2252A, not whether his

conduct was service discrediting. Because there was no

conscious discussion of the service discrediting character of

his conduct on the record, the court concluded that O’Connor

might not have understood the nature of the prohibited

conduct. Accordingly, the court refused to affirm a

conviction under either clause 1 or clause 2 of Article 134.

However, the Court of Appeals in O’Connor did leave open

the question of whether, in the wake of Free Speech

Coalition, the possession of virtual child pornography can be

punishable as service discrediting conduct under clause 2 of

Article 134.

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces subsequently

answered that question in the affirmative in United States v.

Mason, 60 M.J. 15 (C.A.A.F. 2004). In Mason, the accused,

a commissioned officer, pled guilty to knowingly receiving

child pornography via the Internet on a government

computer while he was on duty. During the plea inquiry, in

defining the offense for Mason, the military judge included

what he termed a “fourth element.” This element addressed

whether Mason’s conduct was either prejudicial to good

order and discipline or service discrediting. The military

judge explained that he was adding this “fourth element” in

the event it is determined that Mason’s plea was improvident

on the charged offense. Mason stated that he understood the

“fourth element” and why it had been included. He then

admitted that his conduct was prejudicial to good order and

discipline or service discrediting. Jd. at 18.

Just as in O’Connor, the Court of Appeals held that

Mason’s guilty pleas to offenses under Section 2252A were

improvident because the military judge provided the accused

with the definitions of child pornography that this Court

stuck down as unconstitutional in Free Speech Coalition.

22

The court held that, under its holding in O’Connor, “a

provident guilty plea to a violation of the CPPA must reflect

that the accused violated those portions of the statute not

affected by the Supreme Court’s ruling in Free Speech |

Coalition.” Id.

But unlike the situation in O’Connor, the court went on

to hold that Mason’s admissions during the providence

inquiry could be used to affirm a conviction for a lesser-

included offense under clause 1 and clause 2 of Article 134.

In doing so, the Court focused on the fact that the military

judge advised Mason of the “fourth” element and that Mason

admitted that his conduct was prejudicial to good order and

discipline or of a nature to bring discredit upon the armed

forces. Id.

_ In distinguishing its decision in Mason from the holding

in O’Connor, the CAAF explained:

The plea colloquy in O’Connor “was focused solely

on ‘the nature of the prohibited conduct’ under the

CPPA without any discussion or acknowledgment

of the criminal nature of the conduct deriving

alternatively and independently from its character as

service-discrediting or prejudicial to good order and

discipline.

Mason, 60 M.J. at 19. So, to the Court of Appeals, the

important distinction between O’Connor and Mason was the

admission by Mason that his conduct was service discrediting j

or prejudicial to good order and discipline. However, that

was not the end of the Court’s analysis.

In determining whether it could affirm a finding of guilt

under clause 1 or clause 2 of Article 134, the court stated that

the question involves a constitutional dimension flowing

from this Court’s “extension of First Amendment protection

23

to certain depictions of minors engaging in sexually explicit

conduct, i.e., ‘virtual’ as opposed to ‘actual’ images.” Jd. In

analyzing that constitutional dimension, the Court held that

“the ultimate question is whether the status of the images in

the present case as ‘virtual’ or ‘actual’ is of consequence in

the context of assessing the providence of Mason’s guilty

plea under clauses 1 and 2.” Id.

The Court of Appeals focused its analysis on the fact that

Mason admitted that he was a commissioned officer in the

United States Air Force and that he had received and viewed

the pornographic images on a government computer at his

workplace. The court held that, under those circumstances,

the status of the images as “virtual” or “actual” child

pornography was of no consequence because the distinction

between “actual” and “virtual” child pornography did not

alter the character of Mason’s conduct in viewing the

material on government equipment at work. Jd. at 20. In

fact, the court reasoned that even if the images in question

were only “virtual” in nature and did not depict actual

minors engaging in sexually explicit conduct, the fact that

Mason viewed the images on a government computer in his

workplace supported a conviction under clause 1 or clause 2

of Article 134.

In the petitioner’s case, in defining the offense charged,

the military judge set forth the very same unconstitutional

definitions struck down by this Court in Free Speech

Coalition. The Court of Appeals apparently concluded, as it

had in O’Connor and Mason, that petitioner had an

incomplete understanding of the charged offense as a result

of the reliance by the military judge on the unconstitutional

definitions. Therefore, as the court had done in Mason, it

7 In affirming Mason’s conviction based solely on clauses 1 and 2 of

Article 134, just as in the present case, the court amended the

specification by striking alt language in the specification that made

reference to or implied a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A.

el

24

acquitted petitioner of the offense charged by deleting from

the specification any reference to Section 2252A. Appendix

A, p. 2a. But the Court of Appeals, without explanation,

affirmed petitioner’s conviction under clause 1 and clause 2

of Article 134. Although the court did not explain its

decision, it appears that the court concluded that it could do

so because petitioner agreed with the military judge’s

assertion that his conduct was service discrediting.

See ”

a a

By applying the holding in Mason to the facts in the

present case, the Court of Appeals has apparently ignored its

own concerns, expressed in both O’Connor and Mason,

regarding the “constitutional dimension” surrounding the

nature of the images in question as either “actual” or

“virtual” child pornography. While petitioner agreed during

the providence inquiry that the images in question depicted

minors engaged in sexually explicit acts, he never admitted

that the images were created using actual children who were

engaged in sexually explicit conduct. In fact, it is

completely unclear from petitioner’s statements whether he

believed the images depicted “actual” or merely “virtual” i

child pornography.

heat Nl init tnt ——

Of course, at the time of his pleas, this Court had not yet

invalidated two of the definitions contained in 18 U.S.C. §

2256(8). So in discussing his pleas with the military judge,

with the unconstitutional definitions in mind, petitioner had

no reason to distinguish between “actual” and “virtual” child

pornography. The state of the law at the time made any such

distinction irrelevant and inconsequential. Certainly the )

Court of Appeals was correct therefore in refusing to affirm

petitioner’s convictions under clause 3 of Article 134 as

charged. However, in affirming convictions under clause |! \

or 2 of Article 134, the Court has apparently drawn what it

considers an important distinction where there is, in fact, no

substantive difference.

Tens

25

Petitioner agreed that his conduct was_ service

discrediting only after the military judge essentially advised

him that it was against federal law to possess virtual child

pornography as the definitions under the CPPA provided at

the time. It was only in this context that petitioner admitted

that his conduct met the criteria of the “third element.”

Petitioner was simply agreeing with the military judge’s

assertion that his conduct was service discrediting or

prejudicial because his acts were clearly illegal under the law

in effect at the time, regardless of whether the images

depicted “actual” child pornography.

Petitioner’s agreement that his actions were service

discrediting simply cannot be logically divorced from the

critical misunderstanding of the definition of child

pornography held as a result of the unconstitutional

definitions provided by the military judge. He was, after all,

improvidently pleading guilty to the charged offense that had

been assimilated under clause 3 of Article 134.

The faulty reasoning of the CAAF in affirming

petitioner’s convictions under clause 1 or 2 is apparent when

the effect the unconstitutional language of the CPPA had on

petitioner is factored into the equation. If, for example,

petitioner had pled guilty at his court-martial based solely on

his possession of a copy of the movie Traffic, his conviction

could have been upheld on appeal under the law as it existed

at the time of his court-martial. Based on his understanding

of the law at the time, as provided by the military judge,

petitioner would also have undoubtedly agreed that his

conduct in possessing that movie, and consequently violating

the express provisions of the CPPA, was service discrediting.

However, the intervening decision of this Court in Free

Speech Coalition makes all the difference. Because a

conviction based on an admission that he possessed “virtual”

child pornography such as the movie Traffic could not now

26

be upheld, absent an allegation that the materials were

obscene, petitioner’s convictions should not then be affirmed

as a violation of either clause 1 or clause 2 merely because

petitioner admitted that his actions were service discrediting.

Petitioner also did not reveal facts, such as those revealed

in Mason that could objectively support a conviction based

on his discussion of the “third element.” Unlike the

appellant in Mason, who had downloaded pornographic

images onto his government computer at his work place, the

petitioner possessed and viewed pornographic images on his

personal computer in the privacy of his own home.

In light of the fact that this Court has held that possession

of “virtual” child pornography is constitutionally protected

as long as it is not obscene, the petitioner might not now

agree that his conduct was either prejudicial to good order

and discipline oz service discrediting. However, the Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces is apparently willing to hold

him to an admission to that effect even though that

admission was made at a time when he had no reason to

know that the portions of the CPPA that served to

criminalize “virtual” child pornography — were ‘

unconstitutional.

Unlike the court’s conclusion in Mason, the status of the

images in the present case as either “virtual” or “actual” is

constitutionally significant in the context of assessing the

validity of petitioner’s pleas. It cannot be said, therefore,

that the petitioner’s guilty plea to the “third element” was

“voluntary” and “intelligent” as the Constitution requires it

to be. Because the decision of the Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court

on the constitutional requirement that a plea be “veluntary,”

this Court should exercise its supervisory power and grant

the petition on this issue.

Se aN AEROS

a I

27

Ill. Petitioner lacked “fair warning” that his conduct was

prejudicial to good order and discipline or of a nature to

bring discredit upon the armed forces.

The final question asks this Court to examine whether

Article 134, as it was applied in this case, is overly broad

under the First Amendment and is void for vagueness under

the Fifth Amendment. The petitioner does not challenge the

constitutionality of Article 134 as a whole.

Clauses 1 and 2 of Article 134 provide that a court-

martial may punish any act or omission as long as the act or

omission was either prejudicial to good order and discipline

or of a nature to bring discredit upon the armed forces. In

this case, because petitioner did not admit that the images in

question were produced through the use of children engaging

in sexually explicit conduct, the petitioner stands convicted

of knowingly possessing and distributing virtual child

pornography on his personal computer at his home. But the

charged offenses did not allege and the petitioner did not

admit that the images were obscene. Thus, the petitioner’s

conviction should be. affirmed only if the mere possession of

virtual child pornography, without more, is per se prejudicial

to good order and discipline or service discrediting.

The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces apparently

reached this conclusion. To do so, however, the court must

have also necessarily concluded that, by definition, the

virtual images had no value of any kind—political, scientific,

literary, or artistic. But such a conclusion ignores the

concerns this Court stated in Free Speech Coalition about the

government’s proscription of speech that is neither obscene

nor the product of sexual abuse.

If the court’s decision in this case is allowed to stand, the

government will have arbitrarily diminished the First

Amendment rights of its servicemen and women. Even

t

‘

28

worse, servicemen and women will necessarily be reduced

“to reading only what is fit for children” or risk being -

criminally prosecuted for matters about which they have no

“fair warning.” The peril arises when the proscribed speech

is constitutionally protected in the larger civilian society and

there is no government regulation expressly prohibiting it in

the military. A military member of ordinary intelligence

must therefore speculate as to what materials he can lawfully

possess and what materials are prohibited.

To be sure, the First Amendment rights of servicemen

and women are not necessarily coextensive with those of

ordinary citizens. As this Court has stated in Parker v. Levy,

417 U.S. 733 (1974):

While the members of the military are not excluded

from the protections granted by the First Amendment,

the different character of the military community and

of the military mission requires a different application

of those protections. The fundamental necessity for

Obedience, and the consequent necessity for

imposition of discipline, may render permissible

within the military that which would be

constitutionally impermissible outside it.

id. at 758 (affirming a conviction under Article 134

where an officer had publicly urged enlisted personnel to

refuse to obey orders which might send them into

combat).

But this is not a case where the petitioner openly urged

subordinates to disobey orders. This is a case about what he

viewed in the privacy of his own home or shared with

clarified the extent to which military members do or do not

enjoy First Amendment rights in their private lives. The

absence of guidance of this kind leaves a void that raises

29

serious questions about the “fair warning” and “notice” that

military members have about conduct for which they can be

punished but which ordinary citizens are free to engage in.

A new recruit and a seasoned veteran alike may fairly

ask if he or she can legally acquire, for example, copies of

movies such as “American Beauty” or “Traffic” or some

modern production of “Romeo and Juliet” without being

subjected to a court-martial. Men and women “of common

intelligence must necessarily speculate as to what... .

conduct is to the ‘prejudice of good order and discipline in

the armed forces’ or conduct ‘of a nature to bring discredit

upon the armed forces’ really means.” Parker v. Levy, 417

U.S. at 762 (Blackmun, J, dissenting).

In the wake of Free Speech Coalition and in the absence

of any government regulation prohibiting the receipt of

virtual child pornography, this case presents an important

constitutional question that has not been, but should be,

settled by this Court. This Court should therefore grant

review of the third question presented.

-CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner therefore

respectfully requests that this Court grant his petition for a

Writ of Certiorari.

December 2004

30

Respectfully submitted,

L. MARTIN POWELL

Captain, United States Air Force

Counsel of Record

TERRY L. McELYEA

Major, United States Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

CARLOS L. McDADE

Colonel, United States Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

Appellate Defense Division

Air Force Legal Services Agency

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20332-8000

(202) 767-1562

la

Appendix A

UNITED STATES, Appellee

Vv.

Ryan W. DAVIS, Appellant

No. 02-0065/AF

Crim. App. No. 33877

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

Decided September 20, 2004

On consideration of Appellant's Petition for Grant of

Review ana in light of this Court's decisions in United States

v. Mezcum, 60 M.J. 198 (C.A.A.F. 2004), United States v.

Mason, 60 M.J. 15 (C.A.A.F. 2004), and United States v.

O'Connor, 58 M.J. 450 (C.A.A.F. 2003), it is, by the Court,

this 20th day of September, 2004,

ORDERED:

That the Petition for Grant of Review is granted on the

following issues:

WHETHER PROSECUTION UNDER ARTICLE

125 VIOLATES SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS

BY UNFAIRLY INFRINGING ON

SERVICEMEMBERS’ FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT

TO PRIVACY. ALSO WHETHER PROSECUTION

UNDER ARTICLE 125 FOR PRIVATE

CONSENSUAL NON-COMMERCIAL SODOMY

VIOLATES A STATUTORILY ESTABLISHED

ZONE OF PRIVACY WITHOUT A COMPELLING

GOVERNMENT INTEREST.

2a

WHETHER APPELLANT’S PLEA OF GUILTY TO

POSSESSING AND TRANSPORTING CHILD

PORNOGRAPHY UNDER 18 U.S.C. § 2252A IS

IMPROVIDENT BECAUSE CONVICTION

UNDER SAID STATUTE VIOLATES THE FIRST

AMENDMENT’S GUARANTEE OF _ FREE

SPEECH AND BECAUSE THE PHRASES

“APPEARS TO BE” AND “CONVEYS THE

IMPRESSION” IN THE STATUTE MAKE IT

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE AND

OVERBROAD.

In terms of Appellant’s challenge to his conviction for

possessing and distributing child pornography, it is ordered

that specifications 1 and 2 of Charge III are amended to read

as follows:

In that Second Lieutenant RYAN W. DAVIS, United

States Air Force, Detachment 1, 325th Fighter Wing,

Pensacola Naval Air Station, Pensacola, Florida, did

at or near Pensacola, Florida, on or about 15

December 1997, geen ae =, - —

Pits ia spot hac

In that Second Lieutenant RYAN W. DAVIS, United

States Air Force, Detachment 1, 325th Fighter Wing,

Pensacola Naval Air Station, Pensacola, Florida, did

in the continental United States between on or about

16 October 1997 and on or about 16 October 1997,

knowingly distribute by computer child pornography

2252Afa)2}A).

The decision of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals is affirmed as to Charge III and its

3a

specifications as amended, as well as to the remaining

Charges, specifications, and the sentence.

4a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF

CRIMINAL APPEALS

UNITED STATES

v.

Second Lieutenant RYAN W. DAVIS

United States Air Force

ACM 33877

28 August 2001

Sentence adjudged 22 September 1999 by GCM convened at

Tyndall Air Force Base, Florida. Military Judge: Linda S.

Murnane (sitting alone).

Approved sentence: Dismissal, confinement for 24 months,

and forfeiture of all pay and allowances.

Appellate Counsel for Appellant: Colonel James R. Wise,

Lieutenant Colonel Timothy W. Murphy, and Captain Karen

L. Hecker.

Appellate Counsel for the United States: Colonel Anthony P.

Dattilo, Lieutenant Colonel Ronald A. Rodgers, and Captain

Peter J. Camp.

Before

YOUNG, BURD, and PECINOVSKY

Appellate Military Judges

Sa

OPINION OF THE COURT

PECINOVSKY, Judge:

Pursuant to his pleas, appellant was convicted of: 1)

sodomy; 2) conduct unbecoming an officer by knowingly

persuading, inducing, enticing, or coercing a 15-year-old boy

to engage in indecent acts; 3) possession and distribution of

child pornography, in violation of 10 USC. §

2252A(aX5\(B); and 4) obstructing justice. Articles 125,

133, 134, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. §§ 925, 933, 934. He was

sentenced by a military judge to a dismissal, 24 months’

confinement, and forfeiture of all pay and allowances.

Appellant now raises the following errors: 1) The plea for

possession of child pornography was improvident because

appellant deleted the images; 2) Appellant was subjected to

cruel and unusual punishment, in violation of Article 55,

UCMJ, and the Eighth Amendment, due to sexual orientation

harassment and falling debris; 3) Appellant received

ineffective assistance of counsel in his clemency submission;

4) Article 125, UCMJ, violates the First Amendment’s

establishment clause; 5) Article 125 violates the Eighth

Amendment; 6) Article 125 violates substantive due process,

infringing on the right to privacy; 7) Article 125 violates the

Fifth Amendment’s equal protection clause; and 8) The

guilty plea as to child pornography was improvident because

the statute’s “virtual depiction” section is unconstitutionally

vague and overbroad. All but the first issue were raised

pursuant to United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431 (C.M.A.

1982). Having fully considered appellant’s arguments, we

affirm.

I. Facts

Appellant had a hobby. He liked to surf the web and

download child pornography. He also entered internet chat

rooms and, during one of these chats, met the victim, BEP, a

6a

15-year-old boy. Appellant sent BEP e-mails with pictures

of underage boys engaged in mutual oral sodomy. Appellant

met with BEP, but did not initially engage in sex with him.

However, shortly after BEP’s_16th birthday, they engaged in

mutual oral sodomy.

Appellant was convicted, pursuant to his pleas, of

possession of child pornography, sodomy, and coercion of

BEP to engage in indecent acts. Appellant’s offenses were

discovered after America On Line (AOL), an internet service

provider, reported BEP to the Federal Bureau of

Investigations (FBI) for receiving child pornography.

Subsequently, BEP gave appellant’s name to the FBI. On 15

December 1997, the FBI seized appellant’s computer,

pursuant to a search warrant, and interviewed appellant.

Following the FBI interview, appellant contacted BEP

through the internet and tried to get BEP to change his story —

as to their sexual encounter.

II. Deleted Child Pornography Images

Appellant pled guilty to a specification alleging that he

wrongfully possessed child pornography on or about 15

December 1997. He now asserts his plea is improvident.

Appellant alleges that during his unsworn statement he set up

matter inconsistent with that plea — he said he had deleted the

images by August 1997.

In order to overturn a military judge’s acceptance of a

guilty plea, the record of trial must “show a ‘substantial

basis’ in law and fact for” rejecting the plea of guilty.

United States v. Faircloth, 45 M.J. 172, 174 (1996) (quoting

United States v. Prater, 32 M.J. 433, 436 (C.M.A. 1991)). In

Faircloth, our superior court adopted the language of Senior

Judge Pearson, concurring in part and dissenting in part, in

an Air Force appellate decision: “[T]his is a guilty plea,

folks. . . . By pleading guilty, appellant knowingly waived a

Ta

trial of the facts.” Id. at 174 (citing United States v.

Faircloth, 43 M.J. 711, 718 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1995)).

Where an appellant pleads guilty, the issue must be analyzed

in terms of providence of his plea, not sufficiency of the

evidence. Faircloth, 45 M.J. at 174.

After being advised of the elements of the offense,

appellant told the military judge that he possessed the child

pornography on 15 December 1997. In the stipulation which

accompanied appellant’s guilty plea, appellant agreed to the

following:

Between 6 June 1996 and 15 Dec 1997, the accused

received each [computer graphic file depicting young

men and boys under the age of 18 either naked or

engaged in sexual activity, to include oral and anal

sodomy and masturbation] via e-mail, or by

downloading them to his computer from Internet web

sites and Internet news groups. . . . The accused

viewed each of these images and then stored them on

his computer. Some he deleted after viewing them

and others he deleted later. When a file is deleted it

remains on the computer. A file deleted becomes a

hidden file. Hidden files do not readily appear on the

computer or in any directories. The [a]ccused knew

that some or all of these deleted files remained on his

computer hard drive. The [a]ccused knew that there

were means available to recover these files.

Contrary to . appellant’s contention, his unsworn

statement does not say that he deleted the images by August

1997. It merely states that he realized he was “on the wrong

path” in August 1997, sought guidance from a pastor, and

deleted the images before being confronted by the FBI.

There is nothing in his unsworn statement that is inconsistent

with his guilty plea. Furthermore, whether appellant actually

possessed the “deleted” files on 15 December 1997 is a

8a

matter of proof which an accused may contest at trial. By

pleading guilty, he knowingly waived a trial of the facts as to

that issue. Faircloth, 45 M.J. at 174.

Notwithstanding appellant’s waiver of the issue of

possession, under the facts of this case, appellant did

knowingly possess the child pornography on the date

charged, because he knew that the deleted images could be

retrieved. The federal circuits are split on whether deleted

images are “possessed” under 18 U.S.C. § 2252A(aX(5\B).

United States v. Lacy, 119 F.3d 742, 748 (9th Cir. 1997);

United States v. Upham, 168 F.3d 532, 537 (1st Cir. 1999);

United States v. Hall, 142 F.3d 988, 997 (7th Cir. 1998).

The Ninth Circuit decision in Lacy is most closely on point.

In Lacy, a conviction for child pornography possession was

upheld where the accused “attempted to erase” the images,

but knew that the images were still on his hard drive and

diskettes. Lacy, 119 F.3d at 748.

Decisions from the First and Seventh United States

Circuit Courts of Appeals, addressing the deletion of child

pornography images, are factually distinguishable. In

Upham, the conviction for possession of child pornography

was upheld where the deletion of the images occurred after

the charged date of possession. That court refused to

consider the issue of whether “it would be unlawful standing

alone to possess, with the requisite knowledge, a hard drive

or diskette with deleted (but recapturable) images.” Upham,

168 F.3d at 537. Similarly, in Hall, the conviction was

affirmed for possession of child pornography. There, the

appellant failed to delete the images and the court noted that

“Hall had every opportunity to delete any computer files that

he did not wish to retain.” Hall, 142 F.3d at 997. The issue

of how the images could have been deleted was never

squarely before the court. The operative facts here, as

admitted to in the providence inquiry and the stipulation of

fact, are that appellant knew the images were still on his

9a

computer after deletion and that they were retrievable.

Following the rationale in Lacy, appellant knowingly

possessed the child pornography on the date charged.

III. Sexual Orientation Harassment and Falling Debris

Appellant alleges that, while in confinement, violations

of Article 55, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 855, and the Eighth

Amendment of the United States Constitution occurred, due

to sexual orientation harassment and falling debris.

Appellant seeks “appropriate relief,” without specifying what

it is he wants us to do. An appellant who seeks judicial

review of prison conditions must establish a “clear record” of

both “the legal deficiency in administration and the

jurisdictional basis for action.” United States v. White, 54

M.J. 469, 472 (2001) (citing United States v. Miller, 46 M.J.

248, 250 (1997)).

Appellant complains that, while in confinement, some

inmates and prison staff spoke to him in a rude and sexually

harassing way, which caused him embarrassment. The

complaint was investigated and substantiated, and corrective

action was taken. We have reviewed appellant’s allegations.

No further relief is warranted. Appellant’s sexual orientation

harassment complaint does not rise to the level of cruel and

unusual punishment. See United States v. Sanchez, 53 M.J.

393, 396-97 (2000).

Appellant further complained that a piece of ceiling fell

on him while in confinement. However, an investigation

indicated he sustained no visible injury. Further, there is no

evidence of “deliberate indifference” to inmate health or

safety. See Farmer v. Brennan, 511 U.S. 825, 834 (1994)

(quoting Wilson v. Seiter, 501 U.S. 294, 302-03 (1991)).

Appellant has, therefore, failed to demonstrate that his prison

conditions were in violation of Article 55 or the Eighth

Amendment. —

10a

IV. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

“Servicemembers are guaranteed the right to effective

assistance of counsel.” United States v. Scott, 51 M.J. 326,

329 (1999) (citing United States v. MacCulloch, 40 M.J. 236,

238 (C.M.A. 1994)), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1075 (2000);

Article 27, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 827. In determining whether

there is a violation of this right, the Supreme Court and our

superior appellate court have applied a two-prong test.

Strickiand v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984); Scott, 51

M.J. at 329. An appellant must first show that “counsel’s

representation fell below an objective standard of

reasonableness,” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 688; and second,

that there was prejudice. Jd. at 692. “[A] criminal defendant

alleging prejudice must show ‘that counsel’s errors were so

serious as to deprive the defendant of a fair trial, a trial

whose result is reliable.”” United States v. Loving, 41 M.J.

213, 248-49 (1994) (citing Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S.

364, 369 (1993)), aff'd, 517 U.S. 748 (1996).

Appellant alleges that, post-trial, he had difficulties in

contacting his defense counsel for purposes of submitting his

clemency matters. The day prior to the clemency submission

deadline, appellant sent an unsigned clemency statement to

his counsel for review. Counsel submitted the unsigned

statement the following day to the convening authority

without seeking a delay. In his affidavit, appellant alleges

that he intended to submit his arguments that Article 125 and

the child pornography statute were unconstitutional.

Here, an evidentiary hearing is not required to resolve

factual disputes. United States v. Ginn, 47 M.J. 236, 248

(1997). The only “harm” experienced by appellant is that the

convening authority did not see a signed clemency statement

and did not get to review appellant’s constitutional attacks on

the statutes. Regardless of whether the failure of counsel to

obtain a delay in submission of clemency matters constituted

lla

ineffective assistance of counsel, appellant has not

demonstrated prejudice. See Strickland, 466 U.S. at 692;

Article 59(a), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 859(a).

V. Constitutionality of Article 125

Pursuant to United States v. Grostefon, 12 M.J. 431.

(C.M.A. 1982), appellant raises constitutional challenges to

Article 125, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 925, under the First

Amendment, the equal protection aspect of the Fifth

Amendment, and the Eighth Amendment. The

constitutionality of a statute is a question of law; therefore,

the standard of review is de novo. United States v. Wright,

53 M.J. 476, 478 (2000) (citing United States v. Brown, 25

F.3d 307, 308 (6th Cir. 1994)).

A) First Amendment Establishment Clause

Appellant argues that Article 125 violates the First

Amendment’s prohibition against the establishment of

religion. He alleges that the religious basis of Article 125’s

criminalization of sodomy is openly articulated by military

courts, citing United States v. Jones, 14 MJ. 1008

(A.C.M.R. 1982). However, appellant’s reliance upon Jones

as the basis for his constitutional challenge is misplaced.

The Army appellate court, in Jones, simply noted that a

biblical passage stated that oral sodomy is unnatural or

deviant sexual intercourse. Jones, 14 M.J. at 1010. That

court also noted that legal scholars including Blackstone,

Pollock, and Maitland, and the Army and Navy appellate

courts have expressed the same proposition. Jd.

As opposed to finding a religious purpose to Article 125,

we agree with the Ninth Circuit’s holding, in Hatheway v.

Secretary of the Army, 641 F.2d 1376, 1384 (9th Cir. 1981),

that “in a military setting the proscriptions of Article 125

have a legitimate secular purpose and effect.” Appellant has

“@

12a

failed to demonstrate that a First Amendment violation of the

Establishment Clause exists in Article 125.

B) Eighth Amendment

Appellant argues that Article 125 violates the Eighth

Amendment’s prohibitions against cruel and unusual

punishment by creating an offense based upon his status as a

A servicemember is entitled, both by statute and the

Eighth Amendment, to protection against cruel and unusual

punishment. United States v. Avila, 53 M.J. 99, 101 (2000);

United States v. Matthews, 16 M.J. 354, 368 (C.M.A. 1983);

Article 55, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 855. In United States v.

White, our superior court spelled out the prohibitions against

cruel and unusual punishment:

In Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976), the

Supreme Court said that the framers’ intent behind

the Eighth Amendment was to prevent barbaric and

torturous forms of punishment. In more recent

history, the standard for what constitutes cruel and

unusual punishment has developed into more than

physical torture. Instead, the current standard is that

the Eighth Amendment prohibits “punishments which

are incompatible with ‘the evolving standards of

decency that mark the progress of a maturing society,’

. . . or which ‘involve th: unnecessary and wanton

infliction of pain... .”” Jd. at 102-03 (citations

omitted).

White, 54 M.J. 469, 473-74 (2001).

Appellant relies upon dicta in Justice Powell’s

concurring opinion in Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186

(1986), for the proposition that an Eighth Amendment issue

13a

exists in the criminalization of sodomy. In his concurrence,

Justice Powell agreed with the majority of the Supreme

Court that the Georgia sodomy statute did not violate any

constitutionally guaranteed right of privacy for homosexuals

to engage in sodomy. Emphasizing that the Georgia statute

at issue in the case, Ga. Code Ann. § 16-6-2 (1984),

authorizes a court to imprison a person for up to 20 years for

a single private, consensual act of sodomy, Justice Powell

commented that, “In my view, a prison sentence for such

conduct -- certainly a sentence of long duration -- would

create a serious Eighth Amendment issue.” Bowers, 478

U.S. at 197 (Powell, J., concurring). Here, the maximum

i for nonforcible sodomy under Article 125 is

confinement for 5 years, a dishonorable discharge, and

forfeiture of all pay and allowances. Appellant has failed to

demonstrate that an Eighth Amendment violation exists in

the maximum punishment enforceable under Article 125.

C) Right to Privacy

Appellant claims that Article 125 violates a fundamental

right of privacy to engage in homosexual sodomy. In

Bowers, the Supreme Court resolved the issue of a right to

privacy for homosexual sodomy, holding that no such right

exists. Bowers, 478 U.S. at 189. Subsequent decisions by

our superior court have held that no fundamental right to

privacy exists, even for consensual heterosexual sodomy.

United States v. Gates, 40 M.J. 354, 354-55 (C.M.A. 1994);

United States v. Henderson, 34 M.J. 174, 175-76 (C.M.A.

1992); United States v. Fagg, 34 MJ. 179, 180 (C.M.A.

1992); United States v. Scoby, 5 M.J. 160 (C.M.A. 1978).

Here, appellant’s claim that Article 125 violates a

fundamental right of privacy fails.

D) Equal Protection

14a

The standards created by the principle of equal protection

apply not only to laws themselves, but also to the manner in

which they are applied. Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356,

373-74 (1886) (“Though the law itseif be fair on its face and

impartial in appearance, yet, if it is applied and administered

by public authority with an evil eye and an unequal hand, so

as practically to make unjust and illegal discriminations

between persons in similar circumstances, material to their

rights, the denial of equal justice is still within the

prohibition of the Constitution.”).

Appellant does not mount a facial challenge to Article

125, conceding that “Article 125 is a neutral statute on its

face in that it does not discriminate against homosexuals in

its actual construction.” Rather, he initially alleges that the

statute is unequal in both its effect and its application. While

appearing to mount an “as applied” challenge to the statute,

appellant restates his challenge in his reply brief, stating that

he “does not claim the article is unequally applicable to

heterosexuals and homosexuals, but rather that it unfairly

limits prescribed liberties to homosexuals.” Appellant

alleges that “heterosexual servicemembers are allowed to

have a normal sex life, whereas homosexuals are forced into

celebicy (sic).”

Although styled as an equal protection claim, appellant’s

challenge to Article 125 is neither a facial nor “as applied”

equal protection challenge. He is simply alleging that the

sodomy statute unfairly impinges upon his ability to have

homosexual sex. In essence, he is restating his privacy

claim, which has been rejected by the Supreme Court.

Bowers, 478 U.S. at 197.

VI. Constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A

Appellant alleges his guilty plea to possession of child

pornography was improvident because the “virtual

15a

depiction” section of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A is

unconstitutionally vague and overbroad. Although he did

not contest the constitutionality of this statute at trial, he did

so before this court, contending that the statute is vague and

overbroad both facially and as applied in his case. Appellant

relies upon Free Speech Coalition v. Reno, 198 F.3d 1083

(9th Cir. 1999), which found two phrases in the definition of

child pornography, as contained in 18 U.S.C. § 2256, both

overbroad and vague, but otherwise upheld the

constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. § 2252A.

The Supreme Court has long recognized that

governments are “entitled to greater leeway in the regulation

of pornographic depictions of children” than in the

regulation of other forms of pornography. New York v.

Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 756°(1982).

There are, of course, limits on the category of child

pornography which, like obscenity, is unprotected by

the First Amendment. As with all legislation in this

sensitive area, the conduct to be prohibited must be

adequately defined by the applicable state law, as

written or authoritatively construed. . . . The

category of ‘sexual conduct’ proscribed must also be

suitably limited and described.

Id. at 764.

Under this constitutional framework, 18 U.S.C. § 2252A

has withstood constitutional attacks asserting that it is

overbroad and vague. United States v. Fox, 248 F.3d 394

(Sth Cir. 2001); United States v. Mento, 231 F.3d 912 (4th

Cir. 2000); United States v. Hilton, 167 F.3d 61 (Ist Cir.

1999); United States v. Acheson, 195 F.3d 645 (11th Cir.

1999). Additionally, as noted above, with the exception of

two phrases in the definition of child pornography, as

contained in 18 U.S.C. § 2256, the Ninth Circuit Court of

16a

Appeals has also upheld the constitutionality of 18 U.S.C. §

2252A.

Finding the reasoning of the First, Fourth, Fifth, and

Eleventh United States Circuit Courts of Appeal persuasive,

the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces recently held that

18 U.S.C. § 2252A is constitutional. United States v. James,

No. 00-0592/N-MC, slip op. at 7 (15 Aug 2001).

Additionally, as in James, the appellant freely admitted his

belief that the photographs he possessed depicted minors;

appellant did so both during the providence inquiry and

during his second interview with the Air Force Office of

Special Investigations. We, therefore, find that the statute -

was not overbroad as applied to him. See /d., slip op. at 8-

11. Finding no substantial basis in law or fact for

questioning the appellant’s pleas, we find this assignment of

error to be without merit. United States v. Prater, 32 M.J.

433, 436 (C.M.A. 1991).

The findings are correct in law and fact, and nw error

prejudicial to the substantial rights of the appellant occurred.

Accordingly, the findings and sentence are

AFFIRMED.

BURD, Senior Judge: Concurs in result.

OFFICIAL

LANE A. THURGOOD, Captain, USAF

Chief Commissioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.