Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pan American Energy, LLC v. Candlewood Timber Group, LLC

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

— Supreme Court, U.S.

%) FILED

04-778 DEC 7 - 2004

No. 04-@PFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

PAN AMERICAN ENERGY, LLC,

Petitioner,

. -

CANDLEWOOD TIMBER GROuP, LLC, AND

FORESTAL SANTA BARBARA SRL,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court of Delaware

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CARTER G. PHILLIPS*

STEPHEN B. KINNAIRD

MICHAEL C. SOULES

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &

WoOobD LLP

1501 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

December 7, 2004 * Counsel of Record

eine nS ERT ENRON NNR ER RE UR SRN RE GE FRE i ee a

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether a state court may wholly disregard foreign

sovereign interests in deciding whether to exercise

jurisdiction over a foreign dispute.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

There are no other parties to this dispute.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioner Pan American Ener~y LLC is 60% indirectly

owned by BP p.I.c. No other publicly held corporation owns

more than 10% of its stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............c0000-. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGG................ccccccseeceee. il

SUPA MOP PR PRR UIIIINOT cncccsteasssccisecnsesseccsosencnnevesvescnss il

I Ie TAR HI stsnctnsssnsscesennssenscnssinccnceonene iv

JUDGMENT FOR WHICH REVIEW IS SOUGHT....... l

SRSA ree ee ea ne I

PROVISIONS OF FEDERAL LAW INVOLVED......... l

POROUS WR UIS Roca ncsinsecisssecsnnininstentenanes l

A. Argentina’s Comprehensive System For The

Development And Regulation Of Hydro-

STII Uiaiisidaii nicki sed capbldaedatuidcnnohaceelinicisetanduipidlaseisiden 3

| LA RDI LT 5

IRATE TD 7

D. Finality of the Judgment ................0cccccccseeeeeee. 1]

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION............. 12

THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE LOWER

COURTS OVER WHETHER TO DECLINE

JURISDICTION IN CASES THAT THREATEN A

FOREIGN STATE’S SOVEREIGN INTERESTG...... 14

I 25

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S.

BE ei ssaicaiiuiicitiionscsiniitinemaaiantbniaeninnase 12, 13, 14

Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d 1101 (Sth

ass a cnnssieieitesdeccascsuacseatbassmniiiele ibidnecnsnaiaiesiadeania 11, 16

Cox Broad. Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975).... 1, 11

First Nat’] City Bank v. Banco Para El Comercio

Exterior de Cuba, 462 U.S. 611 (1983)............. 13, 25

Flanagan v. United States, 465 U.S. 259 (1984)..... 12

Grynberg Prod. Corp. v. British Gas, P.L.C., 817

F. Supp. 1338 (E.D. Tex. 1993)........ccccseccssesesese 19, 20

Harrison v. Wyeth Labs. Div., 510 F. Supp. 1

(E.D. Pa. 1980), aff'd, 676 F.2d 685 (3d Cir.

Int'l Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v.

OPEC, 477 F. Supp. 553 (C.D. Cal. 1979),

aff'd, 649 F.2d 1354 (9th Cir. 1981)... 19, 20

Int’l Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v.

OPEC, 649 F.2d 1354 (9th Cir. 1981),

disapproved of on other grounds, Siderman de

Blake v. Republic of Arg., 965 F.2d 699 (9th

aR: We seisustsindaseadecenasnibnhsiendiandesdemuiiasemmammiinans 19

Jones v. Searles Labs., 444 N.E.2d 157 (Ill.

PUI csi ss-ccudcpssdacssnidhtnidetnlagmaataisteauaaisammisiaudamniania: 18

Jota v. Texaco Inc., 157 F.3d 153 (2d Cir. 1998)... 17

Marathon Oil Co. v. Ruhrgas, A.G., 115 F.3d 315

(5th Cir. 1997), vacated on her grounds, 145

F.3d 211 (Sth Cir. 1998), rev’d and remanded

on other grounds, 526 U.S. 574 (1999)............. 16, 19

Pacheco de Perez v. AT&T Co., 139 F.3d 1368

Oe Gs 0 i iccdnekadincatneennniecabiceondandaliccmacmines 16, 17

Patrickson v. Dole Food Co., 251 F.3d 795 (9th

Ia HIT Dicks sssichab Stcsniesdesabaia nid eoun cebu dleinsaial 18, 19

Republic of Philippines v. Marcos, 806 F.2d 344

AA ie SP acaccdsccksioandish ecdunbismiadiace ilemedinidabiens 12

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - continued

Page

Sequihua v. Texaco, Inc., 847 F. Supp. 61 (S.D.

iis PoP ictacdasaebibdninssaehbiaphanhsgatiedaalcianetndee tie 17, 18

Texas Indus., Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451

Sais SP PT Discinsisaninniaisnelaceesuciauinaabteaaiaen 3

In re Tobacco/Govtl. Health Care Costs Litig.,

100 F. Supp. 2d 31 (D.D.C. 2000)... 17

Torres v. S. Peru Copper Corp., 113 F.3d 540

COR CR. FIT Ricenisitanciscnersntiapicticusaens 13, 15, 16

Turner Entm’t Co. v. Degeto Film GmbH, 25

Fe Nk Ce es Ee exccisinincnaainleae 17

United States v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996 (5th Cir.

PT ED csdeieiblsaiiasiaiisacdi tassel isi iiciliaanecimebedindela 19, 20

Van Cauwenberghe v. Biard, 486 U.S. 517

(CRI Pssnastnakichsnsahsinaehominaadeseaniacianinanaameene cane 12

STATUTES

BP SSA & EBS scvsnnsniiciiensstatnisesaaaaeaae 1,12

©} BAe ssissoianinscpiieemmnitanueaanntaee 12

\

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Pan American Energy LLC (“Pan American”)

respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the Supreme Court of Delaware.

JUDGMENT FOR WHICH REVIEW IS SOUGHT

The judgment for which review is sought is the decision of

the Supreme Court of Delaware in Candlewood Timber

Group LLC v. Pan American Energy, LLC, No. 543,2003.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Delaware is

unpublished and is reproduced in the Petition Appendix

(“App.”) at la-32a. The opinion of the Court of Chancery of

Delaware is unpublished and is reproduced at App. 33a-47a.

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Delaware entered judgment on

October 4, 2004. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257 and Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

(1975).

PROVISIONS OF FEDERAL LAW INVOLVED

This case involves principles of the federal common law of

foreign relations.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case raises important questions regarding the

intervention of American state courts in foreign commercial

disputes that threaten a foreign country’s sovereign interests.

In this action filed in Delaware state court, respondents have

asserted claims that implicate Argentina’s internal regulation

of real property, forest use, and hydrocarbons exploration and

development, all of which are extensively regulated by

2

Argentine law and over which Argentine courts have

exclusive jurisdiction. Moreover, the Nation of Argentina has

formally notified the United States that this case threatens its

overriding sovereign interests in the regulation and

development of its hydrocarbon fields, which are regarded as

federal utilities under Argentine law and from which the

Argentine government receives substantial royalties through

government concessions to oil and natural gas producers.

Both the Nation of Argentina and the Province of Salta

(where the property in dispute is located) have affirmatively

joined litigation pending in the Argentine Supreme Court that

would ultimately resolve the dispute between the litigants in

this case while protecting the important sovereign interests of

the Nation of Argentina and of the Province of Salta. In its

answer filed with the Argentine Supreme Court, the Nation of

Argentina objected to the Delaware Court’s jurisdiction.

Argentina declared that its “sovereignty and provision of

public services is at stake” in this dispute, noting that “one or

more rulings by a foreign court might jeopardize the exercise

of the Executive’s powers, the authority of laws enacted by

the Federal Congress and the jurisdiction of the Federal

Supreme Court.” App. 70a, 71a (Argentine Answer, dated

Sept. 16, 2003). :

Remarkably, the Delaware Supreme Court held below that

foreign sovereign interests must be excluded from any

decision of a state court to exercise jurisdiction because they

are “legally irrelevant.” App. 15a. Even in cases posing

grave threats to foreign sovereign interests, the only standard

the state court applies is the general principle governing a

forum non conveniens determination under state law in any

garden-variety case: namely, whether “[the defendant] will be

subjected to overwhelming hardship and inconvenience if

required to litigate in [state court],” a standard which the

Delaware Supreme Court acknowledges is met “only in a rare

case.” /d. (internal quotation marks omitted). According to

the state court, Argentina’s “far greater interest in the

3

controversy” cannot be considered because it has “no logical

relevance” to the hardship to the parties of litigating in

Delaware. /d. at 16a. Indeed, the “governmental interests of

Argentina would be a relevant factor” only if the “Argentine

governmental entities are indispensable parties, such that Pan

American would be prejudiced if this case proceeded in

Delaware without the presence of those Argentine

governmental entities.” Jd. at 18a.

The assertion of state court jurisdiction in wholesale

disregard of foreign sovereign interests in a foreign dispute is

destructive of the foreign relations of this country. The logic

of the Delaware Supreme Court is contrary to basic principles

of federal law and international comity. Federal common law

governs “international disputes implicating the conflicting

rights of States or our relations with foreign nations,” for “our

federal system does not permit the controversy to be resolved

under state law, either because the authority and duties of the

United States as sovereign are intimately involved or because

the interstate or international nature of the controversy makes

it inappropriate for state law to control.” Texas Indus., Inc. v.

Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 641 (1981). The

decision below ‘s in conflict_with the decisions of the United

States Courts of Appeals for the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits

and of the Illincis Supreme Court, which recognize the rule

that American courts should abstain from exercising

jurisdiction over foreign disputes that trench upon foreign

sovereign interests. This Court’s intervention is imperative to

vindicate this settled rule of federal common law and to

protect Argentina’s fundamental interests.

A. Argentina’s Comprehensive System For The

Development And Regulation Of Hydrocarbons.

To ensure the uniform, orderly development of its oil and

natural gas reserves, the Nation of Argentina created a

comprehensive legal regime that governs virtually every

aspect of those resources’ production. This regulatory

framework aims to satisfy Argentina’s energy needs through

4

the development of its domestic hydrocarbon fields. App.

58a. The Argentine government’s strong interest in

developing its oil and gas resources is reflected in the

National Constitution, which established that Nation’s

hydrocarbon fields as federal public utilities. /d. at 59a.

As Professor Edmundo F. Catalano, petitioner’s expert on

Argentine law, explained, all of Argentina’s hydrocarbon

fields are publicly owned, and the federal and provincial

governments guide the exploration, development, and

transportation of these resources by granting permits and

concessions to private parties. Professor Catalano’s affidavit

is reproduced at App. 117a-138a. These concessions confer

an exclusive right to extract the hydrocarbons within a given

area and authorize any construction or other activities

necessary for that purpose. App. 60a. In return for these

rights, the Hydrocarbon Law requires concessionaires “to

make such investments as are necessary for the development

of the entire concession area, ensuring the largest

hydrocarbon production that is consistent with appropriate

and economic field management.” /d. at 6la, 53a n.1. In

other words, Argentine law affirmatively mandates the

aggressive development of Argentina’s oil and gas resources.

Concessionaires must also pay substantial concession fees

and royalties to both the federal and/or provincial

governments. /d. at 61a.

To minimize conflicts between the rights of surface owners

and the government’s hydrocarbon program, Argentina’s

statutes and regulations carefully delineate the legal

relationship between concessionaires and surface owners,

spelling out the rights and duties of each. The concession

holders — like petitioner in this case — enjoy a “public use”

privilege, by which the rights of surface owners are

subordinated to the needs of the hydrocarbon industry. App.

121a; see also App. 60a-61a. This broad privilege guarantees

access to the subsurface estate through government-

authorized easements over surface lands, for which the

5

surface owner’s consent is not needed, and even permitting

surface lands to be taken by eminent domain. App. 60a-61a;

App. 121a-122a. The procedures for creating easements or

taking land are both detailed in the Hydrocarbon Law.

Argentine law also defines the nature and scope of a

concessionaire’s obligations to surface owners. The law

contains standards that regulate the concessionaires’ mining

operations so as to minimize their effect on surface activities.

App. 62a-63a. In addition, the Hydrocarbon Law defines the

concessionaires’ duties to compensate surface owners for

damage to their property. Jd. at 62a. Under the Law, the

amount of compensation may be determined either judicially

or administratively, and the national government has even

established standard levels of compensation for property

within certain regions of the country. /d. at 62a-63a. As the

Argentine National Government has stated in regard to this

dispute,

unless a valid private agreement shall have been reached

between the concession holder and the surface owner

regarding the compensation amounts payable, these

amounts shall exclusively derive from the amounts

determined by: i) the Federal Executive, by zone, by

virtue of the powers vested in it by Section 98,

subsection h) and Section 100 of Act 17,319 [the

Hydrocarbon Law]; ii) the Federal Secretariat of Energy,

in accordance with the procedure set forth in Section 3

of Decree No. 6,803/68 and iii) the appropriate

Argentine courts, at the request of either party.

Id. at 63a.

B. Factual Background.

Petitioner Pan American Energy LLC (“Pan American”), a

Delaware limited liability company, is engaged through its

Argentine branch in the business of oil and gas exploration

and production. Pan American’s principal place of business

is Argentina, where it is the second largest producer of oil and

6

gas. See App. 140a (Second Amended Complaint § 2). Pan

American is the majority owner in an Argentine joint venture

that holds long-term concessionary rights to extract oil and

gas from land within the Argentine Province of Salta,

including the property in dispute here.

Respondent Forestal Santa Barbara, SRL (“FSB”) is an

Argentine company with its principal place of business in

Argentina. FSB is a wholly-owned subsidiary of respondent

Candlewood Timber Group, LLC, a Delaware limited liability

company that sells wood products from sustainably managed

forests. FSB owns and operates a forestry business on 70,000

acres of the San Pedrito forest in the Province of Salta (the

‘“Acambuco Property”). App. 141a-142a (Second Amended

Complaint 4 8). When FSB purchased the Acambuco

Property in 1998, the property had been for many years, and

continued to be, subject to the mining easements established

by Argentine law. App. 51a.

As the holder of a government-authorized concession

granted years before FSB stepped foot in the area, Pan

American contacted FSB in 1999 regarding Pan American’s

need to access the Acambuco Property in order to develop the

hydrocarbon resources on that property. If FSB had refused

access, Argentine law would have permitted Pan American to

enter the property as a matter of right. Though FSB’s consent

was unnecessary for the development of those hydrocarbon

resources, respondents allege that Pan American and FSB

ultimately reached an agreement permitting Pan American to

enter the Acambuco Property. App. 146a-147a (Second

Amended Complaint 4 24). The agreements attached to the

complaint required Pan American to purchase comprehensive

liability insurance for damage to FSB’s property and to

indemnify FSB for any damage that resulted. By protecting

FSB’s right to compensation while ensuring Pan American’s

right of access, these alleged agreements essentially

memorialized the preexisting rights and obligations of

concessionaires under Argentine law. The agreements could

7

hardly do otherwise, because these Argentine “public policy

rules cannot be ignored or set aside by agreements between

private entities.” App. 137a. Significantly, these putative

“contracts” are “Temporary Entry, Traffic and Stay

Permit[s],” of only a page in length each, and they contain no

definition of the substantive duties of Pan American in

building and operating pipelines on respondents’ lands. App.

158a-160a (Second Amended Complaint, Exs. A & B).

C. Proceedings Below.

On January 28, 2003, respondents filed this action against

Pan American in the Delaware Court of Chancery. In their

initial complaint, respondents sought damages and _far-

reaching equitable relief for damage to their property that was

allegedly caused by Pan American’s road construction and oil

and gas operations. In addition, respondents sought the

disgorgement of profits and cost savings from Pan

American’s operations, and permanent injunctions dictating

remediation of the lands, reporting and consent requirements,

and pipeline construction practices.

On March 5, 2003, Pan American filed a petition in the

Supreme Court of Argentina, seeking a declaration that FSB’s

action is subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the Argentine

federal courts. Due to the country’s significant economic and

regulatory interest in the parties’ dispute, Pan American’s

declaratory action named the national and provincial

governments as parties, in addition to FSB and Candlewood.

The Attorney General of Argentina issued an opinion

supporting Pan American’s petition, and the federal and

provincial governments both entered appearances shortly

thereafter. Those governments agreed that this dispute is

governed by Argentine law and that the Argentine courts have

exclusive jurisdiction over the case. On March 14, 2003, Pan

American filed a motion in Delaware Chancery Court seeking

to dismiss or stay the Delaware action pending final judgment

in the Argentine case.

8

On May 21, 2003, in an attempt to salvage state court

jurisdiction, FSB filed a second amended complaint that

dropped certain far-reaching claims for injunctive relief, but

still sought an injunction to obtain comprehensive insurance

policies and disgorgement of “all savings and avoided costs

retained by Pan American by virtue of its unlawful and

improper actions on Candlewood Forest Property.” App.

156a (Second Amended Complaint at 18). More critically, in

asserting various common law tort and contract claims, FSB

has asked the Delaware state courts to determine the

lawfulness of Pan American’s conduct in constructing

pipelines by applying “international standards for forest

engineering.” /d. at 153a (Second Amended Complaint § 48).

FSB requested the Delaware state courts to determine that

Pan American’s Argentine operations were “negligent and

reckless” because of,

(i) the massive, uncontrolled excavation and clearing of

forest and vegetation; (ii) the sidecasting of more than

one million cubic yards of soil, rock, earth and

vegetation; (iii) the constructing of roadways, spur roads

and pipeline that are overly invasive and that cause a

significant risk of fire, erosion, landslides and runoff, as

well as damage to wildlife; and (iv) the storing and

disposal of toxic and/or flammable materials on the

Candlewood Forest property.

Id. Respondents also charged petitioner, among other things,

with misappropriation of earth, timber, and water, and with

precluding forest productivity. Jd. at 155a (§ 56).

While Pan American’s motion to dismiss or stay was

pending, the Nation of Argentina formally notified the

Department of State about its profound concerns with the

pendency of the Delaware state court action. Argentina

asserted “its utmost interest that legal questions arising within

the framework of the Ley de Hidrocaburos (Hydrocarbon

Law)... between the licensee of hydrocarbon and the owners

of the surface realty be dealt with in conformity with

9

Argentine law and before the Courts of the Argentine

Republic.” App. 115a (Letter from Embassy of Argentina to

the Department of State, Office of Legal Advisor, dated June

19, 2003.) In an answer filed with the Argentine Supreme

Court on September 16, 2003, the Argentine government

reiterated that its sovereign interests were impaired by the

Delaware litigation and that Argentine courts have exclusive

jurisdiction over this dispute. App. 57a-7la. These concerns

were echoed by the Ministry of Federal Planning, Public

Investment and Services, which concluded that “the

sovereignty of the Argentine Government . . . [and the]. . .

possible effects on the continuity and regularity of

hydrocarbon exploration, exploitation and transportation

activities carried out in Argentina are at stake.” App. 107a

(Letter from the Undersecretary of Fuels to Pan American,

dated June 24, 2003).

On October 22, 2003, the Delaware Court of Chancery

dismissed respondents’ action. In addition to finding that

respondents had failed to establish equity jurisdiction, the

court dismissed these claims based on the doctrine of forum

non conveniens. App. 47a. The Chancery Court recognized

not only the enormous practical difficulties of litigating this

case in the United States, but also that Argentine law would

“almost certainly govern” because “[t]he heart of this case

involves a land use dispute arising under the laws of

Argentina.” Jd. at 42a, 43a. The court further noted that “[a]

decision in this action will likely implicate Argentina’s right

to regulate access to surface property that lies above

government owned oil and gas fields” and would “implicate

Argentina’s economic interests because a decision adverse to

Pan American may reduce the revenues Argentina derives

from Pan American’s extraction activities.” Jd. at 44a. The

court cautioned that “although the complaint sounds in simple

breach of contract and negligence language, it is clear that

resolution of this dispute will require thorough consideration

of Argentine hydrocarbon law and policy, as well as a careful

10

policing of the boundaries between Argentine tort, contract,

and real property law.” /d. at 45a n.36. Although

respondents sought to bolster their complaint by including the

report of a forestry expert, their own expert noted that there

was disagreement over whether FSB even owned the land that

had allegedly been damaged. App. 162a-163a (Second

Amended Complaint, Ex. C).

Eschewing the foreign relations concerns highlighted by the

Court of Chancery, the Supreme Court of Delaware reversed.

It held that the Chancery Court had “imported into its analysis

a consideration that is legally irrelevant” when it gave

“predominate weight” to Argentina’s “far greater interest in

the controversy.” App. 15a, 16a. Rather, the state court must

determine whether “[the defendant] will be subjected to

overwhelming hardship and inconvenience if required to

litigate in [state court],” a standard which the Delaware

Supreme Court acknowledged is met “only in a rare case.”

Id. at 15a (internal quotation marks omitted). The Delaware

Court concluded that foreign sovereign interests in a

controversy are legally irrelevant because they have “no

logical relevance” to the hardship to the parties of litigating in

Delaware. /d. at 16a. Indeed, the “governmental interests of

Argentina would be a relevant factor” only if the “Argentine

governmental entities are indispensable parties, such that Pan

American would be prejudiced if this case proceeded in

Delaware without the presence of those Argentine

governmental entities.” /d. at 18a. The court further ruled

that Argentina’s courts did not have exclusive jurisdiction

over respondents’ claims and those claims against Pan

American were transitory. Jd. at 27a-29a. Finding Delaware

to be an adequate forum for the resolution of FSB’s claims,

but that those claims are primarily legal in nature, the court

transferred jurisdiction to the Superior Court of Delaware. /d.

at 32a.

1]

D. Finality of the Judgment.

The judgment below is a final judgment under Cox

Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975). The state

court’s exclusion of foreign sovereign interests from the

calculus of deciding whether to accept jurisdiction is contrary

to the federal common law of foreign relations. See infra 12-

25. The decision below is immediately reviewable by this

Court even though the case is on remand to the Superior

Court. This Court has jurisdiction,

where the federal issue has been finally decided in the

state courts with further proceedings pending in which

the party seeking review here might prevail on the merits

on nonfederal grounds, thus rendering unnecessary

review of the federal issue by this Court, and where

reversal of the state court on the federal issue would be

preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant cause

of action rather than merely controlling the nature and

character of, or determining the admissibility of

evidence in, the state proceedings still to come. In these

circumstances, if a refusal immediately to review the

state-court decision might seriously erode federal policy,

the Court has entertained and decided the federal issue,

which itself has been finally determined by the state

courts for purposes of the state litigation.

420 U.S. at 482-83. The state court’s assertion of jurisdiction

over this dispute, which would entangle the Delaware courts

in a foreign nation’s regulatory system and deeply implicate

that country’s sovereign interests, seriously erodes federal

policy. “‘It is fundamental to our constitutional scheme that

in dealing with other nations the country must speak with a

united voice.’” Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A., 764 F.2d 1101,

1122 (Sth Cir. 1985) (quoting Republic of Iraq v. First Nat'l

City Bank, 353 F.2d 47, 50 (2d Cir. 1965)). And, because this

Court’s “reversal of the state court on the federal issue would

be preclusive of any further litigation,” 420 U.S. at 482-83,

12

this case falls squarely within Cox Broadcasting’s fourth

category of exceptions to the finality requirement. '

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Although respondents have framed their counts as simple

common law claims, “an examination [of their complaint]

shows that the[ir] . . . claims necessarily require determin-

ations that will directly and significantly affect American

foreign relations.” Republic of Philippines v. Marcos, 806

F.2d 344, 352 (2d Cir. 1986). As the Court of Chancery

noted, deciding this case would force the Delaware courts to

decide issues of the duties of hydrocarbon producers to

surface land owners that are of fundamental sovereign

importance to Argentina and exclusively governed by its

statutes and regulations. Because this case presents the issue

of whether courts may exercise jurisdiction in disregard of

foreign sovereign interests, the “basic choice regarding the

competence and function of the Judiciary and National

Executive in ordering our relationships with other members of

the international community must be treated exclusively as an

aspect of federal law.” Banco Nacional de Cuba v.

Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398, 425 (1964). Accordingly, “matters

' Reviewability is not affected by Van Cauwenberghe v. Biard, in

which this Court held that a federal court of appeals lacked jurisdiction

under the collateral order doctrine of 28 U.S.C. § 1291 to review a district

court’s order denying a forum non conveniens motion. 486 U.S. 517

(1988). The principal reason is that petitioner does not seek review of the

overall balancing of private and public interest factors, which was the

issue in Biard, and which this Court held would unduly enmesh the

reviewing court in the merits of the case. /d. at 527-29. Here, petitioner

asks this Court to review the federal issue of whether a state court may

wholly disregard foreign sovereign interests in deciding to exercise

jurisdiction over foreign disputes. Moreover, the Cox Broadcasting

finality factors under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 are not limited to the collateral

order doctrine of § 1291. See Flanagan v. United States, 465 U.S. 259,

265 n.3 (1984) (distinguishing the finality requirements of § 1257 from

those of § 1291).

Le)

13

bearing on the Nation’s foreign relations ‘should not be left to

divergent and perhaps parochial state interpretations.’” First

Nat’l City Bank v. Banco Para El Comercio Exterior de

Cuba, 462 U.S. 611, 622 n.11 (1983) (quoting Sabbatino, 376

U.S. at 425).

The need for a federal rule requiring that state courts give

proper deference to foreign sovereign interests in deciding to

exercise jurisdiction is starkly apparent in this case. The

exercise of jurisdiction by the Delaware courts threatens to

interfere with Argentina’s legal framework regulating the

government-owned hydrocarbon reserves. Whether or not a

plaintiff brings only state-law claims against another private

party, that action invokes the federal common law of foreign

relations if the complaint substantially affects a foreign

country’s sovereign interests. See Torres v. S. Peru Copper

Corp., 113 F.3d 540, 542-43 (Sth Cir. 1997). Deciding this

case would “require thorough consideration of Argentine

hydrocarbon law and policy, as well as a careful policing of

the boundaries between Argentine tort, contract, and real

property law.” App. 45a n.36. These are not matters of

purely private concern in Argentina, as they might be in this

country. Insteaa, they are of fundamental concern to

Argentina’s sovereign interests as both an owner and

regulator of its natural resources. Accordingly, this critical

issue of federal law must be decided “to protect uniquely

federal interests.” Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at 426.

Review is especially warranted in this case because the

decision below, which transferred jurisdiction to the Delaware

common law court instead of dismissing or staying the action,

conflicts with the decisions of other jurisdictions.

Specifically, the Delaware Supreme Court and the Ninth

Circuit’s refusal to consider the significance of foreign

sovereign interests, especially when the foreign nation itself

protests the exercise of jurisdiction, conflicts with the analysis

employed by the Fifth and the Eleventh Circuits and the

Illinois Supreme Court. It is intolerable for Argentina’s

14

sovereign interests to be fully protected in litigation in

lilinois, Georgia, or Texas, but for those same interests to be

“legally irrelevant” in Delaware or California. Review by this

Court is thus warranted to resolve this split of authority and to

ensure “uniformity in this country’s dealings with foreign

nations.” /d. at 427 n.25.

THERE IS A CONFLICT AMONG THE LOWER

COURTS OVER WHETHER TO DECLINE

JURISDICTION IN CASES THAT THREATEN A

FOREIGN STATE’S SOVEREIGN INTERESTS.

The rule announced below is breathtaking in_ its

implications for the foreign relations of this Nation. The

Delaware Supreme Court held that whenever a plaintiff

invokes state court jurisdiction to determine a foreign dispute,

even one unquestionably governed by foreign law, the state

court will exercise jurisdictiun unless the defendant meets

““the heavy burden’” of “‘establish[ing] with particularity that

{the defendant] will be subjected to overwhelming hardship

and inconvenience if required to litigate in [state court].””

App. 15a. Critically, the Delaware Supreme Court has

declared that foreign sovereign interests are “legally

irrelevant” to a state court’s assertion of jurisdiction over

foreign disputes. /d. Abstention from jurisdiction is strictly a

matter of hardship to the parties litigating in Delaware under

ordinary forum non conveniens principles, and “only in a rare

case” of overwhelming hardship to defendants will a

plaintiff's choice of the American state forum be disturbed.

Federal law forbids the assertion of state law powers that does

serious violence to the foreign relations of this country.

Furthermore, in vesting jurisdiction in the Delaware

Superior Court, the decision below conflicts with precedents

from other jurisdictions that decline jurisdiction if a case

implicates a foreign country’s sovereign interests.

Specifically, other courts have abstained (i) when a foreign

government has given formal notice that the pending action

oer OC

15

threatens its sovereign interests, and/or (ii) if asserting

jurisdiction would enmesh the court in a foreign country’s

internal regulations and policies.

1. The decision below conflicts with precedents from the

United States Courts of Appeals for the Fifth and Eleventh

Circuits and frora the Illinois Supreme Court. The Fifth

Circuit’s decision in Torres, is squarely on point. There, as

here, private plaintiffs brought tort claims against a Latin

American natural resources producer (a Peruvian copper

mining corporation). As the Argentine national government

has done here, in Jorres the State of Peru notified the

Department of State that “the litigation implicates some of its

most vital interests and, hence, will affect its relations with

the United States.” 113 F.3d at 542. Although Peru was not a

party to the case, the Peruvian government’s notice alerted the

Fifth Circuit “to the foreign policy issues implicated by this

case.” Jd. at 542-43.

Unlike the Delaware Supreme Court, the Fifth Circuit did

not exclude foreign sovereign interests from its review of a

forum non conveniens order. To the contrary, the Torres

court upheld the dismissal of the tort action precisely out of

deference to those sovereign interests. The Fifth Circuit first

established that, even though the complaint raised only state

law claims, the district court had federal question jurisdiction

under the federal common law of foreign relations, which was

a necessary predicate to a forum non conveniens order. Id.

The Court noted that the Peruvian government owned mining

and land interests, and “grant[ed] concessions that allow [the

defendant] to operate in return for an annual fee. Moreover,

the government extensively regulates the mining industry.”

Id. at 543. The Fifth Circuit concluded that

[t}his action therefore strikes not only at vital economic

interests but also at Peru’s sovereign interests by seeking

damages for activities and policies in which the

government actively has been engaged. On the record

before us we must conclude that plaintiffs’ complaint

16

raises substantial questions of federal common law by

implicating important foreign policy concerns.

Id. Accordingly, the Fifth Circuit upheld the district court’s

dismissal of the actions “on the basis of forum non conveniens

and comity among nations.” /d. at 542, 544. The Fifth

Circuit’s analysis is diametrically opposed to the Delaware

Supreme Court’s. See also Marathon Oil Co. v. Ruhrgas,

A.G., 115 F.3d 315, 320 (Sth Cir. 1997) (characterizing

Torres as a case in which “the suit itself struck directly at

vital economic interests of the nation, and, indeed, at the very

sovereignty of the Republic of Peru”), vacated on other

grounds, 145 F.3d 211 (Sth Cir. 1998) (en banc), rev'd and

remanded on other grounds, 526 U.S. 574 (1999).

Consistent with its holding in Torres, and at odds with the

decision below, the Fifth Circuit in Callejo v. Bancomer, S.A.

affirmed the dismissal of a case due to the foreign relations

implications of asserting jurisdiction. 764 F.2d 1101 (Sth Cir.

1985). The plaintiffs in Callejo had brought an action for

breach of contract whose adjudication “would necessarily call

into question” Mexico’s currency exchange control

regulations. /d. at 1115-16. Because the defendant bank had

discharged its obligations according to those regulations, the

court could provide relief on the plaintiffs’ claim “only by

disregarding the regulations.” /d. at 1116. Similarly,

entertaining the respondents’ claims in this case would

effectively establish a mew standard, one contrary to

Argentina’s hydrocarbon framework. Just as the Mexican

government’s “power to issue exchange control regulations is

paradigmatically sovereign in nature,” id., so too is

Argentina’s power to establish rules governing the rights and

obligations of hydrocarbon concessionaires.

The Eleventh Circuit follows a similar approach. In

Pacheco de Perez v. AT&T Co., 139 F.3d 1368 (11th Cir.

1998), the court found “it significant, for purposes of this

case, that the Venezuelan government has taken no position

on whether this lawsuit proceeds in the United States or in

Fe

17

Venezuela.” Jd. at 1378. It concluded that “[w]ithout such an

indication from the foreign nation, we are reluctant to find

that the plaintiffs’ private cause of action sounding in Georgia

tort law implicates important foreign policy on the face of the

plaintiffs’ pleadings.” Jd. Likewise, in Turner Entertainment

Co. v. Degeto Film GmbH, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the

dismissal of a case based on principles of international

comity. 25 F.3d 1512 (11th Cir. 1994). The Eleventh Circuit

noted that “[a]lthough Turner attempts to portray the case as a

garden variety contract action, there are complicated issues

surrounding the case that require extensive knowledge of the

European television market.” /d. at 1521. Thus, the Eleventh

Circuit, like the Fifth Circuit, accords significant, if not

dispositive, weight to foreign sovereign interests, at least

when the foreign sovereign opposes the suit. The Eleventh

Circuit does not ignore those interests in deciding whether to

accept jurisdiction, as the Delaware Supreme Court does.’

? The ruled adopted by the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits is consistent

with other precedent. For example, in Sequihua v. Texaco, Inc., the

Southern District of Texas emphasized the foreign government’s

objections in its decision dismissing the case based on the doctrines of

comity and forum non conveniens. 847 F. Supp. 61 (S.D. Tex. 1994).

Sequihua involved a series of tort claims brought by Ecuadoran residents

for the contamination of their community. In its order dismissing the case,

the Sequihua court emphasized that the “Republic of Ecuador has

officially protested this litigation, asserting that it will do ‘violence’ to the

international legal system, and has asked that the case be dismissed.” Id.

at 62. The court dismissed the case under the doctrine of comity of

nations because, inter alia, “the Republic of Ecuador has expressed its

strenuous objection to the exercise of jurisdiction by this Court.” /d. at 63.

See also Jota v. Texaco Inc., 157 F.3d 153, 160 (2d Cir. 1998)

(recognizing the prior significance of Sequihua when the Ecuadoran

government “had repeatedly written the District Court arguing that this

case implicated Ecuador’s sovereign interests and should not be decided in

a United States court”); cf In re Tobacco/Govtl. Health Care Costs Litig.,

100 F. Supp. 2d 31, 37 (D.D.C. 2000) (emphasizing, in its decision

remanding the case to state court, the foreign sovereigns’ resistance to

federal court jurisdiction); Harrison v. Wyeth Labs. Div., 510 F. Supp. 1, 4

(E.D. Pa. 1980) (“the courts of the United States are ill-equipped to set a

">

18

The Illinois Supreme Court is also aligned against the

Delaware Supreme Court on this issue. In Jones v. Searles

Laboratories, the Illinois Supreme Court affirmed the

dismissal of a tort action based on forum non conveniens. 444

N.E.2d 157 (Ill. 1982). The plaintiffs in Jones, who were all

citizens of the United Kingdom, sought damages from their

use of the defendant company’s pharmaceuticals. In its

decision, the Illinois Supreme Court emphasized that the

defendant’s British subsidiary had controlled the issuance of

drug warnings, allowing the subsidiary “to conform to the

rules of local regulatory authorities.” Jd. at 161. The court

raised the specter that “a court in Illinois could determine that

defendant’s warnings were inadequate although they

conformed to the law of the country in which the drugs were

marketed.” /d. The Illinois Supreme Court considered it “‘an

inappropriate usurpation of a foreign court’s proper authority

to decide a matter of local interest, for a court in this country

to set a higher standard of care_than is required by the

government of the country in which the product is sold and

used.”” Jd.

By contrast, the Ninth Circuit is aligned with the Delaware

Supreme Court, and against the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits.

In Patrickson v. Dole Food Co., the Ninth Circuit considered

whether to assert jurisdiction over a class action brought by

Latin American workers against a group of multinaiional

companies for exposure to a toxic pesticide. 251 F.3d 795

(9th Cir. 2001). Dismissing the foreign relations concerns

highlighted by the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits, the Ninth

Circuit expressly repudiated the notion that a foreign

government’s formal notice should affect the decision to

standard of product safety for drugs sold in other countries”), aff'd, 676

F.2d 685 (3d Cir. 1982) (table); Sequihua, 847 F. Supp. at 63 (noting that

the plaintiffs’ request for a privately-financed trust fund “asks this Court

to step into the shoes of the Ecuadoran Health Ministry and supervise a

medical monitoring scheme of unknown costs, scope or duration for as

many as 500,000 Ecuadoran citizens over the protest of the government of

Ecuador”).

——————

19

abstain. Rather than promoting comity between nations, the

Ninth Circuit feared that,

[i]f courts were to take the interests of the foreign

government into account, they would be conducting

foreign policy by deciding whether it serves our national

interests to continue with the litigation, dismiss it on

some ground such as forum non conveniens, or deal with

it in some other way. .

Id. at 804. This mature division in the lower courts over the

recurring question of what is the proper treetment of foreign

sovereign interests is an important question of federal law that

this Court should resolve.

2. Courts have long recognized that the “control over a

nation’s natural resources stems from the nature of

sovereignty.” Int’l Ass'n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers

v. OPEC, 477 F. Supp. 553, 568 (C.D. Cal. 1979) (“IAM 1”).

Even the Ninth Circuit has acknowledged that both the

“United States and other nations have supported the principle

of supreme state sovereignty over natural resources.” Jnt’l

Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers v. OPEC, 649 F.2d

1354, 1361 (9th Cir. 1981), disapproved of on other grounds,

Siderman de Blake v. Republic of Arg., 965 F.2d 699 (9th Cir.

1992); IAM I, 477 F. Supp. at 568 (“The defendants’ control

over their oil resources is an especially sovereign function

because oil, as their primary, if not sole, revenue-producing

resource, is crucial to the welfare of their nations’ peoples.”);

see also United States v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996, 1002 (Sth

Cir. 1977) (noting “the control that a sovereign . . . has over

the natural resources within its territory”). Courts acknow-

ledge this sovereign interest regardless of whether the foreign

government is a named party in the suit. See, e.g., Grynberg

Prod. Corp. v. British Gas, P.L.C., 817 F. Supp. 1338, 1356

(E.D. Tex. 1993) (concluding that “[a]lthough the Republic of

Kazakhstan is not a party to this lawsuit, its interests in

allocating its own mineral resources are vitally affected by the

outcome’’).

20

Critical sovereign interests are present in this case. Not

only do the Argentine federal and provincial governments

own all the oil and gas fields in the country, but also they

derive substantial royalties from the development of those

resources. Moreover, though Peru and Argentina both

granted concessions to private parties, a government’s legal

relationship with its natural resources “persists even after it

conveys away any concession interest. This relationship

exists by right of sovereignty.” /d. at 1359. By contrast, the

Delaware Supreme Court credited none of _ those

considerations in its decision.

An action that interferes with a foreign government’s

internal regulations likewise “strike[s] at the sovereignty of a

foreign nation.” Ruhrgas, 115 F.3d at 315. There is “little

question that establishing the terms and conditions for

removal of natural resources from its territory, when done by

a sovereign state, individually and separately, is a

governmental activity.” JAM I, 477 F. Supp. at 568.

Interference with a foreign country’s internal policies is

especially likely in this case, where the decisions of the

Delaware state courts would likely supplant the Argentine

government’s carefully prescribed rules for the development

of oil and gas. On this issue, the Delaware Supreme Court

stands virtually alone, its disposition of this case

irreconcilable with along line of consistent precedent.

Courts have recognized “the conflict of national interests

that is created by the attempt of one state to regulate resource

development in another state.” Mitchell, 553 F.2d at 1003

n.13. Just as Congress “presumably recognizes the authority

of other sovereigns to protect and exploif their own

resources,” id. at 1002, this Court must be vigilant to see that

the federal and state judiciary does not interfere improperly

with foreign sovereign interests and undermine American

relations with those sovereigns.

The risk of interference with Argentina’s internal

regulations is particularly acute in this case. As noted, the

21

federal and provincial governments of Argentina have

extensively regulated every facet of the Argentine oil and gas

development process. From granting concessions to

companies like Pan American, to ensuring access to

hydrocarbon fields through the power of eminent domain, to

defining the rights and obligations of concessionaires and

surface owners, the Argentine government has supplied the

governing rule. Not only does the Hydrocarbon Law

establish certain rights, like the “public use” privilege by

which concessionaires are empowered with the eminent

domain authority, but also it sets forth the procedures that

must be followed in order to exercise those rights. Most

relevant for this case, Argentine law requires concessionaires

both to compensate surface owners and to conduct their

mining operations in a manner that minimizes the effect on

surface activities. Through its statutes and regulations,

Argentina carefully demarcated the boundary between a

concessionaire’s permissible and impermissible conduct, and

the courts of Argentina clearly are available to protect the

private and public rights implicated in a dispute such as the

one involved in this case. In sum, Argentina protects the

~ property rights of surface owners in a manner consistent with

the concessionaire’s obligation to “ensur[e] the largest

hydrocarbon production” reasonably possible. App. 61a, 53a

n.1.

The Delaware Supreme Court simply dismissed these

sovereign interests, notwithstanding their formal assertion by

the Argentine Government (both diplomatically and

judicially). - Remarkably, the court shunted aside the

Argentine government’s answer in the Argentine Supreme

Court, which stated that “the ‘basic institutions of the Nation

[were] at risk’ because of ‘the possibility that gas production

in the Acambuco area could be ... affected’ by ‘one or more

22

3993

rulings by a foreign court. App. 5a (alteration and

omission in original). The Delaware Supreme Court

discounted that official statement of position because,

{t]hat pleading did not disclose to the Argentine Court

that Candlewood was seeking only damages based on

common law claims arising out of private contracts with

Pan American. Nor did that pleading disclose that

= Candlewood had previously informed the Court of

Chancery (and Pan American) that they were “not

seeking any injunctive relief requiring supervision of

Pan American’s conduct on the land in Argentina.”

Id.

The Delaware Supreme Court misses the point. Whether

respondents dropped the most brazen of their requests for

permanent injunctive relief is unclear and is not the issue. If

Pan American is subject to a claim for massive damages in

Delaware courts, for Pan American’s construction and

engineering practices that allegedly violate claimed

“international standards for forest engineering,” App. 153a

(Second Amended Complaint { 48), the effect is no different

than injunctive relief. If found liable, Pan American, in order

* Not only did the Delaware Supreme Court announce a cavalier rule of

unyielding state court jurisdiction, but it also insulted the Argentine

National Government by implying that it simply bent to the “influence” of

Pan American in its submissions to the Argentina Supreme Court. The

Delaware Supreme Court stated that “Pan American appears to have used

its access to the highest levels of the Argentine government to influence

both this litigation and Pan American’s second-filed action in Argentina.”

App. 5a n.4. Solicitation of government intervention in litigation is

legitimate. In Argentina as in this country, persons are free to ask the

Government to intervene in court cases, just as litigants in this country

solicit the legal support of federal agencies or the Department of Justice in

the federal and state courts. The state court had no basis for suggesting

that the official position of the Argentine government in court filings

should be disregarded because it sides with the interests of one litigant

over another.

23

to avoid subsequent awards of damages, will be forced either

to conform its construction and engineering methods to

whatever “international standards” the Delaware court sees fit

to endorse, or perhaps to forgo development and construction

where the risks are too great. The proper construction and

production practices for hydrocarbon development in

Argentina, and the respective rights and duties of

concessionaires and surface owners, are matters of vital

Argentine sovereign interest that should not be determined by

Delaware courts. Indeed, the Argentine Government has

emphasized that the issue of compensation of surface owners

is one of the fundamental reasons why Argentine courts have

exclusive jurisdiction over this matter. App. 64a."

The Delaware Supreme Court was also improperly

dismissive of the Argentine government’s conclusion “that

Argentine jurisdiction is absolute and exclusive to decide on

any claims” related to the relationship between

concessionaires and surface owners. App. 116a (Letter to

State Department); App. 66a. In proceedings before the

Argentine Supreme Court, the Argentine Attorney General

cited the conditions which independently establish the

exclusive jurisdiction of the Argentine federal courts: namely,

that the Argentine Hydrocarbon and Natural Gas laws govern

the dispute, and that there is a federal interest in the dispute

triggering Argentine federal jurisdiction because hydrocarbon

* Indeed, respondents “do not coicede the inapplicability of Delaware

law,” Resp. Br. at 24, and the Delaware Supreme Court left the issue open,

despite the Court of Chancery’s finding that Argentine law applied.

Respondents thus will argue that Delaware law governs Pan American’s

hydrocarbon development in Argentina notwithstanding (as their own

expert acknowledges) that Argentine legislation provides “substantive

rules of decision for the resolution of issues raised by the facts alleged in

the complaint.” App. 167a (Litvinoff Aff. ¥ 11). See also App. 98a (Naon

Aff. 4 51) (noting that respondents’ “claims cannot be decided without

determining the scope and limitations of [FSB’s] real property nghts on

the surface of the Acambuco Area. . . vis-a-vis the nights of [Pan

American]”).

24

fields are “federal public utilities” and there is a strong federal

interest that the Argentine government’s “legal powers be not

impaired” and “the provision of an essential public service be

not hampered.” Jd. at 65a, 66a. The Argentine Attorney

General’s ee was corroborated by Dr. Naon’s expert

opinion that was submitted in the Court of Chancery. Dr.

Naon set forth in great detail the exclusive jurisdiction created

by Federal Law 48 on the Jurisdiction and Competence of

National and Federal Courts, and discussed how the rules of

exclusive jurisdiction apply to substantive mandatory laws

that are closely associated with the public or national interest

of the forum (Ley de Policia, like the Hydrocarbon Law).

Moreover, Dr. Naon confirmed that “mixed actions,” those

“relating to personal rights that only come into existence

because of the rights in rem held by the claimant in

connection with an immovable,” are subject to the Argentine

courts’ exclusive jurisdiction. App. 87a (Naon Aff. 31).

The Delaware Supreme Court simply dismissed this

analysis, relying on the cursory affidavit of respondents’

expert, Dr. Litvinoff, which baldly asserts that the Argentine

constitution and codes do not directly provide for exclusive

jurisdiction. But Dr. Litvinoff concedes that if the Argentine

Supreme Court finds that Argentina has a “substantial direct

and immediate interest in the matter,” then the case belongs to

the exclusive jurisdiction of the Argentine courts. See App.

104a; id. at 105a (agreeing that if the Argentine Supreme

Court finds the federal or provincial governments to be

“proper parties to this dispute,” then “the dispute is properly

heard in the Argentine federal courts”’)). It is remarkable that

the Delaware Supreme Court would simply call it a draw

between party experts and hold that petitioner failed to show

exclusive jurisdiction, and more remarkable still that it would

credit the views of Dr. Litvinoff over the official position of

the Argentine government presented to that Nation’s court by

the Argentine Attorney General.

25

This case vividly illustrates why “matters bearing on the

Nation’s foreign relations ‘should not be left to divergent and

perhaps parochial state interpretations.” First Nat'l City

Bank, 462 U.S. at 622 n.11 (quoting Sabbatino, 376 U.S. at

425). The decision below has deepened an existing judicial

split on what deference is owed as a matter of federal

common law to foreign sovereign interests when a court is

deciding whether to exercise jurisdiction over a foreign

dispute. This Court should remedy the conflict.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CARTER G. PHILLIPS*

STEPHEN B. KINNAIRD

MICHAEL C. SOULES

SIDLEY AUSTIN BROWN &

WOOD LLP

1501 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 736-8000

Counsel for Petitioners

December 7, 2004 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

SUPREME COURT OF DELAWARE

No. 543,2003

CANDLEWOOD TIMBER GROUP, LLC and Forestal Santa

Barbara SRL, Plaintiffs Below,

Appellants,

v.

PAN AMERICAN ENERGY, LLC, Defendant Below,

Appellee.

Submitted April 27, 2004

Decided Oct. 4, 2004

Upon appeal from the Court of Chancery. Affirmed in Part,

Reversed in Part and Remanded.

Before HOLLAND, BERGER and JACOBS, Justices.

JACOBS, J.

The plaintiffs below, Candlewood Timber Group LLC

(“Candlewood”) and Forestal Santa Barbara SRL (“FSB”), '

appeal from an order of the Court of Chancery dismissing

their complaint against the defendant below, Pan American

Energy, LLC (“Pan American”), for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction and on the ground of forum non conveniens.’ We

affirm the dismissal insofar as it is predicated on lack of

subject matter jurisdiction, but reverse the dismissal insofar

' Except where the context requires a more specific reference, Can-

dlewood and FSB are referred to collectively in this Opinion as

“Candlewood.”

? Candlewood Timber Group, LLC v. Pan Am. Energy LLC, C.A. No.

20135, 2003 WL 22417235 (Del. Ch. Oct. 22, 2003).

2a

as it is based on forum non conveniens. We also remand the

case with directions that it be transferred from the Court of

Chancery to the Superior Court.

FACTS

Procedural History

Candlewood is a Delaware limited liability company that is

engaged in a venture with its wholly-owned and controlled

Argentine subsidiary, FSB, to sell wood products derived

from South American forests that are managed consistently

with international standards of sustainable forestry.’ FSB is

the vehicle through which Candlewood purchased approxi-

mately 250,000 acres of forest land, including 70,000

acres that are located in the Province of Salta, Republic

of Argentina.

Pan American, a Delaware limited liability company that

engages in oil and gas extraction, is the second largest

hydrocarbon producer in .irgentina. Pan American is the

majority owner and the operator of a consortium of

companies that were granted concessionary rights by the

Argentine Republic (which owns all of the oil and gas rights

in Argentina) to extract oil and gas in the Province of Salta.

That concession covers the land owned by FSB in the Salta

Province. The majority owner of Pan American is a

subsidiary of BP p.l.c., and the minority owner is Bridas

Corporation, an oil company controlled by one of Argentina’s

wealthiest families.

> According to Candlewood's complaint, sustainable forestry is de-

signed to foster the renewal of prime forest resources and employment

opportunities for local residents. It operates to preserve the long term

environmental benefits of forest lands while realizing the economic and

social values of marketable timber. Sustainable forestry involves the

extraction of such timber from prime forest lands, while preserving intact

the forest and its valuable environmental habitats and biodiversity.

3a

Pan American sought permission from FSB to extract the

oil and gas from underneath FSB’s land. At Candlewood’s

direction, FSB gave Pan American permission to enter FSB’s

forest land, conditioned on Pan American’s written agreement

that it would (among other things) purchase comprehensive

liability insurence and indemnify FSB against any damage

Pan Americai: caused to the property. Thereafter, according

to Candlewood’s complaint, Pan American violated those

obligations by undertaking a drilling program that inflicted

massive unremediated property damage to FSB’s land,

thereby making it impossible for Candlewood to obtain the

environmental certifications required for their sustainable

forestry business.

On January 28, 2003, Candlewood filed an action against

Pan American in the Court of Chancery for monetary and

injunctive relief. On March 4, 2003, Candlewood filed an

amended complaint. The following day, Pan American filed

an original action in the Supreme Court of Argentina against

Candlewood and FSB. In its Argentine action, Pan American

sought a declaration that the parties’ dispute was subject to

the original jurisdiction of the Argentine Supreme Court, the

Argentine federal courts, or the Argentine provincial courts.

In support of its application, Pan American alleged that the

“mere existence of the Delaware action,” and the threat of

restraining orders had caused Pan American to suspend its

drilling operations, and that orders of a Delaware court might

interrupt its operations and force Pan American to breach its

supply contracts. Pan American also sought to join the

Nation of Argentina and the Province of Salta as third

parties, so as to create original jurisdiction in the Argentine

Supreme Court.

Pan American responded to Candlewood’s Delaware Chan-

cery complaint by filing a motion to dismiss or, alternatively,

to stay the Delaware action in favor of its Argentine action.

Thereafter, Candlewood filed a second amended complaint

4a

that dropped all its requests for injunctive relief, including

relief that would require supervision of Pan American’s

conduct on FSB’s land in Argentina. Candiewood and FSB

did, however, continue to assert claim for specific perform-

ance of Pan American’s contractual obligation to purchase

liability insurance.

In their second amended complaint, which is the operative

complaint for purposes of this appeal, Candlewood included

claims for breach of contract, negligence, fraud, tortious

infringement of property rights, and tortious interference with

business relations. Candlewood’s contract claim alleges that

Pari American breached its obligation under the extraction

permits and accompanying correspendence, and that “Can-

dlewood and FSB are entitled to indemnification for their

losses, and [to] specific performance to compel Pan American

to purchase comprehensive liability insurance. . . .” Can-

dlewood’s request for specific performance is the only

reference in its complaint to an equitable remedy.

On May 30, 2003, Candlewood filed a motion in the Court

of Chancery to restrain Pan American from prosecuting its

Argentine action. Candlewood also moved for a declaration

that the Court of Chancery is the appropriate forum to

adjudicate their claims. On June 26, 2003, after a hearing, the

Court of Chancery entered an order restraining Pan American

from interfering with the prosecution of Candlewood’s

motion for a declaration that the Court of Chancery was the

proper forum to adjudicate their claims.

Meanwhile, on June 23, 2003, Pan American filed a second

action in an Argentine provincial court, seeking partial

expropriation of FSB’s land. On September 12, 2003, after

admitted discussions and a meeting among representatives of

Pan American and the Argentine Government, the Nation of

Argentina filed a pleading in Pan American’s Argentine

Supreme Court action, attacking the jurisdiction of the

Delaware courts. In that pleading, the Nation of Argentina,

Sa

referencing the “permanent injunctions” being sought in

Candlewood’s original complaint, claimed that the “basic

institutions of the Nation [were] at risk” because of “the

possibility that gas production in the Acambuco area could be

. . affected” by “one or more rulings by a foreign court.”

That pleading did not disclose to the Argentine Court that

Candlewood was seeking only damages based on common

law claims arising out of private contracts with Pan

American. Nor did that pleading disclose that Candlewood

had previously informed the Court of Chancery (and Pan

American) that they were “not seeking any injunctive relief

requiring supervision of Pan American’s conduct on the land

in Argentina.”

Facts Relating To Forum Non Conveniens Motion

The facts relating to Pan American’s motion to dismiss

Candlewood’s Court «* Chancery action are uncontroverted.

Pan American has tremendous resources at its disposal.

Describing itself as a “leading regional player” in oil and gas

production with operations throughout the Southern Cone of

* Pan American appears to hae used its access to the highest levels of

the Argentine government to influence both this litigation and Pan

American’s second-filed action in Argentina. In connection with the

preliminary injunction hearing in the Court of Chancery, Pan American

wrote a letter to Argentina’s Secretary of Foreign Relations, met with the

legal advisor to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, wrote a letter to the

Secretary of Energy, and spoke with the Secretary of Energy’s legal

advisors. Officials from both ministries wrote letters in support of Pan

American’s position, which Pan American submitted to the Court of

Chancery. Pan American also met with the legal advisor to the Argentine

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, after which the Nation of Argentina appeared

in Pan American’s second-filed Argentine action and attacked the

jurisdiction of the Delaware courts.

>The reason for that omission, Candlewood contends, is that Pan

American did not inform the relevant Argentine governmental officials

that Candlewood intended to seek only money damages relief.

6a

South America, Pan American is the principal vehicle for

BP’s oil and gas activity in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazi!, Chile

and Uruguay. Pan American’s certified reserves approach 2

billion barrels of oil equivalent, and its exploration block

portfolio approximates 5 million net acres.

Pan American conducts significant business in the United

States. When asked in an interrogatory to identify which of its

employees traveled to the United States on business, Pan

American replied that many of its employees “travel abroad

on a regular basis, including to the United States.” Pan

American also stated that it “does not contend that it would

be an undue hardship for some of its employees to travel to

the United States, but it would be unduly burdensome to seek

to identify each person who has traveled to the United States

and the dates of such travel.”

To conduct its international business, Pan American

regularly agrees to litigate in the United States. Its gas export

contracts and crude oil sales contracts provide exclusively for

dispute resolution in the United States, and its financial

agreements specify either English or United States fora. On

three occasions in recent years Pan American has been a

litigant in the United States, including in a Court of Chancery

trial in which Pan American successfully defended a claim

that it be required to post $41 million in collateral under an

indemnity agreement.°

During the discovery proceedings that ultimately resulted

in the decision on Pan American’s motion to dismiss, Pan

American submitted a single “Affidavit Re-Location and

Access to Witnesses and Evidence.” That affidavit identified

no potential witnesses, documents, or evidence outside of Pan

American’s control, or any reason why Pan American would

be unable to present factual evidence respecting damage to

° Ins. Co. of the State of Pa. v. Pan Am. Energy, LLC, C.A. No. 19629,

2003 WL 1432419 (Del. Ch. Mar. 19, 2003).

Ta

FSB’s property through expert testimony, assisted by visual

aids. The discovery also revealed that of the six Pan

American employees who were identified as having the most

knowledge about Pan American’s activities on FSB’s land,

four had traveled internationally on business and three had

traveled to the United States.

Summary of the Court Of Chancery Opinion

In an opinion handed down on October 22, 2003, the Court

of Chancery granted Pan American’s motion to dismiss on

the grounds of lack of subject matter jurisdiction and,

alternatively, forum non conveniens.

As for subject matter jurisdiction, the Court held that none

of Candlewood’s claims was equitable in character and that

although on its face the complaint purported to seek an

equitable remedy—specific performance of Pan American’s

contractual obligation to purchase a policy insuring against

damage to FSB’s land—in reality, Candlewood and FSB’s

claim was one at law for money damages. Because the harm

to the land had already occurred, the remedy would have to

take the form of a monetary award, whether or not Pan

American had purchased an insurance policy. Therefore,

because the complaint did not allege that the remedy at law

was inadequate and specific performance was not necessary

for the relief sought by Candlewood, the Court dismissed the

complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

To summarize meaningfully the Court of Chancery’s forum

non conveniens rulings, it is helpful to discuss first the legal

standard for dismissal under the forum non conveniens

doctrine. Under Delaware law the moving party must

demonstrate, with particularity, that being required to litigate

in Delaware would subject it to overwhelming hardship.

8a

As this Court stated in Warburg, Pincus Ventures, L.P. v.

Schrapper:

Our jurisprudence is clear that a complaint will not be

dismissed on the ground of forum non conveniens

without a showing of overwhelming hardship. While this

standard is not “preclusive,” it requires a defendant to

show that the case “is one of the rare cases where the

drastic relief of dismissal is warranted based on a strong

showing that the burden of litigating in this forum is so

severe as to result in manifest hardship to the

defendant.”

In assessing whether or not overwhelming hardship has

been shown, Delaware courts employ an analysis predicated

upon the six so-called Cryo-Maid” factors,® which are:

(1) the relative ease of access to proof;

(2) the availability of compulsory process for witnesses;

(3) the possibility of a view of the premises;

(4) whether the controversy is dependent upon the

application of Delaware law which the courts of this

State more properly should decide than those of another

jurisdiction;

(5) the pendency or nonpendency of a similar action or

actions in another jurisdiction; and

(6) all other practical problems that would make trial of

the case easy, expeditious, and inexpensive.”

’ 774 A.2d 264, 267 (Del.2001) (footnotes omitted).

* Referring to Gen. Foods Corp. v. Crvo-Maid, Inc., 198 A.2d 681, 684

(Del. 1964).

. Warburg, Pincus, 774 A.2d at 267; Ison v. E.J. DuPont de Nemours

& Co., Inc., 729 A.2d 832, 837-38 (Del.1999).

9a

In its opinion, the Court of Chancery identified these legal

standards accurately. The Court also appropriately framed the

issue, as being “not whether Pan American has shown that

Argentina is a better forum for the litigation, but whether Pan

American has shown with particularity, through one or more

of the Cryo-Maid factors, that litigating in Delaware con-

stitutes an overwhelming hardship.”’° Having analyzed each

of the Cryo-Maid factors, the Court of Chancery ruled-that all

of them favored Pan American, reasoning as follows:

Access To Proof: The Court found that (1) all the

witnesses, physical evidence and documents relating to

Pan American’s defense are located in a remote area of

Argentina, from which traveling to Delaware to litigate

would be “extremely inconvenient;” (2) the five em-

ployees most knowledgeable of Pan American’s activ-

ities in Argentina live in Argentina, speak minimal

English, and are so critical to normal business operations

that if those employees are required to travel to

Delaware for trial, Pan American’s business will suffer

“significant disruption;” (3) the relevant documents are

virtually all in Spanish and are in active use in

Argentina; and (4) securing live testimony of the wit-

nesses and producing English translations of the relevant

documents in Delaware will entail “substantial burdens”

to Pan American, and as a practical matter may cause

Pan American to “suffer the deprivation of live testi-

mony and, resultantly . . . have difficulty presenting

rebuttal testimony.”

Compulsory Process for Witnesses: The Court of Chan-

cery found that it “may have limited powers to compel

access to witnesses and documents,” because although

Argentina is a signatory to the Hague Convention To

'° Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *3.

11

Id.

10a

The Taking Of Evidence Abroad In Civil And Com-

mercial Matters, the Argentine Republic will not execute

Letters of Request for the purpose of obtaining pre-trial

discovery of documents. Because of that reservation to

the Hague Convention, the Court of Chancery stated that

“Pan American may have no pre-trial discovery.”

View of The Premises: The Court of Chancery found that

“the need to view the premises . . . is greater” than in

cases that do not involve injury to real property.

Although video is a substitute, “it is only that--a

substitute,” for which reason (the Court concluded) “Pan

American will clearly suffer difficulties if forced to

litigate in Delaware because the finder of fact cannot

view the premises.””?

Delaware’s Interest in the Litigation: The Court found

Delaware’s interest in a dispute over injury to land in

Argentina is “minimal,” but that:

Argentina, as owner of all oil and gas resources in

Argentina, has a bona fide interest in any com-

pensation paid to FSB due to damage allegedly caused

by Pan American’s operations pursuant to extraction

rights granted to it by Argentina. This interest is not

speculative and is evidenced by the Nation of

Argentina and Province of Salta’s submissions before

the Supreme Court of Argentina. A decision in this

action will likely implicate Argentina’s right to

regulate access to surface property that lies above

government owned oil and gas fields. Furthermore, a

decision will implicate Argentina’s economic interests

because a decision adverse to Pan American may

reduce the revenues Argentina derives from Pan

American’s extraction activities. [Given] the signifi-

2 Td. at *4.

'3 Id.

lla

cant interests of Argentine governmental entities, the

Argentine courts may have exclusive jurisdiction over

this dispute . . . [that] . . . may independently deprive

this Court of its jurisdiction. Regardless, Argentina’s

significant interest in this litigation and Delaware’s

limited interest in this litigation, counsels judicial

discretion strongly in favor of dismissal.'*

Other Pending Litigation: The Court found that an

action “similar to this litigation” was pending before the

Argentine courts, which are as fully capable as the

Delaware courts of resolving disputes of this nature.

Actually, the Argentine courts may be more capable (the

Court of Chancery opined), since they can exercise juris-

diction over the Nation of Argentina and the Province

of Salta.

Other Practical Problems: Lastly, the Court of Chancery

identified a practical problem. FSB had previously

executed and delivered to Pan American, Receipts for

Indemnification in exchange for compensation that Pan

American had paid to FSB for damage caused by its

seismic surveying activity on FSB’s property. The

Receipts for Indemnification contained an exclusive

Argentine forum selection clause. That created a prac-

tical problem, the Court of Chancery found, namely that

because only the Argentine courts had jurisdiction over

damage claims resulting from seismic activities, “it will

be necessary to delineate clearly the line between the

damage caused by the seismic activities and the damage

caused by oil and gas extraction . . . . a complicated task

that could prove unmanageable. Argentine courts would

not face this same definitional problem and could hear

all issues surrounding Pan American’s activities.”

'* Id., 2003 WL 22417235 at *5 (emphasis in original).

'S Id. at *6.

12a

Taking these factors into consideration, the Court of Chan-

cery concluded they showed, in the aggregate, that:

[L]itigating this dispute in Delaware would constitute an

overwhelming hardship to Pan American. Delaware has

little or no interest in resolving this dispute. Plaintiffs

purchased real estate in Argentina. They formed an

Argentine entity to develop the resources located in

Argentina. They negotiated and executed contracts in

Argentina. The breach of these contracts, and the al-

leged tortious conduct attendant thereto, all occurred in

Argentina. Argentine law will govern this dispute.

Finally, Argentine governmental authorities have ex-

pressed a direct interest in this controversy. Litigating

this matter in Delaware, rather than in Argentina, defies

common sense.'°

The Subject Matter Jurisdiction Issue

The first issue raised on this appeal is whether the Court of

Chancery erred in dismissing the complaint for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction. On questions of subject matter

jurisdiction, the applicable standard of review by this Court is

whether the trial court correctly formulated and applied legal

principles.'’ The scope of our review is de novo.'*

As Delaware’s Constitutional court of equity, the Court of

Chancery can acquire subject matter jurisdiction over a cause

in only three ways, namely, if: (1) one or more of the

plaintiff's claims for relief is equitable in character,’ (2) the

ad |

'? Sanders v. Sanders, 570 A.2d 1189, 1190 (Del.1990).

'® Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., 715 A.2d 837, 839 (Del.1998) (citing

Sanders v. Sanders, 570 A.2d at 1190).

'? 10 Del. C. § 341 (“The Court of Chancery shall have jurisdiction to

hear and determine all matters and causes in equity.”); Monroe Park v.

Metro. Life Ins. Co., 457 A.2d 734 (Del.1983).

13a

plaintiff requests relief that is equitable in nature,”’ or (3)

subject matter jurisdiction is conferred by statute. Here, as the

Court of Chancery correctly observed, Candlewood asserts no

equitable claims for relief, nor does it advance any claim

under a statute that vests jurisdiction in the Court of

Chancery. The only claims that Candlewood asserts are

common law claims sounding in tort and contract. Ac-

cordingly, the sole basis for equitable jurisdiction is that

Candlewood’s complaint seeks equitable relief, viz, specific

performance of Pan American’s contractual obligation to

obtain liability insurance covering damage caused to FSB’s

property by Pan American’s extraction activities.

Although specific performance is an equitable remedy

upon which equity jurisdiction might be predicated, that is

true only if the complaint, objectively viewed, discloses a

genuine need for such equitable relief. The fact that a

complaint contains a prayer for an equitable remedy, without

more, does not conclude the jurisdictional analysis. In

deciding whether or not equitable jurisdiction exists, the

Court must look beyond the remedies nominally being

sought, and focus upon the allegations of the complaint in

light of what the plaintiff really seeks to gain by bringing his

or her claim.”’ To say it differently, the appropriate analysis

requires a “realistic assessment of the nature of the wrong

alleged and the remedy available in order to determine

whether a legal remedy is available and fully adequate.”

° 10 Del. C. § 342 (“The Court of Chancery shall not have jurisdiction

to determine any matter wherein sufficient remedy may be had by com-

mon law, or statute, before any other court or jurisdiction of this State.”’);

Heathergreen Commons Condo. Ass'n. v. Paul, 503 A.2d 636

(Del.Ch.1985).

2! Diebold Computer Leasing, Inc. v. Commercial Credit Corp., 267

A.2d 586 (Del.1970); Hughes Tool, Inc. v. Fawcett Publ’n Inc., 297 A.2d

428 (Del.Ch.1972), rev'd on other grounds, 315 A.2d 577 (Del.1974).

22 McMahon v. New Castle Assoc., 532 A.2d 601, 603 (Del.Ch.1987).

l4a

Applying those principles to Candlewood’s complaint, the

Court of Chancery concluded that it did not have equitable

subject matter jurisdiction, because the plaintiffs failed to

allege that they had no adequate remedy at law, and also (and

more importantly) because:

Even if the plaintiffs had alleged that they had an

inadequate remedy at law, a realistic assessment of

whether money damages are sufficient to remedy the

alleged breach of contract demonstrates that such an

allegation would be a facade. The plaintiffs seek to

require Pan American to purchase ‘an insurance policy

covering damage to their property, damage that has

already been inflicted by Pan American’s actions. Even

if Pan American had such an insurance policy, it would

presumably direct monetary payment to the plaintiffs if

damage was done to the property-monetary payment that

plaintiffs can recover as damages without resort to the

extraordinary remedy of specific performance. In fact,

the complaint itself demonstrates that there is an

adequate remedy at law; the complaint seeks money

damages for those harms that would have been covered

by the insurance policy that Pan American allegedly

never purchased. Because plaintiffs can adequately seek

monetary damages in a court of law for Pan American’s

alleged breach of contract, this Court cannot grant

specific performance and, hence, does not have juris-

diction to hear and decide this matter.”

We agree with that analysis. The Court of Chancery did not

err in applying legal precepts or in concluding that it did not

possess subject matter jurisdiction to adjudicate Candle-

wood’s claim. Accordingly, if Delaware is a proper forum for

this dispute, then the court that would have subject matter

jurisdiction is the Superior Court.

> Candlewood, 2003 WL 224172335 at *2.

1Sa

That brings us to the second question, which is whether the

Court of Chancery erred in determining, under forum non

conveniens principles, that the only proper forum for this

dispute is Argentina. We conclude, for the reasons next

discussed, that the Court did so err.

The Forum Non Conveniens Issue

This Court has repeatedly reaffirmed that a defendant that

seeks the dismissal of a first-filed Delaware action on the

ground of forum non conveniens “must establish with

particularity that [it] will be subjected to overwhelming hard-

ship and inconvenience if required to litigate in Delaware.”

That standard imposes a “heavy burden” that a defendant will

meet “only in a ‘rare case.’”*

The Court of Chancery articulated the proper standard for a

forum non conveniens dismissal, but it applied that standard

incorrectly to the facts of the case, for three reasons. First, the

Court imported into its analysis a consideration that is legally

irrelevant and untethered to any hardship to Pan American.

Second, the Court made Cryo-Maid-related factual findings

that were not adequately supported by the record. Third, the

record discloses no other basis to support a finding that Pan

American would suffer overwhelming hardship if required to

litigate in Delaware. To the contrary, the undisputed facts of

record only further confirm that Pan American would not

suffer any significant hardship.

* Ison v. E.l. duPont de Nemours & Co., 729 A.2d 832, 838 (Del.

1999); Mar-Land Indus. Contractors, Inc. v. Carribean Petroleum Ref,

L.P., 777 A.2d 774, 778 (Del.2001); Warburg, Pincus Ventures L.P. v.

Schrapper, 774 A.2d at 267; Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., 689 A.2d 1196,

1199 (Del. 1997).

*S Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 778 (quoting /son, 729 A.2d at 842).

l6a

1. The Relative Interests of Argentina And Delaware in This

Controversy

The factor found to weigh most heavily in favor of the

Court of Chancery’s determination that litigating in Delaware

would constitute an overwhelming hardship to Pan American,

was that Argentina has a far greater interest in the controversy

than does Delaware. The predominate weight given that

factor emerges clearly from the Court’s opinion. Immediately

after finding that overwhelming hardship had been estab-

lished, the Court of Chancery (i) stated that “Delaware has

little or no interest in resolving this dispute;” (11) observed

that all the parties, the contracts and the alleged wrongful

conduct were located in or occurred in Argentina and that

Argentina law would apply; and then (iii) concluded that

“Argentine governmental authorities have expressed a direct

interest in this controversy.””°

The problem with this analysis is that factors that bear on

choice of law or upon the relative interests of Delaware and

Argentina in adjudicating this dispute have no logical rele-

vance to the critical issue, which is whether Pan American

will suffer overwhelming hardship if required to litigate in

Delaware. Because the defendant has the burden to

demonstrate “overwhelming hardship” from litigating a first-

filed case in Delaware, this Court has previously held that

“whether an alternative forum would be more convenient for

the litigation, or perhaps a better location, is irrelevant[;]”~’

and that “the trial court is not permitted to compare Delaware,

the plaintiffs chosen forum, with an alternate forum and

decide which is the more appropriate location for the dispute

to proceed.””* That is what prompted this Court, in Mar-Land

6 Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *6.

2? Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 779.

°8 Id., 777 A.2d at 781 (“the Superior Court improperly weighed the

plaintiff's chosen forum versus the defendant’s preferred forum.”); Tay-

17a

Industries Contractors, Inc. v. Caribbean Petroleum Refining,

L.P., to reverse a dismissal on forum non conveniens grounds,

and to hold that “the Superior Court improperly weighed the

plaintiff's chosen forum versus the defendant’s preferred

forum, a balancing analysis not contemplated by this Court’s

forum non conveniens jurisprudence.”

Even if Argentine law is found to be applicable, “the

application of foreign law is not sufficient reason to warrant

dismissal under the doctrine of forum non conveniens.”*” In

Warburg, Pincus Ventures v. Schrapper, this Court rejected

the argument that “some lesser hardship standard applies”

where the plaintiff is not a Delaware citizen and where “the

defendant’s ‘only connection’ to Delaware is its status as a

Delaware business entity.””’ Affirming the denial of a forum

non conveniens motion, the Warburg Court found that the

defendant “had not established with particularity that it would

face overwhelming hardship if required to litigate in Dela-

ware[,]” observing that:

All of the activities that are the basis of [plaintiff's]

complaint occurred outside of the United States. The

negotiations between the parties took place in Germany

and England, which is also where . . . all of the evidence

is located. Similarly, [plaintiffs] alleged damages

involve interference with his relationships with vari-

ous German entities. ... Warburg argues . . . that either

German law or possibly English law would apply to this

action. . . .°”

lor, 689 A.2d at 1197 (holding that the trial court improperly dismissed on

grounds that a foreign court “would be a ‘more appropriate forum’”).

?9 Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 781.

* Taylor, 689 A.2d at 1200.

*!'774 A.2d at 268, 269.

32-774 A.2d at 267.

18a

By injecting an irrelevant factor into the forum non

conveniens analysis, the Court of Chancery lowered the

applicable standard. It also minimized a significant Delaware

interest in the lawsuit, which is to make available to litigants

a neutral forum to adjudicate commercial disputes against

Delaware entities, even where the dispute involves foreign

law and the parties and conduct are centered in a foreign

jurisdiction. Where, as here, the Delaware action is first-filed,

our jurisprudence views that interest to be sufficiently

important as to impose upon the moving defendant the

“heavy burden” of demonstrating overwhelming hardship

from being required to litigate in Delaware.”°

The governmental interests of Argentina would be a

relevant factor had Pan American moved to dismiss under

Chancery Court Rule 19, on the basis that the Argentine

governmental entities are indispensable parties, such that Pan

American would be prejudiced if this case proceeded in

Delaware without the presence of those Argentine govern-

mental entities. Pan American did advance the argument that

the Argentine courts have exclusive jurisdiction, and both

sides briefed that issue; but rather than decide that juris-

3 The Court of Chancery relied in part upon JM2 Merchandising &

Mfg., Inc. v. Tirex Corp., C.A. No. 18077, 2000 WL 1664168 (Del.Ch.

Nov.2, 2000). That case, which was decided before Warburg, Pincus and

Mar-Land, was cited by the Court of Chancery for the proposition that

“Argentina’s significant interest in this litigation, and Delaware’s limited

interest . . . counsels judicial discretion strongly in favor of dismissal.”

Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *5. But /M2 turned less on the

interests of a foreign forum than on the financial hardship facing the

Quebec-based defendant, which had “iost a good deal of money and [was]

apparently in default of its tax obligations,” and could not “easily bear”

the “markedly increased” costs of litigating in Delaware. Jm2, 2000 WL

1664168 at *9. Pan American faces no such hardship, and it admittedly

“does not contend that it would be an undue hardship for some of its

employees to travel to the United States.” Def.’s Resp. to Pl.’s First Set of

Interrogs., Appellant’s Appendix at 339.

19a

dictional issue directly, the Court of Chancery folded that

question into the “Delaware interest in the litigation” factor of

its forum non conveniens analysis.

It is within that framework that the Court of Chancery

concluded that for it to entertain this breach of contract and

tort action against a private party, “will likely implicate

Argentina’s right to regulate access to surface property . . .

[and] . . . will implicate Argentina’s economic interests,” and

also that “[b]ecause of the significant interests of Argentine

governmental entities, the Argentine courts may have

exclusive jurisdiction over this dispute . . . [that] ma

independently deprive this Court of its jurisdiction.‘

Because that concern was untethered to any asserted hardship

to Pan American, overwhelming or otherwise, the Court of

Chancery erred by injecting the exclusive jurisdiction issue

into a forum non conveniens analytic framework.

2. Erroneous Cryo-Maid Factual Findings

In its opinion the Court of Chancery considered and

assessed the six factors prescribed by Cryo-Maid and its

progeny, that are legally relevant to a forum non conveniens

analysis. Regrettably, the Court’s conclusions relating to

several of those factors were based upon conclusory affidavits

that Pan American had submitted. The Court’s conclusions

failed to take into account controverting evidence submitted

by Candlewood as well as critical admissions by Pan

American. This Court will not upset a trial court’s factual

findings if they are supported by the record and are the

product of an orderly and logical deductive process.*° Here,

several of the Court of Chancery’s critical findings were not

adequately supported by the record and, thus, were erroneous.

#2003 WL 22417235 at *5 (italics in original, underscoring added).

35 See Moss v. Prudential-Bache Sec., Inc., 581 A.2d 1138, 1139-40

(Del.1990).

20a

¢ Access To Proof

Relying solely on two paragraphs in an affidavit describing

the location of certain Pan American employees and

documents, the Court of Chancery found that Pan American’s

expected defense would depend on “witnesses, physical

evidence and documents . . . located in a remote area of

Argentina;” that travel for these witnesses to Delaware for

trial would be “extremely inconvenient” and cause Pan

American to “suffer significant disruption;” and that pro-

ducing English translations of relevant documents in Dela-

ware “will entail substantial burdens to Pan American” and

may cause Pan American to “suffer the deprivation of

live testimony” and to “have difficulty presenting rebuttal

testimony.””°

These findings lack proper record support, and they ignore

admissions by Pan American that significantly, if not fatally,

undercut Pan American’s assertions. Pan American’s affi-

davit amounts essentially to bare conclusions that do not

constitute a “particularized showing that witnesses, docu-

ments, or other evidence necessary to defend the allegations

contained in [Candlewood’s] complaint cannot be brought to

or otherwise produced in Delaware.”*’ Pan American did not

identify any damages evidence that could not be assimilated

and presented in Delaware by an_ expert. Nor

did Pan American show why it needs any fact testimony

(whether live or by deposition) from any Pan American

employee concerning the effect of its extraction activities

upon FSB’s land.

The Court of Chancery’s findings also do not take into

account admissions by Pan American that significantly under-

cut its assertions of hardship. In its response to inter-

*€ Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *3-6.

37 Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 781.

\

2la

rogatories, Pan American admitted that “it does not contend

that it would be an undue hardship for some of its employees

to travel to the United States.”** Pan American also admitted

that four of the six employees referenced in its affidavit as

most knowledgeable, had traveled internationally on business

in recent years, and that three had traveled to the United

States. Finally, Pan American admitted that it customarily

enters into contracts that include forum selection clauses that

require it to litigate in the United States and the United

Kingdom, and that recently it had defended a case in the

Court of Chancery. The Court of Chancery’s opinion does not

come to grips with, or acknowledge, those admitted facts.

* Availability of Compulsory Process

Regarding this factor, the Court found that “[a]s a result of

Argentina’s reservation to the Hague Convention, Pan

American may have no pre-trial discovery.” Aside from the

fact that Pan American never made that argument in the Court

of Chancery (and its brief on appeal cites no record evidence

to support this claim), Pan American never identified any

potential witnesses or documents that are not under its

control, or any third party witness in Argentina or elsewhere

from whom it would wish to obtain discovery. Nor did Pan

American suggest that there exists potential evidence in

Argentina or elsewhere that Pan American might want or be

unable to obtain in discovery. Consequently, there is no

identified record support for the Court of Chancery’s finding

that Pan American “may have no pre-trial discovery.”

¢ View of the Premises

Although Candlewood attached to its complaint its expert’s

reports that contain various charts and drawings, Pan

American asserted in the Court of Chancery, and urges on

this appeal, that this action “unquestionably requires that the

- See, note 33, supra.

22a

finder of fact undertake an up close and detailed view of the

premises at issue.’ Pan American did not explain how its

expert or factual presentation would be inhibited by the

absence of a view of the premises, or how an “up close and

detailed view” would help the Court assess how many

hundred acres of forest were taken out of production, or how

many hundreds of thousands of square meters of earth were

excavated. Pan American also made no effort to explain why

video technology and other visual aids would be less

informative than an in-person expedition.

Despite the lack of a particularized record on these issues,

the Court of Chancery appears to have accepted uncritically

Pan American’s assertion that “this factual dispute cannot

come to resolution without a view of the premises and,

therefore, it will suffer overwhelming hardship if forced to

litigate here.”*° Neither Pan American nor the Court cited any

case in which forced reliance on video or other visual aids, in

lieu of a personal inspection, was found to constitute a

hardship." The Court’s finding on this factor lacks

evidentiary and legal support.

¢ Whether The Controversy is Dependent Upon The Appli-

cation of Delaware Law

The fourth Cryo-Maid factor is “whether the controversy is

dependent upon the application of Delaware law which the

courts of this State more properly should decide than those of

°° Appellee’s Ans. Br. at 19.

*° Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *4.

*! The Court of Chancery relied upon a pre-video-era case, in which a

jury’s view of real property years after its condemnation was deemed to

be not misleading and prejudicial and a “valuable aid,” chiefly because the

jury otherwise would have “had to guess as to the surroundings and the

neighborhood.” Woodlands Cemetery Co. v. U.S., 110 F.Supp. 704, 706

(E.D.Pa.1953).

23a

another jurisdiction.””** This factor weighs slightly, although

not significantly, in Pan American’s favor. The Court of

Chancery found that Argentine law would apply to Can-

dlewood’s claims.*? Candlewood disputes that finding, but

even if Delaware law were applicable, it has not been shown

that this case depends upon the application of Delaware law

that more properly should be decided by Delaware courts. On

the other hand, if Argentine law is found to apply, that alone

“is not sufficient reason to warrant dismissal under the

doctrine of forum non conveniens.”™

9942

Pan American has failed to articulate any hardship that

would result from a Delaware court applying Argentine law.

The expense and inconvenience of translating pertinent legal

precedent, of retaining foreign lawyers, and of producing

foreign law experts to testify at trial, has not been shown to

be of material weight in an overwhelming hardship analysis

in this particular case.*° Accordingly, this factor, although

favoring Pan American, falls far short of satisfying the

standard for a forum non conveniens dismissal.

* Lack of A Prior Pending Action

Although the Court of Chancery found that “an action

similar to this litigation . . . [is] . . . pending before the

Argentine courts,””° the record shows that the Pan American

lawsuits pending in Argentina are not “similar.” No action

was “pending” in Argentina at the time Candlewood filed this

Delaware action asserting common law tort and contract

claims for damage to property. Pan American’s second-filed

action in the Argentina Supreme Court does not seek a

* Ison, 729 A.2d at 838.

* Candlewood, 2003 WL 22427235 at *4, n. 30.

7 Taylor v. LSI Logic, Inc., 689 A.2d at 1200; Ison, 729 A.2d at 838.

* See Warburg, Pincus, 774 A.2d at 271.

“© Candlewood, 2003 WL 22417235 at *5.

24a

declarution to the contrary, i.e, that it is not liable to

Candlewood for property damage. Pan American’s lawsuit

seeks only a declaration that its dispute with Candlewood

is subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of specified Argen-

tine courts.

Pan American’s second Argentine lawsuit does not impli-

cate Candlewood’s Delaware claims either, because (1) that

action does not seek a declaration of non-liability for damage

to land resulting from expropriation, (ii) that action seeks

only a partial court-ordered expropriation of FSB’s land, and

(111) even if expropriation relief were granted, that would not

affect Candlewood’s claims, all of which would have arisen

pre-expropriation. Thus, the Court’s finding of an action

“similar to this litigation” pending in Argentina lacks support

in the record.

¢ Other Practical Problems

The “practical problem” identified by the Court of Chan-

cery is that it will be difficult to distinguish between the

extraction-related property damage claimed by plaintiffs in

this action and the property damage resulting from Pan

American’s seismic activities for which FSB has already been

compensated and given a release. That factor favored the

Argentine forum, the Court of Chancery found, because

Argentine courts would not face that definitional problem,

whereas a Delaware court would.

That conclusion is erroneous, because whichever court

hears and decides Candlewood’s claims, whether in Delaware

or Argentina, will be required to engage in the task of

delineating between the two different sources of damage.

This practical problem, to the extent it exists, does not depend

on the locus of the litigation. That is, if this constitutes a

hardship to Pan American (or to anyone else), it is not a

hardship that results from litigating in Delaware. Accord-

ingly, the finding that this factor favored Argentina rests on

an incorrect premise.

25a

For these reasons, the Court of Chancery’s assessment of

the Cryo-Maid factors, and its conclusion that those factors

establish overwhelming hardship, are not adequately

supported by the record.

3. The Absence Of A Showing Of Overwhelming Hardship

Although the foregoing analysis would be a sufficient

basis, in and of itself, to conclude that Pan American failed to

meet its forum non conveniens burden, we have searched the

record for other significant evidence of hardship, but have

found none. Indeed, all the relevant evidence points to the

conclusion that Pan American is in no position to argue that

being required to litigate in Delaware would inflict a hardship

upon it.

Pan American is a corporation with vast economic

resources. It engages in operations on an international scale.

As previously noted, Pan American’s operations cause it

frequently to enter into oil and gas supply contracts that

contain forum selection clauses which require Pan American

to litigate in the United States. Those facts are flatly

inconsistent with Pan American’s claim of hardship, as is the

fact that Pan American recently defended a litigation in the

Court of Chancery.

* * *

As earlier noted, it is our view that the real “driver” of the

result reached by the Court of Chancery is the possibility that

the Argentine courts have exclusive jurisdiction over the

subject matter of the Delaware action. The parties argued

both sides of that issue before the Court of Chancery and this

Court. Had the Court of Chancery addressed this issue

directly, as distinguished from treating it as a Cryo-Maid

factor within the framework of a forum non conveniens

analysis, a decision on that question, if favorable to Pan

American’s position, would have constituted an independent

basis for dismissing the action.

26a

Normally, we would remand the case to the trial court to

decide that question in the first instance. But because all

parties ask this Court to decide whether subject matter

jurisdiction is concurrent or is vested exclusively in the

Argentine courts, and because that issue is one of law and

if resolved in favor of Pan American would result in

an affirmance, we decide that question in the interests of judi-

cial economy.’

The Exclusive Jurisdiction Issue

In limited circumstances as discussed below, Delaware

courts will not exercise subject matter jurisdiction over a

dispute that is predicated on foreign law where the foreign

state has vested jurisdiction exclusively in its own courts."

The issue is whether Argentina has vested jurisdiction over

this particular kind of dispute exclusively in its own courts.

Pan American argues that Argentina has done that, because:

(1) the Argentine Constitution vests exclusive jurisdiction in

its courts over actions where the Argentine Nation or a

Province is a party; (2) Argentine law vests exclusive

jurisdiction in its courts (a) over disputes concerning real

property, and (b) over disputes involving issues of envir-

onmental protection, especially where the rights and obli-

gations of an oil and gas concessionaire are implicated; and

(3) the dispute implicates issues of public policy which

demand that exclusive jurisdiction be in Argentina.

*’ This Court may decide any issue fairly presented to the trial court

and a question not so presented if the interests of justice require re-

view. Supr. Ct. R. 8; Standard Distrib. Co. v. Nally, 630 A.2d 640, 647

(Del.1993).

*8 See Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., 715 A.2d 837 (Del.1998); see also

Ison v. E.l. DuPont de Nemours & Co., Inc., 729 A.2d 832, 838, n. 14

(Del.1999) (in Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., “[{t}his Court affirmed the

dismissal . . . finding that the Canadian law at issue actually required

adjudication in a Canadian Court, leaving the Court of Chancery with no

subject matter jurisdiction.”)

27a

On the question of whether exclusive jurisdiction has been

vested in the Argentine courts, Pan American, as the

proponent of that contention, has the burden of persuasion.

We conclude that none of Pan American’s arguments has

merit and that Pan American has not met its burden. We

further conclude that the claims for relief being asserted by

Candlewood in Delaware are transitory claims that have not

been localized under Argentine law, and over which the

courts of Delaware have concurrent jurisdiction.

1. The Demerit of Pan American’s Exclusive Jurisdiction

Arguments

Pan American first argues that Article 117 of the Argentine

Constitution confers ab initio jurisdiction to hear and decide

all disputes involving the Argentine national government or a

Province thereof. Even if correct, that proposition has no

relevance to this Delaware action, because no claims are

being asserted in Delaware against the Argentine national

government or the Province of Salta. Nor does Pan American

claim that those Argentine governmental entities are indis-

pensable to a just adjudication of Candlewood’s claims,

within the meaning of Court of Chancery Rule 19.”

Similarly irrelevant is Pan American’s second argument,

which is that Argentine law vests exclusive jurisdiction in its

” According to the unrebutted Affidavit of Professor Saul Litvinoff,

one of Candlewood’s foreign law experts, under Argentine law the

Argentine nation or an Argentine province can only be made a party to

litigation if they have “a direct, substantial and immediate interest in the

merits of the litigation involved. A formal or indirect interest will not

suffice.” (Litvinoff Supplementary Aff., {J 3, 5). According to Professor

Litvinoff, the Argentine government has no such direct, substantial or

immediate interest, because this dispute does not involve title to minerals

owned by the government, the government will not be directly affected by

a money judgment against Pan American, and resolution of the dispute is

based on clear rules of law, not discretionary principles of public policy.

(/d., at {9} 5, 9).

28a

courts over disputes concerning real property and disputes

involving issues of environmental protection. That argument

is not analytically helpful, because this dispute is about

compensation for harm to privately-owned land, not about

ownership rights to real property or issues involving

protection of the environment. As set forth in Section 87 of

the Restatement (Second) Conflict of Laws (1971), “[a] state

may entertain an action that seeks to recover compensation

for a trespass upon or harm done to land in another state.”

Comment a to that Section explains that “[sJuch an action

does not seek to affect title to foreign land, as would a bill to

quiet titlef.]”°°

Finally, Pan American relies upon a theory of its foreign

law expert, Dr. Horacio A. Grigera Naon, that there are issues

of public policy implicated in this dispute that require

exclusive jurisdiction in Argentina. Dr. Naén’s opinion, how-

ever, is disputed by an equally plausible opinion artic-

ulating the contrary view. According to Professor Litvinoff,

there are no principles of public policy that affect the parties’

legal rights, but even in cases that do involve the Argentine

public interest, “this does not mean that the jurisdiction of

Argentine courts is exclusive; thus, the fact that rules of

public policy must be applied in the resolution of a particular

case does not negate the existence of concurrent jurisdiction

in other courts[.]’°' Given these disputed expert opinions and

~ Consistent with the Restatement rule is Professor Litvinoff’s

affidavit testimony that under the Argentine Civil Code, “an action by the

owner of immovable property against an oil and gas concessionaire for

trespass, damage to property, or breach of contract can be brought in

Argentina or abroad.” (Litvinoff Supplementary Aff., § 7). Pan American

argues that ownership of an oil or gas concession is a “real” or “in rem”

right, but this case does not involve Pan American’s or FSB’s title. While

FSB owns real property, what is principally at issue here is compensation

for damage to trees, use of earth, and interference with the plaintiffs’

sustainable forestry business.

*' Id., at 910.

29a

Pan American’s inability to cite any Argentine legal authority

supportive of its position—including any statute that purports

to localize the claims being asserted here in the Argentine

courts—we conclude that Pan American has not miet its

burden of establishing that jurisdiction over this dispute has

been vested exclusively in the Argentine courts.

2. Delaware’s Concurrent Jurisdiction Over The Plaintiffs’

Transitory Causes of Action

Our conclusion does not rest solely upon Pan American’s

failure to carry its burden, however. The facts of record in

this case, and the rules of law applicable thereto, affirm-

atively establish that Candlewood’s claims against Pan

American are transitory. By definition a transitory claim is

one that can be brought in the jurisdiction where a defendant

resides, in this case, Delaware.

As stated in Professor Moore’s treatise, “[an] action is

transitory, even though it may affect land, if the type of relief

requested is personal in nature so that the court acts on the

defendant’s person or personal property, which is within its

control, and not directly on the lands involved... . [M]ost

types of actions are considered transitory even though the

outcome of the litigation may affect property.”*” Consistent

with that fundamental principle is the uncontroverted opinion

testimony of Arthur Taylor Von Mehren, Story Professor of

Law Emeritus at Harvard Law School. Professor Von Mehren

States that the “contract and tort claims pled by the plaintiffs

are today considered transitory in nature,” and that “(njo

*? Moore's Federal Practice, § 110.20[2] (3rd ed.2002).

* Affidavit of Arthur T. Von Mehren, § 12: accord, Forest Products

Co. v. Magistrelli, 14 A.2d 397, 400 (Del.Super.1940) (“An action to

recover damages for breach of contract is transitory{.]”); Eugene F.

Scoles, et. al., Conflict of Laws 368 (3rd ed.2000) (stating that jurisdiction

over tort claims respecting injury to real property “exists in the state that

is the situs of the realty, and other states with which the defendant has a

purposeful, related connection.”’)

30a

contemporary legal order’s law of contract or tort seeks to

localize in principle actions sounding in tort or contract.”°*

Pan American does not straightforwardly confront this

issue or address that analysis. Instead, it contends that this

dispute is akin to that involved in Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp.,

where this Court held that a Canadian statute (Section 241 of

the Canada Business Corporations Act) which provided

an “oppression remedy” for minority stockholders and

authorized suit only in specified Canadian courts, deprived

the Delaware courts of subject matter jurisdiction to grant the

requested equitable relief that the plaintiff was seeking under

that statute.°’ We disagree. Taylor undercuts Pan American’s

case rather than supports it.

Taylor is properly analyzed within the framework of the

general rule that was first articulated in 1914 in Tennessee

Coal, Iron & R.R. Co. v. George.*® The issue in Tennessee

Coal was whether an injured employee could bring suit

against his employer in Georgia, under an Alabama statute

that created tort liability for an employer if the employee

suffered injury due to defective machinery. The Alabama

statute also provided that relief under the statute could only

be sought in an Alabama court. The United States Supreme

Court held that the employee could bring suit under the

statute in Georgia, because “the place of bringing the suit is

not part of the cause of action—the right and remedy are not

so inseparably united as to make the right dependent upon its

*# Von Mehren Aff., 4] 23. Consistent with Professor Von Mehren’s

testimony on that point is that of Professor Litvinoff, who states that

damage claims for breach of contract, tort and restitution under the Civil

Code of Argentina against a private entity are similarly transitory.

(Litvinoff Aff., 4% 7-9; Litvinoff Supplementary Aff., 4] 3-5).

°° 715 A.2d 837, 842 (Del.1988).

© 933 U.S. 354, 34 S.Ct. 587, 58 L.Ed. 997 (1914).

3la

being enforced in a particular tribunal.”*’ Observing that for

various practical reasons a plaintiff might want to bring suit

“in a state other than where the injury was inflicted,” the

Court held that:

“[A] state cannot create a transitory cause of action and

at the same time destroy the right to sue on that

transitory cause of action in any court having jurisdic-

tion. That jurisdiction is to be determined by the law of

the court’s creation and cannot be defeated by the

extraterritorial operation of a statute of another State,

even though it created the right of action.””®

In Taylor this Court found that the general rule of

Tennessee Coal did not apply, because “the oppression rem-

edy in Section 241[was] purely a legislatively created

statutory remedy,” and “it was the intent of the [Canadian]

Parliament that actions brought under Section 241 of the

Canada Business Corporations Act be brought only in the

courts of Canada identified in Section 2 of the Canadian

Act.” That is, in Taylor, the right and the remedy were

found to be so inseparably intertwined that equitable relief

under the statute could only be obtained from one of the

specific Canadian tribunals mandated in the statute. That is

not the case here.

This case requires the application of the general rule of

Tennessee Coal rather than the analysis applied in Taylor.

Here, unlike Taylor (or, for that matter, unlike Tennessee

Coal ), the plaintiffs here are asserting claims arising under

common law, not under an Argentine statute that purports to

localize those claims exclusively within the Argentine court

*” Id. at 359.

*8 Id. at 360.

® Taylor, 715 A.2d at 840, n. 13.

© Id. at 841.

32a

system. Moreover, here the plaintiffs’ causes of action are not

(as was found to be the case in Taylor) so inseparabiy

intertwined with a statutorily-created remedy that the right

can be enforced only in the statutorily-mandated tribunal.

This case is more akin to Randall v. Arabian American Oil

Co.,°' where the plaintiff brought a claim in the United States

District Court for wrongful discharge from his employment

with a Saudi Arabian oil company. Rejecting the argument

that the Saudi Arabian Labor Law vested exclusive

jurisdiction over such claims in the Saudi Arabian courts, the

Fifth Circuit described the claim as “a classic example of a

transitory cause of action that may be enforced in any foreign

court having subject matter and in personam jurisdiction, and

it held that:

It stands to reason that if the Full Faith and Credit

Clause of the United States Constitution, which is the

Supreme Law of the land, does not compel one state

from recognizing the exclusive jurisdiction provisions of

a sister state, then we see little or no reason why in a

transnational case, such as this, where no higher positive

law binds us, we should be compelled to give effect to a

foreign state’s exclusive jurisdiction provision.

For these reasons, we conclude that the claims being

asserted here, although not sufficient to confer equitable juris-

diction, are by their nature transitory, and therefore are prop-

erly brought in the Superior Court of the State of Delaware.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Court of

Chancery is affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded

with instructions that the case be transferred to the Superior

Court under 10 Del. C. § 1902.

°' 778 F.2d 1146 (Sth Cir.1985).

°° Id. at 1153.

33a

APPENDIX B

COURT OF CHANCERY OF DELAWARE

No. Civ. A. 20135-NC

CANDLEWOOD TIMBER GROUP LLC and

Forestal Santa Barbara SRL,

Plaintiffs,

V.

PAN AMERICAN ENERGY LLC,

Defendant.

Submitted Sept. 29, 2003

Decided Oct. 22, 2003

MEMORANDUM OPINION

CHANDLER, J.

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Candlewood Timber Group LLC (“Candlewood’’)

is a Delaware limited liability company that formed an

Argentine subsidiary, Forestal Santa Barbara SRL (“FSB”),

which purchased approximately 250,000 acres of land in the

Argentine Province of Salta. Candlewood and FSB are in the

business of selling wood products derived from forests

managed in an environmentally friendly manner. Candlewood

and FSB allege that their business depends on the ability to

obtain certification from an internationally recognized fores-

try organization that FSB’s lands are managed sustainably.

Defendant Pan American Energy L.L.C. (“Pan American”) is

a Delaware limited liability company that engages in oil and

34a

gas extraction.’ Pan American is the majority owner and

operator of a consortium of companies that were granted

concessionary rights by the Argentine Republic, the owner of

al! oil and gas rights in Argentina, to extract oil and gas in the

Province of Salta, including lands owned by FSB.

Pan American has the right to extract oil and gas under-

neath FSB’s land and sought permission from FSB to enter its

land for this purpose. FSB, at Candlewood’s direction, issued

two permits for Pan American to enter FSB’s land. These

permits obligated Pan American to purchase comprehensive

liability insurance, to hold harmless FSB: from any claims by

third parties, and indemnify FSB for any damage caused to

“properties or any other assets (moveable or real estate)

owned by FSB whether the damage is produced directly or

indirectly by any employee or person or company contracted

by Pan American, with obligation to repair or replace the

asset damaged at the choice of FSB, immediately.”

Pan American initialed one of the permits and proceeded to

enter FSB’s land to perform oil and gas exploration and

extraction. Candlewood and FSB allege that Pan American

operations inflicted significant damage on the property.

They also allege that this damage has prevented the plaintiffs

from having their forest products certified as coming from

sustainable sources.

' Pan American operates in Argentina through a “branch,” that is sim-

ilar to a wholly-owned subsidiary.

> Second Am. Compl. § 24. Plaintiffs also allege that there was

accompanying correspondence and oral communications to the issuance

of the permits in which plaintiffs explained to Pan American their

sustainable forestry plans and the need to obtain third-party certification.

It is also alleged that in these communications Pan American agreed to

limit its impact to the land, conduct environmental impact assessments,

and engage in certain environmental remediation activities. See Second

Am. Compl. 4 21-27.

35a

Plaintiffs allege five counts in their Second Amended

Complaint: (1) Breach of Contract; (2) Negligence; (3) Fraud;

(4) Tortious Infringement of Property Rights; and (5)

Tortious Interference with Business Relations. The contract

claim alleges that Pan American breached its obligations

under the permits and accompanying correspondence and that

“Candlewood and FSB are entitled to indemnification for

their losses, and specific performance to compel Pan Ameri-

can to purchase comprehensive liability insurance, as Pan

American committed to do.”? The prayer for relief seeks an

“order compelling Pan American to obtain and maintain in

effect sufficient casualty, liability and fire insurance policies

to protect FSB against any loss of value to the Candlewood

Forest Property from casualty, including, without limitation,

forest fire, and any liability and injury to employees, agents,

contractors or other representatives of Plaintiffs, and to

include Plaintiffs as named insureds of such policies.’ This

request for specific performance is the only reference in the

complaint to an equitable remedy.

If. ANALYSIS

The plaintiffs’ complaint is dismissed on two independent

and alternative grounds. First, the complaint fails to invoke

this Court’s equity jurisdiction. Second, Delaware is not the

proper forum for this dispute.

A. Equity Jurisdiction

By common-law tradition and statute, this Court does “not

have jurisdiction to determine any matter wherein sufficient

remedy may be had by common law, or statute, before any

other court or jurisdiction of this State.”° A legal remedy, i.e.,

* Second Am. Compl. 4 45.

* Second Am. Compl. 4 (A).

* 10 Del. C. § 342.

36a

money damages, is “sufficient” if it is “complete, practical,

and efficient.”° As applied to this action, if money damages

are a sufficient remedy to Pan American’s alleged breach of

contract, I will dismiss the complaint for lack of jurisdiction.’

“Equitable jurisdiction must be determined from the face of

the complaint as of the time of filing, with all material factual

allegations viewed as true.”® But this Court will go behind the

“facade of prayers” to determine the “true reason” for which

Candlewood and FSB brought suit.” Then-Chancellor Allen

described the applicable jurisdictional analysis as “a realistic

assessment of the nature of the wrong allegéd and the remedy

available in order to determine whether legal remedy is

available and fully adequate.”"”

I should i>te at the outset that the plaintiffs’ complaint

does not allege “at there is an inadequate remedy at law.

There is no allegation that a multiplicity of suits at common

law will be required to cure the asserted wrong with finality.

° In re Wife, K., 297 A.2d 424 (Del. Ch.1972).

’ None of the plaintiffs’ five claims implicate matters over which this

Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 10 Del. C. § 341, e.g., a claim for

breach of fiduciary duty. If jurisdiction exists, it only exists because there

is no adequate remedy at law. The parties did not brief this issue directly,

but “it is clear that, unlike many jurisdictions, judges in the Delaware

Court of Chancery are obligated to decide whether a matter comes within

the equitable jurisdiction of this Court regardless of whether the issue has

been raised by the parties.” JBM Corp. v. Comdisco, Inc., 602 A.2d 74, 77

n. 5 (Del. Ch.1991). See also Glanding v. Industrial Trust Co., 45 A.2d

553, 554 (Del.1945) (issue of equitable jurisdiction was raised on appeal

“not by the parties but by the Court itself’); Del. Ch. Ct. R. 12(h)(3)

(“whenever it appears by suggestion of the parties or otherwise that the

court jacks jurisdiction of the subject matter, the Court shall dismiss

the matter’).

5 IBM Corp. v. Comdisco, Inc., 602 A.2d 74, 78 (Del. Ch.1991).

” Id.

'° McMahon v. New Castle Assocs., 532 A.2d 601, 603 (Del. Ch.1987).

5

37a

There is no allegation that Pan American is insolvent or

otherwise in such dire financial straits that execution on a

money judgment would fail. It does not appear from the face

of the complaint that a trier of fact would be unable to

quantify the damages arising from the alleged breach of

contract. And there is no allegation that the subject matter of

the action is unique or of some special value to Candlewood

and FSB that defies valuation. In short, the complaint sets out

no basis at all for establishing equity jurisdiction other than

“a kind of formulaic ‘open sesame’”'’ by the use of the

words “specific performance.” Such an “incantation of magic

words” is insufficient. '*

Even if the plaintiffs had alleged that they had an inade-

quate remedy at law, a realistic assessment of whether money

damages are sufficient to remedy the alleged breach of

contract demonstrates that such an allegation would be a

facade. The plaintiffs seek to require Pan American to

purchase an insurance policy covering damage to their

property, damage that has already been inflicted by Pan

American’s actions. Even if Pan American had such an

insurance policy, it would presumably direct monetary

payment to the plaintiffs if damage was done to the property-

monetary payment that plaintiffs can recover as damages

without resort to the extraordinary remedy of specific

performance. In fact, the complaint itself demonstrates that

there is an adequate remedy at law; the complaint seeks

money damages for those harms that would have been

covered by the insurance policy that Pan American allegedly

'' IBM Corp., 602 A.2d at 78.

- McMahon, 532 A.2d at 603. In fact, looking at the complaint as a

whole, it appears that the request for specific performance is a

disingenuous jurisdictional hook and that plaintiffs truly seek money

damages. But for my conclusion that Delaware is an inconvenient forum,

this matter would be transferred to the Superior Court pursuant to 10 Del.

C. § 1902.

38a

never purchased. Because plaintiffs can adequately seek

monetary damages in a court of law for Pan American's

alleged breach of contract, this Court can not grant specific

performance and, hence, does not have jurisdiction to hear

and decide this matter.’

B. Forum Non Conveniens

A complaint is dismissed on forum non conveniens grounds

when a defendant demonstrates that litigating in Delaware

would impose on it an “overwhelming hardship.”'* In

determining whether Pan American has demonstrated an

overwhelming hardship, this Court considers the six Cyro-

Maid factors.' The six factors are: (1) ease of access to

proof; (2) availability of compulsory process for witnesses;

(3) possibility of the view of the premises; (4) whether the

controversy is dependent upon application of Delaware law;

(5) the pendency of a similar action in another jurisdiction;

and (6) other practical problems. '°

Pan American “must show ‘with particularity’ that one or

more of these factors, individually or together, imposes an

‘overwhelming hardship.’””'’ The Supreme Court’s reference

'? See, e.g., Theis v. Board of Education, 2000 Del. LEXIS 48 (Del.

Ch.) (dismissing for lack of jurisdiction where adequate remedy at law

existed for breach of contract claim); Manchester v. Narragansett Capital,

Inc., 1989 Del. LEXIS 141 (Del. Ch.) (finding specific performance an

unnecessary remedy where money damages are adequate).

'* Mar-Land Industrial Contractors, Inc. v. Caribbean Petroleum Re-

fining, L.P., 777 A.2d 774 (Del.2001); Warburg, Pincus Ventures, L.P. v.

Dietrich K.H. Schrapper, M.D., 774 A.2d 264 (Del.2001).

'S Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 778.

” / (citing /son v. DuPont de Nemours, 729 A.2d 832 (Del.1999);

General Foods Corp. v. Cyro-Maid, Inc., 474 A.2d 681 (Del.1964)).

'7 Id. (citing Ison, 729 A.2d at 838; Williams Gas Supply Co. v. Apache

Corp., 594 A.2d 34, 36 (Del.1991). See also Warburg, 774 A.2d at 271

(“through the combination and weight of any or all of the . . . factors”).

39a

to “particularity” has established that “bare allegations of

inconvenience without an adequate showing of particulars of

the hardships” will not suffice.'* Furthermore, the Supreme

Court has held that “it does not matter whether only one of

the Cyro-Maid factors favors defendant or all of them do”!”

because “whether an alternative forum would be more

convenient for the litigation, or perhaps a better location, is

irrelevant.”*” The issue is not whether Pan American has

shown that Argentina is a better forum for the litigation, but

whether Pan American has shown with particularity, through

one or more of the Cyro-Maid factors, that litigating in

Delaware constitutes an overwhelming hardship.

Access to Proof and Compulsory Process for Witnesses.

The first two factors involve similar considerations and

essentially seek to ascertain whether Pan American’s ability

to establish its defense is significantly impaired by litigating

in Delaware. This analysis requires a consideration of what

defenses Pan American proposes to rely on and an

identification of “specific pieces of evidence [or witnesses]

necessary to its defense that it will not be able to produce in

Delaware.””'

Although Pan American has not filed an answer in this

case, it is clear that Pan American intends to contest that it

damaged FSB’s land to the extent alleged and that the

witnesses, physical evidence, and documents related to this

defense are located in a remote area of Argentina. Travel to

and from this location for litigation in Delaware is extremely

inconvenient. The travel time is of a magnitude considerably

greater than that found not to work an overwhelming hardship

in Warburg.*’ Moreover, the five employees most knowl-

'* Id. at 780.

'° Chrysler First, 669 A.2d at 108 (emphasis added).

°° Mar-Land, 777 A.2d at 779.

*" Id. at 781.

*? Warburg involved travel to and from major metropolitan areas in

40a

edgeable of Pan American’s activities in Argentina live,

unsurprisingly, in Argentina and speak minimal English.”

These employees are also critical to normal business oper-

ations and Pan American’s business will suffer significant

disruption if they must travel to Delaware for trial.

Furthermore, all of the documents relating to this case are in

active use in Argentina and virtually all of the documents are

in Spanish. Securing live testimony of these witnesses and

producing English translations of the relevant documents in

Delaware will entail substantial burdens to Pan American.

Practically, in order to litigate in Delaware, Pan American

may suffer the deprivation of live testimony and, resultantly,

may have difficulty presenting rebuttal testimony.

Additionally, this Court may have limited powers to com-

pel access to witnesses and documents, at least at a pre-trial

stage. Argentina is a signatory of the Hague Convention on

Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil and Commercial

Matters.** The Supreme Court has recognized that use of

the Hague Convention’s procedures for securing evidence is

cumbersome.2> Under the Convention’s procedures, this

Court may issue a “Letter of Request” directed at the

Argentine Ministry of Foreign Relations and Culture to obtain

evidence. The Ministry of Foreign Relations and Culture then

transmits the letter to a judicial authority competent to

execute the request. Notably, however, Argentina included as

a reservation to its accession to the Convention the following

language: “The Argentine Republic will not execute Letters

Germany and England, 774 A.2d at 270.

*> The facts regarding the location and access to witnesses and evi-

dence were established through the affidavit of Fernando Villarreal, Gas

Operations Vice President at Pan American.

** Opened for signature March 18, 1970, 23 U.S.T. 2555, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1781.

5 Ison, 729 A.2d at 843.

4la

of Request issued for the purpose of obtaining pre-trial

discovery of documents as known in the common law

countries.”“° As a result of Argentina’s reservation to the

Hague Convention, Pan American may have no pre-

trial discovery.

View of the Premises. As noted, the essential damages

issue in this case is whether Pan American caused harm to

FSB’s land. Plaintiffs’ central allegation is that “Pan

American has engaged in mammoth excavation activities on

FSB’s property that have inflicted and continue to inflict

widespread, unremediated damage.””’ The case will un-

doubtedly contain dueling expert opinions on the scope of the

alleged damage. Pan American asserts that this factual

dispute cannot come to resolution without a view of the

premises and, therefore, it will suffer overwhelming hardship

if forced to litigate here. Delaware cases that have considered

this factor have concluded that, to the extent that a view of

the premises is necessary, video is a reasonable substitute.”®

*° See Hague Conference on Private International Law, Full Status

Report Convention # 20 (Aug. 21, 2003), at Attp:/www.hcch . net/e/

status/stat20e.html.

” Second Am. Compl. § 4. The plaintiffs allege that this damage has

resulted in “degradation of the environment and biodiversity” of FSB’s

land through “fragmentation of habitats,” “creation of access corridors

that facilitated the illegal intrusion of hunters and cattle,” and “invasion of

exotic .. . species.” /d. at § 37.

8 See Ison v. E.l. Dupont De Nemours & Co., 729 A.2d 832, 837

(Del.1999); Texas Instruments v. Cyrix Corp., 1994 Del. LEXIS 31, 18-19

(Del. Ch.); Sequa Corp. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 1990 Del.

LEXIS 303 (Del.Super.). But see McDonald’s Corp. v. Bukele, 960

F.Supp. 1311, 1319 (U.S.Dist.1997) (“a view of the premises may be

necessary”); Miller v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 529 A.2d 263, 270 (Del.

Super. 1987) (“[t]o the extent it is necessary .. . it is more easily done by

the [foreign court]”); Moffitt v. Illinois Power Co., 248 Ill.App.3d 752,

761 (Ill_App.1993) (“if a view of the premises were necessary it would be

more convenient” to travel from the foreign court).

42a

None of these cases, however, involved complex factual

disputes related to injury done to real property; the need to

view the premises, in my opinion, is greater in the instant

case. Video is a substitute, but it is only that-a substitute. Pan

American will clearly suffer difficulties if forced to litigate

in Delaware because the finder of fact cannot view the

premises.””

Delaware’s Interest in the Litigation. Delaware’s interest in

a dispute regarding injury to land located in Argentina is

minimal, especially since the conduct alleged to have caused

that injury occurred in Argentina. A preliminary analysis of

the relevant choice of law principles indicates that Argentine

law will almost certainly govern this dispute.’ Although

** In Woodlands Cemetery Co. v. United States, 110 F.Supp. 704, 706

(E.D.Pa.1953), the court found that in a takings case “the jury were in a

much better position to properly evaluate the property after having seen it

with its own surroundings” and “in view of the great disparity in the

testimony of the two sets of experts as to the value of the land, that the

jury would have been in no position to properly evaluate the estimates of

the experts without personally viewing the land, its location and

surroundings. .. .”

*° Delaware has adopted the Restatement approach to resolving choice

of law issues. Oliver B. Cannon & Son, Inc. v. Dorr-Oliver, Inc., 394

A.2d 1160 (Del.1978). The Restatement establishes the broad principle

that rights and liabilities with respect to the particular issue are determined

by the local law of the State that, as to that issue, has “the most significant

relationship” to the occurrence and the parties. In this case, Argentina has

the most significant relationship to the dispute and the parties: the land is

located in Argentina, the relevant conduct occurred in Argentina, and two

parties are Argentine companies. See Restatement (Second) of Conflict of

Laws § 147. Plaintiffs’ contract claim is also governed by Argentine law.

The place of contracting, negotiation, and performance was Argentina.

The subject matter of the contract is located in Argentina. And again two

parties are Argentine companies. See Restatement (Second) of Conflict of

Laws § 188. The preceding concerns are amplified in this case since the

contract concerns interests in land located in Argentina. See Restatement

(Second) of Conflict of Laws § 189.

43a

Delaware courts “wrestle” with open questions of the law of

foreign countries on occasion,’' this case presents a unique

combination of circumstances that warrants a careful and

thorough examination of this factor.

The heart of this case involves a land use dispute arising

under the laws of Argentina. Delaware has a very limited

interest in this litigation, but Argentina’s interest in this

litigation is substantial. In fact, Pan American has argued that

Argentine courts have exclusive jurisdiction to resolve the

issues in this case because the resolution of this litigation will

implicate Argentina’s interests in the oil and gas that Pan

American was seeking to extract from FSB’s land.*? Pan

American filed a petition on March 5, 2003, in the Supreme

Court of Argentina, seeking a declaration that this dispute is

subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of Argentine courts. The

Argentine Attorney General issued an opinion concerning

Pan American’s petition, in which the Attorney General

opined that Argentine courts should have exclusive

jurisdiction over any dispute concerning Pan American’s

operations on FSB’s land under the concessionary rights

provided by Argentina to Pan American.*? Based on the

Attorney General’s opinion, the Supreme Court of Argentina

ordered service on all defendants, including the Nation of

Argentina and the Province of Salta. On July 11, 2003, the

Province of Salta entered an appearance in the Argentine

*' See Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., 689 A.2d 1196, 1120 (Del.1997).

* As noted above, all oil and gas in Argentina is owned by the national

government and the right to extract oil and gas is granted to private parties

like Pan American. The right to extract the oil and gas is accompanied by

an easement to access any land under which the oil and gas is located. The

Nation of Argentina and the Province of Salta derive significant revenues

from Pan American’s extraction of oil and gas reserves. Aff. of Francisco

J. Romano, Ex. 2 (op. of Argentine Att’y Gen.); Aff. of Haracio A.

Grigera Naon, $j 47-53; Aff. of Edmundo F. Catalano, J 3-5.

°3 Aff. of Francisco J. Romano, Ex. 2.

44a

Supreme Court and asserted that the Argentine courts are the

proper forum for this dispute. On September 12, 2003, the

Nation of Argentina also entered its appearance, stated that it

had a direct interest in the outcome of the dispute, and

reiterated the Province of Salta’s assertion that the Argentine

courts are the only appropriate forum.

Argentina, as owner of all oil and gas resources in Argen-

tina, has a bona fide interest in any compensation paid to FSB

due to damage allegedly caused by Pan American’s opera-

tions pursuant to extraction rights granted to it by Argentina.

This interest is not speculative, and is evidenced by the

Nation of Argentina and Province of Salta’s submissions

before the Supreme Court of Argentina. A decision in this

action will likely implicate Argentina’s right to regulate

access to surface property that lies above government owned

oil and gas fields. Furthermore, a decision will implicate

Argentina’s economic interests because a decision adverse to

Pan American may reduce the revenues Argentina derives

from Pan American’s extraction activities. Because of the

significant interests of Argentine governmental entities, the

Argentine courts may have exclusive jurisdiction over this

dispute.** This exclusive jurisdiction may independently de-

prive this Court of its jurisdiction.*> Regardless, Argentina’s

significant interest in this litigation, and Delaware’s limited

interest in this litigation, counsels judicial discretion strongly

in favor of dismissal.*°

** Although the resolution of this issue is pending before the Argentine

Supreme Court, it appears that under Articles 116 and 117 of the Argen-

tine Constitution a dispute where the Nation of Argentina and a province

thereof are interested parties requires resolution in an Argentine court, not

a foreign country.

* See Taylor v. LSI Logic Corp., 715 A.2d 837 (Del.1998) (dismissing

complaint where foreign country recognized exclusive jurisdiction over

subject of dispute).

*© See IM2 Merchandising & Mfg., Inc. v. Tirex Corp., 2000 Del.

\

PA. Ge. Se ee OS eS ea

45a

Other Pending Litigation. As discussed, there is an action

similar to this litigation pending before the Argentine courts.

Both parties’ legal experts have testified that the Argentine

courts are fully capable of resolving disputes of this nature.

And the Argentine courts may actually have greater capacity

to resolve this dispute since they can exercise jurisdiction

over the governmental entities, the Nation of Argentina and

the Province of Salta, with an interest in the outcome of this

dispute.*’

Another Practical Problem. Before Pan American began

extensive oil and gas extraction, Pan American conducted

preliminary seismic surveying on FSB’s land. This pre-

liminary activity apparently caused some damage to FSB’s

land. Pan American paid FSB for damage caused by the

seismic surveying, and in June 2000, George Brooking,

attorney-in-fact for FSB, signed a Receipt for Indemnification

Payment that included an exclusive Argentine forum selec-

tion clause.** Pan American argues that the forum selection

LEXIS 156, *37 (Del. Ch.) (“The great weight given to a plaintiffs inter-

est in having novel Delaware law questions, decided in our own courts

under the Cyro-Maid test suggests that a defendant’s interest in having the

courts of the jurisdiction of the governing law decide important legal

issues Ought also be given some weight”) (footnotes omitted). In addition,

it is notable that although the complaint sounds in simple breach of

contract and negligence language, it is clear that resolution of this dispute

will require thorough consideration of Argentine hydrocarbon law and

policy, as well as a careful policing of the boundaries between Argentine

tort, contract, and real property law. “Modesty and consistency in ap-

proach suggest that the evaluation of these issues may best be accom-

plished by the courts in the jurisdiction of the governing law.” /d. at *39.

*’ This Court is limited in its exercise over foreign governments by the

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act of 1976, 28 U.S.C. §§ 1330, 1332(a),

1391(f), and 1601-1611.

*® FSB signed a similar Receipt, which also contained an exclusive

Argentine forum selection clause, in August of 2000.

46a

clauses contained in the Receipts strip this Court of subject-

matter jurisdiction.”

Pan American, however, must establish that the claims

alleged in the complaint are governed by the forum selection

clauses contained in the Receipts. The Receipts were signed

as acknowledgement of monies paid by Pan American to FSB

for damage related to the conduct of seismic surveying. The

Receipts do not purport to cover Pan American’s more inten-

sive activities of establishing an oil well and constructing a

road to that oil well. Plaintiffs argue that those activities are

governed by different contracts that do no contain a forum

selection clause and that the claims in the Second Amended

Complaint only relate to damage from the drilling and road

constructing covered by those contracts.”

Pan American argues, however, that it would be impossible

in some circumstances to determine what damage was caused

by clearing land to conduct seismic activities, which would be

governed by the forum selection clauses, as opposed to

damage caused by building an oil well and connecting road.

In In re IBP, Inc. S’holders Litig., the Court of Chancery

assumed jurisdiction over a dispute that was partially

governed by a forum selection clause (specifying the Dela-

ware Court of Chancery) because otherwise no single

jurisdiction could hear all of the relevant claims.*' Similarly,

Pan American argues that this Court should decline juris-

diction because only the courts of Argentina can hear claims

for damages arising out of both the seismic surveying and oil

drilling/road clearing activities. Although I decline to dismiss

this action solely because of the forum selection clauses in the

°° This Court may dismiss an action where the parties have consented

to have their dispute resolved in another forum. Elf Atochem North Amer-

ica, Inc. v. Jaffari, 727 A.2d 286 (Del.1999).

*° See supra n. 2 and accompanying text.

*' 2001 WL 406292 (Del. Ch.).

47a

Receipts, I note that it will be necessary to delineate clearly

the line between the damage caused by the seismic activities

and the damage caused by oil and gas extraction during the

course of this litigation-a complicated task that could prove

unmanageable. Argentine courts would not face this same

definitional problem and could bear all issues surrounding

Pan American’s activities.”

Taking all of these various factors into consideration and

giving each the weight it deserves, I conclude that litigating

this dispute in Delaware would constitute an overwhelming

hardship te Pan American. Delaware has little or no interest

in resolving this dispute. Plaintiffs purchased real estate in

Argentina. They formed an Argentine entity to develop the

resources located in Argentina. They negotiated and executed

contracts in Argentina. The breach of these contracts, and the

alleged tortious conduct attendant thereto, all occurred in

Argentina. Argentine law will govern this dispute. Finally,

Argentine governmental authorities have expressed a direct

interest in this controversy. Litigating this matter in

Delaware, rather than in Argentina, defies common sense.

III. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the plaintiffs’ claims are

dismissed based on a lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

Alternatively, plaintiffs’ claims are dismissed based on forum

non conveniens.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

ag Independently, FSB’s agreement to an exclusive Argentine forum

selection clause evidences a willingness to adjudicate some disputes relat-

ing to Pan American’s activities in Argentina. This further supports, in my

opinion, the appropriateness of Argentine courts as the forum for this dis-

pute. It also undercuts plaintiffs’ repeated efforts to disparage the Argen-

tine court system.

48a

APPENDIX C

TRADUCCION PUBLICA/CERTIFIED TRANSLATION ....

[Terms between square brackets are translator’s notes]............

[Pages are numbered, in handwriting, from 525 to 539. On

the reverse side of all pages there appear: a seal which reads:

“COPY”; a seal of the Federal Supreme Court and an illegible

signature and a seal which reads: “Alicia M. Carbajales de

Fassina—Deputy Clerk—Federal Supreme Court’}.................

TREASURY DEPARTMENT GENERAL ATTORNEY’S

I MMe ass snsniscsadAsianahictnsidaniinsediasnctadtandaldducadasnaeaemamaaniaaeal

THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT ANSWERS SUMMONS

Fe Pe ee Tae Be ML 0 eiissdisscsncsccrrnctenrmsnebnennnns

TO the Homorete Supers Gti acc csccencssccicsacesssacscsscassanssatanes

Silvia Mabel PALACIOS, attorney-at-law (CPACF,

Volume 65, Folio 492), for and on behalf of the Federal

Government—Ministry of Economy, as evidenced herein

below, Maria Cecilia PINTOS PRAT, attorney-at-law

(CPACF, Volume 11, Folio 786) and Maria Ida A.

RICARDONE, attorney-at-law (CPACF, Volume 19, Folio

247), represented by attorney-of-record Dr. Horacio Daniel

ROSATTI, General Attorney for the Argentine Federal

Treasury Department, appointed by Decree No. 255/03

(Official Gazette 06-25-03), who intervenes pursuant to the

provisions of Act No. 12,954 § 6, Act No. 25,344 § 6 and

Decree No. 1116/00 § 15, establishing domicile ad litem in

the City of Buenos Aires, at 186 Balcarce, 3rd floor, in re

“Pan American Energy LLC, Argentine Branch v. Forestal

Santa Barbara S.R.L. et al—the Province of Salta and the

Federal Government having been summoned to appear as

third parties) in the matter of Declaratory Action”—File No.

P.204.2003—Record Xxxxix—, hereby appear before Your

Honor and respectfully state as fOllOWS: ............cccceeeseeeeeeeeeenees

49a

ae a

LEGAL CAPACITY

As evidenced by the enclosed certified copy of Resolution

S.L. y A. No. 9 of the Ministry of Economy dated January 13,

2003—which we hereby declare under oath to be a true copy

of the original Resolution in full force and effect—we are

attorneys-in-fact of the Federal Government with power to

intervene in any and all actions to which the said Ministry is a

party, wherefore we request Your Honor to enter record of

Our appearance in such capacity. ............ccccccsccssesscsscessessesceecees

a ioe

PURPOSE

We hereby answer the summons to appear as third party

petitioned by the plaintiff, Pan American Energy LLC

(hereinafter, “PAE”), issued by the court under the provisions

of the Federal Civil and Commercial Code of Procedures

§ 94, and notified under official letter dated May 29, 2003. ....

It is expressly represented that this answer will be limited

to stating the position of the Federal Government as to the

jurisdiction of the Supreme Court over matters related to the

concession, wherefore we will not answer as to any matter

outside the purpose of the declaratory action to determine

jurisdiction, or any document making reference to such other

matters, as they are alien to the purposes for which the

Federal Government has been summoned. Accordingly,

nothing in this answer should be construed as an acknowledg-

ment or rebuttal of any statement made in the complaint in

WOMMENOM BD GY SUCH TATIETS. ...........cecccsccesceccccssecsccsecccscsceccseces

In this context, and subject to the foregoing provisos, the

Federal Government intervenes on an autonomous basis and

requests Your Honor to rule that matters related to the hydro-

carbon concession granted by the Federal Government under

Contract No. 20,510 (as amended), of which Pan American

Energy LLC is a co-holder, are governed by special Argen-

50a

tine laws and that any dispute arising out of or in connection

therewith shall be submitted to the jurisdiction of the

PPAR TOUT COMI. iiccciicsnisissiccsiacesllsseacmcennaitiabtannciansansanias

—ITI—

BACKGROUND RELEVANT TO THIS CASE

Ds FEOOY cantsincistintinnsdminiannvicingpmaininaminniainats

The hydrocarbon fields located in the area known as

‘*‘Acambuco”, in the Province of Salta, were discovered in the

PRE: ac sticsnissienstniasenhedusiaeniioniedaeaiaaaaamaaaaaee oe

The fields have been mined for several decades, initially

and during many years by Standard Oil of New Jersey (now

“Exxon”) and subsequently by Yacimientos Petroliferos

PIECE . ccncesnsisinnticnncassnecnitanihiiniitokaesuonmaamouiad

In 1979, YPF and Bridas S.A.P.I. y C., Socma S.A. and

Inalruco S.A.P. entered into Contract No. 20,510, as approved

by Decree No. 3,121/79, under which YPF granted a

concession for hydrocarbon exploration, development and

SPOCAMTRION 1 ACRE BOI. ssscsccinccssnssscascoasesoncenonsssasennacnante

The concession lasted several years, with some changes in

the membership of the concession holder (Decree No.

EIR TIN EED: ssitnsiniehistianitsniaaaihaastaciabpldaamnn

2. The significance and standing of the fields and the

concession.

It is relevant to point out to this Court that the Acambuco

area is one of the major hydrocarbon—specially gas—

producing areas, in the Argentine Northwestern Basin. .......... ,

The gas supply necessary to meet the requirements of the

people and industries established in the region depend upon

CUO SPERM COT GAG III. sss cen enccsssssiasscctnsnssnciennincnnrutistonzonsiens

Sla

3. The participation of * an American Energy LLC..............

As a direct consequence of the enactment of Act 23,696

(sections 9, 10, 11 and 15) Decree No. 2,175/91 (Official

Gazette 10-25-91) was issued, which approved the memoran-

dum of agreement entered into between YPF and a group of

companies making up the Acambuco Joint Venture. Said

memorandum of agreement approved conversion of Contract

No. 20,510 for hydrocarbon production in the Acambuco

MIT, <csnssensesusiinennsicapinusinie ati siipielandsiuniocatuisiabiihdaapabiaatenbnapieinbindsensisidinusis

Subsequentiy, Pan American Energy LLC joined this

business group, upon prior approval by the enforcement

authority under Administrative Resolution of the Head

Minister No. 18/00 (Official Gazette 11-2-2000). oo...

4. The surface Owner (Forestal Santa Barbara: its going

on stage and filing of action in foreign jurisdiction). ...............

In 1998, Forestal Santa Barbara S.R.L. (hereinafter

“FSB”), purchased the surface lands, in Acambuco Area, in

which the hydrocarbon fields are located, ..........cccccccssseesseeeeees

As already noted and as may be easily inferred, the

property at issue had been for several decades, and was, at the

time it was purchased, subject to mining easements held by

the various mining companies referred to above. ................000.

In January 2003, FSB filed an action with the Delaware

(United States) courts against Pan American Energy LLC and

BP Argentina Exploration Company, as described in the

complaint, seeking relief under the rules and principles of

Equity in the amount of US$50,000,000. They have further

petitioned that permanent injunctions be issued ordering PAE

to repair and reinstate the soil, to withdraw toxic, unproduc-

tive or waste material, to restrain from unloading toxic or

flammable material, and to deliver to FSB, prior to com-

mencing construction work, all elements necessary to estab-

lish a detailed supervision and application program that will

52a

allow plaintiffs to ensure and enforce compliance with the

terms therool, ..........:0:sssissitessaiiielsllaeannaaeanGnne anasaamameuaiis

iit.

THE CLAIM, THE FACTS AND THE INTERVENTION

OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

DFO CURRIE osccacecssnissssacacani seen aes

PAE has filed a declaratory action (Federal Civil and

Commercial Code of Procedures § 322) seeking the Court to

declare that: a) based on the fact that the interests of the

Province of Salta and the Federal Government, as well as

constitutional guarantees, are at stake, the dispute between

PAE and the defendants in connection with the concession—

which is the subject matter of the action filed by the

defendants in USA—falls within the original jurisdiction of

the Court; b) subsidiarily, that Argentine Federal Courts have

sole and exclusive jurisdiction over that matter or c) again

subsidiarily, that Argentine ordinary judges have jurisdiction

over that matter, according to the internal rules for determina-

thom Of NEFERMICTORR, .......:cccnssicneeees nena

2. Position of the Federal Government with respect to the

facts and tht CMB. cna FELLA ARES

Subject to the provisos in Chapter II hereof and beyond any

considerations on the plaintiffs uncertainty regarding the

action pending in the State of Delaware, USA, this party is

convinced that the extent and modalities of the legal relation-

ship arising from the hydrocarbon concession is governed by

Act 17,319, the Mining Code, and other special regulations

enacted to that effect, and that, consequently, any dispute

arising out of or in connection with such maiters should be

settled by the Argentine federal Courts. ............:csscceeeseeeeeseeeeees

This party does not admit that the risk of losing gas supply

agreements or the potential loss or damagje claimed by the

53a

plaintiff in its brief and translated into damages constitute

grounds for suspending the Macueta Sur drilling operations....

In this regard, PAE claims that the “mere existence of the

Delaware action affects the drilling program” which the

company expected to implement in the Macueta Sur area, and

has led PAE to “suspend the works it is required to perform

under a concession granted by the Argentine government”

because “the mere service of the Complaint fled in Delaware

have produced the effects desired by the complainants:

namely, to force the concession holder to suspend the works it

is required to perform under the concession contract’. ............

PAE further claims that the foreign court’s potential ruling

ordering the suspension of gas supply involves the risk of

losing its gas supply agreements with third parties. ................

It should be noted that in connection with the foregoing,

the Argentine Hydrocarbon Act No. 17,319 § 66 provides, in

its pertinent part, that “Under no circumstance shall the

surface owner’s objection to occupation of its lands or

disagreement with the compensation amounts determined be

sufficient grounds to interrupt or prevent authorized works,

provided the concession holder satisfactorily guarantees

payment for potential damage”. ........ccccccccccsssssesscssessesseseescseeees

This legal provision entitles PAE to continue with the

hydrocarbon works and projects at issue. .........0..ccccccccseeeeeeeeeees

Therefore, this party cannot admit the loss or damage

claimed by the concession holder, much less if claimed as

grounds for non-performance of its legal obligations under

the concession contract, in particular the provisions of section

31 of the Hydrocarbon Act). ........csccsccscsscsscssssssssssscsssesscsssseseess

' Section 31, Act 17,319. Each production concession holder is under

an obligation to make, within reasonable terms, such investments as are

necessary to carry out the works required to develop the entire concession

4rea, in accordance with the most rational and efficient practices and the

54a

Finally, and pursuant to the requirement of the Code of

Procedures § 356, ss 1, we do not acknowledge, because it is

not known to our party, the documentary evidence submitted

by the plaintiff and identified as Exhibits 005 to and including

I: sesh tesichacicasanscotasins ca cae penta balabarbge dace punamnloahaelcataaidnieaahaniodies

3. Capacity in which the Federal Government was

summoned and its role in the Process. .......ccsssesseeceeeeeeseessnsnsneees

The Federal Government was summoned as third party to

intervene in these proceedings pursuant to the provisions of

Section 94 of the Code of Procedures. Such summons were

petitioned on the grounds that ceitain Federal Government’s

powers are at stake in this suit, namely: the Executive’s

police power over Argentine public utilities, the Executive’s

power under the Hydrocarbon Act to determine the compen-

sation payable to surface owners, and the concession holder’s

right to abide by the provisions of the concession contract. .....

In other words, because it is understood that this is a

common dispute, and the Court’s decision may affect the

ee I cis cccuasicninncandccmerncnsananacaueianenineneenins

Therefore, according to procedural laws and regulations,

this is a “mandatory or compulsory” intervention, in which,

upon appearing in the process, the third party may play the

role of a passive observer or assume other roles such as co-

plaintiff or co-defendant, or third party defendant or plaintiff,

or propose complaints or counterclaims, and, in turn, the

characteristics and quantity of proved reserves, ensuring the largest

hydro-carbon production that is consistent with appropriate and economic

field management and adherence to guidelines for an appropriate

MINIS OE PION sicdiscsicsientiihansdcndostndanatineansiniitibissesaninmsnesdsiaieaMetinaansmeiiaee

* See Palacio Lino Enrique, “Manual de Derecho Procesal Civil’,

Volume I, Buenos Aires, 1987, pages 334 et S€q..........ceseceeeeesecceeeseeeeeeeneees

5Sa

parties to the process may propose complaints, motions or

counterclaims against such third party? ...cccccccccccccssssesescssssseseoss

Thus, the possibility of the Federal Government interven-

ing in the capacity of a third party plaintiff (also known as

adhesive simple intervention) is excluded because this would

only apply if it were to intervene to support the plaintiff's

TE. .issusinpsiessinlataccideniaiieinsnenemnatial aa ere

On the basis of the foregoing premises, the Federal

Government is assumed to be a co-plaintiff to this dispute

(adhesive autonomous intervention or joinder) for, while in

certain respects it supports PAE’s rights, this brief asserts the

effectiveness and application of specific federal laws and

regulations to all aspects of the concession, in particular the

police power, but does not admit the damage claimed by PAE

and its alleged inability to perform the obligations legally

assumed under the concession Contract. .........cccccccsssscssescscecesees

Any permanent injunction might affect and even limit

the powers vested in the Federal Government’. This circum-

stance would allow us to assume the existence of a common

I siesce

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pan American Energy, LLC v. Candlewood Timber Group, LLC · 543 U.S. 1177 | Frix