Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Harbert v. Healthcare Services Group, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

041647 MAY 27 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK —

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.

NANCY E. HARBERT

Petitioner

v.

HEALTHCARE SERVICES GROUP, INC.

Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

E. Michael Canges*

CANGES ISASHKO BETHKE & BAILEY, P.C.

950 Seventeenth Street, Suite 1700

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 860-1900

Clifford L. Beem

A. Mark Isley

CLIFFORD BEEM & ASSOCIATES, P.C.

730 Seventeenth Street, Suite 850

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 894-8100

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

A majority of a three-judge panel of the Tenth Circuit

reversed the district court’s finding that the Department of Labor’s

(“DOL”) regulation defining “worksite,” 29 CFR. §

825.111(a)(3), is a valid and enforceable implementation of the

Family and Medical Leave Act (“FMLA” or “Act”), 29 U.S.C. §

2601 et seq., as applied to all joint employees. In so doing, the

majority struck down the regulation as arbitrary and capricious as

that regulation is applied to joint employees, such as the Petitioner,

Nancy Harbert, who work at what the majority considered to be a

“fixed” place of work.

A single question is presented

Is the DOL’s regulation defining “worksite,” 29 C.F.R.

§825.111(a)(3), a valid and enforceable implementation of the

FMLA as applied to all joint employees, including joint employees

who have “fixed” or generally “fixed” places of work?

ies Ronee ig SA GRAAL BENE) BV Bor pe

il

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties below are listed in the caption. In addition,

the United States Department of Labor appeared as amicus curiae

in support of the validity and enforceability of its regulation.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i

LIST OF PARTIES ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS iii

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES iv

TABLE OF APPENDICES

CITATIONS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

L THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION WAS DIVIDED.............----0++--++- 8

Il. THE MAJORITY’S OPINION FAILED TO PROPERLY DEFER TO

THE DOL’ S REASONABLE INTERPRETATION OF THE FMLA AND

CONGRESSIONAL GUIDANCE, .......2.-2----ceeeeeeeseeseeeeeeennnnnnsnnnnnseennennaneenes 9

iil. THE MAJORITY’S OPINION IS BASED ON INCONSISTENT

LOGIC AND FINDINGS AND PROMOTES GREATER UNCERTAINTY IN

DETERMINING FMLA ELIGIBILITY. ............----------e+eeeeeennnenenseeeenennnes 14

CONCLUSION 18

—_ —_ =

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASES

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467

U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984) 6,9

Harbert v. Healthcare Services Group, Inc., 173 F.Supp.2d 1101, 1105-

06 (D.Colo. 2001) 5

Harbert v. Healthcare Services Group, Inc., 391 F.3d 1140 (10™ Cir.

2004) passim

Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide, Inc., 535 U.S. 81, 122 S.Ct. 1155,

152 L.Ed.2d 167 (2002) : 7

STATUTES

20 C.F.R. § 639.3

20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i)(6)

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. § 1331

29 C.F.R. § 825.106

29 C.F.R. § 825.111

29 C.F.R. § 825.700(a)

29 U.S.C. § 2101(aX(3)(B)

29 U.S.C. § 2611(2)(B ii)

29 U.S.C. § 2612(aX(1)

29 U.S.C. § 2617(a)(2)

54 Fed. Reg. at 16051 1

54 Fed.Reg. 16042, 16051 (1989) l

Title 20 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 639.3(i)(6)

Title 29 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 825.1 1 1(a)(3) ------- passim

ww

—

=

ad

wm

- we

*

BN

Wwhr hhANANOCOO HK N OC

Title 29 United States Code, Section 2601 ® &

Title 29 United States Code, Section 2611(2)(B)(ii) 2

Title 29 United States Code, Section 2654 2,7

OTHER AUTHORITIES

H. R. Rep. No. 103-8(1), at 35 (1993) 7,9, 15

S. Rep. No. 103-3, 103 Cong., 1" Sess. at 23, reprinted in 1993

U.S.C.A.A.N. 3, 25 7,9, 15

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit Dated and Filed December 13, 2004

App. A-1

Appendix B — Findings Of Fact, Conclusions Of Law And Order

Of The United States District Court For The District of Colorado

Dated and Filed March 13, 2003.

App. B-1

Appendix C — Order, Dated March 2, 2005, Of The United States

Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit And Denying Petition For

Rehearing En Banc.

App. C-1

Appendix D —- Joint Employment Under FMLA, 29 C.F.R. §

825.106.

App. D-1

Appendix E —- FMLA Eligibility Under 50/75 Provision, 29 C.F.R.

§ 825.111.

App. E-1

Appendix F — WARN Act Regulation Defining “Single Site of

Employment,” 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i).

App. F-1

Appendix G — Senate Report No. 103-3, 103d Cong., 1* Sess., at

21-23, reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3, 23-25.

App. G-1

Appendix H — House of Representatives Report No. 103-8(D), at

33-35 (1993).

‘ App. H-1

CITATIONS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The majority opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit is reported at Harbert v. Healthcare

Services Group, Inc., 391 F.3d 1140 (10" Cir. 2004). The original

unpublished Tenth Circuit opinion was dated and filed December

13, 2004, see Appendix A, and it reversed and remanded the

United States District Court for the District of Colorado's decision

regarding the validity and enforceability of the DOL’s regulation

defining worksite for joint employees. The district court's

decision by Judge Kane was not published but reported and filed

as “Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order,” Harbert v.

Healthcare Services Group, Inc., No. 00-K-908 (D.Colo. dated

and filed March 13, 2003). See Appendix B.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Supreme Court has jurisdiction to

review this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

The Tenth Circuit’s opinion was issued on December 13,

2004. See Appendix A. On March 2, 2005, the Tenth Circuit

denied Nancy Harbert’s petition for rehearing en banc. See

Appendix C.

STATUTORY AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

|. Title 29 Code of Federal Regulations, Section

825.111(a)(3).

How to determine whether the primary

employer of a joint employee employs 50

employees within 75 miles of the joint

employee’s worksite.

For purposes of determining that employee's

eligibility, when an employee is jointly employed

by two or more employers (see § 825.106), the

employee's worksite is the primary employer's

office from which the employee is assigned or

reports.

Title 29 United States Code, Section 2601(b)

Family and Medical Leave Act — Purposes.

It is the purpose of this Act—

(1) to balance the demands of the

workplace with the needs of families, to

the stability and economic

security of families, and to promote

national interests in preserving family

integrity;

(2) to entitle employees to take

reasonable leave for medical reasons, . . .;

(3) to accomplish the purposes

described in paragraphs (1) and (2) in a

manner that accommodates the legitimate

interests of employers; . . . .

Title 29 United States Code, Section

2611(2)(B){ii).

Exclusions from FMLA eligibility.

The term “eligible employee” does not include—

any employee of an employer who is employed at

a worksite at which such employer employs less

than 50 employees if the total number of

employees employed by that employer within 75

miles of that worksite is less than 50.

6.

Title 29 United States Code, Section 2654.

Family and Medical Leave Act - Regulations.

The Secretary of Labor shall prescribe such

regulations as are mecessary to carry out

subchapter I of this chapter and this subchapter

not later than 120 days after February 5, 1993.

Title 20 Code of Federal Regulations, Section

639.3(i)(6)

A definition of “single site of employment.”

Fer workers whose primary duties require travel

from point to point, who are outstationed, or

whose primary duties involve work outside any of

the employer’s regular employment sites (e.g.,

railroad workers, bus drivers, salespersons), the

single site of employment to which they are

assigned as their home base, from which their

work is assigned, or to which they report will be

the single site in which they are covered for

WARN purposes.

The provisions of 29 C.F.R. § 825.106 that define

and discuss joint employment are rather lengthy and, thus, set forth

in Appendix D, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14.1(f). The full

text of 29 C.F.R. § 825.111 (determining FMLA eligibility under

the 50 employee/75-mile radius provision) and that of 20 C.F.R. §

639.3(i) (WARN Act regulations defining “single site of

employment”) are set forth in Appendices E and F, respectively,

pursuant to Supreme Court Rules 14.1(f) and 14.1(i)(vi). Relevant

excerpts of the FMLA’s legislative history are set forth in

Appendices G and H, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14.1(i)(vi).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Petitioner Nancy Harbert brought her original

action against Respondent Healthcare Services Group, Inc.

(“HSG”) in the United States District Court for the District of

Colorado for violating federal law under the FMLA. Federal

jurisdiction was not contested, and such jurisdiction was founded

upon 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and 29 U.S.C. § 2617(a)(2).

2. Nancy Harbert was employed by HSG as an

account manager to manage and supervise the housekeeping and

laundry services at Sunset Manor—a nursing home located in

Brush, Colorado. During her employment by HSG, Ms. Harbert

sustained injuries that required a medical leave of absence from

her job. Ms. Harbert requested FMLA leave, but HSG asserted

that Ms. Harbert was not eligible for such leave and denied her

request. HSG based its denial of eligibility on the 50

employee/75-mile radius provision of the FMLA. See 29 U.S.C. §

261 1(2)(B)(ii).' HSG then terminated Ms. Harbert when she was

unable to obtain authorization from her doctor for a return to full-

duty work. HSG terminated Ms. Harbert after providing her with

less than 12 weeks of leave.” Ms. Harbert brought a civil action

against HSG for violating the FMLA.

' For the exact text of the 50/75 provision of the FMLA, see supra pp.

2-3. This provision acts as an exception to FMLA eligibility for

employees who are employed by a small business or a business with

smaller, scattered operations such that the business employs less than 50

employees within a 75-mile radius of the employer's worksite. See

Harbert v. Healthcare Services Group, Inc., 391 F.3d 1140, 1148 (10"

Cir. 2004) (discussing the legislative intent of the 50/75 provision).

HSG employed less than 50 employees within a 75-mile radius of

Sunset Manor in rural Brush, Colorado. HSG, however, employed many

more than 50 employees within a 75-mile radius of its regional office in

Golden, Colorado. See Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1144.

2 Under the FMLA, an eligible employee is entitled to take up to a

maximum of 12 weeks of leave within a 12-month period. See 29 U.S.C.

§ 2612(a)(1).

a HSG’s primary defense was that it did not

employ 50 or more employees within a 75-mile radius of Sunset

Manor in Brush, Colorado. After a bench trial, the district court

found that Nancy Harbert was a joint employee of both HSG and

Sunset Manor and that HSG was Ms. Harbert’s primary

employer. See “Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and

Order,” Appendix B at B-6 — B-7; see also Harbert v. Healthcare

Services Group, Inc., 173 F.Supp.2d 1101, 1105-06 (D.Colo.

2001) (published memorandum opinion of the district court.

discussing joint employment and the economic realities test in

connection with both parties’ motions for summary judgment on

the joint employment question). In addition, the district court

upheld as valid and enforceable the DOL’s regulation that defined

“worksite” for joint employees as the “primary employer’s office

from which the employee is assigned or reports.”* See Appendix

B at B-7; see also Harbert, 173 F.Supp.2d at 1106 (upholding the

validity of the DOL’s construction of the term “worksite” for joint

employees in regulation 825.111(a)(3)). Ms. Harbert was assigned

from and reported to HSG’s regional office in Golden, Colorado;

and HSG employed many more than 50 employees within a 75-

mile radius of its regional office. See Appendix B at B-2.

Accordingly, the district court found that Ms. Harbert was eligible

for FMLA leave and awarded her damages. See Appendix B at B-

2, B-7 - B-8.

4. The sole question on HSG’s appeal to the Tenth

Circuit was the validity and enforceability of the DOL’s regulation

defining “worksite” for joint employees. See Harbert v.

Healthcare Services Group, Inc., 391 F.3d 1140, 1146 cio" Cir.

2004). The Secretary of Labor filed an amicus curiae brief in

support of its regulation and the district court’s decision upholding

the validity and enforceability of the regulation. Two of the three

Tenth Circuit judges who reviewed the case found that the

regulation was arbitrary, capricious, and contrary to the FMLA as

* The terms “joint employment” and “primary employer” are defined and

discussed in the DOL’s regulations implementing the FMLA at 29 C.F.R.

§ 825.106. See Appendix D.

* 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3).

applied to Nancy Harbert and other joint employees who have a

“fixed” place of work. See id. at 1154. The third judge, however,

dissented on that issue finding that the regulation was indeed

permissible as applied. See id. at 1155 (Kelly, J., dissenting).

Nancy Harbert petitioned the Tenth Circuit for a rehearing

of the matter en banc. Her request was denied by order of the

court dated March 2, 2005. Judge Kelly, however, again dissented

in the denial of Ms. Harbert’s petition. See Appendix C.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

Whether the DOL’s regulation defining “worksite,” 29

C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3), is a valid and enforceable implementation

of the FMLA as applied to all joint employees, including joint

employees who have “fixed” places of work, warrants this Court’s

attention and review. This question is one of first impression.

Neither this Court nor any other federal circuit has addressed the

validity of the regulation at issue, and the question will certainly

arise again. The decision to invalidate the regulation as applied

was not unanimous. In fact, dissenting Judge Kelly specifically

found that § 825.111(a)(3) was a “permissible exercise of agency

rulemaking.” Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1155. By declaring §

825.111(a)(3) invalid as applied to joint employees with “fixed”

worksites, the two-judge majority of the Tenth Circuit panel

seriously departed from the deference owed to an administrative

agency’s construction of a statute under the rule announced by this

Court in Chevron, U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694

(1984). “Declaring invalid a regulation that an agency has been

charged with developing is strong medicine and only appropriate

when the regulation is ‘arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly

contrary to the statute.” Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1154 (Kelly, J.,

dissenting). The majority’s ruling not only stripped countless

employees, like Nancy Harbert, from FMLA eligibility, but it also

created greater uncertainty as to whether and what type of joint

employees are eligible for FMLA leave. In particular, the majority

judges added a new variable that will require defining —namely,

what it means to have a “fixed” worksite. There must be certainty

in the requirements of the FMLA in order for it to be fairly and

efficiently applied and in order to achieve its purposes. This Court

has reviewed the validity of another FMLA regulation, 29 C.F.R. §

825.700(a), in Ragsdale v. Wolverine World Wide, Inc., 535 U.S.

81, 122 S.Ct. 1155, 152 L.Ed.2d 167 (2002). Likewise, this Court

should grant certiorari in the case at issue to fully resolve the

question of joint employees’ worksites so that employees and

employers alike will understand their respective rights and

responsibilities under this very important employment statute.

Congress enacted the FMLA “to balance the demands of

the workplace with the needs of families” by entitling employees

to a reasonable minimum leave of absence for such reasons as

medical and health conditions that affect the employee or a

member of the employee’s family. See 29 U.S.C. § 2601(b)(1)

and (2). Congress also directed the Secretary of Labor to

promulgate regulations necessary to implement the FMLA. See 29

U.S.C. § 2654. Pursuant to this Congressional mandate, the

Department of Labor promulgated such regulations, including the

regulations that filled important definitional and logistical gaps left

in the Act by Congress. The definition of “worksite” and the

definition and handling of various types of employment

relationships under the FMLA, such as joint employment, are

examples of the DOL’s gap-filling regulations. While Congress

used the term “worksite” in the text of the Act—in particular as a

physical point of reference in determining employee eligibility

under the 50 employee/75-mile radius (“50/75”) provision, see 29

U.S.C. § 2611(2)(B)(ii),° —Congress did not define the term

anywhere within the text of the FMLA. Congress did, however,

provide guidance as to how the term “worksite” should be defined

in House and Senate reports that accompanied the FMLA.

Specifically, these reports state that the term “worksite” should be

interpreted in the same manner as “single site of employment”

under the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification

(“WARN”) Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2101(a)(3)(B), and its implementing

regulations. See S. Rep. No. 103-3, 103 Cong., 1 Sess. at 23,

reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.A.A.N. 3, 25; see also H. R. Rep. No.

103-8(1), at 35 (1993) (virtually identical). Following Congress’

guidance, the DOL looked to the WARN Act for the definition of

“single site of employment,” and a comprehensive definition of

> See supra note 1.

that term was found in the WARN Act regulations at 20 C.F.R. §

639.3(i). The definition relevant here provides as follows:

For workers whose primary duties

require travel from point to point,

who are outstationed, or whose

primary duties involve work

outside any of the employer's

regular employment sites (e.g.,

railroad workers, bus drivers,

salespersons), the single site of

employment to which they are

assigned as their home base, from

which their work is assigned, or

to which they report will be the

single site in which they are

covered for WARN purposes.

20 C.E.R. § 639.3(i)(6) (emphasis added). This definition of

“single site of employment” for “outstationed” employees or

employees “whose primary duties involve work outside any of the

employer’s regular employment sites,” formed the basis for the

DOL’s definition of “worksite” with respect to joint employees at

29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3).

I. The Tenth Circuit’s opinion was divided.

The majority found that § 825.111(a)(3) is not valid as

applied to Mrs. Harbert and others like her who are essentially

outstationed employees “with a fixed place of work,” Harbert v.

Healthcare Services Group, Inc., 391 F.3d 1140, 1149 (10™ Cir.

2004), and thus reversed the district court below. Judge Kelly,

however, dissented, holding that § 825.111(a)(3) is a permissible

and reasonable construction of the term “worksite,” even for joint

employees with “largely fixed” worksites, given Congress’

delegation of authority to the Secretary of Labor to implement the

FMLA, legislative history reflecting Congressional awareness of

variations in joint employment relationships, and the regulation’s

promotion ef certainty with respect to determining a joint

employee’s worksite. See Harbert, 391 F.3d 1154-55.

With respect to the validity of § 825.111(a)(3), all three

Tenth Circuit judges analyzed the same legislative history, see

S.R. Doc. No. 103-3; H.R. Doc. No. 103-8 (I), and applied the

same legal standard under Chevron, 647 U.S. 837, 104 S.Ct. 2778,

81 L.Ed.2d 694. Nevertheless, the decision was split. While both

factions acknowledged that “worksite” is not defined in the statute,

the majority focused on its interpretation of the term’s common

meaning and its bright-line distinction between “fixed” and “non-

fixed” worksites. Judge Kelly, however, focused more properly

on the agency’s authority to implement the FMLA by filling

statutory gaps with reasonable regulations. As Judge Kelly noted,

the majority’s “ipse dixit that the Secretary’s definition of the term

“worksite” is contrary to common meaning fails to account for the

many variations in joint employment relationships, from forever

fixed to forever mobile.” Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1155. The

regulation, however, does account for such variations, and it

provides a certain and uniform definition of “worksite” for more

complex joint employment situations.

IL. The majority’s opinion failed to properly defer

to the DOL’ s reasonable interpretation of the

FMLA and Congressional guidance.

Given the deference owed to an agency’s construction of a

statute, the majority admitted that this case “presents a very close

question.” Jd. at 1149. Nevertheless, the majority engaged in a

common-meaning analysis of “worksite” to conclude that the

DOL’s definition of the term as applied to joint employment

relationships ran contrary to the legislative purpose of the 50/75

provision restricting FMLA eligibility. See id. at 1149-50. The

majority also found that the DOL’s regulation created an arbitrary

distinction between sole employers and joint employers. See id. at

1150-51. The majority’s opinion is not only too narrowly focused

and fails to appreciate the realities and variation of modern

employment relationships, but the rationale behind the opinion

also contradicts the majority’s holdings in dicta regarding related

regulations and certain applications of the challenged regulation.

Additionally, the majority’s holding will create greater uncertainty

as to the definition of “worksite” by injecting an arbitrary and

further undefined distinction between “fixed” and “non-fixed”

places of work.

4

Ce I

10

The majority stated that the common meaning of the term

“worksite” is “the site where the employee works.” Id. at 1149.

This “common meaning,” however, is much too simplistic given

modern employment realities. For employees who work out of

their homes, the majority conceded that their worksite is not the

site where they regularly work (i.e., their home), but “the site to

which they are assigned as their home base, from which their work

is assigned, or to which they report.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(2);

see Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1150 n. 1. The majority even conceded

that employees of temporary help agencies, joint employees as

defined by the DOL at 29 CFR. § 825.106(b), have as their

worksite “the primary employer’s office from which the employee

is assigned or reports.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3); see Harbert

391 F.3d at 1153. Yet for joint employees like Ms. Harbert, the

majority believed the “common meaning” of “worksite” should

apply instead of the consistent, simply-applied and certain

definition fashioned under Congressional authority by the DOL.

The majority deemed Ms. Harbert’s assignment to Sunset

Manor to be “fixed” as compared to an employee of a temporary

help agency who, according to the majority, “does not have a

permanent, fixed worksite.” Harbert, 391 F.3d 1153. What then

is a “fixed” worksite as compared to a non-fixed worksite? Can a

non-fixed worksite become “fixed” if the employee works at that

worksite long enough? What about an employee of a temporary

help agency who receives a long-term assignment? Would that

employee’s place of work be considered “fixed;” or does the mere

fact that the employee was employed by a temporary help agency

make her worksite “non-fixed?” Is the “fixed” or “non-fixed”

nature of the joint employee’s assignment determined by the joint

employer’s type of business?® The distinction is anything but

clear.

6 These questions concerning temporary help agencies or placement

agencies are particularly significant because in defining “joint

employment,” the DOL stated that “joint employment will ordinarily be

found to exist when a temporary or leasing agency supplies employees to

a second employer.” 29 C.F.R. § 825.106(b). Moreover, in discussing

the factors used to determine a joint employee’s “primary employer,” that

(Cont'd)

11

(Cont’d)

is, the employer with the “authority/responsibility to hire and fire,

assign/place the employee, make payroll, and provide employment

benefits,” § 825.106(c), the DOL also stated that the placement agency

would usually be the primary employer for employees of temporary or

leasing agencies. See id.

With respect to joint employees whose primary employer is a

temporary help agency, the majority stated the following:

[W]e do not question the validity of

the joint employment provision . . .

insofar as it applies to employees of

temporary help agencies. An

employee of a temporary help

agency does not have a permanent,

fixed worksite. It is therefore

appropriate that the joint

employment provision defines the

“worksite” of a temporary employee

as the temporary help office, rather

than the various changing locations

at which the temporary employee

performs his or her work.

Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1153. The problem with the majority’s

pronouncement in this regard is that temporary help agencies or

placement agencies often place their employees in long-term

assignments. The assignment may range from a few weeks to a few

months to a few years. In fact, some placements are indefinite in

duration depending on the nature of the service provided and the needs of

the secondary employer that is requesting employees from a placement

service.

Even though Ms. Harbert’s placement at Sunset Manor was not

considered to be a temporary placement, her primary employer, HSG,

still had the authority and the power to reassign her to another one of its

client accounts. Whether HSG would have done that is a matter of

speculation at this point, but it is well within the realm of real possibility

that other similar businesses reassign some or all of their outstationed

employees regularly enough to raise the question: do those employees

have a “fixed” worksite?

12

Judge Kelly touched on this issue when he noted that the

majority “fails to account for the many variations in joint

employment relationships, from forever fixed to forever mobile.”

Id. at 1155. Congress was aware of such variations in employment

relationships and thus directed the Secretary of Labor to define

“worksite” in the same manner as “single site of employment”

under the WARN Act. Jd. The definition of “single site of

employment” in the WARN Act regulation included employees

who are “outstationed.” See 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i)(6). On appeal,

the Secretary of Labor argued that joint employees, such as Nancy

Harbert, are “outstationed” employees and thus properly treated in _

§ 825.111(a)(3) pursuant to Congress’ directive that “worksite” be

defined in the same way as “single site of employment.” See

Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1152. The majority, however, simply

declared that “outstationed” referred only to employees without a

fixed place of work. See id. The majority provided three reasons

for its interpretation: (1) a parenthetical in WARN Act regulation

§ 639.3(i)(6); (2) a reference made by the DOL to the subject

WARN Act regulation in the course of promulgating the

regulation; and (3) ambiguity in the definition of “single site of

employment” for “outstationed” employees. See Harbert, 391

F.3d at 1152-53.

Judge Kelly was not persuaded. See id. at 1155. First, the

parenthetical found in §639.3(i)(6) of the WARN Act regulation

clearly follows the third category of workers in a disjunctive list.

The parenthetical does not directly follow the term “outstationed”

and thus does not modify that term. Therefore, at most, the

parenthetical should only be interpreted to modify workers “whose

primary duties involve work outside any of the employer’s regular

employment sites.” In addition, the examples in the parenthetical

are just that—examples. While “bus drivers” may arguably denote

workers without a fixed employment site, there is nothing about

“railroad workers” and “salespersons” to indicate that all such

workers have no fixed place of work. Therefore, the definition of

“single site of employment” found in WARN Act regulation §

639.3(i)(6) is certainly broad enough to include outstationed

workers whose place of work is largely fixed.

Second, the majority discussed a reference made by the

DOL in the Federal Register during the enactment of the WARN

13

Act regulations. See Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1152. The full text of

the relevant passage was set forth in the majority’s opinion. See

id. at 1152 n. 4 (Appendix A at A-18 — A-19, n. 4). The passage

discussed how to handle maintenance crews in the railroad

industry who have no home base to which they are assigned.

Therefore, the agency determined that there must be some central

or regional office from which they receive their orders and/or

assignments. The agency stated as follows:

In order to cover this situation

and the situation of outstationed

workers and traveling workers

who report to but do not work out

of a particular office, that part of

the regulation relating to mobile

workers has been revised to

clarify that such workers should

be treated as assigned to their

home base or to the single site

from which their work is assigned

or to which they report.

54 Fed.Reg. 16042, 16051 (1989) (emphasis added). Reading the

entire passage in context and not just the reference made to “that

part of the regulation relating to mobile workers,” id., it becomes

clear that the DOL was adding additional categories of workers,

including “outstationed workers” to that particular regulation.

Those additional categories were in fact added to WARN Act

regulation § 639.3(i)(6), and Congress, aware of the WARN Act

and its regulations defining “single site of employment,” directed

the Secretary of Labor to implement the FMLA by defining

“worksite” in the same way.

Third, the majority found ambiguity in the definition of

“single site of employment” for “outstationed” workers.

According to the majority, there were three different possible

locations for the “single site of employment” of an outstationed

employee: (1) “the single site of employment to which they are

assigned as their home base,” (2) the site “from which their work

is assigned,” or (3) the site to which they report.” See Harbert,

391 F.3d at 1152-53. Despite acknowledging that any such

es ia

14

ambiguity would normally result in deference to the agency’s

construction and interpretation of the statute, see id. at 1153, the

majority still invalidated the DOL’s regulation as applied to Ms.

Harbert. See id.

Contrary to the majority’s rationale, the WARN Act

regulation is simply not ambiguous. The three “different”

locations found in § 639.3(i)(6) are simply three different ways of

referring to the same conceptual place—namely, an employer’s

office from which assignments are made or to which the employee

reports. A traveling salesperson or an employee who works from

her home would typically have an office to which she is assigned

which is also considered her “home base.” That office would also

be the site from which she is assigned or to which she reports. See

29 C.E.R. § 825.111(a)(2). An outstationed worker, such as a

railroad maintenance crew employee, however, may not be

directly assigned to an office of his employer or have an office that

is considered his “home base.” See 54 Fed. Reg. at 16051; see

also discussion supra at p. 13. Therefore, the agency used

additional terms to refer to the operative employer site—the site

from which the employee is assigned or to which the employee

reports—in the event that such office or site is not considered the

employee’s home base. Using Ms. Harbert as an example, HSG

was her primary employer. She was assigned from HSG’s

regional office in Golden, Colorado, to work at Sunset Manor in

Brush, Colorado. Sunset Manor was not her “home base” because

Sunset Manor was not an HSG facility. In addition, even if HSG’s

regional office in Golden was not considered Ms. Harbert’s home

base, it was, nevertheless, the office from which she was assigned

and to which she reported. Therefore, the DOL’s rule defining

“worksite” for joint employees, like Ms. Harbert, is not only an

easily applied and logical rule, it also provides certainty among

joint employees and their employers as to worksite when

determining FMLA eligibility.

Ii. The majority’s opinion is based on inconsistent

logic and __ findings and promotes greater

uncertainty in determining FMLA eligibility.

The parts of the WARN Act regulation the majority

considers ambiguous are also the very parts that form the basis of

ale EN RS 1 ig a Mat see

Rae ite a trae A SAE SCs Bia To ile coe A

15

the DOL’s regulations defining workplace for employees who

work out of their homes, employees of temporary help agencies,

and employees who have no fixed work place. This is significant

because the majority held that the DOL’s regulations defining

“worksite” for those employment relationships are valid and

enforceable. See Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1150 n. 1 (“We do not

intend this statement to cast doubt on the portion of the agency’s

regulation defining the ‘worksite’ of employees whose regular

workplace is his or her home.”); see id. at 1153 (“[WJe do not

question the validity of the agency’s regulation pertaining to

employees with ‘no fixed worksite’ . . . [or] . . . the validity of the

joint employment provision . . . insofar as it applies to employees

of temporary help agencies.”). Thus, the majority's rationale is

wholly inconsistent with its validation of the same regulation as

applied to employees of temporary help agencies and other related

regulations which are based on the same definition that the

majority declared ambiguous.

The majority also focused on House and Senate

Committee Reports in which employees having no fixed worksite

were specifically used as an example of employment relationships

in which the worksite should be the place from which work is

assigned or to which the employees report. Those reports,

however, did not limit the Secretary of Labor’s authority to define

“worksite” only for workers with no fixed place of work.

Moreover, Congress specifically directed that “worksite” be

defined as “single site of employment” in the WARN Act; and as

discussed above and noted by the dissenting judge, WARN Act

regulation § 639.3(i)(6) provides a completely reasonable basis for

the DOL’s regulation that defines “worksite” for all joint

employment relationships—regardless of whether the worksite is

“fixed” or not. See Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1155. Finally, the House

and Senate Reports do not specifically address or use examples of

employees who work out of their homes or employees of

temporary help agencies; see generally, S.R. Doc. No. 103-3; H.R.

Doc. No. 103-8(1; yet the majority considered the agency's

regulations defining “worksite” permissible for those employment

relationships. See Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1150 n. 1, 1153. Again,

the majority’s rationale for invalidating regulation § 825.11 1(a)(3)

as applied to Ms. Harbert is inconsistent and fails to properly defer

16

to the agency’s reasonable interpretation of the FMLA and

Congressional directives.

Another example of the majority's inconsistent logic and

rationale is its assertion that the DOL made an arbitrary distinction

between sole and joint employers. Dissenting Judge Kelly was,

again, not persuaded. In fact, Judge Kelly found that “this

distinction favors the validity of the regulation” because “[b]Jasing

FMLA eligibility on primary employers prevents confusion and

provides certainty ....” Harbert, 391 F.3d at 1155. Furthermore,

the majority compared two hypothetical employees—one, a sole

employee of a convenience store chain, and the other, a joint

employee employed by a placement company and assigned to

work at the same convenience store—in order to show how the

convenience store employee might be ineligible for FMLA leave

while the placement employee might be eligible. Using this

hypothetical, the majority argued that the purpose of the 50/75

provision was not achieved with respect to the joint employer.

The argument, however, is overly simplified for a variety of

reasons. One is that sole employment and joint employment are

quite different. As the dissenting judge argued, the ability of a

sole employer, such as a convenience store owner, and a joint

employer, such as a placement agency, to find abundant nearby

replacements is doubtfully identical. “[A}fter all, the placement

agency specializes in hiring and placing employees within the

area.” Id. Joint employers are also likely to have a much larger

employee base because they are not.as limited by the physical

constraints of an office or factory as a sole employer might be.

Thus, it would likely be easier for joint employers to find a —

replacement for an employee on leave.

The majority also entirely failed to consider the very real

fact that a joint employer is usually a sole employer as well. For

example, a temporary help or placement agency has a main office

where its management and administrative employees report on a

regular daily basis. These employees are unquestionably solely

employed by the placement agency. Its joint employees, however,

comprise the pool of employees that the placement agency assigns

to other businesses in off-site locations. Where a joint employer

outstations some of its employees to more fixed secondary

worksites, the majority’s holding would potentially bestow FMLA

17

eligibility to the joint employer’s sole employees but deny such

eligibility to its joint employees. Furthermore, applying §

825.111(a)(3) to joint employees with both “fixed” and “non-

fixed” worksites does not defeat the purpose or operation of the

50/75 provision. For example, a placement agency or any other

joint employer with a large number of employees would still find

itself exempt from FMLA leave requirements if the office from

where its joint employees are assigned (to fixed or non-fixed

sites), employs less than 50 employees (joint or sole) within a 75

mile radius of that office. Finally, the majority’s criticism of the

distinction between sole and joint employment is completely

inconsistent with its dictum that the DOL’s definition of

“worksite” is valid for temporary help agencies, see id. at 1153,

because recognizing the definition of “worksite” in §

825.111(a)(3) as applied to temporary help agencies necessarily

requires that such a distinction between sole and joint employment

be made.

Also, the majority’s distinction between temporary help

agencies and other joint employers creates an arbitrary and

illogical exception for a particular subset of joint employers. A

temporary help agency and a joint employer, like HSG, essentially

operate identically. Both contract with other businesses to provide

necessary employees. Both hire employees for the express

purpose of assigning them to other businesses at off-site locations.

Both are responsible for hiring, firing, paying, providing benefits,

assigning, placing, and transferring their employees. The only

difference between a temporary help agency and an employer like

HSG is that the temporary help agency places specialized

employees who can perform a specific job for a secondary

contracting employer. HSG and other employers with similar

business models provide an entire service (e.g., housekeeping,

security, food service, etc.) and the employees to perform the

service on the site of the secondary contracting business. While

the employees of a temporary help agency are placed in

“temporary” job assignments, those assignments may be either

short- or long-term. Similarly, while the employees of joint

employers like HSG may be hired for a more “permanent”

position, their assignments at any particular contracting business

may be either long- or short-term. Both temporary help agencies

and employers like HSG have the authority to re-assign their

—

18

employees to other job locations, either at the primary employer’s

pleasure or at the request of the secondary contracting employer.

There simply is no difference profound enough between temporary

help agencies and other joint employers to justify validating

§825.111(a)(3) as to one type of joint employer and not others.

Furthermore, the distinction between “fixed” versus “non-fixed”

worksites with respect to jointly employed employees is too

murky to make that the basis for determining the regulation’s

applicability.’

The Tenth Circuit majority has invalidated, as applied, a

wholly reasonable, consistent, and certain definition of “worksite”

for joint employees, and this Court’s review of that decision is

warranted.

CONCLUSION

In this split-decision case-of-first-impression, a majority

of a Tenth Circuit three-judge panel invalidated a DOL regulation

defining “worksite” as the regulation applied to joint employees

with largely “fixed” places of work. The majority’s rationale for

its decision, however, fails to show how the regulation, as applied,

is an arbitrary and unreasonable interpretation of the FMLA—

especially considering the authority given by Congress to the DOL

to implement the statute and Congressional reports expressly

directing that “worksite” be defined as “single site of

employment” under the WARN Act. The WARN Act regulations

defined “single site of employment” for a wide variety of

employment relationships, including employees who are

“outstationed.” The DOL accordingly patterned its regulation

defining “worksite” in the context of joint employment after the

WARN Act regulation relating to outstationed employees. The

majority’s distinction between “fixed” and “non-fixed” worksites

has no basis in the legislative history, and it creates more

uncertainty as the parameters of those terms remain unclear. The

DOL’s regulation § 825.111(a}(3) is a reasonable and permissible

interpretation of the FMLA that provides certainty and consistency

in determining FMLA eligibility for all jointly employed

employees.

” See supra note 6.

19

Given that this question is one of first impression, that the

Tenth Circuit panel was divided, that a regulation authorized by

Congress has been invalidated as applied, and that the invalidation

creates more uncertainty and inconsistency in the area of FMLA

leave for certain types of employment relationships, the United

States Supreme Court should grant certiorari to review the Tenth

Circuit’s decision and the merits supporting the full validation and

enforceability of DOL regulation § 825.111(a)(3).

WHEREFORE, Petitioner, Nancy Harbert, respectfully

requests that the Supreme Court grant review of this matter.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Michael Canges*

CANGES IWASHKO BETHKE

& BAILEY, P.C.

950 Seventeenth Street, Ste 1700

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 860-1900

Clifford L. Beem

A. Mark Isley

CLIFFORD BEEM &

ASSOCIATES, P.C.

730 Seventeenth Street, Ste 850

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 894-8100

* Counsel of Record Attorneys for Petitioner

App. A - I

APPENDIX A

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

NANCY E. HARBERT,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v. No. 03-1156

HEALTHCARE SERVICES GROUP,

INC., a Pennsylvania Corporation,

Defendant — Appellant,

ELAINE CHAO, Secretary of Labor,

Amicus Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Colorado

(D.C. No. 00-K-908 (MJW))

Jeffrey L. Braff, Cozen O’Connor, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for

Defendant-Appellant.

Clifford L. Beem, Clifford Beem & Associates, P.C., Denver,

Colorado (A. Mark Isley, Clifford Beem & Associates, P.C.,

Denver, Colorado, with him on the brief), for Plaintiff-Appellee.

App. A - 2

Roger Wilkinson, Attorney, United States Department of Labor,

Washington, DC (Howard M. Radzely, Solicitor of Labor, Steven

J. Mandel, Associate Solicitor, and Anne P. Fugett, Senior

Attorney, United States Department of Labor, Washington, DC,

with him on the brief), for Amicus Curiae.

Before EBEL, KELLY, and McCONNELL, Circuit Judges.

EBEL, Circuit Judge.

Nancy Harbert (“Plaintiff”) brought this action against her

former employer, Healthcare Services Group, Inc. (“Defendant”),

alleging that Defendant wrongfully denied her request for medical

leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”).

Defendant had denied her request based on a provision of the

FMLA which excludes from FMLA eligibility any employee who

is employed at a particular “worksite” if the employer employs

less than 50 employees within 75 miles of that worksite.

Applying a Department of Labor (“DOL”) regulation, the

district court defined Plaintiff's “worksite” as Defendant’s

regional office in Golden, Colorado. Because Defendant

employed more than 50 employees within 75 miles of its Golden

- office, the district court denied Defendant’s motion for summary

judgment and, after a bench trial, found in Plaintiff's favor.

Defendant filed this appeal, arguing that the relevant portion of the

DOL regulation defining the statutory term “worksite” is invalid.

We exercise jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, and we

REVERSE the judgment of the district court and REMAND for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

BACKGROUND

Defendant contracts out housekeeping and _ laundry

services to long-term care institutions. Defendant employs

approximately 17,000 employees and has contracts with about

1,300 long-term care facilities in 42 states. Organizationally,

Defendant is divided into regions, which are composed of multiple

Yee I A RE NE ATI OHE * emo ae

App. A - 3

districts. Each district is made up of individual accounts, which

are the long-term care institutions. Account managers work at the

account to which they are assigned and report to district managers.

District managers report to regional managers. In Colorado, all

district managers and the regional manager have their offices at

the same location in Golden, Colorado.

Sunset Manor is a convalescent/nursing facility located in

Brush, Colorado, which is more than 75 miles from Golden. In

1994, Plaintiff was hired by Sunset Manor as the Housekeeper

Supervisor, and in 1995 her responsibilities were expanded to

include the position of Laundry Department Supervisor. In 1997,

Defendant entered into an agreement to provide housekeeping and

laundry services to Sunset Manor. Plaintiff's employment with

Sunset Manor was transferred to Defendant, and Plaintiff became

the account manager for Defendant’s Sunset Manor account.

Defendant assumed all responsibility for retaining, transferring, or

firing Plaintiff and also paid her salary and provided her benefits.

Plaintiff’s duties, however, remained essentially the same as when

she was employed directly by Sunset Manor.

Plaintiff worked out of an office at Sunset Manor in

Brush. When Plaintiff reported to her district manager, she

reported to him at Defendant’s regional office in Golden. Such

reports were almost always by telephone or through the

submission of written reports; Plaintiff went to the Golden office

only for an occasional district meeting of account managers.

Sunset Manor’s administrator exercised supervision and control

over Plaintiff when Plaintiff was employed by Sunset Manor, and

this did not change after Plaintiff became an employee of

Defendant. Plaintiff believed that she had a long-term job at

Sunset Manor and planned to work there until her retirement at

age OS.

On November 6, 1998, Plaintiff injured her right hip in a

non-work related automobile accident. Plaintiff got permission

from Defendant to take two 30-day periods of leave, and Plaintiff

began the first 30-day period of leave on December 8, 1998. On

February 20, when Plaintiff failed to report to work after the

expiration of the second 30-day period of leave, Defendant

terminated Plaintiff's employment.

App. A -4

Although Defendant had granted Plaintiff two 30-day

periods of leave, Defendant denied Plaintiff’s request for leave

under the Family and Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”), 29 U.S.C. §

2601 et seq. The FMLA requires covered employers to provide

eligible employees with up to 12 weeks of medical eave per year

for, inter alia, a serious health condition that renders the employee

unable to work. Id. § 2612(a)(1)(D). Only those employees

whose employer employs at least 50 employees within 75 miles of

that employee’s “worksite” are eligible for leave under the Act.

Id. § 2611(2)(B)(ii). The statutory term “worksite” is defined in a

DOL regulation. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3).

Defendant denied Plaintiff's request for FMLA leave

based on Defendant’s conclusion that Plaintiff was not employed

at a “worksite” at which Defendant employed 50 or more

employees within 75 miles, and that she was therefore ineligible

for FMLA leave. This conclusion was based on the premise that

Plaintiff's “worksite” was Sunset Manor in Brush, rather than

Defendant’s regional office in Golden. During the relevant time

period, Defendant employed fewer than 50 employees within 75

miles of Sunset Manor but employed more than 50 employees

within 75 miles of its regional office in Golden.

Plaintiff filed this lawsuit, alleging that Defendant

wrongfully denied her request for medical leave under the FMLA

and wrongfully terminated her. Defendant moved for summary

judgment in part on the ground that the relevant portion of the

DOL regulation defining the statutory term “worksite” was

invalid. See Harbert v. Healthcare Servs. Group, Inc., 173

F.Supp.2d 1101, 1006 (D.Colo. 2001). The district court upheld

the regulation and denied Defendant’s motion for summary

judgment. See id.

After a bench trial, the district court concluded that

Plaintiff's “worksite” under the applicable regulation was

Defendant’s regional office in Golden, Colorado. Because

Defendant employed more than 50 employees within 75 miles of

its Golden office, the court held that Defendant wrongfully denied

Plaintiff benefits under the FMLA. The district court awarded

Pammannenecie iiss ten J AUS ih SLSR R OREN

App. A - 5

Plaintiff back pay, front pay, liquidated damages, interest, costs,

and attorneys fees.

In this appeal, Defendant concedes that the applicable

DOL regulation identifies Plaintiff's “worksite” as its regional

office in Golden. Defendant argues only that this regulation is

invalid, contending that the agency exceeded its authority to

implement the FMLA.

DISCUSSION

i Appellate Jurisdiction

We first address whether we have jurisdiction to consider

the merits of this appeal. On March 13, 2003, the district court

entered an order resolving the issue of liability in Plaintiff’s favor

and setting forth a formula for the calculation of damages. The

court instructed the parties to meet to determine the precise

amount of damages and prepare a judgment in accordance with

that determination. Defendant filed a notice of appeal on April 11.

The district court later entered judgment, fixing damages in the

amount agreed upon by the parties and disposing of the case. No

new notice of appeal was taken from the subsequent judgment.

Defendant now wishes to appeal only the issue of liability resolved

in the March 13 decision, not the subsequent calculation of

damages.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 1291, we have jurisdiction only over

“final” decisions of the district court. Albright v. UNUM Life Ins.

Co. of Am., 59 F.3d 1089, 1092 (10" Cir. 1995). Accordingly, we

must determine whether the March 13 Order — the only order from

which a notice of appeal was taken — was a final decision and, if

not, whether it became final when the district court subsequently

fixed damages and disposed of the case.

A. Whether the March 13 Order was a “final”

decision

For a ruling to be final, “it must end the litigation on the

merits, and the judge must clearly declare his intention in this

respect.” FirsTier Mortgage Co. v. Investors Mortgage Ins. Co.,

App. A - 6

498 U.S. 269, 273-74 (1991) (internal quotations and citations

omitted). A final order is one that “leave[s] nothing for the court

to do but execute the judgment.” Albright, 59 F.2d at 1092

(internal quotations omitted). As a general rule, “the touchstone of

a final order is a decision by the court that a party shall recover

only a sum certain.” Id. (citing Fed. R. Civ. P. 58) (internal

quotations omitted) (emphasis in original). Accordingly, an order

that determines liability but leaves damages to be calculated is not

final. Id. However, pursuant to an exception to the general rule,

“an order is final even if it does not reduce the damages to a sum

certain if the order sufficiently disposes of the factual and legal

issues and any unresolved issues are sufficiently ministerial that

there would be no likelihood of further appeal.” Id. At 1093

(quotations omitted).

For example, in Albright v. UNUM Life Insurance Co. of

America, the plaintiff had requested in his motion for summary

judgment the “monthly benefit of 66 2/3 % of his preinjury basic

monthly earnings less other income benefits such as workers’

compensation and Social Security Disability.” Id. At 1092

(quotation omitted). The district court granted his motion but did

not address the issue of benefits. Id. We stated that “both

determining the correct amount of monthly benefits and the proper

deductions for other income benefits may prove to be complicated

and disputed calculations” and were not likely to be simply

ministerial. Id. at 1093. Accordingly, we held that the district

court’s order was not final, and we dismissed the defendant’s

appeal. Id. at 1094.

In this case, the district court awarded Plaintiff back pay,

front pay, liquidated damages, interest, costs, and attorneys fees.

Specifically, the district court set total back pay in the amount of

$84,778.80, to be reduced by “the amount [Plaintiff] has earned

[since her termination] through other employment together with

interest oi: the net amount at the legal rate.” The district court set

total front pay in the amount of $102,374.40, to be reduced by “the

amount of compensation [Plaintiff] would earn from Conoco [until

her 65" birthday}, calculated at her present rate of earnings per

week plus any guaranteed raises or cost of living increases.”

App. A -7

The district court then ordered the parties “to meet and

confer within {] 20 days from the date hereof to determine the

precise amounts to be set forth in the judgment in accordance with

the above stated findings and conclusions.” The district further

directed, “If counsel can agree, they shall prepare a judgment in

accordance herewith. If counsel are unable to agree, they shall

notify the court within the following ten days and the matters not

agreed upon will be set for hearing.”

The various components of the damages award were not

sufficiently fixed to satisfy the standard we set forth in Albright.

The amount of Plaintiff's past and future earnings was not

determined, and calculation of those amounts could have proven

complicated and disputed. For example, nothing in the order

indicates whether Plaintiff's weekly compensation at Conoco is

fixed or varies, and nothing in the order defines a “guaranteed”

raise or cost of living increase. As such, the process of calculating

damages in this case was no more “ministerial” than it was in

Albright itself.

Moreover, the district court must have contemplated the

possibility of a contentious process because it provided in its order

that if the parties could not agree on the amount of the award, the

disputed issues would be set for hearing. By so providing, the

district court did not “clearly declare{e] his intention” to “end the

litigation on the merits” in the March 13 Order. FirsTier, 498 U.S.

at 273-74. For these reasons, we hold that the court’s March 13

decision was not a final decision.

B. Whether the March 13 Order became “final”

when the district court disposed of the remainder of the case.

In Lewis v. B.F. Goodrich Co., we held that an otherwise

nonfinal decision becomes final and appealable if the district court

adjudicates all remaining claims against all remaining parties

before the appellate court acts to dismiss the appeal on the merits

for lack of jurisdiction. 850 F.2d 641, 645 (10" Cir. 1988) (en

banc); see also Old Republic Ins. Co. v. Durango Air Serv., Inc.,

283 F.3d 1222, 1225 (10" Cir. 2002); Dodd Ins. Servs., Inc. v.

Royal Ins. Co. of Am., 935 F.2d 1152, 1154 n.1 (10" Cir. 1991);

Fed. Sav. & Loan Ins. Corp. v. Huff, 851 F.2d 316, 317-18 (10"

App. A - 8

Cir. 1988) (en banc); Moore’s Federal Practice, § 54.25[3], at 54-

87 (“If an order is not certified under Rule 54(b), but a notice of

appeal is nevertheless filed, any subsequent order of the district

court that completely adjudicates the remaining claims is sufficient

to validate the otherwise premature notice of appeal.”).

Accordingly, a decision that is otherwise nonfinal because it

leaves damages unresolved becomes final and appealable if post-

appeal adjudications in the district court precisely fix damages and

dispose of the case. Gen. Motors Corp. v. New A.C. Chevrolet,

Inc., 263 F.3d 296, 311 n.3 (3™ Cir. 2001).

Here, subsequent to the notice of appeal, the district court

entered a judgment fixing damages. All claims against all parties

are now resolved. The district court’s nonfinal decision therefore

became final as a result of the post-appeal proceedings in the

district court. We hold that the notice of appeal filed in this case

was effective to confer appellate jurisdiction over the district

court’s March 13 Order. See Lewis, 850 F.2d at 645; Gen. Motors

Corp., 263 F.3d at 311 n.3.

Il. MERITS

Defendant challenges only the validity of 29 C.F.R. §

825.111(a)(3), the Department of Labor regulation defining the

“worksite” of jointly-employed employees. Both parties agree

that this joint employment provision, if valid, governs this case

and that it would lead to a conclusion that Plaintiff was a covered

employee. We review a district court’s decision regarding the

validity of an agency regulation de novo. See Pub. Lands Council

v. Babbitt, 167 F.3d 1287, 1293 (10" Cir. 1999).

The framework we use to analyze an agency’s

construction of a statute it administers was set forth by the

Supreme Court in Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-44 (1984). Chevron

mandates a two-step inquiry. “First, always, is the question

whether Congress has directly spoken to the precise question at

issue. If the intent of Congress is clear, that is the end of the

matter; for the court, as well as the agency, must give effect to the

unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.” Id. at 842-43.

Because the judiciary is the final authority on issues of statutory

App. A -9

construction, it “must reject administrative constructions which are

contrary to clear congressional intent.” Id. at 843 n.9. To

ascertain whether Congress had an intent on the precise question at

issue, courts should “employ[] traditional tools of statutory

construction.” Id. These tools include examination of the statute’s

text, structure, purpose, history, and relationship to other statutes.

See Gen. Dynamics Land Sys., Inc. v. Cline, 540 U.S. 581, 124

S.Ct. 1236, 1248-49 (2004).

Second,

[i]f...the court determines Congress has

not directly addressed the precise

question at issue, the court does not

simply impose its own construction on

the statute, as would be necessary in the

absence of aan administrative

interpretation. Rather, if the statute is

silent or ambiguous with respect to the

specific issue, the question for the court

is whether the agency’s answer is based

on a permissible construction of the

statute.

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843 (footnote omitted). The Court explained

that an agency’s answer is permissible unless arbitrary, capricious,

or manifestly contrary to the statute:

The power of an administrative agency

to administer a congressionally created

program necessarily requires the

formulation of policy and the making of

rules to fill any gap left, implicitly or

explicitly, by Congress. If Congress has

explicitly left a gap for the agency to

fill, there is an express delegation of

authority to the agency to elucidate a

specific provision of the statute by

regulation. Such legislative regulations

are given controlling weight unless they

are arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly

App. A - 10

contrary to the statute. Sometimes the

legislative delegation to an agency on a

particular question is implicit rather than

explicit. In such a case, a court may not

substitute its own construction of a

statutory provision for a reasonable

interpretation made by the administrator

of an agency.

Id. at 843-44 (internal quotations and citations omitted) (footnotes

omitted).

A. The Family and Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”’)

The FMLA was enacted, in part, “to balance the demands

of the workplace with the needs of families...[and] to entitle

employees to take reasonable leave for medical reasons...in a

manner that accommodates the legitimate interests of employers.”

29 U.S.C. § 2601(b). The Act entitles eligible employees of

covered employers to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected

leave each year because of, among other things, “a serious health

condition that makes the employee unable to perform the functions

of the position of such employee.” Id. § 2612(a)(1)(D).

As part of the balance that was struck between the

interests of employers and the interests of employees, Congress

included a small employer exception that excludes from the Act’s

coverage employers with fewer than 50 employees. Id. §

2611(4)(A)(i). A separate exception was granted for small

operations — that is, a potentially large company with a relatively

small satellite office in a particular area. Specifically, the statute

excludes from coverage any employee whose employer employs

less than 50 employees within 75 miles of that employee’s

“worksite” (“the 50/75 provision”). Id. § 2611(2)(B)(ii).

According to the House Committee Report, the 50/75 provision

“recognizes the difficulties an employer may have in reassigning

workers to geographically separate facilities.” H.R. Rep. No. 102-

135(1), at 37 (1991).

With these eligibility restrictions, Congress recognized

that only about 40 to 50 percent of all employees would be

————— —“i—™O

App. A- 11

covered by the Act. S. Rep. No. 102-68, at 24 (1991); H.R. Rep.

No. 102-135(1), at 37 (1991).

B. The FMLA regulation defining “worksite”

Congress granted the Secretary of Labor the authority to

prescribe such regulations as are necessary to carry out the FMLA.

29 U.S.C. § 2654. The regulation at issue in this case, 29 C.F.R. §

825.111(a)(3), defines the “worksite” of an employee who is

jointly employed by two or more employers as follows:

For purposes of determining that

employee’s eligibility, when an

employee is jointly employed by two or

more employers (see § 825.106), the

employee’s worksite is the primary

employer’s office from which the

employee is assigned or reports. The

employee is alsc counted by the

secondary employer to determine

eligibility for the secondary employer’s

full-time or permanent employees.

Id. § 825.111(a)(3). Section 825.106(a) states that two entities

may be considered “joint employers” where they both exercise

some control over the work or working conditions of the

employee. Id. § 825.106(a). For example, joint employment will

ordinarily be found to exist when a temporary agency supplies

employees to a second employer. Id. § 825.106(b). In joint

employment relationships, the “primary employer” is the only

employer responsible for providing FMLA leave. Id. §

825.106(c). The “primary employer” is determined by considering

such factors as the authority to hire and fire, assign/place the

employee, make payroll, and provide employment benefits. Id.

In this case, the district court identified Plaintiff as jointly

employed by both Defendant and Sunset Manor, applied §

825.111(a)(3), and defined Defendant as Plaintiff's “primary

employer.” None of this is at issue in this appeal. What is at issue

is whether § 825.111(a)(3) is a valid regulation implementing the

FMLA.

App. A - 12

C. The Chevron analysis

Pursuant to Chevron’s mandate, we must first consider

whether Congress expressed a clear intent with respect to the

meaning of “worksite” for an employee who is jointly employed.

See 467 U.S. at 842-43. We conclude that congressional intent

with respect to this issue is not sufficiently clear to render the

regulation invalid under the first step of Chevron.

“A fundamental canon of statutory construction is that,

unless otherwise defined, words will be interpreted as taking their

ordinary, contemporary, common meaning.” Perrin v. United

States, 444 U.S. 37, 42 (1979); CBC, Inc. v. Bd. Of Governors of

the Fed. Reserve Sys., 855 F.2d 688 690 (10" Cir. 1988).

Congress did not define the term “worksite” in the FMLA.

However, the common understanding of the term “worksite” is the

site where the employee works. Here, the parties do not dispute

that Plaintiff worked at Sunset Manor in Brush, Colorado. Under

the ordinary meaning of the term, her “worksite” would be Sunset

Manor in Brush. However, under the joint employment

regulation, § 825.111(a)(3), Plaintiff’s “worksite” is Defendant’s

regional office in Golden, a place where Plaintiff went only for

occasional meetings or account managers. Nonetheless, Congress

did not expressly define the term “worksite” in the FMLA, and

because Congress has not directly spoken to the question at issue,

we proceed to a step-two analysis under Chevron.

Under the second step of Chevron, we must “give[]

controlling weight [to the agency’s regulations] unless they are

arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly contrary to the statute.”

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844. In light of the deference we owe an

agency’s construction of the statute, this case presents a very close

question. However, we conclude that § 825.111(a)(3), as applied

to the situation of an employee with a fixed place of work, is

arbitrary, capricious, and manifestly contrary to the FMLA. We

first address the three indicia of congressional intent that lead us to

this conclusion, and then consider the counter-arguments made by

Plaintiff and the Secretary of Labor.

1. Common meaning of the term “worksite”

App. A - 13

We concluded above that the agency’s definition of

“worksite,” as applied to Plaintiff, runs contrary to the common

meaning of that term. See discussion supra. That the agency’s

definition of Plaintiff's worksite contravenes the plain meaning of

the term “worksite” is one indicia of congressional intent that

militates against deference to the agency’s construction of the

statute under the second step of Chevron.

2. Legislative Purpose

“Courts must guard against interpretations that might

defeat a statute’s purpose[.]” United States v. Soto-Ornelas, 312

F.3d 1167, 1172 (10" Cir. 2002) (quotations and alterations

omitted). The agency’s definition of worksite, as applied to

Plaintiff, is contrary to the purpose underlying the 50/75 provision.

As discussed above, Congress included a provision in the

FMLA excluding from the Act’s coverage employers with fewer

than 50 employees. 29 U.S.C. § 2611(4)(A)(i). However,

Congress also recognized that even potentially large employers

(i.e., those with more than 50 employees) may have difficulty

finding temporary replacements for employees who work at

geographically scattered locations. Congress therefore determined

that if any employer (large or small) has no significant pool of

employees nearby to cover for an absent employee, that employer

should not be required to provide FMLA leave to that employee.

Specifically, Congress determined that an employer must employ

at least 50 employees within 75 miles of the employee’s worksite.

Id. § 2611(2)(B)(ii).

The House Report confirms that the congressional purpose

underlying the 50/75 provision was to remove the burden of

providing FMLA leave from employers who do not have an

abundant supply of temporary replacements in close geographic

proximity to the employee requesting leave:

For purposes of determining the size of

an employer, there is a geographic

limitation of a 75-mile radius that

applies to the aggregation of employees

App. A - 14

at different facilities. This provision

recognizes the difficulties an employer

may have in reassigning workers to

geographically separate facilities.

H.R. Rep. No. 102-135(I), at 37 (1991).

An employer’s ability to replace a particular employee

during his or her period of leave will depend on where that

employee must perform his or her work. In general, therefore, the

congressional purpose underlying the 50/75 provision :« not

effected if the “worksite” of an employee who has a regular piace

of work is defined as any site other than that place.’

For example, if Defendant were to grant leave to Plaintiff,

Defendant would have been required to find an employee to cover

for Plaintiff at Sunset Manor in Brush, Colorado. It is undisputed

that Defendant employed fewer than 50 employees within 75

miles of Brush. Defendant therefore had no abundant supply of

employees who could have covered for Plaintiff during her period

of leave. Defendant, a large employer with geographically

dispersed employees, is precisely the type of employer Congress

intended to protect with its enactment of the 50/75 provision.

Accordingly, a regulatory provision that defines Plaintiff’s

“worksite” as Defendant’s regional office in Golden does not

effect the congressional purpose underlying the 50/75 provision.

3. Arbitrary distinction between sole and joint

employers

The challenged regulation also creates an arbitrary

distinction between sole employers and joint employers. For

example, if the employer is a company that operates a chain of

convenience stores, the “worksite” of an employee hired to work

at one of those convenience stores is that particular convenience

store. See 58 Fed. Reg. 31794, 31798 (1993). If, on the other

' We do not intend this statement to cast doubt on the portion of the

agency’s regulation defining the “worksite” of employees whose regular

workplace is his or her home. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(2).

ee eee meee

App. A - 15

hand, the employer is a placement company that hires certain

specialized employees to work at convenience stores owned by

another entity (and therefore is considered a joint employer), the

“worksite” of that same employee hired to work at that same

convenience store is the office of the placement company. See 29

C.F.R. § 825.111(1)(3).

Assuming both employers employ more than 50

employees within 75 miles of their central office but fewer than 50

employees within 75 miles of the convenience store, the employee

is ineligible for FMLA leave if the employer is a sole employer

(e.g., the company that owns the convenience store chain) but

eligible for FMLA leave if the employer is a joint employer (e.g.,

the placement company).

Accordingly, the joint employment provision creates the

possibility that an employer’s responsibility to provide FMLA

leave to an employee will depend exclusively on whether that

employer is a sole employer or a joint employer. This is true

despite the fact that neither employer has an abundant supply of

nearby employees to replace temporarily an employee taking leave

and, consequently, are both subject to the burden Congress tried to

alleviate by enacting the 50/75 provision. See discussion supra

Section II.C.2. The effect of the joint employment provision is to

require the joint employer to bear that burden even though the sole

employer is relieved of that burden. Because both types of

employ8ers bear the burden the 50/75 provision was designed to

alleviate, there is simply no basis in the statute or in logic for such

a distinction.” We owe no deference to an agency’s arbitrary

construction of a statute. See Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844.

* The Secretary insists that the distinction between sole employers and

joint employers is not arbitrary because the agency could reasonably

have concluded that joint employers are better equipped to find

replacements for remotely-stationed employees. We disagree. While

some joint employers may have employees who are willing to change job

locations regularly (e.g., temporary employees), there is not reason to

believe that these employees are any more likely than any other

employee to do so if changing job locations requires moving to a new

location more than 75 miles away.

App. A - 16

In sum, the ordinary meaning of the term “worksite,” the

congressional purpose underlying the 50/75 provision, and the

arbitrary distinction the regulation creates between sole and joint

employers all militate strongly against deference to the agency’s

construction of the statute as applied to Plaintiff. At bottom,

Congress intended the term “worksite” to be construed as the

employee’s regular place of work, and we see no reason to apply a

different definition to Plaintiff simply because she is jointly-

employed. We turn next to the counter-arguments offered by the

Secretary and Plaintiff.

4. Counter-arguments

a. The legislative history’s reference to the

WARN Act

The Secretary insists that the joint employment provision

is valid because the agency, as directed by the legislative history,

patterned the definition of “worksite” after the definition of

“single site of employment” in the Worker Adjustment and

Retraining Notification (“WARN”) Act, 29 U.S.C. § 2101 et seq.

The Secretary correctly points out that the House and

Senate Committee Reports both indicate that the term “worksite”

is to be construed consistent with the term “single site of

employment” under the WARN Act and regulations under that

Act:

The term “worksite” intended to be

construed in the same manner as the

term “single site of employment” under

the Worker Adjustment and Retraining

Notification Act (“WARN”), 29 U.S.C.

2101(a)(3)(B), and regulations under

that Act (20 CFR Part 639). Where

employees have no fixed worksite, as is

the case for many construction workers,

transportation workers, and

salespersons, such employee’s

“worksite” should be construed to mean

the single site of employment to which

POR ee ee Sens Sa a nee Se a ET

OPE Pe SIE Oe ee

ieee A we.

wo iiete ts

App. A - 17

they are assigned as their home base,

from which their work is assigned, or to

which they report.

S. Rep. No. 103-3, at 23 (1993); see also H.R. Rep. No. 103-8(1),

at 35 (1993) (substantially the same).

The WARN Act requires covered employers to provide

written notice to affected employees sixty days before a “mass

layoff.” 29 U.S.C. § 2102(a); see also Frymire v. Ampex Corp.,

61 F.2d 757, 761 (10" Cir. 1995). Congress defined “mass layoff”

as “a reduction in force which...results in an employment loss at

the single site of employment during any 30-day period for...at

least 50 employee[.]” 29 U.S.C. § 2101(a)(3) (emphasis added).

The WARN Act itself does not define “single site of

employment.”

The Secretary of Labor has promulgated a regulation

defining the term “single site of employment” for purposes of the

WARN Act.’ 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i); see also 29 U.S.C. § 2107.

The focus of the regulation is in explaining when two or more

different employment sites can be counted together as a “single

site” for the purpose of aggregating employees to reach the 50-

employee minimum. See 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i). The regulation

also recognizes that the employment sites of certain groups of

employees will be difficult to identify. Accordingly, it provides:

For workers whose primary duties

require travel from point to point, who

are outstationed, or whose primary

duties involve work outside any of the

employer’s regular employment sites

(e.g., railroad workers, bus drivers,

salespersons), the single site of

employment to which they are assigned

as their home base, from which their

work is assigned, or to which they

* This regulation was promulgated in 1989 (see 54 Fed. Reg. 16042

(1989)), prior to enactment of the FMLA.

App. A - 18

report will be the single site in which

they are covered for WARN purposes.

Id. § 639.3(i)(6).

The Secretary argues that its FMLA joint employment

regulation, 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3), is consistent with this

WARN regulation defining “single site of employment” for

purposes of the WARN Act. Specifically, the Secretary argues

that jointly-employed employees are essentially “outstationed”

workers and are properly treated in the joint employment

provision of the FMLA in the same manner that outstationed

workers are treated under this WARN Act regulation. For several

reasons, we disagree.

First, we believe that this provision of the WARN Act

governs only employees without a fixed place of work, not

employees who, like Plaintiff, do have a fixed place of work. All

three examples listed in the parenthetical in the WARN Act

regulation are employees who do not have a fixed place of work.

See 20 C.F.R. 639.3(i)(6) (listing railroad workers, bus drivers,

and salespersons). Furthermore, the agency, in enacting the

WARN Act regulation, referred to § 639.3(i)(6) as “that part of the

regulation relating to mobile workers[.]” 54 Fed. Reg. 16042,

16051 (1989).* Finally, for employees who do not have a fixed

* The passage provides in full:

Another commenter suggested that in the railroad industry certain

maintenance crews have no home base and should be treated as separate

operating units. While such workers may well be considered as a

separate operating unit, their status must be determined in terms of the

single site of employment to which they are assigned. These workers

may not have an assigned home base, but they must get their orders or

assignments from somewhere, even if that place changes from time to

time. In order to cover this situation and the situation of outstationed

workers and traveling workers who report to but do not work out of a

particular office, that part of the regulation relating to mobile workers has

been revised to clarify that such workers should be treated as assigned to

their home base or to the single site from which their work is assigned or

(cont'd)

App. A - 19

place of work, there is no reason to believe the agency for

purposes of the WARN Act would have named any different place

as the employee’s employment site. Accordingly, we conclude

that the applicable WARN Acct regulation, 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i)(6),

applies only to employees without a fixed place of work and is not

relevant to employees who, like Plaintiff, do have a fixed place of

work.

Further, even if the term “outstationed” in the WARN Act

regulation could reasonably be interpreted more broadly to

encompass employees who do have a fixed place of work, the

definition of “single site of employment” for outstationed

employees under the WARN Act is ambiguous. Under the

WARN Act regulation, there are three potentially different

locations that could be the “single site of employment” of an

outstationed employee — namely, “the “site...to which they are

assigned as their home base, from which their work is assigned, or

to which they report.” 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i)(6). Accordingly, even

if Plaintiff, who does have a fixed place of work, could be

considered “outstationed” under the WARN Act regulation, it is

entirely unclear from the regulation whether her “single site of

employment” would be Brush (the site to which she is assigned) or

Golden (the place to which she reports and from which she is

assigned). As such, the WARN Act regulation provides little, if

any, guidance to the agency with respect to the proper definition of

“worksite” for an employee who, although arguably

“outstationed,” does have a fixed place of work.

Absent guidance from Congress, such ambiguity might

militate in favor of deference to the agency’s construction of the

statute. As discussed above, however, the plain meaning of the

term “worksite” in the FMLA, the congressional purpose

underlying the 50/75 provision in the FMLA, and the arbitrary

distinction the regulation creates between sole and joint employers

(cont'd)

to which they report. This part of the definition has been moved, for

reasons of organizational clarity, to be a part of the definition of “single

site of employment” in § 639.3(i).

54 Fed. Reg. at 16051 (emphasis added).

App. A - 20

under the FMLA are all factors that militate strongly against

deference to the agency’s construction of that statute. We

therefore find no merit in the Secretary’s argument that an

ambiguous regulation implementing the WARN Act renders the

agency’s construction of the FMLA reasonable.

b. Congressional recognition that the “worksite” of

some employees may not be their regular workplace

The Secretary also argues that because the legislative

history suggests that the “worksite” of some employees may be

some place other than their regular place of work, it was

permissible for the agency to define the “worksite” of jointly-

employed employees as some other location. We disagree.

The House and Senate Committee Reports both provide a

definition of “worksite” for employees with “no fixed worksite.”

Specifically:

Where employees have no _ fixed

worksite, as is the case for many

construction workers, transportation

workers, and_ salespersons, such

employees’ “worksite” should be

construed to mean the single site of

employment to which they are assigned

as their home base, from which their

work is assigned, or to which they

report.

S. Rep. No. 103-3, at 23 (1993); see also H.R. Rep. No. 103-8(D),

at 35 (1993) (substantially the same). As such, both Committee

Reports recognized that all employees, even those without a fixed

worksite, must have a definable “worksite” so that their eligibility

under the Act can be determined. For employees without a fixed

worksite, it was necessary to identify some fixed location that

could serve as a “worksite” for purposes of the Act. See, e.g., S.

Rep. No. 103-3, at 23. That location could not be the employee’s

regular workplace, because the employee has no _ regular

workplace. Accordingly, we do not question the validity of the

App. A - 21

agency’s regulation pertaining to employees with “no fixed

worksite.” See 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(2).

Furthermore, we do not question the validity of the joint

employment provision, id. § 825.111(a)(3), insofar as it applies to

employees of temporary help agencies. An employee of a

temporary help agency does not have a permanent, fixed worksite.

It is therefore appropriate that the joint employment provision

defines the “worksite” of a temporary employee as the temporary

help office, rather than the various changing locations at which the

temporary employee performs his or her work. See 60 Fed. Reg.

2180, 2187 (1995) (explaining that under joint employment

provision, “worksite” of temporary employee is temporary help

office).

On the contrary, if an employee does have a fixed

_ worksite, there is no similar need to identify a constructive

“worksite” for purposes of the FMLA. The Secretary’s argument

that an employee with a fixed worksite should be treated

comparably to an employee without a fixed worksite is therefore

without merit.

In sum, we find the counter-arguments offered by Plaintiff

and the Secretary unavailing, and we conclude that 29 C.F.R. §

825.111(a)(3), as applied to an employee like Plaintiff with a fixed

worksite yet subject to joint employers, is arbitrary, capricious,

and manifestly contrary to the FMLA.°

* We also note that we find no merit in Plaintiff's argument that

congressional silence since the Secretary promulgated the regulation

militates in favor of the regulation’s validity. Plaintiff relies primarily on

Walker v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 240 F.3d 1268 (10" Cir. 2001). In

Walker, Congress had amended Title VII without taking issue with the

agency regulation in question, even though the validity of the regulation

had been the subject of debate within the courts. Id. at 1276. We held

that congressional silence under these circumstances lent support to a

conclusion that the regulation is valid, emphasizing that “[p]lainly

EEOC’s regulation has not escaped public or legislative notice over what

has been nearly a quarter century.” Id. Here, the subject regulation had

not been the subject of debate until this case.

App. A - 22

CONCLUSION

We appreciate the deference we owe to an agency’s

construction of the statute it is charged with administering when

the agency’s construction is not contrary to the clearly expressed

intent of Congress. As the Supreme Court recently recognized,

however, “[o]ur deference to the Secretary...has important limits:

A regulation cannot stand if it is arbitrary, capricious, or

manifestly contrary to the statute.” Ragsdale v. Wolverine World

Wide, Inc., 535 U.S. 81, 87 (2002) (quotation omitted)

(invalidating different FMLA Regulation under second step of

Chevron). We hold the 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3), as applied in

this case to a jointly employed employee with a fixed worksite, is

not a valid exercise of agency authority, and we REVERSE the

judgment of the district court and REMAND for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

App. A - 23

03-1156, Nancy E. Harbert v. Healthcare Services, Inc.

KELLY, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dissenting in part.

While I concur in the court’s conclusion that we have

appellate jurisdiction, I dissent from its holding that 29 C.F.R. §

825.111(a)(3) defining the statutory term “worksite” is invalid, as

applied to a jointly employed employee with a largely fixed

worksite. Declaring invalid a regulation that an agency has been

charged with developing is strong medicine and only appropriate

when the regulation is “arbitrary, capricious, or manifestly

contrary to the statute.” Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, 467 U.S.

837, 844 (1984). Here, the statute never defines “worksite” and

the Secretary of Labor is empowered to prescribe rules to

implement the FMLA. 29 U.S.C. § 2654. We must defer to the

agency’s interpretation if it “is based on a permissible construction

of the statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at 843.

The court invalidates the regulation as applied to jointly

employed employees with largely fixed worksites as inconsistent

with the purpose of the 50/75 provision. Healthcare does not

appeal the district court’s decision that Ms. Harbert was jointly

employed, but instead contends that the “worksite” definition is

invalid. Aplt. Br. at 9-10. The 50/75 provision excludes an

employee from FMLA coverage if the employee “is employed at a

worksite at which [the] employer employs less than 50 employees

if the total number of employees employed by the employer within

75 miles of that worksite is less than 50.” 29 U.S.C. §

2611(2)(B)(ii).

Joint employment comes in many forms. But the primary

employer generally has control over the reassignment, placement,

and hiring and firing of joint employees, not the secondary

employer. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.106(c). Thus, an employee’s

“worksite” is defined with reference to the employer retaining the

most control over the employee, and the employer responsible for

providing FMLA leave. Id. The court’s ipse dixit that the

Secretary’s definition of the term “worksite” is contrary to

common meaning fails to account for the many variations in joint

employment relationships, from forever fixed to forever mobile.

See Moreau _v. Air Fr., 356 F.2d 942, 946 (9" Cir. 2004); 29

C.F.R. 825.106.

App. A - 24

The legislative history reflects that the Senate and House

obviously were aware of variations in joint employment

relationships and directed the Secretary to construe “worksite” in

the same manner as the term “single site of employment” under

the WARN Act. S.R. Doc. No. 103-3, at 25 (1993); see also H.R.

Doc. No. 103-8, pt. 1, at 35 (1993). Though both the legislative

history and a WARN Act regulation, 20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i), discuss

workers that lack a fixed site of employment, the Secretary’s

interpretation that other arrangements are encompassed within the

directive to the WARN Act is a permissible and reasonable

interpretation. Holding that the WARN Act regulation only

applies to employees without a regularly fixed site of employment

would seem to contravene the express language of the provision

which mentions other categories, including employees who “travel

from point to point, who are outstationed, or whose primary duties

involve work outside any of the employer’s regular employment

site.” Id.

The court’s contrast between sole and joint employers (a

convenience store chain and a temporary placement agency) as an

example resulting arbitrary differences in treatment is hardly

persuasive. Ct. Op. at 20; but see id. at 28. The court contends

that these two employers would be treated differently even though

neither has abundant replacements nearby. Unlike the court, I find

this distinction favors the validity of the regulation. Basing

FMLA eligibility on primary employers prevents confusion and

provides certainty, because a temporary placement employee’s

coverage could vary daily were he placed in different convenience

stores on a rotating basis. Further, contrary to the court’s

assertion, the ability of a convenience store and a placement

agency to find abundant nearby replacements probably is not

identical, after all, the placement agency specializes in hiring and

placing employees within the area.

Though the regulation might be more precise were we

crafting it, that is not our function. It is a permissible exercise of

agency rulemaking. I respectfully dissent.

App. B - I

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 00-K-908

NANCY E. HARBERT,

Plaintiff,

v.

HEALTHCARE SERVICES GROUP, INC.,

Defendant.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND

: ORDER

KANE, J.

This is an action brought pursuant to the Family Medical

Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), 29 U.S.C. § 2601 et seq. Jurisdiction

is uncontested and exists pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1331 and

29 U.S.C. §2617 (a)(2). Trial to the court was held on October 16

and 17, 2002. At the request of the parties, post-trial briefs and

proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law were tendered.

The following constitutes my findings of fact, conclusions of law

and order for entry of judgment. I am guided in my conclusions

regarding joint employment by my previous written decision in

this case, published as Harbert v. Healthcare Servs. Group, Inc.,

173 F. Supp.2d 1101 (D. Colo. 2001), and related bench rulings

denying Defendants’ Motion for Reconsideration.

Nancy E. Harbert, an employee of Healthcare Services

Group, Inc. (“Healthcare”), was born on February 12, 1943. Mrs.

Harbert was denied medical leave under the FMLA on the

App. B - 2

assertion that she was not eligible. I denied a motion for summary

judgment on this issue because of factual disputes.

Under the FMLA only “eligible employees” are entitled to

the benefits of the FMLA. One of the eligibility requirements is

that an individual be employed at a worksite at which the

employer keeps at least 50 employees within a radius of 75 miles.

Mrs. Harbert worked at the Sunset manor convalescent and

nursing facility at Brush, Colorado. She admits that Healthcare

did not employ 50 or more employees within the required radius.

Eligibility, however, is based on her assertions that under the

regulations issued by the United States Department of Labor, she

was jointly employed by both Healthcare and Sunset Manor; that

Healthcare was her primary employer; and her official “worksite”

per the regulation was Healthcare’s Regional Office located in

Golden, Colorado. It is undisputed that Healthcare employs more

than 50 people within a 75 mile radius of its Golden office.

Therefore, if the regulation applies and if Mrs. Harbert was jointly

employed as stated, she was indeed eligible for the FMLA leave

requested by her and denied by Healthcare.

The regulations of the United States Department of Labor

provide that when an employee performs work which

simultaneously benefits two or more employers, a joint

employment relationship will be considered to exist in such

situations as:

(1) Where there is an arrangement between employers

to share an employee’s services or to interchange employees;

(2) Where on employer acts directly or indirectly in

the interest of the other employer in relations to the employee; or,

(3) Where the employers are not completely

disassociated with respect to the employee’s employment and may

be deemed to share control of the employee, directly or indirectly,

because one employer controls, is controlled by, or is under

common control with the other employer.

The third regulatory provision is not germane to this case.

Healthcare, moreover, maintains none is germane because Mrs.

App. B -3

Harbert was incapable of returning to work by the expiration of

the twelve weeks permitted under the FMLA in any event. Mrs.

Harbert contends she was indeed eligible because Healthcare and

Sunset Manor shared control of her employment, both directly and

indirectly, and she was under their common control and she was

able to return to work. She also notes she was terminated before

the twelve week FMLA leave period ran, rendering Healthcare’s

assertion that she was incapable of returning to work at the end of

that period speculative and unpersuasive.

Commendably, the parties made 42 stipulations which are

set forth in the pre-trial order dated August 5, 2002 and are

incorporated herein by this reference. As succinctly as possible,

the following chronology sets forth the essential facts of Mrs.

Harbert’s employment.

On November 4, 1994, Mrs. Harbert was employed by

Sunset Manor as the Housekeeper Supervisor. In January 1995,

her responsibilities were increased to include the position of

Laundry Department Supervisor. On November 25, 1997, Sunset

Manor entered into a service agreement with Healthcare by which

the latter would provide housekeeping and laundry services to the

former. In the transition, Mrs. Harbert’s employment with Sunset

Manor was transferred to Healthcare. Her duties remained

essentially the same, but she was required to report to a district

manager at Healthcare’s regional office in Golden, Colorado.

In addition to managerial and supervisory responsibilities,

Mrs. Harbert performed many of the physical tasks involved in

both housekeeping and laundry. She operated a number of heavy

machines and worked an average of 50-55 hours per week,

Monday through Friday. She was paid on the basis of a 40 hour

week and did not receive overtime pay.

On November 6, 1998, Mrs. Harbert was involved in a

non-work related automobile accident and suffered an injury to her

hip. She attempted to return to work on November 16, 1998, but

was unable to do so because of intense pain. On November 23,

1998 she called her district manager at Healthcare and asked for

permission to take immediate leave of absence. The district

manager deferred, promising to look into the situation.

App. B - 4

On November 30, Mrs. Harbert’s physician, Dr. Clise,

examined her and gave her a note stating that because of her injury

she should not stand for more that two hours per day. Mrs.

Harbert called her district manager and advised him of the

restriction and asked about her earlier request for leave. The

district manager advised that as soon as she arranged for someone

to replace her, she could go on leave. Oa December 7, Dr. Cline

executed Healthcare’s form for certification pursuant to the FMLA

and Mrs. Harbert gave training instructions to a replacement she

had found. The next day she began a 30-day medical leave.

On January 7, 1999, Healthcare received Mrs. Harbert’s

request for leave pursuant to the FMLA and on January 14 she

received a response advising her that she did not qualify for

FMLA, but granting her an additional 30-day leave. On February

10, 1999 Dr. Cline released Mrs. Harbert to work half-time and on

February 20, Healthcare terminated Mrs. Harbert for failing to

comply with the requirements of her 30-day leave. On March 9,

1999 Dr. Cline gave Mrs. Harbert a note stating she could return to

full-time work without restriction. Having received her

termination letter of February 20, Mrs. Harbert did not deliver or

advise Healthcare of the note from Dr. Cline or her ability to

return to work without restriction.

At the time of her termination, Mrs. Harbert was paid

$330.00 per week plus health, life, and dental insurance benefits

worth an additional $69.90 per week. Following her termination,

Mrs. Harbert sought other employment. In August 2001, she took

the first job she was offered by Conoco. This job was at less pay

than she had received from Healthcare. She was still employed by

Conoco at the time of this trial. She has not missed a day of work

at Conoco and her duties are at least and frequently more

strenuous and physically demanding than those she performed

while employed by Healthcare.

After signing the service agreement with Sunset Manor,

Healthcare was entirely responsible for setting Mrs. Harbert’s rate

of pay, salary and benefits and had ultimate authority for hiring,

transferring and terminating her. Mrs. Harbert was required to

submit a variety of monthly reports to her district manager. The

EERE OSES ie Ae AB ER ib A a

LI. SO FOL I IPE NERS iS 63, Urbane! SAS a bP STEN DAs

App. B - 5

disirict manager visited Sunset Manor once or twice each month

and as his supervisor, the regional manager, visited the location an

estimated three to six times during the entire time the agreement

was in effect. Mrs. Harbert attended some of the monthly account

manager meetings held by her district manager at the Golden

offices.

Mrs. Harbert’s supervisors at Healthcare were aware of,

and directed her to comply with, the supervisory control and

authority exercised over her by Sunset Manor’s administrator,

Kathy Mecklenburg. Healthcare approved of Ms. Mecklenburg’s

requiring Mrs. Harbert to attend Sunset Manor department head

meetings. The regional manager testified that Healthcare

preferred “that their account managers meet the expectations of

the administrator of the facility.” Both the district manager and

the regional manager were aware that Mrs. Harbert regularly

ordered supplies for and at the request of Sunset Manor that were

outside stated obligations of the service agreement and neither

objected.

The monthly report forms Mrs. Harbert used to report to

the district manager did not include a place to describe

assignments that might have been performed at the request of

Sunset Manor but that were not included in the services

agreement. Moreover, neither the district manager nor the

regional manager ever inquired of Mrs. Harbert of the Sunset

Manor administrator about such assignments. Thus, the district

manager and the regional manager were unaware that Kathy

Mecklenburg required Mrs. Harbert to clean facilities not included

in the agreement, or other ultra-contractual assignments to drive

the Sunset Manor shuttle van on a regular basis to Denver and

back to Brush, to participate in the pick up of trash along an

interstate highway along with Sunset Manor employees, to sell

tickets for Sunset Manor and attend fund raising events or train,

schedule and supervise Sunset Manor employees who were not

subject to the Healthcare service agreement.

Both before and after Mrs. Harbert’s nominal employer

was changed from Sunset manor to Healthcare, Kathy

Mecklenburg exercised direct, immediate and hands-on

supervisory control over her. This control included setting Mrs.

App. B - 6

Harbert’s work schedule and hours, directing the manner of

performance of her duties and the daily assignments of those

working under Mrs. Harbert and requiring her to work nights and

weekends.

Healthcare and Sunset Manor are entirely separate

organizations. Neither has an ownership in the other nor have

there ever been common officers or directors between the two.

Sometime during the first two weeks of February, 1999, however,

Kathy Mecklenburg told the district manager that she was very

pleased with the account manager whim Mrs. Harbert had found to

replace her during her leave and that she, Kathy Mecklenburg,

would prefer that Mrs. Harbert not return to Sunset Manor.

Healthcare denies Meckleburg’s preference had anything

to do with Mrs. Harbert’s termination and asserts that such a

finding would be pure speculation. I need not make such a

finding, but it would not be entirely speculative. Rather, it would

be fair inference drawn from the proximity of the statement to the

decision to terminate to conclude that, when coupled with her

supervisory contacts with Mrs. MHarbert, Mecklenburg’s

declaration influenced the decision.

I conclude Mrs. Harbert performed substantial services for

both Healthcare and Sunset Manor. Mrs. Harbert was primarily

employed by Healthcare to supervise and perform housekeeping

and laundry services. At the direction and under the supervision

and discipline of Sunset Manor’s administrator, Mrs. Harbert was

required to perform additional duties beyond those specified in the

service agreement.

Some of these additional duties were known to Healthcare

supervisors of Mrs. Harbert, and others, which were unknown to

those supervisors were plainly recognizable and discoverable by

even the slightest observation or enquiry. Moreover, Sunset

Manor provided daily supervision, work scheduling and

employment evaluation for Healthcare.

In determining the existence of a joint employer

relationship under FMLA, I must use the economic realities test

and focus on the employee rather than the legal relationship

App. B - 7

between the employers. See Harbert, 173 F. Supp.2d at 1105-06.

Given the totality of Mrs. Harbert’s job circumstances, it is

obvious that she could not work at Sunset Manor without the

approval, direct supervision and coordinated control of that

institution. }

Healthcare argues that it had no knowledge of other

activities that Mecklenburg directed Mrs. Harbert to perform.

First, Mrs. Harbert had such knowledge and she was an employee

of Healthcare. Second, Healthcare supervisors made site visits to

Sunset Manor and such information was readily available to them.

That they did not see what was plainly visible and failed to inquire

is not a defense.

The predictable issue for appeal in this case is my

previous ruling that the Department of Labor’s regulation 29

C.F.R. Section 825.111(a)(3) is valid and enforceable. In my

memorandum opinion, I held that the regulation providing that

when a joint employment relationship exists, the employer’s

worksite is the primary employer’s office from which the

employee is assigned or reports to, is based on a permissible

construction of the word “worksite” and therefore does not

contradict the express terms of the FMLA. 173 F. Supp.2d at

1106. I continue to adhere to that ruling.

The decision by Healthcare that Mrs. Harbert was not

covered by the FMLA was not made at the regional or district

level of the company, but by the Benefits Administrator at the

company’s headquarters. That conclusion was based on the

Benefits Administrator’s determination that Mrs. Harbert was not

employed at a worksite at which Healthcare employee 50 or more

employees within a 75 mile radius. There is no evidence or

argument to suggest that the Benefits Administrator even

considered the subject regulation.

Mrs. Harbert is entitled to liquidated damages under 29

U.S.C. § 216(b). Defendants invoke the good faith defense at 29

U.S.C. § 260 to object that Mrs. Harbert should not be awarded

liquidated damages because Healthcare denied coverage of the

FMLA in good faith. The contention, however, is rejected.

Section 260 provides that liquidated damages are recoverable

App. B -8

unless the employer shows that it acted in good faith and had

reasonable grounds for believing that it did not violate the Act.

Generally, Renfro v. City of Emporia, 948 F.2d i529, 1540 (10"

Cir.1991). There can be no reasonable grounds for believing

Healthcare did not violate the Act when it paid no attention at all

to the regulation. The second half of the equation is missing. A

post hoc challenge to the validity of the regulation will not obviate

consideration of it at the time benefits are denied.

It is therefore ORDERED that the plaintiff shall have

judgment as follows: $399.00 dollars per week from the date of

termination, February 16, 1999 to the date of this order, March 12,

2003 or $84,778.80 less the amount Mrs. Harbert has earned

during the same period of time through other employment together

with interest on the net amount at the legal rate, liquidated

damages in the same amount and front pay in an amount equal to

$399.90 per week from March 12, 2003 to February 12, 2008, her

65" birthday and the day she admittedly intended to retire or

$102,374.40, reduced by the amount of compensation she would

earn from Conoco during that time, calculated at her present rate

of earnings per week plus any guaranteed raises or cost of living

increases. I am specifically not ordering reinstatement rather than

front pay because it would not be practicable under the

circumstances of this case, the fact that Mrs. Harbert was replaced

and the position she held involved personal concord which is not

realistically obtainable.

In addition, Mrs. Harbert is awarded the cost of her

reasonable attorney fees herein expended, expert witness fees, and

other court costs pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 2617 (a)(3). Counsel for

both parties are hereby ORDERED to meet and confer withing 20

days from the date hereof to determine the precise amounts to be

set forth in the judgment in accordance with the above stated

findings and conclusions. If counsel can agree they shall prepare a

judgment in accordance herewith. If counsel are unable to agree,

they shall notify the court within the following ten days and the

matters not agreed upon will be set for hearing. If attorney fees

are not agreed upon, each party shall present expert testimony and

the court will take evidence on determining a reasonable amount

therefore. The cost of such hearing, including expert witness fess

CLT a RS Peedi CREB oer dai,

App. B - 9

shall be borne by the party whose amount differs most from the

amount fixed by the court.

Dated this 13" day of March, 2003, at Denver, Colorado.

John L. Kane

U.S. Senior District Court Judge

4

|

App. C - 1

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

NANCY E. HARBERT,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v. No. 03-1156

HEALTHCARE SERVICES GROUP,

INC., a Pennsylvania Corporation,

Defendant — Appellant,

ELAINE CHAO, Secretary oi Labor,

Amicus Curiae.

ORDER

Filed March 2, 2005

Before EBEL, KELLY, and McCONNELL, Circuit Judges.

Appellee’s petition for rehearing, is denied. Judge Kelly

has dissented.

The petition for rehearing en banc was transmitted to all of

the judges of the court who are in reguliar active service. As no

member of the panel and no judge in reg:ular active service on the

App. C -2

court requested that the court be polled, that petition is also

denied.

Entered for the Court

PATRICK FISHER, Clerk of Court

(signed)

By:

Deputy Clerk

App. D - I

APPENDIX D

Joint Employment Under FMLA, 29 C.F.R. § 825.106.

§ 825.106 How is “joint employment” treated under

FMLA?

(a) Where two or more businesses exercise some

control over the work or working conditions of the employee, the

businesses may be joint employers under FMLA. Joint employers

may be separate and distinct entities with separate owners,

managers and facilities. Where the employee performs work

which simultaneously benefits two or more employers, or works

for two or more employers at different times during the workweek,

a joint employment relationship generally will be considered to

exist in situations such as:

(1) Where there is an arrangement between

employers to share an employee’s services or to

interchange employees;

(2) Where one employer acts directly or

indirectly in the interest of the other employer in relation

to the employee; or

(3) Where the employers are not completely

disassociated with respect to the employee’s employment

and may be deemed to share control of the employee,

directly or indirectly, because one employer controls, is

controlled by, or is under common control with the other

employer.

(b) A determination of whether or not a joint

employment relationship exists is not determined by the

application of any single criterion, but rather the entire relationship

is to be viewed in its totality. For example, joint employment will

ordinarily be found to exist when a temporary or leasing agency

supplies employees to a second employer.

(c) In joint employment relationships, only the

primary employer is responsible for giving required notices to its

a ee ee eee ee Te +o ik

App. D - 2

employees, providing FMLA leave, and maintenance of health

benefits. Factors considered in determining which is the

“primary” employer include authority/responsibility to hire and

fire, assign/place the employee, make payroll, and provide

employment benefits. For employees of temporary help or leasing

agencies, for example, the placement agency most commonly

would be the primary employer.

(d) Employees jointly employed by two employers

must be counted by both employers, whether or not maintained on

one of the employer’s payroll, in determining employer coverage

and employee eligibility. For example, an employer who jointly

employs 15 workers from a leasing or temporary help agency and

40 permanent workers is covered by FMLA. An employee on

leave who is working for a secondary employer is considered

employed by the secondary employer, and must be counted for

coverage and eligibility purposes, as long as the employer has a

reasonable expectation that that employee will return to

employment with that employer.

(e) Job restoration is the primary responsibility of the

primary employer. The second employer is responsible for

accepting the employee returning from FMLA leave in place of

the replacement employee if the secondary employer continues to

utilize an employee from the temporary or leasing agency, and the

agency chooses to place the employee with the secondary

employer. A secondary employer is also responsible for

compliance with the prohibited acts provisions with respect to its

temporary/leased employees, whether or not the secondary

employer is covered by FMLA (see § 825.220(a)). The prohibited

acts include prohibitions against interfering with an employee’s

attempt to exercise rights under the Act, or discharging or

discriminating against an employee for Opposing a practice which

is unlawful under FMLA. A covered secondary employer will be

responsible for compliance with all the provisions of the FMLA

with respect to its regular, permanent workforce.

App. E-1

APPENDIX E

FMLA Eligibility Under 50/75 Provision, 29 C.F.R. § 825.111.

§825.111 In determining if an employee

“eligible” under FMLA, how is the determination made

whether the employer employs 50 employees within 75 miles of

the worksite where the employee needing leave is employed?

(a) Generally, a worksite can refer to either a single

location or a group of contiguous locations. Structures which

form a campus or industrial park, or separate facilities in

proximity with one another, may be considered a single site of

employment. On the other hand, there may be several single sites

of employment within a single building, such as an office building,

if separate employers conduct activities within the building. For

example, an office building with 50 different businesses as tenants

will contain 50 sites of employment. The offices of each employer

will be considered separate sites of employment for purposes of

FMLA. An employee’s worksite under FMLA will ordinarily be

the site the employee reports to or, if none, from which the

employee's work is assigned.

(1) Separate buildings or areas which are not

directly connected or in immediate proximity are a single

worksite if they are in reasonable geographic proximity,

are used for the same purpose, and share the same staff

and equipment. For example, if an employer manages a

number of warehouses in a metropolitan area but regularly

shifts or rotates the same employees from one building to

another, the multiple warehouses would be a single

worksite.

(2) For employees with no fixed worksite,

e.g., Construction workers, transportation workers (e.g.,

truck drivers, seamen, pilots), salespersons, etc., the

“worksite” is the site to which they are assigned as their

home base, from which their work is assigned, or to which

they report. For example, if a construction company

headquartered in New Jersey opened a construction site in

Ohio, and set up a mobile trailer on the construction site as

App. E -2

the company’s on-site office, the construction site in Ohio

would be the worksite for any employees hired locally

who report to the mobile trailer/company office daily for

work assignments, etc. If that construction company also

sent personnel such as job superintendents, foremen,

engineers, an office manager, etc., from New Jersey to the

job site in Ohio, those workers sent fro New Jersey

continue to have the headquarters in New Jersey as their

“worksite.” The workers who have New Jersey as their

worksite would not be counted in determining eligibility

of employees whose home base is the Ohio worksite, but

would be counted in determining eligibility of employees

whose home base is New Jersey. For transportation

employees, their worksite is the terminal to which they are

assigned, report for work, depart, and return after

completion of a work assignment. For example, an airline

pilot may work for an airline with headquarters in New

York, but the pilot regularly reports for duty and

originates or begins flights from the company’s facilities

located in an airport in Chicago and returns to Chicago at

the completion of one or more flights to go off duty. The

pilot’s worksite is the facility in Chicago. An employee’s

personal residence is not a worksite in the case of

employees such as salespersons who travel a sales

territory and who generally leave to work and return from

work to their personal residence, or employees who work

at home, as under the new concept of flexiplace. Rather,

their worksite is the office to which the report and fro

which assignments are made.

(3) For purposes of determining _ that

employee’s eligibility, when an employee is jointly

employed by two or more employers (see § 825.106), the

employee’s worksite is the primary employer’s office

from which the employee is assigned or reports. The

employee is also counted by the secondary employer to

determine eligibility for the secondary employer’s full-

time or permanent employees.

(b) The 75-mile distance is measured by surface

miles, using surface transportation over public streets, roads,

App. E - 3

highways and waterways, by the shortest route from the facility

where the eligible employee needing leave is employed. Absent

available surface transportation between worksites, the distance is

measured by using the most frequently utilized mode of

transportation (e.g., airline miles).

(c) The determination of how many employees are

employed within 75 miles of the worksite of an employee is based

on the number of employees maintained on the payroll.

Employees of educational institutions who are employed

permanently or who are under contract are “maintained on the

payroll” during any portion of the year when school is not in

session. See § 825.105(c).

App. F - 1

APPENDIX F

Warn Act Regulation Defining “Single Site of Employment,”

20 C.F.R. § 639.3(i)

(i) Single site of employment. (1) A single site of

employment can refer to either a single location or a group of

contiguous locations. Groups of structures which form a campus

or industrial park, or separate facilities across the street from one

another, may be considered a single site of employment.

(2) There may be several single sites of employment

within a single building, such as an office building, if separate

employers conduct activities within such a building. For example,

an office building housing 50 different businesses will contain 50

single sites of employment. The offices of each employer will be

its single site of employment.

(3) Separate buildings or areas which are not directly

connected or in immediate proximity may be considered a single

site of employment if they are in reasonable geographic proximity,

used for the same purpose, and share the same staff and

equipment. An example is an employer who manages a number of

warehouses in an area but who regularly shifts or rotates the same

employees from one building to another.

(4) Non-contiguous sites in the same geographic area

which do not share the same staff or operational purpose should

not be considered a single site. For example, assembly plants

which are located on opposite sides of a town and which are

managed by a single employer are separate sites if they employ

different workers.

(5) Contiguous buildings owned by the same

employer which have separate management, produce different

products, and have separate workforces are considered separate

single sites of employment.

App. F - 2

(6) For workers whose primary duties require travel

from point to point, who are outstationed, or whose primary duties

involve work outside any of the employer’s regular employment

sites (e.g., railroad workers, bus drivers, salespersons), the single

site of employment to which they are assigned as their home base,

from which their work is assigned, or to which they report will be

the single site in which they are covered for WARN purposes.

(7) Foreign sites of employment are not covered

under WARN. U.S. workers at such sites are counted to determine

whether an employer is covered as an employer under § 639.3(a).

(8) The term “single site of employment” may also

apply to truly unusual organizational situations where the above

criteria do not reasonably apply. The application of this definition

with the intent to evade the purpose of the Act to provide notice is

not acceptable.

App. G - 1

APPENDIX G

Senate Report No. 103-3, 103d Cong., 1" Sess., at 21-23,

Reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N. 3, 23-25.

P.L. 103-3, FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

SENATE REPORT NO. 103-3

January 27, 1993

IV. COMMITTEE VIEWS

DEFINITIONS

The term “worksite” is intended to be construed in the

same manner as the term “single site of employment” under the

Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (“WARN”),

29 U.S.C. 2101(a)(3)(B), and regulations under that Act (20 CFR

Part 639). Where employees have no fixed worksite, as is the case

for many construction workers, transportation workers, and

Salespersons, such employees’ “worksite” should be construed to

mean the single site of employment to which they are assigned as

their home base, from which their work is assigned, or to which

they report.

App. H - I

APPENDIX H

House of Representatives Report No. 103-8(1), at 33-35 (1993)

P.L. 103-3, FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT OF 1993

HOUSE REPORT NO. 103-8(D)

February 2, 1993

EXPLANATION OF THE BILL AND SECTION ANALYSIS

Definitions

The term “worksite” is intended to be construed in the

same manner as the term “single site of employment” under

section 2(a)(3)(B) the Worker Adjustment and Retraining

Notification Act (“WARN”), 29 U.S.C. 2101(a)(3)(B), and

regulations under that Act (20 CFR Part 639). Where employees

have no fixed worksite, as is the case for many construction

workers, transportation workers, and _ salespersons, such

employees’ “worksite” should be construed to mean the single site

of employment to which they are assigned as their home base,

from which their work is assigned, or to which they report.

NOt ee a Oe

ee aE ARG ORD

Petitioner,

HEALTHCARE SERVICES GROUP, INC.,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

-¢

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

*

JEFFREY L. BRAFF

Cozen O’CONNOR

1900 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 665-2048

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 228-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (403) 342-2831

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is the Department of Labor’s regulation defining

“worksite,” 29 C.F.R. § 825.111(a)(3), a valid and enforce-

able implementation of the FMLA as applied to a joint

employee who has a fixed place of work?

ii

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

There is no parent corporation or publicly held corpo-

ration that owns 10% or more of the stock of Healthcare

Services Group, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION PRESENTED... i

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT................. ii

PRR ADE COPE RTRIN 00 iiss. co seucs concecssiidbcuisosddscaodsvnedeasos ii

TABLE OF AUTHORIUIGSG iioiicsssciccetscseedscvisiscsscosticeisss iv

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE .................... 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT....................00 3

I. The Dissent Is Premised Upon ACritical Flaw... 4

II. The Majoritys Opinion Will Not Lead To Greater

Uncertainty Or Illogical Or Inconsistent Results... 8

GONCLIGIIOIN io sss seni dissisccpecseiteactivbntaisiobunasiecsitbibests 10

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASE

Chevron USA, Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Connects, 2ne.; 467 US; BST CIBB4) onic cncccccecocccconccvcee 3, 8

REGULATIONS

Ra ecg Ae IID Sock aia. dnsiccesina eicbudamckacesenesthuarsobdonsen 7

PRG ies We ERRAND, isi dingida os cinncceciots stein soksbins wis Shaiisnimabands 7

ee ae I shed cat sdcsdees sactineisconadtin. casicepeintecpeedaaes 7

ae ts We AE MORI Oats sass sini coasethincvnciceannciidagenacsuas 8,9

RULE

RS SE I Sci csc ots ic csiadd ina eacbiacnseecincssndackngpiobocan wuabeien 3

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 102-135, pt. 1 (1991) 00... eee eeceeseeeeeeeeees 4

Fa.ae Sees. 2ee. 100-B.' nt. 1 CAGBB) oe a eucnas 5

Tg MANN RD: PERUIES CONE) svrivnansdcepcindacecadacssansndcnanasdubyand suakoaden 4

ay UIs, BOM. APNE CANINE sacs cknndca tasshanseanssakscsdancnloencgsieasantucs 9)

1

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner’s Statement of the Case is confined largely

to setting forth the nature of the case and the proceedings

below. Healthcare does not take issue with that recitation,

except for the representation at page 6 that Judge Kelly

dissented in the denial of Harbert’s Petition for Rehearing

En Banc. As stated in the March 2, 2005 Order of the

Tenth Circuit, that Petition was denied because “no

member of the panel and no judge in regular active service

on the court requested that the court be polled.” App. C.

However, Petitioner’s Statement of the Case fails to

include numerous facts that are material to the considera-

tion of the question presented. Those facts are set forth

herein.

Healthcare provides housekeeping and laundry

services to long-term care institutions on a contract basis.

It employs approximately 17,000 employees and has

contracts with about 1,300 long-term care facilities in 42

states. Organizationally, Healthcare is divided into re-

gions, which are composed of multiple districts. Each

distri«. is made up of individual accounts, which are the

long-term care institutions. App. A-2, 3.

Healthcare’s Account Managers work at the account to

which they are assigned and report to District Managers.

District Managers report to Regional Managers. In Colorado,

all District Managers and the Regional Manager had their

offices at the same location in Golden, Colorado. App. A-3.

Sunset Manor is a convalescent/nursing facility

located in Brush, Colorado, which is more than 75 miles

from Golden. App. A-3. During all relevant times, Health-

care employed fewer than 50 employees within a 75 mile

2

radius of Sunset Manor. App. B-2. Healthcare and Sunset

Manor are entirely separate organizations. Neither has an

ownership interest in the other, nor have there ever been

common officers or directors between the two. App. B-6.

In 1994, Harbert was hired by Sunset Manor as the

Housekeeping Supervisor, and in 1995 her responsibilities

were expanded to include the position of Laundry Depart-

ment Supervisor. In 1997, Healthcare entered into an

agreement to provide housekeeping and laundry services

to Sunset Manor. Harbert’s employment with Sunset

Manor was transferred to Healthcare, and Harbert be-

came the Account Manager for Healthcare’s Sunset Manor

account. Healthcare assumed all responsibility for retain-

ing, transferring, or firing Harbert, and also paid her

salary and provided her benefits. Harbert’s duties, how-

ever, remained essentially the same as when she was

employed directly by Sunset Manor. App. A-3.

Harbert worked an average of 50 to 55 hours per week

out of an office at Sunset Manor. App. B-3. When she

reported to her District Manager, she reported to him at

Healthcare’s Regional Office in Golden. Such reports were

almost always by telephone or through the submission of

written reports; Harbert went to the Golden office only for an

occasional District meeting of Account Managers. App. A-3.

Sunset Manor’s Administrator exercised direct, immedi-

ate, and hands-on supervisory control over Harbert when

Harbert was employed by Sunset Manor, and this control did

not change after Harbert became an employee of Healthcare.

The Administrator’s control included setting Harbert’s work

schedule and hours, directing the manner of performance of

her duties and the daily assignments of those working

3

under Harbert, and requiring Harbert to work nights and

weekends. App. B-5, 6.

Harbert believed that she had a long-term job at

Sunset Manor and planned to work there until her retire-

ment at age 65. App. A-3.

rs

Vv

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

As is clear from Rule 10 of this Court’s Rules, a

petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only for truly

compelling reasons. The validity of the regulation at issue is

a matter of first impression outside of the Tenth Circuit.

Indeed, not only is there no conflict among the Circuit Courts

of Appeal, but the only reported District Court decision on

this issue is that of the trial court in this case.

Furthermore, it is undisputed that Chevron USA, Inc.

v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837

(1984) sets forth the analysis and framework against

which the regulation at issue must be measured, and that

the Tenth Circuit did just that. In no way does the major-

itys opinion constitute “new law” with respect to the

analysis used to determine whether an agency’s construc-

tion of a statute which it administers is a permissible

construction. And Rule 10 states specifically that a peti-

tion is “rarely granted when the asserted error consists of

... the misapplication of a properly stated rule of law.”

The arguments advanced by the Petitioner in support

of the writ fall far short of justifying the exercise of this

Court’s supervisory power. They will be addressed below.

Before doing so, however, Healthcare wishes to make two

observations.

4

First, none of the parties to this litigation, nor the

majority or dissenting opinions, contest the “fixed” nature

of Harbert’s workplace, or the following facts:

¢ From 1994 until February of 1998, Harbert

worked out of an office at Sunset Manor in

Brush, Colorado.

¢ When Harbert reported to her Healthcare

District Manager, she reported to him at

Healthcare’s Regional Office in Golden, Colo-

rado. But such reports were almost always

by telephone or through the submission of

written reports; Harbert went to the Golden

office only for an occasional District meeting

of Healthcare Account Managers.

¢ Sunset Manor’s Administrator exercised di-

rect, hands-on supervision and control over

Harbert when Harbert was employed by

Sunset Manor, and this did not change after

Harbert became an employee of Healthcare.

¢ Harbert believed that she had a long-term

job at Sunset Manor and planned to work

there until her retirement at age 65.

Second, with the several eligibility restrictions con-

tained in the FMLA, the United States Senate estimated

that only 40% of all U.S. employees would be covered by

the Act (S. Rep. No. 102-68, at 24 (1991)), while the House

put the figure at 50% (H.R. Rep. No. 102-135(1, at 37

(1991)).

I. The Dissent Is Premised Upon A Critical Flaw.

Much of the Petitioner’s argument touts the wisdom of

Judge Kelly’s dissent. That dissent appears to be premised

5

upon the notion that there are “many variations in joint

employment relationships,” and that the Secretary's

definition of “worksite” reflects Congress’ instructions to

take such variations into account.

The legislative history reflects that the Senate

and House obviously were aware of variations in

joint employment relationships and directed the

Secretary to construe “worksite” in the same

manner as the term “single site of employment”

under the WARN Act. S. R. Doc. No. 103-3, at 25°

(1993); see also H. R. Doc. No. 103-8, pt. 1, at 35

(1993).

App. A-24.

The legislative history cited by the dissent is the

passage from the Senate and House Committee Reports

reproduced in the majority’s opinion at App. A-16, 17 and

in Appendices G and H.

The term “worksite” is intended to be construed

in the same manner as the term “single site of

employment” under the Worker Adjustment and

Retraining Notification Act (“WARN”), 29 U.S.C.

2101(aX(3)(B), and regulations under that Act (20

C.F.R. Part 639). Where employees have no fixed

worksite, as is the case for many construction

workers, transportation workers, and salesper-

sons, such employees’ “worksite” should be con-

strued to mean the single site of employment to

which they are assigned as their home base, from

which their work is assigned, or to which they

report.

* The reference to page 25 must be a typographical error. Page 23

is the correct citation.

6

This passage makes no mention whatsoever of joint

employment, nor is joint employment mentioned in the

“single site of employment” WARN Act regulations re-

ferred to in the passage.

Rather than accept this passage as demonstrating

Congress’ intention to distinguish between employees who

have a fixed place of work and those who do not, as the

majority has done, the dissent appears to equate the lack

of a fixed workplace with joint employment. However, such

a proposition does not withstand scrutiny. One need look

no further than the Secretary’s own definition of “joint

employment” to see that tie absence of a fixed workplace

is not a prerequisite for being jointly employed:

Where two or more businesses exercise some con-

trol over the work or working conditions of the

employee, the businesses may be joint employers

under FMLA. Joint employers may be separate

and distinct entities with separate owners, man-

agers and facilities. Where the employee per-

forms-work which simultaneously benefits two or

more employers, or works for two or more em-

ployers at different times during the workweek, a

joint employment relationship generally will be

considered to exist in situations such as:

(1) Where there is an arrangement between

employers to share an employee’s services or to

interchange employees;

(2) Where one employer acts directly or in-

directly in the interest of the other employer in

relation to the employee; or,

(3) Where the employers are not completely

disassociated with respect to the employee’s em-

ployment and may be deemed to share control of

7

the employee, directly or indirectly, because one

employer controls, is controlled by, or is under

common control with the other employer.

29 C.F.R. § 825.106(a) (emphasis added). App. D-1.

This is not to say, however, that an employee without

a fixed worksite cannot be jointly employed. Indeed, the

regulations use temporary or leasing agencies that supply

employees to a second employer as an example (the only

example) of a situation in which joint employment is likely

to exist. 29 C.F.R. § 825.106(b). Employees who work for

such agencies generally do not have a fixed worksite; they

usually float from location to location. However, it should

be obvious that not every employee who is deemed to be

jointly employed also has no fixed worksite. Harbert is a

perfect example of this.

To summarize, it simply is not accurate to state that,

in passing the FMLA, Congress was aware of variations in

joint employment relationships and intended the Secre-

tary to take those variations into account in promulgating

regulations defining “worksite.”

* There is one other passage in the dissent which is not accurate

and merits specific attention. At App. A-24, the dissent states:

Basing FMLA eligibility on primary employers prevents

confusion and provides certainty, because a temporary

placement employee’s coverage could vary daily were he

placed in different convenience stores on a rotating basis.

First, under the majority’s decision, the eligibility of an individual

who works at a fixed workplace, but who is jointly employed, is still

dependent upon the primary employer, i.e., whether the primary

employer employs 50 or more employees within 75 miles of the work-

place of the individual in question. See 29 C.F.R. § 825.106(e) which

makes it clear that job restoration is the responsibility of the primary

employer.

(Continued on following page)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Harbert v. Healthcare Services Group, Inc. · 546 U.S. 822 | Frix