Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Parnar v. Law Offices of Chanin

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.g,

FILED

O7Z'T8 56 may 181998

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 97-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Petitioner,

THE LAW OFFICES OF JOHN A. CHANIN,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the Hawaii Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EUGENIE PARNAR

Petitioner Pro se

252 Paoa Place, #3-3

Honolulu, Hawaii 96815

(808) 955-5050

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether this Court should review constitutional law

violations where the alternative is allowing blatant State

Court nullification of State and Federal laws and United

States Constitutional guarantees.

2. Whether a fraud upon the court judgment and record

fraught with flagrant and manifest violations of a litigant’s

United States constitutional nghts inherent to the

administration of justice provide sufficient unconscionable

abuse of power to warrant this Court’s plenary de novo

review when a State Supreme Court acts sovereign to the

Constitution of the United States.

3. Whether the access to court guarantee of the United

States Constitution is violated by Order of a State Supreme

Court justice prohibiting the clerk from accepting further

filings in an appeal.

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The names of the parties appear on the caption.’

' Regarding John A. Chanin, the Respondent, on March 19, 1998,

the Supreme Court of the State of Hawaii entered an Order Allowing

Resignation in Lieu of Discipline and, therefore, The Law Offices of

John A. Chanin no longer exists.

At the time the Hawaii Supreme Court was considering Petitioner’s

appeal, the State Office of Disciplinary Counsel, which is under the

jurisdiction of the Hawaii Supreme Court, was conducting an

investigation of attorney John A. Chanin which led to the Order

Allowing Resignation in Lieu of Discipline. (Appendix VII) Under

the Rules of the Supreme Court of the State of Hawaii, Rule 2.14(d),

the sarrendering of his bar license constitutes a consent to disbarment

for purposes of these rules.

sail

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CITATIONS OF OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED

EEE hone ae cease ee eee eee 1

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS OF JURISDICTION... 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND RULES

oe 8 ed Nr 2

STATEMENs OF THE CASE... wee eee. 5

Sk 0 Ns ob iN 6600 0b ew 1]

I.

THIS COURT SHOULD REVIEW THE

CONSTITUTIONAL LAW VIOLATIONS WHERE

THE ALTERNATIVE IS ALLOWING BLATANT

STATE COURT NULLIFICATION OF STATE

AND FEDERAL LAWS AND UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTIONAL GUARANTEES. ........ 11

Il.

A FRAUD UPON THE COURT JUDGMENT AND

RECORD FRAUGHT WITH FLAGRANT AND

MANIFEST VIOLATIONS OF A LITIGANT’S

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

INHERENT TO THE ADMINISTRATION OF

JUSTICE PROVIDE SUFFICIENT

UNCONSCIONABLE ABUSE OF POWER TO

WARRANT THIS COURT’S PLENARY DE NOVO

REVIEW WHEN A STATE SUPREME COURT

ACTS SOVEREIGN TO THE CONSTITUTION OF

UNE IEEE RURREES 5 ons os cc ec ea savee 19

iv

Il.

THE ACCESS TO COURT GUARANTEE OF THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION IS VIOLATED

BY ORDER OF A STATE SUPREME COURT

JUSTICE PROHIBITING THE CLERK FROM

ACCEPTING FURTHER FILINGS IN AN

RECA Kee NS ne PERUSE COCR ea ee 25

APPENDICES .

All orders are from courts of the State of Hawaii.

Appendix I

Supreme Court Notice of Entry of Judgment on

PE 3h ook oe Ree Pee hae ak A-]

Appendix I]

Supreme Court Summary Disposition Order ....... Ant

Appendix II

Judgment of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit ... A-6

Appendix IV

Order of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit

Denying Petitioner’s Motion to Open and Amend

Judgment Entered May 24, 1996. ............. A-13

Appendix V

Order of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit

Granting Plaintiff's [Respondent] Motion for

DUONG hw dS ews sane ek eee areas A-20

Appendix VI

Supreme Court Order Allowing Resignation in

Re I ei hes ba ei wee oes wouee A-22

Appendix VII

Order of the Supreme Court,

Prohibiting Clerk from Accepting Further Filings .. A-24

Appendix VIII

Supreme Court, State of Hawaii

Office of Disciplinary Counsel

Notice Concerning Attorney John A. Chanin ..... A-26

Appendix IX

Potttiioner’s Opening Brief .............5.4.-. A-27

Appendix X

Wee Bee BE ons UNS ee Nees A-82

Appendix XI

Petitioner’s Memorandum In Opposition

to Respondent’s Motion for Sanctions ......... A-102

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

ACLU v. Mabus,

719 F.Supp. 1345 (S.D. Miss. 1989), vacated 911

F.2d 1066 (5th Cir. 1990); reh. den. 919 F.2d 735

SS REE Ga A Eka eNOS wick 45s e oe 27

Archibeque v. Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

yp Bigs Fe be M.A are ee 18

Azer v. Courthouse Racquetball Corp.,

9 Haw.App. 530, 852 P.2d 75 (1993) ........ 21

Bounds v Smith,

430 U.S. 817, 97 S.Ct 1491, 52 L. Ed. 2d 772

ak es ee hia iow wus 27

California v. FCC,

Fee ee A Ae: AFP G) oo og cv cele CEH 24

Chisom v. Stephenson,

Pe ee I BIE) Gb ieee sw nceess 22

Chuck v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co.,

61 Haw. 552, 606 P.2d 1320 (Hawaii 1980) .. 8, 15

Cohen v. Beneficial Loan Corp.,

337 U.S. 541, 69 S.Ct., 1221, 93 L.Ed 1528

Eo a ae bes Ra eo ed bie eee eo 8

Crow v Crow,

485 S.W.2d 928 (C.C.A. Texas 1972) ........ 12

Degen v. United States,

517 U.S. 820, 116 S.Ct. 1777 (1996) ......... 17

Douglas v. California,

372 US 353, 83 S Ct 814, 9 L. Ed 2d 911,

CEI sos RRA WWE Sins a's 27, 28

Draper v. Washington, ie:

372 US 487, 833 S Ct 774, 9 L Ed 2d 899

CR9GS) 6 vc ea eb ad siete week ew ne eas 27

England v. Doyle,

mek Rime Bee Cree Cs IPD) gw eects. 24

Geders v. United States,

425 U. S. 80, 96 S.Ct. 1330, 47 L.Ed.2d 592

PR aew oe Ere yu s es Ks wcwedeseebok ee 22

Griffin v. Illinois,

351 U.S. 12, 100 L. Ed 891, 76 S Ct. 585, 55

GR PEENOE) oc ecw ewcesvecens 27, 28

Groves v. Witherspoon,

379 F. Supp. 52 (E.D.Temm. 1974) .......... 12

Haner v. Hamner,

BIE EE CHP COMED give ence keds e's oats 21

Hastings-Murtagh v. Texas Air Corp.,

SED Faas SOO (a FO 19GE) cece. 14

Hazel-Atias Glass v. Hartford Empire,

322 U.S. 238, 64 S.Ct. 997, 88 L.Ed 1250

ha alia eRe eee eee bei bie e's 19-21

In re French,

RD oe ON a os BESO 23

In re Intermagnetics America,

Pe ee CU APOE) occ cw ce cee ss 24

In re Marriage of Miller,

Pee WG SOae COE BONO) cs ee ee Sees 22

Kang v. Harrington,

59 Haw. 652, 587 P.2d 285 (1978) .......... 20

Lane v Brown,

372 US 477, 83 S Ct. 768, 9 L Ed 2d 892

Ph a ou ebay kes me eee hee aaa 27

Leavitt v. Jane L. et al,

518 US 137, 116 S Ct 2068, 135 L Ed 2d 443,

SNE Sard adeno Gl Bod ate ed os Sod a RD oo 13, 14

Lockwood v. Bowles,

be SOR. vie Lede) oat) a rer 24

Magoon v. Magoon,

70 Haw. 605, 780 P.2d 80 (1989) ........... 20

SESE SAL

Orner v. Shalala,

30 F. 3d 1307 (10th Cir. 1994) .......... 12, 18

People v. Radinsky,

Po ge ON oe ee 23

Porter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber,

SOR Fae Bh ks Ce Ge AITO) ence ecu ees 23

Rinaldi v. Yeager,

384 US 305, 86 S Ct. 1497, 16 L. Ed. 2d 377

Ea a Swe kb ea aa Se waha We ee a 27, 28

Rodriguez v. Westlab, Inc.,

833 F.Supp. 425, (S.D.N.Y. 1988) .......... 12

Rook v. Rook,

See ee Fae OR RORY © 6 be oe eed wee eine 24

Root Refining v. Universal Oil Products,

169 F.2d 514 (3d Cir. 1948) ........... 19, 20

Rozier v. Ford Motor Company,

Se ae Se Ae Ge AED nice nes we ke es 24

Societe Internationale Pour Participations

Industrielles et Commerciales, S.A. v. Rogers,

357 U.S. 197, 78 S.Ct. 1087, 78 LEd. 2d 1255

COE sane cee baa wee Bhd be ed 16, 17

Southwest Slopes v. Lum,

81 Haw. 501, 918 P.2d 1157 (App. 1996) .. 20, 24

State v. Martin,

SG Ei, 258, SOS POe 127 (3GTS) vs vcd cae 20

Trehan v. Von Tarkanyi,

85 BR. 920 (G.D.N.Y. 1968)... wc cens im, 22

U.S. v. Brian N.,

ke ve fp Ee a. rrr 24

Virgin Islands Housing Authority v. David,

Sad ue Te Che GA, BFBT) nn akan daei ces 23

ix

UNTTED STATES CONSTITUTION

FE TE SRG EGR Serie ewes ee 2, 26, 27

Pe Si es bee wae 08 3, 11, 16

EE S00 Cece eae sow eb eS ks 3,4

Fourteenth Amendment ........ 3, 11, 16, 17, 25-28

UNITED STATES CODE

28 United States Code § 1257(a) ........... 2, 11

Hawall CONSTITUTION

Article I, Section 5 of the Hawaii Constitution .. 4, 10

Article I, Section 13 of the Hawaii Constitution .... 4

Court RULES

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 37 ....... 17

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 38(2) ...... 4

Hawaii Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 37 ........ 7

Hawaii Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 38(a) ...... 5

Hawaii Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 55(b)(2) .... 9

Hawaii Rules of the Circuit Courts, Rule 23 ....... 7

Hawaii Supreme Court Rules, Rule 2.14 ........ 25

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States,

Be ees La Se ee ok OR Rene ee 2, 16

OTHER CITATIONS

16 Am Jur 2d, Constitutional Law, pg. 951 ...... ll

47 Am_Jur.2d, Judgments, Section 891 at 365

CU « 86 oh Oia Okeke OOO eRe 21

Moore & Lucas, Moore’s Federal Practice,

V. 7, Section 60.33 at 60-359 (1982) ......... 21

Wright, Miller and Kane, Federal Practice

and Procedure, Civil 2d, V. 9, Section 2681

UN I 0 oS se ae 22

No.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States |

October Term, 1998

Eugenie Parnar,

Petitioner,

vs,

The Law Offices of John A. Chanin,

Respondent.

CITATIONS OF OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED

IN THE CASE

The Hawaii Supreme Court Notice of Entry of Judgment

Upon Appeal is not reported, but is attached to this

Petition. (Appendix I). The Hawaii Supreme Court

Summary Disposition Order is reported at 87:-Haw. 35, 950

P.2d 1235 (Haw. 1998), and is attached to this Petition.

(Appendix II). The Judgment against Petitioner entered by

the Circuit Court of the First Circuit of the State of

Hawaii, is not reported, but is attached to this Petition.

(Appendix IIT) The Order of the Circuit Court of the First

Circuit of the State of Hawaii Denying Petitioner’s Motion

to Open and Amend Judgment, is not reported, but is

2

attached to this Petition. (Appendix IV) The Order of the

Circuit Court of the First Circuit of the State of Hawaii

Granting Plaintiff's [Respondent] Motion for Sanctions is

not reported, but is attached to this Petition. (Appendix V)

The Order of the Hawaii Supreme Court prohibiting the

clerk from accepting further filings is not reported, but is

attached to this Petition (Appendix VII).

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS OF JURISDICTION

The Notice of Judgment on Appeal of the Hawaii

Supreme Court in this case was entered February 17, 1998.

(Appendix I)

It is the final judgment from the highest court of the

State of Hawaii. No rehearing has been requested, ordered,

or denied.

Jurisdiction is conferred on this Court with regard to

this Petition by 28 USC Section 1257(a), Article II,

Section 2 of the United States Constitution, and Supreme

Court Rule 10.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND RULES

INVOLVED IN THE CASE

The First Amendment of the United States Constitution

provides:

Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free

exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech,

or of the press; or the night of the people peaceably

to assemble, and to petition the Government for

redress of grievances.

3

The Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution

provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in

actual service in time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same offence to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use without just

compensation.

The Seventh Amendment of the United States

Constitution provides:

In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the nght of

trial by jury, shall be preserved, and no fact tried by

a jury shall be otherwise reexamined in any Court of

the United States, than according to the rules of the

common law.

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution provides:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,

are citizens of the United States, and of the State

wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce

any law which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall

4

any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

Following the Preamble, the State of Hawaii

Constitution states that "[t]he Constitution of the United

States of America is adopted on behalf of the people of the

State of Hawaii.”

Article I, Section 5 of the Hawaii Constitution provides:

Section 5. No person shall be deprived of life,

liberty or property without due process of law, nor be

denied the equal protection of the laws, nor be denied

the enjoyment of the person’s civil nghts or be

discriminated against in the exercise thereof because

of race, religion, sex or ancestry.

Article I, Section 13 of the Hawaii Constitution (former

Article J, Section 10, as amended with respect to the

amount in controversy) provides:

In suits at common law where the value in

controversy shall exceed five thousand dollars, the

' right of trial by jury shall be preserved. The

legislature may provide for a verdict by not less than

three-fourths of the members of the jury.

Rule 38(a), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, provides:

Rule 38. Jury Trial of Right

(a) Right Preserved. The right of trial by jury as

declared by the Seventh Amendment to the

5

Constitution or as given by a statute of the United

States shall be preserved to the parties mviolate.

Rule 38(a), Hawaii Rules of Civil Procedure, provides:

Rule 38. JURY TRIAL OF RIGHT

(a) Right Preserved. The right of trial by jury as

given by the Constitution or a statute of the State or

the United States shall be preserved to the parties

inviolate.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 18, 1990, John A. Chanin, Respondent herein

filed a complaint in the First Circuit Court of Hawaii

claiming a balance of $24,431.88 in attorney fees still

owing after taking $45,545.68 from the trust account of his

client, Eugenie Parnar, Petitioner herein. Petitioner filed

an answer and counterclaim on July 9, 1991, charging him

with breach of his fee agreement, false and fraudulent

billings, and legal malpractice. Respondent made

musrepresentations, increased his hourly rate without notice,

submitted false and fraudulent billings, including entry for

55 hours in one day for one attorney work and engaged in

negligent representation of Petitioner causing her

substantial damages. Petitioner requested a jury trial.

Respondent noticed Petitioner’s deposition for December

4, 1991, and thereafter "day to day until completed.”

When Petitioner and her attorney attended the deposition,

Respondent began questioning abusively, then, with no

advance notice, suddenly announced that he had to

terminate the deposition, saying he had to leave at 11:30

a.m. that day to go to the airport to catch a flight to the

6

mainland. The record further reveals that Respondent’s

conduct of the deposition was harassing and abusive as he

asked totally irrelevant and obnoxious questions before

abruptly stopping it. As presented in the Opening Brief

(Appendix IX) and provided by the record, Respondent

asked no questions about Respondent’s services as her

attorney, Petitioner’s alleged outstanding legal bills,

Respondent’s malpractice, or anything whatsoever about

the allegations in the complaint or counterclaim.

Petitioner thereafter filed a motion to terminate the

deposition. At the hearing on Petitioner’s motion, the

court found the questioning irrelevant and a waste of time.

The court did not terminate the deposition, but ordered

limitations on Respondent’s deposition tactics. Although

ordered to prepare the order, Respondent never did and it

was never entered.

Petitioner thereafter declmed to submit to a deposition

due to the absence of a written limiting order,

Respondent’s failure to take the deposition on court

ordered dates; his failure to return Petitioner’s files so that

she could prepare for the deposition; and after Petitioner’s

attomey withdrew, because then she was without legal

representation. Respondent filed motions to compel which

were heard before different judges and he misrepresented

to each court what other judges had previously ruled. He

told one court that the limiting order had been filed when

the record provides it had never been filed. Respondent

attributed statements to judges that appear nowhere in the

record or transcripts of proceedings. When Respondent

obtained an oral order limiting the deposition to specific

dates, he failed to notice Petitioner’s deposition for those

dates.

«ita uamaaaaaaulaameia

5

Later, Respondent again noticed a deposition and served

Petitioner with a subpoena duces tecum when her attorney

withdrew leaving her without counsel. Petitioner sought a

protective order to continue her deposition until she found

an attorney and obtained her files from Respondent. While

the court ordered Petitioner to submit to a deposition on

March 22, 1995, a written order was never entered from

which Petitioner could seek appellate review.

Petitioner complied with his subpoena duces tecum and

timely notified Respondent by letter that she could not

submit to a deposition without ‘counsel and without

Respondent returning her files and she needed the entry of

an order so that she could seek appellate review.

Respondent immediately filed a motion seeking

sanctions on Petitioner for failure to appear at the

deposition even though no written order was ever entered.

Petitioner, pro se, timely filed her Memorandum in

Opposition to [Respondent’s] Motion for an Order

Imposing Sanctions Upon [Petitioner] for Failure to Submit

to The Taking of Her Deposition, filed March 24, 1995.

(Appendix XJ).

In making her objections, Petitioner argued that

Respondent’s motion for sanctions under Rule 37, Hawaii

Rules of Civil Procedure (“HRCP") was an attempt to

thwart her right of constitutional due process; that

Respondent himself had engaged in unfair and inequitable

conduct by disregarding Rule 23, Hawaii Rules of the

Circuit Courts (which mandate submission of proposed

orders for entry) by failing to submit orders; that by

refusing to return her files, her right to fair preparation for

deposition and trial was jeopardized; that Respondent was

8

not entitled to any sanctions and certainly not dismissal of

her counterclaim, based on the law and special

circumstances of this case; and that dismissal of her

counterclaim and entry of default would be a denial of her

right to a hearing on the merits in this case and would

violate her fundamental constitutional rights including her

right to jury trial. Petitioner argued particularly that entry

of the order was needed in order for her to seek immediate

appellate review of the violations of her constitutional

rights as therein outlined and that failure to enter orders

violated her constitutional right to seek appellate review.

At the hearing, Petitioner, pro se, argued that there was

no order entered by the court on her motion for protective

order which she needed in order to seek appellate review.

She provided that as cited in her memorandum, the Chuck

v. St. Paul Fire and Marine Ins. Co., 61 Haw. 552, 606

P.2d 1320, 1321 (Hawaii 1980) and Cohen v. Beneficial

Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541, 69 S.Ct., 1221, 93 L.Ed 1528

(1949) cases indicated that she had a right to seek appellate

review under the collateral order doctrine on the Court’s

decision denying her motion for protective order.

Despite the constitutional arguments and other issues

raised by Petitioner in her memorandum in opposition and

at the hearing, the court granted Respondent’s motion and

imposed the harshest of sanctions, dismissing Petitioner’s

counterclaim with prejudice, and entry of default against

Petitioner on Respondent’s claim without making any

findings of bad faith, wilful disobedience, or fault.

(Appendix V)

Subsequently, without notice or hearing, the court

entered judgment in favor of Respondent in the amount of

$24,431.88, plus additional elements including prejudgment

9

interest, attorneys’ fees and costs without proof of those

amounts. The judgment mushroomed to $47,346.26.

(Appendix II)

Petitioner, pro se, filed a motion to open and amend the

judgment and for new trial, arguing that the judgment was

void and should be vacated because it was entered without

notice and an opportunity to be heard as required by

Hawaii Rules of Civil Procedure ("HRCP”), Rule 55(b)(2),

before entry of judgment; without any proof hearing;

without the amount of the judgment being substantiated;

and based on newly discovered evidence of Respondent’s

conflict of interest. The trial court denied Petitioner’s

motion and demied her any proof hearing, right to jury

trial, and her right to contest the amount of the judgment.

Respondent was ordered to draft the order. The Court

entered, over Petitioner’s objections,” Respondent’s

proposed order replete with an erroneous statement of

facts. The order (Appendix IV) failed to address

Petitioner’s argument based on constitutional violations.

Petitioner, pro se, timely filed a notice of appeal from

the judgment and order denying her motion to open and

amend the judgment. In her Opening Brief, (Appendix

LX)’, Petitioner argued that the lower court judgment was

2 Petitioner’s memorandum in opposition to the proposed order

denying her motion is not attached because it is fully addressed in the

Opening Brief (Appendix IX).

> The exhibits attached to the Opening Brief are not included in

this Appendix as it is not feasible at this time to format them m

compliance with the Supreme Court’s requirement that text be no

smaller than 12 point type in the body and 10 point type in foomotes

while maintaining the nature, content, and readability, of the original

documents which can be provided if necessary.

10

obtained by fraud on the court and should be vacated; that

she was justified in not submitting to a deposition without

counsel and files; that she was not found to have acted

willfully or in bad faith justifying the drastic action of

default and dismissal; that she was not warmed of sanctions

prior to default with a less drastic sanction being

considered; that the judgment was improperly entered as it

was signed by a different judge than the judge that

conducted the hearing; and that thus she was denied her

consttutional right to due process as guaranteed her under

the United States Constitution and the Hawaii Constitution.

Respondent filed an untimely Answering Brief without

rebutting Petitioner’s arguments and points of error in the

Opening Brief and without citing any cases.

Petitioner, filed her Reply Brief (Appendix X) further

addressing the fraud upon the court committed by

Respondent, who completely failed to rebut Petitioner’s

arguments and points of error, and her request that the

Hawaii Supreme Court, pursuant to rules of court and the

Constitution, afford relief from attorneys who perpetrate

fraud upon the court, use abusive litigation practices, and

ignore court rules and orders and that these constitute a

clear and undisputable flagrant abuse of her nghts

inconsistent with Constitutional guarantees and the

administration of justice.

On January 27, 1998, the Hawaii Supreme Court entered

its summary disposition order (Appendix II) denying her

appeal and furthering the violation of her Constitutional

rights under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and due process and equal protection

under Article I, Section 5 of the Hawaii State Constitution.

1]

On February 17, 1998, the Hawaii Supreme Court

entered its judgment on appeal (Appendix I) from which

this Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed.

ARGUMENT

L

THIS COURT SHOULD REVIEW THE

CONSTITUTIONAL LAW VIOLATIONS

WHERE THE ALTERNATIVE IS ALLOWING

BLATANT STATE COURT NULLIFICATION

OF STATE AND FEDERAL LAWS AND

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTIONAL

GUARANTEES.

"The guaranty of due process found in the Fifth

Amendment of the Federal Constitution declares that no

person shall "be deprived of life, liberty, or property

without due process of Jaw.” The Fourteenth Amendment

declares that no state shall "deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property without due process of law." The Fifth

Amendment is a limitation upon the powers of Congress,

while the Fourteenth Amendment is a limitation upon the

powers of the states." 16 Am Jur 2d, Constitutional Law,

pg. 951.

Petitioner herein, in vindication of her Federal

constitutionally protected rights, brings before this court a

fraud upon the court judgment to request a Writ of

Certiorari. Title 28 U. S. C. § 1257(a), provides that final

judgments or decrees rendered by the highest court of a

State in which a decision could be had, may be reviewed

by the Supreme Court by Writ of Certiorari where any

title, right, privilege or immunity is specially set up or

claimed to be violated under the Constitution. All courts

12

state and federal are mandated to apply United States

Constitutional law. Rodriguez v. Westlab, Inc., 833

F.Supp. 425, 428 (S.D.N.Y. 1988).

The summary ruling by the Hawaii Supreme Court,

without opinion, Appendix II of this Petition, validates a

void, fraud upon the court judgment in selective application

of the law, is repugnant to and violates the Constitution of

the United States. It is the duty of the Circuit Court of

Hawaii and the Hawaii Supreme Court, the State’s highest

court to apply constitutional law and prevent the

perpetration of fraud upon the court to obtain a judgment

in violation of due process. United States Constitutional

due process analysis can only conclude that fraud upon the

court by an attorney and officer of the court resulting in a

fraudulent judgment cannot stand. Fraud vitiates every

transaction tainted by it, even the solemm judgment of

courts of record. Crow v Crow, 485 S.W.2d 928, 931

(C.C.A. Texas 1972). Where fraud vitiates a judgment or

decree then it cannot stand; fraud vitiates and avoids all

human transactions, from the solemn judgment of a court

to a private contract. Groves v. Witherspoon, 379 F. Supp.

52, 59, 61 (E.D.Tenn. 1974). Where a default judgment is

the result of fraud on the court it is void and must be set

aside as a nullity. Trehan v. Von Tarkanyi, 85 B.R. 920,

921, 933 (S.D.N.Y. 1988). Relief from void judgments is

not discretionary, it is mandatory. Orner v. Shalala, 30 F.

3d 1307, 1310 (10th Cir. 1994).

Entry of a judgment because of fraud on the court and

the judicial errors violate the due process constitutional

rights to have matters fairly adjudicated. When the Hawaii

Supreme Court by its Summary Disposition Order and the

Notice of Judgment on Appeal, affirmed the void judgment

based on fraud upon the court, it furthered the violation of

13

Petitioner’s right to have matters fairly adjudicated, and her

due process constitutional rights were violated.

Petitioner bases her argument on Leavitt v. Jane L. et.

al., 518 U S 137, 116 S Ct 2068, L Ed 2d 443 (1996),

wherein at pages 144 and 145, this Court provided that it

does not normally grant petitions for certiorari solely to

review application of state law by a federal court of

appeals, but this Court should undoubtedly do so where the

alternative is allowing blatant federal-court nullification of

state law.

Similarly to Leavitt, this Court is requested to give

certiorari standing to an extraordinary case based on a

failure of a State court to apply state and federal law and is

urged to exercise its inherent plenary power of de novo

review of a fraud upon the court erroneous judgment

affirmed by a State Supreme Court where the alternative is

allowing blatant state court nullification of State and

Federal laws and Constitutional guarantees of State and

Federal Constitutions.

It is in the context of the Supreme Court’s "plainly

wrong" interpretation in Leavitt, Id., at 144 and 145, that

this case falls and presents a State Supreme Court’s

equivalently clear refusal to apply State and Federal law by

giving standing to a fraud upon the court judgment, which

has the kind of national significance for the grant of

certiorari and the typical predicate for exercise of Supreme

Court jurisdiction. The upholding of fraud upon the court

by an attorney as an officer of the court, is "plainly wrong"

by any standard and frustrates all laws, statutes, and

legislative intent pertaining to fraud and fraud upon the

court, and constitutional guarantees of due process.

14

The Leavitt Court, Id., at 145, provided that the general

presumption of the United States Supreme Court that

Federal Courts of Appeals correctly decide questions of

state law reflects a judgment as to the utility of reviewing

such questions in most cases, not a belief that the courts of

appeals have some natural advantage in that domain. The

court stated further at 145:

That general presumption is obviously inapplicable

where the court of appeals’ state-law ruling is

“plainly wrong.”

The decision of the Hawaii Supreme Court was "plainly

wrong” in affirming 2 "plainly wrong” lower court

judgment. The Hawaii Supreme Court by summarily

affirming the lower court’s judgment against Petitioner

nullified State law and State and United States

Constitutional guarantees of due process, equal protection,

fair hearing, and fundamental fairness. This constituted a -

judicial abuse of power.

Petitioner had a judgment entered against her without

notice and opportunity to be heard on its contents. This

violates her due process rights under the United States

Constitution. In Hastings-Murtagh v. Texas Air Corp., 119

F.R-D. 450 (S.D. Fla. 1988), the court in providing that a

person must be given minimal due process before judgment

can be entered against such person, stated at page 455 that:

A fundamental aspect of constitutional law is the

providing of minimal due process to an individual

who could have an interest affected by the outcome

of a litigation. A court, therefore, must assure that

these affected individuals are provided with notice of

the action and an opportunity to be heard.

ie

=

15

Petitioner had decisions against her made by lower

courts but written orders were not entered from which

Petitioner could exercise her right to seek interlocutory

appellate review. Petitioner cited in her Memorandum in

Opposition to Sanctions (Appendix XI), Chuck, supra, 606

P.2d at 1321 which recognized that a party could seek

interlocutory review of an order without waiting until final

adjudication. Petitioner argued that she had a right to

entry of orders so that she could exercise her right to seek

review of them. The court ignored this in entering

judgment against her, when a written order had never been

entered from which she could seek reconsideration or

appellate review, thus denying her due process rights.

Relevant documents throughout the record substantiate

Petitioner repeatedly argued in protection of her Federal

due process and equal protection constitutional rights. In

her objections to Plaintiff's proposed order denying her

motion to open and amend judgment entered January 11,

1996, filed February 20, 1996, Petitioner provided:

This repeated false certification by [Respondent] and

his not serving me in accordance with the Hawaii

Rules of Civil Procedure ("“HRCP”) denies me my

rights to the Rules as applicable to every other

individual, my rights to fair procedure and fair

hearing, violates due process and equal protection

rights guaranteed every individual by the Hawaii

Constitution and the Constitution of the United

States, and for the Court to look aside and give

Plaintiff carte blanche noncompliance exemption to

the rules because he is an officer of the court is class-

based invidious discrimination and violates my civil

rights.

16

Petitioner asserts she has the right to honest, fair and

equal administration of laws and protection of her

constitutional rights and any denial of her right to a

‘conscientious and fair administration of the judicial process

by a court as required by law is an interference of her

Fourteenth Amendment rights under the United States

Constitution.

This Court should exercise its discretion under its own

Rule 10 to review “plainly wrong” federal constitutional

violations resulting from the judgment procured by fraud

upon the court, violations of due process, equal protection,

fair hearing and fundamental fairness, and denial of

Petitioner’s the right to a trial by jury.

The "plainly wrong” entry of judgment violated

Petitioner’s rights of due process, liberty, property, and to

a trial on the merits. The right to one’s “day in court” is

one of the most fundamental of constitutional nghts.

Nonetheless, without admonition, the State court

disregarded these nights by upholding abuse of process and

obstruction of justice, dismissed Petitioner’s counterclaim,

and entered default against her, thus denying Petitioner her

“day in court,” the harshest of sanctions.

This court addressed the issue of "whether Fifth

amendment due process is violated by the striking of a

complaint because of a plaintiff's inability, despite good-

faith efforts, to comply with a pretrial production order.”

Societe Internationale Pour Participations Industrielles et

Commerciales, S.A. v. Rogers, 357 U.S. 197, 210, 78 S.Ct.

1087, 78 L.Ed. 2d 1255 (1958). This Court concluded that

"[t]he findings below, and what has been shown as to

petitioner’s extensive efforts at compliance, compel the

conclusion on this record that petitioner’s failure to satisfy

4

3

3

‘

17

fully the requirements of this production order was due to

inability fostered neither by its own conduct nor by

circumstances within its control.” Jd. at 211. "“[WJe think

that [Federal Rules of Civil Procedure) Rule 37 should not

be construed to authorize dismissal of this complaint

because of petitioner’s noncompliance with a pretrial

production order when it has been established that failure

to comply has been due to inability, and nor to willfulness,

bad faith, or any fault of petitioner." Id. at 212 (emphasis

added).

Petitioner did not act with willfulness, bad faith, or

fault. Given Respondent’s previous abusive deposition

tactics, she could not submit to a second deposition without

counsel to represent her; without Respondent’s return of

her files in the underlying suit which would allow her to

prepare; and without Respondent submitting the earlier

limiting order regarding the taking of her deposition.

Despite this, and Respondent’s repeated

misrepresentations to the court as evidenced in the record,

which the court ignored, the harshest of sanctions were

imposed on Petitioner in denial of her constitutionally

protected rights to due process under the Fourteenth

Amendment and particularly her right to jury trial on the

merits.

The court in reversing the striking of a claimant’s filings

and the granting of judgment, provided in Degen v. United

States, 517 U.S. 820, 116 S.Ct. 1777 (1996) at page 828:

The right of a citizen to defend his property against

attack in a court is corollary to the plaintiff's mght to

sue.

18

s*esef

It remains the case however, that the sanction of

disentitlement is most severe and so could disserve

the dignitary purposes for which it is invoked. The

dignity of a court derives from the respect accorded

its judgments. That respect is eroded, not enhanced,

by too free a recourse to rules foreclosing

consideration of claims on the merits.

A judgment is void if it violates due process. Orner v.

Shalala, 30 F.3d 1307 (10 Cir. 1994). Due process

requires that the harsh sanction of dismissal be predicated

on willfulness, bad faith, or fault. Archibeque v. Atchison,

Topeka and Samta Fe Ry. Co., 70 F.3d 1172 (10 Cir.

1995).

In Petitioner’s case, these due process predicates were

not met

Accordingly, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari should

be granted to protect Petitioner’s constitutional right of due

process, equal protection, fundamental faimess, jury trial,

and fair access to adjudication as nullified by the State

lower court and Supreme Court by entry of the judgment,

based on fraud upon the court and contrary to fundamental

fairness which violated Petitioner’s State and United States

constitutional rights.

19

IL

A FRAUD UPON THE COURT JUDGMENT

AND RECORD FRAUGHT WITH FLAGRANT

AND MANIFEST VIOLATIONS OF A

LITIGANT’S UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS INHERENT TO

THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE

PROVIDE SUFFICIENT UNCONSCIONABLE

ABUSE OF POWER TO WARRANT THIS

COURT’S PLENARY DE NOVO REVIEW

WHEN A STATE SUPREME COURT ACTS

SOVEREIGN TO THE CONSTITUTION OF

THE UNITED STATES.

This case presents the issue whether the affirmance of a

fraud upon the court judgment and flagrant and manifest

violations of a litigant’s due process rights inherent to the

administration of justice provides sufficient unconscionable

abuse of power to warrant this Court granting a Writ of

Certiorari.

This Court had the issue of fraud upon the court before

it in Hazel-Atlas Glass v. Hartford Empire, 322 U.S. 238,

246, 64 S.Ct 997, 1003, 88 L.Ed 1250, 1256 (1944),

which rendered, page 244, that where enforcement of a

judgment is "manifestly unconscionable,” a federal court

will wield the power over judgments to correct injustices.

This Court further, page 245, recognized that:

Every element of fraud here disclosed demands the

exercise of the historic power of equity to set aside

fraudulently begotten judgments.

In Root Refining v. Universal Oil Products, 169 F.2d at

522 (3d Cir. 1948), the Court at page 518 provided that,

20

"the inherent power of a federal court to investigate

whether a judgment has been obtained by fraud is without

question.” The Court further recognized that fraud upon

the court “is a wrong against the institutions set up to

protect and safeguard the public. Jd., at 522.

"Fraud, misrepresentation, and circumvention used to

obtain a judgment, are generally regarded as sufficient

cause for the opening or vacating of the judgment [.]"

Southwest Slopes v. Lum, 81 Haw. 501, 511, 918 P.2d

1157 (App. 1996). "The possibility that Plaintiffs used

fraud upon the court when obtaining the summary

judgment in their favor,” ruled the Hawaii Intermediate

Court of Appeals, "motivates us to vacate and remand."

Id.; see also, Magoon v. Magoon, 70 Haw. 605, 616, 780

P.2d 80 (1989) ("a court has inherent power to investigate

whether a judgment was obtained by fraud"); State v.

Martin, 56 Haw. 292, 294, 535 P.2d 127 (1975) ("implicit

in the proper and orderly administration of justice"); Kang

v. Harrington, 59 Haw. 652, 660, 587 P.2d 285 (1978)

(“the appropriate action to be taken in a case of fraud upon

the court is for the injured party to seek [relief] from the

judgment of the court.”)

In Hazel-Atlas Glass, supra, page 246, this Court

addressed fraud on the court and lawyers in classic

language by Mr. Justice Black:

{Tampering with the administration of justice in the

manner indisputably shown here involves more than

an injury to a single litigant. It is a wrong against

the institutions set up to protect and safeguard the

public, institutions in which fraud cannot

complacently be tolerated consistently with the good

order of society.

|

21

"Every element of fraud here disclosed demands the

exercise of the historic power of equity to set aside

fraudulently begotten judgments.” Jd. at 245;

"A number of courts have relied on Hazel-Atlas as

authority for the proposition that involvement of an

attorney in the perpetration of the fraud is a key factor in

the existence of fraud upon the court." 47 Am_Jur.2d,

Judgments, Section 891 at 365 (1984). Professor Moore

states the following about Hazel Atlas:

[A]n attorney of Hartford was implicated in

perpetrating the fraud. We believe that this is

important, for, while an attorney should represent his

client with singular loyalty, that loyalty obviously

does not demand that he act dishonestly or

fraudulently; on the contrary his loyalty to the court,

as an officer thereof, demands imtegrity and honest

dealing with the court. And when he departs from

that standard in the conduct of a case he perpetrates a

fraud upon the court. :

Moore & Lucas, Moore’s Federal Practice, V. 7, Section

60.33 at 60-359 (1982). "Fraud on the court,” notes

Professor Moore, "is a fraud perpetrated by officers of the

court so that the judicial machinery cannot perform im the

usual manner{.J" Jd. at 60-360; see also, Haner v. Haner,

373 P.2d 577, 579 (Utah 1962) (false statements by

lawyers that prevent a party from prosecuting a claim or

defense constitute fraud on the court.)

Defaults obtained by fraud upon the court are

particularly vulnerable to reversal. "[DJismissal of a

pending action by the trial court with prejudice is not

favored." Azer v. Courthouse Racquetball Corp., 9

22

Haw.App. 530, 540, 852 P.2d 75 (1993); see also Wright,

Miller and Kane, Federal Practice and Procedure, Civil

2d, V. 9, Section 2681 at 402 (1983) (“defaults are not

favored by the law and any doubts usually will be resolved

in favor of the defaulting party"); Jrehan, supra at 921

("as a result of the fraud perpetrated by the Trehans the

default judgment is void"); Anno, 78 A.L.R.3d 150 (1962),

"Fraud in Obtaining or Maintaining Default Judgment as

Grounds for Vacating or Setting Aside Judgment in State .

Courts."

Judgments are not vacated merely because perjured

evidence is introduced at a hearing. Chisom v. Stephenson

363 P.2d 229, 232 (Okla. 1961). "[I]}t must be such fraud

as to prevent the other from having a trial on the issues."

Id. “Fraud upon the court embraces,” declared the

Montana Supreme Court recently:

only that species of fraud which subverts or attempts

to subvert the integrity of the court itself, or fraud

perpetrated by officers of the court so that the

judicial machinery cannot perform in an impartial

manner. Jn re Marriage of Miller, 902 P.2d 1019,

1022 (Mont. 1995) (emphasis added).

"Fraud upon the court includes only the most egregious

conduct,” said the court, "such as the fabrication of

evidence in which an attorney has been implicated[.]" Jd.

"(If our adversary system is to function according to

design,” said Justice Marshall in Geders v. United States,

425 U. S. 80, 93, 96 S.Ct. 1330, 1333, 47 L. Ed. 2d 592,

602 (1976), "we must assume that an attorney will observe

his responsibilities to the legal system.”

-

id

»

23

Respondent tainted every ruling in this case by

repeatedly making misrepresentations and fabricating

evidence in court documents and hearings, specific

instances of which were outlined in Petitioner’s Opening

and Reply Briefs, which resulted in a judgment against

Petitioner and dismissal of her counterclaim. Respondent,

by filing false documents and making misrepresentations

a fraud upon the court." People v. Radinsky,

490 P.2d 951, 953 (Colo. 1971). The Radinsky court

declared at page 952:

If acts of this type that the respondent has committed

are not promptly and severely punished, the public

will not have reason to trust lawyers that maintain the

high standards of our profession.

x**x «zt

Since a lawyer is an officer of the court, we cannot

tolerate or allow fraud by a lawyer to go unpunished.

zee

Our most sacred duty is to maintain the integrity of

the law profession by disciplining lawyers who

indulge in practices which are designed to perpetrate

a fraud on the courts.

See also, In re French, 28 Haw. 47, 59 (1924) (attorney

disbarred for giving "deliberately false" testimony.)*

* See also, Virgin Islands Housing Authority v. David, 823 F2d

764, 767 (3d Cir. 1987) (‘we believe that Maduro’s argument

perpetrated fraud upon the district court”); Porter v. Goodyear Tire and

(continued...)

24

The use of fraud, misrepresentation, and circumvention

to obtain a judgment constitute cause for opening or

vacating a judgment. Southwest Slopes, supra, page 511.

Further, a judgment obtained by fraud is a "void judgment”

and may be attacked at any time by any court. Rook v.

Rook, 353 S.E.2d 756, 758 (Va. 1987).

This Court is requested to exercise its discretion to

determine that the judgment against Petitioner was void,

"plainly wrong,” constitutionally defective, and set it aside.

In doing so, this Court is respectfully requested to

review the record and the fraud upon the court committed

by an attorney, officer of the court, in light of its own

independent judgment without giving special weight to the

State court decisions. U.S. v. Brian N., 900 F.2d 218, 220

(10th Cir. 1990). Particularly this Court should review

constitutional questions de novo. California v. FCC, 75

F.3d 1350, 1361 (9th Cir. 1996).

The judgment entered against Petitioner based on

Respondent’s fraud upon the court conduct is void, violates

*(...continued)

Rubber, 536 F2d 1115, 1119 (6th Cir. 1976) ("since attomeys are

officers of the court, their conduct, if dishonest, would constitute fraud

on the court”); Lockwood v. Bowles, 46 F RD. 625, 633 (D.C_D.C.

1969) (“when [an attorney] departs from that standard in the conduct of

a case he perpetrates a fraud upon the court”); England v. Doyle, 281

F.2d 304, 306 (9th Cir. 1960) (“unconscionable plan or scheme which

is designed to improperly influence the court"); Rozier v. Ford Motor

Company, 573 F 2d 1332, 1338 (Sth Cir. 1978), (fabrication of

evidence by a party in which an attorney is implicated is fraud upon

the court”); In re Intermagnetics America, 926 F 2d 912, 916 (9th Cir.

1991) (“fraud upon the court includes both attempts to subvert the

integrity of the court and fraud by an officer of the court.”)

Aa Mate as

Pd ple

25

due process under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution, and warrants de novo review by this

Court.

Il.

THE ACCESS TO COURT GUARANTEE OF

THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION IS

VIOLATED BY ORDER OF A STATE

SUPREME COURT JUSTICE PROHIBITING

THE CLERK FROM ACCEPTING FURTHER

FILINGS IN AN APPEAL.

Subsequent to the Hawaii Supreme Court’s Notice of

Judgment on Appeal, Respondent herein resigned the

practice of law in lieu of discipline. The Hawaii Supreme

Court’s Order Allowing Resignation in Lieu of Discipline

was entered March 19, 1998, Appendix VI. Under Rule

2.14, Hawaii Supreme Court Rules, it is a disbarment for

all purposes under these rules.

On March 20, 1998, in accordance with the Order

Allowing Resignation in Lieu of Discipline, Michael T.

Lee, Assistant Disciplinary Counsel of the Office of

Disciplinary Counsel ("ODC"), published on March 20,

1998, To All State and Federal Judges in Hawai’i, a Notice

conceming Attorney John A. Chanin, which stated:

Administrative Judges are asked to take such action

as is deemed necessary to protect the rights of any

clients of Mr. Chanin whose cases may be pending

court.

A copy of the notice is attached as Appendix VIII.

26

This Court is respectfully requested to take the action

requested herein to protect the rights of Petitioner, a former

client of Respondent and victim of his conduct.

_On April 12, 1996, Petitioner filed in the Hawaii

Supreme Court her emergency motion for stay of

enforcement of final judgment on appeal pending obtaining

the ODC records and to remove from the lower court

calendar Respondent’s motion to terminate stay, to

distribute funds from Petitioner’s cash deposit in lieu of

appeal bond, and for attorney’s fees and costs on appeal.

The Order regarding that Motion dated April 8, 1998,

attached hereto as Appendix VII, provides:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion is

stricken.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk shall

accept no further filings in this appeal.

Petitioner argues that this Order prohibiting further

filings violated the access to court guarantee of the United

States Constitution. That right is:

fundamental and is protected by the United States

Constitution whether the claim arises under state or

federal law. The right is grounded in the First

Amendment right to petition the government for

redress, the Article Four protection of privileges and

immunities, and the due process clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.

4

t

.

4

3

‘

4

4

:

:

Z

5

Pas oy ee ee

%

3

;

3

:

bt

27

ACLU v. Mabus, 719 F.Supp. 1345, 1358 (S.D. Miss.

1989), vacated 911 F.2d 1066 (Sth Cir. 1990); reh. den.

919 F.2d 735 (Sth Cir. 1990).

It is a well-established rule that once a State, or the

Federal Government establishes procedures of appellate

review, it must insure equal and open access to those

procedures for all appellants. Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 US

305, 86 S Ct. 1497, 16 L. Ed. 2d 377 (1966); Griffin v.

Minois, 351 U.S. 12, 100 L. ed 891, 76 S Ct. 585, 55

ALR2d 1055 (1956); Douglas v. California, 372 US 353,

83 S Ct 814, 9 L. Ed 2d 911, (1962); Lane v Brown, 372

US 477, 83 S Ct 768, 9 L Ed 2d 892 (1963); Draper v.

Washington, 372 US 487, 833 S Ct 774, 9 L Ed 2d 899

(1963).

Litigants, like Petitioner, should have an adequate

opportunity to represent their claims fairly within the legal

system. The order prohibiting such access is an

unconstitutional abridgment or impairment of a litigant’s

rights of access to the courts, a principle derived from

constitutional guarantees of due process and equal

protection. This Court, in Bounds v Smith, 430 U.S. 817,

$22, 97 S.Ct 1491, 52 L. Ed. 2d 772 (1977), recognized

that access to'the courts must be adequate, effective, and

meaningful.

Petitioner provides that the liberty guarantee of the

United States is violated by the prohibition of filing of

court documents; that documents should be able to be filed

without interference; and that the court cannot suppress or

pass judgment upon legal documents prior to filing in the

court, and that to do so constitutes an abridgment of a

litigant’s rights to petition the government for redress of

grievances under the First Amendment to the United States

28

Constitution and a violation of the due process and equal

protection nights of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Rinaldi, Id. 384 US 305, 16 L.Ed 2d 577, 581, 86 S Ct

1497, provided:

[5] This Court has never held that the States

are required to establish avenues of appellate review,

but is now fundamental that, once established, these

avenues must be kept free of unreasoned distinctions

that can only impede open and equal access to the

courts. Griffin v. Illinois,-351 U.S. 12, 100 L Ed 891,

76 S Ct $85, 55 ALR2d 1055; Douglas v California,

US 353, 9 L ed 2d 899, $3 S Ct 774.

The Hawaii Supreme Court by prohibiting further filings

violated Petitioner’s rights of due process and court access

because Petitioner is no longer able to exercise her right to

further petition the State Supreme Court for reconsideration

of that prior order or other relief.

CONCLUSION

This Court is urged to grant certiorari because the

subject matter of the Petition has significant public interest;

the case involves legal principles of major significance to

the jurisprudence of the State; and, the decision of the

State Supreme Court allowing a fraud upon the court

judgment to stand is in conflict with fraud upon the court

decisions in other States.

The unpublished decision by the Hawaii Supreme Court

without opinion refused to address any of the fraud on the

court cases and federal and state laws and Constitutional

29

violations Petitioner raised in her defense and cited in her

Opening and Reply Briefs.

The decision affirmed the right of State circuit court

judges to uphold a judgment procured by fraud despite the

record and numerous cases cited rendering such action as

contrary to law and the Constitutions of the United States

and the State of Hawaii. The decision looked aside to the

rendering of written orders, adherence to rules of court and

civil procedure, openly defied due process, and rewarded

Respondent against every attempt by Petitioner to defend

against his fraudulent action.

process rights and right to jury trial on the merits under the

Constitutions of the United States and the State of Hawaii.

The Hawaii Supreme Court affirmed a void judgment

based on the violations of state and federal laws and

constitutional protections. This judgment denied Petitioner

her constitutional rights and this Court should grant the

Petition in order to fully review what was "plainly wrong.”

Respectfully submitted,

Eugenie Parnar

252 Paoa Place, #3-3

Honolulu, Hawaii 96815

808/955-5050

Pro se

APPENDIX

A-|

Appendix I

All orders are from courts of the State of Hawaii

Supreme Court Notice of Entry of Judgment on Appeal

S.C. No. 19946

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant-Appellant.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Counterclaimant and Appellant,

VS.

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Counterclaim-Defendant and Appellee.

Civil No. 90-1843

APPEAL FROM THE

1) THE JUDGMENT FILED ON JANUARY 11, 1996,

AND

A-2

2) THE ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT EUGENIE

PARNAR'S MOTION TO OPEN AND AMEND

JUDGMENT ENTERED JANUARY 11, 1996, FILED

MAY 24, 1996.

FIRST CIRCUIT COURT

HON. Robert G. Klein

HON. Francis Q.F. Wong

HON. Russell Nnagata

HON. Barry Kurren

HON. Thomas Kaulukukui, Jr.

HON. Virginia L. Crandall

HON. Kevin S.C. Chang

HON. Wilfred K. Watanabe

HON. Colleen K. Hirai

HON. Herbert Shimabukuro

HON. Wendell K. Huddy

HON. Karen N. Blondin

HON. Gail C. Nakatani

HON. Danial G. Heely

Judges

[Filed]

[1998 Feb-17 9:24 AM]

[L. Nakagawa]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

NOTICE OF MENT ON APP

TO THE HONORABLE PRESIDING JUDGE OF THE

FIRST CIRCUIT COURT.

A-3

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE the following Judgment on

Appeal is entered this day by the Supreme Court of the State

of Hawaii:

Pursuant to the summary disposition order of the Supreme

Court entered on January 21, 1998 the Judgment filed on

January ll, 1996, and the Order Denying Defendant Eugenie

Parnar's Moion to Open and Amend Judgment entered

January ll, 1996, filed May 24, 1996 are affirmed.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, FEB 17 1998.

BY THE COURT:

[L Nakagawa]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

APPROVED:

/s) MARIO R. RAMIL

JUDGE

A-4

Appendix II

Supreme Court Summary Disposition Order

No. 19946

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant-Appellant.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Counterclaimant and Appellant,

vs.

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Counterclaim-Defendant and Appellee.

Civil No. 90-1843

FIRST CIRCUIT COURT

A-5

[Filed]

[1998 Jan - 21 10:43 AM]

{[K. Miyamura]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

SUMMARY DISPOSITION ORDER

Upon careful review of the record and the briefs submitted

by the parties and having given due consideration to the

arguments made and the issues raised by the parties,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the judgment(s) or

order(s) from which the above-captioned appeal is taken is

hereby affirmed.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, January 21, 1998.

On the briefs:

Peter Van Name Esser /s/ Ronald T.Y. Moon

(on the opening brief) /s/ Steven H. Levinson

for Defendant-Appellant/ /s/ Paula A. Nakayama

Counterclaimant and /s/ Mario R. Ramil

Appellant /s/ Michael A. Town

John A. Chanin

Plaintiff-Appellee

Counterclaim-Defendant

and Appellee, Pro Se

Eugenie Parnar

(on the reply brief),

Defendant-Appellant and

Counterclaimant Pro Se

A-6

Appendix III

Judgment of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN

JOHN A. CHANIN 650-0

2618 Pauahi Tower

1001 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Telephone: (808)538-1637

Facsimile: (808) 532-1401

Attorney for Pro Per

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant.

CIVIL NO. 90-1843-06

(Contract)

JUDGMENT

EXHIBITS "A" - "B"

Sin Sill AAA hal Begs 0

A-7

[Filed]

[1996 Jan - 11 4:04 PM]

[F. Otake]

[Clerk]

JUDGMENT

Plaintiff THE LAW OFFICES OF JOHN A. CHANIN's

Motion for Sanctions Against Defendant EUGENIE

PARNAR having come on for hearing before the Honorable

Wendell K. Huddy on April 19, 1995, at 10:30 a.m. and the

Order Granting Plaintiff's Motion for Sanctions against

Defendnat EUGENIE PARNAR having been entered on

August 8, 1995; and

Based upon the affidavits, pleadings and files therein,

with good cause appearing therefor;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that Judgment be entered in favor of Plaintiffs

THE LAW OFFICES OF JOHN A CHANIN, and against

Defendant EUGENIE PARNAR in the principal amount of

$24,431.88, plus pre-judgment interest of $13,437.55, plus

attorneys’ fees of $7,581.46 and costs of $1,895.37.

All other claims and counter-claims are hereby dismissed.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, January 10, 1996.

/s/ DANIEL G. HEELEY

for Judge Wendell Huddy

A-8

EXHIBIT "A"

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN

JOHN A. CHANIN 650-0

2618 Pauahi Tower

1001 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Telephone: (808)538-1637

Facsimile: (808) 532-1401

Attorney for Pro Per

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant.

Civil No. 90-1843-06

(Contract)

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFF'S MOTION FOR

SANCTIONS AGAINST DEFENDANT EUGENIE

PARNAR ON MARCH 24, 1995

— |

ms. a 5 F Sa a

We aatoe Sa Su AR arn iittala “

A-9

Date: April 19, 1995

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Judge: Wendell Huddy

[Filed]

[1995 Aug - 8 3:34 PM]

[N. Anaya]

[Clerk]

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFF'S MOTION FOR

SANCTIONS AGAINST DEFENDANT EUGENIE

PARNAR ON MARCH 24, 1995

Plaintiff, the Law Offices of John A. Chanin, filed its

Motion for an Order for Sanctions Against Defendant

Eugenie Parnar on March 24, 1995; the matter came on for

hearing on April 19, 1995 before the undersigned Judge of

the Circuit Court of the First Circuit; the Court read the

submissions of the parties and heard their arguments, and

having considered the foregoing as well as the files and

records in this case, for Good Cause Appearing, the Court

does hereby order, Adjudge and Decree, that the following

sanctions shall be and are hereby are imposed against

Defendant Eugenie Parnar:

(1) That Defendant Parnar's counter-claim against

Plaintiff is hereby dismissed with prejudice;

A-10

(2) That Defendant Parnar is hereby held in default as

against the claims of Plaintiff, as set out in its Complaint,

said Default to be entered forthwith;

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, July 31, 1995

/s) WENDELL H. HUDDY

Judge of the above-entitled court

APPROVED AS TO FORM

{no signature]

EUGENIE PARNAR

A-1]

EXHIBIT "B"

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff,

V.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant.

Civil No. 90-1843-06

(Contract)

AFFIDAVIT OF JOHN A. CHANIN

STATE OF HAWAII )

) SS.

CITY AND COUNTY OF HONOLULU )

COMES NOW JOHN A. CHANIN, and under oath

_ deposes and says:

1. That he is an attorney licensed to practice in the State

of Hawaii and generally doing business as " The Law Offices

of John A. Chanin", Plaintiff herein;

2. That Affiant was the Defendant's attorney in

conjunction to this matter;

A-12

3. That an Order Granting Plaintiff's Motion for Sanctions

Against Defendant Eugenie Parnar filed on March 24, 1995,

filed August 8, 1995;

4. That the final invoice received by Defendant Eugenie

Parnar was on February 5, 1991;

5. That the principal amount due and owing is

$24,431.88;

6. That the pre-judgment interest of $13,437.55 is due and

owing;

7. That the attorney's fees is $7,581.46 and costs is

$1,895.37 is due and owing:

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NAUGHT.

/s) JOHN A. CHANIN

A-13

Appendix IV

Order of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit

Order Denying Petitioner's Motica to Open and Amend

Judgment Entered January 11, 1996

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN

JOHN A. CHANIN 650-0

The Executive Centre

1088 Bishop Street

Suite 511

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Telephone: (808) 538-1637

Facsimile: (808) 531-5055

Plaintiff Pro Per

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant.

Civil No. 90-1843-06

(CONTRACT)

A-14

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT EUGENIE PARNAR'S

MOTION TO OPEN AND AMEND JUDGMENT

ENTERED JANUARY 11, 1996

Date: January 31, 1996

Time: 10:30 a.m.

Judge: Daniel G. Heely

[Filed]

[1996 May - 24 10:55 AM]

[F.Otake]

[Clerk]

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT EUGENIE PARNAR'S

MOTION TO OPEN AND AMEND JUDGMENT

ENTERED JANUARY 11, 1996

Defendant Eugenie Parnar's Motion to Open and Amend

the Judgment Entered on January 11, 1996 which was filed

on January 17, 1996 and came on for hearing before the

Honorable Daniel G. Heely on January 31, 1996; the Court

has reviewed the records and files in this matter as well as

the submissions of the parties; the Court has also considered

the arguments of Defendant Parnar and John A. Chanin of

behalf of The Law Offices of John A. Chanin, Plaintiff

herein, and based upon the foregoing the Court finds:

1. The Complaint in this matter was filed by Plaintiff on

June 18, 1996;

2. Defendant Parnar's deposition, duly noticed by

Plaintiff, was commenced on December 4, 1991; the

deposition was to be continued at a date mutually agreed

A-15 Be

upon by Plaintiff and Defendant through her then counsel

Philip D. Bogetto;

3. Since the interruption of Defendant Parnar's deposition

on December 4, 1991, Plaintiff has been forced to file

numerous motions to compel Defendant Parnar to appear for

the continuation and of her deposition, and in spite of the fact

that Defendant Parnar has been ordered to appear and allow

for the continuation and completion of her deposition, she

~ has refused to do so;

i

>

|

res

a

2

4. That as early as January 1992, Defendant Parnar filed a

Motion to have her deposition terminated and as the result of

the hearing, she was ordered by Judge Robert Klein, to

arrange for the resumption of her deposition; Parnar failed to

do so;

i 5 aR ie i gna SES Sa ha es PAN th ec Neale

58 a ASAD vile RMN ee) Mi

5. Defendant then filed a Motion for Summary Judgment

and used the pendency of that Motion as an excuse for not

going forward with her deposition:

6. After Defendant Parnar's Motion for Summary

Judgment and her Request for Leave to File an Interlocutory

; Appeal were both denied, she still continued to refuse to ~

4 make herself available for the resumption of her deposition;

NB ded WO a aA NS aia 2 BRE 08

My 7. In September of 1993, Judge Melvin Soong after a

hearing on Plaintiff's Motion to Compel, ordered Defendant

Parnar to resume her deposition; however, before the Order

could be entered, Defendant Parnar filed her objections to the

proposed Order and continued to refuse to cooperate in

making arrangements for the taking of her deposition;

CER BAY ea: eee eg ae rer ee

A-16

8. In November of 1993, Plaintiff was again forced to file

a Motion to Compel Defendant Parnar to appear for the

resumption of the taking of her deposition; Defendant Parnar

requested the continuance of the hearing so that she could

find new counsel; consequently, the matter did not come on

for hearing until March 4, 1994, two (2) years after the

deposition was originally begun;

9. At the March 4th hearing before Judge Kevin Chang,

attorneys Bogetto and Lila Barbara Kanae appeared; Mr.

Bogetto indicated that he was no longer representing

Defendant Parnar whereas Ms. Kanai indicated that although

she had been retained, she was not as yet counsel on record;

Ms. Kanai further indicated that she was not familiar with the

file and requested another continuance; Judge Chang refused

to allow the matter to be continued any further and

consequently, Defendant Parnar shoe to speak on her own

behalf;

10. Judge Chang ruled that the deposition was to

continue and so as to avoid any further delay, designated a

specific date, i.e. March 24, 1994;

11. On March 8, 1995, Ms. Kanai filed a Motion

Requesting a Rehearing on the matter which had just been

heard by Judge Chang, her reason being that she was now

actively involved in the case and there were "many matters"

which needed to be looked into: the Motion for a Rehearing

was denied;

12. Shortly after the denial of the request for rehearing,

Defendant Parnar relieved Ms. Kanai of any further

involvement as her attorney; Defendant Parnar notified

Plaintiff of this turn of events and further indicated that in

ibn a5 Shalt AN ARI ald Maal an pad

A-17

spite of the Order directing her to do so, she would not attend

the deposition because she did not have an attorney;

13. The case was set for trial during the week of

September 12, 1994; as of the time of the setting, Defendant

Parnar had still failed to appear for the resumption of her

deposition, and she continued to refuse to appear based upon

the fact that she still had not retained counsel;

14. In August of 1994, Defendant Parnar moved to have

the matter taken off the trial calendar in that she was still

without counsel; Judge Herbert Shimabukuro, indicating his

concern about the problems that often occur in cases of self-

representation took the matter off of the trial calendar so that

Defendant Parnar could find counsel;

15. Ata subsequent trial setting before Judge Wendell

Huddy, Defendant Parnar again protested that she was not

prepared to go to trial in that she still had not been able to

obtain counsel; her protest notwithstanding Judge Huddy set

the case for trial during the week of December 18, 1995;

16. Shortly after the trial setting conference, Plaintiff

again noticed Defendant Parnar's deposition and requested

that she turn over various documents regarding her defenses

and her counter-claim; Defendant Parnar immediately filed a

Motion for a Protective Order, indicating that she did not

have an attorney and did not believe that she should be

"subjected" to Plaintiffs questioning without the "protection"

of counsel;

17. Defendant's Motion for a Protective Order was

heard on February 2, 1995 and was denied by Judge Huddy;

at the time of the hearing, Judge Huddy also Ordered

A-18

Defendant Parnar to deliver the documents requested by

Plaintiff at his office no later than March 3, 1995 and further

Ordered Defendant Parnar to appear at Plaintiff's office for

the resumption of her deposition at 9:00 a.m. on March 22,

1995;

18. In response to this latest Order by Judge Huddy

directing Defendant to resume her deposition, she filed still

another Motion for rehearing indicating that she still was

without counsel; this Motion was also denied;

19. On March 3, 1995, Defendant Parnar and an

"escort" appeared at Plaintiff's office and delivered her

responses to Plaintiff's request for documents; her responses

were evasive, inadequate and incomplete;

20. Less that 24 hours before her deposition was to be

taken, Defendant Parnar's "escort" again appeared at

Plaintiff's office with a letter from Defendant in which she

indicated that she would not attend the resumption of her

deposition, citing all of the reasons which she had raised in

the past including the fact that she still was unable to retain

counsel:

21. Based upon Defendant's continuing refusal to

comply with the Orders of Court, Plaintiff filed a Motion for

Sanctions on March 24, 1995; the matter was heard by Judge

Huddy on April 19, 1995;

22. On August g, 1995, the Order granting the requested

sanctions was signed by Judge Huddy and filed;

pai a Sa BS at le! St aac el Seah Lakh

* SN Tah At. a oA SH

PR a EP ih Sieh WSN CaCO wal heats RR

A-19

23. Subsequently, on January 11, 1996, the Judgment

which Defendant in her present Motion requests be opened

and amended, was filed;

Based upon the foregoing, for GOOD CAUSE

APPEARING, it is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that Defendant Parnar's Motion to Open and

Amend the Judgment Entered on January 11, 1996 is hereby

DENIED.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, May 24, 1996.

/s/ DANIEL G. HEELY

JUDGE OF THE ABOVE-

ENTITLTED COURT

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

[Unsigned]

EUGINIE PARNAR

A-20

Appendix V

Order of the Circuit Court of the First Circuit

Granting Plaintiff's [Respondent] Motion for Sanctions

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN

JOHN A. CHANIN 650-0

1001 Bishop Street

2618 Pauahi Tower

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Telephone: (808)538-1637

Facsimile: (808) 532-1401

Attorney Pro Per

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIRST CIRCUIT

STATE OF HAWAITI

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant.

Civil No. 90-1843-06

(Contract)

[Filed]

[1995 Aug - 8 3:34 PM]

[N. Anaya]

—-

ide RP GRRE AGE EA rile Sols ses

A-21

[Clerk]

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFF'S MOTION FOR

SANCTIONS AGAINST DEFENDANT EUGENIE

24.199

Plaintiff, the Law Offices of John A. Chanin, filed its

Motion for an Order for Sanctions Against Defendant

Eugenie Parnar on March 24, 1995; the matter came on for

hearing on April 19, 1995 before the undersigned Judge of

the Circuit Court of the-First Circuit; the Court read the

submissions of the parties and heard their arguments, and

having considered the foregoing as well as the files and

records in this case, for Good Cause Appearing, the Court

does hereby order, Adjudge and Decree, that the following

sanctions shall be and are hereby are imposed against

Defendant Eugenie Parnar:

(1) That Defendant Parnar's counter-claim against

Plaintiff is hereby dismissed with prejudice;

(2) That Defendant Parnar is hereby held in default as

against the claims of Plaintiff, as set out in its Complaint,

said Default to be entered forthwith;

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, July 31, 1995

/s/’ WENDELL H. HUDDY

APPROVED AS TO FORM

[no signature]

EUGENIE PARNAR

A-22

Appendix VI

Supreme Court Order

Allowing Resignation in Lieu of Discipline

NO. 21407

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF Hawaii

OFFICE OF DISCIPLINARY COUNSEL,

Petitioner,

VS.

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Respondent.

ODC NO. 97-280-5474

[Filed]

[1998 Mar - 19 1:37 PM]

[K. Miyahara]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

ORDER ALLOWING RESIGNATION

IN LIEU OF DISCIPLINE

Upon consideration of Petitioner Office of Disciplinary

Counsel's "Ex Parte Motion For Order Granting Request of

John A. Chanin To Resign From the Practice of Law in Lieu

iii aed

o

;

€

4

+

*

7

i

A-23

of Discipline," and the memorandum, affidavit, and exhibit

in suport thereof, it appears the motion is supported by

Respondent Chanin's affidavit and that the affidavit meets

the requirements of Rule 2.14(a) of the Rules of the Supreme

Court of the State of Hawaii. Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion is granted

and the request of Respondent John M. Chanin to resign in

lieu of discipline is granted, effective upon the filing of this

order.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that (1) the Clerk shall

immediately remove the name of Respondent John A.

Chanin from the roll of attorneys licensed to practice law in

this jurisdiction and (2) within ten (10) days after entry of this

order. Respondent John A. Chanin shall deposit with the

Clerk of this Court the original certificate evidencing his

license to practice law in this jurisdiction.

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that (1) Respondent John A.

Chanin shall comply with the requirements of Rule 2.16 of

the Rules of the Supreme Court of the State of Hawaii and

(2) the Disciplinary Board shall provide notice to the public

and judges as required by rule 2.16 of the Rules of the

Supreme Court of the State of Hawaii.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, March 19, 1998.

/s/ Ronald T.Y. Moon

/s/ Robert G. Klein

/s/ Steven H. Levinson

/s/ Paula A. Nakayama

/s/ Mario R. Ramil

A-24

Appendix VII

Order of the Supreme Court,

Prohibiting Clerk from Accepting Further Filings

No. 19946

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF Hawaii

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant-Appellant.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Counterclaimant and Appellant,

VS.

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Counterclaim-Defendant and Appellee.

Civil No. 90-1843

[Filed]

[1998 Apr - 8 1:59 PM]

{[L. Nakagawa]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

Pe ae en —_

ee ek BN yee hla SS van

Pits? amas Meany

A-25

ORDER

Upon consideration of (1) Appellant's "emergency motion

for stay of enforcement of final judgment on appeal pending

obtaining of records regarding... [a disciplinary case}"

(motion) and (2) the record, it appears this appeal was

decided by summary disposition order on January 21, 1998,

the notice and judgment on appeal was entered on F ebruary

17, 1998, and this case is closed. Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion is stricken.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk shall accept

no further filings in this appeal.

DATED: Honolulu, Hawaii, April 8, 1998.

/s/ Mario R. Ramil

Associate Justice

A-26

Appendix VIII

Supreme Court, State of Hawaii

Office of Disciplinary Counsel

Notice Concerning Attorney John A. Chanin

NOTICE CONCERNING ATTORNEY

JOHN A. CHANIN

MEMO TO: All State and Federal Judges in Hawaii

FROM: Michael T. Lee /s/ Michael T. Lee

Assistant Disciplinary Counsel

DATE: March 20, 1998

SUBJECT: Order Granting Request to Resign in Lieu of

Discipline

In accordance with RSCH 2.16(f), we enclose a certified

copy of an order of the Supreme Court of Hawaii allowing

Honolulu attorney John A. Chanin to resign in lieu of

discipline, effective March 19, 1998.

Administrative Judges are asked to take such action as is

deemed necessary to protect the rights of any clients of Mr.

Chanin whose cases may be pending in court.

If there are any questions, please telephone me at 521-4591.

MTL:jv

enclosure

~~

A-27

Appendix IX

Petitioner's Opening Brief

No. 19946

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF Hawaii

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defendant-Appellant.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Counterclaimant and Appellant,

vs.

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Counterclaim-defendant and Appellee.

Civil No. 90-1843

APPEAL FROM

1) THE JUDGMENT FILED ON JANUARY 11, 1996,

AND

A-28

2) THE ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT EUGENIE

PARNAR'S MOTION TO OPEN AND AMEND

JUDGMENT ENTERED JANUARY 11, 1996, FILED

MAY 24, 1996.

FIRST CIRCUIT COURT

HON. Robert G. Klein

HON. Francis Q. F. Wong

HON. Russell Nnagata

HON. Barry Kurren

HON. Thomas Kaulukukui, Jr.

HON. Virginia L. Crandall

HON. Kevin S. C. Chang

HON. Wilfred K. Watanabe

HON. Colleen K. Hirai

HON. Herbert Shimabukuro

HON. Wendell K. Huddy

HON. Karen N. Blondin

HON. Gail C. Nakatani

HON. Danial G. Heely

Judges

[Filed]

[1997 Apr - 22 3:09 PM]

[Eugene L. Sabado]

[Clerk Supreme Court]

P tb N BRIEF

and

RTIF TE VICE

A-29 ~

PETER VAN NAME ESSER 3515

Suite 400, Seven Waterfront Plaza

500 Ala Moana Boulevard

Honolulu, HI 96813

Telephone: (808) 538-3636

Attorney for Defendant-Appellant and Counterclaimant

EUGENIE PARNAR

I. STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

A. The Underlying Lawsuits.

On June 18, 1990, Plaintiff-Appellee and Crossclaim

Defendant JOHN A. CHANIN ("Chanin") filed a complaint

for attorney's fees against Defendant-Appellant and

Counterclaimant EUGENIE PARNAR ("Parnar") in First

Circuit Court. Record on Appeal, Volume I ("RA-I") at 1.

On July 9, 1991, Parnar filed an answer and counterclaim

against Chanin charging him with breach of his fee

agreement, false billings and legal malpractice. RA-I at 103.

Chanin claimed Parnar owed him a balance of $24,431.88

(after taking $45,545.68 from her trust account) for services

performed when he represented her in a fee dispute with

predecessor counsel in Parnar v. Americana Hotels, Civil

No. 52878, where Parnar obtained damages from Americana

for unlawful termination. RA-I at 1. Parnar hired Chanin

after this Court affirmed her award against Americana in

Americana Hotels. RA-I at 186. Parnar hired Chanin to 1)

defend against Americana's petition for certiorari in the U. S.

Supreme Court, 2) defend against a fee claim by predecessor

counsel David Schutter, and 3) defend against a fee claim by

predecessor counsel Michael Lilly. Jd.

A-30

Chanin did not perform as promised. Jd. He was not a

member of the U. S. Supreme Court bar. Jd. He settled with

Schutter. /d. He lost the challenge to Lilly's fees. Jd. He

assigned an inexperienced associate to the Lilly dispute,

resulting in defeat and a near default of Parnar’s appeal. /d.

He increased his hourly rate without notice, and submitted

false, inflated billings, including one entry for 55 hours by

one attorney on one day. Jd.

B. Parnar's December 4, 1991, Deposition.

The parties agreed on a December 4, 1991, deposition

date at Chanin's office. RA-I at 131-135. Bogetto and

Parnar cleared their calendars for two days. Jd. Chanin's

office called Bogetto three times to inquire as to Parnar’s

appearance. Jd. Nothing was said about scheduling conflicts

or Chanin's plans to leave Honolulu on the day of the

scheduled deposition. /d. Bogetto and Parnar appeared at

Chanin's offices at 9:00 AM on December 4, 1991. Jd.

Chanin conducted the deposition in his office--rather than

his conference room--from a chair placing him above

Bogetto and Parnar, seated on a two-seat couch. /d. at 132,

136. His interrogation was insulting, intimidating and,

according to then-First Circuit Judge Robert G. Klein,

entirely irrelevant. RA-I at 131, 139.

Chanin questioned Parnar about 1) the number of lawsuits

she had filed in her life, 2) the number of depositions she had

taken, 2) her marital history, 3) her education, 4) her

residential history, 5) her employment history, 6) her work

hours in all her jobs, 7) why and when she left each job, 8)

the names of her superiors, and 9) why she sued Americana

Hotels. RA-I at 139-171.

A-31

When Parnar could not recall dates or names, or asked to

speak to Bogetto, Chanin refused, asking questions like,

"why don't you answer my question first?" "is that your

testimony?" "is that an answer?" "what do you mean?"

"you're sure now?" "you don't have any recollection

whatsoever as to when you worked there?" "you don't recall

what?" "now will you answer the question?" "you can't be

any more accurate than that?" "so you don't have any

recollection whatsoever?" "what about the question do you

not understand?" and "is it really your testimony under oath

that you can't recall?” RA-I at 143, 150-152, 155-156, 160,

163-164, 168.

Chanin also made unnecessary and belligerent comments

like, "I don't want to get bogged down," "you lost me," "I

just did," "the fact of the matter is," "just answer that

question," "if you were in court on the stand and I asked you

the question you'd have to answer it," and "I must tell you

that I've asked that question to people over the last 20 some

odd years and this is the first time I've had that kind of

resporise." Jd. at 145, 153, 155, 159, 160. Bogetto objected

repeatedly to irrelevant questions:

I'm going to object on the grounds of relevance. What

she was doing back in 1975 at the Ala Moana Hotel

has nothing to do with this lawsuit.

RA-I at 154, see also, Id. at 155 ("irrelevant") and Jd. at 157

("I object as to relevancy"). Chanin ignored Bogetto's

objections. When Parnar testified that she worked for the

Hawaii Crime Commission for three years in the 1970's,

Chanin inquired:

A-32

What did the program substantially consist of? Was it

about the birds and the bees? Was it about crime?

Was it about drugs? Was it about geography?

RA-I at 167-168. Chanin asked no questions about 1)

Chanin's services as her attorney, 2) Parnar's alleged

outstanding legal bills, 3) Chanin's malpractice, or 4)

anything whatsoever about the allegations in the complaint

or counterclaim. /d.

After asking irrelevant, obnoxious questions for 60

minutes, Chanin abruptly stopped the deposition. /d. at 168.

At 10:46 AM Chanin told Parnar and Bogetto he "had to

leave at 11:30 AM to go to the airport to catch a flight to the

mainland." RA-I at 134. "[W]e are stopping now and then

picking up again at our offices on January 6, 1992," Chanin

said. RA-I at 169. "We had anticipated we would be here all

day," Bogetto noted for the deposition record, "I understand

that you did not anticipate it would take that long and

therefore have plans to leave town today." Jd.

C. Parnar's Motion to Terminate: Judge Klein.

On January 3, 1992, Parnar filed a motion to terminate her

deposition, "on the ground that such examination is being

conducted in bad faith and in such manner as unreasonably

to annoy, embarrass or oppress defendant." RA-I at 131.

Chanin "had no serious intent of taking a deposition on

December 4, 1991, for discovery purposes,” claimed Parnar,

"he asked questions irrelevant to the lawsuit for which the

deposition was called." Jd. at 135. "Chanin's voice

intonations were sarcastic and his demeanor imperious and

intimidating." /d. at 137. Parnar noted:

heaceasieiiiieiieiiiniiaiiiaiisiiiiill

nl, linha niin er

A-33

I have had my deposition taken on four prior occasions

and never had to endure the abuse of dignity that Mr.

Chanin tried to display toward me.

RA-I at 137. Parnar attached a copy of the December 4,

1991, deposition transcript to her motion to terminate. /d. at

139.

Chanin filed opposition papers falsely stating, "counsel

failed to raise an objection as to relevance during the

deposition[.]" RA-I at 197. Chanin insisted his questions

were "well within the liberal scope of discovery[.]" Jd. at

196.

The parties appeared before First Circuit Judge Robert

Klein on March 3, 1992. "I certainly couldn't see where the

questions were going," commented Judge Klein after

reviewing the transcript:

I was trying to think of where in the pleadings--having

looked at the counterclaims, the defenses, the

affirmative defenses and the case in chief, what this

related to.

3/3/92 Tr. at 3 (emphasis added). "What difference does it

make," he asked, "whether she was a part-time waiter?" Jd.

"You're trying to collect attorney's fees from this woman,"

said Judge Klein, "what's the difference where she worked 20

years ago?" Id.

When Chanin complained that Parnar was nonresponsive

during the deposition, Judge Klein said, "it falls under the

tubric of ask a silly question." Jd. at 4. "[Y]ou were just

asking basically a lot of irrelevant questions," he said, "[i]t is

A-34

a waste of time[.]" Jd. at 5. "[I]t's basically a collection case,

Mr. Chanin." /d. at 7. "35 pages to establish nothing

relevant," observed Judge Klein-again, "is a total waste of

time." Jd.

Judge Klein declined Parnar's request to terminate the

deposition, but told Chanin, "get to the point[.]" Jd. at 8. "I

don't want to see you back here again." Jd. As the prevailing

party, Chanin was charged with preparing the written order.

No such order was ever prepared by Chanin. RA-II at 32.

Displeased with the court's ruling, Chanin ignored the issue

of relevancy and dispatched notices setting depositions for

April 23, May 12, and June 9, 1992. Jd. Citing HRCP Rule

30(d) and HCCR Rule 23, Bogetto wrote Chanin and said he

would not attend a deposition until Chanin filed a proposed

order denying Parnar's motion to terminate accompanied by

relevancy limitations imposed by Judge Klein at the March

3, 1992, hearing. RA-II at 32-33.

D. Chanin's Motion to Compel: Judge Kanlukukui.

On July 8, 1992, Chanin filed a motion to compel Parnar

to appear at her deposition. RA-I at 254. His papers

contained serious misstatements of fact. "[O]n or about

December 4, 1991, Plaintiff began [his] deposition of

Defendant in the above entitled matter." /d. at 258. "During

said deposition,” wrote Chanin, "Defendant refused to

answer relevant questions put to her and terminated the

deposition without allowing Plaintiff to complete his

questioning." /d. "Plaintiff has terminated one deposition

during Defendant's questioning,” claimed Chanin. Jd. at 256.

"Defendant moved for a protective order after unilaterally

terminating her deposition." /d. at 258.

a cena

A-35

These allegations contained three basic fabrications.

First, at the March 3, 1992, hearing on Parnar's motion to

terminate, Judge Klein found Chanin's questions irrelevant.

"[Y]ou were just asking basically a lot of irrelevant

questions," said the court, "nothing relevant." 3/3/92 Tr. at

5, 7. Chanin never submitted a proposed order to Judge

Klein, and no transcript of the hearing was prepared until this

appeal. In his July 8, 1992, moving papers Chanin claimed

Parnar filed a motion "for protective order" and declared,

"[t]his court denied Defendant's motion and instructed that

Plaintiff complete its deposition of Defendant with due

sensitivity to Defendant." RA-I at 258. This statement flatly

mischaracterized Judge Klein's March 3, 1992, oral ruling’.

Second, Parnar answered every question put to her by

Chanin, even those objected to as irrelevant. See RA-I at

139-171. Chanin's statement otherwise misstated the

deposition record.

Third, Chanin's claim that Parnar "terminated" the

December 4, 1991, deposition was a lie, since it was he who

abruptly cancelled because of a plane flight kept secret from

Bogetto and Parnar. Jd. at 170; see also, RA-II at 32.

' Chanin repeatedly characterized Parnar's objections as focused on the

height of his chair. Hence his suggestion that Judge Klein directed him

to honor her "sensitivity." By ignoring her objections to relevancy, and

his unilateral termination of the December 4, 1991, deposition, Chanin

skillfully belittled his opponent's position and distorted Judge Klein's

1992 oral ruling.

A-36

Because of a pending criminal trial, Bogetto filed no

response and sent a friend to ask for a continuance at the July

21, 1992, hearing before First Circuit Judge Thomas K.

Kaulukukui on Chanin's motion. 7/21/92 Tr. at 2. In

Bogetto's absence Chanin lied:

All I want to do your honor is get a date certain set to

take this lady's deposition and to get sanctions because

we have been here so often trying to get Ms. Parnar to

show up[.]

7/21/92 at 3 (emphasis added). First, Chanin had already

taken Parnar's deposition, which he terminated, and which

Judge Klein characterized as "35 pages to establish nothing

relevant[.]" 3/3/92 Tr. at 7. Second, this was Chanin's first

motion to compel, and telling Judge Kaulukukui he had

"been here so often trying to get Ms. Parnar to show up" was

a lie. 7/21/92 Tr. at 3.

The court granted Bogetto's motion to continue and took

the matter off calendar. Jd. at 7. Chanin never renewed his

motion and Judge Kaulukukui never ruled. Jd. Instead,

Chanin dispatched further notices setting dates for Parnar's

continued deposition. RA-II at 5. Bogetto wrote back

declining to appear unless Chanin filed a proposed order

summarizing Judge Klein's ruling. RA-II at 32, 40. Chanin's

papers before Judge Kaulukukui, noted Bogetto, made clear

he would not abide by Judge Klein's rulings. /d’.

* In his written opposition to Chanin's second motion to compel Bogetto

observed, "[t]he written order of Judge Klein is necessary in order to

clearlv define the parameters of Plaintiff's deposition tactics[.]" RA-II at

35.

A-37

E. Chanin's Motion to Compel: Judge Nagata.

On August 25, 1993, Chanin filed a second motion to

compel. RA-II at 19. It was as full of lies as his first. Jd.

Chanin claimed Parnar "used every available excuse to avoid

having her deposition taken." /d. at 22. He ignored Judge

Klein's relevancy rulings. Jd. He claimed his opponent

"refused to answer relevant questions" at the 1991 deposition

and "terminated the deposition without allowing Plaintiff to

complete [his] questions." /d. at 24. He claimed Bogetto

"readily admitted that Defendant has no intention whatsoever

of having her deposition taken and will do everything

possible to avoid being deposed," which was a lie. /d. at 23.

40. He claimed Bogetto "agreed to deposition dates" and

then cancelled them, which was also a lie. /d. at 8, 22-23,

40.

Chanin claimed Judge Kaulukukui--who heard Chanin's

first motion to compel--was "upset not only with the obvious

stalling tactics," but "indicated his great displeasure with Mr.

Bogetto" for failing to attend the July 21, 1992, hearing. /d.

at 23. In fact, Bogetto sent substitute counsel and Judge

Kaulukukui freely granted his request for a continuance

because "he is presently in district court in that he is

conducting a trial." 7/21/92 Tr. at 2. "I understand the

schedule of Mr. Bogetto," declared Judge Kaulukukui, "I am

going to grant a continuance and have this matter taken off

calendar[.]" Jd. at 5.

On September 24, 1993, Chanin and Bogetto appeared

before First Circuit Judge Russel Nagata. Chanin's oral

presentation contained more lies. "Judge Kaulukukui pretty

much had reached the point of a limit of his patience,"

Chanin lied. 9/24/93 Tr. at 2. "[E]ither take the deposition

A-38

or I [will] have this matter heard," Judge Kaulukukui

supposedly told the absent Bogetto, "I'm getting tired of all

this." Jd. Judge Kaulukukui said no such thing. See 7/21/92

Tr. 1-14. Chanin got away with lies about Judge Kaulukukui

because neither Bogetto nor Judge Nagata were at the prior

hearing.

Chanin lied about Parnar's objections, claiming they were

based on chair height. /d. at 3. He lied about Judge Klein's

rulings, suggesting he ruled Chanin's questions irrelevant

without considering the counterclaim for malpractice. /d. at

3, 10°.

Chanin lied about Judge Klein's order. /d. at 3. "An order

ultimately got filed," Chanin lied, "it's the issue that has been

raised every single time[.]" /d. Judge Nagata asked Chanin

to produce the order. /d. "I don't have it in this particular

file,” Chanin replied, "the other files go back quite a ways.”

Id. at 4. "Mr. Bogetto filed the order," Chanin lied, "[h]e

took it upon himself to file it." Jd. "It's never been an issue,"

Chanin lied, "and no one has ever legitimately raised it as a

issue.” Jd.

Chanin attacked Bogetto. Jd. Bogetto would agree to a

deposition date, Chanin lied, and "the night before I would

receive a letter saying, oh, he can't make it." /d. Bogetto

would demand a copy of Judge Klein's order, said Chanin,

and "[t]he issue has long since been resolved for two

years[.]" Jd. at 5.

> The counterclaim was filed by Parnar four months before the

December 4, 1991, deposition, and Judge Klein expressly referred to it

before ruling on March 3, 1992, that Chanin's deposition questioning

was, “a complete waste of time." See 3/2/92 Tr. at 3 ("having looked at

the counterclaims|.}")

A-39

Bogetto told Judge Nagata that no such order had been

filed. Jd. at 7. "[W]e did have a hearing," said Bogetto, "and

Judge Klein did issue a ruling, and as far as I'm aware there

has been no order entered on that motion to terminate." Jd.

Bogetto said:

My client would like to have that order entered setting

the parameters of a continued deposition of her to be

taken by Mr. Chanin. ... I would like to have that

order entered before we go because we're going to get

into an argument about whether or not he's going too

far.

9/24/93 Tr. at 7. Judge Klein, said Bogetto, "looked at the

transcript of the previous deposition and thought that a lot of

the questions were irrelevant{.]" Jd. at 8. "All I'm asking the

court," pleaded Bogetto, "is say, look, submit that order, get

it signed and filed, and then schedule the deposition[.]" Jd. at

8.

"I'm going to enter an order compelling the deposition,"

ruled Judge Nagata. /d. at i2. "[{C]ertain things weren't

filed," said Nagata, "so I'm not going to award any

sanctions." Jd. Judge Nagata ordered Chanin to prepare an

order setting a deposition date for Parnar on October 13, 14,

or 15, 1993. Jd. at 13.

Chanin did not notice an October 1993 deposition. The

court signed and filed an order prepared by Chanin (ordering

a deposition on October 13, 14 or 15, 1996) on October 26,

1993. RA-II at 61. Chanin noticed a new deposition on

November 10, 1993. RA-II at 63. Bogetto wrote Chanin

declining to appear because 1) Chanin had not filed a order

A-40

for Judge Klein, and 2) the October 26, 1993, order entered

by Judge Nagata was void on its face. RA-II at 80, 83.

On November 18, 1993, Chanin filed a motion for

sanctions for Parnar's failure to appear on November 10,

1993. RA-II at 66. Bogetto is "raising the exact same issues

that he had raised many times before," lied Chanin,

"uniformly denied by every judge previously hearing them."

Id. at 73. In fact, no prior judge rejected Parnar's claims, and

Judge Klein upheld her relevancy objections. No judge had

reviewed Judge Nagata's order, since Judge Nagata was the

first judge to rule on a motion to compel. On March 4, 1994,

Chanin's motion for sanctions was heard before First Circuit

Judge Kevin Chang. 3/4/94 Tr. at 1. Bogetto filed papers in

opposition but did not appear, having withdrawn in favor of

attorney Lila Kanae. /d. Kanae did her best to reiute

Chanin's distortions of prior proceedings. Jd. She told Judge

Chang that Chanin had not given Parnar her files from

Americana Hotels, so she could not prepare for a deposition

on his fees or malpractice, or for trial. RA-II at 138. "[T]he

files maintained by Bogetto," Kanae told Judge Chang, "are

by no means sufficient for counsel to properly prepare for a

deposition of Defendant{.]" Jd’.

* Kanae wrote Chanin three times requesting Parnar's Americana Hotels

files without success. RA-II at 138. Unable to obtain files, and lacking

the records to defend Parnar at a deposition or trial, Kanae withdrew two

months later. RA-II at 145-149.

After Kanae withdrew, Parnar wrote letters pro se to Chanin

requesting her files, with similar results. RA-II] at 171-172. Itisa

breach of professional ethics for an attorney to withold client files. See

(continued...)

A-4]

"I don't want to take her deposition,” said Chanin, "I

think it's time just to dismiss her counterclaim.” 3/25/94 Tr.

at5. Thatclaim "makes all kinds of irresponsible

allegations about me," Chanin lied. Jd’. "This is about her

fifth lawyer in this matter," Chanin lied again, "[n]ow we

have still another[.}" /d°. "I have been put to the test before

virtually every judge on the circuit court level," Chanin lied

still again, "to get some kind of accommodation.” /d. at 6’.

Chanin asked for sanctions against the absent Bogetto as

well. Jd. Bogetto's objections to the November 10, 1993,

deposition were "nonsense," lied Chanin, and based on

“psychological harassment." /d at 6. Chanin told Judge

Chang, with no evidence whatsoever, that Parnar’s lawyers

are:

*(...continued)

Office of Disciplinary Counsel v. Kagawa, 63 Haw. 150, 622 P.2d 115

(1981). Parnar’s inability to obtain files from Chanin made it difficult for

her to find new counsel and impossible to prepare for Chanin's

deposition. /d.

* Parnar’s counter-claim merely claimed Chanin overcharged her,

assigned an inexperienced associate to her case, “and negligently

provided legal services . . . resulting in substantial economic loss.” RA-!

at 103, 106.

* Lila Kanae was Parnar’s second, and final, lawyer, after Philip Bogetto,

in Civil 90-1843-06. See e.g, RA-I at 58.

’ Chanin's first motion to compel was heard by Judge Kaulukukui in

Bogetto's absence. 7/21/92 Tr. at 1. When Judge Kaulukukui took it off

calendar, Chanin did not seek a second hearing date. Jd. There were no

orders and no sanctions. /d. Judge Nagata heard Chanin's second

motion to compel. Because of Chanin's negligence, Judge Nagata filed a

void order. Judge Nagata did not impose sanctions. There are 22 circuit

court judges in Honolulu.

A-42

being led around by a woman who is going to continue,

quite frankly, to use the threat of litigation against them

to make them do her bidding.

3/4/94 Tr. at 15. This statement was a lie.

Parnar's new lawyer, Lila Kanae, argued:

[Chanin] willfully refused to follow Rule 23 . . . which

requires submission of a proposed written order within

ten days of the oral ruling. Here he didn't want to file a

written order because Judge Klein's order was adverse

to him. It limited the manner and scope of how the

deposition would be taken. So what did he do? He

chose to ignore it.

3/4/94 Tr. at 8. Chanin, argued Kanae, requested sanctions

under HRCP Rule 37(b) without showing Parnar's refusal to

attend a court-ordered deposition. Jd. Judge Nagata's order

"requires a deposition be had on a date which has already

lapsed." Jd. at 9. Kanae said she had received no files and

could not prepare her client for a deposition or trial if she had

no files. Jd.

Chanin lied in rebuttal. /d. at 14. "Judge Nagata said no

more history Mr. Bogetto." Jd. "Judge Kaulukukui said |

don't want to hear any more of this." /d. The transcripts of

those hearings contradict these claims. See 7/21/92 Tr. at 1-

10;

Chanin's merdacity failed to elicit sanctions. 3/4/94 Tr. at

18. But Judge Chang ordered Parnar to attend a deposition

on March 25, 1994, although Chanin had not filed a motion

to compel. /d. "Mr. Chanin," said the court, "will you

A-43 “

prepare the order?" Jd. "Yes, I will," said Chanin. /d. at 19.

Chanin did not prepare a proposed order and it was never

filed. 9/7/94 Tr. at 4-5. Further, Chanin did not notice a

March 25, 1994, deposition. Jd.

On March 8, 1994, Parnar filed a motion for rehearing,

asking, that Judge Chang order Chanin to produce files. RA-

I] at 135. On May 5, 1994, Parnar's motion was denied.

RA-III at 16. The order did not compel Parnar to attend a

deposition or direct Chanin to give Parnar her files. /d.

Without files, and unable to prepare for a deposition or trial,

Kanae withdrew. RA-II at 145.

Parnar now had two major problems. She had no lawyer

and she had no files. RA-III at 120, 190, 199. On August

23, 1994, she filed a motion to continue the September 1994

trial date. RA-III at 182. The motion was argued before

First Circuit Judge Herbert Shimabukuro. 9/7/94 Tr. at 1.

Chanin objected but the court granted the motion. /d. at 12.

Parnar "has made some effort to obtain counsel," said Judge

Shimabukuro, "[b]y the nature of this case maybe some

attorneys are avoiding it." Jd. at 12-13.

G. Parnar's Motion for Protective Order: Judge Huddy.

Chanin sent no notices of deposition to Parnar between

April 1994 and January 1995, when he finally dispatched a

notice with a subpoena seeking documents. RA-III at 203,

205. Parnar had been without counsel for eight months,

despite contacting 70 lawyers. 2/2/95 Tr. at 5-6. She had no

files. Jd. Parnar filed a motion for protective order before

the deposition claiming 1) Chanin had not provided fair

notice, 2) Parnar had no counsel or files, and 3) the subpoena

did not comply with court rules. RA-III at 221.

A-44

Parnar's motion was heard before First Circuit Judge

Wendell K. Huddy on February 2, 1995. 2/2/95 Tr. at 1.

Chanin appeared and repeated his lies. /d. at 6-9. "[S]he has

done a better job of avoidance," he said, "than any attorney I

have ever met." /d. at 8. Chanin had not yet checked his

warehouse for Parnar's files. Jd. at 9. He said she refused to

be deposed because his chair was higher. /d. He ignored his

termination of the 1991 deposition, misstated Judge Klein's

relevancy ruling*, and omitted his failure to prepare timely

orders for Judges Nagata and Chang. /d.

Chanin also placed false words in "the last judge's”

mouth. /d. at 10. "Enough Miss Parnar,” this judge

supposedly told her, "I don't care whether you have an

attorney or not." /d. "Your deposition is going to be taken."

Id. Chanin did not say when he heard these words and no

transcript of any hearing contains them. And none could,

because Judge Huddy was the first judge to hear a discovery

motion by Chanin after Parnar became pro se.

Judge Huddy asked Parnar about getting a lawyer. /d. at

13. "I've had a difficult time," she said, "I've been told my

case is famous." Jd. One lawyer told her, she said, "I bet

you won't get anyone on this island[.]" /d. "I need counsel,"

said Parnar, "before I can go into a deposition." /d. "I need

my files." Jd.

* "Judge Klein was under the mistaken impression,” Chanin lied to Judge

Huddy, “that it was merely a collection action” when he found the

questions “irrelevant” ir 1992. 2/2/95 Tr. at 11. “[I]}t is well beyond that

at this juncture,” Chanin told Huddy, “because she has raised these

counterclaims claiming maipractice." /d. As noted in foomote 3, supra,

this statement was a lie.

A-45.

Huddy "grant[ed] the motion in part and den[ied] the

motion in part." /d. at 14. He continued the deposition date

because of Chanin's short notice, but ordered Parnar to

produce documents on March 3, 1995, and attend a

deposition on March 22, 1995, with or without counsel. /d.

at 15. Judge Huddy did not sanction Parnar, or threaten her

with future sanctions if she failed to comply. Jd.

On February 24, 1995, Parnar moved for rehearing, saying

she did not have time to find counsel or obtain Chanin's files.

RA-II at 246. Judge Huddy's order setting a deposition in

thirty days would have a "chilling effect," she said, "on

Defendant's ability to find counsel because an attorney would

be relictant to take on a complex case such as this without

adequate time[.]" /d. at 251.

Pamar delivered documents on March 3, 1995, which

were jew because Chanin still had her Americana files. RA-

I] at 161. March 22, 1995, went by without 1) a deposition,

2) a ruling on the motion for rehearing, 3) Chanin looking for

files, or 4) an order directing her deposition appearance. /d.

On May 1, 1995, Judge Huddy denied Parnar's motion for

reheanng. RA-II at 325.

OnMarch 21, 1995, Parnar wrote Chanin telling him she

couldnot attend a March 22, 1995, deposition, because 1) no

order 1ad been signed, 2) she had no lawyer, 3) she had no

files, znd 4) she wished to seek review of Judge Huddy's

order-when filed--because it had directed her to attend a

depostion by an abusive lawyer without counsel or files.

RA-Ilat 295-300.

A-46

On March 24, 1995, Chanin filed a motion for order

imposing sanctions under HRCP "Rule 37." RA-II at 228.

He did not specify what sanctions or what subsection of Rule

37 applied:

Defendant has been ordered to appear for her

deposition by numerous judges (including Judges

Klein, Soong, Watanabe, Huddy, Chang and

Kaulukukui).

RA-II at 231. This statement misled the court. Judges

Soong and Watanabe never heard any discovery motions in

this case’. Judge Klein ruled Chanin's December 4, 1991,

deposition questions were irrelevant and denied the motion

to terminate, but filed no order. Judge Kaulukukui continued

a motion to compel, never ruled, and filed no order. Judges

Chang and Huddy asked Parnar to attend a deposition, but

filed no orders. When Chanin moved for sanctions under

HRCP Rule 37 on March 24, 1995, Parnar had never

declined to attend a deposition compelled by a written order.

Parnar filed pro se opposition papers. RA-II at 301. She

said she'd contacted over 70 lawyers seeking representation

in this case. Jd. She'd placed adds in the Honolulu

Advertiser, the Star Bulletin and the Hawaii State Bar

Journal, and supplied a copy. Jd. "Defendant is not

* Ata March 30, 1994, hearing on Lila Kanae's motion to withdraw as

Parnar's counsel, Chanin told First Circuit Judge Wilfred Watanabe that

Judge Chang had ordered Parnar to attend a deposition. 3/30/94 Tr. at 3.

Judge Watanabe, at the only hearing he sat on in this case, told Chanin,

“{yJou can take that up with Judge Chang." Id. Chanin's claim that

Judge Watanabe ordered Parnar to attend a deposition was a lie. RA-II at

231.

A-47

disregarding the system," she wrote to Judge Huddy, "the

system is disregarding her." Jd.

On April 19, 1995, Judge Huddy conducted a hearing on

Chanin's motion. Parnar told the court she could not attend a

deposition with Chanin without counsel or files. 4/19/95 Tr.

at 2.

Chanin reiterated his prior distortions. Jd. "The

arguments that are being raised now," said Chanin, "have

been raised since December 1991." Jd. at 5. Chanin did not

explain how this could occur when Parnar had been without

counsel only since April 1994. Jd. Although his motion did

not specify a sanction, Chanin asked Judge Huddy to

“dismiss her counter-claim and default her as to the defenses

that she may have in my claim against her[-]" Jd. at 6. When

Parnar asked to respond, Judge Huddy refused. Jd.

In his ruling Judge Huddy repeated Chanin's false

statements about other judges. Jd. at 7. "She was ordered by

Judge Klein, Judge Soong, Judge Watanabe, Judge Chang

[and] Judge Kaulukukui," remarked Judge Huddy, "to attend

her deposition." /d. Judge Huddy suggested without proof

and without permitting her to respond, that Parnar caused

Chanin's failure to obtain written orders by removing them

from his chambers. /d. "[I]t's very suspect," he said. Jd.

"Parnar has made it clear that she does not intend to attend

a deposition," Judge Huddy said, "until she gets counsel[.]"

Id. at 8. "[T]hat's been her whole tactics." Jd. "[I]t's for

those reasons that the court grants the motion:" Jd.

Judge Huddy did not find bad faith, callous disregard or

willful disobedience. Jd. He did not specify a sanction. Jd.

A-48

On August 8, 1995, Judge Huddy filed an order granting

Chanin's oral motion for sanctions. RA-II at 329; see

Appendix A. "Good cause appearing," Huddy ordered,

"Parnar's counter-claim against Plaintiff is hereby dismissed"

and "Parnar is hereby held in default as against the claims of

Plaintiff].]" Jd.

I. Judgment for Dismissal and Default: Judge Heely.

On November 28, 1995, Chanin wrote Judge Huddy,

attaching a proposed judgment for signature and a one-page

affidavit explaining a $47,346.26 demand. RA-II at 336.

Chanin mailed Parnar the cover letter but did not send the

attachments. Jd. The affidavit, which was later attached to

the filed judgment, contained the following:

4. That the final invoice received by Defendant

Eugenie Parnar was on February 5, 1991; 5. That the

principal amount due and owing is $24,431.88; 6.

That the pre-judgment interest of $13,437.55 is due and

owing; 7. That the attorneys’ fees is $7,581.46 and

costs is $1,895.37 is [sic] due and owing;

RA-III at 5-6; see Appendix B. Chanin's averment that a

final, $24,431.88 invoice was sent to Parnar on February 5,

1991, flatly contradicted his previous filings. See

A-49

Appendix C'*. Chanin submitted no other "proof" for a

judgment twice the size of the prayer in his complaint. Jd.

Parnar responded to Chanin's letter by filing "objections to

entry of Plaintiff's November 28, 1995, judgment." RA-II at

336. She did not respond to his affidavit or $47,346.26

demand because she had not seen them. /d. Parnar noted

she had not been served with the proposed judgment and

asked for a proof hearing on damages under HRCP Rule

55(b)(2). Id.

On January 11, 1996, First Circuit Judge Daniel G. Heely

signed Chanin's proposed judgment "for Judge Huddy." RA-

III at 1; see Appendix B. Chanin's affidavit was attached.

Id. There is no record that Judge Huddy reviewed Chanin's

proposed judgment or affidavit, or adopted Chanin's

demands. Chanin awarded himself $24,431.88 in principal,

$13,437.55 in prejudgment interest, $7,581.46 in fees, and

$1,895.37 in costs, or $47,346.26. Jd.

J. Parnar’s Motion to Open Judgment; Judge Heely.

On January 17, 1996, Parnar filed a motion under HRCP

Rules 59 and 60 to open and amend judgment or for new

trial. RA-III at 38. She argued $13,437.55 in interest was

awarded in violation of HRS Section 636-16, without motion,

without hearing, and without designating commencement

date or interest rate. Jd. at 110-112. She claimed Judge

'° On June 1, 1992, Chanin filed an affidavit in opposition to Parnar's

motion for summary judgment, attaching a summary of account and

multiple invoices sent to Parnar between February and December 1991.

The final balance listed on Chanin's summary of account was

$19,208.41, not $24,431.88. See Appendix C. Parnar is moving on even

date herewith to supplement the record with this document, which was

inexplicably omitted from the record on appeal.

A-50

Heely, who was new to the case and conducted no proof

hearing, could not execute the judgment. Jd. at 113-115"'.

Chanin filed papers in opposition, claiming his secretary

served Parnar with the proposed judgment and affidavit, but

arguing HRCP Rule 55 did not apply anyway because Parnar

was "defaulted" under HRCP Rule 37. RA-III at 85-86. No

court rules, claimed Chanin, governed Judge Heely's

$47,346.26 default judgment. Jd.

Judge Heeley heard Parnar's motion on January 31, 1996,

and denied it without comment. 1/31/96 Tr. at 9.

Transferred from First Circuit Judge Virginia Crandall's

courtroom two days before, Judge Heely had 48 hours to

review the file. RA-III at 184-185. He asked Chanin to

"prepare an order which lists in detail the specific procedural

background of the case[.]"_ 1/31/96 Tr. at 9.

Chanin submitted this order two weeks later, which

stated:

Plaintiff has been forced to file numerous motions to

compel Defendant Parnar to appear for the continuation

and completion of her deposition, and in spite of the

fact that Defendant Parnar has been ordered to appear

'! Parnar also presented substantial evidence that Chanin had a major

conflict of interest when he accepted representation of her in Americana

Hotels in 1989. RA-III at 43. Chanin represented Parnar in Americana

against lawyers Greeley, Walker & Kowen, without disclosing his prior

association with lawyers in that firm. /d. Chanin and Greeley were

former associates and Greeley was Chanin's personal lawyer for many

years, including his own divorce case. Jd. "If [Chanin] had disclosed

this," said Parnar, "I would not have retained him[.]" /d. at 44.

A-51

and allow for the continuation of her deposition, she

has refused to do so;

RA-III at 2; see Appendix D. Chanin never obtained a valid

order from any judge compelling attendance at a deposition

under HRCP Rule 37(a), and Parnar could not "refuse to do

so." /d. Chanin’s proposed order claimed Judge Soong

ordered Parnar to attend a deposition, when he never

conducted any hearing in this case. Jd. Chanin omitted any

reference to his premature termination of the 1991

deposition. Jd. He omitted Judge Klein's relevancy rulings.

Id. He made no mention of HRCP Rule 55 or Parnar’s

grounds for filing the motion to open and amend judgment.

Id. He made no reference to his affidavit, or the absence of a

proof hearing. Jd. He omitted his demands for $24,431.88

in principal, $7,581.46 in fees, $13,437.55 in prejudgment

interest, and $1,895.37 in costs. Jd. He ignored his failure to

serve Parnar. Jd. He made no attempt to justify Judge

Heely's authority to file a judgment. Jd.

Finally, Chanin's order asked Judge Heely to render

findings covering four years of proceedings in which he

played no role. /d. The matters raised in Parnar's motion

were ignored in the order, while Judge Heely resolved

countless others that were not. /d.

On February 20, 1996, Parnar filed objections to Chanin's

proposed order. RA-III at 184, 206. On May 24, 1996,

Judge Heely signed Chanin's proposed order unchanged. See

Appendix D.

A-52

II. STATEMENT OF POINTS RELIED UPON.

A. Judge Huddy's Orde i ions.

On March 24, 1995, Chanin filed a motion for sanctions

against Parnar for failure to attend a March 22, 1995,

deposition. RA-II at 228. He did not specify what sanctions.

Id. Parnar filed opposition papers noting 1) no order was

filed, 2) Parnar had no counsel, 3) Parnar had no files, and 4)

the February 2, 1995, oral order and prior orders by other

judges were obtained by fraud on the court. RA-II at 295.

On April 19, 1995, Judge Huddy ruled:

[T]he record indicates that the Plaintiff has been

attempting to take Defendant's deposition for over

three years. Trial is imminent, it's scheduled for the

week of December 8, 1995. She was ordered by Judge

Klein, Judge Soong, Judge Watanabe, Judge Chang,

Judge Kaulukukui[,] and this court, most recently, to

attend her deposition.

4/19/95 Tr. at 7. "Ms. Parnar has made it clear," ruled the

court:

that she has not--she does not intend to attend a

deposition . . . until she gets counsel, and that's been

her whole tactics [sic]. And, uh, it's for those reasons

that the court grants the motion.

4/19/95 Tr. at 8. On August 8, 1995, Judge Huddy filed an

order granting Chanin's motion for default. RA-II at 329; see

Appendix A. "Good cause appearing," he ordered, "Parnar's

counter-claim against Plaintiff is hereby dismissed” and

"Parnar is hereby held in default as against the claims of

Plaintiff].]" Jd. at 330.

A-53

The court erred. First, Chanin did not specify the

sanctions sought in his motion. RA-II at 228. When he

orally demanded dismissal and default at the hearing, Judge

Huddy refused to let Parnar respond. 4/19/95 Tr. at 7.

"[Y]ou may not." /d.

Second, neither the court's oral nor written rulings found

bad faith, callous disregard or deliberate misconduct.

Third, Chanin never obtained an order directing Parnar to

attend any deposition.

Fourth, the court's April 19, 1995, oral finding that Judges

Klein, Soong, Watanabe, Chang, Kaulukukui and Huddy

ordered Parnar to attend a deposition, was clearly erroneous.

Fifth, Judge Huddy denied Parnar due process by

imposing a drastic sanction against her for failing to obey a

discovery order, when she could not comply because she had

no lawyer or files.

Sixth, neither Judge Huddy nor any other judge 1) warned

Parnar she would suffer sanctions, 2) considered lesser

sanctions, or 3) imposed lesser sanctions prior to the default

in this case.

Seventh, all of the discovery orders obtained by Chanin

from First Circuit judges--including Huddy's--were obtained

by fraud.

B. Judge Heely's Judgment for Dismissal and Default.

On November 28, 1995, Chanin sent a letter, proposed

judgment and one-page affidavit to Judge Huddy requesting

A-54

a judgment of default. RA-II at 336. Chanin copied the

letter to Parnar, but did not send her the proposed judgment

or affidavit. Jd.

On December 4, 1995, Parnar filed objections to the

proposed judgment based on the letter, informing Chanin she

had not received the documents and requesting a proof

hearing under HRCP Rule 55(b). Jd. On January 11, 1996,

Judge Heely signed Chanin's proposed judgment, "for Judge

Huddy." RA-III at 1; see Appendix B.

Judge Heely erred. First, Chanin did not comply with

HRCP Rule 55(b) because he did not serve the judgment and

affidavit on Parnar prior to its entry by Judge Heely on

January 11, 1996.

Second, because of Parnar's December 4, 1995,

objections, both Chanin and Judge Heely knew Parnar had

not received the proposed judgment and affidavit, which

precluded her from challenging the amounts or claims

therein. Nevertheless, Chanin never sent them to Parnar and

Judge Heely signed the judgment without notice.

Third, Judge Heely did not preside over any hearing in

this case before January 31, 1996. He ignored Parnar's

request for a proof hearing, and had no idea whether Chanin's

demands were fair, supported by evidence, or considered by

Judge Huddy in his order of dismissal and default. Chanin's

$24,431.88 principal demand was $5000 more than a

summary of account balance supplied by Chanin in his

opposition to motion for summary judgment. See Appendix

.

Fourth, Judge Heely awarded $13,347.55 for prejudgment

interest although 1) it was not requested in the complaint, 2)

it was not requested by motion, 2) the court picked no

A-55

commencement date or interest rate, and 3) the court made

no finding on delays.

Fifth, Judge Heely awarded $7,581.46 for fees although,

1) Judge Huddy did not award them, 2) Chanin did not

justify them in his affidavit, 3) fees were not authorized by

contract, statute of court rule, and 4) Rule 37(b) fees are

limited to "reasonable expenses" caused by the failure to

comply with a discovery order.

Sixth, Judge Heely awarded $1,895.37 for costs although,

1) Judge Huddy did not award them, 2) Chanin did not

justify them in his affidavit, 3) Rule 37(b) costs are limited to

“reasonable expenses" caused by the failure to comply with a

discovery order, and 4) Chanin did not file a bill of costs.

Seventh, Judge Heely's judgment was tainted by fraud on

the court, with Chanin lying repeatedly in pleadings,

affidavits and hearings throughout the proceedings leading

up to the judgment.

C. Judge Heely's Order Affirming Judgment.

On January 17, 1996, Parnar filed a motion to open and

amend judgment or for new trial, citing HRCP Rules 59 and

60(b). RA-III at 38, 110. She claimed 1) Chanin did not

comply with HRCP Rule 55(b), 2) Judge Heely could not

sign the judgment because he did not preside at the hearing,

and 3) discovery orders leading up to the judgment were

obtained by fraud on the court. /d.

Judge Heely heard Parnar's motion on January 31, 1996,

and denied it without comment. 1/31/96 Tr. at 9. Because

the motion was transferred from Judge Crandall's courtroom

A-56

two days before, Judge Heely had 48 hours to review the file.

RA-III at 184-185. Unaware of the facts, Judge Heely asked

Chanin to "prepare an order which lists in detail the specific

procedural background of the case." 1/31/96 Tr. at 9. On

May 24, 1996, Judge Heely signed Chanin's proposed order.

RA-III at 211; see Appendix C.

The court erred. First, the May 24, 1996, order contained

findings covering four years of proceedings in which Judge

Heely played no role. Issues raised in Parnar's motion were

ignored, while the court resolved issues scripted by Chanin

that were not. Without transcripts, and without evidence,

Judge Heely had no basis to adopt Chanin's proposed order.

Second, the May 24, 1996, order is clearly erroneous’.

'? Paragraph | is wrong because the complaint was not filed in 1996.

Paragraph 2 omits Chanin's rude termination of the 1991 deposition

because of travel plans. Paragraph 3 is wrong because Chanin filed only

two motions to compel, and neither resulted in signed orders. Paragraph

4 omits Judge Klein's relevancy rulings and Chanin's failure to obtain an

order. Paragraphs 5 and 6 are wrong because Parnar declined to appear

for other reasons. Paragraph 7 is wrong because Judge Soong never

presided at any hearing in this case. Paragraph 8 is wrong because

Chanin did not file a motion to compel in November 1993, and the

hearing on Chanin's motion for sanctions was continued at his request.

Paragraph 9 is wrong because Parnar did not attend this hearing.

Paragraph 10 omits Judge Chang's refusal to impose sanctions.

Paragraph 11 omits Chanin's failure to file a proposed order, and

misstates the reasons for Parnar’s motion for rehearing. Paragraph 12 is

wrong because Kanae withdrew after the March 25, 1994, deposition

date and was not dismissed by Parnar. Paragraphs 13-15 omit the fact

that Chanin sent no notices of deposition to Parnar between April 1994

and January 1995. Paragraph 16 omits the fact that Chanin's subpoena

was not in compliance with court rules, and his notice was unreasonable.

Paragraphs 17-18 omit the fact that Judge Huddy granted part of Parnar's

(continued...)

A-57

Third, Judge Heely's May 24, 1996, order, like every

other order announced or filed in this case, was tainted by

fraud on the court by Chanin's lies in pleadings, affidavits

and hearings.

Ill. QUESTIONS PRESENTED

A. SHOULD THIS COURT VACATE THE

JUDGMENT OF DEFAULT, AND ENTER

JUDGMENT FOR PARNAR, BECAUSE OF

WHOLESALE, CONTINUOUS, AND

OUTRAGEOUS FRAUD ON THE COURT BY

CHANIN FROM 1992 TO 1996?

B. DID JUDGE HUDDY DENY PARNAR DUE

PROCESS OF LAW BY IMPOSING DRASTIC

SANCTIONS OF DISMISSAL AND DEFAULT

WHEN SHE FAILED TO BE APPEAR FOR A

DEPOSITION WITHOUT COUNSEL OR

FILES, WITHOUT WARNING HER ABOUT

SUCH SANCTIONS, AND WITHOUT

CONSIDERING LESSER SANCTIONS?

'2(_. continued)

protective order, denied Chanin's request for sanctions, and did not warn

Parnar of future sanctions. Paragraph 10 omits the fact that Chanin held

Parnar’s files so she could not prepare for her deposition or comply with

his request for documents. Paragraphs 22-23 omit Chanin's failures to

serve the proposed judgment, to justify his $47,346 demand, and to

provide a proof hearing. The entire document fails to respond to Parnar’s

motion to open and amend judgment.

A-58

C. DID JUDGE HEELY ENTER A

DEFECTIVE JUDGMENT WITH SPURIOUS

DEMANDS IN VIOLATION OF HRCP RULE

55(3), AND DENY A MOTION TO OPEN

AN.) AMEND, WITHOUT KNOWING

ANY THING ABOUT THE DISPUTED ISSUES

IN TRIS CASE?

IV. STANDARDS OF REVIEW

A. Fraud upon the Court. Whether a judgment is void

because of fraud upon the court is a matter or law reviewable

de novo. Southwest Slopes v. Lum, 81 Hawaii 501, 918 P.2d

1157 (App. 1996).

B. Compliance with HRCP Rule 37. Whether Judge

Huddy complied with HRCP Rule 37 is reviewable de novo.

W. H. Shipman v. Hawaiian Holiday Macadamia Nut, 8

Haw.App. 354, 802 P.2d 1203 (1990). Assuming

compliance, whether Judge Huddy properly imposed a

default and dismissal is reviewable under abuse of discretion.

Id. Whether Judge Huddy denied Parnar due process of law

by imposing these sanctions is a matter of law reviewable de

novo. Id.

C. Compliance with HRCP Rule 55(b). Whether Judge

Heely complied with HRCP Rule 55(b) is reviewable de

novo. Pogia v. Ramos, 10 Haw.App. 411, 876 P.2d 1342

(1994). Assuming compliance, whether Judge Heely

properly entered a default judgment without notice, without

proof hearing, and without justification for the award, or

properly denied a motion to open and amend judgment, are

reviewable under abuse of discretion. Jd.

A-59

V. ARGUMENT

A. THIS COURT SHOULD VACATE THE

JANUARY 11, 1996, JUDGMENT BECAUSE

IT WAS OBTAINED BY FRAUD ON THE

COURT, AND ENTER JUDGMENT FOR

PARNAR.

Chanin and Parnar appeared before five First Circuit

judges with discovery disputes. Each new judge knew little

or nothing about prior proceedings and relied, of necessity,

upon the parties before them to explain the record.

Chanin, with 30-years' experience and a facility for glib

oratory, represented himself. Bogetto and Kanae represented

Parnar until April 1994, after which Parnar, a secretary,

appeared pro se.

None of the judges in this case reviewed transcripts of

prior hearings. Now that they have been prepared, Chanin's

strategy is clear. In instances too numerous to mention, he

lied. Faced with new judges each time in court, Chanin

dissembled, distorted, and deceived. Vaunting his

experience, his familiarity with judges, and his supposed

knowledge of discovery rules, Chanin bullied and belittled

his pro se opponent. "You get the flavor, your honor," he

would wink at the court, "you see what's going on." "Every

judge in this court," he said again and again, "has felt SOITy

for me and ordered this woman to attend a deposition in my

office."

A-60

Chanin‘s four-year performance perpetrated a fraud on the

court. He lied about the 1991 deposition. He lied about its

termination, his questions, Bogetto's objections, and Parnar's

answers. He lied about Judge Klein's ruling. He lied about

Judge Klein's order. He lied about Judge Nagata, Judge

Watanabe and Judge Soong. He lied about Judge

Kaulukukui's continuance. ile lied about Bogetto and

Parnar. He lied about Parnar's lawyers. He lied about

Parnar's discovery objections. He lied about Parnar's files.

He lied about her counter-claim. He lied about her search for

counsel. He lied about serving Parnar with the proposed

judgment. He lied in his November 28, 1995, affidavit in

support of judgment about his $24,431.88 principal demand.

Frequently Chanin's lies went unchallenged. Bogetto

could not defend himself before Judges Kaulukukui, Chang

or Huddy because he was not there. Parnar could not dispute

Chanin's lies about hearings before Judges Klein,

Kaulukukui, Nagata or Chang because she was not there.

None of these judges challenged Chanin because they sat for

only small portions of the case. Now that this Court has the

whole record before it, Chanin's calumny is clear.

Granted, attorneys exaggerate. Chanin is not the first

lawyer to gild lilies for a fee. At some point, though,

advocacy becomes fraud. The record is rendered so distorted

that the court cannot weigh the truth. An unbroken chain of

lies led five judges on the First Circuit Court to a default

judgment against Parnar.

HRCP Rule 60(b) addresses fraud on the court. "This rule

does not limit the power of a court,” states the final

paragraph, "to set aside a judgment for fraud upon the court."

HRCP Rule 60(b). "Fraud, misrepresentation, and

A-6]

circumvention used to obtain a judgment," said the ICA last

year, "are generally regarded as sufficient cause for the

opening or vacating of the judgment[.]" Southwest Slopes v.

Lum, 81 Hawaii 501, 505, 918 P.2d 1157 (App. 1996). "The

possibility that Plaintiffs used fraud upon the court when

obtaining the summary judgment in their favor," ruled the

ICA, "motivates us to vacate and remand." /d.; see also,

Magoon v. Magoon, 70 Haw. 605, 616, 780 P.2d 80 (1989)

("a court has inherent power to investigate whether a

judgment was obtained by fraud"); State v. Martin, 56 Haw.

292, 294, 535 P.2d 127 (1975) ("implicit in the proper and

orderly administration of justice"); Kang v. Harrington, 59

Haw. 652, 660, 587 P.2d 285 (1978) ("the appropriate action

to be taken in a case of fraud upon the court is for the injured

party to seek [relief] from the judgment of the court.")

In 1944 the United States Supreme Court addressed fraud

on the court and lawyers in classic language by Mr. Justice

Black:

[Tampering with the administration of justice in the

manner undisputably shown here involves more than

an injury to a single litigant. It is a wrong against the

institutions set up to protect and safeguard the public,

institutions in which fraud cannot complacently be

tolerated consistently with the good order of society.

Hazel-Atlas Glass v. Hartford Empire, 322 U.S. 238, 246

(1944). "Every element of fraud here disclosed demands the

exercise of the historic power of equity to set aside

fraudulently begotten judgments." Jd. at 245; see also, Root

Refining v. Universal Oil Products, 169 F.2d 514, 522 (3d

A-62

Cir. 1948) ("it is a wrong against the institutions set up to

protect and safeguard the public.")

"A number of courts have relied on the Hazel-Atlas as

authority for the proposition that involvement of an attorney

in the perpetration of the fraud is a key factor in the existence

of fraud upon the court." 47 Am.Jur.2d, Judgments, Section

891 at 365 (1984). Professor Moore states the following

about Hazel-Atlas:

[A]n attorney of Hartford was implicated is

perpetrating the fraud. We believe that this is

important, for, while an attorney should represent his

client with singular loyalty, that loyalty obviously does

not demand that he act dishonestly or fraudulently; on

the contrary his loyalty to the court, as an officer

thereof, demands integrity and honest dealing with the

court. And when he departs from that standard in the

conduct of a case he perpetrates a fraud upon the court.

Moore & Lucas, Moore's Federal Practice, V. 7, Section

60.33 at 60-359 (1982). "Fraud on the court,” notes

Professor Moore, "is a fraud perpetrated by officers of the

court so that the judicial machinery cannot perform in the

usual manner[.]" Jd. at 60-360; see also, Haner v. Haner,

373 P.2d 577, 579 (Utah 1062) (false statements by lawyers

that prevent a party from prosecuting a claim or defense

constitute fraud on the court.)

Defaults obtained by fraud upon the court are particularly

vulnerable to reversal. "[D]ismissal of a pending action by

the trial court with prejudice is not favored." Azer v.

Courthouse Racquetball Corp., 9 Haw.App. 530, 540, 852

P.2d 75 (1993); see also Wright, Miller and Kane, Federal

A-63

Practice and Procedure, Civil 2d, V. 9, Section 2681 at 402

(1983) ("defaults are not favored by the law and any doubts

usually will be resolved in favor of the defaulting party");

Trehan v. Von Tarkanyi, 85 B.R. 920, 921 (S.D.N.Y. 1988)

(“as a result of the fraud perpetrated by the Trehans the

default judgment is void"); Anno, 78 A.L.R.3d 150 (1962),

"Fraud in Obtaining or Maintaining Default Judgment as

Grounds for Vacating or Setting Aside Judgment in State

Courts."

Judgments are not vacated merely because perjured

evidence is introduced at a hearing. Chishom vy. Stephenson,

363 P.2d 229, 232 (Okla. 1961). "[{I]t must be such fraud as

to prevent the other from having a trial of the issues." Jd.

"Fraud upon the court embraces," declared the Montana

Supreme Court recently:

only that species of fraud which subverts or attempts to

subvert the integrity of the court itself, or Jraud

perpetrated by officers of the court so that the padicial

machinery cannot perform in an impartial manner.

In re Marriage of Miller, 902 P.2d 1019, 1022 (Mont. 1995)

(emphasis added). "Fraud upon the court includes only the

most egregious conduct," said the court, "such as the

fabrication of evidence in which an attorney has been

implicated[.]" Jd. "{I]f our adversary system is to function

according to design," said Justice Marshall in Geders vy.

United States, 425 U.S. 80, 93 (1976), "we must assume that

A-64

an attorney will observe his responsibilities to the legal

system."!°

By repeatedly lying in court documents and hearings,

Chanin tainted the entry of every ruling in this case. He

persuaded Judge Klein to deny a motion for termination. He

convinced Judges Nagata and Chang to compel Parnar's

appearance. He cajoled Judge Huddy into denying a

protective order and entering a default. Judge Heely entered

a $47,346.26 judgment. Chanin's misstatements "perpetrated

a fraud upon the court." People v. Radinsky, 490 P.2d 951,

953 (Colo. 1971). The Radinsky court declared:

If acts of this type that the respondent has committed

are not promptly and severely punished, the public will

not have reason to trust lawyers that maintain the high

standards of our profession.

490 P.2d at 952. "Our most sacred duty is to maintain the

integrity of the law profession by disciplining lawyers who

See also, Virgin Islands Housing Authority v. David, 823 F.2d 764,

767 (3d Cir. 1987) ("we believe that Maduro's argument perpetrated

fraud upon the district court"); Porter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber, 536

F.2d 1115, 1119 (6th Cir. 1976) ("since attorneys are officers of the

court, their conduct, if dishonest, would constitute fraud on the court");

Lockwood v. Bowles, 46 F. R. D. 625, 633 (D.C.D.C. 1969) ("when [an

attorney] departs from that standard in the conduct of a case he

perpetrates a fraud upon the court"); England v. Doyle, 281 F.2d 304,

306 (9th Cir. 1960) ("unconscionable plan or scheme which is designed

to improperly influence the court"); Rozier v. Ford Motor Company, 573

F.2d 1332, 1338 (Sth Cir. 1978), ("fabrication of evidence by a party in

which an attorney is implicated is fraud upon the court"); Jn re

Intermagnetics America, 926 F.2d 912, 916 (9th Cir. 1991) ("fraud upon

the court includes both attempts to subvert the integrity of the court and

fraud by an officer of the court.")

A-65

indulge in practices which are designed to perpetrate a fraud

on the courts." J/d.; see also, In re French, 28 Haw. 47, 59

(1924) (attorney disbarred for giving "deliberately false"

testimony.)

B. PARNAR'S OBJECTIONS TO DISCOVERY

WERE FOUND SUBSTANTIALLY

JUSTIFIED BY EVERY JUDGE IN THIS

CASE INCLUDING JUDGE HUDDY BEFORE

HE ENTERED A DEFAULT AND DISMISSAL

BECAUSE SHE WOULD NOT ATTEND A -

DEPOSITION WITHOUT COUNSEL OR

FILES.

"A general limitation on the right of discovery," said the

ICA in Lothspeich v. Sam Fong, 6 Haw.App. 118, 711 P.2d

1310 (1985), "is that the information sought must be

‘relevant to the subject matter involved in the pending

action.” Jd. at 122, quoting, HRCP Rule 26(b)(1).

"Depositions are properly taken only for the purposes of

preparing for trial[.]" Jd. HRCP Rule 30(d) provides:

At any time during the taking of the deposition, on

motion of a party . . . and upon a showing that the

examination is being conducted in bad faith or in such

manner as unreasonably to annoy, embarrass, or

oppress the deponent or party, the court may order the

officer conducting the examination to cease forthwith

from taking the deposition, or may limit the scope and

| manner of the taking of the deposition as provided in

Rule 26(c).

HRCP Rule 30(d) (part) (emphasis added).

A-66

On December 4, 1991, after a one-hour, irrelevant,

obnoxious interrogation, Chanin terminated a deposition

because of travel plans requiring his departure two hours

after Parnar arrived.

On January 12, 1992, Parnar filed a motion under HRCP

Rule 30(d) to terminate or limit the scope and manner of her

deposition.

On March 3, 1992, Judge Klein told Chanin he had

conducted an improper interrogation. "35 pages to establish

nothing,” said Judge Klein, "you were just asking basically a

lot of irrelevant questions." 3/3/92 Tr. at 5,7. After

reviewing the complaint and the counterclaim, and reading

the deposition transcript, Judge Klein called Chanin's

performance "a total waste of time." Jd.

For three years after this oral ruling Parnar asked Chanin

to file a proposed order reducing Judge Klein's order to

writing, "limit[ing] the scope and manner of the taking of the

deposition as provided for in Rule 26(c).". HRCP Rule

30(d). Bogetto wrote letters to Chanin and asked judges to

order his compliance with HCCR Rule 23, so a deposition

could be conducted "relevant to the subject matter involved

in the pending action." HRCP Rule 26(c).

Bogetto never obtained a written order by Judge Klein

"limiting the scope and manner" of Parnar's deposition. This

and other objections were presented by Bogetto, Kanae and

Parnar pro se to Judges Nagata, Chang and Huddy. Neither

Parnar nor her lawyers were sanctioned by any judge--

including Judge Huddy--until Judge Huddy entered a default

and dismissal in this case.

A-67

"In an appeal from an order imposing sanctions under

Rule 37(b), said the ICA in Lothspeich, supra, "the appellate

court will consider the propriety of the underlying discovery

order." 6 Haw.App. at 124 "A good faith dispute

concerning a discovery question can. in a proper case,

constitute substantial justification for refusing to give

discovery." Jd.

Judges Klein, Kaulukukui, Nagata, Chang, and Huddy,

acknowledged Parnar's substantial justification for refusing

to attend Chanin's deposition dates by failing to impose

sanctions:

If the motion [to compel] is granted, the court shall,

after opportunity for hearing, require the party or

deponent whose conduct necessitated the motion or the

party or attorney advising such conduct or both of them

to pay the moving party the reasonable expenses

incurred in obtaining the order, including attorney's

fees, unless the court finds that the opposition to the

motion was substantially justified or that the

circumstances makes an award of expenses unjust.

HRCP Rule 37(a)(4)(part) (emphasis added). When Judge

Nagata granted Chanin's motion to compel he refused his

demand for "reasonable expenses" under Rule 37(a)(4).

9/24/93 Tr. at 10. When Judge Chang ordered Parnar to

attend a deposition he declined Chanin's request for

expenses. 3/4/94 Tr. at 18. When Judge Huddy denied

Parnar's motion for protective order he rejected Chanin's

request for expenses. 2/2/95 Tr. at 14.

HRCP Rule 37(a)(4) mandates an award of reasonable

expenses to the prevailing party "unless the court finds that

A-68

the opposition to the motion was substantially justified[.]"

Id. The refusals to award Chanin "reasonable expenses” in

1993, 1994, and 1995 meant Parnar’s objections to Chanin's

notices of deposition were "substantially justified." Jd'*.

"Substantially justified" has been defined by Wright, Miller

and Marcus to mean:

the motion raised an issue about which reasonable

people could genuinely differ whether a party was

bound to comply with the discovery rule.

Wright, Miller and Marcus, Federal Practice and Procedure,

Civil 2d, Section 2288 at 665 (1994). "In such cases the

losing party is substantially justified in carrying the matter to

court." /d. at 666, n.30, quoting, Advisory Committee Note

(1970).

When Parnar declined to attend the March 22, 1995,

deposition, her reasons were "substantially justified." First,

Chanin refused to submit an order to Judge Klein to set

limits on the deposition and had shown he would use it to

harass Parnar. Second, Parnar had no lawyer, and Judge

Huddy's order directing Parnar's attendance at a deposition in

30 days made it impossible to get one. Third, Chanin

refused to give Parnar the Americana Hotels files, and

without them she could not prepare for her deposition or

trial.

'* In Aloha Unlimited v. Coughlin, 79 Hawaii 527, 904 P.2d 541 (App.

1995), the ICA applied similar reasoning when expenses were imposed

after a hearing. "Implicit in the court's order awarding fees and costs is

the finding that Aloha's failure to timely appear for the deposition was

not justified.” 79 Hawaii at 534.

A-69

Judge Huddy abused his discretion in defaulting and

dismissing Parnar's defenses and counterclaims since she

was substantially justified in refusing to attend the March 22.

1995, deposition.

C. JUDGE HUDDY DID NOT FIND PARNAR

ACTED IN BAD FAITH, OR JUSTIFY THE

IMPOSITION OF THE DRASTIC SANCTION

OF DEFAULT AND DISMISSAL IN THIS

CASE.

Judge Huddy entered a default and dismissal because

Parnar could not find a lawyer, and "does not intend to attend

a deposition until she gets counsel[.]" 4/19/95 Tr. at 8. "It's

for those reasons," he said, "that the court grants the motion."

Id.

Parnar contacted 70 lawyers after Kanae withdrew in

April 1994. She submitted paid advertisements to the Star

Bulletin, the Honolulu Advertiser and the Hawaii State Bar

Journal, seeking counsel. Parnar "has made some effort to

obtain counsel," Judge Shimabukuro said, "by the nature of

this case maybe some attorneys are avoiding it." 9/7/94 Tr.

at 12-13. "For one reason or another," Judge Huddy

acknowledged, "you have been unable to engage or retain

other legal counsel." 2/2/95 Tr. at 14 (emphasis added).

Judge Huddy did not find Parnar guilty of bad faith,

abusive litigation practices, callous disregard, or a willful

failure to obey a court order. 4/19/95 Tr. at 13. He entered

default because Parnar refused to attend a deposition without

files or counsel.

A-70

In W. H. Shipman v. Hawaiian Holiday Macadamia Nut,

8 Haw.App. 354, 802 P.2d 1203 (1990), the ICA adopted a

five-factor test which a trial court must weigh before

imposing drastic sanctions:

(1) the public's interest in the expeditious resolution of

litigation; (2) the court's need to manage its docket; (3)

the risk of prejudice to the defendants; (4) the public

policy favoring disposition of cases on their merits; and

(5) the availability of less drastic sanctions.

Shipman, supra, 8 Haw.App. at 362, quoting, United States

ex rel. Wiltec Guam v. Kahaluu Construction, 857 F.2d 600,

603 (9th Cir. 1988); see also, Aloha Unlimited v. Coughlin,

79 Hawaii 527, 532, 904 P.2d 541 (App. 1995) ("five

factors"). "[T]he trial court must articulate on the record its

reasons for dismissing the complaint." /d., quoting, Quality

v. Keating, 675 F.2d 77, 79 (3d Cir. 1982).

More importantly, "in the absence of a showing of bad

faith, willfulness, or callous disregard of the nights of other

litigants," ruled the Shipman court, a default is "an abuse of

discretion." /d. at 361; see also, Aloha Unlimited, supra, 79

Hawaii at 533 ("the element of willfulness is required when

the sanction [is] harsh"); Kukui Nuts of Hawaii v. R. Baird

and Company, 6 Haw.Haw. 431, 436, 726 P.2d 268 (1986)

("[w]e adopt the bad faith requirement"); Azer v. the

Courthouse Raquetball Corp., 9 Haw.App. 531, 540, 852

P.2d 75 (1993) ("[a]n appellate court will uphold a dismissal

with prejudice only where the record clearly shows delay or

contumacious conduct{.])"'° Courts apply this standard

'S Federal courts are in accord. See e.g., Malautea v. Suzuki Motor Co.,

987 F.2d 1536, 1542 (11th Cir. 1993) ("default judgment sanction

(continued...)

A-71

equally to sanctions sought under HRCP Rules 37(b) or

37(d). See, e.g., Shipman; Aloha; Marshall y. Segona, 621

F.2d 763 (Sth Cir. 1980). Wright, Miller and Marcus

declare:

If the failure is because of inability to comply, rather

than willfulness, bad faith, or any fault of the party, the

action should not be dismissed, nor a default judgment

given, and less severe sanctions are the most that

should be invoked.

Wright, Miller & Marcus, Federal Practice and Procedure,

Civil 2d, Section 2284 at 621-622 (1994), citing, Bank

Atlantic v. Blythe Eastman, 12 F.3d 1045 (11th Cir, 1994),

Finally, whether or not Judge Huddy abused his discretion

under HRCP Rule 37, he denied Parnar due process of law:

there are constitutional limits, stemming from the Due

Process Clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments, on the imposition of sanctions.

'S(...continued)

requires a willful or bad faith failure to obey a discovery order");

Regional Refuse Systems v. Inland Reclamation, 842 F.2d 150, 153 (6th

Cir. 1988) ("a sanction of last resort may be imposed only if the court

concludes that a party's failure to cooperate in discovery is due to

willfulness, bad faith or fault"); Dorsey v. Academy Moving & Storage,

423 F.2d 858, 860 (Sth Cir. 1970) ("[s]anctions available under Rule

37(b) are predicated upon the presence of such factors as willful

disobedience, gross indifference to the right of the adverse party,

deliberate callousness, or gross negligence"); Independent Productions v.

Leow's, 283 F.2d 730, 733 (2d Cir. 1960) ("dismissal of an action with

prejudice or the entry of a judgment by default are drastic remedies and

should be applied only in extreme circumstances.")

A-72

Wright, Miller & Marcus, Federal Practice and Procedure,

Civil 2d, V. 8A, Section 2283, at 605 (1994), citing, Martin

v. Brown, 63 F.3d 1252 (3d Cir. 1995). "[B]efore imposing a

serious merits sanction, the court should determine whether

the party guilty of failure to provide discovery was unable to

comply[.]" Jd.

In Shipman, supra, the ICA quoted the U. S. Supreme

Court:

Rule 37 should not be construed to authorize dismissal

of this complaint because of petitioner's noncompliance

with a pretrial production order when it has been

established that failure to comply has been due to

inability, and not to willfulness, bad faith or any fault

of petitioner.

8 Haw.App. at 361, quoting, Societe International v. Rogers,

357 U.S. 197, 212, 78 S.Ct. 1087, 2 L.Ed.2d 1255 (1958).

"The courts have heeded," declare Wright, Miller and

Marcus, "the doctrine of the Societe Internationale case{.]"

Wright, Miller and Marcus, supra at 609, citing, Nat. Hockey

League v. Metropolitan Hockey, 427 U.S. 639 (1976). _

"[{T]he sanction of dismissal cannot be imposed if the failure

was due to inability to comply." /d.

None of the judges that heard motions in this case--

including Huddy--found Parnar guilty of bad faith. None

imposed sanctions. None awarded expenses, struck

defenses, barred evidence, adjudged contempts, or imposed

any other sanction described in court rules. "[C]ertain things

weren't filed,” said Judge Nagata in 1993, "so I'm not going

to award any sanctions." 9/24/93 Tr. at 12.

A-73

Huddy ordered default and dismissal because 1) Parnar

could not obtain counsel, and 2) she would not attend a

deposition without it'®. This sanction was imposed "on a

party who had made a good faith effort to comply" and it

contravened the Due Process clauses in the United States and

Hawaii Constitutions.

D. PARNAR WAS NOT WARNED OR

SANCTIONED PRIOR TO THE DEFAULT.

AND THERE IS NO INDICATION JUDGE

HUDDY CONSIDERED A LESS DRASTIC

SANCTION.

"[A]s a general rule," declared the ICA in Shipman, supra,

"the [trial] court must consider less severe alternatives and

discuss them if it elects to dismiss." 8 Haw.App. at 364; see

also, Aloha, supra, 79 Hawaii at 535 ("[the] court abuses its

discretion if it imposes a sanction of dismissal without first

considering the impact of the sanction and the adequacy of

less drastic sanctions.") "[T]he reviewing court," declared

the ICA in Shipman and Aloha, "[will] look to whether the

[trial] court warned of the possibility of dismissal." /d'’.

'° In Flaks v. Koegel, 504 F.2d 702 (2d Cir. 1974), the court vacated an

order striking an answer for failure to appear for a deposition.

Defendants, the court noted, "were faced with the problem of obtaining

new counsel after their original counsel had been relieved[.]" 504 F.2d

at 704.

"’ Federal courts are in accord. See e. g., Wright, Miller & Marcus,

Federal Practice and Procedure, Civil 2d, Section 2284 at 620 ( 1994)

("most [courts hold] some consideration of alternative sanctions should

occur"); Poulos v. Naas, 959 F.2d 69, 75 (7th Cir. 1992) ("[w]e have

recommended that courts consider lesser sanctions before imposing

default judgments"); Avionic v. General Dynamics, 957 F.2d 555, 558

(continued...)

A-74

In Aloha the ICA adopted a three-step test for determining

whether the trial court considered less drastic sanctions:

(1) Did the court explicitly discuss the feasibility of

less drastic sanctions and explain why alternative

sanctions would be inadequate? (2) Did the court

implement alternative methods of sanctioning or curing

the malfeasance before ordering dismissal? (3) Did the

court warn the [party] of the possibility of dismissal

before actually ordering dismissal?

Aloha, supra, 79 Hawaii at 535, quoting, United States v.

National medical Enterprises, 792 F.2d 906, 912 (9th Cir,

1986). The answers to these questions in this case are no, no

and no.

First, as noted, prior to Judge Huddy's order of default, no

court filed any order awarding expenses, striking defenses,

"(...continued)

(8th Cir. 1992) ("before dismissing a case under Rule 37(b){2) the court

must investigate whether a sanction less extreme than dismissal would

suffice"); Shea v. Donohoe, 795 F.2d 1071, 1075 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

("dismissal is a sanction of last resort to be applied only after less dire

alternatives have been explored"); Wanderer v. Johnston, 910 F.2d 652,

656 (9th Cir. 1990) ("consider the availability of less drastic sanctions");

Ehrenhaus v. Reynolds, 965 F.2d 916, 121 (10th Cir. 1992) ("the

efficacy of lesser sanctions"); Coane v. Ferara Pan Candy, 898 F.2d

1030, 1032 (Sth Cir. 1990) ("the lesser sanction must be an inefficacious

deterrent"); Schilling v. Walworth County Park, 805 F.2d 272, 275-(7th

Cir. 1986) ("requires that a district court consider less severe sanctions

and explain, where not obvious, their inadequacy for promoting the

interests of justice.")

A-75

designating facts, barring evidence, or imposing any other

punishment. Parnar's first sanction was her last.

Second, there is no indication in the April 19, 1995,

transcript--when Judge Huddy entered a default against

Parnar--that the court considered the use of less drastic

sanctions.

Third, there is no indication in the F ebruary 2, 1995,

transcript--when Judge Huddy denied Parnar's motion for

protective order and ordered her to attend a deposition

without counsel or files--that he would impose sanctions if

she failed to appear.

As Judge Tanaka concluded in Shipman, "there was

neither a warning of the possibility of . . . a default judgment

in favor of Shipman, nor did the court consider less severe

alternative sanctions[.]" 8 Haw.App. at 364. "Accordingly,

we hold that the lower court abused its discretion in

imposing [a default.]" Jd. at 365: see also, Azer v.

Courthouse Raquetball, supra, 9 Haw.App. at 540 ("we are

not convinced that the record clearly shows . . . lesser

sanctions would not serve the best interests of justice.")

E. THE JANUARY 11, 1996, JUDGMENT

WAS ENTERED IN VIOLATION OF HRCP

RULE 55(b), AND IMPROPERLY SIGNED BY

A DIFFERENT JUDGE.

Chanin demanded $24,346 in his complaint. Judge Heely

gave him $47,346 in his judgment. "A judgment by default

may not be different in kind or exceed in amount that prayed

for in the demand for judgment." HRCP Rule 54(c). "HRCP

Rule 54(c) restricts the scope of relief that may be granted by

A-76

default judgment to that specifically prayed for."

Matsushima v. Rego, 67 Haw. 556, 559, 696 P.2d 843

(1985); see also, Bank of Hawaii v. Horworth, 71 Haw. 204,

787 P.2d 674 (1990); Wright, Miller and Kane, Federal

Practice and Procedure, Civil 2d, V. 9, Section 2689 at 453

(1983).

Defaults are addressed in HRCP Rule 55. "Application

for the entry of a judgment by default must be made to the

court under Rule 55(b)(2).". Wright, Miller & Kane, supra,

Section 2684 (1996 Supp. at 104), citing, Zeviar v. Local No.

2747, 733 F.2d 556 (8th Cir. 1984). "[D]efault," notes the

rule, "may be entered as follows:"

If the party against whom judgment by default is

sought has appeared in the action, he . . . shall be

served with written notice of the application for

judgment at least 3 days prior to the hearing on such

application. If, in order to enable the court to enter

judgment or to carry it into effect, it is necessary to

take an account or to determine the amount of damages

or to establish the truth of any averments by evidence

or to make an investigation of any other matter, the

court may conduct hearings or order such references as

it deems necessary and proper[.]

HRCP Rule 55(b)(2). Neither Chanin nor the court

complied.

First, Chanin did not send his proposed judgment to

Parnar before it was signed. "[T]he plain language of HRCP

Rule 55(b)(2) indicates that," the ICA has ruled:

the obligation to serve written notice of an application

for default judgment attaches where the defaulted party

|

A-77

has appeared in the action. Therefore, where a

"defendant has appeared in the action she has a right to

notice under Rule 55(b)(2) even if in default." Stafford

v. Dickison, 46 Haw. 52, 59, 374 P.2d 665 (1962),

Pogia v. Ramos, 10 Haw.App. 411, 419, 876 P.2d 1342

(1994).

Parnar "appeared in the action," and Rule 55(b)(2)

mandates notice "three days prior to the hearing" on such

application: if

This enables a defendant in default to appear at a

subsequent hearing on the question of damages and

contest the amount to be assessed against him.

Wright, Miller and Kane, supra at 413 (1983). "A failure to

give the three days' notice when it is required generally is

considered a serious procedural error that justifies the

reversal or the setting aside of a default judgment." /d. at

438, citing, Marshall y. Boyd, 658 F.2d 552, 554 (8th Cir.

1981); Wilver v. Fisher, 387 F.2d 66. 70 (10th Cir. 1967); ey

Wellsville Bank v. Sutterby, 752 P.24 700, 702 (Kan.App.

i988); Magness v. Masonite, 671 S.W.2d 230, 231

(Ark.App. 1984); Cutillo v. Gerstel, 477 A.2d 750, 753 (Me.

1984).

Second, there was no proof hearing. Except for Judge

Huddy's order and Chanin's affidavit, Judge Heely had no

idea why a default was entered, what Chanin requested in his

complaint, or what Judge Huddy intended to award Chanin.

Further, the $24,431.88 principal demand flatly contradicted

A-78

the $19,208.41 closing balance reported by Chanin in his

opposition to summary judgment. See Appendix C.

Because she was not served with the judgment and

affidavit, Parnar could not challenge them. And if she had

reviewed those documents, she would not have known

Chanin's reasons. He listed none. This case required a proof

hearing under Rule 55(b), especially after Judge Heely

replaced Judge Huddy, and was asked to sign a judgment

twice the size of Chanin's complaint.

"{T]he defaulting party still has standing to contest the

amount of damages." Pogia, supra, 10 Haw.App. at 418; see

also, Occidental Underwriters v. American Security Bank, 5

Haw.App. 431, 433, 696 P.2d 852 (1985) ("[the defaulting

party] has standing to contest the amount of its liability.")

Third, Chanin proffered no justification for principal, fees,

costs or prejudgment interest. His affidavit offered nothing.

The expenses allowable under HRCP Rule 37(b) are

described as follows:

In lieu of any of the foregoing order or in addition

thereto, the court shall require the party failing to obey

the order or the attorney advising him or both fo pay

the reasonable expenses, including attorneys fees,

caused by the failure, unless the court finds that the

failure was substantially justified or that other

circumstances make an award of fees unjust.

HRCP Rule 37(b)((part) (emphasis added). "The expenses

that may be recovered under it are those caused by the failure

to obey an order[.]". Wright, Miller & Marcus, Federal

Practice and Procedure, Civil 2d, V. 8A, Section 2289 at

A-79

674 (1994), citing, Toth v. Trans World Airlines, 862 F.2d

1381, 1385 (9th Cir. 1988),

Chanin asked for $7,581.46 in fees absent statute, contract

or court rule. See Kukui Nuts of Hawaii v. R. Baird, 6

Haw.App. 431, 436, 726 P.2d 268 (1986) ("attorney's fees

and costs may not be awarded absent statute, agreement,

stipulation, or precedent authorizing the allowance thereof"):

Cuerva v. Wong, 1 Haw.App. 194, 201, 616 P.2d 1017

(1980) ("fees may not be awarded unless such award is

authorized by statute, stipulation or agreement|.]")

Further, while fees and costs may be awarded "as a

sanction for abusive litigation," there was no such finding

here. See Kukui Nuts of Hawaii v. R. Baird, 7 Haw.App.

598, 624, 789 P.2d 501, cert. denied, 71 Haw. 668, 833 P.2d

900 (1990). "[T]he court is required to make a specific

finding of bad faith," and "no such finding was made in this

case." Jd. at 624, 626.

Fourth, Judge Heely awarded Chanin $13,436.55 in

prejudgment interest without designating a commencement

date or interest rate, or considering delay. According to HRS

Section 636-16:

In awarding interest in civil cases, the judge is

authorized to designate the commencement date to

conform with the circumstances of each case[.]

"[I]f Section 636-16 prejudgment interest [is] to be awarded,

the designation of its commencement date [is] absolutely

necessary." Rodrigues v. Chan, § Haw.App. 603, 607, 705

P.2d 67 (1985); see also, Schmidt v. Marco Polo Apartments,

73 Haw. 526, 836 P.2d 479 (1992). "Since the trial court did

A-80

not designate the commencement date, it [could] not award

any prejudgment interest." Jd. at 607.

Fifth, Chanin had no grounds to receive costs in this case,

since they are not authorized under HRCP Rule 37(b), and he

did not comply with HRCP Rule 54(d) or file a bill of costs.

Sixth, Judge Heely was not authorized to sign the January

11, 1996, judgment, or the May 24, 1996, order denying

Parnar's motion to open and amend judgment, because he

was not the judge that heard Chanin's default motion in this

case. In 1995 this Court declared:

In civil trials, "[t}he normal rule is that only the judge

who conducted the trial may enter the decision in a

case." Jn re Judicial Determination of Death of Elwell,

66 Haw. 598, 601, 670 P.2d 822, 824 (1983).

Raines v. State, 79 Hawaii 219, 222, 900 P.2d 1286 (1995).

A-81

VI. CONCLUSION.

This Court should vacate the judgment, reverse the default

and dismissal, enter judgment against Chanin on his

complaint and a default against Chanin on Parnar's counter-

claim.

DATED: 4/22/97, in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Respectfully submitted:

/s) PETER VAN NAME ESSER

Peter van name esser

Attorney for Defendant-Appellant

EUGENIE PARNAR

A-82

Appendix X

Petitioner's Reply Brief

s.c. No. 19946

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF HAWAII

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Defencant-Appellant.

EUGENIE PARNAR,

Counterclaimant and Appellant,

VS.

THE LAW OFFICES OF

JOHN A. CHANIN,

Counterclaim-Defendant and Appellee.

Civil No. 90-1843

APPEAL FROM

1) THE JUDGMENT FILED ON JANUARY 11, 1996,

AND

A-83

2) THE ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT EUGENIE

PARNAR'S MOTION TO OPEN AND AMEND

JUDGMENT ENTERED JANUARY 11, 1996, FILED

MAY 24, 1996.

FIRST CIRCUIT COURT

HON. Robert G. Klein

HON. Francis Q.F. Wong

HON. Russell Nnagata

HON. Barry Kurren

HON. Thomas Kaulukukui, Jr.

HON. Virginia L. Crandall

HON. Kevin S.C. Chang

HON. Wilfred K. Watanabe

HON. Colleen K. Hirai

HON. Herbert Shimabukuro

HON. Wendell K. Huddy

HON. Karen N. Blondin

HON. Gail C. Nakatani

HON. Danial G. Heely

Judges

[Filed]

[1997 Sept - 22 1:37 PM]

{K. Miyamura]

{Clerk Supreme Court]

APPELLANT'S REPLY BRIEF

and

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A-84

EUGENIE PARNAR

252 Paoa Place, #3-3

Honolulu, Hawaii 96815

Telephone: (808)955-5050

Defendant-Appellant and Counterclaimant

Pro se

I. INTRODUCTION

Appellee ("Chanin") filed a "purported" answering brief,

entitled "Appellant's [sic] Answer to Appellant's Opening

Brief," two and one-half months after it was due after failing

to timely apply for extension, and in contempt of an order to

show cause.

Chanin has categorically failed or refused to address the

points established by Appellant's ("Parnar") Opening Brief.

In six pages under "Statement of the Case" and one and

one-half pages under "Argument," Chanin refused to cite any

legal authorities, or any part of the record on appeal to rebut

the points of error in the Opening Brief and improperly

attached appendices. No refutation to the arguments in the

Opening Brief constitutes an admission of the points

established by Parnar and her statement of facts should be

accepted as true.

Chanin siates that "[t]he principle disagreement" which

Chanin has with Parnar's statement of the underlying cases

"is the fact that Chanin was hired by Parnar for one specific

purpose and that was to oppose the fees which were being

claimed by attorney Michael Lilly, Esq." AB at 1. C

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Parnar v. Law Offices of Chanin · 524 U.S. 965 | Frix