Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nash v. Michigan

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

LED

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE UNITED STATES

FREDDIE T. NASH

Petitioner,

STATE OF MICHIGAN

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE INGHAM COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT

JAMES STERLING LAWRENCE (P33664)

Attorney for Petitioner Nash

828 W Eleven Mile Road

Royal Oak, MI 48067

(248) 399-6930

ynot@earthlink.net

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Petitioner freddie Trail Nash was convicted by jury of first

degree murder and felony firearm He was sentenced by Judge

Nettles-Nickerson to life plus 2 years.

the Michigan Court of Appeals affirmed and the Michigan

Supreme Court denied leave to appeal Petitioner filed a Motion

for Relicf from Judgment which was denied by Opinion and

Order issucd by successor trial court Judge Thomas Brown.

Leave to appeal was sought and denmicd by the Michigan Court of

Appeals The Michigan Supreme Court denied leave to appeal.

The questions presented are:

QUESTION |. WHETHER IRREGULARITIES IN JURY

COMPOSITION AND PARTIALIVY CONSTEPUTED

STRUCTURAL ERROR ENTITLING PETTEPIONER TO A

NEW TRIAL.

QUESTION 2: WHETHER THk DENIAL OF ACCESS BY

THE SPATE COURT TO RAISE A CHALLENGE TO

TESTIMONY OFFERED AS EXPERT TESTIMONY, THAT

WAS NOT SUBJECTED TO THE GATEKEELPING

FUNCTION Stk BY THIS COURT, DENIED

PETITIONER’S DUE PROCESS RIGHTS

QUESTION 3. WHETHER PETITIONER WAS

PREJUDICED AND DENIED A FAIR TRIAL BY

PROSECUTOR MISCONDUCT IN VIOLATING

il

DISCOVERY, PRESENTING IMPROPER BAD ACTS

EVIDENCE, AND LEAVING PREJUDICIAL PIOTOS ON

DISPLAY FOR THE JURY.

QUESTION 4.) WHETHER PETTTIONER WAS DENIED A

FAIR PRIAI BY INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF

COUNSEL IN FAILING TO SEEK A CHANGE OF VENUE,

PATLING bO RAISE OBJECTIONS, ANID NOI

CONSULTING WITH AN EXPERI

QUESTION “2 WITTE THER PL TETIONER WAS

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY PREJUDICED BY INEEFEECTIVE

ASSISTANCE ¢ \PPELLATE COUNSEI

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF CONTENTS ..

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

RKEASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

QUESTION 1 IRREGULARITIES IN JURY COMPO-

SITION AND PARTIALITY CONSTITUTED STRUCTURAL

KRROR ENTITLING PETITIONER TOA NEW TRIAL. 9

QUESTION 2) THE DENIAL OF ACCESS BY THE STATE

COURT TO RAISE A CHALLENGE TO TESTIMONY

OFFERED AS EXPERT TESTIMONY, THAT WAS NOT

SUBJECTED TO THE GATEKEEPING FUNCTION SET BY

THIS COURT, DENIED PETITIONER'S DUE PROCESS

PRERNEE EG. 44 oe os Ors re Atay ae nk ede aes ee

QUESTION 3. PETITIONER WAS PREJUDICED AND

DENIED A FAIR TRIAL BY PROSECUTOR MISCONDUCT

IN VIOLATING DISCOVERY, PRESENTING [IMPROPER

BAD ACTS EVIDENCE, AND LEAVING PREJUDICIAL

PHOTOS ON DISPLAY FOR THE JURY ore

1V

QUESTION 4. PETITIONER WAS DENTED A FATR TRIAL

BY INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IN

FAILING TO SEEK A CHANGE OF VENUE, FAILING TO

RAISE OBJECTIONS, AND NOT CONSULTING WITH AN

KXPERT .. ee ea shee ee oe aa

QUESTION 5 PETITIONER WAS UNCONST

ITUTIONALLY PREJUDICED BY INEFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF APPELLATE COUNSEL . . 37

RELIEF SOUGHT. .

APPENDIX

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005

Michigan Supreme Court Order 1/30/2006

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

Michigan Court of Appeals Order 3/12/2010

Michigan Supreme Court Order 10/26/10

Newspaper Articles

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68, 77,

84 L Ed.2d 53 (1985)... ae

Arizona v Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991) .........

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78, 55 S.Ct. 629; 79 L

Kd 1314 (1935)

Boykin v Alabama, 395 U.S. 238, 89 S.Ct. 1709:

L.Ed 2d 274 (1969)

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U S. 83 (1963), ... ... . ....... ... ..

Brecht v. Abrahamson, 507 U.S. 619; 113 S.Ct. 1710;

123 L Ed.2d 353 (1993) ... ~ avee By By a ae

Bruno v. Rushen, 721 F.2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1983)..... 23, 29

Cook v. Bordenkircher, 602 F 2d 117 (6th Cir. 1979).... 30

Corsa v. Anderson, 443 F. Supp. 176 (ED

BN, Bet OD xvvnnesseicuseceancmrnaceks Saieeiglaesina te cacao a Geen 35, 38

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S

79,113 S.Ct. 2786, 125 L.Ed.2d 469 (1993)

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308; 94 S.Ct. 1105; 39

L.Ed.2d 347 (1974)

Donnelly v. DeChristoforo, 416 U.S. 637; 94 S.Ct

40 L.Ed.2d 431 (1974)

Dowling v. United States, 493 U.S. 342, 352 (1990)...... 26

Duncan v. Loutstana, 391 U.S. 145; 88 S.Ct. 1444; 20

L.Ed.2d 491 (1968)

Dyer v. Calderon, 151 F.3d 970 (9th Cir.1998)

Edwards v. Carpenter, 529 US 446; 120 S.Ct.

1587; 146 L Ed.2d 518 (2000) .

Fuitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387; 105 S.Ct. 830; 83

I ND sci cuiicecceanseycssusausapses cddpaansecs sovvwesnss

Foster v. Lockhart, 9 F.3d 722 (8th Cir. 1993)

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963).................

Gilbert v. DaumlerChrysler Corp ,470 Mich.

TAQ (QOOA) 200... cecceccccccsecesececesessvecesessses veee.

Gravley v. Mills, 87 F.3d 779 (6th Cir. 1996) .......... 3!

Groppt v. Wisconsin, 400 U.S. 505; 91 S.Ct. 490; 27

L Ed.2d 571 (1971)

Groseclose v Bell, 130 F.3d 1161 (6th Cir. 1997). ...... .%

Holsomback v. White, 133 F.3d 13882 (11th Cir. 1998) . <

Huddleston v United States, 485 U.S. 681; 108 S.Ct

1496; 99 L.Ed.2d 771 (1988)

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970)

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 81S Ct. 1639, 6

ee oe sc vacua Wau oheeecedeonsoaneast

Johnson v. Mississippi, 486 U.S. 578; 108 S.Ct.

1981; 100 L.Ed.2d 575 (1988)... .......

Joseph v. Coyle, 469 F.3d 441, 468 (6th Cir.2006)........ >

Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S 365; 106 S.Ct.

Be, Oe a PU ee I CID vane xe ccncncinadicccceedeccccconcscas 36

Kincade v. Sparkman, 175 F.3d 444 (6th Cir. 1999), ... 2!

Kirk v. Raymark Indus., Inc., 61 F.3d 147, 156 (3d Cir.

1995)

Kowalak v. United States, 645 F.2d 5

(6th Cir. 1981)....

Kyles v. Whitley, 514 US. 419 (1995) .

Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S 530; 106 S.Ct 2056; 5

L..Ed 2d 514 (1986)

Leonard v. Michigan, 256 F. Supp. 2d 723 (WD Mich ,

2003) pe gen Pi rg le

Lindstadt v. Keane, 239 F.3d 191 (2d Cir. 2001)

Malley v. Manson, 547 F.2d 25 (2d Cir. 1976).

Mapes v. Coyle, 171 F.3d 408 (6th Cir. 1999) .

Mason v. Hanks, 97 F.3d 887 (7th Cir. 1996) .

McGurk v. Stenberg, 163 F.3d 470 (8th Cir. 1998).. ..... 3

McKaskle v Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168 (1984)

McKoy v. North Carolina, 494 US 433 (1990).

McQueen v. Scroggy, 99 F.3d 1302 (6th Cir 1996)

Medina v. California, 505 U S. 437, 112 S.Ct.

20 L Ed.2d 353 (1992)

Michelson v. United States, 335 U.S 469, 69 S.Ct.

213,93 LEd 168 (1948),

Michigan v. Lucas, 500 U.S. 145 (1991), .

Miller v. Webb, 385 F.3d 666 (6th Cir. 2004)

Murray v Carrver, 477 U.S. 478; 106 S.Ct. 2639;

L.Ed.2d 397 (1986)

Neder v United States, 527 U.S. 1 (2009)

Old Chief v. United States, 519 U.S 172; 117 S.Ct.

Rs BG Bc eee ee Oe CT Paecisivccnccicesvane & seca so « coe 01

Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197, 97S Ct.

2319, 5S ic Be. Sek CIST ei. ices vee eee

Patton v. United States, 281 U.S. 276; 5

74 L Ed 854 (1930) |

Patton v. Yount, 467 U.S 1025, 10:

Ls Bh, ee OT CRED) ois ivcccevseckccsioumenen eee

Pavel v. Hollins, 261 F.3d 210 (2d Cir. 2001)................ 37

Penson v. Ohio, 488 U.S. 75; 109 S.Ct. 346; 102 L.Ed.2d

300 (1988) cccccccceccccecese ceseeseeeee ee

People v. Falkner, 389 Mich. 682 (1973)...

People v. Freddie Nash, unpublished Michigan Court of

Appeals (No. 255874, September 15, 2005)... 16, 8, 15

People v. Jerry Smith, 122 Mich. App. 106 (1982

People v. Murphy, 282 Mich. App. 571 (2008)

People v. Pickens, 446 Mich. 298 (1994) ....0.0..0 ee. 7

People v. Strong, 404 Mich. 357 (1978)... ...... eee.

People v Unger, 278 Mich. App. 210 (2008), .................

Rickman v. Bell, 131 F.3d 1150 (6th Cir 1997)

Romptlla v. Beard, 545 U.S. 374 (2O0S) ...cciesicscsvsccescesss :

Seehan v. State of Jowa, 37 F.3d 389 (8th Cir. 1994) .... 36

Shepard v. United States, 290 U.S. 96; 54 S.Ct. 22:

40 bs Bae CRs. ccaccssiass see a

Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333; 86 S.Ct. 1507:

16 1c. 2 GOO CRG) nx. cncdccsoisesssetacncies sae

Simmons v. United States, 390 U.S. 377 (1967)............ 21

Sims v. Livesay, 970 F.2d 1575 (6th Cir. 1992) ...0....... 37

State v. Karas, 43 Utah 506; 136 P. 788 (1913)........... 21

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275 (1998)........... .10, 15

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927)

Turner v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 466: 85 S. Ct. 546: 13

L Ed.2d 424 (1965)

United States v. Harris, 523 F.2d 172 (6th Cir 1973)

United States ex rel Shaw v. DeRobertis, 755 F.2d

1279 (7th Cir. 1985) .

United States v. Acosta-Cazares, 878 F.2d 945 |

6th Cir 1989) .....

United States v. Allsup, 566 I’.2d 68 (9th Cir 1977)

United States v Curbelo, 343 F.3d 372 (4th Cir, 20038)

United States v. Gonzalez, 214 F.3d 1109 (9th

Cir. 2000) ...... |

United States v. Gonzalez-Lopez, 548 U S. 140 (2006)

United States v. Gonzalez- Vargas, 558 F.2d 633

feet Car. 1977)..... .

United States v. Hall, 116 F.2d 1253 (8th Cir. 1997)

United States v. Hamilton, 128 F.3d 996

(6th Cir. 1997). ....

United States v. Lamerson, 457 F.2d 371

(5th Cir. 1972) ....

United States v. Latumer, 511 F.2d 498

(10th Cir. 1975)

United States v. Leon, 534 F.2d 667 (6th Cir. 1976)..

United States v. Martin, 704 F.2d 267 (6th Cir. 1983)

United States v McLain, 823 F.2d 1457

(11th Cir. 1987).

niled States v. ; ‘3 1070 (6th Ci

1996)

nited States t

Cir, 2002)

Inited States v. Rusmtusel, 716

Cir. 1983)

nited States v. Schrock, 855 F.2d 327 (6th Cir. 1988)

inited States v. Swinton, 75 F.2d 374 (8th Cir. 1996)

nited States v. Whitmore, 480 F 2d

1973)

United States v. Marcus. 08-1341 (U.S. 5-24-2010)

Waller v Georgia, 467 U.S. 39 (1984)

Ward v. United States, 995 F.2d 1317 (6th Cir. 1993

Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470 (1973)

Weygandt v Ducharme, 774 F.2d 1491 (9th Cir. 1985)

White v. Mitchell, 431 F 3d 517, 5382 (6th Cir.2005)

Wiggins v. Smith, 539 U.S. 510 (2003)

Willis v. Smith, 351 F.3d 741 (6th Cir, 2003)

Wolfe v. Brigano, 232 F.3d 499 (6th Cir. 2000)

Constitutional Provision

U.S. Const., Amend. VI

(J. S. Const.. Amend. XI\

Statutes

28 U.S.C. §1254

Rules

MCR 6.508(D)

M.RE 103(d)

M.R E. 702

Other Authoriti

Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary. 200?

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English

Language, Fourth Edition (2009)

| Wharton's Criminal Evidenc

McCormick on Evidence, §185

nd through his attorney

Lawrence

ruling of the [ngham County Circuit Court denying

het from Judgement entered December 29. 2008

OPINIONS BELOW

Che following rulings or orders are attached (1) Order of

the Michigan Supreme Court denying leave to appeal, entered

October 26, 2010, (2) Michigan Court of Appeals Order denying

leave to appeal, entered March 12, 2010, (3) Opinion and Order

of the Ingham County Circuit Court, Michigan, denying Motion

for Relief from Judgment, entered December 29, 2008, (4) Order

of the Michigan Supreme Court dated January 30, 2006 denying

leave to appeal, (5) Opinion of the Michigan Court of Appeals,

dated September 15, 2005, affirming the convictions.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

[he original judgment in Ingham County, Michigan, Circuit

Court was entered May 6, 2004 The Michigan Court of

Appeals affirmed the convictions September 15, 2005. The

Michigan Supreme Court demed Icave to appeal January 30,

2006 Petitioner filed a Motion for Relief from Judgment in the

Circuit Court which was denied by opinion and order entered

December 29, 2008. ‘The Michigan Court of Appeals denied

leave to appeal on March 12, 2010. The Michigan Supreme

Court denied leave to appcal October 26, 2010. This Court has

jurisdiction under 28 U.S C. §1257 to review the final judgment

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

he Sixth Amendment to the Constitution provides:

"In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an

impartial jury of the State and district wherein the

crime shall have been committed, which district shall

have been previously ascertained by law, and to be

informed of the nature and cause of the accusation;

to be confronted with the witnesses against him, to

have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses tn

his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for

lus defence."

he Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution provides

"All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof; are

citizens of the United States and of the state

wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce

any law which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States, nor shall

any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law, nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Freddie Nash was convicted in the Ingham

County Circuit Court, by jury, before the Hon Beverly Nettles

Nickerson of first degree murder and felony firearm in the death

of Teresa Nash in Case No. 03-1003-FC. On May 26, 2004,

)

Petitioner was sentenced to prison for life plus years

consecutive

An appeal of nght was taken, and the Michigan Court of

Appeals affirmed the conviction September 15, 2005 in docket

no. 255874. The Michigan Supreme Court denied leave to appeal

in docket no. 129668 on January 30, 2006 ~~ Petitioner filed a

Motion for Rehef from Judgment with the state trial court which

was heard by the successor judge, Judge Thomas Brown, who

denied the Motion on December 29, 2008. On March 12, 2010,

the Court of Appeals demed leave to appeal, docket no 295819.

The Michigan Supreme Court denied leave to appeal, docket no.

140950, on October 26, 2010

Statement of Facts:

Gunshots were heard during the carly morning hours of

February 9, 2003 Although witnesses heard the sound, only

Sandra Wolfe saw someone walking across the street, described

as medium height, with a baseball cap and dark puffy down coat

that was below the waist, she did not see the face (T II, 116,

122, 126-7, 135). When Mr. Hulbert looked outside his door he

saw a Chevy Blazer or Suburban sitting next to a utility pole, the

vehicle engine still running (T II, 135-136). Ms Russell called

9-1-1 around 6:00am (TIL, 120).

Police arrived and attempted resuscitation of a_ black

female, but she died (T II, 161-162) The victim was Teresa

Nash, identified by her mother, I'mogene Thomas (1 Il, 214).

[he medical examiner found she died from multiple gunshot

wounds. (T III, 498). That might it had snowed up until 3.30

am. with accumulations of 1/2 to lL inch (T Il, 230, 237). lhe

police found a vehicle involved in an accident and abandoned.

(T II, 165)

Police saw a distinct boot pattern in the snow from the

passenger side of the vehicle to where the body of the victim was

found, then leading away from the scene. (1 Il, 169-170). Uhe

boot prints were photographed. (T IT, 257-258, 326-327)

A dog handler tracked the prints and the scent was lost

near 1328 Pierce Street. Police theonzed the man got into a

vehicle there (TII, 296-301).

latent prints were lifted from the passenger door of the

vehicle, however, no matches were made (T II, 248-249, 251).

Detectives tried to find boots that made the print in the

photos taken and found a similar match at a Famous Footwear

Store, a size 13 Stacy Adams work boot, and purchased that boot

and sent it to the Michigan State Police crime lab for analysis by

Karl Sum: (TIL, 522).

6

Petitioner's home was searched and 10-tS pairs of shoes

were removed, none were Stacy Adams, and all were around s17e

lO 3 (T Ill, 525, 526) When Petitioner was arrested he was

wearing size 10 FUBU tennis shoes (T IV, 590).

Chemist Karl Suni reported on his comparisons of the

photos and the boots he was provided with by the police (T III,

538, 546). It was his opinion that the shoe that made the prints

was a size 9 1/2, 10 or 10 1/2 based upon his measurement that

the shoe making the print was 12 1/2 inches long (T III, 547,

59).

Private investugator Gorsuch also made measurements and

testified the boot that made the prints measured 11 7/8 inches,

contrary to Mr Sum's conclusion (1 IV, 723, 727) The

director of merchandising from the parent company of Stacy

Adams testified that the boot print could have been made by the

boot or another model, a shoe version of the trooper model (T

IV, 754) A shoe that measures |1 7/8 inches would be size 9. (

[ IV, 746). Petitioner's shoe size was measured as being size | |

without a sock and size Il 1/2 with a sock. (T IV, 766, 770)

Jonathon Fellows testified he and his wife Alicia lived in

Mason, Michigan, but their daughter was staying at Alicia's

grandmother's in Lansing when they received a call around 4.45

am on February 9, 2003, to come get their daughter as she was

sick. (1 Il], 449). They arrived at 2427 Wadsworth and saw a

blue Chevy Tahoe pull up and a black male got out, leaving the

door open, and walk back and forth in front of the vehicle hooting

and hollering (T Il, 449, 451, 469). They went inside to retrieve

belongings, then came out and noticed the vehicle was still there,

but the door was closed and they saw no one. (TIL, 454) The

Fellows went back inside to retrieve their daughter and when

they came out, that vehicle was gone (TIII, 455). They drove

off and later saw the same vehicle had spun out of control, and

later down the street they saw the same man, not identified as

Petitioner, running down the street. (TIT, 457, 472).

Petitioner had been married to Teresa Nash previously

but they were divorced, and they did have one child together. (T

II, 216). There had been a disagreement over child support

between Ms. Nash and Petitioner. (T III, 478, 480). Petitioner

retained counsel, attorney Cynthia Law, and received a favorable

ruling after a referee hearing held January 27, 2003, less than 2

weeks before Ms. Nash's demise. (T V, 773-774). Petitioner

was not angry or upset over the matter, and was pleased he

-

prevailed, with reduction of costs by over half. (TV, 774-775).

Ms Nash had other children, including her daughter

Ra'eese Cannon, who was 12 in 2003. (7 III, 373) After the

death of Teresa Nash, the children moved in with grandmother

I'mogene Thomas. (T IIT, 397)

A month and a half after the death, Petitioner, along with

his brothers and mother, went over to Ms. Thomas' house to

pick up his child Freddie Taysia Nash (T 111,423). — Petitioner

answered a phone call. (J Ill, 424). After they left, Ra'eese

Cannon came in the room and told her grandma, Ms. Thomas,

8

that she had heard Petitioner's voice and phone tone before, the

mght her mother died. (T JIl, 425) Ms Thomas then called the

detectives ir.voived in the case (T III, 425)

Ra'eese Cannon was awakened by voices she heard from

downstairs on the early morning hours of February 9, 2003 (1

Ill, 382). She told the yury she recognized the voices as being her

mother's and Petitioner's, though she never saw who was actually

downstairs with her mother. (TIL, 383, 400). Ra’eese heard a

phone ring, but the ring was not one she was used to hearing and

heard the phone being answered (T IE, 387-388) Later, Teresa

Nash came upstairs and got her purse and keys and then left

(T1II, 392) Ra'eese went back to sleep and was awakened by

gunshots (T III, 393)

A month and half later Ra’eese claimed Petitioner's voice

and phone were the same she heard the night her mother was

i £

killed (T HI, 399).

Detective Gomez testified that Petitioner could have been

in the area of the scene of crime at the relevant time, but the

engineer from Nextel testified that even with all the information

provided one still could not tell an exact address of where the

caller was. (TIV, 683-684)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

QUESTION 1 IRREGULARITIES IN JURY

COMPOSITION AND PARTIALITY CONSTITUTED

STRUCTURAL ERROR ENTITLING PETITIONER TO A

NEW TRIAL.

Petitioner Freddie Nash was convicted at a jury trial of

first degree murder and felony firearm It came to the court's

attention that during deliberations one of the jurors went home

but the other jurors remained behind Defense counsel moved for

a mistrial based on proceedings taking place with only 11 jurors.

his was denied. (1 886-888, 893-898).

The record does not identify which juror had been

missing. The record does reflect that the next day al! 12 jurors

assured the judge that no deliberations took place while the juror

was missing ‘The record does not reveal how the juror who was

not present during the period was able to answer that question.

Nevertheless, the yudge made it obvious what answers to give to

keep this trial going, and jurors gave the judge the desired

answers, including the juror who was not present and had no

personal information about what happened 1n his or her absence

We submit failing to grant the mistrial constituted

reversible error, as deliberations with 11 jurors impermissibly

infringed on the federal constitutional right to jury trial, even

though the missing juror returned another day

10

[In a criminal case, "The accused shal] enjoy the right

to.. trial by an impartial jury " US Const, Amend VI Being

"fundamental to the American scheme of justice," Duncan v

Louisiana, 39} US 145, 149 (1968), the right 1s binding on the

States Turner v Louisiana, 379 U S. 466 (1965)

While the defendant can waive the right to a unanimous

verdict by 12 jurors if done knowingly, voluntarily and

intelligently, Patton v United States, 281 US 276 (1930), Boykin

v Alabama, 395 US 238 (1969), United States v Martin, 704

F.2d 267 (6th Cir. 1983), this Petitioner did not. Proceedings

with 11 jurors cannot be sustained without a valid waiver. This

is a Structural error. Sullivan v Louisiana, 508 U S. 275 (1993).

The fact is the jurors were there for the purpose of

deliberating, and it defies reason and logic to think that they

would remain in the room into the evening after one juror left, yet

not discuss the case, especially where they were not so

instructed

As the Court noted in McKoy v North Carolina, 494 U.S

433 (1990) (opinion of Scalia, J) "A jury, of course, 1s not a

collection of individuals who are asked separately about their

independent views, but a body designed to deliberate and decide

collectively."

The State trial court, in denying this issue, wrongfully

looked to whether prejudice could be shown (Opinion 4), which

is not the standard for structural errors.

1]

The State trial court denied this in part on the fact that

the judge instructed the jurors to begin deliberations "from

scratch" (Opinion, 4) An instruction to wipe from one's head

everything that had already been discussed, and resume

discussions without thinking of or referring to anything already

said, 1s form without substance. Not one individual in 1000

would be capable of following such instructions The judge

herself could not do it The following day, the judge answered

the written questions from the day before (T 897-898). The

questions the jury sent the day before were part and parcel of the

jury deliberations purportedly being discarded, on _ the

instructions of the very judge not discarding them. rhe

instruction cured nothing.

In United States v Curbelo, 343 F.3d 372 (4th Cir, 2003),

the Court held that where a defendant does not stipulate to

proceeding with 11 jurors, it is impossible to quantify the effect,

and such errors are considered structural errors

The inability to quantify the effect of the error is what

distinguishes most trial errors from structural errors. Consider

the discussion by this Court in Neder v United States, 527 U.S.

1, 8-9 (2009):

‘The error at issue here — a yjury instruction

that omits an element of the offense — differs

markedly from the constitutional violations we have

found to defy harmless-error review. Those cases,

we have explained, contain a "defect affecting the

framework within which the trial proceeds, rather

1?

than simply an error in the trial process itself

Fulminante, supra, at 310 Such errors "infect the

entire trial process," Brecht v Abrahamson, 507

U S. 619, 630 (1993), and "necessarily render a trial

fundamentally unfair," Rose, 478 U.S., at 577

A structural error is not subject to being made harmless

via later instructions In this case, the best showing of prejudice

possible, the fact that the judge herself could not follow the

impossible instructions she gave the jury, would be the most any

defendant could ever come up with As explained in Neder, the

nature of the error renders the results unreliable and no showing

of prejudice is needed

“Put another way, these errors deprive

defendants of "basic protections" without which "a

criminal trial cannot reliably serve its function as a

vehicle for determination of guilt or innocence

and no criminal punishment may be regarded as

fundamentally fair "

There was another impropriety During jury selection,

the parties read off the names of witnesses, including Officer Joel

Mires (1 6). The judge asked the prospective jurors to note 1

they knew any of the witnesses, then to inform the court when

they got in the jury box. (T 8).

On day 3, witness Mires informed the court that he

recogmzed Juror 5, Edward Wurm, saying "we've been friends

since elementary school" The judge was concerned Juror Wurm

had not disclosed that, yet, did not excuse the juror. (T 354)

Later, Sam Ostrander informed the court his friend Andy

l homas, relative of the deceased Teresa Nash, came to his house

and said one of the jurors was a friend of his and assured him he

would make sure the jury would find Petitioner Nash guilty

regardless (T 782-792). He said Andy Thomas told him that he

and the juror hang out every day (T 789) He said, "It's his

cousin that's dead, okay, and he knows this juror on the jury box,

and since he knows it was his cousin, he said he's going to find

him guilty regardless if he's not guilty. No ifs, ands, and buts

about it." (fT 791) Juror 15, Joel Post, said he knew Andy

lhomas from Lansing Christian, but had not spoken with him for

years. (1 806)

Michael Andrew Thomas testified that he was the first

cousin of the deceased, Teresa Nash He admitted telling Sam

that "I think we got a juror that we know on the jury bench." (7

816) He stated he had not had contact with the juror for at least

two months (T 817).

However, Mr. [Thomas stated that the name of the man

they knew was Doug (T 814), which matched Douglas

Blankenberg, juror no. 6, not juror Post

A defendant has a Sixth Amendment right to "a verdict by

impartial, indifferent jurors" to avoid any bias or prejudice that

might affect the defendant's right to a fair trial Dyer v Calderon,

ISI F.3d 970, 973 (9th Cir.1998) (en banc). his right is so

fundamental that the Second Circuit has held that the right to an

impartial factfinder was "inherently unwaivable" because to hold

otherwise would result in "fundamentally unfair" proceedings

against the defendant United States v Nelson, 277 ¥.3d 164, 205

(2d Cir 2002)

(he friendship relationship of Juror 5 with a_ police

witness in the case, and the friendship relationship of Juror 15

with the cousin of the deceased, leading to false statements and

failures to disclose the relationships, required removal of the

jurors No trial could fairly proceed where a juror had promised

his friend that the guy on tral was going to be convicted no

matter what

Ihe State court wrongfully looked to whether prejudice

could be shown (Opinion 5), which is not the standard for

Structural errors Bccause an impartial yury 1s so fundamental,

"[dJoubts regarding bias must be resolved against the juror

United States v Gonzalez, 214 F 3d 1109, 1114 (9th Cir. 2000)

The nature of this error was discussed in Dyer v Calderon

‘The presence of a biased juror cannot be

harmless, the error requires a new trial without a

showing of actual prejudice. See United States v

Allsup, 566 ¥.2d 68, 71 (9th Cir. 1977). Like a judye

who is biased, see 7umey v Ohio, 273 U.S 510,

535 (1927), the presence of a biased juror introduces

a structural defect not subject to harmless error

analysis See generally Arizona v fulminante, 499

US 279, 307-10 (1991).”

[he Court also erred by not finding prejudice. Ra'Eesa

Cannon, the only identifying witness, testified only to a voice

identification, reported weeks later, not a visual identification

While that {\ pe of testimony could be te asi "in SOME Case

it would not universally be so ht ; the very type of case

where the bias or incentive of a single juror could have

cnormous impact on the outcome

hrrors concerning, composition of the jury and actions of

the jury are structural errors which do not require the defendant

to make any showiny of prejudice }} (fv Ahrahamson, SO7

US. 619 (1993)

Petitioner submits that these irregularities involving both

the deliberative process and deceit in the Composition of the jury

constitute errors in that limited group Known as structural errors

As this Court observed last term in United States v Marcus, 08

$-24-2010)

‘But “structural error are “a very limited

class’ of errors that affect the " framework within

which the trial proceeds," Johnson, supra, at 468

(quoting Arizona vo fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 310

(1991), such that it is often "difficull[t|" to "asses[s|

the effect of the error,” United States vo Gonzale:

Lope - S48 U.S. 140, 149. n. 4 (2006). See Johnson.

supra, at 468-469 (citing cases in which this Court has

found = "structural error," including (Crideon

Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) (total deprivation

of counsel). 7umeyv vo Ohto 273 UV. S. S510 (1927)

(lack of an impartial trial judge); McKaskle v Wiygins,

465 US. 168 (1984) (right to self-representation at

trial); Waller vo Georvia, 467 U. S. 39 (1984)

(violation of the nght to a public trial); and Sullivan v

16

Louisiana, 508 U. S— 275 (1993) (erroneous

reasonable-doubt instruction))

This Court should grant review and hold that jury

composition and jury impartiality irregularities each constitute

structural error, and did so 1n this case, and order a new trial at

which the jurors are impartial and do not cover up their ties to

police witnesses and the family of the deceased, and do not make

commitments to family members of the deceased that the

defendant will be convicted, and at which the jurors deliberate as

a body, with all of them present

QUESTION 2° THE DENIAL OF ACCESS BY THE STATE

COURT TO RAISE A CHALLENGE TO TESTIMONY

OFFERED AS EXPERT TESTIMONY, THAT WAS NOT

SUBJECTED TO THE GATEKEEPING FUNCTION SET BY

THIS COURT, DENIED PETITIONER’S DUE PROCESS

RIGHTS

The state trial court ruled incorrectly that the issue of

"allowing expert testtmony under MRE 702" was “decided

against the Defendant in a prior appeal." (Opinion, 7). The

opinion in People v Freddie Nash, unpublished Michigan Court

of Appeals (No. 255874, September 15, 2005) plainly lists 2

issues sufficiency of the evidence of premeditation, and whether

to grant a new trial based on newly discovered evidence The

Court did not decide a question of whet!er the testimony of Karl

Suni was wrongfully admitted at trial

17

[In a criminal case, due process 1s violated when a state's

procedures "offend some principle of justice so rooted in the

traditions and conscience of our people as to be ranked as

fundamental." Medina v California, S05 US 437, 445 (1992)

(quoting Patterson v New York, 432 U.S 197, 202 (1977)).

Criminal defendants must be given "an adequate opportunity to

present their claims fairly within the adversary system" Ake v

Oklahoma, 470 U.S 68, 77 (1985) Ruling that an issue cannot

be heard because it was decided before, when it was not decided

before, denied Petitioner an adequate opportunity to present his

claums.

The underlying legal error also denied due process. The

testimony in question was by Karl Suni of the Michigan State

Police lab. He received a Master of Science degree in

microchemistry from Miuchigan State and worked in_ the

microchemistry unit.

Microchemistry is’

"Chemistry that deals with minute quantities of

materials, frequently less than one milligram in mass

or one milliliter in volume " The American Eleritage

Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition

(2009).

“chemistry dealing with the manipulation of very

small quantities for purposes of preparation,

characterization, or analysis." Merriam-Webster's

Medical Dictionary, 2002

Mr. Suni stated (T 537):

"In the microchemistry subunit we analyze

things On a microscopic scale such as paint, glass,

fibers, explosive residue We also in that subunit

analyze footwear and tire impressions "

The state police can organize their units any way they

wish. But the mere fact that they have joined microchemistry

with footwear and tire impressions into a single unit does not

make a microchemist an expert in other fields The prosecutor

offered Suni as an expert in microchemistry, but then used him as

an expert in another field, footwear impressions.

Without any demenstration that he was employing a

technique recognized as scientifically reliable, he testified that

there was "no question" that the submitted boots had the "same

tread" as the footprints in the snow, and that “we can say that

it's a Stacey Adams boot." (T 543) What branch of chemistry is

that?

MRE 702 provides that the judge 1s to allow only

expert testimony based on reliable techniques, by qualified

experts.

A chemist is not "a witness qualified as an expert by

knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education" to testify

about footwear identification He should not have been

permitted to give this testimony outside his qualifications

Moreover, the chemist should not have been permitted to

testify to a purported scientific technique that was not shown to

meet the requirements of Daubert v = Merrell Dow

19

Pharmaceuticals, Inc, 509 U.S 579, 113 S.Ct. 2786, 125

L.Ed 2d 469 (1993) In Gilbert vy DaimlerChrysler Corp., 470

Mich 749 (2004), the Michigan Supreme Court citing to Daubert

held the trial judge must exclude from evidence scientific

testimony that has not been established by its proponent to be

reliable. In People v Unger, 278 Mich. App. 210 (2008), the

Court applied this rule to criminal cases.

We submit that the trial court failed in its responsibilities

on this occasion, by allowing the chemist to testify about

something other than chemistry, and by accepting "footwear

identification" as a scientifically valid method of determining

facts, both of which are contrary to Daubert

Petitioner properly presented a challenge to his

conviction in a Motion for Relief from Judgment under M.C.R

6 500 et. seq. The state courts denied due process by precluding

review of this issue and making an objectively unreasonable

finding that this issue had been raised on direct appeal where the

record demonstrates that is not true.

QUESTION 3. PETITIONER WAS PREJUDICED AND

DENIED A FAIR TRIAL BY PROSECUTOR MISCONDUCT

IN VIOLATING DISCOVERY, PRESENTING IMPROPER

BAD ACTS EVIDENCE, AND LEAVING PREJUDICTIAI

PHOTOS ON DISPLAY FOR THE JURY

Petitioner proceeded to trial on charges of murder and the

prosecutor withheld exculpatory evidence until trial which

20

precluded any testing or challenge to the validity of inculpatory

evidence Petitioner submits this prosecutorial misconduct

denied a fair trial.

The case against Petitioner was circumstantial, based

upon spurious claims that boots, not owned by Petitioner, but

somehow attributed to Petitioner, left prints in the snow leading

away from the scene of the crime At trial, the victim's underage

daughter claimed that she heard a voice and phone ring tone just

before her mother died which she told the jury was simular to

what she heard months later when Petitioner was at her

grandmother's house

As the United States Supreme Court in Wardius v

Oregon, 412 U.S 470 (1973) observed

“Although the Due Process Clause has little

to say regarding the amount of discovery which the

parties must be afforded, but cf. Brady v Maryland,

373 U.S. 83 (1963), it does speak to the balance of

forces between the accused and his accuser. Cf. /n re

Winship, 397 U.S 358, 361-364 (1970) "

When the defendant withholds evidence from the

prosecutor to obtain a clear tactical advantage, the conduct merits

the strongest response. See United States v Hamilton, 128 F 3d

996 (6th Cir. 1997):

"In Michigan v Lucas, 500 U.S. 145 (1991),

the Supreme Court reiterated its holding in 7aylor

and stated that when a discovery violation amounts

to willful misconduct and is designed to obtain a

tactical advantage, regardicss of whether prejudice to

the prosecution could have been avoided by a lesser

penalty, the severest sanction 1s appropriate "

Due process and equal protection demand fair and similar

treatment. The Supreme Court has long held that due process of

law and basic fairness demand that the most reliable method of

identification possible be used in a criminal case See Summons v

United States, 390 U.S 377, 383-384 (1967).

Wharton concluded that

"The qualification of the witness to express

an opinion as to the identity of the voice must be

shown as based either on familiarity with the

speaker, or upon some peculiarity in the voice

which would make it likely that the witness could

distinguish and identify the voice in questton" |

Wharton's Criminal Evidence, § 183, p 365.

Michigan has also recognized the need for reliability

testing of voice identification People v Bozzi, 36 Mich. App.

15(1971), lv den 386 Mich. 775 (1971) noted with approval the

language of State v Karas, 43 Utah 506, 136 P. 788 (1913):

"Undoubtedly voice 1s a competent means of

identification, and one by such means alone may be

sufficiently identified. In some _ instances

identification by such means may be as ponderous

as identification by sight But the testimony should

be reasonably positive and certain, and based upon

some peculiarity of the person's voice, or upon

sufficient previous knowledge by the witness of the

person's voice™ 36 Mich App. 19 In accord

People v Murphy, 282 Mich App 571, 584

(2008) "

Here the prosecutor introduced voice identification and

ring tone identification without informing defendant of this

evidence before trial, thus preventing any hearings or line-ups to

determine the reliability of a young girl's ability to differentiate

and distinguish voices and ring tones.

[here were no line-ups or voice exemplars involved. Nor

was there anything in the testimony identifying anything peculiar

or distinctive about Petitioner's voice upon which a distinction

between voices could have been made As a result of this

prosecutorial misconduct, unreliable and highly — prejudicial

evidence was presented to the jury poisoning any reasonable

chance of a fair and impartial jury. A single 5 minute testing of

speaking by Petitioner and a few others under controlled

conditions could have blown this identification testimony out of

the water, making a conviction impossible, or highly unlikely.

The prosecutor withheld this "identification" evidence to secure a

tactical advantage

The inherently unreliable identification evidence from the

decedent's minor child unfairly prejudiced Petitioner. See Old

Chief v United States, 519 U.S 172 (1997):

"Unfair prejudice’ .. means an undue

tendency to suggest decision on an improper basis.

commonly, though not necessarily, an emotional

one."

Adding to the unfairness, the prosecutor introduced bad

character information and improper argument to the jury. A

conviction should be reversed where prejudicial and improper

argument by the prosecutor has the effect of denying the

defendant a fair trial United States v McLain, 823 F 2d 1457

(llth Cir. 1987); Bruno v Rushen, 721 F.2d 1193 (9th Cir.

1983) The standard is whether the conduct "so infected the trial

with unfairness as to make the resulting conviction a denial of due

process." Donnelly v DeChristoforo, 416 U.S. 637 (1974)

Petitioner was charged with murder of his ex-wife In an

effort to show motive, the prosecutor introduced testimony from

a Friend of the Court employee, claiming Petitioner was angry

with the victim over child support matters The prosecutor's

theory was that the Friend of the Court dispute was unfavorable

to Petitioner, thus motivating Petitioner to want to murder his ex-

wife.

The trial court ruled this testimony was_ permitted

because it dealt with motive Petitioner submits the ruling was

objectively unreasonable and the evidence unfairly prejudiced

Petitioner. If Petitioner had been unsuccessful in resolving the

child support matters with the victum, then evidence about what

happened with the Friend of the Court may have been admissible

as demonstrating motive. However, Petitioner WAS

24

SUCCESSFUL in his objections to the Friend of the Court and

obtained a favorable ruling there (I 773-775)

Essentially the prosecutor deceived the jury, stating that

Petitioner was unsuccessful in obtaining relief from the Friend of

the Court, and therefore had a motive to murder the victim The

evidence did not support motive, instead, the evidence, and its

twisting by the prosecution, was used by the prosecution to

paint Petitioner as an unsympathetic, “bad" person

In Michelson v United States, 335 U.S. 469, 475-476

(1948), the United States Supreme Court ruled "'The state may

not show defendant's prior trouble with the law, specific criminal

acts, or ul name among his neighbors, even though such facts

might logically be persuasive that he is by propensity a probable

perpetrator of the crime '

As the Court held in United States v Acosta-Cazares, 878

F 2d 945 (6th Cir 1989)

"evidence of criminal character or propensity

is excluded because the jury might convict the

defendant for the conduct proving propensity rather

than for the offense for which he is on trial.”

Even if established by evidence, fundamental fairness

prohibits "the introduction of evidence of extrinsic acts that

might adversely reflect on the actor’s character, unless that

evidence bears upon a relevant issue in the case such as motive,

Opportunity or knowledge" Huddleston v United States, 485

U.S 681, 685 (1988)

As the Court noted in United States v Schrock, 855 F.2d

327 (6th Cir. 1988), quoting from McCormick on Evidence, §185,

at 545 (1984

"Prejudice can arise . from facts that arouse

the jury’s hostility or sympathy for one side

without regard to the probative value of the

evidence " See also Shepard v_ United States, 290

U.S. 96, 54 SCt 22, 78 L Ed 196 (1933), United

States v Merriweather, 78 F.3d 1070 (6th Cir.

1996).

The prosecutor's incessant argument to the jury that

Petitioner was angry and out of control over unfavorable Friend

of the Court rulings was highly prejudicial, inadmissit!e, and

irrelevant. His alleged violent character had no _ legitimate

tendency to prove him guilty, other than by the forbidden means

of inferring from his character that he committed the charged act

See Kincade v Sparkman, 175 F.3d 444 (6th Cir. 1999),

holding that the Petitioner was entitled to Habeas Corpus relief

because the prosecutor, in argument before the jury, called him a

"professional burglar," suggesting repeated commission of other

similar crimes. As the Court noted in Kincade: "The remarks

were made deliberately. Any prosecutor should know that he

has stepped far over the line when he makes this type of closing

argument "

Z0

The submission and admission of the evidence

undermined any legitimate confidence in the trial process and the

introduction of this evidence “is so extremely unfair that its

admission violates fundamental conceptions of justice ” Dowling

v United States, 493 U.S 342, 352 (1990)

The prosecutor deliberately and repeatedly left on

display to the jury enlarged photographs of the deceased showing

her fatal injuries (T 167, 192, 200, 214). Lach photo was left on

display until the projector was needed for another exhibit

Photos from the autopsy detailing cach wound and stages of the

autopsy were also displayed to the jury, (I) 503-507), being

projected during the entirety of Dr DeJong’s testimony

The cause of death in this case was multiple gunshot

wounds. (1 498). There was no probative value to immersing

the yury in bloody photos. The only question for the jury was

who fired the shots, a question not answered in any way by the

photos. However, the photos would have the natural effect of

disgusting and hornifying the jurors, playing on their sympathies,

leading to a conviction of the Petitioner whether the evidence

against him was strong or not.

These circumstances have led the Michigan Supreme

Court in other cases to find that the only reasonable conclusion

for the use of the photographs was to incite the jury:

"Defendant's appropriately filed notice of

alibi and his consistent reliance on alibi as his

defense, coupled with the unrebutted proof that [the

murder victim| was killed by a shotgun blast,

rendered the use of these photographs neither

substantially necessary nor instructive to show

material facts or conditions We can find no othe:

reason for their use than to excite passion and

prejudice " People v_ Falkner, 389 Mich. 682

(1973).

As in Falkner, the photos were not relevant or material to

any fact in controversy

Since 1ts actual probative value on any contested matter is

zero, Clearly undue weight would be given by a jury. Why show

the jurors grucsome photos, if the intent 1s not to provoke an

emotional response? Why do itt where the cause of death 1s

obvious and uncontested, and the photos have no bearing on who

)

did the shooting’

Petitioner endorses the reasoning of People v Jerry Smith,

122 Mich App. 106 (1982), a case strikingly similar to this one

"We find that these photographs were

neither substantially necessary nor instructive to

show a material fact and were introduced only to

excite the jury's passion and prejudice. Admitting

these photographs caused a manifest injustice.

Accordingly, we reverse

(he photographs were used twice at trial

and only to establish that the extensive wounds

they depicted were those of Thomas Brooks. The

nature of the wounds. however, did not serve to

rebut defendant's alibi defense, nor was it relevant to

any clement of first-degree murder

he prosecutor’s use and display of these photos

prejudiced Petitioner, denying him a fair trial, and rendering, the

verdict unreliable

It was also improper and a denial of due process for the

prosecutor to arpue facts not in evidence. Berger v United

States, 295 US. 78 (1935), United States v Leon, 534 2d 667

679 (6th Cir. 1976), United States ex rel Shaw v DeRobertis, 7°

2d 1279 (7th Cir 1985): United States v Latime?

498 (10th Cir. 1975), United States v Whitmore, 480 |

(D.C Cir 1973), U/nited States vo Gonzalez-Vargas, 558

633 (Ist Cir. 1977), United States vo Lamerson, 457 F.9d

(Sth Cir 1972): U.S. Const... Amend. XIV

he prosecutor knew that Petitioner had been successful

in resolving his Friend of the Court matters involving the

decedent; yet the prosecutor made claims of bad blood between

Petitioner and victim based upon the improper suggestion that

Petitioner was unsuccessful in lowering child support and

arrearage, known by the prosecutor to be untrue

Here, as in United States ex rel Shaw v DeRobertis, 755

F.2d at 1281, “The prosecutor violated the fundamental rule,

known to every attorney, that argument is limited to the facts in

evidence.”

l‘or the prosecutor to provide the jury with evidence that

the witnesses did not provide the jury is for the prosecutor to

unlawtully assume the role of wit

supra Because the defendant cannot cro CXalnine a proscculotr

who docs not take the stand, such actions bi ¢ prosecutor

violate the fundamental right of cross-examination eriyht ota

defendant cross-cxamuine the witnesses ¢ ‘to him

recognized as being the most fundamental of rights » Const

Amend. VI, U ‘onst., Amend, XIV: C’rawford vo Washinvton

Supra Davis \ llaska : ; ee Hlinoiws, 476

[ ‘ (L986)

\ conviction. si d | ersed wl idicial and

Improper arpument by ¢ prosecutor

the defendant a fair trial. (/nited Stat

(llth Cir 1987) Bruno vo Rushen, 72) b.2d 1193 (9th Cu

193) lhe standard is whether the comments "so infected the

trial with unfairness as to make the resulting conviction a denial

due proces s Ldonneli \ ; , iSfosore 116 : 063)

(1974)

Ht the argument is sulficiently improper

for reversal even without an Objec tion C/rril

(6th Ci

| here no consistently applied rule denyiny relict for

failure of defense counsel to object and therefore such failure can

not be used as the basis for procedural default in federal Habeas

(Corpus. Johnson \ VMississippt 4860 U.S. 5/78. 58/7 (1988)

Numerous Michigan cases have granted relief to

defendants based on improper prosecutor argument, where the

defendant failed to object Therefore, Petitioner is not foreclosed

from revicw even though his attorney failed to object

103(d); People v Knox, 469 Mich 502 (2004), People v

404 Mich. 357 (1978)

We submit that the improper argument, which brought

matters to the jury not found in the testimony, was an extraneous

influence, material to what the jury was considering

Under Cook v Bordenkircher, 602 '.2d 117 (6th Cir

1979), because the prosecutor’s remarks had "a tendency to

mislead the jury," because they encouraged the jury to consider

alleged "facts" which were not in evidence, and because the

remarks were "deliberately — placed before the jury," 602 F.2d at

120, reversal 1s required Under Brecht v Abrahamson, supra,

the error “had a substantial and injurious effect or influence in

determining the jury’s verdict '

This Court should grant the writ and order a new trial at

which the jurors are not subjected to prolonged exposure, or any

exposure, to gruesome photos that have no bearing on who

committed this fatal shooting, or exposed to prior acts evidence,

and that the prosecutor must argue only evidence that was

introduced, and disclose requested materials.

QUESTION 4. PETITIONER WAS DENIED A FAIR TRIAI

BY INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IN FAILING

TO SEEK A CHANGE OF VENUE, FAILING TO RAISE

OBJECTIONS, AND NOT CONSULTING WITH AN

EXPERI

Petitioner makes three separate claims of ineffective

assistance of counse!

Failure to Seek Change of Venue.

Petitioner was charged with the death of hts former wife

[he newspapers and other media had been running stories about

the case, including numerous articles emphasizing how the victim

left six children behind and had been trying so hard to provide for

her family. (1 1, 21-22, 65-66). Articles about Petitioner, the

victim, and the case ran as recently as the day before jury

selection (TI, 25)

The effect of the publicity was noted by one prospective

juror who 1n answering if information learned from the articles

would interfere with deliberations, the juror said: "probably,

especially if it's brought up during the testimony." (T I, 24).

Petitioner submits trial counsel was constitutionally deficient in

not seeking a change of venue and/or more extensive voir dire to

ferret out extraneously caused bias Found in the Appendix are

some newspaper articles discussing the killing and charges.

"A criminal defendant is entitled to “a fair trial by a panel

of impartial, ‘indifferent’ jurors.” /rvin v Dowd, 366 U.S. 717

(1961) A defendant who claims that media coverage tainted the

jury may prevail by showing either “presumptive prejudice” o1

“actual prejudice.” Joseph v Coyle, 469 F 3d 441, 468 (6th

Cir 2006)

If presumptive prejudice does not apply, courts must

consider whether the defendant was actually prejudiced. The

court 1s to examine the voir dire transcript and the extent and

nature of the publicity to determine whether a fair trial was

impossible. White v Mitchell, 431 F.3d 517, 532 (6th Cir.2005)

Prospective jurors being familar with the facts and issues tn the

case docs not automatically disqualify them as biased foley, 488

F.3d at 387. “The relevant question ts ‘did [the] yuror swear that

he could set aside any opinion he might hold and decide the case

on the evidence, and should the juror's’ protestation of

impartiality have been believed.” Id (quoting Patton v_ Yount,

467 US. 1025. 1036 (1984))

Although the court did remove some jurors for cause, the

standard imposed by the trial court was ineffectual Consider

Juror # 15 of the array who flat out indicated that the news

coverage interfered with her ability to deliberate. She was not

removed for cause, but only by peremptory challenge. (T 1, 24,

61) Despite the admitted lack of impartiality of this juror, the

rial court considered this juror to be umpartial and unbiased

[his was not an isolated incident. Consider juror #12,

who had read the articles in the papers and had seen the

television reports, and when asked about keeping an open mind,

he indicated. ""to be completely unbiased with this case, | would

be real hard to." (1 119) ‘The tral court did not remove this

juror for cause and the defense had to use another peremptory

—

challenge to remove this juror. (T I, 78) Left on the jury was

juror Collins who read the paper everyday and was familiar with

the case from reading about it and watching tclevision news

|

reports. (7 I, 65-65). Why should any criminal defendant, in the

United States of America, be tried by a juror who might have

some problems keeping an open mind?

966). the Court

Due process requires that the accused

receive a trial by an impartial jury free from outside

influences Given the pervasiveness of modern

communications and the difficulty of effacing

prejudicial publicity from the minds of the jurors,

the trial courts must take strong measure to ensure

that the balance is never weighed against the

accused

Petitioner Nash's trial should not have been held in

Ingham County. the inquiry should focus on the extensive

publicity, the pervasiveness of the community

the extreme familiarity of the case to the jurors, to the point

where they could recognize Petitioner on sight To allow the

jurors’ conclusions to overcome everything else the jurors said 1s

to eliminate the requirement of fair and impartial juries altogether.

To use an extreme example, under the standard employed here,

34

even if ina county where no jury could be seated without one or

more members of the Ku Klux Klan to sit in judgment of an

African-American defendant, a change of venue still could not be

had if enough jurors declared they could set that aside and be fair.

Consider Miller v Webb, 385 F 3d 666 (6th Cir. 2004).

“An affirmative statement of impartiality is

required to ensure that a juror is unbiased, but such a

statement alone 1s not the determining factor. A trial

court must still determine, from the context, whether

such a statement 1s believable” See also Wolfe v

Brigano, 232 F 3d 499, 502 (6th Cir 2000) (“A

court’s refusal to excuse a juror will not be upheld

‘simply because the court ultimately elicits from the

prospective juror a promise that he wall be fair and

impartial .. ~°” (quoting Kirk v Raymark Indus

Inc , 61 F.3d 147, 156 (3d Cir. 1995) " at 677 n 2

Juries "are extremely likely to be impregnated by the

environing atmosphere" Gropp: v Wisconsin, 400 U.S 505

(1971). "The influence that lurks in an opinion once formed is so

persistent that it unconsciously fights detachment from the

mental processes of the average man" /rvin v Dowd, supra

Allowing Petitioner to be tried in Ingham County

saturated with this type of publicity about the case was an abuse

of discretion and unreasonable.

There is a presumption of prejudice from jurors being

75

exposed to facts not in evidence, United States v Swinton,

F.2d 374 (8th Cir. 1996), which applies even to exposure of a

single juror. United States v Hall, 116 F.2d 1253 (8th Cir 1997)

Most of the articles’ information was inadmissible and not

admitted at the trial

Errors regarding composition of the jury are structural

errors, and therefore harmless error analysis is inappropriate.

Brecht v Abrahamson, supra; McGurk v Stenberg, 163 F 3d

470, 475 (8th Cir. 1998) (finding that when counsel's deficient

performance causes a structural error, reversal is automatic

without any harmless error analysis, because prejudice is

presumed).

Given the exceptionally light nature of the inculpatory

evidence, 1.e., a voice and "ring tone" identification alone by an

influenced witness weeks later, an unprejudiced jury, not

contaminated with all the negative information supplied to the

press, might wel! have found reasonable doubt

B. Failures to Object.

Trial counsel was constitutionally deficrent in not

objecting to improper conduct and introduction of evidence by

the prosecutor, cited in this petition. The critical failure of an

attorney to object can be ineffective assistance of counsel if it

deprives the defendant of an opportunity for dismissal of the

case, a favorable verdict, or for success on appeal. Gravley v

Mills, 87 F.3d 779 (6th Cir. 1996), Kowalak v United States, 645

F.2d 534, 537-538 (6th Cir. 1981), Corsa v Anderson, 443 F.

Supp. 176 (ED Mich. 1977).

Allowing damaging information to come before the jury

without objection, where the evidence could have been excluded,

is ineffective assistance of counsel Rickman v_ Bell, 131 F.3d

1150 (6th Cir. 1997); Groseclose v Bell, 130 F.3d 1161 (6th Cir.

1997); Ward v United States, 995 F.2d 1317 (6th Cir 1993).

frial counsel's performance can be deemed deficient based

upon the failure to object to highly prejudicial remarks heard by

the jury. United States v Rusmusel, 716 F.2d 301 (Sth Cir.

1983); Seehan v State of lowa, 37 F.3d 389 (8th Cir 1994);

Weygandt v Ducharme, 774 F.2d 1491 (9th Cur 1985)

iL. Failure to consult with and introduce testimony

from expert.

Petitioner was convicted on the inherently unreliable

evidence of a 12 year old, who was subjected to highly suggestive

corrupting influences as weeks went by without an arrest. The

jury was never made aware of the suggestive and unreliable nature

of this testimony because trial consel failed to consult with and

retain an expert.

Effective assistance of counsel requires that counsel make

reasonable investigations and adequately prepare for trial

Rompilla v Beard, 545 U.S. 374 (2005); Wiggins v Smith, 539

U.S $10 (2003); Kimmelman v Morrison, 477 U S. 365 (1986)

Part of effective assistance of counsel 1s to present evidence in

support of theones advanced, Foster v_ Lockhart, 9 F.3d 722

(Sth Cir. 1993).

In Habeas Corpus it has been recognized that the failure

to consult with or retain or call to the witness stand an expert

witness was ineffective assistance of counsel. Sims v_ Livesay,

970 F.2d 1575 (6th Cir. 1992), Leonard v Michigan, 256 F

Supp 2d 723 (WD Mich, 2003); Holsomback v White, 133

F 3d 1382 (11th Cir. 1998), Pavel v Hollins, 261 F 3d 210 (2d

Cir. 2001); Lindstadt v Keane, 239 F 3d 191 (2d Cir. 2001).

It is not necessary to show that the evidence not pursued

by counsel would have changed the result. A reviewing court

Should focus on whether counscl’s alleged errors "have

undermined the reliability of and confidence in the result "

McQueen v Scroggy, 99 F.3d 1302, 1311 (6th Cir. 1996): "On

balance, the benchmark for judging any’ claim of ineffectiveness

must be whether counsel's conduct so undermined the proper

functioning of the adversarial process that the [proceeding]

cannot be relied on as having produced a just result." Id at 1311-

12 (quoting Strickland, 466 U.S. at 686, 104 S.Ct. 2052). See

also Kyles v Whitley, 514 U.S. 419, (1995).

This Court should grant review and then rule that

Petitioner is entitled to a new trial before a constitutionally

drawn jury and represented by constitutionally effective counsel.

QUESTION | S. PETITIONER WAS UNCONST-

PTUTIONALLY PREJUDICED BY INEFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF APPELLATE COUNSEL.

38

A criminal defendant is entitled to effective assistance of

counsel Strickland v Washington, 466 US 668 (1984), Beasley

v United States, 491 F.2d 687 (6th Cir 1974); U.S Const,

Amend VI. This right includes effective assistance of counsel on

appeal £vitts v Lucey, 469 U.S. 387; 105S Ct 830, 83 L Ed.2d

821 (1985); Penson v Ohio, 488 U S. 75 (1988)

Under Evitis v Lucey, 469 US at 396:

"nominal representation on an appeal as of

right--like nominal representation at trial--does not

suffice to render the proceedings constitutionally

adequate "

In Beasley v United States, supra, the Court stated:

"Defense counsel must investigate all

apparently substantial defenses available to the

defendant and must assert them in a timely manner."

The critical failure of an attorney to object or raise an

issue can be ineffective assistance of counsel if it deprives the

defendant of an opportunity for dismissal of the case or for

success on appeal. Graviey v Mills, 87 F.3d 779 (6th Cir 1996),

Kowalak v_ United States, 645 F.2d 534, 537-538 (6th Cir 1981);

Corsa v Anderson, 443 F. Supp. 176 (ED Mich. 1977)

We submit there was ineffective assistance of appellate

counsel regarding the failure of the appeal attorney to raise the

issues raised herein On direct appeal, only issues of sufficiency

of the evidence and newly discovered evidence were raised To

39

properly review this claim, it is necessary to consider the merits

of the issues raised before deficiency of appellate counsel's

performance can be assessed See Willis v Smith, 351 F.3d 741

(6th Cir, 2003), ("“Thus, in order to determine whether cause

exists [because of ineffective assistance of appellate counsel]. we

must, ironically, consider the merits” of the claims not raised on

direct appeal.).

[t 1s reasonably probable that Petitioner would have

gotten a reversal on his appeal of right, but for the inaction of

appellate counscl See Mapes v Coyle, 171 F.3d 408 (6th Cir.

1999), finding ineffective assistance of appellate counsel where

counsel omitted issues that were "significant and obvious

In Mason v Hanks, 97 F.3d 887 (7th Cir 1996), the

Court held, "Were it legitimate to dismiss a claim of ineffective

assistance of counsel on appeal solely because we found it

improper to review appellate counsel's choice of issues, the nght

to effective assistance of counsel on appeal would be worthless."

Ineffective assistance of appellate counsel is "good cause"

for failing to raise an issue in the appeal of right. Edwards v

Carpenter, 529 U.S. 446 (2000), Murray v Carrier, 477 U.S.

478, 488 (1986); M.C.R. 6.508(D).

In Strickland v Washington, supra, the Supreme Court

held that prejudice is shown from ineffective assistance of

counsel when "there is a reasonable probability that, but for

counsel's unprofessional errors, the result of the proceeding

would have been different." 466 U.S at 664.

1

While it is truc that an attorney need not raise all arguable

claims, it does not thereby follow that the attorney never need to

raise any arguable claim Instead, "The question is whether a

reasonable appellate attorney could conclude that [the claimed

issue was] not worthy of mention on appeal."

This Court should grant the writ and upon _ full

consideration of the merits, find that Petitioner’s issues are to be

heard on the merits and grant a new trial

RELIEF SOUGHT

WHEREFORE, Petitioner Freddie Nash moves this court

to grant a writ of certiorari and vacate the conviction and order «

new trial.

Respectfully submitted

JAMES STERLING LAWRENCI

Attorney for Petittoner Nash

828 W. Eleven Mile Road

Royal Oak, MI 48067

(248) 399-6930

Dated.

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005

APPENDIX

STATE OF MICHIGAN

COURT OF APPEALS

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN,

UNPUBLISHED

September 15, 2005

Plaintiff-Appellee, No 255874

V Ingham Circuit Court

FREDDIE TRAIL NASH,

LC No.03-001003-FC

Defendant-A ppellant

Before. Meter, P.J., and Murray and Schuette, JJ

PER CURIAM.

Defendant appeals as of right his jury trial convictions of

first-degree murder, M.C L. 750 316 and possession of a firearm

during the commission of a felony (felony-firearm), M C.L

750.227b. Defendant was sentenced to consecutive terms of life

imprisonment for the first degree murder conviction and two

years’ imprisonment for the felony-firearm conviction. We

affirm.

I. FACTS

In the early morning of February 9, 2003, police were

notified of three gunshots heard in the vicinity of Richmond and

Mary Street in Lansing, Michigan. Upon arriving, police

discovered the victim near her vehicle with multiple gunshot

wounds. I’mogene Thomas, the mother of the victim, identified

the body as her daughter, Teresa Nash. The autopsy concluded

that the victim had been shot at close range three times, and that

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005

the third and final gunshot to the victim’s head was immediately

>

incapacitating and fatal. A fresh snowfall allowed the police to

photograph shoc prints at the residence of the victim, leading

from the vehicle to the victim, and then away from the scene

These shoe prints were later determined to be from the kind of

boots defendant was known to wear. The victim’s twelve yea

old daughter testified that prior to the murder she had overheard a

voice she identified as defendant talking with the victim

downstairs at the victim’s residence shortly before the gunshots

he victim’s daughter also heard a cell phone ring, and she heard

defendant answer the phone and say “he got this and he’ll be

there Tle don’t need no help with nothing ” Testimony from a

representative of defendant’s cell phone company — placed

defendant’s cell phone in the area of the murder A Friend of the

Court enforcement specialist testified that she was familar with

the victim and defendant and that there was a dispute about child

support between them.

I] SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE O]

PREMEDITATION

-

Defendant first argues that there was insufficient evidence

to support his conviction of first-degree premeditated murder,

specifically contending that there was no- evidence of

premeditation or deliberation. We disagree.

A. Standard of Review

In reviewing, a sufficiency of the evidence claim, we

revicw “whether the evidence, viewed 1n a light most favorable to

the people would warrant a reasonable juror in finding” that all

the elements of the crime were proven beyond a reasonable

doubt. People v Nowack, 462 Mich 392, 399; 614 N.W 2d 78

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005

(2000) he elements of first-depree | premeditated] murdet

that the defendant killed the victim and that the killing: was

“willful, deliberate, and premeditated’ People vo Bowman

Mich App 142, IS], 656 N.W.2d 835 (2002), quoting M C.1

ISO 316(1)(a) A’ finding of premeditation and deliberation

requires there to be a lapse in time for a defendant to take a

second look belore acting, People vo Plummer, 229 Mich. App

293, 300, S81 NW.2d 753 (1998). “Premeditation and

deliberation may be established by evidence of ‘(1) the prior

relationship of the parties, (2) the defendant's actions oefore the

killing, (3) the circumstances of the killing itself; and (4) the

defendant's conduct after the homicide ’” People v Abraham, 234

Mich. App 640, 656; 599 N.W 2d 736 (1999), quoting People v

Schollaert, 194 Mich App 158, 170, 486 N W 2d 312 (1992)

By Analysis

We conclude that there was sufficient evidence that the

killing was premeditated and deliberated Testimony presented at

trial showed that defendant and the victim were recently divorced

and were involved in a dispute over child support. Viewing the

evidence favorably to the prosecution, on the morning of the

murder, the victum’s daughter heard the victim and defendant

talking in her home and heard defendant say “he’s pot this and

he’ll be there He don’t need help with nothing ” The victim’s

dauyvhter testified that her mother came up the stairs, yrabbed her

keys, said she would be night back, and presumably left) with

defendant. Shortly after, the victim’s body was found

Additionally, the circumstances of the killing itself support a

finding of premeditation and deliberation. Phe victim was shot

three times; once at close range, which was only a flesh wound

and not fatal, another time in the arm, which again was not fatal if

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005 A-4

the bleeding would have been stopped, and another shot to the

head, which the medical examiner testified would have been

immediately incapacitating Witnesses who heard the gun shots

testified that the shots were fired between two and five seconds

apart There was also evidence of traces of blood and hair fibers

found in the roof of the inside of the victim’s car and the front

driver’s side window had been broken The victim’s body was

found 1n a front yard near where her car was found. From this

evidence, the jury could have inferred that the victim was first

shot in the car and that the victum was running away from the

shooter when the incapacitating shot hit her in the head This

would have shown that defendant thought about his choice before

hand and had time to measure and evaluate this choice. People v

Morrin, 31 Mich. App 301, 329, 187 N W.2d 434 (1971) (“To

premeditate is to think beforehand, to deliberate is to measure

and evaluate the major facets of a choice or problem’).

e

<—

Ill. NEW TRIAL

Defendant next argues that the trial court erred in denying

his motion for a new trial. We disagree.

A Standard of Review

We review the trial court decision on a motion for a new

trial for an abuse of discretion. People v Lester, 232 Mich App.

262, 271; S91 N.W.2d 267 (1998). In order to obtain a new trial

based on newly discovered evidence, “a defendant must show

that: (1) ‘the evidence itself, not merely its materiality, was

newly discovered’, (2) ‘the newly discovered evidence was not

cumulative’; (3) ‘the party could not, using reasonable diligence,

have discovered and produced the evidence at trial’; and (4) the

new evidence makes a different result probable on retrial.” People

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005 A-5

v. Cress, 468 Mich 678, 692, 664 N.W 2d 174 (2003), quoting

People v. Johnson, 451 Mich. 115, 118 n 6; 545 N.W.2d 637

(1996), M C.R. 6 508(D)

B. Analysis

Defendant presented new evidence of a photograph his

mother found of him wearing boots similar to, but defendant

argues distinct from, a pair of boots the police belicved were the

same brand that made the footprints found near the victim’s

body. Defendant’s girlfriend testified at trial that she had seen

defendant wear boots similar to the ones police had obtained.

After seeing this picture, she indicated in an affidavit that the

shoes in the photograph were the shoes she testified about. The

trial court denied defendant’s motion concluding that this

evidence would not have made any difference in the outcome of

the trial.

We agree with the trial court’s conclusion The footprint

evidence was not the only piece of evidence that linked defendant

to the murder. The victim’s daughter testified that she heard her

mother and defendant talking in her home on the morning her

mother was killed. The victim’s daughter testified that she heard

the two talk for a while, including her mother call defendant by

his name, before the victim left the home. The prosecutor also

presented evidence of defendant’s cell phone records, which

placed defendant in the vicinity of the crime scene at the time of

the murder. Regarding the actual footprint evidence, defendant’s

girlfriend only testified that she saw defendant wearing shoes

similar to those police had obtained, which is the same testimony

that she would give at a new trial. Additionally, after reviewing

both the photograph of defendant wearing the shoes and the

photograph of the shoes police obtained, we fail to see a

Michigan Court of Appeals Opinion 9/15/2005 A-6

significant difference between the two In fact, the soles of the

shoes appear to be quite similar As such, we agree with the trial

court that defendant failed to show that this new evidence would

have made “a different result probable on retrial ” Cress, supra at

692

Affirmed./s/ Patrick M. Meter /s/ Christopher M Murray /s/ Bill

Schuette

Michigan Supreme Court Order 1/30/2006 A-

Order Michigan Supreme Court

January 30, 2006 Lansing, Michigan

129688 Clittord W. Taylor

Chief Justice

Michael F Cavanagh

PEOPLE OF THE Elizabeth A. Weaver

STATE OF MICHIGAN, Marilyn Kelly

aintiff-A p pellant, Maura D Corrig

Robert P Young, Jr

Stephen J Markman

Justices

FREDDIE TRAIL NASH. SC: 129668

COA 255874

Defendant-Appellee Ingham CC. 03-001003-F¢

On order of the Court, the application for leave to appeal

the September 15, 2005 judgment of the Court of Appeals ts

considered, and 1t ts DENIED, because we are not persuaded that

the questions presented should be reviewed by this Court

[SEAL ]

[, CORBIN R. DAVIS, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme Court,

certify that the foregoing 1s a true and complete copy of the order

entered at the direction of Court

January 30, 2006

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2068

STATE OF MICHIGAN

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE COUNTY OF

INGHAM

People of the State of

Michigan, OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff. DENYING DEFENDANT'S

MOTION FOR RELIEF

FROM JUDGMENT

Docket No 03-1003-FC

HON, THOMAS L. BROWN

FREDDIE T. NASH,

Defendant

PRESENT: HONORABLE JUDGE BROWN

Visiting Circuit Judge

Chis Court, having reviewed Defendant's Motion for

Relief From Judgment pursuant to M C.R. 6.500 et seq , Brief in

Support, all supporting documents and correspondence, and

being fully apprised of the issues, states the following:

INTRODUCTION

On April 27, 2004, Freddie Nash ("Defendant") was

convicted by jury trial before the Honorable Beverley Nettles-

Nickerson in the Ingham County Circuit Court of Homicide-

Open Murder M.C.L 750 316-C, and Weapons Felony Firearm

M C.L. 750.227B-A

On May 26th, 2004, Defendant was sentenced to a

- 1s!

mandatory life sentence without parole for ] degree

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-9

premeditated murder, and a 2 year consecutive sentence for

felony firearm

Defendant filed his Motion for Relief from Judgment

pursuant to M C.R_ 6.500 ef seg , and argues that his conviction

should be reversed for the following reasons (1) Alleged

improper jury deliberation (2) Alleged denial of a fair and

impartial jury (3) Alleged Trial Court abuse of

= =

A

A)

discretion due to “repeated” introduction of victim, crime scene,

and autopsy photographs (4) Alleged error in admittance of of

expert testimony (5) Various instances of alleged prosecutorial

misconduct; (6) Various instances of alleged ineffective assistance

of counsel; (7) The cumulative effect of the aforementioned

alleged defects at his trial; and (8) Ineffective assistance of

appellate counsel Defendant maintains that that these alleged

errors and violations require that his convictions be vacated and

that a new trial be ordered

fhe Michigan Court of Appeals affirmed Defendant's

conviction and sentence, People v Freddie Nash, unpublished

opinion of the Michigan Court of Appeals, decided September

15, 2005 (Docket No 255874) Defendant filed a application for

Leave to Appeal with the Michigan Supreme Court The

Michigan Supreme Court denied Defendant's Leave to Appeal on

January 30, 2006 People v Nash, 474 Mich 1026 (2006).

OPINION

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-10

Defendant has the burden of establishing entitlement to

the relief requested M.C R 6.508(D) This Court must examine

Defendant's motion together with all the files, records,

transcripts, and correspondences relating to his conviction for

First Degree Murder, M.C.R. 6.504(B)(1), [f Defendant's motion

appears from the face of the materials that he 1s not entitled to

relief, this Court shall deny the motion without directing further

proceedings and include a concise statement of the reasons for the

denial M.C R. 6 $04(B)(1)-(2)

The Michigan Legislature enacted MC.L 769.26, a

Statute addressing errors in judicial proceeding, which reads as

follows:

No judgment or verdict shall be set aside or

reversed or a new trial be granted by any court of

this state in any criminal case, on the ground of

misdirection of the jury, or the improper admission

or reyection of evidence, or for error as to any matter

of pleading or procedure, unless in the opinion of

the court, after an

+

examination of the entire cause, it shall affirmatively

appear that the error complained of has resulted in a

muscarriage of justice

In other words, defendants are not entitled to relief from

judgment due to a harmless error

To avoid forfeiture of an unpreserved constitutional error

under the plain error rule, three requirements must be met: 1)

error must have occurred, 2) the error must have been plain, 7 e

clear or obvious, 3) and the plain error must have affected

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-11

substantial rights of the defendant People v Cannes, 460 Mich.

750, 763-764 (1999) The third requirement generally requires a

showing of prejudice. That is to say, the defendant must show

that the error affected the outcome /d at 763. The Court will

now consider Defendant's arguments in turn

Issue One

IMPROPER JURY DELIBERATION

Defendant argues that due to juror misconduct he was

denied a fair and impartial yury. On April 26, 2004, one Juror left

before the additional eleven jurors. The defendant claims that

after the single juror left the room the other jurors continued to

deliberate On April 27" 2004, the Defendant's counsel asked the

court to grant a mistrial due to this alleged juror misconduct In

response to the request the Circuit Judge brought the jury in and

questioned them with regard to whether deliberation took place

without the full jury present. Each juror was polled and all

affirmed that there had been no deliberation without the full

panel. The Circuit Court judge declared that the juror's early

departure was a harmless error and denied the Defendant's

request for a new trial She further stated that there was no

appearance of impropriety, as deliberations stopped as soon as

the juror had left the room and she had no doubt in her mind that

there has been a fair and impartial, jury. Additionally, the Circuit

Court judge corrected the issue by instructing the jury to start

their deliberations over again The Defendant asks this Court to

find

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

that slight jury musconduct that resulted in harmless error

constitutes a reversible error worthy of amistnal. This Court

finds no such precedent that supports Defendant's contention

It has been a long standing principle that reversal for a

new trial does not follow automatically from a showing of error

in the court of a generally fair trial. The error which calls for a

new jury trial must be one of such significance as to have

prejudiced the result Cooper v Tranter Mfg, 4 Mich App 71

(1966), quoting Misktewicz v Smolensi, 249 Mich. 63 (1929). In

showing significant prejudice with respect to juror misconduct,

the defendant has the burden to prove that such misconduct may

have had a influence upon the final result, and caused injury to

the complaining party. Russel v Pere Marquette Ry Co, 245

Mich 624 (1929). Trial courts have broad discretion in

determining if the defendant has meet this burden, and in deciding

whether to grant a new trial on account of juror misconduct.

Impliedly, a verdict does not have to, and should not be set aside

for every trifling misconduct of a juror, which occurs without the

fault of the prevailing party Cooper v Carr, 161 Mich 405

(1910).

Under the facts of this case, it 1s clear that the early

departure of one juror did not cause prejudice. There is no

evidence that the eleven remaining juror's continued to deliberate

the verdict after the single juror left the room. Conversely, the

record shows that every juror member responded under oath that

there was no further deliberation after the juror left the jury room

and that there had never been any deliberation with out the full

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-13

panel. Additionally, to make sure that the absence of the juror did

not have a influence on the final result, the Circuit Court judge

took affirmative measures in order to correct any potential error

by ordering the jury to start their deliberation from scratch This

Court is satisfied with the Trial Court's conclusion that jury

misconduct resulted in harmless error and find that the

substantial rights of Defendant have not been affected.

Issue Two

FATLURE OF TRIAL COURT IN REFUASAL (sic) TO

EXCUSE JURORS

The Michigan Court of Appeals has ruled that a new trial

must be granted when it 1s shown that a juror gave untruthful

answers during voir dire and truthful answers would have

revealed grounds for successful challenge for cause. Collier v

Westland Arena, Inc, 183 Mich. App. 251(1990); Citizens

Commercial and Sav Bank v_ Engberg, 15 Mich. App.

251(1968). Furthermore, when a court discovers a juror's false

Statements on voir dire after trial and verdict, a party moving for

new trial must present to the court something more than the mere

fact of falsity of answers and must present proof of actual

prejudice on part of that juror or establish that that juror was

unqualified This is done by showing either actual prejudice or by

establishing to the satisfaction of the trial court that the moving

party would have successfully challenged for cause or otherwise

dismissed the juror 1n question had the truth been revealed prior

to trial Gustanfson v Morrison, 57 Mich. App. 655 (1975)

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

Under the facts of this case, there has been no showing of

actual prejudice, nor has the Defendant established that he would

have been successful in challenging for cause One of the jurors

that the defendant is challenging did not even deliberate in this

case Additionally, the record shows that the defendant had the

opportunity to consult with his attorney if he should file a

motion to have the second Juror removed from the jury for cause

and the Defendant chose not to file a motion for removal (T, III,

358). Furthermore, both jury members which the defendant has

called into question testified before the trial judge that prior

relationships would not unpair their ability to be impartial to the

Defendant in this case Therefore, the Defendant's arguments are

without merit and he is not entitled to relief on this issue

Issue Three

INTRODUCTION OF COLOR PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE

HOMOCIDE VICTIM

The law with regard to the admission of photographs is

well settled. The admission of photographs into evidence of

corpses of homicide victims is a matter addressed to the sound

discretion of the trial judge, so long as such photographs are not

offered with sole intention of inflaming the jury. People v /'uzi,

116 Mich. App. 277 (1982), People v Hall, 83 Mich App. 632

(1978). Specifically, the Michigan Court of Appeals has held that

photographs of homicide victims are admissible if helpful in

illuminating any material point initssue People v Champion, 452

Mich 92 (1980); People v Bergin, 63 Mich. App. 526 (1969);

People v Rogers, 248 Mich. App 702 (1968) The trial court

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-15

must determine whether the pictures are "substantially necessary

or instructive to show material facts or conditions", or whether

they are merely "calculated to excite passion and prejudice '

People v Falkner, 389 Mich. 682 (1973)

Defendant's argument that the photos of the victim were

of no significance to the case and were used for the sole purpose

to inflame is incorrect. In a criminal case, the burden in upon the

People to prove every element of the crime charged While the

pictures of the victim shown are not by any means pleasant, the

photographs showed the victim as she was found and at various

stages of the autopsy. The pictures depict the corpus delicti

Specifically the photographs were relevant to the issue of

premedication (sic) and cause of death People v full-wood, 51

Mich App. 476 (1974), Therefore the Trial Judge did not abuse

her discretion in either her decision to admit the photographs or

in the manner in which they were displayed. People v Nard, 78

Mich App 365(1977)

[his Court has reviewed and finds no ment

Defendant's claim that the introduction of

color photograph of the homicide victim was

by the trial court

issue Three

EXPERT TESTIMONY

Defendant argues that the trial court committed reversible

error in allowing expert testimony under M.R.E. 702. This, issuc

alleges grounds for relicf which were decided against the

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

Defendant in a prior appeal, and there has been no retroactive

change in the law that would undermine the previous decision

People v_ Kreddie Nash, unpublished opinion of the Michigan

Court of Appeals, decided September 15, 2005 (Docket No

255874) Therefore, the Defendant ts not entitled to relief on this

issue pursuant to M C R. 6 508(D)(2)

Issue Four

PROSECUTION FAILED TO COMPLY WITH THE RULES

OF DISCOVERY

Defendant argues that the Prosecutor violated discovery

rules by not providing the defense with witness testimony. that

Defendant’s voice and cellular phone ring tone were identical to

those she heard the might the victim was murdered

Defendant's argument is misguided This information was

available to the Defendant and counsel during trial, 1s not new

evidence, and its exculpatory value 1s speculative at best. "There

Is nO general constitutional ripht to discovery in a criminal case."

People v klston, 462 Mich. 751, 765 (2000). Moreover, due

process requires only that the prosecution provide a defendant

with material, exculpatory evidence 1n its possession. People

Stanaway, 446 Mich 643, 666 (1994). Upon examination of the

record, it is clear that the Defendant was given the opportunity

to probe the witness evidence for authenticity and accuracy

before and during trial Therefore, this Court finds no plain error

affecting the substantial rights of the Defendant on this issue

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/200¢% A-17

Issue Five

PROSKECUTORIAL MISCONDUCT

Defendant claims that the prosecutor miuscharacterized

events by introducing testimony from a Priend of the Court

Ienforcement Spccialist witness The witness testified that thr

Defendant had become angry and animated during their prior

discussion regarding child support and that the issue had not been

victims’ death. Defendant arvues that

resolved at the time of the

this testimony was a muisreprescntation of fact in the

prosecution's attempt to establish a motive of the crime

Dclendant’s arguments are without merit. Im the cause at

bar, the statements of the prosecutor and the witness testimony

of the [:nforcement Specialist were not character evidence

Character evidence includes evidence of other crimes, acts of

vronps People \ Starr, 457 Miel 490 +9) (LOOK). Phe

prosecutor im this case was using the testimony of the

enforcement Specialist to establish motive for the crime, not to

show propensity to commit a crime tividence that has any

bearing on the intent or motive with which a crime was

committed is admissible so long as it is within sate bounds of

relevance. People v Jones, 293 Mich 409 (1940), People 1

Weatherspoon 6 Mich \pp. 233, (1967). Under the Michigan

Rules of I'vidence, M.R.. 404 provides in relevant part, “(a)

Character evidence penerally. beviden oF @ person's character oF

a trait of character is not admissible tor the purpose of proving

action in conformity therewith on a particular occasion.” The

evidence in this case was no cd lor the purpose of proving

acts in conformity therewith. It was used to show Detendant’s

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

motive in committing the instant offense Additionally, the

evidence was not evidence of other crimes, acts, or wrong doings

Even if it were such evidence, it was used to show motive

permissible use under M R E. 404(b)

Furthermore, evidence of a financial condition

admissible to show motive in the

circumstances of a particular case

Mich. App. 826 (1986).

It is obvious in this case that the prosecution used

witness testimony to establish motive, and not to establish the

defendants character Therefore, this Court finds no plain errot

affecting the substantial rights of the Defendant on this issue

Issue Six

INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF TRIAL COUNSEI

Defendant claims that his trial counsel was ineffective 1

failing to file for change of venue Two approaches have been

used to determine if the defendant was entitled to

venue "(1) when there has been found where there was extensive

highly inflammatory pretrial publicity that saturated the

community to such an extent thi

tainted, and, much more infrequently, (2) community bias

been implied from a high percentage of the venire who admit

disqualifying prejudice " / Jendrzejewski, 455 Mich

(1997). Defendant argues that a change

warranted based on pretrial publicity; however,

pretrial publicity alone does not necessitate a change of

at 502. In determining whether a defendant has been deprived

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-19

fair trial by virtue of pretrial publicity, the reviewing court must

consider the totality of the circumstances and determine whether

the pretrial publicity was so unrelenting and prejudicial that "the

entire community 1s presumed both exposed to the publicity and

prejudiced by it." Jd at 501-502.

On appeal Defendant asserts that there were reports in

the newspapers and local television programs In People v

Delisle, 202 Mich App 658 (1993), the Michigan Court of

Appeals rejected the defendant's argument that the trial court

erred in denying his motion for a change in venue based on

pretrial publicity when there were more then 100 newspaper

articles published over a period often months about the case

| he | de Lisle C ourl concluded

relevant question 1s whether the circumstances surrounding the

+

fair trial b

publicity rendered the possibility of receiving a by an

impartial panel unlikely.

After examining the record of the entire voir dire, this

Court has determined that a impartial jury was tmpaneled in this

case There was sequestered questioning of potential jurors

regarding their previous knowledge about the case and their

ability to remain unbiased. While it may be some minimal cause

for concern that some of the members of the venire were at least

familiar with the basic facts of the case, it is not required that the

jurors be totally ignorant of the facts and issues involved "In

these days of swift, widespread and diverse methods of

communication, an important case can be expected to arouse

Trial Court

SCI \

opinion

mere existence ¢

or innocent of an accused

presumption of a prospect

establish an impossible star

‘sented in court

irt finds 1

. ‘ | |

dad aCludi

demes defendant's

failure

Trial Court Opinion & Order

12/29)

29/2008

or

IONS pPecrdalMny to ineliec

ud by the tri

) 1}

AP OU

ch allegations

In cases such as

1. review ts limited

erv

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008

called a child witness expert is one of trial strategy, and this does

not amount to ineffective

+h,

if}

assistance Therefore, this Court finds no plain error affecting t

substantial mghts of the Defendant on this issue

issue Seven

CUMULATIVE EFFECT OF ERRORS AT TRIAI

this Court finds no merit to any of the Defendant's

claims regarding impropriety at his trial, therefore, it is not

necessary consider the cumulative effect of errors, as no errors

have been shown

Issue Eight

DEPRIVATION OF EFFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF

COUNSEL ON DIRECT APPEAL

Defendant argues that his appellate counsel was

ineffective in failing to issues in his first appeal of right

"Effective assistance of counsel does not require counsel to raise

every arguably meritorious issue on appeal, requiring appellate

counsel to raise every arguable claim would impair independence

of the legal profession, destabilize finality of judgments, and

exponentially increase burdens on appellate counsel" People

Reed, 449 Mich 375, 379 (1995). In order to establish ineffective

assistance of appellate counsel, "the movant must establish

ineffective assistance of counsel pursuant to the standard

Strickland v Washington" Id at 382. Under Strickland, the

defendant must satisfy a two-pronged test of both cause and

prejudice lo show cause, the Defendant must show that counsel

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2008 A-23

nade errors so sel that counse not functioning

‘counsel’ guaranteed the defendant by the Sixth Amendment "

Strickland v Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)

As stated above, there are no grounds tor relief wher

appellate counsel did not raise every arguably meritorious issue

Because this Court finds no merit to any of the issues presented

appellate counsel failed to

on this motion, tt can not be said that ay

meritorious issues. Defendant has not sh he requisite cé

] ‘ | i. nm ttanrte > s scot = . . ’ »| +} re “>

needed to establish ineffective assistance of counsel: therefore.

there is no need to address prejudice Based on the foregoing, this

the

Court finds no plain error affecting the substantial nights of

Defendant on this issue

ORDER

rTHEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

Detendant's Motion

DENTED.

In compliance with

that this decision

Trial Court Opinion & Order 12/29/2908

{

L212 \\A/PR

Port y

> |

aS

| *

on

j

;

j

IMA

ri 4 VIAAYS

Michigan Court of Appeals Order 3/12/2010

Appeals, State of Michigan

ORDER

Donald Gibson

People of MI \ I reddie Nash. Presiding Judge

Docket No. 295819 William C Whitbeck

LC No 03-001003-F(¢ Alton T

he Court orders the delayed application for leave to

appeal is DENIED for failure to meet the burden of establishing

entitlement to relief under M C.R. 6.508(D)

true copy entered and certified by Sandra

Schultz Mengel, Chief Clerk, on March 12, 2010

s/ Sandra Schultz Mengel

Michigan Supreme Court Order 10/26/16

Order Michigan Supreme Court

October 26, 2 Lansing, Michigan

140950 Clifford W Taylor

Chief Justice

Michael F. Cavanagh

PEOPLE OF THE Ehzabeth A. Weaver

STATE OF MICHIGAN, Marilyn Kelly

Plaintiff-A ppellant, Maura D. Corrigan

Robert P Young, Jr

Stephen J Markman

Justices

FREDDIE TRAIL NASH, SC: 140950

COA: 295819

Defendant-A ppellee Ingham CC: 03-001003-FC

On order of the Court, the application for leave to appeal

the March 12, 2010 order of the Court of Appeals 1s considered,

and it is DENIED, because the defendant has failed to meet the

burden of establishing entitlement to relief under M.C.R

6.508(D)

DAVIS, J, not participating I recuse myself and am not

participating because I was on the Court of Appeals panel in this

case See M.C R. 2.003(B).

[SEAL ]

I, CORBIN R DAVIS, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme Court,

certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of the order

entered at the direction of Court.

October 26, 2010 /s/ Corbin R. Davis

Clerk

'

Newspaper Articles

A-27

Woman's ex- husband faces murder trial April 19

alg cess gy ci yg ase

mom. If was

because when | heard ‘thar my

mom died my heart shattered.”

The handwritten letter is worn

from the dozens of times Ra‘eesa

Cannon of Lansi

and unfolded ut in the past year.

Putting her feelings on paper

ts one way 12-year-old Ra'eesa

auggn vides maober’s deb.

“My mom was Intelligent and

was a beautiful woman working

on her Master's degree and a wor-

dcrful mother that no one can re-

place.”

Teresa Nash, H, was shot to

death ocar her Risdale Avenue

home in Lansing in February

7003.

She tcft behind six children,

ike tosing my heart $e!

has folded }

daughter, S%yrarold Mmogenc

‘Thomas, suddenly found herscif

raising another generation

Through prayer acd love, the

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

fulltime General Motors Corp.

worker holds the family rogether.

Nash's ex-husband, Freddie

Nash, {s charged with murder and

is sct to go to tru) April 19.

" -§

Ss Fastin s,

a

Newspaper Articles

Priday Y- U3 ~0t

| ‘She said she'd

be right back,

‘id testifies of

slain mother

' Daughter heard shots after mom left,

' says murder suspect at house earlier

By Keay Hassett se trial

Lonsiog Sime Journal » The trial for Freddie Mash, 26,

“She said she’d be right

back.”

} neni from her mother,

' Teresa Nash, hoars defose

} she was fatal-

"i pe ne

Newspaper Articles

‘Trial: Girl

says she

tried to

call mom

Coerreup Prom 1A

and Freddie Nash in the

downstairs living room of Teresa

Nash's Risdale Aveouc home.

That was elther late Feb 8 or

carty Feb. 9, she

testified.

"He was talking

about hefw sorry he

was and how pruch

moro responsible

he should have

been,” Ra'eesa said

in a soft but strady

voice.

‘polat woke up when Teresa Nash

came upstaira, grabbed ber car

keys and told Ra’ecsa she'd be

the Jury she {cll back

didn't stir unl)

in the strect.

wasn't there when

up that next morn-

told the jury she looked

TERETE

. ob a RS

frie! agEk

SE

R22

no answer,

At about th¢ same time, police

found the body of Teresa Nash at

Richmoaod Sucet and Mary Ave- «.

ouc, a few blocks from her bore.

She was shat [n the beac

Newspaper Articles

TUNES SNC EO OHO answer.

Al about the same Ume, police

found the bedy of Tercsa Nash at

Richmond Saect and Mary /Ave- -

nue, a few blocks froin ber home.

She was shot lo the head

Joseph Brehler, Freddic Nash's

attorney, asked Ra’eesa if she had

talked many tunes with Preddic

Nash esther before or after he

lived with her and her mother for

less than two wecks in 2000.

_a@m Ra'cesa testified that she didn’t

know Preddie Nash before he

moved fn with them In 2000 and

that she'd barcly

talked with him

die Nash laughing

during thelr con-

versation that night before her

mother dicd. She answered yes.

—~ After her testimony Ra’eesa sat

with her grandmother, I'mogrene

thomas, who wra her arm

around the child’s 3 ers and

pulled ber close. Ra'ecsa and

three of ber siblings now live wiih

Thomas, Teresa Nash's mothec

Freddie and Teresa Nash had

an ongoing custody dispute and -

were In court for 2, hearing

about a week before Teresa Nash

was Killed, Tarra Muhammad, an

advocate with Ingham County's

Frend of the Court, testified

Thursday.

The trial conthrues today .at

8:30 am. in Ingham County Cir

cvit Court

‘Contact Kelly Hasse at

267-1301 or khassett@ysj.com

Jl

Newspaper Articles

woh}

pusg NOO'OOES § 90

ite{ AQunOD weydul Of F 8H

Deisacos jt Lost O] SR 02

dn 822; 97 GSEN aIDPodd

peag

Ur OGS SEA WYS “sCY INTs

-A¥ HEDSTY Fey Wo HPoS

a2) B snl SNTIAy Ase pat

ANS PLCTAPY 1 Puno;

ynes 1S

Kune) weydul uf AsosueR

SanuQued WY) §,4sEN apps, ¢

jXou SJEUM

——— ~ -

sem Apog SUTIN WS4L

Aadwe ing BuTuuTu — aod

Sq ¥ wuss powurTe ANS

Ue as ay POLAR) WEQnH

pies 3g , BuTm00Us

2g) says 24% BurwuTs

sU02WOS MBS | MOTH 3270S

y2{ 0) SFOOPINO >A |.

snoacy Liew on SuycuT

CRU 8 Tem PGS NOY aus TU

ARS DUS "POUT SF) B48 “S20U8

JU) PIBId JUS IIe MOPTIA |

WOaIpIg Jay IMO PeyxOd}

pos dn pedumi eso ‘£007

‘6 qeg DO Weg Jaye isnf

3Mod <¢,UOSIITIIN-FN

an fapansg aSpn{ ut Aep

SVL POUDSe) SeBFETIIA Of

Std] IW “USEN esAal 20UF

USEN 2IPpsig IP peivsp

sty ayy ‘SIUsuIeINIs BuTUZdO

sty Pavjem ‘AsIOUE KYSEN

ippag Feyesg Yydero{

“pres ot

_Palfty FB sus AHA PUT

Ddat] BS2IaL asaya CAE SN

Anaexe woy — s7e> Surprm

$1 UEDUsjep ap ‘TepnWw

au) jo aur) aq: w RAN.

3U306 2) 18 GSEN

aTppay said wp spioses

auoud (12> Uo souspiAa TRG

prom Aat) sivaieies $y

-uado my UT som! pjos MWS

WES JOINIPOg HEISE W

‘~Wisap say 01 perp

Ff OGM “YSEN aippaid “PUIG

-SNY-X2 SYSEN JO) [EIN 9

or Agpsony ours Agow)

-$2) 3,2Q/0H PUB aflom

Tapyiye x8

jO s2ypOu! uWUBord 8 “UTIN

Esasal pajimy iyp srousuns

— 19305 mM Woy Os

wwnS 2q 0) ino pawTy Fut

Wow rep dass wos) Tsp

$a) walls POUR TY apo

poe wath pesmos IRL

‘TWOOE pro eof

prac usging sesnog

FUOUUH FHT] PEMUNCS "BOOT

‘6 Gag Apes syEE SHO EP

IES pou! wtp a0 2G

RLY 2S PER)

LUSSY} ATI “E

guaas Je wiy 3nd

sj20 auoyd [|29

SABS JOMNISSOS 4

[Rap SURWOM UT SUISaq [BL} S puRqsny xy

———

Newspaper Articles

Ex-husband

charged in

‘slaying of

mother of 6

Police believe

man, 26, shot

his former wife

i

rt

ibigeste

What's next

Freddbe Trail Nash, 26,5

scheduled to be arraigned thes

morung in Lansing Disirict Court

on 3 murder charge in the Feb. 9

shooting of his eewile, Jereca

Mash, 34

4ycrae, 2 fer blocks from

ber home.

Police dogs traced the

lailer’s scent to the 1300

Nock of Pherce Road,

where police beliewe a driv

er — who likely knew noth

ing adour the come —

picked up Freddic Nash

Teresa Nash's children

range in age from | to 18

and she wag five months

ATE OF COMPLIANC]

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.