Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Recall '92, Inc. v. Edwards

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No.

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

RECALL ’92, INC., et all.

Petitioners

versus

EDWIN W. EDWARDS,

Governor of the State of Louisiana, et al.

Respondents

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeais for the Fifth Circuit

Tracy S. Pickerell *

709 Napoleon Street

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

(504) 343-0411

Theodor A. Schirmer

32200 Mulholland Hwy.

Malibu, California 90265

(818) 889-1385

Katherine Wheeler

412 North 4th Street, Suite 200

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

(504) 338-0306

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

—— a —ee.)hUOCO

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does the free speech clause of the First Amendment

permit Louisiana to prohibit all political speech within a

radius of 600 feet from the entrances to polling places on

election and absentee voting days, including political speech

not related to any candidate or proposition on the ballot,

such as the solicitation of signatures on a recall petition and

the wearing of t-shirts or buttons and display of signs

publicizing the recall effort.

Page 1.

ie |

LIST OF PARTIES TO THIS PROCEEDING

The following parties, plaintiffs and appellants in the

proceedings below,’ are petitioners in this proceeding for

writ of certiorari:

Recall ’92, Inc.

Shelley E. Corrington

Stephen Lindsley

Cheryl Lee Hensley

Rose S. Wheeler

The following parties, defendants and appellees in

the proceedings below, are respondents in this proceeding

for writ of certiorari:

Edwin W. Edwards, Governor of Louisiana

Richard P. Ieyoub, Attorney General of Louisiana

W. Fox McKeithen, Secretary of State of Louisiana

- ett A aA Es

' Theodor A. Schirmer and Dr. Wilmer F. West, plaintiffs in the

original proceedings in the District Court, have withdrew as parties.

; Page ii.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........ i

LIST OF PARTIES TO THIS PROCEEDING ...... li

pp ee yy Fe iil

pp ay ey |. Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ........ l

Ee l

A Oe ee ae eee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............. 2

Dereemenewe Ge BPS CASS . 0 wc tec cee ee 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT .......... 14

rk ns on 0 4 0 24

EEN a 25

A. Constitutional and Statutory Provisions ..... la

parm Amendment... ... 0.0 csees la

Fourteenth Amendment .......... la

se a re la

Page iii.

ica

B. Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of

RE a ce eee Mae eee eee eS 3a

nd Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal,

Granting Injunction Pending Appeal ...... 20a

D. Order of the U.S. Supreme Court Denying

Stay of Injunction Pending Appeal ....... 32a

E. Louisiana Supreme Court Answer to Certified

Question from Fifth Circuit Court of

MO bl eca eas ened 8 ee ee ee 33a

F. Judgment of the U.S. District Court, Middle

ee Ge Bh 6 bk ss se cee ee 37a

G. Opinion of the U.S. District Court, Middle

eens Gr EI, sa oe oo oe ae ee 38a

H. Transcript of Ruling on Hearings on Motion

to Quash, State of Louisiana v. Theodore A,

Schirmer, Louisiana 19th Judicial District

Court, Docket No. 5-93-133 .......... 56a

a RE AB <A alec eg es

Page iv.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. Constitution, First Amendment ........ passim.

U.S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment ........ 2

Oe Way © CE 5k os bo oo ok a eee. 2

Mens MUCOEEE 0.5 6 oo 55d bs ook eee ee passim.

LSA-R.S. 18:1300.1, ef seq. 2... ec eee 5

WG TENE 8 8s a ee eee. 22

hay: Ge PN EE kon eee ea eee ee 6

Boos v. Barry, __ U.S. __, 108 S.Ct 1157

See Pe re ee Pee Mote ke 17

Burson v. Freeman, __ U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct. 1846,

Poem ET ee ee passim.

Calchera v. Procarione, 805 F.Supp. 716 (E.D.Wis.

PE Seine ter eet eee 7, 15

WE 06% 0044 eee 18

City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 107 S.Ct.

SPR COME 06 050 64686 Ce 18

Clean-Up ’84 v. Heinrich, 759 F.2d 1511 (11th Cir.

ne EEE ETS Pee ee 15, 23, 24

Daily Herald Company v. Munro, 838 F.2d 380 (9th

i TO ke eee pes eee 17, 18

ae

Florida Committee For Liability Reform v.

McMillan, 682 F.Supp. 1536 (M.D. Fla.,

Pre are ice rarer ir ae ee 17

Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214, 86 S.Ct. 1434, 16

ee Ff oft.) eee eee re eee 17

NBC v. Cleland, 697 F.Supp 1204 (N.D. Ga.,

Nog ibe, 6 oo oe a e 17, 18

United States v. Grace, 461 U.S. 171, 103 S.Ct.

PRUNE ‘+. 9-4 80-4 ae ee ee eae 21

Si Me ORE «5 5:6.4-6 6.6.6 :4ee eee 7

a ee 7

i ch a ED. 4 6 4s 0-0-0 oo oe eee 8

Note, "Defoliating the Grassroots: Election Day

Restrictions on _ Political Speech," 77

Georgetown L.J, 2137 (1989) ........ 7, 18

Page vi.

No.

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

RECALL ’92, INC., et al.

Petitioners

versus

EDWIN W. EDWARDS, et al.

Respondents

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioners urge that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit, which affirmed a decision of the

United States District Court for the Middle District of

Louisiana, dismissing petitioners’ challenge, on First

Amendment grounds, to a Louisiana statute which prohibits

non-ballot as well as ballot-related political speech within a

600 foot radius of the entrances to polling places on election

and absentee voting days in Louisiana.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit is reported at 2 F.3d 117 and reprinted

at Appendix B to this petition for certiorari. The judgment

Page 1.

and opinion of the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Louisiana are unreported. They are

reprinted at Appendices F and G, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals rendered its decision on

September 17, 1993. Petitioners invoke the jurisdiction of

this Court under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The following constitutional and statutory provisions

involved in this case are reprinted in full at Appendix A:

ni nstituti

U.S. Constitution, First Amendment (1791):

Congress shall make no law . . . abridging the

freedom of speech, .. .

U.S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment (1868):

Section 1. . . . No state shall make or enforce any

law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall any state deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

Page 2.

a.

NN koe coe SRNR nes Loe

Louisiana Revised §

LSA-R.S. 18:1462

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law,

it shall be unlawful for any person, between the hours of

6:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. to perform or cause to be

performed any of the following acts within any polling place

being used in an election on election day or within any place

wherein absentee voting is being conducted, or wherein

absentee voting is being conducted, or within a radius of six

hundred feet of the entrance to any polling place being used

in an election on election day or any place wherein absentee

voting is being conducted:

(1) To solicit in any manner or by any means

whatsoever any other person to vote for or against

any candidate or proposition being voted on in such

election.

(2) | To remain within any such polling place or

place wherein absentee voting is being conducted or

within a radius of six hundred feet of the entrance of

any such polling place, except when exercising the

right to vote, after having been directed, in writing,

by an election commissioner or law enforcement

officer to leave the premises or area of a polling

place or after having been directed, in writing, by a

registrar or deputy registrar to leave the place

wherein absentee voting is being conducted.

(3) To hand out, place, or display campaign

cards, pictures, or other campaign literature of any

kind or description whatsoever.

Page 3.

(4) To place or display political signs, pictures,

or other forms of political advertising.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves a First Amendment challenge to

a Louisiana statute, LSA-R.S. 18:1462, which has been

interpreted to prohibit all political speech, including political

speech unrelated to any candidate or proposition on the

ballot, within a 600 foot radius of the entrances to polling

places on election and absentee voting days in Louisiana.

Petitioners are asking the Court to address two

questions left unanswered in its recent decision in Burson v,

Freeman, --- U.S. ---, 112 S.Ct. 1846, 119 L.Ed.2d 5

(1992): (1) whether, consistent with the First Amendment,

a state can proscribe non-ballot related political speech in

areas Outside polling places on election days, and (2) at what

measurable distance from the polls does the government’s

restriction of political speech become an impermissible

burden on First Amendment rights.

Facts

The petitioners are a group of Louisiana votes who

are’ organizers and members of an incorporated political

organization called Recall ’92, Inc. The respondents, the

Governor, Attorney General and Secretary of State of

Louisiana in their official capacities, are the state’s primary

officials charged with the conduct of elections and the

enforcement of election laws.

At the time this litigation began the principal

objective of the Recall "92 group was to recall Louisiana

Governor Edwin Edwards. In pursuit of their goal,

supporters of Recall ’92 sought to coliect, in the vicinity of

polling places on the primary and general election days of

Page 4.

October 3 and November 3, 1992, Signatures on petitions

for a recall election of the governor.

Louisiana has adopted very onerous and exacting

requirements for conducting a successful recall petition

campaign.' It is necessary to obtain the signatures within a

period of 180 days of at least one-third of the total of

registered voters in the affected voting area, in the case of

a statewide official such as the Governor, ap roximately

750,000 signatures. The recall law requires that voters

executing recall petitions sign their names exactly as their

names appear on the voter registration rolls and identify

their voting ward, precinct, district number and residential

address exactly as they appear on the official rolls.

These requirements make collecting signatures at

polling places an extremely efficient and effective means of

assuring that voters who wish to sign a recall petition have

ready access to the precise information required for a valid

Signature on a recall petition, thus minimizing the risk of

error regarding official registration information by voters

Signing the petition. Additionally, collection of recall

petition signatures at the polls dramatically reduces the cost

and manpower requirements necessary for a grassroots

Organization such as Recall ’92 to comply with the strict

time limit imposed for collecting sufficient valid signatures

to invoke a recall election. Coilecting signatures at the polls

also provides optimal access to registered voters generally

and those voters most likely to vote or be interested in

signing a recall petition.

LSA-R.S. 18:1462, the statute in question in this

case, establishes a “campaign-free" zone emanating a radius

of 600 feet from the entrance to each polling place in

Louisiana on election and absentee voting days.

This statute was interpreted by the Louisiana

Supreme Court to apply to and prohibit recall petition

' LSA-R.S. 18:1300.1, et seq.

Page 5.

Signature solicitation by petitioners and the wearing of t-

shirts and buttons and the displaying of signs publicizing the

recall effort,? even though neither the recall nor Governor

Edwards was on the October and November, 1992 ballots

and petitioners’ activities were not related to any candidate

or proposition being voted on at the polls. LSA-R.S.

18:1462 is a criminal statute which imposes a misdemeanor

penalty for the first offense and a felony penalty of a fine of

up to $1000 or imprisonment of up to one year or both for

the second and any succeeding offense.

The history of Louisiana voting and election

regulations reveals that around the turn of the century,

Louisiana, like other states, adopted election laws providing

for official ballots and privacy in voting. At that time, some

states also adopted prohibitions against campaigning and

electioneering activity within specified areas surrounding

polling places. However, Louisiana’s establishment of a

“campaign-free" zone around polling places is of relatively

recent vintage, having been initially set at a 300 foot radius

in 1960.’ These provisions were eventually incorporated

into LSA-R.S. 18:1462, which was amended in 1980 to

increase the distance from a 300 foot radius from the

entrances to polling places to a 600 foot radius. There is no

legislative history, legislative committee reports or findings

of-any study or research to explain or justify the

amendment.

All but one of the fifty states presently impose some

prohibition against electioneering activity within specified

distances from polling places, with distances ranging from

a 10 foot corridor in New Hampshire and Pennsylvania to

? Schirmer, et al. v. Edwards, et al., Louisiana Supreme Court, No.

92-CQ-2829 (1992), reproduced as Appendix E, page 33a.

3 La. Acts 1960, No. 221.

Page 6.

a 1,000 foot radius area in Hawaii.* Louisiana’s 600 foot

radius campaign-free zone is the second largest of all the

fifty states. Only two other states besides Hawaii and

Louisiana have established political speech restricted zones

in excess of 300 feet. Kentucky and Wisconsin have 500

foot restricted zones.° Thirty-eight states have established

campaign-free zones of 250 feet or less. Twenty-five of

these states have zones of 100 feet or less.°

Prior to October 1, 1992, two opinions had been

issued by Louisiana’s attorney general authorizing the

collection, within the six hundred foot radius zone

surrounding polling places, of signatures on petitions such

as those sought to be circulated by petitioners. According

to these early attorney general opinions, “the Louisiana

Election Code does not specifically prohibit citizens from

soliciting signatures for a petition” which is not on the

ballot.’ Additionally, in the past, individuals involved in

several petition drive efforts had been permitted to collect

Signatures at or immediately outside polls unimpeded by

election officials. Prior to October 1, in anticipation of the

upcoming October 3rd and November 3rd elections,

Theodor A. Schirmer, one of the organizers of the Recall

’92 petition drive, had worked out arrangements with local

* See Appendix to Note, “Defoliating the Grassroots: Election Day

Restrictions on Political Speech," 77 Georgetown L.J. 2137 (1989).

> Wisconsin’s 500 foot restricted zone was recently declared

unconstitutional in Calchera v. Procarione, 805 F.Supp. 716 (E.D. Wis.

1992).

© See Note, “Defoliating the Grassroots: Election Day Restrictions on

Political Speech," supra. at 2146-47, 2196-2200.

7 La. A.G. Opinions 91-597 and 92-650. Louisiana’s legislature met

after the first attorney general opinion and made no effort to correct such

interpretation.

Page 7.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana election officials establishing

ground rules for setting up tables and collecting signatures

in the immediate vicinity of polling places in East Baton

Rouge Parish.

Despite this precedent for benign treatment of

petition signature collection activity around polling places,

on October 1, 1992, state officials, including the secretary

of state and the attorney general, notified all local clerks of

court of the sixty-four Louisiana parishes and the election

commissioners working for them of a newly imposed

requirement prohibiting the petition activities of Recall ’92

volunteers within the six hundred foot radius zones

surrounding the polling places.

On October 1, 1992, two days before the October

3rd primary, the Louisiana attorney general issued a third

opinion on the subject, reversing the two previously issued

opinions which authorized such activity, and concluding for

the first time that the 600 foot restriction applies to petition

activities. ®

On October 3, 1992, a primary election was

conducted in Louisiana and the ballots in the various

parishes included candidates for public office and

propositions submitted to the voters, none of which had any

relation to the Recall °92 effort or involved Governor

Edwards. At various locations throughout the state, some

of the plaintiffs were ordered to leave areas within six

hundred feet of the polling places where they were

attempting to collect signatures on their recall petitions. In

addition, several of them were either denied the opportunity

to vote, required to remove buttons or t-shirts in order to be

allowed to vote or were permitted to vote only after initial

refusal for wearing t-shirts with the Recall ’92 logo on

them.

® La. A.G. Opinion 92-650(A).

Page 8.

Despite these activities and restrictions directed at

petitioners and other Recall °92 volunteers, other

individuals, unrelated to Recall °92, wearing campaign or

political advertisements in the form of buttons, t-shirts and

hats, were not similarly treated or prevented from voting

and, at certain poll locations in the state, even campaign

signs of individuals whose names were on the October 3rd

election ballot were permitted within the six hundred foot

radius.

r in | n | Pr in

After the October 3rd primary, petitioners filed suit

in U.S. District Court in the Middle District of Louisiana

seeking to have LSA-R.S. 18:1462 declared unconstitutional

and injunctive relief from the enforcement of this

Statute against them during the November 3rd general

election and on subsequent election days. On October 19

and 20, 1992, the district court conducted a two-day trial on

the constitutionality of the statute and petitioners’ request for

both preliminary and permanent injunctions.

During the trial, in addition to the above facts,

petitioners presented video tape and testimonial evidence

showing that a 600 foot radius from the entrance to the

polling places, an area encompassing approximately

1,130,000 square feet or almost 26 (25.95) acres around

each polling place, typically includes a number of streets,

public sidewalks, sometimes vast areas of public parks and

other areas of public property traditionally and typically

open and available for generally unrestricted use by the

public. In numerous polling locations, the 600 foot

parameter was beyond view and in some instances blocks

away from the entrance to the poll.

Plaintiffs also presented evidence showing that recall

and other petition drives unrelated to any candidate or

matters on the ballot had historically been conducted in

Page 9.

Louisiana at or in the close vicinity of polling places without

any complaints of interference with the voting taking place

at the polls.

In contrast, the only evidence presented by

defendants was anecdotal evidence by several state officials

of the need to have the 600 foot campaign-free zone in order

to prevent harassment, intimidation and interference with

voters. Respondents did not present any concrete evidence

to support the asserted proposition that in order to prevent

intimidation, harassment or interference with voters, it is

necessary to extend the campaign-free zone over such a

large area as is encompassed within the 600 foot radius or

that it is necessary to enforce it against persons soliciting

petition signatures unrelated to any matter on the ballot.

The Louisiana legislator who authored the

amendment extending the restricted zone from 300 to 600

feet testified that the extension was intended é*. substantially

reduce the utility, and hence the use, of vo.uwier and paid

campaign workers ("poll workers") to contac. and attempt

to influence voters one last time on their way to the polls.

According to this legislator:

"If we could do away with the poll workers

it would save the candidates in our area of

the state a great deal of money because if one |

candidate had poll workers then the other

candidate felt like he had to have poll

workers."

The legislator testified that extending the restricted zone to

a 600 foot radius was completely successful in making it

impossible for poll workers to effectively contact voters on

their way to the polls.? He also admitted that that statute

9 "So from my personal perspective, we don’t have poll workers at

(continued...)

Page 10.

ee |

was never originally intended to address political activities

on election days other than as relate to candidates and issues

on the ballot at the polls.'°

Another legislative sponsor of the 600 foot radius

zone amendment confirmed that the purpose of the statute

was to completely curtail the activities of poll workers and

to isolate voters from last minute efforts to influence their

votes. '!

At the conclusion of the trial, the district court

denied petitioners’ requested declaratory and injunctive relief

and ruled that LSA-R.S. 18:1462 is constitutional under this

Court’s decision in Burson. The court determined that

Section 1462 creates a constitutionally permissible

campaign-free zone around polling areas and applies to all

political issues and parties, whether or not they are on the

ballot.

Petitioners appealed to the Sth Circuit and in the

interim sought injunctive relief pending appeal. The district

court denied relief. A panel of the Sth Circuit certified to

the Louisiana Supreme Court the question of the

applicability of Section 1462 to petitioners’ non-ballot

% .. continued)

election precincts anymore. That was the real purpose of the legislation

and it has generally achieved that objective."

10 "I don’t recall specifically any discussion of anything other than the

actual people being at the polls for and on behalf of a candidate or an

issue to be voted upon."

;, "...minety-five percent of the time ... when people leave their houses,

they’ve made up their minds on who they’re going to vote for or what

issue they are going to vote for or against and that’s the way it ought to

be. And, I think that it would be good that if on election day people had

the time to consider all of the issues, consider all of the paraphernalia

that’s been handed out, all the campaign rhetoric, and to make up their

minds in a logical way and not have last minute efforts to change their

minds."

Page 11.

related activity. After the Louisiana Supreme Court ruled

that Section 1462 applied to such activity,'? the panel

granted an injunction pending appeal, which injunction

allowed the petitioners and other Recall ’92 supporters to

solicit recall petition signatures at a distance as close as 100

feet to the entrances to polling places during the November

3, 1992 general election and a subsequent special election

held in some parts of the state." The panel suggested that

the 600 foot limit might be unconstitutional under Burson.

While the appeal of this case was pending in the Sth

Circuit, one of the original plaintiffs and Recall °92

organizers, Ted Schirmer, sought to quash a state criminal

charge against him for soliciting recall petition signatures

within the 600 foot radius zone.

In the state court hearing on his motion to quash,

some of the same public officials who testified in this case

were called to testify. Since the state court hearing occurred

on July 19, 1993, after the November 3, 1992 general

election and the subsequent special elections during which

petitioners were permitted, under the Sth Circuit’s injunction

pending appeal, to solicit signatures as close as 100 feet to

the entrances to polling places, these officials were asked

whether petitioners’ activities, at 100 feet from polling place

entrances, caused any problems of interference with or

harassment of voters. Their answers, that petition

solicitation as close as 100 foot to the entrances to the polls

did not cause any problems of voter interference or

harassment, provide empirical evidence that a restriction of

no more than 100 feet around the entrances to polling places

on election days is sufficient to prevent any voter

2 See, Appendix E, page 33a.

3 See, Appendix C, page 20a.

Page 12.

ns ae |

interference or harassment by solicitors of petition

signatures. "4

In that companion state criminal case, the state trial

court made the following findings:

"The testimony that has been presented of course

indicates that the officials charged with enforcing

these limits apparently have to wrestle with them

every election. But I really didn’t hear anything that

they have a problem with--that they had a problem

with at 100 feet which was the limit in November

that would not have also been a problem at 600 feet.

That was the reason for my question to Mr. Fowler

whether the 100-foot limit which the state was forced

to use in November presented an problems--or any

different problems than they had in prior elections

when the limit was 600 feet. And it was my

appreciation of his testimony that there was no

unique problem, nothing that they wouldn’t have had

the distance been six times greater. . . State of

Louisiana v. Schirmer, Appendix H, page 56a.

The state court judge, citing this Court’s decision in

Burson and the Sth Circuit’s interim decision in this case

granting the injunction pending appeal, held LSA-R.S.

18:1462 unconstitutional on First Amendment grounds."

On September 17, 1993, the Sth Circuit, likewise

citing Burson, reached the Opposite conclusion. The Sth

Circuit affirmed the judgment of the district court in this

case, holding that LSA-R.S. 18:1462 is valid under the First

4 See, Appendix H, page 56a.

See, Appendix H, page 56a. This case is presently pending on

appeal before the Louisiana Supreme Court.

Page 13.

Amendment because Louisiana has a compelling interest in

providing a campaign-free zone around its polls and the 600

foot radius zone is sufficiently narrowly tailored to achieve

the state’s compelling governmental interests. The court

further held that the statute’s application to political speech

of individuals and to the display of buttons, t-shirts and

signs unrelated to candidates or propositions on the ballot

does not render it overbroad.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

In the plurality opinion in Burson, this Court upheld,

against a First Amendment challenge, a 100 foot radius

campaign-free zone around polling places imposed by the

State of Tennessee, on ballot-related political speech. The

Court held that since the Tennessee statute in question

imposed a content-based restriction on political speech in a

public forum, the statute was subject to strict scrutiny. The

Court found that the states have a compelling interest in

protecting voters from confusion and undue influence,

insuring the integrity and reliability of the electoral process

and preventing fraud or duress. Relying on the long history

of election reform and the imposition of political speech

restricted zones around polling places in most of the states

including Tennessee, this Court concluded that some |

restricted area around the polling places on election day is

necessary to serve the states’ compelling interest in

preventing voter intimidation and election fraud.

The real question, according to this Court in Burson,

is how large a restricted zone is permissible in order to meet

the constitutional requirement that the regulation be

necessary to serve the state’s compelling interest and also

sufficiently narrowly tailored to achieve such interest

without unduly impinging constitutionally protected First

Amendment political speech rights.

Page 14.

Ee |

The Court determined that Tennessee’s 100 foot

radius campaign-free zone, typical of the range of campaign-

free zones established by most of the states, fell on the

“constitutional side of the line."

This Court should grant writs to address two

important questions affecting political speech rights left

unanswered in Burson: (1) whether, consistent with the

First Amendment, a state can proscribe nor-ballot related

political speech in areas outside polling places on election

days, and, if it can, (2) at what measurable distance from

the polls does the government’s restriction of political

speech become an impermissible burden on First

Amendment rights.

In addition this Court should grant writs to resolve

a conflict between the Sth Circuit’s decision in this case and

the 11th Circuit’s decision in Clean-Up ’84 v, Heinrich, 759

F.2d 1511 (11th Cir. 1985), which held that Florida’s 300

foot campaign-free zone, half the distance of Louisiana’s,

was unconstitutionally overbroad.

In another case decided since Burson, a district

court, relying on Burson, found that a Wisconsin statute

prohibiting campaign speech within 500 feet of the polls on

election day was not sufficiently narrowly tailored to achieve

the state’s interest, and therefore unconstitutional. Calchera

vy. Procarione, 805 F.Supp. 716 (E.D.Wisc.1992). Since

Burson, two separate panels of the Fifth Circuit in this case,

a state court judge and a federal district court judge, all

relying on Burson, reached conflicting decisions. This

Court’s guidance on how and where to draw that

constitutional line referred to in Burson for polling place

political speech restricted zones is essential to avoid

continuation of conflicting decisions in the lower courts on

this issue.

Page 15.

nein

I.

Most of the compelling interests identified in Burson

as justifying the Tennessee 100 foot radius campaign free

zone restriction on ballot related political speech’® --

prevention of voter confusion and intimidation and election

fraud -- are related to political speech on ballot topics. As

the Sth Circuit panel pointed out in its interim opinion

granting an injunction pending appeal in this case:

"... these justifications as applied to political

vi

have limited relevance to the core concerns

relied on in Burson, which were protecting

the integrity of the ballot from fraud and

intimidation. Persons conducting political

activity not related to a matter on the ballot

have no incentive to attempt to prevent

people from voting or to affect how they vote

at the polling place, and the voters are

certainly less likely to perceive that the

activities of such persons are aimed at their

voting or how they vote in the polling

place.""’

The only compelling state interests identified in

Burson that may be adversely affected by non-ballot related

political speech -- protecting voters from physical

16 The plaintiff in Burson challenged the Tennessee campaign-free zone

as it applies to candidates on the ballot. The language of the statute

appears to apply to only ballot related campaign activity and does not

appear to address non-balloted related political speech, although some

disagreement with that interpretation was voiced by Tennessee's

Attorney General in oral argument.

7 See, Appendix C, page 20a.

Page 16.

ee ee |

interference and preventing disruptions at the polis --

diminish and at some point fade completely with increased

distance from the polls. (See, Part II below.)

The only other interests identified by either the

respondents or the Sth Circuit in support of the necessity of

banning non-ballot related speech are either not compelling

interests or, if they are, the regulation in question doesn’t

serve them.

The testimony of legislators involved with the

passage of Louisiana’s 600 foot campaign free zone

demonstrates that the primary concern of the statute is not

election fraud or voter intimidation, but instead is perceived

voter sensitivity to being bothered by political workers as

they approach the polls to vote. However as this Court long

ago recognized in Mills vy, Alabama, 384 U.S. 214, 86

S.Ct. 1434, 16 L.Ed.2d 484 (1966), the state has no

compelling interest, indeed no right, to silence all political

debate that might reach the voter on election day. This

Court and the lower courts have consistently held that

Statutes designed to insulate voters from outside influences

or to avoid offense or bother to sensitive individuals are

invalid on First Amendment grounds. Mills v, Alabama,

supra; Daily Herald Company v. Munro, 838 F.2d 380 (9th

Cir. 1988); Florida Committee For Liability Reform vy,

McMillan, 682 F.Supp. 1536 (M.D. Fla., 1988); NBC y,

Cleland, 697 F.Supp 1204 (N.D. Ga., 1988); see also Boos

y. Barry, _* U.S. __, 108 S.Ct 1157 (1988).

Other than offense to sensitive voters, the only other

proposed compelling state interest articulated by respondents

and the 5th Circuit is the state’s interest in preventing

“disruption of the polling place and the election process."

With respect to this interest of the state, and the Sth

Circuit’s reliance on this interest, the state has no evidence

that petition solicitation activities and the wearing of t-shirts

and buttons at polls have in the past or will in future cause

Page 17.

“disruption” at the polls. Petition drives have been

historically conducted in Louisiana in the vicinity of the

polls without there being any disruption to the election

process. Even if there is some remote risk that individuals

opposed to the recall drive might interact with the

petitioners at the polls, preserving the integrity of the

election process means preserving a process free from fraud,

not a process free from friction." As this Court noted in

, 482 U.S. 451 at 452, 107 S.Ct.

2502 (1987), “a certain amount of expressive disorder is

inevitable in a free society and must be protected if freedom

is to survive."

With respect to the question of disruption at the

polls, all cases that have considered the matter have found

unconstitutional polling place restrictions imposed on exit

polling and media interviewing. Daily Herald Company v.

Munro, supra.; NBC v, Cleland, supra.; CBS, Inc, v.

Smith, 681 F.Supp 794 (S.D. Fla 1988). Such activity is at

least as intrusive and disruptive as the activity proposed by

petitioners in the instant case. Yet the courts have

recognized that prohibitions of such activity around and

immediately adjacent to polling places is violative of

paramount First Amendment rights and poses no significant

18 The Sth Circuit Opinion in this case did not even discuss how the

wearing by some individuals of t-shirts or buttons with a political

message is disruptive to voters entering the polls. Additionally, as far

as petitioners have been able to ascertain and the evidence introduced

demonstrates, no one in Louisiana, except petitioners, has been denied

access to the polls or their environs or denied the right to vote because

of the message contained on any t-shirt, other article of clothing or

button being wor, including candidates on the ballot wearing their own

political advertisement decorated clothing and paraphernalia.

'? See Note, "Defoliating The Grass Roots: Election Day Restrictions

On Political Speech,” supra. at 2176.

Page 18.

interference with the right to vote or the secrecy of the

ballot.”

Neither the respondents nor the Sth Circuit identified

what compelling state interest is served by a campaign-free

zone around polling places in which individuals are

prohibited from collecting signatures on a petition with

respect to a matter not on the ballot or wearing t-shirts and

buttons in support of their activities.

None of the compeiling interests historically

identified to support limited campaign-free zones around

polling places are implicated by the activities in question in

this case. Even if such activities might contribute to

congestion at the immediate entrance to the polling places or

some interference with voters entering the polls, the state’s

interest in protecting voters from such inconvenience can be

completely served by a restricted zone in the immediate

vicinity of the polls’ entrances.

II.

Even if the state has a compelling interest in

restricting non-ballot related political speech in the vicinity

of polls on election and absentee balloting days, as this

Court found in Burson, the Court was careful to limit its

holding by acknowledging that “[a]t some measurable

distance from the polls . . . governmental regulation of

[political speech] could effectively become an impermissible

20 The Sth Circuit discounted the applicability of the exit polling cases

and concluded that petition signature solicitation can be treated

differently by the state than exit polling because “there is no evidence of

widespread voter harassment or intimidation by exit-pollers.". Based on

this rationale, however, non-ballot related signature solicitation should

be treated exactly like exit-polling for First Amendment purposes, since

the state can point to and the court could identify no evidence of

“widespread voter harassment or intimidation" by solicitors of petition

signatures.

Page 19.

burden..." 112 S.Ct. at 1856. This Court recognized

that the real question is how large a political speech

restricted zone is permissible without running afoul of the

First Amendment.”!

A comparison of the Tennessee zone, approved in

Burson, and Louisiana’s zone, approved by the Fifth

Circuit, is revealing. The Tennessee statute, with its 100

foot radius restriction, creates an approximately 31,000

square foot campaign-free zone around each polling place,

encompassing less area than 3/4 (.72) of an acre with a

diameter of less than 4/100 of a mile (the distance of

approximately 2/3 of a football field). In contrast, the

Louisiana statute imposing a 600 foot radius zone covers an

area 36 times the area covered by the Tennessee statute,

creating a 1,131,000 square foot buffer zone around each

poll, encompassing an area of almost 26 (25.95) acres with

a diameter stretching almost a quarter (.227) of a mile (the

distance of 4 football fields).

Respondents argued, and the 5th Circuit agreed, that

the difference between a 100 foot radius zone and a 600 foot

radius zone is simply a difference in degree, not subject to

judicial scrutiny and having no constitutional significance for

First Amendment purposes. According to the Sth Circuit,

if Louisiana is entitled to establish a campaign free zone, the

fact that it is a 600 foot radius zone rather than a 100 foot

radius zone is of no moment.

In support of this conclusion, the 5th Circuit relied

on Burson’s language absolving the state of the burden of

demonstrating empirically the objective effects of, and

21 As the earlier panel of the Sth Circuit noted in its injunction pending

appeal, the Burson decision was predicated, in part, on wide-spread

consensus among the states regarding the need for some restricted zone

around polling places. While Tennessee’s 100 ft. zone falls within the

generally accepted range among the states, Louisiana’s 600 ft. zone is

the second largest (behind Hawaii's 1,000 ft. zone) and is significantly

out of line with the restricted zones of the remaining states.

Page 20.

therefore need for, the size of the restricted zone in

question. In Burson, this "modified burden of proof” was

justified by the long uninterrupted history of campaign-free

zone restrictions exemplified by the Tennessee statute in

question, which makes it difficult for states, without

sustaining some level of damage to or interference with the

election process, to demonstrate empirically the need for the

size selected for such restrictions.

However Burson’s rationale in this regard does not

support sustaining Louisiana’s 600 foot radius zone on a

"lack of empirical evidence" basis. Louisiana’s restricted

zone is of recent vintage, dating back only to 1960. In

addition, its 600 foot manifestation only dates back to 1980.

Additionally, Louisiana does have empirical evidence

that a 600 foot zone is not necessary to avoid interference at

the polls by petition solicitors, given the state’s history of

such solicitation being allowed in the immediate vicinity of

the state’s polls until the state’s recent decision, in October,

1992, at least partially in response to the Recail ’92 effort,

to restrict such access. Further the state’s recent forced

experiment, ordered by the Sth Circuit, with allowing

solicitation at 100 feet in the November 1992 general

election, and the absence of any problems at this limited

range, also provides empirical evidence that Louisiana’s 600

foot zone, the second largest in the nation, is neither

necessary, nor sufficiently narrowly tailored, to pass

constitutional muster on First Amendment political speech

grounds.

In addition, Louisiana’s 600 foot radius campaign

free zones in most instances, with the exception of

extremely rural areas, encompass significant numbers and

areas of traditional public fora such as streets, sidewalks and

parks. With limited exceptions, courts have historically

struck down content based restrictions on speech in

traditional public fora. United States v. Grace, 461 U.S.

171, 103 S.Ct. 1702 (1983). Louisiana can show no

Page 21.

a

compelling interest that is served by imposing its political

speech restrictions in areas assumed by its citizens,

including voters, to be areas historically available for public

and political discourse. Nor can Louisiana demonstrate the

necessity, aS required by the strict scrutiny standard

applicable to such content-based speech restrictions in a

public forum, of a geographically extensive zones. Because

of their enormous size, the Louisiana zones severely affect

political speech activities in public fora, such a streets,

sidewalks and parks.

Finally, the dissent in Burson noted that in the case

of such large area restricted zones, censorship rather than

the protection of voting rights might be found to be the

animating force behind the restriction. In Louisiana, the

evidence overwhelmingly supports this conclusion. The 600

foot zone was not applied by state officials to petition

activities until Recall ’92’s campaign to recall the present

governor. In addition the coincidence with petitioners’

recall campaign of the attorney general’s reversal of opinion

regarding the applicability of the statute to recall activities

and the legislature’s recent enactment of a statute

specifically proscribing recall petition activity within the 600

foot radius zone, LSA-R.S. 18:1300.6, demonstrate

Louisiana’s illegitimate censorial intent.

The Court should grant writs to reverse the Fifth

Circuit’s use of Burson to legitimate a zone 36 times the

size of that approved in Burson in the face of empirical

evidence that such a vast zone is neither necessary nor

narrowly tailored to serve any legitimate, much less

compelling, state interest and, in light of the further

unavoidable evidence that the motivating purpose of the

Louisiana statute is to censor certain kinds of political

speech, such as that undertaken by the petitioners.

Page 22.

Ill.

Finally, this Court should grant petitioners’

application for writ of certiorari to resolve the conflict the

decision in this case creates with the 11th Circuit decision

in Clean-Up ’84 and post-Burson decisions on this issue.

Although decided prior to Burson, Clean-Up ’84,

like the instant case, involved the constitutionality on First

Amendment grounds of a 300 foot polling place restriction

on non-ballot related petition solicitation, an issue not

addressed by this Court in Burson. Because non-ballot

related political speech does not implicate the voter

intimidation and election fraud concerns that Burson held

may justify restrictions on ballot-related political speech,

guidance from this Court will greatly assist the lower courts

in addressing First Amendment challenges to such

restrictions.

In addition, given the conflicting decisions of lower

court that have relied on Burson, this Court’s guidance on

how and where to draw that constitutional line referred to in

Burson for polling place political speech restricted zones is

essential to avoid continuation of conflicting decisions on

this issue.

Page 23.

CONCLUSION

The importance to democracy of vigorous grassroots

political speech, as exemplified by petitioners and their

counterparts in Clean-Up ’84, require this Court and the

lower courts to strike a proper and constitutionally sound

and sensitive balance between the rights of such political

speakers and the states’ legitimate governmental interests in

protecting the voting rights of all their citizens. For this

reason and those described above, petitioners urge this Court

to grant their petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully Submitted,

Tracy S. Pickerell *

709 Napoleon Street

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

(504) 343-0411

Theodor A. Schirmer

32200 Mulholland Hwy.

Malibu, California 90265

(818) 889-1385

Katherine Wheeler

412 North 4th Street, Suite 200

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

(504) 338-0306

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

Page 24.

etnemeiaiieieel

APPENDICES TO

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions .....

oe eee eee a

Fourteenth Amendment ..........

| ee rer ie ee

Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of

GE. 4-8 ae eh eo ORE ee ek

Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeal,

Granting Injunction Pending Appeal ......

Order of the U.S. Surpeme Court Denying

Stay of Injunction Pending Appeal.......

Louisiana Supreme Court Answer to Certified

Question from Fifth Circuit Court of

CE hk Wah eae OR Oe RE ao ee

Judgment of the U.S. District Court, Middle

De Ge SUE bs eh trees arenes

Opinion of the U.S. District Court, Middle

ees Ge MAD 6 o's be ee ee ee

Transcript of Ruling on Hearings on Motion

to Quash, State of Louisiana v, Theodore A.

Schirmer, Louisiana 19th Judicial District

Court, Docket No. 5-93-133 ..........

Page ia.

APPENDIX A.

U.S. Constitution, First Amendment (1791):

Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise

thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press;

or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to

petition the government for a redress of grievances.

U.S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment (1868):

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the state wherein they

reside. No state shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

LSA-R.S. 18:1462.

Acts Prohibited on Election Day: Electioneering; Exception;

Enforcement; Penalty

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, it

shall be unlawful for any person, between the hours of 6:00

a.m. and 9:00 p.m. to perform or cause to be performed

any of the following acts within any polling place being used

in an election on election day or within any place wherein

absentee voting is being conducted, or wherein absentee

voting is being conducted, or within a radius of six hundred

feet of the entrance to any polling place being used in an

Page la.

election on election day or any place wherein absentee

voting is being conducted:

(1) To solicit in any manner or by any means

whatsoever any other person to vote for or against

any candidate or proposition being voted on in such

election.

(2) To remain within any such polling place or

place wherein absentee voting is being conducted or

within a radius of six hundred feet of the entrance of

any such polling place, except when exercising the

right to vote, after having been directed, in writing,

by an election commissioner or law enforcement

officer to leave the premises or area of a polling

place or after having been directed, in writing, by a

registrar or deputy registrar to leave the place

wherein absentee voting is being conducted.

(3) To hand out, place, or display campaign

cards, pictures, or other campaign literature of any

kind or description whatsoever.

(4) To place or display political signs, pictures,

or other forms of political advertising.

Page 2a.

APPENDIX B.

THEODOR A. SCHIRMER, NUMBER 92-3000

et al, Plaintiffs

Shelley E. Corrington,

Individually,

Et Al, Plaintiffs,

- Appellants

versus

EDWIN W. EDWARDS, Governor of the

State of Louisiana, and in His

Official Capacity, et al,

Defendants - Appellees

United States Court of Appeal, Fifth Circuit

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Louisiana.

Before POLITZ, Chief Judge, and REYNALDO G.

GARZA, and JOLLY, Circuit Judges.

REYNALDO G. GARZA, Circuit Judge:

Appellants appeal the district court’s adverse

judgment, which denied their constitutional challenge to

Louisiana’s campaign-free zone codified at LSA-R.S.

18:1462. Persuaded that Louisiana has a compelling interest

in creating a campaign-free zone, and that the statute is

narrowly drawn to achieve that end we AFFIRM.

Page 3a.

FACTS

The plaintiffs-appellants are a group of Louisiana

voters, who are members of the political organization called

Recall ’92, Inc. The principal objective of the group is to

recall Louisiana Governor Edwin Edwards. The recall

procedure, which is codified at LSA-R.S. 18:1300.1 et seq.,

requires signatures on a recall petition of not less than one-

third of the total electors of the voting area, collected and

submitted within a 180-day period.'

' In essence, this would require about 750,000 signatures.

Page 4a.

SE

In order to further their effort, the appellants seek to

establish that LSA-R.S. 18:1462 is unconstitutional.’

Section 1462 as interpreted by the Louisiana Supreme Court:

[P]roscribes on election day, outside of the polling

place itself but within a radius of six hundred feet

from the entrance thereto, all solicitation of

Signatures for a recall petition that is not on the

ballot that is to be voted on at the election for which

the polling place is open. [Section 1462] proscribes

in the polling place or said six hundred foot radius

? The current version of Section 1462 reads as follows:

§ 1462. Acts prohibited on election day: electioneering; exception;

enforcement; penalty

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, it shall be

unlawful for any person, between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

to perform or cause to be performed any of the following acts within any

polling place being used in an election on election day or within any

place wherein absentee voting is being conducted, or wherein absentee

voting is being conducted, or within a radius of six hundred feet of the

entrance to any polling place being used in an election on election day

or any place wherein absentee voting is being conducted:

(1) To solicit in any manner or by any means whatsoever

any other person to vote for or against any candidate or

proposition being voted on in such election.

(2) To remain within any such polling place or place

wherein absentee voting is being conducted or within a radius

of six hundred feet of the entrance of any such polling place,

except when exercising the right to vote, after having been

directed, in writing, by an election commissioner or law

enforcement officer to leave the premises or area of a polling

place or after having been directed, in writing, by a registrar or

deputy registrar to leave the place wherein absentee voting is

being conducted.

(3) To hand out, place, or display campaign cards,

pictures, or other campaign literature of any kind or description

whatsoever.

(4) To place or display political signs, pictures, or other

forms of political advertising.

Page Sa.

all wearing of clothing or buttons bearing visible

words or symbols supportive of such recall.’

Prior to the November 3, 1992 election, appellants

brought suit to enjoin the application of Section 1462 so that

they would be able to obtain the required amount of

signatures within the 180-day window. The appellants

sought to circulate petitions, obtain signatures, wear buttons,

display paraphernalia, and pass out other materials to

support their cause at the November 3, 1992 election.

There was nothing on the ballot pertaining to the recall

effort.

On October 3, 1992, Theodor Schirmer was not

permitted to vote with a Recall 92 T-shirt at one location,

and then at another location was arrested for violating

Section 1462 by attempting to solicit signatures on a recall

petition. Shelley Corrington was also not permitted to vote

because she was wearing a T-shirt advertising the recall

effort. There were numerous other plaintiffs, who had

similar experiences in forwarding the recall drive.

PROCEDURE

The plaintiffs brought suit in the Middle District of

Louisiana pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343(a)(3)

and (4) seeking declaratory and injunctive relief against the

application of the campaign-free zone. On October 19 and

20, 1992, the district court conducted a two-day trial to

determine the constitutionality of LSA-R.S. § 18:1462.

> The statement on the application of Section 1462 was issued by the

Louisiana Supreme Court in response to the prior panel's certification of

the question while the temporary restraining order pending appeal was

considered and granted.

Page 6a.

The plaintiffs launched three grounds of attack on

Section 1462: (i) the statute placed an excessive burden on

their First Amendment rights because it proscribed campaign

activity within a 600-foot radius around polling places; (ii)

even if constitutional, Section 1462 only applied to issues or

persons on the ballot; or alternatively (iii) the statute was

enforced in a discriminatory and content-rooted manner in

derogation of the plaintiffs’ First Amendment rights.*

The district court, relying principally on Burson vy,

Freeman, --- U.S. ---, 112 S.Ct. 1846, 119 L.Ed.2d 5

(1992), found that the statute was constitutional. The court

determined that Section 1462 created a constitutional

campaign-free zone around polling areas, and applied to

both issues and parties whether or not they were on the

ballot.

The plaintiffs appealed to the Fifth Circuit, and in

the interim sought temporary injunctive relief pending

appeal. The district court denied plaintiffs’ application for

a temporary restraining order; however, an earlier panel of

this court granted plaintiffs’ motion for an injunction

pending appeal. See Schirmer v, Edwards, No. 92-3900

(Sth Cir. Oct. 29, 1992). At long last, we are not able to

render a final decision on appellant’s claims.

DISCUSSION

The appellants assert on appeal that Section 1462 is

invalid under the First and Fourteenth amendments. They

contend: (i) Louisiana does not have a compelling interest

* The district court declined to rule on the plaintiffs’ discriminatory

application claims - persuaded that the issue would be better raised as a

defense to a state court criminal action. The appellants combine this

argument with their void for vagueness defense.

Page 7a.

in providing for a 600-foot campaign-free zone around its

polls; (ii) even if the state has a compelling interest in a

campaign-free zone, the statute is not narrowly tailored to

achieve that interest because 600 feet is excessive; (iii) the

statute is facially invalid because its content restriction is

substantially overbroad; and (iv) the statute is void for

vagueness.

We find that: (i) Louisiana has a.compelling interest

in maintaining campaign-free zones on election day; (ii) the

Statute is narrowly tailored to achieve that compelling

interest; (iii) the statute is not substantially overbroad; and

(iv) we need not address the void-for-vagueness argument.

Therefore, the district court’s decision is AFFIRMED.

i. Does Louisiana have a Compelling Interest in

Maintaining a Campaign-Free Zone around

its Polls During Elections?

Section 1462 posits the First Amendment’s guarantee

of the right to free speech against the state’s attempt to

secure its citizens’ right to vote in a environment free from

intimidation, harassment, confusion, obstruction, and undue

influence. This conflict of First Amendment rights

necessarily requires a compromise between the two. The

Supreme Court addressed the issue head on last term in

Burson _v, Freeman, --- U.S. ---, 112 S.Ct. 1846, 119

L.Ed.2d 5 (1992).

In Burson, the court found a Tennessee Statute that

proscribed campaign activity within a 100-foot radius of its

polls on election day to be constitutional. The court found

that the statute implicated three First Amendment concerns;

(i) regulation of political speech; (ii) regulation of speech in

a public forum; and (iii) regulation of speech based on

Page 8a.

content. The Burson plurality’ found that a content-based

restriction on political speech in a public forum is subject to

strict scrutiny.® Strict scrutiny requires Louisiana to show

that Section 1462 is narrowly tailored to achieve a

compelling governmental interest. See Perry Educ. Ass’n

y. Perry Local Educators’ Ass’n, 460 U.S. 37, 45, 103

S.Ct. 948, 954, 74 L.Ed.2d 794 (1983).

[1] Undeniably, both the Tennessee statute and

Section 1462 are content-based restrictions. Each singles

out and sanctions public discourse on politics - an area deep

within the confines of the First Amendment. See, e.g., Eu

y. San Francisco County Democratic Cent, Comm., 489

U.S. 214, 223, 109 S.Ct. 1013, 1020, 103 L.Ed.2d 271

(1989) (citations omitted) ("the First Amendment has its

fullest and most urgent application to [political] speech").

Clearly, Section 1462 does not apply to any other type of

speech.’ Consequently, the statute is not a content-neutral

> Justice Blackmun wrote the plurality opinion that Chief Justice

Rehnquist, and Justices White and Kennedy joined. Justice Kennedy

filed a concurring opinion. Justice Scalia filed an opinion concurring in

the judgment. Justice Stevens wrote the dissent, which was joined by

Justices O’Connor and Souter. Justice Thomas took no part in the

decision.

® Justice Scalia concurred in the judgment of the court. In doing so, he

concluded that the regulation at issue was a reasonable viewpoint-neutral

regulation of speech in a non-public forum. Justice Scalia concluded that

the areas adjacent to a polling forum on or near election day do not

constitute a traditional public forum and, thus the statute should not be

subjected to the strict scrutiny standard. See Burson -- U.S., ---, 112

S.Ct. at 1859-61 (Scalia, J., concurring) (citing Greer v. Spock, 424

U.S. 828, 96 S.Ct. 1211, 47 L.Ed.2d 505 (1976)).

’ The court below noted that it would be permissible to advocate on the

freedom of choice or even to sell Tupperware in the campaign-free zone.

Page 9a.

——_Eee—

time, place, or manner restriction and, thus, is subject to

Strict scrutiny.

{2] Moreover, the statute must still be

constitutionally gauged under the strict scrutiny standard

even tough it is viewpoint-neutral. See, e.g., Boos v.

Barry, 485 U.S. 312, 319, 108 S.Ct. 1157, 1162, 99

L.Ed.2d 333 (1988) (viewpoint-neutral statute that

prohibited use of signs within 500 feet of foreign embassies

content-based); see also Consolidated Edison Co, v, Public

Serv, Comm’n, 447 U.S. 530, 537, 100 S.Ct. 2326, 2333,

65 L.Ed.2d 319 (1980) ("[t]he First Amendment’s hostility

to content-based resirictions extends not only to restrictions

on particular viewpoints, but also to prohibition of public

discussion on an entire wpic").

In Burson, the state of Tennessee proffered two

grounds upon which to support its compelling interest in a

campaign-free zone: (i) the protection of its citizens’ right

to vote freely for the candidate of their choice; and (ii) the

protection of the right to vote in an election that is

conducted with integrity and reliability. The Supreme Court

agreed that these interests were compelling, but the court

noted that "[t]o survive strict scrutiny...a state must do

more,... it must demonstrate that the law is necessary to

serve the asserted interest.” Id., --- U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct.

at 1852.

The court traced the longstanding history of election

problems that fostered the need for reform, which led to the

Tennessee statute in Burson, as well as Section 1462. See

id., --- U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct. at 1852-55. The court noted

that the two-fold problem that these regulations were enacted

to cure was: (i) voter intimidation; and (ii) election fraud.

Id., --- U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct., at 1855. Finally, the

plurality concluded that “wide-spread and time-tested

Page 10a.

consensus demonstrates that some restricted zone is

necessary in order to serve the States’ compelling interest in

preventing voter intimidation and election fraud." Id.*

Louisiana State Representative Charles Lancaster,

who authored the 1980 amendments to Section 1462,

testified before the court below. The 1980 amendments

expanded the campaign-free zone from 300 feet to 600 feet.

Representative Lancaster testified that the statute primarily

sought to guard against: (i) voter intimidation; (ii) voter

harassment; and (iii) to provide unobstructed access to the

polls. Lancaster testified that the problem largely emanated

' from poll workers, who bombarded voters in and around the

polls. Apparently, it was common practice to use poll

workers to inundate voters just prior to their entry to the

polls. The legislature felt compelled to remedy the situation

statutorily. The intent of the statute was to encourage voter

participation. Under the statutorily created campaign-free

zone, voters are free to vote without passing through a

gauntlet of poll workers.

We conclude that Louisiana undoubtedly has a

compelling interest to protect its citizens’ right to vote.

Burson reaffirmed that states have a compelling interest in

protecting the right to vote — “a right at the heart of our

democracy." Burson, --- U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct. at 1851; see

also Anderson v, Celebrezze, 460 U.S. 780, 788 n. 9, 103

S.Ct. 1564, 1570 n. 9, 75 L.Ed.2d 547 (1983).

® The dissent interpreted the purpose of the statute somewhat differently

reasoning that the statute served: (i) to protect orderly access to the

polls; and (ii) to prevent last-minute campaigning. Id., --- U.S. at ---,

112 S.Ct. at 1861 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

Page | la.

ii. Is the 600-Foot Limitation in Section 1462

Narrowly Tailored to Protect Louisiana’s

Compelling Interest?

Given the fact that Louisiana has a compelling

interest in establishing a campaign-free zone, the question

then becomes whether 600 feet is a valid limitation.

Interestingly, Louisiana’s statute is the second largest

limitation in the country. Hawaii’s 1,000-foot campaign-

free zone is the largest in the country. See Haw.Rev.Stat.

§§ 11-132 & 19-6(7)’

It is difficult to demarcate the point where the state’s

compelling interest in a campaign-free zone ceases and

beyond which any content-based infringement becomes

unconstitutional. The Burson court recognized this when it

held “that some restricted zone around the voting area is

necessary to secure the State’s compelling interest."

Burson, --- U.S. ---, 112 S.Ct. at 1856 (emphasis in

Original). Justice Blackmun tempered this statement when

he reasoned “at some measurable distance from the

polls...governmental regulation...could effectively become

an impermissible burden akin to the statute struck down in

Mills v, Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 86S.Ct. 1434, 16 L.Ed.2d

484 91966).""°

> Texas prohibits campaigning with a car microphone within 1,000 feet

of the polling place on election day. See Tex.Elec.Code Ann § 61.004.

10 In Mills, the Supreme Court struck down a statute that made it a

crime for a newspaper editor to publish political editorials on election

day. Mills, 384 U.S. at 220, 86 S.Ct. at 1437. Interestingly, the Mills

opinion distinguished the present situation when it admonished “[wJe

should point out at once that this question in no way involves the extent

of a state’s power to regulate conduct in an around the polls in order to

maintain peace, order, and decorum there.” Id. at 218, 86 S.Ct. at

(continued...)

Page 12a.

The appellees contend that the state is not required to

prove that the 600-foot zone is perfectly tailored, as long as

it does not significantly impinge on constitutionally protected

rights." The Burson plurality concluded that Tennessee’s

campaign-free zone represented only a “minor geographic

limitation” that did not significantly impinge upon

constitutionally protected rights. Burson, --- U.S. ---, 112

S.Ct. at 1857. Justice Blackmun explained "we simply do

not view the question whether the 100-foot boundary line

could be somewhat tighter as a matter of ’constitutional

dimension. Munro y, Socialist Workers Party, 479 U.S.

189, 197 [107 S.Ct. 533, 538, 93 L.Ed.2d 499] (1986).

Reducing the boundary [line] is a difference only in degree,

not a less restrictive alternative in kind,” Burson_--- U.S,

at ---, 112 at 1857 (emphasis added)

Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 30, 96 S.Ct. 612, 640, 46 L.Ed.2d 659

(1976)). This statement reflects the difficulty that lies in

determining the exact point at which to draw the line, and

it suggests that the plurality would have supported a 600-

foot limitation.

a F ..continued)

1436-37.

'' The genesis of the “significantly impinge” language found in the

Burson plurality’s opinion came from Munro, 479 U.S. at 196, 107

S.Ct. at 537.

[Requiring proof that a 100-foot boundary is perfectly tailored

to deal with voter intimidation and election fraud ‘would

necessitate that a State’s political system sustain some level of

damage before the legislature could take corrective action.

Legislatures, we think, should be permitted to respond to

potential deficiencies in the electoral process with foresight,

rather than reactively, provided that the response is reasonable

and does not significantly impinge on constitutional rights.’

Burson, --- U.S. at --- 112, S.Ct. at 1857 (emphasis in original) (quoting

Munro, 479 U.S. at 195-96, 107 S.Ct. at 537-38).

Page 13a.

OO ————————————

The appellants point to the numerous exit-polling

cases that have invalidated much smaller restrictions around

polling areas. For example, in Daily Herald Co, v, Munro,

838 F.2d 380 (9th Cir. 1988), the Ninth Circuit held a 300-

foot restriction on exit-polling to be unconstitutional on its

face. Id. at 389 (the content-based statute was not narrowly

tailored). Daily Herald is representative of many cases

holding that much smaller limitations do not survive strict

scrutiny in the exit polling context. See, e.g., National

Broadcasting Co, Inc., v. Cleland, 697 F.Supp. 1204, 1215

(N.D.Ga. 1988) (holding 150-foot exit-polling limitation not

narrowly drawn, but construed to be constitutional up to 25

feet). We reject the application of the exit-polling cases to

the present context because the underlying state interests

differ in each case. While there is no evidence of wide-

spread voter harassment or intimidation by exit-pollers,

there is evidence that poll workers do create these problems.

Consequently, the state’s compelling interest is called to

greater heights in creating a campaign-free zone.

Further, Representative Lancaster testified that the

300-foot limitation, which preceded the 1980 amendments,

did not prevent the continued hiring of poll workers. The

600-foot limitation was created to dissuade politicians from

hiring poll workers. Poll workers were one of the principal

causes of voter intimidation and harassment that was

perceived to be causing low voter turnout. Further,

according to Lancaster, the 600-foot limitation has served its

purpose and poll workers are no longer used.

The Louisiana legislature tried to utilize a 300-foot

campaign-free zone to protect its citizens’ rights to vote.

The legislature, thus, found a less restrictive alternative

inadequate. Only after the 300-foot limitation failed to

remedy the poll worker problem did the legislature take the

next step to 600 feet. Therefore, we find that Section

Page 14a.

1462’s geographic limitation is narrowly tailored to achieve

a compelling governmental interest.'?

ili. Is Section 1462 Substantially Overbroad?

[3] The appellants next contend that Section 1462

is overbroad because it applies to: (1) the political speech

of individuals not on the ballot (“non-ballot political

speech"); and (2) buttons and T-shirts (“passive political

speech").?

The appellants argue that Louisiana does not have a

compelling interest in banning non-ballot political activity

nor passive political speech around the polls. Appellees

offer two defenses with regard to Section 1462’s total ban

on political speech: (i) if only ballot-related campaigning

were proscribed voter intimidation and harassment problems

'? While we have found that Louisiana’s campaign-free zone is narrowly

tailored, we note that in Clean-Up ’84 v. Heinrich, 759 F.2d 1511, 1514

(11th Cir.1985), the Eleventh Circuit held that a 100-yard (300-foot)

campaign-free zone was unconstitutionally overbroad. Id. (cited by the

Burson dissent).

Further, the only post-Burson case to directly address the

campaign-free zone issue appears to be Calchera v. Procarione, 805

F.Supp. 716 (E.D.Wisc. 1992). The Calchera decision focused on the

plurality opinion in Burson and noted the opinion’s statement that at

some point a campaign-free zone would be over-inclusive. The court

held that the statute’s 500-foot proscription was overbroad, and noted

that it imposed a much greater infringement on the First Amendment that

the 100-foot limitation addressed in Burson. See Calchera, 805 F.Supp.

at 719-20. However, the Wisconsin statute in Calchera was found to

prohibit homeowners from expressing their political views on their own

property. The district court grasped on this factor to distinguish Burson.

See id, at 720. There is no evidence in the record before us that the

Louisiana statute is applied similarly.

'? We will use the term “passive political speech” to refer to buttons and

t-shirts.

Page 15a.

would still exist because of enforcement and security

problems; and (ii) solicitation for a recall petition has a

greater disruptive potential than all other political speech.

The first argument, that suppression of ballot-related

activity alone is insufficient, is rooted in the argument that

ballot campaigners could achieve their ends by posing as

non-ballot campaigners in order to gain access to the

confines of the forbidden 600-foot radius. Representative

Lancaster and Representative Accardo testified that an

across-the-board ban on politicking was necessary to protect

voters’ rights because any exceptions to the total ban on

political speech would necessarily create the need for on the

spot enforcement.

Lancaster and Accardo stated that to allow any

politicking in the campaign-free zone would open the door

to subterfuge. If some people were allowed to engage in

political speech in the campaign-free zone it would create

two-problems: (i) on-the-spot enforcement decisions about

what was proscribed by the statute; and (ii) increased

security needed to weed out those engaged in ballot related

speech.

To avoid this morass the legislature decided that a

total ban was necessary. They reasoned that if they had to

police the campaign-free zone to the extent necessary to

weed out the disguised poll workers, then voters would still

be intimidated and harassed. The heightened security itself

would no doubt result in voter intimidation - the evil they

sought to cure. Further, problems with on the spot decision

making and varying degrees of enforcement would result in

uneven application of the statute. Consequently, Section

1462 is not overbroad.

Justice Stevens, in his dissent in Burson, made the

only known reference with regard to proscribing non-ballot

Page 16a.

campaigning around polling areas. Justice Stevens noted

that the Tennessee statute did not apply to “political debate

and solicitation concerning issues or candidates not on the

day’s ballot.” Burson, --- U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct. at 1864

(Stevens, J., dissenting) (emphasis added). Stevens also

noted that the Tennessee statute did not prohibit exit polling,

leaflets, posters or buttons. He reasoned that these factors

“severely undercut[{] the credibility of [Tennessee's]

purported law-and-order justification.” Id. (Stevens, J.,

dissenting). These statements suggest that Justice Stevens

would be more comfortable with an across the board ban on

politicking in the campaign-free zone based on the same

logic forwarded by Representatives Lancaster and Accardo.

In any event, the issue -of proscribing non-ballot

campaigning was not an issue in Burson and appears to be

an issue of first impression.

The appellees further argue that there is an important

distinction between a recall petition and other campaign-

related activity. In all other campaign activity the voter is

free to exercise his rights in a secret ballot booth after

having weighed and observed all campaigning activity

whether it be far or near the polling venue. However, in

the recall petition context, even if there is no recall on the

ballot, voters must either sign the petition on the spot or the

parties seeking their signature will immediately know that

they have been rejected. The appellees contend that this

renders the state’s compelling interest to protect the voter to

be even greater when weighed against the First Amendment

rights of those seeking to forward the recall effort.

This argument is forceful and it is true that this

distinction is meaningful. However, Section 1462 does not

target only recall petitions nor does it even mention them.

Further, there is no evidence that the legislature considered

Page 17a.

the 600-foot limit with regard to recall petitions in 1980

when it was amended."*

Accordingly, we find that a total ban on politicking

within the campaign-free zone is not overbroad. In fact, the

total ban in the present context is the most defensible

position. The state has a compelling interest in protecting

its voters and the proffered reasons given by the legislature

demonstrate a reasonable compromise to the problems that

necessitated the campaign-free zone in the beginning.

iv. Is Section 1462 Void for Vagueness?

The appellants challenge Section 1462 on vagueness

grounds contending that it is void because it is subject to

discriminatory enforcement and fails to provide fair notice.

The district court found that this issue would be better suited

as a defense to a criminal prosecution. The Burson court

treated this defense similarly when it stated "[i]n any event,

these arguments are “as applied” challenges that should be

made by an individual prosecuted for such conduct."

Burson, --- U.S. at ---, n. 13, 112 S.Ct. at 1857, n. 18.

In light of our prior panel’s certification to the

Louisiana Supreme Court with regard to the statute’s

application to non-ballot matters it is clear now that the

Statute applies to non-ballot matters. However, there was

some confusion created by some contrary attorney general

Opinions issued previously. In any event, the appellants do

not appear to be in a position to assert this argument at this

time.

'* Since the advent of this case Louisiana has enacted a statute that

expressly creates a campaign-free zone applicable only to recall

petitions. LSA-R.S. § 18:1300.6. We express no opinion as to the

constitutionally of Section 1300.6.

Page 18a.

CONCLUSION

Louisiana has a compelling interest in establishing a

campaign-free zone. The 600-foot limitation is narrowly

drawn and not an excessive infringement on the First

Amendment. Thus, the geographical limitation survives

strict scrutiny. Moreover, the statute creates a total ban on

politicking within the zone. The need for a total ban is

compelling and Section 1462 is not overbroad. Legislatures

must necessarily compromise between two competing First

Amendment interests in creating a campaign-free zone.

Louisiana’s zone has evolved over time and at present

represents a constitutional compromise. Further, the

appellants’ void for vagueness argument is better left to

another day. Therefore, the judgment of the district court

is AFFIRMED.

Page 19a.

APPENDIX C.

THEODOR A. SCHIRMER, NUMBER 92-3000

et al, Plaintiffs

Shelley E. Corrington,

Individually,

Et Al, Plaintiffs,

- Appellants

versus

EDWIN W. EDWARDS, Governor of the

State of Louisiana, and in His

Official Capacity, et Al,

Defendants - Appellees

United States Court of Appeal, Fifth Circuit

Before GARWOOD, DAVIS and JONES, Circuit Judges.

BY THE COURT:

Before the Court is the motion of Plaintiffs-

Appellants for injunction pending appeal.

Plaintiffs-appellants are parties seeking to collect

Signatures on a petition for a recall election seeking the

recall of Louisiana Governor Edwin Edwards pursuant to

La. R.S. 18:1300.0, et seg. They seek to collect such

Signatures in the vicinity of polling places on the general

election day of November 3, 1992. Plaintiffs do not seek to

collect these signatures within any such polling places; they

do apparently intend to vote while wearing clothing or

buttons supportive of the recall effort. Neither the recall

nor Governor Edwards is on the November 3 ballot, and

plaintiffs do not seek to solicit any signatures, or conduct

Page 20a.

any activity, with respect to any matter or proposition that

is on the November 3 ballot. Defendants-appellees are the

Governor of Louisiana, the Louisiana Attorney General, and

the Secretary of State of Louisiana. They have taken the

position that La.R.S. 18:1462A prohibits the activity in

which Plaintiffs desire to engage within a radius of six

hundred feet of the entrance to any polling place, even

through none of the matters as to which Signatures are

sought and the activity desires to be conducted is related to

any matter on the ballot.'

Plaintiffs brought this suit in the court below seeking

a preliminary and permanent injunction prohibiting

' Section 1462 provides:

"§ 1462. Acts prohibited on election day: electioneering; exception;

enforcement; penalty

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, it shall be

unlawful for any person, between the hours of 6:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m.

to perform or cause to be performed any of the following acts within any

polling place being used in an election on election day or within any

place wherein absentee voting is being conducted, or wherein absentee

voting is being conducted, or within a radius of six hundred feet of the

entrance to any polling place being used in an election on election day

or any place wherein absentee voting is being conducted:

(1) To solicit in any manner or by any means whatsoever any other

person to vote for or against any candidate or proposition being voted on

in such election.

(2) To remain within any such polling place or place wherein

absentee voting is being conducted or within a radius of six hundred feet

of the entrance of any such polling place, except when exercising the

nght to vote, after having been directed, in writing, by an election

commissioner or law enforcement officer to leave the premises or area

of a polling place or after having been directed, in writing, by a registrar

or deputy registrar to leave the place wherein absentee voting is being

conducted.

(3) To hand out, place, or display campaign cards, pictures, or

other campaign literature of any kind or description whatsoever.

(4) To place or display political signs, pictures, or other forms of

political advertising.”

Page 21a.

Defendants from denying to Plaintiffs what Plaintiffs

contend are their rights under the First Amendment of the

United States Constitution to engage in the above described

activity, and contending that such activity is not prohibited

by section 1462A. Defendants contend that the activity

Plaintiffs desire to engage in is prohibited by section 1462A

and that section 1462A, as so construed, is constitutional

under the decision in Burson v. Freeman, 112 S.Ct. 1846

(1992). Plaintiffs contend to the contrary, arguing

principally that the six hundred foot radius established by

section 1462A is excessive as compared to the one hundred

foot radius sustained in Burson, and that the state’s interest

in proscribing conduct such as theirs is attenuated because

their proposed activities do not relate to any matter being

voted on, unlike the situation in Burson.

On October 19, and 20 the district court held a two-

day evidentiary hearing on both the preliminary injunction

and the merits, at the conclusion of which the court orally

rendered its findings and conclusions in open court. The

district court ruled that section 1462A did apply to the

activities Plaintiffs desired to engage in, and that the statute

as sO ponsimued was facially constitutional under Burson.’

The district court denied Plaintiffs’ request for temporary

and permanent injunctive relief and dismissed their suit with

prejudice. Plaintiffs appeal to this Court. As noted,

Plaintiffs have moved this Court to issue an injunction

pending appeal enjoining Defendants

"from enforcing La. R.S. 18:1462 against Plaintiffs

in such a manner as to preclude Plaintiffs from:

? The district court declined to rule on Plaintiffs’ claim that the statute

was being discriminatorily applied to Plaintiffs in certain particular

instances, ruling that such discriminatory application should be addressed

in state court proceedings, particularly those in defense of any

prosection.

Page 22a.

(a) during the period of absentee voting, October 22

through October 28, 1992, and on election day,

November 3, 1992, circulating, while on public

property limited to streets, sidewalks and parks in

the vicinity of polling places, a recall petition

sponsored by Recall ’92 to call an election to recall

the present governor of the State of Louisiana,

Edwin Edwards; or

(b) voting, whether absentee or on election day,

November 3, 1992, ,while wearing ’Recall ’92’ t-

shirts, buttons or other articles of clothing .. ."

Plaintiffs argue in support of the motion for

injunction pending appeal that if they are not granted such

relief they will, as a practical matter, be forever barred from

soliciting at polling places on behalf of the recall petition.

This is because under La. R.S. 18:1300.1 ef seq. all of the

required signatures - in this instances approximately 750,000

minimum, a number that Plaintiffs apparently have not

reached, - must be obtained within a 180-day period

commencing with the initial circulation of such a petition,

such period in this case ending on December 14, 1992 (as

we understand it, no election is scheduled in Louisiana

between now and December 14 except the November 3

general election). They also contend that polling places are

a particular good place for them to seek signatures, because

of the congregation of people there and the fact that under

Louisiana law the petition must have exact information

respecting the registered voter’s name, ward, precinct, and

address as these appear on the rolls of the registrars of

voters in the states. |

On October 27, 1992, we certified to the Louisiana

Supreme Court the following question:

"Whether La. R.S. 18:1462A proscribed on election

day, outside of the polling place itself but within a

Page 23a.

radius of six hundred feet from the entrance thereto,

all solicitation of signatures for a recall petition that

is not on the ballot that is to be voted on at the

election fort which the polling place is open, and in

the polling place or said six hundred foot radius all

wearing of clothing or buttons bearing visible words

or symbols supportive of such recall?"

The Louisiana Supreme Court on October 29, stating

that although “subsection (1) does not apply to the present

case, we believe subsections (3) and (4) clearly proscribe the

conduct at issue," answered the certified question as follows:

"La. R.S. 18:1462(A)(3) proscribes on election day,

outside of the polling place itself but within a radius

of six hundred feet from the entrance thereto, all

solicitation of signatures for a recall petition that is

not on the ballot that is to be voted on at the election

for which the polling place is open. La. R.S.

18: 1462(A)(4) proscribes in the polling place or said

six hundred foot radius all wearing of clothing or

buttons bearing visible words or symbols supportive

of such recall.”

We conclude that Plaintiffs have shown the requisites

for temporary injunctive relief pending appeal to the extent

such relief is herein granted.’ We have not hesitated to

> We said in Apple Barrel Productions, Inc. v. Beard, 730 F.2d 384,

386 (Sth Cir. 1984):

"In order to secure a preliminary injunction, the movant has the

burden of proving four elements: (1) a substantial likelihood of

success on the merits; (2) a substantial threat that the movant

will suffer irreparable injury if the injunction is not issued; (3)

that threatened injury to the movant outweighs any damage

injunction might cause to the opponent; and (4) that the

(continued...)

Page 24a.

grant such relief ourselves in an appropriate case. See Bran

v. Independent American Savings Ass'n, 838 F.2d 739 (Sth

Cir. 1988); Florida Businessmen v. City of Hollywood, 648

F.2d 956 (Sth Cir.1981); Fed.R.App. P. 8; 28 U.S.C. §

1651.

The record makes clear that there is a substantial

threat that Plaintiffs will suffer irreparable injury if not

allowed to solicit in the vicinity of polling places on

November 3. A substantial part of this signature gathering

strategy has been reasonably based on such anticipated

3(...continued)

injunction will not disserve the public interest. Dallas Cowboy

Cheerleaders v. Scoreboard Posters, Inc., 600 F.2d 1 184, 1187

(Sth Cir. 1979).

The decision to grant or deny a preliminary injunction lies

within the discretion of the district court and may be reversed on appeal

only by a showing of abuse of discretion. City of Meridian, Mississippi

v. Algernon Blair, Inc., 721 F.2d 525, 527 (Sth Cir. 1983). The four

prerequisites for preliminary injunctive relief are mixed questions of fact

and law. In reviewing the actions of the district court of abuse of

discretion, we uphold the district court’s findings of fact unless clearly

erroneous. Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a). The court’s conclusions of law,

however, “are subject to broad review and will be reversed if incorrect.”

Commonwealth Life Insurance Co. v. Neal, 669 F.2d 300, 304 (Sth Cir.

1982)."

In Laurenzo v. Miss. H.S. Activities Ass ’n, 708 F.2d 1038, 1042

(Sth Cir. 1983), we noted that for an injunction pending appeal the

likelihood of success standard could be modified if a substantial case on

the merits were presented and the equities weighed heavily in the

movant’s favor.

The district court here did not separately address the temporary

injunction from the merits, although we can infer from its disposition of

the merits that it found Plaintiffs had not met their burden under the first

factor, “substantial likelihood of success on the merits.” The district

court did not address the other temporary injunction factors. In denying

Plaintiffs’ motion for injunction pending appeal, the district court simply

referred to its decision on the merits.

Page 25a.

solicitation.* The November 3 election provides one of their

prime opportunities to gather signatures, and no other such

opportunity will present itself before December 14, 1992,

when this petition will be wholly invalid if the requisite

number of signatures has not then been procured.°

Moreover, .we conclude that should we deny

Plaintiffs interim relief in this respect, the threatened injury

to them outweighs any damage that granting such relief

would cause Defendants, and that the granting of such relief

would not disserve the public interest. The evidence

* The “being voted on in such election” language of clause (1) of

section 1462A suggests that such solicitation is not prohibited. Although

clauses (3) and (4) are not so limited, construing them to cover such

solicitation might have appeared to render clause (1) redundant. An

October 5, 1990, unpublished opinion of the Louisiana Fourth Circuit

Court of Appeal in Nathaniel Lacour, et al v. State of Louisiana, et al.

o. 90-C-12772) held that solicitation of signatures for a petition for a

recall election of certain local school board members was prohibited

under section 1462A notwithstanding neither such matter nor the

members in question were on the ballot. However, under Louisiana law

unpublished opinions are not precedential, Louisiana Uniform Rules -

Courts of Appeal, Rule 2-16.3, and the Lacour opinion is extremely

brief and cites no authority. Until October 29, 1992, no other Louisiana

court had spoken to the matter. Since Lacour, two Louisiana attorney

general opinions, No. 91-597, November 12, 1991, and No. 92-650,

September 24, 1992, held such solicitation not prohibited by section

1462A where the matter was not on the ballot, but did not cite Lacour.

About a week before this suit was filed, the Louisiana Attorney General,

in opinion No. 92-650(A), October 1, 1992, withdrew those two prior

opinion and, relying whoily on Lacour, ruled that such solicitation was

prohibited notwithstanding that the matter in question was not on the

ballot.

> Plaintiffs also ask that we enjoin pending appeal any prohibition of

their wearing “Recall ’92 t-shirts, buttons or other articles of clothing”

while voting on November 3. We do not believe that Plaintiffs will

suffer irreparable harm or significant injury absent such relief;

moreover, the interior of the polling place is a matter of greater interest

to the state. We hence deny interim relief in this respect.

Page 26a.

adequately shows that Plaintiffs intend to and are capable of

conducting their solicitation properly and without disruption.

Assuming the requisite likelihood of success, a matter

discussed below, we cannot view the protection of such

significant exercise of First Amendment rights as contrary

to the public interest. See Florida Businessmen at 958.

We turn finally to Plaintiffs’ likelihood of success on

the merits.

We note that the distance prescribed by section

1462A is 600 feet, 6 times that sustained in Burson; the area

involved is more that 1,130,000 square feet, approximately

36 times as large as that invoived in Burson (31,400 square

feet). This is greater than any state except Hawaii, which

uses a 1,000 foot radius. Only two other states, Kentucky

and Wisconsin, each five hundred feet, exceed three

hundred feet. Some 37 or 38 states use 250 feet or less,

some 25 of these using 100 feet or less. See Note,

Defoliating the Grassroots: Election Day Restrictions in

Political Speech, 77 Geo.L.J. 2137, 2146-47, 2196-2200

(1989). So far as we have been able to determine,

Louisiana first has a specific protected zone outside the

polling place in 1960, using a three hundred foot radius.

La. R.S. 1534; Acts 1960, No. 221. These provisions

eventually came into section 1462, which was amended in

1980 to increase the distance from three hundred to six

hundred feet. There is no indication of any legislative

history, legislative committee reports, or findings of any

Study or research to explain or justify the amendment.

The legislator who authored the amendment, a

witness for Defendants, testified it was intended to

substantially reduce the utility, and hence the use, of

volunteer and paid campaign workers ("poll workers")

contacting voters on their way to the polls. He testified that

this was thought desirable for a variety of reasons: to avoid

“making that one last attempt to influence a voter one way

or another"; “many of these poll watchers were paid....

Page 27a.

{I]f we could do away with the poll workers it would save

the candidates in our area a great deal of money"; the

election commissioners were often busy trying to keep

individuals out of the three hundred foot area; there were

sometimes “altercations” between “workers of candidates

running against each other"; “one of the reasons . . . for the

law was not to have people hassled in any way at all when

they go to vote to try to encourage higher voter

participation"; to change the situation where “a lot of the

things that were handed out on election day were not correct

. . . . [W]hen that happens in an election, you don’t have a

chance to respond to it if it’s done on election day because

the election is over before you have any chance... ." He

Stated that “we don’t have poll workers at election precincts

any more. That was the real purpose of the legislation and

it has generally achieved that objective.

Another representative, a witness for the Defendants,

who was on the relevant committee and supported the 1980

amendment, testified that he did so “because in the district

I live in, the 300 foot limit was very often not enough

distance to keep people who were engaged in political

activities from intersecting the voters who were going to the

polls . . . . [MJaybe half of the precincts in my legislative

district . . . . probably had parking lots which were outside

‘of the 300 foot limits” and in such instances voters "as they

got out of their cars and attempted to walk to the polls, very

often were greeted by people handing out literature, people

with signs, people trying to convince them that they should

vote one way or another.” He further stated “I think for

some people it’s intimidating” and “I think it might

discourage people from voting” because “I think they

generally would like to make up their minds on who they

are going to vote for, what they are going to vote for or

against, and not be bothered with last minute efforts to

change their minds." He also stated that

Page 28a.

"ninety-five percent of the time . . . when people

leave their houses, they’ve made up their minds on

who they’re going to vote for or what issue they are

going to vote for or against and that’s the way it

Ought to be. And, I think that it would be good that

if on election day people had the time to consider all

of the issues, consider all of the paraphernalia that’s

been handed out, all the campaign rhetoric, arid to

make up their minds in a logical way and not have

last minute efforts to change their minds."

the witness further explained that although the six hundred

foot limit did not wholly eliminate poll workers, with that

limit “except in very rare instances" voters were no longer

subjected to being contacted by such individuals after

parking and while walking from their cars to the polling

place.

Burson considerably relies on the consensus among

the states. As Louisiana’s is the second greatest restrictive

zone of all of the states, using a radius twice the size of that

in any of the forty-six of the states, Burson is to that extent

less than strongly supportive of Defendants’ position.

Although the state has offered some justification for

the six hundred foot extent of its prohibited zone, these

justifications as applied to political activity not related to any

matter on the ballot have limited relevance to the core

concerns relied on in Burson, which were protecting the

integrity of the ballot from fraud and intimidation. Persons

conducting political activity not related to a matter on the

ballot have no incentive to attempt to prevent people from

voting or to affect how they vote at the polling place, and

the voters are certainly less likely to perceive that the

activities of such persons are aimed at their voting or how

they vote in the polling place. While there was evidence

that it might be administratively confusing to distinguish

between the two, this testimony was more in the way of

Page 29a.

speculation as opposed to being based on actual experience. °®

There may be some reasons in the nature of prohibiting

overcrowding or physical obstruction that would justify

eliminating a broad range of conduct in the immediate

vicinity of the entrance to the polling place. But nothing

suggests that such justification would have any significantly

realistic application to nonballot-related activities at anything

near approaching the six hundred foot distance specified in

the statute.

Prohibiting all political speech, whether or not ballot

related, within a six hundred foot radius, may well be

sufficiently narrowly tailored for Burson purposes.

We do not ultimately decide the merits of this case.

But we are convinced that Plaintiffs have made a sufficient

showing of a substantial case, with the equities being

correspondingly in their favor, to justify a limited injunction

pending appeal.

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED as follows:

Defendants, their agents and employees, and all

persons acting in concert with them, are hereby enjoined,

pending further order of this Court, from enforcing La. R.S.

18:1462 in such a manner as to preclude on November 3,

1992, the soliciting, on public streets, sidewalks or parks (or

other outdoor public areas in which political solicitation is

‘allowed under Louisiana law on days other than election or

absentee voting days) not closer than one hundred feet to the

entrance of any polling place, or persons to sign, or not to

sign, a petition to call a recall election to recall Governor

Edwin Edwards (or any other petition to call an election

® There is no evidence that the legislature specifically considered this

aspect of the matter, other that the wording of the statute itself. The

legislator who sponsored the 1980 amendment increasing the distance to

six hundred feet testified: “I do not recall specifically any discussion of

anything other than the actual people being at the polls for or on behalf

of a candidate of an issue to be voted upon. That was what we were

addressing.”

Page 30a.

with respect to any person or proposition not on the

November 3, 1992 ballot), provided such soliciting is

carried out in a peaceable, quiet, and orderly manner.

Except as otherwise ordered, the request for

injunction pending appeal is DENIED.

Page 3la.

APPENDIX D.

THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE UNITED STATES

ORDER LIST

NOVEMBER 2, 1992

ORDER IN PENDING CASE

A-352

EDWIN W. EDWARDS, GOVERNOR OF LOUISIANA,

ET AL. v. THEODOR A. SCHIRMER, ET AL.

The application for stay of injunction entered by the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

presented to Justice Scalia and by him referred to the Court

is denied.

Page 32a.

| pee Sai

APPENDIX E.

SUPREME COURT OF LOUISIANA

No. 92-CQ-2829

THEODOR A. SCHIRMER, ET AL.

v.

EDWIN W. EDWARDS, ET AL.

CERTIFIED QUESTION FROM THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PER CURIAM

Pursuant to Rule XII of the Rules of the Supreme

Court of Louisiana, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit certified the following question to this

court:

Whether La. R.S. 18:1462A proscribes on election

day, outside of the polling place itself but within a

radius of six hundred feet from the entrance thereto,

all solicitation of signatures for a recall petition that

is not on the ballot that is to be voted on at the

election for which the polling place is open, and in

the polling place or said six hundred feet radius all

wearing of clothing or buttons bearing visible words

or symbols supportive of such recall?

We granted certification, and now proceed to answer the

question.’

” We note that our opinion deals only with the question certified, and

(continued...)

Page 33a.

La. R.S. 18:1462(A) provides:

§ 1462. Acts prohibited on election day:

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided by law, it

shall be unlawful for any person, between the hours of 6:00

a.m. and 9:00 p.m. to perform or cause to be performed

any of the following acts within any polling place being used

in an election on election day or within any place wherein

absentee voting is being conducted, or wherein absentee

voting is being conducted, or within a radius of six hundred

feet of the entrance to any polling place being used in an

election on election day or any place wherein absentee

voting is being conducted:

(1) To solicit in any manner or by any means whatsoever

any other person to vote for or against any candidate or

proposition being voted on in such election.

(2) | To remain within any such polling place or place

wherein absentee voting is being conducted or within a

radius of six hundred feet of the entrance of any such

polling place, except when exercising the right to vote, after

having been directed. in writing, by an_ election

commissioner or law enforcement officer to leave the

premises or area of a polling place or after having been

directed, in writing, by a registrar or deputy registrar to

leave the place wherein absentee voting is being conducted.

(3) To hand out, place, or display campaign cards,

oone ne mye ns pa aaaaa aaa — r

%. . continued)

we do not pass on any issues of constitutionality under either the United

States Constitution or the Louisiana Constitution.

Page 34a.

eT

(4) : Sate Sm

Hie Diace. ot display political signs. pictures, of other deal edenetisien

{emphasis added].

We find the clear intent of this statute, when taken as a

whole, is to prohibit political activity within 600 feet of the

polls on election day in order to prevent disruption of the

polling place and the election process. Although we agree

that subsection (1) does not apply to the present case, we

believe that subsections (3) and (4) clearly proscribe the

conduct at issue. Subsection (3) prohibits the handing out,

placement or display of campaign literature “of any kind or

description whatsoever." We find the solicitation of

signatures for a recall petition not on the ballot at that

election, but which its backers uitimately hope to get on the

ballot, fits this broad definition of handing out or displaying

campaign literature. Likewise, we hold the wearing of

clothing or buttons supporting such a recall effort is a

display of political advertising prohibited by subsection (4).

Accordingly, we answer the certified question in the

affirmative.*

DECREE

For the reasons assigned, we answer the certified

question as follows:

La. R.S. 18:1462(A)(3) proscribes on election day,

outside of the polling place itself but within a radius

of six hundred feet from the entrance thereto, all

solicitation of signatures for a recall petition that is

not on the ballot that is to be voted on at the election

for which the polling place is open. La. R.S.

* We note that Attommey General of Louisiana, in opinion no. 92-

605(A), reached a similar conclusion, as did the court of appeal in an

unpublished opinion, Lacour _v. State of Louisiana, 90-C-1772

(La. App.4th Cir. 1990).

Page 35a.

18:1462(A)(4) proscribes in the polling place or said

six hundred feet radius all wearing of clothing or

buttons bearing visible words or symbols supportive

of such recall.

It is ordered that, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule XII, § 9,

the clerk of this court send this judgment under the seal of

this court to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit and to the parties.

Dennis, J., concurs. Although the statutes does not prohibit

pure speech or political activity disassociated from the

election at hand unless it is combined with political

advertising or the display or distribution of campaign

literature, the Plaintiffs in the present case seek to carry out

such a combination of activities on election day.

Page 36a.

APPENDIX F.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Theodor A. Schirmer, et al Civil Action

Plaintiff, Number 92-868-B

versus

Edwin W. Edwards, et al

Defendant

JUDGMENT

For the oral reasons assigned:

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that judgment

shall be entered in favor of the Defendants and against the

Plaintiffs dismissing the Plaintiffs’ federal law claims with

prejudice and dismissing their state law claims without

prejudice.

Baton Rouge, Louisiana, October 21, 1992.

s/ Frank J. Polozola

United States District Court

Page 37a.

APPENDIX G.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Theodor A. Schirmer, et al Civil Action

Plaintiff, Number 92-868-B

versus

Volume Five

7:00 - 8:10 p.m.

Edwin W. Edwards, et al October 20, 1992

Defendant. Honorable Frank J. Polozola

Transcript of the Court’s Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law in the above-entitled and number civil action.

(CA 92-868-B, October 20, 1992, 7:00 p.m.)

And as noted in the Burson case, and as I have been

saying throughout this case, the real question then is how

large a restricted zone is permissible or sufficiently tailored.

Plaintiffs in this case contend that even if the statute

rs valid, 600 feet is totally unreasonable.

Before I get into the reasonableness or

unreasonableness of the 600 feet, I think it is important for

the Court to go into the issue of whether or not the activities

of the plaintiff involved in this case are, in fact, covered by

the statute. I think the statute is clear. I think the statute

says that it is illegal to place or display political signs,

pictures or other forms of political advertising without any

limitation as to whether or not the matter is or is not on the

ballot.

The statute says that it is illegal and unlawful to hand

out, place or display campaign cards, pictures or other

Page 38a.

campaign literature of any kind or description whatsoever.

So I think the statute was definitely, on its face, clear in

meaning designed to deter any type of political activity of

any kind within 600 feet of the entrance to any polling place

used.

Now, several members of the legislature testified in

this case. Secretary of State McKeithen testified. The

Commissioner of Elections testified involving this particular

case.

It is clear to me that when you analyze this testimony

that there was definitely concern of the legislature. This

goes into the reasons why they might pass as compared to

determining what the statute means.

As I said before, I am aware of the limitations what

the Supreme Court has placed on District Courts and other

Courts in looking at legislative history when the clear words

of the statute have but one meaning. And I think the

meaning of these particular words are very clear.

But I still think it is necessary for the State to set

forth the reasons why it enacted such a statute and why it

prohibited all types of activity. Mr. Accardo, for example,

when he testified indicated that 300 feet was not enough

distance because many of the voting places in Louisiana

have parking lots that were outside the 300 foot limitation.

Mr. Accardo, who is currently chairman, and has been

chairman of this committee off and on for many years

during the time that he was in the legislature, indicated that

there were instances when political activity was going on,

that when people drove to the polls they were handed out

literature. There were people who were paid to be at these

particular entrances to the voting places to hand out cards.

There was food. People began to complain and, under his

interpretation of what the legislature did, he said no political

activity of any kind was to be conducted. In other words,

any political activity was covered whether on the ballots or

not. Mr. Accardo gave some various examples, examples

Page 39a.

,

f

being that he, himself, if he wanted to run for re-election,

although he wasn’t on the ballot, could be out there. Other

candidates could be out there. There was much concern in

various responses to the questions that I and the attorneys

raised as to whether or not people, for example, who were

for or against gambling, for or against abortion, for or

against other issues that might come up, cd all be present

within the zone, whether it is 300 feet, 600 feet or what

have you, to talk to voters, to cause voters to listen to their

particular messages. And the testimony that I heard seems

to indicate to me that this does nothing but intimidate,

confuse and possibly even deter voters from coming to vote

at the polls.

The fact that there are commissioners present at the

voting booths on election day does not necessarily resolve

the problem. Representative Accardo said that these people

involved as commissioners are very busy. They have little

time to work outside, and it is very difficult to let them

determine what is or what is not good or bad. The purpose

is to say that all political activity has been banned.

Originally Louisiana was at 300 feet. Later they

moved to 600 feet. Various reasons were given, all of

which pertained to allowing the voter to come and

encouraged to come to vote in a situation that is not

intimidating, that would not discourage voters to come to

vote, to be confronted with people who were there, were

being paid to hand out various political literature.

According to the evidence of both Mr. Lancaster and Mr.

Accardo, as well as other witnesses who testified, since the

600 feet limitation has been set, the large problems that

were involved earlier regarding poll workers and what you

have all but subsided at the various precincts.

The Secretary of State, McKeithen, who testified in

regard to some confusion over a ballot involving a white

candidate and a black candidate, and petitions being

involved in that matter indicated that that was a problem that

Page 40a.

he felt like would deter the voters from coming to vote even

though that matter was not necessarily on the ballot.

There were other problems involved that people

discussed, but in summary, the issue I believe is not for me

to determine whether the legislature was absolutely right or

absolutely wrong. I don’t think that is the test that the

Supreme Court sets forth in the Burson case. The question

is not whether it is perfectly tailored to deal with voter

intimidation and election fraud but whether or not the action

taken, 1) was taken by the State because the State found it

necessary to secure a compelling State interest; 2) that it did

not significantly impinge on constitutionally protected rights

of the plaintiffs in this particular case.

Considering all the testimony involved in this

particular case, reading the clear words of the statute, and

considering what each of the legislators who either were the

author of the bill or a member of or the chairman of the

committee testified to, the sole purpose of increasing the

zone from 300 to 600 was to keep the political influence

away from voters, to give voters plenty of time to have

privacy, to protect the sanctity of polling places, to keep the

poll watchers away from the various precincts, and by doing

so, to encourage voter participation and let voters know that

they could vote at the polling place without being

intimidated harassed or what have you.

So, the Court finds, as I noted earlier, that the statute

is, in fact, designed to control all political activity whether

or not the activity is on the ballot or not.

There is one case, it is not reported, the parties have

referred to it in the briefs. The Fourth Circuit, the

Louisiana Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal in Nathan LaCour

versus the State of Louisiana issued an unpublished opinion.

Whatever effect this has, I don’t know. I don’t know if this

can be relied on by this Court, but the Court does believe

that it is worth mentioning. In the opinion wherein the

Fourth Circuit, and this is the only case that I have been

Page 4la.

able to find or any counsel have been able to find regarding

this particular issue, but the Fourth Circuit in dissolving an

injunction that had been previously granted by a lower court

stated the clear intent of LSA-R.S. 18:1462 is to prohibit

any and all political activity within 600 feet of the polls on

election day. Especially pertinent to the instant controversy

is sub-section 2 of that statute which allows election officials

or law enforcement personnel to force persons to leave the

premises after issuing written notice. Additionally, Sections

3 and 4 prohibit the distribution of all campaign literature of

any kind or description whatsoever as well as the display of

other forms of political advertising. Although the recall

petitions involved here are not related to the current

election, the statute was obviously designed to prevent the

disruption of the polling place through any political activity

including that contemplated by the petitioners in this case.

Petitioners may distribute recall petitions at a distance

greater than 600 feet from polling places used in the election

of October 6th and November 10th of 1990. The temporary

restraining order issued herein is annulled, dissolved and

recalled,

Now, having concluded that the activity of the

plaintiffs involved in this case are covered by the statute,

that the state could create a zone, that the zone created

prohibits the activities of the plaintiffs involved in this case,

the question is whether or not the 600 foot limitation is

reasonable under the facts of this particular case.

The Supreme Court in the Burson case did not set

forth any specific guidelines but it is important to note one

thing that I think is particularly important. And

representative Accardo referred to this in his testimony.

Representative Accardo noted that many of the

polling places in Louisiana are more than 300 feet from

where the parking lots are located. And one of the things

that voters had complained to the legislators was the fact

that they were being harassed or intimidated or given

Page 42a.

SS

material by these poll workers and other people who wanted

to pass out various campaign literature. For that reason,

Representative Accardo noted that the distance was

increased from 300 to 600 feet to allow a voter to park his

car, walk out of his car, and walk to the polling place.

One of the things that the Supreme Court noted at

page 1856 of its opinion was that elections vary from year

to year and place to place. It is therefore difficult to make

specific findings about the effects of a voting regulation.

And moreover the remedy for a tainted election is an

imperfect one. Re-running an election would have a

negative impact on voter turnout. Thus, requiring proof that

a 100 foot boundary is perfectly tailored to deal with voter

intimidation and election fraud would necessitate that a

state’s political system sustain some level of damage before

the legislature could take corrective action. Legislators, we

think, should permitted to respond to potential deficiencies

in electoral process with foresight rather than reactively,

provided that the response is reasonable and does not

significantly impinge on constitutionally protected rights.

In this case involving these particular people, the

recall people, there has been evidence that on various

occasions whether at a side street in Orleans or Jefferson

Parish, whether at the Superdome, whether in North

Louisiana or South Louisiana, that there have been ceriain

hostilities between those that support and those that oppose

the activities of the recall committee.

As I said earlier, I don’t think that the State has to

wait for something to happen before taking action to prevent

it. It is the same thing that the Supreme Court said many

years ago in a case that they decided back in 1986 in Munro

ver ialist W r

In this particular case, the question is, is 600 feet a

reasonable exercise of the authority of the State insofar as a

compelling state interest or is it such that it truly impinges

Page 43a.

——

on the rights of the plaintiffs and others who might wish to

get involved in this particular case.

There are several exceptions set forth in 1462. The

question is, are there alternatives? You know, what other

alternatives does the State provide to those who want to do

whatever activities might be involved in the political

process? For example, 1462 does not apply to the placing

and displaying either by the owner, lessee or lawful

occupant thereof or with the consent of such owner, lessee

or occupant, of political signs or pictures on private

property which is not being used as a polling place. This

particular exception, for example, would allow those

homeowners who live within 600 feet of the polling place

and who own private property, or lease private property, or

who are lawful occupants of private property, to allow any

type of political sign they wish to have on their property

including allowing the recall people or any other group to be

on their property to campaign in such a manner that they

might wish within the applicable laws of the State of

Louisiana.

The legislature, for example, has said that people

who possess alcoholic beverages can’t be at a polling place.

There are various reasons for this because of disruption

caused by people in polling places. In looking at some of

the history that was provided--and it really wasn’t legislative

history so much as it was a history of the various acts

enacted--there were times when some of the statutes

provided that the bars could not even open until a certain

time, if at all, on election day to avoid people who were

intoxicated from voting or even having people drink and

then not know what they are doing at the polling place.

There are other particular statutes involved where the

legislature has limited various things. For example, in 1462

political material--there is a statute that says that the

legislature of Louisiana finds that the State has a compelling

interest in taking every necessary step to assure that all

Page 44a.

elections are held in a fair and ethical manner and finds that

an election cannot be held in a fair and ethical manner when

any candidate or other person is allowed to print or

distribute any material which falsely alleges that a candidate

is supported by or affiliated with another candidate, group

of candidates or other person or political faction to publish

anonymous statements that are scurrilous, false or

irresponsible adverse comment about a candidate or a

proposition. The legislature further finds that the people of

this State have a right to know and that among other things

that it is essential to the protection of the electoral process

that the people know who is responsible for such

publications in order to more properly evaluate the

statements contained in them and to informatively exercise

the right to vote.

There are some other statutes involved that I don’t

need to get involved with. For example, Section 1534

which is the old statute leading up to the--which is now

1462 and 1464--dealing with various things that were

prohibited and what the poll watchers and people who are

working the polls could or could not use during the course

of the election process.

In short, the matter involved in this case is whether

600 feet for a period of 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. at a certain polling

location is an unreasonable or significant impingement on

the constitutionally protected rights of the recall people and

plaintiffs in this particular case.

In trying to decide this, the Court again has to fall

back on what Burson said. Burson says we do not think that

minor geographic limitation prescribed by Section 2-7-111-B

constitutes such a significant impingement. Thus, we simply

do not view the question whether the 100 foot boundary line

could be somewhat tighter is a question of constitutional

dimension. Reducing the boundary to 25 feet as suggested

by the Tennessee Supreme Court is different only in degree.

and not a less restrictive alternative in kind.

Page 45a.

The Court further stated that at some measurable

distance from the polls, of course, governmental regulation

of vote solicitation could effectively become an

impermissible burden, akin to the statute struck down in

In reviewing challenges to specific provisions of the

State election laws, however, this Court has not employed

any litmus paper test that will separate valid from invalid

restrictions. Accordingly, it is sufficient to say that in

establishing a 100 foot boundary, Tennessee is on the

constitutional side on the line.

I don’t see how a 600 foot limitation affects the

rights of the people involved in this case. Obviously there

is a balancing test that the Court has to consider. The

balancing test is the right of a voter to vote in a manner that

he is not intimidated, confused, in a manner that fraud does

not occur, balancing that with the right of others who wish

to proceed at this particular boundary line--within this

boundary line.

Louisiana does have a 600 foot limitation.

Previously it was 300 feet. The Court has listened to the

testimony in this case and the Court believes that valid

reasons were given which to me suggest common sense on

the part of the legislature to prevent the things that were

being done that the legislature was currently aware of.

And the question is, given the conflict between the

right to vote in a manner that is free of intimidation, fraud,

confusion; in a manner that doesn’t discourage voter

participation but, in fact, encourages voter participation;

given that conflict versus the right of the people to petition,

I believe that it was a common sense approach to establish

a restricted zone around polling places to ensure and protect

the fundamental right of a citizen to vote in an election.

And as the Supreme Court stated in the Burson case, given

the conflict between these two rights, the right to vote, the

right to pass out political material, we hold that requiring

Page 46a.

solicitors to stand 100 feet or in my case 600 feet from the

entrances to polling places does not constitute an

unconstitutional compromise.

I think in this case the 600 foot does not significantly

impinge on the constitutionally protected rights. It is

reasonable. The Court believes that this area is necessary

to secure the State’s compelling interest. The argument has

been made that other states have various distances from 30

feet to 1,000 feet. The important thing is going back to

what the Supreme Court said in the Burson case. Elections

vary year to year and place to place. It is therefore difficult

to make specific findings about the effects of voter

regulations.

In this particular case there is not a significant

impingement on the rights of the plaintiffs. If they have as

much support as they testified they have, and with the

statute suggesting that if you are on private property, even

if the private property is within the 600 foot zone, you can

be on this private property, these individuals have that right

to go on to private property. They have the right to go

within 600 feet. While some evidence was introduced at the

trial to show that 600 feet was some distance from some of

the polling places that were introduced on the tape,

Representative Accardo said many, many other places in the

State of Louisiana have voter polling places that are

significantly further than 300 feet because of the parking

distances so far away from the polling place.

Considering all these activities and knowing that it is

not necessary nor required that the State produce proof that

the boundary selected in this case, 600 feet, is perfectly

tailored to deal with voter intimidation and election fraud,

then the Court believes it is constitutionally permissible

under the facts of this case.

One thing that I keep repeating, I think two or three

times in this case, and I think it bears worth repeating that

successful voter intimidation is successful precisely because

Page 47a.

——————————————

it is difficult to detect. To me to substitute my judgment of

whether 100 feet to 600 feet is too much or too little simply

would require me to engage in speculation when the more

important issue is whether or not this restriction on election

day, for example, for a total of 13 hours would significantly

impinge the constitutional collective rights of a group who

have 180 days to do whatever they wanted to do.

Yes, the Court did express concern in this case about

if the statute was truck down or if there were no limitations

at all, what effect it would have on voters if various groups

of people came to express their various concerns. I think

Representative Accardo referred to having people walk

through a gauntlet to reach the voting booth.

What is significant was the three cases that I read, I

think that may have been cited in the Supreme Court

opinion. This dealt with labor elections. And what was

significant to some of these were people who were not

involved in the elections, who were not even employees,

who could not even vote, were engaged in activities such

that the various courts struck down the election. What did

they do? Some of them were just talking to people who

were in line to vote outside of the poll wearing marks

Suggesting they should or should not vote, telling the people-

-just talking to people as they walked through the election

process. What was significant was in one of the cases and

I will get to it in one second or two that even said standing

in line was an extension of the voting polling booth such

that when they started talking to people who were in line, it

was such intimidation that the election should have been

voided.

The cases are NLRB versus Carroll Contracting and

Ready-Mix, 636 F. 2d 111, 1981. The Court held that the

board further argues that the electioneering was not

improper because it occurred outside the polling place. We

are not convinced. As stated by the board in the Milchem

case, the last few moments before voting should be the

Page 48a.

voters own, as free from interference as possible. We do

not find that this protection from interference is reserved

only for those employees who have gained access to the

action polling place to case their votes.

Once the polls open, the employees waiting outside

in line to vote became a part of the polling place and were

entitled to the safeguards against interference espoused in

Milchem.

In the Season-All Industries, Inc. versus NLRB case

similar language was used by the Court in that case. What

is significant in both this case and in Midwest Stock

Exchange versus National Labor Relations Board is the fact

that people who were not involved in the election but who

came to solicit voters, to talk to those who had to vote in

the elections, were found to have violated the various rules

involving union elections such that the elections were set

aside.

In each of these cases, the courts went so far as to

emphasize the right of the voter, even though it was an

election in connection with a union election, to be free from

intimidation, to be free from harassment, to have the last

minutes of voting in such a way that it doesn’t destroy their

right nor the atmosphere that they should have in voting.

For example, in the Season-All case at page 940 the

Court held that Carroll realizing that board policies

prohibited electioneering at or near the polls denied

enforcement of the board’s order. Our reading of Carroll

indicates that the Fifth Circuit does not restrict the per se

rule of Milchem to parties but holds that even a non-party

who disrupts the voting procedure or destroys the

atmosphere necessary to the exercise of a free choice in an

election, warrants the setting aside of the-election. We

agree that in establishing and maintaining the laboratory

conditions conducive to an election no conduct disruptive or

destructive of the exercise of a voter’s free choice can be

Page 49a.

tolerated regardless of whether the actions are those of a

union agent or mere employees.

The reason I cited these cases is I think one of the

counsel for plaintiffs referred to the fact that no voter should

be--needs to be, have this vacuum where they can’t be, can’t

be harassed or what have you by anybody or be solicited by

anybody. And I think these cases, though they are involving

union elections, strongly suggest that such is not the case

and the reason I cite these cases and the language in them is

because the Supreme Court in the Burson case at Page 1855

specifically referred to the fact that the National Labor

Relations Board also limits activities at or near polling

places in union representation elections.

The final issue or the final issues that the Court has

to determine is whether or not the material such as the T-

shirts, badges, signs or other literature are covered by the

Statute in this particular case.

The argument is that a mayor candidate wore a T-

shirt and he allowed to vote whereas people who wore recall

shirts either were not allowed to vote, were required to

either take off their T-shirt or to turn it around. And the

issue becomes whether or not a statute which is valid on its

face becomes invalid because of the manner in which it is

applied.

_ I think in this particular case the T-shirts and the

materials that I see in this particular case do come within the

clear meaning of the statute insofar as Sections 3 and 4 are

concerned. The statutes clearly say it is unlawful to hand

out, place or display campaign cards, pictures or other

campaign literature of any kind or description whatsoever or

/ to place or display political signs, pictures, or other forms

of political advertising.

The issue that I have to decide is not whether

Louisiana or the poll watchers or the commissioners are

doing their job properly. The issue is whether or not on the

face of the statute this statute is or is not constitutional and

Page 50a.

whether or not the shirts and the pins and the political signs

are or are not the type of literature and campaign material

that were clearly prohibited by Section 1462.

I find that it is. Now, is it up to this Court to say,

okay, State of Louisiana, you have to enforce?

I got involved in the jail case. I have been involved

in the jail case twenty years. There is no effort on the part

of anybody involved in this case to say now that this federal

court or this particular Judge has to now get involved with

the electoral process.

This is a matter that needs to be supervised by those

in charge of the election process in the State of Louisiana,

whether it is the Secretary of State, the Commissioner of

Elections, Clerks of Court, Commissioners who are duly

appointed, the Legislature, the Governor, the Attorney

General or whomever. It is not for me.

It seems to me the candidates also have a right to

request that these statutes be enforced fairly and what have

you.

So the question becomes what if a person such as

Mr. Schirmer who is given a ticket, or a summons I should

say, for refusing to leave, and he now challenges this statute

on the grounds that people who drive up into the parking lot

with signs saying vote for or against a certain candidate--

they haven’t been prosecuted. People who, such as the

Mayor candidate who wore his T-shirt, were allowed to

vote. I think as the Supreme Court said that these

arguments are as applied challenges that should be made by

an individual prosecuted for such conduct. And I think Mr.

Schirmer has the right, and I know the ability, to raise this

in his criminal trial and it is not necessary for me to engage

in this particular process. So to the extent that this

complaint requests the court to issue a declaratory judgment

allowing these particular plaintiffs or others to wear politica!

t-shirts of any kind while they vote, the request is denied.

Page Sla.

Whether or not it is going to be applied fairly is a

question for the commissioners and others who run these

elections.

The sole issue before the Court is whether or not this

particular statute is constitutional on its face. I find that it

is. It is clear that this statute as was the Tennessee statute

to use the words of the Supreme Court, it is neutral on its

face insofar as the type of activity it applies. It is not siding

with one side or the other insofar as the language of the

Statute is concerned.

In other words, it is not a facially content neutral

time place or manner of restriction. We are dealing only

with political activity in this particular case and I think the

Statute on its face is constitutional.

So, in summary, the Court finds that the activities

involved by the Recall group and the other plaintiffs are

political in nature and, therefore, come within section 1462.

The Court states that the State of Louisiana can

constitutionally create a zone, a campaign free zone around

the polling places of this State.

The Court finds that section 1462 covers both those

things that are on the ballot as well as those that are not on

the ballot.

The Court further finds that the 600 foot limitation

is a reasonable limitation that does not impinge on the rights

of the plaintiffs in this particular case because of the very

limited time involved together with the other exceptions that

are involved and the fact also that outside of 600 feet these

parties can engage in any conduct they wish insofar as

solicitation of votes.

The Court finds that the materials such as those

presented to the Court, the t-shirts, the badges, the signs are

covered by section 1462.

The Court finds that the statute is valid on its face.

Page 52a.

The Court declines to rule on whether or not as

applied to Mr. Schirmer the statute is or is not valid. That

is for him to raise in his state court proceedings.

The final thing I want to say is this. There has been

some argument that, you know, you can call the police.

Well, one of the statutes that I didn’t quote says policemen

really aren’t supposed to be in the zone unless it is

absolutely necessary because of the influence that they have

had or apparently according to Mr. Accardo and others on

elections.

But the critical thing that I am concerned about is

you can go and call the police, but how many people are

going to take the time to stand in line and be harassed or

intimidated or discouraged from voting. How is the Court

or the Legislature or the plaintiffs or the defendants in this

case going to discover undetected, or less than blatant acts

which may nevertheless drive voters away before remedial

action can be taken?

I think it is this type of concern that the Supreme

Court expressed, the type of concern that successful voter

intimidation is successful because it is difficult to detect, the

concern that voters ought to be free to vote without being

harassed or intimidated or discouraged, to eliminate voter

fraud in elections, to ensure thai the elections are conducted

in a free and lawful manner, and as the Court said, without

having the federal court engage in a litmus paper test that

will separate valid from invalid restrictions.

Considering all the evidence in the case, the Court

finds that what the Legislature did in this case was common

sense, but more important was constitutional.

And these are the Court’s findings of fact and

conclusions of law. The Court reserves the right at a later

date to supplement its oral reasons with written reasons.

The Court will enter a judgment dismissing plaintiffs’

suit with prejudice. The Court will try to enter the

Page 53a.

judgment tomorrow sometime so that the process can

continue.

I know insofar as appeals are concerned one of the

things that we need to do is get transcripts. I would hope

that everybody understands that this is not a pauper case,

that reporters need to be compensated. Particularly in

political cases it gets to be a very difficult problem. So I

would hope that anybody who wants transcripts or

designation of transcripts that you all would cooperate with

the court reporter because it is important that we get this out

this week if we can because there is a very big case starting

next week, six to eight week case. And it gets difficult to

do transcripts when you are in a courtroom. So I would

hope that everybody cooperates with the court reporters and

my clerk in getting the record together to go up on appeal.

Everybody knows how to take an appeal, and we will

just go from that.

I do want to say one thing and I say this with

sincerity. At the beginning of the case, I raised a concern

about Mr. Schirmer representing everybody and then also

being a plaintiff. This was not any attempt on my part to

suggest that what Mr. Schirmer was doing -- he was trying

to do something intentionally to cause a problem. I know

his zeal to represent a client of this nature and what have

you.

On the other hand, I have the obligation to ensure

that the Rules of Professional Conduct are complied with

and I think the manner that we worked this out was

satisfactory to all parties. I don’t think that Mr. Schirmer

or his clients were affected by the role that he had to play.

I think that he asked all the questions he wants to and,

obviously, he had capable counsel. I don’t apologize for

raising the issue, but I do want that to be reflected that I just

think we have these rules to follows and until somebody else

changes them, I think we need to do it and it is in our local

rules. So I think the compromise that was made or the

Page 54a.

—_—__

procedure that was followed, I should say, was an

appropriate procedure. You might want to think about this

the next time before you jump in and get involved. You

know, maybe let somebody else play the role of getting the

ticket or play the role of the plaintiff or play the role of

attorney because I think it could cause some problems with

the Bar Association.

Mr. Schirmer: I am preparing a letter now, your

Honor, to have a clarification for the Bar, specifically on

that issue.

The Court: Okay. Well, I think it worked out okay

here, and I am not doing anything with the Bar Association.

But I just thought we had to do it.

The final thing I want to say is I do appreciate the

cooperation that counsel from both sides gave to each other

and to me. We put this case on a very fast track, and if we

learned anything in this case, and I really think we did, and

I am reinforced in my total belief not that a pre-trial order

is required in every case. I don’t care how simple we think

cases are, I think we need a pre-trial order. And I just think

it helps -- there are two cases in a row that didn’t work.

You know, I am now convinced we need a pre-trial order.

But I do want to thank you all for getting the

witnesses up. I know state officials have a lot of

obligations, but I think to get the people here the way we

did and to take people out of order, I think that speaks well

for the lawyers in the case. And I think it is refreshing to

see that. I get aggravated, as you can tell, when things get

out of hand in a courtroom, but on the other hand if I don’t

do it, who is going to do it?

I just like to run a very strict courtroom with a lot of

decorum and I don’ think I am ever going to change in that

regard.

Okay. We stand at recess.

(Recessed at 8:10 p.m.)

Page 55a.

APPENDIX H.

NINETEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF EAST BATON ROUGE

STATE OF LOUISIANA

CRIMINAL SECTION I

STATE OF LOUISIANA

VS. NUMBER: 5-93-133

THEODORE A. SCHIRMER

TRANSCRIPT OF RULING ON MOTION TO QUASH

MONDAY, JULY 19, 1993

THE HONORABLE RALPH E. TYSON,

JUDGE PRESIDING

APPEARANCES:

CARSON MARCANTEL : FOR THE STATE

MARK UPTON : FOR THE ACCUSED

REPORTED AND TRANSCRIBED BY

LANELL DIDIER |

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

MONDAY, JULY 19, 1993

ew

THE COURT: I think, both sides can agree that the statute

in a real sense brings two of our most basic constitutional

rights almost head to head. The right to free speech,

freedom of expression is butting up against the right to vote.

Both of which are basic and fundamental and essential rights

in a democracy. The issue is whether the state in deciding

Page 56a.

7

that the right of free speech, free expression, or in this case,

political expression, stops 600 feet from the voting booth,

whether the state is--whether there is a rational basis for that

determination and whether the state’s election to put the bar

at that point is reasonable and is a reasonable restriction of

the corresponding--a reasonable enforcement of the right of

citizens to vote. I have been reading Burson versus

Freeman which is the United States Supreme Court case that

apparently is the latest expression on that point, and I’ve

been reading it over the weekend and different points of the

testimony today. In that case Tennessee’s 100-foot

boundary was challenged as being an unconstitutional

infringement upon the right to vote. Tennessee has--and

from what I understand from the opinion and from other

resources almost every state in the union has some

prohibition on campaign activities within a certain distance

from the polls. In Tennessee it was 100 feet. And pretty

much the same activities as are covered in 1462 were

prohibited in Tennessee in that 100-foot space. The

Supreme Court in the Burson base found that the 100-foot

boundary was not unreasonable. Specifically they stated that

in establishing a 100-foot boundary Tennessee is on the

constitutional side of the line. Whether that means that 99

feet is too close of 101 feet is too far, I don’t know. It also

appears from that opinion that the majority of the states

enforce a 100-foot boundary, I think, Louisiana is--well, I

think, Hawaii is number 1 with a 1000-foot boundary, and

Louisiana is number 2 with a 600-foot boundary, and the

majority of the states, I think, fall around the 100 to 250-

foot boundary. In reaching their decision in the Burson base

the Supreme Court didn’t really give you a whole lot to go

on other than to say there is nothing wrong with a hundred

feet. It did state legislatures, we think, should be permitted

to respond to potential deficiencies in the electoral process

with foresight rather than reactively provided that the

response is reasonable and does not significantly impinge

Page 57a.

upon the constitution of protecting rights. And they go on

to say that at some measurable distance from the polls

governmental regulation of vote solicitation could effectively

become an impermissible burden akin to a statute which was

struck down in Miller versus Alabama which I also read

dealt with a statute that prohibited publishing newspaper

editorials pro or con on election day. The Court quickly

struck that down. More recently the Fifth Circuit in

Schirmer versus Edwin Edwards which, I think, is the

federal counterpart of this particular matter noted that the

Louisiana statute is six times the distance that was covered

in the Supreme Court decision in Burson, and the area

covered by the 600-foot limitation is approximately 36 times

as large as the area that was covered in the Burson case, and

as I indicated before that we’re second only to Hawaii with

a restricted radius of 600 feet. The testimony that has been

presented of course indicates that the officials charged with

enforcing these limits apparently have to wrestle with them

every election. But I really didn’t hear anything that they

have a problem with--that they had a problem with at 100

feet which was the limit in November that would not have

also been a problem at 600 feet. That was the reason for

my question to Mr. Fowler whether the 100-foot limit which

the state was forced to use in November presented an

problems--or any different problems than they had in prior

elections when the limit was 600 feet. And it was my

appreciation of his testimony that there was no unique

problem, nothing that they wouldn’t have had the distance

been six times greater. The fact that the limit was increased

to 600 feet following--was that the °72 election with

Lambert? That may be the reason that it was increased to

that distance, but the Court just doesn’t see a rational basis

for that greater distance. In your Motion to Quash you

allege that the statute is unconstitutional because of

overbreadth, that it goes farther than necessary to achieve

the result that is desired. And insofar as that refers to the

Page 58a.

fact that political activity is prohibited within 600 feet of a

polling place, I agree and on that basis alone and no other.

The other bases that you allege I do not find to be

persuasive, but I do feel that the statute as written is overly

broad and that the objectives that it seeks to achieve can just

as easily and just as conveniently be achieved without that

great an intrusion upon the right of speech and expression.

So to that extent, to the extent that the statute prohibits such

activities within 600 feet of a polling place I do find it to be

unconstitutional. The Motion to Quash will be granted.

ae

Page 59a.

SSeS e_

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Recall '92, Inc. v. Edwards · 511 U.S. 1017 | Frix