Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reese v. City of Columbus

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.s.

FILED

96 186 AUC 21996,

No. 96-__

ae

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

RICHARD W. REESE, RICHARD D. KAUFFMAN,

GEORGE R. JORDAN, BeTTy SLATER, LARRY L. WYGLE,

MARION R, CRAMBLIT, and TIMOTHY WANNER,

on behalf of themselves and

the class they represent,

Petitioners,

Ve

Crry OF CoLuMBUS; GreGoRY S. LASHUTKA, Mayor,

City Of Columbus; LOCAL 1632, Ou1Io CouNnciL 8, AFSCME;

and Onto CounciL 8, AFSCME,

Respondents

ON PETITION FoR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

W. JAMES YOUNG*

GLENN M. TAUBMAN

c/o National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

August 1996 *Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Do the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution permit a public employer to compel nonunion pubiic

employees to contribute, as a condition of their continued employ-

ment, to the costs of the following activities engaged in by the state

and national affiliates of the bargaining representative imposed

upon them by force of law:

a) litigation activities concerning bargaining units other

than the employees’ unit;

b) public relations and advertising related to issues

other than the ratification of, or authorization or

appropriation of funds for, the agreement covering

the employees’ bargaining unit; and

¢) lobbying related to issues other than the ratification

of, or authorization or appropriation of funds for,

the agreement covering the employees’ dargaining

unit?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

In addition to the parties named in the caption, Local 2191,

Ohio Council 8, American Federation of State, County and

Municipal Employees (“Local 2191”), was initially named as a

Defendant in the original proceeding in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Ohio. Local 2191 was dismissed

from the action by stipulation of the parties prior to the District

Court’s entry of judgment. District Court Record 35, Stipulation;

District Court Record 39, Order. Accordingly, Local 2191 was

not a party to the proceeding whose judgment is sought to be

reviewed. See Appendix B, infra, 3a (Reese v. City of Columbus,

71 F.3d 619 (6th Cir. 1995)).

“iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

as Oe wb as b Wee be 8 oe

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW .......... il

EE 04 c bv g 6 Oh 4 oe Oe be eS 88 vi

ST Ee Se ee eee eee eee eee l

ee ee ey ee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

CE a ee ee ee ee 2

rn rr See sc oS Sale bee wh e's oe 0 8 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........82555 8

I. THE IMPORTANT QUESTIONS PRESENTED HAVE BEEN

SETTLED By THIS CouRT, BUT THE CoURT SHOULD RE-

SOLVE THE CONFUSION ENGENDERED By ITs OWN SPLIT

ERNE ae Serre tre ree yee eer 10

Il. THe Court OF APPEALS’ DECISION CONFLICTS WITH

THis Court’s Decisions, AS WELL As THOSE OF A

NUMBER OF CourTs OF APPEALS AND AT LEAST Two

ee er een seer 14

A. There Is A Split In The Circuits—The Court Below

Stands Alone Among Appellate Courts Addressing

BFF CTE eLe TTT 18

-iV-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (continued)

Page

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Contrary To

Lehnert With Regard To Extra-Unit Public Relati-

ons/Advertising Expenditures, And Conflicts With

Other Appellate Courts Addressing This Issue ... 21

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Contrary To

Lehnert With Regard To Extra-Unit Lobbying

Expenditures, And Conflicts With Other Appellate

Courts Addressing This Issue .............. 25

Ce Ne eb a a ee ee ee ae eee oe 29

APPENDICES

A. Order Of The United States Court Of Appeals For

The Sixth Circuit Denying Appellants’ Petition For

Rehearing And Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc

if. 9. BR ee eer es eat ae

B. Decision Of The United States Court Of Ap-

peals For The Sixth Circuit (19 December

1996), reported at 71 F.3d 619 (6th Cir.

PERS ca kee eh eee Ra Peas 3a

C. Final Judgment In A Civil Case Entered By

The United States District Court For The

Southern District Of Ohio (4 January 1994) .... ‘4a

D. Opinion And Order Granting In Part And

Denying In Part Plaintiffs’ Motion For Summa-

ry Judgment Entered By The United States

District Court For The Southern District Of

Ohio (23 June 1993), reported at 826 F. Supp.

BUSES: 3. ere ee re 30a

-\V-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (continued)

Order Denying Defendants’ Motion To Dis-

solve Injunction Entered By The United States

District Court For The Southern District Of

Cite (19 Femrwaty 19PS). oc ecw ee ks

Order Granting Plaintiffs’ Motion For A Preli-

minary Injunction Entered By The United

States District Court For The Southern District

Of Ohio (7 May 1992), reported at 798 F.

Sump. 403 .D. GO THGe) os wh eee ees ae es

Relevant Constitutional Provisions; 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983; and Ohio Revised Code § 4117.09(C)

Page

-vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ.,

S56 Ie. Se certs «i a C442 Noa tea

Albro v. Indianapolis Education

Association, 585 N.E.2d 666 (Ind.

Ct. App.), adopted sub nom. Fort

Wayne Education Association v.

Page

Aldrich, 594 N.E.2d 781 (Ind. 1992) ........ passim

Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce,

G6 U.S. Ge (Opee kN Ra ae eee es

Beck v. Communications Workers of America,

776 F.2d 1187 (4th Cir. 1985), aff'd

en banc, 800 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1986),

GSE, FEF U.S. Toe (IFRS ka ia ae eNO ER 28

Beckett v. Air Line Pilots Association,

Tp £28 1sre Ck... 4a Bee 3 ok ws au

Board of County Commissioners v. Umbehr,

__ US. ___, 64 U.S.L.W. 6482

(20 PONS Tee Ce ae ee ea a ea

Bowman v. Loperena,

343 i. BOE CAE bk oe ae ee

Branti v. Finkel,

643 US. Sat (eee 4h be ea ews wees oer

Bromley v. Michigan Education Association,

4. 2 & 4&4 6 on

Se © oe Gee Coen GM. RIGS) 6 hae CR 8, 14

nl

-vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

Browne v. Wisconsin Employment Relations

Comm., 485 N.W.2d 376 (Wis. 1992)

Buckley v. Valeo,

co Rt Re By. ere aera are ee

Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. I v.

Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986) ........

Colorado Republican Fed. Campaign Comm.

v. Federal Election Comm’n, __ US.

__, 64 U.S.L.W. 4663 (28 June 1996) .......

Communications Workers of America v. Beck,

487 U.S. TSS CIGSR) vc ee ee eee es

Crawford v. Air Line Pilots Association,

992 F.2d 1295 (4th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, _U.S.__, 1148S. Ct.

Si, | RS ee ere ee ee ae

Damiano v. Matish,

644 F. Supp. 1058 (W.D. Mich. 1986),

rev'd on other grounds, 830 F.2d 1363

Oe Cie. TRGT) ow sk ce ce eee sees

Ellis v. Railway Clerks,

O66 U.S. 435 CISBO 6 wc wee eases

Elrod v. Burns,

Co Bi Be Fi, sa eee a ae

George v. Baltimore City Public Sch.,

117 F.R.D. 368 (D. Md. 1987) ........-.----

Page

passim

-viii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

Page

Hohe v. Casey,

128 F.R.D. 68 (M.D. Pa. 1989), aff'd

in part, rev'd in part, 956 F.2d 399

aes SE 6 6 sk ok Ra ee ee 12

Keller v. State Bar,

ne rs ae 5 cd 3 0. c5k 6s oe le Gk a 11, 12

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association,

ee as eT NE a cea he he eK ok RN passim

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association,

881 F.2d 1388 (6th Cir. 1989),

aff'd in part, rev'd in part, 500

A ET CONE) bes Ke RRO 10, 21, 22, 27

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association,

643 F. Supp. 1306 (W.D. Mich. 1986) .......... 27

LRL Properties v. Portage Metro Housing

Authority, 55 F.3d 1097 (6th Cir.

ee eee 6 a re Eee sce ee lee 14

Machinists v. Street,

ar a SED ce 6 a ee ae od ho ee BO 28

Mitchell v. Los Angeles Unified Sch.

Dist., 744 F. Supp. 938 (C.D. Cal.

1990), rev'd in part, 963 F.2d 258

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, _ US.

ey ce a ee, | ee ree Se 12

NAACP yv. Button,

FEE Meas SOS EEE keke) oe ee eee ee 9, 10

-ix-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

O’Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City of

Northlake, _U.S.__, 64 U.S.L.W.

4694 (28 June 1996) .........2-22e-

Pilots Against Illegal Dues v. Air Line

Pilots Association, 938 F.2d 1123

5 Le Ae 5S a er a ee ee ie

Police Dep’t of Chicago v. Mosley,

£ RR a) >. Snr ne ore ae

Reese v. City of Columbus,

798 F. Supp. 463 (S.D. Ohio 1992),

further proceedings, 826 F. Supp.

1115 (S.D. Ohio 1993), aff'd in part,

rev'd in part, and remanded, 71 F.3d

GID Gith Cie. 1995) oes se ee wees

Roberts v. United States Jaycees,

468 U.S. G09 (1984) ......222 eens

Schreier v. Beverly California Corp.,

892 F. Supp. 225 (D. Minn. 1995) .......

Smith v. Regenis,

4 Cal. 4th 843, 844 P.2d 500 (1993) ......

Speiser v. Randall,

S57. US. SiS (IGS) i ee ees

Wileman Brothers & Elliott, Inc. v. Espy,

58 F.3d 1367 (9th Cir. 1995), cert.

granted sub nom. Glickman v. Wileman

Brothers & Elliott, Inc., ___ U.S.

__, 116 S. Ct. 1875 (1996) ...........

Page

erry

-X-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS Page

as COU. SINE. © vs 2 iw ah bas ote tne ck een Passim

a CORE, GUN TS 6.k'n 64.06 0 Se ee dan ras i, 2

46 U.S.C. § U256CE) (West 1SGE) 2. cece ceca wnasan 2

ae USA. | Uiee COR IGGGD oc kde sc ccucvecexen tes 5

Oe CBA. S TGS Gee WORD in ok hoc ca awk cuss 5

ae CBA. | Seems Crees GHGe ac ces tetedecsasess 2

National Labor Relations Act,

oP Bae 8 ies OO. b's bce ds sereeacecaas 12

Civil Rights Act of 1871,

42 U.S.C. § 1983 (West 1994) ............4.5. 2,5

Railway Labor Act,

Ge an Bees GOI on ce ween ccewees passim

PGE. CORP. LAWS § SED.ZIS wc cece wecescencscn 26

Ohio’s Public Employee Collective

Bargaining Law, Ou10 REV. Cope

Rs ee dc ot a ee ee ioe 27

Onto REV. CopE ANN. § 4117.09 ............... 2,3

-xi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

RULES Page

Rules of the United States Supreme

i CLE - . a eb se ces © 0s '0's 00 6 0's 65.806 6 2

Rules of the United States Supreme

o § 3S errr reernes od ere

Rule 23(e), Fep. R. Civ. P. ........ or Kaela

MISCELLANEOUS

Bureau of Labor Statistics, Major

Collective Bargaining Agreements:

Union Security and Dues Checkoff

Provisions 5 (1982) .......... Dnt ace we ke 12

Milton L. Chappell, Seeking a New

Foundation: Legal and Practical

Alternatives to the Current Monopoly

Bargaining Model that Will Enhance

the Viability of Independent Teacher

Groups, 16 Government Union Review |

Ee ee ee eS ae ke ee ee ee 12

Barry T. Hirsch and David Macpherson,

Union Membership and Earnings Data

Book: Compilations from the Current

Population Survey (BNA) (1996)... .. 2.6... 65s 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-

RICHARD W. REESE, ef ai..

Petitioners,

Vv.

Ciry Or COLUMBUS, ef ai...

Respondents

ON PETITION For A Writ OF CERTIORARI

To THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Sixty Circuit

PETITION FoR A Writ OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Richard W. Reese, Richard D. Kauffman, George

R. Jordan, Betty Slater, Larry L. Wygle, Marion R. Cramblit, and

Timothy Wanner, on behalf of themselves and the class that they

represent, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit, entered on 19 December 1995, in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals’ unreported Order denying the Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc appears in

Appendix (“App.”) A, infra, la. The panel opinion (App. B,

infra, 3a) is officially reported at 71 F.3d 619. The unreported

2.

judgment of the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Ohio appears in App. C, infra, 14a. The District

Court's opinion and order on the Petitioners’ Motion for Summary

Judgment (App. D, infra, 30a) is reported at 826 F. Supp. 1115.

Also reproduced in the appendix are the opinion and order of the

District Court granting Petitioners’ Motion for a Preliminary

Injunction (App. F, infra, 55a), reported at 798 F. Supp. 463, and

the unreported opinion and order of the District Court denying the

Motion of Respondents AFSCME Local 1632, Ohio Council 8,

AFL-CIO and AFSCME Ohio Council 8, AFL-CIO, to Dissolve

the Preliminary Injunction (App. E, infra, 41a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment was entered on 19 December 1995. Petitioners’

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc was

denied on 7 March 1996 (App. A, infra, la). The time for

petitioning for a writ of certiorari runs from the latter date.

Bowman v. Loperena, 311 U.S. 262, 266 (1940). On 22 May

1996, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) (West 1993) and Rule 13.5

of the Rules of this Court, Justice Stevens extended the time within

which to file a petition for a writ of certiorari to and including 2

August 1996. This petition is timely under Rule 13.1 of the Rules

of this Court. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1) (West 1993).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the First and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the Constitution of the United States, the Civil Rights Act

of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (West 1994), and Ohio’s Public

Employee Collective Bargaining Law (“PECBL”), OxuIo REV.

CopE ANN. § 4117.09, appear in App. G, infra, 69a.

Sp

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are seven individuals representing a class of more

than 1,500 present and/or former nonuniformed employees of the

Respondent City of Columbus (“City”) in a bargaining unit for

which the exclusive bargaining representative is Respondent

AFSCME Local 1632, Ohio Council 8, AFL-CIO (“Local 1632”).

Petitioners, like the members of the class (collectively, “the

nonmembers”), are not union members, and/or were not members

when “agency fees” were seized from their pay. App. B at 3a-4a.

Local 1632 is affiliated with, inter alia, Respondent AFSCME

Ohio Council 8, AFL-CIO (“Ohio Council 8”), the American

Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO

(“the International”), and the American Federation of Labor-

Congress of Industrial Organizations (“AFL-CIO”). App. B at 4a.

Pursuant to the PECBL, Onto REV. CoDE ANN. § 4117.09,

Local 1632 and the City executed a collective bargaining agree-

ment—including an agency shop clause—effective in April 1990.

The City agreed to deduct for the benefit of Local 1632 “agency

fees” from the wages of all nonmembers. /d.

Beginning in April 1990, the City seized “agency fees” from

the nonmembers, and forwarded the fees to Ohio Council 8. Part

of the fees were then forwarded by Ohio Council 8 to Local 1632

and the International.' None of the procedural protections

required by this Court’s decision in Chicago Teachers Union,

Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986), was provided before

these fee seizures began. App. F at 56a; 798 F. Supp. at 465.

After about three months of collections, AFSCME sent to the

nonmembers the first of a series of notices, purportedly to fulfill

its obligations under Hudson. These were the notices considered

by the District Court. As relevant to this Petition, each of these

' For ease of reference, and unless otherwise necessary for clarity, Local

1632 and Ohio Council 8 shall hereinafter be referred to as “AFSCME,” or

“the union.”

ee ee Re

oT

-4-

notices claimed that the following categories of expenditures

(which appeared in the following form in the notice’s final

incarnation) were properly chargeable to nonmembers in the City

bargaining unit represented by Local 1632:

Expenses associated with the following activities are

totally chargeable:

x*x* * *

5. The public advertising of AFSCME'’s positions on the

negotiation, ratification, or implementation of collective

bargaining agreements.

6. Lobbying for the negotiation, ratification, or imple-

mentation of a collective bargaining agreement.

xx x *

15. The prosecution or defense of arbitration, litigation

or charges to obtain ratification, interpretation, imple-

mentation, or enforcement of collective bargaining agree-

ments and any other litigation before agencies or in the

courts which concerns bargaining unit employees which

is normally conducted by an exclusive representative.

District Court Record (“R.”) 78, AFSCME’s Motion to Dissolve

the Preliminary Injunction, and Brief in Support Thereof, Exhibit

1, pp. 4-5 (emphasis added).”

The nonmembers filed this civil rights class action under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 (West 1994) in the District Court on 15 March

1992. They sought a declaratory judgment; injunctive relief;

> The final notice considered by the District Court further stated that:

In light of the decision of the U.S. District Court in Reese

v. City of Columbus, the International Union has treated as

nonchargeable all expenses associated with lobbying for purposes

other than the ratification, interpretation, implementation or

enforcement of collective bargaining agreements.

R. 78 at 18 (emphasis added); see also id. at 23 (auditor's notes for Ohio

Council 8— “Likewise, all lobbying expenses incurred for purposes other than

the negotiation, ratification, or implementation of a collective bargaining

agreement were treated as totally nonchargeable”) (emphasis added).

sé.

nominal, punitive, and compensatory damages; and costs and attor-

neys’ fees, on the ground that the City and Local 1632 were

enforcing their “agency shop” scheme in violation of Hudson.’

Simultaneously, the nonmembers successfully sought a class-wide

preliminary injunction to stop all fee seizures, based upon

AFSCME’s first notice. R. 2, Plaintiffs’ Motion for a Preliminary

Injunction; App. F at 68a; 798 F. Supp. at 472.

With a second notice and recalculated fee, AFSCME moved

for dissolution of the preliminary injunction on 6 October 1992.

R. 36, AFSCME’s Motion to Dissolve the Injunction. This motion

was denied on 19 February 1993. App. E at 53a-S4¢a. The

nonmembers moved for summary judgment on 15 January 1993.

They requested, inter alia, a final declaratory judgment that the

“agency fees” seized before the District Court’s preliminary

injunction was entered violated the nonmembers’ First-Amendment

due-process rights, because AFSCME’s notices and procedures

were insufficient under Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986). R. 61,

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment. That motion was

granted in part and denied in part on 23 June 1993. App. D at

40a; 826 F. Supp. at 1122.

The District Court found that AFSCME and the City had

failed to comply with all of “the constitutional requirements for the

... collection of agency fees” set forth in Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310,

and its Sixth Circuit progeny, reserving certain other issues for

trial to commence on 20 September 1993. App. D at 40a; 826 F.

Supp. at 1122. After the parties reached a partial settlement on the

eve of trial (reserving for appeal issues raised in the District

Court’s 23 June Opinion and Order), and after a fairness hearing

required by Rule 23(e), Fep. R. Civ. P., the District Court

entered final judgment on 4 January 1994, “consistent with th[e]

Court’s prior rulings and decisions.” App. C at 15a.

> The District Court had jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1343.

R. 1, Plaintiffs’ Verified Class Action Complaint, ¢{ 2-3.

—6-

In its 23 June order, the District Court denied that portion of

the nonmembers’ summary judgment motion which sought relief

from AFSCME’s calculation of an “agency fee” that included its

expenditures for: (1) litigation activities outside of the nonmem-

bers’ bargaining unit; (2) public relations/advertising expenditures

for the negotiation, ratification, and implementation of collective

bargaining agreements other than that which governs the terms and

conditions of employment for the nonmembers; and (3) lobbying

expenditures for the negotiation, ratification, and implementation

of collective bargaining agreements other than that which governs

the nonmembers’ terms and conditions of employment. App. D at

37a-39a; 826 F. Supp. at 1121-22; see also App. E at 44a-53a.

The court found that charging nonmembers for these expenditures

is constitutionally permissible under the First Amendment and

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association, 500 U.S. 507 (1991). These

findings were contrary, in part, to legal determinations made by

the District Court in its initial preliminary injunction decision.

App. F at 64a-65a; 798 F. Supp. at 470.

With a third notice and recalculated fee, AFSCME renewed

its Motion to Dissolve the Preliminary Injunction on 20 August

1993. R. 78. Petitioners opposed on the grounds that the new

notice and procedures calculated the “agency fee” to include

AFSCME expenditures for those activities outside of the bargaining

unit as set forth above.

On 20 September 1993, the District Court dissolved the

preliminary injunction. It held that “the final amended proposed

fair share fee notice does comply with all applicable constitutional

requirements.” R. 94, Order Dissolving the Preliminary Injunc-

tion. This ruling was based in part upon the court’s earlier

holdings (denying in part Petitioners’ summary judgment motion,

App. D at 37a-38a, 826 F. Supp. at 1121, and denying AFSCME’s

initial motion to dissolve the preliminary injunction, App. E at

44a-5S3a) that it is constitutionally permissible for AFSCME to

calculate the “agency fee” to include its expenditures for litigation

activities outside of the bargaining unit, and public relations/

advertising and lobbying expenditures for the negotiation, ratifica-

tion, and implementation of collective bargaining agreements other

3

than that which governs the terms and conditions of employment

for the nonmembers. Final judgment was entered on 4 January

1994. R. 111, Entry of Final Judgment.

The nonmembers timely noticed their appeals from the entry

dissolving the injunction on 4 October 1993, and from the Entry

of Final Judgment on 27 January 1994. R. 97, Notice of Appeal;

R. 112, Notice of Appeal. The appeals were consolidated upon

AFSCME’s motion on 4 February 1994.

In the Court of Appeals, the nonmembers challenged the

District Court’s dissolution of the preliminary injunction and entry

of final judgment that found AFSCME’s notice and procedures

constitutionally adequate under Hudson. Specifically, they attacked

the District Court’s rulings that AFSCME could claim as charge-

able its expenditures for: (1) litigation activities outside of the

nonmembers’ bargaining unit; (2) public relations/advertising

expenditures for the negotiation, ratification, and implementation

of collective bargaining agreements other than that which governs

the terms and conditions of employment for the nonmembers; and

(3) lobbying expenditures for the negotiation, ratification, and

implementation of collective bargaining agreements other than that

which governs the terms and conditions of employment for the

nonmembers. App. B at 6a; 71 F.3d at 623.

The panel affirmed the District Court with regard to extra-unit

litigation and public relations/advertising expenditures. App. B at

7a-10a; 71 F.3d at 623-25. However, the panel found that “the

District Court did not expressly apply the three-prong test [in

Lehnert] to the extra-unit lobbying expense,” and that “there was

a genuine issue of material fact concerning the benefit, if any, the

objectors’ unit received from this expenditure in deciding the

summary judgment motion.” Jd. at 12a-13a; 71 F.3d at 626. The

panel therefore remanded:

for a determination of whether the lobbying expense

charge benefitted the objectors’ unit and if so, whether

the expenditure is justified by the government’s vital

policy interest in labor peace and avoiding free-riders and

-8-

whether the charge significantly added to the burdening

of free speech that is inherent in the allowance of an

agency shop.

App. B at 12a-13a; 71 F.3d at 626. A timely Petition for Rehear-

ing and Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc was denied on 7 March

1996, with “less than a majority of the judges having favored the

Suggestion.” App. A at la.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents important questions concerning the constitu-

tional limitations on a public employer’s authority, granted by state

law, to seize “agency fees” from nonunion public employees for

the benefit of a mandatory collective bargaining representative.

Though some of the issues presented herein were decided by this

Court in Lehnert, that case’s multiple opinions have led to

confusion in the lower courts and encouraged the Court of Appeals

to depart from this Court’s holdings. Indeed, at least one of these

issues has been specifically and unanimously decided by this Court

in the context of the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”), 45 U.S.C. §

151, et seq., Ellis v. Railway Clerks, 466 U.S. 435, 453 (1984)

(holding that nonmembers may be forced to subsidize litigation

only in and for their bargaining unit), a decision not even cited by

the Court of Appeals.

A number of the courts of appeals have themselves suggested

the need for further guidance from tis Court on these questions.

In Bromley v. Michigan Education Association, the Sixth Circuit

explained that “[w]hether the objecting employee can be required

to contribute to the cost of [extra-unit] litigation proved to be a

difficult question for our panel in light of the Supreme Court’s

fractured decision in Lehnert.” 82 F.3d 686, 696 (6th Cir. 1996).

In Pilots Against Illegal Dues v. Air Line Pilots Association

(“ALPA”), the court of appeals commented that, because the

section of Justice Blackmun’s opinion in Lehnert dealing with

extra-unit litigation “was adopted by a majority of the Court, some

uncertainty may remain as to whether the Constitution forbids

-9-

charging dissenting employees for extra-unit litigation.” 938 F.2d

1123, 1130 (10th Cir. 1991).‘

One Circuit Judge has explicitly solicited further guidance

from this Court on these questions. In Beckett v. Air Line Pilots

Association, Judge Silberman complained that:

when assessments have been levied for expenditures

relating to activities at another bargaining unit, it is

impossible to detect in the Supreme Court cases—

particularly Lehnert—a principled basis for distinguishing

expenditures that are “germane” from those that are not.

He then appealed for guidance: “surely the Court can give us some

principles on which to base our decisions.” 59 F.3d 1276, 1281

(D.C. Cir. 1995) (Silberman, J., concurring dubitante).

The Court of Appeals decided the questions presented here in

a way that pays insufficient heed to this Court’s oft-repeated

admonition that impingements upon First-Amendment rights must

be narrowly tailored to serve a compelling government interest.

Austin v. Michigan Chamber of Commerce, 494 U.S. 652, 666

(1990), citing Police Dep’t of Chicago v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92,

101 (1972); see also Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S.

609, 623 (1984) (infringements on associational freedoms justified

by compelling state interests must be achieved by least restrictive

means); NAACP y. Button, 371 U.S. 415, 438 (1963) (“Precision

of regulation” must be the touchstone in the First Amendment

context), cited with approval in Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303 n.11. In

permitting the City and AFSCME to compel the nonmembers’

support for AFSCME’s “speech of a political nature in a public

forum,” Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528, the Court of Appeals failed to

require the constitutionally—necessary nexus between the limited

license granted to Local 1632 to compel nonmembers to subsidize

* The Tenth Circuit, however, did conclude from Lehnert “that a

majority of the Supreme Court would not allow [the union] to charge [extra-

unit} litigation expenses to [objecting nonmembers].” 938 F.2d at 1130.

-10-

its function as their monopoly bargaining representative and the

functions performed by its affiliated labor organizations.

In so doing, the Court of Appeals disregarded the limited

authority granted to public employers and labor unions to compel

nonmembers’ financial support of those unions, when this Court’s

decisions command a contrary result. For the second time,’ the

Sixth Circuit has adopted a broad chargeability rule which compels

nonmembers to support union speech and political activities

directly contrary to their own political beliefs and interests—

ignoring this Court’s mandates that such infringements be circum-

scribed by “precision of regulation.” Button, 371 U.S. at 438.

The Court of Appeals’ decision compels nonunion employees to

subsidize litigation, speech, and political activities far removed

from their own bargaining unit and which may well be directly

contrary to their own political and pecuniary interests.

I. THE IMPORTANT QUESTIONS PRESENTED HAVE BEEN

SETTLED By THIS COURT, BUT THE COURT SHOULD

RESOLVE THE CONFUSION ENGENDERED BY ITS OWN

SPLIT OPINIONS.

The mere existence of an “agency shop” “is ‘a significant

impingement on First Amendment rights’” of nonunion employees.

Hudson, 475 U.S. at 301 & n.8, quoting Ellis, 466 U.S. at 455-

56. Moreover, the government may not compel public employees

to support financially a union’s political and ideological activities.

Abood vy. Detroit Bd. of Educ., 431 U.S. 209, 235 (1977);

Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 516. Consequently, procedures for the

collection of “agency fees” must be “carefully tailored to minimize

the [First Amendment] infringement.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303.

* See Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association, 881 F.2d 1388, 1389 (6th

Cir. 1989) (2-1 decision) (Martin, J., for the majority), aff'd in part, rev'd

in part, 500 U.S. 507 (1991); Reese, App. B at 3a; 71 F.3d at 621 (authored

by Martin, J.).

a:

The importance of these issues is demonstrated by the fact that

at least twice in its last six terms, this Court has reaffirmed the

constitutional limitations upon a government which licenses

politically-active private organizations to compel financial support

for some of their activities. This Court has held that requiring

payment or allowing seizure of monies to finance political and

ideological activities outside of a compelling state interest justifying

the infringement inherent in the compelled association imper-

missibly violates the First-Amendment rights of free association

and speech. See Lehnert (public-employee unions); see also Keller

v. State Bar, 496 U.S. 1, 9-17 (1990) (“integrated” or “unified”

state bars).

Further, this Court has already agreed to review—in :'s next

term—a case involving the First-Amendment implications of a

federal statutory and administrative scheme requiring handlers of

certain agricultural products to fund generic advertising programs

for those commodities. Wileman Brothers & Elliott, Inc. v. Espy,

58 F.3d 1367 (9th Cir. 1995), cert. granted sub nom. Glickman vy.

Wileman Brothers & Elliott, Inc., __ U.S. __, 116 S. Ct. 1875

(1996); see also Glickman’s Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at 14

(case involves compelled funding of “generic advertising”).

Significantly, the Glickman Petition asserts that “Abood and Keller

furnish the most appropriate general principles for reviewing the

generic advertising programs at issue here.” /d. at 18.

This Court also has addressed the constitutional limits on the

power of governments and unions under an “agency shop” in Ellis

(under the RLA), and Hudson and Abood (in public employment).

“[T]Jhe importance of these issues” caused the Court to grant

certiorari in these cases. Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 514.

Besides the 1,500 present and former nonunion City of

Columbus employees represented by the Petitioners, the questions

presented by this Petition are crucial to the millions of American

employees whose First-Amendment freedoms are burdened by

-]2.-

compulsory unionism: schemes. As of 1996, some form of

compulsory unionism was authorized or occurs for at least some

classes of public employees in some twenty states and the District

of Columbia. Milton L. Chappell, Seeking a New Foundation, 16

Government Union Review 1, 6-7, 23-28 (table) (1995). In 1995,

nearly two million nonmember employees were represented by

unions, with more than 53% of those in the public sector. Barry

T. Hirsch and David A. Macpherson, Union Membership and

Earnings Data Book: Compilations from the Current Population

Survey (BNA), Table 7a (1996). Approximately 80% of the

employees falling under the jurisdiction of the National Labor

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151, ef seq., are subject to agency

shop arrangements with private employers. Bureau of Labor

Statistics, Major Collective Bargaining Agreements: Union Security

and Dues Checkoff Provisions 5 (1982).

The freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment are “rights

which we value most highly and which ave essential to the

workings of a free society.” Speiser v. Randail, 357 U.S. 513,

521 (1958). The government must “tread[ ] with sensitivity in

areas freighted with First Amendment concerns,” such as agency

* In the wake of Hudson, literally tens of thousands of nonunion public

employees have obtained relief for violations of the First-Amendment rights

as set forth therein. See Mitchell v. Los Angeles Unified Sch. Dist., 744 F.

Supp. 938, 944 (C.D. Cal. 1990), rev'd on other grounds, 963 F.2d 258, 262

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, —§ U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 375 (1992) (class of 8,000

nonunion teachers required to pay agency fees); Hohe v. Casey, 128 F.R.D.

68, 72 (M.D. Pa. 1989) (class of 56,000 nonunion state employees), aff'd in

part, rev'd in part, 956 F.2d 399 (3d Cir. 1992); Damiano v. Matish, 644

F.Supp. 1058, 1060 (W.D. Mich. 1986) (class of 200 state employees), rev'd

on other grounds, 830 F.2d 1363 (6th Cir. 1987); George v. Baltimore City

Public Sch., 117 F.R.D. 368 (D. Md. 1987) (class of more than 1,000

nonunion teachers).

Of course, the Court's disposition of this case would also be preceden-

tial in other “agency shop” contexts, including those under the National

Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151, et seg., and those arising under the

RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 151, et seqg.; Keller, 496 U.S. at 14-17; see also Lehnert,

$00 U.S. at 516; Communications Workers of America v. Beck, 487 U.S.

735, 762 (1988); Ellis, 466 U.S. at 443, 455-56.

. 4

shop arrangements. Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303 n.12. Moreover,

infringements upon the exercise of First-Amendment rights must

be “narrowly tailored to serve a compelling government interest.”

Board of County Commissioners v. Umbehr, ___ U.S. ___, 64

U.S.L.W. 6482, 6485 (28 June 1996). Additionally, “care must

be taken not to confuse the interest of partisan organizations with

governmental interests.” Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 362

(1976) (per curiam).

Notwithstanding these admonitions, the courts below failed to

tread with the requisite sensitivity on the First-Amendment rights

of the nonunion City employees, determining instead that they

constitutionally may be compelled to subsidize activities of the

unions already found by this Court constitutionally to be non-

chargeable to nonunion public employees. Lehnert, 500 U.S. at

527 (lobbying expenditures), 528 (extra-unit litigation expenditures

and public relations expenditures); cf Ellis, 466 U.S. at 453

(extra-unit litigation unanimously held to be nonchargeable to

nonmembers under the RLA).

The panel's validation of procedures which allow government

to compel nonmembers to fund a unions’ nonchargeable activities

promotes widespread distortion of the political and legislative

processes. Cf. Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 25 (1976) (per

curiam) (government has primary interest in prevention of

corruption and appearance of corruption in electoral process); see

also Colorado Republican Fed. Campaign Comm. v. Federal

Election Comm'n, __:-U.S. ___, 64 U.S.L.W. 4663, 4664 (28

June 1996) (“‘compelling’ governmental interest in assuring the

electoral system's legitimacy, protecting it from the appearance and

reality of corruption”). “Conditioning public employment on

partisan support prevents support of competing political interests.”

Elrod, 427 U.S. at 356; cof Umbehr, 64 U.S.L.W. at 4687

(nonrenewal of public contracts in retaliation for protected speech

violates First Amendment); O’Hare Truck Service, Inc. v. City of

Northlake, _U.S.__, 64 U.S.L. W.. 4694, 4698 (28 June 1996)

(same). “Given the increasingly pervasive character of government

employment, ... the power to starve political opposition by

commanding partisan support, financial and otherwise, may have

-14-

a significant [distorting] impact on the formation and expression of

political beliefs.” Branti v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507, 513 n.8 (1980).

For all of these far-reaching and important reasons, the Petition

should be granted.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISION CONFLICTS WITH

THIS COURT’S DECISIONS, AS WELL AS THOSE OF A

NUMBER OF COURTS OF APPEALS AND AT LEAST

Two STATE SUPREME COURTS.

The court below was not the first appellate court to address

the issues presented here in the wake of this Court’s decision in

Lehnert, 500 U.S. 507 (1991). It was, however, the first and

only appellate court to hold that Lehnert permits public employers

and unions to force nonmembers to subsidize some of the activities

in question.’

The panel concluded that, in Lehnert, “a majority [of this

Court] approved of charges for pooled expenses like those in this

case.” App. B at 8a; 71 F.3d at 624. The panel conceded that

four Justices specifically found extra-unit litigation expenses to be

nonchargeable. The panel constructed a majority to the contrary

by first agreeing with Justice Marshall's lone dissent that “the issue

of extra-unit litigation costs was not properly before the Court.”

” Tt appears that not all of the judges of the Sixth Circuit agree with the

panel’s decision below. After the panel's decision and the denial of the

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc in this case,

another panel issued its decision in Bromley v. Michigan Education Associa-

tion, 82 F.3d 686 (6th Cir. 1996). There, the court commented that the

chargeability of extra-unit litigation expenditures was “a difficult question for

our panel in light of” this Court’s decision in Lehnert. Bromley held extra-

unit litigation chargeable only because Reese, 71 F.3d 619 (6th Cir. 1995),

was “binding under our circuit precedent rule.” Jd. at 695-96. See LRL

Properties v. Portage Metro Housing Authority, 55 F.3d 1097, 1105 (6th Cir.

1995) (circuit rule that one panel may not overrule the decision of another

panel), reh. denied. Moreover, the order denying rehearing en banc in this

case implies that at least one judge requested rehearing en banc. See App.

A, la-2a.

-15-

Id., citing 500 U.S. at 543 (Marshall, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part).* The panel then cited the majority's agreement

on the general test for “pooled expenses.” However, the panel

ignored Justice Scalia’s statement (joined by three other Justices),

citing with approval Ellis’ treatment of extra-unit litigation

expenditures as nonchargeable. 500 U.S. at 554.

Ellis held that only the costs of a union’s litigation to enforce

and administer the bargaining unit’s agreement were chargeable.

“The expenses of litigation not having such a connection with the

bargaining unit are not to be charged to objecting employees.”

466 U.S. at 453 (emphasis added). Ellis specifically, unambig-

uously, and unanimously held that:

objecting employees need not share the costs of the

union’s challenge to the legality of the airline industry

mutual aid pact; of litigation seeking to protect the rights

of airline employees generally during bankruptcy pro

ceedings; or of defending suits alleging violations of the

non-discrimination requirements of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964.

466 U.S. at 453 (emphasis added). These rulings were reiterated

by Lehnert, and cannot be squared with the panel's ruling in the

instant case. The panel misapplied the general test to draw a

conclusion contrary to this Court's specific application of the same

test. That leaves the court below, under the panel’s rule of law,

espousing the dubious but clearly implicit proposition that Lehnert

overruled Ellis sub silentio, a curious circumstance indeed, since

every Justice (save Justice Marshall) declared that Ellis should be

followed in the public sector. 500 U.S. at 518-19, 528 (Blackmun,

J.); id. at 554-55 (Scalia, J.). Oddly, but revealingly, one searches

* This proposition seems to have escaped every other Justice. To the

contrary, the Court applies the same rule to the costs of an activity and the

costs of reporting about it. Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528; Ellis, 466 U.S. at 451

& n.11; see also Crawford v. Air Line Pilots Association, 992 F.2d 1295,

1311 (4th Cir.) (en banc) (Russell, J., dissenting), cert. denied, —_—*US..

__, 1148. Ct. 195 (1993).

Ys

the panel's opinion in vain for any reference to this Court’s

contrary decision in Ellis.

Of necessity, this curious—albeit quiet—conclusion requires

the assumption that no member of this Court realized that Justices

Marshall, Scalia, and the three other Justices who joined the

latter’s (though not the former's) opinion constituted a majority as

to the chargeability of extra-unit litigation.” This conclusion

suggests that Justice Marshall not only did not know that his

opinion constituted the majority on this issue, but that he operated

under the misconception that his was the minority position. It also

suggests that the other four Justices who sub silentio agreed with

Justice Marshall kept their agreement with him a secret!

The panel’s conclusion is contrary to common-sense and

Justice Marshall’s opinion. Four times he stated that he dissented

from “the Court’s decision that the costs of articles printed in [the

union]’s employee journal about union litigation outside petitioners’

bargaining unit are not chargeable.” Jd. at 534 (Marshall, J.,

dissenting in part); accord, id. at 534 (“the Court’s disposition of

these three disputed charges,” i.e., lobbying, public relations, and

extra-unit litigation), 545 (“the Court’s unreasonable conclusion

that these [costs for reporting on extra-unit litigation] are not

chargeable”), 550 (“the Court’s conclusion that the three types

* Justice Kennedy joined the part of Justice Scalia’s opinion which

implicitly concurred in the plurality’s holding that all extra-unit litigation and

lobbying expenditures are nonchargeable. See Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 562

(Kennedy, J., concurring in the judgment in part and dissenting in part).

However, Justice Kennedy also suggested that extra-unit litigation should be

chargeable under Justice Scalia’s view that the costs of “on-call services for

use in the bargaining process,” id. (Scalia, J., concurring in part), are

chargeable even though not provided to the nonmembers’ bargaining unit.

See id. at 563 (Kennedy, J.). On the other hand, Justice Scalia indicated

neither that he disagreed with the plurality nor that he agreed with Justice

Kennedy as to extra-unit litigation. Moreover, Justice Scalia omitted

litigation from examples of “collective-bargaining services (such as negotiat-

ing advice, economic analysis, and informational assistance),” id., at 561

(Scalia, J.), which he felt should be chargeable on an “on-call” basis.

-17-

of charges discussed above may not be included in the service

fees”) (emphasis added).

The panel’s conclusion also misapprehends what Justice Scalia

actually did. Justice Scalia specifically said where he disagreed

with the principal opinion and criticized it for “expand[ing] and

obscur[ing] the category of expenses for which a union may

constitutionally compel contributions from dissenting nonmem-

bers.” 500 U.S. at 550 (emphasis added). Notably, Justice Scalia

never criticized the principal opinion for inappropriately limiting

chargeable categories of union expenses. Neither did he even hint

that he disagreed with the finding that extra-unit litigation is non-

chargeable. See Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 550-60; see also Crawford,

992 F.2d at 1316 (Russell, J., dissenting) (“While the union’s

suggestion [that Justice Scalia would allow charges for extra-unit

litigation] is creative, it is not persuasive”).

To the contrary, Justice Scalia and at least two other Justices

implicitly concurred with the plurality’s comments concerning

extra-unit litigation, by quoting Ellis’ ruling that nonmembers may

be charged

only ... for litigation “incident to negotiating and admin-

istering the contract or to settling grievances and

disputes arising in the bargaining unit,” and “other

litigation ... that concerns bargaining unit employees

and is normally conducted by the exclusive representa-

tive.”

Id. at 555 (emphasis added) (quoting 466 U.S. at 453). He then

concluded that “there is good reason to treat [Ellis and other

private-sector cases] as merely reflecting the constitutional rule.”

500 U.S. at 555 (emphasis added).

Recognizing that he was a minority of one, only Justice

Marshall specifically dissented on this issue. He dissented from

“the Court’s decision that the costs of articles printed in MEA’s

employee journal about union litigation outside petitioners’

bargaining unit are not chargeable.” Jd. at 534 (Marshall, J.,

-18-

dissenting in part) (emphasis added). Whatever the interpretive test

applied to fragmented Supreme Court decisions, lower federal

courts are surely obliged to give credence to each Justice’s plain

meaning and understanding of his or her own decision and position

relative to other Justices. Such an analysis leads ineluctably to the

conclusion that the panel misapplied Lehnert. For this reason

alone, the Petition should be granted.

A. There Is A Split In The Circuits—The Court

Below Stands Alone Among Appellate Courts

Addressing Extra-Unit Litigation.

In the wake of Lehnert, the chargeability of extra-unit

litigation expenditures has been considered by other federal circuits

and state supreme courts. Each one reached a conclusion contrary

to that reached by the Sixth Circuit in this case. These conflicts

provide additional reasons for granting the Petition here.

In Pilots Against Illegal Dues v. Air Line Pilots Association,

938 F.2d 1123, 1129-30 (10th Cir. 1991), the Tenth Circuit was

the first circuit to consider, post-Lehnert, whether a labor union

constitutionally may charge nonmembers for extra-unit litigation

expenditures.

Citing Ellis, 466 U.S. at 453, the Tenth Circuit held that

“ALPA may not charge objecting United pilots for expenses

incurred in litigation on behalf of the Continental bargaining unit.”

Pilots Against Illegal Dues, 938 F.2d at 1129-30. In so doing, it

expressly rejected the notion that Ellis did not control: “At bottom,

[the union’s] argument boils down to a contention that the Supreme

Court did not mean what it said in Ellis. We think the Court

meant what it said.” 938 F.2d at 1130.

The Tenth Circuit did not rely upon Ellis alone, specifically

noting that “[tJhis reading of Ellis is bolstered by the recent

Lehnert decision.” Id. at 1130 (emphasis added). The court said

that the “section of Justice Blackmun’s opinion [addressing extra-

unit litigation] was not adopted by a majority of the Court,” and

-19-

that therefore, “some uncertainty may remain as to whether the

Constitution forbids charging dissenting employees for extra-unit

litigation.” Jd. Nonetheless, based on its reading of Justice

Scalia’s opinion in Lehnert, the Tenth Circuit concluded “that a

majority of the Supreme Court would not allow ALPA to charge

[its] litigation expenses [outside the United bargaining unit] to the

plaintiffs.” Jd. at 1130 n.4. ‘The court therefore held that extra-

unit litigation is nonchargeable under the RLA “in order to relieve

doubts concerning the statute’s constitutionality.” Jd. at 1130.

The chargeability of extra-unit litigation also was raised in

Crawford, 992 F.2d at 1316, where five of twelve judges of the en

banc Fourth Circuit vigorously dissented from the assessment that

the issue was not properly preserved for review." That minority

then went on to read Lehnert as barring unions from charging for

the extra-unit litigation expenses validated by the Sixth Circuit in

this case. Crawford, 992 F.2d at 1303-18 (Russell, J., dissenting).

The five-judge minority in Crawford—every judge reaching

the issue—had no doubt that this Court’s decisions hold extra-unit

litigation expenditures to be nonchargeable. “In Ellis and Lehnert

the Supreme Court, in positive, clear-cut terms, declared as bluntly

as it could that expenses for litigation outside of a dissenter’s unit

..., were not chargeable against the dissenter.” 992 F.2d at 1304

(citations omitted); see id. at 1316 (“Both Ellis and Lehnert

establish ... an unqualified rule that charges for extra-unit litigation

expenses are improper”). See also Beckett v. ALPA, 59 F.3d at

1281 (Silberman, J., concurring dubitante)."

'© The panel majority concluded that the issue of extra-unit litigation

“simply has not been properly presented and preserved below, and therefore

we express no view about it.” Crawford, 992 F.2d at 1295 (plurality

opinion); see id. at 1302-03 (Wilkinson, J., concurring).

'' While Judge Silberman questioned the “Supreme Court's unique

perception of litigation that leads it to describe that process as ‘political,’” he

nonetheless recognized that this Court “held that nonmembers cannot be

charged for . . . litigation expenses not directly associated with their

(continued...)

-20-

Similarly, the Supreme Courts of both Wisconsin and Indiana

have specifically rejected the notion that nonmembers in one

bargaining unit can be compelled to subsidize litigation activities

in other bargaining units. Browne v. Wisconsin Employment

Relations Comm’n, 485 N.W.2d 376, 388 (Wis. 1992); Albro v.

Indianapolis Education Association, 585 N.E.2d 666, 673 (Ind. Ct.

App.), adopted sub nom. Fort Wayne Education Association v.

Aldrich, 594 N.E.2d 781 (Ind. 1992).”

While stating that “there is no majority decision on this issue

in Lehnert,” the Wisconsin Supreme Court found “Justice Black-

mun’s plurality opinion persuasive.” Moreover, it “inferred from

Justice Scalia’s discussion of Ellis and from other early fair-share

cases that a majority of the Court would find extra-unit litigation

expenses nonchargeable.” The court therefore held that “[e]xtra-

unit litigation fails the first aspect of the Lehnert test—it is not

germane to the collective bargaining activity of the local union.”

Browne, 485 N.W.2d at 388.

Likewise, the Supreme Court of Indiana specifically rejected

the notion that Justice Scalia’s opinion in Lehnert somehow

validated charging for extra-unit litigation:

Justice Scalia’s concurring and dissenting opinion neither

constitutes the opinion of the Court on this issue nor

allows nonunion members to be charged for extra-unit

litigation. In any event, again the analysis in Justice

Biackmun’s plurality opinion is persuasive. We adopt

that opinion, and the judgment of the Court in Lehnert,

" (...continued)

collective bargaining unit.” Beckett, 59 F.3d at 1281, citing, inter alia,

Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528 (plurality opinion), 555 (Scalia, J., concurring).

'? The Indiana Supreme Court adopted in whole the decision of the

Indiana Court of Appeals, Second Division, in Albro. Hence, all references

to the Supreme Court’s decision actually are to the opinion of the Court of

Appeals.

-21-

and hold that extra-unit litigation expenses are not

chargeable fair share fee expenses.

Albro, 585 N.E.2d at 673 (original emphasis).

Thus, one circuit, a substantial minority of judges in another

circuit (all of the judges reaching the issue), and two state supreme

courts have concluded that, under Lehnert, nonmembers may not

be forced to subsidize litigation activities outside of their bargain-

ing unit. Revealingly, the Sixth Circuit failed to in any way

discuss or even cite these determinations, directly contrary to its

own conclusion.’ This conflict among the courts alone is

sufficient reason for granting the Petition.

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Contrary To

Lehnert With Regard To Extra-Unit Public

Relations/Advertising Expenditures, And Con-

flicts With Other Appellate Courts Addressing

This Issue.

Lehnert’s principal opinion “disagree[d]” with the Sixth

Circuit’s earlier decision that “the union constitutionally could

charge [nonmembers] for ... public relations expenditures”

““designed to enhance the reputation of the teaching profession.’”

Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528, quoting 881 F.2d at 1394; see also id.

at 559 (Scalia, J., concurring) (holding all public relations

activities nonchargeable).'* Nonetheless, the panel here held that

'S The District Court at least conceded that it was making determinations

contrary to all existing authority. App. E at 44a-50a; see also App. D at |

37a-38a; 826 F. Supp. at 1121.

'* The issues presented here now have been decided by the Sixth Circuit

for a second time. See Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association, 881 F.2d 1388

(6th Cir. 1989) (2-1 decision) (holding these categories to be chargeable),

rev'd in pertinent part, 500 U.S. at 520-22, 528. In both cases, Judge Martin

authored the Sixth Circuit’s decision. For a second time, his views on these

issues are presented to this Court for review.

| een

-22-

sucn activities are chargeable across bargaining unit lines, relying

on an analogy to Lehnert’s holding that preparations for an illegal

strike are chargeable. Jd. at 530-31.'° The panel thus ignored

this Court’s discussion of the specific category of expenditures at

issue, and the analogy the Court drew between public reiations and

lobbying expenditures: “Like the challenged lobbying conduct, the

public relations activities at issue here entailed speech of a political

nature in a public forum.” Jd. at 528.

Lehnert rejected the Sixth Circuit’s “comparison of these

public relations expenses to the costs of union social activities held

in Ellis to be chargeable to dissenters.” That analogy failed

because the communicative content of social activities was derived

“solely” from the union’s participation in them. 500 U.S. at 529;

see also Ellis, 466 U.S. at 456. The panel’s analogy also fails

because public relations activities inherently are communicative—

“speech of a political nature in a public forum.” 500 U.S. at 528.

Like social activities, strike preparation activities, such as “the

creation ... of a ... ‘strike headquarters,’” id. at 530-31, are not

inherently communicative. Rather, they are “‘within the range of

reasonable bargaining tools available to a public sector union

during contract negotiations,"” and “appurtenant to collective-

bargaining negotiations.” Jd. at 531-32, quoting 881 F.2d at 1394

(emphasis added); see also Crawford, 992 F.2d at 1314 (Russell,

J., dissenting) (“Whether First Amendment rights are implicated

is driven ... by whether the activity has ‘communicative content’

outside of the union”).

Moreover, the strike-preparation expenses considered in

Lehnert were for a strike in support of the collective-bargaining

negotiations in the nonmembers’ own bargaining unit, and thus

necessarily were “to the direct benefit of members of the

dissenters’ unit.” 500 U.S. at 532 (emphasis added). In contrast,

'S The panel erroneously said that “Lehnert did not concern the constitu-

tionality of charges for advertising expenses.” App. B at 10a; 71 F.3d at

625. Advertising by definition is paid public relations, addressed by this

Court in Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528-29.

74.

Lehnert found the challenged public relations expenditures to be

nonchargeable, because “public speech in support of the teaching

profession generally is not sufficiently related to the union’s

collective-bargaining functions” in the nonmembers’ bargaining

unit. See id. at 528.

Public relations and advertising concerning collective bar-

gaining in other bargaining units are no more germane to the

nonmembers’ bargaining than are “public speech in support of the

teaching profession generally.” Jd. at 528. And indeed, because

they impact upon the nonmembers solely as citizens and taxpayers,

but decidedly not as employees in their own bargaining unit, their

First-Amendment significance is direct and tangible.

Public relations activities outside of the bargaining unit are

nonchargeable under Lehnert, because they cannot survive scrutiny

under Lehnert’s requirement that expenditures “not significantly

add to the burdening of free speech that is inherent in the allow-

ance of an agency or union shop.” 500 U.S. at 519; see Albro,

585 N.E.2d at 672-73. Public relations on behalf of the nonmem-

bers’ own bargaining unit is arguably chargeable, because it affects

the nonmember as an employee in his or her unit. But see 500

U.S. at 559 (Scalia, J., concurring) (holding all public relations

activities nonchargeable). Under those circumstances, while public

relations activity is by its very nature compelled speech, it also

bears a closer relationship to the union’s role as exclusive bargain-

ing representative, addressing the negotiation and enforcement of

the collective bargaining agreement governing the nonmember’s

terms and conditions of employment.

On .he other hand, advertising expenditures for other bargain-

ing units are too attenuated in their relationship to bargaining on

the nonmember’s behalf to justify the additional burden upon his

or her free speech rights. They affect the nonmember primarily as

a citizen, taxpayer, and consumer of scarce public resources.

Forced subsidization of extra-unit public relations activities are

both unrelated to the nonmember’s employment relations, and have

a direct, tangible, and adverse impact upon the nonmember’s

constitutional interests in expressing (or refraining from expression

}

.

4

-24-

Or supporting the expression of) political and ideological opinions

as a taxpayer and/or consumer of scarce public resources.

In this way, these expenditures are like the “informational

picketing, media exposure, signs, posters and buttons” found to be

nonchargeable in Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 528-29. They are more

akin to the union organizing activities found to be nonchargeable

under the RLA in Ellis:

[T]he free-rider rationale does not extend this far. The

image of the smug, self-satisfied nonmember, stirring up

resentment by enjoying benefits earned through other

employees’ time and money, is completely out of place

when it comes to the union’s overall organizing efforts.

If one accepts that what is good for the union is good for

the employees, a proposition petitioners would strenuous-

ly deny, then it may be that employees will ultimately

ride for free on the union’s organizing efforts. But the

free rider Congress had in mind was the employee the

union was required to represent and from whom it could

not withhold benefits obtained for its members. Non-

bargaining unit organizing is not directed at that employ-

ee. Organizing money is spent on people who are not

union members, and only in the most distant way works

to the benefit of those already paying dues. Any free-

rider problem here is roughly comparable to that result-

ing from union contributions to pro-labor political

candidates.

Ellis, 466 U.S. at 452-53; see also id. , n.13 (“it would be perverse

to read [the RLA] as allowing the union to charge to objecting

nonmembers part of the costs of attempting to convince them to

become members”).

Comparably, extra-unit public relations/advertising expendi-

tures are “not directed at that [nonmember]. [It] is spent [for]

people who are not union members, and only in the most distant

way works to the benefit of those already paying dues.” Jd. at

453. Indeed, because such expenditures outside of the unit have

25.

tangible impact upon the nonmember as citizen, taxpayer, and

consumer of scarce public resources—but no impact upon the

nonmember as an employee in his or her bargaining unit—they

have the same constitutionally antagonistic relationship as expendi-

tures for union organizing activities.

As with extra-unit litigation, the panel’s ruling concerning

public relations/advertising activities conflicts with the decisions of

other appellate courts. In Albro, the Indiana Supreme Court held

that all public relations activities, as “speech activities that are

directed to the public at large,” are nonchargeable. 585 N.E.2d at

672-73.

Similarly, in Crawford, all judges of the Fourth Circuit who

discussed the chargeability of extra-unit public relations activities

concluded that such activities are nonchargeable under Lehnert.

The only activity with communicative content directed

outside the union that the Court found could be charged

against dissenters was preparation for a strike in the

dissenters’ unit because it was “within the range of

reasonable bargaining tools available to a ... union during

contract negotiations.”

992 F.2d at 1315 (Russell, J., dissenting), citing Lehnert, 500 U.S.

at 530-31. The Court should grant the petition to resolve the

conflicts among the appellate courts on this issue, too.

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Contrary To

Lehnert With Regard To Extra-Unit Lobbying

Expenditures, And Conflicts With Other Appel-

late Courts Addressing This Issue.

Expenses for lobbying “to obtain ratification or implementa-

tion of a collective bargaining agreement” are chargeable to

objecting nonmembers under Lehnert’s principal opinion only if

they “concern legislative ratification of, or fiscal appropriations

for, their collective bargaining agreement.” 500 U.S. at 519

-26-

(emphasis added). This approval was grudging, justified only

because of the “dual roles of government as employer and policy-

maker.” Jd. at 520. However, the panel below divined a Supreme

Court majority for the proposition that such lobbying is chargeable

without regard to the unit involved, so long as it “benefitted the

objectors’ unit,” again utilizing Justice Marshall's solitary dissent.

App. B at | la-12a; 71 F.3d at 625.

A clear majority of this Court disapproved of the chargeability

of such expenditures. In addition to the principal opinion’s explicit

holding, Justice Scalia’s test for chargeability compels that

conclusion. Justice Scalia held that:

a charge must at least be incurred in performance of the

union’s statutory duties.... [A] union cannot constitution-

ally charge nonmembers for any expenses except those

incurred for the conduct of activities in which the union

owes a duty of fair representation to the nonmembers

being charged.

Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 558 (original emphasis). He concluded that

union “costs in providing collective-bargaining services ... to its

affiliates nationwide” met that test, because having “on-call

services for use in the bargaining process” available to the non-

members’ bargaining unit when needed is “a tangible benefit

relating to the union's performance of its representational duties.”

Id. at 561. However, Justice Scalia did not include lobbying for

ratification or implementation of a collective bargaining agreement

as an example of the “collective-bargaining services (such as

negotiating advice, economic analysis, and informational assis-

tance),” id. at 561, which can be charged on an “on-call” basis.

Justice Scalia agreed with Justice Blackmun “that the chal-

lenged lobbying expenses are nonchargeable,” because they “are

no part of this collective bargaining process.” Jd. at 560 (empha-

sis added). The bargaining process to which Justice Scalia referred

was that defined by state law, MicH. Comp. Laws § 423.214

(quoted at 500 U.S. at 559), as “the performance of the mutual

obligation of the employer and the representative of the employees

|

-27-

to meet at reasonable times and confer in good faith with respect

to wages, hours, and other terms and conditions of employment,

or the negotiation of an agreement, or any question arising

thereunder.” Justice Scalia emphasized that, under this definition,

“the union's duties extend only to negotiating an agreement and

resolving disputes under it.” 500 U.S. at 559 n.3 (original

emphasis). Lobbying for the ratification or implementation of a

collective bargaining agreement, even in the nonmember’s own

unit, is neither “negotiating an agreement” nor “resolving disputes

under it.”"*

Ohio law is virtually indistinguishable from the statutory

provision considered by Justice Scalia. The Ohio Revised Code

similarly defines “to bargain collectively” as:

to perform the mutual obligation of the public employer,

by its representatives, and the representative of its

employees to negotiate in good faith at reasonable times

and places with respect to wages, hours, terms and

conditions of employment and the continuation, modifica-

tion, or deletion of an existing provision of a collective

bargaining agreement, with the intention of reaching an

agreement, or to resolve questions arising under the

agreement.

§ 4117.01(G). As in Lehnert, the lobbying and public relations

here at issue, for the ratification or implementation of a collective

bargaining agreement, even in a nonmember’s own unit, are

neither “negotiat{ion]” nor “resolv{ing] questions arising under the

agreement.”

‘* The lobbying expenditures challenged in Lehnert included support of

“millages,” i.¢., local property taxes, to fund elementary, intermediate, and

high schools. See Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association, 643 F. Supp. 1306,

1313 (W.D. Mich. 1986). Although millages were unrelated to bargaining

in the Lehnert plaintiffs’ unit, which was in higher education, see id. at 1308,

they could easily be said to be necessary to the implementation of collective

bargaining agreements in those other bargaining units. 881 F.2d at 1392.

Justice Scalia, nonetheless, agreed that they were not chargeable.

-28-

That this was Justice Scalia’s view is confirmed by another

part of his opinion. Lobbying clearly is a political activity. See

Machinists v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, 769 n.17 (1961). Justice

Scalia restated the holding of “Street that expenses relating to

political and ideological activities could not be charged to nonmem-

bers,” because they were not “‘costs of negotiating and administer-

ing collective agreements.’” Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 554, quoting

Street, 367 U.S. at 764. As the District Court recognized in

Lehnert, 643 F. Supp. at 1523 (emphasis added), Street negatively

“settled the question whether political or ideological expenditures

can ever be chargeable to an objecting member of a private sector

bargaining unit.” Yet Justice Scalia concluded that “there is good

reason to treat [Street and other private-sector cases] as merely

reflecting the constitutional rule.” Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 555

(Scalia, J., concurring in part) (emphasis added). It follows that

Justice Scalia viewed political and ideological activity, including

lobbying, as never part of the statutory bargaining process, and

therefore, never chargeable.

Other courts ruling in the wake of Lehnert have agreed that no

extra-unit lobbying is chargeable to nonmembers. See Albro, 585

N.E.2d at 671-72; see also Beckett, 59 F.3d at 1280-81 (Silber-

man, J., concurring) (“lobbying activities” are not chargeable

under Lehnert); cf. Beck v. Communications Workers of America,

776 F.2d 1187, 1210-11 & n.31 (4th Cir. 1985) (holding lobbying

nonchargeable in private-sector case), aff'd en banc, 800 F.2d

1280 (4th Cir. 1986), affd, 487 U.S. 735 (1988); Schreier v.

Beverly California Corp. , 892 F. Supp. 225, 227 (D. Minn. 1995)

(same), citing Lehnert; cf. Smith v. Regents, 4 Cal. 4th 843, 865,

844 P.2d 500, 515-16 (1993) (en banc) (authority to force subsidi-

zation of lobbying activities under Lehnert extends only to “those

matters that are strictly necessary to further the interest that

justified the requirement of support”) (emphasis added).

As with extra-unit litigation and public relations/advertising

expenditures, certiorari should be granted to resolve this stark and

irreconcilable conflict between the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

and other appellate courts addressing expenditures for extra-unit

lobbying. These conflicts—occasioned by the decision of the Sixth

-29-

Circuit in this case—can be resolved only by a clear pronounce-

ment by this Court as to the appropriate standard of chargeability

of a union’s expenditure of funds pursuant to its duties as the

nonmember’s monopoly bargaining representative.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, this petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted, and the case set for plenary briefing

and argument on the important questions presented herein.

Respectfully submitted,

W. JAMES YOUNG*

GLENN M. TAUBMAN

c/o National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

August 1996

REBSE\CERTIORA RI\PETITION FIN

Tureday, 3) July 1996 3:04 pm. B.D.T

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

March 7, 1996

-la-

Nos. 93-4112/94-3108

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

)

RICHARD W. REESE, ET AL., ) [Filed

) March 7 1996

Plaintiffs-Appellants, ) LEONARD GREEN,

) Clerk]

)

v. ) ORDER

)

CITY OF COLUMBUS, ET AL., )

)

Defendants-Appellants. )

)

BEFORE: MARTIN, GUY, and DAUGHTREY, Circuit Judges

The court having received a petition for rehearing en banc, and

the petition having been circulated not only to the original panel

members but also to all other active judges of this court, and less

than a majority of the judges having favored the suggestion, the

petition for rehearing has been referred to the original hearing

panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing and

concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully considered

-2a-

upon the original submission and decision of the case. Accordingly,

the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/

Leonard Green, Clerk

APPENDIX B

OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

December 19, 1995

NG

A

ras

ue

a} eg

*

-3a-

[71 F.3d 619]

Richard W. REESE; George R. Jordan; Richard D.

Kaufman; Betty Slater; Larry L. Wygle; Marion R.

Cramblit; Timothy Wanner, on behalf of themselves and

the class that they Kathu Plaintiffs-Appellants,

CITY OF COLUMBUS; evel Lashutka, Mayor; Local

1632; Ohio Council 8; American Federation of State,

County and Municipal Employees, Defendants-Appellees.

Nos. 93-4112, 94-3108.

United States Court of Appeals,

Sixth Circuit.

Argued Aug. 1, 1995.

Decided Dec. 19, 1995.

[621]Before: MARTIN, GUY, and DAUGHTREY, Circuit Judges.

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Circuit Judge.

This case requires us again to address the issue of whether

unions may collect a fair share fee to pay for so-called “extra-unit™

collective bargaining-related litigation, lobbying and advertising

expenses from nonunion employees who, pursuant to Ohio law,

belong to a collective bargaining unit represented exclusively by the

unions. The City of Columbus deducts the fair share fee from the

paychecks of nonunion city employees and pays it to the defendant

unions. Claiming that their First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment

' The unions charged the objecting employees a fee for on-call litigation

service and for lobbying and advertising expenses related to collective bargaining.

Some of this fee also benefitted other local unions. The objectors call expenses

related to the negotiation, ratification or implementation of collective bargaining

agreements, but which were not incurred solely in connection with the collective

bargaining agreement between their Local 1632 and the City “extra-unit” or

“indirect” expenses.

~4a-

rights have been violated by the “seizure” of the fair share fees and

by the unions’ use of these fees to pay for allegedly non-chargeable

activities, the objecting nonunion employees appeal the district

court’s denial of their motion for summary judgment on the issue of

whether extra-unit litigation, lobbying and advertising expenses are

chargeable to them. Reese v. City of Columbus, 826 F.Supp. 1115

(S.D.Ohio 1993). They also appeal the district court’s decision to

dissolve its preliminary injunction restraining the collection of these

fees. J.A. at 586 (Order of September 22, 1993).

The objecting employees’ collective bargaining unit is repre-

sented exclusively by Defendants Local 1632, its national affiliate,

the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

International and its state affiliate, Ohio Council 8. For purposes

of deciding the summary judgment motion, the district court

determined that Ohio Council 8 provides legal services to all

affiliated local unions on an as-needed basis, and employs a staff of

lawyers to handle such local union matters as grievance handling,

enforcement of collective bargaining agreements, and negotiation of

collective bargaining agreements. The district court also concluded

that the national union provides services to the state and local

unions, including advertising the national union’s positions on

negotiation, ratification and implementation [622]of collective

bargaining agreements. Local 1632 has no professional or perma-

nent staff.

Ohio law permits fair share fees to be collected from nonunion

city employees for expenses related to the unions’ costs of negotiat-

ing, ratifying, enforcing and administering the collective bargaining

agreement between the unions and the City. Ohio Rev.Code Ann.

§ 4117.09(C) (Baldwin 1993). Prior to the collection of fees, the

unions must give written notice of chargeable and nonchargeable

expenses, and other procedural requirements must be met. Approxi-

mately 1500 non-union City employees pay the fair share fee.

On March 15, 1992, the objecting employees filed suit alleging

that the defendants had violated their “First-Amendment due process

rights” by failing to provide them with a proper notice regarding the

collection of fair share fees. Because of constitutional inadequacies

Peet Te ee ee a ee Pa ee a 2

-

i Ste Se at ih a Bi lan Sat eh Rt Dl tcl a CELT CE,

-5Sa-

with the required financial disclosure, the district court ordered a

preliminary injunction restraining the City from collecting the fees

and subsequently certified the class. The unions issued a second

notice and recalculated fee, but due to remaining inadequacies the

unions’ motion to dissolve the preliminary injunction was denied.

On January 15, 1993, the objecting employees moved for

summary judgment seeking a final declaratory judgment that the fair

share fees collected between June 1990 and May 1992 were

collected in violation of their constitutional rights because the

unions’ notices and procedures were constitutionally insufficient.

On June 23, the district court granted in part and denied in part the

motion. Relevant to this appeal, the district court held that it was

constitutionally permissible under Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty

Association, 500 U.S. 507, 111 S.Ct. 1950, 114 L.Ed.2d 572

(1991), for the unions to assess a fee for collective bargaining

agreement-related litigation, lobbying and advertising expenses even

though the fee also supported litigation, lobbying and advertising

taking place outside of the objectors’ own collective bargaining unit.

On September 22, the district court granted the unions’ renewed

motion to dissolve the preliminary injunction, finding that the final

amended proposed fair share fee notice complied with all applicable

constitutional requirements. Certain issues were reserved for trial.

The parties then reached a partial settlement agreeing to preserve

three issues for appeal. Pursuant to the agreement, the objecting

employees now appeal the chargeability of the “extra-unit” litiga-

tion, advertising and lobbying expenses.

We review a district court’s decision dissolving a preliminary

injunction for abuse of discretion, but we review de novo where the

dissolution is based upon a legal premise. Tyson Foods, Inc. v.

McReynolds, 865 F.2d 99, 100 (6th Cir.1989). On February 19,

1993, the district court denied the unions’ motion to dissolve the

preliminary injunction because it believed that the objectors would

4a-

likely succeed? on two of the legal issues that had yet to be

resolved—the chargeability of extra-unit advertising, and lobbying

expenses.* On September 22, however, it dissolved the injunction

in a summary order, thereby implicitly deciding that the objectors

had not shown a substantial likelihood of success regarding the

chargeability of the advertising and lobbying expenses. The district

court’s decision to dissolve the injunction was based on the legal

premise that the lobbying and advertising expenses were chargeable.

As to the denial of the objectors’ motion for summary judg-

ment, we also review for abuse of discretion. Pinney Dock &

Transp. Co. v. Penn Cent. Corp., 838 F.2d 1445, 1472 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. [623]880, 109 S.Ct. 196, 102 L.Ed.2d 166

(1988). The district court, by denying in part the objectors’ motion

for summary judgment, believed that the objectors were not entitled

to judgment as a matter of law, and that genuine issues of material

fact remained for trial.

The objecting employees rely on the Supreme Court case of

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Assoc., as their primary authority for

asserting that the district court erred in concluding that litigation,

lobbying and advertising expenses were chargeable even though the

fees benefitted other collective bargaining units. 500 U.S. 507, 111

S.Ct. 1950, 114 L.Ed.2d 572 (1991) (plurality opinion). The

unions also rely on Lehnert and argue that general legal principles,

as well as the views of the majority in Lehnert, require this Court

? A preliminary injunction may be issued only if a legal remedy would be

inadequate. The district court weighs four factors in deciding whether to issue a

preliminary injunction: 1) whether plaintiffs have shown a substantial likelihood

of success on the merits, 2) whether the plaintiffs have shown irreparable injury;

3) whether the preliminary injunction would cause substantial harm to others; 4)

and whether the public interest would be served by the issuance of the preliminary

injunction. NAACP v. City of Mansfield, 866 F.2d 162, 166 (6th Cir.1989).

> On February 19, 1993, the district court determined that Lehnert would

objectors had not shown a substantial likelihood of success on this issue.

ot

-7a-

to affirm the district court’s determination that the charges for the

“extra-unit” expenses are not unconstitutional.

Lehnert established a three-part test for determining whether

mandatory fair share fees infringe upon a dissenting employee’s

First Amendment rights. 500 U.S. at 519, 111 S.Ct. at 1959 d.

Blackmun delivering the opinion of the Court as to Part II with

Rehnquist, C.J., White, Stevens, and Marshall, JJ. concurring). A

mandatory assessment is constitutional if it is (1) “germane to

collective bargaining”; (2) “justified by the government’s vital

policy interest in labor peace and avoiding ‘free-riders,"”; and, (3)

“does not significantly add to the burdening of free speech that is

inherent in the allowance of an agency or union shop.” /d. Justices

Scalia, O’Connor, Souter and Kennedy, however, supported a

“statutory duties” test, and would permit the unions to compel fees

only for the “costs of performing the union’s statutory duties as

exclusive bargaining agent.” 500 U.S. at 550, 111 S.Ct. at 1975.

Unfortunately, the 5-4 decision in favor of the three-prong test is

one of the clearer aspects of this opinion. We now turn to examine

whether the district court correctly applied Lehnert in determining

that each of the “extra-unit” expenses were chargeable to the

objecting employees.

Chargeability of Extra-Unit Litigation Costs. The district court

found that the fair share fee included a litigation expense charge

paid to Ohio Council 8 to provide on-call legal services related to

collective bargaining to all local units, including Local 1632.

The record shows that the litigation expenses of Ohio Council

8 are directly related to grievance handling, the enforcement of

the collective bargaining agreement and negotiating collective

bargaining agreements ... In effect, the locals have pooled their

resources at the council level in order to obtain legal services

when needed ... the Court finds that defendants may properly

include a pro rata share of Ohio Council 8’s chargeable legal

expenses as part of its [fair share] fee.

Reese, 826 F.Supp. at 1120. The district court concluded that

summary judgment was not warranted because the unions had shown

-Sa-

that the “bulk” of the litigation services provided by Ohio Council

8 were related to grievance handling and enforcement of collective

bargaining agreements, and therefore were collective bargaining

agreement-related litigation services available to the objecting

employees’ unit. The district court did not abuse its discretion in

determining that a disputed issue of material fact existed on this

point.

Neither did the district court abuse its discretion in dissolving

the injunction restraining the fee assessment for the extra-unit

litigation charge. Although originally concluding that this charge

was unconstitutional, 798 F.Supp. at 470, the district court later

reversed its view. J.A. at 437, 439 (Order of February 19, 1993).

We agree with the court’s ultimate determination that the objectors

did not enjoy a substantial likelihood of success in their challenge

of this charge based on its conclusion that a mandatory fair share

fee charged for pooled litigation services is constitutional under

Lehnert. In deciding the “substantial likelihood of success” prong

of the preliminary injunction inquiry, the district court was faced

with the difficult task of interpreting Lehnert, which did not have a

holding on this precise issue. Justice Marshall correctly observed

that the issue of chargeability of extra-unit costs was not properly

before the Court: “The opinion’s discussion of extra-unit litigation

costs [624]is no more than dicta since, as far as appears from the

record before us, no such costs are at issue in this case.” 500 U.S.

at 544, 111 S.Ct. at 1972. Costs related to the reporting on

litigation were at issue in Lehnert. However, we believe Lehnert

does control the issue of the chargeability of pooled litigation

services because a majority approved of charges for pooled expenses

like those in this case.

Despite the fact that the issue of extra-unit litigation costs was

not properly before the Court, four Supreme Court Justices agreed

that extra-unit litigation costs were not chargeable if they were

“unrelated to an objecting employees’ unit.” Lehnert, 500 U.S. at

528, 111 S.Ct. at 1964 J. Blackmun, Rehnquist, White and Stevens

concurring in the last paragraph of Part IV.B). A majority in

Lehnert, however, approved of charges for pooled expense arrange-

ments. Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 522, 111 S.Ct. at 1961 J. Blackmun

—_

a er ee we ee eee

-9a-

delivering the majority opinion as to Para. III.B.). Regarding the

constitutionality of charges for pooled expenses, the majority in

Lehnert stated,

We ... conclude that a local bargaining representative may

charge objecting employees for their pro rata share of the costs

associated with otherwise chargeable activities of its state and

national affiliates, even if those activities were not performed

for the direct benefit of the objecting employees’ bargaining

unit.... There must be some indication that the payment is for

services that may ultimately inure to the benefit of the members

of the local union by virtue of their membership in the parent

organization.

Id. at 524, 111 S.Ct. at 1961. Based on this holding and the district

court’s determination that the objecting employees in this case

benefitted from the pooling arrangement for litigation services, these

services were not “unrelated” to the objectors’ unit, and therefore

are not unconstitutional. We agree with the district court's

disposition in dissolving the injunction as to the litigation expenses.

Chargeability of Advertising Expenses. The final fair share fee

notice in this case contains Expense Item 5, for

The public advertising of [the national union’s] positions on the

negotiation, ratification, or implementation of collective

bargaining agreements.

J.A. at 590. The district court ultimately denied the objecting

employees’ request that the unions be restrained from charging for

advertising expenses related to collective bargaining because Item 5,

by its terms, states that the charge is for expenses incurred by the

national union in advertising its positions related to collective

bargaining agreements. If this were the sole basis for the district

court’s decision, we might be inclined to reverse. Item 5 does not,

by its terms, provide evidence that the objectors’ unit benefits from

the national union’s collective bargaining-related advertising.

However, the district court went on to determine that a genuine

issue of material fact existed concerning the benefit to the objectors’

-10a-

unit. Furthermore we agree that collective bargaining-related

advertising can be constitutional under Lehnert.

Although Lehnert did not concern the constitutionality of

charges for advertising expenses, the district court analogized

collective bargaining- related advertising expenses to strike prepara-

tion expenses‘ and collective bargaining-related lobbying expenses

it believed that the Supreme Court approved of in Lehnert. The

district court stated that “[a]dvertising of the union’s positions on

negotiation, ratification or implementation of collective bargaining

agreement is germane to the success of the union’s efforts in those

[625]areas and such expenses may ultimately inure to the benefit of

the members of the local.” Reese, 798 F.Supp. 463, 467 (S.D.Ohio

1992).

Again, the objectors argue that it is unconstitutional for them

to have to pay for collective bargaining-related advertising if it

benefits other units, even if they are also benefitted. The district

court found that the advertising charges here were germane to

collective bargaining and that the objectors had not shown that they

did not or would not benefit from the expenditure. We do not

believe the district court abused its discretion in denying summary

judgment to the objecting employees after finding the charges

germane to collective bargaining or in dissolving the injunction as

to this charge.

Chargeability of Lobbying Expenses. While the district court

granted summary judgment to the objectors on the issue of the

* Justices Blackmun, Rehnquist, White and Stevens agreed that the strike

preparation expenses (the local and state unions set up a strike “crisis” center) were

directly related to negotiating a collective bargaining agreement benefitting the

dissenters, imposed no additional burden on the dissenters free speech rights, and

was not contrary to public policy. 500 U.S. at 530-32, 111 S.Ct. at 1964-66.

Justice Kennedy would agree. 500 U.S. at 562-63, 111 S.Ct. at 1981-82. Justice

Marshall approved of the strike prep expenses under the three-prong test, 500 U.S.

at 550, 111 S.Ct. at 1975. Justices Scalia, O’Connor and Souter would not permit

a charge for strike preparation expenses because “[iJn conducting a strike, a union

does not act in its capacity as the government-appointed bargaining agent for all

employees.” 500 U.S. at 562, 111 S.Ct. at 1981.

-lla-

chargeability of lobbying expenses for purposes other than the

negotiation, ratification or implementation of a collective bargaining

agreement, the court permitted the unions to assess a fee for

SO thikic tei aoe -

6. Lobbying for the negotiation, ratification, or implementa-

tion of a collective bargaining agreement.

8 Sit ON LSAT OM Tae a

: J.A. at 590. The objectors argue that Item 6 permits charges for

; lobbying unrelated to their collective bargaining agreement and

therefore it fails the last two prongs of the three-prong Lehnert test.

Finally, they argue that a majority of Justices in Lehnert held that

all lobbying expenses are nonchargeable.

The objectors misunderstand the Lehnert plurality position on

this issue. In Lehnert, four Justices (Blackmun, Rehnquist, White

and Stevens) agreed that the lobbying charges in that case were not

chargeable because they were not related to collective bargaining.

The lobbying charges in Lehnert were for lobbying in connection

with the “Preserve Public Education” program, a program designed

to secure funds for education generally in Michigan. In applying

the three part test to the lobbying charge for the “Preserve Educa-

tion Program,” Justices Blackmun, Rehnquist, White and Stevens

“held” that a state could constitutionally charge dissenters for

lobbying expenses only in “the limited context of contract ratifica-

tion or implementation” but could not charge dissenters for

“legislative lobbying or political union activity” without infringing

their First Amendment rights. Jd. at 522, 111 S.Ct. at 1960-61.

They also believed that the first two prongs of the test were met

only if the lobbying related to the dissenters’ collective bargaining

agreement. Jd. at 521, 111 §.Ct. at 1960. As will become evident

after reviewing Justice Marshall’s view of the chargeability of

lobbying expenses, the position of these four Justices is the

narrowest ground of agreement and therefore must be applied in this

case.’ See Triplett Grille, Inc. v. Akron, 40 F.3d 129, 132 (6th

* Justice Scalia, applying his “statutory duties” test, determined that the

challenged lobbying expenses in Lehnert were not chargeable because “though

[public relations and lobbying activities] may affect the outcome of negotiations,

[these] are no part of this collective-bargaining process.” 500 U.S. at 559, 111

®

4

:

a

4

a

4

|

-12a-

Cir. 1994) (“[wJhen a fragmented Court decides a case and no single

rationale explaining the result enjoys the assent of five Justices, ‘the

holding of the Court may be viewed as that position taken by those

Members who concurred in the judgments on the narrowest

grounds’”) (citing Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188, 193, 97

S.Ct. 990, 993, 51 L.Ed.2d 260 (1977)).

Justice Marshall would have permitted the charges for the

challenged “public relations campaign ... a specialized form of

lobbying” in Lehnert, despite the lack of a close nexus to the

dissenters’ collective bargaining agree-[626]ment, because he

believed the public relations campaign to be germane to collective

bargaining (serves to influence officials who control the terms of

public-sector labor contracts) and because the lobbying placed no

additional burden on the First Amendment rights of the dissenters

than already imposed upon them by the agency shop laws. 500

U.S. at 543, 111 S.Ct. at 1971. We believe Justices Blackmun,

Rehnquist, White and Stevens, and certainly Justice Marshall with

his more expansive understanding of collective bargaining-related

lobbying, would permit a lobbying expense charge assuming, of

course, that the expense satisfied their three-prong test. Based on

the record before us, the question remains whether the lobbying

expense in Item 6 benefitted the objectors’ unit and whether the

lobbying expense would satisfy the three-prong test.

For reasons not obvious from the record, the district court did

not expressly apply the three-prong test to the extra-unit lobbying

expense in Item 6. J.A. at 478. Neither did the district court

S.Ct. at 1979-80. Thus, Justice Scalia (and O’Connor and Souter concurring)

would presumably permit a charge for a lobbying expense that was related to a

union’s duties as statutory bargaining agent. Likewise, Justice Kennedy would

permit a charge for a lobbying expense if it was “reasonably or necessarily

incurred in the performance of the union's statutory duties as the exclusive

bargaining representative.” 500 U.S. at 564, 111 S.Ct. at 1982. Justices Scalia,

O’Connor, Souter and Kennedy would thus permit lobbying expense charges

related to collective bargaining if the objecting employees’ unit benefitted and if

the expense was incurred as part of the unions’ statutory duty of representation;

however, theirs was not the majority position on this issue.

ales asada

Ot el sak RSD

Sah all tat h it tid ot at a Bi Sal is Sa

~ |

‘)

;

F]

¥

‘I

-13a-

determine whether there was a genuine issue of material fact

concerning the benefit, if any, the objectors’ unit received from this

expenditure in deciding the summary judgment motion. Item 6, by

its language, states that the lobbying charge is for collective

bargaining agreement-related lobbying and therefore is germane to

collective bargaining as required by the first prong of the Lehnert

test. The objectors do not assert that the charge in Item 6 was for

a purpose other than collective bargaining-related lobbying.

Therefore, the first prong of the Lehnert test is met. We must

remand, however, for a determination of whether the lobbying

expense charge benefitted the objectors’ unit and if so, whether the

expenditure is justified by the government’s vital policy interest in

labor peace and avoiding free-riders and whether the charge

significantly added to the burdening of free speech that is inherent

in the allowance of an agency shop.

The judgments of the district court are AFFIRMED as to the

litigation and advertising expenses, but the denial of summary

judgment to the plaintiffs is REVERSED as to the lobbying expense

in Item 6 and REMANDED for further proceedings. The dissolu-

tion of the preliminary injunction is also REVERSED only as to the

lobbying expense charge and REMANDED for further proceedings.

APPENDIX C

ENTRY OF FINAL JUDGMENT

OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

January 4, 1994

-14a-

[Clerk’s Stamp Omitted in Printing]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

RICHARD W. REESE, et al., : [FILED Jan. 4, 1994]

Plaintiffs, : Case No. C-2-92-268

(Graham, J.)

v. : (Mag. Abel)

CITY OF COLUMBUS, et al.

ENTRY OF FINAL

Defendants. : JUDGMENT

WHEREAS, the parties in this action have entered into a

Partial Settlement Agreement resolving claims of the Plaintiffs and

of the Class which they represent for damages arising from the

allegations set forth in the Plaintiffs’ Complaint; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Rule 23(e), Fed. R. Civ. P., the Court

has conducted a hearing following reasonable notice to members of

the Plaintiff Class on the fairness of the proposed Partial Settlement

Agreement; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Rule 23(e), Fed. R. Civ. P., the Court

determines that the proposed Partial Settlement Agreement is fair

and is in the best interest of the members of the Plaintiff Class

certified in this case;

-15a-

THEREFORE, this Court hereby approves the Partial Settle-

ment Agreement entered into between Plaintiffs and Defendants, and

enters Final Judgment in this action consistent with this Court's

prior rulings and decisions, and consistent with the terms of the

Partial Settlement Agreement and the Supplemental Amendment to

Partial Settlement Agreement, which are attached hereto.

s/

Hon. James L. Graham, Judge

United States District Court

Southern District of Ohio

/s/

W. James Young

NATIONAL RIGHT TO WORK LEGAL

DEFENSE FOUNDATION, INC.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

Attorney for Plaintiffs

/s/

Donald J. Mooney, Jr. (0014202)

BENESCH, FRIEDLANDER, COPLAN & ARONOFF

2800 Cincinnati Commerce Center

600 Vine Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 762-6271

Attorney for Defendants Local 1632,

-16a-

Ohio Council 8, AFSCME and

Ohio Council 8, AFSCME

/s/

Douglas K. Browell

CITY ATTORNEY’S OFFICE

90 West Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 645-7385

December 17, 1993 - 10:48am - GAF

CIN - 41323 _1.CIN - 30715\4

-17a-

PARTIAL SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

WHEREAS, RICHARD W. REESE, RICHARD D.

KAUFMAN, GEORGE R. JORDAN, BETTY SLATER,

LARRY L. WYGLE, MARION R. CRAMBLIT, and

TIMOTHY WANNER, as Plaintiffs, individually and representing

a class of current and former employees of the City of Columbus

(“the nonmembers”), and Defendants, the CITY OF COLUMBUS,

GREGORY S. LASHUTKA, MAYOR, CITY OF COLUMBUS,

LOCAL 1632, OHIO COUNCIL 8, AFSCME (“Local 1632”),

and OHIO COUNCIL 8, AFSCME (“Council 8”), are parties to

litigation pending in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio, captioned Reese, et al. v. City of

Columbus, et al., Case No. C2-92-268; and

WHEREAS, the above-named Plaintiffs and Defendants have

agreed to settle and otherwise resolve portions of such litigation,

subject to approval by the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio, pursuant to the terms of Rule 23 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure;

ADS at te, SOS LG OE RN A ht her ta Ay

Et BT ee ARO oe Been Ge

-18a-

WHEREFORE, the parties set forth the terms of their Partial

Settlement Agreement as follows:

1. In settlement of all claims for any monetary relief,

including restitution, compensatory damages, and punitive damages,

against all Defendants for their collection of agency fees from June

1990 through May 1992 from the nonmembers which were or could

have been asserted in this action, Local 1632 and Council 8 (“the

union Defendants”) shall make payment to the nonmembers totalling

Two Hundred Thirty-Seven Thousand Five Hundred Dollars

($237,500.00). The method of distribution to the nonmembers shall

be approved by the Court, with distribution to occur not later than

thirty (30) days following the Court’s final approval of this Partial

Settlement Agreement.

[2]Upon the Court’s final approval of this Partial Settlement

Agreement, the union Defendants shall establish an escrow account

under the joint control of the Trial Attorneys for the Plaintiffs and

for the union Defendants, from which the settlement proceeds shall

be distributed. The settlement proceeds shall be distributed to the

nonmembers as an equal proportion of the agency fees collected

from them from June 1990 through May 1992, but the parties agree

-19a-

that the entire amount shall be distributed to the nonmembers, and

shall be calculated as follows: the settlement proceeds ($237,500.00)

shall be divided by the total amounts collected from the nonmem-

bers from June 1990 through May 1992 (having first subtracted

from that figure amounts unilaterally distributed to the nonmembers

in November 1992, pursuant to the union Defendants’ Motion to

Dissolve the Preliminary Injunction). Each nonmember’s refund

shall be calculated by multiplying the resulting figure [which will be

a decimal with a value less than one (1)] by the total amount of

agency fees collected from the nonmember (having first subtracted

from each figure the amount unilaterally distributed by the union to

each nonmember in November 1992).

If, sixty (60) days after the initial mailing of the settlement

distribution, any nonmembers have not cashed their settlement

checks, the union Defendants shall compile a separate list of names

and last known addresses, telephone numbers, and work locations

(if known) of those nonmembers, and shall forward the same to

counsel for all parties. The parties and their counsel shall then

make all reasonable and conscientious efforts to ascertain the current

addresses of those nonmembers within thirty (30) days, sharing

ee ee

-20a-

information gathered among counsel. The union Defendants shall

use the information gathered and shall thereafter mail to each such

nonmember another identical check via certified mail, return receipt

requested. If, sixty (60) days after the certified mailing, those

checks have not been cashed by any nonmember(s), or if the

certified mailing has been returned, the undistributed amounts

remaining in the escrow account shall be paid as a charitable

donation — in the name of the named Plaintiffs herein — to the

Children’s Hospital, Columbus, Ohio.

[3}2. By this Partial Settlement Agreement, the union Defen-

dants, on behalf of themselves and their officers, agents, employees,

attorneys, and assigns, hereby fully waive and discharge any claims

which they have or may have had against the nonmembers for any

agency fees which they would have collected from the nonmembers,

but for the preliminary injunction entered by the Court and the

terms of this Partial Settlement Agreement, between 7 May 1992

and the date when this Court enters final judgment in this case.

3. The union Defendants shall bear the costs of notifying the

nonmembers of the settlement, of distributing the settlement

proceeds to the nonmembers, and of calculating the allocation of the

-21a-

settlement proceeds to the nonmembers. Upon request, Plaintiffs’

and their counsel shall have complete access to all information

regarding the notification of the nonmembers, the distribution of the

settlement proceeds to the nonmembers, and the calculation of the

settlement proceeds to be distributed to the nonmembers.

4. Within thirty (30) days of the execution of this Partial

Settlement Agreement, counsel for Plaintiffs and counsel for

Defendants shall prepare and jointly submit to the Court a proposed

form of notice of this settlement to the nonmembers. Any disputes

with respect to the form and/or content of the notice shall be

resolved by the Court.

5. Theunion Defendants shall withdraw their pending motion

to decertify the class action. Defendants consent to the addition of

Marion R. Cramblit and Timothy Wanner as Plaintiffs, and to their

certification as class representatives for any further proceedings in

this case.

6. Plaintiffs are entitled under the terms of this Partial

Settlement Agreement to seek an injunction pending any appeal in

this action from the District Court. Should such motion be denied,

Plaintiffs waive their right to seek an injunction pending appeal in

—

Nites 8 ew

i

i

4

|

;

z

i

:

F

3

;

i

;

bY

‘

i

-22a-

this case from the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit.

7. Within seven (7) days of the Court’s approval of this

Partial Settlement Agreement, [4]the union Defendants shall

separately pay to Plaintiffs’ attorneys, or to their designee, a total

of Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00), in full settlement of

Plaintiffs’ claim for all costs and/or attorneys’ fees accruing to and

including 20 September 1993. Pursuant to any rights under the law,

Plaintiffs reserve — and the Defendants recognize — their right to

seek compensation for their reasonable costs and/or attorneys’ fees

incurred after 20 September 1993. Defendants reserve the right to

oppose such a request for additional costs and/or attorneys’ fees for

any reasons permitted by law, except that Defendants agree that

Plaintiffs are prevailing parties for purposes of liability under 42

U.S.C. §1988 with regard to Plaintiffs’ entitlement to their

reasonable costs and attorneys’ fees for the negotiation and

administration of this Partial Settlement Agreement.

8. The parties agree that any appeal by the nonmembers to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this case

shall be limited to those portions of the District Court’s Orders and

-23a-

Judgments allowing as chargeable to the nonmembers expenditures

by Local 1632 and/or its affiliated unions, including Council 8, in

the following categories, as listed in the union Defendants’

September 1993 notices, to the extent that such expenditures are not

incurred for the negotiation and enforcement of the Local 1632/City

of Columbus collective bargaining agreement:

5. The public advertising of AFSCME’s position on

the negotiation, ratification, or implementation of collec-

tive bargaining agreements.

6. Lobbying for the negotiation, ratification, or

implementation of a collective bargaining agreement.

15. The prosecution or defense of arbitration,

litigation or charges to obtain ratification, interpretation,

implementation, or enforcement of collective bargaining

agreements or any other litigation berfore agencies or in

the courts which concern bargaining unit employees which

is normally conducted by an exclusive representative.

9. The parties agree and stipulate that there has been no

adjudication by the District Court of issues related to the existence,

validity, and/or enforcement of an indemnification agreement

between Defendant City of Columbus and the union Defendants.

[5]10. In the event that Plaintiffs prevail in the United States

Court of Appeals or the United States Supreme Court with respect

to any of the appellate issues itemized in paragraph eight (8), any

» a a eee

-24a-

award of compensatory damages or restitution shall be adjudicated

by the District Court, which retains the authority to refer this matter

to a Magistrate Judge pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §636,

or to a Special Master pursuant to the provisions of Rule 53 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

11. The parties shall submit to the Court a proposed form of

final judgment to be entered by the Court following the Court’s final

approval of this Partial Settlement Agreement, its ruling on any

pending motion, and complete distribution of the settlement

proceeds from the escrow account.

12. By this Partial Settlement Agreement, and contingent upon

the approval of the District Court of this Partial Settlement

Agreement pursuant to Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, all Plaintiffs, on behalf of themselves and the class that

they represent, and except as specifically stated herein, hereby fully

release and discharge Defendants City of Columbus, Gregory S.

Lashutka, Mayor, City of Columbus, Local 1632, Ohio Council 8,

AFSCME, and Ohio Council 8, AFSCME, and ail of their officers,

agents, and employees, from any and all liability arising from the

events or activities described in the Complaint and First Amended

-25a-

Complaint in this case including, but not limited to, the collection

of agency fees from the nonmembers occurring prior to 20

September 1993.

13. The parties’ entry into this Partial Settlement Agreement

is contingent upon the District Court’s approval, pursuant to Rule

23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, of all of the terms and

conditions set forth herein. In the event that the District Court

declines to approve any of the terms of this Partial Settlement

Agreement, all of the obligations set forth herein shall be considered

null and void, and the parties shall not be bound by any of the terms

of this Partial Settlement Agreement.

[6]14. This Partial Settlement Agreement sets forth all of the

terms and conditions of the partial settlement agreed to by the

parties hereto in the case of Reese, et al. v. City of Columbus, et

al., Case No. C2-92-268. This Partial Setthement Agreement may

be amended or supplemented in writing only, executed by all of the

parties, and subject to the District Court’s approval, pursuant to

Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

FS ALORA — ARP RRA AAS RA PS BRE ag:

?

3

:

i

i

;

2

4

:

q

-26a-

FOR THE PLAINTIFFS:

/s/

W. JAMES YOUNG

c/o National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

Trial Attorney Pro Hac Vice for Plaintiffs

FOR THE UNION DEFENDANTS:

/s/

DONALD J. MOONEY, JR.

Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff

2800 Cincinnati Commerce Center

600 Vine Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 762-6271

Trial Attorney for Council 8 and Local 1632

FOR THE CITY OF COLUMBUS and

GREGORY S. LASHUTKA, MAYOR, CITY OF COLUMBUS:

ls/

RONALD J. O’BRIEN

City Attorney

90 West Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 645-7385

Attorney for the City of Columbus and Mayor Lashutka

-27a-

WHEREAS, RICHARD W. REESE, RICHARD D.

KAUFMAN, GEORGE R. JORDAN, BETTY SLATER,

LARRY L. WYGLE, MARION R. CRAMBLIT, and

TIMOTHY WANNER, as Plaintiffs, individually and representing

a class of current and former employees of the City of Columbus

(“the nonmembers”), and Defendants, the CITY OF COLUMBUS,

GREGORY S. LASHUTKA, MAYOR, CITY OF COLUMBUS,

LOCAL 1632, OHIO COUNCIL 8, AFSCME (“Local 1632”),

and OHIO COUNCIL 8, AFSCME (“Council 8”), are parties to

litigation pending in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio, captioned Reese, et al. v. City of

Columbus, et al., Case No. C2-92-268; and

WHEREAS, the above-named Plaintiffs and Defendants have

agreed to settle and otherwise resolve portions of such litigation,

subject to approval by the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio, pursuant to the terms of Rule 23 of the

Federal Ruies of Civil Procedure;

-28a-

WHEREAS, certain individuals (Mitchel R. Peters, David E.

Gotschall, Kenneth R. Walker, Yvonne M. Allen, Jeanette Allison,

Catherine A. Phillips, and Bill Dawson) who are no longer

employed by the City of Columbus and are no longer represented

by Local 1632 have raised certain objections to that Partial

Settlement Agreement because of their circumstances;

WHEREFORE, for purposes of clarification, and pursuant to

{14 of the Partial Settlement Agreement, the parties set forth the

terms of this Supplemental Amendment to their Partie! Settlement

Agreement as follows:

{2}1. The release and discharge agreed to by the Plaintiffs, on

behalf of themselves and the class that they represent, in no way

affects any claim that any class member may have arising from the

collection of agency fees during any period during which they were

represented by any union other than Local 1632.

FOR THE PLAINTIFFS:

Ls/ 12/22/93

W. JAMES YOUNG

c/o National Right to Work Legal

-29a-

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

Trial Attorney Pro Hac Vice for Plaintiffs

FOR THE UNION DEFENDANTS:

/s/_ 12/21/93

DONALD J. MOONEY, JR.

Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff

2800 Cincinnati Commerce Center

600 Vine Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

(513) 762-6271

Trial Attorney for Council 8 and Local 1632

FOR THE CITY OF COLUMBUS and

GREGORY S. LASHUTKA, MAYOR, CITY OF COLUMBUS:

/s/ 20 Dec 93

RONALD J. O’BRIEN

City Attorney

90 West Broad Street

Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 645-7385

Attorney for the City of Columbus and Mayor Lashutka

APPENDIX D

OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

June 23, 1993

OO 0 lO Ol PE eA by A ee ee lacs Stat te aE ok Saar.

- 7 "ad a

Pat Saar

|

|

|

i

;

.

nn aera Ae

-30a-

[826 F. Supp. 1115]

Richard W. REESE, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF COLUMBUS,

et al., Defendants.

No. C2-92-268.

United States District Court,

S.D. Ohio, E.D.

June 23, 1993.

[1117JOPINION AND ORDER

GRAHAM, District Judge.

This matter is before the Court on the plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment. Plaintiffs are employees of the City of

Columbus, Ohio. Defendants are the City of Columbus, its Mayor,

sued in his official capacity, and Local 1632 of Ohio Council 8,

American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

(AFSCME). Plaintiffs are members of a bargaining unit represented

by Local 1632 but they are not members of the union. The City has

recognized Local 1632 as the sole and exclusive representative of

the bargaining unit and has entered into a collective bargaining

agreement which requires all employees who are not members of the

union to pay a “fair share fee” to the local as a condition of their

employment. Under the agreement, the City automatically deducts

this fee from the paychecks of the nonmember employees. Plaintiffs

allege that defendants’ payroll deduction procedures vio-[1118]late

tiieir rights under the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution. The Court has previously reviewed the

facts and many of the legal principles involved in this case in its

Memorandum Opinion and Order of May 7, 1992 in which it

-3la-

granted plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunction restraining the

defendants from collecting fees from nonmembers of Local 1632.

See Reese v. City of Columbus, 798 F.Supp. 463 (S.D.Ohio 1992)

(hereinafter “Reese”). In the interest of brevity, the Court will

refer the reader to that memorandum opinion and order.

Plaintiffs contend that they are entitled to judgment as a matter

of law with respect to alleged constitutional deficiencies in defen-

dants’ fee collection procedures. It is constitutionally permissible

for a public employer to designate a union as the exclusive collec-

tive bargaining representative of its employees and to require

nonunion employees to pay a fair share of the union’s cost of

negotiating and administering a collective bargaining agreement.

Reese, 798 F.Supp. at 466. However, nonunion employees have a

constitutional right to prevent the union from spending a part of

their required fees to support political candidates or to express

political views unrelated to the union’s duties as exclusive bargain-

ing representative. Jd. The constitutional requirements for the

collection of agency fees include both an adequate explanation of the

basis for the fee and a reasonably prompt opportunity to challenge

the amount of the fee before an impartial decisionmaker. Jd. The

union’s duty of adequate disclosure requires it to disclose the major

categories of its expenditures and to provide verification by an

independent auditor. Jd.

Defendants began collecting fees from the plaintiffs in June,

1990. In June, July and August of 1990, fees were deducted from

the plaintiffs’ paychecks without providing any financial disclosures

or any notice of procedures available for challenging the fees.

Written notices containing financial disclosures and procedures for

challenging the fees were given to the plaintiffs on August 22, 1990,

October 24, 1990 and November 7, 1991.’ Plaintiffs claim that

each of these notices was constitutionally deficient in certain

respects.

' The notice sent on August 22, 1990 is dated December 1, 1989. After this

lawsuit was filed, defendants sent another notice dated September 28, 1992.

-32a-

LOCAL UNION PRESUMPTION

None of the notices provided any disclosure of Local 1632’s

chargeable and nonchargeable expenses. In calculating the fair

share fee the Union relied on a “local union presumption.” See

Reese, 798 F.Supp. at 467. Such a presumption may not be used

to avoid providing detailed audited financial statements of a local

union. Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd. of Educ. (Lowary II), 903

F.2d 422 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 958, 111 S.Ct. 385, 112

L.Ed.2d 396 (1990). Defendants claim that they have provided a

factual predicate for the local union presumption which distinguishes

this case from Lowary II. The evidence defendants have provided

to support the local union presumption consists of affidavits

indicating that most of the nonchargeable union functions are

performed by Ohio Council 8 instead of the locals and an affidavit

by the union’s counsel which states that in prior arbitration

proceedings, including one involving Local 1632, the evidence

established that the local union had fewer nonchargeable expenses

than Ohio Council 8. However, the audited financial information

contained in the fair share fee notice of September 28, 1992

contradicts the local union presumption. It indicates that the

nonchargeable expenses of Local 1632 were greater than those of

Ohio Council 8. Although in Lowary II the court commented on the

lack of a factual predicate for the presumption, its holding that the

local union presumption is unconstitutional did not rest on that

circumstance. In Lowary II, the Sixth Circuit said:

We agree with the reasoning of the court in Lehnert v.

Ferris Faculty Association—MEA—NEA, 707 F.Supp. 1473

(W.D.Mich.1988), aff'd, 881 F.2d 1388 (6th Cif.1989), that

such a local union presumption is unconstitutional under

[Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1 v.] Hudson [475 U.S.

292, 106 S.Ct. 1066, 89 L.Ed.2d 232 (1986)] and Tierney

[v. City of Toledo, [1119]824 F.2d 1497 (6th Cir.1987)].

Specifically, the court rejected the argument that the local

union presumption is constitutional merely because it is

rebuttable upon an objection to the impartial decisionmaker.

Holding the presumption to be unconstitutional, the court noted

that “the use of the local presumption increases the risk that the

-33a-

reduced fee collection from the objector would be in excess of

what is appropriate.”

903 F.2d at 431 (emphasis added). Thus, in Lowary IJ, the Sixth

Circuit specifically adopted the reasoning of the district judge in

Lehnert who held the local union presumption unconstitutional

because: 1. it increases the risk that the fee “would be in excess of

what is appropriate” and 2. it “falls short of the precision required

under Hudson, Tierney and Damiano [v. Matish, 830 F.2d 1363

(6th Cir.1987)}.” 707 F.Supp. at 1480.

Defendants’ efforts to distinguish Lowary II are unavailing; it

unqualifiedly holds that the use of a local union presumption is

unconstitutional. Furthermore, the manner in which the defendants

used the local union presumption in the present case deprived

nonmembers of sufficient information to determine the propriety of

the fee. See Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d 399, 410-11 (3d Cir. 1992).

Defendants argue that it would be unduly burdensome to

perform an audit on each local union and prepare a fair share notice

to the nonmembers of each local. However, each local has its own

treasurer and maintains its own financial records. Other than

conclusory statements, the defendants have provided the Court with

no facts which would support their claim that a separate audited

statement of the chargeable and nonchargeable expenses of Local

1632 would be unduly burdensome. A separate audited statement

for Local 1632 was included in the fair share fee notice of Septem-

ber 28, 1992. Defendants have not provided the Court with any

information about the cost of producing that statement. The Court

notes that there are approximately 2,000 employees in the bargain-

ing unit represented by Local 1632 and that the dues collected from

these employees is approximately $20.00 per month. This would

yield an annual income of almost half a million dollars. The Court

finds no factual basis for defendants’ claim that a separate audited

financial statement of Local 1632 would be unduly burdensome. In

any event such a statement is constitutionally required regardless of

the burden it may impose on the union. See Lowary II, 903 F.2d at

431-32. Plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

-34a-

FAILURE TO PROVIDE FINANCIAL DISCLOSURES REGARDING

AFFILIATED STATE AND NATIONAL UNIONS

Local 1632 pays affiliation fees to other labor organizations,

including the AFL-CIO. The fair share fee notices failed to provide

any financial disclosure regarding these affiliated labor organiza-

tions. The mandate to provide such information is clear. Reese,

798 F.Supp. at 467-68. Plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment

on this issue.

FAILURE TO PROVIDE INFORMATION REGARDING THE

PROPORTION OR AMOUNTS OF PAYMENTS MADE TO EACH

AFFILIATE

Defendants’ fair share fee notices do not inform nonmembers

of the dollar amount of the payments made to affiliated unions or

the percentage of the total agency fee paid to them. A nonmember

is entitled to a financial disclosure of the chargeable and noncharge-

able expenses of an affiliated union. Such information is relatively

useless in the absence of any information about the amount of the

fee which is being remitted to an affiliate. The Court addressed this

matter in its Opinion and Order of February 13, 1993 and conclud-

ed that such a disclosure was constitutionally required. See

February 19, 1993 Op. and C)., pp. 9-10. In Hohe v. Casey, 956

F.2d 399, 410 (3rd Cir.1992), the court criticized defendant’s fair

share fee notice for faiJing “to inform nonmembers of the amount

their locals contributed to Council 13 and the International,....”

And in Weaver v. University of Cincinnati, 942 F.2d 1039, 1046

(6th Cir.1991), the court held that Hudson required the local union

“to delineate what portion of the agency fee goes to the Union’s

affiliates.” Plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment on this

issue.

{1120]DEFINITIONS AND METHODS OF CALCULATIONS USED

FOR CHARGEABLE ACTIVITIES

Plaintiffs assert that the definitions and methods used by the

union defendants to determine chargeable activities are vague and

constitutionally overbroad and result in charging nonmembers for

-35a-

constitutionally nonchargeable items. With one exception, discussed

below, plaintiffs have not challenged any specific definitions or

procedures. It is impossible for the Court to respond to plaintiffs’

broadside challenge to unspecified definitions and procedures.

The only specific language of the fair share fee notice which

plaintiffs have specifically addressed is the language contained on

Page 1 of the November 7, 1991 notice and prior notices which

states:

The reduction in the fair share fee, which has already been

granted, reflects expenses to support political and ideological

activity and unrelated expenses. The remainder of the fair share

fee is the proportionate share of costs of collective bargaining,

contract administration and pursuing matters affecting wages,

hours and other terms and conditions of employment.

(Footnote 10, p. 20 of plaintiffs’ memorandum of points and

authorities in support of their motion for summary judgment)

(emphasis added). Plaintiffs argue that the underlined language is

constitutionally overbroad. The Court notes, however, that this

language appears in what could be described as the preamble to the

definition of chargeable and nonchargeable expenses. Thereafter, the

various categories of chargeable, partially chargeable and non-

chargeable expenses are specifically defined. Since the definitions

of expense categories are more specific they, and not the general

preamble, would control. Thus, the Court rejects plaintiffs’

argument that the language is unconstitutionally overbroad.

PARTIALLY CHARGEABLE ACTIVITIES

The Court finds, for the reasons stated in Reese, 798 F.Supp.

at 468, that with respect to Expense Items 17 through 29, the

November 7, 1991 fair share fee notice is constitutionally deficient

and that plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

Pate *

-36a-

DEFENSIVE ORGANIZING

Plaintiffs object to the chargeability of Expense Item 10 in

defendants’ fair share fee notice of November 7, 1991 which is

substantially the same as Expense Item 12 in the notices of August

22, 1990 and October 23, 1990:

Defending AFSCME against efforts by other unions or

organizing committees to gain representation rights in units

represented by the unions.

In Reese, 798 F.Supp. at 470, this Court concluded that

“[d]efensive organizing would serve only the union’s self-interest in

perpetuating itself as the sole representative of the bargaining unit,

a goal which is not germane to collective bargaining activity and

which may add to the burden on an objector’s First Amendment

rights....” A union may not properly charge a nonmember for such

expenses. Plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

ORGANIZING EXPENSES

Plaintiffs challenge Expense Items 22 and 23 in defendants’ ‘air

share fee notice of November 7, 1991 which are substantially the

same as Expense Items 9 and 10 in the notices of August 22, 1990

and October 23, 1990:

22. Organizing within the bargaining unit in which fair share

fee or agency shop payers are employed.

23. Organizing other bargaining units.

The Supreme Court expressly disapproved the chargeability of

organizational expenses in Ellis v. Brotherhood of Railway, Airline

and Steamship Clerks, 466 U.S. 435, 104 S.Ct. 1883, 80 L.Ed.2d

428 (1984). Defendants have attempted to show that, in the context

of public employment, organizing is germane to collective bargain-

ing activity because there is a direct linkage between union organiz-

ing activity and union bargaining power. The Court rejects this

argument finding the linkage attenuated and that requiring nonmem-

-37a-

bers to contribute to the cost of union organizing would significantly

increase the burden on their First Amendment rights. The Supreme

Court's decision in El-[1121}lis strongly suggests that organizing

expenses Can never pass constitutional muster. Plaintiffs are entitled

to summary judgment on this issue.

EXPENSE OF LITIGATION OUTSIDE PLAINTIFFS’ BARGAINING

UNIT

Ohio Council 8 provides legal services to all of its affiliated

local unions on an as-needed basis. The council employs a staff of

lawyers and retains outside counsel when necessary. The record

shows that the litigation expenses of Ohio Council 8 are directly

related to grievance handling, the enforcement of the collective

bargaining agreement and negotiating collective bargaining agree-

ments. See February 19, 1993 Op. and O., pp. 4-6. In effect, the

locals have pooled their resources at the council level in order to

obtain legal services when needed. Plaintiffs claim that it is

constitutionally impermissible for defendants to charge plaintiffs for

any part of the cost of litigation conducted on behalf of the members

of other bargaining units. The Court discussed this issue at length

in its February 19, 1993 Op. and O. and for the reasons stated

therein, the Court finds that defendants may properly include a pro

rata share of Ohio Council 8’s chargeable legal expenses as part of

its agency fee. See February 19, 1993 Op. and O., pp. 6-8.

Plaintiffs are not entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

ADVERTISING EXPENDITURES

Plaintiffs challenge the constitutionality of Expense Item 5 in

defendants’ fair share fee notice of November 7, 1991 which is

substantially the same as Expense Item 6 in the notices of August

22, 1990 and October 23, 1990:

The public advertising of AFSCME’s positions on the negotia-

tion, ratification, or implementation of collective bargaining

agreements.

ee stews

ee ee es

SE ee ee aN Rh et lie cee BOB ne Ae BES 2 wit at lle

a

3

N

bi

*

M

2

.

:

-38a-

As defined, such advertising expenses would be directly related

to the union's collective bargaining activities. These expenses are

analogous to the strike preparation expenses approved in Lehnert.

Such expenses are not per se unconstitutional. Reese, 798 F.Supp.

at 469. Plaintiffs are not entitled to summary judgment on this

issue.

Plaintiffs object to certain specific advertising expenses deemed

chargeable by the defendants, namely advertising expenses related

to a protest of the firing of Lori Moon and congratulatory birthday

advertisements for both a local union and the Ohio Federation of

Teachers. The Court is inclined toward the view that challenges to

specific expenditures should be relegated to an arbitrator, a

procedure sanctioned in Lowary II. See Lowary, 903 F.2d at 433.

However, since there are only three items presently at issue and the

parties have fully briefed the matter, the Court will proceed to rule

on them.

The advertising expense for Ms. Moon arose out of a contro-

versy concerning her discharge from public employment while a

probationary employee and her allegations of sexual harassment by

her employer. Ohio Council 8 incurred advertising expenses to

publicize Ms. Moon’s allegations of sexual harassment in an attempt

to apply pressure on the employer to re-hire her. Ms. Moon was

not a member of the bargaining unit represented by Local 1632.

This expense was not properly chargeable and impinged upon

nonmembers’ First Amendment rights. The same is true of the cost

of the advertisements congratulating Barberton Local 265 and the

Ohio Federation of Teachers on their fiftieth anniversaries. These

advertisements were public speech generally in support of public

employee unionism which dissentiag members should not be

required to support. Plaintiffs are entitled to a summary judgment

declaring these three items of advertising expense to be unconstitu-

tional.

PROCEDURE FOR CHALLENGING AGENCY FEE

Plaintiffs argue that the union’s procedures for challenging

agency fees are unconstitutionally burdensome. In support of this

-39a-

argument, plaintiffs adopt by reference the arguments advanced in

support of their motion for a preliminary injunction. Plaintiffs also

claim that the requirement that nonmembers file separate objections

is unconstitutional and that the notice unconstitutionally suggests that

resort to internal union reme-[1122]dies is the only method to

challenge the amount of the fee. The Court analyzed these issues

in Reese, 798 F.Supp. at 470-71, and based on that reasoning holds

that defendants’ procedures for challenging agency fees are

constitutional. Plaintiffs are not eniied to summary judgment on

this issue.

FAILURE TO PROVIDE AUDITED FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE OF

THE EXPENDITURES OF OHIO COUNCIL 8

The November 7, 1991 fair share fee notice and its predeces-

sors did not provide the constitutionally required audited financial

disclosure regarding the expenses of Ohio Council 8. See Reese,

798 F.Supp. at 468. Plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment on

this issue.

LOBBYING FOR PURPOSES OTHER THAN THE NUGOTIATION,

RATIFICATION OR IMPLEMENTATION OF A COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING AGREEMENT

Defendants’ fair share fee notice of Septernber 28, 1992

includes an expense item for lobbying for purposes other than the

negotiation, ratification or implementation of a collective bargaining

agreement. The notice states that such expenses are chargeable to

the extent that they satisfy the three-pronged test of Lehnert. For

the reasons stated in its opinion and order of February 19, 1993, the

Court finds that such expenses can never pass constitutional muster

under Lehnert and that plaintiffs are entitled to summary judgment

on this issue.

REMEDIES

Plaintiffs are entitled to a declaration that the collection of

agency fees from the plaintiff class from June, 1990 to May 7, 1992

did not comport with the constitutional requirements for the

Me de

= ae ees

—— ae

-40a-

collection of agency fees. Ordinarily, for the reasons stated in

Lowary II, 903 F.2d at 432-33 and Weaver v. University of

Cincinnati, 970 F.2d 1523, 1533-34 (6th Cir.1992), restitution

should be limited to the unchargeable portion of the fees collected.

However, the Court concludes that this case may call for an

exception to the general rule. In Weaver, the court left open the

possibility of full restitution where the constitutional violations are

willful or malicious. Jd. at 1534. This issue cannot be resolved on

a motion for summary judgment.

Plaintiffs also seek an award of punitive damages against both

defendants. Punitive damages are appropriate in a case such as this

when the defendants’ conduct is shown to be motivated by evil

motive or intent, or when it involves reckless or callous indifference

to the plaintiffs’ federally protected rights. Beauford v. Sisters of

Mercy-Province of Detroit, Inc., 816 F.2d 1104, 1108-09 (6th

Cir.1987). “The imposition of punitive damages in civil rights

actions has generally been limited to cases involving egregious

conduct or a showing of willfulness or malice on the part of the

defendant.” Jd. at 1109 (citing Wolfel v. Bates, 707 F.2d 932, 934

(6th Cir. 1983)). Like their claim for full restitution, plaintiffs’ claim

for punitive damages presents genuine issues of material fact which

cannot be resolved on a motion for summary judgment.

The facts of this case do not warrant the imposition of a

permanent injunction. The appropriate remedy is damages and the

continuation of the present preliminary injunction until such time as

defendants provide plaintiffs with a fair share fee notice which

passes constitutional muster.

Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is granted in part and

denied in part.

It is so ORDERED.

APPENDIX E

ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

February 19, 1993

-4la-

[Clerk’s Stamp Omitted in Printing]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

Richard W. Reese, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vs. Case No. C2-92-268

JUDGE GRAHAM

City of Columbus, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

On May 7, 1992, the Court issued a preliminary injunction

enjoining the defendants from collecting agency fees from nonmem-

bers of defendant Local 1632. On October 6, 1992, defendants

filed a motion to dissolve the preliminary injunction. An oral

hearing on the motion was held on December 4, 1992 and the

matter is now before the Court for a ruling.

The preliminary injunction was premised on the Court’s

findings that plaintiffs had shown a substantial likelihood that

defendants’ fee collection procedures were constitutionally deficient

in a number of respects. On October 2, 1992, defendants issued a

-42a-

revised fair share notice to all nonmembers of Local 1632.

Defendants contend that the revised notice corrects the deficiencies

found by the Court. In addition to issuing the revised notice,

defendants represent in their motion that they will rebate the

difference in nonchargeable expenses to all members of the plaintiff

class and will escrow an amount equal to the proportion of agency

[2]fees for matters remaining in dispute pending a final decision by

the Court.

The May 7, 1992 order was based upon findings that plaintiffs

had established a substantial likelihood of success in showing that

the defendants’ fair share fee notice was deficient in the following

respects: (1) failing to provide an accounting of the chargeable and

nonchargeable expenses of the local; (2) failing to provide audited

financial statements of all of the affiliates which receive a portion of

the agency fee; (3) failing to provide an independently audited

statement of Ohio Council 8’s allocation between chargeable and

nonchargeable expenses; (4) charging nonmembers for defensive

organizing expenses; and (5) charging nonmembers for expenses

related to organizing within the bargaining unit and in other

bargaining units.

; =

4

4a

‘S|

-43a-

The revised notice provides an independently audited financial

statement of the chargeable and nonchargeable expenses of Local

1632, which resolves the first deficiency. The revised notice treats

payments to the affiliates as completely nonchargeable (the original

revised notice contained an error in this regard which defendants

will correct), which resolves the second deficiency. The revised

notice includes an independent audit of the allocation of the

chargeable and nonchargeable expenses of Ohio Council 8,

resolving the third deficiency. The revised notice treats all

organizing expenses [3]as nonchargeable, curing deficiencies 4 and

5. As a result of these recalculations, the agency fee was reduced

from 88.037% to 75.247% of the amount of regular dues.

Defendant Ohio Council 8 has agreed to rebate this difference to all

members of the class.

In their motion, defendants identify two unresolved issues

relating to the agency fee, to wit: advertising expenses and

litigation expenses. With respect to these items, defendants propose

to escrow a percentage of the agency fee that would cover all such

expenses until the outstanding issues are resolved by the Court.

44a-

Plaintiffs oppose defendants’ motion to dissolve the preliminary

injunction, arguing that the revised notice and proposed escrow are

constitutionally deficient because (1) defendants are charging

nonmembers for litigation expenses not related to the bargaining

unit; (2) the revised notice fails to inform the recipient of the

amount of the total fee and the amounts paid to each affiliated

union; (3) the revised notice indicates that defendants will charge

nonmembers for lobbing expenses for purposes other than the

negotiation, ratification or implementation of a collective bargaining

agreement; and (4) escrow of fees challenged on constitutional

grounds is not an adequate remedy.

[4]LITIGATION EXPENSE

In its Memorandum Opinion and Order of May 7, 1992, the

Court held at page 14 that plaintiffs had failed to show a substantial

probability of success on their challenge to the chargeability of the

expense of litigation described in the notice as litigation

to obtain ratification, interpretation, implementation or enforce-

ment of collective bargaining agreements and any other

litigation before agencies or in the courts which concerns

bargaining unit employees which is normally conducted by an

exclusive representative.

f

i

x

Pe

«

|

‘

é

é

-45a-

Plaintiffs argued that this definition included litigation outside of

their bargaining unit and on behalf of other bargaining units. The

Court said, mistakenly, that in Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass’n,

___US.____,_- 59: U.S.L.W. 4544 (1991), the Supreme Court

disapproved litigation expenses not related to the bargaining unit.

Nevertheless, this Court rejected plaintiffs’ challenge to these

expenses because the notice seemed to indicate that they were

limited to the plaintiffs’ bargaining unit. Plaintiffs now assert, and

defendants do not deny, that this category of expenses does include

the cost of litigation outside the plaintiffs’ bargaining unit. Thus,

the Court must now examine further the issue of chargeability of

such expenses.

Ohio Council 8 provides legal services to all of its affiliated

local unions on an as-needed basis. The Council employs a staff of

lawyers and retains outside counsel when [S]necessary. Defendants

assert that the bulk of the litigation expenses of Ohio Council 8 are

directly related to grievance handling, the enforcement of the

collective bargaining agreement, and negotiating collective bargain-

ing agreements. Defendants have furnished the Court with the

affidavit of Rochelle L. Gardner, Associate General Counsel of

-46a-

Ohio Council 8, which provides detailed information about the kinds

of legal services provided by the union during 1990. Ms. Gardner

indicates that one-third of the cases litigated were arbitration cases

and that over thirty-five of the court cases involved actions to

enforce or vacate arbitration awards or to compel the employer to

arbitrate. Another third of the cases involved proceedings before

the State Employee Relations Board, 67% of which involved unfair

labor practice charges in which the union asserted that the employer

had failed to bargain in good faith. Another 18% of these cases

involved the union’s claim that the employer had discriminated

against a bargaining unit member for engaging in union activities,

and 6% of these cases involved situations in which Ohio Council 8

or a local union had been charged by an employer with failing to

bargain in good faith.

Ms. Gardner’s affidavit supports defendants’ claim that the bulk

of the legal serves provided by Ohio Council 8 involves contract

enforcement, grievance handling and the negotiation of collective

bargaining agreements. This legal work is financed [6]by Ohio

Council 8 on behalf of all of its constituent local unions. In effect,

?

¢

4

+

‘4

;

Pd

-47a-

the locals have pooled their resources at the council level in order

to obtain legal services when needed.

In Lehnert, Justice Blackmun found “extra-unit litigation to be

more akin to lobbying in both kind and effect” and opined that

“[w]hen unrelated to an objecting employee’s unit, such activities

are not germane to the union’s duties as exclusive bargaining

representative.” Lehnert, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4550. This part of his

opinion was joined in only by the Chief Justice and Justices White

and Stevens and did not represent the opinion of a majority of the

Court. However, a majority of the justices did agree “that part of

a local’s affiliation fee which contributes to the pool of resources

potentially available to the local is assessed for the bargaining unit’s

protection, even if it is not actually expended on that unit in any

particular membership year.” Id. 59 U.S.L.W. at 4548. The

majority approved of the chargeability of a pro rata share of costs

associated with otherwise chargeable activities of state and national

affiliates, even if those activities were not performed for the direct

benefit of the objecting employees’ bargaining unit so long as there

is “some indication that the payment is for services that may

ultimately enure to the benefit of the members of the local union by

-48a-

virtue of their membership in the parent organization.” Lehnert, 59

(7]U.S.L.W. at 4549. The litigation expenses involved in this case

meet these tests and the litigation involved in this case is not “akin

to lobbying.”

In Lehnert, Justice Scalia, concurring in part and dissenting in

part, indicated his agreement with the concept of charging a pro rata

share of an affiliated organization's costs for providing collective

bargaining services, finding it a tangible benefit to a local union to

have such services on call even in years when they are not used.

Lehnert, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4559. Justice Scalia’s opinion was joined

in by Justices O"Connor, Souter and Kennedy. Justice Marshall, in

a separate opinion concurring in part and dissenting in part,

disagreed with Justice Blackmun’s disapproval of extra-unit

litigation expenses and indicated that he would apply the general

rule of chargeability of extra-unit expenses as part of a share of

general collective bargaining costs of a state or national parent

union. Id. at 4554. This court concludes that a majority of the

Supreme Court would approve the chargeability of the kind of

litigation expenses at issue in the present case.

~49a-

This Court disagrees with the conclusien reached by the

Supreme Court of Wisconsin in Browne v. Wisconsin Employment

Relations Com’n, 169 Wis.2d 79, 485 N.W.2d 376 (1992), which

is based on a mechanistic application of the Supreme Court's

decision in Ellis v. Brotherhood of Ry., etc., 466 U.S. 435

[8](1984). The concept of pooling of resources to pay for legal

expenses directly related to collective bargaining activities was not

before the Court in Ellis. The litigation expenses disallowed in Ellis

had no direct relation to collective bargaining activities. This Court

does not read Ellis as prohibiting the payment of a share of extra

unit litigation expenses directly related to collective bargaining

activities as a part of a reciprocal arrangement which guarantees the

availability of such services to the unit when needed. These

comments about Ellis apply as well to the decision of the Tenth

Circuit in Pilots Against Illegal Dues v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n, 938

F.2d 1123 (10th Cir. 1991).

This Court concludes that the members of Local 1632's

bargaining unit may properly be charged a pro rata assessment of

Ohio Council 8’s costs in providing legal services to its various

affiliated local unions incident to negotiating and administering the

-50a-

collective bargaining agreement or to settling grievances or disputes

arising under the collective bargaining agreement and of any

litigation before agencies or in the courts that concerns bargaining

unit employees and is normally conducted by the exclusive represen-

tative. See Ellis, 466 U.S. at 453. The Court concludes that

plaintiffs have not shown a substantial likelihood of success in

challenging these expenses.

[JEAILURE TO GIVE NOTICE OF THF AMOUNT OF THE

AGENCY FEE AND THE AMOUN” —PROPORTION_ OF

SUCH FEE PAID TO EACH AFFILI.

The revised notice tells the recipient how the agency fee is

calculated, what percentage of the total combined expenses of the

International Union, Ohio Council 8 and Local 1632 are chargeable,

and that the fair share fee will be 75.247% of the amount of regular

dues. There is no statement of the amount of regular dues or the

amount of the fair share fee, nor is there any statement of the

amount of the fee received by each of the three unions. Defendants

point out that the amount of the agency fee appears on the nonmem-

bers’ pay stub. Thus, the recipient of this notice would be aware

of the total amount of the agency fee. However, the recipient

would not know either the dollar amount or the percentage of the

-Sla-

total agency fee received by each of the three affiliated unions.

Such information would assist a nonmember in determining whether

to exercise the right to challenge the chargeability of expenses. For

instance, if a nonmember had a potential objection to the chargeabil-

ity of an item included in the chargeable expenses of Local 1632,

the fact that a large part of the monthly payment went to that entity

might very well affect a nonmember’s decision to challenge the

chargeability of that expense. This kind of information was

included in the notice considered by the court in Tierney y. City of

Toledo, 917 F.2d 927, 937 (6th Cir. 1990). It does not appear that

it would impose any undue burden upon the union to include this

information in the [10]notice, and since it would assist nonmembers

in exercising their constitutional rights, the Court believes it should

be included in the notice.

LOBBYING FOR PURPOSES OTHER THAN THE NEGOTIA-

TION, RATIFICATION OR IMPLEMENTATION OF A COL-

LECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

The revised notice includes a category of expenses which are

chargeable to the extent that they satisfy the three-pronged test of

Lehnert, which is described as follows:

-52a-

21. Lobbying for purposes other than the negotiation, ratifica-

tion or implementation of a collective bargaining agreement.

Plaintiffs argue that charging nonmembers for such lobbying

expenses would never be permissible. In Lehnert, all of the justices

but Justice Marshall disapproved the chargeability of lobbying

activities which do not relate to the ratification or implementation

of a collective bargaining agreement.

Defendants argue that lobbying for purposes other than the

negotiation, ratification or implementation of a collective bargaining

agreement may nevertheless be directly related to the union's duties

as the bargaining representative, citing as an example lobbying

activities engaged in by Ohio Council 8 concerning health insurance

legislation which would impact upon the negotiated health care

benefits of union members. Defendants state that “Item 21 is

intended to be rarely used and to cover only such a limited situa-

tions (sic) as this.” Union Defendants’ Reply Brief, p. 33. It is

perhaps arguable that the kind of lobbying described in defendants’

example [11]}could pass constitutional muster. However, in light of

the almost unanimous holding in Lehnert that such expenses are

generally not chargeable, the Court concludes that plaintiffs have

-53a-

shown a substantial likelihood of success on this issue and that an

escrow would not be an adequate remedy.

W_OF NGED EXPEN M

Defendants propose to escrow that portion of the revised

agency fee which represents charge which remain in controversy

pending a final determination by the Court. While such an escrow

arrangement is not an adequate remedy for expenses which the

Court has found likely to violate the constitutional requirements of

Chicago Teachers’ Union, Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292

(1986) and its progeny, an escrow arrangement would be appropri-

ate for contested charges as to which plaintiffs have not shown a

substantial likelihood of a successful challenge.

CONCLUSION

Inasmuch as the Court concludes that the revised notice still

fails to comply in certain respects with the constitutional require-

-54a-

ments of Hudson and its progeny, the motion to dissolve the

preliminary injunction is denied.

It is so ORDERED.

/s/

JAMES L. GRAHAM

United States District Judge

DATE: February 19, 1993

APPENDIX F

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

May 7, 1992

-55Sa-

[798 F. Supp. 463]

Richard W. REESE, et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF COLUMBUS,

et al., Defendants.

No. C2-92-268.

United States District Court,

S.D. Ohio, E.D.

May 7, 1992.

xx * x

[465]JMEMORANDUM OPINION

AND ORDER

GRAHAM, District Judge.

Plaintiffs are nonunion employees of the City of Columbus,

Ohio. Defendants are the City of Columbus, the Mayor of Colum-

bus, sued in his official capacity, and Locals 1632 and 2191 of Ohio

Council 8, American Federation of State, County and Municipal

Employees (AFSCME). The City has recognized Locals 1632 and

2191 as the sole and exclusive representatives of plaintiffs and other

city employees for the purposes of collective bargaining and has

entered into collective bargaining agreements with the locals which

require all employees who are not members of the union to pay a

“fair share fee” to the locals as a condition of their employment.

Under this agreement, the City automatically deducts the fair share

fee from the paychecks of the nonmember employees and forwards

the fees to the local unions. Plaintiffs allege that the payroll

deduction procedures adopted by the defendants violate their rights

under the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution.

-56a-

This matter is before the Court on the plaintiffs’ motion for a

preliminary injunction. Arguments on the motion were heard by the

Court on April 14, 1992. At that hearing, the parties agreed that

the record would consist of the verified complaint and exhibits and

the affidavit of William T. Ensley attached to defendants’ brief in

opposition to the motion for a preliminary injunction. Although the

complaint challenges all agency fees collected from nonmembers

since April 1990, the motion for preliminary injunction requires the

Court to focus its attention specifically on the fair share fee

procedure which became effective on November 7, 1991 and which

controls current agency fee collections.

[466]The criteria which a district court must balance in

determining whether to issue a preliminary injunction are as

follows:

1) Whether the plaintiffs have shown a strong or substantial

likelihood or probability of success on the merits;

2) Whether the plaintiffs have shown irreparable injury;

3) Whether the issuance of a preliminary injunction would

cause substantial harm to others;

4) Whether the public interest would be served by issuing a

preliminary injunction.

NAACP v. City of Mansfield, 866 F.2d 162, 166 (6th Cir.1989).

The Court will first consider whether plaintiffs’ claims meet the first

requirement for injunctive relief.

Plaintiffs challenge the procedure for deducting union dues

from their paychecks. It is constitutionally permissible for a public

employer to designate a union as the exclusive collective bargaining

representative of its employees, and to require nonunion employees,

as a condition of employment, to pay a fair share of the union’s cost

of negotiating and administering a collective bargaining agreement.

Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292,

301, 106 S.Ct. 1066, 1073, 89 L.Ed.2d 232 (1986). However,

-57a-

“nonunion employees do have a constitutional right to ‘prevent the

Union’s spending a part of their required service fees to contribute

to political candidates and to express political views unrelated to its

duties as exclusive bargaining representative.’ ” Jd. at 301-302, 106

S.Ct. at 1073, quoting Abood v. Detroit Board of Education, 431

U.S. 209, 234, 97 S.Ct. 1782, 1799, 52 L.Ed.2d 261 (1977).

Compulsory subsidization of ideological activity by employees who

object thereto must be prevented while preserving the union’s ability

to require every employee to contribute to the cost of collective

bargaining activities. Id. 475 U.S. at 302, 106 S.Ct. at 1073-74.

Procedural safeguards are necessary to achieve these objectives. In

order to balance these competing interests, procedures must be

carefully tailored to minimize the infringement on nonmembers’

First Amendment rights. Jd. at 303, 106 S.Ct. at 1074.

A nonunion employee must have a fair opportunity to identify

the impact of governmental action on his interests and assert a First

Amendment claim. Thus, the employee must be given sufficient

information to determine the propriety of the fee. Hudson, 475

U.S. at 307, 106 S.Ct. at 1076. The constitutional requirements for

the collection of agency fees include both an adequate explanation

of the basis for the fee and a reasonably prompt opportunity to

challenge the amount of the fee before an impartial decisionmaker.

Id. at 310, 106 S.Ct. at 1077-78. While a union is not required to

provide nonmembers with an exhaustive and detailed list of all of its

expenditures, its duty of adequate disclosure does require disclosure

of the major categories of expenses, as well as verification by an

independent auditor. Jd. at 307, n. 18, 106 S.Ct. at 1076, n. 18.

The Sixth Circuit in Tierney v. Toledo, 824 F.2d 1497, 1504

(6th Cir.1987) (“Tierney II ) held that Abood and Hudson require

the following notice:

Specifically, all non-members must receive an adequate

accounting, certified by an independent auditor and setting

forth the major categories of the union’s budgeted expenses,

that enables a non-consenting employee to intelligently appraise

what proportion of his dues would be allocable to the costs of

negotiating and administering the collective bargaining agree-

-58a-

ment and that portion which would advance the union's

ideological purposes. The independent auditor must verify

each major category in the union’s budget or expenses for each

major category of expenses and indicate which categories

comprise each component.

Plaintiffs claim that defendants’ fair share fee procedure notice

of November 7, 1991 is constitutionally deficient because it fails to

provide audited financial information regarding the chargeable and

nonchargeable expenses of Locals 1632 and 2191. The notice

contains financial information regarding ASFCME International and

ASFCME Ohio Council 8 but contains [467]no financial information

regarding either of the locals. With respect to the locals, the notice

states:

ASFCME Ohio Council 8 has over two hundred and forty

(240) affiliated Local Unions. In addition, there are seventy-

four (74) Chapters in various amalgamated Local Unions. In

accordance with decisions of the federal courts on the question

of how local union expenditures should be allocated for the

purpose of determining a fair share fee, the Union has deter-

mined that the percentage of chargeable activities of these

Local Unions is at least as great as the percentage of charge-

able activities of Ohio Council 8. As set forth above, the

percentage of Ohio Council 8's expenses that are chargeable to

fair share fee payors is 90.869%. This same percentage is

used for the said Local Unions to establish the total adjustment

in fair share fee.

Defendants’ method of calculating the fair share fee paid to the

locals on the basis of the ratio of chargeable to nonchargeable

expenses of the Ohio Council is referred to as the “local union

presumption.” The presumption underlying this methodology is that

local unions spend a larger percentage of their budgets on charge-

able expenses than do state or national unions. The Sixth Circuit

has rejected a union’s attempt to use such a presumption to avoid

providing detailed audited financial statements of local and district

affiliates. Lowary v. Lexington Local Board of Education, 903 F .2d

422 (6th Cir.1990) (“Lowary II”).

-59a-

Defendants attempt to distinguish Lowary J] on the grounds that

in Lowary II, the union required the arbitrator to adopt the local

union presumption as fact in the event of a challenge to the expense

allocation. The Sixth Circuit did not so limit its decision, and

agreed with the plaintiffs, 903 F.2d at 431, that this local union

presumption permits the unions to avoid providing audited and

detailed financial statements to nonmembers concerning the local

and district union affiliates in violation of Hudson.

Defendants further argue that the local union presumption is

properly used here because the filing of a challenge rebuts the

presumption and the union then bears the burden of proving the

percentage of chargeable expenses at the arbitration hearing. This

argument was likewise rejected in Lowary II, where the court held,

903 F.2d at 432:

The union must provide detailed information so that the

dissenting teachers can understand why they are being charged.

Only then can they make an informed decision.

Thus, Lowary II held that the local union presumption violated the

union’s duty to make a full and adequate disclosure in the initial

notice. The Sixth Circuit referred to this burden as a “minimal

requirement” in exchange for the interference with the nonmembers’

First Amendment right of freedom of association. 903 F.2d at 432.

The Sixth Circuit’s holding in Tierney II, is also germane here. In

Tierney Il the court held that the union must give adequate informa-

tion before it collects any fee and that it is unconstitutional to

require nonmembers to object before receiving adequate informa-

tion.

The fees deducted from plaintiffs’ paychecks are sent to Locals

1632 and 2191, not to Ohio Council 8 or ASFCME International.

Plaintiffs have shown a substantial likelihood of prevailing on their

claim that they are entitled to an accounting of the chargeable and

nonchargeable expenses of the local unions which receive the fees

deducted from their pay.

|

-60a-

Plaintiffs next argue that defendants have violated their duty to

provide adequate financial disclosure by failing to provide audited

financial statements of all of their affiliates which receive a portion

of the fee. Plaintiffs complain in particular of defendants’ failure to

provide financial information regarding the AFL-CIO. The notice

documents identify the locals as affiliates of the AFL-CIO, and

Expense Item 19, which is subject to allocation, includes “support-

ing and paying affiliation fees to other labor organizations which do

not negotiate the collective bargaining agreements governing the fair

share fee payors’ employment.”

[468]Nonmembers are entitled to “an audited, detailed

accounting of local union payments to affiliated state and national

labor organizations that will be used for agreement and nonagree-

ment related purposes.” Tierney IJ, 824 F.2d at 1503. Def

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.