Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Seddio v. Michaels

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

( Supreme Court, U.s.

\

cs FILED

99187 6 FEB 1 6 2000

No. OERICE 05 25 shame

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1999

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

Petitioner,

V.

LYN MICHAELS,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court of Appeals

For The Second District Of Texas

Fort Worth, Texas

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS V. MURTO III

OF COUNSEL

STRADLEY & WRIGHT

9330 LBJ Freeway, Suite 1400

Dallas, Texas 75243

Tel.: (972) 231-6001

Fax: (972) 231-7004

Counsel of Record

For Petitioner

RICHARD B. TANNER

100 North Central Expressway

Suite 1205

Richardson, Texas 75080

Tel.: (972) 991-2124

Fax: (972) 234-5234

Additional Counsel

For Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Do state courts have authority under the federal Uniformed

Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act, 10 U.S.C. § 1408, as

interpreted in Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 561 (1989), to enforce

an agreed divorce decree provision which awards the former

spouse a sum certain when that sum is based in part upon retired

pay that the retiree subsequently waives to receive veterans

disability benefits?

If a military retiree waives his retired pay to receive a VA

disability benefit after a divorce, does a state court have authority

under the federal Uniformed Services Former Spouses’ Protection

Act, 10 U.S.C. § 1408, as interpreted in Mansell v. Mansell, 490

U.S. 561 (1989), to enforce an agreed divorce decree provision

which awards the former spouse a sum that is based in part upon

the amount the retiree waived if the divorce decree contains a

general indemnification against undisclosed debts or obligations?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented For Review — ..........scccccccscccccsecees i

Tele CE COMMING ceicceccicccscvessccesscsarccncccsessssoccnscanesonts ii

Table Of Authorities ...ccccccccscccccccccccccscccccscscccccsccssccccees iv

FATE secsccccscescascccccsererecessovesevoncesenensecssvcneeansnees 1

Statutes Involved im Case — ....cccccccccoscccccccccccccccccccsccoocess 1

Statement Of the Case ..cccccccccccccccvccsccscoccssccccccessosesscese 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ — .............ccssccccssscescsccsecees 5

1. The court of appeals has decided an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with decisions

OF GRE COME, cacccnsrccnssopcasscxincsssssanensvnseioniobestoaneins 5

2. This case is part of a growing trend of state courts’

ignoring the limitations imposed upon their power

under the USFSPA, as interpreted in Mansell. __........ 10

3. Under the analysis of the court of appeals,

service members on active duty are not protected by

the USFSPA’s exclusions for disability benefits. ......... 13

4. Unless this Court acts to correct this situation,

it ie basi CO UE WOTER. — cedccctnkcnkciscnitnenceentnbedenianegs j4

COMET hn ccccnccnvncssinnsssbansssanmbeaaaeane 14

Appendix

Agreed Final Judgment and Decree of Divorce and

Binding Contractual Property Settlement Agreement

Ge PACES sev ccssccissistinteremasiienanmecebion la

seal Fa et Ai ie eR

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law _............... 33a

Judgment of Texas Court of Appeals ...............0s000 37a

Opinion of Texas Court of Appeals ................s0eeeeees 38a

Order Overruling Motion for Rehearing of Texas

Court of Appeals .............sesecceccceecececeeceserescesoes 45a

Notice of Denial of Writ of Error from the

Texas Supreme Court .............ceceeccceeececececeeseeseees 46a

E-mail letter dated Feb. 8, 2000 from Defense

Accounting and Finance Service to Richard B. Tanner,

re: Former Spouses’ Protection Act ...........seeeeeeeeees 47a

10 U.S.C. § 1408 —........erccccccccccccccccccccccccsoees sunsened 48a

SB US.C. G SSCL ccccvcscvesssccccccccvccccccccccccvcccsccecees 66a

3B U.S.C. § 5304 2. ..cccccccccccccccccccccccccvccccscscccsocses 70a

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Abernethy v. Fishkin,

Se eB IR Ec isscrscuscouicovassnpinieetvesaneisaiiceonenonencenns 1]

Clauson v. Clauson,

ee ee I BPI oss is cckitecdccxocsetibicala cs buasiddalinate: 12

Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo,

439 U.S. 572, 99 S.Ct. 802, 59 L.Ed.2d 1 (1979) 0.00. 13

Jn re Krempin,

70 Cal. App.4” 1008, 83 Cal.Rptr.2d 134

Fe Be MOU GsiistesrtinidideeNedacstanG tsk vessecdbanssbapial 11, 12,14

In re Marriage of Gaddis,

191 Anz. 467, 957 P.2d 1010 (Ariz. App. 1997)........00....0000. 11

In re Marriage of Jennings,

RDS PO: Gk i, FOr ae Ce CRO OP sen csiccctsitiessncnssctsnncroreiors 12

Kramer v. Kramer,

252 Neb. 526, 567 N.W.2d 100 (1997) ou... eee eeeeeeeeeees 12

Mansell v. Mansell,

490 U.S. 581, 109 S.Ct. 2023, 104 L.Ed2d 675 (1989)......passim

McCarty v. McCarty,

453 U.S. 210, 101 S.Ct. 2728, 69 L.Ed.2d 589 (1981) .....5, 6, 11

McHugh v. McHugh,

124 Idaho 543, 861 P.2d 113, 115 (1993) ..000. eee 1]

Owen v. Owen,

14 Va. App. 623, 419 S.E.2d 267, 269-71 (1992).........0....000. ll

Statutes

Re ROR IIIT he hick ssshniet bss cleanse aintiecacnlines haan saneieae passim

Be ee IE piicistassinds ints Aaa tcnbacccanstidtapinnsicpabaadenoduatna dials 1,5

Pr ee IE anid ntivininidansinieencicsiedsinciecidsnniseiadalipbonmmmmaaiaos Lz

ee eI Sit riccifeta deniinnctscanischensactitcaecncihionsansapoenaiaaaaliaes Lz

PE tisitiennissinieeyesvisahiseiapeidiciaaiaaaicialaalmnti 2

Other Authorities

I HN Fg RE es atric cnn itccanscp taphtirrsatbindebaaenesonnninats 13

Block, Reduction in Disposable Retired Pay Triggered by

Receipt of VA Disability Pay: a Basis for Reopening a

Judgment of Divorce?, Oct. 1995 Army Law. 28 (1995)......... 14

Fenton, Uniformed Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act

and Veterans’ Disability and Dual Compensation Act

Awards, Feb. 1998 Army Law. 31 (1998)... eee 11, 13

Gilbert, A Family Law Practitioner's Road Map to the

Uniformed Services Former Spouses Protection Act,

Fee I ic I, Oe risers ca srersisiecaatenis craic 10

Statistical Abstract of the United States 1998 0000.00 13

Sullivan, Military Pension Division: Crossing the Minefield,

FE A ee as eich cata kicnsnaiiedentichbenaleceeiaaeiabimredighs 14

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1999

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

Petitioner,

V.

LYN MICHAELS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Frank Joseph Seddio, Jr. (“Frank”) respectfully

requests that this Court grant its writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the Texas Court of Appeals for the Second District of

Texas in Forth Worth issued in favor of Lyn Michaels (“Lyn”) on

August 28, 1998. That court’s opinion was not published.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals’ judgment was entered on August 28,

1998. The court of appeals denied Frank’s motion for rehearing on

October 15, 1998. The Supreme Court of Texas denied Frank’s

Petition for Review on November 18, 1999, making the court of

appeals the highest court of Texas in which a decision on the

merits could be had. This Court has jurisdiction to review this case

by certiorari under 28 U.S.C.§ 1257 in that Frank asserts rights

under 10 U.S.C. § 1408, the Uniformed Services Former Souses’

Protection Act (““USFSPA”), and 38 U.S.C. § 5301.

STATUTES INVOLVED IN CASE

Due to their length, the full text of 10 U.S.C. § 1408, 38

U.S.C. § 5301, and 38 U.S.C. § 5304 are set out in the appendix.

The most pertinent portions of these statutes and the full text of 38

U.S.C. § 5305 are set out below.

10 U.S.C. § 1408

(a) Definitions. In this section:

(4) The term “disposable retired pay” means the total monthly

retired pay to which a member is entitled less amounts which—

(B) are deducted from the retired pay of such member as a

result of forfeitures of retired pay ordered by a court-martial

or as a result of a waiver of retired pay required by law in

order to receive compensation under title 5 or title 38; ....

(c) Authority for court to treat retired pay as property of the

member and spouse. (1) Subject to the limitations of this section,

a court may treat disposable retired pay payable to a member for

pay periods beginning after June 25, 1981, either as property solely

of the member or as property of the member and his spouse in

accordance with the law of the jurisdiction of such court....

(e) Limitations. (1) The total amount of disposable retired pay of

a member payable under all court orders pursuant to subsection (c)

may not exceed 50 percent of such disposable retired pay.

38 U.S.C. § 5301

(a) Payments of benefits due or to become due under any law

administered by the Secretary shail not be assignable except to the

extent specifically authorized by law....

38 U.S.C. § 5305

Any person who is receiving pay pursuant to any provision of law

providing retired or retirement pay to persons in the Armed Forces,

Or as a commissioned officer of the National Oceanic and

Atmospheric Administration or of the Public Health Service, and

who would be eligible to receive pension or compensation under

the laws administered by the Secretary if such person were not

receiving such retired or retirement pay, shall be entitled to receive

such pension or compensation upon the filing by such person with

the department by which such retired or retirement pay is paid of a

eee —

waiver of so much of such person’s retired or retirement as is equal

in amount to such pension or compensation. To prevent

duplication of payments, the department with which any such

waiver is filed shall notify the Secretary of the receipt of such

waiver, the amount waived, and the effective date of the reduction

in retired or retirement pay.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Frank and Lyn were divorced by an agreed final judgment and

decree of divorce (“divorce decree”) on February 19, 1991. (CR 2;

Appendix la et seg.) At the time of the divorce, Frank had

recently retired from the United States Air Force as a master

sergeant with 20 years of service. With respect to a division of

Frank’s military retired pay, the divorce decree awarded Lyn

a monthly amount of money equal to fifty (50%) per cent

of that monthly amount a retired Master Sergeant with

twenty (20) years’ [sic] of service will receive from the

date FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. begins receiving

his retirement, together with the same percentage of any

and all cost-of—living-related increases to which FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. shall become entitled....

(CR 11; Appendix 8a.) The divorce decree also contained a

QUARDO directing the Secretary of the Air Force or his designee

to pay Lyn directly her interest in Frank’s disposable retired pay.

The divorce decree then stated:

It is the Court’s intention that, if that dollar amount or

“award” (or a larger sum as increases take effect)

exceeds fifty (50%) per cent of the disposable retired or

retainer pay, the Secretary of the Airforce [sic], or his

designated agent, shall pay to LYN [MICHAELS] the

maximum amount allowable under the Uniformed

Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act, and that

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. shall be responsible for

paying the balance of the award each month to LYN

[MICHAELS] ....

(CR 12; Appendix 10a.)

At the time of the divorce, Frank was receiving $76 per month

in Air Force disability benefits, which were deducted from his

gross monthly retired pay of $888. (CR 19, Appendix 18a;

Movant’s Exhibit 1.) Four years later the Department of Veterans’

Affairs (“VA”) granted Frank VA disability benefits, which it has

subsequently increased. In accordance with the USFSPA, the

Defense Finance and Accounting Service deducted Frank’s

disability benefits before sending Lyn 50% of frank’s disposable

retired pay. The VA disability adjustments resulted in Lyn’s

monthly USFSPA payments dropping from $453 to $164.50 in

September 1995 and to $61.50 in March 1996. (Movant’s Exhibit

1.)

In 1996 Lyn filed a motion to enforce provisions of the

divorce decree. (CR 42.) Frank raised the federal question sought

to be reviewed when he responded to the motion. He contended

that the divorce decree was void to the extent (1) that it calculated

the amount of military pay due to Lyn without regard to Frank’s

disposable retired pay, as required by the USFSPA and (2) that it

required Frank to pay money_received from VA disability benefits

or the amount of retired pay he had to waive to receive such

benefits. (CR 71.) At the hearing, Frank argued that this Court’s

opinion in Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581 (1989) controlled this

case. Frank further argued that under Mansell the state court had

no jurisdiction over his VA disability benefits or the portions of his

retired pay that he had to waive to obtain the VA disability

benefits. (RR 45-47.)

On September 9, 1997 the district court issued an order

granting Lyn’s motion for enforcement and awarding her

$9,347.66 for unpaid retirement payments plus attorneys’ fees.

(CR 118; Appendix 31a.) The trial court made findings of fact and

conclusions of law in which it held that it had the authority to

enforce property settlement agreements that involve military

retirement and disability benefits. It distinguished Mansell on the

grounds that it did not decide the issue of whether a state court

may enforce an agreement between the parties even if it involves

payment from disability benefits. (CR 127; Appendix 36a.)

Frank appealed to the court of appeals. That court affirmed

the trail court’s order on August 28, 1998. (Appendix 37a.) In its

&

4

x

3

<

3

5

opinion, the court of appeals acknowledged that Mansell also

involved a property settlement by the parties with court approval.

However, it held that Mansell did not control because this divorce

decree awards Lyn a “sum certain” that is unaffected by Frank’s

decision to waive retirement pay in favor of disability pay. It also

justified its decision on the grounds that the divorce decree

contained an indemnification clause that ensures reimbursement or

satisfaction upon the entry of a judgment against one of the parties

arising from the agreement. (Appendix 42a.)

Frank filed a petition for review by the Texas Supreme Court.

Although it directed briefs on the merits, the Texas Supreme Court

denied the petition without opinion on November 18, 1999. The

Texas court of appeals is therefore the highest court in Texas in

which a decision could be had. See 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The court of appeals has decided an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with

relevant decisions of this Court.

Congress adopted the Uniformed Services Former

Spouses’ Protection Act (“USFSPA”), 10 U.S.C. § 1408, in

direct response to this Court’s decision in McCarty that states

could not treat military retired pay as community property.

McCarty v. McCarty, 453 U.S. 210, 101 S.Ct. 2728, 69

L.Ed.2d 589 (1981). Thereafter, various courts divided as to

whether the USFSPA restored to the state courts all pre-

McCarty authority.

This Court considered this contention in Mansell vy.

Mansell, 490 U.S. 581, 109 S.Ct. 2023, 104 L.Ed.2d 675

(1989). The Court specifically addressed whether under the

USFSPA a state court may treat as property divisible upon

divorce military retired pay waived by the retiree in order to

receive veterans’ disability pay. 490 U.S. at 583, 109 S.Ct. at

2025. The Court began by noting that Congress could

overcome McCarty only by enacting an affirmative grant of

power to the states to treat military retired pay as community

property because under McCarty the pre-existing federal law

completely pre-empted the application of state community

property law to military retired pay. 490 US. at 588, 109

S.Ct. at 2028. The Court held that under the specific

language of the statute:

[S]tate courts have been granted the authority to

treat disposable retired pay as community property;

they have not been granted the authority to treat

total retired pay as community property.

490 U.S. at 591, 109 S.Ct. at 2029 (emphasis added).

In considering Mrs. Mansell’s arguments attempting to

overcome the limiting language, the Court found that

Congress intended to create both new benefits for former

spouses and to place limits on state courts designed to protect

military retirees. 490 U.S. at 594, 109 S.Ct. at 2031. It

concluded:

[T]he Former Spouses’ Protection Act does not

grant state courts the power to treat as property

divisible upon divorce military retirement pay that

has been waive to receive veterans’ disability

benefits.

490 US. at 594-95, 109 S.Ct. at 2032. Congress has not

changed these provisions of the USFSPA since Mansell.

In this case, the divorce decree purported to award the

former spouse: fs

a monthly amount of money equal to fifty (50%) per

cent of that monthly amount that a retired Master

Sergeant, with twenty (20) years’ [sic] of service

will receive on the date [Frank] begins to receive his

retirement.

%

4

?

x

F

ea erg ba ‘ sie ees Re is st ora

Nala Ae ie beside WOUND Rt Ult ns

(CR 11; Appendix 8a.) The Texas court of appeals held that

this award does not violate Mansell because it “awards a sum

certain that is unaffected by Frank’s decision to waive

retirement pay in favor of VA disability pay.” (Appendix

42a.) The court of appeals further explained:

In other words, the property settlement effectively

renders Frank’s waiver irrelevant for purposes of the

amount due Lyn because the parties contracted to tie

the award to the amount “a retired Master Sergeant,

with twenty (2) years’ [sic] of service” would

receive, not the amount that Frank actually

received. ...

Although we recognize that Mansell also

involved a property settlement entered into by the

parties prior to court approval, we believe that the

case at hand is distinguishable because of this

unique agreement. Whereas the Mansells’

agreement expressly divided Gerald’s VA disability

benefits in contravention of the Act, Frank and Lyn

merely contracted to divide a definite amount,

irrespective of ancillary or subsequent occurrences

such as we have here.

(Appendix 42a)

The court of appeals’ distinction of this award from that

in Mansell is a distinction without a real difference. This

Court described the Mansells’ property settlement agreement

as providing that:

Major Mansell would pay Mrs. Mansell 50 percent

of his total military retirement pay, including that

portion of retirement pay waived so that Major

Mansell could receive disability benefits.

490 US. at 567, 109 S.Ct. at 2027. In this case Frank is to

pay Lyn 50% of the retired pay of a master sergeant with 20

years service, which is Frank’s total retired pay including that

portion he has waived so that he can receive disability

benefits. In short, Frank and Lyn’s property settlement

agreement just uses different words to describe the same

agreement considered by this Court in Mansell. Therefore,

according to the Texas court of appeals, a state court can

ignore any restrictions imposed upon it by the USFSPA as

interpreted by Mansell by the simple expedient of describing

the service member’s total retired pay in terms of his or her

rank and years of service.

There is a second possible interpretation of the analysis

of the court of appeals. That is that Mansell concerned VA

disability benefits that existed at the time of the divorce while

this case concerns a subsequent waiver of retired pay to

receive VA disability benefits. (This view would be

consistent with Lyn’s actions because she has not sought

compensation for the $76 per month that Frank was receiving

as an Air Force disability benefit at the time of the divorce

and that was awarded to him in the divorce decree. [CR 19,

Appendix 18a.]) In other words, a state court can fix as of

the date of the divorce decree, a former spouse’s entitlements

with respect to the member’s total retired pay limited only by

the deductions required by the definition of disposable retired

pay that exist on that date. This analysis by Texas court of

appeals is inconsistent with this Court’s analysis in Mansell

and the language of the USFSPA.

The USFSPA authorizes state courts to treat only

“disposable retired pay” as property of the retiree and the

former spouse. 10 U.S.C. § 1408(c). The USFSPA does not

fix disposable retired pay to a specific date. The act defines

“disposable retired pay” as “the total monthly retired pay to

which a member is entitled less” certain amounts. 10 U.S.C.

§ 1408(A)(4) (emphasis added). The act speaks in terms of

monthly pay. A retiree’s disposable retired pay is not fixed

2

3%

1

§

!

|

i

2

2

4

3

“

aha eal as BE dle 8s yet

in time but instead is subject to change from month to month.

Furthermore, the act limits the “total amount of disposable

retired pay” that a member has to pay under “all court

orders” to a maximum of 50% of “such disposable retired

pay.” 10 U.S.C. § 1408(e)(1). Therefore, the USFSPA

addresses the situation of serial marriages and divorces. If

the amount excluded in the definition of disposable retired

pay were fixed on the date of divorce, there would be the

likelihood amounts excluded and therefore the amount of the

disposable retired pay would differ for each divorce.

For example, suppose that service member Smith is

divorced from Wife A after 10 years of both service and

marriage, and marries B. Smith retires after 20 years of

service and is awarded a VA disability benefit. Two years

later Smith and B are divorced. Under the analysis of the

court of appeals, Smith’s disposable retired pay for the

purposes of the first divorce would include the amount Smith

waives to receive his VA disability benefits while his

disposable retired pay for the purposes of the second divorce

would exclude the amount he waived to receive the VA

disability benefits. In short, Smith would have two different

“disposable retired pays” at the same time. The language of

the USFSPA does not accommodate such a result. Instead,

subsection (e) clearly envisions one definitive “disposable

retired pay” to apply to multiple divorces. This result

requires that a member’s “disposable retired pay” be

determined month-to-month based upon those amounts that

are to be deducted under subsection (a)(4) that month. In

short, the USFSPA does not give the state courts the power to

freeze the disposable retired pay as it pertains to the former

spouse’s interest.

The Texas court of appeals had a second rationale for

holding that the divorce decree did not violate Mansell. That

rationale was that the divorce decree contained an

indemnification clause to protect the parties and which did

not specify the source of the amounts due. (Appendix 42a)

10

In the indemnification clause Frank and Lyn warranted to

each other that they had not incurred any debt, obligation or

liability not disclosed in the agreement. Each party agreed

that if any claim, action or proceeding were initiated against

the other party for the first party’s debt, obligation or

liability, the first party would defend and indemnify the other

party. (CR 29, Appendix 25a.) The indemnification clause

does not refer to the division of Frank’s retired pay either

directly or indirectly. Frank’s waiver of all or a part of his

retired pay to receive VA disability benefits is not a claim,

action or proceeding initiated against Lyn to hold her liable

for debts, obligations or liabilities of Frank.

Neither of the Texas court of appeals’ explanations

justifies that court’s refusal to follow this Court’s

interpretation of the USFSPA in Mansell. This case

represents a blatant disregard of Congress’s intentions as

expressed in the USFSPA, this Court’s interpretation of

federal law in Mansell, and the supremacy clause of the

United States Constitution.

2. This case is part of a growing trend of state courts’

ignoring the limitations imposed upon their power

under the USFSPA, as interpreted in Mansell.

It would be an understatement to say that McCarty

displeased many state courts by limiting their prerogative to

divide military retired pay in divorce proceedings. As a

result, many state courts ignored the statutory limitations in

the USFSPA and interpreted it to return to the states total

authority to divide military retired pay, as in the pre-McCarty

era. Gilbert, A Family Law Practitioner’s Road Map to the

Uniformed Services Former Spouses Protection Act, 32 Santa

Clara L. Rev. 61, 74 (1992). That commentator thought that

after Mansell state courts would find it very difficult to

deviate from the strict definition of disposable retired pay.

PAE OMS IPE aU Recent BOR Ries OU MERE? Lt tai

2 bday

1]

Gilbert, Jd. at 80 n. 96. However, many state courts are

undeterred in their efforts to thwart any limitations upon their

power to divide gross retirement pay. Fenton, Uniformed

Services Former Spouses’ Protection Act and Veterans’

Disability and Dual Compensation Act Awards, Feb. 1998

Army Law. 31 (1998). There is a growing trend to ensure

that former spouses’ property interests are protected in the

event of a future award of VA disability benefits or federal

employment. /d. at 33. In fact, according to Major Fenton a

majority of courts take some type of equitable action to

compensate the former spouse when a reduction in

disposable retired pay occurs. Jd at 32. According to a

California court of appeals this practice is nearly universal.

In re Krempin, 70 Cal. App.4"" 1008, 83 Cal.Rptr.2d 134, 139

(Cal. App. 1999).

Some courts limit Mansell to its facts -- Major Mansell

was already receiving disability benefits; therefore the

division in that case violated the USFSPA. Those courts

claim the power to quantify with certainty the former

spouse’s interest in the member’s retired pay, which the

member is not permitted to frustrate by subsequently

voluntarily waiving retired pay. E.g. Abernethy v. Fishkin,

699 So.2d 235, 239-40 (Fla. 1997); In re Marriage of

Gaddis, 191 Ariz. 467, 957 P.2d 1010, 1013 (Ariz. App.

1997). This approach is essentially that taken in this case

In other cases, courts have enforced judgments which

provided that the military spouse could take no action to

diminish his or her retired pay, and would indemnify the non-

military spouse for any such diminution. E.g., Abernethy v.

Fishkin, supra, 699 So.2d at 239-40; Owen v. Owen, 14 Va.

App. 623, 419 S.E.2d 267, 269-71 (1992). Some courts have

taken the same approach even without an express indemnity

agreement. E.g., McHugh v. McHugh, 124 Idaho 543, 861

P.2d 113, 115 (1993).

12

Still other courts have held that the waiver of retirement

pay with a reduction in pension payments to the non-military

spouse was a change in circumstances, which permitted

redistribution of marital property or reassessment of support

payments. E.g., Jn re Marriage of Jennings, 138 Wash. 612,

980 P.2d 1248, 1254-55 (1999): Kramer v. Kramer, 252 Neb.

526, 567 N.W.2d 100, 113 (1997); Clauson v. Clauson, 831

P.2d 1257, 1261-64 (Alaska 1992).

Yet another court has held that if the military retiree

waives retired pay to receive disability benefits, the state

courts have the equitable power to impose a resulting trust on

the money received as disability payments. Jn re Marriage of

Krempin, supra, 83 Cal.Rptr.2d at 143.

While these state courts take different approaches, each

is intent upon making an end run around Mansell. The

common thread in these and other similar cases is the central

concept that the nonmilitary former spouse has immutable

interest in the military retiree’s retired pay that can be fixed

at the time of divorce, which the retiree should not and will

not be permitted to affect. As shown above, this concept is

not in accord with the specific language of the USFSPA and

the related statutes. Whether this should be so is a matter for

Congress, not the state courts.

A state court may be able to fix a former spouses’

percentage of interest in the member’s monthly disposable

retired pay, but that is all. (If the parties divorce while the

member is still on active duty, the court cannot fix the former

spouse’s percentage; instead, the court sets a formula to

calculate the former spouse’s interest when the member does

retire.) Similarly, state courts cannot prohibit service

members from applying for or accepting benefits provided by

federal law without frustrating the federal law. In addition,

the concept of offsetting the retiree’s disability pay with other

assets would also upset the balance that Congress has elected.

=|

4

*

4

:

ne a di,

ATOR oA einuta GI dealin Gy whe

NTT AR OE WRASSE GN SIS LENE Sana a

SIESTA RA ge SecA aaa EA

Nitcieidied,

NBD AD A eA TE EAs

13

See Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo, 439 U.S. 572, 588, 99 S.Ct.

802, 811, 59 L_Ed.2d 1 (1979).

3. Under the analysis of the court of appeals, service

members on active duty are not protected by the

USFSPA’s exclusions for disability benefits.

The crux of the analysis of the Texas court of appeals

and the other courts cited above is that only those subsection

(a)(4) exclusions that actually exist on the date of the divorce

decree are excluded from the state court’s division of

property upon divorce. Such analysis particularly impacts

active duty military personnel. A service member will not

receive disability benefits from either the member’s service

component or VA until after the member retires. Therefore,

a member who is divorced while on active duty will be

denied the application of subsections (a)(4)(B) & (C) in these

States.

As of 1995 (the most recent year shown), there are

approximately 1.5 million military personnel on active duty.

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE UNITED STATES 1998, Table

No. 580. The provisional divorce rate in 1996 was 4.3 per

1,000 population. Jd, Table No. 156. Applying this average

divorce rate to the number of active duty personnel, one

would expect about 6,450 divorces each year involving active

duty military personnel. (According to an article in the Army

Times, men who serve in the military are 69% more likely to

get divorced by the time they reach 24. Army Times, Aug. 9,

1995.) If Major Fenton is correct, a majority of state courts

would hold that Mansell provides no protection as to future

disability pay for these service members. Feb. 1998 Army

Law. at 32. The language of the USFSPA does not suggest

that Congress intended that these provisions not apply to

members on active duty at the time of a divorce.

14

4. Unless this Court acts to correct this situation, it is

likely to get worse.

This trend of state courts evading the specific language

of the USFSPA and the teaching of this Court in Mansell is

not likely to abate. Indeed, there is some suggestion that it

would be malpractice for lawyers representing former

spouses not to assert these various approaches to evade

Mansell. See In re Krempin, supra, 70 Cal.Rptr.2d. at 142;

Sullivan, Military Pension Division: Crossing the Minefield,

31 Fam.L.Q. 19, 20, 27 (1997); Block, Reduction in

Disposable Retired Pay Triggered by Receipt of VA

Disability Pay: a Basis for Reopening a Judgment of

Divorce?, Oct. 1995 Army Law. 28 (1995).

CONCLUSION

The Defense Finance and Accounting Service has

informed counsel for Petitioner that it paid 52,569 former |

spouses in January, 1999 and 57,056 former spouses in

January, 2000. (Appendix 47a.) The proper interpretation of

the USFSPA affects over a million people. Service members,

Active, Reserve, National Guard and Retired, are entitled to a

uniform interpretation of the USFSPA throughout the United

States. Members should not be denied the protections

provided by the act because courts in their states are more

interested in promoting the power of the state courts rather

than applying the USFSPA as written and interpreted by this

Court.

The Texas court of appeals has basically ignored the

specific language of the USFSPA and this Court’s

interpretation of the USFSPA in Mansell; its purported

distinctions blink reality. The Texas Supreme Court has

refused to require the court of appeals to follow Mansell

Unless this Court acts to clarify the limits of power that

Congress has imposed upon the states in the USFSPA,

Mansell will be rendered virtually meaningless and state

15

courts in Texas and other states will continue ignoring the

limitations Congress imposed upon the powers it granted

them in the USFSPA.

For these reasons, the Court should grant its writ of

certiorari to the Court of Appeals for the Second District of

Texas at Fort Worth.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS V. MURTO III

OF COUNSEL

STRADLEY & WRIGHT

9330 LBJ Freeway, Suite 1400

Dallas, Texas 75243

Tel.:' (972) 231-6001

Fax: (972) 231-7004

Counsel of Record

For Petitioner

RICHARD B. TANNER

100 North Central Expressway

Suite 1205

Richardson, Texas 75080

Tel.: (972) 991-2124

Fax: (972) 234-5234

Additional Counsel

For Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

CAUSE OF ACTION NO. 89-3400-158

INTHE MATTEROF X_ IN THE DISTRICT COURT

THE MARRIAGE OF: X

X

LYN LARAINE (OTT) X

SEDDIO PETITIONER X_ 158™ JUDICIAL DISTRICT

X

AND X

X

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIOX

JR., RESPONDENT X DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS

AGREED

FINAL JUDGMENT AND DECREE OF DIVORCE

AND

BINDING CONTRACTUAL PROPERTY SETTLEMENT

AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES

---BE IT REMEMBERED BY ALL PERSONS—

DATE OF HEARING AND FINAL TRIAL

On the 19th day of February, A. D., 1991, the above styled

and numbered Cause of Action came on for Final Hearing before

this Court.

APPEARANCES OF THE PARTIES AND ATTORNEYS

Petitioner and Cross Respondent, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, D.O.B. 09 January, A.D. 1945 Social Security

Number: 110-34-9213, 734 Red Wing Drive, Lewisville,

Denton County, Texas, 75067, and/or Army And Airforce

Exchange Service, 3911 South Walton Walker Boulevard,

Post Office Box No. 660202, Dallas, Dallas County,

Texas, 75266-0202 AD-P/T, Residence Telephone No:

(214) 780-3329, currently employed with Army Airforce

Exchanges Services, 3911 South Walton Walker

Boulevard, Post Office Box No. 660202, Dallas, Dallas

County, Texas, 75266-0202 AD-P/T , Texas Driver's

License No. 12578050, appeared in person and by and

through her Attorneys of Record, the Hon. Randall A.

Antonson, P.C., Randall A. Antonson, Esq. T.B.N.

2a

03275500, Attorneys and Counselors At Law, 619

Mercury Place, Suite 107, Duncanville, Dallas County,

Texas, 75137, Telephone No. (214) 298-6925-9951, and

announced Ready For Tnal.

Respondent and Cross-Petitioner, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., D.O.B. 10 July, A.D., 1942, Social Security

Number: 092-32-7912, 734 Red Wing Drive, Lewisville, Denton

County, Texas, 75067, Residence Telephone No. (214) 436-5117,

currently employed with Electronic Data Systems, Dallas, Texas

Drivers License No. 10785281, appeared in person and by and

through his Attorneys of Record, the Hon. Richard S.Podgorski,

T.B.N. 16082500. 326 B, East McKinney Street, Post Office Box

No. 2494, Denton, Denton County, Texas, 76201-2, Telephone No.

(817) 387-3869-3961,and announced Ready For Trial.

RECORD OF TESTIMONY

The record of testimony was duly recorded by regularly

assigned Court Reporting Personnel, assigned to the 158th Judicial

District Court, in and for Denton County, Texas,

Pe > 8

JURISDICTION AND DOMICILE

The Court finds that the pleadings of Petitioner and

Respondent are in due form and contain all of the necessary

allegations, information and prerequisites required by Law. The

Court, after receiving further evidence, finds that it has Jurisdiction

over this Cause of Action and the Parties and that at least sixty (60)

days have elapsed since the date this Cause of Action was

originally filed. The Court finds further that Petitioner and

Respondent have both been domiciliaries of the State of Texas for

at least a six-month (6 MO.) period preceding the filing of this

Cause of Action, and further, both have been residents of the

County of Denton, Texas, the County in which this Cause of

Action is filed for at least a ninety (90) day period preceding the

filing of this Cause of Action.

The Court finds further that any and all necessary Parties

are before the Court, and that any and all persons entitled to

Citation and Notice have been properly Cited and Noticed.

PRR ESS ah Nos Baan ahi cash auesid Nga aes wn x gas aa he salina, co ND NRRL ALBA ib inh RRR ak a fidelity aie a ela in

3a

WAIVER OF JURY BY PARTIES

The Parties, after due consideration and consolation with the

Parties' respective Attomeys of Record, and/or after being fully

informed of each Party's Constitutional Right to have this Cause of

Action presented before, and tried in its entirety to a Jury

consisting of twelve (12) impartial persons, duly waived and

consented to the Waiver of Trial By Jury in the above styled and

numbered Cause of Action, and any and all matters, including any

and all questions of fact and of Law were duly submitted to the

Court for its consideration determination.

AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES

The Parties, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO,

and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., have stipulated

and consented to the terms of this "Final Judgment And Decree of

Divorce" and have consented to its entry in the Minutes of this

Court as properly reflective of this Court's determinations,

findings, rulings and Orders, upon the conclusion of Trial and/or

Agreement of all material matters herein.

GRANTING OF DIVORCE BY COURT

IT IS THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, and

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., be and they are

hereby DIVORCED and that the Marriage and Marriage

Relationship between them is forever dissolved on the ground of

Insupportability, with both Parties, upon entry hereof, being

restored to the status of "Single Persons", for all purposes.

MINOR CHILD-CHILDREN DEFINED

As used herein, the terms, "Child", "Children", shall

include all persons under the age of eighteen (18) years, as of the

date of the filing of this Original Cause of Action, and the

masculine shall include the feminine, and the singular shall include

the plural, and the terms may be interchangeable, as necessary.

NO MINOR CHILD OF THE MARRIAGE

This Court specifically finds further that no Minor Child,

currently under the age of eighteen (18) years, has been born to the

Marriage and/or Marriage Relationship by and between Petitioner

and Respondent; that no Minor Child, currently under the age of

eighteen (18) years, has been adopted by the Parties hereto, during

4a

the existence of the Marriage and Marriage Relationship by and

between Petitioner and Respondent; and that the Parties are not

now expecting a Child, by virtue of the Marriage and Marriage

Relationship of Petitioner and Respondent, the Parties hereto.

DIVISION OF MARITAL ESTATE OF THE PARTIES

The Court finds that the following is a just and right

division of the Parties' marital Estate, having due regard for the

rights of each Party to the Marriage.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that the Estate of the Parties is divided as follows:

PROPERTY TO PETITIONER

Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, is awarded

the following as Petitioner is sole and separate property, and

further certain "Separate Properties" and "Separate Estates" and/or

portions thereof, are hereby confirmed unto Petitioner, - LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, and Respondent. FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., is divested of any and all right, title, interest and

claim in and to such property, and by these presents, the said

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIOP JR., does hereby trade, transfer,

convey, grant confirm, affirm, consign and assign unto LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, the following real and personal

property:

Nothing contained immediately above in this paragraph is

to be construed for any purpose, as a taxable event, either for

Petitioner or for Respondent, and it is the express intention of the

Parties, that the above represents a present division, assignment

and transfer of presently owned Community property, and is not

for any purposes to be construed by any person as a sale and

otherwise taxable event.

REAL PROPERTY AND ESTATE

THE SUM CERTAIN, IN CASH, OF THREE THOUSAND AND

NO/100-—($3,000-00) — DOLLARS. WHICH SUM CERTAIN

REPRESENTS ONE HUNDRED PER CENT (100%) OF

PETITIONER, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO'S COMMUNITY

PROPERTY INTEREST, IN AND TO ALL OF THAT CERTAIN

LOT, TRACT AND/OR PARCEL OF LAND AND ESTATE,

|

“a

#

=

‘s

4

Beaieti

MOR: iia WET RS Wed ae

5a

TOGETHER WITH ANY AND ALL APPURTENANCES

THERETO, IMPROVEMENTS LOCATED THEREON, AND

HEREDITAMENTS THERETO IN ANYWISE BELONGING,

BEING COMMONLY DESCRIBED AND KNOWN AS 734

RED WING DRIVE, LEWISVILLE, DENTON COUNTY,

TEXAS, 75067, AND BEING MORE PARTICULARLY

DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

ALL OF THAT CERTAIN LOT, TRACT AND/OR PARCEL OF

LAND, TOGETHER WITH ANY AND ALL

APPURTENANCES THERETO, IMPROVEMENTS LOCATED

THEREON AND HEREDITAMENTS THERETO IN ANYWISE

BELONGING, IN THE CITY OF LEWISVILLE, DENTON

COUNTY, TEXAS, 75067, BEING FURTHER DESCRIBED

ASLOT: 1, BLOCK: "E", OF PHASE "A" TIMBERBROOK

ADDITION NO. 4, AN ADDITION TO THE CITY OF

LEWISVILLE, DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS, 75067,

ACCORDING TO THE MAP AND PLAT RECORDS

THEREOF DULY RECORDED IN THE MAP AND PLAT

RECORDS OF DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS, AT VOLUME: 16,

PAGE: 33, MAP RECORDS OF DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS.

The Court finds further that One Hundred Per Cent, (100.

0%), of the above-described and aforementioned Real Property and

Estate, is the Community Property and Estate of Petitioner, LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., and is being divided herein, under the express terms,

conditions and covenants of this "Agreed Final Judgment And

Decree Of Divorce", all in accordance with the Texas Family

Code, as amended and currently in force, and is a fair and equitable

distribution all in accordance with the specific findings and rulings

of this Court, and the Agreement Of the Parties.

PERSONAL PROPERTY

The sum certain in CASH, of Twenty Thousand And No/]00-

($20,000.00)-Dollars, which sum certain represents Petitioner,

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's interest in Respondent's

"Retirement, Deferred Compensation and Stock Purchase

Accounts" in reference to Respondent's employment with E.D.S.

Corporation (Company), and IT IS FURTHER ORDERED,

ADJUDGED and DECREED that this sum certain in CASH of

6a

Twenty Thousand And No/100-($20,000.00)-Dollars is and shall

be payable to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, by

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., on or before the

expiration of thirty (30) days from date of execution and entry of

this "Agreed Final Judgment And Decree of Divorce", AND IS

FURTHER SECURED by Note executed by Respondent, FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. made payable to Petitioner, LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, together with Lien retained by

Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, over and against the

entire balance of Respondent's "Retirement Fund Package",

"Deferred Compensation Package" and "Stock Purchase Package"

with E.D.S. Corporation (Company) until said sum is paid by

Respondent., FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., to Petitioner, LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, in full.

All household furniture, furnishings, fixtures, goods, appliances

and equipment in the possession of, or subject to the sole custody

and control of Petitioner, save and except specific items hereinafter

awarded to Respondent;

All clothing, jewelry, and other personal possessions and effects

in the possession of, or subject to the sole custody and control

of Petitioner, save and except specific items hereinafter awarded

to Respondent;

Any and all sums of cash in the possession of, or subject to the

custody and control of Petitioner, including any and all monies on

account in any and all financial institutions, wheresoever located,

which accounts stand in Petitioner's name or from which accounts

Petitioner has the right to withdraw funds or which are otherwise

subject to Petitioner's custody and control, save and except any

awards of cash, specifically hereinafter awarded to Respondent, if

any;

One Hundred Per Cent of any and all sums, whether matured or

unmatured, accrued or unaccrued, vested or otherwise, together

with any and all increases thereof, the proceeds therefrom, and any

other rights related to any profit-sharing plan, retirement plan,

pension plan, employse stock option plan, employee savings plan,

accrued unpaid bonuses or other benefit program existing by

reason of Petitioner's employment, past, present and/or future, if

Ce SL Ge eee eT OND RT SDD Pe NR ee OP ge RCE ets SO Ak ac ati Rh ae i La pier a aa

any; 7a

Any and all insurance, pensions, retirement benefits and other

benefits arising out of Petitioner's membership in any National,

State and/or Local Trade Union, if any;

Any and all life insurance policies insuring the life of Petitioner,

inclusive of, and not limited to that certain New York Life

Insurance Policy, Certificate No.

Any and all stocks, bonds and securities registered in the name of

Petitioner, together with all dividends, splits and other rights and

privileges in connection therewith.

Any and all businesses run by Petitioner if any, including, but not

limited to, all furniture fixtures, machinery, equipment, inventory,

cash? accounts receivable, goods and supplies; all personal

property used in connection with the operation of such business:

and any and all rights and privileges, past, present, or future,

arising out of, or in connection with the operation of such business.

The sum certain in cash, representing Petitioner's one-half (1/2)

interest in and to that certain 19-inch color television with remote

control, that certain Hitachi VCR and AT&T portable telephone,

all due and payable by FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., (from

insurance proceeds received by Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR.) to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, on the date of

entry of this Agreed Final Judgment And Decree Of Divorce,

which sum certain in cash, in the exact amount of Four Hundred

Forty Four And 84/100-($444.84)-Dollars, represents payment in

full of Petitioner's right, title and/or interest in and to that certain

community of the Parties., to wit: one certain 19-inch color

television with remote control, that certain Hitachi VCR and that

certain AT&T portable telephone, stolen and removed from the

community residence of the Parties at 734 Red Wing Drive,

Lewisville, Denton County, Texas, 75067, during the pendency of

this Cause of Action, by person or persons unknown to Petitioner,

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO;

Six month's payment by Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO,

JR., of comprehensive automobile insurance coverage, specifically

8a

covering Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO. and her

automobile, from January, 1991, through and until 20 July, A.D.

1991, which insurance and insurance premium is currently being

paid by Respondent, through insurance providers providing

automobile insurance coverage for the Parties as of the date of the

entry of this Agreed Final Judgment And Decree of Divorce.

Fifty percent (50%) of that certain "Max" Federal Credit Union

Account, Account No. 38500 ' Montgomery, Alabama, in the total

approximate amount of $218.16;

Fifty percent (50%) of that certain Langley Federal Credit Union

Account, Account No. 4702242673, Riverdale Station, Post Office

Box No. 74633. Hampton, Virginia, 23666, in the total

approximate amount of $196.54:

DIVISION OF MILITARY RETIREMENT BENEFITS OF

RESPONDENT (QUADRO)

1. This Court specifically further finds that Respondent

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., has served in the United States

Airforce, for a period of two hundred forty one (241) months, and

has been married to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO,

for a period of months during that tenure of employment.

This Court further specifically finds that FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., at the date of this Final Judgment And Decree Of

Divorce, holds the rank of Master Sergeant, with twenty (20) years

and one (1) months of service.

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.'s rights under the

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (50

U.S.C.app.Sec.501,Et.Seq.) were observed by this Court.

IT IS THEREFORE FURTHER ORDERED,

ADJUDGED and DECREED that LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, shall have Judgment against and recover from FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., if, as and when retirement is received by

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR, a monthly amount of money

equal to fifty (50%) per cent of that monthly amount tha t a retired

Master Sergeant, with twenty (20) years’ of service will receive on

the date FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. begins to receive his

retirement, together with the same percentage of any and all cost-

of-living related increases to which FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO,

JR. shall become entitled for the period beginning on the date of

SRA ira SSSR a ARNE aR aL DE seit SS)

SSRN ENS Leak WARS AAS When Mean Dee wAcst i UY ia eka yarn chs

9a

retirement and ending on the death of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO,

JR.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is designated by

this Court as a CONSTRUCTIVE TRUSTEE, for the benefit of

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, for the purpose of receiving the

retirement payments and benefits, and FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO.. JR, is FURTHER ORDERED and DECREED to

directly pay the resulting product defined above to LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, within three (3) days after receipt of it

by FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that any and all payments made directly to LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, by the United States government

under this benefit division, shall be a credit against this obligation.

This Court finds specifically further that Petitioner, LYN

—LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO and Respondent., FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., were married on the 30th day of June, A.D., 1962,

in Port Jervis, New York, and their Marriage and Marnage

Relationship, each to the other, has lasted for ten (10) years or

more, during which time FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. served

ten (10) or more years of creditable service toward retirement.

2. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR's Social Security

Number is: 092-32-7912), and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO., JR. 's ‘address is 734 Red Wing Drive, Lewisville,

Denton County, Texas, 75067, and FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO,

JR. 's date of birth is 10 July, A.D.

1942.

3. LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's Social Security

Number is: 110-34-9213 and Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO's address is Army Airforce Exchange Services, 3911

South Walton Walker Boulevard, Post Office Box No. 660202,

Dallas, Dallas County, Texas, 75266-0202 AD-P/T , and LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's date of birth is 09 January, A.D.,

1945:

4. That all rights of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. under

the Soldiers' And Sailors' Relief Act of 1940 were and have been

fully observed and complied with by this Court in this Cause of

Action;

5. That the award of retirement pay made to LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, is made in conformity with, and in

10a

compliance with, the Uniformed Services Former Spouses'

Protection Act;

6. That it is intended by this Court that the Secretary of the

Airforce or his designee, make the payments due to LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, of her interest in the retirement

benefits awarded in this Final Judgment And Decree Of Divorce

directly to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that the Secretary of the Airforce, or his designated

agent, shall pay to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, directly, each

month, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's interest awarded herein

in the United States Airforce disposable retired or retainer pay paid

as a result of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.'s service in the

United States Airforce, plus fifty (50%) per cent of all cost of

living or other increases in the United States Airforce disposable

retired or retainer pay, on a monthly basis, if, as and when said

retirement pay is due to be paid. It is the Court's intention that, if

that dollar amount or "award" (or a larger sum as increases take

effect) exceeds fifty (50%) per cent of the disposable retired or

retainer p4y, the Secretary of the Airforce, or his designated agent,

shall pay to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO the maximum

amount allowable under the Uniformed Services Former Spouses’

Protection Act, and that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., shall be

responsible for paying the balance of the award each month to

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, and it is accordingly so

ORDERED and DECREED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED, in this regard, that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is

hereby designated and appointed by this Court as a

CONSTRUCTIVE TRUSTEE for the benefit of LYN LARAINE

(OTT) SEDDIO, to the extent of LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO's interest in the United States Airforce disposable retired

or retainer pay paid as a result of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

's service in the United States Airforce and FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., is ORDERED FURTHER to pay to LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's

interest of same each month as it is received by FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., and in no event later than the fifth (Sth) day of each

month in which FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.), receives such

retirement, beginning the fifth (Sth) day of the first (1st) month in

which said retirement is paid following the date the Final Judgment

lla

And Decree Of Divorce is signed by this Court. This paragraph

shall be applicable to the extent that the Secretary of the Airforce

or his designee fails to pay directly to LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, her monthly entitlement as awarded herein or any

portion of said monthly entitlement.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that for purposes of this Final Judgment And Decree

Of Divorce, that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is specifically

directed, upon penalty of contempt, to pay LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO's interest in the retirement pay to LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, as Ordered herein. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is

specifically directed that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is not

relieved of such obligation except to the extent FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., is notified that one hundred (100%) per cent of

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's interest in the retirement

benefit has been paid directly to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO,

by the Secretary of the Airforce or his designated agent.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED ADJUDGED and

DECREED that the payment of the disposable retirement pay

awarded herein to LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO shall continue

until the death of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., or LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that since LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO is entitled

to her percentage interest in any cost of living or other increase in

the united states Airforce retired or retainer pay, that FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR, shall send to LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, at her above-listed address, or at such other address as

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO may from time to time provide

in writing, within five (5) days of receipt of same, a copy of each

retired pay voucher that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., receives

in the future.

MED PROVISIONS F

MIL Vv

This Court finds specifically further that LYN LARAINE

(OTT) SEDDIO, is entitled to receive medical and dental care

pursuant to the terms of 10 U.S.C. Sec. 1701, et seq. and to

commissary and post exchange privileges to the same extent and

on the same basis as a surviving spouse of a retired member of the

Uniformed Services following the date this Final Judgment And

et Me

—

12a

Decree Of Divorce is signed by this Court. FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., therefore, is ORDERED to cooperate as necessary,

by timely taking whatever action is necessary to enable LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, to retain and/or obtain such benefits

upon LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO's request for the benefit of

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO.

That certain 1990 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera model motor vehicle

and automobile which motor vehicle is currently in the possession

of, or otherwise subject to the custody and control of Petitioner,

bearing V.I.N. No: together with all prepaid

insurance, keys and title documents.

Any and all other miscellaneous personal property and effects,

currently in the possession of, or otherwise subject to the custody

and control of Petitioner, not hereinafter specifically awarded to

Respondent, which personal property herein awarded to Petitioner

is inclusive of, but not limited to the following:

That certain Piano and matching piano bench; Two certain barrel

chairs; One certain love-seat; Two certain glass-topped tables; Two

certain glass lamps; Certain various knick-knacks; That certain

wine rack and collection of wine; Those certain house plants; That

certain table and matching six chairs; That certain buffet furniture:

That certain bottom hutch; That certain master bedroom suite; That

certain television unit; That certain sewing machine and matching

cabinet, Two certain telephones; That certain silver collection:

That certain Afghan; Those certain 25th wedding anniversary gifts;

Those certain books; Those certain figurines and pictures; That

certain clarinet; That certain two-piece cake plate; That certain

two-piece cheese set; That certain six-piece glass set; That certain

glass set; That certain sauce bowl; That certain potpourri pot, bowl

and relish tray; That certain canister set; Those certain plaques and

wall hangings; That certain pressure cooker; That certain large

mixer and miscellaneous items; That certain antique orange juice

squeezer, That certain canning pot; That certain meat slicer; that

certain toaster, That certain can openerThat certain deep fat fryer;

That certain crockpot; That certain set of silverware; That certain

set of Noritake china; Those certain everyday dishes; Those certain

glasses (drinking); That certain blender unit; that certain

microwave oven; That certain microwave stand; That certain

ee en ea) i

Ee 6 Sh

13a

corningware cookware; That certain set of spices; That certain

Noritake tea set; That certain canister set; Those certain television

trays; that certain washer and dryer unit; That certain set of

cookbooks; That certain vacuum cleaner; Miscellaneous items for

vacuum cleaner; That certain freezer; That certain set of Christmas

decorations; That certain children's rocking chair; That certain

magazine rack; That certain cradle and dol!: Those certain tools of

Petitioner; That certain skydiving equipment of Petitioner, Those

certain wines and liquors of Petitioner; Those certain wall

decorations; That certain bookshelf in bedroom; That certain

savings/shopper's club membership of Petitioner; That certain wall

decorations; Those certain pictures in the study; All of Petitioner's

clothing; Those certain army blankets; Those certain suitcases-,

Those certain hanging plants; Those certain personal toiletries

Those certain doilies; Those certain wall decorations in hall of

house; That certain umbrella stand and flowers:

All of Petitioner's miscellaneous separate property and estate,

not otherwise currently in the possession of, or otherwise subject to

the custody and control of Petitioner, which separate property and

estate items are currently located on or about the premises and

homestead of the Parties located at 734 Red Wing Drive,

Lewisville, Denton County, Texas, 75067, all of which separate

property items are hereby confirmed unto Petitioner;

PROPERTY TO RESPONDENT

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is awarded

the following as Respondent's sole and separate property and

estate, and Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, is hereby

divested of any and all right, title and interest in and to such

property; and by these presents, the said LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, does hereby grant, trade, convey, transfer, affirm,

confirm, consign and assign the following real and personal

property unto Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR..:

Nothing contained immediately above in this paragraph is

to be construed for any purpose, as a taxable event, either for

Petitioner or for Respondent, and it is the express intention of the

Parties, that the above represents assignment and transfer of

presently owned and is not for any purposes to be construed vy any

person as a sale and otherwise taxable event a present division

14a

assignment and transfer of property owned Community property,

and is not for any purposes to be construed by any person as a sale

or other taxable event.

REAL PROPERTY AND ESTATE

SUBJECT TO PAYMENT BY RESPONDENT, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., TO PETITIONER, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, OF THE SUM CERTAIN OF THREE THOUSAND

AND NO/100-($3,000.00)-DOLLARS, WHICH SUM CERTAIN

REPRESENTS PETITIONER'S UNDIVIDED COMMUNITY

EQUITY INTEREST IN THE FOLLOWING DESCRIBED

REAL PROPERTY AND ESTATE, ONE HUNDRED PER CENT

(100%) OF ALL COMMUNITY PROPERTY INTEREST, IN

AND TO ALL OF THAT CERTAIN LOT, TRACT AND/OR

PARCEL OF LAND AND ESTATE, TOGETHER WITH ANY

AND AL#t APPURTENANCES THERETO, IMPROVEMENTS

LOCATED THEREON, AND HEREDITAMENTS THERETO IN

ANYWISE BELONGING, BEING COMMONLY DESCRIBED

AND KNOWN AS 734 RED WING DRIVE, LEWISVILLE,

DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS 75067, AND BEING MORE

PARTICULARLY DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS:

ALL OF THAT CERTAIN LOT, TRACT AND/OR PARCEL OF

LAND, TOGETHER WITH ANY AND _ ALL

APPURTENANCES THERETO, IMPROVEMENTS LOCATED

THEREON AND HEREDITAMENTS THERETO IN ANYWISE

BELONGING, IN THE CITY OF LEWISVILLE, DENTON

COUNTY, TEXAS, 75067, BEING FURTHER DESCRIBED AS

LOT _, BLOCK__, OF _, AN

ADDITION TO THE CITY OF LEWISVILLE, DENTON

COUNTY, TEXAS, 75067, ACCORDING TO THE MAP AND

PLAT RECORDS THEREOF, DULY RECORDED IN THE MAP

AND PLAT RECORDS OF DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS, AT

VOLUME: ___ PAGE:__ MAP RECORDS OF DENTON

COUNTY, TEXAS.

The Court finds further that One Hundred Per Cent,

(100.0%), of the above-described and aforementioned Real

Property and Estate, is the Community Property and Estate of

Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO and Respondent,

oe

Ste,

“ei ig:

<=

a]

ag

‘

2

:

3

BS

Bi

;

15a

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., and, subject to the payment of the

sum certain in cash of Three Thousand And No/100-($3,000.00)-

Dollars, by Respondent, FRANK JOSEPHS SEDDIO, JR., to

Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, is being divided with

One Hundred Per Cent (100%) being awarded to Respondent,

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., all in accordance with the Texas

Family Code, as amended and currently in force, and is a fair and

equitable distribution all in accordance with the specific findings

and rulings of this Court, and the Agreement Of the Parties.

PERSONAL PROPERTY

All household furniture, furnishings, fixtures, good, appliances and

equipment in the possession of, or otherwise subject to the custody

and control of Respondent, save and except those items

hereinbefore specifically awarded to Petitioner.

Any and all clothing, jewelry and other personal effects in the

possession of, or otherwise subject to the custody and control of

Respondent, save and except those items hereinbefore specifically

awarded to Petitioner.

Any and all sums of cash in the possession of, or otherwise subject

to the custody and control of Respondent, including any and all

monies on account in any and all financial institutions,

wheresoever located, which accounts stand in the name of

Kespondent., or from which accounts Respondent has the right to

withdraw funds., or which are otherwise subject to the sole custody

and control of Respondent, save and except those accounts and

monies hereinbefore specifically awarded to Petitioner.

Fifty percent (50%) of that certain "Max" Federal Credit Union

Account, Account No. 38500, Montgomery, Alabama, in the total

approximate amount of $218.16;

Fifty percent (50%) of that certain Langley Federal Credit Union

Account, Account No. 4702242673, Riverdale Station, Post Office

Box No. 7463, Hampton, Virginia, 23666, in the total approximate

amount of $196.54;

Subject to the payment by Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, of

16a

the sum certain IN CASH, of Twenty Thousand And No/100-

($20,000.00)-Dollars, on or before the expiration of thirty (30)

days from date of execution and entry of this "Agreed Final

Judgment And Decree Of Divorce" with Lien retained by LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, in any and all Retirement Accounts,

Deferred Compensation Accounts and Stock Purchase Accounts of

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., otherwise due and

payable to Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. , as a

result of Respondent FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO's employment

with "E.D.S. Corporation", Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR. , is awarded One Hundred Per Cent of any and all

sums, whether matured or unmatured, accrued or unaccrued, vested

or otherwise, together with any and all increases thereof, the

proceeds therefrom, and any other nghts related to any retirement

plan, pension plan, employee stock option plan, employee savings.

plan, accrued unpaid bonuses or other benefit program existing by

reason of Respondent's employment, past, present and/or future

together with all consequential benefits thereto in any manner

appertaining, inclusive of, but not limited to the following:

One hundred percent (100%) of all of that certain E.D.S. Deferred

Compensation Plan, with an approximate account balance as of 12-

31-89, in the total approximate amount of $1 1,730-70:

One hundred percent (100%0 of all of that certain E.D.S. Stock

Purchase Plan account, consisting, as of 02-16-90, of

approximately 293 shares of stock, with a per unit stock value of

approximately $43.64 per share, together with any and all additions

thereto since that date and time;

One Hundred percent (100%) of the approximate sum of $1]

000.00 (+/-) which sum of monies was removed by Respondent,

from E.D.S. stock accounts during the pendency of this Cause of

Action;

One hundred percent (100%) of all of that certain E.DS.

Retirement Plan Account, with an approximate account balance as

of 02-16-90, payable at normal retirement date under single life

annuity provisions, in the amount of $3,879.12 per year, with a

present value of annual accrued benefit as of 02-16-90 in the

approximate amount of $11,149.41, with a vesting date of 07-01-

. a Vee ee ee OO Se ee a eh, ae

+7a

89, and with a participation date in the "Plan" of 07-01-83:

Any and all insurance, pensions, retirement benefits, and other

benefits arising out of Respondent's membership in any National,

State and/or Local Trade Union, if any, save and except any and all

portions of those retirement/annuity/pension benefits herein

previously and specifically awarded to Petitioner;

Any and all policies of life insurance insuring the life of

Respondent;

Any and all stocks, bonds, and securities registered in the name of

Respondent, together with all dividends, splits, and other rights and

privileges in connection therewith, save and except

any such stocks, bonds and securities registered 'in the name of

Respondent, which form any portion of the retirement/

annuity/pension benefits herein specifically awarded to Petitioner:

That certain 1988 van model motor vehicle and automobile which

motor vehicle is currently in the possession of, or otherwise subject

to the custody and control of Respondent, bearing V.I.N. No:

, together with all prepaid insurance, keys and title

documents.

That certain 1980 MGB model motor vehicle and automobile

which motor vehicle is currently in the possession of, or otherwise

subject to the custody and control of Respondent, bearing V.I.N.

No: , together with all prepaid insurance, keys and

title documents.

Any and all. businesses run by Respondent, if any, including but

not limited to, all furniture, fixtures, machinery, equipment,

inventory, cash, accounts receivable, goods and supplies; all

personal property used in connection with the operation-of such

business; and any and all rights and privileges, past, present or

future, arising out of, or in connection with the operation of such

business;

Any and all other miscellaneous personal property and effects

currently in the possession of, or otherwise subject to the custody

18a

and control of Respondent, not hereinbefore specifically awarded

to Petitioner; :

Any and all separate personal property of Respondent, which

separate personal property of Respondent, is currently in the

possession of Respondent, or otherwise subject to the exclusive |

custody and control of Respondent., all of which separate property

and estate is hereby confirmed unto Respondent;

Any and all remaining insurance proceeds, due and payable to

Respondent and Petitioner, as a result of the burglaries of the house

and residence of the Parties at 734 Red Wing Drive, Lewisville,

Denton County, Texas, 75067, save and except that certain portion

of those, insurance proceeds herein previously awarded to

Petitioner;

One Hundred Per Cent (100%) of any and all United States

Airforce "Disability Benefits" due and payable to Respondent by,

through and by reason of, Respondent's service with the United

States Airforce, in the approximate amount of $73.00 per month;

PAYMENT OF MONIES TO PETITIONER SECURED BY

NOTE AND LIEN

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED, that anything contained herein to the contrary

notwithstanding, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO., is

granted a JUDICIAL LIEN over and against any and all retirement

accounts, deferred compensation accounts and stock purchase

accounts of Respondent, herein awarded to Respondent, or

otherwise belonging to Respondent to secure payment by

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., to Petitioner, LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, of the sum certain of Twenty

Thousand And No/100-($20,000-00)-Dollars, due and payable by

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. , to Petitioner, LYN

LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO., on or before the expiration of thirty

(30) days of date of execution and entry of this "Agreed Final

Judgment And Decree Of Divorce."

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that concurrent with the execution and entry of this

19a

"Agreed Final Judgment And Decree Of Divorce", Respondent,

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., shall additionally execute a Note

in the amount of Twenty Thousand And No/100-($20,000.00)-

Dollars, made payable to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, additionally securing the payment to Petitioner by

Respondent of the sum certain of Twenty Thousand And No/100-

($20,000.00)-Dollars, which sum represents Petitioner's interest in

Respondent's Retirement Fund, Stock Purchase Fund and Deferred

Compensation Fund with E.D.S. Corporation (Company).

DIVISION OF INDEBTEDNESS OF PARTIES

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that Petitioner shall pay, as a part of the division of the

Estate of the Parties, the following debts and obligations and shall

indemnify and hold Respondent and Respondent's property

harmless from any failure to so discharge these debts and

obligations:

Any and all debts, charges, liabilities and other obligations

incurred by Petitioner from and after the date of separation, that

date being 08 September, A.D., 1989, unless express provision is

made herein to the contrary;

Any and all ad valorem taxes, assessments, or other charges due or

to become due on the real and personal property herein awarded to

Petitioner, unless express provision is made herein to the contrary;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that Respondent shall pay, as a part of the division of

the Estate of the Parties, the following debts and obligations, and

shall indemnify and hold Petitioner and Petitioner's property

harmless from any failure to so discharge such debts and

obligations:

The sum certain of Three Thousand And No/100-($3,000-00)-

Dollars, in cash, due and payable by Respondent, FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR_., to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, on or before 19 February, A.D.J. 1991, which sum

represents Petitioner's "Equity Interest" in and to that certain

real property and estate commonly known and described as 734

Red Wing Dnive, Lewisville, Denton County, Texas, 75067;

20a

The sum certain in cash, of Twenty Thousand And No/100-

($20,000.00)-Dollars, due and payable by Respondent, FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIOP JR., te Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, on or before the expiration of thirty (30) days from date

of execution and entry of this "Agreed Final Judgment And Decree

Of Divorce".. which sum represents Petitioner's "Equity Interest"

in Respondent's Retirement Account, Stock Purchase Account and

Deferred Compensation Account, by virtue of Respondent's

employment with E.D.S. Corporation (Company), being

additionally secured by "Note" and "Judicial Lien” herein

previously awarded by this Court to Petitioner, to secure payment;

Any and all. debts, charges, liabilities and other obligations

incurred by Respondent from and after the date of separation, that

date being-08 September, A.D., 1989, unless express provision is

made herein to the contrary;

Any and all ad valorem taxes, assessments, or other charges due or

to become due on the personal property herein awarded to

Respondent, unless express provision is made herein to the

contrary;.

The sum certain representing six month's comprehensive insurance

coverage on Petitioner's automobile from January, 1991, through

and until 31 July, A.D., 1991, which sum of monies is currently

being paid for insurance on Petitioner's automobile herein awarded

to Petitioner, pursuant to the Temporary Orders entered previously

in this Cause of Action, this provision of Temporary Orders not

being released until paid in full;

The total outstanding balance due and owing to any and all Credit

Card Account companies, revolving charge account companies

and/or other financial institutions which have extended- open lines

of credit to the Parties during the existence of the Marriage and

Marnage Relationship of the Parties

The sum certain of One Hundred Twelve And 50/100- ($112.50)-

Dollars, which sum is due and owing by Respondent to Petitioner,

and which sum represents one-half (1/2) of E.D.S. insurance

reimbursement made to the Parties, and received by Respondent,

Le Ot DSLRs A Rad a a ies FAL TEN NT ge RET Oe eRe CTR OPE See ETT ghee ik i cai RE ee oe eer eee ae es

21a

which sum certain shall be paid by Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., to Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, on

or before 19 February, A.D., 1991, concurrent with the entry and

execution by this Court of the "Agreed Final Judgment and Decree

of Divorce."

ATTORNEY'S FEES AND COSTS OF PROCEEDING

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that to effect an equitable division of the Marital Estate

of the Parties, and as a part of the division, each Party shall be

responsible for and shall pay his or her own Attorney's Fees,

Expenses and Costs of Court, incurred as a result of legal

representation in this Cause of Action.

UNITED STATES FEDERAL INCOME TAX REFUND

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that each party, shall be responsible for and

shall pay without further Order of this Court issuing, all

United States Federal Income Tax liabilities of the Parties

due and owing by Party, from and after the date of

Marmniage through and until 31 December, A.D., 1990, to

the extent that such tax liability exceeds monies previously

withheld from the Parties and prepaid by the Parties

through Federal Withholding;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that for calendar year, 1991, each Party shall file a

separate retum and report as that Party's income, 50% of all

community income or loss attributable to the Parties, or either of

them, before the date of Divorce, all income attributable to the

reporting Party after that date, and all the reporting Party's separate

income during any part of the year. Each Party shall take credit on

that Party's return for 50% of all prepayments occurring before the

date of Divorce and reporting Party's prepayments and

withholdings the date of Divorce.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO and FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., shall each furnish such information to the

other Party as is requested to prepare United States income

Taxation retums for each Party for the year in which this Divorce

22a

Decree is entered, and in no event shall such information be

exchanged later than 01 March of the year following the year in

which this Divorce Decree is entered. Each Party shall pay for the

preparation of his or her own United States Federal Income

Taxation return for the year in which this Divorce Decree is

entered.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that if a refund is made for overpayment of taxes for

any year during the Parties' Marriage, through and until 31

December, A.D., 1989, each Party hereto shall be entitled to

one-half, (1/2) of the refund, and the Party receiving the refund

check is designated as a Constructive Trustee for the benefit of the

other Party, to the extent of one-half, (1/2) of the total amount of

the refund, and shall pay to the other Party one-half, (1/2) of the

total amount of the refund check or draft within five (5) days of

receipt thereof.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED ADJUDGED and

DECREED that from and after 31 December, A.D., 1989, each

Party to this Cause of Action, shall be entitled to, and shall receive

One Hundred Per Cent (100%) of any and all such United States

Internal Revenue Service Income Taxation Refund payment made,

if any.

PRESERVATION OF RECORDS

IT IS FURTHER ORDEREDY ADJUDGED and

DECREED that each Party to this Cause of Action shall keep and

preserve for a period of four (4) years from the date of entry of this

"Final Judgment and Decree of Divorce" any and all financial

records relating to the Community Estate, and each Party to this

Cause of Action is further ORDERED to allow the other Party

access to these records in the event of any Federal, State or Local

Taxation Audits.

REMOVAL OF PERSONAL ITEMS FROM PREMISES

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIOV

shall remove any and all remaining items of personal property of

Petitioner, herein awarded or confirmed to Petitioner, from the

homestead and residence of the Parties, located at 734 Red Wing

OR ne ee ee ~

inh ale

PB Sa US ah ioe ne UY ek,» ae

pian EAN

wat tL BME SRN nln reg RR SUR ti a a 2a

raey eee

23a

Drive, Lewisville, Denton County, Texas, 75057, on a date to be

agreed to by the Parties hereto, with the Party’s' son being present

at such time as Petitioner removes her property herein awarded to

her, and with Respondent being absent from such premises at the

time of removal of Petitioner's personal property. If necessary,

prior to removal of all such property, Respondent may examine

and inspect such property selected by Petitioner, outside of two (2)

days prior to its actual physical removal.

DIVISION OF ASSETS AND _ LIAIBLITIES NOT

PROVIDED FOR IN AGREEMENT

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED §and

DECREED that as part of the division of the Estate of the Parties,

any Community Property or its value not otherwise awarded by

this Agreement, and not secreted by the Party in possession of such

property, from the other Party, is awarded to the spouse and Party

in possession or control of the property.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that as part of the division of the Estate of the Parties,

any Community Property or its value not otherwise awarded by

this Agreement, and secreted by the Party in possession of such

property, from the other Party, is awarded to the spouse and Party

not in possession or control of the property.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that as part of the division of the. Estate of the Parties,

any Community liability not expressly assumed by a Party under

this Agreement will be paid by the Party personally incurring the

liability.

EXECUTION, TRANSFER AND DELIVERY OF DEEDS AND

TITLES

IT IS FURTHER ORDEREDV ADJUD GED and

DECREED that Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, and

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., are both specifically

ORDERED to sign, execute and deliver to the other Party, any and

all necessary Deeds, Car Titles, Bills of Sale and other related

documents necessary to effectuate this "Final Judgment and Decree

of Divorce", all of which documents as herein described being

signed, executed and delivered, and being further ORDERED to be

24a

signed, executed and delivered to the other Party, on or before the

expiration of fifteen (15) days from the date of entry of this "Final

Judgment and Decree of Divorce."

CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENTS VOLUNTARY, MUTUAL,

AND CLEARLY UNDERSTOOD

Each Party to these binding Agreements, Covenants and

Contractual Undertakings and Contractual Agreements,

specifically Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO and

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., individually, hereby

stipulates as follows:

|. This Agreement, and all of its provisions is based on

valuable consideration, the mutuality and sufficiency of which

being hereby acknowledged by Petition-er, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., for all

purposes;

2. Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, and

Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., each, has been and

is, completely informed of the facts relating to the subject matter of

these several binding Contractual Agreements, herein contained,

and of the nghts and liabilities of both Parties;

3. Each Party, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., enters

into this Agreement(s) voluntarily and only after receiving the

advice of independent Legal Counsel, or having been provided

with the opportunity to seek independent advice from independent

Legal Counsel;

4. Each Party, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., has

given careful, mature and informed thought and consideration to

the making of this Agreement (s) ;

5. Each Party, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR, has

carefully, intelligently and completely read each and every

provision of this Agreement(s), and this "Agreed Final Decree Of

Divorce and Binding Contractual Property Settlement Agreement",

eT a ete

AL a Sheree 4 ARLE elo

4 tee acres SIRS a lh

25a

and all of its provisions, herein contained;

6. Each Party, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO, and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIOV JR.,

completely and fully understands, for all purposes, cach and every

provision of this Agreement(s), both as to the subject matter

therein contained and the binding legal effect of all Agreements

and Orders herein contained.

INDEMNIFICATION OF THE PARTIES

Each Party, Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO,

and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., cach to the

other, represents for all purposesP and further warrants, each to the

other, that he or she has not incurred any debt, obligation or other

liability, other than those described in this Agreement, on which

the other Party is, or may be liable. Each Party further agrees,

stipulates, covenants and contracts, cach with the other, that if any

claim, action or proceeding is hereinafter initiated secking to hold

the other Party liable for any other debt, obligation, liability, act, or

omission of the Party, that Party will, at his or he sole cost and

expense, inclusive of Attorney's Fees, defend the other Party

against any such claim or demand, whether or not. well founded,

and will further indemnify and hold harmless the other Party from

all damages resulting therefrom.

"Damages" as used herein, will include any loss, cost,

expense, penalty, and other damage, including, without limitation,

counsel fees and other costs and expenses reasonably incurred in

investigating or in attempting to avoid same or oppose the

imposition thereof or in enforcing this indemnity.

The indemnifying Party will reimburse the indemnified

Party upon demand, for any payment made by the indemnified

Party at anytime after the entry of. the Divorce Decree to satisfy

any Judgment of any court of competent Jurisdiction or pursuant to

a bona fide compromise or settlement of claims, demands, or

actions for any damages to which the foregoing indemnity relates.

Each Party further agrees, covenants and contracts further

to give the other Party prompt written notice of any litigation

threatened or instituted against cither Party that might constitute

26a

the basis of a claim for indemnity under this Agreement.

RIGHT TO LIVE SEPARATELY AND FREE FROM

INTERFERENCE

Each Party to this Cause of Action, will live separately and

apart from the other Party for the rest of his or her life, at any place

or places that he or she may select, consistent with the Agreements

And Orders herein contained. Neither Party to this Cause of

Action, will molest, harass, annoy, injure, threaten or interfere with

the other Party in any manner, whatsoever. Each Party may carry

on and engage in any employment, profession, business or other

activity as he or she may deem advisable for his or her sole use and

benefit. Neither Party shall interfere with the use, ownership,

enjoyment or disposition of any property now owned or hereafter

acquired by the other Party.

NO LITIGATION PENDING AFFECTING PARTIES

Both Parties stipulate, each to the other, that to that arty's

knowledge, there are no actions, suits or proceedings pending or

threatened against cither Party or the Comsaunity Estate or

affecting any Community Property or nghts, at Law or in Equity,

or before any Federal, State, Municipal or other Governmental

agency or instrumentality, domestic or foreign, and neither Party is

aware of any facts that might result in any action, suit or

proceeding, other than this proceeding.

JOINT BINDING AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES

Each Party to this Cause of Action, and cach Party to the

other Party, does hereby confirm, affirm and stipulate that both

Parties have voluntarily participated in the preparation “of all

Contractual provisions contained in this Agreement, and that same

are to be construed, for all purposes, as absolutely contractually

binding on both Parties to this Agreement, all as contained in this

"Agreed Final Decree Of Divorce And Contractually Binding

Property Settlement Agreement.”

ENTIRE AGREEMENT OF THE PARTIES

This "Agreed Final Decree- Of Divorce And Contractually

Binding Property Settlement Agreementlt together with the other

contractually binding Agreements of the Parties, herein contained,

supersede any and all other agreements, either oral or in writing,

4

i

4

bd

4

baiiitah AAR UA oo

27a

between the Parties relating to the nghts and liabilities arising out

of their Marriage and Marital Relationship, cach to the other, and

constitutes the entire Agreement of the Parties, for all purposes.

PARTIAL INVALIDITY OF THIS AGREEMENT

If any provision of this Agreement is held by any Court of

competent Jurisdiction to be invalid, void, or unenforceable, the

remaining provisions contained herein will nevertheless and for all

purposes, continue in full force and effect without being impaired

or invalidated in any manner.

WAIVER-OF_BREACH OF ANY PROVISION

The waiver by one Party of any breach of this Agreement

by the other Party, shall not be deemed a Waiver of any other

provision of this Agreement, for any purpose.

AMENDMENT OR MODIFICATION OF THIS AGREEMENT

This "Agreed Final Decree Of Divorce and Contractually

Binding Property Settlement Agreementst may be amended or

modified further, only by written instrument executed by both

Parties.

SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS

This Agreement, shall be binding upon, and will inure to

the benefit of, the respective Legatees, Devisees, Heirs, Executors,

Administrators, Assigns and Successors In Interest, of cach of the

Parties, hereto, specifically Petitioner, LYN LARAINE (OTT)

SEDDIO and Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

NOTICES T PARTI

Any Notice to be given under this Agreement by either

Party to the other Party shall be in writing and may be effected by

Registered or Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, showing

attempted Delivery, or Delivery of same, and addressed to the

other Party, at that Party's last known mailing address, as

hereinabove provided.

LAW GOVERNING THIS AGREEMENT

This Agreement shall be governed by, and shall be

construed i; accordance with, the Law of the State of Texas,

exclusively.

28a

VENUE GOVERNING SUIT UNDER THIS AGREEMENT

Venue and Jurisdiction with reference to any Post-

Judgment litigation, Post-Judgment Cause of Action and/or Post-

Judgment Suit, Claim, or Equity Proceeding, is and shall be in and

under the Junsdiction and Venue or the 158th Judicial District

Court, in and for Denton County, Texas, sitting at Denton, Denton

County, Texas.

ATTORNEY'S FEES AND EXPENSES FOR ENFORCEMENT

OF THIS AGREEMENT

Reasonable Attorney's Fees and Expenses of a Party

incurred in successfully prosecuting or defending a suit under this

Agreement against the other Party, or the other Party's Estate shall

be recoverable by the successful Party in such action, together with

interest thereon.

BILL OF REVIEW

If either Party seeks a modification of this Agreement by

equitable "Bill Of Review" and the initiating Party fails to succeed

in setting aside this Agreement, then the initiating Party will be

liable to the defending Party for any costs, Attorney's Fees,

consultant's fees, appraisal fees and any other expenses incurred in

defending such action.

AGREEMENTS OF THE PARTIES MERGED IN THE ORDER

OF THIS COURT

The Parties, each to the other, do hereby further, and by

these presents, do further covenant, agree, stipulate and contract,

that each and every agreement contained herein, is merged into,

and by consent and stipulation of the Parties, each to the other,

become upon execution hereof, the Order of this Court.

TEMPORARY ORDERS GOVERNING PARTIES ARE

RELEASED

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED ADJUDGED and

DECREED that, except as specifically set forth herein, that

Petitioner and Respondent are hereby discharged from all further

liabilities and obligations imposed by the Temporary Orders of this

Court previously entered herein, if any, as of the date of entry of

this "Agreed Final Judgment And Decree Of Divorce."

i

i

Hy

4

“]

Pe, SE A caetait

29a

NECESSARY CLARIFYING ORDERS

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that without in any manner affecting the Finality of

this "Final Judgment And Decree of Divorce". this Court expressly

reserves the night to make any additional Orders necessary to

clarify and enforce this "Agreed Final Decree of Divorce."

RELIEF NOT GRANTED, IS DENIED

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that any and all other relief requested in the this Cause

of Action, and not expressly granted herein, be, and the same is,

hereby DENIED.

DATE OF JUDGMENT

This "Final Judgment and Decree of Divorce" and other

associated and related Orders judicially announced and rendered

in open-Court in the 158th Judicial District Court in and for

Denton County, Texas, at Denton, Denton County, Texas, on the

19th day of February, A.D., 1991, and further noted on the Court's

Docket Sheet on the same date, and ministerially signed and

ratified on the 19" day of February, A.D., 1991.

SIGNED

JUDGE PRESIDING

30a

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND CONTENT AND

AGREED TO AS BINDING CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT

OF THE PARTIES

SIGNED 19 Feb 91

LYN LARAINE (OTT) SEDDIO, DATE OF EXECUTION

PETITIONER AND COUNTER-RESPONDENT

SIGNED Feb 19 1991

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. DATE OF EXECUTION

RESPONDENT AND COUNTER-PETITIONER

PREPERED BY: RANDALL A. ANTONSON, PC.

RANDALL A. ANTONSON, 01275500

619 MERCURY PLACE, SUITE 107

DUNCANVILLE, TEXAS 75137

(214) 298-6925-995 1

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

COMPUTER REFERENCE: SEDDIO

UNAPPROVED AS TO CONTENT

HON. RICHARD S. PODGORSKI, ATTORNEY AT LAW

RICHARD S. PODGORSKI, T.B.N. 16082500

326-B, EAST MCKINNEY STREET

POST OFFICE BOX NO. 2494 ~

DENTON, DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS 76201-2

(817) 387-3869-3961

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

UNAPPROVED AS TO CONTENT

ay

Sik Barts Staten etn wat tent tn

3la

NO. 89-3400-367

IN THE MATTER OF ) IN THE DISTRICT COURT

THE MARRIAGE OF )

LYN LARAINE (OTT) ) IN AND FOR

SEDDIO MICHAELS ) DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS

PETITIONER )

)

AND )

)

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, )

JR. RESPONDENT ) 367th JUDICIAL DISTRICT

ORDER GRANTING MOTION FOR ENFORCEMENT

On this 17th day of July, 1997, came on to be heard

Movant's Motion for Enforcement of Agreed Final

Judgment and Decree of Divorce and Binding Contractual

Property Settlement Agreement of the Parties, hereinafter

referred to as Motion for Enforcement.

Movant, LYN MICHAELS, appeared in person and by

attorney of record. Respondent, FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR., appeared in person and by attomey of

record.

A jury was waived and the Court proceeded to consider all

written response and the evidence and argument of counsel

and find and Order as follows:

The Court finds that all prerequisites of law have been

legally satisfied and that this Court has jurisdiction over

the parties and subject matter contained herein.

IT IS ORDERED that the Motion for Enforcement is

hereby granted.

The Court finds that FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. has

failed to pay to LYN MICHAELS money that was

awarded in the prior decree and that the amount of unpaid

payments to which LYN MICHAELS is, as of July 17,

1997, entitled is $9347.66.

32a

IT IS ORDERED that LYN MICHAELS is granted judgment

against FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. in the amount of

$9347.66, such judgment bearing interest at 10 percent per annum

compounded annually from the date this order is signed, for which

let execution issue, if not timely paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND DECREED that LYN

MICHAELS is granted judgment against FRANK JOSEPH

SEDDIO, JR. in the amount of $3423.63 for attorney's fees, such

judgment bearing interest at 10 percent per annum compounded

annually from the date this order is signed until paid, for which let

execution issue if not timely paid.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED AND DECREED that costs of court

are taxed against FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., and FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., is ORDERED to pay those costs.

All relief not specifically granted herein is denied.

Signed this 9 day of September 1997.

= SIGNED ___

JUDGE PRESIDING

APPROVED AS TO FORM ONLY:

SIGNED SIGNED

JILL O'CONNELL RICHARD TANNER

Attorney for Movant Attorney for Respondent

33a

NO. 89-3400-367

INTHE MATTEROF ) — IN THE DISTRICT COURT

THE MARRIAGE OF _)

)

LYN LARAINE (OTT) |)

SEDDIO MICHAELS __ ) IN AND FOR

PETITIONER ) DENTON COUNTY, TEXAS

)

AND )

)

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO) 367" JUDICIAL DISTRICT

JR. RESPONDENT

FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In response to the request of Respondent, the Court makes

and files the following as original Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law in accordance with Rules 296 and 297 of the

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

FINDINGS OF FACT

l. LYN LARAINE MICHAELS, Movant and FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR_, Respondent were married June 30, 1962.

2. On February 19, 1991, an Agreed Final Judgment and

Decree of Divorce and Binding Contractual Property Settlement

Agreement of the Parties was entered.

3. Both LYN LARAINE MICHAELS and FRANK

JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. signed the Agreed Final Judgment and

Decree of Divorce and Binding Contractual Property Settlement

Agreement of the Parties.

4. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. agreed to pay LYN

LARAINE MICHAELS 50% of the monthly amount that a Master

Sergeant with 20 years of service would receive on the day that

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. begins to receive his retirement,

together with the same percentage of any and all cost-of-living-

34a

related increases to which FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. shall

become entitled for the period beginning on the date of retirement

and ending on the death of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

4. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. was designated within

the divorce decree as a constructive trustee for the benefit of LYN

LARAINE MICHAELS.

5. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. did not pay to LYN

LARAINE MICHAFLS the money that was awarded to her

pursuant to the property settlement agreement.

6. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. failed to pay to LYN

LARAINE MICHAELS the balance of the 50%, each month, that

was awarded to her, after the Air Force had paid her a direct

amount each month.

7. The Agreed Final Judgment and Decree of Divorce and

Binding Contractual Property Settlement Agreement of the Parties

contained the provision that the terms within the decree were "...

absolutely contractually binding on both Parties to the Agreement,

all as contained in this 'Agreed Final Decree of Divorce And

Contractually Binding Property Settlement Agreement'’."

8. The unpaid amount that LYN LARAINE MICHAELS is

entitled to as of July 17, 1997, is $9347.66.

9. Any finding of fact that is a conclusion of law

shall be deemed a conclusion of law.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Motion to Enforce filed by LYN LARAINE

MICHAELS is in due form and contains all the allegations

required by law.

CF vOD SE a ee Re

35a

2. This Court has jurisdiction of the parties and of the

subject matter of this cause.

3. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO JR's agreement to pay LYN

LARAINE MICHAELS 50% of the monthly amount that a Master

Sergeant with 20 years of service would receive on the day that

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. begins to receive his retirement,

together with the same percentage of any and all cost-of-living-

related increases to which FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. shall

become entitled for the period beginning on the date of retirement

and ending on the death of FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR., was

not appealed and is therefore the law of the case.

4. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. breached his fiduciary

duty to LYN LARAINE MICHAELS by failing to account and

deliver within 3 days of receipt of his retirement payments the

sums due to LYN LARAINE MICHAELS.

5. FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. is indebted to LYN

LARAINE MICHAELS in the amount of $9347.66, as of July 17,

1997, bearing interest at 10 percent per annum if not timely paid.

6. LYN LARAINE MICHAELS is entitled to reasonable

attorney's fees in the amount of $3423.63, plus 10 percent interest

per annum from September 9, 1997 until paid.

7. Attorney's fees in the amount of $3423.63 were

reasonable and necessary.

7. The division of military retirement benefits is

enforceable as a property settlement agreement.

8. The rules of contract law therefore apply to the agreed

upon division of military retirement.

9. This Court has the power to enforce property settlement

agreements.

10. This Court has the authority to enforce property

settlement agreements that involve military retirement and

disability benefits.

36a

11. Mansell v. Mansell 490 U.S. 581, 109 S.Ct. 2023, 104

L. Ed. 2d 675 (1989) is distinguished from this case, because

Mansell did not decide the issue of whether the state court may

enforce an agreement between the parties even if it involves

payment from disability benefits.

Signed this 17 day of October, 1997.

SIGNED

JUDGE PRESIDING

37a

COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH

NO. 2-97-372-CV

Frank Joseph Seddio, Jr From the 367” District Court

of Denton County (89-3400-367)

VS. August 28, 1998

Opinion by Justice Livingston

Lyn Ott Michaels (nfp)

JUDGMENT

This Court has considered the record on appeal in this case and

is of the opinion that there was no error in the judgment of the trial

court. It is ordered, adjudged, and decreed that the judgment of the

trial court is affirmed.

It is further ordered that Frank Joseph Seddio, Jr. pay all costs

of this appeal for which let execution issue.

TL

38a

COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH

NO. 2-97-372-CV ~

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. APPELLANT

VS.

LYN OTT MICHAELS APPELLEE

FROM THE 367TH DISTRICT COURT OF DENTON COUNTY

OPINION

I. INTRODUCTION

Appellant Frank Joseph Seddio, Jr. (Frank) appeals from the

trial court's granting of appellee Lyn Ott Michaels's (Lyn) motion

for enforcement of a divorce decree. In four points, Frank contends

the tnal court erred in: (1) awarding Lyn a portion of his Veterans'

Administration (VA) disability benefits; (2) overruling his statute

of limitations defense; (3) granting Lyn attorney 's fees; and (4) not

granting him attorney's fees. We affirm the trial court's judgment.

Il. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Frank and Lyn marred on June 30, 1962. On February 19,

1991, they obtained a divorce pursuant to their agreed final

judgment and decree of divorce and binding contractual property

settlement agreement (the agreement). The agreement was drafted

by Frank's and Lyn's respective attorneys. The trial court did not

have a hand in the disposition of the couple's property. It merely

approved the agreement. The agreement provided that Lyn was

entitled to receive from Frank "a monthly amount of money equal

to fifty (50%) percent of that monthly amount that a retired Master

Sergeant, with twenty (20) years' of service will receive on the date

[Frank] begins to receive his retirement."

Lyn received several payments from, Frank, then began.

receiving direct payment from the Department of Defense for fifty

percent of what was later determined to be Frank's United States

Air Force disposable retirement retainer pay. Thus, Lyn did not

39a

receive any money from Frank's VA disability pay, which

constituted 10% of his retirement at the time he retired. As Frank's

disability entitlement increased to 60% of his retirement, he

waived his retirement benefits in order to take the money in the

form of disability payments. The amount of his disposable

retirement pay decreased accordingly. As a result, in September

1995, the monthly amount Lyn received diminished from $453.00

to $164.50. Her payment later fell to $61.50 in March 1996.

In May 1996, Lyn moved for enforcement of the decree of

divorce complaining that she was not receiving fifty percent of

Frank's gross retirement pay as required by the agreement. The

crux of Lyn's argument was that Frank's VA disability pay should

be factored into the award under the agreement. The trial court

held a hearing on the motion on July 17, 1996. On September 9,

1997, the tnal court granted the motion for enforcement and

awarded Lyn $9,347.66 in unpaid payments and $3,423.63 in

attorney's fees. Frank filed a motion for new trial, which was

overruled. The trial court filed its findings of fact and conclusions

of law on October 21, 1997. Conclusion of law number |] states:

Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581, 109 S. Ct. 2023, 104 L.

Ed. 2d 675 (1989) is distinguished from this case, because

Mansell did not decide the issue of whether the state court

may enforce an agreement between the parties even if it

involves payment from disability benefits.

III. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

Findings of fact entered in a case tried to the court are of

the same force and dignity as a jury's answers to jury questions.

See Anderson v. City of Seven Points, 806 S.W.2d 791, 794 (Tex.

1991). The trial court's findings of fact are reviewable for legal and

factual sufficiency of the evidence to support them by the same

standards that are applied in reviewing evidence supporting a jury's

answer. See Ortiz v. Jones, 917 S-W.2d 770, 772 (Tex. 1996).

Conclusions of law may not be challenged for factual sufficiency,

but conclusions of law may be reviewed to determine their

correctness based upon the facts. See Forbis v. Trinity Universal

Ins. Co. of Kan., Inc., 833 S-W.2d 316, 319 (Tex. App.-Fort Worth

1992, writ denied).

40a

B. Disability Pay

In his first point, Frank argues the portion of the agreement

that purportedly awards Lyn fifty percent of all his retirement

benefits is void because it attempts to award Lyn one-half of his

VA disability pay in violation of the Former Spouses’ Protection

Act (the Act) and the United States Supreme Court's interpretation

of the Act in Mansell v. Mansell, 490 U.S. 581, 109 S. Ct. 2023

(1990). See Department of Defense Authorization Act of 1983,

Pub. L. No. 97-252, § 1001, 96 Stat., 730-735 (1982). Lyn argues

Mansell is inapplicable to the case at hand because Frank and Lyn

contractually split a sum certain such that the tnal court never

"awarded" disability payments to Lyn in contravention of Manse/1.

In Mansell, Gerald and Gaye Mansell entered into a

property settlement agreement that required Gerald to pay Gaye

"50 percent of his total military retirement pay, including that

portion of retirement pay waived so that [Gerald) could receive

disability payments." Mansell, 490 U.S. at 585-86, 109 S. Ct. at

2025. Gerald moved for modification of the divorce decree to

strike the provision requiring him to share his total retirement pay

with Gaye. Id. at 586, 109 S. Ct. at 2025-26. The trial court denied

the request for modification and the case reached the United States

Supreme Court on the issue of whether the California state court

could apply its own marital property laws to divide veterans’

disability benefits in a divorce partition proceeding. Id. at 585, 109

S. Ct. at 2025; Wallace v. Fuller, 832 S-W.2d 714, 716-18 (Tex.

App.-Austin 1992, no writ) (providing historical look at a Texas

trial court's ability to divide military retirement benefits).

The Mansell Court held that the California state court was

preempted from applying its community property laws to divide

the portion of Gerald's retirement pay that was waived to secure

VA disability benefits. Mansell, 490 U.S. at 594-95, 109 S. Ct. at

2031-32 (holding that state courts only have authority to treat

“disposable retired pay" as marital property and the Act excludes

disability benefits from its definition of "disposable retired pay");

Wallace, 832 S.W-2d at 716-18 (acknowledging that federal law

preempted the Texas state court from applying its own community

property laws to divide the military disability payments in a

partition proceeding).

41a

Lyn cites a Florida Supreme Court case, Abernethy v.

Fishkin, 699 So.2d 235 (Fla. 1997), to support her

proposition that Mansell does not prevent a divorcing

couple from entering into a settlement agreement to divide

all retirement benefits. Jn Abernethy, Richard and Monica

Abernethy entered into a property settlement agreement in

which Richard, whe had not yet retired, gave Monica

twenty-five percent of his Air Force retirement pay. Id. at

237.

The settlement agreement was later incorporated into a final

judgment of dissolution of marriage, with the change that Monica

would be entitled to twenty-five percent of Richard's “net

disposable retired or retainer pay." Id. Some time after he retired,

Richard waived a portion of his retirement in favor of VA

disability benefits, and Monica moved to receive a portion of

Richard's total benefits. Id. at 238. The trial court granted Monica's

motion, but the intermediate appellate court reversed. Id. at 238-39.

Although the Florida Supreme- Court concluded that "division of

veterans' disability benefits, whether through court order or

settlement agreement, are preempted by federal law, it found that

Monica "is entitled to receive payments equal to the amount she

was receiving before [Richard] elected veterans’ disability

payments." Id. at 239. The court reasoned that Richard was not

receiving disability payments when he and Monica entered into the

settlement agreement and the agreement itself contained an

indemnification clause that ensured Monica would receive level

payments by precluding Richard from shifting retirement payments

to avoid paying Monica her due under the agreement. See id. at

239-40. Because the indemnification provision did not specify

what assets would be used to keep Monica's payments level (i.e., it

did not say he had to pay her out of his disability benefits), the

court reasoned the final judgment did not violate Mansell. Id. at

239-40. Consequently, the court held that !d. at 240. [While

federal law prohibits the division of disability benefits, it does not

prohibit spouses from entering into a property settlement

agreement that awards the non-military spouse a set portion of the

military spouse's retirement pay. Nor does it preclude

indemnification provisions ensuring such payments-, so long as

veterans’ disability benefits are not the source of such payments.

42a

Here, we have a property settlement agreement purporting to

award: [A] monthly amount of money equal to fifty (50%) percent

of that monthly amount that a retired Master Sergeant, with twenty

(20) years' of service will receive on the date [Frank] begins to

receive his retirement.

We find that, as in Abernethy, the property settlement agreement

awards a sum certain that is unaffected by Frank's decision to

waive retirement pay in favor of VA disability pay. See id. In other

words, the property settlement effectively renders Frank's waiver

irrelevant for purposes of the amount due Lyn because the parties

contracted to tie the award to the amount "a retired Master

Sergeant, with twenty (20) years' of service" would receive, not the

amount that Frank actually received. In addition, as in Abernethy,

the agreement contains an indemnification clause that ensures

reimbursement, or satisfaction, upon the entry of a judgment

against one of the parties arising from the agreement. See id.

Moreover, the indemnification clause does not specify the source

of the amounts due. See id.

Although we recognize that Mansell also involved a

property settlement entered into by the parties prior to court

approval, we believe the case at hand is distinguishable because of

this unique agreement. Whereas the Mansells’ agreement expressly

divided Gerald's VA disability benefits in contravention of the Act,

Frank and Lyn merely contracted to divide a definite amount,

irrespective of ancillary or subsequent occurrences such as we have

here. See Mansell, 490 U.S. at 585-86, 109 S. Ct. at 2025. For these

reasons, we overrule Frank's first point.

C. Statute of Limitations

In his second point, Frank argues the tral court erred in

not applying the statute of limitations to Lyn's claims. However,

the record reveals that Frank failed to preserve error concerning

this point because he never raised this issue at the hearing or in his

motion for new tral. Texas Rule of Appellate Procedure 33.1

states:

(a) In general. As a prerequisite to presenting a complaint

43a

for appellate review, the record must show that:

(1) the complaint was made to the trial court by a timely request,

objection, or motion that: , (A) stated the grounds for the ruling

that the complaining party sought from the trial court with

sufficient specificity to make the trial court aware of the complaint,

unless the specific grounds were apparent from the context; and

(B) complied with the requirements of the Texas Rule of Civil or

Criminal Evidence or the Texas Rules of Civil or Appellate

Procedure; and

(2) the trial court:

(A) ruled on the request, objection, or motion, either

expressly or implicitly; or

(B) refused to rule on the request, objection, or motion,

and the complaining party objected to the refusal.

TEX. R. App. P. 33.1 (a).

Here, there is nothing in the record to show that Frank ever raised

his statute of limitations defense in the trial court. Frank included

the statute of limitations defense in a laundry list of defenses in his

second amended original answer, but he never raised the issue at

the hearing or in his motion for new trial. Thus, Frank failed to

adequately preserve error. If a party fails to comply with rule 33. 1,

error is not preserved, and the complaint is waived. See Bushell

v. Dean, 803 SW.2d 711, 712 (Tex. 1991) (op. on reh'g)

(construing former rule 52). Therefore, we find that Frank waived

error concerning his statute of limitations defense. We overrule

Frank's second point.

D. Attorney's Fees

In his third and fourth points, Frank argues the trial court erred in:

(1) granting Lyn attorney's fees because it should not have granted

the motion to enforce; and (2) not granting him attorney I s fees

because he successfully defended the motion to enforce.

Frank does not contest the avai lability of attorney's fees or the

amount of attorney's fees awarded. Thus, because of our

disposition of point one, we overrule Frank's third and fourth

points.

| 44a

IV. CONCLUSION

We affirm the trial court's judgment.

TERRI LIVINGSTON

PANEL A: CAYCE, C.J., LIVINGSTON, and RICHARDS, JJ

DO NOT PUBLISH

TEX. R. App. P. 47.3(a)

AUG 2 8 1998

45a

COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH

NO. 2-97-372-CV

FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR. APPELLANT

LYN OTT MICHAELS ia APPELLEE

FROM THE 367th DISTRICT COURT OF DENTON COUNTY

ORDER

We have considered the appellant's "Motion For Rehearing."

It is the opinion of the court that said motion for rehearing

should be and is hereby denied and that the Opinion and judgment

of August 28, 1998, stand unchanged.

The clerk of this Court is directed to transmit a copy of this

order to the attorneys of record.

SIGNED THIS 15th day of October, 1998.

TERRIE LIVINGSTON

JUSTICE

PANEL A: CAYCE, C.J.; LIVINGSTON, and RICHARDS, JJ.

46a

THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Post Office Box 12248

Austin, Texas 78711 (512) 463-1312

November 18, 1999

Mr. Thomas V. Murto, Ii

Stadley & Wnght

9330 LBJ Freeway, Suite 1400

Dallas, TX 75243 ws

Ms. Jill Elizabeth Tate O'Connell

Morris & Morris

900 Parker Square, Suite 235

Flower Mound, TX 75028

RE: Case Number 98-1179

Court of Appeals Number: 02-97-00372-CV

Trial Court Number: 89-3400-367

Style: FRANK JOSEPH SEDDIO, JR.

V.

LYN OTT MICHAEL

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas denied the petition for review

in the above styled case.

Sincerely,

John T. Adams Clerk

By Tanya R. Hunter, Deputy Clerk

Cc: Ms. Stephanie Lavake, Clerk

Ms. Tracy Kunkel

47a

Subj: Re: Former Spouses' Protection Act

Date: 02/08/2000 11:32:34 AM Central Standard Time

From: DEE.DACOSTA@DFAS.MIL

To: RBTCTT@aol.com

Mr. Tanner

There is a system generated report with this information. Total

number of former spouses paid in January 2000 was 57,056.

While I cannot give you a direct count for additions for 1999, I can

tell you that in January 1999 the number paid was 52,569.

This is a monthly report that tallies all payments and totals are

affected by accounts suspended or terminated as well as by

accounts added.

Hope this answers your question. If you have questions, don't

hesitate to ask.

DeeDaCosta

48a

Sec. 1408. Payment of retired or retainer pay in compliance

with court orders

e (a) Definitions. - In this section:

e (1) The term "court" means -

e (A) any court of competent jurisdiction of

any State, the District of Columbia, the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam,

American Samoa, the Virgin Islands, the

Northern Mariana Islands, and the Trust

Territory of the Pacific Islands;

e (B) any court of the United States (as

defined in section 451 of title 28) having

competent jurisdiction;

e (C) any court of competent jurisdiction of

a foreign country with which the United

States has an agreement requiring the

United States to honor any court order of

such country; and

(D) any administrative or judicial tribunal

of a State competent to enter orders for

support or maintenance (including a State

agency administering a program under a

State plan approved under part D of title

IV of the Social Security Act), and, for

purposes of this subparagraph, the term

"State" includes the District of Columbia,

the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the

Virgin Islands, Guam, and American

Samoa.

e (2) The term "court order” means a final decree of

divorce, dissolution, annulment, or legal

separation issued by a court, or a court ordered,

ratified, or approved property settlement incident

to such a decree (including a final decree

modifying the terms of a previously issued decree

of divorce, dissolution, annulment, or legal

separation, or a court ordered, ratified, or approved

property settlement incident to such previously

issued decree), or a support order, as defined in

49a

section 453(p) of the Social Security Act (42

U.S.C. 653(p)), which -

e (A) is issued in accordance with the laws

of the jurisdiction of that court;

e (B) provides for -

¢ (i) payment of child support (as

defined in section 459(i)(2) of the

Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.

659(i)(2)));

e (i) payment of alimony (as

defined in section 459(i)(3) of

the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.

659(i)(3))); or

e (i) division of property

(including a division of

community property); and

(C) in the case of a division of

property, specifically

provides for the payment of an

amount, expressed in dollars or

as a percentage of disposable

retired pay, from the disposable

retired pay of a member to the

spouse or former spouse of that

member.

(3) The term "final decree" means a decree from

which no appeal may be taken or from which no

appeal has been taken within

the time allowed for taking such appeals under the

laws applicable to such appeals, or a decree from

which timely appeal has been taken and such

appeal has been finally decided under the laws

applicable to such appeals.

(4) The term "disposable retired pay" means the

total monthly retired pay to which a member is

entitled less amounts which -

e (A) are owed by that member to the

United States for previous overpayments

of retired pay and for recoupments

50a

required by law resulting from entitlement

to retired pay;

e (B) are deducted from the retired pay of

such member as a result of forfeitures of

retired pay ordered by a court-martial or as

a result of a waiver of retired pay required

by law in

order to receive compensation under title 5

or title 38;

e (C) in the case of a member entitled to

retired pay under chapter 61 of this ttle,

are equal to the amount of retired

pay of the member under that chapter

computed using the percentage of the

member's disability on the date when the

member was retired (or the date on which

the member's name was placed on the

temporary disability retired list); or

e (D) are deducted because of an election

under chapter 73 of this title to provide an

annuity to a spouse or former spouse to

whom payment of a portion of such

member's retired pay is

being made pursuant to a court order

under this section.

e (5) The term "member" includes a former member

entitled to retired pay under section 12731 of this

ttle.

e (6) The term "spouse or former spouse" means the

husband or wife, or former husband or wife,

respectively, of a member who, on or before the

date of a court order, was married to that member.

e (7) The term "retired pay" includes retainer pay.

e (b) Effective Service of Process. - For the purposes of this

section -

e (1) service of a court order is effective if -

e (A) an appropriate agent of the Secretary

concerned designated for receipt of service

of court orders under

regulations prescribed pursuant to

51a

subsection (i) or, if no agent has been so

designated, the Secretary concerned, is

personally served or is served by facsimile

or electronic transmission or by mail;

(B) the court order is regular on its face:

(C) the court order or other documents

served with the court order identify the

member concerned and include, if

possible, the social security number of

such member; and

(D) the court order or other documents

served with the court order certify that the

rights of the member under the Soldiers’

and Sailors' Civil Relief Act of 1940 (50

U.S.C. App. 501 et

seq.) were observed; and

(2) a court order is regular on its face if

the order -

e (A) is issued by a court of competent

jurisdiction;

e (B) is legal in form, and

(C) includes nothing on its face that

~ provides reasonable

notice that it is issued without authority of

law.

(c) Authority for Court To Treat Retired Pay as Property of

the Member and Spouse. - (1) Subject to the limitations of

this section, a court may treat disposable retired pay

payable to a member for pay periods beginning after June

25, 1981, either as property solely of the member or as

property of the member and his spouse in accordance with

the law of the jurisdiction of such court. A court may not

treat retired pay as property in any proceeding to divide or

partition any amount of retired pay of a member as the

property of the member and the member's spouse or former

spouse if a final decree of divorce, dissolution, annulment.

or legal separation (including a court ordered, ratified, or

approved property settlement incident to such decree)

affecting the member and the member's spouse or former

spouse (A) was issued before June 25, 1981, and (B) did

52a

not treat (or reserve jurisdiction to treat) any amount of

retired pay of the member as property of the member and

the member's spouse or former spouse.

e (2) Notwithstanding any other provision of law,

this section does not create any nght, title, or

interest which can be sold, assigned, transferred,

or otherwise disposed of (including by inheritance)

by a spouse or former spouse. Payments by the

Secretary concerned under subsection (d) to a

spouse or former spouse with respect to a division

of retired pay as the property of a member and the

member's spouse under this subsection may not be

treated as amounts received as retired pay for

service in the uniformed services.

e (3) This section does not authorize any court to

order a member to apply for retirement or retire at

a particular time in order to effectuate any

payment under this section.

e (4) A court may not treat the disposable retired pay

of a member in the manner described in paragraph

(1) unless the court has junsdiction over the

member by reason of (A) his residence, other than

because of military assignment, in the terntorial

jurisdiction of the court, (B) his domicile in the

terntorial junsdiction of the court, or (C) his

consent to the jurisdiction of the court.

e (d) Payments by Secretary Concerned to (or for Benefit of)

Spouse or Former Spouse. - (1) After effective service on

the Secretary concerned of a court order providing for the

payment of child support or alimony or, with respect to a

division of property, specifically providing for the

payment of an amount of the disposable retired pay from a

member to the spouse or a former spouse of the member,

the Secretary shall make payments (subject to the

limitations of this section) from the disposable retired pay

of the member to the spouse or former spouse (or for the

benefit of such spouse or former spouse to a State

disbursement unit established pursuant to section 454B of

the Social Security Act or other public payee designated by

a State, in accordance with part D of title IV of the Social

53a

Security Act, as directed by court order, or as otherwise

directed in accordance with such part D) in an amount

sufficient to satisfy the amount of child support and

alimony set forth in the court order and, with respect to a

division of property, in the amount of disposable retired

pay specifically provided for in the court order. In the case

of a spouse or former spouse who, pursuant to section

408(a)(3) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 608(a)(4)),

assigns to a State the rights of the spouse or former spouse

to receive support, the Secretary concerned may make the

child support payments referred to in the preceding

sentence to that State in amounts consistent with that

assignment of rights. In the case of a member entitled to

receive retired pay on the date of the effective service of

the court order, such payments shall begin not later than 90

days after the date of effective service. In the case of a

member not entitled to receive retired pay on the date of

the effective service of the court order, such payments

shall begin not later than 90 days after the date on which

the member first becomes entitled to receive retired-pay-

e (2) If the spouse or former spouse to whom

payments are to be made under this section was

not married to the member for a period of 10 years

or more during which the member performed at

least 10 years of service creditable in determining

the member's eligibility for retired pay, payments

may not be made under this section to the extent

that they include an amount resulting from the

treatment by the court under subsection (c) of

disposable retired pay of the member as property

of the member or property of the member and his

spouse.

e (3) Payments under this section shall not be made

more frequently than once each month, and the

Secretary concerned shall not be required to vary

normal pay and disbursement cycles for retired

pay in order to comply with a court order.

e (4) Payments from the disposable retired pay of a

member pursuant to this section shall terminate in

accordance with the terms of the applicable court

54a

order, but not later than the date of the death of the

member or the date of the death of the spouse or

former spouse to whom payments are being made,

whichever occurs first.

(5) If a court order described in paragraph (1)

provides for a division of property (including a

division of community property) in addition to an

amount of child support or alimony or the payment

of an amount of disposable retired pay as the result

of the court's treatment of such pay under

subsection (c) as property of the member and his

spouse, the Secretary concerned shall pay (subject

to the limitations of this section) from the

disposable retired pay of the member to the spouse

or former spouse of the member, any part of the

amount payable to the spouse or former spouse

under the division of property upon effective

service of a final court order of garnishment of

such amount frorn such retired pay.

(6) In the case of a court order for which effective

service is made on the Secretary concerned on or

after the date of the enactment of this paragraph

and which provides for payments from the

disposable retired pay of a member to satisfy the

amount of child support set forth in the order, the

authonty provided in paragraph (1) to make

payments from the disposable retired pay of a

member to satisfy the amount of child support set

forth in a court order shall apply to payment of any

amount of child support arrearages set forth in that

order as well as to amounts of child support that

currently become due.

(7)

e (A) The Secretary concerned may not

accept service of a court order that is an

out-of-State modification, or comply with

the provisions of such a court order, unless

the court issuing that order has jurisdiction

in the manner specified in subsection

55a

(c)(4) over both the member and the

spouse or former spouse involved.

¢ (B) A court order shall be considered to be

an out-of-State modification for purposes

of this paragraph if the order

¢ (i) modifies a previous court order

under this section upon

which payments’ under __ this

subsection are based; and

(ii) is issued by a court of a State

other than the State of

the court that issued the previous

court order.

(e) Limitations. - (1) The total amount of the disposable

retired pay of a member payable under all court orders

pursuant to subsection (c) may not exceed 50 percent of

such disposable retired pay.

(2) In the event of effective service of more than

one court order which provide for payment to a

spouse and one or more former spouses or to more

than one former spouse, the disposable retired pay

of the member shall be used to satisfy (subject to

the limitations of paragraph (1)) such court orders

on a first-come, first-served basis. Such court

orders shall be satisfied (subject to the limitations

of paragraph (1)) out of that amount of disposable

retired pay which remains after the satisfaction of

all court orders which have been previously

served.

(3)

e (A) In the event of effective service of

conflicting court orders under this section

which assert to direct that different

amounts be paid during a month to the

same spouse or former spouse of the same

member, the Secretary concerned shall -

e (i) pay to that spouse from the

member's disposable retired pay

the least amount directed to be

paid during that month by any

56a

such conflicting court order, but

not more than the amount of

disposable retired pay which

remains available for payment of

such court orders based on when

such court orders were effectively

served and the limitations of

paragraph (1) and subparagraph

(B) of paragraph (4);

® (ii) retain an amount of disposable

retired pay that is equal to the

lesser of -

(I) the difference between the largest

amount required by any conflicting court

order to be paid to the spouse or former

spouse and the amount payable to the

spouse or former spouse

under clause (i); and (II) the amount of

disposable retired pay which remains

available for payment of any conflicting

court order based on

when such court order was effectively

served and the limitations of paragraph (1)

and subparagraph (B) of paragraph

(4); and (iii) pay to that member the

amount which is equal to _ the

amount of that member's disposable

retired pay (less any amount

paid during such month pursuant to legal

process served under section 459 of the

Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 659) and

any amount paid during such month

pursuant to court orders

effectively served under this section, other

than such conflicting court orders) minus -

(I) the amount of disposable retired pay

paid under clause

(II) the amount of disposable retired pay

retained under

clause (ii).

(4)

57a

(B) The Secretary concerned shall hold the

amount retained under clause (ii) of

subparagraph (A) until such time as that

Secretary is provided with a court order

which has been certified by the member

and the spouse or former spouse to be

valid and applicable to the retained

amount. Upon being provided with such

an order, the Secretary shall pay the

retained amount in accordance with the

order.

(A) In the event of effective service of a

court order under this section and the

service of legal process pursuant to section

459 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C.

659), both of which provide for payments

during a month from the same member,

satisfaction of such court orders and legal

process from the retired pay of the

member shall be on a first-come, first-

served basis. Such court orders and legal

process shall be satisfied out of moneys

which are subject to such orders and legal

process and which remain available in

accordance with the limitations of

paragraph (1) and subparagraph (B) of this

paragraph during such month after the

Satisfaction of all court orders or legal

process which have been previously

served.

(B) Notwithstanding any other provision

of law, the total amount of the disposable

retired pay of a member payable by the

Secretary concerned under all court orders

pursuant to this section and all legal

processes pursuant to section 459 of the

Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 659) with

respect to a member may not exceed 65

58a

percent of the amount of the retired pay

payable to such member that is considered

under section 462 of the Social Security

Act (42 U.S.C. 662) to be remuneration

for employment that is payable by the

United States.

(5) A court order which itself or because of

previously served court orders provides for the

payment of an amount which exceeds the amount

of disposable retired pay available for payment

because of the limit set forth in paragraph (1), or

which, because of previously served court orders

or legal process previously served under section

459 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 659),

provides for payment of an amount that exceeds

the maximum amount permitted under paragraph

(1) or subparagraph (B) of paragraph (4), shall not

be considered to be irregular on its face solely for

that reason. However, such order shall be

considered to be fully satisfied for purposes of this

section by the payment to the spouse or former

spouse of the maximum amount of disposable

retired pay permitted under paragraph (1) and

subparagraph (B) of paragraph (4).

(6) Nothing in this section shall be construed to

relieve a member of liability for the payment of

alimony, child support, or other payments required

by a court order on the grounds that payments

made out of disposable retired pay under this

section have been made in the maximum amount

permitted under paragraph (1) or subparagraph (B)

of paragraph (4). Any such unsatisfied obligation

of a member may be enforced by any means

available under law other than the means provided

under this section in any case in which the

maximum amount permitted under paragraph (1)

has been paid and under section 459 of the Social

Security Act (42 U.S.C. 659) in any case in which

the maximum amount permitted under

subparagraph (B) of paragraph (4) has been paid.

59a

(f) Immunity of Officers and Employees of United States. -

(1) The United States and any officer or employee of the

United States shall not be liable with respect to any

payment made from retired pay to any member, spouse, or

former spouse pursuant to a court order that is regular on

its face if such payment is made in accordance with this

section and the regulations prescribed pursuant to

subsection (i).

e (2) An officer or employee of the United States

who, under regulations prescribed pursuant to

subsection (i), has the duty to respond to

interrogatories shall not be subject under any law

to any disciplinary action or civil or criminal

liability or penalty for, or because of, any

disclosure of information made by him in carrying

out any of his duties which directly or indirectly

pertain to answering such interrogatories.

(g) Notice to Member of Service of Court Order on

Secretary Concerned. - A person receiving effective

service of a court order under this section shall, as soon as

possible, but not later than 30 days after the date on which

effective service is made, send a written notice of such

court order (together with a copy of such order) to the

member affected by the court order at his last known

address.

(h) Benefits for Dependents Who Are Victims of Abuse by

Members Losing Right to Retired Pay. - (1) If. in the case

of a member or former member of the armed forces

referred to in paragraph (2)(A), a court order provides (in

the manner applicable to a division of property) for the

payment of an amount from the disposable retired pay of

that member or former member (as certified under

paragraph (4)) to an eligible spouse or former spouse of

that member or former member, the Secretary concerned,

beginning upon effective service of such court order, shall

pay that amount in accordance with this subsection to such

spouse or former spouse.

e (2) A spouse or former spouse of a member or

former member of the armed forces is eligible to

receive payment under this subsection if -

60a

e (A) the member or former member, while

a member of the armed forces and after

becoming eligible to be retired from the

armed

forces on the basis of years of service, has

eligibility to receive retired pay terminated

as a result of misconduct while a member

involving abuse of a spouse or dependent

child (as defined

in regulations prescribed by the Secretary

of Defense or, for the

Coast Guard when it is not operating as a

service in the Navy, by

the Secretary of Transportation); and

(B) the spouse or former spouse -

(i) was the victim of the abuse and was married to the

member or former member at the time of that abuse; or

(ii) is a natural or adopted parent of a dependent child of

the member or former member who was the victim of the

abuse.

e (3) The amount certified by the Secretary

concerned under paragraph (4) with respect to a

member or former member of the armed forces

referred to in paragraph (2)(A) shall be deemed to

be the disposable retired pay of that member or

former member for the purposes of this subsection.

e (4) Upon the request of a court or an eligible

spouse or former spouse of a member or former

member of the armed forces referred to in

paragraph (2)(A) in connection with a civil action

for the issuance of a court order in the case of that

member or former member, the Secretary

concemed shall determine and certify the amount

of the monthly retired pay that the member or

former member would have been entitled to

receive as of the date of the certification -

e (A) if the member or former member's

eligibility for retired pay had not been

terminated as described in paragraph

(2)(A); and (B) if, in the case of a member

6la

or former member not in receipt of retired

pay immediately before that termination of

eligibility

for retired pay, the member or former

member _had retired on _ the

effective date of that termination of

eligibility.

¢ (5) A court order under this subsection may

provide that whenever retired pay is increased

under section 1401a of this title (or any other

provision of law), the amount payable under the

court order to the spouse or former spouse of a

member or former member described in paragraph

(2)(A) shall be increased at the same time by the

percent by which the retired pay of the member or

former member would have been increased if the

member or former member were receiving retired

pay.

(6) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a

member or former member of the armed forces

referred to in paragraph (2)(A) shall have no

ownership interest in, or claim against, any amount

payable under this section to a spouse or former

spouse of the member or former member.

(7)

e (A) Ifa former spouse receiving payments

under this subsection with respect to a

member or former member referred to in

paragraph (2)(A) marries again after such

payments begin, the eligibility of the

former spouse to receive further payments

under this subsection shall terminate on

the date of such marriage.

¢ (B) A person's eligibility to receive

payments under this subsection that is

terminated under subparagraph (A) by

reason of remarriage shall be resumed in

the event of the termination of that

marnage by the death of that person's

spouse or by annulment or divorce. The

62a

resumption of payments shall begin as of

the first day of the month in which that

marriage is so terminated. The monthly

amount of the payments shall be the

amount that would have been paid if the

continuity of the payments had not been

interrupted by the marniage.

(8) Payments in accordance with this subsection

shall be made out of funds in the Department of

Defense Military Retirement Fund established by

section 1461 of this title or, im the case of the

Coast Guard, out of funds appropriated to the

Department of Transportation for payment of

retired pay for the Coast Guard.

(9)

(A) A spouse or former spouse of a

member or former member of the armed

forces referred to in paragraph (2)(A),

while receiving payments in accordance

with this subsection, shall be entitled to

receive medical and dental care, to use

commissary and exchange stores, and to

receive any other benefit that a spouse or a

former spouse of a retired member of the

armed forces is entitled to receive on the

basis of being a spouse or former spouse,

as the case may be, of a retired member of

the armed forces in the same manner as if

the member or former member referred to

in paragraph (2)(A) was entitled to retired

pay.

(B) A dependent child of a member or

former member referred to in paragraph

(2)(A) who was a member of the

household of~ the member or former

member at the time of the misconduct

described in paragraph (2)(A) shall be

entitled to receive medical and dental care,

to use commissary and exchange stores,

and to have other benefits provided to

e (10)

63a

dependents of retired members of the

armed forces in the same manner as if the

member or former member referred to in

paragraph (2)(A) was entitled to retired

pay.

(C) If a spouse or former spouse or a

dependent child eligible or entitled to

receive a particular benefit under this

paragraph is eligible or entitled to receive

that benefit under another provision of

law, the eligibility or entitlement of that

Spouse or former spouse or dependent

child to such benefit shall be determined

under such other provision of law instead

of this paragraph.

(A) For purposes of this subsection, in the

case of a member of the armed forces who

has been sentenced by a court-martial to

receive a punishment that will terminate

the eligibility of that member to receive

retired pay if executed, the eligibility of

that member to receive retired pay may, as

determined by the Secretary concerned, be

considered terminated effective upon the

approval of that sentence by the person

acting under section 860(c) of this title

(article 60(c) of the Uniform Code of

Military Justice).

(B) If each form of the punishment that

would result in the termination of

eligibility to receive retired pay is later

remitted, set aside, or mitigated to a

punishment that does not result in the

termination of that eligibility, a payment

of benefits to the eligible recipient under

this subsection that is based on the

punishment so vacated, set aside, or

mitigated shall cease. The cessation of

payments shall be effective as of the first

64a

day of the first month following the month

in which the Secretary concerned notifies

the recipient of such benefits in writing

that payment of the benefits will cease.

The recipient may not be required to repay

the benefits received before that effective

date (except to the extent necessary to

recoup any amount that was erroneous

when paid).

(11) In this subsection, the term "dependent child",

with respect to a member or former member of the

armed forces referred to in paragraph (2)(A),

means an unmarried legitimate child, including an

adopted child or a stepchild of the member or

former member, who -

e (A) is under 18 years of age;

e (B) is incapable of self-support because of

a mental or physical incapacity that

existed before becoming 18 years of age

and is dependent on the member or former

member for over one-half of the child's

support; or

e (C) if enrolled in a full-time course of

study in an institution of higher education

recognized by the Secretary of Defense for

the purposes of this subparagraph, is under

23 years of age and is dependent on the

member or former member for over one-

half of the child's support.

(i) Certification Date. - It is not necessary that the date of a

certification of the authenticity or completeness of a copy

of a court order for child support received by the Secretary

concemed for the-purposes of this section be recent in

relation to the date of receipt by the Secretary.

(j) Regulations. - The Secretaries concerned shall

prescribe uniform regulations for the

administration of this section.

(k) Relationship to Other Laws. - In any case

involving an order providing for payment of child

support (as defined in section 459(i)(2) of the

65a

Social Security Act) by a member who has never

been married to the other parent of the child, the

provisions of this section shall not apply, and the

case shall be subject to the provisions of section

459 of such Act.

66a

Sec. 5301. Nonassignability and exempt status of benefits

(a) Payments of benefits due or to become due under any

law administered by the Secretary shall not be assignable

except to the extent specifically authorized by law, and

such payments made to, or on account of, a beneficiary

shali be exempt from taxation, shall be exempt from the

claim of creditors, and shall not be liable to attachment,

levy, or seizure by or under any legal or equitable process

whatever, either before or after receipt by the beneficiary.

The preceding sentence shall not apply to claims of the

United States arising under such laws nor shall the

exemption therein contained as to taxation extend to any

property purchased in part or wholly out of such payments.

The provisions of this section shall not be construed to

prohibit the assignment of insurance otherwise authorized

under chapter 19 of this title, or of servicemen's indemnity.

For the purposes of this subsection, in any case where a

payee of an educational assistance allowance has

designated the address of an attommey-in-fact as the payee's

address for the purpose of receiving a benefit check and

has also executed a power of attomey giving the attomney-

in-fact authority to negotiate such benefit check, such

action shall be deemed to be an assignment and is

prohibited.

(b) This section shall prohibit the collection by setoff or

otherwise out of any benefits payable pursuant to any law

administered by the Secretary and relating to veterans,

their estates, or their dependents, of any claim of the

United States or any agency thereof against (1) any person

other than the indebted beneficiary or the beneficiary's

estate; or (2) any beneficiary or the beneficiary's estate

except amounts due the United States by such beneficiary

or the beneficiary's estate by reason of overpayments or

illegal payments made under such laws to such beneficiary

or the beneficiary's estate or to the beneficiary's

dependents as such. If the benefits referred to in the

preceding sentence are insurance payable by reason of

yearly renewable term insurance, United States

Government life insurance, or National Service Life

Insurance issued by the United States, the exemption

provided in this section shall not apply to indebtedness

67a

¢ (B) For the purposes of subparagraph (A)

of this paragraph, as used in the second

sentence of section 3716(a) of title 31 -

e (i) the term "records of the

agency" shall be considered to

refer to the records of the

department of the Secretary

concerned; and (ii) the term

"agency" in clauses (3) and (4)

shall be considered to refer to such

department.

e (4) Funds collected under this subsection shall be

credited to the Department of Defense Military

Retirement Fund under chapter 74 of title 10 or to

the Retired Pay Account of the Coast Guard, as

appropriate.

(d) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section,

payments of benefits under laws administered by the

Secretary shall not be exempt from ievy under subchapter

D of chapter 64 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (26

U.S.C. 6331 et seq.).

(e) In the case of a person who -

e (1) has been determined to be eligible to receive

pension or compensation under laws administered

by the Secretary but for the receipt by such person

of pay pursuant to any provision of law providing

retired or retirement pay to members or former

members of the Armed Forces or commissioned

officers of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric

Administration or of the Public Health Service;

and

(2) files a waiver of such pay in accordance with

section 5305 of this title in the amount of such

pension or compensation before the end of the

one-year period beginning on the date such

person is notified by the Secretary of such person's

eligibility for such pension or compensation, the

retired or retirement pay of such person shall be

exempt from taxation, as provided in subsection

(a) of this section, in an amount equal to the

68a

existing against the particular insurance contract upon the

matunty of which the claim is based, whether such

indebtedness is in the form of liens to secure unpaid

premiums or loans, or interest on such premiums or loans,

or indebtedness arising from Overpayments of dividends,

refunds, loans, or other insurance benefits.

(c)

° (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

section, the Secretary may, after receiving a

request under paragraph (2) of this subsection

relating to a veteran, collect by offset of any

compensation or pension payable to the veteran

under laws administered by the Secretary the

uncollected portion of the amount of any

indebtedness associated with the veteran's

participation in a plan prescribed in chapter 73 of

title 10.

° (2) If the Secretary concerned (as defined in

section 101(5) of title 37) has tried under section

3711 (a) of title 31 to collect an amount described

in paragraph (1) of this subsection in the case of

any veteran, has been unable to collect such

amount, and has determined that the uncollected

portion of such amount is not collectible from

amounts payable by that Secretary to the veteran

or that the veteran is not receiving any payment

from that Secretary, that Secretary may request the

Secretary to make collections in the case of such

veteran as authorized in paragraph (1) of this

subsection.

° ()

¢ (A) A collection authorized by paragraph

(1) of this subsection shall be conducted in

accordance with the procedures prescribed

in section 3716 of title 3] for

administrative offset collections made

after attempts to collect claims under

section 37] 1(a) of such title.

69a

amount of pension or compensation which would

have been paid to such person but for the receipt

by such person of such pay.

a

70a

Sec. 5304. Prohibition against duplication of benefits

e (a)

(1) Except to the extent that retirement pay is

waived under other provisions of law, not more

than one award of pension, compensation,

emergency officers’, regular, or reserve retirement

pay, or initial award of naval pension granted after

July 13, 1943, shall be made concurrentiy to any

person based on such person's own service or

concurrently to any person based on the service of

any other person.

(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph

(1) of this subsection and of section 5305 of this

title, pension under section 1521 or 1541 of this

title may be paid to a person entitled to receive

retired or retirement pay described in section 5305

of this title concurrently with such person's receipt

of such retired or retirement pay if the annual

amount of such retired or retirement pay is

counted as annual income for the purposes of

chapter 15 of this title.

(1) Except as provided in paragraphs (2) and (3) of

this subsection and in section 1521(i) of this title,

the receipt of pension, compensation, or

dependency and indemnity compensation by a

surviving spouse, child, or parent on account of

the death of any person, or receipt by any person

of pension or compensation on account of such

person's own service, shall not bar the payment of

pension, compensation, or dependency and

indemnity compensation on account of the death

or disability of any other person.

(2) Benefits other than insurance under laws

administered by the Secretary may not be paid or

furnished to or on account of any child by reason

of the death of more than one parent in the same

parental line; however, the child may elect one or

more times to receive benefits by reason of the

death of any one of such parents.

7la

e (3) Benefits other than insurance under laws

administered by the Secretary may not be paid to

any person by reason of the death of more than

one person to whom such person was married;

however, the person may elect one or more times

to receive benefits by reason of the death of any

one spouse.

(c) Pension, compensation, or retirement pay on account of

any person's own service shall not be paid to such person

for any period for which such person receives active

service pay.

wR

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.