Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brooks v. Kingston

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

(1 FILED

No, 04 644 NOV 10 2008

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

EppDIE L. BROOKS,

Petitioner,

Vv.

GARY R. MCCAUGHTRY,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JEROLD S. SOLOVY *

ROBERT L. GRAHAM

JACOB I. CORRE

ALISON A. DIETERICHS

JENNER & BLOCK LLP

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, IL 60611

(312) 222-9350

* Counsel of Record

LALA RISA DL I EINE ETH LT ET “MM RREE RIEL MTS LEBEN IETS AEN IL LEASED LOL LA LE LE GE

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D£. 20001

l.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether in light of Godinez v. Moran, 509 US.

389 (1993), and Faretta v. California, 422 U.S.

806 (1975), the Seventh Circuit erred in

concluding, contrary to the majority of federal

appellate courts and state high courts that have

addressed this recurring issue, that the Sixth

Amendment permits a state criminal court to

require a defendant who wishes to represent

himself at trial to satisfy a standard of competency

higher than the standard of competency to stand

trial.

Whether, under 28 U.S.C. § 2254, this Court’s

opinions in Godinez and Faretta constitute

“clearly established Federal law” entitling a

convicted criminal defendant to obtain federal

collateral relief, where the state criminal court

rejected the defendant’s request to represent

himself at trial by applying a higher standard of

competency for self-representation than for

standing trial.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties appearing here and below are (1) Eddie L.

Brooks, the petitioner listed in the caption, and (2) Gary R.

McCaughtry, Warden at the Waupun (Wisconsin)

Correctional Institution. -

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........ccscessessessesssssesssssssseescaseneens i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. .........c:sscscssessecessessesseeee ii

ON a sscenssemnonnie v

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ...........sesseseeseeseee- 1

EE ELI SN ce es Oe 1

EET ASE oa aS 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTE

FES Sa SA NOCD ee 1

Re CUP UNE NN icici Fsesceciccecinies 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .........eccscecseseeseeeee 4

I. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

THE SIXTH AMENDMENT STANDARD

ARTICULATED IN GODINEZ AND FARETTA

PERMITS A STATE CRIMINAL COURT TO

REQUIRE A DEFENDANT TO DEMONSTRATE

A HIGHER DEGREE OF COMPETENCY TO

REPRESENT HIMSELF THAN TO STAND

TRIAL, A QUESTION ON WHICH THE OPINION

BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THE VIEWS OF THE

SIX OTHER FEDERAL COURTS OF APPEALS

AND A MAJORITY OF STATE HIGH COURTS |

THAT HAVE ADDRESSED THE QUESTION ............. 7

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

THE STANDARDS ARTICULATED IN GODINEZ

AND FARETTA CONSTITUTE “CLEARLY

ESTABLISHED FEDERAL LAW” ENTITLING A

CONVICTED CRIMINAL DEFENDANT TO

OBTAIN FEDERAL COLLATERAL RELIEF

UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254, ..cccscccossssscccssssssccsssesssssseeeseen 14

CONCLUSION

iv

Appendix A - Seventh Circuit Opinion...................... la-7a

Appendix B - District Court Judgment ..................04. 8a -17a

Appendix C - Wisconsin Supreme Court Denial of

UNIT sscccscnnesihantnanibinitesnidintintbatniticagtiaiaenidieanediiinaititiiia 18a

Appendix D - Wisconsin Court of Appeals

Ee icaiishcchicchacbiscinsssieiaensicnieninnetinsteiauabauilbeiedesti 19a - 25a

Appendix E - Trial Transcripts Excerpted from

the Circuit Court for Milwaukee County,

SRR IR ET OR eaTE S DRPlE RNS NEDO 26a - 44a

Appendix F - Amendment VI to the United States

IRIN: ccciinisinstitiaasiinsiiinnaeinstnisienduibitiaiadassanseddnsabamanidions 45a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

. Aron v. United States, 291 F.3d 708 (11th Cir.

BIND sixasiccassintenestatecssctapnseeipabiiaiadinesnaaaiiiaimsias 16

Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986) ............secccssseeeeees 18

Brooks v. McCaughtry, 380 F.3d 1009 (7th Cir.

DIP) scesinsvnnsssentinsininiiniaiaiiiiincsiniaeaimniaaiiniaddal passim

Chadwick v. Janecka, 312 F.3d 597 (3d Cir. 2002).......... 16

Commonwealth v. Jermyn, 709 A.2d 849 (Pa.

SOD cnisitsiississcsstninnciitensditiigeatdaauianeiaastiaiauadnnianmusaimiamiaaslal 12

Commonwealth v. Simpson, 704 N.E.2d 1131

Cee, SDD wictevissnistsichictcsbedialinsammesieaiiatadiiaiiiaamaidiedbeniiaian 11

Dible v. Ault, No. C99-4010-MWB, 2000 US.

Dist. LEXIS 21404 (N.D. Iowa Oct. 20, 2000)............. 18

Dusky v. United States, 362 U.S. 402 (1960).................. 10

Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) ......sss-s0e+: passim

In Re Fowlkes, 326 F.3d 542 (4th Cir. 2003)...............:00 16

Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1993).........cscceeeee passim

Gomez v. Berge, No. 04-C-17-C, 2004 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 16360 (W.D. Wis. Aug. 18, 2004) ............... 17

Gregg v. State, 833 A.2d 1040 (Md. 2003) .............2es0e 13

Hauck v. State, 36 P.3d 597 (Wyo. 2001)..........:.csceeeeeee 12

Kandies v. Polk, 385 F.3d 457 (4th Cir. 2004) ................. 18

Lamar v. State, 598 $.E.2d 488 (Ga. 2004) ......... eee 11

Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 U.S. 63 (2003) .........::sscssseeeees 17

vi

McGhee v. Jackson, Civ. No. 01-CV-73860-DT,

2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21930 (E.D. Mich. Oct.

BG), SPUD ccoccncnscesanscensestecsinsnsistninnbensininaiadaaebapiinaaiaale 18

McKaskle v. Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168 (1984)................ 13, 14

Medina v. California, 505 U.S. 437 (1992) ........cccccccceeeees 14

Moxley v. Bennett, 291 F. Supp. 2d 212 (W.D.N.Y.

DOES) wxenscasesesetnicnistintntaniianiaainiaaamneeanaliii 18

Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S. 197 (1977) .........cccccec00ee 14

People v. Lego, 660 N.E.2d $71 (Ill. 1995) ........cccceeeeee 11

People v. Welch, 976 P.2d 754 (Cal. 1999) .0........cccccccceees 11

Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570 (1986) ............cccccccessssseeseseees 13

Sellan v. Kuhlman, 261 F.3d 303 (2d Cir. 2001).............. 18

Shafer v. Bowersox, 329 F.3d 637 (8th Cir. 2003) ............. 8

Spears v. Stewart, 283 F.3d 992 (9th Cir. 2002)......... 16; 17

State v. Arguelles, 63 P.3d 731 (Utah), cert.

Gianahened, 1D4 S. Ce. SEB GSS D cavintstascntiintnnnnsiniiaibdiaiea 13

State v. Brooks, 607 N.W.2d 290 (Wis. 1999).......... 1,3, 19

State v. Camacho, 561 N.W.2d 160 (Minn. 1997) ........... 12

State v. Cooley, 608 N.W.2d 9 (Iowa 2000) ...........ccceees 11

State v. Jordan, 804 N.E.2d 1 (Ohio), cert.

dismissed, 73 U.S.L.W. 3273 (U.S. 2004)..............000 12

State v. Klessig, 564 N.W.2d 716 (Wis. 1997) .3, 10, 12, 13

State v. Wolff, 678 A.2d 1369 (Conn. 1996)..................00+ 11

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) ......... 13, 18

Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) .............cccceceeees 18, 19

Vii

United States v. Boigegrain, 155 F.3d 1181 (10th

SB scccncnepdeinennetAlescncnennittntnaniamnsnnseniiesitiionnsnainitiaena 8, 16

United States v. Ellerbe, 372 F.3d 462 (D.C. Cir.

Fe ceestniepntninennicanneintniniannn 7, 16

United States v. Frazier-El, 204 F.3d 553 (4th Cir

SE cccnantnnsarunniineieiniaiiatesaiisipiatapsiniabinebeiaaidaaimiabinaiidiinndainitiiatiee 8

United States v. Hernandez, 203 F.3d 614 (9th Cir

SED cnitesccuicanecsititttiniittaniinniemaeitasileiiiiaiiiaainlianibiaatiiiil 8, 16

United States v. Kaczynski, 239 F.3d 1108 (9th Cir

TT wicisinscsncesintehisanneecigiinieiseapedaiiiageietacasialleaoii 14

United States v. Peppers, 302 F.3d 120 (3d Cir.

SIT esssnceensocsntincictnininienseinenunsenseioitiitiiaiatintiiagesiisiaieiapaiienbadgenbeemuan 8

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000)............... 15, 18, 19

STATUTES

FR is Bae A ievrtccenrncecetniecinisitnsiensittihatiisceinnimiieinntintanhnaaias l

yf i kT ol} » — RN eeEn are SENET passim

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

United States Constitution, Amendment VI ...............-. passim

Ble Malate reaver

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Eddie L. Brooks (“Brooks”) respectfully

requests that a writ of certiorari issue to review the decision

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The October 6, 1999 judgment of the State of Wisconsin

Court of Appeals affirming the trial court’s order denying

Brooks’s postconviction motion for a new trial is unreported.

(Pet. App. 19a-25a.) The Supreme Court of Wisconsin’s

judgment denying Brooks’s petition for discretionary review

without opinion is reported at 607 N.W.2d 290 (Wis. 1999).

(Pet. App. 18a.) The October 28, 2002 decision of the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Wisconsin denying Brooks habeas corpus relief is

unreported. (Pet. App. 8a-17a.) The opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit affirming the

District Court is reported at 380 F.3d 1009 (7th Cir. 2004)

and is reproduced at pages 1a to 7a of the Appendix to this

Petition.

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit entered judgment on August 12, 2004. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1), which authorizes this Court to review a judgment

of the Seventh Circuit denying a petition for writ of habeas

corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. :

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTE

INVOLVED

This case involves the Sixth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States and 28 U.S.C. § 2254,

which are reproduced at pages 45a to 49a of the Appendix.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Eddie L. Brooks was convicted of first-degree

murder and related crimes in a Wisconsin state court. (Pet.

App. la.) Before the trial began, the court allowed Brooks to

dismiss two attorneys appointed to represent him. (Pet. App.

2a.) With the appointment of the third attorney, the court

warned Brooks that were he to dismiss this attorney, he then

would have to represent himself. (/d.)

Brooks was unhappy with the third attorney, but the

court denied this third attorney’s motion to withdraw. (/d.)

As jury voir dire commenced, Brooks again moved to

dismiss his attorney and again the motion was denied. (/d.)

Brooks filed a written pro se motion to dismiss his attorney

after the jury was impaneled and renewed the motion to

represent himself before opening arguments. (/d.)

A colloquy ensued between Brooks and the trial judge to

determine Brooks’s competency to represent himself.

Brooks stated that he had earned a high school equivalency

diploma, and that he understood the charges against him and

the possible punishment. Brooks denied responsibility for

the crime and also articulated a necessity defense. (Pet. App.

39a.) He listed necessity and the right to self-defense as

possible mitigating factors. (Pet. App. 40a.) He understood

the disadvantages of self-representation but felt that “I don’t

know the law that good but I do know enough.” (Pet. App.

28a.) He insisted that he would “do a lot more” than would

his assigned attorney in terms of defending his case. (Pet.

App. 29a.)

At the end of this colloquy, the tral court denied

Brooks’s motion to represent himself at trial, based entirely

on its conclusion that Brooks was not competent to represent

himself. (Pet. App. 44a.) The trial court had previously

adjudged Brooks competent to stand trial and never modified

that finding. (Pet. App. 26a-27a.) The trial court determined

3

that Brooks had no right to represent himself because of the

“different standard for competency to waive one’s right to an

attorney” and the failure of Brooks to articulate “satisfactory

answers” in response to the court’s questioning about his

competency to represent himself.’ (Pet. App. 27a, 43a.)

Brooks failed to satisfy the “different standard” for

competency to represent himself at trial although he satisfied

the standard for competency to stand trial.

Following his conviction, Brooks argued that the trial

court improperly had denied his motion to represent himself

at trial. The Wisconsin Court of Appeals concluded that his

challenge lacked merit: “Neither Brooks’s postconviction

motion nor his appellate brief explains how the trial court

erred in concluding that Brooks, an inarticulate, unschooled,

and disruptive individual, was not competent to represent

himself in this complex trial.” (Pet. App. 24a.) (citing State

v. Klessig, 564 N.W.2d 716, 724 (Wis. 1997)). The

Wisconsin Supreme Court summarily denied Brooks’s

petition for review. (Pet. App. 18a.)

The proceedings below followed. The district court

denied Brooks’s petition for writ of habeas corpus under 28

U.S.C. § 2254. It recognized that a criminal defendant’s

right to represent himself is established by federal law (Pet.

App. 14a.), but accepted the Wisconsin trial court’s

conclusion that Brooks was incompetent to represent himself

at trial. (Pet. App. 15a-16a.)

' “THE COURT: .... And that goes to whether or not defendant has the

basis based upon the record in this case, based upon his lack of

educational experiences, his articulateness, whether or not he really can

form the competency to knowingly waive that constitutional right. For

that reason the Court’s going to deny the defendant’s motion.” (Pet. App.

44a.) (emphasis added).

4

Brooks appealed. He argued that, in accordance with this

Court’s holdings in Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S. 389 (1993),

and Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975), the

determination by the Wisconsin trial court that he was

competent to stand trial necessarily established his

competence to represent himself at trial. In its decision

affirming the denial of relief, the Seventh Circuit—after

acknowledging that it “may be wrong’”—concluded that the

states are free to establish different standards for competency

to stand trial and for competency to represent oneself at trial.’

(Pet. App. 6a.) The Seventh Circuit held that Wisconsin’s

application of a higher standard of competency for self-

representation than for standing trial was consistent with this

Court’s rulings in Godinez and Faretta. Moreover,

according to the Seventh Circuit, even if Godinez and Faretta

did preclude states from establishing higher competency

standards to represent oneself than to stand trial—a

possibility the Court of Appeals explicitly recognized—the

state court’s-conviction here would still stand because

“Godinez did not clearly establish a rule” as is necessary to

obtain relief by means of a federal habeas corpus petition.

(/d.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant certiorari to resolve a persistent

conflict among the lower federal and state courts, recognized

by the Seventh Circuit below, concerning whether the Sixth

Amendment precludes a_ state criminal court from

establishing a standard of competency for self-representation

? In analyzing Brooks’s competency to represent himself, the Court of

Appeals noted Brooks’s disruptive behavior during trial and the timing of

Brooks’s request to represent himself but recognized that neither of these

factors was the reason-for the trial court’s ruling denying self-

representation. (Pet. App. 2a-3a.) Rather, the “reason” for the ruling

was Brooks’s-inability to satisfy the elevated Wisconsin standard for self-

representation at trial. (Pet. App. 44a.)

PRCA A AE la RANCH Mined iS Ada Si heb els Ns a atl Ne a Sites

ASAP iI dere te Balch OARS ADL Lc Lint Decals

5

at trial that is higher than the standard of competency that a

criminal defendant must possess to stand trial. Granting

certiorari would also allow this Court to address whether

Godinez and Faretta constitute “clearly established” federal

law and thus allow for the defendant’s collateral attack upon

his criminal conviction under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 (2000),

which sets forth the standards for federal habeas review

under the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (the “AEDPA”).

There is an irreconcilable dispute among the federal

courts of appeals and the state courts concerning the

relationship between the standards for competency to stand

trial and for self-representation at trial. With the exception of

the Seventh Circuit below, every federal circuit court of

appeals to consider the question has concluded that, under

Godinez and Faretta, those two standards are necessarily

identical. The Seventh Circuit nevertheless concluded that

these standards may differ, and thus found no constitutional

infirmity in Wisconsin’s regime of requiring a criminal

defendant to demonstrate a higher degree of competence to

exercise his Sixth Amendment right to represent himself than

the degree of competence that, under the Sixth Amendment,

suffices to subject that same defendant to the criminal

process in the first place. The majority of the state supreme

courts that have addressed the issue also interpret Godinez to

require a uniform standard of competency for all the various

categories of Sixth Amendment questions.

Granting this petition would accordingly enable this

Court to resolve this conflict, which goes to the heart of the

American criminal process. This conflict arises frequently

in our criminal courts. The decision below and the minority

position in the states are especially troubling, because they

endorse regimes in which a criminal defendant may be

subjected to one of the most formidable powers of the state

6

without the defendant’s having the fundamental capacity to

control the course of his own defense against the exercise of

that power.

That Brooks seeks this relief in a federal collateral review

of a state criminal conviction also raises a fundamental

question about federal habeas corpus review. The courts are

divided as to what consututes “clearly established” federal

law under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1). In manifest tension with

the approach evinced by the great majority of federal courts

and state courts, and, more importantly, with this Court’s

prior rulings on the question, the Seventh Circuit held below

that this Court’s decisions in Godinez and Faretta are

insufficient to “clearly establish” federal law on the Sixth

Amendment question that this case squarely presents. This

case accordingly provides an excellent opportunity to

elaborate on the profoundly important question of what it

means for law to be “clearly established.” The resolution of

this question would have a significant effect on many

petitions seeking collateral review of siate criminal

convictions.

Each of the questions presented in this petition is

sufficiently important and unsettled to merit review in its

own right. Considering them together would allow this

Court to resolve one or both of these critical questions, and

further would allow the Court to clarify in more detail the

circumstances under which it is appropriate to invoke the

writ of habeas corpus under the AEDPA.

Rd alin ie he WA ie

I. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

THE SIXTH AMENDMENT STANDARD

ARTICULATED IN GODINEZ AND FARETTA

PERMITS A STATE CRIMINAL COURT TO

REQUIRE A DEFENDANT TO DEMONSTRATE A

HIGHER DEGREE OF COMPETENCY TO

REPRESENT HIMSELF THAN TO STAND TRIAL,

A QUESTION ON WHICH THE OPINION BELOW

CONFLICTS WITH THE VIEWS OF THE SIX

OTHER FEDERAL COURTS OF APPEALS AND A

MAJORITY OF STATE HIGH COURTS THAT

HAVE ADDRESSED THE QUESTION.

The fundamental issue in this case is whether Godinez

and Faretta prescribe that state-established standards for

competency to stand tnal and competency to represent

oneself must be the same. All federal circuit courts of

appeals (other than the Seventh Circuit) that have addressed

the question and most state high courts have determined that,

under this Court’s rulings in Godinez and Faretta, a state is

prohibited from establishing a standard of competency to

represent oneself at trial that is more stringent than the

standard of competency to stand trial in the first instance.

In addition to the Seventh Circuit, six other federal courts

of appeals have addressed the question. They all view

Godinez as holding that competency to stand trial by itself

suffices to establish competency to waive counsel.

Consequently, a waiver of the right to counsel by a criminal

defendant who is competent to stand trial is effective per se,

so long as the waiver of the right is knowing and voluntary.

See United States v. Ellerbe, 372 F.3d 462, 466 (D.C. Cir.

2004) (“The Supreme Court has expressly held, however,

that a defendant who is competent to stand tnal is also

competent to waive his right to assistance of counsel—all

8

that is necessary is that he do so intelligently and

voluntarily.”); Shafer v. Bowersox, 329 F.3d 637, 650 (8th

Cir. 2003) (“Although there is no distinction between the

competency required to stand trial and the competency to

waive constitutional rights, the Court made clear in Godinez

that a finding that a defendant is competent does not mean

that a defendant has made a knowing and voluntary

waiver.”); United States v. Peppers, 302 F.3d 120, 131 n.9

(3d Cir. 2002) (“[T]he standard for competency to stand trial

is the same as the standard to plead guilty or to waive

counsel, except that a person seeking to waive a

constitutional right must also demonstrate that the waiver is

knowing and voluntary.”); United States v. Frazier-El, 204

F.3d 553, 559 (4th Cir. 2000) (“The Supreme Court has made

clear that the standard of competence for waiving counsel is

identical to the standard of competence for standing trial.”’);

United States v. Hernandez, 203 F.3d 614, 620 n.8 (9th Cir.

2000) (“{[T]he Supreme Court held that a defendant’s

competence to waive the right to counsel is measured by the

same standard under which competence to stand trial is

evaluated.”); United States v. Boigegrain, 155 F.3d 1181,

1186 (10th Cir. 1998) (“In Godinez, the Court held that the

degree of competence necessary to waive the right to counsel

is identical to the degree of competence necessary to stand

trial.”).

In contrast, albeit with the caveat that it “may be wrong,”

the Seventh Circuit held below that a state is free to establish

a standard of competency to represent oneself at trial that is

more stringent than the standard of competency to stand trial.

(Pet. App. 6a.) The Seventh Circuit acknowledged the

Godinez rationale that there is no reason to believe “‘that the

decision to waive counsel requires an appreciably higher

level of mental functioning than the decision to waive other

constitutional rights. . . . [A] criminal defendant’s ability to

represent himself has no bearing upon his competence to

9

choose self-representation.”” (Pet. App. 4a.) (quoting

Godinez, 509 U.S. at 399-400). Faced with this clearly

expressed holding, the Seventh Circuit attempted to

legitimate regimes that employ inconsistent standards by

invoking the difference between “mental functioning” and

the “information” needed to make an effective waiver. (Pet.

App. 4a.) The Seventh Circuit thus conflated the standard of

competency necessary to stand trial and to represent oneself

at trial with the separate question of whether a defendant has

made an effective waiver of counsel in a given situation. But

waiver was not at issue in the state proceedings, as the state

courts and the Seventh Circuit below _ explicitly

acknowledged. (Pet. App. 3a.) Brooks was denied the right

to represent himself solely because the same court that found

him competent to be put on trial also found him incompetent

to represent himself at that trial.

This Court has been at pains to distinguish the question

of competence from the question of effective waiver.

Godinez explicitly adopted a “two-part inquiry:”

In addition to determining that a defendant who seeks to

plead guilty or waive counsel is competent, a trial court

must satisfy itself that the waiver of his constitutional

rights is knowing and voluntary. In this sense there is a

‘heightened’ standard for pleading guilty and for waiving

the right to counsel, but it is not a heightened standard of

competence.

509 U.S. at 400-01 (citations omitted) (first emphasis added).

Godinez thus recognized that, in terms of competence, the

defendant’s capacity to proceed pro se requires nothing more

than confirming his capacity to stand trial. Nevertheless, the

Seventh Circuit below pronounced that a waiver of counsel

would be “senseless” if a defendant knew he was

incompetent to defend himself. (Pet. App. 3a.) The Seventh

Circuit’s statement—that “[i]t is one thing for a defendant to

10

have sufficient mentation to be able to follow the trial

proceedings with the aid of a lawyer, and another to be able

to represent himself’ (id.)}—contradicts Godinez, which

recognized: “Nor do we think that a defendant who waives

his right to the assistance of counsel must be more competent

than a defendant who does not,” 509 US. at 399.

The failure to apprehend or acquiesce in the basic

distinction between the questions of competence vel non and

the effectiveness of a defendant’s waiver of the right to

counsel caused the Seventh Circuit, contrary to Godinez and

Faretta (and in direct conflict with the other six federal

courts of appeals that have addressed the question) to uphold

the Wisconsin state court’s utilization of a higher standard

for competency to waive counsel than for competency to

stand trial.

The question presented in this petition further calls for

this Court’s resolution because there is also significant

conflict and disagreement among the state courts as to their

own powers to fashion different standards of competency in.

addressing questions of capacity to stand trial and capacity

for self-representation. The Wisconsin Supreme Court has

explicitly held that Godinez permits determinations of

competency to represent oneself to take place under a higher.

standard than determinations of competency to stand trial.

Klessig, 564 N.W.2d at 724. The Klessig court grounded this

reasoning in the Godinez proviso allowing states to adopt

competency standards more elaborate than this Court set

forth in Dusky v. United States, 362 U.S. 402 (1960) (per

curiam).? Two other state supreme courts have adopted this

> In Dusky, the Court established that the standard for competence to

stand trial is whether the defendant has “sufficient present ability to

consult with his lawyer with a reasonable degree of rational

understanding” and has “a rational as well as factual understanding of the

proceedings against him.” 362 U.S at 402.

Scab Nocatee a ek a a MN

11

approach. The Supreme Court of Massachusetts suggested

that a finding “that a defendant is competent to act as his own

lawyer (with standby counsel) may require a greater showing

than that the defendant is competent to stand trial.”

Commonwealth yv. Simpson, 704 N.E.2d 1131, 1135 n.5

(Mass. 1999). The Illinois Supreme Court required

something more than competency to stand trial from a

defendant who had been found competent to stand trial and

had waived his right to counsel in People v. Lego, 660

N.E.2d 971, 978-80 (Ill. 1995), when the court reversed a

- conviction and remanded for a new trial. The Lego court

couched this holding in terms of the defendant’s mental

illness affecting adversely his capability to make a knowing

and intelligent waiver of counsel. Jd. at 979.

These three state courts depart from the views, shared by

most other state courts, that a state may establish a higher

standard of competency only if it applies that higher standard

consistently with respect to all constitutional mghts that

depend on a determination of competency. The great

majority of state supreme courts have reached the conclusion

that the standards of competency to stand trial and to

represent oneself at trial must be the same. See, e.g., People

v. Welch, 976 P.2d 754, 777 (Cal. 1999) (“[T]he [C]ourt

defined competence to plead guilty or to waive the assistance

of counsel, equating it with competence to stand trial.”);

State v. Wolff, 678 A.2d 1369, 1386 (Conn. 1996) (“[A]ny

defendant who is competent to stand trial as a matter of state

law is competent to waive the night to counsel.”); Lamar v.

State, 598 S.E.2d 488, 491 (Ga. 2004) (“The standard of

mental competency to stand trial is the same as the standard

of mental competency to waive the right to counsel.”); State

v. Cooley, 608 N.W.2d 9, 17 (Iowa 2000) (“[A prior]

decision created some question as to whether the standard for

competence to stand trial was the same as that required to

waive the right to the assistance of counsel. The Court

12

settled this controversy in Godinez where it was held the two

standards were indeed the same.”’); State v. Camacho, 561

N.W.2d 160, 171 (Minn. 1997) (“In Godinez, the Court held

that the legal standard for competence to waive counsel is the

same as the legal standard for competence to stand trial);

Johnson v. State, 17 P.3d 1008, 1015 n.19 (Nev. 2001)

(“[Tjhe standards of competency to stand trial and waive

counsel are identical.”); State v. Jordan, 804 N.E.2d 1, 8

(Ohio), cert. dismissed, 73 U.S.L.W. 3273 (U.S. 2004),

(“[T]he standard of competence to waive the right to counsel

is the same as the standard for competency to stand trial.”);

Commonwealth v. Jermyn, 709 A.2d 849, 861 (Pa. 1998)

(“The United States Supreme Court, in its 1993 decision in

Godinez, held that the competency standard for pleading

guilty or waiving the right to counsel is not higher than the

competency standard for standing trial.”); Hauck v. State, 36

P.3d 597, 602 (Wyo. 2001) (“The United States Supreme

Court has held that the degree of competence necessary for a

defendant to waive counsel is the same degree of competence

required for him to stand trial.”).

Indeed, this issue has generated controversy even among

justices of a single state high court. Concurring in Klessig,

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Abrahamson agreed with

the majority of states that require the standards of

competency to stand trial and to represent oneself be

identical. While joining the mandate of the majority, Justice

Abrahamson wrote separately to underscore the difficulties

inherent in failing to follow the rule of law established in

Godinez and Faretta. In her view, the majority failed to

explain how adopting a more stringent standard of

competency for self-representation could be consistent with

Faretta. Klessig, 564 N.W.2d at 726-27 (Abrahamson, J.,

concurring); see also Faretta, 422 US. at 817

(acknowledging universal conviction that “forcing a lawyer

upon an unwilling defendant is contrary to his basic right to

een Ne 6

13

defend himself if he truly wants to do so.”). Thus, Justice

Abrahamson concluded that states may adopt a standard

more elaborate than Dusky “only if that standard is applied

equally to competency to stand trial and competency for self-

representation.” Klessig, 564 N.W.2d at 726 (Abrahamson,

J., concurring).

The instant case now presents the opportunity to bring in

line with clearly established federal law those state and

federal courts that are in conflict with Godinez and Faretta.

This Court should also grant certiorari to resolve the

confusion that exists in those states that have not adopted a

standard for competency to represent oneself higher than the

standard for competency to stand trial, but have indicated that

they could do so in the future. See, e.g., Gregg v. State, 833

A.2d 1040, 1060 (Md. 2003) (claiming that Supreme Court

has found states are free to adopt higher standard for

competency to waive counsel); State v. Arguelles, 63 P.3d

731, 751 n.17 (Utah), cert. dismissed, 124 S. Ct. 926 (2003),

(noting that states are “free to adopt competency standards

that are more elaborate”).

The issue presented here is important not only because it

is the subject of an entrenched conflict among lower courts,

but also because the right to self-representation is

fundamental to a fair trial; and, the fairness of the trial

process underlies the proper functioning of the criminal

justice system. See Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570, 577-78

(1986). This Court has held that a criminal defendant has an

independent constitutional right to self-representation.

Faretta, 422 U.S. at 807. The Sixth Amendment implies the

right to represent oneself, which exists “to affirm the

accused’s individual dignity and autonomy.” McKaskle v.

Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168, 178 (1984). Both the right to counsel

and the right to represent oneself are essential to a fair trial.

See Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 685 (1984) (“An

14

accused is entitled to be assisted by an attomey, whether

retained or appointed, who plays the role necessary to ensure

that the trial is fair.”). State rules of criminal procedure may

not differ from federal standards if they “‘offend[] some

principle of justice so rooted in the traditions and conscience

of our people as to be ranked as fundamental.” Medina v.

California, 505 U.S. 437, 446 (1992) (quoting Patterson vy.

New York, 432 U.S. 197, 202 (1977)). The right to elect self-

representation at trial is such a right. See Faretta. 422 U.S. at

812 (“[T]he right of self-representation has been protected by

Statute since the beginnings of our Nation.”). The denial of

the right to self-representation constitutes a structural defect

and is not harmless error. McKaskle, 465 U.S. at 177 n.8.4

For these reasons, Brooks respectfully asks this Court to

determine whether the Seventh Circuit erred in allowing the

State of Wisconsin to require him to satisfy a higher standard

of competency to represent himself than to stand trial.

il. THIS COURT SHOULD DETERMINE WHETHER

THE STANDARDS ARTICULATED IN GODINEZ

AND FARETTA CONSTITUTE “CLEARLY

ESTABLISHED FEDERAL LAW” ENTITLING A

CONVICTED CRIMINAL DEFENDANT TO

OBTAIN FEDERAL COLLATERAL RELIEF

UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

The Seventh Circuit also held below that Godinez did not

“clearly establish” a rule of law, and therefore, even if it

* The improvident denial of the right to represent oneself at trial may

affect adversely other aspects of the criminal process as well. For

example, the Ninth Circuit has pointed out that an erroneous denial of the

right to self-representation entails that a subsequent guilty plea must be

considered involuntary as a matter of law because it forces a defendant to

choose between pleading guilty and submitting to a trial that would be

structurally unconstitutional. United States v. Kaczynski, 239 F.3d 1108,

1116 (9th Cir. 2001).

15

were incorrect in its interpretation of Godinez, Brooks would

still not be entitled to habeas corpus relief. In sO errs

the Seventh Circuit misapplied the provision in 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(1) that an application for a writ of habeas apne

may not be granted unless the adjudication of the claim at e

state court level “resulted in a decision that was _— .

or involved an unreasonable . application of, clear 7

established Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Cou

of the United States.”

urt has already begun the critical task of

we the meaning of the operative term ‘clearly

established Federal law” in the AEDPA. In gerne

Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 412 (2000), the Court held uy “

statutory phrase refers to the holdings, as opposed 7 :

dicta, of this Court’s decisions as of the time of the re ar

state-court decision.” This case provides an hegre <4

suitable occasion for clarifying when federal law 1s “clearly

established.”

It is the holding of Godinez, not its dicta, that —

the same standard for competency to stand trial oar

competency to represent oneself. 509 U.S. at 3 si

Many federal circuit courts of appeals have nig ae

Godinez as holding that those standards are identical.

: nth Circuit wrote below: .

ae be wrong, but if so Brooks still must lose. Remember

that a state court’s decision can be ‘struck down in yr so

habeas corpus proceeding only if it is contrary to poco

established” federal law as declared by the Supreme “a -

Godinez did not clearly establish a rule, which is the mu . “a

which Brooks contends, that a defendant found pert :

stand trial is automatically entitled to represent himself n :

matter how deficient his understanding of the consequences 0

going to trial without a lawyer.

(Pet. App. 6a-7a.) (emphasis added).

ae

16

Ellerbe, 372 F.3d at 466; Hernandez, 203 F.3d at 620 n.8;

Boigegrain, 155 F.3d at 1186. Yet, disagreements over what

constitutes a holding and what constitutes dicta pervade

opinions at all levels, and include lower court judges

attempting to abide the holding in a controlling case as well

as judges in the same circuit determining “holding versus

dicta” in their own precedent. Jn Re Fowlkes, 326 F.3d 542,

546 (4th Cir. 2003) (disagreeing with concurrence

characterization of prior Fourth Circuit opinion as dicta and

acknowledging underlying problem of ignoring AEDPA’s

mandate not to proceed to substantive merits of habeas

petition unless certificate of appealability issues); Chadwick

v. Janecka, 312 F.3d 597, 613 (3d Cir. 2002) (indicating

district court incorrectly relied on dicta from Third Circuit

opinion where AEDPA “‘s clear that the appropriate law to

apply is Supreme Court precedent,” though lower federal

court opinions may be helpful amplifications of such

precedent); Aron v. United States, 291 F.3d 798, 713 n.4

(11th Cir. 2002) (disagreeing with view of concurring

opinion that holding that petitioner’s failure to exercise due

diligence prior to AEDPA enactment cannot support finding

that petition does not satisfy timeliness requirement of 28

U.S.C. § 2255(4) was actually dicta because the “fact that

either error would be sufficient to warrant reversal does not

mean that future panels are free to treat one of these two

findings as dicta.”’).

Judge Kozinski of the Ninth Circuit has emphasized the

risk inherent in subsequent panels unilaterally characterizing

as “dicta” what prior panels considered to be “holdings:”

Whether a court ought to speak to an issue that is

not strictly necessary to the outcome of the case is a

legitimate topic of debate during the process of

collegial deliberation. ... But it is quite a different

matter to suggest . . . that the work product of a panel

17

of this court can simply be disregarded because a later

panel finds a way to call ‘+ “dicta” or “advisory” or

some similar invective.

Spears v. Stewart, 283 F.3d 992, 1005-06 (9th Cir. 2002)

(statement of Kozinski, J., concerning denial of petitions for

rehearing en banc). The dissent in Spears considered portions

of the prior opinion to be dicta because “whether or not the

Arizona scheme satisfied the requirements of Chapter 154 [of

the AEDPA] was entirely irrelevant to the outcome of [the]

case,” and because the Arizona procedure that the panel

decision validated had been repealed by the time of

consideration. Jd. at 999-1000 (Reinhardt, J., dissenting from

denial of petitions for rehearing en banc).

These concerns apply to a categorically higher degree to

the opinions of this Court. By granting certiorari here, the

Court could clarify these issues, which continue to challenge

many lower court judges.°

Deciding what constitutes “clearly established” federal

law is a threshold question. Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 US.

63, 71 (2003). There is a disconcerting diversity of

approaches to this threshold question. For example, the

lower courts disagree as to the number of Supreme Court

6 The decision below has already threatened to engender significant

confusion among the courts bound to apply it. For example, the cour *1

Gomez v. Berge, No. 04-C-17-C, 2004 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16360, at *43-

*44 (W.D. Wis. Aug. 18, 2004), adopted by unpublished order (W.D.

Wis. Oct. 22, 2004), noted that the Seventh Circuit in Brooks failed to —

“cite to any facts found by the state trial court that supported its

conclusion that Brooks did not understand the dangers of self-

representation,” but rather mentioned Brooks’s obstreperous behavior as

an indication of his lack of competence to represent himself.

Significantly, the Gomez court found the opinion in Brooks “difficult to

reconcile with Faretta and Godinez,” but could not analyze the case as it

would have done earlier because the decision below already had become

“the law of this circuit.” 2004 U.S. Dis’. LEXIS 16360, at *43-*46.

fen rn ea nae en ere aan sae ee

18

cases necessary to “clearly establish” federal law. Several

courts have looked to only one case in deciding that the

federal law was clearly established. See, e.g., Kandies v.

Polk, 385 F.3d 457, 468-69 (4th Cir. 2004) (holding that

Strickland clearly established federal law rule as to what

constitutes ineffective assistance of counsel); Selian v.

Kuhlman, 261 F.3d 303, 309 (2d Cir. 2001) (holding that

Strickland clearly established the prejudice and performance

test for ineffective assistance of counsel claim); Moxley v.

Bennett, 291 F. Supp. 2d 212, 226-27 (W.D.N.Y. 2003)

(holding that Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986), clearly

established federal law as to racial discrimination in jury

selection procedures); McGhee v. Jackson, No. 01-CV-

73860-DT, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21930, at *4-*12 (E.D.

Mich. Oct. 10, 2002) (holding that Batson clearly established

federal law as to racial discrimination in jury selection

procedures); Dible v. Ault, No. C99-4010-MWB, 2000 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 21404, at *58-*62 (N.D. Iowa Oct. 20, 2000),

adopted by 2001 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10541 (N.D. Iowa July

12, 2001), (holding that Strickland clearly established federal

law as to ineffective assistance of counsel claims).

In contrast, the Seventh Circuit held that, here, two

Supreme Court decisions, namely Godinez and Faretta, did

not “clearly establish” federal law. The Seventh Circuit did

not explain the rationale behind this holding, but in so ruling,

the Seventh Circuit denied relief to the petitioner. (Pet. App.

6a.) Guidance, therefore, is needed from this Court so that

all lower courts abide this Court’s decisions in Godinez and

Faretta, which “clearly establish” federal law under

applicable standards.

Williams explained that “[w]ith one caveat, whatever

would qualify as an old rule under our Teague [v. Lane, 489

U.S. 288, 301 (1989)] jurisprudence will constitute ‘clearly

established Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court

19

of the United States’ under § 2254(d)(1).” 529 U.S. at 412.

The caveat is that only Supreme Court jurisprudence may

clearly establish federal law. Teague held that habeas relief

may not issue where the defendant’s constitutional claim is

based on a “new rule.” 489 U.S. at 310. A “new rule” is one

which is not mandated by precedent at the time that the

defendant’s conviction became final on direct review. Id. at

301.

There is no “new rule” in this case. Here, both the

Wisconsin Court of Appeals decision (1999) and the

Wisconsin Supreme Court’s denial of review (1999) were

issued well after Godinez (1993). Because the difference

between a “new rule” and an “old rule” is the timing in

relation to the finality of the defendant’s conviction, the

standard set forth in Godinez and Faretta was a clearly

established “old rule” at the time of Brooks’s conviction.

“[A]Jn old rule under our Teague jurisprudence will constitute

‘clearly established Federal law.” Williams, 529 U.S. at

412. That standard therefore entitled Brooks to a writ of |

habeas corpus in the proceedings below.

This Court should review the decision below to correct

the Seventh Circuit and prevent future similar failures by

district courts and circuit courts of appeals to grant habeas

corpus relief in cases where state courts have failed to follow

rules “clearly established” by this Court’s constitutional

jurisprudence.

\

20

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JEROLD S. SOLOVY*

ROBERT L. GRAHAM

JACOB I. CORRE

ALISON A. DIETERICHS

JENNER & BLOCK LLP

One IBM Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60611

(312) 222-9350

November 10, 2004 * Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

AAgae adage ikea

3 iy

7

eter!

ey

la

Appendix A

United States Court of Appeals,

Seventh Circuit.

EDDIE L. BROOKS, Petitioner-Appellant,

v.

GARY R. McCAUGHTRY, Respondent-Appellee.

No. 02-4324

Argued April 5, 2004

Decided August 12, 2004

OPINION

Before BAUER, POSNER, and DIANE P. Woop, Circuit

Judges.

POSNER, Circuit Judge.

Eddie Brooks was convicted in a Wisconsin state court of

first-degree murder of a policeman, and related crimes, and

was sentenced to life in prison plus 109 years. After

exhausting his state remedies in State v. Brooks, 607 N.W.2d

290 (Wis. 1999), he sought federal habeas corpus, lost in the

district court, and appeals, contending that the Wisconsin

trial court deprived him of his federal constitutional right to

represent himself. Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806

(1975). (His other contentions do not merit discussion.) To

prevail, he must show that the state decision of which he

complains “was contrary to, or involved an unreasonable

2a

application of, clearly established Federal law, as determined

by the Supreme Court of the United States.” 28 U.S.C. §

2254(d)(1).

Before his trial began, Brooks was permitted to fire two

lawyers who had been appointed in succession to represent

him. A third was appointed. The judge warmed Brooks that if

he fired number three, he would have to represent himself.

When the case was called for trial, Brooks moved to dismiss

the lawyer (whose motion to withdraw at Brooks’s request

had been denied) and when the judge denied the motion

Brooks punched the lawyer in the face. Two days later, after

jury selection, Brooks moved that he be allowed to represent

himself. After quizzing him about his_ educational

background and his knowledge of the law, the judge denied

the motion.

The judge conceivably could have ruled that Brooks’s

motion to represent himself was untimely. Hamiel v. State,

285 N.W.2d 639, 648-49 (Wis. 1979); United States v.

Kosmel, 272 F.3d 501, 505-06 (7th Cir. 2001); Cain v.

Peters, 972 F.2d 748 (7th Cir. 1992). “A person accused of a

crime has an absolute night, under the Sixth Amendment, to

represent himself only if he asserts that right before trial.”

United States v. Washington, 353 F.3d 42, 46 (D.C. Cir.

2004). Here, the trial had begun, Brooks had already run

through three lawyers—suggesting that he might have

intended from the get-go to represent himself—and the

evidence against him was overwhelming, suggesting that he

might be seeking by his latest change of heart merely to

disrupt the trial. Yet having told Brooks that if he fired

lawyer number three he would have to represent himself, the

judge might well have been understood to be giving Brooks

until then to decide to represent himself, consistent with

cases such as United States v. Oreye, 263 F.3d 669, 670-71

(7th Cir. 2001), and United States v. Irorere, 228 F.3d 816,

3a

826-28 (7th Cir. 2000). Those cases hold that a defendant

who is warned that if he fires his lawyer he’ll have to

represent himself will, if he does fire the lawyer, be deemed

by doing so to have chosen to represent himself. However all

this may be, the judge based his denial of Brooks’s motion

not on timeliness but on competency, and Brooks argues that

the ruling deprived him of the right recognized in the Faretta

case.

He contends that anyone competent to stand trial, as he

was, is ipso facto competent to waive counsel. Whether this

contention is sound depends on the exact meaning of

“competent.” It is one thing for a defendant to have

sufficient mentation to be able to follow the trial proceedings

with the aid of a lawyer, and another to be able to represent

himself; and while Brooks clearly had the former, he seems

equally clearly to have lacked the latter, if we may judge

from his wild behavior and incomprehensible outbursts

during the trial. And if he was incompetent to conduct his

own defense, this is evidence that his decision to waive

counsel was not “knowing and intelligent,” as all waivers

must be in order to be legally effective. E.g., Jowa v. Tovar,

124 S. Ct. 1379, 1387 (2004), Faretta v. California, supra,

422 U.S. at 835; Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464-65

(1938); United States v. Irorere, supra, 228 F.3d at 828. A

waiver of counsel would make no sense from the defendant’s

standpoint if he knew he was incompetent to defend himself

(unless his intent was to disrupt the trial—in which event it

would not be an exercise of the right recognized by Faretta);

and so senseless a waiver could only with difficulty be

regarded as knowing and intelligent. That appears to be this

case.

But Brooks argues that in Godinez v. Moran, 509 U.S.

389 (1993), the Supreme Court held that the standard for

competence to stand trial a:d the standard for competence to

4a

waive counsel are identical, and if his interpretation (whic

some courts have accepted, e.g., People v. Welch, 976 P.2:

754, 774 (Cal. 1999); State v. Day, 661 A.2d 539, 548 (Conn

1995); State v. Camacho, 561 N.W.2d 160, 172 (Minn

1997)) is correct, it might seem to follow that we must orde

a new tnal for Brooks. But we doubt both the premise an

the conclusion. The Supreme Court in Godinez did reject th

idea “that the decision to waive counsel requires ai

appreciably higher level of mental functioning than th

decision to waive other constitutional nghts .... [A

criminal defendant’s ability to represent himself has n

bearing upon his competence to choose self-representation.’

509 U.S. at 399-400 (emphasis in original; footnote omitted)

But there is a difference between mental functioning, whicl

is the ability to process information, and the informatiot

itself; more information may be required for an effective

waiver of the right to counsel than for being able to follov

the goings-on at one’s trial. And so the Court went on to sa

that the judge must satisfy himself that the defendant no

only has the requisite mental competence to choose whethe:

to represent himself but also knows enough about the

consequences of his choice to make it “intelligent anc

voluntary.” Jd. at 401-02. As we have explained, an effective

“waiver of the right to the assistance of counsel at trial, the

stage of a criminal prosecution most difficult for a laypersor

to navigate, may require an oral inquiry to ensure that the

defendant chooses with knowledge of his entitlements anc

his eyes open to the dangers of self-representation.” Speights

v. Frank, 361 F.3d 962, 964 (7th Cir. 2004) (emphasis in

original).

The Court further said in Godinez that “states are free to

adopt competency standards that are more elaborate than” the

standard laid down for competence to stand trial in Dusky v.

United States, 362 U.S. 402 (1960) (per curiam), but “the

Due Process Clause does not impose these additional

Sa

requirements.” 509 U.S. at 402. The Dusky (due process)

standard of competence to stand trial requires that the

defendant have “sufficient present ability to consult with his

lawyer with a reasonable degree of rational understanding”

and “a rational as well as factual understanding of the

proceedings against him.” 362 U.S. at 402. Note the

assumption that the defendant has a lawyer—that he is not

trying to represent himself. Self-representation was not the

issue in Dusky.

Even more important is the distinction between what due

process requires and what it permits. In the decision the

Supreme Court reversed in Godinez, the Ninth Circuit had

imposed a federal minimum standard of competence for self-

representation in state prosecutions that was higher than the

Dusky standard, and it was this that the Court was

disapproving. The reason for disapproving it, we conjecture,

was that it might enforce against the states a concept of

ineffective self-representation. Suppose the Ninth Circuit’s

approach (which required that the defendant be capable of a

“reasoned choice” to represent himself) required a defendant

to be sufficiently skilled and knowledgeable to be able to do

a really creditable job of self-representation. Then if a state

judge allowed a defendant to represent himself and the

defendant screwed up, the state would have to give him a

second bite at the apple—a second trial, this time with

assistance of counsel whether he wanted it or not. Cain v.

Peters, supra, 972 F.2d at 750; Alan R. Felthous, “The Right

to Represent Oneself Incompetently: Competency to Waive

Counsel and Conduct One's Own Defense Before and After

Godinez,” 18 Mental & Physical Disability L. Rep. 105, 109

(1994). No federal policy, whether found in the due process

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment or anywhere else, is

offended by a state’s adopting a rule that may allow some of

its criminal defendants to whipsaw it.

6a

And even if the standards for competence to stand trial

and for competence to waive the right of counsel are the

same, the existence of an effective waiver need not be

automatically deduced from a finding that the defendant is

competent to stand trial. This would be obvious if having

determined that the defendant was competent to stand trial

the judge had asked the defendant whether he wanted a

lawyer but had not explained the consequences of going to

trial without one. A judge who, having explained the

consequences, finds that the defendant doesn’t understand

them is entitled to conclude that although competent to stand

trial, the defendant has not made an effective waiver of his

right to counsel and therefore may not represent himself. This

result is consistent with Godinez.

Wisconsin, as this case illustrates, has set a higher

standard for waivers of the Faretta right than for competence

to stand trial. See also Commonwealth v. Simpson, 704

N.E.2d 1131, 1135 n. 5 (Mass. 1999). The Supreme Court of

Wisconsin held in State v. Klessig, 564 N.W.2d 716, 722-24

(Wis. 1997), tiiat the state’s approach, adopted in Pickens v.

State, 292 N.W.2d 601, 609-11 (Wis. 1980), had survived

Godinez, albeit with a modification irrelevant to this case.

Because being competent to stand trial and having waived

the right to counsel do not require the same information, and

because the former competence does not imply an effective

waiver in all cases, we do not think that Wisconsin’s

approach violates the rule of Godinez.

We may be wrong, but if so Brooks still must lose.

Remember that a state court’s decision can be struck down in

a federal habeas corpus proceeding only if it is contrary to

“clearly established” federal law as declared by the Supreme

Court. Godinez did not clearly establish a rule, which is the

rule for which Brooks contends, that a defendant found

competent to stand trial is automatically entitied to represent

7a

himself no matter how deficient his understanding of the

consequences of going to trial without a lawyer.

AFFIRMED.

8a

Appendix B

United States District Court,

Eastern District of Wisconsin.

EDDIE LEE BROOKS, Petitioner,

v.

GARY R. McCAUGHTRY, Respondent.

Case No. 00-C-1481

October 28, 2002

GRIESBACH, District Judge.

DECISION AND ORDER

Eddie Lee Brooks, an inmate at Waupun Correctional

Institute, has petitioned this court for a writ of habeas corpus

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254. Brooks 1s presently serving a

sentence of life plus 109 years for the 1990 first degree

intentional homicide of Sergeant Michael Tourmo of the

Milwaukee Police Department, two counts of attempted first

degree intentional homicide, and one count each of first

degree recklessly endangering safety, burglary, and felon in

possession of a firearm, all with various penalty enhancers.

In his pro se petition, Brooks claims he is entitled to habeas

relief because he was denied his constitutional rights to

effective assistance of counsel and to self-representation. He

also claims that he was denied his right to present a defense,

that the trial court erroneously ruled that he gave a confession

and that the prosecutor engaged in misconduct. For the

reasons that follow, I find no merit in any of Brooks’ claims,

deny his petition and order the case dismissed.

I. BACKGROUND

On the morning of November 18, 1990, officers of the

Milwaukee Police Department were dispatched to a burglary

9a

in process at the North Avenue Smoke Shop on the corner of

26th Street and North Avenue. (Answer, Ex. H, Part 117 at

92-94.) As they arrived, police saw two individuals fleeing

the scene and gave chase. (/d. at 96.) Sergeant Tourmo was

seen pursuing one of the individuals, who was later identified

as Brooks, down an alley in his squad car. (/d. at 103-05.)

As other officers arrived, they positioned their squads at

various locations around the block, exited their squads and

began looking for the fleeing subjects on foot. (/d. at 115-25,

137.) Both subjects were ultimately apprehended, but not

before Brooks had gotten off several rounds at several of the

pursuing officers. He tossed his gun after emptying it and

surrendered as police were closing in. The other subject,

Lavelle Chambers, was found hiding under a porch nearby.

(Id. at 34-35:) When the officers were unable to raise

Sergeant Tourmo on the radio, they retraced their steps and

found him lying in a pool of blood with a bullet hole in his

head. (/d. at 143-45.) Later that day, Brooks confessed to

shooting Sergeant Tourmo as he walked by a porch on which

he was hiding, and ballistic tests subsequently performed at

the Wisconsin Crime Laboratory confirmed that the bullet

retrieved from Tourmo’s body had been fired from the gun

Brooks had tossed just before he was apprehended. (/d., Part

125 at 24-25, 80-81.)

A Milwaukee County jury found Brooks guilty of the

homicide and other offenses noted above following a week-

long trial, and he was sentenced on December 5, 1991. After

two earlier appeals were dismissed on procedural grounds,

the Wisconsin Court of Appeals by order dated June 11,

1997, allowed Brooks to file an untimely motion for

postconviction relief pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 809.30. That

motion, in which Brooks alleged that he was denied effective

assistance of counsel; that the trial court erred in refusing to

allow him to be represented by “jailhouse lawyers” or to

proceed pro se during trial; and that his convictions resulted

10a

from conspiracy, perjury and prosecutorial misconduct, was

denied without hearing by the trial court. The trial court’s

decision was summarily affirmed by the Wisconsin Court of

Appeals in an opinion and order dated October 6, 1999, and

the Wisconsin Supreme Court denied Brooks’ petition for

discretionary review on November 7, 1999. On November

20, 2000, Brooks filed the petition for a writ of habeas corpus

that is presently before me.

II. DISCUSSION

In order to prevail in a federal action for a writ of habeas

corpus, the petitioner must prove that the state court’s

decision “was contrary to, or involved an unreasonable

application of clearly established Federal law, as determined

by the Supreme Court of the United States” or was based on

“an unreasonable determination of the facts in the light of the

evidence presented.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d). A state court’s

decision is contrary to clearly established federal law, as

determined by the Supreme Court of the United States, “if

the state court arrives at a conclusion opposite to that reached

by [the Supreme Court] on a question of law or if the state

court decides a case differently than [the Supreme Court] has

on a set of materially indistinguishable facts.” Williams v.

Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 413 (2000). A state court’s decision

involves an unreasonable application of established federal

law “if the state court identifies the correct governing legal

principle from [the Supreme Court’s] decisions but

unreasonably applies that principle to the facts of the

prisoner’s case.” Jd. Moreover, it is not enough for a federal

court reviewing a state court conviction under § 2254 to

conclude that the state court’s application of established

federal law is simply incorrect or erroneous. For such

application to warrant relief under § 2254(d)(1), it must be

objectively unreasonable. Jd. at 409-12.

lla

A. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

In his petition for habeas corpus, Brooks first claims that

he was denied his Sixth Amendment right to the effective

assistance of counsel. He alleges that his trial counsel,

Attorney Michael Barth, (1) failed to challenge the admission

of his confession; (2) failed to impeach the credibility of the

law enforcement officers that testified to his apprehension

and subsequent confession; (3) refused to investigate the case

and cal! witnesses who could have provided information

suggesting that someone else had done some of the shooting;

and (4) failed to present a defense.

The Sixth Amendment right to the effective assistance of

counsel is clearly established. federal law as determined by

the Supreme Court of the United States. In Strickland v.

Washington, 446 U.S. 668, 686 (1984), the Court noted that

its prior decisions had recognized that the right to counsel

includes the right to the effective assistance of counsel. The

Strickland Court then established a two-part test to determine

whether the right to effective assistance of counsel was

violated:

First, the defendant must show that counsel’s

performance was deficient. This requires

showing that counsel made errors so serious

that counsel was not functioning as_ the

“counsel” guaranteed the defendant by the

Sixth Amendment. Second, the defendant

must show that the deficient performance

prejudiced the defense. This requires showing

that counsel’s errors were so serious as to

deprive the defendant of a fair trial, a trial

whose result is reliable.

Id. at 687.

12a

In affirming the trial court’s denial of Brooks’ motion for

postconviction relief, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals

expressly cited Strickland and applied its test in evaluating

his claim of ineffective assistance of counsel. Brooks has not

cited any case with materially indistinguishable facts that the

United States Supreme Court has decided differently. Thus,

it cannot be said that the state court decision is contrary to

established federal law on this issue. The questions

presented, then, are whether the state court’s decision

resulted from an unreasonable application of Strickland, or

whether it was based upon an unreasonable determination of

the facts in light of the evidence presented.

Neither the application of Strickland, nor the

determination of facts, was unreasonable. The court of

appeals correctly noted that Brooks’ allegation that his

attorney failed to challenge the admissibility of his

confession is belied by the record. The first of the three

separate attorneys who represented him at the pretrial and

trial stages of the proceedings moved to exclude the

confession on the grounds that it was the fruit of an illegal

arrest, that it was coerced and that it was obtained in

violation of the requirements of Miranda v. Arizona, 384

U.S. 436 (1966). The trial court conducted an extensive

evidentiary hearing on the motion and ordered it denied.

The allegation that his trial attorney, Attorney Barth,

failed to impeach the credibility of police witnesses is

predicated on counsel’s failure to present what Brooks

contends are inconsistencies in the testimony and reports of

various Officers and, as to at least on officer, evidence that he

previously was untruthful in an unrelated matters. The

inconsistencies Brooks claims Attorney Barth failed to

establish relate to such issues as whether he had remained in

the squad car when he was transported back to the scene or

excited the car with the detectives; whether they remained at

13a m

the scene until 7 p.m. or were back at the station by 6:30

p.m.; the precise time his car was towed from the scene; and

the exact time an officer made certain entries in his memo

book. Viewed in the context of the entire trial, the court of

appeals reasonably characterized the alleged inconsistencies

as “the most trivial disagreements over the course of events

during the crime and its investigation.” (Answer, Exhibit B,

at 15.)

The evidence that one of the officers had been untruthful

in an unrelated matter involved one of the two detectives who

had interviewed Brooks after his arrest. The detective

Brooks wanted to impeach, however, was never called as a

witness by the state, and the court of appeals properly

concluded that the evidence of untruthfulness in an unrelated

matter would not have been admissible. Thus, counsel was

not ineffective for failing to offer it.

Brooks’ allegation that his Attorney Barth failed to

investigate the case is also belied by the record. The Court of

Appeals noted, and the record confirms, that Brooks’ first

attorney retained an investigator who independently

interviewed witnesses, viewed the crime scene and took

photographs. This evidence was turned over to Attorney

Barth attorney well in advance of trial along with the state’s

response to the defense’s discovery requests. In addition,

Attorney Barth hired an investigator of his own. More

importantly, Brooks is silent as to what exculpatory evidence

could have been uncovered. In the absence of any showing

that exculpatory evidence was available, an allegation that

counsel’s investigation was inadequate is entitled to no

weight.

Brooks’ conclusory allegation that his trial attorney did

not present a defense likewise lacks support in the record. A

review of the transcript reveals that Attomey Barth

challenged the witnesses called by the state and made as

l4a

strong an argument to the jury as the evidence permitted.

The strength of the defense he could present was limited, as it

is in all cases, by the available evidence. Again, other than a

few minor inconsistencies of the kind to be expected in a

case of this nature, Brooks has pointed to no actual evidence

that his attorney failed place before the jury.

In sum, Brooks has failed to allege any facts which, when

viewed in the context of the record in this case, would

support his claim that the representation provided by his

attorney was constitutionally deficient. I therefore conclude

that the Wisconsin Court of Appeals did not unreasonably

apply the clearly established law of Strickland in rejecting his

claim that his conviction was the result of ineffective

assistance of counsel. I also conclude that its determination

of the facts relating to this claim was not unreasonable in

light of the evidence presented.

B. Rights to Self-Representation

Brooks next claiuns that the trial court violated his

constitutional right to represent himself when, shortly after

trial commenced, he requested that Attorney Barth be

removed so he could conduct his own defense. The right to

represent oneself, like the right to effective assistance of

counsel, is also well established in federal law. The Supreme

Court gave explicit recognition to such a right in Faretta v.

California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975). But this right, like all

rights, is not unlimited. A defendant who seeks to represent

himself must be competent to do so. Godinez v. Moran, 509

U.S. 389 (1993). And Faretta itself recognized that “the trial

judge may terminate self-representation by a defendant who

deliberately engages in_ serious and_ obstructionist

misconduct.” 422 U.S. at 834 n. 46.

15a

The record in this case reflects that Attorney Barth was in

fact the third attorney assigned to the case. The first two had

been fired by Brooks or allowed to withdraw at his request.

As the trial was about to begin, Brooks attempted to fire

Attorney Barth. Convinced that Brooks would find no

attorney any more to his liking and reluctant to further delay

the trial, the court denied Brooks’ request. Brooks responded

first by punching Attorney Barth in the face, and later by

disrupting the jury selection process by claiming Attorney

Barth was not his attorney and stating he would not

participate in “this fraud.” (Answer, Ex. H, Part 112 at 27,

56-57.) As a result of this conduct, the trial judge ordered

Brooks shackled, and a new panel was brought in to begin

the jury selection process again.

The following day, after the jury was impaneled and a

view of the scene completed, Brooks for the first time

advised the trial court of his desire to represent himself. (/d.,

Part 116 at 3.) Based upon its concerns that his request was

simply a ploy to further obstruct the trial and after

considering the complexity of the case, the seriousness of the

charges, and the defendant’s lack of education and inability

to clearly express himself, the trial court denied the motion.

(Id. at 24-26.) Brooks claims that in doing so, the trial court

violated his Sixth Amendment right to self-representation.

In its order affirming the trial court’s denial of his motion

for postconviction relief, the Wisconsin Court of Appeals

rejected this claim, stating, “[nJeither Brooks’ postconviction

motion nor his appellate brief explains how the trial court

erred in concluding that Brooks, an inarticulate, unschooled,

and disruptive individual, was not competent to represent

himself in this complex trial.” (Answer, Ex. B at 7.) From

my review of the record, I am satisfied that the Wisconsin

court’s conclusion constitutes a reasonable application of the

United States Supreme Court’s decision in Faretta.

l6a

Brooks had already shown himself to be unable or

unwilling to behave in a civil manner by punching his

attorney in the face and disrupting the jury selection process

to the point where the trial judge had ordered him shackled,

excused one jury panel and started the selection process over.

Even after these occurrences, at various times throughout the

trial, Brooks disrupted the proceedings with his outbursts,

sometimes laced with obscenities, claiming Attorney Barth

was not his attorney and demanding to be removed from the

courtroom. For at least part of the trial, Brooks was in fact

removed from the courtroom. The culmination of this

behavior occurred when he dropped his pants and “mooned”

the trial judge from a holding cell at his sentencing. As a

whole, the record provides strong support for respondents’s

contention that “Brooks was arguably one of the most

disruptive criminal defendants ever to set foot in a Wisconsin

courtroom. (Br. in Opp’n at 4-5.)

Faced with such behavior, the trial judge did not err in

denying Brooks’ request that he be allowed to represent

himself. His behavior, both before and after the request was

made, demonstrate an inability or unwillingness to act in a

civil manner. Faretta expressly recognizes a trial judge’s

right to terminate self-representation under such

circumstances. The state court’s decision is a reasonable

application of this rule. Indeed, any other response would

have been unreasonable under the circumstances.

C. Other Claims

Lastly, Brooks claims he was denied his right to present a

defense, the trial court erroneously ruled that he gave a

confession and the prosecutor engaged in misconduct. To a

large extent, these claims amount to no more than a

rephrasing of his previous complaints concerning the quality

17a

of his attorney’s representation. His allegation that he was

denied the right to present a defense, for example, is simply a

rehash of his claim the his attorney failed to provide effective

representation. His claim that the trial court erroneously

concluded he had given a confession likewise is a

restatement of his claim that the testimony of the two

detectives who interviewed him was not adequately

challenged. And his claim of prosecutorial misconduct

amounts to an accusation that the prosecution knew the

detectives were not testifying truthfully.

I am satisfied that none of these claims has merit. The

trial transcript demonstrates that every precaution was made

in order to assure that, despite Brooks’ outrageous behavior,

his constitutional rights were meticulously protected. The

trial court commended Brooks’ attorney for his conscientious

professionalism under extremely trying circumstances. The

reports filed by police officers closely matched radio

recordings of their transmissions during the series of events.

The court of appeals rightfully refused to give further

consideration to conclusory claims of collusion and

conspiracy since they were not supported by citations to the

record or to legal authority. I am satisfied that it neither

ignored nor unreasonably applied federal law in reaching its

decision. Accordingly, I find no basis for granting Brooks

the relief he seeks.

For the foregoing reasons, IT IS ORDERED that the

petitioner’s application for a writ of habeas corpus is denied,

and this case is dismissed. The clerk of the court shall enter

judgment accordingly.

Dated this 28th day of October, 2002.

18a

Appendix C

Supreme Court of Wisconsin.

STATE

v.

BROOKS

No. 98-0440-CR

December 22, 1999

Disposition: Petition for Review Denied.

Disposition: 12/20/1999.

(SYKES, J., did not participate)

19a

Appendix D

State of Wisconsin Court of Appeals, District I

STATE OF WISCONSIN

v.

EDDIE LEE BROOKS

(L.C. # F-904061)

97-2900

October 6, 1999

OPINION AND ORDER.

Before Fine, Schudson and Curley, JJ.

Eddie Lee Brooks was convicted of one count of first-

degree intentional homicide while armed with a dangerous

weapon, two counts of attempted first-degree intentional

homicide while armed with a dangerous weapon, one count

of recklessly endangering safety while armed with a

dangerous weapon, one count of burglary, party to the crime,

and one count of being a felon in possession of a firearm.

Brooks appeals from a circuit court order denying his

postconviction motion for a new trial. Based upon our

review of the briefs and record, we conclude that this appeal

is appropriate for summary disposition. See Rule 809.21(1),

STATS. We affirm the circuit court’s order.

The criminal complaint initiating this case indicates that

on November 18, 1990, Brooks and a companion burglarized

the North Avenue Smoke Shop in the City of Milwaukee.

Numerous weapons were taken during the burglary. Upon

20a

receiving a call that a burglary was in progress, a number of

Milwaukee police officers, including Sergeant Michael

Tourmo, responded to the call and went to the scene. Police

pursued Brooks and his companion as they fled from the

scene. Brooks fired a weapon at police as he ran.

Eventually, Brooks ran to a residence near the North Avenue

Smoke Shop where he hid on a porch. Shortly thereafter,

Sergeant Tourmo ran by the porch where Brooks was hiding.

Brooks saw Sergeant Tourmo and shot him in the head.

Brooks left the porch and resumed his flight. The police

apprehended Brooks shortly thereafter and took him into

custody. Brooks confessed to shooting Sergeant Tourmo.

Testimony of the medical examiner confirmed that Sergeant

Tourmo was shot in the top of the head and that the entry

wound was consistent with his having been shot while he

was on ground level and the shooter was elevated.

Following Brooks’s jury trial, the circuit court entered the

judgment of conviction on December 5, 1991.' On June 11,

1997, this court issued an order construing a petition for a

writ of habeas corpus that Brooks filed pursuant to State v.

Knight, 168 Wis.2d 509, 484 N.W.2d 540 (1992), as a

motion for an extension of time for filing his notice of appeal

or postconviction motion. Our order granted the motion and

reinstated Brooks’s postconviction rights under RULE 809.30,

STATS. |

Brooks then filed a postconviction motion alleging that

he was denied the effective assistance of trial counsel; that

the trial court erred in refusing to permit Brooks to be

' The information charged Brooks with one count of first-degree

intentional homicide while armed, three counts of attempted first-degree

intentional homicide while armed, one count of burglary, party to the

crime, and one count of being a felon in possession of a firearm. The jury

convicted Brooks on all counts but one. On one count of attempted first-

degree intentional homicide, the jury found Brooks guilty of the lesser

included offense of recklessly endangering safety.

2la

represented by jailhouse lawyers or to proceed pro se during

trial; and that errors occurred during the tnal, allegedly

resulting from conspiracy, perjury and _ prosecutorial

misconduct. The trial court summarily denied Brooks’s

motion without a hearing and Brooks appeals.

A circuit court has the discretion to summarily deny a

postconviction motion “if the record conclusively

demonstrates that the defendant is not entitled to relief.”

State v. Bentley, 201 Wis.2d 303, 310, 548 N.W.2d 50, 53

(1996) (quoting Nelson v. State, 54 Wis.2d 489, 497-98, 195

N.W.2d 629, 633 (1972)). The issue of a motion’s factual

sufficiency presents a question of law subject to de novo

review by this court. See id. If we independently confirm

the circuit court’s determination of the motion’s

insufficiency, we then apply the deferential standard of

review to determine whether the trial court’s summary denial

of the motion resulted from an erroneous exercise of

discretion. See id. at 310-11, 548 N.W.2d at 53.

To establish ineffective assistance of counsel, a defendant

must demonstrate that (1) counsel’s performance was

deficient; and (2) that deficient performance prejudiced the

defense. See Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687

(1984). The circuit court considering a postconviction claim

of ineffective assistance must initially decide whether a

defendant’s allegations raise a question of fact sufficient to

warrant an evidentiary hearing. See State v. Toliver, 187

Wis.2d 346, 360, 523 N.W.2d 113, 118 (Ct. App. 1994);

State v. Washington, 176 Wis.2d 205, 214-15, 500 N.W.2d

331, 335-36 (Ct. App. 1993); State v. Machner, 92 Wis.2d

797, 804, 285 N.W.2d 905, 908-09 (Ct. App. 1979).

A defendant cannot rely on conclusory allegations of

ineffective assistance of counsel to secure an evidentiary

hearing. See Bentley, 201 Wis.2d at 313, 548 N.W.2d at 55.

To obtain an evidentiary hearing on an ineffective assistance

ee

22a

of counsel claim, a defendant must allege both deficient

performance and prejudice with specificity. See id. at 313-

14, 548 N.W.2d at 55 (“[A] defendant should provide facts

that allow the reviewing court to meaningfully assess his or

her claim.”).

Brooks’s postconviction motion alleged that his trial

counsel was ineffective for failing to challenge the

admissibility of his confession, failing to call certain

witnesses at trial, failing to present a defense, failing to

impeach the State’s witnesses, and failing to investigate the

case before trial. We will address each contention in turn.

Brooks’s contention that his trial counsel failed to

challenge the admissibility of his confession is disingenuous.

Trial counsel’s predecessor on the case challenged the

confession, arguing that it was the fruit of an illegal arrest,

was coerced and was obtained in violation of the

requirements of Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).

The trial court conducted an evidentiary hearing on Brooks’s

challenges to the admissibility of his confession. Brooks’s

postconviction motion alleges no specific facts or principles

of law supporting his contention that his counsel’s efforts to

suppress the confession were ineffective within the meaning

of Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687 (1984)

(Ineffective assistance of counsel exists when counsel’s

performance is deficient and the deficient performance

prejudices the defense.). Accordingly, we conclude that the

trial court did not err in denying this claim without a hearing.

Brooks argues next that his trial counsel was ineffective

for failing to call certain witnesses at trial:

Trial attorney did refuse to call any

witnesses. He never had any plans to call any

witnesses, because he never put in any witness

list. See record, court record in this case. I

put in a witness list, but was deny [sic] that

23a

right by trial judge and trial counsel, witnesses

who was [sic] witness to part of this case, who

had personally observed part of this incident,

and whose testimony would have been

relevant and material to my defense.

We conclude that these conclusory allegations were

inadequate as a matter of law to require the trial court to

conduct an evidentiary hearing on them.

Brooks complains next that his trial counsel was

ineffective for failing to mount a defense. Specifically,

Brooks contends that his attorney was ineffective for failing

to call Detective Kenneth McHenry, one of the two

detectives who were present when Brooks gave his statement

to police, and to examine him with respect to the allegation

that he gave false testimony in an unrelated case at another

time. We conclude that Brooks’s attorney committed no

error in declining to pursue this line of defense, inasmuch as

Brooks could not introduce extrinsic evidence of Detective

McHenry’s alleged false testimony in an unrelated case under

§ 906.08(2) STATS.”

Brooks argues next that his attorney failed to impeach the

State’s witnesses. We conclude that Brooks’s catalogue of

2 Section 906.08(2) STATS. provides:

SPECIFIC INSTANCES OF CONDUCT. Specific instances of

the conduct of a witness, for the purpose of attacking or

supporting the witness’s credibility, other than a conviction

of a crime or an adjudication of delinquency as provided in

s. 906.09, may not be proved by extrinsic evidence. They

may, however, subject to s. 972.11(2), if probative of

truthfulness or untruthfulness and not remote in time, be

inquired into on cross-examination of the witness or on

cross-examination of a witness who testifies to his or her

character for truthfulness or untruthfulness.

24a

errors and inconsistencies in the testimony of the State’s

witnesses recounts only the most trivial disagreements over

the course of events during the crime and its investigation.”

These points taken together did not add up to an adequate

factual basis for the trial court to order an evidentiary

hearing. As we have noted before, “[z]ero plus zero equals

zero.” State v. Marhal, 172 Wis.2d 491, 507, 493 N.W.2d

758, 766 (Ct. App. 1992) (internal quotation marks and

quoted source omitted).

Brooks also contends that his attorney did not investigate

the case before trial.- The record contradicts this assertion.

Trial counsel’s predecessor used an investigator who

independently interviewed witnesses, viewed the crime scene

and took photographs. This evidence was turned over to

Brooks’s trial attorney well in advance of trial along with the

State’s response to the defense’s discovery requests.

Brooks’s attorney also engaged an investigator to assist in

preparing the case. Accordingly, we conclude that the trial

court properly denied this claim without a hearing as well.

We turn now to Brooks’s contention that the trial court

improperly denied his motion to proceed pro se and his

motion to be represented by two jailhouse lawyers. Neither

Brooks’s postconviction motion nor his appellate brief

explains how the trial court erred in concluding that Brooks,

an inarticulate, unschooled, and disruptive individual, was

not competent to represent himself in this complex trial. See

State v. Klessig, 211 Wis.2d 194, 212, 564 N.W.2d 716, 724

(1997) (setting forth the factors a trial court should consider

> These trivial disagreements included, but were not limited to, whether

Brooks remained in the squad car at all times when police escorted him to

the scene of the crime or whether Brooks was allowed to exit the squad

car at the crime scene; the precise time that Brooks’s car was towed from

the crime scene; and the precise time that a detective made certain entries

into his memo book. _

25a

in deciding whether a defendant is competent to proceed pro

se). Furthermore, a defendant has no right to legal

representation at trial by persons who are not members of the

State Bar. See State v. Olexa, 136 Wis.2d 475, 481, 402

N.W.2d 733, 736 (Ct. App. 1987). We conclude, therefore,

that Brooks’s challenge to these trial court rulings lacks

merit.

Brooks concludes his appeal with the argument that his

conviction resulted from prosecutorial misconduct and a

conspiracy involving the trial court, all of the attorneys and

police officers involved in the case, as well as many others.

These claims are not supported by citations to the record or

authorities that permit meaningful consideration of them by

this court. As the Wisconsin Supreme Court once observed,

“[a]n appellate court is not a performing bear, required to

dance to each and every tune played on an appeal.” State v.

Waste Management of Wis., Inc., 81 Wis.2d 555, 564, 261

N.W.2d 147, 151 (1978). Accordingly. we decline to address

these putative claims.

In light of the foregoing discussion, this court concludes

that Brooks was not entitled to relief on the errors he claims

occurred before the trial court. Accordingly, we hold that the

trial court did not err in its exercise of discretion when it

summarily denied Brooks’s postconviction motion without a

hearing.

Upon the foregoing reasons.

IT IS ORDERED that the order of the circuit court is

summarily affirmed pursuant to RULE 809.21(1), STATS.

26a

Appendix E

Circuit Court for Milwaukee County, Wisconsin

STATE OF WISCONSIN,

Plaintiff,

v.

EDDIE LEE BROOKS,

Defendant.

Case No. F-904061

JURY TRIAL

Reporter’s Official Transcript of Proceedings

October 16, 1991

Before:

Honorable Jeffrey A. Wagner, Branch 38

OK KK

Page 8

OK K

23 MR. BARTH: There has been nothing as to

24 the competency to waive an attorney. However I

25 believe that there is something as to competency

27a

Page 9

1 and Mr. Brooks is competent to proceed.

2 THE COURT: No, I understand that. I

3 was talking about the report that was used for the

4 competent to proceed, but there’s a different

5 standard for competency to waive one’s nght to an

6 attorney, and that’s -- I’m looking for that

7 evaluation or at least that paper or document

8 because it might suggest something to the Court

9 upon its reading.

10 | MR.BARTH: Again, Your Honor, there has

11 only been the report as to the competency. There

12 has not been one to the competency to represent.

13 THE COURT: Who’s got that? Or does it

14 exist?

15 MR. BARTH: I do not have it with me.

16 Do you have a copy of the report? I do not have

17 it, Your Honor.

18 THE COURT: Pardon?

19 MR. BARTH: I do not have it with me.

20 THE COURT: All nght. Mr. Brooks, do

21 you understand the magnitude of the undertaking and

22 the disadvantages of self representation?

23 THE DEFENDANT: Yes, I do, Your Honor.

24 THE COURT: And what would they be?

25 THE DEFENDANT: Huh?

28a

Page 10

| THE COURT: And what would they be?

2 THE DEFENDANT: Well that I would be

3 waiving my right to a public pretendant and be able

4 to defend myself.

5 THE COURT: I know but what would be the

6 disadvantages of self representation?

7 THE DEFENDANT: Well I don’t know the

8 law that good but I do know enough.

9 THE COURT: Pardon?

10 THE DEFENDANT: I don’t know the law

11 that good but I do know enough.

12 THE COURT: Well you don’t have to know

13 that law in order to represent yourself. It’s a

14 question whether or not you understand the nature

15 of what your motion pertains to as far as whether

16 or not the Court’s going to grant your motion.

17 THE DEFENDANT: Well as to what the law

18 be giving my right to effective assistance of

19 counsel which I never had.

20 THE COURT: Are you aware of any type

21 rules governing the conduct of the trial?

22 THE DEFENDANT: No, I’m not.

23 THE COURT: And you understand that

24 presenting a defense is not just getting on the --

25 just telling your story. Do you understand that? —

29a

Page 11

| THE DEFENDANT: Yes. It’s asking

2 question. Put like in a -- it’s I got a right to

3 cross examine -- right to cross examination of the

4 witness.

5 THE COURT: Do you think you are

6 skilled, sir, as to -- is better than the skill of

7 an attorney who is well seasoned and understands

8 the rules of evidence and knows what’s

9 objectionable and what’s not objectionable? ~

10 THE DEFENDANT: No, my skill is not

11 better than an attorney at law. But, Your Honor --

12 THE COURT: How do you perceive yourself

13 to be as effectuate or as effective I should say as

14 counsel would be? ;

15 THE DEFENDANT: Well to do a lot more

16 than what public pretender won’t do for me.

17 THE COURT: Don’t you think it’s best

18 for yourself, best for your case to cooperate with

19 your lawyer?

20 THE DEFENDANT: Cooperate?

21 THE COURT: And cooperate with your

22 lawyer and assist him in your defense because of

23 the knowledge that he has.

24 THE DEFENDANT: Wcuid I cooperate with

25 him? This man won’t even investigate stuff for me.

30a

Page 12

1 He refuse to give evidence to me. So how you talk

2 about cooperate with him? He never cooperate with

3 me. Now how is a man supposed to defend me if he

4 refuse to investigate. We went out to the scene

5 today. Now what you all was looking at, what you

6 all sent people out to investigate. I been told

7 him to investigate that fact forme. And never

8 been done. Did just like -- I got more -- I could

9 got better answer talking to a wall. He got a --

10 at least I could have got an echo.

11 THE COURT: Mr. Barth is very fine

12 lawyer, sir. He’s got an investigator on this

13 case, who I’m sure has investigated the case as

14 well as any case that’s been investigated. Because

15 you are not happy or perceive additional things

16 that may need to be investigated, those are things

17 to relate to your lawyer so they can possibly be

18 investigated.

19 THE DEFENDANT: When I had put up this

20 number one I wrote an affidavit of ineffective

21 assistancy of counsel. What I stated on this is

22 how this man would ineffective assistance of

23 counsel for me. And I wrote public defender office

24 in Madison trying to get something done. I wrote

25 down here to Marcus Johnson telling this man would

3la

Page 13

1 not have evidence introduced for me, nor, nor would

2 he give me certain evidence. And now he forward

3 the letter to Michael Barth. Now how this man

4 ineffective assistance of counselor if he won’t

5 investigate forme. And he -- or he won’t give me

6 evidence? Only thing I could think of he just join

7 the home team.

8 THE COURT: Mr. Barth, you stated to the

9 Court yesterday that you are prepared to proceed,

10 is that correct?

ll MR. BARTH: Yes.

12 | THECOURT: Completely investigated this

13 case?

14 MR. BARTH: I’m sorry?

15 THE COURT: Completely investigated this

16 case for the -- with the investigator?

17 MR. BARTH: Yes.

18 THE COURT: And you are prepared to go

19 forward, are you not?

20 MR. BARTH: I’m prepared to whatever the

21 Court orders.

22 THE COURT: State want to be heard on

23 this issue as to whether or not the defendant is

24 competent to voluntarily and knowingly and

25 intelligently waive that constitutional right to

32a

Page 14

1 proceed pro se?

2 The Court based upon the coiloquy that

3 the Court’s had with the defendant will be relying

4 on Pickins versus State, State versus Clinton,

5 Faretta versus California, and a number of other

6 cases. Go ahead.

7 MR. McCANN: If it please the Court,

8 just a number of issues that I’d like to raise for

9 the information of the defendant and for the

10 illumination of the Court in terms of what the ~

11 Court may wish to consider in assessing this

12 request.

13 One, we -- this is going to be a>

14 difficult challenge case. We will very probably --

15 we don’t decide this until after if there’s a

16 conviction. If there is a conviction under the

17 first degree intentional homicide charge, this

18 occurred after the adoption of the new State

19 statute on intentional homicide. And it will in

20 all likelihood be the recommendation of the

21 District Attorney’s office, if there is a

22 conviction under Count 1, that you would set his

23 first release date far beyond the natural term of

24 his life. In other words, we would be requesting

25 even under Count 1 that you not release him for

33a

Page 15

1 parole probably until after the year 2050 when he

was almost certainly, certainly be dead. We would

intend to seek maximum penalties of 25 years on

Count 2, consecutive to the life sentence. Maximum

penalty under Count 3, which would be another 25

years, consecutive to the life sentence and the 25

years in Count 2. Maximum sentence under Count 4

which would be another 25 years which is a total of

75 years plus life in effect without parole. Plus

10 on the armed burglary or for the burglary we would

11 be seeking ten years consecutive. And for the

12 felon in possession we would be seeking the maximum

13 of two years also consecutive to all other counts.

14 As the Court knows we’ve filed also for

15 a repeater under the repeater and will recommend

16 the maximum or each of those counts, six years per

17 count.

18 It is our intent as erstwhile as we can

19 to seek with all our capability to remove this man

20 from society for the rest of his natural life. We

21 will pull no punches because he undertakes to

22 represent himself. We will push it as aggressively

23 as though he were represented by most skilled

24 counsel such as Mr. Barth. There will be no easy

25 going for this defendant. We intend to object to

OOnnNMN WN

34a

Page 16

improperly phrased questions. We intend to object

if he tries to testify improperly. We intend to

hold him to the rules of law and the rules of

evidence as we would counsel.

There will also be some sophisticated

issues possibly raised. The Court has indicated

that it will entertain argument on the Balcerzak

matter if certain issues are filed and certain

issues raised. There will be issues on the

10 Boettcher, whether Boettcher -- what can be

11 discussed with respect to Ms. Boettcher. We --

12 there may be issues -- there certainly will be

13 ballistics, an issue on ballistics. The expertise

14 involved to cross examine Mr. Templin who is a

15 skilled ballistics expert.

16 It is my understanding that the

17 defendant intends to claim that he didn’t shoot

18 Officer Tourmo or that’s his basic approach. Our

19 key evidence will be ballistics evidence. And the

20 cross-examination of the ballistics expert is a

21 formidable challenge if one hopes to be successful.

22 And we are not going to permit improperly put

23 questions.

24 There will -- there may be evidence on

25 gunshot residue on barium and antimony and the

OOoryannh WN —

35a

Page 17 :

effect of that. Again that is expert testimony

requiring some knowledge of the chemical

background. We would tend to object to keep

improper matters from the jury. We intend to

object if irrelevant matters are raised. And we

intend to object if he giving general objections

and not stating the grounds.

8 As the Court full well knows sometimes

9 an improperly asked question, a skilled attorney

10 can rephrase it properly and get the evidence in.

11 In terms of the cross-examination is an art. We

12 intend to present dozens of witnesses.

13 Cross-examination is an art. Takes years of skill

14 to acquire the art that Mr. Barth has. This

15 defendant is somewhat inarticulate. We’ve heard

16 him here in court. He is cunning I think. But in

17 terms of articulate or persuasive orally I don’t

18 think so.

19 In terms of interruptions, improper .

20 interruptions we will cbject to that. There are

21 times when a skilled attorney decides whether a

22 witness can do more damage or better off to not to

23 call the witness. The skilled decision when to ask

24 no more questions, the question of whether the

25 defendant himself will testify. So far the Court

SNAP WN —

36a

Page 18

1 has asked as I see it several questions to which

2 there has been not as yet any satisfactory answer. .

3 Number one, what is this man’s

4 education. He said he got a GED at sixteen and a

5 half. I wonder how he did in school up to that

6 point. What if he’s attempted to educate himself

7 in the law in any other fashion. And how he did as

8 astudent. Was he a special student? Was he ina

9 special class. Was he -- in other words, what was

10 the level of his performance.

11 Secondly, he has not answered the

12 Court’s question what are the lesser included

13 offenses. What can he petition the Court for or

14 argue or shape the evidence as it comes in to

15 induce the jury to opt for a lesser included

16 offense.

17 So, one, I don’t think he has indicated

18 that he knows what the lesser included offenses

19 are, and secondly, as he indicated how to shape the

20 testimony to get it that way. The range of

21 allowable punishment I have discussed the maximum.

22 Of course there are below that you can follow. The

23 life can go down to regular life which is parole in

24 thirteen and a half years. And he could secure

25 probation basically for the other counts.

37a

Page 19

| What are the defenses to the charge? I

2 think the Judge -- the Court has touched on that

3 but not put that inquiry directly to him. Not

4 necessarily what his defense might be, but what are

5 the defenses. And what is the -- and the Court has

6 mentioned mitigation of the accusations but has not

7 inquired directly, sir, what do you mean to

8 understand by mitigation. And other general

9 questions that would bear on his understanding.

10 I know the law requires not just that

11 he’s told these things but that he is -- that the

12 evidence is an understanding of these things and

13 before they can be really knowing, intelligent

14 waiver.

15 It’s been often said that a man who

16 represents himself has a fool for a lawyer. And in

17 this case we have an unschooled man, no real formal

18 education apparently beyond GED. And he must be

19 told that this is hard ball we’re playing. This

20 isn’t bean bag and this isn’t sport. This is his

21 life at stake. We fully intend that he never again

22 walk the streets of the city. We will work as

23 skillfully as we can. We will make every effort to

24 see that he is locked behind bars. We will yield

25 no ground because he is not a high school graduate.

38a

Page 20

1 We will in no way temper our arguments because he

2 may be inarticulate. We will in no way blunt the

3 thrust of our attack because of his lack of

4 education and training. So let him be fully

5 informed of what our intents are and the fact that

6 we will in no way indulge this pursuit.

7 This is an ill-advised, unwise, tragic

8 for him, bad decision. I am not satisfied with

9 that he’s fully literate or that he’s competent to

10 speak for himself or that he has sufficient

11 understanding and I would urge the Court to go with

12 those questions on defenses on mitigation and I

13 think better we take an hour today than be

14 confronted with -- it is no doubt the intent of the

15 defendant to make error on this record. All of us

16 have been -- everybody in this room has had

17 extensive experience and knows what’s afoot here

18 and I would -- I for one would much rather take an

19 hour now for the Court to -- as much as we’re

20 desirous of proceeding this now being the third

21 day, I would rather much take an hour now than be

22 debating this in the Supreme Court and through a

23 series of habeas corpus in the Federal Court.

id THE COURT: You put that very well, Mr.

25 McCann, and the Court believes that those things

39a

Page 21 ;

1 that you have stated should be recognizable to the

2 defendant before the Court can allow him to proceed

3 prose. You heard Mr. McCann, Mr. Brooks, did you

4 not?

5 THE DEFENDANT: Yes, I did, Your Honor.

6 Proper person not pro se.

7 THE COURT: Pardon?

8 THE DEFENDANT: Appearing in proper

9 person not pro se. In fifth edition of Black Law

10 edition would explain what I just said.

11 THE COURT: Well let me ask you. What

12 are your defenses of potential defenses to the

13 offenses that are contained in the Information?

14 THE DEFENDANT: Of man not guilty by

15 necessary on that count. Michelle Boettcher not

16 guilty because I did never fire a shot, nor

17 Mozejewski. And as far as Tourmo go, there’s a lot

18 more to that case than what they want to admit.

19 Just like went back out to the scene today. They

20 think it might be holes in other places. Number

2i one, they didn’t even investigate this case good.

22 They can’t say where magic bullet and stuff. Hey,

23 this whole case this ain’t nothing but a

24 conspiracy. That’s all it is. If it’s not, where

25 is the magic bullets at. Where did my at. Went

40a

Page 22

1 back out to the scene today you might find them in

2 different place. This ain’t nothing but big

3 conspiracy and I can prove half of what I’m saying.

4 THE COURT: So basically one of your

5 defenses is that there’s conspiracy.

6 THE DEFENDANT: That’s right. Because

7 of changing everything, and doctor and everything

8 is included. Court transcript.

9 THE COURT: What about any mitigating

10 factors do you see, sir? Mr. Brooks, what about

11 mitigating factors as far as defenses, factual

12 basis for lesser included?

13 THE DEFENDANT: Well number one come

14 down to not guilty by necessary. Not guilty by

15 necessary. I got the right to defend myself. If

16 people get to popping at me nine time, I’m within

17 my right to do anything, anything to terminate that

18 threat. As far as Mozejewski and Boettcher, I

19 never did do that. You want me to -- like I said

20 once before, I always take a lie detector test on

21 anything I said.

22 THE COURT: You don’t have any comment,

23 Mr. Barth?

24 MR. BARTH: Your Honor, I did meet with

25 Mr. Brooks at Waupun prison. I did give him a

4la

Page 23

1 detailed memo that discussed the elements of Count

2 1 of this case. In that memo I also broke down

3 mitigating circumstances. Things that could

4 possibly result in a conviction of a lesser

5 included on Count 1, that being the second degree.

6 I believe that Mr. Brooks does have the right to

7 represent himself provided that he makes a knowing

8 and voluntary waiver to that effect.

9 Mr. Brooks has been advised by Mr.

10 McCann what Mr. McCann will seek in this matter.

11 And that Mr. McCann will not hold back. That is

12 one of the disadvantages of representing himself.

13 However if Mr. Brooks understands that Mr. McCann

14 is going to pursue this matter to the fullest

15 extent of his abilities and that he would hold Mr.

16 Brooks to the same standards as he would hold a

17 licensed attorney, --

18 THE COURT: Well that -- Well that --

19 one of those things it goes to obviously the rules

20 of evidence are going to be applicable as to anyone

21 in this courtroom who practices.

22 MR. BARTH: I know that Mr. Brooks has

23 filed numerous motions in this matter pro se.

24 THE DEFENDANT: Proper person.

25 MR. BARTH: Proper person as he puts it,

42a

Page 24

1 which is the English translation I believe. That

2 he does understand what the basis of those motions

3 or at least believe that he has sufficient factual

4 basis to put forth those motions.

5 THE COURT: Well --

6 MR. BARTH: I believe that he is

7 competent to represent himself provided he fully

8 understands what he is giving up and that is the

9 right of a person who’s well versed in the areas of

10 the law.

11 THE COURT: All right.

12 MR. BARTH: That he must also understand

13 that if he does proceed rvo se or proper person,

14 that should he not follow the rules of evidence or

15 becomes disruptive, that he can be removed from his

16.own counsel and that counsel could be inserted at

17 that point.

18 I am here. I am prepared to proceed. I

19 am prepared to proceed as either lead counsel or

20 stand by counsel, whatever the Court desires.

21 Should Mr. Brooks prove incapable of representing

22 himself, I will be here to step in at that point.

23 THE COURT: All right. In that case law

24 there has to be a deliberate choice. There’s got

25 to be a voluntary and knowing waiver. The Court is

43a

Page 25

1 somewhat skeptical on the defendant’s deliberate

2 choice or voluntary choice as to this issue based

3 upon the defendant’s prior conduct as far as to --

4 as far as him trying to obstruct the process of his

5 triai based upon his continuous motions seeking new

6 counsel. The Court questions legitimacy as to that

7 voluntariness based upon the prior record in this

8 case. Quite frankly I don’t -- I would perceive it

9 and it could be perceived based upon the record

10 that this is another ploy by this defendant based

11 upon the prior motions that he’s filed.

12 But let’s say that it is voluntary.

13 Then it still has to be certainly with knowledge

14 and with an intelligent decision and certainly the

15 awareness of the difficulties and disadvantages

16 that may -- that may come up in the course of the

17 trial -- and of course Mr. McCann certainly brought

18 many of those factors out, which the Court in the

19 following decision will certainly adopt as some

20 findings.

21 I -- during my colloquy and my

22 observation of this defendant over the last couple

23 of days I don’t believe that he’s given any

24 satisfactory answers to some of the questions that

25 the Court has presented. Whether or not it be the

44a

Page 26

defenses, the mitigation, whether or not there are

lesser included offenses. He hasn’t been very

articulate -- articulate in explaining that to the

Court, which goes to his knowledge or knowingly

waiving that constitutional right.

This is going to be a very difficult and

challenging case with a lot of different

evidentiary issues. And because of the magnitude

9 of those -- magnitude of the case that follows --

10 there’s probably -- at least from the witness list

11 there’s a lot of expert witnesses that are going to

12 be called to testify. And that goes to whether or

13 not defendant has the basis based upon the record

14 in this case, based upon his lack of educational

15 experiences, his articulateness, whether or not he

16 really can form the competency to knowingly waive

17 that constitutional night. For that reason the

18 Court’s going to deny the defendant’s motion. And,

19 counsel, you can proceed with him. Let’s go to

20 opening arguments.

21 THE DEFENDANT: Can you move -- can you

22 remove the bracelet off my arm so I can at least go

23 through my legal papers?

24 THE COURT: I can’t hear you, Mr.

25 Brooks.

ConA kh WN

45a

Appendix F

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Amendment VI to the Constitution of the United States

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shail enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the

State and district wherein the crime shall have been

committed, which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and

cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses

against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining

witnessés in his favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel

for his defence.

46a

Appendix G

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Title 28. Judiciary and Judicial Procedure

Part VI, Chapter 153. Habeas Corpus

§ 2254. State custody; remedies in Federal courts

(a) The Supreme Court, a Justice thereof, a circuit judge,

or a district court shall entertain an application for a writ of

habeas corpus in behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court only on the ground that he is in

custody in violation of the Constitution or laws or treaties of

the United States.

(b)(1) An application for a wnt of habeas corpus on

behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a

State court shall not be granted unless it appears that—

(A) the applicant has exhausted the remedies available in

the courts of the State; or

(B)(i) there is an absence of available State corrective

process; or

(ii) circumstances exist that render such process

ineffective to protect the nights of the applicant.

(2) An application for a wnt of habeas corpus may be

denied on the merits, notwithstanding the failure of the

applicant to exhaust the remedies available in the courts of

the State.

(3) A State shall not be deemed to have waived the

exhaustion requirement or be estopped from reliance upon

the requirement unless the State, through counsel, expressly

waives the requirement.

47a

(c) An applicant shall not be deemed to have exhausted

the remedies available in the courts of the State, within the

meaning of this section, if he has the right under the law of

the State to raise, by any available procedure, the question

- presented.

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus on behalf

of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State

court shall not be granted with respect to any claim that was

adjudicated on the merits in State court proceedings unless

the adjudication of the claim—

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or involved

an unreasonable application of, clearly established Federal

law, as determined by the Supreme Court of the United

States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light of the

evidence presented in the State court proceeding.

(e)(1) In a proceeding instituted by an application for a

writ of habeas corpus by a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court, a determination of a factual issue

made by a State court shall be presumed to be correct. The

applicant shall have the burden of rebutting the presumption

of correctness by clear and convincing evidence.

(2) If the applicant has failed to develop the factual basis

of a claim in State court proceedings, the court shall not hold

an evidentiary hearing on the claim unless the applicant

shows that—

(A) the claim relies on—

(i) a new rule of constitutional law, made retroactive to

cases on collateral review by the Supreme Court, that was

previously unavailable; or

48a

(ii) a factual predicate that could not have been

previously discovered through the exercise of due diligence;

and -

(B) the facts underlying the claim would be sufficient to

establish by clear and convincing evidence that but for

constitutional error, no reasonable factfinder would have

found the applicant guilty of the underlying offense.

(f) If the applicant challenges the sufficiency of the

evidence adduced in such State court proceeding to support

the State court's determination of a factual issue made

therein, the applicant, if able, shall produce that part of the

record pertinent to a determination of the sufficiency of the

evidence to support such determination. If the applicant,

because of indigency or other reason is unable to produce

such part of the record, then the State shall produce such part

of the record and the Federal court shall direct the State to do

so by order directed to an appropriate State official. If the

State cannot provide such pertinent part of the record, then

the court shall determine under the existing facts and

circumstances what weight shall be given to the State court's

factual determination.

(g) A copy of the official records of the State court, duly

certified by the clerk of such court to be a true and correct

copy of a finding, judicial opinion, or other reliable written

indicia showing such a factual determination by the State

court shall be admissible in the Federal court proceeding.

(h) Except as provided in section 408 of the Controlled

Substances Act, in all proceedings brought under this section,

and any subsequent proce:dings on review, the court may

appoint counsel for an applicant who is or becomes

financially unable to afford counsel, except as provided by a

rule promulgated by the Supreme Court pursuant to statutory

authority. Appointment of counsel under this section shall be

governed by section 3006A of title 18.

49a

(i) The ineffectiveness or incompetence of counsel during

Federal or State collateral postconviction proceedings shall

not be a ground for relief in a proceeding arising under

section 2254.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.