Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Blansett v. Continental Airlines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

() Supreme Court, U.S

—— OF BET UCT To 2004

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

MICHAEL “SHAWN” BLANSETT, MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS NEXT FRIENDS OF

MCKENNA BLANSETT AND BLAKE BLANSETT, MINORS,

Petitioners,

wa

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC..

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KENNETH T. FIBICH ROGER D. TOWNSEND *

FIBICH HAMPTON LEEBRON JENNIFER R. TILLISON

& GARTH, LLP ALEXANDER DUBOSE JONES

1401 McKinney, Ste 1800 & TOWNSEND LLP

Houston, Texas 77010 1844 Harvard Street

(713) 751-0025 Houston, Texas 77008

72.

A. CRAIG EILAND (713) 523-2358

2423 Market Street Counsel for Petitioners

Galveston, Texas 77550

(409) 763-3260

* Counsel of Record

LE ALE TLL ERA EIN ARMM NET IO DEERME ART HTN BGM HEE AIRES ARTS 2A ROY, APR ES AR TE MLE

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

This case presents an issue left unresolved in Olympic

Airways v. Husain, 540 U.S. 644, 124 S. Ct. 1221, 1229

n.9 (2004):

Does an airline’s failure to warn its passengers of the

risk of developing deep—vein thrombosis constitute an

“accident” under the Warsaw Convention?

(i) 2

ii

PARTIES

Petitioners are Michael “Shawn” Blansett, Modesta N.

Blansett, Individually and as next friends of McKenna .

Blansett and Blake Blansett, minors. ;

:

|

|

Respondent is Continental Airlines, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED. ...00cccsccsscsccsccsccccsesccssesesonsseoe i

nT nTIIIINedsioudsaastalabcasbuasapseeeiedsathictesbscosisapnbdneesnassoceineancens ii

pp i 8: |: ee Vv

I l

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT......... l

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED................. 2

ADDITIONAL STATUTES OR OTHER

EEE ee 2

RPA RRIUEEUE COP BEEES CASE oon ccccnccecsccnscesnccecsscceasece 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT ....0....ccccccccceseseeee: 4

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT

SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT... 5

A. A uniform interpretation of “accident”

under the Warsaw Convention is important

to international airlines, their passengers,

RTS RSI ASE ro 6

B. The issue implicates important policies of

the Federal Aviation Administration, but

the Fifth Circuit’s decision needlessly

creates tension with the policies of other

INIT is sii laeadiclabdbntasssatitanneusensauskanncbisen 8

C. Although the House of Lords and the

High Court of Australia have now

agreed to address this issue, those courts

have traditionally welcomed this Court’s

ES a EER 9

D. Resolving this issue also would resolve

multi-district litigation ...............ccccccceseeeees 10

(iii)

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S INTERPRETA-

TION OF “ACCIDENT” IS PROBABLY

RENN suitiinshatisenshniiaicaibabnntnaiicidiniscballanalaaiatiaicn 10

ee I ensisiuctsnaetaiisscisdpuashinadiaditinedaaedinnaibntelecadneien 13

ae a ale Ts ane ncn ale a te

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Pages

Air France v. Saks,

SFR Uh, SU CED iscitissinsanicanalaancciiaenins 6

Blansett v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc.,

STP Oe 077 Ce es BO tates ae eh

Blansett v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc.,

237 F. Supp. 2d 747 (S.D. Tex. 2002)............... oe

Blansett v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc.,

246 F. Supp. 2d 596 (S.D. Tex. 2002)............... 2

Cellco P’ship v. FCC,

SSF Fae ee es CE: ee citietsteinttteannin eaten 8

Deep Vein Thrombosis & Air Travel Group Litig.,

[2003] EWCA Civ. 1005 (July 3, 2003).......... 4,10, 12

Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd,

PF OS A TED issicadpttiicinsndyuhaietnbtaainesinadaionn 6

El Al Israel Airlines, Ltd. v. Tsui Yuan Tseng,

Rae Oh BSD CEO OE ticccthsitdienaiesinsabindeaties 6, 11

Fulop v. Malev Hungarian Airlines,

175 F.Supp. 2d 651 (S.D.N.Y. 2001)................ 13

Laborers’ Pension Fund v. Blackmore Sewer

_ Constr., Inc.,

yy. Swe ft Te, 1} Ay *: eee nTenD 8

Olympic Airways v. Husain,

540 U.S. 644, 124 S. Ct. 1221 (2004) oe ., passim

Qantas Ltd. v. Povey,

[2003] VSCA 227, 2003 WL 23000692

CEROE. Zap BED ccceniennnstnihesiniteisgsettdliihanidiaulane 4,10, 12

Witty v. Delta Airlines, Inc.,

366 F.3d 380 (Sth Cir. 2004)... eee eeeeeeeee 8

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATUTES & TREATIES

Be UB Kx © TAGE Miinancinsescnstenesiniamesniaiaiae

2B UB. © [Fee ichsiciattnaa <a asiiadiiaaidginadaalin

BB UBC. GESEE cincnssccsesntininasbianadaiimmniiiaaiadi

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules

Relating to International Transportation by

Air, Oct. 12, 1929 (“Warsaw Convention”),

49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), Note

following 49 U.S.C. § 40105... eeeeeeees

Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of

the Warsaw Convention and the Hague

Protocol, CAB 18900, approved by CAB

Order E-23680, May 13, 1966, 31 Fed. Reg.

TIES (TPE ctaguitctnintirengias

Montreal Protocol No. 4 to Amend the Conven-

tion for the Unification of Certain Rules

Relating to International Carriage by Air

Signed at Warsaw on 12 October 1929 as

Amended by the Protocol Done at the Hague

on 28 September 1955, signed at Montreal on

25 September 1975, ratified by the United

States 1998, reprinted in S. Exec. Rep. No.

FDIS CEI D ancconsssccisicasentiqemedeatuconatennelamananiae

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

MICHAEL “SHAWN” BLANSETT; MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS NEXT FRIENDS OF

MCKENNA BLANSETT AND BLAKE BLANSETT, MINORS,

Petitioners,

We

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC..,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

= OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported as Blansett

v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 379 F.3d 177 (Sth Cir. 2004).

The opinions of the district court are reported as Blansett v.

Continental Airlines, Inc., 246 F. Supp. 2d 596 (S.D. Tex.

2002), and Blansett v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 237 F. Supp.

2d 747 (S.D. Tex. 2002).

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION IN THIS COURT

The court of appeals entered its final judgment on July 21,

2004. This Court has certiorari jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

9

ae

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

(1) Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relat-

ing to International Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929

(“Warsaw Convention’), 49 Stat. 3000, TS 876, Note

Following 49 U.S.C. § 40105.

e 2 ©

Chapter III. Liability of the Carrier

Article 17

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the event

of the death or wounding of a passenger or any other bodily

injury suffered by a passenger, if the accident which caused

the damage so sustained took place on board the aircraft or in

the course of any of the operations of embarking or dis-

embarking.

x *k &*

ADDITIONAL STATUTES OR OTHER PROVISIONS

The relevant portions of the following statutes and other

provisions are reproduced in the appendix:

49 U.S.C. § 44701(a)(5)

14. C.F.R. § 121.1(a)

14C.F.R. § 121.11

14 C.F.R. § 121.317

14 C.F.R. § 121.535(c)(2)

14 C-F.R. § 121.535(f)

' The Warsaw Convention has been amended by the Agreement

Relating to Liability Limitations of the Warsaw Convention and the

Hague Protocol, CAB 18900, approved by CAB Order E-23680, May 13,

1966, 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966), and Montreal Protocol No. 4 to Amend

the Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to

International Carriage by Air Signed at Warsaw on 12 October 1929 as

Amended by the Protocol Done at the Hague on 28 September 1955,

signed at Montreal on 25 September 1975, ratified by the United States

1998, reprinted in S. Exec. Rep. No. 105-20 (1998). These amendments

do not affect Article 17.

14 C.F.R. § 121.537

14 C.F.R. § 121.571

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

During an international flight from Houston to London,

Shawn Blansett suffered a permanently debilitating cerebral

stroke, which was caused by a blood clot that formed during

the flight. As a result, Shawn is now bound to a wheel chair,

unable to walk or talk normally, and unable to take care of his

own basic needs. The Blansetts filed suit against Continental

Airlines, Inc., alleging that Continental’s failure to warn

about the risks of developing deep—vein thrombosis (DVT)

constitutes an “accident” under the Warsaw Convention.

Because the Warsaw Convention is a treaty, the district

court exercised federal-question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331.

Continental moved to dismiss the Blansetts’ failure-to-

warn claim and moved for partial summary judgment. Both

motions were denied. The district court ruled that the

Blansetts stated a viable claim since Continental’s failure to

warn of the risk of deep-vein thrombosis was an “accident,”

because Continental’s failure was an “abnormal and unrea-

sonable application of routine procedure, and thus, it was

unusual and unexpected.” Blansett v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc.,

237 F. Supp. 2d 747, 751-52 (S.D. Tex. 2002), rev'd, 379

F.3d 177 (Sth Cir. 2004). In denying summary judgment, the

district -court concluded: “An airline’s violation of an

industry standard of care, alone, can be ‘an unusual or

unexpected event or happening that is external to the

passenger,’ . . . and thus, an ‘accident.’” Blansett v. Cont'l

Airlines, Inc., 246 F. Supp. 2d 596, 601 (S.D. Tex. 2002),

rev'd, 379 F.3d 177 (Sth Cir. 2004). The district court recog-

nized that a contrary ruling “would have the ironic result

of rewarding individual airlines for adopting an ‘ostrich’

approach of failing to institute routine safety procedures in

EEO

4

compliance with generally recognized industry standards of

care.” /d.

The parties filed an agreed motion to certify an inter-

locutory appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) on the question

whether the failure to warn a passenger on an international

flight about deep-vein thrombosis constitutes an “accident”

under the Warsaw Convention. For purposes of this appeal,

Continental concedes that warning about the risk of deep-vein

thrombosis was standard in the airline industry.

The Fifth Circuit reversed the district court. Blansett v.

Cont 'l Airlines, Inc., 379 F.3d 177, 182 (Sth Cir. 2004). The

court of appeals concluded that Continental’s failure to warn

of the risk of deep—vein thrombosis was not “unusual or

unexpected,” because warnings were not required by the

Federal Aviation Administration. /d. As a result, the court

held that Shawn Blansett’s injury did not constitute an

“accident” under the Warsaw Convention.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

This Court should grant certiorari because the issue is

important throughout the world. International air travel

affects millions of passengers and scores of airlines. That is

why so many nations have signed the Warsaw Convention.

Yet courts have not definitively settled whether the failure to

warn about the risk of deep-vein thrombosis constitutes an

“accident” within the meaning of the Warsaw Convention.

The highest courts of England and Australia have recently

agreed to consider this issue. See Deep Vein Thrombosis &

Air Travel Group Litig., [2003] EWCA Civ. 1005 (July 3,

2003) (leave to appeal granted); Qantas Ltd. v. Povey, [2003]

_ VSCA 227, 2003 WL 23000692 (Dec. 23, 2003) (special

leave to appeal granted). This Court should decide it, because

courts throughout the world have traditionally looked to this

Court for guidance about the definition of “accident” under

the Warsaw Convention.

5

The risk of deep-vein thrombosis is present in all lengthy

airplane flights. As a result, many airlines warn of the risk of

deep-vein thrombosis and advise their passengers how to

minimize the risk. The Federal Aviation Administration’s

website discusses the danger and recommends warnings in

great detail. Because not all airlines have provided warnings,

however, litigation by injured passengers and their families is

pending in other nations and in a multi-district proceeding

in California.

The Fifth Circuit’s decision, however, distorts the analysis.

The court has created a tension between the policies of the

FAA and those of other nations. The court held that an

airline cannot be liable under the Warsaw Convention for a

failure’ to warn, provided the airline complied with the

minimum warnings required by the FAA. Tying liability to

local standards conflicts with the power of other nations to set

higher standards for flights arriving in or departing from their

territories. If other nations require warnings, but the FAA

does not, has there been an “accident”? The result is likely to

be a Balkanization of the application of the Saks definition of

“accident,” which would contradict a major purpose of the

Warsaw Convention—uniformity. To ensure a uniform defi-

nition, this Court should resolve this issue.

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW

THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE,

SETTLED BY THIS COURT.

Although the Court addressed the definition of “accident”

under the Warsaw Convention just last term, this precise issue

was not resolved. The Court noted that cases alleging a

failure to warn of the risk of deep—vein thrombosis have

“substantial factual distinctions” from the allegations at issue

in Olympic Airways v. Husain, 540 U.S. 644, 124 S. Ct. 1221,

1229 n.9 (2004). Accordingly, except for the Fifth Cir-

6

cuit’s decision in the present case, this issue remains open

in America.

A. A uniform interpretation of “accident” under

the Warsaw Convention is important to inter-

national airlines, their passengers, and courts.

A uniform interpretation of “accident” under the Warsaw

Convention would assist the airline industry. It also could

resolve many cases pending around the nation and provide

guidance to courts around the world.

The Warsaw Convention provides the exclusive cause of

action and remedy for those suffering an accident on an

international flight. E/ Al Israel Airlines, Ltd. v. Tsui Yuan

Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 177 (1999). To prevail under article 17

of the Warsaw Convention, a plaintiff must establish that: (1)

an accident (2) took place on board the aircraft or in the

course of operations of embarking or disembarking (3) which

caused (4) an injury. Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 499 U.S.

530, 535-36 (1991). An “accident” is defined as “[a]n

unexpected or unusual event or happening that is external to

the passenger.” Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 405

(1985). The definition is to be flexibly applied. Jd. When-

ever there is contradictory evidence, the trier_of fact deter-

mines whether an “accident” caused the injury. /d.

All international long-haul passengers are subject to the

risk of developing deep—vein thrombosis, not just those with

known risk factors. A peer-reviewed medical study found

that as many as 10% of passengers with no history of

thromboembolic problems can develop symptoms of deep-

vein thrombosis during an eight-hour flight. Shawn Blansett,

only thirty-six years old at the time of his stroke, was one

of these.

The dangers of deep-vein thrombosis have long been

known by the International Air Transport Association

(“IATA”), which is the international commercial aviation

eS

7 \

industry’s trade organization of approximately 275 members,

including Continental. In 1986, the IATA included warnings

about the risk of deep-vein thrombosis in its medical manual

distributed to members. The IATA manual mentioned that

“(prolonged immobilization on long flights has a noticeable

effect on the circulation, especially in the lower limbs.”

Because “the opportunity for physical exercise is very

limited,” since aircraft “aisles will be blocked most of the

time by cabin personnel serving passengers,” IATA recom-

mended that its members encourage their passengers to “take

every Opportunity to exercise” especially “during interme-

diate stops.” IATA’s recommendations, however, went even

further: “During flight, passengers should be encouraged to

move their feet frequently and exercise the muscles of the

legs. When possible, to minimize ankle and feet swelling, the

passengers should stand and walk the aisles for a few minutes

every hour or so and to elevate the feet as high as possible

while sitting.”

Several months before Shawn Blansett’s flight in 2001, the

IATA instructed carriers to inform travelers of the risks of

deep-vein thrombosis when the reservation is booked. The

IATA also advised carriers to remind their passengers—just

before boarding and again while on board—to drink sufficient

fluids, wear loose-fitting clothes, avoid smoking and

alcoholic beverages, and perform physical exercises in their

seats (particularly for their feet and legs).

In accordance with the IATA recommendations, many

major international air carriers warned their passengers of the

risk of deep-vein thrombosis. These included Air Canada,

Air New Zealand, All Nippon Airways, American Airlines,

British Airways, Emirates Airlines, Japan Airlines, Northwest

Airlines, Qantas, and Singapore Airlines. But Continental did

not. As a result, many passengers received warnings and

avoided deep-vein thrombosis, while others such as Shawn

Blansett did not. Those who were injured as a result of not

receiving warnings have initiated litigation around the world.

— — =

8

Given the huge increase in international air travel, both

passengers and carriers have an interest in seeing this issue

resolved. The courts where litigation is pending also need

guidance. This Court should resolve this question.

B. The issue implicates important policies of the

Federal Aviation Administration, but the Fifth

Circuit’s decision needlessly creates tension

with the policies of other nations.

The Federal Aviation Administration’s website mentions the

risk of deep-vein thrombosis and recommends that passengers

be warned about it. The website of the FAA’s Office of

Aerospace Medicine contains multiple links to warnings

about deep-vein thrombosis. See www.cami.jccbi.gov/

aam-400/PassengerHandS.htm#Specifictopics. These links, in

turn, discuss preventative measures like those the IATA had

recommended prior to Shawn Blansett’s injury. See www.

cami.jccbi.gov/aam-400A/FASMB/FAS200101/DVT.htm.

Nevertheless, the Fifth Circuit has expressed concern about

the tension between the recommended precautions against

deep—vein thrombosis and the risk of injury to passengers

wandering about the cabin. This led the Fifth Circuit in

another case to hold that claims of a failure to warn against

the risk of deep—vein thrombosis were preempted by the FAA

regulations. Witty v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 366 F.3d 380, 385

(Sth Cir. 2004). That case was not decided under the Warsaw

Convention, because it involved only a domestic flight. But it

demonstrates the importance of this issue to airlines and

_

> The federal courts may take judicial notice on appeal of matters pub-

lished on the official website of a federal governmental entity or agency.

E.g., Cellco P’ship v. FCC, 357 F.3d 88, 93. 96 (D.C. Cir. 2004);

Laborers’ Pension Fund v. Blackmore Sewer Constr., Inc., 298 F.3d 600,

607 (7th Cir. 2092).

ee a, ae Pe eee ee ee eS ee eee

9

passengers. Deciding this issue could reconcile that per-

ceived tension within the FAA’s policies.

Moreover, the Fifth Circuit’s decision has needlessly

created a tension between the policies of our government and

those of other nations. The Fifth Circuit has limited the

definition of “accident”—what is “unusual or unexpected”—

to whatever is required by the FAA at a particular point in

history. Its logic seems to grant the FAA implied power to

define the requirements of the Warsaw Convention. While

the FAA certainly can establish minimum standards for

international flights arriving in or departing from America, it

should not have the power to prevent other nations from

requiring higher standards for their flights if they so choose.

But the Fifth Circuit’s hoiding says that an airline cannot be

liable under the Warsaw Convention, provided it complied

with the minimum warnings mandated only by the FAA in

America. Thus, even if British law required a warning about

deep-vein thrombosis, the failure to warn an American

passenger would not be actionable under the Warsaw Con-

vention. And even a British passenger on a flight to or from

America could not recover in an American court. This

suggests that the Fifth Circuit’s opinion may lead to different

applications of the definition of “accident” to warnings claims

in different nations. Tying liability standards to local law is

precisely opposite the intention behind the drafting of the

Warsaw Convention.

C. Although the House of Lords and the High

Court of Australia have now agreed to address

this issue, those courts have fraditionally

welcomed this Court’s guidance.

In deciding what constituted an “accident” in Olympic

Airways v. Husain, this Court was “hesitant” to follow “the

opinions of intermediate appellate courts” of other signatories

to the Warsaw Convention, because their courts of last resort

ee

10

had not yet spoken. 124 S. Ct. at 1229 n.9._ Recently,

however, both the House of Lords and the High Court of

Australia have decided to address whether the failure to warn

of the risk of deep—vein thrombosis is an “accident” under the

Warsaw Convention.’

Although this Court could await the outcome of those

decisions, it should not. This Court’s decisions have led the

analysis of what is an “accident” under the Warsaw Con-

vention. The Saks definition of “accident” has been the

touchstone for England, Australia, Canada, and Germany in

their cases under the Warsaw Convention. Accordingly,

those courts would likely welcome the guidance of this Court

in resolving this issue, which could restore uniformity to the

definition under the treaty.

D. Resolving this issue also would resolve multi-

district litigation.

Moreover, the issue whether an airline’s failure to warn

about the risks of deep—vein thrombosis is currently the

subject of multi-district litigation pending in the Northern

District of California. A decision on this issue would resolve

that litigation with regard to the failure-to-warn claims.

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S INTERPRETATION OF

“ACCIDENT” IS PROBABLY INCORRECT.

The Fifth Circuit held that the failure to warn of the risk of

deep-vein thrombosis was not an “accident” under the

* See Deep Vein Thrombosis & Air Travel Group Litig., [2003] EWCA

Civ. 1005 (July 3, 2003) (leave to appeal granted, Minutes and Order

Paper—Minutes of Proceedings, House of Lords, July 14, 2004 (avail-

able at www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld200304/minutes/0407 | 4/

Idminute.htm)); Qantas Lid. v. Povey, [2003] VSCA 227, 2003 WL

23000692 (Dec. 23, 2003) (special leave to appeal granted, Melbourne |

Sept. 10, 2004 (available at www.hcourt.gov.au/registry/slresults/10-09-

04M.htm)).

11

Warsaw Convention. It reasoned that the failure to warn was

not unexpected or unusual, because Continental complied

with the FAA’s mandated warnings. Blansett, 379 F.3d at

182. That reasoning is questionable at best. Its logic

suggests that the FAA’s regulations impliedly govern

international air flights having no relationship to America

and, thus, sets up a potential tug of war between what

international governments might require under the Warsaw

Convention and the minimum warnings mandated by the

FAA. See I.,B., supra.

A better test is whether the external cause of the accident

was unexpected or unusual to the passenger, for that test fits

the purpose of the Warsaw Convention, which was to expand

liability in exchange for limiting damages. E.g., El-Al Israel

Airlines, Ltd. v. Tsui Yuan Tseng, 505 U.S. 155, 170-71

(1999). That test seems to flow from this Court’s logic in

Olympic Airways v. Husain. There, this Court suggested that

the presence of an industry standard was critical to the

existence of an “accident.” Although this Court did not have

to reach that precise question because of the procedural

posture of Husain, 124 S. Ct. at 1227, it appears that the

Court would treat the failure to follow an industry standard as

an unexpected or unusual event:

Suppose that a passenger on a flight inexplicably

collapses and stops breathing and that a medical doctor

informs the flight crew that the passenger’s life could be

saved only if the plane lands within one hour. Suppose

further that it is industry standard and airline policy to

divert a flight to the nearest airport when a passenger

otherwise faces imminent death. If the plane is within

30 minutes of a suitable airport, but the crew chooses to

continue its cross-country flight, “[t]he notion that this is

not an unusual event is staggering.”

Id. at 1229 (quoting McCaskey v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc., 159 F.

Supp. 2d 562, 574 (S.D. Tex. 2001)).

12

Thus, according to Olympic Airways v. Husain, the failure

to follow an industry standard and airline policy can be an

unusual event, which constitutes an “accident” when that

failure is a link in the causal chain of the ultimate injury.

This is as it should be. Passengers should have the right to

expect compliance with all industry standards. While they

cannot contend that the standard should be improved, since

that would impermissibly inject negligence into the case, they

should be able to demonstrate that the failure to comply with

an industry standard is “unusual and unexpected.” Otherwise,

the airline has no incentive to prevent injuries that can easily

be prevented. Here, a link in the chain causing Shawn

Blansett’s stroke was Continental’s unexpected failure to

follow the industry standard of warning about the risks of

deep-vein thrombosis, when Continental knew the risk, but

Shawn did not.

The presence of an industry standard has led this Court to

reject the reasoning of England’s and Australia’s intermediate

appellate courts. See Olympic Airways v. Husain, 124 S. Ct.

at 1229 n.9 (“To the extent that the precise reasoning used by

the courts in Deep Vein Thrombosis and Air Travel Group

Litigation and Povey is inconsistent with our reasoning, we

reject the analysis of those cases for the reasons stated in the

body of this opinion.”). Moreover, even the opinions of those

intermediate appellate courts suggested that they might have

reached a different result if they had been presented with an

established industry standard, as in Blansett. See Deep Vein

Thrombosis & Air Travel Group Litig., [2003] EWCA Civ.

1005, at | 46 (July 3, 2003) (leave to appeal granted) (“If this

was contrary to standard practice, or even the airline’s

internal practice, then it is perhaps arguable that there

occurred an unusual or unexpected ‘event.’”). Likewise, the

Povey decision distinguished Blansett on the ground that the

latter has an industry standard, while Povey did not. See

Qantas Ltd. v. Povey, [2003] VSCA 227, § 197, 2003

F

:

:

13 ;

WL 23000692, 4 197 (Dec. 23, — (special leave to ap-

peal granted).

Because the IATA and the majority of international air

carriers have set a standard for warning about deep-vein

thrombosis—and Continental does not dispute the standard

for purposes of this appeal—Continental’s failure to abide by

that standard was unusual or unexpected to the industry, as

well as to its passengers such as Shawn Blansett. See Fulop

v. Malev Hungarian Airlines, 175 F. Supp. 2d 651, 665

(S.D.N.Y. 2001) (“Any major deviation from a standard

articulated in recognized practices and procedures repre-

sents the exceptional case—the unusual or unexpected —

happening.”). When that deviation causes an injury on board

the aircraft, it should constitute an “accident” under the

Warsaw Convention. Therefore, the Fifth Circuit’s analysis

appears incorrect.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH T. FIBICH ROGER D. TOWNSEND *

FIBICH HAMPTON LEEBRON JENNIFER R. TILLISON

& GARTH, LLP ALEXANDER DUBOSE JONES

1401 McKinney, Ste 1800 & TOWNSEND LLP

Houston, Texas 77010 1844 Harvard Street

(713) 751-0025 Houston, Texas 77008

A. CRAIG EILAND (ria) sar eae

2423 Market Street Counsel for Petitioners

Galveston, Texas 77550

(409) 763-3260

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A .

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Jul. 21, 2004]

Docket No. 03-40545

MICHAEL SHAWN BLANSETT; MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

AND AS NEXT FRIEND OF MCKENNA BLANSETT, AS NEXT

FRIEND OF BLAKE BLANSETT, INDIVIDUALLY AND MINORS.

Plaintiffs-Appellees

Cross-Appellants,

Vv.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC..,

Defendants-Appellant

Cross-Appellee.

Sept. 4, 2003 Argued

May 24 2004 Argued

July 21, 2004 Decided

Before SMITH and DENNIS, Circuit Judges, and LYNN, |

District Judge.

OPINION

e JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge:

I.

On June 18, 2001 plaintiff Michael “Shawn” Blansett

traveled from Houston, Texas, to London, England on a flight

operated by Continental Airlines, Inc. (“Continental”).

During flight, he suffered an episode of deep vein thrombosis

' District Judge of the Northern District of Texas, sitting by designation.

2a

—_

(“DVT”), resulting in a cerebral stroke that left him

permanently debilitated. DVT involves the clotting of blood

in the extremities and creates a threat of death or disability if

a clot migrates to the lungs or other vital organs.

The likelihood of a DVT injury is heightened by the

pressurized conditions aboard an airliner, especially during

long flights, though experts believe that passengers may

undertake precautionary measures to reduce the risk. Many

international carriers have added DVT warnings to their

battery of pre-flight instructions to passengers, though at the

time of Blansett’s flight, Continental had not. Federal

regulations do not require that air carriers issue any such

warnings, though at the time of Blansett’s flight, the

International Air Transport Association, a trade association,

had recommended that airlines implement a long schedule of

instructions to passengers on the risks of DVT.

Blansett and his close relations sued, Continental, alleging

that it was liable for Blansett’s injury under article 17 of the

Warsaw Convention, to which the United States is a

signatory. Under article 17, an airline is responsible for

injuries to passengers on an international flight where the

injury results from an “accident.” The district court denied

Continental’s motion to dismiss under Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(b)(6), concluding that if Continental’s failure to provide

DVT warnings and instructions was an “unreasonable

deviation from industry standards,” it would be an “accident”

under the Convention. We now consider Continental’s

interlocutory appeal, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), on the

issue of article 17°s proper meaning and application.

We review a rule 12(b)(6) ruling de novo. See, e.g., Lowrey

v. Texas A&M Univ. Sys., 117 F.3d 242, 246 (Sth Cir.1997).

We assume the truth of all pleaded facts and review purely

legal issues de nove. Concluding that Continental’s failure to

3a

provide DVT warnings and instructions could not have

constituted an “accident” under article 17, we reverse and

remand.

Il.

Article 17 imposes liability on an air carrier for a pass-

enger’s death or bodily injury in connection with an inter-

national flight. It provides in relevant part:

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the

event of the death or wounding of a passenger or any

other bodily injury suffered by a passenger, if the

accident which caused the damage so sustained took

place on board the aircraft or in the course of any of the

operations of embarking or disembarking.

49 Stat. 3000, 1934 WL 29042.

The pertinent question, as we have said, is whether

Continental’s failure to provide warnings and instructions

concerning DVT could have constituted a covered “accident”

under article 17. Because the Convention was written in

French and against the background of French law, the

Supreme Court has looked to French law to interpret the

meaning of “accident” in article 17. Air France v. Saks, 470

U.S. 392, 400 (1985). In French law, “accident” is usually

given to mean a “fortuitous, unexpected, unusual, or

unintended event.” Jd. The Court noted, accordingly, that an

accident under article 17 is an “unexpected or unusual

event... .” /d.

The Convention speaks of an “accident which caused” an

injury rather than an accident that is an injury. Jd. at 398, 105

S. Ct. 1338. Accordingly, a qualifying “unusual or

unexpected event” must be distinct from “the passenger’s

own internal reaction to the usual, normal, and expected

operation of the aircraft.” Jd. at 405, 406, 105 S. Ct. 1338. For

instance, where normal pressurization of the aircraft hull

4a

caused hearing damages to an unusually sensitive passenger,

the occurrence of the injury was not an “accident,” however

unusual or unexpected. /d. An “unusual or unexpected event”

that qualifies under article 17 must be part of the “chain of

causes” leading to an injury. /d. at 406, 105 S. Ct. 1338. So,

it need not account wholly for the injury but must have been a

significant part of the cause.

In Husain v. Olympic Airways, 124 S. Ct. 1221, 1227-30

(2004), the Court concluded that, under some circumstances,

an “accident” may constitute an omission or refusal to act. In

Husain, a passenger with an allergy to smoke asked to be

reseated when smoke from another section of the plane

impinged his seat in a nominally smoke-free area. The crew

refused three times to reseat him, even though other seats

were available, and as a result of the smoke, he suffered aa

allergic reaction and died. The Court held that the airline’s

refusals constituted a qualifying “unusual or unexpected

event” under article 17. /d. at 1230.

Il.

The situation in the instant case differs markedly from that

in Husain. Here, no request was made of the airline; the flight

staff was entirely passive. The Supreme Court noted that facts

similar to those here are at least distinguishable from those in

Husain. Justice Scalia’s dissent, id. at 1230, 1231 (Scalia, J.,

dissenting), pointed to decisions in several foreign juris-

dictions concluding that a failure to warn and instruct of DVT

risks is not an “event” under article 17. The Court stated that

the failure to give warning in the foreign Warsaw Convention

cases involving DVT, as distinguished from a specific refusal

to lend requested aid in Husain, was enough to prevent

conflict between them. /d. at 1229 n. 9.

That is to say, the Court specifically left open the question

now before us, even as it supplied the general rules for the

detection of qualifying “accidents” under article 17. In this

Sa

case, as the Court did in Husain, we consider whether certain

omissions may constitute an “accident” under article 17.

The district court held, “An airline’s violation of an Indus-

try standard of care, alone, can be an ‘unusual or unexpected

event or happening that is external to the passenger,” ... and

thus an ‘accident.’” Blansett v. Cont’ Airlines, Inc., 246 F.

Supp. 2d 596, 601 (S.D. Tex. 2002). Accordingly, the court

would have left it to the jury to determine whether

Continental’s failure to provide the suggested DVT warnings

was an “unexpected and unreasonable departure from routine

industry procedure,” and thus necessarily an accident under

the Convention. /d. at 602. In so holding, the court wished to

compel airlines to “keep up with reasonable and practical

industry practices.” /d. at 601.

In allowing a finding of an “unreasonable” departure from

“airline standards” to establish an unusual and unexpected

event, the district court’s approach resembles that of the

Ninth Circuit, which held, in its iteration of Husain that

preceded the Supreme Court’s review, that “[t}he failure to

act in the face of a known, serious risk satisfies the meaning

of ‘accident’ within Article 17 so long as reasonable

alternatives exist that would substantially minimize the risk

and implementing these alternatives would not interfere with

the normal, expected operation of the airplane.” Husain

v. Olympic Airways, 316 F.3d 829, 837 (9th Cir.2002)

(emphasis added), aff'd, 124 S. Ct. 1221 (2004).2 The latter

part of this formulation echoes formulations of the law of

negligence in torts. Although the Supreme Court ultimately

affirmed that Olympic Airways’ refusal to aid the plaintiff

See also F: ulop v. Malev Hungarian Airlines, 175 F. Supp. 2d 651,

665 (S.D.N.Y. 2001) (“Any major deviation from a standard articulated in

recognized practices and procedures represents the exceptional case—the

unusual or unexpected happening.”)

6a

was an “accident,” the Court declined to base its analysis on

language of reasonableness or unreasonableness.

Likewise, we reject the district court’s use of an “unrea-

sonable departure” approach here. Inasmuch as the court

called for the consideration whether Continental’s conduct

was an accident merely because it was “unreasonable,” it was

in error. ;

The Blansetts accept that the district court’s choice of

language was inapt, but they argue nonetheless that they can

demonstrate that Continental’s failure to give DVT warnings

was an “unusual and unexpected event” merely because it

was departure from standard practice within the airline

industry. For purposes of this appeal, we assume the truth of

the Blansetts’ allegation that Continental’s failure to provide

DVT warnings as part of its battery of pre-flight instructions

is a departure from an “industry standard.”

As we have said, the Supreme Court has held that some

kinds of inaction can constitute an “accident.” In Husain,

specific refusals to render requested aid constituted an

“unexpected or unusual event.” We take note also of the

Court’s mention of the example proffered by the district

judge a quo in another case, in which he speculated that it

would be an “unusual and unexpected event” if an air crew

decided not to divert a flight to save the life of a passenger

who suddenly became ill. Husain, 124 S. Ct. at 1229 (citing

McCaskey v. Cont’l Airlines, Inc., 159 F. Supp. 2d 562, 574

(S.D. Tex. 2001)). In Husain’ and the McCaskey hypo-

° As the United Kingdom Court of Appeals observed with respect to

Husain,

“(t]he refusal of the flight attendant to move Dr. Hanson cannot

properly be considered mere inertia, or a non-event. It was a refusal

to provide an alternative seat which formed part of a more complex

incident, whereby Dr. Hanson was exposed to smoke in circum-

stances that can properly be described as unusual and unexpected.”

Deep Vein Thrombosis & Air Travel Litig., 2003 WL 21353471,

| :

Ta

thetical, unusual circumstances existed to elevate the willing

inaction of airline personnel from mere inertia—from a non-

event—to an event both “unexpected and unusual.’

No such circumstances were thrust on the flight crew in the

present case, and their compliance with the regular policy of

their airline was hardly unexpected. Rather, the Blansetts

allege that the “unexpected” nature of the alleged event arose

not from the choices of the flight attendants, but from the

Continental policymakers who decided not to mandate DVT

warnings on Continental flights.

The Blansetts reason that though this decision occurred at a

time and place distant from Blansett’s flight, article 17 is to

be “applied flexibly” after “assessment of all the circum-

stances surrounding a passenger’s injuries. . . .” See Saks, 470

U.S. at 405. It is appropriate to consider the deliberate

perpetuation of company-wide policies as potential “events”

within the context of the individual flights in which they are

given effect. We may accordingly compare the instructions

given on Continental flights with those customarily given

within the airline industry generally, in gauging whether Con-

tinental’s deliberate choice was “unusual and unexpected.”

Again, we assume, for purposes of this appeal, that a

failure to warn of DVT is a departure from “an industry

standard of care.”° But, we will not depart from the demon-

{ 50 (emphasis added); see also Qantas Ltd. v. Povey, [2003] VSCA

227, | 17, 2003 WL 23000692, 4 17 (Dec. 23, 2003).

* judge Dennis disagrees with the mere inertia/inertia plus unusual

circumstances dichotomy drawn by the majority because: (1) it is not

necessary to the resolution of this case, (2) the Supreme Court left-the

issue open in Husain, and (3) the potential ramifications of distinguishing

between different types of inaction are not clear.

* As the district court noted, he relied on the testimony of an expert

witness, Farrol Kahn, who was of the opinion that failure to provide DVT

warnings departed from industry custom. McCaskey, 246 F. Supp. 2d at

601. Kahn noted that at the time of Blansett’s injury, five of the ten most-

8a

strated will of the Supreme Court by creating a per se rule

that any departure from an industry standard of care must be

an “accident.” In Husain, 124 S.Ct. at 1230, the Court again

emphasized that the appropriate test for article 17’s

application under every set of relevant facts is whether there

was an “unexpected or unusual event.” Some departures from

an “industry standard” might be qualifying accidents under

Article 17, and some may not.

Continental’s failure to warn of DVT was not an “unusual

or unexpected event” and not a qualifying “accident.” Though

many international carriers in 2001 included DVT warnings, -

it is undisputed that many did not. Moreover, Continental’s

battery of warnings was in accord with the policies of the

Federal Aviation Administration (“FAA”), which prescribes

what warnings airlines should issue to passengers.

In Witty v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 366 F.3d 380 (Sth Cir.

2004), we held that the warnings reasonably required to be

made by an airline are those enumerated by the FAA, and no

others.° We noted that the balance of warnings required by

the government is the product of its careful judgment. For

example, “Any warning that passengers should not stay in

their seats, but should instead move about to prevent DVT,

would necessarily conflict with any federal determination

that, all things considered, passengers are safer in their seats.”

Id. at 385. We noted also that the courts’ requirement of other

warnings would dilute the impact of warnings that are

required by the FAA.

traveled international airlines provided information and instructions to

passengers about DVT. /d. at 602.

° “[FJederal regulations do not require warnings to passengers about

the risks of DVT or methods for preventing this condition.” Witty,

366 F.3d at 385. Therefore, we concluded that in a negligence action,

an airline “cannot be held liable for failing to provide warnings or in-

structions.” /d.

9a

Though Witty does not decide this case. because its lesson

directly applies only to negligence causes of action. it is

nonetheless instructive. It was not an unexpected or unusual

decision for Continental merely to cleave to the exclusive list

of warnings required of it by the agency that has regulatory

jurisdiction over its flights.

Ultimately, no jury may be permitted to find that Con-

tinental’s failure to warn of DVT constituted an “accident”

under article 17. Continental’s policy was far from unique in

2001 and was fully in accord with the expectations of the

FAA. Its procedures were neither unexpected nor unusual.

The order appealed from is REVERSED. and this matter is

REMANDED.

10a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

GALVESTON DIVISION

[Filed Nov. 18, 2002]

Civil Action No. G-02-061

MICHAEL “SHAWN” BLANSETT AND MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

Individually and as Next Friend OF MCKENNA BLANSETT and

BLAKE BLANSETT, Minors

Plaintiffs,

V.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT CONTINENTAL

AIRLINES, INC.’°S MOTION TO DISMISS PLAINTIFFS’

CLAIMS BASED ON FAILURE TO WARN AND

ORDERING PLAINTIFFS TO RESPOND

TO DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT ON CLAIMS BASED ON

FAILURE TO WARN

Plaintiffs Michael “Shawn” Blansett and Modesta Blansett

(collectively “the Blansetts”) bring this lawsuit against

Defendant Continental Airlines, Inc. (“Continental”) seeking

to recover damages under the Warsaw Convention’ for

injuries allegedly sustained by Shawn Blansett while riding as

a passenger aboard a Continental Airlines flight from

' Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Inter-

national Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, 3014 T-S.

No. 876 (1934), note following 49 U.S.C. § 40105.

lla

Houston, Texas to London, England on June 18, 2001.

Specifically, Plaintiffs aver that Shawn Blansett suffered a

debilitating cerebral stroke approximately one hour before

arriving in London that was ostensibly caused by a blood clot

that formed during the lengthy flight, a phenomenon typically

referred to as “Deep Venous Thrombosis Syndrome” or

“Economy Class Syndrome.” Plaintiffs further allege that

Continental never warned or advised Shawn Blansett of the

likelihood of developing a blood clot in the lower extremities,

nor allowed an onboard physician to examine or treat Shawn

Blansett after he became visibly ill, nor consulted with any

third-party medical advice service regarding Shawn Blan-

sett’s condition, nor relayed critical information to the

London ambulance and hospital personnel that eventually

treated Shawn Blansett. As a result of this stroke, Plaintiffs

claim that 36-year-old Shawn Blansett, who was once an

able-bodied husband, father and corporate executive earning a

six-figure salary, is now bound to a wheelchair, unable to

walk or talk normally, or even take care of his own basic

needs. On the basis of these events, Plaintiffs filed suit in this

court on January 25, 2002.

On July 19, 2002, Continental filed a Motion for Judgment

as a Matter of Law on Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to

Warn.” Continental’s Motion asks this Court to dismiss the

? In their Original Complaint, filed on January 25, 2002, Plaintiffs

alleged that “[a]n ‘accident,’ meaning un unexpected or unusual condition

external to plaintiff, occurred when Continental failed to warn, advise

and/oy take adequate precautions to inform about and/or prevent Deep

Venous Thrombosis (‘DVT’) on its international flight. This action

and/or inaction constituted an ‘accident’ under the [Warsaw] Convention

because it was an unreasonable application of routine procedures or

operations, was unexpected or unusual, was external to- the plaintiff, and

was not caused solely by plaintiff's own conduct or physical condition.

Moreover, Continental had actual knowledge of the risk of contracting

DVT during lengthy flights and failed to warn, advise and/or take

adequate precautions to protect its passengers.” Pls.’ Original Comp. at

12a

Blansetts’ failure to warn claims under Rule 12(b)(6) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, or to grant partial summary

judgment against the Blansetts on these claims. On October

15, 2002, the Blansetts filed Plaintiffs’ First Amended

Complaint, revising somewhat their failure-to-warn claims.’

Also on October 15, 2002, the Blansetts timely responded to

Continental’s Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law on

Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to Warn. Continental

requested and was granted leave to file a Reply to Plaintiffs’

Response. Continental filed its Reply on October 18, 2002.

For the reasons articulated below, Continental’s Motion to

Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to Warn is

DENIED, and Plaintiffs are ORDERED to respond within

fifteen (15) days of this Order to Continental’s alternative

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiffs’ Claims

Based on Failure to Warn.

419. In the next paragraph, Plaintiffs again alleged that “[b]y failing to

warn . . . Continental carried out its routine procedures in an unreasonable

manner.” /d. at $20.

* Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint changes “unexpected or unusual

condition” in paragraph 19 to “unexpected or unusual event or happen-

ing,” and adds a paragraph elaborating on the failure-to-warn claims. See

Pls.’ First Am. Comp. at 419, 20. The added paragraph states that “[u]pon

information and belief, it is the custom, rule and/or procedure among

international long-haul air carriers to warn, advise and/or take adequate

precautions to inform passengers of the risk of DVT. Accordingly, an

‘accident’ as that term is understood under the Warsaw Convention

occurred when Continental failed to warn, advise and/or take adequate

precautions to inform plaintiff of the risk of contracting DVT because

such failure was an abnormal operation of the carrier and/or an unrea-

sonable application of routine procedures and thereby unusual and

unexpected.” /d. at 420.

l3a

I.

A. Motion to Dismiss Under Rule 12(b)(6)

A party is entitled to dismissal under Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(b)(6) when an opposing party fails to state a claim upon

which relief may be granted. When considering a 12(b)(6)

motion, the Court accepts as true all well-pleaded allegations

in the complaint, and views them in a light most favorable to

the plaintiff. See Malina v. Gonzales, 994 F.2d 1121. 1125

(Sth Cir 1993). “However, conclusory allegations or legal

conclusions masquerading as factual conclusions will not

suffice to prevent a motion to dismiss.” Fernandez-Montes v.

Allied Pilots Ass'n, 987 F.2d 278, 284 (Sth Cir. 1993).

Unlike a motion for summary judgment, a motion to dismiss

Should be granted only when it appears without a doubt that

the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claims

that would entitle him to relief. See Conley v. Gibson, 355

U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S. Ct. 99, 102, 2 L. Ed. 2d 80 (1957);

Home Capital Collateral, Inc. v. FDIC, 96 F.3d 760. 764 (Sth

Cir. 1996).

As this Court has already held, the Warsaw Convention.

“an international treaty governing ‘all international trans-

portation of persons, baggage, or goods performed by aircraft

for hire,”” provides the exclusive cause of action and remedy

for the Blansetts’ claims against Continental. See Blansett v.

Continental Airlines, Inc., 203 F. Supp. 2d 736, 744 (S.D.

Tex. 2002) (Kent, J.) (quoting El A/ Israel Airlines, Ltd. vy.

Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 162, 119 S. Ct. 662, 668, 142 L. Ed. 2d

576 (1999)). In order to prevail on a claim under the Warsaw

Convention, a plaintiff must prove that (1) an “accident” (2)

“took place on board the aircraft or in the course of opera-

tions of embarking or disembarking,” (3) which “caused” (4)

an “injury.” McCaskey v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 159 F.

Supp. 2d 562, 569 (S.D. Tex. 2001) (Kent, J.) (citing Eastern

Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 535-36, 111 S. Ct. 1489.

1494, 113 L. Ed. 2d 569 (1991)). In the Motion now before

l4a

the Court, Continental seeks dismissal of the Blansetts’ claim

that an accident occurred when Continental failed to warn

passengers on the transatlantic flight of the risk of developing

Deep Venous Thrombosis (“DVT”).

The essential predicate of carrier liability under the

Warsaw Convention is the occurrence of an “accident.”

McCaskey, 159 F. Supp. 2d at 570 (citing Wallace v. Korean

Air, 214 F.3d 293, 297 (2d Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 531 U.S.

1144, 121 S. Ct. 1079, 148 L. Ed. 2d 955 (2001). For

purposes of the Warsaw Convention, an accident is defined as

“an unusual or unexpected event or happening that is external

to the passenger.” Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 405, 105

S. Ct. 1338, 1345, 84 L. Ed. 2d 289 (1985). Although the

Supreme Court instructed that this definition should be

“flexibly applied after assessment of all the circumstances

surrounding a passenger’s injuries,” it cautioned that when an

injury “indisputably results from the passenger’s own internal

reaction to the usual, normal, and expected operation of the

aircraft, it has not been caused by an accident....” Jd. at

405-06, 105 S. Ct. at 1345; see, e.g., Abramson v. Japan

Airlines Co., 739 F.2d 130, 133 (3d Cir. 1984) (sitting in an

airline seat during a normal flight which aggravated the

passenger’s hiatal hernia is not an “accident”); Scherer v. Pan

American World Airways, Inc., 387 N.Y.S.2d 580, 581 (App.

Div. 1976) (sitting in an airline seat during a normal flight

which aggravated the passenger’s thrombophlebitis is not an

“accident”) (both cited with approval in Saks, 470 US. at

405, 105 S. Ct. at 1345).

Guided by Saks, many courts have attempted to draw the

line between what is an accident and what is not. Finding the

appropriate line has become even more critical since the

Supreme Court held that the Warsaw Convention provides the .

exclusive remedy for injuries within its scope. See Tseng, ;

525 U.S. at 176, 119 S. Ct. at 675. Thus, if a passenger is

injured on a flight that falls under the Warsaw Convention,

lSa

and a court holds that the injury was not caused by an

“accident,” the passenger cannot recover. See id.

Continental argues that sitting in an airplane during a

normal flight, which causes a passenger to develop DVT,

cannot be an accident. Cf Abramson, 739 F.2d at 133 (sitting

in an airline seat during a normal flight which aggravated the

passenger’s hiatal hernia is not an accident); Margrave y.

British Airways, 643 F. Supp. 510, 511 (S.D.N.Y. 1986)

(sitting in an airline seat for a prolonged period of time which

caused the passenger’s back injury is not an accident, but the

bomb threat which caused the prolonged sitting is an

accident); Scherer, 387 N.Y.S.2d at 58] (sitting in an airline

seat during a normal flight which aggravated the passenger’s

thrombophlebitis is not an accident). This Court is willing to

accept for the sake of argument that these cases show that

sitting in an aircraft during a normal flight is not an accident.

Thus, injuries sustained merely from sitting during a normal

flight are not compensable under the Warsaw Convention.

From the conclusion that merely sitting does not constitute

an accident, Continental extrapolates that failing to warn of

the risk associated with merely sitting cannot be an acci-

dent either. The Court respectfully disagrees. The Blansetts

allege that Continental violated a “custom, rule, and/or

procedure among international long-haul carriers [by failing]

to warn, advise and/or take adequate precautions to inform

passengers of the risk of DVT.” Pls.’ First Am. Compl. at

{| 20. Many courts have recognized that failing to carry out

routine procedures in the usual way Can constitute an accident

under the Warsaw Convention. See, e.g., Fishman v. Delta

Air Lines, Inc., 132 F.3d 138, 143 (2d Cir. 1998) (applying a

hot compress to relieve ear pain, which is a routine procedure,

can be an accident if the water is excessively hot); Fulop v.

Malev Hungarian Airlines, 175 F. Supp. 2d 651, 669

(S.D.N.Y. 2001) (failing to divert an airplane when a pass-

enger has a heart attack can be an accident if it “contravenes

l6a

the airline’s established customs, rules or procedures”);

Husain v. Olympic Airways, 116 F. Supp. 2d 1121, 1134-35

(N.D. Cal. 2000) (failing to allow an asthmatic passenger to

move away from cigarette smoke, in contravention of

industry standards and airline policies, is an accident). Thus,

the Blansetts argue that even if merely sitting does not

constitute an accident, failing to warn of the dangers of

merely sitting can constitute an accident if the failure violates

“accepted procedures and rules.” See Husain, 116 F. Supp.

2d at 1134.

In response, Continental argues that it did not have a duty

to warn passengers of the risk of developing DVT. See

Sprayregen v. American Airlines, Inc., 570 F. Supp. 16, 17

(S.D.N.Y. 1983) (holding that the airline had no duty to warn

passengers of the potential hazards of flying with a head

cold). Similarly, Continental argues that its failure to warn is

irrelevant to the accident inquiry. Cf Magan v. Lufthansa

German Airlines, 181 F. Supp. 2d 396, 402-03 (S.D.N.Y.

2002) (holding that ordinary turbulence is not an accident and

that the flight crews’ failure to knock on the lavatory door to

warn the plaintiff of the turbulence was irrelevant to the

accident inquiry). The Sprayregen is inapposite; it involved

an injury on a domestic flight that was governed by negli-

* Although no United States case addresses the specific question

whether failing to warn of the risk of developing DVT is an accident, two

recent foreign cases, cited by Continental, do. In Van Luin v. KLM

Airlines, the District Court of New South Wales at Sydney held that

failing to warn or advise passengers regarding the risk of developing DVT

is not an accident under the Warsaw Convention. In McDonald v. Korean

Air & China Travel, Inc., the Ontario Superior Court of Justice reached

the same conclusion. Both cases apply the Saks accident definition, but

neither analyzes whether failing to follow established procedures may

constitute an accident. Because these cases do not address the specific

rationale proffered by the Blansetts why failure to warn of DVT is an

accident, this Court respectfully does not follow these decisions of its

sister signatories.

17a

gence law rather than by the Warsaw Convention. Under the

Warsaw Convention, whether Continental had a duty to warn

passengers of the risk of developing DVT is not the proper

inquiry; whether Continental’s failure to warn was an unusual

or unexpected event external to the passenger is. See Husain.

116 F. Supp. 2d at 1134 (“When a passenger boards an

airplane, he or she should be able to expect that the flight

crew will comply with accepted procedures and rules. A

failure to do so is unexpected.”). Furthermore, to the extent

Magan holds that failing to warn passengers of particular

risks is never relevant to the accident inquiry, the Court

declines to follow it. But the Court maintains that this is not

Magan’s holding. The Magan court specifically mentioned

that the captain turned on the seat belt sign and made an

announcement to the passengers to keep their seat belts

fastened. Jd. at 403 n.8. The plaintiff's argument was that

the flight crew should have knocked on the lavatory door to

personally warn him of the anticipated turbulence. /d. To the

extent Magan holds that the flight crews’ failure to warn in

that particular circumstance was irrelevant to the accident

inquiry, the Court distinguishes Magan on its facts.

The Blansetts allege that Continental’s failure to warn of

the risk of contracting DVT was an accident because such

failure was an abnormal and unreasonable application of

routine procedure, and thus, it was unusual and unexpected.

Taking these well-pleaded allegations as true, as the Court

must in deciding a 12(b)(6) Motion to Dismiss, this Court

holds that the Blansetts have alleged a set of facts that, if

proven, could support recovery under the Warsaw Conven-

tion. Thus, this Court will not dismiss the Blansetts’ claims

based on Continental’s failure to warn of the risk of

developing DVT. |

18a

B. Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

Having denied Continental’s request to dismiss the

Blansetts’ failure-to-warn claims, the Court now turns to

Continental’s alternative Motion for Summary Judgment on

those claims. Summary judgment is appropriate if no genuine

issue of material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); see

also Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323, 106 S. Ct.

2548, 2552-53, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265 (1986). When a motion for

summary judgment is made, the nonmoving party must set

forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477'U.S. 242, 250,

106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986).

Procedurally, the party moving for summary judgment

bears the initial burden of “informing the district court of the

basis for its motion, and identifying those portions of [the

record] which it believes demonstrates the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323, 106

S. Ct. at 2553; see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The burden

then shifts to the nonmoving party to establish the existence

of a genuine issue for trial. See Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 585-

87, 106 S. Ct. at 1355-56; Wise v. E.l. DuPont de Nemours &

Co., 58 F.3d 193, 195 (Sth Cir. 1995).

In the Motion now before the Court, Continental moved to

dismiss the Blansetts’ failure-to-warn claims, pursuant to

Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, or, in

the alternative, for summary judgment as to those claims. On

August 2, 2002, the Blansetts requested and this Court

granted an extension of time to respond to Continental’s

Motion because the response would “require substantial

factual and expert evidence to reply.” Pls.’ Mot. to Extend

Time at 1.. But, when the Blansetts timely responded on

October 15, 2002, they included no such “factual and expert

evidence.” Instead, the Blansetts asked this Court to ignore

Continental’s request for summary judgment, contending that

19a

Continental did not meet its burden to inform the Court of the

basis for its Motion and to identify the absence of a genuine

issue of material fact. The Court disagrees and is somewhat

frustrated by the Blansetts’ failure to substantively respond.

The Court must treat Defendant’s Motion substantively and

therefore ORDERS the Blansetts to substantively respond to

the summary judgment motion within fifteen (15) days of this

Order, or the Court will treat the Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment on Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to Warn as

unopposed.”

Il.

For all of the reasons set forth above, the Court hereby

respectfully DENIES Defendant Continental Airlines, Inc.’s

Motion to Dismiss Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to

Warn. The Court hereby ORDERS Plaintiffs to substantively

respond to Continental’s Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment on Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to Warn

within fifteen (15) days of this Order, or the Motion will be

treated as unopposed. Each Party is to bear its own taxable

costs and expenses incurred herein to date, regarding any

matter treated in this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DONE this 18th day of November, 2002, at Galveston.

Texas.

/s/ Samuel B. Kent

SAMUEL B. KENT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

* See S.D. Tex. Local Rule 7.4 (“Failure to respond will be taken as a

representation of no opposition.”). :

20a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

GALVESTON DIVISION

[Filed Dec. 11, 2002]

Civil Action No. G-02-061

MICHAEL “SHAWN” BLANSETT AND MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

Individually and as Next Friends of MCKENNA BLANSETT and

BLAKE BLANSETT, Minors

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT CONTINENTAL

AIRLINES, INC.°S MOTION FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY

JUDGMENT ON PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIMS BASED ON

FAILURE TO WARN

Plaintiffs Michael “Shawn” Blansett and Modesta Blansett

(collectively “the Blansetts”) bring this lawsuit against

Defendant Continental Airlines, Inc. (“Continental”) seeking

to recover damages under the Warsaw Convention’ for

injuries allegedly sustained by Shawn Blansett while riding as

a passenger aboard a Continental Airlines flight from

Houston, Texas to London, England on June 18, 2001. The

facts forming the basis of the Blansetts’ claims have been set

out in several Orders issued by this Court.” On July 19, 2002,

' Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Inter-

national Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, 3014 T.S.

No. 876 (1934), note following 49 U.S.C. § 40105.

* See, e.g., Blansett v. Continental Airlines, Inc., 204 F. Supp. 2d 999.

1000 (S.D. Tex. 2002) (Kent, J.). Plaintiffs’ allege the following: Shawn

.* A Oe OR ee Oe ae Oe eee el ee ee ee ee TP re ee eS

2la

Continental filed a Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law

on Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on Failure to Warn? Con-

tinental’s Motion asked this Court to dismiss the Blansett’s

failure-to-warn claims under Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal

Blansett suffered a debilitating cerebral stroke approximately one hour

before arriving in London. The stroke was ostensibly caused by a blood

clot that formed during the lengthy flight, a phenomenon typically

referred to as “Deep Venous Thrombosis Syndrome” or “Economy Class

Syndrome.” Continental never warned or advised Shawn Blansett of the

likelihood of developing a blood clot in the lower extremities, nor allowed

an onboard physician to examine or treat Shawn Blansett after he became

visibly ill, nor consulted with any third-party medical advice regarding

Shawn Blansett’s condition, nor relayed critical information to the

London ambulance and hospital personnel that eventually treated Shawn

Blansett. As a result of this stroke, 36 year-old Shawn Blansett, who was

once an able-bodied husband, father, and corporate executive earning a

six-figure salary, is now bound to a wheelchair, unable to walk or talk

normally, or even take care of his own needs.

* Plaintiffs allege that “[aJn ‘accident,’ meaning an unexpected or un-

usual event or happening external to plaintiff, occurred when Continental

failed to warn, advise and/or take adequate precautions to inform about

and/or prevent Deep Venous Thrombosis (‘DVT’) on its international

flight. This action and/or inaction constituted an ‘accident’ under the

[Warsaw] Convention because it was an unreasonable application of

routine procedures or operations, was unexpected or unusual, was external

to plaintiff, and was not caused solely by plaintiffs own conduct or

physical condition. Moreover, Continental had actual knowledge of the

risk of contracting DVT during lengthy flights and failed to warn, advise

and/or take adequate precautions to protect its passengers.” Pls.’ First

Am. Comp. at § 19. The Complaint further alleges that “[u]pon

information and belief it is the custom, rule and/or procedure among

international long-haul air carriers to warn, advise and/or take adequate

precautions to inform passengers of the risk of DVT. Accordingly, an

‘accident’ as that term is understood under the Warsaw Convention

occurred when Continental failed to warn, advise and/or take adequate

precautions to inform plaintiff of the risk of contracting DVT because

such failure was an abnormal operation of the carrier and/or an

unreasonable application of routine procedures and thereby unusual and

unexpected.” /d. at ¥ 20.

22a

oe

Rules of Civil Procedure, or to grant partial summary

judgment against the Blansetts on these. claims. On

November 18, 2002, this Court denied Continental’s Motion

to Dismiss, determining. that the Blansetts’ failure-to-warn

allegations stated a claim upon which relief can be granted.

In the November 18, 2002 Order, this Court allowed the

Blansetts an additional fifteen (15) days to respond to the

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment. On December 3,

2002, the Blansetts timely responded to Continental’s Motion

for Partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiffs’ Claims Based on

Failure to Warn, and on December 9, 2002 Continental filed a

- Reply. The exhaustive briefing has thus placed the failure-to-

warn issue squarely before the Court for appropriate dispos-

itive analysis, and the Court thanks the Parties for their

excellent advocacy. For the reason articulated below, Conti-

nental’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiffs’

Claims Based on Failure to Warn is respectfully DENIED.

Summary judgment is appropriate if no genuine issue of

material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); see

also Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,323, 106 S. Ct.

2548, 2552-53, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265 (1986). When a motion for

summary judgment is made, the nonmoving party must set

forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,250,

106° S. Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L. Ed 202 (1986). Issues of

material fact are “genuine” only if they require resolution by

a trier of fact. See id, 477 U.S. at 248, 106 S. Ct. at 2510.

The mere existence of some alleged factual dispute between

the parties will not defeat an otherwise properly supported

motion for summary judgment. Only disputes over facts that

might affect the outcome of the lawsuit under governing law

will preclude the entry of summary judgment. See id, 477

U.S. at 247-48, 106 S. Ct. at 2510. If the evidence is such

23a

that a reasonable fact finder could find in favor of the

nonmoving party, summary judgment should not be granted.

See id; see also Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 106 S. Ct. 1348, 1356, 89 L. Ed. 2d

538 (1986); Dixon v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co.. 799 F.

Supp. 691, 694 (S.D. Tex 1992) (noting that summary judg-

ment is inappropriate if the evidence could lead to different

factual findings and conclusions). Determining credibility,

weighing evidence, and drawing reasonable inferences are

left to the trier of fact. See Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255, 106 S.

Ct. at 2513.

Procedurally, the party moving for summary judgment

bears the initial burden of “informing the district court of the

basis for its motion, and identifying those portions of [the

record] which it believes demonstrate the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact.” Ce/lotex, 477 U.S. at 323, 106

S. Ct. at 2553; see also Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The burden

then shifts to the nonmoving party to establish the existence

of a genuine issue for trial. See Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 585-

87, 106 S. Ct. at 1355-56. However, to meet its burden, the

nonmovant “must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts, “but

instead, must “come forward with ‘specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial.” /d., 475 U.S. at 586-87.

106 S. Ct. at 1355-56 (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)).

If.

This Court has already held that the Warsaw Convention,

“an international treaty governing ‘all international trans-

portation of persons, baggage, or goods performed by aircraft

for hire,’” provides the exclusive cause of action and remedy

for the Blansetts’ claims against Continental. See Blansett v.

Continental Airlines, Inc., 203 F. Supp. 2d 736, 744 (S.D.

Tex. 2002) (Kent, J.) (quoting E/ Al Israel Airlines, Ltd. vy.

Tseng, 525 U.S. 155, 162, 119 S. Ct. 662, 668, 142 L. Ed. 2d

576 (1999)). In order to prevail on a claim under the Warsaw

24a

Convention, a plaintiff must prove that (1) an “accident” (2)

“took place on board the aircraft or in the course of

operations of embarking or disembarking,” (3) which

“caused” (4) an “injury.” McCaskey v. Continental Airlines,

Inc., 159 F. Supp. 2d 562, 569 (S.D. Tex. 2001) (Kent, J.)

(citing Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 535-56,

111 S. Ct. 1489, 113 L. Ed. 2d 569 (1991)). In its November

18, 2002 Order, this Court determined that the Blansetts’

allegation that an accident occurred when Continental failed

to warn passengers on the transatlantic flight of the risk of

developing Deep Venous Thrombosis (“DVT”) stated a claim

upon which relief can be granted. This Court’s determination

was based on case law holding that an airline’s failure to

carry out routine procedures in the usual manner can

constitute an accident under the Warsaw Convention. See.

e.g., Fishman v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 132 F.3d 138, 143 (2d.

Cir. 1998); Fulop v. Malev Hungarian Airlines, 175 F. Supp.

2d 651, 669 (S.D.N.Y. 2001); Husain v. Olympic Airways,

116 F. Supp. 2d 1121. 1134-35 (N.D. Cal. 2000). It was

somewhat unclear in the Complaint whether the Blansetts

were arguing that Continental’s failure to warn about DVT

was (1) a failure to follow its own routine procedures, (2) a

failure to follow the routine procedures of the industry, or (3)

both. The Blansetts’ summary judgment Response makes

clear that the failure-to-warn claims are based solely on

Continental’s failure to follow the alleged industry custom

among international long-haul carriers to warn of the risk of

DVT."

Based on this clarification, the Court briefly revisits

whether failure to follow industry custom may constitute an

* The Blansetts allege that “[a]bsolutely, evidence exists raising a

genuine fact issue as to whether Continental violated the industry custom

of long-haul, carriers by failing to warn its passengers of the risk of

developing [DVT].” Pls.’ Dec. 3, 2002 Resp. at p.1.

25a

accident. The United States Supreme Court has defined a

Warsaw Convention accident as “an unusual or unexpected

event or happening that is external to the passenger.” Air

France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 405, 105 S. Ct. 1338, 1345, 84

L. Ed. 2d 289 (1985). An airline’s failure to Carry out routine

procedures in the usual manner may constitute an accident.

See é.g., Fishman v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 132 F.3d 138. 143

(2d Cir. 1998) (applying a hot compress to relieve ear pain,

which is a routine procedure, can be an accident if the water

is excessively hot); Fulop v. Malev Hungarian Airlines, 175

F. Supp. 2d 651, 669 (S.D.N.Y. 2001) (failing to divert an

airplane when a passenger has a heart attack can be an

accident if it “contravenes the airline’s established customs,

rules or procedures”); Husain v. Olympic Airways, 116 F.

Supp. 2d 1121, 1134-35 (N.D. Cal. 2000) (failing to allow an

asthmatic passenger to move away from cigarette smoke, in

contravention of industry standards and airline policies, is an

accident). The Fulop and Husain courts clearly considered

failure to properly carry out the routine procedures of the

industry to be an accident. The Husain court stated:

[uJnder no reasonable interpretation of the facts can one

conclude that [the flight attendant’s] failure to assist [the

decedent] was expected or usual. The Court has heard

extensive testimony on the standard of care for flight

attendants in situations such as this, and concludes that

[the flight attendant] acted in an unexpected and unusual

manner in several respects.

First, the recognized standard of care for flight

attendants during international air travel demands that

a flight attendant make efforts to accommodate a

passenger who indicates that he or she needs to be

moved for medical reasons... ..

26a

Third, not only did [the flight attendant’s] failure to

act violate the industry standard of care, it also violated

Olympic Airways’ policy.

Husain, 116 F. Supp. 2d at 1132 (emphasis added). The

Husain court repeatedly notes that the flight attendant’s

behavior was unusual and unexpected because she violated

the “industry standard of care.” See, eg. id at 1133

(reasoning that the decedent’s expectation that he would be

allowed to sWitch seats was even more reasonable “in light of

the normal operating procedures of international carriers”

and stating that the flight attendant violated the “industry

standard of care” by failing to allow him to move.) Similarly,

the Fulop court states:

j

[i]t also requires no reliance on authority that, viewing

the circumstances objectively as the Saks inquiry

demands, the ordinary traveler reasonably would expect

that-as-the normal, usual and expected response to such

urgencies, and as a fair balancing of interests and risks

characteristic of air travel-in handling life-threatening

exigencies, airlines rendering services as common

carriers would be particularly scrupulous and exacting in

complying with their own industry norms, internal

policies and procedures, and general standards of care.

Fulop, 175 F. Supp. 2d at 665 (emphasis added). Although

Husain’s and Fulop’s accident analyses were based on

violations of the airlines’ internal procedures and violations

of industry customs, this Court specifically concludes that

airlines’ violation of an industry standard of care, alone, can

be “an unusual or unexpected event or happening that is

external to the passenger,” see Saks, 470 U.S. at 405, 105 S.

Ct. at 1345, and thus, an “accident.” To hold otherwise

would have the ironic result of rewarding individual airlines

for adopting an “ostrich” approach of failing to institute

routine safety procedures in compliance with generally

recognized industry standards of care. Safety in a technically

—————————————————————

27a

evolving industry, such as air travel, can and must keep up

with reasonable and practical industry practices. This is

especially true, where, as here no real expense is even

involved. This case does not require an expensive or

intrusive retrofit or equipment exchange. It involves nothing

more than the reprinting of safety placards and a thirty-

second oral announcement once or twice in each long flight.

Ill.

Under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. an affidavit

opposing summary judgment “shall be made on personal

knowledge, shall set forth such facts as would be admissible

in evidence, and shall show affirmatively that the affiant is

competent to testify to the matters stated therein” Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(e). An expert's affidavit may raise a material

question of fact if the expert sets forth more than mere

conclusory opinions. See Jacobelli Constr.. Inc. y County of

Monroe, 32 F.3d 19, 25-26 (2d Cir. 1994). In addition. an

affidavit stating the facts upon which an expert relies can

satisfy Rule 56(e) even if the corresponding data is not

attached. See id. at 25.

The Blansetts present the sworn affidavit of aviation health

expert Farrol Kahn, director of the Aviation Health Institute,

to establish a fact issue regarding the existence of an industry

custom to warn of the risk of DVT.° Mr. Kahn States, “In my

> The Blansetts present Mr. Kahn as an expert on aviation health and

the aviation industry, specifically the aviation industry’s response to DVT.

In its Reply, Continental questions, Mr. Kahn’s qualifications, stating that

“[t]he credentials submitted by Mr. Kahn fail to demonstrate that he is a

qualified expert in many, if not all, of the subjects on which he opines.”

Def.’s Dec. 9, 2002 Reply at p.4 n.5. In his affidavit, Mr. Kahn identifies

numerous publications he has authored and presentations he has made to

various bodies including the World Health Organization and the British

Parliament regarding DVT and the aviation industry. In addition, Mr.

Kahn is a delegate to the World Health Organization’s Deep Venous

Thrombosis study. For the purposes of this Motion, this Court concludes

28a

opinion, at the time of Mr. Blansett’s injury, Continental, by

providing no information, warning or advice regarding DVT

in any form, manner or medium, violated international

aviation industry custom.” Aff. of Farrol Kahn at § 16. Mr.

Kahn presents a memorandum issued months before Shawn

Blansett’s injury by the International Air Transport Asso-

ciation (““IATA”)° recommending that its members. inform

passengers of the risk of DVT and of ways to avoid

developing DVT.’ In addition, Mr. Kahn states that the time

of Shawn Blansett’s stroke in June of 2001, five of the ten

most-traveled airlines, provided information to passengers

regarding the risk of DVT.

Accepting all of the evidence and drawing all justifiable

inferences in the Blansetts’ favor, this Court determines that a

reasonable fact-finder, a jury in this case, could determine

that Continental’s failure to warn passengers on its trans-

atlantic flight of the risk of DVT was an unexpected and

unreasonable deviation from routine industry procedure, and

thus, an accident under the Warsaw Convention. In this

rapidly emerging area of law and medicine, a full adju-

dication of the issues, enhanced by the wisdom and guidance

that Mr. Kahn’s knowledge and experience regarding DVT and the

aviation industry make his opinions on the subject manifestly relevant and

reliable. See Fed. R. Evid. 702; see also Kumho Tire Co. v. Carmichael,

526 U.S. 137, 152, 119 S. Ct. 1167, 1176, 143 L. Ed. 2d 238 (1999).

° The IATA is an industry association of 280 international air carriers,

comprising 95% of scheduled international air travel. Continental is a

member of the IATA.

” The February 8, 2001 press release states that “[a]t the time of

reservation, travellers should be” informed of the risks of DVT and

encouraged to seek medical advice if they have certain risk factors. In

addition, “[p]rior to boarding and again on board, passengers should be

encouraged” to take certain precautionary measures, such as drinking non-

alcoholic fluids, wearing loose-clothing, and performing exercises in their

seats, to avoid developing DVT.

29a

provided by a jury of the Parties’ peers, is needed to resolve

this important question.

IV.

For all of the reasons set forth above, the Court hereby

respectfully DENIES Defendant Continental Airlines, Inc.’s

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiffs’ Claims

Based on Failure to Warn. Each Party is to bear its own

taxable costs and expenses incurred herein to date, regarding

any matter treated in this Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DONE this 11th day of December, 2002. at Galveston,

Texas.

/s/ Samuel Kent

SAMUEL B. KENT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

30a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

7 GALVESTON DIVISION

[Filed Mar. 10, 2003]

Civil Action No. G-02-061

MICHAEL “SHAWN” BLANSETT AND MODESTA N. BLANSETT,

Individually and as Next Friends of MCKENNA BLANSETT and

BLAKE BLANSETT, Minors,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER OF CERTIFICATION FOR

INTERLOCUTORY APPEAL

Before the Court is plaintiffs’ and defendant’s agreed

motion to certify a 1292(b) interlocutory appeal.

The Court finds that the question

Does a failure to warn an airline passenger of the

possibility of developing Deep Vein Thrombosis consti-

tute an “accident” under the Warsaw Convention?

involves a controlling question of law as to which there is

substantial ground for difference of opinion, and that an

immediate appeal may materially advance the ultimate

termination of this litigation.

It is ORDERED that the parties’ agreed motion to certify

1292(b) interlocutory appeal is GRANTED.

It is further ORDERED that the Court’s orders entered on

November 18, 2002 and December 11, 2002 are CERTIFIED

3la

for interlocutory appeal on this question: “Does an alleged

failure to warn an airline passenger of the possibility of

developing Deep Vein Thrombosis constitute an “accident”

under the Warsaw Convention?” The Orders entered on

November 18, 2002 and December 11, 2002 are amended to

State they “involve a controlling question of law as to which

there is a substantial ground for difference of opinion and that

an immediate appeal from the Order may materially advance

the ultimate termination of this litigation.”

It is further ORDERED that all proceedings in this matter

are stayed pending the outcome of an interlocutory appeal.

SIGNED March 7, 2003.

/s/ Samuel B. Kent

HON. SAMUEL B. KENT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

32a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

[Filed Apr. 23, 2003]

No. 03-16

MICHAEL SHAWN BLANSETT; MODESTA N. BLANSETT, as next

friend McKenna Blansett, as next friend Blake Blansett,

Individually, and Minors,

Plaintiffs-Respondents-

Cross-Petitioners,

versus

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES INC.,

Defendant-Petitioner-

Cross-Respondent.

Petitions for Leave to Appeal

from an Interlocutory Order

Before BARKSDALE, DeMOSS, and BENAVIDES,

Circuit Judges.

BY THE COURT:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition of Continental Airlines,

Inc. for leave to appeal from the interlocutory orders of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Texas, Galveston, entered on November 18, 2002, and on

December 11, 2002, as each of such orders has been amended

by the order entered on March 10, 2003, is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the petition of Michael

Shawn Blansett and Modesta N. Blansett for leave to appeal

from the interlocutory orders of the United States District

33a

Court for the Southern District of Texas. Galveston, entered

on November 18, 2002, and on December 11, 2002, as each

of such orders has been amended by the order entered on

March 10, 2003, is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court

shall set a briefing schedule for this appeal such that it can be -

heard at the next available oral argument session thereafter.

/s/ RHB, HRD, FPB

34a

APPENDIX D

United States Code Annotated

Title 49. Transportation

Subtitle VII—Aviation Programs

Part A—Air Commerce and Safety Subpart III—Safety

Chapter 447—Safety Regulation

§ 44701. General requirements

(a) Promoting safety—The Administrator of the Federal

Aviation Administration shall promote safe flight of civil

aircraft in air commerce by prescribing—

(1) minimum standards required in the interest of safety

for appliances and for the design, material, construction,

quality of work, and performance of aircraft, aircrafi engines,

and propellers;

(2) regulations and minimum standards in the interest of

safety for—

(A) inspecting, servicing, and overhauling aircraft,

aircraft engines, propellers, and appliances;

(B) equipment and facilities for, and the timing and

manner of, the inspecting, servicing, and overhauling; and

(C) a qualified private person, instead of an officer or

employee of the Administration, to examine and report on the

inspecting, servicing, and overhauling;

(3) regulations required in the interest of safety for the

reserve supply of aircraft, aircraft engines, propellers, appli-

ances, and aircraft fuel and oil, including the reserve supply

of fuel and oil carried in flight;

35a

(4) regulations in the interest of safety for the maximum

hours or periods of service of airmen and other employees of

air carriers; and

(5) regulations and minimum standards for other prac-

tices, methods, and procedure the Administrator finds neces-

sary for safety in air commerce and national security.

(b) Prescribing minimum safety standards —The Admin-

istrator may prescribe minimum safety standards for—

(1) an air carrier to whom a certificate is issued under

section 44705 of this title; and

(2) operating an airport serving any passenger operation

of air carrier aircraft designed for at least 31 passenger seats.

(c) Reducing and eliminating accidents—The Adminis-

trator shall carry out this chapter in a way that best tends to

reduce or eliminate the possibility or recurrence of accidents

in air transportation. However, the Administrator is not

required to give preference either to air transportation or to

other air commerce in carrying out this chapter.

(d) Considerations and classification of regulations and

standards.— When prescribing a regulation or standard under

subsection (a) or (b) of this section or any of sections 44702—

44716 of this title, the Administrator shall _—

(1) consider—

(A) the duty of an air carrier to provide service with

the highest possible degree of safety in the public interest:

and

(B) differences between air transportation and other

air commerce; and

(2) classify a regulation or standard appropriate to the

differences between air transportation and other air

commerce. 2

36a

(e) Bilateral exchanges of safety oversight respons-

ibilities —

~ (1) In general.—Notwithstanding the provisions of this

chapter, the Administrator, pursuant to Article 83 bis of the

Convention on International Civil Aviation and by a bilateral

agreement with the aeronautical authorities of another

country, may exchange with that country all or part of their

respective functions and duties with respect to registered

aircraft under the following articles of the Convention:

Article 12 (Rules of the Air); Article 31 (Certificates of

Airworthiness); or Article 32a (Licenses of Personnel).

(2) Relinquishment and acceptance of responsibility.—

The Administrator relinquishes responsibility with respect to

the functions and duties transferred by the Administrator as

specified in the bilateral agreement, under the Articles listed

in paragraph (1) for the United States-registered aircraft

described in paragraph (4)(A) transferred abroad and accepts

responsibility with respect to the functions and duties under

those Articles for aircraft registered abroad and described in

paragraph (4)(B) that are transferred to the United States.

(3) Conditions.—The Administrator may predicate, in

the agreement, the transfer of functions and duties under this

subsection on any conditions the Administrator deems

necessary and prudent, except that the Administrator may not

transfer responsibilities for United States registered aircraft

described in paragraph (4)(A) to a country that the Admin-

istrator determines is not in compliance with its obligations

under international law for the safety oversight of civil

aviation.

(4) Registered aircraft defined.—In this subsection, the

term “registered aircraft” means—

37a

(A) aircraft registered in the United States and oper-

ated pursuant to an agreement for the lease, charter, or

interchange of the aircraft or any similar arrangement by an

operator that has its principal place of business or, if it has no

such place of business, its permanent residence in another

country; and

(B) aircraft registered in a foreign country and oper-

ated under an agreement for the lease, charter, or interchange

of the aircraft or any similar arrangement by an operator that

has its principal place of business or, if it has no such place of

business, its permanent residence in the United States.

(f) Exemptions.—The Administrator may grant an exemp-

tion from a requirement of a regulations prescribed under

subsection (a) or (b) of this section or any of sections 44702—

44716 of this title if the Administrator finds the exemption is

in the public interest.

38a

APPENDIX E

Code of Federal Regulations

Title 14, Volume 2

Title 14—AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

CHAPTER I-FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (CONTINUED)

PART 121— OPERATING REQUIREMENTS: DOMESTIC,

FLAG, AND SUPPLEMENTAL OPERATIONS

Subpart A—General

Sec. 121.1 Applicability.

This part prescribes rules governing—

(a) The domestic, flag, and supplemental operations of

each person who holds or is required to hold an Air Carrier

Certificate or Operating Certificate under part 119 of this

chapter.

* * *

.Sec. 121.11 Rules applicable to operations in a foreign

country.

Each certificate holder shall, while operating an airplane

within a foreign country, comply with the air traffic rules of

the country concerned and the local airport rules, except

where any rule of this part is more restrictive and may be

followed without violating the rules of that country.

* * *

Sec. 121.317 Passenger information requirements, smoking

prohibitions, and additional seat belt require-

ments.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (1) of this section, no

person may operate an airplane unless it is equipped with

passenger information signs that meet the requirements of

39a

Sec. 25.791 of this chapter. Except as provided in paragraph

(1) of this section, the signs must be constructed so that the

crewmembers can turn them on and off.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (1) of this section,

the “Fasten Seat Belt” sign shall be turned on during any

movement on the surface, for each takeoff, for each landing,

and at any other time considered necessary by the pilot in

command.

(c) No person may operate an airplane on a flight on

which smoking is prohibited by part 252 of this title unless

either the “No Smoking” passenger information signs are

lighted during the entire flight, or one or more “No Smoking”

placards meeting the requirements of Sec. 25.1541 of this

chapter are posted during the entire flight segment. If both

the lighted signs and the placards are used, the signs must

remain lighted during the entire flight segment.

(d) No person may operate a Passenger-carrying airplane

under this part unless at least one legible sign or placard that

reads “Fasten Seat Belt While Seated” is visible from each

passenger seat. These signs or placards need not meet the

requirements of paragraph (a) of this section.

(e) No person may operate an airplane unless there is

installed in each lavatory a sign or placard that reads:

“Federal law provides for a penalty of up to $2,000 for

tampering with the smoke detector installed in this lavatory.”

These signs or placards need not meet the requirements of

paragraph (a) of this section.

(f) Each passenger required by Sec. 121.311(b) to occupy

a seat or berth shall fasten his or her safety belt about him or

her and keep it fastened while the “Fasten Seat Belt” sign is

lighted.

40a

(g) No person may smoke while a “No Smoking” sign is

lighted or while “No Smoking” placards are posted, except as

follows:

(1) Supplemental operations. The pilot in command of

an airplane engaged in a supplemental operation may

authorize smoking on the flight deck (if it is physically

separated from any passenger compartment), but not in any of

the following situations:

(i) During airplane movement on the surface or dur-

ing takeoff or landing;

(11) During scheduled passenger-carrying public char-

ter operations conducted under part 380 of this title; or

(iii) During any operation where smoking is prohib-

ited by part 252 of this title or by international agreement.

(2) Certain intrastate domestic operations. Except dur-

ing airplane movement on the surface or during takeoff or

landing, a pilot in command of an airplane engaged in a

domestic operation may authorize smoking on the flight deck

(if it is physically separated from the passenger compartment)

it—

(i) Smoking on the flight deck is not otherwise

prohibited by part 252 of this title;

(ii) The flight is conducted entirely with the same

State of the United States (a flight from one place in Hawaii

to another place in Hawaii through the airspace over a place

outside of Hawaii is not entirely within the same State); and

(iii) The airplane is either not turbo-jet-powered or the

airplane is not capable of carrying at least 30 passengers:

(h) No person may smoke in any airplane lavatory.

(i) No person may tamper with, disable, or destroy any

smoke detector installed in any airplane lavatory.

4la

(j) On flight segments other than those described in

paragraph (c) of this section, the “No Smoking” sign must be

turned on during any movement on the surface. for each

takeoff, for each landing, and at any other time considered

necessary by the pilot in command.

(k) Each passenger shall comply with instructions given

him or her by a crewmember regarding compliance with

paragraphs (f), (g), (h), and (i) of this section.

(1) A certificate holder may operate a nontransport cate-

gory airplane type certificated after December 31. 1964, that

is manufactured before December 20, 1997, if it is equipped

with at least one placard that is legible to each person seated

in the cabin that states “Fasten Seat Belt,” and if, during any

movement on the surface, for each takeoff, for each landing,

and at any other time considered necessary by the pilot in

command, a crewmember orally instructs the passengers to

fasten their seat belts.

* *

Sec. 121.535 Responsibility for operational control: Flag

operations.

* * *

(c) The aircraft dispatcher is responsible for—

(2) Issuing necessary instructions and information for

the safety of the flight;

* * *

(f) No pilot may operate an aircraft in a careless or reckless

manner so as to endanger life or property.

* * *

42a

Sec. 121.537 Responsibility for operational control: Supple-

mental operations.

(a) Each certificate holder conducting supplemental

operations—

(1) Is responsible for operational control; and

(2) Shall list each person authorized by it to exercise

operational control in its operator’s manual.

(b) The pilot in command and the director of operations

are jointly responsible for the initiation, continuation,

diversion, and termination of a flight in compliance with this

chapter and the operations specifications. The director of

operations may delegate the functions for the initiation,

continuation, diversion, and termination of a flight but he

may not delegate the responsibility for those functions.

(c) The director of operations is responsible for cancelling,

diverting, or delaying a flight if in his opinion or the opinion

of the pilot in command the flight cannot operate or continue

to operate safely as planned or released. The director of

operations is responsible for assuring that each flight is

monitored with respect to at least the following:

(1) Departure of the flight from the place of origin and

arrival at the place of destination, including intermediate

stops and any diversions therefrom.

(2) Maintenance and mechanical delays encountered at

places of origin and destination and intermediate stops.

(3) Any known conditions that may adversely affect the

safety of flight.

(d) Each pilot in command of an aircraft is, during flight

time, in command of the aircraft and crew and is responsible

for the safety of the passengers, crewmembers, cargo, and

aircraft. The pilot in command has full control and authority

in the operation of the aircraft, without limitation, over other

43a

crewmembers and their duties during flight time, whether or

not he holds valid certificates authorizing him to perform the

duties of those crewmembers.

(¢) Each pilot in command of an aircraft is responsible for

the preflight planning and the operations of the flight in com-

pliance with this chapter and the operations specifications.

(f) No pilot may operate an aircraft, in a careless or

reckless manner, so as to endanger life or property.

* * *

Sec. 121.571 Briefing passengers before takeoff.

(a) Each certificate holder operating a passenger-carrying

airplane shall insure that all passengers are orally briefed by

the appropriate crewmember as follows:

(1) Before each takeoff, on each of the following:

(i) Smoking. Each passenger shall be briefed on

when, where, and under what conditions smoking is

prohibited including, but not limited to, any applicable

requirements of part 252 of this title). This briefing shall

include a statement that the Federal Aviation Regulations

require passenger compliance with the lighted passenger

information signs, posted placards, areas designated for safety

purposes as no smoking areas, and crewmember instructions

with regard to those items. The briefing shall also include a

Statement that Federal law prohibits tampering with,

disabling, or destroying any smoke detector in an airplane

lavatory; smoking in lavatories; and, when applicable,

sinoking in passenger compartments.

(ii) The location of emergency exits.

(iii) The use of safety belts, including instructions on

how to fasten and unfasten the safety belts. Each passenger

shall be briefed on when, where, and under what conditions

the safety belt must be fastened about that passenger. This

44a

briefing shall include a statement that the Federal Aviation

Regulations require passenger compliance with lighted

passenger information signs and crewmember instructions

concerning the use of safety belts.

(iv) The location and use of any required emergency

flotation means.

* *

(b) Each certificate holder shall carry on each passenger-

carrying airplane, in convenient locations for use of each

passenger, printed cards supplementing the oral briefing and

containing —

(1) Diagrams of, and methods of operating, the emer-

gency exits; and

(2) Other instructions necessary for use of emergency

equipment.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.