Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Moorman v. Florida Department of Community Affairs

Supreme Court brief1996

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILBD

YU 952 035 mar 19 19%

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No.

Cae ee ee ee

CHARLES MOORMAN, KATHLEEN MOORMAN and

YOUR LOCAL FENCE, INC.,

Petitioner,

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THEODORE W. HERZOG, ESQUIRE

209 DUVAL STREET

KEY WEST, FLORIDA 33040

Attorney for Petitioner

Appellate Printing Services * 2 South 6th Street * Richmond, VA 23219 « (800) 642-7789

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Whether the Florida Suprsme Court

correctly ds» termined that land development

regulations of one of its counties banning

all fences in an Area of Critical County

Concern was constitutional under State and

Federal due process requirements as being

narrowly tailored to achieve legitimate

state objectives in protecting Key Deer in

light of testimony at Trial by the expert

witness of an agency of the State of

Florida (Department of Community Affairs)

that some fences would be beneficial to

Key Deer and in the face of evidence that

without te#nces children's lives were

endangered on their own property.

2. Whether the due process clauses of

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the

United States Constitution require that a

County Land Development Regulation banning

all fences in an area of critical county

1

| |

concern within the State of Florida was

facially unconstitutional as not bearing a

reasonable and substantial relation to the

purpose sought to be attained.

3. Whether an open ended moratorium

extending for a period of years created by

enactment of a Land Development Regulation

by a County located within the State of

Florida prohibiting fences for an

indeterminate period of time is

unconstitutional based upon the due

process clauses of the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments of the United States

Constitution.

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BEFORE

THE STAT RID PREM RT

Le Charles Moorman

(Theodore W. Herzog, Attorney)

Route 3, Box 439

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

2. Kathleen Moorman

(Theodore W. Herzog, Attorney)

Route 3, Box 439

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

3. Your Local Fence, Inc.

(Theodore W. Herzog, Attorney)

Industrial Road

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

4. State of Florida

Department of Community Affairs

(Brigette Ffolkes, Assistant General

Counsel )

2740 Centerview Drive

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

Se 1,000 Friends of Florida

(Richard Grosso, Legal Director)

926 E. Park Avenue

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Questions Presented ......+-.+«-«+-+. 1

List of Dereies... <6: «2's abe 1k 2 eS

Official and Unofficial Reports of

Opinions (es * 2.950. 6 anes Se

SURLOGLOCIOR. 2. 6 64 ee te eS

Statement of the Case . « « «2:0 «9: ka

Appendix

A. State of Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission Final

Order

B. Opinion of the 3rd DCA

Cc. Order of Supreme Court of

Florida

D. Respondents'/Appellees' Motion

for ReHearing; Clarification

Pursuant to Florida Rule of

Appellate Procedure 9.330

gE. Supreme Court of Florida Order

Denying Motion for ReHearing and

Clarification

F. District Court of Appeals Order

withdrawing Mandate issued

December 9, 1993 and adopting

opinion of Supreme Court of

Florida.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Loretto v. Teleprompter CATV SOrR.

458 US 419 (1992) .. . 21, 22

Moorman, et al v. Department of Community

of Affairs

626 So 2nd 1108, 3DC (1993) so-tae Be

Nollan v. California Coastal Commission

55 LW 5145 (1987) eee ané aa

Florida Constitution

ABCLGLO 2s BOGCAGR 2 «+ « © © © 15

Asticie 1, Section $9... -«s es 16

United States Constitution

Fe re oe ig sg oy ee. ec ee

Amendment XIV, Section 1... 9, 23

OFFICIAL AND OF L P

OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THE CASE

i A "Recommended Order" (based upon the

initial trial of this cause held on

February 6, 1992) was issued on April 30,

1992 by William J. Kendrick, Hearing

Officer, Division of Administrative

Hearings, Tallahassee, Florida which

reversed issuance of certain fence permits

by Monroe County, Florida.

ae A "Final Order" was issued on July

30, 1992 by Linda Loomis Shelly,

Secretary, Department of Community

Affairs, Tallahassee, Florida adopted the

"Recommended Order" issued by the

Administrative Hearing Officer.

3. On July 8, 1992 a Final Order was

issued by Douglas M. Cook, Secretary

Florida Land and Water Adjudicatory

Commission, Tallahassee, Florida which

confirmed the "Recommended Order" of the

Hearing Officer.

}

4. A Written Opinion of the District

Court of Appeals for the Third District of

Florida was issued on November 23, 1993,

such Opinion appearing at 626 So. Rep. 2nd

1108 et seq (1993).

5. The Supreme Court of Florida issued

its Written Opinion on September 28, 1995

(Department of Community affairs,

Petitioner v. Charles Moorman, et al,

Respondents, Case No. 82,946, 1995.

6. The District Court of Appeal of

Florida for the Third District withdrew

its Mandate previously issued in this

cause on December 9, 1993 by virtue of its

Order dated January 4, 1996.

JURISDICTION OF T?’E UNITED

STATES SUPREM? COURT

The Judgment or decree being reviewed

is the Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Florida rendered on September 28, 1995 in

Department of Community Affairs,

Petitioner v. Charles Moorman, et al,

Respondents, Case No. 82,946. Petitioners

herein Moorman and Your Local Fence filed

a Motion for rehearing with the Florida

Supreme Court on October 12, 1995, which

Motion was granted by the Florida Supreme

Court on October 24, 1995. After briefing

by the parties, the Supreme Court of

Florida denied the Motion for Rehearing

and Clarification filed by Petitioners

herein (Charles Moorman, et al), such

denial by Order dated December 20, 1995.

Jurisdiction of this Court is based

upon the due process clauses of the Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States and

8

ne

Supreme Court Rule 10-1(c) providing that

the Supreme Court of the United States of

America has discretionary jurisdiction

when a State Court of last resort (the

Supreme Court of the State of Florida

herein) has decided a Federal question in

a way that conflicts with the applicable

decisions of the United States Supreme

Court. The applicabie constitutional

provisions (the due process clause of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States) are as

follows:

United States Constitution

Amendment V

No person shall be held to

answer for a capital, or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a

presentment or indictment of a Grand

Jury, except in cases arising in the

land or naval forces, or in the

Militia, when in actual service in

time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the

same offence to be twice put in

jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall

be compelled in any criminal case to

be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken

for public use, without just

compensation.

Amendment XIV, Section l.

All persons born or naturalized

in the united States, and subject to

the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of

the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law

which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United

10

i

eae ee

States; nor shall any State deprive

any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

ll

a

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This Appeal arises out of an Appeal

by the Florida Department of Community

Affairs (DCA) of tuilding permits issued

to Petitioners Moorma::s, Your Local Fence

and three other property owners, such

permits having been applied for and

received in the form of fence permits

issued by Monroe County, Florida. All of

the properties owned by the parties in the

area in which Your Local Fence operates

its business of constructing fences live

within various subdivisions within the Big

Pine Key Area of Critical County Concern

which is located in Monroe County,

Florida.

The Appeals of the building permits

in question by the DCA were consolidated

into a‘single Administrative Hearing. At

the Administrative Hearing testimony was

presented by the DCA principally through a

12

biologist and an expert in comprehensive

planning. The property owners in question

and the owner of the business in question

testified as to their reasons why they

desired to fence their property (in the

case of the property owners) and to

construct fences (in the case of the fence

company) on Big Pine Key, Monroe County,

Florida.

Testimony was produced at Trial at

the Administrative Hearing level by a

property owner indicating the necessity of

a fence to prevent their small children

from falling into a canal abutting their

back yard, such testimony including

affirmation that one of their children had

in fact fallen into the canal. The

subject property owners also provided

testimony that a fence would prevent their

dog, a rottweiler, from harming the Key

Deer. Other property owners testified

13

that they needed fences to protect their

property from trespassers and crime and to

prevent the Key Deer from eating their

vegetation.

Testimony was elicited from the DCA's

biologist expert to the effect that Key

Deer are in fact an endangered species.

The biologist also testified that fences

can be harmful to key deer because they

interrupt the normal movements of the

animals and exclude habitat but also

testified that in some cases fencing might

be a good idea to protect Key Deer. The

biologist further testified that he did

not regard all of the Big Pine Key

subdivisions in question as habitat for

key deer and that significant areas of

real property were included within the

habitat area defined by Monroe County's

ordinance prohibiting the construction of

fences for the protection of Key Deer.

14

At the conclusion of the

Administrative Hearing, the Hearing

Officer found that the fence permits in

question were contrary to Section 9.5-309

of the Monroe County Land Development

Regulations which ban all fences in the

subject Area of Critical Concern. The

Hearing Officer prepared a recommended

order reversing the decision of the Monroe

County Building Department to issue the

fence permits in question. The

recommended order of the Administrative

Hearing Officer was then adopted by the

Department of Community Affairs and the

State of Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission.

At the District Court of Appeal of

Florida for the Third District of Florida,

Petitioners herein asserted that’ the

blanket prohibition of fences by virtue of

the applicable Monroe County Land

15

Development Regulation was

unconstitutional as an invalid exercise of

police power, as a violation of due

process and also contended that’ the

subject land use regulations restricting

development of Big Pine Key infringed on

constitutionally protected property rights

and interests of landowners.

The Opinion of the District Court of

Appeal for the Third District (Charles

Moorman and Kathleen Moorman; Your Local

Fence and Monroe County, Appellants, v.

Department of Community Affairs, Appellee,

626 So 2nd 1108, 1993) held that Section

9.5-309(e) of the Monroe County Land

Development Regulations was

unconstitutional on its’ face. The

District Court of Appeal's Opinion was

based upon its determination that the

Florida Constitution (Article I Section 2)

provides that "all natural persons are

16

equal before the law and have inalienable

rights, among which are the right to

acquire, possess and protect property.”

Reference was also made to Article I,

Section 9 of the Florida Constitution

which provides that "no person shall be

deprived of life, liberty or property

without due process of law". The Third

District Court of Appeal also held that

the Land Development Regulation in

question was unconstitutional as a

violation of due process since the means

selected by the legislature did not bear

reasonable and substantial relation to the

purposes sought to be obtained and as

passing beyond the bounds of reason and

having assumed the character of a merely

arbitrary fiat.

It is notable that at the Third

District Court of Appeals level the Court

emphasized the testimony of the biologist

17

indicating that some fences would not harm

the key deer and would in fact in certain

circumstance be beneficial to them. The

expert testified that in three out of four

cases before the Administrative Hearing

Officer there was no biological basis for

denying the fence permit. Based upon the

foregoing, the Third District Court of

Appeals held that the complete ban on all

fences in Big Pine Key did not accomplish

“either of the two goals of the

.

:

4

legislation:

1.) The ban on all fences does not always

protect the key deer as some deer can be

harmed in places where there are no

fences; and

2.) The fence ban does not recognize the

individual's right to "protect, enjoy and

use one's property."

The Supreme Court of Florida issued

its Opinion on September 28, 1995 holding

18

that the application of the ordinance to

the particular fence permit issued to

Charles and Kathy Moorman was

constitutional as applied because it was

applied on a rational basis consistent

with state environmental policy. The

subject Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Florida failed and neglected to address or

recognize the rights of Your Local Fence,

Inc. as a business operation constructing

fences throughout Big Pine Key, Monroe

County, Florida (an area where the State

of Florida's biologist testified land was

included within a prohibited zone (in

terms of construction of fences) which was

in fact not Key Deer habitat.

The Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Florida recognized in its text that 4a

blanket prohibition of fencing as effected

by the subject Monroe County Land

Development Regulation was meant as an

19

interim restriction to be replaced within

a year by a more comprehensive regulation

that would better identify where fence

restrictions would be proper and where

they were unnecessary. The Court also

recognized that despite the interim nature

of the subject ordinance it had "been on

the books for more than five years before

the times in question with respect to the

building permits before the Court and had

not been modified so as to indicate the

termination date on the moratorium created

thereby or the standard by which

modifications thereto would be made as

required by the County Commission of

Monroe County, Florida in terms of its

mandate to develop a "focal point plan"

further analyzing the issue of fencing and

protection of Key Deer.

The Florida Supreme Court's opinion

defined as the nub of the issue "a simple

20

failure to revisit an interim" land use

regulation that was never intended to be a

permanent feature of the County Code Book,

as it seem to have become by the times in

question."

The right of due process in

Petitioners herein was recognized by the

Florida Supreme Court under the Florida

Constitution which the Court held does in

fact guarantee the right to enjoy property

and can include decisions regarding the

improvement of property. The Court's

opinion ultimately held that the Land

Development regulations in question did

meet constitutional muster in terms of due

process in that they "must be upheld

unless they bear no substantial

relationship to legitimate societal

policies." Based upon the foregoing the

Court held that the ordinance in question

should not have been stricken on its face.

21

Again, however the Florida Supreme Court

neglected to address the question of

unconstitutional broad base and of the

arbitrary and capricious nature of the

subject land development regulation. The

Florida Supreme Court's decision to allow

the ordinance in question to stand was

made in the face of their determination

that "the underlying intent was to replace

the ordinance with something less

restrictive, although this intent

regrettably was never carried forward into

action."

The decision of the Florida Supreme

Court runs directly contrary to the

determinations of this Court. This Court

has held on numerous occasions that the

right to exclude others [from one's real

property] is one of the most essential

sticks in the bundle of rights that are

commonly characterized as property”

22

(Loretto v. Teleprompter CATV Corp., 458

US 419 1992). This Court has also held in

Nollan v. California Coastal Commission,

(55 LW 5145, 1987) that a ban on fences

could be constitutional in some

circumstances but that "the evident

constitutional propriety disappears,

however, if the conditions substituted for

the prohibition utterly tails to further

the end advanced as to the justification

for the provision." The rational nexus

test established by Nollan indicates that

a lack of nexus between the condition and

the original purpose of a building

restriction converts that purpose to

something other than what it was. The

position of the Florida Supreme Court runs

contrary to the holding of this Court in

Nollan that the California Coastal

Commission could not require the property

owner to grant and easement over his

23

property as a condition for granting a

building permit. The total ban on fences

over an area of Big Pine Key, Monroe

County, Florida which includes significant

areas that are not Key Deer habitat

constitutes a clear breach of the Nollan

logical nexus standards which are based

(in significant part) upon the due process

Clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States

Constitution. While it is a legitimate

goal to attempt to protect the Key Deer as

an endangered species that goal should be

shouldered equally be all citizens of the

State of Florida and not by an arbitrary

moratorium imposed upon selected

landowners without appropriate standards.

Due process questions were raised

throughout the proceedings referred to in

this Petition for Certiorari being first

initiated at the Administrative Hearing

24

level and continuing on through the

Florida Supreme Court level. The Florida

Constitution due process issues were dealt

with by the District Court of Appeal of

Florida for the Third District which held

that the land development regulation in

question was’ unconstitutional. The

Florida Supreme Court ruled on due process

issues and determined that the Land

Development Regulation in question was not

unconstitutional on its face and was

constitutional as applied to the Moormans

as individuals (neglecting to address Your

Local Fence, Inc. as a fence construction

company).

25

SUBSTANTIAL ISSUES PRESENTED

The questions presented herein are of

such impact as to hold in the balance of

their determination the economic viability

of Petitioner Your Local Fence, Inc.'s

business since the Monroe County Land

Development Regulation in question

constitutes a total ban on construction

within a specified geographic zone on the

basis of an open ended moratorium in terms

of time or standards of development.

Further, the Land Development Regulation

in question constitutes an arbitrary and

capricious legislative act which violates

the due process rights of Petitioners as

presented under the facts of this case.

The questions presented are, therefore, so

substantial as to require consideration

with briefs on the merits and oral

argument before their resolution.

Wherefore Petitioner requests that this

26

Court issue its Writ of Certiorari

accepting jurisdiction of this matter for

review.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE W. HERZOG, ESQUIRE

FLORIDA BAR NO. 151456

THEODORE W. HERZOG, P.A.

209 DUVAL STREET

KEY WEST, FLORIDA 33040

(305)-293-9655

(Admitted to the Bar of the

Supreme Court of the United

States of America on August 12,

1977.)

27

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Theodore W. Herzog, Esquire, a

member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of

the United States of America, do hereby

certify that on this the 16th day of June,

1996 three copies of Petitioner's Petition

for Writ of Certiorari were served upon

the following persons:

David J. Russ, Esquire

Assistant General Counsel

Brigette A. Folkes

Assistant General Counsel

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT

Department of Community Affairs

2740 Centerview Drive

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

Richard Grosso

1000 Friends of Florida

926 East Park Avenue

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

THEODORE W. HERZ ve

pee OS NT sk ee

28

APPENDIX

APPENDIX "A"

STATE OF FLORIDA

LAND AND WATER ADJUDICATORY COMMISSION

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

VS. FLWAC CASE NO. APP-91-017

DOAH CASE NO. 91-4110DRI

CHARLES MOORMAN

and KATHLEEN

MOORMAN, Owners;

YOUR LOCAL FENCE,

Contractor; and MONROE

COUNTY,

Respondent.

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

VS. FLWAC CASE NO. APP-91-029

DOAH CASE NO. 91-5966DRI

RAYMOND MCRAE and

ROSEMARIE MCRAE,

Owners; and MONROE

COUNTY,

Respondent.

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

VS. FLWAC CASE NO. APP-91-021

DOAH CASE NO. 91-5968DRI

NICHOLAS HORNBACHER

and JEAN HORNBACHER,

Owners; YOUR LOCAL

FENCE; Contractor; and

MONROE COUNTY,

Respondent.

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

VS. FLWAC CASE NO. APP-91-040

DOAH CASE NO. 91-6603DRI

JAMES DANIELS and

KATHRYN DANIELS,

Owners; YOUR LOCAL

FENCE; Contractor; and

MONROE COUNTY,

Respondent.

FINAL ORDER

This matter came before the Governor and Cabinet,

sitting as the Florida Land and Water Adjudicatory

Commission (‘Commission") on July 8, 1992, in Tallahassee,

Florida, pursuant to section 380.07, Florida Statutes (F.S.)

for consideration of a Recommended Order issued by the

Division of Administrative Hearings (DOAH) in the above

referenced proceeding. Based upon a review of the record in

this matter, the Commission voted to adopt the Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law set forth in the Recommended

Order dated April 30, 1992, and issue this Final Order

adopting the Hearing Officer's Recommended Order. It is

hereby ordered that the following building permits issued by

Monroe County be rescinded: Building Permit No.

9110002231 issued to Charles and Kathleen Moorman and

Your Local Fence; Building Permit No. 9110002807 issued

to Nicholas and Jean Hornbacher and Your Local Fence,

3

Building Permit No. 9110002853 issued to Raymond and

Rosemarie McRae; and Building Permit No. 9110003165

issued to James and Kathryn Daniels and Your Local Fence.

The DOAH Recommended Order is incorporated into this

Final Order as Exhibit A.

Rul; p hile Meek Bieietaiieats D

l. DENIED. The record supports the hearing officer's

Finding of Fact 12 regarding the construction of fences on

Big Pine Key in that Big Pine Key is the primary habitat of the

Key Deer, an endangered species, and section 9.5-479(d)(1),

Monroe County Code (MCC), states that "no development

shall be carried out in the Big Pine Key Area of Critical

County Concern (ACCC) except for single-family detached

dwellings on lots in the Improved Subdivision District”.

Moreover, section 9.5-309, MCC, states that "no fences shall

be erected until such time as this chapter is created to provide

for the regulation of fences within this ACCC". In Finding of

Fact 14, the hearing officer also stated that "over the course

of the past five years, Monroe County has discussed design

criteria for fences on Big Pine Key but has not yet adopted a

regulation that would provide for fences within the Big Pine

Key ACCC as mandated by Section 9.5-309, MCC".

2. DENIED. The records reflects on page 137 of the

Final Hearing Transcript that although Mr. Pete Kalla, expert

witness in biology, stated "I don't regard subdivisions as

habitat, per se, because I don't believe it's a natural situation

for Key Deer to be in subdivisions", he went on to say on

page 141 of the Final hearing Transcript that "fences are

harmful to the Key Deer in that they do two things: 1) they

interrupt the normal movements of the animal, and 2) they

exclude habitat from the animal." Mr. Kalla further stated

that "Key Deer move essentially constantly and they take up a

large area and to have fences in that area and affect their

movements is deleterious to them."

—————_

3. DENIED. In the hearing officer's Finding of Fact

22 of the Recommended Order with regard to the propriety of

fences on Big Pine Key, the hearing officer found, and the

Commission agrees, that although the Department of

Community Affairs ("Department") may have failed to appeal

every fence permit issued in the Big Pine Key ACCC, as

alleged by Mr. Moorman, Respondent his argument that as a

consequence of their failure, the Department should be

precluded from contesting the issuance of the subject permits,

is not persuasive. It was further stated by the hearing officer

in of Fact 23 of the Recommended Order that "neither the

applicants nor Your Local Fence made any inquiry of the

Department as to why some permits were appealed and others

were not, or requested that the Department waive its appeal

period, prior to erecting their fences. Under such

circumstances, it cannot be reasonably concluded that the

Department misled any applicant so as to bar it from

contesting the propriety of the subject fences, and those who

chose to erect their fences knowing their permits were not yet

effective acted at their peril."

WHEREFORE, this Commission hereby adopts the

Recommended Order including the Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law set forth in the Recommended Order, and

hereby enters this Final Order reversing Monroe County's

decision to issue the subject permits and deny the applications

of the Moormans, Hornbachers, McRae's, and Daniels, as

owners, as well as Your Local Fence, as contractor, for such

permits. It is further ordered that there are no changes in the

subject proposals that would make them eligible to receive the

permits as requested since the Monroe County Code prohibits

fences on Big Pine Key.

Any party to this order has the right to seek judicial

review of the order pursuant to section 120.68, Florida

Statutes, by the filing of a Notice of Appeal pursuant to Rule

9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, with the Clerk

of the Commission, Office of Planning and Budgeting,

Executive Office of the Governor, Room 413 Carlton

Building, 501 South Gadsden Street, Tallahassee, Florida

32399-0001; and by filing a copy of the Notice of Appeal,

accompanied with the applicable filing fees, with the

appropriate District court of Appeal. n Notice of Appeal must

be filed with the Clerk of the Commission.

DONE AND ENTERED this 8th day of July 1992.

DOUGLAS M. COOK, Secretary |

Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission

FILED with the Clerk of the Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission this the 8th day of July 1992.

PATRICIA P. MCCRAY

Clerk, Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission\

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

1 HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of

the foregoing was delivered to the following parties by U.S.

Mail this 8th day of July 1992.

DOUGLAS M. COOK, Secretary

Florida Land and Water

Adjudicatory Commission

Honorable Lawton Chiles | Honorable Jim Smith

Governor Secretary of State

The Capitol The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399 _— Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Honorable Gerald Lewis Honorable Tom Gallagher

Comptroller Treasurer

The Capitol The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399 Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Honorable Bob Butterworth Honorable Betty Castor

Attorney General Commissioner of Education

The Capitol The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32399 Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Honorable Bob Crawford § David Maloney, Esq.

Commissioner of Agriculture Governor's Legal Office

The Capitol The Capitol, Suite 210

Tallahassee, Florida 32399 Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Theodore W. Herzog, Esq. Kathy Castor, Esq.

209 Duval Street Dept. of Community Affairs

Key West, Florida 33040 2740 Centerview Drive

Tallahassee, FL 32399-2100

Honorable Wilhelmina Harvey

Mayor, Monroe County

310 Fleming Street

Key West, Florida 33040

Randy Ludacer, Esq. Bob Herman

Monroe County Attorney § Monroe County Growth

310 Fleming Street Management Division

Key West, Florida 33040 5100 Junior College Road

Stock Island

Key West, Florida 33040

Florida Administrative Law Report

Post Office Box 385

Gainsville, Florida 32602

Jack London, Mayor ProTem

Alamo Office

Route 2, Box 674B

Summerland Key, Florida 33042

Commissioner Earl Cheal Commissioner John Stormont

Chaplin Building Plantation Key Gov't Center

5192 Overseas Highway 88820 Overseas Highway

Marathon, Florida 33050 Tavernier, Florida 33070

Commissioner Doug Jones

10

310 Fleming Street

Key West, Florida 33040

Carolyn Dekle, Director

South Florida Regional

Planning Council

3400 Hollywood Blvd

Suite 140

Hollywood, Florida 33021

William Kendrick, Hearing Officer

Division of Administrative Hearings

The DeSoto Building

1230 Apalachee Parkway

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1550

Raymond and Rosemarie McRae

Route 3, Box 283F

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

James and Kathryn Daniels

Route 3, Box 297

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

Nicholas and Jean Hornbacher

Route 3, Box 223F

Big Pine Key, Florida 33040

Charles and Kathleen Moorman

Route 3, Box 439

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

Your Local Fence, Inc.

Post Office Box 1720

Big Pine Key, Florida 33043

1]

APPENDIX "B"

Charles MOORMAN and Kathleen

Moorman; Your Local Fence, and

Monroe County, Appellants,

Vv.

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS, Appellee.

No. 92-1785

District Court of Appeal of Florida,

Third District.

Nov. 23, 1993

Before SCHWARTZ, C.J., and BASKIN and

GERSTEN, J.J.

GERSTEN, Judge.

The appellants Charles Moorman and

Kathleen moorman (Moorman), and Your Local

Fence (Contractor), appeal a final order

of the Florida Land and Water Adjudicatory

Commission (Commission), rescinding Monroe

County fence permits. We reverse.

Moorman and three other property

owners’ applied for, and received, Monroe

County fence permits. The owners’

properties are located in various

subdivisions within the Big Pine Key area

of Critical County Concern (Area of

Critical Concern). Only one property is

situated in the natural habitat for Key

Deer while the other three properties are

not.

Appellee, The Florida Department of

Community Affairs (DCA), appealed each

permit contending: 1) that the permits

were inconsistent with section 9.5-309(e)

of the Monroe County Land Development

Regulations (MCLDR), because this section

bans all fences on Big Pine Key; and 2)

that there were no exceptions to this

section providing for fences.

The appealed permits were

consolidated into a single administrative

hearing. At the hearing, the DCA

presented testimony of a biologist and an

expert in comprehensive planning. Each

property owner testified why they desired

to fence their property.

One property owner testified that

their fence was needed to prevent their

three small children from falling into the

canal that abuts their backyard.

Previously, one child fell into the canal.

Additionally, a fence would prevent their

dog, a rottweiler, from harming the Key

Deer. The other property owners needed

fences to protect their property from

trespassers and crime, and the prevent the

Key Deer from eating their vegetation.

Significant testimony came from the

biologist. He explained that Key Deer are

endangered species whose long term

viability is threatened by habitat loss.

In his opinion, generally, fences are

harmful to Key Deer because they interrupt

the normal movements of the animals and

exclude habitat. However, he also stated

that in some cases fencing might be a good

idea.

The biologist did not regard all Big

Pine Key subdivisions as habitat for Key

Deer. He determined that the Daniels,

Hornbacher, and McRae subdivisions were

not Key Deer habitat. In his opinion,

there was no biological basis for

objecting to fences in these areas.

However, a fence on the Moorman property

would be harmful to Key Deer because it

would fence some Key Deer habitat.

The hearing officer found that the

fence permits are coritrary to section 9.5-

309, MCLDR, which bans all fences in the

Area of Critical Concern. The hearing

officer recommended a final order

reversing Monroe County's decision to

issue the various permits. Subsequently,

the Commission entered a final order

adopting the hearing officer's recommended

order and rescinded all four Monroe County

fence permits.

Appellants assert that the blanket

prohibition on fences contained in section

9.5-309(e), MCLDR, is unconstitutional as

an invalid exercise of police power.

Appellee contends that the fence

prohibition is constitutional because it

rationally relates to the protection of

Key Deer as a species.

The resolution of this issue requires

us to seek a harmonious balance between

the constitutional right to protect and

develop one's property and the right of

the Key Deer to exist unfettered. In

deciding this issue, we must review the

statutory and regulatory framework.

————————

Section 380.0552, Florida Statutes

(1991), designates the Florida Keys as

area of critical state concern. The

statute's intent was to establish, inter

alia, "a land use management system that

protects the natural environment of the

Florida Keys" and protects "the

constitutional rights of property owners

to own, use, and dispose of their real

property." §380.0552(2)(f), Fla.Stat.

(1991).

Similarly, Monroe County designated

most of Big Pine Key, "An Area of Critical

County Concern" in the MCLDR. Section

9.5-479(b) provides:

(b) Purpose: The purpose of the Big

Pine Key Area of Critical County

Concern is to establish a focal point

planning effort directed as

reconciling the conflict between

reasonable investment backed

expectations and the habitat needs of

the Florida Key Deer which is listed

as endangered under the Federal

Endangered Species Act.

In 1986, section 9.5-479(c)(3),

MCLDR, provided that Monroe County would

have twelve months to complete the focal

point plan for Big Pine Key. One of the

purposes of the focal point plan was to

provide criteria for permitting fences in

designated areas within the Area of

Critical Concern. After more than five

years, Monroe County failed to complete a

focal point plan.

Consequently, section 9.5309(e),

MCLDR, remained the only regulation

governing fences in the Area of Critical

Concern. This section provides:

It is the purpose of this section to

————————

regulate fences and freestanding

walls in order to protect the public

health, safety and welfare.

* * * * * * * &

(e) Big Pine Key Area of Critical

County Concern: No fences shall be

erected here until such time as this

chapter is created to provide for the

regulation of fences within this Area

of Critical County Concern.

Given this scenario, we address’ the

constitutionality of section 9.5-309(e).

[1,2] Statutes relating to

environmental land and water management

require a balancing of the _ state's

interest in protecting the public's

health, safety, and welfare against the

constitutionally protected private

property interests of the landowner.

Graham _v. Estuary Properties, Inc. 399

—

So.2nd 1374, 1377 (Fla.), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 1083, 102 S.Ct. 640, 70 L.ed.2d

618 (1981). The “exercise of the state's

police power must relate to the health,

safety, and welfare of the public and may

not be arbitrarily and capriciously

applied." Id. at 1379.

{3} In addition, due process also

requires that "the means selected by the

legislature bear a reasonable and

substantial relation to the purpose sought

to be attained." In re Forfeiture of 1969

Piper Navajo, 592 So.2d 233, 235 (Fla.

1992); Art. I § 9. Fla.Const.

"Reasonable restrictions upon the use

of the property in the interest of the

public health, welfare, morals, and safety

are valid exercises of the state's police

power." Sarasota County v. Bard, 302

So.2d 737, 741 (Fla. 1974). However,

"when a particular attempted exercise of

the police power by a state, or under its

authority, passes the bounds of reason and

assumes the character of a merely

arbitrary fiat, it will be stricken down

and declared void." Caroll v. State, 361

So.2d 144 (Fla, 1978).

"Every reasonable doubt must be

indulged in favor of the act. If it can

be rationally interpreted to harmonize

with the Constitution, it is the duty of

the court to adopt that construction and

sustain the act." Id. (quoting Holley v.

Adams, 238 So.2d 401, 404 (Fla, 1970).

[4] We recognize that the state's

interest in protecting endangered species

is a legitimate governmental interest.

See Moviematie Indus. Corp. v. Board of

County Comm'rs, 349 So.2d 667 (Fla. 3d DCA

1977) (preserving the ecological balance

of a particular area is valid exercise of

police power). However, we must decide

whether the means chosen by the

legislature (the absolute ban against

fences on Big Pine Key in section 9.5-309,

MCLDR), is narrowly tailored to achieve

the state's objective of protecting the

Key Deer through the least restrictive

alternative. See In re Forfeiture of 1969

Piper Navajo, 592 So.2d at 235.

[5] the DCA's expert testimony

established the impropriety of a blanket

prohibition on fences. The biologist

testified that some fences would not harm

the Key Deer. In fact, some fencing would

be beneficial to them. The same expert

testified that in three out of the four

cases requesting a permit, there was no

biological basis for denying the fences.

Thus, the complete ban on all fences

11

in Big Pine Key does not accomplish either

of the two goals of the legislation: 1)

the ban on all fences does not always

protect the Key Deer as some deer can be

harmed in places where there as no fences;

and 2) the fence ban does not recognize

the individual's right to protect, enjoy

and use one's property. Therefore, the

fence regulation clashes with Florida's

constitution.

Although we recognize one of the

cardinal rules in reviewing the

constitutionality of a statute is "never

to formulate a rule of constitutional law

broader than is required by the precise

facts to which it is applied," Brockett v.

Spokane Arcades, Inc. 472 U.S. 491, 501,

105 S.Ct. 2794, 2800, 86 L.Ed.2d 394

(1985) (quoting United States v. Raines,

362 U.S. 17, 21, 86 8.Gba Bees Beare 4

12

ae

L.Ed.2d 524 (1960), based upon the record

before us, there was simply no showing

that the statute was unconstitutional as

applied.

Accordingly, we hold section 9.5-

309(e), MCLDR, is facially

unconstitutional because the method chosen

by the legislature is not narrowly

tailored to achieve the state's objective

of protecting the Key Deer. See In re

Forfeiture of 1969 Piper Navajo, 592 So.2d

at 235. This is particularly so because

property rights are protected by numerous

provisions in the Florida Constitution.

Article I, section 2 provides that

"all natural persons are equal before the

law and have inalienable rights, among

which are the right... to acquire, possess

and protect property..." Article I,

section 9 provides that "no person shall

13

be deprived of life, liberty or property

without due process of law..." Article I,

section 23 provides that "every natural

person has the right to be let alone and

free from governmental intrusion into his

private life..."

"These property rights are woven into

the fabric of Florida history." Shriners

Hospitals for Crippled Children v.

Zrillie, 563 So.2d 64, 67 (Fla.1990). So

long as the public welfare is protected,

every person in Florida enjoys the right

to possess property free from unreasonable

government interference. Id.

We are aware of the need to protect

and preserve endangered species. However,

the "ecology and environment must to some

extent yield to the needs and wants of the

human factor in our scheme of life and

happiness," Jacksonville Elec. Auth. v.

14

Pollution Control Bd., 270 So.2d 759, 761

(Fla. lst DCA 1972). Here, there was

evidence that children's lives were in

danger on their own property because of

the ban on fences. We must be careful not

to escalate the goal of preservation of an

animal species over human life.

Accordingly, we reserve the order

entered below because section 9.5-309(e),

MCLDR is unconstitutional.

BASKIN and GERSTEN, J.J-, concur

BASKIN, Judge (concurring).

The partial dissent concludes that

the "section in question is invalid as it

applies to the appellants' particular

fence." Op. at 1111. That conclusion

ignores the fact that appellants’ home is

within key deer habitat and is properly

subject to fencing regulations for

environmental protection purposes. Thus,

15

the majority holds that the record does

not support a finding that the statute is

unconstitutional as applied. Op. at 11ll.

The statute is unconstitutional where, as

here, the restriction constitutes

unreasonable government interference in

appellants' constitutionally protected

property rights. See Shriners Hosps. for

Crippled Children v. Zrillie, 563 So.2d

64, 68 (Fla.1990); Art. 1, §2, Fla. Const.

For these reasons, I concur in the

majority opinion.

SCHWARTZ, Chief Judge (specially

concurring in part, dissenting in part).

I concur in the result and in the

opinion only to the extent that it

determines that the section in question is

invalid as it applies to the appellants’

particular fence. See Brockett v. Spokane

Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491, 105 S.Ct.

16

2794, 86, L.Ed.2d 394 (1985); Fardig v.

Municipality of Anchorage, 803 P.2d 879

(Alaska Ct.App.1990); Palm Beach Mobile

Home, Inc. v. Strong, 300 So.2d 881

(Fla,1974); Monroe County v. Gonzalez, 593

So.2d 1143 (Fla. 3d DCA 1992). It is

neither necessary nor appropriate to

strike down the entire regulation which

may well be- indeed apparently is--

otherwise an appropriate and valid

exercise of the state's police power

authority to protect our environment and

wildlife. See Graham Vv. Estuary

Properties, Inc., 399 So.2d 1374, 1381

(Fla.1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1083,

102 s.Ct. 640, 70 L.Ed.2d 618 (1981(;

Sarasota County v. Barg, 302 So.2d 737,

741 (Fla.1974); State ex rel. Wilcox v.

T.0.L., Inc., 206 So.2d 69, 71-27 (Fla.

4th DCA 1968).

APPENDIX "C"

MANDATE

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

To the Honorable, the Judges of the:

District Court of Appeal, Third District

WHEREAS, in that certain cause filed in this Court styled:

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS v.

CHARLES MOORMAN, et al.

Case No.: 82,946

Your Case No.: 92-1785

The attached opinion was rendered on: September 28,

1995

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED that further proceedings

be had in accordance with said opinion, the rule of this Court

and the laws of the State of Florida.

WITNESS the Honorable Stephen H. Grimes,

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Florida

and the Seal of said Court at Tallahassee, the

Capital, on this 20th day of December, 1995

Clerk of the Supreme Court of Florida

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

No. 82,946

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

vs

CHARLES MOORMAN, et al.,

Respondents.

(September 28, 1995)

KOGAN, J.

We have for review. Moorman V. Department of

Community Affairs, 626 So. 2d 1108 (Fla. 3d DCA 1993),

because of express and direct conflict with Harrell's Candy

Kitchen Inc. v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport Authority, 111 So.

2d 439 (Fla.1959), among other decisions. We have

jurisdiction. Art. v, § 3 (b) (3), Fla. Const.

APPENDIX "D"

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Petitioner/Appellant,

vs. CASE NO. 82,946

CHARLES MOORMAN,

KATHLEEN MOORMAN,

and YOUR LOCAL FENCE,

Respondents/Appellees.

ON REVIEW FROM

THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

THIRD DISTRICT

Case No. 92-1785

THEODORE W. HERZOG

Florida Bar Number 151456

Attorney for Respondents/Appellees

209 Duval Street

Key West, Florida 33040

(305) 293-9655

Page

Table of Contents ...++-e«¢-c«eee eve &

Table of Authorities .....+..e- ii

Statement of the Case ........- iii

Motion for Rehearing; Clarification. . 1

ns 6 @ 6 6 6 6 «2 6.8 6 2 e -w 48

CeomGimeiom «© «© ee ee eer ee ewe SS

Certficate of Service .....+-+-s- 14

I.

This Court's Opinion of September 28,

1995 misapprehends and/or overlooks

the due process and equal protection

violations of application of the

Monroe County Fence Ordinance to

Appellees based upon Trial testimony

controverting the State's expert

testimony which was relied upon by

this Court in its Opinion and the

lack of adoption of a Focal Point

Plen by Monroe County as required by

County ordinance.

Cases:

Page(s)

Mo nv t u fa

626 So.2nd (Fla. 3d DCA 1993) . lel 3o Ve

8, 10, Il

H a da he . Vv

Sarasota-Manatee Airport Authority

111 So. 2nd 439 (Fla. 1959) . . « «i+ + 2

ii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case was argued before the

Florida Supreme Court on October 5, 1994

after the submission of briefs by the

parties. This Court rendered its Opinion

on September 28, 1995.

Respondents/Appellees appear now to file

their Motion for Re-Hearing/Clarification

Pursuant to Florida Rules of Appellate

Procedure 9.330.

iii

COMES NOW, Respondents/Appellees

pursuant to Florida Rule of Appellate

Procedure 9.330 and file this their Motion

for Rehearing; Clarification based upon

the argument set forth at pages 2 through

6 hereof.

Respondents/Appellees pray that this

Court enter its order allowing for re-

hearing of this cause and clarification

modifying the Opinion filed herein on

September 28, 1995 so as to declare and

establish application of the Monroe County

Fence Ordinance to Charles and Kathleen

Moorman as unconstitutional as applied or,

alternatively, to order further procedings

below concerning the application of the

Monroe County fence ordinance to

Respondents/ Appellees.

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT'S OPINION OF SEPTEMBER 28,

1995 MISAPPREHENDS AND/OR OVERLOOKS THE

DUE PROCESS AND EQUAL PROTECTION

VIOLATIONS OF APPLICATION OF THE MONROE

COUNTY FENCE ORDINANCE TO APPELLEES BASED

UPON TRIAL TESTIMONY CONTROVERTING THE

STATE'S EXPERT TESTIMONY WHICH WAS RELIED

UPON BY THIS COURT IN ITS OPINION AND THE

LACK OF ADOPTION OF A FOCAL POINT PLAN BY

MONROE COUNTY AS REQUIRED BY COUNTY

ORDINANCE.

In its Opinion of September 28, 1995

in this cause, this Court held that the

Opinion entered by the Third District

Court of Appeals in Department of

Community Affairs v. Moorman, 626 So. 2nd

1108 (Fla. 3D DCA 1993) is in express and

direct conflict with Harrell's Candy

Kitchen, Inc. v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport

Authority, 111 So. 2nd 439 (Fla.-° 1959),

among other decisions.

The Harrell case clearly holds that

there is no question concerning the power

of the Legislature to authorize agencies

of the government to adopt and enforce

zoning regulations. The Harrell case also

establishes that duly enacted zoning

ordinances are presumptively valid with

the burden being upon the party attacking

such ordinances to establish and prove

that the subject regulation is

unreasonable and bears no substantial

relation to the public health, safety,

morals or general welfare.

Respondents/Appellees do not controvert

the rule(s) of law established by the

Harrell case but assert that they are

misapplied by this Court in the instant

case as being a basis for allowing the

Oy NON, CEE HEN Oy

2 nme “To ee

Monroe County fence ordinance in question

to stand as validly applying to

Respondents/Appellees.

As this Court acknowledges at page 2

of its Opinion rendered herein on

September 28, 1995, the ordinance in

question had been on the Monroe County

books for more than five years before this

matter was tried. The trial transcript

below indicates at page 116 that a Focal

Point Plan for the Big Pine Key area of

critical county concern has not been

submitted to the department of Community

Affairs for approval or adopted by Monroe

County. It is uncontroverted that the

interim ordinance banning fences on Big

Pine Key was enacted in 1986 subject to a4

county ordinance requirement that a Focal

point Plan be adopted within twelve months

of that date. As of the time of argument

of this case before this Court, and at the

present time, a Focal Point Plan has not

been adopted so that the twelve month time

period within which to adopt a Focal Point

Plan has been exceeded by eight years.

Further, the State's expert at Trial,

Dr. Peter Kalla, testified that the

ordinance in question covers substantial

areas of Big Pine Key, Florida (i.e.:

subdivisions located thereon) which are

not natural key deer habitat (transcript

at pages 137 and 138). Dr. Kalla also

testified that he (and others) have

reasoned that in some cases fencing might

be a good idea. Dr. Kalla's testimony was

that such reasoning was the basis of the

establishment of an interim fence

ordinance for Big Pine Key (transcript at

page 142). The foregoing circumstance and

opinion ultimately yielded Dr. Kalla's

UEP EAPO BSS

PN Rae IN Pe ee Ay

o9 ER"

testimony that there were "good fences and

bad fences" as is noted in this Court's

Opinion of September 28, 1995. Most

notably, Dr. Kalla testified that it is

accurate to say that the ordinance

excluding fences on Big Pine Key extends

beyond specific recommendations made by

him based upon his expertise as explained

at Trial (transcript at page 149).

Notwithstanding the foregoing, this

Court's Opinion entered in this cause

indicates at page 8 thereof that the

Moormans' fence is harmful to key deer

habitat based upon "uncontroverted" expert

evidence. Respondents/Appellees suggest

that Dr. Kalla's own testimony and expert

opinion calls for and recommends an

analysis of habitat and specific fencing

considerations as a pre-requisite for a

final and consistent determination with

respect to the establishment of a proper

ordinance. The simple fact that Dr. Kalla

testified as to the question as to whether

fences are "good or bad" as being the

basis for the establishment of an interim

ordinance followed by a specific Focal

Point Plan, establishes that the interim

ordinance is a patchwork approximation (at

best) requiring further consideration.

That fact coupled with the circumstance

that the interim ordinance has now been in

place for nine years argues in and of

itself for the proposition that’ the

application of the Monroe County fence

ordinance to the residential fence owned

by the Moormans as individuals requires

further consideration consistent with this

Court's Opinion before it can be

determined to be harmful to key deed

habitat on a factual basis.

PEON GEE KEG

}

g

+

i

é

:

?

i

Further, the existence of the interim

ordinance for a period eight years in

excess of the twelve month allotted time

for the adoption of a Focal Point Plan

establishes facial unconstitutionality of

the Monroe County fence ordinance in

question.

This Court's statement in its Opinion

that the evidence of Dr. Kalla was

uncontroverted is inaccurate. This Appeal

is based upon. several fence permit

applications beyond those relating to the

Moorman residential fence alone.

Respondents/Appellees in this cause are

Kathleen Moorman, Charles Moorman and Your

Local Fence. Your Local Fence's Appeal

herein relates to the issuance of several

peruite beyond the fence permit applying

to the Moorman residence (i.e.: to

Daniels and Hornbacher). At Trial James

Daniels and Kathryne Daniels (whose permit

was secured by Your Local Fence and is

therefore subject to this appeal )

testified that the application of the

fence permit to their lot (secured through

Your Local Fence as contractor) was not

harmful to key deer habitat in that it

provided for safety and protection of

their children from falling into a canal

adjacent to their property and provided

the function of fencing in their

rottweiler dog for the protection of key

deer (transcript at pages 59 through 64).

Testimony was also presented at Trial by

Jean and Nicholas Hornbacher (whose permit

was also obtained by Your Local Fence) to

the effect that fences provided protection

from destruction of their private property

in the form of browsing damage to

landscaping by key deer. The testimony

10

provided by the foregoing witnesses, when

coupled with the testimony of Dr. Kalla to

the effect that an interim ordinance was

to be replaced by a Focal Point Plan

considering a balancing of private

property interests, necessarily mandates a

further trial Court evidentiary hearing.

Dr. Kalla's opinion relative to the

Moorman fence specifically as relied upon

by this Court is inappropriate when

considered in light of his other testimony

as pointed out above and the testimony of

other witnesses at Trial. Further hearing

at the trial level is necessary in order

to determine whether or not the ordinance

in question is constitutional as applied

to the Moorman's individual fence in the

event that this Court does not view the

ordinance in question as facially

unconstitutional.

11

Respondents/Appellees respectfully

submit that this Court has unnecessarily

extended itself to make a specific factual

determination as to the Moorman's

residential fence in a circumstance which

requires additional findings of fact at

the trial level in the event that the

ordinance in question is not facially

unconstitutional.

12

CONCLUSION

This Court should enter its Order

granting a rehearing of this cause or

further clarify its Opinion of September

28, 1995 either declaring the Monroe

County ordinance in question as facially

unconstitutional or mandating that the

Trial Court below make additional findings

of fact and factual determinations before

the fence permit issued to Kathleen and

Charles Moorman is determined to be

harmful to key deer habitat.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE W. HERZOG

Florida Bar Number 151456

Attorney for Appellants

209 Duval Street

Key West, Florida 33040

(305) 293-9655

13

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing has been

furnished to the parties listed below on

this the 12th day of October, 1995 by

Facsimile Telephone Transmission and

United States Mail.

THEODORE W. HERZOG

David J. Russ, Esquire

Assistant General Counsel

Brigette A. Folkes

Assistant General Counsel

ATTORNEYS FOR APPELLANT

Department of Community Affairs

2740 Centerview Drive

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

Richard Grosso

1000 Friends of Florida

926 East Park Avenue

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

14

APPENDIX "E"

Nae ee

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 1995

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS,

Petitioner,

VS. CASE NO. 82,946

District Court of Appeal,

3rd District - No. 92-1785

CHARLES MOORMAN,

KATHLEEN MOORMAN,

and YOUR LOCAL FENCE,

Respondents.

/

Respondents’ Motion for Rehearing and Clarification

filed in the above cause is hereby denied.

GRIMES, C.J.,. OVERTON, SHAW, KOGAN, HARDING,

WELLS and ANSTEAD, JJ., concur

A True Copy TC

cc: Hon. Louis J. Spallone, Clerk

TEST:

Ms. Brigette Ffolkes

Mr. David J. Russ

Mr. Thomas Herzog

Sid J. White Mr. Richard Grosso

Clerk, Supreme Court

APPENDIX "F"

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

CHARLES MOORMAN,

et al.

Appellants,

VS.

DEPARTMENT OF

COMMUNITY

AFFAIRS,

Appellee.

OF FLORIDA.

THIRD DISTRICT

JULY TERM, A.D. 1995

JANUARY 4, 1996

CASE NO. 92-1785

DOAH CASE NO. 91-41 10DRI

FLWAC CASE NO. APP-91-017

WHEREAS, the opinion rendered by this Court on

November 23, 1993 (626 So. 2nd 1108) reversed the order of

the Florida La-4 and Water Adjudicatory Commission, in the

above styled cau:e?; and

WHERL AS, on review of this Court's opinion by

Petition for Review, the Supreme Court of Florida, by its

opinion filed September 28, 1995,a nd its mandate now lodged

in this Court, quashed this Court's opinion;

NOW THEREFORE, this Court withdraws its mandate

issued in this cause on December 9, 1993, vacates its opinion

filed in the cause on November 23, 1993, and adopts, as its

own, the opinion of the Supreme Court of Florida, and remands

for further proceedings in accordance with the opinion of the

Supreme Court. Costs allowed shall be taxed pursuant to

Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.400(a).

SCHWARTZ, C.J., and BASKIN and GERSTEN, JJ.

concur.

A True Copy

ATTEST

LOUIS J. SPALLONE

Clerk District Court of

Appeal Third District

By JS/

Chief Deputy Clerk

cc: Theodore W. Herzog

David J. Russ and Brigette A. Ffolkes

Florida Land and Water Adjudicatory

Commission

/mcb

be

id

a

ae

e

‘s

‘

&

3

5

:

be

f

&

*

&

5

&

¢

:

a

a

§

4

4

5

2

4

;

4

4

3

2

This case involves the validity of a land-use ordinance

enacted to proteci an endanger species, the miniature

Florida Key deer. The regulation affects Big Pine Key where

the deer now are largely concentrated. Human development

on the Key has put the deer perilously close to extinction, and

their numbers are estimated to be only 350 to 4300 animals.

The minimum number needed to sustain a viable species is

considered 100 to 250 animals. The animals are further

endangered by human attempts to feed them, by pet dogs that

may kill them, and by automobiles.

The ordinance in question prohibits the erection of

fencing in portions of Big Pix: Key, where the respondents

own property. It was enacted because, in a natural

environment, Key deer must roam freely over slash pinelands

and wetlands in search of food and water. This necessarily

means the deer also must roam over some privately owned

lands. The blanket prohibition on fencing was meant as an

interim restriction to be replaced within a year by a more

comprehensive regulation that would better identify where

fence restrictions would be proper and where they were

unnecessary. Despite its interim nature, the ordinance had

been on the books for more than five years before the times in

question here.

Charles Moorman owns a lot located in the slash

pinelands of Big Pine Key. He also is owner of Your Local

Fence, a company that is a respondent in this review.

Moorman filed for a permit to build a six-foot-high 400-foot-

long fence, which Monroe County granted. This was done

notwithstanding the "interim" county ordinance. The record

contains evidence that Moorman's fence is in a location that

will adversely affect the Key deer.

The Department of Community Affairs ("DOCA")

appealed the County's decision pursuant to DOCA's authority

over areas Oi critical state concern. § 380.07 (2), Fla. Stat.

(1993). The Moorman lot sits in an area designated as a

"critical state concern" in 1979.’ § 380.0552, Fla. Stat.

(1993).

The case was referred to a Division of Administrative

Hearings ("DOAH") officer, who found the permits improper.

The finding specifically noted that the permits were issued as

a matter of right. The officer recommended that the Cabinet,

sitting as the Florida Land & Water Adjudicatory Commission

("Commission"), rescind the permits, and the Cabinet agreed.

The Moormans then appealed to the Third District, which

ruled the anti-fencing regulation facially unconstitutional.

The nub of the issue here is simple failure to revisit an

"interim" land-use regulation that was never intended to be a

permanent feature of the county code book, as it seemed to

have become by the times in question. While Monroe County

chose not to apply the ordinance to respondents, DOCA now

'The fact the land in question sits in an area of critical state

concern is crucial to the result in this case, because it

identifies an environmental concern unique to Big Pine Key.

4

has taken the position that the ordinance must be enforced

according to its strict letter. DOCA likewise contends that

sufficient justification exists for such a blanket prohibition on

fencing in the affected area.

We do not dispute that the State has a legitimate

interest in protecting the natural habitat of the Keys and most

especially of the Key deer. To this end, the State does in fact

have a right to use its police power to establish land-use

regulations addressing environmental concerns. Graham v.

Estuary Properties, 399 So. 2d 1374 L. Ed. 2d 618 (1981).

The clear policy underlying Florida environmental regulation

is that our society is to be the steward of the natural world,

not its unreasoning overlord. As the Constitution itself states:

It shall be the policy of the state to

conserve and protect its natural resources

and scenic beauty. Adequate provision shall

be made by law for abatement of air and water

pollution and of excessive and unnecessary

noise.

Art. II, § 7, Fla. Const. There is an obvious public interest in

5

such a policy, given the fact that environmental degradation

threatens not merely aesthetic concerns vital to the State's

economy but also the health, welfare, and safety of substantial

numbers of Floridians. Sarasota v. Barg, 302 So. 2d 737

(Fla. 1974).

The right of equal protection embodied in article I,

section 2 stands for many things, but it does not restrict the

State's ability to establish or mandate reasonable

environmental regulations, even those that may apply only in a

certain area, where the State is addressing an environmental

problem peculiar to the area. Even if equal protection is

implicated here, the State would only need a rational basis for

the zoning restriction. Here, the State has identified a

sufficient interest in this instance to justify the classification in

question. The interest is plainly stated in article II, section 7

of the Constitution and is only underscored by the unique

problem of the Key deer.

The right of privacy set forth in article I, section 23

also does not apply here for a self-evident reason: The

decision to use land in a manner contrary to lawful public

environmental policy is simply not a private act. Art. I, § 23,

Fla. Const. Landowners do not have an untrammeled right to

use their property regardless of the legitimate environmental

interests of the State.

The right of due process contained in article I, section

9 poses a somewhat different problem, because it does in fact

guarantee the right to enjoy property. Within limits, that right

can include decisions regarding the improvement of property.

Nevertheless, this personal right does not necessarily

supervene the rational concerns of public environmental

policy. Due process, in other words, seeks to find a balance

between public and private interests, rot to make the

landowner lord over the State, nor the State lord over the

landowner.

The State is given wide range in exercising its lawful

powers to regulate land use for environmental reasons, and

any such land-use regulations thus are valid if supported by a

rational basis consistent with overall policies of the State. See

Board of County Comm'rs v. Snyder, 627 So. 2d 469 (Fla.

1993). Landowners simultaneously are protected by yet

another feature of the law: Any resulting erosion of property

value beyond reasonable limits is recompensable by means of

inverse condemnation. Art. X, § 6, Fla. Const.; art. I, § 9,

Fla. Const. In sum, the rights of property owners are limited

by the lawful environmental policies of the State, and the

State acting within its lawful power to regulate property is

likewise limited by the depth of its purse. Id.

However, we have repeatedly held that zoning

restrictions must be upheld uniess they bear no substantial

relationship to legitimate societal policies. E.g., Harrell's

Candy Kitchen v. Sarasota-Manatee Airport Authority, 111

So. 2d 439 (Fla. 1959). Here, the record contziiis competent

substantial evidence that the unregulated erection of fencing

in the affected area is contrary to Florida's overall policy of

environmental stewardship. In this sense, we agree with the

argument of DOCA and disagree with the district court

below. Because the ordinance promotes a valid public policy,

it should not have been stricken on its face.’

Nevertheless, we are constrained to determine

whether any valid basis existed for denying the Moormans a

permit. We of course recognize that the enactment in

question today was intended merely as an "interim" rule. This

fact in turn means the blanket prohibition against fencing was

never regarded as an essential feature of public policy.

Rather, the underlying intent was to replace the ordinance

> We do note that the Cabinet sitting as the Florida Land &

Water Adjudicatory Commission may rescind land-use

permits in the Florida Keys or "may attach conditions and

restrictions to its decisions." § 380.07, Fla. Stat. (1993). The

record is unclear why the Cabinet did not exercise this last

grant of authority here.

9

with something less restrictive, although this intent regrettably

was never carried forward into action.

In this vein, DOCA's bwn expert witness testified in

the following terms at the DOAH hearing below:

Q. All right. Now, sir, the statements

that you've made today, and just now, and

also one more, you gave indication that there

were good fences and bad fences, that's

within the standard you're now planning, is

that true?

A. Yes.

Q. Because I want to characterize that

accurately. But again, now, the opinions

that you are expressing now are not

necessarily the basis of the ordinance which

is in place, isn't that true? Since it

precludes fences?

A. Yes, you're right. I had nothing to

do with that ordinance. So, I can't comment

on it.

Q. Certainly, and that's the only point

I'm trying to make here. But it is accurate

to say that the ordinance excluding fences,

or precluding the, extends beyond what your specific

recommendations are based on your expertise

as you've explained today?

A. That's correct.

However, the uncontroverted expert evidence clearly

10

a

indicated that the Moormans' fence--the only one at issue here

today--was harmful to Key deer habitat.

Based on the foregoing, we find that the application of

the ordinance to this particular fence permit was

constitutional because it was based on a rational basis

consistent with state environmental policy. For this reason,

the decision below is quashed and this cause is remanded for

proceedings consistent with our views here.

It is so ordered.

OVERTON, SHAW, HARDING and ANSTEAD, JJ.,

concur. GRIMES, C.J., concurs in part and dissents in part

with an opinion, in which WELLS, J., concurs.

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE

REHEARING MOTION AND, IF FILED, DETERMINED.

GRIMES, C.J., concurring in part and dissenting in part.

I agree that the ordinance is constitutional on its face.

I cannot agree that it was necessarily constitutional as applied.

At the hearing, Charles Moorman testified that the purpose

for his fence was to keep his neighbor's two children from

1]

—s" oe se en See ee

s “Sos

*

pel ti naan: oe

3 eet oe yet

Pisa

" ee oe ee eee

falling into his hot tub and to keep the Key Deer from eating

his plants. He also testified that his fence was only about 400

feet long

Despite the fact that this interim ordinance had been

on the books for more than five years, this case was tried on

an all-or-nothing basis upon the assumption that the

Moormans' permit must either stand or fall without

adjustment. By virtue of its authority to attach conditions and

restrictions to its decision, the Cabinet had the power to

fashion a remedy that would soften the blanket prohibition

against fencing while at the same time honor environmental

stewardship.

I would remand the case for another hearing directed

toward whether the regulation was unconstitutional as applied

to the Moormans or, alternatively, whether the permit should

be modified.

WELLS, J., concurs.

12

a

Application for Review of the Decision of the District Court

of Appeal - Direct Conflict of Decision‘

Third District - Case No. 92-1785

David J. Russ, Assistant General Counsel and Brigette A.

Ffolkes, Assistant General Counsel, Department of

Community Affairs, Tallahassee, Florida,

for Petitioner

Theodore W. Herzog, Key West, Florida,

for Respondents

Richard Grosso, Tallahassee, Florida,

Amicus Curiae for 1000 Friends of Florida

13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.