Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bowman Transportation, Inc. v. Franks
Supreme Court brief1974
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
FUL
OCT 15
MICHAEL RoDaK,
In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
No. .- 44-4294 {
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION, INC.,
Petitioner,
VS.
HAROLD FRANKS, JOHNNIE LEE, and INTER-
NATIONAL UNION OF DISTRICT 50, ALLIED AND
TECHNICAL WORKERS OF THE UNITED STATES
AND CANADA, AND ITS LOCAL NO. 13600,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT
WILLiAM M. Pate
MITCHELL, CLARKE, PATE & ANDERSON
Sixth Floor, Atlanta Federal Sav-
ings Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
Attorney for Petitioner
E. L. Menpewnatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, 421-3080
INDEX
Opinions Below ... 1
Jurisdiction 2
Statutes and Rule Involved 2
Questions Presented 2
3
5
Statement
Reasons for Granting the Writ
Conclusion 10
Appendix A—
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII (before 1972
amendments )—
$703 (a), (c)(1) and (3), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a),
(c) (1) and (3) Al
§706(a), (e), (g), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(a), (e),
(g) A2
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII (as amended by
Pub. L. 92-261, §4, March 24, 1972, 86 Stat. 104)—
$703(a), (c) (1) and (3), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a),
(c) (1) and (3) A4
§706(a), (b), (e), (g), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(a),
(b), (e), (g) A5
42 US.C. §1981 A8
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 23 ................ A8
Appendix B—
Decision of Court of Appeals Al2
Judgment of Court of Appeals A60
Order of Court of Appeals denying petitioner’s peti-
tion for rehearing A62
Order of Court of Appeals denying petition of re-
spondents Franks and Lee for rehearing
Findings and Conclusions of District Court ................ A64
II
Order and Decree of District Court A84
Judgment of District Court A88
Citations
CASES
Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, ........ SRI sipeions , 40 L.Ed.2d
732 (May 28, 1974) 7
San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359
U.S. 236 (1959) 9
STATUTES AND FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title II, §204(d), 42 U.S.C.
§2000a-3 (d) 8
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IV, 42 U.S.C. §2000c-6
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VI, 42 U.S.C. §2000d-1 8
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII (before 1972 amend-
ments) —
§703(2), (c)(1) and (3), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a),
(c) (1) and (3) 2
§706(a), (e), (g), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(a), (e), (g) 2
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII (as amended by Pub.
L. 92-261, §4, March 24, 1972, 86 Stat. 104)—
§703(a), (c)(1) and (3), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a),
fo)
(c)(1) and (3) 2
$706(a), (b), (e), (g), 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(a), (b),
(e), (g) 2
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title X, 42 U.S.C. §2000g-1 .... 8-9
28 U.S.C. §1254(1) 2
42 US.C. $1981 2, 3, 5, 6, 8,9
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 23 ........ 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
MISCELLANEOUS
110 Congressional Record 2566 8
In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1974
No.
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION, INC.,
Petitioner,
vs.
HAROLD FRANKS, JOHNNIE LEE, and INTER-
NATIONAL UNION OF DISTRICT 50, ALLIED AND
TECHNICAL WORKERS OF THE UNITED STATES
AND CANADA, AND ITS LOCAL NO. 13600,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FIFTH CIRCUIT
Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to re-
view the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit in the above-entitled case on June 3,
1974.
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the District Court for the Northern Dis-
trict of Georgia is unreported and appears in Apnendix B.
The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 495
F.2d 398 and appears in Appendix B. The judgment of
the Court of Appeals dated June 3, 1974, its order dated
July 15, 1974, denying petitioner’s petition for rehearing,
2
and its order dated September 12, 1974, denying the peti-
tion of respondents Franks and Lee for rehearing, appear
in Appendix B.
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on
June 3, 1974. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).
STATUTES AND RULE INVOLVED
The federal statutes involved are the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, Title VII, §703(a), (c)(1) and (3) [42 U.S.C.
§2000e-2(a), (c) (1) and (3)], §706(a), (e), (g) [42 USC.
§2000e-5(a), (e), (g)], before 1972 amendments; §703(a),
(c) (1) and (3) [42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a), (c) (1) and (3)],
§706(a), (b), (e), (g) [42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(a), (b), (e),
(g)], as amended by Pub. L. 92-261, §4, March 24, 1972,
86 Stat. 104; 42 U.S.C. $1981.
Also involved is Rule 23 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.
Pertinent statutory provisions and Rule 23 are set
forth in Appendix A.
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the District Court may award back pay
to unnamed members of a class consisting of black em-
ployees and applicants for employment, where the class
action alleging race discrimination in employment was
brought and allowed under Rule 23(b) (2) of the Federal
ie
3
Rules of Civil Procedure, and notice under Rule 23(c) (7)
was not given to identifiable class members.
2. Whether in a class action alleging race discrimina-
tion in employment in violation of Title VII of tue Civil
Rights Act of 1964 and 42 United States Code §1981, the
District Court may award back pay to class members con-
sisting of employees and applicants, with respect to whom
a charge has not been filed under Title VII with the
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. -
STATEMENT
This class action was brought under Rule 23(b) (2) by
a discharged black employee of petitioner trucking com-
pany’s Atlanta, Georgia, terminal. Alleging race discrimi-
nation in his discharge, and generally against a class of
black employees and applicants at the Atlanta terminal,
the plaintiff sought affirmative relief for himself and de-
claratory and injunctive relief for the class. The interven-
ing complainant, a discharged black road driver, also as-
serting a class claim under Rule 23(b) (2), likewise sought
affirmative relief for himself to remedy his discharge and
a prior failure of the company to grant his application for
employment, and sought declaratory and injunctive relief
for a class of black road drivers and applicants for road-
driving positions over the company’s entire system. The
complainants relied on Titie VII and 42 U.S. Code §1981.
At the trial the two complainants sought back pay for
unnamed members of the class of black employees and
applicants. There had been no arrangement for notice to
these persons concerning the pendency of the class action,
or concerning their rights to intervene and assert their
claims or to exclude themselves frem the action, and no
such arrangemeut for notice was sought by the two class
4
representatives. The members of the class had not been
named or otherwise described in a charge filed with the
Equal Employment Opportunity’ Commission. They did
not intervene in the proceedings below and ‘assert claims
for back pay.
. The result was that, although findings were made by
the District Court that the defendant company and defen-
dant unions committed acts of race discrimination against
_ the class, and declaratory and injunctive relief was granted,
the court found that the elements of back-pay claims for
the class members were not proved. The court determined
that this remedy was not warranted in a class action under
Rule 23(b) (2), and denied the remedy also in the exercise
of discretion. On this subject the court stated (App. B,
pp. A72-A73):
The plaintiffs also pray for lump sum awards for
back pay to any member of an affected cless plus
retroactive seniority to any rejected applicant. * * *
Suffice it to say here, the court concludes that such
relief is not warranted in class actions, The claims
for back pay presuppose an opening, qualification and
performance for every member of the class. The
claims for retroactive seniority also presuppose a
vacancy, qualification, and’ performance by every
member. There is no evidence on which to base these
multiple conclusions. More importantly, they bypass
the statutory administrative prerequisites to personal
suit established by the Congress and any appropriate
statute of limitations. In essence, they seek to give
individual compensation to the class in gross under
circumstances where an individual could not qualify
alone. The emphasis on private settlement in the Act
is also thwarted by this device. * * * For these rea-
sons as well as in the exercise of discretion, these
‘
5
remedies are rejected. Of course, where appropriate
they will be afforded the individual claimants here
under 42 U.S.C. $2000e-5(g).
The Court of Appeals reversed the denial of back pay
to unnamed class members, holding that the remedy was
proper in a Rule 23(b) (2) class action based on race dis-
crimination, and that prior submission of the claims of
class members to the EEOC was not a precondition to this
remedy. Deeming that the District Court had exercised
its discretion under an erroneous view of the applicable
law, the Court of Appeals remanded for reconsideration
of the class back-pay issue.
The number of potential back-pay claimants in the af-
fected class is suggested by the 197 unsuccessful applicants
for road-driving positions named in the record as black, the
17 black employees in the tire department, and 18 black
employees in the department of Atlanta city drivers and
dock workers, at the time of trial.’
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
This case presents questions of great public impor-
tance in the administration and enforcement of Title VII
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and 42 U.S. Code §1981.
The holding of the Court of Appeals means that a single
complainant, through the device of a class action under
Rule 23(b) (2) expressly seeking injunctive and declara-
tory relief for the class, can assert and litigate a large num-
ber of individual money claims of class members who have
not been given notice of the action and have not sought to
1. These figures are taken from defendant company’s an-
swers to plaintiffs’ interrogatories, wnich were received in evi-
dence by the District Court upon plaintiffs’ motion.
6
intervene. The holding, if valid, thus arms an individual
plaintiff with the power to assert and obtain an adjudica-
tion of numerous claims of other persons who are uninter-
ested or even unwilling to participate in the case. This ap-
plication of Rule 23 is diametrically opposed to the in-
tended purpose of the rule. As applied below, the rule
permits a large expansion of the scope of litigation through
the adjudication of claims of persons not seeking to litigate.
The pattern of Rule 23 shows that it is designed to reduce
the scope of litigation by permitting the wholesale determi-
nation of claims which otherwise might have to be tried
and determined individually. Where multiple individual
claims are to be entertained, the rule itself contemplates
that the action will be brought under Rule 23(b) (3) and
notice under Rule 23(c) (2) must be given to members of
the class. The ruling of the Court of Appeals permits two
individual complainants, proceeding under Rule 23(b) (2),
without resort to the procedures contemplated by Rule
23(b) (3) and (c)(2), to assert the individual claims of
numerous class members.
This holding brings into play important questions of
law and policy which should be decided by this Court. If
Rule 23 is permitted to be thus used to expand the scope
of litigation rather than to simplify it, the result will be an
increasing burden upon the courts and the likely impair-
ment or elimination of the class action as a useful device.
Also, if an individual is permitted to proceed on such a
wide front in asserting the claims of unconsenting persons,
with the attendant increase of the scope of litigation arising
under Title VII and 42 U.S. Code §1981, the almost certain
result will be the impairment of the effective administra-
tion and enforcement of those statutes.
The decision of the Court of Appeals, in reversing the
District Court’s denial of back pay to unnamed class mem-
—
7
bers and holding that this remedy is available in a Rule
23(b) (2) class action, is inconsistent with the recent deci-
sion of this Court in Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, ........ US.
had , 40 L.Ed.2d 732 (May 28, 1974), holding that the re-
quirement under Rule 23(c)(2) of individual notice to
identifiable class members is not a discretionary consider-
ation to be waived in a particular case, but is an unambigu-
ous requirement of the rule. Although this Court was
dealing with different facts in Eisen, the class action having
been permitted under Rule 23(b) (3) and the decision re-
lating directly to the necessity of the 23(c) (2) notice in
such an action, the controlling considerations are applica-
ble to this case. The result of Eisen cannot be obviated
merely by use of a Rule 23(b) (2) label. The substance of
the applicable principle is that where individual money
claims qualify for class treatment, the action must be
brought under Rule 23(b) (3) rather than 23(b)(2) and
notice pursuant to 23(c)(2) must be given to class
members.
The nature of the class claims in Eisen did not differ
materially from the potential back-pay claims of present
class members. In both instances there are individual
claims for money, each involving separate elements of
proof. It is equally important in either case that an indi-
vidual claimant have the option provided under Rule 23
to refrain from participation in the class action and thus
to elect not to be bound by the decision. The notice pro-
cedure is not less important, or less mandatory, because the
class members have back-pay claims rather than claims for
damages unrelated to employment.
The second question presented by this petition is also
of great importance in the administration and enforcement
8
of Title VII and in the coordination of 42 U.S. Code §1981
with the procedural requirements of Tit!e VII.
The holding of the Court of Appeals permits the Dis-
trict Court to entertain back-pay claims on behalf of em-
ployees who have not utilized the EEOC’s administrative
processes and on whose behalf no charge has been filed
with the EEOC. This decision, if permitted to stand, de-
feats the Congressional purpose under Title VII of favoring
conciliation over court enforcement. This purpose is sup-
ported by legislative history and is made clear by the pat-
tern of the statute.
A provision of the House bill which would have al-
lowed a civil action to be brought in advance of conciliation
was deleted “to make certain that there will be a resort by
the Commission to conciliatory efforts before it resorts to
a court for enforcement.” 110 Congressional Record 2566
(remarks by Representative Celler). In addition to the
provisions concerning conciliation in Title VII, similar re-
quirements appear in other parts of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964. Title II, dealing with discrimination in public ac-
commodations, states that after a civil action has been
brought the court may refer the matter to the Community
Relations Service as long as the court believes there is a
reasonable possibility of obtaining voluntary compliance.
42 U.S.C. §2000a-3(d). Title IV concerning the desegrega-
tion of public education precludes the attorney general
from filing suit until the school board has had a reasonable
time to correct any discriminatory practice. 42 U.S.C.
§2000c-6. Title VI, affecting discrimination in federally
assisted programs, prohibits discontinuation of federal
funding until it is determined that discriminatory practices
cannot be terminated by voluntary means. 42 U.S.C.
§2000d-1. Title X establishes a Community Relations Ser-
—h
9
vice to assist in resolving disputes by conference and con-
ciliation. 42 U.S.C. §2000g-1.
The District Court correctly noted that the allowance
of back pay to employees whose claims had not been sub-
mitted to the EEOC would bypass the statutory adminis-
trative prerequisites to personal suit, appropriate statutes
of limitations, and the emphasis on private settlement. The
principle adopted by the Court of Appeals, if valid, means
that the Congressional purpose of promoting adjustment of
employment discrimination cases through the conciliation
procedures of the Commission will be effectively nullified,
and there will be no incentive for individual employees to
utilize these procedures so long as another member of the
class has done so.
If these individual claims must be submitted to the
EEOC before their assertion in court under Title VII, as
petitioner contends, the same requirement attaches as a
precondition to the maintenance of an action for rice dis-
crimination under 42 U.S.C. §1981. The principle estab-
lished by this Court in San Diego Building Trades Council
v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236 (1959), and related cases, requires
this result. Just as the administrative procedure under the
National Labor Relations Act is preemptive of other means
of enforcement, the statutory machinery required under
Title VII likewise preempts other means of remedying race
discrimination in employment. Obviously the statutory
purpose of Title VII to promote conciliation of race dis-
crimination claims under auspices of the EEOC would be
nullified if the complainant could go directly to court and
present the same claims under another statute.
10
CONCLUSION
For these reasons, it is respectfully submitted that this
petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.
WittuaM M. Pate
Attorney for Petitioner
MITCHELL, CLARKE, Pate & ANDERSON
Sixth Floor, Atlanta Federal Savings
Building
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404: 577-6010
Al
APPENDIX
APPENDIX A
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII
(before 1972 amendments)
Sec. 703. (a) It shall be an unlawful employment
practice for an employer—
(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any
individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any in-
dividual with respect to his compensation, terms, con-
ditions, or privileges of employment, because of such
individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin;
or °
(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees
in any way which would deprive or tend to deprive
any individual of employment opportunities or other-
wise adversely affect his status as an employee, be-
cause of such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin.
* * te
(c) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for
a labor organization—
(1) to exclude or to expel from its membership,
or otherwise to discriminate against, any individual
because of his race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin;
ab + *
(3) to cause or attempt to cause an employer to
discriminate against an individual in violation of this
section.
A2
Sec. 706. (a) Whenever it is charged in writing un-
der oath by a person claiming to be aggrieved, or a written
charge has been filed by a member of the Commission
where he has reasonable cause to believe a violation of this
title has occurred (and such charge sets forth the facts
upon which it is based) that an employer, employment
agency, or labor organization has engaged in an unlawful
employment practice, the Commission shall furnish such
employer, employment agency, or labor organization (here-
inafter referred to as the “respondent”) with a copy of
such charge and shall make an investigation of such charge,
provided that such charge shall not be made public by the
Commission. If the Commission shall determine, after
such investigation, that there is reasonable cause to believe
that the charge is true, the Commission shall endeavor to
eliminate any such alleged unlawful employment practice
by informal methods of conference, conciliation, and per-
' suasion. Nothing said or done during and as a part of such
endeavors may be made public by the Commission without
the written consent of the parties, or used as evidence in
a subsequent proceeding. Any officer or employee of the
Commission, who shall make public in any manner what-
ever any information in violation of this subsection shall
be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction
thereof shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned
not more than one year.
* * *
(e) If within thirty days after a charge is filed with
the Commission or within thirty days after expiration of
any period of reference under subsection (c) (except that
in either case such period may be extended to not more
than sixty days upon a determination by the Commission
that further efforts to secure voluntary compliance are
warranted), the Commission has been unable to obtain
A3
voluntary compliance with this title, the Commission shall
so notify the person aggrieved and a civil action may,
within thirty days thereafter, be brought against the re-
spondent named in the charge (1) by the person claiming
to be aggrieved, or (2) if such charge was filed by a mem-
ber of the Commission, by any person whom the charge
alleges was aggrieved by the alleged unlawful employment
practice. Upon application by the complainant and in such
circumstances as the court may deem just, the court may
appoint an attorney for such complainant and may autho-
rize the commencement of the action without the payment
of fees, costs, or security. Upon timely application, the
court may, in its discretion, permit the Attorney General
to intervene in such civil action if he certifies that the case
is of general public importance. Upon request, the court
may, in its discretion, stay further proceedings for not more
than sixty days pending the termination of State or local
proceedings described in subsection (b) or the efforts of
the Commission to obtain voluntary compliance.
(g) If the court finds that the respondent has inten-
tionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an un-
lawful employment practice charged in the complaint, the
court may enjoin the respondent from engaging in such un-
lawful employment practice, and order such affirmative ac-
tion as may be appropriate, which may include reinstate-
ment or hiring of employees, with or without back pay
(payable by the employer, employment agency, or labor
organization, as the case may be, responsible for the un-
lawful employment practice). Interim earnings or amounts
earnable with reasonable diligence by the person or per-
sons discriminated against shall operate to reduce the back
pay otherwise allowable. No order of the court shall re-
quire the admission or reinstatement of an individual as a
A4
membe of a union or the hiring, reinstatement, or promo-
tion “f an individual as an employee, or the payment to
bi.a of any back pay, if such individual was refused ad-
mission, suspended, or expelled or was refused employ-
ment or advancement or was suspended or discharged for
any reason other than discrimination on account of race,
color, religion, sex or national origin or in violation of sec-
tion 704(a).
* s *
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VII (as amended by Pub. L.
92-261, §4, March 24, 1972, 86 Stat. 104)
§703 (a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice
for an employer—
(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any
individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any in-
dividual with respect to his compensation, terms, con-
ditions, or privileges of employment, because of such
individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin;
or
(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees
or applicants for employment in any way which would
deprive or tend to deprive any individual of employ-
ment opportunities or otherwise adversely affect his
status as an employee, because of such individual’s
race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.
(c) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for
3 labor organization—
(1) to exclude or to expel from its membership,
or otherwise to discriminate against, any individual
because of his race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin;
A5
(3) ‘10 cause or attempt to cause an employer to
discriminate against an individual in violation of this
section.
* * *
§706 (a) The Commission is empowered, as herein-
after provided, to prevent any person from engaging in
any unlawful employment practice as set forth in section
2000e-2 or 2000e-3 of this title.
(b) Whenever a charge is filed by or on behalf of
a person claiming to be aggrieved, or by a member of
the Corumission, alleging that an employer, employment
agency, labor organization, or joint labor-management com-
mittee controlling apprenticeship or other training or re-
training, including on-the-job training programs, has en-
gaged in an unlawful employment practice, the Commis-
sion shall serve a notice of the charge (including the date,
place and circumstances of the alleged unlawful employ-
ment practice) on such employer, employment agency,
labor organization, or joint labor-management committee
(hereinafter referred to as the “respondent”) within ten
days, and shall make an investigation thereof. Charges
shall be in writing under oath or affirmation and shall con-
tain such information and be in such form as the Commis-
sion requires. Charges shall not be made public by the
Commission. If the Commission determines after such in-
vestigation that there is not reasonable cause to believe
that the charge is true, it shall dismiss the charge and
promptly notify the person claiming to be aggrieved and
the respondent of its action. In determining whether rea-
sonable cause exists, the Commission shall accord substan-
tial weight to final findings and orders made by State or
local authorities in proceedings commenced under State or
local law pursuant to the requirements of subsections (c)
and (d) of this section. If the Commission determines
A6
after such investigation that there is reasonable cause to
believe that the charge is true, the Commission shall en-
deavor to eliminate any such alleged unlawful employment
practice by informal methods of conference, conciliation,
and persuasion. Nothing said or done during and as a part
of such informal endeavors may be made public by the
Commission, its officers or employees, or used as evidence
in a subsequent proceeding without the written consent of
the persons concerned. Any person who makes public in-
formation in violation of this subsection shal] be fined not
more than $1,000 or imprisoned for not more than one year,
or both. The Commission shall make its determination on
reasonable cause as promptly as possible and, so far as
practicable, not later than one hundred and twenty days
from the filing of the charge or, where applicable under
subsection (c) or (d) of this section, from the date upon
which the Commission is authorized to take action with re-
spect to the charge.
* * *
(e) A charge under this section shall be filed within
one hundred and eighty days after the alleged unlawful
employment practice occurred and notice of the charge (in-
cluding the date, place and circumstances of the alleged
unlawful employment practice) shall be served upon the
person against whom such charge is made within ten days
thereafter, except that in a case of an unlawful employ-
ment practice with respect to which the person aggrieved
has initially instituted proceedings with a State or local
agency with authority to grant or seek relief from such
practice or to institute criminal proceedings with respect
thereto upon receiving notice thereof, such charge shall be
filed by or on behalf of the person aggrieved within three
hundred days after the alleged unlawful employment prac-
tice occurred, or within thirty days after receiving notice
AT
that the State or local agency has terminated the proceed-
ings under the State or local law, whichever is earlier, and
a copy of such charge shall be filed Ly the Commission
with the State or local agency.
(g) If the court finds that the respondent has inten-
tionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an un-
lav;ful employment practice charged in the complaint, the
court 129y enjoin the respondent from engaging in such
unlawful em,cvment nractice, and order such affirmative
action as may be appropriate, which may include, but is
not limited to, reinstatement or hiring of employees, with
or without back pay (payable by the employer, employ-
ment agency, or labor organization, as the case may be,
responsible for the unlawful employment practice), or any
other equitable relief as the court deems appropriate. Back
pay liability shall not accrue from a date more than two
years prior to the filing of a charge with the Commission.
Interim earnings or amounts earnable with reasonable dili-
gence by the person or persons discriminated against shall
operate to reduce the back pay otherwise allowable. No
order of the court shall require the admission or reinstate-
ment of an individual as a member of a union, or the hiring,
reinstatement, or promotion of an, individual as an em-
ployee, or the payment to him of any back pay, if such
individual was refused admission, suspended, or expelled,
or was refused employment or advancement or was sus-
pended or discharged for any reason other than discrimina-
tion on account of race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin or in violation of section 2000e-3(a) of this title.
’. * *#
A&R
42 US. Code §1981 |
All persons within the jurisdiction of the United States
shall have the same right in every State and Territory to
make and enforce contracts, to sue, be parties, give evi-
dence, and to the full and equal benefit of all laws and
proceedings for the security of persons and property as is
enjoyed by white citizens, and shall be subject to like
punishment, pains, penalties, taay,’ Boeneen, and exactions
COE and to no other.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
Rule 23. Class Actions
(a) Prerequisites to a Class Action. One or more
members of a class may sue or be sued as representative
parties on behalf of all only if (1) the class is so numerous
that joinder of all members is impracticable, (2) there are
questions of law or fact common 'to the class, (3) the claims
' or defenses of the representative parties are typical of the
claims or defenses of the class, and (4) the representative
parties will fairly and adequately protect the interests of
the class.
(b) Class Actions Maintainable. An action may be
maintained as a class action if the prerequisites of subdivi-
sion (a) are satisfied, and in addition;
(1) the prosecution of separate actions by or
against individual members of the class would create
a risk of
(A) . inconsistent or varying sisiciailess with
respect to individual members of the class which
_ would establish incompatible standards of conduct
for the party opposing the class, or
A9
(B) adjudications with respect to individual
members of the ciass which would as a practical
matter be dispositive of the interests of the other
members not parties to the adjudications or sub-
stantially impair or impede their avility to protect
their interests; or
| (2) the party opposing the class has acted or re-
fused to act on grounds generally applicable to the
class, thereby making appropriate final injunctive re-
lief or corresponding declaratory relief with respect to
the class as a whole; or
(3) the court finds that the questions of law or
fact common to the members ui the class predominate
over any questions affecting only individual members,
and that a class action is superior to other available
methods for the fair and efficient adjudication of the
controversy. The matters pertinent to the findings in-
clude: (A) the interest of members of the class in
individually controlling the prosecution or defense of
separate actions; (B) the extent and nature of any
litigation concerning the controversy already com-
menced by or against members of the class; (C) the
desirability or undesirability of concentrating the liti-
gation of the claims in the particular forum; (D) the
difficulties likely to be encountered in the manage-
ment of a class action.
(c) Determination by Order Whether Class Action to
Be Maintained; Notice; Judgment; Actions Conducted Par-
tially As Class Actions.
(1) As soon as practicable after the commence-
ment of an action brought as a class action, the court
shall determine by order whether it is to be so main-
tained. An order under this subdivision may be con-
Al0
ditional, ard may be altered or amended before the
decision on the merits.
(2) In any class action maintained under sub-
division (b) (3), the court shall direct to the members
of the class the best notice practicable under the cir-
cumstances, including individual notice to all members
who can be identified through reasonable effort. The
notice shall advise each member that (A) the court
will exclude him from the class if he so requests by a
specified date; (B) the judgment, whether favorable
or not, will include all members who do not request
exclusion; and (C) any member who does not request
exclusion may, if he desires, enter an appearance
through his counsel.
(3) The judgment in an action maintained as a
class action under subdivision (b)(1) or (b)(2),
whether or not favorable to the class, shall include
and describe those whom the court finds to be mem-
bers of the class. The judgment in an action main-
tained as a class action under subdivision (b) (3),
whether or not favorable to the class, shall include
and specify or describe those to whom the notice pro-
vided in subdivision (c)(2) was directed, and who
have not requested exclusion, and whom the court
finds to be members of the class.
(4) When appropriate (A) an action may be
brought or maintained as a class action with respect
to particular issues, or (B) a class may be divided into
subclasses and each subclass treated as a class, and the
provisions of this rule shall then be construed and ap-
plied accordingly.
(d) Orders in Conduct of Actions. In the conduct
of actions to which this rule applies, the court may make
All
appropriate orders: (1) determining the course of pro-
ceedings or prescribing measures to prevent undue repeti-
tion or complication in the presentation of evidence or
argument; (2) requiring, for the protection of the members
of the class or otherwise for the fair conduct of the action,
that notice be given in such manner as the court may direct
to some or all of the members of any step in the action, or
of the proposed extent of the judgment, or of the opportu-
nity of members to signify whether they consider the rep-
resentation fair and adequate, to intervene and present
claims or defenses, or otherwise to come into the action;
(3) imposing conditions on the representative parties or
on intervenors; (4) requiring that the ovleadings be
amended to eliminate therefrom allegations as to repre-
sentation of absent persons, and that the action proceed
accordingly; (5) dealing with similar procedural matters.
The orders may be combined with an order under Rule 16,
and may be altered or amended as may be desirable from
time to time.
(e) Dismissal or Compromise. A class action shall
not be dismissed or compromised without the approval of
the court, and notice of the proposed dismissal or compro-
mise shall be given to all members of the class in such
manner as the court directs.
Al2
APPENDIX B
Harold FRANKS, Plaintiff-Appellant,
Johnny Lee, Intervenor-Appellant,
v.
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.
No. 72-3239.
United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.
June 3, 1974.
A former employee of a trucking company brought an
action against his former employer on behalf of himself and
others similarly situated alleging discriminatory refusal to
promote, discriminatory discharge and other racial discrimina-
tion in employment. After another former employee of the
same employer had been permitted to intervene with similar
charges, the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Georgia, at Atlanta, Sidney O. Smith, Jr., J., found
that plaintiff’s suit had been barred by limitations and that
the intervening plaintiff had failed to prove his charge of
discriminatory discharge, but also found that the intervening
plaintiff had proved his claim for discriminatory refusal to
hire and that a pattern of past racial discrimination by the
employer against its black employees had been shown. On
appeal by both plaintiff and intervenor, the Court of Appeals,
Thornberry, Circuit Judge, held, inter alia, that the 30-day
period within which plaintiff was required to bring his suit
under the Civil Rights Act of 1964 began to run only when he
actually received his “suit letter” from the EEOC; that the
statutes of limitations applying to plaintiff’s action for back
wages and for denial of his civil rights under the Civil Rights
Ce
CZ
AI3
4307 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
Act of 1866 were tolled both during the pendency of the.
EEOC complaint and thereafter until plaintiff actually re-—
ceived his “suit letter”; that evidence supported the trial
court’s determination that the intervenor had not proved that
his discharge was racially motivated; and that the class and
subclasses represented in the action were entitled to further
affirmative relief than was afforded by the district court’s
decree.
Affirmed in part, reversed in part, vacated in part, and
remanded.
1. Civil Rights <=40
When first “suit letter” from EEOC to employee was
delivered by certified mail, return receipt requested, to em-
ployee’s nine-year-old nephew, but thereafter lost by nephew
before being delivered to employee, and employee’s action
against employer under Civil Rights Act of 1964 was not
initiated until over one year later, but within 30 days after
employee received second “suit letter” from EEOC, action was
timely since mailing of initial letter did not constitute con-
structive receipt by employee and did not effectively “notify”
employee of right to bring suit within meaning of Act. 42
U.S.C.A. § 1981; Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 706(e) as amended
42 US.C.A. § 2000e—5(e); Equal Opportunity Act of 1972,
§ 14, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e—5 note.
See publication Words and Phrases for other
judicial constructions and definitions.
2. Civil Rights <=40
While, as evidentiary matter, district court may properly
consider mailing of “suit letter” and receipt showing proper
delivery as prima facie evidence that notice has reached
addressee, nevertheless where it is shown that claimant,
through no fault of his own, has failed to receive “suit letter,”
delivery of letter to mailing address cannot be considered to
constitute statutory notification. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1981; Civil
Rights Act of 1964, § 706(e) as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
Alé4
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4308
§ 2000e—5(e); Equal Opportunity Act of 1972, § 14, 42 US.
C.A. § 2000e—5 note.
3. Courts o=375(3)
When action is brought for back pay or similar damages
under federal statute which contains no built-in limitations
period, federal district court must apply statute of limitations
of state where it sits which would be applicable to most
closely analogous state action. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1981; Civil
Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e et seq.
4. Civil Rights <=40
Statutes of limitations pertaining to employees’ claims
under Civil Rights Acts of 1866 and 1964 for back wages due
because of alleged racially discriminatory employment prac-
tices were tolled by filing of complaint with EEOC and
remained tolled during such time as processes of agency
reconciliation were at work and until employee received copy
of second “suit letter,” first “suit letter” having been lost by
employee’s nephew before being delivered to him. 42 US.
C.A. § 1981; Civil Rights Act of 1964, §§ 701 et seq., 706(e),
707 as amended 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 2000e et seq., 2000e—5,
2000e-6(e); Code Ga. § 3-704.
5. Civil Rights <= 13.10, 40
Actions and relief authorized by Civil Rights Act of 1866
and Title VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964, including right to
award of back pay, are essentially equitable in nature and
therefore subject to applicability of doctrine of laches. 42
U.S.C.A. § 1981; Civil Rights Act of 1964, §§ 701 et seq.,
706(g) as amended 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 2000e et seq., 2000e—5(g).
6. Civil Rights <=40
When issue of tardy filing of complaint of employment
discrimination under Civil Rights Act of 1964 was brought
sufficiently to attention of trial court to be ground for its
ruling, issue of possible laches on part of complainant was
SO Sit CRS
Al5
4309 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
adequately raised. Civii Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as
amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
7. Civil Rights ¢=44(1)
Although facts surrounding discovery of “stinger” in fuel
pump of truck driven by employee of trucking company left
ample room for suspicion that fuel pump had been altered by
another employee, evidence supported trial court’s finding
that employee’s dismissal by employer, ostensibly because
employee breached employer’s regulations by tampering with
fuel pump, was not racially motivated. 42 U.S.C.A. § 1981;
Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 706 as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e—5.
8. Civil Rights <=38
Federal court is final arbiter in cases involving Title VII
of Civil Rights Act of 1964, and arbitrator’s determination
under labor contract has no effect upon court’s power to
adjudicate violation of employment rights under that Act.
Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e et seq.
9. Civil Rights <=39
Labor Relations <=465
Invoking contractual grievance procedures does not con-
stitute election of remedies which automatically bars claimant
under employment discrimination provisions of Civil Rights
Act of 1964 from court, and arbitration award cannot be
pleaded as defense to such claim under doctrine of res judica-
ta. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42
U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
10. Civil Rights 43
Arbitration awards and grievance determinations may be
properly considered as evidence in suit brought under federal
statutes prohibiting racial discrimination in employment to
extent they are relevant to questions before court, and court
has discretion under certain circumstances to defer to arbitra-
a SAL POOL MGI: POUL OM, Pr Te CN eR Res
Al6
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4310
tor’s determinations. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as
amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
11. Labor Relations <>465
In action under Title VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964 for
alleged racial employment discrimination, district court was
not bound by arbitrator’s decision that employee had been
discharged by employer because he tampered with fuel pump
rather thar for racial reasons, since contractual right not to be
dismissed unless cause could be demonstrated was not identi-
cal to right not to be discharged for reasons of race and
arbitrator’s finding could be of little, if any, evidentiary value
on issue whether firing was discriminatorily motivated. Civil
Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U/S.C.A.
§ 2000e et seq.
12. Civil Rights. <=46
Limits of district court’s discretion in framing remedies in
action under Title VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964 are marked
by its duty to carry out within practicable limits purpose of
Act, which is to make discriminatee whole and to remedy
effects of past discrimination. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701
et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
13. Civil Rights <=9.12
When departmental seniority system perpetuates effect
of past discrimination, it is unlawful employment practice
proscribed and remediable under statutes prohibiting racial
employment discrimination. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et
seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
14. Civil Rights <=9.12 _
That departmental seniority system is racially neutral on
its face does not save it from constituting discrimination in
employment if its effect is to cut into employees’ present rignt
not to be discriminated against on ground of race. Civil
Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e et seq. ;
Al7
4311 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANS?P. Cv.
15. Civil Rights 46
Federal courts’ power to modify or suspend operation of
discriminatory seniority system is not affected by fact that
seniority system has been established in private collective
bargaining agreement. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq.
as amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
16. Civil Rights e=9.12
Only ground upon which discrimination-perpetuating se-
niority system may be defended is that of business necessity.
Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e et seq.
17. Civil Rights <=46
In view of manner in which trucking company’s racially
discriminatory departmental seniority system locked em-
ployees into old racial patterns, remedy afforded by district
court in action under Title VII of Civil Rights Act of 1964
should have allowed employees the use of full company senior-
ity for transfer purposes for reasonable time and for all
purposes after transfer in new department. Civil Rights Act
of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
18. Civil Rights e=46
Even though black applicants for positions as over-the-
road truck drivers suffered wrong when they were rejected on
racial grounds, court had no power, in suit for discrimination
in employment, to grant applicants constructive company se-
niority as of date of applications as remedy for such wrongs.
Civil Rights Act of 1964, §§ 701 et seq., 703(h) as amended 42
U.S.C.A. §§ 2000e et seq., 2000e—2(h).
19. Civil Rights <=—46
In view of findings that employer, a trucking company,
although aware of its legal obligations not to discriminate on
basis of race, intentionally continued to follow its discrimina-
tory policy until threatened with litigation, and in view of
finding that employer had never hired any black office work-
ers, but had relied on word-of-mouth advertising to fill vacan-
Al8
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4312
cies which became available, employer’s black employees, as
class, were entitled to relief in form of requirement of public
recruitment aimed at potential black drivers and clerical em-
ployees. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42
U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
20. Civil Rights <=46
Courts >406.9(10)
Where trucking company had unlawfully engaged in ra-
cial discrimination in employment by affording to white em-
ployees training opportunities which were not made available
to blacks, minimum effective remedy would be to allow black
applicants and new employees access to training opportunities
on equal basis with whites, and trial court would be instructed
on remand to inquire as to whether temporary measures to
insure access to training opportunities for discriminatees
would be appropriate. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq.
as amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
21. Civil Rights e=46
Where employer maintained blatantly discriminatory poli-
cies for over five years after passage of Civil Rights Act of
1964 and had since that time moved toward complying with
Act’s mandates only under pressure from government agen-
cies and in face of threatened litigation, district court should
retain jurisdiction in employment discrimination case against
employer for at least two years, and require periodic reports
from employer which would enable court to ascertain that
remedial measures mandated by it were being carried into
effect. Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 701 et seq. as amended 42
U.S.C.A. § 2000e et seq.
22. Civil Rights <=46
Neither letter nor spirit of Title VII of Civil Rights Act
of 1964 nor federal rule dealing with class actions prohibited
back pay awards to nonnamed class members in class action
brought under Act for racially discriminatory employment
practices. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc. rules 23, 23(b)(2), 28 U.S.C.A.;
1
Al9
4313 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
42 U.S.C.A. § 1981; Civil Rights Act of 1964, § 706(k) as
amended 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e—5(k).
Appeal from the United States District Court for the North-
ern District of Georgia.
Before THORNBERRY, AINSWORTH and RONEY, Cir-
cuit Judges.
THORNBERRY, Circuit Judge:
After processing a complaint through the EEOC, appellant
Franks brought this racial-discrimination civil rights suit un-
der Title VII, § 706, of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C.A. § 2000e—5, and under 42 U.S.C.A. § 1981 on behalf of
himself and those similarly situated against his former em-
ployer, Bowman Transportation Company, and his union.’ He
alleged a discriminatory refusal to promote and a discrimina-
tory discharge, and he sought extensive declaratory and equi-
table relief for himself and for class members. Lee was
permitted to intervene as plaintiff to press his individual
claim against Bowman for a discriminatory refusal to hire and
for a discriminatory discharge and to represent other classes
of black Bowman employees and job applicants. The district
court found after a three-day trial that Franks had estab-
lished the factual bases for his individual claim, but it dis-
missed his individual action because it concluded Franks had
waited beyond the applicable limitations period to file suit.
The court held that Lee factually established his claim for a
discriminatory refusal to hire, but failed to prove his claim for
discriminatory discharge, and it accordingly entered judgment
partly for him and partly against him. As to the classes
represented, the court found that past racial discrimination
had deen demonstrated and that the departmental seniority
1. International Union of District 50, Local No. 13600, Allied and
Technical Workers of the United States and Canada. Also included
as a party defendant was the national union of which Local 13600 is
a part, International Union of Allied and Technical Workers of the
United States and Canada.
A20
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4314
system maintained by Bowman and the union perpetuated the
effects of past discrimination. As a remedy, the court en-
joined Bowman from discriminating along racial lines in the
future, ordered that certain class members be allowed to
utilize company seniority accumulated before the date on
which discrimination had ceased, and afforded certain discri-
minatees who responded to a notice from Bowman within
thirty days priority in consideration for employment. The
court declined to grent further affirmative relief requested,
including the use of full company seniority for certain discri-
riinatees, measures to ensure hiring and training of greater
numbers of blacks in the future, and a requirement that
Bowman file periodic reports with the district court to demon-
strate compliance.
On this appeal we are asked to review the district court’s
adverse rulings on the individual claims of Franks and Lee
and to determine whether the district court abused its discre-
tion in not affording greater affirmative relief to the classes
they represented. We shall discuss the pertinent facts in
connection with the various claims.
I. Franks’ Individual Claim: Limitations and Laches
Bowman is an interstate trucking company which operates
_ as a common carrier licensed by the Interstate Commerce
Commission throughout southeastern United States“and in
parts of the mid-west.’ Its principal terminals are in Atlanta,
Birmingham, Charlotte, and Richmond.
Franks, a Negro, was first hired at Bowman’s Atlanta
terminal in 1960 as a “tire man,”—a position which requires
the most menial work at the terminal and brings the lowest
pay. Except for a one-year period in 1961 and 1962 during
which he was assigned as a “grease man,” Franks worked as a
tire man continuously until 1965, when he resigned due to an
2. Bowman’s operations and procedures are described more fully at
the beginning of part III of this opinion, infra.
POT MNES NORTE LODE ON DI a DIENER A ps RO 8 SU
A21
4315 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
injury. In 1966 he was rehired as a tire man. After his
return Franks attempted on several occasions to obtain a
transfer, or promotion, into another job, but his way was
blocked by Bowman’s racially discriminatory policy of employ-
ing blacks only in the Tire Shop.’ Although Bowman agreed
in a collective bargaining agreement signed in 1967 to allow
transfers and to hire without regard to race, the discriminato-
ry policy was in fact continued in effect unofficially after
1967. Both before and after 1967 Franks was told that blacks
could not transfer, or be promoted, from the Tire Shop. The
district court found that but for Bowman’s discriminatory
policy, Franks should reasonably have been promoted to a
higher paying, “dock worker” position by the end of 1967. No
challenge is made to this finding.
Having watched white workers hired “off the street” into
higher paying positions for which he was qualified and had
applied, Franks filed a complaint with the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission on March 25, 1968, charging that
Bowman refused to promote him because of its racially dis-
criminatory policy of employing blacks only in the Tire Shop.
EEOC officials visited the Atlanta terminal on two occasions,
on April 23, 1968 and on May 10, 1968 to investigate Franks’
charges. A few hours after the second visit Bowman dis-
charged Franks, assertedly for “unauthorized bobtailing,” or
using company vehicles for personal errands. The district
court rejected this purported explanation, however, and found
that Franks was discharged “for reasons of race.” On May
13, 1968. Franks filed a second complaint with the EEOC,
alleging a discriminatory discharge. |
Efforts to resolve the dispute through conciliation. having
failed, on March 21, 1969 Franks’ then attorney requested the
EEOC to issue a § 706(e) “suit letter” covering both com-
plaints, and such a letter was sent on the same day to Franks’
mailing address by certified mail, return receipt requested.
3. Two blacks who worked as “cleanup men” in the Trailer Shop
were exceptions.
/
f
A22
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4316
Franks resided at 5339 Victory Drive in Morrow, Georgia, but
he received his mail at 5319 Victory Drive, where his grand-
mother, sister, and nine-year-old nephew resided. On March
22 his nephew received the letter and signed’ the postal
receipt, but he lost the letter before delivering it to Franks.
Franks learned that his nephew had signed for some letter,
but’ he never saw or received the letter personally. About a
year later, on March 20, 1970 Franks contacted EEOC officials
again about his dispute with Bowman, and, upon being shown
the postal receipt for the first suit letter, affirmed in an
affidavit that he had not personally received it. Franks then
retained his present attorneys and filed “amended” charges
with the EEOC which substantially duplicated the earlier
charges. A second suit letter issued on April 14, 1971, and
' Franks filed a suit less than a month later on May 5, 1971.
On these facts the district court held Franks’ Title VII and
his Section 1981 claim barred. As to the Title VII action, the
court reasoned that the thirty-day statutory limitations
period ‘ began to run on March 22, 1969, the date the first suit
letter wus delivered to Franks’ mailing address, so that the
action was barred after April 21, 1969. As to the § 1981
action, the court concluded that a two-year Georgia statute of
limitations was applicable and that it barred the claim since
the suit had not been filed for almost three years after
Franks’ discharge on May 10, 1968.
{1] The statutory language which established the thirty-
day limitations period applicable to Franks’ Title VII action is
found in § 706(e) as it read before the 1972 amendments: °
If within thirty days after a charge is filed with the
Commission [or within sixty days, if the Commissi.n acts to
‘extend the period] the Commission has been unable to
obtain voluntary compliance with this subchapter, the Com-
4. The 1972 amendments to the Civil Rights Act of 1964, P.L. 92-261
§ 14, 86 Stat. 113, extended the limitations period from thirty days
to ninety days. —
_ §&. See note 4 supra.
A23
4317 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
mission shall so notify the person aggrieved and a civil
action may, within thirty days thereafter be brought
against the respondent named in the — (1) by the
person claiming to be aggrieved.
The key word in the statute is “notify”; the limitations period
begins to run upon notification of the aggrieved party.’ This
Court has held that such notification takes place only when
“notice of the failure to obtain voluntary compliance has been
sent and received.” Miller v. International Paper Co., 5th Cir.
1969, 408 F.2d 283 (emphasis added). There being no question
that the EEOC mailed the statutory notice t Franks, the
Title VII limitations issue must be framed in terms of wheth-
er Franks constructively “received” the letter, even though it
never actually came into his hands. We hold that Franks did
not “receive” the first suit letter, and that the thirty-day
limitations period began to run only when the second suit
letter actually reached him or his attorney. Genovese v. Shell
Oil Co., 5th Cir. 1973, 488 F.2d 84. Since suit was filed within
thirty days of the receipt of the second svit letter, the Title
VII action was not barred by the § 706(e) limitations period.
We do not deal here with service of process or receipt of an
offer or acceptance to make a contract, but with the interpre-
tation of Title VII. The courts have consistently construed
the Act liberally to effectuate its remedial purpose, and we
think this purpose would be poorly served by the application
of a “constructive receipt” doctrine to the notification proce-
dure. More narrowly, the purpose of the statutory notifica-
tion, which is “to provide a formal notification to the claimant
that his administrative remedies with the Commission l.ave
6. The statute does not establish an aggregate ninety-day limitations
period (i. e., the aggregate of the maximum sixty-day conciliation
period and the thirty-day right-to-sue period) which begins to run on
the date the charge is filed. Miller v. International Paper Co., 5th
Cir. 1969, 408 F.2d 283. The statute does not specify any certain
limit on the time which may pass between the expiration of the
conciliation period and the statutory notification, which starts the
thirty-day period. See id.; see also 29 C.F.R. § 1601.25a.
A24
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4318
been exhausted,” Beverly v. Lone Star Lead Construction
Corp., 5th Cir. 1971, 437 F.2d 1136, and to inform him that the
thirty-day period has begun to run, has not been accomplished
unless the claimant is actually aware of the suit letter. In
terms of the policy behind limitations periods generally, the
claimant can hardly be said to have slept on his rights if he
allows the thirty-day period to expire in ignorance of his right
to sue.
Our holding that the statutory notification is complete only
upon actual receipt of the suit letter accords with the view we
have expressed in prior cases that Congress did not intend to
condition a claimant’s right to sue under Title VII on fortui-
tous circumstances or events beyond his control which are not
spelled out in the statute. Thus, in Beverly v. Lone Star Lead
Construction Corp., supra, we concluded that the EEOC’s
failure to find reasonable cause to suspect a Title VII viola-
tion was not a jurisdictional barrier to a claimant’s Title VII
suit because Congress did not intend to make a claimant’s
statutory right to sue subject to “such fortuitous variables as
workload, mistakes, or possible lack of diligence of EEOC
personnel.” Id. at 1140. Similarly, in Dent v. St. Louis-San
Francisco Railway Co., 5th Cir. 1969, 406 F.2d 399, we held
that the EEOC’s failure to attempt to effect voluntary concili-
ation did not bar a Title VII suit because a claimant’s right to
sue was not dependent on acts or omissions of the EEOC
which were “beyond the control of the aggrieved party.” Id.
at 403. In this case we are not confronted with any delay or
mistake on the part of the EEOC, but with the loss of the first
suit letter by Franks’ nine-year-old nephew. This loss must
be characterized as a fortuitous event, however, just as loss of
the letter in the EEOC office before mailing or loss by the
postal department would have been.
{2] As an evidentiary matter, a district court might prop-
erly vonsider the mailing of a suit letter and the receipt
showing proper delivery as prima facie evidence that the
notice had reached the addressee. Where, however, it is
EPRI BELOIT IES TROUT MY: COREE CRY Ta aN A UTS
A25
4319 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
shown that the claimant through no fault of his own has
failed to receive the suit letter, and the district court has so
found, as in this case, the delivery of the letter to the mailing
address cannot be considered to constitute statutory notifica-
tion.
{3} Our conclusion that Franks’ Title VII is not barred
does not end the matter, for special limitations considerations
apply to that aspect of the Title VII action which seeks back
pay. First, the proper limitations statute must be selected
and applied. Under the borrowing principle of Beard v.
Stephens, 5th Cir. 1967, 372 F.2d 685, when an action is
brought for back pay or similar damages under a federal
statute which contains no built-in limitations period, the fed-
eral district court must apply the statute of limitations of the
state where it sits which would be applicable to the most
closely analogous state action. The instant case was brought
in a Georgia federal court. We have held in a recent case that
the Georgia statute governing a back pay award in a § 707
pattern or practice suit brought by the Attorney General or in
a § 706 private action such as the instant one, is Ga.Code
§ 3-704,’ which prescribes a two-year limitations period for
actions to recover wages, overtime, and damages due under
statutes respecting the payment of wages. United States v.
Georgia Power Company, 5th Cir. 1973, 474 F.2d 906, 924.
Under the Georgia Power case, then, it is clear that the
two-year statute applies.
(4) For Franks’ individual claim the statute began running
on the date of his dismissal May 10, 1968. The running of the
limitations period was tolled by the filing of a complaint with
7. Section 3-704 reads in pertinent part:
All suits for the enforcement of rights accruing to individuals
under statutes, acts of incorporation, or by operation of law, shall
be brought within 20 years after the right of action shall have
accrued: Provided, however, that all suits . . . for the
recovery of . . wages and overtime, subsequent to March
20, 1943, shall be brought within two years after the right of
action shall have accrued.
a
A26
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4320
the EEOC on May 13, 1968, three days later, and it remained
tolled “during such time as the processes of agency reconcilia-
tion are at work and until notification to the complainant that
voluntary compliance cannot be obtained.” United States v.
Georgia Power Co., supra at 925. As we have indicated above,
the notification was not ultimately made until the second suit
letter was received on April 14, 1971. On this date the
limitations period began running again and continued to run
for twenty-one days, until suit was filed on May 5, 1971.
Thus the limitations period ran for a total of less than one
month, far less than the two year limitations period, before
the suit was filed.
Under the same borrowing principle of Beard v. Stephens,
supra, we conclude that Ga.Code § 3-704 applies to Franks’
action under § 1981. The first sentence of that section
providing a twenty-year period for “all suits for the enforce-
ment of rights accruing to individuals under statutes
; .”, plainly did not bar Franks’ § 1981 action. The
proviso of the § 3—704 prescribing a two-year period for suits
to recover wages applies to the § 1981 action in the same way
as to the Title VII action. The running of the limitations
period was tolled during the period between the filing of the
May 13, 1968 complaint with the EEOC and the receipt of the
second suit letter on about April 14, 1971.
[5] One further matter relating to the time suit was filed
remains to be considered, and that is the applicability of the
doctrine of laches. Title VII empowers the federal district
court to
enjoin the respondent from engaging in such unlawful
employment practice, and order such affirmative action as
may be appropriate, which may include . . . rein-
statement or hiring of employees, with or without back pay.
§ 706(g), 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e-5(g). Thus, the action and the
relief authorized are essentially equitable in nature. This is
A27
4321 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
true not only of traditional injunctive relief which may be
granted, but also of the back pay award.
The demand for back pay is not in the nature of a claim for
damages, but rather is an integral part of the statutory
equitable remedy, to be determined through the exercise of
the court’s discretion, and not by a jury.
Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 5th Cir. 1969, 417
F.2d 1122. The § 1981 action, insofar as it corresponds to the
Title VII action, must also be considered essentially equitable.
In an equitable action, equitable defenses may be raised, and
these include the doctrine of laches. In the proper case, laches
might be applied to bar a claim entirely, or it might bar only
part of the remedy sought, such as the back pay award or a
portion of it. See United States v. Georgia Power Co., supra
at 923. We do not intimate any view as to the applicability of
laches to this case, for the district court should make such a
determination in the first instance.
{6] Our holding that Franks’ individual claim was not
barred by limitations necessitates reversal of that portion of
the district court’s judgment dismissing it. Since the question
of Franks’ tardiness in initiating suit was called to the atten-
tion of the district court, on remand it should specifically
consider the applicability of laches.” Subject to its determina-
tion as to the applicability of the doctrine of laches, the
district court should enter judgment for Franks and fashion
an appropriate re nedy, since it has already found that he
established the factual bases of his claim.
II. Lee’s Individual Claim: Significance of
Arbitration Award
Lee, a Negro with seven years’ experience as a truck driver
and an excellent driving record, originally applied to Bowman
8. Appellants contend that the issue was not adequately raised
below. When the issue of tardy filing was brought sufficiently to
the attention of the court to be the ground for its ruling, however,
we think it must be considered to have been adequately raised.
ah
A28
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4322
for a driving job in January of 1970, but he was not hired, the
district court found, because of his race. Upon learning that a
white driver had been hired shortly after his rejection, Lee
filed a complaint with the EEOC on February 26, 1970,
charging a racially discriminatory refusal to hire. In response
to the charge and to pressure from the Office of Federal
Contract Compliance, Lee was hired on September 18, 1970 at
the Birmingham terminal as one of Bowman’s first black
over-the-road truck drivers.
After working as a model employee for several months, Lee
was discharged on March 18, 1971. The facts surrounding his
discharge have been in dispute throughout this litigation.
When Lee brought his truck to the Bowman garage which
serves the Birmingham area, a “stinger” was found in the fuel
pump of his engine. A stinger is a wooden peg used to
override the engine’s governor, the device which limits the
maximum revolutions per minute and thereby the truck’s
maximum speed. Bowman claims that it discharged Lee
because of the stinger in his truck’s engine under a firm,
long-standing company policy requiring discharge of any em-
ployee whose fuel pump has been altered. Lee denies any fuel
pump tampering and stresses the opportunities of others,
including Bowman’s white mechanics, to plant the stinger for
reasons of racial prejudice.
Lee’s discharge was submitted to binding arbitration under
contractual grievance procedures and on October 25, 1971 an
award favorable to Lee resulted. The arbitrator found that
although the “facts raise[d] a strong inference approaching a
presumption in the Company’s favor,” there was a “failure of
proof” because the possibility of fuel pump tampering by
other employees was not adequately eliminated. Reinstate-
ment and back pay for one montk the maximum allowable
under the collective bargaining agreement, were ordered.
Bowman sent the back pay to Lee, and tendered reinstate-
ment in his old Birmingham-based job on October 29, 1971.
Lee refused to accept reinstatement at Birmingham, however,
A29
4323 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
and demanded a transfer to Atlanta and back pay for all
months from the time of his discharge. Bowman refused to
comply with these demands, and the district court found that
this refusal was not racially motivated.
Independently of the grievance procedures under the collec-
tive bargaining agreement Lee filed a second complaint with
the EEOC on March 19, 1971, charging a discriminatory
discharge. Lee’s first EEOC charge, it will be recalled, was
for the discriminatory refusal to hire. On June 22, 1971, Lee
received a suit letter authorizing a Title VII action because of
the discriminatory refusal to hire, and on July 12, 1971, he
received another suit letter with respect to the alleged dis-
criminatory discharge. He filed a timely motion to intervene
in Franks’ suit and was subsequently permitted to intervene
on behalf of himself individually and other similarly situated
black Bowman employees and job applicants. Lee’s complaint
invoked the court’s jurisdiction under both Title VII and
§ 1981, as did Franks’ original complaint.
The district court found for Lee with regard to the original
refusal to hire and awarded him a total of $6,124.58 in back
pay. No appeal is taken from this part of the district court’s
judgment.
[7] “In view of the undisputed fact that a stinger was
found in Lee’s truck and in light of Bowman’s mandatory
discharge policy for fuel pump tampering, the district court
found that Lee failed to prove his discharge was racially
motivated. On the basis of the evidence before it, it deter-
mined:
The mandatory discharge rule for alteration of the fuel
pump is one of long-standing. Between 1967 and trial,
there were some 30 terminations or permitted resignations
for violation of this rule. Some of the discharged drivers
had received prior warnings for violations or other company
rules not leading to mandatory discharge; but some, like
Lee, had no prior warnings and possessed clean records at
the time. There was no requisite of previous offense to the
A30
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4324
discharge. Most significantly, there is no indication and no
evidence that any other driver, Black or white was ever
NOT discharged for violation of the standing rule. It is
concluded that race was not a factor in the discharge of the
intervenor Lee.
Appellant Lee challenges as clearly erroneous the district
court’s finding that the discharge was not racially discrimina-
tory. Although the facts surrounding the discovery of the
stinger leave ample room for suspicion that the fuel pump was
altered by another employee besides Lee,-on the record before
us we cannot hold the district court’s determination clearly
erroneous.
[8,9] The primary basis for Lee’s factual attack is his
contention that the district court erred in failing to give
greater weight to the arbitration award in his favor in making
its findings.’ We cannot agree. The federal court is the final
arbiter in cases involving Title VII rights, and “the arbitra-
tor’s determination under the contract has no effect on the
court’s power to adjudicate a violation of Title VII rights.”
Hutchings v. United States Industries, Inc., 5th Cir. 1970, 428
F.2d 303, 313 (emphasis in original). Invoking contractual
grievance procedures does not constitute an election of reme-
dies which automatically bars a Title VII claimant from the
court, and an arbitration award cannot be pleaded as a de-
fense to a Title VII suit under the doctrine of res judicata.
See id. at 314; Rios v. Reynolds Metals Co., 5th Cir. 1972, 467
F.2d 54; Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Company, 7th Cir. 1969,
416 F.2d 711, 715.
[10] To be sure, arbitration awards and grievance determi-
nations “may be properly considered as evidence” in a Title
VII case to the extent they are relevant to the questions
before the court. Hutchings v. United States Industries, Inc.,
supra at 314 n. 10. And when the same issues are presented
9. The district court concluded: “The court is not bound by the
arbitration award in any way. . . . This is especially true
where race was given no consideration by the arbitrator.”
CUP TERI NETO POLE
A31
4325 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
in arbitration as in a Title VII lawsuit, the court has discre-
tion under certain circumstances to defer to the award, just as
the National Labor Relations Board may in a case properly
before it defer to an arbitrator’s determinations. See Lodge
No. 12, District No. 37, International Association of Machinists
v. Cameron Iron Works, Inc., 5th Cir. 1958, 257 F.2d 467, 473.
We have recently had occasion to delineate in some detail the
circumstances under which such discretionary deference by a
court is proper:
We hold that the federal district court in the exercise of
its power as the final arbiter under Title VII may follow a
like procedure of deferral [i. e., a procedure like that of the
NLRB] under the following limitations. First, there may
be no deference to the decision of the arbitrator unless the
contractual right coincides with rights under Title VII.
Second, it must be plain that the arbitrator’s decision is in
no way violative of the private rights guaranteed by Title
VII, nor of the public policy which inheres in Title VII. In
addition, before deferring, the district court must be satis-
fied that (1) the factual issues before it are identical to
those decided by the arbitrator; (2) the arbitrator had
power under the collective bargaining agreement to decide
the ultimate issue of discrimination; (3) the evidence
presented at the arbitral hearing dealt adequately with all
factual issues; (4) the arbitrator actually decided the factu-
al issues presented to the court; (5) the arbitration proceed-
ing was fair and regular and free of procedural infirmities.
Rios v. Reynolds Metal Company, supra at 58.
{11] In this case it is clear that complete deference to the
arbitration award would have been improper. The contractu-
al issue presented to the arbitrator was whether the company
proved, under a “strict proof” standard, that Lee had tam-
pered with the fuel pump, and not whether the discharge was
for racial reasons. The contractual right not to be dismissed
unless “cause” could be demonstrated was not identical to the
Title VII not to be discharged for reasons of race. Further,
A32
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4326
the arbitrator’s finding could be of little if any evidentiary
value. A finding that the stinger in the fuel pump was not
Bowman’s real reason for discharging Lee would have had an
important bearing on the question of racial motivation
presented to the court, but the arbitrator made no such
finding. Rather, the arbitrator found only that the company
failed to prove fuel pump tampering, and did not deal with
Bowman’s motivation. In arriving at this finding, the arbi-
trator imposed on the company the burden of proof, and it
evaluated the evidence under a “strict” standard of proof,
under which “reasonable doubts should be resolved in favor of
the grievance.” Thus, in the final analysis, the arbitrator
determined only that the company’s asserted basis for the
discharge—that Lee had tampered with the fuel pump—was
not demonstrated beyond a reasonable doubt. This finding
could be of little value to Lee in carrying his burden of
proving racial motivation at trial or to the district court in
resolving the factual issues before it. It did not err or abuse
its discretion in failing to give greater weight to the arbitra-
tion award.
Accordingly, the judgment of the district court insofar as it
relates to Lee’s individual claim is affirmed.
III. Adequacy of Relief to the Class
Appellants argue that the record in this case calls for
further affirmative relief to the class of discriminatees, be-
yond that granted in the injunction of the district court.
Specifically, they seek (1) allowance of full company seniority
for employees who have been discriminated against, (2) the
temporary use of a mathematical formula to ensure the hiring
of more black over-the-road drivers in the future and the
ordering of public recruitment for black over-the-road drivers
and for black office workers, (3) mandatory training programs
to upgrade the skills of black employees and applicants, and
(4) retention of jurisdiction by the district court to ensure
compliance. Additionally, appellants contend the district
A33
4327 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
court abused its discretion in refusing to award back pay to
non-named class members. We are compelled to agree that
further relief in some respects is required, as we indicate
below.
A. Bowman’s Operations and Policies
Bowman is an interstate trucking business wi.t. its main
terminals located in Atlanta, Birmingham, Charlotte, and
Richmond. Its employees fall into four categories: (1) the
over-the-road (OTR) drivers, (2) city drivers and dock workers,
(3) Maintenance Department workers (including employees in
the Tractor Shop, the Trailer Shop, and the Tire Shop), and (4)
office, sales, and clerical employees. Employees in the first
three categories belong to the union, and the organizational
lines separating them are established in the collective bargain-
ing agreements between Bowman and the union. The office
and clerical employees are not unionized, but, the district
court found, “in essence [they] constitute another department
at each terminal.” The OTR drivers are the long-distance
truck drivers; they number four hundred to five hundred
company-wide, and they earn the highest wage paid to non-
management employees. The city drivers, of whom about
fifty are employed at the Atlanta terminal, drive trucks on
local missions at the respective terminals, and the one hundred
fifty to two hundred dock workers perform the manual labor
of loading and unloading trucks. The city drivers and dock
workers are at the middle of the wage scale. Within the
Maintenance Department, which has about one hundred twen-
ty employees in Atlanta, the jobs in the Tire Shop require the
most menial work and bring the lowest pay, while the Tractor
Shop and the Trailer Shop jobs require mechanical skill and
pay more. Each terminal is a hiring center for OTR drivers,
who operate system-wide, as well as for other categories of
employees, whose work is localized at the terminal. In its
class aspects, this suit involves all OTR drivers throughout
1A or cierceremromeamenene
A34
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4328
Bowman’s system, and employees in the other three categories
at the Atlanta terminal only.
Before 1968 Bowman followed a conscious policy of keeping
its employees segregated according to race. With the excep-
tion of two black “cleanup men” in the Trailer Shop, blacks
were employed only in the Tire Shop.” This was the only
10. The district court found that the following chart
represented accurately the distribution of jobs accord-
ing to race at the times indicated:
July, 1965 March, 1968 August, 1971
Dept ./Job Blacks-Whites Blacks-Whites Blacks-Whites
Office & i?) 23 0 27 0 42
Managerial
Sales Personnel 0 6 0 5 ie) 5
Office/Clerical 0 27 0 63 0 53
Ship Parts Clerk 0 8 0 9 is) 9
Over-the-Road
Drivers
Atlanta Terminal 0 360 0 361 18) 230
All Other ie) 55 0 103 1l 269
TOTAL is) 415 ie) 464 11 499
City Driver/
Dock Jobs
City Drivers 0 79 0 80 3 81
Checkers 0 23 0 127 4 103
Dock Workers (9) 84 0 94 6 60
TOTAL 8) 186 0 301 13 244
Shop Workers
Mechanics 0 70 is) 92 ie) 63
Trailer Shop = - = - i) 36
Grease/Oil Men 0 6 0 8 0 4
Tire Shop 7 1 9 3 16 2
Clean-up Men 24 > 1 1 4 0
Janitors (¢) 1 6. 2 1 1
TOTAL 7 78 10 106 21 106
A35
4329 ‘ FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
subdivision into which blacks were hired, and transfer to other
shops within the Maintenance Department or to other depart-
ments was not permitted. The Tire Shop had predominantly
black employees and white supervisors. Since August 1968
Bowman has hired a few blacks into the previously all-white
OTR and City Driver and Doch Departments, but as of the
time of trial in March of 1972 it had not hired any blacks into
the higher paying mechanic jobs in the Maintenance Depart-
ment or as office or clerical workers.
Before 1967 Bowman prohibited sits tteabdil trans-
fers flatly. The collective bargaining signed in 1967 eliminat-
ed Bowman’s no-transfer policy ard opened the way for
nonracial hiring in all departments, but the agreement contin-
ued to recognize departmental seniority.. The district court
found that the maintenance of the departmental seniority
“effectively penalized any Senior Blacks wishing to transfer
to a previously all-white department in favor of junior whites
already employed there.”
The first black was hired into the previously all-white City
Driver and Dock Department on August 15, 1968.
Despite the collective bargaining agreement provision man-
dating hiring without regard to race, Bowman maintained
until September of 1970 4 conscious unwritten policy of not
hiring blacks as OTR drivers. The apparent source of the
resistance to change in this department was the unwillingness
of the white drivers to “ride double” with blacks to train them
for the job or to share bunk and shower facilities w'th them
on the road. In 1970 the company began’ receiving greater
numbers of applications from blacks for OTR jobs. Under
pressure from the Office of Federal Contracts Compliance to
hire OTR drivers without regard to race, and partly in re-
sponse to the EEOC charge filed by appellant Lee, Bowman
hired its first OTR driver on September 11, 1970. For about a
year black OTR drivers were hired only at the Birmingham
terminal, where Bowman housed them in separate facilities.
A36
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TKANSP. CU. 4550
Other black OTR drivers were first hired in Richmond on
September 12, 1971, in Atlanta on November 21, 1971, and in
Charlotte on February 15, 1972. The record reflects that
Bowman has been hiring black OTR drivers at a sharply
decreasing rate since the first hirings in September of 1970
under pressure. During the last four months of 1970, ten of
the thirty-six new OTR drivers hired, or 28%, were black.
‘During the twelve months of 1971, thirteen of one hundred
one, or 12%, of the new OTR drivers were black. In the first
two months of 1972, immediately before trial, Bow:nan hired
fifty OTR drivers, only four of whom, or 8%, were black. On
_ February 26, 1972, one month before trial 3.3% of the total
number of OTR drivers employed by Bowman were black."
The provision of the 1967 collective bargaining agreement
abolishing the no-transfer rule and requiring hiring without
regard to race has had no effect in the Maintenance Depart-
ment. Bowman has never hired a black mechanic in the
Tractor Shop or in the Trailer Shop, either “off the street” or
as a transfer from the Tire Shop. Bowman has not hired a
black as a “grease man” since that position became a training
step to the mechanic positions. When blacks have attempted
_ to transfer from the Tire Shop to better jobs in the Mainte-
nance Department, management has discouraged the move by
informing the transfer-aspirant that he must resign for a
period of six weeks and then reapply, or simply that transfers
are not permitted. Further, although any Maintenance
Department employee may theoretically use his full depart-
mental seniority in bidding on any Maintenance Department
yds eo tenes tee maori. Tusien an tails in tee
month before trial, tT a ne ae
3.3% at the time of trial.
A37
ny
4551 FKANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
job, inter-shop transfer attempts by seniority bidding are
largely prevented by the expedient of posting job openings
only in the shop where they occur, so that employees in the
other shops remain ignorant of them. For example, an open-
ing in the Tractor Shop would be posted only in the Tractor
Shop area, so that Tire Shop employees with seniority would
not become aware of it and thus have a meaningful opportuni-
ty to bid for it.
At the time of trial Bowman had never hired a biack office
worker at the Atlanta terminal. Clerical job vacancies are
not advertised publicly, but are communicated by current
clerical employees to acquaintances by word of mouth. Only
three or four blacks applied for clerical positions in the five
years preceding trial. Until spring of 1971 Bowman used the
race-oriented Wonderlic test to screen clerical job applicants
and it rejected two black applicants on the basis of the scores
obtained.”
The district court found that Bowman ‘iad not practiced
racial discrimination in hiring office and clerical workers.”
12. The use of the Wonderlic test to screen job applicants was held
to constitute prohibited racial discrimination in Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., 1971, 401 U.S. 424, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L.Ed.2d 158 because
it yielded significantly different results for whites and blacks and
was not shown to produce job-related information. Bowman has
made no attempt to show that the Wonderlic test results were
related to the requirements of its clerical jobs.
13. The district cous<’s findings with regard to the office and clerical
workers were as follows:
The office employment situation stays rather stable and although
there is a substantial number of applicants each year, the hiring
rate is very low. In the past five years, there have only been a
total of three or four Black applicants out of an average of 25
each year. Each of these applicants has been treated no different-
ly from any other applicant and race has not been a factor in the
A38
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4332
With regard to the OTR drivers, dock workers and city drivers
and Maintenance Department employees, it found that, while
discriminatory policies had existed in the past, they had, by
the time of trial, given way to “an official policy against
discriminatory hiring in all of its [Bowman’s] hiring prac-
tices.” The departmental seniority system, however, perpetu-
ated the effects of past discrimination.
B. Relief Granted by the District Court
The district court’s order defining the classes represented
and granting injunctive relief reads as follows:
In accordance with the findings of the Court, the defend-
ant, BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, and the
defendants, INTERNATIONAL UNION OF DISTRICT 50,
LOCAL NO. 13600, ALLIED AND TECHNICAL WORK-
ERS OF THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA and
INTERNATIONAL UNION OF DISTRICT 50, ALLIED
AND TECHNICAL WORKERS OF THE UNITED
STATES AND CANADA, their officers, agents, employees,
servants, and all persons in active concert or participation
with them, are hereby permanently enjoined and restrained
from discriminating against any Black applicant or Black
employee of the defendant, Bowman Transportation Com-
pany at its Atlanta Terminal or elsewhere for over-the-road
drivers in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964.
The defendants are enjoined from implementing a senior-
ity system which would interfere with the rights under this
judgment of black employees in the classes herein defined.
AFFECTED CLASSES.
The affected classes are defined by the court as follows:
CLASS 1. All Black employees at the Atlanta Terminal
who were hired prior to August 15, 1968.
A39
4333 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
CLASS 2. All Black employees employed at the Atlanta
Terminal in the Maintenance Department prior to May 1,
1970.
CLASS 3. All Black applicants who applied for positions
as over-the-road drivers prior to January 1, 1972.
CLASS 4. All Black employees who applied to transfer to
over-the-road drivers positions prior to January 1, 1972.
ORDERS.
The members of CLASS 1 have all been restricted to jobs
in the Tire Shop prior to August 15, 1968, by the racially
discriminatory policies of the defendant company. Hereaf-
ter any member of the affected class who competes with a
non-member in a bid to transfer or be promoted within the
company shall be entitled to compete on the basis of compa-
ny seniority until such date plus any departmental seniority
thereafter, rather than departmental seniority only.
The members of CLASS 2 have been restricted to jobs in
the Tire Shop and prevented from transferring to the
Tractor and Trailer Shops within the Maintenance Depart-
ment by the racially discriminating policies of the defendant
company. All such members shall be notified of the right to
bid within the department at the next annual bidding. If
bids are lodged and the member is deemed qualified, he
shall thereafter be credited with departmental seniority
from the date of original employment in all future bidding.
The members of CLASS 3 have been effectively denied
employment as over-the-road drivers prior to January 1,
1972. All Black applicants as revealed by the company
records prior to such date shall be notified in writing of
their right to be considered for employment by the company
within 30 days and given 30 days thereafter to indicate their
interest. If consideration is requested, then they shall be
afforded priority in consideration over all other applicants
until each such applicant, in chronological order, has been
accepted or rejected by the company. Two applicants,
A40
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4334
' Harbor and McLoughlin, shall be considered within 15 days
by the company. In any such applications, race shall not be
used by the company as a means of denying employment to
any applicant.
The members of CLASS 4, who sought to transfer from a
job as “city driver” or elsewhere to road driver shall like-
wise be afforded priority in consideration for such employ-
ment in chronological order along with the members of
CLASS 3.
A copy of this order, or such substituted order as agreed
upon by counsel, shall be posted in a conspicuous place in
each department and sub-department of the Defendant,
Bowman Transportation Company’s Atlanta Terminal and
in the office of each terminal and warehouse of the Defend-
ant elsewhere for the period of 60 days. In addition, all
bids shall hereafter be posted in each sub-department and
shop in the Atlanta Terminal.
The court’s conclusions of law indicate that Franks rep-
resented the first two of the “affected classes” and Lee
represented the second two. Analytically, a fifth class is
implicit in the first paragraph of the district court’s order—
the class of all black job applicants and employees of Bowman.
The four enumerated categories may be considered subclasses
within this larger class. Their apparent purpose is to deline-
ate the groups which the district court concluded were en-
titled to a special affirmative remedy, beyond the general
prohibition against future discrimination. August 15, 1968,
the date used to define class 1, is the day the first black dock
worker at the Atlanta terminal was hired. The district court
evidently found that the discrimination barrier which exclud-
ed blacks from employment in the City Driver and Dock
Department wholly dissolved on that day. The dates used to
define the remaining classes are not tied to concrete events in
the record; it appears that the district court believed discrimi-
nation in the relevant areas ceased on approximately the days
eee
A4l
4335 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
indicated. Although appellants cast their arguments in terms
of remedy, and do not directly assail the definition of the
classes, or subclasses, and although we shall in the remainder
of this opinion speak in terms of remedies, it is clear that
modifications in the remedy afforded could necessitate re-
drawing to some extent, the classes. Where appropriate, such
redrawing should be performed on remand. See Johnson v.
Georgia Highway Express Co., 5th Cir. 1969, 417 F.2d 1122,
1124.
C. Standard of Review
The power of the district court to fashion an equitable
remedy is broad:
Once a right and a violation have been shown, the scope of
the district court’s equitable powers to remedy past wrongs
is broad, for breadth and flexibility are inherent in equita-
ble remedies.
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 1971,
402 U.S. 1, 15, 91 S.Ct. 1267, 1276, 28 L.Ed.2d 554. Generally,
the exercise of this equitable discretion will be disturbed on
appeal only for an abuse of discretion.
[12] The limits of the district court’s discretion are marked
by its duty to carry out within practicable limits the purpose
of Title VII, which is to make the discriminatee whole and to
remedy the effects of past discrimination. Vogler v. McCarty,
Inc., 5th Cir. 1971, 451 F.2d 1236, 1237; cf. Louisiana v. United
States, 1965, 380 U.S. 145, 154, 85 S.Ct. 817, 822, 13 L.Ed.2d
709. To accomplish this end, the district courts are not
“limited to simply parroting the Act’s prohibitions.” Local 53
of International Association of Heat & Frost Insulators &
Asbestos Workers v. Vogler, 5th Cir. 1969, 407 F.2d 1047, 1052.
Rather they should order “such affirmative action as may be
appropriate.” § 706(g) of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C.A. § 2000e-5(g). If an appellate court can determine
from the record that the relief granted is not sufficient to
A42
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4336
make the discriminatee whole as far as possible, then the
district court’s order falls outside the bounds of its discretion.
For some recurrent problems, we have had occasion in previ-
ous cases to discuss the minimum appropriate remedy, and
such cases provide more specific limits and guidelines for the
exercise of discretion. See, e. g., Local 189, United Papermak-
ers and Paperworkers, AFL-CIO, CLC v. United States, 5th
Cir. 1969, 416 F.2d 980, cert. denied 1970, 397 U.S. 919, 90 S.Ct.
926, 25 L.Ed.2d 100 (seniority relief).
D. Asserted Inadequacy of the District Court’s Decree
1. Seniority Relief
The district court’s order allowed members of class 1 (all
present black employees at the Atlanta terminal who were
hired before August 15, 1968) to compete for jobs on the basis
of company seniority accumulated before August 15, 1968, the
date the first black dock worker was hired, and departmental
seniority accumulated thereafter. Appellants characterize
this aspect of the decree as “halfway seniority relief.” They
contend (1) that members of class 1 should be allowed to use
company seniority accumulated after as well as before August
15, 1968, (2) that members of class 4 (present Bowman em-
ployees who applied to transfer to OTR positions before
January 1, 1972) who are hired as OTR drivers pursuant to the
court’s decree should be able to use company seniority for all
purposes in the OTR Department, and (3) that members of
class 3 (pre-January 1, 1972 black OTR applicants) who are
hired pursuant to the court’s decree should be awarded con-
structive OTR departmental seniority beginning on the date
they would have been hired but for the discrimination.
[13-16] When a departmental seniority system perpetu-
ates the effect of past discrimination it is an unlawful employ-
ment practice proscribed and remediable under Title VII. E.
g., United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corporation, 2nd Cir.
1971, 446 F.2d 652; Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 4th Cir. 1971,
A43
4337 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
441 F.2d 791, cert. dismissed 404 U.S. 1006, 92 S.Ct. 573, 30
L.Ed.2d 655; Local 189, United Papermakers and Paperwork-
ers, AFL-CIO, CLC v. United States, supra; Quarles v. Philip
Morris, Inc., E.D.Va.1968, 279 F.Supp. 505. Though not as
drastic as a rigid no-transfer rule, a departmental seniority
system discourages transfers and thereby locks a discrimina-
tee into his inferior job by threatening him with loss of his
accumulated seniority if he should transfer. “In any industry
loss of seniority is a critical inhibition to transfer.” United
States v. Jacksonville Terminal Co., 5th Cir. 1971, 451 F.2d
418, 453, cert. denied 406 U.S. 906, 92 S.Ct. 1607, 31 L.Ed.2d
815. That the system is racially neutral on its face does not
save it under Title VII if its effect is to “cut into the
employees’ present right not to be discriminated against on
the ground of race.” Local 189, supra at 988; See also United
States v. Jacksonville Terminal Co., supra at 451. The federal
courts’ power to modify or suspend the operation of a discrim-
inatory seniority system is not affected by the fact that the
seniority system has been established in a private, collective
bargaining agreement. Vogler v. McCarty, Inc., 5th Cir. 1971,
451 F.2d 1236. The only ground upon which a discrimination-
perpetuating seniority system may be defended is that of
business necessity. “When a policy is demonstrated to have
discriminatory effects, it can be justified only by a showing
that it is necessary to the safe and efficient operation of the
business.” Jones v. Lee Way Motor Freight, 10th Cir. 1970,
431 F.2d 245, 249; see Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., supra at
797; Local 189, supra.
In this case it is undisputed that the members of class 1
i were originally relegated to inferior jobs in the Tire Shop as a
result of Bowman’s racially discriminatory hiring practices.
Further, it is clear that the departmental seniority system has
the forbidden effect of locking discriminatees into the pattern
thus created. Neither Bowman nor the union has attempted
to defend the seniority system as a “business necessity.” As
the district court recognized, class 1 members are entitled to
a a
A4%4
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4338
relief from the locking-in effect of the departmental seniority
system. The question presented is what form the remedy
must take and how far it must go.
The leading case in this Circuit on seniority relief under
Title VII is Local 189, United Papermakers and Paperworkers,
AFL-CIO, CLC v. United States, 5th Cir. 1969, 416 F.2d 980,
cert. denied 1970, 397 U.S. 919, 90 S.Ct. 926, 25 L.Ed.2d 100,
aff’g, E.D.La.1969, 301 F.Supp. 906. There, Judge Wisdom
endorsed for ‘our Court the “rightful place” approach to
seniority problems.
A “rightful place” theory stands between a complete
purge of “but-for” effects [and] maintenance of the status
quo. The Act should be construed to prohibit the future
awarding of vacant jobs on the basis of a seniority system
that “locks in” prior racial classification. White incumbent
workers should not be bumped out of their present positions
by Negroes with greater plant seniority; plant seniority
should be asserted only with respect to new job openings.
This solution accords with the purpose and history of the
legislation.
Id. at 988. He concluded that the decree entered by the
district court in that case accorded with the rightful place
interpretation of the Act. That decree “permanently abol-
ished” the offending “job seniority system” and allowed discri-
minatees to compete for jobs on the basis of “mill seniority,”
which was to be computed from the beginning of the em-
ployee’s service at the mill, regardless of the job slot he
occupied, up to the date of his bid. United States v. Local
189, United Papermakers and Paperworkers, AFL-CIO, CLC,
E.D.La.1969, 301 F.Supp. 906, 919.
In the United States v. Jacksonville Terminal Co., 5th Cir.
1971, 451 F.2d 418, cert. denied 406 U.S. 906, 92 S.Ct. 1607, 31
14. The “rightful place,” “freedom now,” and “status quo” theories
were first distinguished and analyzed in Note, Title VII, Seniority
Discrimination, and the Incumbent Negro, 80 Harv.L.Rev. 1260
(1967).
A45
4339 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
L.Ed.2d 815, we applied the Local 189 principles and found
that the “craft and class” seniority system at issue in that case
was a discriminatory unlawful employment practice under
Title VII. We held that an appropriate remedial decree
should grant to discriminatees “qualified to fill vacancies
the right to bid for . . . positions on the basis
. of Terminal seniority (time worked for the employer) rather
than craft or class seniority.” Id. at 454. In laying down
guidelines which the decree should follow, we specified that
discriminatees should be allowed to use Terminal seniority
“until they successfully bid for, and retain after any on-the-
job probationary or training period (if required), positions
outside the craft or class which they occupy at the time of the
District Court’s decree.” Id. at 458-459.
i In United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 2nd Cir. 1971,
~ 446 F.2d 652, the Second Circuit established similar guidelines.
Disapproving a discrimination-perpetuating departmental se-
niority system, it allowed discriminatees to transfer with
seniority carryover “only once, and only during the next two
years.” Id. at 666. This once-only, two-year limitation was
‘ considered adequate to allow the discriminatee an adequate
opportunity to break out of the racial pattern while not giving
him a preferential advantage or imposing an unnecessarily
unstable situation on the employer:
Because a transferee will have only one opportunity of
limited duration to transfer to a formerly “white” depart-
ment, the Lackawanna plant will not be thrown into a
chaotic game of musical chairs. . . . Nor will any
‘. employee have superseniority.
Id. at 666.
In each of these cases the court has allowed discriminatees
to use full company seniority to compete for job openings for
at least a reasonable time after the entry of the court’s
decree. In Local 189 the discriminatory system was “perma-
nently abolished” and mill seniority substituted for discrimina-
tees, presumably also permanently. In Jacksonville Terminal
porwr OCIS tA NA PRIORI RE a
A46
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4340
discriminatees could use company seniority for transfer pur-
poses only once but the use might possibly be delayed for a
lengthy period. In Bethlehem Steei the court imposed a
one-time or two-year limitation on discriminatees’ right to
transfer with full seniority carryover.”
[17] Both the precedents and the nature of the wrong, we
think, indicate that the remedy afforded by the district court
should allow to employees locked into old racial patterns by
the departmental seniority system the use of full company
seniority for transfer purposes for a reasonable time and for
all purposes after transfer in the new department. The
locking-in effect of departmental seniority on present em-
ployees does not cease as of the date that discrimination as to
new hirees ceases. To allow for purposes of transfer—i.e.
bidding on a new job in a different department—the use of
company seniority accumulated only up to the date on which
discrimination in hiring at the terminal ceased in the past
would force discriminatees to compete with non-discriminatees
on an unequal footing in the present. To permit only partial
seniority carryover would only reduce the penalty which a
discriminatee would suffer by transferring, but would not
eliminate it. The district court’s decree should dissolve the
barrier to transfers completely by allowing the use of full
company seniority. Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co.,
5th Cir. 1974, —- F.2d —— [No. 73-1163, Apr. 29, 1974].
Further, the discriminatee should be allowed a reasonable
time for using company seniority to escape the racial patterns
created in the past. The right of the discriminatee to transfer
with seniority carryover on the basis of company seniority
need not be extended indefinitely into the future, but a
15. Compare Quarles v. Philip Morris, Inc., E.D.Va.1968, 279 F.Supp.
505, where the court required a prompt declaration of interest by
discriminatees and prompt screening to identify those who would be
able to bid on the basis of company seniority, but designated no
cut-off date in the future after which those discriminatees would no
longer be able to use company seniority.
A47
4341 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
reasonable time after the entry of the decree must be- al-
lowed."
This same reasoning applies to members of class 4 (black
employees who applied to transfer to OTR positions prior to
January 1, 1972) as well as other pre-January 1, 1972 black
employees who were excluded from OTR jobs at the time of
their original employment. Those who are found qualified for
OTR jobs should be allowed to bid for them on the basis of
company seniority and should not be penalized for accepting
them by loss of all or a portion of their accumulated company
seniority. They should be allowed to carry over accumulated
company seniority for all purposes in the OTR department.”
United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., supra.
In treating questions of seniority here, we do not, of course,
suggest that Bowman must hire without regard to qualifica-
tion. “Secretaries must be able to type. There is no way
around that necessity.” Local 189, supra at 989. And truck
drivers must be qualified to drive. But transfer applicants
must be accepted or rejected, as the district court’s decree
requires, on the basis of valid, non-racial criteria.
[18] In seeking application-date seniority for members of
class 3 (black applicants who applied for OTR jobs before
January 1, 1972) appellants ask us to take a giant step beyond
permitting job competition on the basis of company seniority.
16. We believe a one-transfer-only limitation would be reasonable
also, either in conjunction with or in addition to the time limitation,
since the discriminatee stands on a substantially equal footing with
his white contemporaries once he has escaped the confines of the
racial pattern in which he has been trapped.
17. In Bing v. Roadway Express, Inc., 5th Cir. 1973, 485 F.2d 441, we
dated seniority for transferring road drivers from the date of qualifi-
cation. In that case, Roadway had a flat requirement of one year’s
experience for road drivers, so that the qualification date was easily
calculable. To allow the use of company seniority before that date
would have placed the discriminatee in a better position than he
could have achieved without the discrimination. In this case, by
contrast, Bowman had no rigid one-year experience requirement. It
sometimes accepted OTR trainees with little or no prior driving
experience.
A48
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4342
They ask us to create constructive seniority for applicants who
have never worked for the company. Granting that the black
OTR applicants who were rejected on racial grounds suffered
a wrong, we do not believe that Title VII permits the exten-
sion of constructive seniority to them as a remedy. Section
703(h) of Title VII, 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e—2(h), provides:
Notwithstanding any other provision of this title it shall not
be an unlawful employment practice for an employer to
apply different standards of compensation, or different
terms, conditions, or privileges of employment pursuant to a
bona fide seniority or merit system . . . provided that
such differences are not the result of an intention to dis-
criminate because of race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin.
The discrimination which has taken place in a refusal to hire
does not affect the bona fides of the seniority system. Thus,
the differences in the benefits and conditions of employment
which a seniority system accords to older and newer em-
ployees is protected as “not an unlawful employment prac-
tice.” Facing this problem in Local 189, Judge Wisdom wrote:
It is one thing for legislation to require the creation of
fictional seniority for newly hired Negroes, and quite anoth-
er thing for it to require that time actually worked in Negro
jobs be given equal status with time worked in white jobs.
; [C]reating fictional employment time for newly-
hired Negroes would constitute preferential rather than
remedial treatment.
No stigma of preference attaches to recognition of time
actually worked in Negro jobs as the equal of white time.
We conclude . . . that Congress exempted
from the anti-discrimination requirement only those senior-
ity rights which gave white workers preference over junior
Negroes.
A49
4343 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
' Local 189, supra at 995. We are guided by his reasoning here.
The district court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to
create constructive seniority for black OTR applicants who
were rejected as a result of Bowman’s discriminatory policy.
In conclusion, we agree with appellants’ contention that
present Bowman employees who have been discriminated
against in the past and remain locked-in to the racial pattern
by departmental seniority must be allowed to compete for jobs
in other departments on the basis of full accumuiated compa-
ny senicrity, and that this remedy should be made available
for a reasonable time to permit them to take advantage of it.
On remand the decree should be modified in accordance with
these views. We do not agree that constructive seniority may
be created and awarded to those who are not employees.
2. Affirmative Hiring Relief
[19] Appellants next contend that the District Court’s
decree was deficient in failing to provide (1) that Bowman
must conduct an active recruitment campaign designed to
attract black OTR applicants and must hire one black OTR
driver for every new white OTR driver hired until twenty
percent of the OTR drivers are black, and (2) that Bowman
must actively recruit black office and clerical workers in a
manner specifically designed to inform the. black community
of clerical job opportunities. Appellants included both of
these measures in a proposed cacres which they submitted to
the District Court.
The record in this case shows that Bowman followed a
conscious policy of excluding blacks from its OTR Department
until September 1970, a time over five years after the effec-
tive date of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The District Court
found that Bowman, although aware of its legal obligations,
intentionally continued to follow its discriminatory policy and
put off hiring black OTR driver's as long as it could. It began
hiring black OTR drivers in 1970 only under pressure from the
OFCC and at least one EEOC complaint. As we have often
A50
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. : 4344
observed, actions taken under such pressure and in the face of
threatened or pending litigation are at best “equivocal jin
purpose, motive and permanence.” Jenkins v. United Gas
Corp., 5th Cir. 1968, 400 F.2d 28, 33; see also Rowe v. General
Motors Corp., 5th Cir. 1972, 457 F.2d 348, even when they are
drastic and go far toward remedying the effects of past
discrimination. In this case, the sincerity and permanence of
Bowman’s conversion to nonracial employment practices are
all the more dubious in light of the steadily declining rate at
which Bowman has hired black OTR. drivers after September
of 1970 and in light of the small percentage (3.3%) of the OTR
Department which was black at the time of trial." Public
recruitment has been granted previously as a remedy in -
racial-discrimination ‘cases,” and we agree with appellants
that this case calls for such a remedy.
At the time the District Court entered its findings of fact,
conclusions of law, and order and decree in March, 1972, it did
not have the advantage of our en banc decision in Morrow v.
Crisler, 5th Cir. 1974, 491 F.2d 1053. Mortow considered the
precise charge made here: that the District Court failed to
order sufficient affirmative relief. The en banc court there
_ remanded for additional consideration where the events since
the District Court decree indicated the initial relief to have
been insufficient. : pe
We would vacate so much of the District Court’s decree as
denies the request for additional affirmative relief, and re-
' 18. See note 10, supra, & accompanying text. :
‘ 19. Public recruitment aimed at blacks was held mandatory in United
States v. Georgia Power Co., 5th.Cir. 1973, 474 F.2d 906, 926 and in
United States v. Sheet Metal Workers International Association,
Local 36, AFL-CIO, 8th Cir. 1969, 416 F.2d 123, 139-140. It was
also a part of the remedy granted in the following ‘cases: United
States v. Ironworkers Local 86, W.D.Wash.1970, 315 F.cupp. 1202,
aff'd 9th Cir. 1971, 443 F.2d 544, cert. denied 404 U.S. 984, 92 S.Ct.
447, 30 L.Ed.2d 367; United States v. Central Motor Lines, Inc.,
W.D.N.C.1971, 338 F.Supp. 532; United States v. United Association
of Journeymen, etc., Local No. 73, S.D.Indiana 1969, 314 F.Supp.
160. The power of the court under Title VII to order, as a remedial
measure, advertising and recruitment efforts aimed at minority
groups cannot be seriously questioned.
A51
4345 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
mand to the District Court to update the record in this case,
which is now over two years old, and to consider what, if any,
additional affirmative relief may be necessary in light of
current facts and our decision in Morrow.
The hurdle which appellants must clear in order to be in a
position to demand public recruitment of black office workers
is the District Court’s finding that Bowman does not discrimi-
nate in hiring office workers. We conclude that appellants
have cleared this hurdle on the strength of their proof below
that Bowman had never hired a black office worker, relied on
word-of-mouth advertising to fill vacancies which became
available, and followed patently discriminatory practices in
connection with the employment of drivers by the Company.
The underlying findings upon which the District Court
relied in making its no-discrimination finding were: (1) only
three or four of the approximately twenty-five clerical appli-
cants each year are black, (2) blacks have shown little interest
in office jobs, and (3) black applicants are treated no differ-
ently than white applicants. Further pertinent facts appear-
ing in the record, which are not disputed, are (4) that Bowman
had never hired a single black office or clerical worker in
Atlanta by the time of trial, and (5) Bowman did not publicize
office job vacancies but relied on word-of-mouth advertising
by the current all-white office staff.
The most vociferous figure regarding the office and clerical
workers in this case is that Bowman’s office staff was at the
time of trial and had always been one hundred percent white.
This statistic alone raises a question concerning racial discrim-
ination in Bowman’s hiring of office workers. See United
States v. United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of
America, Local 169, 7th Cir. 1972, 457 F.2d 210, 214; United
States v. Hayes International Corp., 5th Cir. 1972, 456 F.2d
112, 120. It has not been shown to be the result of any
business necessity, or extenuating circumstances, or any cause
other than a preference for whites in hiring.
A52
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4346
The suggestion that the all-white composition of the office
staff is due to lack of interest on the part of blacks or the
small number of black applicents is singularly unpersuasive in
view of Bowman’s heavy reliance on word-of-mouth recruit-
ing. We recognized recently in United States v. Georgia
Power Co., 5th Cir. 1973, 474 F.2d 906, 925, that when all
current employees in a unit are white “word-of-mouth hiring
alone would tend to isolate blacks from the ‘web of informa-
tion’ which flows around opportunities at the company.” Al-
though this recruiting method is racially neutral in form, in
practice it operates as a “builtin headwind” to blacks. Id.;
Parham v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 8th Cir. 1970, 433
F.2d 421; Clark v. American Marine Corp., E.D.La.1969, 304
F.Supp. 603, 606, 608. No business necessity for Bowman’s
exclusive reliance on this recruiting method has been shown or
argued.
Inasmuch as the record is clear as to the discriminatory
employment practices concerning drivers, we think that the
above evidence was sufficient to carry the plaintiff’s burden
of proof that discrimination in hiring office workers was
sufficiently shown to justify some relief.
Under the circumstances of this case we agree with appel-
lants that the District Court’s failure to order some hiring
relief in the form of public recruitment to attract black office
and clerical workers, as well as to attract OTR applicants, was
an abuse of discretion, and that advertising of office job
vacancies through some medium designed to reach blacks
would be appropriate.
We do not specify the precise form which such recruiting is
to take. “[A]dvertisements of openings in newspapers and
periodicals accessible to the black communities of Atlanta and
other Georgia cities, and public notice that the company is an
equal opportunity employer, are common recruiting tech-
niques which should be considered. . . . We hold only
that the present word-of-mouth practice must be supplement-
tad eR led AA ee
A53
4347 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
ed or changed.” United States v. Georgia Power Co., supra,
at 926.
In summary, we conclude that this case warrants affirma-
tive hiring relief for potential black OTR drivers in the form
of public recruitment, consideration of additional affirmative
relief in the light of our opinion in Morrow, and affirmative
hiring relief for potential black office workers in the form of
public recruitment. We leave to the District Court the task
and prerogative of devising the particular form these reme-
dies should take and of framing an appropriate decree.
3. Mandatory Training for Discriminatees
[20] Appellants next ask that Bowman be ordered to es-
tablish special training programs to upgrade the skills of
discriminatees and to facilitate their movement out of inferior
jobs.
Bowman’s record of denying training opportunities to
blacks is bad. From 1968 to 1971 Bowman hired 75 to 150
white OTR drivers with no prior truck driving experience and
trained them by assigning them to “ride double” with experi-
enced drivers. At the same time, assertedly because of the
racial prejudice of all its white drivers, similar training oppor-
tunities were denied blacks. Prior to August of 1968 blacks
were absolutely excluded from city driver jobs, which may
lead to qualification for OTR jobs. In the Maintenance
Department, black Tire Shop employees have been denied
access to jobs through which they might progress to mechanic
position.
At a minimum, an effective remedy in this case must allow
black applicants and new employees access to training oppor-
tunities on an equal basis with whites in the future. This
requirement is implicit in the first paragraph of the district
court’s decree. It is little more than an echo of Title VII’s
general prohibition against discrimination in hiring and pro-
moting. Further, if black Bowman employees who are pres-
ently locked into racial patterns due to past discrimination are
AS4
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4348
to have a neaningfal opportunity to advance, we think they
must be afforded special temporary remedial training oppor-
tunities. A Tire Shop employee’s seniority will be of little use
to him in bidding on a mechanic’s slot so long as he lacks the
necessary skills. As the district court observed, “as a practical
matter, nobody in the tire shop can bump a mechanic.”
Heretofore Bowman has trained its employees on the job.
Inexperienced OTR drivers ride double with experienced driv-
ers. Certain jobs in the Maintenance Department are train-
ing steps to the mechanic jobs, and city driver jobs lead to
qualification for OTR jobs. On remand the district court
should identify those positions which are training grounds,
and impose conditions to ensure that a substantial number of
Bowman’s employees who have been discriminatorily relegat-
‘ed to inferior jobs in the past are afforded a ready access to
them. Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Company, supra.
In analogous employment discrimination cases, some courts
have ordered the creation, at company expense, of counselling
and training programs to which discriminatees must be admit-
ted in certain numbers each year or according to a fixed ratio
until they hold a certain percentage of the skilled positions.
See Buckner v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., N.D.Ala.1972,
$39 F.Supp. 1108, 1124-1125; United States v. Ironworkers
Local 86, W.D.Wash.1970, 315 F.Supp. 1202, 1247-1250, aff’d
' 9th Cir. 1971, 443 F.2d 544, cert. denied 404 U.S. 984, 92 S.Ct.
447, 30 L.Ed.2d 367. From our appellate prospective, we
cannot say that the creation of special new training programs
is necessary in this case to afford discriminatees an opportuni-
ty to overcome the effects of past discrimination. The inade-
quacy of existing training methods to accomplish this purpose
is not demonstrated in the record. If the district court should
find, however, that further remedial measures are necessary
to afford adequate training opportunities, it may fashion and
grant them.
%A55
4349 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
4. Retention of Jurisdiction
[21] Bowman maintained blatantly discriminatory policies
at least until September of 1971, over five years after the
passage of Title VII. Since that time it has moved some
distance toward complying with Title VII’s mandates, but
only under pressure from government agencies and in the face
of threatened litigation. These circumstances, as well as the
decreasing rate at which it has hired black OTR drivers,
necessarily cast some doubt on its intention to discontinue and
remedy its unlawful employment practices voluntarily. The
district court should retain jurisdiction of this case for at least
two years and require periodic reports from Bowman which
will enable it to ascertain that the remedial measures it
mandates are being carried into effect.
E. Back Pay
[22] The district court denied back pay to the affected
classes on the basis of its conclusions that such relief (1) would
be inconsistent with the purpose of Title VII to promote
conciliation rather than litigation where possible, and (2)
would not be “warranted” in a Rule 23(b)\2) class action,
which contemplates primarily injunctive and declaratory re-
lief. In addition, the court stated back pay to non-named
class members was denied in the exercise of discretion. We
do not agree that either Rule 23(b\2) or Title VII prohibits
back pay awards to non-named class members. Further, since
it appears that the district court exercised its discretion under
an erroneous view of the applicable law, we vacate its decree
insofar as it denies back pay to the class and remand for
reconsideration of this issue. Cf. United States v. Georgia
Power Co., 5th Cir. 1973, 474 F.2d 906, 921; Johnson v.
Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 5th Cir. 1974, 491 F.2d 1364;
Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra.
rete Gee ee OR
ccm
A56
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4350
The remedies authorized in Title VII specifically include
back pay. As indicated above, the purpose of Title VII is to
make the discriminatee whole and eliminate the effects of
past discrimination as far as possible. Where the disc’ imina-
tee has suffered economic injury in the form of lost wages,
back pay is normally appropriate relief. Harkless v. Sweeny
Independent School District, 5th Cir. 1970, 427 F.2d 319, 324.
The district court recognized this in awarding back pay to
Lee. One apparent source of its reluctance to extend this
remedy to class members was its view that to do so would
allow class members to circumvent EEOC concilatory efforts
and thus frustrate Title VII’s policy favoring resolution of
problems through conciliation rather than litigation where
possible. This view conflicts with what we said in Oatis v.
Crown Zellerbach Corp., 5th Cir. 1968, 398 F.2d 496, 499:
Racial discrimination is by definition class discrimination,
and to require a multiplicity of separate, identical charges
before the EEOC, filed against the same employer, as a
prerequisite to relief through resort to the court would tend
to frustrate our system of justice and order.
See also Miller v. International Paper Co., 5th Cir. 1969, 408
F.2d 283, 284-285. An EEOC complaint filed by the class
representative allows an adequate opportunity for resolution
of problems of the class through conciliation, Bowe v. Colgate-
Palmolive Co., 7th Cir. 1969, 416 F.2d 711, 720, and opens the
courthouse doors for the class. While Oatis and Miller did not
focus particularly on the back pay relief sought, we see no
basis for treating a back pay claim as unique and requiring
each class member to file his claim with the EEOC before
asserting it in the courtroom. The Seventh Circuit has
reached the same conclusion on this issue:
The clear purpose of Title VII is to bring an end to the
proscribed discriminatory practices, and to make whole, in a
pecuniary fashion, those who have suffered by it. To
A57
4351 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
permit only injunctive relief in the class action would frus-
trate the implementation of a strong Congressional purpose
expressed in the Civil Rights Act of 1964. To require that
each employee file a charge with the EEOC and then join in
the suit would have a deleterious effect on the purpose of
the Act and impose an unnecessary hurdle to recovery for
the wrong inflicted.
Bowe v. Colgate-Palmolive Co., 7th Cir. 1969, 416 F.2d 711,
720. We believe this view is correct, and we hold that neither
the letter nor the spirit of Title VII precludes back pay
awards to non-named class members when only the class
representative has filed an appropriate EEOC complaint.
Nor does Fed.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(2) prohibit back pay awards to
non-named class members in a class action under that subdivi-
sion of the rule. Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co.,
supra; Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 4th Cir. 1971, 444 F.2d 791,
802, cert. dismissed 404 U.S. 1006, 92 S.Ct. 573, 30 L.Ed.2d 655.
It is true that Rule 23(b)(2) refers only to “injunctive relief or
corresponding declaratory relief” and “does not extend to
cases in which the appropriate final relief relates exclusively
or predominantly to money damages.” Advisory Committee’s
Notes, 1966, 39 F.R.D. 69, 102 (emphasis added). But this
Title VII action cannot be characterized as one seeking “ex-
clusively or predominantly money damages.” As we have
pointed out above, back pay awards under Title VII (and
under § 1981 to the extent that a § 1981 corresponds to a Title
VII action) are not damages, as such, but an integral part of
the equitable remedy. Even if back pay is considered as
equivalent to damages under Rule 23, in this case back pay is
not the exclusive or predominant remedy sought.
The district court should devise an appropriate procedure
for adjudicating the claims of non-named class members for
back pay awards. Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,
supra. Reliance on a master may be appropriate. Pettway v.
A58
FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO. 4352
American Cast Iron Pipe Co., supra; cf. Robinson v. Lorillard
Corp., M.D.N.C.1970, 319 F.Supp. 835, 843, aff’d 4 Cir., 444
F.2d 791, cert. dismissed 404 U.S. 1006, 92 S.Ct. 573, 30
L.Ed.2d 655. Insofar as the district court’s judgment denies
back pay to non-named class members it is reversed, and this
issue is remanded for reconsideration in light of the principles
enunciated above.
IV. Summary
In summary, we hold:
(1) Franks’ individual claim was not barred by limitations,
and, subject to the district court’s determination as to the
applicability of laches, the district court should on remand
enter judgment in his favor and grant him an appropriate
remedy;
(2) the district court’s determination of the facts relating to
Lee’s individual claim was not clearly erroneous;
(3) the class and subclasses represented are entitled to
further affirmative relief than was afforded by the district
court’s decree, including the use of full company seniority for
black Bowman employees who currently remain locked into
old racial patterns, public recruitment aimed at potential
black OTR drivers and clerical employees, temporary meas-
ures to ensure access to training opportunities for discrimina-
tees, and such Morrow type affirmative hiring relief as the
district court deems appropriate. The district court should
retain jurisdiction of this case and require compliance reports
from Bowman for at least two years. The district court’s
denial of back pay to non-named class members is reversed
and the issue is remanded for reconsideration in light of this
opinion and Johnson v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., supra.
a
\ A59
\
4353 FRANKS v. BOWMAN TRANSP. CO.
Costs on appeal will be taxed one-tenth against Lee, three-
tenths against the ‘union, and six-tenths against Bowman.
Appellants’ attorneys are entitled to an award for fees earned
in the prosecution. of this appeal under 42 U.S.C.A.
§ 2000e—5(k). On remand the district court should determine
an appropriate fee award.
The district court’s judgment is affirmed in part, reversed
in part, vacated in part, and remanded.
A60
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
OCTOBER TERM, 1972
No. 72-3239
D. C. Docket No. CA 15,086
HAROLD FRANKS,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
JOHNNY LEE,
Intervenor-Appellant,
versus
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, ET AL,
Defendants-Appellees.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia
Before THORNBERRY, AINSWORTH and RONEY,
Circuit Judges.
JUDGMENT
This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the North-
ern District of Georgia, and was argued by counsel;
ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here or-
dered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the
said District Court in this cause be, and the same is hereby,
affirmed in part, reversed in part, and vacated in part;
and that this cause be, and the same is hereby remanded
. *
ee eee
A61
to the said District Court in accordance with the opinion
of this Court.
It is further ordered that intervenor-appellant Lee be
condemned to pay one-tenth of the costs on appeal to be
taxed by the Clerk of this Court; and that defendant-
appellee the union be condemned to pay three-tenths of
said costs; and that defendant-appellee Bowman Transpor-
tation Company be condemned to pay six-tenths of said
costs.
Issued as Mandate: June 3, 1974
A62
IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
No. 72-3239
HAROLD FRANKS,
Plaintiff-Appeilant,
JOHNNY LEE,
Intervenor-Appellant,
versus
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, ET AL,
Defendants-Appellees.
Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Georgia
ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(Filed July 15, 1974)
Before THORNBERRY, AINSWORTH and RONEY,
Circuit Judges.
PER CURIAM:
IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed
by defendant-appellee Bowman Transportation, Inc. in the
above entitled and numbered cause be and the same is
hereby denied.
nics Ae ae Re Sh DES One Sa Fw ND
A63
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS.
Fifth Circuit -
Edward W. Wadsworth 600 Camp Street —
Clerk New Orleans, La. 70130
Office of the Clerk
September 12, 1974
TO ALL COUNSEL.OF RECORD
Re: 72-3239—Franks, et al., vs. Bowman Transportation
Co., et al.,
Dear Counsel:
This is to advise that an order has this day been en-
tered denying the petition( ) for rehearing, and the Court
having been polled at the request of one of the members ©
of the Court and a majority of the Circuit Judges who are
in regular active service not having voted in favor of it,
(Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Local
Fifth Circuit Rule 12) the petition( ) for rehearing en
banc has also been denied. _
See Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for
issuance and stay of the mandate.
Very truly yours,
Edward W. Wadsworth
Clerk
By /s/ Arvin G. Parens
Deputy Clerk
cc: Messrs. Howard Moore, Jr.,
Elizabeth R. Rindskopf
Messrs. Jack Greenberg
William L. Robinson
Morris J. Baller
Messrs. David L. Rose
William B. Fenton
John M. Gadzichowski
Mr. William M. Pate
Messrs. Robert B. Hocutt
James W. Dorsey
A64
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
ATLANTA DIVISION
. CIVIL ACTION
NUMBER 15086 '
HAROLD FRANKS,
: Plaintiff
, V8. ‘ F
BOWMAN TRANSPORTATION COMPANY, INTERNA-
TIONAL UNION OF DISTRICT 50, LOCAL NO. 13600,
ALLIED AND TECHNICAL WORKERS OF THE UNITED
STATES AND CANADA; and, INTERNATIONAL T'NION
OF DISTRICT 50, ALLIED AND TECHNICAL WORKERS
OF THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA,
Defendants
JOHNNIE, LEE,
_ Plaintiff-Intervenor
(Filed June 29, 1972) ~
This is a suit brought under Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. §2000e ff), alleging racial
discrimination in various employment practices of the de-
fendant company at its Atlanta Terminal and through its
collective bargaining agreement with the defendant union.
_ The petition was originally brought by the plaintiff
Franks, after processing of his complaint by the EEOC,
both on his individual claim and as a cless action. Sub-
sequently, the court permitted the intervention of Johnnie
Lee on his individual claim, also processed by the EEOC,
and on behaif of another class of employees not repre-
sented by Franks. As finally constituted, the case presents
‘ u j
a de
A65
the class questions of racial discrimination in the hiring,
transfer, promotion and discharge practices’ in vhe follow-
ing departments:
(a) Over-the-road drivers
(b) Dock and City drivers
(c) Maintenance
(d) Office and clerical.
In the individual claims, Franks seeks redress for his
discharge from the Maintenance Department on or about
May 10, 1968. Lee seeks redress for an original failure to
hire, for failure to transfer, and for discharge as an over-
the-road driver on or about March 19, 1971. On the evi-
dence presented the court makes the following
FINDINGS OF FACT
The Class Action.
The defendant, Bowman Transportation, Inc., (the
Company) is a licensed common carrier operating along
the eastern seaboard and in certain areas of the midwest
under ICC and state regulations. It operates major termi-
nals at Atlanta, Richmond, Charlotte and Birmingham. Its
principal office and garage has been located at Gadsden,
Alabama, but is in process of being transferred to Atlanta.
Each major terminal operates as a hiring center not only
for terminal employees but for over-the-road drivers who,
of course, operate system wide. After a bitter struggle, the
company was unionized by the other defendants and col-
the petition attacked the use of a high school
Originally,
education requirernent and certain testing as emp employment requi-
sites in the office. However, this issue been mooted by the
ee ee oe
A66
lective bargaining agreements were sucessfully negotiated
in 1967 and 1970.
By their terms, the job classifications at the Atlanta
terminal are divided into three departments: (a) Over-
the-road drivers; (b) City Drivers and Dock Workers; and
(c) Maintenance Department, which embraces the Tractor
Shop (including engine repair), the Trailer Shop (includ-
ing body repair), and the Tire Shop. Road drivers
throughout the system constitute a single department. Of-
fice, sales and clerical jobs are non-union, but in essence
constitute another department at each terminal. Thus, this
suit in its class aspects involves all road drivers system-
wide and all other employees at the Atlanta terminal
(Dock, Maintenance, and Office Departments).
Prior to 1968, the company was almost totally segre-
gated by race. Each department and sub-division did its
own hiring and adhered to strict racial lines. Moreover,
transfers from one to the other were discouraged and vir-
tually prohibited by management. Only an approved
“hardship case” warranted a transfer of any kind and this
was a rare occurrence. Prior to 1968; no Black person had
ever been employed in any job outside the Maintenance
Department. With the exception of two “clean up men”
in the Trailer Shop, all Black employees were assigned to
the Tire Shop which was predominantly Black with white
supervision. The percentage of Black employees at the
Atlanta terminal remained at 1% or less until that time.
By August, 1971, it has risen to only 4.5%.
The following represents an accurate distribution of
jobs by race as of the dates indicated:
A67
July, 1965 March, 1968 August, 1971
Dept./Job Blacks-Whites Blacks-Whites Blacks-Whites
Office &
Managerial 0 23 0 27 0 42
Sales Personnel 0 6 0 5 0 5
Office/Clerical 0 27 0 63 0 53
Ship Parts Clerk 0 8 0 9 0 a
Over-the-Road
Drivers
Atlanta Terminal 0 360 0 361 0 230
All Other 0 55 0 103 11 269
TOTAL 0 415 464 11 499
City Driver/
Dock Jobs
City Drivers 0 79 0 80 3 81
Checkers 0 23 0 127 4 103
; Dock Workers 0 84 0 94 6 60
TOTAL 0 186 0 301 13 244
Shop Workers
: Mechanics 0 70 0 92 0 63
Trailer Shop . ~ - - 0 36 -
Grease/Oil Men 0 6 0 8 0 4
Tire Shop 7 1 4 3 16 2
: Clean-up Men - - 1 1 4 0
i Janitors 0 1 0 2 1 1
TOTAL 7 78 10 106 21 106
TOTAL EMPLOYEES 7 743 10 1025 45 958
By wage, Blacks were consistently frozen into the
lower paying jobs. The following represents an accurate
distribution of wage classifications by race as of the dates
indicated.
March, 1968
Number Number
of of Percent
Weekly Wage: Blacks Whites Blacks
More than $150 0 464 0.0%
(Road Drivers)
$125-150 (Terminal Employees) 0 393 0.0%
Less that $125 (Terminal) 10 12 45.5%
TOTAL 10 869 1.1%
August, 1971
Number Number
of of Percent
Weekly Wage: Blacks Whites Blacks
More than $225 (Road Drivers) 11 499 2.2%
$125-210 (Terminal Employees) 13 343 2.7%
$175 (Terminal) 20 6 16.9%
TOTAL 44 848 4.9%
In its hiring policies, the company relied largely on
referrals from other employees or “walk-in.” The former
ordinarily applied in the department to which he was re-
ferred and this perpetuated the racial make-up of the re-
spective departments. With the exception of an insignifi-
cant number of Black applicants specifically applying for
office jobs (four), the walk-ins were ordinarily referred to
departments by race. Blacks were specifically directed to
the Tire Shop.
Partly because of existing ICC/ODT requirements the
company exercised greater selectivity in the employment
of over-the-road drivers. Qualifications of age, health, ex-
perience and mechanical ability were required. For awhile
written ODT tests were required. In addition, the com-
pany sought to impose stricter standards for references
and clean traffic records. Following personal interview
and approval, the new employees, if experienced, “ride
double” for a required period and if inexperienced obtain
on-the-job training in the same fashion. These policies re-
A69
quired the sharing of cabs and bunk-rooms and showers on
the road. As a result there was considerable driver re-
sentment against the hiring of Black road drivers. Prior
to 1970, management discussed the situation many times
and, fearful of driver reaction, adopted an unwritten policy
against hiring Blacks for such jobs. Only a handful ap-
plied and they were not really considered. Similarly, any
efforts of a city-driver to transfer to the road were effec-
tively discouraged. By different methods, the hiring of
Black road drivers was “put off as long as could” by the
company. With the exception of a few lease-truck opera-
tors, no Blacks ever served as road drivers until 1970.
In 1970, the company began receiving substantial num-
bers of Black applicants for the position of road driver. In
response to mounting pressure and partly due to the filing
of an EEOC complaint by the intervenor Lee in Birming-
ham, the company finally relaxed its policy. Black road
drivers were hired at the several terminals for the first
time on the following dates: Birmingham, September 11,
1970; Richmond, September 12, 1971; Atlanta, November
21, 1971; Charlotte, February 15, 1972. Prior to such dates,
the company had available Black applicants who, if other-
wise qualified, had experience with the same equipment as
city drivers or with other transportation companies. At
least two Blacks, Harbor and McLaughlin applied in late
1970 or early 1971 and were told there were no openings
when in fact there were. On the facts, each appears ex-
perienced and not obviously disqualified and were entitled
to consideration for employment at the time.
The company presently employs no racial discrimina-
tion in hiring road drivers and some 10% of such drivers
are now Black. The policy has worked out satisfactorily
and “a whole lot better” than management thought.
A70
Meanwhile within the terminal, the 1967 collective-
bargaining agreement effectively removed the “no trans-
fer” policy formerly in existence and concurrently opened
the way for Black hirings in all departments. As a result
Blacks were first hired into former all-white jobs in the
Dock department as checker on August 15, 1968; as dock
worker on October 21, 1968; and as city driver on June 20,
1969. While the contract provided for interdepartmental
transfer for the first time, it recognized a departmental
seniority system. This effectively penalized any Senior
Blacks wishing to transfer to a previously all-white depart-
ment in favor of junior whites already employed therein.
While the open transfer provision has worked well in
_ the Dock department since that time, it has not proven out
in the maintenance department. The contract provides
departmental bidding only and for an annual bidding in
August and, in fact, all open jobs are posted. The process-
ing of actual bids is in accordance with the contract and
without racial discrimination. However, the efforts of
Blacks to transfer out of the Tire Shop into the Tractor or
Trailer shops have been significantly discouraged by man-
agement. The latter two shops, of course, require con-
siderable mechanical skill and experience. As a result,
most hirees are off the street or from outside garages.
However, it is possible to begin as a “grease man” and no
prior experience is necessary. From that job it is possible
to progress to a C mechanic’s job (essentially a helper) to
B mechanic and finally to A mechanic. The “grease man”
job is somewhat distasteful and for that reason many em-
ployees, including the vast number of Blacks in the Tire
Shop, simply do not want it, even at the loss of an opportu-
nity to progress out of a virtual “dead-end” job in the Tire
Shop to the learning of a skilled trade. Some, however, do
wish this opportunity. Upon inquiry they have been ad-
A7l1
vised that it is necessary to resign for a period of six weeks
and reapply, or that a straight resignation and reapplica-
tion is necessary, or told that he could not transfer. As a
result, some Blacks failed to bid for openings in the Tractor
and Trailer Shops in which they were genuinely interested.
This practice on the part of the company has effectively
maintained an all-white Tractor and Trailer Shop.
is no evidence of a failure to hire qualified Black
who originally applied for employment in the Tractor or
Trailer shops.
The office employment situation stays rather stable
and although there is a substantial number of applicants
each year, the hiring rate is very low. In the past five
years, there have only been a total of only three or four
Black applicants out of an average of 25 each year. Each
of these applicants has been treated no differently from
any other applicant and race has not been a factor in the
employment policies in the office. At time of trial, one
Black applicant has been deemed qualified and is waiting
for an opening. There simply has been little interest by
Blacks in clerical positions at this company and no evi-
dence is produced of racial discrimination in this depart-
ment.
The company now has an official policy against dis-
crimination in all of its hiring practices.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
The court has jurisdiction of this action pursuant to
Section 706(f) of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C.
§2000e-5(f). The defendant, Bowman Transportation Com-
pany, is an employer engaged in industry affecting com-
merce within the meaning of Section 701(b) of the Act,
42 U.S.C. §2000e(b). The defendant Unions are labor or-
AT72
ganizations engaged in industry affecting commerce within
the meaning of Section 701(d)(e) of the Act, 42 USC.
§2000e (d) (e).
The evidence shows a pattern of racial discrimination
in the hiring, assignment, transfer, and discharge policies
of the and such practices as perpetrated by the
Agreement with the unions constitute unlaw-
ful employment practices under the Act. 42 USC.
§2000e-2(a). E.g. Bing v. Roadway Express, Inc., 444 F.2d
687 (5th 1971); United States v. Hayes International Corp.,
514 F.2d 1038 (5th Cir. 1969).
The action is maintainable as a class action under Rule
23(b) (2). E.g. Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc.,
417 F.2d 1122 (5th Cir. 1969). The plaintiff Franks rep-
resents all Black applicants/employees hired at the Atlanta
Terminal and who sought employment/transfer to the
Dock Department prior to August 15, 1968, or transfer
within the Maintenance Department prior to May 1, 1972.
The intervenor Lee represents all Black applicants who
sought to be hired or to transfer to over-the-road driver
positions prior to January 1, 1972.
Agpcopriete injunctive reliet Sor subs pest diecrimine-
tion, as provided in the attached decree is ordered. This
will include credit for departmental seniority prior to the
dates each such practice terminated plus preferential re-
application rights for identified applicants for certain
positions.
The plaintiffs also pray for lump sum awards for back
pay to any member of an affected class plus retroactive
seniority to any rejected applicant. This court was faced
with such claims in United States v. Georgia Power Com-
pany, ........ F. Supp. ........ (N.D. Ga. 1971), 3 EPD 98318 and
discussed the problem at length. Suffice it to say here, the
A73
court concludes that such relief is not warranted in class
actions. The claims for back-pay presuppose arr opening,
qualification and performance for every member of the
class. The claims for retroactive seniority also presuppose
a vacancy, qualification, and perfomance by every member.
: There is no evidence on which to base these multiple con-
: clusions. More importantly, they bypass the statutory ad-
: ministrative prerequisites to personal suit established by
the Congress and any appropriate statute of limitations. In
; essence, they seek to give individual compensation to the
| class in gross under circumstances where an individual
could not qualify alone. The emphasis on private settle-
ment in the Act is also thwarted by this device. See Oatis
v. Crown Zellerbach, 398 F.2d 496 (5th Cir. 1968); Jenkins
v. United Gas Corp., 400 F.2d 28 (5th Cir. 1969). For these
reasons as well as in the exercise of discretion, these
remedies are rejected. Of course, where appropriate they
will be afforded the individual claimants here under 42
U.S.C. §2000e-5 (g).
Plaintiffs’ attorneys are entitled to an award of fees ~
for successful prosecution of this action. The court finds
that plaintiffs’ attorneys have reasonably spent approxi-
mately 200 hours in preparation and trial of this case. Con-
sidering the nature of the case, the results obtained, and
* the experience of the attorneys involved, the court finds
in its discretion, such services to be reasonably worth the
sum of $7,500.00. Such fees are assessed $6,000.00 on de-
fendant Bowman and $1,500.00 on the remaining defen-
dants. All statutory court costs are assessed on defendant
Bowman upon presentation and approval of a proper cost
bill.
ee ee
AT74
THE INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS
The Franks Claim.
Plaintiff Harold Franks was hired as a Tire Man in
Bowman’s Atlanta Terminal Tire Shop on September 13,
1960. With the exception of one year beginning in 1961,
during which plaintiff worked as a Grease Man, plaintiff
was employed in the Tire Shop as a Tire Man. During
1965, plaintiff resigned due to injury and was rehired on
May 16, 1966. In accord with Bowman’s policy of assign-
ing Blacks to the Tire Shop, plaintiff was again hired as
a tire man earning $2.15 per hour.
Shortly after his return in 1966 he made several in-
quires about transfers to the Tractor and Trailer Shop and
the Dock Department. In accordance with the then com-
pany policy, he was advised that transfers were not per-
mitted. After the 1967 contract became effective he again
inquired about transfers and was again told he could not.
Plaintiff Harold Franks filed his first charge of racial
discrimination against Bowman with the EEOC on March
25, 1968, alleging that Bowman’s no transfer rule was part
of the company policy of restricting employment for Blacks
to the Tire Shop.
Thereafter, EEOC officials investigated Franks’ charge,
visiting Bowman’s Atlanta Terminal and talking with com-
pany officials on April 23, 1968, and May 10, 1968. The
second visit occurred during the morning hours; Franks
was discharged during the afternoon of the same day by
his supervisor, Charlie Andrews, for “unauthorized bob-
tailing”, or the use of company vehicles for personal use.
Tire Shop employees are required, as part of the job,
to drive tractors to and from the tractor parking areas for
service. It is a commonly accepted practice for employees
Oe ee ae ere Seer me ee Se
Dieta ae abe eee ed bide whee ne
AT5
to do brief personal errands while driving the tractors on
these occasions. Wth the exception of plaintiff Harold
Franks, no Bowman employee has ever been discharged
for “bobtailing” (driving tractor without trailer) on com-
pany property. All other discharges for unauthorized bob-
tailing occurred off of company property. This discharge
was for reasons of race.
At the time, Franks was being paid at the rate of $2.60
per hour. However, it is not unreasonable to assume that
by the end of 1967 he could legally have transferred to the
position of Dock Worker, the entry level job in that de-
partment, the company having hired in excess of 50 during
that year. A normal work week by the Union contracts is
45 hours and the pay in such job was $3.03 per hour.? Thus
Franks would ordinarily be entitled to recover the differ-
ence in a wage calculated as a dock-worker and his interim
earnings® -
However, the defendant has moved to dismiss the in-
dividual claim for failure to file suit within the 30-day pe-
riod following issuance of the suit letter. This motion
arises out of a confusing set of circumstances. Franks filed
two separate EEOC charges: the first on March 25, 1968,
alleging, among other things, failure to promote, ie. trans-
2. 1967 — $3.03 1970 — $3.94
1968 — $3.23 1971 — $4.34
1969 — $3.43 1972 — $4.74
3. Which are
1968 Harper Motor Lines, Inc. $ 3,641.16
1969 Harper Motor Inc. 6,344.79
Georgia-Alabama- Transportation Co. 1,348.97
1970 Harper Motor Inc. 3,592.75
Georgia-Alabama- Transportation Co. 5,576.45
1971 Georgia-Alabama-Florida Transportation Co. 9,587.96
$30,092.08
A76
fer; the second on May 13, 1968, alleging a discriminatory
discharge. By the end of 1969 these charges had been fully
acted upon by the EEOC. Meanwhile, on March 21, 1969,
Franks’ then attorney requested the issuance of a suit letter
or both charges. On the same day the suit letter* was
mailed out to Franks. At the time, he resided at 5339
Victory Drive, Morrow, Georgia, but used 5319 Victory
Drive, Morrow, Georgia, where his grandmother, sister and
nephew, Calvin High, age 9, resided as his “mailing ad-
dress” and all his mail was customarily delivered at the
latter address. The suit letter was duly delivered there on
March 22, 1969, and receipted by the nephew. Franks per-
sonally never saw the letter, but learned that High had
signed for some letter at the time.
No suit was filed within 30 days after the March 21,
1969, suit letter and Franks’ then attorney did nothing.
Approximately 1-1/2-2 years later, Franks consulted his
present attorneys. In the spring on or about March 2,
1971, apparently at their direction, he filed an “amended
charge” reiterating the same charges (D 84-85), but re-
fering to the two previous charges and citing May 10,
1968, as “the most recent date” on which discrimination
occurred. A new suit letter issued on April 14, 1971, and
this action was timely filed thereafter.
On these facts, the court concludes that the class as-
pects of the complaint, being continuing in nature, are
viable under the 1971 suit letter, but the individual claim,
being fixed in time, is barred.
Cenclusions.
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 has a built-in
90 day limitation in individual claims in that the charge
4. Strangely, this letter and receipt were expunged from
the EEOC file furnished counsel.
bin pate WLI
ae Seg CFS, et ae me
ATT
must be filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission within 90 days after the alleged unlawful em-
ployment practice. 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(d). Likewise, suit
must be filed within 30 days after receipt of the “suit-
letter.” 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(e). For the purposes of indi-
vidual relief, in a long line of cases each has been held to
be jurisdictional. See Hutchings v. United States Indus-
tries, Inc., 428 F.2d 303 (5th Cir. 1970); Culpepper v.
Reynolds Metals Company, 421 F.2d 888 (5th Cir. 1970);
Goodman vy. City Products Corp., 425 F.2d 702 (6th Cir.
1970); King v. Georgia Power Company, 295 F. Supp. 943
(N.D. Ga. 1968); Colbert v. H. K. Corporation, 295 F. Supp.
1091 (N.D. Ga. 1968); Boudreaux v. Baton Rouge Marine
Contracting Co., 304 F. Supp. 240 (E.D. La. 1969). Both of
these limitations apply to an isolated completed act of dis-
crimination such as failure to transfer or discharge, be-
cause they are not continuing in nature. Upon their hap-
pening, each complainant is immediately entitled to file
charges with the EEOC and the limitations begin to run.
See various rulings of The General Counsel of the EEOC:
Dec. 2, 1965, LRX 1892a; Nov. 26, 1965, LRX 1892a; Jan.
11, 1966, LRX 1892a. In this instance, the two individual
acts occurred no later than May 15, 1968. They were duly
reported. At the request of plaintiff, a suit letter on both
individual complaints issued on March 21, 1969. However,
no action was filed until May 5, 1971, over two years sub-
sequent to the issuance of the all-important suit letter.
It is true that Franks did not see his notice personally.
However, it was deliveied as all of his other mail was de-
livered and the defenda~* ough: not to be penalized on that
account. Moreover, it has long been considered that the
acts and omissions of an attorney are the acts and omissions
of the client. In truth, Franks’ failure was that of his se-
lected attorney, but the court knows no solution for such
A78
failure absent fraud. From the defendant’s point of view,
the delay has deprived it of an opportunity to settle the
claims at an early stage or, at the least, to mitigate the
dollar damages. It would be unfair to allow the stale
claims to be resurrected by securing a second “suit letter”
as was done here. Accordingly, the claims for individual
relief are barred by failure to file within 30 days of the
issuance of the suit letter of March 21, 1969. Miller v.
International Paper Co., 408 F.2d 283 (5th Cir. 1969).
The same result would be reached on the basis of
$1983 jurisdiction because of the expiration of over two
years between the “wrong” and the filing of the action in
Georgia. E.g. Shank v. Spruill, 406 F.2d 756(1) (5th Cir.
1969). Ga. Code §3-704.
However, the class claims attacking the general em-
ployment practices of the defendant are viable under the
second suit letter because they are continuing in nature.
E.g. Jenkins v. United Gas Co., 400 F.2d 28 (5th Cir. 1968);
Banks v. Lockheed-Georgia, 46 F.R.D. 442 (N.D. Ga. June,
1968). Thus, they could be reported within 90-days of any
day they exist and a suit letter thereon followed by a
timely action would be allowed.
For the reasons stated, no back-pay or individual re-
lief is awarded to plaintiff Franks and defendant is entitled
to judgment thereon.
The Lee Claim.
Johnnie Lee, the intervenor is 38 years old. Prior to
1970, he had extensive experience driving trucks and
tractor-trailers, principally in the Pensacola area. Included
in his job history was some “over the road” experience
with private carriers and some “city driver” experience
with a common carrier. On or about January 5, 1970, he
7
:
:
3
‘4
+
:
;
4
i
|
4
A79
applied at Bowman’s Pensacola office for any kind of
driving job. At the time, he was told there were no
openings, but given a “city driver” application. He sent
the application to the Atlanta Terminal on January 13,
1970, and it was returned with an “over-the-road” applica-
tion. This application was also completed, but upon return
on January 26, 1970, he was notified of his rejection. In
February, 1970, he heard that a white road driver had been
hired subsequent to his application and confirmed this per-
sonally. Thereupon, he filed a complaint with the EEOC.
In early August, 1970, the company first notified him to go
to the Birmingham Terminal. Following two additional
letters he reported and was first hired as a road driver as-
signed to that Terminal on September 18, 1970. He worked
continuously in that capa
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.