Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Township of Freehold v. Schere

Supreme Court brief1973

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

MICHAEL RCDAK, JR.,CLE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Ocroser Term, 1972

No.

“TD-985

FRANK SCHERE; JACOB BLACK; ANNA BLACK; DAVID

ROBINSON; LILLIAN ROBINSON; LAWRENCE COHEN;

BARBARA COHEN; and SALLY TANNENBAUM :

0s. :

4

TOWNSHIP OF FREEHOLD,

Petitioner.

On PetrTION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE APPELLATE

DivisION OF THE SUPERIOR CourT OF NEW JERSEY

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN A. KAYE, 4

Attorney for Petitioner,

64 West Main Street,

Freehold, New Jersey 07728

(201) 462-0480

55, UAW PY Ae eta ergy ae

Newark, N. J. N. J. Appellate Printing Co., inc. Woodbridge, N. J.

(201) 623-7224 Law Printers (201) 636-2030

Tha gk ea —-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

os oss ova wie Gb 6 kbs dna oS ae

I Sone sik cos hdc cee wie ress ew eane's 2

Constitutional Provisions Involved ............... 3

MIE ook R Rb Ay pennseidcnsssesescnnniensss 4

eer errr etree eee ee eree 5

RODE Fee TP Ee 6

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 10

1. The appellate court below was in error in find-

ing the municipal zoning ordinance to be an

unconstitutional confiscation of the plaintiff's

en ee 10 J

2. The decision of the appellate court below is in

clear conflict with established federal and state :

precedents regarding judicial interference in ;

legislative determinations .................. 18

REIS N UE 5 PIR My te ee ee 23

Cases CITED: '

Causby v. United States, :

oo ici caveat buwn nner aes 11, 16

Central Lumber Co. v. South Dakota, :

296 U.S. 157 (1912) ............00eeceeeeeeee 18

Columbia Basin Orchard v. United States, i

132 F. Supp. 707 (1955) ................006. 3 Oe

Collins v. Board of Adjustment of Margate City, 1

ce cise iysdaikensses 14

ti

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| P;

Cases Cirep: ”

Confederation De La Raza Unido v. City of

Morgan Hill,

324 F. Supp. 895 (D.C. 1971) ............... 29

Creasey v. Stevens,

160 F. Supp. 404 (D.C.W.D. Penna., 1958) .... 13

Fanale v. Hasbrouck Heights,

28 NJ. SES (1008) ..........0080 5.5 ois 19

Gant v. Oklahoma City,

OUP: US.98:( 1008). . 2. ie. cies. dg. 18

Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead,

368 US. 500 (1982) .........000.0.00000., 13, 17

Griggs v. Allegheny County,

SRD et 1]

Grubel v. Mac Laughlin,

286 F. Supp. 24 (D.C.V.I. 1968) ............... 18

Hadacheck v. Sebastian,

239 U.S. 394 (1915) ...................... 12, 16

Hudson County Water Company v. McCarter,

OO Mr 0s)... ecco cence. eee ll

Interstate Consolidated State Railway v.

Massachusetts,

ee ee ow i ll

Johnson v. Township of Montville,

109 N.J. Super. 511 (App. Div. 1970) .......... 19

Kozesnik v. Montgomery Township,

Wr PR Me COED Skins eeveunsac ie penbeuull 14

iti

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Cases CITED:

Lamm v. Volpe,

449 F.2d 1202 (U.S.C.A. 10th Cir. i971) ...... 17

Livingston Township v. Marchev,

OS LE. Supe Ge COE) .. 2s. con kes senses, 14

Midtown Properties, Inc. v. Madison Township,

fg Sg | eererer rte rere 14

Monmouth Junction Mobile Home Park, Inc. v.

South Brunswick Township,

OT PE TR TE CED i ws ceases cwsess. 14

Mugler v. Kansas,

CED ob sc dw ds vavasteseatens 10, 16

Otis v. Parker,

Ss ee 8 Ere eee 18

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

Se Oh ME CUED aca vavadecvndvasisscsaues ll

Peterson v. Palisades Park,

gS Perret ere rer 19 :

Robertson v. City of Salem, ;

191 F. Supp. 604 (D.C. Or. 1961) ............ 18

Rock Hill v. Chesterfield Township,

Burlington County, 3

Or PO MU OED hoses cu nesesceuseusdeoe bas 14 :

Rockaway v. Rockaway Township,

38 N.J. Super. 468 (App. Div. 1955) ............ 14

United States v. Central Eureka Mining Co.,

Se We ee GO eos cee ecco ee neces caees 11 ;

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cases CIrep:

United States v. Kansas City Life Insurance Co.,

aoe Oe tee ....................0 ll

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co.,

272 U.S. 365 (1996) ...................... 12, 17

Yara Engineering Corp. v. City of Newark,

cists, teen SO 14

Zahn v. Board of Public Works of

Los Angeles,

Ey en 18

STATUTES CITED:

| I a Sn res Ser 15

NS os vk aw wenwxnnaeeeee nce. 15

ee 4

CONSTITUTIONS CITED:

N.J. Const. Art IV, sec 6, para. 2 .............. 3, 15

United States Const., Amendment V .............. 3

Appendix A

Opinion of the Monorable Andrew A. Salvest,

Judge of the Superior Court of New Jersey .... la

Appendix B

Opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey,

Appellate Division as of Docket No. A-429-71 .... 2la

Appendix C

Zoning Ordinance of the Township of Freehold .. 25a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcroBER TERM, 1972

No.

FRANK SCHERE; JACOB BLACK; ANNA BLACK;

DAVID ROBINSON; LILLIAN ROBINSON; LAW-

RENCE COHEN; BARBARA COHEN; and

SALLY TANNENBAUM

vs.

TOWNSHIP OF FREEHOLD,

Petitioner.

To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

The Petitioner, TOWNSHIP OF FREEHOLD, prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the opinion and

judgment of the Appellate Division, Superior Court of the

State of New Jersey rendered in these proceedings on

June 23, 1972.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

_ The opinion of the Law Division, New Jersey Superior

Court, is unreported and appears at Appendix A, infra,,

pp. 1a-20a. The opinion of the Appellate Division, New

Jersey Superior Court, 119 N.J. Super. 433 (1972), ap-

pears at Appendix B, infra., pp. 2la-24a. A Petition for

Certification was denied by the New Jersey Supreme Court,

3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States, Amendment V, in

applicable part states:

“.,.nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.”

Article IV, Section 6, Paragraph 2, New Jersey Con-

stitution:

“The Legislature may enact general laws under which

municipalities, other than counties, may adopt zon-

ing ordinances limiting and restricting to specified

districts and regulating therein, buildings and struc-

tures, according to their construction, and the nature

and extent of their use, and the nature and extent

of the uses of land, and the exercise of such au-

thority shall be deemed to be within the police power

of the State. Such laws shall be subject to repeal

or alteration by the Legislature.”

4

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of the

New Jersey denying the Defendant's appeal and

for Certification was entered on September 21, 1972.

Petition for Certiorari was filed less than ninety (90)

from the date aforesaid. The jurisdiction of this

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

aT,

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a zoning ordinance duly adopted by a

municipality acting pursuant to a constitutional grant of

police power represents a confiscatory taking of the

property of a landowner without just compensation as

required by the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitu-

tion.

2. Whether the Appellate Court below was acting

tion of clearly established precedents when

in contraven

it intervened in the zoning dispute.

iY FRAT Pree ~<g

“vr 7

Pine a1

ile see eH

agisedtads Th =f <t

a 2] B fit ; aH

Tia a a it wi 3

a HE | i Hal i iH

Bnitt if . 131; hii

ae it ine Al

7

Statement of Facts

ee) ee ae

OL BFA Ws RS AMY Mire ie eb 2 Pl

eogregedga 2553 er iat "

gira Wed aan TH

ata 3b Hh ih

the edn aisha

ARE a ia ath

Et pats i nds Ht ‘

34) Ib rf.

alii, th _— “ahit .

8 Statement of Facts

The federal issue was raised in the trial briefs of both

the Plaintiffs and Defendant. The question of confisca.

tory taking was passed upon by the trial judge in his

opinion. Judge Salvest found that the zoning ordinance

in question was not confiscatory of Plaintiffs’ land and

was not in any manner illegal. He found the regulation

to be a legitimate exercise of the police power of the

municipality.

The federal question involved in this case was raised

by the Plaintiffs in their appellate level brief. It was the

position of the Plaintiffs:

1. That the April 12, 1971 ordinance, as applied to

the premises of the Plaintiffs, is illegal, discriminatory,

confiscatory, unreasonable, arbitrary and violates the

Constitutions of the State of New Jersey and of the

United States; higher restrictions have been placed

upon said premises although no changes have taken

place to justify imposition thereof; said restrictions are

not reasonably adapted to accomplish the purposes

for which zoning is permissible; said restrictions are

imposed without reasonable consideration being given

to the prior existing character of the area, its suitability

for particular purposes, the conservation of property

value or the most appropriate use of land throughout

Defendant Township.

The Plaintiffs’ contentions were rebutted by the

Defendants in their appellate level brief:

“The ordinance adopted April 12, 1971, is not arbitrary,

discriminatory, confiscatory or unconstitutional and

was adopted for the purposes for which zoning is

. ible.”

On June 23, 1972, the Superior Court, Appellate

Division, entered judgment in favor of the Plaintiffs. The

Statement of Facts 9

Court’s decision held that the Township Zoning Ordinance

was invalid because it was confiscatory.

The Defendants in their Petition for Certification to

the Supreme Court of New Jersey stated:

“.. . it was and is the position of the municipality

that the ordinance was not arbitrary, ——

confiscatory or unconstitutional. . .” At page 1,

Petition for Certification.

The Defendant's appeal and Petition for Certification

to the Supreme Court of New Jersey were denied Septem-

ber 21, 1972.

Te Anes MRC e AT Fa

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The appellate court below was in error in finding

the municipal zoning ordinance to be an unconsti.

tutional confiscation of the plaintiff's property.

As was noted above, the Appellate Court’s decision

was based on the following:

“We are satisfied from an examination of the whole

record that the large parcels of land owned by the

respective Plaintiffs are, in very substantial degree,

rendered beyond practical, reasonable utilization under

the restriction thereof by the Zoning Ordinance of

one-family residential development to lots of a mini-

mum of 40,000 square feet or about one acre (R-40.)”

(Appendix B p. 1.)

The Appellate Court felt that this R-40 zoning represented

an unconstitutional confiscation of the Plaintiffs’ property.

In reaching this conclusion, the Appellate Court was in

conflict with standards established by the United States

Supreme Court and lower Federal courts.

The question before the Court is, when does an exer-

cise of “police power” by a governmental subdivision so

interfere with the rights of the landowners that it becomes

a “taking” or “confiscation” under the Fifth Amendment?

The standards used by the Supreme Court to determine

questions of this nature were developed by the first Justice

Harlan and later by Justice Holmes. The Harlan theory

was most clearly articulated in the landmark case of

Mugler o. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887). In Mugler,

the Court denied compensation to the owner of a brewery

who had been put out of business by prohibition legisla-

tion. The Court stated that for a “taking” under the Fifth

Amendment to occur, the government must assert a “pro-

_

Reasons for Granting the Writ 1]

prietary” interest in the property, it must take the property

for its own use, it must be an exercise of “eminent domain.”

The application of the Harlan theory is demonstrated in

some fairly recent cases. In Causby v. United States, 328

US. 256, 266 (1946), the Court stated:

“It is the character of the invasion, not the amount of

damage resulting from it, . . . that determines the

question whether it is a taking.”

This theory was also used in United States v. Kansas

City Life Insurance Co., 339 U.S. 799 (1950); United ;

States v. Central Eureka Mining Co., 357 U.S. 155 (1958);

and Griggs v. Allegheny County, 369 U.S. 84 (1962). ,

The second operative theory in the area of police

power and the Fifth Amendment was that developed by

Mr. Justice Holmes. The paramount issue in Justice

Holmes’ mind was the extensiveness of the economic harm 4

inflicted upon the landowner by the regulation. In Inter-

state Consolidated State Railway v. Massachusetts, 207 i

US. 79, 87 (1907), he stated, “(T)he question narrows :

itself . . . to the magnitude of the burden imposed. . . .” :

In Hudson County Water Company v. McCarter, 209 U.S.

104, 110 (1911), he said that while the Government may

properly diminish values somewhat under the police power,

if the exercise of that power makes the affected property

“wholly useless, the right of property would prevail over

the other public interest, and the police power would fail.”

The most famous articulation of this principle occurred in

the case of Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

(1922). ;

The Court found that a Pennsylvania statute which

forbade the mining of anthracite coal in such way as to

cause the subsidence of any structure used as a “human

:

f

&

ka

SE

12 Reasons for Granting the Writ

habitation” so diminished the value of the Plaintiff's prop-

erty that it represented a “taking” of the property in ques-

tion.

The Holmesian approach was one of balancing the

needs of society against the rights of the property owner,

The decision as to when a legitimate exercise of the “

power’ of the State ends and a Fifth Amendment “taking”

begins was to be deterimned by the individual facts of

each case. The Holmesian approach was an attempt at a

pragmatic resolution to a problem which had become

increasingly important as the government expanded its

use of the “police power.”

Under the Holmes test, the question that arises is

what degree of economic diminution would be tolerated

by the Court before a Fifth Amendment “taking” would

occur? This question can be answered by an examination

of the relevant cases.

In Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394 (1915), the

Petitioner was the owner of a tract of land upon which

he manufactured bricks. The land was rezoned for resi-

dential development by the municipality. It was a finding

of fact by the Court that this rezoning reduced the value

of the land by 87 1/2 per cent, Id. at 405, yet compensa-

tion was refused because no “taking” was found by the

Court. The Court found this rezoning to be a legitimate

exercise of “police power” of the community.

A similar set of circumstances occurred in the land-

mark case of Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272

U.S. 365 (1926). In Euclid, the Appellee was the owner

of a tract of land, the value of which was reduced by 75

per cent by the municipality's enactment of a comprehen-

sive zoning regulation. The Court upheld the municipal

Zoning Ordinance and found it to be a legitimate exercise

of the “police power.” The Court stated:

Reasons for Granting the Writ 13

“4 zoning ordinance must be clearly arbitrary and un-

reasonable and without substantial relation to public

health, safety, morals, or general welfare before it

can be declared unconstitutional.” Id. at 370.

in Euclid, as in Hadacheck, the diminution in value of the

property was not found substantial enough to be confisca-

tory.

In Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590

(1962), the Appellant's excavating business was completely

destroyed by a municipal zoning ordinance that favored

residential development. In Goldblatt, the Supreme Court

of the United States stated that a legislative restriction is

not to be viewed as a “taking” merely because it “com-

pletely prohibits a beneficial use to which the property has

previously been put.” Id. at 592.

In all of the above cases, the Court was presented

with extreme circumstances and yet did not find the zon-

ing ordinances in question to be unconstitutional “takings”

nor confiscatory. The conclusion that can be drawn from

these cases is that for a zoning ordinance to constitute a

“taking,” the situation must be extremely unfair to the

landowner, and the ordinance must be discriminatory and

arbitrary.

The vitality of these two tests is witnessed by their

continued application in lower Federal courts. In Colum-

bia Basin Orchard v. United States, 132 F. Supp. 707

(1955), the United States Court of Claims applied the

Harlan test when it held that in order to constitute a “tak-

ing” of property, there must have been an intent on the

part of the government to take the owner's property. In

Creasey v. Stevens, 160 F. Supp. 404, 410 (D.C.W.D.

Penna., 1958), the Court applied the Holmes test when it

stated:

a

el

Reasons for Granting the Writ

“. . . though property may be regulated to a certain

extent under the police power, if the regulation goes

too far it will be recognized as a ‘taking’ for which

compensation must be paid.”

In New Jersey, the courts have approached the ques.

tion of when an exercise of “police power” becomes an

exercise of “eminent domain” and, therefore, confisca

in much the same way as the Federal courts. Zoning in

New Jersey is an exercise of the “police power” of

municipality, Rock Hill v. Chesterfield Township, Burling.

ton County, 23 N.J. 117 (1957), Midtown Properties, Ine,

v. Madison Township, 68 N.J. Super. 197 (1961), Living.

ston Township v. Marchev, 85 N.J. Super. 428 (1964),

Monmouth Junction Mobile Home Park, Inc. v. South

Brunswick Township, 107 N.J. Super. 18 (1969). New

Jersey courts have held that if municipal zoning ordinances

are reasonably related to the problems of the community,

there is not a “taking” of property without compensation

in the constitutional sense. Rockaway v. Rockaway Town-

ship, 38 N.J. Super. 468 (App. Div. 1955), Collins v. Board

of Adjustment of Margate City, 3 N.J. 200 (1949). How-

ever, a zoning restriction against all use of realty has been

found “confiscatory” and beyond the police power of the

municipality. Kozesnik v. Montgomery Township, 24 N].

154 (1957). In the case of Yara Engineering Corp. v. City

of Newark, 132 N.J.L. 370, 372 (1945), the New Jersey

Supreme Court found that a zoning ordinance which lim-

ited the height of buildings in a certain area so destroyed

the value of the property that it became a “taking.” In

this case, the Court found that the city acquired a pro-

prietary interest in the land by way of the zoning regula-

tions. The Court stated:

“The city may not under the guise of an ordinance

acquire rights in private property which it may only

—

Reasons for Granting the Writ 15

acquire by purchase or by the exercise of its power

of eminent domain.”

This determination by the Court represents a clear appli-

cation of the Harlan test.

It is the contention of the Defendants in the instant

case that the Appellate Court was in error in finding the

municipal Zoning Ordinance to be an unconstitutional

confiscation of the Plaintiffs’ property. An application of

either the Harlan test or the Holmes test to the facts of :

the instant case reveals that the zoning regulation in ques-

tion did not expropriate the Plaintiffs’ property, nor did it

so diminish the value of said property as to constitute a ;

“taking.”

The Zoning Ordinance in question here was duly

enacted by the municipality pursuant to a grant of power

by the State Constitution and State Legislature. The 1947

Constitution of the State of New Jersey, Article IV, Section

6, Paragraph 2, states: q

“The Legislature may enact general laws under which

municipalities, other than counties, may adopt zon-

ing ordinances limiting and restricting to specified dis-

tricts and regulating therein, buildings and structures

according to their construction, and the nature and

extent of their use, and the nature and extent of the

uses of land, and the exercise of such authority shall

be deemed to be within the police power of the State.

Such laws shall be subject to repeal or alteration by

the Legislature.”

CP I ® Sens ons ge wong

As a result of this authority, the Legislature enacted

N.J.S.A. 40:55-30 et seq., which set forth the general pur-

poses and powers to be used by governing bodies when

zoning a municipality. N.J.S.A. 40:55-32 sets forth the

purposes of zoning and reads as follows:

PEE PLO DIN OMI Ci Ar pr gee nsmg

16 Reasons for Granting the Writ

“Such regulations shall be in accordance with a compre-

hensive plan and design for one or more of the fol-

lowing purposes: to lessen congestion in the streets;

secure safety from fire, flood, panic and other dangers;

promote health, morals or the general welfare; provide

adequate light and air; prevent the overcrowding of

land or buildings; avoid undue concentration of

population. Such regulations shall be made with

reasonable consideration, among other things, to the

character of the district and its peculiar suitability

for particular uses, and with a view of conserving

the value of property and encouraging the most ap-

propriate use of land throughout such municipality.

As amended L. 1964, c. 150, § 1.”

The Zoning Ordinance in question recited as its pur-

pose all of the above-quoted points and included the

following:

“. + + provide a well balanced and stable economic

structure, control rate and direction of growth. . .”

The Plaintiffs below maintain that this Ordinance was

confiscatory and unconstitutional because R-40 zoning

would be more difficult to develop and sell than houses

built on smaller R-20 and R-25 lots. Nowhere do the

Plaintiffs maintain that the municipality was exercising a

“proprietary interest” in their land. Consequently, the

Harlan test as enunciated in Mugler, supra, Causby, supra,

and the other cases listed previously cannot be satisfied

by their claim.

Neither do the Plaintiffs claim that R-40 zoning would

in any way diminish their land value. Even if there was

some diminution in the value of their property, the Plaintiffs

would be hard pressed to show the loss required to convert

an exercise of “police power” into an unconstitutional

Fifth Amendment “taking.” In the instant case, there was

no 87 1/2 per cent depreciation as in Hadacheck, supra,

Reasons for Granting the Writ 17

nor even a 75 per cent depreciation as in Euclid, supra.

Nor was there a “bald suppression” of a pre-existing busi-

ness as occurred in Goldblatt, supra. All the Plaintiffs

allege here is that homes built on R-40 lots would be

more expensive and that there is a greater market for

homes constructed on R-20 and R-25 lots. The only proof

offered for these contentions are statements of opinion not

based on any empirical data. Given these circumstances,

it appears that the Appellate Court was in error in finding

an unconstitutional taking under the Fifth Amendment of

the United States Constitution. The evidence viewed in

the light of the cases and doctrines outlined above clearly

indicate that the Appellate Court misinterpreted the mean-

ing of the term “confiscatory.”

As noted by the Court in Lamm v. Volpe, 449 F.2d

1202, 1203 (U.S.C.A., 10th Cir. 1971):

“Police power should not be confused with eminent

domain, in that the former controls the use of prop-

erty by the owner for the public good, authorizing its

regulation . . . whereas the latter takes property

for public use and compensation is given for property

taken, damaged or destroyed.”

The facts in the instant case clearly indicate that this was

an exercise of the police power by the municipality and

not an exercise of eminent domain.

As was shown previously, the Ordinance in question

here was enacted pursuant to a legitimate grant of police

power. It was enacted for a legitimate enumerated pur-

pose. It neither “took” the Plaintiffs’ land for use by the

municipality nor did it diminish the value of the property.

Thus, neither the Harlan nor the Holmes tests were satis-

fied. Therefore, the Appellate Court's decision was erro-

neous and in clear conflict with the established precedents

at both the State and Federal levels.

18 Reasons for Granting the Writ

2. The decision of the appellate court below is jp

yer y- in lag.

P rareay rege ding judicial interference

The enactment of a zoning ordinance is an exercise

of the “police power” and is in character. Cen.

tral Lumber Co. v. South 226 U.S. 157 (1912).

Otis ov. Parker, 187 U.S. 606 (1903). It is established law

that there is a strong presumption in favor of the validity

of a legislative enactment. Grubel o. M 286

F. Supp. 24 ( D:C.V.L. 1968); Robertson v. City of Salem,

191 F. Supp. 604 (D.C. Or. 1961).

“The burden of proof, therefore, is upon the party who

assails the validity of such an ordinance to estab-

lish that it does not and will not ‘

order, convenience, prosperity and general welfare.”

Dennis vo. Village of Tonka Bay, 156 F.2d 672, 674

(CCA. 8th Cir. 1946).

If there is room for fair debate as to the validity of a

ordinance, the Court will not substitute its own

for that of the legislature. Cant v. Oklahoma

City, 289 U.S. 98 (1933); Zahn v. Board of Public Works

of Los Angeles, 274 U.S. 325 (1927).

“A Court in construing a zoning law will not set

aside the determination of the legislature unless it

Reasons for Granting the Writ 19

the decision.” City of St. Paul 0. Chicago, St. P., M.

& O. Ry. Co., 413 F.2d 762, 767 (8th Cir. 1969).

This same legal philosophy has been manifested by

New J courts. In the case of Peterson v. Palisades

Park, 127 N.J.L. 190, 193 (1941), the Appellate Court

stated:

“There is a presumption in favor of the validity of the

action of the local authority, and the burden is on the

landowner to establish by evidence that [it] is arbi-

trary.”

In Fanale v. Hasbrouck Heights, 26 N.J. 323 (1958), the

New Jersey Supreme Court noted that if the issue before

a municipality's governing body in a zoning matter is

“fairly debatable,” the judiciary could not quarrel with

the result. These same doctrines were forcefully re-

affirmed in the 1970 case of Johnson v. Township of Mont-

ville, 109 N.J. Super. 511 (App. Div. 1970).

In Johnson, the Court stated that a presumption exists

that a municipal governing body acts reasonably and

that resulting legislation is valid. The Court also held

aggrieved party. It is the Defendant's contention in the

instant case that the Appellate Division Court strayed

from these well established principles when it interposed

its own judgment for that of the municipality and declared

the zoning ordinance in question to be invalid.

The ordinance in question was duly enacted by the

municipality. Its purpose was to provide a well balanced

re ar a ee 7

The adoption of this comprehensive zoning plan was made

sion that Freehold Township experienced during the last

12 years. As of May 1971, the Township's population was

estimated at 14,000. This figure, supplied by the Mon

mouth Planning Board, was well in excess of the

10,400 figure projected by that same body for the year

1990. This means simply that the Township's population

was 25 years in advance of all estimates. 2 Go bate

:

:

;

Reasons for Granting the Writ 21

In August of 1971, the Monmouth County Planning

Board issued a report on housing. The information con-

tained in this report was compiled by the Planning Board

and based in part on the results of the 1970 national census.

The Housing study indicated that between 1960 and 1970,

the population of Freehold Township increased by 175%.

There was an increase of 138% in the number of available

housing units. With the population increasing at a

grater rate than the available housing supply, the housing

shortage situation already extant in 1960 was exacerbated.

The report predicted a continued increase in the demand

for housing in all price ranges.

The Planning Board also noted that the cost of con-

struction of new homes had risen by 40% per square foot

the 1960-1970 decade. This point was dramatic-

ally illustrated by the fact that the median value of in-

county homes had risen by 82% between 1950 and 1970.

median value of single-family dwelling units

was $9,409.00. By 1970, the median

to $26,417.00. The increased median

in part by the fact that 15% of the single-

ing units in the county in 1970 were priced

00 and $50,000.00 and that 6% were

$50,000.00.

>

bate

ihe

the

sions that can

study are that there is a housing shortage in the County

that the demand for new homes in all price ranges

the supply. Given this statistical information,

that can be said of the Plaintiffs’ contentions is

EF EE

Hf

|

As was noted above, there is a presumption in favor

of the validity of a legislative enactment. Those challeng-

i ae

22 Reasons for Granting the Writ

ing an enactment bear the burden of proof. If there js

room for debate as to the validity of an enactment, the

Court will not substitute its own judgment for that of the

enacting legislative body.

In the present case, the doubt surrounding the Plain.

tiffs’ contentions dictated that the Appellate Court refrain

from substituting its judgment for that of the muni .

When the Court chose to ignore this legal mandate, it

acted in clear contravention of established

As was noted by the Federal District Court in the case of

Confederation De La Raza Unido v. City of Morgan Hill,

324 F. Supp. 895 (D.C. 1971), a court should interfere

with the judgment of local authorities in zoning matters

only in the most extreme cases and under the most extreme

circumstances.

23

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully

submitted that this Petition for Certiorari should be _

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ John A. Kaye

JOHN A. KAYE

Counsel for Petitioner

la

Appendix A

OPINION OF THE HONORABLE ANDREW A.

SALVEST, JUDGE OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

NEW JERSEY

(Dated August 18, 1971)

William R. Blair, Jr., Esquire

Parsons, Canzona, Blair & Warren

18 Wallace Street

Red Bank, New Jersey 07701

John A. Kaye, Esquire

Krusen, Dawes & Murphy

64 West Main Street

Freehold, New Jersey 07728

RE: Black, et als v. Township of Freehold

Docket No. L 32525-68 P.W.

Cohen, et als v. Township of Freehold

Docket No. L 32526-68 P.W.

Gentlemen:

This matter came before the court by way of Complaint

in lieu of prerogative writ to set aside amendments to the

Zoning Ordinance.

The plaintiffs in the within consolidated suit are owners

of land situated in a zone created by the amended Zoning

Ordinance enacted on May 26, 1969. Originally the land

was situate in a Residential A Zone, which required a

20,000 square foot lot size with a 100 foot width. On May

24, 1965, an interim ordinance was adopted increasing the

square footage to 40,000 with a 200 foot width. This

amendment was subsequently amended August 22, 1966

to include a 160 foot depth. Both amendments referred

to a nonexistent October 2, 1963 ordinance. (Original

Psat ar te

SAF RA OMIM BNR Riche ere eines

2a Appendix A

ordinance amended by these changes was enacted October

2, 1953.)

A short history concerning zoning ordinances in the

Township might be informative. The original ordinance

was adopted October 2, 1953. This ordinance created six

zones as shown on the Zoning Map of Freehold T

Monmouth County, New Jersey, 1953”. Most residential

acreage was placed in Residential A Zone wherein mini-

mum lot area was 20,000 square feet with a 100 foot width,

The premises in question were placed in said Residential

A Zone.

The first amendment of said original ordinance was

adopted February 25, 1965, and affected only uses pro-

hibited in the Industrial E Zone. A further amendment

was adopted May 24, 1965, and which is referred to as the

interim ordinance, pending completion of the

studies and the adoption of appropriate standards to be

included in a proposed new comprehensive zoning ordi-

nance for the Township.

This interim ordinance included a requirement that no

lot area therein be less than 40,000 square feet, and no lot

width or depth less than 200 feet. Exceptions were for

existing B-1 Residential Zone. This ordinance described

the ordinance of which it purported to be an amendment

as adopted and approved October 2, 1963. The record

shows that no ordinance was adopted October 2, 1963.

(Original ordinance adopted October 2, 1953.)

On May 21, 1965, two additional amendments were

adopted which involved factors concerning commercial

and industrial zones. On May 24, 1965, a further amend-

ment was adopted affecting the industrial and commercial

zones. On June 14, 1965, the ordinance was amended

affecting location of filling stations. December 27, 1965,

—_ eacemapaaammeaaaaaaciaaa

Appendix A

the ordinance was amended placing certain specified areas

formerly situated in the Residential A Zone in the Indus-

trial E Zone, among other things.

February 28, 1966, ordinance was amended rezoning

certain premises from Commercial D Zone to Residential

A Zone. April 25, 1966, ordinance amended affecting

Commercial D or Highway Development. May 23, 1966,

ordinance amended affecting Commercial D or Highway

Development Zone. August 22, 1966, ordinance amended

to provide for minimum lot width of 200 feet and minimum :

lot depth of 160 feet in Residential A Zone. September

92, 1966, ordinance amended affecting Industrial E Zone.

October 10, 1966, ordinance amended to define terms

“Home Occupation” and “Home Professional Occupa-

tions,” among other things. April 22, 1968, ordinance

amended removing certain properties from Residential A

Zone and placing them in Industrial E Zone.

January 13, 1969, introduced and passed on first reading

what purported to be a comprehensive revision of the

original Zoning Ordinance heretofore amended and supple-

mented. This ordinance finally adopted on May 26, 1969,

and placed the properties in question in the R-40 Resi-

dential Zone. However, part of the Wardell tract was

placed in the R-25 Residential Zone. On March 10, 1969,

an amendment was introduced which placed the entire ~

Wardell tract in the R-40 Zone and which was finally =~

adopted on May 26, 1969. i

While this action was pending, and in March of 1971,

the proposed ordinance introduced January 13, 1969, and

as the same was amended and supplemented by the amend-

ment introduced March 10, 1969, and two other subse-

quent amendments not here pertinent, was introduced and

passed on first reading and on April 12, 1971, was adopted.

3a

RACINE ries 7 ——

DEEN OT ORO, eo ap Tig ”

4a Appendix A

The plaintiffs attack all of these actions commencin

with the adoption of the interim ordinance down to and

including the ordinance adopted April 12, 1971 as the

ordinance affects the properties in question.

The ordinance adopted on May 26, 1969, was a com-

prehensive revision of the original zoning ordinance and it

perpetuated the 40,000 foot requirement established by

the interim ordinance in some areas and reduced it to

25,000 feet in others. The latter reduction was designed

to affect those lands which had received preliminary sub-

division approval. The May 26, 1969 ordinance recited all

of the purposes of zoning which are contained in N.J.S.A.

40:55-32 but also includes the following recital:

“. . + provide a well balanced and stable economic

structure; control rate and direction of growth; . . .”

Depositions which were taken from a member of the

Planning Board and Township Committee indicate by

their testimony that these latter purposes were the main

reason the ordinance was enacted. The plaintiffs contend

that the ordinance is void because its purpose is to tie up

land by the use of large lot sizes until the governing body

determines that the town can economically absorb addi-

tional people and also that the interim ordinance is void

because it purports to amend a nonexisting ordinance.

Plaintiffs contend that since the ordinance was motivated

by the Township's desire to control growth, it is void be-

cause none of the purposes of zoning enumerated in

N.J.S.A. 40:55-32 sets forth the purposes of zoning and

essential considerations and reads as follows:

“Such regulations shall be in accordance with a com-

prehensive plan and designed for one or more of the

following purposes: to lessen congestion in the streets;

secure safety from fire, flood, panic and other dangers;

——

Appendix A 5a

romote health, morals or the general welfare; pro-

vide adequate light and air; prevent the overcrowd-

ing of land or buildings; avoid undue concentra-

tion of population. Such regulations shall be made

with reasonable consideration, among other things,

to the character of the district and its peculiar

suitability for particular uses, and with a view of

conserving the value of property and encouraging

the most appropriate use of land throughout such

municipality. As amended L.1964, c.150, § 1.”

Bi oat 5 a

However, it appears clear that a municipality may utilize

the zoning power to promote the general welfare which

is an enumerated purpose. In this context, it has been

held that a municipality may zone with the intent of reap-

ing economic benefit by stimulating industrial rather than

residential development, thus relieving the tax burden and :

school congestion by increasing tax ratables and reducing :

the incoming population. Gruber v. The Mayor and Town-

ship of Raritan, 39 N.J. 1, 9 (1962).

A municipality may strike a balance favorable to home- i

owners between residential and industrial uses in order to

obtain a sound municipal economy. Newark, etc. Cream |

Co. v. Parsippany-Troy Hills Township, 47 N.J. Super.

306, 328 (L.D. 1957). The court stated:

SIE es Tee 5 alta

“Is a zoning classification based upon such a purpose

and intent a valid exercise of zoning power? I think

it is. Zoning is one aspect of the sovereign police

power. Such power is not limited to measures directly

needful to serve the public health, morals and safety.

It may also be invoked to serve the public conven-

ience and general prosperity and well-being. Mans-

field and Swett, Inc. v. West Orange, supra, 120

N.J.L., at page 153; Pierro v. Baxendale, 20 N.J. 17,

EERE Sp Reg oe

ae Sy cee PAIN ET BOR Te SRR RnR RO. tte Ir Cog

EP fe Deg

——

6a Appendix A

at page 28 (1955). The essence of zoning is to pro-

vide a balanced and well ordered scheme for all

activity deemed essential to the particular municipal-

ity. Berdan v. City of Paterson, 1 N.J. 199, 205

(1948); Kozesnik v. Township of Montgomery, 24

N.J. 154 (1957). Subject to the rule of reason, the

kind of community and the kind of balance is exclu.

sively a mater for local legislative determination.

Duffcon Concrete Products v. Borough of Cresskill,

1 N.J. 509 (1949). I conclude that a zoning scheme

seeking balanced land use to obtain a sound munici-

pal economy by encouraging industry on which taxes

may be levied to help meet the deficit in the cost of

municipal services to home owners is a proper exer-

cise of the zoning power, subject always to the rea-

sonableness of the classification and regulations en-

acted to achieve the end both generally and with

respect to particular property.”

Neither of these purposes are specifically enumerated in

N.J.S.A. 40:55-32 yet both have been held to be within

the general welfare portion of the statute.

Considering that minimum lot size restrictions are valid

exercises of municipal power, (Fischer v. Township of

Bedminster, 11 N.J. 194 [1952]), it seems reasonable that

a municipality may reasonably use this device to insure its

economic well-being by controlling the rate of its growth.

This conclusion is especially compelling when one con-

siders that minimum lot sizes by their very nature retard

growth. In this regard, we cite Harrington Glen, Inc. v.

Municipal Board of Adjustment, Borough of Leonia, et al,

52 N.J. 22, 32 (1968):

“(6, 7) All of the cited cases recognized, as do our

own, the long-since settled doctrine that reasonable

Appendix A Ta

zoning regulations designed to promote the orderly

physical development of a municipality according to

a land use pattern represent a valid exercise of police

power. Of course, such regulations, by establishing

districts wherein land may be devoted only to the

ordinary incidents of ownership. But the restrictions

are not offensive constitutionally because when rea-

sonable in degree and, in the judgment of the govern-

ing body, necessary to the physical harmonious

wth of land use in the municipality, they serve the

overall public interest of the community.”

I have reviewed the testimony and the submissions in an

effort to determine whether or not the evidence supports

plaintiffs’ conclusion that the Township merely intended

to tie up land by the use of large lot sizes.

Plaintiffs in presenting their case, relied on the testi-

mony of a former Mayor, Mr. Marzulli; a Mr. Schlessinger,

agent for the plaintiff Schere, Mr. Kovacs, a professional

engineer, land surveyor and professional land planner, Mr.

Lazarus, a real estate appraiser, a Mr. Sussna, planning and

zoning consultant, a Mr. Halsey, Director of Planning,

Monmouth County Planning Board, Mr. Schwartz, a former

Mayor, member of the Township Committee and member

of the Planning Board for one year, Mr. Wood, former

Chairman of the Planning Board, and Mr. Blatchley, for-

mer member of the Planning Board and former Committee-

man.

The defense called Mr. Smith, a member of the Town-

ship Committee since January 1, 1969, and Mr. Oross, a

professional city planner.

It is noted that Mr. Marzulli, Mr. Schwartz and Mr.

Blatchley were not office holders at the time of the trial

of this case. It is further noted that the testimony of these

BE ELE EE ILE AIOE SLIT ila |

ipality, State v. Giller, 5 N.J. . 130, 132 (

Div. O00), puedes aaencions 7

Appendix A Ga

brought out, however, that Mr. Schwartz did not vote on

either the interim ordinance or on the April 12, 1971 ordi-

nance.

Mr. Wood did not quite recall what his recommenda-

He can't remember

thing. He further stated that he does not know if there

was an intention to change the R-40 zoning in connection

with tracts in question at some later time.

it

iF

i

County, supported

Plan, P-6 in evidence, at 3, Table 1, which deals with

the population peojection for the yours 1960-1000. The

1970 projection was 6100 to 6450. The 1980

7300 to 8400; the 1990 projection, 8100 to 10,400. In fact

the population as of May 1971, for the Freehold Township

area was 14,000 which indicates that the population

growth was 25 years in advance of the

ats

H

ttt

Ht

rity

aif

g

e

:

of

4

d

eee REI TE TL

ta He HL iy

tH HARM i

i F aitjinsllt HE

SEPtISH eRe We

bein aya aH Hla 12h}

re | iif HEH fey

before

ordinance, is still the use at present.

use of the land, and the use it was put to

mitted uses. Plaintiffs completely ignore the fact that the

and after the interim

which to find that the land is, in fact, unsuited for the per-

present

12a Appendix A

They give as their reasons for such failure to apply, that

it was uneconomical to build one-family houses heretofore

This, of course, constitutes no reason insofar as this action

is concerned.

It is also my opinion that based on the testimony that

as the population continues to expand, and there is less

competition from the outstanding R-20 and R-25 lots, that

the demand for R-40 lots will increase in the same manne;

that the demand for R-25 lots experienced great demand

after being upgraded from R-20 lots. I based this upon

the testimony offered by Mr. Halsey. He stated that

Freehold Township will continue to

the following figures: 1968, 10,080; 1985, 32,000; the year

2,000, 65,000. This represents a percentage increase of

population between 1968 and 1985 of 217.5 percent and

between 1985 and 2000, 103 percent. It appears reason-

able, therefore, for me to assume that the demand for R-40

lots will increase in proportion to the pressures of the

population growth.

The plaintiffs further contend that the ordinance is

discriminatory because it treats land similarly situated

differently by imposing a 25,000 square foot minimum

based on no real physical difference. The law requires

that different classes be based on real differences related

to the purposes for which the classes are formed. Rock-

hill v. Chesterfield Township, 23 N.J. 117, 126 (1957).

In the case at bar, where one of the purposes of the

zoning is to control growth, it seems reasonable in effectu-

ating this purpose to draw the line at a puint where no

development has yet taken place or where no commitment

to develop has been made. This, despite the fact that

these other lands have characteristics similar to those re-

stricted.

—

Appendix A 13a

The plaintiffs further contend that the entire scheme

envisioned by the Township is void. Plaintiffs allege that

the municipality intends to maintain those lots, unreason-

ably zoned R-40, undeveloped, until such time as new

development can be economically absorbed. Then it will

reduce the lot size requirements on an individual basis.

| did not find that the evidence was of such nature as to

permit me to find this to have been the intention of the

T Committee. It is noted that the ordinance, on

its face, fails to disclose this plan. Whether such wrong-

doing will occur in the future is, at best, speculative and

should not affect the validity of the ordinance. The vari-

ance procedure, by its nature, gives room for abuse. Yet,

this potential has never in New Jersey formed a basis for a

successful attack on an ordinance.

Plaintiffs contend that Rockhill v. Chesterfield Township,

supra, prohibits this type of zoning. In Rockhill, however,

the scheme invalidated reserved the entire Township for

agricultural and residential uses, and then created special

uses placed according to local discretion without regard to

districts. This unlawful “spot zoning” was apparent from

the ordinance as enacted, and depended for its invalidity

not on the projected intent of municipal officials, but on

the very ordinance itself.

The plaintiffs contend that a lapse of nearly four years

between the time an interim ordinance was enacted and

the time it is replaced by the comprehensive zoning ordi-

nance renders it void, especially where the final product

is so similar to the interim ordinance. An interim ordi-

nances validity with respect to time is measured with refer-

ence to the requirements needed to formulate the plan

giving rise to the comprehensive zoning ordinance. Deal

Gardens, Inc. v. Board of Trustees of Loch Arbour, 48 N.J.

492, 500 (1967).

- |

5

HHL

Hu t

:

alt

the missing ;

of Asbury Park, 18 N.J. Super.

, affirmed 18 N.J. Super. 192 (App. Div.

. Also, a court can repunctuate a statute in reaching

of Walter Marvin, Jr., 97

N.J. Super. 62 (App. Div. 1967), affirmed 53 NJ. 147. It,

therefore, seems reasonable that the court can change the

erroneous date to the proper date especially where the true

intent is so patently clear.

I feel it would be helpful to examine the respective

duties and obligations placed upon all of the litigants in

these cases. The authority to enact a zoning ordinance is

Appendix A 15a

stated in the 1947 Constitution of the State of New Jersey

in Article 4, Section 6, paragraph 2, as follows:

uses of land, and the exercise of such authority shall

be deemed to be within the police power of the

State. Such laws shall be subject to repeal or altera-

tion by the Legislature.”

The Legislature enacted N.J.S.A. 40:55-30, et seq.,

which sets forth the general purposes and powers to be

used by governing bodies in zoning their municipalities.

The judicial role was explained in Harvard Enterprises,

Inc. v. The Board of Adjustment of the Township of

Madison, 56 N.J. 362. Justice Schettino, speaking for the

court at page 368, says:

“Preliminarily, it should be noted that the judicial role

in reviewing a Zoning Ordinance is tightly circum-

scribed. There is a strong presumption in favor of its

validity, and the Court cannot invalidate it, or any

provisions thereof, unless this presumption is over-

come by a clear showing that it is arbitrary or unrea-

sonable. Morris v. Postma, 41 N.J. 354. 359 (1964);

Napierkowski v. Gloucester Tp., 29 N.J. 481, 492

(1959); Zampieri v. River Vale Tp., 29 N.J. 599, 605-

606 (1959); Bogert v. Washington Tp., 25 N.J. 57, 62

(1957).”

It is also clear that a Judge may not interfere merely

because he would have made a different policy decision

16a Appendix A

if the power to decide had been his in connection with q

specific zoning ordinance passed by a governing body,

The court can concer itself only with an abuse of dele.

gated legislative authority and plaintiffs must sustain the

burden in such a situation, and it is a heavy burden

United Advertising Corp. v. Borough of Metuchen, 42 NJ.

1 (1964).

And further, in Johnson v. Township of Montville, 109

N.J. Super. 511, 519 (App. Div. 1970) the following guide.

lines are provided:

“In sum, we may interfere only when the presumption

in favor of the ordinance is overcome by an affirma-

tive showing that it is arbitrary or unreasonable in

the light of the standards prescribed by N.J.S.A.

40:55-32; Kozesnik v. Montgomery Tp., supra, 24 N_J.,

at 167. The burden of proof is upon plaintiffs.

Fischer v. Bedminster Tp., 11 N.J. 194, 204 (1952).

That burden is a heavy one. Ward v. Scott, 16 NJ.

16, 23 (1954); Vickers v. Tp. Comm. of Gloucester

Tp., supra, 37 N.J. at 242; Ward v. Montgomery Tp.,

supra, 28 N.J. at 539.

“Plaintiffs principally base their contention, that the

action of the municipal governing body was unreason-

able, arbitrary and capricious, upon the fact that it

was not in accordance with a comprehensive plan

and did not receive adequate consideration by the

planning board.

“The basic requisites of a comprehensive plan are set

forth in Kozesnik v. Montgomery Tp., supra, as fol-

lows:

“There has been little judicial consideration of the pre-

cise attributes of a comprehensive plan. Haar, ‘In

Appendix A 17a

accordance with a Comprehensive Plan, supra (68

Harv. L. Rev. 1154). Our own decisions emphasize

that its office is to prevent a capricious exercise of

the legislative power resulting in haphazard or piece-

‘ meal zoning. Speakman v. Mayor and Council of

Borough of North Plainfield, 8 N.J. 250, 256 (1951);

- Raskin v. Town of Morristown, 21 N.J. 180, 198

(1956). Without venturing an exact definition, it may

be said for present purposes that ‘plan’ connotes an

integrated product of a rational process and ‘compre-

hensive’ requires something beyond a piecemeal ap-

both to be revealed by the ordinance con-

sidered in relation to the physical facts and the pur-

poses authorized by R.S. 40:55-32. Such being the

requirements of a comprehensive plan, no reason is

perceived why we should infer the Legislature in-

tended by necessary implication that the compre-

hensive plan be portrayed in some physical form

outside the ordinance itself. A plan may readily be

revealed in an end-product—here the zoning ordi-

nance—and no more is required by the statute.

“The comprehensive plan embraced by an original

zoning ordinance is of course mutable. If events

should prove that the plan did not fully or correctly

meet or anticipate the needs of the total community,

amendments may be made, Hochberg v. Borough of

Freehold, 40 N.J. Super. 276 (App. Div. 1956), and

if the ordinance as thus amended reveals a compre-

hensive plan, it is of no moment that the new plan so

revealed differs from the original one.”

I find as a fact, that, in the case before me, the plain-

tiffs have failed to present proofs showing that the actions

of the municipal body were arbitrary or unreasonable, in

the light of the standard N.J.S.A. 40:55-32.

Be

were

MN oS eRe SOLO IEE BON Diary pe oe

18a Appendix A

I further find that the zoning ordinance promulgated

and adopted in May of 1969, and as enacted together with

amendments on April 12, 1971, on its face, demonstrates

it to be a comprehensive plan and had received more than

adequate consideration by the Planning Board and the

municipal governing body.

I have already indicated that amount of effort expended

by the official bodies in considering the ordinance. I also

find it to be a fact that the ordinance is not what is gener-

ally referred to as a freeze out ordinance. That there is

sufficient evidence to indicate that the ordinance is mut.

able, depending on the developing circumstances.

The case of Gruber v. Mayor and Township Committee

of Raritan Township, 39 N.J. 1 (1962) deals with a similar

situation as is now before us, and the court states at page 9:

“It is to be noted that within the borders of the statu-

tory language, the zoning power may be exercised to

promote the general welfare, a term which has re-

ceived very broad definition in our state. See Pierro

v. Baxendale, 20 N.J. 17, 28 (1955). In their efforts

to create a better economic balance in the Township

by stimulating industrial rather than residential devel-

opment, Township officials were seeking to advance

the public welfare by alleviating the heavy tax burden

and the harmful school congestion. So long as this was

being done reasonably as part of and in furtherance

of a legitimate comprehensive plan for the zoning of

the entire municipality, it fell within the terms of R.S.

40:55-32. See Ward v. Montgomery Tp., 28 N.J. 529,

535 (1959); Newark etc. Cream Co. v. Parsippany-

Troy Hills Twp., 47 N_J. Super. 306, 328 (Law Divi-

sion 1957); cf. Rockaway Estates v. Rockaway Tp.,

38 N.J. Super. 468, 477 (App. Div. 1955); Greenway

Appendix A 19a

Homes v. River Edge, 137 N.J.L. 453, 456 (Sup. Ct.

1948).

“In Ward v. Montgomery Tp., supra, the court, in re-

jecting an attack on an ordinance as arbitrary, unrea-

sonable and capricious, had this to say through

Justice Francis:

“The conclusion is inescapable that the township was

hungry for tax revenue. Manifestly, its fiscal picture

was such that a new source of income would serve

the general economic welfare. Pursuit of that objec-

tive was entirely worthy of the attention of th mu- :

nicipal fathers. And its achievement through land v

use regulation will not warrant judicial condemnation

as long as it represents an otherwise valid exercise of

the statutory zoning authority. If the amendment of

the ordinance is compatible with and furthers a |

legitimate comprehensive plan for the zoning of the i

municipality within the contemplation of the statute, :

NJ.S.A. 40:55-32, it is legally unobjectionable. The f

fact that increased tax revenue is intended to result '

therefrom, or that an individual property owner may

be benefited incidentally does not justify a charge of

perversion of power. Kozesnik v. Montgomery Tp.,

supra; Collins v. Board of Adjustment of Margate :

City, 3 N.J. 200 (1949); Rockaway Estates v. Rock- :

away Tp., 38 N.J. Super. 468 (App. Div. 1955); E

Greenway Homes v. Borough of River Edge, 137. é

NJ.L 453, 456 (Sup. Ct. 1948). 28 N.J. at pp. 535,

536.”

The defendant urges that the plaintiffs failed to exhaust

their administrative remedies and that, therefore, this

case should be dismissed on account of such failure. I

feel, that considering all of the circumstances, the case

|

20a Appendix A

should be decided on its merits. Deal Gardens, Ine. y.

Board of Trustees of the Village of Loch Arbour, 48 NJ.

492° (1967).

After considering all of the testimony, the submissions

and the arguments of counsel, I find as a fact, in addition

to what I have said heretofore, that the plaintiffs have

failed to sustain their contentions as required by the au-

thorities I have cited above.

I further find that the ordinances involved herein are

not unreasonable, arbitrary, capricious or in any other

wise illegal. They are not discriminatory because the

properties in question are treated the same as all other

unexcepted propertry. I also find that the ordinances are

not confiscatory of the plaintiffs’ lands and I have already

stated my reasons therefor.

I further find that the ordinances under attack are

comprehensive ordinances and in keeping with the re-

quirements of N.J.S.A. 40:55-30 et seq. and with the

interpretations of that Statute, as indicated by the citations

heretofore, and that the ordinances, as a matter of fact,

demonstrate that they were enacted in the public interest

and with a view of promoting the general welfare.

Therefore, in view of the fact that the plaintiffs have

failed to sustain their contentions by the quantum of proof

required, I hereby dismiss the complaints.

Counsel for defendant will submit an order in accord-

ance with the foregoing.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Andrew A. Salvest

ANDREW A. SALVEST

Judge, Superior Court

AAS/hs

2la

Appendix B

OPINION OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW

JERSEY, APPELLATE DIVISION AS OF

DOCKET NO. A-429-71

Argued June 12, 1972—Decided June 23, 1972

Before Judges Conford, Matthews and Fritz.

On appeal from Superior Court, Law Division, Mon-

mouth County.

Mr. William R. Blair, Jr. argued the cause for appellants

(Messrs. Parsons, Canzona, Blair & Warren, attorneys ).

Mr. John A. Kaye argued the cause for respondent.

PER CURIAM.

We are satisfied from an examination of the whole

record that the large parcels of land owned by the respec-

tive plaintiffs are, in very substantial degree, rendered

beyond practical, reasonable utilization under the restric-

tion thereof by the zoning ordinance of one-family resi-

dential development to lots of a minimum of 40,000 sq.

ft., or almost an acre (R-40).

One of these tracts is 200 acres in area and the other is

100. Aside from one-family residences, these properties

were restricted under the ordinance as of April 12, 1971,

to farming, and, by way of special use exception, to

arden apartments or planned adult communities. On

September 27, 1971 the ordinance was amended to exclude

garden apartments. On this appeal we are controlled by

the current status of the ordinance. While plaintiffs might

perhaps be required to attempt to devote at least part of

their lands to the planned adult community use (if they

can qualify therefor under the ordinance) before pleading

selling prices of $50,000 and up. No comparable

tial development abuts or is near either tract.

there are surrounding uses for either ind

25,000, 20,000 and 9,000 square-foot residen

would outstrip what the town fathers thought the voters

and taxpayers would accept in fiscal outlay to supply

Appendix B 23a

“due regard to the character of the district and its peculiar

for particular uses.” Raskin v. Morristown, 21

N.J. 180, 198 (1956). We are constrained to the conclu-

sion that this is what has occurred here, and we find no

sippany-Troy Hills Tp., 40 N.J. 539, 557 (1963); Gruber

v. Mayor and Tp. Com. of Raritan Tp., 39 N.J. 1, 12 (1962).

The presumption of validity of the questioned provision of

the ordinance has been satisfactorily overcome.

It may also be observed that a deliberate

attempt to prevent by zoning the residential utilization of

land, apt for the purpose, on behalf of the generality of the

in need thereof, in favor of reserving such

land for future utilization by more affluent users, would

seem to conflict with present-day judicial thought as to

housing needs. See Oakwood at Madison, Inc. v. Tp. of

Madison, 117 N.J. Super. 11 (Law Div. 1971).

24a Appendix B

Defendant's argument that plaintiffs’ to

PELL loll alale fale

lelelelel*ielelelslelelele

Cc

<2

———=—

———

etree ae ae owe ee

Appendix C

ZONING ORDINANCE

OF THE

TOWNSHIP OF FREEHOLD

An ordinance to amend an ordinance entitled: an ord.

nance to limit and restrict to specified districts or zones

and to resulate therein, buildings and structures according

to their construction and the nature and extent of thes

use, and the nature and extent of the use of the land in the

Township of Freehold, in the County of Monmouth and

providing for the administration and enforcement of the

provisions herein contained and fixing penalties for the

violations thereof.

BE IT ORDAINED by the Township Committee of the

Township of Freehold in the County of Monmouth and

State of New Jersey, pursuant to the authority conferred

by N.J.S.A. 40:55-30 et seq. and other statutes of the State

of New Jersey and the amendments thereof and supple.

ments thereto, as follows:

ARTICLE 1

SHORT TITLE, SUBTITLES AND NOTATION

1.1 This Ordinance shall be known and may be cited as

“The Zoning Ordinance of the Township of Freehold.”

1.2 For ease of reference the notation system used in

this Ordinance consists of two numbers of three numbers

separated by periods or decimal points; the first number

is the number of the Article; the second and third numbers

are divisions and subdivisions respectively of the Article;

the parts of the Ordinance identified by a two number of

three-number combination are referred to as a Section.

1.3 The titles and subtitles of the various articles and

sections are intended for convenience only and shall not

Pe RRS SER Bos B

RfaAagas

nd

ot

for particular uses; all in accordance with a comprehen-

sive plan designed to: provide a well balanced and stable

economic structure; control rate and direction of growth;

lessen congestion in the streets; secure safety from fire,

panic, and other dangers; promote health and general

welfare; provide adequate light and air; prevent the over-

crowding of land; avoid undue concentration of popula-

tion; and to that end, to regulate the height, design, appear-

ance, number of stories and size of buildings and other

structures; the percentage of the area of the lot that may

be occupied, the size of the yards, courts, and other open

spaces; the density of population and the location and

use of building structures and land for trade, industry,

residence or other purposes; and the height, size and loca-

tion of these uses with the limits of the Township, these

regulations are hereby established and shall hereafter

apply.

ARTICLE 3

DEFINITIONS

3.1 General Meaning of Words and Phrases

3.2-1 Words used in the present tense include the future

tense.

28a Appendix C

3.1-2 Words used in the singular include the plural,

lar.

3.1-3 The word “shall” is always mandatory .

3.14 The word “lot” includes the word “plot” oy

““ . A a

3.1-5 The word “used” includes the words “intended to

be used” “designed to be used” or “arranged to be used”

3.1-6 The word “occupied” includes the words “intended

to be occupied” “designed to be occupied” or “arranged

to be occupied”.

3.1-7 The word “person” includes a corporation as well

as an individual.

3.1-8 The word “demonstrate” means to provide such

visual, written or oral information as will enable the desig-

nated reviewing agency or board to ascertain the scope and

nature of a proposed use or operation, and to render an

informed opinion or decision thereon.

3.2 Definitions

3.2-1 Accessory Building, Structure or Use:

A building, structure or use subordinate to and custom-

arily incidential to the principal building, structure or use

on the same lot. Where an accessory building is attached

to the principal building by a wall or roof, such accessory

building shall be considered part of the principal building

for the purpose of determining the required yard dimen-

sions.

3.2-2 Alterations, Structural:

Any change, relocation or rearrangement of any sup-

porting members, exterior walls or roof of an existing

building. |

Appendix C 29a

3.2-3 Basement:

A story partly underground, but having less than one-

half (1/2) its height below the average level of the ad-

joining ground.

3.2-4 Boarding House:

Any dwelling in which more than three (3) persons

either individually or as families are housed or lodged for

hire with or without meals. A rooming house or a fur-

nished room house or a lodging house shall be deemed a

boarding house.

3.2-5 Buffer:

A landscaped area designed to act as a visual screen

between a potentially unsightly or otherwise undesirable

or incompatible use and adjacent properties.

3.2-6 Building:

A structure having a roof supported by columns, piers,

or walls, including tents, lunch wagons, trailers, dining

cars, camp cars or other structures on wheels or other

supports and designed or used for shelter, housing enclo-

sure or storage of persons, animals or chattel.

3.2-7 Building Area;

The total of areas taken on a horizontal plane at the

main grade level of the principal building and all accessory

buildings exclusive of uncovered porches, terraces and

steps.

3.2-8 Building Height:

The vertical distance measured from the average eleva-

tion of the proposed finished grade at the front of the

building to the highest point of the roof for flat roofs; and

to the mean height between eaves and ridge for gable, hip

and gambrel roofs.

tI TOY CSAC REPO ae a

? eed

30a

Appendix C

3.2-9 Building Line:

A line formed by the intersection of a horizontal plane

and a vertical plane that coincides with the most pro.

jected exterior surface of the building. All yard require.

ments are measured to the building line.

3.2-10 Building, Principal:

A building in which is conducted the main or principal

use of the site on which it is situated.

3.2-11 Cellar:

A story partly underground and having more than one.

half (1/2) its height below the average level of the ad.

joining ground.

3.2-12 Coverage:

The part of a lot covered by buildings

3.2-13 Dwelling, One Family:

A detached building designed for or occupied exclusively

by one (1) family.

3.2-14 Dwelling, Two Family:

A building designed for or occupied exclusively by two

(2) families living independently of each other.

3.2-15 Dwelling, Multiple Family:

A building designed for or occupied by three (3) or

more families living independently of one another.

3.2-16 Dwelling Unit:

A building, or portion thereof, providing complete liv-

ing facilities for one family.

3.2-17 Essential Services:

Facilities installed or maintained by a public utility or

governmental agency, including gas, electric, phone, water,

Appendix C 3la

sewerage and other similar services necessary to the gen-

eral health, safety and welfare of the public.

3.2-18 Family:

Any number of individuals related by blood, marriage

or adoption, and their domestic employees, living together

as a single housekeeping unit and sharing rooms and

other housekeeping facilities in common.

3.2-19 Fence:

A structure forming an enclosure of an open area and

designed to prevent straying from within or intrusion from

without said enclosure, or to provide a visual barrier for

the purposes of assuring privacy.

3.2-20 Flood Plain:

The area of relatively flat land adjoining a water course

and subject to flooding from an overflow of said water

course, including lands mapped by the Soil Conservation

Service on maps entitled: “Classes of Land According to

Use Capability” filed in the Office of the Soil Conservation

Service in Freehold, New Jersey, as any one or all of the

following:

C231 C321 C240 Cs40 C75

AO Al AO AO AO

3.9-21 Floor Area; Gross Habitable:

The sum of the areas of the floor or floors of a building

which are enclosed and suitable for human occupancy

and having a clear ceiling height of at least seven (7) feet

but including closet space and hallways but excluding

cellars, attics, dead air space, open porches, breezeways,

attached garages and all necessary buildings. Said areas

shall be measured between the inside face of exterior walls

or from the center line of walls separating two dwelling

units.

32a Appendix C

3.2-22 Garage, Private:

An accessory building used for storage purposes only

and having a capacity of not more than three (3) automo.

biles, or not more than one (1) automobile per f,

housed in the building to which such a garage is acces.

sory, whichever is greater. Space between may be utilized

for not more than one (1) commercial vehicle, and

may be rented for not more than (2) vehicles of other than

occupants of the building to which such garage is acces.

sory.

4d 32-23 Garage, Public:

Any building other than a private garage, available to

the public operated for gain and which is used for storage,

repair, rental, lubrication, washing, servicing, adjusting

or equipping of automobiles or other motor vehicles.

3.2-24 Garden Apartment:

A multiple family dwelling or dwellings designed and

constructed as a functional unit, not exceeding two stories

in height, providing a resident superintendent, and fea-

turing the extensive use of lawn areas and landscaping.

3.2-25 Grade, Finished:

The elevation of the completed surface of lawns, walks

and roads brought to grades as shown on official plans or

designs relating thereto, or already in existence.

3.2-26 Farm:

A parcel of land containing at least ten (10) acres which

is used for gain in the raising of agricultural products,

live stock, poultry and dairy products, but excluding the

raising of furbearing animals, riding academies, livery or

boarding stables or dog kennels.

Appendix C

32-27 Home Occupation:

Any occupation conducted on a residential property as

an incidental and subordinate use by a member of the

family residing on the premises.

39-28 Home Professional Occupation:

A home occupation conducted by a member of a recog-

nized profession and limited to the following occupations:

Doctors, lawyers, architects, engineers, artists, ministers,

real estate brokers, insurance brokers, music teachers and

other recognized professional practices, similar in char-

acter to the above, and requiring comparable levels of

education and training.

3.2-29 Hotel:

A building containing twelve (12) or more rooms used,

rented out or hired out for sleeping purposes by guests and

where only a general kitchen and dining room are pro-

vided within the building.

32-30 Junk Yard:

The use of more than two hundred (200) square feet

of any lot for the storage, keeping or abandonment of

automobiles or boats not in operating condition or other

vehicles or machinery or parts thereof.

3.2-31 Lots:

A piece, portion or parcel of land considered as a unit,

devoted to a common use or occupied by, a building or

group of buildings that are united by a common interest

or use, and the area and extent of which are determined

by the latest official records or by the latest approved map

of a subdivision of which the parcel of land is a part.

3.2-32 Lot Area:

The size of a lot measured between the lot lines and

expressed in terms of acres or square feet, but excluding

that part of a lot included in a street right-of-way.

34a Appendix C

3.2-33 Lot, Corner:

A-parcel of land at the intersection of and fronting on

two or more streets.

3.2-34 Lot Coverage:

The percentage of a lot occupied by buildings.

3.2-35 Lot Depth:

A mean horizontal distance between the front and rear

lot lines, measured in the general direction of its side lot

lines.

3.2-36 Lot Line:

Any line dividing one lot from another lot or from a

public thoroughfare.

3.2-37 Lot Frontage:

That portion of a lot extending along a street line. In

the case of a corner lot, the lot line having the longest

distance along the street shall be considered the front lot

line.

3.2-38 Lot Width:

The mean horizontal distance between the side lot

lines measured at right angles to its depth.

3.2-39 Motel:

A Hotel providing individual entrances from the exterior

of the building to each unit and providing parking spaces

convenient to each individual entrance.

3.2-40 Non-Conforming Buildings:

A building which in its design or location upon a lot

does not conform to the regulations of this Ordinance for

the zone in which it is located.

Appendix C 35a

32-41 Non-Conforming Lot:

A lot of record existing at the date of the passage of the

Ordinance, which does not meet the minimum area or

dimension requirements for the zone in which it is located.

39-42 Non-Conforming Use:

A use of a building or lot that does not conform to the

regulation of the zone in which it is located.

3.2-43 Open Space:

An unoccupied space open to the sky and on the same

lot with the principal building.

3.2-44 Parking Space: .

The area required for the parking of one (1) automobile

which for the purposes of this Ordinance is held to be

an area ten (10) feet wide and twenty (20) feet long

exclusive of passageways and driveways appurtenant

thereto and giving access thereto.

3.2-45 Patio:

A level paved surface normally or customarily used as

an exterior sitting area and having no integral structural

connection to any building.

3.2-46 Planning Board:

The Planning Board of the Township of Freehold.

3.2-47 Plat:

A map, plan or layout of a city, town, section, subdivi-

sion or property indicating the location and boundaries

of individual properties or lots.

3.2-48 Principal Use:

The primary or main purpose for which a lot or building

is being utilized.

"oo pute © olen oan ae

an

3.2-52 Restaurant, Drive-In:

Shall be an eating establishment at which provision is

made for eating food commodities and non-alcoholic

Wherever such facilities have heretofore been classified

as a permitted use, such use shall remain a permitted use

Gil (BT ie

an ii

if

ts eT

ae Hi

Appendix C 39a

OPP Re erry

3.2-69 Planned Adult Community

One or more contiguous parcels of land having a total

land area of 75 acres or more acres under

conj

with a homeowner's association; and all sale, resale, rental,

leasing or occupancy of the units or any of the structures

comprising the P.A.C. shall be subject to and must comply

with the terms and conditions of this Ordinance.

Appendix C 4la

ARTICLE 4

ESTABLISHMENT OF ZONES

4.1 Zones

RR Rural Residential Zone R-25 Residential Zone

R-9 Residential Zone R-40 Residential Zone

R-15 Residential Zone B-1 Office & Personal

Service

R-20.. Residential Zone

Zone-1

B-2 Office & Personal Service

Zone-2

B-3 Neighborhood Business M-1 Industrial Zone

Zone

B-4 Service & Supply Zone M-2 Industrial Zone

B-5 Highway Development H-1 Hospital Zone and

Zone services

and incidental

thereto

42 Zoning Map:

The boundaries of all zones are shown on a map entitled

“Zoning Map of the Township of Freehold,” dated Janu-

ary, 1969 and as amended March 1970. Said map, to-

gether with all explanatory matter thereon, is hereby made

a part of this Ordinance as if set forth at length therein.

4.3 Interpretation of Zone Boundaries:

Where uncertainty exists with respect to the boundaries

of any zone as shown on the Zoning Map, the following

definition shall govern:

aerry ¥

hedtitel Re tea oe a)

by, dimensions shown on the Zoning Map or as herein.

after set forth.

4.3-2 Where zone boundary lines, not fixed by dimen.

sions and are so indicated that they appear to be within

ten (10) feet of a lot line as determined by scale from

the zoning map, such lot line shall be construed to be said

boundary line.

4.3-3 In those instances where zone boundary lines

appear as extensions of property lines, and in other in.

stances where the zone boundary line divides a lot, and

where said boundary line appears to be more than ten (10)

feet distant from a property line the location of said

boundary line shall be determined by the use of the scale

shown on the Zoning Map.

4.4 Schedule of Area, Yard and Buld Requirements:

The attached schedule of area, yard and bulk require-

ments is hereby made a part of the Ordinance as though

set forth at length with the same force and effect.

ARTICLE 5

GENERAL PROVISIONS

5.1 Applicability of Regulations Except as hereinafter

Provided:

No structure shall hereafter be erected, structurally

altered or moved nor shall any lands or the buildings

thereon be used for any purpose except in conformity with

all regulations hereinafter established for the zone in which

said land or structure is located. Nor shall any open space

or yard area established for the purpose of complying

Appendix C 43a

with the regulations of this Ordinance be reduced or

encroached upon in any manner except as shall be speci-

52 Permitted Yard Encroachments:

No building or part thereof shall be erected within or

project into any required yard area except in accordance

with the following provisions:

5.2-1 An open entrance porch not more than ten (10)

feet in width shall not project more than eight (8) feet

into a required front yard area.

5.2-2 An open and unroofed patio not more than three

(3) feet above ground level may extend into a required

side or rear yard to within ten (10) feet of a side or rear

line. Such patios, if at ground level, may extend

to within five (5) feet of a side or rear property line.

5.3 Permitted Height Exceptions:

5.3-1 Appurtenances Attached to Principal Structures:

The height limitations of this Ordinance shall not apply

to church spires, belfried, domes, antennas attached to

buildings, silos, or penthouses, none of which are to be

used for human occupancy; nor to chimneys, ventilators,

skylights, water tanks, bulkheads and the necessary me-

chanical appurtenances usually carried above the roof

level.

Such features, however, shall not exceed in coverage

twenty (20) per cent of the total roof area and shall not

exceed a height such as is necessary to accomplish the

purpose which they are intended to serve.

In single family residential zones and on properties

adjacent to single family residential zones any such appur-

tenances which exceed the height limit by more than five

44a Appendix C

(5) feet shall not be located nearer to any property ling

than a distance equal to its height above ground.

5.3-2 Free Standing Accessories:

Water towers, radio and television antennas and

poles which are erected as free standing accessories and

which might normally exceed the height limitations estab.

lished by this Ordinance may be erected to a height which

can be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Freehold

Township Planning Board as necessary to accomplish their

intended function, except that in residential zones and on

properties adjacent to residential zones, no such structure

may be located near to any property line than a distance

equal to its height above ground.

5.3-3 No sign nameplate, display or advertising device

of any kind whatsoever shall be inscribed upon or attached

to any chimney, tower, tank or any other structure which

extends above the height limitations which are estab-

lished in this Ordinance.

5.4 Except as might be hereinafter specifically pro-

vided, there shall not be more than one principal resi-

dential building erected on any lot.

5.5 No principal building shall be erected upon a lot

which does not have frontage upon a public street improved

to meet requirements of the Township or for which such

improvements have been guaranteed in accordance with

requirements established in the Land Subdivision Ordi-

nance of the Township of Freehold.

5.6 Front Yards:

5.6-1 Any yard facing upon a public street shall be con-

sidered a front yard and shall conform to the minimum

front yard requirements established for the zone in which

said yard is located.

Appendix C 45a

5.6-2 No necessary structures, with the exception of

flag poles, and sign posts shall be erect d within any front

56-3 No front yard shall be used for the storage of

boats, trailers, equipments, or vehicles other than automo-

biles which are in operating condition and which are

on an improved driveway or parking area, except

as might be specifically permitted elsewhere in this Ordi-

nance.

5.7 On any corner lot, nothing shall be erected, placed,

ted or allowed to grow in such a manner as to obstruct

vision between a height of two and one-half (2-1/2) feet

and ten (10) feet above the center line grades of the inter-

secting streets, within the triangular area formed by the

two intersecting street lines bounding the lot and by a

line connecting points on each street line located twenty-

five (25) feet from the intersection of said street lines.

5.8 No accessory structure, excluding fences and tem-

porary buildings necessary for construction purposes, is

to be erected prior to the completion of the principal

building. Such temporary construction buildings may be

erected only after the issuance of a building permit for

the principal building and shall be removed within thirty

(30) days of the issuance of a certificate of occupancy, for

the principal buildings; or in the case of a major subdivi-

sion, within thirty (30) days of the issuance of a certificate

of occupancy for the final home in the subdivision.

5.9 No structure shall be erected within the boundary

of any flood plain of within fifty (50) feet of the top of

the bank of any stream, whichever distance represents the

greatest setback from the stream.

5.10 Existing natural features such as streams, lakes,

ponds, trees and the natural configuration of the ground

46a Appendix C

shall be retained wherever possible. If it can be demon.

strated to the satisfaction of the Freehold Township Plan.

ning Board that such features will substantially interfere

with any reasonable proposed use of a property such fea.

tures may be altered only to the extent necessary to permit

such use.

5.11 Appearance of Buildings:

No building or structure shall hereafter be erected, con-

structed, placed or enlarged in any Residence District

which shall be like or substantially like any neighboring

building, or structure, as hereinafter defined, then in exie.

tence or for which a building permit has been issued, or

which is included in the same building permit applica.

tion, in more than three of the following six respects:

A. Height of the main roof ridge above the top of the

plate (all flat roofs shall be deemed identical in this

dimension ) ;

B. Height of the main roof ridge, or in the case of a

building structure with a flat roof, the highest point of the

roof beams above the elevation on the first floor;

C. Length of the main roof ridge, or in the case of a

building or structure with a flat roof, length of the main

roof;

D. Width between outside walls at the ends of the

building or structure measured under the main roof at

right angles to the length thereof;

E. Relative location of windows in the front elevation

or in each of both side elevations with respect to each

other and with respect to any door, chimney, porch or

attached garage in the same elevation;

F. In the front elevation, both (a) relative location with

respect to each other of garage, if attached, porch, if any,

Appendix C 47a

and the remainder of the building or structure, and (b)

either (i) height of any portion of the building of struc-

tures located outside the limits of the main roof measured

from the elevation of the first floor to the roof ridge, or in

the case of a flat roof, the highest point of the roof beams,

or (ii) width of said portion of the building or structure if

it has a gable in the front elevation otherwise length of

said roof ridge or said flat roof in the front elevation.

Buildings or structures whall be deemed to be like each

other in any dimension with respect to which the differ-

ence between them is not more than two feet. Buildings

or structures between which the only difference in relative

location of elements is end to end or side to side reversal

of elements shall be deemed to be like each other in rela-

tive location of such elements.

In relation to the premises with respect to which a

building or structure is sought to be erected, constructed,

placed, altered or enlarged, a building or structure shall be

deemed to be a neighboring building or structure if the lot

upon which it may or any part of it has been or will be

located is any one of the following lots:

A. Any lot on the street upon which the building or

structure to be located on said premises would front which

is the first building or structure on either side of said

building or structure on the same side of the street without

regard to intervening street lines.

B. Any building or structure to be erected on any lot,

any part of a street line frontage of which is across said

street from said premises.

C. Any lot any part of the street line frontage of which

faces the end of, and is within the width of, said street,

if there are less thau two lots between said premises and

the end of said street;

48a Appendix C

D. Any lot any part of the street line frontage of which

is across such other street from said premises or from a lot

referred to in paragraph D of this section.

ARTICLE 6

ZONE REGULATIONS

6.1 Rural Residential Zone:

6.1-1 Permitted Uses:

A. Farms

B. Single Family Dwellings

C. Public Parks and Playgrounds

D. Municipal Buildings essential to the operation of the

Township, subject to general review and recommendation

by the Planning Board.

6.1-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

A. Private Garage with a capacity for garaging not

more than three (3) automobiles.

B. Tool shed or similar storage building not exceeding

one hundred twenty (120) square feet in building area.

C. Private swimming pools

D. Fences

E. Signs

F. Outdoor barbecue structures

G. Shelters for domestic pets, rpovided that the building

area does not exceed thirty (30) square feet.

H. Essential utilities

I. Farm storage sheds and barns

Appendix C 49a

6.1-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Home Professional Offices

B. Home Occupations

C. Swim-Clubs

D. Churches and Places of Worship

E. Public, Private or Parochial Schools

6.1-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule.

6.1-5 Permitted Modifications:

None

6.2 R-40 Residential Zone:

6.2-1 Permitted Uses:

A. Same as for Rural Residential Zone

B. Planned Adult Communities as defined by this ordi-

nance.

6.2-2 Permitted Accessory Buildings

A. Same as for Rural Residential Zone

B. The following but only as accessory uses to a Planned

Adult Community.

(1) Normal and necessary accessory buildings and facil-

ities, including but not limited to gate houses, garages,

guard houses, storage facilities for maintenance equip-

ment and administrative, social, cultural and recreational

facilities and strictures.

(2) Commercial activities for the convenience of the

residents of the project and their guests are permitted,

50a Appendix C

but must be confined within doors and without

vertising or other display on the outside of

Such facilities should be located out of

ing care of project residents and their guests

mitted if such facilities are not readily and

available.

6.2-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Same as for Rural Residential Zone

B. Garden type, Multi Family apartments, subject to

the provisions of Article 10.26-9.

6.2-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

A. As specified in the Schedule.

B. For Planned Adult Communities subject to Artice

11.

6.2-5 Permitted Modifications:

None.

6.3 Residential Zone R-25:

6.3-1 Permitted Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

6.3-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

6.3-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Same as for Rural Residential Zone.

Appendix C 5la

B. Garden-type multi-family apartments, subject to the

provisions of Article 10.26-9.

63-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

63-5 Permitted Modifications:

None.

64 R-20 Residential Zone:

64-1 Permitted Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

64-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

64-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Same as for Rural Residential Zone.

B. Garden-type, multi-family apartments, subject to

the provisions of ARticle 10.26-9.

6.4-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule.

6.4-5 Permitted Modifications

6.5 R-15 Residential Zone:

65-1 Permitted Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

6.5-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

52a Appendix C

6.53 Uses permitted Subject to Issuance of a Specia

Use Permit:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone

65-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

6.5-5 Permitted Modifications:

None

6.6 R-9 Residential Zone

6.6-1 Permitted Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone, except that Farm

are not permitted.

6.6-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

Same as for Rural Residential Zone, except that Fam

Storage Sheds and Barns are not permitted.

6.6-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Home Professional Offices

B. Home Occupations

66-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

6.6-5 Permitted Modifications:

None

6.7 Highway Development Zone (B-5):

6.7-1 Permitted Uses:

nennaliacaitaaiaiean te pi

gusiiatag onli tiie tenant ~

Appendix C 53a

B. Retail stores and shops

C. Personal Service establishments

Theatres (indoor), assembly halls, bowling

deans ole tanained eatin. hing

E. Restaurants, cafes and tea rooms.

F. Hotels and motels

G. Motor Vehicle Salesrooms

H. Wholesale business and distributors

L Passenger Bus Stations

J. Research Laboratories and light industries for the

atlanta ditaekt dun cn on

54a Appendix C

6.7-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

A. Storage buildings and Garages provided that it cay

be demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Freehold Tow.

ship Planning Board that such accessory buildi ings are

necessary to the successful operation of the principal ug

on the premises, and that a definite economic hardship

or a health or safety hazard would be created if sud,

accessory building were not permitted; and further pro-

vided that no accessory building be used for sale purposes

of any nature.

B. Signs

C. Fences

6.7-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Gasoline Filling Stations

6.7-4 Area, Yard, and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

6.7-5 Supplementary Regulations:

A. Nothing shall be stored out-or-doors for any pur

pose except in compliance with the following provisions:

1. New or used automobiles on display for sale or

awaiting delivery may be stored out-of-doors as a per-

mitted accessory use to a new car dealership for an indef-

nite period of time, provided that said automobiles are in

operating condition and further provided that they shall

be stored on a paved area constructed to the standards

established in accordance with Land Subdivision Ordi-

nance of the Township of Freehold.

2. All garbage or trash or any other refuse awaiting

disposal shall be stored in a completely enclosed container.

Appendix C 55a

3. Products and materials necessary to and supplemen-

tary to a permitted use and which are customar-

ily stored out-of-doors, may be stored out-of-doors pro-

vided that:

a. The area used for such outdoor storage shall be paved

in accordance with requirements of Article 7, 7.1-6.

b. Said storage shall be permitted only in a rear yard

area.

c. Said storage shall be screened from view from any

public right-of-way.

d. All materials stored out-of-doors shall be arranged

and maintained in a safe, orderly and neat manner.

B. Whereas the basic intended uses for this zone are

not compatible with residential uses and whereas the inter-

mingling of these uses with residential uses might prove

inimical to the health, safety and welfare of persons resid-

ing within the confines of this zone, all residential uses are

hereby excluded from this zone.

68 Service and Supply Zone (B-4):

68-1 Permitted Uses:

A. General business activities including such activities

as Retail Sales, offices, and Banks, eating and drinking

establishments and personal services.

B. Building material storage, supply and sales includ-

ing such activities as lumber yards, mason materials, stor-

age and sales, plumbing and electrical service and sales and

similar storage and wholesale and retail sales designed to

supply and service construction and building activities.

C. Contractors shops, yards and offices.

D. Small repair and machine shops generally employing

fewer than ten (10) persons; and custom shops pri

engaged in the production of articles or products to be

sold at retail on the premises.

a al ale A li

EE

bit oes a Ve ae ee

56a Appendix C

E. Commercial laundries and dry cleaners provided thy

any commercial laundry shall be connected with a publy

F. Public garages and gasoline filling stations.

G. Animal hospital and shelters .

H. Public utility garages and storage facilities

I. Printing Shops

J. Public Utility Installations

6.8-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

A. Storage sheds, except that lumber storage sheds shal

be considered as a principal use.

B. Garage facilities

C. Signs

D. Fences

6.8-3 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

6.8-4 Supplementary Regulations:

A. Outdoor storage is permited in any yard subject to

the followin g restrictions:

1. No outdoor storage shall be permitted within ten

(10) feet of any street line or within five (5) feet of any

side or rear lot line.

2. Outdoor storage shall be limited to equipment,

merchandise or material necessary to the operation of the

principal use on the premises, not normally or economic.

ally stored indoors. No junk cars, wrecked cars or cars

damaged by accident or damaged in any other manner,

or which are in such condition that they cannot operate

under their own power; used auto parts or appliances;

COPY BOUND TOO

Appendix C 57a

ysed auto or truck tires; damaged or discarded machinery,

ipment or parts thereof, used or damaged refrigera-

tors, household or electrical appliances or other damaged

or disabled merchandise; or junk shall be stored, main-

tained, or permitted to remain situated in the open on any

ise for more than fifteen (15) days from the time

first placed on said premises, and said items must there-

after be permanently removed from the premises or per-

manently removed from the open and stored with a com-

pletely enclosed bujlding.

Specifically excluded from this time requirement are

disabled or damaged motor vehicles awaiting repair at an

automotive repair shop. For these purposes the above

fifteen (15) day requirement shall be extended to sixty

(60) days in order to permit a reasonable time for insur-

ance adjustment and parts ordering purposes.

3. All garbage, trash or any other refuse awaiting dis-

posal shall be stored in a completely enclosed container.

4. Anything being stored out doors shall be placed and

maintained in an orderly, safe manner.

5. Front yard storage shall be restricted to items being

displayed for sale or rental purposes.

B. (Same as Section 6.7-5. B)

6.9 Neighborhood Business Zone (B-3):

6.901 Permitted uses shall be among those specified

herein, but shall also further be limited to those uses which

are clearly of a nature designed to primarily serve adja-

cent residential areas within a two to three mile radius

and which only incidentally serve other areas.

A. Retail stores and shops such as Grocery Stores, drug

stores, hardware stores, dry good stores, baked goods

stores, meat and poultry stores, flower shops, haberdashery

and apparel shops, shoe stores.

coitidna anemia dite tedamnatnitied on tnatehettndaiet, dae et

OO CLOSE IN CENTER |

58a Appendix C

B. Personal services establishments such as

shops, beauty parlors, shoe repair shops, dry Cleaning

shops, tailor shops, self service laundries.

C. Business and professional offices, banks, Post office;

and municipal offices.

6.9-2 Permitted Accessory Uses:

A. Signs

B. Fences

6.9-3 Uses Permitted Subject to Issuance of a Special

Use Permit:

A. Gasoline Filling Stations

6.9-4 Area, Yard and Building Requirements:

As specified in the Schedule

6.9-5 Supplementary Regulations:

A. Nothing shall be stored out of doors for any purpose

except that garbage and trash or any other refuse awaiting

disposal may be stored in a rear yard in a completely en-

closed container.

B. Persons establishing uses in this zone are encouraged

to give particular attention to aesthetic considerations

especially in connection with structural design and the use

of landscaping to soften building lines and provide visual

breaks in parking lot areas.

6.10 Office and Personal Service Zone—1 (B-2):

This zone is intended to be utilized as a buffer zone

between r2sidential zones and more intensive zones, and

as such, each use within this zone shall be designed, con-

structed and operated in such a manner as to create the

least possible disruption to adjacent residential properties.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.