Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mouton v. Sinclair Oil & Gas Co.

Supreme Court brief1970

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oh Ee 2 eo) >" ADSM SOA PN RANG BB —— —-

LE COPS ee a ee

, Oftice-Soreme Cours, «8,

Fii.k&D

No. 3 8 3 WN 24 1669

WON F. DAVIS, CLERK

In the :

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1969

AsHTON J. MOUTON, COLLECTOR OF REVENUE,

STATE OF LOUISIANA,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SINCLAIR OIL AND GAS COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OF COUNSEL:

EMMETT E. BATSON,

COUNSEL OF RECORD.

JOHN B. LEVY,

CYRUS A. GRECO,

JAMES W. MURRAY

Department of Revenue,

State of Louisiana,

Post Office Box 201,

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821.

Phone 389-5941.

amaaam ene 6am 2ae@ 6 aee &

ee eee a Se

INDEX

Page

Table of Authorities ............-----------s-eeesecsseeeeeeeeeeee ii

Petition

Opinion ....-.------------nsecsscoseensessesnnennensennstnnscenttens 1

Jurisdiction ............----------cecececesseseeeneseteneseseeeees 2

Questions Presented for I iiensvninennersivnsvne 2

Statutes Involved. ........-.-.--------ceseseeseeeseeeeteeetees 3

Statement of Facts ........------------s-e-esereseeseseeseeees 3

Argument on Questions Presented

Argument on Question on Number One.... 6

Argument on Question on Number Two.... 20

Appendix

Conclusion and Prayer ..........------------------ 29

Certificate of Service ........-...----.---------+-++ 30

Judgment of United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit ...................-0----0-----0- 31

Opinion of United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit ...................------------- 32

United States Statutes prior to codification .... 35

Codification and House Comments thereon .... 37

Louisiana Statutes providing a Plain, Speedy

and Efficient remedy for the collection

of taxes paid under protest ...............------- 44

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

City of Houston v. Standard Triumph Motor Com-

pany, Sth C.A., 1965, 347 F. 2d 194, Cert. den.

382 U.S. 974, 15 L.Ed. 2d 466, 86 S.Ct. 539. .... 24

George F. Alger and Company v. Peck, Ohio, S.

Dakota, 1954 119 F. Supp. 812. ........000000... 25

Georgia Railroad and Banking Company v. Red-

wine, 342 U.S. 299, 96 L.Ed. 335, 72 S.Ct. 321

INEGI Dey mertanccrsemtc aoe 25

Great Lakes Dredge and Dock Company v. Huff-

man, 319 U.S. 298, 297, 87 L.Ed. 1407, 63

S.Ct. 1070, (1943). 20

Harrison v. N.A.A.C.P., 360 U.S. 167, 3 L.Ed. 2d

1152, 79 S.Ct. 1025 (1959). ...... " 26

Helmsley v. City of Detroit, 6 C.A., 1963, 320 F.

ER to nme re eee eee: 25

Kaiser Steel Corporation v. Ranch Company, 391

U.S. 593, 20 L. Ed. 2d 835, 88 S.Ct. 1753

PUES Gilciichcachetasetonsds ivcionesnvaendacwiehiaaiionntariasercinicieren 25

Leiter Minerals v. United States, 352 U.S. 220, 1

L.Ed. 2d 267, 77 S.Ct. 287 (1956). ................ 21

Leiter Minerals v. California Company, 241 La.

i Fe Fe. | | Meccnnennnrn 23

Leiter Minerals v. United States, 5th C.A., 1964,

ee ehtintpresetnnelnterapicnggll 23

Louisiana Power and Light Company v. City of

Thibodeaux, 360 U.S. 25, 3 L.Ed. 2d 1058 79

a BP Ca scccceccnncesessssnicnrvcinninninnie 23

Pf ce

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

iii

Page

Matthews v. Rodgers, 284 U.S. 521, 76 L.Ed. 447,

52 S.Ct. 217 (19381). .....-..----- ‘ 21

Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v. Cocreham,

La. E.D., 1965, 247 F. Supp. 819, reversed 5

C.A. 1967, 382 F. 2d 929. ........--------------ee0e0+ 18

Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v. Fontenot,

5th C.A., 1956, 234 F. 2d 898, Cert. denied 352

U.S. 916, 1 L.Ed. 2d 122, 77 S.Ct. 213. .......... 17

Murphy Corporation, et al v. Fontenot, 255 La. 379,

73 So. 2d 180 (1954), Cert. denied, 348 U.S.

831, 99 L.Ed. 655, 75 S.Ct. 54. -.....---------------+ 17

Natural Oil and Gas Corporation v. Waggonner,

151 So. 2d 575 (1963), reversed by 376 U.S.

369, 11 L.Ed. 2d 782, 84 S.Ct. 857 (1964). .... 18

Township of Somerset County, New Jersey v. Crom-

well, 326 U.S. 620, 90 L.Ed. 358, 66 S.Ct. 445

(1946). ....--.ossesccceseesssscseseseceescsensnennensesnseesenenses 25

Wyandotte Chemicals Corporation v. City of Wyan-

dotte, 6 C.A., 1963, 321 F. 2d 927. ...........-----.-- 25

UNITED STATES STATUTES

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1254(1) ...... 2

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1331 ............ 3

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1332 ............ 3

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1341 ............ 3

Title 28, United State Code, Section 1651(a) ...... 2

Section 24 of the Judiciary Code of 1911, Para-

graph 1, March 8, 1911, c. 231, 36 Stat. 1091,

as amended by May 14, 1934, c. 283, 48 Stat.

775, August 2, 1937, c. 726, 50 Stat. 148. ........ 7

iv

LOUISIANA STATUTES

Page

Title 47, Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 Sec-

OE icons dsaade lal ahaeaanoneniaineinaeetieginesiniing 4

Title 47, Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950,

I ati aieeeaenatienenbeanvtineie 44

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Congressional Record, Volume 78, Part 2, 73rd

Congress, 2nd Session, pages beginning at

DOUG, TUE Ba Fa veers ennenteceieceneovccsveenscerees 11, 35

Committee on the Judiciary, Report No. 1035, 75th

Congress, Ist Session. ............-------cesseeeesereneenes

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

No.

| In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1969

AsHTON J. MouTON, COLLECTOR OF REVENUE,

STATE OF LOUISIANA,

Petitioner,

Vv.

SINCLAIR OIL AND GaS COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

ASHTON J. MOUTON, Collector of Revenue for

the State of Louisiana does hereby petition this Honor-

able Court for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, in Num-

ber 25,751 of that Court, Ashton J. Mouton, Collector

of Revenue, State of Louisiana versus Sinclair Oil and

Gas Company.

OPINIONS BELOW

The petition for a rehearing was denied without

written opinion by the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit. The written opinion on the cas:

by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit has not

yet been reported. Both the written opinion a:: the

2

application for rehearing are attached hereto as Ap.

pendix A.

The United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Louisiana, Baton Rouge Division, refused

to remand this case to the Louisiana District Court

from whence it had been removed. It then granted

summary judgment to Sinclair Oil and Gas Company

simply by an order to that effect entered in the record.

JURISDICTION

The decree of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit was entered and signed on April

22, 1969. A petition for a rehearing was denied on May

19, 1969. An order staying the mandate of the court to

and including July 25, 1969, was signed by the Deputy

Clerk on May 23, 1969.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

Title 28 U.S.C., Section 1254(1) and Title 23 U.S.C.,

Sec. 1651(a).

A writ of certiorari is applied for on the ground

that the courts below lacked jurisdiction as a matter

of federal law and that a suit filed in a state court

cannot be removed to a federal court when the federal

court would have no jurisdiction if filed in that court.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1.

Under federal law does a federal district court

have jurisdiction of a suit to determine the legality of

state taxes when the State involved provides the tax-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

3

payer a plain, speedy and efficient remedy in its own

courts for the contest of the taxes asserted by the State?

2.

In the alternative, only in the event this Court

determines question number one adverse to the Collec-

tor, is the federal district court required to stay its

hand until the question of the legality of a State tax

is determined in the state court when the question is

there pending?

STATUTES INVOLVED

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1331, rela-

tive to a federal question.

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1332, rela-

tive to diversity of citizenship.

Title 28, United States Code, Section 1341, rela-

tive to taxes by states.

Title 47, Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Sec-

tion 1576, relative to the remedy provided by Lou-

isiana law for the recovery of taxes paid under

protest.

- The full text of the above sections are set out in

Appendix A.

STATEMENT OF TIIE CASE

This case was originally filed in the Nineteenth

Judicial District Court, Parish of East Baton Rouge,

State of Louisiana. The object of the suit was to collect

certain state severance taxes which the Collector of

Revenue, State of Louisiana, hereinafter referred to

as “Collector”, claimed were due by the defendant,

ES a Pee ee

4

Sinclair Oil and Gas Company, hereinafter referred

to as, “Sinclair”.

The taxes which the Collector claimed as due are

imposed by state law. LSA—R.S. 47:631:

§631 Imposition of tax

Taxes as authorized by Section 21 of Article

X of the Constitution of Louisiana, are hereby

levied upon all natural resources severed from the

soil or water, including all forms of timber, in-

cluding pulp woods, and turpentine and other

forest products; minerals such as oil, gas, natural

gasoline, distillate, condensate, casinghead gaso-

line, sulphur, salt, coal, lignite and ores; also

marble, stone, gravel, sand, shells and other nat-

ural deposits; and the salt content in brine.

At no time did the Collector assert the taxes claimed

were due under any federal law and at no time did

the Collector assert any federal law as a basis of his

claim. Sinclair was not threatened by any irreparable

injury nor has it ever claimed that it would be. Sin-

clair was not required to pay any of the taxes asserted

until it had had its day in the Louisiana Courts and in

the United States Supreme Court if it chose to apply

for a writ of certiorari and that writ had been granted.

That is because Louisiana provided a plain, speedy and

efficient remedy in its own courts for the contest of

taxes.

Sinclair answered the suit and asserted as a de-

fense allegations to the effect that the oil and gas

against which the Collector was asserting his claims

for severance taxes were produced in Barksdale Air

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

5

Force Base. Sinclair further answered to the effect

that the Collector could not apply the tax to oil and gas

produced in Barksdale because the base was an area

of exclusive federal jurisdiction.

After the filing of the answer and the excep-

tions the Collector agreed to a stipulation proposed by

Sinclair which showed that the oil and gas against

which the tax was asserted by the Collector were pro-

duced within the confines of Barksdale Air Force Base.

Sinclair later removed this case to this Court on

the grounds:

1. That the Collector was acting unconstitution-

ally and therefore individually, not in his offi-

cial capacity as the Tax Collector of the State.

2. That the Collector’s petition when considered

with the stipulation agreed to by him raised

a federal question that should be ruled on by

the federal court.

The Collector moved to remand the case to the

State Court on the grounds that:

1. The Collector was acting in his official capac-

ity for the State and the taxes he was assert-

ing against Sinclair do not inure to his benefit

but to the exclusive benefit of the state. There-

fore, since one of the parties was the State and

since a State of the United States is not a

citizen there was no diversity jurisdiction.

2. That the Collector presented no federal ques-

tion to the State Court; that the federal ques-

tion, if any, was presented by Sinclair as a

defense and this did not make the state suit

removable.

ee.

6

The lower court refused to remand this case; in.

stead, it held that it had jurisdiction and then rendered

summary judgment for Sinclair.

ARGUMENT ON QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

Argument on Question No. One.

It is respectfully submitted that a suit in a State

Court cannot be removed to a federal district court in

which jurisdiction does not exist under federal law.

In the instant case jurisdiction in the federal district

court to which the case was removed from State Court

did not exist not only because of the two reasons stated

by the Collector as grounds for a remand but also be-

cause the State of Louisiana provides a plain, speedy

and efficient remedy in its own courts for the contest

of taxes and when such a remedy is provided by a state

court Congress has limited the jurisdiction of the fed-

eral district courts. This additional reason was also

argued in the Court below. That Louisiana does pro-

vide a plain, speedy and efficient remedy in its own

courts for the contest of taxes has been noted with ap-

proval by no less an authority than the United States

Supreme Court. Great Lakes Dredge and Dock Co. v.

Huffman, 319 U.S. 293, 296, 87 L.Ed. 1407, 1410, 63

S.Ct. at page 1072 (1943).

Both the District Court and the Circuit Court

found that:

1, The suit in federal court was a suit against

the Louisiana Collector of Revenue acting

illegally in his individual capacity, and,

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

7

2. The suit presented a federal question.

Based on the above two findings both lower courts

concluded that they had jurisdiction. However, it is

submitted that these two findings were not correct and

neither were they sufficient to confer jurisdiction on

the two lower courts because of the express statutory

law limiting such jurisdiction in questions involving

state taxes even when there is both diversity and a

federal question where a state provides a plain, effi-

cient and adequate remedy in the state court for the

contest of such taxes from whence the cases can be

taken to the United States Supreme Court.

Congress first expressed its will concerning this

limitation by an act passed August 2, 1937, c. 726, Sec.

1, 50 Stat. 148, wherein it added the last sentence to

the first paragraph of Section 24 of the Judicial Code

as it then read. March 3, 1911, c. 231, Sec. 24, Par. 1,

36 Stat. 1091. Sec. 24 of the Judiciary Code had been

previously amended on May 14, 1934, c. 283, Sec. 1,

48 Stat. 775, so that with the 1934 amendment and the

1937 amendment Sec. 24 of the Judiciary Code read as

follows:

The district courts shall have original juris-

diction as follows:

Of all suits of a civil nature, at common law

or in equity, brought by the United States, or by

any officer thereof authorized by law to sue, or

between citizens of the same State claiming lands

under grants from different States; or, where the

matter in controversy exceeds, exclusive of inter-

est and costs, the sum or value of three thousand

8

dollars, and (a) arises under the Constitution or

laws of the United States, or treaties made, or

which shall be made, under their authority, or (b)

is between citizens of different States, or (c) is

between citizens of a State and foreign States,

citizens, or subjects. No district court shall have

cognizance of any suit (except upon foreign bills

of exchange) to recover upon any promissory note

or other chose in action in favor of any assignee,

or of any subsequent holder if such instrument be

payable to bearer and be not made by any corpora-

tion, unless such suit might have been prosecuted

in such court to recover upon said note or other

chose in action if no assignment had been made:

Provided, however, that the foregoing provision

as to the sum or value of the matter in controversy

shall not be construed to apply to any of the cases

mentioned in the succeeding paragraphs of this

section. (italics supplied)

(The following was added by the 1934

amendment). Notwithstanding the foregoing pro-

visions of this paragraph no district court shall

have jurisdiction of any suit to enjoin, suspend,

or restrain the enforcement, operation, or execu-

tion of any order of an administrative board or

commission of a State, or any rate-making body of

any political subdivision thereof, or to enjoin, sus-

pend, or restrain any action in compliance with

any such order, where jurisdiction is based solely

upon the ground of diversity of citizenship, or the

repugnance of such order to the Constitution of

the United States, where such order (1) affects

rates chargeable by a pubiic utility, (2) does not

interfere with interstate commerce, and (3) has

been made after reasonable notice and hearing,

,

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

9

and where a plain, speedy, and efficient remedy

may be had at law or in equity in the courts of

such State.

(The following was added by the 1937

amendment). Notwithstanding the foregoing pro-

visions of this paragraph, no district court shall

have jurisdiction of any suit to enjoin, suspend, or

restrain the assessment, levy, or collection of any

tax imposed by or pursuant to the laws of any

State where a plain, speedy, and efficient remedy

may be had at law or in equity in the courts of

such State.” (italics supplied)

The Judiciary Act of 1911 was codified in 1948.

In that codification what was formerly the first para-

graph of Section 24 became Title 28, United States

Code, Sections 1331, 1332, 1341, 1342, 1345, 1354 and

1359. The House Committee report on the codification

and any revisions made relative to the former first

paragraph of Section 24 of the 1911 Judiciary Act are

contained in “Revision of Title 28, United States Cede,

House Report 308, 80th Congress, 1st Session.” Perti-

nent parts of the report as well as the Section 24 of the

Judiciary Act of 1911 together with the 1934 and 1937

amendments are reproduced in the Appendix for the

convenience of the court. The House Report clearly

shows that no significant changes were made in the

law as it was prior to codification with reference to

the limitation of jurisdiction of federal district courts

relative to the collection of state taxes except that in

view of the then new Rules of Civil Procedure, the

words, “all civil actions” were substituted for “all

suits of a civil nature, at common law or in equity.”

10

(See House Report on Sections 1331, 1332, 1341 of

Title 28 of United States Code, which are reproduced

in the Appendix)

If we now rewrite the first paragraph of Sec, 24

of the Judiciary Act of 1911 as it appeared in 1937

when Congress first limited the district courts’ juris-

diction in state tax matters, leaving out all portions

thereof which do not pertair. to the case at bar, it

would read as follows:

“The district courts shall have original jurisdic.

tion as follows:

Of all suits of a civil nature, at common law

or in equity brought by the United States, . . . or,

where the matter in controversy exceeds, exclu-

sive of interest and costs, the sum or value of

three thousand dollars, and (a) arises under the

Constitution or laws of the United States ... or

(b) is between citizens of different states .. .

Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this

paragraph, no district court shall have jurisdic-

tion of any suit to enjoin, suspend, or restrain the

assessment, levy, or collection of any tax imposed

by or pursuant to the laws of any State where a

plain, speedy and efficient remedy may be had at

law or in equity in the courts of such state.” (Ital-

ics supplied )”

When read as above the Collector submits that

Congress in its first legislation limiting the jurisdic-

tion of the district courts to entertain suit relating to

the collection of state taxes clearly and unequivocally

stated that the restraint was applicable to all such

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

ww

11

suits whether they were designated as suits at common

law or in-equity, provided, of course, a plain, speedy

and efficient remedy existed in the courts of the state.

Since the 1948 codification did not change that limita-

tion in any way it follows that statutory federal law

as it now stands does not give the district courts the

authority to entertain and pass upon civil actions to

recover state taxes where the state provides a plain,

speedy and adequate procedure for such recovery in its

own courts

The intention of Congress to limit the lower fed-

eral courts jurisdiction in all tax cases is made doubly

clear when one considers the great debate which took

place in the Senate when the 1934 amendment to the

Judiciary Code was adopted. Congressional Record,

Volume 78, Part 2, 73rd Congress, 2nd Session, pages

beginning at 1915, 2014 and 2238. On Senate Bill No.

752. The 1934 amendment did not concern taxes but as

it clearly appears from the debate on that amendment,

it concerned the restriction of the federal courts’ power

relative to suits by public utilities. The case for the

limitation of the lower federal courts’ jurisdiction

was clearly stated by Senator Johnson as reported in

the Congressional Record above referred to, beginning

at page 1915, second column.

“The design of the measure is to correct what

has become an intolerable evil. Those who are

familiar at all with the various commissions which

the States have set up for the regulation of public

utilities and the determination of their rates will

realize from their experience that the process is

-

I pe Oy en eee ame POSE ES

12

interminable where not only the State courts may

be resorted to by the public utility which questions

the decision of the State regulatory commission,

but the United States courts may be resorted to

as well.

The bill takes no substantive right away from

the public utility corporations. It enables, of

course, the public utility corporation to pursue its

remedy through all the courts of the States and

ultimately through the United States Supreme

Court itself, but it seeks to put the public utility

as a litigant in the same category that citizens of

the States would be put under like circumstances,

It would seem, from looking at the record of

the various cases that have gone to the court of last

resort, as if our public utility corporations main-

tain a circumlocution office the design of which

is to rival, in the matter of finality of fixing of

rates by the various States, the celebrated case of

Jarndyce against Jarndyce.

The bill comes here not from one State, but

it comes from many States of the Union. It has the

approval practically of every public utility com-

mission of every State that possesses such a com-

mission. It has the approval, too, of those who

have had great trouble and great labor and great

expense in endeavoring justly to fix the rates of

public utility corporations in the different States

of the Union.

I have with me letters from different States,

all approving the measure, all begging for the re-

lief. I have one from California from its railroad

commission and from the California Farm Bu-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

—

13

reau Federation, one from the Public Utilities

Commission of the State of Colorado, from the

Public Service Commission of Indiana at Indian-

apolis, from the Board of Railroad Commissioners

of the State of Montana, from the National Asso-

ciation of Railroad and Utility Commissioners,

which maintains an office in this city, from the

Public Service Commission of the State of Nevada

at Carson, from the Department of Public Service

of the State of New York, from the Public Com-

mission of Oregon, from the Public Service Com-

mission of Wisconsin, and various others, all unit-

ing in the plea for the passage of this bill and

praying that regulation, which has been attempted

by the States, may if just and fair, be ultimately

put in force without the intolerable and intermin-

able delays which have existed in the past.

Not only this, but the President himself dealt

with the subject when he was Governor of New

York, and he dealt with it in no uncertain tones.

In January 1930 President Roosevelt, then

Governor of the State of New York, sent a special

message to the New York Legislature, then in ses-

sion, from which I quote:

The recent decision of the Federal court in

the southern district of New York permitting the

New York Telephone Co. drastically to raise its

telephone rates brings to the fore in a striking

way the whole question of interference by the

United States courts with the regulatory powers

of our public-service commission. * * *

It means that hearings and trials which

rightfully should be held before our public-service

commission or before State courts are, by a

14

scratch of the pen, transferred to a special master

appointed by the Federal court. The State regula-

tory body * * * is laughed at by the utility seek-

ing refuge with a special master, who is un-

equipped by experience and training, as well as by

staff and assistants, to pursue that searching in-

quiry into the claims of the company which the

consuming public is entitled to demand. The spe-

cial master becomes the rate maker; the public-

service commission becomes a mere legal fantasy.

This power of the Federal court must be

abrogated.

This is the language of the President:

‘Only the Congress can give the remedy. Legis-

lation has been introduced in the Congress to carry

out this purpose. * * * I recommend to your honor-

able bodies that you memorialize the Congress to

pass this legislation.’

There have been classic examples during the

last few years of the methods that public utilities

pursue in order to delay and to hamper just regu-

lation and to prevent the putting into effect of

rates which are fixed by the public-utility commis-

sions of the various States. I cannot better show

the wrongs that have been permitted by the exist-

ing law, and the necessity for the measure which

is today presented, than by reading to you from

the Public Service Commission of the State of

Montana its peculiar experience in relation to its

endeavor to control and regulate Montana’s public

utilities. It is high time that the public utility was

taught by the Congress of the United States that

its rights are exactly the same as those of any

citizen of any State, but that it has no greater

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

15

rights and no higher privileges than any citizen

of the State; and it is endeavored by this measure

to put in the same category, so far as litigation is

concerned, the public utility with the citizen of

the State.

There is no reason in law, in equity, in jus-

tice, in governmental policy, indeed, in saying

that two bites at the cherry, as it were—two

sources of litigation—shall be open at the sweet

will of the public utility, where but one is given

to the ordinary citizen, and that a public utility

may go on with its litigation in a State court until

it thinks it may be defeated, and then go into a

United States court, obtain its injunction there,

refer the case to a master of its selection, who will

go over the same ground that the public-utility

commission has gone over and upon that evidence,

that has once been taken, again take as it sees fit,

through those who have little knowledge of the

subject, the same evidence, and then substitute its

will in the Federal court for the will of the State

court and the will of the people, who are repre-

sented by their public-utility commission.

It is that we seek to prevent here. The Judi-

ciary Committee, by a very large majority, re-

ported the bill favorably. My two distinguished

brethren—one from Vermont, the other from

Rhode Island—are in opposition, and have pre-

sented a minority report; but I challenge them to

present the view of a single State in opposition to

the legislation that is proposed, or in opposition to

curtailing the extraordinary and outrageous priv-

ilege, from the standpoint of litigation, that here-

tofore has been accorded to these public-utility

corporations.”

16

Opponents of the bill raised the question of con-

stitutionality and also whether it was wise to so limit

the jurisdiction of the federal courts in any event. The

proponents won since that great debate there has been

no question that it is the will of Congress that where a

plain, speedy and efficient remedy for the contest of

the public utility rates may be had in the state courts

the use of the federai courts are denied to public

utilities.

In 1937 Senator Johnson directed his attention to

a similar situation which then existed relative to the

federal courts’ interference with the collection of state

taxes. Senate Bill 1551 was introduced to limit the

lower courts’ jurisdiction and it was adopted in the

form shown on page 9 of this brief. In the 1948

revision of the Judiciary Code the amendment was

written as it appears in Title 48, U.S.C., Sec. 1341.

No great debate took place with reference to the

1937 amendment. In the report of the Committee on

the Judiciary, Report No. 1035, 75th Congress, Ist

Session, the Committee simply stated:

“Tt should be emphasized that the bill does not

take away any equitable right of the taxpayer or

deprive him of his day in court. Specific provision

is made that the suit will not be withdrawn from

the jurisdiction of the Federal district court ex-

cept where there is a plain, speedy, and efficient

remedy at law or in equity in the courts of the

State. A full hearing and judicial determination

of the controversy is assured. An appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States is available

as in other cases.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

17

The propriety of this kind of legislation was

fully discussed by the Senate Judiciary Committee

when the so-called Johnson Act of May 14, 1934,

S. 752, Public, No. 222, was favorably reported

and subsequently passed by the Congress.

The report on the Johnson bill pointed out

that the continuance of the unjust discrimination

between citizens of the State and foreign corpora-

tions doing business in such State has been the

cause of much controversy. The controversies aris-

ing out of the use of the injunctive process in State

tax cases would be eliminated by the passage of

this bill.”

Let us now look at the history of this litigation in-

volving the same area, the same tax and, in most cases,

the same parties. The legality of the Louisiana sever-

ance tax imposed on oil and gas produced from Barks-

dale Air Force Base was first litigated by the oil com-

panies in the Louisiana Courts in 1955 in the case of

Murphy Corporation, et al v. Fontenot, 255 La, 379,

73 So. 2d 180 (1954). The legality of the tax was up-

held by the Louisiana Supreme Court and the United

States Supreme Court denied certiorari. 348 U.S. 831,

99 L.Ed. 655, 75 S.Ct. 54. The oil companies then went

into federal court to test the question. In the case of

Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v. Fontenot the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

upheld the legality of the tax. Mississippi River Fuel

Corporation v. Fontenot, 5th C.A., 1956, 234 F, 2d

898. The United States Supreme Court denied writs.

Cert. den. 352 U.S. 916, 1 L.Ed. 2d 122, 77 S.Ct. 213.

After the loss in the Louisiana Supreme Court and

18

the loss in the federal Fifth Circuit the oil companies

had no choice except to wait for an excuse to present

the question to the courts again. This excuse arose in

the case of National Gas and Oil Corporation v. Wag-

gonner, 151 So. 2d 575 (1963), Cert. den. by the Lou-

isiana Supreme Court, 244 La. 463, 152 So. 2d 561.

This later case involved the imposition of an ad valorem

tax on certain equipment the oil companies possessed

in the area in question. This time the United States

Supreme Court granted writs and held that the ad

valorem tax could not be imposed because the equip-

ment was located in an area of exclusive federal juris-

diction. Humble Pipeline Company v. Waggonner, 376

U.S. 369, 11 L.Ed. 2d 782, 84 S.Ct. 857 (1964). Using

the Waggonner case as a spring board the oil companies

then again tested the legality of the severance tax in

the federal court. The federal court ruled against the

oil companies. Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v.

Cocreham, La. E.D., 1965, 247 F. Supp. 819, but on

appeal the Fifth Circuit over the strenuous objection of

the Collector as to its jurisdiction, declared the sever-

ance tax illegal on the basis of the Waggonner case

although the Waggonner case was an ad valorem tax

case. Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v. Cocreham,

5th C.A. 1967, 382 F. 2d 929. On application for a

rehearing the Fifth Circuit, sitting as a three judge

panel, refused to grant a rehearing by a two to one

decision. So, in 1968 the question of the legality of

the severance tax as applied to the oil companies

operating in the area in question stood as follows:

eoe.,rcec&n THE CNICN POOR COPY

19

1. The legality of the tax upheld by the Louisiana

Supreme Court in 1954. Certiorari denied by

the United States Supreme Court.

2. The legality of the tax upheld by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit in 1956. Certiorari denied by the United

States Supreme Court.

3. The legality of the tax overturned by the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in 1968. Rehearing denied by a two

to one decision. Certiorari denied by the

United States Supreme Court.

With the above history in mind the Collector filed

this suit in the Louisiana courts with the idea that the

Louisiana courts should have the opportunity to in-

terpret the state laws which had been interpreted by

the Fifth Circuit in the 1968 Mississippi River Fuel

case. But the Collector has been hamstrung in this

effort by the removal of this case to the federal courts.

In so hamstringing the Collector it is respectfully sub-

mitted that the lower district court as well as the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

has not only clearly disregarded the will of Congress

in limiting the lower federal courts’ jurisdiction as

shown by the great debate which took place when the

1934 amendment to the Judiciary Code was considered

but the Fifth Circuit has also placed the litigation of

state taxes back in the jungle of state and federal

concurrent jurisdiction and endless litigation as the

history of the litigation of this particular state tax for

the past 15 years so clearly shows.

_ - ve eee ee

20

PART II.

In the alternative, it is respectfully submitted

that when the question of the legality of a state tax

is pending in a state court and the state provides a

plain, speedy and efficient remedy for the contest

of the tax in the state court that even though a federal

court may have jurisdiction still the federal court

has no discretion but to stay its hand until the question

is resolved in the state court.

The Collector will now show this court that even

where there is unquestioned federal jurisdiction to hear

a case, as in a suit between citizens of different states

or the determination of a federal question if the tax-

payer has a plain, adequate and efficient remedy at

law in the state courts, the federal courts must not

exercise that jurisdiction until the highest courts of

the state whose statute is alleged to be unconstitutional

or otherwise illegal has had an opportunity to pass on

the illegality or unconstitutionality of the statute. This

is the doctrine of abstention.

In Great Lakes Dredge and Dock Co. v. Huffman,

319 U.S. 293, 87 L.Ed. 1407, 63 St. Ct., 1070 (1943),

the taxpayer brought suit in the District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana against a Louisiana

state officer charged with the administration of the

Louisiana Unemployment Compensation Law. The

prayer was for a judgment declaring the State law un-

constitutional as applied to the plaintiff and their em-

ployees. The statute in question exacts of employers

payment into the state unemployment insurance fund,

in the nature of an excise tax upon the exercise of the

or cent THO OICN POOR COPY

21

right or privilege of employing individuals and mea-

sured by a percentage of the wages paid. The District

Court held the law constitutional and so did the Fifth

Circuit. The Supreme Court granted certiorari and

specifically asked counsel:

“to discuss in their briefs and on oral argument

the question whether the declaratory judgment

procedure can be appropriately used in this case

where the complaint seeks a judgment against a

state officer to prevent enforcement of a state

statute.”

In its opinion the court considered Act No. 330

of the 1938 Louisiana Legislature and held that the

act, now LSA-R.S. 47:1576, provides an adequate rem-

edy in the Louisiana state courts for the recovery of

taxes paid under protest. Then the Supreme Court,

quoting liberally from Matthews v. Rodgers, 284 U.S.

521, 76 L.Ed. 447, 52 S.Ct. 217 (1931), affirmed:

“ _ . but solely on the ground that, in the appro-

priate exercise of the Court’s discretion, relief by

way of declaratory judgment should have been

denied.” (319 U.S. 299, 301; 87 L.Ed. 1407, 1413)

Leiter Minerals v. United States, 352 U.S. 220, 1

L.Ed. 2d 267, 77 S.Ct. 287 (1956). In 1938 one Leiter

conveyed certain lands to the United States with reser-

vation of his mineral rights. Leiter subsequently trans-

ferred his mineral rights to Leiter Minerals, the claim-

ant. No minerals were ever produced by either Leiter

or his successor by virtue of the mineral reservation. In

1950 the United States granted a mineral lease to the

22

California Company which produced oil, gas and other

minerals worth many millions of dollars. Leiter Min-

erals filed suit in the Louisiana State Courts to recover

the value of all the minerals produced by the California

Company on the ground that Leiter Minerals’ mineral

rights had never prescribed because of a 1940 Lov-

isiana Act which provided that mineral rights in exis-

tence at the time Louisiana land was acquired by the

United States were imprescriptible. The interpreta-

tion of the Louisiana statute was involved in the state

suit. Then the United States brought suit to quiet title

in its favor in the federal district court. The United

States District Court held that since the United States

was not a party to the state court action, title of the

United States with respect to the mineral rights could

be tried only in the suit in the federal court. This view

was upheld by the Fifth Circuit but the United States

Supreme Court modified the judgment of both the Dis-

trict Court and the Fifth Circuit. The Supreme Court

stated at 1 L.Ed. 2d 275, 352 U.S. 228:

“But the fact that the United States is not a party

to the state court litigation does not mean that the

federal court should initiate interpretation of a

state statute. In fact, where questions of constitu-

tionality are involved and the Government con-

tends that an application of the state statute ad-

verse to its interests would be unconstitutional

our rule has been precisely the opposite: ‘as ques-

tions of federal constitutional power have become

more and more interwined with preliminary

doubts about local law we have insisted that fed-

eral courts do not decide questions of constitution-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

23

ality on the basis of preliminary guesses regard-

ing local law.’ ”

(Numerous citations. )

The Supreme Court then ordered the judgment of the

Fifth Circuit and District Court modified so that ju-

risdiction was retained in the lower court but the court

was to stay its hand until an authoritative opinion of

the Louisiana Supreme Court as to the interpretation

of the state statute was obtained.

As to the final disposition of the case the Louisi-

ana Supreme Court did render an authoritative opinion

in a suit for a declaratory judgment which was subse-

quently filed in the Louisiana Courts. Leiter Minerals,

Inc. v. California Co., (La. 1961), 241 La. 915, 132

So 2d 845. The United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit rendered judgment for Leiter Minerals

in accordance with the interpretation of the Louisiana

statute by the Louisiana Supreme Court. Leiter Min-

erals, Inc. v. United States, 5th Cir., 1964, 329 F. 2d 85.

In Louisiana Power and Light Co. v. City of Thib-

odaux, 360 U.S. 25, 3 L.Ed. 2d 1058, 79 S.Ct. 1070

(1959), the City of Thibodaux, Louisiana filed a peti-

tion for expropriation in a Louisiana District Court,

asserting a taking of the property of a private power

company. The defendant removed the case to the

United States District Court for the Eastern District

of Louisiana on the basis of diversity of citizenship.

After a pretrial conference the district judge, citing

Leiter Minerals, supra, stayed the proceedings until

the Supreme Court of Louisiana had been afforded

24

an opportunity to interpret the statute on which the

city’s expropriation order was based. 153 F. Supp. 515.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir.

cuit reversed the District Court, 255 F. 2d 774, and

on certiorari the United States Supreme Court re-

versed the Fifth Circuit and reinstated the judgment of

the District Court, stating at 360 U.S. 27, 3 L.Ed. 2d

1061:

“We have increasingly recognized the wisdom of

staying actions in the federal courts pending de-

termination by a state court of decisive issues of

state law.”

After the decisions of the United States Supreme

Court in Huffman, supra, Leiter Minerals, supra, and

Louisiana Power and Light Co., supra, the Fifth Cir-

cuit had occasion to consider City of Houston v. Stan-

dard Triumph Motor Co., 5th Cir., 1965, 347 F. 2d 194.

Cert. denied, 382 U.S. 974, 15 L.Ed. 2d 466, 86 S.Ct.

539. The original question in that case was whether

imported English automobiles were immune from Tex-

as ad valorem taxation under the Import-Export

Clause of the United States Constitution. But the

original issue became secondary when the case reached

this Court because the appeal turned on whether the

District Court should have entertained the declaratory

judgment suit at all. The United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Fifth Circuit, after first discussing the

two United States Supreme Court cases of Matthews

v. Rodgers, supra, and Great Lakes Dredge & Dock

Co. v. Huffman, supra, held: At 347 F. 2d 198:

“ . . Wide as a Court’s power must be in the

BIL EED THROUGH POOR COPY

25

exercise of its discretion whether to grant declara-

tory relief, the Supreme Court makes clear that ‘it

is the court’s duty to withhold such relief’ when,

in the words of the Johnson Act, there is “‘a plain,

speedy and efficient remedy . . . in the courts of

the state. 319 U.S. at 300-301, 63 S.Ct. at 1074.

This is the decision that the Sixth Circuit has

twice reached. Helmsley v. City of Detroit, Mich.,

6 Cir., 1963, 320 F. 2d 476; Wyandotte Chemicals

Corp. v. City of Wyandotte, 6 Cir., 1963, 321 F. 2d

927. The critical turning point is the adequacy of

the state court remedies. See Township of Hills-

borough, Somerest County, New Jersey v. Crom-

well, 1946, 326 U.S. 620, 66 S.Ct. 445, 90 L.Ed.

358; Georgia Railroad & Banking Co. v. Redwine,

1952, 342 U.S. 299, 72 S.Ct. 321, 96 L.Ed. 335;

George F. Alger & Co. of Detroit, Michigan v.

Peck, S. D. Ohio, 1954, 119 F. Supp. 812, af-

firmed, 1954, 347 U.S. 984, 74 S.Ct. 853, 98 L.Ed.

1120, 1148; Livingston v. United States, E.D.S.C.,

179 F. Supp. 9, affirmed, 1960, 364 U.S. 281 80

S.Ct. 1611, 4 L.Ed. 2d 1719. Certainly, after em-

phasizing the pre-Johnson Act equitable limita-

tions congressionally approved and strengthened

by the enactment, it is inconceivable that the Su-

preme Court intended to allow any discretion to

grant declaratory relief where adequate state rem-

edies were available.”

Kaiser Steel Corporation v. Ranch Co., 391 U.S.

593, 20 L.Ed. 2d 835, 88 S.Ct. 1753 (1968), was a

diversity action brought in the United States District

Court for the District of New Mexico. Both the District

Court and the Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

(388 F. 2d 257), rejected defendant’s motion to stay

26

the federal action pending decision of the question of

state law by the state court. The United States Su-

preme Court reversed and stated at 20 L.Ed. 2d 837:

“The Court of Appeals erred in refusing to stay

its hand. The state law issue which is crucial in

this case is one of vital concern in the arid State

of New Mexico, where water is one of the most

valuable natural resources. The issues, moreover,

is truly a novel one. The question will eventually

have to be resolved by the New Mexico Courts, and

since a declaratory judgment action is actually

pending there, in all likelihood that resolution will

be forthcoming soon. Sound judicial administra-

tion requires that the parties in this case be given

the benefit of the same rule of law which will ap-

ply to all other businesses and landowners con-

cerned with the use of this vital state resource.”

Harrison v. N.A.A.C.P., 360 U.S. 167, 3 L.Ed.

2d 1152, 79 S.Ct. 1025 (1959). In this case registra-

tion and barratry statutes enacted by the Virginia

Legislature as part of its general plan of massive re-

sistance to the integration of schools of the state were

challenged by the National Association for the Ad-

vancement of Colored People in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Eastern District of Virginia as

invalid under the Fourteenth Amendment. The Dis-

trict Court, finding the statutes free from ambiguity,

declared them unconstitutional and enjoined their en-

forcement. (159 F. Supp. 503). The United States

Supreme Court held, at 360 U.S. 176, 3 L.Ed. 2d 1158:

“According every consideration to the opinion

of the majority below, we are nevertheless of the

view that the District Court should have abstained

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

wa

27

from deciding the merits of the issues tendered

it, so as to afford the Virginia courts a reason-

able opportunity to construe the three statutes in

question. In other words, we think that the Dis-

trict Court in dealing with Chapters 31, 32, and

35 should have followed the same course that it

did with respect to Chapters 33 and 36.

“This now well-established procedure is

aimed at the avoidance of unnecessary interfer-

ence by the federal courts with proper and validly

administered state concerns, a course SO essential

to the balanced working of our federal system. To

minimize the possibility of such interference a

‘scrupulous regard for the rightful independence

of state governments . . . should at all times act-

uate the federal courts,’ Matthews v. Rodgers, 284

U.S. 521, 525, 76 L.Ed. 447, 452, 52 S.Ct. 217, as

their ‘contribution . . . in furthering the harmon-

ious relation between state and federal authority

_. 2 Railroad Company v. Pullman Company 312

U.S. 496, 501, 85 L.Ed. 971, 61 S.Ct. 648. In the

service of this doctrine, which this Court has ap-

plied in many different contexts, no principle has

found more consistent or clear expression than

that the federal courts should not adjudicate the

constitutionality of state enactments fairly open

to interpretation until the state courts have been

afforded a reasonable opportunity to pass upon

them.”

Summarizing the above cases it can therefore be

said with confidence that when the question of juris-

diction is put at issue in matters relating to state taxes,

as was done in this case there must be an affirmative

showing that the state has not provided a plain, speedy

28

and efficient remedy for the contest of the tax statute

in the State Courts. Matthew v. Rodgers, supra and

Hillsborough Township v. Cromwell, supra. In the in-

stant case the United States Supreme Court has al-

ready held that Louisiana’s present statute does pro-

vide a plain, speedy and efficient remedy in the State’s

Courts for the recovery of taxes paid under protest.

Great Lakes Dredge and Dock Co. v. Huffman, supra.

Therefore this suit should have been remanded by the

District Court.

As to the Great Lakes case, supra, the United

States Supreme Court has ruled that even in cases

where there is jurisdiction in the federal courts the

federal court must stay its hand in ruling on a defense

based on the unconstitutionality of the state tax statute

until the State Courts have had an opportunity to rule

thereon, provided, of course, that the State provides a

plain, speedy and efficient remedy in the State Courts.

This court in City of Houston, supra, held that in such

cases it is mandatory on the District Courts to stay

their hand.

As to the cases of Leiter Minerals, supra, Louisi-

ana Power and Light Company, supra, Kaiser Steel

Corporation, supra, and Harrison v. N.A.A.C.P., su-

pra, the thrust of those United States Supreme Court

opinions is that even in cases where there is unques-

tioned federal jurisdiction, the District Courts must

stay their hands in any case where the unconstitution-

ality of any state law is contested if the state courts

provide a plain, adequate and efficient remedy for the

contest of the statute.

RI ECED THROUGH POOR COPY

29

In view of the above it is submitted that the Dis-

trict Court should have remanded this case to the Lou-

isiana District Court, or at least stayed its hand until

the Louisiana Court had ruled thereon.

PRAYER

In view of the foregoing the Petitioner, Ashton J.

Mouton, Collector of Revenue, State of Louisiana, asks

this Court:

1. To declare that the United States District

Court below did not have jurisdiction of this

case as a matter of federal law and to remand

this case with orders that it be remanded to

the Louisiana District Court. ‘

2. In the alternative, and only in the event this ;

Court should decide that the United States Dis- 4

trict Court below did have jurisdiction, that

this case be remanded with orders that the

lower court is to refrain from exercising its ;

jurisdiction until an authoritative interpreta-

tion of the Louisiana constitutional provision

and statutes involved in this case is made by

the Louisiana Supreme Court.

Ste ae

PETROL Se

RgSpectfully subpfitted :

bata

EMMETT E. BATSON,

Counsel of Record,

Louisiana Department of Revenue,

P. O. Box 201,

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821,

Area Code 504,

Telephone 389-5941.

ERE RIESE AINE TEE BEE LI ELLE LLY EAI BIO BNE UI IF Gt

30

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, EMMETT E. BATSON, attorney of record for

petitioner, do hereby certify that I have this day served

a copy of the foregoing petition with appendix on the

Solicitor General of the United States and on each of

the attorneys of record of the respondent as shown be-

low by depositing same in the United States Post Office

with sufficient air mail postage prepaid to those over

500 miles away and first class G to a less

than 500 miles

MMETT E. BATSON,

Counsel of Record.

Mr. Clyde R. Brown,

Attorney at Law,

Ouachita National Bank Building,

Monroe, Louisiana.

Solicitor General of the United States,

Department of Justice,

Washington, D. C. 20530

RI CEN THROLIGH POOR COPY

31

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OCTOBER TERM, 1968

No. 26751

D. C. Docket No. Civ. 68-105

AsHTON J. MOUTON, COLLECTOR OF REVENUE,

STATE OF LOUISIANA

Plaintiff-Appellant,

VERSUS

SINCLAIR OIL AND GAS COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana.

Before AINSWORTH and SIMPSON, Circuit Judges,

and MITCHELL, District Judge.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript

of the record from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana, and was argued by

counsel ;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now

here ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judg-

ment of the said District Court in this cause be, and

the same is hereby, affirmed ;

It is further ordered that plaintiff-appellant pay

to defendant-appellee, the costs on appeal to be taxed

by the Clerk of this Court.

Issued as Mandate: April 22, 1969

és

3

&

&

i

i

Ny

E

}

LE EOE |

32

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 26751

ASHTON J. MOUTON, COLLECTOR OF REVENUE,

STATE OF LOUISIANA,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

VERSUS

SINCLAIR OIL AND GAs COMPANY

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana

(April 22, 1969)

Before AINSWORTH and SIMPSON, Circuit Judges,

and MITCHELL, District Judge.

PER CURIAM: This suit was originally filed by

the Louisiana Collector of Revenue in a Louisiana state

court to collect certain state severance taxes claimed

to be due by defendant Sinclair Oil and Gas Company.

Sinclair removed the suit to the federal district court

and the Collector’s motion to remand for lack of juris-

diction was denied. Sinclair’s motion for summary

judgment based on our prior holding in Mississippi

River Fuel Corporation v. Cocreham, 5 Cir., 1967, 382

ear,rcecn THReCIIGH POOR COPY

33

F. 2d 929, rehearing denied, 1968, 390 F. 2d 34, cert.

denied, 390 U. S. 1015, 88 S. Ct. 1264 (1968), was

granted and the Collector of Revenue has appealed.

All of the legal contentions raised by the Collector

in this case have heretofore been considered and ruled

on adversely to him by this Court in the Mississippi

River Fuel case. (See our per curiam decision released

this day in the companion cases of Shell v. Mouton,

No. 26493, and Mouton v. Shell, No. 26730.)

Nor is there any merit in the Collector’s contention

that this suit was improperly removed from the Louis-

iana state court to the federal district court since it

is apparent that the federal court has jurisdiction both

under diversity of citizenship, 28 U.S.C. § 1332, in that

the Collector is acting unconstitutionally and therefore

in an individual capacity and not as the official repre-

sentative of the State of Louisiana, and because a fed-

eral question is presented, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, in that

the Collector is attempting to collect severance taxes

on oil and gas produced from a federal military en-

clave, Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana, on which

the United States has exclusive jurisdiction as provided

by Article I, Section 8, Clause 17, of the United States

Constitution. See Mississippi River Fuel Corporation,

supra at 934, citing Georgia R. R. & Banking Co. v.

Redwine, 342 U. S. 299, 72 S. Ct. 321 (1952), and Ex-

parte Young, 209 U. S. 123, 28 S. Ct. 441 (1908), in

support thereof. It was proper, under 28 U.S.C. § 1446,

to consider the stipulation of fact, together with the

allegations of the complaint, on the petition of the Col-

lector for removal.

34

Being of the opinion, therefore, that our holding in

Mississippi River Fuel, supra, is conclusive as to al]

the legal issues presented in this case, the judgment

appealed from is

AFFIRMED.

Adm. Office, U.S. Courts—Scofields’ Quality Printers, Inc.,

N. O., La.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

35

March 3, 1911, ¢. 231, Sec. 24, Paragraph 1, 36

Stat. 1091.

Sec. 24. The district courts shall have origi-

nal jurisdiction as follows:

First. Of all suits of a civil nature, at com-

mon law or in equity, brought by the United

States, or by any officer thereof authorized by law

to sue, or between citizens of the same State claim-

ing lands under grants from different States; or,

where the matter in controversy exceeds, exclu-

sive of interest and costs, the sum or value of

three thousand dollars, and (a) arises under the

Constitution or laws of the United States, or

treaties made, or which shall be made, under their

authority, or (b) is between citizens of different

States, or (c) is between citizens of a State and

foreign States, citizens, or subjects. No district

court shall have cognizance of any suit (except

upon foreign bills of exchange) to recover upon

any promissory note or other chose in action in

favor of any assignee, or of any subsequent holder

if such instrument be payable to bearer and be not

made by any corporation, unless such suit might

have been prosecuted in such court to recover upon

said note or other chose in action if no assignment

had been made: Provided, however, That the fore-

going provision as to the sum or value of the mat-

ter in controversy shall not be construed to apply

to any of the cases mentioned in the succeeding

paragraphs of this section.

May 14, 1934, c. 283, Sec. 1, 48 Stat. 775.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of

Representatives of the United States of America

in Congress assembled, That the first paragraph

36

of section 24 of the Judicial Code, as amended, ig

amended by adding at the end thereof the follow.

ing: “Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions

of this paragraph, no district court shall have

jurisdiction of any suit to enjoin, suspend, or re.

strain the enforcement, operation, or execution of

any order of an administrative board or commis-

sion of a State, or any rate-making body of any

political subdivision thereof, or to enjoin, suspend,

or restrain any action in compliance with any

such order, where jurisdiction is based solely upon

the ground of diversity of citizenship, or the re-

pugnance of such order to the Constitution of the

United States, where such order (1) affects rates

chargeable by a public utility, (2) does not inter-

fere with interstate commerce, and (3) has been

made after reasonable notice and hearing, and

where a plain, speedy, and efficient remedy may

be had at law or in equity in the courts of such

State.”

August 21, 1937, c. 726, Sec. 1, 50 Stat. 738.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of

Representatives of the United States of America

in Congress assembled, That the first paragraph

of section 24 of the Judicial Code, as amended, is

amended by adding at the end thereof the follow-

ing: “Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of _

this paragraph, no district court shall have juris-

diction of any suit to enjoin, suspend, or restrain _

the assessment, levy, or collection of any tax im-

posed by or pursuant to the laws of any State

where a plain, speedy, and efficient remedy may

be had at law or in equity in the courts of such

State.”

er. cen THO MICNn POOR COPY

37

28 United States Code, Sec. 1331. (1948 revision)

§ 1331. Federal question; amount in controversy;

costs

(a) The district courts shall have original

jurisdiction of all civil actions wherein the matter

in controversy exceeds the sum or value of $10,-

000, exclusive of interest and costs, and arises

under the Constitution, laws, or treaties of the

United States.

(b) Except when express provision therefor

is otherwise made in a statute of the United

States, where the plaintiff is finally adjudged to

be entitled to recover less than the sum or value of

$10,000, computed without regard to any setoff

or counterclaim to which the defendant may be

adjudged to be entitled, and exclusive of interests

and costs, the district court may deny costs to the

plaintiff and, in addition, may impose costs on the

plaintiff. June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 930; July

25, 1958, Pub.L. 85-554, § 1, 72 Stat. 415.

House Committee Report on the above revision.

Revision of Title 28, United States Code, House Report

308, 80th Congress, 1st Session.

SECTION 1331-SECTION REVISED

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., § 41(1)

(Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, § 24, par. 1, 36 Stat. 1091;

May 14, 1934, ch. 283, § 1, 48 Stat. 775; Aug. 21,

1937, ch. 726, § 1, 50 Stat. 738; Apr. 20, 1940, ch.

117, 54 Stat. 143).

Jurisdiction of federal questions arising un-

der other sections of this chapter is not dependent

eR et

ERM PAI NOLL EL LF IT RTT TS

38

upon the amount in controversy. (See annotations

under section 41 of title 28, U. S. C. A., and 35

C. J. S., p. 833 et seq., §§ 30-43. See, also, reviser’s

note under section 1332 of this title.

Words “wherein the matter in controversy

exceeds the sum or value of $3,000, exclusive of

interest and costs,” were added to conform to rul-

ings of the Supreme Court. See construction of

provision relating to jurisdictional amount re-

quirement in cases involving a Federal question

in United States v. Sayward, 16 S.Ct. 371, 160

U.S. 493, 40 L.Ed. 508; Fishback v. Western

Union Tel. Co., 16 S. Ct. 506, 161 U. S. 96, 40

L.Ed. 630; and Halt v. Indiana Manufacturing

Co., 1900, 20 S. Ct. 272, 176 U. S. 68, 44 L. Ed.

374,

Words “all civil actions” were substituted

for “all suits of a civil nature, at common !aw or

in equity” to conform with Rule 2 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure.

Words “or treaties” were substituted for “or

treaties made, or which shall be made under their

authority,” for purposes of brevity.

The remaining provisions of section 41 (1)

of title 28, U. S. C., 1940 ed., are incorporated in

sections 1332, 1341, 1342, 1345, 1354, and 1359

of this title.

Changes were made in arrangement and

phraseology.

28 United States Code, Sec. 1332, (1948 Revi-

sion)

§ 1332. Diversity of citizenship; amount in contro-

versy; costs

Rtococn THROLIGH POOR COPY

39

(a) The district courts shall have original

jurisdiction of all civil actions where the matter

in controversy exceeds the sum or value of $10,-

000, exclusive of interest and costs, and is be-

tween—

(1) citizens of different States;

(2) citizens of a State, and foreign

states or citizens or subjects thereof; and

(3) citizens of different States and in

which foreign states or citizens or subjects

thereof are additional parties.

(b) Except when express provision there-

for is otherwise made in a statute of the United

States, where the plaintiff who files the case origi-

nally in the Federal courts is finally adjudged to

be entitled to recover less than the sum or value of

$10,000, computed without regard to any setoff or

counterclaim to which the defendant may be ad-

judged to be entitled, and exclusive of interest

and costs, the district court may deny costs to the

plaintiff and, in addition, may impose costs on the

plaintiff.

(c) For the purposes of this section and sec-

tion 1441 of this title, a corporation shall be

deemed a citizen of any State by which it has been

incorporated and of the State where it has its

principal place of business: Provided further,

That in any direct action against the insurer of a

policy or contract of liability insurance, whether

incorporated or unincorporated, to which action

the insured is not joined as a party-defendant,

such insurer shall be deemed a citizen of the State

of which the insured is a citizen, as well as of any

40

State by which the insurer has been incorporated,

and of the State where it has its principal place of

business.

(d) The word “States”, as used in this sec-

tion, includes the Territories, the District of Co-

lumbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 930; July 26, 1956,

ce. 740, 70 Stat. 658; July 25, 1958, Pub.L. 85-

554, § 2, 72 Stat. 415; Aug. 14, 1964, Pub.L. 88-

439, § 1, Stat. 445.

House Committee report on above section. Revi-

sion of Title 28, United States Code, House Report 308,

80th Congress, Ist Session.

SECTION 1332-SECTION REVISED

Based on title 28, U. S. C., 1940-ed., § 41

(1) (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, § 24, par. 1, 36 Stat.

1091; May 14, 1934, ch. 283, § 1, 48 Stat. 775;

Aug. 21, 1937, ch. 726, § 1, 50 Stat. 738; Apr. 20,

1940, ch. 117, 54 Stat. 143).

Other provisions of section 41 (1) of title 28,

U. S. C., 1940 ed., are incorporated in sections

1331, 1341, 13842, 1345, 1354, and 1359 of this

title. (See reviser’s notes under said sections. )

Jurisdiction conferred by other sections of

this chapter, except section 1335, is not dependent

upon diversity of citizenship. (See annotations

under section 41 of title 28, U. S. C. A., and 35

C. J. S., p. 833; et seq., §§ 30-43. See, also, revis-

er’s note under section 1331 of this title.) As to

citizenship of bank where jurisdiction depends

upon diversity of citizenship, see section 1348 of

this title.

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

41

Words “all civil actions” were substituted for

“all suits of a civil nature, at common law or in

equity” in order to conform to Rule 2 of the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure.

Words “or citizens of the District of Colum-

bia, Territory of Hawaii, or Alaska, and any

State or Territory” which were inserted by the

amendatory Act April 20, 1940, are omitted. The

word “States” is defined in this section and enu-

meration of the references is unnecessary.

The revised section conforms with the views

of Philip F. Herrick, United States Attorney,

Puerto Rico, who observed that the Act of April

20, 1940 permitted action between a citizen of

Hawaii and of Puerto Rico, but not between a

citizen of New York and Puerto Rico, in the dis-

trict court.

This changes the law to insure uniformity.

The 1940 amendment applied only to the provi-

sion as to controversies between “citizens of dif-

ferent States.” The new definition in subsection

(b) extends the 1940 amendment to apply to con-

troversies between citizens of the Territories or

the District of Columbia, and foreign states or

citizens or subjects thereof.

The diversity of citizenship language of sec-

tion 41 (1) of title 28, U. S. C., 1940 ed., as

amended in 1940, was described as ambiguous in

McGarry v. City of Bethlehem, 45 F. Supp. 385,

386. In that case the 1940 amendments was held

unconstitutional insofar as it affected the District

of Columbia. However, two other district courts

upheld the amendment. Winkler v. Daniels, D. C.

42

Va. 1942, 43 F. Supp. 265; Glaeser v. Acacia My-

tual Life Assn., D. C. Cal. 1944, 55 F. Supp. 925,

This section is intended to cover all diversity

of citizenship instances in civil actions in accor.

dance with the judicial construction of the lan-

guage in the original section 41 (1) of title 28,

U.S. C., 1940 ed. Therefore, the revised language

covers civil actions between—

Citizens of a State, and citizens of other

States and foreign states or citizens or subjects

thereof ;

Citizens of a Territory or the District of Col-

lumbia, and foreign states or citizens or subjects

thereof ;

Citizens of different States;

Citizens of different Territories;

Citizens of a State, and citizens of Territor-

ies;

Citizens of a State or Territory, and Citizens

of the District of Columbia;

Citizens of a State, and foreign states or

citizens or subjects thereof.

The revised section removes an uncertainty

referred to in the McGarry case, supra, as to

whether Congress intended to permit citizens of

the Territories or the District of Columbia to sue

a State or Territory itself rather than the citizens

thereof. The court observed that “Congress could

hardly have had such intention.”

The sentence “The foregoing provisions as to

the sum or value of the matter in controversy shall

not be construed to apply to any of the cases men-

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

43

tioned in the succeeding paragraphs of this sec-

tion” was omitted as unnecessary. Those para-

graphs are (2)-(28) of said section 41 of title 28,

U. S. C., 1940 ed., which are revised and incor-

porated in this chapter and, except for those relat-

ing to actions against the United States and inter-

pleader, contains no provision as to a sum or value

necessary to confer jurisdiction. Consequently the

omitted sentence is covered by excluding such re-

quirement.

Section 41 (1) of title 28, U. S. C., 1940 ed.,

as originally enacted, purported to include all

jurisdictional provisions relating to the district

courts. Subsequently, many special jurisdictional

provisions were enacted and incorporated in other

titles of the U. S. C., 1940 ed., as follows:

28 United States Code, Sec. 1341 (As it now

reads)

§ 1341. Taxes by States

The district courts shall not enjoin, suspend

or restrain the assessment, levy or collection of

any tax under State law where a plain, speedy

and efficient remedy may be had in the courts of

such State. June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 932.

House Committee Report on above section. Revi-

sion of Title 28, United States Code, House Report

308, 80th Congress, 1st Session.

SECTION 1341-SECTION REVISED

Based on title 28, U. S. C., 1940 ed., § 41 (1)

(Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, § 24, par. 1, 36 Stat. 1091;

May 14, 1934, ch. 283, § 1, 48 Stat. 775; Aug. 21,

RURAL

44

1937, ch. 726, § 1, 50 Stat. 738; Apr. 20, 1940, ch,

117, 54 Stat. 143).

This section restates the last sentence of see.

tion 41 (1) of title 28, U. S. C., 1940 ed.

Other provisions of section 41 (1) of title 28,

U. S. C., 1940 ed., are incorporated in sections

1331, 1332, 1342, 1345, 1354, and 1359 of this

title.

Words “at law or in equity” before “in the

courts of such State” were omitted as unneces-

sary.

Words “civil action” were substituted for

“suit” in view of rule 2 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure.

Words “under State law” were substituted

for “imposed by or: pursuant to the laws of any

State” for the same reason.

Title 47, Section 1576, Louisiana Revised Statutes

of 1950.

§ 1576. Payment of tax under protest; remedy at

law for recovery

A right of action is hereby created to afford

a remedy at law for any person aggrieved by the

prohibition of courts restraining the collection of

tax, penalty, interest or other charges imposed in

this Sub-title. The person resisting the payment

of any amount found due by the collector, or of en-

forcement of any provisions of this Sub-title, shall

pay the amount found due to the collector and at

that time shall give the collector notice of his in-

tention to file suit for the recovery thereof. Upon

receipt of this notice, the amount paid shall be .

BLEED THROUGH POOR COPY

45

segregated and held by the collector or his duly

authorized representatives for a period of thirty

days. If suit is filed within the thirty-day period

for the recovery of such amount, the funds segre-

gated shall be further held pending the outcome

of the suit. If the person prevails, the collector

shall refund the amount to the claimant, with in-

terest at the rate of 2% per annum covering the

period from the date said funds were received by

the collector to the date of refund.

This Section shall afford a legal remedy and

right of action in any state or federal court hav-

ing jurisdiction of the parties and subject matter,

for a full and complete adjudication of any and all

questions arising in the enforcement of this Sub-

title, as to the legality of any tax accrued or ac-

cruing or the method of enforcement thereof. In

such action, service of process upon the collector

shall be sufficient service, and he shall be the sole

necessary and proper party defendant in any such

suit.

This Section shall be construed to provide a

legal remedy in the state or federal courts, by ac-

tion at law, in case such taxes are claimed to be

an unlawful burden upon interstate commerce, or

the collection thereof, in violation of any Act of

Congress or the United States Constitution, or the

Constitution of the State of Louisiana, or in any

case where jurisdiction is vested in any of the

courts of the United States.

Upon request of a person and proper showing

by such person that the principle of law involved

in an additional assessment is already pending

before the courts for judicial determination, such

4

«

Re

2

be

e

vw.

46

person, upon agreement to abide by the decision

of the courts, may pay the additional assessment

under protest, but need not file an additional suit.

In such cases the tax so paid under protest shall

be segregated and held by the collector until the

question of law involved has been determined by

the courts and shall then be disposed of as therein

provided.

B-2029, 7-69

47

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

BATON ROUGE DIVISION

ASHTON J. MouTON, COLLECTOR OF REVENUE,

STATE OF LOUISIANA,

Plaintiff,

v.

SINCLAIR OIL AND GAS COMPANY,

Defendant.

CIVIL ACTION No. 68-105

ORDER AND JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on motion of the

Plaintiff to remand the same to the Nineteenth Judi-

cial District Court in and for the Parish of East Baton

Rouge, State of Louisiana, and on motion of Defendant

for summary judgment and on cross-motion of the

Plaintiff for summary judgment, and the Court having

considered the record of the cause in the Nineteenth

Judicial District Court in and for the Parish of East

Baton Rouge, State of Louisiana, attached to Defen-

dant’s petition for removal, including the stipulation of

the parties, and having heard the argument of counsel,

and due deliberation having been had thereon, it is.

(1) Ordered that this Court has jurisdiction of

this cause, and, therefore, Plaintiff’s motion to remand

be, and it is hereby, denied ;

(2) Ordered that Plaintiff's cross-motion for

summary judgment be, and it is hereby, denie?;

48

(3) Ordered, the Court finding that upon the

pleadings and admissions on file that there is no gen-

uine issue as to any fact herein, that, as a matter of

law, Defendant is entitled to the relief prayed for in

its motion for a summary judgment for the reasons

and conclusions set out by the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals in Mississippi River Fuel Corporation v. Coc-

reham, 382 F. 2d 929 (5th Cir. 1967), writs refused

88 S. Ct. 1264 (1968), that, accordingly, Defendant's

said motion for summary judgment be, and the same

is hereby, granted, and that the Plaintiff have and re-

cover nothing by his suit.

DATED July 31, 1968

E. GORDON WEST

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

49

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Emmett E. Batson, attorney of record for peti-

tioner, do hereby certify that I have this day served a

copy of the foregoing order and judgment on the Solici-

tor General of the United States and on the attorney of

record for the respondent as shown below by deposit-

ing same in the United States Post Office with suffi-

cient air mail repaid to those over miles

away and first n 500

miles distant.

Mr. Clyde R. Brown

Attorney at Law

Quachita National Bank Building

Monroe, Louisiana

Solicitor General of the United States

Department of Justice

Washington, D. C. 20530

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.