Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Committee to Oppose the Sale of St. Bartholomew's Church, Inc. v. Rector

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

90-9 00

No. 90-

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

THE RECTOR, WARDENS AND MEMBERS OF THE

VESTRY OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH,

Petitioner,

—against—

THE CITY OF NEW YORK AND

THE LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Douglas M. Parker

Counsel Of Record

Judah Gribetz

Of Counsel: George A. Pierce

MUDGE ROSE GUTHRIE

ALEXANDER & FERDON

180 Maiden Lane

New York, New York 10038

Kent Greenawalt

New York, New York (212) 510-7000

Henry P. Monaghan

New York, New York

Counsel for Petitioner,

Raymond L. Vandenberg The Rector, Wardens And

Chancellor of Members Of The Vestry Of

St. Bartholomew’s Church St. Bartholomew’s Church

December 10, 1990

7

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether Employment Division v. Smith, 110 S.Ct. 1595

(1990), may be extended to uphold a landmarks preserva-

tion law against a First Amendment challenge where:

(a) the law is applied selectively and has a dispropor-

tionate impact on religious organizations;

(b) the law provides a system of individualized exemp-

tions that excludes consideration of religious hard-

ship; and

(c) application of the law gives rise to a “hybrid” case

that also involves the constitutional protection pro-

vided by the takings clause of the Fifth

Amendment?

Whether the court of appeals applied an erronsous consti-

tutional standard in holding that, although the application

of a landmarks preservation law to petitioner “drastically

restricted” petitioner’s ability to generate revenue to sup-

port its religious mission, no infringement of petitioner’s

First Amendment rights could be found absent proof that

petitioner “cannot continue its religious practice in its

existing facilities?”

Whether the court of appeals erred in requiring petitioner

to show, in order to establish a taking under the Fifth

Amendment, that it “cannot continue its existing charita-

ble and religious activities in its current facilities,” even

though application of the landmarks preservation law had

destroyed more than eighty percent of the total value of

petitioner’s property?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i

TABLE OF CONTENTS .. see

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iv

OPINIONS BELOW casa

JURISDICTION 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. eccsssccccssessssesnseesssenssessee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 6

Certiorari Should be Granted to Review the

Denial of Petitioner’s First Amendment Claims ..... 10

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Review The

Denial of Petitioner’s Claim Under the Fifth

Amendment ................ ; 21

COP IUIIIITT ~ csnsisdivccnskdansnuctsinieebiccashectiaisigubibimiaabaansdcumisiancaaiias 30

APPENDIX

The Rector, Wardens, And

Members Of The Vestry Of

St. Bartholomew's Church v. The

City Of New York, et al., 914 F.2d

De ee ee I ee ek ee eee Weeks l

ee ee a ee ee ese tas te ee ee Ne See eee eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS, Continued

The Rector, Wardens, And

Members Of The Vestry Of

St. Bartholomew’s Church v. City

of New York, et al., 728 F. Supp.

958 DN.Y, A990) a. 2 >

United States Constitution,

Amendments 1,5 and14 ....

Ok ae

Administrative Code Of The City

Of New York §§ 25-301 to 25-321

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980). 26

Bowen v. Roy, 476 U.S. 693 (1986)...... 12

Church of St. Paul and St. Andrew v. —

Barwick, 67 N.Y .2d 510, 496 N.E.2d

183 cert. denied, 479 U.S. 985 (1986) 13

City Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent,

466 U.S. 789 (1984) ........ccssccscersscersees 15

Corporation of Presiding Bishop v. Amos,

483 U.S. 327 (1987) 17

Employment Div., Department of Human

Resources of Oregon v. Smith, ___

US. __, 110 S.Ct. 1595 (1990)........ 8, 10

First Covenant Church of Seattle v. City

of Seattle, 114 Wash.2d 392, 787

Fy eS: eS -- F,-43,-16

First Unitarian Church v. Los Angeles,

BF FB. FES CORI scsctcctcratinnivvcenssesions 17

Follett v. McCormick, 321 U.S. 573

CUD Bait cttincclalisionis sihesisbibiebpicindidtaniooe 11

3 Hernandez v. Commissioner, ___ USS.

__-» 109 S.Ct. 2136 (1989) .......cccccccee. 10, 18

Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S. 704 (1987)... 27

—jv—

Jimmy Swaggart Ministries v. Board of

Equalization, ___ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct.

688 (1990) 10, 11, 18, 19, 21

Kedroff v. St. Nicholas Cathedral, 344

U.S. 94 (1952). 17

Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. De

Benedictis, 480 U.S. 470 (1987)...... 25, 27

Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v.

Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue,

460 U.S. 575 (1983) 11

Murdock v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105

CUBES) caiitictnisiaidcnstddcsilitiiccniistritioestienes 11

NLRB v. Catholic Bishop of Chicago,

a Be GL | Seen 17

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 US. 183

CIEE ciciieesinattib ainiaedinpiiedininhalhinteiiacincescenve 26

Nollan v. California Coastal Commission,

BBD BUR BAS C1067) svi ccscsevesseensciscsevecss 26, 27

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City

of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) 9, 21, 22, 23, 24

Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 US.

Fe Bini cracilietiiaapintbiiliwinndasesitininesese 25

Seawall Associates v. City of New York,

74 N.Y.2d 92, 542 N.E.2d 1059

(1989), cert. denied sub nom.

Wilkerson v. Seawall Associates, ___

US. __, 110 S.Ct. 500 (1989).......... 23, 27

Secretary of State of Maryland

v. J.H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947

(1984)

ciety for Ethical Culture v. Spatt,

51 N.Y.2d 449, 415 N.E.2d 922,

(1980)

Society of Jesus of New Engiand et al. v.

Boston Landmarks, Suffolk Co. of

Mass., appeal docketed No. 5415 (Sup.

Jud. Ct. Mass. June 22, 1990).......

Speiser v. Randall, 357 US. 513

(1958)

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205

(1972) ;

STATUTES, RULES AND

REGULATIONS

United States Constitution First

FO RE LOE ET Le ee

United States Constitution Fifth

PIE evictnestcaniactersentnaccndsmtaicioe

United States Constitution Fourteenth

PIE Sovvecnsenctawiinteicn tanstanicanks

ge Sa SE. RR he be TREES RE

ae Nae ee ee

aeeee

18

4, 9, 12

10, 14

passim

passim

N.Y.C. Administrative Code Ch. 3 §

25-301 et. seqg., (“Landmarks Law’’)

OTHER AUTHORITY

Laycock, Towards a General Theory of

the Religion Clauses: The Case of

Church Labor Relations and the Right

to Church Autonomy, 81

Colum. L. Rev. 1373 (1981)...............

‘Marcus, The Grand Slam Grand Central

Terminal Decision: A. Euclid for

Landmarks, Favorable Notice for TDR

And a Resolution of the Regulatory/

Taking Impasse, 7 Ecology Law

Quarterly 731 (1979). .........cccsscescsscers

N.Y. Times September 15, 1990, § B at

i TSE ai Wildthnidnecicbintivnieoesiuneinstorenraeen

passim

17

x

--

;

3S

5

So. Oe Pew eee ee eo ete oe ad ee

TA Pes te ee ;

a e

z Pees Sime sti ee eee 3

; + are ?

S Sapet

SEs Eke Vs

E SeC OIE: PR

=.

sil

IN THE

SUPREME COURY OF THE UNITE” STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90

THE RECTOR, WARDENS AND MEMBERS OF THE

VESTRY OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH,

Petitioner,

Vv.

THE CITY OF NEW YORK AND

THE LANDMARKS PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF

THE CITY OF NEW YORK,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner respectfully requests that a writ of certiorari

be issued to review the decision and judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, in

St. Bartholomew's Church v. City of New York, 2d Cir. No.

90-7101 (Sept. 12, 1990).

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 914

F.2d 348 (2d Cir. 1990). The district court opinion is reported

at 728 F. Supp. 958 (S.D.N.Y. 1989).'

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

September 12, 1990. This Court has jurisdiction to review the

judgment of the court of appeals by writ of certiorari pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This action arises under the First, Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution and 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 and involves the Landmarks Law of New York City,

New York City Administrative Code §§ 25-301 to 25-321

(1996)(“Landmarks Law”). (61a — 99a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the burdens imposed by the

Landmarks Law on churches and other religious organizations

generally and, in particular, upon petitioner, The Rector,

Wardens and Members of the Vestry of St. Bartholomew’s

Church (“St. Bartholomew’s” or the “Church”).

In this case, the application of the Landmarks Law has

prevented petitioner from developing a portion of its property to

support its religious mission. Specifically, petitioner seeks to

1. The opinion of the court of appeals is reprinted at pages la — 24a of the

appendix to this brief. The district court opinion is reprinted at pages 25a —

57a of the appendix to this brief. The appendix in the court of appeals is cited

as “(A. ___).” The appendix in the district court is cited by volume/page; for

example, 10/3271 refers to volume 10, page 3271 of the district court

appendix.

alliis

demolish the community house adjacent to its church building

and erect a new building. The lower floors of the new building

would provide space for various church activities. The upper

floors would generate income that petitioner believes is essential

to support its mission, to repair and rehabilitate the church

building and, indeed, to assure its survival. The application of

the Landmarks Law has destroyed ninety percent of the value of

the community house site and eighty percent of the value of the

entire property and has deprived the Church of the ability to use

any of that value in support of its mission. In addition, the

Church has been left with a facility that provides insufficient

space and is in need of major repair and rehabilitation.

1. The Landmarks Law and Religious Organizations.

The Landmarks Law permits the designation as a land-

mark of any 30 year old building determined by the Landmarks

Preservation Commission (“the Commission”) to have “a special

character.” Landmarks Law § 25-302 n., (66a).’

As of 1986, approximately 600 buildings in New York

City had been individually landmarked, and of that number 95

were churches or other religious buildings. (A. 188). Each of

the churches whose property has been landmarked must, under

criminal penalty, maintain the landmarked appearance of that

property and cannot make any alteration or modification to the

exterior without the permission of the Commission. Landmarks

Law §§ 25-305, 25-317, (74a — 76a, 95a — 96a).

If a church seeks to alter its property it must first

apply for a “certificate of appropriateness” that will be granted

or denied by the Commission on the basis of its aesthetic

judgment. Landmarks Law §§ 25-307 a., 25-307 d., (77a,

79a). If a certificate of appropriateness is denied, the church

2. The Landmarks Law also autborizes the designation of historic districts but

such designations are not at issue in this action.

"a

may then apply to the Commission for a “certificate of

appropriateness on the ground of insufficient return.”

2. The Landmarks Law and St. Bartholomew’s.

St. Bartholomew’s was organized as a Protestant

Episcopal Church in 1835. The Church constructed buildings

on its current site, at the corner of Park Avenue and 50th Street,

in 1918. The buildings originally consisted of the church build-

ing and a small parish house. In 1927, the parish house was

demolished and ihe present community house was constructed.

(10/3271-73).

On March 16, 1967, the Commission issued a report

designating the church building and the community house a

landmark. (A. 596-97). Although the designation report of the

Commission detailed the many beautiful architectural features

of the church that formed the basis for designation, it did not

ascribe any distinctive architectural features to the community

house.

In December, 1983, the Church applied for a certifi-

cate of appropriateness to construct a 59 story building on the

site of the community house. By letter dated June 21, 1984, the

Commission criticized the design of the proposed building and

denied the Church’s application. (A. 598-603).

3. To obtain such certificate, a church (or other tax exempt owner) must

establish, inter alia, that the property, if it were not tax exempt, would be

incapable of earning a reasonable return and that the property is no longer

“adequate, suitable or appropriate” for its charitable purposes. Landmarks

Law §§ 25-309 a.(1)(a), (80a). In addition to the statutory test, the New

York Courts have developed as a “judicial test” an alternative standard for

relief applicable to charitable institutions including churches: i.e., that a land-

mark designation is permitted “only so long as it does not physically or finan-

cially prevent, or seriously interfere with the carrying out of the charitable

purpose.” Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 455, 415

N.E.2d 922, 925 (1980).

—4-

In December, 1984, the Church made a second

application for a certificate of appropriateness. It was based

upon a complete redesign of the proposed building to meet the

aesthetic objections of the Commission to the first building.‘

Nevertheless, the Commission rejected the redesigned building.

(A. 604-07).

In September, 1985, the Church applied for relief on

the ground of “insufficient return.” The Church presented evi-

dence that the space in the community house is inadequate to

accommodate the current needs of the Church’s programs, and

that both the church building and the community house suffer

from serious physical deterioration. (E.g., A. 506-29, 635-72).

An expert witness for the Church estimated that the cost of the

essential repair and rehabilitation work needed to permit both

buildings to function safely and adequately would exceed $11

million. (A. 644-47).

The Church also established that the major portion of

the value of its property lay in its development value. When the

Landmarks Law destroyed that value, it reduced the total value

of the Church’s property by more than eighty percent.

Specifically, a report and testimony of an appraisal firm placed

the value of the entire landmark site, if not landmarked, at

$175,000,000, and as landmarked at $35,000,000. The value of

the community house site alone, if not landmarked, was found to

be $125,000,000, and as landmarked, $15,000,000.

(A. 608-09).

On February 24-25, 1986, the Commission passed res-

olutions denying the Church’s application. The resolutions were

based, in principal part, upon estimates of repair and

4. The redesigned building reflected a twenty percent reduction in space avail-

able for the community house and a fifty-two per cent reduction in the space

to be leased as commercial offices. (A. 482-83). In addition, the materials

and texture of the proposed building had been changed from reflective glass to

limestone and brick in order to harmonize with the church building.

(A. 456-78, 1118).

we

rehabilitation introduced at Executive Sessions of the

Commission to which the Church had requested — and been

denied — an opportunity to respond. (A. 407-48, 764-69).

Such estimates totaled approximately $3 million.

This action was commenced in April, 1986. The com-

plaint challenged the constitutionality of the Landmarks Law as

applied to St. Bartholomew’s and the facial validity of the law

as applied to religious organizations generally. Federal claims

were asserted under the First, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

The district court upheld the facial validity. of the

Landmarks Law as applied to religious organizations generally.

The court also rejected the Church’s claims that the application

of that law to St. Bartholomew’s had violated its rights under

the First and Fifth Amendments as incorporated by the

Fourteenth Amendment. The latter claims were denied on the

grounds that the Church had failed to prove that “it can no

longer conduct its charitable activities or carry out its religious

mission in its existing facilities.” (57a).

The court of appeals affirmed. Without considering

the impact of the law on religious organizations generally, it

approved the standard applied by the district court with respect

to St. Bartholomew’s and the finding that the Church had

failed to meet that standard.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

“ [The court of appeals decision] is a total affirmation,

really, of our powers,” said Laurie Beckelman, chair-

woman of the city’s Landmarks Preservation

Commission. She said the court was affirming “the

absolute power” of the commission “to designate and

regulate religious properties as landmarks.” The New

York Times, Sec. B, p. 4, col. 2, September 13, 1990.

* * *

The power of landmark preservation commissions to

appropriate religious property has become a painful reality to

religious organizations throughout the country. As neighbor-

hoods change, congregations, once—thriving but now diminished,

are often left with buildings that are ill-suited to their needs and

costly to maintain and repair. When those buildings have been

landmarked, the capacity of a church to plot a course for sur-

vival is seriously threatened. If the church seeks to modify such

a building — to serve the changing needs of its congregation —

it will quickly discover that its destiny rests in the hands of a

secular agency whose priorities are altogether different and

whose discretion is virtually unfettered.

Against this background, the present case raises issues

of broad significance in two areas of constitutional

jurisprudence: the free exercise clause of the First Amendment

and the takings clause of the Fifth Amendment. Although the

free exercise clause and the takings clause implicate quite differ-

ent values, the court of appeals rejected petitioner’s claims

under each clause by application of the same simplistic formula

— that no constitutional violation has occurred so long as peti-

tioner has not been prevented from carrying on its existing activ-

ities in its current facilities. That standard has no basis in the

precedents of this Court and conflicts with decisions of the high-

est courts of the states of Washington and New York.

Free Exercise. In rejecting petitioner’s free exercise

claims, the court of appeals ignored the effect of the Landmarks

Law on religious organizations generally and looked only to the

impact on petitioner. The court then proceeded to create a stan-

dard that denies petitioner the ability to adapt its property to a

use compelled by the religious convictions of its congregation.

The decision of the court of appeals and the standard it applied

were clearly in conflict with the recent decision of the Supreme

Court of Washington in First Covenant Church vy. City of

Seattle, 114 Wash.2d 392, 787 P.2d 1352 (1990) which had

found the landmarking of a church to be a violation of the free

exercise clause.’

The decision by the court of appeals herein did not dis-

cuss, or even cite, First Covenant. Rather, the court relied prin-

cipally on this Court’s decision in Employment Division v.

Smith, __ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct. 1595 (1990), which held that

requiring compliance with a neutral and generally applicable

criminal law did not infringe the free exercise clause. The most

basic error of the court of appeals was to conclude that the

Landmarks Law is a “generally applicable” law within the

meaning of Smith. Moreover, the court failed to consider the

two major exceptions to the applicability of Smith that were

explicitly recognized in that case: (a) cases arising under laws

that provide systems of individualized exemptions but exclude

(as the Landmarks Law does) consideration of religious hard-

ship; and (b) “hybrid” cases wherein a free exercise claim is

joined with a claim of other constitutional rights, in this case

petitioner’s rights as a property owner under the Fifth

Amendment.’ In short, the decision below represents a broad

and unwarranted expansion of Smith that this Court should

correct.

Takings. Petitioner’s takings claim presents an impor-

tant question not previously addressed by this Court: the stan-

daré to be applied in determining whether a regulation that

affects the property of a charitable or religious institution con-

stitutes a taking. We submit that, while the takings analysis

may differ in some particulars, a charitable or religious property

5. The landmarking of a church was also invalidated on First Amendment

grounds in Society of Jesus of New England et al. v. Boston Landmarks,

Suffolk Co. of Mass., appeal docketed No. 5415 (Sup. Jud. Ct. Mass.

June 22, 1990).

6. Subsequent to Smith, a motion for reconsideration was filed in First

Covenant and was denied by the Supreme Court of Washington on

September 12, 1990.

owner is surely entitled to no less protection under the Fifth

Amendment than a commercial owner. Such protection, how-

ever, was plainly denied under the standard applied by the court

of appeals.

In denying petitioner’s claim under the takings clause,

the court of appeals applied a redacted, and seriously distorted,

version of the constitutional test adopted by the New York

Court of Appeals for assessing the validity of the Landniarks

Law as applied to charitable institutions. See Society for

Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 415 N.Ed.2d 922

(1980). In support of the standard it created, the court of

appeals cited only one decision of this Court, Penn Central

Transportation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104 (1978) —

which was decided twelve years ago by a divided court.

Although the decision was heavily fact-dependent — and the

facts were, in important respects, quite untypical — it has been

frequently misunderstood as a broad charter for any and all

landmarking.’ Thus, in the present case, the courts below

viewed Penn Central as dispositive, with little heed to the strik-

ing dissimilarity of its facts. The result was a decision that is, in

principle, contrary to Penn Central or, at best, a major and

unwarranted extension of that case. Such a result is particularly

troublesome in light of subsequent decisions of this Court that

suggest a limitation — and not an expansion —— of the reach of

Penn Central.

A decision that permits landmarking to destroy, with-

out compensation, more than eighty percent of the value of a

property will have a major impact. Indeed, if the decision is

permitted to stand, it will be seen as a clear signal that few if

any constraints to landmarking are posed by the takings clause.

The decision of the court of appeals, therefore, will have serious

implications, not only for religious organizations, but for all

7. See, e.g., Marcus, The Grand Slam Grand Central Terminal Decision:

A. Euclid for Landmarks, Favorable Notice for TDR And a Resolution of

the Regulatory/Taking Impasse, 7 Ecology Law Quarterly 731 (1979).

Min.

owners of landmarked buildings. Such a decision clearly merits

a review by this Court.

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

REVIEW THE DENIAL OF PETITIONER’S

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMS.

A. The Court of Appeals Erred In Its

Application Of Employment Division +.

Smith.

Prior to its recent decision in Employment Division v.

Smith, this Court had repeatedly held that a regulation impos-

ing a substantial burden on the free exercise of religion could

not be justified merely because the regulation appeared to be

“neutrel on its face.” Such a burden, the Court had indicated,

could only be justified by the showing of a “compelling govern-

mental interest.” Jimmy Swaggart Ministries v. Board of

Equalization, __ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct. 688 (1990); Hernandez

v. Commissioner, __. U.S. ___, 109 S.Ct. 2136 (1989);

Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972). In Smith, however,

the Court held that the compelling interest test was inapplicable

to “an across-the-board criminal prohibition on a particular

form of conduct.” ___ U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 1603.

The Landmarks Law, with its aesthetic concerns and

wholly discretionary applications, is hardly analogous to “an

across—the—board criminal prohibition” or the “socially harmful

conduct” addressed in Smith. Accordingly, the holding of

Smith does not govern the present case. Indeed, even if Smith is

read more broadly, to apply to any law that is “neutral” and

“generally applicable,” it is clear that the Landmarks Law is not

such a regulation.

The Landmarks Law appears on its face to be neutral,

i.e., it makes no reference to religion or religious buildings

except to provide an exemption for the interiors of places of

worship. Landmarks Law § 25-303 a. (2), (70a). On the

other hand, the provisions that authorize the landmarking of

~10-

individual buildings are not “generally applicable” in any

meaningful sense of the term. The essence of the New York

law — and any landmarks law — is selectivity. For example,

to be landmarked pursuant to the New York law, a building

must be determined to have “a special character or special his-

torical or aesthetic interest or value.” Landmarks Law §

25-302 n., (66a). By its nature, such landmarking will be

applied to relatively few buildings.

The lack of general applicability is further manifested

by the fact that the law has been applied disproportionately to

religious buildings. Of approximately 600 individually land-

marked buildings in New York City in 1986, 95 were religious

buildings. Moreover, the impact of the law falls even more dis-

proportionately upon those denominations for whom the beauty

of their church buildings has been an important way to express

religious belief: one third of the landmarked religious buildings

are Episcopal churches. (A. 165-70).

The nature of the Landmarks Law is similar, in signifi-

cant respects, to the flat licensing taxes invalidated in Murdock

v. Pennsylvania, 319 U.S. 105 (1943) and Follett v.

McCormick, 321 U.S. 573 (1944). Like the Landmarks Law,

such taxes were “neutral”, i.e., they did not single out, or make

any reference to, religious organizations. Nevertheless, they

were found to place an unconstitutional burden on the free exer-

cise of religion and this Court has emphasized the difference

between such taxes and a “generally applicable sales tax.” See

Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Commissioner

of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575, 587 n.9 (1983); Jimmy Swaggart

Ministries v. Bd. of Equalization, __ U.S. at __, 110

S.Ct. at 694-695.

In Swaggart and Minneapolis Star, the Court pointed

out that the license taxes invalidated in Murdock and Follett

had imposed a prior restraint on the exercise of a constitution-

ally protected right. That observation is equally applicable to

the Landmarks Law — which operates as a prior restraint on

the exercise of religion by every church whose property has been

landmarked. Compliance with the procedures of the Landmarks

af.

Law is exacted as a precondition to any alteration of the

church’s own property — no matter how essential to the mission

of the church. See, infra, pp. 15-16.

In addition to the court of appeals’ failure to observe

this Court’s limitation of the holding in Smith to laws of general

applicability, it also failed to acknowledge this Court’s explicit

recognition of two kinds of circumstances in which a compelling

governmental interest was still required to justify burdens on

free exercise rights. Although both of the circumstances identi-

fied in Smith are conspicuously present in the instant case, the

court of appeals failed to address either.

First, Smith reaffirmed the principle that “where the

State has in place a system of individual exemptions, it may not

refuse to extend that system to cases of ‘religious hardship’ with-

out compeiling reason,” __ U.S. at _, 110 S. Ct. at 1603,

citing Bowen v. Roy, 476 U.S. 693, 708 (1986). In this case, it

is clear that the Landmarks Law creates just such a “system of

individual exemptions.” Such a system is found in the statutory

provisions for relief on the ground of “insufficient return” and in

the judicial test formulated by the New York courts. See, e.g.,

Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, supra. It is equally clear

that neither the statutory nor the judicial provisions for relief

encompass any consideration of religious hardship. Indeed, the

New York Court of Appeals explicitly excluded consideration of

any religious hardship on the mistaken assumption that a

church’s use of its property to support its mission is “secular.”

51 N.Y.2d at 456. The Commission, for its part, applies the

same exclusion. See, infra p. 20.

Second, Smith pointed out that even the application of

a “neutral, generally applicable law to religiously related

action” had been barred in “hybrid” cases involving “other con-

stitutional protections.” __ U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at

1601-02. Specifically, the Court referred to free exercise cases

also involving freedom of expression or the right of parental

supervision. So here, the application of the Landmarks Law to

churches involves not only the free exercise of religion but the

rights of those churches, as property owners, under the Fifth

~12-

Amendment. Indeed, the latter rights, unlike the right of

parental supervision, do not arise merely by inference but are

enumerated in the text of the constitution.

The erroneous application of Smith permitted the

court of appeals to avoid the issue of whether any compelling

state interest could be. found to justify the burden of the

Landmarks Law. It is evident, however, that no such interest

exists. Recognition of aesthetics as a permissible state goal, as

in Penn Central, is plainly not the equivalent of recognizing it to

be a compelling state interest.’

The absence of any compelling state interest is glar-

ingly cbvious under the facts herein. The applications of

St. Bartholomew’s before the Commission did not seek quthor-

ity to demolish or modify in any way the only building on the

site of any architectural distinction, i.e., the church building.

Both plans submitted by the church preserved the church

building, as well as a garden in front of the community house.

8. In First Covenant Church v. City of Seattie, supra, the Supreme Court of

Washington carefully considered Penn Central and concluded:

The appellants [in Penn Central] did not allege any violation of a

fundamental right. Absent such a claim, the Court was abie to

employ minimal scrutiny in its analysis of New York City’s

Landmarks Preservation Law. Although the Court held that the

landmarks law satisfied the limited inquiry of minimal scrutiny, it

seems most likely the Court would not have reached the same result

had it analyzed the law under strict scrutiny.

We hold that the preservation of historical landmarks is not « com-

pelling state interest. Balancing the right of free exercise with the

aesthetic and community values associated with landmark preserva-

tion, we find that the latter is clearly outweighed by the constitu-

tional protection of free exercise of religion and the public benefits

associated with the practice of religious worship within the

community. See Church of St. Paul & St. Andrew v. Barwick, 67

N.Y.2d 510, 525, 496 I¥.E.2d 183, (1986) (Meyer, J., dissenting),

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 985 (1986). 787 P.2d at 1361.

ty

(A. 238-42, 245-49; A. 462-66, 470-77). In short, the

government’s interest, if discernible at all in this case, could not

justify a gross interference with the freedom of

St. Bartholomew’s to make use of its own property in support of

the religious work for which it was organized.

B. The Court of Appeals Erred In

Disregarding the Impact Of The

Landmarks Law on Religious

Organizations Generally and In The

Standard It Applied To Petitioner.

The court of appeals viewed petitioner’s First

Amendment claims through a very narrow lens. The court

declined to address at all the impact of the Landmarks Law on

religious organizations generally. And, in the case of petitioner,

the court found no burden upon the free exercise of religion so

long as petitioner is able to raise sufficient funds to permit it to

carry on its existing activities — at some undefined level — in

its present facilities. That is a standard, we believe, that disre-

gards basic values of the First Amendment.

1. The Burdens Of The Landmarks Law On

Religious Organizations Generally.

The Landmarks Law, on its face, imposes burdens on

religious organizations that severely impact upon the free exer-

cise of religion. As a threshhold proposition, it is vitally impor-

tant for a church to be able to devote its sanctuary and ancillary

buildings to the support of the church’s religious mission. And it

is equally clear that the use of such buildings constitutes the

exercise of religion, i.e., it is conduct “rooted in religious

belief.” See Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 215 (1972). If,

howevet, the church site is landmarked, the ability of the church

and its members to use the buildings on the site in accordance

with the dictates of their faith is severely constrained.

If the church attempts to contest a proposed landmark

designation, it wil! find that the applicable standard is

exceedingly broad and exceedingly vague (e.g., “special

aye

character”). Landmarks caw § 25-302 n., (66a). In the courts

below, respondents cited Penn Central to defend the vague and

subjective standard of the Landmarks Law, but ignored the cru-

cial point that Penn Central did not involve a First Amendment

freedom.’

If a church is landmarked, the church, its clergy and

members know that, under pain of criminal sanctions, their first

priority must be not the funding of their programs in the prac-

tice of their religion, but preserving the landmark appearance of

their buildings. Landmarks Law § 25-317, (95a — 96a). The

church also knows that it can do nothing with respect to the

exterior of its buildings without the permission of the

Commission. The church’s days of autonomy in the manage-

ment of its affairs are over. As the Supreme Court of

Washington pointed out in striking down the application of a

similar ordinance to a church in Seattle:

9. Thus, while Justice Brennan, writing for the Court in Penn Central, was

willing to accept the vagueness and subjectivity of the Landmarks Law in the

context of a claim under the takings clause, he later made it clear that very

different considerations apply where, as here, important First Amendment

rights are directly implicated. City Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 466

U.S. 789, 821-22 (1984):

The fundamental problem in this kind of case is that a purely acs-

thetic state interest offered to justify a restriction on

speech . . . creates difficulties for a reviewing court in fulfilling its

obligation to ensure that government regulation does not trespass

upon protections secured by the First Amendment. The source of

those difficulties is the unavoidable subjectivity of aesthetic

judgment — the fact that “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” As

a consequence of this subjectivity, laws defended on aesthetic

grounds raise problems for judicial review that are not presented by

laws defended on more objective grounds — such as national securi-

ty, public health, or public safety. In practice, therefore, the inherent

subjectivity of aesthetic judgments makes it all too easy for the gov-

ernment to fashion its justification for a law in a manner that impairs

the ability of a reviewing court meaningfully to make the required

inquiries. Brennan, J. dissenting. /d.

ais.

The practical effect of the provisions is to require a reli-

gious organization to seek secular approval of matters

potentially affecting the Church’s practice of religion.

First Covenant Church v. City of Seattle, supra, 787 P.2d at

1359.

If a church seeks to alter its landmarked building, it

must embark upon an administrative odyssey that is lengthy,

expensive and lacking the most basic elements of procedural due

process. First, the Landmarks Law requires the church to incur

the expense of designing the proposed alteration without know-

ing what might or might not be accepted by the Commission.

The design is then presented to the Commission with an applica-

tion for a certificate of appropriateness that, like the initial des-

ignation, will be granted or denied solely on the basis of the aes-

thetic sensibilities of the eleven Commissioners. Landmarks

Law § 25-307, (77a, — 79a).

After a denial of a certificate of appropriateness, the

church may then make an application on ground of “insufficient

return”. At this point, the church must submit to a broad and

searching examination into its operations. See infra p. 20.

Throughout that examination, the Landmarks Law fails to pro-

vide anything resembling an orderly procedure for the resolution

of factual issues or even the right to respond to adverse

evidence.”

The consequences of the foregoing are starkly

apparent. To begin with. ~ church’s loss of autonomy in the

management of its aff: is is, by itself, a matter of serious

10. The Landmarks Law requires a public hearing but explicitly provides that

“the commission in determining any matter as to which such hearing is held,

shall not be confined to consideration of the facts, views, testimony or evidence

submitted at such hearing.” Landmarks Law § 25-313 b., (93a). In the

present case, petitioner requested, but was denied, the opportunity to respond

to testimony that provided the core of the Commission’s findings. See, supri

pp. 5-6.

A6-

consequence. See Kedroff v. St. Nicholas Cathedral, 344

U.S. 94, 107-108 (1952) (legislation that regulates church

administration, the operation of the churches, [and] the appoint-

ment of clergy . . . prohibits the free exercise of religion);

NLRB y. Catholic Bishop of Chicago, 440 U.S. 490 (1979)

(National Eater Retations Bossd held not to have jurisdiction

over church-operated schools)."

Important as it is, however, loss of church autonomy is

by no means the only impact of the Landmarks Law upon the

free exercise rights of religious institutions. The intent and the

effect of the law is to place upon a church the “burdens of proof

and persuasion” that the church is entitled to devote its own

property to the support of its religious mission. The imposition

of such burdens on the exercise of First Amendment rights is

ble. Cf. First Unitarian Church v. Los Angeles, 357

US. 545, 547 (1958); Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 529

(1958). Given the obscure standards and onerous procedures of

the Landmarks Law, there are very few churches subject to the

law that will have the fortitude and financial strength even to

seek the relief that the law purports to provide. Thus, most

churches will be required to forsake any steps to expand or

maintain their religious missions that would involve a significant

alteration of their facilities. The observation of Speiser, made in

a different context, is nonetheless quite apt:

11. As one commentator has summed up the law, “Quite apart from whether

a regulation requires a church or an individual believer to violate religious doc-

trine or felt moral duty, churches have a constitutionally protected interest in

managing their own institutions free of government interference.” Laycock,

Towards a General Theory of the Religion Clauses: The Case of Church

Labor Relations and the Right to Church Autonomy, 81

Colum. L. Rev. 1373, 1373 (1981). Professor Laycock’s article was cited by

Justice Brennan concurring in Corporation of Presiding Bishop v. Amos, 483

US. 327 (1987), wherein the Court upheld the constitutionality of an exemp-

tion for religious organizations from a federal statute prohibiting religious dis-

crimination in employment. 483 U.S. at 341. Justice Brennan further

pointed out that “furtherance of the autonomy of religious organizations often

furthers individual religious freedom as well.” 483 U.S. at 342.

-17-

The man who knows that he must bring forth proof and

persuade another of the lawfulness of his conduct neces-

sarily must steer far wider of the unlawful zone than if

the State must bear these burdens. This is especially to

be feared when the complexity of the proofs and the gen-

erality of the standards applied, cf. Dennis v. United

States, supra, provide but shifting sands on which the

litigant must maintain his position. 357 U.S. at 526.

In short, the vagueness and overbreadth of the standards for

designation, coupled with the intrusive and cumbersome provi-

sions for relief, inevitably create a chilling effect on the practice

of religion by a landmarked church. Cf. Secretary of State of

Maryland v. J.H. Munson Co., 467 U.S. 947, 956 (1984).

2. The Burden Of The Landmarks Law On

St. Bartholomew’s And The Erroneous

Standard Applied By The Court Of Appeals.

The court of appeals acknowledged that ‘“‘the

Landmarks Law has drastically restricted the Church’s ability

to raise revenues to carry out its various charitable and ministe-

rial programs.” (13a). Remarkably, however, the court found

that fact to have no constitutional significance:

Nevertheless, we understand Supreme Court decisions to

indicate that neutral regulations that diminish the

income of a religious organization do not implicate the

free exercise clause. See Jimmy Swaggart Ministries

v. Board of Equalization, ___ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct. 688

(1990); Hernandez v. Commissioner, _ U.S. ___, 109

S.Ct. 2136 (1989). (Id.)

That conclusion, we submit, clearly misapplies the holdings of ©

Hernandez and Swaggart.

To begin with, both Hernandez and Swaggart involved

“generally applicable” laws. For the reasons previously dis-

cussed, that characterization cannot be applied to the

Landmarks Law. Second, the magnitude of the financial

ft

burdens involved in Hernandez and Swaggart did not remotely

approach that imposed by the Landmarks Law on

St. Bartholomew’s. Both cases involved the relatively minimal

impact of an incrementally larger tax burden. The Court in

Swaggart, moreover, expressly recognized that a quite different

question would be presented by a “more onerous tax rate” that

“might effectively choke off an adherent’s religious practices.”

_. US. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 688.

The court of appeals apparently read Swaggart to

mean that an economic burden is irrelevant unless the effect is

to choke off religious practices entirely. So severe a standard is

neither required nor justified by that case. Where, as here, a

law is conceded to have the effect of “drastically restricting” the

revenue available to support a church’s mission, that fact should

not be ignored on the grounds that the church may nevertheless

be able to devise a method of surviving at some reduced level.

The court of appeals failed to recognize how directly

the constraints of the Landmarks Law may coerce a church and

prevent its congregation from acting in accord with their reli-

gious beliefs. Specifically, the resources of the church may be

— as they most surely have been in this case — diverted from a

use commanded by the religious faith of its members and appro-

priated to serve a secular purpose. In supporting the application

of St. Bartholomew’s before the Commission in this case, the

then Bishop of the New York Diocese, Paul Moore, expressed it

simply and clearly. After reviewing the parable of Judgment

Day from Matthew 25 he said:

In this parable, as in the First Sermon, as in the Sermon

on the Mount, as in the whole life and death upon the

cross, Jesus Christ set compassion and justice at the very

heart of our religion. Indeed, he said it is the basis on

which we are ultimately judged.

Would you deny us our right to practice our religion?

Would you deny us the means to pick up as best we can

the burden of the poor that the public sector has so

shamelessly laid down? Would you prevent us from

~19-

sheltering the homeless, feeding the hungry, caring for

desperate children in a city which in these days has

seemed to have lost its heart?

Under our polity all the churches and institutions of our

diocese which serve the poor are dependent on churches

like St. Bartholomew’s. Denying a hardship petition

today would be the denial of our right as Christians to

carry out the very heart of our mission. (2/477—78).

That plea, however, fell on deaf ears. The

Commission, citing Ethical Culture, -uled that the Church’s

desire to secure funds “to maintain its current ministry and to

respond to the future demands of the City, while commendable

and understandable, cannot be the basis for establishing a show-

ing of hardship ....” (7/2459). The court of appeals was simi-

larly unmoved. The standard it applied excluded from consider-

ation all but the most extreme form of religious hardship, i.e.,

inability te continue. So broad a disregard of religious hardship,

however, cannot be justified in the absence of some compelling

state interest. And here, we repeat, there is none.

Finally, the court of appeals brushed aside, in a foot-

note, the entanglement between church and state spawned by

the Landmarks Law:

The only scrutiny of the Church occurred in the pro-

ceedings for a certificate of appropriateness, :nd the

matters scrutinized were exclusively financial and

architectural. This degree of interaction does not rise to

the level of unconstitutional entanglement. (14a).

That depiction of the operation of the Landmarks Law totally

misapprehends the reality of proceedings before the

Commission. What the court of appeals failed to appreciate is

that the purported scrutiny of matters “financial and

-20-

te P

ee emg a

i Bi

Fer]

architectural” leads inexorably into the details of virtually every

facet of a church’s operations, priorities and motivations."

Such issues and such proceedings bear no resemblance

to ‘the routine administrative and recordkeeping obligations

involved in Jimmy Swaggart Ministries. Indeed, they represent -

a breadth and depth of entanglement that is unparalleled in any

reported case. It is, we submit, unique and unacceptable.

Il, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO |

REVIEW THE DENIAL OF PETITIONER’S

CLAIM UNDER THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT.

The court of appeals also applied its free exercise stan-

dard to petitioner’s claim under the takings clause of the Fifth

Amendment. Specifically, the court rejected the takings claim

because it believed that petitioner is able to conduct its existing

charitable and religious activities in the present facilities. That

standard, however, is inconsistent with the only authority of this

Court cited by the court of appeals, Penn Central

Transportation Company v. New York City, supra. It also con-

flicts with subsequent decisions of this Court and with the con-

stitutional test adopted by the New York Court of Appeals with

respect to the landmarking of buildings owned by charitable

institutions.

12. The record below abundantly illustrates that fact. For example, in the

hearings before the Commission, the Church was called upon to address such

issues as: the decision to close the church sanctuary to the public on weekdays,

the size of the Rector’s apartment, the number and level of compensation of

the clergy employed by the church, the manner (and propriety) of providing of

food and shelter to the homeless, the managerial expertise of the Vestry, and

how and for what purposes the Church’s fundraising capacity should be

employed. (2/598, 604-606, 639-40; 3/1032-38; 4/1144—45, 1159-61,

1163-84, 1276-77).

_

1. The Penn Central Analysis.

In Penn Central, the Landmarks Law had been applied

to prevent the erection of a tower above Grand Central

Terminal. The decision of the Court upholding that application

turned upon its assessment of the “severity of the impact of the

law on [Penn Central’s] parcel” 438 U.S. at 136. Addressing

that issue, the majority noted that the Landmarks Law did not

interfere with the existing use of the property as a railroad

terminal. Upon making that observation, however, the Court

immediately pointed out that “[m]Jore importantly” the record

showed that Penn Central not only received a profit on the

Terminal but “a ‘reasonable return’ on its investment.” Id.

The majority then found that the impact of the law

was mitigated by two factors indicating that Penn Central had

not in fact lost all or most of its development rights, i.e., the air

rights above the Terminal. First, the Court pointed out that

after the initial rejection, Penn Central had not proposed an

alternate design and suggested that the Commission might

approve a smaller building. Second, the Court pointed out that

the air rights above the Terminal could be transferred to various

buildings owned by Penn Central that were adjacent to the

a SUR cr eee

rights. 438 U.S. at 137.

In the present case, the court of appeals sustained the

finding of the district court that petitioner was able to continue

to use the community house and held that fact to be dispositive.

The key factors in the Penn Central analysis were dismissed as

irrelevant or brushed aside in conclusory terms. By that process,

we submit, the court of —_ lost sight of the meaning of Penn

Central.

To begin with, the basic premise of the court of appeals

— continued use of the property — rests upon an analysis

wholly unlike anything found in Penn Central. Specifically, the

premise rests upon an assessment of the adequacy of the proper-

ty, the cost of addressing its deficiencies and the ability of

petitioner to bear that cost.

==

With respect to the cost of repair and rehabilitation,

petitioner had pointed out various errors in the $3 million esti-

mate accepted by the district court, including the total omission

of $1.5 million of work. The court of appeals, however, held

that “even if the potential cost of repair totaled $4.5 million,

the Church has not adequately demonstrated that it is unable to

meet this expense.” (20a — 21a).

That conclusion of the court of appeals rested upon a

seriously distorted view of the petitioner’s financial condition.

More importantly, however, the court’s focus on the financial

capacity of the Church represented a significant departure from

the analysis of Penn Central. The effect of that focus is to make

the fact of a taking turn not on the severity of the impact of the

law on “the parcel,” as in Penn Central, but ._ on the financial

resources of the person or entity who happens to own the parcel.

Such a mode of analysis finds no support in the decisions of this

Court or concepts of basic fairness.

The court of appeals further departed from Penn

Central in disregarding the factor of “reasonable return”. In

this case, it was demonstrated beyond serious argument that, if

the Church’s community house were devoted to commercial pur-

poses, it would not yield a reasonable return.” The court of

appeals, however, dismissed that fact as “irrelevant” on the

grounds that the existing use of the community house was for

charitable rather than commercial purposes. In lieu of a

“reasonable return” the court of appeals simply referred once

again to the posited continued use of the community house by

petitioner. The court, however, ignored the fact that continued

13. The court of appeals indicated that “the use of the Community House

would yield an estimated return of only six percent.” (17a). In fact, the

record showed that it would yield a return of less than six percent of assessed

valuation. (A. 490). As the New York Court of Appeals hus made clear,

assessed valuation is not a proper basis on which to determine reasonable

return. Seawall Associates v. City of New York, 74 N.Y.2d 92, 114 n. 13,

542 N.E.2d 1059, 1070 n. 13, cert. denied sub nom. Wilkerson v. Seawall

Associates, _ US. __, 110 S.Ct. 500 (1989).

agp.

use alone had not been deemed sufficient in Penn Central. On

the contrary, as we have shown, this Court had found it to be

more important that Penn Central was able to derive a reason-

able return from such use.

The inability of a charitable owner to derive a reason-

able return from a landmarked site may not, by itself, be

dispositive. Such inability, however, makes it even more impor-

tant to determine whether the impact of the Landmarks Law is

mitigated by any other factor. Here it is not and the severity of

that impact — destroying more than eighty percent of the value

of “the parcel” — remains wholly unmitigated.

In Penn Central, the Court questioned whether Penn

Central had lost all of the value of the air rights above the

Terminal since the Commission had not ruled out the possibility

of approving an alternative design for a smaller building. In this

case, the court of appeals sought to apply that analysis to peti-

tioner, but the facts herein do not fit. In this case, petitioner did

precisely what this Court had suggested in Penn Central —

after its first application was rejected, it returned with a second

proposal specifically designed to respond to the Commission’s

objections to the first application and proposing a significantly

smaller building.

Nevertheless, the court of appeals attempted to draw a

parallel with Penn Central, stating that respondent had “invited

appellant to propose an addition to the Community House in the

instant matter.” (17a). In fact, however, the only “addition”

that respondent ever indicated it might accept was a two-story

expansion. (A. 825-27, A. 839-40). Such an addition might

alleviate some of petitioner’s space problems, but it would gener-

ate no revenue to recover the cost of the expansion, let alone any

funds for support of petitioner’s mission or for repair and reha-

bilitation of the church and community house.

The present case also differs from Penn Central in that

petitioner has no feasible means of transferring its development

rights to another site. As this Court noted in Penn Central, air

rights are transferable only to a contiguous site, i.e., across the

~24-

street or across an intersection. 438 U.S. at 113-14. Petitioner,

unlike Penn Central, owns no other properties to which its air

rights could be transferred and has no other prospects for such a

transfer. (A. 388-95). Thus, although the court of appeals

suggested that petitioner’s rights are not “worthless,” it is clear

that such rights have no immediate value and that their possible

value at some future time is, at best, wholly speculative. If that

does not make petitioner’s development rights “worthless,” it

comes very close indeed.

2. The Cases Subsequent to Penn Central.

While Penn Central is the only decision of this Court

involving the Landmarks Law, or landmarking in general, it is

by no means the only decision relevant to the issues herein. In

Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass’n v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470

(1987), as in Penn Central, the Court rejected a claim under the

takings clause. The analysis of the Court in Keystone, however,

clearly supports St. Bartholomew’s claims.

(2) The nature of the State interest and “reciprocity of

advantage”. In Keystone, the Court rejected a challenge to

the facial validity of a law prohibiting the mining of certain coal

to prevent the subsidence of the surface estate. The law

appeared to be similar in purpose and effect to a law that the

Court had invalidated in Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 U.S.

393 (1922). In Keystone, however, the Court distinguished the

later statute on the ground that it was more clearly designed to

protect important public interests. The Court emphasized that

“the nature of the State’s action is critical in takings analysis”

and cited the numerous takings cases that had involved a

“noxious use” or some use of property analogous to 4 common

law nuisance. The Court also gave renewed importance to the

concept of “reciprocity of advantage” that was first articulated

by Justice Holmes in Pennsylvania Coal and had been stressed

by then Justice Rehnquist, dissenting in Penn Central, 438 U.S.

at 144-50.

In sustaining the facial validity of the Landmarks Law

in Penn Central, the Court had, by footnote, appeared to

as

minimize the importance of whether the challenged regulation

sought to restrain a “noxious” use 438 U.S. at 133-34, n. 30.

The decision in Keystone, however, restored that factor to the

forefront of takings analysis. That is not to say, and we do not

urge, that a regulation is necessarily invalid if it is not addressed

to a noxious use or some analogous condition. Thus, we do not

seek to overturn the determination in Penn Central that the

Landmarks Law is facially valid. Nevertheless, when a particu-

lar application of that law is challenged, the nature of the

law — and hence the nature of the government’s interest —

remains highly relevant.

In the present case, the governmental interest is

remarkably weak. As previously shown, the proposed develop-

ment would leave the church building unimpaired. See, supra,

p.13. Moreover, development of the community house site

would provide the funds that are desperately needed to restore

and preserve the church building.“

‘Similarly, the absence of any reciprocity of advantage

enjoyed by petitioner is striking. A landowner who is burdened

by the restrictions of a zoning law or a historic district receives

the benefit of the same restrictions being applied to adjacent

landowners. See Penn Central, supra, 438 U.S. at 147,

Rehnquist, J., dissenting. Where individual buildings are land-

marked, however, any benefit to the owner from the landmark-

ing of other buildings is attenuated at best. Indeed, this case

stands any concept of a reciprocity of advantage on its head.

14. Indeed, the application of the Landmarks Law in the present case fails to

meet the fundamental requirement of substantially advancing a legitimate

state interest. See Nollan v. California Coastal Comm., 483 U.S. 825, 834—

35 (1987); Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260 (1980); Nectow v. Cambridge,

277 U.S. 183 (1928). The court of appeals held that the governmental interest

identified in Penn Central was “equally applicable” in the present case but

made no attempt to support that conclusion with any analysis of the impact of

the proposed building.

ee

When St. Bartholomew’s was built in 1918, and for

many years thereafter, Park Avenue was zoned for residential

use. The Church shared with its neighbors the benefits and lim-

itations of that designation. The zoning law, however, was sub-

sequently changed to permit commercial development. After

World War II, commercial development blossomed and, ulti-

mately, became all encompassing. While the City realized mil-

lions of dollars in tax revenues from that development, it

resulted in the displacement of the Church’s neighborhood con-

gregation and the concomitant weakening of its financial

viability. (A. 209; A. 375). Ironically, the City now seeks to

prevent petitioner from adapting to the very environment the

City itself created.

(b) The value of the property taken. Keystone

made it clear that the test for a regulatory taking requires a

court to consider the value taken from the property. 480 US. at

497. In this case, viewing the Church’s property as a whole, the

value taken from the property is $140 million, while the value

remaining is $35 million. The court of appeals acknowledged

that a large value had been taken from the property: “In this

particular case, the revenues are very large because the

Community House is on land that would be extremely valuable

if put to commercial use.” (13a). Contrary to the command of

Keystone, however, the court of appeals proceeded to ignore that

value — holding that the only fact to be considered was the

Church’s continued ability to use the property.

Following Keystone, this Court upheld takings claims

in two cases decided the same term. Hodel v. Irving, 481

U.S. 704 (1987) held that a taking was effected by a law that

prohibited the devise of fractional shares of Indian lands.

Nollan v. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825

(1987), found a taking in the required grant of an easement

across the owner’s property. More recently, in Seawall

Associates v. City of New York, 74 N.Y.2d 92, 542 N.E.2d

1059, cert. denied sub nom. Wilkerson v. Seawall Associates,

_. * US. __, 110 S.Ct. 500 (1989), the New York Court of

7.

Appeals provided a careful analysis of the decisions in Penn

Central, Keystone, Hodel and Nollan.

In Seawall, the court struck down the City’s law regu-

lating single-room occupancy properties on the ground, inter

alia, that it destroyed the right to develop such properties. The

court noted that in Penn Central and Keysione, the Supreme

Court had held, under the facts of those cases, that the partial

loss of development rights did not constitute a taking. On the

other hand, the court observed, Hode/ and Nollan had each

found a taking in the total loss of a single element of property

value.

The Seawail opinion suggested that decisions in the

later cases, Hodel and Nolian, had moved toward acceptance of

the theory of “conceptual severance,’ [i.e., assessing only the

value of the rights taken without regard to its relationship to the

value of the whole property]”. 74 N.Y. 2d at 110, 542 N.E. 2d

at 1067. Under the facts of Seawall, however, the court found

the loss of development rights to be a taking under either

approach:

By any criterion — whether the property rights abol-

ished or impaired are considered alone, as in Hodel and

Nollan, or the values of these rights are compared with

the values of the properties as a whole, as in Penn

Central and Keystone — the conclusion is inescapable

that the effect of the [law] is unconstitutionally to

deprive owners of economically viable use of their

properties. 74 N.Y.2d at 110, 542 N.E.2d at 1068.

So here, the property rights appropriated by the

Landmarks Law may be considered alone or in comparison to

the value of the property as a whole. In either event, the fact of

a taking is inescapable. What is not permissible, we submit, is

the course taken by the court of appeals — to simply disregard

the value of the property taken.

it.

3. Conflict With the New York Court of Appeals.

As shown in the preceding section, the decision of the

court of appeals herein is fundamentally at odds with the analy-

sis of the New York Court of Appeals in Seawall Associates. In

addition, the decision is also in conflict with the constitutional

standard adopted by that court with respect to the application of

the Landmarks Law to charitable institutions.

Specifically, as we have earlier noted, the standard

adopted by the New York Court of Appeals is to determine

whether landmark designation “‘physically or financially

prevent[s] or seriously interferes with the carrying out of the

charitable purpose” (emphasis added). Society for Ethical

Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d at 455, 415 N.E.2d at 925 (1980).

Both the district court and the court of appeals cited Ethical

Culture with apparent approval. Yet, both courts proceeded to

apply a drastic —- but wholly unexplained — redaction of the

Ethical Culture test. Specifically, both courts transformed the

test into a requirement of proof that petitioner “can no longer

carry out” its charitable purposes. Thus, they distorted the test

by excising the key phrase “or seriously interferes with.” As a

result, the test applied below is one that is in clear conflict with

the decisions of the New York Court of Appeals. It is a test, we

submit, that this Court should decisively reject.

~29-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully prays

that the Court issue a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

Dated: December 10, 1990

Of Counsel

Henry P. Monaghan

New York, New York

Kent Greenawalt

New York, New York

Raymond L. Vandenberg

Chancellor of

St. Bartholomew’s Church

Respectfully submitted,

Douglas M. Parker

Counsel of Record

Judah Gribetz

George A. Pierce

MUDGE ROSE GUTHRIE

ALEXANDER &

FERDON

180 Maiden Lane

New York, New York 10038

(212) 510-7000

Counsel for Petitioner,

The Rector, Wardens and

Members of the Vestry of

St. Bartholomew’s

Church

APPENDIX

The RECTOR, WARDENS, AND MEMBERS

OF THE VESTRY OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S

CHURCH, Plaintiff-Appellee (Re: 88-7751),

Plaintiff-Appellant (Re: 90-7101), .

v.

The CITY OF NEW YORK AND THE

LANDMARKS PRESERVATION

COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK,

Defendants—Appellees (Re: 88-7751, 90-7101).

Appeal of The COMMITTEE TO OPPOSE the

SALE OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S CHURCH

INCORPORATED, J. Sinclair Armstrong, Robert

E. Morris, Jr., Doris Capp Stass, George

H. Weiler, Il, Madeline Calder, Beatrice Lotz,

Bromwell Ault, Jr., Neal Goldman, and Charlotte

Pierce Armstrong, (Re: 88-7751).

Nos. 1431, 1432, Docket 88-7751, 90-7101.

United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit.

Argued July 17, 1990.

Decided Sept. 12, 1990.

914 F.2d 348 .

Church brought action against city Landmarks

Preservation Commission alleging that application of

Landmarks Preservation Law to church imposed unconstitu-

tional burden on free exercise of religion and effected a taking

of property without compensation. The United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, John E. Sprizzo,

J., 728 F. Supp. 958, found that Landmarks Law did not violate

right to free exercise of religion or right against taking of prop-

erty without just compensation. Appeal was taken. The Court

of Appeals, Winter, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) Landmarks

4

Law, as applied to auxiliary structure next to church’s main

house of worship, was not unconstitutional burden of free exer-

cise of religion and did not effect taking of property without just

compensation; (2) church failed to show that: any space defi-

ciency in building could not be remedied by expansion consistent

with Landmarks Law; and (3) church failed to show prospective

financial hardship entitling it to certificate of appropriateness.

Affirmed.

Douglas M. Parker, New York City (Judah Gribetz,

Howard W. Goldstein, George A. Pierce, Mudge Rose Guthrie

Alexander & Ferdon, Henry P. Kent Greenawalt, James

G. Glazebrook, New York City, of counsel), Monaghan, for

plaintiff-appellee (Re: 88-7751), plaintiff-appellant (Re:

90-7101).

Elizabeth Dvorkin, New York City (Victor A. Kovner,

Corp. Counsel of the City of New York, Leonard Koerner,

Jonathan L. Pines, Dorothy Miner, New York City, of counsel),

for defendants—appellees (Re: 88-7751 and 90-7101).

Gerald D. Fischer, New York City, for appellants (Re:

88-7751), amici curiae Committee to Oppose the Sale of

St. Bartholomew’s Church Inc., J. Sinclair Armstrong, Robert

E. Morris, Jr., Doris Capp Stass, George H. Weiler, III,

Madeleine Calder, Beatrice Lotz, Bromwell Ault, Jr., Neal

Goldman and Charlotte Pierce Armstrong (Re: 90-7101).

Donald G. Glascoff, Jr., Robert Knuts, Cadwalader,

Wickersham & Taft, New York City, for amici curiae New

York State Interfaith Com’n on Landmarking of Religious

Property, Council of Churches of the City of New York, Inc.,

Queens Federation of Churches, New York State Council of

Churches, Nat. Council of Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.,

Nat. Ass’n of Evangelicals, Baptist Joint Committee on Public

Affairs, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, New York

Bd. of Rabbis, Dept. of Church in Soc., Div. of Homeland

Ministries, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), and

Americans United for the Separation of Church and State (Re:

90-7101).

Lee Boothby, Boothby, Ziprick & Yingst, Berrien

Springs, Michigan, for amicus curiae Council on Religious

Freedom (Re: 90-7101).

George J. McCormack, Cusak & Stiles, New York City,

Kevin M. Kearney, Hurley, Kearney & Lane, Brooklyn, New

York, for amici curiae Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New

York, Roman Catholic Diocese of Brooklyn, and New York

State Catholic Conference (Re: 90-7101).

Frank Patton, Jr., Ellis, Stringfellow & Patton, New York

City, for amicus curiae Church of St. Paul and St. Andrew

(Re: 90-7101).

John J. Kerr, Jr., Elizabeth P. Johnson, Nancy

B. Mallery, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, New York City, for

amici curiae Nat. Trust for Historic Preservation, National

Center for Preservation Law, New York Landmarks

Conservancy, Preservation Action, Fine Arts Federation,

Preservation League of New York State, and Women’s City

Club of New York, Inc. (Re: 90-7101).

William E. Hegarty, Howard G. Sloane, Cahill, Gordon

& Reindel, New York City, for amicus curiae Municipal Art

Soc. of New York, Inc. (Re: 90-7101).

Before WINTER and WALKER, Circuit Judges, and

MUKASEY,* District Judge.

WINTER, Circuit Judge:

This appeal poses the question of whether a church may

be prevented by New York City’s Landmarks Law, now codified

at New York City Administrative Code Sections 25-301 to

25-321 (1986), from replacing a church-owned building with

an office tower. The question implicates both First and Fifth

Amendment issues. Specifically, the Rector, Wardens, and

~$-

Members of the Vestry of St. Bartholomew’s Church (“the

Church”) appeal from Judge Sprizzo’s decision that the New

York City Landmarks Law, as applied to an auxiliary structure

next to the Church’s main house of worship, did not impose an

unconstitutional burden on the free exercise of religion or effect

a taking of property without just compensation.

The district court grounded its decision on its finding that

the Church had failed to prove that the landmark regulation

prevented the Church from carrying out its religious and chari-

table mission in its current buildings. We agree that this is the

legal standard established by Supreme Court precedent govern-

ing both free-exercise and takings claims. Moreover, we find no

clear error in the district court’s factual determinations. We

therefore affirm. We also affirm the denial of a motion to inter-

vene by a group of persons opposed to the Church’s plans to

develop its property.

BACKGROUND

St. Bartholomew’s Church is a Protestant Episcopal

Church organized in 1835 under the laws of the State of New

York as a not-for-profit religious corporation. The main house

of worship (“the Church building”) stands on the east side of

Park Avenue, between 50th and S5lst Streets, in New York

City. Constructed beginning in 1917 according to the plans of

architect Bertram G. Goodhue, the Church building is a nota-

ble example of a Venetian adaptation of the Byzantine style,

built on a Latin cross plan. Significant features include its poly-

chromatic stone exterior, soaring octagona! dome, and large rose

window. Perhaps most significantly, Goodhue incorporated into

his building the Romanesque porch of St. Bartholomew’s

former Church building at Madison Avenue and 44th Street.

* Hon. Michael B. Mukasey, United States District Judge for

the Southern District of New York, sitting by designation.

4-

Designed by the renowned architectural firm of McKim, Mead

& White, the porch is composed of a high arched central portal

flanked by two lower arched doorways, all supported by slender

columns. The doors themselves are richly decorated bronze,

depicting Biblical themes.

Adjacent to the Church building, at the northeast corner

of Park Avenue and 50th Street, is a terraced, seven-story

building known as the Community House. It is the replacement

of this building with an office tower that is at issue in the instant

matter. Completed in 1928 by associates of Goodhue,

Community House complements the Church building in x

materials and decoration. Together with the Church building,

the Community House houses a variety of social and religious

activities in which the Church is engaged. It contains a sixty—

student preschool, a large theater, athletic facilities (including a

pool, gymnasium, squash court, and weight and locker rooms),

as well as several meeting rooms and offices for fellowship and

counseling programs. A community ministry program, which

provides food, clothing, and shelter to indigent persons, is oper-

ated mainly from the Church building. Meals are prepared in a

small pantry on the first floor and served in the mortuary

chapel. Ten homeless persons are housed nightly in the

narthex. : |

In 1967, finding that “St. Bartholomew’s Church and

Community House have a special character, special historical

and aesthetic interest and value as part of the development, heri-

tage and cultural aspects of New York City,” the Landmarks

Preservation Commission of the City of New York (the

“Commission”) designated both buildings as “landmarks” pur-

suant to the Landmarks Law. This designation prohibits the

alteration or demolition of the buildings without approval by the

Commission. See N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 25-305(a)(1)(

1985).

The Church did not object to the landmarking of its

property. In December 1983, pursuant to what is now New

York City Administrative Code Section 25-307, the Church

4

wvTFre

applied to the Commission for a “certificate of appropriateness”

permitting it to replace the Community House with a fifty—nine

story office tower. This request was denied as an inappropriate

alteration. In December 1984, the Church filed a second appli-

cation, scaling down the proposed tower to forty-seven stories.

This application was also denied.

_ The Church thereafter filed a third application under a

different procedure. Pursuant to Sections 2074.0 and 207-8.0

of the New York City Administrative Code,’ commonly known

as the “hardship exception,” it sought a certificate of appropri-

ateness for the forty-seven story tower on the ground of the

Community House’s present inadequacy for church purposes.

The Church’s application was the subject of a series of public

hearings before the Commission in late 1985 and early 1986. At

those hearings, the Commission gathered evidence from various

interested parties, including expert testimony and written

reports regarding the adequacy of the Community House for the

Church’s charitable programs, the necessity and cost of struc-

tural and mechanical repairs for the Church building and

Community House, and the Church’s financial condition.

Following the public hearings, the Commission convened in

Executive Session, open to the public, on several occasions in

February 1986. At these meetings the Commission discussed

the Church’s application, accepted further submissions from

interested parties, and took testimony and reports from its own

pro bono experts. On February 24, the Commission voted to

1: Now found at Section 25-309, the provision states that a certificate of

appropriateness shall be granted to a not-for-profit applicant who shows, inter

alia, that such

improvement has ceased to be adequate, suitable or appropri-

ate for use for carrying out both (1) the purposés of such

owner to which it is devoted and (2) those purposes to which

it had been devoted when acquired unless such owner is not

{[sic] longer engaged in pursuing such purposes.

N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 25-309(a)(2)(c)(1985).

he

deny the application because the Church had failed to prove the

necessary hardship. Several months later the Commission

issued a lengthy written determination detailing the reasons for

its denial.

On April 8, 1986, the Church brought the instant action

for declaratory and injunctive relief and damages pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1983. The complaint set forth a host of constitutional

claims. It alleged that the Landmarks Law, facially and as

applied to the Church, violates both the free exercise and estab-

lishment clauses of the First Amendment by excessively burden-

ing the practice of religion and entangling the government in

religious affairs. It also alleged that the Landmarks Law vio- -

lates the equal protection and due process clauses of the

Fourteenth Amendment because it applies different standards to

charitable and commercial institutions respectively and consti-

tutes a taking of property without just compensation. In addi-

tion, the Church alleged a variety of procedural due process vio-

lations and brought a pendent state law claim alleging that the

Church should have been granted a certificate of appropriate-

ness under New York law.

The Church moved for partial summary judgment on its

claims of facial unconstitutionality. Defendants cross—moved

for summary judgment on all claims. The district court granted

summary judgment to defendants with respect to the issues of

facial unconstitutionality only. On the First Amendment

claims, the court ruled that the Landmarks Law “creates no

more than an incidental burden on the practice of religion” and

that entanglement doctrine was not applicable. On the equal

protection claim, the court ruled that the different hardship tests

applied to charitable and commercial organizations were

rational. Finally, it held that the notice and hearing provisions

of the Landmarks Law comport with constitutional standards of

due process.

The district court then held a bench trial with respect to

the claims that the Landmarks Law is unconstitutional as

applied to the Church. The parties agreed that the evidentiary

atin

record before the district court would be limited to the evidence

presented to the Commission, contained in a twenty-three

volume appendix. In considering the Church’s takings claim,

the court adopted the standard articulated by New York State

courts: An unconstitutional taking exists “where the landmark

designation [of property owned by a charitable organization]

would prevent or seriously interfere with the carrying out of the

charitable purpose of the institution.” St. Bartholomew's

Church vy. City of New York, 728 F. Supp. 958, 966-967

(S.D.N.Y. 1989)(opinion and order)(citing Society for Ethical

Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 454-55, 415 N.E.2d 922, 925,

434 N.Y.S.2d 932, 935 (1980); Lutheran Church in America v.

City of New York, 35 N.Y.2d 121, 131, 316 N.E.2d 305, 311,

359 N.Y.S.2d 7, 16 (1974)). The district court applied the

same test to the claim of an unconstitutional burden on religion.

It thus stated, “[I])n this case, the First Amendment inquiry is

identical in scope to the Fifth Amendment inquiry, since to pre-

vail on either claim plaintiff must prove that it can no longer

carry out its religious mission in its existing facilities.” Jd. 728

F. Supp. at 966-967.

The district court then examined the record before the

Commission in order to determine whether the Church had

proved by a preponderance of the evidence that it can no longer

carry out its charitable purpose in its existing facilities. The dis-

trict court found that it had not, for three basic reasons. First, it

ruled that the Church had failed to demonstrate that the

Community House is insufficient to accommodate the various

programs currently based there. Second, it found that the

Church had exaggerated the cost of the necessary repairs to the

structural and mechanical systems of the Church building and

Community House. Third, the court held that the Church hau

failed to prove that it cannot afford to make the necessary

repairs and renovations to its buildings. Having concluded that

the Church had not carried its burden of demonstrating that the

Landmarks Law precludes it from continuing its activities in its

existing facilities, the district court rejected the Church’s First

and Fifth Amendment claims and entered judgment for

defendants.

On appeal, the Church renews its free exercise and tak-

ings claims and argues that the district court’s factual findings

were clearly erroneous.

In the course of proceedings, the district court denied a

motion to intervene on the side of defendants made by several

individual parishioners and the Committee to Oppose the Sale of

St. Bartholomew’s Church Incorporated, a group of

St. Bartholomew’s members and others opposed to commercial

development of the Church’s property. It held that the proposed

intervenors had no ownership interest in the property at issue

and that their participation would interfere with the efficient

administration of the litigation. See St. Bartholomew’s Church

v. City of New York, No. 86 Civ. 2848 (JES), slip op.

(S.D.N.Y. Oct. 27, 1986)(order denying motion to intervene).

A year later, after the parties agreed «hat the trial in the instant

action should be conducted solely on the record before the

Commission, the proposed intervenors renewed their motion,

which was again denied. See St. Bartholomew’s Church v. City

of New York, No. 86 Civ. 2848 (JES), slip op. (S.D.N.Y.

Apr. 6, 1988)(order denying motion to intervene). The pro-

posed intervenors appeal from this ruling. —

2. The district court treated the Church’s remaining procedural due process

and state law claims as abandoned, because the Church had disavowed any

interest in having a new hearing before the Commission, the only relief avail-

able to remedy these claims.

DISCUSSION

Sections 1 and 2 of this portion of the opinion reject the

Church’s free exercise and takings claims. Our discussion

assumes the affirmance of the district court’s factual findings as

detailed in section 3.

. 1. The Free Exercise Claim

) The Church argues that the Landmarks Law substantially

) burdens religion in violation of the First Amendment as applied

| to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment. In particular,

| the Church contends that by denying its application to erect a

| commercial office tower on its property, the City of New York

and the Landmarks Commission (collectively, “the City”) have

impaired the Church’s ability to carry on and expand the minis-

terial and charitable activities that are central to its religious

mission. It argues that the Community House is no longer a

sufficient facility for its activities, and that the Church’s finan-

cial base has eroded. The construction of an office tower similar

to those that now surround St. Bartholomew’s in midtown

Manhattan, the Church asserts, is a means to provide better

space for some of the Church’s programs and income to support.

and expand its various ministerial and community activities.

The Church thus argues that even if the proposed office tower

will not house all of the Church’s programs, the revenue gener-

ated by renting commercial office space will enable the Church

to move some of its programs—such as sheltering the

homeless—off-site. The Church concludes that the Landmarks

| Law unconstitutionally denies it the opportunity to exploit this

means of carrying out its religious mission. Although the

Landmarks Law substantially limits the options of the Church

to re*se revenue for purposes of expanding religious charitable

activities, we believe the Church’s claims are precluded by

Supreme Court precedent.

As the Court recently stated in Employment Division v.

Smith, __ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct. 1595, 108 L.Ed.2d 876 (1990),

the free exercise clause prohibits above all “‘governmental

-10-

regulation of religious beliefs as such.”” Jd. 110 S.Ct. at 1599

(quoting Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 402, 83 S.Ct. 1790,

1793, 10 L.Ed.2d 965 (1963) and citing cases). No one seri-

ously contends that the Landmarks Law interferes with substan-

tive religious views. However, apart from impinging on religious

beliefs, governmental regulation may affect conduct or behavior

associated with those beliefs. Supreme Court decisions indicate

that while the government may not coerce an individual to adopt

a certain belief or punish him for his religious views, it may

pursuant to its general regulatory powers. For example, in

Smith the Court held that the free exercise clause did not pro-

hibit the State of Oregon from applying its drug laws to the reli-

gious use of peyote. See 110 S.Ct. 1595. Cf. United States v.

Lee, 455 U.S. 252, 102 S.Ct. 1051, 71 L.Ed.2d 127 (1982).

The synthesis of this caselaw has been stated as follows:

“(T]he right of free exercise does not relieve an individual of the

obligation to comply with a ‘valid and neutral law of general

applicability on the ground that the law proscribes (or

prescribes) conduct that his religion prescribes (or proscribes).””

Smith, 110 S.Ct. at 1600 (quoting Lee, 455 US. at 263 n.3, 102

S.Ct. at 1058 n. 3 (Stevens, J., concurring)). The critical dis-

tinction is thus between a neutral, generally applicable law that

happens to bear on religiously motivated action, and a regula-

tion that restricts certain conduct because it is religiously

oriented. See id. 110 S.Ct. at 1599.

The Landmarks Law is a facially neutral regulation of

general applicability within the meaning of Supreme Court

decisions. It thus applies to “[a]ny improvement, any part of

which is thirty years old or older, which has a special character

or special historical or aesthetic interest or value.” N.Y.C.

Admin. Code § 25-—302(n)(1986).

It is true that the Landmarks Law affects many religious

buildings. The Church thus asserts that of the six hundred land-

marked sites, over fifteen percent are religious properties and

over five percent are Episcopal churches. Nevertheless, we do

it.

not understand those facts to demonstrate a lack of neutrality or

general applicability. Because of the importance of religion, and

of particular churches, in our social and cultural history, and

because many churches are designed to be architecturally

attractive, many religious structures are likely to fall within the

neutral criteria—having “special character or special historical

or aesthetic interest or value”—+set forth by the Landmarks

Law. N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 25-302(n)(1986). This, however,

is not evidence of an intent to discriminate against, or impinge

on, religious belief in the designation of landmark sites.

The Church’s brief cites commentators, including a

former chair of the Commission, who are highly critical of the

Landmarks Law on grounds that it accords great discretion to

the Commission and that persons who have interests other than

the preservation of historic sites or aesthetic structures may

influence Commission decisions.’ Nevertheless, absent proof of

the discriminatory exercise of discretion, there is no constitu-

tional relevance to these observations. Zoning similarly regu-

lates land use but it is hardly a process in which the exercise of

discretion is constrained by scientific principles or unaffected by

selfish or political interests, yet it passes constitutional muster.

See Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 47 S.Ct. 114,

71 L.Ed. 303 (1926).

The Church argues that landmarking and zoning differ in

that landmarking targets only individual parcels while zoning

affects larger segments. However, the Landmarks Law permits

the designation of historic districts, see N.Y.C. Admin. Code

§ 25—303(a)(4)(1986), while all zoning laws provide for vari-

ances for individual sites. Even if the two forms of regulation

bear the different characteristics asserted by the Church, those

3. The Landmarks Law made a cameo appearance in a recent best-selling

novel as a vehicle for political retaliation against a clerical official seeking to

develop Church property. See T. Wolfe, Bonfire of the Vanities, 569 (1987)

(“Mort? You know that church, St. Timothy's? ... Right .. LANDMARK

THE SON OF A BITCH!”).

~]2-

eC ee Va 2?

differences are of no consequence in light of Penn Central

Transportation Company v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 98

S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978). There, the Court stated:

[L]andmark laws are not like discriminatory, or

‘reverse spot,’ zoning: that is, a land-use decision

which arbitrarily singles out a particular parcel for

different, less favorable treatment than the neigh-

boring ones. In contrast to discriminatory zoning,

which is the antithesis of land—use control as part

of some comprehensive plan, the New York City

law embodies a comprehensive plan to preserve

structures of historic or aesthetic interest when-

ever they might be found in the city....

Id. at 132, 98 S.Ct. at 2663 (citation omitted).

It is obvious that the Landmarks Law has drastically restricted

the Church’s ability to raise revenues to carry out its various

charitable and ministerial programs. In this particular case, the

revenues involved are very large because the Community House

is on land that would be extremely valuable if put to commercial

uses. Nevertheless, we understand Supreme Court decisions to

indicate that neutral regulations that diminish the income of a

religious organization do not implicate the free exercise clause.

See Jimmy Swaggart Ministries v. Board of Equalization, __

US. ___, 110 S.Ct. 688, 107 L.Ed.2d 796 (1990); Hernandez v.

Commissioner, __._ US. __, 109 S.Ct. 2136, 104 L.Ed.2d 766

(1989). The central question in identifying an unconstitutional

burden is whether the claimant has been denied the ability to

practice his religion or coerced in the nature of those practices.

In Lyng v. Northwest Cemetery Protective Ass'n, 485 U.S. 439,

108 S.Ct. 1319, 1326, 99 L.Ed.2d 5 4 (1988), the Court

explained,

It is true that ... indirect coercion or penalties on

the free exercise of religion, not just outright

prohibitions, are subject to scrutiny under the

First Amendment.... This does not and cannot

imply that incidental effects of government pro-

grams, which may make it more difficult to prac-

tice certain religions but which have no tendency

to coerce individuals into acting contrary to their

religious beliefs, require government to bring for-

ward a compelling justification for its otherwise

lawful actions. The crucial word in the constitu-

tional text is “prohibit” ...

We agree with the district court that no First Amendment viola-

tion has occurred absent a showing of discriminatory motive,

coercion in religious practice or the Church’s inability to carry

out its religious mission in its existing facilities. Cf. Yonkers

Racing Corp. v. City of Yonkers, 858 F.2d 855, 872 (2d Cir.

1988).

In sum, the Landmarks Law is a valid, neutral regulation

of general applicability, and as explained below, we agree with

the district court that the Church has failed to prove that it

cannot continue its religious practice in its existing facilities.‘

4. The Church also argues that the Landmarks Law involves an excessive

degree of entanglement between church and state in violation of the establish-

ment clause. The district court dismissed this argument as irrelevant in the

present context, reasoning that the entanglement doctrine applies only to

instances of government funding of religious organizations. However, in

Jimmy Swaggart Ministries the Supreme Court considered an entanglement

claim in the context of government taxation of the sale of religious materials

by a religious organization. The Court found no constitutional violation, as the

regulation imposed only routine administrative and recordkeeping obligations,

involved no continuing surveillance of the organization, and did not inquire

into the religious doctrine or motives of the organization. See 110 S.Ct. at

697-99. These same factors are of course largely true of the Landmarks Law.

The only scrutiny of the Church occurred in the proceedings for a certificate of

appropriateness, and the matters scrutinized were exclusively financial and

architectural. This degree of interaction does not rise to the level of unconsti-

tutiona] entanglement.

ft.

2. The Takings Claim

The Church also claims that the Landmarks Law so

severely restricts its ability to use its property that it constitutes

confiscation of property without just compensation in violation

of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.’ However, the

Supreme Court’s decision in Penn Central compels us to hold

In Penn Central, the Supreme Court held that the appli-

cation of New York City’s Landmarks Law to Grand Central

Terminal did not effect an unconstitutional taking. See 438

US. at 138, 98 S.Ct. at 2666. That famous beaux arts style

train station, located in midtown Manhattan (just sight blocks

from St. Bartholomew’s Church) was designated 2 landmark in

1967. See id. at 115-16, 98 S.Ct. at 2654-55. Shortly thereaf-

ter, Penn Central Transportation Company (“Penn Central’),

principal owner of the Terminal, in order to increase its income,

sought to build a high-rise office tower atop the Terminal. The

Landmarks Commission, however, denied the proposal because

““lq]juite simply, the tower would overwhelm the Terminal by its

sheer mass.”” Jd. at 118, 98 S.Ct. at 2656 (quoting the record on

appeal). The Supreme Court squarely rejected Penn Central’s

claim that the building restriction had unconstitutionally

“taken” its property. Central to the Court’s holding were the

facts that the regulation did not interfere with the historical use

of the property and that that use continued to be economically

viable:

[T]he New York City law does not interfere in

any way with the present uses of the 7 erminal. Its

designation as a landmark not only permits but

contemplates that appellants may continue to use

5. The Fifth Amendment provides in part, “nor shall private property be

taken for public use, without just compensation,” U.S. Const. amend. V, and

is applicable to the states through the Fourteenth Amendment. See Chicago,

B. &Q. R. Co. v. Chicago, 166 U.S. 226, 17 S.Ct. 581, 41 L.Ed. 979 (1897).

ft.

the property precisely as it has been used for the

past 65 years: as a railroad terminal containing

office space and concessions. So the law does not

interfere with what must be regarded as Penn

Central’s primary expectation concerning the use

of the parcel. More importantly, on this record,

we must regard the New York City law as permit-

ting Penn Central not only to profit from the

Terminal but also to obtain a “reasonable return”

on its investment.

Id. at 136, 98 S.Ct. at 2665.

Applying the Penn Central standard to property used for

charitable purposes, the constitutional question is whether the

land—use regulation impairs the continued operation of the prop-

erty in its originally expected use. We conclude that the

Landmarks Law does not effect an unconstitutional taking

because the Church can continue its existing charitable and reli-

gious activities in its current facilities. Although the regulation

may “freeze” the Church’s property in its existing use and pre-

vent the Church from expanding or altering its activities, Penn

Central explicitly permits this. In that case, the Landmarks

Law diminished the opportunity for Penn Central to earn what

might have been substantial amounts by preventing it from

building a skyscraper atop the Terminal. Here it prevents a

similar development by the Church—one that, in contrast to the

proposal to build an office tower over Grand Central Terminal,

would involve the razing of a landmarked building—at least so

long as the Church is able to continue its present activities in the

existing buildings. In both cases, the deprivation of commercial

value is palpable, but as we understand Penn Central, it does not

constitute a taking so long as continued use for present activities

is viable.

The Church offers several arguments to distinguish Penn

Central, but we find them unavailing. First, it argues that while

Penn Central stipulated that it was able to earn a “reasonable

return” on the Termin... sve. under the regulation, see 438 U.S.

at 129, 98 S.Ct. at 2662, in this case, the use of the Community

House for commercial purposes would yield an estimated return

of only six percent. Even if true, this fact is irrelevant.

“Reasonable return” analysis was appropriate to determine the

viability of the existing commercial use of the Terminal but has

no bearing on the instant matter because the existing use of the

Community House is for charitable rather than commercial

purposes. So long as the Church can continue to use its property

in the way that it has been using it—to house its charitable and

religious activity— there is no unconstitutional taking.

Second, the Church notes that it presented a second pro-

posal for a smalier building to the Commission, but Penn

Central did not. This hardly makes any difference. Just as the

Commission in Penn Central remained open to a building addi-

tion that “‘would harmonize in scale, material and character,’

438 U.S. at 137, 98 S.Ct. at 2666 (quoting record on appeal),

with the Terminal, it invited appellant to propose an addition to

the Community House in the instant matter. Finally, we reject

as unsupported appellant’s argument that in Penn Central the

property owner continued to enjoy valuable, transferable rights

to develop the airspace above the Terminal, see 438 U.S. at 137,

98 S.Ct. at 2666, while the Church’s development rights have

little value. See Section 3(a) infra.‘

6. Appellant urges further that application of the Landmarks Law to the

Church dees not substantially advance a legitimate state interest. See Nollan

v. California Coastal Comm'n, 483 U.S. 825, 834-35, 107 S.Ct. 3141,

3146-47, 97 L.Ed.2d 677 (1987). While land use restrictions must be

reviewed in the context of the individual property in question, see Nectow v.

City of Cambridge, 277 US. 183, 48 S.Ct. 447, 72 L.Ed. 842 (1928), the

same government interest held to be valid in Penn Central—“preserving struc-

tures and areas with special historic, architectural or cultural significance,”

438 US. at 129, 98 S.Ct. at 2662—is equally applicable here.

=| a

3. Findings of the District Court

The principal factual finding of the district court—one

central to its rejection of the Church’s free exercise and takings

claims—was that the Church “failed to show by a preponder-

ance of the evidence that it can no longer conduct its charitable

activities or carry out its religious mission in its existing

facilities.” St. Bartholomew's Church v. City of New York, 728

F. Supp. 958, 974-75 (S.D.N.Y. 1989)(opinion and order).

The Church claims that the Community House is an inad-

equate facility in which to carry out the various activities that

presently comprise the Church’s religious mission and charitable

purpose. It further claims that it cannot afford to make the

needed repairs and renovations to the Community House and

Church building. It concludes that it must be allowed to replace

the Community House with a revenue—generating office tower.

The district court was unconvinced. It found that the Churct

failed to prove that the Community House is fundamentally

unsuitable for its current use and that the cost of repair and

rehabilitation is beyond the financial means of the Church.

Appellant argues on appeal that these findings were clearly

erroneous. Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a); Anderson v. Bessemer City, 470

US. 564, 574-75, 105 S.Ct. 1504, 1511-12, 84 L.Ed.2d 518

(1985); Sygma Photo News, Inc. v. High Society Magazine, 778

F.2d 89, 95-96 (2d Cir. 1985). We disagree.

a. Adequacy of the Community House

The Church claims that the amount and configuration of —

usable space in the Community House is insufficient to accom-

modate the Church’s various programs. It relies principally

upon an analysis of space in the Community House by Walker

Associates, an interior design firm hired by the Church.

Presented to the Commission in three written reports and

related oral testimony (collectively, “the Walker Report’’), this

study concluded that the demands for space by the Church’s

various programs exceeded the capacity of the Community

House. additionally, the Walker Report stated that renovation

46

or expansion was impractical due to the structural inflexibility

of the building.

The district court discredited the Walker Report. With

regard to space, there is no dispute that the Community House

currently is too small. The Walker Report found that 8000

square feet of extra space is needed. The Commission placed

the deficiency at about 4500 square feet.’

Fatal, however, to the Church’s claim is the absence of

any showing that the space deficiency in the Community House

cannot be remedied by a reconfiguration or expansion that is

consistent with the purposes of the Landmarks Law. The

Walker Report assumed that the Community House had an out-

moded structure that precluded such an option. In fact, the

building has a modern, light steel frame structure and was

designed so that two additional floors could easily be added.

Moreover, the Commission has indicated that it would be recep-

tive to a proposal from the Church for such an addition. While

expanding the amount of available space in the Community

House may not provide ideal facilities for the Church’s

expanded programs, it does offer a means of continuing those

programs in the existing building. Certainly the intermediate

option of limited expansion must be thoroughly explored before

jumping to replacement with a forty-seven story office building.

7. The Walker Report determined that the total space required in the

Community House is 41,500 square feet, as against 33,500 square feet of

available useable space. The Commission accepted the figure for require-

ments, but estimated the available useable space at approximately 37,000

square feet.

8. For instance, the existing building cannot readily accommodate the larger

gymnasium or greater theater wing space sought by the Church.

~19--

b. Cost of Repair and Rehabilitation

The Church also argues that the necessary repairs to the

physically deteriorating Church building and Community House

would be prohibitively expensive. It relies on a study of the

mechanical systems and exteriors of those buildings prepared by

O’Brien, Krietzburg and Associates, a construction management .

firm, and submitted to the Commission through written reports

and oral testimony (collectively, “the OKA Report”). The

OKA Report estimated that it would cost approximately $11

million over two years to bring the buildings’ mechanical, elec-

trical, and plumbing systems into proper working order and to

repair the buildings’ exteriors.

The district court also rejected this conclusion, faulting

the OKA Report for being biased in favor of replacement over

rehabilitation, ignoring actual conditions at the property site,

and using an inappropriate method of estimating costs. Further,

the district court pointed to contradictory evidence presented to

the Commission, both by persons opposing the proposed develop-

ment and by neutral consultants. Based on this information, the

court found $3 million “phased in over a period of several years”

to be a reasonable estimate for repairs and replacement.

On appeal, the Church does not seriously defend the $11

million estimate contained in the OKA Report. Instead, it

accepts the $3 million estimate for the work that it covers, but

argues that this figure disregards certain “major elements of

cost.” In particular, the Church asserts that an additional

$500,000 is necessary for life safety measures, $647,000 for

repair of the church organ, and $360,000 for architectural and

engineering fees. The City counters that the life safety addi-

tions would unnecessarily exceed building code requirements,

that organ repair is not a proper expense for this proceeding,

and that design fees would be negligible.

We need not rule on this dispute over approximately $1.5

million because it is not crucial to the district court’s operative:

factual finding. As our discussion in the next section indicates,

-20-

CEN ery TA et See ee Sa a ng A Te lt I We ne tee MeN yo Ae Oe eg DR OE ae See ee OE er eae

even if the potential cost of repairs totaled $4.5 million, the

Church has not adequately demonstrated that it is unable to

meet this expense. Thus, the district court’s central finding that

the Church had failed to prove that it cannot continue in its

existing facilities does not hinge on whether any portion of this

$1.5 million was excluded from its estimate of repair costs.

c. The Church’s Finances

As a corollary to its claim that repair and rehabilitation of

the Church building and Community House would be too costiy,

the Church argues that its financial condition does not allow it

to make the necessary improvements and also continue its other

programs. The district court, however, found that appellant had

failed adequately to prove this assertion, a finding that is not

clearly erroneous.

The Church has three primary sources of support and

revenue: contributions in the form of pledges and offerings col-

lected at worship services, income earned on investments, and

fees charged for participation in activities conducted under its

sponsorship. Investment income is derived from the Church’s

investment portfolio, known as the Consolidated Church Fund,

the value of which stood at nearly $11 million at the end of

1984. The principal of this endowment consists of funds

received as gifts or bequests. In addition, the Church’s endow-

ment includes a Properties Fund, representing resources in

Church-owned property at acquired cost, net of depreciation,

and a miscellaneous General Fund. Combined, these funds

totaled just under $3.5 million at the end of 1984, giving the

Church an overall endowment of about $14.3 million at that

time. Over the decade preceding 1985, the Church’s sources of

revenue have sporadically kept pace with expenses, exceeding

them in 1975, 1977, 1980, 1983 and 1984, and falling behind in

1976, 1978, 1979, 1981, and 1982. On the whole, the Church

had only a slight net deficit over this period.

The Church’s principal argument is that a major

improvement expenditure of the type required to repair and

efina

renovate the Church building and Community House would

severely damage this “precarious” balance of revenues and

expenses. Because such an expenditure would come from

endowment funds, the Church contends, future investment

income will inevitably decline as the result of a depleted

portfolio. Such a decrease in future revenues, it concludes, will

produce “severe deficits.”

While a reduced principal will yield less investment

income, the Caurch has not demonstrated that its budget cannot

withstand building improvement expenditures under a reason-

able financing procedure. For example, as the district court

noted, withdrawals from the endowment might be made gradu-

ally to minimize lost investment income, or the Church might

borrow against its endowment, and repay the loan over an

extended period of time. Appellant has offered no financial pro-

jections or cash flow analyses to prove that these financing

methods are not feasible. Without such data, the district court’s

finding that the Church failed to prove prospective financial

hardship is not clearly erroneous.

We also cannot ignore the paucity of evidence offered by

the Church to show that other forms of revenue are not

available. Its claim that a capital fundraising drive already has

been exhausted as a financing possibility is undercut by evidence

that longtime members of the congregation cannot recall any

such drive. Also, evidence before the Commission indicated that

the transferable development rights for the airspace above the

Church property are, contrary to the Church’s claim, not

worthless.

Finally, the Church argues that even if its endowment

could withstand a building project, it is not at liberty to with-

draw large sums for that purpose because of legal restrictions on

the use of its investment funds. In particular, it urges that

Section 717 of the New York Not-For-Profit Corporation Law

prohibits the Church from expending the sums necessary to

undergo a building project. That provision, however, does no

more than impose upon the Church a fiduciary duty of care to

a, |,

manage the congregation’s money in a prudent and responsible

fashion, see N.Y. Not-for-Profit Corp. Law §§ 513, 717

(McKinney Supp. 1990), and would be implicated only if the

expenditures in question would unacceptably impair the

_ Church’s financial condition.’

4. The Motion to Intervene

The proposed intervenors argue that the district court

should have granted their motion to intervene on the side of the

defendants at trial. We may reverse the denial of a motion to

intervene only for “abuse of discretion.” See United States v.

Hooker Chemical & Plastics, 749 F.2d 968, 990 (2d Cir.

1984). No such abuse is present here. The district court prop-

erly denied intervention as of right under Fed.R.Civ.P. 24(a)(2)

because the proposed intervenors lack any legally protectable

interest in this matter. Under New York law, as a Protestant

Episcopal Church, St. Bartholomew’s is a corporate body

placed in the trusteeship of its church wardens and vestrymen.

See New York Religious Corporation Law § 41 (McKinney

Supp. 1990). To the extent that the proposed intervenors are

members of the parish, they enjoy only the right to vote in the

election of the church wardens and vestrymen. See id. § 43.

Thus, the Rector, Wardens and Members of the Vestry is the

proper party to litigate the constitutionality of encumbrances

placed on Church property. 3g ‘

Nor did the district court abuse its discretion by denying

permissive intervention under Rule 24(b). It was eminently

reasonable to conclude that intervention only would complicate

9. Although the Church also points to Section 513 of the Not-for-Profit

Corporation Law, which deals with the administration of assets received for

specific purposes, see N.Y. Not-for-Profit Corp. Law § 513 (McKinney

Supp. 1990), it concedes that donor—imposed restrictions are not a “principal

constraint” preventing the improvement of its property. It does not challenge

the district court’s finding that enough of the Church’s funds are unrestricted

so as to allow it to undertake a building project.

the litigation, and thereby “unduly delay ... the adjudication of

the rights of the original parties.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 24(b).

CONCLUSION

- For the reasons stated above, we affirm both the judgment

of the district court in favor of the defendants—appellees and the

order of that court denying the motion to intervene.

—24-

The RECTOR, WARDENS, AND MEMBERS

OF THE VESTRY OF ST. BARTHOLOMEW’S

CHURCH, Piaintiff,

v.

CITY OF NEW YORK, AND LANDMARKS

PRESERVATION COMMISSION OF THE

CITY OF NEW YORK, Defendants.

No. 86 Civ. 2848 (JES).

United States District Court, S.D. New York.

Dec. 13, 1989.

As Amended Jan. 24, 1990.

728 F. Supp. 958

Church sued city Landmarks Preservation Commission,

seeking determination that statute under which Commission had

denied church’s application of certificate of appropriateness to

tear down activities building portion of designated landmark

complex and replace it with high-rise office building which

would be used in part for church activities, on grounds that stat-

ute violated church’s First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment

rights. The District Court, Sprizzo, J., held that: (1) statute

did not violate free exercise clause; (2) statute did not involve

government in excessive entanglement with affairs of church;

(3) statute did not violate equal protection rights of church by

imposing different standards for granting certificates in the

cases of commercial and charitable entities; (4) statute did not

deprive church of its procedural due process rights; and (5) stat-

ute was not unconstitutional as applied, as church failed to

demonstrate that it could not use existing facilities, with

affordable rehabilitation, to satisfy its religious needs.

Judgment for Commission.

Mudge, Rose, Guthrie, Aiexander & Ferdon, New York

City (Douglas M. Parker, Judah Gribetz, Howard

W. Goldstein, George A. Pierce, of counsel), Henry

P. Monaghan, Kent Greenawalt, James G. Glazebrook,

Chancellor of St. Bartholomew's Church, New York City, for

plaintiff.

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, New York City

(Donald G. Glascoff, Jr., Joseph Polizzotto, Lisa J. Sotto, of

counsel), for amicus curiae in support of plaintiff (New York

State Interfaith Commission on Landmarking of Religious

Property).

Cusack & Stiles, New York City (George

J. McCormack, of counsel), for amici curiae in support of plain-

tiff (Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York).

Hurley, Kearney & Lane, Brooklyn, N.Y. (Kevin

M. Kearney, of counsel), for amici curiae in support of plaintiff

(Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Brookiyn).

Jeffrey R. Notarbartolo, Brooklyn, N.Y., for amicus

curiae in support of plaintiff (Committee of Denominational

Executives).

Peter L. Zimroth, Corp. Counsel of the City of New

York, New York City (Jonathan L. Pines, Lucy A. Cardwell,

Asst. Corp. Counsels, of counsel), for defendants.

Simpson, Thacher & Bartlett, New York City (John

J. Kerr, David W. Sussman, Elizabeth P. Johnson, of counsel),

for amici curiae in support of defendants (The New York

Landmarks Conservancy, Nat. Trust for Historic Preservation,

Nat. Center for Preservation Law, Preservation Action, Fine

Arts Federation, Preservation League of N.Y. State, and

Women’s City Club of New York, Inc.).

Mannarino Bader Bloom Fischer & Woll, P.C., New

York City (Gerald D. Fischer, of counsel), for amicus curiae in

support of defendants (Committee to Oppose the Sale of

St. Bartholomew’s Church, Inc.).

John Sexton, Norman Dorsen, New York City, for amicus

curiae in support of defendants.

Cahill Gordon & Reindel, New York City (William E.

Hegarty, Howard G. Sloane, David F. Freedman, of counsel),

for amici curiae in support of defendants (The New York

Landmarks Conservancy, National Trust for Historic

Preservation, National Center for Preservation Law,

Preservation Action, Fine Arts Federation, Preservation League

of New. York State, and Women’s City Club of New York,

Inc.).

OPINION AND ORDER

SPRIZZO, District Judge:

: Plaintiff, the Rector, Wardens and Members of the

Vestry of St. Bartholomew’s Church bring this action pursuant

to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, for declaratory and injunctive relief and

for damages. Plaintiff contends that defendants, City of New

York and the Landmarks Preservation Commission of the City

of New York (“Commission”), have violated its rights under the

First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, and under the laws of the State of New York. The

Court has, by agreement of the parties, held a bench trial on the

evidence previously submitted to the Commission in 1985 and

1986. After reviewing that evidence de novo and considering

the law applicable thereto, the Court makes the following find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P.

52(a)”

10. The parties have set forth the evidence submitted to the Commission in

the form of a twenty-three volume appendix (“App.”). References to that evi-

==

BACKGROUND >

St. Bartholomew’s Church is a Protestant Episcopal

Church organized under the laws of the State of New York as a

non-profit religious corporation. The Church building, designed

by Bertram Goodhue, was completed in 1919, and is located on

the east side of Park Avenue between East 50th and East 5ist

Streets in the City of New York. See 8 App. 2540; 10

App. 3432. Next to the church building is a seven floor com-

munity house constructed by Goodhue’s successor firm during

the years 1926-28. See 8 App. 2540, 10 App. 3433; 11

App. 4062. The community house provides, in combination

with the church building, a home for a variety of social and reli-

gious activities in which the Church is engaged." In addition to

the two structures, the Church’s Park Avenue property is

improved by a garden and terrace area. See 11 App. 4062.

In March of 1967, the church, the exterior of the commu-

nity house and the surrounding property were designated as

landmarks by the Commission, a designation plaintiff did not

then oppose.” See 8 App. 2540. Subsequently, however, plain-

tiff filed two applications with the Commission seeking a

Certificate of Appropriateness under what is now N.Y. City

Admin.Code § 25-307." The first such application, filed in

dence in this Opinion are to the volume and page number of that appendix,

e.g., 1 App. 246 refers to appendix volume one at page 246.

11. Among other things, the community house provides athletic facilities,

including a pool and basketball court, a theatre, a pre-school for sixty stu-

dents, meeting rooms, kitchen and dining facilities and office space. The

church building, in conjunction with the community house, provides clothing,

meals and sleeping quarters for the homeless. See 10 App. 3433-35.

12. The Church’s ability to alter or demolish the buildings is restricted by a

landmark designation. Any such alteration requires the approval of the

Commission. See N.Y.Admin.Code § 25-305(a)(1).

13. Section 307(a) provides in relevant part: “the commission shal] determine

whether the proposed work would be appropriate for and consistent with the

Bs

December 1983, sought permission to tear down the community

house and erect in its place a fifty—nine story office tower. See

Affidavit of Gene Norman (“Norman Aff.) at 4 21. This

application was denied as an inappropriate alteration on June

21, 1984. See id. at ¢ 25. The second application, filed in

December 1984, sought to demolish the community house in

favor of a forty-seven story office tower. See id. at | 27; 8

App. 2470. This application was also denied as inappropriate on

August 26, 1985. See Norman Aff. at ¢ 29. After the denial

of plaintiff's second application, a further application to build

the forty-seven story tower was made on September 3, 1985, on

grounds of insufficient return pursuant to sections 2074.0 and

207-8.0 of the New York City Administrative Code.“ See 10

App. 3234.

The Commission held public hearings on plaintiffs third

application on October 29, 1985, December 3, 1985, and

January 21, 1986. See 2 App. 321; 3 App. 704; 4 App. 1114.

At those hearings the Commission heard testimony from all

interested parties, including expert witnesses who testified

regarding the suitability of the community house to its charita-

ble purpose, the extent and cost of necessary structural and

mechanical repairs for both the church and community house,

and the state of the Church’s finances. In addition, the

effectuation of the purposes of this chapter.”

14. Section 207-8.0(a)(2)(c), now found at § 25-309(a)(2)(c), provides that

a certificate of appropriateness on the ground of insufficient return shall be

granted when the applicant shows, inter alia, that: “such improvement has

ceased to be adequate, suitable or appropriate for use for carrying out both (1)

the purposes of such owner to which it is devoted and (2) those purposes to

which it had been devoted when acquired unless such owner is no

engaged in pursuing such purposes.” In addition, New York law requires that

a certificate of appropriateness be granted where failure to do so would

“prevent or seriously interfere” with the applicant’s ability to carry out its

charitable purpose. See Society for Ethical Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449,

454-55, 415 N.E.2d 922, 925, 434 N.Y.S.2d 932, 935 (1980); Lutheran

Church in America v. City of New York, 35 N.Y.2d 121, 131, 316 N.E.2¢

305, 311, 359 N.Y.S.2d 7, 16 (1974).

fp.

to the

public, on February 6, 11, 18, 20, and 24, 1986 to discuss

L

|

i

|

mination denying the application. See id. at 4 68; 19 App.

6448.

Thereafter, plaintiff brought the instant action alleging

the following constitutional claims: 1) that the landmark laws

are facially unconstitutional to the extent they impact the prop-

erty of any church because they interfere with the free exercise

of religion in violation of the First Amendment; 2) that the land-

mark laws are facially unconstitutional because they treat chari-

table and commercial institutions differently in violation of the

equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment; 3) that

the landmark laws are unconstitutional as applied to

St. Bartholomew’s as a consequence of the Commission’s denial

of their applications for a certificate of appropriateness, because

that denial interfered with the free exercise of religion and

because the denials constitute a taking of property without com-

pensation; 4) that the landmark laws both facially and as

applied to St. Bartholomew’s violate the establishment clause

by requiring an intrusive examination of the church’s internal

affairs in the hardship application process; 5) that the landmark

laws both facially and as applied violate the doctrine of substan-

tive due process by depriving the Church of its property’s rea-

sonable income production without a compelling state interest;

6) that the legal standards for designation of a landmark and for

granting a certificate of appropriateness are impermissibly

vague in violation of the due process clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment; 7) that the lack of cross—-examination of witnesses

in the certificate of appropriateness procedure, the vagueness of

the Commission’s first two denial letters, the Commission’s fail-

ure to consider economic hardship in the second application and

the Commission’s failure to allow plaintiff to submit responses

to the Commission’s witnesses all constitute due process

violations. In addition, plaintiff brought state law claims for

Article 78 relief alleging that the Church should have been

granted a certificate of appropriateness under New York law."

Plaintiff then moved for partial summary judgment on its

claims of facial unconstitutionality, and defendant cross—moved

for summary judgment.’ These motions were later supple-

mented to add the issue of whether plaintiff's Article 78 claims

were justiciable in a federal forum. The Court ruled on these |

motions in open court. Those rulings are recapitulated below in

section I.”

15. Plaintiff could have sought review of the Commission’s factual and legal

determinations in at Article 78 proceeding in New York State Supreme Court

but elected not to do so. See N.Y.Civ.Prac. L.& R. § 7801 (McKinney

1981).

16. In addition to moving for summary judgment on plaintiff's claims of facial

unconstitutionality defendants asserted that plaintiff's as applied claims were

insufficient as well because plaintiff still retained some viable economic use of

its property.

17. In addition to the summary judgment motions in this case, a motion to

intervene on the side of the defendants was made by the Committee to Oppose

the Sale of St. Bartholomew's (“Committee”), a group of church members

opposed to the development project. The Court determined that intervention

as of right was not appropriate because the members of the Committee had no

ownership interest in the Church property itself, but at best only had the right

to vote on the development issue in an intra-church proceeding. The Court

also denied permissive intervention as a matter of discretion because, quite

aside from the jurisdictional problems caused by such intervention, that inter-

- vention would have seriously interfered with the parties’ desire to expeditiously

well have led to collateralization of the issues and further discovery. See infra

Discussion at II. In addition, the Court was persuaded that affording amicus

curiae status to the putative intervenors provided an adequate substitute for

_ >

OE OS EES ee ee Ne Se ee | =. s —~ *

> ae oe a Se ee ee ee et ee eee

: 2 OF Sth tg aig EE Be i om Fee — ;

. ek Nam hes A tas Foe

eS — eee eS eee ee ahs —a. —

- i i el ng Min tee el intial

DISCUSSION

L Plaintiff's Claims of Facial Unconstitutionality

A. First Amendment Claims

The Court rejects plaintiff's contention that the landmark

laws unconstitutionally interfere with the free exercise of the

religious beliefs of any church that is designated a landmark.

The gravamen of plaintiff's free exercise claim is that by

restricting a church’s ability to use its property as it wishes in

support of its religious or charitable mission, the landmark laws

impermissibly burden the exercise of religious belief.

That claim lacks merit. A statute abridges the free exer-

cise of religion when it coerces the affected individuals into vio-

lating their religious beliefs or when “[it] penalize{s] religious

activity by denying any person an equal share of the rights, ben-

efits and privileges enjoyed by other citizens.” Lyng v.

Northwest Indian Cemetery Protective Ass'n., 485 U.S. 439,

449, 108 S.Ct. 1319, 1325, 99 L.Ed.2d 534 (1988); see also

Tony & Susan Alamo Found. v. Secretary of Labor, 471 U.S.

290, 303, 105 S.Ct. 1953, 1962, 85 L.Ed.2d 278 (1985);

Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 402, 83 S.Ct. 1790, 1792, 10

L.Ed.2d 965 (1963). A substantial interference with the free

exercise of religion may also occur where church property is

taken, even by condemnation, for state purposes. Cf. Yonkers

Racing Corp. v. City of Yonkers, 858 F.2d 8°°, 871 (2d

Cir.1988), cert. denied, __ US. __., 109 S.Ct. 1527, 103

L.Ed.2d 833 (1989).

However, the mere possibility that a church may at some

time want to make a different use of its landmarked property

creates no more than an incidental burden on the practice of

religion that does not “require the state to come forwari with a -

compelling reason justifying its actions.” See Yonkers, supra,

permissive intervention.

858 F.2d at 871. Therefore, the designation of church buildings

as landmarks does not in and of itself violate the free exercise

clause." This is especially true since the landmark designation

does not deprive the Church of the right to seek a certificate of

appropriateness to alter its property if the nature of that prop-

erty is such that it no longer can be used to carry out its reli-

gious or charitable mission.

Plaintiff also contends that because the New York statu-

tory and judicial tests for determining when a certificate of

appropriateness may be granted on the grounds of hardship

require an intrusive examination into the finances and internal

workings of the Church, those tests, both on their face and as

applied to St. Bartholomew’s, result in an excessive entangle-

ment between government and religion in violation of the estab-

lishment clause. While the establishment clause does prohibit

excessive entanglement between government and religion, see

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 619, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 2114,

29 L.Ed.2d 745 (1971), that doctrine has normally been applied

in factual situations in which state aid to religious institutions

requires extensive and continuous monitoring of church activi-

ties to ensure that government financing is being used solely for

secular purposes. See id.; see also NLRB v. Catholic Bishop of

Chicago, 440 U.S. 90, 502-03, 99 S.Ct. 1313, 1319-20, 59

L.Ed.2d 533 (1979). That doctrine has no applicability where,

as here, the government must make an inquiry into church

finances for the limited purpose of determining the validity of a

church’s claim of financial hardship.

18. The Court also rejects plaintiff's contention that whenever a law has any

impact upon a religious institution it must be justified by a compelling state

interest. A compelling state interest is only required when the law impermissi-

bly burdens the free exercise of religion. See Yonkers, supra, 858 F.2d at

871. Absent such a burden the state need only show a rational basis for the

legislation. The New York landmark laws have such a rational basis. See

Pern Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104, 129, 98 S.Ct.

2646, 2661, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978). Thus, plaintiff's substantive due process

claims are without merit as well.

B. Equal Protection Claims

Plaintiff alleges that because the landmark laws provide

different hardship tests for commercial and charitable entities

clause. Because the Court has already found that the laws do

not on their face impermissibly bu: 2n religion, any differences

in treatment need only be justifiea by a rational basis.”

As a threshold matter it should be noted that the equal

protection clause only protects persons who are similarly situa-

ted from disparate treatment. Therefore, the differences

between commercial entities and charitable institutions render

that argument dubious at best. In any event, those differences

clearly provide the state with a rational basis for treating those

entities differently.

i

. q

4

cis

af

FE

ae

if

ge

ae

o

He!

ae

4,

di

ih,

a)

2

bs

ee

Since the hardship test for commercial enterprises is

based upon the ability to earn a reasonable return from its prop-

erty, it is obvious that a similar standard could not be applied to

an entity which exists for charitable and not commercial

purposes.” Indeed, it would make little sense, and might in fact

be irrational, to apply the charitable test to a commercial prop-

erty or the commercial test to a charitable property. It follows

that the so called disparity in treatment is nothing more than a

reasonable effort by the state to afford hardship relief to both

classes of entities based upon criteria specifically tailored to the

nature of each.

19. Plaintiff also argues that its equal protection rights have been violated

because the landmark laws treat landmarked and non—landmarked churches

differently. This argument is at best an attack upon the general rationality of

the landmark laws, an attack foreclosed by Penn Central, supra.

20. N.Y. City Admin.Code § 207-8.0(a)(1)(a), now § 25-309(a)(1)(a), per-

mits commercial property to obtain a certificate of appropriateness on the

ground of insufficient return if, inter alia, the landmarked building “is not

capable of earning a reasonable return.”

-34-

C. Due Process Claims —

Plaintiff also argues that the legal standards for designat-

ing a landmark and for granting a certificate of appropriateness

are impermissibly vague and give the Commission virtually

unfettered discretion in making its decisions. Therefore plaintiff

argues the laws do not comport with the minimum requirements

of procedural due process.

At the very least, due process requires notice and an

opportunity to be heard. See Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 US.

319, 332-33, 96 S.Ct. 893, 901, 47 L.Ed.2d 18 (1976). The

landmark laws unquestionably meet that standard in that they

provide a property owner with adequate notice of the law’s

requirements and with the opportunity for an extensive hearing,

especially in view of the interpretation placed upon those laws

by the courts of New York. See, e.g., Society for Ethical

Culture v. Spatt, 51 N.Y.2d 449, 454-55, 415 N.E.2d 922, 925,

434 N.Y.S.2d 932, 935 (1980); Lutheran Church in America v.

City of New York, 35 N.Y.2d 121, 131, 316 N.E.2d 305, 311,

359 N.Y.S.2d 7, 16 (1974). It follows that since a reasonable

person can and should know what standards must be met in

bringing an application for a certificate of appropriateness or in

opposing a landmark designation, those statutes are not imper-

missibly vague. See Maynard v. Cartwright, 486 U.S. 356, 361,

108 S.Ct. 1853, 1858, 100 L.Ed.2d 372 (1988).

While it is true that the procedures available at a land-

mark hearing are not the same as those available at a civil trial,

that is not what due process requires. See Mathews, supra, 424

US. at 333, 96 S.Ct. at 901. Moreover, under New York law

there is a right to judicial review of Commission decisions in the

state court system, see supra note 6, a circumstance that further

supports the rejection of plaintiff's due process claims.” See

21. There is no need to resolve the merits of plaintiff's contention that the

Commission violated its procedural due process rights during the hardship

hearing. Those alleged defects could have, and should have, been addressed

x.

Williamson County Regional Pianning Comm’n v. Hamilton

Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 194-95 & n. 14, 105 S.Ct. 3108, 3120-21

& n. 14, 87 L.Ed.2d 126 (1985).

In sum, the Court rejects plaintiff's contentions that the

landmark laws are unconstitutional on their face as to all

churches, and grants summary judgment for defendants as to

those claims.

Il. The Trial of this Action

Although concluding that partial summary judgment

should be granted for defendants on plaintiff's claims of facial

unconstitutionality, the Court held a trial with respect to

plaintiff's claim that the landmark laws were unconstitutional as

applied. Plaintiff's contentions in that regard are twofold: (1)

that because it could no longer carry out its religious mission in

its existing facilities the denial of its hardship application consti-

tuted a taking of its property without just compensation; and (2)

the denial of that application constituted an impermissible

burden on the exercise of its religious beliefs.

Initially, the Court was of the view that it could have a

trial de novo and consider facts not before the Commission in

deciding whether the landmark laws had been unconstitutionally

applied to plaintiff. Subsequently, the Court reconsidered this

view and concluded that it would be inappropriate to predicate a

through an Article 78 proceeding in state supreme court. Moreover, plaintiff

has expressly disclaimed any desire to have the matter returned to the land-

mark commission for a new hearing, which is the only relief that would be

appropriate even if the Court were to accept plaintiff's argument that this

hearing, as opposed to the standard applicable to such proceedings in general,

deprived the church of procedural due process. In view of that circums‘ance,

the Court will treat that claim as abandoned. For the same reason, the Court

will not decide the merits of whether Article 78 relief can constitute « claim

cognizabie in a federal court, an issue that has caused some difficu!ty.

Compare Cooney v. American Horse Shows Ass'n, 495 F. Supp. 424, 433

n. 7 (S.D.N.Y. 1980) with Herrmann v. Brooklyn Law School, 432 F. Supp.

236, 239-40 (E.D.N.Y. 1976).

finding of unconstitutionality on facts which the Commission

never had an opportunity to consider, especially since under the

statutory scheme, a new application for hardship exemption can

be made at any time based upon additional facts.” Therefore,

the Court, as requested and consented to by the parties,” will

evaluate this claim solely on the basis of the record before the

Commission.” However, since the Court is presented with a

22. Indeed, it would hardly be consistent with the principles of comity and

federalism that require a federal court to abstain where a remedy may be pro-

vided by state law without reaching the constitutional issues, see Railroad

Comm'n v. Pullman Co., 312 US. 496, 500-501, 61 S.Ct. 643, 645, 85 L.Ed.

971 (1941), for this Court to deprive the Commission of the opportunity con-

ferred upon it by state law to determine whether new facts support plaintiff's

hardship application as a matter of state law.

23. The putative intervenors did not either request or consent to that

procedure.

24. Defendants contend that under University of Tennessee v. Elliot, 478 US.

788, 106 S.Ct. 3220, 92 L.Ed.2d 635 (1986), the Court must not only confine

itself to the administrative record, but must also give preclusive effect to the

factual findings of the Commission. Elliot requires that when a state agency

acting in a judicial capacity resolves disputed issues of fact properly before it

which the parties have had an adequate opportunity to litigate, federal courts

must give the agency’s factfinding the same preclusive effect to which it would

be entitled in the courts of that state. See id. at 798-99, 106 S.Ct. at

3225~26.

However, whether a proceeding is to be regarded as judicial for pur-

poses of Elliot preclusion is a question of federal law. Moreover, the fact that

a proceeding may meet the minimum requirements of due process does not

necessarily require that it be afforded preclusive effect. In addition, state law

must require that the proceeding be afforded preclusive effect before the fed-

eral issue need even be reached. The Court is unpersuaded that, as 2 matter of

federal law, landmark proceedings should be regarded as quasi-judicial in

nature. Indeed, they are more akin to town meetings than judicial proceed-

ings, in that all may be heard regardless of the relevance of their testimony,

evidentiary rules do not apply, and questioning by the attorneys for the inter-

ested parties is not permitted.

In any event, it does not appear that New York law would require that

a decision of the Commission be given preclusive effect. Under New York

- -

claim of constitutional deprivation, it must make a de novo

review of that evidence.”

law, a proceeding is quasi-judicial and therefore entitled to preclusive effect if

the agency is authorized to act in an adjudicatory fashion, the procedures it

employs are sufficient to permit confidence that the facts and issues were fully

tested, and the parties reasonably expected to be permanently bound by the

result reached. See Allied Chemical v. Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 72

N.Y.2d 271, 276-77, 528 N.E.2d 153, 155, 532 N.Y.S.2d 230, 232 (1988),

cert. denied, ___ US. , 109 S.Ct. 785, 102 L.Ed.2d 777 (1989).

Where, however, an agency makes findings based upon conditions which are

subject to change and further review, New York is not likely to give those pro-

ceedings preclusive effect. See id. An application for a certificate of appropri-

ateness based on hardship appears to be such a proceeding. There is no limit

on the number of applications which may be made, and an applicant's eco-

nomic condition, which is likely to change over time, will affect the likelihood

of success of the application. Thus, an application once denied may be pur-

sued again with a different result at a future date.

Moreover, in a case decided by the New York Court of Appeals prior

to the Elliot decision, that court found that Landmark designation hearings

are not quasi-judicial for purposes of determining what type of Article 78

review they will receive. See Lutheran Church in America, supra, 35 N.Y.2d

at 128 n. 2, 316 N.E.2d at 309 n. 2, 359 N.YS.2d at 13 n. 2. The Court

based that holding upon the fact that designation proceedings are not adver-

sary hearings involving cross-examination. See id. Certificate of appropriate-

ness hearings share these characteristics.

25. It is, of course, plaintiff's burden to prove by a preponderance of the evi-

dence that its constitutional rights have been violated on the basis of that

record, even though some of the evidence at the hearing may not have been

admissible at a federal civil trial.

IIL. Plaintiff's Unconstitutional As Applied Claims

A. Just Compensation Claims

Plaintiff's claim of unconstitutionality as applied depends

upon plaintiff's ability to prove that it can no longer carry out its

religious mission and charitable purpose in its existing facilities

because those facilities are inadequate and because it cannot

afford to expend the sums necessary to make those facilities

adequate. It is that circumstance that underlies plaintiff's

contention that the denial of its hardship application deprived it

of its property without just compensation in violation of the

Fifth Amendment and abridged its right to freely exercise its

religious belief in violation of the First Amendment.

At the outset it should be noted that the Supreme Court

has never passed upon the constitutionality of a regulation, such

as the landmark laws, as applied to the property of a charitable

or religious institution. However, in dealing with commercial

property, the Supreme Court has recognized that there is no

magic formula for determining when a taking has occurred. See

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104,

123-24, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 2658-59, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978).

Factors of particular significance, however, are the economic

impact of the government action, i.c., its interference with legiti-

mate investment expectations, and the character of the govern-

mert action, ¢.g., is the action a physical taking or a land use

regulation. See id. at 124, 98 S.Ct. at 2659. These factors must

be evaluated in light of the overriding rule that the Fifth

Amendment contemplates continued use of a property as it was

used in the past, and thus permits no substantial interference

with the property owner’s primary investment expectations or

reasonable beneficial use. See id. at 136, 98 S.Ct. at 2665.

While the concept of legitimate investment expectation is

not directly transferable to a charitable or religious institution,

the concepts of reasonable beneficial use and the owner’s

primary expectations are equally applicable to both. Moreover,

_39-

the New York Courts have developed a takings standard for

charitable institutions embodying these concepts that is a consti-

tutionally acceptable standard for determining when there has

been a taking of charitable property, i.c., where the landmark

designation would prevent or seriously interfere with the carry-

ing out of the charitable purpose of the institution. See Society

for Ethical Culture, supra, 51 N.Y.2d at 454-55, 415 N.E.2d at

925, 434 N.Y.S.2d at 935; Lutheran Church in America, supra,

35 N.Y.2d at 131, 316 N.E.2d at 311, 359 N.Y.S.2d at 16.

Therefore, the Court adopts this test to determine whether

plaintiff's Fifth Amendment rights were violated as a conse-

quence of the denial of its hardship application.

B. Free Exercise Claim

Assuming arguendo that plaintiff's charitable work is the

exercise of religion for First Amendment purposes, plaintiff

must prove that it can no longer carry out this work in its exist-

ing facilities to sustain its free exercise claim. See Lyng, supra,

108 S.Ct. at 1326; Yonkers, supra, 858 F.2d at 871-72. Thus,

in this case, the First Amendment inquiry is identical in scope to

the Fifth Amendment inquiry, since to prevail on either claim

plaintiff must prove that it can no longer carry out its religious

mission in its existing facilities.

The Court has examined the record before the

Commission in an effort to determine if plaintiff has proved by a

preponderance of the evidence that it can no longer carry out its

charitable purpose in its existing facilities. For the reasons that

follow, the Court finds that plaintiff has failed to carry that

burden, and that judgment must be entered for the defendant.

C. Findings of Fact

Plaintiff contends that the community house is an inade-

quate structure for carrying out the Church’s religious mission

and charitable purpose. Plaintiff further alleges that both the

community house and the church are in an advanced state of

disrepair and cannot be rehabilitated for less than $11 million.

Thus, plaintiff argues it can only rehabilitate the Church and

carry out its charitable purpose if it is allowed to demolish the

_ community house, build the office tower in its place, and reap

the revenues therefrom. Finally, plaintiff contends that its

finances are in such a deplorable state that even if the two build-

ings could be rehabilitated for less than $11 million, it cannot

afford to spend more than a minimal sum upon such work. The

Court will address each of these contentions in turn.

1. Adequacy of Community House Space

Plaintiff's first factual contention concerns the amount of

the space contained in the community house, and the configura-

tion of that space in relation to the needs of the Church’s

programs. Plaintiff contends that the evidence shows that: the

usable space available in the community house is insufficient to

accommodate the variety of activities that compete for the

space; that it wishes to expand its existing programs but cannot

do so given those space constraints; that it is forced to conduct

activities in spaces that are inappropriate for those activities;

and that renovation of the interior of the community house is

impractical and not feasible.

Plaintiff relies primarily upon an analysis of the use and

configuration of the community house space undertaken at

plaintiff's request by Walker Associates, an interior design

firm. In addition to the testimony of its president, Keith

Keppler, see 2 App. 462; 15 App. 5275, Walker submitted three

reports to the Commission, see 10 App. 3429; 14 App. 4843; 16

26. A focal point of plaintiff's contention in this regard is its claim that it is

forced to carry out its feeding program for the homeless from the church mor-

tuary chapel, and thus must carry food from the community house kitchen

downstairs and the length of an entire city block to reach the church. In addi-

tion, the Church contends that it cannot continue to provide shelter for the

homeless in the church narthex because that space is inappropriate, and

because it can only provide shelter for ten persons per night in that area. See

2 App. 380, 382-85.

—41-

App. 5586. In those reports and testimony, Walker concluded

that the community house is not adequate, suitable or appropri-

ate for the purposes to which it is devoted. See 10

App. 3431-32. Walker found that the community house lacked

sufficient usable space, that the existing usable space was ineffi-

ciently designed and poorly distributed, and that the multiplicity

of uses of that space created scheduling conflicts.” See id.

In addition, Walker concluded that the building’s struc-

ture was outmoded and inflexible, and that renovation of the

structure’s interior was impractical and prohibitively expensive

due to the massive structural systems within the building, the

clevator shafts and support structures, and the impossibility of

demolishing thick load bearing walls. See id. at 3432. In sum,

Walker found that the Church could only continue to success-

fully carry out its charitable and social activities by moving to

another more suitable facility, and that the proposed forty-seven

story office tower was such a facility. See 4 App. 1321-22; 10

App. 3432.

However, the Court, based upon flaws in Walker’s meth-

odology and upon conflicting evidence, finds that Walker’s con-

clusions are incorrect, and that plaintiff has failed to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that the community house is

unsuitable for its current use.

The credibility and accuracy of Walker’s findings are

undercut by several factors. First, it is clear that Walker did not

attempt to examine the building plans of the community house

before it determined that the building could not be easily

altered. See 3 App. 916. If it had done so, it would have found

that in fact the building does not contain massive load bearing

walls, but instead is a light steel frame structure that is easily

27. Specifically, Walker found that the community house contained a net

usable area of approximately 38,000 sq. ft., that the Church programs

required a usable area of approximately 46,000 sq. ft., leaving a space deficit

of approximately 8,000 sq. ft. See 2 App. 492.

-42-

susceptible to alteration.” See 4 App. 1240; 16 App. 5721-22.

Second, Walker based its finding of inadequate usable space

upon calculations appropriate to a commercial office building,

the area of Walker’s expertise, and not upon calculations appro-

priate to plaintiffs facility. See 6 App. 1956; 7 App. 2186.

Third, measuring the adequacy of space in an existing building

was an unusual task for Walker, which was used to projecting

space for designs of proposed buildings.

In addition, Walker conducted its study by asking ques-

tions of the heads of each program using the facility, and, unsur-

prisingly, found that each program head thought he or she

needed more space. See 14 App. 4853. Moreover, examination

of the questionnaires used reveals that they fail to distinguish

between program needs and mere desires for expansion.

Furthermore, Walker presented no evidence of objective obser-

vations of how the facility is actually used over time. The Court

finds therefore that Walker’s conclusions are without adequate

factual support.

Moreover, other evidence demonstrates that the commu-

nity house is adequate for the purposes to which it is devoted.

Weekly building activity schedules, if anything, supported the

conclusion that the community house’s space was in fact under-

utilized, that many of the rooms were not used at all during the

day, or were used by very few, and that no scheduling conflicts

were apparent. See 12 App. 4431-33; 13 App. 4736.” In fact,

the Church was able to rent out some of its space to area busi-

nesses, and has formed a special committee to increase those

rentals. See 13 App. 4733-34. Moreover, although plaintiff

28. For this reason, and because it was unsupported by any evidence, the

Court also rejects Walker’s contention that interior renovation of the commu-

nity house would cost approximately $3.4 million.

29. Testimony also indicated tha: Church membership, and membership in

the community club, a primary user of the community house, has been steadily

declining. See 12 App. 4389-91.

-43-

complained that it could accommodate only sixty pupils in its

preschool, it has an occupancy permit for one hundred pupils,

and therefore underutilizes the capacity of even its preschool

facilities. See 7 App. 2223; 15 App. 5786.

Walker’s conclusion that the community house is ineffi-

ciently configured is belied by the fact that it failed to consider

inexpensive methods of reconfiguring large rooms, for example,

by installing removable room partitions. Finally, the

Commission’s own calculations reveal that even accepting

Walker’s estimate of the space needed to conduct current activi-

ties, the community house’s space deficiency was much lower

than Walker’s estimate, and that any deficiency could be made

up at relatively low cost by utilizing the basement as a storage

area. See 17 App. 5800.

The credibility of plaintiff's evidence is further undercut

by the fact that its proposed new building, which reverses the

proportion of space above and below ground in the existing facil-

ity, would be only marginally better, if at all, in terms of usable

space, see 3 App. 893-94, and significantly inferior in many

other respects such as the quality of the below ground environ-

ment, the choked single access point of the office building

lobby,” and the absence of any plan to encompass the ministry

to the homeless in the new structure, which oddly enough is a

program that plaintiff asserts it does not have adequate space

for in the present structure.” See 7 App. 2201-10. In sum,

plaintiff's reliance upon the Walker report and the Court’s

30. Plaintiff complained that the community house’s two entrances, providing

access space of 700 sq. ft., are inadequate, but the proposew building has a

single access point with an area of 450 sq. ft., and must be shared with the

rest of the occupants of the forty-seven story tower. See 7 App. 2201.

31. In addition, plaintiff has failed to show why the existing community house

dining facilities, or even the auditorium, could not replace the church mortu-

ary chapel as the site of the breakfast feeding program for the homeless. Both

of those facilities are much closer to the kitchen and are never used in the

morning.

rejection of that report supports the conclusion that plaintiff has

failed to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the com-

munity house is an inadequate structure for conducting its

activities.”

2. Required Exterior and Mechanical Repairs

Plaintiff's second major factual contention is that the

community house and the church building both require a com-

plete overhaul and replacement of existing mechanical systems,

and substantial repair and replacement of exterior structural

systems at a cost of approximately $11 million. Plaintiff's sole

support for this proposition is a study of the mechanical systems

and the building exteriors undertaken in 1985 by O’Brien,

Krietzburg and Associates (“OKA”’), a firm of professional con-

struction managers, submitted through two reports, see 10

App. 3281; 14 App. 4951, and the testimony of OKA’s presi-

dent, James O’Brien, see 2 App. 413; 4 App. 1205, 1341. In

formulating its recommendations, OKA relied upon the report

of Edwards & Zuck, P.C., who evaluated the plumbing,

mechanical and electrical systems, see 10 App. 3367, the report

of Caine, Farrell & Bell, architects, who examined the exteri-

ors, see id. at 3388, and the report of Barr & Barr, Inc., build-

ers, who provided cost estimates of the repairs. See id. at 3396.

Based upon these three reports, OKA concluded that poor

maintenance programs in the past have caused the overall

exterior physical condition of the buildings to seriously

32. In fact, the Church did not commission the Walker space study until the

Spring of 1985, long after plans for the new building had been drawn. See 4

App. 1307. This fact supports the view that the Church’s claim that the build-

ing is inadequate was an afterthought designed to provide another argument

for demolishing the building after its first two attempts to get the proposed

construction approved had failed. This point was aptly made by Commissioner

Halsband: “in this case the new building was made in the absence of a

program—the ;/ogram was done last—and that whole intermediate step of

comparing what you’ve got to what you need seems to never to [sic] have been

expressed....” 6 App. 1936. %

-45-

deteriorate, and that the buildings’ mechanical systems were

outdated and in some cases inoperative. See id. at 3286-87.

OKA’s prescription for these ills involves virtually complete

replacement of mechanical, electrica] and plumbing systems and

significant replacement of exterior elements. See id. at

3298-3366. Rehabilitation of existing systems was not

considered. The total cost of these repairs and replacements was

estimated by OKA to be $11,663,500, on the assumption that

construction was to be completed within two years. See 14 App.

4956-63.

The Court does not find OKA’s assessment persuasive for

the following reasons. First, it is clear from the testimony of

Ronald Alexander, a former vestryman in charge of the

Church’s building committee, that OKA was told to maximize

the cost of estimates to the greatest defensible extent, and that

OKA undertook to do just that by advocating replacement over

rehabilitation wherever! possible. See 3 App. 724. Moreover,

OKA admitted a bias in favor of replacement,” and indeed had

little experience in rehabilitating older buildings. In addition,

OKA did not rely on a full set of plans and specifications in

evaluating necessary repairs. See 4 App. 1367-68. Instead,

OKA relied solely on the reports of other firms who were not

called to testify before the Commission.

These reasons would be a sufficient basis to re’sct OKA’s

conclusions. There is, however, ample additional evidence to

show that not only did OKA grossly overestimate the amount of

work required, but that its method for allocating costs to that

work is seriously flawed. For example, OKA recommended

wholesale replacement of the church’s front steps and the blue

stone steps leading from Park Avenue to the terrace. See 10

App. 3312. However, other evidence showed that only the top

platform of the church steps and one of the blue stone steps

33. For example, Mr. O’Brien stated that in his view he would “come in and

gut the whole thing, because there was nothing worth saving.” 4 App. 1349.

-46-

“

- —

required replacement. See 5 App. 1641. Similarly, OKA

advocated replacement of all of the sidewalk when only part of

the sidewalk was cracked and in need of repair.

In estimating the required roof repairs, OKA ignoréd-the

fact that individual tiles could be reused in repairing the tile

roofs, see 5 App. 1681-82, and that several of the flat roofs had

been recently replaced and thus did not need to be replaced

again. See 5 App. 1687; 13 App. 4656-57. All of these facts

tend to show that the OKA report was not based upon careful

examination and consideration of what repairs were truly neces-

sary, but instead upon the presumption that all problems should

be solved by complete replacement. See 12 App. 4632. Thus,

the Court finds OKA’s evaluation of necessary exterior repairs

incredible and unpersuasive. a

Similar flaws are apparent in OKA’s evaluation of neces-

sary repairs to the buildings’ interior mechanical systems. Since

OKA claimed to rely on Edwards & Zuck, it is especially perti-

nent to note that OKA in faet departed from the recommenda-

tions of that report. For example, while Edwards & Zuck rec-

ommended retaining and modifying existing ductwork in the

community house, see 10 App. 3371, OKA estimated that most

of the ductwork had to be replaced. See id. at 3349-50.

This selective reliance on Edwards & Zuck supports the

inference, absent some other basis for the estimate, that OKA

was guessing at what repairs were truly necessary. This infer-

ence is supported by other OKA estimates as well. For example,

OKA advocated wholesale replacement of the electrical systems,

ignoring the fact that much of that work had already been

accomplished. See 6 App. 2033; 10 App. 3361-62. Indeed,

OKA did not even know that there were no outstanding fire

code violations, and therefore made recommendations which

incorrectly assumed that the auditorium balcony and the church

basement had not been brought up to fire code standards. See

10 App. 3308-11. Similarly, OKA’s sprinkler system estimate

ignored areas of the community house that already had sprinkler

—47-

systems, and included costs for a sprinkler system based upon a

square footage estimate for the entire building.

Moreover, OKA’s report evidenced a total lack of famil-

iarity with what could be accomplished by retaining and refur-

bishing existing mechanical systems. Rather than undertaking a

detailed analysis of the plumbing, electrical and heating ventila-

tion and air conditioning systems to determine what could be

salvaged, OKA simply opted to replace it all. In so doing OKA

ignored, for example, the advantages to be gained by retaining

the direct current electrical systems, and the virtually unlimited

service life of older properly maintained equipment. See 16

App. 5749.

In sum, it is clear from OKA’s report that their object was

not to determine what repairs were truly necessary or required,

but to maximize the amount of work and the cost of that work.

There is simply no other explanation, and none has been offered,

for OKA’s wholesale reliance upon replacement and complete

rejection of rehabilitation, especially since there is abundant evi-

dence that many of the systems examined could in fact be

rehabilitated.

Quite aside from the defects in OKA’s analysis noted

above, OKA’s method of estimating costs is highly

questionable. In estimating costs, OKA relied first upon the

cost estimates of Barr & Barr, and second upon its own com

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.