Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Jim Bouton Corp. v. Wm. Wrigley Jr. Co.

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

AUG 2 «(88

JOSEPH SPANIOL, IR.

CTERK

|

\ ‘ Supreme Court, U.S,

{

}

t

}

No. }

Sa

IN THE ee

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1990

JIM BOUTON CORPORATION,

Petitioner.

— against —

WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY and

AMUROL PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

STEVEN B. PokoTILow

Counsel of Record

BLUM KAPLAN

Attorneys for Petitioner

Jim Bouton Corporation

1120 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

(212) 704-0400

Of Counsel:

ANITA K. YEUNG

July 31, 1990

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Unless the Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit explains the reasons why

the district court's findings of fact were

implausible, is not de povo review of the

record by the Second Circuit a reversible

error?

as Does not the decision of the

court of appeals conflict directly with the

pronouncements of this Court in Anderson v.

City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S. 564

(1985) ("Anderson v. Bessemer City") as to

the proper role of an appellate court in

applying Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a) when it reached

its own factual conclusions as to the

intent of the parties to contract:

a. by placing its own inferences on

a document which was contradicted by

respondent's own testimony and which was

directly contrary to plausible factual

findings of the district court?

b. by totally disregarding the

ii

district court's express refusal to credit

respondent's testimony and reviewing only

the "undisputed objective facts" in the

record?

as Did the court of appeals err when

it made its own factual findings as to the

issues of partial performance and the

sufficiency of the mailgram as a “writing"

under New York statutory law?

iii

STATEMENT UNDER RULE 28.1

Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of this Court,

petitioner Jim Bouton Corporation states

that it has no parent companies,

subsidiaries or affiliates.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW s «@ o & “a ele ene lele 2

JURISDICTION 6 «.é € 2 & « eo 8 6 © @ 2

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED or ee ae 2

Samacneees Cr Tee Geeeeeee 8 8 @ @ 3

A. The Decision of the

Digerset Geemre «ss 6s * 4

B. The Decision of the

Court of Appeals .....- 8

Ge Statement of Facts .. . » on

REASONS FOR GRANT OF THE WRIT... . 19

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

ENFORCE ADHERENCE TO RULE 52 (a)

AND TO PROVIDE MINIMUM

GUIDELINES WHICH WOULD PREVENT

FLAGRANT DEPARTURES FROM THE

RULES OF DEFERENCE ARTICULATED

BY THIS COURT . «ec eee. - 19

A. The Meaileream. «. «+ « « 6 « . 22

B. The Silberman

LOCCOEF « « © 0 6 6 © & Je - 26

C. Section 15-301 of the

General Obligations Law of

Mew WORK .« «© cesees » an

II. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS IS A REJECTION OF THE

GUIDING PRINCIPLES ENUNCIATED BY

THIS COURT IN RELATION TO THE

PROPER APPLICATION OF RULE

S2la)~e we ee eeee eee @

III. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

HAS AN IMPORTANT AND FAR

REACHING IMPACT ON LITIGANTS

OVER CONTRACT DISPUTES AND THE

JUDICIAL SYSTEM. «. + + + «+ «+ *

A. If this Decision is Allowed

to Stand, A Proliferation

of Appeals Will Be Filed by

Dissatisfied

Litigants .. .-

B. If This Decision Is Allowed

To Stand The Manner In

Which Businessmen Do

Business Would Be

Impermissibly Dictated By

The Presumptions Of

The Courts. ..-=:+ >

CONCLUSION ..++e#e 8 *

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, filed May 3, 1990. . .-

Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law of the United States

District Court for the Southern

District of New York, filed July

7, 2900. 3 6 6 4 8 OES

- 36

- 42

- 42

. 44

47

- ia

20a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ases Page(s)

City, N.c.,

470 U.S. 564 (1985). . . . . 3, 19, 20,

21, 22, 38

39, 41, 42

43

Bakhshandeh v. American

Cyanamid Co.

8 N.Y. 2d 981, 169 N.E. 2a 188,

204 N.Y¥.S. 2d 881 [Seeep) cceccese

Braen v. Pfeifer oi]

Transp. Co.,

wwe Wee S60 QNOG0)s 6a -6) 66 see

148 F. 2d 737 (2d Cir.),

aff'd, 326 U.s. ee Ss ee. ee 24

v. Koret, Inc.,

792 F.2d 34 (2d Cir. ee

363 U.S. 278 te 35, 38

DFI ¢ icati I

Greenberg

,

41 N.Y. 2d 602, 363 N.E.2a

312, 394 N.¥.S.2d 586 (1977). . . 33, 34

Corp.,

475 U.S. 809 (1986). ...... 7 « 22

vii

’

96 U.S. 557 (1878). -++***** * 30

781 F. 2a 264 (2d Cir.

1986) . . . . * . * * . . . . * . . . 22

W ;

475 U.S. 709 (1986). - +--+ + 20, 36

456 U.S. 844 (1982). -- +--+ + 29, 36

’

465 U.S. 1056 (1984). --- +++ + + 22

360 U.S. 310 (1959). --+++++-+ 41

474 U.S. 104 (1985). - - +++ ++ + 22

v P

434 U.S. 106 (1977). --++++++ 41

456 U.S. 273 (1982). ----+++-+- 20

751 F. 24 69 (2d Cir. 1984). - +++ 49

727 F.2d 257 (2d Cir. 1984),

, 469 U.S. 828

11984). 2 oe ww ee eo oe Se 10, 26

viii

3

x ’

374 N.Y.S. 2d 809,

50 A.D. 2d 651

(N.Y. App. Div. 1975)...

United States v. National Ass'n of

Real Estate Bds.

339 U.S. 485 (1950). ...

United States v. Oregon State

Medical Soc.,

343 U.S. 326 (1952)...

‘

353 U.S. 194 (1957)...

V'Soske v. Barwick,

404 F.2d 495 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 921 (1969).

,

845 F. 2d 374 (2d Cir.

1988), cert. denied, U.S. __,

3609 GS. GE. GAS (3008). « eo cee

Winston v. Mediafare

Entertainment Corp.,

777 F. 2a 78 (2d Cir. 1985).

Woodbury v. New

ority,

832 F. 2d 764 (2d Cir. 1987).

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine

Research, Inc.

395 U.S. 100 (1969).

- 30

- 29

37

24

22

- 39

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. §1254(1).-

Fed.R.Civ.P.

N.Y.Gen.Oblig.L. § 15-301

(McKinney's 1978 &

West 1990). .

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

JIM BOUTON CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

-against-

WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY and

AMUROL PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner Jim Bouton Corporation

respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in

this proceeding on May 3, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit is

reported at 902 F.2d 1074 and is set out at

pp. la-19a of the Appendix. The Findings

of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the

United District Court for the Southern

District of New York, which is- not

reported, is set out at pp. 20a-96a of the

Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals

was entered on May 3, 1990. Jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Rule 52(a), Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, provides in pertinent part:

In all actions tried upon the facts

without a jury or with an advisory

jury, the court shall find the facts

specially and state separately its

conclusions of law thereon, ;

Findings of fact, ... shall not be set

aside unless clearly erroneous, and

due regard shall be given to the

opportunity of the trial court to

judge of the credibility of the

witnesses.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case calls upon the Court to

exercise its supervisory power by clearly

defining appellate obligations in the

review of factual findings subject to the

"clearly erroneous" standard. While this

Court has from time to time provided

guiding principles relating to the

application of Rule 52(a) in cases such as

Anderson v. Bessemer City, the courts of

appeals appear to find no _ impediment

reversing a lower court's factual findings

upon a pro forma recitation of the "clearly

erroneous" standard. In this case, the

Second Circuit has, without any recognition

of its obligation to defer to the

credibility and other plausible findings of

the trial court, simply made a de novo

substitution of its own factual conclusions

as to the intent of the parties.

A. The Decision of the District Court

Petitioner Jim Bouton Corporation

("JBC") filed this action in 1985 to

enforce an informal modification to a

license agreement. A bench trial in the

district court (Hon. Peter kK. Leisure)

commenced on January 25, 1988. The trial

lasted five days during which extensive

testimony was heard on relevant issues of

intent, motivation and the course of

dealing of the parties within a period of

eight years. The district court also had

the benefit of JBC's contemporaneous notes

and a substantial record of documentary

evidence which were often examined line-by-

line by the district court through the

testimony of the witnesses.

The district court issued its rulings

in a detailed Findings of Fact’ and

Conclusions of Law annotated to the trial

record. (20a-96a). The district court

found that, notwithstanding the parties'

contemplation of more formal papers to be

drawn up later by attorneys’, the parties

intended to be bound by an_ée informal

agreement, the negotiated terms of which

were set forth in a mailgran’®.

' The district court properly applied

the New York contract rules approved by the

court of appeals. (15a, 71la-72a). In the

Second Circuit, "the mere fact that the

parties contemplate memorializing their

agreement in a formal document does not

prevent their informal agreement’ from

taking effect prior to that event. ...

These rules, placing the emphasis. on

intention rather than form, are sensible

and reasonable." Reprosystem, B.V. v. SCM

Corp., 727 F.2d 257, 261 (2d Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 828 (1984) (quoting

V'Soske v. Barwick, 404 F.2d 495, 499 (2d

Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 921

(1969)).

e Amurol first sent telexes but

because of transmission problems, also sent

a confirmatory mailgram. (48a). The

decisions below use the terms "telex" and

"mailgram" interchangeably.

Accordingly, the mailgram was found by the

district court to have modified an existing

license agreement between the parties

("1981 Agreement"). (80a-8la). In arriving

at this conclusion, the district court

applied a four-factor analysis articulated

by the Second Circuit. The following

factual findings were made by the district

court:

1. There was no explicit statement

by either party that it did not intend to

be bound until a written, signed agreement

was effectuated. (75a-76a).

2% The conduct of the parties, both

contemporaneously with the sending of the

mailgram and thereafter, indicate an intent

to be bound by the terms of the mailgranm.

(76a-77a).

3. While there were subsequent

discussions over one of the terms, the

differences between the parties emerged

later and such differences were not present

when the parties reached an agreement

modifying the license agreement. (77a-78a).

4. The course of dealings between

the parties supported the finding that

important documents were expected to be in

writing but not necessarily formally

executed by the parties. The informal

agreement memorialized in the mailgram was

"in keeping with their customary way of

doing business". (78a-80a).

Having concluded that a valid

modification was effected at the time the

mailgram was sent (the "1984 Agreement"),

the district court found the terms of the

modification to have been breached by

Amurol. Specifically, Amurol breached the

1984 Agreement by failing to pay to Bouton,

as agreed by the parties, an additional 2%

royalty after Amurol's reversion to the

1981 Agreement. Amurol also breached the

1984 Agreement by selling GARFIELD STRIPES,

KING KONG, GODZILLA and WEREWOLF shredded

gum in a pouch in violation of a covenant

not to compete set forth in the mailgran.

Accordingly, the district court ordered

Amurol to pay damages in the amount of

$998,940.34; to pay prejudgment interest on

all damages awarded; an accounting of

profits of the sale of gums in violation of

the covenant not to compete and an

injunction for the remainder of the license

agreement against the sale of shredded

bubble gum in a pouch products in violation

of the covenant not to compete. (JA:A 99-

100) .?

B. The Decision of the Court of Appeals

Careful review of the court of

appeals' decision will reveal that the

expression "definite and firm conviction"

> "JA: __"™ as used herein refers to

the Joint Appendix filed with the court of

appeals. The Joint Appendix was divided

into three volumes consisting of the

pleadings, signified by an "A__"; the trial

transcript, signified by a "T_" and

evidence of record, signified by an "E_".

is used by the appellate court as a

boilerplate expression to justify a

predetermined result. In its decision, the

court of appeals found no fault with the

district court's application of law to the

facts. Yet the court of appeals fails to

offer any explanation as to why its view of

the facts should be substituted for the

view of the district court or why the

district court's view is implausible.

In reversing the district court, the

court of appeals essentially focused on two

writings, the mailgram and a letter written

by JBC's counsel. (4a-8a). The court of

appeals also selectively and approvingly

analyzed the conduct of Amurol and its

attorneys after the sending of the

mailgram. The court of appeals then

concluded:

Our review of the record, much of

which is in the form of written

documents, leaves us with the definite

and firm conviction that the district

court erred in holding otherwise. See

10

» 427

Reprosystem, B.V. Vv. SCM Corp.

F.2d 257, 261 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 828 (1984).

(15a) (emphasis added).

The court of appeals did not reveal

how the detailed findings of the district

court were clearly erroneous. Nor did the

court of appeals address the four-factor

analysis and ultimate findings of the

district court.

The past history of the parties and

other evidence which placed the _ two

writings in context for the district court

and which formed the basis for the district

court's findings relating to the parties

course of dealing (see jnfra, B.7,

paragraph 3), were also inexplicably

ignored. The court of appeals simply

stated: |

Without reiterating the history of the

parties' negotiations, we conclude

that the undisputed objective facts

demonstrate beyond cavil that the

parties did not intend to be bound

until "final papers" or an “acceptable

writing" was prepared and signed.

tS

11

(17a). Then without any analysis of the

facts deemed pertinent by the district

court, the court of appeals cited a series

of cases which are inapposit~ to the facts

in this case. Also without any recognition

of its obligation to accept the district

court's factual findings, the court of

appeals independently developed its own

interpretation of Amurol's part performance

and concluded that Amurol's'§ immediate

payment of increased royalties was not only

referable to the 1984 Agreement but could

also be referable to an interim agreement

pending the execution of the formal

agreement. (18a). This view was rejected

by the district court, albeit implicitly

(77a, 55a-56a, 90a-93a), and was clearly

contradicted by both parties' testimony as

well as the objective evidence in the

record.

Finally, the court of appeals

concluded, also without regard to the

OEE

12

district court's findings, that the

mailgram was an insufficient "writing"

under the 1981 Agreement* and the New York

statutory requirement for such

modifications to be “in writing and signed

by the party against whom enforcement of

the change is sought." (15a).

c. Statement of Pacts

Since 1980 Petitioner Jim _ Bouton

Corporation ("JBC") has licensed to

Respondent Amurol Products Company

("“Amurol") the right to use the trademark

BIG LEAGUE CHEW in connection with a

shredded gum in a pouch product. In early

1984 an impasse occurred when JBC refused

to consent to Amurol running the same

* Paragraph 29 of the 1981 Agreement

requires modifications to be by "an

agreement in writing". The district court

noted that the 1981 Agreement does not

explicitly require the writing to be signed

by both parties in order to be valid. (74a-

75a). Thus, the district court found the

mailgram to be a sufficient writing for the

purposes of Paragraph 29.

13

commercial for the third consecutive year

(the "1984 Commercial"). (45a-47a). Since

Amurol had committed to the purchase of

media time for the 1984 Commercial, JBC's

refusal to consent required Amurol to put

the media package on hold temporarily.

(47a).

The principals for the two parties,

Jim Bouton ("Bouton") for JBC and A.G.

Atwater ("Atwater") for Amurol, felt a

great deal of pressure to resolve the

dispute quickly. On the one hand, Atwater

was frustrated by the hold up of the media

time for the 1984 Commercial. Bouton, on

the other hand, feared Atwater's threat of

trashing the BIG LEAGUE CHEW brand and

thereby depreciating the value of JBC's

trademark should the dispute’ remain

unresolved. (JA:T 178, 492-494; E 466-467).

After several weeks of debate, the parties

reached an agreement on February 22, 1984.

(78a). Bouton agreed to relinquish control

14

over all BIG LEAGUE CHEW advertising and

promotions in exchange for an additional

24% royalty and a covenant from Amurol not

to compete in the shredded gum in a pouch

market (the "No-compete").°> (47a-48a).

Atwater who admittedly "had a gun to

his head", drafted the terms of the

modification with Bouton over the

telephone. (52a, 48a). Atwater and Bouton

worked on the language together and when

the exact language was agreed upon by the

parties, a mailgram, signed by Atwater and

setting forth the terms, was sent to Bouton

and his attorney. (52a, 8la). After Bouton

compared the mailgram to his notes and

after he determined that the mailgram

tracked the language agreed to by the

parties over the telephone, Bouton gave

Amurol his verbal approval to run the 1984

> Amurol claims that the scope of the

No-compete is limited to shredded gum ina

pouch with a sports theme, not all shredded

gum in a pouch. (Appellant's Brief at 37).

15

Commercial which had been placed on hold.

(48a-5la). Bouton did not wait for his

attorney to review the mailgram before

giving his approval over the telephone.

Atwater testified that he and Bouton

had an understanding at that point. (49a).

In response to Atwater's request, Bouton's

approval was confirmed in writing by

Bouton's attorney in a letter ("Silberman

letter"). (53a).

Both the mailgram and the Silberman

letter contemplate more formal documents to

be drawn in due course. Neither party,

whether in writing or otherwise, ever

stated to the other that performance or

effectiveness of the modification was

conditional on the execution of a formal

agreement. (55a-56a) .°

¢ The district court expressly found

that the manner in which the parties

performed, relying on a writing but without

a formal agreement, was in keeping with

their customary way of modifying their

agreements in the past. (78a-80a).

16

Like Bouton, Atwater authorized

payment of the additional 24% royalties

without first consulting Amurol's counsel

and without waiting for the final papers.

(54a). Amurol also stopped seeking

Bouton's approval over promotions for the

BIG LEAGUE CHEW product. (56a). Bouton

believed that the modification was

effective immediately. Atwater's

testimony, found to be strained and

internally inconsistent by the district

court, was to the contrary. (49a-52a).

Nine months later and after the 1984

commercial had run its course, Amurol

advised JBC that the modification was not

effective. Accordingly, Amurol notified

JBC that it was "reverting" back to the

terms prior to the modification. Having

received the benefit of the modifications

and no longer faced with "a gun to his

head", Atwater now took the position that

no modification was effected since no

17

formal or final agreement memorializing the

terms of the modification had been signed

by the parties. (52a, 60a-6la).

Amurol's reason for the "reversion"

was that its parent, Wm. Wrigley Jr.

Company, could not live with the No-compete

as drafted in the mailgram. (JA: T 226, E

467). Shortly after Atwater had sent the

mailgram, Amurol's counsel reviewed the

terms of the modification and determined

that there was a possible anti-trust

problem. (57a).

In the following months, the parties

discussed alternatives which would achieve

the intent of a no-compete without

triggering anti-trust objections from third

parties. Wrigley's anti-trust attorney

proposed that Amurol pay JBC a 5% royalty

for competing gums as an alternative. (JA:

E 98). Bouton did not believe such an

alternative would be a sufficient

disincentive to Amurol launching a

18

competitive line of shredded gum in a pouch

product toward the close of the license.

(57a-60a). The trial court found that the

parties could not “reach an agreement on an

alternative to the no-compete language" and

thereafter, discussions terminated. (6la).

This case was commenced by Bouton shortly

thereafter.

19

REASONS FOR GRANT OF THE WRIT

I.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

ENFORCE ADHERENCE TO RULE 52 (a)

AND TO PROVIDE MINIMUM

GUIDELINES WHICH WOULD PREVENT

FLAGRANT DEPARTURES FROM THE

RULES OF DEFERENCE ARTICULATED

BY THIS COURT

As this Court stated in Anderson v.

Bessemer City:

If the district court's account of the

evidence is plausible in light of the

record viewed in its entirety, the

court of appeals may not reverse it

even though convinced that had it been

sitting as the trier of fact, it would

have weighed the evidence differently.

Where there are two permissible views

of the evidence, the factfinder's

choice between them cannot be clearly

erroneous.

470 U.S. at 573-74.

The district court's decision was

overturned by the court of appeals without

any discussion of the district court's

subsidiary and ultimate findings and

without any explanation why the district

court's view is not plausible. The court

of appeals' decision in this case is an

20

object lesson in how an appellate court can

try a case de novo simply by a mechanistic

invocation of the standard of review.

Uniess this Court further defines an

appellate court's obligation to clearly

address the findings of fact deemed to be

clearly erroneous on appeal and why they

are not plausible, Rule 52(a) can easily be

rendered meaningless notwithstanding the

clear principles enunciated in Anderson v.

Bessemer City.

In cic ds nc Vv.

Worthington, 475 U.S. 709, 713 (1986), this

Court hinted that such a practice is

unacceptable. In reversing and vacating

the court of appeals' decision, this Court

noted, “nowhere in its opinion did the

court ever mention any of the factual

findings of the District Court, much less

discuss or analyze them." Similarly, in

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273,

291-93 (1982), this Court recognized that

21

the extent of compliance with Rule 52 must

be ascertained by examining the actual

decision of a court of appeals, not by

reliance on a pro forma recitation of the

“clearly erroneous" standard.

In its appellee's brief, petitioner

JBC duly urged the court of appeals to heed

the precepts of this Court announced in

nders v. Bessem ity. Nonetheless,

the appellate court's decision ignores the

district court's credibility findings,

passes over course-of-dealing evidence

found significant by the district court,

and arrives at factual conclusions based on

inferences it impermissibly draws from the

documents that were carefully explained by

trial testimony. Implicit in the court of

appeals decision is the proposition that

little, if any, deference is due the

district court's findings when "much of the

evidence was in the form of written

documents". (15a). This total disregard of

22

Rule 52(a), especially in light of the 1985

Amendment thereto and this Court's clear

pronouncements in Anderson v. Bessemer

City, would warrant summary reversal. See

Lehman _v. out, 465 U.S. 1056 (1984);

Dennison Mfg. Co. v. Panduit Corp., 475

U.S. 809 (1986).

This type of barely disguised de novo

review is not an aberration in the Second

Circuit. See Hanson st PLC v. ML SCM

Acquisition, Inc., 781 F. 2d 264, 286 (2d

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, __—S@ U.S. ___, 109

S. ct. 818 (1989) (Kearse, Je,

dissenting) (The majority "pays little more

than lip service" to the principles

announced by this Court in Anderson v.

Bessemer City and Miller v. Fenton, 474

U.S. 104 (1985)); Williams v. Ward, 845 F.

2d 374, 396 (2d Cir. 1988) (Stewart, J.,

dissenting) (Since the record is replete

with references to the cooperation of other

actors in the arraignment system, the

OO

23

district court's findings may not be

summarily dismissed as unrealistic and

without factual basis); see also Woodbury

v. New York City Transit Authority, 832 F.

2d 764, 772 (2d Cir. 1987) (Feinberg, J.,

dissenting) (majority should have remanded

case for clarification of facts).

In this case, the court of appeals

dismissed substantial portions of the

record, limiting its analysis to

essentially two documents - the mailgram

setting forth the new terms agreed upon by

the parties and the Silberman letter

confirming Bouton's approval of the 1984

Commercial.’

A. The Mailgram

In addition to the terms agreed upon

by the parties, the mailgram stated, "Will

be in touch with Gilson [Amurol's attorney]

’ The court of appeals also focused

on what it deemed to be "subsequent

negotiations" after the sending of the

mailgran.

rere

24

to draw up final papers next week." (4a).

In concluding that these words do not

reflect an intent on the parties to

condition continued performance on the

execution of final papers drawn by the

attorneys, the district court heard

testimony regarding the meaning of this

language and made findings of fact

regarding the circumstances and motivation

surrounding the sending of the mailgran.

(46-63a).

The court of appeals, on the other

hand, simply cited Webster's Third New

International Dictionary and Black's Law

Dictionary (4th ed.) for the meaning of

| “final papers".® (5-6a). The court of

. This Court long ago inveighed

against the "tyranny of literalness".

United States v. Witkovich, 353 U.S. 194,

| 199 (1957). Learned Hand's admonishment

that "(it] is one of the surest indexes of

a mature and developed jurisprudence not to

make a fortress out of the dictionary," is

particularly apt here. Cabell] _v. Markham,

148 F. 2d 737, 739 (2d Cir.), aff'd, 326

U.S. 404 (1945).

_ —

25

appeals also opined that the parties, being

“experienced in the ways of business,

simply could not have intended that the

cursory mailgram message, which did not

even discuss a change in plaintiff's

substantial royalties, constituted a

legally enforceable modification of the

carefully prepared 1981 Agreement". (5a).

In reaching this conclusion, the court of

appeals never discussed the district

court's finding that the use of the

informal mailgram to memorialize the new

terms was “in keeping with their [Atwater's

and Bouton's] customary way of doing

business". The court of appeals also

ignored the district court's findings

relating to the reasons why the parties

needed the mailgram in the first place.

(4la-47a).

The court of appeals simply developed

its own interpretation of the evidence,

supplying its own inferences to the

————————————eEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEe

26

“undisputed objective facts". There is no

discussion whatsoever why it deems the

district court's view implausible. No

guidance is provided as to why the disputed

words in the mailgram should be given more

weight than the objective evidence which

placed the mailgram into the bargaining

context for the district court.’

B. The Silberman Letter

With regard to the second document

critical to the court of appeals' decision,

the "Silberman letter", the district court

found that the letter was written by

Bouton's attorney to confirm that he no

, The court of appeals blindly

followed Reprosystem, 727 F.2d 257, without

regard to the facts of this case. In

contrast to this case, the record in

Reprosystem, included relevant documents

explicitly stating that "when executed and

delivered, this Agreement ... will be valid

and binding”. 727 F.2d at 262. There was

also in the Reprosystem record a press

release with language expressly

conditioning contractual consummation on

the parties entering a definitive agreement

acceptable to the parties. 727 F.2d at 262.

27

longer objected to the commercial "based on

the understandings as to modification of

the Agreement which is to be reduced to

writing in due course." (53a). The

district court specifically found that the

Silberman letter "spelled out in further

detail" the modification set forth in the

mailgram. (53a). The Silberman letter also

stated, "If your understanding comports

with the above, we will operate on the

assumption that an acceptable writing will

come into being ... .™ (7a).

The court of appeals construed the

language in the Silberman letter to

evidence that no agreement was reached at

the time the mailgram was sent.’ (7a-8a).

‘© The court of appeals found it

Significant that the contents of the

Silberman letter did not meet with Amurol's

approval. (8a). The record belies this

assertion. The No-compete, which was not

mentioned in the letter, was Amurol's only

reason or excuse for not executing a final

agreement with JBC. The increase in

royalty and other terms detailed in the

Silberman letter were never deemed by the

28

Such an inference is directly contradicted

by the partial performance of the parties;

by Atwater's own testimony that he and

Bouton had reached an understanding at the

time of the mailgram; and by Atwater's

statement that the telex was sufficient

basis for him to produce the commercial

without further approval from JBC.

(51a)."'

The court of appeals also construed

the Silberman letter, which authorizes

Amurol "to run the T.V. ad for 1984",'* to

parties to be open issues requiring further

negotiation.

" Atwater's later testimony claiming

there was no agreement until the parties'

attorneys reviewed the terms and a final

agreement is signed by the parties was

expressly found to be not credible by the

district court. (50a-5la).

‘2 The error of the court of appeals'

finding of an interim one year agreement is

compounded since the possibility of an

interim agreement was never argued by

Amurol until the appeal and, in fact, was

contradicted by the counterclaim filed by

Amurol seeking repayment of the additional

24% it paid JBC in 1984 on the basis that

29

support its theory that the parties reached

an interim agreement, thereby explaining

the immediate payment of the increased

royalties by Amurol. (18a). The court of

appeals reasoned,

Because the payment of the royalty is

a ore eadil

referable to the short term permission

to run the specifically named

commercial, it cannot be treated as

part performance of an agreement

covering all commercials during the

succeeding four to nine years.

(18a) (emphasis added). It is blatantly

clear here that, the court of appeals

substituted its own less plausible view of

Amurol's partial performance."

no agreement was ever made. (JA: A 47).

3 As this Court re-emphasized in

Inwood Laboratories v. Ives Laboratories,

456 U.S. 844, 857 (1982) (quoting United

States _v. National Ass'n of Real Estate

Bds., 339 U.S. 485, 495 (1950)), an

appellate court cannot substitute its own

findings simply because the reviewing court

"might give the facts another construction,

resolve the ambiguities differently, and

find a more sinister cast to actions which

the District Court apparently deemed

innocent."

30

Not only did the court of appeals fail

to explain why the district court was

clearly erroneous on the issue of partial

performance”, but the court of appeals’

independent finding of an interim agreement

is clearly belied by the record. At trial,

Atwater testified that he never intended to

make an agreement, whether temporary or

final, by sending the mailgram to JBC.

THE COURT: ... that language of this

telex and also the mailgram, did you

intend that that should be in full

force and effect until an agreement

was drawn up satisfactory to the

parties? 2

THE WITNESS: No, your Honor.

THE COURT: What did you intend by

doing this?

THE WITNESS: It was an understanding

that I would not be bound by this

until I had a contract signed.

‘4 partial performance is an issue for

the trier of fact. v. Paris, 96

U.S. 557, 566 (1878); Christian Dior-New

York. Inc, v. Koret,. Inc., 792 F.2d 34, 40

(2d Cir. 1986); Snay v. Wood, 374 N.Y.S. 2d

809, 812, 50 A.D.2da 651, 651-52 (N.Y.

App.Div. 1975).

31

THE COURT: Did you tell Mr. Bouton

that you intended not to be bound by

this language when you discussed it

with him on the telephone?

THE WITNESS: No, I did not.

THE COURT: Why did you think you were

going through this exercise if it

wasn't something that was ...

THE WITNESS: It was something that I

wanted to do.

(JA: T595-6). The aforequoted colloquy

demonstrates that at trial the district

court had already tested out the appellate

court's interim agreement theory. However,

Atwater's testimony decisively negated any

possibility that the parties performed

pursuant to a short term agreement for the

year of 1984. In the face of this record,

it is the view of the court of appeals

below, not the district court's, that is

implausible.

Cc. j 5- fa) the General

Obligations Law of New York

The district court found that the

mailgram was a writing sufficient to

32

satisfy Section 15-301 of the General

Obligations Law of New York which provides

in pertinent part:

A written agreement or other written

instrument which contains a provision

to the effect that it cannot be

changed orally, cannot be changed by

an executory agreement unless such

executory agreement is in writing and

Signed by the party against whom

enforcement of the change is sought or

by his agent.

N.Y.Gen.Oblig.L. § 15-301 (McKinney's 1978

& West 1990). While the district court

does not detail why it believes’ the

mailgram is a “writing" sufficient to

satisfy Section 15-301, the support for the

district court's finding can fairly be

implied from the district court's detailed

Statement of Facts.

Specifically, the district court found

that the mailgram set forth all the terms

of the modification, either expressly or

impliedly, which were discussed by the

parties over the telephone. (8la, 48a).

The district court also described in detail

. ——— —_

33

how a telex was first sent by Atwater's

secretary but because of transmission

problems, a confirmatory mailgram was also

sent for safe-measure. Finally, the

district court noted how Bouton compared

the language in the mailgram with the notes

he had taken of the agreement reached with

Atwater over the telephone. (48a-49a).

Whether the mailgram is a "writing" is

a question of fact subject to the "clearly

erroneous" standard." In DFI

Communications, Inc. v. Greenberg, 41 N.Y.

2d 602, 363 N.E.2d 312, 394 N.Y.S.2d 586

(1977), the New York court of appeals

reversed the lower court's decision which

had held Board minutes of a corporation not

to constitute a "writing" satisfying

Section 15-301. The New York court of

appeals disagreed with the lower court,

as The court of appeals gave no

indication whether it regarded this issue

to be a question of fact or law.

__ OOOO

34

distinguishing the Board minutes in issue

from the unsigned memorandum rejected in

Bakhshandeh v. American Cyanamid Co., 8

N.Y. 2d 981, 169 N.E. 2d 188, 204 N.Y.S. 2d

881 (1960), a case relied upon by the lower

court.'© 41 N.Y. 2d at 606, 363 N.E.2d at

589-90, 294 N.Y.S. 2d at 315.

The New York court of appeals

explained that Section 15-301 was to

"assure the authenticity of an amendatory

agreement; thus, the statute requires a

dignity of a formal writing to insure the

validity and genuineness of a contractual

modification." DFI Communications, 41

N.¥.2da at 606, 363 H.E.2@ at 345, 394

N.Y.S. 2d at 589-90. Whether the mailgram

in this case measures up to the level of

dignity and authenticity of a writing which

would insure the validity and genuineness

16 Both the DFI Communications and

Bakhshandeh cases were cited by the Second

Circuit in support of its finding. |

33

of a contractual modification is just the

type of issue which should be determined by

the “application of the factfinding

tribunal's experience with the mainsprings

of human conduct to the totality of the

facts of each case". Commissioner v.

Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278, 289 (1960).

In Duberstein this Court determined

whether a particular transfer constitutes

a “gift" for the purposes of the Internal

Revenue Code is a factual inquiry. Whether

a mailgram constitutes a "writing" under

the circumstances of this case is a similar

inquiry of a non-technical nature which has

a close relationship to "the data of

practical human- experience, and the

multiplicity of relevant factual elements"

which must be determined by the trier of

fact. See Duberstein, 363 U.S. at 298.

If the court of appeals in this case

believed the district court had failed to

make findings of fact essential to a proper

LL

36

resolution of this issue, the court of

appeals should have remanded the case to

the district court for further findings.

See Icicle Seafoods, 475 U.S. at 714-15. If

the court of appeals believed the district

court erred, the court of appeals should

have explained the standard of review it

applied and why the district court was

Clearly erroneous. The court of appeals

failed to do either.

II.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS I8 A REJECTION OF THE

GUIDING PRINCIPLES ENUNCIATED BY

THIS COURT IN RELATION TO THE

PROPER APPLICATION OF RULE 52 (a)

The Second Circuit, in reversing the

district court's decision, has flouted

every principle governing the exercise of

the appellate review function.

Determining the weight and

credibility of the evidence is the special

province of the trier of fact. Inwood

37

Laboratories v. Ives Laboratories, 456 U.S.

at 856. The court of appeals gave no

weight to evidence going to the parties'

course of dealing and the bargaining

context which motivated the parties to set

forth the modification in an informal but

binding mailgranm. In contrast, such

evidence of past dealing and motive carried

great weight with the district court.'’ It

is also apparent, in view of the court of

appeals' silence on this issue, that no

weight was given to the district court's

credibility findings.

There is no case more appropriate

for adherence to a rule giving deference to

the trial court's factual findings than one

in which there is a vast record of

cumulative evidence as to long-past

transactions, motives and purposes, the

effect of which depends largely on

credibility of witnesses. United States v.

Orego tat edi , 343 U.S. 326,

332 (1952). In this case the district

court described in detail the previous

informal agreements under which the parties

operated, the strained relationship of the

parties over advertising and other

revealing evidence relevant to the issue of

intent. (28a-63a).

_

38

The Second Circuit has a history of

applying a de novo standard of review when

factual findings are based on documentary

evidence. Anderson v. Bessemer City, 470

U.S. at 574. This Court in Anderson v.

Bessemer City and the 1985 Amendment to

Rule 52(a) have clearly settled the issue

by declaring that inferences from

documentary evidence are as much the

prerogative of the finder of fact as

inferences as to the credibility of

witnesses. Yet, the court of appeals has

impermissibly fallen back on past

assumptions in this case by reviewing the

documentary evidence de novo.

There is also no question that Rule

52(a) requiring deferential treatment of

findings of facts applies equally to

factual inferences from “undisputed basic

facts". Duberstein, 363 U.S. at 291.

Yet the Second Circuit here has

selectively viewed the cold print of the

39

record to cull its own findings of fact,

findings purportedly based on “undisputed

objective facts", without any regard to

this Court's admonition that "appellate

courts must constantly have in mind that

their function is not to decide factual

issues de novo." Anderson v. Bessemer

City, 470 U.S. at 573 (quoting Zenith Radio

Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395 U.S.

100, 123 (1969)).

In applauding Amurol's attorneys who

advised Amurol to avoid possible anti-trust

problems, the court of appeals appears to

have been influenced by its belief that

reduction of competition is repugnant to

the public interest. (20a) In an exercise

of circular reasoning, the court of appeals

surmised, “it is logical to expect that

experienced businessmen and knowledgeable

lawyers will be concerned about entering

into a contract that might restrict

competition in that field." (20a). The

————————

40

court of appeals then goes on to approve

Amurol's conduct, concluding that Amurol

"used good sense in following its

attorneys' advice and that nothing in the

dealings between the parties hereto

prohibited them from doing so." (20a-21a).

The question in this case is not whether

Amurol's attorneys gave good advice but

when, if ever, did the parties intend their

modification to come into existence. If the

parties had a meeting of the mind at the

time the mailgram was sent as the district

court found, the concern of Amurol over a

purported anti-trust problem raised later

is irrelevant to the issue of intent in

this case.

Even assuming the motivations ascribed

by the court of appeals to Amurol and its

attorneys have some slender basis, it is

equally permissible to infer from the

evidence that the anti-trust issue is a

self-serving ploy on the part of Amurol to

a |

41

further modify terms which Atwater had

agreed to improvidently. It is equally

permissible to conclude that once Bouton

gave his approval to the commercial and

Atwater no longer had "a gun to his head",

he regretted sending the mailgram setting

forth his agreement to the covenant not to

compete. Where more than one view is

plausible, the court of appeals cannot

substitute its own account of the evidence.

Anderson v. Bessemer City, 470 U.S. at 574.

In light of the foregoing, the

decision of the court of appeals is so out

of line with normal and accepted practice

that review by this Court is warranted.

See Braen v. Pfeifer Oi] Trans. Co., 361

U.S. 129, 130 (1959); see also Marshall v.

United States, 360 U.S. 310, 313 (1959);

Pennsylvania v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106 (1977).

42

Itl.

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

HAS AN IMPORTANT AND FAR

REACHING IMPACT ON LITIGANTS

OVER CONTRACT DISPUTES AND THE

JUDICIAL 8YSTEM

A. If this Decision is Allowed to Stand,

A_ Proliferation of Appeals Will Be

Filed by Dissatisfied Litigants in

cases of this Nature

The appellate courts, in their sterile

environment sheltered from the realities of

the business world, cannot and should not

be allowed to impose their own assumptions

and theories of business relations by

retrying cases of this nature in de novo

reviews of the paper record. Litigants

must be allowed to have their disputes

resolved on a case by case basis,

especially is cases such as this’ when

sensitive factual issues of intent,

motivation and course of dealing should be

given great weight. As this Court

recognized in Anderson v. Bessemer City:

The trial judges's major role is the

determination of _§ fact, and with

43

experience in fulfilling that role

comes expertise. Duplication of the

trial judge's efforts in the court of

appeals would very likely contribute

only negligibly to the accuracy of

fact determination at a huge cost in

diversion of judicial resources. In

addition, the parties to a case on

appeal have already been forced to

concentrate their energies and

resources on persuading the trial

judge that their account of the facts

is a correct one; requiring them to

persuade three more judges at the

appellate level is requiring too much.

470 U.S. at 574-75.

To permit courts of appeals to share

more actively in the fact-finding function

would also undermine the legitimacy of the

district courts in the eyes of the public.

If the court of appeals' decision is

allowed to stand, litigants, at least those

with resources, will file appeals as a

matter of course in the expectation of

obtaining a retrial at the appellate level.

Inevitably, appeals will multiply in

contract cases of this type and judicial

resources will be needlessly wasted.

lee

44

B. If Thi isi wed To Stand

The Manner In Which Businessmen Do

Business Would Be Impermissibly

Dictated By The Presumptions Of The

Courts

Businessmen make binding’ informal

agreements every day in New York and all

over the United States. With the

proliferation of facsimile machines and

telexes in modern offices, businessmen also

conduct business by informal letters and

documents. The Second Circuit has, through

a series of decisions culminating in this

case", developed a strong ¥ judicial

presumption against informal agreements

when more formal agreements appear to be

contemplated. Unless this Court

‘8 During the Appeal, Amurol asserted,

"what has been consistent in the Second

Circuit is that this Court has determined

that the parties did not in fact intend to

be bound, despite contrary findings by

trial courts and juries." (Reply Brief at

6). While the Second Circuit cases relied

upon by Amurol can all be easily

distinguished, Amurol and others like

Amurol will be encouraged to reargue the

intent to contract issues on appeal.

45

intervenes, the Second Circuit can be

expected to make assumptions about the

"experienced businessman" oor "logical

businessman" grounded upon broad

preconceptions about business practices by

interpreting the businessmen's actions de

novo. See, e€.g., .G. u 2. VW. Horn

& Hardart Co., 751 F. 2d 69, 77 (2d Cir.

1984)("Certainly this is the kind of

agreement where it would be unusual to rely

on an oral understanding."); Winston v.

Mediafare Entertainment Corp., 777 F. 2d

78, 83 (2d Cir. 1985) (The Court noted that

$62,500 at issue was not a trifling amount

and where "the purpose of the agreement is

to forestall litigation, prudence strongly

suggests that their agreement be written

ee. i

The unfortunate businessman who still

believes in doing business on good faith

and, by informally documenting '-= such

agreements with familiar business partners,

46

must now hire attorneys to insure that the

appropriate language is drafted to legally

and clearly express the intent of the

parties.

When disputes arise, the unwary

businessman who does not do business with

his attorney at his side will be unable to

rely on the courts to discern the true

intent and motivation of his actions.

Businessmen will simply have to wait for

the attorneys to draft and redraft

agreements or proceed at their own risk.

The unscrupulous will be able to employ

ambiguous language in informal documents to

gain immediate benefits well knowing that

the Second Circuit will value form over

substance, elevating contract formalism

over the intent or good faith of the

parties. Unless a clear message

admonishing the Second Circuit from such

unacceptable exercises of their appellate

power is provided by this Court, the

——

47

judicial process, at least for some, will

create an intolerable burden.

CONCLUSION

If the Second Court decision is

allowed to stand, manifest injustice would

be imposed upon petitioner and an

impermissible departure from the accepted

course of judicial proceedings would be

condoned. The precedent of this case, if

permitted to stand, will encourage

litigants to seek de novo review from the

courts of appeals. Petitioner respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the

Second Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

STEVEN B. POKOTILOW

Blum Kaplan

1120 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

(212) 704-0400

Attorney for Petitioner

Of Counsel:

Anita K. Yeung

BLUM KAPLAN

aL

APPENDIX

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

oe

No. 560—August Term, 1989

(Argued January 10, 1990 Decided May 3, 1990)

Docket No. 89-7805

—

JIM BOUTON CORPORATION,

a New Jersey Corporation,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY, a Delaware Corpora-

tion, and AMUROL PRODUCTS COMPANY, an Illi-

nois Corporation, and subsidiary of Wm. Wrigley

Jr. Company,

Defendants,

AMUROL PRODUCTS COMPANY,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Before:

VAN GRAAFEILAND, CARDAMONE and ALTIMARI,

Circuit Judges.

2a

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York which fol-

lowed a nonjury trial before Judge Leisure. The portion

of the judgment that awarded damages and granted

injunctive relief to appellee is reversed. The portion of

the judgment that dismissed appellant’s counterclaim

and the claims asserted in Counts II and III of appel-

lee’s amended complaint are affirmed.

>

STEVEN B. POKOTILOW, New York, New

York (Blum Kaplan, Anita K. Yeung,

New York, New York, of counsel), for

Plaintiff-Appellee.

JOHN G. KOELTL, New York, New York

(Jonathan H. Hines, Colby A. Smith,

Debevoise & Plimpton, New York, New

York, of counsel), for Defendant-

Appellant.

>

VAN GRAAFEILAND, Circuit Judge:

Amurol Products Company appeals from a judgment

of the United States District Court for the Southern Dis-

trict of New York which followed a nonjury trial before

Judge Leisure. The judgment awarded Jim Bouton Cor-

poration (JBC) substantial damages and gave it injunc-

tive relief in its action for breach of contract. It also

dismissed Amurol’s counterclaim seeking recovery

against JBC on a theory of unjust enrichment. We

————— °° &

3a

reverse those portions of the judgment that awarded

damages and granted injunctive relief to JBC. We

affirm the dismissal of Amurol’s counterclaim. We also

affirm the dismissal of the causes of action asserted in

Counts II and III of JBC’s amended complaint.

Jim Bouton, a former major league baseball player, is

president and 50 percent shareholder of JBC. The only

other shareholder is Rob Nelson, a former teammate of

Bouton. Amurol, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Wm.

Wrigley, Jr. Company, which was relieved of liability by

the district court, is engaged in the manufacture of

candy, gum, and other food products. Bouton and Nel-

son formed JBC in 1979 to capitalize on their idea of

marketing bubble gum that resembles chewing tobacco.

In 1979, Bouton filed a trademark application for ‘‘BIG

LEAGUE CHEW,”’ shredded bubble gum packaged in a

pouch. JBC’s agent contacted Amurol about marketing

the product. Amurol already had developed the concept

of shredded bubble gum, but expressed interest in using

the BIG LEAGUE CHEW trademark. The parties

entered into a series of licensing agreements which cul-

minated in a formal agreement signed in June 1982, but

effective as of July 1981 (the 1981 agreement).

Under the agreement, JBC was to receive royalties on

Amurol’s sale of BIG LEAGUE CHEW. The royalties

were calculated on a sliding scale, 2.5 percent for the

first $20 million in sales, 3.5 percent on the second $20

million, and 5 percent on sales over $40 million. JBC

retained the right to approve all advertising. Finally, the

document provided that it was the entire understanding

between the parties and could not be modified except in

writing.

4a

Bouton, as president of JBC, frequently objected to

proposed advertising. However, because Amurol some-

times did not consult Bouton until substantial time and

money had been invested in a particular advertising pro-

gram, on at least two occasions Bouton consented to

advertising he did not like, reserving the right to exercise

disapproval during the ensuing season. In 1984, a dis-

pute arose over a promotional campaign based on a

**Baseball Bonanza’’ giveaway game. Amurol organized

the campaign, announced its use to its brokers, and pur-

chased media time for commercials, but Bouton refused

to consent to the format. A.G. Atwater, an Amurol

executive, contacted Bouton by telephone on February

22, 1984, to try to obtain his consent. After some dis-

cussion, they orally agreed that JBC would relinquish

advertising approval rights in return for a flat 5 percent

royalty on all sales of BIG LEAGUE CHEW. Atwater

further agreed orally that Amurol would refrain from

marketing any other shredded bubble gum that would

compete with BIG LEAGUE CHEW, but that Amurol

could continue to sell two products, ‘‘BUCKAROO

CHEW’”’ and ‘‘POPEYE”’, which already were on the

market. Bouton then gave his approval to run the Base-

ball Bonanza advertising campaign.

Following this oral conversation, Atwater sent Bouton

a mailgram dated February 22, 1984, which read as fol-

lows:

This is the text we talked about. Will be in touch

with Gilson to draw up final papers next week.

If Amurol Products Company elects to continue

advertising, it will create and run advertising for

BIG LEAGUE CHEW with a masculine sports

theme featuring the brand in a quote macho

unquote image.

If promotional advertising is run, it will make every

attempt to feature the brand in the same image.

Any promotions to the consumer will continue to

feature prizes which are sports-oriented and in

keeping with the image of the brand.

Amurol, in consideration of Jim Bouton Corpora-

tion relinquishing all approval of advertising and

promotions, will, during the life of the contract,

refrain from introducing another quote shredded

unquote bubble gum which would compete with

BIG LEAGUE CHEW. POPEYE and BUCKA-

ROO CHEW, already on the market can continue

to be produced and sold.

JBC’s contention, as set forth in the Amended Pre

Trial Order, is that it entered into a ‘‘valid binding and

enforceable agreement’’ with Amurol on February 22,

1984, the terms and conditions of which were ‘‘set

forth, memorialized, and incorporated’’ in the February

22 mailgram. Although the district court’s opinion is

somewhat obscure on this point, a fair reading of it

indicates that the district court agreed. We disagree. .

The 1981 agreement, in which millions of dollars were

at stake, contains thirty-three paragraphs and takes up

seventeen pages of the printed appendix on appeal. The

parties, experienced in the ways of business, simply

could not have intended that the cursory mailgram mes-

sage, which did not even discuss a change in plaintiff's

substantial royalties, constituted a legally enforceable

modification of the carefully prepared 1981 contract.

The mailgram’s reference to the drawing up of ‘‘final

6a

papers’’ by Amurol’s lawyer evidences a clear intent to

the contrary. The word ‘‘final’’ has the commonly

understood lay meaning of ‘‘conclusive,’’ ‘‘decisive,’’ or

‘‘definitive.’’ Webster’s Third New International Dictio-

nary 851. In legal parlance, its meaning is substantially

the same. See People v. Gaggi, 104 A.D.2d 422, 424

(1984) (mem.); Standard Oil Co. v. United States, 10 F.

Supp. 550, 560 (Ct. Cl. 1935); Black’s Law Dictionary,

757 4th ed.

The conduct of the parties which followed the dis-

patch of the mailgram demonstrates that they recognized

the need for a conclusive, decisive and definitive docu-

ment prepared by, or under the supervision of, their

lawyers. At Bouton’s request, a copy of the mailgram

was sent directly to James Silberman, JBC’s lawyer, and

Silberman was JBC’s spokesman in most of the negotia-

tions that followed. Silberman promptly questioned the

absence of any provision in the mailgram for increased

royalties and also informed Atwater that JBC wanted to

retain the right to restrict the use of the package in con-

nection with the sale of other products and to approve

package graphics. Moreover, although in the final para-

graph of the mailgram JBC is said to have relinquished

all right to approve advertising and promotions ‘‘during

the life of the contract’’, Atwater believed it necessary

to obtain a letter from Silberman specifically approving

the Baseball Bonanza commercial. On February 28,

1984, Silberman sent Atwater a letter reading as follows:

You have requested written confirmation that

Amurol can use for 1984 the TV advertisement pre-

viously submitted to Jim Bouton based on the

understandings as to modification of the Agreement

which is to be reduced to writing in due course.

Part of the understanding is set forth in your

Mailgram of February 22, 1984. The understanding

is also based on the following conditions:

1. Relinquishment of approval of advertising and

Promotion covers all ‘‘Articles’’ (BIG LEAGUE

CHEW shredded bubble gum and BIG LEAGUE

PLUG candy).

2. On all sales of ‘‘Articles’’ for the period Janu-

ary 1, 1984 through the end of the Agreement, the

payment under paragraph 4 will be five percent

(5%) on Net Sales.

3. Relinquishment of approval of advertising and

Promotion shall not be construed as a relinquish-

ment of any other rights that JBC has under the

Agreement including:

(a) the right to prohibit use of the package (exte-

rior or within the pouch) to sell another product

without a separate agreement; and

(b) the right to approve package graphics.

If your understanding comports with the above,

we will operate on the assumption that an accept-

able writing will come into being and, on behalf of

The Jim Bouton Corporation, I hereby give Amurol

authorization to run the TV ad for 1984.

JBC’s contention, as set forth in the Amended Pre

Trial Order, is that the foregoing letter ‘“‘reiterated and

clarified” the terms of the mailgram and incorporated

“‘related conditions’’ that were ‘“implied’’ in the mail-

gram. This simply is not so. Silberman’s letter recog-

nized that only ‘“‘[pjart of the understanding’’ was

contained in the mailgram. In addition to the royalty

Sa

provisions, which were not referred to at all in the mail-

gram, Silberman’s letter proposed that JBC would retain

the right to restrict the use of the gum packages and

their graphics or appearance, two additional matters

concerning which the mailgram was completely silent.

Moreover, the authorization given for the Baseball

Bonanza commercial was only for the year 1984, not for

the ‘‘life of the contract,’’ thus indicating that JBC was

acting under the assumption that it had not relinquished

its right to reject other advertisements or this one in the

years following 1984. Lastly, and most importantly, an

‘facceptable writing’’ between the parties was not to

come into being unless the contents of the letter met

with Amurol’s approval. Significantly, the contents did

not meet with Amurol’s approval. See Willmott v. Giar-

raputo, § N.Y.2d 250, 253 (1959). As summarized

below, the parties negotiated for nine months in an

unsuccessful effort to arrive at an ‘‘acceptable writing.’’

When Amurol’s attorney, Jerome Gilson, reviewed

the mailgram and Silberman’s letter, he immediately

questioned the legality under the antitrust laws of

Amurol’s proposed covenant not to compete. On March

19, 1984, Gilson orally conveyed his misgivings to

Silberman, and Silberman promised to prepare a draft

letter incorporating the terms of the supplemental agree-

ment. On April 17, 1984, and again on May 18, 1984,

Gilson wrote to Silberman inquiring about the promised

draft. On June 8, 1984, Silberman sent Gilson the draft

of a proposed ‘‘Amendment to Agreement.’’

Although the ‘‘Whereas’’ clauses of a contract do not

determine its operative effect, they do furnish a back-

ground in relation to which the meaning and intent of

the operative provisions can be determined. The

—————

9a

**Whereas’’ clauses of Attorney Silberman’s draft are

illuminating. The first clause states that JBC and

Amurol are parties to the 1981 agreement (not a Febru-

ary 1984 agreement). The second states that the parties

“desire to amend’’ the 1981 agreement (not that they

already have amended it). Despite the objection that

Gilson already had voiced to the anticompetitive clause,

Silberman included a provision in his draft to the effect

that Amurol would not introduce and market in the

United States and Canada ‘‘a shredded bubble gum

which will compete with the BIG LEAGUE CHEW

Brand,’’ excepting from the anticompetitive clause only

the POPEYE and BUCKAROO CHEW brands that

Amurol already was marketing.

JBC’s desire to eliminate competition proved to be a

stumbling block throughout the entire nine months of

negotiation. On June 19, 1984, after Attorney Gilson

had had an opportunity to review Attorney Silberman’s

draft, he made several adverse comments about it in a

letter to Atwater. Referring to the anticompetitive clause

he said:

As I mentioned to you previously, that for anti-

trust reasons, I am uncomfortable with a no-

compete clause of this type. I tried to talk

Silberman out of it several months ago, but he

either forgot or is unwilling to concede. As I see it,

we have two choices: delete it or ask Gordon Lang

for an antitrust opinion. If he approves it, I have

no problem with it. Shall I give him a call? If it

stays in, the rest of the paragraph, which allows

shredded gum to be sold outside the U.S., looks

acceptable.

10a

Referring to the clause which pronibited Amurol trom

using the interior or exterior of the package or container

to sell other products without a separate agreement with

JBC, Gilson said:

This was mentioned in his letter of February 28,

1984, but not in your telex of February 22, 1984.

This is another form of no-compete clause which

sounds very risky, as though JBC owned a patent

on the pouch and the display container. Thus, until

probably 1993 you would have to pay tribute to

JBC if you wanted to sell another pouch product

(interior or exterior) or use the retail display con-

tainer for another novelty item. This seems very

harsh to me, although I do not see a serious anti-

trust problem. Should we discuss it?

With Atwater’s approval, Gilson then sought advice

from Attorney Gordon Lang, a specialist in the field of

antitrust. The letter read in pertinent part as follows:

You will recall we talked last week about the no-

compete clause being requested of Amurol in a

trademark license amendment. Since then I tracked

down Jim Silberman, attorney for Bouton, and

unsuccessfully attempted to persuade him to drop

this demand. He contended that it was an impor- |

tant point. Accordingly, the question is ripe for

your advice.

What do you think about its legality? A.G. wants

to wrap up the amendment promptly. Could you

get back to me in a few days?

lla

On August 14, 1984, Attorney Lang responded to

Gilson’s request in part as follows:

Particular caution should be exercised in the case

of Amurol since it is owned by Wrigley, the domi-

nant manufacturer of chewing gum in the United

States. The restriction on marketing other types of

shredded bubble gum could be made the object of

antitrust attack because it may foreclose marketing

Opportunities to other persons who might wish to

sell their ideas for the manufacture or marketing of

shredded bubble gum to Amurol or Wrigley,

thereby constituting a substantial restraint of trade

under §1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1

(1982). There are numerous cases in the ordinary

distribution context which hold that foreclosure of

even 15-25 percent of the total number of distribu-

tion outlets constitutes an illegal restraint of trade.

[citations omitted]. Wrigley’s share of the chewing

gum market is considerably higher than the 15-25

percent threshold, and its share of the shredded

bubble gum market is even higher yet. To the mis-

chievous antitrust treble damage plaintiff, this com-

bination of facts and circumstances presents an

opportunity for costly and time-consuming litiga-

tion against Amurol, Wrigley and JBC. For these

reasons, it is advised that the proposed restriction

be eliminated from the draft amendment to the

Agreement between JBC and Amurol.

Mr. Lang continued:

In the event that JBC wishes to share in the

profits derived from the sale of types of shredded

bubble gum other than BIG LEAGUE CHEW, this

could well be done by offering JBC a royalty from

12a

the sales of all kinds of shredded bubble gum mar-

keted by Amurol in return for JBC having provided

Amurol with valuable and constructive ideas, know-

how and advice related to the development, manu-

facture and marketing of shredded bubble gum.

This would constitute a form of compensation for

the original contribution that JBC made to the

shredded bubble gum product which Amurol devel-

oped with the close cooperation and assistance of

JBC. ;

On August 20, 1984, Gilson wrote to Silberman,

reminding him of the fact that in addition to the 1981

agreement with respect to the BIG LEAGUE CHEW

and BIG LEAGUE PLUG (candy) trademarks, there

was an entirely separate agreement covering the trade-

mark ‘‘BUCKAROO CHEW’”’ [dated November 11,

1980] due to expire on September 15, 1984. He sug-

gested that the two agreements be consolidated and

enclosed a proposed draft to that effect. With respect to

Silberman’s proposed anticompetitive clause he wrote:

We have consulted with Amurol’s outside anti-

trust counsel with respect to the following language

- contained in the agreement you drafted:

During the Term of this Agreement, the Com-

pany will not introduce and market in the Terri-

tory a shredded bubble gum which will compete

with the BIG LEAGUE CHEW Brand.

Our client is unable to agree to this provision as

drafted. As an alternative, AG has agreed that

Amurol will pay to Bouton 5% royalties on any

competitive shredded bubble gum product that

Amurol should sell, in payment for the services ren-

l3a

dered by Mr. Bouton in the initial stages of devel-

opment of the shredded bubble gum product. I

believe this provision will avoid the potential for an

antitrust challenge to the non-compete clause you

Originally drafted. Thus, we have included such a

provision in the proposed Amendment.

Please review this Amendment with Mr. Bouton

and let us have your comments as soon as possible.

In light of the expiration of the BUCKAROO

CHEW agreement on September 15, 1984, we

would certainly like to finalize this matter at the

earliest opportunity.

,

The amendment as proposed by Gilson read as fol-

lows:

Subject only to the provisions of paragraph 8 of the

BIG LEAGUE CHEW Agreement, JBC acknowl-

edges that the Company has the right to market

outside of the Territory without obligation to JBC

Articles which do not utilize trademarks, themes

and Property covered by the Agreements, and that

the Company is the owner of all right, title and

interest in and to the formula, know-how and trade

secrets embodied in or related to shredded bubble

gum. However, in recognition of and as payment

for JBC’s participation in and services rendered in

connection with the initial development of the

shredded bubble gum product, as to any new shred-

ded bubble gum products introduced and marketed

by the Company in the Territory, the Company

agrees to pay to JBC five percent (5%) on Net Sales

without regard to the volume of Net Sales in a cal-

endar year.

l4a

Silberman then countered with the proposal that if

Amurol marketed any other shredded bubble gum prod-

ucts, it would pay 5 percent royalties to JBC and that

any trademarks used by Amurol in connection with

these other shredded bubble gum products would be

owned by JBC upon termination of the agreement. On

this proverbial rock, the ship of compromise foundered.

In a letter to Silberman from Susan Neal, one of

Gilson’s partners, Mr. Atwater’s reaction to Silberman’s

proposal was summarized as follows:

Following our telephone conversation of October

1, 1984, I had an opportunity to discuss your most

recent proposals with Mr. Atwater. As I was unable

to reach you by phone, I am taking this opportu-

nity to advise you as to Mr. Atwater’s reaction.

Amurol is not opposed to entering into a separate

agreement which provides for payment of 5% of

net sales on future shredded bubble gum products.

However, Mr. Atwater indicated that Amurol

would ‘‘absolutely not’’ agree to Bouton’s owner-

ship of any trademarks used in connection with

such products upon termination of the agreement.

Aside from this one provision, however, I believe

the principals are in agreement and we should be

able to finalize this matter prior to the current

expiration date of November 1, 1984.

Please let me hear from you at your earliest con-

venience.

On November 26, 1984, recognizing that ‘‘Amurol

and Jim Bouton have been unable to reach an agree-

ment as to a modification of the 1981 BIG LEAGUE

—

l5a

CHEW agreement,’’ Gilson terminated further discus-

sions concerning a proposed modification.

We are satisfied that both sides negotiated in good

faith for a written amendment of the 1981 contract, and

we Can see no purpose or intent in those lengthy negoti-

ations if a binding amendment already had been agreed

upon. Our review of the record, much of which is in the

form of written documents, leaves us with the definite

and firm conviction that the district court erred in hold-

ing otherwise. See Reprosytem, B.V. v. SCM Corp., 727

F.2d 257, 261 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 828

(1984).

The 1981 agreement provided that its terms could not

be waived or modified ‘‘except by an agreement in writ-

ing.’’ Recognizing that the mailgram did not contain all

the necessary material terms, JBC contends that the

mailgram and Silberman’s letter of February 28, 1984

“‘together’’ constitute such an agreement. The fallacy in

this argument is that the February 28 letter was not an

agreement, but was instead a counterproposal that never

was agreed to. As the mailgram anticipated the prepara-

tion by Amurol’s attorney of ‘‘final papers’’, Silber-

man’s letter contemplated the future preparation of an

‘‘acceptable writing.’’ The above detailed recitation of

facts discloses that a writing acceptable to both parties

never was prepared. This being so, the 1981 contract’s

requirement of an ‘‘agreement in writing’? and New

York’s statutory requirement of an agreement ‘‘in writ-

ing and signed by the party against whom enforcement

of the change is sought’’ (General Obligations Law § 15-

301(1)) have not been met. See DFJ Communications,

Inc. v. Greenberg, 51 A.D.2d 403 (1976), modified, 41

N.Y.2d 602 (1977), (Court of Appeals agreed with

—————————

l6a

Appellate Division that a note or memorandum of an

agreement is insufficient to satisfy the requirements of

section 15-301, but held that corporate minutes contain-

ing the ‘‘complete amendatory agreement’’ and signed

by the secretary of the company against whom enforce-

ment of the change was sought met the statute’s require-

ments); Bakhshandeh v. American Cyanamid Co., 8

A.D.2d 35, 37 (1959), aff'd, 8 N.Y.2d 981 (1960)

(mem.); Elmsford Sheet Metal Workers, Inc. v. Shasta

Indus., Inc., 103 A.D.2d 764 (1984) (mem.).

Applying general principles of contract law, we arrive

at the same result, viz., that there was no binding con-

tract of amendment. As the Supreme Court observed in

United States v. Line Material Co., 333 U.S. 287 (1948),

**[pjublic policy has condemned monopolies for centu-

ries.’’ Jd. at 308. That feeling exists in large measure to

this day. ‘‘Since competition is generally held to benefit

the public, any reduction in competition must be consid-

ered against the public interest.’’ Dellwood Foods, Inc.

v. Kraftco Corp., 420 F. Supp. 424, 428 (S.D.N.Y.

1976). Where, as here, a corporation and its parent

company occupy a dominant position in a commercial

field, it is logical to expect that experienced businessmen

and knowledgeable lawyers will be concerned about

entering into a contract that might restrict competition

in that field. It is not at all surprising that Amurol’s

antitrust counsel recommended that Amurol refrain

from becoming a party to such a contract.

Troubled by cases such as Dictograph Products, Inc.

v. Federal Trade Commission, 217 F.2d 821 (2d Cir.

1954), cert. denied, 349 U.S. 940 (1955), counsel opined

that even if a ‘“‘mischievous antitrust treble damage

plaintiff’’ could not be assured of success, the combina-

l7a

tion of circumstances ‘‘presents an opportunity for

costly and time-consuming litigation ... .’’ Without

assuming to decide whether a suit by such a plaintiff

against the parties herein would be successful, we are

satisfied that Amurol’s attorneys used good legal judg-

ment in advising Amurol to avoid the probiem. We also

are satisfied that Amurol used good sense in following

its attorneys’ advice and that nothing in the dealings

between the parties hereto prohibited them from so

doing.

New York follows the generally accepted rule that

when parties negotiating a proposed contract express an

intent not to be bound until their negotiations have cul-

minated in the execution of a formal contract, they can-

not be held bound until that event has occurred. See

R.G. Group, Inc. v. Horn & Hardart Co., 751 F.2d 69,

74 (2d Cir. 1984); Scheck v. Francis, 26 N.Y.2d 466,

469-70 (1970); Brause v. Goldman, 10 A.D.2d 328, 332

(1960), aff’d sub nom. Brause v. Marshall, 9 N.Y.2d

620 (1961) (mem.).

Without reiterating the history of the parties’ negotia-

tions, we conclude that the undisputed objective facts

demonstrate beyond cavil that the parties did not intend

to be bound until ‘‘final papers’’ or an ‘‘acceptable

writing’’ was prepared and signed. See Feick v. Fleener,

653 F.2d 69, 74 (2d Cir. 1981) (*‘Events are moving very

rapidly and it will be to the family’s advantage if we can

formalize our understanding as soon as possible.’’);

Tebbutt v. Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 124 A.D.2d

266, 268 (1986) (mem.) (‘‘Please advise whether the

foregoing terms are satisfactory to your clients and we

can proceed to prepare whatever contract documents

may be required.’’); Rosenzweig v. Salkind, § A.D.2d

Sa

58, 60 (1957), aff’d, 5 N.Y.2d 902 (1959) (mem.) (‘‘Will

you please go over same, and if it is satisfactory, advise

me, and I will have them executed, and arrange to meet

with you within the next day or two for the purpose of

concluding this matter.’’); ABC Trading Co. v. West-

inghouse Electric Supply Co., 382 F. Supp. 600, 602

(E.D.N.Y. 1974) (‘‘If your client finds this proposal

agreeable in principle, we can proceed to reduce it to a

written agreement ....’’). See also EDP Medical

Computer Systems, Inc. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 149

A.D.2d 563, 564-65 (mem.), appeal dismissed, 74

N.Y.2d 873 (1989); Gambee v. Argendorf, 10 Misc. 2d

598, 600, 602 (1958).

Shortly after Attorney Silberman sent his letter of

February 22, 1984, in which he gave Amurol authoriza-

tion to run the Baseball Bonanza advertisement ‘‘for

1984’’, he contacted Atwater and inquired, ‘‘Since we

sent you a letter and you are going ahead with the com-

mercial, would you pay an additional 2-1/2 percent?’’

Amurol complied with this request. JBC contends that

this was convincing evidence that the parties had agreed

upon all the material terms of an amended contract run-

ning to 1988 with an option for a five-year renewal

term. Because the payment of the increased royalty is

equally, if not more readily, referable to th short term

permission to run the specifically named commercial, it

cannot be treated as part performance of an agreement

covering all commercials during the succeeding four to

nine years. See Wilson v. La Van, 22 N.Y.2d 131, 134

35 (1968); Bakhshandeh v. American Cyanamid Co.,

supra, 8 A.D.2d at 38; Bright Radio Laboratories, Inc.

v. Coastal Commercial Corp., 4 A.D.2d 491, 494

(1957), aff’d, 4 N.Y.2d 1021 (1958) (mem.).

19a

By the same token, we agree with the district court

that Amurol was not entitled to the return of the addi-

tional 2 1/2 percent royalty when it terminated the nego-

tiations looking toward an amended contract. Since it

had the use of the Baseball Bonanza commercial, there

was no unjust enrichment here.

We hold also, for the reasons stated by the district

court, that JBC’s alternate claims in Counts II and III

of its amended complaint that Amurol breached the

unamended 1981 contract were properly dismissed.

Because we hold that JBC is not entitled to any recov-

ery, we do not reach the question whether the district

court used the proper measure of damages.

In sum, we reverse the portion of the district court's

judgment which holds that JBC and Amurol entered

into a binding contract modifying their 1981 agreement

and awards damages and grants an injunction based on

the district court’s modification holding; we affirm the

portion of the district court’s judgment that denies

Amurol recovery on its counterclaim, and we affirm the

portion that dismisses the claims asserted in Counts I]

and III of JBC’s amended complaint. No costs to either

party.

20a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

seem ee meee eee em eee wm eo ee eee eee = X

JIM BOUTON CORPORATION, : FINDINGS OF

FACT AND

Plaintiff, : CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW

-against-

WM. WRIGLEY JR. COMPANY and : 85 CIV. 2308

AMUROL PRODUCTS COMPANY, (PKL)

Defendants.

eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee oe oe x

APPEARANCES

BLUM KAPLAN

1120 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

Steven B. Pokotilow, Esq., of counsel

Anita K. Yeung, Esq., of counsel

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

DEBEVOISE & PLIMPTON

875 Third Avenue

New York, New York 10022

John G. Koeltl, Esq., of counsel

Jonathan H. Hines, Esq., of counsel

Anita Bernstein, Esq., of counsel

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS

2la

LEISURE, District Judge:

On January 25, 26, 27, 28 and 29,

1988, this case was tried to the Court

without a jury. The parties submitted

posttrial proposed findings of fact and

conclusions of law on March 3, 1988, and

thereafter submitted simultaneous any

papers. Plaintiff subsequently moved to

reopen the testimony to offer additional

evidence. For the reasons stated below,

the Court dismisses the action as to

defendant Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company, finds

for plaintiff on its first claim for

relief, for defendant Amurol on plaintiff's

second and third claims for relief, and for

plaintiff on defendant Amurol's

counterclaim. The Court also denies

plaintiff's motion to reopen the testimony

on the present record as set forth below.

The following constitutes the Court's

findings of fact and conclusions of law

pursuant to Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules

22a

of Civil Procedure.

FINDINGS OF FACT

THE PARTIES

Plaintiff Jim Bouton Corporation

("JBC") is a corporation organized and

existing under the laws of the State of New

Jersey. The president of the corporation

is Jim Bouton ("Bouton"), a former major

league baseball player. The only other

shareholder in the corporation is Rob

Nelson ("Nelson"). The corporation was

formed in 1979, with Bouton as president

and Nelson as vice-president. Each then

owned and continues to own 50% of the

corporation.

Bouton is a well-known sports figure

_and entertainment personality. He played

professional baseball in the minor leagues

for three years, and then was a pitcher for

the New York Yankees beginning in 1962. He

was subsequently sold to the Seattle

Pilots, and then traded to the Houston

23a

Astros. In 1970, he retired from baseball.

Also in 1970, Bouton wrote the book Ball

Four, which was on the best-seller list for

seventeen weeks, and sold over 250,000

copies, and about three million copies in

paperback.

After his retirement from baseball, he

joined local network television station

WABC in New York as a sportscaster on the

6:00 and 11:00 o'clock evening news. In

1973, he joined WCBS in New York as a

television sportscaster, where he remained

until 1976. In 1976, Bouton also created,

wrote and acted in a situation comedy that

aired on the CBS network in the fall of

1976. The show ran five weeks before it

was canceled.

In 1977, Bouton began a comeback to

the major leagues. He played in the minor

leagues in Knoxville, Tennessee, Durango,

Mexico and Portland, Oregon. In 1978, he

played in the Atlanta Braves' organization

24a

in Savannah, Georgia. At the end of the

1978 season, he was called up to the

Atlanta Braves. His return to the major

leagues was short-lived. In 1979, after

retiring from professional baseball

permanently, Bouton formed JBC. Bouton is

also engaged in other endeavors, and in

1983 he formed a company called Big League

Cards, which makes personalized baseball

cards. Bouton also engages in after dinner

and motivational speech-making.

Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company ("Wrigley") is

a Delaware corporation having its principal

place of business in Chicago, Illinois.

Wrigley is a leading manufacturer and

distributor of chewing gum and related

goods.

Amurol Products Company ("Amurol") is

an Illinois corporation with its principal

place of business in Naperville, Illinois.

Amurol is a wholly-owned subsidiary of

Wrigley. Amurol is engaged in the

manufacture, sale and distribution of

candy, gum, dietetic food products and

novelty products.

DEVELOPMENT OF THE PRODUCT

In 1977, while playing for’ the

Portland, Oregon minor league baseball

team, Bouton and Nelson came up with the

concept that developed into the predict

which is the subject of this suit. One

day, while Bouton was in the bullpen with

Nelson, the team's pitching coach, they

observed that all the other players and

coaches on the team were chewing tobacco.

The players did not particularly like the

taste of chewing tobacco, and it made many

of them sick, particularly when used over

sustained periods of time, but many thought

that it contributed to their maintaining

"macho" images. It was then that Nelson

commented that it was unfortunate that

there was not something available that

looked like tobacco but was goodtasting,

26a

such as gum. Bouton and Nelson laughed at

the idea, and did not think any more about

it at that time.

Several months later, after the season

had ended, Bouton could not get the idea

out of his head. He contacted Nelson and

suggested that the concept might be a

commercial success, and that they should

try to produce and market the gum. Nelson

made some gum in his kitchen, colored and

flavored it with molasses, and cut it into

strips with a large knife. Nelson and

Bouton then contacted an advertising agency

in Portland, and, with the help of the

agency, developed a package design for the

pouch in which the gum would be sold.

Bouton and Nelson contacted an attorney in

Portland to advise them about selling the

product and filing for trademark

application.

In 1978, Bouton contacted U.8.

Licensing, a professional licensing

27a

organization, and Vincent Alati ("Alati"),

President of U.S. Licensing, to licensé the

concept of BIG LEAGUE CHEW shredded gum in

a pouch. On June 15, 1979, Bouton filed an

application for a trademark for BIG LEAGUE

CHEW. In the meantime, U.S. Licensing

contacted various gum manufacturers to see

if there was any interest in manufacturing

and marketing BIG LEAGUE CHEW. In November

of 1979, Bouton entered into a contract

with U.S. Licensing. Under that contract,

Bouton was obligated to pay U.S. Licensing

35% of all royalties earned by Bouton from

any license agreement for BIG LEAGUE CHEW.

In the middle of 1979, Alati contacted

Amurol to determine if it would be

interested in entering into a _ license

agreement. Alati conducted negotiations on

behalf of Bouton with Amurol's then vice-

president and current president and chief

executive officer, A.G. Atwater

("Atwater"). At the beginning of the

28a

negotiations, Amurol and Bouton exchanged

product disclosure forms and other written

documents.

Prior to being contacted by Alati,

Amurol had dealt with the Conwood

Corporation, a manufacturer of chewing

tobacco, about selling shredded gum in a

pouch. Accordingly, Amurol informed Alati

that although it did not wish to use

Bouton's concept of shredded gum because it

already had the idea, it did wish to use

the trademarked name BIG LEAGUE CHEW.

EARLY CONTRACTUAL RELATIONS

After further negotiations between the

parties, attorneys representing U.S.

Licensing prepared a licensing contract

covering the BIG LEAGUE CHEW mark. The

agreement ("The Original Agreement"),

Defendants' Trial Exhibit 020090’ was

. Hereinafter, Defendants' Trial

Exhibits will be abbreviated DTX , and

Plaintiff's Trial Exhibits PTX :

29a

executed on or about December 5, 1979. The

Original Agreement was for a term of three

years from initial market entry of the

product. Bouton was to receive a 2%

royalty on gross sales, as well as power to

approve art work, packaging and related

advertising material. The Original

Agreement also gave Amurol the right to

market another shredded gum product with a

Western theme rather than a baseball theme.

The Original Agreement further provided

that it set forth the entire understanding

of the parties and that it could not be

modified except in writing.

In the first half of 1980, Amurol

developed the packaging and graphics, with

Bouton's approval, and conducted market

testing. In the middle of 1980, Amurol

proceeded to introduce the product. BIG

LEAGUE CHEW was an immediate success and

became Amurol's best-selling product. In

its first six months on the market, without

30a

any advertising or promotion, sales of BIG

LEAGUE CHEW totaled $3.4 million.

In the meantime, however, problems

between the parties surfaced. Bouton's

application for a trademark for BIG LEAGUE

CHEW was rejected by the patent and

trademark office in May of 1980. It was

then arranged for Amurol's outside counsel,

Jerome Gilson, Esq. ("Gilson") of Willian

Olds Hofer Gilson & Lione Ltd. ("Willian

Olds"), to assist Bouton in assuring that

the trademark was properly registered.* In

part as a result of the difficulties with

the registration of the trademark, there

was concern at Amurol that trademark

litigation might ensue. Amurol therefore

wished to have more substantial indemni-

fication from Bouton in the event of

litigation. Amuro] also wanted to correct

the representation in the Original

: The registration ultimately

issued in October 1983.

3la

Agreement that Bouton had registered his

trademark when, in fact, he had only

applied for such registration.

For his part, Bouton was dissatisfied

with Amurol's handling of Bouton's own

concept for a Western shredded gum, under

the BUCKAROO CHEW name. It was then

discovered by Amurol that the Mars ‘Candy

Company had previously registered the

trademark BUCKAROO for candy, but was not

actively using the mark. As previously

stated, Amurol had already developed a

Western theme, and was therefore reluctant

to use Bouton's concept. Nevertheless,

Amurol purchased the BUCKAROO trademark

from the Mars Candy Company and assigned

the mark to Bouton. Because both parties

were dissatisfied with the state of

relations between them, but optimistic

about the potential of BIG LEAGUE CHEW,

they negotiated over certain revisions to

the Original Agreement.

These negotiations culminated in a new

agreement between the parties. The new

agreement was signed in November of 1980,

but was dated as of December 5, 1979. In

effect, then, the November 1980 agreement

superceded the Original Agreement and

became known as the 1979 agreement (the

"1979 Agreement") .°

The 1979 Agreement provided that

Bouton would receive a 24% royalty rate on

the sales of BIG LEAGUE CHEW. The 1979

Agreement also required that Amurol receive

prior written approval from Bouton for all

advertising and promotions. Paragraph 20

of the 1979 Agreement provided:

5 Bouton did not recall that there

was a signed Original Agreement in 1979

before what later came «~o be known as the

1981 Agreement. Bouton explained that at

the time of the Original Agreement, Alati

was handling the negotiations and

preparation of contracts for JBC, and the

Original Agreement was drafted by Franklin,

Weinrib and Rudell, attorneys for U.S.

Licensing. I find Bouton's explanation for

his failure of recollection to be entirely

credible.

33a

The Terms of this agreement

cannot be waived or modified

except by an agreement in

writing. There are no

representations, warranties or

covenants other than those set

forth in this agreement which

sets forth the entire

understanding between us.

PTX 12. In addition to the 1979 Agreement,

the parties executed a separate agreement

relating to BUCKAROO CHEW, providing for

royalty payments to Bouton for BUCKAROO

CHEW.

The sales of BIG LEAGUE CHEW proved to

be impressive; in 1981, sales of BIG LEAGUE

CHEW totaled $18 million. When it became

evident that the product would be a

commercial success, the parties began to

think about extending the term of the 1979

Agreement, which was originally set for a

term of three years. Negotiations between

Bouton, Alati, and JBC's counsel, James K.

Silberman, Esq. ("Silberman") of Blun,

Kaplan, Friedman, Silberman & Beran ("Blum

Kaplan"), on the one side and Amurol and

sta

its counsel on the other side resulted in

of a. ietter of intent. .(the

"letter of Intent") 1n August of 1981. Tne

(lL

Letter of Intent was prepared and executed

ct

ct

~~

ct

ct

rw

me to “avoid misunderstandings"

to the terms of revised agreement. DTX

Both parties wanted to be bound by the

new terms, and were not sure how long

would take to draw up a new agreement, S

they drew up the Letter of Intent. Boutor

11FOCC, TE ic «S33

The Letter of Intent provided for a!

ncrease in the royalty rate to be paid

Bouton and an extension of the license

term, among other things. Specifically,

1e Letter of Intent provided for a sliding

ale of royalty payments by which Bouton

would receive 2% on the first $20 million

in annual sales, 34% on the second $20

million 5%¢ on sales over $40 million, and

Bouton understood that he woul

receive the 5% royalty rate in either of

two ways. First, if Amurol did not adver-

tise, he would be entitled to 5%. Second,

if Bouton did not approve advertising, he

thought he was entitled under the contract

to receive 5%. Bouton acknowledged,

however, that the Letter of Intent nowhere

explicitly provided that he would receive

the full 5% under the second circumstance.

Bouton cross, Tr. at 382-83.

rj

rom August 1981, when the Letter of

Intent was signed, until June 1982, when

the 1981 Agreement was signed, the parties

operated under the terms of the Letter of

Intent. Paragraph ten of the Letter of

Intent provided that the royalty rate for

BUCKAROO CHEW would increase from 14% to

2+ and that all royalty payments for BIG

LEAGUE CHEW would be made on a monthly

basis. Upon signing the Letter of Intent

in 1981, Amurol increased the royalty rate

$Ha

on BUCKAROO CHEW to 2%4% and started paying

BIG LEAGUE CHEW royalties monthly instead

of quarterly.

In June of 1982, approximately ten

months after the signing of the Letter of

Intent, an agreement was signed by the

parties (the "1981 Agreement"). Between

the signing of the Letter of Intent and

execution of the 198] Agreement, the

parties continued to discuss whether

certain terms would be included in the

final agreement, but the 1981 Agreement as

executed embodied all the elements set

forth in the letter of intent. Bouton

direct, Tr. 114.

Bouton retained the right to approve all

advertising, and that he would have to give

prior written approval of advertising.

Bouton now claims that he understood he

could receive a 5% royalty payment in

b--

r

-)

either of the aforesaid two ways. Th

interpretation was based on the interact

Of paragraphs 4, 5 and 16(a) of the

Agreement. Paragraph 4 provided that

Amurol would pay JBC a royalty rate on a

Sliding scale of 2% on the first

million in sales, 34% on the next §

million, 5% on all sales over $40 million

and 5 during the option period. This was

the same sliding scale that was agreed t

in the Letter of Intent. Paragraph :!

—

provided that Amurol was not obligated tc

advertise, and to the extent that Amuro] :

“does not spend the following amounts

advertising, it shall remit the difference

between its actual expenditure and the |

first $20 million in sales 2%, on the

second $20 million in sales 1%. Paragraph

l16(a) provided that

all artwork, copy, packaging,

literary text, advertisements

and advertising materials,

including the quality and style

thereof, shall be subject to the

s5a

prior written approval of JBC;

provided, however, that such

materials shall be deemed

approved if JBC does not notify

the Company in writing to the

contrary within seven (7) days

after receipt.

PTX 66. Once again, as with the Letter of

Intent, there was no indication in the

contract that Bouton could refuse to

approve advertising for no reason, and

thereby gain a full 5% royalty, nor did

Bouton ever express to anyone at Amurol

that that was his view of the 1981

Agreement.’

Paragraph 29 of the 1981 Agreement

provides in its entirety:

The terms of this Agreement

cannot be waived or modified

: An earlier draft of the 1981

Agreement provided that "all artwork, copy,

packaging, literary text, advertisements

and advertising materials, including the

quality and style thereof, shall at all

stages of production be subject to prior

written approval of JBC, which approval

shall not be unreasonably withheld." PTX

54a, §917(a) (emphasis in original). This

language was not included in the 1981

Agreement as it was finally executed.

39a

except by an agreement in

writing. There are no

representations, warranties or

covenants other than those set

forth in this Agreement which

sets forth the entire

understanding between the

parties.

\

This paragraph does not explicitly requir

Ke

that any subsequent writing be formally

executed or signed by both sides It

requires only that any modification be in

writing.

The new agreement between the parties

also contemplated the introduction of a

candy product under the IG LEAGUE

bes

trademark, identified as BIG LEAGUE PLUG.

Atwater and Bouton agreed informally in a

telephone conversation that the time by

which Amurol had to introduce the BIG

LEAGUE PLUG would be extended. That

agreement was memorialized and confirmed in

a handwritten letter dated September 20,

1982, PTX 70, which Atwater marked "attach

to our contract." Both parties’ then

mn

ee ________________.,

|

|

|

40a

operated on the basis of the letter,

although it was never formally executed by

both parties aS an amendment to the

contract. The parties also agreed

informally to extend the BUCKAROO CHEW

trademark agreement, and confirmed that

understanding by a telex. Bouton direct,

Tr. 219-20; Neal direct, Tr. 780-81, 788,

790; PTX 122.

ADVERTISING AND PROMOTIONS

At the outset of the relationship,

Bouton wanted advertising to promote the

brand. Atwater, however, was reluctant to

advertise because Amurol was 160,000 cases

behind in deliveries, and could not keep up

with the orders coming in. Until such time

as Amurol could keep current with orders,

Atwater thought advertising ill-advised.

Once the back orders were processed,

however, Atwater felt that advertising

would be a good idea, and the parties

agreed to advertise. Hence, the parties

tla

included provisions relating

in the Letter of Intent and in the 19:

Agreement.

The course of dealings between th

parties became strained, ho

wever, becaus

Of Amurol's continual failure to consvy]

with Bouton, much less gain

approval,

Campaign until

advertising

expenditures had been made.

was consulted, Bouton felt c

before embark]

er - >

his consent o

By the time h

ompelled to g

along with the advertisements because o

the considerable sums of

expended.

Bouton was

~

the product. He wanted to

Sports image and felt tha

would

consistent image were built

to convey that image consistently,

wanted to be involved in

process of advertising,

benefit in the lon

S

~rT =" saa ae ee’

ole Yecy a 24ChnoO

+ +h o > Doin +

< it if A 4U0U

r 2 rrr 2 y

s | » whi A ~ + ‘

the > roa a

“ph in Oraer

the creative

and the 198

Agreement gave him that right.

Amurol used the advertising agency of

Needham, Harper & Steers ("NH&S") for its

advertising, as did its parent company,

Wrigley. In 1981, NH&S developed and

Bouton approved a commercial entitled "The

Coach." This commercial was rejected by the

networks, however, because it portrayed an

authority figure telling children what to

do. Accordingly, the commercial never

aired. NH&S then developed the "Mad

Professor" commercial, featuring a mad

scientist concocting shredded bubble gum in

a pouch in his basement. Bouton objected

to Atwater that the commercial was

juvenile, and that it did not properly

reflect the image of the product that

Bouton wished to convey. Bouton approved

use of the commercial, but conditioned his

approval on the running of modified and

better commercials the following year.

NH&S then developed another

mmercial, “You're in the Big Leagues.

Bouton did not like this commercial, and

made his objections known to Amurol and

NH&S. He objected that the commercial

could be used to promote any product, and

that it appeared to be prepared by someone

-

who Knew nothing about-~ sports.

commercial was first shown to Bouton after

the initial creative process and after the

storyboard had been completed. Because of

“the sizable expenditure of time and money

already incurred, Bouton approved the

oh PT °

rou Te Adi

mmercial, and Amurol aired the

the Big Leagues" commercial in 1982.

Bouton then went to another

advertising agency, Della Femina, Travisano

& Partners, Inc. ("Della Femina") to try to

provide Amurol with new ideas. Bouton went

to the Della Femina agency on his own, but

Amurol paid half the fee for consulting

that agency, even though Amurol was not

obligated to do so, and there was no

sal

>

»

+ had

-

-

7

r+

ra

-

‘ -

>

>

»4

. >

i)

M

In the Fall of 1983, Amurol requested

Bouton's approval of a promotion called the

Baseball Bonanza Instant Winner ("Basebal]

Bonanza"). The promotion featured a game

card in each pouch of chewing gun. Each

card had bases on it, and by scratching the

covering off_the bases, the buyer would see

if he or she/had won a prize. Atwater

cross, Tr. 585. Bouton's creative input

was not sought during the developmental and

conceptual stages of the project. By

letter dated February 1, 1984, PTX 82,

Amurol sent Bouton the storyboard for the

Baseball Bonanza commercial. Atwater and

Amurol considered this to be a new

commercial, but the storyboard was

basically the "You're in the Big Leagues"

Storyboard with inserts focusing on the

Baseball Bonanza. Amurol had announced the

Baseball Bonanza Promotion and commercial

rt

© its brokers before Bouton had been

consulted for his approval of the

> 2 ce } | r

(ne Basebal ] Bonanza idve) eme

NH& nad mmitted to the Durcnass I

time for the Baseball Bonanza e7

Bouton refused, nowever, t

nsent I rF about Februar é t

\ . _ > > ° Ar LJ . > >

, 4d 4AzAd et | svi x > .

T WwW a. r : Kade : , ig wr ¢ ’ » :

Atwate then went t tne rat

ré tlor ? wl lesaier fe t

nvent} = A iheirn : ‘ = .

whi ‘ there, poke > B if m hy a er?

r Fr apout February 22, IB4 After

7 a rT rhs Ine > " : <a =7 ‘ ’

iTONn WwW -S2 Freiinquish all appr t

ver advertising and promotior ret

I r a it, 1% r “ liad ré | I

rOYaity payment n tne sale I

HEW In addition, Atwater, igreed t

“Bes , ; r + nt, ’ ‘ : Het

reaqagea

ead the

twatei |

—? ~- PF

s > | |

elephone

ecretary

wv c -~ A

SitScaAaGe eas

he agreem

ecretary

. blen W

‘ T >|

é ¢ Ved 3

+ . 4

« - as

I the

_ "> |

»/ 4 AXA

"YN « >

L ili. \

- | +

reed L

+ —™

L e I illm

* 7 + -

2

Atwater

+ eo +b

2 AmMUI

~ + + ho.

ny tiey

~ + + -¢

cil «.

tn tne

Ss agreement reached wit

telepnone,

At that

;

Lorat nojwwency

UNnageTSlalNalild.

ion

=

c

qave Atwat

Baseball

The m<

ry

—

a8

{2

ri

V

se)

W—)

ou

bud

Sond

> ena

= * hia

~ a ~ a3 +

L,exes , but

gram

headquarters

Silberman c

reached.

ma ; cy hee

sic ~~ - A .

“AMY y

, an | OMpal «

ton ross,

506-08. I

al approvai

sommerciad

7 ~ > 7 A ty? ~- ay

senve Dy AtTWale!l

pecausé

This is the text we talked about.

Will be in touch with Gilson to draw

up final papers next week.

If Amurol Products Company elects to

continue advertising, it will create

and run advertising for BIG LEAGUE

CHEW with a masculine sports theme

featuring the brand in a quote macho

unquote image.

If promotional advertising is run, it

will make every attempt to feature the

brand in the same image.

Any promotions to the consumer will

continue to feature prizes which are

sports-oriented and in keeping with

the image of the brand.

Amurol, in consideration of Jim Bouton

Corporation relinquishing all approval

of advertising and promotions, will,

during the life of the contract,

refrain from introducing another quote

shredded unquote bubble gum which

would compete with BIG LEAGUE CHEW.

POPEYE and BUCKAROO CHEW, already on

the market can continue to be produced

and sold.

Pin Ses

Atwater testified that he and Bouton

had an understanding at that point. The

following colloquy between plaintiff's

counsel and Atwater clearly demonstrates

that Atwater and Bouton had reached an

ro

waS 1tC your understanding that

+h + ,- ~. — + ~ } : L .F +? har

this was do you think you had

= ) 7 +- . Ac c

a mutual understanding as t

, - ~ .

what that clause meant,

noncompete?

te + snmnbL } 1 y

res. I CNINnkK we lad al

WY, + - P

understanding, yes.

Ar ~ ; £- -

And so it would be fair to state

— c7m} A 177 »

tnat Mr. Bouton, as you had you:

_ a. ; . » ; 1™

giscussions in Anahnein, Mr

Bouton understood that he would

cy & ~ > - ++ _ i.

et a 5 percent royalty in the

future?

» ’ .- yr —- ma OKN +

ATI aqgqaitional P < pe! e

WNIiCNnN was proposed Yt [ Mm, y é

Whict wOUuld be a tot f

pe @ on?

SS «

a —_— » — — . "77%11 4 ,

And, in turn, you would not

~ Tr . ~ = - -

compete in the future, is that

correct?

res.

le a + 7. > 7 : ~ '*Feathhalata

And aqgqagitionally, Mr. Bouton

would agree to relinquish his

~ a + _ + : oY UF -

approval rights Over

-ommercials?

[SS «

x x *

7 , ~~ ip uF , 5 +

- « + I am only asking ou if

r = “4 po ++ — at oto te i

you and Mr. Bouton, on or about

i = H+ , ,

the date that you sent your

telex or telegram, Feb:

understood each othe;

=e © | 4

points?

A: Yes. we had

understanding. Yes.

Atwater direct, Tr. 507-09. Despi

Cestimony, Atwater later Said that

petween them as to this modif

be ! agreement until the lawyers f

“GES read and commented on and dre,

igreement ina The partie lgne

Atwater ross, eo 595-9 Atw

> c+ mar —~ : all ao ie a a - 7 o > » _,

LOCSCIMO y O L iS POINT was U 4 i Tie

-Ontradicted his earlier testimony t

anG Bouton had reached an understa

4 ae as) & Atwater's testim ny r

r t Ic a7icc Ingqercii- r 4 2

ii en wap At wD Mii a WU L / y sia A

tnat he thought the telex Was a suffi

Pasis for him tc Produce the Ba

Bonanza commercial, without f

lrm belief that there was no cc

Jt

to

approval from JBC. Atwater cross, iy ae

It is not disputed that Atwater had

authority to bind Amurol. See Atwater

redirect, Tr. 676-77.

Bouton testified that he understood

that the parties were bound from the moment

they reached an agreement. Bouton stated

that the document was to be given to the

lawyers not for their review, but only to

put the terms into more formal languace.

I find Bouton's testimony to have been

credible on this point. He answered

straightforwardly when asked about the

lawyers' roles in drafting the final

agreement, and his answers are consistent

with his statement that he and Atwater had

reached an agreement.

In effect, Atwater knew that he "had

a gun to his head" Atwater direct, Tr. 492,

and needed Bouton's approval to run the

Baseball Bonanza advertisement. To get

what he needed, he agreed to give Bouton

the full 5% royalty and also agreed not to

introduce a competing "shredded gum in a

pouch" product. Bouton, however, insisted

on having something in writing. Bouton

Girect, Tr. 181, 184. The parties did

discuss having the agreement drawn up by

lawyers, but did not contemplate that

lawyers would review the terms of the

agreement. Bouton Direct, Tr.

By letter dated February 28, 1984,

Bouton's counsel confirmed that he no

longer objected to the "Baseball Bonanza"

commercial and authorized Amurol to use the

commercial "based on the understandings as

to modification of the Agreement which is

to be reduced to writing in due course."

DTX-DDD. The February 28 letter spelled

out in further detail the February 22, 1984

modification. Specifically, the letter

stated that Bouton relinquished all

approval of advertising for BIG LEAGUE CHEW

and BIG LEAGUE PLUG; that royalties would

Sta

be paid at the rate of 5% from January 1,

1984 to the end of the Agreement; that

relinquishment of approval over advertising

and promotion did not include

relinquishment of the right to approve

package graphics.

At that time or shortly thereafter,

Silberman requested that Amurol pay Bouton

at the increased royalty rate of 5%.

Atwater thereupon directed Amurol's

accounting department to pay Bouton a

royalty of 5% of net sales without

consulting Amurol's counsel and without

having any written document other than the

February 22 telex and Silberman's February

28 letter. Amurol paid a 5% royalty

retroactive to January 1, 1984, and

throughout the remainder of calendar year

1984. Indeed, an internal Amurol

memorandum dated February 24, 1984 to

Atwater from the BIG LEAGUE CHEW brand

manager discussed where the money for the

additional 24% royalty would come fr

The memorandum deals with the Roya]

Payment Increase to Jim Boutin S] f

Big League Chew, " rather thar t

possibiiity of any proposed increase. I

93.

Productior f the Baseball Bonar

commercial ther went forward ind t

commercial was aired starting on Apri ]

1984. fhe commercial stopped running

tne end of July 1984 or beginning of Auqu

1984. Atwater direct, Tr. 51 hort

after the commercial stopped runnin

Amurol began to press Silberman about t

draft of the final agreement. Amurol d

- uy , .7 . = Tor . . 4 }

not 1n any way inform JBC that it felt that

the 198] Agreement until after t

commercial had stopped running and it h

secured the benefit of the bargain it h

obtained from Bouton, namely, being able

run advertising for which it had alrea

blocked time.

Amurol sought and obtained Bouton's

approval for package graphics in the period

after the modification. Other promotions

were run without seeking Bouton's approval,

such as a jacket giveaway with the Atlanta

Braves, and batting glove giveaways with

the Louisville Redbirds and Texas Rangers.

Thus, as they had operated in the past,

Amurol and Bouton began performing under

the February 22, 1984 telex immediately,

without waiting for execution of a formal

document.

As reflected in their exchange of

correspondence in the week following the

February 22, 1984 telex, the parties

contemplated that the agreement would be

reduced to writing. Bouton cross, Tr. 340-

42; Atwater cross, Tr. 594-97. No letter

or other document indicated that either

party intended not to be bound until the

finalized writing was executed, and no

testimony was given to the effect that one

party said to the other that § final

execution of the agreement was required.

The parties contemplated that the final

writing would not be an entirely new

contract; rather, they expected it to be a

letter agreement, modifying certain

paragraphs of the 1981 Agreement. Gilson

J

N

LJ

direct, Tr. The first mention by

Atwater or anyone acting on behalf of

Amurol to Bouton that an agreement had not

been reached in February came after the

Baseball Bonanza commercial stopped airing

in late July or early August.

Shortly after the February 22 telex

was sent, counsel for the parties reviewed

the document. Gilson, counsel for Amurol,

had a concern about the propriety of the

no-compete clause under the antitrust laws.

Gilson expressed his concern to Silberman,

counsel to Bouton, who had the

responsibility of drafting the formal

. ss ‘ > ‘ _* ’ >

. >

‘ ‘ te. . ~

> ~-= & "; " °

.., : > ‘ : ‘ > ‘

Lal ‘ Lise -«€

> > : ’ Tate.

‘ ‘

> ’

: +» . a tat.

¥

" : ‘ > >> > >

. oS» ~« . P . \ > +

" ‘ _

¥ ~ > . ; -

: , 5 ' > > - > y » —

o~ ‘ ; . . ; ¥ .

. ‘ >> .

‘ : .

‘ ” =

: ‘ °

" > >

" >> : - ‘ > .

yf ‘ > © \w

> a oh lt ot. , ’ 7 = ’

‘ ' ‘ J ‘

" . .

> : . - .

r ‘ ‘ : a a“

*

.

> s

‘ >

" ‘ > ’

a“

‘ .

bed "

> ’ ’

- ‘ rye " te

4 , . q .

oY . ‘ ‘—

.. > = > r ¢ ‘ " "

> ™ " ; ww ‘ -- . ‘

62a

position that the February modification was

of no effect, and the 1981 Agreement then

in force required Bouton's approval. Bouton

refused to approve or disapprove the

advertising, consistent with his position

that under the February 1984 modification

he had relinquished that right.

In January of 1985, Amurol went back

to paying Bouton royalty fees at the rate

of 2:% as provided in the 1981 Agreement.

Bouton then served a notice of breach on

Amurol:

This letter is to inform you that

Jim Bouton Corporation believes that

Amurol Products Company has materially

breached the Agreement dated July 6,

1981 as amended. This material breach

relates to the failure by Amurol

Products Company to remit to the Jim

Bouton Corporation royalties in the

full amount at the rate of five

percent (5%), in accordance with the

modifications to Paragraph 4 of the

Agreement.

Pursuant to Paragraph 27 of the

Agreement, Amurol Products Company has

thirty (30) days within which to cure

its breach. After the expiration of

that time, Jim Bouton Corporation will

have no alternative but to _ seek

redress through the Courts, and

thereby obtain a declaration of its

right to obtain royalties at the rate

of five percent (5%).

PTX 145. JBC did not claim a breach as to

any other provision of the 1981 Agreement

or February modification.? JBC attempted

to work out its dispute with Amurol by

letter dated February 19, 1985, from Amster

to Amurol's counsel, and in that letter JBC

expressly elected not to seek termination

of the 1981 Agreement. DTX RRRRR.

CLAIMS OF THE PARTIES

JBC then filed this action in March

1985, when Amurol refused to pay the higher

royalty rate to which JBC claimed it was

entitled. In its original complaint, JBC

Claimed only that Amurol's failure to pay

. Bouton subsequently filed a

second notice of breach on October 26,

1987, relating to co-packing of BIG LEAGUE

CHEW with other gum products in violation

of the 1981 Agreement. PTX 165. Amurol

cured that breach within thirty days as

provided under paragraph 27 of the 1981

Agreement, and there remains no issue as to

that purported breach.

64a

the full 5% royalty rate violated the 1984

modification to the 1981 Agreement.

Defendant Amurol counterclaimed for the

additional 2% royalty that it had paid

Bouton during 1985. In 1987, however, JBC

amended its complaint to assert additional

causes of action. JBC has asserted three

causes of action against Amurol in its

amended complaint. First, JBC maintains

that the 1981 Agreement was modified by the

February 22 telex, either alone or in

conjunction with the February 28 letter

from Bouton's counsel, and that Amurol

breached the 1981 Agreement as modified.

This is essentially the same claim that

formed the basis of the original complaint.

Second, JBC alleges that, if no

modification of the 1981 Agreement is found

to have taken place, Amurol breached the

1981 Agreement because Bouton withheld

approval of advertising during and after

1985, and was therefore entitled to the

full 5% royalty payment. Third, JBC seeks

a declaratory judgment that Amurol has

anticipatorily breached the terms of the

1981 Agreement by failing to work closely

with Bouton, that such failure will

continue to foreclose Bouton from

meaningfully participating in the creation

and development of advertising, and

therefore warrants the equitable remedy of

rescission of the 1981 Agreement.

JBC has requested the _ following

relief: a determination that the 1981

Agreement was modified in February of 1984;

an award of damages to bring JBC's royalty

payments to 5% for the entire period after

January 1, 1984; an injunction barring

defendants from Manufacturing,

distributing, or selling competing shredded

bubble gum products; an accounting of

defendants' profits by reason of its sales

of competing shredded gum products; a

declaration that defendants have

anticipatorily breached the 1981 Agreement;

a declaration that plaintiff is entitled to

elect to terminate its relationship with

defendants by reason of the anticipatory

breach; and the costs of the action and

reasonable attorney's fees.

WRIGLEY AS A PROPER PARTY DEFENDANT

Bouton contends that Wrigley is a

proper party to this suit because of its

involvement with and control over Amurol.

In sum, Wrigley was mentioned during the

trial with regard to the no-compete

provision, its shipping policies, its

policies on touring manufacturing

facilities and its manufacture of gum at

one point for Amurol. More specifically,

each of these is discussed below, as

follows.

When Bouton pressed Atwater to run the

Miller Lite Beer ad parody, Atwater told

Bouton that Wrigley would not want to get

into a legal battle with the Miller Brewing

Company. Atwater direct, Tr. 496; PTX 82,

86. In the period just before the 1984

modification, Atwater contemplated that if

Amurol could not use the advertising time

it had reserved with NH&S to run the

Baseball Bonanza commercial, Amurol would

advertise another of its products or

Wrigley would take over the time and use it

to advertise Hubba Bubba bubble gun.

Atwater direct, Tr. 504.

Wrigley also came up in connection

with the no-compete provision in the

February 22, 1984 telex. Bouton testified

that Atwater said, "the Wrigley people were

very hot under the collar" about Bouton

owning the trademarks of competing brands.

Bouton direct, Tr. 223; see Atwater cross,

Tr. 617-18. Bouton also testified that

Atwater threatened that Wrigley would come

out with a competing product and let BIG

LEAGUE CHEW "fall by the wayside." Bouton

Girect, Tr. i176. Atwater stated that he

OSa

merely invoked the name of Wrigley because

he was mad. Atwater direct, Tr. 494. The

Court finds his testimony on this point to

have been entirely credible. Atwater

wanted to pressure Bouton into giving in on

the no-compete, and simply used the name

Wrigley because he thought it would have

extra weight.

Paul Rogers, now Chairman of Amurol,

was a "rotating director" of Wrigley in

1979-1980, and at the same time was a

director of Amurol. Bouton never

negotiated with Rogers. Bouton direct, Tr.

115-16. Martin Garrity is vice-president

of production for Wrigley, and was a board

member of Amurol for one year between 1980

and 1988. There is no indication that

Bouton ever negotiated with Garrity.

Atwater is the nephew of William Wrigley

and was vice-president of advertising of

Wrigley from 1974 to 1979, but was never an

officer or director of both Wrigley and

59a

Amurol simultaneously. Atwater direct, Tr.

454-55. No other persons were board

members of Amurol as well as Wrigley

officers; mor were any Wrigley board

members directors of Amurol. Atwater

cross, Ir. 481.

Wrigley and Amurol both use the same

law firm, Willian Brinks, and the same

advertising agency, NH&S. Wrigley and

Amurol have separate sales systems.

Atwater direct, Tr. 538-39. Wrigley and

Amurol also have separate manufacturing

facilities, but when Amurol had a large

backlog of orders to fill shortly after the

initial marketing of BIG LEAGUE CHEW,

Wrigley did manufacture gum, which was then

shipped to be shredded. Atwater redirect,

Tr. 658. Amurol would not let Bouton tour

the manufacturing facility when he came to

tour the Amurol offices because Wrigley and

Amurol have a policy against allowing any

non-employees into its production

70a

facilities. Atwater direct, Tr. 462.

SUBSEQUENT DEVELOPMENTS

While this action was pending, in or

about June of 1987, Amurol introduced a new

shredded gum product under the mark

GARFIELD STRIPES. That product does not

have a sports theme.

On April 18, 1988, counsel for JBC

moved to reopen the testimony and offer

additional evidence, claiming that Bouton

has recently discovered new facts relevant

and necessary to its case. The new

evidence relates to the no-compete clause

of the February modification of the 1981

Agreement. In short, Bouton states that

while attending the National Candy

Wholesalers' Association in San Antonio,

Texas, on February 27-28, 1988, he visited

the Amurol display booth and discovered

prototypes of three new shredded gum

products: KING KONG, GODZILLA and WEREWOLF

shredded bubble gum in a pouch. Affidavit

ila

of Jim Bouton, sworn to on April 15, 1988,

qq 4-5. None of these products has a

sports theme.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

THE 1984 MODIFICATION

The Second Circuit has stated that the

primary question in determining whether

parties have bound themselves prior to the

execution of a formal cena is whether

the parties intended to be so _ bound.

Reprosystem, B.V. v. SCM Corp., 727 F.2d

257, 261 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

828 (1984). As the Second Circuit phrased

the issue:

Did the parties intend not to be

bound prior to execution of a

formal contract? Or, did they

merely contemplate that their

informal agreement would be

reduced to a formal writing at

some later time?

Reprosystem, 727 F.2d at 261. The starting

point for any discussion of the law must be

the corollary general principles: (1) "if

parties do not intend to be bound by an

“ws i \ '

4 ‘

" \ 7 , |

‘ .

‘ > " ( ; | |

aT -~ . : :

> ° i

; , , ; /* ‘ ‘ ‘ .

‘ . + , ‘

r ) - . | 7

: " 7 ? t t

‘ r Yt @ t |

wt . | 1 ; |

| | ae = . ‘ ‘

a “ } , | |

>> y ry

ae . a — 7 ™ " . >> " >> . _>*

jete? } , wilt i¢ >

“ ‘

. ‘ " ° ‘

- : ; ‘ ‘ xT

‘ ‘ > ' »

‘ P /* ‘ 7

+ ‘ ™

~ : : a :

7 . > F

~

4 -~ P : —

>

‘ ‘ |

le > ™ : . 7 = > > » > > > >

‘ . 7 . . . . a ,

+ ‘ , > > , ~+ > .

: _ . . : _

" ~ . + y .

: ~ : :

e

‘ > ‘ . " bs » .

> ‘ ‘ . ;

> ‘ Z r . .

‘ + } ‘ . > > .

.4 : ‘ -~ . .

¥ ’ > : » ” ¥ > * »

-¢ ‘ ‘ P > ‘ ‘

‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ’ ‘ :

, a >> " . . ~ ~— + . - + , ’ >

‘ ‘ ‘ . ‘ ‘

* a.4i4 i wi 4

. ~ > > > > > > > :

» v . " . :

‘ ia ‘ iia i¢ CALC) i . :

y + > 7 ‘

ey} ’

e¢ ‘ "

54

e+ ‘ ~~ > } the

\ ’ > F ¥ >

’ »

i¢ \

‘ ae . mis ‘

. ee

" . P

: ‘ ; ‘ ,

" ii |} . |

t > >

; . .

: { o~

t .

é ‘

1 , + ‘

" , |

‘

‘ . . ,

. i - . '-. . , aT a

‘ } >> . 4 _

~ i 17 ¥ ,

’ A

. wT : . 5 '

‘ ‘ ‘ ‘ ;

~ ‘ ’ CW

’ >

‘ : . , i 5a: ‘ ¥

> _— ‘ é ‘ ‘ ; >

‘ ‘ : ‘ } : ‘ rare. 7

> > : ~ + v + = ' ‘ ee

, Zz, i Ps } ‘

} r , > 7 + .

" ©e&Da FA na 72 eT r | | )

; , AIT r , “ete ) > |} >

AANA FLU | © x res

that a binding modification had not been

effected. Accordingly, the first factor

weighs in favor of a finding that the

parties intended to be bound when they

reached agreement on February 22, 1984.

The second factor is whether one party

has partially performed. It is clear that

the conduct of the parties, after the

modification was allegedly reached, ls

relevant in determining whether the parties

had indeed conclusively modified the

agreement. See Farnsworth, Precontractual

Liability and Preliminary Agreements: Fair

Dealing and Failed Negotiations, 87 Colum.

L. Rev. 217, 262 (1987). The conduct of

the parties both contemporaneously with the

sending of the mailgram and after its

mailing indicates that the parties intended

to be bound by the terms of the February

22, 1984 telex. In this case, both parties

partially performed. Bouton relinquished

his right to disapprove of the Baseball

Bonanza commercial, and Amurol began paying

Bouton almost immediately at the rate of

5%. At no time did Atwater or anyone at

Amurol state that the increase in royalty

payments was merely an accommodation.

Accordingly, the second factor weighs

heavily in favor of finding that there was

a binding contract.

The third factor is whether there was

nothing left to negotiate or settle. In

this case, the differences between the

parties later emerged, but those

differences were not present when Atwater

and Bouton agreed to modify the 1981

Agreement. The Court is mindful of Judge

Pratt's cautionary words that:

The actual drafting of a written

instrument will frequently

reveal points of disagreement,

ambiguity, or omission which

must be worked out prior to

execution. Details that are

unnoticed or passed by in oral

discussion will be pinned down

when the understanding is

reduced to writing. These

considerations are not minor;

indeed, above a certain level of

investment and complexity,

requiring written contracts may

be the norm in the _ business

world rather than the exception.

R.G. Group, 751 F.2d at 75. But in this

case, the parties debated over an agreement

for several weeks before the February 22

agreement was reached. That modification

was the product of intense negotiations

between Bouton and Atwater. The parties

negotiated over language, and, when they

finally reached an agreement, they

committed that agreement to writing. The

parties reached a firm understanding, and

this is not seriously disputed. See

Atwater direct, Tr. 506-509.

The fourth factor is whether complex

business matters are involved that would

ordinarily require a writing. In this

case, the course of dealings between the

parties was to have important documents in

writing but not necessarily formally

executed by the parties. For example,

Atwater and Bouton agreed over the

telephone that Amurol would be granted an

extension of time within which to introduce

BIG LEAGUE PLUG. Bouton then confirmed

that understanding in a handwritten letter.

PTX 70. The parties informally agreed to

extend the BUCKAROO CHEW trademark

agreement, and confirmed that understanding

by a telex. Bouton direct, Tr. 219-20;

Neal direct, Tr. 780-81, 788, 790; PTX 122.

Those matters involved significant sums of

money. The amount of money at stake here

was an additional 24% royalty, or an amount

that would total approximately $200,000 per

year at the rate of net sales in 1984.

Surely that is no small amount.

Nevertheless, Amurol's counsel testified

that he expected this to be only a letter

agreement, not a completely new contract.

Gilson direct Tr. 723. That is precisely

what the parties agreed to -- an informal

agreement, in keeping with their customary

SOa

way of doing business.

Application of these four factors

reveals that the parties intended to be

bound before execution by Amurol and JBC of

a final written document.

SUFFICIENCY OF THE 1984 MODIFICATION

Section 15-301 of the General

Obligations Law of New York provides in

pertinent part:

1. A written agreement or other

written instrument which

contains a provision to _ the

effect that it cannot be changed

orally, cannot be changed by an

executory agreement unless such

executory agreement is in

writing and signed by the party

against whom enforcement of the

change is sought. or by his

agent.

N.Y. Gen. Oblig. L. §15-301 (McKinney's

1978). This provision is a Statute of

Frauds requirement, but is more specific

than the general Statute of Frauds

provision under New York Law. See § 5-701.

The purpose of the Statute of Frauds is to

guarantee that there is some evidence of

contract, and that one-party does not

Simply claim that an oral modification was

made without submitting some proof of such

a claim. In this case, it is clear beyond

cavil that there was a writing sufficient

to satisfy section 15-301. The February

22, 1984 mailgram contained the material

provisions of the agreement between Bouton

and Atwater.

The only possible question as to the

enforceability of the February 1984

modification is whether the terms of the

February 22, 1984 mailgram are sufficiently

definite and include all material terms.

The Second Circuit has recently reaffirmed

the well-settled principle that "[t]o be

enforceable an agreement must contain,

either expressly or by implication, all of

the terms deemed material by the parties."

Cinema North Corp. v. Plaza at Latham

Associates, 867 F.2d 135, 140 (2d Cir.

1989); see Enercomp, Inc. v. McCorhill

Publishing, Inc., No. 88-7323, slip op.

2649, 2669-70 (2d Cir. 1989); V'Soske v.

Barwick, 404 F.2d 495, 500 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 921 (1969).

WRIGLEY AS A PROPER PARTY

Plaintiff contends that Wrigley is a

proper party to this suit because there

exists a unity of interest between Amurol

and Wrigley and because "Wrigley dominates

and controls Amurol to such an extent that

Amurol is a mere instrumentality."

Plaintiff's Post-Trial Proposed Conclusions

of Law § 59. This contention is unfounded.

The only evidence of control that plaintiff

has adduced is that Paul Rogers has served

on the board of directors of Wrigley and on

the board of directors of Amurol and that

Martin Garrity served on the Amurol board

of directors and was vice-president of

production for Wrigley. At several times

during the negotiations, Atwater invoked

the name of Wrigley. Beyond that, however,

there was no indication that Wrigley had

any involvement in the dealings here at

issue. First, Wrigley was not a party to

any agreement with Bouton. Amurol and

Wrigley are separate corporate entities.

Even the 1984 modification, which resulted

in part because of Bouton's fear that

Wrigley would introduce a direct competitor

to BIG LEAGUE CHEW, did not’ mention

Wrigley. Bouton has failed to make a

showing sufficient to justify the

extraordinary relief of going’ behind

corporate formalities when they are

maintained in good faith. Plaintiff has

set forth the correct legal standard,

however: in order to go behind corporate

formalities, a party must show:

(1) that the parent controls and

dominates the subsidiary to such

a degree that the subsidiary is

a mere instrumentality of its

parent;

(2) that through its domination and

control of the subsidiary the

parent is perpetrating a fraud

Sta

or working an injustice... ;

and

(3) these elements’ result in an

unjust loss or injury to the

party disavowing corporate

independence, such as the

insolvency of the subsidiary.

United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum and Plastic

Workers v. Great American Industries, 479

F. Supp. 216, 242 (S.D.N.Y. 1979); see

American Protein v. AB Volvo, 844 F.2d 56,

60 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 136

(1988). As the Second Circuit has recently

noted, there is a presumption of

separateness that is entitled to

substantial weight, American Protein, F.2d

at 60, and Bouton has failed to overcome

that presumption. Accordingly, Wrigley is

not a proper party to the suit and is

hereby dismissed as a defendant.

JBC'S CLAIM FOR BREACH OF THE 1981

AGREEMENT

Bouton contends alternatively that

Amurol breached the 1981 Agreement by its

failure to obtain Bouton's approval for

commercials run in 1985, 1986 and 1987.

Amurol contends, however, that it ran a

commercial that had been approved for 1982,

and that once approval is given, such

approval cannot be withdrawn. Bouton, on

the other hand, contends that he made it

clear to Atwater that he did not approve

the running of "You're in the Big Leagues"

beyond the 1983 advertising season. Bouton

consented to Baseball Bonanza running in

1984 in reliance on what he thought was the

binding 1984 modification. Acting under

that alleged agreement, Bouton refused to

approve or disapprove advertising and

promotions. Because Amurol ran

unauthorized advertising, Bouton claims he

is entitled to an additional 2% royalty as

provided in q 5 of the 1981 Agreement.

In the event that the Court finds that

there was no modification to the 1981

Agreement, JBC claims that the 1981

Agreement was breached by Amurol. In light

Sbda

of the Court's finding that the 1981

Agreement was effectively modified in

February 1984, the Court need not reach

this issue. Nevertheless, for the sake of

completeness, the Court addresses

plaintiff's arguments. Plaintiff has

failed to show that there was a breach of

the 1981 Agreement by reason of Amurol's

failure to pay Bouton a royalty at the rate

of 5%.

JBC relies cn the interrelationship of

paragraphs 4, 5 and i6(a) of the 1981

Agreement to support its position that

Amurol breached the 1981 Agreement. JBC

contends that it had the right to refuse to

approve all advertising, for any reason or

for no reason at all, and thereby to become

entitled to a full 5% royalty. In effect,

JBC contends that because an earlier draft

of the 1981 Agreement provided that JBC

“shall not unreasonably withhold" its

approval, JBC had no obligation to deal

S7a

fairly with Amurol in this regard. Such a

contention is untenable. It is well

settled that there is implicit in every

contract a covenant of good faith and fair

dealing. See, e.g., Durham Industries v.

North River Ins. Co., 673 F.2d 37, 41 (2d

Cir.) cert. denied, 459 U.S. 827 (1982).

The mere fact that the 1981 Agreement did

not explicitly provide that Bouton could

not unreasonably withhold his approval does

not in any way mean that there was no

covenant of good faith and fair dealing in

the contract.

Furthermore, the very terms of the

contract preclude the interpretation that

Bouton seeks here to establish. Paragraph

16(a) provides that materials "shall be

deemed approved if JBC does not notify the

Company in writing to the contrary within

seven (7) days after receipt." JBC has not

notified Amurol that it disapproves of

advertising that Amurol has been running

Sta

because JBC has been operating under the

assumption that the 1981 Agreement was

effectively modified in 1984. Accordingly,

under the terms of the 1981 Agreement, JBC

is deemed to have approved the advertising

and promotions run by Amurol. JBC's claim

for relief for breach of the 1981 Agreement

must, for this reason alone, be denied.

JBC's CLAIM FOR TERMINATION

Plaintiff seeks a declaratory judgment

that Amurol has anticipatorily breached the

1981 Agreement, and that JBC is therefore

entitled to elect to terminate the 1981

Agreement. This view is unfounded in the

facts and in the law. Paragraph 27 of the

1981 Agreement provides that, in the event

of a material breach, the other party may

terminate the agreement by giving the

thirty days notice. At no time did JBC

give notice that Amurol's conduct in this

regard constituted a material breach of the

1981 Agreement. Moreover, plaintiff has

forfeited any right it might have had _°¢t

rescind the 1981 Agreement by continuing t

receive the benefits of the contract after

the events which would arguably be causs

for termination. In such a situation, the

party that chooses to accept the continue

benefits under the contract cannot the

terminate the agreement when it j

convenient. Apex Pool Equipment v. Lee,

419 F.2d 556, 562-63 (2d Cir. 1969). Ay

noted above, Bouton chose not to seek

termination of the 1981 Agreement when i

in

ct?

commenced this lawsuit. See supra p.26;

Bouton cross, Tr. 429-30; DTX RRRRR.

Furthermore, a claim for anticipatory

breach requires unambiguous repudiation o

y

+

+

the contract. Tenavision, Inc. v. Neuman,

45 N.Y¥.2d 145, 150, 408 N.Y.S.2d 36, 3

(1978); Phillips Puerto Rico Core, Inc.

Tradax Petroleum Ltd., 782 F.2d 314, 321-2

(2d Cir. 1985); Restatement (2d) °

Contracts §253; Farnsworth, Contracts

§

"a

’ YT ¢ YT rhé A JTree ert

> ‘ > >| 1TS ent + ‘ i T ¥ }

t t 1 repeatedly a erting t

- « ‘ IS ie: ’ ] er F ‘ +

} tea Tthnat T ntenad t

.O7 I t Dligatlo! Inder t

, 4

y I litTon nas testlrieda tnat

na peen more cooperatlve ince the

ncement I this ACE ON. BOUTOI

‘ + ry 288-89. There tf re : ee ever

‘

t re were ause for Bouton t terminate

the rontract such cause, by Bouton's own

ission, is not sufficiently likely t«

tne 198i Agreement

AMUROL'S COUNTERCLAIM

na counter laimea To!

tne amount Dy wnicn 1ts

Qla

rate it claims should have been paid. In

light of the Court's ruling on Bouton's

claim, it is evident that Amurol cannot

succeed on its counterclaim. There was an

effective modification to the 1981

Agreement, and Amurol has no claim to

recover money paid to Bouton as an

accommodation because Bouton was entitled

to receive that money.

Moreover, even were the Court to rule

in favor of Amurol on Bouton's claim,

Amurol has failed to prove a claim for

relief for unjust enrichment. To state a

cause of action under New York law for

unjust enrichment, a party must show: (1)

that the defendant was enriched, (2) that

such enrichment was at plaintiff's expense

and consists of property rightfully

belonging to the plaintiff, and (3) that

the circumstances require, in equity and

good conscience, that the money be returned

to the plaintiff. Bank of Castle v.

Salerno, 99 A.D.2d 663, 663-64, 471

N.Y¥.S.2d 924, 925 (4th Dep't 1984) ;

Spallina v. Giannoccaro, 98 A.D.2d 103,

105, 469 N.Y.S.2d 824, 826 (4th Dep't

1983); Chase Manhattan Bank v. Banque Intra

S.A., 274 F. Supp. 496, 499 (S.D.N.Y.

1967); see Reprosystem, 727 F.2d at 263.

The facts are clear that JBC was

enriched at Amurol's expense. There is no

Suggestion, however, of any unjust

enrichment of plaintiff. JBC received the

money in exchange for relinquishment of its

advertising approval rights. Amurol made

the payments in order to get out of a

difficult situation. There was never any

mention by Amurol that it was paying the 5%

royalty rate only on condition that an

acceptable final document would be

executed. Indeed, Atwater testified that

it was not until after his attorneys

informed him that he was entitled to get

back the money he paid to Bouton that he

Q3a

thought he could get the money back. At no

time did he suggest to Bouton that the

money advanced was only an accommodation.

Atwater cross, Tr. at 519-20; see Bouton

direct, 77. 285. Under these

circumstances, there is nothing unjust

about plaintiff's retaining the money paid

it by Amurol in 1984.

ATTORNEY'S FEES

JBC has also requested that the Court

grant plaintiff 30% of its attorney's fees

for two reasons. First, it claims that

Amurol's counterclaim is frivolous, and

Sanctions should be awarded for a total of

15% of plaintiff's fees. Second, plaintiff

Claims that it should be awarded an

additional 15% because of Amurol's change

of counsel that required additional

pretrial prreparation and trial examination

of Gilson and Neal. The Court had stated

at a pretrial conference that an award of

counsel fees might be appropriate if the

Y4a

substitution of counsel that resulted when

Amurol's present counsel were substituted

for Willian Brinks caused added expense to

plaintiff. The Court also notes that

Defendants have reserved their right to

seek attorney's fees for the amendment to

the complaint to add plaintiff's second and

third claims for relief. Consistent with

the Court's comments before trial, the

Court will not preclude either party from

making a formal motion for attorney's fees.

Plaintiff's informal application is denied

on the current record.

CONCLUSION

The parties reached an agreement, in

writing, to modify the 1981 Agreement.

Amurol now refuses to abide by that

modification. This it cannot do.

Accordingly, it is hereby ordered that

judgment be entered for the plaintiff on

its first claim for relief that Amurol has

breached the 1981 Agreement as modified by

failing to pay JBC the full 5% royalty to

which it is entitled under the 1984

modification. Plaintiff shall be entitled

to an accounting of the royalties payable

from January 1, 1985 to the beginning of

the option period, and shall _ receive

damages amounting to the difference between

5% and the royalty actually received for

that period. Amurol shall be enjoined from

producing, selling or distributing any

"shredded" gum in a pouch. Amurol shall

make an accounting to JBC of all profits

earned aS a result of the sales of

competing "shredded" gum in a pouch other

than POPEYE and BUCKAROO CHEW and pay to

JBC a royalty of 5% on those sales. In

light of this ruling, it is unnecessary to

reopen the proceedings to accept further

testimony, as requested by Bouton, and

plaintiff's motion to reopen the trial

testimony is denied on this basis.

Wrigley is hereby dismissed as_ an

Qoha

improper defendant. Judgment shall be

entered for defendant on plaintiff's second

and third claims for relief. Judgment

shall be entered for plaintiff on defendant

Amurol's counterclain. Plaintiff's

application for attorney's fees is denied

on the current record.

Plaintiff 1s hereby ordered to submit

a judgment on or before July 28, 1989.

SO ORDERED

Dated: New York, New York

July 7, 1989

Peter K. Leisure

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.