Appendix — Cassidy v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, 111 S. Ct. 48 (1990) (No. 89-1734)

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

LED

MAY 7 tegp

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

CLERK

Petition For

Writ of

Certiorari

The United

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPELLANT-—PETITIONER APPENDIX

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Opinion: In Re Cassidy, 892 F.2d

637 (7th Cir. 1990) Filed:

January 4, 1990 ceecescceeveeeel

Judgment and Opinion: U.S.

District Court

Central District of Illinois

T.V. Cassidy v. CIR, Number 88-

1108 Entered and Filed: December

20, 1988 PTEETEUCEETLELTLTLTY SS 27

Order and Decision: United

States Tax Court, T.V. Cassidy

v. CIR, Number 18125-80 Entered:

April 4, |, errr errr »

Opinion: T.V. Cassidy v. CIR,

814 F.2d 477 (7th Cir. 1987)

Filed: March 18, 1987 .......84

Order U.S. 7th Court of Appeals

Dated: February 5, 1990

Denying Appellant-Petitioner's

FRAP 40 and 7th Circuit Rule 40

Petition for Rehearing

cwawenedeeeseee es beeebeveseo ter

Appellant's Brief, In Re

Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (7th Cir.

1990) [No. 89-1121].........109

Appendix Table of Contents Page 1

10.

11.

12.

Appendix to Appellant's Brief,

In Re Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (7th

Cir. 1990) [No. 89-1121]

Dee eeeebeeeeeseecocescoesveosonee tt

Supplemental Appendix to

Appellant's Brief, In Re

Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (7th Cir.

1990) Ho. B9=1121 J oc oe c00 00198

Order of March 30, 1989, 7th

Cir. allowing Supplemental

Appendix to Appellant's Brief,

In Re Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (7th

Cir. 1990) [No. 89-1121]

ee cccccccccccccccccccccccesealO

Appellant's supplemental

citations of 9/20/89, In Re

Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637

(7th Cir. 1990) [No. 89-1121]

[eee eee ho eee eeecesecoececootta

Appellant's supplemental

citations of 12/08/89, In Re

Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637

(7th Cir. 1990) [No. 89-1121]

err ee ce Trea TTe Tere Sk

Appellee's Brief, In Re Cassidy,

892 F.2d 637 (7th Cir. 1990)

[No. 89-1121]

Pages 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13,

oo Se Se? anaes 7”

Appendix Table of Contents Page 2

13.

14.

15.

Appellee's supplemental citation

of 11/27/89, In Re Cassidy, 892

F.2d 637 (7th Cir. 1990) [No.

89-1121] citing: In Re Burns,

887 F.2d 1514 (11th Cir. 1989)

Opinion filed: November 13, 1989

YTTITITTITIC CV TTT TTT.

Appellant's Reply Brief, In Re

Cassidy, 892 F.2d 637 (7th Cir.)

[No. ent 124 tosecteadeceasuouee

Appellant's FRAP 40 and 7th

Circuit Rule 40 Petition for

Rehearing, In Re Cassidy, 892

F.2d 637 (7th Cir. 1990) [No.

OP 11 Fi deo ccccsccccestineseseanll!

Appendix Table of Contents Page 3

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 89-1121

IN THE MATTER OF:

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, Debtor-

Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Central District of

Illinois, Peoria Division.

No. 88 C 1108-Michael M. Mihm, Judge

ARGUED OCTOBER 3, 1989 -

DECIDED JANUARY 4, 1990

Before Flaum, Manion and Kanne, Circuit

Judges.

FLAUM, Circuit Judge. The Commissioner

of Internal Revenue charged that

attorney Thomas V. Cassidy had filed

fraudulent tax returns for the years

1974 and 1975. A notice of deficiency

was sent in June 1980. Cassidy

challenged the deficiencies in the

United States Tax Court, but before the

case came to trial a bankruptcy

petition was filed against Cassidy in

the Central District of Illinois. The

Tax Court proceedings were

automatically stayed. 11 U.S.C.

Section 362(a). Cassidy was discharged

from all dischargeable debts on March

13, 1984. 11 U.S.C. Section 727. The

bankruptcy court issued an order on

April 13 lifting the stay to allow the

Tax Court proceeding to go forward. 11

U.S.C. Section 362(d).

Cassidy was uncooperative in the Tax

Court proceeding. He refused to

respond to discovery requests, failed

to meet deadlines, and generally

delayed the proceedings. When the

Commissioner sent a Request to Admit

under Tax Court Rule 90 (equivalent of

Fed. R. Civ P. 36), Cassidy did not

respond within thirty days as required

by the Rule. The matters asserted in

the Request were therefore deemed

admitted. Among the facts admitted by

Cassidy's silence was the following:

"Petitioner [Cassidy] fraudulently and

with intent to evade taxes omitted from

his income tax returns for the taxable

years ended August 31, 1974 and August

31, 1975, a substantial portion of his

gross income." Cassidy v.

Commissioner, 51 T.C.M. (CCH) 784 791

(1986). Although Cassidy did not

respond to the Request to Admit, he did

file a motion for dismissal or summary

sehr

judgment based on his bankruptcy

discharge.

The Tax Court denied Cassidy's

motion, stating:

We summarily denied petitioner's

motion because petitioner's

contention is on its face

inconsistent with the explanatory

memorandum attached to petitioner's

Discharge of Debtor order and the

April 13, 1984 order issued by the

same bankruptcy judge lifting the

automatic stay to permit this case to

go forward in the Tax Court.

Moreover, the redetermination of an

income tax deficiency has "nothing to

do with collection of the tax nor any

similarity to an action for

collection of a debt * * *." Swanson

v. Commissioner, 65 T.C. 1180, 1184

(1976). Accordingly, if there is any

question as to the collectability of

any income tax deficiencies, which we

doubt, that question is beyond the

jurisdiction of this Court. Graham

v. Commissioner, 75 T.C. 389, 399

(1980).

Cassidy v. Commissioner, 51 T.C.M.

(CCH) at 786 n.3.

At trial in the Tax Court, Cassidy

tried to avoid the consequences of his

failure to respond to the Request to

Admit by claiming that he had not

received the Request until less than 30

days before the case was called for

trial and that the facts should

therefore not be deemed admitted. The

Tax Court held an evidentiary hearing

on that claim, and found that Cassidy

"fabricated [his] testimony in an

effort to avoid the consequences of

[his] continued deliberate disregard

for his responsibilities in connection

with the case." 51 T.C.M. at 789. The

facts involved were deemed admitted

under Rule 90(c).

On the strength of those facts

considered admitted, the Tax Court held

that there was a deficiency as stated

by the Commissioner, and that the tax

returns were fraudulent, occasioning

"additions to tax" under 26 U.S.C.

Section 6653(b) as a penalty.

Cassidy appealed to this Court. He

challenged the Tax Court's ruling

concerning the Request to Admit and

also argued that the entire debt was

discharged in bankruptcy. In Cassidy

v. Commissioner, 814 F.2d 477 (7th Cir.

1987) (Cassidy I), we affirmed the

judgment of the Tax Court and ruled as

follows (1) the tax debt was not

dischargeable in bankruptcy; (2) the

fraud penalties connected with the

taxes were not dischargeable; (3) the

finding that Cassidy had over 30 days

to answer the Request to Admit was not

clearly erroneous; and (4) the facts

deemed admitted supported the penalty

for fraud.

Cassidy then returned to the

bankruptcy court with a Complaint to

Determine Dischargeability under

Bankruptcy Rule 4007. In response to

the Commissioner's argument that the

Seventh Circuit had already dealt with

the question, Cassidy contended that

the Tax Court had no jurisdiction to

consider dischargeability, and

therefore the Seventh Circuit's

comments were pure dicta with no

preclusive effect. The bankruptcy

judge granted the Commissioner's motion

to dismiss on the res judicata effect

of Cassidy I, stating that he would not

second-guess the Court of Appeals.

On appeal to the district court,

Cassidy advanced the same arguments.

He was partially successful; instead of

holding that Cassidy was barred by this

court's view of dischargeability under

res judicata, the district court held

that Cassidy was barred under

collateral estoppel by the Tax Court's

factual finding of fraud, which

dictated a finding of

nondischargeability under 11 U.S.C.

Section 523(a)(1)(C).

In this Court, Cassidy raises the

same contentions. He also argues that

aie Licey! an

11

“| Ys rs

pie: >

ave ie

SUT ea

arene wees is Tay ’

Devt Rte ee, Jap ©

ope Mee el aghed eo

— er ° th

‘ame s

‘ a ape aon

this Court erred in holding that the

penalty portion of the debt was

nondischargeable in Cassidy I.

DISCUSSION

The district court took what appears

to be the most reasonable approach to

the resolution of this case: the court

can rely on the factual finding of the

Tax Court that Cassidy acted

fraudulently when he filed his returns,

which collaterally estops any contrary

contentions. That finding supports the

conclusion that the debt was not

dischargeable under 11 U.S.C. Section

523(a)(1)(C). This makes sense except

for one matter not addressed by the

parties or the district court: Tax

Court Rule 90(f) states that

[a]ny admission made by a party under

this Rule is for the purpose of the

pending action only and is not an

admission by him for any other

purpose, nor may it be used against

him in any other proceeding.

According to the rule, the admissions

from the Tax Court proceeding cannot be

used in the bankruptcy proceeding. It

follows that the judgment of the Tax

Court on that factual issue, which is

based solely on the admissions, cannot

be a bar in this later proceeding.|

If this action is barred by the

earlier litigation, it must be on the

strength of this Court's opinion in

Cassidy I. But for a ruling to have a

preclusive effect, it must be necessary

to the decision. See Rheinberger v.

Security Life Ins. Co. of America, 146

F.2d 680 (7th Cir. 1944); Koshatka v.

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc., 762 F.2d

10

329, 337 (3d Cir. 1985); Anthan v.

Professional Air Traffic Controllers

Org., 672 F.2d 706, 710 (8th Cir.

1982). United States v. Crawley, 837

F.2d 291 (7th Cir. 1988), defines dicta

as that portion of an opinion not

entitled to the full weight usually

given judicial decisions, including any

portion not necessary to the outcome of

the case. The portion of Cassidy I

which concerned the dischargeability of

the debt was, unfortunately, dicta.

The Court of Appeals exists to review

judgments, and consideration of issues

outside the scope of the judgment below

must necessarily be dicta, as they

cannot possibly be grounds either for

approval or disapproval of the lower

court's judgment. The Tax Court had no

jurisdiction to consider whether

11

Cassidy's tax debt was dischargeable in

bankruptcy. Graham v. CIR, 75 T.C. 389.

(1980). Bankruptcy cannot therefore

have been grounds for either affirmance

or reversal of the Tax Court's order

and the Cassidy I court's discussion of

it cannot have been necessary to its

decision. It follows, then, that

collateral estoppel and res judicata

are technically inapplicable to this

case.

Nevertheless, we hold that Cassidy is

barred from relitigating the

dischargeability of his tax debts.

When he appeared before this Court in

Cassidy I, he successfully argued that

this court should address the

dischargeability question. Now that he

is unhappy with the final result, he

has shifted his ground and argues that

12

the Cassidy I court should have ignored

his plea to consider dischargeability.

Judicial estoppel is a doctrine

intended to prevent the perversion of

the judicial process. Edwards v. Aetna

Life Ins. Co., 690 F.2d 595, 599 (6th

Cir. 1982). It is to be applied where

"intentional self-contradiction is

being used as a means of obtaining

unfair advantage in a forum designed

for suitors seeking justice," Scarano

v. Central R. Co., 203 F.2d 510, 513

(3d Cir. 1953), to prevent litigants

from "playing fast and loose with the

courts." Id. "Where a party assumes a

certain position in a legal proceeding,

and succeeds in maintaining that

position, he may not thereafter, simply

because his interests have changed,

assume a contrary position." Davis v.

13

Wakelee, 156 U.S. 680, 689, (1895).

The doctrine of estoppel is intended to

protect the courts rather than the

litigants,2 so it follows that a court,

even an appellate court, may raise the

estoppel on its own motion in an

appropriate case. Allen v. Zurich Ins.

Co., 667 F.2d 1162, 1168 n.5 (4th Cir.

1982).

"The circumstances under which

judicial estoppel may appropriately be

invoked are probably not reducible o

any formulation of principle," Allen

667 F.2d at 1166, but may be used where

collateral estoppel and equitable

estoppel fail to protect the interests

the rule is intended to serve. Id.

Although this court has never applied

the doctrine, we have identified

certain limitations on its application.

14

In Himel v. Continental Ill. Nat'l

Bank, 596 F.2d 205, 210-11 (7th Cir.

1979), we held that the estoppel may be

applied only where a clearly

inconsistent position is taken. In

that case we held that the plaintiff's

position in a 1961 lawsuit asking that

a trust instrument be modified to allow

the trustee more flexibility in

investing the trust corpus was not

clearly inconsistent with its position

in a 1972 lawsuit charging the trustee

with mismanagement of the trust.

Another limitation was identified in

Eagle Foundation v. Dole, 813 F.2d 798,

810 (7th Cir. 1987), where we required

that the party to be estopped have

convinced the court to accept its

position in the earlier litigation. A

15

party is not bound to a position it

unsuccessfully maintained.

In the present case, both of these

conditions are satisfied. Cassidy

unequivocally urged the Cassidy I court

to consider the defense of discharge.

His present position is that it was

error for the court to give him what he

then wanted. Even though Cassidy did

not prevail on the anneal as a whole,

he did prevail on the subsidiary

question of what issues were to be

decided by the court. See Edwards v.

Aetna Life Ins; Co., 690 F.2d 595, 599

n.5 (5th Cir. 1982) (party need not

finally prevail to be estopped from

changing a successful position on a

preliminary matter). Cassidy's

maneuverings were clearly intended to

delay the inevitable day of reckoning,

16

a

and in maneuvering he is trying to

whipsaw this court. That is exactly

the evil that the doctrine of judicial

estoppel was meant to avoid.

It has been said that judicial

estoppel applies only to positions on

questions of fact. See e.g. United

States . Siegel, 472 F. Supp. 440, 442

n.-4 (N.D. Ill. 1979); Comment,

Precluding Inconsistent Statements: The

Doctrine of Judicial Estoppel, 80 NW.

U.L. Rev. 1244, 1262 (1986). We

disagree. We note first that it may be

advisable not to prescribe too many

rules for the application of a doctrine

designed to protect the integrity of

the courts. See Allen, 667 F.2d at

1166 (doctrine probably not reducible

to a formula). This is true for the

same reasons that the courts are

17

cautious in attempting to exactly

define fraud--the fear that

unscrupulous persons may use strictures

on use of the doctrine to subvert the

purposes of the rule. We also observe

a trend away from strict limitation of

the doctrine to positions on matters of

fact. In Pariot Cinemas, Inc. v.

General Cinema Corp., 834 F.2d 208, 214

(1st Cir. 1987), the court noticed and

continued a practice of holding parties

to their representations that they

would not pursue a legal claim. The

court said, "On reflection,

representations such as were made here,

that a party will abandon a clain,

present a stronger argument than do the

classic cases for application of the

doctrine." (emphasis on original).

Similarly, in this case we think that

18

the change of position on the legal

question is every bit as harmful to the

administration of justice as a change

on an issue of fact. See also United

States v. Starrett City Associates, 605

F. Supp. 262, 264 (E.D.N.Y. 1985)

(doctrine applies to assertions of law

or fact).

We emphasize that it is not the court

that is bound by Cassidy's actions, but

only Cassidy himself. Estoppel does

not eliminate a claim or defense, but

only prohibits a particular party from

asserting it. Estoppel is an equitable

concept, and its application is

therefore within the court's sound

discretion. See Motorola, Inc. v. CBS,

Inc., 672 F. Supp. 1033 (N.D. Ill.

1986). It should not be used where it

would work an injustice, such as where

19

the former position was the product of

inadvertence or mistake, Hamilton v.

Zimmerman, 37 Tenn. (5 Sneed) 39, 48

(1857); Johnson Serv. Co. v.

TransAmerica Ins. Co., 485 F.2d 164,

175 (5th Cir. 1973) ("the rule looks

toward cold manipulation and not an

unthinking or confused blunder"); or

where there is only an appearance of

inconsistency between the two positions

but both may be reconciled. Illinois

Dept. of Trans. v. Coe, 112 Ill. App.

3d 506, 445 N.E.2d 506 (1983). In this

case, we would work an injustice were

we to fail to estop Cassidy. Cassidy

has been delaying matters in the courts

over his 1974 and 1975 tax liability

since 1980. He has consistently acted

to delay the proceedings and to

obstruct the final resolution of his

20

liability. He has found it expedient

to change a position which he

successfully maintained in this court,

but this court is under no obligation,

either legal or moral, to allow itself

to be used in this manner. The parties

in Cassidy I fully briefed and argued

the issue of dischargeability, and the

court gave it full consideration. It

would be unjust to require the

Commissioner to relitigate a question

that was originally raised by Cassidy

himself, or to allow Cassidy a second

full-scale adjudication of an issue

that the court has already resolved

against hin.

AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit

21

Footnotes to Previous Document

IThe case law on the question of whether a

judgment based on an admission, as opposed to

the admission itself, can be used in a later

proceeding is relatively sparse. On

consideration of the question, we hold that a

judgment based solely on admissions made under

Tax Court Rule 90 (or Fed. R. Civ. P. 36)

cannot be used to estop relitigation of a

factual question in a later proceeding.

None of the cases under Tax Court Rule 90(f)

or Fed. R. Civ. P. 36(b) consider this issue

directly. One could analogize deemed

admissions to a default judgment on an issue

of fact, but default judgments do not have

collateral estoppel effect. Matter of

Gottheiner, 703 F.2d 1136, 1140 (9th Cir.

1983); 1B Moore's Federal Practice, Paragraph

0.444[2]; but see Matter of Wilson, 72 B.R.

956 (Bkr. M.D. Fla. 1987) (Default judgment in

creditor's securities fraud suit collaterally

estopped debtor from denying fraud in action

to exempt debt from bankruptcy discharge).

One could consider a Rule 90 admission a

special type of stipulation, but judgments

based on stipulated facts have no collateral

estoppel effect as to the matters stipulated,

especially stipulations in tax cases. United

States v. International Building Co., 345 U.S.

502, 506 (1953), Moore's Federal Practice

Paragraph 0.444[4].

22

1 eontinued

One might also analogize to a consent

judgment on the factual issue. In Klingman v.

Levinson, 831 F.2d 1292 (7th Cir. 1987), a

consent judgment in a state court suit

admitting fraud estopped the debtor from

contesting the factual underpinnings of a

later bankruptcy action to exempt the debt

from discharge. The consent decree from the

state case specifically recited that "in any

subsequent proceeding all of the allegations

of the Complaint and findings of this Court

may be taken as true and correct without

further proof." This court held that the

“actually litigated" requirement for

collateral estoppel would not bar use of the

consent decree where the parties obvicusly

contemplated such use. In the present case,

it is arguable that Cassidy had to know that a

decision on dischargeability would be made

sooner or later. He also knew that the

matters deemed admitted in the Tax Court were

exactly what the bankruptcy court would have

to find to hold the debt nondischargeable.

But Tax Court Rule 90(f) by its terms

precludes a determination that Cassidy should

have expected the admission to be usable in

any other forum. Absent such an expectation,

the "actually litigated" requirement for

application of the doctrine of collateral

estoppel cannot be satisfied.

In view of the policy behind the rule

authorizing admissions, which is to encourage

admissions so as to narrow the scope of the

issues for trial and simplify proof on the

remaining issues, Advisory Committee Notes to

1970 Amendment of Fed. R. Civ. P. 36, we

believe that it would be harmful to give

preclusive effect to a judgment based solely

on an admission.

2 For this reason prejudice to the opponent

from the change of position is not a necessary

element of judicial estoppel, thus contrasting

judicial estoppel from the more familiar

equitable estoppel. Konstantinidis v. Chen,

F.2d 933 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

24

United States District Court

Center District of Illinois

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Debtor, Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Defendant-Appellee.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

CASE NUMBER: 88-1108

___ dury Verdict. This action came

before the Court for a trial by jury.

The issues have been tried and the jury

has rendered its verdict.

_X Decision by Court. This action

came to trial or hearing before the

Court. The issues have been tried or

heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the

ruling of the Bankruptcy Court appéaled

25

from is hereby Affirmed, pursuant to

Order entered this date.

December 20, 1988 John M. Waters

DATE Clerk

(By) Deputy Clerk

Leonard D. Brown

26

a a———e

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

In re )

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, )

Plaintiff-Appellant, Case No. 88-1108

v. )

COMMISSIONER OF )

INTERNAL REVENUE, )

Defendant-Appellee. )

ORDER

The issue for resolution on this

bankruptcy appeal is whether or not a

judgment in prior tax court assessment

proceedings requires the application of

the doctrine of res judicata in

bankruptcy discharge proceedings. The

bankruptcy court found that the answer

to that question is "yes," and applied

the ruling of the tax court is finding

. that Appellant's tax liabilities and

27

penalties were non-dischargeable.

Appellant now appeals that ruling

pursuant to Rule 8001(a) of the

Bankruptcy Rules. While this Court

does not believe that res judicata is

the relevant preclusion doctrine in

this case, this Court finds that

collateral estoppel is relevant. In

applying the latter doctrine to the

facts of this case, this Court believes

that the decision of the bankruptcy

court must be AFFIRMED.

FACTS

On June 24, 1980, Defendant-Appellee,

Commissioner of Internal Revenue

(hereinafter referred to as

"Appellee"), sent Plaintiff-Appellant,

Thomas V. Cassidy (hereinafter referred

to as "Appellant"), a notice of

deficiency in federal income taxes for

28

ee

~

the fiscal years ending August 31, 1974

and August 31, 1975. The tax

deficiencies were in the amounts of

$12,865 and $22,028, respectively. The

Commissioner also claimed that all or

part of the underpayment was due to

fraud and, pursuant to Section 6653(b)

of the Internal Revenue Code, assessed

civil fraud penalties of $11,774 for

1974 and $11,014 for 1975. Appellant

then filed a petition with the United

States Tax Court for a redetermination

of his income tax liability.

Before the tax court proceedings came

to trial, a petition for bankruptcy

under Chapter 7, 11 U.S.C. Section 701

et seq., was filed against Appellant on

February 14, 1983. A Discharge of

Debtor order was entered by the United

States Bankruptcy Court for the Central

29

District of Illinois on March 13, 1984.

One month after discharge, the

bankruptey court entered an order

lifting the automatic stay previously

in effect so that the tax court

proceedings could continue.

In the tax court proceedings,

Appellant mailed Appellee a Request for

Admissions of Fact on June 12, 1984.

Appellant did not respond within the

requisite time period, so Appellee

moved for summary judgment based upon

the matters deemed to be admitted. The

tax court found that the deemed

admissions of fact in Appellee's

request to admit supported the

deficiencies determined by the

Appellee, and granted the Motion for

Summary Judgment.

30

Appellant appealed the tax court's

ruling to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Appellant contested the tax court's

finding of an income tax deficiency and

its imposition of fraud penalties. The

Court of Appeals affirmed the tax court

decision. Cassidy v. Commissioner of

Internal Revenue, 814 F.2d 477 (7th

Cir. 1987).

Appellant filed a Complaint to

Determine Dischargeability of Debt in

the United States Bankruptcy Court for

the Central District of Illinois on

November 17, 1987. Appellee, invoking

the doctrine of res judicata, filed a

Motion to Dismiss the Complaint on the

basis that the issue of

dischargeability had already been

determined in the tax court proceedings

31

and subsequent review by the Seventh

Circuit Court of Appeals. On February

2, 1988, the bankruptcy court entered

an order allowing the Motion to —

Dismiss. This appeal followed.

Res Judicata

In his appeal, Appellant argues that

the order of the tax court has no

preclusive effect in the bankruptcy

court discharge proceeding. Appellant

notes that, in order for the doctrine

of res judicata to apply, there must

be:

1. Identity of the thing being sued

upon;

2. Identity of the cause of action;

3. Identity of persons and parties;

and

4. Identity of the ability of a party

to sue or be sued.

32

In re Goodman, 25 Bankr. 932, 938

(Bankr. N.D. Ill. 1982). According to

Appellant, tere is no identity of the

cause of action in the bankruptcy

proceedings and the tax court

proceedings. Appellant claims that the

tax court merely assessed the

deficiencies, or established the

liability, against Appellant, while the

bankruptcy proceeding was an action to

determine whether the deficiencies or

liability assessed was dischargeable.

Appellant also claims that, because

it was Congress' intent to have the

bankruptcy court adjudicate the

dischargeability of a debt, res

judicata has no application to a

proceeding such as this,

notwithstanding the nature of the tax

court proceeding. In support of this

33

argument, Appellant cites the case of

In re Goodman, 25 Bankr. 932 (Bankr.

N.D. Ill. 1982). Goodman, in turn

relied upon the United States Supreme

Court case of Brown v. Felson, 442 U.S.

127 (1979). The Goodman court noted

that, in Brown, the Supreme Court

held that res judicata did not apply

{in discharge proceedings] and that

"the bankruptcy court is not confined

to a review of the judgment and

record in the prior state court

proceeding when considering the

dischargeability of respondent's

debt." Id. at 139-39, 99 S.Ct. at

2212-13. The court reasoned that

Congress intended for the bankruptcy

court to resolve dischargeability

issues and that by limiting the

application of res judicata , the

34

“

4

3 4a i

ieee

bankruptcy court would be able to

weigh all the evidence and accurately

determine whether the debtor did in

fact commit deceit, fraud, or

malicious conversion. Id. at 138, 99

S.Ct. at 2212.

Goodman, 25 Bankr. at 938-39.

As noted by the Goodman court, while

Brown involved Section 17 of the prior

Bankruptcy Act, Brown's rationale has

been applied to dischargeability

proceedings under Section 523 of the

Bankruptcy Code. Id., citing, In re

Dohm, 19 Bankr. 132 (Bankr. N.D. Ill.

1981); In re Spector, 22 Bankr. 226

(Bankr. N.D. N.Y. 1982); In re Supple,

14 Bankr. 898 (Bankr. D. Conn. 1981).

On the authority of Goodman and Brown,

Appellant charges that the bankruptcy

court's dismissal of his complaint to

35

Vin

ae

=

Le

mat %

a

ee

,

it

a

determine dischargeability of a debt by

application of the res judicata

principle was error.

The Court believes that Appellant's

arguments miss the mark, and finds that

the decision of the bankruptcy court

must be affirmed. Even though the

bankruptcy court did not base its

ruling on the principle of collateral

estoppel, affirmance is in order based

upon application of collateral estoppel

principles to the facts of this case.

While Appellant summarily dismisses

the application of res judicata

principies to bankruptcy

dischargeability proceedings on the

authority of Brown and Goodman, a

closer reading of those cases shows

that Brown and Goodman are

distinguishable from this case. The

36

ae

i ae

— ,

—

a

ee

Brown Court found that questions of

deceit, fraud, and malicious conduct

are the types of questions that

Congress intended that a bankruptcy

court would resolve, Brown, 442 U.S. at

138, thus indicating that res judicata

suould not be applied here. But the

Brown Court's explanation of its ruling

indicates that its refusal to apply res

judicata in that case does not preclude

the application of the doctrine in the

case at bar.

In Brown, unlike the case at hand,

questions of deceit, fraud, and

malicious conversion were squarely in

issue for the first time in the

bankruptcy court. Id. That fact was

important in the Brown Court. In

addition, the Brown Court emphasized

that the party who sought to prevent

37

as

Pee

ron . Sin el - yerre ie

the application of the res judicata

doctrine was attempting to meet the new

defense of bankruptcy which the debtor

had interposed between the Brown

petitioner and the sum that was

determined to be due to him. Id. at

133.

Here, the question of fraud is not

being raised for the first time in the

bankruptcy court. Rather, the issue of

fraud has been conclusively determined

by the tax court. Therefore, the need

that the Brown Court saw for the

bankruptcy court to weigh all of the

evidence on the question of fraud is

absent. Also, unlike Brown, the issue

of bankruptcy was extant at the time

that the tax court rendered its

Gecision finding Appellant's conduct to

be fraudulent.

38

Although Appellant's bankruptcy was

"interposed" between the initiation of

the tax court proceedings and the final

judgment by the tax court, it was not

"interposed" in the sense that that

word was used by the Brown Court.

Here, Appellant claimed in the tax

court that his liability had been

discharged in bankruptcy, but the tax

court rejected that argument. 59

T.C.M. 784, 787 (CCH) (T.C. 1985). The

tax court noted, in footnote 3 of its

opinion:

On November 13, 1984, petitioner

filed petitioner's motion to dismiss

with prejudice and motion for summary

judgment. Petitioner's motion was

based on his contention that his tax

liability was discharged in

bankruptcy. We summarily deny

39

petitioner's motion because |

petitioner's contention is on its

face inconsistent with the

explanatory memorandum attached to

petitioner's Discharge of Debtor

order in the April 13, 1984, order

issued by the same bankruptcy judge

lifting the automatic stay to permit

this case to go forward in the Tax

Court. Moreover, the redetermination

of an income tax deficiency has

"nothing to do with collection of the

tax nor any similarity to an action

for collection of a debt. * * *,"

Swanson v. Commissioner, [Dec.

33,742]. 65 T.C. 1180, 1184 (1976).

Accordingly, if there is an question

as to the sollectebility of any

income tax deficiencies, which we

doubt, that question is beyond the

40

jurisdiction of this Court. Graham

v. Commissioner, [Dec. 37,460], 75

T.C. 389, 399 (1980).

Id. at 786 n.3. It is clear from this

passage that the question of

dischargeability was, in fact, "raised"

in the tax court by Appellant himself.

The tax court, however, properly

recognized that the question of

dischargeability was beyond its

jurisdiction, and focused its inquiry

on the question of fraud.

Evidently, Appellant wasn't satisfied

with the tax court's ruling on the

dischargeability issue, so he raised it

again before the Court of Appeals. The

Court of Appeals also rejected

Appellant's argument. In doing so, the

Court of Appeals stated:

41

The taxpayer correctly recognizes

that a discharge granted under

Section 727 of the Bankruptcy Code

generally "discharges the debtor from

all debts that arose before the date

of the order for relief." 11 U.S.C.

Section 727(b). However Section 523

of the same Code contains numerous

exceptions to this general rule.

Subsection 523(a)(1)(C) excepts tax

payments "with respect to which the

debtor made a fraudulent return or

willfully attempted in any manner to

evade or defeat such tax." Because

the taxpayer's deficiencies here

resulted from fraud, subsection

523(a)(1)(C) renders then non-

dischargeable. As the legislative

history of this section makes clear,

the "date of the taxable year with

42

ze

5

~~ -

a 7 a - 7 -

—t. 2-37"

A ne ee

eo ree is | :

regard to which the fraud occurred is

immaterial." S.Rep. No. 989, 95th

Cong., 2d Sess. 78, reprinted in 1978

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5787,

5864. Moreover, subsection

523(a)(7)(A) mandates that fraud

penalties are non-dischargeable if

the underlying tax with respect to

which the penalty was imposed is also

non-dischargeable. S.Rep. No. 989,

at 79, U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

1976, p. 5864. Because the

taxpayer's deficiencies are non-

dischargeable, his tax penalties are

Similarly non-dischargeable. Thus we

find the taxpayer's contention that

his deficiencies and penalties were

discharged to be without merit.

43

Cassidy v. Commissioner of Internal

Revenue, 814 F.2d 477, 481 (7th Cir.

1987).

Goodman is likewise distinguishable.

There, the bankruptcy court found that

a California default judgment should

not be given preclusive effect in a

bankruptcy dischargeability proceeding.

Goodman, 25 Bankr. at 939. Because the

Goodman judgment was obtained by

default, there was never an actual

determination by a court of proper

jurisdiction that the debtor was guilty

of fraud. Here, in contrast, it was

Appellant's own failure to respond to

Appellee's request for admission of

fact which led to the tax court's

finding of fraud pursuant to Rule 90(c)

of the Tax Court Rules of Practice and

Procedure.

44

This Court finds, however, that the

bankruptcy court confused the doctrines

of res judicata and collateral

estoppel. The first two requirements

for applicability of res judicata, that

is, identity of the thing being sued

upon and identity of the cause of

action, are absent. Yet, as described

below, all of the elements of

collateral estoppel are present.

Collateral Estoppel

The elements of collateral estoppel

are:

1. The issue sought to be precluded

must be the same issue as that involved

in the prior action;

2. There is a final judgment on the

nerits;

45

3. The party against whom the

doctrine is asserted was a party or in

privity with a party to the prior suit;

4. The party against whom collateral

estoppel is asserted had a full and

fair opportunity to litigate the issue

in question in the prior action; and

5. The determination must have been

essential to the final judgment.

Drum v. Nasuti, 648 F.Supp. 888, 898

(E.D. Pa. 1986).

Appellant also contends that none of

the elements of collateral estoppel

existed in this case, so that that

doctrine does not bar its proceeding in

the bankruptcy court, either.

Specifically, Appellant claims that the

issue sought to be precluded in the

bankruptcy court dischargeability

proceeding were not the same issues as

46

were involved in the tax court

proceedings. Appellant argues that,

although the tax court already

adjudicated the issue of fraud, it did

not adjudicate the amount of the

deficiencies related to the fraud. It

is Appellant's position that, if only a

portion of the tax deficiencies, he

claims, would be discharged.

Appellant also claims that the issue

of fraud was never actually litigated

in the tax court proceeding. He makes

this claim because the issue of fraud

was, in essence, determined by default

in the tax court, because he did not

respond to Appellee's Motion for

Summary Judgment in that court.

Therefore, the second element of the

collateral estoppel test is not

satisfied.

47

Appellant next argues that, assuming

that the first and second elements of

collateral estoppel are satisfied, any

issues relating to fraud decided by the

tax court is not the type of valid

judgment to be recognized by the

bankruptcy court in a discharge

proceeding. Appellant so claims

because, in order to be a valid

judgment for purposes of applying res

judicata or collateral estoppel, the

prior adjudication must be from a court

of competent jurisdiction. See, Local

1006 v. Wurf, 558 F.Supp. 230 (N.D.

Ill. 1982), aff'd, 746 F.2d 1483 (7th

Cir. 1984). Because the tax court did

not have subject matter jurisdiction to

determine issues of dischargeability,

Appellant claims that any such

48

determination by the tax court is

invalid.

Finally, Appellant claims that the

Court of Appeals' discussion relating

to discharge was not essential to its

decision. Appellant argues that the

tax court's determination simply

establishes a liability notwithstanding

any issues relating to discharge in

bankruptcy. Therefore, to the extent

that the court of appeals referred to

the issue of dischargeability in its

opinion, that discussion is merely

dictum. Consequently, although the

discussion of the Court of Appeals

concerning dischargeability commands

respect, it is not, Appellant argues,

an issue that was essential to the

Court of Appeals' decision. Absent

that element, Appellant claims that it

49

is not a "prior adjudication"

sufficient to invoke the doctrine of

collateral estoppel in the bankruptcy

court's discharge proceeding.

It is interesting that Appellant now

claims that the tax court and the Court

of Appeals had no jurisdiction to

consider the dischargeability question

when it was Appellant himself who

raised those questions before the

respective courts. As stated earlier,

the tax court refused to be so baited

by Appellant, and did not pass upon the

actual dischargeability question. The

Court of Appeals, however, specifically

found that Appellant's debts were non-

dischargeable. In doing so, the Court

of Appeals relied upon the tax court's

finding that Appellant made a

fraudulent return with respect to those

50

taxes. The Appellant Court did not

rely upon any "determination" by the

tax court that the debt was non-

dischargeable, for, as stated above,

the tax court made no such finding.

Rather, the tax court merely made a

ruling which was clearly within its

jurisdiction: that Appellant made

fraudulent returns and willfully

attempted to evade or defeat income

taxes. Moreover, in contrast to

Appellant's contentions, the tax court

entered judgment against Appellant for

a specific amount. The final sentence

of the tax court order states as

follows;

Accordingly, respcadent's motion for

Summary judgment is granted as to the

deficiencies and additions to tax for

fraud in the amounts stated.

51

aise al i ee eel es Se ee

:

>.

51 T.C.M. at 792 (CCH) (emphasis

added). Thus, Appellant's argument

that the bankruptcy court still must

determine which amounts of his tax

liability are based upon fraud is

without merit.

Although Appellant claims that the

decision in the prior tax court

proceeding was obtained by default and,

given the nature of a judgment by

default, the issue relating to fraud

and dischargeability were "actually

litigated,' this Court disagrees. The

issue of fraud was raised and Appellee

presented arguments on it. Appellant

had a full and fair opportunity to

respond, but did not do so. The only

sense in which the fraud question was

not "litigated" in the tax court is in

the sense that Appellant failed to

52

present his position on the summary

judgment issue to the tax court. Were

the Court to permit Appellant to attack

the question of fraud in the bankruptcy

court, the Court would be allowing a

party who has failed to respond as

required by the Tax Court rules to

ignore the judgment entered against

him. This Court does not believe that

such was the intent of the courts in

Brown or Goodman.

Appellant's main problem seems to be

his focus upon the question of

dischargeability, rather than the

question of fraud. There is no

question that the tax court determined

that Appellant was guilty of fraud, and

found that his tax liability and

penaltics were in the amounts

specified. Given that determination,

53

non-dischargeability automatically

follows pursuant to Section

523(a)(2)(A) of the Bankruptcy Code.

Here, the real issue sought to be

precluded is the question of whether or

not Appellant's tax return was

fraudulent, and not whether or not his

tax debt is dischargeable. Using that

focus, it is clear that the question of

fraud was the same as that involved in

the tax court proceeding, there was a

final judgment on the merits, Appellant

is the same party as was involved in

the tax court suit, Appellant had a

full and fair opportunity to litigate

the fraud issue (although he did not

take advantage of that opportunity),

and the determination of fraud was

essential to that judgment.

Consequently, all of the elements of

54

collateral estoppel are satisfied.

Because Appellant is collaterally

estopped from relitigating the fraud

issue, Section 523(a)(2)(A) of the

Bankruptcy Code precludes a

redetermination by the bankruptcy court

as to whether or not Appellant's return

was fraudulent. It follows, then, that

because the bankruptcy court is bound

by the determination of fraud, the

bankruptcy court must, pursuant to

Section 523(a)(2)(A), find that those

debts are non-dischargeable. For this

reason, although this Court believes

that the bankruptcy court applied the

wrong title to the preclusion doctrine

that it was applying, the result

reached by the bankruptcy court is

AFFIRMED.

55

It is so ordered this 20th day of

December, 1988.

Michael M. Mihm

United States District

Judge

56

UNITED STATES TAX COURT

WASHINGTON, D.C. 2021

THOMAS V. CASSIDY)

Petitioner, )

Vv. ) Docket No. 18125-80

COMMISSIONER OF )

INTERNAL REVENUE, )

Respondent. )

ORDER AND DECISION

On August 22, 1984, respondent filed

a motion for summary judgment. On

November 13, 1984, petitioner filed a

motion to enlarge time for response to

request for admissions and reply to

interrogatories and alternative motion

to withdraw or modify deemed

admissions. Pursuant to the

determination of this Court, as set

57

ys Crete

—_* rll wy

forth in its Opinion filed and served

April 3, 1986, it is

ORDERED that respondent's motion for

Summary judgment is granted. It is

further

ORDERED that petitioner's above-

referenced motion to enlarge time for

response to request for admissions and

reply to interrogatories and

alternative motion to withdraw or

modify deemed admissions is denied. It

is further

ORDERED and DECIDED that there are

deficiencies in income taxes due from

petitioner for the taxable years ended

August 31, 1974, and August 31, 1975,

in the amounts of $12,865 and $22,028

respectively; and

That there are additions to tax due

from petitioner for the taxable years

58

ended August 31, 1974, and August 31,

1975, under the provisions of I.R.C.

Sec. 6653(b) in the amounts of $11,774

and $11,014, respectively.

Arthur L. Nims, III

Judge

Entered: Apr 4, 1986

59

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Court

No. 86-2302

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Petitioner-Appellant,

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent—Appellee.

Appeal from the United States Tax

Court.

No. 18125-80-Arthur L. Nims, III,

Judge.

Before Cudahy, and Ripple, Circuit

Judges, and Will, Senior District

Judge.

Ripple, Circuit Judge. In this case,

appellant-taxpayer Thomas V. Cassidy

appeals from the order and decision of

the United States Tax Court granting

.

60

summary judgment for the Commissioner

with respect to income tax deficiencies

and fraud penalties. For the reasons

set forth in this opinion, we affirn

the judgment of the tax court.

I

Facts

On June 24, 1980, the Commissioner of

Internal Revenue sent the appellant a

notice of deficiency in federal income

taxes for the fiscal years ending

August 31, 1974 and August 31, 1975.

These deficiencies were in the amounts

of $12,865 and $22,028 respectively.

They resulted from an adjustment by the

Commissioner of the taxpayer's income

tax returns by including within his

taxable income previously unreported

legal fees and by disallowing various

deductions. The Commissioner also

61

'

{

'

found that all or part of the

underpayment of tax was due to fraud.

Therefore, pursuant to section 6653(b)

of the Internal Revenue Code, the

Commissioner assessed against the

taxpayer civil fraud penalties of

$11,774 for 1974 and $11,014 for 1975.

R.2 at 5-6.

On September 25, 1980, the taxpayer

filed a petition with the United States

Tax Court for redetermination of his

income tax liability. A trial date was

set for March 22, 1982. Upon call of

the case for trial, his counsel moved

for permission to withdraw and for a

continuance. While granting these

motions, the court admonished that

there would be no additional

continuances. In preparation for

trial, the Commissioner, on April 27,

62

a a

1982, sent the taxpayer an informal

discovery request asking that he

stipulate to all undisputed material

facts in accordance with Tax Court Rule

of Practice and Procedure 91(a) and

submit documents in support of his

position. The taxpayer failed to

provide any of the requested

information. Consequently, the

Commissioner initiated formal discovery

proceedings against the taxpayer and,

on December 7, 1982, served the

taxpayer with a request for the

production of documents together with

interrogatories. The Commissioner's

subpoena duces tecum was similarly

ignored.

On November 14, 1983, the court

issued a notice setting the case for

trial on January 30, 1984. On January

63

- SITS bm GAIT met , - : : yy —— ’ Firs: 7 a :

nel 7

omni ae wee oe ee —

3, 1984, the taxpayer notified the tax

court that he was the subject of an

involuntary petition for bankruptcy

under chapter 7. 11 U.S.C. Sections 71

et seq. This involuntary petition had

been filed on February 14, 1983--

almost, a year before the taxpayer

notified the tax court of its pendency.

Because of the pendency of the

bankruptcy action, the tax court

automatically stayed its proceedings.

On March 13, 1984, the taxpayer

received a discharge from the

bankruptcy court releasing him from all

dischargeable debts. One month later,

on the petition of the government, the

bankruptcy court lifted its automatic

stay "in order to permit the Tax Court

proceeding between the parties now

pending to proceed forward." R.17, Ex.

64

A. The tax court then set the case for

trial at the first regularly scheduled

Chicago, Illinois trail session during

the 1984 fall term. In preparation for

that litigation, the Commissioner, on

June 12, 1984, mailed to the taxpayer a

request for admissions together with

other discovery documents. On June 15,

1984, a copy of this request was filed

with the court. The taxpayer did not

respond; therefore, on August 22, 1984,

the Commissioner moved for summary

judgment based upon the matters deemed

to be admitted.

On September 27, 1984, five days

before the commencement of trial, the

taxpayer's attorney filed an entry of

appearance and a motion for a general

continuance of the trial. After a

hearing, the tax court denied the

65

continuance and held that the matters

set forth in the request for admissions

were deemed to be admitted.

On September 27, 1984, five days

before the commencement of trial, the

taxpayer's attorney filed an entry of

appearance and a motion for a general

continuance of the trial. After a

hearing, the tax court denied the

continuance and held that the matters

set forth in the request for admissions

were deemed admitted. The tax court

afforded the taxpayer thirty days to

provide a written response to the

Commissioner's motion for summary

judgment. On November 13, 1984, forty-

five days later, the taxpayer filed a

reply. He claimed that he had not

received the request for admissions

until September 4, 1984 and further

66

argued that collection for the

deficiencies was barred by the statute

of limitations. The taxpayer also

filed a motion to dismiss and a motion

for summary judgment in which he

asserted that the deficiencies at issue

had been discharged in the bankruptcy

proceeding. The taxpayer appended to

his motions an affidavit of Susan J.

Fasse, a paralegal administrator,

averring that the taxpayer had not

received the request for admissions

until September 4, 1984.

The tax court set the matter for a

hearing on February 26, 1985. At the

hearing, the taxpayer testified on his

own behalf and also presented the

testimony of Ms. Fasse. Several

exhibits also were admitted. One of

the exhibits was a small envelope

67

postmarked "Springfield, Illinois,

August 31, 1984." Petitioner's Ex. 4.

The taxpayer alleged that he received

the request for admissions in this

envelope. The Commissioner attempted

to show that the request for admissions

could not have been sent in this small

envelope. The Commissioner presented

the testimony of an employee of the

Internal Revenue Service who testified

that the request for admissions was

mailed in a large envelope that had

also contained two other documents, a

second request for production of

documents and interrogatories. It was

standard practice, the employee

testified for these multi-paged

documents to be sent to taxpayers in

large envelopes. The IRS employee also

testified that the only mail the

68

taxpayer had been sent on August 31,

1984 was a one-page letter in a small

envelope.

II

The Tax Court's Decision

The tax court found that the

Commissioner had properly mailed and

served the request of admissions to the

taxpayer on June 12, 1984. The court

explained that its decision was based

on its observation of the witnesses’

demeanor and the consistency of their

testimony as well as on the physical

evidence that had been submitted. The

court noted that the request for

admissions could not have fit within

the small envelope as maintained by the

taxpayer. The court concluded that

"(t]he more plausible explanation is

that petitioner and Fasse fabricated

69

their testimony in an effort to avoid

the consequences of petitioner's

continued deliberate disregard for his

responsibilities in connection with

this case." Cassidy v. Commissioner,

No. 18125-80, slip op. at 18 (T.C. Apr.

3, 1986); R.49 at 18. Accordingly, the

tax court denied the taxpayer's motion

for extension of time to answer the

request for admissions and granted the

Commissioner's motion for summary

judgment. As noted by the court, Rule

90 of the Tax Court Rules of Practice

and Procedure requires a party to

respond to requests for admissions

within thirty days after service. Ifa

party fails to reply within thirty

days, the matters contained in the

request are deemed conclusively

established.’

70

The court found that the deemed

admissions fully supported the

deficiencies that had been determined

by the Commissioner. Additionally, the

tax court found that the admitted facts

were sufficient to meet the

Commissioner's burden of proof with

respect to the fraud penalties. In the

tax court's view, the admissions were

replete with the requisite indicia of

fraud. The matters deemed admitted

were: 1) that the taxpayer had

purposely circumvented procedures

devised by his accountants so that he

might omit, reporting income, 2) that he

claimed non-existent deductions, and 3)

that he claimed business deductions for

expenses that were expenditures for his

personal benefit.

71

III

Analysis

A. Dischargeability of the

Deficiencies and Penalties

The taxpayer first argues that his

tax liabilities and fraud penalties

were discharged in the chapter 7

bankruptcy proceeding. He submits that

the deficiencies and fraud penalties

were incurred more than three years

prior to his filing for bankruptcy and

therefore were discharged pursuant to

11 U.S.C. Section 523(a)(7)(B). This

subsection allows tax penalties

"imposed with respect to a transaction

or event that occurred before three

years before the date of the filing of

the petition" to be discharged. 11

U.S.C. Section 523(a)(7)(B).

72

The taxpayer correctly recognizes

that a discharge granted under section

727 of the Bankruptcy Code generally

"discharges the debtor from all debts

that arose before the date of the order

for relief." 11 U.S.C. Section 727(b).

However, section 523 of the same code

contains numerous exceptions to this

general rule. Subsection 523(a)(1)(C)

— tax payments "with respect to

which the debtor made a fraudulent

return or willfully attempted in any

manner to evade or defeat such tax."

Because the taxpayer's deficiencies

here resulted from fraud, subsection

523(a)(1)(C) renders them

nondischargeable. As the legislative

histeiy of this section makes clear,

the "date of the taxable year with

regard to which the fraud occurred is

- 73

immaterial." S. Rep. No. 989, 95th

Cong., 2d Sess. 78, reprinted in 1978

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

5787,5864. Moreover, subsection

523(a)(7)(A)2 mandates that fraud

penalties are nondischargeable if the

underlying tax with respect to which

the penalty was imposed is also

nondischargeable. S.Rep. No. 989 at

79. Because the taxpayer's

deficiencies are nondischargeable, his

tax penalties are similarly

nondischargeable. Thus, we find the

taxpayer's contention that his

deficiencies and penalties were

discharged to be without merit.

B. Review of the Tax Court's Factual

Findings

The taxpayer,also asserts that the

tax court erred in finding that he had

74

i va

received the Commissioner's request for

admissions on June 12, 1984. We may,

however, only overturn the tax court's

finding if it is clearly erroneous. As

stated by the Supreme Court, "[a]

finding is "clearly erroneous" when

although there is evidence to support

it, the reviewing court on the entire

evidence is left with the definite and

firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed." Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 573 (1985)

(quoting United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948)

see also Wainwright Bank & Trust Co.

v.Railroadmen's Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n,

806 F.2d 146, 150 n.6 (7th Cir. 1986);

Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a).

The record in this case amply

supports the tax court's finding. As

75

the court noted, the Commissioner's

office records showed that fifty pages

of documents were sent to the taxpayer -

in a 9 1/2 by 12 1/4 inch envelope on

June 12, 1984. At the hearing, the

taxpayer introduced a 4 1/4 by 9 1/2

inch envelope that was far too small to

have contained the documents that the

taxpayer claimed to have received on

September 4. Moreover, the envelope

submitted by ths taxpayer did not

appear to have been stuffed with

documents. Further, the set of

documents presented by the taxpayer

contained only eighteen pages. It was

missing two exhibits that were thirty-

two pages in length. The court noted

that there were several sets of holes

in the documents. Ms. Fasse explained

the presence of the holes by saying

76

that she had removed staples from the

documents in order to photocopy then.

The court, however, concluded that one

of the holes was made by a large staple

of the type that weuld have been used

to secure fifty pages. Under these

circumstances, we do not find the tax

court's conclusion that the taxpayer

received the Commissioner's request for

admissions on June 12 to be clearly

erroneous. In fact, we can hardly

fault the court for concluding that

"the more plausible explanation" for

the discrepancies in the taxpayer's

testimony "is that the [taxpayer] and

Fasse fabricated their testimony in an

effort to avoid the consequences of

[the taxpayer's] continued deliberate

disregard for his responsibilities in

connection with his case..."

77

Cassidy v. Commissioner, No. 18125-80,

slip op. at 18 (T.C. Apr. 3, 1986);

R.49 at 18. Furthermore, because the

taxpayer's conduct demonstrated a

deliberate attempt to delay the

presentation of his case, the tax court

hardly acted beyond the bounds of its

discretion in refusing to permit the

taxpayer to withdraw his admissions.

C. Using the Deemed Admissions to

Establish Fraudulent Intent

The taxpayer argues that the admitted

facts were insufficient to establish

that the deficiencies for the years

involved resulted from fraud. However,

as the tax court indicated, the

admissions of the taxpayer contained

numerous indicia of fraud. He

admitted, for example, that the amounts

claimed as deductions were not expended

78

for the purposes designated on his

returns. He also admitted that he used

funds claimed as business deductions

for his personal benefit and that he

withdrew funds from his professional

accounts, although he knew that, under

his bookkeeping system, the amounts

would not be included in his income,

He was also aware that he was receiving

funds for his legal services but not

reporting the full amount on his

returns. R.22, app. at 1-2. These

facts deemed admitted clearly establish

that a substantial part of the

underpayment of the tax was in fact due

to fraud.3

The judgment of the United — Tax

Court was in conformity with the

applicable sections of the Internal

Revenue Code and the Bankruptcy Code.

79

The facts were determined by a fair

procedure and amply support the

judgment of the court. Accordingly,

the judgment of the United States Tax

Court is affirmed.

AFFIRMED

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States

Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit

80

UNITED STATES TAX COURT

WASHINGTON, D.C. 2021

THOMAS V. CASSIDY)

Petitioner, )

Vv. ) Docket No. 18125-80

COMMISSIONER OF )

INTERNAL REVENUE, )

Respondent. )

ORDER AND DECISION

On August 22, 1984, respondent filed

a motion for summary judgment. On

November 13, 1984, petitioner filed a

motion to enlarge time for response to

request for admissions and reply to

interrogatories and alternative motion

to withdraw or modify deemed

admissions. Pursuant to the

determination of this Court, as set

81

forth in its Opinion filed and served

April 3, 1986, it is

ORDERED that respondent's motion for

Summary judgment is granted. It is

further

ORDERED that petitioner's above-

referenced motion to enlarge time for

response to request for admissions and

reply to interrogatories and

alternative motion to withdraw or

modify deemed admissions is denied. It

is further

ORDERED and DECIDED that there are

deficiencies in income taxes due from

petitioner for the taxable years ended

August 31, 1974, and August 31, 1975,

in the amounts of $12,865 and $22,028

respectively; and

That there are additions to tax due

from petitioner for the taxable years

82

aa nr

. pe

seg a aya ee ial

bo

ae? *<s 7 eer a had iy aie 7 >

7 < ~ Ff i a 2 sie ie J P|

sb ie j 7 _— * = 3 - “1 fiero _ oe Doe i | - :

—

ended August 31, 1974, and August 31,

1975, under the provisions of I.R.C.

Sec. 6653(b) in the amounts of $11,774

and $11,014, respectively.

Arthur L. Nims, III

Judge

Entered: Apr 4, 1986

83

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Court

No. 86-2302

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Petitioner-Appellant,

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States Tax

Court.

No. 18125-80-Arthur L. Nims, III,

Judge.

Before Cudahy, and Ripple, Circuit

Judges, and Will, Senior District

Judge.

Ripple, Circuit Judge. In this case,

appellant-taxpayer Thomas V. Cassidy

appeals from the order and decision of

the United States Tax Court granting

84

~~

ees

—————

»

' —

1

7r- A e

es

~ 7 _

wwe. _

ee om FE ay ae

summary judgment for the Commissioner

with respect to income tax deficiencies

and fraud penalties. For the reasons

set forth in this opinion, we affirm

the judgment of the tax court.

I

Facts

On June 24, 1980, the Commissioner of

Internal Revenue sent the appellant a

notice of deficiency in federal income

taxes for the fiscal years ending

August 31, 1974 and August 31, 1975.

These deficiencies were in the amounts

of $12,865 and $22,028 respectively.

They resulted from an adjustment by the

Commissioner of the taxpayer's income

tax returns by including within his

taxable income previously unreported

legal fees and by disallowing various

deductions. The Commissioner also

85

found that all or part of the

underpayment of tax was due to fraud.

Therefore, pursuant to section 6653(b)

of the Internal Revenue Code, the

Commissioner assessed against the

taxpayer civil fraud penalties of

$11,774 for 1974 and $11,014 for 1975.

R.2 at 5-6.

On September 25, 1980, the taxpayer

filed a petition with the United States

Tax Court for redetermination of his

income tax liability. A trial date was

set for March 22, 1982. Upon call of

the case for trial, his counsel moved

for permission to withdraw and for a

continuance. While granting these

motions, the court admonished that

there would be no additional

continuances. In preparation for

trial, the Commissioner, on April 27,

86

1982, sent the taxpayer an informal

discovery request asking that he

stipulate to all undisputed material

facts in accordance with Tax Court Rule

of Practice and Procedure 91(a) and

submit documents in support of his

position. The taxpayer failed to

provide any of the requested

information. Consequently, the

Commissioner initiated formal discovery

proceedings against the taxpayer and,

on December 7, 1982, served the

taxpayer with a request for the

production of documents together with

interrogatories. The Commissioner's

subpoena duces tecum was similarly

ignored.

On November 14, 1983, the court

issued a notice setting the case for

trial on January 30, 1984. On January

87

3, 1984, the taxpayer notified the tax

court that he was the subject of an

involuntary petition for bankruptcy

under chapter 7. 11 U.S.C. Sections 71

et seq. This involuntary petition had

been filed on February 14, 1983--

almost, a year before the taxpayer

notified the tax court of its pendency.

Because of the pendency of the

bankruptcy action, the tax court

automatically stayed its proceedings.

On March 13, 1984, the taxpayer

received a discharge from the

bankruptcy court releasing him from all

dischargeable debts. One month later,

on the petition of the government, the

bankruptcy court lifted its automatic

stay "in order to permit the Tax Court

proceeding between the parties now

pending to proceed forward." R.17, Ex.

88

1

A. The tax court then set the case for

trial at the first regularly scheduled

Chicago, Illinois trail session during

the 1984 fall term. In preparation for

that litigation, the Commissioner, on

June 12, 1984, mailed to the taxpayer a

request for admissions together with

other discovery documents. On June 15,

1984, a copy of this request was filed

with the court. The taxpayer did not

respond; therefore, on August 22, 1984,

the Commissioner moved for summary

judgment based upon the matters deemed

to be admitted.

On September 27, 1984, five days

before the commencement of trial, the

taxpayer's attorney filed an entry of

appearance and a motion for a general

continuance of the trial. After a

hearing, the tax court denied the

89

aT Sa ea a ee

continuance and held that the matters

set forth in the request for admissions

were deemed to be admitted.

On September 27, 1984, five days

before the commencement of trial, the

taxpayer's attorney filed an entry of

appearance and a motion for a general

continuance of the trial. After a

hearing, the tax court denied the

continuance and held that the matters

set forth in the request for admissions

were deemed admitted. The tax court

afforded the taxpayer thirty days to

provide a written response to the

Commissioner's motion for summary

judgment. On November 13, 1984, forty-

five days later, the taxpayer filed a

reply. He claimed that he had not

received the request for admissions

until September 4, 1984 and further

90

argued that collection for the

deficiencies was barred by the statute

of limitations. The taxpayer also

filed a motion to dismiss and a motion

for summary judgment in which he

asserted that the deficiencies at issue

had been discharged in the bankruptcy

proceeding. The taxpayer appended to

his motions an affidavit of Susan J.

Fasse, a paralegal administrator,

averring that the taxpayer had not

received the request for admissions

until September 4, 1984.

The tax court set the matter for a

hearing on February 26, 1985. At the

hearing, the taxpayer testified on his

own behalf and also presented the

testimony of Ms. Fasse. Several

exhibits also were admitted. One of

the exhibits was a small envelope

91

ita i ae a

eas

. “ ay : Oo

Y =n a : EF gS ae —e ah. Te

i. =

postmarked "Springfield, Illinois,

August 31, 1984." Petitioner's Ex. 4.

The taxpayer alleged that he received

the request for admissions in this

envelope. The Commissioner attempted

to show that the request for admissions

could not have been sent in this small

envelope. The Commissioner presented

the testimony of an employee of the

Internal Revenue Service who testified

that the request for admissions was

mailed in a large envelope that had

also contained two other documents, a

second request for production of

documents and interrogatories. It was

standard practice, the employee

testified for these multi-paged

documents to be sent to taxpayers in

large envelopes. The IRS employee also

testified that the only mail the

92

taxpayer had been sent on August 31,

1984 was a one-page letter in a small

envelope.

II

The Tax Court's Decision

The tax court found that the

Commissioner had properly mailed and

served the request of admissions to the

taxpayer on June 12, 1984. The court

explained that its decision was based

on its observation of the witnesses'

demeanor and the consistency of their

testimony as well as on the physical

evidence that had been submitted. ‘The

court noted that the request for

admissions could not. have fit within

the small envelope as maintained by the

taxpayer. The court concluded that

"(t]he more plausible explanation is

that petitioner and Fasse fabricated

93

their testimony in an effort to avoid

the consequences of petitioner's

continued deliberate disregard for his

responsibilities in connection with

this case." Cassidy v. Commissioner,

No. 18125-80, slip op. at 18 (T.C. Apr.

3, 1986); R.49 at 18. Accordingly, the

tax court denied the taxpayer's motion

for extension of time to answer the

request for admissions and granted the

Commissioner's motion for summary

judgment. As noted by the court, Rule

90 of the Tax Court Rules of Practice

and Procedure requires a party to

respond to requests for admissions

within thirty days after service. If a

party fails to reply within thirty

days, the matters contained in the

request are deemed conclusively

established. |

94

a av

+a

mp ee

The court found that the deemed

admissions fully supported the

deficiencies that had been determined

by the Commissioner. Additionally, the

tax court found that the admitted facts

were sufficient to meet the

Commissioner's burden of proof with

respect to the fraud penalties. In the

tax court's view, the admissions were

replete with the requisite indicia of

fraud. The matters deemed admitted

were: 1) that the taxpayer had

purposely circumvented procedures

devised by his accountants so that he

might omit reporting income, 2) that he

claimed non-existent deductions, and 3)

that he claimed business deductions for

expenses that were expenditures for his

personal benefit.

95

III

Analysis

A. Dischargeability of the

Deficiencies and Penalties

The taxpayer first argues that his

tax liabilities and fraud penalties

were discharged in the chapter 7

bankruptcy proceeding. He submits that

the deficiencies and fraud penalties

were incurred more than three years

prior to his filing for bankruptcy and

therefore were discharged pursuant to

11 U.S.C. Section 523(a)(7)(B). This

subsection allows tax penalties

"imposed with respect to a transaction

or event that occurred before three

years before the date of the filing of

the petition" to be discharged. 11

U.S.C. Section 523(a)(7)(B).

96

—

The taxpayer correctly recognizes

that a discharge granted under section

727 of the Bankruptcy Code generally

"discharges the debtor from all debts

that arose before the date of the order

for relief." 11 U.S.C. Section 727(b).

However, section 523 of the same code

contains numerous exceptions to this

general rule. Subsection 523(a)(1)(C)

excepts tax payments "with respect to

which the debtor made a fraudulent

return or willfully attempted in any

manner to evade or defeat such tax."

Because the taxpayer's deficiencies

here resulted from fraud, subsection

523(a)(1)(C) renders them

nondischargeable. As the legislative

history of this section makes clear,

the "date of the taxable year with

regard to which the fraud occurred is

97

immaterial." S. Rep. No. 989, 95th

Cong., 2d Sess. 78, reprinted in 1978

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

5787,5864. Moreover, subsection

523(a)(7)(A)@ mandates that fraud

penalties are nondischargeable if the

underlying tax with respect to which

the penalty was imposed is also

nondischargeable. S.Rep. No. 989 at

79. Because the taxpayer's

deficiencies are nondischargeable, his

tax penalties are similarly

nondischargeable. Thus, we find the

taxpayer's contention that his

deficiencies and penalties were

discharged to be without merit.

B. Review of the Tax Court's Factual

Findings

The taxpayer also asserts that the

tax court erred in finding that he had

98

received the Commissioner's request for

admissions on June 12, 1984. We may,

however, only overturn the tax court's

finding if it is clearly erroneous. As

stated by the Supreme Court, "[a]

finding is "clearly erroneous" when

although there is evidence to support

it, the reviewing court on the entire

evidence is left with the definite and

firm conviction that a mistake has been

committed." Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 573 (1985)

(quoting United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948)

see also Wainwright Bank & Trust Co.

v. Railroadmen's Fed. Sav. & Loan

Ass'n, 806 F.2d 146, 150 n.6 (7th Cir.

1986); Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a).

The record in this case amply

supports the tax court's finding. As

99

=

~~

-_=

_—

——

- —

— m2

=

— -

——

—

——— 2

~—

the court noted, the Commissioner's

office records showed that fifty pages

of documents were sent to the taxpayer

in a 91/2 by 12 1/4 inch envelope on

June 12, 1984. At the hearing, the

taxpayer introduced a 4 1/4 by 9 1/2

inch envelope that was far too small to

have contained the documents that the

taxpayer claimed to have received on

September 4. Moreover, the envelope

submitted by the taxpayer did not

appear to have been stuffed with

documents. Further, the set of

documents presented by the taxpayer

contained only eighteen pages. It was

missing two exhibits that were thirty-

two pages in length. The court noted

that there were several sets of holes

in the documents. Ms. Fasse explained

the presence of the holes by saying

100

“es

=

-— a

3

:

o

that she had removed staples from the

documents in order to photocopy then.

The court, however, concluded that one

of the holes was made by a large staple

of the type that would have been used

to secure fifty pages. Under these

circumstances, we do not find the tax

court's conclusion that the taxpayer

received the Commissioner's request for

admissions on June 12 to be clearly

erroneous. In fact, we can hardly

fault the court for concluding that

"the more plausible explanation" for

the discrepancies in the taxpayer's

testimony "is that the [taxpayer] and

Fasse fabricated their testimony in an

effort to avoid the consequences of

[the taxpayer's] continued deliberate

disregard for his responsibilities in

connection with his case..."

101

Cassidy v. Commissioner, No. 18125-80,

slip op. at 18 (T.C. Apr. 3, 1986);

R.49 at 18. Furthermore, because the

taxpayer's conduct demonstrated a

deliberate attempt to delay the

presentation of his case, the tax court

hardly acted beyond the bounds of its

discretion in refusing to permit the

taxpayer to withdraw his admissions.

C. Using the Deemed Admissions to

Establish Fraudulent Intent

The taxpayer argues that the admitted

facts were insufficient to establish

that the deficiencies tor the years

involved resulted from fraud. However,

as the tax court indicated, the

admissions of the taxpayer contained

numerous indicia of fraud. He

admitted, for example, that the amounts

claimed as deductions were not expended

102

for the purposes designated on his

returns. He also admitted that he used

funds claimed as business deductions

for his personal benefit and that he

withdrew funds from his professional

accounts, although he knew that, under

his bookkeeping system, the amounts

would not be included in his income.

He was also aware that he was receiving

funds for his legal services but not

reporting the full amount on his

returns. R.22, app. at 1-2. These

facts deemed admitted clearly establish

that a substantial part of the

underpayment of the tax was in fact due

to fraud.3

The judgment of the United States Tax

Court was in conformity with the

applicable sections of the Internal

Revenue Code and the Bankruptcy Code.

103

The facts were determined by a fair

procedure and amply support the

judgment of the court. Accordingly,

the judgment of the United States Tax

Court is affirmed.

AFFIRMED

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States

Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit

104

Footnotes to Previous Document

* The Honorable Hubert L. Will, Senior

District Judge of the Northern District of

Illinois, sitting by designation.

1 Rule 90(c) of the Tax Court Rules of Practice

and Procedure provides in relevant part:

Each matter is deemed admitted unless,

within 30 days after service of the request

or within such shorter or longer time as the

Court may allow, the party to whom the

request is directed serves upon the

requesting party (i) a written answer

specifically admitting or denying the matter

involved in whole or in part, or asserting

that it cannot be truthfully admitted or

denied and setting forth in detail the

reasons why this is so, or (ii) an

objection, stating in detail the reasons

therefor.

Rule 90(e) describes the effect of making an

admission:

Any matter admitted under this Rule is

conclusively established unless the Court on

motion permits withdrawal or modification of

the admission. Subject to any other orders

made in the case by the Court, withdrawal or

modification may be permitted when the

presentation of the merits of the case will

be subserved thereby, and the party who

obtained the admission fails to satisfy the

Court that the withdrawal or modification

will prejudice him in prosecuting his case

or defense on the merits...

105

2 Subsection 523(a)(7)(A) provides:

A discharge under section 727, 1141, or

1328(b) of this title does not discharge an

individual debtor from any debt—

* *%

to the extent such debt is for a fine,

penalty, or forfeiture payable to and for

the benefit of a governmental unit, and is

not compensation for actual pecuniary loss,

other than a tax penalty-

relating to a tax of a kind not specified

in paragraph (1) of this subsection; ...

3 We also reject the taxpayer's argument that

the facts deemed admitted may not be used to

support a finding of fraudulent intent. Rule

90 of the Tax Court Rules of Practice and

Procedure contains no such limitation.

106

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

February 5, 1990

Before

Hon. Joel M. Flaum, Circuit Judge

Hon. Daniel A. Manion, Circuit Judge

Hon. Michael S. Kanne, Circuit Judge

In the matter of:

Thomas V. Cassidy,

Debtor-Appellant,

No. 89-1121

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Central District of

Illinois, Peoria Division.

No. 88 C 1108

Michael M. Mihm, Judge

107

Yh S 3

a

la

i, rovem? Lm)

; ee tale 3 ae Ty he

od | gate rest

wi i =o Coe Hic

i

448

e

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing

en banc filed in the above-entitled

cause on January 18, 1990, no judge in

active service has requested a vote

thereon, and a majority of the judges

on the original panel have voted to

deny a rehearing. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid

petition for rehearing be, and the same

is hereby, DENIED.

108

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 89-1121

IN RE

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, Appeal

from the

United

States

District

Court,

)

)

)

)

Debtor.

) Central

)

)

)

)

)

)

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Plaintiff-Appellant, District

of

Vs. Illinois

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE,

Defendant-Appellee.

APPELLANT'S BRIEF

Timothy J. Cassidy

CASSIDY & MULLER

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, IL 61602

Telephone: 309/676-0591

Attorneys for plaintiff-

appellant

109

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Issues Presented for Review...cceces

Jurisdiction eoeseeeeseenrenreeseveenrpmeeneeeee @

Statement of the Caes@scccccccoeeveves

3

3

Statutes Involvedecccccccccccesccece |

4

7

Argumenteccccccccvccccccccecccccccces

Ee

B.

THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE

TAX COURT HAS NO PRECLUSIVE

EFFECT IN THE BANKRUPTCY

DISCHARGE PROCEEDING......... 7

The Doctrine of Res Judicata

Does Not Apply to the

Bankruptcy Court Discharge

Proceeding. cccccccccccccsccsvsee JY

None of the Elements of

Collateral Estoppel Exist....11

1.

The issues sought to be

precluded in the bankruptcy

court discharge proceeding

is not the same issue

involved in the tax

COUPE. cocccccccccccccccvei

The issue of fraud was

never actually litigated in

the Tax Court

Proceeding. .cccccccccceed3

Any fraud issued

adjudicated by the tax

court was not determined by

110

a valid judgment as related

to issues of

dischargeability........14

he The Court of Appeals

discussion on review of the

tax court decision as it

relates to discharge was

not essential to its

i de a wesc ensetes ©

II. THE PENALTIES RELATED TO THE

ASSESSED TAX DEFICIENCIES ARE

DISCHARGEABLE AS A MATTER OF

LAW. cecccccccccvcccveccesseeeld

III. AS A MATTER OF POLICY AND

JUDICIAL ECONOMY, IN ADDITION TO

THE LEGAL AND FACTUAL

CONSIDERATIONS, THE COMMISSIONER

IS ESTOPPED FROM CLAIMING THE

TAX LIABILITIES NONDISCHARGEABLE

AND/OR PREVENTING THE BANKRUPTCY

COURT FROM DETERMINING THE

iin. ence ese eee eeeeeeee one

INDEX TO CITATIONS

Table of Cases

Abel v. Campbell, 334 F.2d 339 (5th

Cir. rr

Brown v. Felson, 442 U.S. 127

ee eee ee beeeeeecese TU

Cassidy v. C.I.R., 814 F.2d 477

(7th Cir. | err FS Ph eh

111

Continental Equities, Inc. v. C.I.R.,

551 F.2d 74 (5th Cir. 1977) wccoeeld

In re Durensky, 377 F.Supp. 798

(N.D.Tx. 1974) eoceeecccceeeeeseseas

In re Goodman, 25 B.R. 932

(Bkrtcy.N.D.I11. 1982).....+6+428,9,10,

13,14

Graham v. Commissioner, 75 T.C. 389

CTeees ccvcccceesescceceenceseeeete ts

Gwillim v. U.S., 519 F2d 127 (9th

Cir. Teal ceecccvecsecesvevvvesaeens

Handlehand v. C.I.R., 519 F.2d 127

(9th Cir. 1975) eoeecceeevecescncse te

Local 1006 v. Wirf, 558 F.Sup[p. 230

Tae Sees ~ affirmed 746 F.2d 1483

7th Cir. 1984) eeecescesooceeeoeets

Matter of Neavear, 674 F.2d 1291 (7th

Cir. THEE) catessovccvsevertsesesesesns

McKenzie v. U.S., 536 F.2d 726 (7th

Cir. 1976) PPOrPrrTrTTrTrrreriririr yy: =.

Northern Pipeline v. Marathon Pipe

Line, 458 UeBe 50 eeocveceseeeécéoaete

Roberts v. Internal Revenue Service,

TOE cb db eceeceeeaces Appendix, p.16

Smiths Estate v. C.I.R., 638 F.2d 665

(3rd Cir. 1981) ccccccccccscccccceth

112

U.S. v. Zuskar,

1956)

Statutes

11 U.S.C. Section

26 U.S.C. Section

11 U.S.C. Section

[es ceuee

Other

237 F2d 528 (7th Cir.

$6060 seekeeaneee

523(a)(1)(C)....10

6653(b)(2)...20- 11

523(a)(7)(A) &

eeeeeesenseee 8 @ sete

3 Collier on Bankruptcy (15th

Edition) Par. 523.05A, p. 523.15..11

113

ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the prior tax court assessment

proceeding invokes the doctrine of res

judicata or collateral estoppel in a

bankruptcy court discharge proceeding.

2

Whether the debtor's assessed penalties

imposed for the tax years three years

prior to the filing of the petition in

bankruptcy are dischargeable as a

matter of law.

3.

Whether the Commissioner's filing of a

claim and participation in the

distribution of the bankrupt estate

constitutes a consent to

dischargeability of the tax assessments

subsequent to discharge.

114

- 8 in cacul

= ae ed 7

bd %

JURISDICTION

The District Court's jurisdiction was

by virtue of an appeal from the final

order entered by the United States

Bankruptcy Court, Central District of

Illinois on February 2, 1988, and

vested under 28 U.S.C. Section 158(a)

and Bankruptcy Rule 8001(a). This is

an appeal from the final judgment of

the United States District Court,

Central District of Illinois, entered

on December 20,, 1988, and this court's

jurisdiction is vested under 28 U.S.C.

Section 158(d). The Notice of Appeal

was filed January 18, 1989.

The appellant seeks a remand to the

United States Bankruptcy Court vacating

its final Order dismissing the Debtor's

Complaint to Determine Dischargeability

115

of a Debt and for a trial on the

merits.

STATUTES INVOLVED

In pertinent parts section

523(a)(1)(C) and 523(a)(7)(A) and (B)

of the United States Bankruptcy Code,

11 U.S.C. Section 523:

Section 523. Exceptions to discharge

(a) A discharge under section 727,

1141, 1228(a), 1228(b), or 1328(b) of

this title does not discharge an

individual debtor from any debt ---

(1) for a tax or a customs duty

* * *

(c) with respect to which

the debtor made a

fraudulent return or

willfully attempted in any

manner to evade or defeat

such tax;

116

a o %

(7) to the extent such debt is

for a fine, penalty, or

forfeiture payable to an- for

the benefit of a governmental

unit, and is not compensation

for actual pecuniary loss, other

than a tax penalty ---

(A) relating to a tax of a kind

not specified in paragraph (1)

of this subsection; or

(b) imposed with respect

to a transaction or event

that occurred before three

years before the date of

the filing of the petition;

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ,

On June 24, 1980, the defendant-

appellee, COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE (COMMISSIONER), sent the

117

plaintiff-appellant, THOMAS V. CASSIDY

(DEBTOR), a Notice of Deficiency in

Federal Income Taxes for the fiscal

years ending August 31, 1974 and August

31, 1975. (App. p.20). The

deficiencies were in the amounts of

$12,865.00 and $22,028.00,

respectively. The COMMISSIONER also

determined that some portion of the

underpayment was due to fraud, and

pursuant to Section 6653(b) of the

Internal Revenue Code, assessed civil

fraud penalties of $11,774.00 for 1974

and $11,014.00 for 1975 (App. p.20).

The DEBTOR filed a Petition with United

States Tax Court for redetermination of

his income tax liability. (App. p.11).

A Petition for Bankruptcy under

Chapter 7, 11 U.S.C. Section 701 et.

seq., was filed against the DEBTOR on

118

February 14, 1983. On December 22,

1983, the bankruptcy court entered an

order directing that objections to

discharge pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section

727(a) and complaints to determine

dischargeability of a debt pursuant to

11 U.S.C. Section 523(c) be filed by

March 12, 1984. (App. p.43). On March

13, 1984, a Discharge of Debtor Order

was entered by the bankruptcy court.

(App. p.5). Prior to discharge the

COMMISSIONER filed his claim and on

January 29, 1986, was allowed to

receive as a priority claimant a

distribution in the amount of $2,782.50

from the DEBTOR'S bankrupt estate.

(App. p.45).

One month after discharge, the

bankruptcy court lifted order the

automatic stay previously in effect in

119

the DEBTOR'S bankruptcy so that the

tax court proceedings could go forward.

In the tax court proceedings the

COMMISSIONER mailed to the DEBTOR a

Request for Admissions of Fact. The

DEBTOR did not respond within the

requisite time period and the

COMMISSIONER moved for summary judgment

based upon the matters deemed to be

admitted. (App. p.10-12). The tax

court found that the deemed admission

of fact in the Request to Admit

supported the deficiencies determined

by the COMMISSIONER, and granted the

Motion for Summary Judgment finding

that

We therefore find that the facts

deemed admitted under Rule 90(c) are

sufficient to satisfy respondent's

[COMMISSIONER'S] burden of proving that

120

some portion of the understatement of

income was due to fraud with the intent

to evade tax.

(App. p.18)

The DEBTOR appealed to this court

from the Order and Decision of the tax

court. The decision of the tax court

was affirmed in Cassidy v. C.I.R., 814

F.2s 477 (7th Cir. 1987) (attached to

Appendix beginning at p.19).

On November 17, 1987, the DEBTOR

filed in the United States Bankruptcy

Court, Central District of Illinois,

his Complaint to Determine

Dischargeability of Debt relating to

the deficiencies assessed by the

COMMISSIONER and redetermined by the

tax court for the tax periods ended

August 31, 1974, and August 31, 1975.

(App. p.2). The COMMISSIONER filed his

121

i ca Poesy iu bata

wy Loire om cae. Be —

vy

ie:

SS —

Motion to Dismiss the Complaint on the

basis that the issue of

dischargeability had already been

determined in the tax court proceedings

and subsequent review by this court.

The COMMISSIONER relied on the Doctrine

of Res Judicata in its Motion to

Dismiss. (App. p.7). On February 2,

1988, the bankruptcy court entered its

Order allowing the Motion to Dismiss

and an appeal followed to the United

States District Court, Central District

of Illinois. (App. p.25). The

District Court affirmed the bankruptcy

court with its judgment and Opinions on

December 20, 1988, relying principally

on the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

(App. p.28 and A. p.2). This appeal

followed.

122

ARGUMENT

I.

THE DECISION AND ORDER OF THE

TAX COURT HAS NO PRECLUSIVE

EFFECT IN THE BANKRUPTCY

DISCHARGE PROCEEDING

The bankruptcy court dismissed the

DEBTOR'S Complaint to Determine

Dischargeability of a Debt based on the

assertion that the question had been

adjudicated by the tax court in its

assessment proceeding the affirmed on

review by this court ‘nm Cassidy v.

Commissioner, 814 F.2d 477 (7th Cir.

1987), thus invoking the doctrine of

Res Judicata. (App. p.7). The

U.S.District Court affirmed relying on

the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

(App. p.28 and A. p.2).

123

It is to be emphasized that the

DEBTOR in bringing his Compla_nt to

Determine Dischargeability is not

attempting to relitigate the

COMMISSIONER'S assessment of the taxes

and penalties and redetermination by

the tax court and this court's review

of those proceedings. Rather, the

DEBTOR is merely seeking a hearing for

a determination of whether that

liability, as established, is

dischargeable under the Bankruptcy

Code.

The decision of the tax court and its

finding do not preclude litigation of

the issues raised in the DEBTOR'S

Complaint to Determine

Dischargeability.

The tax court proceeding is nothing

more than the determination of a

124

liability existing against a taxpayer.

The COMMISSIONER makes an assessment of

a tax deficiency, which is an

administrative determination of

liability. See generally Abel v.

Campbell, 334 F.2d 339, 342-43 (5th

Cir. 1964). The tax court is the forum

with limited jurisdiction to

redetermine the deficiency or liability

assessed. Graham v. Commissioner, 75

T.C. 389, 399 (1980).

Here the DEBTOR petitioned the tax

court for a redetermination of the

deficiencies assessed by the

COMMISSIONER. The tax court granted

the COMMISSIONER'S "Motion for Summary

Judgment .. . as to the deficiencies

and additions to tax for fraud in the

amounts stated." (App. p.18).

125

a

In order for res judicata to apply

there must be:

1. identity of the thing being sued

upon;

2. identity of the cause of action;

3. identity of persons and parties;

and

4. identity of capacity of a party

to sue or be sued.

In re Goodman, 25 B.R. 932, 938

(Bkrtcy. N.D. Ill. 1982).

Since res judicata requires an

identity of the cause of action, it is

also known as "claim preclusion."

Goodman, supra at 935. In this case

the doctrine of res judicata is not

applicable. There is no identity of

the cause of action. The tax court

merely assessed the deficiencies (or

established the liability) against the

126

DEBTOR. The bankruptcy proceeding was

brought to determine whether the

deficiencies (or liability) assessed

was dischargeable.

The distinct, but sometimes confused,

doctrine of collateral estoppel was

never raised by the COMMISSIONER to

support its Motion to Disuwiss in the

bankruptcy court. However, the U.S.

District Court relied on collateral

estoppel principles in affirming the

bankruptcy court.

The elements of collateral estoppel

are:

1. the issue sought to be precluded

must be the same issue as that involved

in the prior action;

2. the issue must have been actually

litigated;

127

3. the issue must have been

determined by a valid and final

judgment; and

4. the determination must have been

essential to the final judgment.

In re Goodman, 25 B.R. 932, 939

(Bkrtcy, N.D. Ill. 1982). Since

collateral estoppel focuses on issues,

rather than the cause of action, it is

also know as "issue preclusion."

Goodman, supra, at 935.

A.

The Doctrine of Res Judicata Does

Not Apply to the Bankruptcy

Court Discharge Proceeding.

Res Judicata requires an identity of

the cause of action. The "cause of

action" in the tax court to redetermine

an assessnent of tax deficiencies is

not identical to the bankruptcy court's

128

determination of whether the

deficiencies assessed are

dischargeable.

Since it was the intent of Congress

to have the bankruptcy court adjudicate

the dischargeability of a debt res

judicata has no application,

notwithstanding the nature of the tax

court proceeding. In_re Goodman, 25

B.R. 932 (Bkrpty. N.D. Ill. 1982), the

bankruptcy court considered whether a

California default judgment based on

fraud was dischargeable. The

plaintiff/creditor argued that since

Section 523(a)(2)(A) of the Bankruptcy

Code renders a debt based on fraud

nondischargeable, the debt based on the

California judgment should be

nondischargeable and that principles of

res judicata and collateral estoppel

129

should be applies. Goodman, supra at

934. The court held that neither res

judicata nor collateral estoppel

applies. In resolving the issue of

whether the doctrine of res judicata

should apply the court stated:

The United States Supreme

Court, in Brown v. Felson, 442 U.S.

127, 99 S.Ct. 2205, 60 L.Ed.2d 767

(1979), addressed the issue of whether

res judicata applied to a

dischargeability proceeding in the

"bankruptcy court under Section 17 of

the prior Bankruptcy Act. In resolving

a conflict among the circuits the Court

held that res judicata did not apply

and that the bankruptcy court is not

confined to a review of the judgment

and record in the prior state court

proceeding when considering the

130

dischargeability of respondent's debt.'

Id. at 138-39, 99 S.Ct. at 2212-13.

The Court reasoned that Congress

intended for the bankruptcy court to

resolve dischargeability issues and

that by limiting the application of res

judicata, the bankruptcy court would be

able to weigh all the evidence and

accurately determine whether the debtor

did in fact commit deceit, fraud, or

malicious conversion. Id. at 138, 99

S.Ct. at 2212.

Although Brown involved Section 17 of

the prior Bankruptcy Act, Brown's

rationale has been universally applied

to dischargeability proceedings under

Section 523 of the Bankruptcy Code.

See e.g. In re Dohm, 10 B.R. 132

(Bkrtcy. N.D. Ill. 1981); In re

Spector, 22 B.R. 226 (Bkrtcy. N.D.N.Y.

131

1982); In re Supple, 14 B.R. 898

(Bkrtcy. D. Conn. 1981). Accordingly,

this court holds that res judicata

does not limit this court to the

California judgment and record in

determining the dischargeability of the

debt arising from the California

judgment.

Goodman supra at 938-39.

In this case, the bankruptcy court's

dismissal of the DEBTOR'S Complaint to

Determine Dischargeability of a Debt by

limiting itself to the decision in the

tax court under principles of res

judicata is err.

B.

None of the Elements of Collateral

Estoppel Exist.

1. The issues sought to be

precluded in the bankruptcy

132

court discharge proceeding is to

the same issue involved in the

tax court.

The COMMISSIONER based his Motion to

Dismiss on the proposition that under

Section 523(a)(1)(C) a debtor is not

discharged from a tax with respect to

which the debtor made a fraudulent

return or willfully attempted to evade

the tax, and the tax court (and this

court on review) already adjudicated

the issue. But the amount of the

deficiencies related to fraud involved

in the tax court are different than the

amount of those deficiencies sought to

be determined nondischargeable as a

result of fraud in the bankruptcy

court.

Section 523(a)(1)(C) provides ad

follows:

133

(a) A discharge under section 727,

1141, 1228(a), 1228(b), or

1328(b) of this title does not

discharge an individual debtor

from any debt -----

(1) for a tax or a customs duty-

* * *

(C) with respect to which

the debtor made a

fraudulent return or

willfully attempted in

any manner to evade or

defeat such tax.

Thus, the taxes that are

nondischargeable are only those related

to the fraud. If only a portion of the

tax deficiencies assessed against the

DEBTOR by the tax court are related to

fraud, then only that portion is

134

nondischargeable. The remainder of the

deficiencies would be discharged.

The tax court, in redetermining the

assessment against the DEBTOR never

addressed the issue of what portion of

the deficiencies was related to fraud.

Specifically, the tax court held

We therefore find that the facts

deemed admitted under Rule 90(c) are

sufficient to satisfy respondent's

burden of proving that some portion

of the understatement of income was

due to fraud with the intent to evade

tax. (emphasis added).

(App. p.18).

The tax court never considered the

issue of what portion of the

deficiencies was due to fraud. Such a

determination is not necessary when

imposing civil fraud penalties under

135

section 6653(b) of the Internal Revenue

Code. Section 6653(b)(2) states as

follows:

(2) DETERMINATION OF PORTION

ATTRIBUTABLE TO FRAUD.---- If the

Secretary establishes that any

portion of an underpayment is

attributable to fraud, the entire

underpayment shall be treated as

attributable to fraud, except with

respect to any portion of the

underpayment which the taxpayer

established is not attributable to

fraud.

If $1.00 of the underpayment assessed

against the DEBTOR was attributable to

fraud then the entire underpayment is

treated as attributable to fraud when

determining civil fraud penalties. The

only issue addressed by the tax court

136

chek tanta

7 ore

. Sete ie

Swe i Bice -

mt &

aed aaliae: - @

po Et

—_

was whether "some portion" of the

deficiencies assessed was due to fraud.

However, in the bankruptcy court

discharge proceeding the portion of the

underpayment attributable to fraud must

be ascertained. There is no

presumption that if $1.00 of the entire

debt under consideration is

attributable to_fraud, then the entire

debt is nondischargeable.

In determining whether a particular

debt falls within one of the exceptions

of Section 523 the statute should he

strictly construed against the

objecting creditor (COMMISSIONER) and

liberally in favor of the debtor. 3

Collier on Bankruptcy (15th Edition)

Par. 523.05A, p. 523.15. Accordingly,

under section 523(a)(1)(C), if only

"some portion" of a tax is found to be

137

attributable to fraud, then only "some

portion" of the entire debt is

nondischargeable. The remainder is

discharged.

The determination of what portion of

the tax deficiencies are related to

fraud was never made in the tax court.

It is an issue that must be addressed

in the bankruptcy court discharge

proceeding and accordingly, collateral

estoppel cannot apply.

Re The issue of fraud was never

actually litigated in the Tax

Court proceeding.

The second element necessary to

invoke the doctrine of collateral

estoppel is that the issue sought to be

precluded must have been actually

litigated in the prior proceeding. In

re Goodman, 25, B.R. 932, 939 Bkrtcy.

138

N.D.I11. 1982). The issue of whether

the underpayment of tax was due to

fraud was not actually litigated in the

tax court. Rather, the tax court

granted the COMMISSIONER'S Motion for

Summary Judgmert based solely on facts

recited in a request for admission that

were deemed admitted due to DEBTOR'S

failure to respond within 30 days of

service. (App.pp.16-17). The finding

of fraud was, in essence, determined by

a default.

In Goodman it was held that the

California judgment based on fraud

could not preclude litigation of the

fraud issue in the bankruptcy court

discharge proceeding because the

California judgment was obtained by

default. The court said

139

In the case at bar, the California

judgment was procured by default.

Consequently, the issues therein were

not actually litigated. Since the

second element of collateral estoppel

is not satisfied, this court holds

that it is not bound by the issues

decided in the California judgment

through the operation of collateral

estoppel. Thus, the issue of whether

the debt due to the plaintiff stems

from "actual fraud" by the debtor

must be reexamined by this court.

Accord In re Iannelli, 12 B.R. 561,

563 (Bkrtcy., S.D.N.Y. 1981) ("the

doctrine of collateral estoppel does

not bar relitigation by [the

bankruptcy court] of the issues

included in the default judgment").

Goodman, supra at 939

140

Likewise, in this case, since the

deemed factual admissions to support

the summary judgment were procured by

default in the tax court, the issue of

fraud has not been actually litigated.

3. Any fraud issue adjudicated by

the tax court was not determined

by a valid judgment as related

to issues of dischargeability.

Assuming arguendo, that the first and

second elements of collateral estoppel

exists, any issues relating to fraud

decided by the tax court is not a valid

judgment to be recognized by the

bankruptcy court in a discharge

proceeding. To be a valid judgement

for purposes of applying res judicata

or collateral estoppel principles the

prior adjudication must be from a court

of competent jurisdiction. See Local

141

1006 v. Wirf, 558 F.Supp. 230 (N.D.

Ill. 1982) affirmed 746 F.2d 1483 (7th

Cir. 1984). The tax court has no

subject matter jurisdiction to

determine issues of dischargeability.

The tax court is a tribunal of

limited jurisdiction. It is purely a

creature of statute and has only the

power given to it by Congress. In

establishing the tax court as an

administrative body Congress severely

limited its jurisdiction. Continental

Equities, Inc., v. C.I.R., 551 F.2d 74

(5th Cir. 1977); Smiths Estate v.

C.I.R., 638 F.2d 665 (3d Cir. 1981);

Handlehand v. C.I.R., 519 F.2d 127 (9th

Cir. 1975).

The bankruptcy court has original

jurisdiction to hear and determine

whether the claimed deficiencies are

142

*

<

&) :

dischargeable and, under the

circumstances of this case, that

court's original jurisdiction together

with the fact that the tax court is a

Constitutional Article I court with

narrowly circumscribed adjudicatory

power makes the jurisdiction of the

bankruptcy tribunal exclusive. [See

and compare: Northern Pipeline

Construction Co., v. Marathon Pipe Line

Co., 458 U.S. 50].

Footnote 3 of the tax court's Opinion

constitutes self recognition that it

lacked the power and jurisdiction to

independently construe the propositions

of the Bankruptcy Act and adjudicate

that these taxes and penalties had not

been discharged. It reads in relevant

part:

143

Moreover, the redetermination of an

income tax deficiency has "nothing to

do with collection of the tax nor any

similarity to an action for

collection of a debt * * *," Swanson

v. Commissioner, 65 T.C. 1180, 1184,

(1976). Accordingly, if there is any

question as to the collectability of

any income tax deficiencies, which we

doubt, that question is beyond the

jurisdiction of this Court. Graham

v. Commissioner, 75 T.C. 389, 399

(1980).

(App. p.12).

In Graham v. Commissioner, 75 T.C.

389 (1980), the tax court redetermined

deficiencies in taxes against the

taxpayer, but refused to decide whether

the deficiencies and additions to tax

were discharged in the taxpayer's

144

er eee EE

bankruptcy proceeding. The court held

as follows:

We turn next to petitioner's primary

contention that his Federal income

tax liability for 1972 and 1973 was

discharged on February 7, 1978, when

his Petition for voluntary bankruptcy

was granted. Respondent argues that

this Court does not have jurisdiction

to decide whether the income tax

deficiencies and additions to tax

were discharged in the bankruptcy

proceeding. We agree with the

respondent. The tax court has

limited jurisdiction and its powers

do not exceed those conferred by

statute. See Continental Equities

Inc. v. Commissioner, [77-1 USTC

9375], 551 F.2d 74, 79-80 (5th Cir.

1977); Transport Manufacturing &

145

Equipment Co. v. Commissioner, [70-2

USTC 9627], 434 F.2d 373, 381 (8th

Cir. 1970); Jefferson Loan Co. V.

Commissioner, [57-2 USTC 10, 034],

249 F.2d 364.366 (8th Cir. 1957);

Burns, Stix Friedman & Co. v.

‘

Commissioner, [Dec. 31,114], 57 1T.C.

392, 396 1971)]. The redetermination

of an income tax deficiency has

"nothing to do with collection of the

tax nor any similarity to an action

for collection of a debt, nor does it

involve any other rights and remedies

of the sort traditionally enforced in

action at law." Swanson v.

Commissioner, [Dec. 33,742], 65 T.C.

1180, 1184 (1976). And, in

exercising its jurisdiction to

redetermine deficiencies the tax

court cannot "allow or disallow a

146

claim against a debtors estate based

on a deficiency in taxes or to

discharge taxes as a bankruptcy court

might." Fotochrome, Inc. v.

Commissioner, [Dec. 31,311], 57 T.C.

842, 847 (1972) (emphasis added).

Graham, supra at 399.

In the case at bar, any adjudication

of fraud by the tax court as it might

relate to the bankruptcy court

discharge proceeding is beyond the tax

court's jurisdiction. Accordingly, the

tax court order and decision cannot be

a basis to preclude litigation of

dischargeability of the DEBTOR'S tax

deficiencies and additions thereto in

the bankruptcy court.

Le The Court of Appeals discussion

on review of the tax court

decision as it relates to

147

discharge was not essential to

its decision.

The final element of collateral

estoppel is that the determination of

an issue in a prior proceeding must

have been essential to the final

judgment. Any discussions or decisions

with respect to dischargeability of the

DEBTOR'S tax deficiencies, either in

the tax court Opinion or this court's

Opinion in Cassidy v. C.I.R., 814 F.2d

477 (7th Cir. 1987) are not essential

to the tax court's final judgment. The

tax court merely redetermines

deficiencies previously assessed by the

COMMISSIONER. This simply establishes

a liability notwithstanding any issues

relating to discharge in bankruptcy.

The DEBTOR introduced the issue of

dischargeability in the tax court.

148

However, this cannot confer on the tax

court subject matter jurisdiction to

decide it when such jurisdiction does

not otherwise exist. Moreover, the tax

court did not adjudicate the

dischargeability issue. It merely

stated that, notwithstanding the

underlying merits relating to

dischargeability, it was not a defense

and it had no jurisdiction to consider

it in an assessment proceeding. (App.

we 9282s

Nevertheless, this court states in

its Opinion on review of the tax court

proceeding that

Moreover, subsection 523(a)(7)(A)

mandates that fraud penalties are

nondischargeable if the underlying

tax with respect to which the penalty

was imposed is also nondischargeable.

149

S.Rep. No. 989 at 79, U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin.News 1976, p. 5864. Because

the taxpayer's deficiencies are

nondischargeable, his tax penalties

are similarly nondischargeable.

Thus, we find the taxpayer's

contention that his deficiencies and

penalties were discharged to be

without merit.

Cassidy v. C.I.R., 814 F.2d 477, 481

(7th Cir. 1987), (App. p. 23). To the

extent that this court referred to the

issue of dischargeability it is merely

dictum. General expressions that go

beyond the issues in a case, while

respected, should not control judgment

in subsequent suit. U.S. v. Zuskar,

237 F.2d 528 (7th Cir. 1956). This

court's review and affirmance of the

tax court did not need to consider

150

issues of dischargeability. The tax

court itself refused to decide issues

of dischargeability as being beyond its

subject matter jurisdiction.

In any event, while consideration of

the issue of dischargeability may have

been proper in the context it was

brought before this court (as a defense

to the tax court assessment proceeding)

it should not be a basis to deny the

DEBTOR a hearing on the issues raised

in the Complaint to Determine

Dischargeability.

Thus, while the language concerning

dischargeability of this court commands

respect, it does not concern an issue

essential to its decision. Absent such

an element, it does not constitute a

prior adjudication sufficient to invoke

the doctrine of collateral estoppel in

151

the bankruptcy court's discharge

proceeding.

II.

THE PENALTIES RELATED TO THE

ASSESSED TAX DEFICIENCIES

ARE DISCHARGEABLE AS A

MATTER OF LAW.

The assessment against the debtor as

determined by the COMMISSIONER, and as

redetermined by the tax court, included

civil fraud penalties of $11,774.00 for

1974 and $11,014.00 for 1975. (App. p.

11). The question of whether these

penalties are discharged as a matter of

law was never presented to or

adjudicated by the tax court. However,

this court in its review of the tax

court decision addressed the issue and

stated that "Section 523(a)(7)(A)

mandates that fraud penalties are

152

nondischargeable if the underlying tax

with respect to which the penalty was

imposed is also nondischargeable.

S.Rep. No. 989 at 79, U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 1976, p. 5864. Because the

taxpayer's deficiencies are

nondischargeable, his penalties are

similarly nondischargeable." Cassidy

ew. Goten., 814 ¥.24 477, (7th Cir.

1987). (App. p.23).

While this court addressed the issue

of the dischargeability of penalties

under section 523(a)(7)(A) neither it

nor the tax court considered whether

the penalties are dischargeable as a

matter of law under Section

523(a)(7)(B). This is an issue that

can and should be raised under the

Complaint to Determine Dischargeability

filed in the bankruptcy court.

153

Section 523(a)(7) provides in

relevant part:

523(a)(7)

(a) A discharge under section 727

does not discharge an individual

debtor from any debt -

(7) to the extent such debt is

fora... penalty .. . other

than a tax penalty -

(A) relating to a tax of a

kind not specified in

paragraph (1) of this

subsection; or

(B) imposed with respect to

a transaction or event that

occurred before three years

before the date of the

filing of the petition.

If the penalties come within either

of these exceptions they are

154

-~

dischargeable. In the well reasoned |

opinion of Roberts v. Internal Revenue

Service, Adv. No. 88-0188-C (Bkrpty.

N.D. Ok1. 1989) (included in the

Appendix to this brief at p. 16), the

bankruptcy court held that

This court believes that the argument

of the IRS and the cases which

support it are clearly wrong. The

IRS contends that because the

penalties in the instant case are not

dischargeable pursuant to subsection

(A) they are nondischargeable. This

is a nonsequitur. Just because

penalties are not dischargeable under

subsection (A) does not mean that

they cannot be dischargeable under

subsection (B). The two subsections

operate independent of each other.

The debtors need only prove that the

155

penalties in questions come under one

of the subsections to prevail There

is nothing in the Code to suggest

that if the taxes are not

dischargeable pursuant to subsection

(A) they cannot be dischargeable

pursuant to subsection (B).

In the instant case the penalties in

question clearly refer to

transactions or events that happened

more than three years prior to the

filing of the Petition and are

therefore covered by subsection (B)

and are dischargeable.

Likewise, in the case at bar, the

penalties in question clearly refer to

transactions or event (1974 & 1975)

that happened more than three years

prior to the filing of the Petition.

Accordingly, they are dischargeable in

156

bankruptcy as a matter of law under

section 523(a)(7)(B) and the bankruptcy

court should have the opportunity to

consider this issue when considering

the Complaint to Determine

Dischargeability.

III.

AS A MATTER OF POLICY AND JUDICIAL

ECONOMY, IN ADDITION TO THE LEGAL

AND FACTUAL CONSIDERATIONS, THE

COMMISSION IS ESTOPPED FROM

CLAIMING THE TAX LIABILITIES

NONDISCHARGEABLE AND/OR PREVENTING

THE BANKRUPTCY COURT FROM

DETERMINING THE ISSUE.

The COMMISSIONER filed his Proof of

Claim in the bankruptcy proceeding and

shared in the distribution of the

bankrupt estate. (App. pp. 45-56). At

no time did the COMMISSIONER object to

157

the debtor's discharge contrary to 11

U.S.C. Section 727(a) and (c)(1), nor

file his own Complaint to determine

dischargeability of the tax

liabilities, when a portion of the

COMMISSIONER'S Proof of Claim contained

allegations of fraud and deficiencies

for fraud. The record shows that the

COMMISSIONER never brought to the

attention of the bankruptcy trustee or

court its position that the subject tax

liabilities were nondischargeable. On

December 22, 1983, the bankruptcy court

ordered that objections to the

discharge of debtor pursuant to 11

U.S.C. Section 727(a) and Complaints to

determine dischargeability of a debt

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section 523(c) be

filed on or before March 12, 1984.

(App. pp. 43-44). Where the Proof of

158

Claim contained allegations of fraud,

the COMMISSIONER made no such filing.

On March 12, 1984, the bankruptcy court

entered its Order of Discharge,

discharging all debts, including taxes

over three years old. (App. p.5).

Notwithstanding its conduct before the

bankruptcy court, the COMMISSIONER

maintains that he is entitled to pursue

the DEBTOR'S post-discharge assets on

the basis that the tax liabilities were

never discharged.

The debtor acknowledges that section

727(a) and section 523(c) do not

directly mandate but allow and

encourage a creditor to file an

objection or a complaint to determine

dischargeability when the asserted

basis of nondischargeability is in

Section 523(2)(1)(C) and where fraud is

159

|

|

alleged. However, notwithstanding the

lack of a direct statutory mandate, the

overall purpose of the Bankruptcy Code

and the public policy related thereto

requires the COMMISSIONER to raise the

fraud issue before the bankruptcy court

prior to discharge and sharing in a

distribution of the estate. In this

case the COMMISSIONER was the only

creditor who participated in the

distribution of the bankrupt estate.

In Gwillim v. United States, 519 F.2d

407 (9th Cir. 1975), the court

condemned the practice of the IRS in

failing to file proofs of claim, and

thereby submit to the jurisdiction of

the bankruptcy court in order to permit

the court to adjudicate all issues

related to the tax liability. As

Suggested in Gwillim, it was the

160

apparent practice of the IRS to ignore

a bankruptcy proceeding, and then after

discharge proceed against the debtor's

post discharge assets claiming that the

bankruptcy court never adjudicated the

issue of dischargeability.

The Gwillim court rejected such a

practice stating that

This appeal presents the recurring

confrontation between the IRS and the

bankruptcy trustees which results

from the adamant refusal of the IRS

to present claims for or otherwise

prove unpaid items in bankruptcy

proceedings and the trustee's

statutory duty to expediently wind up

the Bankrupt's estate and be

discharged under a timely appropriate

order of closure. Such refusal and

non-action by IRS is apparently an

161

attempt to avoid the Bankruptcy

Court's determination of the

Bankrupt's federal tax lability and

indebtedness and the ultimate

discharge in bankruptcy of a

Bankrupt's eligible tax indebtedness

and we believe is directly opposed to.

the expressed language of section

35(a)(c), [now Section 523(c)] and

the policy flowing therefrom to allow

a Bankrupt to start over and to

enhance the individual's chances of

financially rehabilitating himself by

eliminating his old tax debt.

(citations omitted).

Gwillim, supra at 409. The Gwillim

court went on to state that

It is manifest to us that the purpose

of Congress in enacting section 35(c)

[now Section 523(c)] was to provide

162

both the Bankrupt and IRS with the

option to utilize the bankruptcy

court forum in which the effect of

the discharge of a federal tax

indebtedness could be definitively

determined and adjudicated ina

uniform fashion and to grant the

bankruptcy court jurisdiction for

that purpose. To conclude that the

above option in favor of the Bankrupt

could be utilized only if the IRS had

filed a claim for the unpaid tax

would distort and render meaningless

the clearly expressed congressional

language.

Gwillim, supra at 411012. This court

has adopted the reasoning of Gwillim

in Matter of Neavear, 674 F.2d 1291

(7th Cir. 1982) and McKenzie v. United

States, 536 F.2d 726 (7th Cir. 1976).

163

See also In re Durensky, 377 F.Supp.

798 (N.D.Tx. 1974).

The COMMISSIONER has amended its

practice of failing to file Proof of

Claims and otherwise appear before the

bankruptcy court to finally determine

all questions related to tax

liabilities of the debtor. Here, the

COMMISSIONER filed his Proof of Clain,

proved it up before the bankruptcy

court, and solely shared in a

distribution of 59% of the bankrupt

estate as a priority creditor. (App.

p. 45). However, at no time did the

COMMISSIONER indicate to the bankruptcy

court that it was his position that the

taxes would remain nondischargeable,

and subject the debtor's post discharge

assets to execution. The practice as

used in this case violates the intended

164

purpose of the Bankruptcy Code and

public policy related thereto as did

the prior practice.

The COMMISSIONER'S questionable

conduct allowed the bankruptcy court to

enter an Order of Discharge without

objection or raising the issue of

dischargeability. This clearly

frustrates the purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code to expediently wind up

the Bankrupt's estate and to be

discharged under a timely and

appropriate Order of closure. Like the

circumstances found in Gwillim, the

non-action by the COMMISSIONER is an

attempt to avoid the bankruptcy court's

determination of the bankrupt's federal

tax liability and indebtedness and the

ultimate discharge in bankruptcy of a

bankrupt's eligible tax indebtedness.

165

This is contrary to the intent of the

Bankruptcy Court in allowing the debtor

to start over and to enhance his

chances of financially rehabilitating

himself by eliminating old tax debts.

While the COMMISSIONER may argue -

the DEBTOR does not - the conduct of

the COMMISSIONER in the bankruptcy

proceeding below is not contrary to

direct statutory mandates, it clearly

frustrates the intended purpose of the

Bankruptcy Code, and public policy

found therein, and he is judicially and

collaterally now estopped from claiming

that the tax liabilities as assessed by

the tax court are nondischargeable, or

at least estopped equitably from

preventing the bankruptcy court the

opportunity to exercise its

jurisdictional function of determining

166

dischargeability of debts, especially

under circumstances when the tax court

has refused to recognize such

jurisdiction.

It is ironic that the COMMISSIONER

would argue that the bankruptcy court

is precluded from considering the

merits of the debtor's Complaint to

Determine Dischargeability under the

Doctrines of res judicata or

collateral estoppel. The primary

purpose of those doctrines is to

enhance judicial economy by preventing

relitigation of issues decided in prior

proceedings. However, the conduct of

the COMMISSIONER in the debtor's

bankruptcy proceeding was such that

frustrates the concept of judicial

economy. Had the COMMISSIONER brought

to the attention of the bankruptcy

167

court that it was his position that the

subject tax liabilities were

nondischargeable, the issue could have

been adjudicated at the time that he

presented his proof of claim and shared

in the distribution of the bankrupt

estate. However, by failing to bring

the issue before the bankruptcy court,

it was not resolved at a time when all

relevant matters were or could have

been brought before the court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and for

others implicit therein, the plaintiff-

appellant prays that this court find

and enter judgment that the subject tax

liabilities are dischargeable and

discharged. In the alternative, he

prays that the judgment of the

bankruptcy court be reversed and the

168

case remanded for an appropriate trial

on the merits.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

Timothy J. Cassidy

CASSIDY & MUELLER

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, IL 61602

Telephone: 309/676-0591

Attorneys for plaintiff-

appellant

169

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 89-1121

IN RE

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, Appeal

from the

United

States

District

Court,

)

)

)

)

Debtor.

)

)

Central

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

District

of

Illinois

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vs.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE,

Defendant-Appellee.

APPENDIX TO

APPELLANT'S BRIEF

Timothy J. Cassidy

CASSIDY & MULLER

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, IL 61602

Telephone: 309/676-0591

170

Attorneys for plaintiff-

appellant

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

IN RE: Case No. 183-00222

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Debtor.

Adv. No.

87/8250

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Plaintiff

Vs.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

REVENUE,

)

Defendant

COMPLAINT TO DETERMINE

DISCHARGEABILITY OF A DEBT

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, the plaintiff, by

his attorneys, CASSIDY & MULLER, for

his Complaint against Commissioner of

Internal Revenue to Determine

Dischargeability of a Debt, states as

follows:

171

1. This proceeding is brought

pursuant to United States Bankruptcy

Rule 4007.

2. The plaintiff, THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

filed his petition herein commencing a

case under title 11, United States Code

on February 14, 1983, and an order for

relief was entered under chapter 7.

3. On March 13, 1984, this court

entered an order of Discharge of

Debtor, wherein the plaintiff was

released from all dischargeable debts.

A copy of the Order of Discharge is

attached and made a part hereof as

Exhibit "A",

4. On page 2 of schedule A-3 of

plaintiffs petition filed herein, debts

due Internal Revenue Service for income

taxes due more than three (3) years

172

before February 14, 1983, were duly

scheduled.

5. On or about August 17, 1987, the

defendant prepared and caused to be

filed a "Notice of Federal Tax Lien

under Internal Revenue Laws." The lien

filing relates to a claim for federal

income taxes for the tax period ending

August 31, 1974 and August 31, 1975,

and states as follows:

As provided by section 6321, 6322,

and 6323 of the Internal Revenue

Code, notice is given that taxes

(including interest and penalties)

have been assessed against the

following-named taxpayer. Demand for

payment of this liability has been

made, but it remains unpaid.

4

Therefore, there is a lien in favor

of the United States on all property

173

——————

and rights to property belonging to

this taxpayer for the amount of these

taxes, and additional penalties,

interest, and costs that may accrue.

A copy of the "Notice of Federal Tax

Lien" is attached and made a part

hereof as Exhibit "B".

6. The income taxes assessed for the

periods ended August 31, 1974 and

August 31, 1975, which the defendant

claims as a liability against plaintiff

and demands payment, is and has been

discharged under chapter 7 of the

Bankruptcy Act.

7. The order of Discharge of Debtor

entered on March 13, 1984, provides

that

.All creditors whose debts are

discharged by this order and all

creditors whose judgments are

174

declared null and void by paragraph 2

above be and they hereby are enjoined

from commencing, continuing or

employing any action process or act

to collect, recover or offset any

such debt as a personal liability of

the debtor, or from property of the

debtor, whether or not discharge of

such debt is waived.

The acts of the defendant, a creditor

as of February 14; 1983, described

above, and all other acts to collect,

recover or offset the assessed income

taxes as a personal liability of the

plaintiff or from property of the

debtor should be enjoined.

WHEREFORE, the plaintiff, THOMAS V.

CASSIDY, prays for an order whereby

a. the federal income taxes assessed

for the tex periods ended August 31,

175

narneeeeme re

1974 and August 31, 1975, and related

penalties, interests and costs be

declared and specifically recognized

as a dischargeable debt under the

March 13, 1984 order of Dischurged of

Debtor, entered in Case No. 183-

00222, United States Bankruptcy

Court, Central District of Illinois;

b. the defendant be forever enjoined

from commencing, continuing or

employing any action, process or act

to collect, recover or offset the

debt of federal income taxes assessed

for the tax periods ended August 31,

1974 and August 31, 1975, as a

personal liability of THOMAS V.

CASSIDY, or from property of THOMAS

V. CASSIDY;

c. the defendant be temporarily

enjoined or stayed from commencing,

176

continuing or employing any action,

process or liability of the

plaintiff, or from property of the

plaintiff, until such time that the

dischargeability of the described

income taxes is finally determined;

and

d. for such other relief as is

deemed just.

CASSIDY & MULLER

By:

Attorneys for the plaintiff,

THOMAS V. CASSIDY

Timothy J. Cassidy

CASSIDY & MULLER

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peotia, IL 61602

Telephone: 309/676-0591

177

'

¥ 7

f

i : if

. w

‘

o

ee

UNITED STATES

BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT

OF ILLINOIS

IN RE

CASSIDY, Thomas V. SS# 322-26-5280

5813 N. Imperial Drive Case No.

Peoria, Il 61602 183-00222

Debtor*

DISCHARGE OF DEBTOR

It appearing that the person named

above has filed a petition commencing a

case under title 11, United States Code

on the 14th day of February, 1983, that

an order for relief was entered under

chapter 7 and that no complaint

objecting to the discharge of the

debtor was filed within the time fixed

by the court [or that a complaint

objecting to discharge of the debtor

178

o

i .

a

was filed and, after due notice and

hearing, was not sustained], it is

ordered that

1. The above-named debtor be and he

[or she] hereby is released from all

dischargeable debts.

2. Any judgment heretofore or

hereafter obtained in any court other

than this court be and it hereby is

null and void as a determination of

the personal liability of the debtor

with respect to any of the following:

(a) debts dischargeable under 11

U.S.C. Section 523;

(b) unless heretofore or hereafter

determined by order of this court to

be nondischargeable, debts alleged to

be excepted from the discharge under

clauses (2), (4) and (6) of 11 U.S.C.

Section 523.

+99

3. All creditors who debts are

discharged by this order and all

creditors whose judgments are

declared null and void by paragraph 2

above be and they hereby are enjoined

from commencing, continuing or

employing any action, process or act

to collect, recover or offset any

such debt as a personal liability of

the debtor, or from property of the

debtor, whether or not discharge of

such debt is waived.

Dated: March 13, 1984

BY THE COURT

Bankruptcy Judge

180

EXHIBIT "A"

181

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

IN RE: ) Case No. )

183-00222

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Debtor.

Adv.

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Plaintiff

vs.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE,

ee, ee ee ee ee ee ee ae

No.

87-8250

182

Defendant )

MOTION TO DISMISS COMPLAINT

TO DETERMINE DISCHARGEABILITY OF A DEBT

COMES NOW the United States of

America, by its attorney, J. Willian

Roberts, United States Attorney for the

Central District of Illinois, on behalf

of its agency, the Internal Revenue

Service, and moves that this adversary

proceeding be dismissed, pursuant to

the Doctrine of Res Judicata, and in

support thereof, states as follows:

1. The taxes which are in

controversy are the same taxes which

were addressed by the United States

Court of Appeals in Cassidy v.

Commissioner, 814 F.2d 477 (7th Cir.

1987).

2. The Court of Appeals stated:

183

A. Dischargeability of the

Deficiencies and Penalties

The taxpayer first argues that his

tax liabilities and fraud penalties

were discharged in chapter 7

bankruptcy proceeding.

Because the taxpayer's deficiencies

here resulted from fraud, subsection

523(a)(1)(C) renders them

nondischargeable. As the legislative

history of this section makes clear,

the "date of the taxable year with

regard to which the fraud occurred is

immaterial".

814 F.2d at 480 (emphasis from original

text).

3. The debtor has not applied for,

or obtained, a Writ of Certiorari from

the United States Supreme Court, for

184

=,

on

™

4

a <

ec,

——- ~

ie Vs ae

the purpose of obtaining review of the

opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals.

WHEREFORE, it is prayed that his

motion be granted, and for such other

relief as is just and appropriate.

Respectfully submitted,

J. WILLIAM ROBERTS

UNITED STATES ATTORNEY

BY:

L. LEE SMITH

Assistant United States

Attorney

BY:

DAVID R. REID

Special Assistant United States

Attorney

Room 720

320 West Washington

Springfield, Illinois 62701

Telephone: (217) 492-4540

(FTS) 955-4540

185

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

It is hereby certified that a copy of

the foregoing Motion to Dismiss

Complaint to Determine Dischargeability

of a Debt, has this 11th day of

December, 1987, been made upon the

following individual by depositing a

copy thereof in the United States mail,

postage pre-paid, addressed to:

Cassidy & Mueller

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, Illinosi 61602

David R. Reid

Special Assistant United

States Attorney

186

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

ORDER FOR MEETING OF CREDITORS AND

FIXING TIMES FOR FILING OBJECTIONS TO

DISCHARGE AND FOR FILING COMPLAINTS TO

DETERMINE DISCHARGEABILITY OF CERTAIN

DEBTS AND FOR FILING NOTIFICATION

AGREEMENTS AND FOR FILING MOTIONS FOR

APPROVAL OF REAFFIRMATIONS AND FOR

FILING WRITTEN OBJECTIONS TO

ABANDONMENT, COMBINED WITH NOTICE

THEREOF AND OF AUTOMATIC STAY

TO THE DEBTOR(S), HIS CREDITORS, AND

OTHER PARTIES IN INTEREST: AN ORDER FOR

RELIEF UNDER 11 U.S.C. CHAPTER 7 HAVING

BEEN ENTERED ON A PETITION RILED BY THE

DEBTOR(S) NAMED BELOW, TO WIT:

CASE NO. 183-00222

DATE PET. FLD 02/14/83

RELIEF ORDERED: 12/02/83

187

DEBTOR(S) CASSIDY, THOMAS V.

5813 N. IMPERIAL DRIVE

PEORIA, ILLINOIS 61602

(SS#) 322-26-5280

(W-SS#)

(EID)

ATTY: GARY T. RAFOOL, 800 FIRST NTL BK

BLD., PEORIA, ILLINOIS 61602

(Phone 309/673/5535)

INTERIM TRUSTEE: WM. H. CHRISTISON, 700

1ST Nt Bk Bldg.,

Peoria Il 61602 (Phone

309/674-8125)

IT IS ORDERED, and notice is hereby

given, that:

1. A meeting of creditors of said

debtor(s) pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section

341(a) SHALL BE HELD AT THIRD FLOOR,

ROOM 329 FEDERAL BUILDING, 100 N.E.

MONROE, PEORIA ILLINOIS on January 12,

1984 at 3:30 o'clock P.M., AT WHICH

TIME DEBTOR(S) SHALL APPEAR IN PERSON

FOR THE PURPOSE OF BEING EXAMINED.

188

* MARCH 12, 1984 is fixed as the LAST

DAY FOR FILING DOCUMENTS REFERRED TO

IN PARAGRAPHS 2, 3, AND 4 BELOW:

"mA Objections to the discharge of

debtor(s) pursuant to 11 U.S.C.

Section 727(a).

73 A Complaint to determine

dischargeability of a debt

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section-

523(c).

*4 Motions for approval of

Reaffirmations pursuant to 11

U.S.C. Section 524(d) and

Reaffirmation Agreements

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section

524c(1).

CREDITORS WISHING TO OBJECT TO THE

ABANDONMENT OF ANY SCHEDULED PROPERTY

MUST FILE A WRITTEN OBJECTION WITH THE

CLERK WITHIN 15 DAYS FROM THE DATE OF

189

THE SECTION 341(a) MEETING OF

CREDITORS. IF NO OBJECTIONS ARE FILED

THE TRUSTEE MAY FILE WITH THE CLERK AN

ABANDONMENT OF SUCH PROPERTY AS HE

DEEMS APPROPRIATE IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES,

AND UPON THE FILING OF SUCH

ABANDONMENT, THE PROPERTY SHALL BE

DEEMED TO HAVE BEEN ABANDONED.

HMHHKHHHHAKH HH

THIS NOTICE CONTINUED ON THE REVERSE

SIDE

YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that:

The meeting may be continued or

adjourned from time to time by notice

at the meeting, without further written

notice to creditors.

At the meeting the creditors may file

their claims, elect a trustee as

permitted by law, elect a committee of

creditors, examine the debtor, and

190

EE

transact such other business as may

properly come before the meeting.

AS A RESULT OF THE FILING OF THE

PETITION, CERTAIN ACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

AGAINST THE DEBTOR AND HIS PROPERTY ARE

STAYED AS PROVIDED IN 11 U.S.C. Section

362(a).

If no objection to the discharge of

the debtor(s) is filed on or before the

last day fixed therefor as stated in

subparagraph 2 above, debtor(s) will be

granted his discharge. If no complaint

to determine dischargeability of a debt

under (2), (4) or (6) of 11 U.S.C.

Section 523(a) is filed within the time

fixed therefor as stated in

subparagraph 3 above, the debt may be

discharged.

IT APPEARS FROM THE SCHEDULES OF THE

DEBTOR THAT THERE ARE NO ASSETS FROM

191

7

:

¥

— s1

a

*

as

ad

y

4

eo >

a

ie

=

>

.

ee ee eS ee tne Ee,

WHICH ANY DIVIDEND CAN BE PAID TO

CREDITORS. IT IS UNNECESSARY FOR ANY

CREDITOR TO FILE HIS CLAIM AT THIS TIME

IN ORDER TO SHARE IN ANY DISTRIBUTION

FROM THE ESTATE. IF IT SUBSEQUENTLY

APPEARS THAT THERE ARE ASSETS FROM

WHICH A DIVIDEND MAY BE PAID, CREDITORS

WILL BE SO NOTIFIED AND GIVEN AN

OPPORTUNITY TO FILE THEIR CLAIMS.

UNLESS THE COURT EXTENDS THE TIME,

ANY OBJECTION TO DEBTOR'S CLAIM OF

EXEMPT PROPERTY (SCHEDULE B4) MUST BE

FILED WITHIN 30 DAYS AFTER THE

CONCLUSION OF THE MEETING OF CREDITORS.

ALL PERSONS ARE ENJOINED FROM

CONTACTING DEBTOR(S) WITHOUT FIRST

OBTAINING LEAVE OF COURT OR THE CONSENT

OF HIS ATTORNEY.

DATED: DECEMBER 22, 1983

BY THE COURT

192

MAX J. LIPKIN

BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

INQUIRIES to the Court or to the

Trustee as to status or administration

of a case and REQUESTS for copies or

information from schedules MUST BE BY

MAIL AND ACCOMPANIED BY A STAMPED SELF-

ADDRESSED ENVELOPE. ADVANCED PAYMENT

by check or money order (NO PERSONAL

CHECKS) made payable to CLERK, U.S.

BANKRUPTCY COURT must be received.

Copies are $.50 each page,

certification of a document is $2.00

each document, a search of the file is

$2.00 each name or each item searched.

PLEASE DIRECT YOUR MAIL TO:

CLERK, U.S. BANKRUPTCY COURT

ROOM 333 FEDERAL BUILDING

100 N.E. MONROE ST.

PEORIA IL 61602

193

(309) 671-7035

A TRUE COPY

ATTEST:

LILLIAN KENNEDY, Clerk

U.S. Bankruptcy Court Central District

of IL

Date: September 28, 1984

By: Patricia A. Keith, Deputy Clerk

194

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

In re )

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, ) Bankruptcy No.

) 183-00222

Debtor. )

DISTRIBUTION ORDER

TO WILLIAM H. CHRISTISON, TRUSTEE:

This matter coming on for hearing

upon the Trustee's final report filed

herein on December 12, 1985, pursuant

to notice of final meeting of

creditors, fixing said hearing on the

24th day of January, 1986; and

This Court having heard the

application of the Attorney for the

Trustee and having heard evidence and

arguments of re and

It appearing unto the Court that you

have previously disbursed the sum of

195

$215.00 and that you now have on hand

the sum of $4,535.00;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that all costs

of administration shall be paid in

full; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that priority

tax claimant, Internal Revenue Service,

shall receive a .033108 dividend with

the balance of said funds.

PAYMENT AS FOLLOWS

COSTS OF ADMINISTRATION

CLERK, U.S. BANKRUPTCY COURT

Trustee's copies..... .«..+$3.00

Trustee's certification...$2.00

TUCesu 2 Guise ccweek een ry a ee $5.00

WILLIAM H. CHRISTISON

Attorney at Law

700 First Nat'l Bank Bldg.

Peoria, Il 61602

Trustee's £00 cccccsossesss $ 322.50

Attorney for Trustee fee...$1,425.00

CLAIM NO. PRIORITY TAX CLAIMANT

7 INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE

P.O. Box 1856

Springfield, IL 62705

$84,043.12 filed and

196

allowed ......$2,782.50

After making the above payments you

will have disbursed the full sum of

$4,750.00 realized by you from the

assets of said bankrupt estate.

Upon receipt of all cancelled checks

and statements from the above account,

this estate will be closed and you will

be discharged as Trustee.

ENTERED at Peoria, Illinois, this 29th

day of January, 1986.

WILLIAM V. ALTENBERGER

U.S. Bankruptcy Judge

197

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE,

No. 89-1121

IN RE ;

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, ) Appeal

) from the

Debtor. ) United

) States

) District

THOMAS V., CASSIDY, ) Court,

) Central

Plaintiff-Appeliant, ) District

y of

vs. Illinois

)

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellee.

SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S BRIEF:

SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S APPENDIX

TO ERIEF:

CORRECTIONS

and

ADDITIONS

198

Attorney for Plaintiff-Appellant:

Timothy J. Cassidy, Esq.

CASSIDY & MUELLER

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, Illinois 61602

309/676-0591

199

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL

REVENUE,

No. 89-1121

IN RE

THOMAS V, CASSIDY, ) Appeal

) from the

Debtor. ) United

) States

) District

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, ) Court,

) Central

Plaintiff-Appellant, ) District

) of

VS. ) Illinois

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellee.

SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S BRIEF:

SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S APPENDIX

TO BRIEF;

CORRECTIONS

and

ADDITIONS

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, Plaintirf-

Appellant, pro se per CERTIFICATE OF

INTEREST, and with his attorney TIMOTHY

200

J. CASSIDY, does hereby supplement

Appellant's Brief and Appellant's

Appendix To Brief heretofore timely and

duly filed with the clerk of this Court

by the following designated corrections

and additions thereto, which at the

time made and omitted were inadvertent:

CORRECTIONS:

1. Paragraph II. under "Argument"

appearing on "TABLE OF CONTENTS" page

of Appellant's Brief:

now reads:

Il. THE PENALTIES RELATED TO THE

ASSESSED TAX DEFICIENCY ARE

NONDISCHARGEABLE AS A MATTER OF LAW.

should read:

Il. THE PENALTIES RELATED TO THE

ASSESSED TAX DEFICIENCIES ARE

DISCHARGEABLE AS A MATTER OF LAW.

So supplemented by correction.

201

ADDITIONS:

1. At the conclusion of the list of

TABLE OF CASES appearing on the INDEX

IO CITATIONS page of Appellant's Brief

and at the end of the case authorities

cited at the conclusion top of page

<3's incomplete paragraph there should

be included: Zook v. United States, 541

F.2d 220 (9th Cir. 1976).

So supplemented by addition.

2. At the conclusion of the list of

STATUTES appearing on the INDEX TO

CITATIONS page of Appellant's Brief and

at the end of the statutory authorities

there cited should appear:

11 U.S.C. sec{s] 523 (c) 22

11 U.S.C. sec[s] 727 (a) and

(ce) (1) 20

So supplemented by addition.

a a I aia in

ne. son _o

be aad ;

inn ne a ao

|

3. At the conclusion of the list of

STATUTES INVOLVED appearing on the

STATUTES INVOLVED page 4 of Appellant's

Srief and at the end of the statutory

authorities there cited should appear:

"In pertinent parts sections 523 (c)

and sections 727 (a) and (c)(1) of the

United States Bankruptcy Code, 11

U.S.C. are as follows:

Section 523 (c):

(c) Except as provided in subsection

(a)(3)(B) of this section, the debtor

Shall be discharged from a debt of a

kind specified in paragraph (2) (4)

or (6) of subsection (a) of this

section, unless, on request of the

creditor to whom such debt is owed,

and after notice and hearing, the

court determines such debt to be

excepted from discharge under

203

paragraph (2), (4), or (6), as the

case may be, of subsection (a) of

this section. [Emphasis supplied.]

Sections 727 (a) and (c)(1):

DISCHARGE

(a) The court shall grant the debtor

a discharge, unless --

(4) (A) the debtor knowingly and

fraudulently, ... in connection with

the case -- made a false oath or

account;

(¢)(4) «36 + @ ereditor may object

this section."

So supplemented by addition.

4. Immediately follow page 5 of

appellant's Appendix To Brief, which is

the DISCHARGE OF DEBTOR Order dated

March 13, 1984, per Honorable Max J.

Lipkin, Bankruptcy Judge of the United

204

States Bankruptcy Court for the Central.

District of Illinois there is here now

included the affidavit of Plaintiff-

Appellant, THOMAS V. CASSIDY, dated

February 27, 1989, designated App. 5(a)

and 5(b), and attached hereto, and the

memorandum Order to DISCHARGE OF DEBTOR

Order dated March 13, 1984, per

Honorable Max J. Lipkin, Bankruptcy

Judge of the United States Bankruptcy

Court for the Central District of

illinois designated App. 5(c) and 5(d),

and attached hereto.

So supplemented by addition.

Respectfully Submitted,

Thomas V. Cassidy

Plaintiff-Appellant, pro se per

Certificate of Interest,

and with

ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

Timothy J. Cassidy, Esq.

1510 Savings Center Tower

eoria, Illinois 61602

309/676-0591

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

THOMAS V. CASSIDY hereby certifies

that he has served a true and correct

copy of the foregoing together with

attachments hereto upon the attorneys

of record herein for Defendant-Appellee

at their published address per Federal

Express Courier, paid by sender this

7th day of March 1989.

Thomas V. Cassidy,

so certifies.

ATTORNEY FOR:

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

Timothy J. Cassidy, Esq.

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, Illinois 61602

309/676-0591

STATE OF GEORGIA

COUNTY OF FULTON

AFFIDAVIT

(Herein designated App.5(a)and 5(b))

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, APPELLANT-

PLAINTIFF herein and pro se with

counsel, TIMOTHY J. CASSIDY, Attorney

at law, being é¢ lawful age deposes and

states upon his oath: that the attached

two [2] page Memorandum Order to Order

of Discharge and signed by the

Honorable Max J. Lipkin, United States

Bankruptcy Judge for the Central

District of Illinois [herein designated

"App. 5(c) and 5(d)"] was received by

him through the United States mail at

his then home in Peoria, Illinois from

the Clerk of the United States

Bankruptcy Court for the Central

District of Illinois, and that at all

207

times then and thereafter affiant

materially relied upon such Memorandum

Order from the Honorable Max J. Lipkin,

United States Bankruptcy Judge for the

Central District of Iilinois, and which

Memorandum Order provides in relevant

and material part as follows:

"Along with this memorandun you have

been mailed your discharge.

2. You are ONLY released from income

taxes for those taxable years ending

more than three (3) years before the

date you filed your Petition in the

Court.

6. You ARE released for debts with

respect to claims based on alleged

false financial statements eees Unless

y UNLESS

a_complaint with respect to such clain

was filed in this Court, within the

time allowed. If the case is decided

208

against you, you are NOT discharged for

that debt.

7. You ARE also relieved from

liability for debts, with respect to

Claims based on fraud eee, Unless a

complaint with respect to such a claim

was filed in this Court, within the

time allowed.

13. Keep this Memorandum where you

can refer to it from time to time as

the need arises."

we > y

2. T ea le 3

mak Vs Lipkin

United States

Bankruptcy Judge

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NOT.

THOMAS V. CASSIDY

Affiant.

209

Subscribed and sword to before me this

27th day of February, 1989.

SEAL

NOTARY PUBLIC

210

MEMORANDUM

Along with this Memorandum you have

been mailed your discharge.

It is my responsibility to advise you

as to the effect of your discharge.

1. A "DISCHARGE" means you are

released from most, but not all, of the

debts which you owed at the time of

filing your Petition in this Court.

However, as I have indicated, there

are certain debts from which you are

not released.

2. You are ONLY released from income

taxes for those taxable years ending

more than 3 years before the date you

filed your Petition in this Court.

3. You are NOT released from

property taxes on real estate which you

still own. You ARE released from such

taxes on real estate you no ionger own,

211

7 paar oon Oi ———— —e= +d a

A ces Fh ee a

if the taxes were assessed before you

filed your Petition and said taxes were

payable, without penalty, one year or

more before the date of filing your

Petition.

4. You are NOT released from any

debt to any governmental or nonprofit

institution of higher learning, for an

educational loan, if the repayment

became due within 5 years of the filing

of your Petition.

5+ You are NOT released from

liability of (1) debts not listed, or

(2) amounts due for alimony or child

support, or (3) from fines and

penalties.

6. You ARE released from debts with

respect to claims based on alleged

false financial statements and willful

and malicious injury caused to another

ra

as

person, or his property, unless a

complaint with respect to such claim

was filed in this Court, within the

time allowed. If the case is decided

against you, you are NOT discharged for

that debt.

7. You ARE also relieved from

liability for debts with respect to

claims base don fraud, embezzlement, or

larceny, unless a complaint with

respect to such claim was filed in this

Court, within the time allowed. If the

case is decided against you, you are

NOT aischarged from that debt.

This does NOT relieve you of any

criminal liability in connection with

these matters.

8. If you have entered into a

security agreement with respect to, or

given a mortgage on any property,

213

either personal or real, you are

released from the debt, but your

property is not released from the lien,

and the creditor is entitled to the

return of the property.

9. Your discharge does not release a

co-debtor or co-signer of liability for

the debt.

10. If property has been retained by

you because it is exempt, it may not be

exempt with respect to debts incurred

after your discharge. Ae to such

debts, the Exemption Laws of Illinois,

at the time, or any other state where

you may reside, at the time, will

apply.

11. If you are sued on any debt

discharged in your case you must appear

and defend yourself, otherwise a

Judgment will be entered against you.

214

See your lawyer, or see a lawyer,

make sure that the judge in that case

is advised that the debt has been

discharged.

If you neglect taking this action and

a judgment is entered against you, it

will be very expensive to have the

judgment set aside.

12. If a creditor or collection

agency attempts to collect a debt which

has been discharged be sure to remind

them of the Bankruptcy. DO NOT make

any payments to them. It is advisable

to notify them in writing, keeping a

copy of the letter.

13. Keep this Memorandum where you

can refer to it from time to time as

the need arises.

U.S. BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

March 30, 1989.

Before

Hon. WILLIAM. J. BAUER, Chief Judge

IN THE MATTER OF:

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, Appeal from

Debtor-Appellant the United

States

District

NO. 89-1121 vs. Court for

the Central

COMMISSIONER OF I.R.S. District of

Appellee-Plaintiff Illinois,

Peoria

Division No.

88 C 1108

Judge

Michael M.

Mihm

This matter comes before the court

for its consideration of the "MOTION TO

FILE SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S BRIEF

AND SUPPLEMENT TO APPELLANT'S APPENDIX

TO BRIEF" filed herein on March 13,

1989.

On consideration thereof,

IT IS ORDERED that the unopposed

motion is GRANTED. The clerk of this

court is directed to return appellant's

brief in order for the corrections

noted in this motion to be made. The

corrected briefs must be returned to

the clerk of this court by April 10,

1989.

Thomas V. Cassidy

2648 Sharondale Circle N.E.

Atlanta, GA 30305

89-1121

217

EE

Thomas V. Cassidy

Attorney At Law

Illinois licensed

United States Federal Courts

2648 Sharondale Circle, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30305

(404) 237-0494

September 20, 1989

Clerk Thomas F. Strubbe

United States Court of Appeals

Clerk of the Court

Room 2722, Dirksen Federal Bldg.

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

RE: Appellant's Supplemental

Citations.

THOMAS V. CASSIDY

Debtor - Appellant

No. 89-1121

Dear Mr. Strubbe:

218

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate

Procedure 28(j) and Seventh Circuit

Court of Appeals Rule 28(i) I herewith

enclose for filing and the attention of

the Court original and ten [10] copies

of Appellant's Citation of Supplemental

Authorities with attached exhibits,

together with Certificate of Service of

same upon all attorneys of record

herein. Thank you.

SUPPLEMENTAL CITATIONS OF APPELLANT

AUTHORITY CITED "an

Roberts v. Internal Revenue Service,

94 B.R.707. Bky. No. 88-01681-C, Adv.

No. 88-0188-C, U.S. Dist. Ct., Northern

District of Oklahoma [Opinion filed:

June 26, 1989], 887 F.2d-1541 (1989).

PRESCRIPT OF CASE HOLDING

AND REASON AND PROPOSITION

THE AUTHORITY SUPPORTS

219

Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. 523(a)(7)(B),

as read with 11 U.S.C., sec.

507(a)(7)(A) (i), penalties on taxes in

the Roberts case and this instant case

all of which were over three (3) years

old at the time the petition for relief

was filed are dischargeable and

discharged.

REFERENCE TO THE PAGE OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF AND/OR APPELLANTS REPLY BRIEF

TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief pages(s): 19 and

20.

2. Appellant's Reply Brief page(s): 5,

6, 7 and 8.

3. Appellant's Appendix to Brief

page(s): 16.

FOOTNOTE: As of the date of Appellant's

Supplemental citations this case has

not been reported in the official

federal reports nor assigned a

citation. The opinion is therefore

attached in its entirety as EXHIBIT

A".

AUTHORITY CITED "pn

Blanchard v. Bergeron, 109 S.Ct. 939

(Decided Feb. 21, 1989); (Justice

Scalia's concurring opinion pages 946

and 947.)

PRESCRIPT OF CASE HOLDING

AND REASON AND PROPOSITION

THE AUTHORITY SUPPORTS

Adversary arguments of "legislative

intent" and "legislative history" to

Support a proposition of law advanced

by a proponent will no longer be

countenanced -or "participate in (the

judicial) process" by the United States

Supreme Court or the various Federal

Circuit Court of Appeals Courts.

nN |

NO

—__>

j

4

(Concurring opinion of Justice Scalia.

Blanchard v. Bergeron, supra.)

REFERENCE TO THE PAGE OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF AND/OR APPELLANT'S REPLY BRIEF

TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief page(s): 19 and

20.

3 Appellant's Reply Brief page(s): 7

and 8.

rwermeset The opinion in its entirety

is here attached as Exhibit "B",

AUTHORITY CITED "cn"

I.R.M. (Commissioner of Internal

Revenue Manual) 57(13) 3.7; The

Treatment of Federal Tax Claims in

Bankruptcy, James I. Shepard, J.D.,

LL.M.: "Seminar Materials For

Northwestern Workshop For United States

Bankruptcy Judges", San Francisco,

California - - February 22, 1989.

222

PRESCRIPT OF CITATION HOLDING AND

REASON AND PROPOSITION THE

AUTHORITY SUPPORTS

"The bankruptcy court has

jurisdiction to adjudicate the merits

of any claim made in a proceeding

conducted under the jurisdiction of the

court, and the court has concurrent

jurisdiction with the Tax Court,

covering any liabilities which were

pending before the Tax Court at the

commencement of the proceeding in which

the federal taxes are Claimed, and an

adjudication by the bankruptcy court

relative to federal taxes is binding on

the United States, and the bankruptcy

court's determination on the merits of

the tax liability as to the amount of

the taxes disallowed by the bankruptcy

court must be abated."

223

REFERENCE TO THE PAGE OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF AND/OR APPELLANT'S REPLY BRIEF

TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief paze(s): 20; 21,

23, 24 and 25.

2. Appellant's Reply Brief pages(s): 1

and 2.

3. Supplement to Appellant's Appendix

To Brief: 5(a), 5(b), 5(ec) and 5(d).

4. Appellant's Appendix To Brief: 5,

45 and 46.

FOOTNOTE: The "Internal Revenue

Manual" (I.R.M.) igs prepared by the

Commissioner of Internal Revenue with

the aid and assistance of legal counsel

and is distributed to the Service as an

official guide and source.

AUTHORITY CITED "pn

Empire Fire and Marine Insurance Co.

v. J. Transport, Inc., Case No. 88-

224

8434, U.S. Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals. (Opinion filed: August 21,

1989.) mw

PRESCRIPT OF CASE HOLDING AND

REASON AND PROPOSITION THE

AUTHORITY SUPPORTS

Res judicata, collateral estoppel or

"issue preclusion" only bars claims

actually litigated and the issue of

fraud in the instant case was not

actually litigated.

REFERENCE TO THE PAGE OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF AND/OR APPELLANTS REPLY BRIEF

TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief page(s): 7, 9,

11, 13, 14, end 76,

é. Appellant's Reply Brief page(s): 2,

3, 4 and 5.

FOOTNOTE: As of the date of

Appellant's supplemental citations this

case has not been reported int he

official federal reports nor assigned a

citation. The opinion is therefore

attached in its entirety as EXHIBIT

gal all

AUTHORITY CITED "gz"

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS,

sec. 27 (1982).

PRESCRIPT OF CITATION

AND REASON AND

PROPOSITION THE AUTHORITY SUPPORTS

When an issue of fact or law is

actually litigated and determined by a

valid and final judgment, and the

determination is essential to the

judgment, the determination is

conclusive in a Subsequent action

between the parties, whether on the

same or a different claim.

REFERENCE TO THE PAGE OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF AND/OR APPELLANT'S REPLY BRIEF

TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief page(s): 7, 9,

1145436" Sh eee Ts;

FOOTNOTE: The Restatement (Second) of

Judgment was adopted by the American

Law Institute (ALI) in 1980. It is the

product of ten years effort by

Reporters Benjamine Kaplan (till 1973),

David L. Shapiro (till 1974), and

Geoffrey C. Hazard, Jr. (since 1973),

and their advisors. It supercedes the

original Restatement of Judgements

promulgated by the ALI in 1942 with

Austin W. Scott and Warren A. Seavey as

Reporters, assisted by Erwin N.

Griswold. Wechsler, FORWARD TO

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF JUDGMENTS at

vii (1982). A collection of articles

analyzing the new Restatement can be

found in Symposium on the Restatement

(Second) of Judgments, 66 CORNELL L.

REV. 401 (1981). The factual issue of

fraud was not litigated in the instate

case and it was essential to the final

judgment of the Tax Court.

Respectfully submitted: |

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Appellant-Debtor, pro se

and co-counsel.

ae)

NO

QO

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, an attorney at

law, hereby certifies that he has

caused true and correct requisite

copies of the foregoing together with

attached exhibits to be served upon all

attorneys of record herein at their

published business addressed vis United

States Postal Mail Service, postage

prepaid in a properly addressed

envelope from Atlanta, Georgia this

20th day of September, 1989.

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

so certifies.

Service Copies to:

Mr. Timothy J. Cassidy

Attorney at Law

Cassidy & Mueller, Attys.

1510 Savings Center Tower

%~O

fae)

ie)

Peoria, Illinois 61602

vary D. Gray, Howard M. Soloman

Post Office Box 502

Washington, D.C. 20044

N

ios

Thomas V. Cassidy

Attorney At Law

Illineis licensed

United States Federal Courts

2648 Sharondale Circle, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30305

(404) 237-0494

December, 08 1989

Clerk Thomas F. Strubbe

United States Court of Appeals

Clerk of the Court

Room 2722, Dirksen Federal Bldg.

£19 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

RE: Appellant's Supplemental

Citations.

THOMAS V. CASSIDY

Debtor - Appellant’

No. 89-1121

Dear Mr. Strubbe:

Pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate

Procedure 28(j) and Seventh Circuit

Court of Appeals Rule 28(i) Appellant

herewith makes by this letter to you --

original and ten (10) copies -- his

second Supplemental Citation for filing

and the attention of the Court together

231

with Certificate of Service of same

upon all attorneys of record herein,

the following cited authority for

Appellant, with reference to

R

Appellant's Brief, Reply Brief and

Appendix to Brief pages, as well as

Appellant's Supplemental Citations

Title dated September 20, 1989 where

the case authority is relevant and

Supportive, to wit:

Burns v. United States [for the IRS],

887 F.2d 1541 (11th Circuit Court of

Appeals, November 13, 1989).*

REFERENCE TO THE PAGES OF APPELLANT'S

BRIEF, APPELLANTS REPLY BRIEF,

APPELLANT'S APPENDIX TO BRIEF AND

APPELLANT'S SUPPLEMENTAL CITATIONS!

TITLE TO WHICH THE CITATION PERTAINS

1. Appellant's Brief page(s): 19 and

NO

LW

re)

2. Appellant's Reply Brief page(s): 5,

6, 7 and 8.

3. Appellant's Appendix to Brief

4. Appellant's Supplemental Citations,

Title "A",

5. Appellant's Supplemental Citations,

Title "B",

Respectfully submitted:

and co-counsel.

NO

\a)

LW

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

THOMAS V. CASSIDY, an attorney at

law, hereby certifies that he has

caused true and correct requisite

copies of the foregoing to be served

upon all attorneys of record herein at

their published business addressed via

United States Postal Mail Service,

postage prepaid in a properly addressed

envelope from Atlanta, Georgia this 8th

day of December, 1989.

THOMAS V., CASSIDY,

So certifies.

Service Copies to:

Mr. Timothy J. Cassidy

Attorney at law

Cassidy & Mueller, Attys.

1510 Savings Center Tower

Peoria, Illinois 61602

Mssrs. Gary R. Allen,

Gary D. Gray, Howard M. Soloman

Attorneys -- Tax Division

Department of Justice

Post Office Box 502

Washington, BiG. 2O0LE

No. 89-1121

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-1121

IN RE: THOMAS V. CASSIDY

Debtor

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

- Plaintiff-Appellant

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Defendant-Appelices

ON APPEAL FROM THE JUDGMENT OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLEE

JAMES I. K. KNAPP

Acting Assistant Attorney General

236

Gary R. Allen (202) 633-3361

Gary D. Gray (202) 633-3557

Howard M. Solomon (202) 633-4484

Attorneys

Tax Division

Department of Justice

Post Office Box 502

Washington, D.C. 20044

Of Counsel:

J. William Roberts

United States Attorney

237

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-1121

IN RE: THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Debtor

THOMAS V. CASSIDY,

Plaintiff-Appellant

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Defendant-Appellee

ON APPEAL FROM THE JUDGMENT OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

BRIEF FOR THE APPELLEE

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE

Whether the District Court correctly

affirmed the Bankruptcy Court's finding

that the debtor was precluded from

bringing this action in bankruptcy

court to determine whether his tax

238

liabilities and additions to tax for

fraud were dischargeable since this

Court had previously ruled that the

liabilities were nondischargeable in

Cassidy v. Commissioner, 814 F.2d 477

(7th Cir. 1987).

239

- « «tax liabilities had been

discharged in bankruptcy. (Ibid) 4/

Following a hearing, the Tax Court

granted the Commissioner's motion for

summary judgment. (Cassidy I at 480.)

The court found that the deemed

admissions fully supported the

deficiencies determined by the

Commissioner, and that the admitted

facts were sufficient to meet the

Commissioner's burden in proving that

the additions to tax for fraud should

be imposed. (Ibid.) The court

summarily denied the debtor's motion

for summary judgment based on the

contention that his tex liabilities

were discharged in bankruptcy. (A. 12

at n.3.) According to the court, the

debtor's contention was "on its face

inconsistent with the explanatory

240

jm

_

A

sae = .

eo es

os

on

a

Bort | meas j ‘yt

ards lane Af

sea

on

ey ae

Ln aa

a a

x

a,

memorandum attached to [the debtor's ]

Discharge of Debtor order and the April

13, 1984 order issued by the same

bankruptcy judge lifting the automatic

stay to permit this case to go forward

in the Tax Court." (Ibid.) The court

went on to note that, in any event,

"the redetermination of an income tax

deficiency has 'nothing to do with

collection of the tax nor any

similarity to an action for collection

of a debt * * *'," (Ibid. (citations

omitted).)

The debtor appealed the Ta

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.