Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Avondale Industries, Inc.
Supreme Court brief1990
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
B89. 1576.
N Supreme Court, U.8,
putanepinpreninempmmenencenss | FILED
| APR om
IN THE ae
Supreme Court of the United
October Term, 1989
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Petitioner,
v.
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INC. and OGDEN CORPORATION,
Respondents,
- and -
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY, HIGHLANDS
INSURANCE COMPANY, AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSUR-
ANCE COMPANY, and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
BARRY R. OSTRAGER
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
SIMPSON THACHER & BARTLETT
(a partnership which includes
professional corporations )
425 Lexington Avenue
New York, New York 10017-3909
(212) 455-2000
SETH A. RIBNER
KATHRYN A. CLOKEY
Of Counsel
ee
i
Questions Presented
1. Whether a district court may invoke Rule 54(b) of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to certify as “final” and appeal-
able its ruling on certain aspects of a claim when a full and final
resolution of that claim necessarily depends upon an adjudica-
tion of rights and obligations at issue in a third party action?
2. Whether the district court sitting in diversity trans-
gressed the institutional limits on its discretion by certifying for
immediate appeal a partial summary judgment that (i) conflicted
with a recent ruling of the forum state’s intermediate level appel-
late court; and (ii) involved important and controversial issues of
state law awaiting review by that state’s highest court?
ii
Rule 29.1 Statement
The parent company of Petitioner The Travelers Indemnity
Company is The Travelers Corporation. The Travelers Corpora-
tion owns an interest in the following subsidiaries (excluding
wholly owned subsidiaries):
Company Name % Ownership
Applied Expert Systems, Inc. 27.5 %
La Metropole S.A. 98.83 %
ATALFA (UK) 23.5 %
Dillon, Read Limited 50.0 %
London & Hartford Corp. 50.0 %
Resource Information Management
Systems 20.0 %
ili
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
O8) yy 8 Gy) Oy | i
8 Ey ii
ee isco cer lauweeanevsneawauGs 3
PPE Si cccccecccccsevess Soe ee 3
FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
EE ee pera 3
UR MEENOE MP BEERS GANGES on ccc ccecccccccsegecces 4
Ogden and Avondale Sue Only One of Five Insurers
that Provided Liability Coverage .................. 4
The District Court’s Ruling Granting Partial
Summary Judgment to Ogden and Avondale ....... 5
The District Court Enters a Partial Final Judgment ... 9
Proceedings in the United States Court of Appeals
EE ssn cvecceeeenenvvecseseua's 10
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 12
Conflicting Rule 54(b) Standards in the Federal
ee eae ay hey ees ks vee es 13
The Federal Courts Should Not Employ the
Rule 54(b) Certification Procedure In
Diversity Cases When the Applicable State
ee a eu eawn wal kbs2 + <0e 14
POINT I This Court Should Grant Certiorari To
Enforce the Limitations on Federal Appellate
Nee ea de awae'e 15
A. Because Resolution Of Petitioner’s Defense Obliga-
tions Necessarily Depended Upon The Adjudication
iv
Of Petitioner’s Third-Party Defense Claims,
Certification Was Improper And The Second
Circuit Lacked Jurisdiction To Hear The
SEPP CPT eee eT CTT TPT TT TTR eTTee
B. Certification Was Improper Because There Was
No Final Resolution Of All Issues Relating To
To Petitioner’s Obligation To Pay Defense
Casts ..\..- aed ahe aed Cat saeee NTE can odes aos
POINT II This Court Should Grant Certiorari To
Enforce The Institutional Limits On A Federal
Court’s Discretion When Sitting In Diversity .........
Cin ccuvaesntvekdessicceaeebsceneevvees
Appendices
Opinion On Petition For Rehearing
United States Court Of Appeals
POE TS SOOO CIEE on ccc cc cececess
Opinion Of Cardamone, J.
United States Court Of Appeals
oe) fh re
Memorandum Opinion And Judgment
United States District Court For The
Southern District Of New York .............
Memorandum Opinion And Order
United States District Court For The
Southern District Of New York .............
Letter From Office Of The Clerk
United States Court Of Appeals
ee ee PE ng coc cccneenvcucness
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
PAGE
Cases:
Acha v. Beame, 570 F.2d 57 (2d Cir. 1978) .............. 22
Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co. v. General Dynamics
Corp., No. 88-2220C (A) (E.D. Mo. Dec. 12, 1989) ..... 15
Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co. v. Gulf Resources & Chem.
Corp., 709 F. Supp. 958 (D. Idaho 1989) .............. 42
Albany Truck Rental Serv. v. New Hamphsire Merchant's
Ins. Co., 75 A.D.2d 426, 450 N.Y.S.2d 158 (3d Dep’t
POPPE EES er ote ee Or praia ok cos a ames 18
American Motonsts Ins. Co. vy. Levolor Lorentzen,
See, Bre Fae Tee CO OM, THO 6 ccc sv cccccnccccsees 15, 22
Arco Indus. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 730 F. Supp. 59
Ce NG MEE ab ebb cacugcansnceuueesabewee ssa 6
Automatic Liquid Packaging, Inc. v. Dominik, 852 F.2d
ED 5 0.5460 0ner teks waapeseteucsa’ 13, 21
Avondale Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 123
Fe PE Es HE heed ecncdscdckssursvece ess 3, 10
Avondale Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 697 F.
Sim. TIA GREIIN. T. TROD cccccccvesvescccsessenss 3, 7, 8
Avondale Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 887 F.2d
Re as Se © 6 te wad as eienne cea eeeeeenss: se Ae
Avondale Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 894 F.2d
og rrr er rer eer rr re 3, 11, 12
Blanchard v. Teledyne Movible Offshore, Inc., 612 F.2d 971
Ce es a dicsasaeeiaeuee ss ssaadnieekeveeers 24
Boeing Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 113 Wash.
ee Pe hcccx desc sdbacverenaee sa: 7
Borden, Inc. v. Affiliated FM Ins. Co., 682 F. Supp. 927
(S.D. Ohio 1987), aff'd, 865 F.2d 1267 (6th Cir.),
Ce Ge, Tae as ee ec vb has eenseexenne 5
PAGE
C. D. Spangler Constr. Co. v. Industrial Crankshaft &
Eng’g Co., 326 N.C. 133, 388 $.E.2d 557 (1990) ........ 7
C.L. Hauthaway & Sons v. American Motorists Ins. Co.,
712 F. Supp. 265 (D. Mass. 1969) ..........ccccceeens 5
Campbell v. Westmoreland Farm, Inc., 403 F.2d 939
Ae eee 24
Catlin v. United States, 324 U.S. 229 (1945) .............. 16
Cedar Chem. Corp. v. American Universal Ins. Co.,
No. 87-2838-4B (W.D. Tenn. Sept. 13, 1989)........... 15
Central Quality Services Corp. v. Insurance Co. of N. Am.,
No. 87-CV-74473-DT (E.D. Mich. Sept, 6, 1989) ....... 6
Chesapeake Utils. Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co..,
POS F. Sapp. S5k, CD. GAGE TOURD. oo cc ccvcvcccencescess 7
Cold Metal Process Co. v. United Eng’g & Foundry Co.,
te ee ree se ae 17, 21
Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967) .... 8
Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Fore River Ry., 861 F.2d
hese fo | ree Ate Aen py «arena 20, 24
Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical
& Chem. Co., 811 F.2d 1180 (8th Cir. 1987),
rev'd on reh’g en banc, 842 F.2d 977, cert. denied,
Sew G Ge: GE 5. 6a vc adekU scene ale bahabeseanes 15
Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical
& Chem. Co., 842 F.2d 977 (8th Cir. 1987) (en banc),
cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 66 (1988). .............0...4.. 7, 8, 15
Cullen v. Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
ee Ge CE ks co cheer baa eneueaeeeseeeanes 13, 24
Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. General Elec. Co.,
oo re erm meer ay 16, 17, 21
a Ee |
Vil
PAGE
El-Marzouki Establishment v. Environmental Research
& Dev., Inc., 93 F.R.D. 661 (S.D.N.Y. 1982) ........... 25
Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) ............... 24
Explosives Supply Co. v. Columbia Nitrogen Corp.,
ee 7 fs, ts 3 eer 13
F L Aerospace v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 897 F.2d
I EE ck os vauaesadsetdy ees dniatesccces’ 5
Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v. Elefant, 790 F.2d 661
Cd vein ca teccuadevekceseihive nese. 17
Federal Ins. Co. v. Cablevision Sys. Dev. Co., 836 F.2d 54
SY ME cpanel oitnet ed beueeeuewe tees ener iawn 18
Federal Ins. Co. v. Susquehanna Broadcasting Co., 727
FP Se OU Bre kek severe seseveanededs 15
Fireman’s Fund Ins. Cos. v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 662 F. Supp.
pp SY Orr Tye roe y eee ee ee 6
Fireman’s Fund Ins. Cos. v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 685
P. ee ee Is FED ooo reve csccavrecsess. 20
General Accident Fire & Life Assurance Corp. v. Piazza,
4 N.Y.2d 659, 152 N.E.2d 236, 176 N.Y.S.2d 976 (1958). 18
Great American Ins. Co. v. Schaefers, 47 Misc.
2d 522, 262 N.Y.S.2d 953 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. 1965) ..... 18
Gregonian v. Izvestia, 871 F.2d 1515 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
Se es EE os n.00 0044 60u sus ceesdekeedeses os 13, 17
Harter Corp. v. Home Indem. Co., 713 F. Supp. 231
PO EE ace cacnccnevedaeveyaservevasees 6
Hayes v. Maryland Casualty Co., 688 F. Supp. 1513
SN 6 cei en saxksscdcnendvcsaseneseuecaws 5
Higgins Indus. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Cos., 730 F. Supp.
FES I FE ob es oir eds aanvencduiseysaensas 6
Vili
Indiana Harbor Belt R.R. v. American Cyanamid Co.,
S60 F.2d 1441 (7th Cir. 1968)... c ccc cece ccees 13
Insurance Co. of N. Am. v. Forty-Eight Insulations, Inc.,
633 F.2d 1212 (6th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
Ge es sa wines bs 20
Intel Corp. v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 692
fo Be Tt Re | 15
International Controls Corp. v. Vesco, 535 F.2d 742
ao adap eres es edakudee hiss chess 20
Jones Truck Lines v. Transport Ins. Co., No. 88-5723
(E.D. Pa. May 10, 1989), question to be certified to the
Supreme Court of Missoun, Nos. 89-1729/59
ya Ue tania daa e sce h see's 7, 15
Liberty Mutual Ins. Co. v. Wetzel, 424 U.S. 737 (1976) .... 16
Maryland Casualty Co. v. Armco, Inc., 822 F.2d 1348
(4th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1008 (1988) ...... 7, 8
Maryland Casualty Co. v. Ormond, No. 87-3038
ee esac etnvewewerevseeces 15
Minontty Police Officers Ass'n v. City of South Bend,
po 13
Mornson-Knudsen Co. v. Archer, 665 F.2d 962
SE SEE ee Ae ee 13, 21
ODC Communications Corp. v. Wenruth Invs.,
Ee 17
Ogden Corp. v. Travelers Indem. Co., No. 88 Civ. 4269
BE Ee ee 11, 20
Panichella v. Pennsylvania R.R., 252 F.2d 452
SENSES ree A 25
Patrons Oxford Mut. Ins. Co. v. Marois, No.
KEN-89-284 (Me. Apr. 2, 1990)..................005. 6
~ ell
Pepper's Steel & Alloys, Inc. v. United States Fidelity &
Guar. Co., 668 F. Supp. 1541 (S.D. Fla. 1987) ......... 6
Powers Chemrco, Inc. v. Federal Ins. Co., 144 A.D.2d
445, 533 N.Y.S.2d 1010 (2d Dep’t 1988), aff'd, 74 N.Y.2d
916, 548 N.E.2d 1301, 549 N.Y.S.2d 650 (1989) ........ 12
Powers Chemco, Inc. v. Federal Ins. Co., 74 N.Y.2d
910, 548 N.E.2d 1301, 549 N.Y.S.2d 650 (1989) ....... 11, 12
Ray Indus. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 728 F. Supp. 1310
re er er errr 6
Record v. Royal Globe Ins. Co., 83 A.D.2d 154, 443
poe me Fr 20
Rudd Constr. Equip. Co. v. Home Ins. Co., 711
Ce er ry 22
Ryan, Klimek, Ryan Partnership v. Royal Ins. Co.,
pe oP Bk hg | rr T eT rer er rerree 6, 11
Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Mackey, 351 U.S. 427
eR Ba Bi A epee ripe per rane ge Sameamare 13, 16-18, 22, 23
Seatrain Shipbuilding Corp. v. Shell Oil Co., 444 U.S.
SRS aerial a A eee ae ee eee 16
Shamley v. ITT Corp., 869 F.2d 167 (2d Cir. 1989) ....... 23
Spiegel v. Trustees of Tufts College, 843 F.2d 38
A aL a A 17, 22
State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Taglianetti, 122
A.D.2d 40, 504 N.Y.S.2d 476 (2d Dep’t 1986) ......... 19
Technicon Elecs. Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co.,
141 A.D.2d 124, 533 N.Y.2d 91 (2d Dep’t 1988),
aff'd, 74 N.Y.2d 66, 542 N.Y.2d 1048, 544
ela lea icestaebeeseneecness 8
Technicon Elecs. Corp. v. American Home
Assurance Co., 74 N.Y.2d 66, 542 N.E.2d 1048, 544
RE x ocer cic eceresusteseeesa¢s 8, 10 ,11, 25
Travelers Indem. Co. v. Allied-Signal, Inc., 718 F. Supp.
EY HE so adee su aNeeaiuaei ve ree edeess 7
Troy Mills v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., No. 89-311,
ee I aa elses ep seva eau eueeecsees 6
Unigard Mut. Ins. Co. v. McCarty’s, Inc., No. 83-1441
ee ee EE wie ere cco cies peda heen esse 7
United States Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Thomas Solvent Co.,
683 F. Supp. 1139 (W.D. Mich. 1988) ............. i ig §
United States Fire Ins. Co. v. Smith Barney, Harris
Upham & Co., 724 F.2d 650 (8th Cir. 1983) .......... 20, 24
Weinberg v. Transamerica Ins. Co., 62 N.Y.2d 379,
465 N.E.2d 819, 477 N.Y.S.2d 99 (1984) ............... 19
Went ¥. ATA T Coa... S11 U5. BEPC) oc ccccccccvceys 8
Statutes and Rules
Og ae | er ee 2, 3, 9, 10, 12-17, 20, 21, 23
pid A PD re tre rrr rr 12
Ee Fe EE Fo 5 8 oc eo da eaes ken cenee eres 12
ee GPs Oe TE oo bb vs oe ceudkdvesavecceenes 3
es ED ho 6 545-5 eo ays a ek se eeeweewsoees 16
pogo Fa Bg ee eee 4
Other Authorities
J. Acton, Understanding Superfund, A Progress Report, Inst.
oe Ue errr re rer reer re 1
No.
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Petitioner,
v.
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INC. and OGDEN CORPORATION,
Respondents,
-and-
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY, HIGHLANDS IN-
SURANCE COMPANY, AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSURANCE
COMPANY, and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
As of March, 1989, there were 30,844 hazardous waste sites
in the Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) information
system. Some estimates place the total private and governmental
cost of cleanup at $500 billion. J. Acton, Understanding Super-
fund, A Progress Report, Inst. Civ. Just. 1-2, 61 (1989). The poten-
tial liabilities of the owners of these sites and the generators and
transporters of the wastes which fill them have created a major
litigation theater that is consuming enormous judicial resources.
There are now hundreds of pending pollution liability insur-
ance coverage disputes in which federal district courts are called
upon to interpret and apply the substantive insurance law of the
several states. Because of strong differences of opinion concern-
2
ing both environmental policy and the scope of coverage for pol-
luting conduct and cleanup costs, a number of federal courts have
declined to follow intermediate level state appellate decisions and
have freely disagreed with one another on the substantive law of a
particular state.
This case arises from the certification of a partial summary
judgment declaring that one of five insurers that provided liability
insurance coverage to Respondent policyholders had a duty to
defend pollution claims. The United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York entered a partial summary judg-
ment against Petitioner without addressing the interrelated de-
fense obligations of the other insurers. The district court wrote
large on controversial and unresolved issues of New York law,
while rejecting a recent intermediate level appellate decision, the
most reliable statement of New York law at that time. It then en-
tered a partial final judgment pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the Fed-
eral Rules of Civil Procedure even though the same insurance
coverage issues were on appeal to New York’s highest court. The
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit exercised
jurisdiction notwithstanding the improper certification and af-
firmed the decision of the district court.
As a matter of law, the certification was improper because
the policyholders’ claims against Petitioner could not be finally
resolved independently of Petitioner’s claims against the other in-
surers. Guidance from this Court is necessary to resolve conflicts
between the Second Circuit and the Third and Seventh Circuits
on the legal severability of related claims for purposes of Rule
54(b). In addition, this Court should address the constraints on
the discretion of federal district courts sitting in diversity to enter
partial final judgments on unsettled issues of state law soon to be
resolved by that state’s highest court.
3
Opinions Below
The opinions of the United States Court of Appeals are re-
ported at 894 F.2d 498 (2d Cir. 1990) and 887 F.2d 1200 (2d Cir.
1989). The opinions of the United States District Court are re-
ported at 123 F.R.D. 80 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) and 697 F. Supp. 1314
(S.D.N.Y. 1988). The four opinions are reproduced in the appen-
dix hereto.
Jurisdiction
The opinion of the Second Circuit was entered October 18,
1989. The opinion of the Second Circuit denying rehearing but
modifying its prior opinion was entered January 10, 1990. This
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)
(1982).
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure Involved
Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides:
Judgment Upon Multiple Claims or Involving Multi-
ple Parties. When more than one claim for relief is pre-
sented in an action, whether as a claim, counterclaim,
cross-claim, or third-party claim, or when multiple par-
ties are involved, the court may direct the entry of a final
judgment as to one or more but fewer than all of the
claims or parties only upon an express determination
that there is no just reason for delay and upon an ex-
press direction for the entry of judgment. In the ab-
sence of such determination and direction, any order or
other form of decision, however designated, which adju-
dicates fewer than all the claims or the rights and liabili-
ties of fewer than ail the parties shall not terminate the
action as to any of the claims or parties, and the order or
other form of decision is subject to revision at any time
before the entry of judgment adjudicating all the claims
and the rights and liabilities of all the parties.
4
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner The Travelers Indemnity Company (“Travelers”)
insured Ogden Corporation (“Ogden”) and its subsidiaries from
July 5, 1975 to December 1, 1984. Avondale Industries, Inc.
(“Avondale”), a former Ogden subsidiary, has been sued in a se-
ries of private lawsuits by persons residing near a waste oil recy-
cling facility and dumpsite near Denham Springs, Louisiana.
Each of the underlying complaints alleges that Avondale and oth-
ers generated and shipped hazardous waste to the dumpsite. The
plaintiffs in the private actions claim bodily injury and property
damage from pollutants regularly discharged during the two dec-
ades that the site was in operation. In addition, in January 1986,
Avondale received a “potentially responsible person” (“PRP”)
letter from the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
(the “DEQ”) naming Avondale as a person potentially responsi-
ble for cleaning up the dumpsite.
Ogden and Avondale Sue Only One of Five Insurers that
Provided Liability Coverage
On December 16, 1986, Avondale and Ogden [hereinafter
collectively referred to as Respondents] commenced a
declaratory judgment action against Travelers seeking a declara-
tion that Travelers has an obligation to defend and indemnify
Avondale in connection with the private actions and the DEQ
PRP letter. The district court had diversity jurisdiction over the
subject matter of the dispute. 28 U.S.C. § 1332 (1982). Travelers
filed its answer denying liability on March 9, 1987, and counter-
claimed for a declaration that Travelers has no duty to defend or
indemnify Avondale in connection with the private lawsuits or the
DEQ letter. Travelers also filed a third-party complaint against
the four other insurers that afforded coverage to Avondale during
the time periods in which the private plaintiffs claim their per-
sonal injuries and property damage occurred: Commercial Union
Insurance Company (“Commercial Union”), Highlands Insur-
ance Company (“Highlands”), American Motorists Insurance
5
Company (“American Motorists”) and National Union Fire In-
surance Company (“National Union”).
The District Court’s Ruling Granting Partial Summary
Judgment to Ogden and Avondale
On October 8, 1987, Respondents moved for partial sum-
mary judgment solely on the issues of Travelers obligation to de-
fend Avondale in the private lawsuits and in connection with the
DEQ PRP letter. The motion raised three unsettled issues of New
York insurance law:
1. whether the “sudden and accidental” pollution ex-
clusion clause in each Travelers policy barred coverage for
twenty years of industrial discharges at the Denham Springs
dumpsite;'
' Specifically, the pollution exclusion provides that Travelers insurance does not
apply:
to bodily injury or property damage arising out of the discharge, disper-
sal, release or escape of smoke, vapors, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, toxic
chemicals, liquids or gases, waste materials or other irritants, contami-
nation or pollutants into or upon land, the atmosphere or any water-
course or body of water; but this exclusion does not apply if such dis-
charge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental.
In construing the precise language at issue here, federal courts have disagreed
with the interpretations of intermediate level state appellate courts. See F L
Aerospace v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co:, 897 F.2d 214 (6th Cir. 1990) (disagreeing
with intermediate level Michigan appellate decisions on proper interpretation
of pollution exclusion); C.L. Hauthaway & Sons v. American Motonists Ins. Co.,
712 F. Supp. 265, 268 (D. Mass. 1989) (disagreeing with intermediate level Mas-
sachusetts appellate court on proper interpretation of pollution exclusion); Bor-
den, Inc. v Affiliated FM Ins. Co., 682 F. Supp. 927, 929-30 (S.D. Ohio 1987) (dis-
agreeing with intermediate level Ohio appellate court on proper interpretation
of pollution exclusion), aff'd, 865 F.2d 1267 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 110S. Ct. 68
(1989). The federal district courts have also disagreed with one another on the
proper construction of the pollution exclusion under the laws of their respective
states. Compare Hayes v. Maryland Casualty. Co., 688 F. Supp. 1513, 1515 (N.D.
Fla. 1988) (“sudden and accidental!” pollution exclusion bars coverage for
(Footnote continued on next page)
6
2. whether Travelers right and duty to defend any
“suit” under the terms of its general liability policies obliged
Travelers to defend Avondale in connection with the DEQ
PRP letter;2 and
3. whether governmentally mandated cleanup costs
are “damages” covered under the terms of Travelers general
liability policies.?
(Footnote continued from previous page)
ny
—
routine discharges of waste) with Pepper’s Steel & Alloys, Inc. v. United States Fi-
delity & Guar. Co., 668 F. Supp. 1541, 1548-50 (S.D. Fla. 1987) (“sudden and acci-
dental” pollution exclusion applies only when the insured intends to harm the
environment), and Ray Indus. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 728 F. Supp. 1310, 1315-20
(E.D. Mich. 1989) (continuous discharge of pollutants over thirteen-year period
not “sudden and accidental”) with United States Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Thomas
Solvent Co., 683 F. Supp. 1139, 1155-61 (W.D. Mich. 1988) (“sudden and acci-
dental” exception to pollution exclusion is ambiguous and not limited to events
that happen over a short period of time)
Here, too, federal courts have disagreed with one another and declined to fol-
low the lead of intermediate level state appellate courts. The federal district
courts of Michigan provide the most striking example. Compare Central Quality
Services Corp. v. Insurance Co. of N. Am., No. 87-CV-74473-DT, slip op. at
12-20 (E.D. Mich. Sept, 6, 1989) (PRP letter is not a “suit” under Michigan law)
and Harter Corp. v. Home Indem. Co., 713 F. Supp. 231, 232-33 (W.D. Mich.
1989) (same) and Arco Indus. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 730 F. Supp. 59, 65-8 (W.D.
Mich. 1989) (same) with Higgins Indus. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Cos., 730 F. Supp.
774 (E.D. Mich. 1989) (PRP letter is a “suit” under Michigan law) and Ray In-
dus. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 728 F. Supp. 1310, 1313-14 (E.D. Mich. 1989)(same)
and Fireman's Fund Ins. Cos. v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 662 F. Supp. 71, 75 (E.D. Mich.
1987) (same). Another federal district court applying New York law has de-
clined to follow the result reached herein. See Ryan, Klimek, Ryan Partnership v.
Royal Ins. Co., 728 F. Supp. 862, 866-68 (D.R.I. 1990).
General liability insurance policies typically provide that the insurer “will pay
on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured shall become legally obli-
gated to pay as damages because of .. . property damage.” See, e.g., Patrons Ox-
ford Mut. Ins. Co. v. Marois, No. KEN-89-284, slip op. at 4 (Me. Apr. 2, 1990).
Whether governmentally mandated environmental cleanup costs are “dam-
ages” in the context of liability insurance is perhaps the most hotly contested
and financially significant commercial law issue today. The four state supreme
courts that have addressed this question are evenly divided. See Marois, supra,
slip op. at 4-9 (expenses incurred by insured to meet state clean-up demands are
not “damages”), Troy Mills v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., No. 89-311, order (N.H.
Feb. 13, 1990) (summarily affirming superior court decision holding that
(Footnote continued on next page)
7
The district court awarded partial summary judgment to Re-
spondents on the issue of Travelers duty to defend in a memoran-
dum opinion and order dated October 19, 1988. Avondale
Industries, Inc. v. Travelers Indemnity Co., 697 F. Supp. 1314
(S.D.N.Y. 1988). Its rulings on the three key issues of state envi-
ronmental coverage law were as follows:
First, the district court held that Travelers had a duty to de-
fend the private actions notwithstanding the pollution exclusion
because the underlying complaints did not allege that Avondale
intended to pollute and did not make specific allegations con-
cerning the manner in which Avondale’s particular shipments of
waste escaped. 697 F. Supp. at 1317. Significantly, this ruling was
at odds with the unanimous, two-week old decision of the Appel-
late Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York in
(Footnote continued from previous page)
cleanup costs are not “damages” within the meaning of liability insurance poli-
cies); C. D. Spangler Constr. Co. v. Industrial Crankshaft & Eng'g Co., 326 N.C.
133, 388 S.E. 2d 557 (1990) (insured’s expenses in complying with cleanup orders
are “damages” within the meaning of liability insurance policies); Boeing Co. v.
Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 113 Wash. 2d 869, 784 P.2d 507 (1990) (CERCLA
response costs are “damages” within the meaning of liability insurance poli-
cies).
Federal courts cannot agree on how to interpret existing state law precedents.
Compare Avondale Indus. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 887 F.2d 1200, 1206-07 (2d
Cir. 1989) (cleanup costs are “damages” under New York law) with Travelers In-
dem. Co. v. Allied-Signal, Inc., 718 F. Supp. 1252, 1253 n.2 (cleanup costs are not
“damages” under New York law), and Maryland Casualty Co. v. Armco, Inc., 822
F.2d 1348 (4th Cir. 1987) (cleanup costs are not “damages” under Maryland
law), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1008 (1988) with Chesapeake Utils. Corp. v. Anienican
Home Assurance Co., 704 F. Supp. 551, 558-61 (D. Del 1989) (cleanup costs are
“damages” under Maryland law); compare Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeastern
Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., 842 F.2d 977, 983-87 (8th Cir.) (en banc) (cleanup
costs are not “damages” under Missouri law), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 66 (1988)
with Jones Truck Lines v. Transport Inc., Co., No. 88-5723, slip op. at 11-21 (E.D.
Pa. May 10, 1989) (cleanup costs are “damages” under Missouri law), question to
be certified to the Supreme Court of Missouri, Nos. 89-1729/59 (3d Cir. Feb. 15,
1990) (Clerk’s letter reprinted in the appendix hereto), and Aetna Casualty &
Sur. Co. v. Gulf Resources & Chem. Corp., 709 F. Supp. 958, 961 (D. Idaho 1989)
(cleanup costs are not “damages” under Idaho law) with Unigard Mut. Ins. Co. v.
McCanty’s, Inc., No. 83-1441, slip op. at 48 (D. Idaho Aug. 4, 1989) (cleanup
costs are “damages” under Idaho law).
8
Technicon Electronics Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co.,
141 A.D.2d 124, 533 N.Y.S.2d 91 (2d Dep’t 1988), aff'd, 74 N.Y.2d
66, 542 N.E.2d 1048, 544 N. Y.S.2d 531 (1989), which squarely held:
[T]he logical and proper application of the pollution exclu-
sion depends solely upon the method by which the pollutants
entered the environment... . The relevant factor is not
whether the policyholder anticipated or intended the resul-
tant injury or damage, but whether the toxic material was
discharged into the environment unexpectedly and uninten-
tionally or knowingly and intentionally.
141 A.D.2d at 144, 533 N.Y.S.2d at 103-04 (citation omitted).
Next, the district court declined to follow the explicit ruling
of the Appellate Division in Technicon that an EPA PRP letter
did not constitute a “suit” within the meaning of liability insur-
ance policies and held that Travelers had a duty to “defend” the
DEQ PRP letter.‘
Finally, the district court rejected the reasoning of Maryland
Casualty Co. v. Armco, Inc., 822 F.2d 1348 (4th Cir. 1987), cert. de-
nied, 484 U.S. 1008 (1988), and Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeast-
ern Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., 842 F.2d 977 (8th Cir. 1987) (en
* The district court quoted the language from West v. A. T. & T. Co., 311 U.S. 223,
237 (1940), that a federal court shouid not disregard the decisions of intermedi-
ate state appeliate courts “unless it is convinced by other persuasive data that the
highest court of the state would decide otherwise."” 697 F. Supp. at 1320-21 (em-
phasis in original) See Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 465
(1967) However, the district court identified no other “persuasive data” that
the New York Court of Appeals would rule differently. By imposing a duty to
defend the DEQ PRP letter without any support beyond its own disagreement
with the Appellate Division, the district court redefined the Estate of Bosch and
West standard to eliminate the self-restraint those decisions demand from the
federal bench. See West v. A. T. & T. Co., supra, 311 U.S. at 236-37 (“There are
many rules of decision commonly accepted and acted upon by the bar and infe-
nor courts which are nevertheless laws of the state although the highest court of
the state has never passed upon them. In those circumstances a federal court is
not free to reject the state rule merely because it has not received the sanction of
the highest state court, even though it thinks the rule is unsound in principle or
that another is preferable.”).
9
banc), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 66 (1988), and held that under New
York 'aw, the costs of clean-up at the Denham Springs dumpsite
constituted “damages” within the meaning of Travelers liability
policies. 697 F. Supp. at 1318-20.
The District Court Enters a Partia! Final Judgment
Following the district court’s decision, Respondents moved
pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for
entry of a final judgment on Travelers duty to defend. Travelers
opposed the entry of the partial final judgment on the following
grounds:
1. New York’s highest court would soon resolve the
central issues in the case and there was no reason for the
court to certify its ruling on Travelers defense obligations in
advance of a definitive ruling from the New York Court of
Appeals;
2. Asa matter of law, no final judgment could be en-
tered against Travelers in the main action without first adju-
dicating the defense obligations of the third-party
defendants; and
3. Travelers would face substantial prejudice from
the piecemeal adjudication of defense issues.
The district court dismissed Travelers objections and deter-
mined that there was “no just reason for delay” in entering a final
judgment that placed the entire defense burden upon Travelers.
Underscoring the district court’s decision to make the Rule 54(b)
certification was the court’s belief in the importance of its own
ruling. Specifically, the court stated:
[I]n view of the immensely important public policy questions
relating to environmental hazard and safety in Louisiana and
elsewhere that are fundamentally affected by liability, defense
and indemnification findings in actions like this, this Court
10
concludes that there is no just reason for delay and directs
the entry of partial final judgment upon its Opinion and Or-
der of October 19, 1989.
123 F.R.D. at 83 (emphasis in original).
The public policy questions at issue in this case are impor-
tant. However, the district court fundamentally misinterpreted
its role as a federal court sitting in diversity. Its obligation was to
apply state law and state policy, not to place the federal courts in
the vanguard of state policymaking. Absent a pressing reason for
certification, the district court’s obligation was to obtain the most
definitive exposition of New York law possible on unsettled issues
of state law before entering a final judgment. Instead, the district
court set in motion a process that required two opinions by the
Second Circuit to keep pace with developments in the state courts
and placed the federal courts in New York in conflict with the
New York Court of Appeals on a question of New York law.
Proceedings in the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit
Travelers argued its appeal before the Second Circuit on
April 10, 1989. In the interval between oral argument and the in-
itial disposition of Travelers appeal, the New York Court of Ap-
peals decided Technicon Electronics Corp. v. American Home
Assurance Co., 74 N.Y.2d 66, 542 N.E.2d 1048, 544 N.Y.S.2d 531
(1989). New York’s highest court affirmed the Appellate Divi-
sion’s ruling on the pollution exclusion and declined to reach the
issue of whether PRP letters are “suits.” Notwithstanding the
Court of Appeals ruling in conflict with the result in the district
court, the Second Circuit issued its decision approving the dis-
trict court’s Rule 54(b) certification and affirming the grant of
partial summary judgment. Avondale Industnes, Inc. v. Travelers
11
Indemnity Co., 887 F.2d 1200 (2d Cir. 1989).5 Following Travelers
petition for rehearing and a second decision from the New York
Court of Appeals, Powers Chemco, Inc. v. Federal Insurance Co.,
74 N.Y.2d 910, 548 N.E.2d 1301, 549 N.Y.S.2d 650 (1989), the Sec-
ond Circuit issued another opinion. Avondale Industries, Inc. v.
Travelers Indemnity Co., 894 F.2d 498 (2d Cir. 1990). That deci-
sion, dated January 10, 1990, denied Travelers petition for re-
hearing but substantively modified the Court’s prior opinion.
In its first opinion, the Second Circuit read the New York
Court of Appeals’ interpretation of the pollution exclusion just as
narrowly as the district court had construed the Appellate Divi-
sion’s earlier decision. The Second Circuit held that the pollu-
tion exclusion applies only when the insured itself discharges
waste. 887 F.2d at 1205. The federal appellate court thereby ex-
empted from the terms of the pollution exclusion all generators of
toxic substances that do not themselves discharge hazardous
waste directly into the environment. This ruling represented a
significant policy decision in conflict with New York’s policy to
prohibit “subsidized pollution.” See Ogden Corp. v. Travelers In-
dem. Co., No. 88 Civ. 4269, slip op. at 6 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 22, 1989);
Technicon, supra, 74 N.Y.2d at 76, 542 N.E.2d at 1051, 544
N.Y.S.2d at 534; Act of June 25, 1971, ch. 765, 1971 N.Y. Laws
® The Second Circuit rejected Travelers objection to the Rule 54(b) certification
based upon the irrelevant observation that “the duty to defend and the duty to
indemnify are separate and distinct questions of fact and law.” 887 F.2d at 1203.
However, Travelers never contended otherwise. What Travelers argued both
before the district court and in the Second Circuit was that Avondale’s claim for
defense from Travelers could not be fully and fairly resolved without also adju-
dicating the defense obligations of the third-party defendants.
* In addition to the ruling on the pollution exclusion, the Second Circuit affirmed
the district court on the “suit” and “damages” issues. One federal district court
has already declined to follow the Second Circuit’s ruling on the “suit” question
in favor of the Appellate Division's Technicon rationale. See Ryan, Klimek,
Ryan Partnership v. Royal Ins. Co., 728 F. Supp. 862, 866-68 (D.R.I. 1990).
12
1230; Executive Memorandum, Environmental Pcilution—Prohi-
bition Against Insurance Coverage, 1971 N.Y. Laws 2485.
The Second Circuit’s approach could not stand after the
Court of Appeals decided Powers Chemco, Inc. v. Federal Insur-
ance Co., 74 N.Y.2d 910, 548 N.E.2d 1301, 549 N.Y.S.2d 650
(1989), and held: “Simply put, there is nothing in the language of
the pollution exclusion clause to suggest that it is not applicable
when liability is premised on the conduct of someone other than
the insured.” Jd. at 911, 548 N.E.2d at 1302, 549 N.Y.S.2d at 651.
Travelers petition for rehearing was pending at the time of
the Court of Appeals ruling in Powers Chemco. The petition fo-
cused largely on the certification issue and the Second Circuit’s
failure to address the Appellate Division’s decision in Powers
Chemco, Inc. v. Federal Insurance Co., 144 A.D.2d 445, 533
N.Y.S.2d 1010 (2d Dep’t 1988), aff'd, 74 N.Y.2d 910, 548 N.E.2d
1301, 549 N.Y.S.2d 650 (1989). The Second Circuit ultimately is-
sued an opinion denying Travelers petition for rehearing by dis-
tinguishing Powers Chemco on its facts. 894 F.2d 498 (2d Cir.
1990). However, the decision on rehearing modified the Second
Circuit’s prior opinion by retracting the ruling that the pollution
exclusion applies only when the insured is the “active polluter.”
Id. at 500.
Reasons for Granting the Writ
Petitioner respectfully submits that the Court should grant
the writ of certiorari for two reasons:
1. To provide the lower federal courts with practical
guidelines for determining when a partial final judgment
may be entered on one claim in an action involving multiple
claims and parties; and
2. Toenforce the institutional limits on the discretion
of a federal court sitting in diversity to use Rule 54b) to
preempt the decisions of state courts construing state law.
13
Conflicting Rule 54(b) Standards in the Federal Courts of
Appeal
Working only with this Court’s observation that some claims
are so “inherently inseparable” that a district court cannot prop-
erly certify judgment on any one of them, Sears, Roebuck & Co. v.
Mackey, 351 U.S. 427, 436 (1956), conflicting standards have been
developed by the lower federal courts to evaluate claims that are
legally and factually related. Noting the confusion surrounding
this issue and the “natural tendency [of Rule 54(b)] to generate
multiple appeals in the same case,” one court has suggested that
this Court reconsider its earlier Rule 54(b) decisions in light of the
ever increasing caseloads of the federal appellate courts. See Mi-
nority Police Officers Ass'n v. City of South Bend, 721 F.2d 197,
200-01 (7th Cir. 1983).
At one extreme, the Second Circuit holds that so long as
there are two distinct causes of action that involve some separate
legal and factual questions and can be separately enforced, the
district court may enter judgment under Rule 54(b). See Cullen v.
Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698, 711 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1021
(1987). At the other extreme, in the Seventh Circuit, a district
court cannot enter final judgment if there is a significant factual
overlap between the adjudicated and unresolved claims. See Indi-
ana Harbor Belt R.R. v. American Cyanamid Co., 860 F.2d
1441, 1445 (7th Cir. 1988); Automatic Liquid Packaging, Inc. v.
Dominik, 852 F.2d 1036, 1037 (7th Cir. 1988). Intermediate stan-
dards have been adopted as well. See Gregorian v. Izvestiu, 871
F.2d 1515, 1520 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 237 (1989) (factual
and legal issues of adjudicated claims must be “substantially dif-
ferent” from those raised by reserved claim); Explosives Supply
Coa. v. Columbia Nitrogen Corp., 691 F.2d 486, 486-87 (11th Cir.
1982) (claims are separable if “neither the same issues nor facts
would be before the reviewing court more than once.”); Morrison-
Knudsen Co. v. Archer, 655 F.2d 962, 965-966 (9th Cir. 1981) (Ken-
14
nedy, J.) (claims legally and factually inseperable insofar as they
cannot be resolved without reference to each other).
As this case illustrates, in the decade since this Court last
addressed Rule 54 (b), some of the lower federal courts have be-
come so permissive in allowing piecemeal appeals that the circuit
courts are deciding cases where they lack jurisdiction. By im-
properly exercis -g jurisdiction over the appeal below, the Second
Circuit allowed the district court to enter final judgment on a
claim that was necessarily dependent upon the resolution of un-
adjudicated third-party claims.
The Federal Courts Should Not Employ the Rule 54(b)
Certification Procedure In Diversity Cases When the Applicable
State Law Is In Flux
In a fundamental misperception of its role in this diversity
case, the district court cited as its principal justification for find-
ing “no just reason for delay” the importance of the state law poli-
cies in issue. However, this very consideration mandated that the
district court refrain from entering a partial final judgment at a
time when state law was in flux and not susceptible to accurate
exposition by the federal courts.
The district court must have been cognizant that its predic-
tions of New York environmental coverage law were controversial
since it had declined to fo!low the most recent intermediate appel-
late decision that addressed these points. Instead of unnecessar-
ily triggering a race between the federal and state appellate
processes, the district court, at minimum, should have resolved
all issues pertaining to the insurers’ defense obligations in the
first- and third-party actions before entering final judgment.
Contrast the confrontational approach taken by the Second
Circuit with the deferential approach of the Third Circuit in ap-
plying state environmental coverage law. The Third Circuit dis-
missed for lack of appellate jurisdiction an appeal from a Rule
54(b) judgment on the “damages” and “suit” issues under New
15
York law in a case that is procedurally indistinguishable from this
one. See Amencan Motorists Ins. Co. v. Levolor Lorentzen, Inc.,
879 F.2d 1165 (3d Cir. 1989). In another case, when squarely faced
with a controversial decision that governmentally mandated
cleanup costs constitute “damages” under Missouri law, the
Third Circuit notified the parties that it will certify the question to
the Missouri Supreme Court. See Jones Truck Lines v. Transport
Ins. Co., No. 88-5723, slip op. at 11-21 (E.D. Pa. May 10, 1989),
question to be certified to the Supreme Court of Missouri, Nos.
89-1729/59 (3d Cir. Feb. 15, 1990) (reprinted in appendix hereto).’
In the current uncertain legal climate and in light of the great
number of pending cases, this Court should lay the ground rules
to prevent the federal courts from obstructing the orderly evolu-
tion of state law doctrine.
POINT I
This Court Should Grant Certiorari To Enforce the
Limitations on Federal Appellate Jurisdiction.
In an action with multiple parties or multiple claims for re-
lief, Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure permits a
district court to enter final judgment on a single claim upon a
” In Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeastem Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., 811 F.2d
1180, 1188-89 (8th Cir. 1987), rev'd en banc, 842 F.2d 977, cert. denied, 109 S. Ct.
66 (1988) (“NEPACCO”), a panel of the Eighth Circuit held that governmental
suits to recover CERCLA cleanup costs sought “damages” under a liability pol-
icy and, therefore, were covered by liability insurance. After en banc considera-
tion, the Eighth Circuit reversed the panel decision and concluded that cleanup
costs are not “damages” under Missouri law. 842 F.2d at 985. The NEPACCO
decision has been a source of great controversy in the federal courts. See, e.g,
Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co. v. General Dynamics Corp., No. 88-2220C (A), slip op.
at 23-24(E.D. Mo. Dec. 12, 1989) (following NEPACCO); Cedar Chem. Corp. v.
American Universal Ins. Co., No. 87-2838-4B, slip op. at 6 (W.D. Tenn. Sept. 13,
1989) (same); Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co. v. Gulf Resources & Chem. Corp., 709 F.
Supp. 958, 961 (D. Idaho 1989) (same); Maryland Casualty Co. v. Ormond, No.
87-3038, slip op. (W.D. Ark. Jan. 6, 1989) (disagreeing with NEPACCO, but fol-
lowing decision); Federal Ins. Co. v. Susquehanna Broadcasting Co. , 727 F. Supp.
169, 173 (M.D. Pa. 1989) (disapproving NEPACCO); Intel Corp. v. Hartford
Accident & Indem. Co., 692 F. Supp. 1171, 1188-89 (N.D. Cal. 1988) (same).
16
finding that there is “no just reason for delay.”® The rule is de-
signed to achieve speedy resolution of claims that need not be ad-
judicated together while avoiding piecemeal appeals. See Sears,
Roebuck & Co. v. Mackey, 351 U.S. 427, 432 (1956).
Rule 54(b) limits the circumstances under which a district
court can enter partial final judgment in an action with multiple
claims or parties. This Court has highlighted the requirements of
the Rule:
(1) There must be a full disposition of a single, distinct
claim that is independent of the remaining claims in the mul-
tiple claim action. See Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. General Elec-
tric Co., 446 U.S. 1, 7 (1980); Seatrain Shipbuilding Corp. v.
Shell Oil Co., 444 U.S. 572, 582-83 (1980); Liberty Mutual In-
surance Co. v. Wetzel, 424 U.S. 737, 743 (1976); Sears, Roe-
buck & Co., supra, 351 U.S. at 436.
(2) The decision must be final for purposes of 28
U.S.C. § 1291 (1982) in that all issues relating to the claim
must be adjudicated. See Curtiss-Wnght Corp., supra, 446
US. at 7; Sears, Roebuck & Co., supra, 351 U.S. at 437; Catlin
v. United States, 324 U.S. 229, 233 (1945).
(3) The district court must consider the strong policy
against multiple appeals in a single action and the relation-
ship among the adjudicated and unadjudicated claims to de-
termine whether there is just cause to delay entry of
judgment until resolution of the remaining claims. Curtiss-
Wright Corp., supra, 446 US. at 8.
The relationship among the claims is relevant both to the le-
gal determination of whether a single claim has been finally adju-
* Rule 54(b) provides:
When more than one claim for relief is presented in an action, whether as a
claim, counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party claim, or when multiple parties
are involved, the court may direct the entry of a final judgment as to one or
more but fewer than all of the claims or parties only upon an express determina-
tion that there is no just reason for delay and upon an express direction for the
entry of judgment.
. — ial
17
dicated and to the discretionary evaluation of whether there is no
just cause for delay. See Sears, Roebuck & Co., supra, 351 U.S. at
436 (claims may be so inherently inseparable or closely related
that they cannot be decided separately); Cold Metal Process Co. v.
United Engineering & Foundry Co., 351 U.S. 445, 452 (1956) (“the
relationship of the adjudicated claims to the unadjudicated
claims is one of the factors which the District Court can consider
in the exercise of its discretion”); Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v.
Elefant, 790 F.2d 661, 664-65 (7th Cir. 1986) (a “[c]laim under Rule
54(b) is defined with a view to avoiding double appellate review of
the same issues”).
On appeal from a Rule 54{b) judgment, the reviewing court
must determine de novo that there has been a final and complete
resolution of a single independent claim. See Curtiss-Wright Corp.
v. General Electric Co., 446 U.S. 1, 10 (1980); Gregorian v. Izvestia,
871 F.2d 1515, 1519 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 237 (1989);
Spiegel v. Trustees of Tufts College, 843 F.2d 38, 43 (1st Cir. 1988);
ODC Communications Corp. v. Wenruth Investments, 826 F.2d
509, 512 (7th Cir. 1987). If so, the reviewing court must honor the
certification absent an abuse of discretion by the district court in
assessing the equities. See Curtiss-Wright Corp., supre, 446 U.S. at
10.
The partial summary judgment in this case did not fully and
finally dispose of a claim separate and distinct from the claims in
the third-party actions. Nor did it support certification under
Rule 54(b) because certification virtually guaranteed multiple ap-
peals on the issue of defense.
A. Because Resolution Of Petitioner’s Defense Obligations
Necessarily Depended Upon The Adjudication Of Petition-
er’s Third-Party Defense Claims, Certification Was Im-
proper And The Second Circuit Lacked Jurisdiction To
Hear The Appeal.
As a legal and factual matter, Travelers defense obligations
are so “inherently inseparable” from those of the third-party de-
18
fendant insurers that the district court could not enter final judg-
ment on Travelers obligation to defend without resolving the
third-party claims. See Sears, Roebuck & Co. vy. Mackey, 351 U.S.
427, 436 (1956). Because there was no adjudication of a separate
claim, the district court improperly entered judgment and the
Second Circuit lacked jurisdiction over the appeal.
Respondent Avondale seeks defense costs from Petitioner
Travelers. Travelers, in turn, has brought a claim for reimburse-
ment of defense costs against Avondale’s other insurers. This
claim for reimbursement derives from the “other insurance”
clause found in each Travelers insurance contract in issue. This
clause provides:
This insurance shall apply in excess of all other liability in-
surance available to the insured, and in excess of all property
damage insurance available to the named insured, and then
shall apply only in the amount by which the applicable limit
of liability of this policy exceeds the sum of the applicable
limits of liability of all other such insurance, including any
deductible provisions thereof.
Pursuant to this clause, Petitioner is an excess insurer and pays no
defense costs to the extent the insured has purchased other pri-
mary insurance from the third-party defendants.®
The Travelers “other insurance” clause contains a second
provision which provides as follows:
Without waiving the [above-quoted clause], if any insurer af-
fording other insurance to the named insured denies primary
® Two of the third-party defendants, Commercial Union and Highlands, in con-
trast, have “pro rata” other insurance clauses in their contracts which contem-
plate a proportional allocation of defense costs among the primary insurers.
Under New York law, they, not Petitioner, must defend Avondale. See General
Accident Fire & Life Assurance Corp. v. Piazza, 4 N.Y.2d 659, 669, 152 N.E.2d
236, 241, 176 N. Y.S.2d 976, 983 (1958); Albany Truck Rental Serv. v. New Hamp-
shire Merchants Ins. Co, 75 A.D.2d 426 430-32, 430 N.Y.S.2d 188, 161-62 (3d
Dep't 1980); Great American Ins. Co. v. Schaefers, 47 Misc. 2d 522, 525, 262
N.Y.S.2d 953, 956-57 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co. 1965); cf. Federal Ins. Co. v. Cablevision
Systems Dev. Co., 836 F.2d 54, 57-58 (2d Cir. 1987) (applying other insurance
clauses in consecutive primary insurance policies).
19
liability under its policy, the company will respond under
this policy as though such other insurance were not available,
provided that the company shall be subrogated to all rights of
the insured to such other insurance and the insured shall do all
things necessary to enforce such rights.
(emphasis supplied).
The other primary insurers have, like Petitioner, denied li-
ability for defense and indemnity in connection with the private
actions and the state-sponsored cleanup in Louisiana. Under the
terms of the Travelers contracts in issue, therefore, Travelers has
contracted to “drop down” and provide a defense in exchange for
the insured’s ri ghts against the other insurers on the express con-
dition that the insured has protected Travelers subrogation rights.
Absent affirmative steps by Respondents to protect their rights
against the other insurers, Travelers is not obligated to provide a
defense.
Similarly, in addition to its rights under the “other insur-
ance” clause, Travelers is entitled to an apportionment of defense
costs based upon express contractual subrogation rights set forth
in Travelers policies'® as well as general equitable principles.
Travelers has no obligation to fund Avondale’s defense to the ex-
tent Avondale has not protected Travelers subrogation rights.
See Weinberg v. Transamerica Ins. Co.,62 N.Y. 2d 379, 382-83, 465
N.E.2d 819, 821, 477 N.Y.S.2d 99, 101 (1984) (insured’s failure to
protect the subrogation rights of its insurer precludes insured
from recovering benefits under policy); State Farm Mutual Auto.
Insurance Co. v. Taglianetti, 122 A.D.2d 40, 40-1, 504 N.Y.S.2d
'©Each Travelers policy in issue provides:
In the event of any payment under this policy, the company shall be subrogated
to all the insured’s rights of recovery therefor against any person or organiza-
tion (except to the extent such person or organization is entitled to coverage
under this policy) and the insured shall execute and deliver instruments and pa-
pers and do whatever else is necessary to secure such rights. The insured shall do
nothing after loss to prejudice such rights.
(emphasis supplied).
20
476, 476 (2d Dep’t 1986) (same); Record v. Royal Globe Insurance
Co., 83 A.D.2d 154, 158, 443 N.Y.S.2d 755, 757 (2d Dep’t 1981)
(same); cf. Insurance Co. of N. Am. v. Forty-Eight Insulations, Inc.,
633 F.2d 1212, 1224-25 (6th Cir. 1980) (insured must bear portion
of defense costs for period during which it has no liability insur-
ance), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1109 (1981); Firernan’s Fund Ins. Cos.
v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 685 F. Supp. 621, 626 (E.D. Mich. 1987)
(same).
Whether Respondents took such steps is at issue in both the
main and third-party actions. In answering Petitioner’s third-
party complaint, each insurer raised as a defense that it had re-
ceived late notice of the underlying claims from the Respondents
and therefore had no insurance obligations with respect to those
claims. If the other insurers prevail on this defense, the district
court will find that Respondents failed to present diligently the
claims to its other insurers.’ Such a finding, in turn, would ex-
cuse Petitioner from all or part of its defense obligations by op-
eration of the above-quoted clauses in Travelers insurance
contracts.
Petitioner’s liability for defense costs necessarily depends on
Respondents’ rights against the third-party defendants and their
efforts to protect those rights. See International Controls Corp. v.
Vesco, 535 F.2d 742, 746-47 n.4 (2d Cir. 1976).'2 Two claims are
'' This is not just a theoretical possibility. In another hazardous waste coverage
dispute involving the same parties, a district court found that Avondale had
waived its rights under policies issued by American Motorists because Avon-
dale failed to provide timely notice. See Ogden Corp. v. Travelers Indemnity Co.,
No. 88 Civ. 4269, slip op. at 10-20 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 22, 1989).
'2 Conversely, if the district court had adjudicated the third-party claims in favor
of Petitioner without resolving the claims in the complaint, it could not certify
the judgment under Rule 54(b). The obligations of the third-party defendants
to Petitioner do not accrue until it is determined that Petitioner has an obliga-
tion to defend Avondale. See Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Fore River Ry., 861 F.2d
322, 326 (1st Cir. 1988); United States Fire Ins. Co. v. Smith Barney, Harris Upham
& Co., 724 F.2d 650, 652-53 (8th Cir. 1983). Likewise, resolution of the third-
party claims may nullify, in whole or in part, Petitioner's duty to defend pursu-
ant to the main action.
21
not separate for Rule 54(b) merely because one is in the complaint
and the other is in the third-party complaint. See Curtiss-Wright
Corp. v. General Electric Co., 446 U.S. 1, 9 (1980); Automatic Liq-
uid Packaging, Inc. v. Dominik, 852 F.2d 1036, 1037 (7th Cir. 1988).
The construction and application of the contracts in the third-
party action bear directly on the certified claim and preclude in-
vocation of Rule 54(b). See Morrison-Knudsen Co. v. Archer, 655
F.2d 962, 965 (9th Cir. 1981) (Kennedy, J.). This case is thus dis-
tinguishable from Cold Metal Process Co. v. United Engineering &
Foundry Co., 351 U.S. 445 (1956), where the presence of an unad-
judicated compulsory counterclaim was not necessarily a bar to
relief on plaintiff's claim and accordingly did not preclude certifi-
cation.
Petitioner’s duty to pay defense costs, therefore, is not sepa-
rable from the defense obligations of the other insurers—obliga-
tions that the district court has reserved for later adjudication.
Because there has been no resolution of a single claim separate
and independent of the remaining claims, the district court could
not certify the disposition of Respondents’ motion for summary
judgment and the Second Circuit was without jurisdiction to hear
the appeal.
B. Certification Was Improper Because There Was No Final
Resolution Of All Issues Relating To Petitioner’s Obligation
To Pay Defense Costs.
Nor has there been a “final” disposition of Respondents’
claim for defense costs from Petitioner. There has been no reso-
lution of whether Respondents have preserved Petitioner's sub-
rogation rights, which is 2 condition precedent to Petitioner’s
defense obligation. Travelers has asserted that it has no obliga-
tion to provide Avondale the full defense ordered by the district
court if Avondale has failed to preserve Travelers subrogation
rights. This unresolved issue precludes entry of judgment pursu-
ant to Rule 54(b): “[t]he District Court cannot, in the exercise of
its discretion, treat as ‘final’ that which is not ‘final’ within the
22
meaning of [28 U.S.C.] § 1291.” Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Mackey,
351 U.S. 427, 437 (1956) (emphasis in original). See Spiegel v. Trus-
tees of Tufts College, 843 F.2d 38, 43 (1st Cir. 1988); Rudd Constr.
Equip. Co. v. Home Ins. Co., 711 F.2d 54, 56 (6th Cir. 1983); Acha
v. Beame, 570 F.2d 57, 62 (2d Cir. 1978).
The Second Circuit’s failure to address the interlocutory
character of the order conflicts with the Third Circuit’s consid-
eration of an insurer’s duty to defend in Amertcan Motonsts Ins.
Co. v. Levolor Lorentzen, Inc. , 879 F.2d 1165 (3d Cir. 1989). In that
case, the district court improperly certified a judgment before it
had resolved all issues relating to the insurer’s duty to defend.
Specifically, the district court ruled on two of the same three sub-
stantive issues presented in this case (that the insurer had a duty
to defend a PRP letter and that an EPA cleanup proceeding
sought “damages” within the meaning of a liability policy) but re-
served judgment upon the applicability of the pollution exclusion.
As the Third Circuit observed, if the insurer is
successful in advancing the pollution exclusion, undeniably
the initial determination that it had a duty to defend will, re-
gardless of the form of any new order, be effectively revised
because the [prior order] granted Levolor’s motion for sum-
mary judgment “with respect to the issue of the obligation of
[the insurer] to provide a defense” and that obligation will no
longer exist.
Id. at 1170. Accordingly, the Third Circuit dismissed the appeal
for lack of appellate jurisdiction.
Here, too, the district court below improperly “made a certi-
fication in the midst of an ongoing controversy,” id. at 1171, by
failing to resolve all of Petitioner’s theories that limit its obliga-
tion to bear the full cost of Avondale’s defense. As in Levolor
Lorentzen where subsequent resolution of the pollution exclusion
issue in favor of the insurer could alter the “final” determination
of the insurer’s duty to defend, if the district court eventually de-
termines that Respondents untimely notified the other insurers of
23
the Louisiana claims, the court will have to reconsider its determi-
nation that Petitioner has a duty to provide Avondale a full de-
fense.
A judgment properly ordered pursuant to Rule 54(b) is final
for all purposes including appeal, execution and res judicata. See
Shamley v. ITT Corp., 869 F.2d 167, 170 (2d Cir. 1989). Thus, if the
Rule 54(b) certification stands, Petitioner may be forever pre-
cluded from asserting Respondent’s failure to protect Travelers
subrogation rights as a defense to plaintiffs’ claim, even if the dis-
trict court rules in the third-party action that Respondent failed
to notify timely the third-party defendants of the underlying
claims. Moreover, the third-party defendants may receive the
benefit of any intervening state decisions to the prejudice of Peti-
tioner.
POINT Il
This Court Should Grant Certiorari To Enforce The
Institutional Limits On A Federal Court’s Discretion
When Sitting In Diversity.
Provided there has been a final adjudication of a separate
and independent claim, entry of judgment is left to “the discretion
of the District Court as the one most likely to be familiar with the
case and with any justifiable reasons for delay.” Sears, Roebuck &
Co. v. Mackey, 351 U.S. 427, 437 (1956). In exercising that discre-
tion, however, a district court cannot disregard the institutional
limits on its authority as a federal court sitting in diversity.
After a year’s delay before ruling on Respondent’s motion
for summary judgment, the district court sought to resolve finally
Respondents’ claim for defense costs before the imminent and
authoritative consideration of identical legal issues by the New
York Court of Appeals. This constituted an abuse of discretion
because (1) it unnecessarily and precipitously forced federal ap-
pellate scrutiny in a rapidly developing area of state law, and (2) it
created the palpable danger that intervening state court decisions
EE
oe
24
will dictate an inconsistent resolution of identical legal issues in
the third-party action.
By certifying its order before resolving all claims concerning
defense, the district court compelled the Second Circuit to deal
with unsettled state law issues that were about to be addressed by
New York’s highest court. See Blanchard v. Teledyne Movible Off-
shore, Inc., 612 F.2d 971, 971-72 (Sth Cir. 1980) (setting aside certi-
fication because Supreme Court had granted certiorari in a case
that could dispositively resolve claim); Campbell v. Westrnoreland
Farm, Inc., 403 F.2d 939, 943 (2d Cir. 1968) ( “Tempting as it is to
decide this intriguing question of New York tort law, we respect-
fully decline the invitation.”). This abuse of discretion violated
the strong federal policies against multiple appeals and unneces-
sary adjudication of novel state law issues. Moreover, the entry of
partial final judgment in this period of rapid change in New York
state law has prejudiced Petitioner in its effort to enforce its con-
tractual and equitable subrogation rights in the main and third-
party actions.
Thus, Travelers had to brief and argue this case without the
benefit of the favorable Court of Appeals rulings and the Second
Circuit had to modify its initial disposition to catch up with evolv-
ing state law. As matters now stand, there are two bodies of New
York environmental coverage law—one state and one federal —
and litigants are faced with the prospect of conflicting substantive
results depending upon whether they are in federal or state court.
See Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).
Moreover, because the identical legal questions concerning
an insurer’s defense obligations are being litigated in the third-
party action, the Second Circuit likely will face a second appeal on
these issues. A plainer violation of the policy against multiple ap-
peals cannot be imagined. See Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Fore
River Ry., 861 F.2d 322, 325 (1st Cir. 1988); Cullen v. Margiotta, 811
F.2d 698, 710 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1021 (1987); United
States Fire Ins. Co. v. Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co., 724 F.2d
ee
25
650, 652 (8th Cir. 1983); Panichella v. Pennsylvania R.R., 252 F.2d
452, 455 (3d Cir. 1958); El-Marzouki Estab. v. Environmental Re-
search & Development, Inc., 93 F.R.D. 661, 662 (S.D.N.Y. 1982).
Indeed, the pendency of the third-party claims underscores
the manifest prejudice that Petitioner will suffer as a result of the
certification. The third-party defendants may receive the benefit
of the most recent exposition of New York law by the highest state
court while Petitioner will be held to the district judge’s earlier
application of state law. Thus, the district court could rule in the
third-party action that pollution exclusions in the other insurance
contracts exclude coverage notwithstanding its inconsistent rul-
ing that the pollution exclusion was no bar to coverage in the main
action. This precipitous and piecemeal federal appellate consid-
eration of the full range of environmental coverage issues con-
trasts markedly with the cautious approach taken by the New
York Court of Appeals in Technicon. 74 N. Y.2d 66, 76, 542 N.E.2d
1048, 1051, 544 N.Y.S.2d 531, 534 (1989).
This is not a case where entry of final judgment fully resolved
the claims of two litigants or even materially advanced the resolu-
tion of the dispute. The partial final judgment did substitute
Travelers for Ogden as the entity paying counsel previously se-
lected by Avondale. However, in the event of an adverse judgment
after resolution of all defense issues or even after a decision on the
ultimate indemnification question, Travelers would have been in
position to reimburse Ogden, one of the nation’s largest corpora-
tions, for Ogden’s costs in funding Avondale’s defense, plus
interest.
Yet, the entry of final judgment has taxed fair and efficient
adjudication. The improper exercise of discretion resulted in
fragmented appeals, unnecessary federal court speculation on
evolving questions of state law, and possible inconsistent resolu-
tions of identical legal questions within a single action.
26
CONCLUSION
For all of the foregoing reasons, Petitioner respectfully re-
quests that this Court issue a writ of certiorari in this case to re-
view the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit.
Dated: New York, New York
April 10, 1990
Respectfully submitted,
/s/ Barry R. Ostrager
BARRY R. OSTRAGER
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
SIMPSON THACHER & BARTLETT
(a partnership which includes
professional corporations)
425 Lexington Avenue
New York, New York 10017 |
SETH A. RIBNER
KATHRYN A. CLOKEY
of Counsel
APPENDICES
ae aan
Samy
A-1
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
OPINION ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
No. 999—August Term 1988
(Argued April 10, 1989 Decided October 18, 1989)
(Petition for Rehearing Filed November 9, 1989
Decided January 10, 1990)
Docket No. 89-7035
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INCORPORATED and
OGDEN CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs-Appellees,
v.
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Defendant-Third-Party
Plaintiff-Appellant,
v.
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY,
HIGHLANDS INSURANCE COMPANY,
AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSURANCE COMPANY,
and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party
Defendants-Appellees.
Before:
NEWMAN, CARDAMONE, AND WINTER
Circuit Judges
A-2
Petition for rehearing is filed by appellant, Travelers Indem-
nity Company, and amici, Insurance Environmental Litigation
Association and New York State Insurance Association, on the
basis of two opinions of the New York Court of Appeals filed over
one month after and one day before our opinion in Avondale In-
dustries, Inc. v. Travelers Indemnity Co., No. 89-7035, slip op. 6237
(2d Cir. Oct. 18, 1989).
Denied.
(Reported at 894 F.2d 498)
BARRY R. OSTRAGER, New York, New York (Simpson
Thacher & Bartlett, New York, New York, of counsel), for
Defendant-Appellant The Travelers Indemnity Company.
THOMAS W. BRUNNER, Washington, D.C. (Marilyn E. Kerst,
Frederick S. Ansell, Wiley, Rein & Fielding, Washington,
D.C., of counsel), filed a letter brief for Insurance Environ-
mental Litigation Association as Amicus Curiae.
PATRICK J. FOLEY, New York, New York, filed a memoran-
dum for New York State Insurance Association as Amicus
Cunae.
PER CURIA" 1:
Appellant, Travelers Indemnity Company (Travelers), and
amici, Insurance Environmental Litigation Association and New
York State Insurance Association, urge us to grant their petition
for rehearing in Avondale Industnes, Inc. v. Travelers Indemnity
Co., No. 89-7035, slip op. 6237 (2d Cir. Oct. 18, 1989), on the basis
of two cases handed down by the New York Court of Appeals,
which were not available at the time we decided Avondale. One is
Powers Chemco, Inc. v. Federal Insurance Co., No. 243 (N.Y. Ct.
App. Nov. 21, 1989), and the other is A. Meyers & Sons v. Zurich
A-3
American Insurance Group, 74 N.Y .2d 298 (1989). See Huddleston
v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 236-37 (1944); Vandenbark v. Owens-llli-
nois Glass Co., 311 U.S. 538, 543 (1941); see also Braniff Airways,
Inc. v. Curtiss-Wright Corp., 424 F.2d 427, 428-30 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 400 U.S. 829 (1970). Because we do not think these opin-
ions are contrary to Avondale, the petition for rehearing is denied.
Powers Chemco
In Powers Chemco the New York Court of Appeals held that
the defendant insurer was not obligated to indemnify the plaintiff
for cleanup expenses associated with its decontamination of
property purchased from a party who had allegedly buried,
dumped and discharged hazardous wastes onto the property be-
cause such damage fell wathin the coverage exclusion for pollution
damage that was not “sudden” and “accidental.” Avondale is fac-
tually distinguishable from Powers Chemco. In Powers Chemco,
the plaintiff seeking indemnification by the defendant insurer, by
entering into an interim consent decree with the New York State
Department of Environmental Conservation to decontaminate
the property, effectively admitted that the prior landowner had
engaged in intentional conduct that caused the pollution damage
at issue. In Avondale, to the contrary, neither the plaintiff—nor
any other party for that matter—has ever conceded that it en-
gaged in intentional conduct that resulted in pollution damage.
Without an admission—nor even an allegation of intentional con-
duct—we concluded in Avondale that the possibility that the pol-
lution damage was both sudden and accidental had not been
“clearly negate[d].”
Petitioners further note an apparent contradiction between
our reliance upon the fact that there was “no allegation that Avon-
dale itself continuously and intentionally polluted,” Avondale, slip
op. at 6250 (emphasis added), and the statement in Powers
Chemco that “there is nothing in the language of the pollution ex-
clusion clause to suggest that it is not applicable when liability is
A-4
premised on the conduct of someone other than the insured,”
Powers Chemco, slip op. at 2. This inconsistency does not furnish
grounds for rehearing because, in fact, in Avondale no party was
alleged to have or admitted to having engaged in intentional con-
duct that caused the pollution damage. We acknowledge that the
above-quoted statement suggests otherwise and therefore modify
the language in the opinion to read that there is “no allegation that
Avondale or any other party continuously and intentionally pol-
luted.”
As a second matter, petitioners direct attention to the Court
of Appeals’ finding of intentional conduct based upon the com-
plaint in Powers Chemco which alleged that the plaintiff's prede-
cessor “ (1) ‘bur[ied] drums containing the wastes,’ (2) ‘dump/[ed]
waste liquids ... ,’ and (3) discharg[ed] ‘wastes ....’” Powers
Chemco, slip op. at 2. From this they argue that we must find that
Avondale engaged in intentional conduct because of the
synonymity between the act of burying wastes alleged in Powers
Chemco and the acts of transporting and disposing of wastes al-
leged in Avondale.
We do not believe that the New York Court of Appeals’ hold-
ing in Powers Chemnco was meant to be read so broadly. The com-
plaint in that case alleged a consistent course of intentional
conduct by the plaintiff's predecessor—burying, dumping and
discharging wastes onto the property—which resulted in pollu-
tion damage. This obviously intentional course of conduct was
buttressed by the plaintiffs entering into a consent decree that
conceded it. It does not strike us that the New York court would
have held that the plaintiff's predecessor had engaged in inten-
tional conduct were the complaint to have alleged solely that the
prior owner had buried drums of hazardous wastes on the prop-
erty, without the additional charges of dumping liquids and dis-
charging wastes. Thus, the mere allegation in the Avondale
complaints that it transported and disposed of wastes without
more is insufficient in our view to establish that it engaged in in-
A-5
tentional conduct that caused pollution damage. The complaint
does not negate the possibility of intentional transportation and
burying of properly sealed drums containing wastes, followed by
sudden and accidental discharge from such drums.
Meyers
New York State Insurance Association argues that our
analysis in Avondale of the right to defend runs contrary to the
New York Court of Appeals’ hoiding in Meyers that the insurer
must defend where there is a “reasonable possibility” that the al-
legations in the underlying complaints support a duty to defend.
This argument is meritless. In Avondale we rely upon the same
line of cases as the court in Meyers, and there is no difference be-
tween our analysis of whether the “complaint in the underlying
action contains any allegations that arguably or potentially bring
the action within the protection purchased, ” Avondale, slip op. at
6248, and the Court of Appeals’ analysis of whether there is a
“reasonable possibility that the insured may be held liable for
some act or omission covered by the policy,” Meyers, 74 N.Y.2d at
302.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, the New York Court of Appeals’
holdings in Powers Chemco and Meyers do not require a change in
our holding in Avondale. Hence, the petition for rehearing is de-
nied.
A-6
OPINION OF CARDAMONE, J.
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
No. 999—August Term 1988
(Argued April 10, 1989 Decided October 18, 1989)
Docket No. 89-7035
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INCORPORATED and
OGDEN CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs-Appellees,
¥.
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Defendant-Third-Party
Plaintiff-Appellant,
|
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY,
HIGHLANDS INSURANCE COMPANY,
AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSURANCE COMPANY,
and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Appellees.
Before:
NEWMAN, CARDAMONE, AND WINTER
Circuit Judges
A-7
Travelers Indemnity Company appeals from a judgment of
the United States District Court for the Southern District of New
York (Conboy, J.) entered on December 7, 1988 that granted
plaintiffs —appellees, Avondale Industries, Inc. and Ogden Cor-
poration, summary judgment and declared that appellant had a
duty to defend appellees in private actions and administrative
proceedings imiiiated against plaintiffs in the State of Louisiana.
Partial final judgment was entered pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.
54(b).
Affirmed.
(Reported at 887 F.2d 1200)
BARRY R. OSTRAGER, New York, New York (Seth A. Ribner,
Michael Bailey, Brian G. Hart, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett,
New York, New York; George A. McKeon, General Counsel,
Thomas L. Forsyth, Kathleen M. Hannon, Hartford, Con-
necticut, of counsel), for Defendant-Appellant The Travelers
Indemnity Company.
HUGH N. FRYER, New York, New York (Edward M. Joyce,
John P. Gasior, Fryer, Ross & Gowen, New York, New York,
of counsel), for Plaintiffs-Appellees Avondale Industries, Inc.
and Ogden Corporation.
RICHARD S. FELDMAN, Uniondale, New York (Emily H.
Levin, Rivkin, Radler, Dunne & Bayh, Uniondale, New
York, of counsel), for Third-Party Defendant-Appellee Com-
+ mercial Union Insurance Company.
Patrick J. Dwyer, New York, New York (Heidell, Pittoni, Murphy
& Bach, New York, New York, of counsel), filed a brief for
Third-Party Defendant-Appellee Highlands Insurance Com-
pany.
A-8
James M. Sweet, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Timothy C. Russell,
Jane R. Coleman, Paul McDonald, Drinker Biddle & Reath,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, of counsel), filed a brief for
Third-Party Defendant-Appellee American Motorists Insur-
ance Company.
Thomas W. Brunner, Washington, D.C. (James M. Johnstone,
Frederick S. Ansell, Wiley, Rein & Fielding, Washington,
D.C., of counsel), filed a brief for Insurance Environmental
Litigation Association as Amicus Curiae. .
James M. Sweet, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (Timothy C. Russell,
Thomas S. Schaufelberger, Jane R. Coleman, Drinker Biddle
& Reath, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, of counsel), filed a brief
for American Motorists Insurance Company as Amicus Cu-
riae.
Robert N. Sayler, Washington, D.C. (William F. Greaney, Eric C.
Bosset, Laura L. Sardo, Steven G. Bradbury, Covington &
Burling, Washington, D.C., of counsel), filed a brief for The
Chemical Manufacturers Association, CIBA-GEIGY Corpo-
ration, E.I. Du Pont De Nemours & Company, International
Business Machines Corporation, The Procter & Gamble Com-
pany and Richardson-Vicks, Inc. as Amici Cunae.
CARDAMONE, Circuit Judge:
Millions of tons of hazardous waste generated yearly are
stored, deposited, recycled or dumped, and eventually escape in-
fusing lakes, streams and underground waters; this toxic material
finally comes into contact with unprotected people who are its
victims. When its source is identified, the question becomes who
is to clean it up and who is to pay for the damages it caused. Ac-
cording to a recent study by the Rand Corporation, in the last
eight years only 34 of the 1,175 most egregious toxic waste dumps
were cleaned—and of the dumps cleaned, polluters paid less than
ee
A-9
one-tenth of the cost. See N.Y. Times, Sept. 10, 1989, at A32, col.
1. This appeal confirms that the vast carelessness that created the
conundrum of hazardous waste, which has continued for dec-
ades, will not be quickly or easily remedied. One facet of the
problem is presented in this case: whether an insured may rely
upon its insurer to defend it in litigation arising from claims that
the insured improperly disposed of its toxic waste.
Appellant Travelers Indemnity Company (Travelers) ap-
peals from a December 7, 1988 judgment of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of New York (Conboy,
J.), entered pursuant to a memorandum opinion and order dated
October 19, 1988 granting partial summary judgment in a
declaratory judgment action instituted by appellees Avondale In-
dustries, Inc., a former subsidiary of Ogden Corporation (collec-
tively appellee or Avondale). The judgment declared that
Travelers had a duty to defend Avondale in private litigation in
Louisiana and in a public administrative proceeding instituted
against it by the State of Louisiana stemming from Avondale’s
disposal of hazardous waste products. Partial final judgment was
entered in favor of Avondale pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the Fed-
eral Rules of Civil Procedure.
BACKGROUND
Avondale is in the business of building and repairing com-
mercial and U.S. Navy ships in New Orleans, Louisiana. As a
part of its operations, it removes oil and chemical wastes from the
holds and fuel tanks of the ships and barges it services. These
petroleum products and chemical compounds, stored by it in
holding tanks, were from 1975 to 1979 blended and sold to Com-
bustion, Inc. Combustion transported the salvage oil from Avon-
dale’s plant to an oil recycling facility it owned near Baton Rouge,
Louisiana. There, Combustion processed and resold the “salvage
oil” that Avondale had sold it. The recycling facility and dump
site at Denham Springs, Louisiana is the subject of the present
A-10
litigation. This litigation was commenced by a series of lawsuits
brought by persons residing near the Denham Springs facility
who claimed personal injury and property damage caused by pol-
lutants emanating from the dump site.
Travelers insured Avondale from 1975 to 1984 under a com-
prehensive general lability insurance policy that provided
[Travelers] will pay on behalf of the insured all sums which
the insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages
because of bodily injury or property damage to which this
policy applies caused by anoccurrence, . . . and[Trav-
elers] shall have the right and duty to defend any suit against
the insured seeking damages on account of such injury or
damage, even if any of the allegations of the suit are ground-
less, false or fraudulent, and may make such investigation
and settlement cf any claim or suit as it deems expedi-
ent
The policy also contained the following “pollution exclusion” and
“sudden and accidental” exception to the exclusion:
{Coverage shall not apply] to bodily injury or property dam-
age arising out of the discharge, dispersal, release or escape
of smoke, vapors, soot, . . . [or] toxic chemi-
cals . . . intoorupon land, the atmosphere or any wa-
tercourse or body of water; but this exclusion does not apply
if such discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and
accidental. (emphasis supplied).
In 1986, Avondale was one of a number of defendants named
in the many private damage actions brought as a result of the
waste site owner’s allegedly tortious operations. These com-
plaints asserted that defendants’ containment measures were “in-
sufficient;” that defendants “generated” hazardous substances;
that defendants were culpable for the “escape” of hazardous ma-
terials. Importantly, there are no specific claims as to how the
ee
A-11
waste allegedly was discharged or escaped into the environment,
or that Avondale—or any other defendant for that matter —inten-
tionally or knowingly polluted the waste site in Louisiana.
Additionally, in January 1986, Avondale received a letter
from the office of the Attorney General of Louisiana, issued at the
request of the Louisiana State Department of Environmental
Quality (DEQ). The DEQ letter notified Avondale of the Depart-
ment’s intention “to take immediate action to bring about the
prompt and thorough cleanup of a hazardous waste site in
Livingston Parish, commonly known as the Combustion, Inc. Oil
Recycling Facility and to recover all costs of remediation ex-
pended by the State... at that site.” The letter noted that appellee
was a “potentially responsible party” and demanded that it pro-
vide information with respect to the types of substances disposed,
the location of disposal at the site, as well as certain names and
dates. The DEQ letter also notified Avondale that willful disre-
gard of the DEQ requests would result in potential penalties of up
to $25,000 for each day that the information was not received, and
the waiver of certain defenses available under Louisiana law. Fi-
nally, the letter made a “demand” that Avondale “submit a plan
for remedial action at the site... or... pay to the Secretary the
full costs of a remedial action” incurred by the State. The letter
also required appellee, and other potentially responsible parties,
to attend a meeting or face having a suit instituted against it by
the Department.
Avondale notified Travelers of these developments and in-
voked the insurer’s contractual duty to defend it in both the pri-
vate and public actions. When Travelers was unresponsive,
Avondale turned to the courts.
PRIOR PROCEEDINGS
Avondale instituted this diversity action pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 2201 (1982) seeking a judgment against Travelers declar-
A-12
ing that it is contractually obligated to defend and indemnify
Avondale in the underlying private and administrative proceed-
ings. Upon appellee’s motion for partial summary judgment on
its duty to defend claim, Judge Conboy held that Travelers’ duty
to defend extended to both the DEQ proceeding and the private
lawsuits. See Avondale Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 697 F.
Supp. 1314, 1316-18 (S.D.N.Y. 1988) (private suits); id. at 1318-20
(DEQ action). Avondale subsequently moved for entry of a par-
tial final judgment pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) following the
district court’s determination that Travelers was obligated to de-
fend.
Acknowledging that the duty to defend is distinct and sepa-
rable from any duty to indemnify, the trial court held that there
was no just reason to delay entry of final judgment. See Avondale
Indus., Inc. v. Travelers Indem. Co., 123 F.R.D. 80 (S.D.N.Y.
1988). In so doing, it rejected Travelers’ assertions that it would
be prejudiced in its actions against third-party defendants, which
Travelers had previously impleaded, and that a delay would not,
in any case, prejudice Avondale. Jd. at 83. Further, the district
judge rejected Travelers’ request that it await decision by the New
York Court of Appeals in a purportedly similar case concerning
an insurer’s duty to defend in Technicon Electronics Corp. v.
American Home Assurance Co., 141 AD2d 124 (2d Dep’t 1988),
aff'd, 74 NY2d 66 (1989). Travelers appeals the entry of the Rule
54(b) judgment. We affirm.
DISCUSSION
Three questions are presented for review: (1) whether the
certification of final judgment under Rule 54(b) properly issued;
(2) whether as a matter of law Travelers had a duty to defend
Avondale in the private damage actions; and (3) whether the
DEQ proceeding was a suit exposing Avondale to damages within
the meaning of the comprehensive general liability insurance pol-
icy requiring Travelers to defend that action.
A-13
I. Rule 54(b) Certification
A long standing common law rule holds that an appeal may
not be taken until all the matters in controversy in the trial court
are disposed of, so as to prevent a case from being appealed in
fragments. See Hohorst v. Hamburg-American Packet Co., 148
U.S. 262, 264-65 (1893). The rule against piecemeal appeals is
firmly embodied in Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) that today permits the
district court to “direct the entry of a final judgment as to one or
more but fewer than all of the claims or parties only upon an ex-
press determination that there is no just reason for delay and
upon an express direction for the entry of judgment.” To meet the
need for flexibility without weakening the salutary requirement of
finality before permitting an appeal, “the District Court is used as
a ‘dispatcher.’ ” Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Mackey, 351 U.S. 427, 435
(1956). Under the Rule “upon an express determination that
there is no just reason for delay,” it may make “an express direc-
tion for the entry of judgment.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b).
A district court issuing a partial judgment is required to ex-
plain its reasoning. Ansam Assocs., Inc. v. Cola Petroleum, Ltd.,
760 F.2d 442, 445 (2d Cir. 1985); Cullen v. Margiotta, 618 F.2d 226,
228 (2d Cir. 1980) (per curiam). In reviewing a Rule 54 judgment,
an appellate court must first assure itself respecting the separate-
ness of the claims or parties so as to prevent piecemeal appeals in
cases where the finality rule would ordinarily apply. On this as-
pect of an appeal the scope of review is broad. See 10 Wright-
Miller-Kane, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2655, at 43 (2d ed.
1983). Once these juridical concerns are satisfied, the determina-
tion of the district court as to just cause for delay is entitled on
appeal to considerable deference, subject to reversal only for an
abuse of discretion. See Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. General Elec. Co.,
446 U.S. 1, 10 (1980).
Claims are separable “if they involve at least some different
questions of fact and law and could be separately enforced.” See
A-14
Cullen v. Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698, 711 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.
Ct. 3266 (1987). It is well-settled that the duty to defend and the
duty to indemnify are separate and distinct questions of fact and
law. See Servidone Constr. Corp. v. Security Ins. Co., 64 NY2d 419,
424 (1985) (“The duty to defend is measured against the allega-
tions of pleadings[,] but the duty to pay is determined by the ac-
tual basis for the insured’s liability to a third person.”). We are
satisfied that the claim adjudicated, and upon which final judg-
ment was entered, was separable from the other claims presented.
Travelers does not seriously contend that the first require-
ment of Rule 54(b) is not fulfilled. Instead, it argues vigorously
that Avondale will suffer neither prejudice nor hardship should
there be any delay in the entry of final judgment. Travelers notes
that Avondale was at the time a subsidiary of Ogden Corpora-
tion, a large company that is purportedly providing for Avon-
dale’s defense in Louisiana, and argues that Avondale now seeks
merely to shift payment from its former parent to its insurer.
Avondale is actually exposed to no prejudice or hardship, appel-
lant continues, and it is Travelers that may be prejudiced in its
claims against other third-party defendants. Again, Travelers as-
serts that Rule 54(b) certification violated critical institutional
concerns regarding finality because the district court disregarded
a purportedly controlling state court precedent, a case then await-
ing appeal to the state’s highest court. We reject each of these
arguments.
First, Avondale could be prejudiced were it forced to await
final judgment on all its claims against Travelers. Beyond the cost
of defending itself in the Louisiana actions, an insured is entitled
to “litigation insurance” under New York law, as part and parcel
of the insurer’s duty to defend. See, e.g., Seaboard Sur. Co. v. Gil-
lette Co., 64 NY2d 304, 310 (1984), International Paper Co. v. Con-
tinental Casualty Co., 35 NY2d 322, 326 (1974). Moreover, a
unitary defense in the underlying actions would ameliorate possi-
bilities that Travelers would later object to appellee’s litigation
— eT
awe
ES ce a ll pens
A-15
strategy and the expenses Avondale incurred by defending itself.
The defense costs in Louisiana are likely to be substantial and
there is no reason that Avondale should delay having its insurer
step in and defend it. We see no prejudice to Travelers in dealing
with the other insurers.
Nor is there any affront to the institutional interests of the
federal courts. Travelers seems to suggest that in this diversity
case the district court either guessed at what the state law was or
disregarded it. Neither contention is true. As noted below, Tech-
nicon, the supposedly authoritative case, is distinguishable be-
cause the insured in that case conceded that it had intentionally
discharged industrial wastes. Hence, we conclude that the dis-
trict court did not abuse its discretion in certifying partial final
judgment under Rule 54(b).
II. Travelers’ Duty to Defend the Private Actions
We next consider whether under New York law and the sub-
ject policy, Travelers owed a duty to Avondale to defend it in the
private damage actions instituted in Louisiana. The law in this
area is well-settled. An insurer’s duty to defend and to indemnify
are separate and distinct, and the former duty is broader than the
latter. See Technicon, 74 NY2d at 73; Servidone, 64 NY2d at 424;
Seaboard, 64 NY2d at 310. The duty to defend rests solely on
whether the complaint in the underlying action contains any alle-
gations that arguably or potentially bring the action within the
protection purchased. Technicon, 74 NY2d at 73. So long as the
claims alleged against the insured rationally may be said to fall
within the policy coverage, the insurer must come forward and
defend. Id.
New York courts have held, in addition, that an insurer seek-
ing to avoid its duty to defend bears a heavy burden. “[BJefore an
insurance company is permitted to avoid policy coverage, it must
...eStablish[ ] that the exclusions or exemptions apply in the par-
A-16
ticular case, and that they are subject to no other reasonable in-
terpretation.” Seaboard, 64 NY2d at 311; see also Neuwirth v. Blue
Cross & Blue Shield, 62 NY2d 718 (1984) (mem.) (citations omit-
ted). To avoid the duty therefore the insurer must demonstrate
that the allegations in the underlying complaints are “solely and
entirely” within specific and unambiguous exclusions from the
policy’s coverage. See International Paper, 35 NY2d at 325.
Consequently, Travelers can be excused from its duty to de-
fend only if it can be determined as a matter of law that there is no
possible basis in law or fact upon which the insurer might be held
to indemnify Avondale. See, e.g., Villa Charlotte Bronte, Inc. v.
Commercial Union Ins. Co., 64 NY2d 846, 848 (1985) (mem.).
Comparison must be made de novo between the allegations con-
tained in the complaint or underlying action and the terms of the
policy. See National Grange Mut. Ins. Co. v. Continental Casualty
Ins. Co., 650 F. Supp. 1404, 1408 (S.D.N.Y. 1986); Seaboard, 64
NY2d at 310-11.
Travelers relies on the New York Court of Appeals’ recent
affirmance of the Appellate Division’s decision in Technicon re-
jecting a duty to defend under an identical “pollution exclusion.”
There Technicon operated a plant that manufactured blood ana-
lyzing machines. It was sued by private parties for personal inju-
ries suffered as a result of exposure to toxic chemicals allegedly
discharged by it into a stream. Technicon brought a declaratory
judgment action in New York to compel its insurers to undertake
their contractual duty to defend. Defendants asserted that a
clause in their respective policies excluding losses relating to the
discharge of pollutants unless such discharge is “sudden and ac-
cidental” relieved them of that duty. Technicon, 141 AD2d at 128.
Defendants argued that Technicon’s answer in the underlying ac-
tion had admitted that it had intentionally discharged toxins into
the creek for some six years, and therefore that the pollution ex-
clusion—and not the “sudden and accidental” exception to the
Bie.
H
;
A-17
exclusion—applied. This admission, defendants argued, made it
clear that the polluting was neither sudden nor accidental.
The Appellate Division held that, on the facts alleged in the
pleadings of the underlying action, defendants had no duty to de-
fend, and that the pollution exclusion exempted from coverage “li-
ability based on all intentional discharges of waste materials.” Id.
at 139. It explicitly distinguished those cases in which the dis-
charges alleged in the underlying complaint were in fact uninten-
tional.
In affirming the Appellate Division, New York’s highest
court stated that as a matter of law the conduct complained of
was not an accidental occurrence under the policy because Tech-
nicon conceded that it intentionally discharged toxic wastes from
its blood sampling equipment into a creek. Technicon, 74 NY2d
at 75.
In the instant case the district court distinguished the Appel-
late Division holding in Technicon. See 697 F. Supp. at 1317 n.4.
It noted that the eight underlying complaints filed against, inter
alia, Avondale alleged only that the site operator operated the site
from 1960 to 1982; that waste products were disposed of there;
and that the site contains hazardous waste, which the complaints
asserted had caused and will continue to cause injury to person
and property. Jd. at 1317. In distinguishing the present case from
Technicon, Judge Conboy noted that the complaint did not allege
how the discharge escaped, nor what Avondale did to contribute
to the seepage. There was no allegation that Avondale itself con-
tinuously and intentionally polluted. Jd. at 1317.
Examining the allegations of the underlying Louisiana com-
plaints it appears that Avondale is one of 70 named defendants.
The allegations charge all the defendants with “insufficient” con-
tainment measures; with “generating” hazardous waste; with
“knowledge” of the presence of toxins; with culpability for “es-
A-18
cape” of hazardous materials. None of these conclusory asser-
tions “clearly negate” the possibility that discharge or escape was
“sudden and accidental.” Hence, it seems plain that the New
York Court of Appeals’ affirmance of Technicon did nothing to
cast doubt on the district court’s conclusion. Travelers therefore
has a duty to defend the private actions.
III. Travelers’ Duty to Defend the Administracive Proceeding
Travelers’ policy requires it to defend “any swit against the
insured seeking damages on account of bodily injury or property
damage.” (emphasis supplied). Whether the administrative pro-
ceeding is a suit and whether the remedial costs expended by the
State of Louisiana that potentially may be assessed against Avon-
dale are damages—within the meaning of the policy—are the re-
maining questions that we must answer. Appellant Travelers and
amicus American Motorists Insurance Company (AMICO) ar-
gue that the proceeding is not a “suit” as the term is commonly
understood under an insurance policy, and that costs are not
damages. The district court came to a contrary conclusion. See
697 F. Supp. at 1318-20 (damages), 1320-23 (suit).
A. Suit
We have little trouble viewing this administrative proceeding
as a Suit. The demand letter commences a formal proceeding
against Avondale, advising it that a public authority has assumed
an adversarial posture toward it, and that disregard of the DEQ’s
demands may result in the loss of substantial rights by Avondale.
These strike us as the hallmarks of litigation, and are sufficiently
adversarial io constitute a suit under New York law and within
the meaning of the policy.
New York appears to have adopted a broad construction of
the word “suit.” Before arbitration was included within the
meaning of suit by the insurance industry, New York’s highest
court held that suit included arbitration, reasoning that the in-
A-19
Pat cS ca
: surer was aware that arbitration might be directed when it wrote
) the policy. See Madawick Contracting Co. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 307
N.Y. 111, 119 (1954). Plainly, Travelers as an insurer was aware of
the possibility of a suit regarding toxic chemicals as shown by the
pollution exclusion clause it included in the policy it drafted.
Although the Appellate Division in Technicon held that the
EPA administrative letter demand in that case was not a suit, 141
AD2d at 145-46, the Court of Appeals did not reach or decide the
issue. 74 NY2d at 76. Again, Technicon is distinguishable on this
issue too. There, in the appellate Division’s own words, “[t}he
EPA letter . . . merely informed Technicon of its potential li-
ability under CERCLA and that the EPA was interested in dis-
cussing Technicon’s voluntary participation in remedial
measures. The letter was an invitation to voluntary action . . . .”
141 AD2d at 146. A request to participate voluntarily in remedial
measures is not the same as the adversarial posture assumed in
the coercive demand letter that Avondale received in the instant
case.
Further, common sense argues that for Travelers to proffer a
defense now is better for it, Avondale, and the public interest in a
prompt cleanup of the hazardous waste. A judicial proceeding —
were Avondale to ignore the DEQ letter—plainly will sharply es-
calate the liability costs Avondale faces. Fundamental issues
involved in the administrative proceeding will obviously affect the
extent of contribution of the various generators of the waste. A
1987 Report of the Association of State Waste Management Offi-
cials found in the record indicates —consonant with what experi-
ence teaches—that a private remedial effort is quicker and less
expensive than a government sponsored program. See Develop-
ments— Toxic Waste Litigation, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1458, 1505 (1986).
a
A-20
B. Damages
Having concluded that the administrative proceeding is a
suit, we turn next to damages. In New York, the terms of an insur-
ance policy have long been accorded “a natural and reasonable
meaning,” Doyle v. Allstate Ins. Co., 1 NY2d 439, 443 (1956), cor-
responding to “the reasonable expectation and purpose of the or-
dinary businessman.” Ace Wire & Cable Co. v. Aetna Casualty &
Sur. Co., 60 NY2d 390, 398 (1983); see Bird v. St. Paul Fire & Ma-
rine Ins. Co., 224 N.Y. 47, 51 (1918). If there is uncertainty con-
cerning its meaning, a policy is construed to embrace coverage.
Insurance Co. of No. Am. vy. Dayton Tool & Die Works Inc., 57
NY2d 489, 499 (1982); Thomas J. Lipton, Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins.
Co., 34 NY2d 356, 361 (1974); accord National Grange, 650 F.
Supp. at 1408. When an insurer that drafts the instrument wants
to exclude from coverage policy obligations it would otherwise as-
sume, it must do so in clear and unmistakable language. See Sea-
board, 64 NY2d at 311.
Travelers and amici strenuously urge that damages has a
precise meaning related only to remedies at law, and thus pre-
cludes a duty to defend actions that sound in equity or propose
only equitable relief. In particular, they cite two cases, Continen-
tal Ins. Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., 842 F.
2d 977 (8th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 66 (1988)
(NEPACCO), and Maryland Casualty Co. v. Armco, Inc., 822 F.2d
1348 (4th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 703 (1988). Both hold
that, under Missouri and Maryland law respectively, the term
damages does not include equitable relief—even when such is
monetary—associated with a cleanup of a waste site under
CERCLA. NEPACCO, 842 F.2d at 985-87; Armco, Inc., 822 F.2d
at 1352-54. They further argue that the Louisiana statute under
which the DEQ demand was issued only permits the State to re-
cover remedial and restorative expenses, relief that is equitable in
nature. They assert therefore that the district court incorrectly
held that the statute permitted the State to seek money damages
A-21
in lieu of equitable relief. Travelers and amici conclude that un-
der New York law remedial costs for the cleanup of a waste site do
not constitute damages. We disagree.
Here the term damages is not defined in Travelers’ policy.
Damages not being given any more limited definition in the policy
must be construed to include the remedial costs that may be im-
posed on Avondale by the State of Louisiana. Damages, as the
district court said, may “include funds necessary for restoration
of third parties’ properties.” 697 F. Supp. at 1319. In addition, a
number of other courts have held that cleanup costs are damages
under the same kind of policy. See, e.g., Port of Portland v. Water
Quality Ins. Syndicate, 796 F.2d 1188, 1194 (9th Cir. 1986) (policy
covers equitable cleanup costs when interpreted according to
usual meaning); American Motorists Ins. Co. v. Levelor Lorentzen,
Inc., No. 88-1994, slip op. at 7 (D.N.J. Oct. 14, 1988) (same result
under New York law), appeal dismissed, 879 F.2d 1165 (3d Cir.
1989); accord United States Fidelity & Guar. Co., 683 F. Supp. 1139,
1168 (W.D. Mich. 1988); Dayton Indep. School Dist. v. National
Gypsum Co., 682 F. Supp. 1403, 1411 n. 24 (E.D. Tex 1988); Cen-
tennial Insur. Co. v. Lumbermens Mut. Casualty Co., 677 F. Supp.
342, 349-50 (E.D. Pa. 1987).
We believe therefore that inasmuch as appellee might be
held liable for cleanup costs, appellant was obliged to defend.
Moreover, viewed from the insured’s perspective, we think an or-
dinary businessman reading this policy would have believed him-
self covered for the demands and potential damage claims now
being asserted in the DEQ administrative proceeding, see Allstate
Ins. Co. v. Klock Oil Co., 73 AD2d 486, 489 (4th Dept. 1980), par-
ticularly absent any specific exclusionary language in the policy.
C. Indemnification
Travelers has also raised the question of indemnification or
contribution from other insurers arguing that it is an excess car-
A-22
rier with respect to at least two other insurers. The district court
did not rule on this issue, only requiring Travelers to defend. As
Avondale had the clear right to choose which insurance company
it would name as a defendant, regardless of whatever rights Trav-
elers may have to demand defense costs from the other carriers,
we need not and do not on this appeal adjudicate Travelers’ rights
against the third-party defendants.
CONCLUSION
For all the reasons stated above, the judgment appealed
from is affirmed.
—
A-23
MEMORANDUM OPINION AND JUDGMENT
December 6, 1988
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
86 Civ. 9626 (KC)
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INC. and
OGDEN CORPORATION
Plaintiffs,
-against-
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Defendant
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Third-Party Plaintiff,
-against-
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY,
HIGHLANDS INSURANCE COMPANY,
AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSURANCE COMPANY,
and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Defendants.
(Reported at 123 F.R.D. 80)
KENNETH CONBOY, District Judge:
Plaintiff Avondale Industries, Inc. (“Avondale”) and Ogden
Corporation (“Ogden”) have moved for entry of final judgment
pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
on this Court’s Memorandum Opinion and Order, dated
October 19, 1988. This Court concluded that defendant Travelers
Indemnity Company (“Travelers”) is obligated to defend the
Plaintiffs in both the private actions filed and the administrative
A-24
process initiated by the Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality (“DEQ”) and granted partial summary judgment in favor
of the Plaintiffs.
DISCUSSION
Rule 54(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides
as follows:
“When more than one claim for relief is presented in [sic]
action, whether as a claim, counterclaim, cross-claim, or
third-party claim, or when multiple parties are involved, the
court may direct the entry of a final judgment as to one or
more but fewer than all of the claims or parties only upon an
express determination that there is no just reason for delay
and upon an express direction for the entry of judgment.”
The rule is designed to allow the district court to depart from
the usual principle that a final judgment is not entered prior to the
complete adjudication of all the claims of all the parties so that
the Court can provide relief where it is needed to avoid undue
hardship to the parties. Cullen v. Margiotta, 811 F.2d 698, 711
(2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 3266 (1987). Accordingly, the
court may direct entry of a partial final judgment either (1) dis-
posing of claims of or against fewer than all of the parties or (2)
disposing of fewer than all of the claims. The Court, however,
must remain cognizant of the goals of judicial economy and the
policy against “piecemeal appeals.” See United States v.
McDonald, 435 U.S. 850, 852 (1977); Sears Roebuck & Co. v.
Mackey, 351 U.S. 427, 438 (1956).
When multiple claims are involved, a court should not enter
final judgment dismissing a given claim unless that claim is
“separable from the claims that survive.” Cullen, 811 F.2d at 711.
Claims are customarily regarded as “separable” if they embrace
“at least some different questions of fact and law and could be
separately enforced or if ‘different sorts of relief are sought.” /d.
A-25
(citations omitted); see 10 Wright, Miller, & Kane, Federal Prac-
tice & Procedure, section 2657, at 67 (1983) (claims are separable
when there is more than one possible recovery and the recoveries
are not mutually exclusive). Claims may be considered “separa-
ble” when these attributes exist, even if they have arisen out of the
same transaction or occurrence. Id. (emphasis added); see Cold
Metal Process Co. v. United Engineering & Foundry Co., 351 U.S.
445, 452 (1956); Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Mackey, 351 U.S. 427,
436-37 & n. 9 (1956).
In the instant multi-claim case, the question is whether the
duty to defend is separable from the duty to indemnify. Under
New York law, “it is crystal clear that [Travelers’] duty to defend
is separate and distinct from [its] duty to indemnity.” National
Grange Mut. Ins. Co. v. Continental Cas. Ins. Co., 650 F. Supp.
1404, 1407 (S.D.N.Y. 1986) (emphasis added); Servidone Constr.
Co. v. Security Ins. Co. of Hartford, 64 N.Y .2d 419, 423-24, 477 N.E.
2d 441, 444-45, 488 N.Y.S.2d 139, 142 (1985); see Seaboard Surety
Co. v. Gillette Co., 64 N.Y.2d 304, 310, 476 N.E.2d 272, 274, 486
N.Y.S.2d 873, 875-76 (1984); Int'l Paper Co. v. Continental Cas.
Co., 35 N.Y.2d 322, 326, 320 N.E.2d 619, 621, 361 N.Y.S.2d 873,
876 (1974). The duty to defend is “heavier and broader” than the
duty to indemnify. See Servidone, 64 N.Y.2d at 423-24, 477 N.E.2d
at 444-45, 488 N.Y.S.2d at 142. The obligation to defend has been
termed “litigation insurance” as an insurer is required to provide
a defense to any action within the policy coverage, however
groundless, in which the insured may possibly be held liable for
damages. See National Grange, 650 F. Supp. at 1407-08. Further-
more, “the duty to defend is not contingent on the insurer’s ulti-
mate duty to indemnify should the insured be found liable, nor is
it material that the complaint against the insured asserts addi-
tional claims which fall outside the policy’s general coverage or
within its exclusory provisions.” See Seaboard Surety, 64 N.Y .2d
at 310, 476 N.E.2d at 274, 486 N.Y.S.2d at 875-76. Therefore, it
follows that the first part of the Rule 54(b) analysis is satisfied as
A-26
it is undeniably clear that Travelers’ duty to defend is distinct
from its duty to indemnify even though the two obligations arise
out of the same transaction or occurrence. Consequently, the fact
that the indemnity issue has not yet been settled is not dispositive
as Travelers suggests.
The second part of the rule permits this Court to direct that
partial final judgment be entered if it concludes that “there is no
just reason for delay.” Fed. R. Civ. P.54(b). This determination is
committed to the sound discretion of the district court. Cullen,
811 F.2d at 711. Travelers, in opposing the entry of partial final
judgment, states that this Court should postpone such entry as
Technicon Electronics Corp. v. The American Home Assurance
Co., No. 953E, slip op. (2d Dep’t Oct. 3, 1988), which this Court
distinguished in its October 19, 1988 Order, is “awaiting appeal to
the New York Court of Appeals.” (Travelers Memorandum of
Law at 7). Travelers also argues that a final judgment enforcing
its duty to defend will somehow prejudice its rights against the
third-party defendants. (Jd. at 6). Finally, Travelers contends
that Avondale will not suffer prejudice if the Court does not cer-
tify the Order.
First, Travelers does not in any way demonstrate that Tech-
nicon is indeed “awaiting appeal.” In addition, this Court does
not see any reason why Avondale should have to wait until some
indefinite future date to receive the defense to which it is entitled.
The private actions and the administrative process initiated by
the Louisiana DEQ against Plaintiffs require immediate atten-
tion. Plaintiffs should not have to bear either the sizable expense
or the burden of decision-making as it pertains to defense strat-
egy alone.
As regards Travelers’ claim that its rights against third-party
defendants will be prejudiced if this Court directs entry of final
judgment, to the extent that Travelers has asserted its rights this
Court has determined that its argument is without merit. See
A-27
Memorandum Opinion and Order, October 19, 1988, at 20-21. To
the extent that Travelers has not yet asserted its rights, if any, the
Court fails to see why plaintiffs should be prejudiced by such de-
lay.
Travelers’ final argument in opposition is that Plaintiff
Avondale will suffer no prejudice if a final judgment is not en-
tered. This argument is based on the allegation that Avondale’s
former corporate parent, Ogden, is paying for Avondale’s defense
and will continue to do so until September 30, 1993. Regardless of
whether Ogden may or may not be paying for the defense, this
Court has determined that it is Travelers’ obligation to defend
Avondale. Travelers’ argument simply begs the question of its
own obligations. As stated above, the duty to defend includes the
payment of expenses as well as taking on the burden of decision-
making regarding litigation strategy.
It is axiomatic that effective management of litigation in a
multi-front liability war such as plaintiffs here confront, is com-
plex and daunting. A case of this type goes through mutations,
sometimes daily. To suggest that the passage of time matters not
to the plaintiffs in such circumstances, and that enforcement of
the duty to defend can await another day, denigrates the profes-
sional obligation here found to have been undertaken. Moreover,
should this Court relegate the plaintiffs to an undetermined pe-
riod of watchful waiting for final judgment on its Order, it is con-
ceivable that Travelers might take issue with and disclaim
responsibility for any litigation decisions made by Plaintiffs in the
interim. Furthermore, it is not inconceivable that disputes might
later arise as to expenses Plaintiffs actually incurred in their de-
fense, and the extent to which such expenses were later recover-
able from Travelers.
In addition, entry of final judgment will! not prejudice Travel-
ers. Rather, such entry will actually benefit Travelers, since it
could then seek appeal of this Court’s Order. In the event that
A-28
Travelers chose not to appeal, the litigation would be advanced as
Travelers would become directly involved immediately in the de-
fense of the underlying actions.
Travelers suggests that if it chooses to appeal, there remains
the remote possibility that there could be two appeals with re-
spect to the various insurers’ obligations, since, Travelers states,
this Court will be called upon to determine the obligations of the
third-party defendant insurers, and that it is likely that such a de-
termination would be appealed. However, this Court believes
that there is no immediate prospect of an Order being entered as
to Travelers’ rights (if any) against third parties, and certainly,
that any appeal of such an Order is at this time entirely specula-
tive.
In light of the pending actions against Plaintiffs and the ag-
gressive manner in which both parties petitioned this Court for
determination of Travelers’ obligation to provide a defense for
Plaintiffs, and in view of the immensely important public policy
questions relating to environmental hazard and safety in Louisiana
and elsewhere that are fundamentally effected by liability, defense
and indemnification findings in actions like this, this Court con-
cludes that there is no just reason for delay and directs the entry
of partial final judgment upon its Opinion and Order of
October 19, 1988.
SO ORDERED
KENNETH CONBOY
United States District Judge
Dated: New York, New York
December 6, 1988
A-29
MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
October 19, 1988
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
86 Civ. 9626 (KC)
AVONDALE INDUSTRIES, INC. and
OGDEN CORPORATION,
Plaintiffs,
Vv.
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Defendant.
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Third-Party Plaintiff,
V.
COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY,
HIGHLANDS INSURANCE COMPANY,
AMERICAN MOTORISTS INSURANCE COMPANY,
and NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Defendants.
(Reported at 697 F. Supp. 1314)
KENNETH CONBOY, District Judge:
Plaintiffs brought the instant action for a declaratory judg-
ment, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. section 2201 (1982), that the defen-
dant is obligated to defend and indemnify plaintiffs under
A-30
comprehensive general liability (“CGL”) insurance policies is-
sued by defendant to plaintiffs,’ covering the period 1975-1984.
See Complaint para. 6. Plaintiff Avondale currently is a defen-
dant in at least fourteen private damage actions in Louisiana
stemming from third parties’ allegedly tortious operation of a
hazardous or toxic waste disposal or storage site (the “site”) in
that state. Avondale is involved because it contracted with one of
the operators of the site to sell the operator, during the period De-
cember 1975 to October 1979, “salvage oil,” defined as “oil, resid-
ual fuel, cargo and other materials.” See Affidavit of R. Dean
Church, executed Oct. 5, 1987, at paras. 4,6. The private damage
actions allege that Avondale’s salvage oil contributed in an un-
specified manner to the creation of the pollution at the site.
Avondale also seeks defense and indemnification for actions
being taken by the Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality (“DEQ”) to clean up the site. See Complaint Ex. B.
Jurisdiction is predicated on diversity of citizenship between
plaintiffs, Delaware corporations having their principal places of
business in Massachusetts (Avondale) and New York (Ogden),
and defendant, a Connecticut corporation having its principal
place of business in Connecticut. See 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a\1)
(1982). The action is before the court on plaintiffs’ motion for
partial summary judgment, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56{a), that
defendant is obligated to defend them in both the private actions
and the process initiated by the State of Louisiana.
' Plaintiff Ogden Corporation is listed as named insured. See, e.g., Complaint Ex.
A. However, “[nJamed insured” includes Ogden’s subsidiaries. See id. § IV(1).
Plaintiff Avondale Industries, Inc. is a successor to a subsidiary of Ogden Cor-
poration named Avondale Shipyards, Inc. See Affidavit of R. Dean Church,
executed Oct. 5, 1987, at para. 2. Avondale Shipyards, Inc. existed during the
time period relevant to the underlying actions, and in fact is the company that
dealt with one of the owners of the waste site found to be polluted.
ee.
— —
=
A-31
LEGAL ANALYSIS
The court applies New York law to the contracts between
plaintiffs and defendant.? “[T]he duty of the insurer to defend the
insured[s] rests solely on whether the complaint[s] [against the in-
sureds] allege[ ] any facts or grounds which bring the action[s]
within the protection purchased.” Seaboard Surety Co.v. Gillette
Co., 64 N.Y.2d 304, 310 476 N.E.2d 272, 275, 486 N. Y.S.2d 873, 876
(1984) (emphasis added); see National Grange Mutual Ins. Co. v.
Continental Casualty Ins. Co., 650 F. Supp. 1404, 1408 (S.D.N.Y.
1986) (“Even if some of the allegations of the underlying com-
plaint are clearly outside the scope of the coverage contained in
the policy, the insurer is obligated to defend unless the allegations
as a whole preclude coverage.”); Utica Mutual Ins. Co. v. Cherry,
38 N.Y.2d 735, 736-37, 343 N.E.2d 758, 758, 381 N.Y.S.2d 40, 40
(1975) (mem.) (insurer’s duty to defend triggered where underly-
ing complaint asserts alternative grounds for relief, and only
some of those grounds are within the policy’s coverage), aff'g 45
A.D.2d 350, 353, 358 N. Y.S.2d 519, 522 (2d Dep’t 1974). “The duty
to defend arises not from the probability of recovery but from its
possibility, no matter how remote. Any doubt as to whether the
ailegations state a claim covered by the policy must be resolved in
favor of the insured as against the insurer.” George Muhlstock &
Co. v. American Home Assurance Co., 117 A.D.2d 117, 122, 502
N.Y.S.2d 174, 178 (ist Dep’t 1986).
2 Some of the third-party defendants to the action, who are not parties to this
motion, urge that the court make no choice of law determination at this time.
They submit that they will argue at the appropriate time that their contracts of
insurance with the plaintiffs are governed by Louisiana law. Assuming that a
true conflict of laws exists, the court stresses that it has not determined what law
should apply to those other contracts. Indeed, it may be constitutionally imper-
missible to apply New York law to those other contracts. See Phillips Petroleum
Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 820-22 (1985) (in nationwide class action concerning
leases, application of forum law to claims over which forum had developed no
state interests, when forum law conflicted with that of interested states, was
“sufficiently arbitrary and unfair as to exceed constitutionai limits”).
A-32
A. The Private Lawsuits
The eight underlying complaints provided to the court, see
Complaint Ex. C-G; Plaintiffs’ Motion For Partial Summary
Judgment Ex. L-N,3 allege, in substance, the following relevant
facts: the site operator operated the site from the 1960s until at
least 1982; Avondale was one of many companies whose waste
products were disposed of at the site; and, the site contains haz-
ardous or toxic waste. Significantly, there are no allegations as to
how the waste escaped or seeped, nor as to Avondale’s culpable
actions that contributed to the occurrence. While Avondale may
have continuously generated these waste products, it does not fol-
low necessarily, and the private actions certainly have not alleged,
that Avondale continuously, by its own actions or through the ac-
tions of an agent, intentionally polluted.* All of Avondale’s prod-
ucts may have been properly stored, and escaped in a single
incident. This is a factual matter that will be determined at the
trial(s) of the underlying actions.
For purposes of this motion only, the court assumes that de-
fendant’s offered construction of the meaning of the word “sud-
den” in plaintiffs’ policies is correct. See American Motonsts Ins.
Co. v. General Host Corp., 667 F. Supp. 1423, 1428 (D. Kan. 1987)
(“Even if ‘sudden’ is not limited to an instantaneous happening, it
still must be on brief notice, and must be unexpected. No use of
the word ‘sudden’ or ‘suddenly’ could be consistent with an event
which happened gradually or over an extended time, nor could it
be consistent with an event which was anticipated or predict-
3 The court has been informed that six additional private lawsuits have been
filed. See Letter from Hugh N. Fryer to Hon. Kenneth Conboy (Oct. 14, 1988).
4 The absence of any such allegation distinguishes this action from EAD Metal-
lurgical, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., No. CIV-86-1027E, slip op.
(W.D.N.Y. July 12, 1988), in which the insured allegedly directly polluted. See
id., slip op. at 1. Also distinguishable is Technicon Electronics Corporation v.
American Home Assurance Company, __ A.D.2d__, No. 953E, slip op. (N.Y. 2d
Dep't Oct. 3, 1988), in which the insured conceded that it had intentionally dis-
charged industrial wastes. See id., slip op. at 3.
A-33
able.”). Contra Broadwell Realty Servs. v. Fidelity & Casualty Co.,
218 N.J. Super. 516,__ , 528 A.2d 76, 83-86 (App. Div. 1987) (reject-
ing argument that “sudden” has a temporal meaning, and holding
that it means only “unexpected and unintended”). Even under
this more restrictive view, there is a question of fact whether the
dispersal of Avondale’s waste product comes within the policies.
See discussion supra at 4-5.
The existence of factual disputes, material to the issue of in-
demnification, in the underlying private lawsuits requires the
court to hold that as a matter of law, the defendant has failed to
demonstrate “that there is no possible factual or legal basis on
which the insurer miyht eventually be obligated to indemnify [the
insureds] under any provision contained in the polic{ies].” Villa
Charlotte Bronte, Inc.v. Commercial Union Ins. Co., 64 N.Y.2d
846, 848, 476 N.E.2d 640, 641, 487 N.Y.S.2d 314, 315 (1985) (mem.).
The defendant’s assertion that Avondale was an active, continu-
ous polluter is a conclusion that is not established on the underly-
ing pleadings. The matter outside the pleadings submitted by the
defendant is irrelevant to the determination of its duty to defend;
such matter is relevant only to its duty to indemnify.
The defendant argues that summary judgment is inappropri-
ate because there is an extant factual dispute as to the parties’ in-
tent in drafting the pollution exclusion clause to the insurance
contracts, citing Olin Corporation v. Insurance Company of North
America, 603 F. Supp. 445 (S.D.N.Y. 1985), and County of Broome
v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Company, slip op. (N.Y. Sup. Ct. June
24, 1988). Each of those cases denied motions for partial sum-
mary judgment because a factual question existed whether the in-
surer was obligated under the policy to indemnify the insured.
See Olin Corp., 603 F. Supp. at 448-49; County of Broome, slip op.
at 11. However, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia has held that the holdings of Olin Corporation and
County of Broome are “simply inconsistent with New York law.”
Abex Corp. v. Maryland Casualty Co., 790 F.2d 119, 129 n.44 (D.C.
A-34
Cir. 1986) (applying New York law) (discussing Olin Corp.); see,
e.g., Villa Charlotte Bronte, Inc., discussed supra at 6. The court
declines to follow Olin Corporation and County of Broome. “Only
disputes over facts that might affect the outcome of the suit under
the governing [substantive] law will properly preclude the entry of
summary judgment.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 248
(1986). “[W]hether the parties intended Travelers [sic] policies to
provide limited pollution coverage for sudden, accidental pri-
mary discharges of pollutants or some broader insuring obliga-
tion that extends to Avondale’s continuous waste disposal
activity, ” see Defendant’s Memorandum of Law in Opposition, at
39, is immaterial to resolving the question of the defendant’s duty
to provide the plaintiffs with a defense, because the underlying
complaints are so ambiguous that a claim within the purchased
coverage is alleged under the more restrictive interpretation.
The court concludes that the defendant is obligated to pro-
vide a defense for the plaintiffs in the private lawsuits.
B. The Department of Environmental Quality Demand
The policies of insurance contain the standard section on li-
ability, including the following relevant language: “[T]he [insurer]
shall have the right and duty to defend any suit against the insured
seeking damages [because of bodily injury or property damage]
on account of such injury or damage.” The defendant raises two
objections to plaintiffs’ request that it defend them with respect
to the administrative process begun by the Louisiana Depart-
ment of Environmental Quality to clean up the site. First, the de-
fendant claims that cleanup costs are not “damages,” so that the
policies provide no coverage. Second, the defendant argues that
the administrative process is not a “suit” that it is required to de-
fend.
aah DBS
A-35
1. Whether the proceeding by the Louisiana DEQ raises
any claim coming within the policies’ coverage as
damages
The cases are split on the question whether waste site
cleanup costs constitute “damages’ under CGL policies, or
whether such costs are “restitutional,” and therefore not covered.
Compare United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Thomas Solvent
Co., 683 F. Supp. 1139, 1163-65, 1168-71 (W.D. Mich. 1988) (ap-
plying Illinois law) (“While . . . claims [for cleanup costs] might be
characterized as seeking ‘equitable relief,’ the cleanup costs are
essentially compensatory damages for injury to common property
and for that reason the insurer has a duty to defend.”), vacated on
other grounds, id. at 1174-77 (W.D. Mich. 1988) and New Castle
County v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 673 F. Supp. 1359,
1362, 1364-1366 (D. Del. 1987) (applying Delaware law) (“an ordi-
nary definition of the word ‘damages’ makes no distinction be-
tween actions at law and actions in equity”) and Broadwell Realty
Servs., 218 N.J. Super. at __ , 528 A.2d at 81-83 (recognizing “that
the cost of complying with an injunctive decree does not ordinar-
ily fall within” the definition of “damages,” yet holding that cer-
tain cleanup expenses are covered by CGI policy) with
Continental Ins. Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chem.
Co., 842 F.2d 977, 978, 984-87 (8th Cir.) (en banc) (applying Mis-
souri law) (5-3 majority holding that cleanup costs are in the na-
ture of equitable relief, and therefore “are not claims for
‘damages’ under . . . CGL policies”), petition for cert. filed, 56
U.S.L.W. 3850 (U.S. May 27, 1988); Maryland Casualty Co. v.
Armco, Inc.,822 F.2d 1348, 1351-54 (4th Cir. 1987) (applying
Maryland law) (“damages” has a “legal, technical meaning”
which excludes “the costs . . . of complying with the directives of a
regulatory agency”), cert. denied, __ U.S. ___ , 108 S. Ct. 703 (1988).
New York trial courts have split in the same manner. Compare
Kutsher’s Country Club Corp. v. Lincoln Ins. Co., 119 Misc. 2d 889,
889-93, 465 N.Y.S.2d 136, 137-39 (Sup. Ct. 1983) (cleanup costs
A-36
constitutes “property damage” within CGL policy) with County of
Broome, slip op. at 20-21 (costs involved in “remedial program”
are not covered by CGL policy). The Second Department did not
address the issue in its decision in Technicon Electronics Corpora-
tion. See __. A.D.2d at __, slip op. at 18-19.
In New York, the terms of an insurance policy are to be ac-
corded “a natural and reasonable meaning.” Doyle v. Allstate Ins.
Co., 1 N.Y.2d 439, 443, 136 N.E.2d 484, 487, 154 N.Y.S.2d 10, 13
(1956). Moreover, the terms are construed according to “the rea-
sonable expectation and purpose of the ordinary businessman.”
Ace Wire & Cable Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 60 N.Y.2d
390, 398, 457 N.E.2d 761, 764, 469 N.Y.S.2d 655, 658 (1983); see
Bird v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 224 N.Y.47, 51, 120 N.E. 86,
87 (1918).
In light of the foregoing precedent from the New York Court
of Appeals, the court concludes that that court would find that
cleanup costs do come within the CGL’s coverage as “damages.”
As a general matter, such costs may extend to include funds nec-
essary for restoration of third parties’ properties. See, e.g., Broad-
well Realty Servs., 218 N.J. Super. at ___, 528 A.2d at 82-83
(differentiating between expenditures for prevention of damage
to other parties’ properties and expenditures for damage to in-
sured’s property). Specifically, the relevant Louisiana statute
speaks of liability for a “pollution source,” La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §
30:1149.46(A) (West Supp. 1988), which “means the site or loca-
tion of a discharge or potential discharge, including such sur-
rounding property necessary to secure or quarantine the area.” Id. §
30:1133(10) (West Supp. 1988) (emphasis added); see id §
30:1149.42(8) (West Supp. 1988) (referring to the definition in sec-
tion 30:1133). The court expects that Louisiana's DEQ would re-
quire parties to contribute towards the cleanup of others’
properties, if they constitute part of a “pollution source.”
—————————
A-37
The average businessman does not differentiate between
“damages” and “restitution;” in either case, money comes from
his pocket and goes to third parties. See United States Fidelity &
Guaranty Co., 683 F. Supp. at 1168 (“the insured ought to be able
to rely on the common sense expectation that property damage
within the meaning of the policy includes a claim which results in
causing him to pay sums of money because his acts or omissions
affected adversely the rights of third parties”). The average busi-
nessman would consider himself covered for cleanup expendi-
tures applicable to others’ properties. Cases such as Armco Inc.,
which apply a “legal, technical meaning” to the word “damages,”
see id. at 1352, are inapposite to this case, to which New York law,
mandating construction according to “the reasonable expectation
and purpose of the ordinary businessman,” applies.
The court notes that New York cases have held that cleanup
costs for real property are properly recoverable as a form of
“damages.” See Jenkins v. Etlinger, 55 N.Y.2d 35, 38-40, 432
N.E.2d 589, 590-91, 447 N. Y.S.2d 696, 697-98 (1982) (“the proper
measure of damages for permanent injury to real property is the
lesser of the decline in market value and the cost of restoration”);
Seifert v. Sound Beach Property Owners Ass'n, 60 Misc. 2d 300, 305,
303 N.Y.S.2d 85, 90 (Sup. Ct. 1969) (work undertaken to restore
property to its prior condition “is a proper element of damage”);
Mullen v. Jacobs, 58 Misc. 2d 64, 67-68, 71-72 294 N.Y.S.2d 636,
640, 643-44 (Sup. Ct. 1968) (expense incurred in removing debris
from real property is a proper element of damages recoverable
from tort-feasor). While these cases did not attempt to differenti-
ate “damages” from “restitution,” and did not concern insurance
coverage for pollution cleanup, nevertheless they support the con-
clusion that the reasonable businessman would consider himself
covered for such expenditures. If courts employ such language,
surely it is appropriate for a businessman to consider himself to
be covered for these expenditures.
A-38
Alternatively, even assuming the New York Court of Ap-
peals would hold that cleanup costs are entirely restitutionary,
and therefore not covered, the defendant would still be obligated
to provide the plaintiffs with a defense in the administrative pro-
ceeding (assuming that such proceeding is a “suit”). This is be-
cause the state of Louisiana could elect to recover damages rather
than restitution, or because a Louisiana court might decide that
damages are appropriate, rather than restoration. The statute
certainly contemplates the possibility that the state might recover
damages, see La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 30:1149.42(9Xa\xiii) (West
Supp. 1988) (authorizing secretary of department of environ-
mental quality to take any action, besides those otherwise enu-
merated, deemed “necessary to restore the site or remove the
hazardous substance”) (emphasis added), and Louisiana courts
would likely recognize the general principle that in the discretion
of the court compensatory damages may be awarded in lieu of
equitable relief. See Dyer & Moody, Inc. v. Dynamic Constructors,
Inc., 357 So. 2d 615, 618-19 (La. Ct. App. 1st Cir. 1978) (trial court
did not commit error in awarding money judgment as compensa-
tory damages in lieu of mandatory injunction); Freestate Indus.
Dev. Co. v. T. & H., Inc., 188 So. 2d 746, 748 (La. Ct. App. 2d Cir.
1966) (“The jurisprudence has established the principle that in
the discretion of the court compensatory damages may be
awarded in lieu of injunctive relief.”). Because the state of Louisi-
ana possesses this option, the defendant is obligated under New
York law to provide a defense.
In Doyle v. Allstate Insurance Company, the New York Court
of Appeals held that an insurer was obligated to defend its in-
sured against an action seeking injunctive relief only, because the
possibility existed that a court of equity might “grant damages in
addition to or as an incident of some other special equitable re-
lief.” 1 N.Y.2d at 441-44, 136 N.E.2d at 485-87, 154 N.Y.S.2d at
11-14. Thus, the defendant is obligated, as the possibility exists,
even if unstated, and even if remote, that the plaintiffs might be
se ee
A-39
held responsible for damages to others’ properties through the
cleanup process.
2. Whether the Administrative Process Constitutes a Suit
There had been conflicting New York trial court precedents
on the question whether an administrative process such as that
initiated by the Louisiana DEQ is a “suit” which triggers the cov-
erage of the CGL policy. Compare Technicon Elec. Corp. v.
American Home Assurance Co., No. 08811/85, slip op. at 1-2, 4-5
(N.Y. Sup. Ct. Feb. 18, 1986) (governmental cleanup proceeding is
a “suit” requiring insurer to provide a defense) with County of
Broome, slip op. at 20-21 (governmental cleanup proceeding is not
a “suit” requiring insurer to provide a defense). However, Tech-
nicon Electronics Corporation was recently reversed by the Appel-
late Division, Second Department. See Technicon Elec. Corp. v.
American Home Assurance Co., _. A.D.2d __, No. 953E, slip op.
at 18-20 (N.Y. 2d Dep’t Oct. 3, 1988). The court did conclude, in
dicta only, that such a proceeding is not a “suit” requiring a de-
fense by the insurer.
The Second Department relied on three cases in making its
determination —-Detrex Chemical Industries, Incorporated v. Em-
ployers Insurance, 681 F. Supp. 438 (N.D. Ohio 1987), City of Evart
v. Home Insurance Company, slip op. (Mich. Ct. App. Aug. 5,
1987), and County of Broome v. Aetna Casualty Company, slip op.
(N.Y. Sup. Ct. June 24, 1988). The court held that the demand
letter sent Technicon Electronics Corporation by the Environ-
mental Protection Agency
merely informed Technicon of its potential liability under
{relevant federal law] and that the EPA was interested in dis-
cussing Technicon’s voluntary participation in remedial
measures. The letter was an invitation to voluntary action on
Technicon’s part and is not the equivalent of the commence-
ment of a formal proceeding within the meaning of the sub-
ject comprehensive general liability policies.
A-40
Technicon Elec. Corp., No. 953E, slip op. at 19-20.
Decisions :endered by lower state courts are not controlling
on federal courts construing state law when, as here, the state’s
highest court has not ruled on the issue. See Commissioner of In-
ternal Revenue v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456, 465 (1967). Such
decisions are “dat[{a] for ascertaining state law which is not to be
disregarded by a federal court unless it is convinced by other per-
suasive data that the highest court of the state would decide other-
wise.” Id. (emphasis in original) (quoting West v. A.T. & T. Co.,
311 U.S. 223 (1940)).
None of the three cases cited by the Second Department is
persuasive to this court. County of Broome turned on the determi-
nation that the governmental administiative process did not con-
stitute a suit for damages, see id., slip op. at 21, a conclusion at
odds with the court’s conclusion that cleanup costs are damages.
See discussion supra at 8-13.
Critical to the court’s decision in Detrex Chemical Industnes
was the equation of a governmental demand letter with other
forms of “claims,” to which the insurer is not obligated to provide
a defense. See 681 F. Supp. at 442-46. The two cases cited by the
court to make the general point are distinguishable from govern-
mental demand letters in a crucial, and to this court determina-
tive, fact. In both Fisher v. Hartford, 329 F.2d 352 (7th Cir. 1964)
and Marvel Heat Corp. v. Travelers Indemnity Co., 325 Mass. 682,
92 N.E.2d 233 (1950), there was nothing the party asserting the
claim against the insured could do between the occurrence of the
tort and the initiation of a lawsuit that would adversely affect the
insured’s rights, because the claims were for common law torts.
See Fisher, 329 F.2d at 353 (personal injury); Marvel Heat Corp..
325 Mass. at _, 92 N.E.2d at 233 (property damage). On the other
hand, as the court in Detrex Chemical Industnes acknowledged,
the government has discretion in choosing responsive action in
combatting pollution sites. See 681 F. Supp. at 446-47. By choos-
A-41
ing a more expensive option, the government can adversely affect
the insured’s rights.
Thus, the analogy drawn by the court in Detrex Chemical In-
dustries is not apt. Adverse consequences can befall an insured
during the administrative pollution cleanup process. The acting
governmental agency could select «. more expensive responsive
action. Under the Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation and Liability Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-510 (codi-
fied as amended at 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 9601-9675) (West 1983 &
Supp. 1987), a party may at least challenge the selected response
as being arbitrary or capricious. See 42 U.S.C.A. § 9613(jX2)
(West Supp. 1987). The Louisiana statute appears to offer defen-
dants no such opportunity. See La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 30:1149.46
(West Supp. 1988) (“Finding of liability by the court”); id. §
30:1147 (West Supp. 1988) (“Defenses”). Thus, the need to be rep-
resented is acute at the time the demand letter is received.
The court notes also that the district court in Detrex Chemi-
cal Industnes reconsidered its original decision. See 681 F. Supp.
at 459-60 (N.D. Ohio 1988). On reconsideration, the court held
that the insurer’s duty to defend would be triggered by the govern-
ment’s issuance of a remedial order. See id. at 460. This court
believes that such a position “shuts the barn door after the horses
have gotten out.” The adverse consequence to the insured occurs
when the government chooses a remedial plan more expensive
than an otherwise acceptable plan. Thus, the need for representa-
tion is greatest before the remedial plan is formulated, when the
government is accepting input from the responsible parties. See,
e.g., Complaint Ex. B at 2-3 (Letter from Louisiana Department
of Justice to Avondale Shipyards Inc. demanding that the com-
pany submit a remedial plan of its own, and inviting the company
to participate in a meeting designed to “coordinate the submis-
sion of a plan”).
The third case relied on by the Second Department, City of
Evart, “held that the requirement of a suit was ‘clear and unambi-
A-42
guous’ and that the duty to defend extended only to ‘suits, not alle-
gations, accusations or mere claims which have not been
embodied in a suit.’” Technicon Elec. Corp., No. 953E, slip op. at
19. City of Evart may be authority within Michigan, but see Fire-
man’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Ex-Cell-O Corp., 662 F. Supp. 71, 75
(E.D.Mich. 1987) (relying on another Michigan precedent, United
States Aviex Co. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 125 Mich. App. 579, 336
N.W.2d 838 (Mich. Ct. App. 1983), to hold “that a ‘suit’ includes
any effort to impose on the policyholder a liability ultimately en-
forceable by a court”), but it is not binding in New York. Its
precedential value is further eroded by its characterization of a
demand letter as a “mere claim ].” As already stated, a recipient
of a demand letter can be adversely affected by ignoring the letter.
See discussion supra at 15-17. Lastly, there is precedent in New
York for interpreting the term “suit” flexibly.
The plaintiffs submit the case of Clarke v. Fidelity & Casualty
Co., 55 Misc. 2d 327, 285 N.Y.S.2d 503 (Sup. Ct. 1967), for the
proposition that, under New York law, once an insured has re-
ceived notice of the institution of “juridical process” that might
eventually lead to a judgment, a “suit” requiring the insurer to de-
fend has been stated. Plaintiffs point out that the Louisiana stat-
ute expressly provides that the secretary of DEQ may institute a
lawsuit to compel recovery of costs from any liable parties. See
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 30:1149.45(B) (West Supp. 1988).
In Clarke, the insured was “vouched in” to a lawsuit. See 55—
Misc. 2d at 333-35, 285 N.Y.S.2d at 508-10. This process notified
the insured that another party, involved in a lawsuit, would have
the insured be bound by judgment in that lawsuit without actually
impleading the insured, and for that reason, the other party was
offering the insured the opportunity to control the defense of the
litigation. See id., 285 N.Y.S.2d at 508-10. The court stated that
use of the vouching-in process would not make the insured “any
the less proceeded against by way of the juridical process generi-
cally defined in the insurance contract as a ‘suit.’” See id. at 336,
A-43
285 N.Y.S.2d at 510. The court concluded that the procedure con-
stituted a “litigious process which is in fact a ‘suit’ within the
meaning of the” insurance policy. See id., 285 N.Y.S.2d at 510; see
also Continental Casualty Co. v. Cole, 809 F.2d 891, 897-99 (D.C.
Cir. 1987) (“Clarke focused on the substance of the action against
the insured rather than on its form, recognizing that an insured
who is being ‘proceeded against,’ albeit in an unorthodox fashion,
is no less entitled to a defense than his insured contemporaries
who are legally attacked in a more conventional manner.”).
There is a distinction between Clarke and the process in-
volved in this action. The vouching-in procedure used in Clarke
sufficed to give a judgment obtained in a lawsuit binding effect
against the insured. See 55 Misc. 2d at 333-35, 285 N.Y.S.2d at
508-10. On the other hand, there was no pending judicial pro-
ceeding filed by the Louisiana DEQ against anyone at the time
plaintiffs filed this declaratory judgment action. However, the
plaintiffs had received a “demand letter” from the DEQ, requir-
ing the submission of a remedial plan. See Complaint Ex. B.
The distinction is insignificant. The relevant statute author-
izes the secretary to take remedial action before instituting suit,
which he may then use to “recover[ ]” expenditures. See La. Rev.
Stat. Ann. § 30:1149.45(C) (West Supp. 1988). Thus, action may
be undertaken which binds the insured before suit is filed. Since
damages may be determined before the parties arrive in court, the
administrative process is part of a “litigious process” that triggers
the obligation to defend. See New Castle County, 673 F. Supp. at
1366 (demand letter “legaliy obligated” insured to incur cleanup
costs); Ex-Cell-O Corp., 662 F. Supp. at 75 (demand letter consti-
tuted “an effort to impose on the policyholders a liability ulti-
mately enforceable by a court’). The promise to defend would be
partially illusory if the insured were provided with a defense only
as to liability, and not as to damages.
From the foregoing discussion, it should be clear that it is
misleading to characterize a demand letter such as we have in this
A-44
case as seeking “voluntary participation in remedial measures.”
Technicon Elec. Corp., No. 953E, slip op. at 19-20. First, failure to
respond can lead to adverse consequences. Second, the court has
not found any authority holding that the governmental agency is
bound to accept a recipient’s volunteered plan. Thus, representa-
tion is necessary to convince the government to accept one reme-
dial plan rather than another. For all of the foregoing reasons, the
court opines that the New York Court of Appeals would hold that
receipt of a demand letter from a governmental environmental
agency in such particular circumstances as we have in this case is
a “suit” requiring the insurer to defend.
C. Defendant’s Other Objections
The defendant objects that it is not obligated to defend any
proceeding against the plaintiffs unless and until coverage is
found as a certainty, citing cases from New Jersey. See Hartford
Accident & Indemnity Co. v. Aetna Life & Casualty Ins. Co., 98 N.J.
18, __, 483 A.2d 402, 405-08 (1984) (per curiam); Burd v. Sussex
Mutual Ins. Co., 56 N.J. 383, __, 267 A.2d 7, 9-14 (1970). The New
Jersey rule is that if the insurer disputes the obligation to indem-
nify, its obligation to defend is translated “into one to reimburse
the insured if it is later adjudged that the claim was one within the
policy covenant to pay.” Burd, 56 NJ. at __, 267 A.2d at 10, quoted
in Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 98 N.J. at __, 483 A.2d at
406. It is felt that this avoids placing the insurer’s counsel in a
conflict between insurer and insured. See Hartford Accident & In-
demnity Co., 98 N.J. at __, 483 A.2d at 407; Burd, 56 NJ. at __, 267
A.2d at 10-11.
This objection is not well-grounded. New York, while recog-
nizing the concern of conflicted counsel, deals with the problem
arising under such circumstances differently. “If any such con-
flict of interest arises, as it probably will, the selection of the attor-
neys to represent the assureds should be made by them rather
than by the insurance company, which should remain liable for
the payment of the reasonable value of the services of whatever
A-45
attorneys the assureds select.” Prashker v. United States Guaran-
tee Co., 1 N.Y.2d 584, 593, 136 N.E.2d 871, 876, 154 N.Y.S.2d 910,
917 (1956); see Utica Mutual Ins. Co. v. Cherry, 45 A.D.2d 350, 355,
358 N.Y.S.2d 519, 524 (2d Dep’t 1974) (noting that the problem
recognized by Burd and other cases is disposed of in New York by
the rule established in Prashker), aff'd mem., 38 N.Y.2d 735, 343
N.E.2d 758, 381 N.Y.S.2d 40 (1975). Thus, in New York the obli-
gation is to defend, even if the interests of insured and insurer
conflict.
Lastly, the defendant argues that it is an excess insurer, and
that other insurers are primary insurers for these actions. Thus,
the defendant contends it is not obligated to provide the plaintiffs
with a defense.
This objection is without merit. The CGL policies state that
“if any insurer affording other insurance to the named insured{s]
denies primary liability under its policy, [Travelers] will respond
under this policy as though such other insurance were not avail-
able.” £.g., Ex. G to Affidavit of Robert P. Carroll, executed Oct.
28, 1987, at Condition 5. The third-party defendants, other insur-
ers named by the defendant, have all denied primary liability. Ac-
cording to its contract, these denials obligate the defendant.
CONCLUSION
The defendant is obligated to provide the plaintiffs a defense
for both the private actions filed and the administrative process
initiated by the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality.
Therefore, the plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment is
granted in all respects.
SO ORDERED.
Dated: New York, New York
October 19, 1988
KENNETH CONBOY
United States District Judge
A-46
Letterhead of
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT
February 15, 1990
(Ellen Rosen Rogoff, Esquire William E. McGrath, Jr., Esquire
(Bennett G. Picker, Esquire Golden, Rothschild, Spagnola
Bolger, Picker, Hankin & DiFazio
& Tannenbaum 1011 Route 22, P.O. 897
1800 J.F. Kennedy Boulevard Somerville, NJ 08876-0897
Philadelphia, PA 19103 ;
Douglas Y. Christian, Esquire
Reed, Smith, Shaw & McClay
2500 One Liberty Place
Philadelphia, PA 19103
i
RE: Jones Truck Lines v. Transport Insurance Co.
Nos. 89-1729/59
Dear Counsel:
The Court will certify to the Missouri Supreme Court a ques-
tion regarding the interpretation of the term “damages” under
Missouri law in the insurance contracts at issue. Counsel are di-
rected to confer immediately to see if they can agree on the spe-
cific question as it should be submitted. If they cannot agree, then
appeliant will submit the proposed form of the question within 5
business days of this letter and appellee will sumit the proposed
A-47
form of the question within 10 business days of this letter.
Very truly yours,
SALLY MRVOS, Clerk
By:
Chief Deputy Clerk
MEF/af
cc: For Your Information Only:
Shelley A. Woods, Esquire
William H. Allen, Esquire
Francis P. Newell, Esquire
Thomas W. Brunner, Esquire
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.