Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cassilly v. Maryland Department of Human Resources

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

DEBORAH CASSILLY, in her capacity as

owner and operator of Bo Peep Day Nursery,

Petitioner,

v.

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES,

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL

HYGIENE, HARTFORD COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT,

_~ Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

MICHAEL D. BARNES*

JAMES P. MERCURIO

JAMES H. HULME

JONATHAN M. MILLER

ARENT, Fox, KINTNER, PLOTKIN

& KAHN

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036-5339

(202) 857-6170

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

yo

QUESTION PRESENTED

In a proceeding to revoke a day care license on the

grounds that young children were sexually abused, is

it a violation of the Due Process Clause for the tri-

bunal to deny the licensee’s motion to have her own

accredited expert interview the children and there-

after base revocation of the license upon the chil-

dren’s out-of-hearing statements and the testimony of

experts for the State who were permitted to interview

the children and interpret their accounts?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORS ERS wvcccsnscsssscososcncasssssseossscons

OPINIONS BEAT sccessssoscerssocssccsocessdsampessnctssenssanesss

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..............cccccceseeeees

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STA.UTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED ccccccssssscennesvinnnennstninaindsiannnicinmenmbinanibhanten

STATEMENT OF THE GARE cccscscnsscsescocsvoncnssscssosses

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...................

I. THIS PETITION PRESENTS ISSUES SIMILAR

TO THE ISSUES THIS COURT WILL REVIEW

IN IDAHO v. WRIGHT BUT INTRODUCES AD-

DITIONAL ALTERNATIVES. ............ccccecceeeeeees

THE BO PEEP DECISION MISAPPLIES MAT-

THEWS ©. BEaPRAAGED covssiciccsssncsnscnssecssnssesses

II.

A.

B.

The Maryland Court of Appeals Under-

stated the Private Interests At Stake ..

The Maryland Court of Appeals Severely

Misconceived the Risk of Erroneous Re-

sult and the Probable Value of the Pro-

cedures Suggested .........ccscccescsscscsesersesess

. The Maryland Court of Appeals Confused

the Government’s Interest in Efficient Pro-

cedures With the Government’s Interest in

Only Licensing Day Care Centers Where

Children Are Not Sexually Abused ..........

CONCLUSION cccccesccssxssotsessentboninenpniionmmanmennaiianns

iil

13

13

18

18

20

23

25

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68 (1985) .................02. 18,23

Anderson v. State, 749 P.2d 369 (Alaska App. |

SIE sei hicehindehinhaceudlibassdvedcesbbisenekssbicsiabiésinsnhaxccesese 23

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) .......... 19

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ..... 19

Coy v. Iowa, 108 S.Ct. 2798 (1988) ...................000. 17

Haggins v. Warden, Fort Pillow State Farm, 715

F.2d 1050 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464

Beis cE SIE linnaapernnnstnnasannnnciinistebensessennennes 15

Idaho v. Wright, 775 P.2d 1224, 116 Idaho 382

(1989), cert. granted, 58 U.S.L.W. 3443 (U.S.

Jan. 16, 1990KNo. 89-260) ...........cccccccsscssseevees 13,14

In Re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544 (1968) ......... 19 .

Little v. Streater, 452 U.S. 1 (1981)... 18

Maryland v. Craig, 316 Md. 551, 560 A.2d 1120,

1125 (1989) cert. granted, 58 U.S.L.W. 3443-

(U.S. Jan. 16, 1990) (No. 89-478) «0.0.0.0... 17

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) .... 10,18,23,24

Maul v. State Bd. of Dental Examiners, 668 P.2d

i a aeialicahannna 19

Michael H. v. Gerald D., 109 S.Ct. 2333 (1989) ... 24

Morgan v. Foretich, 846 F.2d 941 (4th Cir.

RCS ARETE STS CIES oe ce Oa 15,25

Nelson v. Farrey, 874 F.2d 1222 (7th Cir. 1989),

cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 835 (1990) ................ 16,17,21

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) ...........0.... 14

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39 (1987) ......... 23

People v. District Court of El Paso County, 776

RE PMI, ROIID seninctscansconsstnncicessnesesssses 15

Perez v. State, 536 So.2d 206 (Fla. 1988), cert. de-

nied, 108 S.Ct. SSBB (19BB) ..........ccccccccsessceeees 15

iv

Table of Authorities Continued

Shively v. Stewart, 65 Cal.2d 475, 55 Cal. Rptr. 217

EE Fe CE teccntninctitetnneenscetatinieinanncinn

Snell v. Commonwealth State Examining Board, 490

Pa. 277, 416 A.2d 468 (1980) ...........cccsccscsssees

State v. Boston, 46 Ohio St. 108, 545 N.E.2d 1220

REUNITE “sdisalacsaiacnapsiedecihics piikkiieenpiaanate teal cai

COUT <imcminininnsallbionbinasnianeienngininebinhamitetuabaasenonss

CEUINED sieniansviensanssinitatepnineuinuieetinisisinuesakanepssnntnes

CREED scchondndiniasninintignbbsatsnsinehiehnbeatnamnaniininlibbiinuses

Turner v. Commonwealth, 767 S.W.2d 557 (Ky.

1988) cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 260 (1989) ........

United States v. Cree, 778 F.2d 474 (8th Cir.

UE Skctechnaispiciisdilicesiieiaaatliasirelita indian eerie i ig

TUE ynianipiiincsnntianiinibiieninaaaapaiaiamaiiaainemnneiinnnts

Walters v. National Ass’n of Radiation Survivors,

SC II cinipicninenndeiisidesnscnasnnctanesiasiiens

U.S. CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND

REGULATIONS

U.S. Constitution, Amend. XIV, Sect. 1.0.0...

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Benedek & Schetky, Problems in Validating Alle-

gation of Sexual Abuse. Part i: Factors Af-

fecting Perception and Recall of Events, 26 J.

of the Am. Academy of Child & Adolescent

PIII Rn aE OE

Cantwell, Child Sexual Abuse: Very Young Perpe-

trators, 12 Child Abuse & Neglect 579

GE -echsntsevcastovnctiuicisemasannicianapineeinntiasaninicasianias

Page

19

20

15

15

17

21

Table of Authorities Continued

FINKELHOR, D. et al., SEXUAL ABUSE IN Day CARE:

A NATIONAL StuDy, FINAL REPORT, vii (Uni-

versity of New Hampshire, 1988) ...................

Green & Schetky, True and False Allegations of

Child Sexual Abuse, in CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE:

A HANDBOOK FOR HEALTH CARE AND LEGAL

PROFESSIONALS 104, 108-09 (D. Schetky & A.

Cree, GEE. TG) sanintiinieeeeeieenn

Hutton, Child Sexual Abuse Cases: Reestablishing

the Balance Within the Adversary System, 20

U. Mich. J. Law Reform 491, 505 (1986) ......

James, Child Protection Workers’ Role in Erro-

neous Alegations of Child Abuse, 146 Am. J.

eg BE RE ON

Mantell, Clarifying Erroneous Child Sexual Abuse

Allegations, 58 Am. J. Orthopsychiatry 618

CRIED sescscinsssssisnssesinpiniaiehaeleeae

Spiegel, Child Abuse Hysteria and the Elementary

School Counselor, 22 Elementary School Guid-

ance & Counseling 275, 279-80 (1987) ............

U.S. DEpT. oF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES,

StuDY OF NATIONAL INCIDENCE AND

PREVALENCE OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT:

ROBE, Gee Cee sdsenstinvicaticccunesne ieee

Yates & Musty, Preschool Children’s Erroneous Al-

legations of Sexual Molestation, 145 Am. J.

PVR TD CEBU wicvccnininscsnsscnsecenensectnsnenss

Page

20,21

= =

«

=

;

wag :

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

No.

DEBORAH CASSILLY, in her capacity as

owner and operator of Bo Peep Day Nursery,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

MENTAL HYGIENE, HARFORD COUNTY

HEALTH DEPARTMENT,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of Maryland

is reported as Maryland Department of Human Re-

sources v. Bo Peep Day Nursery, 317 Md. 5738, 565

A.2d 1015, 58 U.S.L.W. 2312 (1989) and is repro-

duced at Appendix la.

The opinion of the Circuit Court for Harford

County, Maryland, is unpublished and is reproduced

at Appendix 36a.

The administrative decisions in this case, including

the final decision of the State of Maryland, Depart-

ment of Health and Mental Hygiene and Department

of Human Resources, the proposed decision of the

Hearing Examiner, and the initial decision of the Har-

ford County Health Department revoking Petitioner’s

day care license, are unpublished, and are reproduced

at Appendix 76a, 77a and 136a, respectively.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of Maryland

was issued on November 18, 1989. This Court’s ju-

risdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution, Section 1, provides in pertinent part as

follows:

[NJor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty or property, without due process

of law....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Deborah Cassilly (Petitioner) held a license issued

by the State of Maryland that permitted her to op-

erate a day care center. Her license was revoked upon

administrative findings that some of the children at-

tending her center, almost all of whom were three

or four years old, were victims of physical and sexual

abuse. The children did not testify at the hearing, but

their parents and experts who interviewed the chil-

dren testified to statements the children made outside

the hearing and expressed opinions, based upon the

interviews, that abuse occurred at Petitioner’s day

care center. Petitioner’s pre-hearing request to have

accredited experts of her choosing interview the chil-

dren was denied. After issuance of the final admin-

istrative order revoking her license, Petitioner sought

review by the Circuit Court for Harford County,

Maryland. That Court held that Petitioner’s right to

due process under the Fourteenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution was violated, since the

credibility of the children’s out-of-hearing statements

was essential to the case. Appendix 36a, 52a-60a. That

decision was in turn reversed by the Maryland Court

of Appeals, which found that no due process right

had been violated. Appendix la, 20a-28a.

The background of the case regarding the issue

before the Court is straightforward. Bo Peep Day

Nursery (‘Bo Peep’’), was a day care center located

in Bel Air, Harford County, Maryland. It was con-

ducted by Petitioner as licensee and director. Appen-

dix 2a. The center occupied the first two floors of a

three-story building, with the top floor containing an

apartment that was occupied until July 1987, by

Petitioner, her husband, and their two children. Dur-

ing the winter of 1986-87, total enrollment at Bo Peep

was eighty children, with up to sixty children present

at any one time. Appendix 3a. Petitioner had worked

at Bo Peep since 1979, her first year in college, and

purchased the center in 1984. Appendix 2a.

On June 18, 1987, the mother of two children at-

tending the nursery sent a letter to the Maryland

Department of Social Services alleging that one of

her children was sexually abused at Bo Peep. Ap-

pendix 37a n.l. The State, in response, organized a

meeting on June 25, 1987, of parents of children en-

rolled at the nursery, at which the State advised the

parents of the allegations made against Bo Peep and

alerted them as to ‘‘warning signs’’ of sexual abuse.

Appendix 94a. Shortly thereafter, on July 6, 1987,

Petitioner received a letter from the Harford County

Health Department advising her that her license was

being suspended. Petitioner appealed the suspension

order to the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene, which held hearings in August and

September, 1987, before William F. Clark, as Hearing

Examiner. Mr. Clark issued a proposed decision up-

holding the suspension, and a final agency decision

suspending the license was issued on March 23, 1988.

This suspension was then appealed to the Circuit

Court for Harford County but the issue became moot,

since the license was permanently revoked while the

case was pending in the Circuit Court. Appendix 45a-

47a.

The present petition arises out of the revocation

proceedings. On March 26, 1988, the Harford County

Health Department sent Petitioner a letter ‘‘perma-

nently revoking and denying renewal” of her day care

license. Appendix 136a. This decision was followed by

an administrative hearing, once again before Mr.

Clark, which extended over nine days, between May

11 and June 8, 1988. Appendix 78a. Prior to these

hearings, on May 2, 1988, Petitioner’s attorney re-

quested that the State make the children involved in

the allegations of sexual abuse at Bo Peep available

for interviews by Petitioner’s own health experts and

advised the Hearing Examiner that, should this re-

quest be denied, he would ‘‘move to exclude from the

proceeding, on the grounds of violation of due process

and fundamental fair play, the use by the State of

any evidence derived from information to which we

were denied access.’’ Appendix 5a-6a.

The Hearing Examiner denied Petitioner’s request

to have her own expert interview the children, but

nevertheless relied extensively on out-of-hearing

statements by the children related during the hearing

by their parents and by experts who testified for the

State. The Hearing Examiner also relied on opinion

testimony that purported to interpret statements

made to these witnesses and expressed conclusions

that the children’s statements indicated to them that

physical and sexual abuse occurred at Bo Peep. Al-

legations of physical and sexual abuse were made

against the Petitioner’s husband, who lived with the

Petitioner in the family apartment on the third floor,

against a senior staff person at the center, and to a

lesser extent, against Petitioner herself.

The Hearing Examiner issued a proposed decision

on August 23, 1988 upholding revocation of

Petitioner’s license. He relied upon the testimony of-

fered by the State’s experts both as to statements

made by the children and the experts’ interpretations

of them, expressly finding that ‘‘the observations

made by these licensed therapists who testified about

their sessions with the children is more credible than

the expert opinion offered by the Appellant’s witness,

who merely read a cold record.”” Appendix 104a. The

Hearing Examiner attached special importance to the

role of the expert in interpreting statements of small

children. In fact, he alluded to that role, as follows,

in his analysis of the conflicting expert testimony and

his reasons for relying upon the State’s experts rather

than Petitioner’s:

[Petitioner’s expert’s] opinion must also be

discounted because he has not given suffi-

cient consideration to the fact that the state-

ments of the children cannot uniformly be

taken literally, but must be interpreted in

light of the children’s perceptions and de-

velopmental levels, given the fact that these

children, on account of their young age, do

not possess the experience, mental] capacity

or vocabulary to efficiently and accurately

convey their observations like adults do.

Appendix 104a-105a.

The Hearing Examiner cited the testimony of par-

ents and therapists, along with the testimony of two

physicians to whom the State had referred many of

the children who attended Bo Peep.’ In a number of

cases these witnesses described symptoms that they

stated were consistent with sexual abuse. Appendix

103a. The Hearing Officer did not, however, link any

child’s description of sexual abuse with a particular

physical sign on the child, and no testimony was heard

from the children themselves. The Hearing Examiner

emphasized the similarities between the testimony re-

ceived and the findings of a study by the University

of New Hampshire on sexual abuse in day care, Ap-

pendix 103a, 110a-135a, and used this study to justify

his conclusions concerning the kinds of evidence which

he found to be indicative of sexual abuse. See Ap-

pendix 103a, 110a.

' Petitioner filed a motion on June 30, 1988 seeking to have

the Circuit Court for Harford County order physical examina-

tions by Petitioner’s own expert of the children alleged to have

been sexually abused. This motion was denied on October 25,

1988.

~]

The Hearing Examiner’s proposed decision was

adopted by the Department of Health and Mental

Hygiene and the Department of Human Resources,

Appendix 76a, and was immediately appealed to the

Circuit Court for Harford County, Maryland. The Cir-

cuit Court found that the agency proceeding did not

afford Petitioner due process of law and ordered the

decision reversed and remanded.

The Circuit Court explained that:

[T]he children’s out-of-hearing statements

were foundational to the case as the State

would not have had a case without these

statements. Any evidence from which it could

be concluded that the abuse took place at Bo

Peep rested upon the credibility on [sic] the

out-of-hearing statements of the children. The

psychologist, social workers and parents all

based their opinions and testimony on the

childrens’ statements. Without these state-

ments, the psychologist and social workers

could not have implicated Bo Peep.

Appendix 52a (emphasis in original). Even though

there were allegedly medical signs consistent with

physical abuse on a few of the children attending Bo

Peep, the State needed to provide evidence linking

these signs to abuse at the center. Appendix 52a.

Recognizing this fact, the Circuit Court continued:

Since the credibility of the childrens’ out-of-

hearing assertions was key to the case, the

defense asked for the opportunity to have

their psychologist speak to the children. Pre-

sumably, this would have permitted the de-

fense to test the credibility or believability

of the evidence that was never directly be-

fore the Hearing Officer (out-of-hearing

statements). The request was denied... .

Even though not afforded the opportunity to

examine the children, the Appellant’s psy-

chologist was permitted to review the evi-

dence presented by the State and opined upon

the credibility of the out-of-hearing declara-

tions. The Hearing Officer took this testi-

mony as meaningless, since Dr. Donner

merely read ‘‘a cold record”’....

Appendix 52a-538a. The Circuit Court observed that

‘Maryland decisional law has long held that hearsay

evidence is admissible in the administrative setting.’’

Appendix 55a. Nevertheless, the Court insisted that

‘“‘due process in a contested administrative setting re-

quires an opportunity to meet or rebut adverse evi-

dence and when there is no such opportunity, it is

error for the administrative agency to rely on the

unchallenged adverse evidence.’’ The Court concluded

that:

Appellant was denied due process of law since

there was no meaningful opportunity to test

the credibility of the childrens’ out-of-hearing

statements. As previously discussed, their

statements were foundational to the case.

What is a meaningful opportunity will vary

from case to case. We first observe that

cro<s-examination did little to test credibility

since the respective declarants were not at

the hearing. In this situation, a meaningful

opportunity would have resulted if Dr. Don-

ner could have interviewed the children. This

—

request was denied. His testimony was to-

tally discounted due to his lack of personal

contact. The State will argue that the Hear-

ing Officer had no authority to order the in-

terviews. This is correct, but the Hearing

Officer should not have considered any of the

evidence which was dependent on the foun-

dationa] out-of-hearing statements where cir-

cumstances prevented an opportunity to

challenge.... As previously noted, there

would be insufficient evidence to conclude

that abuse took place at Bo Peep absent the

out-of-hearing assertions.

Appendix 58a-59a.

After the Circuit Court’s decision the State filed a

notice of appeal to the Maryland Court of Special

Appeals. While that appeal was pending, however,

and before any briefs were filed, the State filed a

petition for writ of certiorari to the Court of Special

Appeals seeking immediate review of the Circuit

Court’s judgment by the Maryland Court of Appeals,

and immediate review was granted.

The Maryland Court of Appeals considered the issue

whether Petitioner had a due process right to have

her experts interview the children whom it was al-

leged were injured at Bo Peep and decided against

her. The opinion discusses much of the testimony

The Court of Appeals noted that the issue of whether

Petitioner might have requested subpoenas to have the children

testify at the hearing was not before it. Appendix 21a n.6. The

State would have had strong arguments for quashing the sub-

poenas, given that almost all the children were only three or

four-years old at the time of the alleged abuse, on grounds of

10

offered in reference to child number 7 as an example

of the allegations against Bo Peep, including her

statements to her therapist that she was placed on

the kitchen table and sprayed in her private areas

with a ‘“‘water machine”’ which shoots colored water,

Appendix 19a n.5, and that a pink or orange ball had

been placed inside her, Anpendix 18a. The Court also

noted that the child frequently told her therapist that

she was “‘just kidding’’ after making a statement re-

garding abuse suffered at Bo Peep Nursery, but that

the therapist explained that this was a way of re-

pressing the reality of what had happened. Appendix

18a. The Petitioner’s expert provided alternative ex-

planations for all of the child’s statements. But the

Court found that the fact-finder’s reliance upon the

out-of-hearing statements was not a violation of due

process.

The Maryland Court of Appeals analyzed the issue

under the three-factor analysis of Mathews v. Eld-

ridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976), holding that Petitioner

only had a property interest at stake and that the

State had an important interest in regulating day care

and jooking after the interests of children. The Court

emphasized above all, however, that there would be

no gain in terms of the quality of the decisionmaking

process in allowing an interview by the Petitioner’s

expert.

the harmful psychological effects testifying might have on a

child, and on the basis of the incompetence of the children to

testify. Although the children were a year older by the time of

the revocation hearings, it is likely that many would have been

unable to offer coherent testimony. Thus Petitioner’s attorneys’

decision to proceed though interviews by medical experts, as a

more productive procedure than cross-examination at an open

hearing. was not questioned by any of the lower courts.

1]

The Court’s reasoning on this point analyzed four

ways that the Court believed exhausted the possible

ways in which Petitioner could have been prejudiced.

These ways were stated as follows:

First, the content of the declarant’s state-

ment may be false. Secondly, an adult wit-

ness, either intentionally or unintentionally,

may have inaccurately conveyed the declar-

ant’s statement to the decision maker. Third,

the adult witness may have drawn an erro-

neous conclusion from the declarant’s accu-

rately reported statement. Fourth, the adult

witness may have accurately communicated

the declarant’s statement, as far as it goes,

but may have omitted other matter never

explored, or deemed- by the witness to be

insignificant, but which would be significant

to some other evaluator.

Appendix 25a-26a.

Each possibility was then taken up and discussed

separately. The first possibility—‘‘that some or all of

the children are lying’’—was disposed of by the

Court’s acceptance of a controverted thesis of child

psychology. The Court, quoting from a psychology

journal article, stated:

Young children almost never initiate false al-

legations without influence from an adult.

Commonly an adult, either unconsciously or

consciously, is intent on proving to them-

selves or others that the allegations of abuse

are true. The child is thus influenced by the

adult to present with a false allegation.

12

Appendix 26a. Due process, in the opinion of the

Court, was satisfied, because, ‘‘Bo Peep either cross-

examined or had the opportunity to cross-examine or

subpoena any adult who may have influenced any child

falsely to describe an occurrence at Bo Peep.’’ Ap-

pendix 27a.

The second and third possibilities for error identi-

fied by the Court—inaccurate conveyance of the child’s

statement and erroneous conclusions from an accu-

rately-quoted statement—were brushed aside by the

Court with the reasoning that those who testified con-

cerning statements made by the children were subject

to cross-examination and that testimony given by the

State’s witnesses permitted Petitioner to develop such

limited rebuttal as Petitioner did present. The Court

thus disposed of the first three ‘‘possibilities’”’ of error

by relying upon the assumption that ‘“‘children never

lie unless adults influence them’’ and concluding that

the State’s adult witnesses gave Petitioner enough

information about the content and meaning of the

children’s statements—and their demeanor while mak-

ing the statements—even though neither Petitioner

nor her experts were granted the right to question

the children. Appendix 27a.

As to the fourth possibility for error—omissions by

the adult witness—the Court stated:

[A]lthough there was undoubtedly some risk

that an adult witness might not have ex-

plored or communicated some facet of a

child’s life which Bo Peep’s expert would con-

sider relevant, Bo Peep had the opportunity,

by cross-examination of the adult witnesses,

to explore omissions by them, and Bo Peep

13

had the opportunity to argue that omissions

had invalidated the witnesses’ conclusions.

Appendix 27a. The Court then added that ‘“‘it appears

that Bo Peep’s desire to test the ‘credibility of state-

ments’ is a desire to discover additional data which

could be used by its expert to support conclusions

favorable to Bo Peep and thereby perhaps enhance

the possibility that the decision maker would accept

those favorable opinions.’’ Appendix 27a. The unex-

ceptional nature of this ‘“‘desire’’ goes without ac-

knowledgement in the Court’s opinion. Instead, the

Court, while not disputing the Circuit Court’s insist-

ence that the children’s out-of-hearing statements are

essential to the State’s case, held that the possibility

that Petitioner would have improved its case by ex-

pert interviews of children who allegedly suffered

abuse at Bo Peep ‘“‘is slight because of the number

of children at Bo Peep who bear physical signs consis-

tent with their having been sexually abused.’’ Ap-

pendix 27a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS PETITION PRESENTS ISSUES SIMILAR TO THE

ISSUES THIS COURT WILL REVIEW IN IDAHO vy.

WRIGHT BUT INTRODUCES ADDITIONAL ALTERNA-

TIVES.

The instant case presents many of the same ques-

tions present in Jdaho v. Wright, 116 Idaho 382, 775

P.2d 1224 (1989), cert. granted, 58 U.S.L.W. 34438

(U.S. Jan. 16, 1990) (No. 89-260), but in the context

of an administrative proceeding where Petitioner’s use

of experts and her ability to cross-examine the State’s

experts were also severely hampered by the State.

In Idaho v. Wright, the Idaho Supreme Court held

14

that admission of an out-of-court statement of a young

victim of sexual] abuse made to an examining pedia-

triclan was unconstitutional. Admission of the testi-

mony was held to be in violation of the Confrontation

Clause because the interview was unrecorded, leading

questions were used and the examining pediatrician

had a preconceived idea of what the child should be

disclosing, 775 P.2d at 1227. The Idaho Supreme

Court found that under such circumstances the state-

ments could not be regarded as providing the ‘“‘par-

ticularized guarantees of trustworthiness’ required to

withstand objection pursuant to the Confrontation

Clause,’ 775 P.2d at 1230. See Ohio v. Roberts, 448

U.S. 56, 65-66 (1980), establishing the “‘particularized

guarantees of trustworthiness’’ requirement.

In contrast, the Maryland Court of Appeals has

upheld revocation of Petitioner’s day care license—

and the consequent loss of her reputation, her busi-

ness and her livelihood—where the hearing examiner’s

decision was founded upon out-of-hearing statements

that were not recorded, that in many cases were made

only after extensive questioning of the child, and that

in most cases were made to parents who had been

recently alerted by the State at the June 25, 1987

meeting that Bo Peep Nursery was under investiga-

tion, or were made to professionals alerted by parents

or other professionals regarding the possibility of sex-

ual abuse. Furthermore, the statements made to the

pediatrician in Jdaho v. Wright required little inter-

pretation. The child specifically stated that she and

her father touched each other’s sexual organs, tes-

timony which was far more indicative of a common

form of sexual abuse than most of the testimony re-

ceived regarding sexual abuse at Bo Peep, see supra

15

p. 7, 10-11 and Appendix 19a. Many of the out-of-

hearing statements recounted by the State’s experts

below required interpretation by the testifying ex-

pert.®

The courts have been unable to produce a satis-

factory solution to the problem of child hearsay in

sexual abuse cases. Some courts have used liberal

application of hearsay exceptions to admit the out-of-

court statements of children even when they have

recognized that the children were incompetent to tes-

tify as witnesses in court. See Morgan v. Foretich,

846 F.2d 941, 946 (4th Cir. 1988); Haggins v. Warden,

Fort Pillow State Farm, 715 F.2d 1050, 1057 (6th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1071 (1984); People

v. District Court of El Paso County, 776 P.2d 1083,

1087-88 (Colo. 1989); Perez v. State, 586 So.2d 206,

210-211 (Fla. 1988), cert. denied, 109 S.Ct. 3253

(1989); State v. D.R., 109 N.J. 348, 587 A.2d 667,

677-79 (1988). Other courts have refused to find ‘‘par-

ticularized guarantees of trustworthiness” under es-

sentially identical circumstances. See State v. Boston,

46 Ohio St. 108, 545 N.E.2d 1220, 1238-39 (1989);

State v. Ryan, 108 Wash.2d 165, 691 P.2d 197, 203

(1984). The admission of the out-of-court statements

of young children presents a serious due process prob-

lem, and the instant case suggests a solution which

has not been previously presented to this Court. Un-

der the rule adopted by the Circuit Court below—but

rejected on appeal—the out-of-court statements of

’ For example, much of the abuse recounted by child number

7 was performed by ‘Big Foot’’. This child was also allegedly

subjected to harmful treatment by a ‘“‘water machine” which

was brought down from the attic and placed on the kitchen

table. Appendix 19a.

16

young children would be admissible so long as the

defendant was given a reasonable opportunity to have

a competent medical professional interview the chil-

dren.

There is no easy format for eliciting reliable tes-

timony from young children. An interview of the al-

leged victims by the defendant’s experts, however, is

probably the most meaningful form possible for chal-

lenging the out-of-court statements of children and

the in-court statements of the State’s experts. Many

courts are presently relying on the out-of-court state-

ments of small children to provide them with basic

evidence in child abuse cases, insisting that such

statements are just as reliable as in-court testimony.

For example, in Nelson v. Farrey, 874 F.2d 1222 (7th

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 835 (1990), involv-

ing the sexual abuse of a three-year old who was

found by the trial court to be unavailable to testify

because of the emotional trauma testimony would in-

volve, the Seventh Circuit held:

Events conspired to prevent [the defendant]

from having a chance to cross-examine his

principal accuser. He was convicted on hear-

say evidence. But we should not allow labels

and lawyers’ pieties to delude us into believ-

ing that cross-examination of a four-year-old

child concerning sexual abuse by her father

a year earlier is a more effective method of

discovering the truth than listening to and

weighing the testimony of a competent psy-

chologist who interviewed the child over a

period of many months in a setting designed

to elicit truthful communication. There is no

basis for believing that [the child’s]} testifying

le

17

would have enhanced the accuracy of the ju-

ry’s determination. “[A] growing number of

experts argue that the testimony of child-

abuse victims is more reliable if they cannot

see the defendant.”’

874 F.2d at 1230 (emphasis in original). See also

United States v. Cree, 778 F.2d 474, 478 (8th Cir.

1985); United States v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199, 1204

(9th Cir. 1979); cf. Coy v. Iowa, 108 S.Ct. 2798, 2809

(1988) (Blackmun, J. dissenting), noting that the psy-

chological impact on a child of testifying in court may

undermine the truth-finding function of the trial itself;

Maryland v. Craig, 216 Md. 551, 560 A.2d 1120, 1125

(1989) cert. granted, 58 U.S.L.W. 3443 (U.S. Jan. 16,

1990) (No. 89-478). But see State v. Gilbert, 109 Wis.2d

501, 8326 N.W.2d 744 (1982).

The Seventh Circuit’s reasoning in Nelson, that call-

ing a three- or four-year old victim to the stand is

less useful than an interview by a psychologist, is

correct, but it is inconceivable that due process should

require placing the defendant completely at the mercy

of the State’s experts. Such an approach assumes that

the State’s experts are infallible in their observations

and may, with no checks on the process, act as

a) therapists; b) investigators; c) preservers of the

chilu’s account; d) expert witnesses and interpreters

of the child’s account; and e) advocates for the child,

all rolled into one. See Hutton, Child Sexual Abuse

Cases: Reestablishing the Balance Within the Adver-

sary System, 20 U. Mich. J. Law Reform 491, 505

(1986). In the instant case, Petitioner proposed a so-

lution in the form of interviews by her experts, one

of the few practical alternatives that allows the State

to present its case yet also allows the defense a right

18

of confrontation consistent with both the interests of

the child and the need to adopt fair procedures to

protect the rights of the accused.

Il. THE BO PEEP DECISION MISAPPLIES MATHEWS vy.

ELDRIDGE

The three-part standard articulated in Mathews v.

Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976) governs the in-

stant case. Due process in any kind of adjudicatory

proceeding, whether criminal, civil or administrative,

requires a weighing of 1) the private interests at

stake; 2) the risk that the procedures used will pro-

duce an erroneous result and the probable value of

the suggested procedural safeguard; and 3) the gov-

ernmental interests affected. See Ake v. Oklahoma,

470 U.S. 68, 77 (1985) (criminal proceeding imposing

the death penalty), Little v. Streater, 452 U.S. 1, 6

(1981) (civil paternity action) and Mathews v. Eld-

ridge, 424 U.S. at 335 (social security disability ben-

efits). Th. Maryland Court of Appeals acknowledged

the applicability of the Mathews v. Eldridge factors,

but employed them in a manner which is inconsistent

with Mathews v. Eldridge and its progeny.

A. The Maryland Court of Appeals Understated the Private

Interests At Stake.

The Maryland Court of Appeals described the pri-

vate interest at stake in the instant case as

Petitioner’s ‘‘continued operation of a day care center

on the premises.’’ Appendix 23a. That narrow interest

certainly was the focus of the proceedings, but the

real interests in the case were much greater.

Petitioner holds a bachelor’s degree in early childhood

education, Appendix 2a, and was both licensee and

director of the center. Appendix 37a. Petitioner had

satisfied the exacting state requirements to act as a

19

director for centers licensed for more than 40 chil-

dren.‘ She is held responsible by both the public and

the State for any misconduct that is thought to have

occurred at Bo Peep. Important personal liberties are

destroyed whenever government action creates a se-

rious likelihood of stigma that may affect future em-

ployment opportunities, Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S.

134, 155-158 (1974); Board of Regents v. Roth, 408

U.S. 564, 573 (1972). In recognition of this fact, pro-

ceedings for the revocation of a professional license

have been regarded as quasi-criminal in nature, see

e.g., In re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 551 (1968) (disbar-

ment proceedings); Shively v. Stewart, 65 Cal.2d 475,

55 Cal. Rptr. 217, 220, 421 P.2d 65, 68 (1966) (phy-

sician’s license); Maul v. State Board of Dental Ex-

aminers, 668 P.2d 933, 937 (Colo. 1983) (dental

‘Md. Regs. Code 10.05.01.53 (1989) provides:

Directors in centers licensed for more than 40 chil-

dren shal] meet all of the following requirements:

A. Be at least 21 years old;

B. Be a graduate of an accredited 4 year college

or university;

C. Have had 2 years of experience under supervi-

sion working with a group of children in a licensed

early childhood program and shal] have demonstrated

ability to work with parents and other adults in the

community;

D. Have completed 64 classroom hours in early

childhood curriculum and child development specifi-

cally directed to the needs of children, 2 to 6 years

old;

E. They shal] either indicate continued training or

hold a valid Child Development Associate Credential

from the Child Development Associate Consortium.

20

license); Snell v. Commonwealth State Examining

Board, 490 Pa. 277, 416 A.2d 468, 470 (1980) (dental

license). In the present case Petitioner not only has

been destroyed professionally, but has been branded

2 “‘child abuser.”’

B. The Maryland Court of Appeals Severely Misconceived

the Risk of Erroneous Result and the Probable Value

of the Procedures Suggested.

The Maryland Court of Appeals and the Hearing

Examiner proceeded on the assumption that children

do not lie unless prompted or misled by an adult.

Showing ardent faith in a single current of psycho-

logical literature the Court of Appeals stated:

The first possibility is that some or all of

the children are lying. The authors of the

article, ‘“‘Assessing the Credibility of Young

Children’s Allegations of Sexual Abuse: Clin-

ical Issues,” supra, discuss the situations

commonly associated with false allegations.

‘Young children almost never initiate false

allegations without influence from an adult.”

Appendix 26a. Then the Court reasoned that since

the Petitioner had the opportunity to cross-examine

the expert witnesses and parents concerning the man-

ner in which they might have influenced the children

to make out-of-hearing statements, the Petitioner had

nothing to gain by her requested opportunity to in-

terview the children directly. Appendix 27a.

This logic is extremely weak. First, the concept that

children never lie without the influence of an adult

does not enjoy general scientific acceptance. Children

may lie for a variety of reasons both related and

unrelated to the adults around them, see, Mantell,

21

Clarifying Erroneous Child Sexual Abuse Allegations,

58 Am. J. of Orthopsychiatry 618 (1988); Yates &

Musty, Preschool Children’s Erroneous Allegations of

Sexual Molestation, 145 Am. J. Psychiatry 989 (1988);

Green & Schetky, True and False Allegations of Child

Sexual Abuse, in CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE: A HANDBOOK

FOR HEALTH CARE AND LEGAL PROFESSIONALS 104,

108-09 (D. Schetky & A. Green, eds. 1988); Benedek

& Schetky, Problems in Validating Allegations of Sex-

ual Abuse. Part 1: Factors Affecting Perception and

Recall of Events, 26 J. of the Am. Academy of Child

& Adolescent Psychiatry 912 (1987). Adoption of the

notion that children never lie as a legal fiction should

not be used to eliminate essential due process safe-

guards in child abuse cases.

Second, even if one assumes as a proven scientific

fact that children never lie unless they have somehow

been influenced by an adult, the interview of the child

by defendant’s psychologist will often be the only

fashion through which the influences upon the child

will be made apparent. Sometimes children will be

coached by an adult abuser to attribute abuse to a

third party, see Nelson v. Farrey, 874 F.2d at 1225

(7th Cir. 1989); sometimes there may be tensions in

a child’s home environment which lead to false ac-

cusations or to fantasies which some psychologists

interpret as indicative of abuse; sometimes pressures

from a therapist or resulting from the State’s inves-

tigation lead to accusations,’ Mantell, supra at 620;

* Most of the children making out-of-hearing statements re-

garding physical or sexual abuse at Bo Peep came from homes

where the parents had undergone a recent divorce or where

there was a serious problem of alcohol abuse. See the testimony

analyzed by the hearing examiner regarding children 4, 6, 15

lll

22

Spiegel, Child Abuse Hysteria and the Elementary

School Counselor, 22 Elementary School Guidance &

Counseling 275, 279-80 (1987); James, Child Protec-

tion Workers’ Role in Erroneous Allegations of Child

Abuse, 146 Am. J. Psychiatry 564 (1989). In the in-

stant case it is even possible that children made up

stories because they hate day care.® The value of

cross-examination of the adult conveying the out-of-

court statement will always be limited when the de-

fense has not had the opportunity to interview the

child.

The decision of the court below is in striking con-

trast to a recent decision of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky. In Turner v. Commonwealth, 767 S.W.2d

557 (Ky. 1988), cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 260 (1989), the

Supreme Court of Kentucky ruled that failure to allow

a pre-trial medical examination of a four-year old rape

victim by defendant’s experts was a violation of due

process in a case where the State’s examination was

a significant incriminating factor. The Court found

for the appellant because ‘‘an independent expert

might have permitted the appellant to offer evidence

to contradict that offered by the Commonwealth as

to whether there were, in fact, any injuries to the

hymenal ring,” 767 S.W.2d at 559. In the instant

case, an interview with the victim by Petitioner’s ex-

perts was the only manner in which Petitioner might

and 33. Appendix 80a-8la, 84a, 90a, 9la. In other cases, the

Petitioner’s expert, Dr. Lawrence Donner, testified that state-

ments were provoked by the stress caused by the State’s in-

vestigation. Appendix 99a-100a.

* Petitioner’s expert testified that from the testimony offered

by the State several of the children appeared to be suffering

from separation anxiety. Appendix 98a, 99a-100a.

23

have been able to gather evidence showing that there

was in fact no sexual abuse at the day care center.

See also Anderson v. State, 749 P.2d 369, 371 (Alaska

App. 1988), requiring examination of young children

by a mental health practitioner.

Furthermore, in the instant case, the State’s ex-

perts were permitted to testify not only as to the

statements made to them by the children, but to state

that they thought that the children were telling the

truth and that the children’s statements and conduct

indicated that they had suffered sexual abuse at Bo

- Peep. As a practical matter the State’s refusal to

order an examination of the children by the

Petitioner’s experts effectively barred the Petitioner

from presenting expert testimony essential for the

conduct of her defense, cf. Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S.

at 82 (1985), and made it impossible for petitioner to

prepare an adequate cross-examination of the State’s

experts, since they based their opinions on material

only they had access to, cf. Pennsylvania v. Ritchie,

480 U.S. 39, 61-62 (1987) (Blackmun, J. concurring)

(noting the need for pre-trial access to information

that would make possible effective cross-examination

of a key witness).

C. The Maryland Court of Appeals Confused the Govern-

ment’s Interest in Efficient Procedures With the Gov-

ernment’s Interest in Only Licensing Day Care Centers

Where Children Are Not Sexually Abused.

The Maryland Court of Appeals stated that under

the third prong of the Mathews v. Eldridge balance,

‘“twje must weigh heavily in favor of the State its

interest in licensing only day care centers where chil-

dren are properly cared for and, more particularly,

the State’s great interest in protecting children from

El

24

physical and sexual abuse.’’ Appendix 28a. However,

the government interest to be analyzed under the

Mathews v. Eldridge standard is not the government

interest in the legisiative end, but ‘“‘the government’s

interest in adhering to the existing system.’’ Walters

v. National Ass’n of Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S.

305, 321 (1985). ‘‘When a State seeks to limit the

procedures that will attend the deprivation of a con-

stitutionally protected interest, it is only the State’s

interest in streamlining procedures that is rele-

vant.... A state may not, in other words, justify

abbreviated procedures on the ground that it wishes

to pay welfare benefits to fewer people or wants to

reduce the number of tenured professors on its pay-

roll,”’ Michael H. v. Gerald D., 109 S.Ct. 2333, 2358

(1989) (Brennan, J., dissenting). A process under

which young children might be interviewed by the

licensee’s psychologists, when the circumstances of

the case indicate that such an interview is important

for the licensee’s defense, would improve the relia-

bility of the administrative procedure with no signif-

icant effect on the state’s ability to close day care

centers which do in fact pose a risk to children.

The instant case is only one of hundreds of cases

of allegations of sexual abuse which present them-

selves each year in the day care setting, See D.

FINKELHOR et al., SEXUAL ABUSE IN DAY CARE: A

NATIONAL STUDY, FINAL REPORT, vii (University of

New Hampshire, 1988). There were an estimated

155,900 cases of sexual abuse in the United States

in 1986. U.S. DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN

SERVICES, STUDY OF NATIONAL INCIDENCE AND

PREVALENCE OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT: 1988,

4-7 (1988). A certain number of cases of children

a

4

4

25

showing physical signs of sexual abuse is not unlikely

in any large day care setting given the possibilities of

alternative diagnoses, the generally high level of sexual

abuse in our society, see Morgan v. Foretich, 846 F.2d

941, 948 (4th Cir. 1988), and acts which children per-

form on themselves and each other, see Cantwell, Child

Sexual Abuse: Very Young Perpetrators, 12 Child

Abuse & Neglect 579 (1988), (noting that young chil-

dren who are sexually abused will sometimes perform

acts on their friends). The high statistics on child abuse

may serve to explain, but they cannot justify, the

strong impulses of specialists in the field to stress

protection of victims even at the expense of the due

process rights of the persons they accuse.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and on the basis of the

authorities cited, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the decision of the Court of Appeals of Mary-

land in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL D. BARNES*

JAMES P. MERCURIO

JAMES H. HULME

JONATHAN M. MILLER

ARENT, Fox, KINTNER, PLOTKIN

& KAHN

1050 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036-5339

(202) 857-6170

*Counsel of Record

February 12, 1990

| APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

Court of Appeals of Maryland.

Nov. 13, 1989.

No. 24, Sept. Term, 1989.

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES,

Maryland Department of Health and Menta] Hygiene, Har-

ford County Health Department

V.

BO PEEP DAY NURSERY.

Lawrence H. Norton, Asst. Atty. Gen. (J. Joseph Cur-

ran, Jr., Atty. Gen., Ralph S. Tyler, Andrew H. Baida,

Daniel J. O’Brien, Asst. Attys. Gen., all on brief), Balti-

more, for petitioners.

Paul A. Dorf, Stephen A. Markey, III, Adelberg, Rudow,

Dorf, Hendler and Sameth, Baltimore, amicus curiae, for

People Against Child Abuse (PACA), Md. Chapter of the

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Lawrence Wis-

sow, M.D., Ass’n for Childcare Excellence (ACE), Md. Co-

alition Against Sexual Assault (MCASA).

Michael Genz, Emily Buss, Tobie Bernstein, Baltimore,

amicus curiae, for The Legal Aid Bureau.

Thomas J. Peddicord, Jr. (Thomas G. Young, III, Mar-

low, Peddicord & Young, P.A., all on brief), Towson, for

respondent.

Argued before MURPHY, C.J., and ELDRIDGE, COLE,

RODOWSKY, McAULIFFE, ADKINS and BLACKWELL,

JJ.

RODOWSKY, Judge.

2a

This is an administrative appeal in a business license

revocation case. Appellant, Department of Human Re-

sources, the successor licensing agency, revoked appellee’s

license as a child care center based on findings, after hear-

ings, that a number of preschool age children were victims

of physical and sexual abuse while in appellee’s care. Be-

fore the proceedings began the agency’s hearing officer

denied appellee’s request for discovery by way of psycho-

logical interviews of the alleged victims by an expert se-

lected by appellee. On appeal from the revocation order

the circuit court remanded, having concluded that the

agency's denial of the discovery request violated appellee’s

constitutional right to procedural due process. That ruling

is the primary issue before us. For reasons set forth below,

we shall reverse and direct affirmance of the agency’s

order.

Child care centers are licensed and regulated by the

State. Pricr to July 1, 1988, the licensing authority was

the county health officer, while the authority to review a

health officer’s decisions and to adopt regulations was in

the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Md.Code

(1982, 1987 Repl.Vol.), §§ 14-101 through 14-114 of the

Health-General Article. By Ch. 247 of the Acts of 1988,

authority to administer this regulatory licensing system

was lodged in the Department of Human Resources. See

Md.Code (1984, 1989 Cum. Supp.), §§ 5-570 through 5-585

of the Family Law Article. The license year runs from

April 1 through March 31.

Bo Peep Day Nursery (Bo Peep) is a child care center

conducted by Deborah Cassilly (Deborah) who is the licen-

see. The center is conducted on premises improved by a

free-standing three story building in Bel Air, Harford

County. Deborah, who holds a bachelor’s degree in early

childhood education, had worked while she was in school

at a child care center conducted on those premises. In

January 1984 Deborah, then approximately twenty-three

years of age, and her husband, Patrick Cassilly (Patrick),

or tan Buisaesd

3a

purchased the property from the prior owners/operators.

The first two floors of the building are used for the child

care facility. There are four classrooms, an office, a kitchen

and a restroom on the first floor, and there are four class-

rooms and a restroom on the second floor. Until late July

1987, Deborah, Patrick and at that time their two children

occupied the residential apartment on the third floor of

the building.

Not every child who is enrolled at Bo Peep comes to

the care center every day and not every child who comes

to the center remains there the entire time the center is

open. In the winter of 1986-87 the total enrollment at Bo

Peep was approximately eighty children of whom no more

than sixty were present at any one time. By May 1988

the enrollment was fifty-two children and the maximum

number of enrollees at any one time was thirty-three.

In the period September 1986 through June 1987, a

typical day at Bo Peep would proceed in the following

fashion. Bo Peep began receiving children at 6:30 a.m.

The children played on the first floor until approximately |

8:00 a.m. when those children who attended kindergarten

or grade school were taken by Bo Peep staff to their |

respective schools. Those enrollees who remained at Bo

Peep for part or all of the rest of the day were divided

into groups for the morning structured programs. The

three year old group stayed on the first floor. The four

year old and five year old groups were in classrooms on

the second floor. Lunch was served around midday. From

approximately 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. was nap time for the

three and four year olds. No more than ten children uti-

lized a classroom on the first floor for napping with any

overflow using a second classroom on that floor. After

their naps, the children watched TV, had a snack around

3:00 p.m., and played games of their choice until their

parents or others took them home.

tities

4a

State regulations for child care centers require that a

supervisory senior staff person be present at all] times that

enrolled children are on the premises. Md.Regs. Code tit.

10, § .05.01.58 (185) (COMAR).' The operator of a center

must periodically file staffing schedules with the regulating

agency. COMAR 10.05.01.60 (1985). At Bo Peep Deborah

usually scheduled herself for the early morning and late

afternoon hours when parents would be coming to the

facility. During much of 1986-87 the senior staff person

scheduled to supervise at Bo Peep from 8:30 a.m. to 11:30

a.m. was Rita Blevins (Blevins), who had been employed

there from February of 1985. Patrick was not one of the

regular staff at Bo Peep. He was employed at an auto-

mobile dealership.

In July 1987, the Harford County Health Officer wrote

Deborah advising that Bo Peep’s license would be sus-

pended. Three days later the Circuit Court for Harford

County (Carr, J.) enjoined adult males from the Bo Peep

premises from 6:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through

Friday. On July 27, 1987, after four days of hearings, that

court (Whitfill, J.) barred Patrick from the premises at all

times, ordered a log to be kept of all male visitors, and

directed the Bel Air Police to make random checks at Bo

Peep.

Bo Peep appealed the health officer’s suspension order.

William F. Clark, Esq. (Clark), the chief hearing examiner

in the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, con-

ducted hearings over seven days in August and September

and recommended suspension of the Bo Peep license for

the remainder of its term. In his report, which was adopted

by the departmental secretary’s designee, Clark made the

following ultimate finding:

‘The cited regulations of the Department of Health and Mental Hy-

giene continue in effect under the Secretary of Human Resources pur-

suant to the transfer provisions in SECTION 4 of Ch. 247 of the Acts

of 1988.

ee

Pit

5a

“I conclude that the facts as found in Part XI re-

flect that many children of Bo Peep were subjected

to injurious treatment. Chief among those problems

. is that children at Bo Peep have been sexually

abused. The evidence in this case points in no other

direction. While sexual child abuse is difficult to prove,

and there may be conflicting reports from the chil-

dren, the physical examination of the children involved

here and their behavioral changes as observed by their

parents and trained professionals allow no other con-

clusion to be drawn.”

In March 1988, the departmental board of review af-

firmed. About one week before the expiration of its license

for 1987-88, Bo Peep obtained from the circuit court (Whit-

fill, J.) an order staying the suspension for the remainder

of that license year. That order to stay incorporated the

conditions of the July injunction.

Also in March 1988, the county health officer denied

Deborah’s application for a renewal of Bo Peep’s license

for the period April 1, 1988, to March 31, 1989. Bo Peep

sought administrative review of that revocation. The mat-

ter was again assigned to Clark. Hearings were set to

begin May 11, 1988, when, on May 2, Bo Peep’s counsel

wrote to Clark requesting a postponement. Bo Peep also

requested that Clark

“order the State to make available for interview those

children who were involved with allegations of child

abuse at Bo Peep. It is not intended that the interview

would be conducted through counsel, but by a health

professional of our choosing. The purpose of such in-

terviews would be to attempt to resolve confusing and

contradictory reports by others of the children’s state-

ments which have figured in past proceedings in this

matter.

“If we are not provided with the above information

and interviews, we intend to move to exclude from

6a

the proceeding, on the grounds of violation of due

process and fundamental fair play, the use by the

State of any evidence derived from information to

which we were denied access.”

At the commencement of the hearing, counsel for Bo

Peep pointed out that “[w]e have moved, through various

letter motions, for discovery and for postponement and

they're intertwined.”’ Counsel] stated, in part, that they

‘would like an opportunity to have people on whom we

have greater confidence and faith examine the children, if

there is to be new evidence here.” Clark denied the dis-

covery motion.

The hearings on the propriety of the revocation order

extended over nine days, ending June 8, 1988. Introduced

by the State as part of the record of the revocation pro-

ceeding were the records of the agency’s suspension order

hearing and of the circuit court’s injunction hearing, in-

cluding seven days of transcripts of the former and four

days of transcripts of the latter.

While Clark had the revocation matter under advise-

ment, the State obtained an ex parte injunction from the

Circuit Court for Harford County (Baldwin, J.) barring

Blevins from the Bo Peep premises. Then, in those court

proceedings, Bo Peep moved on the recited authority of

Maryland Rule 2-423 for an order that the allegedly abused

children “undergo diagnostic examination of the genital

region to evaluate visible evidence of sexual assault[.]’’ Bo

Peep designated the director of the Rape Care Center at

Greater Baltimore Medical Center as their examining phy-

sician.

Before the circuit court ruled on Bo Peep’s motion, Clark

filed the proposed agency decision in the revocation case.

We set forth his explanation of the ultimate conclusion.

“Regarding the issue of physical and sexual abuse

of children having occurred at the Bo Peep facility,

seen

/

7a

it is concluded that the preponderance of the testi-

mony and evidence presented at this administrative

hearing confirms the likelihood of those events, and

supports the position of the Harford County Health

Officer. The testimony of the the therapists and the

parents is compelling, and substantiates the bases used

by the Health Officer in denying relicensure. In weigh-

ing the testimony of the State’s witnesses and the

Appellant’s witnesses, it is concluded that the evi-

dence clearly shows that the license should not be

renewed, based upon the mistreatment of children at

the Bo Peep facility. A careful reading of the entire

record in this case quite clearly shows that it is im-

probable for the events not to have occurred sub-

stantially as related by the children to their parents

and to their therapists. The verbalizations, drawings,

and the emotions of the children, as observed by their

parents and by trained and licensed professionals, and

the physical evidence as found by [two examining phy-

sicians selected by the State], have not been refuted

or shown to be erroneous or misinterpreted.

The decision was adopted by the Secretary, Department

of Human Resources (the Department) in August 1988,

and Bo Peep appealed.

That appeal was consolidated with the earlier appeal in

the suspension case. The circuit court (Baldwin, J.) stayed

enforcement of the revocation order pending disposition of

the administrative appeals. Judge Baldwin also refused to

order medica] examinations. Because neither the children

nor their parents were parties to the litigation, the circuit

court correctly concluded that it had no authority under

Rule 2-423 to grant that requested relief.

Concerning the administrative appeals, Judge Baldwin

held that the appeal from the suspension order was moot,

and that holding is not challenged here. In the appeal from

the revocation order the circuit court ordered a remand

8a

to the Department for further proceedings. The court also

continued the judicial] stay of the Department’s revocation

order during the pendency of the remand.

The Department appealed the circuit court’s order of

remand. We granted the State’s petition for a writ of

certiorari prior to consideration of the appeal by the Court

of Special Appeals. Bo Peep has moved to dismiss the

Department’s appeal. We deny that motion for reasons

stated in Part I of this opinion.

The apparent purpose of the remand to the Department

was to give the State an opportunity to cure what the

circuit court believed to be a defect of constitutional di-

mension in the administrative procedure. None of the al-

leged victims of child abuse testified in any proceedings.

Hearsay, of which the alleged victims were the declarants,

was admitted through parents and others who had spoken

with-the children. Finding the content of the children’s

statements to be ‘‘foundational,’’ the circuit court reasoned

that Bo Peep’s request for an interview of the children

by a psychologist of Bo Peep’s choice would have given

the licensee ‘“‘a meaningful opportunity to test the credi-

bility of the out-of-hearing statements,’”’ but Bo Peep’s re-

quest for such an interview was denied. Recognizing that

the hearing officer had no authority to order the type of

discovery requested by Bo Peep, the circuit court never-

theless concluded that under those circumstances the hear-

ing officer ‘‘should not have considered any of the evidence

which was dependent on the foundational out-of-hearing

statements where circumstances prevented an opportunity

to challenge.”” We discuss this issue in Part II, infra.

The circuit court also found that the hearing officer had

erred in restricting the scope of cross-examination by Bo

Peep of a police officer who had participated in the in-

vestigation of suspected child abuse. We address that ques-

tion in Part III hereof.

Ee

Ya

Bo Peep argued, and the circuit court found, that the

licensing agency had violated its own regulations by failing

to reinspect the premises of the child care center prior to

revocation. Bo Peep also sought, but failed, to persuade

the circuit court that Clark should have recused himself

from conducting the revocation hearing. Parts IV and V,

below, respectively deal with those arguments advanced

here by Bo Peep as additional support for the circuit court’s

result.

Bo Peep does not argue that there was a lack of sub-

stantial evidence before the agency to support its findings

of physical and sexual child abuse at Bo Peep. Conse-

quently, we need not review the evidence in detail. In

Part II we shall review the evidence only to the extent

needed to illustrate Bo Peep’s due process contention.

I

Bo Peep, relying the McKinney-Peco doctrine, has moved

to dismiss the Department’s appeal. See Zoning Appeals

Bd. v. McKinney, 174 Md. 551, 199 A. 540 (1938) and

Maryland Pharmacy Bd. v. Peco, Inc., 234 Md. 200, 198

A.2d 273 (1964). In a line of cases beginning with Mc-

Kinney, ‘‘this Court has taken the position that certain

administrative agencies acting in a ‘quasi-judicial’ capacity

cannot appeal the reversal of their decisions by a circuit

court, unless the authority to appeal is specifically provided

by statute.’’ Consumer Protection Div., Office of the

Attorney Gen. v. Consumer Publishing Co., 304 Md. 731,

742, 501 A.2d 48, 54 (1985). In Consumer Protection, Judge

Eldridge, writing for the Court, analyzed the McKinney-

Peco line of cases and pointed out that the doctrine does

not apply to all agencies. It does not apply to agencies

whose functions “ ‘are so identified with the execution of

some definite public policy that their participation in liti-

gation affecting their decisions is regarded by the Legis-

lature as essential to the adequate protection of the State’s

interests.’’’ Consumer Protection, 304 Md. at 743, 501

10a

A.2d at 54 (quoting McKinney, 174 Md. at 561, 199 A. at

545).

In Consumer Protection we concluded that that Division

in the Attorney General’s Office was not the kind of non-

adversarial, quasi-judicial agency contemplated by the doc-

trine. The Division’s statutory powers included the power

to receive and investigate complaints, to initiate investi-

gations, to issue cease and desist orders, to adopt rules

and regulations and to seek injunctions. We held that

‘[w]ith its many different functions, its mandate to protect

consumers and its role as a representative of the interests

of the State, the Division is not the type of agency to

which the rationale of McKinney applies.’’ 304 Md. at 746,

501 A.2d at 56.

The reasoning of Consumer Protection applies with equal

force here to permit the Department to pursue its strong

interest in the outcome of this case which it initiated and

vigorously prosecuted by appealing the reversal of its or-

der. The statutory regulation of child care centers in Fam-

ily Law Article, Title V, ‘Children,’ Subtitle 5, ‘Child

Care; Foster Care,” contains legislative findings and state-

ments of purpose in § 5-571. These include a finding that

“if care of a child is given over to another, mental and

physical risks arise that need to be offset by reasonable

protective measures.” § 5-571(aX1\ii). The purpose of the

child care subtitle

“Is to aid each parent and protect each child from

the risk present if:

(1) the child is cared for by an individual other

than a relative or friend; and

‘(2) children of more than one family are cared for

together... .”’

§ 5-571(b). Pursuant to those findings and purposes the

Secretary of the Department is given authority to adopt

rules and regulations which shall ensure, inter alia,

ee

|

3

lla

“proper care, protection, and supervision of children in

child care centers[.]’’ § 5-573(bX2). The Department is au-

thorized to issue, deny, suspend and revoke licenses for

child care centers. §§ 5-574 through 5-580. The Secretary

of the Department, or the Secretary’s designee, is au-

thorized to petition a circuit court to enjoin unlicensed

child care center operations. § 5-508(e). Child care centers

must be open to inspection by, inter alia, representatives

of the Department. COMAR 10.05.01.80 (1988).

All cases of suspected child abuse are reported to a local

department of the Social Services Administration. See

Family Law Article, §§ 5-704 through 5-706. The Social

Services Administration is a division of the Department.

§ 5-501(b). Each loca] department is required to notify the

designee of the Secretary of the Department within forty-

eight hours after the local department’s receipt of a report

of suspected child abuse. The Secretary’s designee then

convenes a multi-disciplinary team, which the Secretary’s

designee chairs, to coordinate procedures to be followed

in investigating and otherwise responding to the report.

§ 5-584.

Thus, the role of the Department in cases of suspected

child abuse, particularly at a child care center, is not a

passive one of quasi-judicial adjudication, but is an active

role of policy formulation and protection of children.

The Department may appeal the circuit court’s order.

II

The next issue is whether the procedure which resulted

in the revocation of Bo Peep’s child care center license

violated due process because the procedure did not include

a method for, and Bo Peep was not allowed to conduct,

a psychological examination by an expert of its choice of

the allegedly victimized children. In this Part II we shall

(A) explain the general evidentiary framework of the case;

(B) illustrate the due process problem by reviewing the

12a

evidence relating to a specific child; and (C) analyze and

decide the constitutional issue.

A

The due process issue arises out of the largely circum-

stantial way in which the Department proved child abuse

at Bo Peep. In general that proof fell into four categories:

(1) testimony by physicians stating their observations when

physically examining children and expressing their medical

opinions based upon those observations; (2) testimony of

parents, social workers and psychologists narrating their

observations of relevant nonassertive verbal and nonverbal

conduct of the children; (3) statements of history to treat-

ing clinicians; and (4) testimony from parents, social work-

ers or other adults relating other assertive statements of

the children, that is, statements relevant only for the truth

of the content of the statements.

Medical members of the interdisciplinary team or teams

assembled to evaluate possible sexual child abuse at Bo

Peep were Drs. Charles Schubin and Michael Reichel. Dr.

Schubin is an assistant professor of pediatrics at the Uni-

versity of Maryland Hospital who has examined between

2,000 and 3,000 children for evidence of sexual] abuse. Dr.

Reichel is assistant chairman of the Department of Pedi-

atrics at Greater Baltimore Medical Center and has con-

sulted in over 200 hundred cases of various forms of abuse

of children. They collectively examined nineteen children

who had attended Bo Peep during the summer of 1987

and concluded that eight, of whom seven were females,

exhibited physical conditions consistent with sexual abuse.

These conditions principally were gross enlargement of the

hymen, vaginal scars and tears, and anal gaping and scar-

ring. Each of the doctors testified in person and was sub-

jected to cross-examination.

The relevance of the nonassertive verbal and nonverbal

conduct of the children lies in certain behavior which is

13a

indicative of sexual abuse. Hearing Officer Clark explained

the relevance and reliability of this class of evidence, say-

ing:

‘Certain behavioral changes exhibited by young chil-

dren are indicative that trauma has occurred to them,

and certain behaviors are unlikely to be exhibited as

a result of any trauma other than sexual abuse. Vis-

ible trauma to the sexual organs of children is indic-

ative of sexual abuse; so is inappropriate sexual

behavior with peers, toys, or animals; so is verbalizing

sexual language or knowledge that is atypical for that

child’s age. As the number of those physical confir-

mations rise in a particular day care center popula-

tion, the concern is heightened that such abuse has

in fact occurred there. An example of behavioral in-

dications that sexual abuse has occurred to her, is

when a young child, three or four years old, becomes

very sexually provocative, or has a marked change in

her sexual activities. Other behavioral changes brought

about in children who have been sexually abused in-

clude regression, i.e. toilet trained children begin to

wet or soil themselves; loss of appetite; breaking out

in rashes; crying; constipation; sleep disturbances;

phobias or avoidance behavior; withdrawal or depres-

sion; aggressive behavior; excessive masturbation;

hysterical reactions; perpetration of sexually unac-

ceptable conduct upon others; genital or urethral

trauma; genital infections; recurrent urinary tract in-

fections; abdominal pain; and other manifestations.”’

The hearing officer’s view of the probative value of that

evidence is supported in the literature. See Finkelhor, Wil-

liams, Burns & Kalinowski, Serwal Abuse in Day Care: A

National Study, Family Research Laboratory, U. of New

Hampshire at 7-8 (1988); Berkowitz, Sexwal Abuse of Chil-

dren and Adolescents, 34 Adv. Pediatr. 275, 278-79 (1987);

Herbert, Expert Medical Assessment in Determining Prob-

l4a

ability of Alleged Child Sexual Abuse, 11 Child Abuse &

Neglect 213, 216-17 (1987); Wherspann, Steinhauer &

Klajner-Diamond, Criteria and Methodology for Assessing

Credibility of Sexual Abuse Allegation, 32 Can. J. Psy-

chiatry 615, 622 (1987); Paul, ‘““‘What Really Did Happen

to Baby Jane’’—The Medical Aspects of the Investigation of

Alleged Sexual Abuse of Children, 26 Med. Sci. Law 85,

96-102 (1986); Krugman, Recognition of Serual Abuse in

Children, 8 Pediatr. in Review 199, 202-04 (1986); de

Young, A Conceptual Model for Judging the Truthfulness

of a Young Child’s Allegation of Sexual Abuse, 56 Amer.

J. Orthopsychiat. 550, 555-56 (1986); Hunter, Kilstrom &

Loda, Serually Abused Children: Identifying Masked Pres-

entations in a Medical Setting, 9 Child Abuse & Neglect

17, 19 (1985).

The adults who testified to the relevant, nonassertive

verbal and nonverbal conduct of the children did so in

person and were subject to cross-examination. Testimony

of the type described in this second category of proof

would have been admissible in a judicial proceeding. See

In re Dependency of Penelope B, 104 Wash.2d 643, 709

P.2d 1185 (1985) (en banc).

The third class of proof concerns a clinical psychologist,

as to two children from Bo Peep whom she was treating,

and a clinical social worker, as to three children from Bo

Peep whom she was treating.? They opined that the chil-

dren had been sexually abused at Bo Peep. These opinions

were based on personal observations of, and parental re-

ports of, conduct of the type described above, as well as

on statements made to the experts by the children in ther-

apy sessions. Both of these experts were subject to cross-

examination.

The testimony of these witnesses was sufficiently relli-

able to be admissible in this administrative proceeding,

? As to treatment by clinical social workers see COMAR 10.42.02 and

73 Op. Att’y Gen. (Md.) 319 (1988) [Opinion No. 88-049 (Nov. 9, 1988)}.

——————

;

4

‘

3

s

<

$

e

Z

'

'

15a

whether or not some or all of the hearsay declarations of

the children embodied within that testimony would have

been admissible in a judicial proceeding. Under the law of

evidence, as a general proposition, statements of medical

history, made by a patient to a treating medical practi-

tioner for the purpose of treatment, may be admitted as

substantive evidence through the medical witness. If the

medical practitioner is engaged only to render an expert

opinion, and not for purposes of treatment, statements of

history related by the patient are admissible through that

witness for the limited purpose of explaining the basis for

the expert’s opinion. See State v. Allewalt, 308 Md. 89,

517 A.2d 741 (1986); Beahm v. Shortall, 279 Md. 321, 368

A.2d 1005 (1977). From the standpoint of reliability, hear-

say of the subject type has been recognized as evidence

by the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit. Applying Fed.R.Evid. 803(4), that court held that

statements describing abuse, made by a four year old child

to her psychologist for purposes of treatment, are admis-

sible as substantive evidence. Morgan v. Foretich, 846 F.2d

941 (4th Cir. 1988). And see United States v. Renville, 779

F.2d 480 (8th Cir.1985).%

‘The instant matter is substantially distinguishable from Bohnert v.

State, 312 Md. 266, 5389 A.2d 657 (1988) where we excluded a pur-

portedly expert opinion that a child, age seven (Joint Record Extract,

Vol. 1, at 91-96), had in fact been sexually abused. That criminal pros-

ecution involved application of the rules of evidence. The expert was

a protective service investigator with the Social Services Administration

who had investigated the complaint, id. at 219, 539 A.2d 657, whereas

the witnesses in the matter before us were treating clinicians. With

respect to underlying reliability, we held that there was an insufficient

basis for any opinion by the witness in Bohnert who had not subjected

the child to any type of objective tests, who had found no need to

review medical reports, who did net eompare the child’s behavior to

general behavioral characteristics of cid abuse victims and who relied,

at least in part, on ‘‘ ‘a certain sense about children{.]’’’ Bohnert, 312

Md. at 272, 589 A.2d at 660. Under the circumstances in Bohnert we

also concluded that the opinion was no more than the witness’s con-

clusion that the child, as opposed to Bohnert, was telling the truth.

l6a

In the fourth class of evidence in the Department’s case,

adults related assertive statements made by children, not

for purposes of medica] treatment, in which the children

described, in their terms, acts of physical and sexual abuse

said to have been committed on them at Bo Peep. From

the standpoint of comparison to a judicial proceeding par-

ticular statements may or may not have qualified as ad-

missible hearsay under the excited utterance exception.

Compare United States v. Iron Shell, 633 F.2d 77 (8th

Cir.1980), cert denied, 450 U.S. 1001, 101 S.Ct. 1709, 68

L.Ed.2d 203 (1981); United States v. Nick, 604 F.2d 1199

(9th Cir.1979); Moore v. State, 26 Md.App. 556, 338 A.2d

344, cert. denied, 276 Md. 747 (1975) (exception applied)

with Cassidy v. State, 74 Md.App.1, 536 A.2d 666, cert.

denied, 312 Md. 602, 541 A.2d 965 (1988) (exception in-

applicable).

~~ ss

Deborah testified in Bo Peep’s case. The thrust of her

evidence was that Bo Peep was so closely supervised and

SO open to parents at all times that any abuse suffered

by any children who happened to be enrolled there could

not have occurred on the Bo Peep premises. A psychologist

testified on behalf of Bo Peep from a review of medical

records and transcripts of prior testimony, but without

having examined the children. That expert opined, in es-

sence, that the apparent abuse of particular children was

explainable by masturbation, constipation, and/or separa-

tion anxiety, coupled with a strong suggestion of an ov-

erlay on the entire case of some hysteria on the part of

some adults.

The hearing officer was persuaded that there was child

abuse and that it had occurred at Bo Peep. Essentially

Clark concluded that coincidence could not explain the

number of children who bore physical findings consistent

with sexual abuse, who manifested behavior indicative of

having been sexually abused, and who were said to have

described acts of physical and sexual abuse at Bo Peep.

To illustrate the due process issue in a factually specific

context, we shall review the evidence concerning child 7.‘

Bo Peep argues that ‘t]he statements of child 7 are a

prime example of the effect of the due process denia! upon

Bo Peep.”’ Appellee’s Brief at 27.

Child 7 is a female who was three and one-half years

old in July 1987. Because the child had exhibited several

symptoms of abuse, as listed in a brochure which the child’s

parents had obtained at a meeting sponsored by the Social

Services Administration, the parents caused child 7 to be

examined by Dr. Schubin on July 2, 1987. On that ex-

amination the diameter of the child’s hymen was two mil-

limeters, a finding Which was normal for her age. Child

7 did not thereafter attend Bo Peep until Monday, July

13. In the interim child 7 was constantly with her parents

during the family vacation.

On Wednesday, July 15, the mother picked up child 7

at Bo Peep after 4:00 p.m. The child complained that her

bottom hurt. The complaints continued into the evening.

When bathing child 7 that evening the mother notice a

small cut near the child’s vaginal area. On questioning the

child told the mother that that was where Miss Debbie

had put toilet paper in her. As a result the parents caused

child 7 to be reexamined by Dr. Schubin on Friday, July

17 at noon. Dr. Schbin testified that on that examination

the hymenal opening was then “grossly distorted’’ to ten

by fifteen millimeters, with swelling and redness, in terms

of a clock face, from two to six. In his opinion the injuries

occurred within four to six days prior to his examination.

In his opinion the child could not physically have produced

the injury with her own hands by masturbating.

‘Numbers were used at trial and in the appellate briefs to identify

particular children, in lieu of names.

18a

Child 7’s mother testified that child 7 said on Friday

that Mr. Pat was also there when Miss Debbie put toilet

paper in her. On Saturday the child told the mother that

“Miss Rita” (.e., Blevins) and “Miss Martha” were also

there and that “a ball” had been put in her. At first she

described the bal] as orange and then as pink. She said

this happened when she was in the kitchen on the table.

In September 1987 child 7 began to be treated by Mary

Derbyshire (Derbyshire), a clinical social worker. Derby-

shire was also treating two other children from Bo Peep

whom she believed had been abused. Derbyshire testified

for two full days in the revocation case. Her direct and

cross-examinations, and related colloquy, are reported in

approximately 575 pages of transcript. The notes which

she made of sessions with the children were introduced in

evidence and made available to Bo Peep’s counsel over-

night for preparation for cross-examination. Drawings

made by the children in the therapy sessions were intro-

duced as exhibits. Child 7 was still in weekly therapy with

Derbyshire when the latter testified in May 1988.

Derbyshire acknowledged that, particularly in the early

phases of the treatment, the child ‘“‘had confused thoughts

that interfered with her being able to verbally articulate

things in a way that she was experiencing them... .”’ In

September the child talked of Bo Peep as a bad place

where Miss Rita had hurt the child’s “operation.” Child

7 had had a hernia operation resulting in a scar in her

pelvic area. During a November session child 7 said that

Miss Rita had beaten her “down there” (pointing to the

vaginal area) when the child was going potty. When asked

to demonstrate the child used both of her fists and started

beating on her pelvic area. Derbyshire then asked the par-

ents to join them and the child repeated the demonstration

again. After each demonstration the child stated that she

was just kidding. Derbyshire’s interpretation of the state-

ment, “just kidding,”’ was that child 7 had difficulty ac-

19a

cepting the reality of what had happened and that was

her way of making the occurrence not real.

Child 7 refused to take naps. When Derbyshire was

attempting to treat that fear, the child told Derbyshire

that ‘Mr. Pat [had] sat next to her when she was asleep

and he had newspapers ... and he put the newspapers

on her and then he: tried to choke her....” The child

demonstrated by putting her hands around her neck. When

child 7 talked about Miss Rita hurting the child’s “‘oper-

ation,” the child would tremble, shake, cry, and beg to go

home. The child said that Miss Rita would beat her in the

belly and demonstrated by placing the palm of one hand

flat against her stomach and striking the back of that hand

with her other hand in a fist. Derbyshire understood that

to be a technique for beating a child without leaving a

bruise.

The child also referred to Blevins as “big foot” and

spoke of a “water machine’ used to spray the children

with colored water in a kitchen at Bo Peep. The specific

testimony on these points is set forth in the margin.’ Der-

Describing a January 1988 session Derbyshire said that the child

“didn't like to come to the sessions because it made her think

about things that were scary and I asked her what kind of things

and she said Bo Peer, she was sobbing, she was shaking, she

was wringing her hands, at times she was masturbating, she said

she was afraid of big foot, that she thinks about Miss Rita pinch-

ing her in the bathroom and that Miss Rita was pinching her in

the bathroom Mr. Pat and Miss Rita were there and that it was

dark, she said that when they did that it hurt her on her belly

and her operation and then she said there was a water machine

in the attic and that the water machine was taken to the kitchen

table and the kids were put on the kitchen table by Miss Rita

and Mr. Pat, the kids had clothes off but Miss Rita and Mr. Pat

had clothes on, the kids bodies were squirted with colored water,

sometimes hot water, sometimes cold, al] over their bodies in-

cluding down there, sometimes the water was yellow, gold, pink

or clear. And then she said sometimes Mr. Pat would hide in the

20a

byshire testified that the child said that Miss Rita had told

child 7 that if she ever told secrets she would be taken

away on a bus. The child had a fear that if she took a

field trip by bus with the children at her new nursery

school she would never be brought home again.

Bo Peep’s expert, Dr. Lawrence Donner (Donner), is a

clinical psychologist. Donner testified for two full days in

the revocation case. His direct and cross-examinations, and

related colloquy, occupy approximately 455 pages of the

transcript. His view was that child 7’s “just kidding’ re-

marks refer to the fact that it was a game which Der-

byshire was asking child 7 to play. Donner also concluded

from the different actors and situations included in the

pattern of detail involved in child 7’s descriptions that

‘‘there’s no consistency in what she says. There’s clearly

no basis in terms of my opinion in reality in what she’s

saving.”

Cc

When the circuit court expressed its concern over the

introduction into the agency hearing record of out-of-hear-

dark bathroom when Miss Debbie was coming and then she said

sometimes Mr. Pat went to the basement to get rope or was

going to get the water machine... .”’

Speaking generally of the two months preceding her testimony in

May of 1988, Derbyshire said that

“periodically this fear of big foot would be verbalized. At this

particular point in time the child was able to, in a coherent fashion

provide some more information in terms of the fear of big foot,

what she said was that big foot used to get us in the kitchen

with the tables. What that means is apparently there’s more than

one kitchen at Bo Peep and child number seven refers to one of

these kitchens as a kitchen with a table and she said that big

foot is Miss Rita and that Mr. Pat gave Miss Rita a big foot

outfit when he dressed up as Santa at a bad Christmas party at

Bo Peep. Miss Rita used to be big foot and scare us. Once again

she describes Miss Rita hitting, quote, ‘us like this’, and describes

the flat palm on her belly and then the fist beating the palm on

her belly.”

a

ee |

ee eee o-

2la

ing statements by the children concerning ‘‘foundational’’

matters, the court was simply referring to hearsay con-

cerning materia] facts. Hearsay which is inadmissible in a

judicial proceeding is not per se inadmissible in an ad-

ministrative proceeding. See Fairchild Hiller Corp. v. Su-

pervisor of Assessments for Washington County, 267 Md.

519, 298 A.2d 148 (1973); Tauber v. County Bd. of Appeals

for Montgomery County, 257 Md. 202, 262 A.2d 513 (1970);

Eger v. Stone, 253 Md. 533, 253 A.2d 372 (1969); Newman

v. Baltimore, 251 Md. 92, 246 A.2d 583 (1968). Under the

Maryland Administrative Procedure Act, applicable here,

“(tlhe agency may admit probative evidence that reason-

able and prudent individuals commonly accept in the con-

duct of their affairs and give probative effect to that

evidence.”’ Md.Code (1984), § 10-208(b) of the State Gov-

ernment Article.

To accept Bo Peep’s argument the circuit court’s anal-

ysis had to escalate to the constitutional level. But pro-

cedural due process does not prevent an agency from

supporting its decision wholly by hearsay, if there is un-

derlying reliability and probative value. See Richardson v.

Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 402, 91 S.Ct. 1420, 1428, 28 L.Ed.2d

842, 853 (1971) (in a federal] social security disability hear-

ing, ‘a written report by a licensed physician who has

examined the claimant and who sets forth in his report

his medical findings in his area of competence may be

received as evidence ... and, despite its hearsay character

and an absence of cross-examination, and despite the pres-

ence of opposing direct medica] testimony and testimony

by the claimant himself, may constitute substantial evi-

dence supportive of a finding by the hearing examiner

adverse to the claimant, when the claimant has not ex-

ercised his right to subpoena the reporting physi-

Ge. ..6.

‘The State has argued that Bo Peep could have subpoenaed and

examined the children whom the State alleged were abused. Bo Peep,

22a

‘Due process, unlike some legal rules, is not a technical

conception with a fixed content unrelated to time, place

and circumstances.” Joint Anti-Fascist Comm. v. McGrath,

341 U.S. 123, 162, 71 S.Ct. 624, 643, 95 L.Ed. 817, 849

(1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring). Currently the United

States Supreme Court utilizes a balancing analysis in de-

ciding questions of procedural due process. It was de-

scribed for the Court by Justice Powell in a case involving

termination of socia] security benefits, Mathews v. Eld-

ridge, 424 U.S. 319, 96 S.Ct. 893, 47 L.Ed.2d 18 (1976).

‘‘More precisely, our prior decisions indicate that iden-

tification of the specific dictates of due process gen-

erally requires consideration of three distinct factors:

First, the private interest that will be affected by the

official] action; second, the risk of an erroneous dep-

rivation of such interest through the procedures used,

and the probable value, if any, of additional or sub-

stitute procedural safeguards; and finally, the Gov-

ernment’s interest, including the function involved and

the fiscal and administrative burdens that the addi-

tional or substitute procedural requirement would en-

tail.”

Id. at 335, 96 S.Ct. at 903, 47 L.Ed.2d at 33.

We have neither been cited to, nor found, any decision

involving administrative proceedings in which the conten-

tion was made that procedural due process required a pre-

hearing examination of a nonparty by a health care

professional. A straightforward application of the princi-

on the other hand, asserts that it sought a psychological examination

in lieu of subpoenas and of interrogation by counse] at the hearing.

We wil] not rest our decision on this argument advanced by the State.

To do so would imply that, had subpoenas for the children been sought

and opposed by motion to quash, the hearing officer should have refused

to quash in order to protect a due process right. That is not the issue

before us and we intimate no opinion thereon.

a

ROR ew sm

23a

ples quoted above from Mathews v. Eldridge demonstrates

that due process has not been violated here.

2 R. Rotunda, J. Nowak & N. Young, Treatise on Con-

stitutional Law, Substance and Procedure § 17.8, at 250

(1986) places in constitutional context the problem now

before us.

“Before examining the balancing test in operation,

one should note the different elements of the adver-

sary process which may be required as part of the

‘due process’ which must be afforded to an individual

when the government deprives him of life, liberty or

property. The essential elements are: (1) adequate no-

tice of the charges or basis for government action;

(2) a neutral] decision-maker; (3) an opportunity to

make an oral presentation to the decision-maker; (4)

an opportunity to present evidence or witnesses to

the decision-maker; (5) a chance to confront and cross-

examine witnesses or evidence to be used against the

individual; (6) the right to have an attorney present

the individual’s case to the decision-maker; (7) a de-

cision based on the record with a statement of reasons

for the decision.”’

(Footnote omitted). The authors list six additional proce-

dural safeguards, including ‘‘a right to pre-trial discovery

of evidence,”’ which the authors state “‘tend to appear only

in connection with criminal trials or formal judicial process

of some type.”’ Id.

The private interest to be affected by the license re-

vocation is Deborah’s continued operation of a day care

center business on the premises. No liberty interest is at

stake. Cf. Coy v. Iowa, __ U.S. __., 108 S.Ct. 2798, 101

L.Ed.2d 857 (1988); Craig v. State, 316 Md. 551, 560 A.2d

1120 (1989); Wildermuth v. State, 310 Md. 496, 530 A.2d

275 (1987) (accused’s right of confrontation in criminal

prosecution). The Cassillys’ property interests in the realty

and equipment are not at stake. Where, as here, the li-

24a

cense to engage in a regulated business may not be with-

drawn at the discretion of the licensing authority but only

upon proof of certain contingencies, the procedure by which

a state undertakes to suspend or revoke the license is

restrained by due process. See Barry v. Barchi, 443 U.S.

55, 64 n.11, 99 S.Ct. 2642, 2649 n. 11, 61 L.Ed.2d 365,

375 n. 11 (1979). That case involved the suspension, prior

to any hearing, of the license of a horse trainer pursuant

to a state regulation which presumed negligence on the

part of a trainer whose horse tested positive for drugs

after a race. The Court held that the interest of tie state

in the integrity of racing justified the procedure, so long

aS a post-suspension hearing was promptly held. The reg-

ulation in Barry v. Barchi was invalid because it set no

time limit within which the post-suspension hearing had

to be held, and it allowed the agency thirty days after the

hearing within which to decide the issue.

The procedures actually used by the Department greatly

minimized the risk of an erroneous deprivation of Debo-

rah’s license. There were two protracted hearings before

the agency at each of which Bo Peep was afforded all of

the protections which will ordinarily satisfy due process

requirements in contested administrative law cases. See

Rotunda, supra; Friendly, “Some Kind of Hearing,” 123

U.Pa.L.Rev. 1267 (1975). The record of a judicial pro-

ceeding in a circuit court was also made part of the agency

record. The Department’s decision was based on uncon-

tradicted physical findings, on personal knowledge of adults

concerning relevant, nonassertive conduct, on expert opin-

ions based in part on psychologically pertinent history and,

only to a degree, on hearsay declarations which would have

been inadmissible as substantive evidence in a judicial pro-

ceeding. We cannot quantify the degree of the latter. In

the case as a whole, however, Bo Peep does not contend

that that hearsay was both so unreliable and so pervasive

as to undermine the substantiality of the evidence against

it.

een

a side uae Rubee’

25a

Rogers v. Radio Shack, 271 Md. 126, 314 A.2d 113 (1974)

on which Bo Peep relies was based on a procedural deficit

of a kind not present in the instant case. In that unem-

ployment compensation case the agency record included,

and presumably the agency considered, an investigator’s

report which had never been introduced into evidence at

any hearing and of which the claimant was unaware. Un-

der those circumstances, where the claimant had “‘no op-

portunity for cross-examination or rebuttal,’’ we held that

“fundamental fairness would preclude reliance upon the

report by an administrative agency or a reviewing court.”’

Id. at 129, 314 A.2d at 115.

The next factor to be weighed, per Mathews v. Eldridge,

is “the probable value, if any, of additional or substitute

procedural safeguards.”’ 424 U.S. at 335, 96 S.Ct. at 903.

Here that value is minimal. Bo Peep asserts that the cir-

cuit court was correct in holding that ‘‘due process of law

requires that the opponent have a meaningful opportunity

to test the credibility of out-of-hearing statements if the

agency decision is foundationally based on such statements,

whether or not the statements constitute hearsay.’’ Ap-

pellee’s Brief at 9-10. We observe that, strictly speaking,

statements do not have credibility—witnesses do (or do

not). Seemingly contradictorily, Bo Peep then submits that

“the truth of the children’s statements is not at the heart

of the issue; the children never testified. It is the meaning

of these statements which went untested.” Jd. at 10. Bo

Peep complains that certain “‘persons drew conclusions

from the statements made to them by the children’’ but

that Bo Peep ‘was denied the right to reach behind the

State’s conclusions by testing the credibility of the process,

thereby testing the meaning of the children’s statements.’

Id.

This argument can embrace at least four possible defects

affecting the ‘‘credibility of the statements.” First, the

content of the declarant’s statement may be false. Sec-

ondly, an adult witness, either intentionally or uninten-

26a

tionally, may have inaccurately conveyed the declarant’s

statement to the decision maker. Third, the adult witness

may have drawn an erroneous conclusion from the de-

clarant’s accurately reported statement. Fourth, the adult

witness may have accurately communicated the declarant’s

statement, as far as it goes, but may have omitted other

matter never explored, or deemed by the witness to be

insignificant, but which would be significant to some other

evaluator.

The first possibility is that some or all of the children

are lying. The authors of the article, ‘Assessing the Cred-

ibility of Young Children’s Allegations of Serual Abuse:

Clinical Issues,’’ supra, discuss the situations commonly

associated with false allegations.

“Young children almost never initiate false alle-

gations without influence from an adult. Commonly

an adult, either unconsciously or consciously, is intent

on proving to themselves or others that the allega-

tions of abuse are true. The child is thus influenced

by the adult to present with a false allegation. Four

factors of adult influence, either individually or in

combination, are most often present in fictitious sto-

ries. The mere presence of any of these factors does

not mean that an allegation is false. However, in un-

true stories, positive evidence linking one or more of

these factors to the accusation exists. The factors of

influence are:

‘1. The presence of the post traumatic stress disorder

in the adult.

“2. The presence of serious psychiatric disorder in a

parent and evidence of a symbiotically disturbed

mother-child relationship.

‘3. The existence of an ongoing custody/access dis-

pute.

—

|

)

:

a

}

27a

‘‘4. A professional committed prematurely to the truth

of the allegation.”

32 Can. J. Psychology at 611. In the instant matter Bo

Peep either cross-examined or had the opportunity to cross-

examine or subpoena any adult who may have influenced

any child falsely to describe an occurrence at Bo Peep.

Similarly, as to the second and third possibilities, those

who testified concerning statements made by the children

were subject to cross-examination concerning the accuracy

of their communication. The validity of the conclusions

drawn by the Department’s witnesses from statements

made by the children were questioned by Bo Peep’s expert

in psychology, Donner, who offered other explanations ex-

culpatory of Bo Beep. Necessarily, Bo Peep was suffi-

ciently informed of the surrounding circumstances to enable

Donner to present that rebuttal.

Finally, although there was undoubtedly some risk that

an adult witness might not have explored or communicated

some facet of a child’s life which Bo Peep’s expert would

consider relevant, Bo Peep had the opportunity, by cross-

examination of the adult witnesses, to explore omissions

by them, and Bo Peep had the opportunity to argue that

omissions had invalidated the witnesses’ conclusions. In

sum, it appears that Bo Peep’s desire to test the “‘cred-

ibility of statements”’ is a desire to discover additional data

which could be used by its expert to support conclusions

favorable to Bo Peep and thereby perhaps enhance the

possibility that the decision maker would accept those fa-

vorable opinions. In this case that possibility is slight be-

cause of the number of children at Bo Peep who bear

physical signs consistent with their having been sexually

abused.

Finally, under Mathews v. Eldridge, we consider ‘“‘the

Government’s interest, including the function involved and

the fiscal and administrative burdens that the additional

or substitute procedural requirement would entail.’ 424

28a

U.S. at 335. Here we must weigh heavily in favor of the

State its interest in licensing only day care centers where

children are properly cared for and, more particularly, the

State’s great interest in protecting children from physical

and sexual abuse. Further, the State has an interest in

protecting the children from further anxiety, even if there

would be less emotional] trauma in a psychological inter-

view than in a cross-examination. That interest is so clear

that it in part underlies Bo Peep’s decision not to attempt

to require the children to testify in person at the hearing.

Also weighing heavily against Bo Peep’s request for im-

plementation of an additional procedure is that the re-

quested procedure was not within the power of the hearing

officer. A court adjudicating a property interest in a civil

matter has no authority to compel a pretrial psychological

examination of a non-party witness, and we would be ill

advised to create that right in administrative proceedings

by a fiat on constitutional grounds.

For all of the foregoing reasons Hearing Officer Clark

did not deprive Bo Peep of due process of law in denying

Bo Peep’s motion for a prehearing psychological interview

of the allegedly abused Bo Peep enrollees.’

Ill

The circuit court also held that the hearing officer had

erred, in the suspension hearings of August 1987, by re-

stricting the scope of cross-examination of Sergeant Joseph

Swam (Swam), a witness called by the licensing agency.

As a member of the Bel Air Police Department, Swam

had been involved in the investigation of allegations of

"Bo Peep predicates its due process argument on Maryland Decla-

ration of Rights, art. 24, in addition to the Fourteenth Amendment to

the Constitution of the United States. The two provisions are in pari

materia. See Lodowski v. State, 307 Md. 233, 248, 513 A.2d 299, 307,

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1086, 106 S.Ct. 1469, 89 L.Ed.2d 725 (1986);

Sites v. State, 300 Md. 702, 717, 481 A.2d 192, 199 (1984).

nels Pepin tial

‘eet calbeya eann eltetls FLL btn, on

Cee Se

29a

child abuse at Bo Peep since June 1987.* After eliciting

Swam’s background, his experience in conducting inves-

tigations and his view that, in multiple victim crimes, the

investigator frequently looks for a common denominator,

Swam testified that he had not identified up to that time

any common denominator of the alleged victims other than

Bo Peep.

Counsel for the agency then had Swam relate a con-

versation with Deborah in which she referred to adult

members of the families of two of the alleged victims.

Deborah said that the alleged victims were apprehensive,

respectively, toward those adults. The information was in-

tended to suggest that the adult family members were

suspects. Objections by counsel for Bo Peep cut off Swam’s

describing how he followed up on this information. The

agency proffered that it wished to show that the inves-

tigation was thorough, that the two adults consented to

take polygraph examinations, which they passed, and that

the police consequently excluded them as suspects. The

hearing officer sustained Bo Peep’s objection concerning

the result of polygraph examinations. The agency was able

to prove only that the police generally use polygraph ex-

aminations as an investigative tool and that they used that

tool in the investigation in the instant matter.

On cross-examination counsel for Bo Peep asked, ‘‘What

people have you contacted in the course of your investi-

gation of Bo Peep?’’ Swam balked at answering. He

claimed that he appeared as a witness with the under-

standing that there would be significant limitations on the

scope of the questions which he would be asked. Counsel

for the agency explained that Swam did not believe he

could reveal details of an on-going criminal investigation.

*Swam testified, without contradiction, that he did not interview any

of the children. Thus the issue before us concerning Swam’s cross-

examination is not involved in the due process issue discussed in Part

II, supra.

30a

Hearing Examiner Clark referred to the confidentiality

provisions of the “‘Public Information Act.” He ruled that

Bo Peep should ‘‘question this witness on the basis of the

questions and answers that were given on direct exami-

nation.”’ Counsel for Bo Peep asked if Swam had inter-

viewed all of the employees at Bo Peep, to which Swam

explained that every interview of a potential witness or

suspect generates a report which becomes part of a crim-

inal investigation file. The hearing officer again instructed

Bo Peep’s counsel to confine the questions to testimony

brought out on direct examination. Counsel asked if Swam

had interviewed all of the parents. An objection was sus-

tained.

Swam’s testimony that Bo Peep was the common de-

nominator among the children is recited in Clark’s opinion

in the suspension case.

To the extent, if any, that Clark unduly precluded Bo

Peep from testing Swam’s common denominator conclu-

sion, the assumed error is not prejudicial When Swam

had been asked whether there was any place that the

children had in common, counsel for Bo Peep objected on

the ground that the question was “‘really ridiculous.”’ That

counsel observed that ‘‘[o]bviously he’s going to say Bo-

Peep,” inasmuch as the universe of allegedly abused chil-

dren was limited to those enrolled at Bo Peep. The hearing

officer did not need Swam’s opinion on investigations in

order to make the common denominator fact-finding.

To the extent that Bo Peep sought to use Swam to

“fish” for additional suspects, the issue is whether Clark

abused his discretion in closely limiting the scope of cross-

examination. See Commission on Medical Discipline v.

Stillman, 291 Md. 390, 435 A.2d 747 (1981) (administrative

agency may limit the scope of cross-examination and that

decision will not be disturbed unless there has been an

abuse of discretion). Bo Peep by its objections had pre-

vented evidence of the police follow up on the ‘‘suspects”’

" “ i a ft

RR iA ited Adis Dineen tie att

3la

identified by Deborah. Clark was not obliged to let Bo

Peep explore through Swam whether one or more other

persons had, at one time or another, been the object of

police attention when the matter would be left hanging,

open ended, with only half of the story told. Clark had

already ruled, at Bo Peep’s request, that the results of

polygraph tests could not be referred to as the basis for

eliminating persons from suspicion. We see no abuse of

discretion.

In any event, Bo Peep never proffered what its objective

was in pursuing the line of interrogation of Swam. Even

if Bo Peep’s cross-examination had a proper objective,

other than to weaken the common denominator conclusion, j

we have no basis from the record to conclude that the

error was prejudicial in the revocation case now before

US.

IV

In this part we address Bo Peep’s argument that, be-

cause the State did not reinspect the Bo Peep premises

as required by the regulation dealing with license renewal,

the State could not revoke the license based on violations

of regulations requiring adequate supervision and prohib-

iting injurious treatment. We shall assume, arguendo, that

there was no reinspection.°

Three days after the Board of Review of the Department

of Health and Mental Hygiene had affirmed the license

suspension, the Harford County Health Officer, by letter

of March 26, 1988, denied Deborah’s then pending appli-

“Bo Peep relies on the testimony of a Child Development Specialist

for the Harford County Health Department who was told by her su-

pervisor not to make a reinspection at Bo Peep in connection with the

application for license renewal. The State does not concede a failure

to reinspect. It argues that tours of the facility and reviews of docu-

mentation by state and local licensing representatives satisfy the rein-

spection requirement, if applicable.

——————«

32a

cation for renewal of the Bo Peep license. The reasons

given for the decision were, in substance:

1. Continued operation of Bo Peep was not con-

sistent with the objectives of certain statutes requir-

ing proper care, protection and supervision of children:

2. Certain regulations, not involving child abuse,

had been found in the suspension case to have been

violated;

3. There was a lack of adequate protection and

supervision: and

4. There had been repeated instances, as found by

the hearing officer, in which children were subjected

to injurious treatment in violation of COMAR

10.05.01.46."

COMAR 10.05.01.46 (1988) provides:

“A child may not be subjected to treatment inju-

rious to his physical or emotional health by a staff

member or any individual connected with the center

such as a substitute, volunteer. or person living in a

household in which a center is licensed.”

The health officer acted under the recited authority of

COMAR 10.05.01.10 (1988). Subparagraph B of that reg-

ulation provides:

“B. For serious or repeated violations of any of

the requirements of these regulations ... a license

may be permanently revoked after an opportunity for

a hearing has been provided by the Secretary. Before

this action, the Secretary or the local health officer

shall notify the licensee in writing, setting out the

reasons for the action and advising the licensee that

his license shal] be permanently revoked at the end

of 5 days following service of the notice, unless the

licensee files with the Secretary a written request for

a hearing within the 5-day period.”

33a

Bo Peep relies on COMAR 10.05.01.07 (1984), “Condi-

tions and Limitations of License,” which in part states

that ‘(t]he renewal procedure for a license shal] include a

reinspection and re-evaluation of the center by the local

health officer and appropriate authorities. .. ."” Because the

revocation of Bo Peep’s license procedurally was initiated

by a refusal to renew, Bo Peep argues that 10.05.01.07

is applicable and further reads the reinspection require-

ment as a condition precedent to revocation.

The State argued to the circuit court that 10.05.01.07

did not cireumscribe the Department's authority to revoke

where the grounds were inadequate supervision and in-

jurious treatment. The circuit court, however, in view of

its finding of a due process violation, ordered that the

further proceedings on remand include reinspection.

We have held that the agency hearing did not violate

due process so that the issue before us is purely one of

interpretation of the regulations. The primary purpose of

the regulation requiring reinspection is to protect children,

by insuring that requirements determinable on inspection

had been met. By way of illustration, these requirements

would seem to include the nature and condition of the

physical plant and of the equipment, including food service

capacity, and required record keeping. The reinspection

requirement may well additionally operate as a protection

to a licensee against a refusal to renew on a ground which

reinspection would reveal does not exist. But none of those

purposes has any relationship to the grounds relied upon

by the Department for the revocation or nonrenewal of

Bo Peep’s license. It was not the intent of the reinspection

regulation that an inspector must observe child abuse on

a reinspection before a license can be revoked by nonre-

newal based on child abuse demonstrated circumstantially.

Vv

Bo Peep’s final assertion is that the hearing officer,

Clark, should have recused himself in the revocation case.

34a

The circuit court held that Clark had not abused his dis-

cretion by deciding to proceed. Bo Peep’s point is that

Clark, on the first day of the revocation hearings, had

admitted into the record the transcript of the suspension

case ang a copy of his findings and conclusions as hearing

officer in the suspension case. Bo Peep argues that, be-

cause al! of the violations alleged in the revocation case

involved events antedating mid-July 1987, and because all

of the violations found in the suspension case involved that

same period, Clark could not impartially decide the re-

vocation case issues.

Clark's admission of the suspension case transcript into

the revocation case record does not demonstrate actual

bias. In the circuit court Bo Peep argued that Clark erred

in admitting that transcript but that court rejected the

argument. In this Court Bo Peep does not directly assert

that Clark erred in admitting the transcript. Instead, Bo

Peep argues lack of impartiality and cites the same ruling.

Under -COMAR 10.05.01.10B (1988) the standard for im-

posing the sanction of permanent revocation of a license

is “serious or repeated violations of any of the require-

ments of [the] regulations....’’ Clark appropriately in-

cluded in the revocation case the record underlying those

violations found in the suspension case for the consider-

ation of the Secretary’s designee in determining whether

permanent revocation was appropriate.

Applicable here is the rule stated in United States v.

Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 583, 86 S.Ct. 1698, 1710,

16 L.Ed.2d 778, 793 (1966):

“The alleged bias and prejudice to be disqualifying

must stem from an extrajudicial source and result in

an opinion on the merits on some basis other than

what the judge learned from his participation in the

case.

-

This Court most recently gave recognition to the above

rule in Doering v. Fader, 316 Md. 351, 558 A.2d 733 (1989)

——————— tt

——— eee

|

|

35a

which cites many cases to the same effect as Grinnell.

We have also said that the rule applies to administrative

agencies. See Board of Medical Examiners v. Steward, 203

Md. 574, 102 A.2d 248 (1954) (members of a hearing board

who initially participated in the decision of a case which

was appealed and remanded to the agency were not

thereby disqualified from hearing the matter on remand).

Accordingly, we reverse. We shall, however, assess costs

against the State. This is because the State devoted sub-

stantial portions of its briefs in chief and in reply to ar-

guing the substantiality of the evidence, despite the fact

that neither the circuit court nor Bo Peep has questioned

the revocation order on that ground.

JUDGMENT OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR HARFORD

COUNTY REVERSED. CASE REMANDED TO THAT COURT

FOR THE ENTRY OF A JUDGMENT AFFIRMING THE FI-

NAL DECISION DATED AUGUST 31, 1988, OF THE SEC-

RETARY, DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES, WHICH

AFFIRMED THE DECISION OF THE HARFORD COUNTY

HEALTH OFFICER TO REVOKE THE LICENSE OF BO

PEEP DAY NURSERY. COSTS TO BE PAID BY APPEL-

LANT.

36a

APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

FOR

HARFORD COUNTY

Case No. 1998 - 5 - 99

IN THE MATTER OF BO PEEP DAY NURSERY SUSPEN-

SION OF DAY CARE LICENSE

Case No. 2089 - 5 - 145

IN THE MATTER OF BO PEEP DAY NURSERY REVO-

CATION AND DENIAL OF RENEWAL OF DAY CARE LI-

CENSE

FILED

March 9, 1989

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

The Court is keenly aware that many believe our forum

will determine whether abuse took place at Bo Peep Nurs-

ery. Such is not the case, as the Court’s mandated function

is to review the proceedings before the Health Department

to discern whether legal error was committed and whether

the Hearing Officer had sufficient, substantial evidence be-

fore him to conclude that physical abuse took place. Thus,

the Court will make no fresh factual determinations con-

cerning the issue of abuse.

37a

FACTS

Deborah Cassilly, Appellant, is the director and licensee

of the Bo Peep Day Nursery in Bel Air. On July 6, 1987,

tal Hygiene which resulted in (1) suspension of her day

care license and (2) revocation/non-renewal of her license.

The two appeals were consolidated and argument was pre-

sented to the Court on November 16, 1988.

I. SUSPENSION OF DAY CARE LICENSE - Case No.:

1998-6-99.

Deborah Cassilly, Appellant, is the director and licensee

of the Bo Peep Day Nursery in Bel Air. On July 5, 1987,

she received a letter from Mr. Thomas, who is a health

officer for the Harford County Health Department. The

letter suspended her day care license pending the outcome

of a child abuse investigation being conducted by the Har-

ford County Department of Social Services and the Bel

Air Police Department. The suspension was premised upon

parental complaints alleging numerous violations of Mary-

land’s group day care center regulations and the possible

abuse of children at Bo Peep.’

Pending Appellant’s right to an administrative hearing

on the issue of suspension of her day care license, Judge

‘The origina] complaints about Bo Peep were registered by the par-

ents of a set of identical twins (children #1 and #2) who were attending

the nursery. Their initial complaint was to the Department of Social!

Services. On June 18, 1987, the mother sent a letter of formal complaint

to the Health Department regarding alleged sexual abuse of #1 at Bo

Peep.

Additionally, the parents of child #9 complained to the Health De-

partment about the nursery. No allegations of abuse were made con-

cerning their little boy at this time. (#9 was later examined by Dr.

Shubin on July 16, 1987 at which time the issue of sexual abuse as to

this child arose). The predominant theme underlying their dissatisfaction

with the center was a general lack of supervision over the enrollees.

Parents of children #1 and #2 were also concerned about adequacy of

supervision.

38a

William O. Carr issued an Order banning al] males from

the day care center from 6:30 A.M. to 6:30 P.M. The Or-

der, which was dated July 9, 1987, also gave the Health

Department the right to monitor the Order to insure that

no males were at the facility during the designated hours.

A short time later, however, Appellee came into Harford

County Circuit Court seeking an ex parte injunction and

an interlocutory injunction to close the day care center.

The record reflects that the hearing for injunctive relief

was promoted by an alleged incident of sexual abuse re-

ported by the parents of child #7 which allegedly occurred

despite the existing aegis of Judge Carr’s earlier Order.

The hearing was held before Judge Whitfill, and he is-

sued an Order on July 28, 1987. This Order essentially

(1) barred Patrick Cassilly from the premises at all times?

and required Appellant and her employees to report his

presence to the Court if he should violate the Order;

(2) mandated that a log be kept registering al] males over

the age of 12 who came to the facility; and (3) required

that all injuries at Bo Peep be documented with notice of

injuries to be provided to parents and the Health De-

partment.

In late August and early September of 1987, the issue

of suspension of Appellant’s license was heard before Wil-

liam Clark, Hearing Examiner for the Department of

Health and Mental Hygiene. In a decision dated November

11, 1987, Mr. Clark upheld the suspension of the day care

license for the existing licensing period. Among the ap-

proximately one dozen COMAR regulations the State

claimed Bo Peep failed to follow, the Hearing Examiner

found that al] but two had been violated by Appellant. The

most significant infraction by Appellant was violation of

‘ Patrick Cassilly is Appellant's husband. Up until this time, Appellant

and Patrick Cassilly had been living in a third floor apartment at the

center

39a

COMAR 10.05.01.46 which deals with injurious treatment

of children attending day care centers.* The Hearing Ex-

aminer concluded that many children at Bo Peep were

subjected to injurious treatment, including sexual abuse.

In addition to upholding the license suspension, the Ex-

aminer went on to advise that if Appellant should seek to

reapply for a license at the end of the current licensing

period, “‘careful and meticulous review of that application,

of the proposed staff of the Licensee, and/or the facility

itself should be made by the Department.” Hearing Ex-

aminer’s Decision, p. 50.

On December 4, 1987, Appeilant filed Exceptions to the

Hearing Examiner’s proposed decision. The decision, how-

ever, was affirmed by the Board of Review of the De-

partment of Health and Mental Hygiene on March 23, 1988.

The final agency decision, which upheld suspension of Ap-

pellant’s current license, was issued shortly before the end

of the current licensing term. The annual day care license

in question was due to expire on March 31, 1988. Appellant

appealed the agency decision suspending the license to this

Court on March 24, 1988. Judge Whitfill, by Court Order,

enjoined the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

from enforcing its final suspension decision. Said Order

was to expire on March 30, 1988, at 8:00 o’clock P.M.

Argument on suspension of Bo Peep’s license to operate

a group day care facility came before this Court on

November 16, 1988.

II. NON-RENEWAL/REVOCATION OF DAY CARE LI-

CENSE - Case No.: 2089-5-145.

As indicated above, the suspended day care license was

due to expire, as a matter of course, on March 31, 1988.

* This provision from COMAR states as follows: A child may not be

subjected to treatment injurious to his physical or emotional health by

a staff member or any individual connected with the center such as a

substitute, volunteer, or person living in a household in which a center

is licensed.”

40a

Appellant applied in a timely fashion for renewal of her

day care license. In a letter dated March 26, 1988, how-

ever, Mr. Thomas of the Harford County Health Depart-

ment, denied renewal of her license to operate Bo Peep

and permanently revoked said license. The reasons for re-

vocation of her license are set forth in Mr. Thomas’ letter

as follows:

(1) I have evaluated your application and the licen-

sing materials to determine if the continued operation

of your Center is consistent with the legislative re-

quirements set forth in Health General Section 14-102

and 14-104. In particular, I have reviewed the specific

provisions of Section 14-104 requiring that group day

care centers operate in a manner which provides chil-

dren with safe conditions in addition to “proper care,

protection and supervision.’’ I have concluded that the

continued operation of this center is not consistent

with these statutory objectives.

(2) Further, I am permanently revoking and de-

nying renewal of your license on the basis of of the

regulatory violations found in the decision of William

F. Clark, Esq. dated November 16, 1987, a copy of

which is attached hereto and incorporated herein. Spe-

cifically, I hereby adopt and incorporate the discus-

sion, findings of fact and conclusions of law set forth

in that decision. The regulatory violations upheld by

Mr. Clark which continue to present a threat to the

health and safety of children at this facility are as

follows:

COMAR 10.05.01.12- Minimum Age

.18- Use of Unauthorized Space

.49- Copy of Regulations to Par-

ents

.59- Group Size and Staffing,

Children in Attendance

4la

.60 and .76 - Staffing Pattern

.65- Records

.50A- Adequate Service and Su-

pervision at all Times

The Hearing Officer in his findings stated that ‘‘the

facts show that many of the day care regulations have

not been followed. The sum of the evidence requires

that the facility not only continue in operation with

a license from the Department.”’

3. We continue to be deeply concerned over the

management of the Center and the capability of the

staff to provide for the adequate protection and su-

pervision of the children. Based on our staff review

; of the Center’s operations, we do not feel that there

is adequate assurance that the continued operation of

the Center under the existing staff will provide for

appropriate supervision of children as required by

COMAR 10.05.01.50A.

4. The hearing officer held there were repeated

instances in which children enrolled in the center were

Subjected to injurious treatment in violation of

COMAR 10.05.01.46. These findings reflected numer-

ous deficiencies in the management, staffing and op-

eration of this center. The continued operation of this

center as detailed in your license renewal application

is inconsistent with COMAR 10.05.01.46.

Appellant, once again, had an administrative hearing

before Mr. Clark to appeal the non-renewal/revocation of

her license. The thrust of that hearing, which was held

during May and June of 1988, was to determine whether

physical and sexual abuse of children occurred at Bo Peep.

The Hearing Examiner found that abuse occurred at the

; facility and affirmed the decision to permanently revoke

Appellant’s day care license. Mr. Clark’s decision was is-

sued on August 23, 1988, and it was adopted as a final

COT weet le a we

42a

decision on August 31, 1988. The revocation decision was

appealed to this Court as well.

The decisions of the Department of Health and Mental

Hygiene were stayed by Court Order pending final reso-

lution of the appeals in this case.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

On the issue of judicial review of agency decisions, the

Administrative Procedure Act provides as follows:

(g) Decision. - In a proceeding under this section,

the court may:

(1) remand the case for further proceedings;

(2) affirm the decision of the agency; or

(3) reverse or modify the decision if any sub-

stantial right of the petitioner may have been

prejudiced because a finding, conclusion, or de-

cision of the agency:

(i) is unconstitutional;

(ii) exceeds the statutory authority or juris-

diction of the agency;

(ili) results from an unlawful procedure;

(iv) is affected by any other error of law;

(v) is unsupported by competent, material,

and substantial evidence in light of the entire

record as submitted; or

(vi) is arbitrary or capricious.

Annotated Code of Maryland, State Government,

Section 10-215.

In a recent decision, the Court of Special Appeals re-

stated, at some length, the standard of review which must

guide this court in considering the final decision of the

——————

43a

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene in the appeals

sub yudice:

“The Court’s statutory role upon review goes very

little beyond its inherent power of review to prevent

illegal, unreasonable, arbitrary or capricious admin-

istrative action.”” Harford Memorial Hospital v. Health

Services Cost Review Commission, 44 Md. App. 489,

506, 410 A.2d 22 (1980); Chertkof v. Dept. of Natural

Resources, 42 Md. App. 10, 17, 402 A.2d 1315, cert.

denied, 286 Md. 745 (1979).

Where the agency has made no error of law, then,

the standard of review is ‘“‘whether the finding is

supported by substantial evidence’. Nationwide Mu-

tual Insurance Co. v. Insurance Commissioner, 67 Md.

App. 727, 737, 509 A.2d 719 (1986). In Bulluck v.

Pelham Woods Apts., 283 Md. 505 390 A.2d 1119

(1978), the Court of Appeals discussed this standard

as well as other principles concerning judicial review

of agency decisions:

‘Substantial evidence,’ as the test for reviewing

factual findings of administrative agencies, has been

defined as ‘‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable

mind might accept as adequate to support a conclu-

sion.”

The scope of review “‘is limited to whether a rea-

soning mind reasonably could have reached the factual

conclusion the agency reached,’”’...

In applying the substantial evidence test, we have

emphasized that ‘‘a court should [not] substitute its

judgment for the expertise of those persons who con-

stitute the administrative agency from which the

appeal is taken.’’ We also must review the agency’s

decision in the light most favorable to the agency,

since “‘decisions of administrative agencies are prima

facie correct,’’ and “‘carry with them the presumption

44a

of validity.” Furthermore, not only is it the province

of the agency to resolve conflicting evidence, but

where inconsistent inferences from the same evidence

can be drawn, it is for the agency to draw the in-

ferences. (Citations omitted).

Bulluck, 283 Md. at 512-13, 398 A.2d 1119 (1978).

.... ‘In reviewing decisions of administrative

agencies, the court’s appraisal or evaluation must

be of the agency’s fact-finding results and not an

independent original estimate of or decision on

the evidence, and that the required process re-

quires restrained and disciplined judicial judg-

ment so as not to interfere with the agency’s

factual conclusions where supported by evi-

dence.”’ Zeitschel v. Board of Education of Carroll

County, 274 Md. 69, 82, 332 A.2d 906 (1975).

Thus, even though a reviewing court may disa-

gree with the conclusions drawn by an agency,

it is not at liberty to disregard the agency’s con-

clusions and substitute its own. Nelson v. Real

Estate Commission, 35 Md. App. 334, 344-45, 370

A.2d 608, cert. denied, 280 Md. 733 (1977). More-

over, a reviewing court is restricted to the record

made before the administrative agency, and is

confined to whether, based upon the record, a

reasoning mind reasonably could have reached the

factual conclusion reached by the agency. (Cita-

tions omitted).

Maryland Retirement System v. Martin, 75 Md. App. 240,

244-245, 540 A.2d 1188 (1988).

In light of the foregoing, we now turn to a consideration

of the arguments presented on appeal to this Court.

SNe ud emit Sete Mi. ee ee ee eee 4

45a

DISCUSSION

I. HAS THE DECISION TO SUSPEND BO PEEP’S LI-

CENSE BECOME MOOT?

On November 16, 1987, the Hearing Examiner issued

his proposed decision suspending the license of Bo Peep

Day Nursery for the duration of its current licensing

period. The suspended license was due to expire on

March 31, 1988. Pursuant to Court Order, however, the

day care center remained open throughout the licensing

period in question. While the decision regarding nonre-

newal/revocation of the day care license remains justi-

ciable, we find that the decision suspending the license

(which would have naturally expired about a year ago),

is now moot.

While there is no Maryland case law directly on point,

analogous law from other jurisdictions suggests the sus-

pension decision is moot. See, Jones v. Schwendiman, 721

P.2d 893 (Utah, 1986). (Motorist’s appeal from revocation

of driver’s license and request that his driving privileges

be ordered reinstated was rendered moot by expiration of

one year period of revocation); Dow Chemical Co. v. Curtis,

404 N.2d 737, (Mich. App. 1987), (Running of three year

limitations period for Employment Security Commission to

recover improperly paid benefits rendered case moot in

regard to possible recovery of benefits); North Dakota Ru-

ral Development Corp. v. U.S. Department of Labor, 819

F.2d 199 (C.P. 8, 1987), (Rural development corporation’s

petition for review of denial of federal grant under Job

Training Partnership Act, by Department of Labor, was

rendered moot by imminent expiration of grant year, not-

withstanding corporation’s claim that vindication of its rep-

utation within Department was still open and prevented

mootness).

Appellant argues that the suspension decision is not moot

in light of the fact that Mr. Thomas relied on Mr. Clark’s

Suspension decision as the reason for revoking Appellant’s

46a

license as set forth in Thomas’ letter of March 26, 1988.

See Facts, supra. Given that the regulatory violations found

at the first hearing were the basis for suspending Bo

Peep’s license, the suspension decision itself still remains

moot. Alleged violations of COMAR regulations persisted

as viable evidentiary issues throughout both hearings.

Nevertheless, the actual decision to suspend a license long

since expired (as opposed to evidence upon which the de-

cision was founded), is of no legal interest to the parties

at this juncture.

In denying reapplication for licensure, the proposed de-

cision from the second hearing states as follows:

In his letter dated March 26, 1988, the Health

Officer cited COMAR 10.05.01.12, as well as Reg-

ulations .18, .49, .59, .60, .76, and .65, as con-

tinuing to be violated at present. Inasmuch as

there was insufficient evidence proffered at this

administrative hearing to support these conten-

tions, this rationale for denying the reapplication

for licensure is found to be unwarranted. How-

ever, his contention that COMAR 16.05.01.50A

was violated, i.e. that adequate service and su-

pervision at all times has been lacking, is upheld,

as is the contention that children were subjected

to injurious treatment in violation of COMAR

10.05.01.46.

Proposed Decision at 41. Except for COMAR 10.05.01.50A

and 10.05.01.46, all other regulations found to have been

violated at the suspension hearing did not impinge on the

decision to permanently revoke the facility's license. In-

jurious treatment of children and adequate supervision at

Bo Peep are the issues of legal significance, in that it is

violation of these regulations upon which revocation is

premised.

As a final note, there is some indication in the record.

that Appellant recognizes that revocation, rather than sus-

47a

pension, of the license is the major concern of those in-

volved in these proceedings. In a hearing on exceptions

taken from the first decision, Appellant’s counsel stated

as follows:

In fact, I think you ought to think for a mo-

ment before I even get into the abuse allegations,

why are we here. The license expires next week.

Isn't this a moot issue?

The issue before Mr. Clark was suspension of

the license, but that’s not what Mr. Clark de-

cided. Read the last page of his decision. He far

overstepped his charge and he recommended that

the license be suspended and he went on in my

judgment quite clearly, to say the license should

be revoked. I see he made it clear that’s the

objective of the Health Department... .

(3/23/88, T. 11) (Emphasis added).

For the foregoing reasons, the decision to suspend Bo

Peep’s license for the licensing period ending March 31,

1988 is hereby moot.

Il. DID THE EXAMINER ABUSE HIS DISCRETION BY

DECLINING TO RECUSE HIMSELF FROM THE RE-

VOCATION HEARING?

Prior to the commencement of the license revocation

hearing, Appellant requested that Mr. Clark recuse himself

as Examiner in the second proceeding. Mr. Clark was the

Hearing Examiner at the first hearing, and he issued the

agency decision suspending Appellant’s license to operate

@ group day care facility. Appellant contends that the de-

cision reflected pre-judgment and prejudice on the part of

Mr. Clark. In the second hearing, it was argued that he

would be presented with the same parties and the same

issues necessitating his disqualification.

The bulk of Maryland case law deals with recusal of

trial judges rather than hearing examiners. Whether a trial

48a

judge recuses himself is a matter within the discretion of

the Court, and the “‘decisions will not be disturbed on

appeal except for an abuse of that discretion.”” Harper v.

Harper, 49 Md. App. 339, 342, 431 A.2d 761, rev'd. on

other grounds, 294 Md. 54 (1982). To obtain a reversal on

appeal, ‘there must be an affirmative showing of bias or

prejudice on the part of the trial judge.” Nash v. State,

69 Md. App. 681, 686, 519 A.2d 769 (1987). Additionally,

there is no per se rule requiring recusal based on partic-

ipation in an earlier trial even if the judge is to act as

fact finder in a subsequent proceeding. Id.

Appellant directs the Court’s attention to In re George

G., 64 Md. App. 70, 494 A.2d 247 (1985) in support of its

argument that Mr. Clark should have disqualified himself

from presiding over the second hearing. That case involved

multiple juvenile defendants accused of raping a young

woman. The judge who presided over the bench trials of

two of the defendants was asked by defense counsel to

recuse himself from hearing the case of a third defendant.

The trial judge refused to recuse himself even though he

found the rape to be nonconsensual in the prior bench

trials. The judge, while asserting his ability to act impar-

tially, assured counse] that: “....As far as I’m con-

cerned, [a judge] tries the case as he sees it. You might

be able to prove that he is innocent." Id. at 77. This state-

ment impermissibly assigned the burden of proof to the

defendant. In_ finding that the trial judge erred in not

recusing himself, the Court of Special Appeals noted that

“that which had been subconscious came to the surface

and caused an irreparable taint on the proceedings. It is

that manifestation of the subconscious that projects the

appearance of bias.’’ Jd. at 81. (Emphasis in the origina)).

Unlike In re George G., the record before us does not

reflect bias on the part of Mr. Clark. In denying the motion

to have himself disqualified, the Hearing Exarniner re-

sponded as follows:

49a

....l am going to deny your motion. Cer-

tainly, | understand your perspective for filing

that motion. All I can do is assure you that my

mind in this matter, starting today, is not in fact

made up, and I believe that you may be reading

more into that comment‘ I made about the review

of the subsequent application than was intended

when it was written.

I honestly do not have a bias in this particular

case, and all I can do is assure you today that

you and your client will be afforded a fair and

ful] hearing.”

In the administrative setting, it is true that due process

requires an unbiased decision maker. Withrow v. Larkin,

421 U.S. 35, 95 S.C. 1456, 43 L. Ed. 2d 712 (1975). (Mem-

bers of State Medical Board were not constitutionally pre-

cluded from holding adversary hearing on matter of

possible suspension of physician’s license on basis of

charges evolving from Board’s own investigation.) The

Supreme Court in Withrow stated:

Not only is a biased decisionmaker constitu-

tionally unacceptable but “‘our system of law has

always endeavored to prevent even the probabil-

ity of unfairness.”’ (Citations omitted). In pursuit

of this end, various situations have been identi-

fied in which experience teaches that the

‘The comment being referred to is found at the end of the Hearing

Examiner's first decision suspending Appellant’s license. The final par-

agraph of his decision reads as follows: “The agency is seeking to have

the license of this facility suspended. In light of the Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law set out above, it is my recommendation that.

the license of Bo Peep Day Nursery be suspended for the duration of

the current licensing period. Should, at that time, the Licensee seek

to reapply, careful and meticulous review of that application, of the

proposed staff of the Licensee, and of the facility itself should be made

by the Department

50a

probability of actual bias on the part of the judge

or decisionmaker is too high to be constitutionally

tolerable. Among these cases are those in which

the adjudicator has a pecuniary interest in the

outcome and in which he has been the target of

personal abuse or criticism from the party before

him.

The contention that the combination of inves-

tigative and adjudicative functions necessarily

creates an unconstitutional] risk of bias in admin-

istrative adjudication has much more difficult bur-

den of persuasion to carry. It must overcome a

presumption of honesty and integrity in those

serving as adjudicators; and it must convince that,

under a realistic appraisal of psychological tend-

encies and human weakness, conferring investi-

gative and adjudicative powers on the same

individuals poses such a risk of actual bias or

prejudgment that the practice must be forbidden

if the guarantee of due process is to be ade-

quately implemented.

95 SCt. at 1464.

While there is very little Maryland law regarding dis-

qualification of hearing officers because of prejudgment or

bias, it has been recognized elsewhere that a hearing of-

ficer is not biased, either in fact or in law, simply because

he previously ruled against one of the parties. Converse v.

Udall, (Dist. Ct., Oregon) 262 F. Supp. 583 (1966), affd

399 F. 2d 616 (1968), cert. den. 89 S. Ct. 635, 393 U.S.

1025, 21 L. Ed. 2d 569 (1969). The fact that Mr. Clark’s

suspension decision went against Appellant does not pre-

clude him from presiding over the revocation hearing.

One case in which it was ruled that a hearing officer

should not have presided on a rehearing over a case he

initially decided was Spratt v. Dept. of Social Services, 426

NW 2d, 780, Mich. App. (1988). The hearings involved

5la

denial] of Mr. Spratt’s claim for Aid to Dependent Children

premised on his unemployment. The hearing examiner’s

‘comments on the record on rehearing indicates that he

may have prejudged the case. When asked by claimant to

disqualify himself on the basis of bias, the hearing officer

stated, ‘And, as far as making erroneous conclusions, |

still believe I made the proper conclusions at the time.’

Moreover, the hearing officer failed to correctly carry out

the [State] Supreme Court’s Order remanding the case... .

Accordingly, we hold that claimant is entitled to a re-

hearing before a different hearing officer.’’ Jd. at 783 -

784.

Regarding the appeals before this Court, review of the

transcript from the second hearing does not demonstrate

prejudgment or bias on the part of the Hearing Examiner.

Adverse rulings on motions and evidentiary objections dur-

ing the hearing do not, in and of themselves, amount to

an affirmative showing of bias or prejudice on the ex-

aminer’s part. Therefore, this Court concludes that it was

not an abuse of discretion for Mr. Clark to refuse to dis-

qualify himself from the revocation hearing.

The Appellant strongly advances that Mr. Clark was

“pre-programmed” to rule in favor of the state, thus was

biased. The short answer to this contention is that the

record does not demonstrate that conclusion. We will not

presume prejudice from the Appellant’s unsupported as-

sertion. We can understand her concern, however, in that

the Hearing Officer is employed by the Maryland Depart-

ment of Health and Mental Hygiene which was the very

agency seeking suspension and revocation. We can appre-

ciate that the Appellant feels like she is marching into the

jaws of the lion where the adjudicatory and adversary roles

rest in the same government agency. Unfortunately, this

arrangement is sanctioned by Maryland statutes and sim-

ilar situations have survived judicial scrutiny. See Withrow

Larkin, supra.

52a

Ill. WAS THERE A DENIAL OF DUE PROCESS OF LAW?

In this instance, two sets of hearings were conducted

lasting many days. The hearing were before Hearing Of-

ficer, William F. Clark, who made recommended decisions.

The evidence was largely from parents, doctors, social

workers and a psychologist. These witnesses testified as

to what the affected children told them concerning abuse

at Bo Peep. The children did not testify at the hearings,

nor were they made available to the defense for question-

ing by counsel or any other designated individual. We hold

that the children’s out-of-hearing statements were foun-

dational to the case as the State would not have a case

without these statements. Any evidence from which it could

be concluded that the abuse took place at Bo Peep rested

upon the credibility on the out-of-hearing statements of

the children. The psychologist, social workers and parents

all based their opinions and testimony on the childrens’

statements. Without these statements, the psychologist and

social workers could not have implicated Bo Peep. Thus

without the childrens’ statements, the evidence would have

reduced to the bare situation of eight Bo Peep attendees

showing medical signs of physical abuse (per Dr. Shubin

and Dr. Reichel). With just that, the Hearing Officer could

not have concluded that the abuse took place at Bo Peep

by the mere coincidence that each physically abused child

attended the same day care facility. To hold otherwise

would be conjectural and well shy of a preponderance of

evidence. Accordingly, the out-of-hearing assertions were

of critical importance and the foundation on which the

balance of critical evidence depended.

Since the credibility of the childrens’ out-of-hearing as-

sertions was key to the case, the defense asked for the

opportunity to have their psychologist speak to the chil-

dren. Presumably, this would have permitted the defense

to test the credibility or believability of the evidence that

was never directly before the Hearing Officer (out-of-hear-

53a

ing statements). The request was denied (T. 5/11/88,

page 20).

Even though not afforded the opportunity to examine

the children, the Appellant’s psychologist was permitted

to review the evidence presented by the State and opined

upon the credibility of the out-of-hearing declarations. The

Hearing Officer took this testimony as meaningless, since

Dr. Donner merely read “‘a cold record” (proposed deci-

sion, page 35).

Citizens in many countries of our world have no check

or guarantee against arbitrary governmental action con-

cerning their lives or property. Unfortunately, this aspect

of liberty is lacking for those persons. Blessedly, our ances-

tors had the wisdom to amend the Federal Constitutior:

in 1868 and provide that State governments shal] not de-

prive any person of life, liberty or property without due

process of law. Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment

of the United States Constitution provides as follows:

‘‘All persons born or naturalized in the United

States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and the State of

where they reside. No State shall make or en-

force any law which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the United States;

nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty or property without due process of law;

nor deny any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.’’

In this case, we must determine the process that is due

concerning out-of-hearing statements where the State seeks

to suspend and/or revoke the license of a day care facility.

Under the Maryland Administrative Procedure Act

(Maryland Code, State Government Article, Section 10-201,

et seq.) when the Health Department sought to suspend

and later revoke Bo Peep’s Day Care License a hearing

54a

was convened. Under the law, the hearing is a ‘‘contested’’

one since the proposed action was resisted by the Appel-

lant. See Maryland Code, State Government Article,

Section 10-201. The Administrative Procedure Act does not

detail the exact procedures or rules that are to be abided.

The Act does provide, however, for very broad discretion

in admitting probative evidence. Maryland Code, State

Government Article, Section 10-208. It has long been held

that administrative agencies are not bound by the common

law rules of evidence. Fairchild Hiller Corporation v. Su-

pervisor of Assessments, 267 Md. 519, 298 A.2d 148 (1973).

The law also mandates a notice requirement. Maryland

Code, State Government Article, Section 10-205. Beyond

that, there is very little in the way of specific procedure.

Such permits State agencies great latitude in the conduct

of proceedings.

Since one may not operate a day care center without

State licensure, no one would question that the Appellant’s

property interests are at stake. It is also given to little

question that the due process requirement of the Four-

teenth Amendment applies to State Administrative Agency

hearings. Board of Medical Examiners v. Stewart, 203 Md.

574, 102 A.2d 248 (1954). Due process is a flexible concept

depending on the character of the administrative setting.

As an example, due process under the Maryland Admin-

istrative Procedure Act requires a hearing before suspen-

sion or revocation of a day care license. On the other hand,

some administrative actions do not require advance hear-

ings before action is taken. See Matthews v. Delbridge, 424

U.S. 319 (1976) (Disability benefits). While due process

requirements are flexible in the administrative setting, the

methods used to arrive at decisions affecting property in-

terests must be protected by the “rudimentary require-

ments of fair play’’ (emphasis added). West Ohio Cas.

Company v. Public Utilittes Commission, 55 S. Ct. 316,

294 U.S. 63 (1935); State Ex Rel Madison Airport Co. v.

55a

Wrabetz, 285 N.W. 504, 231 Wis. 147 (1939); Dickenson-

Tide-water v. Supervisor, 273 Md. 245, 329 A.2d 18 (1974).

Maryland decisional] law has long held that hearsay evi-

dence is admissible in the administrative setting. Bethlehem

Steel v. Taylor, 158 Md. 116, 148 At. 246 (1929). Waddell

Cole v. Chisholm, 163 Md. 49, 161 At. 276 (1932). Fairchild

Hiller v. Supervisor, supra. In fact, an administrative de-

cision may be based solely on hearsay if credible and of

sufficient probative value. Fairchild Hiller v. Supervisor,

supra. Our decision in this case does not conflict with this

rule, as we are concerned only with the opponent’s nght

to test the credibility of the hearsay or other out-of-hearing

statements.

The Court holds that in contested proceedings under the

Maryland Administrative Procedure Act, due process of

law requires that the opponent have a meaningful oppor-

tunity to test the credibility of out-of-hearing statements

where the agency decision is foundationally based on such

statements or is totally based on such statements.’ Put

another way, basic fair play requires a meaningful oppor-

tunity to test credibility where the decision rests on evi-

dence from persons who do not appear. The Court has not

been referred to nor found any case authority with hold-

ings and facts identical to this case. We do, however,

follow with references to authorities with issues that are

similar.

In Arkansas Public Service Commission v. Continental

Telephone Company, 561 S.W. 2d 645, 262 Ark. 821 (1978),

the Supreme Court of Arkansas held that due process

requires a party to have a reasonable opportunity to pres-

ent rebuttal evidence on an important aspect of the case.

‘We are not concerned with the issue of whether the statements

qualify as hearsay, since the due process right to test credibility would

apply whether or not the statements have indicia of trustworthiness.

In other words, the Court's holding will apply to hearsay and non-

hearsay statements

56a

In that instance, some eleventh hour evidence was pre-

sented by the opposing party. Understandably, the public

utility party asked for a continuance to prepare a rebuttal

presentation. The request was denied by the administrative

agency. The Court held at pages 654 and 655 as follows:

‘A full and fair hearing is a fundamental re-

quirement of due process in the determination of

the reasonableness of rates...... The oppor-

tunity to submit evidence to rebut charges or

adverse claims and testimony is an essential re-

quirement of a full and fair hearing...... To

meet due process requirements a hearing must

afford a utility the right to reasonably know the

charges and the right to meet such charges by

competent evidence...... Where reliance is

placed by an administrative agency upon testi-

mony of certain witnesses in making a critical

factual determination, it will be an abuse of dis-

cretion to fail to hear material evidence which

might impeach, not only the testimony, but the

findings made by the agency as well...... The

commission must necessarily have a wide latitude

of discretion in conducting and expediting the

many hearings it must hold. Fundamental fair-

ness requires, however, that, where expert or

technical testimony is essential to a proper re-

sponse to testimony adverse to it, adequate op-

portunity must be given to present testimony in

rebuttal.”’

We also reference Wilner v. Committee on Character,

373 U.S. 96, 83 S.Ct. 1175 (1963). In that case, the

Supreme Court, through Mr. Justice Douglas, held that a

New York Bar applicant was denied due process where

the Character Committee did not advise him of the basis

of their action, nor provide him with an opportunity to

rebut the evidence.

57a

The Maryland decision of Rogers v. Radio Shack, 271

Md. 126, 314 A.2d 113 (1974), is helpful and instructive.

That matter was an administrative appeal from the Em-

ployment Security Administration where the appellant had

been found guilty of ordinary misconduct concerning his

employment, thus disqualifying him from receiving benefits

for a period of ten weeks. Once the matter was appealed

to the Circuit Court, the appellant first learned that the

record contained an investigator’s written report. It was

not an item that was introduced at the administrative hear-

ing level. The appellant complained that the report (an

out-of-hearing written statement) should not have been

considered since there was no opportunity for cross ex-

amination or rebuttal. There was no such opportunity, as

Rogers was first made aware of the existence of the report

after an appeal had been filed with the Circuit Court.

Judge Eldridge, speaking for the Court of Appeals, held

at page 129:

Administrative agencies, while not bound by

common law rules of evidence, ‘‘must observe the

basic rules of fairness as to the parties appearing

before them. Dal Maso v. Board of County Com-

missioners, 238 Md. 333, 337, 209 A.2d 62, 64

(1965). We agree with Rogers that under the cir-

cumstances here, with no opportunity for cross

examination or rebuttal, fundamental] fairness

would preclude reliance upon the report by an

administrative agency or a reviewing court.”’

(Emphasis supplied).

The Dal Maso decision referenced in the preceding par-

agraph stands for the proposition that where evidence (a

staff report) will be relied upon by the administrative

agency, fundamental fairness requires some opportunity to

examine and challenge the evidence. Procedural] fairness

was afforded in that instance to the appellant where he

had an opportunity before the board reached its decision,

to examine the staff report and challenge it.

a ———

58a

From the above authorities, it is clear that due process

in a contested administrative setting requires an oppor-

tunity to meet or rebut adverse evidence and when there

is no such opportunity, it is error for the administrative

agency to rely upon the unchallenged adverse evidence. It

follows therefore, that the appellant has a due process

right to challenge or test adverse evidence. Our holding

in this case simply elaborates on that basic proposition

where the case largely rests on out-of-hearing statements.

In deciding the due process issue, the Court is aware

a balancing of competing interests must be considered.

California v. Byers, 91 S. Ct. 1535 (1974). In order to

weaken or eliminate Appellant’s mght to due process, the

public need or interest must outweigh the due process

right to test credibility. In this case, the State’s interest

is not so compelling so as to evaporate Appellant’s right

to basic procedural fairness. The government’s basic in-

terest is to protect against child abuse. Allowing the Ap-

pellant an opportunity to test credibility has no adverse

impact on the government’s goal. The State also has an

interest in minimizing impact upon children through fur-

ther examination or in hearing testimony. Such involve-

ment will no doubt have some impact on the children and

at a minimum, produce some stress. While this is true,

the Court finds that the State’s protective interest is not

so strong or compelling so as to have priority over Ap-

pellant’s mght to a fair hearing.

The Court holds that Appellant was denied due process

of law since there was no meaningful opportunity to test

the credibility of the childrens’ out-of-hearing statements.

As previously discussed, their statements were founda-

tional to the case. What is a meaningful opportunity will

vary from case to case. We first observe that cross ex-

amination did little to test credibility since the respective

declarants were not at the hearing. In this situation, a

meaningful opportunity would have resulted if Dr. Donner

could have interviewed the children. This request was de-

59a

nied. His testimony was totally discounted due to his lack

of personal contact. The State will argue that the Hearing

Officer had no authority to order the interviews. This is

correct, but the Hearing Officer should not have consid-

ered any of the evidence which was dependent on the

foundational out-of-hearing statements where circumstan-

ces prevented an opportunity to challenge. Rogers v. Radio

Shack, supra. As previously noted, there would be insuf-

ficient evidence to conclude that abuse took place at Bo

Peep absent the out-of-hearing assertions.

In summary, Appellant was denied due process in not

having an opportunity to test credibility of the out-of-hear-

ing statements. Additionally, the Appellant was denied due

process of law since the Hearing Officer considered the

out-of-hearing statements in making his decision where

there was no opportunity to test credibility. Since he con-

sidered the statements, his decision was arbitrary under

Section 10-215 of the Administrative Procedure Act.

As previously mentioned, this due process requirement

only applies where the decision is totally based on out-of-

hearing statements or is foundationally related to the bal-

ance of critical evidence. We hold that due process does

not require the opportunity to test the credibility of out-

of-hearing statements where the decision is not based to-

tally on such statements or based on such statements which

are foundational. For instance, if the decision is based on

out-of-hearing statements and probative evidence that is

not foundationally dependent on the statements, then the

Court’s holding would not apply.

We are not unmindful that our decision may require

children’s in-hearing testimony, examination by profession-

als or examination by counsel. No doubt this added in-

volvement will cause the children some stress. We regret

that such is the case, but it is necessary to accommodate

the constitutional guarantee of basic fair play. We would

hope and expect that these procedures would be engaged

—

60a

in such a manner so as to minimize the impact upon the

children.

We are also mindful that our decision verifies an ex-

isting adversarial process. Under the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, each side presents its own evidence and selects

its own experts. By law, each side is pitted against the

other in a contested hearing before an administrative hear-

ing officer. There are those who espouse a position that

the adversarial process is the wrong procedure to deter-

mine issues related to child abuse. There is an attractive-

ness to this argument, since the adversarial process

encourages each side to hire their own experts who will

most probably have differing views. On a daily basis, we

see the expert “hired gun’ approach, especially in the

areas of personal injury and condemnation litigation. Th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cassilly v. Maryland Department of Human Resources · 494 U.S. 1067 | Frix