Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Middle Earth Graphics, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1990

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

UNITED STATES

October Term 1989

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INC.,

Petitioner

LS

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

SCOTT R. MERRILL

Counsel of Record

CHARITY KENYON

JAMES M. NELSON

DIEPENBROCK, WULFF, PLANT and HANNEGAN

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1700 P.O. Box 3034

Sacramento, CA 95812-3034

(916)444-3910

Counsel for Petitioner,

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INC.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the First Amendment and Section 8(c) of

the National Labor Relations Act (29 U.S.C. Sec. 158(c))

prohibit the National Labor Relations Board from using as

evidence of an unfair labor practice an anti-union

statement by an employer which contains no threats of

reprisal or force or promises of benefit and is thus

protected free speech?

2. | Whether there was substantial evidence to support

the findings of fact of the National Labor Relations Board?

TOPICAL INDEX

Constitutional Provisions Involved. ........ 2.0.6... cece wees 2

Statutory Provisions Involved. ........ 6.2.6... eee e cece eens 2

Neen ne ne cee eeesenseeons

The Board’s Finding That Petitioner’s Statement of Opposi-

tion to Unions Constituted Evidence of Animus Violated the

Freedom of Speech Provisions of Both the First Amendment

and Section 8(c) of the National Labor Relations Act.

A. Decisions of This Court ................0005 8

B. Legislative History of Section 8(c)............ 10

. Decisions of the Circuit Courts of Appeal. ....15

1. Circuits Which Permit Use of Protected

SII, 6 vou catasanccccscccces 15

ee Circuits Which Do Not Permit Use of

Protected Speech As Evidence. .............. 17

II

There Was Not Substantial Evidence to Support

the Board’s Finding That the Company Was

Motivated by Anti-Union Animus ................5:. 21

EE GHRUNSSSSKS ee Surencurececcccccccceuees .22

PU 5 Ses nsweronnnnnccccgnncesscesccccces la-65a

i

AUTHORITIES CITED

Consolidated Edision Co. v. NLRB,

ER AUREDERGRGGONe es cocccccsscecseesccees 21

Coppus Engineering Corp. v. NLRB,

ee Os Re IE GS NOUR onc ccccccccccccccscesecs 17

Darlington Manufacturing Co. v. NLRB,

Soe ©. Bh FOO CO Cota, ISGE). .. occ ccc cece ences 17

Gem International, Inc. v. NLRB,

Sal F. 2d G26 Gti Circuit, 1963)... ccc cece ce eeees 18

Hendrix Manufacturing Co. v. NLRB,

SURE Wh Ge PIII, EID, once cc ccc ccccccccneecens 16

Indiana Metal Products Corp. v. NLRB,

ee Os IES BOUID. o scenes ccc ccccncecseceess 18

Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers,

EG L shee si cescccccesscccccescess 9,11, 15

New York Times v. Sullivan,

lh ETE STOTT CT EET TTT OTT CTE TET 10, 20

NLRB v. Arkansas Grain Corp., |

et 18

NLRB v. Birdsall Co., 487 2d 288 (Sth Circuit, 1973)............. 16

NLR ¥. Brown, S00 US. 276 (1SGS). ... wee ccc cece eens 7

NLRB v. Builders Supply Co. of Houston,

steht che ey be ere re tno EEE EEE 16

NLRB v. Colonial Lincoln Mercury Sales, Inc.,

et 16

NLRB v. Colvert Dairy Products Co.,

317 F. 2d 44 (10th Circuit, 163). ........... 02.600. 16, 18, 19, 20

NLRB v. Exchange Parts Co.,

wa censeccseccengesanskeensen 9,15

NLRB v. Gissell Packing Co.,

EEE oe ee ee 8,15

NLRB v. Great Dane Trailers, Inc.,

iin teas cdscncccsactesceauckeas 7

NLRB v. Howard Quarries, Inc.,

962 F. 2d 236 (6th Circuit, 1966)... 2.2... ccc cece cece cenes 17

NLRB v. McGahey,

SPs Ae GM, BOO, ccc ccc ccccccnesccssas 16

NLRB v. Putnam Tool Co.,

Ges ahi pa nan sccebacsonnsvkeeadouue 17

NLRB v. Lowell Sun Publishing Co.

ee Se Se CR HUD oo nce cc cenaccccccnccces 17

ii

AUTHORITIES CITED (cont'd.)

NLRB v. Rockwell Manufacturing Co. (DuBois Div.)

271 F. 2d 109 Grd Circuit, 1959). .... 2... eee eee eee 17,19

NLRB v. Transportation Management Corp.,

QGR US. SEB GSGRD. occ iinccceccccccces. paeawheesenesqaees 7

NLRB v. United Steel Workers (Nu Tone, Inc.),

RIT OTT TTT TT TETT TET ETE EE 21

NLRB v. Virginia Electric and Power Co.,

EN PT ee TTT eTTT TELE EEE TTT TT 21

NLRB v. Wright Line, a Division of Wright Line, Inc.,

662 F. 2d 907 (ist Circuit 1981), cert. denied

ES OPPO TTT TTT ETE EEE TEE Ee 17

Orchard Corp. of America v. NLRB,

408 F. 2d 341 (8th Circuit, 1969)... . 2... cece ee eee eee eens 17

Pennekamp v. Florida,

TT OTIS TT ITTETEPT TTT ETE L ETT 20

Pittsburgh S.S. Co. v. NLRB,

180 F.2d 731 (6th Circuit, 1950) aff’d 340 U.S. 498 (1951)...... 18

Roper Corp. v. NLRB,

712 F. 2d (7th Circuit, 1983). ..... 6.2.6... cece ee eee Won een 18

Rosenblat v. Baer,

Ra ia oS UWhiWs sede wet eKbaWekievereeians 20

Texas v. Johnson,

491 US. ___, 109 S. Ct. 2533, 105 L. Ed 2d 342 (1989).......... 10

United Auto Workers v. NLRB (Aero Corp.),

363 F. 2D 702 (D.C. Circuit, 1966). ..... 2.6.6... eee eee eee 17, 20

Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB,

as SNS BO Ne Seca cindec cccednswcsseceeaes 21

STATUTES

Wiatiomel Later Batatiams ACE Gee. Fac cnc cccccccccccncccsccsess 2

National Labor Relations Act, Sec 8(a) (1)................. 1235

National Labor Relations Act, Sec 8(a) (3). ..............45. 2, 3,5

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(c)............... 2 (seriatim)

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 10(e). ..... 2.2.6.6... ee eee 2,3

PUBLICATIONS

Legislative History of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947, 1959 Reprint 1985. ........... Appenix E

iii

ciaceeaeiiei

Petitioner Middle Earth Graphics, Inc. (hereinafter sometimes re-

ferred to as “Middle Earth” or “Petitioner”) respectfully prays that a

Writ of Certiorari be issued to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

- The unpublished opinion of the court of appeals dated April

24, 1989 and the denial of the petition for rehearing en banc, dated July

6, 1989, are reprinted in the Appendix. (App., infra 1a, 2a). Thedecision

and order of the National Labor Relations Board (App. infra 3a-43a) are

reported at 283 NLRB No. 156, and 126 LRRM 1010 (1987).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In its decision and order, the National Labor Relations Board

(NLRB or Board) found “clear evidence of animus which should be

considered in placing the events . . . in proper focus.” The clear evi-

dence was in fact a statement, printed and distributed by petitioner's

president on a humorous poster which purported to create a new state

out of Western Michigan. The offending statement in its entirety read:

Access to the State of Six-One-Six (Western Michi-

gan) will be severely restricted. Draw bridges will be

raised to keep out such undesirable elements as labor

organizers, dead beats, carpetbagging politicians,

and itinerant lawyers. (See Appendix F, infra)

On the basis of that statement, the Board found the requisite

anti-union animus and thereafter held that petitioner had violated

Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of the National Labor Relations Act (29 U.S.C.

§158(a)(1) and (3)) by terminating employees. Inso doing, thedecision

of the Board raises the following questions:

(1) Can the NLRB use, as evidence of an unfair

labor practice, a statement which contains no threat of reprisal or force

or promise of benefit, if such statement is otherwise protected free

speech?

(a) Ifthe NLRB has impermissibly used as

evidence of animus a statement which is protected free speech, are the

subsequent findings of unfair labor practices likewise tainted?

(b) Is the entire decision tainted where the

Board has used a protected statement as evidence of animus and

considered such statements when evaluating such alleged unfair

labor practice?

(2) Whether there was substantial evidence to

support the Board’s findings of fact.

TURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

US.C. 1254(1). Jurisdiction properly obtained before the court of

appeals for the Sixth Circuit pursuant to Sections 10(e) of the National

Labor Relations Act, 28 U.S.C. §10(e), since the alleged unfair labor

practices occurred in Kalamazoo, Michigan. The judgment of the

court of appeals (App. infra, 2a) was entered on April 24, 1989 and a

petition for rehearing was denied on July 6, 1989 (App. infra, 1a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment 1:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-

ment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise

thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the

press; or the right of the people to peacefully as-

semble, and to petition the Government for redress of

grievances.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 8(c) of the National Labor Relations Act, (NLRA)

29 US.C. Section 158(c) provides:

The expressing of any views, argument or opinion, or

thedissemination thereof, whether in written, printed,

graphic, or visual form shall not constitute or be

evidence of an unfair labor practice under any of the

provisions of this subchapter, if such expression

contains no threat of reprisal or force or promise of

benefit.

Section 7 of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. Section 157 provides:

Employees shall have the right to self-organization,

to form, join or assist labor organizations, to bargain

collectively through representatives of their own

choosing, and to engage in other concerted activities

for the purpose of collective bargaining or other

2

ee ee

mutual aid or protection, and shall also have the right

to refrain from any or all of such activities except to

the extent that such right may be affected by an

agreement requiring membership in a labor organi-

zation as acondition of employment as authorized in

Section 158(a)(3) of this title.

Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a)(1)

and (3) provide:

It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer —

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of rights guaranteed in Section 157 of this

title;

see

(3) by discrimination in regard to hire or tenure of

employment or any term or condition of employ-

ment to encourage or discourage membership in any

labor organization ....

Section 10(e) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. Section 160(e) provides:

The Board shall have power to petition any court of

appeals of the United States . . . wherein the unfair

labor practice in question occurred or wherein such

person resides or transacts business, for the enforce-

ment of such order and for appropriate temporary

relief or restraining order, and shall file in the court

the record in the proceedings, as provided in section

2112 of Title 28.

see.

The findings of the Board with respect to questions of

fact if supported by substantial evidence on the rec-

ord considered as a whole shall be conclusive.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

During a period of economic slowdown, petitioner employer

transferred its employees known as “bindery workers” from

petitioner's payroll to the payroll of Manpower, Inc.,a temporary help

agency. The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB or Board) found

that the petitioner's decision to transfer bindery workers to Man-

power was initially limited to those bindery workers referred to as

“mergers” and that petitioner unlawfully enlarged that decision to

include all bindery workers after petitioner learned of a union organ-

izational attempt among the bindery workers. Petitioner subse-

quently terminated several employees who refused to transfer to

Manpower.

The NLRB concluded that petitioner's decision was unlaw-

fully motivated by anti-union animus. In finding such anti-union

animus, the Board relied upon a statement contained in a poster

distributed by petitioner to promote a new printing press. The poster

indicated that petitioner’s president was opposed to unions.

The Board issued a decision and order directing petitioner to

reinstate the terminated employees and compensate them for back

wages. The court of appeals enforced the Board’s order without

opinion. A subsequent petition for rehearing en banc was denied.

Petitioner seeks review of the Board’s decision, which presents

important First Amendment and statutory questions on which the

circuits are divided, some of which are contrary to the decisions of this

Court.

Petitioner, Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., isa Michigan corpora-

tion formed in 1974 and engaged primarily in commercial and spe-

cialty printing in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Louis Hall (Hall) is the

founder, owner and president of petitioner. From 1974 until 1984,

petitioner employed an average of 10 to 12 employees. In March 1984,

Middle Earth received a purchase order from its largest customer,

Cadaco, to print, cut and supply 25,000 “sets” or “games” of playing

cards for a new game known as “Bible Trivia”, a game patterned after

the popular “Trivial Pursuit.” The game became an overnight success.

Cadaco then increased the purchase order and Middle Earth devoted

virtually its entire operation to meeting Cadaco’s production require-

ments. To meet these requirements, Hall hired 40 to 50 employees to

work primarily in the bindery area. In the fall of 1984, the Cadaco

business began to wane. Hall also experienced employee manage-

ment difficulties. In November 1984, Hall met with a representative

from Manpower, Inc.,a temporary employment agency, and accepted

a written proposal to pay Manpower a fee for transferring the bindery

Y @0aseas\ yuan

We. par rewrite aa

workers to Manpower for payroll purposes and assuming all payroll

obligations.

On November 7, the bindery workers were informed of the

planned transfer to Manpower’s payroll and on November 9, the first

group of employees (which included primarily “merging” employees

and a collatorassistant) were enrolled with Manpower. On November

10, several employees met at an employee’s home for the first time

with a union business agent.to discuss organizing a drive for the

Paperworkers’ Union.

On November 12, employees were informed that the deadline

for enrolling with Manpower was November 15. By November 15 all

but four bindery workers had enrolled with Manpower. The four

bindery workers asserted a right to refuse to enroll with Manpower.

Hall informed them that they would be fired unless they complied

with the direction to enroll with Manpower. One individual con-

sented; the other three were fired. Approximately one week later, an

employee who had enrolled the first day announced that he had

revoked his Manpower enrollment card. Hall fired him.

Between November 13 and November 29, 1984, the union filed

unfair labor practices with the Board, alleging violations of Sections

8(a)(1) and (3) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. §158(a)(1) and (3), and on

December 31, 1984, a complaint was issued. A settlement agreement

was reached on April 22, 1985. Additional charges were filed between

August 2 and September 26, 1985, alleging that Middle Earth had not

complied with the terms of the settlement agreement and had not

properly reinstated the alleged discriminatees. The regional director

of the Board set aside thesettlement agreement and issued an amended

consolidated complaint on October 30, 1985. The hearing was held

from January 28 to February 5, 1986.

The ALJ found that petitioner violated the Act when it dis-

charged six employees. To support these findings, the ALJ first

concluded that petitioner demonstrated “clear evidence of animus” in

the poster distributed by Middle Earth:

1. Evidence of Animus

Quite apart from any specific violations of the

Act alleged and found in this case, the Respondent

(petitioner herein) demonstrated clear evidence of

animus which should be considered in placing the

events described herein in proper focus. Among the

documents in the record is a large multi-colored bro-

5

chure which the Respondent (petitioner herein) has

printed and circulated to advertise the capability of

its new multi-color press. The document is a humor-

ous elaboration of Hall’s tongue-in-cheek proposal

for a new 51st state, to be carved out of the existing

state of Michigan and named Six-One-Six after the

telephone area code for Western Michigan. Entitled

“A New State. A New Start.”, the brochure features

Hall as its centerfold, dressed in regal attire and

holding a sword and scepter. Also portrayed on this

page are two cartoon figures, dressed as attendants

from an insane asylum, who are chasing Hall and are

making ready to apprehend him and place him ina

straightjacket. Inside the brochure is a large map of

Michigan. The eastern half is portrayed as a barren

wasteland while the western half — State Six-One-

Six — is shown asa flourishing, verdant paradise. At

the center of State Six-One-Six is its capital, Kalama-

zoo. Access to Six-One-Six from Eastern Michigan is

limited to a drawbridge over a moat. This feature is

captioned:

Access to the State of Six-One-Six will be

severely restricted. Drawbridges will be

raised to keep out such undesirable elements

as labor organizers, dead beats, carpetbag-

ging politicians, and itinerant lawyers.

When asked at the hearing if he was opposed to

unions, Hall replied: ‘Just inSix-One-Six.’ (App.infra

at 25a-26a)

The ALJ concluded that the terminations of six employees

were not for “cause” but were based on anti-union motivation. He

further found that petitioner violated the Act when Hall and two

supervisors made statements regarding the union.

The Board affirmed the decision and order of ALJ on May 19,

1987, in an opinion reported at 283 NLRB No. 156, 126 LRRM 1010.

(Appendix C, infra, at 3a)

The Court of Appeals, in a per curiam decision, enforced the

Board’s order, without comment, on April 24, 1989. A petition for

rehearing en banc was denied on July 6, 1989. (App.., infra, at 1a).

6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

There are three elements required to prove a violation of

Section 8(a)(3): (1) knowledge of protected, concerted activity; (2) con-

duct which discriminates against and discourages union member-

ship; and (3) unlawful motivation or intent based on anti-union

animus. NLRB v. Brown, 380 U.S. 278, 286 (1965) and NLRB v.

Transportation Management Corp., 462 U.S. 393, 398 (1983) (“if the

employer fires an employee for having engaged in union activities and

has no other basis for the discharge ... the employer commits an unfair

labor practice.”).

The essential element, however, is the employer motivation.

NLRB v. Great Dane Trailers, Inc., 388 U.S. 26, 33 (1967) (“the finding of

a violation normally turns on whether the discriminating conduct was

motivated by an anti-union purpose.”) and NLRB v. Brown, supra, 380

US. at 287 (“we have determined that the ‘real motive’ of the employer

in an alleged § 8(a)(3) violation is decisive”).

Theultimate issue in this case, therefore, is whether petitioner's

decision to discharge its employees was unlawfully motivated by anti-

union animus. The Board found “evidence of animus” contained in

the anti-union statement in the poster. There were no threats or

coercive statements in the poster, so it is without question, protected

free speech. Section 8(c) of the Act prohibits the use of such statements

as “evidence of an unfair labor practice.” Therefore, the Board, in

finding “evidence of animus” has reached the dispositive issue in a

determination of whether the petitioner violated the Act. That is the

error.

The decision of the Board is plainly contrary to both the express

letter and spirit of Section 8(c) of the Act, which provides that such

statements, “shall not constitute or be evidence of an unfair labor

practice under any of the provisions of this Act. . . .” (Emphasis

supplied). Although the Court has addressed the issue of freedom of

speech in the labor relations context, the Board and the courts have

nullified the free speech protections of Section 8(c) and they have

curtailed the free expressionand interchange of ideas in the workplace.

Although the Board purports to respect the First Amendment rights of

employers, decisions such as the case below have a substantial and in-

tolerable chilling effect upon such expression.

The Board explains that, while the statement in the poster is

not, in and of itself, an unfair labor practice, it is “evidence of animus.”

The Board then considered this evidence of animus in order to “place

the events” in “proper focus,” and determine whether it was more or

—s

7

less likely that the employer committed the alleged unfair labor

practice. At that point the statement became “evidence of an unfair

labor practice,” contrary to the express prohibition of by Section 8(c).

The courts of appeal are apparently divided on the scope of the

Section 8(c) prohibition. While most circuits purport to recognize the

principle of freedom of speech as it applies in the labor relations area,

they are undecided as to the evidentiary weight to be given to a

statement which is protected free speech. Under Section 8(c), the

answer is clear — no evidentiary use whatsoever may be made of a

protected statement.

Review of the Board’s and the court of appeals’ decisions is

therefore warranted and necessary to protect the free speech rights of

employers, to enforce the congressional mandate of Section 8(c) and to

achieve unanimity of results among the circuits.

DISCUSSION

I. The Board’s Finding That Petitioner’s Statement Of Opposi-

tion To Unions Constituted Evidence of Animus Violated

The Freedom Of Speech Provisions Of Both The First Amend-

ment and Section 8(c) Of The National Labor Relations Act.

The Board’s decision to use a statement which is otherwise

protected free speech as evidence of animus is in violation of funda-

mental constitutional rights and will chill free interchange of opinions

and ideas between management and labor in the workplace. An

employer certainly cannot freely express his opinions if speech critical

of unions may be used as evidence of an unfair labor practice.

A. DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

This Court has long recognized that where an employer's anti-union

statement contains no threat it is protected free speech and may not be

- used as evidence against an employer.

In NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969), the Court

found that Section 8(c) is the equivalent of the First Amendment:

[A]n employer's free speech right to communicate to

his employees is firmly established and cannot be

infringed by a union or the Board. Thus, § 8(c)(29

US.C. § 158(c)) merely implements the First Amend-

ment by requiring that the expression of “any views,

argument, or opinion” shall not be “evidence of an

8

unfair labor practice,” so long as such expression

contains “no threat of reprisal or force or promise of

benefit” in violation of § 8(a)(1). 395 U.S. at 617.

Likewise, in NLRB v. United Steelworkers (Nu Tone, Inc.), 357 U.S. 357,

362 (1958), the Court noted:

Nor is the claim made that an employer may not,

under proper circumstances, engage in non-coercive

anti-union solicitation; indeed, his right to do so is

protected by the so-called “employer free speech”

provision of § 8(c) of the Act.

In NLRB v. Exchange Parts Co., 375 US. 405 (1964), the Board

found that the employer violated the Act when it announced to its

employees, shortly before a union election, a new birthday holiday

and increased overtime and vacation benefits. This Court affirmed the

Board’s conclusion as to the timing of the announcement, but refused

to place any reliance on an anti-union letter to employees:

The inference was made almost explicit in Exchange

Parts’ letter to its employees of March 4, already

quoted, which said “The Union can’t put any of those

... [benefits] in your envelope— only the Company can

do that.” (Original italics.) We place no reliance

however, on these or other words of the respondent

disassociated from its conduct. Section 8(c) of the

Act... provides that the expression or dissemination

of “any views, argument, or opinion” “shall not

constitute or be evidence of an unfair labor practice

... if such expression contains no threat of reprisal or

force or promise of benefit.”

See also Linn v. United Plant Guard Workers, 383 U.S. 53, 62 (1966), “the

enactment of § 8(c) manifests a congressional intent to encourage free

debate on issues dividing labor and management.” The Court in Linn

then compared the labor-management free speech dilemma with

other non-labor free speech situations:

[A]s we stated in another context, cases involving

speech are to be considered “against the background

of a profound . . . commitment to the principle that

9

debate . . . should be uninhibited, robust, and wide

open, and that it may well include vehement, caustic,

and sometimes unpleasantly sharp attacks.” New

York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 270 (1964). Such

considerations likewise weigh heavily here; the most

repulsive speech enjoys immunity provided it falls

short of a deliberate or reckless untruth. 383 U.S. at

62-63.

Most recently, in the flag-burning case, Texas v. Johnson, 491

US.__, 109 S.Ct. 2533, 105 L. Ed 2d 342 (1989) this Court reaffirmed

its commitment to unlimited free expression of ideas regardless of

whether there is a possibility that some may take “serious offense at

the particular expression.” 109S.Ct. at 2541. The Court noted that the

precedents establish that:

A principal “function of free speech under our sys-

tem of government is to invite dispute. It may indeed

best serve its high purpose when it induces a condi-

tion of unrest, creates dissatisfaction with conditions

as they are, or even stirs people to anger.” Id. at 2541.

* hd > *

If there is a bedrock principle underlying the First

Amendment, it is that the Government may not

prohibit the expression of an idea because society

finds the idea itself offensive or disagreeable. Id. at

2544

The Board’s decision is contrary to these principles. Thereis no

doubt that anti-union comment is offensive or disagreeable to some.

However, rather than fostering or encouraging debate, the Board

limits it. The employer is thus well-cautioned never to make any

comment or express any opinion (even if in jest) which is remotely

anti-union as there is always the possibility of a future unfair labor

practice allegation and that the statement may be used as “back-

ground evidence” to support the allegation.

B. LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF SECTION 8(c)

This Court’s commitment to “free debate” also finds signifi-

cant support in the legislative history of Section 8(c) of the Act.

10

a

The critical inquiry into the legislative history of Section 8(c)

focuses on a single word: “evidence”. That word was the primary

source of congressional debate with respect to the entire section. It is

quite clear that here, the word “evidence” hasa particular significance.

If Congress had only wanted to ensure that an anti-union statement

would not, by itself, constitute an unfair labor practice, the word

“evidence” could have been dropped from the statute as superfluous.

Thus, the statute would have read:

“The expressing of any views, argument, or

opinion. . . shall not constitute... an unfair labor

practice. . ..”

However, Congress deliberately, and over presidential veto,

drafted the section to read:

“The expressing of any views, argument, or opinion

shall not constitute or be evidence of an unfair labor

practice.” (Emphasis supplied.)

This Court recognized that legislative intent in Linn v. United

Plant Guard Workers, supra, 383 U.S. at 62, footnote 5:

It is more likely that Congress adopted this section

for a narrower purpose, i.e., to prevent the Board from

attributing anti-union motive toan employer on the basis

of his past statements. See H.R. Rep. No. 510, 80th

Cong., Ist Sess. 45 (1947). Comparison with the

| express protection given union members to criticize

the management of their unions and the conduct of

their officers, 73 Stat. 523 (1959) 29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(2)

(1964 ed.), strengthens this interpretation of congres-

sional intent. (Emphasis supplied.)

An examination of the legislative history of the Labor Manage-

ment Relations Act of 1947 (LMRA) establishes that Section 8(c) was

indeed enacted, “to prevent the Board from attributing anti-union

motive to an employer on the basis of his past statements.”*

The free speech provision was enacted in reaction to decisions

' 8(c) (29 U.S.C. § 158(c)) was incorporated into the National Labor

Relations Act (29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.), through the Labor Management Relations Act of

1947. For convenience’ sake, citations to Section 8(c) refer to both the NLRA and

11

of the Board and courts which found violations of the Act based upon

non-coercive statements of the employer. Virtually the entire debate

with respect to Section 8(c) centered on whether or not a noncoercive

anti-union statement could be used as evidence to demonstrate

unlawful motive.

Initially there were two versions of the bill - the Senate’s (sponsored by

Senator Taft) and the House version (sponsored by Representative .

Hartley). With respect to the section which would become Section

8(c), House Report No. 245 on H.R. 3020, criticized the decisions of the

Board which found an unfair practice based in part upon previous,

non-coercive anti-union statements of the employer and stated the

purpose for the section:

The bill corrects this, providing that nothing that

anyone says shall constitute or be evidence of an

unfair labor practice unless it, by its own express

terms, threatens force or economic reprisal. . This

means that a statement may not be used against the

person making it unless it, standing alone, is unfair

within the express terms of sections 7 and 8 of the

amended act. (Legis. History, Vol. I, 324) (App. infra

at 44a).

The House Minority iat objected to the inclusion of the

term “evidence”:

But these provisions go far beyond mere protection

of an admitted constitutional right. By saying that

statements are not to be considered as evidence, they

insist that the Board and the courts close their eyes to

the plain implications of speech and disregard clear

and probative evident. In no field of the law are a

man’s statements excluded as evidence of an illegal

intention. Here, again, a deep-seated intention to

protect employers in the commission of unfair labor

practices is evidence. Here, again, the laudable pur-

pose of protecting free speech cloaks an evil design to

LMRA. Citations to the legislative history refer to Legislative History of the Labor Man-

agement Relations Act of 1947, Volumes land II, U.S.Government Printing Office, Wash-

ington, 1959 Reprint (1985). Selected portions of the Legislative History are reprinted

infra at Appendix E. :

12

nian ienea tienen

encourage unfair labor practices by employers. (Legis.

History, Vol. I, 375-376) (App. infra_at 45a)

The Senate version, which also criticized the Board’s decisions

on the issue of free speech did not contain a restrictive provision

regarding evidence:

The committee believes these decisions to be too

restrictive and, in this section, provides that if, under

all circumstances, there is neither an expressed or

implied threat of reprisal, force, or offer ofbenefit, the

Board shall not predicate any finding of unfair labor

practice upon the statement. The Board, of course,

will not be precluded from considering such statements as

evidence. (Emphasis supplied) (Legis. History, Vol. I,

429-30) (App. infra at 46a)

Ultimately, the House version was adopted by the committee:

The practice which the Board has had in the

past of using speeches and publications of employers

concerning labor organizations and collective bar-

gaining arrangements as evidence, no matter how

irrelevant or immaterial, that some later act of the

employer had an illegal purpose gave rise to the

necessity for this change in the law. The purpose is to

protect the right of free speech when what the em-

ployer says or writes is not of a threatening nature or

does not promise a prohibited favorable discrimina-

tion. (Legis. History, Vol. I, 549) (App. infra at 51a)

In the debate on Section 8(c) which followed the conference

report the discussion again centered almost exclusively on the word

“evidence”.

Mr. PEPPER . . . Under that provision (Section 8(c)),

if an employer were to say on Monday, “1 hate labor

unions, and I think they are a menace to this coun-

try”, and if he fired a man on Thursday and the

question was whether that man was fired for cause or

fired because he was agitating for a union in the

plant, would the statement made on Monday, in

which the man said, “1 = labor unions are a

1

menace to this country” be admissible in evidence as

bearing on the question of the reason for the dis-

charge?

Mr. TAFT. All these questions involve a considera-

tion of the surrounding circumstances. It would

depend upon the facts. Under the facts generally

stated by the Senator, I think that statement would

not be evidence of any threat. There would have to be

some other circumstances to tie in with the act of the

employer. If the act of discharging is illegal and an

unfair labor practice, consideration of such a state-

ment would be proper. But it would not be proper to

consider as evidence in such a case a speech which in

itself contained no threat express or implied. That is

the effect of the House language which we accepted.

Mr. PEPPER. If the Senator will permit, that is the

point I want to emphasize —

Mr. TAFT. That is the effect of the House language.

Mr. PEPPER. That under the criminal law at the

present time any statement a man may make prior to

a given act which the court may try to evaluate may

be admitted in evidence as having some relationship

to his intentions. But the conference report deliber-

ately excludes statements of that sort, unless the

Statement contains an actual threat, thereby depriv-

ing the Board of the full evidence in the case.

Mr. TAFT. So long as the Board has a statement of

that kind the employer’s mouth is practically shut. In

case he makes a speech later on and is charged with

some unfair or unlawful labor practice, and that can

be considered in evidence, it means that he cannot

afford to speak at all. Without that provision there is

not freedom of speech. I say that is one thing a man

ought to have. He ought to have freedom of speech,

and it seems to me we should put in the word

“evidence.” (Legis. History, Vol. II, 1545-46) (App.

infra at 54a-55a)

14

——— SSS. aaaE---~-~S-~—S

Senators Morse and Murray were also among the critics of the

conference report.

The House version was ultimately adopted and sent to Presi-

dent Truman, who vetoed it. In his veto message, the President made

specific mention of Section 8(c):

The bill would introduce a unique handicap,

unknown in ordinary law, upon the use of state-

ments as evidence of unfair labor practices. An anti-

union statement by an employer, for example, could

: not be considered as evidence of motive, unless it

contained an explicit threat of reprisal or force or

promise of benefit. (Legis. History, Vol. I, 915, 918)

(App. infra at 63a)

The veto was overridden by Congress and the House version

of Section (c) became the law. Despite this abundantly clear discussion

between both the proponents and opponents of Section 8(c) and this

Court's discussion of that section in Gissel Packing, Linn v. United Plant

Guard Workers , Exchange Parts and NLRB v. United Steelworkers, supra,

the Board and the courts have continued to do precisely what is

forbidden oy statute and by the First Amendment. They continue to

use employers’ protected statements as evidence of anti-union motive

and unfair labor practices.

In this case petitioner's statements in the poster contained no

threats, coercion or promise of benefit. The employer's speech is

protected by Section 8(c) and by the First Amendment. The Board

contends that it is not using the statement as “evidence of unfair labor

practice” but merely as “background” evidence of animus, “which

shall be considered in placing the events described herein in proper

focus.” (Decision of the Board, App. infra at 25a). This is a distinction

without a difference.

a DECISIONS OF THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL

The courts of appeal are divided on use of statements that constitute

protected speech.

. Their comments are contained in the appendix, infra, at S6a, 57a and 58a.

15

eeaeneenelll

used as

uruon:

1, Circuits Which Permit Use Of Protected Speech As

Evidence.

Among the earlier decisions to hold that free speech may be

evidence” is Hendrix Manufacturing Co. v. NLRB,

321 F.2d 100, 103 (Sth Cir. 1963) (Hendrix). The Hendrix Court first

acknowledged that the company had the “legal right” to oppose the

As was its legal right, NLRB v. McGahey, 233 F.2d 406,

409 (Sth Cir. 1956), the Employer made no bones

about its opposition to the Union. ... It was neither

charged nor found that the speech, as such, was a

violation of the Act. The Board, with ample justifica-

tion did regard this as an emphatic statement of anti-

union attitude. In this sense it is properly “back-

ground” against which to measure statements, con-

duct, and the like made by spokesmen, especially in

terms of the interpretation which the employees

reasonably could put on such actions. More specifi-

cally, this would bear on the question whether, from

the listeners’ point of view, these statements by sub-

ordinate management constituted forbidden coer-

cion, threats or intimidation. (Id. at 103-104).

The court then attempted to explain in a footnote how the

Board could use the protected free speech:

frees

We do not regard this as a left-handed finding that

Trippe’s statement was illegal. Cf. NLRB v. Colvert

Dairy Products Co., 10th Cir. 1963, 317 F.2d 44.

Of course the purpose of the speech, as was quite

proper, was to state management’s reasons why a

union was not needed and why it hoped the employ-

ees would vote it down. It was, therefore, anti-union.

But it was legally anti-union. (Jd. at 104, n. 6).

The Fifth Circuit again permitted the Board to use protected

peech in NLRB v. Builders Supply Co. of Houston, 410 F.2d 606, 608

(Sth Cir. 1969), as background “against which to examine these (other)

statements and conduct which were in fact found to be unlawful.” Id.

at 608. See also : NLRB v. Colonial Lincoln Mercury Sales, Inc., 485 F.2d

16

eT

455, 456 (Sth Cir. 1973) and NLRB v. Birdsall Construction Co., 487 F.2d

288, 291 (Sth Cir. 1973).

In Orchard Corp. of America v. NLRB, 408 F.2d 341 (8th Cir. 1969),

the court concluded that while the company had the right to campaign

vigorously against the union, the employer's background of “strong

anti-union posture” could be considered as “the overall background

surrounding the parties lends substance to the Board’s finding of

violations. ...” (Id. at 342).

Similar uses of protected speech as “background” have been

permitted in the Fourth Circuit: Darlington Manufacturing Co. v. NLRB,

397 F.2d 760, 769 (4th Cir. 1968) (sanctioning the use of protected

statements to draw background of controversy and <o place other

nonverbal acts in proper perspective), the Sixth Circuit: NLRB v.

Putnam Tool Co., 290 F.2d 663, 665 (6th Cir. 1961) (permitting the use of

a four-year-old anti-union letter) and the District of Columbia Circuit:

United Auto Workers v. NLRB (Aero Corp.}, 363 F.2d 702, 707 (D.C. Cir.

1966) (sanctioning the “limited use” of reterences to protected speech

to place other nonverbal acts in “proper” perspective).

The First Circuit, although it has fluctuated on this issue, has

also concluded that the protected “views” of supervisors “lend a

significance to otherwise ambiguous events when the question is

whethera given course of conduct is motivated by anti-union animus.”

NLRB v. Lowell Sun Publishing Co., 320 F.2d 835, 840 (ist Cir. 1963),

approved in NLRB v. Wright Line, a Division of Wright Line, Inc., 662 F.2d

907, n. 14 (1st Cir. 1981), cert denied, 455 U.S. 989 (1982).

2. Circuits Which Do Not Permit Use Of Protected

Speech As Evidence.

Other circuits concluded that the Board may not use state-

ments protected by the First Amendment and Section 8(c). In Coppus

Engineering Corp. v. NLRB, 240 F.2d 564, 571 (Ist Cir. 1957) the First

Circuit held, contrary to its holdings in Lowell Sun and Wright Line,

supra, that, “an employer's statement cannot be used as background

material for the finding of an unfair labor practice where such state-

ment falls short of restraint or coercion.”

The Third Circuit denied enforcement to the Board's

order in NLRB v. Rockwell Manufacturing Co. (DuBois Div.), 271 F.2d 109

(3d Cir. 1959), finding fault with the Board’s use of protected free

speech:

17

The Board’s attempt to hoist by its own boot-straps,

so to say, its findings that the statements were viola-

tive of the Act by reason of the respondent's hostility

to the union as evidenced by the general manager's

speech must be assessed in view of its holding that

the speech was “privileged” and not violative of the

Act. The Act (§ 8(c)) specifically provides that privi-

leged communications “*** shall not*** be evidence

of an unfair labor practice.* * *”

In an apparent split within a circuit, the Sixth Circuit, quoting

the Legislative History of Taft-Hartley, found that it was impermis-

sible for the Board’s use of non-coercive letters. Pittsburgh S.S. Co. v.

NLRB, 180 F.2d 731 (6th Cir. 1950):

With reference to the right of free speech the legisla-

tive history show that the amendment embodied in §

8(c) of the Taft-Hartley Act was specifically intended

to prevent the Board from using unrelated non-

coercive expressions of opinion on union matters as

evidence of a general cause of unfair labor conduct.

Id. at 735)

The Seventh Circuit, quoting Pittsburgh S.S. Co., supra, would

not permit the Board to use non-coercive letters as background of

union animus to support a finding that an employee was unlawfully

terminated. Indiana Metal Products Corp. v. NLRB, 202 F.2d 613,617 (7th

Cir. 1953). See also: Roper Corp. v. NLRB, 712 F.2d 306, 311 (7th Cir. 1983)

(“An employer is not required either to say something nice or say

nothing at all about a union.”)

The Eighth Circuit is also apparently split on the use of

protected free speech as “background evidence”. See NLRB v. Howard

Quarries, Inc.,362 F.2d 236, 239-40 (8th Cir. 1966) (“It is well established

that otherwise legal acts cannot be the basis for an inference of anti-

union animus.”), NLRB v. Arkansas Grain Corp., 392 F.2d 161, 165 (8th

Cir. 1968) and Gem International, Inc. v. NLRB, 321 F.2d 626 (8th Cir.

1963) (“The speech made... to the employees lends no support to the

3

Pittsburgh S.S. Co. was affirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court, see: 340 US. 498,

501 (1951) ina companion case to Universal Camera Corp v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474 (1951).

Thecourtagreed with the Sixth Circuit onotner grounds that substantial evidence was

lacking and therefore, expressed “no opinion on the possible effect of § 8(c) of the Taft-

Hartley Act.”

18

Ce eer al DR) NS ne NR Coe NL Pel ita ars lad sete SE SA bbe

unfair labor practices charged.”).

Finally, the Tenth Circuit, in NLRB v. Colvert Dairy Products Co.,

317 F.2d 44 (10th Cir. 1963), held that it was a “specific error” to use

protected free speech as evidence of an unlawful motive:

The campaign immediately preceding a Board elec-

i tion is usually such a situation and the Act provides

both affirmative rights and prohibited acts govern-

ing the conduct of both management and union.

Each is accorded the right of persuasion and denied

theuse of coercion. But it would be unrealistic indeed

to expect management to use words of conviction in

i an effort to persuade an employee to vote against

unionization without the presence of “anti-union

animus.” In the matter of the election the manage-

ment is, of course, anti-union. The union is equally

anti-company. It is necessarily so. And hostility

toward each other in such regard is not an unfair

labor practice. The Act (sec. 8(c)) specifically pro-

vides that privileged communications between em-

ployer and employee shall not be evidence of an

unfair labor practice. To allow the privileged communi-

cations to become an instrument of destruction by indirec-

tion is to frustrate the right of free speech and the privilege

of persuasion. Management cannot effectually attempt

lawful persuasion if by so doing there is an ever-present

penalty of “anti-union animus” for inherent in every

campaign that is strenuously but lawfully waged is the

expressed resistance to the views and claims of the oppo-

nent. The weakness of contra-position is often a

premise of successful persuasion.

ee ee ee

In the case at bar the Board specifically acknowledges

that the remarks of the general manager were privi-

leged and lawful but nevertheless uses them as

damaging background evidence in its consideration

of the charges of violation of Sec. 8(a)(1). To do so, is,

in the language of the Third Circuit, an “attempt to

hoist by its own boots-traps, so to say, its own find-

ings ***.” N. L. R. B. v. Rockwell Manufacturing

Company, 271 F.2d 109. The right of management to

freely express its views in opposition to unionization

19

cannot be burdened by indirection and thus de-

stroyed through technical rationalization. (317 F.2d

at 46-47) (Emphasis supplied).

One court has suggested that there is a “vast difference be-

tween the use of protected statements as evidence of an unfair labor

practice, and the use of such to draw the background of the contro-

versy and place other nonverbal acts in proper perspective.” United

Auto Workers v. NLRB, supra, 363 F.2d at 707. Petitioner submits that

there is no difference between the two uses. The court in United Auto

Workers also concluded that a “limited use” of protected free speech is

“sanctioned,” suggesting, in effect, that a “limited” chilling effect on

First Amendment expression is to be tolerated.

Since the decisions of this Court establish the First Amend-

ment right of the employer to make statements which are anti-union

in nature and the legislative history of Section 8(c) makes it clear that

constitutionally protected communication must not be used as evi-

dence, even background evidence, but the Board has indicated that it will

continue to use protected free speech as “evidence of animus” and

since the courts of appeal are roughly evenly split on this issue, the

Court should grant this petition to resolve an important issue of

constitutional law upon which the circuits are split.

The effect of this split is to frustrate the national labor policy as

mandated by the Act. Thus, if an employer has two factories - one

located in Michigan (6th Circuit) and one located in Wisconsin (7th

Circuit), the same anti-union letter, which is conceded to be protected

speech, could be used as background evidence of animus in Michigan

and not used at all in Wisconsin. Whether an employer is found to

have violated the Act should not depend upon which side of Lake

Michigan the speaker is standing. This is especially so when First

Amendment protected speech is at issue.

Our decision in New York Times, moreover,

draws its force from the constitutional protection

afforded free expression. The standards that set the

scope of its principles cannot therefore be such that

“the constitutional limits of free expression in the

nation would vary with state lines.”

Rosenblat v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75, 84 (1966), quoting: Pennekamp v. Florida,

328 U.S. 331, 335 (1946).

The severity of disagreement among the circuits on this issue

20

ee a ee

Pn adheres

requires definitive resolution so that the First Amendment and Section

8(c) can offer the same protection nationwide.

I THERE WAS NOT SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE TO SUP-

PORT THE BOARD’S FINDING THAT THE COMPANY

WAS MOTIVATED BY ANTI-UNION ANIMUS.

This Court established the standard for review of the Board’s

decisions in Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 US. 474 (1951). Thus,

where a reviewing court “cannot conscientiously find that the evi-

dence supporting that decision is substantial, when viewed in the light

that the record in its entirety furnishes, including the body of evidence

opposed to the Board’s view” it may set aside the Board's decision. 340

US. at 488.

Substantial evidence has been defined as, “more than a mere

scintilla. It means such evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion.” Consolidated Edison Co. v. NLRB,

305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938). Substantial evidence also “must do more than

create a suspicion of the existence of the fact to be established." NLRB

v. Columbia Enameling & Stamping Co., 306 U.S. 292 (1939).

If substantial evidence is lacking, the Court must reverse the

Board. Where, as here, the evidence is based in part upon protected

free speech the case should be remanded to the Board for a redetermi-

nation of the issues without the influence of the improper evidence.

NLRB v. Virginia Electric and Power Co., 314 U.S. 469, 479-80 (1941).

There are several key events which must be considered by this

Court in making a determination as to whether there is substantial

evidence to support its findings.

The Board found that the initial decisions to accept the Man-

‘power written proposal was not motivated by anti-union animus and

was limited to just the “merger” employees. The violation occurred,

according to the Board, when the company, in response to union

activity, “enlarged” the Manpower group to include all bindery

workers. The undisputed facts make it quite clear that the Board's

finding is not supported by substantial evidence.

The Manpower written proposal entered into on November 6

covered “bindery workers”. The Board stipulated at the hearing that

collator operators and helpers, thecutter trimmer operators, the merg-

ers and the banders, were all classified as “bindery workers”. The first

day that bindery workers enrolled with Manpower was November 9.

On that day Wayne Ford, a collator-helper (and not a “merger”) was

enrolled with Manpower as well. One of the Board’s own witnesses

21

conceded that all bindery employees were required to enroll with

Manpower and each of the employer’s witnesses unequivocally stated

that the decision was for all bindery employees.

The Board also found that Middle Earth had violated the Act

by terminating two individuals because of their union activities.

Again, these findings are not supported by substantial evidence.

In the case at bar, if the petition is granted, petitioner will be

able to demonstrate in its brief, the lack of substantial evidence. Thus,

where the Board’s decision is not artificially imbalanced with the

consideration of protected free speech as evidence of anti-union

animus, it will become abundantly clear that reversal is justified.

CONCLUSION

This petition for writ of certiorari should be granted in order

for this Court to firmly establish what evidentiary use may be made of

protected free speech. Since the Board and the courts apparently

recognize that protected (non-coercive) statements are free speech

and cannot constitute, by themselves, unfair labor practices, yet read-

ily admit such protected free speech as “evidence of animus”, this

Court should consider this petition. It is a recurring dilemma and a

clear decision resurrecting the First Amendment and Section 8(c) of

the Act is necessary. Petitioner respectfully submits that this case

contains the necessary elements for such a decision.

Dated: October 2, 1989

By: Scott Merrill,

Counsel of Record

Diepenbrock, Wulff, Plant and Hannegan

Rika. ite AB OY Tyee nik Vs

APPENDIX A

No. 88-5269

: UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, )

) ORDER

Petitioner, )

)

vs. )

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INCORPORATED, )

Respondent. )

)

Filed July 6, 1989

BEFORE: NORRIS and RYAN, Circuit Judges; and ALLEN",

UnitedStates District Judge.

The Court having received a petition for rehearing en banc,

and the petition having been circulated not only to the original

panel members but also to all other active judges of this Court, and

no judge of this Court having requested a vote on the suggestion

for rehearing en banc, the petition for rehearing has been referred to

the original hearing panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the case.

Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

Leonard Green, Clerk

‘i Hon. Charles M. Allen sitting by designation from

the Western District of Kentucky.

la

APPENDIX B

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PUBLICATION

88-5269

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,) ON PETITION FOR

) ENFORCEMENT OF

Petitioner, ) AN ORDER OF

) THE NATIONAL

) LABOR RELATIONS

vs ) BOARD

)

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, )

INCORPORATED, )

Respondent. )

)

Decided and Filed April 24, 1989.

BEFORE: RYAN and NORRIS, Circuit Judges, and ALLEN,

Senior District Judge’.

PER CURIAM. The National Labor Relations Board

asks this court to enforce its unfair labor practice order against

respondent, Middle Earth Graphics, Incorporated.

Having had the benefit of oral argument, and having

carefully considered the record on appeal and the briefs of the parties,

we conclude that the findings and order of the Board are in accordance

with law and supported by substantial evidence, and that its order

should be enforced.

Accordingly, for the reasons set forth in the order and

in the decision of the Administrative Law Judge, the order of the board

dated May 29, 1987 is enforced in all respects.

4 The Honorable Charles M. Allen, Senior District Judge for the

Western District of Kentucky, sitting bydesignation.

2a

APPENDIX C

283 NLRB No. 156

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INC.

and

JAMES CANNON, JR.

LIDELL FORD, JR.

WAYNE FORD

KAREN ROOT

CLARK OLSON

PATRICIA ANN COLE

GARRY WAYNE ROOT

LAMAR EDWARDS

UNITED PAPER WORKERS INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO

Cases 7-CA-24013(1), 7-CA24019, Cases 7-CA24013(2),

7-CA24914(1), Cases 7-CA24013(3), 7-CA-24856(2), Cases

7-CA24030(1), 74CA25033, Cases 7-CA24030(2), 7-CA24856(3),

7-CA24914(2), 7-~CA24953, Case 7-CA24030(3), Case 7-CA24030(5),

Case 7-CA-24052, Case 7-CA24921

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

May 19, 1987

DECISION AND ORDER

By Donald L. Dotson, Chairman; Wilford W. Johansen,

Member; Mary Miller Cracraft, Member

OPINION

On 6 June 1986 Administrative Law Judge Walter H. Maloney,

Jr. issued the attached decision. The respondent filed exceptions and

a supporting brief.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its author-

ity in this proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record in light

of the exceptions and brief and has decided to affirm the judge’s

3a

rulings, findings,’ and conclusions and the adopt the recommended

Order.*

We agree with the judge’s finding that the Respondent failed

to comply with the reinstatement provisions of the settlement agree-

ment. In agreeing with the judge, we recognize that the Respondent

experienced a significant reduction in orders for Cadaco game cards

in 1985. The Respondent hired the discriminatees in May and June

1984 when its business was expanding dramatically because of the

Cadaco contract. The employees were discharged in November 1984

and the settlement agreement was executed on 22 April 1985. By the

summer of 1985, orders for Cadaco game cards had decreased, with a

resulting decline in bindery work. Although the amount of bindery

work available after the settlement agreement was substantially less

than what existed in 1984, the record shows that the Respondent

periodically produced game cards for Cadaco throughout 1985. The

record further shows that on numerous occasions the Respondent

bypassed the discriminatees and used employees with less seniority,

including individuals referred by temporary employment services, to

perform the Cadaco work. In view of this evidence, we find that the

Respondent did not abide by the reinstatement provisions of the

settlement agreement.

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the recommended

Order of the administrative law judge and orders that the Respondent,

Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., Kalamazoo, Michigan, its officers, agents,

successors, and assigns, shall take the action set forth in the Order.

: The Respondent has excepted to some of the judge’s credibility

findings. The Board's established policy is not to overrule an administrative law

judge’s credibility resolutions unless the clear preponderance of all the relevant

evidence convinces us that they are incorrect. Standard Dry Wall Products, 91 NLRB

544 (1950), enfd. 188 F.2d 362 (3d Cir. 1951). We have carefully examined the record

and find no basis for reversing the findings. We further find totally without merit the

Respondent's allegations of bias and prejudice on the part of the judge. On our full

consideration of the record and the judge's decision, we perceive no evidence that the

judge prejudged thecase, made prejudicial rulings, or demonstrated a bias against the

Respondent in his analysis or discussion of the evidence. We also find nothing

improper in the judge’s questions to the Respondent's witnesses.

. We correct the judge’s inadvertent error in par. 2(b) of his recom-

mended Order, under which the Respondentis to notify the employees in writing that

the discharges and warning will not be used against them in any way.

4a

APPENDIX D

JDD—154—86

Kalamazoo, Michigan

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

DIVISION OF JUDGES

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INC

and

JAMES CANNON, JR., LIDELL FORD, JR.

WAYNE FORD, KAREN ROOT, CLARK OLSON,

PATRICIA ANN COLE, GARRY WAYNE ROOT,

and LAMAR EDWARDS, Individuals

and

UNITED PAPERWORKERS INTERNATIONAL

UNION, AFL-CIO-CLC

A. , of Grand Rapids,

Michigan, and

of Detroit, Michigan, for the General Counsel.

Clare Annen, International Representative,

of Scotts, Michigan, for the Charging

Party (Union).

, and Scott R.

Francis T. Coleman ;

of Washington, D.C., for the Respondent.

Case Nos.

GR-7—CA-—24013(1)

GR-7—CA-24019

GR-7—CA—24013(2)

GR-7—CA—24013(3)

GR-7—CA—24030(1)

GR-7—CA-24030(2)

GR-7—CA-24030(3)

GR-7—CA-24030(5)

Sa

GR-7—CA—24052

GR-7—CA—24856(2)

GR-7—CA-~-24856(3)

GR-7—CA—24914(2)

GR-7—CA—24953

GR-7—CA—24914(1)

GR-7—CA-—24921

GR-7—CA-25033

DECISION

I. Findings of Fact

A. Statement of the Case

WALTER H. MALONEY, JR., Administrative Law 7

The first nine of these consolidated cases initially came on

hearing before the undersigned on April 22, 1985, and alll of them

came on for hearing ultimately on January 28 thru February 5, 1986,

at Kalamazoo, Mi upon consolidated complaints’ issued by

the Director of the Board’s Seventh Region which allege that Re-

spondent Middle Earth Graphics, Inc.,? violated Sections 8(a)(1), (3),

and (4) of the Act and that it failed to comply with the provisions of

asettlement agreement, thereby authorizing the Director to set aside

the agreement and to prosecute earlier unfair labor practices osten-

sibly settled therein. More : ee the Consolidated Com-

plaint alleges that the Respondent repeatedly threatened employees

with plant rey if they unionized, created the impression among

ee a union activities were the subject of company

e, threatened to fire employees if they joined a union,

threatened to discharge employees and require them to become

employees of a temporary employment referral service if they

continued to discuss unionization, attempted to suborn perjury by

an employee in a Board proceeding, coercively interrogated

- The principal docket entries in these consolidated cases are as follows:

filed herein by James Cannon, Jr., Lidell Ford, Jr., Wayne Ford, Karen Root,

Clark Olson, Patricia Ann Cole, Garry Wayne Root, and Lamar Edwards, respec-

tively, against Respondent Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., between November 13,

1984 and November 29, 1984, in Cases Nos. GR—7—CA—24013(1), 24019, 24013(2),

24013(3), 24030(1), 24030(2), 24030(3), 24030(5) and 24052; Consolidated Complaint

issued by the Regional Director, Region 7, against the Respondent on December 31,

1984; Respondent's Answer filed on January 8, 1985; Hearing scheduled for Kalama-

zoo, Michigan, on April 22, 1985; Informal settlement agreement executed by all

. The Respondent admits, and I find, thatitisa Michigan corporation which

maintains its principal place of business in Kalamazoo, Michigan, where it is

engaged in the commercial printing business. In the course and conduct of this

business Respondent, during the preceding twelve months, sold and distributed

from its Kalamazoo, Michigan, place of business, products valued in excess of

$100,000, of which products valued in excess of $50,000 were shipped directly to

points and places located outside the State of Michigan. Accordingly, a

is anemployer engaged in commerce within the meaning of Sections 2(2), 2(6), and

2(7) of the Act. The Union isa labor organization within the meaning of Section 2(5)

of the Act.

6a

employees, threatened to fire employees who supported the union

and to prevent them from receiving unemployment compensation,

threatened an employee with reprisal upon returning to work if he

Be etn activities, issued disci warnings to em-

were union —

Caron, je, Lick Jr., Lidell Jr., Karen esen Bed, Ganry Wayne Root, Clas

Cun, ani iesabteal beaendal daivadantieengeton ont

activities, contracted out work in order to prevent unionization by

removing union sympathizers from its payroll and placing them on

pa of a temporary employment referral service, failed to

Ford to work and discharged him because of his

pee oe sympathies and activities, harassed, demoted, and trans-

Ford, Jr., upon his return to work because of his union

ae thies and activities, and, since September, 1985, failed to

Karen Root from layoff because of her union sympathies and

activities. The Respondent denies the commission of any inde-

pendent violations of Section 8(a)(1) of the Act, asserts that it

discharged Lidell Ford, Jr., because he sabotaged company ma-

chinery, wage pes Cannon, Jr., because of his poor work

rmance, and discharged Garry Wayne Root, Karen =

Olson, and Wayne Ford because they refused to sign ~

the temporary employment referral service that it had emp

Itcontends that it failed to recall employees because of lack of <o0

and that Lidell Ford, Jr., was demoted upon his return to the job

because he was unable to perform assigned work. The Respondent

also contends that violations settled by an agreement concluded on

April 22, 1985, are barred from prosecution by limitations. Upon

these conteritions the issues herein were joined.*

B. The Unfair Labor Practices Alleged

Respondent Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., is a small printing

charging parties, the General Counsel, and the Respondent and approved by the under-

signed on April 22, 1985; Charges filed against the Respondent by Wayne Ford, Clark

Olson, Lidell Ford, Jr., United Paperworkers International Union, AFL. CIU ,CLC (herein

called Union), and Karen Root, respectively, between August 2, 1985 and Scptember 26,

1985, in Cases Nos. GR--7--CA--24856(2), 24856(3), 24914(2), 24953, 24914(1), 24921,

and 25033; Consolidated Complaint issued against Respondent by Director, Region 7, on

September 30, 1985, and First Amended Consolidated Complaint issued against Respon-

dent by Director, Region 7, on Octobes~ 30, 1985; Respondent's Answer filed on November

7, 1985; Hearing held in Kalamazoo, Michigan, on January 28 thru February 5, 1986; Briefs

filed by the General Counsel and the Respondent with the undersigned on or before April

28, 1986.

’ The transcript herein is hereby corrected as follows:

1. On page 30, line 13, insert “Root” after “Karen”

2. On page 50, line 1, change “bet” to “get”

7a

firm located on the north side of Kalamazoo, Michigan. It is owned

and operated by Louis Hall, who founded the business about 12

years ago. Until the spring of 1984, it employed about 10-15

individuals and was engaged we oy handling small and

medium-sized comm printing jo the spring of that year,

it obtained a contract from a Chicago firm, Great Cadaco Games, a

Division of Rapid Mounting & Finishing Co. (Cadaco), to uce

sets of question-and-answer cards in a game modeled after

Trivial its. The Cadaco game is known as “Bible Trivia.”

Subsequent orders received from Cadaco included printing of

ion-and-answer cards for two similar games, “Children’s

ible Trivia” and “Catholic Trivia.” Taking on these orders meant

a rapid increase in the staffing of the Respondent's plant, particu-

larly in unskilled employees in the bindery who performed such

functions as merging, collating, and banding. The discriminatees

involved in this case were hired in May or June of 1984 when this

upsurge in business began. Concurrently with the increase in staff,

the plant began to operate on and occasionally on an

around-the-clock basis during the regular workweek. The initial

Cadaco order was only for 25,000 sets of “Bible Trivia” cards, but,

as that order was filled, other orders followed rapidly. Respondent

continues to produce Cadaco game cards but not at the hectic pace

it experienced in 1984. At the same point in 1984 Hall began to

enlarge the physical facilities of his plant and to acquire new

machinery for his expanded operation.

The bindery operation involves the cutting of large “signa-

tures” or printed sheets into quarters, collating them on a nine-

sheet collator, merging these collated sheets into larger bundles by

what is, in effect, a hand-collating process, cutting or “trimming”

the newly formed bundles of question-and-answer sheets into

individual game sets, and then putting rubber bands around

individual sets before they are boxed for shipment. In this —

tion, Lidell Ford, Jr., operated a collator (sometimes called a

multi-stitcher); James Cannon, Jr., was a merger; Karen Root was a

bander; Lidell Ford’s brother, Wayne Ford, worked asa mergerand

collator helper; and Karen Root’s brother, Clark Olson, was a

bander. Karen Root’s husband, Garry Root, had a semi-skilled job

as trimmer operator.

In June, 1984, shortly after they had been hired, Garry and

Karen Root were carrying on a conversation in the office with Hall.

Hall had been talking with Jim English, a salesman from another

print shop, Kalamazoo Label, and was repeating to the Roots what

the salesman had said. Hall noted that Kalamazoo Label was

running at about 1/3 capacity because of union work rules and a

high union scale. Karen Root asked Hall what would happen if a

union came into Middle Earth Graphics. Hall replied that a union

would never “get in here. I will close my doors before I will let a

union in here.

Sometime in May or June, Lidell Ford was working with

Hall at the collator and asked Hall if he would ever have a union in

the = Hall replied that he would “close the g.d. doors” before

he ee ee . Ford had a similar

conversation at this same point in time with Chalker. Chalker

expressed the opinion that Hall would close the plant defore he

would permit it to become unionized.

During the summer of 1984, Wayne Ford was engaged ina

conversation with Foreman Don Antolovich and fellow employee

Mike Ibeck at Antolovich’s home. Ford observed that, if the plant

were unionized, the Company would stop a lot of activities which

Ford objected to, such as twelve-hour workdays and cutting incen-

tive rates. Antolovich replied that a union would be nice but there

was “no chance of it.”

Early in the fall, Mrs. Root became — by an incident at

the plant involving her son, employee Steve Kilburn. Kilburn was

attacked by a dog which had been tied up behind the plant and had

been allowed to stay there for plant security reasons. Kilburn was

not injured but had been frightened by the dog’s aggressive behav-

ior. Upon learning of this incident, Mrs. Root complained to the

Plant me Keith Tap, and the General Foreman, Rod Chalker,

but received a rebuff. Upon returning to her job station, she angrily

shouted to employees in the merging area of the plant, “Like hell we

don’t need a union.” Antolovich was present when these remarks

were made.

Shortly thereafter, Mrs. Root phoned the office of the

United Paperworkers Union and sought information on how to go

about organizing a union at the Respondent's plant. She did not

follow up immediately on this information but, along with other

employees, began to discuss the co unionization. Much

of this talk took place at the merging line. On one occasion,

Antolovich told employees on the aoe that the Respon-

dent was keeping a complete file on who talked union at the plant.

On Friday, November 2, 1984, the Respondent staged an

open house at the plant. Respondent had just completed an

addition to the company premises, and this milestone provided the

occasion for the celebration. Customers, friends, and public offi-

9a

cials were invited to view the enlarged building, see the plant in

actual operation, and join Hall and others for a light lunch and a

ceremonial ribbon cutting. A humorous program booklet, pre-

pared and distributed for the open house, was introduced into

evidence. Among the visitors was Patrick Allgood, the ee

Manager for Manpower, a supplier of temporary help. _—

suggested to Hall that Manpower could be of help in providing him

with extra help during periods, and Hall was amenable to the

suggestion. He told Allgood to prepare a specific proposal and

present it.

The following Tuesday, November 2, Allgood visited Hall

and presented a written proposal. The document in question

appears to have been derived froma word processor, with individ-

ual name changes on the cover and an individual quotation ofa rate

for temporary help at $4.92 an hour. This igure represented the

og y Manpower to Middle Earth Gra While the pro-

posal did not say so, record evidence indicated that this al

eo py an actual payout rate to em rh 6 of about $3.50 or

75 an hour. The balance represented deductions and supple-

ments for withholding and insurance, payroll computations, and

Manpower’s profit. It became clear that Hall had in mind not

merely procuring additional help from Manpower but was inter-

ested in placing a number of his current employees on Manpower’s

payroll, thus treating them as temporary help. Hall insisted to

Allgood that none of the employees he wished transferred from the

Middle Earth Graphics payroll to the Manpower payroll should

experience reductions in their hourly rate, although it is clear that

eventually all of them lost benefits, inasmuch as they were covered

by a health insurance program as Respondent’s employees while

Manpower had no such program forthe temporary help it supplies.

Both Hall and his management employees were quite evasive

about the actual hourly rate they were being called upon to pay to

Manpower in order to maintain a $4.00 payout rate to current

employees. Eventually, another Manpower representative, Debra

Kuhn, who assisted in the implementation of Manpower'’s contract

with the Respondent, testified that, for employees earning $4.00 per

hour, Manpower charged the Respondent $5.65 per hour for exist-

ing employees being transferred to its payroll and $5.88 for new

employees supplied from Manpower sources. Billing records and

invoices in evidence confirm this testimony. The differential in

rates represented Manpower’s recruiting costs. Higher rated

employees were billed at other amounts. Miss Kuhn testified that

the Manpower markup was from 17%-30%, although a simple

arithmetic calculation makes it clear that the Manpower markup on

the $4.00-an-hour employees was about 41%.

10a

On the afternoon of Wednesday, November 7, Greg Hen-

derson, a representative of Manpower, talked to the mergers in the

merging area about signing up for Manpower. Both Chalker and

Antolovich were present. There was some objection from

Respondent’s employees te the idea of leaving the Respondent's

payroll and transferring to seme Bese The objections centered on

the fear of losing their jobs of receiving cuts in pay. As the

discussion drew to a close, Lidell Ford, who was not a merger but

who ha to be in the area, told the assembled mergers that,

if they signed up for Manpower, their action would be tantamount

to quitting Middle Earth Graphics and they would have no stand-

ing to organize a union among the Respondent’s employees.

Antolovich admits reporting this or similar statements on the part

of L. Ford to Hall.‘

On the evening of the same day, Ford phoned Clare Annen,

the Union’s representative in the Kalamazoo area, told him what

was de st at Middle Earth Graphics among the mergers, and

arranged for Annen to meet with interested employees at Ford’s

home on Saturday, November 10. On the morning of Thursday,

November 8, Hall summoned Ford to his office. In the course of a

private interview, Hall told Ford that he was in possession of

written proof that Ford had wilfully damaged the Respondent’s

collating machine and proceeded to fire Ford for doing so. Ford

denied the accusation and asked to see the statements that Hall had

referred to. He also asked Hall to produce the second-shift employ-

ees who had made the written allegations. Hall declined and said

they would be given to him with his final paycheck. Ford protested

this action and claimed he could run the collator better than any two

employees. He told Hall to “cut out the bullshit” and accused Hall

of using him as a scapegoat. Hall’s only response was that nobody

would run the Company but Hall himself. When Ford picked up

his paycheck the following day, he asked Comptroller Joseph

Hagenbarth for the statements and Hagenbarth refused to produce

them upon advice of counsel. No such statements have ever been

mY

.

Although there is some confusion in the record concerning the sequence

of events which surrounded the appears, as detailed later, that damage had been

done to a collator the previous afternoon or evening, which the Respondent

attributed to Ford. Ford was discharged for this infraction on November 8, the

morning following his statement to the mergers recited above.

lia

furnished, even in response to the General Counsel’s subpoena. I

conclude that they never existed in the first place.°

During the next few days, several supervisors made state-

ments to various employees indicating that only ers would be

required to sign up for Manpower. On Friday, November 9,

Chalker spoke to several employees, including | Root, near

the trimmer and indicated to them that Manpower was only for

mergers, explaining that mergers were part-time employees and

that the Respondent was taking this action because it was not sure

how long orders for Cadaco games would last so it wanted to be

sure that the mergers had some alternative source of employment

if the Cadacocontract ran out. Later on in theday, Garry Root spoke

to Antolovich and asked him if Manpower was just for mergers.

Antolovich assured him that this was so. On the same day, Patricia

Ann Cole, a merger;cametothe ng to pick up her paycheck. She

spoke to Antolovich and asked him if she had to join Manpower.

He told her that she would have to sign up and stated that this

requirement applied only to mergers because ry baw, regarded

as part-time employees. Chalker had also told k Olson that

only the mergers were being required to transfer to the Manpower

payroll.

Debra L. Schrock worked asa collator helper on the evening

shift. On November 9, she asked Chalker if she had to sign up for

Manpower. Chalker’s reply was, “Not as long as you don’t talk

union.” Later on in the following week, Tap asked Mrs. Schrock if

she had signed up for Manpower. Her reply was that Chalker told

her she did not have to sign up so long as she did not talk about

, Respondent's second-shiftem ployees, Mihally Csiszarand Mrs. Schrock,

gave diametrically opposed statements concerning making written statements on

November 11. Csiszar, who is Hungarian and has trouble writing English,

testified that he and Mrs. Schrock prepared a joint statement in their own

handwriting upon being questioned by management about vandalism performed

on the collator and turned the statement over to their supervisor. Mrs. Schrock

testified that she prepared no such statement and, in fact, was never interviewed

by management concerning the events of November 6 until, on November 14, she

and Csiszar were presented with a typewritten statement, dated November 12,

detailing the damage done to the collator and accusing Ford by necessary impli-

cation of doing the damage. Sheinsisted that the statement be modified before she

would sign it and it was changed. This statement, signed both by her and by

Csiszar, isin evidence. At the hearing in this case, Hall admitted that he had been

“mistaken” when he said that he had statements in his possession alleging Ford’s

responsibility for vandalism before Ford was fired.

r Ata much later point in time Mrs. Schrock became a merger.

12a

“onions.” She used the word “onions” to avoid mentioning the

forbidden term “union.” Tap told her at that time that everyone

had to sign up, so she did the following day.

The mergers worked on Saturday, November 10. During

the course of this workday, Mrs. Cole made the observation to her

fellow employees and nie Antolovich that the only reason the

Compan aan wer was because of union organ-

izing activity. Antolovich’s reply was that, if there was any further

mention of unions, em ae ams vical be laid off permanently and

the plant doors would send. Antolovich admitted making this

statement but explained for the record that he was just expressing

his opinion. He also stated for the record that Hall was the “kind of

guy who will cut off his nose to spite his face” and ventured the

statement that “if he doesn’t get his way, nobody will.”

A union meeting took place the same evening at Lidell

Ford’s home. Among those who attended were the Roots, Olson,

Cannon, and Wayne Ford. As noted previously, Ford had been

ed by this time. Among the questions discussed was

whether employees should obey a directive to sign up for Man-

power. Annen replied that it was up to each employee as to

whether he or she signed Aap each employee would have to

make this judgment on the basis of what +4 could afford to do if

faced with discharge. Annen expressed an opinion that it was an

unfair labor practice for an employer to force employees off its

payroll and felt it would be appropriate to filea charge. He did not

state that he felt that employees who signed would be disenfran-

chised from participating in a representation election. Union

authorization cards were distributed on this occasion and every

employee who attended signed a card.

At or about this same time, Antolovich met Mrs. Cole at a

wees ees oir her testimony to the effect that Antolovich

told her that the Com was to make a case against Lidell

Ford and asked her ne ane Oe poh! like to make $25? She flippantly

replied, “What do I have to do - kill someone?” Antolovich told her

that all she would have to do was to go into court and say she saw

Ford tampering with machinery. Mrs. Cole objected, saying that

she did not know anything about the machinery. Antolovich

replied that she could just say that she saw him tampering with

valves and hoses. Mrs. Cole refused, insisting that she would not

lie either for or against Ford.

On Monday, November 12, Respondent's supervisors, in-

cluding Hail, and Manpower representatives Allkins and Kuhn,

13a

met with all shop employees. At this time Hall announced that all

employees, except for “the original ten”, would be required to

transfer from the Middle Earth Graphics payroll to the Manpower

payroll. The “original ten” was Hall’s way of describing the

employees who had been working for him before the work force

expansion took place in spring of 1984. This number included the

pressmen, all supervisors and the office staff. The Manpower

representatives were asked a series of questions about seniority

and other matters. They answered some tions and were

unable to answer others. Hall was asked why this was taking place

and his only answer was, “No comment.” Cole and Cannon then

stated aloud that the only reason the transfer to Manpower was

taking place was because of the union. Hall said it was taking place

so that he could protect himself from what Lidell Ford had done the

preceding week.

Later on that day in a private conversation, Mrs. Cole asked

Hall what would happen if she refused to sign up for Manpower.

He replied that she would be fired. She said that she did not want

to become a “rent-a-jerk.” Hall told her that he did not care if a

union did come into the plant, observing that he had enough

money and could quit and close the doors. After consulting with

her husband, Mrs. Cole resigned.

On the following day Cannon was terminated just after he

reported for work. When Antolovich gave him the news his reply

was, “I knew it was coming.” Antolovich told Cannon that he

found a number of mistakes in Cannon’s work the day before.

Cannon argued that Antolovich was in no position to complain

about Cannon’s work when Antolovich’s brother, Walter, also a

merger, was “goofing off.” Antolovich said that he would divide

up the mistakes which had been found between Cannon and his

brother. However, Walter Antolovich was not disciplined.

On Wednesday, November 14, a third meeting was held

between a Manpower representative and the production and

maintenance employees. Miss Kuhn represented Manpower on

this occasion. She attempted to answer employee questions which

had been left unanswered during previous meetings. Thereafter,

she conducted private interviews at which time she solicited appli-

cations from those who were being required to transfer.

On November 14, Tap called Garry Root into his office and

asked Root if he had heard about any union activities. Root replied

that he had talked to someone about the union the previous week.

Tap asked Root whom he had talked with, but Root refused to

l4a

answer. Tap went on to ask Root if he had seen any union cards.

Root replied untruthfully that he had not seen any.

At orabout this same point in time, Tap had a conversation

with Lamar Edwards, the janitor and maintenance man. He asked

Edwards if Edwards had signed for the union. Edwards replied

that he had not done so. Tap then asked Edwards if Edwards had

received a union card from Garry Root. Edwards had in fact re-

ceived a union card from Garry Root. After engaging in a conver-

sation with another employee named Dove, Edwards showed the

card to Tap. Tap if he could make a copy of the card and

Edwards consented. Tap then asked Edwards if Garry Root had

signed him up on the Company property. Edwards replied that

Root had come to his house and signed him up there. Tap then told

Edwards that Garry Root had “lied to save his own ass” because

Root had told Tap something else. He then instructed Edwards to

return to the merging line.

On the morning of Thursday, November 15, both Root and

Olson came to work wearing union buttons. They had attended a

union meeting the night before and presumably had obtained the

buttons at the meeting. Hagenbarth asked them when they arrived

whether they had signed up for Manpower. All three replied that

they had not done so. Hagenbarth told them that, if they had not

signed with Manpower, they would have to leave the plant. Garry

Root replied that he did not work for Manpower, “I work for

Middle Earth Graphics.” Hagenbarth told Root that he could not

give him his check until he signed for Manpower. Root told

Hagenbarth to get someone with authority.

Mrs. Root went to her job and began to work. Some of her

fellow employees asked her if she had signed up for Manpower.

She replied that she had not done so and that she was not going to

so do because she was trying to get a union into the plant. Not long

thereafter, Mrs. Root heard Antolovich report this conversation to

Hall in Hall’s office. Antolovich told Hall, “You’ve got to do

something. Those people are downtalking Manpower and talking

union. We've got to them out of there.”

Before long, Hall, Tap and Antolovich came into the bind-

ery and went up to Garry Root. Hall asked Root if he had signed up

for Manpower. Root said that he had not done so, adding that he

was working to get a union into the plant. Hall stepped toward

Root, backed him into a machine, and called himans.o.b. Root said

tauntingly that Hall would love to have an excuse to hit him. Hall

replied that he knew a hundred people in Kalamazoo who would

15a

like to hurt Root. Hall then instructed Tap to call the police. Shortly

thereafter, they arrived. Hall pointed to both Root and Olson and

asked the police to remove them. As the police began to do so, Mrs.

Root asked one of the officers why she was re ee to leave

and he replied, “Trespassing.” She objected, telling the office that

she had punched in and was just doing her job. Hall insisted that

she be removed as well and she was.

Wayne Ford had originally signed an application for Man-

power but then withdrew it on ~ S 16 by calling the Man-

power office. On November 19 when he went to work, Tap asked

him if he had signed for Manpower. W. Ford replied that he had

done so but had withdrawn his application. e: en told him that

“we no longer need | er whereupon W. Ford left the plant.

Manpower’s invoices for the first two weeks of its contract with the

Respondent indicate that it supplied the Respondent with 11

newly-recruited employees during this period — Lynne M. Alston,

Sheila A. Forney, James A. Feringa, wwe. J. Hosteller, Michael

J. Stanfill, Gerald L. Stump, Veronica D. Swift, Deborah E. Tailey,

Cheryl A. Heighton, Julie K. Kimball, and Jerome W. Phelps. They

also indicate that 19 former Middle Earth Graphics employees were

transferred to the Manpower payroll — Walter Antolovich, James

H. Butler, Dale E. Croy, Houston B. Ford, Bonnie K. Garton, Mary

Ann Hollis, Michael J. Ibach, Scott R. Kellogg, Lamar Edwards,

Mytris McCants, Ricardo Nunn, Margaret A. Ross, Debra L. Schrock,

Calvin C. Shafer, Jr., Brenda K. Van Tilberg, Charles J. Deneau,

Tamara Stickney, Janet M. Van Tilberg, and Phyllis J. Narlock.

Between November 13 and November 29, the first series of

unfair labor practice charges in this dispute were filed. On Novem-

ber 21, the union filed a representation petition seeking to represent

the Respondent’s production and maintenance employees. That

petition is still pending, having been blocked by the outstanding

unfair labor practice charges against the Respondent.

Lidell Ford’s brother Houston Ford continued to work at

the Respondent's plant on the Manpower payroll. Sometime later

in November, Hall spoke with H. Ford about his brother's dis-

charge. He told H. Ford that he hated to fire Lidell but that Lidell

had been harassing employees and had tampered with the collator,

so that others who worked on the machine were prevented from

operating it to full capacity and making their full piecework incen-

tive rate. Hall added that Lidell was trying to bring a union into the

pliant, and there was “no way in hell” that he would permit a union

to come into the company.

16a

Hall also had a private conversation with Lamar Edwards

in late November, in the course of which he told Edwards that he

did not want to give anyone any trouble and he did not want

anyone to give him any trouble. words were that if someone

ve him trouble, “he would give it to him back”, mentioning that

e had an = who was a real troublemaker. Shortly there-

after, Hall told Edwards that he would be laid off for lack of work.

Edwards said that he would quit and apply for unemployment

compensation.

The original consolidated unfair labor practice complaint

was issued by the Regional Director on December 31, 1984. The

case was set for hearing on April 22, 1985. On that date, the parties

executed an informal settlement agreement, which included an

undertaking on the part of the Respondent to pay specified sums of

money to both Roots, Olson, Wayne Ford, Lidell Ford, and Cannon

in settlement of the outstanding complaint. It also obligated the

Respondent to offer these six individuals “full and immediate

reinstatement to their former jobs without prejudice to their senior-

ity or other rights and privil previously enjoyed” and to cease

and desist from committing er unfair labor practices.

There is no dispute that the Respondent paid to the six

discriminatees the sums required under the settlement agreement

or that it posted the required notice. At issue herein is whether the

Respondent offered these individuals full and immediate rein-

statement to their former jobs and whether it refrained from com-

mitting further unfair labor practices. Of the six discriminatees

who were parties to the April 22 agreement, only three ever worked

for the Respondent thereafter. Two did not begin to work until June

28 and the third did not start back to work until August 19. Neither

was working when the case came on for hearing again on January

28, 1986.

On May 9, 1985, Hall wrote identical letters to all six dis-

criminatees who were involved in the settlement agreement. The

letter read:

Pursuant to the terms of the settlement

agreement entered into between Middle Earth Graphics,

Inc., and the National Labor Relations Board, on April

22, 1985, you are hereby notified that you are reinstated

to your former position as an employee and any refer-

ence to your discharge and/or layoff has been removed

from your file.

17a

pe eet ot menpe requirements, there is

no work available for you at this time. However, you

will be given the normal notice when that does occur.

Therefore, you should keep us advised of your cur-

rent address.

During this same period in time, the ndent trans-

ferred nine former employees whom it was continuing to utilize on

the Manpower payroll back to their former status as Middle Earth

Graphics employees. These included Ann Ross, Charles Deneau,

Beth Breed, Debra Schrock, James Butler, Scott Kellogg, Bonnie

Garton, Calvin Schaeffer, and Brenda Van Tilberg. Some resumed

their places on the Middle Earth Graphics payroll on or before June

26, 1985, when the first two discriminatees came back to the plant.

All were back by August 19 when the third discriminatee returned.

Chalker explained that he had been told by Hagenbarth that it was

more expensive to maintain these individuals on the Manpower

payroll, with the attendant markup for Manpower’s services, than

to employ them directly as Middie Earth Graphics employees.

Hagenbarth testified that the anticipated savings in administrative

costs in the preparation of payrolls did not materialize. Hall was

asked why he transferred these individuals from the Respondent's

payroll to Manpowerand then back again. Hesaid that he assumed

that it was fora reason other than cost effectiveness but he could not

quite recall what that reason was.’ Nobody explained why it took

the Respondent over six months to come to the conclusion that it

was costing more to employ former employees on the Manpower

payroll than it cost to hire them directly.

Mrs. Root was recalled on June 28 to her position as a

bander. She was laid off again on July 2. She was recalled a second

time on July 30 and worked about two weeks, when she took sick

leave. She returned again on August 20 and worked until Septem-

ber 20, when she was laid off ostensibly for lack of work. She has not

worked since that time.®

7

Hall had a very selective memory and professed absence of recollection

on crucial matters relating to events in this case. He also was evasive in the

answers he did give. I note also his profane outburst during the hearing, the fact

that he was photographing witnesses in the hallway outside the hearing room as

they sat waiting to testify, and that he was coaching a company witness in the

hallway, prior to her testimony, notwithstanding the existence of a sequestration

order. In short, his partisanship at trial was unrestrained and out of control. |

discredit his testimony.

_ Mrs. Root testified that, during this period of her employment,

she wore a union button to work.

18a

Late in July when Mrs. Root was notified a second time to

report for work, her brother, Clark Olson, was at her home. Upon

learning of his sister’s recall, Olson phoned Chalker and asked hi

if he should come back to work as well. Chalker informed Olson

that there was no work for him and that there would be no work for

him in the near future. On or about August 9, an office employee,

identified only as Brenda, phoned Mrs. s home and asked for

Olson. He was not there. Upon receiving this information, Olson

phoned Chalker, who informed him that he had to op, he arr

updated as to his current phone number. Olson told that

he had the correct phone number. Chalker said nothing about

Olson’s reporting for work. He admitted at the hearing that he had

no work for Olson at that time. Shortly thereafter, Olson received

a letter, dated August 10 and ne, Hall, in which Hall simply

noted that Company records indi that Olson’s phone number

was the same as his sister’s number and reminded Olson that it was

his responsibility to keep the Respondent informed as to any

change in his address or phone number. It said nothing about

reporting for work. A few days later, Olson received a letter from

Hall, dated August 20, informing him that he was being dis-

charged, effective August 20, for his failure to report to work on

August 19.° Olson insisted at the hearing that he never received any

letter or other communication instructing him to report for work on

August 19 or any other date. Respondent insists that it mailed

Olson such a letter a few days before this date. While the Respon-

dent was able to produce copies of other similar correspondence

with its employees, it failed, in response to a subpoena by the

General Counsel, to produce a copy of the disputed notification

letter to Olson. I conclude that no such letter ever existed or was

ever sent.

On June 24, 1985, Csiszar, who by this time had become a

supervisor, phoned the Root house for the purpose of requesting

Garry Root to return to work. He spoke with Mrs. Root. Upon

learning of the call, Garry Root returned it and was told by Csiszar

that there was work available on a six-hour-a-day basis and re-

quested Root to report the following morning. Root said he could

not do so, since he was working for Merchant’s Publishing Com-

pany and would be obligated to give them two weeks’ notice.

Csiszar informed Root that the job in question would last only two

weeks. Hall testified that Root was only being offered a couple of

days’ work. Root told Csiszar that he would have to have two

weeks’ notice of any offer to return and further informed Csiszar he

. Chalker stated at the hearing that he had only a day or two of work for

Olson on August 19 and that the purported offer was for temporary work.

19a

would not come back to work for the ndent on a six-hour-a-

pe Mar wed many Seed reed ene pho ~ as part-time. On the

following day, Garry Root received a letter from Hall, in which Hall

stated:

This letter is confirming the telephone conversation

Mike Csiszar had with wife Karen on Monday,

June 24. You were advieed t sepest to werk on

Tuesday, June 25, 1985, no later than 8:00 a.m.

Root did not report for work on June 25. Instead, he wrote Hall a

letter on that date which stated:

This letter is to acknowledge my conversation that I

had with Mr. Csiszar late in the afternoon of June 24,

1985.

As you are aware, Iam presently employed and it is

my contention that less than twenty-four hours no-

tice to return to work is less than adequate.

As stated in the settlement agreement, I am to be

reinstated to my former position with benefits as a

full-time employee. Mr. Csiszar informed me that

his offer was fora six-hour shift whichis less than full

time, and consequently without benefits.

Therefore, I am advising you that at this time your

offer is unsuitable and does not constitute compli-

ance with the settlement agreement. However, ifand

when a position of fulltime employment does open,

I would expect to be properly notified within (sic) a

timely fashion.

Root has heard nothing from the Respondent since that

time.

On June 26, 1985, Hall sent a certified letter to Cannon

instructing him to rt to work no later than Friday morning,

June 28, at 8 a.m. The letter was sent to Cannon at 207 Alamo Hills,

Kalamazoo. At that time Cannon had temporarily moved back to

his parents’ home in Grand Rapids in order to assist in caring for his

father, who was ill. When Cannon eventually received the letter, he

— the shop and spoke to a secretary identified only as Sandy.

e asked to speak with Hall and with other supervisors. He was

told by Sandy that they were busy and could not speak with him.

20a

This is the last communication that he has received from the

Respondent.

A letter, dated June 26, was sent by the Respondent to

Wayne Ford him to report for work on June 28 no later

than8 a.m. W. Ford did so and was assigned to run the collator.

Later that day, Chalker moved him to the line. W. Ford

was employed as a collator operator before his This was

sabolana tad iematiriond eats ekientiod o's. Eswever

rate which was attached to it. However,

anyh abomen 0} wha here without incentive. W.

Pout we til July 2 when he was laid off. At that

time he asked A Antolovich w when he would be recalled. Antolovich

told him that he would give him a call or stop by his apartment to

inform him when work would again be available.

W. Ford heard nothing more from the Respondent for

nearly a month, so he went to the plant and spoke with Chalker.

Chalker told him at this time that, in order to come back to work, he

would have to have a phone so that he could be notified at short

notice that work be available. Ford pressed Chalker to learn

when work would be available. Chalker’s only reply was to let him

know when he had a phone installed in his apartment because he

did not want to have to go through third parties in order to cal] him

back to work. On August 9, W. Ford received the following letter

from Hall:

Rod Chalker called your phone number on August

7, 1985, that you have given us to call. He received a

recording stating that the number had been discon-

nected.

The scheduling of the work that you qualified for

does not allow the time to notify you by mail.

It is your responsibility, as an employee, to in-

form Middle Earth Graphics, Inc. of any changes of

your address and/or phone number.

Respondent sent W. Ford another letter, dated August 13

and signed by Hall. It read:

This letter is to confirm Rod Chalkers [sic] in-

struction of August 12 when you came into the shop,

that we need a phone number to reach you when

there is work.

2la

|

Our work load does not permit the time to notify

people by letter.

If we do not hear from you by Monday the 19th,

we will assume that you do not want to work here.

On Monday, August 19, at about 3:50 a.m., Chalker gave W.

Ford a call from yee 7 shan bo doe malcom froma “V7

engagement and, going to a to contact

Ford to tell him to come to work that morning. Chalker reached a

neighbor of Ford who lived ina downstairs apartment. He told the

r that he was Ford’s boss and wanted to speak with him.

The neighbor went upstairs, knocked on the door of Ford’s apart-

ment, and a him to relay this messa Meanwhile,

Chalker was placed on hold. By the time that Ford had dressed and

had come downstairs to take the phone call, Chalker had hung up

without disclosing to anyone the substance of what he wanted to

say to Ford. Ford went back to bed. The next day, Ford received a

letter, dated August 20 and signed by Hall, which stated:

This is to inform you that your failure to report to

work by Monday, August 19, 1985, results in the

termination of youremployment Middle Earth Graph-

ics (sic) as of August 20, 1985.

Chalker stated in his testimony that he had only one to three days’

work available for W. Ford at that time.

In mid-July, Lidell Ford com - oe to the Board agent who was

supervising compliance with the settlement agreement that he

had not been recalled to work. On Au 1, 1985, Production

es Douglas B. Harris wrote L. Ford a letter, which stated as

llows:

This letter is to inform you that as of August 1,

1985, Middle Earth Graphics is giving you a two

week notice to report to work.

There is presently work available for vee If you

desire work, please let us know i iately and

report to work no later than 7:30 a.m. August 19, 1985.

Shortly after receiving this letter L. Ford called the plant and spoke

with er. He told Chalker that he would like to come back to

work on August 12 but was not sure that he could make it by that

date because he was having car trouble and wanted to get his car

22a

mg at tenn SS He also told Chalker that, if he could

preg men hes ov 2, he would certainly be back to work by the

19th. Chalker told him that he should simply call the plant during

business hours and let the Company know the date on which he

would actually return. Ford asked Chalker if he would

experience any trouble after he came back. Chalker replied that he

would have no trouble “as long as (he) did his work, kept (his) nose

clean, and didn’t talk union.” On or about Au 15, Ford called

the plant, talked to a clerical employee named Brenda, and told her

that he would be in on August 19 at 7:30 a.m.

When Ford reported for work on August 19, Chalker told

him to go to work on the coilator he used before being

discharged but instructed him to set it up in the stitcher mode for

a practice run. While operating this machine (sometimes called a

Harris multibinder) in 1984, Ford had used it only for collating

pages of the Cadaco games into sets of nine. With the addition of

dif t accessories, the multibinder can also be used to fold pages

of printed material and to stitch or = the folded pages together

into booklets. To operate the in a stitcher mode, it is

necessary to attach the stitcher head, insert a spool of wire used for

stitching, attach different receiving trays, and make various adjust-

ments in order to permit the e to perform these facets of the

operation in proper sequence. Timing is of critical importance in

setting up the machine in the stitcher mode.

Ford had never before set up the machine in the stitcher

mode, nor had he operated it as such. His familiarity with the

machine was Jimited to its use as a collator. During the interim

while the discriminatees were away, the Respondent had pur-

chased a new collator which assembled packets of 10 pages rather

pore Dates om lhe we see urpose and

relegated the older machine to occasional use as a stitcher. The only

person employed by the Respondent who was skilled in setting it

up and operating it in the stitcher mode was Csiszar. He was on

vacation on August 19. Chalker was familiar with this aspect of the

operation but did not regularly operate the machine for stitching.

Hall had instructed Chalker to assign Ford to the stitcher

upon his return to the plant. Chalker admits that he had reason to

believe that Ford have difficulty in setting up the machine

and in operating it in the stitcher mode. He was correct in his

assumption. After working on the machine for several hours, Ford

was unable to set it up to get it into operation. He could not

attach the collator to the stitcher. On several occasions, he asked

Chalker for assistance in setting it up and each time Chalker refused

23a

to help him, claiming that he was too busy with other matters. Ford

asked for the machine manual and Chalker brought it to him, but

Ford was unable to complete the set up work with the assistance of

the manual. Two other employees, including Houston Ford, came

over to help L. Ford on their lunch hour but Chalker told them to

leave L. Ford alone.

By early afternoon, Ford still did not have the machine in

operation and Chalker reported this fact to Hall.” He told Hall that

Ford could not set up the machine and was not getting out any

production. Respondent then made up a written statement, dated

August 20, 1985, which read:

I cannot set up and run the muitibinder that Rod

Chalker has asked me to set up and run.

There wasa place following this statement for Ford’s signature and

the signature of a witness.

Chalker took the blank statement to Ford and asked him to

sign it. Ford insisted that he could get the machine in operation and

declined to do so. After Ford had worked unsuccessfully for

another hour orso on the multibinder, Chalker again presented the

paper for Ford’s signature and insisted that he sign it. Ford did so

but told Chalker that he was signing it under protest. Chalker then

summoned Margaret Ann Ross to the machine and asked her to

sign the statement as a witness.

At this time, Ford was reassigned to become a collator

operator's helper. Chalker explained that this was the only other

job available.. In doing so, he took a cut in pay from $5.50 to $4.00

an hour, without incentive bonuses.’ Ford continued to work at

this job until September 20, when he was laid off, ostensibly for lack

of work. He has not worked at the plant since that time.

10

There is no contention that Ford was malingering. Chalker testified that

he felt that Ford was making his best effort to get the stitcher in operation.

= Inaddition to demoting Ford, Chalker then gave him a disciplinary write-

up, which he dated August 13. The write-up stated:

Lidell called me at my mother’s house on 8-3-85 and said that

he would come to work on... 8-12-85. He didn’t call in a day later. He

has had 2 verbal warnings before and 1 wk. suspension.

Action taken: 3rd verbal warning. Next action taken will be

suspension and after that termination.

24a

Salis det Cnihiil

In order for the Board to set aside the settlement agreement

of April 22, 1985, it is necessary for it to find that the conduct of the

Respondent following the execution of this agreement either vio-

lated specific und ings set forth therein, or that the Respondent

committed additional unfair labor es, which, in general

terms, it also agreed to avoid when it signed the settlement. As

discussed in more detail, infra, the Respondent failed utterly in its

obligation to offer the six discriminatees full and immediate rein-

statement to their former or substantially equivalent positions.

Moreover, the Respondent committed additional ir labor

practices which also vitiated any accom it might otherwise

enjoy from prosecution for unfair labor practices committed before

the settlement was signed. In order to treat the events in this record

in approximate chronological sequence, the analysis of the record

should begin with a consideration of the Respondent's pre-settle-

ment conduct.

1. Evidence of Animus

Quite apart from any specific violations of the Act alleged

and found in this case, the Respondent demonstrated clear evi-

dence of animus which should be considered in placing the events

described herein in proper focus. Among the documents in the

record is a large multi-colored brochure which the Respondent has

printed and circulated to advertise the capability of its new multi-

color press. The document is a humorous elaboration of Hall’s

tongue-in-cheek proposal for a new 51st state, to be carved out of

the existing state of Michigan and named Six-One-Six after the

telephone area code for Western Michigan. Entitled “A New State.

A New Start.”, the brochure features Hall as its centerfold, dressed

in regal attire and holding a sword and scepter. Also portrayed on

this page are two cartoon figures, dressed as attendants from an

insane asylum, who are chasing Hall and are making ready to

apprehend him and place him in a straightjacket. ide the

brochure is a large map of Michigan. The eastern half is portrayed

as a barren wasteland while the western half - State Six-One-Six - is

shownasa flourishing, verdant paradise. At the center of State Six-

One-Six is its capital, Kalamazoo. Access to Six-One-Six from

Eastern Michigan is limited to a drawbridge over a moat. This

feature is captioned:

Access to the State of Six-One-Six will be severely

_ restricted. Drawbridges will be raised to keep out

such undesirable elements as labor organizers, dead

25a

beats, carpetbagging politicians, and itinerant law-

yers.

When asked at the hearing if he was opposed to unions, Hall

replied: “Just in Six-One-Six.”

2. Independent Violations of Section

8(a)(1) of the Act

(a) When, in June of 1984, Hall told the Roots that a union

would never come into the plant and that he would close the doors

before letting a union come in, the Respondent violated Section

8(a)(1) of the Act.

(b)When, in late May or June of 1984, Hall told Lidell Ford

_that he would “close the g.d. doors” before he would permita union

tocome into the shop, the Respondent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the

Act.

(c)When, during the same period of time, Chalker told

Lidell Ford that he felt that Hall would close the plant before he

would permit it to become unionized, the Respondent violated

Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(d)When, on November 9, Chalker told Debra Schrock that

she did not have to sign up for Manpower if she did not talk union

in the shop, the Respondent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(e) When, on November 10, Antolovich told the mergers

that any further talk of unionization would cause the Respondent

to close the plant doors and lay off its employees permanently, the

Respondent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(f)When, on or about November 9, Antolovich solicited Pa-

tricia Ann Cole to commit perjury in order to support the

Respondent's case against Lidell Ford, the Respondent violated

Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(g)When, on November 14, Tap coercively interrogated

Garry Root in his office as to whether Root had heard about any

union activities, with whom he had discussed unionization, and

whether he had seen any union cards, the Respondent violated

Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(1)When, on or about November 14, Tap asked Edwards if

he had signed a union card and when he asked Edwards if he could

26a

duplicate a copy of a union card in Edwards’ possession, the

ndent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act. When, in the course

of the same conversation, Tap told Edwards that Garry Root had

lied about Root’s union activities “to save his ass”, the Respondent

further violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(i) When, in late November, Hall told Houston Ford that he

had fired Ford’s brother in part because he was trying to bring a

union into the plant, and when he told H. Ford that there was “no

way in hell” that a union would come into the plant, the Respon-

dent violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

(j) When, in August, 1985, Chalker told Lidell Ford in the

course of a phone conversation that there would be no reprisals

against Ford when he returned to the plant so long as Ford did his

work, kept his nose clean, and did not talk union, the Respondent

violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

3. The Discharges of the Roots, both Fords,

Olson, and Cannon in November, 1984

All six discriminatees named in the original Complaint and

made parties to the Settlement Agreement were union supporters.

Except for Lidell Ford, all had signed union cards before they were

discharged. Mrs. Root was the original contact between the

Respondent's employees and the Union. Ford had renewed this

contact the night before he was discharged. All were discharged by

an irascible and outspoken employer whose intense and impla-

pe anti-union sentiments have been itemized and documented

above.

All six were also known to the Respondent to be union

sympathizers. Mrs. Root made known her views in September

when, in the presence of Antolovich, she shouted angrily to other

employees that they needed a union because she couid obtain no

redress of a grievance concerning the maintenance of [sic] watch-

dog behind the plant. Lidell Ford warned mergers on the afternoon

of November 7 that they would forfeit their right to organize the

Middle Earth Graphics plantif they became Manpower employees.

His remarks were immediately rted to Hall In a private

conversation in the summer of 1984, Wayne Ford had made his pro-

union sympathies known to Antolovich. Moreover, his close

family relationship with Lidell certainly placed him under suspi-

cion that he harbored the same sentiments which his brother

essed. Cannon voiced pro-union sentiments on the merging

line in Antolovich’s presence and again at a meeting of employees

27a

attended by Hall and other supervisors. Olson and Garry Root

were close relatives of Karen Root and, like Ford’s brother, likely

candidates for Company suspicion that they engaged in union

activities. Garry Root was the subject of considerable interrogation

by Tap and also the subject of Tap’s statement to Edwards that G.

Root had lied about union activities “to save his ass.” Both Roots

and Olson wore union buttons to work the day they were dis-

charged. I have also credited a reported statement in the record by

Antolovich that the Company was maintaining a complete record

of who talked union at the plant. Certainly sucha record must have

contained the names of most, if not all, of the above-named employ-

ees since they did discuss unionization at the plant.

The discharge of Lidell Ford was a clumsy fabrication from

beginning to end. Apparently someone vandalized the collator on

November 6. The Respondent admits that anyone in the plant

could have damaged the machine. Having heard of Lidell Ford’s

union outburst the following day, he then became the likely candi-

date, and was the subject of an investigation designed not to find

out who actually damaged the machine but to a rap on Ford as

the guilty party. Following the procedure of “verdict first, trial

later”, three supervisors came to the conclusion that Ford was the

culprit. He was never asked if he was the one who damaged the

machine. Hall admitted lying to Ford during the discharge inter-

view by telling Ford that he had in his possession written state-

ments naming Ford as the guilty party. He had nosuch statements.

Serious efforts were taken to obtain such evidence in the days

following Ford’s discharge. One supervisor asked another em-

ployee to lie about seeing Ford tamper with thecollator. Two other

employees - whose stories were at wide variance - ultimately

signed a paper implicating, though not directly naming, Ford as the

one who damaged the machine. However, this statement was not

in Company hands until long after Ford was discharged. Like the

hearing examiner at the Michigan Employment Security Commis-

sion who heard this same defense during an unemployment com-

pensation case, I conclude that there is not a shred of evidence that

Ford damaged the Respondent's collator, either deliberately or

through negligence. Moreover, the behavior of the Respondent

makes it abundantly clear that it had no reasonable grounds to

believe that Ford had done so and was scurrying about to find an

evidentiary basis to support an action it had already taken. Later

on, Hall admitted to Ford’s brother that Ford’s union activities

played a partial role in his discharge. Coming as it did one day after

Ford had urged mergers to refrain from signing up for Manpower

so they could continue their organizing efforts, Ford’s discharge

was the direct result of Ford’s union activities, which were the only

28a

reason for his termination. By wert, at Ford the Respondent

violated Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act.

Thenext to go was Cannon. Like L. Ford, he was discharged

within twenty-four hours after making a pro-union statement in

the presence of supervisors. He Sper sopane publicly, in the pres-

ence of Hall and others, that the o Prospateshe ams. Sypewal

power into the plant was to stymie the organizing effort. The

asserted reason for Cannon’s discharge was errors made on the

merging line. There is no doubt that he made some errors the day

before in selecting collated of game sheets for merging into

a full orcompleted packet. The exact number of errors is unknown,

as is the magnitude of these errors in the context of the Respondent's

operation. Antolovich’s brother was guilty of similar errors on the

same day and this fact was brought to the attention of Cannon’s

supervisor when the discharge was announced. The only reply

made by D. Antolovich was that he would divide up the errors

found and attribute an equal number to the other merger. How-

ever, he did not exact the same penalty from his brother that he did

from Cannon.

Cannon had been an employee of the Respondent for nearly

six months. His virtues and faili gs as an employee were well

known. His discharge follows the familiar pattern of a marginal

employee whose deficiencies could be overlooked until he became

interested in union activities, at which time they were no longer

tolerable. V

ai KIC : . L iit

The decision of the Respondent in November, 1984, to

require all of its employees other than the “original ten” to sign up

for Manpower bears considerable scrutiny. Expressions in the

record about “signing up for Manpower” tend to obscure the fact

that all of the affected employees were in fact discharged by the

Respondent. Whether or not any such employee signed up for

Manpower after being discharged simply indicated whether or not

he or she continued to perform work in the Respondent's plant.

Those who opted for this route were no longer Middle Earth

Graphics employees any more than were those who left the plant.

Properly viewed, the question at issue is whether the decision of the

Respondent to discharge all except its long time employees was

discriminatorily motivated, or was it prompted by considerations

29a

falling within the scope of business judgment.

This decision was taken at the same point in time that union

activity began to surface at the Respondent's plant. Moreover, the

economic benefits and cost effectiveness of the move were only

casually considered by the Respondent before the decision was

taken, if, indeed, such matters were even considered at all. Thirdly,

at the beginning of May 1985, many of the employees who were

required to become Manpower employees were back on the

Middle Earth Graphics payroll. One of the reasons advanced by

supervisors for this contrary move was that it was costing the

Respondent more to maintain individuals on the Manpower pay-

roll than it was to employ them directly. Hall stated in his

testimony that the later move in 1985 was taken for reasons other

than cost effectiveness. A fourth consideration relates to some of

the reasons offered by Hall for making the move in the first place.

Beginning in May of 1984, Respondent had experienced a sudden

ion of its work force. Many of its new employees proved to

be unreliable and it was occasionally faced with shortages of

unskilled (and sometimes semi-skilled) help to get out Cadaco

orders. As Manpower representatives might well have pointed

out, this was a situation in which a supplier of temporary help

could be of assistance by providing, at short notice, additional

employees to supplement absences or vacancies in an existing

work force. Supplying temporary help for peak production periods

or to replace absentee employees is one of the principal functions

served by such companies. Hectic production problems fail to

answer the question why the Respondent not only asked Man-

power for additional help to get it through peak periods and to

compensate for absenteeism among its regular work force but also

placed some nineteen of its regular employees on the Manpower

payroll under circumstances which admittedly proved more costly

than simply keeping them on as Middle Earth employees and

supplementing their efforts from time to time with temporary

workers supplied by an outside firm.

The only excuse which lends any credence to the legitimacy

of this decision is Respondent's excuse that it was trying to provide

its regular employees with a source of income and employment if

and when the Cadaco job ran out. Actually, the evidence in the

record indicates that the Cadaco jobs continued to be produced in

large quantities throughout the fall and winter of 1984-85. More-

Over, it is also clear from the record that the Respondent’s own

income nearly doubled in 1985 over 1984. It had many commercial

accounts other than the Cadaco job and it continued to service those

accounts.

30a

The record herein discloses that, at the time a union organ-

izing drive surfaced, a bitterly antagonistic employer fired several

key in-house organizers and discharged the bulk of its new em-

loyees, seyret they could continue to earn a liveli-

ood in its t only as the employees of another em-

re be Six months later, whan it was faced with the prospect of

ging union sympathizers back to its payroll, it then transferred

back to the same payrolls admittedly for reasons other than cost

effectiveness, a number of former employees who had continued to

work for it throughout the winter without engaging in any union

activities. The of the second move - g a prospective

unit with employees of another employer power)

to offset the return of union sympathizers - is simply reverse spin

on the same tactic it followed in November. Respondent manipu-

lated its staff to prevent unionization in November by transferring

employees out and, faced witha contrary situation in May, took the

opposite tack for the same underlying reason.

As the General Counsel points out, the Respondent's origi-

nal intention was a use Manpower employees to replace its

merging employees. When evidence evolved that union sentiment

was spreading ae ey the plant, the Respondent enlarged

upon its original plan and discharged all of its bindery employees.

By subcontracting this work to Manpower to avoid the unioniza-

tion of its employees the Respondent violated Sections 8(a)(1) and

(3) of the Act. The General Counsel doe not seek a remedy for all

of the employees who were treated in this fashion. However, the

Roots, Wayne Ford, and Olson were seen as prominent in the union

effort and were discharged as a part of f this defensive scheme.

Accordingly, their discharges violated Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of

the Act. The fact that any or all of them could have applied for and

obtained jobs with Manpower is an irrelevancy which bears, if

anything, only upon the remedy in this case, not upon a determina-

tion of whether in fact a violation of the Act took place when they

were discharged.

4. Reinstatement and Post-Settlement Activity

Itis well settled that ee activity of a respondent

may be examined and relied upon in assessing its conduct follow-

ing the execution of the settlement agreement to determine if any

st-settlement conduct amounts to an unfair labor practice. La-

borers’ Local 185 (loseph’s Landscaping), 154 NLRB 1385; Lawyers

273 NLRBNo. 31. To warrant

setting aside a settlement agreement, the General Counsel must

establish that, following the execution of the agreement, the Re-

3la

spondent either failed to comply with its specific terms or that it

engaged in su ent unfair labor practices. If the General

Counsel is successful in establishing either or both of these facts,

then the settlement agreement may be treated as if it had not been

executed, and the original complaint, as well as any subsequent

complaint, may be prosecuted as if the settlement had never taken

place. Contrary to contentions made by the Respondent, the mere

execution of a settlement paper constitutes neither the with-

drawal nor the dismissal of a complaint and does not bar future

prosecution if the settlement is not honored.

The ee a on April 22, 1985, to offer to

the six named discriminatees and immediate reinstatement to

their former or to substantially equivalent employmentin the event

that their former jobs no longer existed. What constitutes a valid

offer of reinstatement has been the subject of extensive litigation

extending over a long period of time. In order to constitute a valid

offer of reinstatement, the offer of work must be specific, unequivo-

cal, and unconditional.” The work offered must entail similar

skills, similar pay, and similar working conditions. A mere in-

quiry, directed to an employee for the purpose of ascertaining

whether or not he is available for work, does not constitute an offer

of reinstatement.'* Asking employees to come back to work and

then telling them that business had not picked up sufficiently to

permit reinstatement is a contradiction that accounts to no offer of

reinstatement at all.* An uncommunicated offer of reinstatement

is no offer of reinstatement at all."* An employee has no obligation

to decide whether he wishes to return to work until he has received

a valid offer of reinstatement.'? Only when an offer of reinstate-

ment has been unequivocally rejected is an employer relieved of his

Information Control Corporation, 196 NLRB504;

etc, 208 NLRB 882; Standard Aggregate Corporation, 213 NLRB 154; Moro

Motors, Ltd, 216 NLRB 192.

7 Holiday Radio, Inc, 275 NLRB No. 184.

= Rea Trucking Company, 175 NLRB 520; National Business Forms, 189

NLRB 460.

os W.C. McQuaide, Inc., 220 NLRB 593, enf. in pertinent part 552 F.2d 519

(3rd Cir., 1977)

‘¢ LH. Rutter-Rex Manufacturing Co, 158 NLRB 1414.

17 ‘The Richard W., Kaase Company, 162 NLRB 1230.

32a

duty to reinstate an employee.” An offer of a few days work or an

offer of part-time work to a full-time employee does not constitute

an offer of reinstatement.’® An employee must be given a reason-

able time in which to accept a valid offer of reinstatement. Two and

four days, respectively, as well as three weeks, have been held not

to be a reasonable time to accept such an offer.” Conditioning re-

instatement on avoidance of future union activities is not a valid

offer." If an employer asserts an economic defense, such as un-

availability of jobs, to justify not making a valid offer of reinstate-

ment, the burden is upon it to establish such a defense by a

nderance of le evidence.” Tested by these principles,

the ndent herein has yet to make a valid offer of reinstate-

ment to any of the six discriminatees in this case, with the possible

exception of Karen Root.

Under certain circumstances, dn economic defense may

serve to toll the backpay liability of an employer who is under an

obligation to offer reinstatement to nd employees and does

not do so. However, no economic d short of plant closing

serves to erase the reinstatement obligation of an employer who is

required to offer reinstatement and has failed to do so. In this case,

the Respondent aay fr games with the six discriminatees in an

effort to strike them from its rolls ona permanent basis while giving

lip service to the obligation it incurred when it signed the April 22

settlement. The letter which the Respondent wrote to the six

discriminatees on May 9, offering reinstatement but no jobs, was

patent nonsense. Whether it tolled a backpay liability will be

discussed infra. As satisfaction of a reinstatement obligation it was

a nullity.

It should be noted that all six discriminatees were perma-

nent full-time employees. The definitions of permanent employee

and full-time employee are contained in the Respondent’s hand-

book, either explicitly or by necessary inference. The handbook

vi Leo Rosenblum, d/b/a/ Crown Handbag of California, etc,, 137 NLRB

1162. é

- Flite Chief, Inc, 258 NLRB 1124; C.S. McCrossan, Inc., 272 NLRB 414;

Seyforth Roofing Co. of Alabama, Inc., 263 NLRB 368.

ps Matlock Truck Body and Trailer Corp, 248 NLRB 461; Harowe Servo

Controls, Inc., 250 NLRB 958; Browning Industries, Inc. 213 NLRB 269.

S Standard Aggregate Corporation, supra.

” W.C. McQuaide, Inc, 237NLRB 177

33a

defines probationary employee as one who has worked more than

three months. By implication anyone who had served more than

three months was no longer in this status. If he was also a full-time

em a le for certain stated company benefits. All

of tees had worked at least five months at the — of

their respective discharges and were eligible for company ts.

A full-time employee is defined in booklet 1s om who

works an average of 36 hours a week or more. Thisd ion fitted

all of the discriminatees, many of whom were complaining because

they had been working 50 or 60 hours a week. the Respon-

dent began referring to them and to others similarly situated as

part-time employees, it was not only violating common usage in

the English language but the definition contained in its handbook.

The offer of a few days’ work to Karen Root late in June,

1985, did not constitute reinstatement to her former or substantially

equivalent employment. It was only an offer of a few days’ work,

not permanent employment. Her recall late in July was arguably

reinstatement toa permanent position. However, she worked only

six more weeks before she was laid off again. She has not been

recalled since that layoff. When she was laid off again in Septem-

ber, Plant Manager Harris told her that the layoff would be short,

that he was — operate ona skeleton crew fora week, and that

she would be called back in order of seniority. In fact, throughout

the fall of 1985, others with less seniority than Mrs. Root continued

to work along with employees who were brought in from time to

time from various temporary services. Despite the fact that the

Respondent has continued to prosper and to produce substantial

numbers of Cadaco games along with its regular commercial work,

Mrs. Root has not been working. I conclude that the layoff of Karen

Root on September 20 was discriminatorily motivated, as was her

discharge ten months earlier, and that by laying her off and failin

. recall her, the Respondent herein violated Sections 8(a)(1) and (3

of the Act.

Wayne Ford was recalled to work for two or three days late

in June. Since it was a recall to temporary work, it did not satisfy

the Respondent's reinstatement obligation. Moreover, the letter

which he received at that time giving him only a day’s notice to

report was not sufficient to satisfy a reinstatement obligation,

notwithstanding the fact that Ford was able to respond to it.

In early August, W. Ford called the plant and asked for

work. He was told there was none available. However, he was told

that he would have to maintain a telephone in order to be eligible

for recall. This instruction was confirmed by a letter which was

34a

sent the next day. Placing such a condition upon Ford’s right of

reinstatement violated the terms of the settlement a ent as

well as settled Board law. The call to W. Ford at 3: ee

morning for the asserted purpose of ha him report for two or

three days’ camaaetabae cotosmeneaee likewise is not a valid

offer of reinstatement. Inasmuch as never told Ford to

or even transmitted such a message through a third person,

qoadhwaseatenaiir eae. Rh wassnabdhyenest of hanssement.

Accordingly, I conclude that the Respondent failed utterly in its

obligation to offer W. Ford reinstatement to his former or substan-

equivalent work. Moreover, the ent was not satis-

fied merely to leave W. Ford in the position of an unreinstated

employee. When he did not report at 7:30 a.m. in response to an

offer which he did not receive, either actually or technically, it

discharged him in violation of Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act.

Late in June, Csiszar spoke with Garry Rootand offered him

what was essentially part-time employment of a temporary nature.

The offer failed to give Root a reasonable opportunity to conclude

his present employment and report for work. The excuse used with

respect to him as well as other employees, namely that the Respon-

dent could not give much advance notice or written notice to report

to work because of the sporadic nature of its operation, simply

illustrates that the offers which it was making to the six discrimi-

natees were not bona fide offers of permanent employment but

were merely attempts to remove the discriminatees from its rolls

while offering colorable compliance with the settlement agree-

ment. I conclude that the overture made to Garry Root was not a

bona fide offer of reinstatement and that the Respondent has failed

to comply with the terms of the settlement agreement with respect

to his employment.

I have concluded that, as a matter of fact, Olson was never

sent a letter of any sort which offered him emplo t of any kind.

Moreover, Chalker testified that the work available for Olson when

the disputed letter was sent was of two or three days’ duration.

Accordingly, Olson was never given a bona fide offer of reinstate-

ment, as required by the terms of the settlement agreement.

Hall's letter to Cannon, dated June 26, instructing him to

report for work no later than June 28, was insufficient notice to

constitute a valid offer of reinstatement. The fact that the letter did

not reach Cannon until several days after June 28 merely com-

pounds the failure of the Respondent to honor its contractual

commitment. When Cannon responded to the letter, the manage-

ment of the Respondent refused to speak to him, thus demonstrat-

35a

ing that the Respondent was simply trying to avoid bringing him

back to work while laying a paper trail suggesting compliance with

the settlement.

As noted above, a valid offer of reinstatement must be made

to the same position or to a substantially equivalent one. In the case

of Lidell Ford, he was brought back to work on August 19 at a job

which required the exercise of substantially greater skill than the

one which he vacated when he was The Respondent

had reason to believe that Ford was not capable of performing the

tasks to which he was assigned on August 19 because he had never

performed that job before. As anticipated, Ford was not up to

operating the collator in the stitcher mode nor was he able to set it

up forstitching. The reason he was assigned this was obvious. The

Respondent wanted to embarrass Ford and to put him ina position

in which he would either quit or takea lower paying job. Ford chose

the latter route. Chalker then decided to rub it in by giving him a

reprimand for reporting late for work when in fact he was told in

writing that he had until August 19 to report. The reprimand recites

allegations which were factually false and does so in such a manner

which laid a groundwork for a discharge for cause. The reason for

both of these moves was the Respondent's abiding hostility to

unionization and to Ford, whom it continued to regard as a princi-

pal cause of the union effort in its plant. The August 19 does

not amount to reinstatement and the reprimand, motivated as it

was by anti-union considerations, violated Section 8(a)(1) of the

Act.

Since the Respondent has yet to offer Ford a reinstatement

which comports with its obligations under the April 22 settlement

agreement or under the Act, that obligation remains in order to

remedy the unfair labor practice which it committed on November

8, 1984. During August and September, Ford continued to promote

the union cause actively. On September 20, 1985, he was laid off

along with Karen Root. As in the case of Karen Root, Ford was told

at this time that the layoff was prompted by lack of work and that

he would be called back in order of seniority when work again

became available. Respondent has not recalled Ford but continued

to employ individuals with less seniority, including persons re-

ferred by temporary employment services, throughout the fall of

1985. During this period of time, it has continued to performa large

amount of work both for Cadaco and for its other customers. As in

the case of Karen Root, I conclude that this layoff was discrimina-

torily motivated and, as such, violated Sections 8(a)(1) and (3) of the

Act.

The second Complaint all that certain of the

Respondent's actions violated Section 4) of the Act. There is no

doubt that the six discriminatees herein and others filed

and that certain unlawful acts were committed by the Respondent

following the filing of those charges. However, there is some doubt

that the filing of added anything but context to the actions

taken by the ent, ie., but for the filing of the charges, the

settlement agreement could never have taken place. However,

ent’s underlying motive was, and remained, its impla-

cab ns ge to unionization and to those who engaged in

union ities. The fact that these individuals sought redress with

the Board added nothing to the Respondent's determination to get

rid of them. Accordingly, I would so much of the Consoli-

dated Complaint that & eges that the Respondent violated Section

8(a)(4) of the Act.

eet the foregoing findings of fact and upon the entire

record in considered as a whole, I make the following:

II. Conclusions of Law

1. Respondent Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., is now,

and at all times material herein has been, an employer engaged in

commerce within the meaning of Sections 2(2), 2(6), and 2(7) of the

Act.

2. United Paperworkers International Union, AFL-

CIO-CLC, isa labor organization within the meaning of Section 2(5)

of the Act.

3. By di ing James Cannon, Jr., Lidell Ford, Jr.,

Wayne Ford, Karen Root, Wayne Root, and Clark Olson

because of their union sympathies and activities, and by subcon-

tracting work to another employer and discharging employees in

order to prevent the unionization of the plant, the Respondent

herein violated Section 8(a)(3) of the Act.

4. By the acts and conduct set forth in Conclusion of

Law Number 3; by threatening employees that the Respondent

would close the plant if it became unionized; by coercively interro-

gating employees concerning their union activities and the union

37a

activities of other employees, by telling an employee that she

would not be discharged if she did not talk union in the plant; by

soliciting an employee to commit perjury in order to support the

Respondent’s version of a discharge; by poses, ben ere ogee that

another employee lied to prevent reprisals from

him for his union activities; by telling an employee that it ha fired

another employee because of his union activities, by tellin

employee that no reprisals would be taken against him if he bet

talk about the union; and by issuing a reprimand against an

employee in reprisal for union activities and for the purpose of

laying the groundwork for his eventual discharge, the Respondent

herein violated Section 8(a)(1) of the Act.

5. The aforesaid unfair labor practices have a close,

intimate, substantial, and adverse impact upon the free flow of

commerce within the meaning of Sections 2(6) and 2(7) of the Act.

Il. Remedy

Having found that the Respondent herein has committed

certain unfair labor practices, I will recommend that it be ordered

to cease and desist therefrom and to take other actions designed to

effectuate the purposes and policies of the Act. Since the violations

of the Act found herein are repeated and pervasive, and since they

demonstrate an attitude on the part of this Respondent to behave in

complete disregard of the rights of its employees, I will recommend

to the Board a so-called broad 8(a)(1) remedy designed to suppress

— and all violations of that Section of the Act. Hickmott Foods,

Inc., 242 NLRB 1357. I will also recommend that the Respondent be

required to offer to James Cannon, Jr., Lidell Ford, Jr., Wayne Ford,

Karen Root, Garry Wayne Root, and Clark Olson full and immedi-

ate reinstatement to their former or substantially equi ivalent posi-

tions, without prejudice to their seniority or to aire hts which

they previously enjoyed, and that they be made whole for any loss

of pay or benefits which they may have sustained by reason of the

discriminations + apr ate against them, to be computed in accor-

dance with the Woolworth formula,” with interest thereon at the

adjusted prime rate used by the Internal Revenue Service for the

computation of tax payments. Olympic Medical Corporation, 250

NLRB 246; Isis Plumbing & Heating Company, 138 NLRB 716. I

will recommend that the Respondent be required to expunge from

its records any reference to the unlawful discharges or unlawful

disciplinary warnings relating to the discriminatees herein, and

23 F.W. Woolworth Co., 90 NLRB 289.

38a

that it notify these employees in writing that such acts have been

done and that their unlawful discharges and unlawful discipline

will not be used as a basis for future disciplinary actions against

them. I will also recommend that the Respondent be required to

post the usual notice, advising its employees of their rights and of

the results of this case.

Upon the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law,

upon the entire record herein considered as a whole, and pursuant

to Section 10 (c) of the Act, I make the following recommended:

ORDER

Respondent Middle Earth Graphics, Inc., and its officers,

agents, supervisors, successors, and assigns, shall:

1. Cease and desist from:

(a) Coercively interrogating employees concerning

their union activities and the union activities of other employees.

(b)Threatening to close the plant if the employees

become unionized.

(c) Telling employees that they will not be dis-

charged or suggesting that reprisals will not be taken against them

so long as they refrain from talking about the union.

(d) Soliciting employees to commit perjury in order

to support the Respondent's version of a discharge.

(e) Telling employees that other employees lied to

prevent reprisals from being taken against them for their union

activities.

(f) Telling employees that it had fired another em-

ployee because of his union activities.

(g) Issuing reprimands against employees in repri-

sal for their union activities or for the purpose of laying the ground-

work for an eventual discriminatory discharge.

- If no exceptions are filed as provided by Sec. 102.46 of the Board’s Rules

and Regulations, the findings, conclusions, and recommended Order shall, as pro-

vided in Sec. 102.48 of the Rules, be adopted by the Board andall objections to them

shall be deemed waived for all purposes.

39a

(h) Discouraging membership in and activities on

behalf of United Paperworkers International Union, AFL-CIO-

CLC, or any other labor organization, by discharging employees,

contracting out their work, or otherwise discriminating against

them in their hire or tenure or in their terms and conditions of

employment.

(i) By any other means or in any other manner inter-

fering with, restraining, or coercing employees in the exercise of

rights guaranteed to them by Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative actions designed

to effectuate the purposes and policies of the Act:

(a) Offer to James Cannon, Jr., Lidell Ford, Jr., Wayne

Ford, Karen Root, Clark Olson, and Garry Wayne Root full and im-

mediate reinstatement to their former positions, or in the event that

such positions no longer exist, to substantially equivalent posi-

tions, without prejudice to their seniority or to other rights which

they formerly enjoyed, and make them whole for any loss of pay or

benefits which they may have suffered by reason of the discrimina-

tions found herein, in the manner described above in the Section

entitled “Remedy.”

(b) Expunge from its personnel records any refer-

ence to the discriminatory discharges of the above-named employ-

ees and the unlawful disciplinary warning given to Lidell Ford, Jr.,

and notify each employee in writing that these discharges and

warning will be used as a basis for future discipline against them.

(c) Post at its Kalamazoo, Michigan, plant copies of

the attached notice marked “Appendix.” oy or of the Appendix,

to be furnished to the meatless ani by the ional Director for

Region 7 and signed by a representative of the epeadent shall be

posted by the Respondent immediately upon receipt thereof, and

shall be maintained by it for a period of 60 consecutive days

thereafter, in conspicuous places, pny tm piaces mere +a

tices to employees are customarily posted nable steps

be taken to insure that such wa fg are not altered, ese ga or

covered by any other material.

™ If this Order is enforced by a Judgment of a United States Court of

Appeals, the words in the notice reading “POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NA-

TIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD” shall read “POSTED PURSUANT TOA

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITEDSTATES COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN

ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

40a

(d) Preserve and, upon request, make available to

the Board orits agents for examination and copying, all payroll and

other records necessary to analyze the amounts of backpay due

under the terms of this Order.

(e) Notify the Regional Director for Region 7, in

writing, within 20 days from the receipt of this Decision what steps

it has taken to comply herewith.

Insofar as the Consolidated Complaint herein alleges mat-

ters not found to be violative of the Act, the said Consolidated

Complaint is hereby dismissed. ,

Dated, Washington, D.C. June 6, 1986

Walter H. Maloney, Jr.

Administrative Law Judge

4la

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Posted by Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

An Agency of the United States Government

MIDDLE EARTH GRAPHICS, INC., IS POSTING THIS

NOTICE TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF

AN ORDER OF THE NATIONALLABORRELATIONS

BOARD. THIS ORDER WAS ISSUED AFTER A HEAR-

ING BEFORE AN ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGEIN

WHICH WE WERE FOUND TO HAVE VIOLATED

CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS ACT.

WE WILL NOT coercively interrogate our employees concerning

their union activities or the union activities of other employees.

WE WILL NOT threaten to close the plant if the employees become

unionized.

WE WILL NOT suggest to employees that they will not be dis-

charged so long as they refrain from talking about the union.

WE WILL NOT solicit employees to commit perjury in order to

support our version of a discharge.

WE WILL NOT tell employees that other employees lied in order

to prevent reprisals from being taken against them for their union

activities.

WE WILLNOT issue reprimands against employees in reprisal for

their union activities or for the purpose of laying the groundwork

for an eventual discriminatory discharge.

WE WILL NOT discourage membership in or activities on behalf of

United Paperworkers International Union, AFL-CIO-CLC, or any

other labor organization, by discharging employees, contracting

out their work, or otherwise discriminating against them in their

hire or tenure or in their terms and conditions of employment.

WE WILL NOT by any other means or in any other manner

interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in the exercise of rights

guaranteed to them by Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL offer full and immediate reinstatement to JAMES

42a

CANNON, JR., LIDELL FORD, JR., WAYNE FORD, KAREN ROOT,

CLARK OLSON, and GARRY WAYNE ROOT to their former or

substantially equivalent employment, and WE WILL make them

whole for any loss of pay or benefits which they may have suffered

by reason of the discriminations practiced against them, with

interest.

2

WE WILL expunge from our personnel records any reference to the

discharges of the above-named individuals and the unlawful dis-

ciplinary warning given to LIDELL FORD, JR., and we will inform

these individuals in writing that the di and warning will

not be used against them in the future as the basis for disciplinary

action.

(Employer)

Dated

(Representative)(Title)

This is an official notice and must not be defaced by anyone.

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive days from the

date of posting and must not be altered, defaced, or covered by any

other material. Any questions concerning this notice of compliance

with its provisions may be directed to the Board’s Office, Patrick V.

McNamara Federal Building, 477 Michigan Avenue - Room 300,

Detroit, Michigan, 48226, telephone (313) 226-3244.

43a

APPENDIX E

HOUSE REPORT NO. 245 ON H.R. 3020, APRIL 11, 1947

(Legis. History, VoL I, 292, 299, 324)

FREE SPEECH

Although the old Labor Board protests it does not limit

free speech, it is apparent from decisions of the Board itself that what

persons say in the exercise of their right of free speech has been used

against them. The bill provides that the new Board is prohibited from

using as evidence against an employer, an employee, or a union any

statement that by its own terms does not threaten force or economic

reprisal.

esses

Section 8(d)(1)}—This guarantees free speech to em-

ployers, to employees, and to unions. Although the Labor Board says

it does not limit free speech, its decisions show that it uses against

people what the Constitution says they can say freely. Thus, if an

employer criticizes a union, and later a foreman discharges a union

official for gross misconduct, the Board may say that the official’s

misconduct warranted his being discharged, but “infer,” from what

the employer said, perhaps long before, that the discharge was for

union activity, and reinstate the official with back pay. It has similarly

abused the right of free speech in abolishing and penalizing unions of

which it disapproved but which workers wished as their bargaining

agents. The bill corrects this, providing that nothing that anyone says

shall constitute or be evidence of an unfair labor practice unless it, by

its Own express terms, threatens force or economic reprisal. This

means that a statement may not be used against the person making it

unless it, standing alone, is unfair within the express terms of sections

7 and 8 of the amended act.

HOUSE MINORITY REPORT NO. 245 ON H. R. 3020,

(April 12, 1947)

(Legis. History, Vol. I, 355, 375-76)

10. Free Speech

Section 8(d)(1) provides that it shall not constitute

evidence of an unfair labor practice to express “any views, arguments,

or opinions” in written, printed, or visual form if the expression by its

own terms does not threaten force or economic reprisal.

The right to express an opinion is a constitutional one.

In N.L.R.B. v. Virginia Electric & Power Co. (314 U.S. 469), and N.L.R.B.

v. American Tube Bending Co. (134 F.2d 993 (C.C.A.2), certiorari denied

320 U.S. 768), it was held thatthe first amendment protectsan employer's

expressions of noncoercive opinion to his employees respecting union

organization.

These decisions have guided the present Board. in its

own most recent case on the subject, Matter of Bausch and Lomb Optical

Company (72 N.L.R.B. No. 21) the Board held that an employer's

distribution to his employees of an extremely vigorous antiunion

pamphlet, entitled “Let’s Face the Facts,” was not an unfair labor

practice. The Board said:

The pamphlet on its face contains no coercive state-

ments, but consists essentially of statements dispar-

aging unions and of expressions of opinion as to the

disadvantages of labor organization— statements

which standing alone, are protected by the constitu-

tional guaranty of free speech. Nor are the state-

ments coercive when evaluated in the context in

which they were made.

But these provisions go far beyond mere protection of an admitted

constitutional right. By saying that statements are not to be considered

as evidence, they insist that the Board and the courts close their eyes

to the plain implications of speech and disregard clear and probative

evidence. In no field of the law are a man’s statements excluded as

evidence of an illegal intention. Here, again, a deep-seated intention

to protect employers in the commission of unfair labor practices is

evident. Here, again, the laudable purpose of protecting free speech

cloaks an evil design to encourage unfair labor practices by employers.

45a

SENATE REPORT NO. 105 ON S. 1126, APRIL 17, 1947

(Legis. History, Vol. I, 407, 429-30)

Section 8(c): Another amendment to this section would

insure both to employers and labor organizations full freedom to

express their views to employees on labor matters, refrain from threats

of violence, intimation of economic reprisal, or offers of benefit. The

Supreme Court in Thomas v. Collins (323 U.S. 516) held, contrary to

some earlier decisions of the Labor Board, that the Constitution

guarantees freedom of speech on either side in labor controversies and

approved the doctrine of the American Tube Bending case (134 F. 2d

993). The Board has placed a limited construction upon these deci-

sions by holding such speeches by employers to be coercive if the

employer was found guilty of some other unfair labor practice, even

though severable or unrelated (Monumental Life Insurance, 69 N.L.R.B.

247) or if the speech was made in the plant on working time (Clark

Brothers, 70 N.L.R.B. 60). The committee believes these decisions to be

too restrictive and, in this section, provides that if, under all the

circumstances, there is neither an expressed or implied threat of

reprisal, force, or offer of benefit, the Board shall not predicate any

finding of unfair labor practice upon the statement. The Board, of

course, will not be precluded from considering such statements as

evidence.

REMARKS OF SENATOR MORSE

Congressional Record, Senate - May 2, 1947

(p.4555) (Legis. History, Vol. II, 1193-94)

I certainly hope, Mr. President, that we have not

reached the point where it is going to be deemed desirable to have the

National Labor Relations Board take jurisdiction of complaints as to —

whether a union’s statements at the time of organization are true or

false. We certainly do not want to make the National Labor Relations

Board the guardian, as it were, of the intellectual integrity, at the time

of an organizational drive, of the statements made by either labor or

employers. |

In a case involving the validity of a Board order the

Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that an employer's statement did

not become coercive because it was inaccurate. The court found,

contrary to the Board, that the employer was justified in believing and

stating that the union had been responsible for a protest to a State

agency, which resulted in the agency’s rescinding its approval of

overtime. The court said:

The right of free speech does not depend upon the

accuracy of the ideas expressed. (N.L.R.B. v. Brown-

Brockmeyer Co., 143 F. (2d) 537, at 542.)

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals has correctly

stated that—

The trend ofjudicial decision since the Virginia Power

Co. case supports the view that an employer may

disseminate facts within the area of dispute, may

even express his opinion—

Which he certainly should be allowed to do—

on the merits of the controversy even though it in-

volves labor organizations, may indicate a prefer-

ence for individual dealings with employees, may

state his policy with reference to labor matters, and

may express hostility to a union or its representa-

tives. (N.L.R.B. v. ].L. Brandeis & Son. 145 F. (2d) 556,

564.)

Those are not my words, Mr. President. Those are the

words of the Circuit Court of Appeals, as found in the Brandeis & Son

case.

The court went further, and in overruling the Board’s

contention that “the repetition and vehemence of statement” rendered

the employer's statements coercive, stated:

47a

Certainly effectiveness of statement is not a test of its

constitutionality; neither is accuracy of the views

expressed ** * One may descend to villification, false

statement, or exaggeration and still be protected in

his right of free speech. (Id. p., 566.)

REMARKS OF SENATOR McCLELLAN,

Congressional Record, Senate - May 9, 1947 (p. 5094-95)

(Legis. History, Volume IIL, 1432-33)

MR.McCLELLAN. Mr. President, I offer an amend-

ment which I send to the desk and ask to have stated.

THE PRESIDING OFFICER. The Clerk will state the

amendment.

. THE CHIEFCLERK. On page 16, at the end of line 20,

it is proposed to strike out the period and insert a colon and the

following: “Provided, That no language or provision of this section is

intended to nor shall it be construed or administered so as to abridge

or interfere with the right of either employers or employees to freedom

of speech as guaranteed by the first amendment to the Constitution of

the United States.”

Mr. McCLELLAN. Mr. President, the purpose of the

amendment is to attempt to say what I think every Member of

Congress should truly mean, and that is no contravention of the

Constitution. This amendment deals with one of the fundamentals of

liberty, that is, freedom of speech.

In the bill that has passed the House, as well as in the

Senate committee bill, the one pending before us, an effort has been

made more or less to limit and define what restrictions shall be placed

on freedom of expression as between employers and employees, what

speech should be regarded as an unfair labor practice. The House bill

provides that it will not be an unfair labor practice to express “any

views, argument, or opinion, or the dissemination thereof, whether in

written, printed, graphic, or visual form, if it does not by its own terms

threaten force or economic reprisal.”

In other words, under the terms of the House text,

unless the written or spoken words, by its terms, carry a threat of force

or economic reprisal, then it would not constitute an unfair labor

practice.

Under the Senate committee bill it is provided that—

The Board shall not base any finding of unfair-labor

practice upon any statement of views or arguments,

either written or oral, if such statement contains

under all the circumstances no threat, express or im-

plied, of reprisal or force, or offer, express or implied

of benefit.

I am concerned about that language, Mr. President. I

would like to see it strengthened. The language of the present law, the

49a

National Labor Relations Act, has been so distorted by court decisions

and by administrative decisions that freedom of speech has definitely

been abridged and denie

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Middle Earth Graphics, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board · 493 U.S. 1043 | Frix