Petition for Writ of Certiorari — General Motors Corp. v. Glenn

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

88-2 63 FILED

AUG 12 1988

No. | YOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

t CLERK

Iu the Suprenw Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

GENERAL MoToRS CORPORATION, PETITIONER

V.

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS AND

ROBBIE NUGENT, RESPONDENTS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES A. POWELL, III KENNETH S. GELLER *

BARRY V. FREDERICK STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO

Powell, Tally & JAMES D. HOLZHAUER

Frederick Mayer, Brown & Platt

Suite 700

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

New South Federal Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20006

21 First Avenue North (202) 463-2000

Birmingham, AL 35203

(205) 324-4996

DAVID M. DAVIS

MARK R. FLORA

General Motors Corporation

Office of General Counsel

8031 West Grand Boulevard

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 556-5000 * Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Plaintiffs, who are female employees of General Motors

Corporation (“GM”), sued GM under the Equal Pay Act,

claiming that they were paid less than their male counter-

parts for doing the same work. GM demonstrated that

the pay differentials were due to its practice of retaining

the pay level of employees who transfer from hourly-wage

jobs to lower-paying salaried positions within the com-

pany. The court of appeals held that this practice was

not based on a “factor other than sex” under the Act, 29

U.S.C. § 206(d).

The questions presented are:

1. Whether an employer’s practice of maintaining the

pay level of employees who transfer between jobs in a

company is a practice lawfully based on a “factor other

than sex” under the Equal Pay Act.

2. Whether an employer’s utilization of such a prac-

tice may be characterized as a “willful” violation when

the employer relied on a widely-accepted interpretation

of the Equal Pay Act subsequently rejected by the court

of appeals.

3. Whether an employer’s utilization of such a prac-

tice may be characterized as “bad faith” conduct when

the employer’s representatives were found by the district

court to have acted in the “good faith belief” that they

were adhering to lawful company policy.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 28.1 STATEMENT

The caption includes all of the parties to the proceed-

ing.

The affiliates and subsidiaries of General Motors Cor-

poration, other than wholly-owned subsidiaries, are listed

in App. G, infra, 57a-58a.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

EEE AT eS a 1

I I RE A a 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................... 2

ee SS 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............ 8

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Construction Of The

Equal Pay Act Is Incorrect And Conflicts With

The Decisions Of This Court And Of Other

EEE RR Se eR 9

A. The court of appeals erred in rejecting

GM’s “factor other than sex” defense ........... 9

B. The court of appeals’ application of a three-

year statute of limitations conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Richland Shoe ................. 19

C. The court of appeals’ decision that plaintiffs

were entitled to double damages conflicts

with this Court’s decision in Richland Shoe.. 22

Il. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Threatens To

Disrupt The Settled Practice Of —

Throughout The Country . Ss Eo 23

dah che etrintibnstenenvacicesttcamenatunsenantsoansneseni 26

a ia csssash eeersepseenticsnaeonntsoonenans la

I ala desaip cneneinadicnectietieatuiciteesestanencsanesinnnts 20a

|

EEE EE Se ee ee ine ee

EE 52a

ad cas cechccedisnnicoetcsncnens .... 57a

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Adams v. University of Washington, 106 Wash.

ei Be, £ A & oy. — Raeceeee Bat Ee 16, 26

Blocker v. AT & T Technology Systems, 666 F.

ee, SE Cee ls PE cee 21, 26

Coleman Vv. Jiffy June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139

(5th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948

RIIIII ich scnetacsechtncancceareatin babtbioaadeeanse Landaa 6, 8, 19, 20

Corning Glass Works vy. Brennan, 417 U.S. 128

ERD IMIR. SGN NOLS OES Le OE 9,14

Coston Vv. Plitt Theatres, Inc., 831 F.2d 1321 (7th

Cir. 1987), vacated and remanded, 108 S. Ct.

| PNR rn SEM ARC AN erent Dear ee ED 22

County of Washington vy. Gunther, 452 U.S. 161

RCE Ra se 2 AI 11

Covington v. Southern Illinois University, 816 F.2d

317 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 146

SINED snnctickdcsniditnusdatdecbidd tte he OS 7, 13, 14

Derouin vy. Louis Allis Div., 618 F. Supp. 221

(E.D. Wis. 1984) _...... spccdeiptebbhasdipiainsehieniplddan ieciets 16

EEOC vy. Aetna Ins. Co., 616 F.2d 719 (4th Cir.

tec NTL NITE LE ite a Ar TMS RAE OTE 17, 18

EEOC v. Samedan Oil Corp., 29 Empl. Prac. Dec.

(CCH) 32,901 (E.D. Okla. 1982). 16

Groussman Vv. Respiratory Home Care, Inc., 40

Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 122 (C.D. Cal.

RD sthstsdentd cack ee 16

Grove v. Frostburg Nat’l Bank, 549 F. Supp. 922

Oe perenne anor tes ee SN ee 16

Kouba v. Allstate Ins. Co., 691 F.2d 873 (9th Cir.

RNAP CONN me in. Naa ores i ee 17

Mangiapane vy. Adams, 20 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas.

(BNA) 699 (D.D.C. 1979), affirmed, 24 Empl.

Prac. Dec. (CCH) { 31,277 (D.C. Cir. 1980)... . 16, 26

Marshall v. Liggett & Myers, Inc., 22 Empl. Prac.

Dec. (CCH) § 30,591 (M.D.N.C. 1979), affirmed

in part and vacated in part on other grounds,

690 F.2d 1072 (4th Cir. 1982)... 16, 26

McLaughlin v. Richland Shoe Co., 108 S. Ct. 1677

CE caetiikckctaciiinkdnidnue ete ae 19, 20, 21, 22, 23

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d

211 (5th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1115

(2GTD) .2.....0.-..seocesnsanascusensesnnsnsscnscnsssssesssscseneasssnsonse 24

Rengers v. WCLR Radio Station, 825 F.2d 160

(7th Cir. 1987), vacated and remanded, 198

Gh, Ch. 1000 CROIB) aa nnnnnncncccrcncnncnsnsics sss sascscsncssssernesees 22

Trans World Airlines v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111

(DBD) anccccecensccenercnicnsnesnsnscsescnsnnnanasnstanaaanasead 6, 8, 19, 20, 22

United States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d

GER (BA Cle. 1971) .........200c0.snncesnosrcnsencoccecasesscsasness 25

United States v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 479 F.2d

DBE CBM Cie, DTD) ics ncccscanncncecccncescscsscccccenssscnnessene 25

Statutes and regulation:

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et

COB. ccasantsnansnnnsonncentnmenecnssoenananinnnamnenannnanietenteTinnennean 11

Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d) ...............-.....-.-. passim

Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §216(b).... 6, 22

Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947:

ID ver iricssnciccanicadcacesesacnaecesmonlonedaetens 6, 19

EI idnisissiiiciniteecd onithanbpscinamecncuntonencestonal 6, 7, 22

ae ae I cccnnsneinccsinntccpettnncigmseenspraancyenians 12, 24

Miscellaneous:

D. Belcher & T. Atchison, Compensation Admin-

I | ID iconic nesteesscndbnienans 25

109 Cong. Rec. (1963) :

RE OE eae NIRS KA eS BD oP YD 10, 15

te 11, 15

i TEED saisoissosiseantihataenibiemasiadshelnasiahiaaditsiiddiabelisdalbesia 11

E.E.0.C. Conciliation Standards § 632.6 (1973),

reprinted in 2 EEOC Comp. Man. (BNA)

IE CE o ehssanntin tac aatintateenatadnniensed.: 25

8 Employment Coordinator (Research Inst. Am.)

ET I edbiiiicaeecacinstice Mactan eiceinntise stirs 25

H.R. Rep. No. 309, 88th Conze., Ist Sess. (1963)... 10, 12

R. Henderson, Compensation Management: Re-

warding Performance (2d ed. 1979)... 25

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Hulme & Bevan, The Blue Collar Worker Goes on

Salary, 52 Harv. Bus. Rev. 104 (1975)...

1 Moody's Industrial Manual (1987)

T. Patten, Pay: Employee Compensation and In-

centive Plans (1977) SS are

Reed & Kroll, Red-Circle Employees: A Wage

Seale Dilemma, 66 Personnel Journal 92 (Feb.

1987) |

S. Rep. No. 176, 88th Cong., Ist Sess. (1963)...

R. Sibson, Compensation (American Management

Sees: TH eid

Wallace, Industrial Relations in a Job-Loss En-

vironment, 31 Lab. L. J. 473 (1980)

ses @

o &

ome ete a ee

Ce em ee Oe .

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1988

No.

GENERAL MoTorS CORPORATION, PETITIONER

v.

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS AND

ROBBIE NUGENT, RESPONDENTS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

General Motors Corporation petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, la-

19a) is reported at 841 F.2d 1567. The initial opinion

of the district court (App., infra, 20a-34a) and its sub-

sequent opinion on motion for attorneys’ fees (App., in-

fra, 35a-49a) are reported at 658 F. Supp. 918.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

April 15, 1988 ‘App., infra, 50a-5la)}. Pursuant to an

order issued by Justice Kennedy, the time for filing a pe-

tition for a writ of certiorari was extended to and in-

2

cluding August 13, 1988 (App., infra, 52a). The juris-

diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254

(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d), Section 16(b)

of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. § 216(b),

and Sections 6(a) and 11 of the Portal-to-Portal Act of

1947, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §§ 255(a) and 260, are set

forth at App., infra, 53a-56a.

STATEMENT

This case involves the common employment practice of

allowing employees who transfer from a higher-paying

job to a lower-paying job within the same company to

retain the level of pay they received in their former job.

Employers follow this practice, often called “rate (or

wage) retes?.on” or “income maintenance,” for a variety

of legitimate reasons: to encourage transfers (particu-

larly to supervisory or salaried positions), to maintain

employee morale, to enable minority employees to move

into job lines with greater promotional opportunities, to

develop a more flexible work force with a greater variety

of skills, to retain skilled employees who may be needed

in the future, to ease the burden on employees during

times of economic contraction, and to accommodate work-

ers who are no longer able to perform their previous jobs.

General Motors Corporation (“GM”) pays employees

who transfer from hourly wage jobs to lower-paying

salaried positions at least as much as they previously

earned. Because that sex-neutral practice fortuitou-’,

resulted in a disparity between the wages received by

men and women in one nine-employee job unit at GM’s

facilities at Athens, Alabama, the court of appeals held

that GM violated the Equal Pay Act. The court below

reached this conclusion even though it made no finding

that sex played any role whatsoever in the company’s

employment, compensation or transfer decisions. Beyond

3

this, the court of appeals held that GM’s violation was

“willful” (i.e., in reckless disregard of its legal obliga-

tions), even though it conformed to the decision of the

only other court of appeals to have decided the issue and

to the rulings of several district courts. Finally, the

court of appeals held that GM acted in “bad faith,” even

though the district court expressly held that the company

officials who made the pay decisions had a good-faith be-

lief they were following a lawful company policy.

1. This action was brought by three female plaintiffs

employed as salaried “follow-up” workers in the Materials

Management Department of three GM plants near

Athens, Alabama. The three-plant department had a total

of nine follow-up workers. Follow-up workers were re-

sponsible for ensuring that an adequate supply of tools

and operating materials were on hand. They ordered

needed tools and materials, dealt with salespersons, man-

aged inventories, and made special or “emergency” pur-

chases for their plants. App., infra, 3a, 21a.

The three plaintiffs and the male employees with whom

they were compared in this litigation arrived at their

follow-up jobs through distinctly different routes. All

but one of the men transferred to their jobs from higher-

paying hourly wage positions. App., infra, 22a-25a. They

thus benefitted from GM’s practice of paying employees

who transfer from hourly wage jobs to salaried positions

at least the amount they had earned previously.' By con-

trast, plaintiff Robbie Nugent was hired “off the street”

as a follow-up worker and accordingly began at the bot-

tom of the salary scale for the job. The other two plain-

1 One of the seven male comparators, Steven D. Greenlee, had not

been working for GM when it hired him as a follow-up worker in

April 1979. Greenlee had been employed by a GM supplier and was

hired to purchase the parts he had previously supplied. His special

skills and expertise warranted a higher salary. Tr. Vol. 2 at 69-70;

Tr. Vol. 3 at 106. “Tr.” references are to the trial transcript in the

district court.

4

tiffs, Sheila Glenn and Patricia Johns, transferred to

follow-up jobs from relatively low-paying salaried posi-

tions as stenographer and secretary. Jd. at 21a-22a. None

of the employees, male or female, who transferred to

follow-up jobs from other positions at the company suf-

fered a reduction in pay. Most received a small increase.

The largest increase (10%) was received by a woman,

plaintiff Glenn. Jd. at 22a.”

GM officials testified that the compensation of the em-

ployees who transferred from hourly wage jobs to sala-

ried follow-up positions was set in accordance with a

longstanding, sex-neutral, company-wide practice of pay-

ing such employees at least as much as they made in their

hourly jobs. Although there was no formal written docu-

ment establishing or describing the practice, it was ac-

knowledged and discussed in a 1975 Report of the com-

pany’s Personnel Analysis Group. Defendant’s Exhibit

No. 2, at 18-19. The purpose of GM’s practice was to

encourage employees to move into salaried positions; man-

agement officials understandably believed that employees

would be reluctant to transfer if that resulted in a cut in

pay. App., infra, 28a.

Thus, some follow-up workers were paid more than

plaintiffs because they transferred to their jobs from

higher-paying hourly wage positions, while plaintiffs were

either hired “off the street” at the bottom of the salary

2 The district court opinion indicates that the monthly salaries

of men who transferred from hourly jobs to salaried follow-up

positions changed as follows: Stephen Downs, salary increased

from $932.35 to $975.00 per month (4.5%); Harold Wales, first

transfer, from $1,216.57 to $1,230.00 (1%); Robert Stephenson,

first transfer, $1,171.51 to $1,220.00 (4.1%); Billy White, $1,608.22

to $1,656.46 (2.9%). App., infra, 23a-24a.

Of the two women who transferred from salaried clerical posi-

tions to salaried follow-up jobs, the court gave the pre- and post-

transfer salary of only one, Sheila Glenn. Her salary was increased

from $1,310.40 to $1,441.44 (10%). App., infra, 22a.

5

scale (and worked up from there) or transferred from

lower-paying clerical positions. App., infra, 2la-25a. In

this instance, the follow-up workers who transferred from

higher-paying jobs were men; plaintiffs, whom GM hired

“off the street” or who transferred from lower paying

jobs, were women. In other job categories, however, fe-

male employees received the benefit of GM’s practice and

earned higher pay than their male counterparts. Tr. Vol.

3 at 99-102. By focusing on the effect of GM’s sex-neutral

practice on only a single small department, plaintiffs al-

leged that the practice resulted in men illegally being paid

more than women.

2. Plaintiffs brought this action in the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Alabama in

October 1983, claiming that GM paid them less than men

doing equal work, in violation of the Equal Pay Act, 29

U.S.C. § 206(d).* The district court found that plaintiffs

had established a prima facie case by showing that they

did equal work as follow-up employees but received less

pay than men in the same job. App., infra, 28a.

The district court rejected GM’s affirmative defense

that the pay disparity was due to a “factor other than

sex” (29 U.S.C. § 206(d) (1) (iv)—namely, the com-

pany’s sex-neutral practice of not requiring employees to

take a pay cut when transferring from hourly wage jobs

to salaried positions. Significantly, the court did not find

that GM’s compensation decisions were based on sex. To

3 The district court issued its original Opinion and Order on

July 10, 1986, resolving all issues except the computation of damages

and attorneys’ fees and plaintiffs’ entitlement to prejudgment in-

terest. App., infra, 20a-32a. On February 4, 1987, the district

court issued an addendum to its Opinion and Order. Jd. at 35a-

49a. The addendum discusses and decides several other issues, in-

cluding the statute of limitations and liquidated damages. We will

refer to the district court’s July 10, 1986 opinion as its “initial

opinion” and to the February 4, 1987 opinion as its “subsequent

opinion.”

6

the contrary, the court expressly concluded that the in-

dividual GM officials who made the pay decisions “held a

good faith belief that General Motors had adopted a

‘transfer pay policy.’” App., infra, 40a. The court none-

theless held that GM violated the Equal Pay Act, noting

that its transfer pay policy “is not in writing” and “is

in fact not a policy at all, but merely one aspect of a

practice. In practice GM simply pays Follow-Ups what

it takes to induce them to accept the employment.” Jd.

at 28a.

The district court then turned to the question of the

applicable statute of limitations. 29 U.S.C. § 255(a)

provides for a two-year limitations period, except that

“a cause of action arising out of a willful violation may

be commenced within three years after the cause of ac-

tion accrued.” In its initial opinion, the district court

applied the “in the picture” test established in Coleman

v. Jiffy June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139, 1142 (5th Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948 (1972), and held that

GM’s violation was willful because the company knew

that the Equal Pay Act was “in the picture.” App., infra,

30a-3la. In its subsequent opinion, the court noted that

even if it were to apply the “reckless disregard” standard

of Trans World Airlines v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111

(1985), it would find that the violation was willful be-

cause GM ignored unidentified “clear signs that its prac-

tices were illegal. A violation rises to the level of reck-

less disregard when an employer has the resources to

conform its conduct to the law, but declines to make the

effort.” App., infra, 38a-39a (footnote omitted).

In addition, the district court held that plaintiffs were

entitled to double the amount of their actual losses under

the liquidated damages provisions of 29 U.S.C. §§ 216 (b)

and 260. In its initial opinion, the district court declined

to award double damages because “GM’s violation of the

Equal Pay Act, while ‘willful’ * * *, was in good faith

and predicated upon reasonable grounds. * * * GM knew

ON abaya ave

Be eS AID 6+ ow

7

that their conduct was governed by the Equal Pay Act,

but created the pay disparity concerning plaintiffs in

good faith believing the disparity justified on the basis

of their hourly transfer pay ‘policy.’” App., infra, 31a-

32a. But in its subsequent opinion, the district court

modified its order and awarded liquidated damages. The

court held that the good faith exception to Section 260

did not apply and that it “ha[d] no choice but to award

liquidated damages,” because GM “adduced neither case

law nor administrative rulings to demonstrate that there

were reasonable grounds to support a belief that its acts

were in conformity with the law.” Id. at 41a.

3. The court of appeals affirmed the district court’s

decision with respect to liability and damages under the

Equal Pay Act. The court of appeals held that GM’s

practice was not properly based on a “factor other than

sex” within the meaning of 29 U.S.C. § 206(d) (1) (iv).

Although it did not disturb the district court’s fact find-

ing that GM officials made the pay decisions in “good

faith” based on what they believed to be a company

policy of not reducing wages when hourly employees

transfer to a salaried position, the Eleventh Circuit held

that “prior salary alone cannot justify pay disparity.”

App., infra, 9a. The Eleventh Circuit narrowly limited

the statutory “factor other than sex” defense to situa-

tions where “the disparity results from unique character-

istics of the same job; from an individual’s experience,

training, or ability; or from special exigent circum-

stances connected with the business.” Jd. at 8a.

In holding that GM could not justify salary disparities

on the basis of prior compensation, the court of appeals

acknowledged that its decision “contradict[ed] the

Seventh Circuit’s holding in Covington v. Southern IIli-

nois University, 816 F.2d 317 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 146 (1987).” The Eleventh

Circuit stated, however, that GM’s defense in this case,

and the Seventh Circuit’s approval of an employer’s “‘sex-

8

neutral policy of maintaining an employee’s salary upon

a change of assignment,” impermissibly depended on a

“market force theory to justify the pay disparity and

* * * ignored congressional intent as to what is a ‘factor

other than sex.’” App., infra, 9a.

The court of appeals also concluded that GM’s viola-

tion of the Equal Pay Act was willful and that the three-

year statute of limitations applied under the Jiffy /une

“in the picture” standard. App., infra, 10a-12a. In the

alternative, the court held that, even under the Thurston

“reckless disregard” standard, the violation was willful

because “GM sought to rely on the market force theory, a

theory long discredited by this Court and the Supreme

Court.” Jd. at 13a. On the same grounds, the court be-

low held that GM’s actions were not taken in good faith

and that plaintiffs therefore were entitled to liquidated

damages as a matter of law. /d. at 13a-14a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

When Congress enacted the Equal Pay Act in 1963,

some employers paid women less than men for the same

work simply because they were women. The Act was

designed te prohibit that unfair and intolerable practice.

But it was not intended to be a sweeping regulation of

employment practices generally. Thus, the Act prohibits

only wage discrimination, not discrimination in hiring or

promotions or any other form of employment discrimina-

tion. And it prohibits only wage discrimination based on

sex, not legitimate sex-neutral practices that in particular

instances may result in lower pay for some female em-

ployees. The Equal Pay Act does not require that all

employees doing the same work receive the same com-

pensation. It simply prohibits pay inequalities based on

sex.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision in this case wrenches

the Equal Pay Act from its foundations, ignores its plain

language and legislative history, and threatens to disrupt

=

3

~

a

9

a longstanding, sex-neutral employment practice utilized

by both large and small employers (including the federal

government) nationwide. Moreover, the decision below

invalidating GM’s transfer pay practice conflicts with the

Seventh Circuit’s construction of the Act and with nu-

merous district court rulings. Finally, the court of ap-

peals’ conclusion that GM’s conduct was “willful” and

“in bad faith” is flatly inconsistent with a recent decision

of this Court. It is essential that the Court grant the

petition for a writ of certiorari to resolve these conflicts

and to prevent the needless destruction of an important

and widespread employment practice of benefit to em-

ployers and employees alike.

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Construction Of The Equal Pay

Act Is Incorrect And Conflicts With The Decisions Of

This Court And Of Other Courts Of Appeals

A. The court of appeals erred in rejecting GM’s “factor

other than sex” defense.

1. The Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d), prohibits

employers from discriminating ‘on the basis of sex” by

paying unequal wages to men and women doing equal

work. To reinforce the fact that the Act only prohibits

wage discrimination based on sex, Congress listed four

affirmative defenses. Differences in pay do not violate

the Act when they are

made pursuant to (i) a seniority system; (ii) a

merit system; (iii) a system which measures earn-

ings by quantity or quality of production; or (iv) a

differential based on any other factor other than sex.

29 U.S.C. § 206(d) (1) (emphasis added).

The legislative history of the Equal Pay Act makes it

abundantly clear that the “factor other than sex” excep-

tion was intended to be “a general catchall provision,”

Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. 188, 196

(1974), designed to ensure that the Act penalized em-

10

ployers only for making distinctions based on sex. As

the House Report explained:

Three specific exceptions and one broad general

exception are also listed. It is the intent of this

committee that any discrimination based upon any

of these exceptions shall be exempted from the opera-

tion of this statute. As it is impossible to list each

and every exception, the broad general exclusion has

been also included.

H.R. Rep. No. 309, 88th Cong., 1st Sess. 3 (1963). Rep-

resentative Griffin, one of the principal supporters of the

bill, made the same point in commenting on the fourth

exception during the debates on the Act:

[R]oman numeral iv * * * makes clear and explic-

itly states that a differential based on any factor or

factors other than sex would not violate this legis-

lation. In other words, even though jobs involve the

same skill, equal effort, equal responsibility, and are

performed under the same working conditions, if

there is any other factor not based on sex upon

which a differential is based, then no violation of

this law can be found.

109 Cong. Rec. 9203 (1963) (emphasis added). The

Senate Report reiterated Congress’s firm understanding

that the Act only prohibited pay disparities based on sex:

S. 1409 is designed to eliminate any wage rate

differentials which are based on sex. Neither the

committee nor anyone proposing equal-pay legislation

intends that other factors cannot be used to justify

a wage differential.

S. Rep. No. 176, 88th Cong., 1st Sess. 4 (1963).

The language and legislative history of the statute

thus confirm that an employer does not violate the Act

when pay disparities that may appear to burden one sex

more than another are based on any “factor other than

sex.” As this Court remarked in contrasting the Equal

pe! un ee .

ee ee Oe eee ee ee ee a

11

Pay Act with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

42 U.S.C. $§ 2000e et seq.:

Title VII’s prohibition of discriminatory employment

practices was intended to be broadly inclusive, pro-

scribing “not only overt discrimination but also prac-

tices that are fair in form, but discriminatory in

operation.” Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424,

431 (1971). The structure of Title VII litigation,

including presumptions, burdens of proof, and de-

fenses, has been designed to reflect this approach.

The fourth affirmative defense of the Equal Pay Act,

however, was designed differently, to confine the ap-

plication of the Act to wage differentials attributable

to sex discrimination. Equal Pay Act litigation,

therefore, has been structured to permit employers

to defend against charges of discrimination where

their pay differentials are based on a bona fide use

of “other factors other than sex.”

County of Washington v. Gunther, 452 U.S. 161, 170

(1981). Therefore, under the Equal Pay Act, courts are

not permitted to “substitute their judgment for the judg-

ment of the employer” and should not “judge the reason-

ableness or unreasonableness of [an employer’s] differ-

entiation among employees, except as it shows a clear

pattern of discrimination” based on sex. 109 Cong. Rec.

9209, 9208 (1963) (remarks of Rep. Goodell, a “prin-

cipal exponent on the Act”). See County of Washington

v. Gunther, 452 U.S. at 170-171.

From the beginning, it was contemplated that the

“factor other than sex” defense would encompass trans-

fer pay practices similar to the one involved in this case.

For example, the House Report expressly stated that the

defense

recognizes certain special circumstances, such as

“red circle rates.” This term is borrowed from War

Labor Board parlance and describes certain unusual,

higher than normal wage rates which are maintained

for many valid reasons. For instance, it is not un-

12

common for an employer who must reduce help in a

skilled job to transfer employees to other less de-

manding jobs but to continue to pay them a premium

rate in order to have them available when they are

again needed for their former jobs.

H.R. Rep. No. 309, supra, at 3. Similarly, a regulation

promulgated by the Department of Labor shortly after

passage of the Equal Pay Act recognized “red-circling”

as a factor other than sex. The regulation stated that

“fulnder the ‘red circle’ principle the employer may con-

tinue to pay the employee his or her present salary, which

is greater than that paid to the opposite gender employ-

ees, for the work both will be doing.” 29 C.F.R.

$ 1620.26 (a).

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with this ac-

cepted understanding of the Equal Pay Act and contra-

dicts the very concept of “wage retention,” of which

“red-circling” is but one example. The court below stated

that it would allow such practices only “when the dis-

parity results from unique characteristics of the same

job; from an individual’s experience, training, or abil-

ity; or from special exigent circumstances connected with

the business.” App., infra, 8a. Uniform transfer pay

practices, including “red-circle” rates, however, are by

definition anomalous and unrelated to the job in question

or the employee’s ability to perform the job. Indeed, the

federal regulation concerning “red-circle”’ rates gives a

specific example that would not meet the Eleventh Cir-

cuit’s defixition: an employee who is transferred to a

lower-pay'ngy job because he is no longer able to perform

his previous job due to ill health. 29 C.F.R. § 1620.26(a).

In that case, as in most other transfer pay situations, the

disparity in pay is due not to the characteristics of the

job or the individual employee’s experience, training or

ability, but rather to the personal circumstance of the

employee being transferred. Unless that personal cir-

cumstance is based on sex, such differential treatment

does not violate the Equal Pay Act.

13

2. In light of the statutory language, the legislative

history and the applicable federal regulation, it is hardly

surprising that the only court of appeals previously to

decide the very issue presented in this case held that an

employer’s “salary retention policy qualifies as a factor

other than sex.” Covington v. Southern Illinois Univer-

sity, 816 F.2d 317, 322 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 108

S. Ct. 146 (1987). In that case, the plaintiff claimed that

the university paid her less than it paid her male prede-

cessor in the position of art advisor. The university ad-

mitted the pay disparity, but contended that the former

art advisor had transferred to that position from a

higher-paying teaching position. The university followed

the practice of not reducing the pay of faculty members

who transferred to lower-paying jobs.

The Seventh Circuit held that the university’s employ-

ment practice did not violate the Equal Pay Act, reject-

ing the claim that “factors other than sex * * * are

limited either to business-related reasons or, more nar-

rowly, to factors that relate to the requirements of the

job or to the individual’s performance of that job.” 816

F.2d at 321. The court held that the Act does not pro-

hibit salary differentials based on the previous salary

paid by the same employer, “unless this policy is discrim-

inatorily applied or unless there is evidence independent

of the policy which establishes that the employer dis-

criminates on the basis of sex.” Jd. at 323.

The Eleventh Circuit reached precisely the opposite

conclusion in this case. Even though there was no finding

that GM’s transfer pay policy was discriminatorily ap-

plied or that pay rates for “follow-up” positions were set

on the basis of sex, the Eleventh Circuit held that GM’s

practice violated the Equal Pay Act. Even though the

Act expressly permits pay differentials based on any

“factor other than sex,” the Eleventh Circuit flatly held

that “prior salary alone cannot justify pay disparity.”

App., infra, 9a. And even though Congress designed the

14

“factor other than sex” defense to be a broad, “catchall

provision,” the Eleventh Circuit announced that it “ap-

plies [only] when the disparity results from unique char-

acteristics of the same job; from an individual’s experi-

ence, training, or ability; or from special exigent circum-

stances connected with the business.” /d. at 8a. In

sum, even though the Act clearly was intended to permit

nondiscriminatory wage practices, the Eleventh Circuit

concluded that GM violated the Act simply because, in

one small department, its sex-neutral transfer pay

practice fortuitously resulted in men being paid more

than women.

In all of these respects, the Eleventh Circuit’s construc-

tion of the Equal Pay Act is in direct conflict with the

Seventh Circuit, as the court below conceded (App.,

infra, 9a):

We recognize that our holding may contradict the

Seventh Circuit’s holding in Covington v. Southern

Illinois University, 816 F.2d 317 (7th Cir.) * * *.

The flaws of the Covington decision are that the

Seventh Circuit implicitly used the market force

theory to justify the pay disparity and that the

Seventh Circuit ignored congressional intent as to

what is a “factor other than sex.” Consequently, we

reject Covington because it ignores that prior salary

alone cannot justify pay disparity.

3. The Eleventh Circuit’s assertion that the Covington

decision, or GM’s defense in this case, relied on the “mar-

ket force theory” is inexplicable. The market force theory

holds that it is permissible to pay women less than men

because they are willing to work for lower wages. See

Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. at 204-205.

But Southern Illinois University did not pay the male

art advisor more than it paid Covington because she was

willing to work for less. It paid him more because he had

transferred from a higher-paying job, just as it would

have continued to pay Covington her higher salary if

15

she had transferred to a lower-paying job. By the same

token, GM did not pay plaintiffs less than their male

counterparts because they were willing to work for lower

wages. Rather, it paid them less because the men hap-

pened to have transferred from higher-paying hourly

jobs, just as it paid women more than their male counter-

parts when those women transferred from hourly jobs to

lower-paying salaried positions. GM’s practice thus bears

no resemblance to the discredited market force theory,

and GM has never relied on that theory.

The district court and, to a lesser extent, the court of

appeals also relied on the fact that GM did not show that

it had a consistent, company-wide, written policy of not

reducing wages when hourly employees transferred to

salaried positions. Instead, the courts found, individual

company officials declined to reduce the pay of the hourly

workers because they believed, in good faith, that such a

policy existed. See App., infra, 7a & n.8, 38a-39a n.4.*

But whether the pay decisions were made pursuant to

company policy (as GM maintains) or in accordance with

the good-faith belief of individual officials that such a

policy existed (as the courts below found), the undis-

puted fact is that the pay decisions were based on the

prior salary of the transferred workers and were not

based on sex. Accordingly, the practice did not violate

the Equal Pay Act.

* Petitioner does in fact have such a policy. The testimony of

GM officials involved in setting salaries, Tr. Vol. 3 at 94-95, 198,

and defendant's Exhibit No. 2, a 1975 internal GM report discuss-

ing the transfer pay policy, demonstrate the existence of a clear.

consistently enforced, unwritten policy. The legislative history of

the Equal Pay Act emphasizes that a practice or policy need not

be in writing to qualify as a “factor other than sex.” See 109 Cong.

Rec. 9203, 9208 (1963) (statements of Reps. Griffin, Fountain.

Goodell and Waggoner).

16

4. Whether employment practices such as that fol-

lowed by GM in this case are properly based on a “factor

other than sex” under the Equal Pay Act is a frequently-

recurring question of federal law. The Eleventh Circuit’s

decision conflicts not only with the Seventh Circuit’s deci-

sion in Covington but also with decisions of several dis-

trict courts on similar issues. See Groussman v. Respira-

tory Home Care, Inc., 40 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA)

122, 123, 125-126 (C.D. Cal. 1986); Derouin v. Louis

Allis Div., 618 F. Supp. 221, 223-225 (E.D. Wis. 1984)

(the employer’s practice of limiting promotional salary

increases to “a specified percentage (10%-20%) of the

employee’s present salary” was based on a factor other

than sex); Grove v. Frostburg Nat’l Bank, 549 F. Supp.

922, 937 (D. Md. 1982) (the “practice of not reducing

salaries when employees were transferred or their job as-

signments changed” was based on a factor other than

sex); EEOC v. Samedan Oil Corp., 29 Empl. Prac. Dec.

(CCH) { 32,901 at 26,268 (E.D. Okla. 1982) (a “com-

pany policy not to reduce salaries when employees are

demoted from a higher paying job to a lower paying one”

rested on a factor other than sex); Mangiapane v.

Adams, 20 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 699, 700-701

(D.D.C. 1979), affirmed, 24 Empl. Prac. Dee. (CCH)

(D.C. Cir. 1980) (a federal government decision to “red-

circle” employees when their positions were downgraded

from GS-13 to GS-12 was based on a factor other than

sex); Marshall v. Liggett & Myers, Inc., 22 Empl. Prac.

Dec. (CCH) 30,591 at 14,184 (M.D.N.C. 1979), af-

firmed in part and vacated in part on other grounds, 690

F.2d 1072 (4th Cir. 1982) (a “company’s practice of

continuing to pay the same wage to employees who trans-

fer from higher to lower paying positions” was based on

a factor other than sex). See also Adams vy. University

of Washington, 106 Wash. 2d 312, 722 P.2d 74, 77-82

(1986) (interpreting state legislation “virtually identical

to” the Equal Pay Act to hold that an employer’s practice

of not reducing the salaries of printers whose skills had

17

become obsolete when they were transferred to lower-

paying jobs was a factor other than sex).

Beyond this, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision cannot be

reconciled with the reasoning of the Ninth Circuit in

Kouba vy. Allstate Ins. Co., 691 F.2d 873 (1982), or the

Fourth Circuit in EEOC v. Aetna Ins. Co., 616 F.2d 719

(1980). In Kouba, the employer argued that its policy

of considering the previous salary paid to employees by

another employer justified a pay disparity. In such a

case, it is of course far more difficult for the new em-

ployer (or for a court) to determine whether the prior

salary itself was based on sex. Nevertheless, the Ninth

Cireuit held that “the Equal Pay Act does not impose

a strict prohibition against the use of prior salary.” /d.

at 878. The Ninth Circuit determined that in order to

find that Allstate’s use of prior salary violated the Act,

“the [district] court must find that the business reasons

given by Allstate do not reasonably explain its use of that

factor * * *.” Ibid.

In this case, there was no finding that GM took sex

into account in setting salaries, approving transfers, or

deciding whether to continue to pay a transferred em-

ployee at his or her previous wage rate. Yet the Eleventh

Cireuit rejected the company’s defense without even con-

sidering whether “the business reasons given by [GM]

reasonably explain its use of [prior salary].” Kouba v.

Allstate Ins. Co., 691 F.2d at 878. GM stated that it

followed its transfer pay practice in order “te encourage

people to move out of hourly wage jobs into salaried

tracks * * *.” App., infra, 6a. Consistent with the Ninth

Cireuit’s ruling, the Eleventh Circuit should have con-

sidered whether GM’s stated reason reasonably explained

its practice. The court below refused to do so and in-

stead flatly held that “prior salary alone cannot justify

pay disparity.” Jd. at 9a.

In EEOC vy. Aetna Ins. Co., a six-year employee

claimed that the company paid a newly-hired man more

18

than it paid her for the same work. The employer con-

tended that the pay disparity was justified on two

grounds. First, the company asserted that it had “two

distinct and separate merit systems: one for incoming

employees; and another for persons already employed at

the company.” 616 F.2d at 722. The system for incom-

ing employees was regularly reviewed and upgraded in

order to attract the best prospects, but the system for

existing employees was not regularly readjusted. Second,

the employer contended that the man’s higher salary was

justified by his “ability and more substantial prior under-

writing and managerial experience * * *.” Ibid.

The Fourth Circuit held that both of the employer’s

justifications were “factor[s] other than sex” under the

Equal Pay Act. It concluded that “the differential was

attributable to the existence of two distinct salary pro-

grams” and “by [the man’s] experience and background

** *.” 616 F.2d at 726. In this case, GM also had sep-

arate pay systems, one for hourly employees, and the

other for salaried employees. Because neither system

was based on sex, the Eleventh Circuit’s holding that

GM violated the Act is inconsistent with the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s holding that Aetna did not violate the Act.

This disagreement between the Eleventh Circuit and

numerous other courts on a recurring and important

question of federal law requires this Court’s resolution.

As we explain at pages 23-26, infra, the unsettled state

of the law casts doubt upon a sex-neutral employment

practice common throughout the United States. Compa-

nies such as GM, with operations nationwide, are in a

particularly difficult position when their practices appear

to violate federal law in one circuit but to be lawful in

others. This Court should grant review to settle the

matter.

Tee ee ON eee

ee ee ye ee, ee

19

B. The court of appeals’ application of a three-year

statute of limitations conflicts with this Court’s de-

cu ‘on in Richland Shoe.

The Equal Pay Act was enacted as an amendment to

the Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA”), and the pro-

cedural and remedial provisions of the latter Act apply.

29 U.S.C. § 255(a) provides that Equal Pay Act cases

must be brought “within two years after the cause of

action accrued, except that a cause of action arising out

of a willful violation may be commenced within three

years after the cause of action accrued.”

Prior to this Court’s recent decision in McLaughlin v.

Richland Shoe Co., 108 S. Ct. 1677 (1988), there was a

conflict among the circuits as to the meaning of the term

“willful” in Section 255(a). Several circuits applied the

standard first articulated by the Fifth Circuit in Cole-

man v. Jiffy June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139, 1142

(1971), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948 (1972), which re-

garded a violation as willful if the employer knew that

the federal Act was “in the picture.” Other courts fol-

lowed the approach established by this Court in a differ-

ent context in Trans World Airlines v. Thurston, 469

U.S. 111 (1985), which considered a violation to be

willful only if the employer “ ‘knew or showed reckless

disregard for the matter of whether its conduct was pro-

hibited by the FLSA.’” McLaughlin v. Richland Shoe

Co., 108 S. Ct. at 1680 (emphasis in the original).

Last Term, this Court rejected the Jiffy June standard

and held that the Thurston “reckless disregard” standard

applied to FLSA cases. McLaughlin v. Richland Shoe

Co., 108 S. Ct. at 1682. The Court emphasized that

neither negligence nor unreasonableness is enough to meet

this standard of willfulness. Thus, the Court expressly

rejected a definition proposed by the Secretary of Labor

that would have “permit|ted] a finding of willfulness to

be based on nothing more than negligence, or, perhaps, on

a completely good-faith but incorrect assumption that a

20

pay plan complied with the FLSA in all respects.” bid.

As the Court explained (id. at 1682 n.13) : ‘

If an employer acts reasonably in determining its

legal obligation, its action cannot be deemed willful

under either [the Secretary’s] test or under the

standard we set forth. If an employer acts unrea-

sonably, but no. recklessly, in determining its legal

obligation, then, although its action would be con-

sidered willful under [the Secretary’s] test, it should

not be so considered under Thurston or the identical

standard we approve today.

The lower courts in this case, acting prior to the

Richland Shoe decision, applied the now-repudiated Jiffy

June “in the picture” standard and held that GM’s con-

duct was willful. App., infra, 12a, 3la. That ruling is

plainly no longer tenable. In the alternative, the courts

also held that GM’s conduct was willful under the Thurs-

ton standard, but in doing so they clearly misconstrued

that standard. First, the district court held, and the

court of appeals agreed, that GM acted recklessly under

Thurston because it did not

make a “reasonable effort to determine whether the

plan [it was] following would constitute a violation

of the law.” * * * General Motors chose to ignore

clear signs that its practices were illegal. A viola-

tion rises to the level of reckless disregard when an

employer has the resources to conform its conduct

to the law, but declines to make the effort.

App., infra, 37a-39a (footnotes omitted) ; see also id. at

13a. Second, the court of appeals held that GM violated

the “reckless disregard” standard because it “sought to

rely on the market force theory, a theory long discred-

ited by this Court and the Supreme Court.” bid.

These interpretations of the Thurston “reckless disre-

gard” standard cannot be squared with this Court’s sub-

sequent ruling in Richland Shoe. The Court made it

erystal clear in Richland Shoe that an employer does not

21

act “willfully” simply because it has not made a reason-

able effort to determine its legal obligations. 108 S. Ct.

at 1682 & n.13. Indeed, it is completely anomalous to

hold, on the one hand, that GM acted willfully and reck-

lessly while acknowledging, on the other hand, that its

legal position was accepted by the only appellate decision

to consider the very issue. See App., infra, 9a. The

Eleventh Circuit’s finding of “reckless disregard” is even

more untenable given the support for GM’s legal position

in the decisions of several other courts. See cases cited at

page 16, infra; see also Blocker v. AT & T Technology

Systems, 666 F. Supp. 209, 214 (M.D. Fla. 1987)

(“[d]efendants’ policy of paying transferred, qualified

employees whose position has been eliminated their pre-

vious salary is not based upon sex * * * and * * * fits

within the ‘factor other than sex’ exception to the Equal

Pay Act”).

In fact, the Eleventh Circuit held that GM recklessly

disregarded its legal obligations even though no other

federal court had ever held that a transfer pay practice

like GM’s was unlawful. And it held that GM acted reck-

lessly even though there was no evidence of reckless con-

duct in the record. To the contrary, the recdrd demon-

strates—and the district court twice found (App., infra,

31a, 40a)—that GM officials acted in the good faith be-

lief that they were following a valid company policy. A

holding that such conduct is “reckless” would “permit

a finding of willfulness to be based on nothing more than

negligence, or * * * on a completely good-faith but incor-

rect assumption that [the employer’s conduct] complied

with the [Act] in all respects.” 108 S. Ct. at 1682. It

would once again “virtually obliterate[] any distinction

between willful and nonwillful violations.” Jd. at 1681.

This Court rejected that standard in Richland Shoe and

should do so here as well.®

5 If this were the only issue presented by this case, it would be

appropriate for the Court to grant the petition, summarily vacate

22

C. The court of appeals’ decision that plaintiffs were

entitled to double damages conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Richland Shoe.

An employer who violates the Equal Pay Act must pay

the plaintiff an amount representing lost wages plus “an

additional equal amount as liquidated damages.” 29

U.S.C. § 216(b). However, another provision of the stat-

ute gives the district court discretion not to award liq-

uidated damages “if the employer shows to the satisfac-

tion of the court that [his conduct] was in good faith

and that he had reasonable grounds for believing that

his [conduct] was not a violation of the [Act].” 29 U.S.C.

§ 260.

Both courts below held that the district court was re-

quired by statute to award liquidated damages in this

case because GM did not act in good faith. App., infra,

13a-14a, 40a-4la (“|tjhe court concludes that it has no

choice but to award liquidated damages’). This ruling

was closely intertwined with the decision on the statute of

limitations issue: the determination that GM had will-

fully violated the Act by relying on a “discredited” legal

theory “preclude[d] a finding of good faith on the part

of GM.” Id. at 14a n.14.

the court of appeals’ decision, and remand for reconsideration in

light of Richland Shoe. The Court recently vacated and remanded

for reconsideration in light of Richland Shoe two Seventh Circuit

decisions that interpreted Thurston similarly to the district court

in this case. Coston v. Plitt Theatres, Inc., 831 F.2d 1321, 1327 (7th

Cir. 1987) (a violation is willful if the employer “knew or reason-

ably should have known that its actions were in violation of the

law”), vacated and remanded, 108 S. Ct. 1990 (1988); Rengers v.

WCLR Radio Station, 825 F.2d 160, 166 (7th Cir. 1987), vacated

and remanded, 108 S. Ct. 1990 (1988). But because the case raises

other issues warranting plenary review, we believe that the Court

should grant the petition to make clear that a finding of willfulness

requires a showing of recklessness, not merely one of negligence,

unreasonableness or good-faith error.

23

We doubt that a finding that an employer acted will-

fully should in every case preclude a finding of good

faith. But even if it did, because the court of appeals’

holding that GM acted willfully conflicts with this Court’s

decision in Richland Shoe, the conclusion that GM, ipso

facto, did not act in good faith conflicts with Richland

Shoe as well. This Court should grant the petition to

conform the Eleventh Circuit’s liquidated damages ruling

to the legal standard announced in Richland Shoe.

II. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Threatens To Disrupt

The Settled Practice Of Employers Throughout The

Country

The impact of the Eleventh Circuit’s decision goes far

beyond GM and its transfer pay practice. Thousands of

employers throughout the country utilize transfer pay

and other wage retention practices for many legitimate

reasons. By their nature, every such practice will result

in some employees being paid more than others for the

same work. Particularly when small employers are in-

volved, or when courts focus on small subdivisions of

large companies (such as GM’s nine-employee unit in-

volved in this case), such practices may at times result

in pay disparities between men and women. But those

disparities are not based on sex. They are based on sex-

neutral practices that benefit employees of both sexes

(by allowing them to change jobs without loss of pay)

and that benefit employers (by helping them to fill job

vacancies).

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision subjects employers to

liability under the Equal Pay Act even though they have

acted in good faith and in a nondiscriminatory manner.

And the potential liability is substantial: back pay, plus

an equal amount of liquidated damages, plus attorneys’

fees. To avoid that liability, employers will have little

choice but to abandon beneficial, nondiscriminatory trans-

fer pay practices.

24

The decision below leaves GM, and thousands of sim-

ilarly-situated employers, with no reasonable alternative.

If forced to abandon its transfer pay policy, a company

could require all employees who transfer into lower-paying

jobs to take a pay cut. But few employees would accept a

transfer under such conditions. Or the company could

prohibit employees from transferring into lower-paying

jobs. But that would leave jobs unfilled, or at least pre-

vent the best people from filling them. Or it could pre-

serve the present practice but then readjust the salaries

of all the other employees when an employee transfers

into a lower-paying job. But that would be extraordinar-

ily expensive and would make the company reluctant to

transfer higher-paid employees (leaving them in dead-

end jobs). None of these outcomes would advance any of

the purposes of the Equal Pay Act.

GM followed its transfer pay practice in good faith in

order to encourage employees to transfer from hourly

wage jobs into salaried positions. Other companies fol-

low similar practices for a variety of reasons, including

to accommodate employees who can no longer perform

their regular jobs,’ to ease the burden on employees dur-

ing times of economic contraction,® to allow minority em-

ployees to move into career tracks with better promo-

tional opportunities,’ or to bolster morale and ease the

® This serves a legitimate purpose, as evidenced by the fact that

many employers have sought to move all of their employees into

salaried positions. See Hulme & Bevan, The Blue Collar Worker

Goes on Salary, 52 Harv. Bus. Rev. 104 (1975).

7 See 29 C.F.R. § 1620.26(a).

8 See, e.g., Wallace, Industrial Relations in a Job-Loss Environ-

ment, 31 Lab. L. J. 473, 476 (1980).

® See, e.g., Pettway Vv. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211,

247-248 & n.99 (5th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1115 (1979)

(“Red circling is a standard remedy for eliminating past discrimina-

tion which prevented employees from reaching higher jobs and is

recognized as necessary since otherwise employees could not afford

25

burden on employees who are demoted.”

Experts in the field of compensation administration

acknowledge that a “cluster of special situations” warrant

“red-circle” and other income maintenance practices. T.

Patten, Pay: Employee Compensation and Incentive

Plans 285 (1977). See also D. Belcher & T. Atchison,

Compensation Administration 413 (2d ed. 1987) ; R. Hen-

derson, Compensation Management: Rewarding Perform-

ance 443 (2d ed. 1979); R. Sibson, Compensation 83-84

(American Management Associations 1974) (examining

a variety of circumstances under which higher-than-

normal “red-circle,” “gold-circle,” and “silver-circle” rates

apply). A recent study of financial institutions in the

Southwest demonstrates that “red-circle” practices are

quite common; over 70% of the administrators who re-

sponded to a survey had at least some “red-circled” em-

ployees at the time. Reed & Kroll, Red-Circle Employees:

A Wage Scale Dilemma, 66 Personnel Journal 92 (Feb.

1987).

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision creates intolerable un-

certainty as to the legality of this very common practice.

GM has over 875,000 employees." As the cases demon-

strate, other large employers (including the federal gov-

ernment), and thousands of smaller ones, follow prac-

to take training jobs paying lower wages”); United States v. N.L.

Industries, Inc., 479 F.2d 354, 375-376 (8th Cir. 1973) (employees

who transfer “shall not be paid at a lower hourly rate than that

which he received on the job from which he transferred”); United

States v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 446 F.2d 652, 660 (2d Cir. 1971)

(“Rate retention * * * ha[s] been used to correct continuing dis-

criminatory effects”). See also 8 Employment Coordinator (Re-

search Inst. Am.) 81,516 (1988) (“ ‘red circling’ is a necessary

element of a Title VII remedy in many cases”); E.E.0.C. Concilia-

tion Standards § 632.6 (1973), reprinted in 2 EEOC Comp. Man.

(BNA) 910:0002 (1975).

10 See, e.g., D. Belcher & T. Atchison, Compensation Administra-

tion 413 (2d ed. 1987).

11 1 Moody’s Industrial Manual 1325 (1987).

26

tices similar to the one invalidated in this ecase.’** These

employers need uniform rules; they cannot tailor their

employment practices to suit the Eleventh Circuit. Thus,

the decision below will force them to abandon perfectly

legitimate, sex-neutral practices, which are beneficial to

employers and employees alike. That unfortunate result

should not be allowed to occur without this Court’s re-

view.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES A. POWELL, III KENNETH S. GELLER *

BARRY V. FREDERICK STEPHEN M. SHAPIRO

Powell, Tally & JAMES D. HOLZHAUER

Frederick Mayer, Brown & Platt

Suite 700 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

New South Federal Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20006

21 First Avenue North (202) 463-2000

Birmingham, AL 35203

(205) 324-4996

Davin M. DAVIs

MARK R. FLORA

General Motors Corporation

Office of General Counsel

3031 West Grand Bowlevard

Detroit, MI 48202

(313) 556-5000 * Counsel of Record

AUGUST 1988

12 See, e.g., Blocker v. AT & T Technology Systems, 666 F. Supp.

at 214; Mangiapane v. Adams, 20 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) at

700-701; Marshall v. Liggett & Myers, Inc., 22 Empl. Prac. Dec.

(CCH) at 14,184; Adams v. University of Washington, 722 P.2d

at 78-82.

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

° ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-7171

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS,

and ROBBIE NUGENT,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

v.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-A ppellant,

SAGINAW STEERING GEAR DIVISION,

Defendant.

April 15, 1988

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Alabama

Before JOHNSON and CLARK, Circuit Judges, and

DUMBAULD*”, Senior District Judge.

JOHNSON, Circuit Judge:

* Honorable Edward Dumbauld, Senior U.S. District Judge for

the Western District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

tie

2a

Sheila Ann Glenn, Patricia Johns, and Robbie Nugent

filed suit against General Motors Corporation (GM) and

its Saginaw Steering Gear Division, alleging violation of

the Equal Pay Act.’ The United States District Court for

the Northern District of Alabama found for the appellees

and awarded damages. See Glenn v. General Motors

Corp., 658 F.Supp. 918 (N.D.Ala. 1987). GM * timely ap-

peals the district court’s (1) determination that the ap-

pellees proved a prima facie case of gender discrimina-

tion, (2) rejection of GM’s affirmative defense of a

“factor other than sex” as the reason for the pay dispar-

ity, (3) determination that the willful character of GM’s

actions required application of the three-year, rather than

two-year statute of limitations, (4) determination that

an award of liquidated damages was appropriate, and

(5) award of expenses. We affirm in part, and reverse

and remand in part.

' The Equal Pay Act of 1963 provides in relevant part:

No employer having employees subject to any provisions of

this section shall discriminate, within any establishment in

which such employees are employed, between employees on the

basis of sex by paying wages to employees in such establish-

ment at a rate less than the rate at which he pays wages to

employees of the opposite sex in such establishment for equal

work on jobs the performance of which requires equal skill,

effort, and responsibility, and which are performed under simi-

lar working conditions, except where such payment is made

pursuant to (i) a seniority system; (ii) a merit system; (iii)

a system which measures earnings by quantity or quality of

production; or (iv) a differential based on any other factor

other than sex: Provided, That an employer who is paying a

wage rate differential in violation of this subsection shall not,

in order to comply with the provisions of this subsection,

reduce the wage rate of any employee.

29 U.S.C.A. § 206(d)(1).

?The Equal Employment Advisory Council, substantially com-

posed of employers subject to the Equal Pay Act, filed a brief

amicus curiae in support of GM’s position.

3a

1. Prima Facie Case

“In order to make out a case under the Act, the [appel-

lees] must show that an employer pays different wages to

employees of opposite sexes ‘for equal work on jobs the

performance of which requires equal skill, effort, and re-

sponsibility, and which are performed under similar work-

ing conditions.’” Corning Gass Works v. Brennan, 417

U.S. 188, 195, 94 S.Ct. 2223, 2228, 41 L.Ed.2d 1 (1974)

(quoting 29 U.S.C.A. § 206(d)(1)); accord Brock v.

Georgia Southwestern College, 765 F.2d 1026, 1032 (11th

Cir.1985).

The three appellees are employed in the Materials Man-

agement Department (previously Tool Stores Depart-

ment) of the Saginaw Division of GM in three different

plants near Athens, Alabama. The appellees currently

work in the positions of Materials Management Expediter

and Materials Follow-up Clerk. previously designated

Follow-up and Associate Follow-up Tool and Die respec-

tively. A follow-up basically ensures that adequate sup-

plies of tools and operating materials are on hand in the

GM plants to meet the minimum levels necessary to keep

the plants running. Normally, each plant has three fol-

low-ups, although GM has used less than three at times.

Up to the time of suit, four women, including the appel-

lees, (as well as men) had worked in the follow-up posi-

tion. Appellee Nugent was hired in 1975, the first per-

son to hold a follow-up position.’

No doubt exists that through 1985 all three appellees

earned less than all their male comparators in the follow-

up position in the Tool Stores Department. In fact, the

most highly paid appellee made less through 1985 than

the lowest paid man.* In addition, all the appellees re-

3 We take the facts set forth in this paragraph from the district

court’s opinion. See 658 F. Supp. at 920.

4In 1985 the monthly salaries (along with gender and starting

date as a follow-up) were: Stephen Downs (man, Feb. 1977)

4a

ceived lower starting salaries as compared to those re-

ceived by men hired near the same time.*®

GM argued at trial, and argues in its brief on appeal,

that the follow-up positions held by the female appellees

were not the same follow-up positions as held by their

male comparators.* Specifically, GM argues that the male

follow-ups who handle items ordered from blueprints

need different skills than those follow-ups, including the

appellees, who do not. The district court rejected this

distinction :

$2775; Jerry Pepper (man, July 1981) $2740; Billy White (man,

April 1981) $2600; Harold Wales (man, Jan. 1981) $2485; Robbie

Nugent (woman, 1975) $2385; Sheila Ann Glenn (woman, Feb.

1981) $2370; and Patricia Johns (woman, Feb. 1981) $2271. See

658 F. Supp. at 920-22.

5 Robbie Nugent (woman) made $600/month when she started

in 1975. Richard Tanley (man) started two months later and made

$660/month. Sheila Ann Glenn (woman) and Patricia Johns

(woman) had monthly salaries of $1441.44 and $1316.64 respectively

when they started in February 1981. Billy White (man) started

two months later with a salary of $1656.46 per month. See 658

F. Supp. at 920-22.

®GM did not take this position at the start of the case. In its

Dec. 20, 1983 answer, GM stated, “The defendant admits that male

and female ‘followups’ perform the same work... .” On April 1,

1986, GM filed an amended answer, stating that “[t]he defendant

denies that the jobs occupied by the plaintiffs are the same or sub-

stantially the same as jobs occupied by the males to whom they

compare themselves.”

Although GM contested this issue in its brief on appeal, GM ap-

peared to abandon its challenge on this issue at oral argument. At

oral argument, GM’s counsel stated, “This case is, as I’ve said,

brought under the Equal Pay Act by three ladies who contend that

they made less money for doing the same work than men who were

—who were under the same job titles. That contention is correct.

We’ve never denied that.” In addition, when GM’s counsel listed the

issues on appeal at oral argument, he did not include a challenge to

whether the appellees had proved a prima facie case. Nonetheless,

we address the merits of this contention.

Ba

The court finds that for all purposes material to

this case the positions of Blueprint Follow-Up and

Follow-up are identical. The court notes that GM

has never treated Follow-Ups differently for compen-

sation purposes on the basis of items handled. When

plaintiff Nugent handled blueprint items, for exam-

ple, she still made less than a male Follow-Up who

did not. Some of the men handling blueprint items

currently make less money than other men who do

not work with blueprint items.

658 F.Supp. at 923. Consequently, the district court con-

cluded that the appellees had proved a prima facie case.

Appellate review examines whether this determination

was “clearly erroneous.” Georgia Southwestern, 765

- F.2d at 1033. Under the “clear error” standard of re-

view, evidence in the record as a whole does not indicate

that the blueprint reading, even if it is an actual distinc-

tion, makes the jobs not “substantially equal.” See id.

at 1032 (“The jobs held by employees of opposite sexes

need not be identical, rather, they must only be ‘sub-

stantially equal.’ It is important to bear in mind that

the prima facie case is made out by comparing the jobs

held by the female and male employees and showing

that these jobs are substantially equal, not by comparing

the skills and qualifications of the individual employees

holding those jobs.” (citations and footnote omitted)

(emphasis in original) ).

II. GM’s Affirmative Defense

Once the appellees established a prima facie case, the

burden shifted to GM to prove that the difference in pay

was justified by one of the four exceptions in the Equal

Pay Act: (i) a seniority system; (ii) a merit system;

(iii) a system which measures earnings by quantity or

quality of production; or (iv) a differential based on any

factor other than sex. 29 U.S.C.A. § 206(d)(1); see

6a

Corning Glass Works, 417 U.S. at 196, 94 S.Ct. at 2229;

Georgia Southwestern, 765 F.2d at 1036.

GM seeks to justify the pay disparity on the fourth

ground—a “factor other than sex.” From 1977 to its

first collective bargaining agreement with the United

Auto Workers (UAW) in 1982, GM, in an attempt to

maintain a nonunion Alabama production force, set

hourly wages at levels of parity with the national UAW

contract in other locations.’ Prior to 1977, another

hourly wage schedule applied to all hourly employees,

regardless of gender.

In the present case, Nugent was hired “off the street”

as a salaried follow-up. Glenn and Johns transferred

from their salaried secretarial positions. In contrast, the

male comparators transferred from hourly wage jobs.

GM contends that to encourage people to move out of

hourly wage jobs into salaried tracks, it maintains a

longstanding, unwritten, corporate-wide policy against

requiring an employee to take a cut in pay when trans-

ferring to salaried positions such as those at issue in

the present case. GM thus argues that this “policy” con-

stitutes a “factor other than sex” and legitimizes the

pay disparity.

The district court found that the “policy” suffered

from a fatal flaw:

[T]his so-called salary “policy” is in fact not a pol-

icy at all, but merely one aspect of a practice. In

practice GM simply pays Follow-Ups what it takes

to induce them to accept the employment. The court

notes that historically companies may and do hire

women at lower starting salaries. The court is thus

7 Since 1982, the hourly wage rates are governed by the collective

bargaining agreement between GM and the UAW. The collective

bargaining agreement is irrelevant to the present case because all

of the female appellees and the male comparators became follow-ups

before 1982.

Ta

unconvinced of GM’s attempted justification for the

pay disparity. The three femal plaintiffs are being

paid less money than their maie counterparts for

equal work without justification.

658 F.Supp. at 924. Consequently, the district court held

that GM had failed to prove an affirmative defense justi-

fying the pay disparity.*

We affirm the district court. GM seeks to defend the

pay disparity as a result of the market force theory.

This Court and the Supreme Court have long rejected

the market force theory as a “factor other than sex”:

“'T he argument that supply and demand dictates that

women gua women may be paid less is exactly the kind

of evil that the [Equal Pay] Act was designed to elim-

inate, and has been rejected.” Georgia Southwestern,

765 F.2d at 1037 (citing Corning Glass Works, 417 U.S.

at 205, 94 S.Ct. at 2233 (“The differential arose simply

because men would not work at the low rates paid women

inspectors, and it reflected a job market in which Corn-

ing could pay women less than men for the same work.

That the company took advantage of such a situation

may be understandable as a matter of economics, but its

differential nevertheless became illegal once Congress

enacted into law the principle of equal pay for equal

work.”); Brennan v. Victoria Bank & Trust Co., 493

F.2d 896, 902 (5th Cir.1974) (market force theory that

a woman will work for less than a man is not a valid

consideration under the Equal Pay Act); Brennan v.

City Stores, Inc., 479 F.2d 235, 241 n. 12 (5th Cir.1973)

8 GM argues that the district court erred by requiring that the

“policy” be in writing to qualify as an affirmative defense. We do

not read the district court’s language, see 658 F. Supp. at 923-24,

as relying on the absence of a writing per se. Rather, we read the

district court as concluding that the absence of a writing in the

context of other written policies provides independent support for

its finding that the “policy” was, in fact, an illegal practice.

8a

(same) ; Hodgson v. Brookhaven General Hosp., 436 F.2d

719, 726 (5th Cir.1970) (same) ).

GM argues that the legislative history supports its con-

tention that prior salary can be a “factor other than

sex.” Under the facts of the present case, GM’s argu-

ment is without merit. The relevant legislative history

provides:

Three specific exceptions and one broad general

exception are also listed. It is the intent of this com-

mittee that any discrimination based upon any of

these exceptions shall be exempted from the opera-

tion of this statute. As it is impossible to list each

and every exception, the broad general exclusion has

also been included. Thus, among other things, shift

differentials, restrictions on or differences based on

time of day worked, hours of work, lifting or mov-

ing heavy objects, differences based on experience,

training, or ability would also be excluded. It also

recognizes certain special circumstances, such as

“red circle rates.” This term is borrowed from War

Labor Board parlance and describes certain unusual,

higher than normal wage rates which are main-

tained for many valid reasons. For instance, it is

not uncommon for an employer who must reduce

help in a skilled job to transfer employees to other

less demanding jobs but to continue to pay them a

premium rate in order to have them available when

they are again needed for their former jobs.

H.R. Rep. No. 309, 88th Cong., 1st Sess. 3, reprinted in

1963 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 687, 689.

The legislative history thus indicates that the “factor

other than sex” exception applies when the disparity re-

sults from unique characteristics of the same job; from

an individual’s experience, training, or ability; or from

special exigent circumstances connected with the busi-

ness. The pay disparity at issue here does not result

9a

from any of these reasons. Consequently, resort to the

legislative history does not support GM’s position, but

rather buttresses the district court’s conclusion that a

“factor other than sex” does not explain the pay dis-

parity.

We recognize that our holding may contradict the Sev-

enth Circuit’s holding in Covington v. Southern Illinois

University, 816 F.2d 317 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, ——

U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 146, 98 L.Ed.2d 101 (1987). In

Covington, the defendant university argued that its sal-

ary retention policy, its financial emergency, and the

male comparator’s education and experience justified the

pay disparity. The Seventh Circuit agreed with the uni-

versity, and examined whether the salary retention pol-

icy alone could be a “factor other than sex.”

The university had a sex-neutral policy of maintaining

an employee’s salary upon a change of assignment within

the university. Covington argued that

factors other than sex for purposes of the [Equal

Pay Act] ... are limited either to business-related

persons or, more narrowly, to factors that relate to

the requirements of the job or to the individual’s

performance of that job. Covington contend[ed]

that [the university]’s policy of retaining the salary

of employees who change assignments does not fall

within either of these categories.

816 F.2d at 321. The Seventh Circuit rejected Coving-

ton’s argument. The flaws of the Covington decision are

that the Seventh Circuit implicitly used the market force

theory to justify the pay disparity and that the Seventh

Circuit ignored congressional intent as to what is a

“factor other than sex.” Consequently, we reject Coving-

ton because it ignores that prior salary xlone cannot

justify pay disparity.®

® Contrary to GM’s gloss, Kouba v. Allstate Ins. Co., 691 F.2d 873

(9th Cir. 1982), does not stand for the proposition that prior salary

10a

III. Statute of Limitations

The applicable statute of limitations for the present

ease is provided in 29 U.S.C.A. §255(a): “[E]very

feause of] action shall be forever barred unless com-

menced within two years after the cause of action ac-

erued, except that a cause of action arising out of a will-

ful violation may be commenced within three years after

the cause of action accrued.’ The district court first

determined that under the Jiffy June “in the picture”

standard,’® GM’s actions were willful. 658 F. Supp. at

926.

alone can justify pay disparity. In Kouba, the Ninth Circuit held

that “the Equal Pay Act does not impose a strict prohibition against

the use of prior salary.” Jd. at 878. The Ninth Circuit added that

“while we share the district court’s fear that an employer might

manipulate its use of prior salary to underpay female employees,

the [district] court must find that the business reasons given by

[defendant] Allstate do not reasonably explain its use of the factor

before finding a violation of the Act.” Id. Allstate had claimed that

it used prior salary to predict a new employee’s performance as a

sales agent. Jd. The Ninth Circuit held that strict relevant consid-

erations needed to be evaluated on remand to decide whether Allstate

could rely on prior salary. Kouba is consistent with the present case

because the Ninth Circuit would permit use of prior salary where

the prior job resembled the sales agent position and where Allstate

relied on other available predictors. In the present case, GM does

not argue that the males’ hourly wages serve to predict that males

will be better follow-ups than the female appellees. Nor does the

evidence in the record as a whole support that GM could resort to

any other factor than the prior salary to justify the pay disparity.

Nor does EEOC v. Aetna Ins. Co., 616 F.2d 719 (4th Cir. 1980),

support GM’s position. Contrary to GM’s gloss, Aetna does not

stand for the proposition that pay disparity is justified when it

results from two distinct nondiscriminatory merit systems. Rather,

the Fourth Circuit validated the differential because of the male

comparator’s experience and background. 7d. at 726. In contrast,

GM justifies the disparity on the basis of the systems alone, without

record support that experience and background justify the pay

disparity.

10 This Court’s predecessor examined the meaning of “willful” in

Coleman v. Jiffy June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139 (5th Cir. 1971),

lla

GM does not contend that it met the Jiffy June “in

the picture” standard, but rather argues that the Su-

preme Court disavowed that standard in Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111, 105 S.Ct. 613,

83 L.Ed.2d 523 (1985). Thurston addressed the defini-

tion of “willful” for liquidated damages under the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act. The Supreme Court

rejected the Jiffy June standard and held that a violation

was “willful” if “the employer either knew or showed

reckless disregard for the matter of whether its conduct

was prohibited by the ADEA.” Id. at 128-29, 105 S.Ct.

at 625. The Court, however, expressly did not determine

if the “in the picture” standard was appropriate for stat-

ute of limitations purposes. Jd. at 127-28, 105 S.Ct. at

624-25.

After the Supreme Court decided Thurston, however,

this Court applied the Jiffy June standard to the precise

issue presented by this appeal (i.e., the definition of

“willfulness” for a statute of limitations connected with

an Equal Pay Act claim). Georgia Southwestern, 765

F.2d at 1038-39. GM seeks to avoid Georgia Southwest-

cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948, 93 S.Ct. 292, 34 L.Ed.2d 219 (1972).

The Court reasoned:

The entire legislative history of the 1966 amendments of the

{Fair Labor Standards Act] indicates a liberalizing intention

on the part of Congress. Requiring employers to have more

than awareness of the possible applicability of the FLSA would

be inconsistent with that intent. Consequently, we hold that

employer’s decision to change his employees’ rate of pay in

violation of FLSA is “wilful” [sic] when, as in this case, there

is substantial evidence in the record to support a finding that

the employer knew or suspected that his actions might violate

the FLSA. Stated most simply, we think the test should be:

Did the employer know the FLSA was in the picture?

458 F.2d at 1142 (emphasis added).

11Qn October 5, 1987, the Supreme Court granted certiorari on

this issue. See Brock v. Richland Shoe Co., —— U.S. ——, 108

S.Ct. 63, 98 L.Ed.2d 27 (1987).

l2a

ern’s binding character by pointing out, and correctly so,

that this Court did not discuss Thurston’s impact in

that case. Even if the lack of discussion concerning

Thurston would allow us to examine the controlling char-

acter of Georgia Southwestern, we would adhere to the

Jiffy June standard. The district court persuasively

noted that the liquidated damages provision is punitive

in nature, and that the statute of limitations has a res-

titutionary function. 685 F. Supp. at 926 n.1. Conse-

quently, “willful” can have differing definitions based

upon the underlying purpose of the provision.’*

12 Our holding accords with the post-Thurston decisions of the

First, Fourth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits. See Secretary of Labor

v. Daylight Dairy Prods., Inc., 779 F.2d 784, 789 (1st Cir. 1985);

Donovan v. Bel-Loc-Diner, Inc., 780 F.2d 1113, 1117 (4th Cir.

1985); Brock v. Shirk, 833 F.2d 1326, 1329 (9th Cir. 1987);

Crenshaw v. Quarles Drilling Corp., 798 F.2d 1345, 1349-50 & 1350

n.6 (10th Cir. 1986).

Our holding conflicts with the post-Thurston decisions of the

Second, Third, Fifth, and Seventh Circuits. See Brock v. Superior

Care, Inc., 840 F.2d 1054, (2d Cir. 1988); Brock v. Richland

Shoe Co., 799 F.2d 80 (3d Cir. 1986), cert. granted, ——— U.S. ——-,

108 S.Ct. 63, 98 L.Ed.2d 27 (1987); Peters v. City of Shreveport,

818 F.2d 1148, 1167-68 (5th Cir. 1987), petition for cert. filed

(Oct. 19, 1987); Walton v. United Consumers Club, Inc., 786 F.2d

$03, 308-12 (7th Cir. 1986).

We recognize that the Fifth Circuit no longer adheres to Jiffy

June, a decision binding on us in the Eleventh Circuit. In Salazar-

Calderon v. Presidio Vailey Farmers Association, 765 F.2d 1334

(5th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1035, 106 S.Ct. 1245, 89

L.Ed.2d 353 (1986), the Court, in a case not involving the FLSA

or a statute of limitations issue, remarked that Thurston over-

turned Jiffy June’s definition of willful. Jd. at 1345. Seizing on

this language, the Court held in Peters, a case addressing the statute

of limitations under thre Equal Pay Act, that Salazar-Calderon’s

remark was controlling. 818 F.2d at 1167. See Halferty v. Pulse

Drug Co., 826 F.2d 2 (5th Cir. 1987) (Peters requires that panel

vacate its earlier holding that Jiffy June required a three-year

stat te of limitations). We choose not to follow the Fifth Circuit’s

disapproval of Jiffy June, especially because the Fifth Circuit did

not examine the restitutionary policy underlying the statute of

limitations.

13a

The district court alternatively held that GM failed

Thurston’s reckless disregard standard. 658 F. Supp. at

927. We affirm the district court on this alternative

ground as well. GM showed reckless disregard because,

as noted above, GM sought to rely on the market force

theory, a theory long discredited by this Court and the

Supreme Court.**

IV. Liquidated Damages

Under 29 U.S.C.A. § 216(b), affected employees shall

recover liquidated damages from their employer for vio-

lations of the Equal Pay Act. An employer may avoid

the mandatory nature of an award of liquidated damages

if the court chooses not to make an award where the

employer shows its actions were in good faith and shows

it had reasonable grounds for believing that those actions

did not violate the Equal Pay Act. See 29 U.S.C.A.

§ 260.

The district court initially held that GM’s violation

of the Equal Pay Act was in good faith and predicated

upon reasonable grounds. It therefore did not award

liquidated damages. 658 F. Supp. at 925. The district

court later awarded liquidated damages, determining

that, although individual GM officials held a good faith

belief that GM had adopted a transfer pay policy, GM

lacked reasonable grounds to support a belief that its

acts were in conformity with the law. Id. at 928.

18 Because of our holding we express no view on the merits of

the district court’s observation that

[a]s an explanation for its conduct during settlement negotia-

tions, General Motors has brought to this court’s attention its

policy of obtaining the resignation of employees who file dis-

crimination claims as a condition precedent to settlement. This

court feels obliged to point out that a policy of retaliatory dis-

charge may be per se “willful” under Thurston.

658 F. Supp. at 927 n.5; see Powell v. Rockwell International Corp.,

788 F.2d 279, 286 & n.6 (5th Cir. 1986).

l4a

We affirm the district court. As noted above, this Cir-

cuit and the Supreme Court have long discredited the

market force theory. Consequently, GM could not have

had reasonable grounds to support a belief that its acts

were in conformity with the law."

V. Expenses

In addition to awarding damages to the appellees and

awarding attorney fees to the appellees’ counsel, the dis-

trict court also awarded the appellees’ counsel $34,979.44

in expenses, which the district court found “to have been

reasonably expended under the circumstances for para-

legals, law clerks, fee counsel, general office litigation ex-

penses and expert witnesses.” 658 F. Supp. at 932. GM

challenges the district court’s award of expenses, particu-

larly $12,614 as fees for two expert witnesses.” As sup-

port for its position, GM relies on Crawford Fitting Co.

v. J.T. Gibbons, Inc., —— U.S. ——, 107 S.Ct. 2494, 96

L.Ed.2d 385 (1987), a case decided after the district

court awarded expenses in the present case.

We begin our analysis with the language of 29

U.S.C.A. § 216(b), which provides in relevant part that

“[t)he court in [an Equal Pay Act] action shall, in addi-

tion to any judgment awarded to the plaintiff or plain-

tiffs, allow a reasonable attorney’s fee to be paid by the

defendant, and costs of the action.” We note from the

outset that this Court has never determined whether Sec-

44 We note that our conclusion in the context of the discussion on

the statute of limitations issue that GM's actions met Thurston's

definition of “willful” precludes a finding of good faith on the part

of GM. See Castle v. Sangamo Weston, Inc., 837 F.2d 1550, 1561

(11th Cir. 1988) (“[U]nder the Thurston definition to find ‘good

faith’ after a finding of ‘willful’ violation is illogical: the two terms

are now mutually exclusive.” ).

“The district court awarded $8,120 for Dr. Paul Lees-Haley,

who was deposed, but did not testify, and awarded $4,494 for Dr.

William Farrar, who was deposed and did testify.

15a

tion 216(b) permits an award of expenses for expert

witness fees.**

An analogy, however, is possible. This Court permits

an award of expert witness fees in civil rights cases.

Jones v. Diamond, 636 F.2d 1364, 1382 (5th Cir. Jan.

1981) (en banc), cert. dismissed, 453 U.S. 950, 102 S.Ct.

27, 69 L.Ed.2d 1033 (1981).‘7 The en bane Court looked

to congressional intent and determined that recovery for

expert witness fees allowed citizens to recover what it

costs them to vindicate civil rights in court. /d.“ Similar

policies underlie Section 216(b), thereby suggesting that

the district court properly awarded expert witness fees

to the appellees.

Our analysis, however, would not be complete without

an examination of the Crawford Fitting decision. In that

case, the Supreme Court held “that absent explicit statu-

tory or contractual authorization for the taxation of the

expenses of a litigant’s witness as costs, federal courts

are bound by the limitations set out in 28 U.S.C. § 1821

16 In King v. McCord, 621 F.2d 205 (5th Cir. 1980), the prevail-

ing plaintiff sought attorney fees of $30,000 and costs for expert

witnesses of $5,888.45. The district court awarded a lump-sum

figure of $2,000 for attorney fees and costs. This Court's predeces-

sor expressly noted that the “[a]ppellant filed this appeal on the

basis of the alleged inadequate fee award only.” /d. at 206. Conse-

quently, the expert witness costs question was not addressed.

17 The Fifth Circuit has overruled this aspect of the Jones v.

Diamond opinion. International Woodworkers of Am. v. Champion

Int'l Corp., 790 F.2d 1174, 1175, 1180 (5th Cir. 1986) (en banc).

18 The Court recognized that its holding contradicted the general

rule that 28 U.S.C. § 1821 limits the expert witness fees award

(currently a limit of $30 per day). This Circuit adheres to that

general rule. See Kivi v. Nationwide Mutual Ins. Co., 695 F.2d

1285, 1289 (11th Cir. 1983) (“[I)}t is well settled that expert witness

fees cannot be assessed in excess of witness fees provided in

§ 1821.”); see also Osterneck v. E.T. Barwick Industries, 825 F.2d

1621, 1530 n.15 (11th Cir. 1987) (dicta).

l6a

and § 1920.” Jd. 107 S.Ct. at 2499. —— the

Court broadly observed that

{a]lthough Congress responded to our decision in

Alyeska [Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society,

421 U.S. 240, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 44 L.Ed.2d 141 (1975) ]

by broadening the availability of attorney’s fees in

the federal courts, see . . . 42 U.S.C. § 1988, it has

not otherwise “retracted, repealed, or modified the

limitations on taxable fees contained in the 1853

statute and its successors.” Thus, we are once again

asked to hold that a specific congressional enactment

on the shifting of litigation costs is of no moment.

We think that, as in Alyeska, Congress has made its

intent plain in its detailed treatment of witness fees.

We will not lightly infer that Congress has repealed

§§ 1920 and 1821, either through Rule 54(d) or any

other provision not referring explicitly to witness

fees.

Id. (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

The Supreme Court’s broad statement suggests that

the district court erred in awarding expert witness fees

because Section 216(b) does not refer explicitly to them.

Cf. The Equal Access to Justice Act, 28 U.S.C.A. § 2412

(d)(1)(A) (“[{A] court shall award to a prevailing

party other than the United States fees and other ezx-

penses, in addition to any costs awarded [as enumerated

in 28 U.S.C.A. § 1920]... .” (emphasis added)); see

also International Woodworkers of America v. Champion

International Corp., 790 F.2d 1174, 1179 & n.7 (5th Cir.

1986) (en banc) (collecting the “numerous statutes ex-

pressly allow[ing] federal courts to award the full

amount of expert witness’ fees as costs of litigation.”).

1% Section 1920(3) provides that witness fees may be taxed as

costs. Section 1821(b) provides that a “witness shall be paid an

attendance fee of $30 per day for each day's attendance.”

17a

One basis for distinguishing Crawford Fitting from

the present case has been suggested.” Because Crawford

Fitting involved only the award of costs pursuant to

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 54(d),™ that case did

not necessarily determine whether expert witness fees

could be awarded pursuant to a fee-shifting statute.”

We hold that the broad language in Crawford Fitting

does not permit a distinction based upon whether or not

the award is made under a fee-shifting statute.™ The

2 Three Supreme Court Justices noted that Crawford Fitting did

not address whether a district court may award expert witness

fees under Section 1988, an explicit fee-shifting statute. 107 S.Ct.

at 2499 (Blackmun, J., concurring); id. at 2500 n.1 (Marshall, J.,

dissenting) (joined by Brennan, J.).

21 Rule 54(d) provides in relevant part: “Except when express

provision therefor is made either in a statute of the United States

or in these rules, costs shall be allowed as of course to the prevailing

party unless the court otherwise directs. .. .”

22 The District Court of Massachusetts has seized on this distinc-

tion to award expert witness fees pursuant to Section 216(b).

Freeman v. Package Machinery Co., 1987 Westlaw 16456, at 13

(D. Mass. Sept. 2, 1987) (“Defendant's reliance on Crawford is

misplaced because that opinion was inapplicable to cases involving

explicit fee shifting statutes. .. .). But see Eivins v. Adventist

Health System/Eastern & Middle America, Inc., 660 F. Supp. 1255,

1264 (D. Kan. 1987) (expert witness fees under § 216(b) limited to

$30 per day); cf. Furr v. AT & T Technologies, Inc., 824 F.2d 1537,

1550 (10th Cir. 1987) (Section 216(b) may permit expert witness

fees as part of attorney fees, but parties stipulated to amount of

attorney fees and court would not address issue; court implicitly

held that expert witness fees could not be part of costs awarded).

3 Post-Crawford Fitting cases examining the issue pursuant to

Section 1988 or other civil rights fee-shifting provisions have not

permitted awards for expert witness fees. See Boring v. Kozakie-

wiez, 833 F.2d 468, 474 (3d Cir. 1987) (“A prevailing party in a

civil rights case is not entitled to tax [expert witness] fees as

costs.” (citing Crawford Fitting)); Leroy v. City of Houston, 831

F.2d 576, 584 (5th Cir. 1987) (“Although [Crawford Fitting] ex-

pressly considered whether [Rule] 54(d) could, in an antitrust case,

override the statutory limit on witness fees, the Court’s general

18a

broad language in Crawford Fitting indicates that, al-

though a statute may shift attorney fees, the statute does

not operate to shift witness fees unless the statute refers

explicitly to witness fees. In the present case, Section

216(b) does not refer explicitly to witness fees. In addi-

tion, nothing in the legislative history associated with

Section 216(b)’s passage suggests that Congress intended

the term “costs of the action” to differ from those costs

as now enumerated in 28 U.S.C.A. § 1920. Consequently,

we hold that the district court erred in awarding expert

reasoning leaves us no room to construe the Voting Rights Act

provision here otherwise. The Voting Rights Act does not specifi-

cally allow recovery of expert witness fees, and we must reverse this

portion of the district court’s award.” (citation omitted) ); ECOS,

Inc. v. Brinegar, 671 F. Supp. 381, 404 n.12 (M.D.N.C. 1987)

(Crawford Fitting persuasive authority for holding that $30 per

day limit governs § 1988 award for expert witness fees); Alberti

v. Gheciff of Harris County, F. Supp. ——, (S.D. Tex.

Au;. 2U, 1987) (same). See also Catlett v. Missouri Highway &

Transportation Commission, 828 F.2d 1260, 1272 (8th Cir. 1987)

(in light of Crawford Fitting, defendant in Section 1983 Title VII

case “will be free [on remand] to challenge the assessment against

it of the class” expert witness fees). Cf. Mennor v. Fort Hood

National Bank, 829 F.2d 553, 557 (5th Cir. 1987) (in Title VII

case, district court could award attorney’s out-of-pocket costs be-

cause 28 U.S.C.A. § 1920 does not regulate those costs). But see

United States v. Yonkers Board of Education, 118 F.R.D. 326, 330

(S.D.N.Y. 1987) (Crawford Fitting does not preclude award of ex-

pert witness fees). But cf. Jones v. City of Chicago, 1987 Westlaw

19800, at 8-9 (N.D. Ill. Nov. 10, 1987) (“[{A]lthough the costs

defendants object to are in large part no longer allowable under

Section 1920, they are allowable as part of the reasonable attorney’s

fees obtainable by the plaintiff under Section 1988 [for out-of-pocket

expenses incurred by the attorney in preparation of trial].’”).

We recognize that, in contrast to the language of Section 1988

and 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k) (Title VII’s fee-shifting provision), the

language of Section 216(b) is mandatory, favors plaintiffs only,

and separates attorney fees from costs. In light of Crawford Fit-

ting’s broad language and the absence in Section 216(b)’s legislative

history of congressional intent to compensate plaintiffs fully for

expert witness fees as part of the costs of the action, we attach no

significance to the difference in statutory language.

19a

witness fees in excess of the amount permitted by 28

U.S.C.A. § 1821 and 28 U.S.C.A. § 1920. We thus remand

this case to the district court so it may tailor the award

of expert witness fees in accordance with this opinion.

On remand, the district court also must ensure that only

those items permitted to be taxed as costs are included in

the award of expenses and that the amount of the award

attributable to each of those items falls within the statu-

tory limit as to that amount.

VI. Conclusion

In conclusion, we AFFIRM that the appellees estab-

lished a prima facie case under the Equal Pay Act. We

AFFIRM that GM failed to prove the pay disparity re-

sulted from a “factor other than sex.” We AFFIRM

that the three-year statute of limitations applied. We

AFFIRM that liquidated damages were appropriate. We

REVERSE and REMAND as to expenses awarded.

20a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

NORTHEASTERN DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV-83-V-5777-NE

SHEILA ANN GLENN, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

versus

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant.

[Filed July 10, 1986]

OPINION AND ORDER

The factual and legal statements incorporated in this

opinion constitute the court’s findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a). In this

case plaintiffs, Sheila Ann Glenn (“Glenn”), Patricia J.

Johns (“Johns”), and Robbie Nugent (“Nugent”), claim

that the defendant, General Motors Corporation (“GM”),

violated the Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d).2

129 U.S.C. § 206(d) (1) provides:

No employer having employees subject to any provisions of

this section shall discriminate, within any establishment in

which such employees are employed, between employees on

the basis of sex by paying wages to employees in such estab-

lishment at a rate less than the rate at which he pays wages

to employees of the opposite sex in such establishment for equal

work on jobs the performance of which requires equal skill,

effort, and responsibility, and which are performed under simi-

lar working conditions, except where such payment is made

2la

The three plaintiffs are employed in the Materials Man-

agement Department (previously Tool Stores Depart-

ment) of the Saginaw Division of GM in three different

plants near Athens, Alabama. The plaintiffs currently

work in the positions of Materials Management Expediter

and Materials Follow-Up Clerk, previously designated

Follow-Up and Associate Follow-Up Tool and Die respec-

tively. A Follow-Up basically insures that adequate sup-

plies of tools and operating materials are on hand in the

GM plants to meet the minimum levels necessary to keep

the plants running. A portion of the information used

in the job is computer-generated. Normally, each plant

has three Follow-Ups, but at times GM has used less than

three. Up to the time of this suit, four women, including

plaintiffs, have worked in the Follow-Up position—all

other Follow-Ups have been men.

The Plaintiffs

Plaintiff Nugent was hired by GM “off the street”

(from outside GM) in 1975 as a level 4 Associate Follow-

Up Tool and Die, with salary of $600.00 per month. She

was employed in Plant 21. Nugent was the first person

hired by GM in a Follow-Up capacity. Nugent was told

by GM that she was starting at the bottom of the salary

scale but that in six months she would be evaluated on

her ability. Nugent became a level 5 Follow-Up with no

change in job duties during the second quarter of 1978

at a base monthly salary of $1,100.00. During 1984, her

job title was changed to Materials Management Expedi-

ter. In 1985, her base monthly salary was $2,385.00. At

pursuant to (i) a seniority system; (ii) a merit system; (iii)

a system which measures earnings by quantity or quality of

production; or (iv) a differential based on any other factor

other than sex: Provided, That an employer who is paying a

wage rate differential in violation of this subsection shall not,

in order to comply with the provisions of this subsection, reduce

the wage rate of any employee.

22a

time of trial, her base monthly salary was $2,505.00, ef-

fective January 1986.

Plaintiff Glenn was hired “off the street” by GM in

September 1977 as a salaried employee in Plant 21.

Glenn was hired into a level 3 stenographer position with

a base salary of $755.00 per month. In February 1981

Glenn transferred from the position of stenographer, at

a base salary of $1,310.40, to the position of level 4 As-

sociate Follow-Up Tool and Die in Plant 23. Glenn’s base

salary, after transfer, was $1,441.44 per month. In 1984,

Glenn’s job title was changed to Materials Follow-Up

Clerk. In 1985 her base salary was $2,370.00 per month.

At time of trial, her base monthly salary was $2,550.00,

effective January 1986.

Plaintiff Johns was hired “off the street” by GM in

October 1978 as a salaried employee in the position of

secretary to the Plant 22 superintendent. In February

1981 Johns became a level 4 Associate Follow-Up Tool

and Die in Plant 22 with a base monthly salary of

$1,316.64. Johns currently holds the title of Materials

Follow-Up Clerk, and her 1985 base salary was $2,271.00

per month. Her monthly salary at time of trial was

$2,405.00, effective January 1986.

The Plaintiffs’ Male Counterparts

In September 1975, Richard Tanley transferred from

the hourly tool crib job at GM to the position of Associate

Follow-Up Tcol and Die alongside plaintiff Nugent in

Plant 21, at a monthly base salary of $660.00. In April

1978 Tanley was given the level 6 position of supervisor,

Tool Stores Department, Plant 22. In 1985 he was the

Receiving and Inspection Supervisor. Tanley’s job duties

did not change when he was promoted from Associate

Follow-Up to Follow-Up.

Stephen Downs was hired as an hourly employee at the

Saginaw plant in January 1976. His job position was

23a

skilled trades—70 Rate, however, he held the position of

forklift driver. His base monthly equivalent salary was

$932.35. Downs transferred from hourly to salaried em-

ployment, taking the position of Associate Follow-Up Tool

and Die in February 1977. He worked in Plant 21 along-

side Robbie Nugent. His monthly base salary was

$975.00, which increased to $1,075.00 in April 1977. Nu-

gent’s monthly base salary for the same period was

$878.94. In April 1978 Downs became a Follow-Up, with

a base monthly salary of $1,250.00. His job duties did not

change. Plaintiff Nugent’s base monthly salary at that

time was $1,100.00: In 1985 Downs’ job title was changed

to Materials Management Expediter. In May 1985 he

took the position of Senior Materials Management Ex-

pediter, a level 6 position. His job duties did not change.

In 1985 his monthly base salary was $2,775.00; Plaintiff

Nugent’s was $2,385.00.

Steven D. Greenlee was hired in April 1979 as an As-

sociate Follow-Up Tool and Die for Plant 22. His

monthly base salary was $1,175.00. Greenlee remained

an Associate Follow-Up until he was laid off during June

1980. At the time of his layoff, his base monthly salary

was $1,545.40. Greenlee was recalled during January

1981 to the same position he had previously held, at a

base monthly salary of $1,545.54. During June 1981

Greenlee assumed a level 5 position of supervisor-in-

training, and in September 1981 he became a production

supervisor. In June 1985 Greenlee held the position of

production supervisor.

Harold Wales was hired by GM during June 1977 at an

hourly rate as a job setter—30 Rate. He received a

monthly equivalent wage of $1,216.57. In May 1978 he

transferred to the salaried position of Follow-Up Tool

and Die alongside plaintiff Nugent in Plant 21 at a

monthly base salary of $1,230.00. One month later he

returned to an hourly position. In January 1981 Wales

left his position of machine operator—20 Rate, with a

24a

monthly equivalent wage of $1,608.22, and resumed the

position of Follow-Up Tool and Die in Plant 21, with a

monthly base salary of $1,608.22. Harold Wales cur-

rently holds the position of Materials Management Ex-

pediter. His job duties have not changed. In 1985 his

base monthly salary was $2,485.00.

Robert Stephenson was hired by GM in March 1978

as an hourly employee, machine operator—20 Rate; how-

ever, in fact he was a crib attendant. His monthly equiv-

alent pay was $1,171.51. Stephenson testified he applied

for a salaried Tool Stores position but was hired as an

hourly tool crib attendant. During September 1978 he

transferred to the salaried position of Associate Follow-Up

Tool and Die in Plant 22 at a monthly base salary of

$1,220.00. Stephenson held this position until June 1980,

at which time he returned to an hourly position as a tool

crib attendant, and was paid $1,293.44 per month. He

remained an hourly employee until January 1981, at

which time he transferred to the position of Associate

Follow-Up in Plant 22, with a base monthly salary of

$1,564.00. Sometime between September 1982 and Sep-

tember 1983, Stephenson took the level 5 position of Fol-

low-Up. In September 1984 his job title changed to Ma-

terials Management Expediter, fifth level. His base

monthly salary increased from $1,752.96 to $1,875.66, but

his job duties remained the same. GM admitted that

Bobby Stephenson was transfered to the position of As-

sociate Tool and Die Follow-Up in 1978 at GM’s Plant 22

at a higher base salary than Robbie Nugent was being

paid in Plant 21 at the time of Stephenson’s transfer.

Billy White was hired by GM in December 1978 as an

hourly employee. He held the position of machine opera-

tor—20 Rate, with a monthly equivalent pay of $1,608.22.

In April 1981 he took the position of Associate Follow-Up

Tool and Die in Plant 23, with a monthly base salary of

$1,656.46. In 1984 his job title was changed from Asso-

ciate Follow-Up to Materials Follow-Up Clerk, and dur-

25a

ing May 1985, he was given a level 5 position as a Mate-

rials Management Expediter. White’s job duties remained

the same. His base salary in 1985 was $2,600.00. White

was hired nearest in time to plaintiffs Glenn and Johns.

Jerry Pepper became an Associate Follow-Up in July

1981 at a monthly salary of $1,656.00. Jerry Pepper’s

job title was changed to Materials Follow-Up Clerk in

1984. In June 1985 Pepper became a level 5 Materials

Management Expediter. Despite the change in job, Pep-

per’s duties have remained the same. His 1985 base

monthly salary was $2,740.00.

The Pay Disparity

Through 1985 all three plaintiffs earned less than all

of-their male counterparts in the Follow-Up position in

the Tool Stores Department. In fact, the most highly-paid

plaintiff made less through 1985 than the lowest-paid

man. Plaintiff Nugent was hired as an Associate Follow-

Up two months before Richard Tanley was hired in the

same capacity, yet Tanley’s monthly salary was $60

higher. Plaintiffs Johns and Glenn were hired as Asso-

ciate Follow-Ups two months before Billy White, yet

White’s starting Associate Follow-Up salary was $215

per month higher than Glenn’s and $336 per month higher

than Johns’.

Plaintiffs Glenn, Johns and Nugent each received an

“inequity adjustment” shortly after plaintiffs Johns and

Glenn filed their EEOC charges. No one else in the Tool

Stores Department received an “inequity adjustment.”

In determining whether to give an “inequity adjustment”

to salary, the GM salaried personnel administration looks

at the employee’s salary in relation to a new hire’s sal-

ary, the employee’s performance and length of service.

In August 1983 plaintiff Glenn received an “inequity ad-

justment” of $150.56. Defendant’s stated reason for the

adjustment was “due to review of salary structures of

Tool Stores Department.” In August 1983 plaintiff Johns

26a

received an “inequity increase” in the amount of $142.82.

The defendant’s stated reason for the adjustment was

“due to review of salary structure of Tool Stores Depart-

ment.” Plaintiff Nugent was the only employee in her

department to get an inequity adjustment. The “inequity

adjustment,” made in August 1983, was in the amount

of $159.74.

GM quibbles about whether the Follow-Up job handled

by the three women plaintiffs and the men are compar-

able, and attempts to distinguish them on the basis of

specific items handled by Follow-Ups. The function of

the Tool Stores Department is generally to provide for

all non-productive material that is used within the plants.”

It involves the management of inventories and mainten-

ance of the plants to keep the plants running. It also

includes management of janitorial supplies. Specific

functions include ordering non-productive material for the

three Alabama plants, specifying order quantities, main-

taining tooling crib stock levels, and making special or

“emergency” buys. The positions held by plaintiffs and

their male counterparts in October 1983 were “Follow-

Up Tool and Die” and “Associate Follow-Up Tool and

Die.” These titles were changed in September 1984 to

“Materials Management Expediter,” “Materials Follow-

Up Clerk,” and “Senior Materials Management Expedi-

ter,” although the job requirements and functions re-

nm eined the same under all five of these titles. Except for

0ix months in 1983 when all Tool Stores Departments for

2 “Non-productive” materials are materials required to operate

the plant and maintain machinery to build the parts for a GM

automobile. Such materials include, but are not limited to: bear-

ings; chains; seals; power transmission parts (such as sprockets,

couplings, reducers and gear boxes); electrical parts; blueprint

tooling; stationery items (such as paper, forms, tags, pencils) ;

spare parts; cutting tools; hand tools; tool holders; abrasives;

grinding wheels; maintenance and tool steel oils; chemicals; lubri-

cants; nuts, bolts, and screws; charts; springs; janitorial supplies

and other miscellaneous supplies.

OTE aR PN RS RRR

27a

the three plants were consolidated, each plant has had a

separate Tool Stores Department. A Follow-Up and As-

sociate Follow-Up in Tool Stores orders and disburses

non-productive materials, confirms orders, processes emer-

gency orders, and processes daily paper work. They set

up new items of inventory, and they deal with outside

salesmen.

GM contends that the male Follow-Ups who handle

items ordered from blueprints need different skills than

those Follow-Ups, including the plaintiffs, who do not.

The court finds that for all purposes material to this case

the positions of Blueprint Follow-Up and Follow-Up are

identical. The court notes that GM has never treated

Follows-Ups differently for compensation purposes on the

basis of items handled. When plaintiff Nugent handled

blueprint items, for example, she still made less than a

male Follow-Up who did not. Some of the men handling

blueprint items currently make less money than other

men who do not work with blueprint items. The only

current Follow-Up who has had college training in work-

ing with blueprints is plaintiff Johns, and she does not

handle blueprint items at present.

The court does not doubt that increased familiarity

with blueprint items may enable the Follow-Ups who

handle them to work with them in a more meaningful

way, but GM does not require formal blueprint training.

The court does not credit any evidence presented by GM

indicating that Blueprint Follow-Ups actually interpret

blueprints. GM has skilled “troubleshooters” and engi-

neers present to carry on this function, and the court

finds it highly unlikely that GM would rely on unskilled

Follow-Ups to interpret blueprints to its suppliers when

the continued viability of the plants is at stake. The

Blueprint Follow-Ups provide the vendors with only rou-

tine information that can be obtained from the blue-

prints without actually interpreting them.

28a

GM attempts to justify the pay disparity between the

male and female Follow-Ups by emphasizing the route by

which each Follow-Up progressed by the Follow-Up posi-

tion. GM contends that the male Follow-Ups transferred

into their positions from higher-paid hourly jobs within

GM, and that GM maintained this higher level of pay to

encourage them to make the move to a salaried Follow-

Up position. The higher hourly salaries were the result

of collective bargaining which did not affect the salaried

positions. The women plaintiffs, GM argues, came from

lower-paid salaried positions within GM. GM asserts

that their salary policies are gender-neutral, and are

uniformly applied in determining entry salaries for

Follow-Ups.

GM’s asserted policy to encourage employees to trans-

fer from hourly positions to salaried positions by main-

taining the same rate of pay after transfer is not in

writing. GM maintains a written salaried administra-

tion plan or manual, commonly referred to as the “black

book,” which contains no mention of the “transfer pol-

icy.” GM also maintains a written merit plan, to deter-

mine certain pay increases, which contains no reference

to the “transfer policy.”

The court finds that this so-called salary “policy” is

in fact not a policy at all, but merely one aspect of a

practice. In practice GM simply pays Follow-Ups what it

takes to induce them to accept the employment. The

court notes that historically companies may and do hire

women at lower starting salaries. The court is thus un-

convinced of GM’s attempted justification for the pay

disparity. The three female plaintiffs are being paid less

money than their male counterparts for equal work with-

out justification.

In order for plaintiffs to establish a prima facie case

under the Equal Pay Act, they must show “that an em-

ployer pays different wages to employees of opposite sexes

‘for equal work on jobs the performance of which re-

quires equal skills, effort, and responsibility, and which

are performed under similar working conditions.’”

Corning Glass Works v. Brennan, 417 U.S. 188, 195

(1974); Morgado v. Birmingham-Jefferson County Civil

Defense Corps, 706 F.2d 1184, 1187-88 (11th Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 715 (1984). The Equal Pay Act

“also establishes four exceptions—three specific and one

a general catchall provision—where different payment to

employees of opposite sexes ‘is made pursuant to (i) a

seniority syctem; (ii) a merit system; (iii) a system

which measures earnings by quantity or quality of pro-

duction; or (iv) a differential based on any other factor

other than sex.’” Corning, 417 U.S. at 196. The court

is convinced that plaintiffs have carried their burden of

establishing a prima facie case of liability under the

Equal Pay Act, and that the defendant GM has failed

to establish any of the Act’s four exceptions justifying

a pay disparity."

On the issue of damages, the court must determine the

applicable statute of limitations for this Equal Pay Act

action. 29 U.S.C. § 255(a) provides that such actions

“may be commenced within two years after the cause of

action accrued, and every such action shall be forever

barred unless commenced within two years after the

cause of action accrued, except that a cause of action

arising out of a willful violation may be commenced

within three years after the cause of action accrued.”

The court in Brock v. Georgia Southwestern College, 765

F.2d 1026 (11th Cir. 1985), provided these guidelines for

determining when a “willful” violation has occurred ne-

* Plaintiffs also alleged a claim of retaliation against GM. Plain-

tiffs contended at trial that various actions taken by GM consti-

tuted improper acts in retaliation for plaintiffs having brought

this suit. The court finds a paucity of evidence to support a claim

of retaliation and therefore denies the claim.

30a

cessitating the application of the three-year statute of

limitations:

[A] violation is willful if the employer knows or

has reason to know that his or her conduct is gov-

erned by the [Equal Pay] Act. Brennan v. Heard,

491 F.2d 1 (5th Cir. 1974). An employer need not

proceed with knowledge that his or her actions are

contrary to the Act in order for willfulness to be

found. Id. An action is “willful” if the employer

knew that the Act was “in the picture” regardless

of the defendant’s good faith. Coleman v. Jiffy

June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139, 1142 (5th Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 948, 93 S. Ct. 292, 34

L. Ed.2d 219 (1972). See also Marshall v. A & M

Consolidated Independent School District, 605 F.2d

186, 190-91 (5th Cir. 1979) (actual awareness of

the law is unnecessary to establish willfulness;

knowledge is imputed).

Brock, 765 F.2d at 1039.* Clearly, in this case GM knew

*The court notes that the Supreme Court’s decision in Trans

World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 105 8S. Ct. 613 (1985), is in-

apposite. In TWA the Court defined a violation of the Age Dis-

crimination in Employment Act as “willful” if “the employer either

knew or showed reckless disregard for the matter of whether its

conduct was prohibited by the ADEA.” TWA, 105 S. Ct. at 625.

TWA, however, concerned the award of liquidated damages, not the

determination of the applicable statute of limitations. The Court

noted: “Even if the ‘in the picture’ standard were appropriate for

the statute of limitations, the same standard should not govern a

provision dealing with liquidated damages.” /d. The Court em-

phasized the distinction between defining the term “willful” in the

context of the liquidated damages provision of the ADEA, and

defining “willful” in terms of 29 U.S.C. § 255(a) concerning the

applicable statute of limitations in Equal Pay Act cases. This

circuit in a post-TWA decision has clearly adhered to the “in the

picture” definition of “willful” in the Equal Pay Act statute of

limitations context, and the court’s application of this standard is

therefore not affected by the TWA decision. See Brock, 765 F.2d

at 1039.

8la

more than that the Equal Pay Act was merely “in the

picture.” GM was aware at all times material to this

litigation that the Equal Pay Act governed their conduct

concerning plaintiffs. In fact GM has admitted that it

knew about the Equal Pay Act three years prior to the

date of the filing of plaintiffs’ lawsuit (October 1983).

The court will therefore apply a three-year statute of

limitations in determining the damage award for plain-

tiffs.

Plaintiffs further contend that they are entitled to

liquidated damages pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 216(b) which

provides as follows:

Any employer who violates the provisions of section

206 or section 207 of this title shall be liable to the

employee or employees affected in the amount of

their unpaid minimum wages, or their unpaid over-

time compensation, as the case may be, and in an

additional equal amount as liquidated damages.

29 U.S.C. § 216. Section 260, however, provides that “if

the employer shows to the satisfaction of the court that

the act or omission giving rise to such action was in good

faith and that he had reasonable grounds for believing

that his act or omission was not a violation of the Fair

Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, the court

may, in its sound discretion, award no liquidated dam-

ages....” 29 U.S.C. § 260. For this court to exercise

its discretion, GM “must show that [its] failure was

both in good faith and predicated upon such reasonable

grounds that it would be unfair to impose liquidated

damages upon [it].” Hays v. Republic Steel Corp., 531

F.2d 1307, 1309 n.3 (5th Cir. 1976). This court is con-

vineed that GM’s violation of the Equal Pay Act, while

“willful” as that term is defined by this circuit in this

context, was in good faith and predicated upon reason-

able grounds. As stated in Brock, an act may be “ ‘will-

ful’ if the employer knew that the [Equal Pay] Act was

‘in the picture’ regardless of the defendant’s good faith.”

82a

Brock, 765 F.2d at 1039. GM knew that their conduct

was governed by the Equal Pay Act, but created the

pay disparity concerning plaintiffs in good faith believ-

ing the disparity justified on the basis of their hourly

transfer pay “policy.” The court, therefore, will not

award liquidated damages.

Because the parties have not fully presented their re-

spective contentions concerning the computation of dam-

ages, the court directs the plaintiffs to submit a memor-

andum within twenty days from this date addressing in

itemized detail the precise method of computation of

plaintiffs’ damages and presenting their authority for

the award of prejudgment interest. Defendant shall

thereafter have fifteen days for the filing of a counter-

memorandum. The parties should be mindful of the

court’s ruling that liquidated damages will not be

awarded and that the three-year statute of limitations

applies. The issue of the award of attorney’s fees pre-

viously was reserved in this case for future considera-

tion, and the court further directs that within twenty

days following the date of this opinion plaintiffs shall

submit their application for attorney’s fees with support-

ing memorandum. If defendant desires to respond to

plaintiffs’ attorney’s fees memorandum it may do so

within fifteen days following the filing of plaintiffs’ ap-

plication and memorandum. The court admonishes both

parties that they should attempt to reach an agreement

on both damages and attorney’s fees and should promptly

communicate such agreement to the court. If no agree-

ment is reached by the expiration of the time allowed

above for the filing of defendant’s fees response, the

court will set a hearing to consider the computation of

damages and attorney’s fees.

DONE and ORDERED this 10th day of July, 1986.

/s/ Robert S. Vance

United States Circuit Judge

Sitting by Designation

83a

APPENDIX C

* in nee ras

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

NORTHEASTERN DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV83-V-577NE

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS

and ROBBIE NUGENT,

Plaintiffs,

versus

GENERAL MoToRS CORPORATION,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

In consideration of the findings of fact and conclusions

of law contained in this court’s Opinion and Order en-

tered July 10, 1986 and in the Memorandum of Decision

filed contemporaneously herewith, it is by the court

ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that plain-

tiffs have and recover of defendant the amounts indicated

by their respective names as follows:

Sheila Ann Glenn: Twenty-four thousand nine hun-

dred ninety-eight and 91/100 dollars ($24,998.91).

Patricia F. Johns: Thirty-four thousand five hun-

dred thirty-four and 33/100 dollars ($34,534.33).

Robbie Nugent: Forty-three thousand seven hundred

ninety-four and 57/100 dollars ($438,794.57).

It is further ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED

that Bell, Richardson, Herrington, Sparkman and Shep-

ard, P.A. be and is hereby awarded one hundred thirty-

34a

two thousand dollars ($132,000.00) in fees and thirty-

four thousand nine hundred seventy-nine and 44/100

dollars ($34,979.44) in expenses for their services in

representing the plaintiffs and accordingly that said at-

torneys have and recover of defendant one hundred sixty-

six thousand nine hundred seventy nine and 44/100 dol-

lars ($166,979.44); and that costs of court are taxed

against defendant.

DONE and ORDERED this 4th day of February,

1987.

/s/ Robert S. Vance

United States Circuit Judge

Sitting by Designation

35a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

NORTHEASTERN DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV83-V-577NE

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS

and ROBBIE NUGENT,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

After entering the Opinion and Order dated July 10,

1986, the court received a verified motion for attorney’s

fees, as well as memoranda from the respective parties

concerning the computation of damages and the award

of attorneys’ fees. On December 2, 1986, the court held

an evidentiary hearing and received further oral argu-

ment. As that time, the parties submitted exhibits, affi-

davits, and oral testimony. Thereafter, post hearing

memoranda were submitted. The court has now fully

considered these matters and enters the following Mem-

orandum of Decision, which incorporates the findings of

fact and conclusions of law required by Fed. R. Civ. P.

52(a). Except as modified herein, the Opinion and Order

of July 10 remains in full effect.

I. DAMAGES ISSUES

1. Statute of Limitations—The first issue confronting

the court is the construction of the word “willful” in the

statute of limitations section of the Portal-to-Portal Act,

36a

29 U.S.C. section 255 (a). A “willful” violation of the

Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206 (d), adds one year to

the statute of limitations, significantly increasing General

Motors’ liability. In Brock v. Georgia Southwestern Col-

lege, 765 F.2d 1026 (11th Cir. 1985), the Eleventh Cir-

cuit reaffirmed its commitment to the “in the picture”

standard, which was pioneered in Coleman v. Jiffy June

Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139, 1142 (5th Cir. 1971), cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 948 (1972). Under this standard, a

violation is “willful” if the employer knows or has reason

to know that the Equal Pay Act governs its conduct.

When the employer knows that the Equal Pay Act is “in

the picture,” its violation is “willful” regardless of the

employer’s good faith. Brock v. Georgia Southwestern

College, 765 F.2d at 1039. General Motors has admitted

that it knew that the Equal Pay Act governed its conduct.

For three years prior to the time the plaintiffs filed this

lawsuit, the plaintiffs continually protested General

Motors’ violation of their rights.

General Motors argues that the “in the picture” stand-

ard is no longer viable. Specifically, General Motors points

to Transworld Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469 U.S. 111

(1985), in which the Supreme Court elaborated a differ-

ent construction of the word “willfulness.”? Both the

‘In fact, Thurston, addresses the construction of the word “will-

fulness” in a completely different context—an age discrimination

action—where section 7(b) of the ADEA permits liquidated dam-

ages “only in cases of willful violations.” 29 U.S.C. § 626(b).

Although Thurston, rejected the Jiffy June “in the picture” analysis

for liquidated damages under the ADEA, the Supreme Court ex-

pressly noted that the Jiffy June standard might be appropriate for

statute of limitations questions. 105 S.Ct. at 625; see also E.E.0.C.

v. McCarthy, 768 F.2d 1, 5 (1st Cir. 1985). Differentiating between

these two settings is consistent with the different purposes served

by the ADEA’s liquidated damages provision and a statute of

limitations. Congress intended the liquidated damages provision of

the ADEA to serve the same punitive purpose as §16(a) of the

FLSA, which imposes a criminal penalty for “willful” violations.

It is not surprising that the Supreme Court relied upon cases inter-

ii a ll

37a

Third and Seventh Circuits have held that “willful” means

the same thing throughout the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA) and Fair Labor Standards Act

(FLSA). See, e.g., Brock v. Richland Shoe Co., 799 F.2d

80, 82-83 (8rd Cir. 1986); Walton v. United Consumers

Club, Inc., 786 F.2d 303, 308-312 (7th Cir. 1986).2 Un-

der this view, Thurston supplies a uniform definition of

“willful” for both statutes: “a violation is willful if the

employer either knew or showed reckless disregard for

the matter of whether its conduct was prohibited by the

ADEA.” 105 S. Ct. at 625.

The Thurston reckless disregard standard requires an

employer to make a “reasonable effort to determine

whether the plan he is following would constitute a vio-

lation of the law.” 105 S. Ct. at 624 (quoting Nabob Oil

Co. v. United States, 190 F.2d 478, 479 (10th Cir. 1950),

cert. denied, 342 U.S. 876 (1951)).* In Thurston, TWA

preting the FLSA criminal penalty provision in order to fashion a

similar standard for applying section 7(b), its ADEA counterpart.

See Thurston, 105 S.Ct. at 624. In contrast, a statute of limitations

is not punitive but restitutionary: it extends the period for the

recovery of back wages wrongfully withheld. See Secretary of

Labor v. Daylight Dairy Products, Inc., 779 F.2d 784, 789 (1st Cir.

1985); Donovan v. Bel-loc Diner, Inc., 780 F.2d 1113, 1117 (4th

Cir. 1985). This court does not believe that the Supreme Court’s

interpretation of one statute can be authority for the interpretation

of another so strikingly different in purpose. In the absence of

such authority, this court is bound by Eleventh Circuit precedent.

2 Apparently a majority of other jurisdictions continue to apply

the “in the picture” standard. See, e.g., Nolting v. Yellow Freight

System, Inc., 799 F.2d 1192 (8th Cir. 1986); Crenshaw v. Quarles

Drilling Corp., 798 F.2d 1345, 1349-50 (10th Cir. 1986); Secretary

of Labor v. Daylight Products, Inc., 779 F.2d 784 (1st Cir. 1985);

Donovan v. Bel-loc Diner, Inc., 780 F.2d 1113 (4th Cir. 1985);

Soler v. G. & U, Inc., 628 F. Supp. 720, 723-24 & n.3 (S.D.N.Y.

1986) ; Brock v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 644 F. Supp. 1202, 1208-

09 (W.D. Tex. 1986).

SIf an employer could escape the “reckless disregard” standard

solely by obtaining a green light from its lawyers, it would be far

ee ne TE eT TN ee a aE TO

38a

complied with this duty by seeking legal advice and con-

sulting with the Union in an effort to conform its retire-

ment policy to the ADEA. 105 8.Ct. at 625. In contrast,

General Motors chose to ignore clear signs that its prac-

tices were illegal.* A violation rises to the level of reck-

too easy for a defendant to circumvent the requirements of the

Act. Cf. Coleman v. Jiffy June Farms, Inc., 458 F.2d 1139, 1141-42

(5th Cir. 1972). It seems that the better law would require, at a

minimum, good faith reliance on a colorable legal position. See,

e.g., Whitfield v. City of Knoxville, 756 F.2d 455, 463-64 (6th Cir.

1985) (violation not willful where case law unsettled and defendants

rely upon a minority district court opinion); E.E.0.C. v. Westing-

house Electric Corp., 646 F. Supp. 555, 563 (D.N.J. 1986) (viola-

tion not willful when the United States government maintains

policies similar to those of the defendants) ; cf. Thurston, 105 S.Ct.

at 620 (summary judgment by district court in favor of defend-

ants). Unfortunately, the case law interpreting “willfulness” under

the Thurston definition defies any overarching legal analysis. Com-

pare Dreyer v. ARCO Chemical Co., 801 F.2d 651, 657-58 (3rd Cir.

1986) (willful conduct involves element of outrage); Berndt v.

Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Sales, Inc., 604 F. Supp. 962, 967

(E.D. Pa. 1985) (no “willfulness” where management reviews dis-

charges implicating the ADEA) to Guthrie v. J.C. Penney Co., Inc.,

803 F.2d 202, 209 (5th Cir. 1986) (evidence of undue pressure on

plaintiff and early retirement policy supports a finding of willful-

ness); Galvan v. Bexar County, 785 F.2d 1298, 1307 (5th Cir.

1986) reh’g denied 790 F.2d 890 (1986) (age discrimination willful

where age was the explicit reason for not rehiring employee);

E.E.0.C. v. Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co., 618 F. Supp. 115,

118 (D.C. Ohio 1985) (ADEA violation willful when denial of

severance pay was “deliberate, voluntary, and intentional.”);

Slenkamp v. Borough of Brentwood, 603 F. Supp. 1298, 1302 (W.D.

Pa. 1985) (material issue as to recklessness where employer posted

no signs informing employees of their rights under the ADEA);

Elbe v. Wausau Hospital Center, 606 F. Supp. 1491, 1499 (W.D.

Wisc. 1985) (conduct willful when there is a conscious decision to

terminate plaintiff ).

*General Motors asserts that its officials acted pursuant to a

“transfer pay policy.” Compare Thurston, 105 S. Ct. 613 (1985)

(good faith implementation of a facially neutral employment pol-

icy). This court has found, however, that the company never

adopted such a policy. What General Motors characterizes as a

39a

less disregard when an employer has the resources to

conform its conduct to the law, but declines to make the

effort.’ See, e.g., E.E.0.C. v. Westinghouse Electric Corp.,

632 F. Supp. 343, 372 (E.D.Pa. 1986) ; Slider v. National

Rollings Mills, Inc., No. 83-5929, slip op. (E.D.Pa. June 9,

1986); Gorman v. Continental Can Co., No. 76-C-908,

slip op. (N.D. Ill. March 25, 1986); Jennings v. Lenox

Hill Hospital, No. 84-1081, slip op. (S.D.N.Y. January 22,

1986). This court finds that General Motors’ conduct

falls within both the Thurston and Jiffy June definitions

of willfulness.

2. Computation of Damages—Both parties have sub-

mitted computations of the sums required to compensate

the plaintiffs in accordance with the findings and con-

clusions expressed in the July 10 Opinion and Order.

These figures are close and the parties have stipulated

that they would “split the difference.” The court there-

fore finds that the plaintiffs were undercompensated dur-

ing the period beginning three years prior to the filing

of suit and ending on the date of trial in the following

amounts:

Sheila Ann Glenn $12,499.46

Patricia F. Johns $17,267.17

Robbie Nugent $21,897.29

3. Prejudgment Interest—Whether or not liquidated

damages are awarded, binding precedent in this circuit

precludes the award of prejudgment interest. See Bar-

corporate policy was not a policy at all, but the practice of individual

decisionmakers.

5 As an explanation for its conduct during settlement negotiations,

General Motors has brought to this court’s attention its policy of

obtaining the resignation of employees who file discrimination

claims as a condition precedent to settlement. This court feels

obliged to point out that a policy of retaliatory discharge may be

per se “willful” under Thurston. See Powell v. Rockwell Inter-

national Corp., 788 F.2d 279, 286 & n.6 (5th Cir. 1986).

40a

cellona v. Tiffany English Pub, 597 F.2d 454, 469 (5th

Cir. 1979) ; Foremost Dairies, Inc. v. Ivey, 204 F.2d 186

(5th Cir. 1953). Liquidated damages, if allowed, act as

compensation for delay in the payment of sums due under

the Act. Jd. at 190.

4. Liquidated Damages—The court finds that individ-

ual company officials held a good faith belief that General

Motors had adopted a “transfer pay policy.” In the July

10, 1986 Opinion and Order, the court concluded that such

a finding was sufficient to establish a good faith defense,

making an award of liquidated damages discretionary un-

der 29 U.S.C. § 260. A further review of the case law in

this circuit, however, has convinced the court that it ap-

plied the incorrect legal] standard in reaching this result.

The purpose of a liquidated damages award is to en-

courage employers to make a good faith effort to ascer-

tain and comply with the law. Archambault v. United

Computing Systems, Inc., 786 F.2d 1507, 1514 (11th Cir.

1986). Accordingly, “good faith requires some duty to

investigate potential liability under the FLSA.”* Wash-

ington v. Miller, 721 F.2d 797, 804 (11th Cir. 1983) ;

Barcellona v. Tiffany English Pub, Inc., 597 F.2d 464,

468-69 (11th Cir. 1979). The Eleventh Circuit has taken

a strict view: the good faith defense applies only when

: an employer innocently and to his detriment follows the

law “as it was laid down to him by government agencies,

without notice that such interpretations were claimed to

be erroneous or invalid.” Olson v. Superior Pontiac-GMC,

Inc., 765 F.2d 1570, 1579 (11th Cir.) modified on other

grounds, 776 F.2d 265 (1985). Accord E.E.0.C. v. Home

Insurance Co., 672 F.2d 252, 263 (2d Cir. 1982); Clifton

D. Mayhew, Inc. v. Wirtz, 413 F.2d 658, 661 (4th Cir.

1969).

*In Thurston, the Supreme Court fashioned its definition of

“willfulness” to reflect these same concerns. 105 S. Ct. at 625 n.22.

4la

General Motors argues that an employer sustains its

burden of proof under section 260 by demonstrating a

reasonable, albeit mistaken, belief that it was not violat-

ing the act. See, e.g., Walton v. United Consumers Club,

Inc., 786 F.2d 303; 312 (7th Cir. 1986); Claymore v.

Far-Mar-Co., 709 F.2d 499, 505 (8th Cir. 1983); Mar-

tinez v. Food City, Inc., 658 F.2d 369, 376 (5th Cir. Unit

A 1981). Even under this less exacting standard, ignor-

ance cannot form the basis for a reasonable belief.” See,

e.g., Doty v. Elias, 733 F.2d 720, 726 (10th Cir. 1984) ;

Marshall v. Brunner, 668 F.2d 748, 753 (3rd Cir. 1982) ;

Brock v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 644 F. Supp. 1202,

1209 (W.D.Tex. 1986). There is no credible evidence that

General Motors made any attempt to investigate its re-

sponsibilities. See Sinclair v. Automobile Club of Okla-

homa, Inc., 733 F.2d 726, 730 (10th Cir. 1984);

Melanson v. Rantoul, 5386 F. Supp. 271, 293 (D.R.I.

1982). General Motors has adduced neither case law nor

administrative rulings to demonstrate that there were rea-

sonable grounds to support a belief that its acts were in

conformity with the law.* “A good heart but an empty

head does not produce a defense.” Walton v. United Con-

sumers Club, Inc., 786 F.2d at 312. The court concludes

that it has no choice but to award liquidated damages.

Il. ATTORNEY FEES AGAINST GENERAL

MOTORS

The court has given detailed consideration to the twelve

factors set forth in Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express,

488 F.2d 714, 717-719 (5th Cir. 1974). A more useful

starting point for determining a reasonable attorney fee

7A reasonable belief also cannot be based on a simple misunder-

standing of the requirements of the Act. Crenshaw v. Quarles

Drilling Corp., 798 F.2d at 1351.

8 General Motors has cited decisions which advance the hardly

earthshaking proposition that a corporate policy can be lawful if

based on a factor other than sex. In fact, General Motors could not

have relied upon these cases because there was no transfer policy.

ee ee

42a

under more recent law, however, seems to be the number

of hours reasonably expended on the litigation multiplied

by a reasonable hourly rate. Pennsylvania v. Delaware

County Citizens’ Council For Clear Air, 106 S. Ct. 3088,

3097 (1986); Hensley v. Eckerhardt, 461 U.S. 424, 433

(1983). The Supreme Court appears to recognize a

strong presumption that the lodestar figure—the product

of reasonable hours times a reasonable rate—represents

a reasonable fee. Delaware County Citizens’ Council For

Clean Air, 106 S. Ct. at 3097; Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S.

886, 897 (1984). This calculation may subsume many of

the twelve factors set out in Johnson v. Georgia Highway

Express, 488 F.2d 714, 717-19 (5th Cir. 1974). See Dela-

ware County Citizens’ Council For Clean Air, 106 S. Ct.

at 3098; Blum, 465 U.S. at 896-900; Hensley, 461 U.S.

at 434 n.9; Jones v. Central Soya Co., 748 F.2d 586, 589

(11th Cir. 1984); United States v. Cert. Real Prop. Loc.

at 4880 S.E. Dixie Highway, 628 F. Supp. 1467, 1472

(S.D. Fla. 1986).

1. Reasonable Hours

The court must exclude from its initial fee calcula-

tion hours that are not “reasonably expended.” Hensley,

103 S. Ct. at 1939 (citing S. Rep. No. 94-1011, p.6

(1976)). Plaintiffs’ attorneys seek compensation for a

total of 1889.1 attorney hours and 411 paralegal and

law clerk hours. The reasonableness of this time and

labor has been assessed in light of two other Johnson

factors—the novelty and difficulty of the case and the

result. See Erkins v. Bryan, 785 F.2d 1538, 1545 (11th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 455 (1986); Car-

michael v. Birmingham Saw Works, 738 F.2d 1126, 1137

(11th Cir. 1984) York v. Alabama State Board of Edu-

cation, 631 F. Supp. 78, 83 (M.D. Ala. 1986).

This case was a routine disparate treatment case, al-

though it may not have been the type of case plaintiffs’

counsel ordinarily encounters. Such novel issues as there

43a

were did not present significant legal and factual hurdles.

On the other hand, the court notes that plaintiffs’ coun-

sel obtained substantial benefits for their clients. When

only the interests of the named plaintiffs are at stake,

plaintiffs’ attorneys should have in mind the actual

amount in controversy, and this court would normally

balk at awarding fees substantially in excess of that

amount. See Jones v. Central Soya Co., Inc., 748 F.2d

586, 591 (11th Cir. 1984). In the present case, however,

the plaintiffs’ recovery may benefit other female employ-

ees who have been adversely affected by General Motors’

discriminatory practices. See City of Riverside v. Rivera,

106 S. Ct. 2686, 2694, 2700 (1986) (Brennan plurality)

(Powell concurrence) (rejecting argument that “fee

awards under section 1988 should necessarily be propor-

tionate to the amount of damages a civil rights plaintiff

actually recovers”) .°

Notwithstanding possible benefit to other female em-

ployees, the number of hours for which plaintiffs claim

compensation is clearly unreasonable. The court has no

doubt that plaintiffs’ attorneys worked more hours than

they actually claim. The actual figure exceeds 2300

hours. Even defendant’s counsel has billed for substan-

tially over a thousand hours. In contrast, defendant’s

expert witness, James P. Alexander, testified that the

maximum amount of time that is reasonable for litigat-

ing this type of case would be approximately 625 hours.

* The plaintiffs were successful in all significant issues except

their harassment claim. This claim was relatively insignificant and

involved discrete issues of fact and law. Compare City of Riverside,

106 S. Ct. at 2692; Hensley, 461 U.S. at 435. “A fee applicant

should maintain billing time records in a manner that will enable

a reviewing court to identify distinct claims.” City of Riverside,

106 S. Ct. at 2692; Hensley, 103 S. Ct. at 1941. Plaintiffs’ records

do not lend themselves to a determination of the time devoted to

this losing issue. Nevertheless, the court credits Mr. Richardson's

testimony that his firm spent no more than 40 hours pursuing this

harassment claim.

44a

Under ordinary circumstances, the court would consider

625 hours as an absolute maximum, even if the case were

hard-fought and vigorously contested.

Several factors contributed to this staggering waste

of legal resources. First, plaintiffs’ counsel simply over-

prepared, using three lawyers where one would suffice

and expending twice the time on memoranda and briefs

as was reasonably necessary. See Jones v. Central Soya

Company, Inc., 748 F.2d 586, 594 (11th Cir. 1984).

Counsel for the prevailing party must make a good-faith

effort to exclude such excessive and redundant hours from

a fee request just as a lawyer in private practice is

ethically obligated to exclude such hours from his fee

submission. See Hensley, 103 S. Ct. at 1939-40; Erkins

v. Bryan, 785 F.2d 1538, 1545 (11th Cir. 1986). More

significantly, the relations between opposing attorneys

in this case often degenerated into an acrimonious

bickering context which proved to be enormously time-

consuming.

General Motors’ defense techniques also occasioned a

great deal of extra work. General Motors has been stub-

bornly litigious and has adopted an obstructionist policy

in responding to discovery. If General Motors had made

a straightforward presentation of its claimed defense

and willingly disgorged the information sought by the

plaintiffs, this case shoul have consumed no more than

the 625 hours to which reference has been made. At

every step of the way, however, General Motors has fully

participated in the quibbing that has become the hall-

mark of this case. Two additional actions by General

Motors are relevant.

First, General Motors now states that its standard

practice is not to settle any discrimination case unless

the complaining emy..oyee resigns. This position, the ap-

parently nonnegotiab\e character of which was only re-

cently revealed to the court, made settlement all but

45a

impossible. Nevertheless, General Motors continued to

assure the court of its interest in negotiations and the

court continued to pressure both sides to reach a settle-

ment. Plaintiffs’ counsel, who had been told that plain-

tiffs’ resignation was essential to settlement, responded

by embarking upon an expensive, time-consuming evalua-

tion of the economic loss that plaintiffs would suffer as a

consequence of resigning. The court finds that, under

the circumstances, these undertakings were reasonable

and necessary.

General Motors also injected needless work and expense

into this case by adopting an “afterthought” defense.

Specifically, General Motors contended that the plaintiffs

were not entitled to as much compensation as certain

male employees because these male employees utilized an

additional skill, namely, working with blue prints. This

clearly had no causal relationship with General Motors’

discrimination against the plaintiffs. Although this con-

tention was lacking in factual merit, it demanded a re-

sponse. Plaintiffs’ rebuttal required substantial discovery

and expensive expert assistance. A defendant has the

right to put on its case as it sees fit. This court does

not criticize General Motors for exercising this right

and its disposition is in no respect punitive.” General

Motors, however, cannot complain of the waste of time

1% At the conclusion of the evidence the court solicited post-

hearing memoranda. At that time, it stated its tentative, non-

binding, impressions. Defendant takes strenuous exception to cer-

tain of the court’s remarks. These comments were deliberately

couched in provocative terms in a successful effort to elicit pointed

memoranda. Counsel has made an unfortunate misconstruction of

those remarks, however, if they were perceived as reflecting any

punitive disposition by the court. The misunderstood point is sim-

ply that defendants’ own actions, in the two particulars discussed

above, justified and indeed necessitated the expenditure of a great

deal more time and money by plaintiffs’ counsel than would other-

wise have been reasonable. This substantial expense must be borne

by defendant.

eee

46a

and resources precipitated by its own strategy. See

Hudson v. Deyton, 770 F.2d 1558, 1575 (11th Cir.

1985) , reh’g denied, 777 F.2d 704 (1985).

After considering all these facts and circumstances,

the court concludes that 1200 hours was a reasonable

expenditure of time by plaintiffs’ counsel through the

time of trial and to the present date. In disallowing a

substantial portion of the hours expended, the court is

aware of the desirability of making specific determina-

tions with respect to each disallowed time segment. Un-

fortunately that is not possible in this case. The only

specific item that can be so treated is the 40 hours spent

on preparing the unsuccessful harassment claim. The

remainder of the disallowance falls into a general cate-

gory of counsel’s simply exceeding the maximum number

of hours that could ever be reasonable in this situation.

The evidence supporting the fee application does not pro-

vide information necessary to a specific breakdown of

such items as unnecessary preparation, uses of excessive

personnel, and time spent in needless bickering. Never-

theless, the court is reasonably satisfied that, of the total

hours expended, 1200, but no more than 1200, were rea-

sonable under the attendant circumstances.

Plaintiffs’ fee application also seeks payment for 411

hours worked by paralegals and law clerks. Some of

these hours were actually attorney hours that counsel

voluntarily downgraded in the application. The court

finds that this number is also excessive and will limit

this expense to compensation for 200 hours. This will

reduce plaintiffs’ reimburseable expenses by $7385.00

2. Prevailing Market Rate

In determining the prevailing market rate, the court

has considered the following Johnson factors: customary

fee awards in similar cases; skill required to perform

the legal services properly; the experience, reputation

and ability of the attorneys; the contingent nature of

ee

47a

the fee; undesirability of the case; time limitations;

preclusion of other employment; and the nature and

length of professional relationship with the clients. See

York v. Alabama State Board of Education, 631 F. Supp.

78, 84 (M.D. Ala. 1986).

In this district, awards in employment discrimination

cases taken on a contingency fee basis range from $90

to $150 per hour. This approximates the customary fee

for similar work in this community, which ranges from

$90 to $125 per hour. This case required the skill of a

competent trial attorney experienced in federal litiga-

tion. The firm of Bell, Richardson, Herrington, Spark-

man, and Shepard is one of the oldest and best known

firms in North Alabama. Insurance companies, railroads

and large corporations form the bulk of the firm’s

clients." As a result, most of the members of the firm

lack experience litigating discrimination cases for a

plaintiff. Nevertheless, plaintiffs’ counsel displayed ex-

traordinary skill and fully anticipated every development

at trial.12 This case would be considered an undesirable

one for the Richardson firm: corporate clients do not

applaud lawyers who represent employees in discrimina-

11 This court is satisfied that the number of hours plaintiffs’ coun-

sel reasonably devoted to this case is at least equal to the time ex-

pended by the defense counsel. The defendants have not argued that

their representation was more involved than the representation of

plaintiffs. See Hudson v. Deyton, 770 F.2d 1558, 1574 (11th Cir.

1985), reh’g denied, 777 F.2d 704 (1985); Naismith v. Professional

Golfers Association, 85 F.R.D. 552, 563 (1979).

12 The senior partner, Patrick W. Richardson, one of the attor-

neys in this case, is a past president of the state bar association

and a distinguished leader among the bar of this court. Johr A.

Wilmer, who also worked on this case, practices almost exclusi ely

in the labor field and has had several years experience represent-

ing management. James H. Richardson, who acted as lead counsel,

routinely handles important matters for his firm. Mr. Richardson

displays an ability which belies the fact that he has practiced law

for only six years. Gabrielle Wehl has also practiced law for six

years; however, she has experience in this type of litigation.

48a

tion actions. In fact, plaintiffs’ counsel found it neces-

sary to mollify several of their clients while handling

this case.

On the other hand, there is no reason why this case

should have taken priority over other cases. Similarly,

there is no indication that this case caused plaintiffs’

counsel to turn down other work except for the fact that

it was so time consuming. The court understands that

this is a one-time undertaking by the plaintiffs’ counsel

and that there is no ongoing professional relationship

between the plaintiffs and the Richardson firm.

The court finds that an average hourly fee of $110.00

is reasonable under all of the circumstances presented

and that such rate reasonably reflects the prevailing

market rate for work performed by similarly situated

attorneys in similar employment discrimination cases.

3. Lodestar Calculation

The product of the attorneys’ compensable time and

this average market fee is one hundred thirty-two thou-

sand and no/100 dollars ($132,000.00).[*! The court

also awards thirty-four thousand nine hund*ed seventy-

nine and 44/100 dollars ($34,979.44) in expenses, which

the courts finds to have been reasonably expended under

the circumstances for paralegals, law clerks, fee counsel,

general office litigation expenses and expert witnesses.

13 Their performance is all the more impressive because defense

counsel are among the most highly skilled of Alabama attorneys

practicing in this field. Notwithstanding the court’s lack of en-

thusiasm for much that has taken place, defense counsel displayed

outstanding ability and a tenacious dedication to their client’s

cause.

14 The court would very much prefer to calculate a lodestar figure

for each attorney separately. Unfortunately, it is simply impossible

to allocate the unsuccessful, unnecessary and redundant hours

among the attorneys. For this reason, the court has resorted to an

average figure which it finds to be reasonable when the work of all

of plaintiffs counsel is considered.

a

49a

Ill. Summary

Plaintiff Sheila Ann Glenn is entitled to judgment in

the amount of twenty-four thousand nine hundred ninety-

eight and 91/100 dollars ($24,998.91).

Plaintiff Patricia F. Johns is entitled to judgment in

the amount of thirty-four thousand five hundred thirty-

four and 33/100 dollars ($34,534.33).

Plaintiff Robbie Nugent is entitled to judgment in the

amount of forty-three thousand seven hundred ninety-

four and 57/100 dollars ($43,794.57)

Bell, Richardson, Herrington, Sparkman and Shepard,

P.A. is entitled to an award of one hundred thirty two

thousand dollars ($132,000.00) in fees and thirty four

thousand nine hundred seventy nine and 44/100 dollars

($34,979.44) in expenses for their services in represent-

ing the plaintiffs.

An appropriate Order will be entered.

DONE this 4th day of February, 1987.

s/ Robert S. Vance

United States Circuit Judge

Sitting by Designation

50a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-7171

D.C. Docket No. 83-5777

SHEILA ANN GLENN, PATRICIA F. JOHNS

and ROBBIE NUGENT,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

versus

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-A ppellant,

SAGINAW STEERING GEAR DIVISION,

Defendant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Alabama

Before JOHNSON and CLARK, Circuit Judges, and

DUMBAULD,”* Senior District Judge. ~

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

the record from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Alabama, and was argued by coun-

sel;

* Honorable Edward Dumbauld, Senior U.S. District Judge for

the Western District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

5la

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment

of the said District Court in this cause be and the same

is hereby, AFFIRMED in part and REVERSED in

part; and that this cause be and the same is hereby,

REMANDED to said District Court for further proceed-

ings in accordance with the opinion of this Court;

It is further ordered that defendant-appellant pay to

plaintiffs-appellees 75% of the costs on appeal and that

plaintiffs-appellees pay to defendant-appellant 25% of

the costs on appeal; said costs to be taxed by the Clerk

of this Court.

Entered: April 15, 1988

For the Court: MIGUEL J. CORTEZ

Clerk

By: /s/ Warren A. Godfrey

Issued as Mandate: May 12, 1988

52a

APPENDIX E

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. A-3

GENERAL Motors CORPORATION,

Applicant

Ve

SHEILA ANN GLENN, et al.

ORDER EXTENDING TIME TO FILE PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application of counsel for

petitioner,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a petition for

writ of certiorari in the above-entitled cause be, and the

same is hereby, extended to and including August 13,

1988.

/s/ Anthony M. Kennedy

Associate Justice of the Supreme

Court of the United States

Dated this 1st day of July, 1988.

53a

APPENDIX F

1. The Equal Pay Act, 29 U.S.C. § 206(d), provides:

(1) No employer having employees subject to any

provisions of this section shall discriminate, within

any establishment in which such employees are em-

ployed, between employees on the basis of sex by

paying wages to employees in such establishment at

a rate less than the rate at which he pays wages to

employees of the opposite sex in such establishment

for equal work on jobs the performance of which

requires equal skill, effort, and responsibility, and

which are performed under similar working condi-

tions, except where such payment is made pursuant

to (i) a seniority system; (ii) a merit system; (iii)

a system which measures earnings by quantity or

quality of production; or (iv) a differential based

on any other factor other than sex: Provided, That

an employer who is paying a wage rate differential

in violation of this subsection shall not, in order to

comply with the provisions of this subsection, re-

duce the wage rate of any employee.

(2) No labor organization, or its agents, repre-

senting employees of an employer having employees

subject to any provisions of this section shall cause

or attempt to cause such an employer to discriminate

against an employee in violation of paragraph (1)

of this subsection.

(8) For purposes of administration and enforce-

ment, any amounts owing to any employee which

have been withheld in violation of this subsection

shall be deemed to be unpaid minimum wages or

unpaid overtime compensation under this chapter.

(4) As used in this subsection, the term “labor

organization” means any organization of any kind,

or any agency or employee representation eommittee

or plan, in which employees participate and which

SEIS A

54a

exists for the purpose, in whole or in part, of deal-

ing with employers concerning grievances, labor dis-

putes, wages, rates of pay, hours of employment, or

conditions of work.

2. Section 16(b) of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 29

U.S.C. § 216(b), provides:

Any employer who violates the provisions of sec-

tion 206 or section 207 of this title shall be liable

to the employee or employees affected in the amount

of their unpaid minimum wages, or their unpaid

overtime compensation, as the case may be, and in

an additional equal amount as liquidated damages.

Any employer who violates the provisions of, section

215(a) (3) of this title shall be liable for such legal

or equitable relief as may be appropriate to effectuate

the purposes of section 215(a) (3) of this title, in-

cluding without limitation employment, reinstate-

ment, promotion, and the payment of wages lost and

an additional equal amount as liquidated damages.

An action to recover the liability prescribed in either

of the preceding sentences may be maintained

against any employer (including a public agency) in

any Federal or State court of competent jurisdiction

by any one or more employees for and in behalf of

himself or themselves and other employees similarly

situated. No employee shall be a party plaintiff to

any such action unless he gives his consent in writ-

ing to become such a party and such consent is filed

in the court in which such action is brought. The

court in such action shall, in addition to any judg-

ment awarded to the plaintiff or plaintiffs, allow a

reasonable attorney’s fee to be paid by the defend-

ant, and costs of the action. The right provided by

this subsection to bring an action by or on behalf of

any employee, and the right of any employee to be-

come a party plaintiff to any such action, shall

terminate upon the filing of a complaint by the Sec-

55a

retary of Labor in an action under section 217 of

this title in which (1) restraint is sought of any

further delay in the payment of unpaid minimum

wages, or the amount of unpaid overtime compensa-

tion, as the case may be, owing to such employee

under section 206 or section 207 of this title by an

employer liable therefor under the provisions of this

subsection or (2) legal or equitable relief is sought

as a result of alleged violations of section 215(a) (3)

of this title.

3. Section 6(a) of the Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947,

29 U.S.C. § 255(a), provides:

Any action commenced on or after May 14, 1947,

to enforce any cause of action for unpaid minimum

wages, unpaid overtime compensation, or liquidated

damages, under the Fair Labor Standards Act of

1938, as amended, the Walsh-Healey Act, or the

Bacon-Davis Act—

(a) if the cause of action accrues on or after

May 14, 1947—-may be commenced within two years

after the cause of action accrued, and every such

action shall be forever barred unless commenced

within two years after the cause of action accrued,

except that a cause of action arising out of a willful

violation may be commenced within three years after

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.