Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simon v. F/S Airlease, II, Inc., 109 S. Ct. 137 (1988) (No. 88-125)

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

2©O 7) DK FILED

88 <1 5

~ Noo JUL 18 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

In Che CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

LEWIS SIMON

and

S-J FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC., GREYCAS, INC. and

THE SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY

AIRCRAFT TRUST NO. 1,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PHILIP J. NATHANSON

NATHANSON & WRAY

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 330

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 606-0771

Counsel for Petitioners

American Reprographics Management, Inc.™ © (312) 332-ARMI (800-999-6239)

\or4

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Section 503(b) (1) (A) of the

Bankruptcy Code authorizes the payment of

"commissions" to persons for "preserving

the estate." Section 327(a) of the

Bankruptcy Code allows for employment

of professional persons "with the court's

approval" pursuant to the petition of the

trustee or debtor-in-possession, and

sections 330(a) and 503(b)(2) authorize

the payment of "compensation" to such

professional persons based upon the

value of, and time spent in providing

the services.

The questions presented are:

ls Whether aircraft leasing agents

who admittedly preserved the

sole asset of the estate are

precluded from receiving their

agreed commission under

§503(b) (1) (A) because the

debtor-in-possession failed to

obtain a court order employing

petitioners as professional

persons prior to that

preservation, thus’ rendering

§503(b)({(1})(A) inoperative and

making the professional person

sections of the Bankruptcy Code

the sole and exclusive remedy

for business people who

rehabilitate the business of

the debtor-in-possession?

Whether the procedure for

professional person approval

(§327(a) and Bankruptcy Rule

ii

2014(a)) which requires’ the

debtor~-in-possession to

petition for and obtain "the

court's approval", but does not

specify prior approval, may be

used aS a complete bar to

compensating aircraft leasing

agents who rehabilitated the

business of the debtor-in-

possession, where the debtor-

in-possession promised, but

failed through its own

oversight, to obtain an order

Signifying the Bankruptcy

Court's approval of the agents’

services prior to the agents'

rehabilitation of the business?

iii

LIST OF PARTIES *

The Appellants and Cross~-Appellees

in the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit were respondents F/S

Airlease II, Inc., a debtor-in-possession

lease company under Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code, the Swig Investment

Company Aircraft Trust No. 1, the owner

of the aircraft, and Greycas, Inc., the

secured lender or mortgagee of the

aircraft.

The Appellees and Cross-Appellants

in the Third Circuit (petitioners here)

were Lewis Simon and S-J Financial

Corporation, the aircraft leasing agents

who negotiated and procured an aircraft

lease for the parties in the Bankruptcy

Court.

iv

* Petitioner S-J Financial

Corporation states that

there are no parent

companies, subsidiaries or

affiliates to list

pursuant to Rule 28.1 of

this Court.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ....... i-iii

Cae Ge Bee. (es .e-e sls e ew ae

hm Oe; ee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......e. Wi

Granaweee GEE 6 6 ow ete te eet ee eC

VORA 6 6 6.0 6 o.6 6 «6 ee a

STATUTE AND RULE INVOLVED ...... 9

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........11

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... .. 35

I. Significance Of The Case ..... 35

II. The Opinion Of The Court

Of Appelas Renderes A Section Of

The Bankruptcy Code Inoperative

And is Therefore Contrary To

The Decisions of This Court ... 41

III. The Court Of

Appeals' Decision

to Render §503(b) (1) (A)

Inoperative Creates A

Conflict among The Circuits ... 46

IV. Petitioners Should Not Be

Precluded From Employment

And Compensation By An

Estate That They Rehabilitated. . 47

Vo. Guapeeenee sé «es 8 Se ee ee

Cases:

Bank of Marin v. England, 385 U.S.

99, 109 (2008) «© ew sc ea evueeee es

, 420 U.S. 723,

756 (1975) . . . >. . . . >. . * . .

, 439 U.S.

379, 392 (3979) ce ec ec ev eevee @

F/S Airlease II, Inc.

v. Simon, 844 F.2d 99 (3rd

Cir. 1988) .. 2, 27, 37, 43, 45,

Enterprises, Inc., 809 F.2d 228,

231 at n. 4 (4th Cir. 1987) ...

In_re Arkansas Co., Inc., 798

F.2d 645 (3rd Cir. 1986) .... .

In re Ewing 54 B.R. 952

(D. Col. ) . >. . . >. . * . . . *

In_re Mammoth Mart, Inc., 536

F.2d 950, 954 (1st Cir. 1976) ..

In re F/S Airlease II, Inc.,

84 B.R. 389 (W.D. Pa. 1986) ...

vi

48, 50

2, 26

in._the Matter of

769 (Bkrtcy. W.D.

ie 0. s 04 0 « « Sp 83, 8 2

’

367 U.S. 303, 307-308 (1961) ..... 42

, 419

U.S. 43, S7 (32974) . «2 ew we we ec oe 0 c 40

Mountain State Tel. & Tel.

vy. Pueblo of Santa Ana, 472 U.S.

SOURCE Sb @estetecsrececce &

Pepper v. Litton, 308 U.S.

295, 304-305 (1939) ......224.2-. 41

’

391 U.S. 471, 481 (1968) ..... 40, 47

’

348 U.S. 528, 538-539 (1955) ..... 42

Trustees of Amalgamated

ins. Fund v. McFarlin's, 789

F.2d 98, 101 (2nd Cir. 1986) ... 38-39

Statutes:

ae wenmeue Beene «6 «.e 6 6 6 6 6s a

11 U.S.C. §102(3) es © 6 &: 3 ee ee

11 U.S.C. §327(a) .....i4, ii, 4, 44

48-49, 51-52

11 U.S.C. §330(a) . .. i, 4, 23, 44, 52

vii

11 U.S.C. §503 (a) . >. . . . . > . . . 49

11 U.S.C. §503(b)(1)(A) ... i, ii, 4,

22, 35-39,

43-46, 53

43 U.8.C. 98630) (2) .« « « « 4, 4 23,

43-44, 52-

53

43 U.8.G@. $2307 (a) «. « © © eo eo8 0 o o GS

28 U.8.C. §$1284(1) . «- © eee e ee Bz

Legislative History:

1978 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad News 5787, 5963, 6053 ....+ + 32-33

Rules:

Bankruptcy le 2014(a) . ii-iii,

48-49

viii

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

LEWIS SIMON

and

S-J FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

Vv.

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.,

GREYCAS, INC. and

THE SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY

AIRCRAFT TRUST NO. 1

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The Petitioners request this Court to

issue a writ of certiorari to review the

opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit filed on

March 21, 1988, the denial by that court

2

of a petition for rehearing on April 19,

1988, and its judgment entered in

accordance therewith on May 20, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, to which the

issuance of a writ of certiorari is

sought, is dated March 21, 1988. That

decision is reported at 84 F.2d 99 (3rd

Cir. 1988) and it reversed the judgment

of the United States District Court for

the Western District of Pennsylvania

approving petitioners' employment. The

Court of Appeals' decision, and denial of

rehearing, appear as Appendix A hereto.

The decision of the United States

District Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania is reported at 84 B.R.

389 (W.D. Pa. 1986). The District

Court's decision affirmed the Bankruptcy

an ND

3

Court's approval of petitioners'

employment, but vacated the monetary

award and remanded for further

documentation. It appears as Appendix B

hereto.

The decision of the United States

Bankruptcy Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania is reported at 59 B.R.

769 (Bankr. W.D. Pa. 1986). The

Bankruptcy Court entered an order, nunc

pro tunc, approving petitioners'

employment, and awarded petitioners

$450,000 for their services. That

decision appears as Appendix C hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

was entered on May 20, 1988, reversing

the decision of the District Court. The

Court of Appeals issued an order on April

6

19, 1988 denying petitioners' petition

for rehearing. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

STATUTES AND RULE INVOLVED

Bankruptcy Code sections 327(a),

330(a), 503(b)(1)(A), and 503(b)(2), 11

U.S.C. §§327(a), 330(a), 503(b) (1) (A) and

503(b) (2). Bankruptcy Rule 2014(a). The

relevant portions of the foregoing

statutes appear as Appendix D hereto.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a reorganizaticn proceeding

under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

The debtor-in-possession, F/S Airlease

II, Inc., is a lease company whose sole

asset consists of the leasehold rights in

a Boeing 737 aircraft. F/S Airlease II,

Inc. originally came into existence in

the spring of 1980. At that time, the

aircraft was purchased by its current

owners, the Swig Investment Company

Aircraft Trust No. 1. Financing for the

purchase was supplied by a= secured

lender, Greycas, Inc. The owners in turn

leased the aircraft to F/S Airlease II,

Inc. for a term of eighteen (18) years.

F/S Airlease II, Inc. (hereinafter

sometimes referred to as "the lease

company" or the "debtor-in-possession")

6

thus possesses the leasehold rights to

the aircraft until August 31, 1998.

The lease company initially leased

the aircraft to Air Florida in 1980.

After Air Florida filed for bankruptcy in

the summer of 1984, the lease company

regained possession of the aircraft.

Because the secured lender sought to

foreclose on its security interest

following Air Florida's demise, due to

non-payment under its note and security

agreement the lease company itself filed

for reorganization in the Bankruptcy

Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania in August of 1984.

From the outset of the lease

company's reorganization, it faced a

major problem: Air Florida had

cannibalized the aircraft. The number

two engine was missing, as well as

numerous other parts. The lease company,

~

as a debtor-in-possession, therefore

retained an appraiser to place a value on

the aircraft and to determine the

necessary cost of repair. That appraiser

determined the value of the aircraft in

August of 1984 as $5,252,000 "where is-

as is" in its non-airworthy condition (A.

1502-1504). Moreover, the appraiser

determined at that time that the cost of

repair to replace the missing engine and

return the aircraft to airworthy

condition would be $763,500. Despite the

condition of the aircraft, the owner of

the aircraft refused to expend that

amount to repair the aircraft, and the

lease company was unable to do so.

Instead of taking by itself the

necessary steps to rehabilitate its

business, the lease company, through its

president, Mr. Uhl, requested petitioner,

8

Lewis Simon,+ to find a new lessee for

the aircraft while it was in its non-

airworthy condition. Mr. Uhl thereafter

assured Mr. Simon that his compensation

for his services would be a priority

claim, and that the Bankruptcy Court

was aware of and permitted Mr. Simon's

services and activities (A. 1250-1251;

1274-1275, 1335).

Without disclosure to the

petitioners, Mr. Uhl "just overlooked"

obtaining court approval of petitioner's

employment and financial arrangement

because Mr. Uhl was so busy with another

corporation's reorganization for which he

was also responsible. Mr. Uhl testified

at trial that the lease company's failure

to seek such approval was "simply an

1, Petitioner Lewis Simon

conducts his aircraft leasing

activities through S-J

Financial Corporation, a

Closely held corporation.

9

oversight" (A. 675-676, 753-754, 1346-

1349).

However, when petitioner Lewis Simon

questioned Mr. Uhl, regarding his

services for the lease company and

payment for those services, Mr. Uhl

represented to Mr. Simon the following:

S, « »« 88, im fact, no new

lease were bought here there

would be no fee; furthermore .

- «+ it had been my general

experience, having been before

this bankruptcy court, at that

time, for three plus years,

that if sid. j Pact

bring value to the estate, that

they would be entitled to be

compensated for having brought

value to the estate." (A. 1335)

(emphasis added) .?

2. Mr. Uhl's representations

regarding the practice of the

two bankruptcy judges, Judge

Gibson and Judge Cosetti, in

the Bankruptcy Court for the

Western District of

Pennsylvania, accurately stated

the prevalent practice there,

as Judge Cosetti confirmed (A.

457-458). Mr. Uhl conceded at

trial that the lease procured

by petitioners was valuable to

the estate (A. 742).

10

During this period when petitioners

were attempting to locate a new lessee

for the aircraft, petitioner Lewis Simon

attended a Pittsburgh meeting that was

held at the offices of counsel for the

lease company, on October 3, 1984 (A.

1237-1238). Representatives of and

attorneys for the lease company, the

owner of the aircraft, and the secured

lender also attended. The agreement

reached at that meeting regarding the

remarketing of the aircraft was disclosed

to the Bankruptcy Judge at the hearing on

the approval of the aircraft lease

obtained by petitioners. One of the

lease company's attorneys, who also

attended the October 3, 1984 meeting at

his office, informed the Bankruptcy Judge

of the agreement:

", . . while cooperation

has been off and on between the

Debtor and Greycas, there was

compromising as ae result of

:

11

a meeting held in Pittsburgh

- + » When it was agreed that

single spokesman for the

.) : thi

airplane. That way, the people

in the business of leasing

airplanes would not be

assuming that they could trade

one negotiator off against

another.

Airlines with which, I believe,

the Judge is familiar." (A.

186).

Mr. Lehman, the vice-president and

treasurer of the lease company, also

attended that October 3, 1984 meeting and

agreed that there was a "general

consensus" that Mr. Simon would be the

remarketing "agent" for the aircraft (A.

635-636). Neither Mr. Pink nor Mr. Roth

from Greycas objected to that consensus

(A. 636, 720-724).

12

The agreement reached in Pittsburgh

in October 1984 is amply confirmed and

evidenced by the subsequent conduct of

the parties. Greycas, the secured

lender, invited Mr. Simon to fly out to

Phoenix and meet with America West

Airlines, a prospective lessee for the

aircraft, during which meeting the

Greycas people introduced and represented

Mr. Simon as ". . . the representative of

the owners of the aircraft. . ." and the

person who ". . . was handling the

marketing of the aircraft" (A. 517-520;

1239-1243, 1362, 1390-1393). That

meeting at America West occurred on

October 5, 1984, in Phoenix, just two

days after the Pittsburgh meeting. Only

Mr. Simon made a proposal to America West

at this meeting, and Greycas did not

object to him doing so (A. 519-524, 548-

549). Much of the discussion at the

_

13

America West meeting concerned the

serious fact that the plane only had one

operable engine and was therefore not

airworthy (A. 519-522).

On October 25, 1984, Mr. Simon

obtained a signed letter agreement for

the aircraft from Aloha Airlines, Inc.,

an established and financially sound

carrier (A. 1266-1267), for a ten year

lease at $90,000 per month, under which

Aloha would furnish another operable

engine with no credit or rental rebate

for supplying a missing engine (A. 778-

780; 1245). Absent Aloha's agreement to

furnish another operable engine itself,

the owner, the lease company or the

secured lender would have been required

to spend more than $500,000 for a

substitute engine. Mr. Simon further

obtained Aloha's agreement to return the

aircraft at the end of the lease term

14

with two operable engines (A. 535-537;

638-640, 695-696; 1258-1260). Both the

lease company and the secured lender were

notified that Mr. Simon had procured

Aloha as a new lessee (A. 1678). The

Aloha letter agreement over the following

month was converted into a draft lease,

the terms of which were negotiated by

Mr. Simon, and put into final form by the

lease company's attorneys with the

assistance of Mr. Simon (A. 335-336;

1234, 1251-1254).

Aloha's “high regard" for Mr. Simon

was a “principal reason for Aloha being

willing to go forward with this

transaction and a principal cause of

Aloha's consummation of this transaction

was the involvement of Lewis Simon as

the representative and negotiator for the

lease of Aircraft." (A. 794). Mr. Simon

had dealt with Aloha Airlines for 18

—— “eae

15

years (A. 794; 1230-1231). Aloha learned

of the availability of this Boeing 737-

200 through Mr. Simon's efforts. Due to

the bankruptcies of F/S Airlease II, Inc.

and Air Florida, Inc., and the presence

of only one engine on the aircraft, Aloha

was “unwilling to proceed" without

Simon's participation. (A. 794; 1255-

1258).

The lease company, as a debtor-in-

possession, filed a motion to approve the

Aloha lease and Bankruptcy Judge Gibson

set a hearing thereon for November 28,

1984. Prior to the hearing, counsel for

the lease company assured petitioners'

counsel, who had not yet appeared in the

case, that Mr. Simon's involvement with

initiating, procuring and negotiating

this lease would be “spread of record"

and included “in any order approving the

lease .. ." (A. 792), and that any

16

questions as to the distribution of funds

to be generated by the lease would be

postponed for later determination. 3

Based on these assurances, Mr. Simon

brought the signed lease from Chicago,

Illinois to the lease approval hearing

in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania, testified as

a proponent thereof during the hearing

and communicated with Aloha by phone when

proposed modifications were suggested at

the hearing (A. 1254-1258). The

m, The opinion of the court of

appeals implies, without any

evidentiary support other than

this letter, that petitioners

agreed to postpone the issue of

their employment until after

the lease was approved. 844

’.26 8 wp. i262, i007. The

letter, however, in the context

of. the prior representations

made to Mr. Simon, and the

meetings he attended with the

parties in question, shows that

petitioners wanted a _ record

made on Mr. Simon's role in

procuring the lease, and also

did not want funds distributed

before petitioners could seek

compensation for their own efforts.

a

17

attorneys for the lease company debtor-

in-possession made specific

representations to Bankruptcy Judge

Gibson, before Mr. Simon testified at the

lease approval hearing, as follows:

MR. SNYDER: ou onor

would it be possible for us to

ut M u_ Si :

He as bee egotiatin wit

Aloha. He has brought the

signed lease to us this

ornin own ji om icago

as it was flown into him

yesterday. t eanme 26 i8

important that the Court might

hear the urgency of the matter

in the terms of Aloha's

situation. ink we should

hear rom the entleman that

negotiated the lease.

MR. MCCULLOUGH: I would

ask for a clarification, Your

Honor, because I keep hearing

that we are going to go back

and discuss and look at what

the deal is. I have dealt with

and the Court knows we have

dealt with people before and

they negotiated this deal in

good faith. Lou Simon has been

hammered it out. He is

representing [the debtor-in-

possession] and 1m 8 = Fat

18

respect, Greycas." ? Wile bt 3?

218-219) (emphasis added).

No lawyer in the courtroom at the

lease approval hearing objected to any of

these representations, including the

representations regarding the agreement

reached at the previous month's meeting

when alli of the parties agreed that the

petitioners would be the leasing agent

for the aircraft. Counsel for the

secured lender, Greycas, Inc., knew how

to object, however, when they felt it

appropriate to do so. (A. 204) (see

subsequent opinion of Bankruptcy Court,

A. 1556; 59 B.R. at 772).

Bankruptcy Judge Gibson approved the

Aloha lease by order of Court on

November 30, 1984. No party appealed

that order. Indeed, the secured lender's

attorneys told the Bankruptcy Court that

the lease should go forward:

19

MR. BARENHOLTZ: Your

Honor, speaking for Greycas, we

fully desire to cooperate with

the Debtor and with any third

parties who wish to deal with

the Debtor-In-Possession. We

do not wish to upset this

particular deal or any deals in

general of the Debtor-In-

Possession.

MR. EPSTEIN: Someone

said, “Welcome to Bankruptcy."

Your Honor, I think Greycas'

position with respect to the

us e roceeds under the

lease, we want to see the

lease get done (A. 189-190,

2843) (emphasis added).

The parties to this’ proceeding

believe the Aloha lease payments will

cover the Greycas mortgage on the

aircraft (A. 560; 647). Mr. Uhl, the

president of the lease company, candidly

conceded that the approximate $6 million

residual value for the aircraft at the

conclusion of the Aloha lease, projected

by the recognized source in the aircraft

industry, would result in all parties to

20

this proceeding being paid (A. 689-690,

695-696, 716-717; 793).

Two months after petitioners

procured the Aloha lease, and Bankruptcy

Judge Gibson approved that lease, the

lease company prepared a list of

"priority and administrative amounts

payable." (A. 1696-1698). That list was

transmitted to Greycas and other

interested parties to this proceeding,

and was represented to include "amounts

now due _ as priority and administrative

claims and expenses." (A. 668-669; 672-

673; 1696-1697). The amount listed as

due to petitioner S-J Financial

Corporation as a priority, administrative

expense is "$450,000", the amount

mandated by Mr. Simon's’ regular

commission percentage (A. 1344-1345;

1697). While certain individuals

proposed in writing to pay Mr. Simon in

21

installments, the total amount of

commission due was recognized to be

$450,000.

After Aloha Airlines took possession

of the aircraft at the end of 1984 under

its lease, the owner and the lease

company again asked their appraiser to

appraise the aircraft. This time,

however, he was appraising the aircraft

in the airworthy condition attributable

to Mr. Simon's efforts and negotiations

with Aloha Airlines. Significantly, the

appraiser appraised the fair market value

of the aircraft at $6,500,000 in its

airworthy condition (A. 1500-1501).

Therefore, Mr. Simon's efforts from July,

1984 to December, 1984, resulted in a

damaged asset increasing in value from

$5,242,000 "where is - as is," to a value

of $6,500,000 under FAA certificate with

a solvent airline: a difference and

22

benefit of $1,258,000. (A. 1437-1458).

That increased asset value was an

additional benefit to the $10,800,000

lease rental stream petitioners obtained.

The lease company promised to file a

reorganization plan after the aircraft

lease was approved. But that debtor-in-

possession instead filed several motions

in the Bankruptcy Court requesting a

continuance of the time to file a

reorganization plan (A. 421). When no

such plan was forthcoming, the

petitioners filed a petition for

compensation under §503 of the

Bankruptcy Code, ii 68.8... §503.

Petitioners principally relied on

§503(b)(1)(A), which authorizes’ the

payment of "commissions" for "preserving

the estate." The owner, debtor-in-

possession and the secured lender

asserted, as a defense to that request

23

for payment, that petitioners’ were

professional persons, who could only

possibly qualify for compensation under

§330 and 503(b)(2) of the Code. The

reason they asserted that defense was

that, in their view, the Third Circuit,

at that time, enforced a strict per se

rule against compensating professional

persons without the entry of a court

order approving the professional person's

employment before servcies were rendered.

In response to that defense, the

Bankruptcy Court found that it was the

fault of the debtor-in-possession that

such a prior order was not entered, and

therefore ordered petitioners' employment

approved, nunc pro tunc. The Bankruptcy

Court also awarded petitioners

compensation of $450,000, In the Matter

of F/S Airlease, II, Inc., 59 B.R. 769

24

(Bkrtcy. W.D. Pa. 1986), and further

found, inter alia, the following:

", . . it must be realized

that the total amount brought

into the estate by this lease,

which is $10,800,000.00 over

the course of the 10-year

lease, is the sole asset of the

Debtor's estate. Were it not

Fo t) ‘fort . s-J j

obtaining this lease, there

wou Oo es wi whi

eo ani ti ou be

effected. Additionally, it

should be recognized that the

aircraft in question was not in

airworthy condition at the

time the lease was procured.

he leasin ak Cc with

on one o engine ust b

considered a difficult deal to

arrange. Given the fact that

S-J was able to convince Aloha,

a highly reputable airline, to

lease said aircraft and also to

supply the additional,

necessary engine without any

rental rebate, shows this Court

that S-J ssesses igh leve

of ski and expertise in this

field." 59 B.R. oS «sees

(emphasis added).

Bankruptcy Judge Markovitz, who

presided over the trial of this matter

after the death of Bankruptcy Judge

Gibson, also found that Judge Gibson

|

25

"...was aware from early in these

proceedings that [the petitioner] was

involved in the releasing and remarketing

of the aircraft," and that at the lease

approval hearing before Judge Gibson,

which was later on in these bankruptcy

reorganization proceedings, "...the

parties made the Court aware that the

debtor had requested [the petitioner] to

procure a lease, that [the petitioner]

had procured same, and that Greycas, [the

secured lender] while nominally objecting

to [the petitioner's] involvement, wanted

the lease, secured by [the petitioner] to

be approved." In re F/S Airlease II,

Inc., 59 B.R. 769 (Bankr.W.D.Pa. 1986).

Because these matters were not set forth

in a court order, due to the fault of

the debtor-in-possession, Bankruptcy

Judge Markovitz entered an order of

employment, nunc pro tunc. Id.

26

The owner of the aircraft, the

debtor-in-possession and the secured

lender appealed the judgment of the

Bankruptcy Court. The District Court

affirmed the nunc pro tunc employment

order, but vacated the $450,000

commission awarded to petitioners and

remanded for further documentation of

petitioners' time expended in obtaining

the aircraft lease. In Re F/S Airlease

il, Inc., 84 B.R. 389 (W.D. Pa. 1986).

Thereafter, the owner, debtor-in-

possession and secured lender appealed to

the court of appeals. The petitioners

cross-appealed the vacatur of their

monetary award. The Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit reversed the Bankruptcy

Court and the District Court on the

employment issue, and held that the

petitioners are entitled to no

compensation, because petitioners'

ee

27

employment was not set forth in a court

order before petitioners performed the

services in question. fF/S Airlease II,

Inc. v. Simon, 844 F.2d 99 (3rd Cir.

1988). The opinion agrees that the

statutory responsibility for obtaining

such a prior order belonged tohehedebtor-

in-possession, not the petitioners. The

opinion also recognizes that the debtor-

in-possession admitted, and the

Bankruptcy Court found as a fact, that

the failure to obtain the prior approval

order was due to an oversight of the

debtor-in-possession. Nevertheless, the

opinion decided, without any support in

the words of the Bankruptcy Code, or its

legislative history, that the

petitioners were under a federal legal

duty to somehow see to it that the

debtor-in-possession complied with its

statutory obligation to obtain court

28

approval of petitioners’ employment. And

even though the Court of Appeals

recognized that it was reaching a “harsh

result" where “some unjust enrichment"

may be involved, that court nevertheless

concluded that it should visit such

consequences on petitioners in order to

preserve a "bright-line position" on the

failure to obtain "prior" court

approval.

29

I. Significance Of The Case

The interaction of the particular

Bankruptcy Code sections involved in this

case is not a mere technical matter.

Rather, the issues raised in this case go

to the very essence of the Bankruptcy

Code, and are of great importance to the

administration of that Code throughout

the Federal Judicial System. The purpose

of the Chapter 11 reorganization

provisions of the Code, and the operation

thereunder of a business undergoing

reorganization by a debtor-in-

possession, is to accomplish the

rejuvenation of a financially troubled

enterprise. Congress recognized that, if

an insolvent business is to be

reorganized and rehabilitated, third

30

parties must be willing to provide the

necessary services and goods to bring

about that rehabilitation. Because such

parties will not provide the necessary

services to an insolvent debtor-in-

possession absent a statutory

compensation incentive, Congress set out

a series of priority compensation

remedies under the various subsections of

§503 of the Bankruptcy Code. Third

parties whose claims come within one of

those remedial subsections are accorded a

priority over the claims of pre-petition

debts and liabilities of the debtor-in-

possession. It is undeniable, however,

that the debtor-in-possession is carrying

on the business for the benefit of the

pre-filing creditors and therefore

fairness requires that any claims

incident to the debtor-in-possession's

operation of the business post-petition

31

should be paid before those of the pre-

petition creditors for whose benefit the

continued operation of the business was

allowed. See generally, In re Mammoth

Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950, 954 (ist Cir.

1976).

The opinion of the Third Circuit in

this case sends an unmistakable message

to business people such as the

petit”’oners that their efforts to

rehabilitate insolvent debtors-in-

possession are undertaken at their own

peril. Rather than provide an incentive

to induce business people to assist in

rehabilitating insolvent businesses, the

Court of Appeals, with its admittedly

"harsh result" has built in a

disincentive. The Court of Appeals

places business people in the hands of

bankruptcy litigators, bankruptcy lawyers

and bankruptcy administrators, and

32

compels business’ people to retain

private counsel and fend for themselves

in adversary proceedings in the

Bankruptcy Court if they desire to do

business with an insolvent debtor-in-

possession and be compensated for such an

effort.

The foregoing result not only

frustrates the congressional desire to

induce business people to participate in

the rehabilitation of insolvent

businesses, but it is also directly

contrary to the congressional intent to

wrestle control of bankruptcy cases from

bankruptcy attorneys and the "bankruptcy

ring.* Indeed, the House Report on the

Bankruptcy Code specifically criticizes

such control and states that "in practice

- »« » the bankruptcy system operates more

for the benefit of attorneys than for the

benefit of creditors." H.R. No 595, 95th

se

33

Cong., 2d Sess. 92, reprinted in 1978

U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 5787, 5963,

6053.

This legislative history shows

unmistakably that the Congress did not

want bankruptcy cases pursued for the

benefit of bankruptcy lawyers who

administrate bankruptcy estates. Yet the

Court of Appeals in this case has

rewarded the bankruptcy attorneys who

failed to obtain what the court of

appeals later deemed to be the requisite

court approval and court order approving

the petitioner's employment. Those

bankruptcy lawyers submitted fee

petitions for hundreds of thousands of

dollars, seeking compensation for

litigating the issues their own inaction

created prior to petitioners' request for

compensation (A. 330, 1141, 1509). If

the opinion of the Court of Appeals

34

stands, then the bankruptcy lawyers will

be paid huge fees out of the lease

proceeds generated by the petitioners,

and the petitioners will receive nothing

but a lesson to stay away from the

Bankruptcy Court.

The significance of this state of

affairs transcends the "unjust

enrichment" that the Court of Appeals

acknowledged would be granted to the

owner, secured lender and lease company

of the aircraft who decided to rely on

the petitioners, rather than upon

themselves, to obtain the repair of the

damaged aircraft and a new lessee for

that aircraft. The opinion of the Third

Circuit sends a message to the business

community that the bankruptcy lawyers and

"bankruptcy ring" still control the

rehabilitation of insolvent businesses in

the Bankruptcy Court. Any business

35

person that places himself or herself in

their hands is either at their mercy or

obligated to undertake a litigious,

adversary proceeding in order to do

business with the insolvent debtor-in-

possession. This, of course, will

further multiply the fees of bankruptcy

lawyers and dissipate bankruptcy estates.

It is hard to imagine how a single

opinion in a bankruptcy case could more

effectively frustrate congressional

intent and objectives and portend

failure in the rehabilitation of

insolvent businesses.

II. The Opinion Of The Court

Of Appeals Renders A Section Of

The Bankruptcy Code Inoperative

And Is Therefore Contrary To

The Decisions Of This Court.

The opinion of the Third Circuit

concluded that to enforce the literal

terms of §503(b)(1)(A) of the Bankruptcy

36

Code, 11 U.S. C. §503(b)(1)(A), would

"circumvent" the professional person

sections of the Bankruptcy Code, render

them “nugatory" and destroy Congress'

prior approval requirement. The opinion

did not analyze the significance of

Congress' omission of the word prior from

its "approval" requirement. Nor did the

opinion consider that its conclusion

rendered §503(b)(1)(A) nugatory instead,

at the same time that the court was

supposedly trying to avoid making the

judicially constructed prior approval

requirement "nugatory." The court of

appeals' approach, therefore, elevated a

judicial construct (the prior approval

requirement) over the specific words

chosen by Congress in §503(b) (1) (A).

There is no doubt that petitioners

sought "commissions" and that the

Bankruptcy Court found that petitioners

i eee

37

"preserved" the sole property of the

estate. The literal terms of

§503(b)(1)(A) authorize the payment of

"commissions" for "preserving the

property" of the estate. The court of

appeals nevertheless decided that it

would not enforce §503(b)(1)(A), because

the court felt that enforcement of

Congress' words, as written, would

"circumvent" the professional person

approval sections and render’ them

"nugatory." F/S Airlease II, Inc. v.

Simon, 844 F.2d 99, 109 (3rd Cir. 1988).

The court of appeals' opinion

ignored, however, the well settled rule

that the interpretation of a statute

begins with the language chosen by

Congress. i m Vv ano ru

Stores, 420 U.S. 723, 756 (1975) (J.

Powell, concurring).

38

Section 503(b) (1) (A) of the

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. §503(b) (1) (A),

provides in relevant part:

§503. Allowance of

administrative expenses ...

(b) After notice and a

hearing, there shall be allowed

administrative expenses. . .,

including

(1) (A) the actual,

necessary costs and

expenses of preserving the

estate, including wages,

salaries, or commissions

fe) servi

after the commencement of

the case; (emphasis

added).

Congress' intent in enacting

§503(b)(1)(A) was elaborately discussed

in Trustees of Amalgamated Ins. Fund v.

McFarlin's, 789 F.2d 98, 101 (2nd Cir.

1986), as follows:

Section 507 gives first

priority to “administrative

expenses allowed under [11

3.3.¢.} section 503(b)."

Section 503(b)(1)(A) defines

administrative expenses as

including "the actual,

necessary costs and expenses of

39

preserving the estate,

including wages, salaries or

commissions for services

rendered after the commencement

of the case."

Congress granted priority

to administrative expenses in

order to facilitate the efforts

of the trustee or debtor in

possession to rehabilitate the

business for the benefit of all

the estate's creditors. . .

Congress reasoned that unless

the debts incurred by the

debtor in possession could be

given priority over the debts

which forced the estate into

bankruptcy in the first place,

persons would not do business

with the debtor in possession,

which would inhibit

rehabilitation of the business

and thus harm the creditors."

(citations omitted).

There is no evidence that Congress

intended the professional person sections

of the Bankruptcy Code to operate to the

exclusion of §503(b)(1)(A) or other Code

sections. Neither the words used in the

Bankruptcy Code nor the legislative

history preceding its passage suggest

40

such a construction. Given the total

absence of any congressional intent to

support its construction, the court of

appeals should have heeded this Court's

rule of construction in bankruptcy cases

involving predecessor statutory sections:

"there is nothing impossible about

construing the sections here involved to

mean what they say. . ." Reading Company

Vv. Brown, 391 U.S. 471, 481 (1968); Otte

v. United States, 419 U.S. 43, 57 (1974).

The opinion of the court of appeals

concluded that it must reach a "harsh"

result in order to preserve a "bright-

line position" under the Bankruptcy Code.

This approach to statutory construction

in bankruptcy cases is directly contrary

to time-honored decisions of this Court

that posited an equitable, rather than a

technical, method of construction. Thus,

41

in Pepper _v. Litton, 308 U.S. 295, 304-

305 (1939), this Court stated:

"The bankruptcy courts

have exercised these equitable

powers in passing on a wide

range of problems arising out

of the administration of

bankrupt estates. They have

been invoked to the end that

fraud will not prevail, that

substance will not give way to

forn, that technical

considerations will not prevent

substantial justice from being

done."

Indeed, when confronted with a

technical statutory argument under the

Bankruptcy Act, this Court held in Bank

of Marin _v. England, 385 U.S. 99, 103

(1966), as follows:

". . « we do not read these

statutory words with the ease

of a computer. There is an

overriding consideration that

equitable principles govern the

exercise of bankruptcy

jurisdiction.

The court of appeals similarly

ignored the fundamental rule of

statutory construction, embodied in

a tiatasinliatiatiaietenineenianenonniilll

42

numerous decisions of this Court, that

each provision of a statute should be

enforced, and that judicial construction

should not render a statutory section

inoperative, as was done here. Mountain

States Tel. & Tel. v. Pueblo of Santa

Ana, 472 U.S. 237, 249 (1985); Colautti

v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 392 (1979);

Jarecki v. G.D. Searle & Co., 367 U.S.

303, 307-308 (1961). This Court in

United States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528-

538-539 (1955), described and condemned

the type of statutory interpretation used

by the court of appeals in this case:

"The cardinal principle of

statutory construction is to

save and not to destroy." It

is our duty "to give effect, if

possible, to every clause and

word of a statute," rather than

to emasculate an entire

section. . -" (citations

omitted).

The court of appeals' opinion

recognized that petitioners' compensation

iteintniidiemninnial

43

constituted a "commission." 844 F.2d 101.

But that opinion does not explain why

such a “commission" cannot be recovered

under a statutory provision that

authorizes the recovery of

"commissions." Instead, the opinion

simply announced its jipse dixit that

petitioners could not rely on

§503(b)(1)(A) because the professional

person compensation provision,

§503(b) (2), is, according to that court,

the exclusive remedy for petitioners.

Giving preclusive effect to one

compensation section does not, however,

further the intent of Congress where, as

here, Congress did not make the

applicability of one section exclusive of

the applicability of other Code sections.

Congress specifically evidenced its

intent against exclusivity when it used

the word “including” as a preface to the

44

subsections of §503(b), and then defined

"including" in 11 U.S.C. §102 as "not

limiting."

The court of appeals was obviously

woncerned that professional persons who

administrate bankruptcy cases, such as

attorneys or accountants, could possibly

look to §503(b)(1)(A) and thereby avoid

the professional person approval and

compensation requirements of §§327(a),

330(a) and 503(b)(2). But it is hard to

see how attorneys or accountants would

necessarily be successful if they

asserted that their fees were "wages,

salaries, or commissions" for "preserving

the estate." In any event, it is harder

to see how the parade of horribles

approach adopted by the court of appeals

45

justifies ignoring the specific words and

provisions enacted by Congress. 4

III. The Court Of

Appeals' Decision to

Render §503(b) (1) (A)

Inoperative Creates A

Conflict Among The Circuits.

The opinion of the Third Circuit

also conflicts with the opinion of the

Fourth Circuit in Goodman v. Philip R.

Curtis Enterprises, Inc., 809 F.2d 228,

231 at n. 4 (4th Cir. 1987). The Fourth

Circuit concluded that attorney's fees

may be recoverable under §503(b) (1) (A).

Because attorneys are specifically stated

*, The court of appeals implied

that petitioners' right to

remarket the aircraft created

aon issue oon

"disinterestedness," 844 F.2d

at 101, 106, because the breach

of that right could have

created a pre-petition claim.

Of courtse, the parties agreed

for Simon to remarket post-

petition. Hence there was no

breach that could have led to

such a claim.

46

to be professional persons under §327(a)

of the Bankruptcy Code, the opinion of

the Fourth Circuit in the Goodman case

stands for the proposition that

professional persons may indeed be

compensated under §503(b) (1) (A).

In further contrast to the holding

of the court of appeals in this case,

other federal courts have recognized

that §503(b)(1)(A) applies to persons who

might also qualify for employment as

professional persons under §327(a).

Thus, in the case of In re Ewing 54 B.R.

952, 956 (D. Col.), the District Court

held:

", . . this case is remanded to

the bankruptcy court for

determination of whether [the

broker] is entitled to payment

of an administrative expense

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §503. If

the Court determines that [the

broker] is entitled to payment

of an administrative expense,

it does not need to appoint him

broker nunc pro tunc. It only

47

needs to pay him pursuant to 11

U.S.C. §503."

As discussed at length throughout

this Petition, these conflicts are not

mere technical conflicts. This Court

granted certiorari in the Reading Company

case ". . . because the issue is

important in the administration of the

bankruptcy laws and is one of first

impression in this Court." 391 U.S. at

475. Petitioners request this Court to

grant review in this case for the same

reasons.

IV. Petitioners Should Not Be

Precluded From Employment

And Compensation By An

Estate That They Rehabilitated.

Both the Bankruptcy Court and the

District Court found that the debtor-in-

possession was at fault for failing to

obtain court approval of petitioners'

employment prior to petitioners'

procurement and negotiation of the court-

ee

48

approved aircraft lease. Both the

Bankruptcy Court and the District Court

ordered the approval of petitioners'

employment, nunc pro tunc. Those orders

fell within the exact words chosen by

Congress, because Bankruptcy Rule 2014 (a)

requires the trustee or debtor-in-

possession to seek an “order of

approval," and §327(a) of the Code

requires employment "with the Court's

approval," but does not mandate prior

approval.

The Court of Appeals reversed the

orders of the Bankruptcy Court and the

District Court for what it characterized

as "legal error." 844 F.2d at 107. It

ruled, without any support in the

Bankruptcy Code or its legislative

history, that petitioners were under a

federal legal duty "to insure" that

"prior approval" had been sought and

49

obtained. Id. It further ruled that

petitioners were guilty of "extreme

laxity in seeking approval" because they

filed their petition for payment or

compensation seven months) after

concluding their services. Id.

The court of appeals confused a

petition for "approval" of employment

under §327(a), and Bankruptcy Rule

2014(a), with a petition for compensation

under §503. A petition for approval may

only be brought by the trustee or debtor-

in-possession. In contrast, any "person"

ot "entity may file a request for payment

of an administrative expense." 11 U.S.C.

§§101(14), 503(a) (emphasis added).

Petitioners invokcd the "payment"

procedure, and the debtor-in-possession

failed to invoke the "approval"

procedure. When the debtor-in-possession

raised its own inaction as a defense to

50

petitioners' request for "payment," the

Bankruptcy Court and the District Court

granted the statutorily required "court's

approval" to petitioners' efforts.

Accordingly, petitioners did not delay in

petitioning for approval of their

employment because only the debtor-in-

possession is’ statutorily required to

file such a petition. Petitioners

properly filed a petition for payment

when the promised reorganization plan was

not forthcoming.

The court of appeals purported to

apply an "extraordinary circumstances"

test to petitioners' retroactive

approval. 844 F.2d at 105. This test

emanated from its prior opinion in In re

Arkansas Co. Inc., 798 ¥F.2€@ 645 (3rd

Cir. 1986). While this test supposedly

springs from equitable considerations, it

is clear that it has no statutory basis.

44

oy

I

Moreover, its application to this case

certainly failed to lead to an equitable

result. A focus on Congress' actual

words and provisions shows that’ the

"extraordinary circumstances" test is

nothing but an articfical judicial

construct designed to foreclose

retroactive approval of employment, no

matter how beneficial the services in

question happened to be.

The professional person sections of

the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. §§327(a),

330(a) and 503(b)(2), provide in relevant

part as follows:

§327. Employment of

professional persons.

(a) Except as otherwise

provided in this section, the

trustee,” with the court's

approval, may employ one or

more attorneys, accountants,

5. The debtor-in-possession

has the powers of a

trustee under 11 U.S.C.

§1107(a).

52

appraisers, auctioneers, or

other professional persons,

that do not hold or represent

an interest adverse to the

estate, and that are

disinterested persons, to

represent or assist the trustee

in carrying out the trustee's

duties under this title.

§330. Compensation of

officers.

(a) After notice and

hearing, . . . the court may

award toa trustee, [or] to

- «+ a professional person

employed under section 327 or

1103 of this title,

(1) reasonable compensation

for actual, necessary services

rendered by such . ° .

professional person,. . . based

on the nature, the extent, and

the value of such services, the

time spent on such services,

and the cost of comparable

services other than a case

under this title; and

(2) reimbursement for

actual, necessary expenses.

7 * 7

§503. Allowances of

administrative

expenses.

(a) * * *

53

(b) After notice and a

hearing, there shall be allowed

administrative expenses, other

than claims allowed under

section 502(f) of this title,

including --

* * *

(2) compensation and

reimbursement awarded under

section 330(a) of this title;

(emphasis added)

The foregoing professional person

sections allow "compensation" to be paid

to approved professionals. These

sections do not require prior approval,

and should not be used, as the court of

appeals did here, to bar compensation for

business people who rehabilitate an

insolvent business.

Nor should they be deemed sole and

exclusive remedies. The court of appeals

did not explain why the payment of

"commissions" to leasing agents under

§503(b) (1) (A) for "preserving the

property" of the estate would render

"“nugatory" the professional person

54

sections allowing “reasonable

compensation . . . based on the nature,

the extent, and the value of such

services . . ." to be recovered by court

approved professionals. These statutory

provisions are, on their own terms,

reconcilable, not contradictory. Paying

a “commission” to a leasing agent is not

inconsistent with compensating a lawyer

or accountant for his time on an hourly

basis.

55

For each and all of the foregoing

reasons, petitioners Lewis Simon and s-J

Financial Corporation respectfully

request this Court to issue a writ of

certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit and

thereafter to reverse that court's

opinion and judgment in this matter.

LEWIS SIMON and

S-J FINANCIAL

CORPORATION

Philip J. Nathanson

Nathanson & Wray

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 330

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 606-0771

‘Coe

» rah ni

—_ #A, . ig" ee

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NOS. 86-3712, 86-3715, 86-3718, and 86-3731

IN RE: F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.

v.

LEWIS SIMON and S-J CORPORATION

GREYCAS, INC.,

Appellant in No. 86-3712

THE SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY

AIRCRAFT TRUST NO. 1, one of

the creditors above named in

this bankruptcy proceeding,

Appellant in No. 86-3715

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.,

appellant-debtor above named,

Appellant in No. 86-3718

LEWIS SIMON and S-J

FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Appellants in No. 86-3731

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 86-1047)

|

NOS. 86-3713, 86-3716, 86-3719 and 86-3732

IN RE: F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.

v.

GREYCAS, INC.

, Appellant in No. 86-3713

THE SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY

AIRCRAFT TRUST NO. 1, one of the

creditors above named in this

bankruptcy proceeding,

Appellant in No. 86-3716

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.,

appellant-debtor above named,

Appellant in No. 86-3719

LEWIS SIMON and S-J

FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Appellants in No. 86-3732

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania j

(D.C. Civil No. 86-1048)

NOS. 86-3714, 86-3717, 86-3720 and 86-3733

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.

v.

SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY,

GREYCAS, INC..,

Appellant in No. 86-3714

THE SWIG INVESTMENT COMPANY

AIRCRAFT TRUST NO. 1, one of the

creditors above named in this

bankruptcy proceeding,

Appellant in No. 86-3717

F/S AIRLEASE II, INC.,

appellant-debtor above named,

; Appellant in No. 86-3720

LEWIS SIMON and S-J

FINANCIAL CORPORATION,

Appellants in No. 86-3733

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil No. 86-1050)

4

Argued September 9, 1987

Before: SLOVITER and STAPLETON, Circuit Judges,

and FISHER, District Judge*

(Opinion filed March 21, 1988)

Thomas S. Galey (Argued)

Pamela J. Giarla

Pittsburgh, PA 15238

Attorneys for F/S AirLease II; Inc.

Jack Weinberg (Argued)

Graubard Moskovitz Dannett Horowitz

& Mollen

New York, New York 10016

Kirkpatrick & Lockhart

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Of Counsel:

George M. Cheever

Stoddard D. Platt

Robert K. Gross

Attorneys for the Swig Investment Company

Aircraft Trust No. 1

Alan M. Epstein (Argued)

Kelley Drye & Warren

New York, New York 10178

Reed, Smith, Shaw & McClay

Pittsburgh, PA 15230

Attorneys for Greycas, Inc.

? Hon. Clarkson S. Fisher. Chief Judge. United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey, sitting by designation.

5

Philip J. Nathanson (Argued)

Kasdin & Nathanson

Chicago, Illinois 60603

Dickie, McCamey & Chilcote

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorneys for Lewis Simon and

S-J Financial Corporation

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Circuit Judge.

The debtor in a Chapter 11 bankruptcy and its two

principal creditors appeal from an order of the district

court affirming the bankruptcy court's nunc pro tunc

appointment of a broker for professional services

rendered to debtor. The broker cross-appeals from that

portion of the district court's order vacating the

bankruptcy court’s monetary award and remanding

the case to the bankruptcy court for recalculation of

the amount due the broker. We must first decide

whether we have jurisdiction. If so, we will reach the

issue whether this case presents such “extraordinary

circumstances” as set forth in In re Arkansas, 798

F.2d 645 (3d Cir. 1986), to warrant non-compliance

with the prior approval rule of section 327(a) of

Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

I.

Facts

F/S AirLease II, Inc. is a Delaware corporation

engaged solely in the business of buying, selling,

financing, and leasing a Boeing airplane. It purchased

that plane in 1980 and then leased it to Air Florida for a

ten-year term. Greycas, Inc. provided the financing for

that transaction: its interest in the plane was secured

by a first mortgage. and Greycas also was entitled to an

6

assignment of rental proceeds from the Air Florida

lease as partial security. In 1980, AirLease sold the

plane to Comet Leasing Corporation, which then sold it

to Swig Investment Company, which in turn leased it

back to AirLease for an eighteen-year term. These

transactions were each carried out subject to Greycas’

security interest. |

The Air Florida lease had been negotiated and

procured for AirLease by Lewis Simon, a broker who

does business through S-J Financial Corporation

(collectively referred to as “Simon”), and who

performed brokerage services for AirLease’s affiliated

companies as well. As a result of a dispute over

commissions, Simon sued AirLease’s parent

corporation to obtain commissions allegedly due for,

inter alia, his brokerage services in obtaining the Air

Florida lease. A settlement agreement was reached in

May of 1983 which gave Simon “the exclusive right to

remarket” the Boeing aircraft, subject to the rights of

the owner and other creditors, for a commission of

one-half of one month's rent for each year of the

re-leasing term, net of expenses.

In July 1984, Air Florida filed for bankruptcy

under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, thereby

terminating its lease with AirLease and depriving

AirLease of its sole source of income to Satisfy its

obligations to Swig and Greycas. According to an

appraisal conducted at that time by AirLease’s

appraiser, the plane, which was missing one of its two

engines, was valued at $5,242,000 and would require

$763.500 worth of repairs to restore it to an airworthy

condition.

Upon Air Florida's bankruptcy, AirLease

immediately contacted Simon and enlisted his services

for the remarketing of the plane. In response, on July

20. 1984, Simon wrote a letter to AirLease’s Vice

President and Treasurer, offering to remarket the

RTT EET SI

7

plane for a flat fee of $100,000, net of expenses, “in lieu

of the re-leasing fee set forth in [the May 1983

settlement agreement].” App. at 1664. This letter also

requested a $20,000 advance from AirLease to cover

expenses. On July 23, 1984, AirLease responded with a

letter proposing additional terms and enclosing both a

check for $20,000 and an escrow agreement.

In a second letter to AirLease, dated July 30, 1984.

Simon confirmed that he would undertake to remarket

the plane for a $100,000 flat fee. Simon also stated that

he understood that AirLease would use its best efforts

to obtain Swig’s agreement to pay him the $100,000

fee if he was successful in releasing the plane. Simon

made this offer on the condition that he be notified of

Swig's decision by August 3, 1984. AirLease accepted

Simon's July 30, 1984 offer on August 21, 1984, but

apparently Swig did not consent to this arrangement.

On August 3, 1984, AirLease filed a voluntary

bankruptcy petition under Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code. Greycas, the first mortgagee.

asserted that it had a right to possession of the plane:

on August 30, 1984, the bankruptcy court enjoined

Greycas from instituting any action to obtain

possession of the plane other than in AirLease’s

bankruptcy proceedings. The bankruptcy court

subsequently awarded possession of the plane to

AirLease and Greycas jointly.

Throughout the months of September and October

1984, Simon attempted to remarket the plane. At this

time Greycas also was attempting to secure a new

lessee, and Greycas did, in fact, make a proposal to

America West Airlines which did not culminate in an

agreement.

Thereafter. Simon reached an agreement with

Aloha Airlines, which was memorialized in a letter

agreement dated October 25, 1984, and finalized in a

lease agreement at the end of November. That

agreement provided for a ten-year lease term, with

—- ee ee es

8

monthly rental payments of $90,000. The agreement

further provided that Aloha would furnish the

necessary engine at its own expense, and would return

the plane to AirLease at the end of the lease term with

two operable engines. The deal was contingent on the

lease being executed by mid-December 1984, because

the December holiday season was Aloha’s busiest time.

AirLease quickly filed a motion in the bankruptcy

court for approval of the lease to Air Florida. On the day

before the bankruptcy court was to hold a hearing on

the motion, counsel for Simon, in a letter dated

November 28, 1984 to counsel for AirLease, confirmed

his understanding reached in a telephone conversation

between them that day that in the forthcoming

bankruptcy court hearings AirLease would not seek to

obtain any ruling from the bankruptcy court

“regarding the distribution or allocation of the

proceeds from the Aloha Airlines lease,” but, rather,

would only seek approval of the lease itself. App. at 792.

The issue of “allocation and distribution of the

payment derived from the lease [was to] be resolved at a

later date.” However, Simon understood that AirLease

would “spread of record and include in any order

approving the lease the fact that [Simon] initiated,

procured and negotiated the Aloha Airlines lease.” App.

at 792.

After two days of hearings held on November 29

and 30, 1984, at which AirLease “spread of record”

Simon's role in the transaction, the bankruptcy court

approved the Aloha lease over Greycas’ objections,

finding it to be in the estate's best interests. Simon

testified at the hearing about the lease: however, he did

not seek his appointment as broker or approval of his

services at that time. Rather, as Simon and AirLease

had agreed, the sole issue raised at that hearing was

the confirmation of the lease.

9

In June 1985, ten months after he began his

efforts to remarket the plane and seven months after

the Aloha lease was executed and approved by the

bankruptcy court, Simon filed a petition in the

bankruptcy court for payment of administrative

expenses pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 503 (1982 & Supp.

IV 1986). He requested $450,000, which amounted to

one-half of one month's rent for each year of the Aloha

lease. The bankruptcy court approved his employment

nunc pro tunc and awarded him the $450,000 fee he

requested. In re F/S AirLease II, Inc., 59 B.R. 769

(Bankr. W.D. Pa. 1986).

AirLease, Greycas, and Swig appealed to the

district court which affirmed the nunc pro tunc

approval of Simon's appointment but vacated the

$450,000 award, finding the amount to be

insufficiently substantiated. The district court

therefore remanded the case to the bankruptcy court

on the issue of the amount of the award. In re F/S

AirLease II, Inc., Nos. 86-1047, 86-1048, 86-1050

(W.D. Pa. October 21, 1986). These appeals followed.'

We review the bankruptcy court's ruling by the

same standards the district court should apply.

Universal Minerals, Inc. v. C.A. Hughes & Co., 669

F.2d 98, 102 (3d Cir. 1981). District court review of the

bankruptcy court's factual findings is under the

“clearly erroneous” standard. See In re Baron v. Allied

Artists Pictures Corp., 717 F.2d i100 (3d Cir. 1983); see

also Universal Minerals, 669 F.2d at 102. A decision

to grant nunc pro tunc approval is in the discretion of

i. AirLease and Swig appeal from so much of the district court's

order that affirms the bankruptcy court's nunc pro tunc approval:

Greycas appeals from both the nunc pro tunc approval and the

remand: and Simon cross-appeals from that portion of the order

vacating the monetary award and remanding the case to the

bankruptcy court.

10

the bankruptcy court, see Arkansas, 798 F.2d at 650.

and is reviewed for abuse of discretion only. We have

plenary review over legal questions. See Universal

Minerals, 669 F.2d at 102.

Il.

Appealability

All parties construe 28 U.S.C. § 158(d) (Supp. III

1985)? as giving us jurisdiction. We are obliged,

however, in every appeal presented to us to satisfy

ourselves not only of our jurisdiction but also of the

jurisdiction of the lower court. Bender v. Williamsport

Area School District. 475 U.S. 534, 541 (1986): see

also In re Walsh Trucking Co., No. 86-5811 (3d Cir.

Feb. 2, 1988).

2. Section 158(d) of title 28 of the United States Code provides

that:

The courts of appeals shall have jurisdiction of appeals

from all final decisions. judgments. orders. and decrees

entered under subsections (a) and (b) of this section.

28 U.S.C. 8 158id) (Supp. II 1985).

Subsection (a) of section 158 provides. in turn, that:

The district courts of the United States shall have

jurisdiction to hear appeals from final judgments.

orders, and decrees. and. with leave of the court. from

interlocutory orders and decrees, of bankruptcy judges

entered in cases and proceedings referred to the

bankruptcy judges under section 157 of this title. An

appeal under this subsection shall be taken only to the

district court for the judicial district in which the

bankruptcy judge is serving.

28 U.S.C. § 158(a) (Supp. III 1985). Subsection (b) of section 158.

governing appeals from bankruptcy appellate panels. is not relevant

here.

ll

Courts of appeals have jurisdiction over appeals in

bankruptcy cases in which district courts have entered

“final decisions, judgments. orders. and decrees.” 28

U.S.C. 8 158(d): see In re Brown, 803 F.2d 120, 122

(3d Cir. 1986). District courts. on the other hand, have

jurisdiction not only over such final judgments but

also, “with leave of the court.” over interlocutory orders

and decrees. 28 U.S.C. § 158(a). In this case. no

motion was filed for leave to appeal an interlocutory

order. see Bankruptcy Rule 8001(b), and thus it

appears that the district court and the parties treated

the bankruptcy court's order as final.

The unique characteristics of bankruptcy cases

have led us to-“consistently consider{| finality in a more

pragmatic and less technical way in bankruptcy cases

than in other situations.” In re Amatex Corp., 755 F.2d

1034, 1039 (3d Cir. 1985).* We have explained that

“[bjankruptcy cases frequently involve protracted

proceedings with many parties participating. To avoid

the waste of time and resources that might result from

reviewing discrete portions of the action only after a

3. Prior to 1984. the jurisdiction 2f the courts of appeals in

bankruptcy cases was governed by 28 U.S.C. § 1293(b). (omitted by

Pub. L. 98-353. tit. 1. § 113. 98 Stat. 333. 343 (1984)). which

provided that courts of appeals had jurisdiction “from a final

judgment. order. or decree of a bankruptcy court.” This provision

was superseded by section 158(d) when Congress enacted the

Bankruptcy Amendments & Federal Judgeship Act of 1984, Pub. L.

No. 98-353. tit. 1. § 104(a), 98 Stat. 333. 341 (1984). in response to

the Supreme Court's decision in Northern Pipeline Construction

Co. v. Marathon Pipe Line Co.. 458 U.S. 50 (1982). Because both

statutes contain the finality requirement. this court has stated that

Congress did not intend any substantive change when it enacted

section 158(d). and. indeed. the legislative history reveals none. In

re Pacor. Inc.. 743 F.2d 984. 987 n.4 (3d Cir. 1984). We may

therefore rely on cases decided under section 1293(b) to assess our

jurisdiction under section 158(d). See In re Brown. 803 F.2d 120.

122 n.3 (3d Cir. 1986).

12

plan of reorganization is approved, courts have

permitted appellate review of orders that in other

contexts might be considered interlocutory.” Id. at

1039. The factors that we have considered tn making a

decision on finality have included the impact of the

matter on the assets of the bankruptcy estate, the

preclusive effect of a decision on the merits, and

whether the interests of judicial economy will be

furthered. See, e.g.. In re Meyertech, 831 F.2d 410,

414 (3d Cir. 1987).

Applying these factors, we have found the requisite

finality in an order denying a right to appoint a legal

representative for potential future claimants, In re

Amatex Corp., 755 F.2d at 1039-41; an order lifting the

automatic stay of the bankruptcy code, In re Comer,

716 F.2d 168, 171-74 (3d Cir. 1983); an order staying

proceedings pending action by a state agency,

Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp. v. McCune, 836 F.2d

153. 157-58 (3d Cir. 1987); an order denying the

creditors’ motion to dismiss the debtor's Chapter 7

petition, In re Christian, 804 F.2d 46, 47-48 (3d Cir.

1986); and an order granting a creditors committee

leave to intervene in an adversary proceeding brought

by the bankruptcy trustee in a Chapter 11 proceeding.

In re Marin Motor Oil, Inc., 689 F.2d 445, 447-49 (3d

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1207 (1983). See

also In re Walsh Trucking Co., No. 86-5811, slip op. at

4-8 (3d Cir. Jan. 4, 1988) (applying the same analysis

to appeals from the bankruptcy court to the district

court).

Application of this approach leads to our

conclusion in this case that the orders of both the

bankruptcy court and the district court granting nunc

pro tunc approval of Simon's employment as a broker

were final. See In re Arkansas, 798 F.2d 645 (3d Cir.

1986) (assuming without discussion that a

13

bankruptcy court order, affirmed by the district court,

denying nunc pro tunc approval of employment of a law

firm under 11 U.S.C. 8 327(a) was appealable).

A resolution of this discrete dispute at this time

would further the goal of judicial economy because it

could obviate the need for further action by the

bankruptcy court. Even more important, the order has

a significant impact on the assets of the bankruptcy

estate; the amount Simon seeks represents a

substantial portion of the assets of the estate, and an

award to him at this point will severely affect the rights

of the other creditors. In fact, a delay in the final

resolution of this matter could have an adverse impact

on the debtor's successful reorganization under

Chapter 11. In letter memoranda submitted to this

court in response to its request for briefing on the

issue of appealability, AirLease, Greycas, and Swig

expressed their belief that the remand of the case to the

bankruptcy court and subsequent payment of some fee

to Simon could transform this Chapter 11

reorganization into a Chapter 7 involuntary

bankruptcy. Richard Uhl, the president of AirLease,

testified to that effect in the hearing on Simon's

petition for payment of administrative expenses,

stating that, “if the available funds were hit as heavily

as we are talking about here today . . . there would be

no basis for a plan of reorganization.” App. at 1343. As

we stated In re Comer, 716 F.2d at 172, the fact that

determination of the disputed issue may require

conversion of the procedure from one under Chapter

11 to one under Chapter 7 demonstrated that, “[tJhe

matter ... is not one that can await final resolution of

the bankruptcy proceedings.”

The district court's remand of the portion of the

bankruptcy court's order dealing with the amount of

Simon's compensation does not affect our jurisdiction

14

over the portion of its order approving Simon's nunc

pro tunc employment.* In Universal Minerals, Inc. v.

C.A. Hughes & Co., 669 F.2d 98, 101 (3d Cir. 1981), we

held that we could review the district court's

determination in an adversary proceeding against the

debtor with respect to ownership of a certain coal mine

notwithstanding that the district court had remanded

to the bankruptcy court for an accounting. See also In

re Meyertech Corp., 831 F.2d at 414 (district court

order remanding to the bankruptcy court for

reconsideration of the amount and propriety of a

favorable award in an adversary proceeding is

appealable final order). In this case, as in those, “the

judgment of the district court conclusively determined

the question presented by this appeal.” Universal

Minerals, 669 F.2d at 101.° For these reasons, we

4. One authority has concluded that the issue of whether a

court of appeals has jurisdiction over an order of the district court

remanding to the bankruptcy court is “hopelessly unresolved.” 1 L.

King. Collier on Bankruptcy. para. 3.03 at 3-176 (15th ed. 1987)

(citing cases). This case is unlike those where courts of appeals

have dismissed appeals when the district court's remand to the

bankruptcy court involved the development of “further factual

findings related to a central issue raised on appeal.” In re Stanton.

766 F.2d 1283. 1287 (9th Cir. 1985) (citing In re Martinez, 721

F.2d 262. 265 (9th Cir. 1983)): see also In re Vekco, 792 F.2d 744

(8th Cir. 1986). Compare In re Bowman. 821 F.2d 245, 248 (Sth

Cir. 1987) (finding no final order when remand involves

“significant further proceedings”) with In re Lift & Equipment

Service. Inc.. 816 F.2d 1013. 1016 (finding final order when

remand involves “no more than a mechanical and ministerial

task”). modified in part on rehearing. 819 F.2d 546 (5th Cir.

1987).

5. The two instances in which we have dismissed appeals

because the district court had remanded are. on close examination.

inapposite here. In In re Jeanette Corp.. 832 F.2d 43 (3d Cir. 1987).

the district court had affirmed the bankruptcy court's order that

the debtor's attorney violated Fed. R. Civ. P. 11 and Bankruptcy

ER

15

conclude that the district court's order approving the

nunc pro tunc employment of Simon is a final order.®

and we turn to the merits of the appeal.

Ill.

Retroactive Approval

A.

Our analysis of whether the bankruptcy court, as

affirmed by the district court, properly approved

Simon's appointment under section 327(a)’ nunc pro

tunc is informed in large measure by our recent

decision in In re Arkansas, 798 F.2d 645 (3d Cir.

Rule 9011 and remanded for a hearing to determine whether

sanctions should be imposed. We dismissed the appeal because the

“liberal construction” of finality in bankruptcy proceedings “does

not apply in situations unrelated to the special needs of bankruptcy

litigation.” Jd. at 45. In In re Brown, 803 F.2d 120 (3d Cir. 1986).

the district court had reversed the bankruptcy court's order that a

creditor's letter violated the automatic stay of the Code and

remanded for a determination of damages due the debtor. We

explicitly predicated our dismissal of the appeal on the fact that the

district court's order did not “affect the distribution of the debtor's

assets or the relationship among the creditors.” Id. at 123.

6. Because of our resolution of the nunc pro tunc employment

issue, we have no occasion to reach the issue of the amount of

Simon's compensation, which is raised by the cross-appeals.

Therefore, we do not decide whether we have jurisdiction over the

cross-appeals.

ip 11 U.S.C. § 327(a) (1982) provides that:

Except as otherwise provided in this section. the trustee.

with the court's approval. may employ one or more

attorneys, accountants, appraisers. auctioneers. or

other professional persons, that do not hold or represent

an interest adverse to the estate. and that are

disinterested persons, to represent or assist the trustee

in Carrying out the trustee's duties under this title.

16

1986), handed down after the bankruptcy court's

decision in this case. In Arkansas, we held that

“bankruptcy courts may, in extraordinary

circumstances, grant retroactive approval of

professional employment.” Id. at 646 (emphasis

added). We adopted a two-part test to determine the

propriety of such retroactive approval: first, the

bankruptcy court must find, after a hearing, that the

applicant satisfies the disinterestedness requirements

of section 327(a) and would therefore have been

appointed initially: and, second, the court must, in the

exercise of its discretion, determine that the particular

circumstances presented are so extraordinary as to

warrant retroactive approval. Id. at 650.

To guide the bankruptcy court in the exercise of its

discretion regarding the existence of “extraordinary

circumstances”, we directed it to consider such factors

as:

whether the applicant or some other person bore

responsibility for applying for approval: whether

the applicant was under time pressure to begin

service without approval; the amount of delay after

the applicant learned that initial approval had not

been granted; the extent to which compensation to

the applicant will prejudice innocent third parties;

and other relevant factors.

Id.

Applying these factors in Arkansas, we upheld the

district court's decision that no extraordinary

circumstances justified the retroactive approval of

attorneys for a creditors committee, where the

Under 11 U.S.C. 8 1107(a) (1982). AirLease. as a debtor in

possession. hfs substantially the same rights. powers, functions.

and duties of a trustee and is thereby entitled to employ

professional persons under section 327(a).

_— ee ee en

17

attorneys were experienced in bankruptcy practice and

had alleged no time pressure that would justify their

failure to apply for approval, but simply, through

oversight, had neglected to do so. Id. at 650-51. Noting

that we had previously stated that the prior approval

requirement is a “means of ‘ensuring that the court

may know the type of individual who is engaged in the

proceeding, their integrity, their experience in

connection with work of this type, as well as their

competency concerning the same,’" id. at 648,

(quoting In re Hydrocarbon Chemicals, Inc., 411 F.2d

203, 205 (3d Cir.) (in banc), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 823

(1969)), we concluded in Arkansas that ‘the

prophylactic statutory rule that approval must be

sought in advance of performance of services is too

strong to be overcome by a mere showing of oversight.”

Id. at 651.

AirLease, Swig, and Greycas contend that Simon

would not have met the requirements of section 327(a)

for appointment of professionals even had approval of

his appointment been sought in a timely fashion.®

They argue that because Simon has a potential claim

against AirLease arising out of his 1983 settlement

agreement with AirLease's parent, he is not a

“disinterested person” eligible for appointment under

section 327(a}.* Such a dispute demonstrates the

8. In light of this argument, we find the position of appellants

Swig and AirLease that Simon is entitled only to the $100,000 fee

described in his letter of July 20, 1984 and July 30. 1984 truly

mystifying. If Simon ho!ds interests adverse to those of the estate.

then he would not have been appointed under section 327(a), or

alternatively, would not have qualified for retroactive appointment

in any case and would not therefore be entitled to any fee

whatsoever.

9. 11 U.S.C. 8 101(13)(A) (1982) defines “disinterested person”

as a person who “is not a creditor.” A “creditor” is a person who

“has a claim against the debtor that arose at the time of or before

18

congressional wisdom in requiring prior approval of

professional persons with the attendant notice to

creditors. Had prior approval been sought in this case,

the issue of Simon's, disinterestedness would have

been brought out in the open during the hearing and

resolved prior to his having performed the services for

which he now seeks a fee. Because we conclude, after

applying the relevant factors in this case, that there

were no extraordinary circumstances *9 support his

nunc pro tunc appointment, we do not reach the issue

of Simon's disinterestedness.

B.

The two factors enumerated in Arkansas of

particular relevance here are who bore the

responsibility for compliance with the statutory

mandate that prior approval be sought from the court

for employment of a professional and whether the

applicant was under such time pressure to begin

services that prior approval could not reasonably be

sought. Simon argues that under the Bankruptcy Code

and Rules AirLease bore the responsibility for seeking

court approval of the appointment of professional

persons, and that it was only through AirLease’s

oversight that the petition for approval was never filed.

Although Bankruptcy Rule 2014(a) states, in relevant

part, that “[aln order approving the employment of

attorneys, accountants, appraisers, auctioneers..

agents, or other professional persons pursuant to

§ 327 or § 1103 of the Code shall be made only on

application of the trustee or committee,” this

requirement cannot relieve the professional person

the order for relief concerning the debtor.” 11 U.S.C. § 101(9)(A). A

claim includes a “right to payment. whether or not such right is

reduced to judgment. liquidated. unliquidated. fixed. contingent.

matured. unmatured. disputed. undisputed. legal. equitable.

secured or unsecured.” 11 U.S.C. § 101(4).

Seon bes

Deaiieiaat y

VS etl KPNI IRE IN

FEL IAD ASS SE STATE AOE BS

19

who seeks appointment from responsibility to know

that such approval is necessary and to insure that it

has in fact been sought. See In re Carolina Sales

Corp., 45 B.R. 750, 755 (Bankr. E.D.N.C. 1985).

Otherwise, the prior approval requirement of the Code

could be avoided for all non-attorney professional

persons merely by citing the debtor's oversight, with

the attendant difficulty of determining whether it was

inadvertent or not. To the extent that the bankruptcy

court held that Simon, as a non-attorney, “cannot be

held to be charged with the knowledge of this

requirement,” AirLease, 59 B.R. at 775, it committed

legal error.

Simon is a sophisticated businessman who was

represented by attorneys throughout the course of his

dealings with AirLease. This is not a case in which a

person, completely ignorant of the requirements of the

Bankruptcy Code and without legal representation,

justifiably relied on the superior expertise of another.

See In re Freehold Music Center, Inc., 49 B.R. 293

(Bankr. D.N.J. 1985). The evidence here suggests that

Simon's attorney was familiar with the requirements of

the Bankruptcy Code, including the requirements of

section 327(a). In the November 28, 1984 letter written

by his attorney to AirLease, Simon agreed to limit the

request for court approval to the lease only, reserving

questions “regarding the distribution or allocation of

the proceeds from the Aloha Airlines lease.” App. at

792. Even if Simon believed that AirLease had the

responsibility for filing the application. we see no basis

to relieve Simon from his obligation under section

327(a) to insure that the application was timely filed.

Simon argues that the second factor articulated in

Arkansas -- whether the applicant was under time

pressure to begin services -- supports the nunc pro

(unc approval because Aloha Airlines needed the use of

the plane for the 1984 Christmas season. The

20

bankruptcy and district courts also found that Simon

“operated under severe time pressures to locate

another lessee for the aircraft.” In re F/S AirLease II,

Inc.. Nos. 86-1047, 86-1048, 86-1050, slip op. at 10

(W.D. Pa. October 21, 1986). This finding reflects a

misunderstanding of the “time pressure” factor, which

relates solely to whether there is sufficient time to

request court approval before the professional's

services must begin.

Simon began negotiating with AirLease in July

1984 regarding his services and compensation

therefor. AirLease declared bankruptcy on August 3.

1984. Simon first contacted Aloha in September 1984,

and the approval of the lease was sought from the

bankruptcy court in the end of November 1984. Simon

did not seek the requisite prior approval from the court

when AirLease’s bankruptcy began, nor did he seek

approval at any time during the four-month period in

which he was performing his services. Not until June

3, 1985 -- almost a year from when he had commenced

his services and a full seven months from the date he

had concluded them -- did Simon petition the court for

payment of administrative expenses. The estate's need

to have the plane expeditiously remarketed can hardly

excuse Simon's extreme laxity in seeking approval.

The time pressures on which Simon and the

courts below rely are simply not the sort of exigencies

contemplated by Arkansas. In Arkansas we were

referring to an emergency situation in which services

had to be initiated within a very short period before

approval could be sought. We cited, as an example, In

re Bible Deliverance Evangelistic Church, 39 B.R. 768

(Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1984), in which counsel was retained

by a creditors committee only two weeks before a

crucial meeting and was required to begin immediate

preparation. Under these circumstances. the

bankruptcy court found that counsel had acted with

ETN FIRE LT TR

wate Mae'.2

21

“reasonable promptness” in seeking court

appointment within two weeks of being retained. 39

B.R. at 772. The facts of this case do not approximate

the exigent time pressures presented in Bible, and,

indeed, do not indicate that Simon was faced with any

time pressure at all with respect to seeking the court's

approval of his prospective services.

Simon contends that his appointment should be

approved because of his successful efforts in securing

the Aloha lease. The bankruptcy court stated, in a

finding amply supported by the record, that, “[wlere it

not for the efforts of S-J [Simon] in obtaining this

lease, there would be no estate with which a

reorganization could be effected.” 59 B.R. at 777.

In most cases in which nunc pro tunc approval has

been sought. the applicant has performed services of

value. To this extent, there will be some unjust

enrichment if compensation is not authorized.

Because that is the unavoidable consequence of the

statutory requirement of prior approval, we agree with

the statement by the court in In re Mason. 66 B.R. 297,

307 (Bankr. D.N.J. 1986), that the “fact that the

applicant's services were beneficial to the debtor's

estate is immaterial to this court's decision regarding

nunc pro tunc approval.”

Simon treats the “prejudice” factor referred to in

Arkansas as relating to prejudice vel non to any party

from Simon's failure to seek prior approval. Simon and

Greycas thus dispute whether Greycas, if permitted to

do so by the bankruptcy court. could have performed

equivalent services to Simon's at less cost. This issue is

irrelevant because the statutory requirement of prior

approval is not limited to those cases in which there

would otherwise be prejudice. The “prejudice” factor to

which we referred in Arkansas was only whether, in

“extraordinary circumstances” cases, there would be

prejudice if compensation were paid after nunc pro

i

22

tunc employment were approved. Arkansas, 798 F.2d

at 650. We do not reach that factor in this case because

a review of the relevant factors shows that there is no

evidence in this record of the “extraordinary

circumstances” that would warrant nunc pro tunc

approval of Simon's employment.

IV.

Simon's Additional Contentions

In addition to his contentions under section

327(a), Simon argues that nunc pro tunc approval is

unnecessary because he is entitled to a fee for his

brokerage services under either section 327(b) or

503(b)(1)(A) of Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code. 11

U.S.C. 88 327(b), 503(b)(1)(A) (Supp. IV 1986).'® We

find both provisions inapplicable. Simon does not fall

within section 327(b)'' because he was not a “regularly

employed . . . professional person|] on salary.”

We likewise reject Simon's argument under section

503(b)(1)(A) of the Code, which permits priority

payment as an administrative expense of “the actual.

necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate.

including wages, salaries, or commissions for services

rendered after the commencement of the case.” 11

U.S.C. §503(b)(1)(A). Section 503(b)(1)(A)

encompasses costs such as outlays for repairs, upkeep.

10. Neither the bankruptcy court nor the district court reached

these issues. as they decided the case in Simon's favor pursuant to

section 327(a).

ll. 11 U.S.C. § 327(5) (Supp. IV 1986) provides. in full. that:

If the trustee is authorized to operate the business of the

debtor under section 721. 1202. or 1108 of this title. and

if the debtor has regularly employed attorneys.

accountants, or other professional persons on salary. the

trustee may retain or replace such professional persons

if necessary in the operation of such business.

a eee ee

23

rent, taxes and “other costs incidental to protection

and conservation” of the estate. 3 L. King, supra, para.

503.04, at 503-20.

The authority to pay administrative expenses for

professionals, and a real estate broker, like an

attorney. is a professional, is found not in section

503(b)(1)(A) but in section 503(b)(2) which permits

payment as an administrative expense for

“compensation and reimbursement awarded under

section 330(a).” Section 330(a), in turn, empowers the

court to award “reasonable compensation” to, inter

alia, a “professional person employed under section

327.” Because Simon is a professional person who was

hired to “assist the |debtor-in-possession) in carrying

out the |debtor-in-possession’s] duties,” see 11 U.S.C.

§ 327(a). and he failed to comply with that section's

requirement to obtain prior approval of his

appointment, he cannot rely on section 503(b)(1)(A) as

a way of circumventing section 327(a). See In re

Mansfield Tire & Rubber Co.. 65 B.R. 446, 465-66

(Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1986). If Simon were able to be

compensated under section 503(b)(1)(A), it would

render section 327(a) nugatory and would contravene

Congress’ intent in providing for prior approval. '?

V.

Conclusion

We are mindful that the result may seem harsh in

this case. In Arkansas, we explained our formulation

of the “extraordinary circumstances” standard by

reference to the legislative history and the important

policies at stake. We noted that without such a

12. Several of the parties had filed a series of motions to strike

and for sanctions. We find each of these motions to be devoid of

merit. especially in light of our disposition of this case. and will

therefore deny them.

24

standard. “the bankruptcy court may be overly inclined

to grant such approval influenced by claims of

hardship due to work already performed.” 798 F.2d at

649. We stated that. “lilf retroactive approval were

freely granted, it would subvert the prophylactic

purpose underlying the statutory requirement of prior

approval.” Jd. Our holding in this case reiterates and

reinforces that bright-line position.

The bankruptcy court did not have the benefit of

Arkansas when it gave its nunc pro tunc approval, and

hence did not apply the appropriate legal standard. The

district court also erred as a matter of law because it

misapplied the Arkansas factors. For the reasons set

forth above. we will reverse the order of the district

court affirming the bankruptcy court's order granting

nunc pro tunc approval of Simon's employment and

remand to the district court for the entry of an

appropriate order consistent with this opinion.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

A.O. U.S. Courts. G.M.C. Printing. Phila.. Pa. 215-568-4264)

PIERRE B68 80 on cor RRR TINE

25

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 86-3712-86-3720, 86-3731/33

F/S AIRLEASE, INC.

Vv.

GREYCAS, INC.,

Appellant.

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, SEITZ,

HIGGINBOTHAM, SLOVITER, BECKER,

STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG,

HUTCHINSON, SCIRICA, and

COWEN, i , and

FISHER, Pe

The petition for rehearing filed by

Appellees/Cross-Appellants, Lewis Simon

and S-J Financial Corporation, in the

above-entitled case having been submitted

to the judges who participated in the

decision of this court and to all the

other available circuit judges of the

circuit in regular active service, and no

weer

26

judge who concurred in the decision

having asked for rehearing, and a

majority of the circuit judges of the

circuit in regular active service not

having voted for rehearing by the court

in banc, the petition for rehearing is

denied.

By the Court,

Circuit Judge

Dated: April 19, 1988

* Hon. Clarkson S. Fisher, Chief Judge,

United States District Court for the

District of WNew Jersey, sitting by

designation, &% to panel rehearing only.

APPENDIX B

27

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE:

F/S AIRLEASE II,

INC. Bankruptcy No. 84-1628

Vv.

LEWIS SIMON and

S-J

FINANCIAL

CORPORATION,

eee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ee

F/S AIRLEASE

II, INC.

Civil Action 86-1048

we

GREYCAS, INC.

eee ee ee ee ee eee ee

F/S AIRLEASE

ii, LNG.

Vv. Civil Action 86-1050

SWIG INVESTMENT

COMPANY.

ee ee eee eee eee ee ee”

MEMORANDUM OPINION

ZIEGLER, District Judge

Debtor and two creditors appeal the

bankruptcy court's approval and award of

$450,000.00 to Lewis Simon and S-J

iilaiiaasia itera

28

Financial Corporation, appellees, for

professional services rendered in

obtaining a lease for debtor's Boeing

737-222 aircraft. Appellants argue that

the bankruptcy court's nunc pro tunc

approval is contrary to applicable law in

ti.is jurisdiction and that the court's

award is unreasonable and not supported

by evidence of record. We hold that

appellees are entitled to nunc pro tunc

approval, but we shall remand the case

for a documented determination of

appellees' claims.

I. History of Case

Appellees do not dispute the

bankruptcy court's findings of the fact.

Our independent review of the record

indicates that the findings are not

clearly erroneous and are substantially

supported by the weight of credible

evidence. For the purposes of this

29

appeal, we adopt the following findings

of the bankruptcy court, as reported in

Matter of F/S Airlease II, Inc., 59 B.R.

769, 771-72 (Bankr. W.D. Pa. 1986):

"The Debtor is a_e single-asset

corporation, which has the sole purpose

of leasing and remarketing a _ certain

Boeing 737-222 aircraft. This aircraft

was purchased by the Debtor in July of

1980, and financing for the purchase was

obtained from Greycas, Inc. (debtor's

largest single creditor). The aircraft

was subsequently sold and repurchased

several times, the final purchaser being

the Swig Investment Company Aircraft

Trust No. 1 ("Swig"). Swig subsequently

leased the aircraft to the Debtor for an

18-year tern. At all times, Greycas

continued to hold a security interest and

was to be repaid from the rental proceeds

30

received as a result of the Debtor's

releasing of the aircraft.

"In February of 1980, the Debtor

entered into an initial agreement with

S-J, hiring it as a leasing agent to find

leases for various aircrafts. In July of

1986, S-J successfully arranged for the

lease of the Boeing 737-222 aircraft to

Air Florida. Soon thereafter, a

disagreement arose between the Debtor and

S-J as to the appropriate compensation

due S-J for its services. Litigation was

instituted in the United States District

Court for the Northern District of

Illinois, which ultimately was resolved

by a Settlement Agreement dated May 27,

1983. This Agreement directed that S-J

would be entitled to compensation in the

amount of one-half of one month's rent

for each year of releasing, and would

give S-J the remarketing rights to this

t

4

j

i

;

31

and other aircraft, subject to the rights

of the various owners and secured

lenders. Additionally, the Settlement

Agreement stated the S-J had a right to

payment only when the Debtor received

payment.

"On July 3, 1984, Air Florida, the

lessee of this aircraft, filed a Chapter

11 bankruptcy, which effectively

terminated the aircraft lease, leaving

the aircraft available for release or

sale. The Debtor immediately contacted

S-J, urging it to assist in the search

for a new lessee. On July 20, 1984, S-J

sent a letter to the Debtor proposing to

remarket the aircraft for a flat fee of

$100,000.00 plus expenses, irrespective

of the new lease terms. On July 30,

1984, S-J forwarded-a second letter to

the Debtor, again offering to act as the

leasing representative for the

32

$100,000.00 flat fee, plus expenses. S-J

specified that it needed a response by

August 3, 1984. On August 21, 1984,

almost three (3) weeks after the

expiration date, the Debtor wrote to S-J,

accepting the proposed arrangement. This

acceptance was conditioned upon. the

approval of Swig. Swig, for unspecified

reasons, categorically refused to approve

any flat fee arrangement, and accordingly

that offer was terminated. Only now,

after S-J has procured a 10-year lease

and requested $450,000.00, has Swig

inferred that the Court should imposed

the $100,000.00 fee upon S-J.

"On duhy 25, 1984, S-J and

representatives for the Debtor traveled

to Phoenix, Arizona, Greycas'

headquarters, to discuss possible leasing

of this aircraft to America West Airlines

("America West"). This joint trip was

33

the result of several meetings among the

Debtor, S-J, and Greycas, during which

time the possibilities of various leases

and lessees were discussed. Greycas'

proposal to lease the aircraft to America

West was contingent upon Greycas

obtaining possession of the aircraft,

which possession it did not have, and

could not have, pursuant to final court

order.

"With a general understanding as to

professional fees but no finalized

written agreement between them, the

Debtor requested that S-J proceed with

attempts to remarket the aircraft. At

that time the aircraft was not airworthy,

in that one of its engines had been

removed and was placed, disassembled, in

a box. Since the aircraft was not

airworthy, it was providing no revenue to

any of the parties. In September of

34

1984, Greycas made a proposal to America

West which called for a 6-month lease

with a 10-year option. The monthly

rental fee proposed was $85,000.00.

Additionally, since the aircraft was

missing an engine, Greycas proposed to

have America West lease an engine and

subtract the cost of the leased engine

from the monthly rental payments. Again,

this proposal was contingent upon

Greycas' receipt of the aircraft which it

did not and could not obtain.

"By October 25, 1984, S-J had

procured a Letter of Agreement with Aloha

Airlines ("Aloha"). The Agreement called

for a 10-year lease at a monthly rental

of $90,000.00. Further, Aloha, a more

solvent and stable airline, agreed to

supply the necessary second engine,

without receiving a rent rebate thereon,

and also agreed to return the aircraft at

35

the conclusion of the 10-year lease with

two operational engines instead of one.

"On November 29, 1984, the Debtor

and Aloha prepared a lease based on the

agreement procured by S-J. The following

day, and Order was entered in

[bankruptcy] Court approving this lease,

finding it to be in the best interests of

the estate. At that hearing the parties

made the Court aware that the Debtor had

requested S-J to procure a lease, that S-

J had procured same, and that Greycas,

while nominally objecting to S-J's

invclvement, wanted the lease, secured by

S-J, to be approved."

The bankruptcy court cited the

general rule that court authorization

before services are rendered is a

condition precedent to any _ fee

application, citing Bankruptcy Rule

2014(a) and In re Hydrocarbon Chemicals,

36

Inc., 411 F.2d 203 (3d Cir. 1969).

However, the court noted, a bankruptcy

court exercises powers of a court in

equity and equitable principles favor

Dunc pro tunc approval of fee

applications in certain extraordinary

cases. In a well-crafted opinion, Judge

Markovitz found that S-J qualified as a

professional person under 11 U.S.C. §327,

that S-J exercised a high degree of skill

and expertise in arranging the lease with

Aloha, that failure to apply for court

approval before S-J rendered its services

to debtor was not the fault of S-J, and

that S-J had no interest adverse to

debtor to bar equitable nunc pro tunc

approval. The court then considered the

commercial reasonableness of the

requested $450,000.00 fee based upon

expert testimony of the value of the

Aloha lease to debtor and standard fees

37

in the aircraft leasing industry. The

court awarded the requested compensation

of $450,000.00.

II. Discussion

Two basic issues have been presented

on appeal. First, appellants argue, S-J

and Lewis Simon are not entitled to nunc

pro tunc approval because they cannot

satisfy the statutory requirements of 11

U.S.C. §327(a) and have not presented the

required extraordinary circumstances to

justify such approval. The second issue

is whether the award to appellees was

documented sufficiently and was

reasonable.

A. Nunc Pro Tunc Approval

The Court of Appeais recently held

that bankruptcy courts have the power to

authorize retroactive employment of

counsel and other professionals under

their broad equity power. In the Matter

eaiiiiieiaiiaeaendiiecamill

38

of: Arkansas Company, Inc., 798 F.2d 645,

648 (3d Cir. 1986). As the court stated,

at 648: “Where equitable concerns weigh

in favor of granting retroactive approval

to enable deserving professionals to

recover compensation for work actually

done, we see nothing in the statute that

denies the bankruptcy court the power to

grant such retroactive approval."

Sowever, the court limited

retrwactive approval to certain

extraerdinary cases because "a lenient

[retroactive approval] rule would subvert

Congress' purposes in imposing a prior

approval requirement." Id. at 648. The

term, “extraordinary circumstances," was

defined as “cases where prior approval

would have been appropriate and the delay

in seeking approval was due to hardship

beyond the professional's control." Id.

at 650.

ee ee el A en

~~ =

39

The court then summarized the test

to be applied in determining whether nunc

pro tunc approval is warranted. The

bankruptcy court first must determine

whether the applicant qualifies as a

professional person under the statutory

provisions of 11 U.S.C. §§327(a) and

1103(a). Such a determination, to be

made after a hearing, entails a finding

that the applicant is disinterested and

without an adverse interest and that the

services performed were necessary under

the circumstances. Id. at 650. Our

review of this determination is plenary.

Second, the bankruptcy court, “in

exercising its discretion," must

determine whether the particular

circumstances of the case excuse the

failure of prior approval. Id. at 650.

Our review of this determination is

40

limited to an abuse of discretion

standard.

Section 327(a) permits the trustee

to employ one or more attorneys,

accountants, appraisers, auctioneers, or

other professional persons, that do not

hold or represent an interest adverse to

the estate, and that are disinterested

persons, to represent or assist the

trustee in carrying out the trustee's

statutory duties. Appellant debtor

argues that Lewis Simon and S-J were not

employed as "professional persons" within

the meaning of section 327(a) because

appellees were creditors of debtor when

the bankruptcy petition was filed.

The bankruptcy court found that

appellees were not creditors of debtor.

Reviewing the May 27, 1983, settlement

agreement between debtor and S-J, the

court determined that the agreement

41

expired by its own terms before the

bankruptcy petition was filed, and that

debtor had no cause to list S-J as a

creditor based on an agreement no longer

binding on the parties. Our review of

the agrement and evidence of record

indicates that the court's finding is not

erroneous. The agreement was based on

the leasing of the Boeing aircraft to Air

Florida, Inc. See paragraph 1 of the

agreement, Appendix B to Memorandum of

Swig Investment Company. As the

bankruptcy court found, the July 3, 1984,

bankruptcy filing by Air Florida

effectively terminated the aircraft

lease, and S-J and Lewis Simon were no

longer creditors under the May 1983

agreement. S-J continued to seek a

lessee for the aircraft at debtor's

request. At the time of debtor's filing

42

on August 3, 1984, no lease had been

obtained.

The issue of law facing the

bankruptcy court was whether S-J acted as

a retained professional under section

327(a) after August 3, 1984. We agree

with the lower court that appellees

qualify as "professional persons" within

the meaning of section 327(a). S-J and

Lewis Simon were experienced in arranging

leases for aircraft; they set up a

lucrative, long-term lease with Aloha

Airlines, a reputable airline; and they

were able to obtain the lease despite the

fact that the Boeing aircraft was not

airworthy at the time. We further agree

that appellees were retained by debtor

following its August 3, 1984, bankruptcy

petition filing. As the bankruptcy court

correctly found, debtor retained

appellees to locate a lessee for the

43

aircraft under two agreements, dated

August 13 and 21, 1984. Ze. Ot 11;

Exhibits F and G to Affidavit of Fred

Pink, vice president of Greycas, Inc. We

also agree that retention of appellees

was “reasonably necessary in the

administration of the estate" and

"necessary for the protection and benefit

of the estate." 2 Collier on Bankruptcy,

9327.01 (1986). Appellant Greycas, which

held a security interest in the aircraft,

attempted to arrange a lease for the

aircraft after Air Florida filed for

bankruptcy. However, Greycas's deal with

America West Airlines was’ thwarted

because Greycas could not legally obtain

possession of the aircraft. The only

lease effort to bear fruit was by S-J

which, in November 1984, arranged a 10-

year lease with Aloha at a monthly rental

rate of $90,000.00. As the bankruptcy

ee ee

cae

court noted: "Further, it must. be

realized that the total amount brought

into the estate by this lease, which is

$10,800,000.00 over the course of the 10-

year lease, is the sole asset of the

Debtor's estate. Were it not for the

efforts of S-J in obtaining this lease,

there would be no estate with which a

reorganization could be effected." In

the Matter of F/S Airlease II, Inc.,

Supra, at 77.

The second part of the Arkansas

Company test for nunc pro tunc approval

is whether the particular circumstances

in the case adequately excuse the failure

of prior approval. As rehearsed, our

review is limited to the question of

whether the bankruptcy court abused its

discretion in excusing the _ failure.

According to the Court of Appeals, the

bankruptcy court must consider the

45

following factors: "whether the

applicant or some other person bore

responsibility for applying for approval;

whether the applicant was under time

pressure to begin service without

approval; the amount of delay after the

applicant learned that initial approval

had not been granted; the extent to which

compensation to the applicant will

prejudice innocent third parties; and

other relevant factors." Arkansas

Company, supra, at 650. In Arkansas

Company, the court held that nunc pro

tunc approval was not warranted because

the petitioner was a law firm with

experienced bankruptcy practitioners who

were aware of the need to apply for prior

approval of fees. The Arkansas Company

court, however, noted that failure to

seek court approval may be excused where

the professional justifiably relied on

:

46

another party to obtain court approval

(citing In re Freehold Music Center, 49

B.R. 293 (Bankr. D.N.J. 1985)).

In the instant case, Judge Markovitz

aptly characterized testimony as showing

that S-J had requested assurance that its

services would be permitted by the

bankruptcy court and that it was

reassured by debtor's officers that

appropriate measures would be taken.

Further, the court noted, "the Debtor's

president testified that no application

was made to this Court through an

oversight on the part of the Debtor." In

the Matter of F/S Airlease II, Inc.,

supra, at 775 (emphasis in original).

This finding, coupled with other lower

court findings that S-J and debtor

operated under severe time pressures to

locate another lessee for the aircraft

and that S-J's successful efforts

47

resulted in profit not prejudice for

third parties, indicates that the

bankruptcy court did not abuse its

discretion in excusing the prior failure

to seek approval for S-J's services.

B. Amount of Award

Finding that the fee requested by

S-J was fair and reasonable in light of

the value conferred on debtor, the

bankruptcy court awarded $450,000.00 to

S-J. Appellants argue that S-J's

petition for fees is woefully inadequate

under bankruptcy procedural rules and

does not adequately support the requested

award. Appellees rejoin that debtor had

admitted that $450,000.00 was owed to S-J

as an administrative claim and expense,

according to a letter debtor sent to

Greycas and other parties.

48

Under the Bankruptcy Code, the court

may award compensation to a professional

employed under section 327 "for actual,

necessary services rendered by such...

professional person . . . based on the

time, the nature, the extent, and the

value of such services and the cost of

comparable services ... ." 11 U.S.C.

§330(a) (1). According to Bankruptcy Rule

2016(a), such compensation may be awarded

only after the professional files an

application with the court "setting forth

a detailed statement of (1) the services

rendered, time expended and expenses

incurred, and (2) the amounts requested."

The Code requires a detailed

statement so that the court can determine

an award both compensating petitioner for

its services and protecting debtors and

creditors. The fact that debtor

represented that $450,000.00 was

,

49

appropriate compensation does not

abrogate the court's duty to protect

creditors such as Greycas and Swig.

Also, expert testimony that $450,000.00

is a reasonable award in light of the

benefit conferred by S-J on debtor does

not satisfy the requirements of Rule

2016(a).

We shall vacate the award and remand

the case to the bankruptcy court, with

directions to require S-J to file an

application satisfying Rule 2016(a) and

to hold a hearing on the application. In

so ruling, we urge the parties to bridle

their propensity for burdening the court

with unnecessary and irrelevant papers

and motions. The only matters to be

determined upon remand are the

documentation of S-J's time and expenses

50

in obtaining the Aloha lease and the

reascnable value therefor.4/

The final argument raised by Greycas

in this appeal, j.e., that S-J cannot

properly charge Greycas's collateral for

payment of its compensation, was resolved

properly by the bankruptcy court.

III. Summary

Because S-J and Lewis Simon qualify

as professional persons under 11 U.S.C.

§327(a) retained by debtor to perform

necessary services following its

bankruptcy petition filing and because

the bankruptcy court did not abuse its

1/ We recognize that some expenses of

negotiating the aircraft lease with

Aloha Airlines were incurred by S-J

and Lewis Simon before debtor's

bankruptcy petition was filed.

Although the argument has not been

raised by appellants, we foresee an

issue as to whether appellees are

entitled to compensation for work

performed before they were retained

under 11 U.S.C. §327. This issue is

properly reserved for determination

by the bankruptcy court upon remand.

51

discretion in excusing the failure to

seek court approval before appellees

rendered services, nunc pro tunc approval

of compensation is warranted under the

law of this circuit. In re: Matter of:

Arkansas Company, Inc., supra. Because

appellees' application for fees lacks the

required specificity under the Bankruptcy

Code, the award will be vacated the case

remanded for an amended application and a

hearing on the reasonableness of the

newly documented fees.

A written order will follow.

DATED: Oct. 21, 1986

Donald E. Ziegler

United States District Judge

52

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN RE:

F/S AIRLEASE II,

INC.

Vv.

LEWIS SIMON and

S-J

FINANCIAL

CORPORATION,

F/S AIRLEASE

II, INC.

Vv.

GREYCAS, INC.

F/S AIRLEASE

II, INC.

Vv.

SWIG INVESTMENT

COMPANY.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

ee ee eee ee ee ee ee

Bankruptcy No. 84-1628

Civil Action 86-1048

Civil Action 86-1050

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, this 21st day of October

1986,

53

IT IS ORDERED that the bankruptcy

court's nunc pro tunc approval allowing

compensation to appellees-petitioners be

and hereby is affirmed;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that’ the

bankruptcy court's award of $450,000.00

be and hereby is vacated and the case

remanded to the bankruptcy court for an

amendment of the fee petition to conform

to Bankruptcy Rule 2016(a) and for a

hearing thereon.

Donald E. Ziegler

United States District Judge

cc: Counsel of Record

APPENDIX C

54

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN THE MATTER OF:

F/S AIRLEASE

Zi» Eeeses Bankruptcy No. 84-1628

Debtor Motion No. 85-2157

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Before this Court is an application

For Professional Fees By Petitioner, Mr.

Lewis Simon and S-J Corporation ("S-J"),

averring that it procured a lease at the

Debtor's request, that said lease

constitutes the sole asset of the estate,

and that it should be compensated in the

amount of $450,000.00, based upon the

fees received in past conduct with the

Debtor and upon the fees charged for such

services in the marketplace.

F/S Airlease II, Inc. ("Debtor") has

objected to the payment of the

compensation requested, claiming, that

SS

while S-J should be compensated to some

degree for the services performed, the

amounts requested are excessive and would

deter the formulation of a proposed Plan

of reorganization.

Greycas, Inc. ("Greycas"), the

largest secured creditor, has objected to

the payment of any compensation to S-J,

asserting inter alia that S-J has no

legal basis for its claim as prior Court

approval was not secured.

Swig, the owner of the aircraft, now

requests that the Court impose a

$100,000.00 limit to S-J's compensation-

an amount which Swig refused to accept

during the initial negotiations.

The parties conducted an extensive

hearing on the various issues and offered

complete testimony, both at the hearing

and through depositions. The parties

have also submitted very complete and

56

thoroughly researched briefs, proposed

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Based upon the various’ pleadings,

memoranda, and the hearing thereon, this

Court concludes that S-J is entitled to

compensation in the amount of $450,000.00

FACTS

The Debtor is a_- single-asset

corporation, which has the sole purpose

-of leasing and remarketing a_ certain

Boeing 737-222 aircraft. This aircraft

was purchased by the Debtor in July of

1980, and financing for the purchase was

obtained from Greycas. The aircraft was

subsequently sold and repurchased several

times, the final purchaser being the Swig

Investment Company Aircraft Trust No. 1

("Swig"). Swig subsequently leased the

aircraft to the Debtor for an 18-year

57

term. At all times, Greycas continued to

hold a security interest and was to be

repaid from the rental proceeds received

as a result of the Debtor's reieasing of

the aircraft.

In February of 1980, the Debtor

entered into an initial agreenent with S-

J, hiring it as a leasing agent to find

leases for various aircrafts. In July of

1980, S-J successfully arranged for the

lease of the Boeing 737-222 aircraft to

Air Florida. Soon thereafter, a

disagreement arose between the debtor and

S-J as to the appropriate compensation

due S-J for its services. Litigation was

instituted in the United States District

Court for the Northern District of

Illinois, which ultimately was resolved

by a Settlement Agreement dated May 27,

1983. This Agreement directed that S-J

would be entitled to compensation in the

=

= Dee wee.

58

amount of one-half of one month's rent

for each year of releasing, and would

give S-J the remarketing rights to this

and other aircraft, subject to the rights

of the various owners and _ secured

lenders. Additionally, the Settlement

Agreement stated that S-J had a right to

payment only when the Debtor received

payment.

On July 3, 1984, Air Florida, the

lessee of this aircraft, filed a Chapter

11 bankruptcy, which effectively

terminated the aircraft lease, leaving

the aircraft available for release or

sale. The Debtor immediately contacted

S-J, urging it to assist in the search

for a new lessee. On July 20, 1984, S-J

sent a letter to the Debtor proposing to

remarket the aircraft for a flat fee of

$100,000.00 plus expenses, irrespective

of the new lease terms. On July 30,

59

1984, S-J forwarded a second letter to

the Debtor, again offering to act as the

leasing representative for the

$100,000.00 flat fee, plus expenses. S-J

specified that it needed a response by

August 3, 1984. On August 21, 1984,

almost three (3) weeks after the

expiration date, the Debtor wrote to S-J,

accepting the proposed arrangement. This

acceptance was conditioned upon the

approval of Swig. Swig, for unspecified

reasons, categorically refused to approve

any flat fee arrangement, and accordingly

that offer was terminated. Only now,

after S-J has procured a 10-year lease

and requested $450,000.00, has Swig

inferred that the Court should impose the

$100,000.00 fee upon S-J.

Only July 25, 1984, S-J and

representatives for the Debtor traveled

to Phoenix, Arizona, Greycas'

60

headquarters, to discuss possible leasing

of this aircraft to America West Airlines

("America West"). This joint trip was

the result of several meetings among the

Debtor, S-J, and Greycas, during which

time the possibilities of various leases

and lessees were discussed. Greycas'

proposal to lease the aircraft to America

West was contingent upon Greycas

obtaining possession of the aircraft,

which possession it did not have, and

could not have, pursuant to final court

order.

With a general understanding as to

professional fees but not finalized

written agreement between them, the

debtor requested that S-J proceed with

attempts to remarket the aircraft. At

that time the aircraft was not airworthy,

in that one of its engines had been

removed and was placed, disassembled, in

61

a box. Since the aircraft was not

airworthy, it was providing no revenue to

any of the parties. In September of

1984, Greycas made a proposal to America

West which called for a 6-month lease

with a 10-year option. The monthly

rental fee proposed was $85,000.00.

Additionally, since the aircraft was

missing an engine, Greycas proposed to

have America West lease an engine and

subtract the cost of the leased engine

from the monthly rental payments. Again,

this proposal was contingent upon

Greycas' receipt of the aircraft which it

did not and could not obtain.

By October 25, 1984, S-J had

procured a Letter of Agreement with Aloha

Airlines ("Aloha"). The Agreement called

for a 10-year lease at a monthly rental

of $90,000.00. Further, Aloha, a more

solvent and stable airline, agreed to

62

supply the necessary second engine,

without receiving a rent rebate thereon,

and also agreed to return the aircraft at

the conclusion of the 10-year lease with

two operational engines instead of one.

On November 29, 1984, the Debtor and

Aloha prepared a lease based on the

agreement procured by S-J. The

following day, an Order was entered in

this Court approving this lease, finding

it to be in the best interests of the

estate. At that hearing the parties made

the Court aware that the Debtor had

requested S-J to procure a lease, that

S-J had procured same, and that Greycas,

while nominally objecting to S-J's

involvement, wanted the lease, secured by

S-J, to be approved. The rental proceeds

were to be, and have been, deposited in

an interest-bearing account pending

disposition of this matter.

63

LEGAL ARGUMENTS

Greycas, the Debtor, and S-J each

make several arguments either for or

against the allowance of compensation to

S-J. Each party's arguments will be

outlined seriatin.

Greycas’ Arguments

Greycas offers several arguments for

disallowing any compensation whatsoever

to S-J.

Pursuant to the May, 1983 Settlement

Agreement Greycas avers that:

1. The contract was not

executory at the time of

the Debtor's filing and it

could not be assumed.

2. Even if the contract was

executory, the time for

assumption of such a

contract had passed.

Be The contract cannot be

revived by the court.

64

4. The exclusive right to

remarket the aircraft had

expired.

5. Compensation under the

contract rate cannot be

allowed because S-J did

not comply with the

provisions requiring

consent of Swig and

Greycas.

Greycas claims that the Debtor and S-J

attempted to obtain Greycas' consent on

two separate occasions and failed.

Next, Greycas argues that no court

approval of S-J's retention was either

sought or obtained, as requi:ved by 11

U.S.C. §327(a), and that absent’ such

court approval, S-J is not entitled to

any compensation.

Additionally, Greycas argues that

the court should not approve S-J's

retention nunc pro tunc because: S-J has

not provided detailed records for the

court to determine the amount of work

done; it is not disinterested, as it

65

holds an interest adverse to the estate,

thereby precluding its appointment; and,

nunc pro tunc orders appointing

professional persons should not be

permitted.

Greycas also argues that S-J cannot

recover as a regular, salaried employee

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §327(b) because:

Ae S-J was an independent

contractor, paid on

commission as opposed to a

salary.

2- The 10-year lease

agreement with Aloha does

not constitute work done

in the ordinary course of

business, as anticipated

by the Code.

as The lease required court

approval, which would not

be necessary if section

327(b) applied.

Finally, Greycas argues that since

it is secured in the funds which S-J

wishes to obtain, S-J must meet certain

requirements to attach those funds, and

S-J has not done so.

66

Specifically, S-J has not shown:

1. Its costs and expenses

were reasonable and

necessary.

y Its costs and expenses

were encountered in the

preservation of the

estate.

Ze It provided a benefit to

the estate which Greycas

could not have provided

without additional costs

to the estate.

Debtor's Arguments

The Debtor raises many of the same

arguments that Greycas raises. The

Debtor first states that S-J did not have

prior court approval for its employment,

thereby barring any compensation.

Additionally, the Debtor argues that S-J

cannot be approved nunc pro tunc as no

extraordinary circumstances exist

requiring the Court to equitably permit

such approval and, as S-J is not

67

disinterested, it could not have been

approved even if the application had been

timely submitted.

The Debtor also raises the argument

that the May, 1983 agreement is not

executory and cannot be assumed. The

Debtor's final argument is novel, in that

it avers that S-J has’ benefited the

estate, and equitably, should receive

some compensation. However, the Debtor

argues that if S-J is granted the full

amount it seeks, any hope for a Plan of

reorganization will fail. The Debtor

contends that all of the other parties

have agreed to reductions in the amounts

due them in order to put forward a

reorganization Plan, and that S-J should

be satisfied to do the same. It should

be recognized that the various counsel

have submitted fee applications, also to

be paid from the rent accruals. eS

68

interesting to note that there would have

been no estate for these attorneys to

divide if S-J had not procured the lease.

It would appear to be grossly inequitable

to pay the litigators more than the

creator.

S-J's Arguments

S-J initially asserts that no Court

order is required before it can be

compensated, because S-J carried out its

activities in the ordinary course of the

Debtor's business, operating in a

marketing capacity. Alternatively, S-J

argues that if approval is necessary, it

should be granted nunc pro tunc, in that:

i. That the Debtor assured S-

J would be compensated,

but that formal Court

approval was not obtained

due to an admitted

oversight on the part of

the Debtor.

Further, S-J states that it is a

disinterested party,

appro

presented by the Debtor in a timely

fashi

1983 Settlement Agreement,

that

prior

ved

on.

Upon

it had expired by its own terms

to

69

But for S-J's’ services,

there would be no estate

to administer and no

company to reorganize.

rte assistance in

obtaining the lease was

allowed, if not formally

accepted, by all parties

now objecting.

That the Court can

exercise its equitable

powers to approve the

employment nunc pro tunc

in extraordinary

circumstances, such as are

present here.

if the application had been

ANALYSIS

a careful reading of the May,

the filing of the Debtor's

and could have been

it is clear

70

petition. As such, it is not executory,

and affords no rights to S-J under i11

U.S.C. §365. It does, however, show the

prior course of performance between the

parties, including methods, mode and

amounts of compensation, and will be

recognized in that fashion by this Court.

We next address the issue of

required Court approval prior to the

compensation of professional persons

employed to assist the bankruptcy estate.

Bankruptcy code §327(a) and Bankruptcy

Rule 2014 specifically outline the law

and procedures surrounding the employment

of professional persons. Section 327(a)

states in pertinent part:

"[E]xcept as otherwise

provided in this section, the

trustee, with the Court's

approval, may employ one or

more attorneys, accountants,

appraisers, auctioneers, or

other professional persons,

that do not hold or represent

an interest adverse to the

estate, and that are

term

inter

71

disinterested persons, to

represent or assist the trustee

in carrying out the trustee's

duties under this title."

Pursuant to §1107 of the Code,

'debtor-in-possession'

the

is

changeable with the term ‘'trustee',

pursuant to §327. Bankruptcy Rule

2014 (

Many

a) states in pertinent part:

"(Aj]n order approving

appointment of attorneys,

accountants, appraisers,

auctioneers, agents, or other

professional persons pursuant

to §327 or §1103 of the Code

shall be made only on

application of the trustee or

committee, stating the specific

facts showing the necessity for

the employment, the name of the

person to be employed, the

reason for his selection, the

professional services to be

rendered, any proposed

arrangement for compensation,

and to the best of the

applicant's knowledge, all of

the persons' connections with

the debtors, creditors, or any

other party in interest, their

respective attorneys and

accountants."

courts have held that court

authorization prior to the services being

72

rendered is the one absolute basic

condition precedent to any _ fee

application. See In re Hydrocarbon

Chemicals, Inc., 411 F.2d 203 (3rd Cir.

1969); In re Calpa Products Company, 411

F.2d 1373 (3rd Cir. 1969); In re Garland

Corporation, 8 B.R. 826 (Bktcy. D.C.

Mass. 1981); In re Fountai inin

Compa c., 46 B.R. 122 (Bktcy W.D.

Va. 1985).

This rule has been enforced not only

as to attorneys but also as to non-legal

professionals. See In re Mork, 19 B.R.

947 (Bktcy. D.C. Mich. 1982); In re

Morton Shoe Company, 22 B.R. 449 (Bktcy.

D. Mass. 1982); e apli aints

inc., 38 B.R. 807 (Bktcy. E.D. N.Y.

1984).

This rule has often been held to be

hard and fast despite the fact that the

services rendered may have been highly

73

valuable to the estate and performed in

complete good faith. See In re Garland

Corporation, supra, at 828; In re Morton

Shoe Company, supra, at 450; In re

Sapolin Paints, Inc., supra, at 817.

Both the Debtor and Greycas argue to

this court that this inflexible per se

rule as to the court-approved employment

is the law in the Third Circuit, and that

therefore, S-J is not entitled to any

compensation for services performed, as

court approval was not obtained pricr to

the performance of the services.

S-J, on the other hand, argues that

this Court, as a court of equity, should

not hold fast to such an inflexible per

se rule in extraordinary cases, urging

this Court to approve the employment nunc

pro tunc.

It is true that a bankruptcy court

exercises powers of a court of equity and

74

equitable principles should govern the

exercise of its jurisdiction. While such

nunc pro tunc orders were originally

frowned upon, many courts in recent years

have allowed entry of nunc pro tunc

orders on a case-by-case determination.

Interestingly, the majority of the courts

which have denied nunc pro tunc orders of

employment have done so due to some other

form of misconduct on the part of the

applicant, which would have barred that

individual's appointment even had the

approval been requested in a timely

fashion.

In In re Mork, supra, the court

denied nunc pro tunc authorization of the

services rendered by an accounting firm

stating:

"T‘I}) conclude that as

here, not only absent an order,

but absent any communication

with the court whether or not

resulting in an order,

sufficient to appraise the

75

court as to the intended

retention and its necessity in

terms, the court is without

power to undue what has been

done." 19 B.R. at 949.

In the case at bar, however, it is

clear that the court was aware from early

in these proceedings, that S-J was

involved in the releasing and remarketing

of the aircraft. It is also clear that

the present day objectors had previously

been aware of the Applicant's activities

and in addition, had voiced their great

appreciation for his services. Had the

Debtor honored its agreement and

presented the Applicant's employment

application, this Court is hard pressed

to think of any reason why it would not

have been granted.

In In re Morton Shoe Company, supra,

the court disallowed nunc pro tunc

approval for a financial expert and for

accountants because the court determined

76

that no emergency existed warranting such

approval. In Morton, unlike here, the

court found that “hardship to the

unauthorized professional is of no

consequence since it is of his own

making." 22 B.R. at 450. That court

seemed to believe that hardship, if not

of the professional's own making, would

be an extraordinary situation which would

allow nunc pro tunc approval.

Testimony before this Court has

shown that S-J had in fact requested

several times that it be given some

assurance that its services would be

permitted by the court. Testimony also

indicated that S-J was assured by the

Debtor's officers that the appropriate

measures would be taken to assure that S-

J would be acknowledged by this Court.

Further, the Debtor's president testified

that no application was made to this

77

Court through an oversight on the part of

the Debtor.

It should be noted also, that the

Bankruptcy Code and Rules suggest that

the application for appointment of such

professional persons should be made by

the trustee or the debtor-in-possession

and that S-J is neither. Further, S-J as

a leasing agent does not hold itself out

to be knowledgeable in the area of

bankruptcy law. There is no indication

that Mr. Simon or anyone else involved

with S-J Corporation is an attorney and

therefore, S-J cannot be held to be

charged with the knowledge of this

requirement.

Both the Debtor and Greycas direct

the court's attention to In re Lewis, 30

B.R. 404 (Bktcy. E.D. Pa. 1983), in which

the court did not permit the nunc pro

tunc approval of the hiring of an

78

attorney for the debtor. In that case,

the court found:

"(T]o permit ex post facto

employment would exalt form

over substance to an

unreasonable extent. The court

also notes that both Mr.

Schildhorn and the members of

his firm are experienced

practitioners in this field of

law. We are not confronted

with an attorney who through

inexperience has failed to file

the necessary application, but

rather, with an attorney who

should be fully aware of this

requirement." 30 B.R. at 405-

6.

Again, the court seems to indicate

that if the circumstances surrounding the

absent approval were different, a nunc

pro tunc application might be granted.

A very recent case in the Third

Circuit that appears to be factually

similar to our case, is Matter of

Freehold Music Center, Inc., 49 B.R. 293

(Bktcy. D. N.J. 1985). In that case,

accountants'7 hired for the debtor

specifically requested protection before

79

commencing any work and were advised by

the attorneys for the debtor that the

appropriate application would be prepared

and submitted to the court. The

accountants were therefore aware that

court approval was necessary before they

could be paid, but in good faith relied

on the statements of the attorney that

authorization for their work had been

obtained or had been properly arranged.

The court stated:

"(Tjhe position of the

accountants in the instant case

is further made sympathetic by

the fact that the error, if

indeed there was one, was

occasioned not by their own

actions, but rather by the

action of another whose failure

was beyond their own control."

49 B.R. at 296.

In In re Century Food, Inc., 39 B.R.

602 (Bktcy. M.D. Pa. 1984), a real estate

broker who performed services for the

estate received nunc pro tunc approval

after the broker's work was completed.

80

There, the court stated:

"(Ajthough we realize that

nunc pro tunc orders should be

authorized sparingly, this

Court certainly has’ the

discretion to administer

equitable principles by

entering such orders." 39 B.R.

at 604.

It is clear therefore, that the

inflexible nature of the per se rule

once enunciated is presently being worn

away by the equitable principles of the

Bankruptcy Law on a case-by-case

determination.

If however, a nunc pro tunc order

for approval of appointment for the

employment of a professional person is to

be allowed, the part whose approval is

sought must show that had the application

been timely, the party would still have

met the other requirements for employment

as a professional person pursuant to

§327. Both the Debtor and Greycas argue

81

that S-J does not meet the other

requirements of §327.

Specifically, they claim that in

order for S-J to be qualified under

§327(a), it must meet two (2)

requirements:

1. It must not hold or

represent an interest

adverse to the estate.

2. It must be a disinterested

person within the meaning

of the Code.

To hold an interest adverse to the >

estate means: "(1) to possess or assert.

any economic interest that would tend to

lessen the value of the bankruptcy estate

or that would create either an actual or

potential dispute in which the estate is

a rival claimant; or, (2) to possess a

predisposition under circumstances that

render such a bias against the estate."

In re Roberts, 46 B.R. 815, 827 (Bktcy.

D. Utah 1985).

ee

82

To hold that fees for services

rendered to the debtor constitute an

interest adverse to the estate is a

position without logic. If such a

statement were held to be true, then the

attorneys representing the debtors who

are presenting petitions for fees would

also be held to have interests adverse to

the estate, and therefore, would also be

disqualified from compensation under

§327.

Further, it has previously been held

that an attorney who is a major creditor

of the debtor due to his prior

representation of the debtor and due to

his preparation of the petition in

bankruptcy, does not, without more, have

an interest adverse to the debtor. See

In re Heatron, 5 B.R. 703 (Bktcy. W.D.

Mo. 1980).

83

The Debtor and Greycas also claim

that S-J is not a disinterested person

pursuant to the Bankruptcy Code. They

base this claim on the fact that S-J has

been listed by the Debtor has having a

contingent disputed claim to funds

resulting from their exclusive

remarketing right under the Settlement

Agreement of May, 1983.

This Court has earlier found that

the May, 1983 Settlement Agreement

expired by its own terms and is therefore

no longer binding on any of the parties.

Therefore, it was no longer binding on

the parties at the time this bankruptcy

petition was’ filed. Since S-J's

exclusive remarketing right had expired

prior to the filing of the bankruptcy,

this Court can find no other cause for

listing S-J as a creditor of the Debtor

corporation.

84

As the court finds no reason to hold

that S-J has an adverse interest to the

Debtor, nor can the court find any reason

to find that S-J lacks the required

disinterestedness, the Court believes

that there are no obstacles barring its

equitable approval of the employment of

S-J nunc pro tunc.

There still remains to be considered

however, the reasonableness of the

$450,000.00 fee requested by S-J

Corporation for its services to the

Debtor's estate. There are many

standards which exist for determining

reasonableness of fees requested.

Some of these factors include:

i. The commercial

reasonableness of the fee

in light of what the

market would pay for such

a transaction outside the

Bankruptcy Court.

a. The funds available in the

Debtor's estate to pay

such a fee.

85

3. The amount brought into

the estate by the

Applicant.

4. The difficulty of the

services rendered by the

Applicant

At the hearing of January 21, 1986,

testimony was taken from Mr. Thomas Hiniker,

who is employed in much the same capacity as

Mr. Simon and S-J Corporation, in that he has

leased aircraft similar to the one in question.

Mr. Hiniker testified that a reasonable fee in

the aircraft leasing industry, when based upon

a percentage of the rentals received, would be

from five to ten percent of the total rentals

received, and that fees might be higher when a

transaction is exceptionally difficult. The

fee charged and requested by S-J is less than

five percent of the total rentals received over

the 10-year lease period, which is below the

bottom of the scale delineated by Mr. Hiniker.

The lease was approved and ordered on

November 30, 1984. Sixteen (16) months have

elapsed since that lease was ordered. The

P

86

rental fee of $90,000.00 per month was ordered

to be placed in an interest-bearing account.

The total rental payments which should be in

said interest-bearing account as of March 31,

1986, is $1,440,000.00, irrespective of

interest accrued thereon. It is clear

therefore, that the funds do exist for the

payment of $450,000.00 to be made to S-J.

Further, it must be realized that the total

amount brought into the estate by this lease,

which is $10,800,000.00 over the course of the

10-year lease, is the sole asset of the

Debtor's estate. Were it not for the efforts

of S-J in obtaining this lease, there would be

no estate with which a reorganization could be

effected. Additionally, it should be

recognized that the aircraft in question was

not in airworthy condition at the time the

lease was procured. The leasing of an aircraft

with only one of two engines must be considered

a difficult deal to arrange. Given the fact

87

that S-J was able to convince Aloha, a highly

reputable airline, to lease said aircraft and

also to supply the additional, necessary engine

without any rental rebate, shows this Court

that S-J possesses a high level of skill and

expertise in this field. It is further clear

that it would be highly difficult to lease such

an unairworthy aircraft to most other airlines,

given the fact that America West was to be

given a credit on each monthly rental payment

in order to supply an engine for use on the

plane, and that no engine would be returning

with the aircraft at the end of the 10-year

lease. If this were not enough, S-J was able

to get aloha to commit to a full 10-year lease

term with knowledge that the plane was not

airworthy. America West, on the other hand,

was offered only a 6-month lease with a 10-year

option. This gives the court reason to believe

that America West was unwilling to make such a

long-term commitment until it had the

88

opportunity to use the aircraft, and determin

if the aircraft would meet its needs.

Therefore, this Court is of the opinio

that the fee requested by S-J of $450,000.00 is

reasonable and should be granted.

The final argument presented by Greycas i:

that the expenses requested by S-J should no’

be paid from funds belonging to it as a secure

creditor. Specifically, Greycas contends tha‘

it received no benefit from the efforts by S-

and therefore, its security should not be

impinged by the fees and expenses.

The Code discusses the appropriateness o:

such a charge in §506(c) which states:

"(T)he trustee may recover

from property securing an

allowed secured claim the

reasonable, necessary costs and

expenses of preserving, or

disposing of, such property to

the extent of any benefit to

the holder of such claim."

The Advisory Notes accompanying

§506(c) state in pertinent part:

89

"Any time the trustee or

debtor-in-possession expends

money to provide for the

reasonable and necessary

costs and expenses of

preserving. . . . a secured

creditor's collateral, the

trustee or debtor-in-possession

is entitled to recover such

expenses from the secured party

or from the property securing

an allowed secured claim held

by such a party." (Emphasis

added. ) 124 Cong. Rec. H11089

(Sept. 28, 1978), reprinted in

1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

6346, 6451 (statement by Rep.

Edwards); 124 Cong. Rec.

$17406, reprinted in 1978 U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 6505,

6520 (statement by Sen.

DeConcini).

Traditionally, expenses for the

administration of the bankruptcy have not

been charged against a secured creditor.

The reason for this is that a trustee is

acting not only on the secured creditor's

interest, but for the interest of the

general creditors as well.

An exception to that general rule is

recognized when the expenses incurred in

preserving the estate are primarily used

90

to benefit the secured creditor or where

that secured creditor caused or consented

to the expense incurred. See Matter of

Trim-X, Inc., 695 F.2d 296, 301 (7th Cir.

1983). Further, the courts have held

that the secured creditor must be the

party to bear the expense of the

administration of the bankruptcy estate

when it is solely for his benefit or he

causes the expense incurred. See In re

Hotel Associates, Inc., 6 B.R. 108, 110

(Bktcy. E.D. Pa. 1980). The court in In

re Hotel Associates, Inc., supra, held

that:

"(Cjases under the former

Bankruptcy Act stress’ the

importance of the secured

creditor's consent to a charge

upon the secured assets. Early

decisions of the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit

held that a secured creditor

could be charged with the

costs of administration to

which he consented, expressly

or jmpliedly, or which he

caused. . . .consent was often

inferred from the circumstances

91

or from acquiescence,

especially where there were no

free assets for administrative

expenses." (Emphasis added.)

6 B.R. at 111.

The test for determining whether the

funds of the secured creditor may be

attached in order to be pay

administrative expenses of the estate is

as follows:

1. Are the costs and expenses

reasonable and necessary?

2. Are the costs and expenses

incurred for the purposes

of preserving or disposing

of the secured property?

3. Have the costs and

expenses benefited the

holder of the secured

claim?

See _ In re AFCO Enterprises, Inc., 35

B.R. 512, 514 (Bktcy. D. Utah 1983).

We believe that S-J has met this

burden. S-J procured a 10-year lease

with Aloha, a long standing and reputable

airline, which agreed to rental payments

of $90,000.00 per month for a full 10-

92

year term, in addition to furnishing the

aircraft with the necessary second engine

at its own expense. Aloha further agreed

to return the aircraft at the end of the

10-year lease period with engines at

half-life.

The contingent offer Greycas made to

America West, on the other hand, was not

nearly so lucrative. First, the

proposition Greycas made to America West

could not be consummated unless Greycas

obtained possession of the aircraft. As

has been stated earlier in this Opinion,

Greycas at no time has been given

possession of the aircraft; to the

contrary, had been permanently enjoined

from realizing such possession.

Therefore, the deal that Greycas proposed

to America West could never come to

fruition.

93

Even if it had come into being, the

unaccepted terms offered were not nearly

so lucrative.

First, the lease to America West was

to be for a 6-month term with a 10-year

option. Conceivably, the lease could

have been terminated at the end of six

months, and the Debtor's estate would be

in no better position than if the lease

had never been entered.

Also, the lease called for a rental

payment of $85,000.00 per month as

opposed to the rental payment procured by

S-J at $90,000.00 per month. Over the

course of the 10-year lease, this amounts

to a difference of $600,000.00

Furthermore, America West was to be

given a rental rebate each month in order

that it might proceed to lease a second

engine for use on this aircraft. Said

rebate would amount to approximately

94

$6,000.00 per month over the course of

the 10-year period, or an additional

difference of $720,000.00. This leased

engine would not be returned with the

aircraft at the end of the 10-year lease.

As Aloha had agreed to return the

aircraft with the engine at the end of

the 10-year period, this involves an

additional $600,000.00 increase to the

value of the S-J lease agreement.

It appears to this Court that if

Greycas had been able to achieve an

agreement based upon the proposal it made

to America West, that the proposal by S-J

would still have benefited the estate by

an amount of aimost $2,000,000.00 more

than that proposal made by Greycas.

Nomeves:, we cannot lose sight of the fact

that the proposal made by Greycas was

contingent upon Greycas obtaining equity

in the aircraft from which it was

95

permanently enjoined. Since that is-the

case, the $2,000,000.00 figure is

irrelevant; we must instead look to the

full value of the lease procured by S-J.

This Court believes therefore, that

the lease procured by S-J and the costs

and expenses incurred thereby were

necessary, did preserve the secured

property and did operate to benefit the

holder of the secured claim. Given this

determination, we hold that S-J is

entitled to the full compensation

requested of $450,000.00 by Order nunc

pro tunc.

An appropriate Order will be issued.

BERNARD MARKOVITZ

Bankruptcy Judge

96

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN THE MATTER OF:

F/S AIRLEASE

Ii, INC., Bankruptcy No. 84-1628

Debtor Motion No. 85-2157

ORDER OF COURT

AND NOW, at Pittsburgh in said

district this 14th day of April, 1986, in

accordance with the Memorandum Opinion

of this date, it is hereby ORDERED,

ADJUDGED and DECREED that the appointment

of Lewis Simon and S-J Corporation is

approved nunc pro tunc.

It is further ORDERED that Lewis

Simon and S-J Corporation is entitled to

compensation in the amount of $450,000.00

BERNARD MARKOVITZ

Bankruptcy Judge

APPENDIX D

97

STATUTES

§327. Employment of professional

person.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in

this section, the trustee, with the

court's approval, may employ one or more

attorneys, accountants, appraisers,

auctioneers, or other professional

persons, that do not hold or represent an

interest adverse to the estate, and that

are disinterested persons, to represent

or assist the trustee in carrying out the

trustee's duties under this title.

SECTION 330 (11 U.S.C. §330)

§330. Compensation of officers.

(a) After notice and a hearing, and

subject to sections 326, 328, and 329 of

this title, the court may award to a

trustee, to an examiner, co a

professional person employed under

section 327 or 1103 of this title, or to

the debtor's attorney-

(1) reasonable compensation for

actual, necessary services rendered

by such trustee, examiner,

professional person, or attorney, as

the case may be, and by any

paraprofessional persons employed by

such trustee, professional person,

or attorney, as the case may be,

based on the nature, the extent, and

the value of such services, the time

spent on such services, and the cost

of comparable services other than

in a case under this title; and

98

§503. Allowance of administrative

expenses.

(a) An entity may file a request for

payment of an administrative expense.

(b) After notice and a hearing, there

shall be allowed administrative expenses,

other than claims allowed under section

502(f) of this title, inciuding

(1) (A) the actual, necessary

costs and expenses of preserving the

estate, including wages, salaries,

or commissions for services rendered

after the commencement of the case:

(B) an tax---

(i) incurred by the

estate, except a tax

of a kind specified

in section 507(a) (6)

of this title; or

(ii) attributable to an

excessive allowance

of a tentative

carryback adjustment

that the estate

received, whether the

taxable year to

which such adjustment

relates ended before

or atter the

commencement of the

case; and

(C) any fine, penalty, or

reduction in credit relating to a

tax of a kind specified in

subparagraph (B) of this paragraph;

99

(2) compensation and reimbursement

awarded under section 330(a) of this

title;

(3) the act»al, necessary expenses,

other than comp-.isation and reimbursement

specified in paragraph (4) of this

subsection, incurred by--

(A) a creditor that files a

petition under section 303 of this

title;

(B) a creditor that recovers,

after the court's approval, for the

benefit of the estate any property

transferred or concealed by the

debtor;

(C) a creditor in connection

with the prosecution of a criminal

offense relating to the case or to

the business or property of the

debtor;

(D) a creditor, an indenture

trustee, an equity security holder,

or a committee representing

creditors or equity security holders

other than a committee appointed

under section 1102 of this title, in

making a substantial contribution in

a case under chapter 9 or 11 of this

title; or

(E) a custodian superseded

under section 543 of this title, and

compensation for the services of

such custodian;

(4) reasonable compensation for

professional services rendered by an

a ,

100

(4) reasonable compensation for

professional services rendered by an

attorney or an accountant of an entity

whose expense is allowable under

paragraph (3) of this subsection, based

on the time, the nature, the extent, and

the value of such services, and the cost

of comparable services other than in a

case under this title, and reimbursement

for actual, necessary expenses incurred

by such attorney or accountant;

(5) reasonable compensation for

services rendered by an indenture

trustee in making a_ substantial

contribution in a case under chapter 9 or

11 of this title, based on the time, the

nature, the extent, and the value of such

services other than in a case under this

title;

(6) the fees and mileage payable under

chapter 119 of title 28; and [sic]

SECTION 507 (11 U.S. §507)

§507. Priorities.

(a) The following expenses and claims

have priority in the following order:

(1) First, administrative

expenses allowed under’ section

503(b) of this title, and any fees

and charges assessed against the

estate under chapter 123 of title

28.

(2) Second, unsecured claims

allowed under section 502(f) of this

title.

101

§102. Rules of construction.

In this title-- ...

(3) “includes” and "including" are

not limiting;

§1107. Rights, powers, and duties in

possession.

(a) Subject to . . . to such

limitations or conditions as the court

prescribes, a debtor in possession shall

have all the rights, . . . and powers,

and shall perform all the functions and

duties, . . . of a trustee serving in a

case under this chapter.

Rules:

Bankruptcy Rule 2014. Employment of

Professional Persons.

(a) Application for and Order of

Employment. An order approving the

employment of attorneys, accountants,

appraisers, auctioneers, agents, or other

professionals pursuant to §327 of §1103

of the Code shall be made only on

application of the trustee or

committee. ..

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.