Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Walker v. Bello

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

8 8 ve 5 : el ) Suprerge Court, U.S.

FILED

No. 87-1968 JUN 3U 1968

In The JOSEPH F. SPAMAGL, rR.

Re

Supreme Court of the Unite

October Term, 1987

DINO BELLO, an individual, and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

Respondents,

vs.

NORMAN L. WALKER, JOHN E. KANON,

JAMES M. MARTIN, JOSEPH J. URBANOWICZ,

HARRY E. BABINGER, JAMES E. HADSEL,

YVONNE A. RIGATTI, GLENN TRAUTMAN,

WILLIAM W. RUHL, WILLIAM G. DODDS,

PATRICIA M. PRICE, CONCETTA SERDY,

and REID W. McGIBBENY, individuals,

Cross-Petitioners.

DINO BELLO, an individual and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

Respondents,

Vs.

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL PARK,

Cross-Petitioners.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

CROSS-PETITION FOR ‘WRIT OF CERTIORARI

fy

VY

Marvin A. FEIN

BaskKIN FLAHERTY ELLIOTT

& Mannrno, P.C.

2900 One Mellon Bank Center

500 Grant Street

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

(412) 562-8727

Attorney for Cross-Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

or call collect (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. WHETHER ACTION BY LESS THAN A MAJOR-

ITY OF THE MEMBERS OF A MUNICIPAL LEGIS-

LATIVE BODY CAN BE MUNICIPAL POLICY UN-

DER 42 U.S.C. ¢ 1983.

Il. WHETHER POLITICAL OR PERSONAL MO-

TIVES OF A MAJORITY OF THE MEMBERS OF A

MUNICIPAL LEGISLATIVE BODY MAY BE CON-

SIDERED IF THERE IS A RATIONAL BASIS ON

THE RECORD FOR THEIR OFFICIAL ACTIONS.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review i

Table of Contemte .u...ccuieisss eee ii

Table of Authorities ..0 2 iii

Reference to Official and Unofficial Reports 00000000... 2

Statement of the Grounds for Jurisdiction of this

| 5 ENCE EENIN n 2

Constitutional Provisions and Statute Involved ............... 2

Statement of the Case +

Reasons Relied Upon for Allowance of this Petition ... 7

A. A Minority of the Members of Council are not

Municipal Polioymaker® 0 cc ee 7

B. The Circuit Court Misapplied the Rational Rela-

tions Test ..............ccussne eeonnice 10

Conelnsion | .............2eee 15

Appendix

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Turd Cireuit WW ae la

Memorandum Orders of the United States District

Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania

June 4, S38 l7a

July 22, SOUP Ww 20a

Report and Recommendation of the Chief Magistrate

of the United States District Court for the Western

District of Pennsylvania .............. Par net aB SD mismo a 22a

Order dated May 5, 1981 of the Court of Common

Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania oo... 65a

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CasEs

Bethel Park Municipal Council v. Simmons Park

Properties, Inc., 448 A.2d 661, 68 Pa. Common-

| eae aer nee 5

Chiplin Enterprises v. City of Lebanon, 712 F.2d

I I SINNED icceie sceneries 13

City of St. Louis v. Praprotnick, — U.S. —, 108 S.

Ce Sim, == kamen — (1968) 8,9

Cloutier v. Town of Epping, 714 F.2d 1184 (1st

I irked et ciscsstensenintiennuscineenanionsstinenierionacanciomactsininemenot 13

Creative Environments, Inc. v. Estabrook, 680

F.2d 822 (1st Cir., 1982) Cert. denied, 459 U.S.

Neen ccaiciechneienannvbmbiokannnienaininiemanins 12,13

Exxon Corp. v. Governor of Maryland, 437 U.S.

117, 98 S.Ct. 2209, 57 L.Ed.2d (1978) —...........-- 11

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, California,

— U.S. —, 107 S.Ct. 2378, — L.Ed.2d — (1987) ~...... 6

Monell v. New York City Department of Social

Services, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d

611 (1978) . padtinieidcaclib 5 me 9

Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 1015

a ore oe cae G1e (leek)... 8

Oklahoma v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 105 S.Ct. 2427,

85 L.Ed.2d 791 (1985) 0 Soe AS aie Oe ro 9

Owen v. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622, 100

SOs, 1906, 6 1.06.38 678 (1960) —_____._.. 8

Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S.Ct.

1292, 89 L.Ed.2d 452 (1986) . didi stiin 10

Quinn v. Bryson, 739 F.2d 8 (1st Cir., .. 1983) ail baiasncintals 13

Rymer v. Douglas County, 764 F.2d 796 (11th Cir.,

SE IE 13

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d 1409 (4th

Seis UP | secactecniteciaenseenadha pin tideataasssees 14

Shelton v. City of College Station, 780 F.2d 475

(5th Cir., 1986) Cert. denied 106 S.Ct. 3276 (1986) .. 12

State of Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery

Company, 449 U.S. 456, 101 S.Ct. 715, 66 L.Ed.

2d 659 (1981) ..... 11

Village of Arlington Heights v. Metro Housing

Development, 429 U.S. 252, 975 S.Ct. 555, 50

A IE ae ke 12

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

PU nN 2 ee 3

FeperaL Statutes

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) ten 2

re 5 Ri 4,8,9, 11

Sr ei IE Gai bicenicsenntidinrmeieitieasacianninn is — eo

No. 87-1968

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

fy.

DINO BELLO, an individual, and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

Respondents,

vs.

NORMAN L. WALKER, JOHN E. KANON,

JAMES M. MARTIN, JOSEPH J. URBANOWICZ,

HARRY E. BABINGER, JAMES E. HADSEL,

YVONNE A. RIGATTI, GLENN TRAUTMAN,

WILLIAM W. RUHL, WILLIAM G. DODDS,

PATRICIA M. PRICE, CONCETTA SERDY,

and REID W. McGIBBENY, individuals,

Cross-Petitioners.

DINO BELLO, an individual and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

Respondents,

Vs.

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL PARK,

Cross-Petitioners.

fy

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

CROSS-PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ry

V

The Cross-Petitioners file the following Cross-Petition

for Writ of Ce tiorari to the Supreme Court of the United

States.

REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL AND

UNOFFICIAL REPORTS

The Opinion of the United States Cireuit Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit is reported at 840 F.2d 1124.

The Opinion of the District Court has not been reported

in an official or unofficial reporter.

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS FOR

JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT

The date of entry of the Opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Cireuit is March 1,

1988. <A Petition for Writ of Certiorari was served on

the Cross-Petitioners on June 1, 1988.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the order en-

tered March 1, 1988 pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). This

Cross-Petition has been filed timely pursuant to Rule 19.5

of Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Pennsylvania Borough Code, Act of February 1,

1966, P. L. (1965) » No. 581, 53 P.S. 46006

provides in pertinent part:

§ 46006. Duties of Council

It shall be the duty of the borough council:

(3) To enact, revise, repeal and amend such by-

laws, rules, regulations, ordinances and res-

olutions, not inconsistent with the laws of the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, as it shall

deem beneficial to the borough and to provide

for the enforcement of the same. The legis-

lative powers of boroughs including capital

expenditures not payable out of current

funds, shall be exercised by or be based on an

ordinance. All other powers shall be exer-

cised by vote of the majority of council pres-

ent at a meeting, unless otherwise provided.

Routine, ministerial or administrative pur-

chases and powers may be made and exercised

by officers or committees, if authority there-

fore was previously given, or if the action is

subsequently ratified by council. Whenever

any action by council shall result in a specific

contract or agreement, such contract or agree-

ment shall be signed by the president of the

borough council.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion Provides:

No person shall be held to answer for a capi-

tal, or otherwise infamous crime, unless on

a presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury,

except in cases arising in the land or naval

forces, or in the Militia, when in actual serv-

ice in time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same of-

fence to the twice put in jeopardy of life or

limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor shall private prop-

erty be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

4

42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides:

Every person who, under color of any stat-

ute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage,

of any State or Territory or the District of

Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected,

any citizen of the United States or other per-

son within the jurisdiction thereof to the de-

privation of any rights, privileges, or immu-

nities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress. For the purposes of

this section, any Act of Congress applicable

exclusively to the District of Columbia shall

be considered to be a statute of the District

of Columbia (R.S. § 1979; Dee. 29, 1979, P.L.

96-170, § 1, 93 Stat. 1284).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Dino Bello is the principal shareholder

of Simmons Park Properties, Inc. (“‘Simmons Park’’) also

a respondent in this case (collectively referred to herein

as ‘‘developer’’). Simmons Park owns approximately

33 acres of land in Bethel Park Borough, the municipal

petitioner herein. In July, 1976, Simmons Park sub-

mitted a site plan to Bethel Park for a 254 unit devel-

opment containing townhouses and duplexes which was

divided into five distinct phases. The site pliu was ap-

proved on October 19, 1976 and Simmons Park completed

construction of the 47 units in the first phase in the spring

of 1979. In May, 1979 Simmons Park applied for build-

ing permits to continue developing townhouses in the area

designated as the fifth phase. Bethel Park denied the

application based on the phased site plan and informed

Simmons Park that permission would be granted next

only for the second phase.

Simmons Park did not apply for permission to con-

struct units in the second phase, but instead filed an action

in mandamus on June 8, 1979 in the Court of Common

Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania seeking issu-

ance of a building permit to construct units in the fifth

phase. Initially, the case was referred by the Court to a

hearing officer who recommended that the request for a

building permit be denied. By order dated March 26, 1980,

a judge overruled that recommendation and instead or-

dered that the building permit be issued. However by

Order dated January 27, 1981, that same judge vacated

that previous order. After final hearing, another judge

on that Court issued a final order requiring Bethel Park

to issue the building permits based on a conclusion

that there was no written agreement between the

developer and the municipality requiring that the

units be developed in phases. An appeai from that

decision by Bethel Park was quashed for failure to per-

feet the appeal properly. Bethel Park Municipal Council

v. Simmons Park Properties, Inc., 448 A.2d 661, 68 Pa.

Commonwealth Ct. 12 (1982).

On September 3, 1980, during the pendency of the

state court action, respondents filed a complaint in the

United States District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania against Bethel Park’s council members,

zoning officers and municipal manager secking monetary

damages for violations of due process and equal protec-

tion rights and for violation of antitrust laws. On March

11, 1981, a similar complaint was filed against the munici-

pality.

By Memorandum Order and Report and Recommenda-

tion the District Court’s Chief Magistrate recommended

that summary judgment be granted as to all defendants

on all counts, which recommendation was affirmed by

Order of a District Judge dated June 4, 1987. By Order

dated July 22, 1987, the developer’s motion to vacate which

was based on the subsequent decision of this Court in First

English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.

County of Los Angeles, — U.S. —, 1075 S.Ct. 2378, — L.Ed.

2d — (1987) was denied. The developer appealed the

granting of summary judgment to the United States Cir-

euit Court for the Third Circuit.

By Order dated March 1, 1988, the Circuit Court af-

firmed dismissal of the action on procedural due process,

equal protection, taking without just compensation and

anti-trust grounds but reversed and remanded the case

on the substantive due process grounds.

In reversing the District Court on the substantive

due process issue, the Circuit Court disregarded the find-

ing of the District Court that the permit application was

denied based on the phasing requirement, and instead held

that a factfinder must determine whether the permit was

denied for lack of proper phasing or because of the politi-

cal or personal motive of certain municipal council mem-

bers. The Court made no distinction between actions by

less than a majority of the members of council and ac-

tions by a majority of the members of council in their lee-

islative capacity.

-~

On June 1, 1988, the developer filed a Petition for

Writ of Certiorari solely on the issue of whether the Cir-

enit Court erred in ruling against him on the taking with-

out just compensation issue.

co)

REASONS RELIED UPON FOR

THE ALLOWANCE OF THIS PETITION

A. A MINORITY OF THE MEMBERS OF COUN.

CIL ARE NOT MUNICIPAL POLICYMAKERS

This action was filed by a developer against all mem-

bers of a municipal council, two zoning officials, the bor-

ough manager and the municipality charging each of them

inter alia with violating his substantive due process rights

by failing to approve a zoning permit.

In refusing to grant summary judgment for the mu-

nicipality and all officials on the substantive due process

count, the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Cireuit held,

‘“‘The plaintiffs in this case present evidence from

which a fact finder could reasonably conclude that

certain council members, acting in their capacity as

officers of the municipality improperly interferred

with the process by which the municipality issued

building permits, and that they did so for partisan

political or personal reasons unrelated to the merits

of the application for the permits’’. (emphasis added)

As to the individual defendants, the rationale given

by the Cireuit Court is consistent with prior decisions of

this Court. See Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453

U.S. 247, 101 S. Ct. 2748, 69 L.Ed.2d 616 (1981);

Owen v. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622, 100 S. Ct.

1398, 63 L. Ed. 2d 673 (1980). However, there is no sound

legal basis for the Cireuit Court’s holding that the munici-

pality may be bound under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for a random

act by a minority of the members of council.

As a starting point, the permit was denied by a zoning

officer, solely on the basis of the facts unique to this one

permit application. If that had been the extent of the

municipal involvement in this case, it is clear that the

erroneous denial of the application by that ministerial

officer would not give rise to an action against the munici-

pality under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, City of St. Louis v. Praprot-

nick, — U.S. —, 108 S. Ct. 915, — L.Ed.2d — (1988). How-

ever, here the developer has attempted to come within the

purview of the statute by alleging that municipal policy-

makers, i.e. council members, became involved in the admin-

istrative process and for political or personal reasons per-

suaded the zoning officer to deny the permit. The Cir-

cuit Court’s holding that the council members’ actions, if

they constitute less than a majority, rise to the level of

municipal policy, has never been decided directly by this

Court, but is inconsistent with the rationale and dicta in

prior decisions of this Court.

In the Praprotnick case, supra, this Court held that

the identification of policy making officials is a matter

of state law. Here the municipality is a Borough and

under the Pennsylvania Borough Code, council is the legis-

lative body which may take official action only by vote

Pete Pol ARETE kd Sk en RN te EDR a Biel e e DO

:

3

:

;

3

of the majority of the nine member council. See The

Borough Code, Act of February 1, 1966 P. L. (1965) —

No. 581 53 P.S. § 46006. Thus under State law, the ac-

tions of four council members has no legal effect. How-

ever, the decision of the Cireuit Court gives policy mak-

ing authority to four or less council members.

This departure by the Cireuit Court from what has

been regarded as municipal policy in all Post-Monell v.

New York City Departmeni of Social Services, 436 U.S.

658, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978) decisions is dan-

gerous and needs to be reviewed immediately by this Court.

If the actions of any member of a legislative body can ren-

der a municipality liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, then mu-

nicipalities will be vicariously liable for every loose cannon

elected to office. That type of reasoning will insulate

those individual officers from individual liability under

the deep pocket theory of litigation and in most likelihood

will encourage rather than discourage unconstitutional

behavior. Monell, supra and its progeny were not in-

tended to effect that result. Instead, only government

policy promulgated pursuant to the recognized state pro-

cedure which in turn causes a denial of constitutional

rights was intended to provide redress against the munici-

pality.

Here, the purported acts were in reality tortious like

those in Oklahoma v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 105 S. Ct. 2427,

85 L. Ed. 2d 791 (1985), but the acts were not done by the

officials acting in their official legislative capacity. This

Court held in Praprotnick that a decision of a low ranking

municipal employer does not become elevated to the rank of

municipal policy unless it is approved by the supervising

10

policy maker or it is one of a series of consistent decisions

which manifest a custom or usage. Neither instance is

present here. The supervising policy maker under state

law is council acting as a body, not individual members of

eouncil. Further this denial of a permit was an isolated

incident and there are no allegations that it was part of a

usage or custom.

In Pembauer v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S. Ct.

1292, 89 L. Ed. 2d 452 (1986), this Court held that muni-

cipal liability attaches under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 only where

‘‘a deliberate choice to follow a course of action is made

from among various alternatives by the official or officials

responsible for establishing final policy with respect to the

subject matter in question”. 106 S. Ct. at 1300. In dis-

cussing that holding, this Court stated that ‘‘if county

employment policy was set by the Board of County Com-

missioners, only that body’s decision would provide a basis

for county liability”. 106 S. Ct. at 1300, ftn. 12. Thus, this

Court, at least in dictum, has expressly limited municipal

liability for acts of members of the legislative branch to

official acts done as a body. However, given the impor-

tance of this issue to municipalities, it is obvious from the

Third Cireuit’s decision that this issue needs to be ad-

dressed directly by this Court.

B. THE CIRCUIT COURT MISAPPLIED THE RA-

TIONAL RELATIONS TEST

If a majority of the members of council approved the

denial of the permit, the Court below acted improperly in

refusing to grant summary judgment not only as to the

municipality but as to all other defendants as well.

11

The Cireuit Court for the Third Circuit held that the

municipality’s act of withholding building permits would

violate the developer’s substantive due process rights if a

fact-finder found that council members withheld the per-

mits for partisan political or personal reasons; but, if the

council members withheld the permit because of the devel-

oper’s failure to build pursuant to the phasing sequences

set forth in the site plan, that is ‘‘an arguably rational

ground for the denial of the permit’’. By so holding, the

Third Circuit disregarded this Court’s prior rulings in

which the rational relations test was applied and instead

decided that substantive due process cases under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 should be decided under tort law rather than consti-

tutional law principles.

In State of Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Com-

pany, 449 U.S. 456, 101 S. Ct. 715, 66 L. Ed. 2d 659 (1981),

this Court held that a legislative act may not be declared

to be irrational under the Equal Protection Clause if ‘‘it is

evident from all considerations presented to the [legisla-

ture], and those of which we may take judicial notice, that

the question is at least debatable” 101 S.Ct. at 724. This

same standard of review is equally applicable to substan-

tive due process claims. Exxon Corp. v..Governor of

Maryland, 487 U.S. 117, 98 S. Ct. 2207, 57 L. Ed. 2d 91

(1981).

Here the Court found that the plan initially approved

by council had five phases and that building permits were

denied only after the developer deviated from the phasing

schedule. The Court also quoted from the zoning inspec-

tor’s affidavit that the decision to deny the building per-

mits was made by him individually on the basis of the fail-

ure to follow the phasing schedule. Finally, the Court held

12

that failure to build pursuant to the phasing sequence was

an arguably rational ground for the denial of the permit.

Thus, even though the Court found the debatable basis for

council’s action if in fact a majority of the members of

council did act on the zoning permit request, the Court held

that a substantive due process violation could be found.

There is no support for that decision in any zoning

eases decided by this Court. That holding has been re-

jected specifically by this Court in Village of Arlington

Heights v. Metro Housing Development, 429 U.S. 252, 97 S.

Ct. 555, 50 L. Ed. 2d 450 (1977) where this Court held that

denial of a variance was to be reviewed as a legislative act

and that if a rational basis could be found for the denial,

the action of council must be upheld.

Review of zoning decisions by almost every other cir-

cuit court has been restricted to a determination as to

whether there are any possible rational basis for the zon-

ing decision. In Shelton v. City of College Station, 780

F.2d 475 (5th Cir., 1986), cert. denied 106 S. Ct. 3276

(1986), the Court en banc reversed a panel of its Court

which like the Third Cireuit held that it was the function

of a federal court to determine whether there was a factual

basis for denial of zoning approval. Instead the court ex

banc after a lengthy review of the function of a federal

court in the zoning process held that substantive due pro-

cess could be violated only if there was no debatable issue.

The findings of the Third Circuit in this case that phasing

could be a rational basis for the zoning decision would have

led the Fifth Cireuit to uphold the grant of summary judg-

ment for the municipality.

This issue has been decided differently also in the

First Cireuit. In Creative Environments, Inc. v. Esta-

o> sail

13

brook, 680 F.2d 822 (1st Cir. 1982) cert. denied 459 U.S.

989 (1982); Quinn v. Bryson, 739 F.2d 8 (1st Cir., 1984) ;

Cloutier v. Town of Epping, 714 F.2d 1184 (1st Cir., 1983)

and Chiplin Enterprises v. City of Lebanon, 712 F.2d 1524

(1st Cir. 1982), developers were denied use of their land

for long periods of time allegedly as a result of malice and

harassing tacties by public officials against the developers.

Regardless, the Circuit Court dismissed each developer’s

substantive due process claim based on the following rea-

soning :

“Virtually every alleged legal! or procedural error of

a local planning authority or zoning board of appeal

could be brought to a Federal Court on the theory that

the erroneous application of state law amounted to a

taking of property without due process. Neither, Con-

gress nor the courts have, to date, indicated that see-

tion 1983 should have such a reach”. Creative Envir-

onments, Inc. v. Estabrook, 680 F.2d at 831.

In Rymer v. Douglas County, 764 F.2d 796 (11th Cir.,

1985) the Cireuit Court dismissed a complaint in which a

zoning decision was challenged based on allegations tliat

the officials knew or should have known that their decision

was wrong. That is essentially the same allegation as in

this case since the developer has alleged that because phas-

ing was eventually held not to apply that the municipal

officials knew or should have known how the courts would

eventually rule on the phasing issue. The Eleventh Circuit

when faced with that situation rightfully held that uphold-

ing that claim would raise a tort to the stature of a consti-

tutional violation. That is exactly what the Third Cirenit

has done.

The Third Cireuit Court in its decision stated that its

decision was consistent with the decision of the Fourth Cir-

14

euit in Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d 1409 (4th Cir.,

1983). However, even there the Court did not go to the ex-

treme to which the Third Circuit did to intercede in a zon-

ing dispute. In the Scott case, the Court applied correctly

the rational relations test but found that the legislative

body intervened in the municipality’s ministeria! permit

issuance process for racial reasons without any con-

ceivable rational basis. That is far different from a case

where the Cireuit Court specifically finds that the reason

stated by the municipality for its action is a rational

basis for the permit refusal but then holds that a fact

finder may delve into the minds of the officials to deter-

mine whether they had personal or political reasons for the

decision. That holding has not been adopted by any other

Cireuit Court.

Thus, this ease not only presents itself with a situation

where there is a split among the Circuit Courts as to the

manner in which zoning decisions must be reviewed under

the substantive due process clause, but it also is a case

which highlights the fact that the apparently clear direc-

tion which this Court gave to the First, Fifth and Eleventh

Cireuit Courts needs to be more fully amplified so that zon-

ing decisions may be reviewed consistently in the Federal

Court system.

———

Vow’ sabia LRSM a oe»

et te ee ee ed

15

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Cross-Petitioners

respectfully request that this Court grant their Cross-Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

BaskKIN FLAHERTY ELLIOTT

& Mannino, P.C.

Marvin A. FEIN

2900 One Mellon Bank Center

500 Grant Street

Piitsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

(412) 562-8727

Attorney for Cross-Petitioners

la

APPENDIX

Opinion and Order of the Third

Cireuit Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 87-3504 and 87-3505

DINO BELLO, an individual

and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

Ve

NORMAN L. WALKER, JOHN E. KANON, JAMES M.

MARTIN, JOSEPH J. URBANOWICZ, HARRY E.

BABINGER, JAMES E. HADSELL, YVONNE A.

RIGATTI, GLENN TRAUTMAN, WILLIAM W. RUHL,

WILLIAM G. DODDS, PATRICIA M. PRICE,

CONCETTA SERDY, AND REID W. McGIBBENY,

individuals

Dino Bello and Simmons Park Properties, Inc.,

Appellants No. 87-3504

2a

DINO BELLO, an individual

and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES, INC.,

a corporation,

v.

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL PARK

Dino Bello and Simmons Park Properties, Ine.,

Appellants No. 87-3505

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Western District

of Pennsylvania

(D.C. Civil Nos. 80-1264 & 81-346)

Argued December 15, 1987

Before: SLOVITER and COWEN, Circuit Judges,

and DEBEVOISE, District Judge*

(Filed March 1, 1988)

RICHARD L. ROSENZWEIG (ARGUED)

Rosenzweig & Burton

1603 Law and Finance Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Attorney for Appellants

MARVIN A. FEIN (ARGUED)

Baskin Flaherty Elliott & Mannino

29th Floor, One Melion Bank Center

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Attorney for Appellees

* The Honorable Dickinson R. Debevoise, United States District

Judge for the District of New Jersey, sitting by designation.

3a

OPINION OF THE COURT

COWEN, Circuit Judge.

These cases arise from a municipality’s delay in issu-

ing a building permit. They require us to decide whether

a person’s constitutional right to due process can be vio-

lated when municipal officials process an application for a

building permit pursuant to a constitutionally adequate

procedure, but deliberately and arbitrarily abuse govern-

ment power to deny the application. We hold that such

acts can violate a person’s right to substantive due pro-

cess. One of the cases also presents the issue whether a

lengthy delay in obtaining a building permit can result in

an unconstitutional taking of property without just com-

pensation. We hold that absent extraordinary cireum-

stances not presented by this case, delays in issuing a

building permit do not result in a ‘‘taking’’ of property

such that just compensation is constitutionally mandated.'

We will reverse the district court’s grant of summary

judgment in favor of defendants as to plaintiffs’ due pro-

cess claims, but will affirm the grant of summary judg-

ment as to the remainder of plaintiffs’ claims.

I.

Plaintiff Dino Bello is the principal stockholder of

Simmons Park Properties, Inc. (‘‘Simmons Park’’), also

a plaintiff in this ease. In July of 1976, Bello and Sim-

mons Park applied to the municipality of Bethel Park for

review and approval of a subdivision plan. The site plan

1. The plaintiffs also claimed that the defendants’ actions vio-

lated their constitutional right to equal protection and federal

antitrust laws. We find these contentions to be without merit

and do not address them in this opinion.

4a

they submitted indicated that the plan had five phases,

numbered I through V, each separated by a boundary line.

The plan was eventually approved, and the plaintiffs

had no difficulty obtaining building permits for phase I

of the project. k'orty-seven housing units, comprising

phase 1, were completed in the spring of 1979. In May

of 1979 the plaintiffs applied for building permits allow-

ing them to commence construction of the housing units

comprising phase V of the project. Norman Walker,

Bethel Park’s Code Enforcement Officer, denied the plain-

tiffs’ application, ostensibly because the plaintiffs sought

to construct phase V of the project before completing

phases I1-IV. The plaintiffs, however, had never agreed

to develop the project in the order suggested by the

phases.

On June 8, 1979, Bello and Simmons Park instituted

an action in mandamus in the Court of Common Pleas

of Allegheny County seeking issuance of the permits and

damages, and a pereiptory judginent. The case was re-

terred to a referee, who filed a tentaiive decision denying

the motion for a peremptory judgment. On March 26,

1980, the court of common pleas granted peremptory judg-

iment. On January 23, 1981, the court vacated its previous

order and adopted the referee’s decision. The court then

held a hearing on the matter and on May 5, 1981, ordered

the municipality to issue the building permits. An appeal

from that order was quashed for failure to preserve ob-

jections.

On September 3, 1980, the plaintiffs filed a complaint

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in the United States District Court

for the Western District of Pennsylvania against the indi-

5a

vidual defendants,? and on March 11, 1981, a separate

complaint against the Municipality of Bethel Park. Plain-

tiffs alleged, essentially, that a nuinber of municipal of-

ficials improperly influenced the decision to deny them

building permits. These actions allegedly deprived them

of their constitutional rights to due process and equal

protection, and violated federal antitrust laws. An amend-

ed complaint filed against the individual defendants also

alleged that these actions constituted an unconstitutional

taking of property without just compensation.

The defendants moved for summary judgment on

October 9, 1984, and the motion was referred to a magis-

trate for a report and recommendation. In support of

their motion defendants presented, among other evidence,

the affidavit of defendant Walker. Walker stated that

he individually made the decision to deny the building

permits on the basis that the plaintiffs sought to develop

phase V before phases IJ-IV, and that no other defendant

or town official influenced his decision making process.

In opposition to the motion, the plaintiffs presented

evidence indicating that certain members of the town coun-

cil were strongly opposed to multi-unit housing, including

their project, and that two members of the council had

personal animosity towards one of the plaintiffs’ em-

ployees, Raymond Kirich. In particular, plaintiffs point

2. The individual defendants, and their official Municipality of

Bethel Park positions during the relevant time period are: Nor-

man L. Walker, Code Enforcement Officer; James M. Martin,

Municipal Manager; John E. Kanon, Director of Planning; Joseph

J. Urbanowicz, Harry E. Babinger, James E. Hadsell, Yvonne A.

Rigatti, Glenn Trautmen, William G. Dodds, William W. Ruhl,

Concetta Serdy, Reid W. McGibbeny, and Patricia M. Price, mem-

bers of the Municipal Council.

6a

to the alleged acts and statements of defendants Yvonne

Rigatti, whom Kirich had opposed in a municipal election,

and Joseph Urbanowiecz. According to the affidavits of

Kirich and Bello, various defendant members of the coun-

cil admitted in conversations that Rigatti and Urbanowicz

had pressured them to hinder plaintiffs’ development as

long as Simmons Park employed Kirich. Bello’s affidavit

states that he discussed the matter of the permits with

members of the council who told him that they spoke to

defendant Walker regarding the issuance of the building

permits.

The magistrate filed her report and recommendation

on April 28, 1987, and recommended that the district court

grant defendants’ motion for summary judgment. After

the plaintiffs filed objections to the report and recommen-

dation, and the defendants responded to those objections,

the district court granted the defendants’ motion by order

dated June 4, 1987.

The plaintiffs subsequently filed a motion to vacate

the district court’s order. They argued that in light of

the Supreme Court’s then recent decision in First English

Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County of

Los Angeles, California, 107 S.Ct. 2378 (1987), the district

court improperly dismissed their claim that the property

was taken without just compensation. The plaintiffs’

motion to vacate was denied by order dated July 22, 1987.

The plaintiffs have filed a notice of appeal which specifies

that they appeal from the district court’s order of June

4, 1987.

Sposa Alenia Suede aie

Ta

Il.

Our review of a district court’s grant of summary

judgment is plenary, Equimark Commercial Fin. Co. v.

C.1.T. Fin. Servs. Corp., 812 F.2d 141, 142 (3rd Cir. 1987).

ITI.

The first issue presented by this case is whether the

district court properly dismissed plaintiffs’ constitutional

due process claims by way of summary judgment. Plain-

tiffs assert that the defendants’ actions violated their

fourteenth amendment right to both procedural and sub-

stantive due process. We will consider each of these con-

tentions separately.

A.

Plaintiffs argue that Bethel Park’s delay in issuing

them a building permit was a denial of property without

predeprivation due process. See Stana v. School Dist. of

Pittsburgh, 775 F.2d 122, 127-29 (3rd Cir. 1985). How-

ever, the determination whether to issue a building permit

is an administrative decision, and it was the plaintiffs’ de-

cision to invoke that governmental mechanism by applying

for the permit. This case does not involve a pre-depri-

vation denial of property, but rather a decision to deny a

building permit. Nevertheless, the procedure at issue

must comport with constitutional due process.

The issue presented by this case is similar to that

presented in Rog v. Bensalem Twp., 616 F.2d 680 (3d

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 1029 (1981). In Rog,

the plaintiff argued that a Pennsylvania municipality’s

administrative land use decision violated his right to pro-

cedural due process. We held that the plaintiff had failed

8a

to set forth a procedural due process claim where he ‘‘set

forth [no] behavioral or structural allegations from which

we can infer that [the] process was unconstitutional.’’ Id.

at 694. We noted that Pennsylvania’s procedures for

challenging zoning ordinances substantially conformed

with the due process guidelines enunciated by the Supreme

Court. Id. at 699.

Here, as in Rogin, Pennsylvania affords a full judicial

mechanism with which to challenge the administrative

decision to deny an application for a building permit. In-

deed, the plaintiff's utilized that mechanism and obtained

a building permit. While the Pennsylvania courts have

ruled that the initial decision to deny the permit was

wrong, the plaintitfs have not and cannot show that the

decision was made pursuant to a constitutionally defective

procedure.

It is the law in this Cireuit that a state provides

adequate due process when it provides ‘‘ ‘reasonable

remedies to rectify a legal error by a local administrative

body.’ ’’? Cohen v. City of Philadelphia, 736 F.2d 81, 86

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1019 (1984) (quoting Cre-

atwe Environments, Inc. v. Estabrook, 680 F.2d 822, 832

n.9 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 989 (1982)). Pennsyl-

vania clearly provides such remedies, as this case exempli-

fies,> and therefore plaintiffs’ have no justifiable due pro-

cess claim.

3. The plaintiffs’ claim, to the extent it argues that delays in

Pennsylvania’s judicial process denied them procedural due pro-

cess, points to alleged procedural defects which cannot be at-

tributed to these defendants. Moreover, state judicial delay in

a civil case must be more egregious than the delay in this case to

constitute a denial of procedural due process.

ase

9a

B.

The plaintiffs’ substantive due process claim has

greater merit. Recent decisions of the Supreme Court

and this Circuit have diminished the scope of the right

to substantive due process. See Rogin, 616 F.2d at 689.

Nevertheless, actions aileging violations of the right to

substantive due process remain viable in certain cireum-

stances, and we feel that,such allegations are present in

this case. We will reverse the district court’s grant of

summary judgment on this claim.

The Supreme Court has discussed the scope of the

substantive due process right in a number of recent cases.

In Daniels v. Williams, 474 U.S. 327 (1986), the Court, in

holding that the due process clause was not implicated by

a state’s negligent deprivation of life, liberty or property,

pointed out that the guarantee of due process has his-

toricaily been applied to deliberate decision of government

officials. 7d. at 331. ‘he Court noted that the clause was

‘**<*intended to secure the individual from the arbitrary

exercise of the powers of government,’’’’’ id. (quoting

Hurtado v. California, 110 U.S. 516, 527 (1884) (quoting

Bank of Columbia v. Okely, 4 Wheat. (17. U.S.) 235, 244

(1819))), and distinguish the Daniels case from cases in-

volving an abuse of power.

In the related case of Davidson v. Cannon, 474 US.

(1986), the Court held that mere negligence on the part of

a state does not amount to an abuse of state power such

that constitutioned due process is implicated. Justice

Blackmun, dissenting, noted that he agreed with the ma-

jority’s conclusion that a ‘‘deprivation must contain some

element of abuse of governmental power, for the ‘touch-

10a

stone of due process is protection of the individual against

arbitrary action of the government.’’’ Jd. at 353 (quoting

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 558 (1974)). See also

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp.,

429 U.S. 252, 263 (1977) (constitutional due process right

to be free of arbitrary or irrational zoning action) ; Pace

Resources, Inc. v. Shrewsbury Twp., 808 F.2d 1023, 1034-

35 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 2482 (1987) (to demon-

strate violation of right to substantive due process, plain-

tiff must show that land use regulation was arbitrary or

irrational). These cases reveal that the deliberate and

arbitrary abuse of government power violates an indi-

vidual’s right to substantive due process.

This analysis is consistent with the Fourth Cireuit’s

decision in Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d 1409 (4th

Cir. 1983). In Scott, the plaintiff claimed that a town

council improperly intervened in the municipality’s deci-

sion whether to issue him a building permit. The Fourth

Circuit held that because Scott was entitled to the building

permit under South Carolina law, and had presented evi-

dence that the council’s interference was motivated by a

lack of impartiality towards him, he had stated a claim

that the municipality’s action violated his right to sub-

stantive due process. /d. at 1417-21.

In this case, the district court distinguished Scott,

and read our decisions in Rogin and Cohen as approving

the approach adopted by the First Cireuit in Chiplin

Enterprises v. City of Lebanon, 712 F.2d 1524 (1st Cir.

1983). In Chiplin, which also involved the denial of a

building permit, the First Circuit held that ‘‘[t]he claim

that denial of a permit was improperly motivated, un-

supported by an allegation of the deprivation of a spe-

Ye < 2 “

Ne tal, Mahe Lied

;

lla

cific constitutional right, simply raises a matter of local

concern, properly and fully reviewable in the state

courts.’’ /d. at 1527. The court stated that a ‘‘mere bad

faith refusal to follow state law in such local administra-

tive matters simply does not amount to a deprivation of

due process where the state courts are available to cor-

rect the error.’’ Jd. at 1528.

Since Rogin and Cohen, we have addressed these is-

sues in Pace Resources Inc. v. Shrewsbury Twp., 808 F.2d

1023 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 2482 (1987). In that

case we were faced with a claim that a municipality’s

zoning regulation violated the plaintiff’s right to sub-

stantive due process. We held that in such cases the

plaintiff bears the burden of demonstrating that the regu-

lation is arbitrary or irrational. Jd. at 1035. We found

it significant that the municipality could have had rational

reasons for the regulation, and concluded:

Because it appears that on the face of the amend-

ed complaint that the Township decisionmakers could

have had rational reasons for the decisions contested

here and because that complaint alleges no facts sug-

gesting arbitrariness, it fails to state a substantive

due process claim upon which relief can be granted.

Id. at 1036. We noted, however, that the plaintiff in Pace

did ‘‘not present a case involving actions aimed at this

developer for reasons unrelated to land use planning.”’

Td. at 1035.

We need not define, at this juncture, the outer limits

of the showing necessary to demonstrate that a govern-

mental action was arbitrary, irrational, or tainted by im-

proper motive. The plaintiffs in this case presented evi-

12a

dence from which a fact finder could reasonably conclude

that certain council members, acting in their capacity as

officers of the municipality improperly interfered with

the process by which the municipality issued building per-

mits, and that they did so for partisan political or per-

sonal reasons unrelated to the merits of the application

for the permits.4 These actions can have no relationship

to any legitimate governmental objective, and if proven,

are sufficient to establish a substantive due process vio-

lation actionable under section 1983. While the defen-

dants claim that the building permit was denied because

of plaintiffs’ failure to build in numerical sequence, thus

presenting an arguably rational ground for the denial

of the permit, it is the factfinders’ role to resolve this

factual dispute. We will reverse the district court’s grant

of summary judgment on this claim.

IV.

We must also address whether the district court prop-

erly dismissed the plaintiffs’ claim that the delay in issu-

ing the building permit constituted an unconstitutional

taking of property without just compensation.

4. The defendants also argue that the plaintiffs cannot make

out a section 1983 claim against the municipality because they

allege merely a single act—the withholding of a building permit

—and thus cannot establish that the defendants acted pursuant

to a municipal policy. See City of Oklahoma v. Tuttle, 471 U.S.

808 (1985). However, the Supreme Court’s position in Tuttle

was Clarified by Pembauer v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469

(1986). Pembaur noted that a single decision can constitute a

“policy” where “a deliberate choice to follow a course of action

is made from among various alternatives by the official or offi-

cials responsible for establishing final policy with respect to the

subject matter in question.” /d. at 483-84. As plaintiffs allege

that such a deliberate choice occurred in this case, we reject the

defendants’ municipal policy argument.

hoe ulti Geta ne: Ons eel

13a

A.

As a preliminary matter, we must determine whether

this issue is properly before us for review. Defendants

argue that because the complaint filed against Bethel

Park did not assert the claim that their property was un-

constitutionally taken without just compensation, the

plaintiffs can not raise this issue on appeal against the

municipality. The defendants also assert that plaintiffs’

counsel waived this issue against the individual defen-

dants when he stated in a brief to the district court:

Plaintiffs have not asserted a claim under the Just

Compensation clause and do not assert that their

property was taken from them by inverse condem-

nation. .. . There are no elements of a taking which

would justify an eminent domain proceeding. No gov-

ernment entity took possession of the land. Neither

in this case could Plaintiffs argue that there was any

restrictive zoning laws or development regulations.

App. at 360-61.

Finally, defendants argue that plaintiffs waived this

argument by filing a defective notice of appeal. They

point out that this argument was only presented to the

district court in the context of the plaintiffs’ motion to

vacate the district court’s order of June 4, 1987, and that

since the notice of appeal filed by the plaintiff refers

only to that order, the plaintiffs have not appealed the

district court’s order of July 22, 1987, denying their mo-

tion to vacate.

The plaintiffs concede in their brief to this Court that

they did not plead this claim against the defendant mu-

nicipality of Bethel Park, and we will thus not consider

the claim against that defendant. The plaintiffs, however,

eimai

l4a

insist that their unconstitutional taking claim against the

individual defendants is properly before us. We agree.

Plaintiffs raised this issue in their complaint against

the individual defendants, and the district judge consid-

ered the merits of this claim in the context of the plain-

tiffs’ motion to vacate the district court’s order granting

summary judgment. Although the plaintiffs, in a brief

to the district court stated that they had not raised such

a claim, they now admit that ‘‘in drafting such brief [we]

erroneously overlooked the Amended Complaint ... which

does plead such a claim.’’ Appellants’ Brief at 18. It

is also significant that the brief at issue was filed prior

to the Supreme Court’s decision in First English Evan-

gelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County of Los

Angeles, California, 107 S.Ct. 2378 (1987), which expanded

the ability of property owners to assert claims that their

fifth amendment right to not have property taken with-

out just compensation has been violated. We conclude

that the plaintiffs did not waive this claim against the

individual defendants.

We also find that the plaintiffs’ notice of appeal was

not defective. There is a ‘‘policy of liberal construction

of notices of appeal . .. in situations where the intent

to appeal an unmentioned or mislabeled ruling is apparent

and there is no prejudice to the adverse party.’’ Gooding

v. Warner-Lambert Co., 744 F.2d 354, 357 n4 (1984)

(quoting parenthetically C.A. May Marine Supply Co. v.

Brunswick Corp., 649 F.2d 1049, 1056 (5th Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 454 U.S. 1125 (1981)). In addition, an appeal of a

grant of summary judgment invokes this Court’s juris-

diction over the disposition of all claims in a complaint.

Murray v. Commercial Union Ins. Co. (Commercial), 782

ll ele aa

ee 6 ai eh ae EO OO Bw ee O68. ees

~~ — —™

~~

a ~~

an ae aia * OA ape Ho

Ra ree Re HF Eo

15a

F.2d 432, 434-35 (3d Cir. 1986). We thus conclude that

the district judge’s orders of June 4, 1987 and July 22,,

1987 are both properly before us.

B.

Turning to the merits of the plaintiffs’ unconstitu-

tional taking claim, it is clear that the plaintiffs have

not and cannot make out a claim that their property was

‘*taken’’ without just compensation. Although the Su-

preme Court in First Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, California, 107 S.Ct.

2378 (1987), extended this doctrine to enco:apass actions

seeking damages for a temporary taking, the Court held

that a temporary taking is not different in kind from a

permanent taking when the temporary taking denies a

landowner all use of his property. Jd. at 2388. The Court

noted that it was not addressing the ‘‘quite different ques-

tions that would arise in the case of normal delays in

obtaining building permits, changes in zoning ordinances,

variances, and the like....’’ Jd. at 2389.

As the plaintiffs here were merely denied a particular

building permit, and retained the right to put their land

to a variety of alternative uses, the actions of the defen-

dants can not be said to have denied them all use of their

property. Indeed, they have made no such allegation. We

will affirm the district court’s orders granting the de-

fendants summary judgment on this claim, and denying

the plaintiffs’ motion to vacate the court’s order of sum-

mary judgment.

V.

We will reverse the district court’s order granting

the defendants summary judgment on plaintiffs’ claim

l6a

that they were denied their constitutional right to sub-

stantive due process, and will affirm the district court’s

dismissal of the remainder of the plaintiffs’ claims. Each

party to bear its own costs.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

l7a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

| FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

DINO BELLO, an individual and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES,

INC., a corporation,

)

)

)

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) Civil Action

) No. 80-1264

NORMAN L. WALKER, JOHN E. )

KANON, JAMES M. MARTIN, _ )

JOSEPH J. URBANOWICZ, )

HARRY E. BABINGER, JAMES )

E. HADSELL, YVONNE A. )

RIGATTI, GLENN TRAUTMAN, )

WILLIAM W. RUHL, WILLIAM )

G. DODDS, PATRICIA M. )

PRICE, CONCETTA SERDY, and )

| REID W. McGIBBENY, )

)

)

)

individuals,

om,

Defendants.

- ee

DINO BELLO, an individual, and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES,

INC., a corporation,

)

)

)

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) Civil Action

) No. 81-346

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL )

PARK, .

Defendant. )

18a

MEMORANDUM ORDER

AND NOW, this 4th day of June, 1987, the magistrate

having filed a report and recommendation suggesting that

defendants’ motion for summary judgment be granted, the

plaintiffs having filed objections to that report, the defen-

dants having responded to the objections, and the court

having given the matter due consideration, IT IS OR-

DERED that defendants’ motion for summary judgment

be, and the same hereby is, granted for the following rea-

sons.

1)

3)

4)

We have reviewed the plaintiffs’ objections to the

magistrate’s report and believe that the plaintiffs

merely reiterate arguments presented to, and

properly rejected by, the magistrate. In particu-

lar, we believe that Cohen v. City of Philadelphia,

736 F.2d 81 (3d Cir. 1984), governs this case and,

therefore, is dispositive of the plaintiffs’ due pro-

cess claim. Consequently, plaintiffs’ reliance

upon cases from other Circuits is misplaced.

In addition to the reasons given by the magis-

trate, we believe that the evidence does not estab-

lish the requisite intent for a due process claim.

The uneontradicted evidence establishes that

Walker denied issuance of the building permit

based upon misinterpretation of the site plan. At

best, Walker’s actions constitute a negligent act,

and therefore, do not amount to a deprivation of

property cognizable under § 1988. See Daniels v.

Williams, 474 U.S. —, 88 L.Ed.2d 662 (1986) and

Davidson v. Cannon, 474 U.S. —, 88 L.Ed.2d 677

(1986).

We find no merit in plaintiffs’ challenges to the

magistrate’s analysis of the equal protection

claim.

Accordingly, for the reasons given in the report

and recommendation of the magistrate along with

Se en ee Coe eee oT

erin a

Stes BE athena Line PES ey ees

ana BOT Sa ie art ed ets nal

4

¥

a

:

%

|

d

?

|

4

4

;

19a

the reasons given herein, we will grant the defen-

dants’ motion for summary judgment.

/s/ Gustave Diamond

United States District Judge

20a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

DINO BELLO, an individual and _)

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTY, _ )

INC., a corporation, )

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) Civil Action

) No. 80-1264

NORMAN L, WALKER, et al., )

)

Defendants. )

DINO BELLO, an individual and)

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTY, _ )

INC., a corporation, )

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

v. ) Civil Action

) No. 81-346

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL _ )

PARK, )

MEMORANDUM ORDER

AND NOW, this 22nd day of July, 1987, the plaintiffs

having filed a motion to vacate the order of summary

judgment in light of the recent Supreme Court case of

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale,

California v. Los Angeles County, 55 U.S.L.W. 478 (June

9, 1987), the defendants having responded to said motion,

and the court having given the matter due consideration,

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion be, and the same

2la

hereby is, denied for the reasons that First English Evan-

gelical Lutheran Church is wholly inapposite to the case at

bar and therefore, does not offer any basis for vacating

our previous order.

/s/ Gustave Diamond

United States District Judge

ec: Richard L. Rosenzweig, Esq.

1603 Law & Finance Building

Pittsburg, Pa. 15219

Marvin A. Fein, Esq.

Baskin, Flaherty, Elliott & Mannino

One Mellon Bank Center

500 Grant Street, 29th Floor

Pittsburgh, Pa. 15219

22a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

DINO BELLO, an individual, and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES,

INC., a corporation,

Plaintiffs,

Civil Action

No. 80-1264

VS.

)

)

)

)

)

)

NORMAN L. WALKER, JOHN E. )

KANON, JAMES M. MARTIN, )

JOSEPH J. URBANOWICZ, )

HARRY E. BABINGER, JAMES )

EK. HADSELL, YVONNE A. )

RIGATTI, GLENN TRAUTMAN, )

WILLIAM W. RUHL, )

WILLIAM G. DODDS, PATRICLA )

M. PRICE, CONCETTA SERDY, )

and REID W. McGIBBENY, )

individuals, )

)

)

)

’

Defendants

DINO BELLO, an individual, and

SIMMONS PARK PROPERTIES,

INC., a corporation,

Plaintiffs,

Civil Action

No. 81-346

Vs.

MUNICIPALITY OF BETHEL

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

|

PARK, )

)

)

Defendant

23a

MAGISTRATE’S REPORT

AND RECOMMENDATION

I. RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that plaintiffs’ motion for sum-

mary judgment be denied and that defendants’ motion for

summary judgment be granted.

Il. REPORT

Plaintiffs bring these actions against defendants, the

Municipality of Bethel Park and some of its officials, un-

der the Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. Section 1983,

alleging this court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. Section

1343(3), and also under the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 1, and the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 15, seeking

damages for alleged delay in issuing a building permit for

plaintiffs’ townhouse development in Bethel Park, Alleg-

heny County, Pennsylvania. Both parties have filed mo-

tions for summary judgment.

Plaintiffs applied for a building permit on May 7,

1979, and when it was not granted they filed a complaint

in mandamus before the Court of Common Pleas of Al-

legheny County, Pennsylvania, on June 8, 1979. On July

20, 1979, defendant Walker, the building inspector for

Bethel Park, advised plaintiff Bello that the permit was

denied because he was seeking to build units located in

phase #5 of the Simmons Park Village Development and

construction of the building in phase #5 was not in accord-

ance with an approved site plan. Plaintiff Bello was ad-

vised that building permits could be issued in phase #2

(Exhibit 13 to plaintiffs’ supplemental brief).

On July 19, 1979, plaintiffs filed an amended com-

plaint in mandamus and an amended motion for peremp-

24a

tory judgment. The case was referred to a referee who

filed a tentative decision denying plaintiffs’ motion for a

peremptory judgment and finding that plaintiffs’ right to

a peremptory judgment and mandamus was not clear. The

referee stated:

In the instant case, the record is confusing and

the plaintiffs’ right to a peremptory judgment is far

rom clear. In fact, if the court were required to de-

cide on the present record whether plaintiff should

be granted a final judgment in mandamus, the court

would rule against plaintiff...

In short, it appears to the court that Walker’s in-

terpretation of the codes is correct and that plaintiffs’

request to build in phase 5 before phase 2 should have

been denied, at least until a revised site plan is ap-

proved.

But even if Walker’s interpretation of the codes

is incorrect, Walker had no clear legal duty, based on

the record as it presently stands, to construe the codes

as not requiring building in accordance with the

phases in the approved site plans. For this reason

mandamus would be denied on the present record.

(Tentative decision of referee attached to ‘‘Defendants’

Response in Opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment’’).

On March 26, 1980, an order was entered by the

Honorable Judge Watson, in the Court of Common Pleas

of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, granting plaintiffs’

motion for peremptory judgment in mandamus to have

building permits issued anywhere in phase II of the de-

velopment. The building inspector was directed to issue

any and all permits properly requested by plaintiffs in

accordance with Judge Watson’s opinion. Judge Watson

“0a

found that although the minutes of the planning commis-

sion meeting on August 18, 1976, revealed there had been

a discussion of the development in five phases, the de-

velopment had never been submitted or approved for a

five phase deve!opment to either the planning commission

or the municipal counsel. Instead, plaintiffs had been

persuaded not to develop the project in separate parcels,

but to develop it as a one lot subdivision and to adopt the

condominium method of organization and ownership

(order attached as Exhibit ‘‘A’’ to the complaint). How-

ever on January 23, 1981, Judge Watson entered another

order vacating the opinion and order of March 26, 1980,

and adopting the tentative decision of the court appointed

referee. Subsequently, on May 5, 1981, the Honorable

Nicholas A. Papadakos, another judge of the Court of

Common Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsyivania, di-

rec‘ed the defendants, Bethel Park Municipal Council; the

Municipality of Bethel Park; James M. Martin, Municipal

Manager; Norman Walker, Code Enforcement Officer;

and John E. Kanon, Planning Director, to issue the build-

ing permits sought by plaintiffs. The court stated:

In this matter, there is no dispute that the munici-

pal council approved a site plan. The only dispute is

whether the grouping of units into five parcels de-

scribed as ‘‘phases’’ binds the plaintiff to develop the

units in the phases as numbered on the plan. This

court can find no evidence besides the plan itself,

which shows the numbered phases, to support defen-

dants’ position of sequential development, nor has any

written agreement or understanding between the

parties been brought to this court’s attention sup-

portive of defendants’ position.

This court, therefore, finds that the numbering

of the five parcels as phases does not limit the plain-

26a

tiff to development of its lots in numerical order of

phases (phase I, then phase II, then phase ITI, ete.).

Rather, this court finds that the adoption by the

municipal council of the entire site plan gives plain-

tiff the right to develop its units as it finds proper.

Furthermore, once defendants approved the site plan,

plaintiff had a clear right to the issuance of building

permits for the units plaintiff desired to develop and

defendants had no discretion in granting or denying

such permits.

(Order and opinion attached to plaintiffs’ affidavit filed

March 11, 1983). On July 27, 1982, the Commonwealth

court quashed defendants’ appeal from Judge Papadakos’

order (Bethel Park, etc. v. Summons Park Properties, 448

A.2d 661 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1982) (copy attached to affidavit

of plaintiff filed March 11, 1983).

In plaintiffs’ supplemental brief they assert that,

‘‘Subsequent to the filing of the complaint, plaintiff Sim-

mons Park Properties, Inc. did seek protection under the

bankruptcy laws at No. 85-1304 Pittsburgh. Plaintiff will

produce evidence that the 214 year delay was the direct

and proximate cause of the need for bankruptcy protection

for Simmons Park Properties, Inc. from ereditors.’’ (p.

26). Plaintiffs also assert in their brief, ‘‘ Plaintiff Dino

Bello, through records and through his own testimony,

will detail the amounts of money spent in order to comply

with the requirements of approval for the development.’’

(p. 27). Plaintiff Bello therefore appears to claim that he

suffered damages as a result of the delay in obtaining the

building permits. Unfortunately, counsel does not seem

to understand that unverified statements contained in a

brief cannot be considered on a motion for summary judg-

ment. Kauffman v. Johnston, 454 F.2d 264 (3r Cir. 1972).

ee ee ee ee ee

a ee a

27a

Plaintiffs’ counsel’s inability to clearly identify their

legai claims and the factual basis for them has made dis-

position of the parties’ pending motions for summary

judgment extremely difficult. On October 11, 1984, the

court ordered plaintiffs to file a response to defendants’

motion for summary judgment and supporting brief with-

in ten days. Subsequently, on August 25, 1985, an order

was entered observing that the court had reviewed the

briefs and ordering plaintiffs to submit a supplemental

brief within fifteen days of the order. Plaintiffs were

required to identify the evidence, if any, creating a ques-

tion of fact as to the issues addressed by the brief. Sub-

sequently, on January 17, 1986, the court ordered the Clerk

of Court to refer this action to a magistrate for report and

recommendation on the pending motions. Oral argument

was scheduled for February 20, 1986. During oral argu-

ment it became clear that defendants’ objections to plain-

tiffs’ ‘‘Counteraffidavit’’, for its ‘ ilure to comply with

Rule 56 (e) of the Federal Rules « Civil Procedure be-

cause it contained conclusory allegations, conclusions of

law, and failed to show that the affidavits made on per-

sonal knowledge, were valid. Therefore, plaintiffs sub-

sequently sought and were granted leave to file another

affidavit which was filed on April 15, 1986. After review-

ing the briefs and other documents submitted in support

of and in opposition to the motions for summary judg-

ment, the magistrate entered a memorandum order on Au-

gust 20, 1986, observing that plaintiffs’ counsel still had

failed to clearly articulate the legal basis for plaintiffs’

claims. The magistrate concluded that plaintiffs appeared

to be admitting that they were not deprived of procedural

due process since there was a procedure to review a zoning

ilies

28a

change, but they appeared to assert that they had been de-

prived of substantive due process. Since the parties’

briefs had not clearly addressed the issues, the magistrate

elected to give them an opportunity to do so. Therefore,

plaintiffs were required to file a brief by September 12,

1986, setting forth the legal basis for their claims that they

were denied equal protection in violation of the Four-

teenth Amendment; that they were denied substantive due

process in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment and

that defendants violated Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15

U.S.C. Section 1 and Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. Section 15. Defendants were ordered to file a re-

sponsive brief by October 6, 1986.

Plaintiffs’ brief was finally received on October 9,

1986. At this late stage plaintiffs were still unwilling to

clearly identify the basis for their claims, stating:

[P)laintiffs do not make any statement with regard

to procedural or substantive process.

Plaintiffs assert a deprivation of due process

based upon the articulation of these concepts in

the application of Section 1983 claims to land use

cases. If it be necessary to characterize the type

of deprivation of due process, it appears more

correct to characterize it as a deprivation of pro-

cedural due process founded upon a baseless with-

holding of a building permit.

(Plaintiffs’ brief received October 9, 1986, p. 5-6).) Plain-

tiffs only references to the facts are contained in plain-

tiffs’ supplemental brief which was filed on October 18,

1985, and plaintiffs’ affidavit which was filed on April

15, 1986. However, in those documents plaintiffs failed to

relate the facts to the legal claims. Therefore it has been

29a

necessary for the magistrate to attempt to determine the

factual basis of each of plaintiffs claims.

Defendants have filed a motion for summary judgment

and plaintiffs have filed a motion for partial summary

judgment. In Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, — U.S. —, 54 L.W.

4775 (June 25, 1986), the Supreme Court held that a

party is entitled to summary judgment where ‘‘The non-

moving party has failed to make a sufficient showing on an

essential element of her case with respect to which she

has the burden of proof.’’ 54 L.W. 4777. The Court stated

‘*One of the principal purposes of the summary judgment

is to isolate and dispose of factually unsupported claims

or defenses, and we think it should be interpreted in a

way that allows it to accomplish this purpose.’’ 54 L.W.

4777. The Court also noted that under Rule 56 a party

may move for summary judgment ‘‘with or without sup-

porting affidavits.’’ In cases ‘‘where the nonmoving party

will bear the burden of proof at trial on a dispositive issue,

a summary judgment motion may properly be made in re-

liance solely on the ‘pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file.’ ’’ 54 L.W. 4777.

A. Due Process Claim

It is noted that plaintiffs still are unable to advise

the court whether they claim a denial of substantive or

procedural due process although they indicate it is more

likely a procedural due process claim. However, they fail

to articulate the basis for this claim. They do not claim

that they did not have notice of defendant Walker’s rea-

sons for refusing to issue the building permit and it is

noted that Exhibit 13 to plaintiffs’ supplemental brief is

a copy of a letter plaintiffs received from defendant Walk-

30a

er, the building inspector, advising him that the building

permit was being denied because it sought a building per-

mit for units located in phase 5 which was not in ac-

cordance with the approved site plan. They were advised

that building permits may be issued on phase 2. Although

plaintiffs assert that Judge Papadakos ultimately de-

termined that defendant Walker was wrong and that plain-

tiffs were not required to build in phases, plaintiffs make

no claim that they were not advised of the reason for the

denial. Further, plaintiffs make no claim that they did

not have a fair opportunity to present the facts and their

argument in support of their request for the building per-

mit to defendants. Paragraph 25 of plaintiff Bello’s affi-

davit which was filed on April 15, 1986, states:

Beginning in 1975 when I applied for the rezoning

of the property for the Simmons Park Development

and continuing through all of the approvals in 1976

and 1977 and the building in 1978 of 47 units and the

upplication for the additional permits in February

of 1979, I was in constant contact with the members

of the municipal council, John Kanon, James Martin,

Normal [sic] Walker and Martin Marak. I had con-

versations with these people and attended all of the

meetings that led up to and resulted in the approvals

of the plan, the issuance of building permits and the

enforcement of any regulations. I know what site

plans were before them at the time of approval and

was present at the meetings when the approvals were

voted on.

Plaintiff Bello then makes conclusory allegations as to the

defendants’ knowledge with respect to the approval of

plaintiffs’ plan. However, he makes no claim that he was

denied the opportunity to attend any meetings or discuss

his plans with any defendant.

3la

1. Discussion of the Facts

Plaintiffs assert that their primary opponent was

defendant Yvonne A. Rigatti who opposed the townhouse

developments in general prior to her election to municipal

council of Bethel Park. Plaintiffs’ supplemental brief

asserts on page 20 that defendant Rigatti ran for council

in the election of November of 1977. Their supplemental

brief, page 19, avers that she took office as a member of

council in January 1978. They submit documents revealing

that she was opposed to multiple family dwellings in the

area. Exhibit 21A attached to plaintiffs’ brief is a letter

that defendant Rigatti wrote as a private citizen, objecting

to townhouses, claiming that they would damage the resi-

dential character of the neighborhood, would worsen ex-

isting traffic problems and overcrowd the schools.* Plain-

tiffs have submitted minutes of a meeting on March 16,

1976, revealing that Mrs. Rigatti appeared and opposed

plaintiff’s rezoning request to transfer his property from

R2 to R-T (Exhibit 24 to plaintiff’s affidavit). (Plaintiffs

have submitted copies of newspaper articles which shall

not be considered since, in addition to the fact that they

do not meet the requirements of Rule 56(e), they are not

admissible evidence.) Plaintiffs also submit documents

indieating that defendant Rigatti campaigned for election

to counsel on the basis of her objections to further land

Nt is noted that the documents submitted as exhibits to plain-

tiffs’ brief do not appear to be sworn or certified copies as re-

uired by Rule 56. However, defendants have not objected to

them and therefore they will be considered.

2The Third Circuit has recognized that considerations such as

these are proper for local zoning bodies. Rogin v. Bensalem

Tp., 616 F.2d 680, 688-689 (3d Cir. 1980).

32a

development (Exhibits 28, 29, and the last page of Ex-

hibit 33, to Plaintiffs’ Supplemental Brief). However,

the actions she took as a private citizen, prior to her elec-

tion to council, would not be state action for purposes of

liability under Section 1983.

Plaintiffs also submit evidence that after her election

to council defendant Rigatti opposed their development.

In paragraph 14 of plaintiff Bello’s affidavit he avers that

in the fall of 1979 defendant Ruhl, a Bethel Park council-

man, told him that he was having problems because he had

hired Ray Kirich. He told plaintiff that defendants Joe

Urbanowiez, a councilman, and defendant Rigatti did not

like Kirich and were going to ‘‘put pressure on people.’’

Plaintiff also avers that defendant Norman Walker, code

enforcement officer of Bethel Park, told him during a

conversation in July of 1979 at Tony’s Villa that defendants

Rigatti and Urbanowicz did not like Ray Kirich and that

he would have problems as long as he employed Kirich.

In paragraph 14 of his affidavit plaintiff avers that he

had a conversation with defendant Martin at the end of

July of 1979 at Ernie’s Esquire on Route 19 and defendant

Martin told him that he was having problems because he

had hired Kirich stating, ‘‘ Well the counsel lady over there

doesn’t like it.’’ Plaintiff avers that defendant Walker

said, ‘‘Dino, I’m trying not to give you a hard time, I’m

under pressure, I’m at the whim of five of their votes,

at any time they can tell me whether I have a job or

don’t have a job, and I have no choice.’’ In paragraph 22

of his affidavit (page 12) plaintiff Bello asserts that dur-

ing defendant Rigatti’s second campaign for counsel in

April of 1981 she passed out newspaper excerpts wherein

she circled her participation in fighting multiple family

33a

housing and her support of her constituents on matters

of zoning. The affidavit refers to Exhibit 25. The first

page consists of copies of newspaper articles. The other

document is apparently campaign literature circulated by

defendant Rigatti in which she states, ‘‘I have supported

my constituents on matters of zoning. EXAMPLE: Lemon

Tree appeals, Danielson rezoning (Boxer Heights), group

home appeals.’’ It is noted that this document makes no

reference to plaintiff’s development but rather indicates

that defendant Rigatti opposed other developments as well

as Simmons Park. Submitted as Exhibit 28 to plaintiffs’

supplemental brief is what plaintiff asserts is campaign

literature by defendant Rigatti in which she cited as prob-

lems—continuous land development, overcrowded schools,

heavily traveled and poorly maintained roads, inadequate

storm drainage and lack of rapport with constituents. She

noted that her opponent had cast the deciding vote for the

Simmons Park Townhouse Development which was under

construction at that time.

On page 20 of plaintiffs’ supplemental brief they note

that in his deposition defendant Kanon testified on pages

11-14 that after defendant Rigatti obtained a seat on coun-

cil she arranged a site visit to plaintiffs’ development.

After the tour she made comments to Kanon that she did

not like the development (Kanon dep. 14). He further

testified that he recalled defendant Rigatti making public

statements in opposition to the Simmons Park Develop-

ment. In general, she opposed all multi-family develop-

ment and presented a petition against it (Kanon dep. 15).

Plaintiff notes that defendant Walker, in his deposition,

also testified that he presumed defendant Rigatti had re-

34a

quested the tour and that she made a derogatory comment

about the color of the siding during the tour (Walker dep.

15-16). During her deposition defendant Rigatti admitted

that she signed a petition opposing rezoning of plaintiff’s

property and got one other person to sign. (Rigatti dep.

6-9). She also admitted she contributed approximately

$30 to the lawsuit to appeal the rezoning (Rigatti dep. 12).

Plaintiff avers that Exhibit 29 attached to plaintiffs’

supplemental brief is political literature voicing opposi-

tion to plaintiffs’ development which was drafted at a

meeting attended by defendant Rigatti and sent by her

~ neighbor who lives across the street from her, Gwen Auel,

who was her political ally and was running for committee-

man. During Rigatti’s deposition she testified that Auel

lived across the street from her and that she was at Auel’s

house when the document was discussed although she did

not write it. (Rigatti, dep. 28-29). During her deposition

Rigatti acknowledged that the vote of her opponent in

favor of the Simmons Park Development was a campaign

issue for her (Rigatti dep. 35).

While plaintiffs have shown that defendant Rigatti

was strongly opposed to theirs and other multiple family

developments on the ground they would have an adverse

effect on the community, they have not shown specifically

that she played any role in the denial of the building per-

mits. The sole statement in paragraph 14 of the Bello

affidavit that defendant Walker told him that Rigatti did

not like Ray Kirich and that he (Walker) was under

pressure is not sufficient to establish that defendant Rigatti

caused plaintiffs to be denied their building permits.

Further, plaintiffs’ evidence that there were occasions

35a

when council voted on building permits (Exhibits 1, 2, 3)

would not establish that any of the municipal council de-

fendants caused the denial of plaintiffs’ building permits.

The affidavit of defendant Norman Walker avers that he

denied plaintiffs’ building permits based on his under-

standing that ordered phasing was a condition of the ap-

proved site plan and that issuance of the required permits

wonuld contravene the site plan and violate applicable

zoning laws. He avers that the decision to withhold the

permits was not made pursuant to any agreement between

himself and any defendant or any other person and that

it was made solely by him without suggestions, threats,

coercion or intervention by defendants or any other per-

son. Exhibit 2 to plaintiff Bello’s affidavit is a memo

from defendant Martin, the manager, to members of coun-

cil advising them of a change in item 9 of the April 9,

1979, council meeting minutes. The memo reveals that the

application for issuance of building permits by Simmons

Park Village had been granted subject to the stipulation

that the structure and all other structures remain at least

fifteen feet away from any abutting single family areas.

The memo notes that defendant Rigatti seconded the mo-

tion for issuance of a building permit.

While plaintiffs have produced evidence that de-

fendant Rigatti was strongly opposed to their develop-

ment as well as others and that she and defendant Urbano-

wiez did not like plaintiffs’ employee Ray Kirich, they

have failed to offer any evidence which controverts de-

fendant Walker’s affidavit that the decision to withhold

the permits was made solely by him without suggestions,

threats, coercion or intervention by any of the defendants

or any other person. Plaintiff Bello submits as Exhibit

36a

7 to his affidavit a memo from defendants Kanon and

Walker and a Martin Marek to the municipal council dated

April 4, 1979, recommending that plaintiff’s application

to modify his townhouse development be denied. This

memo is dated prior to plaintiff’s May 7, 1979, applica-

tion for building permits which is the basis of this action.

In paragraph 13 on page 7 of his affidavit (there is also

a paragraph 13 on page 6 of the affidavit) plaintiff Bello

asserts that in July of 1979 defendant Walker told him that

Rigatti and Urbanowicz did not like Kirich and that as

long as he employed Kirich he was going to have problems.

This general statement would not appear to be sufficient

to establish that defendants Rigatti and Kirich had any

critical role in the denial of the building permits.

Plaintiffs assert that during her testimony at a

mandamus hearing on July 11, 1979, defendant Patricia

M. Price testified that it was not just Mr. Walker who

was turning down the permits but that everybody on

council needed more answers. A portion of her testimony

is submitted as Exhibit 10 to plaintiff Bello’s affidavit

and it shows that no disposition was taken of plaintiff’s

request for building permits because of confusion. De-

fendant Walker had reported that he would not issue the

building permits yet. She further testified that questions

were raised as to whether plaintiffs were seeking rephasing

or whether it would be a one lot subdivision. This testi-

mony would appear to establish that council at that time

approved of defendant Walker’s decision not to issue the

building permits until further information was obtained.

Submitted as Exhibit 31 to plaintiff Bello’s affidavit

is a memo to members of council from an unidentified in-

37a

dividual indicating that it was the concensus of council that

plaintiffs should comply with Section 61.15—‘‘Site Plans,

of the Zoning Ordinance, or he ean continue with the

original application.’’ This is an extremely ambiguous

statement. It is noted that by this time defendant Walker

had denied plaintiffs’ application for a building permit

and plaintiffs had filed their complaint in mandamus be-

fore the Court of Common Pleas of Allengheny County,

Pennsylvania.

In their supplemental brief, page 8, plaintiffs assert

that during his testimony before the Court of Common

Pleas on July 11, 1979, defendant Walker testified that

he brought the matter of the permits to council and dis-

cussed the permits with planning director John Kanon

(p. 7-8 of plaintiffs’ supplemental brief). Review of that

testimony reveals that Walker testified (p. 159) that he

made a brief presentation to council but that council did

not individually or collectively express an opinion to him

as to whether the permit should be issued (p. 151) and

that although he had discussed the matter with Mr. Kanon,

Mr. Kanon had not given him advice as to whether the

permit should be issued. Plaintiffs’ brief then refers to

the testimony of defendant Urbanowicz of July 11, 1979,

asserting that he testified that defendant Kanon explained

the entire matter to the full council. A copy of that testi-

mony is submitted as Exhibit 4 to plaintiffs’ supplemental

brief. That testimony indicates that Kanon brought some-

thing to the attention of council, but it is not clear what.

Submitted as Exhibit 5 to plaintiffs’ supplemental

brief is the deposition testimony of defendant Concetta

Serdy taken on July 11, 1979, in which she testified that

38a

council had a committee which dealt with building per-

mits. That committee consisted of the entire counsel.

Plaintiffs submitted as Exhibit ‘‘D’’ to plaintiffs’ counter-

affidavit, the testimony of defendant James E. Hadsell,

a member of council, in which he testified that defendant

Walker had advised council of what he considered to be

the problems which would precipitate his failing to issue

building permits. He believed that members of council

might have expressed their personal opinion there was

cause for denial of a permit but that they would leave that

decision to defendant Walker. (Also attached as Exhibit

6 to plaintiffs’ supplemental brief.) Plaintiffs also sub-

mit the testimony of defendant Price as Exhibit 7 to plain-

tiff’s supplemental brief in which he testified there was

a general discussion in which defendant Walker brought

members of council up-to-date on the situation. He did

not recall that any member of council voiced an opinion

that the permit should not be granted under the circum-

stances. Plaintiffs note that defendant Walker testified

in his deposition at pages 6 and 7 that his office was twenty

feet from defendant Kanon’s office, that they had occasion

to work together, and that they consulted each other on

zoning ordinance interpretations and interpretation of

site plans in connection with code enforcement (p. 8 of

plaintiffs’ supplemental brief). Plaintiffs argue that the

existence of the mandamus action brought the entire mat-

ter of the building permits to the attention of council.

However, they still have offered no evidence that the mem-

bers of council denied the building permits.

As to bias of defendant Walker, plaintiff Bello as-

serts in paragraph 21 of his affidavit that defendant

39a

Walker showed favortism to plaintiff’s competitor Brush

Run, by failing to enforce Section G(1) of the PURD

Ordinance which is attached to the affidavit as Exhibit 20.

However, plaintiff admits that Walker testified in his

deposition that he did not enforce the ordinance against

Brush Run because it had been repealed. In paragraph

26 of his affidavit plaintiff avers that, ‘‘[T]he code en-

forcement officer, Walker, caused to be removed the Sim-

mons Park directional signs within the municipality, but

at the same time, permitted directional signs from other

builders to remain on the same utility poles from which

the Simmons Park signs were removed. I personally saw

municipal employees removing Simmons Park directional

signs and leaving the directional signs of Ryan homes and

Washington homes on the same utility poles.’’ Although

plaintiff states that he saw municipal employees removing

plaintiff’s signs, he fails to reveal the basis for his con-

clusion that they were acting pursuant to the directions

of defendant Walker. Therefore. this statement does not

comply with the requirement of Rule 56(e) that an affi-

davit be based upon personal knowledge.

2. Discussion of the Law

In Rogin v. Bensalem Tp.. 616 F.2d 680 (3d Cir.

1980), the court held that the Pennsylvania procedure for

challenging zoning ordinances substantially conforms with

the general due process guidelines enunciated by the Sup-

reme Court. 616 F.2d 695. Therefore, the district court

had properly dismissed a claim by a real estate developer

who had been denied building permits because, after ap-

proval of the plans by the board of supervisors of the

township and after construction of 106 of the planned 557

40a

condominium units had been started, the zoning ordinance

had been amended to reduce the allowable density from

twelve to ten units per acre. The ordinance was again

amended to reduce the density to four units per acre, re-

sulting in limiting the developer to two hundred units

after original approval of 557 units. The developer ap-

pealed the decision of the zoning hearing board to the

Court of Common Pleas seeking a writ of mandamus.

The Court of Common Pleas reversed the zoning hearing

board’s decision and ordered that the permits be issued

because the project was ‘‘substantially undertaken.’’ The

Court of Common Pleas stayed its decision pending

appeal by the zoning board to the Commonwealth court

which had not yet rendered its decision at the time of the

Third Cireuit’s decision. Therefore, at that time the

zoning officer had not yet issued any permits. The court

noted that the developer alleged that the defendants had

conspired to violate its substantive constitutional rights

and that the supervisors had announced publicly that they

would take all steps necessary to stop the construction of

Bensalem Village and similar real estate developments.

The court recognized that limiting population and density

were valid zoning considerations. In that case the super-

visor’s objections to the development were similar to those

of defendant Rigatti in this case. The court held that the

developer had failed to state a procedural due process

claim in regard to the actions of the zoning officer and

the zoning hearing board in refusing to issue the building

permits. The court noted that a developer has due pro-

cess rights in the procedure utilized by a municipality

to issue building permits. However, the developer had

failed to set forth any behavioral or structural allegations

4la

from which it could be inferred that the township’s pro-

cess was unconstitutional. The court then considered the

system enacted by the Pennsylvania legislature for pro-

cessing challenges to zoning ordinances and found that it

substantially conformed with the general due process

guidelines enunciated by the Supreme Court. The court

noted that the Court of Common Pleas had granted the

developer the relief it requested. Although the developer

made a general allegation of denial of due process, it had

made no specific allegations of deficiency in the process.

Therefore, the court concluded that the district court had

properly held that the developer failed to state a colorable

procedural due process claim. That case is relevant here

in that the Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny County

ultimately ordered that plaintiffs were entitled to new

building permits. Plaintiffs here are actually complain-

ing of the time it took for the state system to dispose of

their action. However, the time period for disposition

by the state courts would not create a Section 1983 claim

against municipal officials. The Third Cireuit found that

the state system satisfies due process requirements and

plaintiffs have not alleged any abuse of the state system

by the defendants. |

In Cohen v. City of Philadelphia, 736 F.2d 81 (3d Cir.

1984), the court held that the district court had properly

granted summary judgment for the defendants where the

plaintiff asserted that dismissal of a Philadelphia police

officer and then the refusal to award him backpay after

he was reinstated deprived him of due process in violation

of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution. The plaintiff was discharged after evidence

was received that he had participated in a burglary. He

42a

was acquitted of the criminal charges and then appealed

his discharge to the Civil Service Commission which found

there was insufficient evidence to implicate him in crim-

inal activity but determined that he had violated a police

department directive and ordered his reinstatement but

held that it should be without backpay. Although the

plaintiff could then have petitioned for rehearing before

the Civil Service Commission and appealed any decision

of the Commission to the Court of Common Pleas, he

elected not to do so but instead brought an action in fed-

eral court pursuant to Section 1983, asserting that he had

been deprived of property without due process of law.

The district court had granted the defendants’ motion for

summary judgment based upon Parratt v. Taylor, 451

U.S. 527 (1981), which held that when an individual is

deprived of property as a result of a random and unauth-

orized act by a state employee, if the state provides an

adequate post-deprivation remedy, the individual has no

Section 1983 claim for deprivation of due process. The

court found that the failure to award the plaintiff back-

pay was the result of an error of the Commission. How-

ever, in showing that the Commission erred the plaintiff

had shown no more than an unauthorized failure of state

agents to follow prescribed procedures. Under Parratt

those errors would not deprive the plaintiff of due process

as long as the state provided him with the means by which

to receive redress for the deprivation. The Common-

wealth of Pennsylvania had provided for judicial review

of the Commission’s actions. The court stated:

We thus join the First and Seventh Cirenits in

holding that substantive mistakes by administrative

bodies in applying local ordinances do not create a

43a

federal claim so long as correction is available by the

state’s judiciary. Any other holding would lead to

the danger that:

any plaintiff in state court who was asserting a

right within the broadly defined categories of

liberty or property and who lost his case because

the judge made an error could attack the judg-

ment indirectly by suing the judge under section

1983. That would be an intolerable interference

with the orderly operations of the state courts.

Due process is denied in such a case only if the

state fails to provide adequate machinery for the

correction of the inevitable errors that occur in

legal proceedings.

736 F.2d 86. The court concluded that since Pennsylvania

had provided a means to correct the errors which would

sometimes occur at the administrative level, no depriva-

tion without due process of law had occurred. In response

to the plaintiff’s claim that he was being required to ex-

haust state court remedies the court replied that it was

not discussing exhaustion. It was merely holding that the

state had provided the plaintiff with due process by pro-

viding, ‘‘reasonable remedies to rectify a legal error by

a local administrative body.’’ The court concluded:

In this case, the contention is that a state agency

erred in its adjudication of plaintiff’s claim against

the state. There is no claim that the plaintiff did not

have recourse to the state courts, that the agency was

acting according to a state policy in denying plain-

tiff’s claim, or that the state proceeding was consti-

tutionally defective or insufficient. At least under

these circumstances, we believe that Parratt bars this

suit.

In Cohen the plaintiff was discharged from his job

without a hearing upon being charged with a criminal of-

44a

fense, and, after he was acquitted he was reinstated but

was denied backpay. In this case, on the other hand,

plaintiffs’ application for building permits was denied.

At that time state law provided them with two options.

First, they could have appealed the decision of the zoning

officer to the zoning hearing board pursuant to 53 Pa.

Stat. Section 10615 and 10909 and had a hearing pursuant

to Section 10908. However, they took the alternative

action available through 53 Pa. Stat. Section 10909 and

Rule 1091 of the Pennsylvania Rules of Civil Procedure

and brought an action in mandamus in the Court of Com-

mon Pleas. They did ultimately get the relief they sought

in that Judge Papadakos directed the defendants to issue

the building permits. Plaintiff Bello asserts that by the

time the court proceedings were terminated, he was un-

able to proceed with construction because he was required

to file for bankruptcy. However, the delay was due to

the court proceedings rather than any action of the de-

fendants. The defendants would not be personally liable

for the time required for disposition by the state courts.

In Stana v. School District of City of Pittsburgh, 775

F.2d 122 (3d Cir. 1985), the court somewhat limited

Cohen, supra, in holding that if a government entity could

have but did not provide predeprivation procedures, a

Section 1983 action complaining of the lack of procedural

due process may be maintained in federal court, not with-

standing the availability of state judicial routes. In that

ease, the plaintiff, a school teacher, had been removed

from the eligibility list without notice to her. The court

found that under the facts of that case a pretermination

hearing was neither impractical or impossible. The court

held that where the acts complained of are those of an

45a

official in a supervisory position acting within the scope

_of his authority, a government entity can provide some

pre-deprivation process. It is noted that in this case

plaintiffs did not have property taken from them which

they then attempted to reclaim through post-deprivation

procedures. Rather, their application for a building per-

mit was denied. The state system provided two avenues

for them to appeal. Again, it is noted that plaintiffs have

alleged no defect in the state system. In fact, they ob-

tained the relief they sought—an order directing that they

receive the building permits they sought.

In Berlanti v. Bodman, 780 F.2d 296 (3d Cir. 1985),

the court held that a district court had erred in granting

a motion for summary judgment for the defendants based

on Parratt v. Taylor, supra, where the plaintiff alleged

that he was debarred from bidding for public works con-

tracts in New Jersey without adequate notice, hearing or

appropriate enabling legislation. In that case the court

held that where the state officials who debarred the plain-

tiff were highly placed, responsible supervisory officials,

Parratt, which applied to random and unauthorized acts

by lower officials such as prison guards, was not ap-

plicable. The court stated:

[We conclude that in this case the availability of

post-deprivation remedies is irrelevant. As we held

in Stana, ‘‘if the government entity could have, but

did not, provide predeprivation procedures, a § 1983

action complaining of the lack of procedural due

process may be maintained in federal court, not with-

standing the availability of state judicial routes as

well.’’

780 F.2d 301. That case is not relevant here since plain-

tiffs make no challenge to the state system which did pro-

46a

vide a pre-deprivation hearing and through it they did

obtain an order directing they receive the building per-

mits they were seeking.

In Creative Environments, Inc. v. Estabrook, 680

F.2d 822 (1st Cir. 1982), the court held that the district

court had properly granted the defendant’s motion for

summary judgment where the plaintiffs alleged they had

been deprived of due process by officials who rejected

their proposed residential housing development. The

plaintiffs originally filed an action in state court which

they ultimately withdrew. In their federal action under

Section 1983 they claimed they were entitled to approval

upon filing of their plan which complied with reasonable

regulations and bylaws. They complained that their plan

had been disapproved for improper reasons—the officials’

fear of its social effects on the community and the poli-

tical threat of a homeowners association. The court found

that the plaintiffs had failed to allege a constitutional

violation, even assuming they could have shown at trial

that the town engaged in adversarial and even arbitrary

tactics with respect to the plan. The court was willing

to assume that the planning board was seeking to frustrate

the plaintiffs’ efforts to develop its subdivision. Still,

the court found that plaintiffs had failed to allege a con-

stitutional violation. They had failed to show they were

denied a fair and meaningful hearing process. They were

allowed a full public hearing on the plan. The board met

with the plaintiff frequently and each official action by

the board was accompanied by a full statement of reasons.

It appeared that additional judicial review in the state

courts would have been available to the plaintiffs if they

47a

had so elected. Therefore, the plaintiffs had failed to

allege a violation of procedural due process.

In Creative Environments the plaintiffs argued that

they were deprived of due process by the town’s alleged

arbitrary misapplication of state law, which resulted in

denying them their right to conduct a legitimate business

and make a profit. The court stated:

It is not impossible to derive a theoretical basis

: for CEI’s argument from cases such as Monroe v.

; Pape ... and Perry v. Sindermann, ... But were

such a theory to be accepted, any hope of maintaining

a meaningful separation between federal and state

jurisdiction in this and many other areas of law would

be jettisoned. Virtually every alleged legal or pro-

cedural error of a local planning authority or zoning

board of appeal could be brought to a federal court

on the theory that the erroneous application of state

law amounted to a taking of property without due

process. Neither Congress nor the courts have, to

date, indicated that section 1983 should have such a

reach.

; 680 F.2d 831. The court added in a footnote:

Where a state has provided reasonable remedies to

rectify a legal error by a local administrative body

j (and CEI raises no challenge in this case to the con-

; stitutionality of the state subdivision scheme itself),

current authority indicates that due process has been

provided, and that section 1983 is not a means for

litigating the correctness of the state or local admin-

‘ istrative decision in a federal forum ... (‘‘[T]he

existence of an adequate state remedy to redress

property damage inflicted by state officials avoids

the conclusion that there has been any constitutional

deprivation of property without due process of law

within the meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment.’’)

48a

A different situation may be presented in some

instances, particularly in the realm of equal protec-

tion, involving gross abuse of power, invidious dis-

crimination, or fundamentally unfair procedures .. .

But the ordinary state administrative proceeding in-

volving land use or zoning does not present such a

situation, regardless of how disappointed the license

or privilege seeker may feel at being initially turned

down. Thus, where—as here—the state has erected

a complex statutory scheme and provided for avenues

of appeal to the state courts, property is not denied

without due process simply because a local planning

board rejects a proposed development for erroneous

reasons or makes demands which arguably exceed its

authority under the relevant state statutes.

680 I'.2d 832, n. 9. In discussing plaintiffs’ claim that they

were deprived of due process when the planning board

openly interpreted state subdivision laws and a state court

decision in ways which frustrated their large-scale housing

development in order to protect what it viewed as the

town’s basic character, the court stated:

Such a claim is too typical of the run of the mill

dispute between a developer and a town planning

agency, regardless of CEI’s characterizations of it

and of defendants’ alleged mental states, to rise to the

level of a due process violation. The authority cited

by CEI, as well as other cases, all suggest that the

conventional planning dispute—at least when not

tainted with fundamental procedural irregularity,

racial animus, or the like—which takes place within

the framework of an admittedly valid state subdivis-

ion scheme is a matter primarily of concern to the

state and does not implicate the Constitution. This

would be true even were planning officials to clearly

violate, much less ‘‘distort’’ the state scheme under

which they operate. A federal court, after all, ‘‘should

not... sit as a a zoning board of appeals.’’

49a

680 F.2d 833. The Court’s concern in Creative Environ-

men's that zoning disputes could turn the federal courts

into zoning boards of appeals seems particularly apt in

this case. Plaintiffs have produced no evidence of funda-

menial procedural irregularity, racial animus or other

serious constitutional violations. Their proof depends pri-

marily upon alleged motives of a few of the defendants.

In objecting to multi-family developments in general, de-

fendant Rigatti was showing concern for factors which

are properly considered in zoning matters, such as over-

crowding and heavy traffic. See Rogin, supra, at 688. See

also Pace Resources, Inc. v. Shrewsbury Twp., 808 F.2d

1023, 1026 (3d Cir. 1987).

In Cloutier v. Town of Epping, 714 F.2d 1184 (1st Cir.

1983), the district court had properly dismissed a com-

plaint alleging that the plaintiffs were deprived of due

process by the defendants’ revocation of a sewage connec-

tion permit, denial of other permits, and engaging in a

pattern of harassment aimed at retarding or destroying

plaintiffs’ development plans. The plaintiffs claimed that

the defendants engaged in a number of malicious delaying

tacties which impeded their ability to proceed with their

development. They claimed that the defendants deprived

them of their property without due process by adding

years of delay and extra costs. The court noted that a vio-

lation of a state statute does not automatically give rise to

a violation of the Constitution. It also noted that the

plaintiffs’ long list of harassing actions revealed not the

type of egregious behavior that might violate the due pro-

cess clause, but rather, for the most part, disputes over the

interpretation of the state and town zoning laws. As to the

plaintiffs’ claim that they had been deprived of procedural

due process by revocation of the original sewer permit

50a

without first being afforded a hearing, the court replied

that ‘‘full judicial type hearings are not required when

local boards engage in the quasi-legislative task of grant-

ing or revoking zoning or similar types of permits.’’ The

court noted that the plaintiffs had received written notifi-

cation of the revocation and had been invited to discuss

the situation with the commission at its next meeting.

There were also indications in the record that they and

their attorney did at some later time discuss the matter

with the commission. It is noted that in this case plaintiff

Bello admits that he had many meetings with the defen-

dants and makes no claim that he did not have adequate

opportunity to present facts or argue his position to them.

In Chiplin Enterprises v. City of Lebanon, 712 F.2d

1524 (1st Cir. 1983), the court made a comment which ap-

pears to be appropriate to this case.

Chiplin asserts that as it had met all legal re-

quirements for the permit, the town had no valid rea-

son to reject the application. Jt then aims in the gen-

eral direction of the federal Constitution with buck-

shot, stating that this improper denial of a permit

‘‘unlawfully restricted and interfered with plaintiff’s

use and enjoyment of its property,’’ ‘‘interfered with

plaintiff’s prospective economic gain,’’ denied it the

equal opportunity of the law, and took its property

without due processor [sic] just compensation. As

described in its brief to us, the ‘‘gravamen of plain-

tiff’s complaint is that the individuals named as de-

fendants denied the plaintiff due process by malic-

iously denying it a building permit for invalid and

illegal reasons and in bad faith.’’ (Emphasis added).

712 F.2d 1526. In that case the court held that the district

court had properly dismissed a complaint alleging that the

plaintiff had been denied due process as a result of a five

5la

year delay in obtaining a building permit. The plaintiff

argued that because it had met all legal requirements for

the permit, the town had no valid reason to reject the ap-

plication. The court stated:

[P]roperty is not denied without due process simply

because a local planning board rejects a proposed de-

velopment for erroneous reasons or makes demands

which arguably exceed its authority under the rele-

vant state statutes.

712 F.2d 1527. The court added, ‘‘The claim that denial of

the permit was improperly motivated, unsupported by an

allegation of the deprivation of the specific constitutional

right, simply raises a matter of local concern, properly

and fully reviewable in the state courts.’’ 712 F.2d at 1527.

The court also statec:

A mere bad faith refusal to follow state law in such

local administrative matters simply does not amount

to a deprivation of due process where the state courts

are available to correct the error. Absent the allega-

tion of a constitutional violation, no claim has been

stated under section 1983.

712 F.2d 1528. See also, Quinn v. Bryson, 739 F.2d 8 (1st

Cir. 1984) (delay in obtaining land use permits caused

by lisputes with local officials).

Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d 1409 (4th Cir.

1983), cited by plaintiff, would appear to be contrary to

the Third Cireuit decisions of Rogin v. Bensalem Tp.,

supra, and Cohen v. City of Philadelphia, supra, and the

above decisions of the Court of Appeals of the First Cir-

cuit. Apparently the Fourth Circuit is more willing than

the First and Third Circuits to rehear local zoning mat-

ters.

52a

Plaintiffs also cite Three Rivers Cable Vision v. City

of Pittsburgh, 502 F. Supp 1118 (W.D. Pa. 1980). How-

ever, Three Rivers is distinguishable in several respects.

In that case the plaintiffs claimed they were deprived of

due process and equal protection during the bid procure-

ment and the award process of a cable television contract.

They claimed that one of the defendants had been awarded

the contract despite material deficiencies in its bid as a

result of a preconceived and unlawful preference. First,

that case involved bidding for a municipal contract rather

than application of a state zoning law. Further, there was

no showing in that case that the state had established an

administrative procedure to regulate the bidding process,

including the right to a hearing, as Pennsylvania has estab-

lished in zoning matters and which procedure was found

to satisfy due process by the Third Cireuit in Rogin, supra.

In addition, there was no showing in that case that the

plaintiffs had eventually obtained from the state courts

the relief they sought. As has been noted above, the time

for disposition by the state courts of plaintiffs’ mandamus

action would not be attributable to defendants and that is

the only injury alleged by plaintiffs.

B. Plaintiffs’ Equal Protection Claim

Plaintiffs last brief which was filed on October 9,

1986, asserts, ‘‘Plaintiffs theory of denial of equal pro-

tection is not based on any allegation of racial or class-

based discrimination which is the more usual equal pro-

tection theory. Rather, plaintiffs assert that the adverse

treatment they received as permit applicants was due to

illegitimate, political, or at least personal motives which

constituted a purposeful discrimination against a particu-

53a

lar individual violative of the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment.’’ As the discussion of the

facts under plaintiffs’ due process claim reveal, plaintiffs’

evidence is directed primarily toward allegedly improper

motives of defendant Rigatti. However, her objections to

multiple family dwellings because of overcrowding, traffic

problems, ete., were legitimate concerns. Further, plain-

tiffs have failed to produce any evidence that defendant

Rigatti caused the denial of their application for bwilding

permits. The affidavit of defendant Norman Walker avers

that he denied plaintiffs’ building permits based on his

understanding that ordered phasing was a condition of the

approved site plan and that issuance of the required per-

mits would contravene the site plan and violate applicable

zoning laws. He avers that the decision to withhold the

permits was not made pursuant to any agreement be-

tween himself and any defendant or any other person and

that it was made solely by him without suggestions,

threats, coercion or intervention by defendants or any

other person. Plaintiffs’ general evidence that there were

oceasions when counsel voted on building permits (Ex-

hibits 1, 2, 3) would not establish that any of the de-

fendants, other than defendant Walker, caused the denial

of plaintiffs’ building permits although there is evidence

that they did approve an application for building permits

during a meeting on April 9, 1979. Exhibit 2 to plaintiff

Bello’s affidavit is a memo from defendant Martin, the

manager, to members of counci! advising them of a change

in item 9 of the April 9, 1979, council meeting minutes.

The memo reveals that the application for issuance of

building permits by Simmons Park Village had been

granted subject to the stipulation that the structure and

h4a

all other structures remain at least fifteen feet away from

ony abutting single family areas. Tiie memo notes that de-

fendant Rigatti seconded the motion for issuance of a

building permit.

Plaintiffs’ equal protection claim was not included in

their original complaint but was included in their amended

complaint which was filed on November 26, 1980. New

Count II alleges a conspiracy to deprive plaintiffs of con-

stitutional rights under color of state law in vio‘ation of

42 U.S.C. Section 1983. In paragraph eight of that count

. plaintiffs make a general allegation that they were denied

equal protection of the laws in violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. However,

the facts supporting that claim appear to be included in

Count If] of the amended complaint which alleges an

‘‘acreement, combination and/or conspiracy and restraint

of trade in violation of 15 U.S.C. Section 1.’? In para-

graph 12 of the complaint plaintiffs allege that defendant

Kanon had a pecuniary interest in other land development

in Bethel Park within the housing area of plaintiffs’ pro-

posed developments and that in those developments side-

walks were waived at the recommendation of defendant

Kanon in his position as planning director of Bethel Park.

Plaintiffs make no reference in their supplemental brief

which was filed on October 9, 1986, or plaintiff Bello’s affi-

davit which was filed on April 15, 1986, to any evidence in

support of their allegation that defendant Kanon had a

pecuniary interest in other land development. Therefore,

they appear to have elected not to proceed on that allega-

tion.

Plaintiffs assert that defendant Walker waived the

building code requirements for the Brush Run townhouse

ea

55a

development, plaintiffs’ competitor, while such require-

ments were enforced against them. First, plaintiffs com-

plain that defendant Walker drafted an ordinance ‘‘Plan-

ned Unit Residential Development Ordinance”’ and that un-

der the original draft which contained a minimum land re-

quirement of thirty contiguous acres, plaintiffs, with

th'rty-three contiguous acres, would qualify and coud be

developed without the necessity of a condominium arrange-

ment which plaintiffs assert would be more cumbersome,

and more difficult to market and administer. Plaintiffs’

brief asserts that plaintiff Bello wou'd testify to this. It is

no‘ed that on a motion for summary judgment, unverified

statements contained in a brief cannot be considered.

Kauffman v. Johnston, 454 F.2d 264 (3d Cir. 1972). In their

brief plaintiffs assert that defendant Kanon redrafted the

ordinance and changed the minimum acreage from thirty

to thirty-five contiguous acres and that the ordinance was

passed in this amended form. Plaintiffs assert that under

the ordinance as amended, they could not develop under

it while Brush Run, with forty-nine acres, could. In their

supplemental brief, page 32, plaintiffs refer to testimony

of defendant Kanon in his deposition at pages 22-24 in

which he admitted that he made several drafts of the

PURD Ordinance, that one of the original drafts required

fifty acres, that it was changed, that Brush Run has forty-

nine acres and that Simmons Park has thirty-three acres.

However, there is no evidence in the record of any benefits

Brush Run enjoyed as a result of being able to develop

pursuant to the ordinance.

Plaintiffs also assert in their brief that the ordinance

‘‘Exhibit 36 to Plaintiffs’ Supplemental Brief’’ required

a full ownership interest in the land to develop as a PURD.

56a

Plaintiff had such full ownership interest but James Cor-

ace had only an option for the Brush Run development.

The ordinance as passed, Exhibit 37, provides that the

applicant need only have a valid option on the land. In

his deposition testimony, page 22, defendant Kanon tes-

tified that he did not recall the change in the draft of the

PURD Ordinance from thirty acres to thirty-five acres.

One of his original drafts had proposed fifty acres. He

testified that since Simmons Park was approved prior to

the adoption of the ordinance, the ordinance was not rele-

vant to the development of Simmons Park (p. 24). Plain-

tiffs have offered no admissible contrary evidence or any

evidence that they were injured by the ordinance. Fur-

ther, the issue would appear to be whether the municipality

had a legitimate reason for adopting the ordinance. See

Pace Resources, Inc. v. Shrewsbury Twp., 808 F.2d 1023

(3d Cir. 1987). Plaintiffs also have offered no evidence

as to how they were injured by the provision in the ordi-

nance providing that an applicant need only have a valid

option on land.

Plaintiffs next complain that defendant Kanon re-

quired them to ‘‘help solve the Brush Run water problem’’

(plaintiffs’ supplemental brief, p. 33). In paragraph 18

their complaint, discussed on page 23 of their supplemen-

tal brief, plaintiffs allege that defendants Walker, Kanon

and Martin were under pressure from ‘‘the elected council

persons’’ to find a way to halt plaintiffs’ project. In para-

graph 19 of the complaint discussed on page 24 of the sup-

plemental brief, plaintiffs allege that defendant Kanon told

plaintiffs this matter could easily be ‘‘corrected’’ by apply-

ing to the municipal council for ‘‘rephasing of the develop-

ment.’’ In their brief plaintiffs aver that the discussion

57a

between plaintiff Bello and Kanon would be supported by

plaintiff Bello’s testimony. However, it is again noted that

proffers of testimony cannot be considered on a motion for

summary judgment.

In his affidavit plaintiff Bello states that sometime

after February 1979 he met with defendant Kanon who

suggested that he reapply for rephasing in his develop-

ment. Plaintiff refers to Exhibit 32 to the exhibits to his

supplemental brief which is a memo from defendant Kanon

to municipal council and others dated May 2, 1979, sug-

gesting that plaintiffs’ rephasing be allowed as submitted

provided that plaintiff Bello and his engineer participate

in discussions with the municipal engineer for the express

purpose of finding solutions to drainage problems along

Brush Run Road (Exhibit 32 to plaintiffs’ supplemental

brief). Plaintiffs withdrew their application for rephas-

ing (paragraph 24 of the complaint).

In their supplemental brief, page 33, plaintiffs assert

that the ordinance that was passed, Exhibit 37 to the

supplemental brief, requires inspections by the building

inspector every six months to make certain that construc-

tion is in conformity with the applicable ordinances, para-

graph G, #1 on the second page of Exhibit 37. Plaintiffs

aver that in his deposition, pages 46 through 48 defendant

Kanon testified that Brush Run did not submit to six

month inspections and that part of the ordinance was not

enforced against Brush Run. However, it is again noted

that page 4 of defendants’ Reply Brief Pursuant to Order

dated April 20, 1986, notes that the deposition testimony

attached to plaintiffs’ affidavit establishes that the ordi-

nance had been repealed. Defendant Walker testified in

his deposition that he and others were inspecting Brush

58a

Run during early 1979 (Tr. 20). However, he testified

that after the ordinance was repealed it was not enforced

as to either Simmons Park or Brush Run (page 21). He

denied there was any period of time when Simmons Park

was required to comply with the ordinance and Brush Run

was not (Tr. 22). During his deposition, pages 35-36,

Walker testified that he did not enforce the inspection re-

quirements of the ordinance against Brush Run after the

ordinance had been repealed. Plaintiffs have produced

no evidence of any specific period of time when the ordi-

nance was enforced against them but not against Brush

Run.

In their supplemental brief, page 33, plaintiffs com-

plain that the ordinance requiring a four inch step from

the cellar floor to the garage door was not enforced

against Brush Run although it was enforced against Sim-

mons Park, referring to pages 20 to 25 of the deposition

of defendant Walker. However, Mr. Walker explained

that the ordinance was in effect when plaintiff commenced

construction but by the time Brush Run commenced con-

struction the ordinance had been repealed and neither

Simmons Park nor Brush Run was required to follow it

after repeal (p. 21-22). Plaintiffs have produced no

contrary evidence.

In their supplemental brief plaintiffs assert that

Brush Run spaced studs on two foot centers while Sim-

mons Park spaced studs on sixteen inch centers, referring

to page 26 of defendant Walker’s deposition. They admit

that defendant Walker testified that this was of each

parties’ own choice. In their brief plaintiffs state, ‘‘Al-

though Walker states that this was their own choice, Dino

Bello and Raymond Kirich will testify that Walker re-

59a

quired Simmons Park to build with sixteen inch centers

while permitting Brush Run to build on two foot centers.

This made construction considerably cheaper for Brush

Run and put them in a better competitive situation.’’ As

has a'ready been noted, offers of proof cannot be con-

sidered on a motion for summary judgment. Plaintiff

Bello’s affidavit which was filed on April 15, 1986, made

no reference to this requirement.

In their brief plaintiffs assert that in his deposition

defendant Kanon acknowledged having social lunches with

Jim Corace, the developer of Brush Run, and that he

visited Corace as a social guest in his apartment. This

does not establish a denial of equal protection under the

‘ourteenth Amendment.

Plaintiffs assert in their brief that the cutoff of build-

ing permits te Simmons Park left Brush Run with no

competition in the area for two and a half years. They

assert that Brush Run took advantage of this and adver-

tised that it had the only available townhouses in the area.

A copy of an ad by Brush Run is submitted as Exhibit 38

to plaintiffs’ supplemental brief. This does not establish

that plaintiffs were deprived of equal protection.

Paragraph 27 of plaintiff Bello’s affidavit avers that

‘*municipal officials’? failed to grant any of the 216 sewer

taps allocated in 1985 by the Watershed Authority to

Bethel Park to Simmons Park Development even though

such taps were continually requested by Simmons Park.

The affidavit asserts that the ‘‘municipal officials’? failed

to respond to the requests for sewer taps and failed to

respond to the inquiry as to why no taps were allocated

to Simmons Park. The affidavit states that copies of the

correspondence are attached to the exhibit as Exhibit 32.

60a

That exhibit includes letters from plaintiff to Matthew J.

Krider, Municipal Manager of Bethel Park, who is not a

party to this action.

In matters of zoning great deference is to be accorded

to legislative decisions establishing classifications. Rogin

v. Bensalem Tp., supra, at 687. The court explained the

reason for this deference as follows:

[T]he process of democratic political decisionmaking

often entails the accommodation of competing inter-

ests, and thus necessarily produces laws that burden

some groups and not others. In the absence of spe-

cial justification for more searching judicial examina-

tion—-such as an allegation that the legislative body

has classified on the basis of a suspect characteristic

—for a court to undo the fruits of this process would

be ‘‘to condemn as unconstitutional the most charac-

teristic product of a democratic (perhaps of any)

political system.”’

To prevail on its equal protection claim, Mark-

Garner must persuade us that the passage and appli-

cation to it of the zoning amendments ‘‘so lack ration-

ality that they constitute a constitutionally impermis-

sible denial of equal proection.’’

616 F.2d at 687-688. The court then stated:

Although zoning laws ‘‘must find their justifica-

tion in some aspect of the police power, asserted for

the public welfare,’’ it is well-settled that such meas-

ures are constitutional if they bear a ‘‘substantial re-

lation to the public health, safety morals, or general

welfare.’’... The concept of general welfare has been

broadly construed: ‘*The values it represents are spir-

itual as well as physical, aesthetic as well as monetary.

It is within the power of the legislature to determine

that the community should be beautiful as well as

healthy, spacious as well as clean, well-balanced as

well as carefully patrolled.”’

6la

616 F.2d at 688. The court added:

A quiet pace where yards are wide, people few, and

motor vehicles restricted are legitimate guidelines in

a land-use project addressed to family needs. This

goal is a permissible one ... The police power is not

confined to elimination of filth, stench, and unhealthy

places. It is ample to lay out zones where family val-

ues, youth values, and the blessings of quiet seclusion

and clean air make the area a sanctuary for people.

616 F.2d at 688.

In Cook v. City of Price, Carbon Cty., Utah, 566 F.2d

699 (10th Cir. 1977), the court held that the trial court

had not erred in finding that the plaintiff was not deprived

of equal protection by enforcement of the zoning ordinance

' against her but not against others where her violation was

much more serious than the others. The plaintiff had

failed%g show that she was the victim of malicious motive

to injure her or that she was similarly situated to other

violators. a

In this ease plaintiffs’ attempt to show that defendant

Rigatti acted with malicious motive but acually show no

more than that she had legitimate concerns about multi-

family developments. They also fail to show that she

caused the denial of their application for building permits.

As to defendant Walker, who did deny plaintiffs’

application for building permits, plaintiffs have failed

to produce any evidence that they were injured as a result

of being treated different from their competitor, Brush

Run, at any identifiabie time. Therefore as to plaintiffs’

equal protection claim defendants’ motion for summary

judgment should be granted.

62a

C. Conspiracy to Violate the Constitution in Vio-

lation of 42 U.S.C. Section 1983

Plaintiffs’ amended complaint alleges that defendants

Urbanowicz and Rigatti conspired with unidentified other

defendants for the common goal of depriving plaintiffs

of “rights guaranteed to them under Article 1, Section 10

of the United States Constitution, and under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-

tion.” Plaintiffs have produced no evidence of any agree-

ment among any defendants to violate plaintiffs’ constitu-

tional rights. Therefore, as to this claim defendants’ mo-

tion for summary judgment should be granted.

D. Anti-Trust Claims

Finally, plaintiffs assert that defendants have vio-

lated both the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 1 and the

Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 15. The facts set forth

in support of these claims are those discussed under plain-

tiffs’ equal protection claim. As has already been noted,

plaintiffs have failed to show that they were treated dif-

ferent from any other party similarly situated. The ordi-

nance which was originally applied to plaintiffs was re-

scinded and after it was rescinded it was not applied to

either plaintiff or Brush Run. Therefore plaintiffs have

failed to show any agreement or conspiracy in restraint

of trade. The most they have shown is hostility toward

them on the part of defendant Rigatti in that she opposed

muti-family dwellings in general and hostility on the part

of defendants Rigatti and Urbanowicz in that they did

not like one of plaintiffs’ employees, Raymond Kirich.

They have produced no evidence of any agreement among

any of the defendants to reduce competition between plain-

63a

tiffs and Brush Run. Further, under the Hallie v. Eau

Claire, 471 U.S. 34 (1985), municipalities are exempt from

anti-trust liability for activities authorized by state stat-

ute. Pennsylvania law, 53 P.S. Section 10601 authorizes

municipalities in Pennsylvania to “enact, amend and re-

peal zoning ordinances to implement comprehensive plans

and to accomplish any of the purposes of this act.” See-

tion 10603 provides that the zoning ordinances may con-

tain “provisions for the administration and enforcement

of such ordinances” and “Such other provisions as may

be necessary to implement the purposes of this act.” If

defendants can show that their alleged “anticompetitive

activities were authorized by the state ‘pursuant to state

policy to displace competition with regulation or monoply

publie service’” they would be entitled to municipal im-

munity under Hallie. Therefore, as to this claim defen-

dants’ motion for summary judgment should be granted.

E. Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment

Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is based on

the fact that Walker’s denial of their application for build-

ing permits was ultimately determined by the state courts

to be in error. That does not establish a violation of the

Constitution. In Pace Resources, Inc. v. Shrewsbury Twp.,

808 F.2d 1023, 1034 (3d Cir. 1987), the court stated:

We conclude at the outset that the district court erred

in holding that it was bound to find a denial of sub-

stantive due process once the Commonwealth Court

termed the Township’s rezoning “arbitrary and un-

justifiably discriminatory.” The issue before that

court and the substantive due process issue presented

to the district court by Pace’s complaint are simply

not the same issue.

64a

Therefore plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment should

be denied.

In accordance with the Magistrates Act, 28 U.S.C.

Section 636(b)(1)(B) and (C), and Rule 4 of the Local

Rules for Magistrates, the parties are allowed ten (10)

days from the date of service to file objections to this

report and recommendation.

/s/ ILA JEANNE SENSENICH

Chief U.S. Magistrate

Dated: April 28, 1987

ec: The Honorable Gustave Diamond

United States District Judge

Richard L. Rosenzweig, Esquire

Rosenzweig & Burton

1603 Law & Finance Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Marvin A. Fein, Esquire

Richard H. Martin, Esquire

Baskin Flaherty Elliott & Mannino, P.C.

2900 One Mellon Bank Center

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Anthony J. Martin, Esquire

Monroe Complex Building I

Monroeville, PA 15146

CERTIFIED MAIL, RETURN RECEIPT

REQUESTED

65h

Simmons Park Properties, Inc. v. Bethel Park

Municipal Council, et al.

Mandamus—Building Permit—Phased Development.

1. A mandamus is an extraordinary writ at common

law designed to compel performance of a ministerial act or

mandatory duty where there exists a clear legal right in

the p'aintiff.

2. Where defendant-municipality had approved a

five-phased development but no evidence supported the

conclusion that as a condition of approval such develop-

ment was to be sequential by phases, plaintiff-developer

was entitled to develop the phases in any order and a build-

ing permit should issue accordingly.

(D. E. Williams)

Michael P. Schaefer for plaintiff.

Victor R. Della Donne for defendants.

GD 79-15304. In the Court of Common Pleas of Alle-

gheny County, Civil Division.

OPINION AND ORDER OF COURT

Papapakos, A.J., May 5, 1981.—The matter before the

Court is an action in mandamus brought by Simmons Park

Properties, Inc., (Plaintiff) against the Bethel Park Mu-

nicipal Council; the Municipality of Bethel Park; James M.

Martin, the Municipal Manager; Norman Walker, the Code

Enforcement Officer, and John E. Kanon, the Planning

Director (Defendants). The Complaint and Amended Com-

plaint seek the issuance of certain building permits. Plain-

tiff is record title holder to 33 acres in Bethel Park. Plain-

tiff initially submitted the Simmons Park Village Site

66a

Plan to the Municipality’s Planning Commission in July

of 1976. That plan divides the 33 acre tract into a 254 unit

development of townhouses and duplex residences. The

plans as submitted parcel off the 33 acre tract into five

groupings categorized as ‘‘Phases.’’

After various meetings with the Planning Commission,

approval was given for the Site Plan submitted by Plain-

tiff on August 18, 1976. The Planning Commission also

recommended that the Council of Bethel Park approve the

Site Plan. That body approved the Site Plan on October

19, 1976, and Plaintiff began development of those units in

1979. Plaintiff applied for building permits in May of

1979 to continue development of its Townhouses and was

refused on May 9, 1979, by Defendants upon the contention

that the development was approved as a five phase de-

velopment, and that the applied for building permits were

in an area of the development which was not in what De-

fendants considered to be the second phase. It was from

that decision that Plaintiff timely filed this action in man-

damus on June 8, 1979. A Motion for Peremptory Judg-

emnt was also filed seeking the issuance of the desired

building permits. The Honorable J. Warren Watson, ap-

pointed a Referee in this matter to take any additional tes-

timony and submit proposed findings and conclusions of

law. The Referee filed a tentative decision, recommending

denial of the Peremptory Judgment. By his Opinion and

Order of Court dated March 26, 1980, Judge Watson grant-

ed the Motion for Peremptory Judgment and ordered that

building permits be issued anywhere in Phase II of the

development. On January 23, 1981, Judge Watson vacated

his Opinion and Order of March 26, 1980, and denied Plain-

tiff’s Motion for Peremptory Judgment.

na yen nl fl

67a j

This Court then ordered a hearing pursuant to the

underlying Complaint in Mandamus for March 20, 1981.

At that hearing the parties had the opportunity to present

any testimony and evidence in this matter. During the

hearing it became apparent that the only issue before the

Court was whether the Site Plan as approved by Council

required development in phases in numerical order (Phase

I, then Phase II, then Phase III, ete.). The parties were

then given the opportunity to provide the Court with some

written requirement or written agreement showing that de-

velopment would occur only in order of the phases as num-

bered. Thereupon, Plaintiff and Defendants prepared and

submitted oral and written memoranda in this matter.

A mandamus is an extraordinary writ at common law,

designed to compel performance of a ministerial act or

mandatory duty where there exists a clear legal right in

the Plaintiff, a corresponding duty in the Defendant, and

want of any other adequate and appropriate remedy.

Bronson y Com. Bd. of Probation and Parole, — Pa. S.—,

421 A.2d 1021 (1980); Philadelphia Newspaper Ince. v Je-

rome, 478 Pa. 484, 387 A.2d 425 (1978). <A court of law

of competent jurisdiction issues a mandamus to a public

official directing him to perform a particular duty which

results from his official station or operation of law. Good-

man v Meade, 162 Pa. Super 587, 60 A.2d 577 (1948). A

mandamus will not lie to compel discretionary acts, nor

will it be issued to restrain official duties.

In this matter, there is no dispute that the Municipal

Council approved a Site Plan. The only dispute is whether

the grouping of units into five parcels described as

‘‘Phases”’ binds the Plaintiff to develop the units in the

Phases as numbered on the Plan. This Court can find no

68a

evidence besides the Plan itse!f, which shows the numbered

phases, to support Defendants’ position of sequential de-

velopment. Nor has any written agreement or under-

standing between the parties been brought to this Court’s

attention supportive of Defendants’ position.

This Court, therefore, finds that the numbering of the

five parcels as Phases does not limit the Plaintiff to de-

velopment of its lots in numerical order of Phases. (Phase

I, then Phase II, then Phase ILI, ete.). Rather, this Court

finds that the adoption by the Municipal Council of the

entire Site Plan gives Plaintiff the right to develop its

units as it finds proper. Furthermore, once Defendants

approved the Site Plan, Plaintiff had a clear right to the

issuance of building permits for the units Plaintiff desired

to develop and Defendants had no discretion in granting

or denying such permits.

Accordingly, the following Order of Court is entered:

ORDER OF COURT

Anp Now, to-wit, this 5th day of May, 1981, IT 1s

Heresy OrpERED, ADJUDGED aNp Decreep that the decision

of Bethel Park Municipal Council; the Municipality of

Bethel Park; James M. Martin, Municipal Manager; Nor-

man Walker, Code Enforcement Officer; and John E.

Kanon, Planning Director, (Defendants) refusing to issue

building permits to Simmons Park Properties, Inc. (Plain-

tiff) be, and the same is hereby, REVERSED, and that

the Defendants are directed to issue the desired building

permits.

By tHe Court:

s/ Papapakos, A. J.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.