Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fahmy v. United States

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suprania Court, U.S,

KRiLED

87-20 39 JUN 1) 1988

_ YOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

7 fl ERK

No. &87-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

GEORGE FAHMY,

Petitioner,

-against-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

ROGER BENNET ADLER, P.C.

Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway

New York, New York 10007

(212) 406-0181

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Was the evidence at trial involving the structuring of cash

deposits legally sufficient to establish Petitioner’s guilt of the

conspiracy to violate the currency reporting statute (31 U.S.C.

5313 et. seq.) and its regulations and to miscode brokerage house

records?

2. Dida juror’s medical difficulty provide just cause, within the

meaning and spirit of Rule 23(b) of the Federal Rules of Crimi-

nal Procedure, for the trial court’s summary discharge of the

juror, and directing the return of a verdict from an eleven member

jury?

3. Was the evidence at trial legally sufficient to establish that

Petitioner knowingly obstructed justice at a time when a Grand

Jury was probing the subject matter of certain disposed of Paine,

Webber documents?

4. Did the trial Court err in failing to instruct the jury upon its

need to find that Petitioner acted with specific intent in determin-

ing whether he obstructed justice as charged in Count 2 of the

indictment?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENT EDD vs wissccceisicscscecascsssctiecersions

SABLE OP COTE ED coiccsciscccoisanaden

CADE GOP CIAL siicnicntiaosnunusueee

CAPES DONO stisisenstnsbcculea

AIMEE CUNO nsstsnvsintnniahatasianaalbameaeds ewes

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVI-

POG SOE VEAE ED iscsedicusiinarsmmncaasenen

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

I.

I.

ITI.

IV.

The Evidence Was Legally Insufficient To Sustain

Petitioner’s Conviction For Conspiracy To Vio-

late The Currency Reporting Statute ....0...0........

The Trial Court Erred And Denied Petitioner A

Fair Trial By Discharging A Juror During Delib-

erations And Requiring The Rendition Of A Ver-

dict By An 11 Member Jury Over Strenuous De-

fense Objections In Violation Of The Require-

ments Of Rule 23(b) Of The Rules Of Criminal

PUOUIIIG: sscssisctcticisiasinebieieen ee eee

The Evidence At Trial Was Legally Insufficient

To Demonstrate The Existence Of A Grand Jury

Probing Currency Reporting Compliance At

Pat WIE | ooccnicnincsenningee ee eee

The Trial Court’s Omission Of Specific Intent

Language In Its Charge In Connection With

Count Two And The Court’s Instruction Con-

cerning The Records Subject To Miscoding Were

Erroneous And Lessened The Government’s Bur-

den Of Proof Denying Petitioner A Fair Trial ..

CONCLUSION ....csccneckinecanssenpeimeeieiaee aan an

Appendix

Memorandum and order of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Southern District of New York.

dated September 29, 967 sssciiscccnccasuetssinlsstndancs

Order of Affirmance of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit filed April 12.

1988, issued as Mandate May 10, 1988 20.0000...

PAGE

13

16

17

20

|4a

iil

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases:

Barnes v. Jones, 665 F.2d 427 [2nd Cir. 1981] .........

Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352, 93 S.Ct. 595.

California Bankers v. Schultz, 416 U.S. 21, 58, 69-70 n.

Rs SO DEW TOE esctscccceceisccvssenssscocereonssnneate

Colauti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 99 S.Ct. 675 [1979].

Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S. 60, 80 [1942] ......

Lanzetta v. United States, 306 U.S. 451, 453 [1939].

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156, 92

TOES TT eee

Pettibone v. United States, 148 U.S. 197, 13 S.Ct. 542

I Sa orale aci nein ehnleesuneseneninsnseuanessnasneeinsensensse

Satterwhite v. Texas,

SUITS Eilat caceusaisinignabehchinpctavsdvegsinessteusaasecsnsneesessenanennesens

Sinclair v. United States, 444 F.2d 399 [2nd Cir. 1971].

United States v. Anzalone, 766 F.2d 676 ( Ist Cir. 1985)

United States v. Ardito, 782 F.2d 358, 360 [2nd Cir.

ITT ETI TILT Al ds ctesmpiceapabniniseebsnsensentenianbencneeaieoiies

United States v. Capo, 791 F.2d 1054 [2nd Cir. 1986].

United States v. Carleo, 576 F.2d 846 [ 10th Cir. 1978].

United States v. Critzer, 498 F.2d 1160 [4th Cir. 1974].

United States v. Dahlstrom, 713 F.2d 1423 [9th Cir.

1983] cert. den. 466 U.S. 980 [1984] ..........

United States v. DiStefano, 555 F.2d 1094 [2nd Cir.

a

a shinsnichiveres

i coseanoensovissnsiiiaane

United States v. Goldberg, 587 F.2d 302 [S.D.N.Y.

5/21/84] rev'd 756 F.2d 949 [2nd Cir. 3/6/85] ...

PAGE

9

iv

PAGE

United States v. Gimbel, 830 F.2d 621 [7th Cir. 1987]. 9

United States v. Heyman, 794 F.2d 788 [2nd Cir.

1986], cert. den. 107 S.Ct. 585 (1987) ue 9

United States v. Lane, 474 U.S. 106 S.Ct. 725

RTSEEE cicscsoiisdisshactananeniicedeiadinnaeienetieselinaimieaiendinbadoeles 19

United States v. Larson, 796 F.2d 244 (8th Cir. 1986). 8

United States v. Lee, 667 F.Supp. 1410 [D. Col. 1987]. 12

United States v. Moon, 718 F.2d 1210 [2nd Cir. 1983]. 18

United States v. Nersesian, 824 F.2d 1294 [2nd Cir.

EET 0” sasakbichimmentebagnpeclebbinpacinssmiaataaadateoialagiaideialaicaieaass 9

United States v. Penagos, 823 F.2d 346 [9th Cir. 1987]. 11

United States v. Risk, 672 F.Supp. 346 [S.D. Ind.

1987] aff'd 843 F.2d 1059, 1062 [7th Cir. 1988 per

SUURIUES, Tele canisssabacranenpssatstansielieniieabulaineabeeiniesanlisidaammaviioans 12

United States v. Rosenbalit, 554 F.2d 36, 38 [2nd Cir.

SOP UE widen aeicialiaceccameavaidaa eakacaabeanacaneancaasnaaetidaantann 10

United States v. Ryan, 455 F.2d 728 [9th Cir. 1971]. 18

United States v. Sloan, 389 F.Supp. 526 [S.D.N.Y.

PUP IIIE ' “sistelascccoduaecsbachiaacislidensssisuasintamminihacaeeaaitaacGh aikuacienuein 13

United States v. Smith, 619 F.Supp. 1441 [W.D. Pa

RIE EIN eI AS BSN LOG ht RRR ee 14

United States v. Solow, 138 F.Supp. 812 [S.D.N.Y.

ns UT POMS Bad ccneetetsadomatssnepubviciokemnnauecsintons 16

United States v. Soto, 716 F.2d 989 [2nd Cir. 1983]. 11

United States v. Stratton, 779 F.2d 820 (2nd Cir. 1985) 15

United States v. Tana, 618 F.Supp. 1393 [S.D.N.Y.

PIPER A * sestasiscsenscodundecai nanbcecmahincasananeeimaiipmatbeaaiéiie 12

United States v. Vesich, 742 F.2d 451 [Sth Cir. 1984}. 16

United States v. Williams, 728 F.2d 1402 [11th Cir.

1984] rev'd other grds 103 S.Ct. 3308 o.. 18

United States +. Williams, 470 F.2d 1339 [8th Cir.

PIPE ~ ssvasinicnspidoinm tia saasnnsucenvassaimepainnanmicia nanan 17

Statutes Invalved

OBES 2 eae 5 | TERRE werent ene rst Sb Nite SNA ALS skie 2.9

BB CFSE. GDS « cassrccisrncsncsnsccncscccancsssnnscnanenseccepsncenenn fe

BO USEC, 2 cvccccscntcdirnssccscnscssvnscssdicinnintotenenasacsnnscationnen

DE CVG. SUD crccccccscccrcassseccsecsscsscsonensnasnsarscnsonsennsanes

31 UL GG. DEUS ccccocccscvccrrssconsssassencsssoss ammaeidsvaninasbbeetn

15 UGC. TBG cnrccsrcccrsscccrccssesscccnsscsssacsssrnssnscssasooscns a

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

2 |) pennencnnnrens coealbasdeniciassnlcaiidietihidan Th

Federal Regulations Cited

BD CTE FIDO) ccsscccnnsccrecssssantascssrocnsscscqnssssesenennnennen

BI CTR SEE TCAD cncccccssssnssinnscsnnnasininsinshtbencnassnmmenininie

FA CHR BBE ccceccccicscsensstsstevennncscsscesctsccensnonanssnatnins

PAGE

No. 87-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

2:

GEORGE FAHMY,

Petitioner.

-against-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner George Fahmy respectfully prays that a Writ of

Certiorari be issued to review the order of the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit entered in this case on or about April | 2,

1988, which affirmed a judgment of the United States District

Court, Southern District of New York (Cannella, J.) entered on

December 4, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

A copy of the District Court's opinion denying Petitioner's

motion to dismiss the indictment is officially reported at 672

F.Supp. 716 [S.D.N.Y. 1987] and is reproduced as Appendix A.

A copy of the decision of the Court of Appeals filed on April | 2.

1988, is not officially reported, and is reproduced as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254.

The petition for a writ of certiorari is filed within sixty (60) days

of the Court of Appeals affirmance of the judgment of conviction.

The mandate of the Court of Appeals was filed on May 10, 1988.

The order appealed from unanimously affirmed a judgment of the

2

United States District Court, Southern District of New York

(Cannella, J.) entered on December 4, 1987, convicting Peti-

tioner of conspiracy (18 U.S.C. 371) and obstructing justice (18

U.S.C. 1503) and sentencing him to serve a term of five years

probation and perform community service.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

18 U.S.C. 371. Conspiracy to commit offense or defraud United

States

If two or more persons conspire either to commit any

offense against the United States, or to defraud the United

States, or any agency thereof in any manner or for any

purpose, and one or more of such persons do any act to

effect the object of the conspiracy, each shall be fined not

more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than 5 years,

or both.

If, however, the offense, the commission of which is the

object of the conspiracy, is a misdemeanor only, the pun-

ishment for such conspiracy shall not exceed the maxi-

mum punishment provided for such misdemeanor.

18 U.S.C. 1503. Influencing or injuring officer or juror generally:

Whoever corruptly, or by threats or force, or by any

threatening letter or communication, endeavors to influ-

ence, intimidate, or impede any grand or petit juror, or

officer in or of any court of the United States, or officer

who may be serving at any examination or other proceed-

ing before any United States commissioner or other com-

mitting magistrate, in the discharge old generally to

ensure that Eder’s accounts were processed properly and

smoothlyn account of any verdict or indictment assented

to by him, or on account of his being or having been such

juror, or injures any such officer, commissioner or other

committing magistrate in is person or property on account

of the performance of his official duties, or corruptly or by

threats or force, or by any threatening letter or communi-

cation influences, obstructs or impedes. or endeavors to

influence, obstruct or impede, the due administration of

a |

3

justice, shall be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned

not more than five years, or both.

18 U.S.C. 2 states:

(a) “Whoever commits an offense against the United

States or aids, abets, counsels, commands, induces, or pro-

cures its commission, is punishable as a principal.

(b) Whoever willfully causes an act to be done which if

directly performed by him or another would be an offense

against the United States, is punishable as a principal.”

31 U.S.C. 5311 Declaration of purpose:

It is the purpose of this subchapter (except section 5315)

to require certain reports or records where they have a

high degree of usefulness in criminal tax, or regulatory

investigations or proceedings.

31 U.S.C. 5313 Reports on domestic coins and currency

transactions:

(a) When a domestic financial institution is involved in a

transaction for the payment, receipt, or transfer of United

States coins or currency (or other monetary instruments

the Secretary of the Treasury prescribes), in an amount,

denomination, or amount and donomination, or under cir-

cumstances the Secretary prescribes by regulation, the

institution and any other participant in the transaction the

Secretary may prescribe shall file a report on the transac-

tion at the time and in the way the Secretary prescribes.

A participant acting for another person shall make the

report as the agent or bailee of the person and identify the

person for whom the transaction is being made.

(b) The Secretary may designate a domestic financial

institution as an agent of the United States Government to

receive a report under this section. However, the Secre-

tary may designate a domestic financial institution that is

not insured, chartered, examined, or registered as a

domestic financial institution only if the institution con-

sents. The Secretary may suspend or revoke a designa-

tion for a violation of this subchapter or a regulation under

this subchapter (except a violation of section 5315 of this

i ase

4

title or a regulation prescribed under section 5513), sec-

tion 411 of the National Housing Act (12 U.S.C. 1730d),

or section 21 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act (12

U.S.C. 1829b).

(c)(1) A person (except a domestic financial institution

designated under subsection (b) of this section) required

to file a report under this section shall file the report—

(A) with the institution involved in the transaction if

the institution was designated;

(B) in the way the Secretary prescribes when the

institution was not designated; or

(C) with the Secretary.

(2) The Secretary shall prescribe—

(A) the filing procedure for a domestic financial

institution designated under subsection (b) of this section;

and

(B) the way the institution shall submit reports filed

with it.

15 U.S.C. 78aq states:

(a)(1) Every national securities exchange, member

thereof, broker or dealer who transacts a business in secur-

ities through the medium of any such member, registered

securities association, registered securities information

processor, registered transfer agent, and registered clear-

ing agency and the Municipal Securities Rule-making

Board shall make and keep for prescribed periods such

records, furnish such copies thereof, and make and dis-

seminate such reports as the Commission, by rule,

prescribes as necessary or appropriate in the public inter-

est, for the protection of investors, or otherwise in further-

ance of the purposes of this chapter.

(2) Every registered clearing agency shall also make and

keep for prescribed periods such records, furnish such cop-

ies thereof, and make and disseminate such reports, as the

appropriate regulatory agency for such clearing agency,

by rule, prescribes as necessary or appropriate for the

safeguarding of securities and funds in the custody or

control of such clearing agency or for which it is

responsible.

ESTE

5

(3) Every registered transfer agent shall also make and

keep for prescribed periods such records, furnish such cop-

ies thereof, and make such reports as the appropriate regu-

latory agency for such transfer agent, by rule, prescribed

as necessary or appropriate in furtherance of the purposes

of section 78a-1 of this title.

Rule 23(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure states:

“Juries shall be of 12 but at any time before verdict the

parties may stipulate in writing with the approval of the

Court that the jury shall consist of any number less than

12 or that a valid verdict may be returned by a jury of less

than 12 should the Court find it necessary to excuse one or

more jurors for any just cause after trial commences. Even

absent such stipulation, if the Court finds it necessary to

excuse a juror for just cause after the jury has retired to

consider its verdict, in the discretion of the Court a valid

verdict may be returned by the remaining 11 jurors.”

12 CFR 210.2(e) states:

(e) “Cash item” means:

(1) A check other than one classified as a noncash

item under this section;

(2) Any other item payable on demand and collecti-

ble at par that the Reserve Bank of the District in which

the item is payable is willing to accept as a cash item.

31 CFR 32!.1(a) states:

“Cash payment means payment in currency, by check, or

by credit to a checking, savings or share account.”

31 CFR 103.22 states:

(a)(1) Each financial institution other than a casino

shall file a report of each deposit, withdrawal, exchange of

currency or other payment or transfer, by, through, or to

such financial institution which involves a transaction in

currency of more than $10,000. Multiple currency trans-

actions shall be treated as a single transaction if the finan-

cial institution has knowledge that they are by or on behalf

of any person and result in either cash in or cash out

————

6

totalling more than $10,000 during any one business day.

Deposits made at night or over a weekend or holiday shall

be treated as if received on the next business day following

the deposit.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Gary Eder, a Senior Vice-President at the mid-town Manhat-

tan branch of Paine, Webber was a successful stock broker. In

1981, he earned $720,000; in 1982, he reached the one million

dollar mark, and topped off in 1986 earning $2,600,000. Appar-

ently one of the reasons for Eder’s success was his willingness to

structure cash deposits from his clients in such a way as to avoid

triggering the filing of a currency transaction report (CTR).

Although the indictment in the case at bar commenced June

14, 1982, it was stipulated that Petitioner did not become affli-

ated with Paine, Webber as the branch manager’ at Eder’s branch

until March 24, 1984.

The testimony at Petitioner’s jury trial, viewed in the light most

favorable to the Government revealed that Petitioner’s predeces-

sors, at the urging and direction of Gary Eder, who testified under

a cooperation agreement with the Government, revealed that

customer cash deposits were split up, and delayed to avoid trig-

gering the CTR requirement. In addition, Eder also engaged in

the practice of “miscoding” deposits. A deposit was miscoded

when cash was received, but in the records sent to the downtown

office, the customer’s payment was listed as a check. However,

the bank deposit slips accurately reflected the deposit into Paine,

Webber’s account as a “cash” deposit, and the records reflected

cash. Only the customer statement listed the-deposit as being in

“check” form.

The testimony at trial revealed that some 16 months after

becoming branch manager on perhaps two occasions in October,

1985, Eder gave Petitioner cash with directions to see that the

cash blotter reflected the payments as “checks”. In early 1985,

|. The position of branch manager involves overseeing the cashier's and

margin areas, and supervising the back office emplovees.

Eder discussed two customer accounts, the Angerman and Hir-

schenbaum accounts with Petitioner. Eder was told that Peti-

tioner was holding $200 so as not to exceed what he believed was

the operative $10,000 reporting requirement. A\ll of the afore-

mentioned customer accounts were introduced in evidence.

None reflected a breach of the CTR requirement. The only proof

of Petitioner’s conduct came from a Paine, Webber margin clerk

Carmine Natale who testified that in the Autumn of 1986, he

learned that one of Eder’s customers delivered in excess of

$10,000. Petitioner allegedly took the cash and gave Natale less

than $10,000 to be deposited. No records reflecting this alleged

occurrence were, however, introduced.

Eder’s testimony also reflected that there came a point when he

determined that it would be better if the branch’s daily cash

summaries for the period 1981-1983 were destroyed. Petitioner

assisted Eder in removing these files from the Paine, Webber

branch.

While it is true that there was a newspaper account of the entry

of a guilty plea of one of Eder’s garment district customer’s Irwin

Finer, the proof at trial failed to establish that there was an actual

Grand Jury in the Southern District of New York seeking the

documents which Eder and Petitioner disposed of. Rather, the

stipulation which was read to the jury stated that at the time this

conduct occurred, the Grand Jury subpoenas in question (Govt.’s

Exh. 220, 221 and 223) were issued, a duly empanelled Grand

Jury in the Southern District was conducting an inquiry into

alleged violations of United States law. There was no further

showing what that inquiry involved.

After the Government rested Petitioner rested calling substan-

tive witnesses, and character witnesses. The Court charged the

jury on the applicable law, but refused to give a specific intent

charge with respect to the obstruction case as requested by Peti-

tioner’s trial counsel.

After the case went to the jury, during the course of its deliber-

ations, one of the jurors telephoned the courtroom clerk that due

to a high blood pressure condition he was unable to come to Court

that morning. Over the objection of both defense counsel, and

without waiting to ascertain when the juror could return, the

Court summarily discharged the juror and a verdict of guilty by

an 11 person jury was ultimately returned.

On December 4, 1987, Petitioner was sentenced to serve a term

of five years probation and perform community service.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

The Evidence Was Legally Insufficient To Sustain Petitioner’s

Conviction For Conspiracy To Violate The Currency Reporting

Statute.

31 U.S.C. 5313 and the related regulations enacted thereunder

(e.g. 31 CFR 103.22(a)) require financial institutions’ to report

currency transactions in excess of $10,000. As with any statu-

tory scheme, there are loopholes and methods which enterprising

individuals have devised to avoid triggering the financial report-

ing requirement. This case presents this Court with the opportu-

nity to determine whether the engagement in the structuring of

cash deposits, a practice not specifically proscribed by statute or

Second Circuit opinion when performed, provides a basis for the

use of the federal conspiracy statute to convict a salaried office

manager.

Thus in United States v. Anzalone, 766 F.2d 676, 680-683 (Ist

Cir. 1985) the purchase of multiple bank checks in order to

“structure” deposits into a stock brokerage concern in order to

pay for bonds purchased to the account of the wife and mother of

a public official. This structuring conduct, purposeful though it

clearly was, did not violate the law.

In United States v. Larson, 796 F.2d 244, 246 (8th Cir. 1986),

a unanimous Eight Circuit Court of Appeals reversed Appellant’s

condition based upon his engaging in structuring activities to

SY

2. The secretary cleariy could have drafted 31 CFR 103.22 to cover both the

financial institution and other participants in a subject transaction (see Califor-

nia Bankers v. Schultz, 416 U.S. 21, 58, 69-70 n. 29: 94. S.Ct.1494, 1516, 1521

[1974] ).

9

mask the cash nature of a $44,500 transaction. The Court held

that the reporting statute imposed no duty, and Larson breached

none, in structuring as he did.

Similarly, in United States v. Espriella, 781 F.2d 1432, 1435

[9th Cir. 1986] the Court, once again in the context or narcotics

generated moneys, reversed both substantive and “371” conspira-

cies where structuring to avoid the $10,000 threshold were

engaged in.

Finally, in United States v. Gimbel, 830 F.2d 621 [7th Cir.

1987] a unanimous Seventh Circuit reversed an attorney’s con-

viction predicated upon his structuring of certain large deposits

and withdrawals so that First Bank Milwaukee would fail to issue

a CTR in connection with these transactions.

There is, concededly a conflict amongst the Circuits in this

area. In United States v. Heyman, 794 F.2d 788 [2nd Cir.

1986], cert. den. 107 S.Ct. 585 (1987) the Second Circuit upheld

the conviction of a Merril-Lynch employee who both opened up,

and deposited less than $10,000 into these new accounts. Thus it

was, we submit both the artificial creation of new Merril-Lynch

accounts and his artificial depositing’ into these accounts that

created liability under 31 U.S.C. 5311 et. seq. for Heyman.

In United States v. Nersesian, 824 F.2d 1294, 1310-1315 [2nd

Cir. 1987] the Court of Appeals dealt for the first time with the

application of the general conspiracy statute (18 U.S.C. 371) to

the conduct of Appellant Muktabi who utilized moneys generated

by narcotics dealing to purchase money orders for deposit, and

thereby avoid triggering the issuance of aCTR. It is based upon

this use of the conspiracy statute that Petitioner was convicted

under Count 1.

in reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence we concede, as we

must, that the evidence must be reviewed in the light most

favorable to the Government (Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S.

60, 80 [1942]). Nonetheless, the evidence must show that Peti-

tioner knowingly joined the conspiracy. What is required is actual

3. [It was Heyman who received the funds directly from the clients. In the

case at bar Fahmy did not have client contact and only received the money by

virtue of Paine-Webber’s chain of command.

10

proof of anagreement. The proof at trial, we respectfully submit

demonstrates something far less.

It is unquestioned that Gary Eder was involved in structuring

transactions on behalf of his Paine, Webber customers from at

least June 14, 1982, until December, 1986. However, Petitioner

did not become “operations manager” at the Paine-Webber

branch in question until March, 1984. It took some 16 months

before he supposedly engaged in structuring type conduct in con-

nection with the Angerman and Hirschenbaum brokerage

accounts. We dispute that there was any competent or documen-

tary proof that Petitioner ever engaged in conduct which pre-

vented Paine- Webber, if it felt so inclined, to issuea CTR. Weso

contend because there was no proof that the apparent withholding

of $200 by Petitioner prevented a CTR from being properly

issued.

More specifically we note that the sole evidence on this score

relates to Eder’s sketchy recollection of a conversation with Peti-

tioner relating to deposits into the Angerman, Hirschenbaum

accounts and the remark that Fahmy was “holding” $200 on each

account to avoid triggering the CTR requirement.‘ A review of

these account records shows however that the setting aside, or

withholding of this sum did not prevent a CTR from being filed by

Paine, Webber.°

The mere fact that one engages in conduct which assists others

to violate the law does not support the conclusion that they

thereby become members of a charged conspiracy. Rather, there

must be proof that there was an agreement reached reflecting a

meeting of the minds (United States v. Rosenbaltt, 554 F.2d 36,

38 [2nd Cir. 1977]). Put another way, not all associational

conduct taken together is sufficient to implicate one as a co-

-—-—

conspirator (United States v. DiStefano, 555 F.2d 1094 [2nd

4. This must be viewed against the backdrop of the Government's conces-

sion that June, 1984, was the last time when Eder received more than $10.000 at

one time (316) and the inability of the cashier Carmine Natalie to point to

transactions reflecting a breach of the reporting requirements ( 754-755).

S. Fahmy’s remark was based upon his erroneous belief that a CTR was

required to be fled if $10.000 was received in a 7 dav period. In fact. the

$10,000 threshold is a daily requirement not weekly.

11

Cir. 1977]; United States v. Soto, 716 F.2d 989 [2nd Cir. 1983];

United States v. Penagos, 823 F.2d 346 [9th Cir. 1987] ).

The fact that a defendant may believe he has acted in a particu-

lar way is not proof that in the complex world of financial depos-

its, that he has done so. The fact that Petitioner erroneously

thought he had violated the law, when in truth, he had not,

militates against a finding of membership in a conspiratory—the

charged object of which is to prevent one’s employer from issuing

a CTR.

Finally, we question whether it can truly be said that Petitioner

was On notice that the structuring of transactions was unlawful.’

Had Petitioner been assigned to a Paine, Webber branch located

in the geographic confine of the First, Seventh or Ninth Circuits,

he would not be Petitioning this Court today by virtue of the

decisions referred to at the beginning of this point. Indeed, up

through at least as early as March, 1985, Judge Whitman

Knapp’s opinion in United States v. Goldberg, 587 F.2d 302

[S.D.N.Y. 5/21/84] rev'd 756 F.2d 949 [2nd Cir. 3/6/85]

upheld the practice of structuring at least in New York City.

Indeed it was not until the Summer of 1986, when Judge Kauf-

man’s opinion in United States v. Heyman, supra, was released

that the law in this Circuit prohibiting the practice of structuring

transactions’ was articulated.

Mindful that the criminal law may only penalize conduct

which Defendant’s have clear notice of, it cannot we respectfully

submit, be said that Petitioner could be said to be on notice of

what structuring practice the currency laws did not permit partic-

ularly where CFR requirements and not United States Code

provisions are implicated. To hold him accountable under such

clouded circumstances is contrary to accepted notions of fair

6. The practice of structuring cash transactions was not explicitly rendered

unlawful by the congress until the enactment of the Money Laundering Control

Act of 1986, P.L. 99-570.

7. Neither the statute nor CFR provision in question specifically mention

structuring as a prohibited practice.

12

notice® and reduces the enforcement of the criminal law to a trap

for the unwary (c.f. United States v. Critzer, 49 8 F.2d 1160,

1162 [4th Cir. 1974]; United States v. Dahlstrom, 713 F.2d

1423, 1426-1429 [9th Cir. 1983] cert. den. 466 U.S. 980 [1984];

United States v. Risk,’ 672 F.Supp. 346, 357 [S.D. Ind. 1987]

aff'd 843 F.2d 1059, 1062 [7th Cir. 1988 per Bauer, C.J.]; United

States v. Tana, 618 F.Supp. 1393, 1395 [S.D.N.Y. 1985]; United

States v. Lee, 667 F.Supp. 1410-1404 [D. Col. 1987]). We call

upon this Court to grant this petition to reconcile this clear

conflict between the Courts. It is, we respectfully submit,

unseemly to have one’s criminal exposure turn upon the happen-

stance of where he works or lives.

The second alleged improper record creation activity forming

the basis of the conspiracy charged related to the alleged miscod-

ing of Paine, Webber “blotter records” to record cash received as

checks. The fact of course was that the records which went down

to Paine, Webber’s central record center, coupled with the actual

and completely accurate bank deposit slips, and further subse-

quently supplemented by the monthly bank statements, were not

miscoded. Rather, the miscoding such as it existed was in actual-

ity a “financial placebo” which merely carried an inaccurate

description of a given deposit on the customer’s monthly state-

ment. The “hard copy” downtown, accurately reflected the

actual nature of payment received up at Eder’s branch.

17 CFR 240.17a-3 by definition defines “cash” as consisting of

both “currency” and “checks”. The mere fact that Paine, Web-

ber as a matter of internal business policy may have instituted a

procedure to have a blotter notation made differentiating between

currency and check deposits, which concededly was breached in

8. See eg.. Lanzetta v. Umted States, 306 US. 451, 453 [1939]:

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 4 08 U.S. 156, 92 S.Ct. 339 ; Colauti v

Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 99 8.Ct. 6075 [1979]).

9. District Judge Barker's cpimion dealing specifically with the impact of

conflicting case law is, we respectfully submit, particulariy pertinent to Peti-

nooner’s case. [f judges of the Court of Appeals and District Court disagree over

shat methods may or may not trigger a CTR what type of real guidance does

this provide for George Fahmy from Bergen Beach :n Brooklyn to guide his

.

“AReaner

wes Uke

13

the case at bar, does not support a violation of the record-keeping

act.

Our research does not reveal a criminal case from this Court

dealing with what type of specificity must be achieved in order to

conform statutorily (c.f. United States v. Sloan,’° 389 F.Supp.

526 [S.D.N.Y. 1976] ). Under these circumstances to bottom a

conspiracy charge upon a claim of “miscoding”, in the face of

proof that the coding practices in the cashier’s cage were in

conformity with 17 CFR 240.17a-3 and hence were literally true

(Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352, 93 S.Ct. 595) is

improper, and unacceptable.

Ata time when the volume of customer transactions is high, the

securities industry requires specific guidance from this Court in

order to ascertain the demarcation point between careless record

keeping and criminal exposure, and the specific type of brokerage

house records which fall within the ambit of criminal prosecution.

II.

The Trial Court Erred And Denied Petitioner A Fair Trial By

Discharging A Juror During Deliberations And Requiring The

Rendition Of A Verdict By An 11 Member Jury Over Strenuous

Defense Objections In Violation Of The Requirements Of Rule

23(b) Of The Rules Of Criminal Procedure.

Petitioner’s trial was not a long one. The testimony went in

over the course of six days. It was, against this backdrop, and the

requirements of Rule 23(b) of the Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure that Judge Cannella’s decision to discharge a juror,

during the course of deliberation, must be reviewed.

10. In Sloan a record keeping conviction was sustained where records were

not kept because they were false. In this case there is no contention that the

total of receivables at the Paine, Webber cashier's cage was overstated or mis-

totaled. Rather the manner of internal apportionment is the crux of the Gov-

ernment’s miscoding claim.

14

As the notes of the Advisory Committee on Rules which

drafted Rule 23(b) noted at the time the Rule was adopted, that

the Rule:

“(A]ddresses a situation which does not occur with great

frequency but which, when it does occur, may present a

most difficult issue concerning the fair and efficient admin-

istration of justice. This situation is that in which, after

the jury has retired to consider its verdict and any alter-

nate jurors have been discharged one of the jurors is seri-

ously incapacitated or otLerwise found to be unable to

continue service on the jury. The problem is acute when

the trial has been a lengthy one and con-sequently ihe

remedy of mistrial would necessitate a second expenditure

of substantial prosecution, defense and court resources.”

Mindful that proceeding to a verdict in a federal felony case

with a jury of less than 12 persons is at variance with common

law, the use of Rule 23(b) for non-consentual |! person juries

was clearly not intended to be effectuated lightly. Indeed, the

experience of the misi prius courts bears this posture, and the

preference for |2 person juries out.

In United States v. Gambino, 598 F Supp. 646, 658 [D.N_J.

1984], Judge Lacey was confronted with a multi-defendant nar-

cotics case which encompassed some six weeks of trial testimony.

At the time the juror Mr. Ojada was disqualified,”’ the jury had

deliberated for some 20 hours. All of the attorneys except one

agreed under these circumstances to accept an 11 jury verdict.

The Defendant most directly affected did not want the court to

declare a mistrial. Under such circumstances, the District Court

understandabiy found the existance of factors sufficient to apply

Rule 23(b) even in the absence of consent from all parties.

In Umted States v. Smith, 619 F.Supp. 1441, 1451 [W_D. Pa.

i988] the applicability of Rule 23(b) arose in the context of a

three month trial involving a 16 count indictment charging public

corruption (mail fraud, travel act) in Allegheny County, Penn-

svivamia. The jury was already on the morning of the fourth day

-

x a e . ‘ .

ine uror “as removed ‘or 2 reason Other than 32 heaith prodiem or

"CAs

15

of its deliberations when a sitting juror suffered very serious

injuries as a result of an automobile accident which rendered

participation in jury deliberations impossible, not merely for a

matter of a few days, but rather several months. Under these

circumstances, Judge Muir, we submit, followed the spirit of Rule

23(b) and directed the jury to continue to deliberate to verdict.

Concededly, when the Court of Appeals had occasion in United

States v. Stratton, 779 F.2d 820, 830 (2nd Cir. 1985) cert. den.

106 S.Ct. 2285 [1986] to apply the Rule, it chose not to reverse

the conviction where an 11 person jury rendered the verdict. As

with any appeal dealing with the application of Rule 23(b) the

varied nature of problems which trial judges must cope impacts

upon whether it can be said that discretion has been abused. It

must, we submit, be fairly noted that the trial judge was con-

fronted by a 4% day hiatus, during deliberation following a

lengthy trial prompted by a juror’s unavailability due to religious

observances.

We do not contend that a trial judge is powerless to utilize Rule

23(b) where unequivocal” unavailability for a period of 4% days.

However, in the case at bar the Court never, we submit, ascer-

tained whether the juror’s health problem was permanent or tem-

porary—nor if temporary when the juror could be expected to

resume participation in the verdict rendering process.

Were the record on this subject capable of supporting a judicial

choice between temporary delay or judicially declared mistrial

versus a re-trial of a relative short case, this Court might well be

inclined to accept Judge Cannella’s determination. However,

the record is all too clear that he failed to both properly ascertain,

and balance the nature and permanence of the delay occasioned

versus the length of trial. The Court simply. and we submit

impetuously, permitted extra-judicial concerns to distort the neu-

tral application of the Rule 23(b) balancing test.

Under such circumstances we believe discretion was abused, a

valuable juror was expelled, and Petitioner had a verdict entered

by a body 1/12 of its expected size. Unless this Court believes

5S

12. Due to the length of the religious high holiday

16

that “convenience” and “expedition” constitute “good cause”, the

writ should be granted to permit this Court to provide guidance

for the application of Rule 23(b).

The Evidence At Trial Was Legally Insufficient To Demonstrate

The Existence Of A Grand Jury Probing Currency Reporting

Compliance At Paine Webber.

Petitioner was charged in Count 2 of the indictment with

obstructing justice in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1503 in connection

with his role is assisting Gary Eder remove Paine, Webber daily

cash summary folders. Where, as here, the contention is that the

destruction of documents was calculated to deprive the Grand

Jury of evidence, the Government must still establish that a par-

ticular Grand Jury was actually impanelled and inquiring into

matters about which the documents in question directly related

( United States v. Solow, 138 F.Supp. 812, 816 [S.D.N.Y. 1956,

per Weinfeld, J.]) as a pre-requisite to conviction.

This follows since the mere act of disposing of the files in

question, putting aside questions of ethics and morality, does not

vwlate section 1803. Rather two kev factual elements must be

competently established

1. the existence of a pending judicial or Grand Jury

investigation,

>. Defendant's knowledge of the existence of the judicial pro-

ceeding or Grand Jury investigation:”

3. intentional engagement in conduct reasonabiy calculated

to deprive the Court or Grand Jury of testimony or physical

. ‘sae

os a a

See e.g. l uted Siutes v. Capo. “9!

- eee

.

17

At the point in time when the Government rested its case there

was, we respectfully submit clearly insufficient evidence in the

trial record to establish a prima facie violation of Section 1503.

There was no proof that Petitioner knew that the documents he

assisted Eder in removing from the premises were called for by

Grand Jury subpoena and were to be disposed of (see United

States v. Williams, 470 F.2d 1339, 1341-42 [8th Cir. 1973] ).

The fact that the files which Gary Eder disposed of would, with

the benefit of hindsight have assisted a Grand Jury investigation

is not, we respectfully submit, dispositive. Rather, there must be

proof that Petitioner assisted Gary Eder with the mens rea called

for in Section 1503 knowing that a Grand Jury panel was actually

probing matters related to these files.

Because we submit that there was no such evidence in the trial

record, we submit, that the judgment appealed from must be

modified by dismissing Count 2. At the very least, this Court

should grant the Writ of Certiorari to definitively speak to the

modicum of proof necessary to establish a violation of Section

1503.

IV.

The Trial Court’s Omission Of Specific Intent Language In Its

Charge In Connection With Count Two And The Court’s Instruc-

tion Concerning The Records Subject To Miscoding Were Errone-

ous And Lessened The Government’s Burden Of Proof Denying

Petitioner A Fair Trial.

Prior to summation a “charge conference” was held to review

the request to charge of the respective parties. Petitioner's trial

counsel stressed the importance of instructing the jury upon the

Government's obligation to competently establish that Fahmy

acted with the specific intent to obstruct the due administration of

18

justice (T: 1061-1068; A-343-350). This request was memorial-

ized in Defendant’s request to charge #37."

During the course of its charge, Judge Cannella did instruct the

jury on the need to find specific intent, but when it came time to

instruct with regard to the intent requirement, the Court charged

the jury that it need only find corrupt intent. There is, we

respectfully submit a distinction between what a iay jury may

view and find to be corrupt, and conduct which is engaged in with

specific intent to obstruct the due administration of justice.

That Defendant’s request #37 was a correct request is beyond

cavil (see United States v. Moon, 718 F.2d 1210, 1236 [2nd Cir.

1983]; Pettibone v. United States, 148 U.S. 197, 13 S.Ct. 542

[1893]). Violations of Sec. 1503 require proof of a specific

intent to obstruct justice (United. States v. Ryan, 455 F.2d 728,

734-35 [9th Cir. 1971]; United States v. Carleo, 576 F.2d 846,

849 [10th Cir. 1978]). Nor can it be gainsaid that counsel

called to Judge Cannella’s attention his failure to so charge at the

appropriate point following the completion of the rendition of the

Court’s charge (A-300). .

Mindful that a defendant has an absolute to have the trial court

instruct the jury upon its theory of defense Barnes v. Jones, 665

F.2d 427, 435 [2nd Cir. 1981]; United States v. Williams, 728

F.2d 1402, 1404 [llth Cir. 1984] rev’d other grds 103 S.Ct.

3308. We submit that the trial court’s omission of a vital intent

requirement cannot be brushed off as mere harmless error (e.g.,

14. Request +37 states:

Specific Intent—The crime of obstruction of justice is a serious crime

which requires proof of specific intent before the defendant can be con-

victed. Specific intent, as the term implies, means more than the general

intent to commit the act. To establish specific intent the government

must prove that the defendant knowingly did an act which the law

forbids, purposefully intending to violate the law. Such intent may be

determined from all the facts and circumstances surrounding the case.

An act is “knowingly done”, if done voluntarily and intentionally, and not

because of mistake or accident or other innocent reason.

E. Devitt and C. Blackmar, Federal Jury Practice and Instructions, Sec.

14.03.

19

United States v. Lane, 474 U.S. 438, 106 S.Ct. 725 [1986];

Satterwhite v. Texas, US. [No. 86-6284] ).

In addition, the Court was obliged to instruct the jury on the

nature and duty of the brokerage house records which were the

subject of the miscoding charge alleged as an object of the con-

spiracy charged in Count I. In this regard the jury was told:

“[{I] instruct you it does not matter whether or not Paine,

Webber was required to distinguish in its records between

cash payments by customers and check — by

customers.

As long as Paine, Webber’s practice was to distinguish

between cash payments and check payments, it is illegal

for someone to cause Paine, Webber to record that infor-

mation inaccurately, to so-call miscode it.” (1047; A-

329).

. This instruction essentially parrotted Government request to

charge #8.

Under this charge a jury could find that an accused violated a

federal penal statute for preparing or causing the preparation of a

document or mere internal record peculiar to a particular broker-

age house (c.f. Sinclair v. United States, 444 F.2d 399 [2nd Cir.

1971]). - We respectively submit that there is more than some-

thing contrary to accepted notions of law to permit a violation of a

record keeping section (e.g. 15 U.S.C. 78q without specifying

what type of records must be kept and maintained under the

penalty of perjury.

Only the Congress has the power, we respectfully submit, to

enact penal statutes. Under the Court’s charge to this jury a

conviction was allowed to be returned in connection with a type of

record neither required to be kept nor which many institutions

may notin fact keep. Accordingly, the consequence is that under

Judge Cannella’s charge it was in actuality Paine, Webber which

has written the statute, to permit a conviction under such circum-

stances is, we submit, erroneous and a violation of Petitioner’s due

process rights. At the very least this Court should grant the Writ

of Certiorari to explore the due process consideration of an elastic

20

intermediate appellate holding which in effect allows brokerage

houses, and not the duly elected Congress of the United States to

write the federal black letter criminal law. Such an implicit

delegation of power raises serious constitutional concerns and, we

respectfully submit, requires review by this Court.

CONCLUSION

The Petition For A W-it Of Certiorari Should Be Granted.

Dated: New York, New York

June 10, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

ROGER BENNET ALDER, P.C.

Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway

New York, New York 10007

(212) 406-0181

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

_

United States of America

—against—

JOSEPH P. TOTA AND

GEORGE B. FAHMY,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

§§ 87 Cr. 273

CANNELLA, D.J.:

Defendants’ motion to dismiss the indictment is denied. Fed.

R. Crim. P. 12(b).

BACKGROUND

On April 2, 1987, Joseph P. Tota and George B. Fahmy, former

employees of the brokerage firm of Paine, Webber, Jackson &

Curtis (“Paine, Webber”), were named in a two-count indict-

ment alleging conspiracy to defraud the United States and

obstruction of justice. These charges stemmed from defendants’

activities as branch manager and operations manager, respec-

tively, of Paine, Webber branch office in midtown Manhattan.

Superceding indictments were returned on May 12 and July 7.

Tota began working as branch manager in June 1982. Fahmy

began working as operations manager at the same branch office in

March 1984. Gary Eder was a broker in the branch office and is

named in the indictment as a conspirator, along with Tota and

Fahmy. On March 19, 1987, Eder pled guilty before Judge

Edmund L. Palmieri to one count of conspiring to defraud the

United States, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371, and to one count of

willfully causing Paine, Webber to fail to make and maintain

2a

certain financial records, in violation of 15 U.S.C. § 78q(a).

United States v. Eder, 87 Cr. 196 (ELP).

The indictment describes a scheme whereby Eder received

lump-sum cash payments from Paine, Webber customers, in

amounts up to $72,000, for deposit into their accounts. Eder

then broke down the payments into sums of less than $10,000 for

(1; deposit into a customer’s account on different days; (2)

deposit on the same day into different accounts controlled by the

same customer; and (3) purchase of bank checks in an amount

less than $10,000 for deposit, along with cash into a customer’s

account. As discussed more fully below, the indictment alleges

that Eder, Tota and Fahmy conspired to “structure” these trans-

actions in order to circumvent federal statutes and regulations

requiring financial institutions to file reports of currency transac-.

tions, involving more than $10,000. Tota and Fahmy are also

charged with conspiring with Eder to aid and abet violations of

the reporting statutes by Paine, Webber.

DISCUSSION

A. The Indictment and Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

Count one of the indictment alleges a conspiracy to defraud the

United States, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371. The conspiracy

allegedly had five objects: (1) to defraud the United States by

impeding, impairing, obstructing and defeating the Government’s

efforts to collect data on currency transactions, Indictment { 5;

(2) to cause Paine, Webber to fail to file reports of currency and

other payments and transfers through and to such financial insti-

tution, involving a transaction in currency of more than $10,000,

as part of a pattern of transactions involving more than $100,000

in a 12-month period, in violation of 31 U.S.C. § 5313(a) and

regulations promulgated thereunder, 31 C.F.R. § 103.22, id. 1 6;

(3) to cause Paine, Webber to fail to file reports of deposits of

currency and other payments and transfers through and to such

financial institution, involving a transaction in currency of more

than $10,000, also in violation of 31 U.S.C. §5313(a) and 31

C.F.R. § 103.22, id. 17; (4) to cause Paine, Webber to fail to

3a

make and keep certain records of financial transactions, in viola-

tion of 15 U.S.C. § 78q(a) and 17 C.F.R. §§ 240.17a-3, 240.17a-

4 and 240.17a-8, id. 18; and (5) to obstruct justice by destroying

certain records during a grand jury investigation, in violation of

18 U.S.C. §1503, id. 19. Count two of the indictment charges

obstruction of justice in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1503 and 18

U.S.C. § 2.'

Tota moves to dismiss the entire indictment, claiming that (1)

the conspiracy count does not charge a crime under 31 U.S.C.

§ 5313, or in the alternative, that § 5313 is unconstitutional as

applied to defendants; (2) the securities record-keeping object of

the conspiracy count must be dismissed because Paine, Webber

was not required to keep the information allegedly falsified; and

(3) the obstruction of justice object of the conspiracy count and

the substantive obstruction of justice charge in count two are

legally insufficient. Fahmy joins in the motion, except with

respect to the obstruction of justice allegations in both counts.

B. The Currency Transaction Reporting Requirements

The Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting Act, 31

U.S.C. §§ 5311-5322 [“the Act”], requires domestic financial

institutions to make and maintain “certain reports or records

[which] have a high degree of usefulness in criminal tax, or

regulatory investigations or proceedings.” /d. §5311. Section

5313(a) of the Act provides: «

When a domestic financial institution is involved in a

transaction for the payment, receipt, or transfer of United

States coins or currency ... in an amount, denomination,

or ... under any circumstances the Secretary prescribes

by regulation, the institution and any other participant in

1. 18 U.S.C. § 2 provides:

(a) Whoever commits an offense against the United States or aids,

abets, counsels, commands, induces or procures its commission, is punisha-

ble as a principal.

(b) Whoever willfully causes an act to be done which if directly per-

formed by him or another would be an offense against the United States, is

punishable as a principal.

4a

the transactions the Secretary may prescribe shall file a

report on the transaction at the time and in the way the

Secretary prescribes.

31 U.S.C. § 5313(a). Criminal penalties for wiliful violations of

the statute and regulations promulgated thereunder are set forth

in 31 U.S.C. § 5322.

Pursuant to the above grant of authority, the Treasury Depart-

ment issued the following regulation:

Each financial institution shall file a report of each

deposit, withdrawal, exchange of currency or other pay-

ment or transfer, by, through, or to such financial institu-

tion, which involves a transaction in currency of more than

$10,000.

31 C.F.R. § 103.22(a) (1984).

Treasury regulations define a “transaction in currency” to be a

“transaction involving the physical transfer of currency from one

person to another.” Jd. § 103.11. The report called for in the

regulations is known as a “Form 4789, Currency Transaction

Report” [“CTR”]. It is well established that only financial insti-

tutions are required to file CTRs for transactions involving more

than $10,000. See California Bankers Ass’n v. Shultz, 416 U.S.

21, 58 (1974).

C. Defendants’ Challenge to the Reporting Requirements

Defendants challenge the legal sufficiency of the CTR-related

objects of the conspiracy count on two grounds. First, they argue

that they may not be charged with conspiring to cause Paine,

Webber to fail to file CTRs because Paine, Webber was under no

duty to file CTRs for the type of “structured” transactions alleged

in the indictment. Second, defendants argue that even if Paine,

Webber was required to file CTRs for the transactions, the report-

ing statutes are unconstitutional as applied because they did not

give fair notice that structuring transactions in the manner

alleged was unlawful.

Sa

1. Structured Transactions Under the Act

Defendants first argue that the CTR-related objects in the

indictment’s conspiracy count are legally insufficient because 31

U.S.C. § 5313 does not specifically prohibit the type of “struc-

tured” transactions alleged to have taken place. Defendants con-

tend that Paine, Webber was never under any legal obligations to

file CTRs because no “deposit” to a Paine, Webber customer’s

account ever exceeded $10,000 in a single day. See Memoran-

dum of Law In Support of Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss the

Indictment at 11-16, 87 Cr. 273 (JMC) (S.D.N.Y. June 19,

1987) [“Defendant’s Memorandum”]. The thrust of their argu-

ment is that structuring transactions, so that the total deposit to a

customer’s account in a single day is less than $10,000, is not

prohibited by the Act.

In support of this argument, defendants rely upon a series of

decisions in the First, Eighth and Nine Circuits in which convic-

tions of bank customers for violating 31 U.S.C. § 5313, were

reversed. See, e.g., United States v. Larson, 796 F.2d 244, 246

(8th Cir. 1986); United States v. Dela Espriella, 781 F.2d 1432,

1435 (9th Cir. 1986); United States v. Varbel, 780 F.2d 758, 760-

63 (9th Cir. 1986); United States v. Anzalone, 766 F.2d 676,

680-83 (1st Cir. 1985); see also United States v. Gimbel, No. 86-

1808, slip op. at 8 (7th Cir. Aug. 6, 1987). Defendants acknowl-

edge, however, that several other circuits have upheld the applica-

tion of § 5313 to individuals, if they willfully structured their

transactions so as to cause the financial institution to fail to file

the appropriate CTR. See, e.g., United States v. Giancola, 783

F.2d 1549, 1551-52 (11th Cir.), rehg. denied, 797 F.2d 982 (en

banc), cert. denied, denied, 107 S. Ct. 669 (1986); United States

v. Cook, 745 F.2d 1311, 1315 (10th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 105

S. Ct. 1205 (1985) United States v. Puerto, 730 F.2d 627, 632-33

(llth Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 162 (1985); United

States v. Tobon-Builes, 706 F.2d 1092, 1098-99 (11th Cir. 1983)

(customer); United States v. Thompson, 603 F.2d 1200, 1203-04

(5th Cir. 1979); United States v. Shearson, Lehman Bros., Inc.,

650 F. Supp. 490, 493-98 (E.D. Pa. 1986) (customers of banks

6a

and employees of brokerage firm); United States v. Richter, 610

F. Supp. 480, 487-90 (D.C. Ill. 1985), afd sub nom. United

States v. Konstantinov, 793 F.2d 1296 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,

107 S. Ct. 191 (1986) (customers); United States v. Konefal,

566 F. Supp. 698, 701-02 (N.D.N.Y. 1983) (customers).

In the Second Circuit, an individual, although under no legal

duty himself to file a CTR, nevertheless can be held criminally

liable for willfully causing a financial institution to fail to file a

currency report which it has a legal duty to file. See United

States v. Heyman, 794 F.2d 788 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107

S. Ct. 585 (1987); see also United States v. Nersesian, No. 86-

1211, slip op. at 4092 (2d Cir. June 29, 1987).

Heyman involved a Merrill Lynch employee who received

lump-sums of cash from his customers in amounts exceeding

$10,000. He then structured the transactions by opening several

different accounts and making deposits of less than $10,000 into

each of them. In upholding Heyman’s conviction under 31

U.S.C. § 5313 and 18 U.S.C. § 2(b), for willfully causing Merrill

Lynch to fail to file the appropriate CTRs, the court stated that

“({hjad Merrill Lynch, a financial institution, structured the

transactions as Heyman did, it would have violated federal law.”

794 F.2d at 791.

This Court finds Heyman, rather than the cases cited by

defendants, dispositive. First, the Amzalone line of cases are

inapposite to the facts in this case. Essentially, these cases hold

that because bank customers are under no obligation to disclose

the nature of their own structured transactions, they may not be

prosecuted for causing a financial institution to fail to file the

appropriate CTRs. See, e.g., Anzalone, 766 F.2d at 682; Larson,

796 F.2d at 246. The Second Circuit in Heyman, however, has

specifically rejected this approach, stating that through the appli-

cation of 18 U.S.C. § 2, “any individual, including a customer,

may be held criminally liable for willfully causing a financial

institution to fail to file [required] CTRs.” 794 F.2d at 792; see

Nersesian, slip op. at 4095 (“Under 18 U.S.C. § 2(b), a bank

Ta

customer has a duty not to willfully cause a bank to violate [31

U.S.C. § 5313.”].

Furthermore the facts in Heyman are closely analogous to

those in the instant case. Heyman was not a customer, but an

employee of Merrill Lynch when he received cash sums from

Merrill Lynch customers in amounts exceeding $10,000. He

then structured each transaction by breaking up the payment and

making separate deposits during the Course of a single day, or by

opening new accounts and later transferring the funds into a pre-

existing account. In the instant case, the indictment alleges that

Eder received lump-sum cash amounts from Paine, Webber cus-

tomers in amounts ranging from $25,100 to $72.00. See Indict-

ment TT 10(a), 11(1), 11(4), 11(7). Eder then broke down the

lump-sum amount into smaller amounts of less than $10,000 and

either made deposits into the same account over the course of

several days, or made deposits on a single day into different

accounts controlled by the same person. Contrary to defendants’

assertions, see Defendants’ Memorandum at 24, the latter type of

structured transaction would appear to fall within the scope of

§ 5313. Heyman specifically stated that a financial institution

“would [be] required to file a CTR for cumulative deposits in a

single day.” 794 F.2d at 792. Thus, if a customer gives an

employee of a financial institution a lump-sum of cash exceeding

$10,000 in a single day, for deposit into several pre-existing

accounts all under the customer’s control, Heyman would appear

to indicate that the CTR filing requirement is triggered. See id.

Once again, the focus is on the initial exchange of funds between

a customer and the financial institution’s representative.

Defendants stress the fact that the structured transactions in

Heyman resulted in total, single day deposits which exceeded

$10,000. While it is true that several of the transactions in

Heyman were structured, and the smaller amounts deposited, in a

single day, it is far from clear that the structured transactions

alleged in the indictment are outside the scope of § 5313. As

stated above, in the Court's view, Heyman focused on the initial

exchange of funds between the Merrill Lynch customer and Hey-

man involving more than $10,000. Because the funds were des-

tined to be deposited in the customer’s Merrill Lynch account, the

CTR filing requirement was triggered. But for Heyman’s struc-

turing of the transaction for the purpose of evading the filing

requirement, Merrill Lynch would have filed the appropriate

CTR. Accordingly, Heyman caused Merrill Lynch to fail to file

the CTRs and was, therefore, subject to the criminal penalties

found in 31 U.S.C. § 5322.

The indictment here alleges that, on at least three occasions,

Eder received lump-sums of cash from a Paine, Webber customer

in excess of $10,000. These sums were then broken down and

deposited into the same account, or into different accounts con-

trolled by the same customer. Tota used part of the cash sums to

purchase bank checks which were deposited, along with the

remaining cash, into the customer’s account. Using Heymanasa

guide, the Court sees little difficulty in classifying the “physical

transfer of currency,” 31 C.F.R. § 103.11 (defining “transaction

in currency,”), from a Paine, Webber customer to Eder, on a

single occasion and in an amount exceeding $10,000, as a

“deposit, ... of currency or other payment or transfer, by,

through, or to [Paine, Webber], which involve[d] a transaction

in currency of more than $10,000.” 31 C.F.R. § 103.22(a).

Defendants also argue that a financial institution's duty to file a

CTR only arises when an actual “deposit” or credit is posted to a

customer’s account. See Defendant’s Memorandum at 25-30.

This argument is without merit. 31 C.F.R. § 103.22(a) requires

2. Defendants’ argument that only single day structured transactions can

form the basis for prosecution under § 5313 is further undermined by one of the

transactions which formed the basis for Heyman's prosecution. On one day,

Heyman received $19,000 from Henry and Carolyn Cohen. He then deposited

$9,500 into a pre-existing joint account and created a new account in the name

of Henry Cohen, into which he deposited the remaining $9.500. No CTR was

filed by Merrill Lynch. On the following day, Heyman transferred the $9,500

from Henry Cohen's account into the joint account, the “net effect being a

deposit of $19,000 into the joint Cohen account.” 794 F.2d at 790.3. Obvi-

ously, the court in Heyman considered this to be a single transaction represent-

ing the transfer of $19,000 from the Cohens into their joint account, despite the

structuring by Heyman that obviated the filing by Merrill Lynch of a CTR.

9a

a financial institution to file a CTR whenever “a deposit, with-

drawal, exchange of currency or other payment or transfer, by,

through, or to such financial institution, which involves a transac-

tion in currency of more than $10,000” is made (emphasis

added). Defendants ignore the underscored language and focus

exclusively on the term “deposit.” Although in a strict banking

sense, a “deposit” to a customer’s account may not be technically

complete until that account is actually credited, when a customer

of a financial institution delivers to an officer of that institution a

sum in excess of $10,000 for deposit into an account under his

control, a “payment or transfer, by, through, or to such financial

institution” has occurred. See United States v. Bank of New

England, N.A., 640 F. Supp. 36, 39 (D. Mass. 1986) (“No

amount of bankerly vocabulary, however, can conjure away the

regulations’ explicit equation of ‘transaction in,’ and ‘physical

transfer of,’ currency.”). Any other interpretation would enable

an employee of a financial institution to flout the CTR filing

requirements with impunity by acting as a “structuring” interme-

diary between a customer seeking to avoid detection of large cash

deposits and the financial institution itself, the latter of which is

under the legal duty to report such deposits.

2. Constitutionality

Defendants’ second argument regarding the CTR objects in the

conspiracy count is that, even assuming that Paine, Webber was

under a duty to file CTRs for the transactions alleged in the

indictment, the statutes and regulations are unconstitutional

because they fail to give adequate notice of the criminality of

structuring the transactions in the manner alleged. This same

argument was raised and rejected in Heyman, which stated that

“the requirement .. . that a defendant’s acts be ‘willfull’ provides

adequate protection for individuals who might unwillingly stum-

ble into a violation of federal law.” 794 F.2d at 792 (citing

Village of Hoffman Estates v. The Flipside, Hoffman Estates,

Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 499 (1982); Boyce Motor Lines v. United

States, 342 U.S. 337, 342 (1952) ); see United States v. $359,000

10a

in United States Currency, No. 86-6237, slip op. at 5097-98 (2d

Cir. Sept. 8, 1987); United States v. Granda, 565 F.2d 922, 926

(Sth Cir. 1978) (The term “willful [in § 5313] require[s] proof

of the defendant’s knowledge and specific intent to commit the

crime.”); United States v. Shearson Lehman Bros., Inc., 650

F Supp. at 1202-03; United States v. Richter, 610 F. Supp. at

490.’

Moreover, “to be held under the broad sweep of the fraud

prong of § 371, [a defendant] need not have agreed to commit, or

have actually committed, a specific substantive offense. They

merely must have agreed to interfere with or to obstruct one of

the government’s lawful functions.” Nersesian, slip op. at 4097

(citing United States v. Southland Corp., 760 F.2d 1366, 1382

(2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 88 (1986).

C. Record Keeping Provisions of the Securities Laws.

Defendants are also charged with conspiring to violate § 17(a)

of the Securities Exchange Act, 15 U.S.C. § 78q(a), by causing

Paine, Webber to (1) create false records, which reflected depos-

its of cash as deposits of checks; (2) cause Paine, Webber to fail

to file CTRs as required; and (3) cause Paine, Webber to fail to

preserve certain records of financial transactions required to be

maintained for a period of time by members of a national securi-

ties exchange. Defendants contend that, although the “essence”

of this charge is that certain cash deposits were deliberately mis-

coded as check deposits, such conduct is not prohibited by

§ 17(a) of the Exchange Act. Defendants further contend that

3. Defendants also argue that the charge of conspiring to defraud the United

States by causing Paine, Webber to violate the CTR laws can only be maintained

if Paine, Webber was under a duty to file CTRs which went unfulfilled. In light

of the Court's ruling above, this argument is without significance. Of course, it

is a fundamental maxim of conspiracy law that an individual may be charged in

a conspiracy to violate federal law even if the substantive offense which was the

object of the conspiracy was not committed. See Pinkerton v. United States,

328 U.S.640, 643 (1946) (“It has been long and consistently recognized by the

Court that the commission of the substantive offense and a conspiracy to commit

it are separate and distinct offenses.”).

as seen in iia ail im

lla

if such conduct does violate § [7(a), then the statute and regula-

tions promulgated thereunder are unconstitutional as applied to

them.

Section 17(a) of the Exchange Act mandates that institutions

like Paine, Webber “shall make and keep for a prescribed period

such records ... as the Commission, by rule, prescribes as neces-

sary or appropriate.” 15 U.S.C. § 78q(a). Section 32 of the

Exchange Act provides criminal penalties for “[a]ny person who

willfully violates any provision of this title .. ., or any rule there-

under.” 15 U.S.C. § 78ff.

Pursuant to this authority, the SEC promulgated regulations,

which read in relevant part:

(a) Every member of a national securities exchange who

transacts a business in securities directly with others than

members of a national securities exchange... small make

and keep current the following books and records relating

to his business:

(1) Blotters (or other records of original entry) con-

| taining an itemized daily record of ... all receipts and

disbursements of cash and all other debits and credits.

17 C.F.R. § 240.17a-3(a)(1). Inaddition, 17 C.F.R. § 240.17a-

8 requires that financial institutions subject to the Currency and

Foreign transactions Reporting Act “shall comply with the

reporting, record-keeping and record retention requirements of

Part 10> of Title 31 of the Code of Federal Regulations.”

Records required under § 24.17a-3 are required to be kept for

“not less than 6 years,” id. § 240.17a-4(a), and records required

under § 240.17a-8 must be kept for “not less than 3 years.” Jd.

§ 240-17a-4(b)(1).

Defendants attempt to blur the meaning of the above provisions

by arguing that the term “cash” in 17 C.F.R. § 240.17a includes

within its meaning both currency and check deposits. See

Defendants’ Memorandum at 38-40. Under this interpretation,

the regulations do not require firms like Paine, Webber to create

separate records for cash, as opposed to check, deposits. Thus,

defendants argue, because Paine, Webber was not required to

12a

maintain separate listings for cash and check items, any alleged

“miscoding” of cash deposits as check deposits was irrelevant and

could not constitute a violation of the regulations. Jd. at 39.

The Court agrees with the Government that this issue appears

to be controlled by Sinclair v. United States, 444 F.2d 399 (2d

Cir. 1971). In that case, the Second Circuit affirmed an SEC

decision barring a clerk from the securities industry for violating

§ 17(a) of the Exchange Act. The court held that, “even assum-

ing no legal obligation to furnish the names [of particular brokers

who executed trades on required forms], there was an obligation,

upon voluntarily supplying that information, to be truthful.” /d.

at 401. Thus, defendants’ argument that Paine, Webber could

misrepresent information about the nature and type of customer

deposits without violating §17(a) is unpersuasive. Further-

more, it is of no import that Sinclair was a civilcase. At trial, the

Government will be required to prove not merely that § 17(a)

was violated by Paine, Webber, but also that the defendants

“willfully” caused the firm to violate the statute and regulations

thereunder. See Heyman, 794 F.2d at 792.

E. Obstruction of Justice Charges

Defendant Tota’s last argument relates to the obstruction of

justice object in the conspiracy count and the substantive obstruc-

tion of justice charge underlying count two of the indictment.

Defendant Fahmy does not join Tota’s motion to dismiss in this

regard. Section 1503 of Title 18 provides for criminal penalties

against anyone who attempts to impede or interfere with the work

of a grand jury, or who “endeavors to influence, obstruct, or

impede, the due administration of justice.” 18 U.S.C. § 1503.

Tota is also charged as an aider and abettor under 18 U.S.C.

§ 2(b).

The indictment provides sufficient detail of the efforts allegedly

made by Fahmy and Tota to cover the trail of the various transac-

tions forming the basis for the indictment. These efforts included

the destruction of cash summary folders, the miscoding of cus-

tomer cash deposits as check deposits and the instructing of

l3a

Paine, Webber cashiers to hold back cash from a customer’s

account. Indictment 17 10(c), (e), (f) (g), 11(10)-11(17).

To survive a motion to dismiss, “an indictment need do little

more than to track the language of the statute charged and state

the time and place (in approximate terms) of the alleged crime.”

United States v. Tramunti, 513 F.2d 1087, 1113 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 832 (1975); see United States v. Bagaric, 706

F.2d 42, 61 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 840 (1983) (“An

indictment need only track the language of the statute.”). Gen-

erally, an indictment will be upheld if it “(1) contains the ele-

ments of the offense charged; (2) fairly informs the defendant of

the charge against which he must defend; and (3) enables him to

plead an acquittal or conviction in bar of future prosecution for

the same offense.” United States v. Bank of New England, N.A.,

640 F.Supp. at 39; see Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87,

117 (1974); United States v. Sedlak, 720 F.2d 715, 719 (1st Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1037 (1984).

In the Court’s view, the obstruction of justice object in count

one and the substantive obstruction of justice charge in count two

satisfy the above requirements. The means and overt act sections

of the conspiracy count provide ample description of the particu-

lar allegations underlying the charges of obstruction of justice.

In addition, count two adequately tracks the language of 18

U.S.C. § 1503. Accordingly, Tota’s motion to dismiss the

obstruction of justice allegations in the indictment is denied.

CONCLUSION

Defendants’ motion to dismiss the indictment is denied. Fed.

R. Crim. P. 12(b).

SO ORDERED.

JOHN M. CANNELLA

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Dated: New York, New York

September 29, 1987,

Lda

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Ata stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the City

of New York, on the 12th day of April, one thousand nine hun-

dred and eighty-eight.

Present: HONORABLE ELLSWORTH A. VAN GRAAFEILAND,

HONORABLE JON O. NEWMAN,

HONORABLE ROGER J. MINER,

Circuit Judges.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

ws

GEORGE B. FAHMY,

Defendant-Appellant.

ORDER

George B. Fahmy appeals from a judgment of the District

Court for the Southern District of New York (John M. Cannella,

Judge), entered after a jury trial, convicting him of one count of

conspiracy to defraud the United States, 18 U.S.C. § 371 (1982),

and one count of obstructing justice, 18 U.S.C. § 1503 (1982).

The conspiracy was alleged to have several illicit objectives

including (1) causing Fahmy’s employer, Paine Webber, I[nc., not

to file currency transaction reports on deposits of currency involv-

ing transactions of more than $10,000, in violation of 31 U.S.C.

§§ 5313(a) and 5322 (1982 & Supp. III 1985) and 31 C.F.R.

§ 103.22 (1987), and (2) causing Paine Webber to fail to make

and keep accurate records of its cash receipts, in violation of 15

U.S.C. §§ 78q(a) and 78ff (1982 & Supp. III 1985) and 17

C.F.R. §§ 240.17a-3 and 240.17a-8 (1987). The obstruction of

justice count charged that Fahmy had participated in the destruc-

tion of Paine Webber records that he knew to be the subject of an

15a

ongoing grand jury investigation. On appeal, Fahmy raises

numerous challenges to the sufficiency of the evidence, jury

instructions, and the conduct of the trial. We conclude that each

of these contentions lacks merit.

1. Conspiracy Count. Fahmy was properly convicted of

conspiring to cause Paine Webber to fail to file currency transac-

tion reports. It is true that the regulations promulgated pursuant

to 31 U.S.C. §5313(a) impose reporting obligations only on

certain financial institutions and not on individual employees or

customers. See United States v. Nersesian, 824 F.2d 1294, 1310

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 357 (1987). Nevertheless, it

is the settled law in this Circuit that by virtue of 18 U.S.C. § 2(b)

(1982), which provides that one who willfully causes another to

commit a crime, is punishable as a principal, the willful structur-

ing of cash transactions by the employees or customers of a

financial institution in order to avoid the filing of cash transaction

reports constitutes a violation of 31 U.S.C. §5313. United

States v. Heyman, 794 F. 2d 788, 791 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 107

S. Ct. 585 (1986); United States v. Nersesian, supra, 824 F.2d at

1311. Moreover, an agreement to cause the financial institution to

fail to file such reports may be punished as a conspiracy to

defraud the United States. See United States v. Nersesian,

supra, 824 F.2d at 1310-13. With respect to Fahmy’s claim that

the statute gives inadequate notice that employees are covered,

this Court has said that “the requirement of [18 U.S.C. §]2(b)

that a defendant’s acts be ‘willfull’ provides adequate protection

for individuals who might unwittingly stumble into a violation of

federal law.” United States v. Heyman, supra, 794 F.2d at 792.

Fahmy was also properly convicted of conspiring to cause Paine

Webber to fail to keep accurate records of its daily cash receipts.

Fahmy argues that no violation could have been caused by his

miscoding of cash receipts as check receipts because the applica-

ble statute and regulations do not require brokers to differentiate

between cash and checks. Whether or not the obligation to keep

records as to “all receipts and disbursements of cash and all other

l6a

debits and credits,” 17 C.F.R. § 240.17a-3, mandates differentia-

tion between cash and checks, the false representation of cash

receipts as check receipts violates the Securities Exchange Act.

See Sinclair v. SEC, 444 F.2d 399. 401 (2d Cir. 1971) (“even

assuming no legal obligation to furnish the names [of brokers]

there was an obligation, upon voluntarily supplying that informa-

tion, to be truthful”); United States v. Sloan, 389 F. Supp. 526,

528 (S.D.N.Y. 1975) (“The requirement that certain books and

records be made clearly mandates that those records be made

accurately and correctly”). Additionally, the trial court’s jury

charge in this regard properly stated that falsification of the cash

records was illegal regardless of whether differentiation between

cash and checks was required.

The evidence was sufficient to show an agreement to violate the

reporting statutes listed in the indictment. There was testimony

that Fahmy advised Gary Eder, a co-conspirator, that Fahmy was

aware of Eder’s practice of hiding customer cash deposits in

excess of $10,000, and that Fahmy would endeavor to help Eder.

Fahmy then instructed Paine Webber cashiers to tell Fahmy any-

time one of Eder’s clients wished to deposit cash in excess of

$10,000. On at least one occasion, Fahmy informed Eder that he

had received cash deposits which he believed triggered the report-

ing requirements but that he had withheld some of the money in

order to avoid filing the required currency transaction report.

With respect to the falsification of daily cash receipt records,

Eder fully informed Fahmy of Eder’s practice of listing large cash

receipts as checks. Thereafter, Fahmy regularly instructed

Paine Webber cashiers to miscode the customer receipt records

and engaged with Eder in several concerted attempts to cover up

the miscoding when it came to the attention of Paine Webber

supervisors. This evidence was more than adequate to allow the

jury to infer that a conspiracy had occurred. See United States v.

Young, 745 F.2d 733, 762 (2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 470 U.S.

1084 (1985).

2. Obstruction of Justice. The evidence was sufficient to

establish Fahmy’s participation in a conspiracy to violate 15

17a

U.S.C. § 1503. Violation of that section requires “that there was

a pending judicial proceeding, such as a grand jury proceeding,

and that the defendant knew of and sought to influence, impede,

or obstruct the judicial proceeding.” United States v. Capo, 791

F.2d 1054, 1070 (2d Cir. 1986) (citations omitted), overruled in

part on other grounds, 817 F.2d 947 (2d Cir. 1987) (in banc).

The evidence showed that in 1984 a grand jury investigation was

initiated regarding several individuals who had been depositing

large amounts of cash at Paine Webber. Fahmy became aware of

this investigation by virtue of subpoenas that were served on

Paine Webber requesting documents related to these accounts.

Additionally, Fahmy was informed by an officer of Irving Trust

Co. that it too had received a subpoena regarding large cash

transactions at Paine Webber. In October 1985 Fahmy read,

discussed, and circulated to his colleagues a newspaper account of

the guilty plea of one of the individuals who had been depositing

cash at Paine Webber. The article quoted the United States

Attorney as saying that the investigation was continuing. During

this period, Fahmy told Eder that he was concerned that the

investigation was starting to “heat up.” Thereafter, in late 1985

or early 1986, Fahmy and Eder agreed to destroy certain mis-

coded cash receipt reports, and for this purpose they removed a

shopping cart filled with the documents from Paine Webber's

offices. Clearly, a jury could infer from the foregoing evidence

that the co-conspirators agreed to destroy evidence with knowl-

edge that the evidence was pertinent to an ongoing investigation.

Judge Cannella’s jury charge regarding obstruction of justice

properly instructed the jury on the element of intent. See United

States v. Moon, 718 F.2d 1210, 1236 (2d Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 466 U.S. 971 (1984). The charge indicated that convic-

tion required “the improper motive or purpose of obstructing the

due administration of justice.” Moreover, the jurors were

instructed that the statutory requirement of “corrupt” intent

could be found from “knowledge or notice that [defendant’s]

corrupt actions will obstruct justice which was then actually being

administered.” This language tracks virtually verbatim this

18a

Court’s discussion of 15 U.S.C. § 1503 in United States v. Buf-

falano, 727 F.2d 50, 54 (2d Cir. 1984). Because the instruction,

taken as a whole, clearly informed the jury of the need to find an

intentional obstruction of justice, the failure to use the precise

words “specific intent” in the charge was not error. Cf. United

States v. Gregg, 612 F.2d 43, 50 (2d Cir. 1979).

3. Conduct of Trial. Judge Cannella properly permitted the

Government to reopen its case in order to prove that a grand jury

had actually been impanelled at the time Paine Webber received

the document subpoenas and when Fahmy committed his acts of

obstruction. Under Fed. R. Evid. 611(a), the district court is

vested with discretion to reopen the Government’s case, even after

the defense has rested. United States v. Kanovsky, 618 F.2d 229,

231 (2d Cir. 1980). In the present case, Judge Cannella merely

allowed the Government to reopen its case shortly after the Gov-

ernment had rested and before the defense case had begun. The

additional evidence was relevant Fahmy was not surprised, and

Fahmy had a fair opportunity during the defense’s case to meet

the Government’s additional proof. The Court’s permission to

reopen was within its discretion. See United States v. Kanovsky,

supra, 618 F.2d at 231; United States v. Blankenship, 775 F.2d

735, 741 (6th Cir. 1985).

Judge Cannella’s decision to excuse a sick juror after delibera-

tions had begun and to proceed with an 1l-member jury was

proper. Fed. R. Crim. P. 23(b) expressly permits the court to

excuse a juror “for just cause” and provides that a valid verdict

may be returned by the remaining 11 jurors. Here, Judge Can-

nella acted well within his discretion because it was unclear

whether the ill juror would ever be able to return. The defen-

dant’s proposed five-day adjournment would have risked dulling

the remaining jurors’ recollections of the trial, particulariy since

there had already been a three-day delay between the summa-

tions and the charge. See United States v. Stratton, 779 F.2d

820, 830-35 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1162 (1986).

19a

The judgement of the District Court is affirmed.

N.B. This Summary Order will

not be published in the Federal

Reporter and Should not be

cited or otherwise relied upon in

unrelated cases before this or

any other court.

SPREE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE HEHEHE EEE HEHE EEE E EEE EE EEESD

ERO EEE EEE EEE HERE EEE HEE EEE EHH EE EEE HEED

POU ee UU UCU U USSU USCS UCSC UCC eee eee eee eee

Circuit Judges.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.