Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Druid Hills Civic Ass'n v. Federal Highway Administration

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

To Supreme Court, US. :

~ re. t. 7

od af by I L ht A”

es © i! Pe 8 I

4 MAY i9 13988

Sn JOSEPH F. SPANOL, JR.

CLERX 4

= - st |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

i)

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION, INC., et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

THE FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION,

et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

co)

Davin F. WaALBERT

Wa Bert & HERMANN

100 Peachtree Street

Suite 500

Atlanta, GA 30303

404/523-5000

TO

COCKLE LAW BRIEF Age fT hg co. (800) 225-6964

or call collect (402) 3 42-2831

&

es

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Administrative Procedure Act and

the case or controversy requirement of Article III pro-

hibit a federal court from reviving a prior case, at the

request of an administrative agency, for the sole purpose

of reviewing a new administrative decision of that agency

where no aggrieved person has challenged the decision and

there is no willing litigant to oppose the agency’s position.

2. Whether plaintiffs may be denied a motion to

voluntarily dismiss their complaint under Fed. R. Civ. P.

41(a)(2) where the opposing party would suffer no legal

or other prejudice whatsoever if the motion were granted.

3. Whether a district court may, upon the filing of

a motion for summary judgment by one party, simultan-

eously rule that the opposing party shall be allowed no

discovery with regard to the motion, disregard entirely

the opposing party’s affidavit pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(f), and, at the same time, enter summary judgment on

the merits without affording the opposing party any op-

portunity to respond to the motion for summary judgment.

4. Whether plaintiffs are prevailing parties for costs

and fees purposes in an action under the Administrative

Procedure Act where they have successfully established

that an administrative decision was insufficient and il-

legal so that, if the proposed administrative action were

to ever go forward, a new administrative decision and

record would be necessary.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the peti-

tioners Druid Hills Civic Association, Inc., Inman Park

Restoration, Inc., Candler Park Neighborhood Organiza-

tion, Caution, Inc., Jack Boozer, Phyllis Schwartz, John T.

Juricek, Neil C. Moran, William E. McMurry, and Quinn

Hudson. The corporate petitioners have no parent com-

panies, subsidiaries, or affiliates to list pursuant to Rule

28.1.

The parties below also were respondents The Federal

Highway Administration, United States Department of

Transportation, R. A. Barnhart, D.J. Altobelli, Thomas D.

Moreland, Georgia Department of Transportation, United

States Environmental Protection Agency, Carl J eter, and

The United States of America.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

oe Be BPN ey 8 24 Scan vi

ET EN 1

EER EE 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STAT ee Inoue TT. 2

STATEMent OF THE CASE ££... 2

Proceedings Below ..........ccccceccecccceeene Bk ies a 2

ELE TIES OT ET 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .... 6

I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION

THAT ALLOWS A FEDERAL COURT TO RE-

VIVE A PRIOR CASE, SOLELY AT THE RE-

QUEST OF AN ADMINISTRATIVE AGEN-

CY, FOR THE PURPOSE OF REVIEWING

A NEW ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION OF

THAT AGENCY THAT HAS NOT BEEN

CHALLENGED BY ANY AGGRIEVED PER-

SON, DISREGARDS THE CASE OR CONTRO-

VERSY REQUIREMENT OF ARTICLE III,

THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE ADMINIS-

TRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT, AND PREVI-

OUS DECISIONS OF THIS AND OTHER

Se as tee

6

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION

ITT.

THAT REFUSES TO ALLOW A PARTY TO

VOLUNTARILY DISMISS A COMPLAINT,

EVEN THOUGH DISMISSAL WOULD

CAUSE THE OPPOSING PARTY NO LEGAL

OR OTHER PREJUDICE WHATSOEVER,

SERIOUSLY MISAPPLIES FED. R. CIV. P.

41(a)(2) AND CONFLICTS WITH DECI-

SIONS OF THIS COURT AND OTHER CIR-

Sy = alkene woe atoms he EMC Sta tec tie TRORS Ue SAA

A DISTRICT COURT SHOULD NOT BE AL-

LOWED THE ARBITRARY POWER, WHEN

ONE PARTY FILES A MOTION FOR SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT, TO SIMULTANEOUSLY

RULE THAT THE OPPOSING PARTY

SHALL BE ALLOWED NO DISCOVERY

WITH REGARD TO THE MOTION, TO DIS-

REGARD THE OPPOSING PARTY’S RULE

56(f) AFFIDAVIT, AND, AT THE SAME

TIME, ENTER SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON

THE MERITS WITHOUT FIRST AFFORD-

ING THE OPPOSING PARTY AN OPPOR-

TUNITY TO RESPOND TO THE MOTION. ....

A. The Lower Courts Wrongfully Refused to

Permit Plaintiffs Any Discovery Whatsoever

With Regard to the New 1986 Agency Deeci-

sion and Administrative Reeord. 20000000000...

B. Even if the Court Could Have Done All That

It Did and Disallowed All Diseovery, It Was

Error to Reach the Merits of the FHWA’s

Motion Without Allowing Plaintiffs An Op-

portunity to Respond on the Merits.

11

14

14

carga Ml a

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS Continued

Page

IV. PLAINTIFFS WERE PREVAILING PAR-

TIES, FOR COSTS AND ATTORNEY’S FEES,

IN DHCA I, BECAUSE THEY SUCCESSFUL-

LY ESTABLISHED THAT DEFENDANTS’

4(f) ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION WAS IN-

SUFFICIENT AND ILLEGAL, BECAUSE

THE PROJECT WAS HALTED AS A RE-

SULT OF DHCA I, AND BECAUSE THE

PROJECT COULD NOT GO FORWARD AB-

SENT PREPARATION OF A NEW AND LE-

GALLY PROPER ADMINISTRATIVE REC-

ORD AND DECISION. _W.. Peel ae Cn OO 17

COMI ington 21

APPENDIX

December 16, 1987, Eleventh Cireuit Opinion. ........... Al

December 28, 1986, District Court Opinion 00... Al3

September 16, 1985, Eleventh Cireuit Opinion ............ A32

November 14, 1984, District Court Opinion 00000. / A56

March 22, 1988, Eleventh Circuit Judgment ................. A80

February 19, 1988, Eleventh Circuit Denial of Re-

ea tar ee aie R ne ric BR ee IEEE! TEE Naa A82

November 15, 1985, District Court Final Judgment... A84

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved ......... A85

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Ashwood Manor Civic Association v. Dole, 619

F.Supp. 52 (E.D. Pa. 1985) — A 19

Bagby v. Beal, 606 F.2d 411 (3rd Cir. 1979) 200s. 20

Bender v. Clark, 744 F.2d 1424 (10th Cir. 1984) 000 9

Citizens Council of Delaware County v. Brinegar,

141 9.26 GSE (ee Ce, Te) ee. ©

Data Processing Service Organizations v. Camp,

397 U.S. 150 (1970) | 9

Davis v. USX Corp., 819 F.2d 1270 (4th Cir. 1987)_.13, 14

Defunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974) 10

DHCA v. FHWA, 772 F2d 700 (11th Cir. 1985)

F397 1 } aa a Sseslegiloscemnapiestinaeannaneaae

Durham v. Florida East Coast Dathinn’ Company,

385 F.2d 366 (Sth Cir. 1967) 0. ila =

Environmental Defense Fund, Inc. v. Watt, 554

F.Supp. 36 (E.D. N.Y. 1982) 19

Exxon Corp. v. FTC, 663 F.2d 120 (D.C. Cir. 1980)... 16

Fast v. School District of City of Ladue, 728 F.2d

1030 (8th Cir. 1983) cid ae

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178 (1962) = LAD ee RT 11

Georgia DOT v. City of Atlanta, 255 Ga. 124, 335

8S Bi oe: | 9

Guerrero v. Marsh, 819 F.2d 238 (9th Cir. 1987) .....20, 21

Hamilton v. Firestone, 679 F.2d 143 (9th Cir. 1982)... 13

Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754 (1980) 2008

Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983) 00000. 19

‘Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495 (1987)

Hoffman v. Alside, 596 F.2d 822 (Sth Cir. 1979) S14

Holiday Queen Land Corporation v. Baker, 489

F.2d 1031 (5th Cir. 1974) 12,13

ae

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Institutionalized Juveniles v. Secretary of Public

Welfare, 758 F.2d 897, 911 n.25 (3rd Cir. 1985). 20

Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Lehman, 842 F.2d 1102 (9th

Cir. 1988) 21

LeCompte v. Mr. Chip, Inc., 528 F.2d 601 (5th

Cir. 1976) 13

Lowe’s, Inc. v. Bays, 209 F. 2d 610 (5th Cir. 1954). 15

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Craneh) 137 (1803) 9

Puerto Rico v. Leith, 668 F.2d 46 (1st Cir. 1981)... 14

Save our ve v. Clark, 747 F.2d 1240 (9th

ONS. ee 19

Sierra Club v. pre coe nd iden 776 F.2d

383 (2nd Cir. 1985) . f as «ae

Silas v. Sears Roebuck é Dente, les 586 6 F. 2a

382 (5th Cir. 1978) ~ ae ae

Southern Oregon Citizens v. Clark, 720 F. 2d 1475

(9th Cir. 1983) 19

Visa International Service v. Bank Card Holders

of America, 784 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir. 1986) 0... 16

STATUTES:

28 U.S.C. § 1254 1

ee Nichia clicacctecinnnihethceoene 5

28 U.S.C. §$§ 1988 - sdenanptvcs 18

28 U.S.C. $§ 2412 fF el oie

Section 4(f) of the Federal-Aid cidieae ey

49 U.S.C. § 303 . sSisaniatidaacestes ickeinbnaenigen aii

Article ITI, Section 2 of the United States

Constitution ae ~ ae 2,6,9,10

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(a)(2) 2,11, 12,13

. ef A A ree 2 ae 14, 15, 16

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit in this case is reported at 833 F.2d 1545 (11th Cir.

1987), and is reprinted in the appendix hereto, page A1,

infra (*‘DHCAII’’).

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Georgia, on respondent’s motion

for summary judgment, is reported at 650 F.Supp. 1368

(N.D. Ga. 1986), and is printed in the appendix hereto,

page A13, infra (‘DHCAII’’).

The 1985 opinion of the Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Cireuit, reversing in part and affirming in part,

is reported at 772 F.2d 700 (11th Cir. 1985), and is re-

printed in the appendix hereto, page A32, infra (‘‘DHCA

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Georgia entered on November

14, 1984, is not reported, but is reprinted in the appendix

hereto, page A56, infra (‘‘DHCAI’’).

—-0o-

JURISDICTION

Petitioners seek review of a decision of the Eleventh

Cireuit rendered on December 16, 1987. On December 31,

1987, petitioners moved the court of appeals for rehearing

and suggestion of rehearing in banc. These petitions were

denied on February 19, 1988.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judg-

ment of the Eleventh Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254.

—_,*

4

1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

(The text of the following provisions is set forth in

the appendix.)

1. Article Il], Section 2 of the United States Con-

stitution.

2. 5 U.S.C. § 702.

3. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(a)(2).

4. 28U.S.C. § 2412(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Proceedings Below

On September 21, 1984, the federal defendants ap-

proved funding for construction by the state defendants

of a highway project known as the Presidential Parkway

in Atlanta, Georgia. Plaintiffs filed their complaint on

September 24, 1984, challenging defendants’ decision on

the basis of NEPA and section 4(f) of the Federal-Aid

Highway Act, 49 U.S.C. § 303. After trial on October 22-

25, 1984, the district court dismissed plaintiffs’ complaint.

On appeal, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed in part and re-

versed in part, holding that defendants’ 4(f) decision was

legally inadequate. DHCA v. FHWA, 772 F.2d 700 (11th

Cir. 1985) (DHCA 1). The district court then entered a

final judgment, pursuant to Rule 58, apparently terminat-

ing the substantive litigation. A post-judgment motion

for attorney’s fees was filed by plaintiffs on January 13,

1986 for their successful challenge to the 1984 section 4(f)

agency decision.

On April 25, 1986, FHWA issued a new section 4(f)

decision based on an entirely new administrative record.

The FHWA then filed a motion for ‘‘summary judgment”’

on June 6, 1986, asking the district court to review and

uphold the new 1986 decision. On December 23, 1986, the

district court granted defendants’ motion for summary

judgment and denied plaintiffs’ request for attorney’s fees

for DHCA /. That decision was affirmed by the Eleventh

Circuit on December 16, 1987. Petitioners’ motion for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en bane were de-

nied on February 19, 1988.

Statement of Facts

The proposed highway would cut directly through the

middle of Atlanta’s several historic districts, and it would

also destroy four City of Atlanta parks. Because the

highway would cross parks and historic districts, it could

not be built with federal funds without first complying

with section 4(f), which strictly limits highway construc-

tion in park and historic areas. 49 U.S.C. § 303.

At the 1984 trial, plaintiffs introduced some 224 ex-

hibits in their challenge to the legality of the highway

under NEPA and 4(f), and some 30 witnesses testified live

or by deposition. Plaintiffs showed, among other things,

that the project was opposed by a host of government

agencies and that every single local, state, and private

agency or organization that had studied the desirability of

constructing a highway in this location had rejected the

suggestion before the proposal at issue in 1984 came for-

+

ward. Finally, plaintiffs offered evidence to show that

the proposed Presidential Parkway was the most destruc-

tive alternative, in contravention of section 4(f)(2), and

that the administrative record was intentionally distorted

in order to exaggerate the need for the road and to under-

state its true 4(f) impact. The Eleventh Cireuit agreed

that defendants’ 4(f) decision was legally insufficient:

In summary, the case must be remanded to the See-

retary for adequate findings of the impact on 4(f)

properties caused by the Decatur Parkway and the

two Moreland Avenue plans. This review should en-

compass an accurate assessment of the characteristics

of the property that will be affected by the alterna-

tive, e.g., if the property is in a historie district,

whether it has been previously impacted by commer-

cial development and if so, to what extent. The Sec-

retary’s review must also address the quantity of

harm that will accrue to the park or historic site and

the nature of that harm, e.g., visual impact or physi-

ealtaking. 772 F.2d at 718-19.

After the defendants’ administrative decision approv-

ing the project was set aside, the project was halted and

the contracts cancelled. The defendants then faced a range

of options. They could abandon construction of any high-

way; they could propose a different project in the same

corridor; or they could again advocate the same project.

A draft 4(f) decision opting again for the Presidential

Parkway was released on December 22, 1985. (D. Ex.

1-56) The draft was criticized by many citizens and the

United States Department of the Interior. (D. Exs. I-87

to 98; 1-108). These criticisms included the fact that de-

fendants continued to ignore the requirements of section

4(f)(2) and falsely inflated adverse impacts when dealing

with alternatives to the Presidential Parkway, while mini-

aT

5

mizing similar harm when discussing the Presidential

Parkway. The Interior Department concluded that the

Presidential Parkway option had not been justified under

section 4(f)(2). (D. Ex. 1-108) The defendants adhered

to their draft decision in a final decision dated April 25,

1986.

On June 6, 1986, the FHWA moved for ‘‘summary

judgment’’ in connection with the 1986 administrative de-

cision. Plaintiffs responded to the motion for summary

judgment by asserting that the 1986 decision was in no

way before the district court because final judgment had

already been entered; that the complaint did not challenge

the 1986 decision and had never been amended to raise

any such challenge; and that the district court did not have

jurisdiction to review administrative action solely upon

the request of an agency where that action had not been

challenged by an ‘‘aggrieved party’’. (R. 5-54-11; 5-61-1

to 11) Im the event that the district court were to view

the matter otherwise, plaintiffs alternatively moved for a

voluntary dismissal of any portion of their 1984 com-

plaint that might somehow be construed to challenge the

1986 administrative decision. (R. 5-56-1; 5-62-1)

If the court were to conclude that there was jurisdic-

tion over the 1986 administrative decision, and yet refused

to allow dismissal of that portion of plaintiffs’ complaint,

plaintiffs requested leave to file an interlocutory appeal

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1292(b). (R. 5-56-2) As a final

alternative, if the court were to reject all of plaintiffs’ re-

quests, they asked the court to allow discovery prior to

their filing a substantive response to the motion for sum-

mary judgment. (R. 5-56-2) Such discovery had been

allowed in 1984 in connection with that administrative de-

6

cision (R. 2-14-1), but the local rules prohibited discovery

without leave of court concerning the 1986 decision. N.D.

Ga. Local Rule 225. An affidavit was also filed pursuant

to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(f) stating that discovery was neces-

sary to respond to the merits of the motion. (R. 5-54-

Ex. B)

In its December 23, 1986 order, the district court not

only rejected every single one of plaintiffs’ contentions

and requests, including the request for discoverysbut also

reached the merits of the 4(f) decision and granted the

motion for summary judgment. The court also denied

plaintiffs attorney’s fees for their successful challenge to

the 1984 administrative decision. The court’s decision was

affirmed by the Eleventh Circuit, and it is that decision

that petitioners seek review of now.

‘c=

Vv

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION THAT

ALLOWS A FEDERAL COURT TO REVIVE

A PRIOR CASE, SOLELY AT THE REQUEST

OF AN ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCY, FOR

THE PURPOSE OF REVIEWING A NEW AD-

MINISTRATIVE DECISION OF THAT AGEN-

CY THAT HAS NOT BEEN CHALLENGED

BY ANY AGGRIEVED PERSON, DISRE-

GARDS THE CASE OR CONTROVERSY RE-

QUIREMENT OF ARTICLE III, THE RE.-

QUIREMENTS OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE

PROCEDURE ACT, AND PREVIOUS DECI-

SIONS OF THIS AND OTHER COURTS.

After the Eleventh Cireuit’s 1985 ruling (DHCA /)

in this case, the FHWA commenced a new administrative

j

7

proceeding. At that point in time, no one could know

what might be the outcome of that proceeding. The court

of appeals had held that the original decision did not sat-

isfy section 4(f) because it did not adequately compare

various alternatives to the proposed project. The court

noted that ‘‘a tremendous task confront[ed] the Secretary

in resolving these difficult issues. (DHCA I at 718)

Although it was entirely possible that a proper sec-

tion 4(f) analysis would have led to an administrative de-

cision disapproving the Presidential Parkway, the FHWA

ultimately did opt again for construction of the Presi-

dential Parkway in its new 1986 decision. However, the

entire administrative record that underlies the 1986 de-

cision document is completely distinct from what existed

in 1984 and from what the plaintiffs put in issue in their

1984 complaint. No part of the 1984 administrative record

is a part of the administrative record in the present case.

833 F.2d at 1548.

The administrative decision before the court in 1986

was an entirely new one, and one not challenged by the

plaintiffs’ 1984 complaint. Indeed, since the administra-

tive decision that is now before this court did not even

exist in 1984 when the complaint was filed, and since the

present administrative record was a complete nullity at

that time, it would have been impossible for the plaintiffs

to have put the 1986 decision or administrative record at

issue in their 1984 complaint. Moreover, section 4(f) is

like most statutes that govern administrative decisions, in

that it merely prohibits those decisions which do not have

an adequate basis in the administrative record. None of

the plaintiffs could have been an ‘‘aggrieved party’’ as

to the new 1986 decision until at least April 25, 1986.

It is undisputed that plaintiffs never attempted to

amend their complaint in any way to challenge the 1986

decision or the administrative record upon which it was

based. To the contrary, as soon as the FHWA suggested

that the 1986 administrative decision might somehow be

brought before the district court for judicial ‘‘approval,”’

plaintiffs expressed surprise and made it clear that they

had no desire to amend their complaint to challenge the

decision. ‘They asserted instead that there was no case

even pending before the court. (R. 5-54-1)

Notwithstanding the posture of this litigation in 1986,

and notwithstanding the fact that the district court had

entered a Rule 58 ‘‘final judgment’’ document on Novem-

ber 19, 1985 that seemingly terminated the court’s juris-

diction over the substance of the case (App. G), the FHWA

nevertheless went forward and filed a motion for summary

judgment seeking approval of its new 1986 administrative

decision. The action of the FHWA was highly unusual

to say the least. This appears to be the first occasion in

which a court has allowed an administrative agency tu seek

judicial review of its own decisions where no person has

attempted to make any judicial challenge to that decision

or the administrative record upon which it is based. The

Eleventh Cireuit’s approval of the FHWA’s action disre-

gards the Administrative Procedure Act requirement that

allows only ‘‘aggrieved persons’’ to challenge administra-

tive actions with which they take issue. 5 U.S.C. § 702.

Nothing in the APA authorizes an administrative agency

to seek approval of its own actions in a non-adversarial

proceeding against unwilling citizen-litigants. The court

of appeals’ holding also disregards the established prece-

dent from this court and all other circuits that limits the

+ at aN teak 6 MO NCR cA Ain ir te a AEN OT AT AS A 2A SIE AR A ate ie Rts ORR eA

review of administrative actions to those cases where an

aggrieved person has an actual case or controversy with

the agency, and where that aggrieved person affirmatively

seeks to challenge the agency decision at issue. See, e.g.,

Data Processing Service Organizations v. Camp, 397 U.S.

150 (1970) ; Bender v. Clark, 744 F.2d 1424, 1428 (10th Cir.

1984).

What is particularly improper about the FHWA’s

action here is that it sought the district court’s imprimatur

in a nonadversarial proceeding. Plaintiffs disclaimed any

intention or desire to participate in the present litigation.

While it is inherently inappropriate and outside the APA

to allow an agency to seek judicial review of its own deci-

sion, it is that much more so where the agency seeks to do

that in a proceeding against wholly unwilling parties. As

the district court was advised by plaintiffs, one of the basic

reasons plaintiffs did not intend to challenge the 1986

decision there was expense. (R. 12-40 to 44) Properly

prosecuted, the cost of a full challenge to the 1986 decision

would have been great, a fact the plaintiffs well knew from

DHCA I. (R. 4-35-1) Plaintiffs also saw the present liti-

gation as duplicative of future state court litigation that

had become necessary before the legality of the project

could be determined under state law. See Georgia DOT v.

City of Atlanta, 255 Ga. 124, 335 S.E.2d 114 (1985).

The absence of any willing litigants to oppose the

FHWA/’s effort to seek judicial review of its new 1986

decision is not a mere procedural flaw. It points up the

very lack of a case or controversy in violation of Article

Ill. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803).

In rejecting petitioners’ claim that there was no case or

controversy under Article III, the Eleventh Circuit’s de-

10

cision ignores the realities of this case. Not only was

there no willing opposing party to litigate against the

FHWA in 1986, there was absolutely nothing that could

possibly have been in controversy between the original liti-

gants to this case after the Eleventh Cireuit’s first decision

that set aside the FHWA’s 1984 agency action. At least

from the time when the Eleventh Cireuit rendered its first

decision in 1985 (DHCA I) until April 25, 1986 (when the

FHWA rendered its new administrative decision), there

was no action of the defendants in existence that the plain-

tiffs could have complained of. The highway contracts

had been cancelled, and there was no existing agency deci-

sion that in any way approved the highway under section

4(f). There was nothing that the plaintiffs could have

complained of, and there was nothing that made them ‘‘ag-

grieved parties.’’ There simply was no dispute, case or

controversy of any sort between the original parties.

The fact that there was no case or controversy during

this period, which the fK HWA’s own counsel acknowledged

in May 8, 1986 correspondence (R. 5-54-Ex. D), makes the

ruling of the district court and Eleventh Cireuit here

non-sensical. If the lower courts were correct, it would

mean that a case and controversy could exist at one point,

completely cease to exist as an Article III case or contro-

versy at another point, and then somehow rematerialize

later on. If that were the law, that would not only create

tremendous confusion in determining when a case ceased

or was revived, it would squarely conflict with the basic

rule that a case must continue as a real and active case or

controversy during every stage of the proceedings or juris-

diction is lost. Defunis v. Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974).

11

The absence of a present case or controversy in 1986

is further underscored by the fact that the defendants have

never tried to relet the project for contracts over the

nearly four years that have elapsed since DHCA I. If

there was any controversy in 1986, it was the kind of hypo-

thetical one that fails to satisfy the Article III require-

ment that a controversy be concrete and real. Tl ederal

courts should not be in the business of assuming jurisdic-

tion over possible future disputes, but that is precisely

whai occurred here.

II. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION

THAT REFUSES TO ALLOW A PARTY TO

VOLUNTARILY DISMISS A COMPLAINT,

EVEN THOUGH DISMISSAL WOULD CAUSE

THE OPPOSING PARTY NO LEGAL OR OTH-

ER PREJUDICE WHATSOEVER, SERIOUSLY

MISAPPLIES FED. R. CIV. P. 41(a)(2) AND

CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT AND OTHER CIRCUITS.

In the event that the district court were to conclude

that it not only had jurisdiction over any pending case and

coniroversy, but that the plaintiffs’ 1984 complaint had

somehow anticipatorily challenged a then non-existent

1986 administrative decision, plaintiffs moved to volun-

tarily dismiss the complaint insofar as any portion of it

might be so construed, pursuant to Rule 41 (a)(2). (Rk.

5-56-1) That motion should have been granted. See Fo-

man v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178 (1962). It is not the business of

the United States district courts to compel unwilling plain-

tiffs to litigate cases with government agencies, particu-

larly where they never challenged the matter that is pur-

portedly at issue.

OOOO

12

The district court is not empowered to simply weigh

‘the equities’’ in deciding a motion to dismiss under Rule

41(a)(2). Rather, the party opposing the motion should

first show clear and plain legal prejudice before the mo-

tion can be denied. Durham v. Florida East Coast Rail-

way Company, 385 F.2d 366, 368 (5th Cir. 1967). In the

present case, no such ‘‘legal prejudice’’ was possible. In-

deed, the FHWA could not make such a showing because

it has no right whatsoever to ever seek, much less insist

upon, judicial review of its own actions.

In Holiday Queen Land Corporation v. Baker, 489

F.2d 1031 (5th Cir. 1974), the Fifth Cireuit reversed the

district court’s denial of a motion to dismiss without preju-

dice, citing Durham v. Florida East Coast Railway Com-

pany, supra, and reiterated that the defendant must be

legally prejudiced before a court can consider denying

plaintiff’s motion.

Had the court entered a voluntary dismissal, [de-

fendant] faced only the annoyance of a second liti-

gation upon the same subject matter. Despite [de-

fendant’s} insistence that a second suit would be only

a perpetuation of the frivolous and spurious, we con-

clude that [defendant] would not have lost any sub-

stantial right by the dismissal. Jd. at 1032.

In Holiday Queen, unlike the present case, the plaintiff had

affirmatively undertaken to litigate the matter that was

before the court. After full discovery, it appeared at a

pretrial conference that the plaintiff could prove no claim

against one defendant. The motion to dismiss with regard

to that one defendant was denied by the trial court, and, at

trial, the court then entered judgment for the defendant in

the absence of any evidence against it. The facts in Holi-

13

day Queen, which constituted an abuse of discretion, were

mild by comparison to the present case. See also

LeCompte v. Mr. Chip, Inc., 528 F.2d 601 (5th Cir. 1976).

The district court’s opinion here provided no justifi-

eation for denying plaintiffs’ motion. The court merely

stated: ‘‘The defendants have spent a great deal of time

and money in preparing the new findings.’’ In fact, de-

fendants presented no evidence whatsoever concerning the

‘*time and money’’ purportedly spent in connection with

the ‘‘new findings.’’ More importantly, whatever effort

might actually have been expended in connection with the

new decision is attributable directly to defendants’ initial

refusal to follow the law and nothing more.

The merits of the plaintiffs’ motion to dismiss make

the facts in any reported case under Rule 41(a)(2) pale by

comparison. Here, plaintiffs never made any effort what-

soever to put the 1986 decision in issue. When it was

first suggested that there might be a live case or contro-

versy, and that the defendants wanted to interject the

1986 decision into this case, plaintiffs eschewed any desire

to participate in such litigation. No discovery was had,

and there was no trial. To the extent that the defendants

were put to any time or expense in connection with the

litigation here, it was entirely at their initiative and en-

tirely in pursuit of their own tactical self-interest. In

ruling on plaintiffs’ motion, there was no fact or factor

that weighed in defendants’ favor, and denying the motion

to dismiss was error.

Some of the other many court of appeals decisions

concerning voluntary dismissal that contradict the Ele-

venth Cirenuit’s holding include Davis v. USX Corp., 819

F.2d 1270 (4th Cir. 1987); Hamilton v. Firestone, ©79 F.2d

14

143 (9th Cir. 1982); Puerto Rico v. Leith, 668 F.2d 46 (1st

Cir. 1981); Hoffman v. Alside, 596 F.2d 822, 823 (8th Cir.

1979). The Fourth Cireuit’s recent decision in Davis v.

USX Corp., supra, is particularly pertinent since there

had been a prior appeal in that case, just as occurred here,

before the plaintiff sought to dismiss her complaint. While

the Fourth Cireuit held that the district court had abused

its discretion in refusing dismissal in Davis, petitioners

would note that there was far more justification for the

district court’s action in Davis than in the present case.

Davis was an employment discrimination case where the

subject matter of the initial complaint, and the first appeal,

was still very much alive at the time of the second appeal.

Here, by comparison, the 1986 administrative decision and

record that the FHWA brought before the district court

did not even exist when plaintiffs filed their complaint.

III. A DISTRICT COURT SHOULD NOT BE AL.-

LOWED THE ARBITRARY POWER, WHEN

ONE PARTY FILES A MOTION FOR SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT, TO SIMULTANEOUSLY

RULE THAT THE OPPOSING PARTY SHALL

BE ALLOWED NO DISCOVERY WITH RE-

GARD TO THE MOTION, TO DISREGARD

THE OPPOSING PARTY’S RULE 56(f) AFFI-

DAVIT, AND, AT THE SAME TIME, ENTER

SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE MERITS

WITHOUT FIRST AFFORDING THE OPPOS.

ING PARTY AN OPPORTUNITY TO RE-

SPOND TO THE MOTION.

A. The Lower Courts Wrongfully Refused to

Permit Plaintiffs Any Discovery Whatsoever

With Regard to the New 1986 Agency Deci-

sion and Administrative Record.

Because of the bizarre posture of the FHWA motion

for summary judgment, plaintiffs had to request permis-

we.

}

:

:

:

;

:

:

:

:

:

15

sion to pursue discovery before any could be taken. The

four month discovery limitation imposed by the local rule

from the date of answer had lapsed more than two years

before. Notwithstanding the fact that the district court

had allowed discovery during the challenge to the 1984

administrative decision, and notwithstanding the fact that

the 1986 decision document and underlying record were

entirely new and distinct, the district court inexplicably

refused all discovery. In so doing, the court did not even

purport to exercise its discretion or make any determina-

tion of whether discovery was warranted here or why it

might be denied. The court simply rejected the request

out of hand. Not only was the court’s decision a failure to

even exercise discretion, it ignored that fact that plaintiffs

had filed an affidavit pursuant to Rule 56(f) stating that

the motion could not be responded to properly without dis-

covery. (R. 5-54-Ex. B; Ex. 72)

The action in the district court here is literally anpree-

edented. It is axiomatie that parties have a broad right

to discovery. The Supreme Court first laid down this

rule in Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S. 495, 507-08 (1947),

where this court wrote ‘‘that the deposition-cdiscovery rules

are to be accorded a broad and liberal treatment.’’ The

court’s refusal to allow any discovery in the face of coun-

sel’s affidavit pursuant to Rule 56(f) was extremely im-

proper. All other circuits have held that a district court

has diseretion to ‘‘control and guide’’ discovery under

Rule 56(f), but district courts are prohibited from pre-

venting a party from discovery concerning the funda-

mental merits of the summary judgment motion. See, e.g.,

Lowe's, Inc. v. Bays, 209 F.2d 610, 615 (Sth Cir. 1954). No

other court has ever held that summary judginent is proper

16

without allowing a party any discovery concerning the

merits of the motion.

Neither can discovery be denied in the face of a Rule

56(f) affidavit unless it is absolutely clear that the evi-

dence sought is non-existent. Visa International Service

v. Bank Card Holders of America, 784 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir.

1986) ; Exxon Corp. v. FTC, 663 F.2d 120 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

At the very least, a district court must allow the party

some limited discovery to determine whether there is a

sufficient basis to allow the full range of discovery sought

by the party to oppose a summary judgment motion. Visa

International Service v. Bank Card Holders, supra at 1476.

In the cited cases, as in all other reported Rule 56(f)

cases, the party has at least been allowed an opportunity

for some discovery. The issue was whether more discov-

ery should have been granted. No case as harsh as the

present one has ever been reported, where a party was

refused all discovery.

B. Even if the Court Could Have Done All That

It Did and Disallowed All Discovery, It Was

Error to Reach the Merits of the FHWA’s

Motion Without Allowing Plaintiffs An Op-

portunity to Respond on the Merits.

In response to FHWA’s summary judgment motion,

the plaintiffs filed extensive pleadings arguing that the

distriet court had no jurisdiction; that there was no case

or controversy pending; that the 1986 administrative deci-

sion had never been put in issue by complaint or counter-

claim; and that, if the court concluded otherwise, it should

either grant plaintiffs’ motion to voluntarily dismiss their

complaint in that respect or certify the court’s jurisdic-

tional decision for an interlocutory appeal. If the district

oe eee ne POH Si IT tah AB aE EASE a i Coleen on

cab a EN tS he

2 ne ER he Al ai ce et aS Ham, Sei et aha

Ne Cnet ThE te Ai ae ee

17

court were to refuse each and every one of those requests,

plaintiffs filed an affidavit stating that the motion for

summary judgment could not be responded to on the merits

without discovery. If the court were empowered to deny

all of these requests, including discovery, the court was

surely without authority to enter summary judgment with-

out allowing plaintiffs an opportunity to respond by brief

on the merits of the 4(f) question to the extent that that

could be done without discovery.

In essence, the district court entered judgment as if

the plaintiffs were in default, and that was error. The

drastic sanction of judgment is appropriate only where

there has been ‘‘a clear record of delay or contumacious

conduct by the plaintiff.’’ Silas v. Sears Roebuck & Com-

pany, Inc., 586 F.2d 382, 385 (5th Cir. 1978). By no

stretch of the imagination could the plaintiffs be accused

of such conduct here. To the contrary, plaintiffs did

everything that should have been done to allow for the

proper adjudication of the issues that were before the

court and at every stage of the proceedings.

IV. PLAINTIFFS WERE PREVAILING PAR-

TIES, FOR COSTS AND ATTORNEY'S FEES,

IN DHCA I, BECAUSE THEY SUCCESSFUL-

LY ESTABLISHED THAT DEFENDANTS’

4(f) ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION WAS IN.

SUFFICIENT AND ILLEGAL, BECAUSE THE

PROJECT WAS HALTED AS A RESULT OF

DHCA I, AND BECAUSE THE PROJECT

GOULD NOT GO FORWARD ABSENT PREP.

ARATION OF A NEW AND LEGALLY PROP.

ER ADMINISTRATIVE RECORD AND DECI-

SION.

Because plaintiffs were successful in DHCA I in estab-

lishing that defendants’ section 4(f) decision was legally

18

inadequate, plaintiffs sought their costs and attorney’s

fees as ‘‘prevailing parties’’ pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §4 1988

and 2412. The Eleventh Circuit characterized this achieve-

ment as a ‘‘mere procedural victory,’’ and citing this

court’s decision in Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754

(1980), denied attorney’s fees on that basis. 833 F.2d at

1551. In holding that plaintiffs were not prevailing

parties in DHCA I, the Eleventh Cireuit disregarded the

holdings of this court, other circuits, and the very nature

of what a ‘‘prevailing party’’ is in administrative review

litigation.

Plaintiffs’ entire prayer for specific relief in their

complaint requested that the court:

Set aside as contrary to law and an abuse of discre-

tion the defendants’ approval of the project. (R. 31)

Injunctive relief was also requested in order to enforce

the judicial decision that set aside the administrative de-

cision, but as a practical matter no such relief ever needed

to be requested. It was assumed that the defendants would

comply with the DHCA I decision, and defendants did in

fact properly do so and cancelled the contracts on the

project. To this date, some three and one-half years later,

no new contracts have been let.

Plaintiffs achieved all of the ultimate relief they pos-

sibly could have in this case because a decision approving

the project was set aside. In an administrative review

case, no more relief could have been won in the courts.

The Eleventh Cireuit’s holding that the plaintiffs did not

prevail because they only obtained a ‘‘mere procedural

victory’? would make it impossible for a party to recover

costs and fees as a ‘‘prevailing party’’ in nearly every

administrative review case.

19

In a ease challenging the government’s compliance

with the law, the sole power vested in the courts is to pass

on whether the decision at issue did or did not comply

with the applicable substantive statutes. The court gen-

erally does not have the power to make an ultimate and

final finding that a particular project cannot ever go for-

ward, regardless of what future administrative proceed-

ings might show. Since the only relief that is available

from the courts is an order setting aside an administra-

tive decision, parties who achieve such relief have achieved

all that they can by litigation, and they are necessarily

prevailing parties. See Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S.

424 (1983).

In the specific context of highway litigation, the exact

same issue present here arose in Citizens Council of Dela-

ware County v. Brinegar, 741 F.2d 584 (3rd Cir. 1984).

Attorney’s fees were awarded to the plaintiffs there in

connection with their successful litigation setting aside,

on the basis of section 4(f), an administrative decision to

build a highway. The fact that the defendants could go

back to the administrative process was irrelevant. Indeed,

the defendants there did subsequently revise their admin-

istrative proceedings and again approved the project.

(The district court upheld that later decision when it was

affirmatively challenged by some of the same plaintiffs.

See Ashwood Manor Civic Association v. Dole, 619 F.Supp.

52 (B.D. Pa. 1985).) See also Sierra Club v. Army Corps

of Engineers, 776 F.2d 383, 393 (2nd Cir. 1985) ; Save our

Ecosystems v. Clark, 747 F.2d 1240 (9th Cir. 1984) ; South-

ern Oregon Citizens v. Clark, 720 F.2d 1475 (9th Cir.

1983); Environmental Defense Fund, Inc. v. Watt, 554

F.Supp. 36 (E.D. N.Y. 1982), aff’d 722 F.2d 1081 (2nd

20

Cir. 1983) (awarding fees in NEPA and environmental

cases where defendants could recommence the challenged

activity upon compliance with the underlying substantive

statutes at issue).

Plaintiffs could cite any number of decisions where

much less relief was won but plaintiffs nevertheless ‘‘pre-

vailed.’’ Many of these cases involve situations where

the plaintiff achieved none of the ‘‘ultimate objective”’

they may have desired, but the defendants were forced to

comply with some procedural requirement of the law. Such

eases include Fast v. School District of City of Ladue, 728

F.2d 1030, 1032 (8th Cir. 1984) (en bane); /nstitutional-

ized Juveniles v. Secretary of Public Welfare, 758 F.2d

897, 911 n. 25 (3rd Cir. 1985); Bagby v. Beal, 606 F.2d 411

(3rd Cir. 1979).

A recent case in the Ninth Circuit underscores just

how far the Eleventh Circuit’s opinion is from established

precedent. Guerrero v. Marsh, 819 F.2d 238 (9th Cir.

1987). In Guerrero, the plaintiff was seeking a correc-

tion in his Army records, but the Army Board of Correc-

tion took no action on his request. The sole success that

Guerrero achieved through litigation was to compel the

Army to take some action on his request. Whether the

plaintiff might ultimately get his records corrected as

desired played no part in the Ninth Cirecuit’s decision.

Nevertheless, Guerrero’s victory in ultimately compelling

the Army to make some administrative decision on his

request was sufficient to make him the prevailing party

since he obtained all that he could in that case. ‘‘Guer-

rero has prevailed under the Equal Access to Justice Act,

28 U.S.C. § 2412.’’ 819 F.2d at 242. Under the Eleventh

21

Cireuit’s reasoning in the present case, however, Guerrero

would have obtained relief that would have been much

closer to a ‘‘mere procedural victory’’ than the relief ob-

tained by the plaintiffs here, and he would not have been

a ‘‘prevailing party.’’

The Ninth Circuit recently followed Guerrero in an-

other KAJA case, Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Lehman, 842 F.2d

1102, 1115-17 (9th Cir. 1988). There, the court held:

Litigants who succeed in a claim to compel a de-

fendant to comply procedurally with the law can be

‘‘prevailing parties’? even if they do not win relief

on their related substantive claim. Jd. at 1116.

The Eleventh Cireuit’s construction of prevailing

party is clearly incorrect, and it contradicts the decisions

of this court and other circuits. Because the interpreta-

tion of ‘‘prevailing party’’ status for cost and fee awards

is common to a tremendous amount of litigation through-

out this country, this conflict between the circuits should

be resolved.

fy

Vv

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioners respectfully

pray that the writ be granted and that this case be brought

before the United States Supreme Court for review.

Respectfully submitted,

WALBERT & HERMANN

/s/ By: Davi F. WaLBertr

100 Peachtree Street

Suite 500

Atlanta, Georgia 30303

404/523-5000

Al

APPENDIX A

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION,

INC., et al., Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION,

INC., et al., Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION,

et al., Defendants,

National Trust for Historic

Preservation in the United

States, Appellant.

Nos. 87-8122, 87-8149.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit.

Dee. 16, 1987.

Before RONEY, Chief Judge,

HATCHETT, Circuit Judge, and

HAND*, Chief District Judge.

HATCHETT, Circuit Judge:

The district court’s ruling in this case requires that we

apply the principles established in J'aylor v. Heckler, 778

F.2d 674 (11th Cir.1985), and Litman v. Massachusetts

Mutual Life Insurance Co., 825 F.2d 1506 (11th Cir.1987)

(in bane). Applying those principles, we affirm.

* Honorable William Brevard Hand, Chief U.S. District Judge

for the Southern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

A2

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The federai appellees authorized funding for the state

appellees to construct a project known as the Presidential

Parkway in Atlanta, Georgia.! The parkway is a proposed

2.4 mile section of highway running east from the I-75/1-85

stub in downtown Atlanta, George, to Ponce de Leon Ave-

nue, an east-west roadway that is part of the Olmsted Park

network in Atlanta’s Druid Hills historie district.

Several civic associations and residents of the affected

area (collectively referred to as Druid Hills) challenged

the project in the district court.2 The district court dis-

missed Druid Hill’s complaint ruling that the government

had made adequate findings in its environmental impact

statement (EIS). On appeal, we affirmed the district

court’s decision in part and reversed it in part. Druid

Hills Civic Association, Inc., et al. v. Federal Highway

Administration, et al., 772 F.2d 700 (11th Cir.1985). We

remanded the case to the district court for a further re-

mand to the Secretary of Transportation, requiring the

Secretary to make adequate findings under section 4(f) of

the Department of Transportation Act of 1966, 49 U.S.C.

1. The appellees are: FHWA; USDOT; GDOT; EPA; R.A. Barn-

hart, the Administrator of the FHWA; D.jJ. Altobelli, Georgia

State Division Director of the FHWA; Elizabeth Dole, Secre-

tary of the USDOT; Thomas D. Moreland, Commissioner of

the GDOT; and Carl Jeter, Regional Administrator of the EPA.

2. The appellants are: The Druid Hills Civic Association, Inc.;

Inman Park Restoration, Inc.; Candler Park Neighborhood Or-

ganization; CAUTION, Inc.; various named individuals; and

the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

De ee ee ae ee eee Pee ee ee

Oe ee ete

eet ee eae eT ee es

ee ae eee ee ee

A3

§ 303 (1982). Section 4(f)(1) requires that the Secretary

find no feasible or prudent alternatives to the use of park

lands and historic sites before approving such property for

highway purposes.* Section 4(f)(2) requires the Secretary

3. Our directions on remand were:

In summary, the case must be remanded to the Secretary

for adequate findings of the impact on 4(f) properties caused

by the Decatur Parkway and the two Moreland Avenue

plans. This review should encompass an accurate assess-

ment of the characteristics of the property that will be af-

fected by the aiternative, e.g., if the property is in a his-

toric district, whether it has been previously impacted by

commercial development and if so, to what extent. The

Secretary’s review must also address the quantity of harm

that will accrue to the park or historic site and the nature

of that harm, e.g., visual impact or physical taking. It will

not suffice to simply state that an alternative route would

affect 4(f) properties without providing some rational, docu-

mented basis for such a conclusion. In short, the same con-

sideration must be given to whether these alternative routes

would minimize harm to the section 4(f) properties as was

accorded the adopted route.

772 F.2d at 718.

4. Section 4(f) of the Department of Transportation Act, 49

U.S.C. § 1653(f), was repealed in 1983 but was recodified

without substantial change at 49 U.S.C. § 303.

Section 18 of the Federal-Aid Highway Act, 23 U.S.C.

§ 138, is virtually identical to section 4(f) of the Department

of Transportation Act, 49 U.S.C. § 303. For purposes of this

appeal, the statutes will be referred to collectively as “sec-

tion 4(f).”

Section 4(f) states:

(a) It is the policy of the United States Government that

special effort should be made to preserve the natural

beauty of the country-side and public park and recreation

lands, wildlife and waterfowl refuges, and historic sites.

(b) The Secretary of Transportation shall cooperate and

consult with the Secretaries of the Interior, Housing and

(Continued on following page)

A4

to utilize all possible planning to minimize harm to parks

and historic sites before allowing a property to be used for

highway purposes,

Following our remand, in further remanding the case

to the Secretary, the district court adopted the mandate of

this court. At that time, Druid Hills moved for attorney’s

fees.

Following remand to the Secretary, the Federal High-

way Administration (FHWA) made additional findings

and again determined that the project satisfied the require-

ments of section 4(f). The FHWA then filed in the district

court a motion for summary judgment. The administra-

tive record filed with the motion for summary judgment

was developed entirely upon remand and did not include

any part of the record developed in the original admin-

istrative proceedings. The district court granted FHWA’s

(Continued from previous page)

Urban Development, and Agriculture, and with the States,

in developing transportation plans and programs that in-

clude measures to maintain or enhance the natural beauty

of lands crossed by transportation activities or facilities.

(c) The Secretary may approve a transportation program

or project requiring the use of publicly owned land of a

public park, recreation area, or wildlife and waterfowl

refuge of national, State, or local significance, or land of

an historic site of national, State or local significance (as

determined by the Federal, State, or local officials having

jurisdiction over the park, area, refuge, or site) only if—

(1) there is no prudent and feasible alternative to us-

ing that land; and

(2) the program or propect includes all possible plan-

ning to minimize harm to the park, recreation area,

wildlife and waterfowl refuge, or historic site resulting

from the use.

49 U.S.C. § 303 (1982).

A5

motion for summary judgment and denied Druid Hills’s

motion for attorney’s fees, 650 F.Supp. 1368.

ISSUES

On appeal, Druid Hills contends that: (A) the district

court lacked jurisdiction to entertain FHWA’s motion for

summary judgment; (B) the district court abused its dis-

cretion in denying Druid Hills’s motion to voluntarily dis-

miss the complaint; (C) the district court abused its dis-

cretion in denying Druid Hills’s request for discovery; and

(D) the district court abused its discretion iu denying

Druid Hills attorney’s fees and costs.

A. JURISDICTION

Druid Hills contends its complaint challenged only the

original decision in the Draft and Final Environmental

impact Statements (DEIS and FEIS), which also served

as the 4(f) decision document. The DEIS and FEIS did

not become part of the administrative record considered

by the Secretary upon remand for further findings under

section 4(f). Druid Hills’s complaint alleged that ap-

proval of the Presidential Parkway was in conflict with

section 4(f), the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969, 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321-75, because certain hearings on the

project had not been held. The district court originally

ruled against Druid Hills on all issues raised, but this court

remanded the case to the district court for further remand

‘*to the Secretary for adequate findings of impact on 4(f)

properties caused by the Decatur Parkway and the two

Moreland Avenue plans.’’ Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at 718.

According to Druid Hills, since the 1984 complaint did not

contemplate a challenge to the 1986 decision of the Secre-

a

cat incenatiaemenniaie aia

A6

tary on remand, the district court lacked jurisdiction to

consider FHWA’s motion for summary judgment seeking

approval of the Secretary’s 1986 decision. Druid Hills

further contends that when the district court entered judg-

ment adopting the remand order of the Eleventh Cireuit,

that judgment constituted a final judgment, effectively

terminating the litigation and the district court’s juris-

diction.

Had the district court originally determined the See-

retary’s 4(f) findings inadequate and remanded the case

to the Secretary, clearly, the district court would have re-

tained jurisdiction of the case until the proceedings on

remand were concluded.

This cireuit treats a/l remand orders to the Secretary

fof Health and Human Services] as inierlocutory

orders, not as final judgments. See Howell v.

Schweiker, 699 F.2d 524 (11th Cir.1983); Tookes v.

Harris, 614 F.2d 1296 (5th Cir.1980) (published as an

appendix in Howell). In Howell, we held that the ‘dis-

trict court’s [remand]... [does] not end the litiga-

tion’ because the Secretary may thereafter grant or

deny benefits to the claimant . . . [who] may obtain

subsequent judicial review.”

Taylor v. Heckler, 778 F.2d 674, 677 (11th Cir.1985)

(emphasis in original).

The only distinction between Taylor and this case is

that the district court remanded the case to the Secretary

of Transportation because the Eleventh Cireuit ordered

2 Because this circuit considers a remand order an interlocu-

tory order, it follows by operation of law that the district court

retains jurisdiction of the case until the proceedings on remand

have been concluded. To terminate its jurisdiction, the district

court must subsequently enter a dispositive order of some sort.

ya oe -™” ee ee ee

A7

it to do so. This is a distinction without a difference.

Hence, the district court retained jurisdiction.

Druid Hills contends the district court's entry of judg-

ment adopting this court’s mandate after the first appeal

constituted a final judgment under the separate document

rule of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 58. In support

of this proposition, Druid Hills cites United States v.

Perez, 736 F.2d 236 (Sth Cir.1984). Perez held a district

court’s order adopting a magistrate’s report and recom-

mendation constituted a judgment under rule 58.

Neither Perez nor other cases cited by Druid Hills

and amici curiae involved remand orders like the one in

this case.’ The purpose of the separate document rule is

to provide a clear indication of when litigation is ter-

minated. In re Tidewater Group, Inc., 734 F.2d 794, 795-

96 (11th Cir.1984). Beeause the purpose of a remand or-

der is to continue litigation rather than terminite it, such

orders cannot reasonably be construed as terminating liti-

gation on the issues remanded.

Druid Hills further argues that its complaint merely

sought a determination that the Secretary’s original ap-

proval of the parkway did not satisfy section 4(f) require-

ments. Since the court of appeals agreed and remanded

the ease for further findings, Druid Hills asserts that it

received all the relief it originaliy sought, thereby elim-

5. We affirm the district court’s denial of National Trust for

Historic Preservation’s motion to intervene in this lawsuit.

We treat its briefs appealing (in Case No. 87-8149) the dis-

trict court’s denial of its motion to intervene as amicus

briefs. Amicus curiae Carter Presidential Center also filed

a brief in this case (No. 87-8122).

A8

inating any case or controversy from the lawsuit and de-

priving the district court of article III jurisdiction.

When a party files a lawsuit it submits itself to the

authority and rules governing that court. In general,

these rules exist to further justice, not to help or hinder

a particular party. Litman v. Massachusetts Mutual Life

Insurance Co., 825 F.2d 1506 (11th Cir.1987) (in bane).

A party cannot couch its pleadings so as to unilaterally

eliminate a rule governing the proceedings. In short,

Druid Hills could not unilaterally deprive this court of its

authority to remand the case to the Secretary for further

findings. When Druid Hills filed its complaint it sub-

mitted itself to the authority of the federal court system.

The fact that Druid Hills may have become satisfied at a

given procedural stage in the litigation does not deprive

the federal court system of article [11 jurisdiction. The

existence of a case or controversy must be viewed in light

of all the proceedings available to both litigants under

the rules and authority of the federal court system. Were

the rule otherwise, a party could state in its complaint

that it seeks relief ‘‘only from the district court’’ and upon

receiving a favorable judgment, avoid an appeal on the

ground that no case or controversy exists because the

complainant is satisfied with the district court’s judgment.

Although this court’s reversal of the district court may

have satisfied Druid Hills, it did not satisfy FHWA, et al.

Either party may create or sustain a case or controversy.

FHWA’s motion for summary judgment, made following

the Secretary’s new 4(f) findings on remand, presented a

case or controversy satisfying the district court’s juris-

dictional requirements. Accordingly, the district court re-

A lila Sw aN ER

A9

tained jurisdiction of this case after it remanded the case

to the Secretary for further proceedings.

B. VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL

Druid Hills contends the district court abused its dis-

cretion in denying Druid Hill’s motion to voluntarily dis-

miss the complaint. A district court does not abuse its

discretion in granting a motion for voluntary dismissal

unless the party opposing the motion ‘‘will suffer some

plain legal prejudice other than the mere prospect of a

second law suit. It is no bar to dismissal that | the movant]

may obtain some tactical advantage thereby.’’ Durham

v. Florida East Coast Railway Co., 385 F.2d 366, 368 (5th

Cir.1967) (emphasis in original).

Had the district court granted Druid Hills’s motion to

voluntarily dismiss its complaint, then FHWA, et al. would

effectively have suffered the legal detriment of being de-

prived of the court of appeals’s order remanding the case

to the Secretary for further proceedings. Where a party

brings an appeal challenging the decision of a lower tri-

bunal and the case is remanded for new proceedings, then

the right to new proceedings belongs to both parties, not

to either party individually. Litman v. Massachusetts

Mutual Life Insurance Co., 825 F.2d at 1514 (11th Cir.

1987) (in bane).

In Litman, the defendant appealed a jury verdict

awarding punitive damages to the plaintiff. On appeal,

this court ordered a new trial solely on the issue of puni-

tive damages. On remand, the defendant filed in district

court a waiver of its right to a new trial, consenting to the

jury’s original punitive damage award. Accordingly, the

A10

district court entered judgment for plaintiff in the amount

of the punitive damages originally determined by the jury.

That decision was itself appealed to the Fleventh Cireuit,

which heard the case in bane. The in bane court held:

‘‘Once the appellate ruling became final, the right to a

new trial belonged to neither party individually but rather

to both.’’ Litman, 825 F.2d at 1514.

Therefore, when this court remanded this case to the

Secretary for further findings, both appellants and appel-

lees acquired a right to those proceedings. Since the dis-

trict court retained jurisdiction of this case on remand,

this court’s remand order necessarily conferred upon both

parties a right to have the case fully litigated in the dis-

trict court after the administrative hearing. Had the dis-

trict court granted Rruid Hills’smotion for voluntary dis-

missal, this would have deprived FHWA, et al. of their

right to further proceedings in the district court. Since

FHWA, et al. would have suffered plain legal prejudice

had Druid Hills’s complaint been dismissed, the district

court did not abuse its diseretion in denying Druid Hills’s

motion for voluntary dismissal.

C. DISCOVERY

Druid Hills also contends that the district court abus-

ed its discretion in denying the motion for discovery. By

the requested discovery, Druid Hills sought to attack the

motion for summary judgment. The district court denied

discovery despite the affidavit of counsel for Druid Hills

pursuant to rule 56(f) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pre-

cedure. That rule allows a court to permit ‘‘depositions to

be taken or discovery to be had’’ to allow a party to oppose

a motion for summary judgment. On the other hand,

eee ae oe

All

FHWA contends that the affidavit of counsel for Druid

Hills did not comply with rule 56(f) because the affidavit

did not give reasons why Druid Hills could not ‘‘ present

by affidavit facts essential to justify [its] opposition.”’

Fed.R.Civ.P.56(f).

FHWA filed its motion for summary judgment on

June 6, 1986. After Druid Hills obtained an extension of

time to respond to the motion, it filed a brief on August 20,

1986. That brief, however, did not respond substantively

to the merits of the motion. Druid Hills also failed to take

advantage of the district court’s September 16, 1986,

order allowing Druid Hills to file a brief in opposition to

the motion. Druid Hills’s apparent reluctance to make

any serious substantive challenge to the motion, combined

with the fact that it had the opportunity to conduct exten-

sive discovery at the time of its original challenge to the

approval of the Presidential Parkway, support the district

court’s determination that further discovery would not

lead to the creation of a material question of fact. There-

fore, the district court did not abuse its discretion in deny-

ing Druid Hills’s motion for additional discovery.

D. ATTORNEY FEES

Under 42 U.S.C. $§ 1983 and 1988, a party is entitled

to attorney’s fees if it prevails on a significant legal issue,

thereby achieving the primary relief sought. Bd J Muse,

Inc. v. McAuliffe, 719 F.2d 1536, 1539 (11th Cir.1983). We

read Druid Hills’s complaint as seeking to prevent the con-

struction of the Presidential Parkway. Druid Hills con-

tends it merely sought a ruling that the FHWA’s initial

approval of the parkway did not comply with section 4(f).

We interpret that, however, as a mere procedural victory.

Al2

Since we have not overturned the district court’s granting

of FHWA’s motion for summary judgment, Druid Hills

has not ultimately achieved the primary relief sought and

is therefore not entitled to attorney’s fees. Hanrahan v.

Hampton, 446 U.S. 754, 757-58, 100 S.Ct. 1987, 1989-90, 64

L.Ed.2d 670 (1980); Doe v. Busbee, 684 F.2d 1375, 1580

(11th Cir.1982).

We find no error in the district court’s denial of Na-

tional Trust for Historical Preservation’s motion to inter-

vene.

Druid Hills’s cla. that the case should be remanded

for reassignment to a different district judge is moot.

The judgments of the district court are affirmed in

both cases.

AFFIRMED.

PT a ee ee ee Oe ee ee ee ee, ee Y

A13

APPENDIX B

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION, INC.,

et al.

V.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION,

et al.

Civ. No. C-84-1931-A.

United States District Court,

N.D. Georgia,

Atlanta Division.

' Dec. 28, 1986.

ORDER

O’KELLEY, District Judge.

Presently before the court are plaintiffs’ motion for

attorneys’ fees, costs, and expenses; federal defendants’

motion for summary judgment and plaintiffs’ conditional

motion for voluntary dismissal as to the subject matter of

federal defendants’ motion for summary judgment; and

plaintiffs’ motion to allow filing of amendment to and clar-

ification of plaintiffs’ brief in support of plaintiffs’ appli-

cation for fees, costs, and expenses.

FACTS

Plaintiffs filed their complaint in this case on Septem-

ber 28, 1984. The complaint challenged the May 22, 1984

administrative decision approving the construction of the

Presidential Parkway under section 4(f) of the Depart-

ment of Transportation Act of 1966, 49 U.S.C. ¢ 303 (1982),

and the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969

(NEPA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 4821-4347 (1982), and on other

Al4

grounds that are no longer relevant. The complaint re-

quested both declaratory and injunctive relief. This court

consolidated the application for preliminary injunction

with the trial on the merits. The trial was held October

22-25, 1984. By order dated November 14, 1984, this court

denied both plaintiffs’ motion to enjoin construction of the

Parkway and for an injunction pending appeal.

Plaintiffs’ appealed this decision to the Eleventh Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals. On September 16, 1985, the Elev-

enth Cireuit rendered its opinion affirming this court’s

decision in most respects. Druid Hills Civic Association v.

Federal Highway Administration, 772 ¥.2d 700 (11th Cir.

1985). The Eleventh Cireuit found, however, that this

court erred in finding that the defendants section 4(f) (2)

decisions concerning the Decatur Parkway and the two

Moreland Avenue plans were adequate because the Elev-

enth Cireuit found that the EIS did not provide the predi-

cate facts on which to make a reasoned judgment. ‘The

Eleventh Circuit remanded this case for the Secretary of

Transportation to make adequate findings of the impact

on 4(f) properties caused by the Decatur Parkway and

the two Moreland Avenue plans. Jd. at 718-19. By order

of November 15, 1985, the mandate of the Eleventh Circuit

was made the judgment of this court.

On January 13, 1986, Plaintiffs filed a motion for an

award of attorneys’ fees, costs, and expenses. Plaintiffs’

basis for this motion is that plaintiffs were the prevailing

party in this action pursuant to the decision and judgment

of the Eleventh Cireuit.

After remand the state and federal defendants under-

took additional analysis and made additional findings as

Ald

described in the Addendum. (A.R. II-11). After complying

with the administrative procedures, the Secretary of

Transportation on April 25, 1986, determined that there

was no prudent and feasible alternative to the construction

of the Presidential Parkway and that the project includes

all possible planning to minimize harm. On June 6, 1986,

the federal defendants filed this motion for summary judg-

ment asking the court to determine the adequacy of the

federal defendants’ findings pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 303

(1982).

DISCUSSION

I. Federal Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment.

A. Whether Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judg-

ment is Properly Before this Court?

Plaintiffs contend that the Federal Highway Adminis-

tration’s (FHWA) motion for summary judgment asks

this court to approve the agency’s administrative decision

in an advisory opinion. It is plaintiffs’ position that the

new administrative decision made by defendants in April

has never been challenged by the complaint in this case,

and therefore, there can be no basis for an action in this

case.

Whether defendants motion for summary judgment is

properly before the court depends primarily on whether by

adopting the mandate of the Eleventh Circuit, which re-

manded this case for the Secretary of Transportation for

additional fact-finding, this court has entered a final judg-

ment. The court finds that this issue is controlled by

Taylor v. Heckler, 778 F.2d 674 (11th Cir.1985) and this

court’s adoption of the Eleventh Circuit mandate does not

constitute a final judgment.

oe.” Si.

Al6

Taylor involved a remand by a district court to an

administrative agency. In Taylor the Eleventh Circuit

said‘‘[t]his circuit treats all remand orders to the Secre-

tary as interlocutory orders, not as final judgments.’’ Id.

at 677 (emphasis in original) (citing Howell v. Schweiker,

699 F.2d 524 (11th Cir.1983); Tookes v. Harris, 614 F.2d

1296 (5th Cir.1980)). This court can find no authority for

treating a remand to the Secretary of Health and Human

Services differently than a remand to the Secretary of

Transportation.

Having decided that the adoption of the Eleventh Cir-

cuit’s mandate does not constitute a final judgment, the

court will next consider plaintiffs’ contention that there is

no case or controversy before the court and any decision

on federal defendants’ motion for summary judgment

would constitute an advisory opinion. A controversy must

be definite and concrete touching the legal relations of

parties having adverse legal interests. Aetna Life Insur-

ance Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S. 227, 239, 57 S.Ct. 461, 463,

81 L.Ed. 617 (1937). The plaintiffs claim that there is no

case or controversy because they do not challenge the re-

cent 4(f) findings but only the 4(f) findings made by de-

fendants in 1984.

By reversing a judgment of the district court, the ap-

pellate court voids the lower court’s findings. Atlantic

Coast Lie Railroad v. Saint Joe Paper Co., 216 F.2d 832

(5th Cir.1954), cert. denied, 348 U.S. 963, 75 S.Ct. 522, 99

L.Ed. 7510 (1955). In this ease the Eleventh Circuit void-

ed this ecourt’s decision that the Secretary of Transporta-

tion had made adequate 4(f) findings with regard to the

Decatur Parkland and Moreland Avenue plans. For this

reason, the court finds that the 4(f) issue first raised in

the complaint still exists concerning the three alternatives

STE Se Le ee eT R

Pe es eo

Al7

about which the court of appeals reversed and remanded

to this court. The 1986 findings supplement the 1984 find-

ings that the court of appeals determined were not ade-

quate.

B. Plaintiffs’ Alternative Motion for Voluntary

Dismissal.

If an answer or a motion for summary judgment has

been served, plaintiff’s right to dismiss by simply giving

notice ends. In this case the defendants have refused to

stipulate to dismissal; therefore, plaintiff must have the

permission of the court to dismiss. Fed.R.Civ.P. 41(a).

The purpose of rule 41(a)(2) is to prevent voluntary

dismissal that may unfairly affect the other side. For this |

reason, courts have generally allowed dismissals unless the /

defendants will suffer some legal prejudice other than a

second lawsuit. Durham v. Florida East Coast Railway

Co., 385 F.2d 366 (5th Cir.1967); 9 C. Wright & A. Miller,

Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2364 (1971). |

In this case the court finds that dismissal at this stage

would result in prejudice to the defendants. This case

has been in litigation for more than two years. The de-

fendants have spent a great deal of time and money in

preparing the new findings. Accordingly, the equities in

this case fall in favor of denying plaintiffs’ motion for

voluntary dismissal.

C. Plaintiffs’ Request for Interlocutory Appeal.

Plaintiffs request that, if this court finds that there

is a case or controversy before the court and that plain-

tiffs’ voluntary motion to dismiss should be denied, the

A18

court allow plaintiffs to file an interlocutory appeal from

such decisions pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

There are three prerequisites set forth in 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b) that must be met before a court should allow

an interlocutory appeal: (1) the appeal must concern a

controlling question of law; (2) there must be a substan-

tial ground for difference of opinion about this controlling

question of law; and (3) the appeal must materially ad-

vance the ultimate determination of the litigation.

With regard to plaintiffs’ motion for voluntary dis-

missal, generally matters that are within the court’s dis-

cretion are not matters about which a court should grant

an interlocutory appeal. See Allen v. Mississippi Commis-

sion of Law Enforcement, 424 F.2d 285 (5th Cir.1970). Al-

though whether there is a case or controversy befcre this

court concerns a controlling question of law, there is clear

precedent in this circuit for this court’s position. The

court finds that allowing plaintiff to file an interlocutory

appeal on these issues would result only in undue delay.

Accordingly, plaintiff’s request to file an interlocutory ap-

peal is denied. ;

D. Plaintiffs’ Request for a Grant of a Ninety-Day

Discovery Period. L

When a case has been reversed and remanded, the

district court has discretion concerning whether any addi-

tional discovery should be permitted. The question before

the court on federal defendant’s motion for summary judg-

ment is whether the administrative record upon which the

defendants relied in making their decision is adequate to

support their findings. The same administrative record

A19

that the defendants relied upon is before this court. Con-

sequently, the court does not find that additional discovery

would aid the resolution of this question. The court, there-

fore, denies plaintiffs’ request for an additional ninety-day

discovery period.

E. Merits of Federal Defendants’ Summary Judg-

ment Motion.

After careful review of the record the court grants

federal defendants’ motion for summary judgment.' ‘‘ ‘The

summary judgment procedure is particularly appropriate

in cases in which the court is asked to review . .. a decision

of a federal administrative agency.’’’ Florida Fruit &

Vegetable Ass’n v. Brock, 771 F.2d 1455, 1459 (11th Cir.

1985) (quoting 10A C. Wright, A. Miller, & M. Kane,

Federal Practice and Procedure, Civil 2d § 2733 (1983)) ;

Holley v. Seminole County School District, 755 F.2d 1492,

1499-1500 n. 5 (11th Cir.1985). Summary judgment is par-

ticularly appropriate in cases such as this one because the

court considers the same record that was before the agency

when making its decision. Citizens to Preserve Overton

1. On July 7, 1986, plaintiffs filed their response to defendants’

motion for summary judgment. In that response, plaintiffs

addressed the preliminary questions discussed supra in this

order but did not address the merits of defendants’ sum-

mary judgment motion. By order of September 16, 1986,

the court granted plaintiff until rma 22, 1986 to file

a brief pM soreron: the merits of defendants’ motion and set

a hearing on these motions for October 17, 1986. Piaintiffs

did not File their brief within the designated time nor have

they filed a brief since that time.

In addition to the pleadings filed concerning the defen-

dants’ motion for summary judgment, the court also re-

viewed the exhibits attached to those pleadings in determin-

ing the merits of this motion.

A20

Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 420, 91 S.Ct. 814, 825, 28

L.Ed.2d 136 (1971); Brock, 771 F.2d at 1459; Ryder Truck

Lines, Inc. v. United States, 716 F.2d 1369, 1378 (11th Cir.

1983).

The court of appeals remanded this case to the Secre-

tary of Transportation ‘‘for adequate findings of the im-

pact on 4(f) properties caused by the Decatur Parkway

and Moreland Avenue plans.’* Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at

718. The court further directed the Secretary that

{t]his review should encompass an accurate assess-

ment of the characteristics of the property that will be

affected by the alternative, e.g., if the property is in a

historic district, whether it has been previously im-

pacted by commercial development and if so, to what

extent. The Secretary’s review must also address the

quantity of harm that will accrue to the park or his-

toric site and the nature of that harm, e.g., visual im-

pact or physical taking. It will not suffice to simply

state that an alternative route would affect 4(f) pro-

perties without providing some rational, documented

basis for such a conclusion. In short, the same con-

sideration must be given to whether these alternative

routes would minimize harm to the section 4(f) pro-

perties as was accorded the adopted route.

Id.

Pursuant to these directives, the state and federal de-

fendants undertook additional analysis and made addi-

tional findings to comply with the Eleventh Circuit’s man-

date. On April 25, 1986, after reviewing the Addendum, the

administrative record and all comments about their new

findings, the federal defendants determined that there was

no prudent and feasible alternative to the construction

of the Presidential Parkway and that the project includes

all possible planning to minimize harm. The court finds

A21

that the federal defendants’ decision complies with the

court of appeals’ directives.

The Supreme Court set forth the standard of review

of the Seeretary’s decisions concering section 4(f) prop-

erties in Overton Park. The reviewing court must conduct

a three part inguiry. First, the court must determine

whether the Secretary properly acted within the socpe of

her authority. When deciding this, the court must de-

termine whether the Secretary properly construed her au-

thority to approve the use of 4(f) properties only when

there were no other feasible and prudent alternatives, and

whether the Secretary could have reasonably believed that

no such alternatives exist. Second, the court must inquire

whether the Secretary’s decision was arbitrary, capricious

or an abuse of discretion, that is, whether the decision was

based on consideration of relevant factors and whether

there has been a clear error of judgment. Third, the court

must determine whether the Secretary’s actions followed

the requisite procedural requirements. Overton Park, 401

U.S. at 415-17, 91 S.Ct. at 823-24; Druid Hills, 772 F.2d

at 714.

(1) Whether the Secretary Acted Properly Within

the Scope of Her Authority.

The Secretary’s section 4(f) determinations filed with

this court substantiates that the Secretary properly con-

strued her authority with respect to section 4(f). In see-

tion II of the determinations the federal defendants set

forth the relevant inquiries demanded by the Supreme

Court’s decision in Overton Park and the Eleventh Cir-

cuit’s decision remanding this case to the Secretary. The

A22

4(f) determinations comply strictly with the guidelines

set forth in these cases. For this reason, the court is

satisfied that the Secretary properly construed her au-

thority to use 4(f) properties only when there were no

other feasible and prudent alternatives.

The court also finds that the Secretary could have

reasonably believed that no such alternatives existed. The

defendants undertook additional analysis of the three al-

ternatives for which the case was remanded for further

findings. Further investigation of the Marbut I plan re-

vealed that by making certain changes in that plan, the

plan would not require the use of any section 4(f) land.

An alternative that does not require the use of sec-

tion 4(f) land must be evaluated under section 4(f) (1)

which requires that the Secretary must approve such an

alternative unless it is shown that the alternative is not

feasible or prudent. ‘‘An alternative is feasible if it can

be built as a matter of sound engineering. ... An alter-

native is prudent unless there are ‘‘truly unusual factors

present in a particular case or the cost or community

disruption resulting from alternative routes reached ex-

traordinary magnitudes,’ or the alternative routes present

‘unique problems.’ ’’ Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at 715 (quoting

Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 411, 413, 91 S.Ct. at 821, 822).

Federal defendants determined that Marbut I was im-

prudent because it failed to meet the needs of the project

and adversely impacted air quality. In analyzing Marbut

I, the defendants made the following findings:

The already severe congestion at Ponce de Leon Ave-

nue and Moreland Avenue/Briarcliff Road and other

ee es

A23

area intersections would worsen. Safety on Ponce de

Leon Avenue would be improved to the west of More-

land Avenue but worsen to the east. Therefore, there

is a shift of the safety problem but not a solution.

Filter through traffic diverting around the bottleneck

at Ponce de Leon Avenue and Moreland Avenue/Briar-

cliff Road would be increased. This results in a con-

tination or worsening of the problem. When viewing

the already unacceptable safety and congestion prob-

lems, this alternative does the worst job of addressing

the project transportation need.

(A.R. I-14 at 19-20.) The defendants also found that the

Marbut I alternative would probably violate National

Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for carbon mo-

noxide at the Ponce de Leon Avenue and Moreland Ave-

nue/Briarcliff Road intersection. There are residences in

close proximity to this intersection. For this reason, the

defendants found that the potential exists for adverse pub-

lic health effects. Thus, it was reasonable for the Secre-

tary to find that there was no alternative to the use of

4(f) properties since the only alternative not using 4(f)

properties failed to meet the transportation needs of the

project and adversely impacted air quality in the project

area,

(2) Whether the Secretary’s Decision was Arbitrary,

Capricious or an Abuse of Discretion.

The court must next determine whether the decision

to build the Presidential Parkway rather than another al-

ternative using section 4(f) property is based upon con-

sideration of relevant factors and whether there has been

A24

a clear error judgment. Alternatives using 4(f) properties

are analyzed under section 4(f)(2). That section requires

a balancing process that totals the harm caused by each

alternate route to section 4(f) areas and selects the option

that does the least harm. Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at 716

(citing Louisiana Environmental Society, Inc. v. Coleman

(LES. 11), 587 F.2d 79, 85-86 (Sth Cir.1976) ).

The federal defendants undertook extensive analysis

of the quality and quantity of the section 4(f) properties.*

(A.R. I-14 at 30-62). The following is a summary of the

defendants’ findings: the federal defendants determined

that the Olmstead Park and Parkways are the primary

historic properties effected by the alternatives. The de-

fendants found that all three alternatives use more land

from the Olmstead Park and Parkways than does the Presi-

dential Parkway. (A.R. I-14 at 59.) Additionally, the de-

fendants found that the Decatur Parkway alternative

would require the use of twelve contributing structures

from within the Candler Park Historie District and two

contributing structures from the Moreland Historie Dis-

trict. The Decatur Parkway was found to have substantial

impacts on the Sycamore Historie District. (Jd. at 59-61.)

The defendants found that the Moreland Avenue Termi-

nation Alternate would require land use from Atkins

Park, which would require the relocation of certain con-

tributing gates and walls. (Jd.) The defendants found that

in addition to the Marbut II alternative having a greater

impact on the Olmstead Park and Parkways than would

the Presidential Parkway, Marbut IT would also require the

2. This analysis is summarized in the text of the section 4(f)

determination. (A.R. Il-14 at 30-62).

A25

use of certain contributing structures within the Druid

Hills Historie Distriet. (Jd.)

In contrast, the defendants found that the Presidential

Parkway would not require the use of any structures from

within any historic district. (Jd.) The Presidentia] Park-

way will not require the use of any land or structures from

the Atkins Park Historic District. Although the Presi-

dential Parkway was found to require more land from the

Druid Hills Historie District (excluding the Olmstead Park

and Parkways) than would the three alternates, the de-

fendants found that the Presidential Parkway did not re-

quire the use of contributing structures or landscape with-

in the Druid Hills Historie District.

The court is satisfied after its review of the defen-

dants’ analysis that the defendants’ decision was based

on relevant factors. ‘‘The only relevant factor in making

a determination whether an alternative route minimizes

harm is the quantum of harm to the park or historic site

caused by the alternative.’’ Driud Hills, 772 F.2d at 716.

Only after a route harming parks or historic sites is de-

termined to be the one that minimizes harm does the Sec-

retary have to decide whether the route is feasible and

prudent.

In the defendants’ analysis, the defendants accurately

assessed the characteristics of the 4(f) property effected

by the alternatives and also reviewed the quantity of harm

that will acerue to the park or historic site and the nature

of that harm. 7d. at 718; A.R. II-14 at 21-62. The admini-

strative record contains sufficient information to enable

the Secretary to weigh the damage to the protected prop-

erties under each alternative. Thus, it is clear that the

A26

defendants thoroughly considered whether these alterna-

tive routes would minimize harm to the section 4(f) prop-

erties. After completing their thorough analysis, defen-

dants conelnded that the Presidential Parkway would re-

sult in less harm to parks and historic sites than the al-

ternatives to the Parkway.

There is no evidence that the defendants’ decision was

a clear error in judgment. When reviewing the defendants’

decision this court must only determine whether the Sec-

retary has articulated ‘‘a rational connection between the

facts found and the choice made.’’ Bowman Transporta-

tion, Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 419 U.S.

281, 285, 95 S.Ct. 438, 442, 42 L.Ed.2d 447 (1974) (quoting

Burlingion Truck Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168,

83 S.Ct. 239, 246, 9 L.Ed.2d 207 (1962)). The Secretary’s

decision is entitled to a presumption of regularity, but this

presumption does not shield the decision from a thorough

review. Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 415, 91 S.Ct. at 823.

The court, however, must give deference to agency officials

when deciding matters within their area of expertise and

not substitute the court’s judgment for that of the agency.

National Wildlife Federation v. Marsh, 721 F.2d. 767, 780

(11th Cir.1983). Federal defendants have clearly shown

a rational connection between the harm caused by the dif-

ferent alternatives and their decision to build the Presi-

dential Parkway. The court finds that the defendants’ de-

cision to build the Presidential Parkway is not arbitrary,

capricious, or an abuse of discretion because it was based

upon relevant factors and there is no evidence that defen-

dants’ decision reflects a clear error of judgment.

yh ire > on re aa elt ag me re cae w dale

2

f

q

4

}

A27

(3) Whether Federal Defendants’ Actions Followed

the Necessary Procedural Requirements.

The final inquiry that the court should make when re-

viewing a decision of the Secretary of Transportation is

whether the Secretary’s action followed the necessary pro-

cedural requirements. Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 417. The

plaintiffs did not challenge the Secretary’s compliance with

section 4(f) procedural requirements in their complaint.

See Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at 714-15. As was discussed in

subsection [A of this order, the 4(f) issue first raised in

the complaint still exists concerning the three alternatives

about which this case was remanded for Secretary to make

further findings. Although it appears that the federal de-

fendants have followed the necessary procedural require-

ments, it is not necessary for the court to address this

issue since the plaintiffs have never challenged defendants’

procedural compliance. 3

The court finds that as a matter of law the defen-

dants’ supplemental 4(f) findings regarding the Decatur

Parkway and two Moreland Avenue plans satisfy the three

requirements established by the Court in Overton Park

for reviewing the Secretary’s decisions regarding 4(f)

properties. The court also finds that_the defendants have

complied with the Eleventh Cireuit’s decision in Druid

Hills Civic Association v. Federal Highway Administra-

tion, 772 F.2d 700 (11th Cir.1985). The court finds that

3. A review of the administrative record clearly shows that de-

fendants have complied with the necessary procedural re-

quirements. Plaintiffs have not brought defendants compli-

ance into question on this motion for summary judgment

by submitting any evidence to contest compliance as is re-

quired by Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(e).

A28

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact remain-

ing in this case. Accordingly, the court grants defendants’

motion for summary judgment. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

— U.S. —, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986); Fed.R.

Civ.P. 56(c).

II. Plaintiffs’ Motion for Attorneys Fees, Costs and

Expenses.

Plaintiffs have moved for attorneys fees pursuant to

42 U.S.C. § 1988 against the state defendants and 28 U.S.C.

§ 2412 against the federal defendants. The basis for plain-

tiffs’ motion is that they were the prevailing parties in

connection with the phase of litigation which culminated

when the Eleventh ‘ reuit affirmed in part, reversed in

part, and remanded to the Secretary of Transportation

the prior decision of this court in this ease. Druid Hills

Civic Association v. Federal Highway Administration,

772 F.2d 700 (11th Cir.1985).

A party may be awarded attorneys fees if he has pre-

vailed on the merits of at least some of his claims. Han-

rahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754, 758, 100 S.Ct. 1987, 1989,

64 L.Ed.2d 670 (1980). ‘‘For only in that event has there

been a determination of the ‘substantial rights of the

parties,” which Congress deemed was a necessary founda-

tion for departing from the usual rule in this country

that each party is to bear the expense of his own attorney.’’

Id. In a recent Eleventh Cireuit opinion, the court said

that ‘‘[t]he prevailing party test is ‘whether he or she

has received substantially the relief requested or has been

successful on the central issue’... or stated another way,

whether ‘plaintiff’s lawsuit was a catalyst-motivating de-

Leathe

sale SR dna!

A29

fendants to provide the primary relief sought in a manner

desired by litigation.’ ’’ Martin v. Heckler, 773 F.2d 1145,

1149 (11th Cir.1985) (citations omitted).

In plaintiffs’ complaint, the plaintiffs sought to: (1)

temporarily restrain, and preliminarily and permanently

enjoin defendants from taking any actions toward the con-

struction of the project; (2) set aside as contrary to law

and as an abuse of discretion the defendants’ approval

of the project; (3) award plaintiffs their costs, expenses,

and attorneys fees; and (4) further relief as may be ap-

propriate and just. The relief that the plaintiffs contend

they received from the Eleventh Circuit when that court

remanded the case to the Secretary of Transportation is

that the defendants’ approval of the project was in part

set aside as contrary to law and an abuse of discretion.

In the court of appeals’ decision, the court remanded

the case for the Secretary of Transportation to make ‘‘ade-

quate findings of the impact on 4(f) properties caused by

the Decatur Parkway and the two Moreland Avenue plans.’’

Druid Hills, 772 F.2d at 718. The reason the court re-

manded the case was that it determined the reasonableness

of the defendants’ conclusions concerning these alternates

could not be determined from the EIS statement submitted

to the courts. Jd. The court of appeals did not find that

the Secretary acted arbitrarily, capriciously, or abused her

discretion in making her 4(f) findings. Although the

plaintiffs were successful in delaying progress on the Park-

way pending the defendants new 4(f) findings, this court

cannot find that plaintiffs received any of the relief they

requested in their complaint.

A30

The plaintiffs rely primarily on two Ninth Circuit

eases to support their position on this issue. Save Our

Ecosystems v. Clark, 747 F.2d 1240 (9th Cir.1984) ;

Southern Oregon Citizens v. Clark, 720 F.2d 1475 (9th

Cir.1983). This ease is distinguishable from those cases,

however, because in those cases the plaintiffs had obtained

the relief requested as to certain issues. In this case the

plaintiffs did not achieve significant success on any of the

issues or obtain any of the relief they sought. See Hensley

v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433, 103 S.Ct. 1933, 1939, 76

L.Ed.2d 40 (1982). For these reasons, plaintiffs’ applica-

tion for fees, costs, and expenses is denied.

Ill. Plaintiffs’ Motion to Amend Their Brief in Support

of Their Motion for Fees, Costs, and Expenses.

The plaintiff filed a motion on August 18, 1986

requesting the court to allow the plaintiff to file an amend-

ment to their brief in support of plaintiffs’ application

for fees, costs and expenses. The plaintiff explained that

the reason they needed to file an additional brief was that

plaintiffs wished to make a brief point concerning federal

defendants liability under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(b). In plain-

tiffs’ motion they said their support for the argument they

wished to make in the requested brief was the recent de-

cision in Savage v. Toan, 636 F.Supp. 156 (W.D.Mo.1986).

The court reviewed this case when considering plaintiff’s

motion for attorneys fees. Because the court found that

plaintiffs were not prevailing parties on any issues in

this case, there was no reason for the court to reach the

further requirements set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2412(b). The

Salvage decision did not deal with the preliminary issue

Lp ey RR — ee

Wield Cleat atte. *

aba) he Rit ad nel apoE) ean fs AOU pcre ie inelighlly?” Aee D o athc Aavlt “

A31

of whether plaintiffs were prevailing parties on any issues.

Since the court is disposing of this motion without reach-

ing the further requirements of section 2412 that were dis-

cussed in Savage, there is no reason for the plaintiffs to

file a supplemental brief. For that reason, plaintiffs’

motion to file a supplemental brief is denied as moot.

CONCLUSION

The court grants federal defendants’ motion for sum-

mary judgment. The court denies plaintiffs’ motion for

attorneys’ fees, costs and expenses. The court also denies

as moot plaintiffs’ motion to file a supplemental brief.

A32

APPENDIX C

DRUID HILLS CIVIC ASSOCIATION,

INC., et al., Plainiiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

The FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATION, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 84-8894

United States Court of Appeals

Eleventh Circuit.

Sept. 16, 1985.

Before HENDERSON and HATCHETT, Circuit

Judges, and ALLGOOD", District Judge.

HENDERSON, Circuit Judge:

Druid Hills Civie Association, Inc., et al., in No. 84-

8894 and National Trust For Historic Preservation in the

United States in No. 84-8924 appeal the November 14, 1984

order of the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Georgia denying their motions to enjoin con-

struction of the Presidential Parkway (Parkway), a pro-

posed 2.4 mile highway running east from the I-75/I-85

stub in downtown Atlanta to Ponce de leon Avenue, an

east-west arterial that is part of the Olmsted Park net-

work in Atlanta’s Druid Hills Historie District. On appeal,

the appellants contend that the district court erred in

finding that the named appellees complied with the require-

ments of the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969

(NEPA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321-4347 (1982), section 4(f) of

the Department of Transportation Act of 1966, 49 U.S.C.

A33

§ 303 (1982),' and section 18 of the Federal-Aid Highway

Act of 1968, 23 U.S.C. § 138 (1982).?

FACTS AND HISTORICAL BACKGROUND?

For a better understanding of the current litigation,

it is necessary to detail the history of the tract comprising

1. Section 4(f) of the Department of Transportation Act, 49

U.S.C. § 1653(f), was repealed in 1983 but was recodified

without substantial change at 49 U.S.C. § 303.

2. Section 18 of the Federal-Aid Highway Act, 23 U.S.C. § 138,

is virtually identical to section 4(f) of the Department of

Transportation Act, 49 U.S.C. § 303. For purposes of this

» any Ayn statutes will be referred to collectively as “sec-

tion 4(f).”

Section 4(f) states:

(a) It is the policy of the United States Government that

special effort should be made to preserve the natural

beauty of the country-side and public park and recreation

lands, wildlife and waterfowl refuges, and historic sites.

(b) The Secretary of Transportation shall cooperate and

consult with the Secretaries of the Interior, Housing and

Urban Development, and Agriculture, and with the States,

in developing transportation plans and programs that in-

clude measures to maintain or enhance the natural beauty

of lands crossed by transportation activities or facilities.

(c) The Secretary may approve a transportation program

or project requiring the use of publicly owned land of a

public park, recreation area, or wildlife and waterfowl

refuge of national, State, or local significance, or land of an

historic site of national, State, or local significance (as de-

termined by the Federal, State, or local officials having jur-

isdiction over the park, area, refuge, or site) only if

(1) there is no prudent and feasible alternative to us-

) ing that land; and

(2) the program or project includes all possible plan-

ning to minimize harm to the park, recreation area, wild-

life and waterfowl refuge, or historic site resulting from

the use.

49 U.S.C. § 303 (1982).

3. This section is taken substantially from the district court

opinion and from the purpose and need section of the en-

vironmental impact statement.

A34

the proposed Parkway. In the late 1960s and early 1970s,

the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) ac-

quired approximately 219 acres as right-of-way for two

multi-lane highways, one oriented north-south (1-485) and

one extending east-west (Stone Mountain Tollway). The

land, known locally as the Great Park, was cleared of

dwellings and other structures and has been vacant ever

since. In 1971, the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia enjoined construction of 1-485

pending completion of an environmental impact statement

(EIS) by the GDOT and the Federal Highway Admini-

stration (FHWA).4 The GDOT prepared an EIS which

was approved by the FHWA. The Secretary of the United

States Department of Transportation (USDOT) never-

theless rejected the EIS in 1973 because it did not satisfy

the requirements of section 4(f).

Asa result of strong opposition to the Stone Mountain

Tollway, Governor Jimmy Carter appointed a commission

to examine the project and make recommendations. The

commission recommended against building the Tollway

until an assessment could be made on the effect of the

impending construction of the MARTA*® east rail line.

Governor Carter accepted the commission’s recommenda-

tion in December, 1972.

In 1973, the City of Atlanta withdrew its support for

1-485 and the Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) de-

leted the project from its Regional Transportation Plan

4. Morningside-Lenox Park Association, Inc. v. Volpe, 334 F.

Supp. 132 (N.D.Ga. 1971).

5. The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority.

i

A35

in 1974. The State Transportation Board removed I-485

from the interstate highway system plan in 1974, which

action was approved by the FHWA in 1975. In 1977, the

GDOT began to dispose of all 1-485 properties north of

St. Charles Avenue but retained all the right-of-way south

of that point for future transportation improvements in

the east-west corridor.

Over the succeeding years, numerous alternatives for

the use of the Great Park were developed. In 1974, At-

lanta Mayor Maynard Jackson proposed the ‘‘Great Park’’

concept, a plan that included a variety of recreational

and cultural facilities. In 1975, the City of Atlanta re-

tained Arkhora Associates to prepare a reuse planning

study for the Great Park. Arkhora’s conceptual plan ad-

vocated a passive open space consisting of recreation

areas, cultural facilities and housing. To meet transporta-

tion needs, the Arkhora proposal recommended that the

1-75/1-75 stub be connected to DeKalb Avenue. The GDOT

opposed the recommended action because it did not use

the existing right-of-way to meet transportation needs

and thereby failed to address the legal consequences of

using the land for a non-transportation purpose. In 1977,

the ARC adopted the Decatur Parkway Ceunector and

Decatur Parkway, a road connecting the 1-75/I-85 stub

to an improved DeKalb Avenue, as part of its Regional

Transportation Plan.

Atlanta Great Park Planning, Inc. (AGPP), a public

nonprofit corporation, was formed in 1975 to study and

plan for reuse of the property. AGPP’s board of directors

included representatives of ten neighborhoods, the Cities

of Atlanta and Decatur, DeKalb County and the State of

A36

Georgia. A report published in 1977 acknowledged that the

Great Park could serve not only as a major recreational

area but also as a stimulus for economic development and

cultural revitalization but withheld recommendation pend-

ing further study. In 1978, AGPP retained H. Randall

Roark to study housing opportunities in the right-of-

way. In addition to its housing proposals, Roark’s study,

published in 1979, adopted the transportation, open space

and economic development recommendations contained in

the Arkhora plan and the AGPP’s 1977 report. The

GDOT did not support the Roark plan for the same rea-

sons that it opposed the earlier Arkhora proposal.

In 1978, the GDOT retained Evan L. Marbut and

Associates, Inc. to prepare a park and road development

project for the area. The Marbut Plan consisted of four-

lane north-south and east-west roadways through the ex-

isting right-of-way, with the east-west road terminating

at Moreland Avenue. Remaining right-of-way was to be

developed as a park. The GDOT approved the plan, but

the City of Atlanta and AGPP opposed it because it was

excessively oriented to transportation.

yehn C. Portman, Jr. developed a land use plan for

the Great Park in 1979 at the request of Governor George

Busbee. Alan M. Voorhees & Associates, a transportation

planning firm retained by Portman, recommended that

the I-75/1-85 stub be connected to DeKalb Avenue by way

of a tunnel. The plan also called for housing units and

cultural, recreational and open space uses, including the

proposed Carter Presidential Library.

In 1980, the Georgia General Assembly created the

Great Park Authority to examine the various proposals and

tata iatii eae inti nema amet

a: at i AD i pall

ee ee

Ee Sa ee ee

OO ee eee .

ret laine OR OE. te Oe ee tm,

A37

to develop a master plan for use of the property. The

Great Park Authority retained Howard, Needles, Tammen

& Bergendoff for transportation advice. The authority

report presented to the 1981 General Assembly incorpo-

rated the firm’s recommendation that the I-75/1-85 stub

be connected to DeKalb Avenue along one of three pro-

posed connecting routes and also included a park and

housing facilities. The General Assembly took no specific

action on this proposition.

The current design came into existence in the early

1980s. After leaving office in 1981, President Jimmy Car-

ter began to formulate plans for a presidential library,

museum and policy center (the Complex). President Car-

ter regarded the Great Park property as an ideal location

for the Complex because of its proxiimty to the central

business district and metropolitan Atlanta universities,

its relative seclusion and its accessibility to the interstate

highway network.

In 1981, Andrew Young sought election as mayor of

Atlanta. He ran in part on a platform of opposition to

any roadway through the Great Park. After his election,

Mayor Young reversed his position and in 1982 supported

the so-called Mayor’s Plan, the basic proposal sought to

be enjoined in this litigation. The Mayor’s Plan includes

the Jimmy Carter Complex, a thirty-acre park surround-

ing the Complex, and a 2.4 mile highway consisting of a

pair of two-lane roadways, one eastbound and one west-

bound, which cireumscribe the Complex and park. In ad-

dition, the City of Atlanta is developing a housing plan

for use of the remaining acreage. The Complex and road-

side park would be located on existing right-of-way but

A38

further land acquisition would be necessary to build the

highway.

Throughout the first half of 1982, the Mayor’s office

presented the plan to the Great Park Authority, the ARC,

various neighborhood organizations, neighborhoods and

concerned citizens. On July 6, 1982, the Atlanta City Coun-

cil approved the Parkway plan by a vote of ten to nine.

The plan was then analyzed by the ARC to determine if

it should become part of the Regional Transportation Plan.

In September, 1982, the ARC voted to amend its Regional

Transportation Plan by replacing the proposed Decatur

Parkway Connector and the Decatur Parkway with the

Presidential Parkway. The ARC nonetheless acknowledged

that the Decatur Parkway provided better traffic distribu-

tion by encouraging alternative routing.

In August, 1982, the FHWA placed a notice of in-

tent to prepare an EIS in the Federal Register. On April

21, 1983, the FHWA, the lead agency for the Parkway

project, signed the draft EIS. Approximately 1,000 copies

of the draft statement were distributed to agencies, organi-

zations and individuals. The draft EIS allocated four

pages to a discussion of the building of the Parkway,

but only two sentences to the alternative of not building

it. Other alternatives, including previous plans for the

area, a road extending only to the Presidential library,

au road terminating at Moreland Avenue, intersection im-

provements on existing streets, a two-lane Parkway and

traffic improvements in the Ponce de Leon Avenue/Scott

Boulevard corridor were discussed in four pages of text.

Additional discussion of alternatives, including the pro-

posed Decatur Parkway, was incorporated into the sec-

A39

tion addressing impacts on properties protected by sec-

tion 4(f).

The GDOT and the FHWA conducted three informal

public information meetings between May 31 and June 2,

1983 in neighborhoods adjacent to the project. Court re-

porters were available to transcribe comments. A fourth

public information meeting was held at the Atlanta Civic

Center on June 7, 1983. A public hearing consisting of

a formal presentation followed by a public comment ses-

sion was held later that evening. Court reporters were

available in the lobby and in the auditorium to receive

oral and written comments. Approximately 1,500 to 3,000

people attended the hearing.

Several federal agencies commented on the draft EIS,

including the Department of the Interior (DOI), the En-

vironmental Protection Agency (EPA), the General Ser-

vices Administration and the USDOT. DOI first recom-

mended that the final EIS give consideration to whether

the proposed Parkway would meet transportation needs.

The comments noted that it was not clear that termination

of the Parkway at Ponce de Leon Avenue, an east-west

arterial, would substantially relieve traffic congestion and

provide for future transportation needs in the east-west

corridor. In addition, the DOI stated that discussion of

alternatives in the draft EIS was inadequate and recom-

mended that the final statement contain a more extensive

diseourse of the no-build and Moreland Avenue termina-

tion alternatives. Given these deficiencies, the DOI felt

that the draft EIS failed to adequately address section

4(f) considerations. The EPA found that the draft state-

ment did not adequately evaluate the impact on air quality.

A40

The USDOT took the position that the draft EIS ade-

quately addressed the eftects of the project and measures

to minimize harm. The department’s comments further

stated, however, that the draft EIS did not contain suf-

ficient information to support a determination that there

was no feasible and prudent alternative to the use of lands

protected by section 4(f). Furthermore, the draft state-

ment did not demonstrate a need for the Parkway as op-

posed to improvements to existing facilities. Therefore,

the USDOT suggested a more thorough investigation of

the Decatur Parkway alternative. The department con-

cluded that it appeared that the proposed project would

aggravate, rather than alleviate, traffic conditions on

Ponce de Leon Avenue. The FHWA and the GDOT held

meetings with various agencies to evaluate their comments.

On August 4, 1983, ten days after the expiration of

the period for comment on the draft EIS, the GDOT made

the decision to proceed with preparation of the final EIS

around the build, i.e., Parkway, option. The GDOT and

FHWA also began preparation of a Preliminary Case

Report (PCR) pursuant to section 106 of the National

Historic Preservation Act of 1966, 16 U.S.C. $470f, and

36 C.F.R. § 800 to evaluate the impact of the project on

historic and archaeological resources. The PCR was for-

warded to the Georgia Department of Natural Resources

on October 25, 1983 and to the United States Advisory

Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) on November

3, 1983. Copies of the PCR were made available to the

public for comment.®

6. The PCR is included as Volume I! of the final EIS.

mi Aan lh Sa

A41

After a review of this preliminary report, the ACHP

recommended that the GDOT and FHWA give further

consideration to the Moreland Avenue termination alter-

native in conjunction with other transportation improve-

ments. FHWA responded that the Moreland Avenue al-

ternative and others had been adequately considered but

were not feasible or prudent. The chairman of the ACHP

referred the matter to the full Council for consideration

at a public hearing in Atlanta on February 27, 1984. Coun-

cil members heard from witnesses and made an on-site in-

spection of the property. By a twelve to four vote, the

Council recommended that the Parkway not be built but

that the Carter Complex shouid be constructed on the

site. The Council’s written findings, forwarded to the

Secretary of the USDOT on March 13, 1984, were largely

critical of the stated need for the project and the attempt

to link the Parkway and the Complex. The FHWA re-

sponded to the comments on April 17, 1984.

On May 22, 1984, the FHWA approved the final EIS.

Copies of the statement were distributed to interested

parties and notice of the approval was published in the

Federal Register. In addition to alternatives raised in the

draft EIS, the final EIS discussed MARTA, a light rail

proposal, one-way pairings of streets, staggered work

hours, and toll charges and provided a more detailed dis-

eussion of the Decatur Parkway alternative.

The DOI, EPA, individuals and organizations sub-

mitted comments on the final EIS. The DOT decided that

the statement did not adequately respond to the depart-

ment’s comments on the draft EIS and was not respon-

A42

sive to the requirements of section 4(f). Acordingly, the

department objected to section 4(f) approval of the project.

On June 25, 1984, the chairman of the ACHP filed

a formal notice of referral with the Council on Environ-

mental Quality (CEQ). The CEQ solicited written com-

ments from the public on the national importance of the

Parkway and held a public meeting on July 17, 1984. On

September 20, 1984, the CEQ determined that the proposed

Parkway was not of national importance and declined to

further review the project. The CEQ requested the FHWA

to resume its normal decisionmaking process. On Septem-

ber 21, 1984, the FHWA, acting through William Van

Luchene, the designee of the Secretary of the USDOT,

approved and executed a record of decision.

These actions for declaratory and injunctive relief

were initiated on September 24 and September 28, 1984.’

Carter Library, Inc., the entity responsible for developing

the Carter Complex, obtained title to the 3.2 acres on which

the Complex would be built via a landswap with the GDOT

on October 2, 1984. Construction commenced the same

day.

The district court consolidated the applications for

preliminary injunction with the trial on the merits. The

7. The plaintiffs included the Druid Hills Civic Association,

Inc.; Inman Park Restoration, Inc.; Candler Park Neighbor-

hood Organization; CAUTION, Inc.; various named individ-

uals; and the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

The named defendants were the FHWA; US-DOT; GDOT;

EPA; R.A. Barnhart, the Administrator of the FHWA; D.J.

Altobelli, Georgia State Division Director of the FHWA;

Elizabeth Dole, Secretary of the USDOT; Thomas D. More-

land, Commissioner of the GDOT; and Carl Jeter, Regional

Administrator of the EPA.

oo ee

ails Sebitintic th amthide seis

i

;

7:

4

}

3

b

4

A43

trial was held October 22-25, 1984. By order dated Novem-

ber 14, 1984, the district court denied the motion to en-

join construction of the Parkway. The appeal was ordered

expedited by this court. Both the district court and a panel

of this court denied the appellants’ motions for injunction

pending appeal.

Il. Section 4(f)

A. Standard of Review

Section 4(f) evidences Congress’ response to growing

public concern over the preservation of our nation’s park-

lands, recreation areas, wildlife and waterfowl refuges,

and historic sites (also referred to as section 4(f) proper-

ties). In enacting this section, Congress determined that

section 4(f) properties should be accorded paramount con-

sideration in connection with all federally financed trans-

portation projects. Citizens to Preserve Overton Park,

Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 412-13, 91 S.Ct. 814, 821-22, 28

L.Ed.2d 136, 151 (1971). Thus, the Secretary of Transpor-

tation'® can approve a federal highway project requiring

the use of parklands or historic sites only if (1) no feasible

and prudent alternative to the use of the land exists, and

(2) the project includes all possible planning to minimize

harm to the property. 49 U.S.C. § 303; 23 U.S.C. § 138.

The Supreme Court enunciated the standard of judic-

ial review of the Secretary’s section 4(f) determination in

Overton Park. While the Secretary’s decision is entitled

16. William R. Van Luchene, acting as the Secretary of Trans-

poration’s designee, made the final determination to pro-

ceed with the Parkway project. For the sake of conven-

ience, we use the term “Secretary” throughout this section.

A44

to a presumption of regularity, that presumption does not

‘‘shield his action from a thorough, probing, in-depth re-

view.’’ 401 U.S. at 415, 91 S.Ct. at 823, 28 L.Ed.2d at 153.

A reviewing court must first consider whether the Secre-

tary acted within the scope of her authority. Under this

facet of the review, the court must determine whether the

Secretary properly construed her authority to approve the

use of section 4(f) property as limited to situations where

there are no feasible and prudent alternatives, and whether

the Secretary could have reasonably believed that no such

alternatives exist. Jd. at 415-16, 91 S.Ct. at 823, 28 L.Ed.2d

at 153. The court must next determine whether the Secre-

-tary’s ultimate decision was arbitrary, capricious or an

abuse of discretion. This assessment requires an evalua-

tion of whether ‘‘the decision was based on a consideration

of the relevant factors and whether there has been a clear

error of judgment.’’ /d. at 416, 91 S.Ct. at 823-24, 28 L.Ed.

2d at 153. Although the judicial inquiry should be pene-

trating, the court is not empowered to substitute its judg-

ment for that of the Secretary. Jd. at 416, 91 S.Ct. at 824,

28 L.Ed.2d at 153. The third and final inquiry is whether

the Secretary’s action followed the necessary procedural

requirements. Jd. at 417, 91 S.Ct. at 824, 28 L.Ed.2d at 154.

In reviewing the district court’s decision affirming the

Secretary’s section 4(f) action, ‘‘ ‘the focal point for ju-

dicial review should be the administrative record already

in existence [on the basis of which the administrator’s de-

termination was made], not some new record made in-

itially in the reviewing court.’ ’’ Lowistana Environmental

Society, Inc. v. Dole., 707 F.2d 116, 119 (Sth Cir.1983)

(LES III) (quoting Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S. 138, 142, 93

S.Ct. 1241, 1244, 36 L.Ed.2d 106, 111 (1973)). Since the

A45

appellate court applies the same standard of review as the

district court, we need accord no particular deference to

the district court’s conclusions as to whether the adminis-

trative record supports the Secretary’s decision. Jd. If

the record fails to show a sufficient basis for the adminis-

trative decision, the 4(f) determination must be over-

turned. The

reviewing court, in dealing with a determination or

judgment which an administrative agency alone is

authorized to make, must judge the propriety of such

action solely by the grounds invoked by the agency. If

those grounds are inadequate or improper, the court

is powerless to affirm the administrative ‘action by

substituting what it considers to be a more adequate

or proper basis.

Securities € Exchange Commission v. Chenery Corp., 332

U.S. 194, 196, 67 S.Ct. 1575, 1577, 91 L.Ed. 1995, 1999

(1947).

B. Analysis

The plaintiffs-appellants object to the district court’s

findings that the Secretary reasonably complied with the

requirements of section 4(f). They do not voice any ob-

jections to the Secretary’s compliance with procedural re-

quirements. Rather, they first claim that the state and

federal defendants violated section 4(f)(1) because there

was no reasonable basis for the conclusion that there exists

no feasible and prudent alternative to the use of parks and

historic sites. Specifically, they assert that the appellees

failed to examine several feasible and prudent alternatives

that would avoid harm to section 4(f) areas and improp-

erly rejected other alternatives. Second, the appellants

A46

contend that the agencies failed to incorporate all possible

planning to minimize harm to protected areas as mandated

by section 4(f)(2).

(1) Section 4(f)(1)

Section 4(f)(1) requires a finding of no feasible or

prudent alternatives to the use of parklands and historic

sites before the Secretary can approve the use of such

property for highway purposes. An alternate route that

also impacts upon parks and historic sites is not an ‘‘al-

ternative to the use’’ of such property. Louisiana En-

vironmental Society, Inc. v. Coleman, 537 F.2d 79, 85 (5th

Cir.1976) (LES 11). Thus, in making the section 4(f)(1)

assessment, the Secretary is concerned with those alterna-

tives that do not also impact on parks and historic sites.

The Supreme Court defined ‘‘feasible’’ and ‘“ pru-

dent’’ in Overton Park. An alternative is feasible if it can

be built as a matter of sound engineering. 401 U.S. at 411,

91 S.Ct. at 821, 28 L.Ed.2d at 150. An alternative is pru-

dent unless there are ‘‘truly unusual factors present in a

particular case or the cost or community disruption result-

ing from alternative routes reache[{d] extraordinary mag-

nitudes,’’ or the alternative routes present ‘‘ unique prob-

lems.’’ /d. at 413, 91 S.Ct. at 822, 28 L.Ed.2d at 151.

The section 4(f) statement contained in the EIS” dis-

cussed five alternatives to the Parkway project: the no-

build option, the Decatur Parkway, two plans for roads

terminating at Moreland Avenue and widening of Ponce de

17. The Preliminary Case Report, included as Volume I! of the

final EIS, also addresses alternatives to avoid the project's

impact on historic properties. The information contained

in the PCR essentially duplicates that found in the EIS.

ae re

° . we Fe ie ie »

A47

Leon Avenue with improved signalization. Of these, the

no-build option is the only alternative to the use of section

4(f) areas because the other proposals contemplated the

*‘use’’ of parklands and/or historic districts to some de-

gree. LES II, 537 F.2d at 85. The district court examined

the consequences of not building the highway and found

that the Secretary could reasonably have concluded that

the no-build option was not prudent because it failed to

meet the need which the project was designed to address

and because it might have resulted in loss of the Carter

Complex or reduction in its scope.

Despite protestations to the contrary, the district

court properly interpreted LES II to provide support for

its conclusion that the Secretary could reasonably have re-

jected the no-build option as imprudent for failure to ful-

fill the need for a highway in Atlanta’s east-west corridor.

In LES II, the former Fifth Cireuit Court of Appeals held

that the Secretary could reasonably have determined that

two alternatives, one of them the no-build option, were im-

prudent because they did not serve the project’s purpose.

Id. The appellants’ reliance on the recent decision in Stop

H-3 Association v. Dole, 740 F.2d 1442 (9th Cir.1984), cert.

denied, — U.S. —, 105 S.Ct. 2344, 85 L.Ed.2d 859 (1985), in

an attempt to cast doubt on the correctness of the district

court’s determination ignores clear precedent binding on

this cireuit."* Accordingly, since the no-build alternative

18. The district court in Dole found that rejection of the no-

build alternative was reasonable because the need for the

road had been sufficiently established. Stop H-3 Associa-

tion v. Lewis, 538 F.Supp. 149, 180 (D.Hawaii 1982). Ina

footnote to its discussion of the no-build option, the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals said:

(Continued on following page)

A48

could reasonably have been found imprudent, we affirm

this portion of the district court’s order.”

(Continued from previous page)

The mere fact that-a—need’ for a highway has been

‘established’ does not prove that not to build the highway

would be. ‘imprudent’ under Overton Park. To the con-

trary, it must be shown that the implications of not build-

ing the highway pose an ‘unusual situation,’ are ‘truly un-

usual factors,’ or represent cost or community disruption

reaching ‘extraordinary magnitudes.’

740 F.2d at 1455 n. 21 (citing Overton Park, 401 U.S. at 411-

13, 91 S.Ct. at 821-22, 28 L.Ed.2d at 150-51). This footnote ap-

peared in a portion of the opinion joined by only two judg-

es. Judge Wallace, who did not concur in the majority's

analysis of the no-build alternative, was of the opinion that

a project-wide no-build option did not provide a prudent

alternative to a highway for purposes of the section 4(f)

analysis because section 4(f) deals with the manner of build-

ing the project rather than whether to undertake it in the

first place. /d. at 1466-68 (emphasis added).

Even were we to agree that Stop H-3 Association offers a

view more consistent with Overton Park, we would still be

bound by our decision in LES Ii. See Bonner v. City of

Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir.1981) (en banc). Only

this court sitting en banc or the United States Supreme Court

can overrule precedent binding on this court. Julius v. John-

son, 755 F.2d 1403, 1404 (11th Cir.1985) (per curiam).

19. The district court concluded that loss of the Complex could

constitute a truly uuique or unusual factor. The continued

with the statement, “Thus, even if No-Build were prudent,

the magnitude and uniqueness of the Carter Complex could

justify an exception to the prudent requirement.”

Given our disposition of the section 4(f)(l) claim, it is not

necessary that we determine whether possible loss of the

Complex or reduction in its scope is enough to render the

no-build option imprudent. Indeed, it is not certain that

such an occurrence would come to pass. See Final EIS, Vol.

|, at 85 (‘There would also be a possibility that the no-build

might include a presidential library and policy center at or

near its presently proposed location.”). We do note, how-

(Continued on following page)

t-te ay md eel

A49

(2) Section 4(f)(2)

Section 4(f)(2) imposes the duty to utilize all possible

planning to minimize harm to parks and historic sites be-

fore the Secretary can approve a route using section 4(f)

property. Relocation of the highway through another por-

tion of the section 4(f) area or through other section 4(f)

properties must be considered as a means of minimizing

harm. LES 11, 537 F.2d at 85. As explained by the court

in LES II, section 4(f)(2) requires a simple balancing pro-

cess which totals the harm caused by each alternate route

to section 4(f) areas and selects the option which does the

least harm. /d. at 85-86. The only relevant factor in mak-

ing a determination whether an alternative route mini-

mizes harm is the quantum of harm to the park or historic

site caused by the alternative. Considerations that might

make the route imprudent, e.g., failure to satisfy the pro-

ject’s purpose, are simply not relevant to this determina-

tion. Zd. at 86. If the route does not minimize harm, it

need not be selected. The Secretary is free to choose

among alternatives which cause substantially equal dam-

age to parks or historic sites. Jd.

The court in LES I] made it clear that the Secretary

does not have to accept an alternate route which causes

less harm to parks and historic sites. Rather, the court

construed section 4(f)(2) to mean that the route must also

(Continued from previous page)

ever, that Congress enacted no exceptions to the require-

ment that there be no prudent alternatives to the use of

parks and historic sites before the Secretary can approve

a project using protected properties. As such, possible loss

of the Complex would be a factor to consider in determin-

ing whether no-build was imprudent, not an event warrant-

ing an exception to the prudence requirement.

A50

be feasible and prudent. Thus, a route that does minimize

harm can still be rejected if it is infeasible or imprudent.

The determination whether the route is infeasible or im-:

prudent is based on factors,other than the route’s impact

on section 4(f) areas. /d.

Applying this legal standard to the proposed Decatur

Parkway, Moreland Avenue and Ponce de Leon Avenue

alternatives, the district court found that the Seeretary’s

determination that the alternatives either did not mini-

mize harm or were imprudent was reasonable. As pointed

out above, section 4(f)(2) requires the Secretary to utilize

a balancing process that totals the harm caused by each-

alternative so that an option can be selected which does the

least harm. /d. at 85-86. From this it is evident that the

administrative record must contain adequate information

to enable the Secretary to weigh the relative damage to

protected properties which would result from building each .

of these roads. The record here is replete with references

to the preferred route’s impact on section 4(f) properties

and to the efforts to minimize this harm. By comparison,

the generalized and often contradictory attention directed

to the section 4(f) impacts associated with the Decatur

Parkway and Moreland Avenue routes is significantly de-

ficient and is examined, for the most part, under the feasi-

ble and prudent standard. With the present record, it is

difficult to see how the Secretary could have made the

proper evaluation mandated by section 4(f)(2) of the

harm caused by each of these options. A meaningful bal-

ancing of the damage done by the preferred route with that

caused by the alternatives was therefore impossible. Ac-

cordingly, we are unable to review the correctness of the

district court’s findings as to the Decatur Parkway and

Adl

Moreland Avenue plans because we conclude that the See-

retary did not make the requisite findings necessary for an

informed comparison of the relative harms anticipated by

the construction of the various routes. It is the deficiency

in this ‘‘testing’’ process that afflicts the integrity of the

KIS. Id. at 86.7°

The GDOT and the FHWA concluded that their five-

lane version of the Decatur Parkway was not a feasible

and prudent alternative because it would have used land

from one or more historic districts, would have cost more

than the preferred alternative, would have destroyed res-

idences and businesses, and would have impacted an

archaeological site and rapid transit facilities. Final EIS,

Vol. I, at 199. The EIS generally describes the various

historic sites which would be affected, either by acquisition

of right-of-way or visually, and represents that a number

of structures would have to be removed. The EIS also

states, however, that many of these areas were physically

and visually impacted by construction of MARTA’s east

20. It is not entirely clear whether the Secretary rejected the

various alternatives because they failed to minimize harm or

because they were imprudent. The EIS states that the var-

ious alternatives are not feasible and prudent but then pro-

ceeds to list reasons that largely relate to the alternatives’

impacts on parks and historic sites. As cautioned by the

court in LES /I, a route that minimizes harm may be rejected

as imprudent only for reasons other than its impact on 4(f)

properties. 537 F.2d at 86. On the remand, the Secretary

must furnish a more specific analysis of the impact on 4(f)

areas occasioned by the various alternatives. If this review

results in the conclusion that the harm caused by an alter-

native is substantially equal to that caused by the preferred

route, the Secretary is free to choose among the routes. If

the alternative does minimize harm, however, it can be re-

jected as imprudent only for truly unusual reasons other

than its impact on parks and historic sites.

A52

rail line. Jd. at 196. Indeed, with respect to possible ef-

fects on the Sycamore Street Historie District, the EIS

states that ‘‘{b]oth the boundary and the eligibility of the

‘district would need reevaluation before effeets could be

determined realistically."* Id. at 197. In discussing the

effect on the archaeological site, the EIS states that, ae-

cording to proéedures mandated by section 106 of the Na-

tional Historie Preservation Act, 16 U.S.C. § 470f, a find-

ing of no adverse impact could be anticipated. Moreover,

measures to mitigate harm to the site were taken following

evaluative testing. Jd. at 198. This candid, albeit too

limited, discussion of the characteristics of the property

that would be taken by construction of the Decatur Park-

way, when coupled with the lack of specificity about the

quantity of the affected area, convinces us that the Secre-

tary has not conformed to the requirement that all possible —

planning to minimize harm be accomplished before the .

Secretary chooses a route impacting on 4(f) areas.”

The EIS diseussed two road plans which would termi-

nate at Moreland Avenue. The first, known as the Marbut

Plan, consists of an east-west roadway terminating at

Moreland Avenue with a related north-south road on exist-

ing right-of-way. The plan calls for a future extension

eastward to Lullwater Road. The second proposal, which

we will refer to as the Moreland Avenue Plan, entails con-

21. The district court found that the Secretary could reasonably

have rejected the Decatur Parkway as imprudent because

it did not fulfill transportation needs in the east-west cor-

ridor. Under the proper section 4(f)(2) analysis, a conclu-

sion that an alternative was imprudent could prevent its

acceptance even if it was less harmful. If we followed the

district court’s reasoning, there would be no need for fur-

ther inquiry into the minimization of harm issue.

A53

struction of an east-west road ending at Moreland Avenue

and the widening of Moreland and Ponce de Leon Avenue

between Moreland and Clifton Road. The district court

found that the Secretary could reasonably have determined

that neither of the plans would minimize harm to section

4(f) areas and that the Moreland Avenue Plan was also

imprudent beeause it did not fulfill the need for a road.

Again, we cannot evaluate the reasonableness of these

conclusions because the EIS does not provide the predicate

facts on which to make.a reasoned judgment. Although

discussion of the Marbut Plan’s effect on parks and his-

toric sites is lacking in substance, it would provide a more

adequate basis for a finding that an alternative did not

minimize harm than would the comments @oncerning the

impact of the Moreland Avenue Plan.?? The EIS acknowl-

edges that the Moreland Avenue Plan would cause the

same disruption as the Presidential Parkway up to its

termination at Moreland. Jd. at 204. The comments con-

cerning this route’s additional effects on historic sites

bordering Moreland and Ponce de Leon Avenues are

largely conclusory, however. For instance, the EIS states

that widening of Moreland Avenue would adversely affect

the North Highlend/North Avenue Historie District but

there is no mention of the type of impact, the characteris-

ties of the property or the degree of harm that will accrue

to the historic area.

22. Our task of determining whether there was compliance with

section 4(f) was made all the more difficult by the fact that

consideration of the two Moreland Avenue plans was

merged into cne section with little to differentiate what

discussion relaied to which plan.

NG:

Ad4

Finally, the ‘district court found that the Secretary

could reasonably have concluded that widening Ponce de

Leon Avenue, along with improved signalization, would

have a greater effect on the Olmsted Park network and

the Druid Hills Historie District. This alternative would

impact on five of the Olmsted Parks and some land would

be taken from the northern side of Ponce de Leon. The

discussion of the quantum of harm caused to 4(f) areas by

widening Ponce de Leon is the most acceptable of the 4(f)

statements in the EIS. The Advisory. Council on Historie

Preservation is opposed to the Parkway but acknowledged

that widening Ponee de Leon would undermine the integ-

rity of the Druid Hills Historie District. Zd., Appendix B,

at 333, 334. We agree with this portion of the district

court's Opinion.

In summary, the case must be remanded to the Secre-

_ tary for adequate findings of the impact on 4(f) proper-

ties caused by the Decatur Parkway and the two Moreland

Avenue plans. This review should encompass an accurate

assessment of the characteristics of the property that will

be affected by the alternative, e.g., if the property is in a

historic district, whether it has been previously impacted

by commercial development and if so, to what extent. The

Secretary’s review must also address the quantity of harm

that will acerue to the park or historie site and the nature

of that harm, e.g., visual impact or physical taking. It will

not suffice to simply state that an alternative route would

affect 4(f) properties without providing some rational,

doeumented basis for such a conclusion. In short, the same

consideration must be given to whether these alternative

routes would minimize harm to the section 4(f) properties

as was accorded the adopted route.

G

Add :

After reviewing the. voluminous record in this case,

we are mindful of the tremendous task confronting the

Secretary in resolving these difficult issues. However, the

magnitude of the problem does not diminish the need to

follow the stringent requirements of section 4(f)(2). All

of the proposed routes involved in this litigation will affect

parklands and histori¢ sites to some degree. It is import-

ant then that all of these options be carefully examined in

an effort to minimize the damage to section 4(f) lands.

This is the command of Overton Park and LES II and we

are not free to ignore that directive.

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM in part,

REVERSE in part, and REMAND to the district court for

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

A56

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

DRUID HILLS CIVIC

ASSOCIATION, INC.,, et al.

CIVIL

NO. C-84-1931-A

VERSUS

FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATION, et al.

NATIONAL TRUST FOR

HISTORIC PRESERVATION

CIVIL

VERSUS NO. C-84-1977-A

FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATION, et al.

(Filed November

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

) 14, 1984)

ORDER

Plaintiffs filed these actions on September 24 and 28,

1984, to enjoin construction of the Presidential Parkway

project (the Parkway). Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 65(a)

(2), the trial of the case on its merits was advanced and

tried with plaintiffs’ motion for preliminary injunction.

This trial was held on October 22-25, 1984. Upon careful |

evaluation, the court denies plaintiffs’ motion to enjoin

construction of the Parkway.

FINDINGS OF FACT

To understand the instant action, a history of pro-

posed transportation improvements in the area is neces-

sary. A major portion of the land upon which the pro-

Ad7T

posed Parkway would be built was acquired by the defen-

dant Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) in

the 1960s and early 1970s. This area, approximately 219

acres, had been obtained as rights-of-way for multi-high-

way facilities, one extending north-south, the other east-

west. The major proposed highways were I-485 “and the

Stone Mountain Tollway. In 1971, the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Georgia enjoined

any further action on I-485 (the north-south road) until

GDOT filed an environmental impact statement (EIS).

GDOT prepared an EIS, which defendant Federal High-

~way Administration (FHWA) approved. The Secretary

of the United States Department of Transportation

(USDOT) rejected the EIS in 1973 because it did not con-

sider fully various impacts and alternatives.

GDOT also had proposed the Stone Mountain Toll-

way. At a 1972 hearing concerning this project, strong op-

position was voiced. As a result of this controversy, Gov-

ernor Jimmy Carter appointed a commission to investigate

the project and make recommendations. The commission

noted that the Tollway should not be built at that time.

Governor Carter accepted the Commission’s recommenda-

tion in December, 1972.

The City of Atlanta withdrew its approval of 1-485 in

1973. The Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC) deleted

the project from.its regional plans in 1974. Also in 1974,

GDOT removed I-485 from the interstate highway system

plan, which action was approved by the FHWA in 1975.

In 1977, procedures to dispose of I-485 properties north of

St. Charles Avenue began. GDOT retained the acreage

south of St. Charles. Avenue for possible transportation

improvements in the east-west corridor.

A58

From the demise of the expressway plans until the

present, numerous reuses of the acreage were suggested.

Atlanta Mayor Maynard Jackson proposed a ‘‘Great

Park’’ concept in 1974, which would include various recrea-

tional and cultural amenities. In 1975, the City of Atlanta

created an Ad Hoc Committee for the so-called Great Park,

to stiidy inter alia transferal of land from GDOT, and re-

use with primary emphasis on a park. Upon the Commit-

tee’s recommendation, the city contracted with Arkhora

Associates to prepare a reuse planaing study. Arkhora

presented ‘‘The Great Park—A Proposal bythe City of

Atlanta for the Redevelopment of Unused -Highway

Rights-of-Way Within the City.’’ This plan advocated a

major passive open space consisting of passive recreation

areas, cultural facilities, and housing. GDOT opposed this

plan because it did not address legal problems of reusing

the land for non-transportation purposes. In 1977, ARC

adopted its Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) showing

the I-75/85 stub, which had been constructed earlier, con- —

necting to an improved DeKalb Avenue with no specific

alignment for the connection.

In October 1975, Atlanta Great Park-Planning, Ine.

(AGPP), a publie non-profit corporation, was formed to

plan for disposition and reuse of the property. The

AGPP’s Board of Directors included representatives of

ten neighborhoods, the City of Atlanta, the City of De-

eatur, DeKalb County, and the State of Georgia. AGPP

prepared a report in 1977, noting that the Great Park area

could serve not only as a recreation area but could be a

stimulus for redevelopment and revitalization. In 1978,

AGPP authorized H. Randall Roark to prepare a study of

housing opportunities in the right-of-way. The study, pub-

A59

lished in 1979, focused on housing, but adopted the trans-

portation and open space recommendations from the -

Arkhora study. GDOT did not support this plan for the

reasons underlying its opposition to the Arkhora plan.

GDOT retained Evan L. Marbut & Associates, Ine. in

1978 to prepare a park and road concept for the Great

Park area. This plan proposed connecting the stub to

Moreland Avenue, as well as placing a north-south road in

the right-of-way. The remainder of the land would be de-

veloped as parks. GDOT approved the plan, but the City

of Atlanta and AGPP opposed it as being excessively

transportation-oriented.

At the request of Governor Busbee, John Portman, Jr.

developed a land use plan for the property. This proposal

called for housing units, and a ‘‘greenway’’ of cultural,

recreational, and open space uses, including a festival

area, amphitheatre, Georgia Hall or museum, cyclorama,

aquarium, and the Carter Presidential Library. In con-

nection with this plan Alan M. Voorhees & Associates con-

cluded that a stub connection with DeKalb Avenue would

meet the corridor’s transportation needs. In Portman’s

plan, the stub would be connected to DeKalb Avenue via

a tunnel. In 1980, GDOT presented a ‘‘modified’’ Marbut

plan with connections to Ponce de Leon, Moreland, and

DeKalb Avenues.

The Georgia General Assembly created the Great

Park Authority (GPA) in 1980 to examine the various

plans for reuse of the Great Park, and to develop a master

plan for submission in 1981. GPA retained Howard, Need-

les, Tammen and Bergendoff (HNTB) for advice concern-

ing transportation. HNTB recommended a stub connection

A60

to DeKalb Avenue with three possible connection routes.

The GPA plan, presented in 1981, incorporated this recum-

mendation, as well as a park and housing for the Great

Park. The General Assembly took no specifie action on

this plan.

The Parkway plan itself came into existence in the

early 1980s. After President Carter left office in 1981, ‘he

began to formulate plans for a presidential library and

museum, and a policy center (the Complex). He was in-

terested particularly in the Atlanta area, because of its

concentration of universities, its accessibility, and its posi-

tion as state capital. At least by mid-summer 1981, the

‘dea arose to build the complex within the Great Park

tract. (Testimony of Danny Lee, Transcript, Volume III,

at 140). The site was considered ideal because of its prox-

imity to the central business district and universities, and

its relative seclusion.

In 1981, Thomas Moreland, Commissioner of GDOT

(Moreland) met with Charles Kirbo (Kirbo) an associate

of President Carter, at Troncalli Motors. According to

Moreland’s testimony, Kirbo told him that the Great Park

area would be a good site for the Complex. (Test. of

Thomas Moreland, T-II, at 227). Kirbo stated that a

transportation connection with Emory would be needed.

Moreland testified that he did not promise or tell Kirbo

that he would put a road in that tract, if the Carter people

cooperated. (Jd. at 230).

In 1981 Andrew Young sought election as mayor of

Atlanta, in part on a platform of opposition to any road-

way through the Great Park. After his election, Mayor

Young reversed his position and in 1982 supported the so-

La EES

A61

called Mayor's Plan. This proposal basically is the al-

ternative sought to be enjoined in the instant lawsuit. It

included a 2.4 mile four lane parkway. The Complex would

be situated in the center of the tract, approximately thirty

acres. Throughout the first half of 1982, the mayor’s of-

fice presented the plan to the GPA, ARC, various neigh-

borhood organizations, neighborhoods, and concerned citi-

zens. A public hearing was held on June 29, 1982 at City

Hall. On July 6, 1982, the Atlanta City Council approved

the plan. GDOT also approved the plan. In September,

1982, the ARC amended its RTP to delete the Decatur

Parkway/DeKalb Avenue Connector and to insert the

Parkway in lieu thereof.

In August, 1982, the FHWA placed a notice of intent

to prepare an EIS in the Federal Register. The notice set

up the framework for commenting on the proposal, refer-

enced the earlier meetings, and stated that a public hear-

ing would be held. It also named David Densmore, high-

way engineer with FHWA (Densmore), as contact person

for the project.

Throughout the remainder of 1982 and the beginning

of 1983, GDOT and FHWA, the latter as lead agency, pre-

pared the Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS).

On April 21, 1983, FHWA signed the DEIS. Approxi-

mately 1,000 copies were distributed to agencies, organiza-

tions, and individuals. The DEIS contained 193 pages of

text, inclusive of photographs, charts, maps, bibliograph-

ies, and lists of meetings and preparers. Nine appendices

totaling approximately 89 pages were attached, including

correspondence, plans, and various technical charts and

figures. The DEIS diseussed the build, or Parkway altern-

ative, in some detail, the no-build alternative in two sen-

~/

A62

tences, and ‘‘other alternatives,’’ in a few pages, including

a road only to the library, a road to Moreland, Avenue, im-

provements on existing streets, a two lane parkway, and

the Decatur Parkway. Some additional discussion of al-

ternatives occurred within sections addressing impact on

specifie properties.

Because a large number of comments concerning the

project were received both before and after the presenta-

tion of DEIS, GDOT and FHWA conducted four public

information meetings. The first three were held between

May 31 and June 2, 1983, in neighborhoods adjacent to the

project. Court reporters were available and comments

were received. The meetings generally were well-attended.

The fourth meeting was held on June 7, 1983, at the At-

lanta Civic Center. Later that day, the public hearing was

held, consisting of a formal presentation followed by a

public comment session. Court reporters were available in

the lobby and auditorium to receive oral comments; writ-

ten ones also were accepted. Between 1,500 and 3,000 peo-

ple attended this hearing. The hearing record and public

comment period were left open until July 25, 1983. Ap-

proximately 2,000 persons commented on the project. In

August, 1983, GDOT made the decision to proceed with the

final EIS (FEIS) around the build option (Test. of Peter

Malphurs, State Environmental Analysis Engineer, GDOT

(Malphurs) T-ILI, at 188-89).

Among those commenting on the project were various

federal agencies, including the Department of Interior

(DOI), the General Services Administration (GSAY, and

the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Many com-

ments expressed reservations concerning several aspects

of the project, including air quality studies, and impacts on

A635

parks and hisforie properties. Meetings between FHWA,

GDOT, and agencies were held to discuss these comments.

GDOT and FHWA also prepared a separate environmen-

tal review concentrating on historic resources. This re-

view, or Preliminary Case Report (PCR) was sent to the

Georgia Department of Natural Resources (DNR) on

October 25, 1983. DNR commented on the PCR, which was

revised to reflect these comments. The PCR was for-

warded to the Adyisory Council on Historie Preservation

(ACHP) for comment in November, 1983. The PCR was

made available to the public, and the ACHP received

many comments thereon.

The ACHP reviewed the PCR, and recommended that

GDOT and FHWA give further consideration to the More-

land Avenue termination alternative, with other transper-

tation improvements. FHWA responded that it and GDOT

had given sufficient attention to the Moreland Avenne al-

ternative, as well as others, but had concluded that they

were not feasible and prudent to fulfill transportation

goals.

The Chairman of the ACHP determined that the full

council should consider the matter at a public hearing.

This meeting was held on February 27, 1984. The ACHP

voted 12-4 to recommend that the Parkway not be built, but

that the Carter Complex be constructed on the site. FHWA

responded to the ACHP comments on April 17, 1984.

The final E.I.S. (FEIS) was approved on May 22,

1984, and distributed to interested parties. The FEIS,

Volume I, contained 345 pages of text, including analyses,

bibliographies, charts, graphs, and lists. The appendices

covered approximately 470 pages, and contained iter alia,

A64

comments and responses, studies, and charts. In addition,

the PCR, submitted as Volume II of the FEIS, contained

115 pages of text, including pictures, bibliography, and

charts. Approximately 90 pages of the PCR were com-

ments and responses, an additional 100 pages was an ar-

chaeological survey, and reports on historic districts and

comments consumed approximately 300 pages. In addi-

tion to alternatives mentioned in the DEIS, the FEIS dis-

eussed additional road improvements, MARTA, one way

pairings, staggered work hours, charges for driving, and

a more detailed discussion of the Decatur Parkway-De-

Kalb Avenue alternative.

Notice of the approval of the FEIS was published in

the Federal Register. Comments on the FEIS were sub-

mitted by the EPA, DOI, individuals, and organizations.

On June 25, 1984, the Chairman of the ACHP filed a No-

tice of Referral with the Council on Environmental Qual-

ity (CEQ). The CEQ held a public hearing on July 17,

1984 to consider whether to accept the referral. It also

solicited comments on the matter, and received numerous

responses. On September 20, 1984, the CEQ determined

that the proposed Parkway was not of such national sig-

nificance to warrant its interjection into the process. The

CEQ further requested that the FHWA continue its nor-

mal decisionmaking process. The FHWA, through the

Secretary of USDOT’s designee, William Van Luchene,

approved and executed a record of decision on September

21, 1984.

Carter Library, Inc., the developing aid coordinating

entity for the Complex, obtained title to 3.2 acres of the

tract on October 2, 1984 via a landswap with GDOT (the

A65

‘‘Footprints’’). The Complex itself would be constructed

on the Footprints. Construction commenced on that date.

The remaining acreage surrounding the Footprints, and

circumscribed by the Parkway, is to be a ‘‘roadside park,’’

titled in GDOT, and maintained by Carter Library, Inc.

GDOT has advertised for bids on the parkway construe-

tion. Bids were opened on October 26, 1984. ‘The award-

ing of contracts is pending and must be made within thirty

days from that date.

1. §4(f)(1) ANALYSIS

Defendants considered that the No-Build alternative

was imprudent because it would not address transportation

needs, thus resulting in further traffic and safety prob-

lems. It was considered to cause major disruption because

it might lead to a reduction in scope or loss of the Carter

Complex, and its cultural and educational resources. <A

direct link with the central business districts and the uni-

versities would not have occurred. It would have resulted

in a loss of amenities surrounding the Parkway.

The No-Build alternative certainly is feasible; nothing

need be constructed. An alternative that does not fulfill

the need which a project is designed to address, however,

is not a prudent alternative, LES, 537 F.2d at 85. (‘...

the no-build alternative [was] imprudent because [it]

failed to fulfill the needed purpose of a circumferential

highway route’’). The court previously has found de-

fendants’ contention that a transportation need exists to

be reasonable. Therefore, defendants’ rejection of No-

Build as imprudent also is reasonable.

Additionally, defendants contend that No-Build is

not prudent because the loss of the Carter Complex, amen-

A66

ities, and housing, and the traffic and safety problems

would amount to disruption to the community of extraor-

dinary magnitude, or would be unique factors. This argu-

ment has some merit. Safety and traffic considerations

themselves are not enough to overcome § 4(f) protections.

The Carter Complex itself, however, would be a cultural

and historic amenity of far reaching significance to the

community, to Atlanta, and to the state. Although a dearth

of case law on such an unusual situation exists, the court

is persuaded that the loss of the Carter Complex could

well be a truly unique or unusual factor. See Overton

Park, 401 U.S. at 413. Thus, even if No-Build were pru-

dent, the magnitude and uniqueness of the Carter Com-

plex could justify an exception to the prudent requirement.

Defendants also considered improvements to Ponce

de Leon, including updated signalization, widening to four

twelve foot lanes, and new turning lanes at intersections.

FEIS, at 238-39. Defendants do not assert that this al-

ternative is not feasible. They claim that it is not prudent,

because it will not satisfy the transportation need that the

Parkway would fulfill. See LES, 537 F.2d at 85. More

important, this alternative would impact upon § 4(f) areas:

Druid Hills Historie District and five Olmstead Parks.

Thus, it is not a prudent alternative to the Parkway, and

will be considered further under § 4(f)(2). Zd.

The Decatur Parkway alternative would begin at the

I-75/85 stub, proceed easterly toward the Complex, and

turn south through existing right-of-way to join DeKalb

Avenue. That street would be improved to a five-lane

controlled access facility with a variable width landscaped

median, twelve foot lanes, a side-walk, bike path, and a

landscape buffer. FEIS at 192.

A67

Defendants again have not claimed that this alterna-

tive is not feasible, but that itis imprudent. First, it will

not fulfill transportation needs in the corridor. This is

true especially if Clifton Road is the eastern terminus,

because traffic would be unable to go north toward the

Ponce de Leon area without using busy roads and neigh-

borhood streets, 7d. at 194. Additionally, §4(f) sites

would be impacted, including Moreland Historic District,

Inman Park Historie District, and Candler Park Historic

District. The alternative’s extension northeastward to

tie in to the Ponce corridor would assist in meeting trans-

portation goals, but would impact even more of Candler

Park Historic District, as well as Sycamore Street Historic

District. Jd. at 196-97. The alternative impacts § 4(f)

property, and is not prudent. It will be analyzed under

§ 4(f) (2).

Two alternatives concerning Moreland Avenue were

presented: a parkway termination at Moreland, and one

terminating there with a related north-south roadway on

existing rights-of-way, and a proposed future extension

to Lullwater Road (the Marbut Plan). FEIS at 199. The

Marbut Plan, with its proposed extension to Lullwater,

would impact on §4(f) property in the Candler Park and

Druid Hills Historie Districts. The north-south leg would

impact on § 4(f) lands in the North Highland/North Ave-

ne, Moreland, and Inman Park Historic Districts. The

plan thus would not be a prudent alternative, and will be

discussed under § 4(f)(2).

The other plan would terminate the Parkway at More-

land, with no plans for future extension. Because all Park-

way traffic would exit at Moreland, an already busy street,

A68

the intersections of Moreland at North Avenue and at

once de Leon would be upgraded. Additionally Ponce de

Leon and Moreland would be widened. Defendants be-

lieve that this plan will not provide fully for transportation

needs. The plan also would impact § 4(f) property in the

Olmstead Parks, the Druid Hills Historic District, and

the North Highland/North Avenue Districts. Thus, it

is not a prudent alternative and will be considered under

§ 4(f) (2).

The FEIS also mentioned an alternative to the north

of Candler Park Historie District, FEIS at 232, 237, which

was rejected because it would impact on Druid Hills His-

toric District and require residential displacements there-

in. An alternative south of Candler Park was studied,

id. at 238, but also was not accepted. This alternative

would have impacted on the Candler Park Historic Dis-

trict.

An alternative that the Parkway extend from down-

town to the Complex was rejected because it would not

satisfy transportation requirements. FEIS at 48-49. The

FEIS also discussed a two lane Parkway. This alterna-

tive would not have addressed the need completely, and

additionally would have impacted § 4(f) properties.

Another alternative would make Edgewood and De-

Kalb Avenues into one way pairs. The FEIS noted that

this would be infeasible, and still would impact Inman

Park Historie District. The one-way pair of Boulevard

and Parkway Drive would not be feasible, and failed to

meet transportation goals.

In sum, the evidence indicates the defendants consid-

ered numerous alternatives, and reasonably could have con-

cluded that no feasible and prudent alternatives existed.

A69

2. §4(f)(2) ANALYSIS: §4(f) ALTERNATIVES

Because some of the alternatives would impact on

§ 4(f) land, they must be analyzed under the second eri-

terion of ¢4(f): whether they minimize harm to § 4(f)

property. These alternatives are improvements on Ponce

de Leon, Decatur Parkway, Moreland Avenue termina-

tion, roads north of Candler Park Historie District, and

south of Candler Park, and a two-lane parkway.

The defendants’ conclusion that the last three alter-

natives would not minimize harm and were not prudent

was reasonable. The roads north and south of Candler

Park would have impacted Druid Hills Historie District

and Candler Park Historie District to a much greater de-

gree than would the Parkway. FEIS, at 237-38. Thus, de-

fendants’ decision that the Parkway would do less harm

to those areas and to §4(f) property in general was rea-

sonable. Additionally, rejection of the two lane parkway

alternative was reasonable. That roadway would not have

met transportation needs, but would have caused equal

§4(f) harm. Thus the defendants could choose between

the two versions of the Parkway, LES, 537 F.2d at 85, and

their choice was reasonable.

Defendants stated that Ponce de Leon Avenue im-

provements would require additional right-of-way for the

length of five of the Olmstead Parks and along the north-

ern side of Ponce de Leon. Existing pavements would have

been widened. Turning lanes at Oakdale, Springdale, Lull-

water, and Clifton Roads would have required additional

right-of-way to accommodate at least sixty feet of road-

way. Approximately seven to eight acres would be used

A70

from the Druid Hills Historie District, and five of the

Olmstead Parks would be impacted. FEIS, at 238-39.

Defendants concluded that the improvements alter-

native would impact more severely on §4(f) property.

Fven though Goldsboro and Candler Parks would be avoid-

ed, five Olmstead Parks, rather than two, would be im-

pacted. Jd. Additional land from the northern side of

Ponce de Leon, in the Druid Hills Historie District,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.