Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kasper v. Federal National Mortgage Ass'n

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

¥ GOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

CLERK

Se Se el

87-988 | DEC 16 87

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

GEORGE H. KASPER, JR.

Petitioner,

Vs.

FEDERAL NATIONAL MORTGAGE ASSOCIATION

Respondent.

ON CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

George H. Kasper, Jr.

2852 Guinevere Drive, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia, 30345

(404) 325-7332

(Pro Se)

December 16, 1987.

PUBLISHER'S NOTE:

Original Pagination is not

continuous.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

CENTRAL ISSUE

The central issue is: whether Federal

National Mortgage Association (FNMA) is

now such a "private corporation" that it

can discharge and involuntarily retire its

Older civil service government employees

"at will", “without cause" or "due process"

and replace them with new younger employees

because it "prefers to have some one else"?

FIRST QUESTION

Whether FNMA can use the lawful Civil

Service early retirement pian, to effect

mandatory retirement when civil service

employees become eligible for annuity,

without economic or business purpose

showing, or whether its use is a subterfuge

to evade the purpose of the plan and the

law?

SECOND QUESTION

Whether there exist in FNMA, a federally

created instrumentality whose stock is

privately owned, sufficient "close nexus"

between its "Federal Action" in administer-

ing the Federal Civil Service program and

Carrying on the operations of Government

National Mortgage Association (GNMA) by

contract, and its employment actions with

Petitioner, so as to make applicable the

"Due Process" provisions of the United

States Constitution?

THIRD QUESTION

Whether the Third Cause of Action, seek-

ing damages for loss of compensation, terms

conditions and privileges of employment,

supported by [1] Presidential Executive

Order, [2] Civil Service Retirement law,

[3] FNMA Charter Act, [4] written employ-

ment contract, and [5] FNMA Policy and

Operating Malual (POM) was properly

dismissed by Judgment on the Pleadings?

=

FOURTH QUESTION

Whether U. S. Government employees who

transferred to FNMA in 1968 lost and for-

feited rights which they had as government

employees to employment action based on

merit alone and to procedural “due process"?

FIFTH QUESTION

Whether the "notice" holding in Delaware

State College v. Ricks, is properly applied

in the facts of this case, to a FNMA Memo

to Files providing "Continuing Employment

Arrangements.." (for a year to create a

year of civil service employment), as a

basis for final, authoritative, unambigious

notice to Petitioner of FNMA's intent to

mandatorily retire him, against his will,

as soon as he became eligible for annuity?

SIXTH QUESTION

Whether Petitioner&S two affidavits with

ATTACHMENTS were sufficient to show a

genuine issue of material fact as to

whether FNMA misled him regarding “the

facts of" his employment status with FNMA,

thus tolling the filing requirements of

the ADEA?

INTERESTED PARTIES

The following listed parties have an

interest in the outcome of this case:

George H. Kasper, Jr., (Petitioner),

Federal National Mortgage Association

(Respondent).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page a

Questions Presented 1

Central Issue l

First Question l

Second Question 2

Third Question 2

Fourth Question 3

Fifth Question 3

Sixth Question 4

Interested Parties 4

Table of Contents i

Table of Citations iii

Opinions Below 5

Jurisdiction 5

Constitutional provisions, vii

Statutes & Regulations involved

Statement of the Case 6

Course ot Proceedings i 6

Petitioner's Complaint ii 7

Statement of facts iii 13

Standards of Review 36

Argument 38

First Question 38

Second Question 41

Third Question 46

Fourth Question 53

Fifth Question 56

Sixth Question 60

Conclusion 64

Appendix

Order, 18 th December 1984. A-1

Transcript - Order May 6, 1986 A-12

Order (11 Cir.) August 3, 1987 A-20

Order - On Rehearing October

26, 1987 A-41

Certificate of Service

ii

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Page no.

Federal Court Decisions

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co. 63°

415 U.S. 36, 39 & B@.24 147,

94 S.Ct. 1011, (1974)

Ashton v. Civilette, 613 F.2d 51

923 (App. D.C. Dist Co. 1985)

Beacon Theatres v. Westover, 36

73 ws CEs FSS

Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 51

96 S.Ct. 2074, 48 L. Ed.2d 684

(1976).

Board of Regents v. Roth 91,52

406 U.S. 564, $2 $.Ct. 2701;

33 L. Ed.2d 548 (1972) £

Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neil 63

324 Uso. O97, BF Le B4.1297,

(1944).

Cannon v. University of Chicago, 48

441 U.S. 667, 99 S.Ct. 1946,

(1979).

Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill

470 U.8. S32, 103 &. Ct. 1487,

84 L. Ed2d 494 (1985).

Coke v. General Adjustment Bureau,

inc,., 640 F. 2a 384, (5 Cir. 1981)

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41,

78 Bs CE. FS, 2 bs BA. 26 BO

(1957).

iii

22

as

36

Cort wv. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 46,47,48

95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed2d 26

(1975)

Delaware State College v. Ricks 3,56

449 U.S. 250, 101 S.Ct. 498 34,58,359

66 L. Ed2d 431 (1980).

Doe v. Casey, 601 F. Supp 581

(D.C.« Dist. Col. 1995).

E.E.O.C. v. Baltimore and Ohio R.

Co., 632 F.2d 1107 (4 Cir. 1980)

Evans-v. Newton, 382 U.S. 296,

So &.Ct. 400, i135 Le £4. 373

(1966).

Federal National Mortgage Assoc-

lation v. Lefkowitz, 390 F.Supp.

Loes (B.DiBike LSIS} a

Fountain v. Filson, 336 U.S.681

oF S&S. Ct. (34, 9S lL. EA. S71,

(1949).

Goldstein v. Manhattan Industries,

ine. foe fs. 26 t8go¢ tli €ir i965).

Hannan v. Chrysler Motors Corp.,

443 F.Supp. 802 (E.D. Mich. 1978).

Isaac & Assoc. v. Federal National

Mortgage Association, 647 S.W. 2d

495 (Ky. App 1982).

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,

419 U.S. 345, 95 S.Ct. 453, 42 L.

Ed 2d 477 (1974).

Keiser v. Walsh, 118 F2d 13, —

Ja Ape. D.C. 167 (1941).

iv

51

39

43

44

44

44

37

_ 2 aa * ss cee - "s "a 9

a aia = OE alia oT

- . a se .

~

a

_

.

—

s

a a

Mason v. Lister, 562 F.2d 343 38

eae. 2977) ©

Maxfield v. Sinclair Intern. 38

766 F.2d 788 (3 Cir. 1985).

McCorstin v. United States Steel 38

Corp., 621 F2d 749 (5 Cir. 1980).

Meyer v. Riegel Products Corp., 62

720 D. 2d 303 (3 Cir 1983).

Northrip v. Federal National 41,42

Mortgage Association, 527 F 2d 43,44

aa 46 Gif. i975).

Ott Midland-Ross Corp., 62

Vv.

600 F. 2d 24 (6 Cir. 1979).

Paige v. Harris, 584 F. 2d 178 51

[7 Gaxe 1976).

Palmer v. Columbia Gas of Ohio, 43

479 F. 2d 153.

Parker v. Federal National 61

Mortgage Association, 741 F. 2d

975 (7 Cir. 1984).

Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593,51,52

92 S&S. Cb. 26094 (1972).

Rubin v. O'Koren, 644 F. 2d 1023 59

{3 Cir. Unit B. 1961).

Services v. Dulles, 354 U.S. 363, 53

aes eee L152 (5957).

Schellfeffer v. United States, 40

343 F. 2d 936 (Ct. Cl. 1965)

Turner v. Impala Motors, 43

503 F. 2d 607 (6 Cir 1974).

Vv

TransAmerica Mortgage Advisors v. 48

Lewis, 444 U.S. 11, 100 S. Ct.

242 (1979).

Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 49,51

535, 79 S. Ct. 968 (1959).

Federal Statutes and Regulations

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution vil

of the United States, 52

5 U.S.C.A. § 8336(d) viii

[Mason:§ 8336(d)(2) & 8332(da)(2)],38

12 U.S.C.A. § 1717, et seq. 7

12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(2), vii

28 U.S.C.A. Rule 8, (a)(2), x

(e)(1), (£),

29 U.S.C.A. § 621, et Seq. 39

Code Federal Regulations, xii,45

24 C.F.R. ch III Subchapter A “

part 300,

Presidential Executive Order x,49

No. 11141, February 12, 1964,

29 F.R. 2477,

Books

Webster's Third New International 60

Dictionary (1986).

vi

OPINIONS BELOW

United States District Court Order Dec-

ember 18, 1984, granting FNMA Motion for

Judgment on the Pleadings. (A-1). Transcript

of District Court Hearing, May 6, 1986,

granting FNMA Motion for Summary Judgment

and DISMISSAL, (A-12), Judgment of Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals, August 3, 1987,

affirming District Court, Petition for re-

hearing denied October 26, 1987 reported as

Calhoun v. Federal National Mortgage Assoc-

iation, George H. Kasper Jr., Intervenor-

Appellant ( F.2d ). (A-20, A-41).

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals Judgment of August

3, 1987. Timely petition for rehearing was

denied October 26, 1987. Petition for

Certiorari was filed within 90 days.

This Courts Jurisdiction is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

ate

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amemdment of the Constitution

of the United States provides:

"No person shall...be deprived of

life, liberty or property, without

due process of law;..."

The Federal National Mortgage

Association Charter Act, Title 12, USCA

§ 1723a(d)(2) provides:

"The board of directors of the

corporation shall have the power

to select and appoint or employ such

officers, attorneys, employees and

agents, to vest them with such

powers and duties, and to fix and

to cause the corporation to pay such

compensation to them for their

services, as it may determine; and

any such action shall be without

regard to the Federal civil service

and classification laws.

Appointinents, promotions, and

separations so made shall be based

on merit and efficiency, and no

political tests or qualifications

shall be permitted or given

consideration. Each officer and

employee of the corporation who is

employed by the corporation prior to

January 31, 1972, and who on the day

previous to the beginning of such

employment will have been subject to

the civil service retirement law

vii

(subch. III of ch. 83 of Title 5)

shall, so long as his employment by

the corporation continues without a

break in continuity of service,

continue to be subject to such law;

and for the purpose of such law his

employment by the corporation

without a break in continuity of

service shall be deemed to be

employment by the Government of the

United States."

Title 5, USCA §8336 (d) provides:

"An employee who is separated from

the service-

(1) involuntarily, except hy

removal for cause on charges of

misconduct or delinquency; or

(2) voluntarily, during a period

when the agency in which the

employee is serving is undergoing a

major reorganization, a major

reduction in force, or a major

transfer of function, as determined

by the Office of Personnel

Management, and the employee is

serving in a geographical area

designated by the Office;

after completing 25 years of service or

after becoming 50 years of age and

completing 20 years of service is

entitled to an annuity,"

Title 29, USCA § 623 provides:

(a) Employer practices

"It shall be unlawful for an empioyer-

(1) ...to discharge any individual

or otherwise discriminate against

any individual with respect to his

viii

compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because

of such individual's age;"

(f) Lawful practices;

"It shall not be unlawful for an

employer, ... ;

(2) to observe the terms of a bona

fide employee benefit plan such as a

retirement, pension, or insurance

plan, which is not a subterfuge to

evade the purposes of this chapter,

except that no such employee benefit

plan shall excuse the failure to hire

any individual, and no such seniority

system or employee benefit plan shall

require or permit the involuntary

retirement of any individual

specified by section 63l(a) of this

title because of the age of such

individual;"

Title 29, USCA § 631(a) provides:

"The prohibitions in this chapter

shall be limited to individuals who

are at least 40 years of age but less

than 70 years of age."

Title 29, USCA § 626 provides:

(c)(1) “Any person aggrieved may

bring a civil action in any court of

competent jurisdiction for such legal

or equitable relief as will effectuate

the purposes of this chapter:.."

(d)"No civil action may be commenced

by an individual under this section

until 60 days after a charge alleging

unlawful discrimination has been

filed with the Equal Employment

ix

Opportunity commission. Such a

charge shall be filed-

(1) within 180 days after the

alleged unlawful practice occured;"

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, 28

USCA - Rule 8 provides:

(a) (2) "a short and plain statement

of the claim showing that the

pleader is entitled to relief",

(e) (1) -"No technical forms of

pleadings - are required",

(f) "All pleadings shall be construed

as to do substantial justice".

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO.1i141

Feb. 12, 1964, 29 F.R. 2477

DISCRIMINATION OF THE BASIS OF AGE

4 by President Lyndon B. Johnson

WHEREAS the principle of equal employ-

ment opportunity is now an established

policy of our Government and applies

equally to all who wish to work and are

Capable of doing so; and

WHEREAS discrimination in employment

because of age, except upon the basis

of a bona fide occupational qualifi-

cation, retirement plan, or statutory

requirement, is inconsistent with that

principle and with the social and

economic objectives of our society; and

WHEREAS older workers are an indis-

pensable source of productivity and

experience which our Nation can ill

afford to lose; and

WHEREAS President Kennedy, mindful

that maximum national growth depends

x

es eS Oe a ae

on the utilization of all manpower

resources, issued a memorandum on

March 14, 1983, reaffirming the policy

of the Executive Branch of the Govern-

ment of hiring and promoting employees

on the basis of merit alone and

emphasizing the need to assure that

Older people are not discriminated

against because of their age and receive

fair and full consideration for employ-

ment and advancement in Federal

employment; and

WHEREAS, to encourage and hasten the

acceptance of the principle of equal

employment opportunity for older

persons by all sectors of the economy,

private and public, the Federal

Government can and should provide

maximum leadership in this regard by

adopting that principle as an express

policy of the Federal Government not

Only with respect to Federal employees

but also with respect to persons

employed by contractors and subcontract-

ors engaged in the performance of

Federal contracts:

NOW, THEREFORE, by virtue of the

authority vested in me by the Constitu-

tion and statutes of the United States

and as President of the United States, I

hereby declare that it is the policy of

the Executive Branch of the Government

that (1) contractors and subcontractors

engaged in the performance of Federal

contracts shall not, in connection with

the employment, advancement or discharge

of employees, or privileges of their

employment, discriminate against persons

because of their age except upon the

basis of a bona fide occupational

qualification, retirement plan, or

xi

statutory requirement, and ..."

Title 24 Code Federal Regulations Ch.

III Subchapter A part 300 provides:

§300.3 "The Government National

Mortgage Association (hereinafter in

this chapter called the Association)"

§300.5 "The Association is a

Government corporation in the

Department of Housing and Urban

Development...”

§300.9 "The Association directs its

operations from its office located

at 451 Seventh Street SW.,

Washington, D.C. 20414. It has made

provisions for the carrying on of

such operations through the Federal

National Mortgage Association (FNMA).

The regional offices of FNMA are

listed below:

Atlanta, Ga. 30303, 34 Peachtree

Street NE: ...*

xii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

i.

Course of Proceedings,

Dispositions In The Courts Below,

and Calhoun Proceedings.

Walter W. Calhoun instituted civil

action against Defendant Federal National

Mortgage Association (FNMA) on July 8,

1983 in United States District Court for

the Northern District of Georgia, Atlanta

Division, charging violations of the Age

Discrinination In Employment Act (Title

29, Section 621, et seq., USCA) [R. 1-1],

and a pendent claim under OCGA §34-1-2

for wrongful discharge. The District

Court dismissed Calhoun's pendent claim

under OCGA §34-1-2 [R. 1-12].

After completion of discovery Summary

Judgment was granted on March 26, 1985 to

Defendant as to the remaining claims

asserted by Calhoun [R. 3-61]. No appeal

was taken by Calhoun therefrom.

colli

ii.

Petitioner's Complaint.

Meanwhile, on November 15, 1983 George

H. Kasper, Jr., had moved for leave to

intervene in the action [R.1-11] which

was allowed [R.1-29], and simultaneously

therewith filed complaint [R.1-11]

asserting three causes of action, viz:

1] Age Discrimination In Employment

Act, supra;

2] Pendent jurisdiction under Georgia

Prohibitation of Age Discrimination

In Employment Statute [OCGA §34-1-2].

3] Federal National Mortgage Association

Charter Act [Title 12, Section 1716,

et seq., USCA].

In capsule form the complaint alleged

Petitioner was, after 16 years experience

in private law practice, appointed by

defendant in 1965 to a position as career

attorney, thereafter promoted in 1967 to

Assistant Agency Counsel, then in 1977 to

ota

;

i

j

j

:

;

eee

Southeastern Regional Counsel, which

position he held until July 22, 1982 when

he was "relieved of his responsibilities

as Southeastern Regional Counsel." He

was advised by the newly employed 34 year

Old Regional Vice President that his

services were no longer required [R.1-11].

Subsequently the position was filled by a

person only 31 years of age from outside

FNMA who had been a licensed attorney for

only some three years. [R. 1-11].

On October 4, 1982 Petitioner was

transferred as Assistant Regional Vice

President- Counsel, Grade 84, from Cost

Center 16 to Cost Center 11. He remained

in FNMA employment as Asst. Reg. V. P.-

Counsel, at one-half pay from August 8,

1982 to August 5, 1983 at which time his

employment was involuntarily terminated

with the only reason given as

"Discontinued Service Retirement".

[R. l<22}.

On August 5, 1983 Petitioner was 57

years of age. The written employment

evaluations given by his superiors were

rated as superior to exceptional (the

highest obtainable) for over 17 years.

Despite his protest and queries as to his

status, he was never given any reason or

explanation for his removal, and

replacement as SE Regional Counsel and

his ultimate termination of employment.

That his employment with FNMA was

subject to the "merit and efficiency"

provisions of the Charter Act and that

he was unreasonably and arbritrarily

deprived of "Due Process" in violation of

the law and of his rights, has suffered

monetary damages for loss of compensation,

terms, conditions and privileges of

employment and reduced retirement and

pension benefits. That he has not been

dealt with fairly, justly or in good

faith and offered no other position with

-9-

Defendant, and had been advised that he

is not eligible for rehire. Following

his termination on August 5, 1983 he was

awarded reduced retirement benefits by

the United States Civil Service

Commission [R. 1-11].

Petitioner further alleged compliance

with the provisions of the ADEA by

filing charges (on August 24, 1983) with

the Secretary pursuant to 29 USC § 626(d).

Charges made to the EEOC stated, inter

alia [R. 2-45 Attachment G]:

"I charge Age Discrimination in FNMA's

acts of July 22, 1982, in their refusal

to provide "Due Process" and to give me

a final decision on my appeals until

August 5, 1983, and in my involuntary

retirement of August 5, 1983."

"I further charge Age iieibtiadiiad ean to

me in my forced involuntary retirement

as a Civil Service employee on August 5,

1983. <- *.

oe

Defendant answered asserting numerous

defenses [R. 1-32] including late filing

of charges with the EEOC [R. 1-32-2], and

following discovery filed Motion For

Summary Judgment and Judgment on the

Pleadings which the District Court

granted as to Petitioner's Second and

Third Causes of Action [R. 3-56]._ The

Court, however, in the same order held

Petitioner was entitled to be heard as to

whether there may have been Equitable

Tolling of his First Cause of Action, as

"Kasper's affidavit is sufficient to show

a genuine issue of material fact as to

whether the defendant misled him

regarding his employment status with

FNMA." [R. 3-56].

There was additional discovery following

which defendant filed a Second Motion For

Summary Judgment [R. 4-87]. Same came on

for oral hearing on May 6, 1986 and after

brief oral argument the Court granted

@-li-

defendant's Second Motion for Summary

Judgment [R. 4-93] for reasons stated in

open Court [R. 5]. Appeal to the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals followed. After

Judgment of the Court of Appeals, on

August 3, 1987, Petitioner's Attorney of

Record became hospitalized and Petitioner

proceeded with Petition for Rehearing

Pro Se. Petition for Rehearing was

denied on October 26, 1987. I proceed

herewith Pro Se, and beg the Court's

indulgence.

The Court of Appeals affirmed the

District Court as to the Second Cause of

Action holding that the Georgia

Prohibation of Age Discrimination In

Employment Statute [OCGA § 34-1-2]}

provided "No Private Right of Action"

under OCGA § 34-1-2. This Second Cause

of Action is herewith abandoned.

otis

iii.

Statement of the Facts.

FNMA has largely ignored and managed to

evade Petitioner's two affidavits and

ATTACHMENTS [R. 2-45 2/18 and R. 4-90] in

response to Defendant's Motions for

Summary Judgment and for Judgment On the

Pleadings. Petitioner deems it essential,

under these circumstances, to include

portions thereof for the Courts reference

and consideration. These events and

documents are summarized as concisely as

possible, viz:

a] In November, 1968, Petitioner

accepted, in writing, FNMA's offer of

employment, contained in a letter from

it's President, dated November 13, 1968,

and the Memorandum from Secretary of

Housing and Urban Development, Robert C.

Weaver. [R. 2-45 - ATTACHMENT A]. Some

of the terms are quoted for reference:

“That FNMA and GNMA shall provide by

si Re

contract for the conditions and methods

by which FNMA may employ GNMA employees."

"The effect of the transfer on employees

was a paramount consideration in the

decisions reached on the agreement for

transfer of functions and staff. I have

felt, and the FNMA's Board of Directors

and officers have shared my feelings,

that employment conditions should not

and need not be adversely affected by

the transfer."

"Many of the provisions of the agreement

are designed to assure maximum

protection to employees,"

"You will, therefore, not lose your

present retirement advantages, and will

continue to be under the Federal

retirement system, with FNMA making the

employer contributions required under

the system."

"Congress has asked us to develop a

privately-owned corporation for the

—y

public purpose of helping to provide a

decent home in a decent environment for

ail Americans."

"As a private organization, FNMA will

offer you a wider range of opportunities,

greater benefits and more flexible

employment policies than have been

available under federal service.-- It is

to your benefit, personally, to join the

new organization."

"These policies have been developed with

the objective of having the new FNMA's

employment benefits equal to, if not

better than, existing ones."

"FNMA is an Equal Employment Opportunity

employer. In addition, since FNMA

employees will be doing federal work on

contract, the safe-guards about Equal

Employment under the Federal Contract

Compliance law will apply."

“FNMA will operate on the principle

that's spelled out in the FNMA Charter

. -15-

act (Section 309d.2):"

“Appointments, promotions, and

separations-- shall be based on merit

and efficiency, and no political test

or qualifications shali be permitted

or given consideration,"

"This law will be carried out."

"A. Promotions from within Will be

FNMA's basic policy. Thus FNMA will not

seek employees elsewhere until existing

personnel have been reviewed for their

qualifications, including their

potential after a reasonable amount of

retraining. The policy of giving

preferential treatment to existing

employees is based on management's

appreciation of loyalty and its desire

to assure reasonable job security."

"D. Grievance & Separation Review

Procedures will be established, whereby

employees can request decisions be

reviewed by supervisors at least two

xt6@<

levels above their immediate supervisor.

An employee may be separated for

inefficiency or cause when his work does

not meet FNMA performance standards

after a reasonable orientation period,

or Because he impedes or harms FNMA

operations some other way."

b] On November 10, 1981, FNMA

established Policy and Operating Manual

Section 311-10, Subject - Termination of

Employment [R. 4-5- ATTACHMENT S],

Provides in part:

"SEPARATION FOR CAUSE: SEPARATION

AUTHORITY -- The authority to separate an

employee for cause up through salary

range 60 is vested in the appropriate

department or office head, Regional

Vice President, or Director of Auditing.

The separation of all other employees

for cause requires the approval of the

Chairman and in the case of an Officer,

the Board of Directors."

Boy ta Oe

Petitioner was salary range 84, Assistant

Regional Vice President-Counsel (officer).

This Policy and Operating Manual procedure

was not followed as to Petitioner.

c] On about the second week of July,

1982 Ms. Caryl Bernstein, Executive Vice

President, General Counsel and Secretary

visited the Atlanta, Legal Division office

and congratulated us on “our good work".

[R. 2-45-2].

dj] On July 22, 1982 FNMA promulgated

memorandum "subject: Employment ptictene*

which established procedures for employee

Due Process, Termination, etc. [R. 2-45

ATTACHMENT Q]. This procedure was not

followed as to Petitioner. He received a

copy on September 20, 1984, as a part of

discovery [R. 2-35-18]. It provides:

"DUE PROCESS (for employers)

-clear policies, procedures standards

-discipline is progressive

-actions are uniform according to

cit.

violation/problem resolution

-documentation includes signatures

of both parties"

"STEPS TO FOLLOW

-standards of conduct are clearly

published (see misconduct, page 42)

-performance standards and measurement

criteria are established

-verbal warning/statement cf

deficiency given

-written documentation & counselling

interview occur

the counselling interview should

include:

1. statement of problem based on

observed conduct/performance and

resulting job interference

2. employees statement of problem

3. required action/improvement with

specific time frame and follow up

-prompt follow up"

=

"TERMINATIONS

Suggestion: Create resignation form

that includes the following:

I hereby resign my position as

(title) for ABC Company, effective

(date). I have no claims or

grounds for any claims against the

company based on my period of

employment with the organization.

This should be signed, dated and

witnessed."

e] On July 22, 1982, newly employed

34 year old Regional Vice President Glenn

T. Austin, Jr., relieved Petitioner of

his responsibilities as Southeastern

Regional Counsel advising him that his

services were no longer required and to

contact Al Burfeind, Vice President in

the Washington office. Petitioner was

shocked and asked him "What was wrong?

What have I done? What have I failed to

do?" He gave no reason whatsoever. [R.

=

2-45-2].

£] On July 22, 1982 Petitioner called

Ms. Bernstein in Washington and told her

what Mr. Austin had told him. She

expressed no surprise. Petitioner asked

"What was going on? What was wrong with

his work as Regional Counsel?" She gave

no reply. [R. 2-45-2].

g] On July 22, 1982 Petitioner called

Mr. Burfeind in Washington and told him

what Mr. Austin had told him. He said

that with 17 years service FNMA would

provide one-half year pay as severance.

Petitioner advised that this was not

acceptable and that he had 19 years

service. Burfeind said that he would look

into the matter and call back. [R. 2-45-3].

h] On July 23, 1982 Petitioner called

Burfiend again. Burfeind said that

"maybe we can get a retirement out of

this in August 1983". Petitioner advised

that he did not want to retire at his age

oe Ce

and that he could not support his family on

one-third pay. This was not a RIF. They

discussed FNMA's policy of transfer and in

view of Petitioner's superior to

exceptional performance and since he

enjoyed his job that Burfeind would contact

Petitioner's previous superiors about

recommendations of transfer, and try to

find out "what was going on", and that he

would be Petitioner's "advocate". Burfeind

said "Dont worry, I'll take care of things

and call you at home next week".[R.2-45-4].

i] On July 23, 1982 Petitioner vacated

his office as SE Regional Counsel as he

had been instructed to do. Since Burfeind

was looking into the transfer he wanted to

be on good working relations with FNMA as

Al was "working things out". [R. 2-45-6].

j] Possibly a week later Burfeind called

Petitioner at home and said that he was

working on a plan that could string out

@-22<

the half year pay and get 20 years of

Civil Service time. Petitioner said "Al,

wait a minute. I told you that I didn't

want to retire”. Burfeind said that he

was looking into the transfer, but that

he would have to work up a memorandum

for the Controller concerning Petitioner's

pay, and would call back later. [R-2-45-6].

k] Burfeind called Petitioner a few

days later and said that he was working

on a memorandum providing for "Continuing

Employment Arrangements”. Petitioner

advised Burfeind that he still did not

understand how he would become eligible

to retire and said "Al, I still don't

want to retire, as I have told you."

The transfer situation was again discussed.

The “time and attendance report" was

discussed. It was Petitioners impression

that he was and would continue to be a

FNMA employee, however unassigned, until

an appropriate position could be found.

a;

Petitioner continued to have positive

feelings about the transfer until March

and April, 1983, and remained available

to consider such assignment as FNMA

offered. [R. 2-45-7].

1] Petitioner received copy of the memo

to Files a few days later, and was never

asked to sign or approve it. The memo

was twice amended by Burfeind [R 2-45-7

ATTACHMENT B].

m] On October 4, 1982 Petitioner was

transferred ARVP-Counsel, Level 84, from

cost center 16 to cost center 11l,

although Petitioner was not advised.

[R. 2-45 - ATTACHMENT P].

n] On January 28, 1983 Petitioner's

replacement Judith Dedmon, wrote Caryl S.

Bernstein, "George Kasper has not been

terminated; he will be on the payroll

until August 5, 1983.-" [R. 4-90-

ATTACHMENT T].

~~) =

PRT RIN AT NOIRE Ie NIRS Oe OS PS SRA REP NE OVE Meta EN

Oo] In a letter dated February 3, 1983

David O. Maxwell, Defendant's Chairman of

the Board, advised Senator Sam Nunn that

Mrs. Bernstein and Mr. Austin had "decided

that it would be appropriate to relieve

Mr. George Kasper of his responsibilities

as Regional Counsel -" [R 2-45 -

ATTACHMENT D].

p] In the latter part of March 1983,

Petitioner felt, for the first time, that

perhaps FNMA had discriminated against him

on the ground of age in being removed as

SE Regional Counsel, after he met with Mr.

Calhoun and saw the letter from Mr.

Maxwell to Senator Nunn, saw Mr. Calhoun's

EEOC complaint, and what FNMA was doing to

other employees, found out that his

replacement was admitted to the Georgia

State Bar on February 1, 1980 (two and

one-half years in place of the POM

mandatory five year qualification), and

talked to Mr. Hunter on March 25, 1983.

get.

SEAN RN STL WLES NYT 4 SRE PATNI TRYIN ER ON RU

[R. 2-45-9, 10, 11 & 15].

q] On March 25, 1983 Petitioner

telephoned Mr. Oakley F. Hunter, former

Chairman and then member of the Board of

Directors of FNMA attempting to determine

his employment status and what the new

FNMA was doing to him. Petitioner told

him that Mr. Burfeind kept promising that

he was going to help arrange a transfer,

but that he was beginning to feel that he

was “just stringing me along". Mr. Hunter

said "No, Al is not going to help you a

bit. I have had a number or other

employee problems like yours, that I have

talked to Al about. He won't do you any

good". Mr. Hunter suggested that

Petitioner write him a letter that he

could present to the Board since they have

all sorts of provisions for supplemental

annuity. The letter was written on March

26, 1983. [R. 2-45-10].

=-26—

r] On April 15, 1983 Petitioner

telephoned Mr. Hunter again and was told

that the committee had not met [R.2-45-11].

s] In order to mitigate his damages, on

May 1, 1983 Petitioner entered the employ

of Federated Financial Corporation as

General Counsel, having performed some

consulting services for it during April,

after having informed it's President Mr.

Gary Jones "of my employment with FNMA,

and that if they called I would have to

go." However, by this time Petitioner had

concluded that Mr. Burfeind and FNMA had

"just been playing games with him" and did

not intend to transfer or reassign him.

[R. 2-45-11}.

t] On June 16, 1983 Petitioner wrote Mr.

David Maxwell, Chairman of the Board of

Directors, FNMA, and enclosed copy of

letter written previously to Mr. Hunter

[R. 2-45-11,12]. This letter was

acknowledged by Mr. Robert J. Mylod,

ite

President of FNMA, stating he was looking

into the matter [R. 2-45-12].

u] Neither Regional Vice President

Glen Austin, nor Vice President A. F.

Burfeind had authority to terminate the

employment of Petitioner,grade 84, and

an officer, without the approval of the

Board of Directors. [POM-311-10] - [R.

4-90 - ATTACHMENT S].

v] Petitioner never recognized either

Austin or Burfeind as having authority

to terminate his FNMA employment, absent

approval of the FNMA Board of Directors,

and he contacted both Mr. Hunter and Mr.

Maxwell [R. 2-45].

w] On July 26, 1983 Petitioner received

a telephone call from Caryl S. Bernstein,

stating that she was calling in response

to Petitioner's letter to Mr. Maxwell

(R. 2-45-12]. Ina lengthy conversation

between Petitioner, his attorney and Ms.

Bernstein and Mr. Burfeind, it was

atte

_

discussed that the proposal and offer of

early retirement "was not acceptable and

had never been acceptable as I had told

Mr. Burfeind". A discussion was had about

what Petitioner would consider to be fair

enough to encourage him to accept an early

FNMA retirement, and FNMA's policy of

supplementing Civil Service retirement pay

by 2% per year was discussed. Ms.

Bernstein said "if we agree to that and

send you a release, will you sign it?"

Ms. Bernstein stated that she was going

to be on vacation and at the American Bar

Association meeting but that she would

see what could be worked out and contact

Petitioner in a few days [R. 2-45-13].

x] Between July 22, 1982 and August 9,

1983 there had been approximately nine

(9) telephone conversations between

Petitioner and Mr. Burfeind concerning

employment status, transfer, eligibility

and retirement [R. 2-45].

«20

y] On August 10, 1983 Petitioner

received from Ms. Bernstein letter stamp

dated August 5, 1983 but postmarked

August 8, 1983 declining to grant any

relief (R. 2-45-13 - ATTACHMENT E].

z] Mr. Burfeind did not contact

Petitioners previous Supervisors as

requested, pertaining to his performance

concerning FNMA policy of transfer.

Therefore, Petitioner obtained letters of

recommendation from them for use of Mr.

Burfeind, and as needed [R. 2-45].

aa] On August 12, 1983 Personnel Action

terminating Petitioner from the position

of Assistant Regional Vice President-

Regional Counsel for reason "Discontinued

Service Retirement" not e€ligible for

rehire was promulgated [R. 2-45 -

ATTACHMENT F].

bb] Civil Service Retirememt Documents

were prepared by Defendant, dated for

most part on August 29, 1983 and

sith

indicating "Involuntary Discontinued

Service Retirement", showing date of

separation 8-5-83, were signed by

Petitioner providing "This application is

submitted subject to my charges of

Discriminatory Practices filed with the

EEOC". (R. 2-45 ATTACHMENTS H, I, J and kK].

cc] Separation Notice was furnished

State of Georgia by Defendant, dated

August 19, 1983, indicating period of

last employment "From 12-13-65 to 8-5-83".

[R. 4-45 - ATTACHMENT M].

dd] Petitioner was never provided with

any reason*or explanation for the action

being taken against him by FNMA (not even

a sagas to the EEOC complaint) and has

been deprived of "due process" by FNMA

[R. 2-45].

ee] Petitioner was not informed that

FNMA had a plan to involuntarily

(mandatorily) retire him, when he became

eligible for early reduced retirement

wit «

oO

PLATES SOLE LA ROE PERS LVM PEEP AS OF THREES

annuity, until August 12, 1983, when he

was advised that he had already been

involuntarily retired on August 5, 1983.

[R. 2-45- 13, 14].

ff] August 24, 1983 EEOC charges alleged:

1. Age discrimination in FNMA's

actions of July 22, 1982,

2. Refusal to provide "due process",

3. Age discrimination on August 5,

1983, in involuntary dismissal and

forced retirement, and

4. Forced involuntary retirement as a

Civil service employee on August 5, 1983.

Discovery included three depositions of

Petitioner: first in Mr. Calhoun's case,

the second of March 14, 1984 is

substantially in accord with affidavit in

response to Motion for Summary Judgment

[R. 2-45], althougi more detailed and the

third deposition from Petitioner was

secured on February 20, 1986 [R. 5]. The

third deposition developed, inter alia,

~~ o

Petitioner's employment with Federated

Financial had terminated by the position

being eliminated [R. 5-00-18], detailing

efforts made to find other employment

[R. 5-0-19/28], and that he had entered

private law practice four or five days

previously [R. 5-00-17]. On two occasions,

the first being the latter part of 1982,

he had visited the SE Regional office of

Defendant and saw his replacement, Miss

Judy Dedmon there [R. 5-00-33]. He did

receive Personnel Action notice of

involuntary retirement discontinued

service effective August 12, 1983 and has

been receiving reduced retirement

iidintien. He does not know what the

discontinued service provisions of the

Civil Service Retirement is, and it has

never been explained to him although

explanation requested [R. 5-00-12], and he

knows of no other person who has ever

been so terminated. [R. 5-00-37].

a oe

Mr. Glenn Austin, in deposition of May

7, 1984, recounting the events of July 22,

1982 [Deposition pp 88, 89] recalled he

stated inter alia "---What I was going to

tell him didn't relate to him as a person

Or as a professional, --- that we were

moving in a new direction --- Fannie Mae

--- certainly it was my desire for us to

move in a new direction within the

Southeastern Region of Fannie Mae, and

that it was my oreference to have someone

else in the position of Regional Counsel,

and that I would appreciate his

cooperation in that regard--". "It was a

very gentlemanly meeting." He agreed

Petitioner expressed surprise, and asked

"What have I done?", and also at least the

gist of another question "What have I

failed to do?" And at [Deposition p 135]

commenting on the Policy and Operating

Manual said "I would have to say that less

and less emphasis has been placed on that

—

Manual in recent years, and that it's

very much out of date. And there are .

many, many areas of our operations that

are not governed, put that in quotes, by

the POM, as it used to be called."

In deposition of December 15, 1983,

Executive Vice President, and FNMA

General Counsel Bernstein, commenting on

the Policy and Operating Manual [Deposition

pp 61,62] stated "It's three very -- at

least three very thick looseleaf volumes

that governed all sorts of things. When

the new management came in, we basically

took a less-structured approach perhaps

and didn't treat the POM's always as the

last word on everything."

STATEMENT OF STANDARDS OF REVIEW

IN THE LOWER COURT

Dismissals on the pleadings, or for

Failure to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted: Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, 28 USCA - 8:

"(a) (2) a short and plain statement of

the claim showing that the pleader is

entitled to relief",

"(e) (1) - No technical forms of

pleadings - are required",

"(f)- All pleadings shall be construed

as to do substantial justice".

All material facts alleged in the

complaint are considered true and

construed in favor of complaining party.

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46.

76 &. €t. 99, 102, 2 i. 8d. 24 80.1957).

"Pleadings should be liberally construed"

Beacon Theatres v. Westover, 79 S. Ct.

948.

A complaint is sufficient if it sets forth

facts which show that plaintiff is entitled

to any relief which the court can grant,

regardless of whether plaintiff has asked

=

for the proper relief. Keiser v. Walsh,

1941, 118 F2d 13, 73 App. D.C. 167.

Summary Judgment may be granted only if

there is no dispute as to any material

fact. All reasonable doubts about the

facts resolved in favor of the non-movant.

Fountain v. Filson, (1949, 69 S. Ct. 754,

336 U.S. 681, 93 L. Ed. 971, rehearing

denied.

"It is well-settled that the party moving

for summary judgment has the burden of

demonstrating that the Rule 56(c) test-

‘no genuine issue as to any material

fact-- is satisfied and that he is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

The movant is held to a stringent

Standard. Before summary judgment will

be granted it must be clear what the

truth is and any doubt as to the

existance of a genuine issue of material

fact will be resolved against the movant.

Because the burden is on the movant, the

evidence presented to the court always

is construed in favor of the party

opposing the motion and he is given the

benef © ‘f all favorable inferences that

can be wn from it. Finally, facts

assert’ . the party opposing the

motior. if supported by affidavits or

other evidentiary material, are

regarded as true." Coke v. General

Adjustment Bureau, Inc., (en banc),

640 F. 2d 584, 595 (5th Cir. 1981).

~ . oe

ARGUMENT

FIRST QUESTION - FNMA has used the

availability of the Civil Service early

retirement law providing for annuity with

20 years of service after 50 years of age

as a means and method of involuntarily,

mandatorily retiring Petitioner two days

after FNMA had created 20 years of service.

McCorstin v. United States Steel Corp.

621 F.2d 749 (Sth Cir. 1980) at p. 755:

"Permissive early retirement is a

laudable attempt to provide security

for those who are unable or disinclined

to continue to work to the mandatory

or normal time for retirement. These

programs, however, cannot be a basis

or factor for a discharge decision.

see Hannan v. Chrysler Motors Corp.,

443 F.Supp. 802 (E.D. Mich. 1978)."

Also: Maxfield v. Sinclair Intern.

766 F.2d 788 (3rd Cir. 1985). Mason v.

Lister 562 F.2d 343 (5th Cir 1977)

upholds the legality of the Federal early

retirement scheme and at p. 346:

"Here the retirement scheme established

under 5 U.S.C.A. § 8332(d)(2) could not

be a subterfuge because it is strictly

optional with the employees. It does

=

not give the government the power to

forcibly retire older workers, and

does not conflict with the Congressional

goal of promoting ‘employment of the

Older persons based on their ability

rather than age'. 29 U.S.C.A. §621."

Retirement under-5 U.S.C.A. 8 8336(d)(2)

is strictly optional with the employee

and its use by FNMA to forcibly retire

Petitioner conflicts with the purpose

and intent of the law. FNMA has not

attempted to show that Petitioners forced

early mandatory retirement was for some

economic or business purpose other than

age discrimination.

E.E.O0.C. v. Baltimore and Ohio R. Co.

632 F.2d 1107 (4th Cir. 1980)- holds:

“Where there was no authority in

pensions plans to involuntarily retire

employees prior to age 65, the plans

did not provide a defense to prima

facie violation of the Age Discrimination

in Employment Act in involuntary

retirement of employees aged 60 to 65,

even though such employees then

qualified for pension benefits." and

"If such discharged employees were

entitled to a pension, the right was

earned by service to the railroad

companies and was vested despite

discharge, not because of it."

=

FNMA contends that Petitioner was told

in August 1982, that he was to be retired

in August 1983, therefore his EEOC claim

filed on August 24, 1983 was untimely.

Schellfeffer v. United States, 343 F.2d

936 (1965) at p. 937 holds:

""Retirement' comes when individual is

ready for immediate annuity, not before,

within provisions of Federal Employees

Retirement Laws. Act June 25, 1958, §

l(a), 72 Stat. 216."

It was not the offer, proposals and

discussions, from July 1982 to July 1983,

of the early civil service retirement plan

that was the unlawful act. The unlawful

act occured when FNMA involuntarily

retired Petitioner against his will in

August 1983, when he became eligible for

immediate annuity. ~

FNMA is in prima facie violation of the

ADEA, in forcing Petitioners early

mandatory retirement at age 57 with 20

years service under 5 U.S.C.A. 8 8336(d)

(2). Petitioners EEOC complaint was timely.

-40-

SECOND QUESTION - Although FNMA stock

is privatley owned, FNMA was created by

Congress to “relieve budgetary constraints”

with a “public purpose” and is engaged in

extensive “Federal Action” in its employ-

ment relations with Petitioner.

There are at least three types of FNMA

employees, viz:

1] Government Civil Service employees

who transferred from GNMA pursuant to

written contract in November 1968.

2] Government Civil Service employees who

transferred pursuant to the Charter Act

after 1968 but before January 31, 1972.

3] Private employees employed by FNMA

after December 1, 1968.

Petitioner is in the first type.

Petitioner has urged the holdings of

Northrip v. Federal National Mortgage

Association, 527 F.2d 23, 31 (6 Cir. 1974)

as being instructive and applicable:

“Before the reorganization of FNMA

i

its employees were government personnel

within the Department of Housing and

Urban Devolopment, and therefore were

covered by civil service requirements

and retirement laws. To protect

employee benefits that had accumulated,

the statute provided for continuation

of their participation in the system as

long as they remained employees of FNMA.

However, all employees hired after 1968

became employees of the corporation and

are not subject to the civil service

laws." 12 U.S.C. § 1723a(d)(1).*

12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(2) provides:

“Appointments, promotions and separations

so made shall be based on merit and

efficiency,-- Each officer and employee

of the corporation who is employed --

have been subject to the civil service

retirement law -- shall -- continue to

be subject to such law; and for the

purpose of such law his employment

by the corporation without a break in

continuity of service shall be deemed

to be employment of the Government of

the United States."

In its Judgment of August 3, 1987, the

Court, in referring to Northrip, at p.

(A-30) states:

"The Sixth Circuit mistakenly referred

to 12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(1) as applying

to FNMA, rather than GNMA; therefore,

Northrip is not controlling in this

case.”

It is pointed cut that where this code

~~

section is used in Northrip at page 3l, it

refers to footnote "6".

"6. For a more detailed analysis of

FNMA, its predecessor and its

counterpart, GNMA, see --,."

We respectfully submit that Northrip

did not confuse "Federal Action" of GNMA

employees with the "Federal Action" of

FNMA employees. All GNMA employees are

government (within the Department of HUD)

whereas Northrip recognized the government

Status of some FNMA employees. (emphasis

Supplied). Northrip at p. 31:

"There is some, and perhaps even

Significant, government involvement in,

the regulation of the working of FNMA,

-- the government status of some of its

employees -- amounts to at least some

state involvement in the operations of

FNMA's business." also

"When private corporations are endowed

by the state with functions or powers

of a governmental nature, they become

instrumentalities of the state and are

subject to its constitutional

limitations."

Palmer v. Columbia Gas of Ohio, 479 F.2d

153, modified by Turner v. Impala Motors,

503 F.2d 607 (6 Cir. 1974) and Evans v.

niin

Newton 382 U.S. 296, 299, 86 S.Ct. 486,

iS be. Bés Bie (3966).

Northrip also provides a detailed

discussion on "Federal Action" and "close

nexus between the State and the challenged

actions of the regulated entity so that

the action of the latter may be fairly

treated as that of the State itself."

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419

U.S. 345 at 351, 95 S.Ct. at 453, 42 L.

Ed2 477 (1974).

That FNMA is a federal instrumentality:

Federal National Mortgage Association v.

Lefkowitz, 390 F.Supp 1364 (S.D.N.Y. 1975).

Isaac & Assoc. v. Federal National Mortgage

Association, 647 S.W. 2d 495 (Ky. App 1982)

finding that federal action was involved

when FNMA terminated service contract with

mortgage banker thereby requiring due

process hearing. at p. 496:

"that FNMA was a federal instrumentality

and that its actions in terminating the

contract herein was ‘federal action.'

-~44-

This means that FNMA was required to i

give due process hearing to the

appellant under the federal and state

constitutions."

FNMA and its employees are extensively

envolved in "Federal Action" in carrying

on the operations of GNMA, doing federal

work on contract under the Federal Contract

Compliance law [Title 24 Code Federal

Regulations ch III Subchapter A part 300]

and are entitled to the safe-guards about

Equal Employment Opportunity (separate and

apart from the ADEA). FNMA is involved

in "Federal Action" in its administration

of the federal civil service program, its

retirement laws and in the Early Retirement

Plan applicable to its government employees

who transferred by contract in 1968, so as

to require FNMA to provide "due process"

pursuant to FNMA established procedures to

Petitioner.

THIRD QUESTION - In applying the four-

factor test announced in Cort v. Ash, 422

U.S. 66, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed.2d 26

(1975), and holding that Petitioner had

no private right of action thereby dismiss-

ing the third cause of action, the Courts

have overlooked the critical facts, that:

Petitioner, having entered the employ of

FNMA in 1965 - prior to the adoption by

Congress of the Charter Act - was a

government employee and not merely an

employee of a private Corporation, and

further that the transfer in 1968 was by

contract incorporating the provisions of

the Memoranda dated November 13, 1968 of

Secretary of HUD Weaver and FNMA President

Lapin. The contract rights are basic.

Petitioner contends that the lower

Courts have misapprehended the law and

misapplied the FNMA defense of "No Private

Cause of Action Granted in the FNMA Charter

Act", as to its application to the facts

-46-

of this case. Petitioner contends that

Cort, as modified, is not applicable.

Congress directed Secretary Weaver, under

the circumstances of the Act, to implement

the transfer of functions and staff, and

the employment conditions by which FNMA

could be immediately staffed by hundreds

of -experienced government mortgage

employees from GNMA. To encourage GNMA

employees to accept transfer to FNMA, the

Memoranda outlined the contractual provis-

ions, assuring government security and

greater opportunity. The memoranda were

attached to Petitioner's affidavit of

September 20, 1984. Petitioner was

required to, and did accept these contract-

ual provisions in writing. Secretary

Weavers implementation of the procedures

for the transfer of functions and staff,

pursuant to the Act, are circumstances of

its enactment and form a part of the

legislative intent and history which show

a

Congressional intent to protect those

rights of "the class" by cause of action.

Secretary Weaver assured:

"The effect of the transfer on employees

was a paramount consideration in the

decisions reached on the agreement for

transfer of functions and staff."

TransAmerica Mortgage Advisors v. Lewis,

444 U.S. 11, 100 S.Ct. 242, 62 L.Ed.2d

146 (1979), discussing Cannon v. University

of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677, 99 S.Ct. 1946, 60

L.Ed.2d 560 (1979) and Cort. holds:

"This Court has held that the failure

of Congress expressly to consider a

private remedy is not inevitably

inconsistent with an intent on its part

to made such a remedy available.

Cannon, supra, at 694. Such an intent

may appear implicitely in the language

Or structure of the statute, or in the

circumstances of its enactment."

The contract of employment incorporated

terms and assurances of the memoranda

including:

1] Safe-guards of Equal Employment under

Federal Contract Compliance law prohibit-

ing age discrimination, providing for

-48-

employment based on merit alone, ordered

by President Johnson on February 12, 1964

in Executive Order No. 11141.

2] The provisions of the Civil Service

retirement laws (subch. III of Ch. 83 of

Title 5) so long as employment continues

without a break in continuity of service.

3] The FNMA Charter Act providing employ-

ment based on “merit and efficiency" and

4] The other agreements and assurances,

that: employment conditions should not be

adversely affected by the transfer, provis-

ions designed to assure maximum protection

to employees, continued present civil

service retirement advantages, benefits

equal to if not better than existing ones,

promotions from within and separations only

“for cause".

Presidential Executive Order and regulat-

ions issued pursuant thereto carry force

and effect of law. Vitarelli v. Seaton 359

U.S. 535, 79 S.Ct. 968, 3 L.Ed.2d 1012(1959).

-49-

The FNMA POM providing "Separation for

Cause Authority" requiring approval of the

FNMA Board of Directors to separate

Petitioner was not followed.

FNMA Memorandum "Employment Relations"

established procedures for "due process"

and "terminations" required procedures and

standards with documentation signed by

both parties, progressive discipline,

verbal warnings, counselling, suggested

form for resignation to be signed and

Witnessed. This procedure was not followed.

Petitioner has a "legitimate claim of

entitlement to continued employment" until

removed in accordance with established

procedure and right of action under the

contract incorporating the Charter Act,

Civil Service Regulations, and the POM.

Rights of "due process" and "legitimate

Claim of entitlement to continued employ-

ment" until removed in accordance with

~.

established procedures, is stated in Doe v.

Casey, 601. F. Supp 581, (D.C. Dist C.1985):

"When a government agency promulgates

and establishes regulations conferring

procedural due process rights on its

employees, it must adhere to its

promulgated rules to avoid any injustice

even though they may not be statutory

or constitutional requirements. (Cits.)"

Paige v. Harris, 584 F.2d 178 (7 Cir.

1978), and Ashton v. Civilette, 613 F. 2d

923 (App. D.C. Col. 1985) support the

holdings of Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S.

593, 92 S.Ct. 2694 (1972), Services v.

Dulies, 354 U.S. 363, 77 S.Ct. 1152 (1957)

and Vitarelli, supra, at p. 976:

"An executive agency must be rigorously

held to the standards by which it

professes its actions to be judged."

Paige, supra, at p. 181:

"In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S

564, 92 S.Ct. 2701, 33 L.Ed.2d 548)1972),

the Supreme Court concluded that no

entitlement (and therefore no property

interest) existed for a non-tenured

college professor. However, such an

entitlement to continued employment may

be created by statute or contract. See

Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 96 S.Ct.

2074, 48 L.Ed.2d 684 (1976). In the

ute

companion case to Roth, Perry v.

Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 92 S.Ct. 2694,

33 L.Ed.2d 970 (1972), the Supreme Court

held that a cause of action was

presented by a college professor's

contention that he had been denied due

process by a decision not to renew his

contract. Sindermann had been employed

by the college for four years and the

Court concluded that he might be able

to show

"the existance of rules and under-

standings, promulgated and fostered

by the state officials, that may

justify his legitimate claim of

entitlement to continued employment

absent ‘sufficient cause'." Id. at

602, Sz &.Ct. at 2700."

"However, as indicated in Perry, a

property interest may be conferred by

the terms of employment."

"as such, ‘property interest can result

from implied agreements or statutory

or administrative procedures governing

nonrenewal'."

"The principle that under the Due

Process Clause an individual must be

given an opportunity for a hearing

before he is deprived of any significant

property interest, requires 'some kind

of hearing' prior to the discharge of an

employee who has a constitutionally

protected property interest in his

employment." Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v.

Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 105 S.Ct.

1487, 84 L. Ed2d 494 (1985).

Petitioner was deprived of "Due Process"

in violation of the U. S. Constitution.

mn ae

TT

FOURTH QUESTION - Without conceding that

Petitioner ever had any rights as a

government employee, FNMA contends that

Petitioner lost any rights which he may

have had in the FNMA transition. The

period of transition allowing the stock to

become privately owned did not divest the

government civil service employees who

transferred of any rights. As long as

their service continued without a break in

service, they shall be deemed to be

employees of the Government of the United

States and subject to such law.

The actions of the new FNMA management

amount to a substantial, adverse reduction

and deprivation of the employment rights

which those government employees possessed

prior to their acceptance of transfer

pursuant to the memoranda contract of

employment incorporating the Charter Act.

FNMA's actions are in violation of the

circumstances of the FNMA Charter Act, the

3s

representations, assurances and covenants

of the contract as well as the FNMA POM:

"merit and efficiency -- This law will

be carried out. It will work, success-

fully, to your benefit -.", "employment

conditions should not and need not be

adversely affected by the transfer".

"FNMA will offer you a wider range of

Opportunities, greater benefits",

"FNMA employment benefits equal to, if

not better than existing ones",

"The policy of giving preferential

treatment to existing employees is

based on management's appreciation of

loyalty and its desire to assure

reasonable job security". |

The government civil service employees

were "grandfathered" into FNMA, pursuant

to the contract and the Charter Act.

FNMA's roots and inheritance are deeply

embedded in it's Government "public

purpose". The new FNMA cannot deny and

a

disavow this heritage, responsibility and

obligations in its pursuit to become a

"totally private corporation", without

accountability for its actions. Its

“preferences” must yield to the “lawful

rights" of others. FNMA cannot “pick and

choose" which laws, regulations and

contracts it will honor, because they are

either “very much out of date", or

because the new management "didn't treat

the POM's always as the last word on

everything" as “It's three very -- at

least three very thick looseleaf volumes

that governed all sorts of things".

FIFTH QUESTION - In its Order of May 6,

1986, the Court stated that in its view,

July 22, 1982 was the date on which

Petitioner's cause of action accrued as to

removal as Regional Counsel, as it was the

last date on which Petitioner performed

any duties for FNMA. That the August 4,

1982 Memo to Files (not letter to Kasper)

was the date Petitioner received "notice"

of his termination on August 5, 1983 and

the Court mentioned Petitioners attendance

at a seminar on age descrimination, and

that as he was an attorney he had failed

to act in what the Court deemed due

diligence.

Petitioner respectfully submits that

Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S.

250, 66 L.Ed.2d 31, 101 S.Ct. 498 (1980)

is distinguishable. [p. 257]:

"If Ricks intended to complain of a

discriminatory discharge, he should

have identified the alleged discrimin-

atory acts that continued, or occured

at the time of the actual termination

-56-

of his employment. But the complaint

alleges no such facts."

Petitioner's complaint does so allege.

Additionally, Ricks discloses:

1] The Board of Trustees of Delaware

State College formally voted.

2] The trustees had plenary authority.

3] The Board clearly made and established

its official position.

4] Ricks was formally notified of the

Board's Official action.

5] Such Official Board position was made

apparent and clear to Ricks, i.e. he was

abundantly and unambigiously forewarned.

6] The Board carefully established

procedures to insure fairness.

7] The policies and procedures so

established were followed and adhered to.

8] The only alleged discriminatory act

was denial of tenure.

9] Equitable tolling was not applicable

or in anyway involved.

wit«

In distinguishing Ricks from this case:

1] Petitioner had government status.

2] Petitioner had contract of employment.

3] Early Civil Service Retirement is

strictly optional with employee and FNMA

is not given power to forcibily retire him.

4} The Memo to Files (for controller)

provident "Continuing Employment Arrange-

ments..", was not a future, authoritative,

final, unambigious notice to Petitioner

that he was to be forcibily retired.

5] Authority to terminate Petitioner's

employment was vested in the FNMA Board

of Directors. Neither Austin nor Burfeind

had authority to terminate Petitioner as

a FNMA employee.

6] Petitioner was never notified of any

action by the FNMA Board of Directors,

although he was in contact with the Board.

7] FNMA did not follow its employment

policies, viz:

i] "due process"

-58-

—————————— EOE

ii] "Employment of merit & efficiency"

iii] "Promotions from within"

iv] "Equal Employment Opportunity"

v]) "Transfer of location".

Although Rubin v. O'Koren, 644 F.2d 1023

(5 Cir 1981) involves a 42 U.S.C.A. 1983

action, it involves "due process" violation

and in commenting on-Ricks, Mr. Judge Hill

said [p. 1026]:

"In the case before us plaintiff's

complaint, fairly read, alleges inter

alia, that the defendants unlawfully

failed to provide her with a hearing or

notice of the charges that resuited in

her dismissal. These alleged viclations

clearly continued until February 1977,

when her dismissal was upheld by the

university grievance committee."

Ricks involved an academic setting where

only denial of tenure was involved, not

termination of employment, and has no

application to Petitioner's case.

-59—

SIXTH QUESTION- Summary Judgment should

not be granted where there is a material

issue of fact. Petitioners two affidavits,

with supporting attachments, create issue

of material fact. FNMA has effectively

preempted Petitioner from a jury trial on

the evidence by its argument contrary to

these affidavits, viz: FNMA argues that

Petitioners employment was terminated on

July 22, 1982 by Austin, alternatively by

Burfeind's Memo to Files as "notice" on

August 4, 1982, that only one violation

was alleged in the EEOC charge which was

time barred and Petitioners gentlemanly

conduct and his efforts to mitigate his

damages amounted to his agreement or

acquiescence in FNMA's treatment of him.

Then FNMA implies that Austin acquired

authority to terminate Petitioner because

of deleterious! conduct: "as Kasper was not

1. Webster's Dictionary- deleterious:

hurtful, destructive, noxious, pernicious.

-60-

an officer of FNMA, approval from the Board

of Directors was not necessary to effectuate

his termination. Even if he had been an

officer, the manual authorized immediate

termination by the Regional Vice-President

where the employee's conduct is ‘deleterious

to the continued functioning of the unit'."

This argument is not only contra to the

evidence but prejudicial. However, obviously

the argument "bore fruit".

Although Parker v. Federal National

Mortgage Association, 741 F.2d 975 (7 Cir

1984) affirms FNMA on Summary Judgment (as

to age not being a determining factor):

"Summary judgment is an effective mech-

anism for preempting trial where there

is no disputed issue of material fact."

"Once the plaintiff presents the court

with some evidence (that his employer

harbored the prohibited motive) summary

judgment for the defendant is inapprop-

riate because there is a disputed fact

material to the case."

Petitioner did what Parker did not do,

He presented two lengthy affidavits with

o§ 1] —

many supporting ATTACHMENTS, which FNMA

had not attempted to refute, but does

argue against. When the project mortgage

portfolio was transferred from Chicago to

Atlanta, although Parker's performance was |

less than others nbeetuat, he was offered |

a transfer to Atlanta in January 1982, as

was FNMA's policy, although FNMA refused

to assign Petitioner.

The Court originally held that Petitioner

was misled by FNMA as to the facts of his

employment status (not misrepresentations

of law) yet, later reversed holding that

Petitioner, being an Attorney and attending

a required continuing legal education

seminar, on age discrimination in March

1983, should know the law and became time

barred.

On equitable tolling and misrepresentat-

ion see: Ott v. Midland-Ross Corp., 600

F.2d 24 (6 Cir. 1979), and Meyer v. Riegel

Products Corp, 720 F. 2d 303 (3 Cir 1983).

-62-

"We are directed to no case in which a

court has used a tape measure to

determine the magnitude of a potential

misrepresentation and has then held that

a big one tolls but a little one does

mot. (Cit.).*

"Here to, plaintiff did precisely what

the Hart Court suggested: he asked

defendants for an explanation of his

dismissal."

Also: Goldstein v. Manhattan Industries,

Inc., 758 F. 2d 1435 (11 Cir. 1985).

FNMA contends that Petitioner has agreed

to FNMA's treatment and is waived and

estopped to complain. See Brooklyn Savings

Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697, 89 L. Ed.

1297, (1944).

"Where a statutory right is conferred on

an individual in the public interest to

effectuate a legislative policy, it may

not be waived or released by him."

And: Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.

415 U.S. 36, 39 L Ed. 2d 147, 94 S.Ct.

1011, (1974).

"There can be no prospective waiver of

an employee's rights under Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 USCS

§§ 2000e et seq.), which requires equal

employment opportunities."

af %<

CONCLUSION

Earnestly believing that the judgment

of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

is erroneous for each and all of the

reasons hereinbefore stated, Petitioner

requests reversal.

ully submitted,

KASPER, JR.

2852 Guirmevere Drive,

Atlanta, Georgia 30345

(404) 325-7332

Pro Se

N.

a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

WALTER W. CALHOUN,

Plaintiff,

vs.

GEORGE H. KASPER, JR., CIVIL ACTION

Intervenor, No. C 83-1437 A

vs.

FEDERAL NATIONAL MORTGAGE

ASSOCIATION,

Defendant.

ORDER

In this action there is pending before

the court and ripe for decision the

defendant's motion for summary judgment

and for judgment on the pleadings as to

the intervenor's claims and the defendant's

motion for separate trials. The defendant

has also moved for summary judgment with

regard to the plaintiff's complaint and

amended-complaint, but that motion is not

ripe for decision at this time.

In his complaint George H. Kasper, Jr.,

the intervenor, asserts three claims: the

first is under the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621, et seq.,

the second is under Georgia's Age

Discrimination Statute, 0.C.G.A. § 34-1-2,

and the third is brought under the Federal

National Mortgage Association Charter Act,

12 U.S.C. § 1723, et sec.

I. KASPER'S ADEA CLAIMS

It is undisputed that on July 22, 1982,

Kasper, who at that time was Regional

Counsel for FNMA, was informed by the

regional vice president of FNMA that his

"Services were no longer required."

Kasper did not file a complaint with the

EEOC, a prerequisite to obtaining judicial

relief under the ADEA, until August 24,

1983.

The ADEA provides that no civil action ~

may be commenced by an individual until

60 days after a charge alleging unlawful

A-2

Giscrimination has been filed with the

EEOC; the statute further provides that a

charge must be filed with the EEOC within

180 days after the alleged unlawful

practice occured. 29 U.S.C. § 626(d).

Although the plaintiff continued to work

for FNMA for a few days following the date

he was informed of his termination and

although he was continued on the payroll

for several months thereafter (as a result

of various negotions conducted between

Kasper and FNMA), the 180 day filing

period is triggered when an employee is

notified of his termination and not by his

last day of employment. Delaware State

College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 101 S. Ct.

498 (1980).

Kasper initially urges this court to

allow him to rely upon the timely filing

of a complaint with the EEOC by the

plaintiff, Walter W. Calhoun, citing

Shuster v. Federated Department Stores,

A-3

Inc., 508 F. Supp 118 (N. D. Ga. 1980).

Shuster is inapposite. In Shuster the

employees alleged that they were discharged

from their employment on the same date and

that they were so notified by the same

employee of the defendant. The court

noted that when the EEOC representative

initially contacted the defendant's

Director of Personnel and Employe*

Relations, his efforts to attempt

reconciliation concerned both of the

terminated employees. The court further

noted that the inclusion of the employee

who had not filed a timely charge in such

conciliation efforts "in no way delayed or

hampered the conciliation efforts ... by

the EEOC, and the defendant was in no way

prejudiced by Mr. Leff's failure to file

a timely charge." 508 F. Supp. at 121.

In the instant case, however, the alleged

acts of discrimination occured at different

times and were not so closely related as

\-4

was the case in Shuster. Kasper has not

alleged that any conciliation efforts by

the EEOC on behalf of Calhoun also

included him. For the foregoing reasons,

this court concludes that Kasper may not

rely on Calhoun's filing of a timely

charge with the EEOC in order to excuse

his non-compliance with that filing

requirement.

The 180 day filing requirement, however,

is not jurisdictional and is subject to

equitable tolling. Coke v. General

Adjustment Bureau, Inc., 640 F2d 584 (5th

Cir. 1981) (en banc). In his affidavit

Kasper states that he was informed by Mr.

Al Burfeind, a vice president of the

defendant, that he was simply relieved of

his duties as regional counsel of the

defendant but that he would remain an

employee and would simply be unassigned

until the defendant could find an

appropriate position for him. Kasper also

A-5

Outlines numerous discussions that he had

regarding his continuing on the defendant's

payroll and whether he might be assigned

another position. The defendant contends

that Kasper's “vague request" to Mr.

Burfeind and others that they help him

secure a transfer or reassignment does not

excuse his failure to file a timely charge

with the EEOC. However, this court finds

that Kasper's affidavit is sufficient to

show a genuine issue of material fact as

to whether the defendant misled him

regarding his employment status with FNMA,

thus tolling the filing requirement of the

ADEA. For these reasons, the defendant's

motion for summary judgment on Kasper's

ADEA claim is DENIED.

II. GEORGIA'S AGE DISCRIMINATION STATUTE

By order dated November 22, 1983, this

court held that there was no inplied

private right of action under 0O.C.G.A. §8

34-1-2, and this court finds no reason to

A-5

retreat from that holding. Consequently,

the defendant's motion for judgment on the

pleadings dismissing Mr. Kasper's cause of

action under 0.C.G.A. § 34-1-2 is GRANTED.

III. FNMA CHARTER ACT

For his third cause of action Kasper

relies upon the language in 12 U.S.C. 8

1723a(d)(2), which provides, "Appointments,

promotions, and separations so made shall

be based on merit and efficiency, and no

political test or qualifications shall be

permitted or given consideration." The

essence of Mr. Kasper's third count is

that an employee may enforce the "merit

and efficiency" provision by a private

action.

Local Division 732, Amalgamated Transit

Union v. Metropolital Atlanta Rapid

Transit Authority, 667 F2d 1327 (11th Cir.

1982), presents an excellent discussion of

the change of attitude by the Supreme Court

in implying private rights of action. The

A-7

Eleventh Circuit noted that the Supreme

Court has drastically modified application

of the four-factor test announced in Cort

v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 95 S. Ct. 2080 (1975),

by announcing that the task of a federal

court in implied cause of action was

solely to determine whether Congress

intended to create the private right of

action being asserted. TransAmerica

Mortgage Advisors, Inc. V. Lewis, 444 U.S.

11, 100 S. Ct. 242 (1979); Touche Ross &

Co. v. Reddington, 442 U.S. 560, 99 S. Ct.

2479 (1979). After this analysis the

Eleventh Circuit stated:

This court has taken to heart the

restricted mandate of the Supreme Court.

We have articulated principles of

decision for implied right of action

cases which appropriately guide our

consideration of the jurisdictional

question before us. If we are to

conclude that Congress meant more than

it said when it enacted a statute, we

must do so on the basis that Congress

actually intended to legislate as we

infer. See, e.g., United States v.

Capeletti Bros., Inc., 621 F.2d 1309,

1312 (5th Cir. 1980); Rogers v. Frito-

Lay, Inc., 611 F.2d 1074, 1078 (5th

A-8

Cir. 1980). The issue is not whether,

On balance, advocates of judicial

remedies have a better case than

Opponents, but whether we can find a

legislative intent to recognize a

federal judicial remedy. Noe [v.

Metropolitan Atianta Rapid Transit

Authority], 644 F.2d at 439. In order

for us to infer a private right of

action, or federal jurisdiction, we

must have before us clear evidence

that Congress intended to provide such

a remedy, River v. Rosenthal & Co.,

634 F.2d 774. 783 (5th Cir. 1980), and

if the legislative history provides no

clear indication one way or the other,

so that clear evidence of affirmative

congressional intent is lacking, we

cannot infer that Congress has

legislated silently.

667 F.2d at 1335 (footnotes omitted)

(emphasis in original).

This court finds nothing either in the

language of the statute in question or in

its legislative history which would show

that Congress intended there to be a

private right of action under the FNMA

Charter Act. Since 12 U.S.C. § 23a(d)(2)

does not provide a private right of

action, Mr. Kasper's third cause of

action must be DISMISSED.

IV. THE DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR SEPARATE

TRIALS

The court has carefully considered the

defendant's motion for separate trials as

to Kasper and Calhoun. This court

believes that it and the jury can

adequately and properly distinguish

between the different claims being

asserted and that judicial economy would

best be served by allowing the claims to

to be tried in one action. Consequently,

the defendant's motion for separate trials

is DENIED.

V. SUMMARY

The defendant's motion for summary

judgment as to the plaintiff's first cause

of action (ADEA) is DENIED: the defendant's

motion for judgment on the pleadings with

respect to the plaintiff's second cause of

action (under 0.C.G.A. § 34-1-2) and his

third cause of action (under 12 U.S.C. 8

1723a(d)(2)) is GRANTED. The defendant's

motion for separate trials is DENIED.

SO ORDERED, this 18th day of December,

1984.

/s/ Robert L. Vining, Jr.

ROBERT L. VINING, JR.

United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

z ATLANTA DIVISION

WALTER W. CALHOUN “)DOCKET NO. C83-1437

GEORGE H. KASPER, JR.)

)

PLAINTIFF, )ATLANTA, GEORGIA

)

-VS- )MAY 6, 1986

}

}

FEDERAL NATIONAL )

MORTGAGE ASSOC. )

)

DEFENDANT. )

—_— ——

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE ROBERT L. VINING, JR.,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE.

APPEARANCES OF COUNSEL:

FOR THE PLAINTIFF: H. A. STEPHENS, JR.

FOR THE DEFENDANT: JEFFERSON D. KIRBY,III

KIMBERLY C. BRAMLETT

OFFICIAL COURT REPORTER

ROOM 2167, 75 SPRING STREET, S.W.

ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30303

A-12

(OMMITTING ARGEMENT OF COUNSEL AND

BEGINNING ON PAGE 11)

THE COURT: WELL, I HELD IN THE PRIOR

ORDER THAT THE CAUSE OF ACTION ACCRUED ON

JULY 22, 1982, THEREBY MEANING THAT THE

180-DAY FILING REQUIREMENT TIME BEGAN THAT

DAY. AND I CERTAINLY AM NOT OF A MIND TO

CHANGE THAT ORDER. THAT BEING TRUE, THE

CAUSE OF ACTION HAVING ACCRUED ON THAT

DAY, THE FIRST QUESTION THAT HAS TO BE

CONSIDERED IS WHETHER OR NOT THERE IS A

TOLLING OF THE TIME PERIOD. THIS

OPERATIVE STATUTE 29 UNITED STATES CODE,

SECTION 626 SETS OUT THE ADMINISTRATIVE

TIME TABLE FOR ADEA CLAIMS.

THE FACT THERE MAY HAVE BEEN CONVERSAT-

ION DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE 180-DAY FILING

REQUIREMENT DOES NOT BEGIN TO RUN. IT

BEGINS TO RUN BUT THEN THE QUESTION

BECOMES IS IT SUBJECT TO TOLLING. AND THEN,

OF COURSE, THERE HAS TO BE A PERIOD OF

TIME WHEN THE 180 DAYS STARTS TO RUN AGAIN

A-13

WHEN THE QUESTION OF TOLLING IS NOT

INVOLVED.

UNDER? THE FACTS THAT HAVE BEEN PRESENTED

IN THIS MOTION, AND TAKING INTO ACCOUNT MR.

KASPER'S LATEST DEPOSITION, I AM GOING TO

FIND HE IS TIME BARRED FROM PURSUING A

CLAIM INVOLVING HIS REMOVAL AS REGIONAL

COUNSEL OF THE FNMA, FANNIE MAE, ON THIS

BASIS HE WAS NOTIFIED ON JULY 22, 1982

THAT HIS SERVICES WERE NO LONGER REQUIRED

AND HE WAS BEING REMOVED AS REGIONAL

COUNSEL. FURTHER, THAT THIS WAS THE LAST

DAY ON WHICH HE PERFORMED ANY DUTIES FOR

THE FEDERAL NATIONAL MORTGAGE ASSOCIATION

OR ADMINISTRATION. THAT THE QUESTION OF

TOLLING DOES NOT APPLY TO THE REMOVAL AS

REGIONAL COUNSEL BECAUSE THERE IS NO

EVIDENCE AT ALL OF ANY CONVERSATION ABOUT

RETURNING TO A POSITION OF REGIONAL

COUNSEL. THEREFORE HIS CLAIM WAS NOT

FILED WITHIN 180 DAYS AFTER HE BECAME

AWARE OR AFTER THE ACT WHICH IS ALLEGED TO

A-14

HAVE BEEN AN UNLAWFUL EMPLOYMENT PRECTICE

OCCURRED.

AS TO THE CAUSE OF ACTION FOR INVOLUNTARY

TERMINATION OR RETIREMENT, PRESENTS A

LITTLE DIFFERENT PROBLEM. HOWEVER, THE

OPERATIVE DATE THERE AGAIN IS JULY 22,

1982. THAT IS WHEN HE WAS TOLD HIS

SERVICES WERE NO LONGER REQUIRED OR EVEN

GIVING HIM THE BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT, THE

LATEST OPERATIVE DAY WOULD BE AUGUST 4,

1982 WHEN HE RECEIVED A LETTER WHICH SAID

HE WOULD BE RETIRED AUGUST 5, 1983 AND I

THINK IT IS SIGNIFICANT DURING THE YEAR

FROM AUGUST TO AUGUST, AUGUST OF '82 TO

AUGUST OF 1983, THAT POSITION NEVER

CHANGED AND THAT DATE NEVER CHANGED. IT

WAS HIS RETIREMENT DATE.

NOW, THE FACT THAT HE MAY HAVE CONTINUED

TO WORK OR BE ON THE PAYROLL DURING THIS

PERIOD OF TIME DOES NOT ALTER THE FACT

THAT HE WAS TO BE RETIRED, AND THAT WAS

ONE OF THE POINTS IN THE DELAWARE STATE

A-15

COLLEGE VS. RICKS AND THAT IS MERE CONTIN-

UITY OF EMPLOYMENT, WITHOUT MORE, IS

INSUFFICIENT TO PROLONG THE LIFE OF A

CAUSE OF ACTION FOR EMPLOYMENT DISCRIMINAT-

ION. THERE, OF COURSE, RICKS, WORKED FOR

A YEAR, IF I RECALL THE FACTS OF THE

DELAWARE STATE COLLEGE CASE. RICKS WAS

NOTIFIED HE WOULD NOT BE GRANTED TENURE

AND HE WOULD HAVE TO LEAVE THE EMPLOYMENT

OF THE UNIVERSITY, BUT THE UNIVERSITY HAD

A POLICY OF ALLOWING THE TEACHERS WHO WERE

NOT TENURED TO CONTINUE FOR ONE YEAR AFTER

NOTICE THAT THEY WOULD NOT RECEIVE TENURE.

AND ALSO DURING THAT PERIOD OF TIME WHICH

EVEN MAKE RICKS A STRONGER CASE FOR

TOLLING THAN THIS ONE, HE HAD GRIEVANCES

PENDING BEFORE VARIOUS COMMITTEES OF THE

UNIVERSITY THAT WERE DISPOSED OF DURING

THAT YEAR.

HERE THERE ARE TWO IMPORTANT FACTORS

WHICH LEAD ME TO BELIEVE THAT MR. KASPER

IS TIME BARRED ON HIS INVOLUNTARY

A-16

RETIREMENT CLAIM. ONE IS, HE ATTENDED

THIS CONFERENCE ON AGE DISCRIMINATION IN

MARCH OF 1983 THEREBY KNOWING THAT HE

WOULD HAVE A RIGHT.

SECONDLY AND MORE IMPORTANT MR. KASPER

IS AN ATTORNEY AND I THINK IS PRESUMED TO

KNOW THE LAW, BEING A PRACTICING ATTORNEY,

AND I DO NOT RECALL THE CASE BUT SEEMS

LIKE THE FIFTH CIRCUIT CASE HELD EVEN A

LAY PERSON THERE WAS PRESUMED TO KNOW THE

LAW ABOUT FILING AND so FORTH.

AND EVEN THOUGH THE RIGHT BECAME APPARENT

IN MARCH OF 1983, NOTHING WAS DONE UNTIL

AUGUST 24, 1983 WHEN THE E.E.0.C. CLAIM

WAS FILED BY MR. KASPER. THE CLAIM WITH

E.E.0.C. THEREFORE WAS FILED SOME THIRTEEN

MONTHS AFTER THE ACT WHICH IS ALLEGED TO

HAVE BEEN AN LAWFUL EMPLOYMENT PRACTICE;

THAT IS, INVOLUNTA Y RETIREMENT AND

REMOVAL AS REGIONAL DIRECTOR OF FNMA AND

WAS FILED SOME SIX MONTHS AFTER MR. KASPER

SAID HE ATTENDED A CONFERENCE ON AGE

A-17

DISCRIMINATION WHERE HE BECAME HE SAYS

AWARE OF HIS RIGHT TO PURSUE THIS MATTER.

SO EVEN TAKING IN ACCOUNT A QUESTION OF

EQUITABLE TOLLING, I AM GOING TO FIND MR.

KASPER'S CAUSE FOR INVOLUNTARY RETIREMENT

IS ALSO TIME BARRED AND HE DID NOT

DILIGENTLY PURSUE THIS MATTER BY FILING A

- CLAIM WITH THE E.E.0.C. WITHIN THE TIME

FRAME SET OUT IN 29 U.S.C. 626.

THERE IS ANOTHER CASE -- I ASSUME

DEFENDANT CITED, WHICH IS FAIRLY ON POINT.

BALDWIN COUNTY WELCOME CENTER VS. BROWN,

104 SUPREME COURT REPORTER 1723 AND I

THINK IT PRETTY WELL CHANGES TWO PRIOR

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT CASES WHICH HELD 180-DAY

PERIOD ONLY BEGINS TO RUN FROM THE TIME

THE CONPLAINTANT KNOWS OR REASONABLY SHOULD

HAVE KNOWN THAT THE CHALLENGED ACT HAS

OCCURED. BALDWIN COUNTY WELCOME CENTER

CASE SIMPLY SETS OUT THE CHARGE SHALL BE

FILED WITHIN i80 DAYS AFTER THE ALLEGED

UNLAWFUL PRACTICE OCCURS.

A-18

THEN AN OLDER FIFTH CIRCUIT CASE, PAYNE

VS. CRANE COMPANY 560 F.2d 198, 1977 CASE,

WHICH SAID ESSENTIALLY WHEN THE EMPLOYER

DOES ANYTHING BY WAY OF WORDS OR ACTS WHICH

WOULD SHOW AN INTENT ON THE EMPLOYER'S PART

TO DISPENSE WITH THE SERVICES OF THE EMPLOY-

EE, THAT WOULD BE THE DATE FROM WHICH THE

180-DAY FILING PERIOD WOULD BEGIN TO RUN

BECAUSE THAT WOULD BE THE LAST DAY ON WHICH

ANY SERVICES WERE REQUIRED OF THE EMPLOYEE;

AND IN THIS CASE, THE LAST DAY ON WHICH THE

SERVICES WERE REQUIRED WAS JULY 22, 1982.

THEREFORE, I WILL GRANT THE DEFENDANT'S

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE CLAIMS

OF MR. KASPER FOR REMOVAL AS REGIONAL

COUNSEL OF FNMA AND FOR INVOLUNTARY

RETIREMENT, SUCH CLAIMS BEING TIME BARRED.

THE ORDER OF THE COURT WILL BE AS STATED

HERE ON THE RECORD AND I WILL SIMPLY ENTER

A SHORT ORDER SUSTAINING THE MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND ENTERING UP THE

DISMISSAL. PS25

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

WALTER W. CALHOUN,

Plaintiff,

and

GEORGE H. KASPER, CIVIL ACTION

Intervenor, No. C 83-1437 A

vs.

FEDERAL NATIONAL MORTGAGE

ASSOCIATION,

Defendant.

ORDER

For the reasons stated on the record

in open court on May 6, 1986, the

defendant's motion for summary judgment

is GRANTED, and the clerk will enter

judgment dismissing the intervenor's

Claims with prejudice.

SO ORDERED, this 6th day of May, 1986.

/s/ Robert L. Vining, Jr.

ROBERT L. VINING, JR.

United States District Judge

A-19 (Order)

EDIT

OR'S NOTE

THE

AT T

RETT

WIE,

FOLLOWING

Ih TIME or

PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPS

FILMING, IF AND WHEN A

ER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

BE ISSUED,

Walter W. CALHOUN, Plaintiff,

Vv.

FEDERAL NATICNAL MORTGAGE

ASSOCIATION, Defendant-Appellee,

George H. Kasper, Jr.,

Intervenor-Appellant.

No. 86-8438.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eleventh Circuit.

Aug. 3, 1987.

Former employee of Federal National

Mortgage Association brought an action

against FNMA challenging his termination.

The United States District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia, No. C83-

1437A, Robert L. Vining, Jr., J., entered

judgment in favor of FNMA, and former

employee appealed. The Court of Appeals,

Roney, Chief Judge, held that: (1) Federal

National Mortgage Association Charter Act

did not give former employee private right

of action; (2) Georgia penal statute prohib-

iting age discrimination in employment did

not give rise to private cause of action; and

(3) one hundred and eighty-day period in

which to file claim with Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission applicable to em-

ployee’s unlawful termination claim com-

menced to run when employee received un-

equivocal notice that FNMA intention to

remove him and terminate his employment.

Affirmed.

1. Officers and Public Employees 69.4

Federal National Mortgage Associa-

tion Charter Act did not give former

FNMA employee private right of action;

employee alleged that he was hired prior to

1968 by predecessor corporation and was

not terminated under civil service retire-

ment laws. National Housing Act,

§§ 302(a)(2)(A, B), 309(d)(1, 2), as amended,

12 U.S.C.A. §§ 1717(a)(2)(A, B), 1723a(d)(1,

2).

2. Civil Rights 68

Georgia penal statute prohibiting age

discrimination in employment did not give

rise to private cause of action. 0O.C.G.A.

§ 34-1-2.

3. Civil Rights <=33

- One hundred and eighty-day period in

which to file claim with Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission, applicable to Fed-

eral National Mortgage Association em-

ployee’s unlawful termination claim, com-

menced to run when employee received un-

equivocal notice that FNMA intention to

remove him and terminate his employment,

rather than when he was actually terminat-

ed. Age Discrimination in Employment

Act of 1967, § 7(d)(1), as amended, 29 U.S.

C.A. § 626(d)(1).

4. Civil Rights 33

Federal National Mortgage Associa-

tion’s failure to provide employee with a

hearing on his discharge was not a continu-

ing discriminatory act sufficient to toll i180-

day period applicable to his unlawful dis-

charge claim under Age Discrimination in

Employment Act. Age Discrimination in

Employment Act of 1967, § 7(d)(1), as

amended, 29 U.S.C.A. § 626(d)(1); 42 U.S.

C.A. § 1983.

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Georgia.

Before RONEY, Chief Judge,

KRAVITCH and EDMONDSON, Circuit

Judges.

RONEY, Chief Judge:

-George H. Kasper, Jr., an intervenor par-

ty-plaintiff in the district court, claimed

that his removal as Regional Counsel and

subsequent involuntary retirement by the

Federal National Mortgage Association

(FNMA) violated the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C.A.

§§ 621-634, the Federal National Mortgage

Association Charter Act (Charter Act), 12

U.S.C.A. §§ 1716-1723h, and Georgia’s

Prohibition of Age Discrimination in Em-

ployment statute, 0.C.G.A. § 34-1-2. The

A-23

district court held that neither the Charter

Act nor the Georgia Act provided a private

right of action, and dismissed those claims.

It granted summary judgment on the

ADEA claim because Kasper had not time-

ly filed a charge with the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) as

required by 29 U.S.C.A. § 626(d)(1), and no

factors had been shown to warrant eq-

uitable tolling of the limitations period.

We affirm.

Kasper accepted an appointment with the

FNMA’s predecessor in December, 1965,

after sixteen years experience in private

law practice, as a career attorney and was

promoted to Assistant Agency Counsel in

1967. FNMA was reorganized in 1968 to

create two separate corporations. 12 U.S.

C.A. § 1717(a)(2). One __ corporation,

Government National Mortgage Associa-

tion (GNMA), remained a governmental

agency, while the other corporation, a new

FNMA, was created as a private corpora-

tion. Upon reorganization, Kasper became

an employee of GNMA and, on November

30, 1968, resigned his posivion with GNMA

to accept an identical position with the new-

A-24

ly created FNMA. He was promoted to

the position of Southeastern Regional

Counsel in 1977 and held that position until

July 1982.

On July 22, 1982, FNMA’s Southeastern

Regional Vice-President, Glenn T. Austin,

Jr., informed Kasper that his services were

no longer required, and instructed him to

contact Al Burfiend, FNMA’s Vice-Presi-

dent for Personnel and Administration in

FNMA’s Washington, D.C. office, to dis-

cuss severance terms. Kasper informed

his staff of his departure on that afternoon

and had cleaned out his office by noon of

the next day.

Discussions with Burfiend established

that Kasper would receive credit for 19

years of service and 6 months severance

pay. An agreement was reached to allow

Kasper to remain on the payroll for one

year, by extending his severance pay over

that period, providing him with 20 years

service for retirement purposes. Kasper

alleges that during their discussions he

asked Burfiend to look into a transfer or

A275

rf

—™~

reassignment. At no time after July 23,

1982 did Kasper return to the office to

work or receive assignments from FNMA.

FNMA advertised the availability of Kas-

per’s former position on July 28, 1982. In

August, 1982, Kasper received a memoran-

dum from Burfiend specifying that Kasper

would “be continued in FNMA employment

from August 8, 1982 through August 5,

1983, at which time he [would] retire under

the discontinued service provisions of the

Civil Service Retirement System (immedi-

ate entitlement).” Kasper was to receive

his full salary until August 7, 1982, when

his income would begin to be reduced on a

quarterly basis until his retirement on Au-

aust 5, 1982 He» was to continue receiving

fringe benefits except tur leave based on

full salary rate, and he was to receive

accrued vacation pay with his final salary

check upon his retirement in 1983. Except

for minor adjustments requested by Kas-

per, he was paid in accordance with the

terms of the memorandum.

In late 1982, Kasper met his replace-

ment, Judy Dedmon, who was 31 years old

at the time. As a result of attending an

American Bar Association seminar concern-

ing age discrimination on March 11, 1983,

Kasper decided that he had been dismissed

because of his age. Kasper wrote Oakley

Hunter, a former president of FNMA and a

member of the FNMA Board of Directors,

and asked if Hunter could look into his

situation. The gist of the letter appeared

to focus on whether a better severance

package could be arranged. In Kasper’s

letter to Hunter, he charged that he had

never been given an explanation for his

involuntary discharge and questioned its

cause and justification. In a June 1983

letter to David Maxwell, chairman of the

Board of Directors of FNMA, Kasper ac-

cused FNMA of corporate wrongdoing and

claimed to have statistical evidence of dis-

crimination. Kasper was contacted by Ca-

ryl Berstein, FNMA’s Executive Vice-Presi-

dent, General Counsel, and Secretary.

Kasper’s request from Bernstein was a

more favorable severance agreement. By -

letter dated August 5, 1983, Bernstein de-

clined to agree to different severance

terms and reaffirmed FNMA’s intention to

adhere to the August 1982 proposal. Kas-

per received a subsequent notice of his

termination under ‘discontinued service re-

tirement” effective August 5, 1983, and has

received retirement benefits from that

date. Kasper filed charges with the EEOC

on August 24, 1983, and filed a motion to

intervene in this proceeding on November

15, 1983.

I. No Private Right of Action under the

Charter Act

[1] Kasper contends that under the

Federal National Mortgage Association

Charter Act, those individuals hired prior

to 1968 and who were employees of the

predecessor corporation Government Na-

tional Mortgage Corporation were ‘“‘govern-

ment employees” and retained such status.

As a Government employee, he had a “le-

gitimate claim of entitlement to continued

employment” until removed in accordance

with established procedure. FNMA failed

to adhere to the regulations and a right of

action therefore is implied under the

FNMA Charter Act in Kasper’s favor.

Kasper’s assertion that he is a Govern-

ment employee for the purposes of this

action is erroneous. To support his status

as a Government employee, Kasper relies

on Northrip v. Federal National Mort-

gage Association, 527 F.2d 23 (6th Cir.

1974).

In Northrip, the Sixth Circuit stated:

Before the reorganization of FNMA,

its employees were government person-

nel with the Department of Housing and

Urban Development, and therefore were

covered by civil service requirements and

retirement laws. To protect employee

benefits that had accumulated, the stat-

ute provided for continuation of their

participation in the system as long as

they remained employees of FNMA.

However, all employees hired after 1968

became employees of the corporation and

are not subject to the civil service laws.

12 U.S.C. § 1723a(d)(1).

527 F.2d at 31. In dicta, the Northrip

court stated that some FNMA employees

had some sort of government status. /d.

at 32.

The Sixth Circuit mistakenly referred to

12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(1) as applying to

FNMA, rather than GNMA; therefore,

Northrip is not controlling in this case.

The extension of the protections of civil

service and classification laws found in 12

U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(1) relate to employees

of the “Association,” defined in 12 U.S.C.A.

§ 1717(a)(2)(A) as GNMA.

Kasper also points to two memoranda

addressed to all employees of GNMA invit-

ing and encouraging them to join the newly

created FNMA in 1968 to support his

Government employee status. A review of

the memoranda reveals clear language that

FNMA is a private corporation and that

new personnel policies and benefits would

be established by the corporation, which

were separate and distinct from the federal

civil service laws. It is also evident from

the language of 12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(2),

the subsection addressing appointment and

compensation of personnel of the ‘‘Corpora-

tion,” defined in section 1717(a)(2)(B) as

FNMA, that Congress intended the status

A~20

of Government employee to extend to civil

service retirement laws only.

(2) The board of directors of the corpora-

tion shall have the power to select and

appoint or employ such officers, attor-

neys, employees, and agents, to vest

them with such powers and duties, and to

fix and to cause the corporation to pay

such compensation to them for their ser-

vices, as it may determine; and any

such action shall be without regard to

the Federal civil service and classifica-

tion laws.... Each officer and employ-

ee of the corporation who is employed by

_ the corporation prior to January 31, 1972,

and who on the day previous to the

beginning of such employment will

have been subject to the civil service

retirement law (subch. III of ch. 83 of

- Title 5) shall, so long as his employment

by the corporation continues without a

break in continuity of service, continue to

be subject to such law; and for the pur-

pose of such law his employment by the

corporation without a break in continuity

of service shall be deemed to be employ-

ment by the Government of the United

ee

States.

12 U.S.C.A. § 1723a(d)(2) (emphasis added).

Kasper further asserts that the statutory

language provides an implied right of ac-

tion. In essence, Kasper relies upon the

language in 12 U.S.C. § 1723a(d)(2), which

states, “Appointments, promotions, and

separations so made shall be based on mer-

it and efficiency, and nog political tests or

qualifications shall be permitted or given

consideration.”

The standard for determining whether a

private right of action is implied in a feder-

al statute was set forth in Cort v. Ash, 422

U.S. 66, 78, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 2087, 45 L.Ed.2d

26 (1975), where the Court stated that the

following factors were relevant:

First, is the plaintiff ‘one of the class for

whose especial benefit the statute was

enacted.’ ...—that is, does the statute

create a federal right in favor of the

plaintiff? Second, is there any indication

of legislative intent, explicit or implicit,

either to create such a remedy or to deny

one?.... Third, is it consistent with the

A-22

underlying purposes of the legislative

scheme to imply such a remedy for the

plaintiff?.... And finally, is the cause

of action one traditionally relegated to

state law, in an area basically the con-

cern of the States, so that it would be

inappropriate to infer a cause of action

based solely on federal law? (emphasis

in original)

In Local Division 732 Amalgamated

Transit Union v. Metropolitan Atlanta

Rapid Transit Authority, 667 F.2d 1327

(11th Cir.1982), cited in the district court

opinion, this Court noted that the Supreme

Court has drastically modified application

of the four-factor test announced in Cort v.

Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed.2d

26 (1975), by announcing that the task of a

federal court in implied cause of action

cases is to determine whether Congress

intended to create the private right of ac-

tion being asserted. TransAmerica Mort-

gage Advisers, Inc. v. Lewis, 444 U.S. 11,

100 S.Ct. 242, 62 L.Ed.2d 146 (1979);

Touche Ross & Co. v. Reddington, 442

U.S. 560, 99 S.Ct. 2479, 61 L.Ed.2d 82

A. 4?

(1979).

Since a review of the Charter Act and its

legislative history reveals nothing to show

Congress intended a private right of action

under this section, the conclusion must be

that Congress did not intend to create the

cause of action asserted here.

II. No Private Right of Action under 0.C.

G.A. § 34-1-2.

[2] The district court held that no pri-

vate mght of action arose under O.C.G.A.

§ 34-1-2, a penal statute prohibiting age

discrimination in employment. Penal stat-

utes in Georgia do not give rise to a private

cause of action for the conduct proscribed.

The court properly relied upon Webster v.

Singer Sewing Machines Company, N.B-

76966 (Fulton Sup.Ct. May 15, 1973) (Geor-

gia state trial court holding that no cause

of action accrued under Ga.Code Ann.

§ 54-1102, the predecessor to O.C.G.A.

§ 34-1-2), and two Georgia appellate court

decisions finding no cause of action under

similar Georgia penal statutes, Cox Broaa-

A-34

casting Corp. v. Cohn, 231 Ga. 60, 200

S.E.2d 127 (1973), rev'd on other grounds,

420 U.S. 469, 95 S.Ct. 1029, 43 L.Ed.2d 328

judgment conformed, 234 Ga. 67, 214

S.E.2d 530 (1975), and Mitchell v. Southern

Dairies, Inc., 77 Ga.App. 771, 49 S.E.2d

912 (1948). |

Kasper argues that the district court in-

correctly interpreted Georgia precedent, re-

lying upon LaBarre v. Payne, 174 Ga.App.

32, 329 S.E.2d 533 (1985), a case in which a

Georgia appellate court recognized a pri-

vate cause of action for embracery, conduct

for which Georgia law imposes criminal

sanctions. See 0.C.G.A. § 16-10-91. Kas-

per’s reliance on LaBarre is misplaced.

The Georgia Court of Appeals supported

its LaBarre holding by citing to the com-

mon law tort of embracery in other juris-

dictions and Corpus Juris Secundum. It

is evident from these references that the

court relied upon a common law tort of

embracery to sustain the action and simply

use the Georgia penal statute to define the

elements of the tort.

III. ADEA Claim.

[3] Kasper asserted two claims of dis-

crimination: (1) termination as Regional

Counsel, and (2) “involuntary retirement

discontinued service.” The district court

held that Kasper had not filed charges with

the EEOC within the 180 days required by

law. The issue of timeliness turns on when

the period for filing began.

Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449

U.S. 250, 101 S.Ct. 498, 66 L.Ed.2d 431 -

(1980), a case involving a college professor

denied tenure, held the limitations period

commenced no later than when the college

announced its official position on tenure,

not when the professor’s terminal contract

expired. Under this authority, the district

court determined that for purposes of ap-

plying the limitations period of 29 U.S.C.A.

§ 626(d)(1), July 22, 1982 was the date on

which Kasper’s cause of action for his re-

moval as Regional Counsel accrued. On

his involuntary retirement claim, the dis-

trict court found that, giving plaintiff the

A-36

benefit of the doubt, the latest operative

date would be August 4, 1982, the date

when Kasper received a letter stating that

he would be retired on August 5, 1983.

Kasper argues that the operative date, at

least for the unlawful termination, is Au-

gust 5, 1983, the date of actual termination.

He seeks to distinguish Ricks on the basis

that his complaint alleges a continuation of

discriminatory acts up until his actual ter-

mination. Kasper’s complaint reveals no

allegations of continuing acts of discrimina-

tion. In fact, all the acts complained of

occurred in 1982. From August 1982 for-

ward, FNMA did not deviate from its ex-

pressed intention to terminate Kasper as of

August 5, 1983.

The proper focus for purposes of estab-

lishing the time at which the limitations

period begins to run “‘is on the time of the

discriminatory act, not the point at which

the consequences of the act become pain-

ful.” Chardon v. Fernandez, 454 U.S. 6,

8, 102 S.Ct. 28, 29, 70 L.Ed.2d 6 (1981)

(emphasis in original) (citing Ricks, 449

A-37

U.S. at 258, 101 S.Ct. at 504). ‘The fact of

termination is not itself an illegal act.” Jd.

The alleged illegal acts here were the deci-

sion to terminate and the notice of that

decision to Kasper. It is clear from the

record that Kasper received unequivocal

notice on July 22 and August 4, 1982 of

FNMA’s intention to remove him as Re-

gional Counsel and to terminate his em-

ployment on August 5, 1983. FNMA never

waivered from this position.

Kasper alleges that the authority to ter-

minate his employment was vested in the

FNMA Board of Directors (Board) and that

neither Austin nor Burfiend possessed that

authority. Unlike the plaintiff in Ricks,

Kasper claims, he was never notified of

any action of the Board. Austin had the

authority to terminate Kasper, however, if

his conduct was deleterious to the contin-

ued functioning of the unit. It is clear that

Kasper considered the notice authoritative

because he cleaned out his office on July 22

and 23 and never received any further

work assignments from FNMA. Kasper

sought letters of recommendation from

FNMA officials and met his 31-year-old

replacement in the fall of 1982, and accept-

ed other employment int May 1983 even

though he was still on the FNMA payroll.

At no time before his actual termination in

1983 did Kasper evidence a doubt of Aus-

tin’s authority or of FNMA’s intentions.

Kasper’s correspondence with FNMA offi-

cials focused on his obtaining severance

terms more favorable than those noticed in

the August 4, 1982 memorandum. At no

time did Kasper formally request a trans-

fer or reassignment. The latest possible

operative date for limitations purposes

would have been the point when Kasper

met his replacement.

The district court found no factors

present sufficient to equitably toll the limi-

tation period, but found two factors sup-

port the decision that Kasper’s involuntary

retirement claim should be time barred.

First, Kasper acknowledges recognition of

his right after attending a conference on

A-39

age discrimination in March 1983, but did

not file his charge with EEOC until almost

six months later. Second, the court found

that the fact that Kasper was an attorney

weighed against equitable tolling.

([4] Kasper’s final argument is that the

limitations period did not begin to run be-

cause he has never been provided a hearing

on his discharge by FNMA and this consti-

tutes a continuing violation under Rubin v.

O’Koren, 644 F.2d 1023 (5th Cir. Unit B

1981). Reliance on Rubin is inapposite be-

cause that case addresses a claim under 42

U.S.C.A. § 1983 for a due process violation.

Kasper’s claim arises under the ADEA and

failure to provide a hearing does not consti-

tute a continuing discriminatory act on

these facts.

For the foregoing reasons, the district

court is due to be

AFFIRMED.

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-8438

WALTER W. CALHOUN,

Plaintiff,

versus

FEDERAL NATIONAL MORTGAGE

ASSOCIATION,

Defendant-Appellee,

GEORGE H. KASPER, JR.,

Intervenor-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Northern District of Georgia

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING

(October 26, 1987)

BEFORE: _RONEY, Chief Judge, KRAVITCH

and EDMONDSON, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The petition(s) for rehearing filed

by George H. Kasper., Appellant, is

denied.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Paul H. Roney

CHIEF JUDGE

—— —<—<«<_——-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I have served

three (3) copies of the foregoing

Petition for Certiorari upon

Mr. Jefferson D. Kirby, III

Ford & HARRISON

600 Peachtree at the Circle Building

1275 Peachtree Street, N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia, 30309

Attorneys for Respondent, Federal National

Mortgage Association, by certified mail,

return receipt requested, duly addressed

and postage prepaid.

This /6™ day of December, 1987.

rge Kasper, Jr.

Attorney for Petition€r

Pro se.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.